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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita Davis; Leslie L. 

Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Alexandra Stewart-Jonte, 

Regulations Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri 

Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2018 through August 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:4 September 26, 2018 October 15, 2018 

35:5 October 10, 2018 October 29, 2018 

35:6 October 24, 2018 November 12, 2018 

35:7 November 7, 2018 November 26, 2018 

35:8 November 19, 2018 (Monday) December 10, 2018 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-490. Regulations Governing 

Grade "A" Milk. 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Virginia State Dairymen's Association. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner is requesting 

that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services amend 

2VAC5-490-50 by reducing the allowed maximum somatic 

cell count from the current 750,000 to 500,000 somatic cells 

per milliliter. The petitioner also requests this section be 

amended to reduce the allowed maximum bacteria count from 

100,000 to 50,000 bacteria per milliliter prior to commingling 

with any other milk. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services has voted to grant the petitioner's 

request for rulemaking for the following reasons: lowering 

the allowable somatic cell and bacteria counts in grade "A" 

milk will result in a safer and higher-quality product for 

consumers and may lead to the availability of new markets 

for milk and milk products produced in Virginia. Many 

producers are currently producing grade "A" milk that is in 

compliance with the proposed somatic cell and bacteria 

counts and would likely support the proposed regulatory 

amendments. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-34; Filed August 28, 2018, 2:18 p.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-20, 

Standards for Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to 

Agricultural Use and to Horticultural Use under the 

Virginia Land Use Assessment Law. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to align regulations to changes to the Code 

of Virginia made by Chapter 504 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, which amended the definition of real estate 

devoted to agricultural use and real estate devoted to 

horticultural use. The proposed amendments to the regulation 

include standards for determining whether real estate meets 

the expanded definition of real estate devoted to agricultural 

use or real estate devoted to horticultural use. Additionally, 

the commissioner will consider whether to continue to 

include in the regulation a requirement that real estate be used 

for a particular purpose for a minimum length of time before 

qualifying as real estate devoted to agricultural or horticulture 

use. If this requirement will continue to be included in the 

regulation, the commissioner will amend the regulation to 

conform to Chapter 504 and (i) include the use of similar 

property by a lessee of the owner in calculating such time and 

(ii) include a shorter minimum length of time for real estate 

with no prior qualifying use, provided that the owner submits 

a written document of the owner's intent regarding use of the 

real estate containing elements set out in the uniform 

standards. The proposed regulation will also provide 

standards for determining whether real estate meets these 

requirements. 

In addition, this regulation will undergo a periodic review 

pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and a small business 

impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3230 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Kevin Schmidt, Director, Office of Policy, 

Planning, and Research, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1346, FAX (804) 371-7679, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5646; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-60, 

Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High 

Quality Care, as well as other relevant regulations. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to comply with the 21st 

Century CURES Act (114 USC § 255), Item 306 YYYY of 

Chapter 836 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, and Public Law 

115-222 by requiring providers of personal assistance, 

respite, and companion services to use, effective January 1, 

2020, electronic visit verification (EVV) systems. The EVV 

system selected by providers must comply with the federal 

requirements of the CURES Act and should meet best 

practices. The agency is considering using an open vendor 

model that allows managed care organizations and fee for 

service providers to use HIPAA compliant systems of their 

choice. This action will also modify regulatory service limits 

for personal assistance, respite, and companion services to 

comply with the functionality of EVV systems. Respite 

services rendered by Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services licensed providers are to be 

exempted from the EVV requirements by action of the 

General Assembly. The CURES Act mandates the use of 

EVV systems for home health services effective January 1, 

2023. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC 

§ 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5467; Filed August 23, 2018, 11:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Common Interest Community 

Board intends to consider amending 18VAC48-60, Common 

Interest Community Board Management Information 

Fund Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

generally review the fund regulations, which outline 

registration, renewal, and annual reporting requirements for 

associations, to ensure that the regulations complement 

current Virginia law and reflect up-to-date administrative 

procedures and policies. The goals of the planned regulatory 

action are to review the existing regulations and propose 

revisions the board determines to be necessary and 

appropriate. The regulations will also be reviewed to ensure 

they achieve their intended objectives in the most efficient, 

cost effective manner and are clearly written and 

understandable. The board may propose other changes it 

identifies as necessary during the regulatory review process. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5532; Filed August 22, 2018, 11:32 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending 18VAC115-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling; 18VAC115-50, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and 

Family Therapy; and 18VAC115-60, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse 

Treatment Practitioners. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to provide a pathway for foreign-trained graduates in 

counseling to obtain licensure as a professional counselor, a 

marriage and family therapist, or a substance abuse treatment 

practitioner in Virginia. The board intends to adopt language 

similar to that adopted by the Board of Psychology, which 

provides that graduates of programs that are not within the 

United States or Canada can qualify for licensure if they can 

provide documentation from an acceptable credential 

evaluation service that allows the board to determine if the 

program meets the requirements set forth in the regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5643; Filed August 23, 2018, 2:05 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Veterans 

Services is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 25 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts the department when 

promulgating regulations pursuant to § 58.1-3219.11 of the 

Code of Virginia regarding an exemption from taxes on real 

property.  

Title of Regulation: 1VAC80-20. Surviving Spouses of 

Service Members Killed in Action Real Property Tax 

Exemption (adding 1VAC80-20-10 through 1VAC80-20-

100).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3219.11 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 29, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Carrie Ann Alford, Director of Policy and 

Planning, Department of Veterans Services, 101 North 14th 

Street, 17th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-4716, or email carrieann.alford@dvs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulation establishes the requirements of the 

application process and implementation of the real 

property tax exemption for surviving spouses of active duty 

service members killed in action or who died of wounds 

sustained in action as designated by the U.S. Department 

of Defense. 

CHAPTER 20 

SURVIVING SPOUSES OF SERVICE MEMBERS 

KILLED IN ACTION REAL PROPERTY TAX 

EXEMPTION 

1VAC80-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Veterans Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Veterans 

Services. 

"Dwelling" means the single structure, including any 

permanent attachments thereto, that is the principal place of 

residence of the qualifying surviving spouse.  

"Exemption" means the exemption from real property taxes 

authorized by subdivision (a) of Section 6-A of Article X of 

the Constitution of Virginia and § 58.1-3219.9 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Surviving spouse" means a spouse (i) of any member of the 

armed forces of the United States who was killed in action as 

determined by the U.S. Department of Defense or (ii) of any 

member of the armed forces of the United States who died of 

wounds as determined by the U.S. Department of Defense. 

The surviving spouse must be able to show that the surviving 

spouse was married to the qualifying service member at the 

time of the service member's death. 

"Real property" means land and anything growing on, 

attached to, or erected on it, excluding anything that may be 

severed without injury to the land, and the dwelling occupied 

by the qualified surviving spouse. 

1VAC80-20-20. Real property exempt from taxation. 

A. The following is exempt from taxation: the dwelling that 

is the principal residence of a qualified surviving spouse, plus 

up to one acre of land, or more than one acre if a given 

locality has exempted such larger acreage pursuant to § 58.1-

3210 of the Code of Virginia (exemption for elderly and 

handicapped). The exemption extends to real property 

improvements other than a dwelling, including the land upon 

which such improvements are situated, so long as the 

principal use of the improvement is (i) to house or cover 

motor vehicles or household goods and other personal effects 

as classified in subdivision A 14 of § 58.1-3503 of the Code 

of Virginia and as listed in § 58.1-3504 of the Code of 

Virginia and (ii) for other than a business purpose.  

B. If the value of a dwelling is in excess of the average 

assessed value, in the locality in which it is located, as 

described in this subsection, then only that portion of the 

assessed value in excess of the average assessed value shall 

be subject to real property taxes, and the portion of the 

assessed value that is not in excess of the average assessed 

value shall be exempt from real property taxes.  

C. Manufactured homes, as defined in § 46.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, whether or not the wheels and other 

equipment previously used for mobility have been removed, 

shall be exempt after the qualifying surviving spouse has 

titled the home in the Commonwealth and shown proof of 

ownership. Sections 58.1-3219.5 and 58.1-3219.9 of the Code 
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of Virginia are the only instances when manufactured homes 

may be classified as real property. If the surviving spouse 

does not own the land on which the manufactured home is 

located, then the land is not exempt. The spouse must meet all 

other provisions of § 58.1-3219.9.  

1VAC80-20-30. Full exemption; joint ownership trusts. 

A. For purposes of this exemption, the full exemption is 

authorized when real property of any surviving spouse of a 

member of the armed forces killed in action is held in one of 

the following trusts: (i) held by a surviving spouse as a tenant 

for life, (ii) held in a revocable inter vivos trust over which 

the surviving spouse holds the power of revocation, or (iii) 

held in an irrevocable trust under which the surviving spouse 

possesses a life estate or enjoys a continuing right of use or 

support.  

B. The exemption does not apply to any other forms of trust 

or any interest held under a leasehold or term of years. 

1VAC80-20-40. Partial exemptions. 

If the qualified surviving spouse acquires the property after 

January 1, 2015, then the exemption shall begin on the date of 

acquisition, and the previous owner may be entitled to a 

refund for a pro rata portion of real property taxes paid 

pursuant to § 58.1-3360 of the Code of Virginia. 

1VAC80-20-50. Surviving spouse exemption. 

The surviving spouse shall qualify for the exemption, so 

long as: 

1. The death of the qualified service member occurs in 

combat; 

2. The surviving spouse was married to the qualified 

service member at the time of the qualified service 

member's death; and 

3. The surviving spouse does not remarry. 

1VAC80-20-60. Proration when not all owners qualify for 

the exemption. 

In the event that the primary residence is jointly owned by 

two or more individuals, not all of whom qualify for the 

exemption pursuant to subsection A or B of § 58.1-3219.9 of 

the Code of Virginia, and no person is entitled to the 

exemption under this section by virtue of holding the property 

in any of the three ways set forth in subsection D of § 58.1-

3219.9 of the Code of Virginia, then the exemption shall be 

prorated by multiplying the amount of the exemption or 

deferral by a fraction that has as a numerator the percentage 

of ownership interest in the dwelling held by all such joint 

owners who qualify for the exemption pursuant to subsections 

A and B of § 58.1-3219.9, and as a denominator, 100%.  

1VAC80-20-70. Cooperative associations. 

The exemption does not apply to property owned by a 

cooperative association or any other form of ownership in 

which the qualified surviving spouse does not actually own 

the real property other than the trusts detailed in 1VAC80-20-

30.  

1VAC80-20-80. Qualified surviving spouses residing in 

hospitals, nursing homes, convalescent homes, or other 

care facilities. 

If the qualified surviving spouse is residing in a hospital, 

nursing home, convalescent home, or other facility for 

physical or mental care for an extended period of time, the 

exemption will continue on the property so long as such real 

estate is not used by or leased to others for consideration. 

1VAC80-20-90. Application. 

A. A surviving spouse, pursuant to § 58.1-3219.9 of the 

Code of Virginia, claiming the real property tax exemption 

shall file with the Commissioner of the Revenue, or other 

assessing official, in the surviving spouse's respective 

locality: 

1. A DD-1300 death certification, issued by the U.S. 

Department of Defense (DOD), or its successor agency, to 

confirm date of death and indicating that the service 

member was killed in action as determined by the DOD. 

For purposes of this section, such determination of "killed 

in action" includes a determination by the DOD of "died of 

wounds received in action"; 

2. An affidavit or application on a form provided by the 

locality that: 

a. Sets forth the name of the deceased service member 

and the name of the spouse; 

b. Indicates whether or not the real property is jointly 

owned by the two spouses; and 

c. Certifies that the real property is occupied as the 

surviving spouse's principal place of residence; 

3. Proof of residence occupancy acceptable to the 

applicable locality, such as a valid Virginia driver's license, 

or other proof of residency acceptable to the locality; and 

4. A certificate of marriage from the appropriate state 

office of records. 

B. The surviving spouse shall be required to re-file the 

application and notify the previous jurisdiction, required by 

this section only if the principal place of residence changes. 

C. While there is no deadline to apply for the exemption, the 

Commissioner of the Revenue or assessing official may only 

correct and refund (without interest) the past assessments of 

an initially qualified applicant for no more than the current, 

plus up to three prior tax years after January 1, 2015. 
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D. No county, city, or town shall be liable for any interest on 

any refund due to the surviving spouse for taxes paid prior to 

the filing of the application required by § 58.1-3219.10 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

E. In the determination of the exemption, no locality may 

implement income or asset limitations or a deadline for 

application.  

F. The limitations and parameters laid out in this policy do 

not prohibit the locality's ability to require an annual 

confirmation of continued residence from the qualifying 

surviving spouse. 

1VAC80-20-100. Informal requests for information; 

formal appeals process. 

A. The commissioner will provide written guidance to, and 

respond to requests for information from, Commissioners of 

the Revenue, other assessing officials, or surviving spouses, 

regarding the exemption, including interpretation of the 

provisions of subdivision (a) of Section 6-A of Article X of 

the Constitution of Virginia and the implementing statutes. 

Such requests may be by phone or in writing. Request for an 

appeal must be in writing.  

B. The commissioner does not have the authority to answer 

questions regarding the assessed value of any property. Such 

questions should be answered solely by the surviving spouse's 

respective Commissioner of Revenue or other assessing 

official.  

C. A surviving spouse desiring to appeal a denial of an 

application for exemption by a Commissioner of the Revenue 

or other assessing official shall send a written request for 

appeal and the document from the surviving spouse's 

respective Commissioner of Revenue or other assessing 

official denying the surviving spouse's application: 

1. Via email to john.newby@dvs.virginia.gov; 

carrieann.alford@dvs.virginia.gov with a subject line that 

states ATTN: Tax Exemption – APPEAL; or 

2. Via U.S. mail or delivery to Commissioner, Virginia 

Department of Veterans Services, ATTN: Tax Exemption 

– APPEAL, 101 North 14th Street, 17th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219.  

D. The commissioner may conduct hearings telephonically, 

by video conferencing means, or if the commissioner 

determines it necessary, in person at the department's 

headquarters in Richmond. The appeal shall be limited to 

issues involving the tax exemption eligibility criteria. The 

commissioner is not authorized to hear or decide appeals 

regarding a dispute over a property's assessed value.  

E. In advance of any hearing, both the surviving spouse and 

the Commissioner of the Revenue, or other assessing official, 

shall be provided (i) reasonable notice of the time, date, and 

location of the hearing; (ii) the right to appear in person or by 

counsel, or other qualified representative, before the agency 

or its subordinates for the presentation of factual data, 

argument, or proof in connection with any case; and (iii) 

notice of all facts or information in the possession of the 

Department of Veterans Services that could be relied upon in 

making a decision. 

F. The commissioner shall render a decision within 90 days 

from the date of the hearing or from a later date agreed to by 

the surviving spouse and the commissioner. If the 

commissioner does not render a decision within 90 days, the 

surviving spouse may provide written notice to the 

commissioner that a decision is due. If no decision is made 

within 30 days from the commissioner's receipt of the notice, 

the decision shall be deemed to be in favor of the surviving 

spouse.  

G. The final decision by the commissioner shall be mailed to 

all named parties.  

H. A decision of the commissioner may be appealed by 

either party to the circuit court in the locality in which the 

surviving spouse resides. 

I. The burden shall be upon the party complaining of the 

commissioner's decision to designate and demonstrate an 

error of law subject to review by the circuit court. Such issues 

of law include (i) accordance with constitutional right, power, 

privilege, or immunity; (ii) compliance with statutory 

authority, jurisdiction limitations, or right as provided in the 

basic laws as to subject matter and the factual showing 

respecting entitlement in connection with case decisions; (iii) 

observance of required procedure where any failure therein is 

not mere harmless error; and (iv) the substantiality of the 

evidentiary support for findings of fact. Any necessary facts 

in controversy shall be determined by the court upon the basis 

of the agency file, minutes, and records of its proceedings, 

augmented, if need be, by the agency pursuant to order of the 

court or supplemented by any allowable and necessary proofs 

adduced in court, except that the function of the court shall be 

to determine only whether the result reached by the agency 

could reasonably be said, on all such proofs, to be within the 

scope of the legal authority of the agency. The court shall 

take due account of the presumption of official regularity, the 

experience and specialized competence of the agency, and the 

purposes of the basic law under which the agency has acted. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5238; Filed August 23, 2018, 12:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

following regulations have been filed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form to 

access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-111. Public and Private 

Animal Shelters. 

2VAC5-150. Rules and Regulations Governing the 

Transportation of Companion Animals. 

Contact Information: Dr. Kathryn MacDonald, Program 

Manager, Office of Animal Care and Emergency Response, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, or 

email kathryn.macdonald@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-111) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

8/2017) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/2018) 

FORMS (2VAC5-150) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

8/2017) 

Animal Shelter Inspection Form, VDACS AC-10 (rev. 

7/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5650; Filed August 28, 2018, 12:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 

Conduct of Hearings before the Board and its Hearing 

Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks, Legal Liaison, 

Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 

Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX 

(804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and the Board 

of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority. 

Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 

powers of the board, which include the authority to adopt 

regulations and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry 

out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Subdivision 7 of § 4.1-103 states the board may delegate or 

assign any duty or task to be performed by the authority to 

any officer or employee of the authority. Subdivision 24 of 

§ 4.1-103 permits the board to promulgate regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act and § 4.1-

111 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia provides the board 

with the authority to adopt reasonable regulations that it 

deems reasonable to carry out the provisions of Title 4.1 and 

to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to 

accommodate the new part-time board. As the Department of 

Alcoholic Beverage Control transitions into an authority, it 

was necessary to make amendments to the regulations dealing 

with procedural rules so as to make the process more efficient 

and to not overburden the new part-time board. Approvals 

that were once subject to board approval have been delegated 

to the chief hearing officer. This action does not significantly 

impact public health or safety; however, there is an argument 

to be made that the general public welfare is benefited 

because the new process is more efficient because the 

responsibility is delegated to the chief hearing officer instead 

of relying on the new part-time board and it also presents 

licensees with a process for resolving uncontested matters 

that is not overwhelming or intimidating.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are expected to be noncontroversial because they 

are in the licensee's favor and simplify the consent settlement 

process. 

Substance: Approvals once subject to board approval have 

been delegated to the chief hearing officer thereby 

accommodating the new part-time board while not hampering 

the process for licensees. 

mailto:kathryn.macdonald@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb4d1005650~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb4d1005650~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f210f005650~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=005650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f210f005650~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=005650&mime=application/pdf
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Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory action to the 

public and the agency is that it will make the process for 

consent settlements more efficient because it allows the board 

to delegate the responsibility of approving consent 

settlements instead of having to wait for board approval, 

which could delay the process as the board will meet much 

less frequently under the authority. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth. Pertinent matters to the regulated 

community, government officials, and the public are that 

consent settlements will not always have oversight from the 

board; however, they will be delegated to chief hearing 

officer, who may have more intimate knowledge of the case 

and the significance of the settlement terms. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (Board) proposes to 

permit a designee, typically the chief hearing officer, to 

extend offers of consent settlement without direct approval 

from the Board. In addition, the Board proposes to extend the 

time in which the licensee may return the properly executed 

consent settlement with payment. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation states 

that "Disciplinary cases may be resolved by consent 

settlement if the nature of the proceeding and public interest 

permit. In appropriate cases, the chief hearing officer will 

extend an offer of consent settlement, conditioned upon 

approval by the board, to the licensee." As noted, Board 

approval is currently required for consent settlements. Such 

approval was feasible under the administration of a full-time 

Board; however, as the Department of Alcoholic Beverage 

Control (ABC) transitions into an Authority, the Board will 

operate on a part-time basis. Maintaining the requirement of 

Board approval for all consent settlements would become 

burdensome and unrealistic for a part-time Board, and would 

significantly impair the consent settlement process. 

Consequently, the Board proposes to amend the regulation so 

that a designee of the Board, typically the chief hearing 

officer, can extend an offer of consent settlement without 

direct approval from the Board. This would be beneficial in 

that it prevents the delay of mutually agreed upon settlements 

from taking place. 

The current regulation states that the licensee shall return the 

properly executed consent order along with the payment in 

full of any monetary penalty within 15 calendar days from the 

date of mailing by the board. The Board proposes to allow 

licensees up to 21 days, rather than 15, to return the executed 

consent order with payment. Since this is acceptable to the 

Board and gives affected individuals more time to decide and 

gather funds, it should produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. All 13,000 plus licensees 

could potentially be subject to disciplinary proceedings, and 

thus could be affected by the proposed amendments.1 ABC 

issues: licenses for manufacturers, wholesalers and shippers 

of alcoholic beverages; retail licenses for the sale of alcohol 

at restaurants, hotels, convenience stores, grocery stores, etc.; 

and banquet licenses to allow persons or groups to host events 

such as wedding receptions, tastings or fundraisers, where 

alcohol is served in an unlicensed location or club premise.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________ 

1Data source: Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 

2See https://www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/get-a-license 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

https://www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/get-a-license
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Summary: 

The amendments (i) permit the chief hearing officer to 

extend offers of consent settlement without direct approval 

from the board, (ii) extend the time in which the licensee 

may return the properly executed consent settlement with 

payment, and (iii) remove the requirement that the board 

review or approve acceptance of consent settlement 

agreement. 

3VAC5-10-150. Consent settlement.  

A. Generally. Disciplinary cases may be resolved by consent 

settlement if the nature of the proceeding and public interest 

permit. In appropriate cases, the chief hearing officer will 

extend an offer of consent settlement, conditioned upon 

approval by the board, to the licensee. The board, or its 

designee, may offer to resolve disciplinary cases when the 

nature of the proceeding and public interest permit. In 

appropriate cases, the board or its designee will extend an 

offer for a consent settlement to the licensee.  

B. Who may accept. The licensee or his attorney may accept 

an offer of consent settlement. If the licensee is a corporation, 

only an attorney or an officer, director or majority 

stockholder of the corporation may accept an offer of consent 

settlement. Settlement shall be conditioned upon approval by 

the board.  

C. How to accept. The licensee shall return the properly 

executed consent order along with the payment in full of any 

monetary penalty within 15 no later than 21 calendar days from 

the date of mailing by the board. Failure to respond within the 

time period will result in a withdrawal of the offer by the agency 

and a formal hearing will be held on the date specified in the 

notice of hearing.  

D. Effect of acceptance. Upon approval by the board, 

acceptance Acceptance of the consent settlement offer shall 

constitute an admission of the alleged violation of the A.B.C. 

laws or regulations, and will result in a waiver of the right to 

a formal hearing and the right to appeal or otherwise contest 

the charges. The offer of consent settlement is not negotiable; 

however, the licensee is not precluded from submitting an 

offer in compromise under 3VAC5-10-160.  

E. Approval by the board. The board shall review all proposed 

settlements. Only after approval by the board shall a settlement 

be deemed final. The Board review. Prior to extending an offer 

of consent settlement to the licensee, the board or its designee 

may reject any proposed settlement which is contrary to law or 

policy or which, in its sole discretion, is not appropriate.  

F. Record. Unaccepted offers of consent settlement will 

become a part of the record only after completion of the 

hearing process.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5362; Filed August 15, 2018, 3:02 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the "List of Native and 

Naturalized Fauna of Virginia" offered by the department 

to the 2018 version. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

by this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2014 2018 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2014 2018 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the Richmond 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  
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Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized 

rabbit breeds is available on the department's website.  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European 

rabbits possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animal dies, but the animal 

may not be bred or sold without a permit from the 

department. Persons possessing domesticated red foxes or 

European rabbits without a permit from the department must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 2018. This written declaration must include the 

number of individual animals in possession and date 

acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, and a photograph of 

each fox or European rabbit. This written declaration shall (i) 

serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) is not transferable, 

and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, March 

2012, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, 2018, 

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

August 4, 2016  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5495; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:03 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add waters with the special trout 

fishing provisions described in 4VAC14-330-160 to the 

category "designated stocked trout waters" so that a trout 

license is required to fish in such waters and (ii) correct 

cross references for fee fishing waters and urban fishing 

waters.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38236005495~1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38236005495~1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6e3a6004802~2&typ=40&actno=004802&mime=application/pdf
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4VAC15-20-190. Definitions; "designated stocked trout 

waters."  

When used in regulations of the board, "designated stocked 

trout waters" will include those waters that are stocked with 

harvestable-sized trout and are listed by the director in the 

annual Trout Stocking Plan. These waters will only be 

considered designated stocked trout waters from October 1 

through June 15, both dates inclusive, except for fee fishing 

waters covered by 4VAC15-320-10 et seq. 4VAC15-320-120, 

waters covered by 4VAC15-330-160, and urban fishing 

waters covered by 4VAC15-330-20 et seq 4VAC15-330-200. 

Designated stocked trout waters are either posted by the 

department with appropriate "stocked trout waters" signs or 

are posted as fee fishing areas under 4VAC15-320-10 et seq. 

4VAC15-320-120 or waters under 4VAC15-330-160. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5496; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:15 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the size limit on spotted and 

largemouth bass and increase the size limit for smallmouth 

bass for Claytor Lake; (ii) impose a 20-inch minimum size 

limit for smallmouth bass and a one fish per day creel limit 

for trophy smallmouth bass in the Levisa Fork River in 

Buchanan County; (iii) change the minimum length limit 

from October 1 to May 31 for striped bass for Buggs 

Island (Kerr) Reservoir, Staunton River to Leesville Dam, 

and Dan River to Union Street Dam to 20 inches; (iv) for 

September 16 through June 30, set the minimum size limit 

at 20 inches and the creel limit as two fish per day and for 

July 1 through September 15 remove the size limit and set 

the creel limit to four fish per day for striped bass for 

Claytor Lake and its tributaries; (v) set a 14-inch minimum 

length limit and a 10 fish per day creel limit for white bass 

for Buggs Island (Kerr) Reservoir, Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam, and Dan River to Union Street Dam; (vi) 

establish a nine-inch minimum length limit for crappie for 

Buggs Island (Kerr), Briery Creek, and Sandy River 

Reservoirs; (vii) revise the current creel limit for rock bass 

to be 25 per day in aggregate with Roanoke bass, revise 

the current creel limit for Roanoke bass to be 25 per day in 

aggregate with rock bass, and add the Blackwater River in 

Franklin County, Falling River, and Smith River to the 

rivers and tributaries where the daily limit is five rock bass 

and Roanoke bass in aggregate and the minimum length 

limit is eight inches; (viii) limit blue catfish greater than 32 

inches harvested from Lake Gaston to one per day; and 

(ix) modify American shad creel and length limits to 

adhere to The Atlantic State Marine Fisheries Commission 

Interstate Fishery Management Plan for American Shad, 

which prohibits harvest of American shad in states where 

there is currently no sustainable management plan 

implemented.  

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, 

unless otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-

owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-

100 D).  
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Type of fish 
Subtype or 

location 
Creel and length limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, 

smallmouth bass, 

spotted bass 

  5 per day in the aggregate 

(combined);  

No statewide length limits 

Lakes   

Briery Creek 

Lake 

No bass 16 to 24 inches,; only 1 

per day longer than 24 inches 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth bass less than 

12 14 inches; 15 spotted bass 

per day 

Flannagan 

Reservoir 

No bass less than 12 inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

Leesville 

Reservoir 

Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 12 inches 

Philpott 

Reservoir 

No bass less than 12 inches 

Quantico 

Marine Base 

waters 

No bass 12 to 15 inches 

Smith Mt. 

Mountain Lake 

and its 

tributaries 

below Niagara 

Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

Rivers   

Clinch River – 

within the 

boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, 

Russell, or 

Tazewell 

counties 

Counties 

No bass less than 20 inches,; 

only 1 bass per day longer than 

20 inches 

Levisa Fork 

River – within 

the boundaries 

Buchanan 

County 

No bass less than 20 inches; 

only 1 bass per day longer than 

20 inches 
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Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream 

from the Union 

Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

James River – 

Confluence of 

the Jackson and 

Cowpasture 

rivers 

(Botetourt 

County) 

downstream to 

the 14th Street 

Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 inches,; only 1 

per day longer than 22 inches 

New River – 

Fields Dam 

(Grayson 

County) 

downstream to 

the VA - WV 

state line and its 

tributaries Little 

River 

downstream 

from Little 

River Dam in 

Montgomery 

County, Big 

Walker Creek 

from the 

Norfolk 

Southern 

Railroad Bridge 

downstream to 

the New River, 

and Wolf Creek 

from the 

Narrows dam 

Dam 

downstream to 

the New River 

in Giles County 

(This does not 

include Claytor 

Lake, which is 

delineated as: 

The upper end 

of the island at 

Allisonia 

downstream to 

the dam) 

No bass 14 to 22 inches,; only 1 

per day longer than 22 inches 
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North Fork 

Holston River - 

Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of 

Saltville, VA 

downstream to 

the VA - TN 

state line 

No bass less than 20 inches,; 

only 1 per day longer than 20 

inches 

North Fork 

Shenandoah 

River – Rt. 42 

bridge, 

Rockingham 

[ Co. County ] 

downstream to 

the confluence 

with S. Fork 

Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Potomac River 

- Virginia tidal 

tributaries 

above Rt. 301 

bridge 

No bass less than 15 inches 

from March 1 through June 15 

Roanoke 

(Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries 

below Difficult 

Creek, 

Charlotte Co. 

County 

Only 2 of 5 bass less than 14 

inches 

Shenandoah 

River –  

  

Confluence of 

South Fork and 

North Fork 

[ rivers 

Rivers ], Front 

Royal, 

downstream, to 

the Warren 

Dam, near 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Base of Warren 

Dam, near 

Front Royal 

downstream to 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 inches,; only 1 

per day longer than 20 inches 
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Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to 

VA - WV state 

line 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah 

River - 

  

Confluence of 

North and 

South rivers, 

below Port 

Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah 

Dam, near 

Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Base of 

Shenandoah 

Dam, near 

Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to 

Luray Dam, 

near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 inches,; only 1 

per day longer than 20 inches 

Base of Luray 

Dam, near 

Luray, 

downstream to 

the confluence 

with North Fork 

of Shenandoah, 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Staunton 

River - 

  

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell 

County) 

downstream to 

the mouth of 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte 

County 

No smallmouth bass less than 

20 inches,; only 1 per day 

longer than 20 inches 
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striped bass landlocked 

striped bass 

and landlocked 

striped bass x - 

white bass 

hybrids 

4 per day in the aggregate;  

No fish less than 20 inches 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) reservoir 

Reservoir, 

including the 

Staunton River 

to Leesville 

Dam and the 

Dan River to 

Union Street 

Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 2 per day 

in the aggregate; No no striped 

bass or hybrid striped bass less 

than 24 20 inches [ ; ]  

June 1 - September 30: 4 per 

day in the aggregate; No no 

length limit 

Claytor Lake 

and its 

tributaries 

September 16 – June 30: 2 per 

day in the aggregate; no striped 

bass or hybrid bass less than 20 

inches 

July 1 – September 15: 4 per 

day in the aggregate;  

no length limit 

Smith Mountain 

Lake and its 

tributaries, 

including the 

Roanoke River 

upstream to 

Niagara Dam 

2 per day in the aggregate;  

November 1 - May 31: No 

striped bass 30 to 40 inches; 

June 1 - October 31: No length 

limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the aggregate 

October 1 - May 31: No striped 

bass or hybrid striped bass less 

than 20 inches 

June 1 - September 30: No 

length limit 

anadromous 

(coastal) 

striped bass 

above the fall 

line in all 

coastal rivers 

of the 

Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits shall be set 

by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission for recreational 

fishing in tidal waters 
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anadromous 

(coastal) in the 

Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater 

(Chowan 

Drainage), 

North Landing 

and Northwest 

Rivers and 

their tributaries 

plus Back Bay 

2 per day;  

No striped bass less than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day;  

No statewide length limits 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

Reservoir, 

including the 

Staunton River 

to Leesville 

Dam and the 

Dan River to 

Union Street 

Dam (Danville) 

10 per day; no white bass less 

than 14 inches 

walleye   5 per day in the aggregate;  

No walleye or saugeye less than 

18 inches 

New River 

upstream of 

Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less than 20 inches 

Claytor Lake 

and the New 

River upstream 

of Claytor Lake 

Dam to Buck 

Dam in Carroll 

County 

February 1 - May 31: 2 walleye 

per day; no walleye 19 to 28 

inches; 

June 1 - January 31: 5 walleye 

per day; no walleye less than 20 

inches 

sauger   2 per day;  

No statewide length limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily limit; 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

chain pickerel   5 per day;  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

reservoirs 

Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day;  

No pike less than 20 inches 
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muskellunge   2 per day;  

No muskellunge less than 30 

inches 

New River - 

Fields Dam 

(Grayson 

County) 

downstream to 

Claytor Dam, 

including 

Claytor Lake 

1 per day; No no muskellunge 

less than 42 inches 

New River - 

Claytor Dam 

downstream to 

the VA - WV 

state line 

1 per day  

June 1 - last day of February: 

No muskellunge 40 to 

48 inches; 

March 1 - May 31: No 

muskellunge less than 48 

inches 

bluegill (bream) 

and other sunfish 

excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) 

and Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the aggregate;  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

reservoirs 

Reservoirs and 

that portion of 

the New River 

from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to 

the confluence 

of the New and 

Little Rivers in 

Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or 

white) 

  25 per day in the aggregate;  

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston 

and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

reservoirs and 

that portion of 

the New River 

from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to 

the confluence 

of the New and 

Little Rivers in 

Grayson 

County 

No daily limit 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

Reservoir 

No crappie less than 9 inches 
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Briery Creek 

and Sandy 

River 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 9 inches 

Flannagan and 

South Holston 

reservoirs 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day; in the aggregate with 

Roanoke bass  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

reservoirs 

Reservoirs and 

that portion of 

the New River 

from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to 

the confluence 

of the New and 

Little Rivers in 

Grayson 

County. 

No daily limit 

Nottoway and, 

Meherrin rivers, 

Blackwater 

(Franklin 

County), 

Falling, and 

Smith Rivers 

and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate with 

Roanoke bass;  

No no rock bass less than 8 

inches  

Roanoke bass   No statewide daily limit; 25 per 

day in the aggregate with rock 

bass  

No statewide length limits 

Nottoway and, 

Meherrin rivers, 

Blackwater 

(Franklin 

County), 

Falling, and 

Smith Rivers 

and their 

tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate with 

rock bass;  

No no Roanoke bass less than 8 

inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.   

catfish channel, white, 

and flathead 

catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below 

the fall line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, except only 1 

blue catfish per day longer than 

32 inches 
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Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except only 1 blue 

catfish per day longer than 32 

inches 

James River 

and its 

tributaries 

below the fall 

line and York 

River and its 

tributaries 

(including the 

Pamunkey 

River and 

Mattaponi 

River) below 

the fall line 

No daily limit, except only 1 

blue catfish per day longer than 

32 inches 

All rivers below 

the fall line 

other than the 

James River 

and its 

tributaries and 

the York River 

and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, 

and black 

bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

    

American shad and 

hickory shad 

Virginia 

waters of Lake 

Gaston and 

Buggs Island 

(Kerr) 

Reservoir and 

tributaries to 

include the 

Dan and 

Staunton rivers 

No possession (catch and release 

only) 

    

Above and 

below the fall 

line in all 

coastal rivers 

of the 

Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits shall be the 

same as those set by the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission for 

these species in tidal rivers 
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Meherrin 

River below 

Emporia Dam 

Nottoway 

River, 

Blackwater 

River (Chowan 

Drainage), 

North Landing 

and Northwest 

rivers Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

10 per day in the aggregate 

No length limits 

    

American shad  No possession     

anadromous 

(coastal) alewife 

and blueback 

herring 

Above and 

below the fall 

line in all 

coastal rivers 

of the 

Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits shall be the 

same as those set by the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission for 

these species in tidal rivers 

    

Meherrin 

River, 

Nottoway 

River, 

Blackwater 

River (Chowan 

Drainage), 

North Landing 

and Northwest 

rivers Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

the North 

Landing River 

and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

No drum less than 18 inches or 

greater than 27 inches 
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spotted sea trout 

(speckled trout) 
Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

the North 

Landing River 

and its 

tributaries 

4 per day;  

No sea trout less than 14 inches 

 
 

grey trout 

(weakfish) 
Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day;  

No grey trout less than 12 inches 

 
 

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

the North 

Landing River 

and its 

tributaries 

6 per day;  

No flounder less than 15 inches 

 
 

northern 

snakehead 
 Anglers may possess snakeheads 

taken from Virginia waters if they 

immediately kill the fish and 

notify the headquarters or a 

regional office of the department; 

notification may be made by 

telephoning (804) 367-2925 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

    

bowfin   5 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

    

American eel   25 per day; 

No eel less than 9 inches 

Back Bay and 

North Landing 

River 

No possession limit for those 

individuals possessing a permit 

obtained under 4VAC15-340-

80 

other native or 

naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic Invertebrates, 

Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish. Taking 

aquatic invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles, and 

nongame fish for private use. 

  

endangered or 

threatened fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 

threatened species; adoption of federal list; 

additional species enumerated. 
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nonnative (exotic) 

fish 

See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, Etc., 

of Animals. Importation requirements, possession 

and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5497; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:23 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments prohibit the use of any species of fish as 

bait in Virginia's candy darter streams of the New River 

drainage, including Big Stony Creek in Giles County, 

Dismal Creek in Bland and Giles Counties, Laurel Creek 

in Bland County, and Cripple Creek in Smyth and Wythe 

Counties, to prevent the introduction of nonnative fish 

species in those streams.  

4VAC15-320-50. Fish used as bait prohibited in certain 

waters.  

It shall be unlawful to use any species of fish as bait in the 

waters and tributaries of Lick Creek in Smyth and Bland 

counties, Bear Creek in Smyth County, and Laurel Creek in 

Tazewell and Bland counties, Big Stony Creek in Giles 

County, Dismal Creek in Bland and Giles Counties, Laurel 

Creek in Bland County, and Cripple Creek in Smyth and 

Wythe Counties. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5500; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(repealing 4VAC15-320-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the requirement for a permit to 

conduct a striped bass tournament. 

4VAC15-320-140. Permits required for striped bass 

fishing rodeos; etc. (Repealed.)  

No person shall organize, conduct, supervise, or solicit 

entries for striped bass fishing tournaments, rodeos, or other 

striped bass fishing events on the inland waters of this 

Commonwealth, for which prizes are offered, awarded, or 

accepted, either in money or other valuable considerations, 

without having applied for and obtained a permit from the 

department to do so. Exercising a due regard for the 

distribution, local abundance, economic value, breeding 

habits, and natural growth potential of striped bass in the 

affected public water, the director is authorized on behalf of 

the board to issue or deny permits pursuant to this section, 

and to establish such special rules for each tournament as may 

be deemed necessary, after consulting with the state fish 

biologist and with the approval of the board's fish committee 

as designated from time to time by the chairman. Failure to 

comply with all special rules and other provisions of any 

permit issued pursuant to this section may be deemed grounds 

for denying the permittee a permit for a similar event to be 

held within three years from the date of such failure of 

compliance.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5501; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:33 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide for closures to designated 

stocked trout waters to adult anglers for youth trout fishing 

events sponsored by the department, including (i) how a 

closure shall be posted, (ii) when a closure will begin the 

day preceding an event, and (iii) that a closure will last 

until the conclusion of an event. 

4VAC15-330-10. Season; general open season.  

Except as otherwise specifically provided in the sections 

appearing in this chapter, there shall be a year-round season 

for taking trout. However, angling in designated stocked trout 

waters shall only be permitted from 5 a.m. until one hour after 

sunset, except for waters designated by the director as Trout 

Heritage Waters and listed in the annual trout stocking plan 

(as referenced in 4VAC15-20-190). Trout Heritage Waters 

will be closed to fishing on the Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in April and will reopen to fishing at 9 a.m. on the 

first Saturday in April. Youth fishing events that are 

sponsored by the department and held on designated stocked 

trout waters shall be posted on site with a closure to adults 

(anglers older than 15 years of age) from noon the day before 

the event until the conclusion of the youth event. Any person 

older than 15 years of age and accompanying a youth who is 

incapable of hooking and landing a fish unassisted shall be 

properly licensed to fish in designated stocked trout waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5502; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:35 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments require that trout fishing in Wolf Creek, 

within the Abingdon Muster Grounds in the Town of 

Abingdon from Colonial Road downstream to Stone Mill 

Road, and Beaver Creek, within the boundaries of Sugar 

Hollow Park in the City of Bristol, be catch and release 

using single hook artificial lures only. Since the proposed 

action, a correction identifying the Wayne Avenue Bridge 

on the South River in the City of Waynesboro, instead of 

the Arch Avenue Bridge, has been added. 

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to Stewarts 

Creek Trout Management Area; certain portions of the 

Dan, Rapidan, South Fork Holston and Staunton rivers, 

the Brumley Creek, East Fork of Chestnut Creek, Little 

Stony Creek, Little Tumbling Creek, Big Tumbling 

Creek, North Creek, Roaring Fork, Spring Run, Stony 

Creek, Venrick Run, South River, and their tributaries 

trout fishing using artificial lures with single hook. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton [ rivers Rivers ] and their 

tributaries upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah 

National Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 

in Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and 

its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 

Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 

Fish Culture Station in Smyth County.  

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 

the George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County.  
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10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 

the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 

Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 

Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 

Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. Effective January 1, 2018, Big Tumbling Creek and its 

tributaries within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife 

Management Area in Smyth County from a sign starting at 

the foot of the mountain and extending upstream 

seasonally from October 1 until five days prior to the first 

Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the [ Arch 

Wayne ] Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the 

Second Street Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 

Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 

Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries 

of Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol.  

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 

returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 

any time in these areas.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5503; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:49 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 

(amending 4VAC15-340-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that the use of cast nets for taking 

bait fish in the Roanoke and Dan Rivers in Campbell, 

Charlotte, Halifax, and Pittsylvania Counties and in the 

City of Danville is not prohibited.  

4VAC15-340-60. Seines, traps, and nets prohibited in 

certain areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind for 

the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 

(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, 

and Pittsylvania Counties, and in the City of Danville; 

provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 

prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 

legally hooked or the taking of fish from these waters 

pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360. In addition, this 

section shall not be construed to prohibit the use of cast nets, 

also known as throw nets, for the taking of bait fish. 

B. In Lick Creek and tributaries in Smyth and Bland 

Counties, in Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above 

Hungry Mother Lake in Smyth County, and in Laurel Creek 

and tributaries upstream of Highway 16 bridge in Tazewell 

and Bland Counties, in Susong Branch and Mumpower Creek 

in Washington County and the City of Bristol, and in 

Timbertree Branch in Scott County, it shall be unlawful to 

use seines, nets, or traps; provided, however, this section shall 

not be construed to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for 

the landing of fish legally hooked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5504; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:51 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add goldfish to the list of fish that can be 

taken using bow and arrow or crossbow. 
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4VAC15-350-70. Taking common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, and gar of fish with 

bow and arrow or crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, goldfish, and gar from the public inland waters of 

the Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters of 

the Commonwealth except department-owned or department-

controlled lakes, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall 

line in tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters 

stocked with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, goldfish, or gar in the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner mentioned described in this section shall be required 

to have a regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. Common The creel limits for common carp, 

grass carp, northern snakehead, goldfish, and catfish – shall 

be unlimited, provided that any angler taking northern 

snakehead immediately kill such fish and notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions and 

provided that any angler taking grass carp ensure that 

harvested fish are dead. The creel limit for bowfin and 

longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5505; Filed August 27, 2018, 10:55 a.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the 

Taking of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 

4VAC20-252-30, 4VAC20-252-80, 4VAC20-252-160). 

4VAC20-280. Pertaining to Speckled Trout and Red 

Drum (amending 4VAC20-280-20, 4VAC20-280-30). 

4VAC20-320. Pertaining to the Taking of Black Drum 

(amending 4VAC20-320-20, 4VAC20-320-60). 

4VAC20-380. Pertaining to Grey Trout (Weakfish) 

(amending 4VAC20-380-20, 4VAC20-380-30, 4VAC20-

380-60). 

4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks (amending 4VAC20-

490-20). 

4VAC20-500. Pertaining to the Catching of Eels 

(amending 4VAC20-500-20, 4VAC20-500-35). 

4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack and Cobia 

(amending 4VAC20-510-12, 4VAC20-510-30). 

4VAC20-540. Pertaining to Spanish and King Mackerel 

(amending 4VAC20-540-20, 4VAC20-540-40). 

4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer Flounder (amending 

4VAC20-620-20, 4VAC20-620-50). 

4VAC20-910. Pertaining to Scup (Porgy) (amending 

4VAC20-910-20, 4VAC20-910-30). 

4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea Bass (amending 

4VAC20-950-20, 4VAC20-950-30). 

4VAC20-960. Pertaining to Tautog (amending 4VAC20-

960-20, 4VAC20-960-30). 

4VAC20-1120. Pertaining to Tilefish and Grouper.  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments create conformity in total length 

measurements and descriptions in all regulations and 

establish a uniform definition and process for measuring 

finfish.  

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake area" means the area that includes the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  
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"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at 

Dameron Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West 

Longitude 76-17.1294; thence extending to the southernmost 

point of Tangier Island, and thence north to a point on the 

Virginia-Maryland state boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 

37-57.0407, West Longitude 75-58.5043, thence westerly 

along the Virginia-Maryland state boundary to Smith Point.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational striped 

bass fishery. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Trophy-size striped bass" means any striped bass that is 36 

inches or greater in total length. 

4VAC20-252-30. General prohibitions and requirements.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, except in accord with 

the provisions of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accord with the provisions of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, during a time, from 

an area, and with a gear type when there is no open season set 

forth in this chapter for such time, area, and gear type.  

C. Except for those persons permitted in accordance with 

4VAC20-252-170, it shall be unlawful for any person to 

possess any striped bass less than 18 inches total length at any 

time.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass that measures less than the minimum size or more than 

the maximum size applicable to the open season when fishing 

occurs, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115.  

E. Total length measurement of striped bass shall be in a 

straight line from tip of nose to tip of tail.  

F. E. It shall be unlawful for any person while aboard any 

boat or vessel or while fishing from shore or pier to alter any 

striped bass or to possess any altered striped bass such that its 

total length cannot be determined.  

G. F. It shall be unlawful for any person to gaff or attempt to 

gaff any striped bass at any time.  

H. G. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a 

commercial hook and line within 300 feet of any bridge, 

bridge-tunnel, jetty, or pier during Thanksgiving Day and the 

following day or during any open recreational striped bass 

season in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except 

during the period midnight Sunday through 6 a.m. Friday.  

I. H. Unless specified differently in other regulations, it shall 

be unlawful to place, set, or fish any gill net within 300 feet 

of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, or pier during any open 

recreational striped bass season in the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries, except during the period midnight Sunday through 

midnight Wednesday.  

J. I. During the period April 1 through May 31, inclusive, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to set or fish any anchored 

gill net or staked gill net, for any purpose, within the 
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spawning reaches of the James, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and 

Rappahannock Rivers. Drift or float gill nets may be set and 

fished within the spawning reaches of these rivers during this 

period, provided that the person setting and fishing the net 

remains with the net during the time it is fishing and all 

striped bass that are caught shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

K. J. Holding any permit issued by the commission to fish 

for striped bass, recreationally or commercially, shall 

authorize any commission personnel or their designees to 

inspect, measure, weigh, or take biological samples from any 

striped bass in possession of the permit holder.  

L. K. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude any person, who 

is legally eligible to fish, from possessing any striped bass 

tagged with a Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) 

fluorescent green tag. Possession of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass shall not count towards the personal recreational 

possession limit, and permitted commercial striped bass 

individual transferable quota (ITQ) holders shall not be 

required to apply a tamper evident, numbered tag provided by 

the commission, in order to possess any striped bass tagged 

with a VIMS-inscribed green fluorescent tag. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to retain any of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass for a period of time that is longer than necessary 

to provide the VIMS-tagged striped bass to a VIMS 

representative. Under no circumstance shall any VIMS-

tagged striped bass be stored for future use or sale or 

delivered to any person who is not a VIMS representative.  

4VAC20-252-80. Bay Spring/Summer Striped Bass 

Recreational Fishery.  

A. The open season for the Bay Spring/Summer Striped 

Bass Recreational Fishery shall be May 16 through June 15 

inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 

Bay and its tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 

total length, and the maximum size limit for this fishery shall 

be 28 inches total length, except as provided in subsection E 

of this section.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 

person.  

E. The possession limit described in subsection D of this 

section may consist of one trophy-size striped bass 36 inches 

or greater in total length, which is subject to the provisions of 

subsections A, B, E, F, G, H, I, and J of 4VAC20-252-60.  

4VAC20-252-160. Individual transferable shares; tagging. 

A. For each person permitted under the provisions of 

4VAC20-252-130 to harvest striped bass commercially, a 

weight quota shall be issued to permitted fishermen in 

amounts equal to the percentage share of the Chesapeake area 

and coastal area striped bass harvest quota they hold. Tags 

issued for Chesapeake area harvest quota shall only be used 

for striped bass harvests in the Chesapeake area, and tags 

issued for the coastal area harvest quota shall only be used for 

striped bass harvests in the coastal area. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess any striped bass tags in Virginia waters, according to 

the following provisions: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

set, place, or fish any gear that can harvest striped bass in 

the Chesapeake area when in possession of coastal area 

striped bass tags issued by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission or striped bass tagged with coastal area tags. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess Virginia 

coastal area striped bass tags in the Chesapeake area or 

striped bass tagged with coastal area tags except when 

transiting the Chesapeake area. 

3. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess striped 

bass tags issued for previous years for the Chesapeake 

area, coastal area, or any other jurisdiction. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission striped bass tags in Virginia 

waters, except when transiting the Virginia tributaries of 

the Potomac River to land in Virginia and as provided by 

subsection C of this section. 

5. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any non-

Virginia jurisdictional striped bass tags in Virginia waters 

or striped bass tagged with any non-Virginia jurisdictional 

striped bass tags, except as provided by subdivision 4 of 

this subsection and subsection C of this section. 

6. Any violation of this subsection shall result in the 

confiscation and impoundment of all striped bass tags or 

striped bass on the vessel. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess any striped bass tags in the Great Wicomico-Tangier 

Striped Bass Management Area except current year striped 

bass tags issued by the jurisdictions of the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission, State of Maryland, or Potomac River 

Fisheries Commission and according to the following 

provisions: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess more than one jurisdiction's tags or more than one 

jurisdiction's tagged striped bass in the Great Wicomico-

Tangier Striped Bass Management Area. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

place, set, or fish any gear that can harvest striped bass in 

the Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management 

Area when in possession of any striped bass tags not issued 

by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. 
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3. Any violation of this subsection shall result in the 

confiscation and impoundment of all striped bass tags or 

striped bass on the vessel.  

D. Shares of the commercial striped bass quota held by any 

permitted fisherman may be transferred to any other person 

who is a licensed registered commercial fisherman; such 

transfer shall allow the transferee to harvest striped bass in a 

quantity equal to the share transferred. Any transfer of striped 

bass commercial shares shall be limited by the following 

conditions: 

1. Shares of commercial striped bass quota shall not be 

permanently transferred in any quantity less than 500 

pounds, or 100% of unused permanent shares, in any year 

from February 1 through October 31. Permanent transfers 

of shares of commercial striped bass quota shall be 

prohibited from November 1 through January 31. 

2. Shares of commercial striped bass quota shall not be 

temporarily transferred in any quantity less than 500 

pounds from February 1 through October 31 or less than 

200 pounds from November 1 through December 15. 

Temporary transfers of shares of commercial striped bass 

quota shall be prohibited from December 16 through 

January 31. 

3. No licensed registered commercial fisherman shall hold 

more than 2.0% of the total annual Chesapeake area 

commercial striped bass harvest quota or more than 11% of 

the total annual coastal area commercial striped bass 

harvest quota. 

4. No transfer of striped bass commercial harvest quota 

shall be authorized by the commission unless transferor 

and transferee provide up-to-date records of all commercial 

landings of striped bass and striped bass tag use to the 

commission prior to such transfer. 

5. No transfer of striped bass commercial harvest quota 

shall be authorized unless such transfer is documented on a 

form provided by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission, notarized by a lawful Notary Public, and 

approved by the commissioner. 

E. Transfers of Chesapeake area or coastal area striped bass 

commercial quota from one person to another may be 

permanent or temporary. Transferred quota from the 

Chesapeake area striped bass commercial quota shall only be 

used by the transferee for striped bass harvested from the 

Chesapeake area, and transferred quota from the coastal area 

striped bass commercial quota shall only be used by the 

transferee for striped bass harvested from the coastal area. 

Permanent transfers of commercial quota shall grant to the 

transferee that transferred percentage of the quota for future 

years, and the transferor loses that same transferred 

percentage of the quota in future years. Temporary transfers 

of individual striped bass commercial harvest quota shall 

allow the transferee to harvest only that transferred 

percentage of the quota during the year in which the transfer 

is approved. Transferors are solely responsible for any 

overage of the transferred percentage of the quota by the 

transferee. Thereafter, any percentage of the transferred 

striped bass commercial quota, less any overage incurred by 

the transferee, reverts back to the transferor. 

F. The commission will issue striped bass tags to permitted 

striped bass commercial fishermen as follows: those 

fishermen permitted only for Chesapeake area or coastal area 

harvests of striped bass will receive their allotment of tags 

prior to the start of the fishing season. Any permitted 

fisherman, eligible for both Chesapeake area and coastal area 

tags, shall receive only one type of area-specific tag 

allotment, of his choosing, prior to the start of the fishing 

season, and his other type of area-specific tags will be 

distributed when it has been determined from the 

commission's mandatory harvest reporting program that the 

fisherman has used all of his first allotment of tags and has 

not exceeded his individual harvest quota. The commissioner 

may authorize the distribution of the second allotment of 

area-specific tags to a fisherman eligible for both Chesapeake 

area and Coastal area tags prior to that fisherman's complete 

use of his first allotment of tags, provided that fisherman 

surrenders any remaining tags of his first allotment of tags.  

G. Striped bass tags are valid only for use by the permittee 

to whom the tags were allotted. The permittee shall be on 

board the boat or vessel when striped bass are harvested and 

tags are applied. Nothing in this subsection shall prevent a 

permitted commercial hook-and-line fisherman from using 

three crew members who are not registered commercial 

fishermen to assist in the harvest of his allotment of striped 

bass.  

H. At the place of capture, and before leaving that place of 

capture, tags shall be passed through the mouth of the fish 

and one gill opening, and interlocking ends of the tag shall 

then be connected such that the tag may only be removed by 

breaking. Failure to comply with these provisions shall be a 

violation of this chapter. 

I. It shall be unlawful to bring to shore any commercially 

caught striped bass that has not been tagged at the place of 

capture by the fisherman with a tamper evident, numbered tag 

provided by the commission. It shall be unlawful to possess 

striped bass in a quantity greater than the number of tags in 

possession. If a permittee violates this section, the entire 

amount of untagged striped bass, as well as the number of 

tags equal to the amount of striped bass in his possession, 

shall be confiscated. Any confiscated striped bass shall be 

considered as a removal from that permittee's harvest quota. 

Any confiscated striped bass tags shall be impounded by the 

commission. Upon confiscation, the marine police officer 

shall inventory the confiscated striped bass and may 

redistribute the catch by one or a combination of the 

following methods: 
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1. The marine police officer shall secure a minimum of two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated striped bass from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived 

from such sale shall be deposited to the Commonwealth 

pending court resolution of the charge of violating the 

possession limits established in this chapter. All of the 

collected funds and confiscated tags will be returned to the 

accused upon a finding of innocence or forfeited to the 

Commonwealth upon a finding of guilt. 

2. The marine police officer shall provide the confiscated 

striped bass to commission staff for biological sampling of 

the catch. Upon receipt of confiscated striped bass, 

commission staff will secure a minimum of two estimates 

of value per pound for striped bass from approved and 

licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated tags and the 

estimated value of confiscated striped bass provided for 

biological sampling will be reimbursed to the accused upon 

a finding of innocence or retained by the commission upon 

a finding of guilt. 

J. Altering or attempting to alter any tag for the purpose of 

reuse shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

K. Prior to receiving any commercial season's allotment of 

striped bass tags, a permitted commercial harvester shall be 

required to have returned all unused tags from the previous 

commercial season to the commission within 30 days of 

harvesting their individual harvest quota, or by the second 

Thursday in January, whichever comes first. Any unused tags 

that cannot be turned in to the commission shall be accounted 

for by the harvester submitting an affidavit to the commission 

that explains the disposition of the unused tags that are not 

able to be turned into the commission. Each individual shall 

be required to pay a processing fee of $25, plus $0.13 per tag, 

for any unused tags that are not turned in to the commission. 

L. Any individual with remaining unused striped bass 

commercial quota in the current year requesting additional 

commercial season striped bass tags shall provide up-to-date 

records of landings and account for all previously issued tags 

prior to receiving an additional allotment of tags. The 

harvester shall submit an affidavit to the commission that 

explains the disposition of the tags that are not accounted for 

and shall be required to pay a processing fee of $25, plus 

$0.13 per tag, for such tags to the commission. 

M. For the commercial fishing season, one type of tag shall 

be distributed to Chesapeake area permittees and one type of 

tag shall be distributed to coastal area permittees. For the 

Chesapeake area, the tag shall only be used on striped bass 18 

inches or greater in total length. For the coastal area, the tag 

shall only be used on striped bass 28 inches or greater in total 

length. The possession of any improperly tagged striped bass 

by any permitted striped bass fisherman shall be a violation of 

this chapter. 

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-252) 

2017 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 4/2017) 

2018 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 8/2018) 

4VAC20-280-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Red drum" means red drum or channel bass and is any fish 

of the species Sciaenops ocellatus.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Speckled trout" means speckled trout or spotted seatrout 

and is any fish of the species Cynoscion nebulosus.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-280-30. Size limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or 

possess any speckled trout less than 14 inches in total length, 

provided however the catch of speckled trout by pound net or 

haul seine may consist of up to 5.0%, by weight, of speckled 

trout less than 14 inches in total length.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with commercial hook and line gear, or fishing recreationally 

with any gear type to possess more than one speckled trout 24 

inches or greater in any one day from January 1 through 

December 31, except as described in 4VAC20-280-40 B. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

with any gear type to take, catch, or possess any red drum less 

than 18 inches in total length or greater than 26 inches in total 

length.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with any gear type to take, catch, or possess any red drum less 

than 18 inches in total length or greater than 25 inches in total 

length. 

E. Length is measured in a straight line from tip of nose to 

tip of tail.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=051eb005652~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005652&mime=application/pdf
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4VAC20-320-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Black Drum" means any fish of the species Pogonias 

cromis.  

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation 

Lines, as specified in Coastal Pilot, 35th and 36th editions by 

Lighthouse Press.  

"Commercial Harvest" means any black drum taken from 

the tidal waters of Virginia by any harvesting method, 

including hook-and-line, and sold.  

"Floating gill net" means any gill net that is suspended from 

the water surface and extends to a depth no more than 

midway between the water surface and bottom.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-320-60. Minimum size limit.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or 

possess any black drum less than 16 inches in total length.  

B. Total length shall be measured in a straight line from the 

tip of the nose to the tip of the tail.  

4VAC20-380-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Fishing season" means the time period of April 1 through 

March 31.  

"Grey trout" means any fish of the species Cynoscion 

regalis.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-380-30. Commercial minimum size limits.  

A. For any person fishing with pound net or haul seine, there 

shall be no minimum size limit on grey trout.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with gill nets 

to possess any grey trout less than 12 inches in total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any trawl boat to land any grey 

trout in Virginia that are less than 12 inches in total length, 

except that up to 100 grey trout less than 12 inches in total 

length may be landed by trawl but shall not be sold.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with 

commercial hook and line to possess any grey trout less than 

12 inches in total length.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person using any gear type 

not specified in subsection A, B, C, or D of this section to 

possess any grey trout less than nine inches in total length.  

F. During a closed season it shall be unlawful for any person 

using any gear type which is regulated by a closed season to 

possess any grey trout less than 12 inches in total length.  

G. Length is measured in a straight line from the tip of the 

nose to the tip of the tail.  

4VAC20-380-60. Recreational fishing seasons, minimum 

size limits, and possession limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel or hand line to possess more than one grey 

trout and the minimum size limit shall be 12 inches in total 

length. 

B. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit 

shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied 

by one. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit. Any grey 

trout taken after the possession limit has been reached shall 

be returned to the water immediately. 

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order 

to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 

commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight 

line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the 

posterior end of the shark carcass. 

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation Line, 

as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR 

80.510 Chesapeake Bay Entrance, VA). 

"Commercial shark fisherman" means any commercial 

fisherman permitted to land or possess sharks (excluding 
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spiny dogfish) that has landed and sold one pound of shark or 

more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year (January 

1 through December 31). 

"Commercially permitted aggregated large coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted hammerhead shark" means any of 

the following species: 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

"Commercially permitted nonblacknose small coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially prohibited shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present or 

future, used to establish participation in a limited entry 

fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest 

amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 

removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include 

removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise 

further reducing the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the 

remainder of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the straight-line measurement of a fish 

from the tip of the snout length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the fork of the tail The measurement is not made along the 

curve of the body along the midline, using a straight-line 

measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched 

mesh of greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, 

either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that 

consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in 

length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether 

retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Movable gill net" means any gill net other than a staked gill 

net. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 

shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, 

pound nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person neither fishing 

from a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by 

a vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 

vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 
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"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following 

species:  

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier  

"Recreationally prohibited shark" means any of the 

following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only shark" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set 

horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, 

and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in 

length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more 

than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or 

mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched 

mesh of equal to or less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 

canis. Smooth dogfish are also known as "smoothhound 

shark." 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 

acanthias. 

4VAC20-500-20. Definition.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Eel" or "eels," as described in this chapter, means the eel 

species Anguilla rostrata. 

"Elver" means any eel of less than six inches in total length. 

"Land" or "landing" means to enter port with eels on board 

any boat or vessel, to begin offloading eels, or to offload eels. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-500-35. Minimum size limit. 

It shall be unlawful for any individual to take, catch, 

possess, or land any eels less than nine inches in total length.  
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4VAC20-510-12. Definitions. 

The following term terms when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meaning meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat vessel participating in the recreational 

cobia fishery. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-510-30. Minimum size limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or have 

in possession any amberjack less than 32 inches in total 

length.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to take, harvest, or possess any cobia less than 37 inches in 

total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or have 

in possession any recreationally harvested cobia less than 40 

inches in total length. 

D. Total length is measured in a straight line from tip of 

nose to tip of tail.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-510) 

2017 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 4/2017) 

2018 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 8/2018) 

4VAC20-540-20. Definition.  

The following word words and term terms, when used in the 

chapter, shall have the following meaning unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Trip" means that period during which the vessel shall have 

left a dockside landing place, relocated to waters where 

fishing for Spanish mackerel by the vessel is legally 

permitted, and returned to a dockside landing place.  

4VAC20-540-40. Minimum size limits established.  

A. Minimum size limit for Spanish mackerel is established 

at 14 inches in total length.  

B. Minimum size limit for king mackerel is established at 27 

inches in total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch or 

possess any Spanish mackerel less than 14 inches in total 

length.  

D. Except as provided in subsection F E of this section it 

shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch or possess any 

king mackerel less than 27 inches in total length.  

E. Total length shall be measured in a straight line from the 

tip of the nose to the tip of the tail for the purposes of this 

chapter.  

F. E. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the taking, 

catching, or possession of any king mackerel, less than 27 

inches in total length, by a licensed pound net.  

4VAC20-620-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of Virginia, excluding the Potomac River tributaries and the 

coastal area as defined in this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea and all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County, including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland and the City of 

Virginia Beach, including federal areas and state parks 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry.  

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 

crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond, thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93df6005652~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005652&mime=application/pdf
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"Safe harbor" means that a vessel has been authorized by the 

commissioner to enter Virginia waters from federal waters 

solely to either dock temporarily at a Virginia seafood buyer's 

place of business or traverse the Intracoastal Waterway from 

Virginia to North Carolina.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-620-50. Minimum size limits.  

A. The minimum size for summer flounder harvested by 

commercial fishing gear shall be 14 inches in total length.  

B. The minimum size of summer flounder harvested by 

recreational fishing gear, including hook and line, rod and 

reel, spear and gig, shall be 16.5 inches in total length, except 

that the minimum size of summer flounder harvested in the 

Potomac River tributaries shall be the same as established by 

the Potomac River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem 

Potomac River.  

C. Length shall be measured in a straight line from tip of 

nose to tip of tail.  

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

summer flounder smaller than the designated minimum size 

limit.  

E. D. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit the landing of 

summer flounder in Virginia that were legally harvested in 

the Potomac River.  

4VAC20-910-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Scup" means any fish of the species Stenotomus chrysops, 

commonly referred to as porgy.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-910-30. Minimum size limits.  

A. The minimum size of scup harvested by commercial 

fishing gear shall be nine inches in total length.  

B. The minimum size of scup harvested by recreational 

fishing gear including hook and line, rod and reel, spear, and 

gig shall be eight inches in total length.  

C. Length shall be measured in a straight line from tip of 

nose to tip of tail.  

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person to catch and retain 

possession of any scup of a total length less than the 

designated minimum sizes in subsections A and B of this 

section.  

E. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, trade, barter, 

or offer to sell, trade, or barter any scup less than nine inches 

in total length.  

4VAC20-950-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Black sea bass" means any fish of the species Centropristis 

striata.  

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 

crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, excluding 

the caudal fin filament, measured with the tail compressed 

along the midline, using a straight-line measure, not measured 

over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-950-30. Minimum size limit.  

A. The minimum size for black sea bass harvested by 

commercial fishing gear shall be 11 inches in total length. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to sell, trade, or barter, or 

offer to sell, trade, or barter any black sea bass less than 11 

inches in total length, except as described in 4VAC20-950-

70. 

B. The minimum size of black sea bass harvested by 

recreational gear, including hook and line, rod and reel, spear 

and gig, shall be 12-1/2 inches in total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any black 

sea bass smaller than the minimum size limit, as designated 

respectively, in subsections A and B of this section, except as 

described in 4VAC20-950-70.  

D. Total length shall be measured along the lateral midline 

from tip of nose to tip of tail excluding the caudal fin 

filament.  
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4VAC20-960-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Tautog" means any fish of the species Tautoga onitis.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-960-30. Minimum size limits.  

A. The minimum size limit of tautog harvested for 

commercial purposes shall be 15 inches in total length.  

B. The minimum size of tautog harvested for recreational 

purposes shall be 16 inches in total length. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any tautog 

of a total length less than the designated minimum size limit. 

D. Total length shall be measured in a straight line from tip 

of nose to tip of tail.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1120) 

2017 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 4/2017) 

2018 Recreational/Charter Reporting Form (rev. 8/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5652; Filed August 31, 2018, 8:52 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 

and Cobia (amending 4VAC20-510-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 1, 2018, through September 30, 

2018. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendment closes the commercial cobia season on 

October 1, 2018, to mirror the federal waters closure. 

4VAC20-510-25. Commercial fishery possession limits 

and season. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

to possess more than two amberjack or more than two cobia 

at any time, except as described in 4VAC20-510-33. Any 

amberjack or cobia caught after the possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When 

fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 

in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be 

for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 

valid commercial fisherman registration licensees on board 

multiplied by two, except there is a maximum vessel limit of 

six cobia per vessel per day. The captain or operator of the 

boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 

possession limit. 

B. In 2018 it shall be unlawful for any person, fishing 

commercially, to harvest or possess any cobia after October 1. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5651; Filed August 31, 2018, 8:48 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

20, 4VAC20-720-40, 4VAC20-720-60, 4VAC20-720-70, 

4VAC20-720-75, 4VAC20-720-80, 4VAC20-720-91).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the 2018-2019 areas of public 

harvest, public oyster harvest seasons, and management 

measures, including (i) adjusting the start and duration of 

the harvest season on an area basis; (ii) changing vessel 

and individual harvest bushel limits; (iii) implementing 

less efficient gear types, such as patent and hand tongs in 

certain harvest areas; (iv) subdividing the current harvest 

areas into additional rotation areas; and (v) in the James 

River Seed Area, changing seed quota amounts, seed 

transport permits, and areas open to seed harvest. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ae08005652~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005652&mime=application/pdf
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4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon, 

lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, 

or lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and 

longitude used in area descriptions. 

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural 

public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in 

shell length. 

"Coan River Area" means that area of the Public Grounds 

within the Coan River inside of excluding Public Grounds 77 

and 78 of Northumberland County. 

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and 

1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 

27.9962148' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N., Longitude 76° 28.0468953' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.3350863' N., Longitude 76° 28.0968837' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 59.3965161' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.0287342' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1112280' W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 7, 

Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76° 28.1230058' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 

59.5579153' N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 

3,260 feet northwest of Great Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 

27.1088650' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N., Longitude 76° 27.8632901' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.4368502' N., Longitude 76° 27.6868001' W.; thence 

continuing northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 

59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn 

Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of 

the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37° 

30.9802148' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green 

Channel Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 

76° 16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the 

Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude 

37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence 

southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the 

northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37° 

28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence 

northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line 

of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland 

to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island 

to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble 

Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or 

"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry 

Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of 

Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.; 

thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76° 

37.0574269' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215553' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 

Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 

49.3269652' N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W.; thence 

easterly to the southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 

37° 49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence 

easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point 

to a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash 

Point, Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 

17.2804046' W.; thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the 

pier head at Fleeton Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

Great Wicomico River Light; Latitude 37° 48.2078167' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence westerly to a point on 

the offshore end of the southern jetty at the entrance to 

Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 

17.9600320 W.; thence northerly crossing the entrance to 

Towles Creek at the offshore ends of the jetties and 

continuing along the mean low water line to Bussel Point, 

Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., Longitude 76° 18.4670860' W.; 

thence northwesterly to the northern headland of Cranes 

Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' N., Longitude 76° 

18.7308073' W.; thence following the mean low water line 

northerly to a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652' 
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N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W., said point being the point 

of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 

Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude 

37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence 

due south to a point due east of the southern-most point of 

Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76° 

16.0570007' W.; thence due west to the southern-most point 

of Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 

76° 17.2670707' W.; thence along the mean low water line of 

Dameron Marsh, north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 

37° 47.2519872' N., Longitude 76° 18.4028142' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.7132194' W.; thence northerly along the 

mean low water line to the western headland of Harveys 

Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 

18.6881450' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the eastern 

headland of Harveys Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.5469879' W.; thence northerly along the 

mean low water line to a point on the offshore end of the 

southern jetty at the entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 

48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 17.9600320' W.,; thence 

easterly to Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude 37° 

48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W., said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 

catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 

22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 

extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 

bed of a body of water.  

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers, 

tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which 

consist of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and 

complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated 

entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no 

external or internal power source. 

"James River Hand Scrape Area 1" means all public grounds 

and unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, 

beginning at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at 

Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; 

thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, 

located at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 

31.8210667' W.; thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #1, located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., 

Longitude 76° 29.9083333' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

northeast corner of the western draw span pier of the James 

River Bridge (U.S. Route 17), Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; thence southwesterly along 

the upstream side of the James River Bridge to the mean low 

water line; thence northwesterly along the mean low water 

line, crossing Kings Creek at the headlands and continuing 

along the mean low water line to a point on the shore at 

Rainbow Farm Point in line with VMRC Markers "STH" and 

"SMT," located at Latitude 37° 00.1965862' N., Longitude 

76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-northeasterly to a VMRC 

Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 

33.5955842' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "SMT," at 

Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; 

thence to the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, at Latitude 

37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W., said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"James River Hand Scrape Area 2" means all public grounds 

and unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, 

beginning at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at 

Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "NMT," Latitude 

37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 32.0960864' W.; thence to 

a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at Latitude 37° 03.2030055' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; thence to a point on the 

north shore of the river at Blunt (Blount) Point, said point 

being in line with VMRC Markers "NMT" and "NTH" and 

located at Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 

31.1444562' W.; thence southeasterly along the mean low 

water line to the upstream side of the James River Bridge 

(U.S. Route 17); thence westerly along the James River 

Bridge to the northeast corner of the western draw span pier, 

Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; 

thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #1, 

located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., Longitude 76° 

29.9083333' W.; thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #3, located at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., 

Longitude 76° 31.8210667' W.; thence northwesterly to the 

Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37° 

02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W., said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"James River Hand Scrape Area 3" means those public 

grounds of Isle of Wight County and Nansemond County 

(City of Suffolk) located in the James River and Nansemond 

River west of the Monitor Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel 

(Route I-664), northeast of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge 

(U.S. Route 17) on the Nansemond River, and south of the 

James River Bridge (U.S. Route 17). 

"James River Seed Area" means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its 

tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point 

on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37° 

00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 

00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7785333' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT," Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 
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32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a 

point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of 

Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 

76° 37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner 

of the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, 

Latitude 37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; 

thence westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water 

Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 

08.4490472' N., Longitude 76° 38.0215554' W.; thence 

westerly to a point on the shore on the west side of the river at 

the mouth of Lawnes Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 

37° 08.4582990' N., Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W. 

"Latitude and longitude" means values that are based upon a 

geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD83). When latitude and longitude are used in any 

area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, 

to include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value 

is the legal point defining the boundary. 

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little 

Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of 

Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico 

River near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 

150 feet north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 

16.7312926' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 53.2601877' N., Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.8902408' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148' N., Longitude 76° 

16.8211543' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Milford Haven" means that area of Milford Haven inside of 

Public Ground 7 of Mathews County, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,380 feet east of Point Breeze, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 28.3500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.5000000' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 28.3700000' N., Longitude 76° 

16.4700000' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 28.3500000' N., Longitude 76° 16.4200000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 28.3200000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Mobjack Bay Area" means that area of Mobjack Bay 

consisting of Public Ground 2 of Mathews County (Pultz Bar) 

and Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County (Tow Stake) 

described as: 

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, 

is located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point 

approximately 5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3700000' W.; thence easterly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 21.2700000' N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000' 

W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000' 

N., Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.3300000' W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow 

Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the 

Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 

feet east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 

23.2372184' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 20.3786971' N., Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 

23.7717423' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek 

inside of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County. 

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in 

Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes 

Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north 

of Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 

07.0924060' N., Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.6704025,' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7552151' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 07.0569717' N., Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at 

the mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point 

approximately 50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.0337082' W.; thence south-southeasterly 

to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 

43.1101420' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' 

W.; thence west to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 

07.7031535' N., Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence 

northerly and westerly along the mean low water line of 

Nomini Creek to a point southwest of Cedar Island, 

Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point on the mean low water 
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line at the southern-most point of Cedar Island, Latitude 

38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of the southern and 

eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point, Latitude 38° 

08.0164430' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 08.0712849' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point on the northern headland of Nomini Creek at the 

mean low water line, said point being Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of White Point to a 

point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

08.4066960' N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence 

southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point 

on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7, 

Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656' 

W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water 

line of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' 

N., Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-

southwesterly, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to 

Corner 9, Latitude 38° 08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7886409' W.; thence southeasterly to a point on the 

mean low water line of the southern headland of Buckner 

Creek, Corner 10, Latitude 38° 08.1956281' N., Longitude 

76° 42.7679625' W.; thence southwesterly following the 

mean low water line of Nomini Creek, crossing the mouth 

of an un-named cove at the narrowest point between the 

headlands and continuing to follow the mean low water 

line to a point on White Oak Point, Latitude 38° 

07.6428228' N., Longitude 76° 43.0233530' W.; thence 

west to Corner 1, said point being the point of beginning.  

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster dredge" means any device having a maximum 

weight of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 

50 inches, and maximum tooth length of four inches.  

"Oyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 

100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 

than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 

length. 

"Oyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid 

each calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, 

packs, or ships oysters for commercial purposes. 

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke 

Sound inside of Public Grounds Ground 9 and 10 of 

Accomack County. 

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the 

northern-most point of North End Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2870790' W. (NAD83); thence east-

northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia state line to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 

41.9790727' W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

57.2574850' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790730' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 

42.1511250' W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, 

Latitude 37° 57.0940590' N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' 

W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 

57.0551726' N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2957912' W.; thence south-southwesterly 

to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 

42.3790819' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, 

Latitude 37° 56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 

56.5712564' N., Longitude 75° 42.5915437' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75° 

42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14, 

Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 

55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence 

westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N., 

Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75° 

44.1291309' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18, 

Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 

56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136' 

N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75° 

43.2624601' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22, 

Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402' 

W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia 

state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-

most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75° 

45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

56.9261140' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence 

south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5826292' W.; thence northerly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745' 
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W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.6692334' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 

55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109' W.; thence 

west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or 

"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence south 

to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 

56.4883600' W.; thence easterly to the north end of Watts 

Island, Latitude 37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 

53.5994100' W.; thence northerly to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound 

Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., 

Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

southeast to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 Red 

"GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75° 

46.6416700' W.; thence southerly to a point on a line from 

Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most point of 

Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA 

boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 

37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 

75° 56.4883600' W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence 

easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being 

the point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds 

Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 

bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 

75° 53.9739600' W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary 

clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point 

of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 

2+1 Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction 

Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.6416700' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red 

"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' 

W.; thence northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state 

line, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in § 

28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the 

General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those 

grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set 

aside by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and 

may be redefined by any of these legal authorities.  

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 

40.0400000' N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000' W.; thence west-

northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W.; and bounded upstream by a 

line from Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Monaskon Point, Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 

34.1080000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37° 

44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 

42.0870000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 
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49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' 

N., Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

the Thomas J. Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the 

mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean 

low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37° 

36.8200000' N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000' W.; thence 

southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000' 

N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude 

76° 16.3620000' W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean 

low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' 

N., Longitude 76° 17.9860000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek, 

Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line, 

Latitude 37° 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1430000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 

34.6830000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 35.0170000' 

N., Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Sturgeon Bar Light "7R", Latitude 37° 35.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence continuing 

northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 

36.1000000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded 

downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the 

house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southeast to 

Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence continuing 

southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37° 

35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.1000000' W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of 

Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000' N., 

Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream 

by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 

35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000'0 W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr. 

Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.3450000' W.; thence southeast to the southern-most 

corner of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 

36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence 

southwest to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 

37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Parrotts Creek Channel Marker "1", Latitude 

37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.4170000' W.; thence 

northerly to VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.2000000' W.; thence northerly to the north 

channel fender of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman 

River and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of 

the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at 

Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.; 

thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude 

37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence 

westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' 

N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000' W.; thence northerly to Old 

House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76° 

29.6850000' W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude 

37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000' W.; thence 

southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – North", 

Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.; 

thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – 

South", Latitude 37° 40.1670000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.5830000' W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of 

Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 

76° 28.4200000' W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543", 

Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.; 

thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude 

37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000' W.; thence 

southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37° 

38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1260000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at 

the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State 

Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.9990000' W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to 

the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to 

VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude 

37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000' W.; thence 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

173 

south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

on the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 

37° 36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.; thence 

north to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.2830000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White 

House Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

VMRC Towles Point Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.5360000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Flashing Red Buoy "8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W. 

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from 

natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from 

harvest for human consumption. 

"Unassigned ground" means all grounds not assigned 

pursuant to §§ 28.2-600 through 28.2-633 of the Code of 

Virginia, established pursuant to § 28.2-551 of the Code of 

Virginia, or set aside by court order, or those grounds set 

aside by declarations or regulation by the Marine Resources 

Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal 

authorities.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means 

all public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point 

approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the 

Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of 

the end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the 

Little Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 

37° 53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence 

east-southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' 

N., Longitude 76° 11.6402444' W.; thence east-southeasterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853' N., Longitude 76° 

11.0253352' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 

37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76° 

14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9, 

Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West 

Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland 

County and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside 

Public Grounds 100, 102, 104, 106, and 107, and 112 of 

Northumberland County. described as: 

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the 

North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850 

feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76° 

33.0775726' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 

4, Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

Public Ground 100 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 00.2292779' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.2244222' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 00.2183904' N., Longitude 76° 

32.2488009' W.; thence westerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

00.2156893' N., Longitude 76° 32.3156220' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.4024997' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.3338888' W.; thence continuing 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 00.5806170' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.1957546' W.; thence continuing easterly 

to Corner 6, Latitude 38° 00.5798424' N., Longitude 76° 

31.9506788' W., thence continuing southeasterly to Corner 

7, Latitude 38° 00.5076459' N., Longitude 76° 31.9387425' 

W.; thence heading along the mean low water 

southwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 

feet southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5577201' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.1091209' N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 

feet northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 

32.6106215' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 00.8609163' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.4161866' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466' N., Longitude 76° 
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32.5394849' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 

1,300 feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., 

Latitude 76° 32.3425617' W.; thence east-southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 

32.1077962' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989' 

W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 112 of Northumberland County is located 

in the Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 01.8449428' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.2191877' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.8783929' N., Longitude 76° 

31.9970988' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

38° 01.7997003' N., 76° 31.9569302' W.; thence 

continuing southeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 

01.6848729' N., Longitude 76° 31.5931801' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 01.5760153' N., 76° 

31.5931801' W.; thence westerly to Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

01.6860521' N., Longitude 76° 32.2820100' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, between a line 

from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", 

Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of 

Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Flashing 

Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB", Latitude 37° 20.4670000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence northeasterly to the 

inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank.  

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, from the George 

P. Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a 

line from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker 

"8", Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth 

of Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 

the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2017 2018, 

through April 30, 2018 2019. 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2017 2018, through 

February 28, 2018 2019. 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2017 2018, 

through December 31, 2017 2018. 

4. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2017 2018, through 

December 31, 2017 2018. 

5. Coan River Area: October 1, 2017 2018, through 

December 31, 2017 2018. 

6. Yeocomico River Area: October 1, 2017 2018, through 

December 31, 2017 2018.  

7. Nomini Creek Area: October 1, 2017 2018, through 

December 31, 2017 2018. 

8. Mobjack Bay Area: October 1, 2017, through October 

31, 2017 (hand tong only) and February 1, 2018 2019, 

through February 28, 2018 (hand scrape only) 2019. 

9. York River Rotation Area 1: January 1, 2018, through 

January 31, 2018. 

10. 9. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1: October 1, 

2017 3: November 1, 2018, through November 30, 2017 

2018 (patent tong only), and January 1, 2019, through 

February 28, 2019 (hand scrape only). 

11. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6: November 1, 

2017, through November 30, 2017 (patent tong only) and 

December 1, 2017, through January 31, 2018 (hand scrape 

only). 

12. Rappahannock River Area 7: December 1, 2017, 

through January 31, 2018. 

13. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 1: December 1, 

2017, through January 31, 2018. 

14. 10. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5: October 1, 

2018, through November 30, 2018. 

11. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2: December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018, and February 1, 2019, 

through February 28, 2019. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2017 2018, through January December 31, 

2018, and February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019. 

15. 13. James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3: December 

1, 2017, through February 28, 2018 November 1, 2018, 

through January 31, 2019. 
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16. 14. James River Hand Scrape Area 2: October 1, 2017 

2018, through December 31, 2017 2018. 

17. Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1: 

December 1, 2017, through February 28, 2018. 

18. 15. Pocomoke Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 

2018, through January 31, 2019. 

16. Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2018, 

through February 28, 2019. 

17. Pocomoke Sound Area: November 1, 2018, through 

November 30, 2018. 

18. Rappahannock River Area 8: October 1, 2018, through 

October 31, 2018 (patent tong only), and December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018 (hand scrape only). 

19. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2017 2018, through 

February 28, 2018 2019. 

19. 20. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2017 2018, through March 31, 2018 

2019. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2017 2018, through 

May 31, 2018 2019. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2017 2018, through May 31, 2018 2019. 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 

Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, for commercial purposes, except that this provision 

shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one 

bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use 

only during the season when the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through B 18 19 and 

4VAC20-720-40 C. In addition, it shall be unlawful for any 

boat with an oyster dredge or hand scrape aboard to leave the 

dock until one hour before sunrise or return to the dock after 

sunset. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River 

Area, Nomini Creek Area and Yeocomico River Area, except 

by hand tong. It shall be unlawful for any person to have a 

hand scrape on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to 

harvest oysters from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters by any gear from 

the seaside of the Eastern Shore except by hand or hand tong. 

It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters that are not submerged 

at mean low water by any gear other than by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 

Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1, Rappahannock River 

Area 7, James River Hand Scrape Areas, Upper Chesapeake 

Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area, York River Area, and Great 

Wicomico River Areas following areas by any gear except by 

hand scrape: Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3, from 

January 1, 2018, through February 28, 2019; Rappahannock 

River Area 5, from October 1, 2018, through November 30, 

2018; James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3, from 

November 1, 2018, through January 31, 2019; James River 

Hand Scrape Area 2, from October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018; Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry 

Hangs Area, from December 1, 2018, through December 31, 

2018, and February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019; 

Mobjack Bay Area, from February 1, 2019, through February 

28, 2019; Pocomoke Sound Area, from November 1, 2018, 

through November 30, 2018; and Great Wicomico River 

Areas, from December 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018 

and February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019. 

D. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the 

Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6 by any gear except an 

oyster patent tong from November 1, 2017, through 

November 30, 2017. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in 

the Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6 by any gear except 

hand scrape from December 1, 2017, through January from 

the following areas by any gear except an oyster patent tong: 

Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3, from November 1, 

2018, through November 30, 2018, and Rappahannock River 

Rotation Area 8, from October 1, 2018, through October 31, 

2018. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the Mobjack Bay 

Area by any gear except by hand tong from October 1, 2017, 

through October 31, 2017. It shall be unlawful to harvest 

oysters in the Mobjack Bay Area by any gear except by hand 

scrape from February 1, 2018, through February 28, 2018. 

F. E. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than 

one hand scrape on board any boat that is his vessel while he 

is harvesting oysters or attempting to harvest oysters from 

public grounds. It shall be unlawful for any person to have a 

hand tong on board a boat that is his vessel while he is 

harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters from public 

grounds by hand scrape. 
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G. F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, except by 

an oyster dredge. 

H. G. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

from the hand scrape areas in the Rappahannock River, James 

River, Upper Chesapeake Bay, York River, Mobjack Bay, 

and Great Wicomico River with a hand scrape from the 

public oyster grounds as described in 4VAC20-720-70 C 

unless that person has first obtained a valid hand scrape 

license. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds in the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds in the Deep 

Rock Area or Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6 when 

open to patent tong use, as described in 4VAC20-720-70 D 

and G unless that person has first obtained a valid oyster 

patent tong license. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid hand tong license. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by 

hand from the public oyster grounds on the seaside of the 

Eastern Shore, as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster by hand license. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish from the 

public oyster grounds on the seaside of the Eastern Shore by 

hand tong, as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster hand tong license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by for any harvest area, as 

described in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current 

year's oyster resource user fee to harvest or possess any 

oysters for commercial purposes. Any individual who 

possesses the valid licenses a valid hand scrape or dredge 

license and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 

eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to 

exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 bushels clean cull oysters 

harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 

through 18 when the vessel is using the hand scrape or oyster 

dredge. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required by for any harvest area, as 

described in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current 

year's oyster resource user fee to harvest or possess any 

oysters for commercial purposes. Any individual who 

possesses the valid licenses a valid hand or hand tong license 

and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described in this 

subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of eight 12 

bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed 

a daily vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 2 through 7 and 19 20, 

whereby that vessel limit shall equal the number of registered 

commercial fisherman licensees on board the vessel who hold 

a valid gear license and who have paid the oyster resource 

user fee multiplied by eight 12. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required by for any harvest area, as 

described in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current 

year's oyster resource user fee to harvest or possess any 

oysters for commercial purposes. Any individual who 

possesses the valid licenses and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of 12 bushels per day. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75 and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

patent tong license and has paid the oyster resource user fee 

as described in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum 

harvest of 10 bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any 

vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 20 bushels of clean 

cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-

720-40 B when the vessel is using patent tongs. 

E. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, 

no blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to 

possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

4VAC20-720-91. Harvest permit required for the James 

River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Area. 

A. A harvest permit shall be required for the James River 

Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area, for the harvesting of seed oysters.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt to 
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harvest seed oysters from the James River Seed Area, 

including the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed 

Area, without first obtaining and having on board a harvest 

permit. 

B. The commissioner may cease granting permits required 

by § 28.2-546 of the Code of Virginia when he determines 

that the seed areas currently open to harvest are becoming 

depleted and the additional granting of such permits could 

seriously injure the seed areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5653; Filed August 31, 2018, 8:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-130. Regulations Governing 

the Privacy and Security of Criminal History Record 

Information Checks for Firearm Purchases (amending 

6VAC20-130-20 through 6VAC20-130-100; repealing 

6VAC20-130-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 19, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add the VCheck system, or other 

communication method authorized by the Department of 

State Police, as a method to obtain a criminal history 

record information check; (ii) remove language that is 

redundant, obsolete, or conflicts with statutory provisions; 

and (iii) clarify existing language. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

General  

6VAC20-130-10. Purpose. (Repealed.)  

Pursuant to the provisions of § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of 

Virginia, criminal history record information checks are 

required prior to the sale, rental, trade or transfer of certain 

firearms. A criminal history record information check shall be 

requested by licensed dealers from the Department of State 

Police to determine the legal eligibility of a prospective 

purchaser to possess or transport certain firearms under state 

or federal law. The Department of Criminal Justice Services 

hereby promulgates the following regulations governing these 

criminal history record information checks as required under 

§ 18.2-308.2:2 H of the Code of Virginia. The purpose of this 

chapter is to ensure that criminal history record information 

checks are conducted in a manner which ensures the integrity 

of criminal history record information, guarantees individual 

rights to privacy, and supports the needs of law-enforcement, 

while allowing nearly instantaneous sales of firearms to the 

law abiding public.  

6VAC20-130-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

dictates otherwise:  

"Antique firearm" means any firearm, including those with a 

matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of 

ignition system, manufactured in or before 1898, and any 

replica of such a firearm, provided such replica: (i) is not 

designed or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional 

centerfire fixed ammunition; or (ii) uses rimfire or 

conventional centerfire fixed ammunition which is no longer 

manufactured in the United States and which is not readily 

available in the ordinary channels of commercial trade 

meeting the statutory definition provided in § 18.2-308.2:2 G 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"Criminal history record information" means records and 

data collected by criminal justice agencies on adult 

individuals, consisting of notations of arrests, detentions, 

indictments, informations information, or other formal 

charges and any disposition arising therefrom.  

"Criminal history record information check," (also "criminal 

record check," and "record check") means mean a review of a 

potential purchaser's criminal history record information, to 

be conducted by the Department of State Police at the 

initiation of a dealer in order to establish a prospective 

purchaser's eligibility to possess or transport a firearm, as 

defined herein in this chapter, under state or federal law.  

"Dealer" means any person licensed as a dealer pursuant to 

18 U.S.C. USC § 921 et seq.  

"Dealer identification number" (DIN) or "DIN" means a 

unique identifying number assigned by the Department of 

State Police to each individual dealer as defined in § 18.2-

308.2:2 G of the Code of Virginia, in order to identify such 

dealers when they request criminal history record information 

to determine the eligibility of a prospective purchaser to 

possess or transport a firearm.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of State 

Police.  

"Firearm" means any handgun, shotgun, or rifle which 

expels a projectile by action of an explosion means any 
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firearm meeting the statutory definition provided in § 18.2-

308.2:2 G of the Code of Virginia.  

"Handgun" means any firearm including a pistol or revolver 

designed to be fired by the use of a single hand means any 

firearm meeting the statutory definition provided in § 18.2-

308.2:2 G of the Code of Virginia.  

"Law-enforcement officer" means any full-time or part-time 

employee of a police department or sheriff's office which is a 

part of or administered by the Commonwealth or any political 

subdivision thereof, or any full-time or part-time employee of 

a private police department, and who is responsible for the 

prevention and detection of crime and the enforcement of the 

penal, traffic, or highway laws of the Commonwealth, and 

shall include any member of the Regulatory Division (i) 

special agent of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage 

Control vested with police authority, any; (ii) police agent 

appointed under the provisions of § 56-353 of the Code of 

Virginia (provides railroad officials with the authority to 

appoint police agents), or any game warden; (iii) officer of 

the Virginia Marine Police; (iv) conservation police officer 

who is a full-time sworn member of the enforcement division 

of the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries; (v) 

investigator who is a full-time sworn member of the security 

division of the Virginia Lottery; (vi) conservation officer of 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation 

commissioned pursuant to § 10.1-115 of the Code of 

Virginia; (vii) full-time sworn member of the enforcement 

division of the Department of Motor Vehicles appointed 

pursuant to § 46.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; (viii) animal 

protection police officer employed under § 15.2-632 of the 

Code of Virginia; (ix) campus police officer appointed under 

Chapter 17 (§ 23-232 et seq.) of Title 23 of the Code of 

Virginia; or (x) private police officer employed by a private 

police department. Part-time employees are those 

compensated officers who are not full-time employees as 

defined by the employing police department or, sheriff's 

office, or private police department.  

"Prospective purchaser" means an individual who intends to 

buy, rent, trade, or transfer a firearm [ or firearms ] as defined 

herein in this chapter, and has notified a dealer of his intent.  

"Resident of Virginia" means a person who resides and has a 

present intent to remain within the Commonwealth, as shown 

by an ongoing physical presence and a residential address 

within Virginia. If a person does not reside in Virginia, but is 

on active duty as a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and 

Virginia is the person's permanent duty station, the person 

shall, for the purpose of these regulations, be considered a 

resident of Virginia.  

"Transfer" means to sell, rent, trade, or transfer a firearm as 

defined herein in this chapter.  

"VCheck" means Virginia's instant criminal background 

check program authorized by the Department of State Police 

and available via the Internet to all firearms dealers registered 

with the State Police Firearms Transaction Center. 

"Virginia Firearms Transaction Record Form" or "VFTR 

form" means the form issued by the Department of State 

Police provided to dealers and required for obtaining a 

criminal history record check, also known as "SP-65," the 

"VFTR form" "SP-65" or the "VFTR."  

Part II  

Regulations  

6VAC20-130-30. Applicability of regulations concerning 

criminal history record checks for firearm purchase 

chapter.  

A. These regulations apply This chapter applies to:  

1. All licensed dealers in firearms; and  

2. The Department of State Police.  

B. These regulations This chapter shall not apply to:  

1. Transactions between persons who are licensed as 

firearms importers or collectors, manufacturers or dealers 

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. USC § 921 et seq.;  

2. Purchases by or sale to any law-enforcement officer or 

agent of the United States, the Commonwealth, or any 

local government; or 

3. Antique firearms; or. 

4. Transactions in any county, city or town that has a local 

ordinance adopted prior to January 1, 1987, governing the 

purchase, possession, transfer, ownership, conveyance or 

transportation of firearms which is more stringent than § 

18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-130-40. Responsibilities of dealers.  

It shall be the responsibility of dealers that transfer firearms 

in Virginia to comply with the following:  

1. Register with the department and Department of State 

Police to obtain from the department a dealer identification 

number (DIN) and to access the toll-free telephone number 

to participate in the department's criminal history record 

check VCheck program by telephone or via the Internet.  

2. Prior to transferring any firearm, determine if the 

firearm is a "firearm" as defined in these regulations this 

chapter and § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Deny the transfer of a handgun to a non-Virginia 

resident in accordance with 18 U.S.C. USC § 922(b)(3).  

4. Complete the VFTR form.  

5. Request a criminal history record information check 

prior to the transfer of any such firearm.  

6. Request a criminal history record check either by 

telephone or by, mail, VCheck, or other communication 
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authorized by the Department of State Police prior to the 

sale of shotguns and rifles to non-Virginia residents.  

7. Maintain required forms and records according to the 

procedures outlined in these regulations.  

8. Deny the transfer of a firearm if advised by the 

Department of State Police that the prospective purchaser 

is ineligible to possess such a firearm and the department 

disapproved the transfer of a firearm to the prospective 

purchaser.  

9. Allow the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

access to all forms and records required by these 

regulations Notify the Department of State Police promptly 

upon any change in registration information (telephone 

number, address, federal firearms license number, etc.).  

10. Provide written notice of the closing of the business to 

Department State Police in advance of the actual closing 

date. 

6VAC20-130-50. Responsibilities of the Department of 

State Police.  

A. The Department of State Police shall operate a telephone, 

and mail, VCheck, or other authorized communication 

response system systems to provide dealers in firearms (as 

defined herein) in this chapter) with information on the legal 

eligibility of prospective purchasers to possess or transport 

firearms covered under these regulations. This information 

shall be released only to authorized dealers. Prior to the 

release of the information, the identity of the dealer and the 

prospective purchaser can be reasonably established.  

B. In no case shall the department release to any dealer 

actual criminal history record information as defined herein in 

this chapter. The dealer shall only receive from the 

department a statement of the department's approval or 

disapproval of the transfer, and an approval code number, if 

applicable, unique to the transaction. A statement of approval 

or disapproval shall be based on the department's review of 

the prospective purchaser's criminal history record 

information and restrictions on the transfer of firearms to 

felons enumerated in § 18.2-308.2 of the Code of Virginia or 

federal law. This statement shall take one of the following 

two statuses: (i) approval with an approval code number, or 

(ii) disapproval with no approval code number.  

C. The department shall provide to dealers a supply of 

VFTR forms, a DIN, and a toll-free number to allow access to 

the telephone criminal history record check system available 

for approval of firearms purchases.  

D. The department shall supply all dealers in the 

Commonwealth with VFTR forms in a manner which that 

allows the department to use the forms to identify dealers and 

monitor dealers' use of the system to avoid illegal access to 

criminal history records and other department information 

systems.  

E. The department shall hire and train such personnel as are 

necessary to administer criminal history record information 

checks, ensure the security and privacy of criminal histories 

used in such record checks, and monitor the record check 

system.  

F. Allow The department shall allow the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services access to all forms and records 

required by this chapter.  

6VAC20-130-60. Preparing for a criminal history record 

check.  

A. General procedures.  

1. If any firearm, which a prospective purchaser intends to 

obtain in transfer, is a firearm as defined herein in this 

chapter, the dealer shall request that the Department of 

State Police conduct a criminal history record check on the 

purchaser. The dealer may obtain the required record check 

from the department for purchasers who are residents of 

Virginia by (i) telephoning the department, using the 

provided toll-free number, (ii) using VCheck, or (iii) using 

another communication authorized by the Department of 

State Police and requesting the record check. For out-of-

state residents who purchase rifles or shotguns, the dealer 

may request the record check from the department by 

telephone, mail, or delivery. However, Virginia residents 

may, if they elect, request the dealer to obtain a record 

check by mail. The initial required steps of completion of 

the VFTR, obtaining consent of the purchaser, determining 

residency and verifying identity are common to both 

telephone and, mail methods of, VCheck, or other 

communication authorized by the Department of State 

Police for obtaining the record check.  

2. The dealer shall request a criminal history record check 

and obtain the prospective purchaser's signature on the 

consent portion of the form for each new transfer of a 

firearm [ or firearms ] to a given purchaser. One record 

check is sufficient for any number of firearms in a given 

transfer, but once a transaction has been completed, no 

transfer to the same purchaser shall proceed without a new 

record check.  

3. A criminal history record check shall be conducted prior 

to the actual transfer of a firearm.  

B. Completing section A of the Virginia Firearms 

Transaction Record: Obtaining consent for a criminal history 

record information check for firearms purchase. As a 

condition of any sale, the dealer shall advise the prospective 

purchaser to legibly complete and sign section A of a VFTR 

form.  

1. The dealer shall require the prospective purchaser to 

complete section A of the VFTR form in the prospective 

purchaser's own handwriting, and without the dealer's 

assistance. The purchaser shall answer the questions listed 
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and shall complete the items that establish residency and 

describe identity, including name, sex, height, weight, race, 

date of birth [ , ] and place of birth.  

2. If the prospective purchaser cannot read or write, section 

A of the VFTR form may be completed by any person 

other than the dealer or any employee of the dealer 

according to the procedures specified on the reverse side of 

the VFTR form.  

3. The dealer shall also obtain the prospective purchaser's 

signature or, if he cannot read or write, his mark, following 

the consent paragraph at the bottom of section A, which 

shall certify that the information supplied by the purchaser 

in section A is true and correct.  

C. Completing section B of the Virginia Firearms 

Transaction Record: Establishing purchaser identity and 

residency and dealer identity. Prior to making a request for a 

criminal history record information check, the dealer shall 

complete all of section B of the VFTR form for which the 

dealer is responsible. Information recorded on the VFTR form 

shall be sufficient to: (i) reasonably establish a prospective 

purchaser's identity and determine the residency of the 

prospective purchaser; and (ii) identify the dealer.  

1. Identify prospective purchaser and determine residency. 

The dealer shall determine residency and verify the 

prospective purchaser's identity as required in section B of 

the VFTR, by requiring at least two forms of identification 

that denote the address of the prospective purchaser. Only 

the forms of identification listed in this subsection shall be 

acceptable to establish identity and residency.  

a. For Virginia residents, the primary form of 

identification shall consist of a valid photo-identification 

form issued by a governmental agency of the 

Commonwealth or by the United States Department of 

Defense. Except where the photo identification was 

issued by the Department of Defense, the prospective 

purchaser shall furnish a secondary form of identification 

that includes an address identical to that shown on the 

primary identification and corroborates the purchaser's 

identification and residence in Virginia. A Department of 

Defense photo identification plus one secondary form of 

identification showing the purchaser's residence in 

Virginia meets the requirements of the exception. The 

following are acceptable forms of secondary 

identification: a dealer shall require any prospective 

purchaser to present one photo-identification form issued 

by a governmental agency of the Commonwealth or by 

the U.S. Department of Defense.  

(1) Valid Virginia driver's license or photo-identification 

card issued by the Virginia Department of Motor 

Vehicles;  

(2) Passport;  

(3) Voter registration card;  

(4) Evidence of paid personal property tax or real estate 

taxes;  

(5) Automobile registration;  

(6) Hunting or fishing license;  

(7) Lease;  

(8) Utility or telephone bill;  

(9) Bank check; or  

(10) Other identification allowed as evidence of 

residency by Part 178.124 of Title 27, Code of Federal 

Regulations, and ATF Ruling 79-7.  

If, for purposes of this chapter, a prospective purchaser's 

Virginia residency is based upon active duty status with 

the Armed Forces of the United States with a permanent 

duty station in Virginia, including the Pentagon, and the 

primary form of identification consists of a photo 

identification issued by the United States U.S. 

Department of Defense, the purchaser may use as a 

secondary identification proof of permanent duty station 

within Virginia signed by the station commander or duly 

designated representative. If such primary and secondary 

documentation are presented, the prospective purchaser 

shall not be required to present any other form of 

secondary identification listed in subdivisions C 1 a (1) 

through (10). For the purpose of establishing residency 

for a firearm purchase, residency of a member of the 

armed forces shall include both the state in which the 

member's permanent duty post is located and any nearby 

state in which the member resides and from which he 

commutes to the permanent duty post. 

b. For non-Virginia residents purchasing shotguns or 

rifles, the dealer shall require the prospective purchaser 

to furnish one photo-identification form issued by a 

governmental agency of the person's state of residence 

and one other form of identification as provided in 

subdivision C 1 a, which corroborates the identity and 

residency shown on the photo-identification form.  

c. The dealer will ensure that the form(s) forms of 

identification support the listing of the identifying 

characteristics and the resident's address as supplied by 

the prospective purchaser in section A of the VFTR.  

d. If the dealer discovers any unexplained discrepancy 

between the two forms of identification (different 

addresses, birth dates, [ or ] names), the dealer shall not 

request a criminal history record check until the 

prospective purchaser can be adequately identified with 

two acceptable forms of identification as required.  

e. The dealer shall name and identify on the VFTR form 

the document(s) documents used to verify the 
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prospective purchaser's identity and residence, and shall 

record all pertinent identifying numbers on the VFTR 

form.  

f. While the dealer is required to collect sufficient 

information to establish the prospective purchaser's 

identity and residency from the form(s) forms of 

identification listed above, in no case is the dealer 

authorized to collect more information on the prospective 

purchaser than is reasonably required to establish identity 

and, state of residence, and citizenship.  

2. Identify dealer. The dealer or his employee shall note on 

section B of the VFTR form:  

a. The dealer's or employee's signature;  

b. His position title (owner, employee);  

c. The trade or corporate name and business address; and  

d. The dealer's federal firearms license number.  

D. No dealer shall sell, rent, trade, or transfer from his 

inventory any assault firearm to any person who is not a 

citizen of the United States or who is not a person lawfully 

admitted for permanent residence. To establish citizenship or 

lawful admission for a permanent residence for purposes of 

purchasing an assault firearm, a dealer shall require a 

prospective purchaser to present a certified birth certificate or 

a certificate of birth abroad issued by the U.S. State 

Department, a certificate of citizenship or a certificate of 

naturalization issued by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 

Services, an unexpired United States passport, a U.S. citizen 

identification card, a current voter registration card, a current 

selective service registration card, or an immigrant visa or 

other documentation of status as a person lawfully admitted 

for permanent residence issued by the U.S. Citizenship and 

Immigration Services. 

6VAC20-130-70. Procedures for requesting a criminal 

history record information check by telephone or other 

communication authorized by the Department of State 

Police.  

A. Once the prospective purchaser has completed section A 

of the VFTR form and the dealer has completed the necessary 

portions of the VFTR form and determined that the 

prospective purchaser is a resident of Virginia, the dealer 

shall call contact the Department of State Police and request a 

criminal history record information check by telephone, 

through VCheck, or through other authorized communication 

for the firearm transfer. For non-Virginia residents purchasing 

rifles or shotguns, the dealer may also request a criminal 

history record check by telephone. The dealer shall use the 

toll-free number provided by the Department of State Police. 

However, no provision of these regulations shall prohibit a 

Virginia resident from obtaining a written record check 

through the dealer for any firearm transfer.  

B. The dealer shall identify himself to the department by 

providing his DIN and the printed number on the upper right-

hand corner of the VFTR form prepared by the prospective 

purchaser.  

C. The dealer shall allow the department to verify this 

identifying information. The Department of State Police may 

shall disapprove a firearm purchase if the department 

determines that the identifying information supplied by the 

dealer is incomplete, incomprehensible or in error, raises a 

reasonable doubt as to the origin of the call request, or is 

otherwise unusable.  

D. The dealer shall then supply to the department over the 

telephone, through VCheck, or through another authorized 

communication all identifying data on the prospective 

purchaser which that is recorded on section A of the VFTR, 

in the order requested by the department. This information 

shall be transmitted to the department in a discreet and 

confidential manner, assuring to the extent possible that the 

identifying data is not overheard or viewed by other persons 

in the dealer's place of business. If the dealer cannot provide 

sufficient information to allow the department to conduct a 

criminal history record check, the department will not accept 

the request on the basis of insufficient information to conduct 

a check. The department may adopt procedures to 

appropriately address such occurrences.  

E. The Department of State Police will respond to the 

dealer's request for a criminal history record check by 

consulting the criminal history record information indexes 

and files, during the dealer's call or VCheck submission. In 

the event of electronic failure or other difficulties, the 

department shall immediately advise the dealer of the reason 

for such delay and provide to the dealer an estimate of the 

length of such delay.  

F. If no evidence of a criminal record or other information is 

found that would preclude the purchaser from possessing or 

transporting a firearm under state or federal law, the 

department will immediately notify the dealer that the transfer 

may proceed, and will provide the dealer with a unique 

approval code number, which the dealer shall enter in a clear, 

visible, and convenient manner on the original of the VFTR 

form.  

G. If the initial search discloses that the prospective 

purchaser may not be eligible to possess a firearm, the 

department will notify the dealer that a further check must be 

completed before the end of the dealer's next business day, to 

determine if the prospective purchaser has a criminal record 

that makes him ineligible to possess or transport a firearm 

under state or federal law. This statement of ineligibility shall 

then be communicated by the dealer to the prospective 

purchaser in a discrete and confidential manner, recognizing 

the individual's rights to the privacy of this information.  
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H. In any circumstance in which the department must return 

the dealer's telephone call, whether due to electronic or other 

failure or in order to allow a further search, the dealer shall 

await the department's call and make no transfer of a firearm 

to the individual whose record is being checked until:  

1. The dealer receives notification of approval of the 

transfer by telephone or other authorized communication 

from the department; or  

2. The department fails to disapprove the transaction of the 

prospective purchaser before the end of the next business 

day.  

3. Exception: If the department knows at the time of the 

dealer's telephone call or VCheck submission that it will not 

be able to respond to the request by the end of the dealer's 

next business day, it will so notify the dealer. Upon receiving 

notification, the dealer shall note in a clear and visible manner 

on the VFTR that the department was unable to respond. The 

dealer may in such cases complete the transfer immediately 

after his telephone call or receipt of an authorized 

communication.  

I. In the event that the department is unable to immediately 

respond to the dealer's request for a criminal history record 

check and the prospective purchaser is also unable to await 

the department's response to the dealer's request and the 

department ultimately approves of the transfer, the dealer may 

transfer any firearm [ or firearms ], as listed on the VFTR 

form that initiated the request for a record check, to the 

prospective purchaser, after the receipt of the approval of the 

transfer from the department. The actual transfer of the 

firearm shall be accomplished in a timely manner. A second 

record check shall not be required provided that the actual 

transfer of the firearm occurs within a time period specified 

by the department.  

J. If the dealer is notified by the department that the 

prospective purchaser is not eligible to possess or transport a 

firearm [ or firearms ] under state or federal law, and the 

transfer is disapproved, and if he is so notified before the end 

of the next business day after his accepted telephone request 

or VCheck confirmation, the dealer shall not complete the 

transfer.  

K. On the last day of the week following transfer of a 

firearm covered by these regulations on the basis of a 

telephone inquiry, the dealer shall send by mail or shall 

deliver to the department the appropriate copies of the VFTR 

other than the original, with sections A and B properly 

completed. No information on the type, caliber, serial 

number, or characteristics of the firearms transferred shall be 

noted on the copies of the VFTR submitted to the department, 

but the forms shall otherwise be complete. The dealer shall 

note the date of mailing on the form, or shall have the form 

date stamped or receive a dated receipt if the dealer delivers 

the form.  

L. After sale check.  

1. Following the receipt of the required copies of a 

completed VFTR form recording a transfer, the department 

shall immediately initiate a search of all data bases in order 

to verify that the purchaser was eligible to possess or 

transport the firearm(s) under state or federal law.  

2. If the search discloses that the purchaser is ineligible to 

possess or transport a firearm, the department shall inform 

the chief law-enforcement officer in the jurisdiction where 

the transfer occurred and the dealer of the purchaser's 

ineligibility without delay. The department shall mark 

"disapproved" on a copy of the VFTR submitted by the 

dealer after the transfer and return the form by mail to the 

dealer.  

6VAC20-130-80. Procedures for requesting a criminal 

history record check by mail.  

A. At the request of a Virginia resident or a non-Virginia 

resident, a dealer may request a record check by mail for a 

firearm transfer. In either case, the dealer shall follow the 

procedures as set forth below in this chapter. In addition, the 

dealer shall follow the provisions for establishing identity and 

residency as set forth in 6VAC20-130-60 C 1 a and C 1 b of 

this chapter, and, if applicable, 6VAC20-130-60 D.  

B. The dealer shall mail or deliver to the department the 

appropriate copies of the completed VFTR form according to 

procedures established by the department (which (that shall 

not describe, list, or note the actual firearms to be transferred) 

within 24 hours of the prospective purchaser's signing and 

dating of the consent paragraph in section A of the VFTR 

form. This shall be evidenced by the dealer's notation of the 

mailing date on the VFTR, if mailed, or the date stamp of the 

department on the VFTR form or a receipt provided to the 

deliverer, if delivered. The original of the completed VFTR 

form shall be retained at the dealer's place of business.  

C. The department will initiate a search only upon receipt of 

the appropriate copies of the VFTR form at department 

headquarters. The department may challenge and refuse to 

accept any VFTR form if there is an unreasonable, extended 

time period between the date of the mailing and the date of 

receipt of the copies of the form at the department.  

D. Following its search of Virginia and national criminal 

history record indexes and files, the department will return to 

the dealer a copy of the VFTR form, marked "approved," or 

"not approved." When a dealer receives approval, he may 

transfer any firearm [ or firearms ], as listed on the VFTR 

form that initiated the request for a record check, to the 

prospective purchaser, after his receipt of the approval. The 

actual transfer of the firearm shall be accomplished in a 

timely manner. A second record check shall not be required 

provided that the actual transfer of the firearm occurs within a 

time period specified by the department. If the transfer is 
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disapproved, he is not authorized to transfer any firearm to 

the prospective purchaser.  

E. In the case of written requests for criminal history record 

check, initiated by the submission of VFTR forms, the dealer 

shall wait up to 10 days after the mailing date (noted on the 

form) or delivery date stamp (if not mailed) of the request for 

written approval from the department, prior to transferring a 

firearm as defined herein in this chapter.  

F. However, if 10 days elapse from the date the VFTR form 

was mailed (as noted on the VFTR form) or delivered to the 

Department of State Police (as indicated by the date stamped 

by the department), and the department has not responded to 

the request initiated by the form by approving or 

disapproving the transaction proposed, the dealer may 

complete the transfer to the prospective purchaser on his next 

business day, after the tenth 10th day, or thereafter, and not 

be in violation of the law or these regulations this chapter. 

After completion of the transfer in this case, as in all cases, 

any new or further transfer of firearms not listed on the VFTR 

form that initiated the request for a record check to the same 

purchaser will require a new criminal history record check.  

6VAC20-130-90. Proper use of the components of the 

criminal history record check system: Forms, records, 

toll-free telephone number, VCheck passwords, and DIN.  

A. The VFTR forms will be provided to the dealer by the 

department. VFTR forms shall not be transferred from one 

dealer to another. All VFTR forms partially completed, torn, 

defaced or otherwise rendered unusable shall be marked 

"VOID" and disposed of in a manner which that will not 

allow their reuse. All unused forms shall remain the property 

of the Department of State Police and shall be returned to the 

department in the event that a dealer ceases to engage in the 

transfer of firearms in a manner which is regulated by the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services.  

B. The dealer will retain the original of the VFTR form for 

his own files.  

C. The dealer shall keep all blank and completed VFTR 

originals, and all returned copies in a secure area, which will 

restrict access to the information contained on the VFTR 

forms to authorized employees only.  

D. The department shall retain a copy of all VFTR forms 

received from dealers according to the procedures outlined 

below in this subsection.  

1. Approved transfers. Thirty days after the department has 

notified the dealer of an approved transfer, the department 

shall destroy the VFTR form still in its possession and all 

identifiable information collected pertaining to a 

prospective purchaser.  

2. Disapproved transfers. VFTR forms recording a transfer 

that was not approved shall be maintained by the 

department in a separate file, maintained by name of 

prospective purchaser.  

a. The information contained in these forms shall be used 

by the department for legitimate law-enforcement 

purposes only, and shall be governed by existing 

regulations concerning the privacy and security of 

criminal history record information.  

b. The department may maintain any other printouts or 

reports with these copies of the VFTR form, provided 

they are treated as criminal history record information.  

E. The Department of State Police shall maintain a running 

log of all requests for criminal history record information 

checks for firearms transfer, which shall include the 

following:  

1. DIN and name of requester;  

2. Dealer's transaction number;  

3. Approval code number, if sale is approved;  

4. Date of telephone request or, mailing, VCheck, or 

delivery date of mail request;  

5. Notation of type of record request - either: telephone or, 

mail, or VCheck request;  

6. Approved or not approved status; and  

7. Date of clearance from department file through mailing 

of VFTR form to the dealer or other final action.  

F. A log shall be retained at the department on each request 

which that leads to approvals of firearm transfers for 12 

months from the date of each request.  

G. Requests which that lead to disapprovals shall be 

maintained by the department on a log for a period of two 

years from the date the request was accepted by the 

department for processing.  

H. The department shall monitor and distribute all VFTR 

forms in an appropriate manner to ensure their proper control 

and use. This includes designing, redesigning, numbering, 

distributing, tracking, and processing all VFTR forms.  

I. No dealer shall provide his DIN or the toll-free number 

VCheck password to another party for any reason.  

J. The DIN's and the toll-free number VCheck password 

may be changed periodically to ensure that these numbers are 

not improperly used by unauthorized dealers or unauthorized 

parties.  

6VAC20-130-100. Audits Monitor.  

A. The Department of State Police shall continuously 

observe compliance with requirements regarding VFTR form 

completion, notification of the Department of State Police 

following firearm transfers, form management and storage, 

and confidentiality and proper use of the DIN and the toll-free 
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telephone number VCheck password information for Virginia 

resident telephone and VCheck record checks.  

B. The Department of State Police shall notify the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services if a dealer has used 

or may have used the criminal history record information 

check system improperly in a manner that may jeopardize the 

confidentiality and security of criminal history record 

information systems.  

C. Upon such notification, the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services shall audit the dealership in question and 

recommend corrective action without delay.  

1. Pending the outcome of an audit, the The department 

may invalidate a particular DIN to ensure the continuous 

integrity of the criminal history record information. Prior 

to such invalidation, the department shall notify the dealer 

orally, telephonically by telephone, or in writing of the 

reasons for such invalidation and allow the dealer the 

opportunity to respond. The department shall also notify 

the Department of Criminal Justice Services when a DIN 

has been invalidated.  

2. Should the results of an audit reveal that the provisions 

of these regulations have not been violated, the Department 

of Criminal Justice Services shall advise the department to 

immediately reinstate the invalidated DIN.  

3. 2. Should the department identify results of an audit 

reveal minor violations of the provisions of these 

regulations this chapter, the Department of Criminal 

Justice Services may notify the department to may monitor 

all future requests of the dealer for criminal history record 

checks for a period not to exceed 90 days. In the event that 

the DIN of the dealer has been invalidated, the Department 

of Criminal Justice Services shall also notify the 

department to reinstate the invalidated DIN. Any additional 

violations that may occur during this time period shall be 

reported to the Department of Criminal Justice Services as 

needed. Occurrences of additional violations shall invoke 

the provisions of these regulations for the handling of or 

major or repeated violations, as outlined below, and may 

result in a subsequent audit monitoring or a criminal 

investigation of the dealer.  

4. Should the results of an audit reveal major or repeated 

violations of the provisions of these regulations, the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services shall advise the 

department to invalidate the DIN if not invalidated 

previously and that the invalidated DIN should not be 

reinstated until the dealer submits a written request to the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services for reinstatement 

of the DIN. The request shall demonstrate to the reasonable 

satisfaction of the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

that corrective action has been taken by the dealer to 

comply with the provisions of these regulations.  

5. Should the results of an audit reveal that the privacy and 

security of criminal history record information have been 

compromised, the Department of Criminal Justice Services 

shall send written notification to the dealer, the office of 

the local commonwealth's attorney and the department.  

D. The Department of Criminal Justice Services shall 

annually audit the Department of State Police to ensure the 

following:  

1. That records, VFTR's and other materials, except for the 

maintenance of the log as outlined above, on purchasers 

found to be eligible to possess or transport firearms 

(approved) are being routinely destroyed 30 days from the 

notification, mailing or delivery date of the accepted 

request for a record check; and  

2. That VFTR's and other materials gathered on persons 

found to be ineligible to purchase a firearm (disapproved) 

are governed by the regulations for criminal history record 

information; and  

3. That logs recording the approvals and disapprovals of 

firearm transfers are being correctly maintained according 

to the provisions of these regulations.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may follow instructions with the name of 

the form to access it. The form is also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-130)  

Criminal History Record Request, Form SP-167, eff. 7/1/94.  

Virginia Firearms Transaction Record, Form SP-65, eff. 

7/1/94. (eff. 7/2015) (Form SP-65 is obtained directly from 

the Virginia State Police, Firearms Transaction Center Help 

Desk, (804) 674-2292 or (804) 674-2788, or email 

firearms@vsp.virginia.gov.)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4648; Filed August 24, 2018, 9:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE 
UNIVERSITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

6 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts educational 

institutions operated by the Commonwealth. 
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Title of Regulation: 8VAC105-11. Parking and Traffic 

(amending 8VAC105-11-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-1301 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 7, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Lori Buchanan, Business Services 

Specialist, Office of the Vice President for Policy and 

Governance, 319 Burruss Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 

telephone (540) 231-9512, or email lorib90@vt.edu. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the university's parking 

regulations to reflect revised parking procedures. 

8VAC105-11-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Parking and Traffic Procedures" means the Parking and 

Traffic Procedures Operational Manual, Virginia Tech 

Parking Services, effective August 1, 2017 2018. 

"Virginia Tech" means Virginia Polytechnic Institute and 

State University. 

"University owned or leased property" means any property 

owned, leased, or controlled by Virginia Tech. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC105-11) 

Parking and Traffic Operational Manual, Volume 25, 

2017-2018 Academic Year, Virginia Tech Division of 

Operations, Parking and Transportation (rev. 8/2017) 

Parking and Traffic Operational Manual, Volume 26, 

2018-2019 Academic Year, Virginia Tech Division of 

Operations, Parking and Transportation (rev. 8/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5656; Filed September 4, 2018, 3:38 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, which exempts general permits issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 

board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 

following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 

advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 

including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 

development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 

receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-

4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 

proposed general permit. The State Water Control Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-800. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Discharges Resulting from the Application of 

Pesticides to Surface Waters (amending 9VAC25-800-10 

through 9VAC25-800-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 18, 2018 - 2 p.m. - Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 

Training Room, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

23060 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 

of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Summary: 

The Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) General Permit for Discharges Resulting from 

the Application of Pesticides to Surface Waters has existed 

since 2011. This general permit contains effluent 

limitations, monitoring requirements, and special 

conditions for discharges of pesticides to surface waters. 

The proposed amendments reissue this general permit and 

include changing the effective dates and two definitions, 

clarifying two points, and making minor changes to the 

duty to reapply and the transfer of permit coverage. No 

substantive changes are proposed to the existing 

regulation.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86955005656~12.pdf&typ=40&actno=005656&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86955005656~12.pdf&typ=40&actno=005656&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86955005656~12.pdf&typ=40&actno=005656&mime=application/pdf
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CHAPTER 800 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT REGULATION 

FOR DISCHARGES RESULTING FROM THE 

APPLICATION OF PESTICIDES TO SURFACE WATERS 

9VAC25-800-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

same meanings as given in the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the VPDES 

Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Action threshold" means the point at which pest 

populations or environmental conditions necessitate that pest 

control action be taken based on economic, human health, 

aesthetic, or other effects. An action threshold may be based 

on current or past environmental factors that are or have been 

demonstrated to be conducive to pest emergence or growth, 

as well as past or current pest presence. Action thresholds are 

those conditions that indicate both the need for control 

actions and the proper timing of such actions.  

"Active ingredient" means any substance (or group of 

structurally similar substances if specified by the federal 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that will prevent, 

destroy, repel, or mitigate any pest, or that functions as a 

plant regulator, desiccant, or defoliant within the meaning of 

§ 2(a) of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide 

Act (FIFRA) (7 USC § 136 et seq.) (40 CFR 152.3). Active 

ingredient also means a pesticidal substance that is intended 

to be produced and used in a living plant, or in the produce 

thereof, and the genetic material necessary for the production 

of such a pesticidal substance (40 CFR 174.3).  

"Adverse incident" means an unusual or unexpected incident 

that the operator observes upon inspection or of which 

otherwise becomes aware, in which there is evidence that: 

1. A person or nontarget organism has likely been exposed 

to a pesticide residue; and 

2. The person or nontarget organism suffered a toxic or 

adverse effect. 

The phrase "toxic or adverse effects" includes effects that 

occur within surface waters on nontarget plants, fish, or 

wildlife that are unusual or unexpected (e.g., effects are to 

organisms not described on the pesticide product labels or not 

expected to be present) as a result of exposure to a pesticide 

residue and may include: 

1. Distressed or dead juvenile and small fishes; 

2. Washed up or floating fish; 

3. Fish swimming abnormally or erratically; 

4. Fish lying lethargically at water surface or in shallow 

water; 

5. Fish that are listless or nonresponsive to disturbance; 

6. Stunting, wilting, or desiccation of nontarget submerged 

or emergent aquatic plants; and 

7. Other dead or visibly distressed nontarget aquatic or 

semi-aquatic organisms (amphibians, turtles, invertebrates, 

etc.). 

The phrase "toxic or adverse effects" also includes any 

adverse effects to humans (e.g., skin rashes), or domesticated 

animals or wildlife (e.g., vomiting, lethargy) that occur either 

from direct contact with or as a secondary effect from a 

discharge (e.g., sickness from consumption of plants or 

animals containing pesticides) to surface waters that are 

temporally and spatially related to exposure to a pesticide 

residue. 

"Biological control" means organisms that can be introduced 

to sites, such as herbivores, predators, parasites, and 

hyperparasites. 

"Biological pesticides" or "biopesticides" includes microbial 

pesticides, biochemical pesticides, and plant-incorporated 

protectants (PIP). 

1. "Microbial pesticide" means a microbial agent intended 

for preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any 

pest, or intended for use as a plant regulator, defoliant, or 

desiccant, that:  

a. Is a eukaryotic microorganism, including but not 

limited to protozoa, algae, and fungi;  

b. Is a prokaryotic microorganism, including but not 

limited to Eubacteria and Archaebacteria; or  

c. Is a parasitically replicating microscopic element, 

including but not limited to viruses.  

2. "Biochemical pesticide" means a pesticide that:  

a. Is a naturally occurring substance or structurally 

similar and functionally identical to a naturally occurring 

substance;  

b. Has a history of exposure to humans and the 

environment demonstrating minimal toxicity, or in the 

case of a synthetically derived biochemical pesticide, is 

equivalent to a naturally occurring substance that has 

such a history; and  

c. Has a nontoxic mode of action to the target pest(s) 

pests.  

3. "Plant-incorporated protectant" means a pesticidal 

substance that is intended to be produced and used in a 

living plant, or in the produce thereof, and the genetic 

material necessary for production of such a pesticidal 
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substance. It also includes any inert ingredient contained in 

the plant or produce thereof.  

"Chemical pesticides" means all pesticides not otherwise 

classified as biological pesticides. 

"Cultural methods" means manipulation of the habitat to 

increase pest mortality by making the habitat less suitable to 

the pest. 

"Declared pest emergency situation" means an event defined 

by a public declaration by a federal agency, state, or local 

government of a pest problem determined to require control 

through application of a pesticide beginning less than 10 days 

after identification of the need for pest control. This public 

declaration may be based on: 

1. Significant risk to human health; 

2. Significant economic loss; or 

3. Significant risk to: 

a. Endangered species; 

b. Threatened species; 

c. Beneficial organisms; or 

d. The environment. 

"DEQ" or "department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Discharge of a pollutant" means the addition of any 

"pollutant" or combination of pollutants to surface waters 

from any point source, or the addition of any pollutant or 

combination of pollutants to the water of the contiguous zone 

or the ocean from any point source.  

"FIFRA" means the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and 

Rodenticide Act (7 USC § 136 et seq.) as amended. 

"Impaired water" or "water quality impaired water" or 

"water quality limited segment" means any stream segment 

where the water quality does not or will not meet applicable 

water quality standards, even after the application of 

technology-based effluent limitations required by §§ 301(b) 

and 306 of the Clean Water Act (CWA) (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq. as of 1987). Impaired waters include both impaired 

waters with approved or established TMDLs, and impaired 

waters for which a TMDL has not yet been approved or 

established. 

"Inert ingredient" means any substance (or group of 

structurally similar substances if designated by EPA), other 

than an active ingredient, that is intentionally included in a 

pesticide product. Inert ingredient also means any substance, 

such as a selectable marker, other than the active ingredient, 

where the substance is used to confirm or ensure the presence 

of the active ingredient, and includes the genetic material 

necessary for the production of the substance, provided that 

genetic material is intentionally introduced into a living plant 

in addition to the active ingredient.  

"Integrated pest management" or "IPM" means an effective 

and environmentally sensitive approach to pest management 

that relies on a combination of common-sense practices. IPM 

uses current, comprehensive information on the life cycles of 

pests and their interaction with the environment. This 

information, in combination with available pest control 

methods, is used to manage pest damage by the most 

economical means, and with the least possible hazard to 

people, property, and the environment. 

"Label" means the written, printed, or graphic matter on, or 

attached to, the pesticide or device, or the immediate 

container thereof, and the outside container or wrapper of the 

retail package, if any, of the pesticide or device. 

"Labeling" means all labels and other written, printed, or 

graphic matter:  

1. Upon the pesticide or device or any of its containers or 

wrappers;  

2. Accompanying the pesticide or device at any time; or  

3. To which reference is made on the label or in literature 

accompanying the pesticide or device, except when 

accurate, nonmisleading reference is made to current 

official publications of the agricultural experiment station, 

the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, the 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, the State Board of Health, or similar federal 

institutions or other official agencies of the 

Commonwealth or other states when such states are 

authorized by law to conduct research in the field of 

pesticides. 

"Mechanical/physical "Mechanical or physical methods" 

means mechanical tools or physical alterations of the 

environment, for pest prevention or removal. 

"Minimize" means to reduce or eliminate pesticide 

discharges to surface waters through the use of pest 

management measures to the extent technologically available 

and economically practicable and achievable. 

"Nontarget organisms" means the plant and animal hosts of 

the target species, the natural enemies of the target species 

living in the community, and other plants and animals, 

including vertebrates, living in or near the community that are 

not the target of the pesticide. 

"Operator" means any person involved in the application of 

a pesticide that results in a discharge to surface waters that 

meets either or both of the following two criteria: 

1. The person who has control over the financing for or the 

decision to perform pesticide applications that result in 

discharges, including the ability to modify those decisions; 

or 
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2. The person who performs the application of a pesticide 

or who has day-to-day control of the application (e.g., they 

are authorized to direct workers to carry out those activities 

that result in discharges to surface waters). 

"Person" means an individual; a corporation; a partnership; 

an association; a local, state, or federal governmental body; a 

municipal corporation; or any other legal entity.  

"Pest" means any deleterious organism that is:  

1. Any vertebrate animal other than man;  

2. Any invertebrate animal excluding any internal parasite 

of living man or other living animals;  

3. Any plant growing where not wanted, and any plant part 

such as a root; or  

4. Any bacterium, virus, or other microorganisms, except 

for those on or in living man or other living animals and 

those on or in processed food or processed animal feed, 

beverages, drugs (as defined by the federal Food, Drug, 

and Cosmetic Act at 21 USC § 321(g)(1)), and cosmetics 

(as defined by the federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act at 

21 USC § 321(i)). 

Any organism classified by state or federal law or regulation 

as endangered or threatened shall not be deemed a pest for the 

purposes of this chapter. 

"Pest management area" means the area of land, including 

any water, for which pest management activities covered by 

this permit are conducted. 

"Pest management measure" means any practice used to 

meet the effluent limitations that comply with manufacturer 

specifications, industry standards, and recommended industry 

practices related to the application of pesticides, relevant legal 

requirements, and other provisions that a prudent operator 

would implement to reduce or eliminate pesticide discharges 

to surface waters. 

"Pesticide" means:  

1. Any substance or mixture of substances intended for 

preventing, destroying, repelling, or mitigating any insects, 

rodents, fungi, bacteria, weeds, or other forms of plant or 

animal life or viruses, except viruses on or in living man or 

other animals, which the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services shall declare to be a pest;  

2. Any substance or mixture of substances intended for use 

as a plant regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and  

3. Any substance which is intended to become an active 

ingredient thereof.  

Pesticides that are used or applied shall only be those that 

are approved and registered for use by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"Pesticide product" means a pesticide in the particular form 

(including active and inert ingredients, packaging, and 

labeling) in which the pesticide is, or is intended to be, 

distributed or sold. The term includes any physical apparatus 

used to deliver or apply the pesticide if distributed or sold 

with the pesticide. 

"Pesticide research and development" means activities 

undertaken on a systematic basis to gain new knowledge 

(research) or apply research findings or other scientific 

knowledge for the creation of new or significantly improved 

products or processes (experimental development).  

"Pesticide residue" means that portion of a pesticide 

application that has been discharged from a point source to 

surface waters and no longer provides pesticidal benefits. It 

also includes any degradates of the pesticide. 

"Point source" means any discernible, confined, and discrete 

conveyance including, but not limited to, any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, or container from which pollutants 

are or may be discharged. This includes biological pesticides 

or pesticide residuals chemical pesticides that leave a residue 

coming from a container or nozzle of a pesticide application 

device. This term does not include return flows from irrigated 

agriculture or agricultural storm water stormwater run-off.  

"Pollutant" means biological pesticides and any pesticide 

residue resulting from use of a chemical pesticide.  

"Surface waters" means:  

1. All waters that are currently used, were used in the past, 

or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 

commerce, including all waters that are subject to the ebb 

and flow of the tide;  

2. All interstate waters, including interstate wetlands;  

3. All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers, streams 

(including intermittent streams), mudflats, sandflats, 

wetlands, sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 

lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 

of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 

commerce including any such waters:  

a. That are or could be used by interstate or foreign 

travelers for recreational or other purposes;  

b. From which fish or shellfish are or could be taken and 

sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or  

c. That are used or could be used for industrial purposes 

by industries in interstate commerce;  

4. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as 

surface waters under this definition;  

5. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 1 through 

4 of this definition;  

6. The territorial sea; and  
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7. Wetlands adjacent to waters, other than waters that are 

themselves wetlands, identified in subdivisions 1 through 6 

of this definition.  

Surface waters do not include wastewater treatment systems, 

including treatment ponds or lagoons designed to meet the 

requirements of the Clean Water Act (CWA) and the law. 

Surface waters do not include prior converted cropland. 

Notwithstanding the determination of an area's status as prior 

converted cropland by any other agency, for the purposes of 

the CWA, the final authority regarding the CWA jurisdiction 

remains with the EPA. 

"Target pest" means the organism toward which pest 

management measures are being directed. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards, 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Treatment area" means the area of land including any 

waters, or the linear distance along water or water's edge, to 

which pesticides are being applied. Multiple treatment areas 

may be located within a single pest management area. 

Treatment area includes the entire area, whether over land or 

water, where the pesticide application is intended to provide 

pesticidal benefits. In some instances, the treatment area will 

be larger than the area where pesticides are actually applied. 

For example, the treatment area for a stationary drip treatment 

into a canal should be calculated by multiplying the width of 

the canal by the length over which the pesticide is intended to 

control weeds. The treatment area for a lake or marine area is 

the water surface area where the application is intended to 

provide pesticidal benefits.  

Treatment area calculations for pesticide applications that 

occur at water's edge, where the discharge of pesticides 

directly to waters is unavoidable, are determined by the linear 

distance over which pesticides are applied.  

"VDACS" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. VDACS administers the provisions 

of Virginia's pesticide statute, Chapter 39 (§ 3.2-3900 et seq.) 

of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia, as well as the regulations 

promulgated by the Virginia Pesticide Control Board. 

VDACS also has delegated authority to enforce the 

provisions of FIFRA. As such, VDACS is the primary agency 

for the regulatory oversight of pesticides in the 

Commonwealth.  

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 

saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and 

duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 

circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 

typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 

Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 

similar areas. 

9VAC25-800-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced and 

incorporated herein in this chapter, that regulation shall be as 

it exists and has been published as of the July 1, 2012 2018, 

CFR update. 

9VAC25-800-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs discharges 

resulting from the application of pesticides to surface waters. 

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 

provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 

of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general VPDES general permit will become 

effective on January 1, 2014 2019, and expire on December 

31, 2018 2023. 

9VAC25-800-30. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any operator that meets the eligibility requirements in 

subsection B of this section is hereby authorized for his 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides to 

surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The definition of operator in 9VAC25-800-10 provides that 

more than one person may be responsible for the same 

discharge resulting from pesticide application. Any operator 

authorized to discharge under this general permit is 

responsible for compliance with the terms of this permit for 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides. 

B. Eligibility. This permit is available to operators who 

discharge to surface waters from the application of (i) 

biological pesticides, or (ii) chemical pesticides that leave a 

residue (hereinafter collectively "pesticides"), when the 

pesticide application is for one of the following pesticide use 

patterns: 

1. Mosquito and other flying insect pest control - to control 

public health/nuisance health, nuisance and other flying 

insect pests that develop or are present during a portion of 

their life cycle in or above standing or flowing water.  

2. Weed and algae pest control - to control weeds, algae, 

and pathogens that are pests in surface waters.  

3. Animal pest control - to control animal pests in surface 

waters.  
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4. Forest canopy pest control - application of a pesticide to 

the forest canopy to control the population of a pest species 

(e.g., insect or pathogen) where to target the pests 

effectively, a portion of the pesticide unavoidably will be 

applied over and deposited to surface water.  

5. Intrusive vegetation pest control - to control vegetation 

along roads, ditches, canals, waterways, and utility rights 

of way where to target the intrusive pests effectively, a 

portion of the pesticide unavoidably will be applied over 

and deposited to surface water.  

C. Operators applying pesticides are required to maintain a 

pesticide discharge management plan (PDMP) if they exceed 

the annual calendar year treatment area thresholds in Table 1 

of this subsection: 

Table 1. Annual Treatment Area Thresholds 

Pesticide Use Annual Threshold 

Mosquito and Other 

Flying Insect Pest 

Control 

6400 acres of treatment area1  

Weed and Algae Pest 

Control 

80 acres of treatment area1 or 

20 linear miles of treatment area2 

Animal Pest Control 80 acres of treatment area1 or 

20 linear miles of treatment area2 

Forest Canopy Pest 

Control 
6400 acres of treatment area1  

Intrusive Vegetation 

Pest Control  

6400 acres of treatment area1 or 

20 linear miles of treatment area2  

1Calculations include the area of the applications made to: 

(i) surface waters and (ii) conveyances with a hydrologic 

surface connection to surface waters at the time of pesticide 

application. For calculating annual treatment area totals, 

count each pesticide application activity as a separate 

activity. For example, applying pesticides twice a year to a 

10-acre site is counted as 20 acres of treatment area. 

2Calculations include the extent of the application made to 

linear features (e.g., roads, ditches, canals, waterways, and 

utility rights of way) or along the water's edge adjacent to: 

(i) surface waters and (ii) conveyances with a hydrologic 

surface connection to surface waters at the time of pesticide 

application. For calculating annual treatment totals, count 

each pesticide application activity or area as a separate 

activity. For example, applying pesticides twice a year to a 

one mile linear feature (e.g., ditch) equals two miles of 

treatment area regardless of whether one or both sides of the 

ditch are treated. Applying pesticides twice a year along one 

mile of lake shoreline equals two miles of treatment area. 

D. An operator's discharge resulting from the application of 

pesticides is not authorized under this permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The operator is required to obtain an individual VPDES 

permit in accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation.  

2. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 

stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards. Discharges resulting from the application of 

pesticides are temporary and allowable in exceptional 

waters (see 9VAC25-260-30 A 3 (b) (3)). 

3. The operator is proposing a discharge from a pesticide 

application to surface waters that have been identified as 

impaired by that pesticide or its degradates. Impaired 

waters include both impaired waters with board-adopted, 

EPA-approved or EPA-imposed TMDLs, and impaired 

waters for which a TMDL has not yet been approved, 

established, or imposed.  

If the proposed discharge would not be eligible for 

coverage under this permit because the surface water is 

listed as impaired for that specific pesticide, but the 

applicant has evidence that shows the water is no longer 

impaired, the applicant may submit this information to the 

board and request that coverage be allowed under this 

permit. 

E. Discharge authorization date. Operators are not required 

to submit a registration statement and are authorized to 

discharge under this permit immediately upon the permit's 

effective date of January 1, 2014 2019. 

F. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance with the federal Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 

et seq.) and the State Water Control Law with the exceptions 

stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

Approval for coverage under this general VPDES general 

permit does not relieve any operator of the responsibility to 

comply with any other applicable federal, state, or local 

statute, ordinance, or regulation. For example, this permit 

does not negate the requirements under FIFRA and its 

implementing regulations to use registered pesticides 

consistent with the product's labeling. It also does not negate 

the requirement to fully comply with applicable state wetland 

program requirements administered by DEQ and the Virginia 

Marine Resources Commission. 

G. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. This general permit shall expire on December 31, 2018 

2023, except that the conditions of the expired pesticides 

general permit will continue in force for an operator until 

coverage is granted under a reissued pesticides general 

permit if the board, through no fault of the operator, does 

not reissue a pesticides general permit on or before the 

expiration date of the expiring general permit. 
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2. General permit coverages continued under this section 

remain fully effective and enforceable. 

3. When the operator that was covered under the expiring 

or expired pesticides general permit is not in compliance 

with the conditions of that permit, the board may choose to 

do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the pesticides 

general permit that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under a 

reissued pesticides general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the operator would then be required 

to cease the activities authorized by the continued general 

permit or be subject to enforcement action for operating 

without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-800-40. Registration statement. 

Operators are not required to submit a registration statement 

to apply for coverage under this general VPDES general 

permit for discharges resulting from the application of 

pesticides to surface waters. 

9VAC25-800-50. Termination of permit coverage. 

Operators are not required to submit a notice of termination 

to terminate permit coverage under this general VPDES 

general permit for discharges resulting from the application of 

pesticides to surface waters.  

9VAC25-800-60. General permit. 

Any operator who is authorized to discharge shall comply 

with the requirements contained herein in this general permit 

and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170.  

General Permit No.: VAG87  

Effective Date: January 1, 2014 2019 

Expiration Date: December 31, 2018 2023 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES RESULTING 

FROM THE APPLICATION OF PESTICIDES TO 

SURFACE WATERS OF VIRGINIA 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act 

(33 USC § 1251 et seq.), as amended, and pursuant to the 

State Water Control Law and regulations adopted pursuant 

thereto, operators that apply pesticides that result in a 

discharge to surface waters are authorized to discharge to 

surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 

cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II-Conditions 

Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this 

general permit. Coverage under this general VPDES general 

permit does not relieve any operator of the responsibility to 

comply with any other applicable federal, state, or local 

statute, ordinance, or regulation, including the pesticide 

product label.  

Part I  

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements, and Special 

Conditions 

A. Effluent limitations. 

1. Technology-based effluent limitations. To meet the 

effluent limitations in this permit, the operator shall 

implement pest management measures that minimize 

discharges of pesticides to surface waters.  

a. Minimize pesticide discharges to surface waters. All 

operators who perform the application of pesticides or 

who have day-to-day control of applications shall 

minimize the discharge of pollutants resulting from the 

application of pesticides, and: 

(1) Use the lowest effective amount of pesticide product 

per application and optimum frequency of pesticide 

applications necessary to control the target pest, 

consistent with reducing the potential for development of 

pest resistance without exceeding the maximum 

allowable rate of the product label; 

(2) No person shall apply, dispense, or use any pesticide 

in or through any equipment or application apparatus 

unless the equipment or apparatus is in sound mechanical 

condition and capable of satisfactory operation. All 

pesticide application equipment shall be properly 

equipped to dispense the proper amount of material. All 

pesticide mixing, storage, or holding tanks, whether on 

application equipment or not, shall be leak proof. All 

spray distribution systems shall be leak proof, and any 

pumps that these systems may have shall be capable of 

operating at sufficient pressure to assure a uniform and 

adequate rate of pesticide application;  

(3) All pesticide application equipment shall be equipped 

with cut-off valves and discharge orifices to enable the 

operator to pass over nontarget areas without 

contaminating them. All hoses, pumps, or other 

equipment used to fill pesticide handling, storage, or 

application equipment shall be fitted with an effective 

valve or device to prevent backflow into water supply 

systems, streams, lakes, other sources of water, or other 

materials. However, these backflow devices or valves are 
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not required for separate water storage tanks used to fill 

pesticide application equipment by gravity systems when 

the fill spout, tube, or pipe is not allowed to contact or 

fall below the water level of the application equipment 

being filled, and no other possible means of establishing 

a back siphon or backflow exists; and 

(4) Assess weather conditions (e.g., temperature, 

precipitation, and wind speed) in the treatment area to 

ensure application is consistent with product label 

requirements. 

b. Integrated pest management (IPM) practices. The 

operator with control over the financing for or the 

decision to perform pesticide applications that result in 

discharges, including the ability to modify those 

decisions, shall to the extent practicable consider 

integrated pest management practices to ensure that 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides to 

surface waters are minimized. Operators that exceed the 

annual treatment area thresholds established in 9VAC25-

800-30 C are also required to maintain a pesticide 

discharge management plan (PDMP) in accordance with 

Part I C of this permit. The PDMP documents the 

operator's IPM practices.  

The operator's IPM practices shall consider the following 

for each pesticide use pattern: 

(Note: If the operator's discharge of pollutants results 

from the application of a pesticide that is being used 

solely for the purpose of "pesticide research and 

development," as defined in 9VAC25-800-10, the 

operator is only required to fully implement IPM 

practices to the extent that the requirements do not 

compromise the research design.) 

(1) Mosquito and other flying insect pest control. This 

subpart applies to discharges resulting from the 

application of pesticides to control public health/nuisance 

health, nuisance and other flying insect pests that develop 

or are present during a portion of their life cycle in or 

above standing or flowing water.  

(a) Identify the problem. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

consider the following for each pest management area: 

(i) Identify target pests; 

(ii) Establish densities for pest populations or identify 

environmental conditions, either current or based on 

historical data, to serve as action thresholds for 

implementing pest management measures; 

(iii) Identify known breeding sites for source reduction, 

larval control program, and habitat management;  

(iv) Analyze existing surveillance data to identify new or 

unidentified sources of pest problems as well as sites that 

have recurring pest problems; and 

(v) In the event there are no data for the pest 

management area in the past calendar year, use other 

available data as appropriate to meet the conditions in 

subdivision Part I A 1 b (1) (a) above. 

(b) Pest management options. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

select and implement for each pest management area 

efficient and effective pest management measures that 

minimize discharges resulting from application of 

pesticides to control mosquitoes or other flying insect 

pests. In developing these pest management measures, 

the operator shall evaluate the following management 

options, including a combination of these options, 

considering impact to water quality, impact to nontarget 

organisms, pest resistance, feasibility, and cost 

effectiveness: 

(i) No action; 

(ii) Prevention; 

(iii) Mechanical or physical methods; 

(iv) Cultural methods; 

(v) Biological control; and 

(vi) Pesticides. 

(c) Pesticide use. If a pesticide is selected to manage 

mosquitoes or flying insect pests and application of the 

pesticide will result in a discharge to surface waters, the 

operator shall: 

(i) Conduct larval or adult surveillance in an area that is 

representative of the pest problem or evaluate existing 

larval surveillance data, environmental conditions, or 

data from adjacent areas prior to each pesticide 

application to assess the pest management area and to 

determine when the action threshold is met; 

(ii) Reduce the impact on the environment and on 

nontarget organisms by applying the pesticide only when 

the action threshold has been met; 

(iii) In situations or locations where practicable and 

feasible for efficacious control, use larvicides as a 

preferred pesticide for mosquito or flying insect pest 

control when larval action thresholds have been met; and 

(iv) In situations or locations where larvicide use is not 

practicable or feasible for efficacious control, use 

adulticides for mosquito or flying insect pest control 

when adult action thresholds have been met. 
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(2) Weed and algae pest control. This subpart applies to 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides to 

control weeds, algae, and pathogens that are pests in 

surface waters.  

(a) Identify the problem. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

consider the following for each pest management area: 

(i) Identify target pests; 

(ii) Identify areas with pest problems and characterize the 

extent of the problems, including, for example, water use 

goals not attained (e.g., wildlife habitat, fisheries, 

vegetation, and recreation); 

(iii) Identify possible factors causing or contributing to 

the pest problem (e.g., nutrients, invasive species, etc.);  

(iv) Establish past or present pest densities to serve as 

action thresholds for implementing pest management 

strategies; and 

(v) In the event there are no data for the pest 

management area in the past calendar year, use other 

available data as appropriate to meet the conditions in 

subdivision Part I A 1 b (2) (a) above. 

(b) Pest management options. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

select and implement, for each pest management area, 

efficient and effective pest management measures that 

minimize discharges resulting from application of 

pesticides to control pests. In developing these pest 

management measures, the operator shall evaluate the 

following management options, including a combination 

of these options, considering impact to water quality, 

impact to nontarget organisms, pest resistance, 

feasibility, and cost effectiveness: 

(i) No action; 

(ii) Prevention; 

(iii) Mechanical or physical methods; 

(iv) Cultural methods; 

(v) Biological control; and 

(vi) Pesticides. 

(c) Pesticide use. If a pesticide is selected to manage 

pests and application of the pesticide will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, the operator shall: 

(i) Conduct surveillance in an area that is representative 

of the pest problem prior to each pesticide application to 

assess the pest management area and to determine when 

the action threshold is met that necessitates the need for 

pest management; and 

(ii) Reduce the impact on the environment and nontarget 

organisms by applying the pesticide only when the action 

threshold has been met. 

(3) Animal pest control. This subpart applies to 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides to 

control animal pests in surface waters.  

(a) Identify the problem. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

consider the following for each pest management area: 

(i) Identify target pests; 

(ii) Identify areas with pest problems and characterize the 

extent of the problems, including, for example, water use 

goals not attained (e.g., wildlife habitat, fisheries, 

vegetation, and recreation); 

(iii) Identify possible factors causing or contributing to 

the problem (e.g., nutrients and invasive species);  

(iv) Establish past or present pest densities to serve as 

action thresholds for implementing pest management 

strategies; and 

(v) In the event there are no data for the pest 

management area in the past calendar year, use other 

available data as appropriate to meet the conditions in 

subdivision Part I A 1 b (3) (a) above.  

(b) Pest management options. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each year 

thereafter prior to the first pesticide application during 

that calendar year, the operator shall select and 

implement, for each pest management area, efficient and 

effective pest management measures that minimize 

discharges resulting from application of pesticides to 

control animal pests. In developing these pest 

management measures, the operator shall evaluate the 

following management options, including a combination 

of these options, considering impact to water quality, 

impact to nontarget organisms, pest resistance, 

feasibility, and cost effectiveness: 

(i) No action; 

(ii) Prevention; 

(iii) Mechanical or physical methods; 

(iv) Biological control; and 
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(v) Pesticides. 

(c) Pesticide use. If a pesticide is selected to manage 

animal pests and application of the pesticide will result in 

a discharge to surface waters, the operator shall: 

(i) Conduct surveillance prior to each application to 

assess the pest management area and to determine when 

the action threshold is met that necessitates the need for 

pest management; and 

(ii) Reduce the impact on the environment and nontarget 

organisms by evaluating site restrictions, application 

timing, and application method in addition to applying 

the pesticide only when the action threshold has been 

met. 

(4) Forest canopy pest control. This subpart applies to 

discharges resulting from the application of pesticides to 

the forest canopy to control the population of a pest 

species where, to target the pests effectively, a portion of 

the pesticide unavoidably will be applied over and 

deposited to surface waters. 

(a) Identify the problem. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application in that calendar year, the operator shall 

consider the following for each pest management area: 

(i) Identify target pests; 

(ii) Establish target pest densities to serve as action 

thresholds for implementing pest management measures;  

(iii) Identify current distribution of the target pest and 

assess potential distribution in the absence of pest 

management measures; and 

(iv) In the event there are no data for the pest 

management area in the past calendar year, use other 

available data as appropriate to meet the conditions in 

subdivision Part I A 1 (b) (4) (a) above. 

(b) Pest management options. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

select and implement for each pest management area 

efficient and effective pest management measures that 

minimize discharges resulting from application of 

pesticides to control forestry pests. In developing these 

pest management measures, the operator shall evaluate 

the following management options, including a 

combination of these options, considering impact to 

water quality, impact to nontarget organisms, pest 

resistance, feasibility, and cost effectiveness: 

(i) No action; 

(ii) Prevention; 

(iii) Mechanical or physical methods; 

(iv) Cultural methods; 

(v) Biological control; and 

(vi) Pesticides. 

(c) Pesticide use. If a pesticide is selected to manage 

forestry pests and application of the pesticide will result 

in a discharge to surface waters, the operator shall: 

(i) Conduct surveillance prior to each application to 

assess the pest management area and to determine when 

the pest action threshold is met that necessitates the need 

for pest management; 

(ii) Assess environmental conditions (e.g., temperature, 

precipitation, and wind speed) in the treatment area to 

identify conditions that support target pest development 

and are conducive for treatment activities; 

(iii) Reduce the impact on the environment and nontarget 

organisms by evaluating the restrictions, application 

timing, and application methods in addition to applying 

the pesticide only when the action thresholds have been 

met; and 

(iv) Evaluate using pesticides against the most 

susceptible developmental stage. 

(5) Intrusive vegetation pest control. This subpart applies 

to discharges resulting from the application of pesticides 

along roads, ditches, canals, waterways, and utility rights 

of way where, to target the intrusive pests effectively, a 

portion of the pesticide will unavoidably be applied over 

and deposited to surface waters. 

(a) Identify the problem. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 

discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application in that calendar year, the operator shall 

consider the following for each pest management area: 

(i) Identify target pests; 

(ii) Establish target pest densities to serve as action 

thresholds for implementing pest management measures;  

(iii) Identify current distribution of the target pest and 

assess potential distribution in the absence of pest 

management measures; and 

(iv) In the event there are no data for the pest 

management area in the past calendar year, use other 

available data as appropriate to meet the conditions in 

subdivision Part I A 1 (b) (5) (a) above. 

(b) Pest management options. Prior to the first pesticide 

application covered under this permit that will result in a 
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discharge to surface waters, and at least once each 

calendar year thereafter prior to the first pesticide 

application for that calendar year, the operator shall 

select and implement for each pest management area 

efficient and effective pest management measures that 

minimize discharges resulting from application of 

pesticides to intrusive vegetation pests. In developing 

these pest management measures, the operator shall 

evaluate the following management options, including a 

combination of these options, considering impact to 

water quality, impact to nontarget organisms, pest 

resistance, feasibility, and cost effectiveness: 

(i) No action; 

(ii) Prevention; 

(iii) Mechanical or physical methods; 

(iv) Cultural methods; 

(v) Biological control; and 

(vi) Pesticides. 

(c) Pesticide use. If a pesticide is selected to manage 

intrusive vegetation pests and application of the pesticide 

will result in a discharge to surface waters, the operator 

shall: 

(i) Conduct surveillance prior to each application to 

assess the pest management area and to determine when 

the pest action threshold is met that necessitates the need 

for pest management; 

(ii) Assess environmental conditions (e.g., temperature, 

precipitation, and wind speed) in the treatment area to 

identify conditions that support target pest development 

and are conducive for treatment activities; 

(iii) Reduce the impact on the environment and nontarget 

organisms by evaluating the restrictions, application 

timing, and application methods in addition to applying 

the pesticide only when the action thresholds have been 

met; and 

(iv) Evaluate using pesticides against the most 

susceptible developmental stage.  

2. Water quality-based effluent limitations. The operator's 

discharge of pollutants must be controlled as necessary to 

meet applicable numeric and narrative water quality 

standards for any discharges authorized under this permit, 

with compliance required upon beginning such discharge. 

If at any time the operator become aware, or the board 

determines, that the operator's discharge of pollutants 

causes or contributes to an excursion of applicable water 

quality standards, corrective action must be taken as 

required in Part I D 1 of this permit. 

B. Monitoring requirements. 

All operators covered under this permit must conduct a 

visual monitoring assessment (i.e., spot checks in the area 

to and around where pesticides are applied) for possible 

and observable adverse incidents caused by application of 

pesticides, including but not limited to the unanticipated 

death or distress of nontarget organisms and disruption of 

wildlife habitat, recreational, or municipal water use. 

A visual monitoring assessment is only required during the 

pesticide application when feasibility and safety allow. For 

example, visual monitoring assessment is not required 

during the course of treatment when that treatment is 

performed in darkness as it would be infeasible to note 

adverse effects under these circumstances. Visual 

monitoring assessments of the application site must be 

performed: 

1. During any post-application surveillance or efficacy 

check that the operator conducts, if surveillance or an 

efficacy check is conducted. 

2. During any pesticide application, when considerations 

for safety and feasibility allow. 

C. Pesticide discharge management plan (PDMP). Any 

operator applying pesticides and exceeding the annual 

application thresholds established in 9VAC25-800-30 C must 

prepare a PDMP for the pest management area. The plan must 

be kept up-to-date thereafter for the duration of coverage 

under this general permit, even if discharges subsequently fall 

below the annual application threshold levels. The operator 

applying pesticides shall develop a PDMP consistent with the 

deadline outlined in Table I-1 below. 

Table I-1. Pesticide Discharge Management Plan Deadline 

Category PDMP Deadline 

Operators who know prior to 

commencement of discharge that 

they will exceed an annual 

treatment area threshold 

identified in 9VAC25-800-30 C 

for that year. 

Prior to first pesticide 

application covered 

under this permit. 

Operators who do not know until 

after commencement of discharge 

that they will exceed an annual 

treatment area threshold 

identified in 9VAC25-800-30 C 

for that year. 

Prior to exceeding an 

annual treatment area 

threshold. 

Operators commencing discharge 

in response to a declared pest 

emergency situation as defined in 

9VAC25-800-10 that will cause 

the operator to exceed an annual 

treatment area threshold. 

No later than 90 days 

after responding to 

declared pest emergency 

situation.  
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The PDMP does not contain effluent limitations; the 

limitations are contained in Parts I A 1 and I A 2 of the 

permit. The PDMP documents how the operator will 

implement the effluent limitations in Parts I A 1 and I A 2 of 

the permit, including the evaluation and selection of pest 

management measures to meet those effluent limitations and 

minimize discharges. In the PDMP, the operator may 

incorporate by reference any procedures or plans in other 

documents that meet the requirements of this permit. If other 

documents are being relied upon by the operator to describe 

how compliance with the effluent limitations in this permit 

will be achieved, such as a pre-existing integrated pest 

management (IPM) plan, a copy of the portions of any 

documents that are being used to document the 

implementation of the effluent limitations shall be attached to 

the PDMP. The pest management measures implemented 

must be documented and the documentation must be kept up 

to date. 

1. Contents of the pesticide discharge management plan. 

The PDMP must include the following elements: 

a. Pesticide discharge management team; 

b. Problem identification; 

c. Pest management options evaluation; 

d. Response procedures: 

(1) Spill response procedures; 

(2) Adverse incident response procedures; and  

e. Signature requirements. 

2. PDMP team. The operator shall identify all the persons 

(by name and contact information) who compose the team 

as well as each person's individual responsibilities, 

including: 

a. Persons responsible for managing pests in relation to 

the pest management area; 

b. Persons responsible for developing and revising the 

PDMP; and 

c. Persons responsible for developing, revising, and 

implementing corrective actions and other effluent 

limitation requirements. 

3. Problem identification. The operator shall document the 

following: 

a. Pest problem description. Describe the pest problem at 

the pest management area, including identification of the 

target pests, sources of the pest problem, and sources of 

data used to identify the problem in Parts Part I A 1 b (1), 

I A 1 b (2), I A 1 b (3), I A 1 b (4) and I A 1 through b 

(5).  

b. Action thresholds. Describe the action thresholds for 

the pest management area, including how they were 

determined. 

c. General location map. Include a general location map 

that identifies the geographic boundaries of the area to 

which the plan applies and location of major surface 

waters. 

4. Integrated pest management options evaluation. 

Operators shall document the evaluation of the pest 

management options, including a combination of the pest 

management options, to control the target pests. Pest 

management options include the following: no action, 

prevention, mechanical/physical mechanical or physical 

methods, cultural methods, biological control agents, and 

pesticides. In the evaluation, decision makers shall 

consider the impact to water quality, impact to nontarget 

organisms, feasibility, cost effectiveness, and any relevant 

previous pest management measures. 

5. Response procedures. Document the following 

procedures in the PDMP: 

a. Spill response procedures. At a minimum the PDMP 

must have: 

(1) Procedures for expeditiously stopping, containing, 

and cleaning up leaks, spills, and other releases to surface 

waters. Employees who may cause, detect, or respond to 

a spill or leak must be trained in these procedures and 

have necessary spill response equipment available. If 

possible, one of these individuals should be a member of 

the PDMP team. 

(2) Procedures for notification of appropriate facility 

personnel, emergency response agencies, and regulatory 

agencies. 

b. Adverse incident response procedures. At a minimum 

the PDMP must have: 

(1) Procedures for responding to any incident resulting 

from pesticide applications; and 

(2) Procedures for notification of the incident, both 

internal to the operator's agency or organization and 

external. Contact information for DEQ, nearest 

emergency medical facility, and nearest hazardous 

chemical responder must be in locations that are readily 

accessible and available. 

6. PDMP signature requirements.  

a. The PDMP, including changes to the PDMP to 

document any corrective actions taken as required by 

Part I D 1, and all reports submitted to the department 

must be signed by a person described in Part II G 1 or by 

a duly authorized representative of that person described 

in Part II G 2. 
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b. All other changes to the PDMP, and other compliance 

documentation required under this permit, must be signed 

and dated by the person preparing the change or 

documentation. 

c. Any person signing documents in accordance with 

subdivision Part I C 6 a above must include the 

certification from Part II G 4. 

7. PDMP modifications and availability. 

a. PDMP modifications. The operator shall modify the 

PDMP whenever necessary to address any of the 

triggering conditions for corrective action in Part I D 1 a, 

or when a change in pest control activities significantly 

changes the type or quantity of pollutants discharged. 

Changes to the PDMP must be made before the next 

pesticide application that results in a discharge, if 

practicable, or if not, as soon as possible thereafter. The 

revised PDMP must be signed and dated in accordance 

with Part II G. 

The operator shall review the PDMP at a minimum once 

per calendar year and whenever necessary to update the 

pest problem identified and pest management strategies 

evaluated for the pest management area.  

b. PDMP availability. The operator shall retain a copy of 

the current PDMP, along with all supporting maps and 

documents. The operator shall make the PDMP and 

supporting information available to the department upon 

request. The PDMP is subject to the provisions and 

exclusions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act 

(§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

D. Special conditions. 

1. Corrective action. 

a. Situations requiring revision of pest management 

measures. If any of the following situations occur, the 

operator shall review and, as necessary, revise the 

evaluation and selection of pest management measures to 

ensure that the situation is eliminated and will not be 

repeated in the future: 

(1) An unauthorized release or discharge associated with 

the application of pesticides occurs (e.g., spill, leak, or 

discharge not authorized by this or another VPDES 

permit); 

(2) The operator becomes aware, or the board concludes, 

that the pest management measures are not adequate or 

sufficient for the discharge of pollutants to meet 

applicable water quality standards; 

(3) Any monitoring activities indicate that the operator 

failed to meet the technology-based effluent limitations 

in Part I A 1 a of this permit; 

(4) An inspection or evaluation of the operator's activities 

by DEQ, VDACS, EPA, or a locality reveals that 

modifications to the pest management measures are 

necessary to meet the non-numeric effluent limits in this 

permit; or 

(5) The operator observes (e.g., during visual monitoring 

that is required in Part I B) or is otherwise made aware of 

an adverse incident. 

b. Corrective action deadlines. If the operator determines 

that changes to the pest management measures are 

necessary to eliminate any situation identified in Part I D 

1 a, such changes must be made before the next pesticide 

application that results in a discharge if practicable, or if 

not, as soon as possible thereafter. 

2. Adverse incident documentation and reporting. 

a. Twenty-four-hour adverse incident notification. If the 

operator observes or is otherwise made aware of an 

adverse incident that may have resulted from a discharge 

from the operator's pesticide application, the operator 

shall immediately notify the department (see Part I D 5). 

This notification must be made within 24 hours of when 

the operator becomes aware of the adverse incident and 

must include at least the following information: 

(1) The caller's name and telephone number; 

(2) Operator's name and mailing address; 

(3) The name and telephone number of a contact person 

if different than the person providing the 24-hour notice; 

(4) How and when the operator became aware of the 

adverse incident; 

(5) Description of the location of the adverse incident; 

(6) Description of the adverse incident identified and the 

EPA pesticide registration number for each product that 

was applied in the area of the adverse incident; and 

(7) Description of any steps the operator has taken or will 

take to correct, repair, remedy, cleanup, or otherwise 

address any adverse effects. 

If the operator is unable to notify the department within 

24 hours, notification shall be made as soon as possible 

and the rationale for why the notification was not 

possible within 24 hours shall be provided. 

The adverse incident notification and reporting 

requirements are in addition to what the registrant is 

required to submit under FIFRA § 6(a)(2) and its 

implementing regulations at 40 CFR Part 159. 

b. Reporting of adverse incidents is not required under 

this permit in the following situations: 
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(1) The operator is aware of facts that clearly establish 

that the adverse incident was not related to toxic effects 

or exposure from the pesticide application. 

(2) The operator has been notified in writing by the board 

that the reporting requirement has been waived for this 

incident or category of incidents. 

(3) The operator receives notification of a potential 

adverse incident but that notification and supporting 

information are clearly erroneous. 

(4) An adverse incident occurs to pests that are similar in 

kind to pests identified as potential targets. 

c. Five-day adverse incident written report. Within five 

days of a reportable adverse incident pursuant to Part I D 

2 a, the operator shall provide a written report of the 

adverse incident to the appropriate DEQ regional office 

at the address listed in Part I D 5. The adverse incident 

report must include at least the following information: 

(1) Information required to be provided in Part I D 2 a; 

(2) Date and time the operator contacted DEQ notifying 

the department of the adverse incident, and with whom 

the operator spoke at DEQ, and any instructions the 

operator received from DEQ; 

(3) Location of incident, including the names of any 

waters affected and appearance of those waters (sheen, 

color, clarity, etc.); 

(4) A description of the circumstances of the adverse 

incident including species affected, estimated number of 

individuals, and approximate size of dead or distressed 

organisms; 

(5) Magnitude and scope of the affected area (e.g., 

aquatic square area or total stream distance affected); 

(6) Pesticide application rate, intended use site, method 

of application, and name of pesticide product, description 

of pesticide ingredients, and EPA registration number; 

(7) Description of the habitat and the circumstances 

under which the adverse incident occurred (including any 

available ambient water data for pesticides applied); 

(8) If laboratory tests were performed, indicate what tests 

were performed, and when, and provide a summary of 

the test results within five days after they become 

available; 

(9) If applicable, explain why it is believed the adverse 

incident could not have been caused by exposure to the 

pesticide; 

(10) Actions to be taken to prevent recurrence of adverse 

incidents; and 

(11) Signed and dated in accordance with Part II G. 

The operator shall report adverse incidents even for those 

instances when the pesticide labeling states that adverse 

effects may occur. 

d. Adverse incident to threatened or endangered species 

or critical habitat.  

(1) Notwithstanding any of the other adverse incident 

notification requirements of this section, if the operator 

becomes aware of an adverse incident to threatened or 

endangered species or critical habitat that may have 

resulted from a discharge from the operator's pesticide 

application, the operator shall immediately notify the: 

(a) National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) and the 

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

(DGIF) in the case of an anadromous or marine species; 

(b) U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) and the DGIF 

in the case of an animal or invertebrate species; or 

(c) FWS and the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services in the case of plants or insects. 

(2) Threatened or endangered species or critical habitats 

include the following: 

(a) Federally listed threatened or endangered species; 

(b) Federally designated critical habitat; 

(c) State-listed threatened or endangered species; and 

(d) Tier I (critical conservation need), or Tier II (very 

high conservation need) species of greatest conservation 

need (SGCN) as defined in Virginia's Wildlife Action 

Plan (www.bewildvirginia.org). 

(3) This notification must be made by telephone 

immediately upon the operator becoming aware of the 

adverse incident and must include at least the following 

information: 

(a) The caller's name and telephone number; 

(b) Operator's name and mailing address; 

(c) The name of the affected species, size of area 

impacted, and if applicable, the approximate number of 

animals affected; 

(d) How and when the operator became aware of the 

adverse incident; 

(e) Description of the location of the adverse incident; 

(f) Description of the adverse incident, including the 

EPA pesticide registration number for each product the 

operator applied in the area of the adverse incident;  

(g) Description of any steps the operator has taken or will 

take to alleviate the adverse impact to the species; and 

(h) Date and time of application. Additional information 

on federally listed threatened or endangered species and 

http://www.bewildvirginia.org/
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federally designated critical habitat is available from 

NMFS (www.nmfs.noaa.gov) for anadromous or marine 

species or FWS (www.fws.gov) for terrestrial or 

freshwater species. Additional information on state-listed 

threatened or endangered wildlife species is available 

through the Virginia Fish and Wildlife Information 

Service (www.dgif.virginia.gov). Listing of state 

threatened or endangered plants and insects can be found 

in §§ 3.2-1000 through 3.2-1011 of the Code of Virginia 

and 2VAC5-320-10 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

(both the Code of Virginia and the Virginia 

Administrative Code must be referenced in order to 

obtain the complete plant and insect list). (Contact 

information for these agencies can be found on the 

contact information form or through the DEQ website.) 

3. Reportable spills and leaks. 

a. Spill, leak, or other unauthorized discharge 

notification. Where a leak, spill, or other release 

containing a hazardous substance or oil in an amount 

equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity established 

under either 40 CFR Part 110, 117, or 302 occurs in any 

24-hour period, the operator shall notify the department 

(see Part I D 2) as soon as the operator has knowledge of 

the release. Department contact information must be kept 

in locations that are readily accessible and available in 

the area where a spill, leak, or other unpermitted 

discharge may occur. 

b. Five-day spill, leak, or other unauthorized discharge 

report. Within five days of the operator becoming aware 

of a spill, leak, or other unauthorized discharge triggering 

the notification in subdivision 3 of this subsection, the 

operator shall submit a written report to the appropriate 

DEQ regional office at the address listed in Part I D 5. 

The report shall contain the following information: 

(1) A description of the nature and location of the spill, 

leak, or discharge; 

(2) The cause of the spill, leak, or discharge;  

(3) The date on which the spill, leak, or discharge 

occurred;  

(4) The length of time that the spill, leak, or discharge 

continued;  

(5) The volume of the spill, leak, or discharge;  

(6) If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected 

to continue and what the expected total volume of the 

discharge will be;  

(7) A summary of corrective action taken or to be taken 

including date initiated and date completed or expected 

to be completed; and 

(8) Any steps planned or taken to prevent recurrence of 

such a spill, leak, or other discharge, including notice of 

whether PDMP modifications are required as a result of 

the spill or leak. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations 

are exempted from this requirement. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-

case basis for reports of noncompliance if the oral report 

has been received within 24 hours and no adverse impact 

on state waters has been reported. 

4. Recordkeeping and annual reporting. The operator shall 

keep records as required in this permit. These records must 

be accurate, complete, and sufficient to demonstrate 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. The operator 

can rely on records and documents developed for other 

obligations, such as requirements under FIFRA and state or 

local pesticide programs, provided all requirements of this 

permit are satisfied. The board recommends that all 

operators covered under this permit keep records of acres 

or linear miles treated for all applicable use patterns 

covered under this general permit. 

a. All operators must keep the following records: 

(1) A copy of any adverse incident reports (see Part I D 2 

c). 

(2) The operator's rationale for any determination that 

reporting of an identified adverse incident is not required 

consistent with allowances identified in Part I D 2 b. 

b. Any operator performing the application of a pesticide 

or who has day-to-day control of the application and 

exceeding the annual application thresholds established 

in 9VAC25-800-30 C must also maintain a record of 

each pesticide applied. This shall apply to both general 

use and restricted use pesticides. Each record shall 

contain the:  

(1) Name, address, and telephone number of customer 

and address or location, if different, of site of application;  

(2) Name and VDACS certification number of the person 

making the application or certification number of the 

supervising certified applicator; 

(3) Day, month, and year of application;  

(4) Type of plants, crop, animals, or sites treated and 

principal pests to be controlled;  

(5) Acreage, area, or number of plants or animals treated;  

(6) Brand name or common product name;  

(7) EPA registration number;  

(8) Amount of pesticide concentrate and amount of 

diluting used, by weight or volume, in mixture applied; 

and  

http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/
http://www.fws.gov/
http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/
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(9) Type of application equipment used. 

c. All required records must be assembled as soon as 

possible but no later than 30 days following completion 

of such activity. The operator shall retain any records 

required under this permit for at least three years from 

the date of the pesticide application. The operator shall 

make available to the board, including an authorized 

representative of the board, all records kept under this 

permit upon request and provide copies of such records, 

upon request. 

d. Annual reporting. 

(1) Any operator applying pesticides that reports an 

adverse incident as described in Part I D 2 must submit 

an annual report to the department no later than February 

10 of the following year (and retain a copy for the 

operator's records). 

(2) The annual report must contain the following 

information: 

(a) Operator's name; 

(b) Contact person name, title, email address (where 

available), and phone number; 

(c) A summary report of all adverse incidents that 

occurred during the previous calendar year; and 

(d) A summary of any corrective actions, including spill 

responses, in response to adverse incidents, and the 

rationale for such actions. 

5. DEQ contact information and mailing addresses. 

a. All incident reports under Part I D 2 must be sent to 

the appropriate DEQ regional office within five days of 

the operator becoming aware of the adverse incident. 

b. All other written correspondence concerning 

discharges must be sent to the address of the appropriate 

DEQ regional office listed in Part I D 5 c. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24-hours) reports required 

in Part I D 2 may be made to the department's regional 

office. Reports may be made by telephone, fax, or online 

(http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionRespon

sePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx). For reports 

outside normal working hours, leave a message, and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892.  

c. DEQ regional office addresses. 

(1) Blue Ridge Regional Office - Lynchburg (BRRO-L) 

7705 Timberlake Road 

Lynchburg, VA 24502 

(434) 582-5120 

(2) (1) Blue Ridge Regional Office - Roanoke (BRRO-R) 

(BRRO) 

3019 Peters Creek Road 

Roanoke, VA 24019 

(540) 562-6700 

(3) (2) Northern Virginia Regional Office (NVRO) 

13901 Crown Court 

Woodbridge, VA 22193 

(703) 583-3800 

(4) (3) Piedmont Regional Office (PRO) 

4949-A Cox Road 

Glen Allen, VA 23060 

(804) 527-5020 

(5) (4) Southwest Regional Office (SWRO) 

355 Deadmore St. 

P.O. Box 1688 

Abingdon, VA 24212 

(276) 676-4800 

(6) (5) Tidewater Regional Office (TRO) 

5636 Southern Blvd. 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462 

(757) 518-2000 

(7) (6) Valley Regional Office (VRO) 

4411 Early Road 

Mailing address: P.O. Box 3000 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801 

(540) 574-7800 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to all VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The operator shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
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instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed;  

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The operator shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and copies of all reports required by this permit for 

a period of at least three years from the date that coverage 

under this permit expires. This period of retention shall be 

extended automatically during the course of any 

unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or 

regarding control standards applicable to the operator, or as 

requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. Monitoring results under 

this permit are not required to be submitted to the department. 

However, should the department request that the operator 

submit monitoring results, the following subdivisions would 

apply. 

1. The operator shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a discharge 

monitoring report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved, 

or specified by the department.  

3. If the operator monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The operator shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the operator to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from his the permittee's discharge on the quality of 

state waters, or such other information as may be necessary to 

accomplish the purposes of the State Water Control Law. The 

operator shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the use 

of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

recreation, or other uses. 

G. Signature requirements.  

1. The PDMP, including changes to the PDMP to 

document any corrective actions taken as required by Part I 

D 1, and all reports submitted to the department must be 

signed by a person described in this subsection or by a duly 

authorized representative of that person described in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this subsection, a responsible 

corporate officer means: (i) a president, secretary, 

treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge 

of a principal business function, or any other person who 

performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one 

or more manufacturing, production, or operating 

facilities, provided the manager is authorized to make 

management decisions that govern the operation of the 

regulated activity including having the explicit or 

implicit duty of making major capital investment 

recommendations and initiating and directing other 
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comprehensive measures to assure long-term 

environmental compliance with environmental laws and 

regulations; the manager can ensure that the necessary 

systems are established or actions taken to gather 

complete and accurate information for permit application 

requirements; and authority to sign documents has been 

assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance with 

corporate procedures.; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this subsection, a 

principal executive officer of a federal agency includes 

(i) the chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a 

senior executive officer having responsibility for the 

overall operations of a principal geographic unit or the 

agency. 

2. A person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in subdivision 1 of this subsection; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated activity such as the position of 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and 

c. The signed and dated written authorization is included 

in the PDMP. A copy of this authorization must be 

submitted to the department if requested. 

3. All other changes to the PDMP, and other compliance 

documentation required under this permit, must be signed 

and dated by the person preparing the change or 

documentation. 

4. Any person signing documents in accordance with 

subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection must include the 

following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gathered and evaluated 

the information contained therein. Based on my inquiry of 

the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information contained is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

H. Duty to comply. The operator shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

federal Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with 

certain provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of 

the State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. 

Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action;, for 

permit coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application.  

The operator shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 

regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions, even 

if this permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement.  

I. Duty to reapply. 1. If the operator wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, and the operator does not qualify for automatic 

permit coverage renewal, the operator shall submit a 

registration statement at least 30 days before the expiration 

date of the existing permit, unless permission for a later date 

has been granted by the board. The board shall not grant 

permission for registration statements to be submitted later 

than the expiration date of the existing the operator must have 

coverage under a new permit. 

2. An operator qualifies for automatic permit coverage 

renewal and is not required to submit a registration 

statement if: 

a. The operator information has not changed since this 

general permit went into effect on October 31, 2011; and 

b. The board has no objection to the automatic permit 

coverage renewal for this operator based on performance 

issues or enforcement issues. If the board objects to the 

automatic renewal, the operator will be notified in 

writing. 

Any operator that does not qualify for automatic permit 

coverage renewal shall submit a new registration statement 

in accordance with Part II I 1. 

J. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

K. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the operator from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
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Nothing in this permit shall be construed to relieve the 

operator from civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance.  

L. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the operator from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the operator is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

M. Proper operation and maintenance. The operator shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the operator to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also include effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of backup or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems that are installed by the operator only when 

the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit.  

N. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

O. Duty to mitigate. The operator shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

P. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for an operator in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

Q. Inspection and entry. The operator shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

director), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the operator premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

R. Permit actions. Permits Permit coverage may be 

modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The 

filing of a request by the operator for a permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any permit condition. 

S. Transfer of permits permit coverage. Permits are not 

transferable to any person except after notice to the 

department. The transfer of permit coverage under this 

pesticide general permit is not anticipated since coverage is 

automatic where an operator meets the permit eligibility 

requirements.  

Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new operator if:  

1. The current operator notifies the department at least 30 

days in advance of the proposed transfer of the title to the 

facility or property unless permission for a later date has 

been granted by the board;  

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new operator's containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

3. The board does not notify the existing operator and the 

proposed new operator of its intent to modify or revoke 

and reissue the permit. If this notice is not received, the 

transfer is effective on the date specified in the 

agreement mentioned in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

T. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5142; Filed August 29, 2018, 10:38 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 

62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the 
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Code of Virginia if the board (i) provides a Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action in conformance with the 

provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) following the passage of 30 

days from the publication of the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action, forms a technical advisory committee 

composed of relevant stakeholders, including potentially 

affected citizens groups, to assist in the development of the 

general permit; (iii) provides notice and receives oral and 

written comment as provided in § 2.2-4007.03; and (iv) 

conducts at least one public hearing on the proposed general 

permit. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-890. General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Small Municipal 

Separate Storm Sewer Systems (amending 9VAC25-890-1 

through 9VAC25-890-40; repealing 9VAC25-890-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Bauer, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4416, FAX (804) 

698-5106, or email jaime.bauer@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings:  This 

final regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action reissues the existing Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System general permit 

that expires on June 30, 2018. The proposed regulatory 

action establishes appropriate and necessary permitting 

requirements for discharges from small municipal separate 

stormwater systems (MS4s) located within the census 

urbanized areas to discharge stormwater to waters of the 

state. The general permit establishes the minimum control 

measures to reduce the potential discharge of pollutants in 

municipal stormwater as well as requirements for 

demonstration of compliance with total maximum daily 

load (TMDL) wasteload allocations for local watersheds 

and the Chesapeake Bay. The existing general permit 

expires on June 30, 2018, and must be reissued to 

authorize small MS4s to continue to discharge after that 

date. 

Substantive changes to the existing regulation include (i) 

revising the permit in accordance with the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency's small MS4 federal 

regulations (Small MS4 Remand Rule) promulgated on 

January 9, 2017, such as revising registration statement 

requirements to eliminate submittal of the permittee's MS4 

program plan, including more specific best management 

practices (BMPs) and strategies for implementation as 

part of the permit, and removing the requirement approval 

of MS4 program plans and TMDL action plans by the 

Department of Environmental Quality; (ii) requiring 

permittees to provide MS4 maps in a geographic 

information system shapefile format; (iii) streamlining 

construction site stormwater runoff control and post-

construction stormwater management for new development 

and development on prior developed lands by 

incorporating existing erosion and sediment control and 

Virginia Stormwater Management Program regulations by 

reference; (iv) revising existing and new source load 

reductions to be implemented during the permit term for 

those permittees discharging to the Chesapeake Bay 

watershed in accordance with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

and Watershed Implementation Plans; (v) adding a 

requirement that local TMDL action plans be made 

available for public review; (iv) providing appropriate 

controls to prevent nonstormwater discharges to an MS4; 

(vii) specifying an alternative inspection frequency 

requirement for permittee owned BMPs; and (viii) defining 

maintenance and inspection requirements to include a 

specific frequency of no less than once per year. 

9VAC25-890-1. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Act (Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of 

Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia), this chapter, and 

9VAC25-870 unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 

except that for the purposes of this chapter: 

"Date brought [ on line" online" ] means the date when the 

operator permittee determines that a new stormwater 

management facility is properly functioning to meet its 

designed pollutant load reduction. 

"MS4 Program Plan" means the completed registration 

statement and all approved additions, changes and 

modifications detailing the comprehensive program 

implemented by the operator under this state permit to reduce 

the pollutants in the stormwater discharged from its municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4) that has been submitted 

and accepted by the department. 

"Operator" means the MS4 operator that has been issued 

coverage under the General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from small municipal separate storm sewer 

 systems. 

"High-priority facilities" means facilities owned or operated 

by the permittee that actively [ engaged engage ] in [ one or 

more of ] the following activities: (i) composting [ facilities ], 

(ii) equipment storage and maintenance [ facilities ], (iii) 

materials storage [ yards ], (iv) pesticide storage [ facilities ], 

(v) [ storage for ] public works [ yards ], (vi) recycling 

[ facilities ], (vii) salt storage [ facilities ], (viii) solid waste 

handling and transfer [ facilities ], and (ix) vehicle storage 

and maintenance [ yards ]. 
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"MS4 regulated service area" or "service area" means for 

Phase II permittees, the drainage area served by the 

permittee's MS4 that is located within an urbanized area as 

determined by the 2010 decennial census performed by the 

Bureau of the Census. MS4 regulated service area may also 

be referred to as "served by the MS4" as it pertains to the 

tables in Part II A of this permit. 

"Physically interconnected" means that one MS4 is 

connected to a second MS4 in such a manner that it allows for 

direct discharges to the second system. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means pollutants 

specifically identified in a U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency approved total maximum daily load (TMDL) report 

as causing a water quality impairment. 

9VAC25-890-10. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of the state permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs point source 

stormwater discharges from regulated small municipal 

separate storm sewer systems (small MS4s) to surface waters 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nonmunicipal stormwater 

or wastewater discharges are not authorized by this permit 

except in accordance with 9VAC25-890-20 [ C D ].  

B. This general permit will become effective on [ July 1, 

2013 November 1, ] 2018 and will expire five years from the 

effective date [ June 30 October 31, ] 2023. 

C. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 

provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 

of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-890-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in the Code of 

Federal Regulations Title 40 CFR is referenced and 

incorporated herein in this chapter, that regulation shall be as 

it exists and has been published in the July 1, 2012 2017, 

update. [ The final rule published in the Federal Register on 

August 28, 2017 (82 FR 40836), which amends 40 CFR Part 

136, is also incorporated by reference in this chapter. ] 

9VAC25-890-20. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any operator covered by this general permit is authorized 

to discharge stormwater from the small MS4 municipal 

separate storm sewer system (MS4) to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the:  

1. The operator submits a complete and accurate 

registration statement in accordance with 9VAC25-890-30 

and that registration statement is accepted by the board,; 

2. The operator submits any permit fees required by 

9VAC25-870-700 et seq. (Part XIII), and; 

3. The operator complies with the requirements of 

9VAC25-890-40; and 

4. The board has not notified the [ owner operator ] that the 

discharge is ineligible for coverage in accordance with 

subsection C of this section. 

B. The operator is not authorized by this general permit to 

discharge to surface waters specifically named in other board 

regulations that prohibit such discharges.  

C. The board will notify an operator that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The operator is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-870-410 B; 

2. The operator is proposing discharges to surface waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; or 

3. The operator fails to implement BMPs [ to reduce 

pollutants ] to the [ MEP maximum extent practicable 

(MEP) ] standard in order to demonstrate progress toward 

meeting the water quality requirements as listed in 

9VAC25-31-220 D 1 a [ in accordance with 9VAC25-31-

220 K 2 ]. 

D. Nonstormwater discharges or flows into the small MS4 

are authorized by this state permit and do not need to be 

addressed in the MS4 Program program required under 

9VAC25-890-40, Section II B 3, Part I E 3 if:  

1. The nonstormwater discharges or flows are covered by a 

separate individual or general VPDES or state permit for 

nonstormwater discharges;  

2. The individual nonstormwater discharges or flows have 

been identified in writing by the department as de minimis 

discharges that are not significant sources of pollutants to 

surface waters and do not require a separate VPDES 

permit;  

3. The nonstormwater discharges or flows are identified at 

9VAC25-870-400 D 2 c (3) in this subdivision D 3 and 

have not been identified by the operator or by the board as 

significant contributors of pollutants to the small MS4; or: 

a. [ Dechlorinated water Water ] line flushing [ , 

managed in a manner to avoid an instream impact ]; 

b. Landscape irrigation; 

c. Diverted stream flows; 

d. Rising groundwaters; 

e. Uncontaminated groundwater infiltration, as defined at 

40 CFR 35.2005(20); 

f. Uncontaminated pumped groundwater; 

g. Discharges from potable water sources; 
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h. Foundation drains; 

i. Air conditioning condensation; 

j. Irrigation water; 

k. Springs; 

l. Water from crawl space pumps; 

m. Footing drains; 

n. Lawn watering; 

o. Individual residential car washing; 

p. Flows from riparian habitats and wetlands; 

q. Dechlorinated swimming pool discharges; 

r. Street wash water; 

s. Discharges or flows from firefighting activities; [ or ]  

t. [ Discharges from noncommercial fundraising car 

washes if the washing uses only biodegradable, 

phosphate-free, water-based cleaners; or  

u. ] Other activities generating discharges identified by 

the department as not requiring VPDES authorization. 

4. The immediate discharge of materials resulting from a 

spill is necessary to prevent loss of protect life, personal 

injury, or severe property damage as determined by fire 

department personnel or emergency management officials 

or any discharge in accordance with 9VAC25-31-40. The 

operator shall take, or ensure that the responsible party 

takes, all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any 

adverse effect on human health or the environment. This 

state permit does not transfer liability for a spill itself from 

the party(ies) party responsible for the spill to the operator 

nor relieve the party(ies) party responsible for a spill from 

the reporting requirements of 40 CFR Part 117 and 40 CFR 

Part 302.  

D. E. In the event the operator is unable to meet certain 

conditions of this permit due to circumstances beyond the 

operator's control, the operator shall submit a written 

explanation of the circumstances that prevented state permit 

compliance to the department in the annual report. 

Circumstances beyond the control of the operator include but 

are not limited to abnormal climatic conditions; weather 

conditions that make certain requirements unsafe or 

impracticable; or unavoidable equipment failures caused by 

weather conditions or other conditions beyond the reasonable 

control of the operator (operator error is not a condition 

beyond the control of the operator). The failure to provide 

adequate program funding, staffing or equipment 

maintenance shall not be an acceptable explanation for failure 

to meet state permit conditions. The board will determine, at 

its sole discretion, whether the reported information will 

result in an enforcement action. 

E. F. Discharges that are excluded from obtaining a state 

permit permitting requirements pursuant to 9VAC25-870-300 

are exempted from the regulatory requirements of this state 

permit. 

F. Pursuant to 9VAC25-870-400 D 3, for G. For those 

portions of a the small MS4 engaging in activities that are 

covered under a separate VPDES permit for discharges 

associated with industrial stormwater discharges activities, 

the operator permittee shall follow the conditions established 

under by the separate VPDES permit.  

H. Upon termination of separate VPDES permit coverage 

for those activities addressed in subsection G of this section, 

the discharges from the outfalls previously separate VPDES 

authorized outfalls under the VPDES permit for stormwater 

discharges associated with industrial activities shall meet the 

conditions of this state permit provided it has been 

determined by the board that an individual MS4 permit is not 

required. 

G. I. Stormwater discharges from specific MS4 operator 

permittee activities that have been granted conditional 

exclusion for "no exposure" of industrial activities and 

materials to stormwater under the separate VPDES permitting 

program shall comply with this state permit unless a separate 

VPDES permit is obtained. The department is responsible for 

determining compliance with the conditional exclusion under 

the State Water Control Law and attendant regulations. 

H. J. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 

operator permittee of the responsibility to comply with any 

other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 

regulation. 

I. K. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any operator permittee that was authorized to discharge 

under the state permit issued in 2008 effective July 1, 

2013, and that submits a complete registration statement in 

accordance with Section III M of 9VAC25-890-40 on or 

before June 1, 2018, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2008 July 1, 2013, state permit until 

such time as the board either: 

1. a. Issues coverage to the operator permittee under this 

state permit; or 

2. b. Notifies the operator permittee that the discharge is 

not eligible for coverage under this state permit. 

2. When the permittee is not in compliance with the 

conditions of the expiring or expired general permit, the 

board may choose to do any or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2013 

general permit; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the new 

general permit. If coverage under the general permit is 

denied, the permittee would then be required to cease the 
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activities authorized by the continued general permit or 

be subject to enforcement action for operating without a 

state permit; 

c. Issue a new state permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES 

(9VAC25-31) and VSMP (9VAC25-870) regulations. 

9VAC25-890-30. State permit application (registration 

statement) Registration statement. 

A. Deadline for submitting a registration statement.  

1. Operators of small MS4s designated described under 

9VAC25-870-400 B, that are applying for initial coverage 

under this general permit must submit a complete 

registration statement to the department within 180 days of 

notice of designation, unless the board grants a later date. 

2. In order to continue uninterrupted coverage under the 

general permit, operators of small MS4s shall submit a new 

registration statement at least 90 days before the expiration 

date of the existing state permit no later than June 1, 2018, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of 

the existing state permit. 

B. Registration statement. The registration statement shall 

include the following information: 

1. The name and location (county or city name) of the 

small MS4 for which the registration statement is 

submitted; 

2. The name, of the owner or operator of the small MS4; 

3. The mailing address of the owner [ of or ] operator of 

the small MS4; 

4. The type [ of small MS4 ] (city, county, incorporated 

town, unincorporated town, college or university, local 

school board, military installation, transportation system, 

federal or state facility, or other), and address of the 

operator of the small MS4; 

5. The name, title, mailing address, telephone number, and 

email address for the following individuals: 

a. The responsible official who meets the criteria 

established in 9VAC-25-870-370 A 3; 

b. The MS4 permit contact; and 

c. The annual permit maintenance fee contact [ .; ]  

6. The following [ outfall receiving waters ] information: 

a. The unique outfall identifier; 

b. The estimated MS4 acreage served; 

c. The name of the receiving surface water to which the 

outfall discharges; 

d. Whether or not the receiving water is listed as 

impaired in the Virginia 2014 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report; and 

e. The name of any applicable TMDL for the segment of 

the receiving water.  

a. The names of the receiving surface waters to which the 

MS4 system discharges; [ and ] 

b. Whether or not the receiving waters are listed as 

impaired in the Virginia 2016 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report; ]  

3. [ 7. The 6th Order Hydrologic Unit ] Code(s) [ Codes as 

identified in the ] most recent version of Virginia's 6th 

Order [ Virginia National Watershed Boundary Dataset ] 

(available on the department website) [ (version 5, July 

2016) currently receiving discharges or that have potential 

to receive discharges from the small MS4; ] 

4. [ 8. The estimated drainage area, in acres, served by the 

small MS4 directly discharging to any impaired receiving 

surface waters listed in the ] 2010 [ 2014 Virginia 

305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report, and a description of the land use for each ] such 

[ drainage area; ] 

5. A listing of any TMDL wasteloads allocated to the small 

MS4. This information may be found on the department 

website; 

6. [ 9. 7. ] The name(s) names of any physically 

interconnected MS4s to which the small MS4 discharges; 

7. For operators that had coverage under the previous 

VSMP General Permit, a copy of the currently 

implemented MS4 Program Plan. The operator shall 

continue to implement this plan and any updates as 

required by this state permit in accordance with Table 1 in 

9VAC25-890-40; 

8. For operators applying for initial coverage designated 

under 9VAC25-890-10 A, a schedule of development of an 

MS4 Program Plan that includes the following: 

a. A list of best management practices (BMPs) that the 

operator proposes to implement for each of the 

stormwater minimum control measures and their 

associated measurable goals pursuant to 9VAC25-890-

40, Section II B, that includes: 

(1) A list of the existing policies, ordinances, schedules, 

inspection forms, written procedures, and any other 

documents necessary for best management practice 

implementation, upon which the operator expects to rely 

for such implementation; and 
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(2) The individuals, departments, divisions, or units 

responsible for implementing the best management 

practices; 

b. The objective and expected results of each best 

management practice in meeting the measurable goals of 

the stormwater minimum control measures; 

c. The implementation schedule for BMPs including any 

interim milestones for the implementation of a proposed 

new best management practice; and 

d. The method that will be utilized to determine the 

effectiveness of each best management practice and the 

MS4 Program as a whole; 

9. [ 10. 8. ] A list of all existing signed agreements 

between the operator and any applicable third parties 

where the operator has entered into an agreement in order 

to implement minimum control measures or portions of 

minimum control measures; 

10. The name, address, telephone number and email 

address of either the principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official as defined in 9VAC25-870-370; 

[ 11. 9. ] The name, position title, address, telephone 

number and email address of any duly authorized 

representative as defined in 9VAC25-870-370; and For 

those permittees whose regulated MS4 is located partially 

or entirely in the Chesapeake Bay watershed, a draft 

second phase Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan; and 

[ 12. 10. ] The following certification: "I certify under 

penalty of law that this document and all attachments were 

prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance 

with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 

properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. 

Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage 

the system, or those persons directly responsible for 

gathering the information, the information submitted is, to 

the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and 

complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-870-370 9VAC25-890-40 Part III K 4. 

D. An operator may file its own registration statement, or 

the operator and other operators of small MS4s may jointly 

submit a registration statement. If responsibilities for meeting 

the stormwater minimum control measures will be shared 

with other municipalities or governmental entities, the 

registration statement must describe which stormwater 

minimum control measures the operator will implement and 

identify the entities that will implement the other stormwater 

minimum control measures within the area served by the 

small MS4. 

E. Where to submit. The registration statement shall be 

submitted to the department may be delivered to the DEQ 

Central Office, Office of VPDES Permits or by electronic 

mail to an electronic mailbox specified by the department. 

9VAC25-890-40. General permit. 

Any MS4 operator whose registration statement is accepted 

by the department board will receive coverage under the 

following state general permit and shall comply with the 

requirements therein in this general permit and be subject to 

[ all applicable requirements of ] the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act (Article 2.3 (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq.) of 

Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia) and [ the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 

Regulations (9VAC25-870) the requirements of 9VAC25-870 

and 9VAC25-31 and the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulations (9VAC25-

31) ]. 

General Permit No.: VAR04 

Effective Date: [ July 1, November 1, ] 2013 2018 

Expiration Date: [ June 30, October 31, ] 2018 2023 

GENERAL VPDES PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES OF 

STORMWATER FROM SMALL MUNICIPAL SEPARATE 

STORM SEWER SYSTEMS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 

REGULATIONS, VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM REGULATIONS, AND THE 

VIRGINIA STORMWATER MANAGEMENT ACT STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended and pursuant to the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act State Water Control Law and regulations 

adopted pursuant thereto, this state permit authorizes 

[ operators permittees ] of small municipal separate storm 

sewer systems are authorized to discharge to surface waters 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

except those waters specifically named in State Water Control 

Board regulations which prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

registration statement filed with [ DEQ, the department, ] this 

cover page, Section Part I - Discharge Authorization and Special 

Conditions, Section II—MS4 Program Part II - TMDL Special 

Conditions, and Section Part III - Conditions Applicable To to 

All State and VPDES Permits, as set forth herein in this general 

permit. The operator shall utilize all legal authority provided by 

the laws and regulations of the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

control discharges to and from the MS4. This legal authority may 

be a combination of statute, ordinance, permit, specific contract 

language, order or interjurisdictional agreements.  

For operators of small MS4s that are applying for initial 

coverage under this general permit, the schedule to develop 
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and implement the MS4 Program Plan shall be submitted 

with the completed registration statement. 

For operators that have previously held MS4 state permit 

coverage, the operator shall update the MS4 Program Plan in 

accordance with the following schedule. Until such time as 

the required updates are completed and implemented, the 

operator shall continue to implement the MS4 Program 

consistent with the MS4 Program Plan submitted with the 

registration statement. 

Table 1: Schedule of MS4 Program Plan Updates Required in this 

Permit 

Program Update 

Requirement 

Permit 

Reference 

Update 

Completed By 

Public Education Outreach 

Plan (Minimum Control 

Measure 1 – Public 

Education and Outreach 

on Stormwater Impacts) 

Section II B 1 

12 months after 

permit coverage 

Illicit Discharge 

Procedures - (Minimum 

Control Measure 3 – Illicit 

Discharge Detection and 

Elimination) 

Section II B 3 

Individual Residential Lot 

Special Criteria (Minimum 

Control Measure 5 – Post-

Construction Stormwater 

Management in New 

Development and 

Development on Prior 

Developed Lands) 

Section II B 5 

c (1) (d) 

Operator-Owned 

Stormwater Management 

Inspection Procedures 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 5 – Post-

Construction Stormwater 

Management in New 

Development and 

Development on Prior 

Developed Lands) 

Section II B 5 

Identification of Locations 

Requiring SWPPPs 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

b 

Nutrient Management Plan 

(NMP) Locations - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

c (1) (a) 

Training Schedule and 

Program - (Minimum 

Control Measure 6 – 

Pollution Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

Updated TMDL Action 

Plans (TMDLs approved 

before July of 2008) – 

(Special Conditions for 

Approved Total Maximum 

Daily Loads (TMDL) 

Other Than Chesapeake 

Bay) 

Section I B 

24 months 

after permit 

coverage 

Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan – (Special 

Condition for Chesapeake 

Bay TMDL) 

Section I C 

Stormwater Management 

Progressive Compliance 

and Enforcement – 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 4 - Construction 

Site Stormwater Runoff 

Control) 

Section II B 5 

Daily Good Housekeeping 

Procedures (Minimum 

Control Measure 6 – 

Pollution Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

a 

Other TMDL Action Plans 

for applicable TMDLs 

approved between July 

2008 and June 2013 - 

(Special Conditions for 

Approved Total Maximum 

Daily Loads (TMDL) 

Other Than Chesapeake 

Bay) 

Section I B 

36 months 

after permit 

coverage 

Outfall Map Completed - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 3 – Illicit 

Discharge Detection and 

Elimination) – Applicable 

to new boundaries 

identified as "urbanized" 

areas in the 2010 

Decennial Census 

Section II B 3 

a (3) 

48 months 

after permit 

coverage 

SWPPP Implementation - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

b (3) 
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NMP Implementation - 

(Minimum Control 

Measure 6 – Pollution 

Prevention/Good 

Housekeeping for 

Municipal Operations) 

Section II B 6 

c (1) (b) 

60 months 

after permit 

coverage 

*Updates should be submitted with the appropriate annual report.  

SECTION Part I 

DISCHARGE AUTHORIZATION AND SPECIAL 

CONDITIONS Discharge Authorization and Special 

Conditions 

A. Coverage under this state permit. During the period 

beginning with the date of coverage under this general permit 

and lasting until the expiration and reissuance of this state 

permit, the operator permittee is authorized to discharge 

stormwater and those authorized nonstormwater discharges 

described in 9VAC25-890-20 [ C D ] in accordance with this 

state permit from the small municipal separate storm sewer 

system identified in the registration statement into surface 

waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and consistent with 9VAC25-890-30. 

B. Special conditions for approved total maximum daily 

loads (TMDL) other than the Chesapeake Bay TMDL. An 

approved TMDL may allocate an applicable wasteload to a 

small MS4 that identifies a pollutant or pollutants for which 

additional stormwater controls are necessary for the surface 

waters to meet water quality standards. The MS4 operator 

shall address the pollutants in accordance with this special 

condition where the MS4 has been allocated a wasteload in an 

approved TMDL. 

1. The operator shall maintain an updated MS4 Program 

Plan that includes a specific TMDL Action Plan for 

pollutants allocated to the MS4 in approved TMDLs. 

TMDL Action Plans may be implemented in multiple 

phases over more than one state permit cycle using the 

adaptive iterative approach provided adequate progress to 

reduce the pollutant discharge in a manner consistent with 

the assumptions and requirements of the specific TMDL 

wasteload is demonstrated in accordance with subdivision 

2 e of this subsection. These TMDL Actions Plans shall 

identify the best management practices and other interim 

milestone activities to be implemented during the 

remaining terms of this state permit.  

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall update 

the MS4 Program Plans to address any new or modified 

requirements established under this special condition for 

pollutants identified in TMDL wasteload allocations 

approved prior to July 9, 2008. 

b. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall update 

the MS4 Program Plan to incorporate approvable TMDL 

Action Plans that identify the best management practices 

and other interim milestone activities that will be 

implemented during the remaining term of this permit for 

pollutants identified in TMDL wasteload allocations 

approved either on or after July 9, 2008, and prior to 

issuance of this permit. 

c. Unless specifically denied in writing by the 

department, TMDL Action Plans and updates developed 

in accordance with this section become effective and 

enforceable 90 days after the date received by the 

department.  

2. The operator shall: 

a. Develop and maintain a list of its legal authorities such 

as ordinances, state and other permits, orders, specific 

contract language, and interjurisdictional agreements 

applicable to reducing the pollutant identified in each 

applicable WLA; 

b. Identify and maintain an updated list of all additional 

management practices, control techniques and system 

design and engineering methods, beyond those identified 

in Section II B, that have been implemented as part of the 

MS4 Program Plan that are applicable to reducing the 

pollutant identified in the WLA; 

c. Enhance its public education and outreach and 

employee training programs to also promote methods to 

eliminate and reduce discharges of the pollutants 

identified in the WLA; 

d. Assess all significant sources of pollutant(s) from 

facilities of concern owned or operated by the MS4 

operator that are not covered under a separate VPDES 

permit and identify all municipal facilities that may be a 

significant source of the identified pollutant. For the 

purposes of this assessment, a significant source of 

pollutant(s) from a facility of concern means a discharge 

where the expected pollutant loading is greater than the 

average pollutant loading for the land use identified in 

the TMDL. (For example, a significant source of 

pollutant from a facility of concern for a bacteria TMDL 

would be expected to be greater at a dog park than at 

other recreational facilities where dogs are prohibited);  

e. Develop and implement a method to assess TMDL 

Action Plans for their effectiveness in reducing the 

pollutants identified in the WLAs. The evaluation shall 

use any newly available information, representative and 

adequate water quality monitoring results, or modeling 

tools to estimate pollutant reductions for the pollutant or 

pollutants of concern from implementation of the MS4 

Program Plan. Monitoring may include BMP, outfall, or 

in-stream monitoring, as appropriate, to estimate 

pollutant reductions. The operator may conduct 

monitoring, utilize existing data, establish partnerships, 

or collaborate with other MS4 operators or other third 

parties, as appropriate. This evaluation shall include 

assessment of the facilities identified in subdivision 2 d 
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of this subsection. The methodology used for assessment 

shall be described in the TMDL Action Plan. 

3. Analytical methods for any monitoring shall be 

conducted according to procedures approved under 40 

CFR Part 136 or alternative methods approved by the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Where an 

approved method does not exist, the operator must use a 

method consistent with the TMDL. 

4. The operator is encouraged to participate as a 

stakeholder in the development of any TMDL 

implementation plans applicable to their discharge. The 

operator may incorporate applicable best management 

practices identified in the TMDL implementation plan in 

the MS4 Program Plan or may choose to implement BMPs 

of equivalent design and efficiency provided that the 

rationale for any substituted BMP is provided and the 

substituted BMP is consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of the TMDL WLA. 

5. Annual reporting requirements. 

a. The operator shall submit the required TMDL Action 

Plans with the appropriate annual report and in 

accordance with the associated schedule identified in this 

state permit. 

b. On an annual basis, the operator shall report on the 

implementation of the TMDL Action Plans and 

associated evaluation including the results of any 

monitoring conducted as part of the evaluation. 

6. The operator shall identify the best management 

practices and other steps that will be implemented during 

the next state permit term as part of the operator's 

reapplication for coverage as required under Section III M. 

7. For planning purposes, the operator shall include an 

estimated end date for achieving the applicable wasteload 

allocations as part of its reapplication package due in 

accordance with Section III M.  

C. Special condition for the Chesapeake Bay TMDL. The 

Commonwealth in its Phase I and Phase II Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL Watershed Implementation Plans (WIP) committed to 

a phased approach for MS4s, affording MS4 operators up to 

three full five-year permit cycles to implement necessary 

reductions. This permit is consistent with the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL and the Virginia Phase I and II WIPs to meet the 

Level 2 (L2) scoping run for existing developed lands as it 

represents an implementation of 5.0% of L2 as specified in 

the 2010 Phase I WIP. Conditions of future permits will be 

consistent with the TMDL or WIP conditions in place at the 

time of permit issuance.  

1. Definitions. The following definitions apply to this state 

permit for the purpose of the special condition for 

discharges in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed: 

"Existing sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 as of June 30, 2009. 

"New sources" means pervious and impervious urban land 

uses served by the MS4 developed or redeveloped on or 

after July 1, 2009. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means total nitrogen, 

total phosphorus, and total suspended solids.  

"Transitional sources" means regulated land disturbing 

activities that are temporary in nature and discharge 

through the MS4. 

2. Chesapeake Bay TMDL planning. 

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall develop 

and submit to the department for its review and 

acceptance an approvable Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan. Unless specifically denied in writing by the 

department, this plan becomes effective and enforceable 

90 days after the date received by the department. The 

plan shall include:  

(1) A review of the current MS4 program implemented 

as a requirement of this state permit including a review of 

the existing legal authorities and the operator's ability to 

ensure compliance with this special condition; 

(2) The identification of any new or modified legal 

authorities such as ordinances, state and other permits, 

orders, specific contract language, and interjurisdictional 

agreements implemented or needing to be implemented 

to meet the requirements of this special condition; 

(3) The means and methods that will be utilized to 

address discharges into the MS4 from new sources; 

(4) An estimate of the annual POC loads discharged from 

the existing sources as of June 30, 2009, based on the 

2009 progress run. The operator shall utilize the 

applicable versions of Tables 2 a-d in this section based 

on the river basin to which the MS4 discharges by 

multiplying the total existing acres served by the MS4 on 

June 30, 2009, and the 2009 Edge of Stream (EOS) 

loading rate: 
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Table 2 a: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the James River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Estimated Total 

POC Load 

Based on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   9.39   

Regulated Urban Pervious   6.99   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.76   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.5   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  676.94   

Regulated Urban Pervious   101.08   

  

Table 2 b: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the Potomac River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Estimated Total 

POC Load 

Based on 2009 

Progress Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   16.86   

Regulated Urban Pervious   10.07   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.62   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.41   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  1,171.32   

Regulated Urban Pervious   175.8   

  

Table 2 c: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the Rappahannock River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based on 

2009 Progress 

Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   9.38   

Regulated Urban Pervious   5.34   
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Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.41   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.38   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  423.97   

Regulated Urban Pervious   56.01   

  

Table 2 d: Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads for the York River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

2009 EOS Loading 

Rate (lbs/acre) 

Estimated 

Total POC 

Load Based on 

2009 Progress 

Run 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   7.31   

Regulated Urban Pervious   7.65   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   1.51   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.51   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  456.68   

Regulated Urban Pervious   72.78   

(5) A determination of the total pollutant load reductions necessary to reduce the annual POC loads from existing sources 

utilizing the applicable versions of Tables 3 a-d in this section based on the river basin to which the MS4 discharges. This 

shall be calculated by multiplying the total existing acres served by the MS4 by the first permit cycle required reduction in 

loading rate. For the purposes of this determination, the operator shall utilize those existing acres identified by the 2000 

U.S. Census Bureau urbanized area and served by the MS4.  

Table 3 a: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the James 

River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction in 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required First 

Permit Cycle 

(lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.04   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   
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Regulated Urban 

Impervious 
Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

  6.67   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.44   

  

Table 3 b: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

Potomac River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction in 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required First 

Permit Cycle 

(lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.08   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.03   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.001   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  11.71   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.77   

  

Table 3 c: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the 

Rappahannock River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction in 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required First 

Permit Cycle 

(lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.04   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  4.24   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.25   

  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

215 

Table 3 d: Calculation Sheet for Determining Total POC Reductions Required During this Permit Cycle for the York 

River Basin 

*Based on Chesapeake Bay Program Watershed Model Phase 5.3.2  

Subsource Pollutant 

Total Existing 

Acres Served by 

MS4 (6/30/09) 

First Permit Cycle 

Required Reduction in 

Loading Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Reduction 

Required First 

Permit Cycle 

(lbs) 

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Nitrogen   0.03   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.02   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Phosphorus   0.01   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.002   

Regulated Urban 

Impervious Total Suspended 

Solids 
  4.60   

Regulated Urban Pervious   0.32   

(6) The means and methods, such as management 

practices and retrofit programs that will be utilized to 

meet the required reductions included in subdivision 2 a 

(5) of this subsection, and a schedule to achieve those 

reductions. The schedule should include annual 

benchmarks to demonstrate the ongoing progress in 

meeting those reductions; 

(7) The means and methods to offset the increased loads 

from new sources initiating construction between July 1, 

2009, and June 30, 2014, that disturb one acre or greater 

as a result of the utilization of an average land cover 

condition greater than 16% impervious cover for the 

design of post-development stormwater management 

facilities. The operator shall utilize Table 4 to develop 

the equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total 

suspended solids. The operator shall offset 5.0% of the 

calculated increased load from these new sources during 

the permit cycle. 

(8) The means and methods to offset the increased loads 

from projects as grandfathered in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-48, that disturb one acre or greater that 

begin construction after July 1, 2014, where the project 

utilizes an average land cover condition greater than 16% 

impervious cover in the design of post-development 

stormwater management facilities. The operator shall 

utilize Table 4 to develop the equivalent pollutant load 

for nitrogen and total suspended solids. 

(9) The operator shall address any modification to the 

TMDL or watershed implementation plan that occurs 

during the term of this state permit as part of its permit 

reapplication and not during the term of this state permit. 

 

Table 4: Ratio of Phosphorus Loading Rate to Nitrogen and 

Total Suspended Solids Loading Rates for Chesapeake Bay 

Basins 

Ratio of 

Phosphorus to 

Other POCs 

(Based on All 

Land Uses 

2009 Progress 

Run) 

Phosphorus 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Nitrogen 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

James River 

Basin 

1.0 

5.2 420.9 

Potomac River 

Basin 

1.0 

6.9 469.2 

Rappahannock 

River Basin 

1.0 

6.7 320.9 

York River 

Basin 

1.0 

9.5 531.6 

(10) A list of future projects and associated acreage that 

qualify as grandfathered in accordance with 9VAC25-

870-48; 

(11) An estimate of the expected costs to implement the 

requirements of this special condition during the state 

permit cycle; and 

(12) An opportunity for receipt and consideration of 

public comment regarding the draft Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL Action Plan. 
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b. As part of development of the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan, the operator may consider: 

(1) Implementation of BMPs on unregulated lands 

provided any necessary baseline reduction is not included 

toward meeting the required reduction in this permit;  

(2) Utilization of stream restoration projects, provided 

that the credit applied to the required POC load reduction 

is prorated based on the ratio of regulated urban acres to 

total drainage acres upstream of the restored area; 

(3) Establishment of a memorandum of understanding 

(MOU) with other MS4 operators that discharge to the 

same or adjacent eight digit hydrologic unit within the 

same basin to implement BMPs collectively. The MOU 

shall include a mechanism for dividing the POC 

reductions created by BMP implementation between the 

cooperative MS4s; 

(4) Utilization of any pollutant trading or offset program 

in accordance with §§ 62.1-44.19:20 through 62.1-

44.19:23 of the Code of Virginia, governing trading and 

offsetting;  

(5) A more stringent average land cover condition based 

on less than 16% impervious cover for new sources 

initiating construction between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 

2014, and all grandfathered projects where allowed by 

law; and  

(6) Any BMPs installed after June 30, 2009, as part of a 

retrofit program may be applied towards meeting the 

required load reductions provided any necessary baseline 

reductions are not included.  

3. Chesapeake Bay TMDL Action Plan implementation. 

The operator shall implement the TMDL Action Plan 

according to the schedule therein. Compliance with this 

requirement represents adequate progress for this state 

permit term towards achieving TMDL wasteload 

allocations consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of the TMDL. For the purposes of this 

permit, the implementation of the following represents 

implementation to the maximum extent practicable and 

demonstrates adequate progress: 

a. Implementation of nutrient management plans in 

accordance with the schedule identified in the minimum 

control measure in Section II related to pollution 

prevention/good housekeeping for municipal operations; 

b. Implementation of the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to construction site stormwater runoff 

control in accordance with this state permit shall address 

discharges from transitional sources; 

c. Implementation of the means and methods to address 

discharges from new sources in accordance with the 

minimum control measure in Section II related to post-

construction stormwater management in new 

development and development of prior developed lands 

and in order to offset 5.0% of the total increase in POC 

loads between July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2014. Increases 

in the POC load from grandfathered projects initiating 

construction after July 1, 2014, must be offset prior to 

completion of the project; and 

d. Implementation of means and methods sufficient to 

meet the required reductions of POC loads from existing 

sources in accordance with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

Action Plan. 

4. Annual reporting requirements. 

a. In accordance with Table 1, the operator shall submit 

the Chesapeake Bay Action Plan with the appropriate 

annual report. 

b. Each subsequent annual report shall include a list of 

control measures implemented during the reporting 

period and the cumulative progress toward meeting the 

compliance targets for nitrogen, phosphorus, and total 

suspended solids. 

c. Each subsequent annual report shall include a list of 

control measures, in an electronic format provided by the 

department, that were implemented during the reporting 

cycle and the estimated reduction achieved by the 

control. For stormwater management controls, the report 

shall include the information required in Section II B 5 e 

and shall include whether an existing stormwater 

management control was retrofitted, and if so, the 

existing stormwater management control type retrofit 

used. 

d. Each annual report shall include a list of control 

measures that are expected to be implemented during the 

next reporting period and the expected progress toward 

meeting the compliance targets for nitrogen, phosphorus, 

and total suspended solids. 

5. The operator shall include the following as part of its 

reapplication package due in accordance with Section III 

M: 

a. Documentation that sufficient control measures have 

been implemented to meet the compliance target 

identified in this special condition. If temporary credits 

or offsets have been purchased in order to meet the 

compliance target, the list of temporary reductions 

utilized to meet the required reduction in this state permit 

and a schedule of implementation to ensure the 

permanent reduction must be provided; and 

b. A draft second phase Chesapeake Bay TMDL Action 

Plan designed to reduce the existing pollutant load as 

follows: 
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(1) The existing pollutant of concern loads by an 

additional seven times the required reductions in loading 

rates using the applicable Table 3 for sources included in 

the 2000 U.S. Census Bureau urbanized areas;  

(2) The existing pollutant of concerns loads by an 

additional eight times the required reductions in loading 

rates using the applicable Table 3 for expanded sources 

identified in the U.S. Census Bureau 2010 urbanized 

areas; 

(3) An additional 35% reduction in new sources 

developed between 2009 and 2014 and for which the 

land use cover condition was greater than 16%; and 

(4) Accounts for any modifications to the applicable 

loading rate provided to the operator as a result of TMDL 

modification.  

SECTION II 

MUNICIPAL SEPARATE STORM SEWER SYSTEM 

MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 

A. B. The operator of a small MS4 must permittee shall 

develop, implement, and enforce a MS4 Program program 

designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants from the small 

MS4 to the maximum extent practicable (MEP) [ in 

accordance with this permit ], to protect water quality, [ to 

ensure compliance by the ] operator [ permittee with water 

quality standards, ] and to satisfy the appropriate water 

quality requirements of the Clean Water Act State Water 

Control Law and its attendant regulations. The permittee shall 

utilize the legal authority provided by the laws and 

regulations of the Commonwealth of Virginia to control 

discharges to and from the MS4. This legal authority may be 

a combination of statute, ordinance, permit, policy, specific 

contract language, order, or interjurisdictional agreements. 

The MS4 Program must program shall include the minimum 

control measures (MCM) described in paragraph B of this 

section Part I E. [ Implementation For the purposes of this 

permit term, implementation ] of [ best management practices 

(BMP) MCMs in Part I E and the Chesapeake Bay and local 

TMDL requirements in Part II (as applicable) ] consistent 

with the provisions of an iterative MS4 Program program 

required pursuant to this section general permit constitutes 

compliance with the standard of reducing pollutants to the 

"maximum extent practicable," [ protects water quality in the 

absence of a TMDL wasteload allocation (WLA), ensures 

compliance by the provides adequate progress in meeting ] 

operator [ permittee with ] water quality standards, and 

satisfies the appropriate water quality requirements of the 

[ Clean Water Act and regulations in the absence of a TMDL 

WLA. The requirements of this section and those special 

conditions set out in Section I B Part II also apply where a 

WLA is applicable State Water Control Law and its attendant 

regulations ]. 

C. The MS4 program plan. 

1. The MS4 program plan shall include, at a minimum, the 

following [ written items ]: 

a. The roles and responsibilities of each of the permittee's 

divisions and departments in the implementation of the 

requirements of the permit tasked with ensuring that the 

permit requirements are met; 

b. If the permittee utilizes another entity to implement 

portions of the MS4 program, a copy of the written 

agreement. The description of each party's roles and 

responsibilities, including any written agreements with 

third parties, shall be updated as necessary; 

c. For each [ of the ] MCM in Part I E, the following 

information shall be included: 

(1) Each specific requirement as listed in Part I E for 

each MCM; 

(2) A description of the BMPs [ or strategies ] that the 

permittee anticipates will be implemented to demonstrate 

compliance with the permit conditions in Part I E; 

(3) All standard operating procedures or policies 

necessary to implement the BMPs; 

(4) The measurable goal by which each BMP or strategy 

will be evaluated; and 

(5) The persons, positions, or departments responsible for 

implementing each BMP or strategy; and 

d. A list of documents incorporated by reference 

including the version and date of the document being 

incorporated. 

2. If the permittee is receiving initial coverage under this 

general VPDES permit for the discharge of stormwater, the 

permittee shall: 

a. No later than six months following the date of permit 

coverage, submit to the department a schedule for the 

development of each component of the MS4 program 

plan in accordance with Part I C 1 that does not exceed 

the expiration date of this permit; and 

b. Provide to the department a copy of the MS4 program 

plan upon completion of development. 

3. If the permittee was previously covered under the 

General VPDES Permit for the Discharge of Stormwater 

from MS4 effective July 1, 2013, the permittee shall 

[ update the MS4 program plan to meet the requirements of 

this permit no later than six months after the effective date 

of this permit unless otherwise specified in another permit 

condition and shall ] post the most up-to-date version of 

MS4 program plan on the permittee's [ stormwater ] 

website or location where the [ small ] MS4 program plan 

can be obtained as required by Part I E 2 [ within 30 days 
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of updating the MS4 program plan ]. Until such time that 

the MS4 program plan is updated in accordance with Part I 

E, the permittee shall continue to implement the MS4 

program plan in effect at the time that coverage is issued 

under this general permit. 

4. Revisions to the MS4 program plan are expected 

throughout the life of this permit as part of the iterative 

process to reduce pollutant loading and protect water 

quality to the MEP. As such, revisions made in accordance 

with this permit as a result of the iterative process do not 

require modification of this permit. The permittee shall 

summarize revisions to the MS4 program plan as part of 

the annual report as described in Part I D 2. 

5. The permittee may demonstrate compliance with one or 

more [ of the ] MCM in Part I E through implementation of 

separate statutory or regulatory programs provided that the 

permittee's MS4 program identifies and fully describes any 

program that will be used to satisfy one or more of the 

minimum control measures of Part I E. If the program that 

the permittee is using requires the approval of a third party, 

the program shall be fully approved by the third party, or 

the permittee shall be working toward getting full 

approval. Documentation of the program's approval status, 

or the progress toward achieving full approval, shall be 

included in the annual report required by Part I D. The 

permittee shall remain responsible for compliance with the 

permit requirements if the other entity fails to implement 

one or more components of the control measures. 

6. The permittee may rely on another entity to satisfy the 

permit requirements to implement a minimum control 

measure if: 

a. The other entity, in fact, implements the control 

measure; 

b. The particular control measure, or component thereof, 

is at least as stringent as the corresponding permit 

requirement; 

c. The other entity agrees to implement the control 

measure on behalf of the permittee; and 

d. The agreement between the parties is documented in 

writing and retained by the permittee with the MS4 

program plan for as long as the agreement is active. 

The permittee shall remain responsible for compliance 

with requirements of the permit and shall document in the 

annual reports required in accordance with Part I D that 

another entity is being relied on to satisfy all or part of the 

state permit requirements. The permittee shall provide the 

information required in Part I D. 

7. If the permittee relies on another governmental entity 

regulated under 9VAC25-870-380 to satisfy all of the state 

permit obligations, including the obligation to file periodic 

reports required by Part I D, the permittee must note that 

fact in the registration statement, but is not required to file 

the periodic reports. The permittee remains responsible for 

compliance with the state permit requirements if the other 

entity fails to implement the control measures or 

components thereof. 

D. Annual reporting requirements. 

1. The permittee shall submit an annual report to the 

department no later than October 1 of each year [ in a 

format as specified by the department ]. The report shall 

cover the previous year from July 1 to June 30. 

2. The annual report shall include the following general 

information: 

a. The permittee, system name, and permit number; 

b. The reporting period for which the annual report is 

being submitted; 

c. A signed certification as per Part III K; 

d. Each annual reporting item as specified in [ the an ] 

MCM in Part I E; and 

e. An evaluation of the MS4 program implementation, 

including a review of each MCM, to determine the MS4 

program's effectiveness and whether or not changes to 

the MS4 program plan are necessary. 

3. For permittees receiving initial coverage under this 

general VPDES permit for the discharge of stormwater, the 

annual report shall include a status update on each 

component of the MS4 program plan being developed. 

Once the MS4 program plan has been updated to include 

implementation of a specific MCM in Part I E, the 

permittee shall follow the reporting requirements 

established in Part I D 2. 

4. For those permittees with requirements established 

under Part II A, the annual report shall include a status 

report on the implementation of the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL action plan in accordance with Part II A of this 

permit including any revisions to the plan. 

5. For those permittees with requirements established 

under Part II B, the annual report shall include a status 

report on the implementation of the local TMDL action 

plans in accordance with Part II B including any revisions 

to the plan. 

6. For the purposes of this permit, the MS4 program plan 

and annual report shall be maintained separately and 

submitted to the department as required by this permit as 

two separate documents. 

B. E. Minimum control measures. 

NOTE regarding minimum control measures for public 

education and outreach on stormwater impacts and public 

involvement/participation: "Public" is not defined in this 
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permit. However, the department concurs with the following 

EPA statement, which was published in the Federal Register, 

Volume 64, No. 235, page 68,750 on December 8, 1999, 

regarding "public" and its applicability to MS4 programs: 

"EPA acknowledges that federal and state facilities are 

different from municipalities. EPA believes, however, that the 

minimum measures are flexible enough that they can be 

implemented by these facilities. As an example, DOD 

commentators asked about how to interpret the term "public" 

for military installations when implementing the public 

education measure. EPA agrees with the suggested 

interpretation of "public" for DOD facilities as "the resident 

and employee population within the fence line of the facility." 

The department recommends that nontraditional MS4 

operators, such as state and federal entities and local school 

districts, utilize this statement as guidance when determining 

their applicable "public" for compliance with this permit.  

1. Public education and outreach on stormwater impacts.  

a. The operator permittee shall continue to implement the 

a public education and outreach program as included in 

the registration statement until the program is updated to 

meet the conditions of this state permit. Operators who 

have not previously held MS4 permit coverage shall 

implement this program in accordance with the schedule 

provided with the completed registration statement. 

designed to: 

b. The public education and outreach program should be 

designed with consideration of the following goals: 

(1) Increasing target audience Increase the public's 

knowledge about the steps that can be taken of how to 

reduce stormwater pollution, placing priority on reducing 

impacts to impaired waters and other local water 

pollution concerns; 

(2) Increasing target audience Increase the public's 

knowledge of hazards associated with illegal discharges 

and improper disposal of waste, including pertinent legal 

implications; and 

(3) Implementing Implement a diverse program with 

strategies that are targeted towards audiences toward 

individuals or groups most likely to have significant 

stormwater impacts. 

c. b. The updated program shall be designed to: (1) 

Identify, at a minimum, permittee shall identify no less 

than three high-priority water quality stormwater issues, 

that contribute to the discharge of stormwater (e.g., to 

meet the goal of educating the public in accordance with 

Part I E 1 a. High-priority issues may include the 

following examples: Chesapeake Bay nutrients, pet 

wastes and, local bacteria receiving water impairments, 

TMDLs, high-quality receiving waters, and illicit 

discharges from commercial sites) and a rationale for the 

selection of the three high-priority water quality issues; 

sites. 

(2) Identify and estimate the population size of the target 

audience or audiences who is most likely to have 

significant impacts for each high-priority water quality 

issue; 

(3) Develop relevant message or messages and associated 

educational and outreach materials (e.g., various media 

such as printed materials, billboard and mass transit 

advertisements, signage at select locations, radio 

advertisements, television advertisements, websites, and 

social media) for message distribution to the selected 

target audiences while considering the viewpoints and 

concerns of the target audiences including minorities, 

disadvantaged audiences, and minors; 

(4) Provide for public participation during public 

education and outreach program development; 

(5) Annually conduct sufficient education and outreach 

activities designed to reach an equivalent 20% of each 

high-priority issue target audience. It shall not be 

considered noncompliance for failure to reach 20% of the 

target audience. However, it shall be a compliance issue 

if insufficient effort is made to annually reach a 

minimum of 20% of the target audience; and 

(6) Provide for the adjustment of target audiences and 

messages including educational materials and delivery 

mechanisms to reach target audiences in order to address 

any observed weaknesses or shortcomings. 

c. The high-priority public education and outreach 

program, as a whole, shall: 

(1) Clearly identify the high-priority stormwater issues; 

(2) Explain the importance of the high-priority 

stormwater issues; 

(3) Include measures or actions the public can take to 

minimize the impact of the high-priority stormwater 

issues; and 

(4) Provide a contact [ name ] and telephone number [ , 

website, ] or location where the public can find out more 

information. 

d. The permittee shall use two or more of the strategies 

listed in Table 1 below [ per year ] to communicate to the 

public the high-priority stormwater issues identified in 

accordance with Part I E 1 b including how to reduce 

stormwater pollution. 
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Table 1 

Strategies for Public [ Outreach and ] Education [ and 

Outreach ]  

Strategies Examples (provided as examples 

and are not meant to be all 

inclusive or limiting) 

Traditional 

written materials 

Informational brochures, 

newsletters, fact sheets, utility bill 

inserts, or recreational guides for 

targeted groups of citizens 

Alternative 

materials 

Bumper stickers, refrigerator 

magnets, t-shirts, or drink koozies 

Signage Temporary or permanent signage 

in public places or facilities, 

vehicle signage, bill boards, or 

storm drain stenciling 

Media materials Information disseminated through 

electronic media, radio, 

televisions, movie theater, or 

newspaper 

Speaking 

engagements 

Presentations to school, church, 

industry, trade, special interest, or 

community groups 

Curriculum 

materials 

Materials developed for school-

aged children, students at local 

colleges or universities, or 

extension classes offered to local 

citizens 

Training 

materials 

Materials developed to 

disseminate during workshops 

offered to local citizens, trade 

organization, or industrial 

officials 

d. e. The operator permittee may coordinate their its 

public education and outreach efforts with other MS4 

operators permittees; however, each [ operator 

permittee ] shall be individually responsible for meeting 

all of its state permit requirements. 

e. Prior to application for continued state permit coverage 

required in Section III M, the operator shall evaluate the 

education and outreach program for: 

(1) Appropriateness of the high-priority stormwater 

issues; 

(2) Appropriateness of the selected target audiences for 

each high-priority stormwater issue; 

(3) Effectiveness of the message or messages being 

delivered; and 

(4) Effectiveness of the mechanism or mechanisms of 

delivery employed in reaching the target audiences. 

f. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall describe 

how the conditions of this permit shall be updated in 

accordance with Table 1. include: 

(1) A list of the high-priority stormwater issues the 

permittee will communicate to the public as part of the 

public education and outreach program; 

(2) The rationale for selection of each high-priority 

stormwater issue and an explanation of how each 

education or outreach strategy is intended to have a 

positive impact on stormwater discharges; 

(3) Identification of the public audience to receive each 

high-priority stormwater message; 

(4) The strategies from Table 1 of Part I E 1 d to be used 

to communicate each high-priority stormwater message; 

and 

(5) The anticipated time periods the messages will be 

communicated or made available to the public. 

g. The operator annual report shall include the following 

information in each annual report submitted to the 

department during this permit term: 

(1) A list of the education and outreach activities 

conducted during the reporting period for each high-

priority water quality issue, the estimated number of 

people reached, and an estimated percentage of the target 

audience or audiences that will be reached high-priority 

stormwater issues the permittee addressed in the public 

education and outreach program; and 

(2) A list of the education and outreach activities that will 

be conducted during the next reporting period for each 

high-priority water quality issue, the estimated number of 

people that will be reached, and an estimated percentage 

of the target audience or audiences that will be reached 

strategies used to communicate each high-priority 

stormwater issue. 

2. Public involvement/participation involvement and 

participation.  

a. Public involvement. 

(1) The operator shall comply with any applicable 

federal, state, and local public notice requirements. 

(2) a. The operator permittee shall develop and 

implement procedures for the following: 

(a) Maintain an updated MS4 Program Plan. Any 

required updates to the MS4 Program Plan shall be 

completed at a minimum of once a year and shall be 

updated in conjunction with the annual report. The 

operator shall post copies of each MS4 program plan on 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

221 

its webpage at a minimum of once a year and within 30 

days of submittal of the annual report to the department.  

(b) Post copies of each annual report on the operator's 

webpage within 30 days of submittal to the department 

and retain copies of annual reports online for the duration 

of this state permit; and 

(c) Prior to applying for coverage as required by Section 

III M, notify the public and provide for receipt of 

comment of the proposed MS4 Program Plan that will be 

submitted with the registration statement. As part of the 

reapplication, the operator shall address how it 

considered the comments received in the development of 

its MS4 Program Plan. The operator shall give public 

notice by a method reasonably calculated to give actual 

notice of the action in question to the persons potentially 

affected by it, including press releases or any other forum 

or medium to solicit public participation. 

(1) The public to report potential illicit discharges, 

improper disposal, or spills to the MS4, complaints 

regarding land disturbing activities, or other potential 

stormwater pollution concerns; 

(2) The public to provide input on the permittee's MS4 

program [ plan ]; 

(3) Receiving public input or complaints; 

(4) Responding to public input [ received on the MS4 

program plan ] or complaints; and 

(5) Maintaining documentation of public input received 

[ on the MS4 program and associated MS4 program 

plan ] and the permittee's response. 

b. No later than three months after this permit's effective 

date, the permittee shall develop and maintain a webpage 

dedicated to the MS4 program and stormwater pollution 

prevention. The following information shall be posted on 

this webpage: 

(1) The effective MS4 permit and coverage letter; 

(2) The most current MS4 program plan or location 

where the MS4 program plan can be obtained; 

(3) The annual report for each year of the term covered 

by this permit [ no later than 30 days after submittal to 

the department ]; 

(4) A mechanism for the public to report potential illicit 

discharges, improper disposal, or spills to the MS4, 

complaints regarding land disturbing activities, or other 

potential stormwater pollution concerns in accordance 

with Part I E 2 a (1); and 

(5) Methods for how the public can provide input on the 

permittee's MS4 program [ plan ] in accordance with Part 

I E 2 a (2). 

b. Public participation. The operator shall participate, 

through promotion, sponsorship, or other involvement, in 

a minimum of four local activities annually (e.g., stream 

cleanups; hazardous waste cleanup days; and meetings 

with watershed associations, environmental advisory 

committees, and other environmental organizations that 

operate within proximity to the operator's small MS4). 

The activities shall be aimed at increasing public 

participation to reduce stormwater pollutant loads; 

improve water quality; and support local restoration and 

clean-up projects, programs, groups, meetings, or other 

opportunities for public involvement.  

c. The permittee shall implement no less than four 

activities per year from two or more of the categories 

listed in Table 2 below to provide an opportunity for 

public involvement to improve water quality and support 

local restoration and clean-up projects. 

Table 2 

Public Involvement Opportunities 

Public involvement 

opportunities 

Examples (provided as 

example and are not meant to 

be all inclusive or limiting) 

Monitoring  Establish or support citizen 

monitoring group 

Restoration Stream or watershed clean-up 

day, adopt-a-water way 

program,  

Educational events Booth at community fair, 

demonstration of stormwater 

control projects, presentation 

of stormwater materials to 

schools to meet applicable 

education Standards of 

Learning or curriculum 

requirements, watershed walks, 

participation on environmental 

advisory committees 

Disposal or 

collection events 

Household hazardous 

chemicals collection, vehicle 

fluids collection  

Pollution prevention Adopt-a-storm drain program, 

implement a storm drain 

marking program, promote use 

of residential stormwater 

BMPs, implement pet waste 

stations in public areas, adopt-

a-street program. 
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d. The permittee may coordinate the public involvement 

opportunities listed in Table 2 with other MS4 

permittees; however, each permittee shall be individually 

responsible for meeting all of the permit requirements. 

c. e. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall include 

written procedures for implementing this program.: 

(1) The webpage address where mechanisms for the 

public to report (i) potential illicit discharges, improper 

disposal, or spills to the MS4, (ii) complaints regarding 

land disturbing activities, or (iii) other potential 

stormwater pollution concerns; 

(2) The webpage address that contains the methods for 

how the public can provide input on the permittee's MS4 

program; and 

(3) A description of the public involvement activities to 

be implemented by the permittee, the anticipated time 

period the activities will occur, and a metric for each 

activity to determine if the activity is beneficial to water 

quality. An example of metrics may include the weight of 

trash collected from a stream cleanup, the number of 

participants in a hazardous waste collection event, etc. 

d. Each f. The annual report shall include the following 

information: 

(1) A web link to the MS4 Program Plan and annual 

report; and summary of any public input on the MS4 

program received [ (including stormwater complaints) ] 

and how the permittee responded; 

(2) Documentation of compliance with the public 

participation requirements of this section. A webpage 

[ link address ] to the permittee's MS4 program and 

stormwater website; 

(3) A description of the public involvement activities 

implemented by the permittee; 

(4) A report of the metric as defined for each activity and 

an evaluation as to whether or not the activity is 

beneficial to improving water quality; and 

(5) The name of other MS4 permittees [ who participated 

with whom the permittee collaborated ] in the public 

involvement opportunities. 

3. Illicit discharge detection and elimination.  

a. The operator permittee shall develop and maintain an 

accurate storm sewer system MS4 map and information 

table and shall update it in accordance with the schedule 

set out in Table 1. as follows: 

(1) The storm sewer system map must show the 

following A map of the storm sewer system owned or 

operated by the permittee within the [ Census Urbanized 

Area census urbanized area ] identified by the 2010 

decennial census that includes, at a minimum: 

(a) The location of all MS4 outfalls. MS4 outfalls 

discharging to surface waters, except as follows: 

(i) In cases where the outfall is located outside of the 

MS4 operator's permittee's legal responsibility, the 

operator permittee may elect to map the known point of 

discharge location closest to the actual [ outfall ]. Each 

mapped outfall must be given a unique identifier, which 

must be noted on the map; and  

(ii) In cases where the MS4 outfall discharges to 

receiving water channelized underground, the permittee 

may elect to map the point downstream at which the 

receiving water emerges above ground as [ a point of an 

outfall ] discharge [ location ]. If there are multiple 

outfalls discharging to an underground channelized 

receiving water, the map shall identify that [ the a point 

of an outfall ] discharge [ location ] represents more than 

one outfall. [ This is an option a permittee may choose to 

use and recognizes the difficulties in accessing outfalls to 

underground channelized stream conveyances for 

purposes of mapping, screening, or monitoring. ] 

(b) A unique identifier for each mapped item required in 

Part I E 3; [ and ] 

(c) The name and location of all receiving waters 

receiving discharges from the MS4 outfalls and the 

associated HUC to which the MS4 outfall or point of 

discharge discharges [ .; 

(d) MS4 regulated service area; and 

(e) stormwater management facilities owned or operated 

by the permittee. ] 

(2) The associated information table shall include for 

each outfall the following: permittee shall maintain an 

information table associated with the storm sewer system 

map that includes the following information for each 

outfall or point of discharge for those cases in which the 

permittee elects to map the known point of discharge in 

accordance with Part I E 3 a (1) (a): 

(a) The A unique identifier as specified on the storm 

sewer system map; 

(b) The latitude and longitude of the outfall or point of 

discharge; 

(c) The estimated MS4 acreage served; regulated acreage 

draining to the outfall or point of discharge; 

(c) (d) The name of the receiving surface water and;  

(e) The 6th Order Hydrologic Unit Code of the receiving 

water; 

(f) An indication as to whether the receiving water is 

listed as impaired in the Virginia 2010 303(d)/305(b) 

[ 2014 2016 ] 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment 

Integrated Report; [ and  
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(g) The predominant land use for each outfall discharging 

to an impaired water; and ] 

(d) [ (g) (h) ] The name of any applicable TMDL or EPA 

approved TMDLs for which the permittee is assigned a 

wasteload allocation. 

(3) Within 48 months of coverage under this state permit, 

the operator shall have a complete and updated storm 

sewer system map and information table that includes all 

MS4 outfalls located within the boundaries identified as 

"urbanized" areas in the 2010 Decennial Census and shall 

submit the updated information table as an appendix to 

the annual report. 

(3) No later than [ December 31, 2018 July 1, 2019 ], the 

permittee shall submit to DEQ a GIS-compatible 

shapefile of the permittee's MS4 map as described in Part 

I E 3 a. If the permittee does not have an MS4 map in a 

GIS format, the permittee shall provide the map as a PDF 

document. 

(4) The operator shall maintain a copy of the current 

storm sewer system map and outfall information table for 

review upon request by the public or by the department. 

No later than October 1 of each year, the permittee shall 

update the storm sewer system map and outfall 

information table to include any new outfalls constructed 

or TMDLs approved or both during the immediate 

preceding reporting period. 

(5) The operator permittee shall continue to identify other 

points of discharge. The operator shall notify in writing 

the provide written notification to any downstream 

adjacent MS4 of any known physical interconnection 

established or discovered after the effective date of this 

permit. 

b. The operator permittee shall effectively prohibit, 

through ordinance, policy, standard operating procedures, 

or other legal mechanism, to the extent allowable under 

federal, state, or local law, regulations, or ordinances, 

unauthorized nonstormwater discharges into the storm 

sewer system to the extent allowable under federal, state, 

or local law, regulation, or ordinance. Categories of 

nonstormwater Nonstormwater discharges or flows (i.e., 

illicit discharges) identified in 9VAC25-870-400 D 2 c 

(3) must 9VAC25-890-20 [ C D ] 3 shall only be 

addressed only if they are identified by the operator 

permittee as a significant contributors contributor of 

pollutants discharging to the small MS4. Flows that have 

been identified in writing by the department as de 

minimis discharges are not significant sources of 

pollutants to surface water and do not require a VPDES 

permit. 

c. The operator permittee shall develop, maintain [ and, ] 

implement [ , and enforce ] and update, when 

appropriate, illicit discharge detection and elimination 

(IDDE) written procedures [ designed ] to detect, 

identify, and address unauthorized nonstormwater 

discharges, including illegal dumping, to the small MS4 

[ with the goal of eliminating to effectively eliminate ] 

the unauthorized discharge. These Written procedures 

shall include: 

(1) A description of the legal authorities, policies, 

standard operating procedures or other legal mechanisms 

available to the permittee to eliminate identified sources 

of ongoing illicit discharges including procedures for 

using legal enforcement authorities. 

Written dry (2) Dry weather field screening 

methodologies protocols to detect, identify, and eliminate 

illicit discharges to the MS4 that include field 

observations and field screening monitoring and that 

provide. The protocol shall include: 

(a) A prioritized schedule of field screening activities and 

rationale for prioritization determined by the operator 

permittee based on such criteria as age of the 

infrastructure, land use, historical illegal discharges, 

dumping or cross connections [ .; ] 

(b) The minimum number of field screening activities the 

operator shall complete annually to be determined as 

follows: (i) if the total number of outfalls in the small 

MS4 is less than 50, all outfalls shall be screened 

annually or (ii) if the small MS4 has 50 or more total 

outfalls, a minimum of 50 outfalls shall be screened 

annually. 

(b) If the total number of MS4 outfalls is equal to or less 

than 50, a schedule to screen all outfalls annually; 

(c) If the total number of MS4 outfalls is greater than 50, 

a schedule to screen a minimum of 50 outfalls annually 

such that no more than 50% are screened in the previous 

12-month period [ ;. The 50% criteria is not applicable if 

all outfalls have been screened in the previous three 

years; ] and 

(c) Methodologies to collect the general information such 

as time (d) A mechanism to track the following 

information:  

(i) The [ unique ] outfall [ unique ] identifier; 

(ii) Time since the last rain, the precipitation event;  

(iii) The estimated quantity of the last rain, site 

precipitation event; 

(iv) Site descriptions (e.g., conveyance type and 

dominant watershed land uses),; 

(v) Whether or not a discharge was observed; [ and ] 

(vi) If a discharge was observed, the estimated discharge 

rate (e.g., width of water surface, approximate and depth 

of water, approximate flow velocity, and discharge flow 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

224 

rate), and visual observations [ ; ] and [ (vii) Visual 

visual ] characteristics of the discharge (e.g., [ order, 

odor, ] color, clarity, floatables, deposits or stains, 

vegetation condition, structural condition, and biology). 

(d) (3) A time frame timeframe upon which to conduct an 

investigation or investigations to identify and locate the 

source of any observed continuous or intermittent 

[ unauthorized ] nonstormwater [ unauthorized ] 

discharge prioritized as follows: (i) illicit discharges 

suspected of being sanitary sewage or significantly 

contaminated must be investigated first and (ii) 

investigations of illicit discharges suspected of being less 

hazardous to human health and safety such as noncontact 

cooling water or wash water may be delayed until after 

all suspected sanitary sewage or significantly 

contaminated discharges have been investigated, 

eliminated, or identified. Priority of investigations shall 

be given to discharges of sanitary sewage and those 

believed to be a risk to human health and public safety. 

Discharges authorized under a separate VPDES or state 

permit require no further action under this permit. 

(e) (4) Methodologies to determine the source of all illicit 

discharges shall be conducted. If the permittee is unable 

to identify the source of an illicit discharge is found, but 

within six months of the beginning of the investigation 

neither the source nor the same nonstormwater discharge 

has been identified, then the operator permittee shall 

document such in accordance with Section II B 3 f that 

the source remains unidentified. If the observed 

discharge is intermittent, the operator must permittee 

shall document that a minimum of three separate 

investigations were made in an attempt that attempts to 

observe the discharge when it was flowing were 

unsuccessful. If these attempts are unsuccessful, the 

operator shall document such in accordance with Section 

II B 3 f. 

(f) Mechanisms to eliminate identified sources of illicit 

discharges including a description of the policies and 

procedures for when and how to use legal authorities. 

(g) Methods (5) Methodologies for conducting a follow-

up investigation in order to verify that the discharge has 

been eliminated. [ as necessary ] for illicit discharges that 

are continuous or that permittees expect to occur more 

frequently than a one-time discharge to verify that the 

discharge has been eliminated [ except as provided for in 

Part I E 3 c (4) ]; 

(h) (6) A mechanism to track all illicit discharge 

investigations to document the following: 

(i) the (a) The [ date or dates ] that the illicit discharge 

was initially observed [ , ] and [ reported, or both ]; 

(ii) the (b) The results of the investigation, including the 

source, if identified; 

(iii) any (c) Any follow-up to the investigation; 

(iv) resolution (d) Resolution of the investigation; and 

(v) the (e) The date that the investigation was closed. 

d. The operator shall promote, publicize, and facilitate 

public reporting of illicit discharges into or from MS4s. 

The operator shall conduct inspections in response to 

complaints and follow-up inspections as needed to ensure 

that corrective measures have been implemented by the 

responsible party. 

e. d. The MS4 Program Plan program plan shall include 

all procedures developed by the operator to detect, 

identify, and address nonstormwater discharges to the 

MS4 in accordance with the schedule in Table 1. In the 

interim, the operator shall continue to implement the 

program as included as part of the registration statement 

until the program is updated to meet the conditions of 

this permit. Operators, who have not previously held 

MS4 permit coverage, shall implement this program in 

accordance with the schedule provided with the 

completed registration statement.: 

(1) The MS4 map and information table required by Part 

I E 3 a. The map and information table may be 

incorporated into the MS4 program plan by reference. 

The map shall be made available to the department 

within 14 days upon request; 

(2) Copies of written notifications of new physical 

interconnections given by the permittee to other MS4s; 

and 

(3) The IDDE procedures described in Part I E 3 c. 

f. Annual reporting requirements. Each e. The annual 

report shall include: 

(1) A list of any written notifications of physical 

interconnection given by the operator to other MS4s; A 

confirmation statement that the MS4 map and 

information table [ are up-to-date as of have been 

updated to reflect any changes to the MS4 occurring on 

or before ] June 30 of the reporting year; 

(2) The total number of outfalls screened during the 

reporting period, the screening results, and detail of any 

follow-up actions necessitated by the screening results as 

part of the dry weather screening program; and 

(3) A summary of each investigation conducted by the 

operator of any suspected illicit discharge. The summary 

must include: (i) the date that the suspected discharge 

was observed, reported, or both; (ii) how the 

investigation was resolved, including any follow-up, and 

(iii) resolution of the investigation and the date the 

investigation was closed. A list of illicit discharges to the 

MS4 including spills reaching the MS4 with information 

as follows: 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

225 

(a) The source of illicit discharge; 

(b) The [ date or dates ] that the discharge was observed, 

reported, or both; 

(c) Whether the discharge was discovered by the 

permittee during dry weather screening, reported by the 

public, or other method (describe); 

(d) How the investigation was resolved; 

(e) A description of any follow-up activities; and 

(f) The date the investigation was closed. 

4. Construction site stormwater runoff control. 

a. Applicable oversight requirements. The operator 

permittee shall utilize its legal authority, such as 

ordinances, permits, orders, specific contract language, 

and interjurisdictional agreements, to address discharges 

entering the MS4 [ from regulated construction site 

stormwater runoff ]. from the following land-disturbing 

activities: The permittee shall control construction site 

stormwater runoff as follows: 

(1) Land-disturbing activities as defined in § 62.1-

44.15:51 of the Code of Virginia that result in the 

disturbance of 10,000 square feet or greater; 

(2) Land-disturbing activities in jurisdictions in 

Tidewater Virginia, as defined in § 62.1-44.15:68 of the 

Code of Virginia, that disturb 2,500 square feet or greater 

and are located in areas designated as Resource 

Protection Areas (RPA), Resource Management Areas 

(RMA) or Intensely Developed Acres (IDA), pursuant to 

the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area Designation and 

Management Regulations adopted pursuant to the 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act; 

(3) Land-disturbing activities disturbing less than the 

minimum land disturbance identified in subdivision (1) 

or (2) above for which a local ordinance requires that an 

erosion and sediment control plan be developed; and 

(4) Land-disturbing activities on individual residential 

lots or sections of residential developments being 

developed by different property owners and where the 

total land disturbance of the residential development is 

10,000 square feet or greater. The operator may utilize an 

agreement in lieu of a plan as provided in § 62.1-

44.15:55 of the Code of Virginia for this category of land 

disturbances. 

(1) If the permittee is a city, county, or town that has 

adopted a Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Program (VESCP), the permittee shall implement the 

VESCP consistent with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) and Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (9VAC25-840); 

(2) If the permittee is a town that has not adopted a 

VESCP, [ the permittee shall rely on the surrounding city 

or county in which the town is located to implement 

implementation of ] a VESCP consistent with the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-

44:15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations [ (9VAC25-

840) [ by the surrounding county shall constitute 

compliance with Part I E 4 a; such town shall notify the 

surrounding county of erosion, sedimentation or other 

construction stormwater runoff problems ]; 

(3) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-

840), the permittee shall implement the most recent 

department approved standards and specifications; or 

(4) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has not developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations (9VAC25-

840), the permittee shall inspect all land disturbing 

activities as defined in § 62.1-44.15:51 of the Code of 

Virginia that result in the disturbance activities of 10,000 

square feet or greater, or 2,500 square feet or greater in 

accordance with areas designated under the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act, as follows: 

(a) During or immediately following initial installation of 

erosion and sediment controls; 

(b) At least once per every two-week period; 

(c) Within 48 hours following any runoff producing 

storm event; and 

(d) At the completion of the project prior to the release of 

any performance bond. 

(5) If the permittee is a subdivision of a local government 

such as a school board or other local government body, 

the permittee shall inspect those projects resulting in a 

land disturbance as defined in § 62.1-44.15.51 of the 

Code of Virginia occurring on lands owned or operated 

by the permittee that result in the disturbance of 10,000 

square feet or greater, 2,500 square feet or greater in 

accordance with areas designated under the Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation Act, or in accordance with more 

stringent thresholds established by the local government, 

as follows: 
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(a) During or immediately following initial installation of 

erosion and sediment controls; 

(b) At least once per every two-week period; 

(c) Within 48 hours following any runoff producing 

storm event; and 

(d) At the completion of the project prior to the release of 

any performance bond. 

b. Required plan approval prior to commencement of the 

land disturbing activity. The operator shall require that 

land disturbance not begin until an erosion and sediment 

control plan or an agreement in lieu of a plan as provided 

in § 62.1-44.15:55 is approved by a VESCP authority in 

accordance with the Erosion and Sediment Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.15:51 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The 

plan shall be: 

(1) Compliant with the minimum standards identified in 

9VAC25-840-40 of the Erosion and Sediment Control 

Regulations; or 

(2) Compliant with department-approved annual 

standards and specifications. Where applicable, the plan 

shall be consistent with any additional or more stringent, 

or both, erosion and sediment control requirements 

established by state regulation or local ordinance. 

c. Compliance and enforcement. 

(1) The operator shall inspect land-disturbing activities 

for compliance with an approved erosion and sediment 

control plan or agreement in lieu of a plan in accordance 

with the minimum standards identified in 9VAC25-840-

40 or with department-approved annual standards and 

specifications. 

(2) The operator shall implement an inspection schedule 

for land-disturbing activities identified in Section II B 4 a 

as follows: 

(a) Upon initial installation of erosion and sediment 

controls; 

(b) At least once during every two-week period; 

(c) Within 48 hours of any runoff-producing storm event; 

and 

(d) Upon completion of the project and prior to the 

release of any applicable performance bonds. 

Where an operator establishes an alternative inspection 

program as provided for in 9VAC25-840-60 B 2, the 

written schedule shall be implemented in lieu of Section 

II B 4 c (2) and the written plan shall be included in the 

MS4 Program Plan. 

(3) Operator inspections shall be conducted by personnel 

who hold a certificate of competence in accordance with 

9VAC25-850-40. Documentation of certification shall be 

made available upon request by the VESCP authority or 

other regulatory agency. 

(4) The operator shall promote to the public a mechanism 

for receipt of complaints regarding regulated land-

disturbing activities and shall follow up on any 

complaints regarding potential water quality and 

compliance issues. 

(5) The operator shall utilize its legal authority to require 

compliance with the approved plan where an inspection 

finds that the approved plan is not being properly 

implemented. 

(6) The operator shall utilize, as appropriate, its legal 

authority to require changes to an approved plan when an 

inspection finds that the approved plan is inadequate to 

effectively control soil erosion, sediment deposition, and 

runoff to prevent the unreasonable degradation of 

properties, stream channels, waters, and other natural 

resources. 

(7) The operator shall require implementation of 

appropriate controls to prevent nonstormwater discharges 

to the MS4, such as wastewater, concrete washout, fuels 

and oils, and other illicit discharges identified during 

land-disturbing activity inspections of the MS4. The 

discharge of nonstormwater discharges other than those 

identified in 9VAC25-890-20 through the MS4 is not 

authorized by this state permit. 

(8) The operator may develop and implement a 

progressive compliance and enforcement strategy 

provided that such strategy is included in the MS4 

Program Plan and is consistent with 9VAC25-840. 

d. Regulatory coordination. The operator shall implement 

enforceable procedures to require that large construction 

activities as defined in 9VAC25-870-10 and small 

construction activities as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, 

including municipal construction activities, secure 

necessary state permit authorizations from the 

department to discharge stormwater. 

[ b. The permittee shall require implementation of 

appropriate controls to prevent nonstormwater discharges 

to the MS4, such as wastewater, concrete washout, fuels 

and oils, and other illicit discharges identified during 

land disturbing activity inspections of the MS4. The 

discharge of nonstormwater discharges other than those 

identified in 9VAC25-890-20 D through the MS4 is not 

authorized by this state permit. ] 

e. MS4 Program requirements. [ b. c. ] The operator's 

permittee's MS4 Program Plan program plan shall 

include: 

(1) If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 
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Part I E 4 a (1), the local ordinance citations for the 

VESCP program; 

(2) If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 

Part I E 4 a (3): 

(a) The most recently approved standards and 

[ specification specifications ] or if incorporated by 

reference, the location where the standards and 

[ specification specifications ] can be viewed; and 

(b) A copy of the most recent [ standard and specification 

standards and specifications ] approval letter from the 

department; 

(1) (3) A description of the legal authorities utilized to 

ensure compliance with the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to Part I E 4 a to control construction 

site stormwater runoff control such as ordinances, 

permits, orders, specific contract language, policies, and 

interjurisdictional agreements; 

(2) Written plan review procedures and all associated 

documents utilized in plan review; 

(3) For the MS4 operators who obtain department-

approved standards and specifications, a copy of the 

current standards and specifications; 

(4) Written inspection procedures to ensure the erosion 

and sediment controls are properly implemented and all 

associated documents utilized during inspection 

including the inspection schedule; 

(5) Written procedures for requiring compliance and 

enforcement, including a progressive compliance and 

enforcement strategy, where appropriate through 

corrective action or enforcement action to the extent 

allowable under federal, state, or local law, regulation, 

ordinance, or other legal mechanisms; and 

(6) The roles and responsibilities of each of the operator's 

permittee's departments, divisions, or subdivisions in 

implementing the minimum control measure in Section II 

related to construction site stormwater runoff control If 

the operator utilizes another entity to implement portions 

of the MS4 Program Plan, a copy of the written 

agreement must be retained in the MS4 Program Plan. 

The description of each party's roles and responsibilities, 

including any written agreements with third parties, shall 

be updated as necessary requirements in Part I E 4. 

Reference may be made to any listed requirements in this 

subdivision provided the location of where the reference 

material can be found is included and the reference 

material is made available to the public upon request. 

f. Reporting requirements. The operator shall track 

regulated land-disturbing activities and submit the 

following information in all annual reports: [ c. d. ] The 

annual report shall include the following: 

(1) Total number of regulated land-disturbing activities; 

If the permittee implements a construction site 

stormwater runoff program in accordance with Part I E 4 

a (3): 

(a) A confirmation statement that land disturbing projects 

that occurred during the reporting period have been 

conducted in accordance with the current department 

approved standards and specifications for [ erosions 

erosion ] and sediment control; and 

(b) If one or more of the land disturbing projects were 

not conducted with the department approved standards 

and specifications, an explanation as to why the projects 

did not conform to the approved standards and 

specifications. 

(2) Total number of acres disturbed;  

(3) (2) Total number of inspections conducted; and 

(4) A summary of the enforcement actions taken, 

including the (3) The total number and type of 

enforcement actions taken during the reporting period 

implemented and the type of enforcement actions. 

5. Post-construction stormwater management in for new 

development and development on prior developed lands. 

a. Applicable oversight requirements. The operator The 

permittee shall address post-construction stormwater 

runoff that enters the MS4 from the following [ land-

disturbing land disturbing ] activities by implementing a 

post-construction stormwater runoff management 

program as follows: 

(1) New development and development on prior 

developed lands that are defined as large construction 

activities or small construction activities in 9VAC25-

870-10; 

(2) New development and development on prior 

developed lands that disturb greater than or equal to 

2,500 square feet, but less than one acre, located in a 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area designated by a local 

government located in Tidewater, Virginia, as defined in 

§ 62.1-44.15:68 of the Code of Virginia; and 

(3) New development and development on prior 

developed lands where an applicable state regulation or 

local ordinance has designated a more stringent 

regulatory size threshold than that identified in 

subdivision (1) or (2) above. 

(1) If the permittee is a city, county, or town, with an 

approved Virginia Stormwater Management Program 

(VSMP), the permittee shall implement the VSMP 

consistent with the Virginia Stormwater Management 
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Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 

VSMP Regulations (9VAC25-870) as well as develop an 

inspection and maintenance program in accordance with 

Parts I E 5 b and c; 

(2) If the permittee is a town that has not adopted a 

VSMP, [ the permittee shall rely on the surrounding city 

or county in which the town is located to implement 

implementation of ] a VSMP consistent with the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) and VSMP Regulations (9VAC25-

870) [ by the surrounding county shall constitute 

compliance with Part I E 5 a; such town shall notify the 

surrounding county of erosion, sedimentation, or other 

post-construction stormwater runoff problems ] and 

develop an inspection and maintenance program in 

accordance with Part I E 5 b and c; 

(3) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and VSMP Regulations 

(9VAC25-870) [ , ] the permittee shall implement the 

most recent department approved standards and 

specifications and develop an inspection and 

maintenance program in accordance with Part I E 5 b; 

(4) If the permittee is a state agency; public institution of 

higher education including community colleges, colleges, 

and universities; or federal entity and has not developed 

standards and specifications in accordance with the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act (§ 62.1-44.15:24 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and Virginia Stormwater 

Management Regulations (9VAC25-870) [ , ] the 

permittee shall implement a post-construction stormwater 

runoff control [ program ] through compliance with 

9VAC25-870 and with the implementation of a 

maintenance and inspection program consistent with Part 

I E 5 b; or 

(5) If the permittee is a subdivision of a local government 

such as a school board or other local government body, 

the permittee shall implement a post-construction 

stormwater runoff control [ program ] through 

compliance with 9VAC25-870 or in accordance with 

more stringent local requirements, if applicable, and with 

the implementation of a maintenance and inspection 

program consistent with Part I E 5 b. 

b. Required design criteria for stormwater runoff 

controls. The operator shall utilize legal authority, such 

as ordinances, permits, orders, specific contract language, 

and interjurisdictional agreements, to require that 

activities identified in Section II B 5 a address 

stormwater runoff in such a manner that stormwater 

runoff controls are designed and installed: 

(1) In accordance with the appropriate water quality and 

water quantity design criteria as required in Part II 

(9VAC25-870-40 et seq.) of 9VAC25-870; 

(2) In accordance with any additional applicable state or 

local design criteria required at project initiation; and 

(3) Where applicable, in accordance with any 

department-approved annual standards and 

specifications. 

Upon board approval of a Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program authority (VSMP Authority) as 

defined in § 62.1-44.15:24 of the Code of Virginia and 

reissuance of the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Program (VSMP) General Permit for Discharges of 

Stormwater from Construction Activities, the operator 

shall require that stormwater management plans are 

approved by the appropriate VSMP Authority prior to 

land disturbance. In accordance with § 62.1-44.15:27 M 

of the Code of Virginia, VSMPs shall become effective 

July 1, 2014, unless otherwise specified by state law or 

by the board. 

c. Inspection, operation, and maintenance verification of 

stormwater management facilities. b. The permittee shall 

implement an inspection and maintenance program for 

those stormwater management facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee that discharges to the MS4 as 

follows: 

(1) For stormwater management facilities not owned by 

the MS4 operator, the following conditions apply: 

(a) The operator shall require adequate long-term 

operation and maintenance by the owner of the 

stormwater management facility by requiring the owner 

to develop a recorded inspection schedule and 

maintenance agreement to the extent allowable under 

state or local law or other legal mechanism; 

(b) The operator or his designee shall implement a 

schedule designed to inspect all privately owned 

stormwater management facilities that discharge into the 

MS4 at least once every five years to document that 

maintenance is being conducted in such a manner to 

ensure long-term operation in accordance with the 

approved designs. 

(c) The operator shall utilize its legal authority for 

enforcement of maintenance responsibilities if 

maintenance is neglected by the owner. The operator 

may develop and implement a progressive compliance 

and enforcement strategy provided that the strategy is 

included in the MS4 Program Plan. 

(d) Beginning with the issuance of this state permit, the 

operator may utilize strategies other than maintenance 

agreements such as periodic inspections, homeowner 

outreach and education, and other methods targeted at 
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promoting the long-term maintenance of stormwater 

control measures that are designed to treat stormwater 

runoff solely from the individual residential lot. Within 

12 months of coverage under this permit, the operator 

shall develop and implement these alternative strategies 

and include them in the MS4 Program Plan. 

(2) For stormwater management facilities owned by the 

MS4 operator, the following conditions apply: 

(a) The operator shall provide for adequate long-term 

operation and maintenance of its stormwater 

management facilities in accordance with written 

inspection and maintenance procedures included in the 

MS4 Program Plan. (1) The permittee shall develop and 

maintain written inspection and maintenance procedures 

in order to ensure adequate long-term operation and 

maintenance of its stormwater management facilities; 

(b) (2) The operator permittee shall inspect these 

stormwater management facilities annually owned or 

operated by the permittee no less than once per year. The 

operator permittee may choose to implement an 

alternative schedule to inspect these stormwater 

management facilities based on facility type and 

expected maintenance needs provided that the alternative 

schedule and rationale is included in the MS4 Program 

Plan. program plan [ . The alternative inspection 

frequency shall be no less than once per five years ]; and 

(c) The operator shall conduct maintenance on its 

stormwater management facilities as necessary. (3) If 

during the inspection of the stormwater management 

facility conducted in accordance with Part I E 5 b (2), it 

is determined that maintenance is required, the permittee 

shall conduct the maintenance in accordance with the 

written procedures developed under Part I E 5 b (1). 

c. For those permittees described in Part I E 5 a (1) or 

(2), the permittee shall: 

(1) Implement an inspection and enforcement program 

for stormwater management facilities not owned by the 

permittee (i.e., privately owned) that includes: 

(a) An inspection frequency of no less than once per five 

years for all privately owned stormwater management 

facilities that discharge into the MS4; and 

(b) Adequate long-term operation and maintenance by 

the owner of the stormwater management facility by 

requiring the owner to develop [ a recorded inspection 

schedule ] and [ record a ] maintenance agreement [ , 

including an inspection schedule ] to the extent allowable 

under state or local law or other legal mechanism; 

(2) Utilize its legal authority for enforcement of the 

maintenance responsibilities if maintenance is neglected 

by the owner; and 

(3) The permittee may develop and implement a 

progressive compliance and enforcement strategy 

provided that the strategy is included in the MS4 

program plan. 

d. MS4 Program Plan requirements. The operator's MS4 

Program Plan shall be updated in accordance with Table 

1 to include: 

(1) A list of the applicable legal authorities such as 

ordinance, state and other permits, orders, specific 

contract language, and interjurisdictional agreements to 

ensure compliance with the minimum control measure in 

Section II related to post-construction stormwater 

management in new development and development on 

prior developed lands; 

(2) Written policies and procedures utilized to ensure that 

stormwater management facilities are designed and 

installed in accordance with Section II B 5 b; 

(3) Written inspection policies and procedures utilized in 

conducting inspections; 

(4) Written procedures for inspection, compliance and 

enforcement to ensure maintenance is conducted on 

private stormwater facilities to ensure long-term 

operation in accordance with approved design; 

(5) Written procedures for inspection and maintenance of 

operator-owned stormwater management facilities; 

(6) The roles and responsibilities of each of the operator's 

departments, divisions, or subdivisions in implementing 

the minimum control measure in Section II related to 

post-construction stormwater management in new 

development and development on prior developed lands. 

If the operator utilizes another entity to implement 

portions of the MS4 Program Plan, a copy of the written 

agreement must be retained in the MS4 Program Plan. 

Roles and responsibilities shall be updated as necessary. 

e. Stormwater management facility tracking and 

reporting requirements. The operator shall maintain an 

updated electronic database of all known operator-owned 

and privately-owned stormwater management facilities 

that discharge into the MS4. The database shall include 

the following: d. The permittee shall maintain an 

electronic database or spreadsheet of all known 

permittee-owned or permittee-operated and privately 

owned stormwater management facilities that discharge 

into the MS4. The database shall also include all BMPs 

implemented by the permittee to meet the Chesapeake 

Bay TMDL load reduction as required in Part II A. A 

database shall include the following information as 

applicable: 

(1) The stormwater management facility [ or BMP ] type; 
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(2) A general description of the facility's location, 

including the address or latitude and longitude; The 

stormwater management facility or BMPs location as 

latitude and longitude; 

(3) The acres treated by the facility, including total acres, 

as well as the breakdown of pervious and impervious 

acres; stormwater management facility or BMP, 

including total acres, pervious acres, and impervious 

acres; 

(4) The date the facility was brought online 

(MM/YYYY). If the date brought online is not known, 

the operator permittee shall use June 30, 2005 as the date 

brought online for all previously existing stormwater 

management facilities; 

(5) The sixth order hydrologic unit code (HUC) 6th 

Order Hydrologic Unit Code in which the stormwater 

management facility is located; 

(6) The name of any impaired water segments within 

each HUC listed in the 2010 § 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report to which the 

stormwater management facility discharges; 

(7) (6) Whether the stormwater management facility or 

BMP is operator-owned owned or operated by the 

permittee or privately-owned privately owned; 

(7) Whether or not the stormwater management facility 

[ or BMP ] is part of the permittee's Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL action plan required in Part II A or local TMDL 

action plan required in Part II B, or both; 

(8) Whether a maintenance agreement exists if the 

stormwater management facility is privately owned; and 

If the stormwater management facility [ or BMP ] is 

privately owned, whether a maintenance agreement 

exists; and 

(9) The date of the operator's permittee's most recent 

inspection of the stormwater management facility or 

BMP. 

e. The electronic database or spreadsheet shall be 

updated no later than 30 days after a new stormwater 

management facility is brought online, a new BMP is 

implemented to meet a TMDL load reduction as required 

in Part II, or discovered if it is an existing stormwater 

management facility.  

f. The permittee shall use the DEQ Construction 

Stormwater Database or other application as specified by 

the department to report each stormwater management 

facility installed after July 1, 2014, to address the control 

of post-construction runoff from land disturbing activities 

for which the permittee is required to obtain a General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from 

Construction Activities.  

g. No later than October 1 of each year, the permittee 

shall electronically report the stormwater management 

facilities and BMPs implemented between July 1 and 

June 30 of each year using the DEQ BMP Warehouse 

and associated reporting template for any practices not 

reported in accordance with Part I E 5 f including 

stormwater management facilities installed to control 

post-development stormwater runoff from land 

disturbing activities less than one acre in accordance with 

the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act regulations 

(9VAC25-830) and for which a General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities was not required. 

h. The MS4 program plan shall include: 

(1) If the permittee implements a VSMP in accordance 

with Part I E 5 a (1) and (2):  

(a) A copy of the VSMP approval letter issued by the 

department;  

(b) Written inspection procedures and all associated 

documents utilized in the inspection of privately owned 

stormwater management facilities; and 

(c) Written procedures for compliance and enforcement 

of inspection and maintenance requirements for privately 

owned BMPs. 

(2) If the permittee implements a post-development 

stormwater runoff control program in accordance with 

Part I E 5 a (3): 

(a) The most recently approved standards and 

[ specification specifications ] or if incorporated by 

reference, the location where the standards and 

[ specification specifications ] can be viewed; and  

(b) A copy of the most recent [ standard and specification 

standards and specifications ] approval letter from the 

department. 

(3) A description of the legal authorities utilized to 

ensure compliance with Part I E 5 a for post-construction 

stormwater runoff control such as ordinances [ (provide 

citation as appropriate) ], permits, orders, specific 

contract language, and interjurisdictional agreements; 

(4) Written inspection procedures and all associated 

documents utilized during inspection of stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated by the 

permittee; 

(5) The roles and responsibilities of each of the 

permittee's departments, divisions, or subdivisions in 

implementing the post-construction stormwater runoff 

control program; and   

(6) The stormwater management facility spreadsheet or 

database incorporated by reference and the location or 
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[ link webpage address ] where the spreadsheet or 

database can be reviewed. 

In addition, the operator shall annually track and report 

the total number of inspections completed and, when 

applicable, the number of enforcement actions taken to 

ensure long-term maintenance. 

The operator shall submit an electronic database or 

spreadsheet of all stormwater management facilities 

brought online during each reporting year with the 

appropriate annual report. Upon such time as the 

department provides the operators access to a statewide 

web-based reporting electronic database or spreadsheet, 

the operator shall utilize such database to complete the 

pertinent reporting requirements of this state permit. 

i. The annual report shall include the following 

information: 

(1) If the permittee implements a Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program in accordance with Part I E 5 a (1) 

and (2):  

(a) The number of privately owned stormwater 

management facility inspections conducted; and  

(b) The number of enforcement actions initiated by the 

permittee to ensure long-term maintenance of privately 

owned stormwater management facilities including the 

type of enforcement action; 

(2) Total number of inspections conducted on stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated by the 

permittee;  

(3) A description of the significant [ maintenance, repair, 

or retrofit ] activities performed on the stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated by the 

permittee to ensure it continues to perform as designed. 

This does not include [ routine ] activities such as grass 

mowing or trash collection;  

(4) A confirmation statement that the permittee submitted 

stormwater management facility information through the 

Virginia Construction Stormwater General Permit 

database for those land disturbing activities for which the 

permittee was required to obtain coverage under the 

General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 

from Construction Activities in accordance with Part I E 

5 f or a statement that the permittee did not complete any 

projects requiring coverage under the General VPDES 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities; and 

(5) A confirmation statement that the permittee 

electronically reported BMPs using the DEQ BMP 

Warehouse in accordance with Part I E 5 g and the date 

on which the information was submitted. 

6. Pollution prevention/good housekeeping for municipal 

operations. Pollution prevention and good housekeeping 

for facilities owned or operated by the permittee [ within 

the MS4 service area ]. 

a. Operations and maintenance activities. The MS4 

Program Plan submitted with the registration statement 

shall be implemented by the operator until updated in 

accordance with this state permit. In accordance with 

Table 1, the operator The permittee shall develop 

maintain and implement written procedures designed to 

minimize or prevent pollutant discharge from: (i) daily 

operations for those activities at facilities owned or 

operated by the permittee, such as road, street, and 

parking lot maintenance; (ii) equipment maintenance; 

and (iii) the application, storage, transport, and disposal 

of pesticides, herbicides, and fertilizers. The written 

procedures shall be utilized as part of the employee 

training. At a minimum, the written procedures shall be 

designed to:  

(1) Prevent illicit discharges; 

(2) Ensure the proper disposal of waste materials, 

including landscape wastes; 

(3) Prevent the discharge of municipal wastewater or 

permittee vehicle wash water or both into the MS4 

without authorization under a separate VPDES permit; 

(4) Prevent the discharge of wastewater into the MS4 

without authorization under a separate VPDES permit; 

(5) (4) Require implementation of best management 

practices when discharging water pumped from utility 

construction and maintenance activities; 

(6) (5) Minimize the pollutants in stormwater runoff from 

bulk storage areas (e.g., salt storage, topsoil stockpiles) 

through the use of best management practices; 

(7) (6) Prevent pollutant discharge into the MS4 from 

leaking municipal automobiles and equipment; and 

(8) (7) Ensure that the application of materials, including 

fertilizers and pesticides, is conducted in accordance with 

the manufacturer's recommendations. 

b. Municipal facility pollution prevention and good 

housekeeping. The written procedures established in 

accordance with Part I E 6 a shall be utilized as part of 

the employee training program [ at Part I E 6 m ]. 

(1) Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall identify all municipal high-priority 

facilities. These high-priority facilities shall include: (i) 

composting facilities, (ii) equipment storage and 

maintenance facilities, (iii) materials storage yards, (iv) 

pesticide storage facilities, (v) public works yards, (vi) 

recycling facilities, (vii) salt storage facilities, (viii) solid 
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waste handling and transfer facilities, and (ix) vehicle 

storage and maintenance yards. 

(2) c. Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

[ operator permittee ] shall identify which of the 

[ municipal ] high-priority facilities have a high potential 

of discharging pollutants. [ Municipal high-priority 

facilities that have a high potential for discharging 

pollutants are those facilities identified in ] subsection (1) 

above [ Part I E 6 a. ] The permittee shall maintain and 

implement a site [ specific ] stormwater pollution 

prevention plan [ (SWMPP) (SWPPP) ] for each [ high-

priority facility owned or operated by the permittee with 

a high potential to discharge pollutants facility identified. 

High priority facilities that have a high potential for 

discharging pollutants are those facilities ] that are not 

covered under a separate VPDES permit and which any 

of the following materials or activities occur and are 

expected to have exposure to stormwater resulting from 

rain, snow, snowmelt or runoff: 

(a) (1) Areas where residuals from using, storing or 

cleaning machinery or equipment remain and are 

exposed to stormwater;  

(b) (2) Materials or residuals on the ground or in 

stormwater inlets from spills or leaks;  

(c) (3) Material handling equipment (except adequately 

maintained vehicles);  

(d) (4) Materials or products that would be expected to be 

mobilized in stormwater runoff during loading/unloading 

loading or unloading or transporting activities (e.g., rock, 

salt, fill dirt);  

(e) (5) Materials or products stored outdoors (except final 

products intended for outside use where exposure to 

stormwater does not result in the discharge of pollutants);  

(f) (6) Materials or products that would be expected to be 

mobilized in stormwater runoff contained in open, 

deteriorated or leaking storage drums, barrels, tanks, and 

similar containers;  

(g) (7) Waste material except waste in covered, non-

leaking nonleaking containers (e.g., dumpsters);  

(h) (8) Application or disposal of process wastewater 

(unless otherwise permitted); or  

(i) (9) Particulate matter or visible deposits of residuals 

from roof stacks, vents or both not otherwise regulated 

(i.e., under an air quality control permit) and evident in 

the stormwater runoff. 

(3) The operator shall develop and implement specific 

stormwater pollution prevention plans for all high-

priority facilities identified in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. The operator shall complete SWPPP 

development and implementation shall be completed 

within 48 months of coverage under this state permit. 

Facilities covered under a separate VPDES permit shall 

adhere to the conditions established in that permit and are 

excluded from this requirement. 

(4) d. Each SWPPP as required in Part I E 6 c shall 

include the following: 

(a) (1) A site description that includes a site map 

identifying all outfalls, direction of stormwater flows, 

existing source controls, and receiving water bodies; 

(b) (2) A discussion description and checklist of the 

potential pollutants and pollutant sources; 

(c) (3) A discussion description of all potential 

nonstormwater discharges; 

(d) (4) Written procedures designed to reduce and 

prevent pollutant discharge; 

(e) (5) A description of the applicable training as 

required in Section II B 6 d; Part I E 6 m; 

(f) (6) Procedures to conduct an annual comprehensive 

site compliance evaluation; 

(g) (7) An inspection [ frequency of no less than once per 

year ] and maintenance [ schedule requirements ] for site 

specific source controls. The date of each inspection and 

associated findings and follow-up shall be logged in each 

SWPPP; [ and ]  

[ (8) An inspection log for each site specific source 

control including the date and inspection findings; and ] 

(h) The contents of each SWPPP shall be evaluated and 

modified as necessary to accurately reflect any discharge, 

release, or spill from the high-priority facility reported in 

accordance with Section III G. For each such discharge, 

release, or spill, the SWPPP must include the following 

information: date of incident; material discharged, 

released, or spilled; and quantity discharged, released or 

spilled; and [ (9) (8) ] A log of each unauthorized 

discharge, release, or spill incident reported in 

accordance with Part III G including the following 

information: 

(a) Date of incident; 

(b) Material discharged, released, or spilled; and 

(c) Estimated quantity discharged, released or spilled 

[ ;. ]  

e. No later than June 30 of each year, the permittee shall 

annually review any high-priority facility owned or 

operated by the permittee for which a SWPPP has not 

been developed to determine if the facility has a high 

potential to discharge pollutants as described in Part I E 6 

c. If the facility is determined to be a high-priority 

facility with a high potential to discharge pollutants, the 
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permittee shall develop a SWPPP meeting the 

requirements of Part I E 6 d no later than December 31 of 

that same year. 

f. The permittee shall review the contents of any site 

specific SWPPP no later than 30 days after any 

unauthorized discharge, release, or spill reported in 

accordance with Part III G to determine if additional 

measures are necessary to prevent future unauthorized 

discharges, releases, or spills. If necessary, the SWPPP 

shall be updated no later than 90 days after the 

unauthorized discharge. 

(i) A copy of each SWPPP shall be kept at each facility 

and shall be kept updated and utilized as part of staff 

training required in Section II B 6 d. g. The SWPPP shall 

be kept at the high-priority facility with a high potential 

to discharge and utilized as part of staff training required 

in Part I E 6 m. The SWPPP and associated documents 

may be maintained as a hard copy or electronically as 

long as the documents are available to employees at the 

applicable site. 

h. If activities change at a facility such that the facility no 

longer meets the criteria of a high-priority facility with a 

high potential to discharge pollutants as described in Part 

I E 6 c, the permittee may remove the facility from the 

list of high-priority facilities with a high potential to 

discharge pollutants. 

c. Turf and landscape management. 

(1) i. The operator permittee shall maintain and 

implement turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

that have been developed by a certified turf and 

landscape nutrient management planner in accordance 

with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia on all lands 

owned or operated by the MS4 operator permittee where 

nutrients are applied to a contiguous area greater than 

one acre. Implementation shall be in accordance with the 

following schedule: If nutrients are being applied to 

achieve final stabilization of a land disturbance project, 

application shall follow the manufacturer's 

recommendations. 

(a) Within 12 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall identify all applicable lands where 

nutrients are applied to a contiguous area of more than 

one acre. A latitude and longitude shall be provided for 

each such piece of land and reported in the annual report. 

(b) Within 60 months of state permit coverage, the 

operator shall implement turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans on all lands where nutrients are 

applied to a contiguous area of more than one acre. The 

following measurable outcomes are established for the 

implementation of turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans: (i) within 24 months of permit 

coverage, not less than 15% of all identified acres will be 

covered by turf and landscape nutrient management 

plans; (ii) within 36 months of permit coverage, not less 

than 40% of all identified acres will be covered by turf 

and landscape nutrient management plans; and (iii) 

within 48 months of permit coverage, not less than 75% 

of all identified acres will be covered by turf and 

landscape nutrient management plans. The operator shall 

not fail to meet the measurable goals for two consecutive 

years. 

(c) MS4 operators with lands regulated under § 10.1-

104.4 of the Code of Virginia shall continue to 

implement turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

in accordance with this statutory requirement. j. 

Permittees with lands regulated under § 10.1-104.4 of the 

Code of Virginia, including state agencies, state colleges 

and universities, and other state government entities, 

shall continue to implement turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans in accordance with this statutory 

requirement. 

(2) Operators shall annually track the following: 

(a) The total acreage of lands where turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans are required; and 

(b) The acreage of lands upon which turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans have been implemented. 

(3) k. The operator permittee shall not apply any deicing 

agent containing urea or other forms of nitrogen or 

phosphorus to parking lots, roadways, and sidewalks, or 

other paved surfaces. 

l. The permittee shall require through the use of contract 

language, training, standard operating procedures, [ etc., 

or other measures within the permittee's legal authority ] 

that contractors employed by the permittee and engaging 

in activities with the potential to discharge pollutants use 

appropriate control measures to minimize the discharge 

of pollutants to the MS4. 

d. Training. The operator shall conduct training for 

employees. The training requirements may be fulfilled, in 

total or in part, through regional training programs 

involving two or more MS4 localities provided; however, 

that each operator shall remain individually liable for its 

failure to comply with the training requirements in this 

permit. Training is not required if the topic is not 

applicable to the operator's operations and therefore does 

not have applicable personnel provided the lack of 

applicability is documented in the MS4 Program Plan. 

The operator shall determine and document the 

applicable employees or positions to receive each type of 

training. The operator shall develop an annual written 

training plan including a schedule of training events that 

ensures implementation of the training requirements as 

follows: m. The permittee shall develop a training plan in 

writing for applicable staff that ensures the following: 
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(1) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable field Field personnel [ received receive ] 

training in the recognition and reporting of illicit 

discharges. no less than once per 24 months; 

(2) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed 

during road, street, and parking lot maintenance. 

Employees performing road, street, and parking lot 

maintenance receive training in pollution prevention and 

good housekeeping associated with those activities no 

less than once per 24 months; 

(3) The operator shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed in 

and around maintenance and public works facilities. 

Employees working in and around maintenance, public 

works, or recreational facilities receive training in good 

housekeeping and pollution prevention practices 

associated with those facilities no less than once per 24 

months; 

(4) The operator shall ensure that employees, Employees 

and require that contractors, hired by the permittee who 

apply pesticides and herbicides are properly trained or 

certified in accordance with the Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act (§ 3.2-3900 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

[ . ] Certification by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VCACS) Pesticide 

and Herbicide Applicator program shall constitute 

compliance with this requirement ]; 

(5) The operator shall ensure that employees Employees 

and contractors serving as plan reviewers, inspectors, 

program administrators, and construction site operators 

obtain the appropriate certifications as required under the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law and its 

attendant regulations.; 

(6) The operator shall ensure that applicable employees 

obtain the appropriate certifications as required under the 

Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control Law and its 

attendant regulations. Employees and contractors 

implementing the stormwater program obtain the 

appropriate certifications as required under the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and its attendant 

regulations; and 

(7) The operators shall provide biennial training to 

applicable employees in good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention practices that are to be employed in 

and around recreational facilities. 

(8) The appropriate emergency response employees shall 

have training in spill responses. A summary of the 

training or certification program provided to emergency 

response employees shall be included in the first annual 

report. (7) Employees whose duties include emergency 

response have been trained in spill response. Training of 

emergency responders such as firefighters and law-

enforcement officers on the handling of spill releases as 

part of a larger emergency response training shall satisfy 

this training requirement and be documented in the 

training plan. 

(9) The operator shall keep documentation on each 

training event including the training date, the number of 

employees attending the training, and the objective of the 

training event for a period of three years after each 

training event. n. The permittee shall maintain 

documentation of each training event conducted [ by the 

permittee ] to fulfill the requirements of Part I E 6 m for 

a minimum of three years after the training event. The 

documentation shall include the following information: 

(1) The date of the training event; 

(2) The number of employees attending the training 

event; and 

(3) The objective of the training event. 

o. The permittee may fulfill the training requirements in 

Part I E 6 m, in total or in part, through regional training 

programs involving two or more MS4 permittees; 

however, the permittee shall remain responsible for 

ensuring compliance with the training requirements. 

e. The operator shall require that municipal contractors 

use appropriate control measures and procedures for 

stormwater discharges to the MS4 system. Oversight 

procedures shall be described in the MS4 Program Plan. 

f. At a minimum, the MS4 Program Plan shall contain: p. 

The MS4 program plan shall include: 

(1) The written protocols being used to satisfy procedures 

for the daily operations and maintenance requirements; 

activities as required by Part I E 6 a; 

(2) A list of all municipal high-priority facilities that 

identifies those facilities that have a high potential for 

chemicals or other materials to be discharged in 

stormwater and a schedule that identifies the year in 

which an individual SWPPP will be developed for those 

facilities required to have a SWPPP. Upon completion of 

a SWPPP, the SWPPP shall be part of the MS4 Program 

Plan. The MS4 Program Plan shall include the location in 

which the individual SWPPP is located; A list of all high-

priority facilities owned or operated by the permittee 

required in accordance with Part I E 6 c, and whether or 

not the facility has a high potential to discharge; 

(3) A list of lands where nutrients are applied to a 

contiguous area of more than one acre. Upon completion 

of a turf and landscape nutrient management plan, the 

turf and landscape nutrient management plan shall be 
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part of the MS4 Program Plan. The MS4 Program Plan 

shall include the location in which the individual turf and 

landscape nutrient management plan is located; and A list 

of lands for which turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans are required in accordance with Part I 

E 6 i and j, including the following information: 

(a) The total acreage on which nutrients are applied; 

(b) The date of the most recently approved nutrient 

management plan for the property; and 

(c) The [ MS4 program plan shall include the ] location 

in which the individual turf and landscape nutrient 

management plan is located [ .; ]  

(4) A summary of mechanisms the permittee uses to 

ensure contractors working on behalf of the permittees 

implement the necessary good housekeeping and 

pollution prevention procedures, and stormwater 

pollution plans as appropriate; and 

(4) (5) The annual written training plan for the next 

reporting cycle. as required in Part I E 6 m. 

g. Annual reporting requirements. q. The annual report 

shall include the following: 

(1) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the daily operational procedures; A 

summary of any [ daily ] operational procedures 

developed or modified in accordance with Part I E 6 a 

during the reporting period; 

(2) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the required SWPPPs; A summary of 

any new SWPPPs developed in accordance Part I E 6 c 

during the reporting period; 

(3) A summary of any SWPPPs modified in accordance 

with Part I E 6 f [ or the rationale of any high priority 

facilities delisted in accordance with Part I E 6 h ] during 

the reporting period; 

(3) A summary report on the development and 

implementation of the turf and landscape nutrient 

management plans that includes: (4) A summary of any 

new turf and landscape nutrient management plans 

developed that includes: 

(a) The total acreage of lands where turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans are required Location and the 

total acreage of each land area; and 

(b) The acreage of lands upon which turf and landscape 

nutrient management plans have been implemented The 

date of the approved nutrient management plan; and 

(4) A summary report on the required training, including 

a list of training events, the training date, the number of 

employees attending training and the objective of the 

training. (5) A list of the training events conducted in 

accordance with Part I E 6 m, including the following 

information: 

(a) The date of the training event; 

(b) The number of employees who attended the training 

event; and 

(c) The objective of the training event. 

C. If an existing program requires the implementation of one 

or more of the minimum control measures of Section II B, the 

operator, with the approval of the board, may follow that 

program's requirements rather than the requirements of 

Section II B. A program that may be considered includes, but 

is not limited to, a local, state or tribal program that imposes, 

at a minimum, the relevant requirements of Section II B. 

The operator's MS4 Program Plan shall identify and fully 

describe any program that will be used to satisfy one or more 

of the minimum control measures of Section II B. 

If the program the operator is using requires the approval of 

a third party, the program must be fully approved by the third 

party, or the operator must be working towards getting full 

approval. Documentation of the program's approval status, or 

the progress towards achieving full approval, must be 

included in the annual report required by Section II E 3. The 

operator remains responsible for compliance with the permit 

requirements if the other entity fails to implement the control 

measures (or component thereof). 

D. The operator may rely on another entity to satisfy the 

state permit requirements to implement a minimum control 

measure if: (i) the other entity, in fact, implements the control 

measure; (ii) the particular control measure, or component 

thereof, is at least as stringent as the corresponding state 

permit requirement; and (iii) the other entity agrees to 

implement the control measure on behalf of the operator. The 

agreement between the parties must be documented in writing 

and retained by the operator with the MS4 Program Plan for 

the duration of this state permit. 

In the annual reports that must be submitted under Section II 

E 3, the operator must specify that another entity is being 

relied on to satisfy some of the state permit requirements. 

If the operator is relying on another governmental entity 

regulated under 9VAC25-870-380 to satisfy all of the state 

permit obligations, including the obligation to file periodic 

reports required by Section II E 3, the operator must note that 

fact in the registration statement, but is not required to file the 

periodic reports. 

The operator remains responsible for compliance with the 

state permit requirements if the other entity fails to implement 

the control measure (or component thereof). 
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E. Evaluation and assessment. 

1. MS4 Program Evaluation. The operator must annually 

evaluate: 

a. Program compliance;  

b. The appropriateness of the identified BMPs (as part of 

this evaluation, the operator shall evaluate the 

effectiveness of BMPs in addressing discharges into 

waters that are identified as impaired in the 2010 

§ 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report); and 

c. Progress towards achieving the identified measurable 

goals. 

2. Recordkeeping. The operator must keep records required 

by the state permit for at least three years. These records 

must be submitted to the department only upon specific 

request. The operator must make the records, including a 

description of the stormwater management program, 

available to the public at reasonable times during regular 

business hours. 

3. Annual reports. The operator must submit an annual 

report for the reporting period of July 1 through June 30 to 

the department by the following October 1 of that year. 

The reports shall include: 

a. Background Information. 

(1) The name and state permit number of the program 

submitting the annual report; 

(2) The annual report permit year; 

(3) Modifications to any operator's department's roles and 

responsibilities; 

(4) Number of new MS4 outfalls and associated acreage 

by HUC added during the permit year; and 

(5) Signed certification; 

b. The status of compliance with state permit conditions, 

an assessment of the appropriateness of the identified 

best management practices and progress towards 

achieving the identified measurable goals for each of the 

minimum control measures; 

c. Results of information collected and analyzed, 

including monitoring data, if any, during the reporting 

period; 

d. A summary of the stormwater activities the operator 

plans to undertake during the next reporting cycle; 

e. A change in any identified best management practices 

or measurable goals for any of the minimum control 

measures including steps to be taken to address any 

deficiencies;  

f. Notice that the operator is relying on another 

government entity to satisfy some of the state permit 

obligations (if applicable);  

g. The approval status of any programs pursuant to 

Section II C (if appropriate), or the progress towards 

achieving full approval of these programs; and 

h. Information required for any applicable TMDL special 

condition contained in Section I. 

F. Program Plan modifications.  

1. Program modifications requested by the operator. 

Modifications to the MS4 Program are expected 

throughout the life of this state permit as part of the 

iterative process to reduce the pollutant loadings and to 

protect water quality. As such, modifications made in 

accordance with this state permit as a result of the iterative 

process do not require modification of this permit unless 

the department determines that the changes meet the 

criteria referenced in 9VAC25-870-630 or 9VAC25-870-

650. Updates and modifications to the MS4 Program may 

be made during the life of this state permit in accordance 

with the following procedures: 

a. Adding (but not eliminating or replacing) components, 

controls, or requirements to the MS4 Program may be 

made by the operator at any time. Additions shall be 

reported as part of the annual report. 

b. Updates and modifications to specific standards and 

specifications, schedules, operating procedures, 

ordinances, manuals, checklists, and other documents 

routinely evaluated and modified are permitted under this 

state permit provided that the updates and modifications 

are done in a manner that (i) is consistent with the 

conditions of this state permit, (ii) follow any public 

notice and participation requirements established in this 

state permit, and (iii) are documented in the annual 

report. 

c. Replacing, or eliminating without replacement, any 

ineffective or infeasible strategies, policies, and BMPs 

specifically identified in this permit with alternate 

strategies, policies, and BMPs may be requested at any 

time. Such requests must be made in writing to the 

department and signed in accordance with 9VAC25-870-

370, and include the following: 

(1) An analysis of how or why the BMPs, strategies, or 

policies are ineffective or infeasible, including 

information on whether the BMPs, strategies, or policies 

are cost prohibitive; 

(2) Expectations regarding the effectiveness of the 

replacement BMPs, strategies, or policies; 
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(3) An analysis of how the replacement BMPs are 

expected to achieve the goals of the BMPs to be 

replaced; 

(4) A schedule for implementing the replacement BMPs, 

strategies, and policies; and  

(5) An analysis of how the replacement strategies and 

policies are expected to improve the operator's ability to 

meet the goals of the strategies and policies being 

replaced. 

d. The operator follows the public involvement 

requirements identified in Section II B 2 (a). 

2. MS4 Program updates requested by the department. In a 

manner and following procedures in accordance with the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act, the Virginia 

Stormwater Management regulations, and other applicable 

state law and regulations, the department may request 

changes to the MS4 Program to assure compliance with the 

statutory requirements of the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Act and its attendant regulations to: 

a. Address impacts on receiving water quality caused by 

discharges from the MS4; 

b. Include more stringent requirements necessary to 

comply with new state or federal laws or regulations; or 

c. Include such other conditions necessary to comply 

with state or federal law or regulation. 

Proposed changes requested by the department shall be 

made in writing and set forth the basis for and objective of 

the modification as well as the proposed time schedule for 

the operator to develop and implement the modification. 

The operator may propose alternative program 

modifications or time schedules to meet the objective of 

the requested modification, but any such modifications are 

at the discretion of the department. 

Part II 

TMDL Special Conditions 

A. Chesapeake Bay TMDL special condition. 

1. The Commonwealth in its Phase I and Phase II 

Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed Implementation Plans 

(WIPs) committed to a phased approach for MS4s, 

affording MS4 permittees up to three full five-year permit 

cycles to implement necessary reductions. This permit is 

consistent with the Chesapeake Bay TMDL and the 

Virginia Phase I and [ Phase ] II WIPs to meet the Level 2 

(L2) scoping run for existing developed lands as it 

represents an implementation of an additional 35% of L2 

as specified in the 2010 Phase I and [ Phase ] II WIPs. In 

combination with the 5.0% reduction of L2 that has already 

been achieved [ for, ] a total reduction at the end of this 

permit term of 40% of L2 [ will be achieved.] Conditions 

of future permits will be consistent with the TMDL or WIP 

conditions in place at the time of permit issuance.  

2. The following definitions apply to Part II of this state 

permit for the purpose of the Chesapeake Bay TMDL 

special condition for discharges in the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed: 

"Existing sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 as of June 30, 2009. 

"New sources" means pervious and impervious urban 

land uses served by the MS4 developed or redeveloped 

on or after July 1, 2009. 

"Pollutants of concern" or "POC" means total nitrogen, 

total phosphorus, and total suspended solids.  

"Transitional sources" means regulated land disturbing 

activities that are temporary in nature and discharge 

through the MS4. 

3. Reduction requirements. No later than the expiration 

date of this permit, the permittee shall reduce the load of 

total nitrogen, total phosphorus, and total suspended solids 

from existing developed lands served by the MS4 as of 

June 30, 2009, within the 2010 Census [ Urbanized Area 

urbanized areas ] by at least 40% of the Level 2 (L2) 

Scoping Run Reductions. The 40% reduction is the sum of 

(i) the first phase reduction of 5.0% of the L2 Scoping Run 

Reductions based on the lands located within the 2000 

Census [ Urbanized Areas urbanized areas ] required by 

June 30, 2018; (ii) the second phase reduction of at least 

35% of the L2 Scoping Run based on lands within the 

2000 Census [ Urbanized Areas urbanized areas ] required 

by June 30, 2023; and (iii) the reduction of at least 40% of 

the L2 Scoping Run [ based on, which shall only apply to 

the additional ] lands [ within that were added by ] the 

2010 expanded Census [ Urbanized Areas urbanized 

areas ] required by June 30, 2023. The required reduction 

shall be calculated using Tables 3a, 3b, 3c, and 3d below as 

applicable: 
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Table 3a  

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the James River, Lynnhaven, and Little Creek Basins 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading 

rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as of 

6/30/09 

served by 

the MS4 

within the 

2010 CUA 

(acres)2 

[ Loading 

Load ] 

(lbs/yr)3 

[ Percentage 

of ] MS4 

required 

Chesapeake 

Bay total L2 

loading 

[ rate ] 

reduction  

Percentage 

of L2 

required 

reduction by 

6/30/2023  

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

Required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

9.39   

 

9% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

6.99   

 

6% 40%   

Phosphorus 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

1.76     16% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

0.5     7.25% 40%   

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

676.94     20% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

101.08     8.75% 40%   

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census 

urbanized area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 

2009.  

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x [ (Column D ÷ 100) Column D ] x [ (Column E ÷ 100) Column E ].  

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  
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Table 3b  

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the Potomac River Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as of 

6/30/09 served 

by the MS4 

within the 2010 

CUA (acres)2 

[ Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 

Load 

(lbs/yr)3 ] 

[ Percentage 

of ] MS4 

required 

Chesapeake 

Bay total L2 

loading [ rate ] 

reduction 

Percentage 

of L2 

required 

reduction by 

6/30/2023 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

16.86   

 

9% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

10.07   

 

6% 40%   

Phosphorus 

Regulated 

Urban 

Impervious 

1.62     16% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

0.41     7.25% 40%   

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated 

urban 

impervious 

1171.32     20% 40%   

  

Regulated 

urban 

pervious 

175.8     8.75% 40%   

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census urbanized 

area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009.  

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x [ (Column D ÷ 100) Column D ] x [ (Column E ÷ 100) Column E ]. 

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  

 

Table 3c 

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the Rappahannock River Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as of 

6/30/09 

served by 

the MS4 

within the 

2010 CUA 

(acres)2 

[ Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 Load 

(lbs/yr)3 ] 

[ Percentage of ] 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake Bay 

total L2 loading 

[ rate ] reduction 

Percentage 

of L2 

required 

reduction 

by 

6/30/2023 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

Required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
9.38   

 

9% 40% 
  

  

Regulated urban 

pervious 
5.34   

 

6% 40% 
  

Phosphorus 
Regulated urban 

impervious 
1.41     16% 40% 
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Regulated urban 

pervious 
0.38     7.25% 40% 

  

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
423.97     20% 40% 

  

  
Regulated urban 

pervious 
56.01     8.75% 40% 

  

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census urbanized 

area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009. 

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x [ (Column D ÷ 100) Column D ] x [ (Column E ÷ 100) Column E ].  

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F.  

 

Table 3d 

Calculation Sheet for Estimating Existing Source Loads and Reduction Requirements for the York River and Poquoson Coastal Basin 

 
 

A B C D E F G 

Pollutant Subsource 

Loading rate 

(lbs/ac/yr)1 

Existing 

developed 

lands as of 

6/30/09 

served by 

the MS4 

within the 

2010 CUA  

(acres)2 

[ Loading 

(lbs/ac/yr)3 

Load (lbs/yr)3 ] 

[ Percentage of ] 

MS4 required 

Chesapeake Bay 

total L2 loading 

[ rate ] reduction 

Percentage 

of L2 

required 

reduction 

by 

6/30/2023 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

required by 

6/30/2023 

(lbs/yr)4 

Sum of 

40% 

cumulative 

reduction 

(lb/yr)5 

Nitrogen 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
7.31   

 

9% 40% 
    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
7.65   

 

6% 40% 
  

Phosphorus 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
1.51     16% 40% 

    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
0.51     7.25% 40% 

  

Total 

suspended 

solids 

Regulated urban 

impervious 
456.68     20% 40% 

    

Regulated urban 

pervious 
72.78     8.75% 40% 

  

1Edge of stream loading rate based on the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Model Progress Run 5.3.2. 

2To determine the existing developed acres required in Column B, permittees should first determine the extent of their regulated service area based on the 2010 Census urbanized 

area (CUA). Next, permittees will need to delineate the lands within the 2010 CUA served by the MS4 as pervious or impervious as of the baseline date of June 30, 2009.  

3Column C = Column A x Column B. 

4Column F = Column C x [ (Column D ÷ 100) Column D ] x [ (Column E ÷ 100) Column E ].  

5Column G = The sum of the subsource cumulative reduction required by 6/30/23 (lbs/yr) as calculated in Column F. 

  

4. No later than the expiration date of this permit, the 

permittee shall offset 40% of the increased loads from new 

sources initiating construction between July 1, 2009, and 

June 30, 2019, and designed in accordance with 9VAC25-

870 Part II C (9VAC25-870-93 et seq.) if the following 

conditions apply: 

a. The activity disturbed one acre or greater; and 

b. The resulting total phosphorous load was greater than 

0.45 lb/acre/year, which is equivalent to an average land 

cover condition of 16% impervious cover.  

The permittee shall utilize Table 4 of Part II A 5 to develop 

the equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total 

suspended solids for new sources meeting the requirements 

of this condition.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

241 

5. No later than the expiration date of this permit, the 

permittee shall offset the increased loads from projects 

grandfathered in accordance with 9VAC25-870-48 that 

begin construction after July 1, 2014, if the following 

conditions apply: 

a. The activity disturbs one acre or greater; and 

b. The resulting total phosphorous load was greater than 

0.45 lb/acre/year, which is equivalent to an average land 

cover condition of 16% impervious cover.  

The permittee shall utilize Table 4 below to develop the 

equivalent pollutant load for nitrogen and total suspended 

solids for grandfathered sources meeting the requirements 

of this condition. 

Table 4 

Ratio of Phosphorus Loading Rate to Nitrogen and Total 

Suspended Solids Loading Rates for Chesapeake Bay Basins 

Ratio of 

Phosphorus to 

Other POCs 

(Based on All 

Land Uses 2009 

Progress Run) 

Phosphorus 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Nitrogen 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

Total 

Suspended 

Solids 

Loading 

Rate 

(lbs/acre) 

James River 

Basin, 

Lynnhaven, and 

Little Creek 

Basins 1.0 5.2 420.9 

Potomac River 

Basin 1.0 6.9 469.2 

Rappahannock 

River Basin 1.0 6.7 320.9 

York River 

Basin 

(including 

Poquoson 

Coastal Basin) 1.0 9.5 531.6 

6. Reductions achieved in accordance with the General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Small 

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems effective July 1, 

2013, shall be applied [ to toward ] the total reduction 

requirements to demonstrate compliance with Part II A 3, 

A 4, and A 5.  

7. Reductions shall be achieved in each river basin as 

calculated in Part II A 3 or for reductions in accordance 

with Part II A 4 and A 5 in the basin in which the new 

source or grandfathered project occurred. 

8. Loading and reduction values greater than or equal to 10 

pounds calculated in accordance with Part II A 3, A 4, and 

A 5 shall be calculated and reported to the nearest pound 

without regard to mathematical rules of precision. Loading 

and reduction values of less than 10 pounds reported in 

accordance with Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5 shall be 

calculated and reported to two significant digits. 

9. Reductions required in Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5 shall be 

achieved through one or more of the following:  

a. BMPs approved by the Chesapeake Bay Program;  

b. BMPs approved by the department; or  

c. A trading program described in Part II A 10.  

10. The permittee may acquire and use total nitrogen and 

total phosphorus credits in accordance with § 62.1-

44.19:21 of the Code of Virginia and total [ suspend 

suspended ] solids in accordance with § 62.1-44.19:21.1 of 

the Code of Virginia for purposes of compliance with the 

required reductions in [ Part II A 3 a through A 3 d, A 4, 

and A 5, Table 3a, Table 3b, Table 3c, and Table 3d of Part 

II A 3; Part II A 4; and Part II A 5, ] provided the use of 

credits has been approved by the department. The 

exchange of credits is subject to the following 

requirements:  

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year; 

b. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same tributary; 

c. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

credits are applied; 

d. No later than June 1 immediately following the 

calendar year in which the credits are applied, the 

permittee certifies on [ a credit exchange notification 

form supplied by the department an MS4 Nutrient Credit 

Acquisition Form ] that the permittee has acquired the 

credits; 

e. Total nitrogen and total phosphorus credits shall be 

either point source credits generated by point sources 

covered by the Watershed Permit for Total Nitrogen and 

Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed general permit issued 

pursuant to § 62.1-44.19:14 of the Code of Virginia, or 

nonpoint source credits certified pursuant to § 62.1-

44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia; 

f. Sediment credits shall be derived from one of the 

following:  

(1) Implementation of BMP in a defined area outside of 

an MS4 service area, in which case the necessary 

baseline sediment reduction for such defined area shall 

be achieved prior to the permittee's use of additional 

reductions as credit; or  

(2) A point source wasteload allocation established by 

the Chesapeake Bay total maximum daily load, in which 

case the credit is the difference between the wasteload 
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allocation specified as an annual mass load and any 

lower monitored annual mass load that is discharged as 

certified on [ a form supplied by the department an MS4 

Sediment Credit Acquisition Form ]. 

g. Sediment credits shall not be associated with 

phosphorus credits used for compliance with the 

stormwater nonpoint nutrient runoff water quality criteria 

established pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

11. No later than 12 months after the permit effective date, 

the permittee shall submit an updated Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL action plan for the reductions required in Part II A 

3, A 4, and A 5 that includes the following information: 

a. Any new or modified legal authorities, such as 

ordinances, permits, policy, specific contract language, 

orders, and interjurisdictional agreements, implemented 

or needing to be implemented to meet the requirements 

of Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5. 

b. The load and cumulative reduction calculations for 

each river basin calculated in accordance with Part II A 

3, A 4, and A 5. 

c. The total reductions achieved as of July 1, 2018, for 

each pollutant of concern in each river basin [ ;. ] 

d. A list of BMPs implemented prior to July 1, 2018, to 

achieve reductions associated with the Chesapeake Bay 

TMDL including:  

(1) The date of implementation; and 

(2) The reductions achieved. 

e. The BMPs to be implemented by the permittee prior to 

the expiration of this permit to meet the cumulative 

reductions calculated in Part II A 3, A 4, and A 5, 

including as applicable:  

(1) Type of BMP; 

(2) Project name; 

(3) Location;  

(4) Percent removal efficiency for each pollutant of 

concern; and 

(5) Calculation of the reduction expected to be achieved 

by the BMP calculated and reported in accordance with 

the methodologies established in Part II A 8 for each 

pollutant of concern; and 

f. A summary of any comments received as a result of 

public participation required in Part II A 12, the 

permittee's response, identification of any public 

meetings to address public concerns, and any revisions 

made to Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan as a result 

of public participation. 

12. Prior to submittal of the action plan required in Part II 

A 11, the permittee shall provide an opportunity for public 

comment on the additional BMPs proposed to meet the 

reductions not previously approved by the department in 

the first phase Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan for no 

less than 15 days.  

[ 13. The Chesapeake Bay TMDL action plan shall be 

incorporated by reference into the MS4 program plan 

required by Part I B of this permit.  

14. 13. ] For each reporting period, the corresponding 

annual report shall include the following information:  

a. A list of BMPs implemented during the reporting 

period but not reported to the DEQ BMP Warehouse in 

accordance with Part I E 5 g and the estimated reduction 

of pollutants of concern achieved by each and reported in 

pounds per year;  

b. If the permittee acquired credits during the reporting 

period to meet all or a portion of the required reductions 

in Part II A 3, A 4, or A 5, a statement that credits were 

acquired; 

c. The progress, using the final design efficiency of the 

BMPs, toward meeting the required cumulative 

reductions for total nitrogen, total phosphorus, and total 

suspended solids; and 

d. A list of BMPs that are planned to be implemented 

during the next reporting period. 

B. Local TMDL special condition [ . ]  

1. The permittee shall develop a local TMDL action plan 

designed to reduce loadings for pollutants of concern if the 

permittee discharges the pollutants of concern to an 

impaired water for which a TMDL has been approved by 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as 

described in Part II B 1 a and 1 b:  

a. For TMDLs approved by the EPA prior to July 1, 

2013, and in which an individual or aggregate wasteload 

has been allocated to the permittee, the permittee shall 

update the previously approved local TMDL action plans 

to meet the conditions of Part II B 3, B 4, B 5, B 6, and B 

7 as applicable, no later than 18 months after the permit 

effective date and continue implementation of the action 

plan; and  

b. For TMDLs approved by EPA on or after July 1, 2013, 

and prior to June 30, 2018, and in which an individual or 

aggregate wasteload has been allocated to the permittee, 

the permittee shall develop and initiate implementation 

of action plans to meet the conditions of Part II B 3, B 4, 

B 5, B 6, and B 7 as applicable for each pollutant for 

which wasteloads have been allocated to the permittee's 

MS4 no later than 30 months after the permit effective 

date.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

243 

2. [ The permittee shall complete implementation of the 

TMDL action plans as soon as practicable. ] TMDL action 

plans may be implemented in multiple phases over more 

than one permit cycle using the adaptive iterative approach 

provided adequate progress is achieved in the 

implementation of BMPs designed to reduce pollutant 

discharges in a manner that is consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the applicable TMDL. 

3. Each local TMDL action plan developed by the 

permittee shall include the following:  

a. The TMDL project name; 

b. The EPA approval date of the TMDL;  

c. The wasteload allocated to the permittee (individually 

or in aggregate), and the corresponding percent 

reduction, if applicable; 

d. Identification of the significant sources of the 

pollutants of concern discharging to the permittee's MS4 

and [ that ] are not covered under a separate VPDES 

permit. For the purposes of this requirement, a significant 

source of pollutants means a discharge where the 

expected pollutant loading is greater than the average 

pollutant loading for the land use identified in the 

TMDL;  

e. The BMPs designed to reduce the pollutants of 

concern in accordance with Parts II B 4, B 5, and B 6; 

f. Any calculations required in accordance with Part II B 

4, B 5, or B 6; 

g. For action plans developed in accordance with Part II 

B 4 and B 5, an outreach strategy to enhance the public's 

education (including employees) on methods to eliminate 

and reduce discharges of the pollutants; and 

h. A schedule of anticipated actions planned for 

implementation during this permit term. 

4. Bacterial TMDLs.  

a. If the permittee is an approved VSMP authority, the 

permittee shall select and implement at least three of the 

strategies listed in Table 5 below designed to reduce the 

load of bacteria to the MS4. Selection of the strategies 

shall correspond to sources identified in Part II B 3 [ e 

d ]. 

b. If the permittee is not an approved VSMP authority, 

the permittee shall select at least one strategy listed in 

Table 5 below designed to reduce the load of bacteria to 

the MS4 relevant to sources of bacteria applicable within 

the MS4 regulated service area. Selection of the 

strategies shall correspond to sources identified in Part II 

B 3 [ e d]. 

  

Table 5 

Strategies for Bacteria Reduction Stormwater 

Control/Management Strategy 

Source Strategies (provided as an example and not 

meant to be all inclusive or limiting) 

Domestic pets 

(dogs and cats) 

Provide signage to pick up dog waste, 

providing pet waste bags and disposal 

containers. 

Adopt and enforce pet waste ordinances or 

policies, or leash laws or policies. 

Place dog parks away from 

environmentally sensitive areas. 

Maintain dog parks by removing disposed 

of pet waste bags and cleaning up other 

sources of bacteria. 

Protect riparian buffers and provide 

unmanicured vegetative buffers along 

streams to dissuade stream access. 

Urban wildlife  Educate the public on how to reduce food 

sources accessible to urban wildlife (e.g., 

manage restaurant dumpsters and grease 

traps, residential garbage, feed pets 

indoors). 

Install storm drain inlet or outlet controls. 

Clean out storm drains to remove waste 

from wildlife. 

Implement and enforce urban trash 

management practices. 

Implement rooftop disconnection programs 

or site designs that minimize connections 

to reduce bacteria from rooftops 

Implement a program for removing animal 

carcasses from roadways and properly 

disposing of the same (either through 

proper storage or through transport to a 

licensed facility). 

Illicit connections 

or illicit 

discharges to the 

MS4 

Implement an enhanced dry weather 

screening and illicit discharge, detection, 

and elimination program beyond the 

requirements of Part I E 3 to identify and 

remove illicit connections and identify 

leaking sanitary sewer lines infiltrating to 

the MS4 and implement repairs.  

Implement a program to identify 

potentially failing septic systems. 

Educate the public on how to determine 

whether their septic system is failing. 

Implement septic tank inspection and 

maintenance program. 

Implement an educational program beyond 

any requirements in Part I E 1 though E 6 
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to explain to citizens why they should not 

dump materials into the MS4. 

[ Marinas. ] 

Dry weather 

urban flows 

(irrigations, 

carwashing, 

powerwashing, 

etc.) 

Implement public education programs to 

reduce dry weather flows from storm 

sewers related to lawn and park irrigation 

practices, carwashing, powerwashing and 

other nonstormwater flows. 

Provide irrigation controller rebates. 

Implement and enforce ordinances or 

policies related to outdoor water waste. 

Inspect commercial trash areas, grease 

traps, washdown practices, and enforce 

corresponding ordinances or policies. 

Birds (Canadian 

geese, gulls, 

pigeons, etc.) 

Identify areas with high bird populations 

and evaluate deterrents, population 

controls, habitat modifications and other 

measures that may reduce bird-associated 

bacteria loading. 

Prohibit feeding of birds. 

Other sources Enhance maintenance of stormwater 

management facilities owned or operated 

by the permittee. 

Enhance requirements for third parties to 

maintain stormwater management 

facilities. 

Develop BMPs for locating, transporting, 

and maintaining portable toilets used on 

permittee-owned sites. Educate third 

parties that use portable toilets on BMPs 

for use. 

Provide public education on appropriate 

recreational vehicle dumping practices. 

5. Local sediment, phosphorus, and nitrogen TMDLs. 

a. The permittee shall reduce the loads associated with 

sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen through 

implementation of one or more of the following: 

(1) One or more of the BMPs from the Virginia 

Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse listed in 9VAC25-870-

65 or other approved BMPs found on the Virginia 

Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse website; 

(2) One or more BMPs approved by the Chesapeake Bay 

[ program Program ]; or 

(3) Land disturbance thresholds lower than Virginia's 

regulatory requirements for erosion and sediment control 

and post development stormwater management. 

b. The permittee may meet the local TMDL requirements 

for sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen through BMPs 

implemented to meet the requirements of the Chesapeake 

Bay TMDL in Part II A as long as the BMPs are 

implemented in the watershed for which local water 

quality is impaired. 

c. The permittee shall calculate the anticipated load 

reduction achieved from each BMP and include the 

calculations in the action plan required in Part II B 3 [ g 

f ]. 

d. No later than 36 months after the effective date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit to the department the 

anticipated end dates by which the permittee will meet 

each WLA for sediment, phosphorus, or nitrogen. The 

proposed end date may be developed in accordance with 

Part II B 2. 

6. Polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB) TMDLs. 

a. For each PCB TMDL action plan, the permittee shall 

include an inventory of potentially significant sources of 

PCBs owned or operated by the permittee that drains to 

the MS4 that includes the following information:  

(1) Location of the potential source;  

(2) Whether or not the potential source is from current 

site activities or activities previously conducted at the site 

that have been terminated (i.e. legacy activities); and 

(3) A description of any measures being implemented or 

to be implemented to prevent exposure to stormwater and 

the discharge of PCBs from the site.  

b. If at any time during the term of this permit, the 

permittee discovers a previously unidentified significant 

source of PCBs within the permittee's MS4 regulated 

service area, the permittee shall notify DEQ in writing 

within 30 days of discovery. 

7. Prior to submittal of the action plan required in Part II B 

1, the permittee shall provide an opportunity for public 

comment proposed to meet the local TMDL action plan 

requirements for no less than 15 days. 

8. The MS4 program plan as required by Part I B of this 

permit shall incorporate each local TMDL action plan. 

Local TMDL action plans may be incorporated by 

reference into the MS4 program plan provided that the 

program plan includes the date of the most recent local 

TMDL action plan and identification of the location where 

a copy of the local TMDL action plan may be obtained.  

9. For each reporting period, each annual report shall 

include a summary of actions conducted to implement each 

local TMDL action [ plans plan ]. 

SECTION Part III 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL STATE PERMITS 

Conditions Applicable to All State and VPDES Permits 

NOTE: Discharge monitoring is not required for 

[ compliance purposes by ] this general permit. If the operator 

chooses to monitor stormwater discharges [ or control 
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measures, the operator must comply with the requirements of 

Part III A, B, and C as appropriate for informational or 

screening purposes, the operator does not need to comply 

with the requirements of Parts III A, B, or C ].  

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored 

monitoring activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this state 

permit. Analyses performed according to test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 shall be performed by an 

environmental laboratory certified under regulations 

adopted by the Department of General Services (1VAC30-

45 or 1VAC30-46). 

3. The operator shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will insure ensure 

accuracy of measurements. 

B. Records. 

1. Monitoring records/reports records and reports shall 

include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed; 

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The operator shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this state permit, and records of all data 

used to complete the registration statement for this state 

permit, for a period of at least three years from the date of 

the sample, measurement, report or request for coverage. 

This period of retention shall be extended automatically 

during the course of any unresolved litigation regarding the 

regulated activity or regarding control standards applicable 

to the operator, or as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The operator shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by as may be performed in accordance with this 

state permit with the annual report unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this state permit.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report discharge monitoring report (DMR); on 

forms provided, approved or specified by the department; 

or in any format provided that the date, location, 

parameter, method, and result of the monitoring activity 

are included.  

3. If the operator monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this state permit more frequently than 

required by this state permit using test procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or using other test 

procedures approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency or using procedures specified in this state permit, 

the results of this monitoring shall be included in the 

calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR 

or reporting form specified by the department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this state permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The operator shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating this 

state permit or to determine compliance with this state permit. 

The board, department, or EPA may require the operator to 

furnish, upon request, such plans, specifications, and other 

pertinent information as may be necessary to determine the 

effect of the wastes from his discharge on the quality of 

surface waters, or such other information as may be necessary 

to accomplish the purposes of the CWA and Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act. The operator shall also furnish 

to the board, department, or EPA upon request, copies of 

records required to be kept by this state permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this state permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days 

following each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized stormwater discharges. Pursuant to § 62.1-

44.15:26 § 62.1-44.5 of the Code of Virginia, except in 

compliance with a state permit issued by the board 

department, it shall be unlawful to cause a stormwater 

discharge from a MS4. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any operator of a 

small MS4 who discharges or causes or allows a discharge of 

sewage, industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or 

deleterious substance or a hazardous substance or oil in an 
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amount equal to or in excess of a reportable quantity 

established under either 40 CFR Part 110, 40 CFR Part 117 

or, 40 CFR Part 302, or § 62.1-44.34:19 of the Code of 

Virginia that occurs during a 24-hour period into or upon 

surface waters; or who discharges or causes or allows a 

discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter surface 

waters, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than within 24 hours after said discovery. A written 

report of the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this state permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a "bypass" (Part 

III U) or "upset," as defined herein (Part III V), should occur 

from a facility and the discharge enters or could be expected 

to enter surface waters, the operator shall promptly notify, in 

no case later than within 24 hours, the department by 

telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The operator shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Section Part 

III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are 

not limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

facilities; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The operator shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect surface waters or 

may endanger public health. 

1. An oral report to the department shall be provided 

within 24 hours to the department from the time the 

operator becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information which that shall 

be reported within 24 hours under this paragraph 

subdivision: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset which that causes a discharge to surface 

waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. The board or 

its designee department may waive the written report on 

a case-by-case basis for reports of noncompliance under 

Section Part III I if the oral report has been received 

within 24 hours and no adverse impact on surface waters 

has been reported. 

3. The operator shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Sections Part III I 1 or 2, in writing, at 

as part of the time the next monitoring annual reports that 

are submitted. The reports shall contain the information 

listed in Section Part III I 2. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

to be provided to the department in Sections Part III G, H, 

and I may shall be made to the appropriate Regional Office 

Pollution Response Program as found at 

http://deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePrepar

edness.aspx department. Reports may be made by 

telephone, email, or by fax. For reports outside normal 

working hours, leave leaving a recorded message and this 

shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Services Management maintains a 24-hour telephone 

service at 1-800-468-8892. 

4. Where the operator becomes aware of a failure to submit 

any relevant facts, or submittal of incorrect information in 

any report, including a registrations statement, to the 

department, it the operator shall promptly submit such 

facts or correct information. 
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J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The operator shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The operator plans an alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced that may meet one of 

the criteria for determining whether a facility is a new 

source in 9VAC25-870-420: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are applicable to 

such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The operator plans an alteration or addition that would 

significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of 

pollutants discharged. This notification applies to 

pollutants that are not subject to effluent limitations in 

this state permit; or 

2. The operator shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity; 

which that may result in noncompliance with state permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this subsection, chapter, a responsible 

corporate officer means: (i) A a president, secretary, 

treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge 

of a principal business function, or any other person who 

performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one 

or more manufacturing, production, or operating 

facilities, provided the manager is authorized to make 

management decisions which that govern the operation 

of the regulated facility including having the explicit or 

implicit duty of making major capital investment 

recommendations, and initiating and directing other 

comprehensive measures to assure long term compliance 

with environmental laws and regulations; the manager 

can ensure that the necessary systems are established or 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for state permit application requirements; 

and where authority to sign documents has been assigned 

or delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: By by either a principal executive officer or 

ranking elected official. For purposes of this subsection 

chapter, a principal executive officer of a public agency 

includes: 

(1) The chief executive officer of the agency, or 

(2) A senior executive officer having responsibility for 

the overall operations of a principal geographic unit of 

the agency. 

2. Reports, etc and other information. All reports required 

by state permits, including annual reports, and other 

information requested by the board or department shall be 

signed by a person described in Section Part III K 1, or by 

a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is 

a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Section Part III K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the operator. (A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named 

position.); and 

c. The signed and dated written authorization is 

submitted to the department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under 

Section Part III K 2 is no longer accurate because a 

different individual or position has responsibility for the 

overall operation of the facility, MS4, a new authorization 

satisfying the requirements of Section Part III K 2 shall be 

submitted to the department prior to or together with any 

reports, or information to be signed by an authorized 

representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 

Sections Part III K 1 or 2 shall make the following 

certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly [ gather gathered ] and 

[ evaluate evaluated ] the information submitted. Based on 

my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 

system, or those persons directly responsible for gathering 

the information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
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my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The operator shall comply with all 

conditions of this state permit. Any state permit 

noncompliance constitutes a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act and the Clean Water Act, 

except that noncompliance with certain provisions of this 

state permit may constitute a violation of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Act but not the Clean Water Act. 

State permit Permit noncompliance is grounds for 

enforcement action; for state permit termination, revocation 

and reissuance, or modification; or denial of a state permit 

renewal application. 

The operator shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 

regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or 

standards for sewage sludge use or disposal, even if this state 

permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the operator wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this state permit after the expiration date 

of this state permit, the operator shall submit a new 

registration statement at least 90 days before the expiration 

date of the existing state permit, unless permission for a later 

date has been granted by the board. The board shall not grant 

permission for registration statements to be submitted later 

than the expiration date of the existing state permit. 

N. Effect of a state permit. This state permit does not convey 

any property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this state permit shall be construed 

to preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the operator from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in state permit conditions on "bypassing" 

(Section (Part III U), and "upset" (Section (Part III V) nothing 

in this state permit shall be construed to relieve the operator 

from civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

state permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of 

any legal action or relieve the operator from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the operator 

is or may be subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-

44.34:23 of the State Water Control Law or § 311 of the 

Clean Water Act. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The operator shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances), 

which are installed or used by the operator to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this state permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems, which are installed by the operator only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 

the conditions of this state permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering surface 

waters and in compliance with all applicable state and federal 

laws and regulations. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The operator shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of this 

state permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely 

affecting human health or the environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for an operator in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this state permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, means the 

intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of 

a treatment facility. The operator may allow any bypass to 

occur that does not cause effluent limitations to be 

exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to 

assure ensure efficient operation. These bypasses are not 

subject to the provisions of Sections Part III U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the operator knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, the operator shall submit prior 

notice shall be submitted, to the department, if possible at 

least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The operator shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Section Part III 

I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass Except as provided in Part III U 1, bypass is 

prohibited, and the board or its designee department may 

take enforcement action against an operator for bypass, 

unless: 
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(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The operator submitted notices as required under 

Section Part III U 2. 

b. The board or its designee department may approve an 

anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, 

if the board or its designee department determines that it 

will meet the three conditions listed above in Section Part 

III U 3 a. 

V. Upset.  

1. An "upset," as defined in 9VAC25-870-10, constitutes 

an affirmative defense to an action brought for 

noncompliance with technology based state permit effluent 

limitations if the requirements of Section III V 2 are met. A 

determination made during administrative review of claims 

that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an 

action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 2. means an exceptional 

incident in which there is unintentional and temporary 

noncompliance with technology based state permit effluent 

limitations because of factors beyond the reasonable 

control of the operator. An upset does not include 

noncompliance to the extent caused by operational error, 

improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate 

treatment facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or 

careless or improper operation.  

2. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology-based state 

permit effluent limitations if the requirements of Part III V 

4 are met. A determination made during administrative 

review of claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, 

and before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 

administrative action subject to judicial review. 

3. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 

caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment 

facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of preventive 

maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 

3. 4. An operator who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the operator can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The operator submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Section Part III I; and 

d. The operator complied with any remedial measures 

required under Section Part III S. 

4. 5. In any enforcement proceeding the operator seeking 

to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The operator shall allow the 

department as the board's designee, EPA, or an authorized 

representative (including an authorized contractor acting as a 

representative of the administrator), contractor), upon 

presentation of credentials and other documents as may be 

required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the operator's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this state 

permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this state 

permit; 

3. Inspect and photograph at reasonable times any 

facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required 

under this state permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring state ensuring permit compliance or as 

otherwise authorized by the Clean Water Act and the 

Virginia Stormwater Management Act, any substances or 

parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection 

shall be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, 

and whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing 

contained herein shall make an inspection unreasonable 

during an emergency. 

X. State permit actions. State permits may be modified, 

revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a 

request by the operator for a state permit modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or termination, or a notification of 

planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay 

any state permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of state permits. 

1. State permits are not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. Except as provided in 

Section Part III Y 2, a state permit may be transferred by 

the operator to a new operator only if the state permit has 
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been modified or revoked and reissued, or a minor 

modification made, to identify the new operator and 

incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 

under the Virginia Stormwater Management Act and the 

Clean Water Act. 

2. As an alternative to transfers under Section Part III Y 1, 

this state permit may be automatically transferred to a new 

operator if: 

a. The current operator notifies the department at least 

two 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 

title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new operators containing a specific date for 

transfer of state permit responsibility, coverage, and 

liability between them; and 

c. The board department does not notify the existing 

operator and the proposed new operator of its intent to 

modify or revoke and reissue the state permit. If this 

notice is not received, the transfer is effective on the date 

specified in the agreement mentioned in Section Part III 

Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this state permit are 

severable, and if any provision of this state permit or the 

application of any provision of this state permit to any 

circumstance is held invalid, the application of such provision 

to other circumstances, and the remainder of this state permit, 

shall not be affected thereby. 

9VAC25-890-50. Delegation of authority. (Repealed.) 

The director, or his designee, may perform any act of the 

board provided under this chapter, except as limited by 

§ 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (9VAC25-890)  

Application Form 1 - General Information, Consolidated 

Permits Program, EPA Form 3510-1 (eff. 8/1990) 

MS4 Nutrient Credit Acquisition Form, MS4-SCAFv1 (eff. 

9/2018) 

MS4 Sediment Credit Acquisition Form, MS4-SCAFv1 (eff. 

9/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4777; Filed August 29, 2018, 10:42 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-31. Virginia Emergency 

Medical Services Regulations (amending 12VAC5-31-10, 

12VAC5-31-910).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.4 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 2, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Ron Passmore, Regulatory and Compliance 

Manager, Office of Emergency Management Services, 

Virginia Department of Health, 1001 Technology Park Drive, 

Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500, telephone (804) 888-9131, or 

email ron.passmore@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-111.4 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Virginia Department of Health to regulate emergency 

medical services (EMS) personnel, vehicles, response times, 

enforcement provisions, and civil penalties. 

Purpose: This is a technical change to amend the current EMS 

regulations to prohibit individuals with an adverse criminal 

history from affiliating with an EMS agency licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Health's Office of Emergency 

Medical Services, as was the case in the previous version of 

the regulations. Individuals who provide care to patients in 

their time of need must meet high moral, ethical, and legal 

standards in order to maintain the trust and confidence of the 

communities they serve. Being able to restrict EMS agency 

affiliation and certification to those who have not committed 

heinous crimes adds a layer of protection to the health, safety, 

and welfare of the citizens and visitors of the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Changes 

to the regulations are not expected to be controversial. Key 

stakeholder groups and the general EMS community 

requested this technical change to reflect language that was 

previously in the 2003 version of the EMS regulations but did 

not convey to the current version of the regulations. 

Substance: 12VAC5-31-910 prohibits the certification of 

individuals who have been found guilty of certain crimes. The 

technical changes add the term "affiliation" in order to reflect 

the previous version of the EMS regulations. This change is 

designed to prohibit an individual who has committed crimes 

of a certain nature from affiliating with an EMS agency in 

addition to restricting their ability to apply for certification as 

an EMS provider. In addition, there are certain crimes, after a 

defined waiting period, which do not affect an individual's 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1cde003707~1&typ=40&actno=003707&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1cde003707~1&typ=40&actno=003707&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334da004777~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004777&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334da004777~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004777&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebc93004777~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004777&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ebc93004777~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004777&mime=application/pdf
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ability to apply to become affiliated or certified as an EMS 

provider in Virginia.  

Issues: There are no disadvantages anticipated to citizens or 

businesses by amending these provisions. It will add an 

additional layer of scrutiny for those desiring to become 

affiliated with an EMS agency. For the Commonwealth, these 

recommended changes will work to assure a level of 

credibility for those seeking affiliation with or certification 

with an EMS agency providing service to the 

Commonwealth. There are no anticipated issues with this 

technical change. It restores the criteria as previously 

accepted by EMS system stakeholders in order to maintain 

the high standards the community expects for those providing 

emergency medical services in the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to limit an 

individual’s ability to become employed by or a member of 

an emergency medical services (EMS) agency1 if they have a 

prior history of committing certain crimes. This language was 

in the 2003 version of the Virginia EMS Regulations, but was 

inadvertently deleted when the current regulations were 

adopted in 2012. 

Result of Analysis. Whether the benefits exceed the costs 

depend on the policy views of the observer. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulations deny 

Office of Emergency Medical Services certification to 

individuals who have been convicted of the following crimes: 

1. Felonies involving sexual misconduct where the 

victim's failure to affirmatively consent is an element of 

the crime, such as forcible rape. 

2. Felonies involving the sexual or physical abuse of 

children, the elderly or the infirm, such as sexual 

misconduct with a child, making or distributing child 

pornography or using a child in a sexual display, incest 

involving a child, or assault on an elderly or infirm 

person. 

3. Any crime in which the victim is an out-of-hospital 

patient or a patient or resident of a health care facility 

including abuse of, neglect of, theft from, or financial 

exploitation of a person entrusted to the care or 

protection of the applicant. 

4. Serious crimes of violence against persons such as 

assault or battery with a dangerous weapon, aggravated 

assault and battery, murder or attempted murder, 

manslaughter except involuntary manslaughter, 

kidnapping, robbery of any degree, or arson. 

5. Has been subject to a permanent revocation of license 

or certification by another state EMS office or other 

recognized state or national health care provider 

licensing or certifying body. 

Further, the current regulations deny Office of Emergency 

Medical Services certification to individuals in the following 

categories except in extraordinary circumstances, and then 

will be granted only if the applicant or provider establishes by 

clear and convincing evidence that certification will not 

jeopardize public health and safety. 

1. Application for affiliation or certification by 

individuals who have been convicted of any crime and 

who are currently incarcerated, on work release, on 

probation, or on parole. 

2. Application for affiliation or certification by 

individuals convicted of crimes in the following 

categories unless at least five years have passed since the 

conviction or five years have passed since release from 

custodial confinement whichever occurs later: 

a. Crimes involving controlled substances or synthetics, 

including unlawful possession or distribution or intent to 

distribute unlawfully Schedule I through V drugs as 

defined by the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

b. Serious crimes against property, such as grand larceny, 

burglary, embezzlement, or insurance fraud. 

c. Any other crime involving sexual misconduct. 

3. Is currently under any disciplinary or enforcement 

action from another state EMS office or other recognized 

state or national health care provider licensing or 

certifying body. Personnel subject to these disciplinary or 

enforcement actions may be eligible for affiliation or 

certification provided there have been no further 

disciplinary or enforcement actions for five years prior to 

application for certification in Virginia. 

In addition to denying certification, the Board proposes to ban 

employment or membership in an EMS agency for 

individuals with the above-described attributes. 

Banning the employment of people with criminal 

backgrounds in EMS agencies may reduce their exposure to 

people in vulnerable positions. This may reduce the 

likelihood that people receiving EMS services, as well as 

other EMS employees, may be victimized. Protecting the 

well-being of patients and other employees has significant 

value. 

On the other hand, there is a cost to limiting job opportunities 

for people who are otherwise qualified and have "paid their 

debt to society." These individuals are worse off by the denial 

of opportunity to make a living within the law. Also, 

roadblocks to legitimate employment may potentially 

encourage recidivism for individuals who otherwise might 

not have repeat offended. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 681 licensed EMS agencies2 in Virginia.3 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

will not significantly affect total employment. Individuals 

with specified categories of criminal backgrounds will be 

prevented from gaining employment at EMS agencies. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments will prevent private EMS agencies 

from employing individuals with specified categories of 

criminal backgrounds.  

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendments will moderately reduce the potential employee 

pool for small EMS agencies. In most circumstances, this will 

not significantly affect costs.  

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. For the most part, the proposed amendments 

will not significantly adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

will not affect real estate development costs. 

___________________________ 

1Virginia Code § 32.1-111.1 defines agency as "any person engaged in the 
business, service or regular activity, whether or not for profit, of transporting 

persons who are sick, injured, wounded or otherwise incapacitated or 

helpless, or of rendering immediate medical care to such persons." 

2Ibid 

3Data source: Virginia Department of Health 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis:  

Purpose. To provide a response to the Department of 

Planning and Budget review and comments regarding the 

recommendation to add the term "affiliation" to the Virginia 

EMS Regulations, specifically 12VAC5-31-910 Criminal or 

enforcement history http://townhall.virginia.gov/?L? 

viewstage.cfm?stageid=7067. The following language was 

submitted by DPB, "On the other hand, there is a cost to 

limiting job opportunities for people who are otherwise 

qualified and have "paid their debt to society." These 

individuals are worse off by the denial of opportunity to make 

a living within the law. Also, roadblocks to legitimate 

employment may potentially encourage recidivism for 

individuals who otherwise might not have repeat offended." 

Background. This revision adds criteria that prevent an 

individual from becoming affiliated with an EMS agency if 

they have a prior history of committing certain crimes that 

would also exclude them from becoming certified as a 

Virginia EMS provider. This proposed language was in the 

2003 version of the Virginia EMS Regulations and is a 

technical revision for inclusion in the current version of the 

EMS Regulations. 

It is important to note that the language adopted is reflective 

of that of the National Registry of EMTS (NREMT) 

exclusionary criteria for criminal convictions. The following 

is an excerpt as to the justification of their rationale for such 

criteria: 

"EMS professionals, under the authority of their state 

licensure, have unsupervised, intimate, physical and 

emotional contact with patients at a time of maximum 

physical and emotional vulnerability, as well as unsupervised 

access to a patient's personal property. These patients may be 

unable to defend or protect themselves, voice objections to 

particular actions, or provide accurate accounts of events at a 

later time. EMS professionals, therefore, are placed in a 

position of the highest public trust.  

"The public in need of out-of-hospital medical services relies 

on state licensure and national certification to assure that 

those EMS professionals who respond to their calls for aid 

qualify for this extraordinary trust. For these reasons, the 

NREMT has adopted the following Criminal Conviction 

Policy to ensure that individuals, who have been convicted of 

certain crimes, are identified and appropriately evaluated as to 

whether they would pose a risk to public safety as an EMS 

provider https://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/policy_felony.asp." 

Based on provisions within the Virginia EMS Regulations 

individuals who have been convicted of certain crimes, after a 

defined waiting period, may apply to gain Virginia EMS 

certification and also affiliate with an EMS agency as a 

volunteer or an employee. Furthermore, individuals who have 

been pardoned by the Governor and/or had their rights 

restored may be eligible for Virginia EMS certification as 

well as affiliation with a volunteer or career EMS agency.  

Justification. Although certain serious and heinous crimes 

prevent an individual from entering the Virginia EMS system, 

other criminal convictions do not hinder an individual from 

seeking affiliation (employment or volunteer) after waiting a 

defined time period once they have met all of their judicial 

obligations. It is for these reasons; we do not agree with 

DPB's opinion that the requested language amendment will 

negatively impact the opportunities for individuals seeking 

EMS employment in Virginia. 

Summary: 

The amendments limit an individual's ability to become 

affiliated with an emergency medical services (EMS) 

agency if the individual has been convicted of certain 

crimes. This provision was in the 2003 version of the 

Virginia EMS Regulations but was inadvertently deleted 

when the current regulations were adopted in 2012; the 

amendments restore the limitation. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/?L?viewstage.cfm?stageid=7067
http://townhall.virginia.gov/?L?viewstage.cfm?stageid=7067
https://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/policy_felony.asp
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Part I  

General Provisions  

Article 1  

Definitions  

12VAC5-31-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Abandonment" means the termination of a health care 

provider-patient relationship without assurance that an equal 

or higher level of care meeting the assessed needs of the 

patient's condition is present and available.  

"Accreditation" means approval granted to an entity by the 

Office of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) after the 

institution has met specific requirements enabling the 

institution to conduct basic or advanced life support training 

and education programs. There are four levels of 

accreditation: interim, provisional, full, and probationary. 

"Accreditation cycle" means the term or cycle at the 

conclusion of which accreditation expires unless a full self-

study is performed. Accreditation cycles are typically 

quinquennial (five-year) but these terms may be shorter, 

triennial (three-year) or biennial (two-year), if the Office of 

EMS deems it necessary.  

"Accreditation date" means the date of the accreditation 

decision that is awarded to an entity following its full site 

visit and review. 

"Accreditation decision" means the conclusion reached 

about an entity status after evaluation of the results of the 

onsite survey, recommendations of the site review team, and 

any other relevant information such as documentation of 

compliance with standards, documentation of plans to correct 

deficiencies, or evidence of recent improvements. 

"Accreditation denied" means an accreditation decision that 

results when an entity has been denied accreditation. This 

accreditation decision becomes effective only when all 

available appeal procedures have been exhausted.  

"Acute" means a medical condition having a rapid onset and 

a short duration. 

"Acute care hospital" means any hospital that provides 

emergency medical services on a 24-hour basis.  

"Administrative Process Act" or "APA" means Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Advanced life support" or "ALS" means the provision of 

care by EMS personnel who are certified as an Emergency 

Medical Technician (EMT) - Enhanced, Advanced EMT, 

Intermediate, or Paramedic or equivalent as approved by the 

Board of Health. 

Advanced life support in the air medical environment is a 

mission generally defined as the transport of a patient who 

receives care during a transport that includes an invasive 

medical procedure or the administration of medications, 

including IV infusions, in addition to any noninvasive care 

that is authorized by the Office of EMS. 

"Advanced life support certification course" means a 

training program that allows a student to become eligible for 

a new ALS certification level. Programs must meet the 

educational requirements established by the Office of EMS as 

defined by the respective advanced life support curriculum. 

Initial certification courses include:  

1. Emergency Medical Technician-Enhanced;  

2. Advanced EMT; 

3. Advanced EMT to Intermediate Bridge; 

4. EMT-Enhanced to Intermediate Bridge;  

5. Intermediate;  

6. Intermediate to Paramedic Bridge;  

7. Paramedic;  

8. Registered Nurse to Paramedic Bridge; and  

9. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Advanced life support coordinator" means a person who 

has met the criteria established by the Office of EMS to 

assume responsibility for conducting ALS training programs.  

"Advanced life support transport" means the transportation 

of a patient who is receiving ALS level care.  

"Affiliated" means a person who is employed by or a 

member of an EMS agency.  

"Air medical specialist" means a person trained in the 

concept of flight physiology and the effects of flight on 

patients through documented completion of a program 

approved by the Office of EMS. This training must include 

but is not limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, 

safety around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 

operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 

familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 

and survival training specific to service area.  

"Ambulance" means, as defined by § 32.1-111.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, any vehicle, vessel or craft that holds a valid 

permit issued by the Office of EMS and that is specially 

constructed, equipped, maintained and operated, and intended 

to be used for emergency medical care and the transportation 

of patients who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise 

incapacitated or helpless. The word "ambulance" may not 

appear on any vehicle, vessel or aircraft that does not hold a 

valid EMS vehicle permit.  
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"Approved locking device" means a mechanism that 

prevents removal or opening of a drug kit by means other 

than securing the drug kit by the handle only.  

"Assistant director" means the Assistant Director of the 

Office of Emergency Medical Services.  

"Attendant-in-charge" or "AIC" means the certified or 

licensed person who is qualified and designated to be 

primarily responsible for the provision of emergency medical 

care.  

"Attendant" means a certified or licensed person qualified to 

assist in the provision of emergency medical care.  

"Basic life support" or "BLS" means the provision of care 

by EMS personnel who are certified as First Responder, 

Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), or Emergency 

Medical Technician or equivalent as approved by the Board 

of Health. 

Basic life support in the air medical environment means a 

mission generally defined as the transport of a patient who 

receives care during a transport that is commensurate with the 

scope of practice of an EMT. In the Commonwealth of 

Virginia care that is provided in the air medical environment 

must be assumed at a minimum by a Virginia certified 

Paramedic who is a part of the regular air medical crew. 

(fixed wing excluded) 

"BLS certification course" means a training program that 

allows a student to become eligible for a new BLS 

certification level. Programs must meet the educational 

requirements established by the Office of EMS as defined by 

the respective basic life support curriculum. Initial 

certification courses include:  

1. EMS First Responder;  

2. EMS First Responder Bridge to EMT;  

3. Emergency Medical Responder; 

4. Emergency Medical Responder Bridge to EMT; 

5. Emergency Medical Technician; and  

6. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Board" or "state board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Candidate" means any person who is enrolled in or is 

taking a course leading toward initial certification. 

"Candidate status" means the status awarded to a program 

that has made application to the Office of EMS for 

accreditation but that is not yet accredited. 

"CDC" means the United States Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention.  

"Certification" means a credential issued by the Office of 

EMS for a specified period of time to a person who has 

successfully completed an approved training program.  

"Certification candidate" means a person seeking EMS 

certification from the Office of EMS.  

"Certification candidate status" means any candidate or 

provider who becomes eligible for certification testing but 

who has not yet taken the certification test using that 

eligibility. 

"Certification examiner" means an individual designated by 

the Office of EMS to administer a state certification 

examination.  

"Certification transfer" means the issuance of certification 

through reciprocity, legal recognition, challenge or 

equivalency based on prior training, certification or licensure.  

"Chief executive officer" means the person authorized or 

designated by the agency or service as the highest in 

administrative rank or authority.  

"Commercial mobile radio service" or "CMRS" means the 

same as that term is defined in §§ 3 (27) and 332 (d) of the 

Federal Telecommunications Act of 1996 (47 USC § 151 et 

seq.) and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993 

(Public Law 103-66, 107 USC § 312) and includes the term 

"wireless" and service provided by any wireless real time 

two-way voice communication device, including radio-

telephone communications used in cellular telephone service 

or personal communications service (e.g., cellular telephone, 

800/900 MHz Specialized Mobile Radio, Personal 

Communications Service, etc.).  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, the 

commissioner's duly authorized representative, or in the event 

of the commissioner's absence or a vacancy in the office of 

State Health Commissioner, the Acting Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner.  

"Continuing education" or "CE" means an instructional 

program that enhances a particular area of knowledge or skills 

beyond compulsory or required initial training. 

"Course" means a basic or advanced life support training 

program leading to certification or award of continuing 

education credit hours.  

"Course coordinator" means the person identified on the 

course approval request as the coordinator who is responsible 

with the physician course director for all aspects of the 

program including but not limited to assuring adherence to 

the rules and regulations, office policies, and any contract 

components.  

"Critical care" or "CC" in the air medical environment is a 

mission defined as an interfacility transport of a critically ill 

or injured patient whose condition warrants care 

commensurate with the scope of practice of a physician or 

registered nurse. 
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"Critical criteria" means an identified essential element of a 

state practical certification examination that must be properly 

performed to successfully pass the station.  

"Defibrillation" means the discharge of an electrical current 

through a patient's heart for the purpose of restoring a 

perfusing cardiac rhythm. For the purpose of these 

regulations, defibrillation includes cardioversion.  

"Defibrillator -- automated external" or "AED" means an 

automatic or semi-automatic device, or both, capable of 

rhythm analysis and defibrillation after electronically 

detecting the presence of ventricular fibrillation and 

ventricular tachycardia, approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration.  

"Defibrillator -- manual" means a monitor/defibrillator that 

has no capability for rhythm analysis and will charge and 

deliver a shock only at the command of the operator. For the 

purpose of compliance with these regulations, a manual 

defibrillator must be capable of synchronized cardioversion 

and noninvasive external pacing. A manual defibrillator must 

be approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.  

"Designated emergency response agency" means an EMS 

agency recognized by an ordinance or a resolution of the 

governing body of any county, city or town as an integral part 

of the official public safety program of the county, city or 

town with a responsibility for providing emergency medical 

response.  

"Designated infection control officer" means a liaison 

between the medical facility treating the source patient and 

the exposed employee. This person has been formally trained 

for this position and is knowledgeable in proper post 

exposure medical follow up procedures and current 

regulations and laws governing disease transmission. 

"Director" means the Director of the Office of Emergency 

Medical Services.  

"Diversion" means a change in the normal or established 

pattern of patient transport at the direction of a medical care 

facility.  

"Emergency medical services" or "EMS" means health care, 

public health, and public safety services used in the medical 

response to the real or perceived need for immediate medical 

assessment, care, or transportation and preventive care or 

transportation in order to prevent loss of life or aggravation of 

physiological or psychological illness or injury. 

"EMS Advisory Board" means the Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Board as appointed by the Governor.  

"EMS agency status report" means a report submitted on 

forms specified by the Office of EMS that documents the 

operational capabilities of an EMS agency including data on 

personnel, vehicles and other related resources.  

"EMS education coordinator" means any EMS provider, 

registered nurse, physician assistant, doctor of osteopathic 

medicine, or doctor of medicine who possesses Virginia 

certification as an EMS education coordinator. Such 

certification does not confer authorization to practice EMS. 

"Emergency medical services agency" or "EMS agency" 

means any person engaged in the business, service, or regular 

activity, whether or not for profit, of transporting or rendering 

immediate medical care and providing transportation to 

persons who are sick, injured, or otherwise incapacitated or 

helpless and that holds a valid license as an emergency 

medical services agency issued by the commissioner in 

accordance with § 32.1-111.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Emergency medical services personnel" or "EMS 

personnel" means individuals who are employed by or 

affiliated members of an emergency medical services agency 

and who provide emergency medical services pursuant to an 

emergency medical services agency license issued to that 

agency by the commissioner and in accordance with the 

authorization of that agency's operational medical director. 

"Emergency medical services physician" or "EMS 

physician" means a physician who holds current endorsement 

from the Office of EMS and may serve as an EMS agency 

operational medical director or training program physician 

course director.  

"Emergency medical services provider" or "EMS provider" 

means any person who holds a valid certificate as an 

emergency medical services provider issued by the 

commissioner.  

"Emergency medical services system" or "EMS system" 

means the system of emergency medical services agencies, 

vehicles, equipment, and personnel; health care facilities; 

other health care and emergency services providers; and other 

components engaged in the planning, coordination, and 

delivery of emergency medical services in the 

Commonwealth, including individuals and facilities providing 

communications and other services necessary to facilitate the 

delivery of emergency medical services in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Emergency medical services vehicle" or "EMS vehicle" 

means any vehicle, vessel, aircraft, or ambulance that holds a 

valid emergency medical services vehicle permit issued by 

the Office of EMS that is equipped, maintained or operated to 

provide emergency medical care or transportation of patients 

who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise incapacitated or 

helpless.  

"Emergency medical services vehicle permit" means an 

authorization issued by the Office of EMS for any vehicle, 

vessel or aircraft meeting the standards and criteria 

established by regulation for emergency medical services 

vehicles.  
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"Emergency medical technician instructor" means an EMS 

provider who holds a valid certification issued by the Office 

of EMS to announce and coordinate BLS programs. 

"Emergency vehicle operator's course" or "EVOC" means an 

approved course of instruction for EMS vehicle operators that 

includes safe driving skills, knowledge of the state motor 

vehicle code affecting emergency vehicles, and driving skills 

necessary for operation of emergency vehicles during 

response to an incident or transport of a patient to a health 

care facility. This course must include classroom and driving 

range skill instruction. An approved course of instruction 

includes the course objectives as identified within the U.S. 

Department of Transportation Emergency Vehicle Operator 

curriculum or as approved by the Office of EMS. 

"Exam series" means a sequence of opportunities to 

complete a certification examination with any allowed retest.  

"FAA" means the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration.  

"FAR" means Federal Aviation Regulations.  

"FCC" means the U.S. Federal Communications 

Commission.  

"Financial Assistance Review Committee" or "FARC" 

means the committee appointed by the EMS Advisory Board 

to administer the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  

"Full accreditation" means an accreditation decision 

awarded to an entity that demonstrates satisfactory 

compliance with applicable Virginia standards in all 

performance areas.  

"Fund" means the Virginia Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  

"Institutional self study" means a document whereby 

training programs seeking accreditation answer questions 

about their program for the purpose of determining their level 

of preparation to conduct initial EMS training programs. 

"Instructor" means the teacher for a specific class or lesson 

of an EMS training program. 

"Instructor aide" means providers certified at or above the 

level of instruction. 

"Interfacility transport" in the air medical environment 

means as a mission for whom an admitted patient or patients 

were transported from a hospital or care giving facility 

(clinic, nursing home, etc.) to a receiving facility or airport. 

"Interim accreditation" means an accreditation decision that 

results when a previously unaccredited EMS entity has been 

granted approval to operate one training program, for a period 

not to exceed 120 days, during which its application is being 

considered and before a provisional or full accreditation is 

issued, providing the following conditions are satisfied: (i) a 

complete application for accreditation is received by the 

Office of EMS and (ii) a complete institutional self study is 

submitted to the Office of EMS. Students attending a program 

with interim accreditation will not be eligible to sit for state 

testing until the entity achieves official notification of 

accreditation at the provisional or full level.  

"Invasive procedure" means a medical procedure that 

involves entry into the living body, as by incision or by 

insertion of an instrument. 

"License" means an authorization issued by the Office of 

EMS to provide emergency medical services in the state as an 

EMS agency.  

"Local EMS resource" means a person recognized by the 

Office of EMS to perform specified functions for a designated 

geographic area. This person may be designated to perform 

one or more of the functions otherwise provided by regional 

EMS councils.  

"Local EMS response plan" means a written document that 

details the primary service area and responding interval 

standards as approved by the local government and the 

operational medical director.  

"Local governing body" or "governing body" means 

members of the governing body of a city, county, or town in 

the Commonwealth who are elected to that position or their 

designee. 

"Major medical emergency" means an emergency that 

cannot be managed through the use of locally available 

emergency medical resources and that requires 

implementation of special procedures to ensure the best 

outcome for the greatest number of patients as determined by 

the EMS provider in charge or incident commander on the 

scene. This event includes local emergencies declared by the 

locality's government and states of emergency declared by the 

Governor.  

"Medical care facility" means, as defined by § 32.1-102.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, any institution, place, building or 

agency, whether licensed or required to be licensed by the 

board or the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, whether operated for profit or 

nonprofit and whether privately owned or privately operated 

or owned or operated by a local governmental unit, by or in 

which health services are furnished, conducted, operated or 

offered for the prevention, diagnosis or treatment of human 

disease, pain, injury, deformity or physical condition, whether 

medical or surgical.  

"Medical control" means the direction and advice provided 

through a communications device (on-line) to on-site and in-

transit EMS personnel from a designated medical care facility 

staffed by appropriate personnel and operating under 

physician supervision.  

"Medical direction" means the direction and supervision of 

EMS personnel by the Operational Medical Director of the 

EMS agency with which he is affiliated.  
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"Medical emergency" means the sudden onset of a medical 

condition that manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient 

severity, including severe pain, that the absence of immediate 

medical attention could reasonably be expected by a prudent 

layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and 

medicine to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or 

physical health of the individual, (ii) danger of serious 

impairment of the individual's bodily functions, (iii) serious 

dysfunction of any of the individual's bodily organs, or (iv) in 

the case of a pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the health 

of the fetus.  

"Medical practitioner" means a physician, dentist, podiatrist, 

licensed nurse practitioner, licensed physician's assistant, or 

other person licensed, registered or otherwise permitted to 

distribute, dispense, prescribe and administer, or conduct 

research with respect to, a controlled substance in the course 

of professional practice or research in this Commonwealth.  

"Mutual aid agreement" means a written document 

specifying a formal understanding to lend aid to an EMS 

agency.  

"Neonatal" or "neonate" means, for the purpose of 

interfacility transportation, any infant who is deemed a 

newborn within a hospital, has not been discharged since the 

birthing process, and is currently receiving medical care 

under a physician. 

"Nonprofit" means without the intention of financial gain, 

advantage, or benefit as defined by federal tax law.  

"OSHA" means the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration or Virginia Occupational Safety and Health, 

the state agency designated to perform its functions in 

Virginia.  

"Office of EMS" means the Office of Emergency Medical 

Services within the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Operational medical director" or "OMD" means an EMS 

physician, currently licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth, who is formally 

recognized and responsible for providing medical direction, 

oversight and quality improvement to an EMS agency and 

personnel. 

"Operator" means a person qualified and designated to drive 

or pilot a specified class of permitted EMS vehicle.  

"Patient" means a person who needs immediate medical 

attention or transport, or both, whose physical or mental 

condition is such that he is in danger of loss of life or health 

impairment, or who may be incapacitated or helpless as a 

result of physical or mental condition or a person who 

requires medical attention during transport from one medical 

care facility to another.  

"Person" means, as defined in the Code of Virginia, any 

person, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company, 

or group of individuals acting together for a common purpose 

or organization of any kind, including any government 

agency other than an agency of the United States government.  

"Physician" means an individual who holds a valid, 

unrestricted license to practice medicine or osteopathy in the 

Commonwealth.  

"Physician assistant" means an individual who holds a valid, 

unrestricted license to practice as a physician assistant in the 

Commonwealth.  

"Physician course director" or "PCD" means an EMS 

physician who is responsible for the clinical aspects of 

emergency medical care training programs, including the 

clinical and field actions of enrolled students.  

"Prehospital patient care report" or "PPCR" means a 

document used to summarize the facts and events of an EMS 

incident and includes, but is not limited to, the type of 

medical emergency or nature of the call, the response time, 

the treatment provided and other minimum data items as 

prescribed by the board. "PPCR" includes any supplements, 

addenda, or other related attachments that document patient 

information or care provided.  

"Prehospital scene" means, in the air medical environment, 

the direct response to the scene of incident or injury, such as a 

roadway, etc. 

"Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 

to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 

issue a prescription.  

"Primary retest status" means any candidate or provider who 

failed his primary certification attempt. Primary retest status 

expires 90 days after the primary test date. 

"Primary service area" means the specific geographic area 

designated or prescribed by a locality (county, city or town) 

in which an EMS agency provides prehospital emergency 

medical care or transportation. This designated or prescribed 

geographic area served must include all locations for which 

the EMS agency is principally dispatched (i.e., first due 

response agency).  

"Private Mobile Radio Service" or "PMRS" means the same 

as that term is defined in § 20.3 of the Federal 

Communications Commission's Rules, 47 CFR 20.3. For 

purposes of this definition, PMRS includes "industrial" and 

"public safety" radio services authorized under Part 90 of the 

Federal Communications Commission's Rules, 47 CFR 90.1 

et seq., with the exception of certain for-profit commercial 

paging services and 800/900 MHz Specialized Mobile Radio 

Services that are interconnected to the public switched 

telephone network and are therefore classified as CMRS. 

"Probationary status" means the Office of EMS will place an 

institution on publicly disclosed probation when it has not 

completed a timely, thorough, and credible root cause 
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analysis and action plan of any sentinel event occurring there. 

When the entity completes an acceptable root cause analysis 

and develops an acceptable action plan, the Office of EMS 

will remove the probation designation from the entity's 

accreditation status.  

"Provisional accreditation" means an accreditation decision 

that results when a previously unaccredited entity has 

demonstrated satisfactory compliance with a subset of 

standards during a preliminary on-site evaluation. This 

decision remains in effect for a period not to exceed 365 days, 

until one of the other official accreditation decision categories 

is assigned based upon an a follow-up site visit against all 

applicable standards.  

"Public safety answering point" or "PSAP" means a facility 

equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to receive requests 

for emergency medical assistance for one or more EMS 

agencies.  

"Quality management program" or "QM" means the 

continuous study of and improvement of an EMS agency or 

system including the collection of data, the identification of 

deficiencies through continuous evaluation, the education of 

personnel and the establishment of goals, policies and 

programs that improve patient outcomes in EMS systems.  

"Reaccreditation date" means the date of the reaccreditation 

decision that is awarded to an entity following a full site visit 

and review. 

"Recertification" means the process used by certified EMS 

personnel to maintain their training certifications.  

"Reentry" means the process by which EMS personnel may 

regain a training certification that has lapsed within the last 

two years.  

"Reentry status" means any candidate or provider whose 

certification has lapsed within the last two years. 

"Regional EMS council" means an organization designated 

by the board that is authorized to receive and disburse public 

funds in compliance with established performance standards 

and whose function is to plan, develop, maintain, expand and 

improve an efficient and effective regional emergency 

medical services system within a designated geographical 

area pursuant to § 32.1-111.4:2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional trauma triage plan" means a formal written plan 

developed by a regional EMS council or local EMS resource 

and approved by the commissioner that incorporates the 

region's geographic variations, trauma care capabilities and 

resources for the triage of trauma patients pursuant to § 32.1-

111.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Registered nurse" means a person who is licensed or holds 

a multistate privilege under the provisions of Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia to 

practice professional nursing. 

"Regulated medical device" means equipment or other items 

that may only be purchased or possessed upon the approval of 

a physician and that the manufacture or sale of which is 

regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.  

"Regulated waste" means liquid or semi-liquid blood or 

other potentially infectious materials; contaminated items that 

would release blood or other potentially infectious materials 

in a liquid or semi-liquid state if compressed; items that are 

caked with dried blood or potentially infectious materials and 

are capable of releasing these materials during handling; 

items dripping with liquid product; contaminated sharps; 

pathological and microbiological waste containing blood or 

other potentially infectious materials.  

"Regulations" means, as defined in the Code of Virginia, 

any statement of general application, having the force of law, 

affecting the rights or conduct of any person, promulgated by 

an authorized board or agency.  

"Rescue" means a service that may include the search for 

lost persons, gaining access to persons trapped, extrication of 

persons from potentially dangerous situations and the 

rendering of other assistance to such persons.  

"Rescue vehicle" means a vehicle, vessel or aircraft that is 

maintained and operated to assist with the location and 

removal of victims from a hazardous or life-threatening 

situation to areas of safety or treatment.  

"Responding time" means the elapsed time in minutes 

between the time a call for emergency medical services is 

received by the PSAP until the appropriate emergency 

medical response unit arrives on the scene. 

"Responding time standard" means a time standard in 

minutes, established by the EMS agency, the locality and 

OMD, in which the EMS agency will comply with 90% or 

greater reliability.  

"Response obligation to locality" means a requirement of a 

designated emergency response agency to lend aid to all other 

designated emergency response agencies within the locality 

or localities in which the EMS agency is based.  

"Revocation" means the permanent removal of an EMS 

agency license, vehicle permit, training certification, ALS 

coordinator endorsement, EMS education coordinator, EMS 

physician endorsement or any other designation issued by the 

Office of EMS. 

"Safety apparel" means personal protective safety clothing 

that is intended to provide conspicuity during both daytime 

and nighttime usage and that meets the Performance Class 2 

or 3 requirements of the ANSI/ISEA 107–2010 publication 

entitled "American National Standard for High-Visibility 

Safety Apparel and Headwear." 

"Secondary certification status" means any candidate or 

provider who is no longer in primary retest status. 
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"Secondary retest status" means any candidate or provider 

who failed their secondary certification attempt. Secondary 

retest status expires 90 days after the secondary test date. 

"Sentinel event" means any significant occurrence, action, or 

change in the operational status of the entity from the time 

when it either applied for candidate status or was accredited. 

The change in status can be based on but not limited to one or 

all of the events indicated below: 

Entering into an agreement of sale of an accredited entity 

or an accreditation candidate. 

Entering into an agreement to purchase or otherwise 

directly or indirectly acquire an accredited entity or 

accreditation candidate. 

Financial impairment of an accredited entity or candidate 

for accreditation, which affects its operational performance 

or entity control. 

Insolvency or bankruptcy filing. 

Change in ownership or control greater than 25%. 

Disruption of service to student body. 

Discontinuance of classes or business operations. 

Failure to report a change in program personnel, location, 

change in training level or Committee on Accreditation of 

Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services 

Professions (CoAEMSP) accreditation status. 

Failure to meet minimum examination scores as 

established by the Office of EMS. 

Loss of CoAEMSP or Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) 

accreditation. 

Company fine or fines of greater than $100,000 for 

regulatory violation, marketing or advertising practices, 

antitrust, or tax disputes. 

"Special conditions" means a notation placed upon an EMS 

agency or registration, variance or exemption documents that 

modifies or restricts specific requirements of these 

regulations.  

"Specialized air medical training" means a course of 

instruction and continuing education in the concept of flight 

physiology and the effects of flight on patients that has been 

approved by the Office of EMS. This training must include 

but is not limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, 

safety around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 

operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 

familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 

and survival training specific to service area.  

"Specialty care mission" in the air medical environment 

means the transport of a patient requiring specialty patient 

care by one or more medical professionals who are added to 

the regularly scheduled medical transport team. 

"Specialty care provider" in the air medical environment 

means a provider of specialized medical care, to include but 

not limited to neonatal, pediatric, and perinatal. 

"Standard of care" means the established approach to the 

provision of basic and advanced medical care that is 

considered appropriate, prudent and in the best interests of 

patients within a geographic area as derived by consensus 

among the physicians responsible for the delivery and 

oversight of that care. The standard of care is dynamic with 

changes reflective of knowledge gained by research and 

practice.  

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means 

preestablished written agency authorized procedures and 

guidelines for activities performed by affiliated EMS agency.  

"Supplemented transport" means an interfacility transport 

for which the sending physician has determined that the 

medically necessary care and equipment needs of a critically 

injured or ill patient is beyond the scope of practice of the 

available EMS personnel of the EMS agency.  

"Suspension" means the temporary removal of an EMS 

agency license, vehicle permit, training certification, ALS 

coordinator endorsement, EMS education coordinator, EMS 

physician endorsement or any other designation issued by the 

Office of EMS.  

"Test site coordinator" means an individual designated by 

the Office of EMS to coordinate the logistics of a state 

certification examination site.  

"Training officer" means an individual who is responsible 

for the maintenance and completion of agency personnel 

training records and who acts as a liaison between the agency, 

the operational medical director, and a participant in the 

agency and regional quality assurance process. 

"Trauma center" means a specialized hospital facility 

distinguished by the immediate availability of specialized 

surgeons, physician specialists, anesthesiologists, nurses, and 

resuscitation and life support equipment on a 24-hour basis to 

care for severely injured patients or those at risk for severe 

injury. In Virginia, trauma centers are designated by the 

Virginia Department of Health as Level I, II or III.  

"Trauma center designation" means the formal recognition 

by the board of a hospital as a provider of specialized services 

to meet the needs of the severely injured patient. This usually 

involves a contractual relationship based on adherence to 

standards.  

"Triage" means the process of sorting patients to establish 

treatment and transportation priorities according to severity of 

injury and medical need.  

"USDOT" means the U.S. Department of Transportation.  
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"Vehicle operating weight" means the combined weight of 

the vehicle, vessel or craft; a full complement of fuel; and all 

required and optional equipment and supplies.  

"Virginia Statewide Trauma Registry" or "Trauma Registry" 

means a collection of data on patients who receive hospital 

care for certain types of injuries. The collection and analysis 

of such data is primarily intended to evaluate the quality of 

trauma care and outcomes in individual institutions and 

trauma systems. The secondary purpose is to provide useful 

information for the surveillance of injury morbidity and 

mortality.  

12VAC5-31-910. Criminal or enforcement history. 

A. General denial. Application for affiliation or certification 

of individuals convicted of certain crimes present an 

unreasonable risk to public health and safety. Thus, 

applications for affiliation or certification by individuals 

convicted of the following crimes will be denied in all cases:  

1. Felonies involving sexual misconduct where the victim's 

failure to affirmatively consent is an element of the crime, 

such as forcible rape.  

2. Felonies involving the sexual or physical abuse of 

children, the elderly or the infirm, such as sexual 

misconduct with a child, making or distributing child 

pornography or using a child in a sexual display, incest 

involving a child, or assault on an elderly or infirm person.  

3. Any crime in which the victim is an out-of-hospital 

patient or a patient or resident of a healthcare health care 

facility including abuse of, neglect of, theft from, or 

financial exploitation of a person entrusted to the care or 

protection of the applicant. 

4. Serious crimes of violence against persons such as 

assault or battery with a dangerous weapon, aggravated 

assault and battery, murder or attempted murder, 

manslaughter except involuntary manslaughter, 

kidnapping, robbery of any degree, or arson. 

5. Has been subject to a permanent revocation of license or 

certification by another state EMS office or other 

recognized state or national healthcare health care provider 

licensing or certifying body. 

B. Presumptive denial. Application for affiliation or current 

certification by individuals in the following categories will be 

denied except in extraordinary circumstances, and then will 

be granted only if the applicant or provider establishes by 

clear and convincing evidence that certification will not 

jeopardize public health and safety. 

1. Application for affiliation or certification by individuals 

who have been convicted of any crime and who are 

currently incarcerated, on work release, on probation, or on 

parole. 

2. Application for affiliation or certification by individuals 

convicted of crimes in the following categories unless at 

least five years have passed since the conviction or five 

years have passed since release from custodial confinement 

whichever occurs later: 

a. Crimes involving controlled substances or synthetics, 

including unlawful possession or distribution or intent to 

distribute unlawfully Schedule I through V drugs as 

defined by the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

b. Serious crimes against property, such as grand larceny, 

burglary, embezzlement, or insurance fraud. 

c. Any other crime involving sexual misconduct. 

3. Is currently under any disciplinary or enforcement action 

from another state EMS office or other recognized state or 

national healthcare provider licensing or certifying body. 

Personnel subject to these disciplinary or enforcement 

actions may be eligible for affiliation or certification 

provided there have been no further disciplinary or 

enforcement actions for five years prior to application for 

certification in Virginia.  

C. Permitted vehicle operations. Agencies are responsible 

for the monitoring of compliance with all driving criteria set 

forth in these regulations. 

1. Personnel operating OEMS permitted vehicles shall 

posses a valid operator's or driver's license from his state of 

residence.  

2. Personnel operating OEMS permitted vehicles shall not 

have been convicted on any charge as described in 

subsections A and B of this section. 

3. Personnel who as the proximate result of having 

operated an OEMS permitted vehicle are (i) convicted of 

driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or (ii) 

sentenced or assigned to any alcohol safety action program 

or any driver alcohol rehabilitation program pursuant to the 

Code of Virginia shall be prohibited from operating any 

OEMS permitted vehicle. Personnel or agencies shall be 

required to report these situations to OEMS. 

4. Agencies shall develop and maintain policies that 

address driver eligibility, record review, and vehicle 

operation. Such policies must minimally address: 

a. Driving education or training required for personnel to 

include information on the agency's policy content; 

b. Safe operation of vehicles; 

c. Agency driving record review procedures; 

d. Requirement for immediate agency notification by 

personnel regarding any convictions, regardless of the 

state where an infraction occurred or changes to his 

operator's or driver's license. The immediate agency 
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notification shall be defined as no more than 10 calendar 

days following the conviction date; and  

e. Identification of internal mechanisms regarding agency 

level actions for driver penalties (i.e., probation or 

suspension of driving privileges). 

D. All references to criminal acts or convictions under this 

section refer to substantially similar laws or regulations of 

any other state or the United States. Convictions include prior 

adult convictions, juvenile convictions and adjudications of 

delinquency based on an offense that would have been, at the 

time of conviction, a felony conviction if committed by an 

adult within or outside Virginia.  

E. Agencies shall submit a report regarding items in this 

section to OEMS upon request. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-3991; Filed August 22, 2018, 4:47 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 

12VAC5-71-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Joseph Hilbert, Director of Governmental 

and Regulatory Affairs, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7001, FAX (804) 864-7022, or email 

joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 562 and 563 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments add Pompe disease and 

mucopolysaccharidosis type I (MPS I) to the Virginia 

Newborn Screening System's core panel of heritable 

disorders and genetic diseases.  

12VAC5-71-30. Core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases.  

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System, which includes 

the Virginia Newborn Screening Program, the Virginia Early 

Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, and the Virginia 

critical congenital heart disease screening, shall ensure that 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn screening is conducted is consistent with but 

not necessarily identical to the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services Secretary's Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel. 

B. The department shall review, at least biennially, national 

recommendations and guidelines and may propose changes to 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests are 

conducted.  

C. The Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee may be 

consulted and provide advice to the commissioner on 

proposed changes to the core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases for which newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening tests are conducted.  

D. Infants under six months of age who are born in Virginia 

shall be screened in accordance with the provisions set forth 

in this chapter for the following heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases, which are identified through newborn dried-

blood-spot screening tests:  

1. Argininosuccinic aciduria (ASA);  

2. Beta-Ketothiolase deficiency (BKT);  

3. Biotinidase deficiency (BIOT);  

4. Carnitine uptake defect (CUD);  

5. Classical galactosemia (galactose-1-phosphate 

uridyltransferase deficiency) (GALT);  

6. Citrullinemia type I (CIT-I);  

7. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH);  

8. Cystic fibrosis (CF);  

9. Glutaric acidemia type I (GA I);  

10. Hb S beta-thalassemia (Hb F,S,A);  

11. Hb SC-disease (Hb F,S,C);  

12. Hb SS-disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb F, S); 

13. Homocystinuria (HCY);  

14. Isovaleric acidemia (IVA);  

15. Long chain L-3-Hydroxy acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (LCHAD);  

16. Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD);  

17. Medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(MCAD);  

18. Methylmalonic acidemia (Methylmalonyl-CoA mutase 

deficiency) (MUT);  

19. Methylmalonic acidemia (Adenosylcobalamin 

synthesis deficiency) (CBL A, CBL B);  
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20. Multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD);  

21. Phenylketonuria (PKU);  

22. Primary congenital hypothyroidism (CH); 

23. Propionic acidemia (PROP);  

24. Severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID); 

25. Tyrosinemia type I (TYR I);  

26. Trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP);  

27. Very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(VLCAD);  

28. 3-hydroxy 3-methyl glutaric aciduria (HMG); and  

29. 3-Methylcrotonyl-CoA carboxylase deficiency (3-

MCC); 

30. Pompe disease; and 

31. Mucopolysaccharidosis type I (MPS I).  

E. Infants born in Virginia shall be screened for hearing loss 

in accordance with provisions set forth in §§ 32.1-64.1 and 

32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia and as governed by 

12VAC5-80.  

F. Newborns born in Virginia shall be screened for critical 

congenital heart disease in accordance with provisions set 

forth in §§ 32.1-65.1 and 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia and 

as governed by 12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5461; Filed August 23, 2018, 5:34 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-615. Authorized Onsite Soil 

Evaluator Regulations (repealing 12VAC5-615-10 

through 12VAC5-615-470).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-163.5 and 32.1-164 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Allen Knapp, Director, Office of 

Environmental Health Services, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7558, FAX (804) 864-7475, or email 

allen.knapp@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Health does not have a statutory 

mandate to establish a program for authorized onsite soil 

evaluators (AOSEs) because of the amendments to the Code 

of Virginia pursuant to Chapter 892 of the 2007 Acts of 

Assembly. The board still has legislative authority to accept 

and review evaluations and designs from licensed onsite soil 

evaluators pursuant to §§ 32.1-163, 32.1-163.5, 32.1-163.6, 

and 32.1-164 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The health, safety, and welfare of citizens will not 

be affected by repeal of the Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators 

Regulations, which were promulgated July 1, 2002. Chapter 

892 rescinded certificate requirements administered by the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) and directed the Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals to promulgate regulations for 

persons seeking a license as an onsite soil evaluator. The 

legislation obviates the need for the State Board of Health to 

administer a certificate program for AOSEs, and the Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals adopted regulations for onsite 

soil evaluators (18VAC160-20). 

The VDH AOSE regulations unnecessarily establish a 

certificate program for qualifying individuals as AOSEs, 

including conflict of interest requirements. Documentation 

requirements in the VDH regulations for reports and designs 

are now contained in VDH policies that implement other 

regulations (e.g., 12VAC5-610, 12VAC5-613, 12VAC5-640, 

and 12VAC5-630). Processing time limits and definitions 

have been established in the Code of Virginia and agency 

policies, which further render the VDH AOSE regulations 

unnecessary. 

Substance: All requirements in 12VAC5-615 are repealed. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth will be to remove unnecessary regulations 

that are not being implemented by VDH. Repealing the 

regulation will prevent confusion. There are no disadvantages 

to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of action by the Virginia General Assembly, the Board 

of Health (Board) proposes to repeal this regulation.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 892, 2007 Virginia 

Acts of Assembly1 transferred implementation, 

administration, and enforcement of licensing requirements for 

onsite soil evaluators from the Virginia Department of Health 

(VDH) to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation with administration by the Board for Waterworks 

and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals. The Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

promulgated regulations for onsite soil evaluators on July 1, 

2009 (18VAC160-20). House Bill 3134 abrogated the Board's 

authority to license Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluators 

(AOSEs); and while Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia 

contains other references to the Board's regulation of AOSEs, 

VDH has successfully implemented those statutory provisions 

independent of 12VAC5-615. Thus, the proposed repeal of 
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this regulation will have no impact beyond potentially 

reducing confusion as toward the licensure rules for AOSEs 

in effect. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. As mentioned above, the 

proposed repeal of this regulation will have no impact beyond 

potentially reducing confusion as toward the licensure rules 

for onsite soil evaluators in effect. Firms involved in onsite 

soil evaluation would be most interested in the rules. The 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

currently licenses 388 onsite soil evaluators.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not disproportionately affect particular 

localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed repeal of the regulation will not 

adversely affect other entities. 

_____________________________ 

1To view the text of this legislation, see http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-
bin/legp504.exe?071+ful+CHAP0892 

2Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the Department 

of Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. The 

benefits of repealing the regulations likely exceed the costs 

for all of the proposed changes.  

Summary: 

Chapter 892 of the 2007 Acts of Assembly transferred 

implementation, administration, and enforcement of 

licensing requirements for authorized onsite soil 

evaluators from the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

to the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals, which 

promulgated regulations for onsite soil evaluators on July 

1, 2009 (18VAC160-20). VDH successfully implemented 

statutory provisions for reports and designs independent of 

12VAC5-615, making the chapter no longer necessary. The 

proposed action repeals 12VAC5-615.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3127; Filed August 16, 2018, 1:49 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-900, 12VAC30-120-935).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require services facilitators for all 

persons in the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer 

Direction Waiver receiving consumer-directed personal 

care services; (ii) revise several definitions for consistency 

with other home and community-based services waivers; 

and (iii) establish qualifications, education, and training 

for services facilitators pursuant to Item 301 FFF of 

Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly and Item 306 XX 

of Chapter 780 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?071+ful+CHAP0892
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?071+ful+CHAP0892
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or performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 

younger than 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions 

found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age, who are 

Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 

care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 

services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local social services 

departments on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 

shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 

service. 

4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 

of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 

and treatment services means the following services: 

screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 

services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 

services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 

Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 

physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 

the screening services and which are medically necessary, 

whether or not such services are covered under the State 

Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 

recipients ages 21 years and older, provided for by 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. 

5. Community mental health services. These services in 

order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 

based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 

within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in 

provider records and on providers' claims for services by 

recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 

with the requested professional services.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the 

use of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12 

through 20 years of age; a child means an individual 

from birth up to 12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral 

health benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers, who are 

involved with an individual's health care, to improve the 

care.  

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, 

or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 

certification program approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 

(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 

children and adolescents, (iii) community-based 

residential services for children and adolescents who are 

younger than 21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) 

therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). Experience 

shall not include unsupervised internships, unsupervised 

practicums, and unsupervised field experience. The 

equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 

purpose of this requirement shall be as established by 

DBHDS in the document entitled Human Services and 

Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued 

March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides 

direct supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The 

direct supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification 

training as a PRS under a certifying body approved by 

DBHDS, and have documented completion of the 

DBHDS PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified 

mental health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or 

QMHP-E) as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least 

two consecutive years of documented experience as a 
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QMHP, and who has documented completion of the 

DBHDS PRS supervisor training; or (iii) shall be an 

LMHP who has documented completion of the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training who is acting within his scope of 

practice under state law. An LMHP providing services 

before April 1, 2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to 

complete the DBHDS PRS supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor or contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved 

Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, revised 

May 3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for 

licensed marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 

18VAC115-60-10 for licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. An LMHP-resident shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements of the 

applicable counseling profession for supervised practice 

and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-R or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by such residents, they shall use the 

title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 

profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means 

the same as an individual in a residency, as that term is 

defined in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical 

psychologists. An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be 

in continuous compliance with the regulatory 

requirements for supervised experience as found in 

18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the functions of 

the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until the 

supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 

supervisors for services provided by such residents, they 

shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their 

signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in 

continuous compliance with the regulatory requirements 

for supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be 

considered a "supervisee" until the supervision for 

specific clinical duties at a specific site is preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. For 

purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall 

use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their 

signatures to indicate such status.  

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific 

documentation that contains the unique differences 

particular to the individual's circumstances, treatment, 

and progress that is also signed and contemporaneously 

dated by the provider's professional staff who have 

prepared the notes. Individualized and member-specific 

progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 

requirements and shall convey the individual's status, 

staff interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's 

progress, or lack of progress, toward goals and objectives 

in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at a 

minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of 

the service rendered, the signature and credentials of the 

person who rendered the service, the setting in which the 

service was rendered, and the amount of time or 

units/hours required to deliver the service. The content of 

each progress note shall corroborate the time/units billed. 

Progress notes shall be documented for each service that 

is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental 

illness and its effects in order to design effective 

treatment plans and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 
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mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 

solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-

C" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or 

"QMHP-E" means the same as the term is defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-590.  

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or 

"QPPMH" means the same as the term is defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the 

same as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information 

from the child or adolescent, and parent or other family 

member or members, as appropriate, about the child's or 

adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health care problems and issues and shall contain all of 

the following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for 

referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 

previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 

response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 

developmental history including history of abuse, if 

appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) 

current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol 

profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status 

exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 

summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 

care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 

the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same 

as defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

b. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 

interventions provided in the individual's residence and 

when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family 

dynamics, provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 

individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-

home placement or who is being transitioned to home 

from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 

medical need of the individual. These services provide 

crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 

understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 

anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 

care coordination with other required services; and 24-

hour emergency response.  

(1) These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 

Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

(2) Service authorization shall be required for services to 

continue beyond the initial 26 weeks. 

(3) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(4) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 

two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 

to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication education 

and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 

living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 

(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 

responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 

peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 

counseling.  

(1) Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 
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(2) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) These services may be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 

adolescents under 21 years of age (Level A) pursuant to 

42 CFR 440.031(d). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 

services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 

services will provide structure for daily activities, 

psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 

necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual® Criteria or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 

receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 

date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 

facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Standards for 

Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-

151), Regulation Governing Juvenile Group Homes and 

Halfway Houses (6VAC35-41), or Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 

seven psychoeducational activities per week. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, stress management, and any 

care coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 

with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was 

transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

e. Therapeutic behavioral services (Level B) pursuant to 

42 CFR 440.130(d). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 

in a residential setting. The residential services will 

provide structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, 

therapeutic supervision, care coordination, and 

psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 

therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 

individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 

qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 

necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities 

in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 

service must reasonably be expected to improve the 

child's condition or prevent regression so that the 

services will no longer be needed. The application of a 

national standardized set of medical necessity criteria in 

use in the industry, such as McKesson InterQual® 

Criteria, or an equivalent standard authorized in advance 

by DMAS shall be required for this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. 
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(3) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services 

are not reimbursed. DMAS shall reimburse only for 

services provided in facilities or programs with no more 

than 16 beds.  

(4) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 

Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 

of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 

Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 

limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 

skills, anger management, social skills, family living 

skills, communication skills, and stress management. 

This service may be provided in a program setting or a 

community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 

individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 

psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services that are based 

upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(9) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

(10) The facility/group home shall coordinate necessary 

services with other providers. Documentation of this care 

coordination shall be maintained by the facility/group 

home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 

and what information was transmitted. 

f. Mental health family support partners. 

(1) Mental health family support partners are peer 

recovery support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-

peer activities that engage, educate, and support the 

caregiver and an individual's self-help efforts to improve 

health recovery resiliency and wellness. Mental health 

family support partners is a peer support service and is a 

strength-based, individualized service provided to the 

caregiver of a Medicaid-eligible individual younger than 

21 years of age with a mental health disorder that is the 

focus of support. The services provided to the caregiver 

and individual must be directed exclusively toward the 

benefit of the Medicaid-eligible individual. Services are 

expected to improve outcomes for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age with complex needs who are 

involved with multiple systems and increase the 

individual's and family's confidence and capacity to 

manage their own services and supports while promoting 

recovery and healthy relationships. These services are 

rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a minor or adult 

child with a similar mental health disorder or (ii) an adult 

with personal experience with a family member with a 

similar mental health disorder with experience navigating 

behavioral health care services. The PRS shall perform 

the service within the scope of his knowledge, lived 

experience, and education. 

(2) Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making the 

recommendation for mental health family support 

partners, the peer recovery specialist in consultation with 

his direct supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation 

for service, the individual's and the caregiver's perceived 

recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or service 

specific provider intakes as defined in this section within 

30 calendar days of the initiation of service. 

Development of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan shall include collaboration with the individual and 

the individual's caregiver. Individualized goals and 

strategies shall be focused on the individual's identified 

needs for self-advocacy and recovery. The recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan shall also include 

documentation of how many days per week and how 

many hours per week are required to carry out the 

services in order to meet the goals of the plan. The 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall be 

completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, the PRS, the 

direct supervisor, the individual, and the individual's 

caregiver within 30 calendar days of the initiation of 

service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for the 

individual, encouraging the individual and the caregiver 

to take a proactive role in developing and updating goals 

and objectives in the individualized recovery planning. 

(3) Documentation of required activities shall be required 

as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A and C through J. 

(4) Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall 

be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210.  

(5) Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of 

age who qualify to receive mental health family support 

partners (i) care for an individual with a mental health 

disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet 

two or more of the following: 

(a) Individual and his caregiver need peer-based 

recovery-oriented services for the maintenance of 

wellness and the acquisition of skills needed to support 

the individual.  
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(b) Individual and his caregiver need assistance to 

develop self-advocacy skills to assist the individual in 

achieving self-management of the individual's health 

status.  

(c) Individual and his caregiver need assistance and 

support to prepare the individual for a successful work or 

school experience.  

(d) Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help 

the individual and caregiver assume responsibility for 

recovery. 

(6) Individuals 18 through 20 years of age who meet the 

medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 e, 

who would benefit from receiving peer supports directly 

and who choose to receive mental health peer support 

services directly instead of through their caregiver, shall 

be permitted to receive mental health peer support 

services by an appropriate PRS. 

(7) To qualify for continued mental health family support 

partners, the requirements for continued services set forth 

in 12VAC30-130-5180 D shall be met. 

(8) Discharge criteria from mental health family support 

partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-

5180 E. 

(9) Mental health family support partners services shall 

be rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

(10) Prior to service initiation, a documented 

recommendation for mental health family support 

partners services shall be made by a licensed mental 

health professional (LMHP) who is acting within his 

scope of practice under state law. The recommendation 

shall verify that the individual meets the medical 

necessity criteria set forth in subdivision 5 a (5) of this 

subsection. The recommendation shall be valid for no 

longer than 30 calendar days. 

(11) Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist 

shall have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification required by DBHDS in order to be eligible 

to register with the Virginia Board of Counseling on or 

after July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations 

by the Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 

The PRS shall perform mental health family support 

partners services under the oversight of the LMHP 

making the recommendation for services and providing 

the clinical oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan. 

(12) The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 

relationship with the enrolled provider licensed for one of 

the following:  

(a) Acute care general and emergency department 

hospital services licensed by the Department of Health.  

(b) Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(c) Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(d) Therapeutic group home licensed by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(e) Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(f) Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

(g) A community mental health and rehabilitative 

services provider licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as a 

provider of one of the following community mental 

health and rehabilitative services as defined in this 

section, 12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, or 

12VAC30-50-430 for which the individual younger than 

21 years meets medical necessity criteria (i) intensive in 

home; (ii) therapeutic day treatment; (iii) day treatment 

or partial hospitalization; (iv) crisis intervention; (v) 

crisis stabilization; (vi) mental health skill building; or 

(vii) mental health case management. 

(13) Only the licensed and enrolled provider as 

referenced in subdivision 5 f (12) of this subsection shall 

be eligible to bill and receive reimbursement from 

DMAS or its contractor for mental health family support 

partner services. Payments shall not be permitted to 

providers that fail to enter into an enrollment agreement 

with DMAS or its contractor. Reimbursement shall be 

subject to retraction for any billed service that is 

determined not to be in compliance with DMAS 

requirements. 

(14) Supervision of the PRS shall be required as set forth 

in 12VAC30-130-5190 E and 12VAC30-130-5200 G. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 

stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 42 CFR 

440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders 

identified under EPSDT when such services are rendered 

by (i) a psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 

program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 

on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or (ii) a 

psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 

or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 

Facilities. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at 
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general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 

12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-

25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 

treatment facilities shall also be subject to the requirements 

of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of Amount, 

Duration and Scope of Selected Services. 

a. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include 

services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 that are provided 

under the direction of a physician pursuant to a 

certification of medical necessity and plan of care 

developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals 

and shall involve active treatment designed to achieve the 

child's discharge from inpatient status at the earliest 

possible time. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit 

shall include services provided under arrangement 

furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 

inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient 

psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the 

provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical 

records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) 

ensures that the services are furnished under the direction 

of a physician. Services provided under arrangement 

shall be documented by a written referral from the 

inpatient psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy 

services, a prescription ordered by an employee or 

contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral.  

b. Eligible services provided under arrangement with the 

inpatient psychiatric facility shall vary by provider type 

as described in this subsection. For purposes of this 

section, emergency services means the same as is set out 

in 12VAC30-50-310 B. 

(1) State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

these services: (i) pharmacy services and (ii) emergency 

services. 

(2) Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 

arrange for, maintain records of, and ensure that 

physicians order these services: (i) medical and 

psychological services including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient 

hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, 

or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology 

services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and 

orthodontic services; (vii) transportation services; and 

(viii) emergency services.  

(3) Residential treatment facilities, as defined at 42 CFR 

483.352, shall arrange for, maintain records of, and 

ensure that physicians order these services: (i) medical 

and psychological services, including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) pharmacy 

services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; (iv) physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for 

individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders; 

(v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) durable 

medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) dental, 

oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) transportation 

services; and (x) emergency services.  

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 

when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 

(i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 

441.151(a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156, and (ii) 

the conditions of participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be preauthorized and 

the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for clinical 

necessity. 

d. Service limits may be exceeded based on medical 

necessity for individuals eligible for EPSDT. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 

of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 

Virginia. 

8. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 

et seq. 

9. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935. 

C. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 
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b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 

state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 

Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 

applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 

Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 

services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 

performed by practitioners qualified to make those 

determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 

either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 

practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 

division or under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 

individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 

performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 

meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 

coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 

changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 

administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual 

disability prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 

placement issue. These services are covered in the 

nonschool settings also. School providers who may 

render these services when licensed by the state include 

psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 

psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 

for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 

assistant performs services such as assisting with 

toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 

as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 
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requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 

health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for a child who requires 

transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 

Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. Children 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 

and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 

shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 

receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 

of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210.  

Part IX  

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver  

12VAC30-120-900. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs.  

"Adult day health care " or "ADHC" means long-term 

maintenance or supportive services offered by a DMAS-

enrolled community-based day care program providing a 

variety of health, therapeutic, and social services designed to 

meet the specialized needs of those waiver individuals who 

are elderly or who have a disability and who are at risk of 

placement in a nursing facility (NF). The program shall be 

licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services 

(VDSS) as an adult day care center (ADCC). The services 

offered by the center shall be required by the waiver 

individual in order to permit the individual to remain in his 

home rather than entering a nursing facility. ADHC can also 

refer to the center where this service is provided. 

"Agency-directed model of service" means a model of 

service delivery where an agency is responsible for providing 

direct support staff, for maintaining individuals' records, and 

for scheduling the dates and times of the direct support staff's 

presence in the individuals' homes for personal and respite 

care.  

"Americans with Disabilities Act" or "ADA" means the 

United States Code pursuant to 42 USC § 12101 et seq.  

"Annually" means a period of time covering 365 

consecutive calendar days or 366 consecutive days in the case 

of leap years. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge actions 

regarding services, benefits, and reimbursement provided by 

Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 12VAC30-20-500 

through 12VAC30-20-560.  

"Assistive technology" or "AT" means specialized medical 

equipment and supplies including those devices, controls, or 

appliances specified in the plan of care but not available 

under the State Plan for Medical Assistance that enable 

waiver individuals who are participating in the Money 

Follows the Person demonstration program pursuant to Part 

XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.) to increase their abilities to 
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perform activities of daily living or to perceive, control, or 

communicate with the environment in which they live, or that 

are necessary to the proper functioning of the specialized 

equipment.  

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined at § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that would prohibit the 

continuation of employment if a person is found through a 

Virginia State Police criminal record check to have been 

convicted of such a crime.  

"CD" means consumer-directed. 

"CMS" means the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, which is the unit of the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services that administers the Medicare and 

Medicaid programs.  

"Cognitive impairment" means a severe deficit in mental 

capability that affects a waiver individual's areas of 

functioning such as thought processes, problem solving, 

judgment, memory, or comprehension that interferes with 

such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 

ability to recognize danger to self or others, or impulse 

control.  

"Conservator" means a person appointed by a court to 

manage the estate and financial affairs of an incapacitated 

individual. 

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who 

provides, via the consumer-directed model of services, 

personal care, companion services, or respite care, or any 

combination of these three services, [ and ] who is also 

exempt from workers' compensation. 

"Consumer-directed (CD) model of service" means the 

model of service delivery for which the waiver individual 

enrolled in the waiver or the individual's employer of record, 

as appropriate, are is responsible for hiring, training, 

supervising, and firing of the person or persons attendant or 

attendants who actually render the services that are 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

"Consumer-directed services facilitator," "CD services 

facilitator," or "facilitator" means the DMAS-enrolled 

provider who is responsible for supporting the individual and 

family/caregiver by ensuring the development and monitoring 

of the consumer-directed services plan of care, providing 

attendant management training, and completing ongoing 

review activities as required by DMAS for consumer-directed 

personal care and respite services.  

"DARS" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Day" means, for the purposes of reimbursement, a 24-hour 

period beginning at 12 a.m. and ending at 11:59 p.m. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"Direct marketing" means any of the following: (i) 

conducting either directly or indirectly door-to-door, 

telephonic, or other "cold call" marketing of services at 

residences and provider sites; (ii) using direct mailing; (iii) 

paying "finders fees"; (iv) offering financial incentives, 

rewards, gifts, or special opportunities to eligible individuals 

or family/caregivers as inducements to use the providers' a 

provider's services; (v) providing continuous, periodic 

marketing activities to the same prospective individual or 

family/caregiver, for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 

giveaways as inducements to use the providers' a provider's 

services; or (vi) engaging in marketing activities that offer 

potential customers rebates or discounts in conjunction with 

the use of the providers' a provider's services or other benefits 

as a means of influencing the individual's or 

family/caregiver's use of the providers' a provider's services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"DMAS staff" means persons employed by the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services.  

"Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver" or 

"EDCD Waiver" means the CMS-approved waiver that 

covers a range of community support services offered to 

waiver individuals who are elderly or who have a disability 

who would otherwise require a nursing facility level of care.  

"Employer of record" or "EOR" means the person who 

performs the functions of the employer in the consumer-

directed model of service delivery. The EOR may be the 

individual enrolled in the waiver, a family member, caregiver, 

or another person.  

"Environmental modifications" or "EM" means physical 

adaptations to an individual's primary home or primary 

vehicle or work site, when the work site modification exceeds 

reasonable accommodation requirements of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC § 1201 et seq.), which are 

necessary to ensure the individual's health and safety or 

enable functioning with greater independence and shall be of 

direct medical or remedial benefit to individuals who are 

participating in the Money Follows the Person demonstration 

program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

Such physical adaptations shall not be authorized for 

Medicaid payment when the adaptation is being used to bring 

a substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. 

"Fiscal/employer agent" means a state agency or other entity 

as determined by DMAS that meets the requirements of 42 

CFR 441.484 and the Virginia Public Procurement Act, § 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by a court to manage 

the personal affairs of an incapacitated individual pursuant to 

Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  
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"Health, safety, and welfare standard" means, for the 

purposes of this waiver, that an individual's right to receive an 

EDCD Waiver service is dependent on a determination that 

the waiver individual needs the service based on appropriate 

assessment criteria and a written plan of care, including 

having a backup plan of care, that demonstrates medical 

necessity and that services can be safely provided in the 

community or through the model of care selected by the 

individual.  

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means the range of community support services 

approved by the CMS pursuant to § 1915(c) of the Social 

Security Act to be offered to individuals as an alternative to 

institutionalization. 

"Individual" or "waiver individual" means the person who 

has applied for and been approved to receive these waiver 

services.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping and 

laundry. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate service needs.  

"Level of care" or "LOC" means the specification of the 

minimum amount of assistance an individual requires in order 

to receive services in an institutional setting under the State 

Plan or to receive waiver services.  

"License" means proof of official or legal permission issued 

by the government for an entity or person to perform an 

activity or service such that, in the absence of an official 

license, the entity or person is debarred from performing the 

activity or service.  

"Licensed Practical Nurse" or "LPN" means a person who is 

licensed or holds multi-state licensure to practice nursing 

pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Live-in caregiver" means a personal caregiver who resides 

in the same household as the individual who is receiving 

waiver services.  

"Long-term care" or "LTC" means a variety of services that 

help individuals with health or personal care needs and 

activities of daily living over a period of time. Long-term care 

can be provided in the home, in the community, or in various 

types of facilities, including nursing facilities and assisted 

living facilities.  

"Medicaid Long-Term Care (LTC) Communication Form" 

or "DMAS-225" means the form used by the long-term care 

provider to report information about changes in an 

individual's eligibility and financial circumstances.  

"Medication monitoring" means an electronic device, which 

is only available in conjunction with Personal Emergency 

Response Systems, that enables certain waiver individuals 

who are at risk of institutionalization to be reminded to take 

their medications at the correct dosages and times.  

"Money Follows the Person" or "MFP" means the 

demonstration program, as set out in 12VAC30-120-2000 and 

12VAC30-120-2010.  

"Participating provider" or "provider" means an entity that 

meets the standards and requirements set forth by DMAS and 

has a current, signed provider participation agreement, 

including managed care organizations, with DMAS.  

"Patient pay amount" means the portion of the individual's 

income that must be paid as his share of the long-term care 

services and is calculated by the local department of social 

services based on the individual's documented monthly 

income and permitted deductions. 

"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 

provides personal care services.  

"Personal care aide" or "aide" means a person employed by 

an agency who provides personal care or unskilled respite 

services. The aide shall have successfully completed an 

educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of study related to 

the needs of individuals who are either elderly or who have 

disabilities as further set out in 12VAC30-120-935. Such 

successful completion may be evidenced by the existence of a 

certificate of completion, which is provided to DMAS during 

provider audits, issued by the training entity. 

"Personal care attendant" or "attendant" means a person who 

provides personal care or respite services that are directed by 

a consumer, family member/caregiver, or employer of record 

under the CD model of service delivery.  

"Personal care services" means a range of support services 

necessary to enable the waiver individual to remain at or 

return home rather than enter a nursing facility and that 

includes assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs), 

instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs), access to the 

community, self-administration of medication, or other 

medical needs, supervision, and the monitoring of health 

status and physical condition. Personal care services shall be 

provided by aides, within the scope of their 

licenses/certificates, as appropriate, under the agency-directed 

model or by personal care attendants under the CD model of 

service delivery. 

"Personal emergency response system" or "PERS" means an 

electronic device and monitoring service that enables certain 

waiver individuals, who are at least 14 years of age, at risk of 

institutionalization to secure help in an emergency. PERS 

services shall be limited to those waiver individuals who live 

alone or who are alone for significant parts of the day and 

who have no regular caregiver for extended periods of time.  

"PERS provider" means a certified home health or a 

personal care agency, a durable medical equipment provider, 
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a hospital, or a PERS manufacturer that has the responsibility 

to furnish, install, maintain, test, monitor, and service PERS 

equipment, direct services (i.e., installation, equipment 

maintenance, and services calls), and PERS monitoring. 

PERS providers may also provide medication monitoring.  

"Plan of care" or "POC" means the written plan developed 

collaboratively by the waiver individual and the waiver 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and the provider 

related solely to the specific services necessary for the 

individual to remain in the community while ensuring his 

health, safety, and welfare.  

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 

the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 

referred for preadmission screening for certain long-term care 

services requiring NF eligibility; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services the individuals need 

individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a 

combination of existing community services are available to 

meet the individuals' individual needs; and (iv) provide a list 

to individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility or home and community-based care for those 

individuals who meet nursing facility level of care.  

"Preadmission Screening Team" means the entity contracted 

with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 

screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Primary caregiver" means the person who consistently 

assumes the primary role of providing direct care and support 

of the waiver individual to live successfully in the community 

without receiving compensation for providing such care. Such 

person's name, if applicable, shall be documented by the RN 

or services facilitator in the waiver individual's record. 

Waiver individuals are not required to have a primary 

caregiver in order to participate in the EDCD waiver.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a person who is licensed 

or who holds multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to practice nursing. 

"Respite care agency" means a participating provider that 

renders respite services.  

"Respite services" means services provided to waiver 

individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are 

furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence of or 

need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who 

normally provides the care. 

"Service authorization" or "Srv Auth" means the process of 

approving either by DMAS, its service authorization 

contractor, or DMAS-designated entity, for the purposes of 

reimbursement for a service for the individual before it is 

rendered or reimbursed. 

"Service authorization contractor" means DMAS or the 

entity that has been contracted by DMAS to perform service 

authorization for medically necessary Medicaid covered 

home and community-based services.  

"Services facilitation" means a service that assists the waiver 

individual (or family/caregiver, as appropriate) in arranging 

for, directing, training, and managing services provided 

through the consumer-directed model of service.  

"Services facilitator" means a DMAS-enrolled provider or, a 

DMAS-designated entity, or a person who is employed or 

contracted by a DMAS-enrolled services facilitator that is 

responsible for supporting the individual and the individual's 

family/caregiver or EOR, as appropriate, by ensuring the 

development and monitoring of the CD services plans of care, 

providing employee management training, and completing 

ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for 

consumer-directed personal care and respite services. 

Services facilitator shall be deemed to mean the same thing as 

consumer-directed services facilitator. 

"Skilled respite services" means temporary skilled nursing 

services that are provided to waiver individuals who need 

such services and that are performed by a LPN for the relief 

of the unpaid primary caregiver who normally provides the 

care.  

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "State Plan" means 

the Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Transition coordinator" means the person defined in 

12VAC30-120-2000 who facilitates MFP transition. 

"Transition services" means set-up expenses for individuals 

as defined at 12VAC30-120-2010. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"VDSS" means the Virginia Department of Social Services.  

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized multidimensional comprehensive assessment 

that is completed by the Preadmission Screening Team or 

approved hospital discharge planner that assesses an 

individual's physical health, mental health, and psycho/social 

and functional abilities to determine if the individual meets 

the nursing facility level of care.  

"Weekly" means a span of time covering seven consecutive 

calendar days. 

12VAC30-120-935. Participation standards for specific 

covered services. 

A. The personal care providers, respite care providers, 

ADHC providers, and CD services facilitators shall develop 

an individualized POC that addresses the waiver individual's 

service needs. Such plan shall be developed in collaboration 
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with the waiver individual or the individual's 

family/caregiver/EOR, as appropriate.  

B. Agency providers shall employ appropriately licensed 

professional staff who can provide the covered waiver 

services required by the waiver individuals. Providers shall 

require that the supervising RN/LPN be available by phone at 

all times that the LPN/attendant and consumer-directed 

services facilitators, as appropriate, are providing services to 

the waiver individual. 

C. Agency staff (RN, LPNs, or aides) or CD employees 

(attendants) attendants shall not be reimbursed by DMAS for 

services rendered to waiver individuals when the agency staff 

or the CD employee attendant is either (i) the spouse of the 

waiver individual or (ii) the parent (biological, adoptive, legal 

guardian) or other legal guardian of the minor child waiver 

individual.  

1. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members living under the same roof as the 

individual enrolled in the waiver receiving services unless 

there is objective written documentation completed by the 

consumer-directed services facilitator as to why no other 

provider is available to render the personal services. The 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall initially make 

this determination and document it fully in the individual's 

record. 

2. Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing personal services shall meet the same 

qualifications as all other CD attendants.  

D. Failure to provide the required services, conduct the 

required reviews, and meet the documentation standards as 

stated herein in this section may result in DMAS charging 

audited providers with overpayments and requiring the return 

of the overpaid funds.  

E. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements, home and community-based services 

participating providers shall also meet the following 

requirements:  

1. ADHC services provider. In order to provide these 

services, the ADCC adult day care center (ADCC) shall:  

a. Make available a copy of the current VDSS license for 

DMAS' DMAS review and verification purposes prior to 

the provider applicant's enrollment as a Medicaid 

provider; 

b. Adhere to VDSS' the ADCC standards of VDSS as 

defined in 22VAC40-60 including, but not limited to, 

provision of activities for waiver individuals; and 

c. Employ the following:  

(1) A director who shall be responsible for overall 

management of the center's programs and employees 

pursuant to 22VAC40-60-320. The director shall be the 

provider contact person for DMAS and the designated 

Srv Auth contractor and shall be responsible for 

responding to communication from DMAS and the 

designated Srv Auth contractor. The director shall be 

responsible for ensuring the development of the POCs for 

waiver individuals. The director shall assign either 

himself, the activities director if there is one, RN, or 

therapist to act as the care coordinator for each waiver 

individual and shall document in the individual's medical 

record the identity of the care coordinator. The care 

coordinator shall be responsible for management of the 

waiver individual's POC and for its review with the 

program aides and any other staff, as necessary.  

(2) A RN who shall be responsible for administering to 

and monitoring the health needs of waiver individuals. 

The RN may also contract with the center. The RN shall 

be responsible for the planning and implementation of 

the POC involving multiple services where specialized 

health care knowledge may be needed. The RN shall be 

present a minimum of eight hours each month at the 

center. DMAS may require the RN's presence at the 

center for more than this minimum standard depending 

on the number of waiver individuals who are in 

attendance and according to the medical and nursing 

needs of the waiver individuals who attend the center. 

Although DMAS does not require that the RN be a full-

time staff position, there shall be a RN available, either in 

person or by telephone, to the center's waiver individuals 

and staff during all times that the center is in operation. 

The RN shall be responsible for: 

(a) Providing periodic evaluation, at least every 90 days, 

of the nursing needs of each waiver individual;  

(b) Providing the nursing care and treatment as 

documented in individuals' POCs the waiver individual's 

POC; and 

(c) Monitoring, recording, and administering of 

prescribed medications or supervising the waiver 

individual in self-administered medication. 

(3) Personal care aides who shall be responsible for 

overall care of waiver individuals such as assistance with 

ADLs, social/recreational activities, and other health and 

therapeutic-related activities. Each program aide hired by 

the provider shall be screened to ensure compliance with 

training and skill mastery qualifications required by 

DMAS. The aide shall, at a minimum, have the following 

qualifications:  

(a) Be 18 years of age or older;  

(b) Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required waiver individual documentation of 

services rendered;  
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(c) Be physically able to perform the work and have the 

skills required to perform the tasks required in the waiver 

individual's POC; 

(d) Have a valid social security number issued to the 

program aide by the Social Security Administration;  

(e) Have satisfactorily completed an educational 

curriculum as set out in clauses (i), (ii), and (iii) of this 

subdivision E 1 c 3 (e). Documentation of successful 

completion shall be maintained in the aide's personnel 

file and be available for review by DMAS' DMAS staff. 

Prior to assigning a program aide to a waiver individual, 

the center shall ensure that the aide has either (i) 

registered with the Board of Nursing as a certified nurse 

aide; (ii) graduated from an approved educational 

curriculum as listed by the Board of Nursing; or (iii) 

completed the provider's educational curriculum, at least 

40 hours in duration, as taught by an RN who is licensed 

in the Commonwealth or who holds a multi-state 

licensing privilege.  

(4) The ADHC coordinator who shall coordinate, 

pursuant to 22VAC40-60-695, the delivery of the 

activities and services as prescribed in the waiver 

individuals' POCs individual's POC and keep such plans 

updated, record 30-day progress notes concerning each 

waiver individual, and review the waiver individuals' 

individual's daily records each week. If a waiver 

individual's condition changes more frequently, more 

frequent reviews and recording of progress notes shall be 

required to reflect the individual's changing condition.  

2. Recreation and social activities responsibilities. The 

center shall provide planned recreational and social 

activities suited to the waiver individuals' individual's 

needs and interests and designed to encourage physical 

exercise, prevent deterioration of each waiver individual's 

condition, and stimulate social interaction.  

3. The center shall maintain all records of each Medicaid 

individual. These records shall be reviewed periodically by 

DMAS staff or its designated agent who is authorized by 

DMAS to review these files. At a minimum, these records 

shall contain, but shall not necessarily be limited to:  

a. DMAS required forms as specified in the center's 

provider-appropriate guidance documents;  

b. Interdisciplinary POCs developed, in collaboration 

with the waiver individual or family/caregiver, or both as 

may be appropriate, by the center's director, RN, and 

therapist, as may be appropriate, and any other relevant 

support persons;  

c. Documentation of interdisciplinary staff meetings that 

shall be held at least every three months to reassess each 

waiver individual and evaluate the adequacy of the POC 

and make any necessary revisions;  

d. At a minimum, 30-day goal-oriented progress notes 

recorded by the designated ADHC care coordinator. If a 

waiver individual's condition and treatment POC changes 

more often, progress notes shall be written more 

frequently than every 30 days;  

e. The daily record of services provided shall contain the 

specific services delivered by center staff. The record 

shall also contain the arrival and departure times of the 

waiver individual and shall be signed weekly by either 

the director, activities director, RN, or therapist 

employed by the center. The record shall be completed 

on a daily basis, neither before nor after the date of 

services delivery. At least once a week, a staff member 

shall chart significant comments regarding care given to 

the waiver individual. If the staff member writing 

comments is different from the staff signing the weekly 

record, that staff member shall sign the weekly 

comments. A copy of this record shall be given weekly to 

the waiver individual or family/caregiver, and it shall 

also be maintained in the waiver individual-specific 

medical record; and 

f. All contacts shall be documented in the waiver 

individual's medical record, including correspondence 

made to and from the individual with family/caregivers, 

physicians, DMAS, the designated Srv Auth contractor, 

formal and informal services providers, and all other 

professionals related to the waiver individual's Medicaid 

services or medical care.  

F. Agency-directed personal care services. The personal care 

provider agency shall hire or contract with and directly 

supervise a RN who provides ongoing supervision of all 

personal care aides and LPNs. LPNs may supervise, pursuant 

to their licenses, personal care aides based upon RN 

assessment of the waiver individuals' individual's health, 

safety, and welfare needs. 

1. The RN supervisor shall make an initial home 

assessment visit on or before the start of care for all 

individuals admitted to personal care, when a waiver 

individual is readmitted after being discharged from 

services, or if he is transferred from another provider, 

ADHC, or from a CD services program.  

2. During a home visit, the RN supervisor shall evaluate, at 

least every 90 days, the LPN supervisor's performance and 

the waiver individual's needs to ensure the LPN 

supervisor's abilities to function competently and shall 

provide training as necessary. This shall be documented in 

the waiver individual's record. A reassessment of the 

individual's needs and review of the POC shall be 

performed and documented during these visits.  

3. The RN/LPN supervisor shall also make supervisory 

visits based on the assessment and evaluation of the care 

needs of waiver individuals as often as needed and as 
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defined in this subdivision to ensure both quality and 

appropriateness of services.  

a. The personal care provider agency shall have the 

responsibility of determining when supervisory visits are 

appropriate for the waiver individual's health, safety, and 

welfare. Supervisory visits shall be at least every 90 

days. This determination must be documented in the 

waiver individuals' individual's records by the RN on the 

initial assessment and in the ongoing assessment records.  

b. If DMAS determines that the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare is in jeopardy, DMAS may 

require the provider's RN or LPN supervisor to supervise 

the personal care aides more frequently than once every 

90 days. These visits shall be conducted at this 

designated increased frequency until DMAS determines 

that the waiver individual's health, safety, or welfare is 

no longer in jeopardy. This shall be documented by the 

provider and entered into the individual's record. 

c. During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of personal 

care services with regard to the individual's current 

functioning status and medical and social needs. The 

personal care aide's record shall be reviewed and the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed.  

d. If the supervising RN/LPN must be delayed in 

conducting the regular supervisory visit, such delay shall 

be documented in the waiver individual's record with the 

reasons for the delay. Such supervisory visits shall be 

conducted within 15 calendar days of the waiver 

individual's first availability. 

e. A RN/LPN supervisor shall be available to the 

personal care aide for conferences pertaining to waiver 

individuals being served by the aide. 

(1) The RN/LPN supervisor shall be available to the aide 

by telephone at all times that the aide is providing 

services to waiver individuals.  

(2) The RN/LPN supervisor shall evaluate the personal 

care aide's performance and the waiver individual's needs 

to identify any insufficiencies in the personal care aide's 

abilities to function competently and shall provide 

training as indicated. This shall be documented in the 

waiver individual's record.  

f. Licensed practical nurses (LPNs). As permitted by his 

license, the LPN may supervise personal care aides. To 

ensure both quality and appropriateness of services, the 

LPN supervisor shall make supervisory visits of the aides 

as often as needed, but no fewer visits than provided in a 

waiver individuals' POCs individual's POC as developed 

by the RN in collaboration with individuals the 

individual and the individuals' individual's 

family/caregivers, or both, as appropriate. 

(1) During visits to the waiver individual's home, a LPN-

supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and document the 

adequacy and appropriateness of personal care services, 

the individual's current functioning status and social 

needs. The personal care aide's record shall be reviewed 

and the waiver individual's or family/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed. 

(2) The LPN supervisor shall evaluate the personal care 

aide's performance and the waiver individual's needs to 

identify any insufficiencies in the aide's abilities to 

function competently and shall provide training as 

required to resolve the insufficiencies. This shall be 

documented in the waiver individual's record and 

reported to the RN supervisor. 

(3) An LPN supervisor shall be available to personal care 

aides for conferences pertaining to waiver individuals 

being served by them.  

g. Personal care aides. The agency provider may employ 

and the RN/LPN supervisor shall directly supervise 

personal care aides who provide direct care to waiver 

individuals. Each aide hired to provide personal care 

shall be evaluated by the provider agency to ensure 

compliance with qualifications and skills required by 

DMAS pursuant to 12VAC30-120-930. 

4. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

family members or caregivers who are living under the 

same roof as the waiver individual receiving services, 

unless there is objective written documentation as to why 

there are no other providers provider or aides aide is 

available to provide the care. The provider shall initially 

make this determination and document it fully in the 

waiver individual's record.  

5. Required documentation for a waiver individuals' 

individual's records. The provider shall maintain all 

records for each individual receiving personal care 

services. These records shall be separate from those of 

non-home and community-based care services, such as 

companion or home health services. These records shall be 

reviewed periodically by DMAS or its designated agent. At 

a minimum, the record shall contain:  

a. All personal care aides' records (DMAS-90) to include 

(i) the specific services delivered to the waiver individual 

by the aide; (ii) the personal care aide's actual daily 

arrival and departure times; (iii) the aide's weekly 

comments or observations about the waiver individual, 

including observations of the individual's physical and 

emotional condition, daily activities, and responses to 

services rendered; and (iv) any other information 
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appropriate and relevant to the waiver individual's care 

and need for services.  

b. The personal care aide's and individual's or responsible 

caregiver's signatures, including the date, shall be 

recorded on these records verifying that personal care 

services have been rendered during the week of the 

service delivery. 

(1) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he is a family member or unpaid 

caregiver of the waiver individual.  

(2) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on the 

personal care aide record earlier than the last day of the 

week in which services were provided nor later than 

seven calendar days from the date of the last service. 

G. Agency-directed respite care services. 

1. To be approved as a respite care provider with DMAS, 

the respite care agency provider shall:  

a. Employ or contract with and directly supervise either a 

RN or LPN, or both, who will provide ongoing 

supervision of all respite care aides/LPNs, as appropriate. 

A RN shall provide supervision to all direct care and 

supervisory LPNs. 

(1) When respite care services are received on a routine 

basis, the minimum acceptable frequency of the required 

RN/LPN supervisor's visits shall not exceed every 90 

days, based on the initial assessment. If an a waiver 

individual is also receiving personal care services, the 

respite care RN/LPN supervisory visit may coincide with 

the personal care RN/LPN supervisory visits. However, 

the RN/LPN supervisor shall document supervision of 

respite care separately from the personal care 

documentation. For this purpose, the same individual 

record may be used with a separate section for respite 

care documentation.  

(2) When respite care services are not received on a 

routine basis but are episodic in nature, a RN/LPN 

supervisor shall conduct the home supervisory visit with 

the aide/LPN on or before the start of care. The RN/LPN 

shall review the utilization of respite services either every 

six months or upon the use of half of the approved respite 

hours, whichever comes first. If a waiver individual is 

also receiving personal care services, the respite care 

RN/LPN supervisory visit may coincide with the 

personal care RN/LPN supervisory visit. 

(3) During visits to the waiver individual's home, the 

RN/LPN supervisor shall observe, evaluate, and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of respite 

care services to the waiver individual's current 

functioning status and medical and social needs. The 

aide's/LPN's record shall be reviewed along with the 

waiver individual's or family's/caregiver's, or both, 

satisfaction with the type and amount of services 

discussed.  

(4) Should the required RN/LPN supervisory visit be 

delayed, the reason for the delay shall be documented in 

the waiver individual's record. This visit shall be 

completed within 15 days of the waiver individual's first 

availability. 

b. Employ or contract with aides to provide respite care 

services who shall meet the same education and training 

requirements as personal care aides.  

c. Not hire respite care aides for DMAS' DMAS 

reimbursement for services that are rendered to waiver 

individuals when the aide is either (i) the spouse of the 

waiver individual or (ii) the parent (biological, adoptive, 

legal guardian) or other guardian of the minor child 

waiver individual. 

d. Employ an LPN to perform skilled respite care 

services. Such services shall be reimbursed by DMAS 

under the following circumstances:  

(1) The waiver individual shall have a documented need 

for routine skilled respite care that cannot be provided by 

unlicensed personnel, such as an aide. These waiver 

individuals would typically require a skilled level of care 

involving, for example but not necessarily limited to, 

ventilators for assistance with breathing or either 

nasogastric or gastrostomy feedings;  

(2) No other person in the waiver individual's support 

system is willing and able to supply the skilled 

component of the individual's care during the primary 

caregiver's absence; and  

(3) The waiver individual is unable to receive skilled 

nursing visits from any other source that could provide 

the skilled care usually given by the caregiver.  

e. Document in the waiver individual's record the 

circumstances that require the provision of services by an 

LPN. At the time of the LPN's service, the LPN shall also 

provide all of the services normally provided by an aide.  

2. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members or caregivers who are living under 

the same roof as the waiver individual receiving services 

unless there is objective written documentation as to why 

there are no other providers provider or aides aide is 

available to provide the care. The provider shall initially 

make this determination and document it fully in the 

waiver individual's record. 

3. Required documentation for a waiver individuals' 

individual's records. The provider shall maintain all 

records for each waiver individual receiving respite 

services. These records shall be separate from those of 

non-home and community-based care services, such as 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

280 

companion or home health services. These records shall be 

reviewed periodically either by the DMAS staff or a 

contracted entity who is authorized by DMAS to review 

these files. At a minimum these records shall contain:  

a. Forms as specified in the DMAS guidance documents.  

b. All respite care LPN/aide records shall contain:  

(1) The specific services delivered to the waiver 

individual by the LPN/aide; 

(2) The respite care LPN's/aide's daily arrival and 

departure times; 

(3) Comments or observations recorded weekly about the 

waiver individual. LPN/aide comments shall include, but 

shall not be limited to, observation of the waiver 

individual's physical and emotional condition, daily 

activities, the individual's response to services rendered, 

and documentation of vital signs if taken as part of the 

POC. 

c. All respite care LPN records (DMAS-90A) shall be 

reviewed and signed by the supervising RN and shall 

contain: 

(1) The respite care LPN/aide's and waiver individual's or 

responsible family/caregiver's signatures, including the 

date, verifying that respite care services have been 

rendered during the week of service delivery as 

documented in the record. 

(2) An employee of the provider shall not sign for the 

waiver individual unless he is a family member or unpaid 

caregiver of the waiver individual.  

(3) Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on the 

respite care LPN/aide record earlier than the last day of 

the week in which services were provided. Nor shall 

signatures be placed on the respite care LPN/aide records 

later than seven calendar days from the date of the last 

service. 

H. Consumer-directed (CD) services facilitation for personal 

care and respite services. 

1. Any services rendered by attendants prior to dates 

authorized by DMAS or the Srv Auth service authorization 

contractor shall not be eligible for Medicaid 

reimbursement and shall be the responsibility of the waiver 

individual. 

2. If the services facilitator is not an RN, then the services 

facilitator shall inform the primary health care provider for 

the individual who is enrolled in the waiver that services 

are being provided within 30 days from the start of such 

services and request consultation with the primary health 

care provider, as needed. This shall be done after the 

services facilitator secures written permission from the 

individual to contact the primary health care provider. The 

documentation of this written permission to contact the 

primary health care provider shall be retained in the 

individual's medical record. All contacts with the primary 

health care provider shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 

2. 3. The CD consumer-directed services facilitator, 

whether employed or contracted by a DMAS enrolled 

services facilitator, shall meet the following qualifications:  

a. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator and maintain provider status, the CD 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

sufficient knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform the 

activities required of such providers. In addition, the CD 

consumer-directed services facilitator shall have the 

ability to maintain and retain business and professional 

records sufficient to fully and accurately document the 

nature, scope, and details of the services provided.  

b. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall: 

(1) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two 

references from prior job experiences from any human 

services work; such references shall not include any 

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of older adults 

or persons with disabilities or children; 

(2) Submit to a criminal background check being 

conducted. The results of such check shall contain no 

record of conviction of barrier crimes as set forth in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. Proof that the 

criminal record check was conducted shall be maintained 

in the record of the services facilitator. In accordance 

with 12VAC30-80-130, DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for any services provided by a services 

facilitator who has been convicted of committing a 

barrier crime as set forth in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

(3) Submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry that results in no founded 

complaint; and 

(4) Not be debarred, suspended, or otherwise excluded 

from participating in federal health care programs, as 

listed on the federal List of Excluded Individuals/Entities 

(LEIE) database at 

http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20li

st.asp. 

c. The services facilitator shall not be compensated for 

services provided to the individual enrolled in the waiver 

effective on the date in which the record check verifies 

that the services facilitator (i) has been convicted of 

barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) has a founded complaint confirmed by the 

http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
http://www.olg.hhs.govfraud/exclusions/exclusions%20list.asp
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VDSS Child Protective Services Central Registry, or (iii) 

is found to be listed on LEIE.  

d. Effective January 11, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall possess the required degree and 

experience, as follows: 

(1) Prior to initial enrollment by the department as a 

consumer-directed services facilitator or being hired by a 

Medicaid-enrolled services facilitator provider, all new 

applicants shall possess, at a minimum, either (i) an 

associate's degree from an accredited college in a health 

or human services field or be a registered nurse currently 

licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and possess a 

minimum of two years of satisfactory direct care 

experience supporting individuals with disabilities or 

older adults; or (ii) a bachelor's degree in a non-health or 

human services field and possess a minimum of three 

years of satisfactory direct care experience supporting 

individuals with disabilities or older adults. 

(2) Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall not be 

required to meet the degree and experience requirements 

of  subdivision 3 d (1) of this subsection unless required 

to submit a new application to be a consumer-directed 

services facilitator after January 11, 2016.  

e. Effective April 10, 2016, all consumer-directed 

services facilitators shall complete required training and 

competency assessments. Satisfactory competency 

assessment results shall be kept in the service facilitator's 

record.  

(1) All new consumer-directed consumer directed 

services facilitators shall complete the DMAS-approved 

consumer-directed services facilitator training and pass 

the corresponding competency assessment with a score 

of at least 80% prior to being approved as a consumer-

directed services facilitator or being reimbursed for 

working with waiver individuals.  

(2) Persons who are consumer-directed services 

facilitators prior to January 11, 2016, shall be required to 

complete the DMAS-approved consumer-directed 

services facilitator training and pass the corresponding 

competency assessment with a score of at least 80% in 

order to continue being reimbursed for or working with 

waiver individuals for the purpose of Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

f. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements shall result 

in a retraction of Medicaid payment or the termination of 

the provider agreement, or both. 

g. Failure to satisfy the competency assessment 

requirements and meet all other requirements may also 

result in the termination of a CD services facilitator 

employed by or contracted with a Medicaid enrolled 

services facilitator provider. 

h. As a component of the renewal of the Medicaid 

provider agreement, all CD services facilitators shall pass 

the competency assessment every five years and achieve 

a score of at least 80%.  

i. The consumer-directed services facilitator shall have 

access to a computer with Internet access that meets the 

security standards of Subpart C of 45 CFR Part 164 for 

the electronic exchange of information. Electronic 

exchange of information shall include, for example, 

checking individual eligibility, submission of service 

authorizations, submission of information to the fiscal 

employer agent, and billing for services.  

b. It is preferred that the CD services facilitator possess, 

at a minimum, an undergraduate degree in a human 

services field or be a registered nurse currently licensed 

to practice in the Commonwealth. In addition, it is 

preferable that the CD services facilitator have at least 

two years of satisfactory experience in a human services 

field working with individuals who are disabled or 

elderly.  

j. The CD consumer-directed services facilitator must 

possess a combination of work experience and relevant 

education that indicates possession of the following 

knowledge, skills, and abilities described below in this 

subdivision H 2 b. Such knowledge, skills, and abilities 

must be documented on the CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator's application form, found in 

supporting documentation, or be observed during a job 

interview. Observations during the interview must be 

documented. The knowledge, skills, and abilities include:  

(1) Knowledge of:  

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in individuals who are elderly older adults 

or individuals with disabilities, as well as strategies to 

reduce limitations and health problems;  

(b) Physical care that may be required by individuals 

who are elderly older adults or individuals with 

disabilities, such as transferring, bathing techniques, 

bowel and bladder care, and the approximate time those 

activities normally take;  

(c) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 

be required by individuals who are elderly older adults or 

individuals with disabilities that reduce the need for 

human help and improve safety;  

(d) Various long-term care program requirements, 

including nursing facility and assisted living facility 

placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and other 

federal, state, and local resources that provide personal 

care and respite services;  
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(e) Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver 

requirements, as well as the administrative duties for 

which the services facilitator will be responsible;  

(f) How to conduct assessments (including 

environmental, psychosocial, health, and functional 

factors) and their uses in services planning;  

(g) Interviewing techniques;  

(h) The individual's right to make decisions about, direct 

the provisions of, and control his consumer-directed 

services, including hiring, training, managing, approving 

the time sheets of, and firing an aide;  

(i) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and  

(j) General principles of record documentation.  

(2) Skills in:  

(a) Negotiating with individuals, family/caregivers, and 

service providers;  

(b) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors;  

(c) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

individuals who are elderly older adults or individuals 

with disabilities; and  

(d) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the individual's needs.  

(3) Abilities to:  

(a) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for individuals 

who have visual impairments;  

(b) Demonstrate a positive regard for individuals and 

their families;  

(c) Be persistent and remain objective;  

(d) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision;  

(e) Communicate effectively orally and in writing; and  

(f) Develop a rapport and communicate with individuals 

from diverse cultural backgrounds. 

c. If the CD services facilitator is not a RN, the CD 

services facilitator shall inform the waiver individual's 

primary health care provider that services are being 

provided and request consultation as needed. These 

contacts shall be documented in the waiver individual's 

record. 

3. 4. Initiation of services and service monitoring.  

a. For CD services consumer-directed model of service, 

the CD consumer-directed services facilitator shall make 

an initial comprehensive in-home home visit at the 

primary residence of the waiver individual to collaborate 

with the waiver individual or the individual's 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, to identify the 

individual's needs, assist in the development of the POC 

plan of care with the waiver individual or and 

individual's family/caregiver, as appropriate, and provide 

employer of record (EOR) employee EOR management 

training within seven days of the initial visit. The initial 

comprehensive home visit shall be conducted only once 

upon the waiver individual's entry into CD consumer-

directed services. If the waiver individual changes, either 

voluntarily or involuntarily, the CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator, the new CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator must shall complete a reassessment 

visit in lieu of an initial a comprehensive visit.  

b. After the initial comprehensive visit, the CD services 

facilitator shall continue to monitor the POC plan of care 

on an as-needed basis, but in no event less frequently 

than every 90 days for personal care, and shall conduct 

face-to-face meetings with the waiver individual and may 

include the family/caregiver. The CD services facilitator 

shall review the utilization of CD consumer-directed 

respite services, either every six months or upon the use 

of half of the approved respite services hours, whichever 

comes first, and shall conduct a face-to-face meeting 

with the waiver individual and may include the 

family/caregiver. Such monitoring reviews shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. 

c. During visits with the waiver individual, the CD 

services facilitator shall observe, evaluate, and consult 

with the individual/EOR and may include the 

family/caregiver, and document the adequacy and 

appropriateness of CD consumer-directed services with 

regard to the waiver individual's current functioning, 

cognitive status, and medical and social needs. The CD 

consumer-directed services facilitator's written summary 

of the visit shall include, but shall not necessarily be 

limited to at a minimum:  

(1) A discussion Discussion with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, as appropriate, concerning 

whether the service is adequate to meet the waiver 

individual's needs;  

(2) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported;  

(3) Any special tasks performed by the consumer-

directed attendant and the consumer-directed attendant's 

qualifications to perform these tasks;  

(4) The waiver individual's or family/caregiver's/EOR's 

satisfaction with the service;  

(5) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status; and  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

283 

(6) The presence or absence of the consumer-directed 

attendant in the home during the CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator's visit.  

4. 5. DMAS, its designated contractor, or the 

fiscal/employer agent shall request a criminal record check 

and a check of the VDSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child, in 

accordance with 12VAC30-120-930, pertaining to the 

consumer-directed attendant on behalf of the waiver 

individual and report findings of these records checks to 

the EOR.  

5. 6. The CD consumer-directed services facilitator shall 

review and verify copies of timesheets during the face-to-

face visits to ensure that the hours approved in the POC 

plan of care are being provided and are not exceeded. If 

discrepancies are identified, the CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator shall discuss these with the waiver 

individual or EOR to resolve discrepancies and shall notify 

the fiscal/employer agent. The CD consumer-directed 

services facilitator shall also review the waiver individual's 

POC plan of care to ensure that the waiver individual's 

needs are being met. Failure to conduct such reviews and 

verifications of timesheets and maintain the documentation 

of these reviews shall result in a recovery by DMAS of 

payments made in accordance with 12VAC30-80-130. 

6. 7. The CD services facilitator shall maintain records of 

each waiver individual that he serves. At a minimum, these 

records shall contain:  

a. Results of the initial comprehensive home visit 

completed prior to or on the date services are initiated 

and subsequent reassessments and changes to the 

supporting documentation;  

b. The personal care POC plan of care. Such plans shall 

be reviewed by the provider every 90 days, annually, and 

more often as needed, and modified as appropriate. The 

respite services POC plan of care shall be included in the 

record and shall be reviewed by the provider every six 

months or when half of the approved respite service 

hours have been used whichever comes first. For the 

annual review and in cases where either the personal care 

or respite care POC plan of care is modified, the POC 

plan of care shall be reviewed with the waiver individual, 

the family/caregiver, and EOR, as appropriate;  

c. CD The consumer-directed services facilitator's dated 

notes documenting any contacts with the waiver 

individual or family/caregiver/EOR and visits to the 

individual;  

d. All contacts, including correspondence, made to and 

from the waiver individual, EOR, family/caregiver, 

physicians, DMAS, the designated Srv Auth service 

authorization contractor, formal and informal services 

provider, and all other professionals related to the 

individual's Medicaid services or medical care;  

e. All employer management training provided to the 

waiver individual or EOR to include, but not necessarily 

be limited to for example, (i) the individual's or EOR's 

receipt of training on their responsibilities for the 

accuracy of the consumer-directed attendant's timesheets 

and (ii) the availability of the Consumer-Directed Waiver 

Services Employer Manual available at 

http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.dmas.virginia.gov;  

f. All documents signed by the waiver individual or 

EOR, as appropriate, that acknowledge the 

responsibilities as the employer; and  

g. The DMAS required forms as specified in the agency's 

waiver-specific guidance document. 

Failure to maintain all required documentation shall result 

in action by DMAS to recover payments made in 

accordance with 12VAC30-80-130. Repeated instances of 

failure to maintain documentation may result in 

cancellation of the Medicaid provider agreement.  

7. Payment shall not be made for services furnished by 

other family members or caregivers who are living under 

the same roof as the waiver individual receiving services 

unless there is objective written documentation by the CD 

services facilitator as to why there are no other providers or 

aides available to provide the required care.  

8. In instances when either the waiver individual is 

consistently unable either to hire and or retain the 

employment of a personal care consumer-directed 

attendant to provide CD consumer-directed personal care 

or respite services such as, but not limited to for example, a 

pattern of discrepancies with the consumer-directed 

attendant's timesheets, the CD consumer-directed services 

facilitator shall make arrangements, after conferring with 

DMAS, to have the needed services transferred to an 

agency-directed services provider of the individual's choice 

or discuss with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR, or both, other service options. 

9. Waiver individual, family/caregiver, and EOR 

responsibilities.  

a. The waiver individual shall be authorized for CD 

services the consumer-directed model of service, and the 

EOR shall successfully complete consumer/employee-

management EOR management training performed by 

the CD consumer-directed services facilitator before the 

individual or EOR shall be permitted to hire an a 

consumer-directed attendant for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Any services service that may be 

rendered by an a consumer-directed attendant prior to 

authorization by Medicaid shall not be eligible for 

reimbursement by Medicaid. Waiver individuals 

http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.dmas.virginia.gov
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Individuals who are eligible for CD consumer-directed 

services shall have the capability to hire and train their 

own consumer-directed attendants and supervise the 

consumer-directed attendants' performance 

performances. Waiver In lieu of handling their consumer-

directed attendants themselves, individuals may have a 

family/caregiver or other designated person serve as the 

EOR on their behalf. The EOR shall be prohibited from 

also being the Medicaid-reimbursed consumer-directed 

attendant for respite or personal care or the services 

facilitator for the waiver individual. 

b. Waiver individuals Individuals shall acknowledge that 

they will not knowingly continue to accept CD 

consumer-directed personal care services when the 

service is no longer appropriate or necessary for their 

care needs and shall inform the services facilitator of 

their change in care needs. If CD the consumer-directed 

model of services continue after services have been 

terminated by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth service 

authorization contractor, the waiver individual shall be 

held liable for the consumer-directed attendant 

compensation.  

c. Waiver individuals Individuals shall notify the CD 

consumer-directed services facilitator of all 

hospitalizations or admissions, such as but not 

necessarily limited to for example, any rehabilitation 

facility, rehabilitation unit, or NF nursing facility as CD 

consumer-directed attendant services shall not be 

reimbursed during such admissions. Failure to do so may 

result in the waiver individual being held liable for 

attendant the consumer-directed employee compensation.  

d. Waiver individuals shall not employ attendants for 

DMAS reimbursement for services rendered to 

themselves when the attendant is the (i) spouse of the 

waiver individual; (ii) parent (biological, adoptive, legal 

guardian) or other guardian of the minor child waiver 

individual; or (iii) family/caregiver or caregivers/EOR 

who may be directing the waiver individual's care.  

I. Personal emergency response systems. In addition to 

meeting the general conditions and requirements for home 

and community-based waiver participating providers as 

specified in 12VAC30-120-930, PERS providers must also 

meet the following qualifications and requirements: 

1. A PERS provider shall be either, but not necessarily be 

limited to, a personal care agency, a durable medical 

equipment provider, a licensed home health provider, or a 

PERS manufacturer. All such providers shall have the 

ability to provide PERS equipment, direct services (i.e., 

installation, equipment maintenance, and service calls), 

and PERS monitoring;  

2. The PERS provider shall provide an emergency 

response center with fully trained operators who are 

capable of (i) receiving signals for help from an 

individual's PERS equipment 24 hours a day, 365 or 366 

days per year, as appropriate; (ii) determining whether an 

emergency exists; and (iii) notifying an emergency 

response organization or an emergency responder that the 

PERS individual needs emergency help;  

3. A PERS provider shall comply with all applicable 

Virginia statutes, all applicable regulations of DMAS, and 

all other governmental agencies having jurisdiction over 

the services to be performed;  

4. The PERS provider shall have the primary responsibility 

to furnish, install, maintain, test, and service the PERS 

equipment, as required, to keep it fully operational. The 

provider shall replace or repair the PERS device within 24 

hours of the waiver individual's notification of a 

malfunction of the console unit, activating devices, or 

medication monitoring unit and shall provide temporary 

equipment, as may be necessary for the waiver individual's 

health, safety, and welfare, while the original equipment is 

being repaired or replaced;  

5. The PERS provider shall install, consistent with the 

manufacturer's instructions, all PERS equipment into a 

waiver individual's functioning telephone line or system 

within seven days of the request of such installation unless 

there is appropriate documentation of why this timeframe 

cannot be met. The PERS provider shall furnish all 

supplies necessary to ensure that the system is installed and 

working properly. The PERS provider shall test the PERS 

device monthly, or more frequently if needed, to ensure 

that the device is fully operational;  

6. The PERS installation shall include local seize line 

circuitry, which guarantees that the unit shall have priority 

over the telephone connected to the console unit should the 

telephone be off the hook or in use when the unit is 

activated;  

7. A PERS provider shall maintain a data record for each 

waiver individual at no additional cost to DMAS or the 

waiver individual. The record shall document all of the 

following:  

a. Delivery date and installation date of the PERS 

equipment;  

b. Waiver individual/caregiver signature verifying receipt 

of the PERS equipment;  

c. Verification by a test that the PERS device is 

operational and the waiver individual is still using it 

monthly or more frequently as needed;  

d. Waiver individual contact information, to be updated 

annually or more frequently as needed, as provided by 

the individual or the individual's caregiver/EOR;  
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e. A case log documenting the waiver individual's 

utilization of the system, all contacts, and all 

communications with the individual, caregiver/EOR, and 

responders;  

f. Documentation that the waiver individual is able to use 

the PERS equipment through return demonstration; and  

g. Copies of all equipment checks performed on the 

PERS unit; 

8. The PERS provider shall have backup monitoring 

capacity in case the primary system cannot handle 

incoming emergency signals;  

9. The emergency response activator shall be capable of 

being activated either by breath, touch, or some other 

means and shall be usable by waiver individuals who are 

visually or hearing impaired or physically disabled. The 

emergency response communicator shall be capable of 

operating without external power during a power failure at 

the waiver individual's home for a minimum period of 24 

hours. The emergency response console unit shall also be 

able to self-disconnect and redial the backup monitoring 

site without the waiver individual resetting the system in 

the event it cannot get its signal accepted at the response 

center;  

10. PERS providers shall be capable of continuously 

monitoring and responding to emergencies under all 

conditions, including power failures and mechanical 

malfunctions. It shall be the PERS provider's responsibility 

to ensure that the monitoring agency and the monitoring 

agency's equipment meet the following requirements. The 

PERS provider shall be capable of simultaneously 

responding to multiple signals for help from the waiver 

individuals' PERS equipment. The PERS provider's 

equipment shall include the following:  

a. A primary receiver and a backup receiver, which shall 

be independent and interchangeable;  

b. A backup information retrieval system;  

c. A clock printer, which shall print out the time and date 

of the emergency signal, the waiver individual's 

identification code, and the emergency code that 

indicates whether the signal is active, passive, or a 

responder test;  

d. A backup power supply;  

e. A separate telephone service;  

f. A toll-free number to be used by the PERS equipment 

in order to contact the primary or backup response 

center; and  

g. A telephone line monitor, which shall give visual and 

audible signals when the incoming telephone line is 

disconnected for more than 10 seconds; 

11. The PERS provider shall maintain detailed technical 

and operation manuals that describe PERS elements, 

including the installation, functioning, and testing of PERS 

equipment; emergency response protocols; and 

recordkeeping and reporting procedures;  

12. The PERS provider shall document and furnish within 

30 days of the action taken, a written report for each 

emergency signal that results in action being taken on 

behalf of the waiver individual. This excludes test signals 

or activations made in error. This written report shall be 

furnished to (i) the personal care provider; (ii) the respite 

care provider; (iii) the CD services facilitation provider; 

(iv) in cases where the individual only receives ADHC 

services, to the ADCC provider; or (v) to the transition 

coordinator for the service in which the individual is 

enrolled; and 

13. The PERS provider shall obtain and keep on file a copy 

of the most recently completed DMAS-225 form. Until the 

PERS provider obtains a copy of the DMAS-225 form, the 

PERS provider shall clearly document efforts to obtain the 

completed DMAS-225 form from the personal care 

provider, respite care provider, CD services facilitation 

provider, or ADCC provider.  

J. Assistive technology (AT) and environmental 

modification (EM) services. AT and EM shall be provided 

only to waiver individuals who also participate in the MFP 

demonstration program by providers who have current 

provider participation agreements with DMAS.  

1. AT shall be rendered by providers having a current 

provider participation agreement with DMAS as durable 

medical equipment and supply providers. An independent, 

professional consultation shall be obtained, as may be 

required, from qualified professionals who are 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by either DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor and 

may include training on such AT by the qualified 

professional. Independent, professional consultants shall 

include, but shall not necessarily be limited to, 

speech/language therapists, physical therapists, 

occupational therapists, physicians, behavioral therapists, 

certified rehabilitation specialists, or rehabilitation 

engineers. Providers that supply AT for a waiver individual 

may not perform assessment/consultation, write 

specifications, or inspect the AT for that individual. 

Providers of services shall not be (i) spouses of the waiver 

individual or (ii) parents (biological, adoptive, foster, or 

legal guardian) of the waiver individual. AT shall be 

delivered within 60 days from the start date of the 

authorization. The AT provider shall ensure that the AT 

functions properly.  

2. In addition to meeting the general conditions and 

requirements for home and community-based waiver 

services participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-
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120-930, as appropriate, environmental modifications shall 

be provided in accordance with all applicable state or local 

building codes by contractors who have provider 

agreements with DMAS. Providers of services shall not be 

(i) the spouse of the waiver individual or (ii) the parent 

(biological, adoptive, foster, or legal guardian) of the 

waiver individual who is a minor child. Modifications shall 

be completed within a year of the start date of the 

authorization.  

3. Providers of AT and EM services shall not be permitted 

to recover equipment that has been provided to waiver 

individuals whenever the provider has been charged, by 

either DMAS or its designated service authorization agent, 

with overpayments and is therefore being required to return 

payments to DMAS. 

K. Transition coordination. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010. 

L. Transition services. This service shall be provided 

consistent with 12VAC30-120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-

2010. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3805; Filed August 22, 2018, 2:48 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 

for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 

Services (amending 12VAC30-70-301).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

approved the changes contained in this regulatory package on 

December 13, 2017, with an effective date of July 1, 2017. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to update the 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment methodology 

for inpatient psychiatric hospitals. CMS has requested this 

change in order to avoid paying a hospital more than its 

uncompensated costs. 

Prior to July 1, 2017, the DSH per diem for state inpatient 

psychiatric hospitals was calculated by dividing the total state 

inpatient psychiatric hospital allocation by the number of 

DSH days and multiplying each hospital's DSH days by the 

DSH per diem. 

Updating the reimbursement methodology effective July 1, 

2017, increases payments to Catawba Hospital and reduces 

payments to Piedmont Geriatric Hospital but leaves 

unchanged total payments to Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services facilities. 

This regulation is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of Medicaid members in that it allocates limited 

Medicaid funds in a way to help ensure continued access to 

care across the Commonwealth. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 

rulemaking action because it is not expected to be 

controversial. CMS approved the change, and the updated 

DSH payment methodology was used for payments made 

after July 1, 2017. 

Substance: Effective July 1, 2017, DSH payments will be 

calculated by multiplying the annual state inpatient 

psychiatric DSH allocation by the ratio of each hospital's 

uncompensated cost for the most recent DSH audited year 

completed prior to the DSH payment year to the 

uncompensated care cost of all state inpatient psychiatric 

hospitals for the same audited year. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulation to the public 

and the agency is it helps ensure that DMAS does not pay a 

hospital more than its uncompensated costs. These changes 

create no disadvantages to the public, the agency, the 

Commonwealth, or the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medical Assistance Services proposes to modify the 

Medicaid Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payment 

methodology for state inpatient psychiatric hospitals. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The two state inpatient 

psychiatric hospitals, Catawba and Piedmont Geriatric 
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Hospitals, receive payments from Medicaid to cover their 

uncompensated care costs. These DSH payments are 

calculated based on a methodology stated in the regulation. 

Currently, each hospital's DSH days are multiplied by the 

DSH per diem to calculate the hospital's share of DSH 

payments. This methodology can result in a hospital receiving 

DSH payments in excess of its total uncompensated care 

costs if the DSH per diem is high enough. Because of this 

possibility, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

(CMS) has requested a change in methodology in order to 

avoid paying a hospital more than its uncompensated costs. 

Under the proposed change, effective July 1, 2017, the annual 

DSH payment to a state psychiatric hospital will be calculated 

based on its percent share of total uncompensated care costs 

so that its DSH payment may not exceed its uncompensated 

care costs. 

While the total DSH payments to the two state hospitals will 

stay the same, at $7.3 million, Catawba will receive 

$1,045,730 more and Piedmont Geriatric will receive 

$1,045,730 less. However, both hospitals are state owned 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services facilities. Thus, there will be no change in Medicaid 

DSH payments made to the Commonwealth at the aggregate 

level. The proposed change is beneficial however, in that it 

complies with the CMS request and more accurately allocates 

DSH payments due to individual state hospitals. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are two state 

inpatient psychiatric hospitals affected: Catawba and 

Piedmont Geriatric Hospitals. 

Localities Particularly Affected. Catawba and Piedmont 

Geriatric Hospitals are located in Roanoke and Nottoway 

counties respectively. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 

impose costs and other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no adverse impact on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with 

this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the procedure for the 

disproportionate share hospital payment calculations for 

state-owned inpatient psychiatric hospitals, beginning July 

1, 2017. 

12VAC30-70-301. Payment to disproportionate share 

hospitals. 

A. Payments to disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) shall 

be prospectively determined in advance of the state fiscal year 

to which they apply. The payments shall be made on a 

quarterly basis and shall be final subject to subsections E and 

K of this section. 

B. Effective July 1, 2014, in order to qualify for DSH 

payments, DSH eligible hospitals shall have a total Medicaid 

inpatient utilization rate equal to 14% or higher in the base 

year using Medicaid days eligible for Medicare DSH defined 

in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(2) or a low income utilization rate 

defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3) in excess of 25%. 

Eligibility for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals shall be 

based on total Medicaid utilization or on total Medicaid 

neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) utilization equal to 14% 

or higher. 

C. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 

methodology for all hospitals except Type One hospitals is 

the following: 

1. Each hospital's DSH payment shall be equal to the DSH 

per diem multiplied by each hospital's eligible DSH days in 

a base year. Days reported in provider fiscal years in state 

fiscal year (FY) 2011 (available from the Medicaid cost 

report through the Hospital Cost Report Information 

System (HCRIS) as of July 30, 2013) will be the base year 

for FY 2015 prospective DSH payments. DSH shall be 

recalculated annually with an updated base year. Future 

base year data shall be extracted from Medicare cost report 

summary statistics available through HCRIS as of October 

1 prior to next year's effective date. 

2. Eligible DSH days are the sum of all Medicaid inpatient 

acute, psychiatric, and rehabilitation days above 14% for 
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each DSH hospital subject to special rules for out-of-state 

cost reporting hospitals. Eligible DSH days for out-of-state 

cost reporting hospitals shall be the higher of the number 

of eligible days based on the calculation in the first 

sentence of this subdivision times Virginia Medicaid 

utilization (Virginia Medicaid days as a percent of total 

Medicaid days) or the Medicaid NICU days above 14% 

times Virginia NICU Medicaid utilization (Virginia NICU 

Medicaid days as a percent of total NICU Medicaid days). 

Eligible DSH days for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals 

that qualify for DSH but that have less than 12% Virginia 

Medicaid utilization shall be 50% of the days that would 

have otherwise been eligible DSH days. 

3. Additional eligible DSH days are days that exceed 28% 

Medicaid utilization for Virginia Type Two hospitals, 

excluding Children's Hospital of the Kings Daughters 

(CHKD). 

4. The DSH per diem shall be calculated in the following 

manner: 

a. The DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals is 

calculated by dividing the total Type Two DSH 

allocation by the sum of eligible DSH days for all Type 

Two DSH hospitals. For purposes of DSH, Type Two 

hospitals do not include CHKD or any hospital whose 

reimbursement exceeds its federal uncompensated care 

cost limit. The Type Two hospital DSH allocation shall 

equal the amount of DSH paid to Type Two hospitals in 

state FY 2014 increased annually by the percent change 

in the federal allotment, including any reductions as a 

result of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 

(Affordable Care Act), P.L. 111-148, adjusted for the 

state fiscal year. 

b. The DSH per diem for state inpatient psychiatric 

hospitals is calculated by dividing the total state inpatient 

psychiatric hospital DSH allocation by the sum of 

eligible DSH days. The state inpatient psychiatric 

hospital DSH allocation shall equal the amount of DSH 

paid in state FY 2013 increased annually by the percent 

change in the federal allotment, including any reductions 

as a result of the Affordable Care Act, adjusted for the 

state fiscal year. 

c. Effective July 1, 2017, the annual DSH payment shall 

be calculated separately for each eligible hospital by 

multiplying each year's state inpatient psychiatric 

hospital DSH allocation described in subdivision C 4 b of 

this section by the ratio of each hospital's uncompensated 

care cost for the most recent DSH audited year 

completed prior to the DSH payment year to the 

uncompensated care cost of all state inpatient psychiatric 

hospitals for the same audited year. 

c. d. The DSH per diem for CHKD shall be three times 

the DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals. 

5. Each year, the department shall determine how much 

Type Two DSH has been reduced as a result of the 

Affordable Care Act and adjust the percent of cost 

reimbursed for outpatient hospital reimbursement. 

D. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 

methodology for Type One hospitals shall be to pay its 

uncompensated care costs up to the available allotment. 

Interim payments shall be made based on estimates of the 

uncompensated care costs and allotment. Payments shall be 

settled at cost report settlement and at the conclusion of the 

DSH audit.  

E. Prior to July 1, 2014, hospitals qualifying under the 14% 

inpatient Medicaid utilization percentage shall receive a DSH 

payment based on the hospital's type and the hospital's 

Medicaid utilization percentage.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to:  

a. The sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 10.5%, times 17, times the 

hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 

1.4433 and (ii) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 21%, times 17, times the 

hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 

1.4433.  

b. Multiplied by the Type One hospital DSH Factor. The 

Type One hospital DSH factor shall equal a percentage 

that when applied to the DSH payment calculation yields 

a DSH payment equal to the total calculated using the 

methodology outlined in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection using an adjustment factor of one in the 

calculation of operating payments rather than the 

adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 

12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 10.5%, times the hospital's 

Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.2074 and (ii) 

the hospital's Medicaid utilization percentage in excess of 

21%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 

reimbursement, times 1.2074. Out-of-state cost reporting 

hospitals with Virginia utilization in the base year of less 

than 12% of total Medicaid days shall receive 50% of the 

payment described in this subsection. 

F. Hospitals qualifying under the 25% low-income patient 

utilization rate shall receive a DSH payment based on the 

hospital's type and the hospital's low-income utilization rate.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 

excess of 25%, times 17, times the hospital's Medicaid 

operating reimbursement.  
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2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 

excess of 25%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 

reimbursement.  

3. Calculation of a hospital's low-income patient utilization 

percentage is defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3).  

G. Each hospital's eligibility for DSH payment and the 

amount of the DSH payment shall be calculated at the time of 

each rebasing using the most recent reliable utilization data 

and projected operating reimbursement data available. The 

utilization data used to determine eligibility for DSH payment 

and the amount of the DSH payment shall include days for 

Medicaid recipients enrolled in capitated managed care 

programs. In years when DSH payments are not rebased in 

the way described in this section, the previous year's amounts 

shall be adjusted for inflation.  

For freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, 

DSH payment shall be based on the most recently settled 

Medicare cost report available before the beginning of the 

state fiscal year for which a payment is being calculated.  

H. Effective July 1, 2010, DSH payments shall be rebased 

for all hospitals with the final calculation reduced by a 

uniform percentage such that the expenditures in FY 2011 do 

not exceed expenditures in FY 2010 separately for Type One 

and Type Two hospitals. The reduction shall be calculated 

after determination of eligibility. Payments determined in FY 

2011 shall not be adjusted for inflation in FY 2012. 

I. Effective July 1, 2013, DSH payments shall not be 

rebased for all hospitals in FY 2014 and shall be frozen at the 

payment levels for FY 2013 eligible providers.  

J. To be eligible for DSH, a hospital shall also meet the 

requirements in 42 USC § 1396r-4(d). No DSH payment shall 

exceed any applicable limitations upon such payment 

established by 42 USC § 1396r 4(g). 

K. If making the DSH payments prescribed in this chapter 

would exceed the DSH allotment, DMAS shall adjust DSH 

payments to Type One hospitals. Any DSH payment not 

made as prescribed in the State Plan as a result of the DSH 

allotment shall be made upon a determination that an 

available allotment exists. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5388; Filed August 22, 2018, 4:08 p.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-115. Regulations to Assure 

the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (amending 12VAC35-115-30, 12VAC35-115-105).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Deb Lochart, Director, Office of Human 

Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 13th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0032, FAX (804) 

371-2308, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 37.2-203 and 37.2-304 of the Code of 

Virginia authorize the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services to adopt regulations that may be 

necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code 

of Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth 

administered by the commissioner and the department. 

Purpose: Licensed behavior analysts (LBAs) are one of the 

main professions providing behavioral services in Virginia. 

Currently, there is a six-month waiting list for behavioral plan 

development. The amendment to the language makes it easier 

for individuals to have access to behavioral health services, 

protecting public health. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are noncontroversial. LBAs have been a licensed 

profession in Virginia since the 2012 Session of the General 

Assembly established the profession (Chapter 3 of the 2012 

Acts of Assembly) and since then, LBAs have been active in 

the behavioral health and developmental services system. 

Substance: The amendments will increase the number of 

those professionals available to develop the plans by adding 

language allowing licensed behavior analysts to make 

assessments on the use of restraints or time outs. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments to the 

public and to the agency is the enhancement of the protection 

of rights for individuals in the system by allowing the most 

appropriately trained professionals (subject matter experts) to 

develop and implement behavioral treatment plans. There is 

no identified disadvantage to the public or the 

Commonwealth in making this change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (Board) proposes 1) to allow licensed behavior 

analysts to make assessments on the use of individualized 

restrictions such as restraints or time outs in a behavioral 

treatment plan and 2) to limit behavioral treatment plans 
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requiring review by an independent committee to those 

involving the use of restraints or time outs. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Effective February 9, 2017 these 

regulations were extensively revised. During the rollout of the 

changes, an inadvertent error was discovered involving the 

assessment of individualized restrictions and the review of 

plans involving such restrictions.  

The current language specifically allows a "licensed 

professional" to assess the use of restraints or time outs, but 

the definition of "licensed professional" does not include 

licensed behavior analysts who are qualified to make such 

assessments. The Board proposes to add language allowing 

licensed behavior analysts to make such assessments. 

Currently, there are 893 licensed behavior analysts in 

Virginia.1 Allowing licensed behavior analysts to make those 

assessments will broaden the pool of professionals who can 

make such assessments. A larger number of authorized 

professionals will likely be beneficial by speeding up the 

assessment process. According to the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS), 

there is currently a six-month waiting list for behavioral plan 

development, and individuals consistently report that this is a 

service that they have difficulty in accessing due to the 

limited number of appropriate licensed professionals. 

Also, the language in the previous revisions of the regulation 

requires that all behavioral treatments plans are to be 

reviewed prior to their implementation by an independent 

review committee established by the provider. The intent of 

that revision was not to require review of all plans but rather 

only those involving the use of individualized restrictions. 

Thus, the Board proposes to amend the current language to 

limit the committee review of plans to those involving such 

restrictions. This proposed change will reduce the number of 

reviews by the independent review committees and will likely 

result in some staff time savings to the providers. According 

to DBHDS, it would take about 30 minutes to conduct a 

review of a behavioral treatment plan. DBHDS estimates that 

there are approximately 502 providers utilizing over 800 

plans statewide. Of the 800 plans, the number of plans 

involving restrictions is not known. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 

502 providers. Currently, there are 893 licensed behavior 

analysts in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

affect particular localities disproportionately. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

will reduce the demand for labor by reducing the number of 

plans requiring committee review, but no significant impact 

on employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small 

business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most if not all of the providers are 

small providers. The proposed changes do not impose costs 

on them but will benefit them as explained above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 

1Source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adjust the definition of "independent 

review committee," (ii) add licensed behavior analysts as 

licensed professionals who may conduct the required 

detailed and systematic assessment of behavioral treatment 

plans that include individualized restrictions such as 

restraint or timeout before a provider is allowed to employ 

such a plan, and (iii) clarify that behavioral treatment 

plans involving the use of restraint or timeout must be 

submitted to an independent review committee prior to 

implementation.  

12VAC35-115-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means any act or failure to act by an employee or 

other person responsible for the care of an individual in a 

facility or program operated, licensed, or funded by the 
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department, excluding those operated by the Department of 

Corrections, that was performed or was failed to be 

performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and that 

caused or might have caused physical or psychological harm, 

injury, or death to a person receiving care or treatment for 

mental illness, intellectual disability, or substance abuse. 

Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 

2. Assault or battery; 

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the person; 

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the person's assets, goods, 

or property; 

5. Use of excessive force when placing a person in 

physical or mechanical restraint; 

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on a person that 

is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies; professionally accepted standards 

of practice; or the person's individualized services plan; 

and 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish the person or that is not consistent with 

his individualized services plan. See § 37.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Administrative hearing" means an administrative 

proceeding held pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Advance directive" means a document voluntarily executed 

in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or the 

laws of another state where executed (§ 54.1-2993 of the 

Code of Virginia). This may include a wellness recovery 

action plan (WRAP) or similar document as long as it is 

executed in accordance with § 54.1-2983 of the Code of 

Virginia or the laws of another state. A WRAP or similar 

document may identify the health care agent who is 

authorized to act as the individual's substitute decision maker. 

"Authorization" means a document signed by the individual 

receiving services or that individual's authorized 

representative that authorizes the provider to disclose 

identifying information about the individual. An authorization 

shall be voluntary. To be voluntary, the authorization shall be 

given by the individual receiving services or his authorized 

representative freely and without undue inducement; any 

element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or any form of 

constraint or coercion. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by 

law or this chapter to authorize the disclosure of information 

or to consent to treatment and services or participation in 

human research. The decision-making authority of an 

authorized representative recognized or designated under this 

chapter is limited to decisions pertaining to the designating 

provider. Legal guardians, attorneys-in-fact, or health care 

agents appointed pursuant to § 54.1-2983 of the Code of 

Virginia may have decision-making authority beyond such 

provider. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual to achieve a 

positive outcome and to address challenging behavior in a 

constructive and safe manner. Behavior management 

principles and methods must be employed in accordance with 

the individualized services plan and written policies and 

procedures governing service expectations, treatment goals, 

safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or 

"behavioral support plan" means any set of documented 

procedures that are an integral part of the individualized 

services plan and are developed on the basis of a systematic 

data collection, such as a functional assessment, for the 

purpose of assisting an individual to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Board" means the Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Caregiver" means an employee or contractor who provides 

care and support services; medical services; or other 

treatment, rehabilitation, or habilitation services. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the public 

body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 

Virginia that provides mental health, developmental, and 

substance abuse services to individuals within each city and 

county that established it. For the purpose of these 

regulations, "community services board" also includes a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-602 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of this 

chapter or a provider's policies and procedures related to this 

chapter.  

"Consent" means the voluntary agreement of an individual 

or that individual's authorized representative to specific 

services. Consent shall be given freely and without undue 

inducement; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or 

any form of constraint or coercion. Consent may be expressed 

through any means appropriate for the individual, including 

verbally, through physical gestures or behaviors, in Braille or 

American Sign Language, in writing, or through other 

methods. 
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"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services. 

"Director" means the chief executive officer of any provider 

delivering services. In organizations that also include services 

not covered by this chapter, the director is the chief executive 

officer of the services or services licensed, funded, or 

operated by the department.  

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed 

after discharge. 

"Disclosure" means the release by a provider of information 

identifying an individual. 

"Emergency" means a situation that requires a person to take 

immediate action to avoid harm, injury, or death to an 

individual or to others. 

"Exploitation" means the misuse or misappropriation of the 

individual's assets, goods, or property. Exploitation is a type 

of abuse. (See § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.) 

Exploitation also includes the use of a position of authority to 

extract personal gain from an individual. Exploitation 

includes violations of 12VAC35-115-120 and 12VAC35-115-

130. Exploitation does not include the billing of an 

individual's third party payer for services. Exploitation also 

does not include instances of use or appropriation of an 

individual's assets, goods, or property when permission is 

given by the individual or his authorized representative: 

1. With full knowledge of the consequences; 

2. With no inducements; and 

3. Without force, misrepresentation, fraud, deceit, duress of 

any form, constraint, or coercion. 

"Governing body of the provider" means the person or group 

of persons with final authority to establish policy.  

"Habilitation" means the provision of individualized 

services conforming to current acceptable professional 

practice that enhance the strengths of, teach functional skills 

to, or reduce or eliminate challenging behaviors of an 

individual. These services occur in an environment that suits 

the individual's needs, responds to his preferences, and 

promotes social interaction and adaptive behaviors.  

"Health care operations" means any activities of the provider 

to the extent that the activities are related to its provision of 

health care services. Examples include: 

1. Conducting quality assessment and improvement 

activities, case management and care coordination, 

contacting of health care providers and patients with 

information about treatment alternatives, and related 

functions that do not include treatment; 

2. Reviewing the competence or qualifications of health 

care professionals, evaluating practitioner and provider 

performance, and training, licensing, or credentialing 

activities; 

3. Conducting or arranging for medical review, legal 

services, and auditing functions, including fraud and abuse 

detection and compliance programs; and 

4. Other activities contained within the definition of health 

care operations in 45 CFR 164.501. 

"Health plan" means an individual or group plan that 

provides or pays the cost of medical care, including any entity 

that meets the definition of "health plan" in 45 CFR 160.103. 

"Historical research" means the review of information that 

identifies individuals receiving services for the purpose of 

evaluating or otherwise collecting data of general historical 

significance.  

"Human research" means any systematic investigation, 

including research development, testing, and evaluation, 

utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 

contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall 

not include research exempt from federal research regulations 

pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b). 

"Human rights advocate" means a person employed by the 

commissioner upon recommendation of the State Human 

Rights Director to help individuals receiving services exercise 

their rights under this chapter. See 12VAC35-115-260 C. 

"Independent review committee" means a committee 

appointed or accessed by a provider to review and approve 

the clinical efficacy of the provider's behavioral treatment 

plans and associated data collection procedures. An 

independent review committee shall be composed of 

professionals with training and experience in applied 

behavioral behavior analysis and interventions who are not 

involved in the development of the plan or directly providing 

services to the individual. 

"Individual" means a person who is receiving services. This 

term includes the terms "consumer," "patient," "resident," 

"recipient," and "client." 

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care.  

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement 

of an individual, or that individual's authorized representative, 
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to surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 

medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a 

risk of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily 

life or for participation in human research. To be voluntary, 

informed consent must be given freely and without undue 

inducement; any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or 

any form of constraint or coercion. 

"Investigating authority" means any person or entity that is 

approved by the provider to conduct investigations of abuse 

and neglect. 

"Licensed professional" means a licensed physician, 

licensed clinical psychologist, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed or 

certified substance abuse treatment practitioner, or licensed 

psychiatric nurse practitioner. 

"Local human rights committee" or "LHRC" means a group 

of at least five people appointed by the State Human Rights 

Committee. See 12VAC35-115-270 A for membership and 

duties. 

"Neglect" means failure by a person, program, or facility 

operated, licensed, or funded by the department, excluding 

those operated by the Department of Corrections, responsible 

for providing services to do so, including nourishment, 

treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to the health, 

safety, or welfare of an individual receiving care or treatment 

for mental illness, intellectual disability, or substance abuse. 

See § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Next friend" means a person designated in accordance with 

12VAC35-115-146 B to serve as the authorized 

representative of an individual who has been determined to 

lack capacity to consent or authorize the disclosure of 

identifying information, when required under this chapter. 

"Peer-on-peer aggression" means a physical act, verbal 

threat, or demeaning expression by an individual against or to 

another individual that causes physical or emotional harm to 

that individual. Examples include hitting, kicking, scratching, 

and other threatening behavior. Such instances may constitute 

potential neglect. 

"Person centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual, empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life, and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery.  

"Program rules" means the operational rules and 

expectations that providers establish to promote the general 

safety and well-being of all individuals in the program and to 

set standards for how individuals will interact with one 

another in the program. Program rules include any 

expectation that produces a consequence for the individual 

within the program. Program rules may be included in a 

handbook or policies and shall be available to the individual. 

"Protection and advocacy agency" means the state agency 

designated under the federal Protection and Advocacy for 

Individuals with Mental Illness Act (PAIMI) and the 

Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act 

(DD). The protection and advocacy agency is the disAbility 

Law Center of Virginia (dLCV). 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization 

offering services that is licensed, funded, or operated by the 

department. 

"Psychotherapy notes" means comments, recorded in any 

medium by a health care provider who is a mental health 

professional, documenting and analyzing the contents of 

conversation during a private counseling session with an 

individual or a group, joint, or family counseling session that 

are separated from the rest of the individual's health record. 

"Psychotherapy notes" shall not include annotations relating 

to medication and prescription monitoring, counseling session 

start and stop times, treatment modalities and frequencies, 

clinical test results, or any summary of any symptoms, 

diagnosis, prognosis, functional status, treatment plan, or the 

individual's progress to date. 

"Research review committee" or "institutional review board" 

means a committee of professionals that provides complete 

and adequate review of research activities. The committee 

shall be sufficiently qualified through maturity, experience, 

and diversity of its members, including consideration of race, 

gender, and cultural background, to promote respect for its 

advice and counsel in safeguarding the rights and welfare of 

participants in human research. (See § 37.2-402 of the Code 

of Virginia and 12VAC35-180.) 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body to engage in a 

behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. There are 

three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical 

device that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict 

the freedom of movement or functioning of a limb or a 

portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 

him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency 

control of an individual's behavior when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk and the 

administered medication is not a standard treatment for the 

individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to 

prevent an individual from moving his body when that 

individual's behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 
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"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntarily restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency, (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable, and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility 

of an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related postprocedure care processes, when use of the 

restraint is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the 

individual's condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to 

remove the device. The device may limit an individual's 

movement, for example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent 

possible harm to the individual or it may create a passive 

barrier, such as a helmet to protect the individual.  

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"SCC" means a specially constituted committee serving an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities as described in the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) Conditions of Participation 

(42 CFR 483.440(f)(3)). 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an 

individual alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or 

held shut by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, 

or by any other physical or verbal means, so that the 

individual cannot leave it. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician. 

"Services" means care, treatment, training, habilitation, 

interventions, or other supports, including medical care, 

delivered by a provider licensed, operated or funded by the 

department. 

"Services record" means all written and electronic 

information that a provider keeps about an individual who 

receives services. 

"State Human Rights Committee" or "SHRC" means a 

committee of nine members appointed by the board that is 

accountable for the duties prescribed in 12VAC35-115-270 

C.  

"State human rights director" means the person employed by 

and reporting to the commissioner who is responsible for 

carrying out the functions prescribed for the position in 

12VAC35-115-260 D. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a 

different, open location for a specified period of time or until 

the problem behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce 

the frequency of problematic behavior. 

"Treatment" means the individually planned, sound, and 

therapeutic interventions that are intended to improve or 

maintain functioning of an individual receiving services 

delivered by providers licensed, funded, or operated by the 

department. In order to be considered sound and therapeutic, 

the treatment shall conform to current acceptable professional 

practice. 

12VAC35-115-105. Behavioral treatment plans. 

A. A behavioral treatment plan is used to assist an individual 

to improve participation in normal activities and conditions of 

everyday living, reduce challenging behaviors, alleviate 

symptoms of psychopathology, and maintain a safe and 

orderly environment. 

B. Providers may use individualized restrictions such as 

restraint or time out in a behavioral treatment plan to address 

challenging behaviors that present an immediate danger to the 

individual or others, but only after a licensed professional or 

licensed behavior analyst has conducted a detailed and 

systematic assessment of the behavior and the situations in 

which the behavior occurs. Providers shall document in the 

individual's services record that the lack of success or 

probable success of less restrictive procedures attempted or 

considered, and the risks associated with not treating the 

behavior, are greater than any risks associated with the use of 

the proposed restrictions. 

C. Providers shall develop any behavioral treatment plan 

according to their policies and procedures, which shall ensure 

that: 

1. Behavioral treatment plans are initiated, developed, 

carried out, and monitored by professionals who are 

qualified by expertise, training, education, or credentials to 

do so;  

2. Behavioral treatment plans include nonrestrictive 

procedures and environmental modifications that address 

the targeted behavior; and 

3. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 

or timeout are submitted to an independent review 

committee, prior to implementation, for review and 

approval of the technical adequacy of the plan and data 

collection procedures. 

D. In addition to any other requirements of 42 CFR 

483.440(f)(3), providers that are intermediate care facilities 

for individuals with intellectual disabilities shall submit any 
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behavioral treatment plan that involves the use of restraint or 

time out, and its independent review committee approval, to 

the SCC under 42 CFR 483.440(f)(3) for the SCC's approval 

prior to implementation.  

E. Providers other than intermediate care facilities for 

individuals with intellectual disabilities shall submit any 

behavioral treatment plan that involves the use of restraint or 

time out, and its independent review committee approval, to 

the LHRC, which shall determine whether the plan is in 

accordance with this chapter prior to implementation.  

F. If either the LHRC or SCC finds that the behavioral 

treatment plan violates the rights of the individual or is not 

being implemented in accordance with this chapter, the 

LHRC or SCC shall notify the director and provide 

recommendations regarding the proposed plan. 

G. Behavioral treatment plans involving the use of restraint 

or time out shall be reviewed quarterly by the independent 

review committee and the LHRC or SCC to determine if the 

use of restraint has resulted in improvements in functioning 

of the individual. 

H. Providers shall not use seclusion in a behavioral 

treatment plan. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5182; Filed August 23, 2018, 10:24 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 

Community Development is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Housing and 

Community Development will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 

Program Regulation (amending 13VAC5-112-440, 

13VAC5-112-490).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-541 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 17, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Policy Analyst, Department 

of Housing and Community Development, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TTY 

(804) 371-7089, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to Chapter 315 of 

the 2018 Acts of Assembly, to include that changes to an 

enterprise zone involving the elimination of an area or 

areas from the zone shall not exceed the statutory 

maximum size provisions. 

13VAC5-112-440. Zone eligibility requirements.  

A. To be eligible for consideration, an application for an 

enterprise zone must meet the requirements set out in this 

section.  

B. Enterprise zones may consist of no more than three 

noncontiguous areas. The size of the enterprise zone shall 

consist of the total of the acreage of all noncontiguous areas. 

The maximum combined land area cannot exceed maximum 

size guidelines set forth in subdivisions C 1, 2, 3 and, 4, and 5 

of this section.  

C. All proposed zones shall conform to the following size 

guidelines:  

1. Cities -- minimum: 1/4 square mile (160 acres); 

maximum: 1 square mile (640 acres) or 7.0% of the 

jurisdiction's land area or an area that includes 7.0% of the 

population, whichever is largest. Towns designated as 

enterprise zones pursuant to former §§ 59.1-274, 59.1-

274.1 and 59.1-274.2 of the Code of Virginia shall 

conform to the size guidelines for cities.  

2. For towns designated as enterprise zones under former 

§§ 59.1-272 through 59.1-278, 59.1-279.1, or 59.1-280.2 

through 59.1-284 of the Enterprise Zone Act (§ 59.1-270 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia), the size of an enterprise zone 

shall conform to the size requirements for cities in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

2. 3. Unincorporated areas of counties -- minimum: 1/2 

square mile (320 acres); maximum: 6 square miles (3,840 

acres).  

3. 4. Consolidated cities -- zones in cities the boundaries of 

which were created through the consolidation of a city and 

county or the consolidation of two cities shall conform 

substantially to the minimum and maximum size 

guidelines for unincorporated areas of counties as set forth 

in subdivision 2 3 of this subsection.  

4. 5. In no instance shall a zone consist only of a site for a 

single business firm.  
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Part IX  

Procedures for Zone Amendment  

13VAC5-112-490. Amendment of approved applications.  

A. A local governing body will be permitted to request 

amendments to approved applications for zone designation in 

accordance with the procedures and requirements set out in 

this section. Each jurisdiction participating in a joint zone 

may amend their portion of the application, including 

boundaries and incentives, independently of the other 

participating jurisdictions.  

B. The applicant jurisdiction must be current on the 

submission of annual reports as set forth in 13VAC5-112-550 

in order to amend an approved application.  

C. The applicant jurisdiction must hold at least one public 

hearing on the requested amendment prior to its submission 

to the department. This public hearing may not have been 

held more than six months prior to the amendment 

submission. In the case of a boundary amendment that 

involves the elimination of area or areas, the applicant 

jurisdiction must separately notify each property owner and 

business located within the affected area of the proposed 

amendment prior to holding the public hearing.  

D. A request for an amendment must be submitted to the 

department on Form EZ-2. This form must be accompanied 

by a resolution of the local governing body and must certify 

that the applicant jurisdiction held the public hearing required 

in subsection C of this section prior to the adoption of the 

resolution. In the case of a joint application, Form EZ-2 must 

be completed by the jurisdiction requesting the amendment 

and must be accompanied by Form EZ-2-JA. This form 

certifies that the other participating jurisdictions are in 

agreement in filing the request for amendment.  

E. An enterprise zone application may be amended annually, 

at least 12 months from the last amendment application by the 

jurisdiction. Amendments may be to the entire application or 

individual sections such as the boundary or incentives.  

F. A zone boundary amendment may not consist of a site for 

a single business firm or be less than 10 acres.  

G. A noncontiguous area(s) area may be added to an 

enterprise zone through a boundary amendment. However, no 

enterprise zone shall have more than three noncontiguous 

areas.  

H. The total zone acreage resulting from a boundary 

amendment must conform to the size guidelines set forth in 

13VAC5-112-440.  

I. Boundary amendments that involve the elimination of area 

or areas from a zone shall be reviewed on a case-by-case 

basis by the department with the potential impact on affected 

businesses and property owners being given primary 

consideration. Such boundary changes cannot involve more 

than 15% of the total zone acreage shall not exceed the 

maximum size provisions of 13VAC5-112-440 C.  

J. A county may amend its zone boundaries to include as 

part of the county's total acreage, acreage in any town located 

within the county provided it meets the provisions of 

subsections A through I of this section. This shall not 

constitute a joint zone and does not provide the town with the 

ability to make any zone amendments, add noncontiguous 

areas or give the town its own zone acreage allocation. In 

such situations, towns may provide local incentives in 

addition to the county incentives.  

K. The department will approve an amendment to local 

incentives only when the proposed incentive is equal to or 

superior to that in the original application or any previous 

amendment approved by the department. The department will 

approve an amendment of zone boundaries only if the 

proposed amendment is deemed to be consistent with the 

purposes of the program as determined by the department.  

L. A local governing body that is denied an application 

amendment shall be provided with the reasons for denial.  

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (13VAC5-112)  

Application for Enterprise Designation Form, EZ-1 (rev. 

2/2015) 

Joint Application Agreement Form, EZ-1-JA, (rev. 2/2015) 

Enterprise Zone Amendment Application, EZ-2 (undated, 

filed 9/7/2016) 

Enterprise Zone Amendment Application, EZ-2 (undated, 

filed 8/29/2018) 

Joint Amendment Application Agreement Form, EZ-2-JA 

(undated, filed 9/1/2016) 

Local Enterprise Zone Annual Report Form, EZ-3-AR (rev. 

5/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/camsportal/Login.aspx 

Form EZ-3-AR Business Activity Worksheet (rev. 5/2016) 

Job Creation Grant Application Form, EZ-JCG (rev. 

11/2015) 

Job Creation Grant Application Form, EZ-JCG-HUA (rev. 

11/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42fdb004890~1&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42fdb004890~1&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55aaa004890~2&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=366d5005533~2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005533&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=366d5005533~2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005533&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=095dd004890~4&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=095dd004890~4&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35052004890~8&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35052004890~8&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/camsportal/Login.aspx
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42be0004890~9&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b1c6004890~5&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7b1c6004890~5&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28539004890~6&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28539004890~6&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
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Real Property Investment Grant Application Form and 

Supplements, EZ-RPIG (rev. 11/2015) 

General Income Tax Credit Application for Existing Firms, 

EZ-6E (undated, filed 9/7/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6E.

aspx 

General Income Tax Credit Application for New Firms, EZ-

6N (undated, filed 9/7/2016), online form available at 

https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6N

.aspx 

Investment tax Credit Qualification Form, EZ-6I (rev. 

1/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5533; Filed August 29, 2018, 8:04 a.m.  

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 

Development Authority is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations 

for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits 

(amending 13VAC10-180-50, 13VAC10-180-60, 

13VAC10-180-70, 13VAC10-180-90, 13VAC10-180-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 26, 2018 - 10 a.m. - Virginia Housing 

Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220 

Public Comment Deadline: September 26, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Paul M. Brennan, Chief Counsel, Virginia 

Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5798, FAX (804) 

833-8344, or email paul.brennan@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require a first leasing 

preference to individuals in certain identified target 

populations, having rental assistance from the 

Commonwealth and referred to the development by 

approved referring agents, in lieu of points previously 

awarded for a similar leasing preference; (ii) require 

applicants to waive his right to pursue a qualified contract 

and bar applicants having participated in a qualified 

contract or planned foreclosure in Virginia; (iii) add a 

baseline energy performance requirement and provide 

points for additional green building certifications; (iv) 

approve the use of income averaging, subject to 

limitations; (v) create an innovation pool in which 

developments having innovative aspects may compete prior 

to the traditional competitive process; (vi) restructure the 

accessible supportive housing pool and require that 

owners have a supportive housing certification and 

complete the authority's supportive housing certification; 

(vii) restructure the revitalization area point category, 

including providing points for certain deals in opportunity 

zones; (viii) revise the cost limits for developments by 

creating a per-square-foot cost limit that is localized and 

remove the land and acquisition cost from such 

calculation; (ix) revise maximum allowable developer's 

fees; (x) require a general contractor's cost certification; 

(xi) require a physical needs assessment for rehabilitation 

developments; (xii) require a Phase I environmental site 

assessment; (xiii) eliminate points for developments with 

fewer than 100 units; (xiv) require a site visit by authority 

staff as part of application review; (xv) provide that a 

prior award of credits to be refreshed in exchange for 

principals not being permitted to compete in the following 

year's competitive application process; (xvi) limit requests 

for additional credits to no more than 10% of the original 

award of credits, otherwise the applicant must return prior 

award and re-compete; (xvii) provide that owners seeking 

both 9.0% and 4.0% credits for a combined transaction 

must meet with authority staff in advance of application 

submission, that the two developments must be physically 

separate, and provide points for such combined 

applications in the scoring of the 4.0% application; (xviii) 

provide points for rent and income set-asides for units at 

the 30% of area median income level that are not 

subsidized by project-based vouchers; (xix) broaden the 

subsidized funding points category; (xx) simplify the 

calculation of points for developments constructed using 

brick and other low-maintenance materials; (xxi) revise or 

provide amenity item points for multiple items, including 

dehumidification systems, Internet service, bath vent fans, 

solid core interior doors, fire prevention features, USB 

charging ports, LED lighting, ledges at entry doors, and 

balconies; (xxii) eliminate amenity item points for multiple 

items, including certain energy efficiency items that are 

duplicative in light of the new energy efficiency threshold 

requirements and for emergency call systems; (xxiii) 

reduce points awarded to developments for having real 

estate tax abatements; (xxiv) give the authority the ability 

to remove basis boost if it determines the development is 

feasible without such basis boost; (xxv) remove penalty 

points for certain minor infractions; (xxvi) provide that the 

analyst preparing the market study must meet the 

authority's qualifications; (xxvii) expand the type of 

project-based rental assistance or subsidy that can receive 

bonus points in the local housing authority pool; and 

(xxviii) make other miscellaneous administrative 

clarification changes. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e0da004890~7&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e0da004890~7&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4473e004890~10&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4473e004890~10&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6E.aspx
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6E.aspx
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a36fd004890~11&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a36fd004890~11&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6N.aspx
https://dmz1.dhcd.virginia.gov/EZApplication/Application6N.aspx
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3d29004890~12&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3d29004890~12&typ=40&actno=004890&mime=application/pdf
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13VAC10-180-50. Application.  

Prior to submitting an application for reservation, applicants 

shall submit on such form as required by the executive 

director, the letter for authority signature by which the 

authority shall notify the chief executive officers (or the 

equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the 

developments are to be located to provide such officers a 

reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments.  

Application for a reservation of credits shall be commenced 

by filing with the authority an application, on such form or 

forms as the executive director may from time to time 

prescribe or approve, together with such documents and 

additional information (including, without limitation, a 

market study that is prepared by a housing market analyst that 

meets the authority's requirements for an approved analyst, as 

set forth on the application form, instructions, or other 

communication available to the public, that shows adequate 

demand for the housing units to be produced by the 

applicant's proposed development) as may be requested by 

the authority in order to comply with the IRC and this chapter 

and to make the reservation and allocation of the credits in 

accordance with this chapter. The executive director may 

reject any application from consideration for a reservation or 

allocation of credits if in such application the applicant does 

not provide the proper documentation or information on the 

forms prescribed by the executive director. In addition to the 

market study contained in the application, the authority may 

conduct its own analysis of the demand for the housing units 

to be produced by each applicant's proposed development. 

All sites in an application for a scattered site development 

may only serve one primary market area. If the executive 

director determines that the sites subject to a scattered site 

development are served by different primary market areas, 

separate applications for credits must be filed for each 

primary market area in which scattered sites are located 

within the deadlines established by the executive director. 

The application should include a breakdown of sources and 

uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the authority to 

ascertain what costs will be incurred and what will comprise 

the total financing package, including the various subsidies 

and the anticipated syndication or placement proceeds that 

will be raised. The following cost information, if applicable, 

needs to be included in the application to determine the 

feasible credit amount: site acquisition costs, site preparation 

costs, construction costs, construction contingency, general 

contractor's overhead and profit, architect and engineer's fees, 

permit and survey fees, insurance premiums, real estate taxes 

during construction, title and recording fees, construction 

period interest, financing fees, organizational costs, rent-up 

and marketing costs, accounting and auditing costs, working 

capital and operating deficit reserves, syndication and legal 

fees, development fees, and other costs and fees. All 

applications seeking credits for rehabilitation of existing units 

must provide for contractor construction costs of at least 

$10,000 per unit for developments financed with tax-exempt 

bonds and $15,000 per unit for all other developments. 

Any application that exceeds the cost limits set forth 

described below in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 shall be rejected 

from further consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible 

for any reservation or allocation of credits. 

1. Inner Northern Virginia. The Inner Northern Virginia 

region shall consist of Arlington County, Fairfax County, 

City of Alexandria, City of Fairfax, and City of Falls 

Church. The total development cost of proposed 

developments in the Inner Northern Virginia region may 

not exceed (i) for new construction or adaptive reuse: 

$387,809 per unit plus up to an additional $43,090 per unit 

if the proposed development contains underground or 

structured parking for each unit or (ii) for 

acquisition/rehabilitation: $338,564 per unit.  

2. Prince William County, Loudoun County, Fauquier 

County, Manassas City, and Manassas Park City. The total 

development cost of proposed developments in Prince 

William County, Loudoun County, Fauquier County, 

Manassas City, and Manassas Park City may not exceed (i) 

for new construction or adaptive reuse: $288,087 per unit 

plus up to an additional $43,090 per unit if the proposed 

development contains underground or structured parking 

for each unit or (ii) for acquisition/rehabilitation: $203,138 

per unit.  

3. Balance of state. The total development cost of proposed 

developments in the balance of the state may not exceed (i) 

for new construction or adaptive reuse: $215,450 per unit 

plus up to an additional $43,090 per unit if the proposed 

development contains underground or structured parking 

for each unit or (ii) for acquisition/rehabilitation: $166,204 

per unit. 

Costs, subject to a per unit limit set by the executive 

director, attributable to equipping units with electrical and 

plumbing hook-ups for dehumidification systems and 

attributable to installing approved dehumidification systems 

will not be included in the calculation of the above per unit 

cost limits. 

The cost limits in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 above are 2015 

fourth quarter base amounts. The cost limits shall be adjusted 

annually beginning in the fourth quarter of 2016 by the 

authority in accordance with Marshall & Swift cost factors for 

such quarter, and the adjusted The authority will at least 

annually establish per-square-foot cost limits based upon 

historical cost data of tax credit developments in the 

Commonwealth. Such limits will be indicated on the 

application form, instructions, or other communication 

available to the public. The cost limits will be established for 

new construction, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse 

development types. The authority will establish geographic 
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limits utilizing Marshall & Swift cost factors. For the purpose 

of determining compliance with the cost limits, the value of a 

development's land and acquisition costs will not be included 

in total development cost. Compliance with cost limits will be 

determined both at the time of application and also at the time 

the authority issues the IRS Form 8609, with the higher of the 

two limits being applicable at the time of IRS Form 8609 

issuance. 

Each application shall include plans and specifications or, in 

the case of rehabilitation for which plans will not be used, a 

unit-by-unit work write-up for such rehabilitation with 

certification in such form and from such person satisfactory to 

the executive director as to the completion of such plans or 

specifications or work write-up. 

In the case of rehabilitation, the application must include a 

physical needs assessment in such form and substance and 

prepared by such person satisfactory to the executive director 

pursuant to the authority's requirements as set forth on the 

application form, instructions, or other communication 

available to the public.  

Each application must include an environmental site 

assessment (Phase I) in such form and substance and prepared 

by such person satisfactory to the executive director pursuant 

to the authority's requirements as set forth on the application 

form, instructions, or other communication available to the 

public. 

Each application shall include evidence of (i) sole fee simple 

ownership of the site of the proposed development by the 

applicant, (ii) lease of such site by the applicant for a term 

exceeding the compliance period (as defined in the IRC) or 

for such longer period as the applicant represents in the 

application that the development will be held for occupancy 

by low-income persons or families, or (iii) right to acquire or 

lease such site pursuant to a valid and binding written option 

or contract between the applicant and the fee simple owner of 

such site for a period extending at least four months beyond 

any application deadline established by the executive director, 

provided that such option or contract shall have no conditions 

within the discretion or control of such owner of such site. 

Any contract for the acquisition of a site with existing 

residential property may not require an empty building as a 

condition of such contract, unless relocation assistance is 

provided to displaced households, if any, at such level 

required by the authority. A contract that permits the owner to 

continue to market the property, even if the applicant has a 

right of first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site 

control required in clause (iii) above. No application shall be 

considered for a reservation or allocation of credits unless 

such evidence is submitted with the application and the 

authority determines that the applicant owns, leases, or has 

the right to acquire or lease the site of the proposed 

development as described in the preceding sentence. In the 

case of acquisition and rehabilitation of developments funded 

by Rural Development of the U.S. Department of Agriculture 

(Rural Development), any site control document subject to 

approval of the partners of the seller does not need to be 

approved by all partners of the seller if the general partner of 

the seller executing the site control document provides (i) an 

attorney's opinion that such general partner has the authority 

to enter into the site control document and such document is 

binding on the seller or (ii) a letter from the existing 

syndicator indicating a willingness to secure the necessary 

partner approvals upon the reservation of credits. 

Each application shall include written evidence satisfactory 

to the authority (i) of proper zoning or special use permit for 

such site or (ii) that no zoning requirements or special use 

permits are applicable. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 

by the executive director, a certification of previous 

participation listing all developments receiving an allocation 

of tax credits under § 42 of the IRC in which the principal or 

principals have or had an ownership or participation interest, 

the location of such developments, the number of residential 

units and low-income housing units in such developments and 

such other information as more fully specified by the 

executive director. Furthermore, for any such development, 

the applicant must indicate whether the appropriate state 

housing credit agency has ever filed a Form 8823 with the 

IRS reporting noncompliance with the requirements of the 

IRC and that such noncompliance had not been corrected at 

the time of the filing of such Form 8823. The executive 

director may reject any application from consideration for a 

reservation or allocation of credits unless the above 

information is submitted with the application. If, after 

reviewing the above information or any other information 

available to the authority, the executive director determines 

that the principal or principals do not have the experience, 

financial capacity and predisposition to regulatory 

compliance necessary to carry out the responsibilities for the 

acquisition, construction, ownership, operation, marketing, 

maintenance and management of the proposed development 

or the ability to fully perform all the duties and obligations 

relating to the proposed development under law, regulation 

and the reservation and allocation documents of the authority 

or if an applicant is in substantial noncompliance with the 

requirements of the IRC, the executive director may reject 

applications by the applicant. No application will be accepted 

from any applicant with a principal that has or had an 

ownership or participation interest in a development at the 

time the authority reported such development to the IRS as no 

longer in compliance and is no longer participating in the 

federal low-income housing tax credit program. 

Each application shall include, in a form or forms required 

by the executive director, a certification that the design of the 

proposed development meets all applicable amenity and 

design requirements required by the executive director for the 

type of housing to be provided by the proposed development. 
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The application should include pro forma financial 

statements setting forth the anticipated cash flows during the 

credit period as defined in the IRC. The application shall 

include a certification by the applicant as to the full extent of 

all federal, state and local subsidies that apply (or that the 

applicant expects to apply) with respect to each building or 

development. The executive director may also require the 

submission of a legal opinion or other assurances satisfactory 

to the executive director as to, among other things, 

compliance of the proposed development with the IRC and a 

certification, together with an opinion of an independent 

certified public accountant or other assurances satisfactory to 

the executive director, setting forth the calculation of the 

amount of credits requested by the application and certifying, 

among other things, that under the existing facts and 

circumstances the applicant will be eligible for the amount of 

credits requested. 

Each applicant shall commit in the application to provide 

relocation assistance to displaced households, if any, at such 

level required by the executive director. Each applicant shall 

commit in the application to use a property management 

company certified by the executive director to manage the 

proposed development. 

Unless prohibited by an applicable federal subsidy program, 

each applicant shall commit in the application to provide a 

leasing preference to individuals (i) in a target population 

identified in a memorandum of understanding between the 

authority and one or more participating agencies of the 

Commonwealth, (ii) having a voucher or other binding 

commitment for rental assistance from the Commonwealth, 

and (iii) referred to the development by a referring agent 

approved by the authority. The leasing preference shall not be 

applied to more than 10% of the units in the development at 

any given time. The applicant may not impose more 

restrictive tenant selection criteria or leasing terms with 

respect to individuals receiving this preference.  

Each applicant shall commit in the application not to require 

an annual minimum income requirement that exceeds the 

greater of $3,600 or 2.5 times the portion of rent to be paid by 

tenants receiving rental assistance. 

Each applicant shall commit in the application to waive its 

right to request to terminate the extended low-income housing 

commitment through the qualified contract process, as 

described in the IRC. Further, any application submitted by 

an applicant containing a principal that was a principal in an 

owner that has previously requested, on or after January 1, 

2019, a qualified contract in the Commonwealth (regardless 

of whether the extended low-income housing commitment 

was terminated through such process) shall be rejected from 

further consideration and shall not be eligible for any 

reservation or allocation of credits.  

Any application submitted by an applicant containing a 

principal that was a principal in an owner that has, in the 

authority's determination, previously participated, on or after 

January 1, 2019, in a foreclosure in Virginia (or instrument in 

lieu of foreclosure) that was part of an arrangement a purpose 

of which was to terminate an extended low-income housing 

commitment (regardless whether the extended low-income 

housing commitment was terminated through such 

foreclosure or instrument) shall be rejected from further 

consideration and shall not be eligible for any reservation or 

allocation of credits. 

If an applicant submits an application for reservation or 

allocation of credits that contains a material misrepresentation 

or fails to include information regarding developments 

involving the applicant that have been determined to be out of 

compliance with the requirements of the IRC, the executive 

director may reject the application or stop processing such 

application upon discovery of such misrepresentation or 

noncompliance and may prohibit such applicant from 

submitting applications for credits to the authority in the 

future. 

In any situation in which the executive director deems it 

appropriate, he may treat two or more applications as a single 

application. Only one application may be submitted for each 

location. 

The executive director may establish criteria and 

assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation of 

amounts in the application, and any such criteria and 

assumptions may be indicated on the application form, 

instructions or other communication available to the public. 

The executive director may prescribe such deadlines for 

submission of applications for reservation and allocation of 

credits for any calendar year as he shall deem necessary or 

desirable to allow sufficient processing time for the authority 

to make such reservations and allocations. If the executive 

director determines that an applicant for a reservation of 

credits has failed to submit one or more mandatory 

attachments to the application by the reservation application 

deadline, he may allow such applicant an opportunity to 

submit such attachments within a certain time established by 

the executive director with a 10-point scoring penalty per 

item. 

After receipt of the applications local notification 

information data, if necessary, the authority shall notify the 

chief executive officers (or the equivalent) of the local 

jurisdictions in which the developments are to be located and 

shall provide such officers a reasonable opportunity to 

comment on the developments. 

The development for which an application is submitted may 

be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the authority. 

If any such development is to be financed by the authority, 

the application for such financing shall be submitted to and 

received by the authority in accordance with its applicable 

rules and regulations. 
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The authority may consider and approve, in accordance 

herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits to 

buildings or developments that the authority may own or may 

intend to acquire, construct and/or or rehabilitate. 

Any application seeking an additional reservation of credits 

for a development in excess of 10% of an existing reservation 

of credits for such development shall be rejected from further 

consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible for any 

reservation or allocation of credits pursuant to such 

application. However, such applicant may execute a consent 

to cancellation for such existing reservation and submit a new 

application for the aggregate amount of the existing 

reservation and any desired increase.  

13VAC10-180-60. Review and selection of applications; 

reservation of credits. 

The executive director may divide the amount of credits into 

separate pools and each separate pool may be further divided 

into separate tiers. The division of such pools and tiers may 

be based upon one or more of the following factors: 

geographical areas of the state; types or characteristics of 

housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or 

source of credits; or any other factors deemed appropriate by 

him to best meet the housing needs of the Commonwealth. 

An amount, as determined by the executive director, not less 

than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit 

ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation and 

allocation to buildings or developments with respect to which 

the following requirements are met: 

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in 

§ 42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) that is authorized to do business 

in Virginia and is determined by the executive director, on 

the basis of such relevant factors as he shall consider 

appropriate, to be substantially based or active in the 

community of the development and is to materially 

participate (regular, continuous and substantial 

involvement as determined by the executive director) in the 

development and operation of the development throughout 

the "compliance period" (as defined in § 42(i)(1) of the 

IRC); and 

2. (i) The "qualified nonprofit organization" described in 

the preceding subdivision 1 is to own (directly or through a 

partnership), prior to the reservation of credits to the 

buildings or development, all of the general partnership 

interests of the ownership entity thereof; (ii) the executive 

director of the authority shall have determined that such 

qualified nonprofit organization is not affiliated with or 

controlled by a for-profit organization; (iii) the executive 

director of the authority shall have determined that the 

qualified nonprofit organization was not formed by one or 

more individuals or for-profit entities for the principal 

purpose of being included in any nonprofit pools (as 

defined below) established by the executive director, and 

(iv) the executive director of the authority shall have 

determined that no staff member, officer or member of the 

board of directors of such qualified nonprofit organization 

will materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the 

proposed development as a for-profit entity. 

In making the determinations required by the preceding 

subdivision 1 and clauses (ii), (iii) and (iv) of this 

subdivision 2 of this section, the executive director may 

apply such factors as he deems relevant, including, without 

limitation, the past experience and anticipated future 

activities of the qualified nonprofit organization, the 

sources and manner of funding of the qualified nonprofit 

organization, the date of formation and expected life of the 

qualified nonprofit organization, the number of paid staff 

members and volunteers of the qualified nonprofit 

organization, the nature and extent of the qualified 

nonprofit organization's proposed involvement in the 

construction or rehabilitation and the operation of the 

proposed development, the relationship of the staff, 

directors or other principals involved in the formation or 

operation of the qualified nonprofit organization with any 

persons or entities to be involved in the proposed 

development on a for-profit basis, and the proposed 

involvement in the construction or rehabilitation and 

operation of the proposed development by any persons or 

entities involved in the proposed development on a for-

profit basis. The executive director may include in the 

application of the foregoing factors any other nonprofit 

organizations that, in his determination, are related (by 

shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the qualified 

nonprofit organization for which such determination is to 

be made. 

For purposes of the foregoing requirements, a qualified 

nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying such 

requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in 

§ 42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by 

itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit 

organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such 

requirements. 

The applications shall include such representations and 

warranties and such information as the executive director may 

require in order to determine that the foregoing requirements 

have been satisfied. In no event shall more than 90% of the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for 

credits be available for developments other than those 

satisfying the preceding requirements. The executive director 

may establish such pools (nonprofit pools) of credits as he 

may deem appropriate to satisfy the foregoing requirement. If 

any such nonprofit pools are so established, the executive 

director may rank the applications therein and reserve credits 

to such applications before ranking applications and reserving 

credits in other pools, and any such applications in such 

nonprofit pools not receiving any reservations of credits or 

receiving such reservations in amounts less than the full 
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amount permissible hereunder (because there are not enough 

credits then available in such nonprofit pools to make such 

reservations) shall be assigned to such other pool as shall be 

appropriate hereunder; provided, however, that if credits are 

later made available (pursuant to the IRC or as a result of 

either a termination or reduction of a reservation of credits 

made from any nonprofit pools or a rescission in whole or in 

part of an allocation of credits made from such nonprofit 

pools or otherwise) for reservation and allocation by the 

authority during the same calendar year as that in which 

applications in the nonprofit pools have been so assigned to 

other pools as described above, the executive director may, in 

such situations, designate all or any portion of such additional 

credits for the nonprofit pools (or for any other pools as he 

shall determine) and may, if additional credits have been so 

designated for the nonprofit pools, reassign such applications 

to such nonprofit pools, rank the applications therein and 

reserve credits to such applications in accordance with the 

IRC and this chapter. In the event that during any round (as 

authorized hereinbelow) of application review and ranking 

the amount of credits reserved within such nonprofit pools is 

less than the total amount of credits made available therein, 

the executive director may either (i) leave such unreserved 

credits in such nonprofit pools for reservation and allocation 

in any subsequent round or rounds or (ii) redistribute, to the 

extent permissible under the IRC, such unreserved credits to 

such other pool or pools as the executive director shall 

designate reservations therefore in the full amount 

permissible hereunder (which applications shall hereinafter be 

referred to as "excess qualified applications") or (iii) carry 

over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding calendar 

year for the inclusion in the state housing credit ceiling (as 

defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, no 

reservation of credits shall be made from any nonprofit pools 

to any application with respect to which the qualified 

nonprofit organization has not yet been legally formed in 

accordance with the requirements of the IRC. In addition, no 

application for credits from any nonprofit pools or any 

combination of pools may receive a reservation or allocation 

of annual credits in an amount greater than $950,000 unless 

credits remain available in such nonprofit pools after all 

eligible applications for credits from such nonprofit pools 

receive a reservation of credits. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, applicants 

relying on the experience of a local housing authority for 

developer experience points described hereinbelow and/or or 

using Hope VI funds from HUD in connection with the 

proposed development shall not be eligible to receive a 

reservation of credits from any nonprofit pools. 

The authority shall review each application, and, based on 

the application and other information available to the 

authority, shall assign points to each application as follows: 

1. Readiness. a. Written evidence satisfactory to the 

authority of unconditional approval by local authorities of 

the plan of development or site plan for the proposed 

development or that such approval is not required. (40 

points; applicants receiving points under this subdivision 1 

a are not eligible for points under subdivision 5 a below) 

b. For applications submitted prior to January 1, 2016, 

written evidence satisfactory to the authority (i) of proper 

zoning or special use permit for such site or (ii) that no 

zoning requirements or special use permits are 

applicable. (40 points) 

2. Housing needs characteristics. 

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority 

with any required attachments, providing such 

information necessary for the authority to send a letter 

addressed to the current chief executive officer (or the 

equivalent) of the locality in which the proposed 

development is located, soliciting input on the proposed 

development from the locality within the deadlines 

established by the executive director. (minus 50 points 

for failure to make timely submission) 

b. A letter in response to its notification to the chief 

executive officer of the locality in which the proposed 

development is to be located opposing the allocation of 

credits to the applicant for the development. In any such 

letter, the chief executive officer must certify that the 

proposed development is not consistent with current 

zoning or other applicable land use regulations. Any such 

letter must also be accompanied by a legal opinion of the 

locality's attorney opining that the locality's opposition to 

the proposed development does not have a discriminatory 

intent or a discriminatory effect (as defined in 24 CFR 

100.500(a)) that is not supported by a legally sufficient 

justification (as defined in 24 CFR 100.500(b)) in 

violation of the Fair Housing Act (Title VIII of the Civil 

Rights Act of 1968, as amended) and the HUD 

implementing regulations. (minus 25 points) 

c. Any proposed development that is to be located in a 

revitalization area meeting the requirements of § 36-

55.30:2 A of the Code of Virginia. (10 points) or within 

an opportunity zone designated by the Commonwealth 

pursuant to the Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, 

as follows: (i) in a qualified census tract or federal 

targeted area, both as defined in the IRC, deemed under 

§ 36-55.30:2 of the Code of Virginia to be designated as 

a revitalization area without adoption of a resolution (10 

points); (ii) in any redevelopment area, conservation 

area, or rehabilitation area created or designated by the 

city or county pursuant to Chapter 1 (§ 36-1 et seq.) of 

Title 36 of the Code of Virginia and deemed under § 36-

55.30:2 to be designated as a revitalization area without 

adoption of a further resolution (10 points); (iii) in a 

revitalization area designated by resolution adopted 
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pursuant to the terms of § 36-55.30:2 (15 points); (iv) in 

a local housing rehabilitation zone created by an 

ordinance passed by the city, county, or town and 

deemed to meet the requirements of § 36-55.30:2 

pursuant to § 36-55.64 G of the Code of Virginia (15 

points); and (v) in an opportunity zone and having a 

binding commitment of funding acceptable to the 

executive director pursuant to requirements as set forth 

on the application form, instructions, or other 

communication available to the public. (20 points). If the 

development is located in more than one such area, only 

the highest applicable points will be awarded, that is, 

points in this subdivision c are not cumulative. 

d. Commitment by the applicant for any development 

without section 8 project-based assistance to give leasing 

preference to individuals and families (i) on public 

housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing 

authority operating in the locality in which the proposed 

development is to be located and notification of the 

availability of such units to the local housing authority by 

the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as defined in 

13VAC10-180-90) waiting lists maintained by the local 

or nearest section 8 administrator for the locality in 

which the proposed development is to be located and 

notification of the availability of such units to the local 

section 8 administrator by the applicant. (5 points) 

e. Any of the following: (i) firm financing 

commitment(s) from the local government, local housing 

authority, Federal Home Loan Bank affordable housing 

funds, Virginia Housing Trust Fund, funding from 

VOICE for projects located in Prince William County 

and donations from unrelated private foundations that 

have filed an IRS Form 990 (or a variation of such form) 

or Rural Development for a below-market rate loan or 

grant; (ii) a resolution passed by the locality in which the 

proposed development is to be located committing such 

financial support to the development in a form approved 

by the authority; (iii) a commitment to donate land, 

buildings or tap fee waivers from the local government; 

or (iv) a commitment to donate land (including a below 

market rate land lease) from an entity that is not a 

principal in the applicant (the donor being the grantee of 

a right of first refusal or purchase option, with no 

ownership interest in the applicant, shall not make the 

donor a principal in the applicant). Any nonfederal 

funding source, as evidenced by a binding commitment 

or letter of intent, that is used to reduce the credit request. 

Loans must be below market-rate (the one-year London 

Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR) rate at the time of 

commitment) or cash-flow only to be eligible for points. 

Financing from the authority and market rate permanent 

financing sources are not eligible. Funding from the 

Federal Home Loan Bank is eligible. (The amount of 

such financing funding, dollar value of local support, or 

value of donated land (including a below market rate 

land lease) will be determined by the executive director 

and divided by the total development sources of funds 

and the proposed development cost. The applicant 

receives two points for each percentage point up to a 

maximum of 40 points.) 

f. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or 

Section 236 program or (ii) Rural Development's 515 

program, at the time of application. (20 points, unless the 

applicant is or has any common interests with the current 

owner, directly or indirectly, the application will only 

qualify for these points if the applicant waives all rights 

to any developer's fee on acquisition and any other fees 

associated with the acquisition and rehabilitation (or 

rehabilitation only) of the development unless permitted 

by the executive director for good cause.) 

g. Any development receiving (i) a real estate tax 

abatement on the increase in the value of the 

development or (ii) new project-based subsidy from 

HUD or Rural Development for the greater of five units 

or 10% of the units of the proposed development. (10 (5 

points) 

h. Any proposed elderly development located in a census 

tract that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon 

Census Bureau data) (25 points). Effective January 1, 

2018, any proposed elderly development located in a 

census tract that has less than a 12% poverty rate (based 

upon Census Bureau data) (20 points); any proposed 

elderly development located in a census tract that has less 

than a 3.0% poverty rate (based upon Census Bureau 

data) (30 points). 

i. Any proposed family development located in a census 

tract that has less than a 10% poverty rate (based upon 

Census Bureau data) (25 points). Effective January 1, 

2018, any proposed family development located in a 

census tract that has less than a 12% poverty rate (based 

upon Census Bureau data) (20 points); any proposed 

family development located in a census tract that has less 

than a 3.0% poverty rate (based upon Census Bureau 

data) (30 points). 

h. Any development receiving new project-based subsidy 

from HUD or Rural Development for the greater of five 

units or 10% of the units of the proposed development. 

(10 points) 

i. Any proposed elderly or family development located in 

a census tract that has less than a 3.0% poverty rate based 

upon Census Bureau data (30 points); less than a 10% 

poverty rate based upon Census Bureau data (25 points); 

or less than a 12% poverty rate based upon Census 

Bureau data (20 points). 

j. Any proposed development listed in the top 25 

developments identified by Rural Development as high 
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priority for rehabilitation at the time the application is 

submitted to the authority (15 points). 

k. Any proposed new construction development 

(including adaptive reuse and rehabilitation that creates 

additional rental space) located in a pool identified by the 

authority as a pool with little or no increase in rent-

burdened population. (up (Up to minus 20 points, 

depending upon the portion of the development that is 

additional rental space, in all pools except the at-large 

pool, 0 points in the at-large pool; the executive director 

may make exceptions in the following circumstances:  

(1) Specialized types of housing designed to meet special 

needs that cannot readily be addressed utilizing existing 

residential structures;  

(2) Housing designed to serve as a replacement for 

housing being demolished through redevelopment; or  

(3) Housing that is an integral part of a neighborhood 

revitalization project sponsored by a local housing 

authority.) 

l. Any proposed new construction development 

(including adaptive reuse and rehabilitation that creates 

additional rental space) that is located in a pool identified 

by the authority as a pool with an increasing rent-

burdened population. (up (Up to 20 points, depending 

upon the portion of the development that is additional 

rental space, in all pools except the at-large pool, 0 points 

in the at-large pool). 

3. Development characteristics. 

a. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting the 

quality of the proposed development's amenities as 

determined by the following: 

(1) The following points are available for any 

application: 

(a) If a community/meeting community room with a 

minimum of 749 square feet is provided. (5 points) 

Community rooms receiving points under this 

subdivision 3 a (1) (a) may not be used for commercial 

purposes. Effective January 1, 2018, provided Provided 

that the cost of the community room is not included in 

eligible basis, the owner may conduct, or contract with a 

nonprofit provider to conduct, programs or classes for 

tenants and members of the community in the community 

room, so long as (i) tenants compose at least one-third of 

participants, with first preference given to tenants above 

the one-third minimum; (ii) no program or class may be 

offered more than five days per week; (iii) no individual 

program or class may last more than eight hours per day, 

and all programs and class sessions may not last more 

than 10 hours per day in the aggregate; (iv) cost of 

attendance of the program or class must be below market 

rate with no profit from the operation of the class or 

program being generated for the owner (owner may also 

collect an amount of for reimbursement of supplies and 

clean-up costs); (v) the community room must be 

available for use by tenants when programs and classes 

are not offered, subject to reasonable "quiet hours" 

established by owner; and (vi) any owner offering 

programs or classes must provide an annual certification 

to the authority that it is in compliance with such 

requirements, with failure to comply with these 

requirements resulting in a 10-point penalty for three 

years from the date of such noncompliance for principals 

in the owner. 

(b) If the exterior walls are constructed using the 

following materials: (i) Brick brick or other similar low-

maintenance material approved by the authority (as 

indicated on the application form, instructions, or other 

communication available to the public) covering 30% or 

more of the exterior walls 25% or greater, up to and 

including 85%, of the exterior walls of the development. 

For purposes of making such coverage calculation, the 

triangular gable end area, doors, windows, knee walls, 

columns, retaining walls, and any features that are not a 

part of the façade are excluded from the denominator. 

Community buildings are included in the foregoing 

coverage calculations. (Zero points if coverage is less 

than 25%; 10 points if coverage is at least 25%, and an 

additional 15 points is available on a sliding scale if 

coverage is greater than 25% up to and including 85% 

coverage. No additional points if coverage is greater than 

85%). (10 points) and 

(ii) If subdivision 3 a (1) (b) (i) above is met, an 

additional one-fifth point for each percent of exterior 

wall brick or other similar low-maintenance material 

approved by the authority (as indicated on the application 

form, instructions, or other communication available to 

the public) in excess of 30%. (maximum 10 points) and 

(iii) If subdivision 3 a (1) (b) (i) above is met, an 

additional one-tenth point for each percent of exterior 

wall covered by fiber-cement board. (maximum 7 points) 

(c) If all kitchen and laundry appliances (except range 

hoods) meet the EPA's Energy Star qualified program 

requirements. (5 points) 

(d) If all the windows and glass doors are Energy Star 

labeled for the North-Central Zone or are National 

Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) labeled with a 

maximum U-Factor of 0.27 and maximum solar heat gain 

coefficient (SHGC) of 0.40. (5 points) 

(e) If every unit in the development is heated and cooled 

with either (i) heat pump equipment with both a seasonal 

energy efficiency ratio (SEER) rating of 15.0 or more 

and a heating seasonal performance factor (HSPF) rating 

of 8.5 or more or (ii) air conditioning equipment with a 
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SEER rating of 15.0 or more, combined with a gas 

furnace with an annual fuel utilization efficiency (AFUE) 

rating of 90% or more. (10 points) 

(f) (c) If the water expense is submetered (the tenant will 

pay monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 points) 

(g) (d) If points are not awarded pursuant to subdivision 

3 f below for optional certification, if each bathroom 

contains only WaterSense labeled toilets, faucets and 

showerheads. (2 (3 points) 

(h) (e) If each unit is provided with the necessary 

infrastructure for high-speed Internet or broadband 

service. (1 point) 

(i) If all the water heaters have an energy factor greater 

than or equal to 67% for gas water heaters or greater than 

or equal to 93% for electric water heaters; or any 

centralized commercial system that has an efficiency 

performance rating equal to or greater than 95%, or any 

solar thermal system that meets at least 60% of the 

development's domestic hot water load If free Wi-Fi 

access is provided in the community room and such 

access is restricted to resident only usage. (4 points) If 

each unit is provided with free individual high-speed 

Internet access. (6 points, 8 points if such access is Wi-

Fi). (5 points) 

(j) If each bathroom is equipped with a WaterSense 

labeled toilet. (2 points)  

(k) Effective until January 1, 2018, for new construction 

only, if each full bathroom is equipped with EPA Energy 

Star qualified bath vent fans. (2 points) Effective January 

1, 2018, if each full bathroom is provided either an EPA 

Energy Star qualified bath vent fan with duct size per 

manufacturer requirements or a continuous exhaust as 

part of a dedicated outdoor air system with humidity 

control. (2 points) 

(l) If the development has or the application provides for 

installation of continuous R-3 or higher wall sheathing 

insulation. (5 points) 

(m) (f) If each full bathroom's bath fans are wired to the 

primary bathroom light with a delayed timer, or 

continuous exhaust by ERV/DOAS. (3 points) If each 

full bathroom's bath fans are equipped with a humidistat. 

(3 points) 

(g) If all cooking surfaces are equipped with fire 

prevention features that meet the authority's requirements 

as indicated on the application form, instructions, or 

other communication available to the public. (4 points) 

If all cooking surfaces are equipped with fire prevention 

or suppression features that meet the authority's 

requirements (as indicated on the application form, 

instructions, or other communication available to the 

public). (2 points) 

(h) For rehabilitations, equipping all units with dedicated 

space, drain, and electrical hook-ups for permanently 

installed dehumidification systems (2 points). For 

rehabilitations and new construction, providing 

permanently installed dehumidification systems in each 

unit. (5 points) 

(i) If each interior door is solid core. (3 points) 

(j) If each unit has at least one USB charging port in the 

kitchen, living room, and all bedrooms. (1 point) 

(k) If each kitchen has LED lighting in all fixtures that 

meets the authority's minimum design and construction 

standards (2 points) 

(l) If each unit has a shelf or ledge outside the primary 

entry door in interior hallway. (2 points) 

(m) For new construction only, if each unit has a balcony 

or patio with a minimum depth of five feet clear from 

face of building and a size of at least 30 square feet. (4 

points) 

(2) The following points are available to applications 

electing to serve elderly tenants: 

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 point) 

(b) If all units have an emergency call system. (3 points) 

(c) If all bathrooms have an independent or supplemental 

heat source. (1 point) 

(d) (c) If all entrance doors to each unit have two eye 

viewers, one at 42 inches and the other at standard 

height. (1 point) 

(3) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being listed 

individually in the National Register of Historic Places, 

or due to its location in a registered historic district and 

certified by the Secretary of the Interior as being of 

historical significance to the district, and the 

rehabilitation will be completed in such a manner as to be 

eligible for historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 points) 

b. Any development in which (i) the greater of five units 

or 10% of the units will be assisted by HUD project-

based vouchers (as evidenced by the submission of a 

letter satisfactory to the authority from an authorized 

public housing authority (PHA) that the development 

meets all prerequisites for such assistance) or other form 

of documented and binding federal or state project-based 

rent subsidies in order to ensure occupancy by extremely 

low-income persons; and (ii) the greater of five units or 

10% of the units will conform to HUD regulations 

interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act and be actively marketed to persons 

with disabilities as defined in the Fair Housing Act in 
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accordance with a plan submitted as part of the 

application for credits (all common space must also 

conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 

requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and all 

the units described in clause (ii) above must include roll-

in showers and roll-under sinks and front control ranges, 

unless agreed to by the authority prior to the applicant's 

submission of its application). (60 points) 

In addition, for any development eligible for the 

preceding 60 points, subject to appropriate federal 

approval, any applicant that commits to providing a first 

preference on its waiting list for persons with a 

developmental disability as confirmed by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services for the greater of five units or 10% of the units. 

(25 points) 

c. Any development in which the greater of five units or 

10% of the units (i) have rents within HUD's Housing 

Choice Voucher (HCV) payment standard, (ii) conform 

to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 

requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and (iii) 

are actively marketed to persons with disabilities as 

defined in the Fair Housing Act in accordance with a 

plan submitted as part of the application for credits (all 

common space must also conform to HUD regulations 

interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act). (30 points)  

In addition, for any development eligible for the 

preceding 30 points, subject to appropriate federal 

approval, any applicant that commits to providing a first 

preference on its waiting list for persons with a 

developmental disability as confirmed by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services for the greater of five units or 10% of the units. 

(25 points) 

d. Any development in which 5.0% of the units (i) 

conform to HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility 

requirements of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and (ii) 

are actively marketed to persons with disabilities as 

defined in the Fair Housing Act in accordance with a 

plan submitted as part of the application for credits. (15 

points) 

e. Any development located within one-half mile of an 

existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or 

one-quarter mile of one or more existing public bus 

stops. (10 points, unless the development is located 

within the geographical area established by the executive 

director for a pool of credits for Northern Virginia or 

Tidewater Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), in which 

case, the development will receive 20 points if the 

development is ranked against other developments in 

such Northern Virginia or Tidewater MSA pool, 10 

points if the development is ranked against other 

developments in any other pool of credits established by 

the executive director) 

f. Each development must meet the following baseline 

energy performance standard applicable to the 

development's construction category. For new 

construction, the development must meet all 

requirements for EPA Energy Star certification. For 

rehabilitation, the proposed renovation of the 

development must result in at least a 30% post-

rehabilitation increase on the Home Energy Rating 

System Index (HERS Index) or score an 80 or better on 

the HERS Index. For adaptive reuse, the proposed 

development must score a 95 or better on the HERS 

Index. For mixed construction types, the applicable 

standard will apply to the development's various 

construction categories.  The development's score on the 

HERS Index must be verified by a third-party, 

independent, nonaffiliated, certified Residential Energy 

Services Network (RESNET) home energy rater.  

Any development for which the applicant agrees to 

obtain either (i) EarthCraft Gold or higher certification 

or; (ii) U.S. Green Building Council LEED green-

building certification; (iii) National Green Building 

Standard Certification of Silver or higher; or (iv) meet 

Enterprise Green Communities Criteria prior to the 

issuance of an IRS Form 8609 with the proposed 

development's architect certifying in the application that 

the development's design will meet the criteria for such 

certification, provided that the proposed development's 

architect is on the authority's list of LEED/EarthCraft 

certified architects. (15 points for a LEED Silver 

development or EarthCraft certified development; 35 

points for a LEED Gold development or EarthCraft Gold 

development; 45 points for a LEED Platinum 

development and an additional 10 points for an 

EarthCraft certified development or EarthCraft Gold 

development that performs tenant utility monitoring and 

benchmarking.) RESNET rater is registered with a 

provider on the authority's approved RESNET provider 

list. (10 points, points in this paragraph are not 

cumulative) 

Additionally, points on future applications will be 

awarded to an applicant having a principal that is also a 

principal in a tax credit development in the 

Commonwealth meeting (i) the Zero Energy Ready 

Home Requirements as promulgated by the U.S. 

Department of Energy (DOE) and as evidenced by a 

DOE certificate; or (ii) the Passive House Institute's 

Passive House standards as evidenced by a certificate 

from an accredited Passive House certifier. (10 points, 

points in this paragraph are cumulative) 

The executive director may, if needed, designate a 

proposed development as requiring an increase in credit 
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in order to be financially feasible and such development 

shall be treated as if in a difficult development area as 

provided in the IRC for any applicant receiving 25 or 45 

an additional 10 points under this subdivision, provided 

however, any resulting increase in such development's 

eligible basis shall be limited to 5.0% 10% of the 

development's eligible basis for 25 points awarded under 

this subdivision and 10% for 45 points awarded under 

this subdivision of. Provided, however, the authority may 

remove such increase in the development's eligible basis 

if the authority determines that the development is 

financially feasible without such increase in basis.  

g. If units are constructed to include the authority's 

universal design features, provided that the proposed 

development's architect is on the authority's list of 

universal design certified architects. (15 points, if all the 

units in an elderly development meet this requirement; 15 

points multiplied by the percentage of units meeting this 

requirement for nonelderly developments) 

h. Any development in which the applicant proposes to 

produce less than 100 low-income housing units. (20 

points for producing 50 low-income housing units or 

less, minus 0.4 points for each additional low-income 

housing unit produced down to 0 points for any 

development that produces 100 or more low-income 

housing units.)  

i. h. Any applicant for a development that, pursuant to a 

common plan of development, is part of a larger 

development located on the same or contiguous sites, 

financed in part by tax-exempt bonds. Combination 

developments seeking both 9.0% and 4.0% credits must 

clearly be presented as two separately financed deals 

including separate equity pricing that would support each 

respective deal in the event the other were no longer 

present. While deals are required to be on the same or a 

contiguous site they must be clearly identifiable as 

separate. The units financed by tax exempt bonds may 

not be interspersed throughout the development. 

Additionally, if co-located within the same building 

footprint, the property must identify separate entrances. 

All applicants seeking points in this category must 

arrange a meeting with authority staff at the authority's 

offices prior to the deadline for submission of the 

application in order to review both the 9.0% and the tax-

exempt bond financed portion of the project. Any 

applicant failing to meet with authority staff in advance 

of applying will not be allowed to compete in the current 

competitive round as a combination development. (25 

points for tax-exempt bond financing of at least 30% of 

aggregate units, 35 points for tax-exempt bond financing 

of at least 40% of aggregate units, and 45 points for tax-

exempt bond financing of at least 50% of aggregate 

units; such points being noncumulative) noncumulative; 

such points will be awarded in both the application and 

any application submitted for credits associated with the 

tax-exempt bonds)  

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the 

applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and 

families with children in developments that will have no 

more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15 

points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-income 

units in the development with three or more bedrooms up 

to an additional 15 points for a total of no more than 30 

points) 

5. Sponsor characteristics. 

a. Evidence that the controlling general partner or 

managing member of the controlling general partner or 

managing member for the proposed development have 

developed: 

(1) As controlling general partner or managing member, 

(i) at least three tax credit developments that contain at 

least three times the number of housing units in the 

proposed development or (ii) at least six tax credit 

developments. (50 points) or; 

(2) At least three deals as a principal and have at least 

$500,000 in liquid assets. "Liquid assets" means cash, 

cash equivalents, and investments held in the name of the 

entity(s) and entities or person(s) persons, including cash 

in bank accounts, money market funds, U.S. Treasury 

bills, and equities traded on the New York Stock 

Exchange or NASDAQ. Certain cash and investments 

will not be considered liquid assets, including but not 

limited to: (i) stock held in the applicant's own company 

or any closely held entity, (ii) investments in retirement 

accounts, (iii) cash or investments pledged as collateral 

for any liability, and (iv) cash in property accounts, 

including reserves. The authority will assess the financial 

capacity of the applicant based on its financial 

statements. The authority will accept financial statements 

audited, reviewed, or compiled by an independent 

certified public accountant. Only a balance sheet dated 

on or after December 31 of the year prior to the 

application deadline is required. The authority will accept 

a compilation report with or without full note disclosures. 

Supplementary schedules for all significant assets and 

liabilities may be required. Financial statements prepared 

in accordance with accounting principles generally 

accepted in the United States (U.S. GAAP) are preferred. 

Statements prepared in the income tax basis or cash basis 

must disclose that basis in the report. The authority 

reserves the right to verify information in the financial 

statements. (50 points); or  

(3) As controlling general partner or managing member, 

at least one tax credit development that contains at least 

the number of housing units in the proposed 

development. (10 points) 
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Applicants receiving points under subdivisions a (1) and 

a (2) of this subdivision 5 shall have the 50 points 

reduced if the controlling general partner or managing 

member of the controlling general partner or managing 

member in the applicant acted as a principal in a 

development receiving an allocation of credits from the 

authority where:  

(a) such Such principal met the requirements to be 

eligible for points under 5 (a) (1) or (2) and  

(b) any of the following occurred: (i) submission of a 

Form 8609 application that failed to match the required 

accountant's cost certification (minus 10 points for For 

two years); (ii) failure to place a rehabilitation 

development in service by substantial completion (e.g., 

placed in service by expenditures after two years) (minus 

5 points for two years); (iii) years made more than two 

requests for final inspection (minus 5 points for two 

years); or (iv) requests for any deadline extension (minus 

1 point for two years). 

Applicants receiving points under subdivisions a (1) and 

a (2) of this subdivision 5 are not eligible for points 

under subdivision a of subdivision 1 Readiness, above. 

b. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development at the time the authority 

inspected such development and discovered a life-

threatening hazard under HUD's Uniform Physical 

Condition Standards and such hazard was not corrected 

in the timeframe established by the authority. (minus 50 

points for a period of three years after the violation has 

been corrected) 

c. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development that either (i) at the time the 

authority reported such development to the IRS for 

noncompliance had not corrected such noncompliance by 

the time a Form 8823 was filed by the authority or (ii) 

remained out-of-compliance with the terms of its 

extended use commitment after notice and expiration of 

any cure period set by the authority. (minus 15 points for 

a period of three calendar years after the year the 

authority filed Form 8823 or expiration of such cure 

period, unless the executive director determines that such 

principal's attempts to correct such noncompliance was 

prohibited by a court, local government or governmental 

agency, in which case, no negative points will be 

assessed to the applicant, or 0 points, if the appropriate 

individual or individuals connected to the principal 

attend compliance training as recommended by the 

authority) 

d. Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was a 

principal in a development that (i) did not build a 

development as represented in the application for credit 

(minus two times the number of points assigned to the 

item or items not built or minus 20 points for failing to 

provide a minimum building requirement, for a period of 

three years after the last Form 8609 is issued for the 

development, in addition to any other penalties the 

authority may seek under its agreements with the 

applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits terminated 

by the authority. (minus 10 points a period of three years 

after the credits are returned to the authority). 

e. Any applicant that includes a management company in 

its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the 

executive director or if the ownership of any applicant 

includes a principal that is or was a principal in a 

development that hired a management company to 

manage a tax credit development after such management 

company received a rating of unsatisfactory from the 

executive director during the compliance period and 

extended use period of such development. (minus 25 

points) 

f. Any applicant that includes a principal that was a 

principal in a development for which the actual cost of 

construction (as certified in the Independent Auditor's 

Report with attached Certification of Sources and Uses 

that is submitted in connection with the Owner's 

Application for IRS Form 8609) exceeded the applicable 

cost limit by 5.0% or more (minus 50 points for a period 

of three calendar years after December 31 of the year the 

cost certification is complete; provided, however, if the 

Board of Commissioners determines that such overage 

was outside of the applicant's control based upon 

documented extenuating circumstances, no negative 

points will be assessed.) 

6. Efficient use of resources. 

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of 

credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit credit 

amount") of the proposed development is less than the 

standard per unit credit amounts established by the 

executive director for a given unit type, based upon the 

number of such unit types in the proposed development. 

(200 points multiplied by the percentage by which the 

total amount of the per unit credit amount of the 

proposed development is less than the applicable 

standard per unit credit amount established by the 

executive director, negative points will be assessed using 

the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 

credit amount of the proposed development exceeds the 

applicable standard per unit credit amount established by 

the executive director.) 

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income 

housing unit (the "per unit cost"), adjusted by the 

authority for location, of the proposed development is 

less than the standard per unit cost amounts established 

by the executive director for a given unit type, based 

upon the number of such unit types in the proposed 
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development. (100 points multiplied by the percentage by 

which the total amount of the per unit cost of the 

proposed development is less than the applicable 

standard per unit cost amount established by the 

executive director; negative points will be assessed using 

the percentage by which the total amount of the per unit 

cost amount of the proposed development exceeds the 

applicable standard per unit cost amount established by 

the executive director.) 

The executive director may use a standard per square foot 

credit amount and a standard per square foot cost amount 

in establishing the per unit credit amount and the per unit 

cost amount in subdivision 6 above. For the purpose of 

calculating the points to be assigned pursuant to such 

subdivision 6 above, all credit amounts shall include any 

credits previously allocated to the development. 

7. Bonus points. 

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income limits 

on the low-income housing units throughout the extended 

use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 

by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 

low-income development. Applicants receiving points 

under this subdivision 7 a may not receive points under 

subdivision 7 b below. (Up to 50 points, the product of 

(i) 100 multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing units 

in the proposed development both rent restricted to and 

occupied by households at or below 50% of the area 

median gross income; plus one point for each percentage 

point of such housing units in the proposed development 

that are further restricted to rents at or below 30% of 

40% of the area median gross income up to an additional 

10 points.) If the applicant commits to providing housing 

units in the proposed development both rent-restricted to 

and occupied by households at or below 30% of the area 

median gross income and that are not subsidized by 

project-based rental assistance. (plus 1 point for each 

percentage point of such housing units in the proposed 

development, up to an additional 10 points) 

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits on 

the low-income housing units throughout the extended 

use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required 

by the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified 

low-income development. Applicants receiving points 

under this subdivision 7 b may not receive points under 

subdivision 7 a. (Up to 25 points, the product of (i) 50 

multiplied by (ii) the percentage of housing units in the 

proposed development rent restricted to households at or 

below 50% of the area median gross income; plus one 

point for each percentage point of such housing units in 

the proposed development that are further restricted to 

rents at or below 30% of 40% of the area median gross 

income up to an additional 10 points. Points for proposed 

developments in low-income jurisdictions shall be two 

times the points calculated in the preceding sentence, up 

to 50 points.) 

c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-

income housing units in the development as a qualified 

low-income housing development beyond the 30-year 

extended use period (as defined in the IRC). Applicants 

receiving points under this subdivision 7 c may not 

receive bonus points under subdivision 7 d. (40 points for 

a 10-year commitment beyond the 30-year extended use 

period or 50 points for a 20-year commitment beyond the 

30-year extended use period.) 

d. Participation by a local housing authority or qualified 

nonprofit organization (substantially based or active in 

the community with at least a 10% ownership interest in 

the general partnership interest of the partnership) and a 

commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed 

development pursuant to an executed, recordable option 

or right of first refusal to such local housing authority or 

qualified nonprofit organization or to a wholly owned 

subsidiary of such organization or authority, at the end of 

the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for a 

price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit taxes of 

the for-profit entity. The applicant must record such 

option or right of first refusal immediately after the low-

income housing commitment described in 13VAC10-

180-70. Applicants receiving points under this 

subdivision 7 d may not receive bonus points under 

subdivision 7 c. (60 points; plus five points if the local 

housing authority or qualified nonprofit organization 

submits a homeownership plan satisfactory to the 

authority in which the local housing authority or 

qualified nonprofit organization commits to sell the units 

in the development to tenants.) 

e. Any development participating in the Rental 

Assistance Demonstration (RAD) program, or other 

conversion to project-based vouchers or project-based 

rental assistance approved by the authority, competing in 

the local housing authority pool will receive an additional 

10 points. Applicants must show proof of a commitment 

to enter into housing assistance payment (CHAP) or a 

RAD conversion commitment (RCC). 

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and b above, 

any units in the proposed development required by the 

locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross income will 

not be considered when calculating the percentage of low-

income units of the proposed development with incomes 

below those required by the IRC in order for the development 

to be a qualified low-income development, provided that the 

locality submits evidence satisfactory to the authority of such 

requirement. 

After points have been assigned to each application in the 

manner described above, the executive director shall compute 

the total number of points assigned to each such application. 
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Any application that is assigned a total number of points less 

than a threshold amount of 425 points (325 points for 

developments financed with tax-exempt bonds in such 

amount so as not to require under the IRC an allocation of 

credits hereunder) shall be rejected from further consideration 

hereunder and shall not be eligible for any reservation or 

allocation of credits. 

8. Innovation. For calendar years 2019, 2020, and 2021, 

the authority establishes an innovation pool equal to the 

additional 12.5% of credits established by the federal 

Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2018. Any applicant 

intending to submit an application in a particular year's 

competitive round and having completed the local 

notification information process may self-select to first 

compete in the innovation pool. Applications for the 

innovation pool will be due prior to the deadline for the 

competitive pool on a date determined by the authority. 

The authority will evaluate each application in the 

innovation pool, without scoring it on the traditional points 

scale, to determine and rank the uniqueness and innovative 

nature of the development concept based upon the 

parameters set forth in this subdivision 8. The 

developments meeting the authority's threshold for 

innovation will be ranked highest to lowest and only those 

developments for which there are sufficient credits in the 

pool to fully fund such developments will be awarded 

credits. However, the application must meet all the 

requirements of the IRC and threshold score. The authority 

may also establish a review committee comprised of 

external real estate professionals, academic leaders, and 

other individuals knowledgeable of real estate 

development, design, construction, accessibility, energy 

efficiency, or management to assist the authority in 

determining and ranking the innovative nature of the 

development. Factors for consideration: 

a. Innovative construction methods or materials that 

reduce the traditional construction time or construction 

cost of the development while maintaining sustainability; 

b. Having more than 50% of funding committed to the 

development at the time of application; 

c. Regional collaboration and support; 

d. Utilizing unique up-zoning activities promoting 

greater density (e.g., a higher number of units per acre 

than otherwise permitted by zoning); 

e. Ability of the development to address an unmet need 

of an underserved population or geographic location; 

f. Unique or innovative tenant services, tenant selection 

criteria, or eviction policies; 

g. Demonstrated capacity of the applicant to complete the 

proposed development and financial feasibility of the 

development with the innovative components;  

h. Extent to which the proposed development would be at 

a competitive or financial disadvantage relative to 

developments considered in the other traditional 

competitive pools; and 

i. The proposed development's contribution to the 

authority's identified mission and goals. 

Applicants in the innovation pool may amend their 

applications prior to submission for competition in the 

remaining pools. After review of all applications in the 

innovation pool, the authority may elect to not award any 

credits in the innovation pool or to less than fully fund the 

pool and any unused credits will move to the remaining 

pools. 

During its review of the submitted applications in all pools, 

the authority may conduct its own analysis of the demand for 

the housing units to be produced by each applicant's proposed 

development. Notwithstanding any conclusion in the market 

study submitted with an application, if the authority 

determines that, based upon information from its own loan 

portfolio or its own market study, inadequate demand exists 

for the housing units to be produced by an applicant's 

proposed development, the authority may exclude and 

disregard the application for such proposed development. 

During its review of the submitted applications in all pools, 

the authority may conduct a site visit to the applicant's 

proposed development. Notwithstanding any conclusion in 

any environmental site assessment submitted with an 

application, if the authority determines that the applicant's 

proposed development presents health or safety concerns for 

potential tenants of the development, the authority may 

exclude and disregard the application for such proposed 

development. 

The executive director may exclude and disregard any 

application that he determines is not submitted in good faith 

or that he determines would not be financially feasible. 

Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the 

executive director shall rank the applications based on the 

number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been 

established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and, 

if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be 

ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits 

made available to each pool will be determined by the 

executive director. Available credits will include unreserved 

per capita dollar amount credits from the current calendar 

year under § 42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, any unreserved per 

capita credits from previous calendar years, and credits 

returned to the authority prior to the final ranking of the 

applications and may include up to 40% of next calendar 

year's per capita credits as shall be determined by the 

executive director. Those applications assigned more points 

shall be ranked higher than those applications assigned fewer 

points. However, if any set-asides established by the 
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executive director cannot be satisfied after ranking the 

applications based on the number of points, the executive 

director may rank as many applications as necessary to meet 

the requirements of such set-aside (selecting the highest 

ranked application, or applications, meeting the requirements 

of the set-aside) over applications with more points. 

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two 

or more applications within the same pool, or, if none, within 

the Commonwealth, and in the event that the amount of 

credits available for reservation to such applications is 

determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 

financial feasibility of all of the developments described 

therein, the authority shall, to the extent necessary to fully 

utilize the amount of credits available for reservation within 

such pool or, if none, within the Commonwealth, select one 

or more of the applications with the highest combination of 

points from subdivision 7 above, and each application so 

selected shall receive (in order based upon the number of 

such points, beginning with the application with the highest 

number of such points) a reservation of credits. If two or 

more of the tied applications receive the same number of 

points from subdivision 7 above and if the amount of credits 

available for reservation to such tied applications is 

determined by the executive director to be insufficient for the 

financial feasibility of all the developments described therein, 

the executive director shall select one or more of such 

applications by lot, and each application so selected by lot 

shall receive (in order of such selection by lot) a reservation 

of credits. 

For each application which may receive a reservation of 

credits, the executive director shall determine the amount, as 

of the date of the deadline for submission of applications for 

reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial 

feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified 

low-income development throughout the credit period under 

the IRC. In making this determination, the executive director 

shall consider the sources and uses of the funds, the available 

federal, state and local subsidies committed to the 

development, the total financing planned for the development 

as well as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by the 

authority to be generated with respect to the development, 

and the percentage of the credit dollar amount used for 

development costs other than the costs of intermediaries. He 

shall also examine the development's costs, including 

developer's fees and other amounts in the application, for 

reasonableness, and if he determines that such costs or other 

amounts are unreasonably high, he shall reduce them to 

amounts that he determines to be reasonable. The executive 

director shall review the applicant's projected rental income, 

operating expenses and debt service for the credit period. The 

executive director may establish such criteria and 

assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose of 

making such determination, including, without limitation, 

criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and 

assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds to 

be received (based upon such percentage of the credit dollar 

amount used for development costs, other than the costs of 

intermediaries, as the executive director shall determine to be 

reasonable for the proposed development), increases in the 

market value of the development, and increases in operating 

expenses, rental income and, in the case of applications 

without firm financing commitments (as defined hereinabove) 

at fixed interest rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage 

loan. The executive director may, if he deems it appropriate, 

consider the development to be a part of a larger 

development. In such a case, the executive director may 

consider, examine, review and establish any or all of the 

foregoing items as to the larger development in making such 

determination for the development. 

The following developer's fees may not be exceeded in the 

application: (i) for 4.0% developments, $20,000 per unit for 

units zero through 60; $15,000 per unit for units 61 through 

120; and $10,000 per unit for any units above 120; and (ii) for 

9.0% developments, $20,000 per unit for units zero through 

30; $15,000 per unit for units 31 through 60, and $10,000 per 

unit for any units above 60. For 4.0% developments above 

120 units and 9.0% developments above 60 units, the 

developer fee shall be subject to the authority's determination 

of reasonableness, and the developer fee per unit may be 

lower than set forth above. However, in no event shall the 

developer fee exceed 15% of the development's total 

development cost, as determined by the authority. 

At such time or times during each calendar year as the 

executive director shall designate, the executive director shall 

reserve credits to applications in descending order of ranking 

within each pool and tier, if applicable, until either 

substantially all credits therein are reserved or all qualified 

applications therein have received reservations. (For the 

purpose of the preceding sentence, if there is not more than a 

de minimis amount, as determined by the executive director, 

of credits remaining in a pool after reservations have been 

made, "substantially all" of the credits in such pool shall be 

deemed to have been reserved.) The executive director may 

rank the applications within pools at different times for 

different pools and may reserve credits, based on such 

rankings, one or more times with respect to each pool. The 

executive director may also establish more than one round of 

review and ranking of applications and reservation of credits 

based on such rankings, and he shall designate the amount of 

credits to be made available for reservation within each pool 

during each such round. The amount reserved to each such 

application shall be equal to the lesser of (i) the amount 

requested in the application or (ii) an amount determined by 

the executive director, as of the date of application, to be 

necessary for the financial feasibility of the development and 

its viability as a qualified low-income development 

throughout the credit period under the IRC; provided, 

however, that in no event shall the amount of credits so 
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reserved exceed the maximum amount permissible under the 

IRC. 

Effective until January 1, 2018, not more than 20% of the 

credits in any pool may be reserved to developments intended 

to provide elderly housing, unless the feasible credit amount, 

as determined by the executive director, of the highest ranked 

elderly housing development in any pool exceeds 20% of the 

credits in such pool, then such elderly housing development 

shall be the only elderly housing development eligible for a 

reservation of credits from such pool. However, if credits 

remain available for reservation after all eligible nonelderly 

housing developments receive a reservation of credits, such 

remaining credits may be made available to additional elderly 

housing developments. The above limitation of credits 

available for elderly housing shall not include elderly housing 

developments with project-based subsidy providing rental 

assistance for at least 20% of the units that are submitted as 

rehabilitation developments or assisted living facilities 

licensed under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

If the amount of credits available in any pool is determined 

by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial 

feasibility of the proposed development to which such 

available credits are to be reserved, the executive director 

may move the proposed development and the credits 

available to another pool. If any credits remain in any pool 

after moving proposed developments and credits to another 

pool, the executive director may for developments that meet 

the requirements of § 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve the 

remaining credits to any proposed development(s) 

developments scoring at or above the minimum point 

threshold established by this chapter without regard to the 

ranking of such application with additional credits from the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 

following year in such an amount necessary for the financial 

feasibility of the proposed development, or developments. 

However, the reservation of credits from the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 

following year shall be in the reasonable discretion of the 

executive director if he determines it to be in the best interest 

of the plan. In the event a reservation or an allocation of 

credits from the current year or a prior year is reduced, 

terminated, or canceled, the executive director may substitute 

such credits for any credits reserved from the following year's 

annual state housing credit ceiling. 

In the event that during any round of application review and 

ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools is 

less than the total amount of credits made available therein 

during such round, the executive director may (i) leave such 

unreserved credits in such pools for reservation and allocation 

in any subsequent round or rounds, (ii) redistribute such 

unreserved credits to such other pool or pools as the executive 

director may designate, (iii) supplement such unreserved 

credits in such pools with additional credits from the 

Commonwealth's annual state housing credit ceiling for the 

following year for reservation and allocation if in the 

reasonable discretion of the executive director, it serves the 

best interest of the plan, or (iv) carry over such unreserved 

credits to the next succeeding calendar year for inclusion in 

the state housing credit ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of 

the IRC) for such year. 

Notwithstanding anything contained herein, the total amount 

of credits that may be awarded in any credit year after credit 

year 2001 to any applicant or to any related applicants for one 

or more developments shall not exceed 15% of Virginia's per 

capita dollar amount of credits for such credit year (the 

"credit cap"). However, if the amount of credits to be 

reserved in any such credit year to all applications assigned a 

total number of points at or above the threshold amount set 

forth above shall be less than Virginia's dollar amount of 

credits available for such credit year, then the authority's 

board of commissioners may waive the credit cap to the 

extent it deems necessary to reserve credits in an amount at 

least equal to such dollar amount of credits. Applicants shall 

be deemed to be related if any principal in a proposed 

development or any person or entity related to the applicant 

or principal will be a principal in any other proposed 

development or developments. For purposes of this 

paragraph, a principal shall also include any person or entity 

who, in the determination of the executive director, has 

exercised or will exercise, directly or indirectly, substantial 

control over the applicant or has performed or will perform 

(or has assisted or will assist the applicant in the performance 

of), directly or indirectly, substantial responsibilities or 

functions customarily performed by applicants with respect to 

applications or developments. For the purpose of determining 

whether any person or entity is related to the applicant or 

principal, persons or entities shall be deemed to be related if 

the executive director determines that any substantial 

relationship existed, either directly between them or indirectly 

through a series of one or more substantial relationships (e.g., 

if party A has a substantial relationship with party B and if 

party B has a substantial relationship with party C, then A has 

a substantial relationship with both party B and party C), at 

any time within three years of the filing of the application for 

the credits. In determining in any credit year whether an 

applicant has a substantial relationship with another applicant 

with respect to any application for which credits were 

awarded in any prior credit year, the executive director shall 

determine whether the applicants were related as of the date 

of the filing of such prior credit year's application or within 

three years prior thereto and shall not consider any 

relationships or any changes in relationships subsequent to 

such date. Substantial relationships shall include, but not be 

limited to, the following relationships (in each of the 

following relationships, the persons or entities involved in the 

relationship are deemed to be related to each other): (i) the 

persons are in the same immediate family (including, without 

limitation, a spouse, children, parents, grandparents, 
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grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and 

nephews) and are living in the same household; (ii) the 

entities have one or more common general partners or 

members (including related persons and entities), or the 

entities have one or more common owners that (by 

themselves or together with any other related persons and 

entities) have, in the aggregate, 5.0% or more ownership 

interest in each entity; (iii) the entities are under the common 

control (e.g., the same person or persons and any related 

persons serve as a majority of the voting members of the 

boards of such entities or as chief executive officers of such 

entities) of one or more persons or entities (including related 

persons and entities); (iv) the person is a general partner, 

member or employee in the entity or is an owner (by himself 

or together with any other related persons and entities) of 

5.0% or more ownership interest in the entity; (v) the entity is 

a general partner or member in the other entity or is an owner 

(by itself or together with any other related persons and 

entities) of 5.0% or more ownership interest in the other 

entity; or (vi) the person or entity is otherwise controlled, in 

whole or in part, by the other person or entity. In determining 

compliance with the credit cap with respect to any 

application, the executive director may exclude any person or 

entity related to the applicant or to any principal in such 

applicant if the executive director determines that (i) such 

person or entity will not participate, directly or indirectly, in 

matters relating to the applicant or the ownership of the 

development to be assisted by the credits for which the 

application is submitted, (ii) such person or entity has no 

agreement or understanding relating to such application or the 

tax credits requested therein, and (iii) such person or entity 

will not receive a financial benefit from the tax credits 

requested in the application. A limited partner or other similar 

investor shall not be determined to be a principal and shall be 

excluded from the determination of related persons or entities 

unless the executive director shall determine that such limited 

partner or investor will, directly or indirectly, exercise control 

over the applicant or participate in matters relating to the 

ownership of the development substantially beyond the 

degree of control or participation that is usual and customary 

for limited partners or other similar investors with respect to 

developments assisted by the credits. If the award of multiple 

applications of any applicant or related applicants in any 

credit year shall cause the credit cap to be exceeded, such 

applicant or applicants shall, upon notice from the authority, 

jointly designate those applications for which credits are not 

to be reserved so that such limitation shall not be exceeded. 

Such notice shall specify the date by which such designation 

shall be made. In the absence of any such designation by the 

date specified in such notice, the executive director shall 

make such designation as he shall determine to best serve the 

interests of the program. Each applicant and each principal 

therein shall make such certifications, shall disclose such 

facts and shall submit such documents to the authority as the 

executive director may require to determine compliance with 

the credit cap. If an applicant or any principal therein makes 

any misrepresentation to the authority concerning such 

applicant's or principal's relationship with any other person or 

entity, the executive director may reject any or all of such 

applicant's pending applications for reservation or allocation 

of credits, may terminate any or all reservations of credits to 

the applicant, and may prohibit such applicant, the principals 

therein and any persons and entities then or thereafter having 

a substantial relationship (in the determination of the 

executive director as described above) with the applicant or 

any principal therein from submitting applications for credits 

for such period of time as the executive director shall 

determine. 

Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any 

applicants' applications, the executive director shall notify 

each applicant for such reservations of credits either of the 

amount of credits reserved to such applicant's application (by 

issuing to such applicant a written binding commitment to 

allocate such reserved credits subject to such terms and 

conditions as may be imposed by the executive director 

therein, by the IRC and by this chapter) or, as applicable, that 

the applicant's application has been rejected or excluded or 

has otherwise not been reserved credits in accordance 

herewith. The written binding commitment shall prohibit any 

transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except 

those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to the 

placed-in-service date of the proposed development unless the 

transfer is consented to by the executive director. The written 

binding commitment shall further limit the developers' fees to 

the amounts established during the review of the applications 

for reservation of credits and such amounts shall not be 

increased unless consented to by the executive director.  

If credits are reserved to any applicants for developments 

that have also received an allocation of credits from prior 

years, the executive director may reserve additional credits 

from the current year equal to the amount of credits allocated 

to such developments from prior years, provided such 

previously allocated credits are returned to the authority. Any 

previously allocated credits returned to the authority under 

such circumstances shall be placed into the credit pools from 

which the current year's credits are reserved to such 

applicants. 

The executive director shall make a written explanation 

available to the general public for any allocation of housing 

credit dollar amount that is not made in accordance with 

established priorities and selection criteria of the authority. 

The authority's board shall review and consider the analysis 

and recommendation of the executive director for the 

reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs with 

such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the 

reservation by the executive director of the credits to the 

applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall 

deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with the 

aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be issued to 
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the applicant, the IRC and this chapter. If the board 

determines not to ratify a reservation of credits or to establish 

any such terms and conditions, the executive director shall so 

notify the applicant. 

The executive director may require the applicant to make a 

good faith deposit or to execute such contractual agreements 

providing for monetary or other remedies as it may require, or 

both, to assure that the applicant will comply with all 

requirements under the IRC, this chapter and the binding 

commitment (including, without limitation, any requirement 

to conform to all of the representations, commitments and 

information contained in the application for which points 

were assigned pursuant to this section). Upon satisfaction of 

all such aforementioned requirements (including any post-

allocation requirements), such deposit shall be refunded to the 

applicant or such contractual agreements shall terminate, or 

both, as applicable. 

If, as of the date the application is approved by the executive 

director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of the credits 

under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any binding 

commitment that the authority would have otherwise issued 

to such applicant, the executive director may at that time 

allocate the credits to such qualified low-income buildings or 

development without first providing a reservation of such 

credits. This provision in no way limits the authority of the 

executive director to require a good faith deposit or 

contractual agreement, or both, as described in the preceding 

paragraph, nor to relieve the applicant from any other 

requirements hereunder for eligibility for an allocation of 

credits. Any such allocation shall be subject to ratification by 

the board in the same manner as provided above with respect 

to reservations. 

The executive director may require that applicants to whom 

credits have been reserved shall submit from time to time or 

at such specified times as he shall require, written 

confirmation and documentation as to the status of the 

proposed development and its compliance with the 

application, the binding commitment and any contractual 

agreements between the applicant and the authority. If on the 

basis of such written confirmation and documentation as the 

executive director shall have received in response to such a 

request, or on the basis of such other available information, or 

both, the executive director determines any or all of the 

buildings in the development that were to become qualified 

low-income buildings will not do so within the time period 

required by the IRC or will not otherwise qualify for such 

credits under the IRC, this chapter or the binding 

commitment, then the executive director may (i) terminate the 

reservation of such credits and draw on any good faith 

deposit, or (ii) substitute the reservation of credits from the 

current credit year with a reservation of credits from a future 

credit year if the delay is caused by a lawsuit beyond the 

applicant's control that prevents the applicant from 

proceeding with the development. If, in lieu of or in addition 

to the foregoing determination, the executive director 

determines that any contractual agreements between the 

applicant and the authority have been breached by the 

applicant, whether before or after allocation of the credits, he 

may seek to enforce any and all remedies to which the 

authority may then be entitled under such contractual 

agreements. 

The executive director may establish such deadlines for 

determining the ability of the applicant to qualify for an 

allocation of credits as he shall deem necessary or desirable to 

allow the authority sufficient time, in the event of a reduction 

or termination of the applicant's reservation, to reserve such 

credits to other eligible applications and to allocate such 

credits pursuant thereto. 

Any material changes to the development, as proposed in the 

application, occurring subsequent to the submission of the 

application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the prior 

written approval of the executive director. As a condition to 

any such approval, the executive director may, as necessary to 

comply with this chapter, the IRC, the binding commitment 

and any other contractual agreement between the authority 

and the applicant, reduce the amount of credits applied for or 

reserved or impose additional terms and conditions with 

respect thereto. If such changes are made without the prior 

written approval of the executive director, he may terminate 

or reduce the reservation of such credits, impose additional 

terms and conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any 

contractual remedies to which the authority may then be 

entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any combination 

of the foregoing. 

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or 

reduced by the executive director under this section, he may 

reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in 

such manner as he shall determine consistent with the 

requirements of the IRC and this chapter. 

Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the executive 

director may make a reservation of credits in an accessible 

supportive housing pool (ASH pool) to any applicant that 

proposes a nonelderly development that (i) will be assisted by 

HUD project-based vouchers or another form of a 

documented and binding federal or state project-based rent 

subsidies form of rental assistance in order to ensure 

occupancy by extremely low-income persons; (ii) conforms to 

HUD regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements 

of § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act; and (iii) will be actively 

marketed to people with disabilities in accordance with a plan 

submitted as part of the application for credits and approved 

by the executive director for either (a) at least 25% of the 

units in the development or (b) if HUD Section 811 funds are 

providing the rent subsidies, at least 15% but not more than 

25% of the units in the development. at least 15% of the units 

in the development; (iv) has a principal with a demonstrated 

capacity for supportive housing evidenced by a certification 
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from a certifying body acceptable to the executive director or 

other preapproved source; and (v) for which the applicant has 

completed the authority's supportive housing certification 

form. Any such reservations made in any calendar year may 

be up to 6.0% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing 

credit ceiling for the applicable credit year. However, such 

reservation will be for credits from the Commonwealth's 

annual state housing credit ceiling from the following 

calendar year. If the ASH pool application deadline is 

simultaneous with the deadline for the other pools, the 

unsuccessful applicants in the ASH pool will also compete in 

the applicable geographic pool. 

13VAC10-180-70. Allocation of credits.  

At such time as one or more of an applicant's buildings or an 

applicant's development which has received a reservation of 

credits is (i) placed in service or satisfies the requirements of 

§ 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC and (ii) meets all of the preallocation 

requirements of this chapter, the binding commitment and 

any other applicable contractual agreements between the 

applicant and the authority, the applicant shall so advise the 

authority, shall request the allocation of all of the credits so 

reserved or such portion thereof to which the applicant's 

buildings or development is then entitled under the IRC, this 

chapter, the binding commitment and the aforementioned 

contractual agreements, if any, and shall submit such 

application, certifications, (including an independent certified 

public accountant's certification of applicant's actual cost and 

an independent certified public accountant's certification of 

the general contractor's actual costs), legal and accounting 

opinions, evidence as to costs, a breakdown of sources and 

uses of funds, pro forma financial statements setting forth 

anticipated cash flows, and other documentation as the 

executive director shall require in order to determine that the 

applicant's buildings or development is entitled to such credits 

as described above. The applicant shall certify to the authority 

the full extent of all federal, state and local subsidies which 

apply (or which the applicant expects to apply) with respect 

to the buildings or the development.  

As of the date of allocation of credits to any building or 

development and as of the date such building or such 

development is placed in service, the executive director shall 

determine the amount of credits to be necessary for the 

financial feasibility of the development and its viability as a 

qualified low-income housing development throughout the 

credit period under the IRC. In making such determinations, 

the executive director shall consider the sources and uses of 

the funds, the available federal, state and local subsidies 

committed to the development, the total financing planned for 

the development as well as the investment proceeds or 

receipts expected by the authority to be generated with 

respect to the development and the percentage of the credit 

dollar amount used for development costs other than the costs 

of intermediaries. He shall also examine the development's 

costs, including developer's fees and other amounts in the 

application, for reasonableness and, if he determines that such 

costs or other amounts are unreasonably high, he shall reduce 

them to amounts that he determines to be reasonable. The 

executive director shall review the applicant's projected rental 

income, operating expenses and debt service for the credit 

period. The executive director may establish such criteria and 

assumptions as he shall then deem reasonable (or he may 

apply the criteria and assumptions he established pursuant to 

13VAC10-180-60) for the purpose of making such 

determinations, including, without limitation, criteria as to the 

reasonableness of fees and profits and assumptions as to the 

amount of net syndication proceeds to be received (based 

upon such percentage of the credit dollar amount used for 

development costs, other than the costs of intermediaries, as 

the executive director shall determine to be reasonable for the 

proposed development), increases in the market value of the 

development, and increases in operating expenses, rental 

income and, in the case of applications without firm financing 

commitments (as defined in 13VAC10-180-60) at fixed 

interest rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage loan. 

The amount of credits allocated to the applicant shall in no 

event exceed such amount as so determined by the executive 

director by more than a de minimis amount of not more than 

$100.  

Prior to allocating credits to an applicant, the executive 

director shall require the applicant to execute and deliver to 

the authority a valid IRS Form 8821, Tax Information 

Authorization, naming the authority as the appointee to 

receive tax information. The Forms 8821 of all applicants will 

be forwarded to the IRS, which will authorize the IRS to 

furnish the authority with all IRS information pertaining to 

the applicants' developments, including audit findings and 

assessments.  

Prior to allocating the credits to an applicant, the executive 

director shall require the applicant to execute, deliver and 

record among the land records of the appropriate jurisdiction 

or jurisdictions an extended low-income housing commitment 

in accordance with the requirements of the IRC. Such 

commitment shall require that the applicable fraction (as 

defined in the IRC) for the buildings for each taxable year in 

the extended use period (as defined in the IRC) will not be 

less than the applicable fraction specified in such 

commitment and which prohibits both (i) the eviction or the 

termination of tenancy (other than for good cause) of an 

existing tenant of a low-income unit and (ii) any increase in 

the gross rent with respect to such unit not otherwise 

permitted under the IRC. The amount of credits allocated to 

any building shall not exceed the amount necessary to support 

such applicable fraction, including any increase thereto 

pursuant to § 42(f)(3) of the IRC reflected in an amendment 

to such commitment. The commitment shall provide that the 

extended use period will end on the day 15 years after the 

close of the compliance period (as defined in the IRC) or on 

the last day of any longer period of time specified in the 
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application during which low-income housing units in the 

development will be occupied by tenants with incomes not in 

excess of the applicable income limitations; provided, 

however, that the extended use period for any building shall 

be subject to termination, in accordance with the IRC, (i) on 

the date the building is acquired by foreclosure or instrument 

in lieu thereof unless a determination is made pursuant to the 

IRC that such acquisition is part of an agreement with the 

current owner thereof, a purpose of which is to terminate such 

period or (ii) on the last day of the one-year period following 

the written request by the applicant as specified in the IRC 

(such period in no event beginning earlier than the end of the 

fourteenth year of the compliance period) if the authority is 

unable to present during such one-year period a qualified 

contract (as defined in the IRC) for the acquisition of the 

building by any person who will continue to operate the low-

income portion thereof as a qualified low-income building. In 

addition, such termination shall not be construed to permit, 

prior to close of the three-year period following such 

termination, the eviction or termination of tenancy of any 

existing tenant of any low-income housing unit other than for 

good cause or any increase in the gross rents over the 

maximum rent levels then permitted by the IRC with respect 

to such low-income housing units. Such commitment shall 

contain a waiver of the applicant's right to pursue a qualified 

contract. Such commitment shall also contain such other 

terms and conditions as the executive director may deem 

necessary or appropriate to assure that the applicant and the 

development conform to the representations, commitments 

and information in the application and comply with the 

requirements of the IRC and this chapter. Such commitment 

shall be a restrictive covenant on the buildings binding on all 

successors to the applicant and shall be enforceable in any 

state court of competent jurisdiction by individuals (whether 

prospective, present or former occupants) who meet the 

applicable income limitations under the IRC.  

In accordance with the IRC, the executive director may, for 

any calendar year during the project period (as defined in the 

IRC), allocate credits to a development, as a whole, which 

contains more than one building. Such an allocation shall 

apply only to buildings placed in service during or prior to the 

end of the second calendar year after the calendar year in 

which such allocation is made, and the portion of such 

allocation allocated to any building shall be specified not later 

than the close of the calendar year in which such building is 

placed in service. Any such allocation shall be subject to 

satisfaction of all requirements under the IRC.  

If the executive director determines that the buildings or 

development is so entitled to the credits, he shall allocate the 

credits (or such portion thereof to which he deems the 

buildings or the development to be entitled) to the applicant's 

qualified low-income buildings or to the applicant's 

development in accordance with the requirements of the IRC. 

If the executive director shall determine that the applicant's 

buildings or development is not so entitled to the credits, he 

shall not allocate the credits and shall so notify the applicant 

within a reasonable time after such determination is made. In 

the event that any such applicant shall not request an 

allocation of all of its reserved credits or whose buildings or 

development shall be deemed by the executive director not to 

be entitled to any or all of its reserved credits, the executive 

director may reserve or allocate, as applicable, such 

unallocated credits to the buildings or developments of other 

qualified applicants at such time or times and in such manner 

as he shall determine consistent with the requirements of the 

IRC and this chapter.  

The executive director may prescribe (i) such deadlines for 

submissions of requests for allocations of credits for any 

calendar year as he deems necessary or desirable to allow 

sufficient processing time for the authority to make such 

allocations within such calendar year and (ii) such deadlines 

for satisfaction of all preallocation requirements of the IRC 

the binding commitment, any contractual agreements between 

the authority and the applicant and this chapter as he deems 

necessary or desirable to allow the authority sufficient time to 

allocate to other eligible applicants any credits for which the 

applicants fail to satisfy such requirements.  

The executive director may make the allocation of credits 

subject to such terms as he may deem necessary or 

appropriate to assure that the applicant and the development 

comply with the requirements of the IRC.  

The executive director may also (to the extent not already 

required under 13VAC10-180-60) require that all applicants 

make such good faith deposits or execute such contractual 

agreements with the authority as the executive director may 

require with respect to the credits, (i) to ensure that the 

buildings or development are completed in accordance with 

the binding commitment, including all of the representations 

made in the application for which points were assigned 

pursuant to 13VAC10-180-60 and (ii) only in the case of any 

buildings or development which are to receive an allocation 

of credits hereunder and which are to be placed in service in 

any future year, to assure that the buildings or the 

development will be placed in service as a qualified low-

income housing project (as defined in the IRC) in accordance 

with the IRC and that the applicant will otherwise comply 

with all of the requirements under the IRC.  

In the event that the executive director determines that a 

development for which an allocation of credits is made shall 

not become a qualified low-income housing project (as 

defined in the IRC) within the time period required by the 

IRC or the terms of the allocation or any contractual 

agreements between the applicant and the authority, the 

executive director may terminate the allocation and rescind 

the credits in accordance with the IRC and, in addition, may 

draw on any good faith deposit and enforce any of the 

authority's rights and remedies under any contractual 
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agreement. An allocation of credits to an applicant may also 

be cancelled with the mutual consent of such applicant and 

the executive director. Upon the termination or cancellation 

of any credits, the executive director may reserve, allocate or 

carry over, as applicable, such credits in such manner as he 

shall determine consistent with the requirements of the IRC 

and this chapter.  

An applicant that demonstrates a legitimate change in 

circumstances or delay beyond their reasonable control, as 

determined by the authority, may return a valid reservation of 

prior years' tax credits between October 1 and December 31 

and receive a reservation of the same amount of current or 

future year tax credits. The authority must determine that the 

applicant is capable of completing and placing the 

development in service within the time required by the IRC 

for such current or future year tax credits. However, none of 

the principals in the development for which credits are 

returned and refreshed may be a principal in an application 

the following calendar year and the applicant must waive the 

right to a qualified contract, if applicable. 

13VAC10-180-90. Monitoring for IRS compliance.  

A. Federal law requires the authority to monitor 

developments receiving credits for compliance with the 

requirements of § 42 of the IRC and notify the IRS of any 

noncompliance of which it becomes aware. Compliance with 

the requirements of § 42 of the IRC is the responsibility of the 

owner of the building for which the credit is allowable. The 

monitoring requirements set forth hereinbelow are to qualify 

the authority's allocation plan of credits. The authority's 

obligation to monitor for compliance with the requirements of 

§ 42 of the IRC does not make the authority liable for an 

owner's noncompliance, nor does the authority's failure to 

discover any noncompliance by an owner excuse such 

noncompliance.  

B. The owner of a low-income housing development must 

keep records for each qualified low-income building in the 

development that show for each year in the compliance 

period:  

1. The total number of residential rental units in the 

building (including the number of bedrooms and the size in 

square feet of each residential rental unit).  

2. The percentage of residential rental units in the building 

that are low-income units.  

3. The rent charged on each residential rental unit in the 

building (including any utility allowances).  

4. The number of occupants in each low-income unit, but 

only if rent is determined by the number of occupants in 

each unit under § 42(g)(2) of the IRC (as in effect before 

the amendments made by the federal Revenue 

Reconciliation Act of 1989).  

5. The low-income unit vacancies in the building and 

information that shows when, and to whom, the next 

available units were rented.  

6. The annual income certification of each low-income 

tenant per unit.  

7. Documentation to support each low-income tenant's 

income certification (for example, a copy of the tenant's 

federal income tax return, Forms W-2, or verifications of 

income from third parties such as employers or state 

agencies paying unemployment compensation). Tenant 

income is calculated in a manner consistent with the 

determination of annual income under section 8 of the 

United States Housing Act of 1937, 42 USC § 1401 et seq. 

("section 8"), not in accordance with the determination of 

gross income for federal income tax liability. In the case of 

a tenant receiving housing assistance payments under 

section 8, the documentation requirement of this 

subdivision 7 is satisfied if the public housing authority 

provides a statement to the building owner declaring that 

the tenant's income does not exceed the applicable income 

limit under § 42(g) of the IRC.  

8. The eligible basis and qualified basis of the building at 

the end of the first year of the credit period.  

9. The character and use of the nonresidential portion of 

the building included in the building's eligible basis under 

§ 42(d) of the IRC (e.g., tenant facilities that are available 

on a comparable basis to all tenants and for which no 

separate fee is charged for use of the facilities, or facilities 

reasonably required by the development).  

The owner of a low-income housing development must 

retain the records described in this subsection B for at least 

six years after the due date (with extensions) for filing the 

federal income tax return for that year. The records for the 

first year of the credit period, however, must be retained for at 

least six years beyond the due date (with extensions) for filing 

the federal income tax return for the last year of the 

compliance period of the building.  

In addition, the owner of a low-income housing 

development must retain any original local health, safety, or 

building code violation reports or notices issued by the 

Commonwealth or local government (as described in 

subdivision C 6 of this section) for the authority's inspection. 

Retention of the original violation reports or notices is not 

required once the authority reviews the violation reports or 

notices and completes its inspection, unless the violation 

remains uncorrected.  

C. The owner of a low-income housing development must 

certify annually to the authority, on the form prescribed by 

the authority, that, for the preceding 12-month period:  

1. The development met the requirements of the 20-50 test 

under § 42(g)(1)(A) of the IRC or, the 40-60 test under 
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§ 42(g)(2)(B) of the IRC, or the income averaging test of 

the federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2018 (as 

limited by the executive director), whichever minimum set-

aside test was applicable to the development.  

2. There was no change in the applicable fraction (as 

defined in § 42(c)(1)(B) of the IRC) of any building in the 

development, or that there was a change, and a description 

of the change.  

3. The owner has received an annual income certification 

from each low-income tenant, and documentation to 

support that certification; or, in the case of a tenant 

receiving section 8 housing assistance payments, the 

statement from a public housing authority described in 

subdivision 7 of subsection B of this section (unless the 

owner has obtained a waiver from the IRS pursuant to 

§ 42(g)(8)(B) of the IRC).  

4. Each low-income unit in the development was rent-

restricted under § 42(g)(2) of the IRC.  

5. All units in the development were for use by the general 

public (as defined in IRS Regulation § 1.42-9) and that no 

finding of discrimination under the Fair Housing Act has 

occurred for the development. (A finding of discrimination 

includes an adverse final decision by the Secretary of 

HUD, 24 CFR 180.680, an adverse final decision by a 

substantially equivalent state or local fair housing agency, 

42 USC § 3616(a)(1), or adverse judgment from federal 

court.)  

6. Each building in the development was suitable for 

occupancy, taking into account local health, safety, and 

building codes (or other habitability standards), and that 

the Commonwealth or local government unit responsible 

for making local health, safety, and building code 

inspections did not issue a violation report for any building 

or low-income unit in the development. (If a violation 

report or notice was issued by the governmental unit, the 

owner must attach a statement summarizing the violation 

report or notice or a copy of the violation report or notice 

to the annual certification. In addition the owner must state 

whether the violation has been corrected.)  

7. There was no change in the eligible basis (as defined in 

§ 42(d) of the IRC) of any building in the development, or 

if there was a change, the nature of the change (e.g., a 

common area has become commercial space or a fee is 

now charged for a tenant facility formerly provided 

without charge).  

8. All tenant facilities included in the eligible basis under 

§ 42(d) of the IRC of any building in the development, 

such as swimming pools, other recreational facilities, and 

parking areas, were provided on a comparable basis 

without charge to all tenants in the building.  

9. If a low-income unit in the development became vacant 

during the year, that reasonable attempts were or are being 

made to rent that unit or the next available unit of 

comparable or smaller size to tenants having a qualifying 

income before any units in the development were or will be 

rented to tenants not having a qualifying income.  

10. If the income of tenants of a low-income unit in the 

development increased above the limit allowed in 

§ 42(g)(2)(D)(ii) of the IRC, the next available unit of 

comparable or smaller size in the development was or will 

be rented to tenants having a qualifying income.  

11. An extended low income housing commitment as 

described in § 42(h)(6) of the IRC was in effect (for 

buildings subject to § 7108(c)(1) of the federal Omnibus 

Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989).  

12. All units in the development were used on a 

nontransient basis (except for transitional housing for the 

homeless provided under § 42(i)(3)(B)(iii) of the IRC or 

single-room-occupancy units rented on a month-by-month 

basis under § 42(i)(3)(B)(iv) of the IRC).  

Such certifications shall be made annually covering each 

year of the compliance period and must be made under the 

penalty of perjury.  

In addition, each owner of a low-income housing 

development must provide to the authority, on a form 

prescribed by the authority, a certification containing such 

information necessary for the Commonwealth to determine 

the eligibility of tax credits for the first year of the 

development's compliance period.  

D. The authority will review each certification set forth in 

subsection C of this section for compliance with the 

requirements of § 42 of the IRC. Also, the authority will 

conduct on-site inspections of all the buildings in the 

development by the end of the second calendar year following 

the year the last building in the development is placed in 

service and, for at least 20% of the development's low-income 

housing units, inspect the low-income certification, the 

documentation the owner has received to support that 

certification, and the rent record for the tenants in those units. 

In addition, at least once every three years, the authority will 

conduct on-site inspections of all the buildings in each low-

income housing development and, for at least 20% of the 

development's low-income units, inspect the units, the low-

income certifications, the documentation the owner has 

received to support the certifications, and the rent record for 

the tenants in those units. The authority will determine which 

low-income housing developments will be reviewed in a 

particular year and which tenant's records are to be inspected.  

In addition, the authority, at its option, may request an 

owner of a low-income housing development not selected for 

the review procedure set forth above in a particular year to 

submit to the authority for compliance review copies of the 
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annual income certifications, the documentation such owner 

has received to support those certifications and the rent record 

for each low-income tenant of the low-income units in their 

development.  

All low-income housing developments may be subject to 

review at any time during the compliance period.  

E. The authority has the right to perform, and each owner of 

a development receiving credits shall permit the performance 

of, an on-site inspection of any low-income housing 

development through the end of the compliance period of the 

building. The inspection provision of this subsection E is 

separate from the review of low-income certifications, 

supporting documents and rent records under subsection D of 

this section.  

The owner of a low-income housing development should 

notify the authority when the development is placed in 

service. The authority reserves the right to inspect the 

property prior to issuing IRS Form 8609 to verify that the 

development conforms to the representations made in the 

Application for Reservation and Application for Allocation.  

F. The authority will provide written notice to the owner of a 

low-income housing development if the authority does not 

receive the certification described in subsection C of this 

section, or does not receive or is not permitted to inspect the 

tenant income certifications, supporting documentation, and 

rent records described in subsection D of this section or 

discovers by inspection, review, or in some other manner, that 

the development is not in compliance with the provisions of 

§ 42 of the IRC.  

Such written notice will set forth a correction period which 

shall be that period specified by the authority during which an 

owner must supply any missing certifications and bring the 

development into compliance with the provisions of § 42 of 

the IRC. The authority will set the correction period for a 

time not to exceed 90 days from the date of such notice to the 

owner. The authority may extend the correction period for up 

to 6 months, but only if the authority determines there is good 

cause for granting the extension.  

The authority will file Form 8823, "Low-Income Housing 

Credit Agencies Report of Noncompliance," with the IRS no 

later than 45 days after the end of the correction period (as 

described above, including any permitted extensions) and no 

earlier than the end of the correction period, whether or not 

the noncompliance or failure to certify is corrected. The 

authority must explain on Form 8823 the nature of the 

noncompliance or failure to certify and indicate whether the 

owner has corrected the noncompliance or failure to certify. 

Any change in either the applicable fraction or eligible basis 

under subdivisions 2 and 7 of subsection C of this section, 

respectively, that results in a decrease in the qualified basis of 

the development under § 42(c)(1)(A) of the IRC is 

noncompliance that must be reported to the IRS under this 

subsection F. If the authority reports on Form 8823 that a 

building is entirely out of compliance and will not be in 

compliance at any time in the future, the authority need not 

file Form 8823 in subsequent years to report that building's 

noncompliance.  

The authority will retain records of noncompliance or failure 

to certify for six years beyond the authority's filing of the 

respective Form 8823. In all other cases, the authority must 

retain the certifications and records described in subsection C 

of this section for three years from the end of the calendar 

year the authority receives the certifications and records.  

G. If the authority decides to enter into the agreements 

described below, the review requirements under subsection D 

of this section will not require owners to submit, and the 

authority is not required to review, the tenant income 

certifications, supporting documentation and rent records for 

buildings financed by Rural Development under the § 515 

program, or buildings of which 50% or more of the aggregate 

basis (taking into account the building and the land) is 

financed with the proceeds of obligations the interest on 

which is exempt from tax under § 103 (tax-exempt bonds). In 

order for a monitoring procedure to except these buildings, 

the authority must enter into an agreement with Rural 

Development or tax-exempt bond issuer. Under the 

agreement, Rural Development or tax-exempt bond issuer 

must agree to provide information concerning the income and 

rent of the tenants in the building to the authority. The 

authority may assume the accuracy of the information 

provided by Rural Development or the tax-exempt bond 

issuer without verification. The authority will review the 

information and determine that the income limitation and rent 

restriction of § 42(g)(1) and (2) of the IRC are met. However, 

if the information provided by Rural Development or tax-

exempt bond issuer is not sufficient for the authority to make 

this determination, the authority will request the necessary 

additional income or rent information from the owner of the 

buildings. For example, because Rural Development 

determines tenant eligibility based on its definition of 

"adjusted annual income," rather than "annual income" as 

defined under section 8, the authority may have to calculate 

the tenant's income for purposes of § 42 of the IRC and may 

need to request additional income information from the 

owner.  

H. The owners of low-income housing developments must 

pay to the authority such fees in such amounts and at such 

times as the authority shall reasonably require the owners to 

pay in order to reimburse the authority for the costs of 

monitoring compliance with § 42 of the IRC.  

I. The owners of low-income housing developments that 

have submitted IRS Forms 8821, Tax Information 

Authorization, naming the authority as the appointee to 

receive tax information on such owners shall submit from 
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time to time renewals of such Forms 8821 as required by the 

authority throughout the extended use period.  

J. The requirements of this section shall continue throughout 

the extended use period, notwithstanding the use of the term 

compliance period, except to the extent modified or waived 

by the executive director.  

13VAC10-180-110. Qualified contracts.  

After the first day of the 14th year of the compliance period, 

an owner of a low-income housing tax credit development 

may seek to terminate the extended use period pursuant to 

§ 42(h)(6)(E) of the IRC by requesting the authority to 

present a qualified contract for the acquisition of the low-

income portion of the development, unless such right to 

terminate has already been waived by the owner for the tax 

credits allocated to such development. A request for a 

qualified contract shall be commenced by filing with the 

authority a complete application, on such form or forms as the 

executive director may from time to time prescribe or 

approve, together with such documents and additional 

information as may be requested by the authority in order to 

comply with the IRC and this chapter and to determine the 

qualified contract price in accordance with § 42(h)(6)(F) of 

the IRC. The executive director may reject any application 

from consideration for a qualified contract, if in such 

application, the owner does not provide the proper 

documentation or information on the forms prescribed by the 

executive director. Acceptance of the application and 

approval of the request shall be contingent upon the 

developments being in compliance with IRC requirements at 

the time of the application and continuing through the 

qualified contract process. 

The application should include the following information 

sufficiently detailed to enable the authority to ascertain the 

qualified contract amount: first year IRS Form 8609 for each 

building, the owner's annual tax returns for all years of 

operation since the start of the credit period ("all years"), 

annual project financial statements for all years, loan 

documents for all secured debt during the credit period, the 

owner's organizational documents (original, current and all 

interim amendments), and accountant work papers for all 

years. The application may require a physical needs 

assessment, appraisal for the entire project, market study for 

the entire project, a title report showing marketable title, and 

a Phase I environmental assessment at the time of the original 

submission of the application or the executive director may 

permit such items to be obtained after the confirmation of the 

qualified contract price.  

The executive director may also require the submission of a 

legal opinion or other assurances satisfactory to the executive 

director as to, among other things, compliance with the IRC 

and a certification, together with an opinion of an 

independent certified public accountant or other assurances 

satisfactory to the executive director, setting forth the 

calculation of the qualified contract amount requested in the 

application and certifying, among other things, that the owner 

is entitled to the qualified contract amount requested.  

The executive director may establish criteria and 

assumptions to be used by the owner in the calculation of 

qualified contract amount, and any such criteria and 

assumptions may be indicated on the application form, 

instructions or other communication available to the public.  

The authority shall charge reasonable fees in such amounts 

as the executive director shall determine to be necessary to 

cover third party costs and the authority's actual costs 

incurred in producing a qualified contract. Such fees shall not 

include any general costs associated with the general 

operations of the authority. Such fees shall be payable at such 

time or times as the executive director shall require.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (13VAC10-180)  

1995 Annual Owners Certification.  

Building Information Report.  

Project Information Report.  

Occupancy Status Report.  

Previous Participation Certification.  

Federal Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program, 

Application for Reservation DRAFT (undated, filed 

8/30/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5635; Filed August 23, 2018, 2:21 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-50. Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Regulations (amending 16VAC25-50-10, 16VAC25-

50-20, 16VAC25-50-30, 16VAC25-50-260, 16VAC25-50-

280, 16VAC25-50-300, 16VAC25-50-330, 16VAC25-50-

360, 16VAC25-50-370, 16VAC25-50-380, 16VAC25-50-

430, 16VAC25-50-460, 16VAC25-50-540).  

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-51.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cadb9005635~1t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005635&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cadb9005635~1t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005635&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cadb9005635~1t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005635&mime=application/pdf
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Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Ed Hilton, Director, Boiler Safety 

Compliance, Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street 

Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3169, FAX (804) 371-2324, or email 

ed.hilton@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action incorporates the most recent 

editions of nationally recognized model codes and forms 

produced by the American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers, the National Board of Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Inspectors, and other standard-writing groups into 

the safety and inspection regulations for boilers and 

pressure vessels. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  

Definitions  

16VAC25-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Act" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act, 

Chapter 3.1 (§ 40.1-51.5 et seq.) of Title 40.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Alteration" means any change in the item described on the 

original Manufacturers' Data Report which affects the 

pressure containing capability of the boiler or pressure vessel. 

Non-physical changes, such as an increase in the maximum 

allowable working pressure (internal or external) or design 

temperature of a boiler or pressure vessel, shall be considered 

an alteration. A reduction in minimum temperature such that 

additional mechanical tests are required shall also be 

considered an alteration.  

"ANSI/ASME CSD-1" means ASME CSD-1-2012, Controls 

and Safety Devices for Automatically Fired Boilers, 2012 

Edition, American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

"API-510" means API-510, Pressure Vessel Inspection 

Code: In-Service Inspection, Rating, Repair, and Alteration, 

Tenth Edition, May 2014, American Petroleum Institute.  

"Approved" means acceptable to the board, commissioner or 

chief inspector as applicable.  

"ASME B31" means ASME B31.1-2014, Power Piping, an 

International Piping Code, The American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers. 

"ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code 

of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers approved 

and adopted by the governing council of such society and 

approved and adopted by the board.  

"Authorized inspection agency" means one of the following:  

a. A department or division established by a state, 

commonwealth or municipality of the United States, or a 

province of Canada, which has adopted one or more 

sections of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of the 

ASME Code and whose inspectors hold valid commissions 

with the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors; or equivalent qualifications as defined and set 

forth in 16VAC25-50-50 and 16VAC25-50-70;  

b. An inspection agency of an insurance company which is 

authorized (licensed) to write boiler and pressure vessel 

insurance in those jurisdictions which have examined the 

agency's inspectors to represent such jurisdictions as is 

evident by the issuance of a valid certificate of competency 

to the inspector;  

c. An owner-user inspection agency as defined in this 

section; or  

d. A contract fee inspector.  

"Board" means the Virginia Safety and Health Codes Board.  

"Boiler" means a closed vessel in which water is heated, 

steam is generated, steam is superheated, or any combination 

of them, under pressure or vacuum for use externally to itself 

by the direct application of heat. The term "boiler" shall 

include fired units for heating or vaporizing liquids other than 

water where these units are separate from processing systems 

and are complete within themselves.  

[ "BTU" means British thermal unit. ]  

"Certificate of competency" means a certificate issued by 

the commissioner to a person who has passed the prescribed 

examination as provided in 16VAC25-50-50. See §§ 40.1-

51.9 and 40.1-51:9:1 40.1-51.9:1 of the Act.  

"Certificate inspection" means an inspection, the report of 

which is used by the chief inspector to decide whether or not 

a certificate, as provided for in § 40.1-51.10 of the Act may 

be issued. This certificate inspection shall be an internal 

inspection when required; otherwise, it shall be as complete 

an inspection as possible.  

"Chief inspector" means the chief boiler and pressure vessel 

inspector of the Commonwealth.  

"Commission, National Board" means the commission 

issued by the National Board to a holder of a Certificate of 

Competency for the purpose of conducting inspections in the 

Commonwealth in accordance with the National Board 

Bylaws and this chapter. The employer must submit the 

inspector's application to the National Board for a 

commission.  
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"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Commonwealth inspector" means any agent appointed by 

the commissioner under the provisions of § 40.1-51.9 of the 

Act.  

"Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that has been inspected and declared unsafe 

for use or disqualified by legal requirements and to which a 

stamping or marking designating its condemnation has been 

applied by the chief or commonwealth inspector.  

"Current edition of the ASME Code" means the 2015 

Edition of the ASME Code, which has been adopted by the 

Safety and Health Codes Board. 

"Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Division" means the Boiler Safety Enforcement Division of 

the Department of Labor and Industry.  

"Electric boiler" means a boiler in which the source of heat 

is electricity.  

"Examining board" means persons appointed by the chief 

inspector to monitor examinations of inspectors.  

"Existing installation" means and includes any boiler or 

pressure vessel constructed, installed, placed in operation or 

contracted for before July 1, 1974.  

"External inspection" means an inspection of the exterior of 

the boiler or pressure vessel and its appliances when the item 

is in operation.  

"Heating boiler" means a steam or vapor boiler operating at 

pressures not exceeding 15 psig, or a hot water boiler 

operating at pressures not exceeding 160 psig or temperature 

not exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.  

"High-pressure, high-temperature water boiler" means a 

water boiler operating at pressures exceeding 160 psig or 

temperatures exceeding 250°F at or near the boiler outlet.  

"Hobby boiler" means a steam boiler which serves no 

commercial purpose and is used solely for hobby or display 

and operated solely for the enjoyment of the owner.  

"Hot water supply boiler" means a boiler furnishing hot 

water to be used externally to itself at pressures not exceeding 

160 psig or temperatures not exceeding 250°F at or near the 

boiler outlet, with the exception of boilers which are directly 

fired by oil, gas or electricity where none of the following 

limitations are is exceeded:  

a. Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;  

b. Water temperature of 210°F; or  

c. Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.  

"Hot water supply storage tanks" means those heated by 

steam or any other indirect means where any one of the 

following limitations are is exceeded:  

a. Heat input of 200,000 BTU per hour;  

b. Water temperature of 210°F; or  

c. Nominal water containing capacity of 120 gallons.  

"Inspection certificate" means a certificate issued by the 

chief inspector for the operation of a boiler or pressure vessel.  

"Inspector" means the chief inspector, commonwealth 

inspector or special inspector.  

"Internal inspection" means a complete examination of the 

internal and external surfaces of a boiler or pressure vessel 

and its appliances while it is shut down and manhole plates, 

handhole plates or other inspection openings removed.  

"Lap seam crack" means a failure in a lap joint extending 

parallel to the longitudinal joint and located either between or 

adjacent to rivet holes.  

"Miniature boiler" means any boiler which does not exceed 

any one of the following limits:  

a. 16 inches inside diameter of shell;  

b. 20 square feet heating surface;  

c. 5 cubic feet gross volume, exclusive of casing and 

insulation; or  

d. 100 psig maximum allowable working pressure.  

"National Board" means the National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue, 

Columbus, OH 43229, whose membership is composed of the 

chief inspectors of government jurisdictions who are charged 

with the enforcement of the provisions of the ASME Code.  

"National Board Inspection Code" means the manual for 

boiler and pressure vessel inspectors published by the 

National Board. Copies of this code may be obtained from the 

National Board NB-23, the National Board Inspection Code, 

2015 Edition, The National Board of Boiler Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors.  

"National Fire Protection Association No. 85" means the 

NFPA® 85, Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards Code, 

2015 Edition, National Fire Protection Association. 

"New boiler or pressure vessel installation" means all boilers 

or pressure vessels constructed, installed, placed in operation 

or contracted for after July 1, 1974.  

"NFPA" means the National Fire Protection Association.  

"Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel that does not bear the stamp of 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the ASME stamp or the National 

Board stamp when applicable.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

323 

"Owner or user" means any person, partnership, firm or 

corporation who is legally responsible for the safe operation 

of a boiler or pressure vessel within the Commonwealth.  

"Owner-user inspection agency" means any person, 

partnership, firm or corporation registered with the chief 

inspector and approved by the board as being legally 

responsible for inspecting pressure vessels which they operate 

in this Commonwealth.  

"Portable boiler" means an internally fired boiler which is 

primarily intended for temporary location and whose 

construction and usage permit it to be readily moved from 

one location to another.  

"Power boiler" means a boiler in which steam or other vapor 

is generated at a pressure of more than 15 psig.  

"Pressure vessel" means a vessel in which the pressure is 

obtained from an external source, or by the application of heat 

from an indirect source, or from a direct source, other than 

those boilers defined in Part I (16VAC25-50-10 et seq.) of 

this chapter.  

"PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge.  

"R Certificate of Authorization" means an authorization 

issued by the National Board for the repair and alteration of 

boilers and pressure vessels.  

"Reinstalled boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel removed from its original setting and 

reinstalled at the same location or at a new location.  

"Repair" means work necessary to return a boiler or pressure 

vessel to a safe and satisfactory operating condition, provided 

there is no deviation from the original design.  

"Secondhand boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel which has changed both location and 

ownership since the last certificate inspection.  

"Special inspector" means an inspector holding a Virginia 

Certificate of Competency, and who is regularly employed by 

an insurance company authorized (licensed) to write boiler 

and pressure vessel insurance in this Commonwealth, an 

inspector continuously employed by any company operating 

pressure vessels in this Commonwealth used or to be used by 

the company, or a contract fee inspector.  

"Standard boiler or pressure vessel" means a boiler or 

pressure vessel which bears the stamp of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia, the ASME Code stamp and the National Board 

stamp when applicable.  

"Underwriters' Laboratories" means Underwriters' 

Laboratories, Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 

60062, which is a nonprofit, independent organization testing 

for public safety. It maintains and operates laboratories for 

the examination and testing of devices, systems, and materials 

to determine their relation to life, fire, casualty hazards and 

crime prevention.  

"VR Certificate of Authorization" means an authorization 

issued by the National Board for the repair of pressure relief 

valves.  

"Water heater" means a vessel used to supply: (i) potable hot 

water; or (ii) both space heat and potable water in 

combination which is directly heated by the combustion of 

fuels, electricity, or any other source and withdrawn for use 

external to the system at pressures not to exceed 160 psi or 

temperatures of 210°F. This term also includes fired storage 

water heaters defined by the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code as a "water heater."  

Part II  

Administration  

16VAC25-50-20. Minimum construction standards for 

boilers and pressure vessels.  

A. Boilers and pressure vessels to be installed for operation 

in this Commonwealth shall be designed, constructed, 

inspected, stamped and installed in accordance with the 

applicable ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code including 

all addenda and applicable code case(s) cases, other 

international construction standards which are acceptable to 

the chief inspector, and this chapter.  

B. Boilers and pressure vessels shall bear the National Board 

stamping, except cast iron boilers and UM vessels. A copy of 

the Manufacturers' Data Report, signed by the manufacturer's 

representative and the National Board commissioned 

inspector, shall be filed by the owner or user with the chief 

inspector prior to its operation in the Commonwealth.  

C. Pressure piping -- (including welded piping) -- Piping 

external to power boilers extending from the boiler to the first 

stop valve of a single boiler [ , ] and to the second stop valve 

in a battery of two or more boilers is subject to the 

requirements of the current edition of the ASME Power 

Boiler Code, Section I and the design, fabrication, installation 

and testing of the valves and piping shall be in conformity 

with the applicable paragraphs of the current edition of the 

ASME Code, Section I. Applicable ASME data report forms 

for this piping shall be furnished by the owner to the chief 

inspector. Construction rules for materials, design, 

fabrication, installation and testing both for the boiler external 

piping and the power piping beyond the valve or valves 

required by the current edition of the ASME Power Boiler 

Code, Section I, are referenced in ANSI ASME B31.1, Power 

piping, and the code ASME Code.  

D. Boilers and pressure vessels brought into the 

Commonwealth and not meeting code ASME Code 

requirements shall not be operated unless the [ owner/user 

owner or user ] is granted a variance in accordance with 

§ 40.1-51.19 of the Act.  
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The request for variance shall include all documentation 

related to the boiler or pressure vessel that will provide 

evidence of equivalent fabrication standards, i.e., design 

specification, calculations, material specifications, detailed 

construction drawings, fabrication and inspection procedures 

and qualification records, examination, inspection and test 

records, and any available manufacturers' data report.  

In order to facilitate such a variance approval, the 

submission of documentation, in the English language and in 

current U.S. standard units of measure would be helpful. The 

following list of documents, while not all inclusive, would be 

useful in providing evidence of safety equivalent to ASME 

Code construction:  

1. List of materials used for each pressure part;  

2. The design calculations to determine the maximum 

allowable working pressure in accordance with the ASME 

Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, applicable section, 

edition and addenda;  

3. The design code used and the source of stress values for 

the materials used in the design calculations;  

4. The welding procedures used and the qualification 

records for each procedure;  

5. The material identification for each type of welding 

material used;  

6. The performance qualification records for each welder 

or welding operator used in the construction of the boiler 

or pressure vessel;  

7. The extent of any nondestructive examination (NDE) 

performed and the qualification records of NDE operators;  

8. Record of final pressure test signed by a third party 

inspector;  

9. Name and organization of the third party inspection 

agency;  

10. A certification from a licensed professional engineer 

stating that the boiler or pressure vessel has been 

constructed to a standard providing equivalent safety to 

that of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. A 

signature, date and seal of the certifying engineer is are 

required;  

11. Where applicable, a matrix of differences between the 

actual construction of the boiler or pressure vessel for 

which a variance is requested and a similar boiler or 

pressure vessel that is code ASME Code stamped; and  

12. Where applicable, a letter from an insurance company 

stating that it will insure the boiler or pressure vessel.  

After notification of a violation of these rules and 

regulations this chapter, an [ owner/user owner or user ] 

desiring a variance shall submit a request for variance within 

30 days.  

The chief inspector shall respond to any request for a 

variance within 30 days of receipt of all required 

documentation, and shall submit a recommendation to the 

commissioner, who will make the decision on the variance.  

E. Before secondhand equipment is installed, application for 

permission to install shall be filed by the owner or user with 

the chief inspector and approval obtained.  

F. Electric boilers, subject to the requirements of the Act and 

this chapter, shall bear the Underwriters' Laboratories label 

on the completed unit or assembly by the manufacturer. This 

label shall be in addition to the code symbol stamping 

requirements of the ASME Code and the National Board.  

16VAC25-50-30. Frequency of inspections of boilers and 

pressure vessels.  

A. Power boilers and high-pressure, high-temperature water 

boilers shall receive an annual internal inspection for 

certification. Such boilers shall also receive, where possible, 

an annual external inspection, given while under 

representative operating conditions.  

B. Heating boilers shall receive a certificate inspection 

biennially.  

1. Steam boilers shall receive an internal inspection where 

construction permits.  

2. Water boilers shall receive an external inspection with 

an internal inspection at the discretion of the inspector 

where construction permits.  

C. Except as provided for in subsection E of this section, 

pressure vessels subject to internal corrosion shall receive a 

certificate inspection biennially. This inspection shall be an 

internal inspection conducted at the discretion of the inspector 

where construction permits.  

D. Except as provided for in subsection E of this section, 

pressure vessels not subject to internal corrosion shall receive 

a certificate inspection biennially. This inspection shall be an 

external inspection, with an internal inspection conducted at 

the discretion of the inspector where construction permits.  

E. Pressure vessels that are under the supervision of an 

authorized owner-user inspection agency shall be inspected at 

intervals in a manner as agreed upon between the 

[ Commissioner commissioner ] and that agency.  

F. Boiler and pressure vessel components of nuclear power 

plants, that are included in the Act, shall be inspected as 

provided by Section XI of the ASME Boiler and Pressure 

Vessel Code, Section XI.  

G. Based upon documentation of such actual service 

conditions by the owner or user of the operating equipment, 
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the [ Commissioner commissioner ] may permit variations in 

the inspection requirements as provided in the Act.  

16VAC25-50-260. Removal of safety appliances.  

A. No person shall attempt to remove or do any work on any 

safety appliance prescribed by this chapter while a boiler or 

pressure vessel is in operation, except as provided in 

applicable sections of the current edition of the ASME Code. 

Should any of these appliances be removed for repair during 

an outage of a boiler or pressure vessel, they must be 

reinstalled and in proper working order before the object is 

again placed in service.  

B. No person shall load the safety valve or valves in any 

manner to maintain a working pressure in excess of that 

stated on the inspection certificate.  

16VAC25-50-280. Requirements for new installations.  

A. No boiler or pressure vessel shall be installed in this 

Commonwealth unless it has been constructed, inspected and 

stamped as provided in Part II, 16VAC25-50-20 except:  

1. Those exempt by the Act;  

2. Those outlined in Part II, 16VAC25-50-20 D; and  

3. Those existing boilers and pressure vessels which that 

are to be reinstalled.  

B. All new boiler and pressure vessel installations, including 

reinstalled and secondhand boilers and pressure vessels, shall 

be installed in accordance with the requirements of the 

current edition of the ASME Code and this chapter.  

C. A boiler or pressure vessel constructed equivalent to 

ASME Code standards, or having the standard stamping of 

another state that has adopted a standard of construction 

equivalent to the standard of this Commonwealth, may be 

accepted by the chief inspector. The person desiring to install 

the boiler or pressure vessel shall make application for the 

installation prior to construction and shall file the 

Manufacturers' Data Report for the boiler or pressure vessel 

with the chief inspector following construction and prior to 

installation.  

D. The stamping shall not be concealed by insulation or 

paint and shall be exposed at all times unless a suitable record 

is kept of the location of the stamping so that it may be 

readily uncovered at any time this may be desired.  

16VAC25-50-300. Return loop connection.  

The return water connections to all low-pressure, steam 

heating boilers supplying a gravity return heating system shall 

be arranged to form a loop so that the water cannot be forced 

out of the boiler below the safe water level. This connection, 

known as a "return pipe loop connection," is shown in Section 

IV, the current edition of the ASME Heating Boiler Code, 

Section IV.  

16VAC25-50-330. Operation.  

The current edition of the ASME Code, Section VII, 

Recommended Rules for Care of Power Boilers, Section VII, 

and the current edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, 

Recommended Rules for Care of Heating Boilers, Section VI, 

of the ASME Code, shall be used as a guide for proper and 

safe operating practices.  

Part III  

Existing Installations  

16VAC25-50-360. Power and high-pressure, high-

temperature water boilers.  

A. Age limit of existing boilers.  

1. The age limit of any boiler of nonstandard construction, 

installed before July 1, 1974, other than one having a 

riveted, longitudinal lap joint, shall be 30 years; however, 

any boiler passing a thorough internal and external 

inspection, and not displaying any leakage or distress 

under a hydrostatic pressure test of 1-1/2 times the 

allowable working pressure held for at least 30 minutes, 

may be continued in operation without reduction in 

working pressure. The age limit of any boiler having 

riveted, longitudinal, lap joints and operating at a pressure 

in excess of 50 psig shall be 20 years. This type of boiler, 

when removed from an existing setting, shall not be 

reinstalled for a pressure in excess of 15 psig. A reasonable 

time for replacement, not to exceed one year, may be given 

at the discretion of the chief inspector.  

2. The shell or drum of a boiler in which a typical lap seam 

crack is discovered along a longitudinal riveted joint for 

either butt or lap joints shall be permanently removed from 

service.  

3. The age limit of boilers of standard construction, 

installed before July 1, 1974, shall be determined from the 

results of a thorough internal and external inspection by an 

authorized inspector and the application of an appropriate 

pressure test. Hydrostatic test pressure shall be 1-1/2 times 

the allowable working pressure and maintained for 30 

minutes. The boiler may be continued in service at the 

same working pressure provided there is no evidence of 

leakage or distress under these test conditions.  

4. The minimum temperature of the water used for the 

hydrostatic test of low-pressure boilers and pressure 

vessels shall be 60°F. The minimum temperature of the 

water used for the hydrostatic test of power boilers shall be 

70°F or ambient whichever is greater.  

B. The maximum allowable working pressure for standard 

boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they 

were constructed and stamped.  
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C. 1. The maximum allowable working pressure on the shell 

of a nonstandard boiler shall be determined by the strength of 

the weakest section of the structure, computed from the 

thickness of the plate, the tensile strength of the plate, the 

efficiency of the longitudinal joint or tube ligaments, the 

inside diameter of the weakest course and the factor of safety 

allowed by this chapter.  

  TStE 
= 

Maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi   RFS 

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plates, psi  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest course, 

inches  

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint:  

For tube ligaments, E shall be determined by the rules in 

the ASME Code, Section I of the ASME Code for Power 

Boilers. For riveted joints, E shall be determined by the 

rules in the applicable edition of the ASME Code. For 

seamless construction, E shall be considered 100%.  

R = inside radius of the weakest course of the shell, in 

inches  

FS = factor of safety permitted.  

2. Tensile strength. When the tensile strength of steel or 

wrought iron shell plates is not known, it shall be taken as 

55,000 psi.  

3. Crushing strength of mild steel. The resistance to 

crushing of mild steel shall be taken at 95,000 psi of cross-

sectional area.  

4. Strength of rivets in shear. When computing the ultimate 

strength of rivets in shear, the following values, in pounds 

per square inch, of the cross-sectional area of the rivet 

shank shall be used.  

  PSI 

Iron rivets in single shear 38,000 

Iron rivets in double shear 76,000 

Steel rivets in single shear 44,000 

Steel rivets in double shear 88,000 

When the diameter of the rivet holes in the longitudinal 

joints of a boiler is not known, the diameter and cross-

sectional area of rivets, after driving, may be selected from 

Table 1, or as ascertained by cutting out one rivet in the 

body of the joint.  

TABLE 1  

SIZES OF RIVETS BASED ON PLATE 

THICKNESS  

(in inches)  

Plate of 

Thickness 

Rivet Diameter after Driving  

1/4 11/16  

9/32 11/16  

5/16 3/4  

11/32 3/4  

3/8 13/16  

13/32 13/16  

7/16 15/16  

15/32 15/16  

1/2 15/16  

9/16 1-1/16  

5/8 1-1/16  

5. Factors of safety. The following factors of safety shall 

be increased by the inspector if the condition and safety of 

the boiler demand it:  

a. The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing 

installations shall be 4.5 for vessels built prior to January 

1, 1999. For vessels built on or after January 1, 1999, the 

factor of safety may be 4.0. Horizontal-return-tubular 

boilers having continuous longitudinal lap seams more 

than 12 feet in length, shall have a factor of safety of 

eight. When this type of boiler is removed from its 

existing setting, it shall not be reinstalled for pressures in 

excess of 15 psig.  

b. Reinstalled or secondhand boilers shall have a 

minimum factor of safety of six when the longitudinal 

seams are of lap-riveted construction, and a minimum 

factor of safety of five when the longitudinal seams are 

of butt-strap and double-strap construction.  

D. Cast-iron headers and mud drums. The maximum 

allowable working pressure on a water tube boiler, the tubes 

of which are secured to cast iron or malleable-iron headers, or 

which have cast iron mud drums, shall not exceed 160 psig.  

E. Pressure on cast iron boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure for any cast iron boiler, except hot water 

boilers, shall be 15 psig.  

F. Safety valves.  

1. The use of weighted-lever safety valves, or safety valves 

having either the seat or disk of cast iron, shall be 

prohibited. Valves of this type shall be replaced by direct, 
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spring-loaded, pop-type valves that conform to the 

requirements of the current edition of the ASME Code, 

Section I.  

2. Each boiler shall have at least one safety valve, and, if it 

has more than 500 square feet of water-heating surface or 

an electric power input of more than 500 kilowatts, it shall 

have two or more safety valves.  

3. The valve or valves shall be connected to the boiler, 

independent of any other steam connection, and attached as 

close as possible to the boiler without unnecessary 

intervening pipe or fittings. Where alteration is required to 

conform to this requirement, the chief inspector shall allow 

the owner or user reasonable time in which to complete the 

work.  

4. No valves of any description shall be placed between the 

safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if used, 

between the safety valve and the atmosphere, except as 

provided by applicable sections of the current edition of 

the ASME Code. When an escape pipe is used, it shall be 

at least full size of the safety-valve discharge and fitted 

with an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper 

part of the safety valve or escape pipe. When an elbow is 

placed on a safety valve escape pipe, it shall be located 

close to the safety-valve outlet or the escape pipe shall be 

anchored and supported securely. All safety valve 

discharges shall be located or piped as not to endanger 

persons working in the area.  

5. The safety-valve capacity of each boiler shall be so that 

the safety valve or valves will discharge all the steam that 

can be generated by the boiler without allowing the 

pressure to rise more than 6.0% above the highest pressure 

to which any valve is set, and in no case to more than 6.0% 

above the maximum allowable working pressure.  

6. One or more safety valves on every boiler shall be set at 

or below the maximum allowable working pressure. The 

remaining valves may be set within a range of 3.0% above 

the maximum allowable working pressure, but the range of 

setting of all the safety valves on a boiler shall not exceed 

10% of the highest pressure to which any valve is set.  

7. When two or more boilers, operating at different 

pressures and safety valve settings, are interconnected, the 

lower pressure boilers or interconnected piping shall be 

equipped with safety valves of sufficient capacity to 

prevent overpressure, considering the maximum generating 

capacity of all boilers.  

8. In those cases where the boiler is supplied with 

feedwater directly from water mains without the use of 

feeding apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety 

valve shall be set at a pressure higher than 94% of the 

lowest pressure obtained in the supply main feeding the 

boiler.  

9. The relieving capacity of the safety valves on any boiler 

shall be checked by one of the three following methods 

and, if found to be insufficient, additional valves shall be 

provided:  

a. By making an accumulation test, which consists of 

shutting off all other steam-discharge outlets from the 

boiler and forcing the fires to the maximum. The safety-

valve capacity shall be sufficient to prevent a rise of 

pressure in excess of 6.0% of the maximum allowable 

working pressure. This method shall not be used on a 

boiler with a superheater or reheater.  

b. By measuring the maximum amount of fuel that can be 

burned and computing the corresponding evaporative 

capacity (steam-generating capacity) upon the basis of 

the heating value of this fuel. These computations shall 

be made as outlined in the appendix of the current edition 

of the ASME Code, Section I. 

c. By measuring the maximum amount of feedwater that 

can be evaporated.  

When either of the methods (b or c) outlined in this 

subdivision is employed, the sum of the safety-valve 

capacities shall be equal to or greater than the maximum 

evaporative capacity (maximum steam-generating 

capacity) of the boiler.  

10. The relieving capacity of safety valves for forced-flow 

steam generators shall be in accordance with the 

requirements of Section I the current edition of the ASME 

Boiler Code, Section I.  

11. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 

shall be replaced with a new valve or repaired by the 

original manufacturer, its authorized representative or the 

holder of a "VR" Stamp.  

G. Boiler feeding.  

1. Each boiler shall have a feed supply which that will 

permit it to be fed at any time while under pressure.  

2. A boiler having more than 500 square feet of water-

heating surface shall have at least two means of feeding, 

one of which shall be an approved feed pump or injector. A 

source of feed directly from water mains at a pressure 

6.0% greater than the set pressure of the safety valve with 

the highest setting may be considered one of the means. As 

provided in the current edition of the ASME Power Boiler 

Code, Section I, boilers fired by gaseous, liquid or solid 

fuel in suspension may be equipped with a single means of 

feeding water provided means are furnished for the 

immediate shutoff of heat input if the water feed is 

interrupted.  

3. The feedwater shall be introduced into the boiler in a 

manner so that it will not be discharged close to riveted 

joints of shell or furnace sheets, or directly against surfaces 
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exposed to products of combustion, or to direct radiation 

from the fire.  

4. The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a 

check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between 

the check valve and the boiler. When two or more boilers 

are fed from a common source, there shall also be a valve 

on the branch to each boiler between the check valve and 

source of supply. Whenever a globe valve is used on feed 

piping, the inlet shall be under the disk of the valve.  

5. In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler by 

gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in each 

return line, the stop valve to be placed between the boiler 

and the check valve, and both shall be located as close to 

the boiler as is practicable. No stop valves shall be placed 

in the supply and return pipe connections of a single boiler 

installation.  

6. Where deaerating heaters are not employed, the 

temperature of the feedwater shall not be less than 120°F 

to avoid the possibility of setting up localized stress. 

Where deaerating heaters are employed, the minimum 

feedwater temperature shall not be less than 215°F so that 

dissolved gases may be thoroughly released.  

H. Water level indicators.  

1. Each boiler shall have at least one water gauge glass 

installed and located so that the lowest visible part of the 

water glass shall be at least two inches above the lowest 

permissible water level, at which level there will be no 

danger of overheating any part of the boiler when in 

operation at that level; except as provided by the current 

edition of the ASME Code.  

2. No outlet connections (except for damper regulator, 

feedwater regulator, low-water fuel cutout, drain, steam 

gauges, or such apparatus that does not permit the escape 

of an appreciable amount of steam or water from it) shall 

be placed on the piping that connects the water column to 

the boiler. The water column shall be provided with a 

valved drain of at least 3/4 inch pipe size; the drain is to be 

piped to a safe location.  

3. When the direct reading of gauge glass water level is not 

readily visible to the operator in his working area 

dependable indirect indications shall be provided utilizing 

remote level indicators or equipment to transmit the gauge 

glass image. When remote level indication is provided for 

the operator instead of the gauge glass, the minimum level 

reference shall be clearly marked.  

I. Steam gauges.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge, with dial 

range not less than 1-1/2 times the maximum allowable 

working pressure, connected to the steam space or to the 

steam connection to the water column. The steam gauge 

shall be connected to a siphon or equivalent device of 

sufficient capacity to keep the gauge tube filled with water 

and arranged so that the gauge cannot be shut off from the 

boiler except by a cock with a tee or lever handle placed in 

the pipe near the gauge. The handle of the cock shall be 

parallel to the pipe in which it is located when the cock is 

open.  

2. When a steam gauge connection longer than eight feet 

becomes necessary, a shutoff valve may be used near the 

boiler provided the valve is of the outside-screw-and-yoke 

type and is locked open. The line shall be of ample size 

with provision for free blowing.  

3. Each boiler shall be provided with a test gauge 

connection and suitable valving for the exclusive purpose 

of attaching a test gauge so that the accuracy of the boiler 

steam gauge may be ascertained while the boiler is in 

operation.  

J. Stop valves.  

1. Except for a single-boiler, prime-mover installation, 

each steam outlet from a boiler (except safety valve and 

water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop valve 

located as close as practicable to the boiler.  

2. In a single-boiler, prime-mover installation the steam 

stop valve may be omitted provided the prime-mover 

throttle valve is equipped with an indicator to show 

whether the valve is open or closed and is designed to 

withstand the required hydrostatic pressure test of the 

boiler.  

3. When a stop valve is so located that water can 

accumulate, ample drains shall be provided. The drainage 

shall be piped to a safe location and shall not be discharged 

on the top of the boiler or its setting.  

4. When boilers provided with manholes are connected to a 

common steam main, the steam connection from each 

boiler shall be fitted with two stop valves having an ample 

free-blow drain between them. The discharge of the drain 

shall be visible to the operator and shall be piped clear of 

the boiler setting. The stop valves shall consist preferably 

of one automatic nonreturn valve (set next to the boiler) 

and a second valve of the outside-screw-and-yoke type.  

K. Blowoff connection.  

1. The construction of the setting around each blowoff pipe 

shall permit free expansion and contraction. Careful 

attention shall be given to the problem of sealing these 

setting openings without restricting the movement of the 

blowoff piping.  

2. All blowoff piping, when exposed to furnace heat, shall 

be protected by firebrick or other heat-resisting material 

constructed so that the piping may be inspected.  

3. Each boiler shall have a blowoff pipe, fitted with a valve 

or cock, in direct connection with the lowest water space. 
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Cocks shall be of the gland or guard type and suitable for 

the pressure allowed. The use of globe valves shall not be 

permitted. Where the maximum allowable working 

pressure exceeds 100 psig, each blowoff pipe shall be 

provided with two valves or a valve and cock; however 

only one valve need be provided for forced-flow steam 

generators with no fixed steam and waterline;, high-

temperature water boilers, and those used for traction or 

portable purposes with less than 100 gallons normal water 

content.  

4. Blowoff piping shall comply with the requirements of 

the current edition of the ASME Code, Section I, and 

ANSI ASME B31.1, from the boiler to the valve or valves, 

and shall be run full size without use of reducers or 

bushings. All piping shall be steel. Galvanized steel pipe 

and fittings shall not be used for blowoff piping.  

5. All fittings between the boiler and blowoff valve shall 

be of steel. In case of renewal of blowoff pipe or fittings, 

they shall be installed in accordance with this chapter for 

new installations.  

L. Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, such repairs or 

replacements shall comply with the requirements for new 

installations.  

M. Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of 

commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one 

steam pressure control device that will shut off the fuel 

supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected 

boilers when the steam pressure reaches a preset maximum 

operating pressure. In addition, each individual automatically 

fired steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit 

control that will prevent generation of steam pressure in 

excess of the maximum allowable working pressure.  

N. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 

installations pursuant to 16VAC25-50-280 or may be referred 

to the chief inspector for instructions concerning the 

requirements.  

16VAC25-50-370. Heating boilers.  

A. Standard boilers. The maximum allowable working 

pressure of standard boilers shall in no case exceed the 

pressure indicated by the manufacturer's identification 

stamped or cast on the boiler or on a plate secured to it.  

B. Nonstandard riveted boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure on the shell of a nonstandard riveted heating 

boiler shall be determined in accordance with 16VAC25-50-

360 C covering existing installations, power boilers, except 

that in no case shall the maximum allowable working 

pressure of a steam heating boiler exceed 15 psig, or a hot 

water boiler exceed 160 psig or 250°F temperature.  

C. Nonstandard welded boilers. The maximum allowable 

working pressure of a nonstandard steel or wrought iron 

heating boiler of welded construction shall not exceed 15 psig 

for steam. For other than steam service, the maximum 

allowable working pressure shall be calculated in accordance 

with Section IV of the ASME Code, Section IV.  

D. Nonstandard cast iron boilers.  

1. The maximum allowable working pressure of a 

nonstandard boiler composed principally of cast iron shall 

not exceed 15 psig for steam service or 30 psig for hot 

water service.  

2. The maximum allowable working pressure of a 

nonstandard boiler having cast iron shell or heads and steel 

or wrought iron tubes shall not exceed 15 psig for steam 

service or 30 psig for hot water service.  

E. Safety valves.  

1. Each steam boiler must have one or more officially rated 

(ASME Code stamped and National Board rated) safety 

valves of the spring pop type adjusted to discharge at a 

pressure not to exceed 15 psig. Seals shall be attached in a 

manner to prevent the valve from being taken apart without 

breaking the seal. The safety valves shall be arranged so 

that they cannot be reset to relieve at a higher pressure than 

the maximum allowable working pressure of the boiler. A 

body drain connection below seat level shall be provided 

by the manufacturer, and this drain shall not be plugged 

during or after field installation. For valves exceeding two 

inch pipe size, the drain hole or holes shall be tapped not 

less than 3/8 inch pipe size. For valves less than two 

inches, the drain hole shall not be less than ¼ 1/4 inch in 

diameter.  

2. No safety valve for a steam boiler shall be smaller than 

3/4 inch unless the boiler and radiating surfaces consist of 

a self-contained unit. No safety valve shall be larger than 

4-1/2 inches. The inlet opening shall have an inside 

diameter equal to, or greater than, the seat diameter.  

3. The minimum relieving capacity of the valve or valves 

shall be governed by the capacity marking on the boiler.  

4. The minimum valve capacity in pounds per hour shall be 

the greater of that determined by dividing the maximum 

BTU output at the boiler nozzle obtained by the firing of 

any fuel for which the unit is installed by 1,000; or shall be 

determined on the basis of the pounds of steam generated 

per hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given 

in Table 2. When operating conditions require it a greater 

relieving capacity shall be provided. In every case, the 

requirements of subdivision 5 of this subsection shall be 

met.  
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TABLE 2  

Minimum Pounds of Steam Per Hour Per Square 

Foot of Heating Surface  

  Fire Tube 

Boilers 

Water Tube 

Boilers 

Boiler Heating Surface: 

Hand fired 5 6 

Stoker fired 7 8 

Oil, gas, or 

pulverized fuel 

fired 

8 10 

Waterwall Heating Surface: 

Hand fired 8 8 

Stoker fired 10 12 

Oil, gas, or 

pulverized fuel 

fired 

14 16 

NOTES: When a boiler is fired only by a gas giving a 

heat value of not in excess of 200 BTU per cubic foot, 

the minimum safety valve or safety relief valve 

relieving capacity may be based on the value given for 

handfired boilers above in Table 2.  

The minimum safety valve or safety relief valve 

relieving capacity for electric boilers shall be 3-1/2 

pounds per hour per kilowatt input.  

For heating surface determination, see the current 

edition of the ASME Code, Section IV.  

5. The safety valve capacity for each steam boiler shall be 

such that with the fuel burning equipment operating at 

maximum capacity, the pressure cannot rise more than five 

psig above the maximum allowable working pressure.  

6. When operating conditions are changed, or additional 

boiler surface is installed, the valve capacity shall be 

increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and be 

in accordance with subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection. 

When additional valves are required, they may be installed 

on the outlet piping provided there is no intervening valve.  

7. If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety 

valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see the current 

edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating 

Boilers) VI).  

8. No valve of any description shall be placed between the 

safety valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe 

between the safety valve and the atmosphere. The 

discharge pipe shall be at least full size and be fitted with 

an open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of 

the safety valve or in the discharge pipe. When an elbow is 

placed on the safety valve discharge pipe, it shall be 

located close to the safety valve outlet, or the discharge 

pipe shall be securely anchored and supported. All safety 

valve discharges shall be so located or piped as not to 

endanger persons working in the area.  

F. Safety relief valve requirements for hot water boilers.  

1. Each hot water boiler shall have one or more officially 

rated (ASME Code stamped and National Board rated) 

safety relief valves set to relieve at or below the maximum 

allowable working pressure of the boiler. Safety relief 

valves officially rated as to capacity shall have pop action 

when tested by steam. When more than one safety relief 

valve is used on hot water boilers, the additional valve or 

valves shall be officially rated and shall be set within a 

range not to exceed six psig above the maximum allowable 

working pressure of the boiler up to and including 60 psig 

and 5.0% for those having a maximum allowable working 

pressure exceeding 60 psig. Safety relief valves shall be 

spring loaded. Safety relief valves shall be so arranged that 

they cannot be reset at a higher pressure than the maximum 

permitted by this paragraph.  

2. No materials liable to fail due to deterioration or 

vulcanization when subject to saturated steam temperature 

corresponding to capacity test pressure shall be used for 

any part.  

3. No safety relief valve shall be smaller than 3/4 inch nor 

larger than 4-1/2 inches standard pipe size, except that 

boilers having a heat input not greater than 15,000 BTU 

per hour may be equipped with a safety relief valve of 1/2 

inch standard pipe size. The inlet opening shall have an 

inside diameter approximately equal to, or greater than, the 

seat diameter. In no case shall the minimum opening 

through any part of the valve be less than 1/2 inch diameter 

or its equivalent area.  

4. The required steam relieving capacity, in pounds per 

hour, of the pressure relieving device or devices on a boiler 

shall be the greater of that determined by dividing the 

maximum output in BTU at the boiler outlet obtained by 

the firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by 

1,000, or on the basis of pounds of steam generated per 

hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given in 

Table 2. When necessary a greater relieving capacity of 

valves shall be provided. In every case, the requirements of 

subsection subdivision F 6 of this section shall be met.  

5. When operating conditions are changed, or additional 

boiler heating surface is installed, the valve capacity shall 

be increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and 

shall be in accordance with subdivision F 6 of this section. 

The additional valves required, on account of changed 

conditions, may be installed on the outlet piping provided 

there is no intervening valve.  
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6. Safety relief valve capacity for each boiler shall be so 

that, with the fuel burning equipment installed and 

operated at maximum capacity the pressure cannot rise 

more than 6 six psig above the maximum allowable 

working pressure for pressure up to and including 60 psig 

and 5.0% of maximum allowable working pressures over 

60 psig.  

7. If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety relief 

valve, an accumulation test shall be run (see the current 

edition of the ASME Code, Section VI, Care of Heating 

Boilers) VI).  

8. No valve of any description shall be placed between the 

safety relief valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe 

between the safety relief valve and the atmosphere. The 

discharge pipe shall be at least full size and fitted with an 

open drain to prevent water lodging in the upper part of the 

safety relief valve or in the discharge pipe. When an elbow 

is placed on the safety relief valve discharge pipe, it shall 

be located close to the safety relief valve outlet or the 

discharge pipe shall be securely anchored and supported. 

All safety relief valve discharges shall be so located or 

piped as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

G. Valve replacement and repair. Safety valves and safety 

relief valves requiring repair shall be replaced with a new 

valve or repaired by the original manufacturer, its authorized 

representative, or the holder of a "VR" Stamp.  

H. Pressure relieving devices. Boilers and fired storage 

water heaters except those exempted by the Act shall be 

equipped with pressure relieving devices in accordance with 

the requirements of Section IV the current edition of the of 

the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section IV.  

I. Instruments, fittings and control requirements. 

Instruments, fittings and controls for each boiler installation 

shall comply with the requirements of the current edition of 

the ASME Heating Boiler Code, Section IV.  

J. Low water fuel cutoff.  

1. Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with 

heat input greater than 400,000 BTU's BTUs per hour shall 

have an automatic low water fuel cutoff which that has 

been designed for hot water service, located so as to stop 

the fuel supply automatically when the surface of the water 

falls to the level established in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection (also see ASME Heating Boiler Code, Section 

IV).  

2. As there is no normal waterline to be maintained in a hot 

water heating boiler, any location of the low water fuel 

cutoff above the lowest safe permissible water level 

established by the boiler manufacturer is satisfactory.  

3. A coil type boiler or a water tube boiler with heat input 

greater than 400,000 BTU's BTUs per hour requiring 

forced circulation, to prevent overheating of the coils or 

tubes, shall have a flow sensing device installed in the 

outlet piping, instead of the low water fuel cutoff required 

in subdivision 1 of this subsection to stop the fuel supply 

automatically when the circulating flow is interrupted.  

K. Steam gauges.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have a steam gauge connected to 

its steam space, its water column, or its steam connection, 

by means of a siphon or equivalent device exterior to the 

boiler. The siphon shall be of sufficient capacity to keep 

the gauge tube filled with water and arranged so that the 

gauge cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a cock.  

2. The range of the scale on the dial of a steam boiler 

pressure gauge shall be not less than 30 psig nor more than 

60 psig. The gauge shall be provided with effective stops 

for the indicating pointer at the zero point and at the 

maximum pressure point. The travel of the pointer from 0 

zero to full scale 30 psig shall be at least three inches.  

L. Pressure or altitude gauges.  

1. Each hot water boiler shall have a pressure or altitude 

gauge connected to it or to its flow connection in a manner 

so that it cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a 

cock with tee or lever handle placed on the pipe near the 

gauge. The handle of the cock shall be parallel to the pipe 

in which it is located when the cock is open.  

2. The range of the scale on the dial of the pressure or 

altitude gauge shall be not less than 1-1/2 times nor more 

than three times the maximum allowable working pressure. 

The gauge shall be provided with effective stops for the 

indicating pointer at the 0 zero point and at the maximum 

pressure point.  

3. Piping or tubing for pressure or altitude gauge 

connections shall be of nonferrous metal when smaller than 

one inch pipe size.  

M. Thermometers. Each hot water boiler shall have a 

thermometer located and connected so that it shall be easily 

readable when observing the water pressure or altitude gauge. 

The thermometer shall be located so that it will at all times 

indicate the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit of the water in 

the boiler at or near the outlet.  

N. Water gauge glasses.  

1. Each steam boiler shall have one or more water gauge 

glasses attached to the water column or boiler by means of 

valved fittings. The lower fitting shall be provided with a 

drain valve of the straightaway type with opening not less 

than 1/4 inch diameter to facilitate cleaning. Gauge glass 

replacement shall be possible while the boiler is under 

pressure.  

2. Transparent material, other than glass, may be used for 

the water gauge provided that the material has proved 
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suitable for the pressure, temperature and corrosive 

conditions encountered in service.  

O. Stop valves and check valves.  

1. If a boiler can be closed off from the heating system by 

closing a steam stop valve, there shall be a check valve in 

the condensate return line between the boiler and the 

system.  

2. If any part of a heating system can be closed off from 

the remainder of the system by closing a steam stop valve, 

there shall be a check valve in the condensate return pipe 

from that part of the system.  

P. Feedwater connections.  

1. Feedwater, make-up water, or water treatment shall be 

introduced into a boiler through the return piping system or 

through an independent feedwater connection which that 

does not discharge against parts of the boiler exposed to 

direct radiant heat from the fire. Feedwater, make-up 

water, or water treatment shall not be introduced through 

openings or connections provided for inspection or 

cleaning, safety valve, safety relief valve, surface blowoff, 

water column, water gauge glass, pressure gauge or 

temperature gauge.  

2. Feedwater piping shall be provided with a check valve 

near the boiler and a stop valve or cock between the check 

valve and the boiler or return pipe system.  

Q. Return pump. Each boiler equipped with a condensate 

return pump, where practicable, shall be provided with a 

water level control arranged to maintain the water level in the 

boiler automatically within the range of the gauge glass.  

R. Repairs and renewals of boiler fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or 

replacements shall comply with the requirements for new 

installations.  

S. Conditions not covered by this chapter. Any case not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as a new 

boiler or pressure vessel installation pursuant to 16VAC25-

50-280 or may be referred to the chief inspector for 

instructions concerning the requirements.  

16VAC25-50-380. Pressure vessels.  

A. Maximum allowable working pressure for standard 

pressure vessels. The maximum allowable working pressure 

for standard pressure vessels shall be determined in 

accordance with the applicable provisions of the edition of the 

ASME Code or API-ASME code under which they were 

constructed and stamped. The maximum allowable working 

pressure shall not be increased to a greater pressure than 

shown on the manufacturers nameplate stamping and data 

report.  

B. Maximum allowable working pressure for nonstandard 

pressure vessels.  

1. For internal pressure. The maximum allowable working 

pressure on the shell of a nonstandard pressure vessel shall 

be determined by the strength of the weakest course 

computed from the thickness of the plate, the tensile 

strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal 

joint, the inside diameter of the weakest course and the 

factor set by this chapter.  

TStE 
= 

maximum allowable working 

pressure, psi  RFS 

where:  

TS = ultimate tensile strength of shell plate, psi. When 

the tensile strength of the steel plate is not known, it shall 

be taken as 55,000 psi for temperatures not exceeding 

700°F.  

t = minimum thickness of shell plate of weakest course, 

inches 

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint depending upon 

construction. Use the following values:  

For riveted joints -- calculated riveted efficiency;  

For fusion-welded joints:  

Single lap weld 40% 

Double lap weld 50% 

Single butt weld 60% 

Double butt weld 70% 

Forge weld 70% 

Brazed steel 80% 

R = inside radius of weakest course of shell, inches, 

provided the thickness does not exceed 10% of the 

radius. If the thickness is over 10% of the radius, the 

outer radius shall be used.  

FS = factor of safety allowed by this chapter.  

2. For external pressure. The maximum allowable working 

pressure for cylindrical nonstandard pressure vessels 

subjected to external or collapsing pressure shall be 

determined by the rules in the ASME Code, Section VIII, 

Division 1, of the ASME Code.  

3. Factors of safety. The minimum factor of safety shall in 

no case be less than 3.5 for vessels built on or after January 

1, 1999.  For vessels built prior to January 1, 1999, the 

minimum factor of safety shall in no case be less than 4.0. 

The factor of safety may be increased when deemed 

necessary by the inspector to insure the operation of the 

vessel within safe limits. The condition of the vessel and 
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the particular service of which it is subject will be the 

determining factors.  

4. The maximum allowable working pressure permitted for 

formed heads under pressure shall be determined by using 

the appropriate formulas from the ASME Code, Section 

VIII, Division 1, ASME Code and the tensile strength and 

factors of safety given in subdivisions 1 and 3 of this 

subsection.  

C. Inspection of inaccessible parts. Where in the opinion of 

the inspector, as the result of conditions disclosed at the time 

of inspection, it is advisable to remove the interior or exterior 

lining, covering, or brickwork to expose certain parts of the 

vessel not normally visible, the owner or user shall remove 

the materials to permit proper inspection and to establish 

construction details. Metal thickness shall be determined 

utilizing appropriate equipment including drilling if 

necessary.  

D. Pressure relief devices. Pressure relief devices for each 

pressure vessel installation, not exempt by the Act, shall 

comply with the requirements of the ASME Pressure Vessel 

Code, Section VIII.  

E. Safety appliances.  

1. Each pressure vessel shall be protected by safety and 

relief valves and indicating and controlling devices which 

will insure its safe operation. These valves and devices 

shall be constructed, located and installed so that they 

cannot readily be rendered inoperative. The relieving 

capacity of the safety valves shall prevent a rise of pressure 

in the vessel of more than 10% above the maximum 

allowable working pressure, taking into account the effect 

of static head. Safety valve discharges shall be located or 

piped so as not to endanger persons working in the area.  

2. Safety valves and safety relief valves requiring repair 

shall be replaced with a new valve or repairs shall be 

performed by the original manufacturer, its authorized 

representative, or the holder of a "VR" stamp.  

F. Repairs and renewals of fittings and appliances. 

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it 

becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs or 

replacements shall comply with requirements for new 

installations.  

G. Conditions not covered by this chapter. All cases not 

specifically covered by this chapter shall be treated as new 

installations or may be referred to the chief inspector for 

instructions concerning the requirements.  

16VAC25-50-430. Hydrostatic pressure tests.  

A. A hydrostatic pressure test, when applied to boilers or 

pressure vessels, shall not exceed 1.25 times the maximum 

allowable working pressure, except as provided by the current 

edition of the ASME Code. The pressure shall be under 

proper control so that in no case shall the required test 

pressure be exceeded by more than 2.0%.  

B. See 16VAC25-50-360 A 4 for temperature limitations on 

particular power boiler installations.  

C. When a hydrostatic test is to be applied to existing 

installations, the pressure shall be as follows:  

1. For all cases involving the question of tightness, the 

pressure shall be equal to the working pressure.  

2. For all cases involving the question of safety, the test 

pressure shall not exceed 1.25 times the maximum 

allowable working pressure for temperature. During such 

test the safety valve or valves shall be removed or each 

valve disk shall be held to its seat by means of a testing 

clamp and not by screwing down the compression screw 

upon the spring.  

16VAC25-50-460. Blowoff equipment.  

A. The blowdown from a boiler or boilers that enters a 

sewer system or blowdown which is considered a hazard to 

life or property shall pass through blowoff equipment that 

will reduce pressure and temperature as required below.  

B. The temperature of the water leaving the blowoff 

equipment shall not exceed 140°F.  

C. The pressure of the blowdown leaving any type of 

blowoff equipment shall not exceed 5.0 five psig.  

D. The blowoff piping and fittings between the boiler and 

the blowoff tank shall comply with Section I of the current 

edition of the ASME code Code, Section I and ANSI ASME 

B31.1.  

E. All materials used in the fabrication of boiler blowoff 

equipment shall comply with Section II of the current edition 

of the ASME code Code, Section II.  

F. All blowoff equipment shall be fitted with openings to 

facilitate cleaning and inspection.  

G. Blowoff equipment which conforms to the provisions set 

forth in the National Board publication, "Boiler Blowoff 

Equipment", shall meet the requirements of this section.  

16VAC25-50-540. Jacketed kettles and miniatures boilers.  

Jacketed kettles and miniature boilers are acceptable for 

installation if constructed and stamped in accordance with 

Section I, IV, or VIII, Division 1, of the current edition of the 

ASME code Code and registered with the National Board.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (16VAC25-50)  

R 1 Form, Report of Welded __ Repair or __ Alteration, 

CVR1 Rev 1.0.  

Form R-1, Report of Repair, National Board Inspection 

Code, NB-66 (rev. 2012). 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, National Board Inspection 

Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated By Welding, National 

Board Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99).  

Form R-4, Report Supplementary Sheet, National Board 

Inspection Code (eff. 1/1/99). 

Form R-1, Report of Repair, NB-66, Rev. 13 (rev. 

6/25/2015) 

Form R-2, Report of Alteration, NB-229, Rev. 7 

(rev.11/12/2015) 

Form R-3, Report of Parts Fabricated by Welding, NB-230, 

Rev. 3 (rev. 9/24/2015) 

Form R-4, Report Supplement Sheet, NB-231, Rev. 2, (rev. 

9/23/2015) 

BPV-5, Boiler or Pressure Vessel Data Report- First Internal 

Inspection (eff. 1/1/99). 

BPV-6, Boiler - Fired Pressure Vessel - Report of Inspection 

(eff. 1/1/99). 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(16VAC25-50)  

2007 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  

National Board Bylaws, National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, August 8, 1996. 

ANSI/NB 23, 2007 National Board Inspection Code, 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors.  

ASME B31.1, ASME Code for Power Piping, American 

National Standards Institute, 2007.  

NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2001 

Edition, National Fire Protection Association.  

Part CG (General), Part CW (Steam and Waterside Control) 

and Part CF (Combustion Side Control) Flame Safeguard of 

ANSI/ASME CSD-1, Controls and Safety Devices for 

Automatically Fired Boilers, 2009, American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers.  

2015 Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, ASME Code, The 

American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Two Park 

Avenue, New York, NY 10016-5990; www.asme.org 

ANSI/NB 23, 2015 National Board Inspection Code, The 

National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, 

1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, OH 43229-1183; 

www.nationalboard.org  

ASME B31.1–2014, ASME Code for Power Piping, B-31, 

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 

International, Two Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016-5990; 

www.asme.org 

NFPA 85 Boiler and Combustion Systems Hazards, 2015 

Edition, National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch 

Park, Quincy, MA 02169-7471; www.nfpa.org 

ANSI/ASME CSD–1–2012, Controls and Safety Devices 

for Automatically Fired Boilers: Part CG (General), Part CW 

(Steam and Waterside Control), and Part CF (Combustion 

Side Control) Flame Safeguard, The American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, NY 

10016-5990; www.asme.org  

API 510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code: In-Service 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Tenth Edition, May 

2014, American Petroleum Institute, 1220 L Street, NW, 

Washington, D.C. 20005-4070; www.api.org  

"Boiler Blowoff Equipment," National Board of Boiler and 

Pressure Vessel Inspectors, Rules and Recommendations for 

the Design and Construction of Boiler Blowoff Systems, 

1991, The National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel 

Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue , Columbus, OH 43229-

1183; www.nationalboard.org  

API510, Pressure Vessel Inspection Code, Maintenance 

Inspection, Rating, Repair and Alteration, Ninth Edition, June 

2006, American Petroleum Institute. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4679; Filed August 22, 2018, 10:03 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-80, 

18VAC110-20-105; adding 18VAC110-20-22).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 25, 2018 - 9:10 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Board Room 2, 

Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 16, 2018. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b187c004679~1&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b187c004679~1&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7645004679~2&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7645004679~2&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408ff004679~3&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=408ff004679~3&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=681f6004679~4&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=681f6004679~4&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c707a004679~6&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5fe5004679~7&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0377004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=17640004679~11&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9725004679~9&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=628f3004679~10&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84adf004679~5&typ=40&actno=004679&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Pharmacy 

the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system that are reasonable and necessary to 

administer effectively the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 

streamline the licensure process and expedite National 

Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) reporting of 

demographic information, examination scores, licensure 

status in all states, disciplinary history, and continuing 

education. By having real-time information, the board will 

have greater assurance that there are no grounds for denial of 

an initial or reinstatement application for a pharmacist, a 

pharmacy intern, or a pharmacy technician. The e-profile 

information available to the board will enhance its ability to 

protect the public health and safety. 

Substance: Sections relating to initial application for licensure 

or registration as a pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or pharmacy 

technician or for renewal of any of such license or registration 

are amended to include a requirement for each such person to 

report an e-profile identification number obtained from 

NABP. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. The advantage to the agency is the ability to expedite 

applications by accessing data in a centralized location with 

NABP. There are no disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to require individuals 

applying for initial pharmacist licensure, pharmacist license 

renewal, pharmacist license reinstatement, pharmacy intern 

registration, initial pharmacy technician registration, 

pharmacy technician registration renewal, or pharmacy 

technician registration reinstatement, to provide their e-profile 

identification number (e-profile ID) from the National 

Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) in their 

application. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Background. NABP is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit association that 

protects public health by assisting its member boards of 

pharmacy and offers programs that promote safe pharmacy 

practices for the benefit of consumers. The e-profile ID is 

provided through the CPE Monitor Service, a collaborative 

effort of NABP, the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education (ACPE), and ACPE-accredited providers. The CPE 

Monitor Service allows electronic tracking of continuing 

pharmacy education (CPE) credits from ACPE-accredited 

providers. The NABP assigns an e-profile ID through the 

CPE Monitor Service to applicants so they can track credits, 

apply to sit for an exam, monitor continuing education, verify 

licensure, etc. 

Analysis. Most pharmacists, technicians, and interns already 

possess an e-profile ID since it is assigned anytime an NABP 

service is first used, e.g., examination, CPE monitoring, 

licensure by endorsement, etc.1 There is no charge to acquire 

an e-profile ID, and it is already required to be approved to sit 

for the licensure examination or to receive NABP-approved 

CPE. 

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) indicates that 

requiring the e-profile ID may decrease its administrative 

burden when communicating with the NABP, and may 

reduce the possible chance of error when using the applicant's 

name or a breach of confidentiality occurring as a result of 

using other methods of identifying applicants such as the 

social security number. The applicant's name is currently used 

to obtain exam scores, but the e-profile ID is used to verify 

CPE credits when it is available. According to DHP, there 

have been instances in other states where personal 

information, such as the social security number, has been 

released as the result of a data breach; this situation could 

have been avoided if the e-profile ID had been used in its 

place. Given the potential reduction in administrative costs, 

errors, or breach of confidentiality, and the lack of cost 

acquiring an e-profile ID, the proposed amendment should 

produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

would apply to the 14,714 licensed pharmacists, 14,662 

registered pharmacy technicians, and 1,848 registered 

pharmacy interns in the Commonwealth, as well as future 

applicants. In 2017, 854 pharmacists were newly licensed, 

2,017 pharmacy technicians were newly registered, and 591 

pharmacy interns were newly registered.2 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
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affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

not significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments would not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities. 

_______________________________________ 

1Source: Department of Health Professions 

2Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments require a pharmacist, 

pharmacy intern, or pharmacy technician applicant to 

provide an e-profile identification number from the 

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy in an 

application for a license, registration, and renewal or 

reinstatement of license or registration. 

18VAC110-20-22. Application to include e-profile 

number. 

An application for licensure as a pharmacist by examination 

or endorsement or for registration as a pharmacy intern or 

pharmacy technician shall include an e-profile number issued 

by NABP. 

18VAC110-20-80. Renewal and reinstatement of license.  

A. Pharmacist licenses expire on December 31 and shall be 

renewed annually prior to that date by the submission of a 

renewal fee, renewal form, an e-profile number issued by 

NABP, and statement of compliance with continuing 

education requirements.  

B. A pharmacist newly licensed on or after October 1 shall 

not be required to renew that license until December 31 of the 

following year.  

C. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license by the 

expiration date may renew his license at any time within one 

year of its expiration by submission of the renewal fee and 

late fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

D. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license for more than 

one year following expiration and who wishes to reinstate 

such license shall submit an application for reinstatement, pay 

the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee, and submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements. Reinstatement is at the discretion of 

the board and may be granted by the executive director of the 

board provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement.  

E. A pharmacist who has been registered as inactive for 

more than one year must apply for reinstatement, submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements, and pay the current year active 

renewal fee in order to resume active licensure.  

F. In order to reactivate or reinstate a license to active status, 

a pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who has allowed 

his license to lapse, or who has had his license suspended or 

revoked must submit evidence of completion of CEU's or 

hours equal to the requirements for the number of years in 

which his license has not been active, not to exceed a total of 

60 hours of CE.  

G. A pharmacist whose license has been lapsed, in inactive 

status, or suspended or revoked for more than five years shall, 

as a condition of reinstatement in addition to 60 hours CE, 

take and receive a passing score on the board-approved law 

examination and furnish acceptable documentation of one of 

the following:  

1. Active pharmacy practice within the past five years as a 

properly licensed pharmacist in another state; or  

2. Practical experience as a pharmacy intern registered 

with the board of at least 160 hours within six months 

immediately prior to being reinstated.  

H. The practice of pharmacy without a current, active 

pharmacist license is unlawful and shall constitute grounds 

for disciplinary action by the board.  

I. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 

inform the board of his current address. A licensee shall 

notify the board within 14 days in writing or electronically of 

any change of an address of record. Properly updating address 

of record directly through the board's web-based application 

or other approved means shall constitute lawful notification. 

All notices required by law or by these rules and regulations 

are deemed to be legally given when mailed to the address of 

record and shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 

comply.  

18VAC110-20-105. Renewal and reinstatement of 

registration.  

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 

and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 
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submission of a renewal fee, and renewal form, and an e-

profile number issued by NABP. A pharmacy technician 

newly registered on or after July 1 shall not be required to 

renew that registration until December 31 of the following 

year. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not 

relieve the pharmacy technician of the responsibility for 

renewing the registration by the expiration date.  

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 

within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 

fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having 

obtained required continuing education.  

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

for more than one year following expiration and who wishes 

to reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 

reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 

fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 

reinstatement. Conducting tasks associated with a pharmacy 

technician with a lapsed registration shall be illegal and may 

subject the registrant to disciplinary action by the board.  

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 

registration within five years of expiration, shall not be 

eligible for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved 

training program and repeat and pass the examination, or hold 

current PTCB certification, before applying to be reregistered.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5278; Filed August 15, 2018, 3:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of State Police will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia; 

49 CFR Part 390. 

Effective Date: October 18, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Kirk Marlowe, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Bureau of Administrative and Support Services, Department 

of State Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472, 

telephone (804) 674-4606, FAX (804) 674-2936, or email 

kirk.marlowe@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the effective date of the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration that are incorporated for 

compliance and enforcement purposes. 

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to the 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations operating in interstate or 

intrastate commerce within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations promulgated by the United States Department of 

Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 

with amendments promulgated and in effect as of November 

1, 2017 October 1, 2018, pursuant to the United States Motor 

Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR Parts 366, 370 through 

376, 379, 380 Subpart E, 382, 385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 

through 397, and 399, which are incorporated in these 

regulations by reference, with certain exceptions.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5613; Filed August 21, 2018, 9:06 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-661. Child Care Program 

(repealing 22VAC40-661-10 through 22VAC40-661-100). 

22VAC40-665. Child Care Program (adding 22VAC40-

665-10 through 22VAC40-665-830).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, and 63.2-611 of 

the Code of Virginia; 45 CFR 98.11. 

Effective Date: October 17, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Mary Ward, Subsidy Manager, Department 

of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 726-7638, FAX (804) 726-7655, or 

email mary.ward@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action repeals 22VAC40-661 and replaces it with new 

Child Care Program regulations at 22VAC40-665. The 

regulatory action is necessary to bring state Child Care 

Subsidy Program requirements into alignment with the 

federal Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

338 

2014. Amendments include new provisions for (i) 12 

months of continuous authorization for services, (ii) a 

phase-out of services, (iii) a conditional eligibility period 

for children experiencing homelessness, (iv) a change to 

reporting requirements of recipients during an 

authorization period, (v) the transfer of eligibility from one 

locality to another, (vi) a limitation on the amount of assets 

that can be owned by a recipient, (vii) a change to how the 

effective date of eligibility is determined, (viii) verification 

of identity of applicants, (ix) a restriction that limits 

employees of local departments of social services from 

participating as program vendors, (x) repayment of 

overpayments made, (xi) training of local department staff 

who administer the program, and (xii) health and safety 

and inspection of program vendors. Changes since the 

proposed stage were made for consistency within the 

regulation and with statute and other programs, to clarify 

requirements, and to correct errors.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 665 

CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-665-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context indicates 

otherwise:  

"Administrative disqualification hearing" or "ADH" means 

an impartial review by a state hearing officer of a recipient's 

actions involving an alleged intentional program violation for 

the purpose of determining if the individual did or did not 

commit an intentional program violation. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for child care 

services and the disposition of the application has not yet 

been determined.  

"Assets" means resources owned by a person or company 

regarded as having value and available to meet debts and 

commitments. 

"Background checks" means the checks for barrier crimes 

and offenses required under Article 3 (§ 63.2-1719 et seq.) of 

Chapter 17 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, including 

the sworn statement or affirmation as is required by Article 3; 

the criminal history record check; and the Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check.  

"Child care subsidy and services" or "Child Care Subsidy 

Program" means the department program that assists eligible 

low-income families with the cost of child care and those 

activities that assist eligible families in the arrangement for or 

purchase of child care for children for care that is less than a 

24-hour day. It also includes activities that promote parental 

choice, consumer education to help parents make informed 

choices about child care, activities to enhance health and 

safety standards established by the state, and activities that 

increase and enhance child care and early childhood 

development resources in the community.  

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt, 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It 

also includes assessment and arranging for and providing 

necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and 

his family when the child has been found to have been abused 

or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.  

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is younger than 13 years of age and 

who is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a 

documented developmental disability, intellectual disability, 

emotional disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or 

significant chronic illness who requires special health 
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surveillance or specialized programs, interventions, 

technologies, or facilities. 

"Conditional eligibility" means that eligibility has been 

approved for a period not to exceed 90 days to allow families 

with a child experiencing homelessness additional time to 

obtain required documentation needed to complete a final 

eligibility determination. 

"Copayment" means the amount paid to the provider by the 

parent to contribute toward the cost of child care. Such 

amount shall be established by the department in accordance 

with the current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for 

Virginia, approved by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. Copayments do not include charges above 

the maximum reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, 

activities, or transportation. 

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, 

the division of the Department of Social Services responsible 

for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and 

establishing, modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing 

child support or child and spousal support. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Exit eligibility limit" means the maximum gross countable 

income amount that a family can receive to be considered 

income eligible at redetermination. Such amount shall be 

established by the department in the current Child Care and 

Development Plan for Virginia approved by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Family" means any [ individual, ] adult [ , ] or [ adults or 

emancipated minor and ] children related by blood, marriage, 

adoption, or an expression of kinship who function as a 

family unit.  

"Federal poverty guidelines" means the income levels by 

family size, determined by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at what 

level families in the country are living in poverty.  

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include 

copayments, charges above the maximum reimbursable rate, 

or charges for registration, activities, or transportation.  

"Fee Program" means a category in the child care subsidy 

program that assists low income, non-TANF families with 

child care services. 

"Fiscal year" means the local department financial calendar 

that begins in June of each calendar year and runs through 

May of the following calendar year. 

[ "Good cause" means a valid reason as determined by the 

local department why (i) a parent in a two-parent household 

cannot provide the needed child care or (ii) why a parent will 

not be required to register with the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement. ]  

"Graduated phase out" means the period of time for child 

care subsidy and services to continue as determined by the 

local department at redetermination for recipients whose 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the 

exit eligibility limit. 

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child 

development programs that serve children from birth through 

age five years, pregnant women, and their families (as 

established by the Head Start Act (42 USC § 9801)).  

"Income eligible" means that eligibility for assistance under 

the Child Care Subsidy Program is based on income and 

family size.  

"In-home" means child care provided in the home in which 

all of the children in care reside and in which the provider 

does not reside. 

"Initial eligibility limit" means the maximum gross 

countable income amount that a family can receive to be 

considered income eligible. Such amount shall be established 

by the department in the current Child Care and Development 

Plan for Virginia approved by the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services. 

"Intentional program violation" or "IPV" means any action 

by an individual for the purpose of establishing or 

maintaining the family's eligibility for assistance under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program or for increasing or preventing a 

reduction in the amount of the assistance by (i) intentionally 

giving a false or misleading statement or misrepresenting, 

concealing, or withholding facts or (ii) any act intended to 

mislead, to misrepresent, conceal, or withhold facts, or to 

propound a falsity. 

"Level one provider" means a child care provider that is not 

licensed by the department or is not approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under a local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or 

(iii) by the federal government.  

"Level two provider" means a child care provider that is 

licensed by the department or is approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or 

(iii) by the federal government. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth.  

"Maximum reimbursable rate" means the maximum rate 

paid for child care services through the subsidy program that 

is established by the department and set out in the current 

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia filed 

with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

"Need for child care" means the parents [ meets meet ] the 

income eligibility and employment or education requirements 
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set forth in this chapter and [ requires require ] child care 

services for part of the day. 

"Nonfraud overpayment" means an overpayment that is the 

result of a local department error or an inadvertent household 

or provider error.  

"Parent" means the adult or emancipated minor, as defined 

in § 16.1-334 of the Code of Virginia, who acts as the 

primary caretaker or guardian of a child, including an 

individual acting in loco parentis. A parent may be by blood, 

marriage, or adoption and also means a legal guardian, person 

cohabiting with the natural or adoptive parent of a minor 

child, or other person standing in loco parentis.  

"Provider" or "child care provider" means a person, entity, 

or organization providing child care services. 

[ "Register with the Division of Child Support Enforcement" 

means that an applicant or recipient of child care subsidy 

services provides the information required by the Division of 

Child Support Enforcement to locate an absent parent, 

establish paternity, or establish a support order, unless good 

cause for noncooperation is determined by the program. ]  

"Resource and referral" means services that provide 

information to parents to assist them in choosing a child care 

provider and may include assessment of the family's child 

care needs, collection and maintenance of information about 

child care needs in the community, and efforts to improve the 

quality and increase the supply of child care.  

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon 

activities and responsibilities between the local department 

and the parent in the provision of assistance for child care 

services under the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" or "SNAP" 

means the program administered by the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture to reduce hunger and increase food security. 

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment 

and Training" or "SNAPET" means the program that provides 

job search, job search training, education, training, and work 

experience to nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients. 

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an 

individual or individuals who meet all categorical 

requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF.  

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker 

has determined ineligible for inclusion in the TANF 

assistance unit because the child was born more than 10 full 

months after the mother's initial TANF payment was issued.  

"Temporary [ assistance Assistance ] for [ needy families" 

Needy Families" ] or "TANF" means the program authorized 

in § 406 of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 606) and 

administered by the department through which a relative can 

receive monthly cash assistance for the support of his eligible 

children.  

"Transitional child care" means the program that provides 

child care subsidy assistance to eligible former TANF 

recipients after the TANF case closes.  

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a child care vendor that must be entered into 

and signed before child care payments under the Child Care 

Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare" or 

"VIEW" means the program of employment opportunities to 

assist individuals receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families in attaining the goal of self-sufficiency as 

implemented in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

22VAC40-665-20. Families and children to be served. 

A. For an applicant to be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services, the applicant must have a child who, at the time of 

eligibility determination or redetermination: 

1. Is younger than 13 years of age or is younger than the 

age of 18 years and physically or mentally unable to care 

for himself, or under court supervision; 

2. Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; 

3. Is immunized according to requirements of the State 

Board of Health; however, families of a child experiencing 

homelessness that cannot provide documentation of their 

child's immunizations may be conditionally approved for 

services for a period not to exceed 90 days;  

4. Is not eligible to attend public school during the part of 

the day when public education is available unless there is a 

documented reason for the child to be out of school; 

5. Resides with the applicant or recipient for services; 

6. Resides in the locality where application or 

redetermination for services is made; 

7. Resides with a family whose income does not exceed the 

income limits established by the department in the current 

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia 

approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; 

8. Resides with a family whose family assets do not exceed 

$1 million in value, as certified by the applicant; and 

9. Resides with a family in which there is a need for child 

care services, arising from one of the following situations: 

a. In a two-parent household, there must be a 

documented reason why one of the parents cannot 

provide the needed child care. 
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b. Parents who need child care to support the following 

approved activities:  

(1) Employment; 

(2) Education or training leading to employment; 

(3) Child protective services; or  

(4) Assigned VIEW or SNAPET activity. 

B. At the option of the local department, a child born to a 

family 10 months or more after the initial date of approval for 

the Fee Program may receive child care services or be placed 

on the local department waiting list. 

C. A child of an owner or operator of a family day home 

shall not be eligible to receive a child care subsidy if that 

child will be cared for in the home of the owner or operator.  

22VAC40-665-30. Child care subsidy program categories. 

Assistance under the Child Care Subsidy Program is 

provided through the following program categories, to the 

extent that funding is available:  

1. TANF. Child care subsidy and services are made 

available to recipients of TANF. TANF child care includes 

needed child care for:  

a. A TANF-capped child; 

b. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI) if the parent is on the TANF grant and if the child 

would have been in the public assistance unit were it not 

for the receipt of SSI; and 

c. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but 

who are financially dependent upon the parent who is in 

the TANF assistance unit. 

2. Income eligible programs. 

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services 

are made available to eligible children of former TANF 

recipients for up to the 12 months [ immediately ] 

following TANF case closure to support parental 

employment if the family is found income eligible, and 

there is a need for child care.  

b. Head Start wrap-around child care. Head Start wrap-

around child care subsidy and services are made 

available to eligible Head Start enrolled children. The 

program is for extended day and extended year child care 

beyond times covered by federally funded Head Start 

programs.  

c. SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and services are 

made available to children of parents in Virginia's SNAP 

Education and Training (SNAPET) program to allow 

participation in an approved activity. 

d. Fee Program child care. Fee child care subsidy and 

services are made available to children in eligible low-

income families who are not receiving TANF or 

SNAPET and who meet the eligibility criteria for child 

care. 

22VAC40-665-40. Case management. 

A. Applicants for child care subsidy and services must be at 

least 18 years of age unless they are an emancipated minor or 

a minor who was receiving services as head of household 

prior to April 2016.  

B. Applicants are required to sign an application, to provide 

verification of identity, and to cooperate with an assessment 

by the local department of social services. 

C. [ Applicants and recipients must register with DCSE 

unless the local department determines that good cause exists 

for their failure to do so. In cases where the local department 

has approved the application of an applicant for the Child 

Care Subsidy Program and determines that (i) the child has 

been abandoned by a noncustodial parent, or (ii) a person who 

has a responsibility for the care, support, or maintenance of 

the child has failed or neglected to give proper care or support 

to the child, the local department shall refer the matter to 

DCSE for the application for child support services. ] Failure 

[ by the applicant or recipient ] to [ register will cooperate 

with DCSE shall ] result in [ denial of the application or ] 

case closure at redetermination. [ "Cooperate with DCSE" 

means that an applicant or recipient must apply for child 

support services and participate and provide information, as 

requested by DCSE, to locate a noncustodial parent, establish 

paternity, establish or modify a child support order, or enforce 

a child support order. ]  

D. At initial eligibility determination, a family with a child 

experiencing homelessness that cannot provide the required 

documentation may be conditionally approved for services for 

a period not to exceed 90 days. The final eligibility 

determination shall be completed once the 90 days has 

expired or full documentation is provided. Any payments 

made prior to the final eligibility determination shall not be 

considered an error or improper payment. Families with a 

child experiencing homelessness shall receive priority 

placement on the waiting list, if applicable. 

E. Consumer education, including education on the selection 

and monitoring of quality child care [ , ] and [ a consumer 

statement how to access information ] regarding their selected 

vendor [ as to the (i) health and safety requirements met by 

the vendor; (ii) licensing or regulatory requirements met by 

the vendor; (iii) date the vendor was last inspected and any 

history of violations; and (iv) any voluntary quality standards 

met by the vendor, ] must be provided to parents to assist 

them in gaining needed information about the availability of 

child care services and providers. Parents must also be 

provided information on how to obtain a developmental 

screening for their child. 
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F. The department shall establish scales for determining 

financial eligibility for the income eligible child care subsidy 

program categories in subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-665-30.  

1. Recipients in the TANF child care program category 

shall be considered income eligible based on their receipt 

of TANF; the local department shall not be required to 

verify their income. 

2. At initial eligibility determination, income eligibility 

shall be determined by measuring the family's countable 

income and size against the percentage of the federal 

poverty guidelines for their locality. The family's income 

cannot exceed 85% of the state median income.  

3. At redetermination, if a recipient family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit, they shall be 

considered income eligible until their countable income 

meets or exceeds the exit eligibility limit established by the 

department. The family's income cannot exceed 85% of the 

state median income.  

G. Families receiving child care subsidy and services shall 

be required to pay a copayment unless their gross monthly 

income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines and they 

are recipients of TANF, participants in the SNAPET program, 

or families where all children participate in the Head Start 

program. The copayment amount will be based on a scale set 

out in the current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for 

Virginia. Copayments may be increased at redetermination 

and during graduated phase out if the family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the 

exit eligibility limit. Local departments shall be required to 

act on changes reported by the family that would reduce the 

family's copayment during the 12-month eligibility period. 

H. Income to be counted in determining income eligibility 

includes all earned and unearned income received by the 

family except the following:  

1. Supplemental Security Income;  

2. TANF benefits [ , including TANF match payments ];  

3. Transitional payments of $50 per month to former 

VIEW participants;  

4. Diversionary assistance payments;  

5. General relief;  

6. SNAP benefits;  

7. Value of U.S. Department of Agriculture donated food;  

8. Benefits received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for 

the Elderly of the Older Americans Act of 1965;  

9. Value of supplemental food assistance under the Child 

Nutrition Act of 1996 and lunches provided under National 

School Lunch Act;  

10. Earnings of a child younger than the age of 18 years;  

11. Earned income tax credit;  

12. Lump sum child support [ arrears ] payments;  

13. Scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any 

portion specified for child care;  

14. Basic allowance for housing for military personnel 

living on base;  

15. Clothing maintenance allowance for military 

personnel;  

16. Payments received by AmeriCorps volunteers;  

17. Tax refunds;  

18. Lump sum insurance payments;  

19. Monetary gifts for one-time occasions or normal 

annual occasions;  

20. Payments made by non-financially responsible third 

parties for household obligations, unless payment is made 

in lieu of wages;  

21. Loans or money borrowed;  

22. Money received from sale of property;  

23. Earnings less than $25 a month;  

24. Capital gains;  

25. Withdrawals of bank deposits;  

26. GI Bill benefits;  

27. Reimbursements, such as for mileage;  

28. Foreign government restitution payments to Holocaust 

survivors;  

29. Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or 

any other fund established for settlement of Agent Orange 

product liability litigation; and  

30. Monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietnam 

Veterans as described in 38 USC § 1823(c).  

The amount of wages subject to garnishment and the amount 

of child support paid to another household shall be deducted 

from the family's income. 

I. The eligibility period for TANF (nonVIEW), transitional 

child care, Fee Program, and Head Start begins with the 

effective date of the approval of the child care subsidy and 

services application. The eligibility period for VIEW and 

SNAPET participants begins with the date of referral from the 

VIEW or SNAPET program.  

J. Recipients will be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services for a minimum of 12-months before eligibility is 

redetermined unless: 

1. Their countable income exceeds 85% of state median 

income. Temporary increases in income will not affect 
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eligibility or family copayments, including monthly 

income fluctuations, which when taken in isolation, may 

incorrectly indicate that a recipient's income exceeds 85% 

of state median income. 

2. There is a finding that the recipient committed an 

intentional program violation. 

3. The recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia. 

4. [ The recipient requests that their child care subsidy and 

services case be closed.  

5. ] The recipient is a family of a child experiencing 

homelessness that was [ conditionally ] approved [ because 

they could not provide required documentation. If the 

documentation is provided to the local department within 

90 days, the recipient may remain eligible for the 

remainder of the 12-month eligibility period. If 

documentation is not provided as conditionally eligible and 

failed to provide necessary documentation ] to the local 

department within 90 days, or the recipient is determined 

ineligible after full documentation is provided [ , the child 

care case will be closed ]. 

K. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any change in 

residency within the state. 

L. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any eligible child 

turning 13 years of age during the 12-month eligibility period.  

M. The beginning date of service payment for TANF 

(nonVIEW), transitional child care, Fee Program, and Head 

Start participants may begin with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. The beginning date of service payment for VIEW 

or SNAPET participants may begin with the date of referral 

from the VIEW or SNAPET program if the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected.  

1. Eligibility must be determined within 30 days of receipt 

of a signed application or referral from VIEW or SNAPET 

by the local department.  

2. Payment cannot be made to any provider prior to the 

effective date of their approval by the department as a 

vendor.  

N. Eligibility will be redetermined in the final month of the 

12-month eligibility period described in subsection I of this 

section, at which time the recipient will be contacted in order 

to have all eligibility criteria be reevaluated. The local 

department's contact with the recipient should not unduly 

disrupt a parent's work schedule. Recipients shall not be 

required to appear in person for eligibility redetermination. 

O. Child care case managers shall prepare a written service 

plan for each child care case with the applicant or recipient. 

The service plan shall state the activities and responsibilities 

of the local department and the parent in the provision of 

child care services. The VIEW Activity and Service Plan will 

serve as the service plan for parents active in VIEW. If the 

parents are SNAPET participants, the SNAPET Plan of 

Participation will serve as the service plan. 

P. Recipients shall be required to: 

1. Report to the local department the following changes 

within 10 calendar days of the change: 

a. Countable income that exceeds 85% of the state 

median income. 

b. Recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia or the 

county in which they are receiving services. 

2. Pay all fees owed to the vendor not paid for under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program [ or reimbursements owed to 

the local department; failure to do so may result in case 

closure at redetermination ]. 

3. Reimburse the local department for any overpayment 

made as a result of fraud, intentional program violation, or 

an inadvertent household error.  

[ 4. Pay fees owed to the vendor or reimbursements owed 

to the local department; failure to do so may result in case 

closure at redetermination. ]  

The local department shall inform recipients of child care 

subsidy and services of these responsibilities.  

Q. Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the 

Fee Program is limited to a total of 72 months per family. 

Receipt of assistance in any other program category does not 

count toward the 72-month limitation. 

R. When sufficient funds are not available, local 

departments of social services must screen applicants for 

potential eligibility and place them on the department's 

waiting list unless the family declines placement. 

S. Applicants and recipients will be afforded due process 

through timely written notices of any action determining or 

affecting their eligibility for services or copayment amount. 

Such written notice shall include the reason for the action and 

the notice of appeal rights and procedures, including the right 

to a fair hearing if the applicant or recipient is aggrieved by 

the local department's action or failure to act on an 

application. If a recipient requests an appeal prior to the 

effective date of any proposed action and if the continuation 

of services is requested by the parent, child care services will 

continue until a decision is rendered by a hearing officer. If 

the decision of the local department is upheld by the hearing 

officer, the recipient must repay the amount of services paid 

during the appeal process. 

22VAC40-665-50. Parental choice. 

Families who receive child care subsidy and services shall 

have the right to choose a provider from among child care 
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providers operating legally and that are approved by the 

department to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program 

as a vendor. Local departments shall not establish any 

policies that limit parental choice of providers.  

22VAC40-665-60. Access to children. 

A. Vendors shall allow parents unlimited access to their 

children when they are in care.  

B. Vendors shall allow state and local department staff 

unlimited access to children in care.  

22VAC40-665-70. Vendor requirements. 

A. Vendors who participate in the subsidy program must be 

at least 18 years of age.  

B. Vendors shall permit and cooperate with inspections by 

staff from the department and local departments of social 

services.  

C. Vendors shall comply with the regulations applicable to 

the vendor's type of child care, including all requirements to 

conduct background checks.  

D. Vendors shall comply with the subsidy program vendor 

requirements as outlined in Parts II (22VAC40-665-120 et 

seq.) and III (22VAC40-665-470 et seq.) of this chapter 

applicable to the vendor's type of care. 

E. All vendors who participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program shall enter into a vendor agreement with the 

department. The vendor's signature or electronic submission 

confirms its agreement to comply with the applicable sections 

of this chapter and the terms of the agreement, including 

payment processes, electronic submission and tracking of 

attendance, absences, and vendor requirements. Vendors shall 

be subject to monitoring inspections to ensure compliance 

with this chapter and with the vendor agreement. 

F. Employees of any division within the department or a 

local department of social services cannot participate in the 

subsidy program as a vendor. 

G. Vendors shall provide notice to individuals required 

under this chapter to undergo background checks of the 

opportunity to challenge the results of the background checks 

in accordance with the procedures described in this 

subsection in the case of criminal checks, or by contacting the 

local department of social services that reported such 

individual to be named on the Child Protective Services 

Central Registry. 

1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): If an individual is 

denied employment or the opportunity to provide volunteer 

or contractual services because of information appearing 

on the individual's FBI record and it comes to the 

individual's attention that he is not the person of the record, 

the individual may initiate a challenge of the information 

contained in the record. The facility is required by state 

and federal laws to provide the individual with a copy of 

the challenge procedures. The challenge procedures can be 

found at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-

summary-checks. 

2. Virginia State Police: In instances where it comes to an 

individual's attention that his name or other descriptive 

information is a matter of record in the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange, and he is not the person of the record, 

then the individual may initiate a challenge of the 

information contained in the record as provided at 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm. The 

individual must report this information to a local sheriff, 

police, or State Police Headquarters and request to be 

fingerprinted for the purpose of challenging a criminal 

record. The individual to be fingerprinted must show 

personal identification. The official taking the fingerprints 

must document on letterhead paper that he has reviewed 

the individual's personal identification and obtained the 

fingerprints. This letter and the fingerprints are to be 

mailed to the following address: Manager Central Criminal 

Records Exchange Virginia Department of State Police, 

P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472. Within five 

workdays, the individual who initiated the challenge will 

receive written confirmation of the fingerprint search 

results, whether he is or is not the person of the record, and 

record modifications taken, if applicable. 

3. If an individual successfully challenges information on a 

background check in accordance with these procedures, the 

vendor may submit a request for a new background 

investigation in order to obtain an accurate record.  

H. Disputes between the vendor and the department 

regarding the payment for services rendered, enforcement or 

termination of the vendor agreement, or disqualification from 

participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program may be 

appealed by the vendor pursuant to the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), as provided in this subsection. This shall be the 

sole remedy for such disputes. 

1. Within 30 days of the date of a written notice of 

department action against a vendor, the vendor may 

request an appeal in writing with the department. 

2. Upon receiving the vendor's notice of appeal, the 

department shall schedule an informal conference at which 

the vendor may provide such further information or present 

any additional facts for the department to reconsider its 

action. The department shall issue a written decision within 

15 business days from the conclusion of the informal 

conference. The vendor may waive the holding of the 

informal conference and request the formal hearing 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection in its initial 

request for an appeal to the department. 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm
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3. The vendor may appeal the decision from the informal 

conference by requesting an administrative hearing within 

30 days of the date of the decision from the informal 

conference. The administrative hearing shall be held in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia and 

shall be presided over by a hearing officer designated by 

the Supreme Court of Virginia pursuant to subsection A of 

§ 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia. Within 30 days of the 

administrative hearing, the hearing officer shall 

recommend a decision to the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. The commissioner shall 

issue a final decision within 30 days of receipt of the 

hearing officer's recommended decision in accordance with 

subsection C of § 2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. The vendor may seek court review of the 

commissioner's decision in accordance with Article 3 

(§ 2.2-4018 et. seq.) of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act. 

22VAC40-665-80. Determining payment amount. 

A. Maximum reimbursable rates.  

1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable 

rates for child care subsidies for all localities in the state by 

type of care, level of regulatory oversight, age of child, and 

unit of service. Such rates shall be available in [ Appendix 

Appendices ] F [ and G ] of the Child Care Subsidy 

Program Guidance Manual on the department's website at 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/assistance/par

ents_guardians/guidance_procedures/Child_Care_Subsidy

_Guidance_Manual.pdf.  

2. For children with special needs or disability, payment 

over the maximum reimbursable rate is allowed when this 

is appropriate as determined and documented by the local 

department. The maximum reimbursable rate for children 

with special needs may not exceed twice the rate for care 

of children who do not have special needs. 

3. Vendors will be paid for the amount of care approved up 

to the maximum reimbursable rate of the locality in which 

the vendor is located. The department will pay the rates 

[ and fees ] providers charge the general public, up to the 

maximum reimbursable rate. Level two vendors will be 

paid a higher maximum reimbursable rate established by 

the department.  

4. Parents who choose a vendor that charges a rate higher 

than the maximum reimbursable rate set by the department 

shall be responsible for payment of the additional amount, 

if charged by the vendor, unless the local department elects 

to pay the additional amount out of local funds. 

B. For in-home child care, the payment rate must be at least 

minimum wage, but not more than the maximum 

reimbursable rate for the number of children in care.  

C. A single annual registration fee, if charged, will be paid 

to level two vendors only. The registration fee must not 

exceed $100 nor be higher than the fee the vendor charges the 

general public. If the requirement for payment of another 

registration fee is beyond the control of the recipient or due to 

extenuating circumstances, an additional registration fee may 

be paid. The cost of transportation services provided by the 

vendor, if any, shall be included in the total cost of care. The 

total cost of care, excluding the single annual registration fee 

but including other fees and transportation, must not exceed 

the maximum reimbursable rate.  

D. Level two providers may be paid up to 10 holidays on 

which no child care services are provided as identified in the 

vendor agreement. Certified preschools, religious exempt 

centers, and voluntary registered family day homes that are 

classified as level one providers may be paid for holidays on 

which no child care services are provided in accordance with 

the provisions of the vendor agreement. All other level one 

providers will not receive payment for any holiday unless 

services are provided on such day. 

E. Level two providers may be paid for up to [ 24 36 ] days 

the child is absent per fiscal year.  

22VAC40-665-90. Complaints in the child care setting. 

All complaints regarding possible child abuse or neglect 

occurring in a child care setting must be referred to the child 

protective services unit at the local department serving the 

area where the vendor is located. All other complaints must 

be referred to the department's hotline, which will be 

provided to parents during intake at initial eligibility 

determination and will be available on the department's 

website (www.dss.virginia.gov). 

22VAC40-665-100. Recipient intentional program 

violation and disqualification. 

A. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a recipient in order to receive 

benefits, services, or payments, the local department shall 

investigate whether or not an intentional program violation 

was committed. If the local department finds clear and 

convincing evidence that an intentional program violation has 

occurred, the case will be referred for an administrative 

disqualification hearing. The local department may also refer 

the case to the attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal 

prosecution. 

B. Recipients found to have committed an intentional 

program violation either through an administrative 

disqualification hearing or by a court of competent 

jurisdiction shall be ineligible to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program for a period of three months upon the first 

finding, 12 months upon the second finding, and permanently 

upon the third finding. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.dss.virginia.gov
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C. In cases where a nonfraud overpayment occurred due to 

an inadvertent household error, the parent will not be 

disqualified from participating in the subsidy program as long 

as a repayment schedule is entered into with the local 

department and payments are made according to that 

schedule. 

D. Administrative disqualification hearings shall be held in 

accordance with the following: 

1. Prior to submitting the request for an ADH to the state 

hearing authority, the local department shall provide 

written notification to the individual suspected of an 

intentional program violation that the individual can waive 

his right to an ADH by signing a waiver request and 

returning it to the local department within 10 days from the 

date notification is sent to the individual in order to avoid 

submission of the request for an ADH. 

2. If a signed waiver is received, no ADH is conducted and 

the disqualification period is imposed. 

3. The local department shall request an ADH be scheduled 

by submitting a written request to the state hearing 

authority. The form must include the following 

information: 

a. Identifying information; 

b. Summary of the allegations; 

c. Summary of the evidence; and 

d. Copies of documents supporting the allegations. 

The referral is to be signed and dated by the supervisor or 

local department director. 

4. The hearing officer will schedule a date for the ADH 

and provide written notice to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV at least 30 days in advance of the date 

the ADH has been scheduled. The notice shall contain at a 

minimum: 

a. The date, time, and place of the hearing; 

b. The charges against the individual; 

c. A summary of the evidence, and how and where the 

evidence can be examined; 

d. A statement that the decision will be based solely on 

information provided by the local department of social 

services if the individual fails to appear at the hearing; 

e. A statement that the individual or representative will, 

upon receipt of the notice, have 10 days from the date of 

the scheduled hearing to present good cause for failure to 

appear in order to receive a new hearing; 

f. A statement that a determination of intentional 

program violation will result in a disqualification period, 

and a statement of which penalty is applicable to the case 

scheduled for a hearing; 

g. A listing of the individual's rights, including the right 

to: 

(1) Examine the contents of his case file and all 

documents and records to be used by the agency at the 

hearing at a reasonable time before the date of the 

hearing as well as during the hearing; 

(2) At his option, present his case himself or with the aid 

of an authorized representative; 

(3) Bring witnesses; 

(4) Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

(5) Advance any arguments without undue interference; 

and 

(6) Question or refute any testimony or evidence, 

including opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

adverse witnesses; and 

h. If there is an individual or organization available that 

provides free legal representation, the notice shall advise 

the affected individual of the availability of the service. 

5. The time and place of the ADH shall be arranged so that 

the hearing is accessible to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV. The individual may request a 

postponement of the ADH if the request for postponement 

is made at least 10 days in advance of the date of the 

scheduled hearing. The ADH shall not be postponed for 

more than a total of 30 days and the state hearing authority 

may limit the number of postponements. 

6. The ADH can be held even if the individual fails to 

appear. The individual has 10 days after the date of the 

scheduled ADH to present reasons indicating a good cause 

failure to appear. 

7. Even though the individual is not present, the hearing 

officer shall carefully consider the evidence and determine 

if an IPV was committed, based on clear and convincing 

evidence. 

8. If the recipient is found to have committed an IPV, but a 

hearing officer later determines there was good cause for 

not appearing, the previous decision will no longer be valid 

and a new ADH shall be conducted. The hearing officer 

who conducted the original hearing may conduct the new 

hearing. The good cause decision shall be entered into the 

hearing record by the hearing officer. 

9. The hearing officer shall: 

a. Identify those present for the record; 

b. Advise the individual that he may refuse to answer 

questions during the hearing and that anything said or 
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signed by the individual concerning the charges may be 

used against him in a court of law; 

c. Explain the purpose of the ADH, the procedure, and 

how and by whom a decision will be reached and 

communicated; 

d. Consider all relevant issues and determine if an IPV 

was committed, based on clear and convincing evidence; 

e. Request, receive, and make part of the record all 

evidence determined necessary to render a decision; 

f. Regulate the conduct and course of the hearing 

consistent with due process to ensure an orderly hearing; 

and 

g. Advise the local department to obtain a medical 

assessment at the local department's expense if the 

hearing officer considers it necessary. 

10. The individual alleged to have committed an IPV shall 

be given adequate opportunity to: 

a. Examine all documents and records to be used at the 

ADH at a reasonable time prior to the ADH as well as 

during the ADH. The contents of the case file, including 

the application form and documents of verification used 

by the local department to establish the alleged IPV, shall 

be made available; 

b. Present his case himself or with the aid of an 

authorized representative; 

c. Bring witnesses; 

d. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

e. Question or refute any testimony or evidence, 

including the opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

witnesses; and 

f. Advance arguments without any undue influence. 

11. The hearing officer shall prepare a written report of the 

hearing, which shall include findings, conclusions, 

decisions, and appropriate recommendations. The decision 

shall specify the reasons for the decision, identify the 

supporting evidence, identify pertinent regulations, and 

respond to reasoned arguments made by the individual or 

representative. 

12. If the individual is found to have committed an IPV, 

the written decision shall advise the individual that 

disqualification shall occur. 

Upon receipt of the notice of a decision from the hearing 

officer finding that the individual committed an IPV, the local 

department shall inform the individual of the reason for the 

disqualification and the date the disqualification will take 

effect. 

22VAC40-665-105. Vendor agreement termination and 

vendor disqualification. 

A. A vendor agreement may be terminated for the following: 

1. The vendor's license to operate a child care facility is 

revoked, suspended, or denied. 

2. The vendor's business location changes; ownership of 

the vendor's business is assigned, sold, or otherwise 

transferred; the vendor's business structure changes; the 

vendor's employer identification number changes; or the 

vendor's legal operating status becomes invalid for any 

reason. 

3. A deliberate misrepresentation of facts to the department 

or a local department of social services by a vendor in 

order to receive payments it was not entitled to receive or 

acceptance by the vendor of payments that the vendor 

knows, or should reasonably have known, the vendor was 

not entitled to receive. 

4. The vendor fails to notify the department of a change in 

circumstances that affects payments received by the 

vendor. 

5. The vendor's violation of any term of the vendor 

agreement, of any requirement under this chapter, or of any 

state laws and regulations related to the vendor's license or 

its exemption from licensure, including the requirements 

for background checks of the vendor's employees, 

volunteers, and other individuals who come into contact 

with children. 

B. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a vendor in order to receive 

payments it was not entitled to receive, the local department 

shall investigate. If there is clear and convincing evidence 

that such an act has occurred, the case will be referred to the 

Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development for 

termination of the vendor agreement and possible 

disqualification from participation in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program. The local department may also refer the case to the 

attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal prosecution. 

C. Vendors will be permanently disqualified from 

participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program upon the 

first criminal conviction of fraud or upon a finding by the 

department or local department that the vendor deliberately 

misrepresented facts in order to receive payments it was not 

entitled to receive.  

D. Vendors found to be repeatedly in violation of their 

vendor agreement or of the requirements of this chapter for 

reasons other than acts by the vendor described in subsection 

B of this section may be disqualified to participate in the 

Child Care Subsidy Program for a minimum period of one 

year.  
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E. Individuals affiliated with vendors as owners, partners, 

directors, officers, shareholders, [ limited liability company ] 

members, and managers shall be subject to disqualification 

under this section. 

22VAC40-665-110. Repayment. 

A. In addition to any criminal punishment, anyone who 

causes the local department to make an overpayment to a 

vendor shall be required to repay the amount of the 

overpayment.  

B. Any overpayment must be refunded to the department by 

the locality. If an overpayment was made as a result of an 

error by the local department, the local department will not 

seek to recoup those funds from the parent or the vendor.  

22VAC40-665-115. Required training for local 

department staff. 

Local department staff with responsibilities for 

implementing the Child Care Subsidy Program shall complete 

guidance training and other training as required by the 

department. 

Part II 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Family Day 

Homes 

22VAC40-665-120. Definitions; subsidy program 

requirements for family day home vendors. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider in 

the care, protection, supervision, and guidance to children in 

the home. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the home 

and includes the provider and assistant. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who 

is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 

facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body 

fluid or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary 

agent (such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object 

(such as a table surface).  Some communicable diseases are 

reportable to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting as the 
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authorized agent of the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in 

the residence of the provider or the home of any of the 

children in care for one through 12 children less than 13 years 

of age, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, when at least one child 

receives care for compensation. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months of age.  

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat, and access within and to the home is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription. This includes herbal remedies and vitamin and 

mineral supplements.  

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis.  

"Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, age five years by 

September 30 of that same year. 

"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing 

child care services.  

"Residence" means the principal legal dwelling that is 

occupied for living purposes by the provider or a child in care 

and contains the facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, 

cooking, and family living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 

bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 

cleaning and secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of 

bleach mixed with one gallon of water and prepared fresh 

daily or using a sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. The surface of the item is 

sprayed or dipped into the sanitizing solution and then 

allowed to air dry for a minimum of two minutes or according 

to the sanitizing solution instructions. 

"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 

years or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear.  

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 

months of age. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

before child care payments paid to the vendor under the Child 

Care Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the family day 

home and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided in the family day home; 

2. Is not counted in the caregiver-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a caregiver when 

working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered a "caregiver" and shall meet caregiver 

requirements. 

22VAC40-665-130. (Reserved.) 

22VAC40-665-140. Purpose and applicability. 

The standards in this part apply to family day homes that 

participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program as a vendor. 

The purpose of these standards is to protect children who are 

less than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or under 

court supervision, and who are separated from their parents 

during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

family day homes participating in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children 

in the child care environment.  
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22VAC40-665-150. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. The vendor shall ensure compliance with any of its own 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents of an enrolled 

child. 

C. The vendor shall ensure that the applicant, household 

member, and any caregiver who is or will be involved in the 

day-to-day operations of the family day home or is or will be 

alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the 

children shall [ (i) ] undergo a background check in 

accordance with § 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia [ and; 

(ii) ] shall not have [ an offense been convicted of a barrier 

crime ] as defined in § [ 63.2-1719 19.2-392.02 ] of the Code 

of Virginia [ ; and (iii) is not the subject of a founded 

complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside the 

Commonwealth ].  

D. The vendor shall ensure that the family day home does 

not exceed the capacity of children cared for as allowed by 

law or regulation. 

E. When at least one child receives care for compensation, 

all children who are in care and supervision count in the 

capacity of children being cared for. When children 13 years 

or older are enrolled in the program and receive supervision 

in the program, they shall be counted in the number of 

children receiving care and the vendor shall comply with the 

standards in this part for these children. 

F. The vendor shall inform all caregivers of children's 

allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. 

G. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to 

all caregivers, a current written list of all children's allergies, 

sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This list shall be dated 

and kept confidential. 

22VAC40-665-160. General recordkeeping; reports. 

A. Caregiver records and children's information shall be 

kept confidential. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a written hard copy record of 

daily attendance that documents the arrival and departure of 

each child in care as it occurs. 

C. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 

parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

D. Records, reports, and information required by this part 

may be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained in the home and made 

accessible to department's representative for five years after 

termination of services or separation from employment unless 

specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-170. Children's records. 

A. Vendors shall maintain, and keep at the family day home, 

written or electronic information for each enrolled child, 

which shall be made available to the department's 

representative upon request. 

B. The child's information shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Proof of the child's identity; 

3. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

4. Name, address, and telephone number for each 

custodial parent's place of employment or school 

attendance, if applicable; 

5. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency if the parent cannot be reached; 

6. If applicable, information on allergies, including food 

allergies, intolerances to food, medication, or other 

substances, and actions to be taken in an emergency 

situation; information on other physical problems; 

pertinent developmental information; and any special 

accommodations needed; 

7. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who 

are authorized to pick up the child; 

8. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records 

within 90 days of enrollment; 

9. Written authorization for emergency medical care 

should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 

located immediately unless the parent presents a written 

objection for the provision of medical treatment on 

religious or other grounds; 

10. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor agrees to 

administer medication; 

11. Special care instructions, including recommendations 

for the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

12. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed 

food allergy, to include instructions from a physician 

regarding the food to which the child is allergic and the 

steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed 

allergic reaction; 

13. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the 

child while in care; 
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14. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 

15. Permission for field trips; 

16. Permission for swimming or wading activities to 

include a parent's statement of the child's swimming 

ability, if applicable;  

17. A written statement that the vendor will notify the 

parent when the child becomes ill and that the parent will 

arrange to have the child picked up as soon as possible if 

so requested by the vendor; 

18. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

19. Documentation of the enrollment of a child 

experiencing homelessness enrolled under provisions of 

22VAC40-665-210 A 2.  

22VAC40-665-180. Caregiver records. 

The following records shall be kept for each caregiver: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating: 

(1) Satisfactory results of the [ Virginia State Police 

name search for criminal history fingerprint-based 

national criminal background check ]; and  

(2) Satisfactory results of the [ Virginia ] Child 

Protective Services Central Registry check. 

b. [ Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. ] The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges with the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

c. The vendor shall have such documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service. [ However, the vendor shall not be deemed to be 

in violation of this section if documentation is maintained 

that the checks were submitted within the first seven days 

of employment or service and the results are not 

available due to an administrative delay beyond the 

vendor's control. ]  

d. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every [ three five ] years. 

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications for first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the caregiver. 

5. Documentation that training required by 22VAC40-665-

230 has been completed that includes the name and topic 

of the training, the date completed, the total hours of the 

session, and the names of the organization that sponsored 

the training and of the trainer. 

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-190. 

22VAC40-665-190. Health requirements for caregivers. 

A. Each caregiver must be evaluated by a health 

professional and be issued a statement that the individual is 

determined to be free of communicable tuberculosis (TB). 

[ Such statement shall be submitted no later than 21 days after 

employment or volunteering and shall have been completed 

within 12 months prior to or 21 days after employment or 

volunteering Documentation of the screening shall be 

submitted at the time of employment and prior to coming into 

contact with children. The documentation shall have been 

completed within the last 30 calendar days of the date of 

employment and be signed by a physician, physician's 

designee, or an official of the local health department ]. 

B. Caregivers shall undergo TB screenings at least every 

two years from the date of the initial screening, or more 

frequently if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may 

require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional when there are indications that a 

caregiver's physical or mental health may endanger the 

health, safety, or well-being of children in care.  

D. A caregiver who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 

performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional.  

22VAC40-665-200. Reports. 

A. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as 

soon as practicable, but not to exceed one business day, of the 

following: 
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1. The death of a child while under the vendor's 

supervision; 

2. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

3. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care. 

B. The vendor shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but no more than two business days, of 

any [ serious ] injury to a child while under the vendor's 

supervision [ when a referral is made for treatment from a 

medical professional ]. 

C. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

22VAC40-665-210. Immunizations for children. 

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the 

vendor shall obtain documentation that the child has been 

immunized according to the requirements of subsection A of 

§ 32.1-46 of the Code of Virginia and applicable State Board 

of Health regulations.  

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon 

a conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the 

child's conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the 

child's record. A conditional enrollment means the 

enrollment of a child for a period of 90 days contingent 

upon the child having received at least one dose of each of 

the required vaccines and the child possessing a plan from 

a physician or local health department for completing his 

immunization requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar 

days.  If the child requires more than two doses of the 

hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for 

hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days. 

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not 

have documentation of the required immunizations, the 

vendor may allow the child to attend during a grace period 

of no more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian 

time to obtain documentation of required immunizations. 

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than 

the age of two years.  

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor on the current 

form approved by the Virginia Department of Health 

stating that the administration of immunizing agents 

conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 

practices; or  

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization. 

22VAC40-665-220. General qualifications. 

A. The vendor and any caregivers who are left alone with 

children shall be capable of communicating effectively both 

orally and in writing as applicable to the job responsibility 

and be capable of communicating with emergency personnel. 

B. Caregivers must be at least 16 years of age; however no 

caregiver less than the age of 18 years may [ be alone with 

children or ] administer medication. Caregivers less than the 

age of 18 years shall be under [ sight and sound ] supervision 

of an adult caregiver [ who is present in the home ].  

22VAC40-665-230. Caregiver training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the perspective 

vendor shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child 

Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social Services, 

which shall include the following topics and training 

modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  
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B. Within the first 90 days of employment or service all 

caregivers shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social 

Services, which shall include training on the following topics 

and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

C. All caregivers hired prior to [ (insert the effective date of 

this regulation) October 17, 2018, ] shall complete Virginia 

Preservice Training for Child Care Staff sponsored by the 

Department of Social Services, to include all of the topics 

described in subsection B of this section, within [ (insert date 

90 days from the effective date of this regulation) January 16, 

2019 ]. This training may count for staff annual training 

requirements in subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for caregivers shall be completed on 

the following specific topics prior to the caregiver working 

alone with children and within seven days of the date of 

employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-400 B;  

8. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 

disasters; 

9. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

11. Caregivers who work with children who have food 

allergies shall receive training in preventing exposure to 

foods to which the child is allergic, preventing cross 

contamination and recognizing and responding to any 

allergic reactions; and 

12. Transportation. 

E. All caregivers shall have within [ 30 90 ] days of 

employment or 90 days from subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid. However, a caregiver 

who is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a 

current license from the Board of Nursing shall not be 

required to obtain first aid certification. 

During the [ 30-day or ] 90-day period, there must always be 

at least one caregiver with current cardiopulmonary and first 

aid training present during operating hours of the family day 

home.  

F. Caregivers employed prior to [ (insert the effective date 

of this regulation) October 17, 2018, ] must complete CPR 

and first aid training as required by this section within 

[ (insert date 90 days from the effective date of this 

regulation) January 16, 2019 ]. During this 90-day period, 

there must always be at least one caregiver with current 

cardiopulmonary and first aid training present during 

operating hours of the family day home.  

G. CPR and first aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-180 is maintained. 

H. Caregivers who work directly with children shall, in 

addition to preservice and orientation training required in 

subsections A through D of this section, annually attend at 
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least 16 hours of training, [ including to include ] the 

department's health and safety update course. This training 

shall be related to child safety, child development, health and 

safety in the family day home environment, and any required 

department sponsored training.  

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

caregiver who has satisfactorily completed a training program 

for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing and 

taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a caregiver who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The vendor may determine by policy what medications, if 

any, will be administered at its family day home, including 

prescription medications or over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medications.  

J. Caregivers required to have the training required in 

subsection I of this section shall be retrained at three-year 

intervals.  

22VAC40-665-240. Building or home maintenance. 

A. Areas and equipment of the family day home, inside and 

outside, shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable 

condition. Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked, 

or otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; 

visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of 

any equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, 

bolts, or other components that entangle clothing or skin; the 

presence of poisonous plants; tripping hazards; and unstable 

heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a child could 

pull down on himself.  

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 65°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or 

other cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children, and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of 

a size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Sharp kitchen utensils and other sharp objects shall be 

inaccessible to children unless being used by the caregiver or 

with children under close supervision. 

E. The home shall have an in-service, nonpay telephone. 

F. No equipment, materials, or furnishings shall be used if 

recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 

Commission as being hazardous. 

G. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, 

fireplaces, portable electric heaters, and similar heating 

devices located in areas accessible to children shall have 

barriers or screens and be located at least three feet from 

combustible materials. 

H. Unvented fuel burning heaters, such as portable oil-

burning (kerosene) heaters; portable, unvented liquid or gas 

fueled heaters; and unvented fireplaces, shall not be used 

when children are in care.  

I. Wood burning stoves and fireplaces and associated 

chimneys, if used, shall be inspected annually by a 

knowledgeable inspector to verify that the devices are 

properly installed, maintained, and cleaned as needed. 

Documentation of the inspection and cleaning shall be 

maintained by the vendor. 

J. All flammable and combustible materials, including 

matches, lighters, lighter fluid, kerosene, turpentine, oil and 

grease products, aerosol cans, and alcohol, shall be stored in 

an area inaccessible to children.  

K. Stairs shall not be accessible to children less than two 

years of age and children older than two years of age who are 

not developmentally ready to climb or descend stairs without 

supervision. 

L. Stairs with three or more risers that do not have protective 

barriers or guardrails on each side shall not be accessible to 

children over the age of two years. 

M. Decks, porches, lofts, or balconies that do not have 

protective barriers or guardrails shall not be accessible to 

children.  

N. Windows and doors used for ventilation shall be securely 

screened. 

O. Machinery in operation, such as lawnmowers and power 

tools shall be inaccessible to the children in care.  

22VAC40-665-250. Hazardous substances and other 

harmful agents. 

A. Potentially poisonous substances, materials, and supplies 

such as, but not limited to, cleaning agents, disinfectants, 

deodorizers, plant care chemicals, pesticides, and petroleum 

distillates shall be stored away from food in areas inaccessible 

to children. 

B. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils or single-service articles 

and stored separately from food. 

C. If hazardous substances are not kept in original 

containers, the substitute container shall clearly indicate their 

contents. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that:  

1. No person smokes or uses an electronic smoking device:  
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a. Indoors while children are in care,  

b. In a vehicle when children are transported, or  

c. Outdoors in an area occupied by children. 

2. No caregiver is under the effects of medication that 

impairs functioning, alcohol, or illegal drugs. 

22VAC40-665-260. Bathroom area and furnishings. 

A. Each bathroom area provided for children shall:  

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the home used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F; and 

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable 

towels or an air dryer within reach of the children. 

B. There shall be a toilet chair or an adult-sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat available to a child being 

toilet trained.  

[ C. School age children of the opposite sex shall not use the 

same bathroom at the same time. ]  

22VAC40-665-270. Play areas. 

A. The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high, such as a 

fence or impenetrable hedge, shall surround outdoor play 

areas located within 30 feet of hazards including lakes, ponds, 

railroad tracks, and streets with speed limits in excess of 25 

miles per hour or with heavy traffic.  

C. Stationary outdoor playground equipment shall not be 

installed over concrete, asphalt, or any other hard surface. 

D. Trampolines shall not be used during the hours children 

are in care.  

22VAC40-665-280. Supervision and ratio requirements. 

A. A caregiver shall be physically present on site and 

provide direct care and supervision of each child at all times. 

Direct care and supervision of each child includes: 

1. Awareness of and responsibility for each child in care, 

including being near enough to intervene if needed; and 

2. Monitoring of each sleeping infant in one of the 

following ways: 

a. By placing each infant for sleep in a location where the 

infant is within sight and hearing of a caregiver; 

b. By in-person observation of each sleeping infant at 

least once every 15 minutes; or 

c. By using a baby monitor. 

B. Caregivers shall actively supervise each child during 

outdoor play to minimize the risk of injury to a child. 

C. A caregiver may allow only school age children to play 

outdoors while the caregiver is indoors if the caregiver can 

hear the children playing outdoors. 

D. No child less than five years of age or a child older than 

five years who lacks the motor skills and strength to avoid 

accidental drowning, scalding, or falling while bathing shall 

be left unattended while in the bathtub. 

E. An additional caregiver will be needed to supervise the 

number of children at a given time when, using the following 

point system, 16 points is [ reached exceeded ]:  

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as 

four points each;  

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age 

count as three points each;  

3. Children from two years through four years of age count 

as two points each;  

4. Children from five years through nine years of age count 

as one point each; and  

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero 

points.  

F. A vendor's own children and resident children under eight 

years of age shall count in point calculations. 

G. In accordance with § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

no family day home shall care for more than four children 

less than the age of two years, including the provider's own 

children and any children who reside in the home, unless the 

family day home is licensed or voluntarily registered. 

22VAC40-665-290. Supervision near water. 

A. Access to the water in aboveground swimming pools 

shall be prevented by locking and securing the ladder in place 

or storing the ladder in a place inaccessible to children. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 

not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 

outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of drowning hazards 

such as, but not limited to, inground swimming or wading 

pools, ponds, or fountains not enclosed by safety fences.  

C. Portable wading pools without integral filter systems 

shall: 

1. Be emptied after use by each group of children, rinsed, 

and filled with clean water, or more frequently as 

necessary; and 

2. When not in use during the vendor's hours of operation, 

be emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to keep them 

clean and dry. 
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D. Portable wading pools shall not be used by children who 

are not toilet trained.  

E. Hot tubs, spas, and whirlpools shall: 

1. Not be used by children in care, and 

2. Covered with safety covers while children are in care. 

F. The level of supervision by caregivers required and the 

point system as outlined in 22VAC40-665-280 shall be 

maintained while the children are participating in swimming 

or wading activities. 

G. Caregivers shall have a system for accounting for all 

children in the water.  

H. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 

daylight hours. 

I. When one or more children are in water that is more than 

two feet deep in a pool, lake, or other swimming area on or 

off the premises of the family day home: 

1. A minimum of least two caregivers shall be present and 

able to supervise the children; and 

2. An individual currently certified in basic water rescue, 

community water safety, water safety instruction, or 

lifeguarding shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 

22VAC40-665-300. Daily activities. 

A. Infants and toddlers shall be provided with opportunities 

to: 

1. Interact with caregivers and other children in the home 

in order to stimulate language development; 

2. Play with a wide variety of safe, age-appropriate toys; 

3. Receive individual attention from caregivers including 

holding, cuddling, talking, and reading; and 

4. Reach, grasp, pull up, creep, crawl, and walk to develop 

motor skills. 

B. Infants and toddlers shall spend no more than 30 

continuous minutes during waking hours, with the exception 

of mealtimes, confined in a crib, play pen, high chair, or other 

confining piece of equipment. The intervening time period 

between such confinements shall be at least one hour. 

C. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or 

napping unless otherwise ordered by a written statement 

signed by the child's physician. 

D. An infant, toddler, or preschool child who falls asleep in 

a play space other than his own crib, cot, mat, or bed shall be 

moved promptly to his designated sleeping space if the safety 

or comfort of the infant, toddler, or preschool child is in 

question. 

E. School age children shall be allowed to nap if needed, but 

not forced to do so. 

F. Infants shall be protected from older children.   

22VAC40-665-310. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age 

and stage appropriate, and intended to redirect children to 

appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, caregivers shall 

model desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the 

child and one another to provide needed help, comfort, and 

support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one 

minute for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated 

place and within sight and sound of a caregiver; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the 

home while separated from the group.  

22VAC40-665-320. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an 

uncomfortable position, or using exercise as a punishment 

[ .; ] 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that 

the child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not 

apply to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, 

high chairs, and safety gates when used for their intended 

purpose with children preschool age or younger [ .; ]  

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 
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7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances.  

22VAC40-665-330. Parental involvement and 

notifications. 

A. The caregiver shall notify the parent immediately if a 

child is lost, requires emergency medical treatment, sustains a 

serious injury, or dies.  

B. The caregiver shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries.  

C. The caregiver shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day 

of occurrence. The record shall include the following:  

1. Date and time of injury;  

2. Name of injured child;  

3. Type and circumstance of the injury;  

4. Caregiver present and treatment;  

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and 

6. Caregiver and parent signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion of [ the 

prohibited any ] food [ identified in the written care plan 

required in 22VAC40-665-170 B 12 ] even if a reaction did 

not occur. 

E. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan.  

F. Caregivers shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

G. Caregivers shall provide information weekly to parents 

about the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, 

or needs. 

H. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

I. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the care of the vendor, pursuant to § 63.2-1813 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

J. When children at the family day home have been exposed 

to a communicable disease listed in the Department of 

Health's current communicable disease chart, the parents shall 

be notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the 

vendor's having been informed unless forbidden by law. 

Children's exposure to life threatening diseases shall be 

reported to parents immediately.   

22VAC40-665-340. Furnishings, equipment, and 

materials. 

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment used for child care 

shall be age and stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in 

length shall be kept out of reach of children less than three 

years of age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are 

used, they shall be individually assigned. 

D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. If play yards, portable cribs, or mesh-sided cribs are used 

for sleeping or napping, they shall meet the requirements of 

subsections H through L of this section. 

F. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 12 

months of age and for children 12 months of age or older who 

are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest mat, or 

bed during the designated rest periods and shall not be 

occupied by more than one child at a time. 

G. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 12 

months of age or older and shall not be occupied by more 

than one child at a time.  

H. Full-size cribs shall:  

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR [ Parts Part ] 1219 [ , 1220 and 1500 ]). 

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than two years of age while sleeping or resting, including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 

as electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between 

occupied cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats.  

M. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib 

gyms that are strung across the crib may not be used for 

infants older than five months of age or infants who are able 

to push up on their hands and knees. 

N. Crib sides shall always be up and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 

O. Use of double-deck cribs is prohibited.  
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22VAC40-665-350. Bedding and linens for use while 

sleeping or resting. 

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use 

and covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material that can be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-360. Preventing the spread of disease. 

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the family day 

home for the day if he has:  

1. A temperature over 101°F;  

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease. 

B. If all children in care are from a single family unit, the 

caregiver may choose not to exclude a child who is ill.  

C. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply:  

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

family day home as soon as possible after the signs or 

symptoms are observed; and  

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the family day home.  

D. When any surface has been contaminated with body 

fluids, it shall be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-370. Hand washing and toileting 

procedures. 

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply:  

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks.  

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine.  

3. Caregivers shall wash their hands with soap and running 

water before and after helping a child use the toilet or 

changing a diaper, after the caregiver uses the toilet, after 

any contact with body fluids, before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages.  

4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used.  

B. A child shall not be left unattended on a changing table 

during diapering.  

C. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery. 

D. During each diaper change or after toileting accidents, 

the child's genital area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a 

moist disposable wipe or a moist, clean individually assigned 

cloth if the child is allergic to disposable wipes. 

E. The diapering surface shall be: 

1. Separate from the kitchen, food preparation areas, or 

surfaces used for children's activities; 

2. Nonabsorbent and washable; and 

3. Cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

F. Soiled disposable diapers and wipes shall be disposed of 

in a leak-proof or plastic-lined storage system that is either 

foot operated or used in such a way that neither the 

caregiver's hand nor the soiled diaper or wipe touches the 

exterior surface of the storage system during disposal. 

G. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof 

storage system as specified in subsection F of this section 

shall be used. 

H. Children five years of age and older shall be permitted 

privacy when toileting. 

I. Caregivers shall respond promptly to a child's request for 

toileting assistance. 

J. Toilet chairs, when used, shall be emptied promptly, 

cleaned, and sanitized after each use.  

22VAC40-665-380. General requirements for medication 

administration. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medications shall be 

given to a child: 

1. According to the home's written medication policies, 

and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. The vendor may administer prescription medication that 

would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to a 

child provided:  

1. The medication is administered by a caregiver who 

meets the requirements of 22VAC40-665-230 I and J; 

2. The caregiver administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The caregiver administers drugs only to the child 

identified on the prescription label in accordance with the 

prescriber's instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, 

and manner of administration. 
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C. The vendor may administer nonprescription medication 

provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a caregiver 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's 

direction label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

D. Nonprescription medication shall not be used beyond the 

expiration date of the product.  

E. Medications for children in care shall be stored separately 

from medications for household members and caregivers. 

F. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

G. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 

the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 

clearly defined area away from food. 

H. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and medications for caregivers and household 

members, shall be kept in a locked place using a safe locking 

method that prevents access by children. If a key is used, the 

key shall be inaccessible to the children. 

I. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given children, which shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was 

administered;  

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the 

child;  

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 

the child; 

4. Name of the caregiver administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication error.  

22VAC40-665-390. First aid and emergency supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 

day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 

vehicles used for transportation, and wherever children are in 

care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum:  

a. Scissors;  

b. Tweezers;  

c. Gauze pads;  

d. Adhesive tape;  

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes;  

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads;  

g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent.  

B. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required:  

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and  

2. One working, battery-operated radio.  

22VAC40-665-400. Procedures for emergencies. 

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses caregiver responsibility and home 

readiness with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, 

lockdown, and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall 

address the most likely to occur emergency scenarios, 

including fire, severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, loss of 

utilities, earthquakes, intruders, violence on or near the 

premises, chemical spills, and facility damage or other 

situations that may require evacuation, lockdown, or shelter-

in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain 

procedural components for:  

1. Sounding of alarms (evacuation, intruder, shelter-in-

place such as for tornado or chemical hazard);  

2. Emergency communication to include:  

a. Notification of local authorities (fire and rescue, law 

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison 

control, health department, etc.), parents, and local 

media; and  

b. Availability and primary use of communication 

equipment;  

3. Evacuation and relocation procedures, including:  

a. Assembly points, designated relocation site, head 

counts, primary and secondary means of egress, and 

complete evacuation of the buildings;  

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing of essential documents (attendance record, 

parent contact information, etc.) and special health care 

supplies to be carried off site on immediate notice;  

d. Method of communication after the evacuation; and  
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e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child [ .; ]  

4. Shelter-in-place, including:  

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, head 

counts, and primary and secondary means of access and 

egress;  

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing essential documents (attendance record, 

parent contact information, etc.) and special health 

supplies to be carried into the designated assembly 

points;  

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place; 

and  

e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child [ .; ] 

5. Lockdown procedures, including: 

a. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the family day home and designated 

lockdown locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or 

authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the 

child [ .; ] 

6. Caregiver training requirements, drill frequency, and 

plan review and update; and 

7. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

C. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and 

emergency medical services and the number of the regional 

poison control center shall be posted in a visible and 

conspicuous place. 

22VAC40-665-410. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced as 

follows: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least 

monthly;  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least 

annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts.  

22VAC40-665-420. Nutrition and food services. 

A. Vendors shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or 

meals, or both, depending on the hours of operation and time 

of the day.  

B. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children.  

C. When meals or snacks are provided by the vendor, the 

following shall apply:  

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and in sufficient portions.  

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be 

offered foods that are considered to be potential choking 

hazards.  

D. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply:  

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner;  

2. The vendor shall have extra food or provisions to obtain 

food to serve to children so they can have an appropriate 

snack or meal if they forget to bring food from home, bring 

an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable food; and  

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by 

the end of the day or returned to the parent.  

E. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned and sanitized 

daily and before and after each use for feeding.  

F. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

G. When food is prepared to which a child is allergic, the 

caregiver shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in 

order to prevent an allergic reaction. 

H. [ Caregivers shall not serve prohibited food to a child. A 

child with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served any 

food identified in the written care plan required in 22VAC40-

665-170 B 12. ]  

22VAC40-665-430. Special feeding needs. 

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed.  
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B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely.  

C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location.  

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions.  

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in 

care.  

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children. 

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave.  

H. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same 

day, provided that the food is not served out of the baby food 

jar and is labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in 

the refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to 

the parent at the end of the day. Formula or breast milk shall 

not remain unrefrigerated for more than two hours and may 

not be reheated.  

I. Caregivers shall feed semisolid food with a spoon unless 

written instructions from a physician or physician's designee 

state differently. 

22VAC40-665-440. Transportation and field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for the care of the child from the time the child 

boards the vehicle until returned to the parent or person 

designated by the parent.  

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a 

valid driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area;  

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;  

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by 

§ 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and  

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met.  

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children:  

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated 

maximum number of passengers in a given vehicle is not 

exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle;  

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;  

4. At least one caregiver or the driver always remains in 

the vehicle when children are present;  

5. The caregiver has a list of the names of the children 

being transported;  

6. The caregiver has a copy of each child's emergency 

contact information; and 

7. An allergy care plan and information as specified in 

22VAC40-665-170 B 12 shall be carried. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway.  

F. Caregivers shall verify that all children have been 

removed from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

22VAC40-665-450. Animals and pets. 

A. Animals shall not be allowed on any surfaces where food 

is prepared or served.  

B. A pet or animal present at the home, indoors or outdoors, 

shall be in good health and show no evidence of carrying any 

disease. 

C. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be vaccinated for 

rabies and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, or worms as 

needed.  

D. The vendor shall maintain documentation of the current 

rabies vaccination for dogs and cats.  

E. Caregiver shall closely supervise children when children 

are exposed to animals.  

F. Children shall be instructed on safe procedures to follow 

when in close proximity to animals, for example, not to 

provoke or startle them or remove their food.  

G. Monkeys, ferrets, reptiles, psittacine birds (birds of the 

parrot family), or wild or dangerous animals shall not be in 

areas accessible to children during the hours children are in 

care. 

H. Animal litter boxes, toys, food dishes, and water dishes 

shall be inaccessible to children.  
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22VAC40-665-460. Evening and overnight care. 

A. Caregivers shall remain awake until all children are 

asleep and shall sleep on the same floor level as the children 

in care.  

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who 

sleep longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in 

cribs.  

C. For overnight, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

two inches of dense padding shall be used by children who 

are not required to sleep in cribs.  

D. In addition to requirements in 22VAC40-665-350 about 

linens, bedding appropriate to the temperature and other 

conditions of the rest area shall be provided.  

E. When children are six years of age or older, boys and 

girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided.  

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use.  

H. Quiet activities shall be available immediately before 

bedtime.  

Part III 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Child Day 

Centers 

22VAC40-665-470. Definitions; subsidy program 

requirements for child day center vendors. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Age groups":  

1. "Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months. 

2. "Toddler" means a child from 16 months up to two 

years. 

3. "Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age 

of eligibility to attend public school, five years by 

September 30. 

4. "School age" means a child eligible to attend public 

school, age five or older by September 30 of that same 

year. Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a 

group of school children may be considered school age 

during the summer months if the children will be entering 

kindergarten that year. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Center" means a child day center. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) 

two or more children less than 13 years of age in a facility 

that is not the residence of the provider or of any of the 

children in care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up");  

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations;  

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital;  

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence 

that is a public or private place not designed for, or 

ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for 

human beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition. 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child 

with a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 

et seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who 

is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 

of 1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 
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specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or 

facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body 

fluid or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary 

agent (such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object 

(such as a table surface). Some communicable diseases are 

reportable to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services, acting as the 

authorized agent of the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Group size" means the number of children assigned to a 

staff member or team of staff members occupying an 

individual room or area. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat and access within and to the center is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription.  This includes herbal remedies and vitamins and 

mineral supplements. 

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis.  

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove 

bacteria and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first 

cleaning and secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of 

bleach mixed with one gallon of water and prepared fresh 

daily or using a sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. The surface of the item is 

sprayed or dipped into the sanitizing solution and then 

allowed to air dry for a minimum of two minutes or according 

to the sanitizing solution instructions.  

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service 

personnel, including the vendor when the vendor is an 

individual who works in the center, any persons counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios, or any persons working with a 

child without sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

by all vendors before child care payments paid to the vendor 

under the Child Care Subsidy Program can be authorized.  

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided to the center; 

2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member 

when working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements. 

22VAC40-665-480. (Reserved.) 

22VAC40-665-490. Purpose and applicability. 

The standards in this part apply to child day centers that are 

applying to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

The purpose of these standards is to protect children who are 

less than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or are 

under court supervision and who are separated from their 

parents during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

centers participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program 

are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children 

in the child care environment.  
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22VAC40-665-500. Operational responsibilities. 

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1725 of the Code of Virginia, the 

vendor shall ensure that the applicant and any staff who is or 

will be involved in the day-to-day operations of the center or 

is or will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or 

more of the children [ shall not be guilty of an offense, as 

defined in § 63.2-1719 (i) has not been convicted of any 

barrier crime as defined in § 19.2-392.02 ] of the Code of 

Virginia [ and (ii) is not the subject of a founded complaint of 

child abuse or neglect within or outside the Commonwealth ].  

C. The vendor shall ensure that the center does not exceed 

the capacity of children cared for as allowed by law or 

regulation. 

D. When at least one child receives care for compensation, 

all children who are in care and supervision count in the 

capacity of children being cared for. When children 13 years 

or older are enrolled in the program and receive supervision 

in the program, they shall be counted in the number of 

children receiving care, and the vendor shall comply with the 

standards in this part for these children. 

E. The vendor shall inform all staff who work with children 

of children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions.  

F. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to 

all staff who work with children, a current written list of all 

children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This 

list shall be dated and kept confidential in each room or area 

where children are present. 

G. Religious exempt child day centers that are exempt from 

licensure in accordance with § 63.2-1716 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be in compliance with all requirements of 

§ 63.2-1716.  

22VAC40-665-510. General recordkeeping; reports. 

A. Staff records and children's information shall be treated 

confidentially. 

B. For each group of children, the vendor shall maintain a 

written hard copy record of daily attendance that documents 

the arrival and departure of each child in care as it occurs. 

C. Records, reports, and information required by this part 

may be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained and made accessible to 

department representatives for five years after termination of 

services or separation from employment unless specified 

otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-520. Children's records. 

A. The vendor shall maintain and keep at the center a record 

for each enrolled child, which shall be made accessible to the 

department's representative upon request. 

B. The child's record shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

3. Name, address, and telephone number for each custodial 

parent's place of employment or school attendance, if 

applicable; 

4. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency and the parent cannot be reached; 

5. Information on allergies, including food allergies, 

intolerances to food, medication, or other substances, and 

actions to be taken in an emergency situation; information 

on other physical problems; pertinent developmental 

information; and any special accommodations needed, if 

applicable; 

6. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who 

are authorized to pick up the child; 

7. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records 

within 90 days of enrollment; 

8. Written authorization for emergency medical care 

should an emergency occur and the parent cannot be 

located immediately unless the parent presents a written 

objection for the provision of medical treatment on 

religious or other grounds; 

9. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor administers 

medication; 

10. Special care instructions, including recommendations 

for the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

11. A written allergy care plan for each child with a 

diagnosed food allergy, to include instructions from a 

physician regarding the food to which the child is allergic 

and steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or 

confirmed allergic reaction; 

12. Proof of a child's identity and age as stated in § 63.2-

1809 of the Code of Virginia; 

13. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 
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14. Permission for field trips; 

15. Permission for swimming or wading activities to 

include a parent's statement of the child's swimming 

ability, if applicable;  

16. A written statement that the vendor will notify the 

parent when the child becomes ill and that the parent will 

arrange to have the child picked up as soon as possible if 

so requested by the vendor;  

17. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

18. Documentation of the enrollment of a child 

experiencing homelessness enrolled under provisions of 

22VAC40-665-560 A 2. 

22VAC40-665-530. Staff records. 

The following records shall be kept for each staff person: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating:  

(1) Satisfactory results of the [ Virginia State Police 

name search for criminal history fingerprint-based 

national criminal background check ]; and 

(2) Satisfactory results of the [ Virginia ] Child 

Protective Services Central Registry check. 

b. [ Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. ] The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges within the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

c. The vendor shall have documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service. [ However, the vendor shall not be deemed to be 

in violation of this section if documentation is maintained 

that the checks were submitted within the first seven days 

of employment or service and the results are not 

available due to an administrative delay beyond the 

vendor's control. ]  

d. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every [ three five ] years.  

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications of first aid and cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the staff member. 

5. Documentation that training required in 22VAC-665-

580 has been completed, including the date completed, the 

total hours of the session, and the names of the trainer and 

of any sponsoring organization.  

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-540. 

22VAC40-665-540. Health requirements for staff. 

A. Staff shall be evaluated by a health professional and be 

issued a statement that the individual is determined to be free 

of communicable tuberculosis (TB). [ Such statement shall be 

submitted not later than 21 days after employment or 

volunteering and shall have been completed within 12 months 

prior to or 21 days after employment or volunteering 

Documentation of the screening shall be submitted at the time 

of employment and prior to coming into contact with 

children. The documentation shall have been completed 

within the last 30 calendar days of the date of employment 

and be signed by a physician, physician's designee, or an 

official of the local health department ].  

B. Subsequent TB screenings are required at least every two 

years from the date of the initial screening, or more frequently 

if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may 

require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional if there are indications that a staff 

member’s physical or mental health may endanger the health, 

safety, or well-being of children in care. 

D. A staff who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 

performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional.  

22VAC40-665-550. Reports. 

Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows: 

1. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as 

soon as practicable, but not more than one business day, of 

the following: 
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a. The death of a child while under the vendor's 

supervision; 

b. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

c. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care. 

2. The vendor shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but not more than two business 

days, of any [ serious ] injury to a child while under the 

vendor's supervision [ when a referral is made for 

treatment from a medical professional ]. 

3. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

22VAC40-665-560. Immunizations for children. 

A. The vendor shall obtain documentation that each child 

has received the immunizations required by the State Board 

of Health before the child can attend the center. 

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon 

a conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the 

child's conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the 

child's record.  

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a child 

for a period of 90 days contingent upon the child having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines 

and the child possessing a plan from a physician or local 

health department for completing his immunization 

requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the 

child requires more than two doses of the hepatitis B 

vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B 

vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days.  

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not 

have documentation of the required immunizations, the 

vendor may allow the child to attend during a grace period 

of no more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian 

time to obtain documentation of the required 

immunizations.  

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than 

two years of age. 

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor, on the form 

entitled "Certification of Religious Exemption," stating 

that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with 

the parent's or child's religious tenets or practices, or  

2. A physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of 

the required immunizations may be detrimental to the 

child's health, indicating the specific nature and probable 

duration of the medical condition or circumstance that 

contraindicates immunization.  

22VAC40-665-570. General qualifications. 

A. The vendor must be at least 18 years of age.  

B. The vendor, and any staff who are left alone with 

children, shall be capable of communicating effectively both 

orally and in writing as applicable to the job responsibility 

and be capable of communicating with emergency personnel. 

C. Staff must be at least 16 years of age; however no staff 

person less than 18 years of age may [ be alone with children 

or ] administer medication.  

1. Staff members less than 18 years of age shall be under 

[ direct sight and sound ] supervision of an adult staff 

member [ who is present in the facility ].  

2. Adult staff members shall supervise no more than two 

volunteers or staff members less than 18 years of age at 

any given time.  

22VAC40-665-580. Staff training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the vendor or 

designee shall complete the Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff, which shall include training on the 

following topics and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 
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12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or subsidy vendor 

approval all staff who work directly with children shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff, 

which shall include training on the following topics and 

training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 

immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 

contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

C. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed prior to [ (insert the effective date of this 

regulation) October 17, 2018, ] shall complete Virginia 

Preservice Training for Child Care Staff sponsored by the 

Department of Social Services, to include all of the topics 

applicable to new staff, within [ (insert a date 90 days from 

the effective date of this regulation) January 16, 2019 ]. This 

training may count for staff annual training requirements in 

subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for staff shall be completed on the 

following facility specific topics prior to the staff member 

working alone with children and within seven days of the date 

of employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and 

dismissal procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, and medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-770 B;  

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

9. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

10. Staff who work with children that have food allergies 

shall receive training in preventing exposure to foods to 

which the child is allergic, preventing cross contamination, 

and recognizing and responding to any allergic reactions; 

and 

11. Transportation. 

E. All staff who work directly with children shall have 

within [ 30 90 ] days of the date of employment or 90 days 

from subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid. However, staff who is a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 

license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 

obtain first aid certification. 

During the [ 30-day or ] 90-day period, there must always be 

at least one staff with current CPR and first aid training 

present during operating hours of the center.  

F. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed by an approved vendor prior to [ (insert the 

effective date of this regulation) October 17, 2018, ] must 

complete CPR and first aid training as required by this section 

within [ (insert a date 90 days from the effective date of this 

regulation) January 16, 2019 ] . During this 90 days, there 

must always be at least one staff with current CPR and first 

aid training present during operating hours of the center.  

G. CPR and First Aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 
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documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-530 is maintained. 

H. Staff who work directly with children shall, in addition to 

preservice and orientation training required in subsections A 

through D of this section, annually attend at least 16 hours of 

training and staff development activities, [ including to 

include ] the department's health and safety update course. 

Training shall be related to child safety, child development, 

the function of the center, and any required department 

sponsored training. 

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

staff member who has satisfactorily completed a training 

program for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing 

and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a staff member who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The administration of medicines by a vendor may be limited 

by policy to: 

1. Prescription medications; 

2. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

3. No medications.  

J. Staff required to have the training specified in subsection I 

of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

K. There shall be at least one staff on duty who has obtained 

within the last three years instruction in performing a daily 

health observation of children. Daily health observation 

training shall include: 

1. Components of daily health check for children; 

2. Inclusion and exclusion of a child when the child is 

exhibiting symptoms that indicate possible illness; 

3. Description of how diseases are spread and procedures 

and methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

4. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 

the local health department and the website of the Virginia 

Department of Health; and 

5. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation (29 CFR 

1910.1030).  

22VAC40-665-590. Certifications by other agencies; 

requirements prior to initial approval. 

Before approval of a vendor agreement and before use of 

newly constructed, renovated, remodeled, or altered buildings 

or sections or buildings, written documentation of the 

following shall be provided by the vendor to the department 

representative: 

1. Certification by the authority having jurisdiction that 

each building meets building and fire codes or that a plan 

of correction has been approved; and 

2. Certification from the local health department, or 

approval of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements 

for: 

a. Water supply; 

b. Sewage disposal system; and 

c. Food service, if applicable.  

3. Any building that is currently zoned or certified for 

school occupancy and houses a public or private school 

during the school year shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this section when housing 

a center serving only children two and a half years of age 

or older. 

22VAC40-665-600. Certification by other agencies; 

requirements subsequent to initial approval. 

A. The vendor shall provide the department representative 

an annual fire inspection report from the appropriate fire 

official having jurisdiction. If a center is located in a building 

currently housing a public or private school, the school's 

annual fire inspection report shall be accepted. 

B. The vendor shall provide the department representative 

an annual certification from the Health Department, or 

approvals of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements 

for: 

1. Water supply; 

2. Sewage disposal system; and 

3. Food service, if applicable. 

22VAC40-665-610. Building or facility maintenance. 

A. Areas and equipment of the center, inside and outside, 

shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable condition. 

Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked or 

otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; 

visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of 

any equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, 

bolts, or other components that entangle clothing or skin; and 

unstable heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a 

child could pull down on himself. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

369 

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 68°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or 

other cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of 

a size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Building equipment shall include an in-service, nonpay 

telephone.  

22VAC40-665-620. Hazardous substances and other 

harmful agents. 

A. Hazardous substances such as cleaning materials, 

insecticides, and pesticides shall be kept in a locked place 

using a safe locking method that prevents access by children. 

If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to children. 

Cleaning supplies to clean and sanitize the diapering area or 

toilet chairs do not need to be kept locked during diapering or 

toilet training time as long as they are inaccessible to 

children. 

B. Pesticides or insecticides shall not be stored in areas used 

by children or in areas used for food preparation or storage.  

C. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils, or single-use articles 

and shall be stored separate from food. 

D. If hazardous substances are not kept in original 

containers, the substitute container shall clearly indicate its 

contents.  

E. Smoking and the use of electronic smoking devices shall 

be prohibited in the interior of a center, in vehicles when 

children are being transported, and if permitted outside, shall 

be prohibited in the presence of children. 

22VAC40-665-630. Restroom area and furnishings. 

A. The facility shall have at least two toilets and two sinks. 

B. The facility shall have at least one toilet and one sink for 

every 30 children.  

C. Each restroom area provided for children shall:  

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the building used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F;  

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable 

towels or an air dryer within reach of the children; and 

5. A restroom for school age children that contains more 

than one toilet shall have at least one toilet enclosed. 

22VAC40-665-640. Play areas. 

The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards, 

including providing and maintaining sand or other cushioning 

material under playground equipment. The requirements of 

this section shall not prohibit child day center programs 

providing care to school age children at a location that is 

currently approved by the Department of Education or 

recognized as a private school by the State Board of 

Education for school occupancy and that houses a public or 

private school during the school years from permitting school 

age children to use outdoor play equipment and areas 

approved for use by students of the school during school 

hours.  

22VAC40-665-650. Supervision, ratio, and group size 

requirements. 

A. The vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following ratio requirements are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one 

staff member for every four children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: one staff member 

for every five children; 

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children; 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children; 

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public 

school through eight years: one staff member for every 18 

children; and 

6. For children from nine years through 12 years: one staff 

member for every 20 children. 

B. Except during meals or snacks, the designated rest period, 

[ evening and overnight sleep time, ] outdoor 

play, [ transportation and ] field trips, special group activities, 

or during the first and last hour of operation when the vendor 

operates more than six hours per day, the vendor, except 

those exempt from licensure operated by or under the 

auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure that the 

following group size requirements are maintained at all times: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: the 

maximum group size is 12 children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: the maximum 

group size is 15 children; 
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3. For two-year-old children: the maximum group size is 

24 children; and 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: the 

maximum group size is 30 children. 

Group size requirements in this section do not apply to 

children school age eligible through 12 years of age [ or when 

a variance has been granted by the Division of Licensing 

Programs ]. 

C. Facilities operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure shall employ 

supervisory personnel as set forth in § 63.2-1716 of the Code 

of Virginia and shall ensure the following ratio requirements 

are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to two years: one staff member 

for every four children; 

2. For children from two years to six years: one staff 

member for every 10 children; and 

3. For children from six years up to 12 years: one staff 

member for every 25 children.  

D. With the exception of when meals or snacks are served, 

the designated rest period, [ evening and overnight sleep 

time, ] outdoor play, [ transportation ] and field trips, special 

group activities, or during the first and last hour of operation 

when the vendor operates more than six hours per day, 

facilities operated by, or under the auspices, of a religious 

institution and are exempt from licensure shall ensure the 

following group size requirements are maintained at all times: 

1. For children from birth to two years: the maximum 

group size is 12 children;  

2. For children from two years to six years: the maximum 

group size is 30 children; and 

3. For children who are six years up to 12 years of age: 

group size requirements in this section do not apply. 

Vendors operated by, or under the auspices, of a religious 

institution must have a staff member present for each age 

group of children as defined in § 63.2-1716 of the Code of 

Virginia. Example: one staff must be present for any of the 

children age birth to 24 months, an additional staff member 

must be present if any of the children are ages two to six 

years, and a third staff member must be present if any 

children are ages six to 12 years. 

E. The vendor shall develop and implement a written policy 

and procedure that describes how the vendor will ensure that 

each group of children receives care by consistent staff or 

team of staff members. 

F. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children.  

G. When children are in ongoing mixed age groups, the 

staff-to-children ratio and group size applicable to the 

youngest child in the group shall apply to the entire group. 

H. Children less than 10 years of age shall always be within 

actual sight and sound supervision of staff, except that staff 

need only be able to hear a child who is using the restroom 

provided that:  

1. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up a child in care 

do not enter the restroom area while in use by children; and  

2. Staff checks on a child who has not returned from the 

restroom after five minutes. Depending on the location and 

layout of the restroom, staff may need to provide 

intermittent sight supervision of the children in the 

restroom area during this five-minute period to assure the 

safety of children and to provide assistance to children as 

needed.  

I. Children 10 years of age and older shall be within actual 

sight and sound supervision of staff except when the 

following requirements are met:  

1. Staff can hear or see the children (video equipment, 

intercom systems, or other technological devices shall not 

substitute for staff being able to directly see or hear 

children);  

2. Staff are nearby so that they can provide immediate 

intervention if needed;  

3. There is a system to ensure that staff know where the 

children are and what they are doing;  

4. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up children in 

care do not enter the areas where children are not under 

sight supervision; and  

5. Staff provides sight and sound supervision of the 

children at variable and unpredictable intervals not to 

exceed 15 minutes.  

J. When the outdoor activity area is not adjacent to the 

center, there shall be at least two staff members in the outdoor 

activity area whenever one or more children are present.  

K. Staff shall not allow a child to leave the center 

unsupervised.  

L. For vendors operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure, during 

designated rest periods and the designated sleep period of 

evening and overnight care programs, the ratio of staff to 

children over 24 months of age may be double the number of 

children to each staff required by subsection C of this section 

if: 

1. The staff person [ is within sight and sound of shall be 

present in the same space as ] sleeping children; 
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2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and  

3. An additional person is present to help. 

[ Once at least half of the children in the resting room or 

area are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child 

ratio shall meet the ratios as required in subsection C of this 

section. ]  

M. For vendors not operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution, during designated rest periods and the 

designated sleep period of evening and overnight care 

programs, the ratio of staff to children over 16 months of age 

may be double the number of children to each staff required 

by subsection A of this section if: 

1. The staff person [ is within sight and sound shall be 

present in the same space as ] sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present to help. 

[ Once at least half of the children in the resting room or 

area are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child 

ratio shall meet the ratios as required in subsection A of this 

section. ]  

22VAC40-665-660. Supervision near water. 

A. Indoor swimming pools on the center premises shall be 

kept locked when the pool is not in use. Outdoor swimming 

pools located on the center premises shall be enclosed by 

safety fences and gates that are in compliance with the 

applicable edition of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63) and shall be kept locked when 

the pool is not in use. 

B. The staff-to-children ratios required by 22VAC40-665-

650 shall be maintained while children are participating in 

swimming or wading activities.  

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already 

indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff 

members supervising the activity.  

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios. 

C. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth 

of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current 

certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times 

when one or more children are in the water.  

D. The vendor shall have emergency procedures and written 

safety rules for swimming or wading or follow the posted 

rules of public pools that are:  

1. Posted in the swimming area when the pool is located on 

the premises of the center; and  

2. Explained to children participating in swimming or 

wading activities.  

E. Staff shall have a system for accounting for all children in 

the water.  

22VAC40-665-670. Daily activities. 

A. The variety of daily activities for all age groups shall be 

age and stage appropriate and provide opportunities for 

teacher-directed, self-directed, and self-chosen tasks and 

activities, a balance of active and quiet activities, indoor and 

outdoor activities, individual and group activities, and 

curiosity and exploration. 

B. For a child who cannot move without help, staff shall 

offer to change the place and position of the child at least 

every 30 minutes or more frequently depending on the child's 

individual needs. For an awake infant not playing on the floor 

or ground a change in play space shall be provided by staff at 

least every 30 minutes or more often as determined by the 

individual infant's needs. 

C. There shall be a flexible daily schedule for infants based 

on their individual needs. 

D. Infants shall be allowed to sleep when needed. 

1. When an infant is placed in his crib, he shall be placed 

on his back (supine). 

2. When an infant is able to easily turn over from the back 

(supine) to the belly (prone) position and is placed in his 

crib, he shall still be put on his back but allowed to adopt 

whatever position he prefers. This applies unless otherwise 

directed by the infant's physician or health care provider in 

writing. 

3. Resting or sleeping infants shall be individually checked 

every 15 to 20 minutes. 

E. Infants shall be provided comfort when needed. 

F. Staff shall provide frequent opportunities for infants to 

creep, crawl, toddle, and walk. 

G. Infants who cannot turn themselves over and are awake 

shall be placed on their stomachs for at least 30 minutes each 

day to facilitate upper body strength and to address 

misshapen head concerns.  

H. Infants shall be protected from older children.  

22VAC40-665-680. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature and 

age and stage appropriate and shall be intended to redirect 

children to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, staff shall 
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model desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the 

child and one another to provide needed help, comfort, 

support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one 

minute for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated 

place and within sight and sound of staff; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the 

center while separated from the group.  

22VAC40-665-690. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an 

uncomfortable position, or using exercise as a punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that 

the child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not 

apply to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, 

high chairs, and safety gates when used for their intended 

purpose with children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances.  

22VAC40-665-700. Parental involvement and 

notifications. 

A. The vendor shall notify the parent immediately if a child 

is lost, requires emergency medical treatment or sustains a 

serious injury, or dies.  

B. The vendor shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries.  

C. The vendor shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day 

of occurrence. The record shall include the following:  

1. Date and time of injury;  

2. Name of injured child;  

3. Type and circumstance of the injury;  

4. Staff present and treatment;  

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and  

6. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion [ of ] or contact 

with [ prohibited any ] food [ identified in the written care 

plan required in 22VAC40-665-520 B 11 ] even if a reaction 

did not occur. 

E. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

F. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in writing 

information on their child's behavior, development, 

adjustment, and needs. This requirement does not apply to 

programs that operate 12 weeks or less a year. 

G. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

H. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the child day program, in accordance with § 63.2-

1813 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. When children at the center have been exposed to a 

communicable disease listed in the Department of Health's 

current communicable disease chart, the parents shall be 

notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the 

vendor having been informed unless forbidden by law. 

Children's exposure to life threatening diseases shall be 

reported to parents immediately. 

J. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan.  

22VAC40-665-710. Furnishings, equipment, and 

materials. 

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment shall be age and 

stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in 

length shall be kept out of reach of children less than three 

years of age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are 

used, they shall be individually assigned. 
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D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. Play yards and portable cribs where used shall meet the 

Juvenile Products Manufacturers Association (JPMA) and the 

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 

requirements and shall not be used after recalled.  

F. Cribs, cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for 

children during the designated rest periods and shall not be 

occupied by more than one child at a time.  

1. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 

12 months of age and for children older than 12 months of 

age who are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, 

rest mat, or bed during the designated rest periods. 

2. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 

older than 12 months of age. 

G. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between 

occupied cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats.  

H. Full-size cribs shall:  

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR [ Parts Part ] 1219 [ , 1220, and 

1500 ]).  

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than 12 months of age while sleeping or resting including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such 

as electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib 

gyms that are strung across the crib may not be used for 

infants older than five months of age or infants who are able 

to push up on their hands and knees. 

M. Crib sides shall always be up, and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 

N. Double decker cribs shall not be used.  

22VAC40-665-720. Bedding and linens for use while 

sleeping or resting. 

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use 

and covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material which can be cleaned and sanitized.  

22VAC40-665-730. Preventing the spread of disease. 

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the center for the 

day if he has:  

1. A temperature over 101°F;  

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease.  

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply:  

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

center as soon as possible after the signs or symptoms are 

observed; and  

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the center.  

C. When any surface has been contaminated with body 

fluids, it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-740. Hand washing and toileting 

procedures. 

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply.  

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks.  

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine.  

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water 

before and after helping a child use the toilet or changing a 

diaper, after the staff member uses the toilet, after any 

contact with body fluids, and before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages.  

4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used.  

B. Diapering requirements are as follows:  

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the 

building used by children.  

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all 

children when a child is being diapered.  

3. The diapering area shall have:  

a. Access to a sink with running warm water not to 

exceed 120°F;  

b. Soap, disposable towels, and single-use gloves such as 

surgical or examination gloves;  

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall 

be used. For children younger than three years, this 
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surface shall be a changing table or countertop 

designated for changing; 

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by 

subdivision 6 of this subsection; and  

e. A leak-proof covered receptacle for soiled linens.  

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery.  

5. Disposable diapers shall be used unless the child's skin 

reacts adversely to disposable diapers.  

6. Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leak-proof or 

plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or 

used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor 

the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage 

system during disposal.  

7. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof 

storage system as specified in subdivision 6 of this 

subsection shall be used.  

8. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering or 

cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at 

least room temperature water and sanitized after each use. 

Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be 

used for changing diapers. Individual disposable barriers 

may be used between each diaper change. If the changing 

surface becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and 

sanitized before another child is diapered.  

9. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child during 

diapering.  

C. For every 10 children in the process of being toilet 

trained, there shall be at least one toilet chair or one child-

sized toilet, or at least one adult sized toilet with a platform or 

steps and adapter seat.  

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and 

sound supervision of children in the classroom if necessary 

for the required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained.  

2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and 

sanitized after each use.  

22VAC40-665-750. General requirements for medication 

administration. 

A. The vendor may administer prescription medication to a 

child with written permission of the parent, provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a staff who meets the 

requirements of 22VAC40-665-580 I and J; 

2. The staff administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The staff administers drugs only to the child identified 

on the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's 

instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of 

administration. 

B. The vendor may administer over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medication to a child with written permission 

from the parent, provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a staff 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's 

direction label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

C. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

D. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a 

locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access 

by children. 

E. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given to children, which shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was 

administered; 

2. Amount and name of medication administered to the 

child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to 

the child;  

4. Name of staff administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reaction; and  

6. Any medication error. 

22VAC40-665-760. First aid and emergency supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be on each floor 

of each building used by children, accessible to outdoor play 

areas, on field trips, in vehicles used for transportation, and 

wherever children are in care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum:  

a. Scissors;  

b. Tweezers;  

c. Gauze pads;  

d. Adhesive tape;  

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes;  

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads;  
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g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent.  

B. Each first aid kit shall be easily accessible to staff but not 

to children. 

C. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required:  

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and  

2. One working, battery-operated radio.  

22VAC40-665-770. Procedures for emergencies. 

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses staff responsibility and facility readiness 

with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, lockdown 

and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall address the 

most likely to occur emergency scenarios, including severe 

storms, loss of utilities, natural disaster, chemical spills, 

intruder, and violence on or near the facility, and facility 

damage or other situations that may require evacuation, 

lockdown, or shelter-in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain 

procedural components for:  

1. Evacuation procedures, including:  

a. Scenario applicability;  

b. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

c. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 

building; 

d. Designated assembly points away from the building; 

e. Designated relocation site; 

f. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 

building, and if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

g. Methods to account for all children at the assembly 

point and relocation site; 

h. Method of communication with parents after the 

evacuation or relocation;  

i. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

j. Method to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, attendance records, 

medications, and supplies are taken to the assembly point 

and relocation site; and 

k. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures, including:  

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, primary 

and secondary means of access and egress;  

b. Method to account for all children at the safe 

locations; 

c. Method to ensure essential documents (attendance 

records, emergency contact information, etc.) and special 

health supplies are carried into the designated assembly 

points;  

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place;  

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during shelter-in-place; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

3. Lockdown procedures, to include facility containment, 

including: 

a. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the facility and designated 

lockdown locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child.  

4. Staff training requirements, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update. 

5. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

6. Other special procedures developed with local 

authorities.  

C. Emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place procedures or 

maps shall be posted in a location conspicuous to staff and 

children on each floor of each building.  

D. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and 

emergency medical services and the number of the regional 

poison control center shall be posted in a visible and 

conspicuous place.  

E. The vendor shall ensure that all staff receives training 

regarding emergency evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, 
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and lockdown procedures on an annual basis and at the end of 

each plan update. 

F. The vendor shall ensure that the emergency plans are 

reviewed with any volunteers who work more than six hours 

per week prior to volunteering and on an annual basis.  

22VAC40-665-780. Emergency response drills. 

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced, at a 

minimum: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least 

monthly;  

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least 

annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts.  

22VAC40-665-790. Nutrition and food services. 

A. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children. 

B. When vendors provide meals or snacks, the following 

shall apply: 

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and sufficient portions.  

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be 

offered foods that are considered to be potential choking 

hazards.  

C. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply:  

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner;  

2. The vendor shall have extra food or shall have 

provisions to obtain food to serve to children so that they 

can have an appropriate snack or meal if they forget to 

bring food from home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, 

or bring perishable food; and  

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by 

the end of the day or returned to the parent.  

D. Food shall be prepared, stored, transported, and served in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

E. When food is prepared to which a child in care is allergic, 

staff shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in order to 

prevent an allergic reaction. 

F. [ Staff shall not serve prohibited food to a child A child 

with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served any food 

identified in the written care plan required in 22VAC40-665-

520 B 11 ]. 

G. Tables and high chair trays shall be sanitized before and 

after each use for feeding and cleaned at least daily.  

22VAC40-665-800. Special feeding needs. 

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed.  

B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely.  

C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location.  

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions.  

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in 

care.  

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children.  

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave. 

H. Formula or breast milk shall not remain unrefrigerated 

for more than two hours and may not be reheated.  

I. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same 

day, provided that the food is not served out of the baby jar 

and is labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in the 

refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to the 

parent at the end of the day.  

22VAC40-665-810. Transportation and field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for care of the child from the time the child 

boards the vehicle until returned to the parent or person 

designated by the parent.  

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a 

valid driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements:  

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area;  

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;  

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by 

§ 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia;  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

377 

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and  

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met.  

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated 

maximum number of passengers in a given vehicle is not 

exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle;  

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;  

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains 

in the vehicle when children are present; and 

5. Staff has a list of the names of the children being 

transported and allergy care plans, if necessary. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway.  

F. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or 

other designated safe crossing points if no corner or 

crosswalk is available.  

G. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed 

from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

22VAC40-665-820. Animals and pets. 

Animals that are kept on the premises of the center shall be 

vaccinated, if applicable, against diseases that present a 

hazard to the health or safety of children.  

22VAC40-665-830. Evening and overnight care. 

A. All supervision requirements apply during evening and 

overnight care. 

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who 

sleep longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in 

cribs.  

C. For overnight care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least two inches of dense padding shall be used by children 

who are not required to sleep in cribs.  

D. In addition to 22VAC40-665-720 about linens, bedding 

appropriate to the temperature and other conditions of the rest 

area shall be provided.  

E. When children are eight years of age or older, boys and 

girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided.  

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use. 

H. For children in evening and overnight care, quiet 

activities and experiences shall be available immediately 

before bedtime.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC40-665) 

[ Child Care Subsidy Program Child Care Center Vendor 

Agreement, 032-12-0047-01 (rev. 12/2017) 

Child Care Subsidy Program Family Day Home Vendor 

Agreement, 032-12-0046-00 (rev. 12/2017) ]  

Commonwealth of Virginia Certificate of Religious 

Exemption, Form CRE-1 (rev. 1992) 

Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form, 

MCH 213G (rev. 3/2014) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC40-665) 

Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for 

Virginia FFY 2016-2018, effective October 1, 2015 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4602; Filed August 29, 2018, 9:38 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-910. General Provisions for 

Maintaining and Disclosing Confidential Information of 

Public Assistance, Child Support Enforcement, and Social 

Services Record (amending 22VAC40-910-20, 22VAC40-

910-90, 22VAC40-910-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2018. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Eleanor Brown, Senior Research Associate, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7076, FAX (804) 

726-7946, or email eleanor.brown@dss.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6def2004602~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6def2004602~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b031a004602~4m.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b031a004602~4m.pdf&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f581e004602~1&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f581e004602~1&typ=40&actno=004602&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 17, 2018 

378 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

State Board of Social Services the responsibility to make 

rules and regulations to carry out the purposes of social 

services programs. Sections 63.2-102 through 63.2-105 of the 

Code of Virginia pertain to confidentiality of public 

assistance and social services records and information. 

Purpose: The language has been amended to delete or update 

references to regulations that have been repealed or 

renumbered. The goal of amending the regulation is to update 

and clarify it for the agency and the welfare of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action merely cleans up and streamlines the 

existing regulation. These are minor changes that will not 

alter the intent or requirements of the regulation. Therefore, it 

is not anticipated to be controversial. 

Substance: Amendments include (i) removing a condition 

under which client information can be disclosed that is 

redundant and found elsewhere in the same regulation; (ii) 

clarifying when nonidentifying statistical information about 

clients can be released; (iii) deleting regulatory provisions 

under 22VAC40-910-90 that refer to repealed regulations; 

and (iv) updating a reference to a regulation. 

Issues: These changes pose no disadvantage to the public, 

agency, or Commonwealth. The advantage to all parties of the 

proposed changes to the wording is making the regulation 

easier to comprehend. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track rulemaking action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to: 1) add 

clarifying language, 2) delete redundant text and provisions 

that refer to repealed regulations, and 3) update a reference to 

a regulation that was renumbered. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. None of the proposed 

amendments affect rules or requirements. The changes may 

be beneficial nonetheless in that the rules and requirements 

may become clearer to the reader. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition.  

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small 

business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify existing language, (ii) delete a 

citation to repealed regulations, and (iii) update a citation 

to a regulation. 

22VAC40-910-20. General provisions.  

A. Except as otherwise provided in these regulations or 

consistent with other federal and state laws or regulations, no 

person shall disclose or use, or authorize, permit, or acquiesce 

to the use of any client information that is directly or 

indirectly derived from the client records of the department, 

agency, provider, or the State Board of Social Services. 

Exceptions to this provision are provided in 22VAC40-910-

80, 22VAC40-910-90, and 22VAC40-910-100.  

B. Protecting confidential information. All client records, 

which could disclose the client's identity, are confidential and 

must be protected in accordance with federal and state laws 
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and regulations. Such client information includes, but is not 

limited to:  

1. Name, address, and any types of identification numbers 

assigned to the client and all individuals for whom the 

client receives assistance on behalf of, including but not 

limited to social security number;  

2. Public assistance, child support enforcement services, or 

social services provided to the client;  

3. Information received for verifying income and 

eligibility;  

4. Evaluation of the client's confidential information;  

5. Social and medical data about the client and all 

individuals for whom the client receives assistance on 

behalf of, including diagnoses and past histories of disease 

or disabilities;  

6. Information received from third parties such as an 

employer; and  

7. Information associated with processing and rendering 

appeals.  

C. Ownership of client records.  

1. Client records are the property of the department or 

agency. Employees and agents of the department or agency 

must protect and preserve such records from dissemination 

except as provided herein in this chapter.  

2. Only authorized employees and agents may remove 

client records from the department or agency's premises.  

3. The department and agency shall destroy client records 

pursuant to records retention schedules consistent with 

federal and state regulations.  

D. Disclosure of client information.  

1. Consent. As part of the application process for public 

assistance or social services, the client or legally 

responsible person must be informed of the need to consent 

to a third-party release of client information necessary for 

verifying his eligibility or information provided. Whenever 

a person or organization that is not performing one or more 

of the functions delineated in 22VAC40-910-80 C or does 

not have a legitimate interest pursuant to 22VAC40-910-

100 requests client information, the person or organization 

must obtain written permission from the client or the 

legally responsible person for the release of the client 

information unless one of the conditions delineated in this 

subsection exists. A client's authorization for release of 

client information obtained by the department, agency, or 

provider also satisfies this requirement.  

Client records may be released without the client's written 

permission under the following conditions: a. A court of 

competent jurisdiction has ordered the production of client 

records and the department, agency or provider does not 

have sufficient time to notify the client or legally 

responsible person before responding to the order. b. For 

research purposes as provided in 22VAC40-910-50 if a 

court of competent jurisdiction has ordered the production 

of client records and the department, agency, or provider 

does not have sufficient time to notify the client or legally 

responsible person before responding to the order. 

2. The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, the State Board of Social Services, and their 

agents shall have the discretion to release nonidentifying 

statistical information. A client's written permission is not 

required in order to release nonidentifying statistical 

information when such release is permissible in accordance 

with state and federal law and regulations.  

3. The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, the State Board of Social Services, and their 

agents do not have to obtain consent from the client to 

obtain or review client records.  

22VAC40-910-90. Confidential client information 

pertaining to child support enforcement.  

A. Confidentiality of child support enforcement client 

information is assured by §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-103 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. Information may be released only for a purpose directly 

connected with the administration of the child support 

enforcement program, except as herein provided in this 

chapter or pursuant to §§ 63.2-102, 63.2-103, 63.2-1906 and 

63.2-1940 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Purposes directly related to the administration of the child 

support enforcement program include but are not limited to:  

1. Determining the amount of child support;  

2. Providing child support enforcement services; and  

3. Conducting or assisting in an investigation or 

prosecution of a civil or criminal proceeding related to the 

administration of the child support enforcement program.  

D. The following regulatory provisions provide guidance on 

the release of child support enforcement client information:  

1. Entities to whom the Division of Child Support 

Enforcement can release client information is governed by 

22VAC40-880-520;  

2. The release of client information to and from the 

Internal Revenue Service is governed by 22VAC40-880-

530;  

3. Request for client information from the general public is 

governed by 22VAC40-880-540;  

4. Requests for client information from parents is governed 

by 22VAC40-880-550;  
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5. Release of health insurance information is governed by 

22VAC40-880-560; and  

6. Release of client records to law-enforcement agencies 

and Commonwealth's and county or city attorneys is 

governed by 22VAC40-880-520 B  

Release of health insurance information is governed by 

22VAC40-880-560. 

22VAC40-910-100. Confidential client information 

pertaining to social services programs.  

A. Confidentiality of client information of social services 

programs is assured by §§ 63.2-104 and 63.2-105 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

B. Releasing confidential social services information.  

1. The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, the State Board of Social Services, and their 

agents shall have access to all social services client records 

pursuant to § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Social services client records must be confidential and 

can only be released to persons having a legitimate interest 

in accordance with federal and state laws and regulations 

pursuant to § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. Section 

63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia does not apply to the 

disclosure of adoption records, reports, and information. 

The disclosure of adoption records, reports, and 

information is governed by § 63.2-1246 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

3. The following statutory and regulatory provisions 

provide guidance on the definition of legitimate interest as 

applied to specific social services programs:  

a. Adult Protective Services client records can be 

released to persons having a legitimate interest pursuant 

to 22VAC40-740-50 B 22VAC30-100-50.  

b. Child Protective Services Client Records and 

Information Disclosure:  

(1) Child protective services client records can be 

released to persons having a legitimate interest pursuant 

to § 63.2-105 A of the Code of Virginia.  

(2) The public has a legitimate interest to limited 

information about child abuse or neglect cases that 

resulted in a child fatality or near fatality. Pursuant to the 

Child Abuse and Prevention Treatment Act (CAPTA), as 

amended (P.L. 108-36 (42 USC § 5106a)) states must 

have provisions that allow for public disclosure of the 

findings or information about the case of child abuse or 

neglect that has resulted in a child fatality or near fatality. 

Accordingly, agencies must release the following 

information to the public, providing that nothing 

disclosed would be likely to endanger the life, safety, or 

physical or emotional well-being of a child or the life or 

safety of any other person; or that may compromise the 

integrity of a Child Protective Services investigation, or a 

civil or criminal investigation, or judicial proceeding:  

(a) The fact that a report has been made concerning the 

alleged victim child or other children living in the same 

household;  

(b) Whether an investigation has been initiated;  

(c) The result of the completed investigation;  

(d) Whether previous reports have been made concerning 

the alleged victim child or other children living in the 

same household and the dates thereof, a summary of 

those previous reports, and the dates and outcome of any 

investigations or actions taken by the agency in response 

to those previous reports of child abuse or neglect; and 

(e) The agency's activities in handling the case.  

(3) Information regarding child protective services 

reports, complaints, investigation and related services 

and follow-up may be shared with the appropriate Family 

Advocacy Program representative of the United States 

Armed Forces as provided in 22VAC40-720 22VAC40-

705-140 E, Child Protective Services Release of 

Information to Family Advocacy Program 

Representatives of the United States Armed Forces.  

(4) The agency must release child protective services 

client records in the instances of mandatory disclosure as 

provided in 22VAC40-705-160. The local department 

may release the information without written consent.  

4. Foster care client records about children in foster care or 

their parents can be released upon order of the court. For 

instance, client records may be released to the guardian ad 

litem and the court appointed special advocate who are 

appointed for a child as a result of a court order or to 

attorneys representing the child or the child's parents.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5164; Filed August 23, 2018, 10:33 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 28, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00059 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Appalachian Power Company d/b/a 

American Electric Power-Virginia 

of a pilot program for the deployment of 

electric power storage batteries pursuant to 

Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of 

Senate Bill 966 

and 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00060 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Virginia Electric and Power 

Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia  

of a pilot program for the deployment of 

electric power storage batteries pursuant to 

Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of 

Senate Bill 966 

ORDER FOR COMMENTS ON DRAFT GUIDELINES 

On April 20, 2018, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") established these dockets in its Order 

Directing Comments ("Order Directing Comments") herein 

for the purpose of receiving comments from Appalachian 

Power Company ("APCo"), Dominion Energy Virginia 

("DEV") and any other interested party regarding pilot 

programs for the deployment of electric power storage 

batteries. These pilot programs were established pursuant to 

provisions within the Chapter 296 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly ("Act").1 The Order Directing Comments further 

directed DEV and APCo to submit comments (and permitted 

interested parties to submit comments) concerning any rules 

or guidelines such utilities or interested parties believe 

necessary for the general administration of the pilot programs.  

On June 19, 2018, DEV and APCo jointly filed comments in 

both dockets herein suggesting that the Commission adopt 

guidelines for the administration of these pilot programs in 

lieu of a formal rulemaking. Attached to their joint comments, 

the utilities provided a set of proposed draft guidelines ("draft 

guidelines") to serve as the basis for the Commission's 

guidelines. The draft guidelines, inter alia, define the scope of 

"battery energy storage systems" ("BESS"); outline 

information to be furnished to the Commission regarding 

each proposal to deploy such storage systems in conjunction 

with these pilot programs; and contain utility reporting 

requirements including (i) written notice by these electric 

utilities to the Commission prior to placing a BESS into 

service as part of a pilot program, and (ii) annual reports by 

these electric utilities to the Commission concerning the 

status of each pilot program. Comments were also received 

from Cliona Mary Robb, in her capacity as Chair of the 

Virginia Solar Energy Development and Energy Storage 

Authority. No additional comments were received in response 

to the Order Directing Comments. 

The Commission Staff's ("Staff") Action Brief filed in these 

dockets states that the guidelines jointly proposed by DEV 

and APCo are generally compliant with the requirements 

outlined in Enactment Clauses 9 and 10 of the Act.  However, 

as outlined in its Action Brief, the Staff has made a number of 

revisions to the draft guidelines as submitted by APCo and 

DEV. The Staff recommends that the Commission issue an 

Order providing notice of these draft guidelines, as revised by 

the Staff, and allow an opportunity for DEV and APCo, and 

other interested parties to submit comments thereon. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, will receive comments on the draft guidelines, as 

revised by the Staff and attached hereto, from interested 

persons before formally establishing Commission guidelines 

pursuant to the Act. Comments on the draft guidelines may be 

filed in this docket on or before October 1, 2018. We will also 

direct the Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

to provide copies of this Order and the draft guidelines by 

electronic transmission, or when electronic transmission is 

not possible, by mail, to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an interest 

in this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) Comments on the draft guidelines attached hereto shall be 

filed on or before October 1, 2018. Interested persons wishing 

to comment or propose modifications or supplements to the 

draft guidelines shall file an original and fifteen (15) copies of 

such comments or proposals with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218-2118. Any interested person desiring to file 

comments electronically may do so on or before October 1, 

2018, by following the instructions on the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. Compact disks or 

any other form of electronic storage medium may not be filed 

with the comments. All such comments shall refer to Case 

Nos. PUR-2018-00059 and PUR-2018-00060. 

(2) Copies of the draft guidelines and other documents filed 

in this docket are also available for interested persons to 

review in the Commission's Document Control Center located 

on the first floor of the Tyler Building, 1300 East Main 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, between the hours of 

8:15 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding 

holidays. Interested persons may also download unofficial 

copies from the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall transmit electronically or by mail a copy of this Order 

and draft guidelines to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an interest 

in this proceeding. 

(4) This matter is continued for further orders of the 

Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to: Joseph K. Reid, III, Esquire, 

McGuireWoods LLP, Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, 

14th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Mark O. Webb, 

General Counsel, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 

Tredegar Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Noelle J. Coates, 

Senior Counsel, American Electric Power Service 

Corporation, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Suite 

1100, Richmond, Virginia 23219; James R. Bacha, Esquire, 

American Electric Power Service Corporation, 1 Riverside 

Plaza, 29th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215; Cliona Mary 

Robb, Esquire, 3006 Seminary Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 

23227; and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219-3424. A copy shall be delivered to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and Divisions of Public Utility 

Regulation and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

______________________________ 

1The Act, signed into law by the Governor of Virginia on March 9, 2018, 

became effective July 1, 2018. At the direction of the Virginia Code 

Commission, Enactment Clauses 9 and 10 of the Act establishing this pilot 
program were codified as § 56-585.1:6 of the Code of Virginia. 

GUIDELINES REGARDING ELECTRIC POWER 

STORAGE BATTERY PILOT PROGRAMS 

A. Purpose 

The Commission is establishing these guidelines pursuant to 

Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of the Grid Transformation 

and Security Act of 2018, Chapter 296 of the 2018 Virginia 

Acts of Assembly, regarding pilot programs for electric 

power storage batteries (the "Pilot Programs").1 Specifically, 

Enactment Clause No. 10 provides that the Commission shall 

establish such general guidelines as may be necessary for its 

administration of the Pilot Program by December 1, 2018. 

B. Applicability 

These guidelines ("Guidelines") are applicable to each Phase 

I Utility and Phase II Utility, as such terms are defined in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. In 

other words, these guidelines are applicable to Appalachian 

Power Company, the Phase I Utility and Virginia Electric and 

Power Company, currently doing business as Dominion 

Energy Virginia, the Phase II Utility. 

C. Definition 

"Battery energy storage systems" (the "BESS") A system that 

includes the battery (or batteries) and all the equipment 

necessary to interconnect the battery (or batteries) to the 

utility's electric system. This includes but is not limited to 

switchgear, transformers, inverters, switches, cables, wires, 

conductors, bus work, protection devices and systems, control 

devices and systems, fire protection systems, and 

environmental protection systems.  

D. Filing 

Each utility may file one or more applications to participate in 

the Pilot Program at different times, up to the maximum 

allowable capacity cap of 10 megawatts ("MW") for the 

Phase I Utility and 30 MW for the Phase II Utility. The utility 

will note and explain any information requested in these 

Guidelines that is not available or applicable at the time of 

each filing. 

Any information considered to be confidential may be 

designated as such, filed separately, and include a request that 

it be treated in accordance with the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, 5 VAC 5-20-10, et seq. 

E. Contents of Filing 

Each proposal to deploy a BESS submitted as part of the Pilot 

Program shall include the following information: 

• Location. The location where the utility proposes to install 

the BESS. If the utility proposes to install a BESS at a 

customer premise, the utility shall provide the name and 

address of the customer, a description of the arrangement 

with the customer allowing collocation on the customer's 

property, and a description of the proposed ownership of the 

BESS. 

• Capacity. The utility shall provide the capacity of the 

proposed BESS and the aggregate capacity of all proposals 

approved by the Commission under the Pilot Program for the 

utility. 

• Technology. The utility shall specify the proposed BESS 

technology and the manner in which the BESS will be or has 

been procured. 

• In-Service Date. The utility shall provide the expected date 

on which the proposed BESS will be placed into service. The 

in-service date shall serve as the start date for the BESS as 

part of the Pilot Program.  The proposed BESS will be in 

service for five years unless the utility has provided notice to 

retire the BESS.  Each proposal shall include an explanation 

by the utility for any proposed use of the BESS beyond the 

five-year duration of the Pilot Program. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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• Useful Life and Decommissioning. The utility shall provide 

the projected useful life of the proposed BESS, including 

known or projected performance degradation and proposed 

plan for decommissioning at the end of its useful life. 

• Cost. The utility shall provide the projected installation cost 

of the proposed BESS and a detailed analysis of the projected 

operation and maintenance ("O&M") cost associated with the 

proposed BESS. This shall include an appropriate cost metric 

for evaluation based on the proposed objective(s) of the 

BESS. 

• Asset Classification. The utility shall indicate its preferred 

classification of the proposed BESS as a generation, 

transmission, or distribution asset. 

• Objective. The utility shall specify the objective(s) that the 

specific proposal will seek to accomplish, including a 

description of how the specific proposal will accomplish the 

stated objective(s). Permissible objectives, as listed in 

Enactment Clause No. 9, include: (i) improved reliability of 

electrical transmission or distribution systems; (ii) improved 

integration of different types of renewable resources; (iii) 

deferred investment in generation, transmission, or 

distribution of electricity; (iv) reduced need for additional 

generation of electricity during times of peak demand; or (v) 

connection to the facilities of a customer receiving 

generation, transmission, and distribution service from the 

utility. 

Metrics and Performance Data. The utility shall provide the 

initial metrics that will be used to determine if the proposed 

BESS is meeting the objective(s) that the proposal seeks to 

accomplish. Initial metrics may include performance and 

operational safety metrics. 

F. Reporting 

The utility shall provide written notice to the Commission 

within fifteen (15) business days of placing a BESS into 

service as part of the Pilot Program. The written notice shall 

include the actual capacity of the BESS placed into service 

and the capacity remaining available to the utility for future 

proposals under the Pilot Program. 

Each utility shall submit to the Commission an annual 

consolidated report on the status of the Pilot Program by 

March 31 of the following year. The report shall include the 

aggregate capacity of Commission-approved proposals under 

the Pilot Program. For each approved proposal, the report 

shall include (i) an update on the progress of the specific 

proposal in meeting its objective(s), using metrics identified 

in the initial filing for the proposal as approved by the 

Commission; (ii) an update on installation cost, as well as 

actual and projected O&M costs; and, (iii) performance data 

and metrics over time, including any additional metrics 

developed during the course of the deployment. The report 

shall also discuss (i) transmission and distribution system 

benefits; (ii) line-loss savings; (iii) enhanced electric 

generation capacity; (iv) fuel cost savings; (v) ancillary 

services benefits; and, (vi) any readily quantifiable economic 

development and job creation benefits across the 

Commonwealth. 

_____________________________ 

1Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of Chapter 296 of the 2018 Virginia Acts 
of Assembly were codified as § 56-585.1:6 of the Code of Virginia at the 

direction of the Virginia Code Commission. 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 28, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00061 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Virginia Electric and Power 

Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia 

of a pilot aggregation program pursuant 

to House Bill 1451 

ORDER FOR COMMENTS ON DRAFT GUIDELINES 

On April 20, 2018, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") established this docket in its Order Directing 

Comments ("Order Directing Comments") herein for the 

purpose of receiving comments from Dominion Energy 

Virginia ("DEV" or "Company") and any other interested 

party regarding a pilot program established pursuant to the 

Chapter 415 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly ("Act").1 The Act 

directs DEV to submit a proposal to the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") to establish a pilot program that 

would allow "any school in a public school division . . . that 

generates electricity from a wind-powered or solar powered 

renewable energy facility located at the school" certain 

enumerated options with regard to any amounts of generated 

electricity that exceed the school's consumption. The Act also 

directed the Commission, by December 1, 2018, to adopt 

rules or establish guidelines "as may be necessary for the 

general administration of the pilot program . . . ." 

On June 19, 2018, DEV submitted comments and draft 

guidelines in response to the Order Directing Comments. The 

draft guidelines address, inter alia, the applicability of the 

Commission's net metering rules to this pilot, various charges 

that participating schools will continue to pay, as well as 

metering requirements, the treatment of renewable energy 

certificates, and liability insurance requirements. Comments 

in this docket were also filed on June 19, 2018, by WGL 

Energy Systems, Inc. ("WGL Energy"). WGL Energy offered 

comments in support of the pilot and advocated that the pilot 

program operate in the form of a feed-in tariff that would 

enable third party suppliers to participate in the development 

and operation of solar facilities utilized in the pilot program. 

No other comments were received. 
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The Commission Staff's ("Staff") Action Brief filed in this 

docket, states that the Staff is in general agreement with the 

draft guidelines submitted by DEV. The Action Brief also 

summarized (i) the Act establishing this pilot program, (ii) 

comments received from DEV and WGL Energy, and (iii) 

DEV's draft guidelines as well as further revisions made by 

the Company addressing questions raised by the Staff. The 

Staff has recommended that the Commission issue an order 

providing notice of the draft guidelines as now revised, and 

allow an opportunity for interested parties to submit 

comments thereon.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, will receive comments on the draft guidelines 

attached hereto from interested persons before formally 

establishing Commission guidelines pursuant to the Act. 

Comments on the draft guidelines may be filed in this docket 

on or before October 1, 2018. We also direct the 

Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation to 

provide copies of this Order and the draft guidelines by 

electronic transmission, or when electronic transmission is 

not possible, by mail, to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an interest 

in this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) Comments on the draft guidelines attached hereto shall be 

filed on or before October 1, 2018. Interested persons wishing 

to comment or propose modifications or supplements to the 

draft guidelines shall file an original and fifteen (15) copies of 

such comments or proposals with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218-2118. Any interested person desiring to file 

comments electronically may do so on or before October 1, 

2018, by following the instructions on the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. Compact disks or 

any other form of electronic storage medium may not be filed 

with the comments. All such comments shall refer to Case 

No. PUR-2018-00061. 

(2) Copies of the draft guidelines and other documents filed 

in this docket are also available for interested persons to 

review in the Commission's Document Control Center located 

on the first floor of the Tyler Building, 1300 East Main 

Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, between the hours of 

8:15 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding 

holidays. Interested persons may also download unofficial 

copies from the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall transmit electronically or by mail a copy of this Order 

and draft guidelines to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an interest 

in this proceeding. 

(4) This matter is continued for further orders of the 

Commission. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to: Joseph K. Reid, III, Esquire, McGuire 

Woods LLP, Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, 

14th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Mark O. Webb, 

General Counsel, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 

Tredegar Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Noelle J. Coates, 

Senior Counsel, American Electric Power Service 

Corporation, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Suite 

1100, Richmond, Virginia 23219; James R. Bacha, Esquire, 

American Electric Power Service Corporation, 1 Riverside 

Plaza, 29th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215; 

Telemac N. Chryssikos, Esquire., WGL Energy Systems, 

Inc., 101 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 

20080; and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219-3424. A copy shall be delivered to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and Divisions of Public Utility 

Regulation and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

___________________________________ 

1The Act, signed into law by the Governor of Virginia on March 23, 2018, 
became effective July 1, 2018. At the direction of the Virginia Code 

Commission, the Act was codified as § 56-585.1:7 of the Code of Virginia. 

PROPOSED GUIDELINES FOR PUBLIC SCHOOL 

EXCESS WIND OR SOLAR RENEWABLE 

GENERATION PILOT PROGRAM  

I. Introduction 

The defined terms in these proposed Pilot Program guidelines 

shall have the meanings provided in Paragraph III, below. 

Pursuant to Ordering Paragraph (2) of the Commission's 

Order Directing Comments in Case No. PUR-2018-00061 

and pursuant to House Bill 1451, enacted as Chapter 415 of 

the 2018 Acts of Assembly,1 Virginia Electric and Power 

Company, d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia, respectfully 

submits proposed guidelines, which, upon Commission 

approval, would govern the Company's Pilot Program not to 

exceed an aggregate of ten megawatts ("10 MW") of installed 

capacity, for the treatment of any Host School's excess wind 

or solar renewable fuel generation, as envisioned by House 

Bill 1451 and as described below. 

The Pilot Program will allow any Host School in a public 

school division in the Company's Virginia service territory 

that generates electricity from a wind-powered or solar-

powered renewable fuel generator, which is located on such 

Host School's premises, in an amount that exceeds the 

electricity consumed by such Host School to have the 

Company either (i) credit one or more Metered Account(s) of 

Target School(s) or (ii) provide a payment for such Excess 

Generation to the Host School. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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The School Board overseeing the Host School shall have the 

option to direct the Company to provide compensation for the 

Host School's Excess Generation on an annual basis, in a 

manner to be determined by the School Board, as follows: 

A. As the first option, the School Board could direct the 

Company to apportion the Host School's Excess Generation 

to the Metered Account(s) of Target School(s) in the same 

public school division, such that the generation energy 

charges on the electric bills of such Metered Accounts of the 

Target Schools would be reduced by the amount of the 

Excess Generation kWh apportioned to the Metered Accounts 

multiplied by the applicable VEPGA generation energy rate 

of the Target Schools;  

B. Alternatively, the School Board could direct the Company 

to pay the Host School for its Excess Generation through a 

power purchase agreement at a rate pursuant to the Amended 

and Restated Agreement for the Provision of Electric Service 

to Municipalities and Counties of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia From Virginia Electric and Power Company entered 

into by the Company and VEPGA on August 1, 2014, as 

amended. 

II. Term 

The Term of the Pilot Program shall be for six (6) years.  

Such term shall begin on the Commencement Date and end 

on the 6th anniversary of the Commencement Date, which 

shall be the Termination Date.  

III. Terms and Definitions 

The terms below shall have the following definitions for the 

purposes of these Pilot Program guidelines: 

A. "Act" – House Bill 1451 or Chapter 415 of the 2018 Acts 

of Assembly. 

B. "Agreement" – the Amended and Restated Agreement for 

the Provision of Electric Service to Municipalities and 

Counties of the Commonwealth of Virginia From Virginia 

Electric and Power Company entered into by the Company 

and VEPGA on August 1, 2014, as amended, and any 

superseding agreement reached between the Company and 

VEPGA for Electric Service to become effective subsequent 

to the August 1, 2014 agreement. 

C. "Commencement Date" – the commencement date for the 

Pilot Program, which shall be the first of the month that (i) is 

no less than fifteen (15) calendar days after entry of a 

Commission order adopting guidelines, rules, or regulations 

governing the Pilot Program and (ii) no more than sixty (60) 

calendar days after the date of such order of the Commission. 

D. "Commission" – the State Corporation Commission of 

Virginia. 

E. "Company" – Virginia Electric and Power Company, d/b/a 

Dominion Energy Virginia. 

F. "Customer" – Any person, group of persons, association, 

partnership, firm or corporation purchasing Electric Service 

from the Company. 

G. "Delivery Point" – the point where the Company's 

conductors for delivering Electric Service are connected to 

the Customer's conductors for receiving Electric Service. 

H. "Distribution Service" – The delivery of electricity through 

the distribution facilities of the Company to the Delivery 

Point of a Customer. 

I. "Electric Delivery Service" – Distribution Service, and the 

delivery of electricity under this tariff to Customers served at 

transmission level voltage, and related utility services, to the 

extent each is provided under this tariff by the Company. 

J. "Electric Service" – The provision, by the Company to the 

Customer, of Electric Delivery Service and, to the extent 

provided by the Company, Electricity Supply Service and 

utility services.  Electric Service also means, where 

applicable, the interconnection of electric generators with the 

Company. 

K. "Electricity Supply Service" – The generation of 

electricity, or when provided together, the generation of 

electricity and its transmission to the distribution facilities of 

the Company on behalf of a Customer. 

L. "Excess Generation" – the amount of electricity generated 

by the Host School's Renewable Generation Facility during 

the Host School's Net Metering Period that is in excess of the 

number of kilowatt-hours consumed by the Host School 

during the same Net Metering Period. 

M. "Host School" – a public elementary, middle, or high 

school that (i) is a Customer of the Company, (ii) is billed 

under an applicable VEPGA Rate Schedule, (iii) is situated in 

the Company's Virginia service territory, and (iv) has a 

Renewable Generation Facility, located on its premises, and 

generates more electricity than the Host School consumes in 

any Net Metering Period.  

N. "Metered Account" – the Company-assigned account 

number, (and any superseding account number(s) that the 

Company may assign for this same account) for a Delivery 

Point metered by the Company for a Target School, which 

was identified by the School Board to receive a portion of the 

Host School's Excess Generation. 

O. "Person" – means any individual, sole proprietorship, 

corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or any city, town, 

authority or other political subdivision of the Commonwealth. 

P. "Pilot Program" – the pilot program conducted by the 

Company pursuant to the Act. 

Q. "Rate Schedule" – any of the Company's rate schedules 

that are included in Attachment B of the Agreement.  
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R. "REC" or "RECs" – one or more renewable energy 

certificates owned by the Host School and created by the 

renewable energy output of the Host School's Renewable 

Generation Facility. 

S. "Renewable Fuel Generator" – one or more electrical 

generators that meet the following criteria:   

1. Wind or solar power is the exclusive renewable fuel 

source; 

2. The Host School owns and operates or has contracted 

with other Persons to own or operate, or both, the electrical 

generator(s), pursuant to the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules; 

3. The electrical generator(s) is located on the Host 

School's premises and is connected to the Host School's 

wiring on the Host School's side of the interconnection 

with the Company;  

4. The electrical generator(s) operates in parallel with the 

Company's distribution facilities. 

T. "Renewable Generation Facility" – one or more Renewable 

Fuel Generators that has an aggregate installed capacity not to 

exceed the limitations of the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules.  

U. "School Board" – the local recognized elected or 

appointed board or group that is responsible for public 

education in the same public school division in which the 

Host School and Target School(s) are located. 

V. "Target School" – a public elementary, middle, or high 

school (including any public school technical center located 

in and only available to the public school students of the same 

public school division in which the Host School is located) 

that (i) is a Customer of the Company, (ii) is billed under an 

applicable VEPGA Rate Schedule, (iii) is located in the same 

public school division as the Host School, and (iv) has one or 

more Metered Accounts identified by the School Board to 

receive a bill credit amount based on an apportionment of the 

Host School's Excess Generation. 

W. "Term" – the six (6)-year period during which the Pilot 

Program is effective, beginning with the Commencement 

Date and ending on the Termination Date. 

X. "Termination Date" – the termination date of the Pilot 

Program, which will be the sixth anniversary of the 

Commencement Date. 

Y. "VEPGA" – the Virginia Energy Purchasing 

Governmental Association. 

Z. "20 VAC 5-315 Rules" – the Commission's Regulations 

Governing Net Energy Metering. 

IV. Applicability and Availability 

A. Pursuant to the Act and the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules2 and 

pursuant to Attachment A of the Agreement, the Company's 

Pilot Program is applicable to any Host School which meets 

the following criteria: 

1. The Host School must be a Net Metering Customer as 

defined in the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules; 

2. The Host School's Renewable Generation Facility is 

accepted by the Company into the Pilot Program, along 

with any Metered Account(s) of one or more Target 

Schools, which have been identified by the School Board to 

receive an apportionment of the Excess Generation, as 

described in Paragraph VI, below; 

3. The following provisions of the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules are 

not applicable to the Host School or to any Target School: 

a. Agricultural Net Metering; 

b. Small Agricultural Generators provisions;  

c. The standby charge for residential Net Metering 

Customers; and 

d. Option for the Host School to sign a power purchase 

agreement with the Company under the 20 VAC 5-315 

Rules if the School Board directs the Company to apportion 

the Host School's Excess Generation to Metered 

Account(s) of Target School(s) in accordance with 

Paragraph I.A., above.  

4. The Host School and the School Board-designated 

Metered Accounts of each Target School accepted into the 

Company's Pilot Program must purchase Electricity Supply 

Service from the Company during the Term of the Pilot 

Program. 

5. Once the aggregate 10 MW alternating current installed 

capacity limit is reached, this Pilot Program shall be closed 

and no longer available to other host schools. 

B. Once a Host School is accepted into the Pilot Program, in 

accordance with Paragraph IV.A., above, the provisions of 

the applicable of Paragraph I.A., or Paragraph I.B., above – 

but not both – will be available at the conclusion of the Host 

School's Net Metering Period that is in progress as of the 

Commencement Date of the Pilot Program.  

C. The Pilot Program shall end on the Termination Date. As 

such, the provisions of the applicable of Paragraph I.A., or 

Paragraph I.B., above – but not both – shall no longer be 

available for the Host School's excess generation determined 

by the Company, in accordance with Paragraph V., below, for 

the Net Metering Period that is in progress as of the 

Termination Date of the Pilot Program. After the Termination 

Date, the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules shall apply to the Host 

School's excess generation.  

V. Excess Generation 

A. The Company will determine the Host School's Excess 

Generation pursuant to these Pilot Program guidelines. 
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B. The Company will calculate the Host School's Excess 

Generation for the most recently completed Net Metering 

Period during the Term of the Pilot Program. Unless the 

School Board directs the Company to provide compensation 

for the Host School's Excess Generation in accordance with 

either Paragraph I.A. or Paragraph I.B., above – but not both 

– the Company will follow the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules 

regarding the Host School's Excess Generation. 

C. Within sixty (60) days of the effective date of the Pilot 

Program to the Host School, the School Board will provide 

the Company with the following information: 

1. A list of the Metered Account(s) for one or more Target 

School(s) to which the Host School's Excess Generation 

will be apportioned;  

2. The percentage of the Host School's Excess Generation 

to be apportioned to each Metered Account, where the sum 

of the percentages provided by the School Board for the 

Metered Accounts cannot exceed 100 percent or the total 

amount of the Host School's Excess Generation. 

VI. Billing and Payment 

A. Within sixty (60) days after the end of the Host School's 

most recently completed Net Metering Period and continuing 

annually, thereafter, for each successive Host School Net 

Metering Period during the Term of the Pilot Program until 

the Termination Date, the Company will do the following: 

1. If the School Board directs the Company to apportion the 

Host School's Excess Generation to one or more Metered 

Accounts, the Company will calculate and apply a bill 

credit dollar amount to each Metered Account, which will 

receive a School-Board-designated portion of the Host 

School's Excess Generation, using the following formula: 

TSMA_BCDA = EG * TSMA% * VEPGA_RATE 

Where: 

TSMA_BCDA =Target School Metered Account's Bill 

Credit Dollar Amount which is the amount that the 

Company will apply to one or more Metered Accounts 

designated by the School Board; 

EG = Excess Generation at the end of Host School's most 

recently completed Net Metering Period; 

TSMA% =Specified Target School Metered Account's 

percentage of the Host School's Excess Generation that is 

designated by the School Board, for the Metered 

Account; and 

VEPGA_RATE =VEPGA Rate which is the applicable 

generation-related energy rate under the Electricity 

Supply Service Charges paragraph of the applicable, 

selected VEPGA Rate Schedule used to bill the Metered 

Account.  If such generation-related energy rate has two 

or more blocks or is time-differentiated, the generation-

related energy rate will be equal to average annual 

generation-related energy rate for each Metered Account 

for the consecutive 12-month billing period that most 

closely matches the Host School's Net Metering Period. 

There shall be no assessment of any new service charges 

or fees in connection with or arising out of such crediting 

during the Term of the Pilot Program. 

If the School Board identifies one or more Metered 

Accounts but does not provide the Company with the 

corresponding percentage(s) to apportion the Host School's 

Excess Generation to the Metered Account(s), or otherwise 

does not follow the Pilot Program guidelines, the Company 

will provide compensation for the Host School's Excess 

Generation in accordance with the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules. 

2. If, alternatively, the School Board directs the Company 

to provide a payment to the Host School for the Excess 

Generation, the Company will compensate the Host School 

for the Excess Generation in accordance with the VEPGA 

Agreement. 

B. For each billing month, the Host School will pay to the 

Company the sum of the applicable Distribution Service 

Charges, Electricity Supply Service Charges, standby charges 

mutually agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the 

Agreement, and all riders applicable to the VEPGA Rate 

Schedule under which the Host School receives Electric 

Service from the Company. 

C. For each billing month, the Target School will pay to the 

Company the sum of the applicable Distribution Service 

Charges, Electricity Supply Service Charges, standby charges 

mutually agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the 

Agreement, and all riders applicable to the VEPGA Rate 

Schedule under which the Target School receives Electric 

Service from the Company. 

VII. Metering Requirements 

A. The Company will require the installation of an interval 

data recorder ("IDR") meter or an advanced metering 

infrastructure ("AMI") meter at the Host School's service 

location to measure (i) the Host School's average 30-minute 

interval capacity and energy consumption by half-hour during 

the billing month and (ii) the average 30-minute interval 

capacity and energy delivered to the Host School by the Host 

School's Renewable Generation Facility.   

If the Host School's applicable selected VEPGA Rate 

Schedule does not otherwise require interval data metering or 

if the Host School is not located in the Company's "AMI 

footprint," the Host School agrees to pay to the Company the 

Company's incremental cost for the interval data metering 

equipment, subject to an Excess Facilities Charge mutually 

agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the Agreement, 

during the period that the Host School participates in the 

Company's Pilot Program. 
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B. The Company will require the installation of an IDR or an 

AMI meter to measure the total output by half-hour of the 

Host School's Renewable Generation Facility for the billing 

month. The Host School agrees to pay to the Company the 

Company's incremental cost for the interval data metering 

equipment, subject to an Excess Facilities Charge mutually 

agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the Agreement, 

during the period that the Host School participates in the 

Company's Pilot Program. 

VIII. Renewable Energy Certificates 

A. The Host School owns any RECs associated with the 

Renewable Generation Facility during the Term of the Pilot 

Program. 

B. During the Term of the Pilot Program and continuing after 

the Termination Date of the Pilot Program, the Host School 

agrees to waive any right (i) to sell to the Company or to any 

other party or (ii) to offer to market all Renewable Generation 

Facility RECs which are created and accumulated during the 

Term of the Pilot Program. 

IX. Liability insurance 

A. A Host School with a Renewable Generation Facility 

having an alternating current capacity not exceeding 10 

kilowatts shall maintain commercial or other insurance 

providing coverage of at least $1,000,000 for the liability of 

the insured against loss arising out of the use of a Renewable 

Generation Facility, and for a Renewable Generation Facility 

having an alternating current capacity exceeding 10 kilowatts 

the coverage shall be in the amount of at least $2,000,000.  

The Host School shall name the Company as an additional 

insured party under such policy. 

B. The Host School is not required to purchase additional 

liability insurance where the Host School's existing insurance 

policy provides coverage against loss arising out of the use of 

a Renewable Generation Facility by virtue of not explicitly 

excluding coverage for such loss. 

X. Additional Controls and Tests 

A Host School's Renewable Generation Facility shall meet all 

applicable safety and performance standards established by 

the National Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and 

Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories 

such as Underwriters Laboratories.  Beyond the requirements 

set forth in these Pilot Program guidelines, and to insure 

public safety, power quality, and reliability of the Company's 

electric distribution system, the Host School whose 

Renewable Generation Facility meets those standards shall 

bear all reasonable costs of equipment required for the 

interconnection to the Company's electric distribution system, 

including costs, if any, to (i) install additional controls and (ii) 

perform additional tests. To the extent permissible under the 

Virginia Tort Claims Act,3 the participating schools and 

school districts shall be responsible for any negligent acts or 

omissions of their board members, employees, contractors, 

agents, students, or other representatives associated with the 

Pilot Program. 

XI. Reports to the General Assembly 

The Company shall submit a report to the General Assembly 

by December 1 of each year the Pilot Program is in effect, 

commencing in 2020, regarding the status of the Pilot 

Program's enrollment and any other information the Company 

deems appropriate. 

________________________________ 

1HB 1451 was codified as § 56-585.1:7 of the Code of Virginia at the 
direction of the Virginia Code Commission. 

2All 20 VAC 5-315 Rules definitions, which are applicable to the Host 

School, shall have the same meaning in these Pilot Program guidelines. 

3Article 18.1 (§ 8.01 - 195.1, et. seq.) of Chapter 3 of Title 8.01 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 
Intended Use Plan for 2019 

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 

capitalization grants to the states through the Drinking Water 

State Revolving Fund (DWSRF) Program. As part of the 

annual DWSRF grant application process Virginia seeks 

meaningful public involvement through input, review, and 

comments. The VDH's Office of Drinking Water (ODW) 

prepared a draft Intended Use Plan (IUP) that explains the 

goals of the program, funding priorities, how the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) intends to use the grant funds, 

and other important information submitted from the funding 

requests and set-aside suggestions. 

VDH received several funding requests and set-aside 

suggestions following the January DWSRF funding 

solicitation announcement. The draft IUP and draft project 

lists are open for review and comment by the public for a 

period of 60 days. The document entitled "Virginia Drinking 

Water State Revolving Fund Program Design Manual" (dated 

January, 2018) is a part of the IUP, was announced in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations, and is posted on the ODW 

website. The Program Design Manual provides information 

on VDH's project prioritization criteria and methodologies. 

VDH will hold a public meeting to solicit comments and 

recommendations regarding the IUP on Wednesday, October 

17, 2018, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at the VDH Office of 

Drinking Water, 6th Floor Library, 109 Governor Street, VA 

23219. Those individuals planning to attend the public 

meeting should contact Theresa Hewlett at telephone (804) 

864-7501 by the close of business on October 10, 2018. 

Any written comments from the public must be submitted by 

November 16, 2018, the close of the public comment period. 

VDH considers all meaningful public input and comments 
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and will make revisions to the IUP and project priority list if 

necessary. Please direct your requests for information and 

forward written comments to Steve Pellei, FCAP Division 

Director, Office of Drinking Water, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521, or email 

steve.pellei@vdh.virginia.gov. 

The following information is provided under Financial and 

Construction Assistance Programs at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-

construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-

revolving-fund-program/. 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the Virginia Lottery were 

filed with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations on August 29, 

2018. The orders may be viewed at the Virginia Lottery, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of 

the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

Director's Order Number One Hundred One (18) 

Virginia Lottery "Fas Rewards October Double Points 

Retailer Incentive Promotion" (effective October 2, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirteen (18) 

Virginia Lottery's Scratch Game 1889 "Super Bonus 

Crossword" Final Rules for Game Operation (effective 

August 28, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Two (18) 

"Retailer Recruitment Incentive Promotion - All-Product 

Retailers" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program 

Requirements (This Director's Order is effective nunc pro 

tunc to July 1, 2018, replaces all prior versions of the 

requirements and Director's Order for this promotion, and 

shall remain in full force and effect through the end of the 

promotion period unless otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Three (18) 

Retailer Recruitment Incentive Promotion - Mobile-Only 

Retailers" Virginia Lottery Retailer Incentive Program 

Requirements (effective August 27, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Four (18) 

"Player Awareness Program-Debit-at-Vending" Virginia 

Lottery Program Requirements (effective August 28, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Five (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "7-Eleven Spend $10 Promotion" (effective 

August 28, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Eight (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Ultimate Fan Cave Promotion" Final 

Rules for Operation (effective September 1, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Twenty-Nine (18) 

Virginia Lottery's "Wawa Win Gas For A Year Promotion" 

Final Rules for Operation (effective October 1, 2018) 

Director's Order Number One Hundred Thirty (18) 

Virginia Lottery "Multi-Chain Redskins Ticket Contest" 

Retailer Incentive Promotion" (effective September 1, 2018) 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

4VAC25-31, Reclamation Regulations for Mineral 

Mining. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins September 17, 2018, and ends 

October 8, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Michael Skiffington, Director of Policy 

and Planning, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

mailto:Steve.Pellei@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy (DMME) 

conducted a small business impact review of 4VAC25-125, 

Regulations Governing Coal Stockpiles and Bulk Storage 

and Handling Facilities, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy is publishing its report of 

findings dated August 16, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is required by statute. It is necessary to protect 

the health and safety of miners working at underground and 

surface mines in the Commonwealth. The Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy has reviewed the regulation and 

determined that it does not adversely impact small businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

Division of Administration, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy conducted a small 

business impact review of 4VAC25-165, Regulations 

Governing the Use of Arbitration to Resolve Coalbed 

Methane Gas Ownership Disputes, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is publishing its 

report of findings dated August 16, 2018, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy has reviewed 

the regulation and determined that it does not adversely 

impact small businesses. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

Division of Administration, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF PLANNING AND 
BUDGET 

Commercial Activities List – Public Comments and 
Recommendations 

Pursuant to § 2.2-1501.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) published the 

Commercial Activities List (CAL) on September 4, 2017. The 

CAL is posted on the DPB website under Documents, 

Instructions and Publications as "Commercial Activities List 

– 2017" and is included in this notice. 

DPB is seeking written comments on the CAL and invites 

recommendations from the public regarding activities being 

performed by state agencies that might better be performed by 

the private sector. The public comment period will begin 

September 17, 2018, and ends October 1, 2018. Please 

include "CAL" in the subject of the email. 

Contact Information: Cari Corr, Commercial Activities List, 

Virginia Department of Planning and Budget, 1111 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

4549, or email cari.corr@dpb.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Commercial Activities List for  

FY 2016 and FY 2017 

NIGP NIGP title 

90608 
Automation; Controls; Instrumentation - Architectural 

Services 

90648 Historical Preservation 

91013 Elevator Installation, Maintenance and Repair 

91223 
Construction, General (Backfill Services, Digging, 

Ditching, Road Grading, Rock Stabilization, etc.) 

91265 Maintenance and Repair, Tennis/Sport Court 

91316 
Construction, Communication Equipment (Includes 

Antenna Towers) 

91359 
Construction and Upgrades, Wastewater Treatment 

Plant 

91360 
Construction, Water System/Plants, Main and Service 

Line 

91427 Carpentry 

91464 Plastering 

91504 Advertising, Outdoor Billboard, etc. 

91806 Administrative Consulting 

91807 Advertising Consulting 

91815 Architectural Consulting 

91819 Buildings, Structures and Components Consulting 

91831 Construction Consulting 

91875 Management Consulting 

91878 Medical Consulting 

91885 
Personnel/Employment Consulting (Human 

Resources) 

91891 Roofing Consultant 

92000 
DATA PROCESSING, COMPUTER, 

PROGRAMMING, AND SOFTWARE SERVICES 

92022 
Data Preparation and Processing Services (Including 

Bates Coding) 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:cari.corr@dpb.virginia.gov
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92032 

Intelligent Transportation System Software (To 

Include Design, Development, and Maintenance 

Services) 

92037 
Networking Services (Including Installation, Security, 

and Maintenance) 

92039 
Processing System Services, Data (Not Otherwise 

Classified) 

92040 Programming Services, Computer 

92416 Course Development Services, Instructional/Training 

92418 Educational Services, Alternative 

92474 Special Education 

92480 Tutoring 

92500 ENGINEERING SERVICES, PROFESSIONAL 

92597 
Water Supply, Treatment, and 

Distribution/Engineering 

92694 Water Pollution Services 

92824 
Buses, School and Mass Transit, Maintenance and 

Repair 

93881 Scientific Equipment Maintenance and Repair 

94155 HVAC Systems Maintenance and Repair, Power Plant 

94620 Auditing 

94649 Financial Services (Not Otherwise Classified) 

94650 Fund Raising Services 

94752 Harvesting Services, Forest 

94807 Administration Services, Health 

94828 Dental Services 

94844 Health Physics Services 

94876 
Psychologists/Psychological and Psychiatric Services 

(Including Behavioral Management Services) 

95226 Day Care (Adult) 

95245 Food Stamps/Coupons 

95256 Housekeeping Services 

95277 
Research and Evaluation, Human Services (Including 

Productivity Audits) 

95285 Support Services 

95605 Business Research Services 

95638 Library Services (Not Otherwise Classified) 

95826 Construction Management Services 

95839 Financial Management Services 

95859 Industrial Management Services 

95874 Personnel Management Services 

95939 
Dam and Levee Construction, Maintenance, 

Management and Repair 

95973 Ship Maintenance and Repair 

95984 Towing Services, Marine 

96110 Business Plan Development Services 

96114 
Commissioning of Facilities Services (Functional and 

Prefunctional) 

96116 Claims Processing Services 

96129 Economic Impact Studies 

96130 

Employment Agency and Search Firm Services 

(Including Background Investigations and Drug 

Testing for Employment) 

96173 
Theatrical Services (Including Production, Scenery 

Design, Stage, etc.) 

96196 Non-Professional Services (Not Otherwise Classified) 

96248 Interior Design/Decorator Services 

96252 

Mapping Services (Including Cartography and 

Surveying Services, Not Aerial)(See 920-33 for 

Digitized Mapping Services) and 905-10 for Aerial 

Mapping and Survey Services) 

96269 Personnel Services, Temporary 

96343 Intergovernmental/Inter-Agency Contracts 

96728 
Computer Hardware and Software Manufacturing 

Services 

96847 Inspection Services, Construction Type 

96881 Traffic Sign Maintenance and Repair 

98854 
Lighting Services for Parks, Athletic Fields, Parking 

Lots, etc. 

99029 Disaster Preparedness/Emergency Planning Services 

99050 Installation of Security and Alarm Equipment 

99067 Patrol Services 

99079 
Sanitizing and Disinfecting Services, Security, Fire, 

Safety and Emergency 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for F.V. Jones and 
Sons LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for F.V. Jones and 

Sons LLC for violations at the F.V. Jones and Sons facility 

located in Mecklenburg County. The proposed enforcement 

action contains a schedule of compliance that details the 
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corrective action required. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. G. Marvin Booth, III will accept 

comments by email at marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (540) 562-6725, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 

VA 24019, from September 17, 2018, to October 18, 2018. 

Public Meeting for Total Maximum Daily Loads for 
Big Reed Island Creek, Greasy Creek, Little Reed 
Island Creek, East Fork Little Reed Island Creek, 

and Island Creek 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for Big 

Reed Island Creek, Greasy Creek, Little Reed Island Creek, 

East Fork Little Reed Island Creek, and Island Creek. These 

streams are listed on the 2016 § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report as impaired due to exceedances of the state's 

water quality standards for bacteria in Carroll, Floyd, Pulaski, 

and Wythe Counties and the town of Hillsville, Virginia. In 

addition, Big Reed Island Creek, Island Creek, and Little 

Reed Island Creek are listed as impaired for failure to support 

the aquatic life use. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List and Report. 

The impaired segments include 19.85 miles of Big Reed 

Island Creek from its headwaters on Hurricane Knob 

downstream to the Pine Creek confluence; 13.81 miles of Big 

Reed Island Creek from the Bobbitt Creek confluence to the 

Greasy Creek confluence; 9.85 miles of Big Reed Island 

Creek from the Greasy Creek confluence to the confluence 

with the New River; 13.63 miles of Greasy Creek from the 

Carroll-Floyd county line downstream to the Big Reed Island 

Creek confluence; 11 miles of Little Reed Island Creek from 

the confluence with Big Reed Island Creek upstream to the 

Rock Creek confluence; 19.7 miles of Little Reed Island 

Creek from the Rock Creek confluence upstream to the 

Hillsville Public Water Supply intake; 5.28 miles of East Fork 

Little Reed Island Creek from the Hillsville Public Water 

Supply intake upstream five miles; and 13.35 miles of Island 

Creek and tributaries northeast of Hillsville near Huffman 

Knob. 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the bacteria and aquatic life impairments for these 

segments will be held on September 17 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

at the Crossroads Institute, 1117 East Stuart Drive, Galax, VA 

24333. 

The public comment period will begin on September 17, 

2018, and end on October 17, 2018. An advisory committee 

to assist in development of this TMDL will be established. 

Persons interested in assisting should notify the DEQ contact 

person by the end of the comment period and provide their 

name, address, phone number, email address, and the 

organization they are representing (if any). Notification of the 

composition of the panel will be sent to all applicants. 

A component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDLs associated WLAs. Information on the 

development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request. Questions, information requests, and 

all written comments should be addressed to Martha 

Chapman, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, or email 

martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. All written comments 

should include the name, address, and telephone number of 

the person submitting the comments.  

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:marvin.booth@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-20. Provision of Vocational 

Rehabilitation Services. 

Publication: 35:1 VA.R. 94-120 September 3, 2018 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 101, 22VAC30-20-30, second column, subdivision 3, 

delete ", or the applicant's employment history or current 

employment status, or the applicant's educational status or 

current educational credential; and" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5227; Filed September 6, 2018 
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