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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. 

Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, Publications 

Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2018 through December 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:9 December 5, 2018 December 24, 2018 

35:10 December 14, 2018 (Friday) January 7, 2019 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed 

Funeral Planning. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-2803, and 54.1-2820 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jessica Watkins. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 

preneed contracts to prevent circumstances, such as the 

closure of a funeral establishment, that result in the loss of 

funding for a family member's funeral. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on October 

16, 2018, the board considered the petition and the comments 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. The board is 

convening a workgroup to look at issues relating to preneed 

contracts, and the request and comments will be included in 

the information that group considers. At this time, the 

decision is not to initiate rulemaking in response to the 

petition, but the workgroup will address the problem of 

defaulting on prepaid services and consider whether there are 

solutions that could protect other families. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-02; Filed October 26, 2018, 1:34 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Williard Vaughn. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 

residents in counseling to prohibit promoting or advertising 

their services independently to solicit business from the 

public. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and published on November 26, 2018, with 

comment requested until December 21, 2018. It will also be 

placed on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and available 

for comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 

following the close of comment, scheduled for February 9, 

2019, the board will consider the request to amend 

regulations and all comment received in support or 

opposition. The petitioner will be informed of the board's 

response and any action it approves. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 21, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-16; Filed October 26, 2018, 1:54 p.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Charles R. McAdams, III. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend the requirements for 

licensure by endorsement to include the National Counselor 

Licensure for Endorsement Process (NCLEP) as a route for 

counselor licensure. 

Agency Decision: Request denied.  

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on 

November 2, 2018, the board discussed the request to amend 

the regulations and all comment received. The board voted to 

refer the issue of portability to the Regulatory Committee for 

further consideration and not to initiate rulemaking at this 

time. However, the board took an additional action to 

recognize the Certified Clinical Mental Health Counselor 

(CCMHC) credential from the National Board of Certified 

Counselors (NBCC) as acceptable in lieu of transcripts 

verifying education and documentation verifying supervised 

experience in applying for licensure by endorsement. The 

board has the authority in subsection B 3 of 18VAC115-20-

45 to identify "any other board-recognized entity" and has 

acted on that authority to recognize the CCMHC from the 

NBCC. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-05; Filed November 5, 2018, 5:11 p.m. 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Lee Cooper. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Proposing that PCSAS be 

recognized as an additional accrediting body of doctoral 

programs in psychology in 18VAC125-20-54. 

Agency Decision: Request denied.  

Statement of Reason for Decision: The board considered the 

petition relating to acceptance of accreditation by the 

Psychological Clinical Science Accreditation System 

(PCSAS) for licensure in clinical psychology, as well as 

comment received from interested parties and additional 

information from the petitioner on PCSAS and from the 

Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards 

(ASPPB). The board decided at its meeting on October 30, 

2018, not to initiate rulemaking at this time. There will be 

further review and discussion in the context of proposed 

changes to the educational requirements for clinical 

psychologists as a part of the overall review of regulations. 

The board will continue to have discussion and gather 

information in the coming months.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-35; Filed October 30, 2018, 1:06 p.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Kelly Gotschalk, DVM. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC150-20-170 

to allow practice management courses to be approved for 

continuing education credit. 

Agency Decision: Request denied.  

Statement of Reason for Decision: The petition and the 

comments on the petition were considered by the board at its 

meeting on November 6, 2018. Members of the board voted 

to deny the petition for a variety of reasons. First, the 

petitioner had requested that the board interpret its current 

regulations through a guidance document to allow hours of 

practice management to meet requirements for continuing 

education. Such an interpretation is beyond the scope of a 

guidance document, so the recognition of courses in practice 

management would necessitate an amendment to rule. 

Second, the board was concerned that hours of practice 

management would dilute the purpose of continuing 

education, which is to ensure that licensees remain minimally 

competent to practice veterinary medicine. While practice 

management (and related) courses may be extremely valuable 

in effectively operating a veterinary establishment and 

managing employees, they are not essential to the mission of 

the board to protect patient health and safety. The board 

considered the advisability of increasing the hourly 

requirement and then recognizing practice management for 

the number of additional hours, but that would increase the 

burden on all licensees. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, or 

email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-36; Filed November 6, 2018, 1:16 p.m. 

 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-50. Candidate Qualification 

(amending 1VAC20-50-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 24.2-103 and 24.2-506 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 18, 2018 - 11:30 a.m. - Virginia State Capitol 

Building, 1000 Bank Street, Senate Room 3, Richmond, 

VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: December 17, 2018. 

Agency Contact: David Nichols, Director of Election 

Services, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8952, or email 

david.nichols@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) make the candidate's 

petition invalid if the candidate's residence address 

provided on the petition does not match the candidate's 

voter registration record at the time of the petition's 

circulation and (ii) permit the petition or signature to be 

determined valid even if the signer fails to provide the year 

when signing the petition. The proposed amendments add 

to the circumstances in which an omission will be 

considered nonmaterial and will not render the petition or 

signature invalid. The general registrar must still be able 

to independently and reasonably verify the validity of the 

petition or signature.  

1VAC20-50-20. Material omissions from candidate 

petitions and petition signature qualifications. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of §§ 24.2-506, 24.2-521, 

and 24.2-543 of the Code of Virginia, a petition or a petition 

signature should not be rendered invalid if it contains an error 

or omission not material to its proper processing. 

B. The following omissions are always material and any 

petition containing such omissions shall be rendered invalid 

if: 

1. The petition submitted is not the double-sided document, 

or a double-sided copy thereof, provided by the State 

Board of Elections; 

2. The petition does not have the name, or some variation 

of the name, and address of the candidate on the front of 

the form; 

3. The petition fails to identify the office sought on the 

front of the form; 

4. The petition fails to identify the applicable election 

district in which the candidate is running for office;  

5. The candidate's residence address provided on the 

petition does not match the candidate's voter registration 

record at the time of the petition's circulation;  

6. The circulator has not signed the petition affidavit and 

provided his current address; 

6. 7. The circulator is a minor or a felon whose voting 

rights have not been restored;  

7. 8. The circulator has not signed the petition he circulated 

in the presence of a notary; 

8. 9. The circulator has not had a notary sign the affidavit 

for each petition submitted;  

9. 10. A person other than the circulator signed the petition 

affidavit;  

10. 11. The notary has not affixed a photographically 

reproducible seal; 

11. 12. The notary has not included his registration number 

and commission expiration date; or  

12. 13. Any combination of the scenarios of this subsection 

exists. 

C. The following omissions related to individual petition 

signatures are always material and any petition signature 

containing such omission shall be rendered invalid if: 

1. The signer is not qualified to cast a ballot for the office 

for which the petition was circulated; 

2. The signer is also the circulator of the petition;  
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3. The signer provided an accompanying date that is 

subsequent to the date upon which the notary signed the 

petition; 

4. The signer did not sign the petition; or 

5. The signer provided an address that does not match the 

petition signer's address in the Virginia voter registration 

system, unless the signer provided an address that is within 

the same precinct where a voter is currently registered in 

the Virginia voter registration system, and the signer can 

be reasonably identified as the same registered voter.  

D. The following omissions shall be treated as nonmaterial 

provided the general registrar can independently and 

reasonably verify the validity of the petition or signature:  

1. An older version of the petition is used (provided that 

the information presented complies with current laws, 

regulations, and guidelines); 

2. The "election information" including (i) county, city, or 

town in which the election will be held; (ii) election type; 

and (iii) date of election are omitted; 

3. The name of the candidate and office sought are omitted 

from the back of the petition;  

4. The circulator has not provided the last four digits of his 

social security number in the affidavit; 

5. The signer omits his first name, provided he provides a 

combination of his first or middle initials or a middle name 

and last name and address that matches a qualified voter 

within the Virginia voter registration system;  

6. The signer provided a derivative of his legal name as his 

first or middle name (e.g., "Bob" instead of "Robert"); 

7. The signer prints his name on the "Print" line and prints 

his name on the "Sign" line; or 

8. The signer fails to provide the date but a period of time 

that qualifies can affirmatively be established with 

previous and subsequent dates provided by other signers 

upon the petition page; or 

9. The signer fails to provide the year when signing the 

petition. 

E. A signature upon a petition shall be included in the count 

toward meeting the petition signature requirements only if: 

1. The petition signer is a qualified voter who is 

maintained on the Virginia voter registration system either 

(i) with active status or (ii) with inactive status and 

qualified to vote for the office for which the petition was 

circulated;  

2. The signer provides his name; and 

3. The signer provides an address that matches the petition 

signer's address in the Virginia voter registration system, or 

the signer provided an address that is within the same 

precinct where a voter is currently registered in the 

Virginia voter registration system, and the signer can be 

reasonably identified as the same registered voter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5732; Filed October 25, 2018, 11:38 a.m.  

OFFICE OF THE STATE INSPECTOR GENERAL 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC42-30. Fraud and Abuse Whistle 

Blower Reward Fund (adding 1VAC42-30-10 through 

1VAC42-30-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-3014 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Mark Courtney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Office of the State Inspector General, 101 North 14th Street, 

7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 625-3255, 

FAX (804) 371-0165, or email 

mark.courtney@osig.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-309 of the Code of Virginia outlines the 

powers and duties of the State Inspector General, and 

subsection E of § 2.2-3014 of the Code of Virginia requires 

the Office of the State Inspector General (OSIG) to 

promulgate regulations for the administration of the Fraud 

and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund.  

Purpose: The proposed regulations (i) provide direction to 

state agency employees and citizens for reporting instances of 

fraud or abuse within executive branch agencies; (ii) 

encourage state agency employees and citizens of the 

Commonwealth to report instances of fraud, abuse, or other 

wrongdoing committed within executive branch agencies and 

nonstate agencies or by independent contractors of state 

agencies; (iii) provide resources to pay monetary rewards to 

state agency employees and citizens who provide relevant 

information to the OSIG that results in recovery of funds on 

behalf of the Commonwealth; and (iv) provide statutory 

protection for state employees and citizens who report 

instances of abuse or wrongdoing from discrimination or 

retaliation by state agencies. 

Substance: The proposed regulation defines the Fraud and 

Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund and its administration 

by the Office of the State Inspector General, including fund 

eligibility requirements, fund amount, fund distribution, 

process for leftover fund moneys at the end of the fiscal year, 

and the establishment of the fund on the books of the 

Comptroller, including: 

Providing information on the Whistle Blower Protection Act 

and Whistle Blower Reward Fund; definitions for technical 

terms in regulations and how technical terms apply to Whistle 
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Blower Reward Fund; and guidelines for reporting instances 

of alleged fraud, waste, or other wrongdoing in state 

government executive branch agencies. 

Explaining OSIG's role in administering the Whistle Blower 

Protection Act (WBPA) Program and the Whistle Blower 

Reward Fund and how OSIG will communicate information 

about and advertise the WBPA Program and the Whistle 

Blower Reward Fund. 

Explaining the process OSIG staff follows when a whistle 

blower allegation under the WBPA Program is received and 

when investigating a whistle blower allegation. 

Explaining the structure of the Whistle Blower Reward Fund 

and what happens to its moneys; how payments from the 

Whistle Blower Reward Fund are made to whistle blowers 

and defining those payments; what legal protections whistle 

blowers have as a result of the WBPA, including 

antiretaliation provisions; and the annual report OSIG must 

provide the General Assembly and the Governor concerning 

the WBPA Program and the Whistle Blower Reward Fund. 

Issues: The advantages of the proposed regulation is that it 

will provide direction to all citizens of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, including state employees, for reporting instances of 

fraud or abuse within executive branch agencies. 

All moneys recovered by the State Inspector General as the 

result of whistle blower activity and alerts originating with 

OSIG shall be deposited in the fund (85% of all sums 

recovered shall be remitted to the institutions or governmental 

agencies on whose behalf the recovery was secured unless 

otherwise directed by a court of law). Interest earned on 

moneys in the fund shall remain in the fund and be credited to 

it. Any moneys remaining in the fund, including interest 

thereon, at the end of each fiscal year shall not revert to the 

general fund but shall remain in the fund. 

Moneys in the fund shall be used solely to (i) provide 

monetary rewards to persons who have disclosed information 

of wrongdoing or abuse and the disclosure results in a 

recovery of at least $5,000 or (ii) support the administration 

of the fund, defray fund advertising costs, or subsidize the 

operation of the Fraud, Waste and Abuse Hotline. 

There are no anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-3014, the Office of the State 

Inspector General (OSIG) proposes to promulgate this 

regulation in order to set out administrative procedures and 

rules for the Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund 

(Fund).  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Fraud and Abuse Whistle 

Blower Protection Act (Act)1 was enacted in 2009 in order to 

protect executive branch state employee whistle blowers from 

discrimination or retaliation by their employing agency, other 

state agencies, or independent contractors of state agencies. 

The Act also established the Fund in order to provide 

monetary rewards to whistle blowers who have disclosed 

information of wrongdoing or abuse described under the Act. 

Chapter 403 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly2 expanded the 

protections of the Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower 

Protection Act to all Virginia citizens, and made Virginian 

whistle blowers not employed by the Commonwealth eligible 

for an award from the Fund. Chapter 316 of the 2015 Acts of 

Assembly3 added independent state agencies as agencies 

covered by the Act. Finally, Chapter 292 of the 2016 Acts of 

Assembly4 made the Act applicable to local government and 

public school divisions as well. 

The promulgation of this regulation is beneficial in that it 

makes procedures and requirements more transparent for 

potential whistle blowers and employers. The regulation does 

not introduce new costs. Thus, the proposed regulation will 

create a net benefit. 

If the primary purpose of the Fund is to increase the 

likelihood that instances of fraud, abuse, or other wrongdoing 

is reported, then it may be advisable to eliminate the 

residency requirement. Individuals may be reluctant to report 

their superiors within an agency while working there but be 

more willing to report once they leave that job for one 

perhaps out of state. Additionally, employees of an out-of-

state firm that has a contract with a Virginia agency could 

potentially be encouraged to report fraud if they were eligible 

for a reward. The 2014 legislation does limit fund awards to 

Commonwealth residents. Therefore, OSIG does not have 

discretion to change that in this regulation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 

potentially affects all executive branch and independent state 

agencies, local governments, public school divisions, and 

independent contractors of these entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation is unlikely to significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation is unlikely 

to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________________ 

1See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?091+ful+CHAP0340 

2See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?141+ful+CHAP0403 

3See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0316 

4See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0292 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Office 

of the State Inspector General concurs with the economic 

impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation defines the Fraud and Abuse 

Whistle Blower Reward Fund and its administration by the 

Office of the State Inspector General, including (i) 

eligibility requirements, (ii) amount and distribution, (iii) 

process for leftover moneys at the end of the fiscal year, 

and (iv) the fund's establishment on the books of the 

Comptroller. 

CHAPTER 30 

FRAUD AND ABUSE WHISTLE BLOWER  

REWARD FUND 

1VAC42-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means an employer's or employee's conduct or 

omissions that result in substantial misuse, destruction, waste, 

or loss of funds or resources belonging to or derived from 

federal, state, or local government sources. 

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Disclosure" means a voluntary formal or informal 

communication or transmission of (i) any violation of any 

law, rule, or regulation; (ii) gross mismanagement; (iii) a 

gross waste of funds; (iv) an abuse of authority; or (v) a 

substantial and specific danger to public health or safety. 

"Employee" means any individual who is employed on 

either a salaried or wage basis, whose tenure is not restricted 

as to temporary or provisional appointment, in the service of 

and whose compensation is payable no more often than 

biweekly in whole or in part by a Virginia governmental 

agency. 

"Employer" means a person supervising one or more 

employees, including the employee filing a good faith report, 

a superior of that supervisor, or an agent of the governmental 

agency. 

"Executive branch agency" or "agency" means any agency, 

institution, board, bureau, commission, council, public 

institution of higher education, or instrumentality of state 

government in the executive department listed in the 

appropriation act. 

"Fraud" means the intentional deception perpetrated by an 

individual or an organization, either internal or external to 

state government, that could result in a tangible or intangible 

benefit to themselves, others, or the Commonwealth, 

including local government, or could cause detriment to 

others or the Commonwealth. Fraud includes a false 

representation of the facts, whether by words or by conduct. 

Fraud also includes false or misleading statements, the 

concealment of essential information, or information or 

actions that deceive or are intended to deceive.  

"Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Protection Act Program" 

or "WBPA Program" means the policy of the Commonwealth 

that Commonwealth citizens and employees of state 

government are freely able to report instances of wrongdoing 

or abuse committed by their employing agency, other state 

agencies, or independent contractors of state agencies. 

"Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower Reward Fund" or "fund" 

means the fund used solely to provide monetary rewards to 

Commonwealth citizens who have disclosed information of 

wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program that results 

in a recovery of at least $5,000.  

"Good faith report" means a reported incident of possible 

wrongdoing or abuse made without malice, for which the 

person reporting has reasonable cause to believe wrongdoing 

or abuse occurred. 

"Governmental agency" means (i) any agency, institution, 

board, bureau, commission, council, or instrumentality of 

state government in the executive branch listed in the 

appropriation act and any independent agency; (ii) any 

county, city, town, or local or regional governmental 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?091+ful+CHAP0340
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?141+ful+CHAP0403
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0316
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0292
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authority; and (iii) any local school division as defined in 

§ 22.1-280.2:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Hotline coordinator" means a qualified employee, 

designated by a governmental agency director or chief 

administrator, responsible for conducting State Fraud, Waste 

and Abuse Hotline investigations referred to the agency by 

OSIG.  

"Internal audit director" means a director of a governmental 

agency internal audit program. 

"Misconduct" means conduct or behavior by an employee 

that is inconsistent with state, local, or agency standards for 

which specific corrective or disciplinary action is warranted. 

"Nonstate agency" means any public or private foundation, 

authority, institute, museum, corporation, or similar 

organization that is (i) not a unit of state government or a 

political subdivision of the Commonwealth as established by 

general law or special act and (ii) wholly or principally 

supported by state funds. "Nonstate agency" shall not include 

any such entity that receives state funds (a) as a subgrantee of 

a state agency; (b) through a state grant-in-aid program 

authorized by law; (c) as a result of an award of a competitive 

grant or a public contract for the procurement of goods, 

services, or construction; or (d) pursuant to a lease of real 

property as described in subdivision 5 of § 2.2-1149 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Office of the State Inspector General" or "OSIG" means the 

governmental agency that conducts independent 

investigations, performance audits, and other services 

designed to provide objective and useful information to the 

Commonwealth and those charged with its governance and 

promotes efficiency and effectiveness in state government 

executive branch agencies in accordance with Article 1 

(§ 2.2-307 et seq.) of Chapter 13.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Public body" means any legislative body; any authority, 

board, bureau, commission, district, agency, or political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth, including counties, cities, 

towns, city councils, boards of supervisors, school boards, 

planning commissions, and boards of visitors of institutions 

of higher education; and other organizations, corporations, or 

agencies in the Commonwealth supported wholly or 

principally by public funds. "Public body" includes any 

committee, subcommittee, or other entity however designated 

of the public body or formed to advise the public body, 

including those with private sector or citizen members and 

corporations organized by the Virginia Retirement System. 

For the purposes of this chapter, the term "public body" does 

not include the courts of the Commonwealth. 

"Reward" means a monetary benefit payable from the fund 

by OSIG to an eligible whistle blower.  

"Screening process" means OSIG's internal review to ensure 

reports of information or disclosures of wrongdoing fall 

within the authority of the WBPA Program.  

"State Fraud, Waste and Abuse Hotline" or "hotline" means 

the program (i) that provides Commonwealth citizens with a 

confidential and anonymous method to report suspected 

occurrences of fraud, waste, and abuse in state agencies and 

institutions and (ii) that provides the Commonwealth a way to 

investigate such occurrences to determine their validity and 

make appropriate recommendations to address deficiencies. 

"Whistle blower" means a Commonwealth employee or 

citizen who witnesses or has evidence of wrongdoing or 

abuse and who makes a good faith, open, and public report of 

the wrongdoing or abuse to one of the employee's superiors, 

an agent of the employer, or an appropriate authority. 

"Wrongdoing" means a violation, which is not of a merely 

technical or minimal nature, of a federal or state law or 

regulation or a formally adopted code of conduct or ethics of 

a professional organization designed to protect the interests of 

the public or an employee. "Wrongdoing" includes (i) any 

violation of any law, rule, or regulation; (ii) gross 

mismanagement; (iii) a gross waste of funds; (iv) an abuse of 

authority; or (v) a substantial and specific danger to public 

health or safety. 

1VAC42-30-20. Office of the State Inspector General 

responsibilities. 

A. OSIG is responsible for administering the WBPA 

Program and fund and the following tasks:  

1. Notifying annually Commonwealth employees, citizens, 

and governmental bodies, including state agencies, of the 

WBPA Program and fund regulations and procedures for 

submitting information regarding wrongdoing or abuse. 

2. Protecting the identity of Commonwealth employees and 

citizens who make allegations of wrongdoing or abuse 

through the WBPA Program. OSIG will keep this 

information confidential to the extent allowed by law. 

3. Conducting appropriate investigations and preparing 

official reports. 

4. Receiving and evaluating fund claims. 

5. Ensuring payment of approved fund moneys to whistle 

blowers. 

6. Submitting an annual report on WBPA Program 

activities to the Governor and General Assembly. 

7. Notifying individuals making allegations of the possible 

incentives as a result of moneys recovered and available 

through the fund. 

B. OSIG is responsible for assigning, coordinating, and 

investigating alleged wrongdoing or abuse reported to OSIG 

under the WBPA Program. OSIG may work with executive 
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branch agency internal audit directors, executive branch 

agency hotline coordinators, or representatives of public 

bodies when performing WBPA Program investigations. 

1VAC42-30-30. Fraud and Abuse Whistle Blower 

Protection Act Program and Reward Fund notification. 

A. Annually, the State Inspector General will communicate 

with all state agency heads. The communication will:  

1. Publicize the WBPA Program and fund. 

2. Explain the protections afforded to individuals who 

report instances of wrongdoing or abuse committed within 

executive branch agencies and nonstate agencies. 

3. Notify state agency heads of relevant statutory 

amendments or program changes. 

4. Contain the requirements for reporting allegations to 

OSIG and the incentives under the WBPA Program. 

5. Clarify pertinent differences between the WBPA 

Program and the hotline regarding the rules governing 

anonymity and confidentiality. 

6. Provide available materials to assist agency heads in 

promoting the WBPA Program and fund, as well as 

available training for Commonwealth employees regarding 

the WBPA Program and fund. 

B. Annually, OSIG will publicize the WBPA Program and 

fund on the OSIG website and to Commonwealth citizens 

through the distribution of a news release to Virginia media, 

as well as to state employees through an electronic 

communication in partnership with the Department of Human 

Resource Management. The communication will: 

1. Contain the requirements for reporting allegations to 

OSIG and the incentives under the WBPA Program. 

2. Clarify pertinent differences between the WBPA 

Program and the hotline regarding the rules governing 

anonymity and confidentiality.  

1VAC42-30-40. Reporting alleged fraud, abuse, or 

wrongdoing. 

A. A Commonwealth employee or citizen with an allegation 

of wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program may 

contact OSIG by phone, email, online complaint form, United 

States Postal Service, or FAX. 

B. OSIG staff is available to advise citizens on what to 

report that meets the definition of wrongdoing or abuse. 

C. If an investigation results in recoverable funds, and the 

whistle blower seeks to file a fund claim under the WBPA 

Program, the whistle blower will be required to provide his 

name and lawful residence. 

While not anonymous, OSIG will keep this information 

confidential to the extent allowed by law. 

1VAC42-30-50. Office of the State Inspector General 

receipt of an allegation. 

A. Allegations of wrongdoing or abuse received by OSIG 

undergo the hotline screening process. 

B. Allegations submitted by an individual who is not a 

Commonwealth employee or citizen will be referred to the 

appropriate governmental agency or organization.  

C. If the agency or organization reported is not an executive 

branch or independent state agency or entity or a local 

governmental agency or entity or school division, the 

information will be forwarded to that entity where possible 

for informational purposes only. 

1VAC42-30-60. Allegation investigative process. 

A. OSIG will prepare a detailed written summary that 

describes the allegation of wrongdoing or abuse submitted 

through the WBPA Program. 

B. The hotline manager or designee will create a 

confidential tracking number for each case and assign it for 

formal investigation.  

C. OSIG will monitor the progress of each investigation and 

provide the State Inspector General with regular status 

updates of the assignment. 

D. Upon completion of an investigation, the investigator will 

prepare and submit a case report for management review and 

approval. When appropriate, recommendations for corrective 

action to address procedural deficiencies disclosed during the 

investigation will be included in the case report. 

E. Formal case reports will describe all financial recovery 

realized on behalf of the Commonwealth as a result of the 

information received from the whistle blower and the 

subsequent investigation.  

F. Case reports will be forwarded to the State Inspector 

General for review. Upon authorization by the State Inspector 

General, the investigator will prepare an executive summary 

that recaps the findings of the investigation, the 

recommendations, the recovery of funds, and the status of 

applicable fund claims. Upon signature approval of the State 

Inspector General, the executive summary will be forwarded 

to the subject state executive branch agency head, respective 

secretariat, and the Chief of Staff of the Governor. 

1VAC42-30-70. Nonreverting fund. 

A. OSIG will coordinate with the State Comptroller to 

establish a special nonreverting fund.  

B. The fund will be established on the books of the State 

Comptroller and administered by the State Inspector General. 

C. All moneys recovered by an OSIG investigation as a 

result of whistle blower activity shall be deposited in the 

fund. 
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D. Except for the moneys described in subsection F of this 

section, moneys remaining in the fund at the end of each 

fiscal year, including interest, shall not revert to the general 

fund, but shall remain in the fund.  

E. Moneys in the fund shall solely be used to:  

1. Provide monetary rewards to Commonwealth employees 

and citizens who have disclosed information of 

wrongdoing or abuse under the WBPA Program (§ 2.2-

3009 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the disclosure 

resulted in a recovery of at least $5,000. 

2. Support the administration of the fund, defray fund 

advertising costs, or subsidize the operation of the hotline.  

F. Per the State Inspector General's authorization by the end 

of each calendar quarter, 85% of all sums recovered by an 

OSIG investigation will be remitted to the institutions or 

agencies concerned, unless otherwise directed by a court of 

law.  

1VAC42-30-80. Fund payments to whistle blowers. 

A. Within 10 working days, excluding state holidays and 

weekends, of the closing of a WBPA Program investigation 

that verifies a final recovery and deposit in the fund of $5,000 

or more, the State Inspector General will review and certify 

the fund claim. Within five working days after the State 

Inspector General's verification, the whistle blower will be 

notified of the award amount he is eligible to receive. Upon 

approval of the fund claim, the State Inspector General will 

submit a written request to the State Comptroller to make a 

reward payment from the fund to the whistle blower.  

B. The State Treasurer will make reward payments from the 

fund based on a warrant issued by the State Comptroller and a 

written request signed by the State Inspector General. 

C. Award amounts.  

1. The amount of the fund reward shall be up to 10% of the 

actual sums recovered by the Commonwealth as a result of 

the disclosure of the wrongdoing or abuse. 

2. OSIG will consider many factors in determining the 

amount of an award based on the unique facts and 

circumstances of each case. OSIG may increase the award 

percentage up to the maximum allowed based on the 

following factors: (i) the significance of the information 

provided to OSIG to the success of any proceeding brought 

against wrongdoers; (ii) the extent of the assistance 

provided to OSIG in its investigation and any resulting 

findings; (iii) OSIG's law-enforcement interest in deterring 

violations of the applicable laws by making awards to 

whistle blowers who provide information that leads to the 

successful enforcement of these laws; and (iv) whether and 

the extent to which the whistle blower participated in his 

agency's internal compliance systems, such as, for 

example, reporting the possible violations through internal 

whistle blower, legal, or compliance procedures, before or 

at the same time the possible violations were reported to 

OSIG. 

3. OSIG may reduce the amount of an award based on the 

following: (i) if the whistle blower was a participant in or 

culpable for the violations reported; (ii) if the whistle 

blower unreasonably delayed reporting the violations to 

OSIG; and (iii) if the whistle blower interfered with his 

agency's internal compliance and reporting systems, such 

as, for example, making false statements to the compliance 

department that hindered its efforts to investigate possible 

wrongdoing or abuse. 

4. The amount of the reward will not exceed the balance of 

the fund, regardless of the sums recovered.  

5. In the event that multiple whistle blowers have 

simultaneously reported the same fund-eligible occurrence 

of wrongdoing or abuse, the fund moneys may be split up 

to 10% among the whistle blowers at the State Inspector 

General's discretion. The State Inspector General's decision 

regarding the allocation of fund moneys is final and 

binding upon all parties and cannot be appealed. 

6. The request for payment will include the name and 

address of the whistle blower and the payment amount. 

OSIG will provide documentation supporting the amount 

of the payment to the State Comptroller. 

7. Once approved, the State Comptroller shall forward the 

request to Finance and Administration of the Department 

of Accounts (DOA) with a request that Finance and 

Administration process the payment to the whistle blower. 

8. DOA will ensure the amount of the fund reward is 

properly included in the whistle blower's federal and state 

tax records (i.e., W-2 for employees; 1099 for 

Commonwealth citizens). 

9. OSIG will confirm that DOA processes the fund request 

and that the reward payment is made to the whistle blower 

for the amount approved by the State Inspector General. 

D. Five percent of all sums recovered on behalf of the 

Commonwealth will be retained in the fund to support the 

administration of the fund, defray advertising costs, and 

subsidize the operation of the hotline. Expenditures for 

administrative costs for management of the fund will be 

approved by the State Inspector General.  

1VAC42-30-90. Whistle blower protections. 

A. Employee protections. 

1. No employer may discharge, threaten, or otherwise 

discriminate or retaliate against a whistle blower, whether 

acting individually or under the direction of another 

individual. 
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2. No employer may discharge, threaten, or otherwise 

discriminate or retaliate against a whistle blower who is 

requested or subpoenaed by an appropriate authority to 

participate in an investigation, hearing, or inquiry. 

3. Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit an employer from 

disciplining or discharging a whistle blower for 

misconduct or violation of criminal law. 

4. If an employee has, in good faith, exhausted existing 

internal procedures for reporting and seeking recovery of 

falsely claimed sums through official channels, and if the 

Commonwealth failed to act on the information provided 

in a reasonable period of time, no court shall have 

jurisdiction over an action brought under § 8.01-216.5 of 

the Code of Virginia based on information discovered by a 

present or former employee of the Commonwealth during 

the course of his employment. 

5. Any whistle blower covered by the state grievance 

procedure may initiate a grievance alleging retaliation for 

reporting wrongdoing or abuse through the WBPA 

Program and may request relief throughout that procedure. 

B. Commonwealth citizen protections. 

1. No governmental agency may threaten or otherwise 

discriminate or retaliate against a citizen whistle blower 

because the whistle blower is requested or subpoenaed by 

an appropriate authority to participate in an investigation, 

hearing, or inquiry. 

2. Except for the provisions of § 2.2-3011 E of the Code of 

Virginia, the WBPA Program does not limit the remedies 

provided by the Virginia Fraud Against Taxpayers Act 

(§ 8.01-216.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. Protection against discrimination and retaliation - good 

faith required.  

1. To be protected by the provisions of this chapter, an 

employee or Commonwealth citizen who discloses 

information about suspected wrongdoing or abuse shall do 

so in good faith and upon a reasonable belief information 

provided is accurate.  

2. Reckless disclosures or disclosures the employee or 

citizen knows or should have known were false, 

confidential by law, or malicious are not deemed good 

faith reports and are not protected. 

1VAC42-30-100. Whistle Blower Protection Act Program 

and Reward Fund annual report. 

A. OSIG shall submit an annual report to the Governor and 

the General Assembly of Virginia summarizing the activities 

of the fund.  

B. OSIG will provide a copy of the WBPA Program annual 

report to the Chief of Staff to the Governor, the Secretary of 

Finance, and the State Comptroller. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4186; Filed November 6, 2018, 1:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

40, 4VAC20-720-70, 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: November 12, 2018, through December 11, 

2018. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendments (i) adjust the open dates of 

Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3 to close harvest by 

patent tong on November 11, 2018, and open harvest by 

hand scrape from November 12, 2018, through January 

10, 2019; and (ii) lower the limit in the patent tong areas 

to eight bushels per licensed harvester per day and 16 

bushels per vessel per day. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 

the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2018, through 

April 30, 2019. 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2018, through February 28, 

2019. 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2018, 

through December 31, 2018. 
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4. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018. 

5. Coan River Area: October 1, 2018, through December 

31, 2018. 

6. Yeocomico River Area: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018.  

7. Nomini Creek Area: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018. 

8. Mobjack Bay Area: February 1, 2019, through February 

28, 2019. 

9. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3: November 1, 

2018, through November 30 11, 2018 (patent tong only), 

and January 1, 2019, through February 28 November 12, 

2018, through January 10, 2019 (hand scrape only). 

10. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5: October 1, 2018, 

through November 30, 2018. 

11. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2: December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018, and February 1, 2019, 

through February 28, 2019. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018, and 

February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019. 

13. James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3: November 1, 

2018, through January 31, 2019. 

14. James River Hand Scrape Area 2: October 1, 2018, 

through December 31, 2018. 

15. Pocomoke Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2018, 

through January 31, 2019. 

16. Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2018, 

through February 28, 2019. 

17. Pocomoke Sound Area: November 1, 2018, through 

November 30, 2018. 

18. Rappahannock River Area 8: October 1, 2018, through 

October 31, 2018 (patent tong only), and December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018 (hand scrape only). 

19. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2018, through February 

28, 2019. 

20. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2018, through March 31, 2019. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2018, through May 

31, 2019. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2018, through May 31, 2019. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River 

Area, Nomini Creek Area and Yeocomico River Area, except 

by hand tong. It shall be unlawful for any person to have a 

hand scrape on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to 

harvest oysters from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters by any gear from 

the seaside of the Eastern Shore except by hand or hand tong. 

It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters that are not submerged 

at mean low water by any gear other than by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the following 

areas by any gear except by hand scrape: Rappahannock 

River Rotation Area 3, from January 1 November 12, 2018, 

through February 28 January 10, 2019; Rappahannock River 

Area 5, from October 1, 2018, through November 30, 2018; 

James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3, from November 1, 

2018, through January 31, 2019; James River Hand Scrape 

Area 2, from October 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018; 

Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area, from 

December 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018, and February 

1, 2019, through February 28, 2019; Mobjack Bay Area, from 

February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019; Pocomoke 

Sound Area, from November 1, 2018, through November 30, 

2018; and Great Wicomico River Areas, from December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018 and February 1, 2019, 

through February 28, 2019. 

D. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the following 

areas by any gear except an oyster patent tong: Rappahannock 

River Rotation Area 3, from November 1, 2018, through 

November 30 11, 2018, and Rappahannock River Rotation 

Area 8, from October 1, 2018, through October 31, 2018. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board his vessel while he is harvesting oysters 

or attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board his 

vessel while he is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand scrape. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2, except by an oyster 

dredge. 

G. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 
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valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

hand scrape or dredge license and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall be 

unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 

bushels clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described 

in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through 18 when the vessel is using 

the hand scrape or oyster dredge. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

hand or hand tong license and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of 12 bushels per day. It shall be unlawful 

for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit for clean cull 

oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-

40 B 2 through 7 and 20, whereby that vessel limit shall equal 

the number of registered commercial fisherman licensees on 

board the vessel who hold a valid gear license and have paid 

the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 12. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 12 

bushels per day. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75 and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

patent tong license and has paid the oyster resource user fee 

as described in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum 

harvest of 10 eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for 

any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 20 16 bushels of 

clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 

4VAC20-720-40 B when the vessel is using patent tongs. 

E. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2, no 

blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to possess 

on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5738; Filed November 1, 2018, 12:48 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC15-40. Minimum Standards for 

Jails and Lockups (amending 6VAC15-40-770).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 53.1-5, 53.1-68, and 53.1-131 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 26, 2018. 

Effective Date: January 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emmanuel Fontenot, Compliance and 

Accreditation Manager, Department of Corrections, 6900 

Atmore Drive, Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 887-

7923, or email emmanuel.fontenot@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 53.1-5 and 53.1-68 of the Code of Virginia 

mandate that the Board of Corrections prescribe regulations 

to govern the administration and operation of local 

correctional facilities. 

Purpose: The current regulation requires that feminine 

hygiene items (as defined by facility policy) be provided upon 

reasonable request to each female inmate assigned to the 

general population. The proposed change to this regulation 

will mandate that feminine hygiene items be provided at no 

charge to female inmates. The purpose of this revision to the 

regulation is to provide for the public health and welfare of 

female inmates incarcerated in local and regional jails by 

providing them tampons and sanitary napkins at no cost to the 

inmate.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are minor, noncontroversial changes to current 

regulatory requirements mandated by Chapter 815 of the 

2018 Acts of Assembly. 

Substance: This revision clearly mandates that jails and 

lockups provide feminine hygiene products to female inmates 

at no charge. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this revision is that it 

ensures that feminine hygiene items are provided to all female 

inmates regardless of their financial situation at no cost to the 

inmate and with minimum financial impact to jails and 
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lockups as this is the current general practice. There is no 

known disadvantage to the public, individual private citizens, 

or businesses and no significant disadvantage to the 

Commonwealth as most local and regional jails are already 

providing feminine hygiene products. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 815 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, the 

Board of Corrections (Board) proposes to specify in 

regulation that jails and lockups must provide feminine 

hygiene products to female inmates without charge. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes.  

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 815 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly states that "The State Board of Corrections shall 

adopt and implement a standard to ensure the provision of 

feminine hygiene products to female inmates without charge." 

The Board proposes to specify in this regulation that 

"Feminine hygiene items (as defined by facility policy) shall 

be provided upon reasonable request to each female 

inmate without charge." Since this requirement is already part 

of the Code of Virginia, adding it to the regulation would 

have no impact beyond improving clarity for readers of the 

regulation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

affects jails and lockups in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Corrections concurs with the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 815 of the the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendment requires that a facility provide feminine 

hygiene items without charge to each female inmate. 

6VAC15-40-770. Provision of hygiene items.  

The facility shall provide soap, a toothbrush, and toothpaste 

or toothpowder to each inmate upon admission to the general 

population. Feminine hygiene items (as defined by facility 

policy), including sanitary napkins and tampons, shall be 

provided upon reasonable request to each female inmate 

assigned to the general population without charge. 

Notwithstanding security considerations, shaving equipment, 

including a mirror, and haircuts shall be made available, and 

the hygiene needs of all inmates shall be met.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5570; Filed October 29, 2018, 2:08 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 9VAC20-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 26, 2018. 

Effective Date: January 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Administrative Process Act 

requires agencies to develop and adopt public participation 

guidelines to solicit input from interested parties during the 
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development of regulations. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board previously adopted regulations concerning public 

participation guidelines during the regulatory development 

process. 

Purpose: State law requires the Virginia Waste Management 

Board to adopt public participation guidelines to solicit input 

during the development of regulations. Chapter 795 of the 

2012 Acts of Assembly revised § 2.2-4007.02 B of the Code 

of Virginia to allow interested parties the right to be 

accompanied by or represented by counsel during the 

formulation of a regulation. Participation by the public in the 

regulatory process is essential to assist the board in the 

promulgation of regulations that will protect the public health 

and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are expected to be noncontroversial and 

appropriate for using the fast-track rulemaking process. The 

amendments make the regulations consistent with the Code of 

Virginia and the model public participation guidelines 

developed by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Substance: The Code of Virginia allows interested parties the 

right to be accompanied by or represented by counsel during 

the formulation of a regulation. This language has been added 

to the regulation. 

Issues: This regulatory change will benefit the public and the 

agency. The regulatory change amends the regulation to be 

consistent with the Code of Virginia. The regulatory change 

does not place any additional requirements on the public or 

the agency; therefore, there are no disadvantages to the public 

or the agency.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

specify in this regulation that interested persons shall be 

afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to the Code 

of Virginia § 2.2-4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" 

that interested persons also be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative. Since the Code of Virginia already specifies 

that interested persons shall be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative, the Board's proposal to add this language to 

the regulation will not change the law in effect, but will be 

beneficial in that it will inform interested parties who read 

this regulation but not the statute of their legal rights 

concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

9VAC20-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5106; Filed November 2, 2018, 12:50 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-200. Mercury Switch 

Regulations (repealing 9VAC20-200-10 through 9VAC20-

200-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 26, 2018. 

Effective Date: January 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia, the 

statutory authority that allowed the Virginia Waste 

Management Board to adopt this regulation, has expired, and 

this regulation is being repealed. 

Purpose: The statutory authority that allowed the board to 

adopt this regulation has expired, and this regulation is being 

repealed. Since the statutory authority for the regulation 

expired in 2015, the requirements in the regulation are no 

longer applicable. Repealing the regulation is essential to 

protect the welfare of citizens because it will ensure there is 

no confusion between the statute and the regulations as to 

what rules are in effect. 

Rationale for Using Fast Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial. The 

statutory authority that allowed the board to adopt this 

regulation has expired, and this regulation is being repealed. 

Substance: The regulation is being repealed. 

Issues: The statutory authority that allowed the board to adopt 

this regulation has expired, and this regulation is being 

repealed. Repealing this regulation will benefit both the 

public and the department since this action removes 

regulatory requirements that are no longer applicable. There 

are no disadvantages to the public of the department. 

Collectively, automobile manufacturers have implemented a 

voluntary national automotive mercury switch removal 
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program managed by End of Life Vehicle Solutions. End of 

Life Vehicle Solutions collects, transports, retorts, recycles, 

or disposes of elemental mercury from automotive switches. 

This national initiative will continue to facilitate the removal 

of mercury from vehicles prior to vehicles being recycled, 

and repeal of this regulation will not impact Virginia vehicle 

recyclers participating in this national program. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

repeal the Mercury Switch Regulations. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Mercury Switch 

Regulations were adopted in response to Chapters 16 and 163 

of the 2006 Acts of Assembly. The purpose of the regulation 

was to reduce the quantity of mercury released into the 

environment by establishing standards and procedures for the 

removal of mercury switches from end-of-life vehicles 

demolished in the Commonwealth. The provisions of 

Chapters 16 and 163 of the 2006 Acts of Assembly were to 

expire on July 1, 2012. Chapter 793 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly extended the provisions of these Chapters to July 1, 

2015. The provisions of these Acts of Assembly have expired 

and § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia no longer authorizes 

the Waste Management Board to "adopt regulations 

concerning the criteria and standards for removal of mercury 

switches by vehicle demolishers." Consequently, the Board 

proposes to repeal this regulation.  

Since the statutory authority for the regulation expired in 

2015, the requirements in the regulation are no longer 

applicable. Repealing the regulation will create a moderate 

benefit in that the possibility that members of the public will 

mistakenly believe that the rules in the regulation are 

currently in effect will be eliminated. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed repeal of this 

obsolete regulation will only affect members of the public 

who may have been misled into believing that the rules of the 

regulation currently apply. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not disproportionately affect particular 

localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed repeal of the 

regulation does not significantly affect small business. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed repeal of the regulation does not adversely affect 

small businesses.  

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed repeal of the regulation does not 

adversely affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed repeal of the regulation does not 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed repeal of the regulation does not 

adversely affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the Mercury Switch Regulations 

because the provisions of § 10.1-1402 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizing the Virginia Waste Management 

Board to adopt regulations concerning the criteria and 

standards for removal of mercury switches by vehicle 

demolishers have expired. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-4635; Filed November 2, 2018, 12:58 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards (amending 9VAC25-260-185).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: December 26, 2018. 

Effective Date: January 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Tish Robertson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4309, FAX (804) 698-4116, or email 

tish.robertson@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Section 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

and authorizes the State Water Control Board to establish 

water quality standards and policies for any state waters 

consistent with the purpose and general policy of the State 

Water Control Law and to modify, amend, or cancel any such 

standards or policies established. Section 303(c) of the federal 

Clean Water Act mandates the State Water Control Board to 

review and, as appropriate, modify and adopt water quality 

standards. The corresponding federal water quality standards 

regulation at 40 CFR 131.6 describes the minimum 

requirements for water quality standards. The minimum 

requirements are use designations, water quality criteria to 

protect the designated uses, and an antidegradation policy. 

These are all mandates for water quality standards. 

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Water Quality 

Standards regulation (40 CFR 131. 11) is the regulatory basis 

for the EPA requiring the states to establish water quality 

criteria to protect designated uses, and the criteria are used to 

assess whether or not a waterbody is meeting those uses. 

Purpose: The department has concluded that the proposed 

amendments to the regulation are essential to protecting the 

health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth by protecting the water quality and living 

resources of the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. EPA has 

continued to refine the assessment procedures as scientific 

research and management applications reveal new insights 

and knowledge about the Chesapeake Bay. The EPA's 

procedure documents being incorporated into Virginia's 

regulation by this action replace or otherwise supersede 

similar criteria assessment procedures published in earlier 

documents, but not all of them. Therefore, it is necessary for 

the Virginia water quality standards to refer to each of the 

addenda published by EPA. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendment to 9VAC25-260-185 B references 

assessment protocol documents published by EPA. These 

protocols have been developed by EPA through a collaborative 

process within the Chesapeake Bay Program. There have been 

several other similar technical addenda incorporated into 

Virginia's Water Quality Standards Regulation using the fast-

track rulemaking procedure without opposition due to their 

noncontroversial nature since the Chesapeake Bay water quality 

criteria were originally adopted by the State Water Control 

Board in 2005. 

Substance: The proposed substantive amendment to 9VAC25-

260-185 B of the Water Quality Standards is a reference to the 

November 2017 Chesapeake Bay Criteria Assessment Protocols 

Addendum. These recently published protocols direct how 

Chesapeake Bay dissolved oxygen criteria should be assessed. 

Therefore, it is necessary for the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards to refer to this document. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the agency and the 

Commonwealth is having improved methods for assessing 

attainment of designated uses in the Chesapeake Bay. There 

is no disadvantage to the agency or the Commonwealth that 

will result from the adoption of this amendment. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to incorporate 

by reference the most recent U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) assessment methodology for the Chesapeake 

Bay nutrient criteria.1 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation incorporates by 

reference the procedures to be followed when assessing the 

nutrient criteria in the Chesapeake Bay. These assessment 

procedures are frequently refined by the EPA as scientific 

research and management applications reveal new insights and 

knowledge about the Chesapeake Bay. According to the 

Department of Environmental Quality, there is no substantive 

difference between what is currently followed in practice and 

what is being prescribed in the updated procedures document 

proposed for incorporation by reference. However, the updated 

document contains procedures for assessment of short-duration 

dissolved oxygen criteria, which did not exist before. Currently, 

due to lack of resources, there is nothing being done in Virginia 

to assess the short-duration dissolved oxygen criteria. Therefore, 

the incorporation of the new assessment procedures would not 

have any immediate impact but would be beneficial when and if 

Virginia moves forward to assess short-duration dissolved 

oxygen criteria. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 139 point 

sources this regulation applies to. All but three are water 

treatment plants. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment does 

not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not have any effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment does not have any effect on the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 

sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment applies to 

only three small businesses, but no effect on them is 

expected. 
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Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not have adverse effects on small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not have adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

___________________ 

1See Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, Water Clarity 
and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and Its Tidal Tributaries - 2017 

Technical Addendum, EPA 903-R-17-002, CB/TRS 320-17, November 

2017, U.S. EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. Accessed online at 
www.chesapeakebay.net/documents/2017_Nov_ChesBayWQ_Criteria_Adde

ndum_Final.pdf on May 17, 2018. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

department has reviewed the economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget and has 

no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendment incorporates by reference the Chesapeake 

Bay Criteria Assessment Protocols Addendum published in 

November 2017 by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency on behalf of the Chesapeake Bay Program 

partnership.  

 

 

 

 

 

9VAC25-260-185. Criteria to protect designated uses from the impacts of nutrients and suspended sediment in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries.  

A. Dissolved oxygen. The dissolved oxygen criteria in the below following table apply to all Chesapeake Bay waters 

according to their specified designated use and supersede the dissolved oxygen criteria in 9VAC25-260-50. 

Designated Use Criteria Concentration/Duration Temporal Application 

Migratory fish 

spawning and 

nursery 

7-day mean ≥ 6 mg/l (tidal habitats with 0-0.5 ppt salinity) 

February 1 - May 31 
Instantaneous minimum ≥ 5 mg/l 

Open water1 

30-day mean ≥ 5.5 mg/l (tidal habitats with 0-0.5 ppt salinity) 

year-round2  

30-day mean ≥ 5 mg/l (tidal habitats with > 0.5 ppt salinity) 

7-day mean ≥ 4 mg/l 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 3.2 mg/l at temperatures < 29°C 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 4.3 mg/l at temperatures ≥ 29°C 

Deep water 

30-day mean ≥ 3 mg/l 

June 1 - September 30  1-day mean ≥ 2.3 mg/l 

Instantaneous minimum ≥ 1.7 mg/l 

Deep channel Instantaneous minimum ≥ 1 mg/l June 1 - September 30 

1In applying this open water instantaneous criterion to the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries where the existing water 

quality for dissolved oxygen exceeds an instantaneous minimum of 3.2 mg/l, that higher water quality for dissolved oxygen 

shall be provided antidegradation protection in accordance with 9VAC25-260-30 A 2. 

2Open-water dissolved oxygen criteria attainment is assessed separately over two time periods: summer (June 1- September 

30) and nonsummer (October 1-May 31) months. 

http://www.chesapeakebay.net/documents/2017_Nov_ChesBayWQ_Criteria_Addendum_Final.pdf
http://www.chesapeakebay.net/documents/2017_Nov_ChesBayWQ_Criteria_Addendum_Final.pdf
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B. Submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV) and water clarity. Attainment of the shallow-water submerged aquatic vegetation 

designated use shall be determined using any one of the following criteria:  

Designated Use 

Chesapeake Bay 

Program 

Segment 

SAV Acres1 

Percent Light-

Through-

Water2 

Water 

Clarity 

Acres1 

Temporal Application 

Shallow water submerged 

aquatic vegetation use 

CB5MH 7,633 22% 14,514 April 1 - October 31 

CB6PH 1,267 22% 3,168 March 1 - November 30 

CB7PH 15,107 22% 34,085 March 1 - November 30 

CB8PH 11 22% 28 March 1 - November 30 

POTTF 2,093 13% 5,233 April 1 - October 31 

POTOH 1,503 13% 3,758 April 1 - October 31 

POTMH 4,250 22% 10,625 April 1 - October 31 

RPPTF 66 13% 165 April 1 - October 31 

RPPOH 4 13% 10 April 1 - October 31 

RPPMH 1700 22% 5000 April 1 - October 31 

CRRMH 768 22% 1,920 April 1 - October 31 

PIAMH 3,479 22% 8,014 April 1 - October 31 

MPNTF 85 13% 213 April 1 - October 31 

MPNOH - - - - 

PMKTF 187 13% 468 April 1 - October 31 

PMKOH - - - - 

YRKMH 239 22% 598 April 1 - October 31 

YRKPH 2,793 22% 6,982 March 1 - November 30 

MOBPH 15,901 22% 33,990 March 1 - November 30 

JMSTF2 200 13% 500 April 1 - October 31 

JMSTF1 1000 13% 2500 April 1 - October 31 

APPTF 379 13% 948 April 1 - October 31 

JMSOH 15 13% 38 April 1 - October 31 

CHKOH 535 13% 1,338 April 1 - October 31 

JMSMH 200 22% 500 April 1 - October 31 

JMSPH 300 22% 750 March 1 - November 30 

WBEMH  - - - - 

SBEMH  - - - - 

EBEMH  - - - - 

ELIPH  - - - - 

LYNPH 107 22% 268 March 1 - November 30 

POCOH - - - - 
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POCMH 4,066 22% 9,368 April 1 - October 31 

TANMH 13,579 22% 22,064 April 1 - October 31 

1The assessment period for SAV and water clarity acres shall be the single best year in the most recent three consecutive 

years. When three consecutive years of data are not available, a minimum of three years within the data assessment window 

shall be used.  

2Percent light-through-water = 100e(-KdZ) where Kd is water column light attenuation coefficient and can be measured directly 

or converted from a measured secchi depth where Kd = 1.45/secchi depth. Z = depth at location of measurement of Kd. 

C. Chlorophyll a.  

Designated Use Chlorophyll a Narrative Criterion Temporal Application 

Open water 

Concentrations of chlorophyll a in free-floating 

microscopic aquatic plants (algae) shall not exceed levels 

that result in undesirable or nuisance aquatic plant life, or 

render tidal waters unsuitable for the propagation and 

growth of a balanced, indigenous population of aquatic 

life or otherwise result in ecologically undesirable water 

quality conditions such as reduced water clarity, low 

dissolved oxygen, food supply imbalances, proliferation 

of species deemed potentially harmful to aquatic life or 

humans, or aesthetically objectionable conditions. 

March 1 - September 30 

*See 9VAC25-260-310 special standard bb for numerical chlorophyll criteria for the tidal James River. 

D. Implementation.  

1. Chesapeake Bay program segmentation scheme as described in Chesapeake Bay Program, 2004 Chesapeake Bay Program 

Analytical Segmentation Scheme-Revisions, Decisions and Rationales: 1983–2003, CBP/TRS 268/04, EPA 903-R-04-008, 

Chesapeake Bay Program, Annapolis, Maryland, and the Chesapeake Bay Program published 2005 addendum (CBP/TRS 

278-06; EPA 903-R-05-004) is listed below in the following table and shall be used as the spatial assessment unit to 

determine attainment of the criteria in this section for each designated use. 

Chesapeake Bay Segment 

Description 
Segment Name1 Chesapeake Bay Segment Description Segment Name1 

Lower Central Chesapeake Bay CB5MH Mobjack Bay MOBPH 

Western Lower Chesapeake Bay CB6PH Upper Tidal Fresh James River JMSTF2 

Eastern Lower Chesapeake Bay CB7PH Lower Tidal Fresh James River JMSTF1 

Mouth of the Chesapeake Bay CB8PH Appomattox River APPTF 

Upper Potomac River POTTF Middle James River JMSOH 

Middle Potomac River POTOH Chickahominy River CHKOH 

Lower Potomac River POTMH Lower James River JMSMH 

Upper Rappahannock River RPPTF Mouth of the James River JMSPH 

Middle Rappahannock River RPPOH Western Branch Elizabeth River WBEMH 

Lower Rappahannock River RPPMH Southern Branch Elizabeth River SBEMH 

Corrotoman River CRRMH Eastern Branch Elizabeth River EBEMH 

Piankatank River PIAMH Lafayette River LAFMH 

Upper Mattaponi River MPNTF Mouth of the Elizabeth River ELIPH 
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Lower Mattaponi River MPNOH Lynnhaven River LYNPH 

Upper Pamunkey River PMKTF Middle Pocomoke River POCOH 

Lower Pamunkey River PMKOH Lower Pocomoke River POCMH 

Middle York River YRKMH Tangier Sound TANMH 

Lower York River YRKPH     

1First three letters of segment name represent Chesapeake Bay segment description, letters four and five represent the salinity 

regime of that segment (TF = Tidal Fresh, OH = Oligohaline, MH = Mesohaline, and PH = Polyhaline) and a sixth space is 

reserved for subdivisions of that segment. 

2. The assessment period shall be the most recent three 

consecutive years. When three consecutive years of data 

are not available, a minimum of three years within the data 

assessment window shall be used.  

3. Attainment of these criteria shall be assessed through 

comparison of the generated cumulative frequency 

distribution of the monitoring data to the applicable criteria 

reference curve for each designated use. If the monitoring 

data cumulative frequency curve is completely contained 

inside the reference curve, then the segment is in 

attainment of the designated use. The reference curves and 

procedures to be followed are published in the USEPA, 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay 

and Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 

and the 2004 (EPA 903-R-03-002 October 2004), 2007 

(CBP/TRS 285-07 285/07, EPA 903-R-07-003), 2007 

(CBP/TRS 288/07, EPA 903-R-07-005), 2008 (CBP/TRS 

290-08, EPA 903-R-08-001), and 2010 (CBP/TRS 301-10, 

EPA 903-R-10-002), and 2017 (CBP/TRS 320-17, EPA 

903-R-17-002) addenda. An exception to this requirement 

is in measuring attainment of the SAV and water clarity 

acres, which are compared directly to the criteria.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC25-260) 

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation 

Scheme - Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, 

EPA 903-R-04-008, CBP/TRS 268/04, October 2004, US 

EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Chesapeake Bay Program Analytical Segmentation 

Scheme - Revisions, Decisions and Rationales 1983-2003, 

EPA 903-R-05-004, CBP/TRS 278-06, 2005 Addendum, 

December 2005, US EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-03-002, April 2003 and 

2004 Addendum, October 2004, US EPA Region III 

Chesapeake Bay Office 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

Its Tidal Tributaries, EPA 903-R-07-003, CBP/TRS 285/07 

2007 Addendum, July 2007, US EPA Region III Chesapeake 

Bay Office. 

Technical Support Document for Identification of 

Chesapeake Bay Designated Uses and Attainability, EPA 

903-R-03-004, October 2003 and 2004 Addendum, October 

2004, US EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

its Tidal Tributaries - 2007 Chlorophyll Criteria Addendum, 

EPA 903-R-07-005, CBP/TRS 288/07, November 2007, U.S. 

EPA Region III Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

its Tidal Tributaries - 2008 Technical Support for Criteria 

Assessment Protocols Addendum, EPA 903-R-08-001, 

CBP/TRS 290-08, September 2008, U.S. EPA Region III 

Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

its Tidal Tributaries - 2010 Technical Support for Criteria 

Assessment Protocols Addendum, EPA 903-R-10-002, 

CBP/TRS 301-10, May 2010, U.S. EPA Region III 

Chesapeake Bay Office. 

Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, 

Water Clarity and Chlorophyll a for the Chesapeake Bay and 

Its Tidal Tributaries - 2017 Technical Addendum, EPA 

903-R-17-002, CBP/TRS 320-17, November 2017, U.S. EPA 

Region III Chesapeake Bay Office 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5476; Filed November 2, 2018, 1:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance § 2.2-4006 A 3 of 

the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that consist 

only of changes in style or form or corrections of technical 

errors. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations 

(amending 18VAC41-70-80, 18VAC41-70-90, 18VAC41-

70-280).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments correct technical errors by replacing 

references to barber-specific or cosmetology-specific terms 

with appropriate esthetics terminology. 

18VAC41-70-80. General requirements for a spa license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics spa shall obtain 

a spa license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license:  

1. The applicant, and all members of the responsible 

management, shall be in good standing as a licensed spa in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any esthetics spa or practice of the profession. 

This includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure if the applicant or any member of 

responsible management has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as an esthetics spa.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics spa. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. Shop or salon Spa licenses are issued to firms as defined 

in this chapter and shall not be transferable and shall bear the 

same name and address of the business. Any changes in the 

name or address of the spa shall be reported to the board in 

writing within 30 days of such changes. The board shall not 

be responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, 

or permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in 

writing of any change of name or address or for any other 

reason beyond the control of the board. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 
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board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license, within 30 days of the change in 

the business entity. Such changes include:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, or association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed shop or salon spa for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For 

purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the 

hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 

generally is not open to the public substantially during the 

same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 

when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-90. General requirements for a school 

license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics school shall 

submit an application to the board at least 60 days prior to the 

date for which approval is sought, obtain a school license in 

compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia, and 

meet the following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed school 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any esthetics school or practice of the 

profession. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the 

applicant or any member of the responsible management 

has been previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetics 

school.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of an esthetics school. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

or comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary 

action for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court, regulatory agency, or board with the 

lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. Esthetics school licenses are issued to firms as defined in 

this chapter and shall not be transferable and shall bear the 

same name and address as the school. Any changes in the 

name or the address of record or principal place of business of 

the school shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of such change. The board shall not be responsible for 

the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to 

receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused 

by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure 

to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board. The name of the school must indicate that it is an 

educational institution. All signs or other advertisements must 

reflect the name as indicated on the license issued by the 

board and contain language indicating it is an educational 

institution. 
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C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

business entity. Such changes include:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or 

waxing Esthetics schools under the Virginia Department of 

Education shall be exempted from licensure requirements.  

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a 

board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours 

between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally 

is not open to the public substantially during the same hours, 

"reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours when the 

licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-70-280. Grounds for license revocation, 

probation, or suspension; denial of application, renewal 

or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or 

temporary license holder, and; suspend, place on probation, or 

revoke, or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, certificate, 

or temporary license,; or deny any application issued under 

the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if the board finds that 

the licensee, certificate holder, permit holder, or applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, negligent, or incapable mentally or 

physically, as those terms are generally understood in the 

profession, to practice as an esthetician;  

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or teaching 

of esthetics, fails to teach in accordance with the board-

approved curriculum, or fails to comply with 18VAC41-

70-190 D when making an assessment of credit hours 

awarded;  

3. Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed, or reinstated a 

license, certificate, or temporary license by false or 

fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates or, induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which any esthetician may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing esthetics or master 

esthetics; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed shop, salon, 

spa or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or 

this chapter;  

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or 

any of its agents, any document, book, record, or copy 

thereof in a licensee's, certificate holder's, temporary 

license holder's, applicant's, or owner's possession or 

maintained in accordance with this chapter;  

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address 

in writing within 30 days of the change for each and every 

license, certificate, or temporary license; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to 

be published any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or 

misleading;  

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of 

the suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license or 

temporary license in connection with a disciplinary action 

in any jurisdiction or of any license or temporary license 

that has been the subject of disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction;  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication, in Virginia or any other 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug 

distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there being 

no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible 
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in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a spa or school, 

a person who has not obtained a license or a temporary 

permit to practice unless the person is duly enrolled as a 

registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a 

person who has not obtained an instructor certificate to 

practice as an esthetics or a master esthetics instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practices of esthetics or master esthetics, or the operation 

of esthetics spas; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5617; Filed November 1, 2018, 10:44 a.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-510; adding 18VAC65-20-581).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 26, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify requirements for the express 

permission needed to embalm a body and for the proper 

refrigeration of a human body. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part VII  

Standards for Embalming and Refrigeration  

18VAC65-20-510. Embalming report.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of subdivision 26 of 

§ 54.1-2806 and subsection B of § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, express permission by a next of kin for embalming 

means written authorization to embalm as a specific and 

separate statement on a document or contract provided by the 

funeral establishment. Express permission may include direct, 

verbal authorization to embalm, provided it is followed as 

soon as possible by a written document or statement signed 

by the next of kin confirming the verbal authorization to 

embalm and including the time, date, and name of the person 

who gave verbal authorization. 

B. Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 

separate, identifiable report for each embalming procedure 

conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 

information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the 

Virginia license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 

intern, the name and signature of the supervisor.  

18VAC65-20-581. Refrigeration requirements. 

A. If a dead human body is to be in the possession of a 

funeral establishment or crematory for more than 48 hours 

from the time the funeral establishment or crematory takes 

physical possession of the body until embalming, cremation, 

or burial, the body shall be placed and maintained in 

refrigeration in a mechanical refrigeration unit suitable for 

storing human remains in accordance with subsection B of 

§ 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The mechanical refrigeration unit may be located in the 

funeral establishment or crematory, or the funeral 

establishment or crematory may enter into an agreement or 

contract with another funeral establishment, crematory, or 

other licensed entity for refrigeration in a mechanical 

refrigeration unit. 

C. Evidence of compliance with the requirement for 

refrigeration shall be maintained as a log entry or other 

documentation indicating times of placement in and removal 

of a body [ in from ] refrigeration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5042; Filed November 3, 2018, 8:14 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10, 22VAC40-201-100, 

22VAC40-201-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt such regulations as 

may be necessary to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. This regulatory action is to comply with 

Chapters 187, 200, and 203 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly  

Purpose: The proposed action updates the regulation to 

incorporate the name change to the Virginia Birth Father 

Registry throughout Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia and to 

include the process of registration for the putative father 

(Chapter 200 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly). This regulatory 

action is integral to compliance with current state laws. 

Changing the name to the Virginia Birth Father Registry will 

eliminate confusion and better represent the purpose of the 

registry, which protects the rights of a putative father by 

providing notification of court proceedings for termination of 

parental rights and adoption regarding a child that he may 

have fathered and potentially giving him an opportunity to be 

in his child's life.  

Health insurance is integral in providing for the health, safety, 

and welfare of youth aging out of foster care. A proposed 

revision to the regulation will ensure compliance with 

Chapter 203 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly and direct local 

departments of social services to enroll youth in foster care 

into Medicaid when the youth turns 18 years old. 

Additionally, the feedback from the survey of youth aging out 

of foster care will be used to strengthen and improve the 

state's foster care program (Chapter 187 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly). 

Substance: This proposed regulatory action incorporates 

technical corrections to language and processes necessary to 

ensure consistency with the Code of Virginia and 

requirements that have become law since the introduction of 

the current permanency services regulation. The proposed 

amendments (i) change the name from the Putative Father 

Registry to the Virginia Birth Father Registry; (ii) require that 

youth turning 18 years old in foster care shall be enrolled in 

Medicaid, provided they are eligible and do not object; and 

(iii) require that youth turning 18 years old in foster care be 

given the opportunity to participate in a survey to provide 

feedback on their experiences in foster care. 

Issues: The proposed regulatory action protects the rights of 

birth fathers by clarifying the registration timeline for the 

Virginia Birth Father Registry. The primary advantage of the 

action to the public, agency, and Commonwealth is that the 

regulation will be consistent with statutory and federal 

requirements that seek to protect the safety and well-being of 

vulnerable children. This regulatory action poses no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth as the 

amendments provide for the safety of children who turn 18 

years old while in foster care by ensuring that they are 

enrolled in Medicaid and are provided an opportunity to give 

feedback about their experience in foster care through a 

survey.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to 

incorporate three recent legislative changes into the 

regulation: Chapters 187, 200, and 203 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This permanency regulation 

provides standards for Local Departments of Social Services 

(LDSS) for prevention, foster care, adoption, and independent 

living services. The proposed action incorporates three recent 

legislative changes as they apply to such services. 

Chapter 187 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly1 mandated that a 

youth aging out of foster care (e.g. youth turning 18) be given 

the opportunity to participate in a survey to provide feedback 

regarding his or her experience while in foster care. In a given 

year, there are approximately 500 youth in foster care who 

turn 18. Of the 500, how many may choose to participate in 

the survey is not known, but the Virginia Department of 

Social Services (VDSS) considers more than a 30% response 

rate as unlikely. VDSS plans to have about 30 questions on 

the survey. The purpose of the survey is to receive feedback 

from the youth, identify areas for improvement, and improve 

experiences while in foster care. VDSS estimates that one-

half of a full-time position to analyze the survey results on an 

ongoing basis would be needed. However, the additional staff 

support needed to analyze the survey data will be absorbed 

within existing resources. 

Additionally, Chapter 200 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly2 

changed the name of the Putative Father Registry to Virginia 
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Birth Father Registry and added new language on what is 

considered to be a timely registration. The Board proposes to 

replace all instances of "Putative Father Registry" with 

"Virginia Birth Father Registry" in the regulation and add 

new language to incorporate what is considered a timely 

registration. The consistency between the regulation and the 

legislation should be beneficial. 

Finally, Chapter 203 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly3 requires 

youth who turn 18 years old in foster care to be enrolled in 

Medicaid. When the adolescents in foster care transition to 

adulthood, they lose Medicaid eligibility as children but 

continue to be eligible under other categories. The legislation 

requires the LDSS to ensure that such youth are enrolled in 

Medicaid, unless they object or are otherwise ineligible for 

Medicaid services. The main impact of this change is to 

increase the likelihood of continued Medicaid coverage of 

such youth in foster care. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

500 youth in foster or adoptive care that turn 18 in a given 

year. There are 2,411 individuals who are currently registered 

in the Virginia Birth Father Registry. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed survey 

requirement is estimated to require one-half of full-time 

position on an ongoing basis but will be absorbed by the 

existing employees. The other proposed amendments should 

not have any significant effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments should not have any significant effect 

on the use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

The proposed amendments do not have adverse effects on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 

1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0187 

2http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0200 

3http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0203 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform the permanency 

regulation to three acts of the 2017 Session of the General 

Assembly by (i) changing the name of the Putative Father 

Registry to the Virginia Birth Father Registry (Chapter 

200 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly); (ii) requiring that youth 

turning 18 years old in foster care be enrolled in Medicaid, 

provided they are eligible and do not object (Chapter 203 

of the 2017 Acts of Assembly); and (iii) requiring that 

youth turning 18 years old in foster care be given the 

opportunity to participate in a survey to provide feedback 

on their experience in foster care (Chapter 187 of the 2017 

Acts of Assembly). 

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis 

pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the 

current status and effectiveness of the objectives in the 

service plan and the services being provided for the 

immediate care of the child and the plan to achieve a 

permanent home for the child. The administrative review may 

be attended by the birth parents or prior custodians and other 

interested individuals significant to the child and family as 

appropriate. 

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment provided to 

adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a child with 

special needs who meets federal or state requirements to 

receive such payments.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the local board and the adoptive parents of a child 

with special needs or in cases in which the child is in the 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0187
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0200
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0203
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custody of a licensed child-placing agency, an agreement 

between the local board, the licensed child-placing agency, 

and the adoptive parents that sets out the payment and 

services that will be provided to benefit the child in 

accordance with Chapter 13 (§ 63.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board, or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption. 

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption.  

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under younger than 18 

years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ § 63.2-1300 or 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative 

system of services and funding that is child centered, family 

focused, and community based when addressing the strengths 

and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in 

the Commonwealth. 

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living 

services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement 

with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody 

remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved 

family is outside the locality with the legal custody of the 

child, in accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team" or "CPMT" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body pursuant 

to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. The powers and duties of the CPMT are set out in 

§ 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means utilizing a 

structured case management approach in which reasonable 

efforts are made to achieve a permanency goal, usually a 

reunification with the family, simultaneously with an 

established alternative permanent plan for the child. 

"Department" means the state Department of Social 

Services.  

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits.  
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"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required 

standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family 

home provider.  

"Entrustment agreement" means an agreement that the local 

board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place 

the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or 

for the temporary care and placement of the child. The 

agreement specifies the conditions for the care of the child. 

"Family assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means 

the local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths 

and needs of troubled youths and families who are approved 

for referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in 

the custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of 

their parents, but are placed away from their parents or 

guardians and for whom the local board has placement and 

care responsibility through a noncustodial agreement.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover those expenses made on behalf of a child in foster care 

including the cost of, and the cost of providing, food, 

clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child's 

incidentals, reasonable travel to the child's home for 

visitation, and reasonable travel to remain in the school in 

which the child is enrolled at the time of the placement. The 

term also includes costs for children in institutional care and 

costs related to the child of a child in foster care as set out in 

42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the 

court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia 

that describes the programs, care, services, and other support 

that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior 

custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is 

the case plan referenced in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

casework, treatment, and community services, including 

independent living services, for a planned period of time to a 

child meeting the requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 

by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he the child does not have daily 

substitute parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

"Independent living services" may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on 

his 18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years 

or (ii) is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was 

in the custody of a local department of social services. Such 

services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual family service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan 

for services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-

5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" or 

"ICPC" means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 

states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. 

Virgin Islands which that establishes orderly procedures for 

the interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for 

those involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-

placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the child-

placing agency obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 

of the Code of Virginia about the placement and the 

suitability of the adoption. The findings of the investigation 

are compiled into a written report for the circuit court 
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containing a recommendation on the action to be taken by the 

court. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services in 

each county and city in the Commonwealth required by 

§ 63.2-300 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 

parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 

needs as set out in § 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes placements in children's residential facilities as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 

relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool funds" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 

birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Virginia Birth Father Registry" means the established 

confidential database designed to protect the rights of a 

putative father who wants to be notified in the event of a 

proceeding related to termination of parental rights or 

adoption for a child he may have fathered. 

"Visitation and report" means the visits conducted pursuant 

to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and the written report 

of the findings made in the course of the visitation. The report 

is filed in the circuit court in accordance with § 63.2-1212 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" 

may also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years 

who is the subject of an adoption assistance agreement.  

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 

youth; foster or adoptive family; local department; service 

providers; legal community; and other interested individuals 

and shall be included in the service plan. Input from the youth 

in assembling these individuals and developing the services is 

required.  
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B. Independent living services shall be provided to all youth 

ages 14 to 18 years and shall be offered to any person 

between 18 and 21 years of age who is in the process of 

transitioning from foster care to self-sufficiency. 

C. Independent living services include education, vocational 

training, employment, mental and physical health services, 

transportation, housing, financial support, daily living skills, 

counseling, and development of permanent connections with 

adults.  

D. Local departments shall assess the youth's independent 

living skills and needs and incorporate the assessment results 

into the youth's service plan.  

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 years 

may continue to receive independent living services from the 

local department between the ages of 18 and 21 years if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 

vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment 

or training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 

in (i) in developing a service agreement and (ii) by signing 

the service agreement. The service agreement shall require, 

at a minimum, that the youth's living arrangement shall be 

approved by the local department and that the youth shall 

cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 

progress in an educational or vocational program, has 

employment, or is in a treatment or training program.  

F. A youth age 16 years and older is eligible to live in an 

independent living arrangement provided the local 

department utilizes the independent living arrangement 

placement criteria developed by the department to determine 

that such an arrangement is in the youth's best interest. An 

eligible youth may receive an independent living stipend to 

assist him with the costs of maintenance. The eligibility 

criteria for receiving an independent living stipend will be 

developed by the department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a local 

department and chooses to discontinue receiving independent 

living services after age 18 years may request a resumption of 

independent living services provided that (i) the person has 

not yet reached 21 years of age and (ii) the person has entered 

into a written agreement, less than 60 days after independent 

living services have been discontinued, with the local board 

regarding the terms and conditions of his receipt of 

independent living services. Local departments shall provide 

any person who chooses to leave foster care or terminate 

independent living services before his 21st birthday written 

notice of his right to request restoration of independent living 

services in accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of 

Virginia by including such written notice in the person's 

transition plan. 

H. Local departments shall assist eligible youth in applying 

for educational and vocational financial assistance. 

Educational and vocational specific funding sources shall be 

used prior to using other sources. 

I. Local departments shall provide independent living 

services to any person between 18 and 21 years of age who: 

1. Was in the custody of the local board immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice; 

2. Is in the process of transitioning from a commitment to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice to self-sufficiency; and 

3. Provides written notice of his intent to receive 

independent living services and enters into a written 

agreement which that sets forth the terms and conditions 

for the provision of independent living services with the 

local board within 60 days of his release from 

commitment. 

J. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans 

for youth receiving independent living services after age 18 

shall be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service 

provision.  

K. The local department shall ensure that any youth in foster 

care on the youth's 18th birthday is enrolled in Medicaid, 

unless the youth objects or is otherwise ineligible. 

L. The local department shall ensure that any youth who 

turns 18 years of age while in foster care is given the 

opportunity to complete a survey to provide feedback 

regarding the youth's experience in foster care. 

22VAC40-201-190. Virginia Putative Birth Father 

Registry. 

A. The department shall establish and maintain a putative 

father registry which that is a confidential database. 

B. A search of the Virginia Putative Birth Father Registry 

shall be conducted for all adoptions except when the child has 

been adopted according to the laws of a foreign country or 

when the child was placed in Virginia from a foreign country 

for the purpose of adoption in accordance with § 63.2-1104 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

C. Any petitioner who files a petition for termination of 

parental rights or for an adoption proceeding shall request a 

search of the Virginia Putative Birth Father Registry. The 

certificate of search and finding must be filed with the court 

before an adoption or termination of parental rights 

proceeding can be concluded.  

D. Any man who desires to be notified of an adoption 

proceeding or termination of parental rights regarding a child 

that he may have fathered shall register with the Virginia 

Birth Father Registry. 

E. A registration is timely when it is received by the 

department within: 
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1. 10 days of the child's birth; 

2. 10 days of the date of personal service of the written 

notice required under subsection F of § 63.2-1250 or 

within 13 days of the certified mailing date of such written 

notice; or 

3. 10 days upon the registrant's discovery of 

misrepresentation by the birth mother that led him to 

believe that (i) the pregnancy was terminated or the mother 

miscarried when in fact the baby was born or (ii) the child 

died when in fact the child is alive. 

D. F. The department may require additional information to 

determine that the individual requesting information from the 

Putative Virginia Birth Father Registry is eligible to receive 

information in accordance with § 63.2-1251 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5305; Filed October 26, 2018, 11:59 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-390. Virginia Soft Drink 

Excise Tax Regulations (amending 23VAC10-390-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-203 and 58.1-1703 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 25, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 11, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 

administered by the Department of Taxation. The authority 

for the current regulatory action is discretionary. 

Purpose: As a result of a periodic review of the Virginia Soft 

Drink Excise Tax Regulations initiated by the department on 

June 27, 2016, and completed July 18, 2016, the department 

has determined that 23VAC10-390-40, relating to collection 

of the soft drink excise tax, should be amended. This 

regulatory action is necessary to reflect legislative changes 

and administrative procedures affecting the collection of the 

soft drink excise tax. In addition, some existing regulatory 

language is unnecessary because it provides no additional 

guidance regarding clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Therefore, this regulatory action will update the regulation to 

conform to legislative changes and administrative procedures. 

It will also repeal language that is duplicative or outdated. 

The amendment of this regulation does not reflect a change in 

existing tax policy and will have no impact on the 

administration of the tax. 

As this regulatory action does not reflect a change in existing 

departmental policy, it will have no effect on the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is intended for regulations that 

are expected to be noncontroversial. As the regulation is 

being amended to reflect current law and will not make any 

changes to the department's current policy regarding the soft 

drink excise tax, this action is not expected to be 

controversial. 

Substance: The amendments relate to collection of the soft 

drink excise tax. Virginia imposes an annual excise tax on 

wholesalers and distributors of carbonated soft drinks. The 

tax is based on the gross receipts of each wholesaler and 

distributor from the sale of such soft drinks during the year. 

The Code of Virginia requires that this tax be collected by the 

department in the same manner as the income tax is collected. 

This regulatory action will amend 23VAC10-390-40 of the 

Virginia Soft Drink Excise Tax Regulations to conform to 

current law and existing administrative procedures regarding 

the collection of the tax and to strike provisions that are no 

longer accurate due to changes in the law. The affected 

provisions deal with the collection of the soft drink excise 

tax; return due dates; and extensions, penalties, and interest 

that may apply for failure to timely file or pay the amount of 

tax due. 

During the 2005, 1999, 1991, and 1989 Sessions of the 

General Assembly, several modifications were made to the 

way the Virginia income tax is collected:  

• Chapter 100 of the 2005 Acts of Assembly eliminated 

the requirement for income taxpayers to file an extension 

form with the department before they could elect to file 

their income tax return on extension.  

• Chapters 146 and 180 of the 1999 Acts of Assembly 

modified § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia by equalizing 

the rate of interest charged on assessments and the rate of 

interest paid on refunds. 

• Chapter 316 of the 1991 Acts of Assembly modified 

§ 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia relating to the rate of 

interest charged on assessments or paid on refunds. This 

legislation also increased the penalty for late-filed 

income tax returns and the penalty for late payment of 

the income tax from 5.0% to 6.0%.  
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• Chapter 629 of the 1989 Acts of Assembly modified the 

penalty for late-filed income tax returns from 10% to 

5.0% per month for up to five months for individuals and 

from $100 to the greater of $100 or 5.0% per month for 

up to five months for corporations. This legislation also 

modified the penalty for late paying an income tax 

liability from 5.0% to 5.0% per month for up to five 

months. 

Because this regulation was promulgated prior to the 

enactment of this legislation, it is inconsistent with these 

legislative changes. Other amendments in this action include 

removing language that is unnecessary because it provides no 

additional guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Therefore, this regulatory action will update language to 

conform to statute and current administrative procedures, and 

it will repeal other language that is duplicative or outdated. 

Amending this section does not reflect any change in existing 

tax policy and will have no impact on the administration of 

tax. Because of this, the amendment of this section is not 

expected to be controversial. 

Issues: This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 

compliance and the department's administration of the state 

tax laws by amending a regulation section that currently does 

not conform to statute and current administrative procedures 

and by striking obsolete language. Therefore, the amendments 

will result in no disadvantage to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review,1 the Department of Taxation 

proposes to repeal provisions that are no longer accurate due 

to statutory changes or are duplicative of the statutory 

language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation contains general 

provisions applicable to the Soft Drink Excise Tax. 

Numerous statutory changes in the 1989, 1991, 1999, and 

2005 Virginia General Assembly Sessions amended the Soft 

Drink Excise Tax and rendered the current regulatory 

language inaccurate.2 In addition, some of the current 

regulatory provisions are unnecessary because they are 

duplicative of information provided in the statute. The 

proposed changes will update the regulation so that it is 

consistent with the statute. Since this regulatory action does 

not reflect any change in current tax policy or on the 

administration of the soft drink excise tax, no economic effect 

is expected other than potentially reducing confusion by 

eliminating conflicting information between the Code of 

Virginia and the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 

approximately 70 taxpayers who file a Soft Drink Excise Tax 

return. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Of the 70 taxpayers that file Soft 

Drink Excise Tax returns, approximately 22 are estimated to 

be small businesses. The proposed regulation does not impose 

costs on small businesses, but is expected to benefit them by 

eliminating potentially confusing language between the 

regulation and the statute. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No adverse effects are expected on small 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1See http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1510. 

2See 1989 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 629, 

1991 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 316, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?991+ful+CHAP0180, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0100. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?991+ful+CHAP0180
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0100
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Summary: 

The amendments conform the Virginia Soft Drink Excise 

Tax Regulations to current law and existing administrative 

procedures regarding the collection of the tax and strike 

provisions that are no longer accurate due to changes in 

law and procedures, including affecting provisions for (i) 

collection of the soft drink excise tax; (ii) return due dates; 

and (iii) extensions, penalties, and interest charged for 

failure to timely file or pay the amount of tax due. This 

regulatory action does not reflect any change in current 

tax policy. 

23VAC10-390-40. Collection.  

A. The soft drink excise tax is collected annually by the 

Department of Taxation. A check payment for the amount of 

tax, and if applicable, penalty and interest, should shall be 

made payable to the Department of Taxation and submitted 

with the properly filed return no later than the due date 

prescribed in subsection B of this section. 

B. Returns are required to shall be filed with the Department 

of Taxation, P.O. Box 1880, Richmond, Virginia 23282-

1880, on or before the statutory original due date (without 

extension) for filing Virginia individual income tax returns 

under § 58.1-341 of the Code of Virginia, or if the taxpayer is 

a corporation, for filing Virginia corporate income tax returns 

under § 58.1-441 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. If taxpayer has an extension of time for filing his income 

tax return from the Internal Revenue Service, the filing date 

for the soft drink excise tax may be extended to the same as 

the federal date plus 30 days. In order to receive an extension 

of time for filing the return, a request for extension must be 

made to the Department of Taxation prior to the original due 

date of the return.  

2. If an extension of filing time is granted, interest at the rate 

established pursuant to Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue 

Code of 1954, as amended, accrues from the date the return 

was originally due to be filed to the date of payment.  

C. A taxpayer may elect an extension of time within which 

to file the soft drink excise tax return to the extended due date 

set forth and in the manner prescribed for filing Virginia 

individual income tax returns on extension under § 58.1-344 

of the Code of Virginia, or if the taxpayer is a corporation, for 

filing Virginia corporate income tax returns on extension 

under § 58.1-453 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. If the full amount is not paid on or before the original 

due date, the penalty imposed by subsection D of this 

section for failure to pay when due the full amount shall 

apply regardless of whether the taxpayer properly elected 

to utilize an extension. Interest at the rate established 

pursuant to § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia accrues from 

the date the return was originally due to be filed to the date 

of payment. 

2. If the return is not filed or the full amount of the tax due 

is not paid on or before the extended due date elected 

pursuant to this subsection, the penalty imposed by 

subsection D of this section for failure to file a return and 

for late filing shall apply as if no extension had been 

elected.  

D. Subject to the provisions of subdivisions B 1 and 2 

subsection C of this section, penalties and interest are 

imposed for failure to file a return, for late filing, for filing a 

false or fraudulent return, and for failure to pay when due the 

full amount of tax as shown on the face of the return and are 

assessed in the same manner as the income tax penalties 

imposed under Chapter 3 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia 

make full payment of the taxpayer's actual tax liability on or 

before the original return due date. 

1. Penalty for failure to pay when due shall be 5.0% of the 

amount of unpaid tax and assessed in accordance with 

§§ 58.1-351 and 58.1-455.  

2. Penalty for failure to file the return when due is $100 for 

corporations and 10% of the amount of tax assessable on 

the return for all others. The penalties shall be assessed in 

accordance with Sections 58.1-347 and 58.1-450.  

3. Penalty for fraud is assessed in accordance with §§ 58.1-

348, 58.1-451 and 58.1-452.  

4. 1. If the taxpayer is not a corporation, the nature and 

amount of the penalties imposed by this subsection shall be 

determined as if the comparable individual income tax 

penalties under §§ 58.1-347, 58.1-348, and 58.1-351 of the 

Code of Virginia apply to the soft drink excise tax rather 

than the individual income tax. 

2. If the taxpayer is a corporation, the nature and amount of 

the penalties imposed by this subsection shall be 

determined as if the comparable corporate income tax 

penalties under §§ 58.1-450, 58.1-451, 58.1-452, and 58.1-

455 of the Code of Virginia apply to the soft drink excise 

tax rather than the corporate income tax. 

3. Interest is assessed on tax and applicable penalties in 

accordance with § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-4928; Filed October 24, 2018, 2:46 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER TWENTY-FOUR (2018) 

Increasing Virginia's Resilience to Sea Level Rise 
and Natural Hazards 

Importance of the Initiative 

Sea level rise, land subsidence, higher average temperatures, 

more frequent and intense weather events, severe drought, 

and increased development, have increased risk and will 

continue to increase and exacerbate risk from natural hazards 

across the Commonwealth of Virginia. The number of 

federally declared disasters has steadily increased nationally 

and in Virginia. The number has experienced a 250 percent 

increase in federally declared disasters over the past 20 years, 

including declarations for flooding, hurricanes, severe storms, 

and wildfire. 

The best available science predicts that this trend will 

continue to worsen. A recent report from the United Nations 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change states that the 

world is likely to experience dramatic increases in coastal 

flooding and severe weather events. Additional studies show 

that water levels in the Hampton Roads region are now 18 

inches higher than they were a century ago, and that they are 

expected to gain up to five more feet, while the land sinks as 

much as 7.5 inches, by 2100. That combined rise is faster 

than anywhere else on the East Coast. The most recent 

National Climate Assessment reported that the intensity, 

frequency, and duration of North Atlantic hurricanes, as well 

as the frequency of the strongest hurricanes, have all 

increased. 

This increase in extreme weather events and natural disasters 

will continue to have a profound impact on Virginia. It 

threatens public health and safety, our environment and 

natural resources, and the economic wellbeing of the 

Commonwealth, including our ports, military installations, 

transportation infrastructure, tourism assets, farms, and 

forests. We must act now to protect lives and property from 

multiple threats and reduce taxpayer exposure through 

fiscally responsible planning. 

Directive 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as the 

Chief Executive by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia 

and under the laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby order my 

administration to take the following actions to increase 

statewide resilience to natural hazards and extreme weather: 

Section 1: Making Commonwealth Holdings More Resilient 

A. Designation of the Chief Resilience Officer of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia: The Secretary of Natural 

Resources shall serve as the Chief Resilience Officer of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The Chief Resilience Officer 

shall be responsible for planning and implementing pre-

disaster mitigation strategies to reduce the near and long term 

impacts of natural hazards across the Commonwealth. The 

Chief Resilience Officer will serve as the primary point of 

contact on all issues relating to pre-disaster hazard mitigation 

and shall be responsible for coordination and planning of 

resilience initiatives across state government. 

B. Review of Vulnerability of Commonwealth Owned 

Buildings: It is imperative that the Commonwealth assess the 

vulnerability of state-owned buildings and takes steps to 

improve the resilience of state-owned buildings when 

appropriate. To properly assess the need for resilience 

upgrades and adaptation strategies for state-owned buildings, 

the Chief Resilience Officer will develop a facility 

assessment process and define a data set to be used to identify 

vulnerability of state-owned buildings. The Secretary of 

Administration shall collect the identified building data to be 

used by the Chief Resilience Officer in determining the 

vulnerability of state-owned buildings, identify steps to 

increase the resilience of those buildings that are most at risk, 

and where appropriate and feasible, seek alternative locations 

for state operations. 

C. Unified Sea Level Rise Projection for State-Owned 

Buildings: The Commonwealth of Virginia must have a 

standard approach for predicting sea level rise when scoping, 

designing, siting, and constructing state-owned buildings. The 

Chief Resilience Officer shall work collaboratively within 

state government and with assistance from regional, state, and 

national experts and stakeholders, to issue, within 180 days 

from issuance of this Order, a regional or statewide sea level 

rise projection. The standard shall apply to all projects 

beginning initial design for state-owned buildings, beginning 

on or after January 1, 2020. This standard shall apply to new 

construction and not renovations to existing state buildings 

and be applied barring extenuating circumstances as 

determined by the Chief Resilience Officer. In creating this 

standard, the Chief Resilience Officer shall consult with: the 

Secretary of Administration, the Secretary of Commerce and 

Trade, the Secretary of Finance, the Secretary of 

Transportation, and the Virginia Institute of Marine Science. 

D. Freeboard Standard for State-Owned Buildings: The 

Commonwealth of Virginia must ensure the resilience of 

state-owned buildings by setting a minimum freeboard 

standard for state-owned buildings. The Chief Resilience 

Officer shall collaboratively work within state government 

and with assistance from regional, state, and national experts, 

and stakeholders, to issue, within 180 days from issuance of 

this Order, a regional or statewide freeboard standard. The 

standard shall apply to all projects beginning initial design for 

state-owned buildings beginning on or after January 1, 2020. 

This standard shall apply to new construction and not 

renovations to existing state buildings and be applied barring 

extenuating circumstances as determined by the Chief 

Resilience Officer. In creating this standard, the Chief 

Resilience Officer shall consult with: the Secretary of 
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Administration, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the 

Secretary of Finance, the Secretary of Transportation, and the 

Virginia Institute of Marine Science. 

Section 2: Reviews, Reports, and Recommendations 

A. Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan: The 

Commonwealth of Virginia has a responsibility to assist local 

governments in reducing flood risk through planning and 

implementing large scale flood protection and adaptation 

initiatives. The Chief Resilience Officer, with the assistance 

of the Special Assistant to the Governor for Coastal 

Adaptation and Protection, shall create and implement a 

Coastal Resilience Master Plan for coastal Virginia to reduce 

the impacts of tidal and storm surge flooding. 

The plan shall: 

1. Incorporate all ongoing planned and proposed federal, 

state, and local projects and infrastructure to reduce tidal 

and storm surge flooding and flood risk. Provide 

recommendations for additional hazard mitigation, flood 

control, and adaptation projects to fill in gaps and improve 

the preparedness and resilience of the entire coastal area of 

Virginia for flooding and sea level rise; 

2. Be based upon the best available science and 

engineering; 

3. Be updated and amended every five years; 

4. Mitigate flood risks at the community level or greater 

whenever possible; 

5. Employ natural and nature-based solutions to the 

maximum extent possible and provide guidance for land 

conservation efforts by identifying land providing 

resilience benefits along with other ecological services; 

6. Consider potential areas and options for managed coastal 

retreat when appropriate; 

7. Include detailed funding analysis with a needs 

assessment and recommendations for potential funding 

sources; 

8. Conform to National Flood Insurance Program 

requirements and incorporate relevant sections of the 

floodplain protection plan required by § 10.1-602 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

In developing the Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan, 

the Chief Resilience Officer, with the assistance of the 

Special Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and 

Protection, shall consult with the following: 

1. Local governments; 

2. Relevant state agencies, boards, and advisory bodies; 

3. Regional Planning District Commissions; 

4. The Secure and Resilient Commonwealth Panel; 

5. Federal partners, including but not limited to: the 

Department of Defense, including the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers; the National Atmospheric and Oceanic 

Administration; the Department of Transportation, the 

Department of Agriculture; the Department of the Interior; 

and the Department of Housing and Urban Development; 

6. The Virginia Institute for Marine Science, the partner 

universities in the Virginia Sea Grant Program, the 

Commonwealth Center for Recurrent Flooding Resiliency; 

and  

7. Non-governmental stakeholders including civic 

organizations, the business community, and non-profit 

organizations. 

B. Review of State Pre-disaster Mitigation Programs: The 

Chief Resilience Officer, with the assistance of the Special 

Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and 

Protection, shall inventory all state-run programs to 

encourage and implement pre-disaster mitigation. The 

inventory shall include pre-disaster mitigation programs for 

all natural hazards including flooding, wildfire, and 

earthquake. Within 180 days from issuance of this Order, 

each Cabinet Secretary shall submit to the Chief Resilience 

Officer a report on any and all predisaster hazard mitigation 

programs administered by his or her Secretariat. 

1. Reports to the Chief Resilience Officer shall include: the 

formal title of the program, the statutory authorization for 

the program, a summary of the program and its goals and 

successes, the name of the lead staff member assigned to 

the program, a summary of the annual available funding for 

the program, and a summary of unmet funding needs. 

2. Within 90 days of receiving reports from Cabinet 

Secretaries, the Chief Resilience Officer, with the 

assistance of the Special Assistant to the Governor for 

Coastal Adaptation and Protection, shall compile and make 

available to the public a comprehensive report of the 

findings from all secretariats, and make recommendations 

for improvements or additions to predisaster mitigation 

programs. 

C. Review of Compliance with Flood Protection and Dam 

Safety Laws: The Director of the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation (DCR), in coordination with the Chief 

Resilience Officer, shall review DCR's implementation of the 

Code of Virginia, Title 10, Chapter 6, Flood Protection and 

Dam Safety. 

This review shall include: 

1. Review of existing requirements to ensure that state-

owned development is appropriately protected from 

flooding. The review shall also ensure that state-owned 

development is designed so that human health, safety, and 

welfare, as well as the natural and beneficial uses of the 

floodplain, are not at an increased risk of flooding, as 
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authorized under state and federal law. The Director of 

DCR shall report his findings to the Chief Resilience 

Officer within 90 days from issuance of this Order, 

identifying critical updates to regulations, previous 

executive actions or guidance necessary to meet the 

objectives of this Order. In addition, the Director shall 

assess the effectiveness of current dam safety regulations in 

accounting for changing precipitation patterns and 

conditions; 

2. Review of existing requirements to ensure the 

Commonwealth, as a participating community of the 

National Flood Insurance Program, continues to comply 

with 44 CFR § 60.11-13 and 23 CFR § 650, as authorized 

under state and federal law, and identifying within 90 days 

from issuance of this Order critical updates to regulations 

or guidance necessary to meet the objectives of this Order; 

3. Assessment of the enforceability of existing state 

requirements, and the use of penalties for violations, and 

determining if changes are needed; 

4. Development of a protocol for engagement with the 

Office of the Attorney General on enforcement efforts; 

5. Assessment of any gaps in DCR resources or authorities 

necessary to address challenges identified under this 

review: and 

6. The Director of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation shall report to the Chief Resilience Officer 

within 180 days from issuance of this Order on the reviews 

required under this section. 

D. Sea Level Rise Projection Guidance for Local 

Governments: The Chief Resilience Officer, with the 

assistance of the Special Assistant to the Governor for 

Coastal Adaptation and Protection, shall provide guidance to 

assist local governments with respect to regional or statewide 

sea level rise projections and work collaboratively to ensure 

these projections are useful for local decision-making. In 

developing this guidance, the Chief Resilience Officer shall 

consult with the following: localities, planning district 

commissions, impacted state and federal agencies, the 

Virginia Institute for Marine Science, and the Commonwealth 

Center for Recurrent Flooding Resiliency. 

E. Freeboard Guidance for Local Governments: The Chief 

Resilience Officer, with the assistance of the Special 

Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and 

Protection, shall provide guidance for local governments with 

respect to local options to ensure best practices in establishing 

freeboard standards based on regional or statewide data and 

assistance. In developing this recommendation, the Chief 

Resilience Officer shall consult with the following: localities 

with flood prone areas, planning district commissions, 

impacted state and federal agencies, and the Commonwealth 

Center for Recurrent Flooding Resiliency. 

Section 3: Coordination and Objectives 

A. Risk Communication: The Chief Resilience Officer, the 

Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, and all 

relevant state agencies shall work to increase the 

Commonwealth's risk communication with regard to helping 

Virginia residents and local governments better understand 

their current and future risk from natural hazards. 

B. Increased Coordination of Hazard Mitigation Programs 

and Initiatives: The Chief Resilience Officer, or his designee, 

shall convene regular cross-agency, cross-secretariat meetings 

to ensure all programs identified in the report mandated by 

Section 2, subtitle B, paragraph 2, of this Order are working 

in concert with one another, removing barriers to success and 

leveraging one another for maximum benefit. 

C. Enhanced State and Military Collaborative Resilience: The 

Chief Resilience Officer, with the assistance of the Special 

Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and 

Protection and the Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs, 

shall work with military installations, local governments, 

Department of Defense leaders, and other impacted 

stakeholders to identify and develop collaborative adaptation 

and mitigation opportunities in support of military and 

community readiness. 

D. Increased Scale and Scope of Pre-Disaster Hazard 

Mitigation: To the maximum extent possible, state agencies, 

in coordination with the Chief Resilience Officer, or his 

designee, should use their planning, grant-making, and legal 

authorities to ensure natural hazard mitigation projects are 

conducted on a community-wide, rather than individual 

property scale. This approach will ensure greater protection 

for all Virginia residents, public and private property, and 

natural features and ecosystems that provide valuable barriers 

to flooding and other services. 

E. Empower Localities to Reduce Risk: To the maximum 

extent possible, state agencies, in coordination with the Chief 

Resilience Officer, or his designee, should use their planning, 

grant-making, and legal authorities to empower local 

governments to plan and create more resilient communities. 

This may include: technical assistance and planning grants, 

sample zoning ordinances, assistance engaging federal 

programs like the National Flood Insurance Program and the 

Community Rating System, Federal Emergency Management 

Agency (FEMA) Hazard Mitigation grants, and others. 

The Department of Housing and Community Development 

shall consult with relevant stakeholders and subject matter 

experts for the purpose of identifying and suggesting 

resilience-specific improvements to the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (USBC) for inclusion in the 2018 code update. 

F. Position the Commonwealth of Virginia to be a Leader in 

Resilience Technology: The Chief Resilience Officer, with 

the assistance of the Special Assistant to the Governor for 

Coastal Adaptation and Protection, shall work with the 
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Secretary of Commerce and Trade to ensure state, local, and 

regional efforts to test and implement resilience technologies 

are coupled with a coordinated effort to commercialize 

research and start and grow these businesses in the 

Commonwealth. 

G. Empower Individuals to Reduce their Risk: To the 

maximum extent possible, state agencies should use their 

planning, grant-making, and legal authorities to empower 

Virginian residents to take individual actions to increase 

resilience of private property to natural hazards. This includes 

creating tools and places where property owners can review 

data related to their risk, teaching Virginians best 

management practices to reduce risk to existing structures and 

planning tools to limit risk to new structures and encouraging 

the purchase of flood insurance policies both inside and 

outside of the Special Flood Hazard Area. State agencies and 

departments shall help Virginian property owners identify 

and apply for state and federal pre-disaster mitigation grants. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 2nd day of November, 2018. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

 



GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Volume 35, Issue 7 Virginia Register of Regulations November 26, 2018 

1049 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Public Hearing and Public Comment on the State 
Operating Permit 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking comments and announcing a public hearing 

on three proposed permits to limit air pollution emitted by 

facilities in Northern Virginia. The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the permits as revisions to its state implementation 

plan (SIP) in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of 

the federal Clean Air Act. 

Permit name: State Operating Permit, issued by DEQ under 

the authority of the State Air Pollution Control Board. 

Affected facilities: 1) Covanta Alexandria/Arlington, 2) 

Covanta Fairfax, and 3) Dominion Possum Point. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision for each 

facility consists of a determination of reasonably available 

control technology (RACT) for the control of emissions of 

nitrogen oxides (NOX) and volatile organic compounds 

(VOC), as applicable, in support of the 2008 ozone national 

ambient air quality standard (NAAQS). 

Public comment period: November 6, 2018, to December 21, 

2018. 

Public hearing: Conference Room, Northern Regional Office, 

13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA at 10 a.m. on 

December 6, 2018. 

How to comment: Written comments must include the full 

name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ on the last day of the 

comment period. Both oral and written comments are 

accepted at the public hearing. DEQ prefers that comments be 

provided in writing, along with any supporting documents or 

exhibits. All materials received are part of the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and supporting documents 

will be available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for Plans 

website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air 

/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx by November 6, 

2018. The documents may also be obtained by contacting the 

DEQ representative named below. The public may review the 

documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 

day until the close of the public comment period at the 

following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA, 

telephone (804) 698-4070 and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: James LaFratta, Air Permit Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, 

telephone (703) 583-3928, FAX (703) 583-3821, or email 

james.lafratta@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 9VAC5-80, Permits for Stationary 

Sources, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is publishing its report of findings dated October 1, 

2018, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-

4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 

with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 

and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 

regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 

the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 

efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 

other state regulation.  

Part I and Article 6 of Part II of 9VAC5-80 were last 

reviewed in 2014. Articles 4 and 5 of Part II of the regulation 

were last reviewed in 2013. Over time, it generally becomes 

less expensive to characterize, measure, and mitigate the 

regulated pollutants that contribute to poor air quality. This 

regulation continues to provide the most efficient and cost-

effective means to determine the level and impact of excess 

emissions and to control those excess emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of emission control 

regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 

impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 

ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 9VAC5-520, Biomass Energy Generator 

General Permit for a Pilot Test Facility, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

State Air Pollution Control Board is publishing its report of 

findings dated October 2, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 

with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
mailto:james.lafratta@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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and federal requirements that protect air quality. No 

comments were received that indicate a need to repeal or 

revise this regulation. The regulation's level of complexity is 

appropriate to ensure that the regulated entity is able to meet 

its legal mandate as efficiently and cost-effectively as 

possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation.  

This regulation became effective in 2011. Over time, it 

generally becomes less expensive to characterize, measure, 

and mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor 

air quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 

efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 

impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 

emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of emission control 

regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 

impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 

ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 9VAC5-530, Electric Generator 

Voluntary Demand Response General Permit, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The State Air Pollution Control Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 2, 2018, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 

with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 

and federal requirements that protect air quality. No 

comments were received that indicate a need to repeal or 

revise this regulation. The regulation's level of complexity is 

appropriate to ensure that the regulated entity is able to meet 

its legal mandate as efficiently and cost-effectively as 

possible. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with any state law or other state regulation.  

This regulation became effective in 2011. Over time, it 

generally becomes less expensive to characterize, measure, 

and mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor 

air quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 

efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 

impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 

emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of emission control 

regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 

impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 

ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Variances to Rules and Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services 

from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Rules and 

Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving 

Services from Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human 

Rights Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on the application for proposed variances to the 

Human Rights Regulations. The purpose of the regulations is 

to ensure and protect the legal and human rights of 

individuals receiving services in facilities or programs 

operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS. 

Each variance application references the specific part of 

12VAC35-115-220 to which a variance is needed, the 

proposed wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 

justification for a variance. Each application also describes 

time limits and other conditions for duration and the 

circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 

After considering all available information including 

comments, DBHDS intends to submit a written decision 

deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 

variance renewal application. All variances shall be approved 

for a specific time period. The decision and reasons for 

variance will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: DBHDS is seeking comment on the 

application for proposed new variances to the Human Rights 

Regulations for the DBHDS facility, Western State Hospital 

(WSH). 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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Variance to Procedures for Behavior Treatment Plans: 

12VAC35-115-105 H: Providers shall not use seclusion in 

a behavioral treatment plan. 

Variance to Procedures for Behavior Treatment Plans and 

Use of Seclusion, Restraint, and Time Out: 

12VAC35-115-110 C 3: Only residential facilities for 

children that are licensed under the Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46) and 

inpatient hospitals may use seclusion and only in an 

emergency. 

Explanation: The requested variances will allow WSH to 

place an individual in an environment of seclusion, at his 

request, and not as related to an emergency, in order to 

prevent self-injurious harm to the individual and to the staff 

members responsible for his care. 

Variances to these regulations by WSH are reviewed by the 

State Human Rights Commission (SHRC) at least annually, 

with reports to the SHRC regarding the variances as 

requested. 

Public comment period: November 26, 2018, through 

December 26, 2018. 

Description of proposal: The proposed variance applications 

for renewal must comply with the general requirements of 

Part VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Human 

Rights Regulations. 

How to comment: DBHDS accepts written comments by 

email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 

comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by 

DBHDS by the last day of the comment period. All 

information received is part of the public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 

supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 

DBHDS representative named below. 

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 

FAX (804) 804-371-2308, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

October 1, 2018 

Administrative Letter 2018-05 

To: All Insurers Licensed and Recognized in Virginia 

Re: Assessment Practices and Procedures 

Replacement of Administrative Letter 2015-11  

The provisions of this administrative letter replace 

Administrative Letter 2015-11. 

The State Corporation Commission Bureau of Insurance 

(Bureau) has developed a new online Company Assessment 

Filing Portal (Portal) for the electronic submission of your 

special assessment filings and payments. Effective January 1, 

2019, you are required to submit your assessment filing 

electronically via the Portal. The submission and the payment 

is due annually on March 1. Please visit the Bureau's website 

at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx to 

access the Portal. There is an Assessable Premium 

Questionnaire and Worksheet which will assist you in 

completing your electronic filing submission. 

Each insurer is responsible for consulting this online resource 

to file and pay their required assessments. In addition, the 

Bureau will no longer provide assessment forms to software 

companies. However, software companies will be provided 

the Assessable Premium Questionnaire and Worksheet to 

continue to provide assistance to insurers in the completion of 

their filings. 

Electronic payments are permitted but not required. Checks 

submitted without a payment voucher cannot be processed by 

the bank and will be returned to the insurer for proper filing. 

Late payment and filing penalties plus interest will apply to 

all submissions and resubmissions made after the March 1 

due date. If you do not have access to the internet, please call 

the Administrative Revenue Management Division at (804) 

371-9333. 

Questions regarding this letter may be directed to Keith D. 

Kelley, Administrative Revenue Management Division, 

Supervisor, State Corporation Commission, telephone (804) 

371-9333, or email keith.kelley@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

 

mailto:deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/assess/filing.aspx
mailto:Keith.Kelley@scc.virginia.gov
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* * * 

October 30, 2018  

Administrative Letter 2018-07 

TO: All Licensed Property and Casualty Insurers except 

Those Licensed Exclusively to Write Workers' 

Compensation, Licensed Rate Service Organizations and All 

Interested Parties 

Re: Participating Insurers Allowed to either Adopt Rate 

Service Organization (RSO) Filings or Authorize an RSO to 

"File on Behalf Of" 

The Bureau of Insurance (Bureau) announces that, effective 

immediately, participating insurers will be allowed the option 

to adopt materials filed by an RSO as an alternative to 

authorizing an RSO to file materials on their behalf. A 

participating insurer is defined as a member or subscriber of 

an RSO. 

The option to adopt an RSO filing eliminates (i) the need to 

authorize an RSO to file materials on the insurer's behalf and 

(ii) the need for an insurer to physically file RSO materials as 

an alternative to authorizing the RSO to file on the insurer's 

behalf.  

There is no change to the current filing requirements for 

RSOs. In other words, RSO filings can be submitted as either 

"filed on behalf of" or "advisory." 

The Bureau has updated the SERFF General Instructions with 

information for insurers to use if they choose to use this 

adoption process for RSO filings. Insurers are permitted to 

adopt a particular RSO filing or to adopt an entire RSO 

program or product. The SERFF General Instructions also 

contain the requirements that insurers need regarding the 

"filed on behalf of" process. An attachment to this letter 

provides general guidance regarding these filings. However, 

since changes occur to filing requirements, the Bureau 

encourages all insurers to visit the SERFF General 

Instructions frequently to ensure that they are using the most 

current filing instructions and for announcements of changes 

in filing requirements. 

Insurer Action for Adoption of RSO Filing: 

To administer the adoption process, the Bureau has 

established procedures for an insurer to follow. For a 

participating insurer that has NOT authorized an RSO to file 

on its behalf, and wants to adopt a particular filing of forms, 

endorsements, rules, relativities and supplementary rating 

information that has been filed by the RSO and 

acknowledged, the following procedures apply. 

 

IF:   THEN:   

the insurer decides NOT to adopt an 

RSO's filing, 

the insurer does NOT file anything with the Bureau. 

the insurer decides to adopt an RSO's 

filing, 

the insurer must notify the Bureau, in writing, of its intentions to adopt the RSO's 

filing and the effective date of the adoption. Notification to the Bureau must be 

prior to the effective date of the adoption. 

the insurer must adopt more than one RSO 

filing to have a complete program, 

the insurer is required to submit a list of the RSO filing reference numbers needed 

to represent the RSO's complete program OR the adoption may state that it 

applies to all reference filings "up to and including" a specific reference filing for 

the applicable RSO program/product. The insurer must provide an effective date 

for the adoption. 

the insurer decides to adopt an RSO's 

filing with modifications. 

the insurer must notify the Bureau, in writing, of its intentions to adopt the RSO's 

filing, the effective date of the adoption, AND submit the modifications for the 

Bureau's review. Acceptable modifications include, but are not limited to, 

exceptions to an RSO's filed rule or additional endorsements. Depending on the 

modifications, insurers should be mindful of the effective date to give adequate 

time to implement the filing once the modifications are approved. 

the insurer decides to adopt only a portion 

of an RSO's filing. 

the Bureau will only accept adoption requests of an RSO's entire filing. If an 

insurer decides to adopt only a portion of an RSO's filing, the insurer is required 

to physically file the portion instead of a request to adopt. 
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Insurer Action when RSO Files on Behalf of: 

When a participating insurer has authorized an RSO to file on its behalf, and a new RSO filing has been filed and 

acknowledged by the Bureau, the following procedures apply. 

IF:   THEN: 

the insurer decides to use the materials 

and effective date as filed, 

the insurer does NOT file anything with the Bureau. 

 

the insurer decides to use the materials as 

filed BUT with a different effective date,  

the insurer must notify the Bureau in writing of its effective date on or before the 

RSO's effective date. 

the insurer decides not to use the 

materials, 

the insurer must notify the Bureau on or before the RSO's effective date of its 

decision not to implement the RSO's filing. 

the insurer decides to use the materials 

with modifications, 

the insurer must notify the Bureau, in writing, of its intentions to adopt the RSO's 

filing, the effective date of the adoption, AND submit the modifications for the 

Bureau's review. 

The following list of questions and answers provides 

guidance regarding adoption of an RSO's filing(s). 

1. Will an insurer that is not a participating insurer of an 

RSO be allowed to adopt an RSO's Filing? 

No. 

2. Will RSOs still be allowed to "file on behalf of" their 

participating insurers? 

Yes. It is important to note that no changes are being made 

to the "file on behalf of" process that RSOs currently 

utilize. 

3. Can a participating insurer use the adoption process 

outlined in this administrative letter to adopt materials that 

were submitted by an RSO on a "file on behalf of" basis? 

Yes. 

4. What information is important for an RSO's participating 

insurer to know regarding the difference(s) between an 

RSO's "file on behalf of" authorization and the adoption 

process?   

With regard to the adoption of an RSO's filing, the only 

way that a participating insurer can adopt a reference filing 

is for the insurer to take specific and necessary actions, 

which include (i) notifying the Bureau of the insurer's 

intention to adopt the reference filing, (ii) providing the 

RSO's reference filing number, and (iii) providing an 

implementation/effective date. 

5. Will this change affect filing of an adoption of an RSO 

Advisory Filing? 

No. Administrative Letter 2011-07 continues to apply to 

Advisory Filings. 

6. Can the Advisory Filing Adoption Form (AFAF-1) 

provided in Administrative Letter 2011-07 be used to adopt 

a filing that has been submitted by the RSO as "filed on 

behalf of"? 

No, insurers must use the instructions in this letter to 

"adopt" a filing that an RSO has submitted as "filed on 

behalf of." 

7. Will this affect the filing of advisory loss costs by an 

RSO? 

No. Administrative Letter 2010-05 (workers' compensation 

loss costs) and Administrative Letter 2006-16 (other than 

workers' compensation loss costs) apply to advisory loss 

costs. 

8. Are participating insurers required to notify the Bureau if 

they intend to adopt subsequent revisions to an RSO 

Filing? 

Yes. Participating insurers must notify the Bureau and 

provide a future implementation/effective date every time 

they decide to adopt an RSO's reference filing or any 

subsequent revisions of an RSO's reference filing. 

Questions about this administrative letter should be 

directed to the Property and Casualty Division's Rates and 

Forms Sections at (804) 371-9965. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

Attachment: 

Information required when adopting an RSO program  

The Bureau requires certain information from insurers that 

prefer to adopt a particular RSO's filing or an entire program 
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or product instead of authorizing the RSO to file on their 

behalf. 

Instructions for adoption of one or more specific RSO filings 

for the same program or product: 

• If a participating insurer wants to adopt one or more specific 

RSO filings for the same program or product, the following 

information is required: 

○ RSO's name, 

○ RSO filing number(s),  

○ program/product name, 

○ program/product description(s), and 

○ insurer's effective/implementation date. 

• If a participating insurer wants to adopt a complete program 

or product filed by an RSO, the following information is 

required: 

○ RSO's name, 

○ a list of all the RSO filing number(s) for the 

program/product,  

○ program/product name, 

○ program/product description(s), and 

○ insurer's effective/implementation date. 

OR 

○ RSO's name 

○ program/product name, 

○ a statement that the adoption filing applies to all 

reference filings "up to and including" a specific reference 

filing for the program/product, 

○ insurer's effective/implementation date. 

* * * 

November 1, 2018  

Administrative Letter 2018-08 

TO: All Carriers Licensed to Write Accident and Sickness 

Insurance in Virginia, All Health Services Plans and Health 

Maintenance Organizations Licensed in Virginia, and 

Interested Parties  

RE: Requirements Applicable to Short-Term Limited-

Duration (STLD) Insurance Coverage in Virginia 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is to provide 

guidance to carriers regarding the statutory and regulatory 

requirements that apply to STLD insurance coverage in 

Virginia in light of the recent issuance of a final federal rule 

pertaining to such plans by the U.S. Departments of Health 

and Human Services, Labor, and Treasury. The final federal 

rule, which took effect on October 2, 2018, amends the 

federal definition of STLD insurance coverage to allow such 

plans to cover an initial period of less than 12 months (i.e., up 

to 364 days), and to be renewed or extended for a maximum 

duration of no longer than 36 months in total. This final rule 

reverses prior federal rules that limited STLD insurance 

coverage to a maximum duration of three months. 

Although STLD insurance coverage that is sold to individuals 

in the individual market is exempt from the Affordable Care 

Act's ("ACA") market reforms that are applicable to 

individual health insurance coverage (e.g., essential health 

benefit requirements and prohibitions on medical 

underwriting, preexisting condition exclusions and lifetime 

and annual limits), such coverage is subject to the 

requirements outlined in this Administrative Letter under the 

new final federal rule and under Virginia laws and 

regulations. Please note that the requirements contained in 

this Administrative Letter are not exhaustive and that other 

provisions of the Virginia Administrative Code and of Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") may apply. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") is currently developing 

form and rate review checklists to assist carriers as they 

prepare their STLD insurance product filings to comply with 

these federal and state requirements and to assist the Bureau 

in its review of such filings. Additionally, the Bureau has 

attached two charts to this Administrative Letter that 

delineate the key differences between traditional ACA health 

plans and STLD plans, as well as the key requirements 

pertaining to STLD insurance coverage in Virginia. 

Form and Rate Filings 

Forms associated with STLD insurance coverage that are 

issued in Virginia shall be filed with and approved by the 

Bureau pursuant to § 38.2-316 of the Code. Forms associated 

with STLD insurance coverage issued outside of Virginia to a 

group defined in § 38.2-3521.1 of the Code (e.g., to an 

association or trust) or pursuant to § 38.2-3522.1 of the Code 

(to a discretionary group), may not be offered to individuals 

in Virginia unless the carrier submits such forms to the 

Bureau and the Bureau acknowledges these forms as "Filed" 

prior to use. 

Rates associated with individual STLD insurance coverage 

shall be filed with and approved by the Bureau in accordance 

with § 38.2-316.1 of the Code, including rates for coverage 

issued to individuals in Virginia through a non-employer 

group such as an association operating either inside or outside 

Virginia. 

Regardless of whether forms or rates have been previously 

approved by the Bureau or filed with the Bureau for 

informational purposes, carriers must refile forms and rates 

associated with STLD insurance coverage to be issued in 

Virginia on or after January 1, 2019, - or to a Virginia 

resident, as applicable – and receive approval by the Bureau 
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(if applicable) pursuant to the guidance set forth herein prior 

to January 1, 2019. 

Notices  

All STLD insurance policies issued on or after October 2, 

2018, must prominently display on the face of the policy and 

in any application materials in at least 14-point type one of 

the two notices set forth in 45 CFR § 144.103, depending on 

whether the coverage begins prior to January 1, 2019, or on or 

after January 1, 2019. Pursuant to the new final federal rule, 

carriers must ensure that forms issued on or after October 2, 

2018, include such notice and have been filed with and 

approved by the Bureau, as applicable, prior to their issuance. 

Additional Requirements1 

General 

STLD insurance policies shall be captioned as such (See 

§ 38.2-305 A 2 of the Code).  

Renewability and Preexisting Conditions Provisions  

Pursuant to § 38.2-3514.2 of the Code, all STLD insurance 

coverage that: (i) exceeds six months in duration; or (ii) is not 

more than six months in duration but is medically 

underwritten, shall be renewable for a maximum duration of 

36 months in total. Per § 38.2-3514.2 of the Code, only STLD 

insurance coverage that is six months or less in duration and 

not subject to medical underwriting can be nonrenewable. 

STLD insurance coverage issued by a health carrier that: (i) 

exceeds six months in duration; (ii) is not more than six 

months in duration but is renewable; or (iii) is medically 

underwritten, shall comply with the requirements of § 38.2-

3514.1 of the Code on preexisting conditions.  

Covered Benefits  

STLD insurance coverage issued by a health maintenance 

organization ("HMO") in the individual market shall cover 

basic health care services pursuant to § 38.2-4302 A 2 of the 

Code. In contrast, STLD insurance coverage issued to an 

individual by any carrier other than an HMO shall provide, at 

a minimum, major medical expense coverage (See 14 VAC 5-

140-70 E). 

STLD insurance coverage that: (i) exceeds six months in 

duration; or (ii) that is not more than six months in duration 

but renewable, shall comply with the mandated benefits 

requirements applicable to accident and sickness insurance 

policies (See Article 2 of Chapter 34 of Title 38.2 of the 

Code). 

Internal Appeal and External Review  

STLD insurance policies issued by a health carrier are subject 

to Virginia's internal appeal process requirements (See 

Chapter 35.1 of Title 38.2 of the Code and 14 VAC 5-216-10 

et seq.). When used in conjunction with an MCHIP, the 

Bureau must approve this process (See § 38.2-5804 of the 

Code). 

STLD insurance policies issued by a health carrier shall 

provide an external review process that complies with 

Virginia's external review requirements (See Chapter 35.1 of 

Title 38.2 of the Code and 14 VAC 5-216-10 et seq.).  

Any questions concerning this Administrative Letter may be 

addressed to Elsie Andy, Bureau of Insurance Manager, Rates 

and Forms Section, Life and Health Division, Bureau of 

Insurance, telephone (804) 371-9072, or email 

elsie.andy@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

_______________________________ 

1Note that unless otherwise noted, these requirements apply to coverage 

forms that must be filed with and approved by the Bureau. 

Key Differences between Traditional Major Medical (ACA) 

Health Plans and Short-term Limited-duration Plans 

Provision/Attribute  ACA Plans  Short-term Plans 

Guaranteed Issue Must accept any 

individual who 

applies for 

coverage; issuance 

limited to open 

enrollment or 

special enrollment 

periods 

Carriers can deny 

coverage or 

exclude certain 

health conditions 

based on an 

applicant's 

application; 

issued year-round 

Guaranteed 

Renewable 

Coverage is 

guaranteed 

renewable 

regardless of 

changes in health 

Policies issued 

in-state with an 

initial term that 

exceeds 6 months 

or that is 

underwritten 

must be 

renewable up to 

36 months; 

Policies issued 

in-state with a 

term of no more 

than 6 months 

and that is not 

underwritten may 

be either 

nonrenewable or 

renewable up to 

36 months. 

Coverage issued 

to Virginians 

through an out-

of-state 

association may 

mailto:elsie.andy@scc.virginia.gov
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be either 

nonrenewable or 

renewable up to a 

maximum of 36 

months.  

Preexisting 

Conditions 

Cannot exclude 

coverage for a 

service related to a 

preexisting 

condition 

Carriers can issue 

coverage with a 

health condition 

exclusion based 

on the applicant's 

application 

Dollar Value 

Limits 

Cannot impose 

daily, annual or 

lifetime dollar 

limits on essential 

health benefits 

Carriers can limit 

the amount they 

pay on a daily, 

annual or lifetime 

basis 

Essential Health 

Benefits 

Must cover 

essential health 

benefits defined in 

the ACA 

Policies issued 

in-state must 

provide a 

minimum amount 

of benefits; 

however, 

coverage may be 

issued to 

Virginians 

through an out-

of-state 

association 

without a 

minimum benefit 

requirement 

Restrictions 

relating to 

premium rates 

Premiums may 

only vary based on 

geography, age, 

and tobacco use 

Premiums may 

vary based on 

health status of 

applicant among 

other factors 

Discrimination 

based on health 

status 

Premiums may not 

be increased due to 

health conditions 

Premiums may 

vary and 

coverage may not 

be issued or may 

be non-renewed 

based on health 

status 

 

Virginia STLD Insurance Coverage Requirements 

 STLD Policy 

Issued in VA 

Certificate issued to 

a VA resident 

through an out-of-

state association 

Policy Forms Required to be 

filed and 

approved; must 

be in compliance 

with applicable 

state laws 

Required to only be 

filed as long as 

extraterritoriality 

applies; not subject 

to most VA laws 

Rates Required to be 

filed and 

approved; must 

meet minimum 

loss ratio 

Required to be filed 

and approved; must 

meet minimum loss 

ratio 

If coverage is:   

Underwritten or 

> 6 months 

duration 

Must be 

renewable up to 

36 months; All 

mandated benefits 

apply (EHB does 

not apply) 

May renew up to 36 

months; No 

requirement to 

comply with VA 

mandated benefits 

Not 

underwritten and 

6 months or less 

duration 

Some mandated 

benefits apply 

No requirement to 

comply with VA 

mandated benefits 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Foxhound Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Halifax County 

Foxhound Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Clover, pursuant to 

Virginia regulation. The project is located on the north and 

south sides of Green Valley Road and east of Mount Laurel 

Road in northeastern Halifax County (approximate 

coordinates are 36°52'26" N 78°4'45" W). The project will be 

sited within roughly 1,400 acres across multiple parcels, 

although the project footprint will be less than 600 acres. The 

solar array will connect up to 91 megawatts alternating 

current to Dominion Virginia Power's grid via a 230-kilovolt 

transmission line connecting to the Clover substation. The 

project will deploy approximately 270,000 photovoltaic solar 

panels on single axis trackers to follow the sun throughout the 

day. 
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Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of each of the regulations listed 

below. The review of each regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

9VAC15-40, Small Renewable Energy Projects (Wind) 

Permit by Rule 

9VAC15-70, Small Renewable Energy Projects 

(Combustion) Permit by Rule 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 26, 2018, and ends 

December 17, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Medical 

Assistance Service is conducting a periodic review and small 

business impact review of each of the regulations listed 

below. The review of each regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

12VAC30-100, State Programs 

12VAC30-121, Commonwealth Coordinated Care 

Program 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 26, 2018, and ends 

December 18, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Jimeequa Williams, Regulatory 

Coordinator, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, 

VA 23223, telephone (804) 225-3508, FAX (804) 786-1680, 

or email jimeequa.williams@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the 

Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Emily McClellan, Policy Planning and 

Innovation Division, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, or via email at emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:jimeequa.williams@dmas.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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This notice is available for public review on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall on the General Notices page at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting the Methods and 

Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of 

Care (12VAC30-80): The state plan is being updated to 

include text describing the reimbursement methodology for 

EPSDT Behavioral Therapy Services. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in aggregate annual 

expenditures. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of 

the Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Elizabeth Jones, Provider Reimbursement 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via email 

at beth.jones@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Ms. Jones and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Changes Affecting the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80): The state plan is being revised to update the average 

commercial rate (ACR) calculation of supplemental payments 

for physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical School 

effective October 1, 2018. The updated ACR percentage of 

Medicare is 145%. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$45,554 in state fiscal year 2019. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Environmental Quality is conducting a periodic review and 

small business impact review of each of the regulations listed 

below. The review of each regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

9VAC25-91, Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank 

(AST) Regulation 

9VAC25-610, Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations 

9VAC25-780, Local and Regional Water Supply Planning 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins November 26, 2018, and ends 

December 17, 2018. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Environmental Quality conducted a small 

business impact review of 9VAC25-600, Designated 

Groundwater Management Areas, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

Department of Environmental Quality is publishing its report 

of findings dated October 1, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation establishes groundwater management areas in 

the Commonwealth and continues to be needed. No public 

comments were received during the periodic review comment 

period. This regulation is a state-only regulation, and these 

standards do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or 

state law or regulation. This regulation was last amended in 

2014. The groundwater management areas designated in this 

regulation continue to be beneficial. 

Groundwater withdrawals that occur in designated 

groundwater management areas are subject to a companion 

regulation - Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations (9VAC25-

610). Groundwater withdrawals that occur within designated 

groundwater management areas may be required to obtain a 

permit for the withdrawal and be subject to other 

requirements. These requirements are based on the amount of 

groundwater withdrawn. Small businesses may choose to 

limit the amount of groundwater they withdraw to avoid 

being regulated by the Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations 

(9VAC25-610) if they are located within a designated 

groundwater management area. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for 234 Auto & 
Truck Salvage LLC and 234 Auto Salvage LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for 234 Auto & 

Truck Salvage LLC and 234 Auto Salvage LLC for violations 

at the 234 Auto & Truck Salvage facility in Manassas, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

special order by consent to 234 Auto & Truck Salvage LLC 

and 234 Auto Salvage LLC to address noncompliance with 

the State Water Control Law and regulations. A description of 

the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Carla Pool will accept comments by 

email at carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 698-

4234, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from 

November 26, 2018, to December 26, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Earl Thompson Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Earl Thompson 

Inc. for alleged violations that occurred at the Preston Park 

Subdivision at 3040 Sandy Hook Road, Sandy Hook, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent special order to Earl Thompson Inc. to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff Reynolds will accept comments 

by email at jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov or postal 

mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

from November 21, 2018, to December 26, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Hammersmith Partners LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hammersmith 

Partners LLC for alleged violations that occurred at Summit 

Point Apartment Homes at 523 Summit Street, Petersburg, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent special order to Hammersmith to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff Reynolds will accept comments 

by email at jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov or postal 

mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

from November 21, 2018, to December 26, 2018. 

Proposed Consent Order for  
Pilot Travel Centers LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Pilot Travel 

Centers LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law at 

Flying J #749, located in Caroline County, Virginia. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 

to resolve violations associated with the June 12, 2018, 

Flying J #749 diesel fuel discharge. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from November 27, 2018, through December 27, 

2018. 

 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jefferson.Reynolds@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Jefferson.Reynolds@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-450. Rules and Regulations 

Governing Campgrounds. 

Publication: 35:5 VA.R. 801-813 October 29, 2018 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 813, 12VAC5-450-190 B: 

subdivision 5, line one delete "5." insert "4." 

subdivision 6, line one delete "6." insert "5." 

subdivision 7, line one delete "7." insert "6." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4752; Filed November 9, 2018, 3:26 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Publication: 34:25 VA.R. 2534-2537 August 6, 2018 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2537, 18VAC110-20-322 B, delete "B." and insert: 

"F. B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act:  

1. Research chemicals:  

a. 2-(ethylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 

deschloro-N-ethyl-ketamine), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-tert-butylcathinone, its optical, 

position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation.  

c. 4-fluoro-N-ethylamphetamine, its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

d. Beta-keto-4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine 

(other name: bk-2C-B), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-

2butenamide (other name: Crotonyl fentanyl), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 2-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 

cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-51754), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation.  

c. N-phenyl-N-[4-phenyl-1-(2-phenylethyl)-

4piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: 

4phenylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, 

esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 

chemical designation.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

C." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5484; Filed November 14, 2018, 4:53 p.m. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-665. Child Care Program. 

Publication: 35:2 VA.R. 337-377 September 17, 2018 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 351, 22VAC40-665-180, subdivision 2, first column, 

line after "equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth." 

delete "c." insert "d." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4602; Filed November 9, 2018, 2:48 p.m. 
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