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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. 

Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Rhonda Dyer, Publications 

Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2019 through December 2019 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:11 January 2, 2019 January 21, 2019 

35:12 January 16, 2019 February 4, 2019 

35:13 January 30, 2019 February18, 2019 

35:14 February 13, 2019 March 4, 2019 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petition to amend Virginia 

Administrative Code pursuant to § 2.2-4007.  

"I, Cynthia Ellen Hites, as a citizen of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2.-4007, do humbly 

submit this petition for the following amendment to Virginia 

Administrative Code 24VAC35-60-70, to have the VASAP 

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) required 

breath sample size reduced from 1.5 liters to 1.0 liter. Due to 

generally smaller lung capacity compared to men, it has been 

shown women have 16 times the failed breath sample 

attempts (aborts) when using the BAIID".(1) Failed breath 

sample attempts can be caused by "not providing enough air 

or providing too much air, humming at the incorrect tone or 

volume, breaks in the hum, or too much humidity or saliva in 

the breath sample." This means women have 16 times the 

interaction with the machine upon startup, and, during rolling 

retests while on Virginia's roadways. I personally struggled 

mightily with the basic functionality of the device and 

experienced hyperventilation on numerous occasions due to 

sequential invalid samples during use of the ignition interlock 

device. Incidentally, an overlooked cause of the exponentially 

higher number of breath sample aborts for women, is simply 

tone of voice. The BAIID anti-circumvention feature requires 

the driver provide sufficient reverberation for the device's 

handset to detect human presence. Of course, women 

naturally tend to have higher pitched voices that produce less 

reverb, and can, and do, force a difficult and uncomfortable 

alteration in vocal method to achieve a passing breath sample. 

Paramount in my opinion, however, is the fact the maneuver 

required for the BAIID breath sample involves not tidal 

breath, but execution of the vital capacity maneuver to obtain 

the breath sample. The vital capacity maneuver obtains the 

greatest volume of air that can be expelled from the lungs 

after taking the deepest possible breath. Even then, the subject 

is required to actually force breath out of the lungs into the 

BAIID far beyond what's natural, and in my case, experience 

disorientation via hypoxia and actual physical lung pain 

frequently. "In order to fulfill the minimum 1.5 liter volume 

requirement...the sixty year old woman must exhale at least 

60% of her vital capacity. Whereas the twenty year old man 

would only have to exhale about 25% of his vital capacity. At 

the same blood alcohol concentration (BAC), the smaller lung 

volume would yield a greater breath alcohol reading."(2) So, in 

addition to being 16 times more difficult for women to simply 

achieve to a valid breath sample, the requirement alone can 

skew the test results to reflect an erroneously high BAC. To 

mitigate these existing human factors that inherently punish 

women, and others with similar known, or unknown 

conditions, to a greater degree; and to initiate a decrease in 

the potential for vehicle collision due to distracted driving, 

lowering the breath sample requirement to 1.0 liter will be a 

step closer to closing the disparity gap of punishment 

between sexes, and detrimental judicial imbalance currently 

existing due simply to physiological differences among 

offenders. States the statute 24VAC-35-60-70 F, 4: "The 

ignition interlock device shall indicate when a 1.5 L breath 

sample has been collected and shall indicate this by audible or 

visual means. The commission may authorize service 

providers to adjust the breath volume requirement to as low 

as 1.0 L upon receipt of documentation from a licensed 

physician verifying the existence of an applicable medical 

condition. The physician's documentation shall be submitted 

in a format approved by the commission." The one-liter 

volume breath sample requirement is legally permissible, and 

I implore the commission to take under advisement this 

petition to permanently lower the requirement, in order to 

strengthen the integrity of the program, so as to not 

unwittingly punish women, and incidentally; asthmatics, 

COPD sufferers, congestive heart failure survivors, and 

undiagnosed pulmonary patients to a greater degree. Please, 

dear Commissioners, weigh this petition and begin to create a 

more judiciously solid system. Humbly Yours, Cynthia E. 

Hites"  

(1)An Evaluation of Drivers Using an Ignition Interlock 

Device: Breath Tests While Driving. By Ben D. Sawyer and 

P. A. Hancock  

(2)Breathing Related Limitations to the Alcohol Breath Test. 

By Dr. Michael P. Hlastala, Ph.D. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: On October 26, 2018, 

during its quarterly meeting, the Commission on VASAP 

considered and unanimously denied the petitioner's request on 

the following grounds: The National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration (NHTSA) publishes model specifications for 

the use of ignition interlocks. These specifications state, "If a 

state wishes to set its minimum breath sampling size at 1.5 

liters, and permit a 1.2 liter level upon medical 

recommendation, the model specifications will be able to 

support that decision." Consistent with the NHTSA 

specifications, Virginia already has a process in place in 

which any ignition interlock user, male or female, may have 

the breath volume requirement lowered upon presentation of 

documentation from a physician explaining the medical 

necessity to do so. In all cases in which this process is 

properly followed, VASAP will lower the breath volume in 
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keeping with the physician's recommendation. The 

commission chair advised the petitioner in person of this 

decision at the October 26, 2018, meeting. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Service Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-32; Filed November 20, 2018, 11:10 a.m. 

 

mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-50, Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services, and 

12VAC30-60, Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care, which was published in 35:5 

VA.R. 606 October 29, 2018. This action will be withdrawn, 

and instead regulations will be promulgated related to 

behavioral health transformation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will be working with stakeholders and 

partner agencies to develop the behavioral health 

transformation regulations. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5686; Filed November 29, 2018, 12:00 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-50, Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and 

Warehousers. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

promulgate regulations in accordance with provisions of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia as enacted by Chapters 

241 and 242 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. A new section, 

18VAC110-50-55, sets out the requirements for delivery of 

Schedule VI devices directly to an ultimate user or consumer 

on behalf of a medical equipment supplier upon a valid order 

from a prescriber or upon request from the medical director of 

a home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 

or hospice to facilitate provision of Schedule VI devices more 

economically and efficiently without a party in the middle of 

the transaction having to physically possess and store the 

devices. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5526; Filed December 12, 2018, 2:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-411, General Relief 

Program. The purpose of the proposed action is to clarify 

and enhance the regulation. The General Relief Program 

provides assistance to certain children who are not eligible for 

other forms of assistance and is an optional program at the 

local level. More specifically, the program provides 

assistance to children who are not related to the adult with 

whom they reside, do not qualify for Temporary Assistance 

for Needy Families, and are not in foster care. The regulation 

for the program provides minimal information regarding how 

income and resources are determined and the process of 

determining eligibility. The goal of the proposed action is to 

amend the regulation by adding details regarding the 

eligibility determination process, the amount of assistance 

provided, and timeframes for which assistance can be 

provided. Other changes may be necessary, based on public 

comments received. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Monique Majeus, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7459, FAX (804) 726-7357, or email 

monique.majeus@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5380; Filed November 26, 2018, 10:59 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7148
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7148
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-141. Health Requirements 

Governing the Admission of Agricultural Animals, 

Companion Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into 

Virginia (amending 2VAC5-141-10, 2VAC5-141-40 

through 2VAC5-141-130; adding 2VAC5-141-35; 

repealing 2VAC5-141-20, 2VAC5-141-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5902 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy 

board. Section 3.2-5902 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to adopt regulations as may be necessary to 

establish the health of certain pet animals imported into 

Virginia. Section 3.2-6001 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to adopt regulations in coordination with other 

states and the U.S. Department of Agriculture to protect the 

livestock and poultry of Virginia. Section 3.2-6002 of the 

Code of Virginia authorizes the board to adopt regulations as 

may be necessary to prevent the spread of and eradicate 

infectious or contagious diseases in livestock and poultry in 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The current regulations concerning the importation 

of animals into Virginia need minor revisions to align them 

with the current priorities and methodology of state, federal, 

and international animal disease and marketing programs. 

The proposed amendments will also align Virginia's 

regulation with the current federal animal movement 

requirements as well as those of other states, ensuring that 

Virginia animal producers and owners are not placed at a 

disadvantage in interstate and international trade and 

protecting the continued viability of Virginia's animal 

industries, thereby protecting the economic welfare of the 

industries. As Virginia is a net exporter of agricultural 

animals, these entry requirements are designed to minimize 

the risk of disease introduction, allow rapid response and 

control should such introduction occur, and promote 

unimpeded commerce. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments are noncontroversial changes that are 

the consensus of many stakeholder organizations. These 

changes have been discussed with and are supported by the 

leaders of Virginia's animal agriculture industries. 

Substance: The majority of the amendments to this regulation 

are technical, grammatical, and formatting, such as changing 

"less than" to "younger than" and capitalizing "Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection." 2VAC5-141-20 and 2VAC5-141-30 

have been combined and moved to streamline the regulation 

and address concerns from users of the regulation.  

"Companion animal" has been replaced throughout the 

regulation with "pet animal" to align with § 3.2-5902 of the 

Code of Virginia, which requires that "pet animals" imported 

into Virginia enter with a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. 

The animals affected and the requirements have not changed.  

Substantive changes include the requirement for a permit for 

animals imported into Virginia to allow the capturing of 

electronic movement and identification data, the authority for 

the State Veterinarian to waive requirements for animals 

fleeing disaster-affected regions, the elimination of the need 

for poultry importers to apply for a poultry approval number; 

the requirement for trichomoniasis testing for imported bulls 

of a certain age, and the requirement that a horse that either 

originated in or has passed through a region where contagious 

equine metritis is known to exist and that is issued a permit to 

enter Virginia shall be permanently identified with an affixed 

or implanted device bearing a unique identification number.  

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed revisions are 

the potential for increased compliance with the regulation by 

simplifying it and the focus on areas that are most effective in 

mitigating animal disease introduction and resultant losses. 

Thus, both the public and the agency benefit from the 

proposed changes. The new permit and bull testing 

requirements are the responsibility of out-of-state importers 

of animals into Virginia and should not directly affect 

Virginia citizens. Bull testing and equine microchip costs are 

less than $50, and any percentage of that cost that may be 

passed down to Virginia industry partners by out-of-state 

shippers is considerably less than the cost of disease 
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treatment or the potential significant economic impact on the 

agricultural industry from disease introduction. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth as a result 

of the proposed amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes to: 1) replace the current paper based import permit 

process with an online system, 2) eliminate the need to obtain 

a poultry approval number, 3) require trichomoniasis testing 

for all bulls of a certain age prior to importation into Virginia, 

and 4) require implants for horses coming from or through 

areas where contagious equine metritis is known to exist. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes 

requirements for importation of animals into Virginia from 

other states or countries. One of the proposed substantive 

changes is replacing the paper based import permit process 

with an online system. Currently, the veterinarian in the 

originating state or country must generate a written 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and mail a copy to the 

Virginia State Veterinarian prior to entry into Virginia. When 

the Virginia State Veterinarian receives the copy, the 

information on the permit is manually entered into a computer 

system. Under the proposed regulation, the veterinarian in the 

originating location will enter the information online and will 

be able to print the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection from 

that entry. There is already an established online system, and 

25% of the importers already voluntarily use the online 

system. The benefits of the online system include instant 

access to information on what is being imported into Virginia 

and a more efficient way of managing imports. 

Approximately 30,000 such certificates are received each 

year. 

The Board also proposes to eliminate the need for a "poultry 

approval number." Currently, prior to importing poultry into 

Virginia the importer must call the Virginia State 

Veterinarian and obtain a poultry approval number, which 

currently serves no useful purpose. Each year approximately 

10,000 such numbers are issued. The proposed change will 

eliminate the need to make a call to the Virginia State 

Veterinarian. 

Moreover, the proposed changes include requiring 

trichomoniasis testing for all bulls of a certain age prior to 

importation into Virginia. Trichomoniasis is a sexually 

transmitted disease that has adverse reproductive effects such 

as abortions and lower fertility. The test costs approximately 

$50 per animal, which according to the Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS), is considerably 

less than the cost of disease treatment or the potential adverse 

economic impact on the agricultural industry from disease 

introduction. There were 268 such bulls imported into 

Virginia in 2017. According to DACS, other states have 

passed similar testing requirements for this disease. Thus, the 

required testing will help prevent Virginia being a dumping 

ground for infected bulls. 

Finally, the Board proposes to require that a horse that either 

originated in or has passed through a region where contagious 

equine metritis is known to exist, and that is issued a permit 

to enter Virginia, be permanently identified with an affixed or 

implanted device bearing a unique identification number. 

Equine metritis is also a sexually transmitted disease that has 

adverse reproductive effects. It is generally found in Europe. 

The purpose of the implant is for identification. For example, 

a show horse coming back from Europe has to be quarantined 

for 48 hours in New York and 21 days to 6 weeks in Virginia. 

An implant would help ensure that the horse at the end of the 

quarantine period is the same horse that entered the 

quarantine. The cost of the implant is less than $50. Similarly, 

this amount is much lower than the potential treatment costs 

or adverse economic effects from the introduction of this 

disease. Approximately 60 horses per year are expected to be 

subject to this rule, of which 90% would already have such an 

identification device implanted. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to the 2012 

census conducted by the United States Department of 

Agriculture, there are approximately 4,042 poultry and egg 

farms, 20,091 beef cattle farms, 737 dairy cattle farms, 919 

swine farms, 2,626 horse farms, 2,870 sheep and goat farms, 

and 1,391 farms that house other animals in Virginia. 

However, not all such farms import animals. The majority of 

these businesses would be considered small. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

particularly affect any locality. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The impact on total 

employment is uncertain. The proposed electronic permit and 

elimination of the need for a poultry approval number should 

reduce demand for labor by a small amount. Conversely, the 

proposed testing and implant requirements for certain animals 

would increase demand for labor by a small margin. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 

extent the value of reduced disease risks to Virginia livestock 

outweigh the cost of testing and implant requirements, a 

positive effect on the use and value of private property should 

be expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
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(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The majority of the affected 

businesses would be considered small. The costs and other 

effects on them are the same as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative method that minimizes the adverse 

impact on small businesses while accomplishing the same 

goals. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposals to require trichomoniasis testing 

for all bulls of a certain age prior to importation into Virginia 

and to require implants for horses coming from or through 

areas where contagious equine metritis is known to exist 

would moderately increase costs for businesses involved in 

transporting such animals into Virginia. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify, simplify, and increase the ability 

of animal importers to comply with regulation. Changes 

include (i) updating terms and definitions, including 

changing all references from "companion animals" to "pet 

animals" to better align with the language used in § 3.2-

5902 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) requiring that individuals 

importing animals into Virginia obtain a permit, which 

may be denied if all requirements, including those for 

official identification and certain disease testing, are not 

met; (iii) amending the definition for "permit" to enable the 

use of electronic permits going forward; (iv) granting the 

State Veterinarian the authority to waive import 

requirements for animals from disaster-affected areas; (v) 

clarifying the import requirements for poultry and 

eliminating the need for a "poultry approval number"; (vi) 

requiring trichomoniasis testing for all bulls of a certain 

age prior to importation into Virginia; and (vii) requiring 

that a horse that either originated in or has passed through 

a region where contagious equine metritis is known to exist 

and that is issued a permit to enter Virginia be 

permanently identified with an affixed or implanted device 

bearing a unique identification number. 

 

 

CHAPTER 141 

HEALTH REQUIREMENTS GOVERNING THE 

ADMISSION OF AGRICULTURAL ANIMALS, 

COMPANION PET ANIMALS, AND OTHER ANIMALS 

OR BIRDS INTO VIRGINIA 

2VAC5-141-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural animals" means livestock and poultry. 

"Avian" means all domestic and wild members of the class 

Aves. 

"Cats" "Cat" means all domestic and wild members of the 

family Felidae. 

"Cattle" means all domestic and wild members of the genera 

Bos, Bison, and Bubalus to include domestic cattle, yak, 

bison, and water buffalo. 

"Certificate of veterinary inspection Veterinary Inspection" 

means an official document, which may be in an electronic 

format, issued by a federal, state, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian certifying the inspection of animals an animal 

and completed and signed by (i) an accredited veterinarian 

who is approved by the animal health official of the animal's 

state of origin, (ii) a veterinarian in the employ of the animal's 

state of origin, or (iii) a veterinarian in the employ of the 

Veterinary Services Division, Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

"Companion animal" means any vertebrate animal excluding 

ornamental fish not otherwise defined herein as avian, cattle, 

goat, horse, other ruminant, sheep, swine, or primate.  

"Dairy type" means all cattle of, or primarily of, a dairy or 

dual-purpose breed of cattle including but not limited to 

include cattle of the Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, Guernsey, 

Holstein, Jersey, Milking Shorthorn, or similar breeds to 

include castrated males of such breeds.  

"Dairying purposes" means the production of milk or milk 

products, or the production of breeding stock whose progeny 

are to be used for the production of milk, milk products, or 

breeding stock. 

"Dogs" "Dog" means all domestic and wild members of the 

family Canidae. 

"Free roaming swine" means swine that are not contained 

within an enclosure by their owner or custodian. 

"Goat" means all domestic and wild members of the genus 

Capra. 

"Hatching eggs" means all poultry eggs that are intended to 

be hatched. 
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"Horse" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Equidae to include, but not be limited to, horses, asses, 

zebras, and any hybrids of horses, asses, or zebras. 

"Livestock" means all cattle, sheep, swine, goats, horses, 

donkeys, mules, camels, llamas, and alpacas. 

"Marketing facility" means a livestock market; stockyard; 

buying station; auction, consignment, or other sale venue; or 

other premises including those operating video, web-based, 

telephone, or other types of electronic sales methods, where 

livestock from multiple owners are comingled and assembled 

for sale or exchange in Virginia. 

"NPIP" means the National Poultry Improvement Plan. 

"Official identification" means a unique identification 

number issued by a state or federal program or other forms of 

identification approved by the State Veterinarian. 

"Other ruminants" ruminant" means all members of the 

order Artiodactyla not otherwise defined herein in this section 

as cattle, goats, sheep, or swine to include camelidae and 

cervidae. 

"Permit" means an official document issued for and prior to 

the interstate shipment permission granted by and in a format 

approved by the State Veterinarian that authorizes the import 

of certain classes of livestock, poultry, companion animals 

pet animals, primates, and other animals or birds into 

Virginia. This permit is issued at the discretion of the State 

Veterinarian. 

"Pet animal" means a dog, cat, nonpoultry bird species, or 

any other animal, ferae naturae, wild or tame under 

domestication or in custody that is not intended for 

commercial use or that by its nature is fit for use only as a pet. 

"Poultry" means all domestic fowl, ratites, and game birds 

raised in captivity to include, but not be limited to, chickens, 

turkeys, ducks, geese, ratites, and game birds such as quail, or 

partridge. 

"Primate" means all nonhuman members of the order 

Primates. 

"Region" means any premises;, political subdivision of a 

state, or country;, or other defined geographic area. 

"Sheep" means all domestic and wild members of the genus 

Ovis. 

"Slaughter establishment" means a livestock slaughter 

facility that is under inspection by the USDA or the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 

"State Veterinarian" means the State Veterinarian of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or his designee. 

"Swine" means all domestic and wild members of the family 

Suidae. 

"USDA" means the United States U.S. Department of 

Agriculture. 

2VAC5-141-20. Certificates of veterinary inspection. 

(Repealed.) 

A. No agricultural animals, companion animals, or any other 

animals or birds of any species that are affected with or that 

have been exposed to any infectious or contagious disease 

shall be imported into Virginia except by special written 

permit of the State Veterinarian. 

B. All agricultural animals, companion animals, or any other 

animals or birds of any species imported into Virginia, except 

as otherwise exempted by this chapter, shall be accompanied 

by a certificate of veterinary inspection or alternative 

movement documentation approved by the State Veterinarian 

that shall be attached to the bill of lading or shall be in the 

possession of the person in charge of such animals or birds, 

and a copy of such certificate shall be forwarded promptly to 

the State Veterinarian. 

C. A certificate of veterinary inspection shall be a written 

record meeting the requirements of Virginia and executed on 

an approved form of the state of origin. It shall contain the 

names and street addresses or premise identification numbers 

of the consignor and consignee and premises of origin and 

destination if different. It shall indicate the health status of the 

animals or birds and include the dates and results of all 

required tests. 

D. After physical examination of the animal and completion 

of all required tests, the certificate of veterinary inspection 

shall be issued within 30 days before the date of entry for 

cattle, goats, horses, other ruminants, poultry, sheep, and 

swine.  

E. After physical examination of the animal and completion 

of all required tests, the certificate of veterinary inspection 

shall be issued within 10 days before the date of entry for 

avian species not considered poultry, companion animals, and 

primates. 

F. The certificate shall be issued by an accredited 

veterinarian approved by the animal health official of the state 

of origin; a veterinarian in the employ of the state of origin; 

or a veterinarian in the employ of the Veterinary Services 

Division, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services, 

United States Department of Agriculture. 

G. All testing required by this chapter shall be considered 

official if conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 
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2VAC5-141-30. Animal identification. (Repealed.) 

A. All shipments of poultry and hatching eggs entering 

Virginia must be accompanied by an approval number issued 

by the State Veterinarian. 

B. Official identification for cattle can be:  

1. Ear tag or other permanently affixed device bearing a 

unique identification number issued by an official state or 

federal program; 

2. USDA back tag only for cattle consigned directly to 

slaughter; or 

3. Other forms of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

C. Official identification for goats and sheep can be:  

1. Official ear tags that are approved by the USDA for use 

in the Scrapie Eradication Program or the Scrapie Flock 

Certification Program; 

2. For goats exempt from identification required by the 

Scrapie Eradication Program, an ear tag or other affixed 

device bearing a unique identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program, or a USDA back tag only 

for such goats consigned directly to slaughter; 

3. For goats, a legible official registry tattoo if 

accompanied by a registration certificate; and 

4. Other forms of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

D. Official identification for horses can be:  

1. A thorough written or photographic record of the horse's 

appearance directly noted on or affixed to the certificate of 

veterinary inspection and endorsed by the issuing 

veterinarian; 

2. Legible breed association tattoo number; 

3. Affixed or implanted device bearing a unique 

identification number issued by a state or federal program, 

or a breed or performance association that allows the State 

Veterinarian access to records; and 

4. Other forms of identification considered official by the 

USDA or the State Veterinarian. 

E. Official identification for swine can be: 

1. Ear tag or tattoo recorded by a purebred registry; 

2. Ear tag or other affixed device bearing a unique 

individual or group identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program; 

3. Official premise identification tattoo including state of 

origin; and 

4. Other forms of identification considered official by the 

USDA or the State Veterinarian.  

2VAC5-141-35. Permit and Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection. 

A. No person shall import into Virginia an agricultural 

animal, pet animal, primate, or other animal or bird of any 

species without obtaining a permit, unless exempted by the 

State Veterinarian. 

B. All agricultural animals, pet animals, primates, and any 

other animal or bird of any species shall be accompanied by a 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection when imported into 

Virginia, unless exempted pursuant to this chapter. 

2VAC5-141-40. Entry by permit only and import Import 

restrictions; exemptions. 

A. No person shall import into Virginia an agricultural 

animal, pet animal, primate, or any other animal or bird of 

any species that is affected with or that has been exposed to 

any reportable infectious or contagious disease except by 

permit issued at the State Veterinarian's discretion. 

B. When the State Veterinarian is informed of any unusual 

or serious outbreak of disease among livestock or poultry in 

any other region that, in his opinion, constitutes a threat to 

livestock and poultry in Virginia, he shall by proclamation 

prohibit the entrance of any livestock or poultry that originate 

either directly or indirectly from that region at his discretion, 

except by permit. He may also prohibit the entrance of any 

products as defined in the meat or poultry inspection 

regulations of the USDA, in the Virginia Meat and Poultry 

Products Inspection Act, or in any other applicable or related 

Virginia statutes and regulations, except by permit. Specific 

classes of animals as listed in this chapter also require a 

permit for entry into Virginia. 

B. C. Agricultural animals, companion pet animals, 

primates, or any other animals or birds of any species 

imported into Virginia for bona fide scientific research by a 

recognized agricultural institution or institution licensed by 

the USDA, and for which compliance with the requirements 

of this chapter would be a detriment to the research, may be 

excused from the requirements at the discretion of the State 

Veterinarian by the issuance of a permit. 

C. No person shall transport through or import into Virginia 

any livestock from a point of origin located within a 10-mile 

radius of any place in which the disease vesicular stomatitis 

has been found to exist during the 30-day period prior to the 

entry of said animal into Virginia. 

D. No person shall transport through or import into Virginia 

any livestock originating in a state in which the disease 

vesicular stomatitis has been found to exist during the 30-day 

period prior to the entry of said animal into Virginia unless 

the animal has been examined and found to be free from 

vesicular stomatitis and is accompanied by a certificate of 
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veterinary inspection, a copy of which has been mailed to the 

State Veterinarian, bearing the following or similar statement 

from the issuing state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian: "All animals identified on this health certificate 

have been examined and found to be free from vesicular 

stomatitis and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, during 

the past 30 days these animals have neither been exposed to 

said disease nor held at a location within 10 miles of any 

place in which said disease has been found to exist." 

E. All requests for permits must be directed to the State 

Veterinarian in writing and must give all information as he 

may require.  

D. The State Veterinarian may waive specific requirements 

for the importation of an animal from a disaster-affected area 

into Virginia. A waiver issued pursuant to this subsection 

shall be issued in writing. 

E. Any livestock entering Virginia from a region in which 

vesicular stomatitis has been diagnosed within the 14 days 

prior to the livestock's entry into Virginia or from a region in 

which a premises quarantined for vesicular stomatitis is 

located shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection dated within the 14 days prior to the livestock's 

entry into Virginia. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 

shall include the following statement: "All animals identified 

on this Certificate of Veterinary Inspection have been 

inspected and found to be free from clinical signs of vesicular 

stomatitis."  

2VAC5-141-50. Common carriers; trucks. 

A. Owners and operators of common carriers, trucks, or 

other conveyances are forbidden to move any agricultural 

animals, companion pet animals, primates, or any other 

animals or birds of any species into Virginia except in 

compliance with the provisions set forth in this chapter.  

B. All railway cars, trucks, and other conveyances used for 

transportation of livestock or poultry must be kept in a 

sanitary condition. The State Veterinarian may require the 

cleaning and disinfecting of any conveyance at any time to 

prevent the spread of infectious or contagious diseases. 

2VAC5-141-60. Avian Poultry entry requirements; 

exemptions. 

A. All birds in commerce not classified as poultry must be 

accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection issued 

within 10 days prior to entry into Virginia. Any poultry in 

commerce that by its nature is fit only as a pet must be 

accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection issued 

within 10 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

B. For all other poultry, excepting poultry for immediate 

slaughter and going directly to a slaughter establishment, 

approval numbers are required for shipments of poultry and 

hatching eggs. 

1. Each shipper of poultry or hatching eggs shall first 

secure an approval number from the State Veterinarian. 

This approval number must appear on each shipment of 

poultry or hatching eggs shipped into Virginia. 

2. Applications for approval numbers must be made on 

forms provided by the State Veterinarian. Each application 

shall require the following information on each premises 

from which the poultry or hatching eggs originate: 

a. The name and address of each premises owner; 

b. The species and the number of birds for each on each 

premise, or for hatcheries hatching capacity; 

c. For chickens and turkeys, and the parent flock of the 

hatching eggs of chickens and turkeys, the date of the 

most recent Pullorum-typhoid test, the total number or 

the percentage of positive reactions to said test, and the 

Pullorum-typhoid status attained; and 

d. Any additional information the State Veterinarian may 

require. 

3. Applications, when completed, must be forwarded to the 

official state agency, the state livestock health official, or 

other competent and recognized authority of the state of 

origin for verification, approval, and signature and then 

forwarded to the State Veterinarian for final approval.  

4. Poultry and hatching eggs shall not be shipped into 

Virginia until final approval has been granted and the 

approval number is received.  

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

poultry must be deemed healthy and free of infectious 

diseases and all required tests must be completed. Proof of 

examination and test results must be submitted with the 

permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection; 

VS 9-3, if the shipper is a NPIP participant; or in a format 

approved by the State Veterinarian. All poultry shall be 

accompanied by an electronic or written Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection, VS 9-3, or alternative movement 

document approved by the State Veterinarian, which shall be 

in the possession of the person in charge of such poultry. 

C. B. Chickens, turkeys, and hatching eggs of chickens and 

turkeys shall not be imported into Virginia unless originating 

exclusively from flocks or hatcheries participating in the 

National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) NPIP or issued a 

permit and found to be negative to on a Pullorum-typhoid test 

within 30 days prior to entry. 

D. C. Poultry shall not be imported into Virginia unless the 

following conditions are met concerning avian influenza (H5 

and H7):  

1. Requirements governing hatching eggs and certain day-

old birds:  
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a. Hatching eggs shall originate from a breeder flock that 

participates in and meets the requirements of the "U.S. 

Avian Influenza Clean" program for chickens or the 

"U.S. H5/H7 Avian Influenza Clean" program for 

turkeys of the National Poultry Improvement Plan NPIP.  

b. Day-old chickens, day-old game birds, and day-old 

turkeys shall originate from a hatchery that only handles 

hatching eggs that originate from breeding flocks that 

participate in and meet the requirements of the "U.S. 

Avian Influenza Clean" or the "U.S. H5/H7 Avian 

Influenza Clean" programs of the National Poultry 

Improvement Plan NPIP. 

c. A statement certifying that the breeder flock shipping 

hatching eggs and all breeder flocks supplying eggs to 

the hatchery shipping day-old chickens, day-old game 

birds, or day-old turkeys participates in and meets the 

requirements of the "U.S. Avian Influenza Clean" or the 

"U.S. H5/H7 Avian Influenza Clean" programs of the 

National Poultry Improvement Plan NPIP shall be 

provided. 

2. Requirements governing all other poultry: 

a. The poultry is shall be tested and found negative for 

avian influenza (H5 and H7) within 14 days prior to entry 

into Virginia or comes shall come from a flock that has 

first been tested with negative results within 14 days 

prior to entry in into Virginia as follows: 

(1) Breeding chickens and turkeys: 20 birds per house 

minimum, or for flocks of 500 or fewer, 20 birds 

minimum as long as all houses and pens on the premises 

are represented. 

(2) Grow out Grow-out turkeys for immediate slaughter 

at a slaughter establishment: 10 birds per house minimum 

for multi-stage farms and 10 birds per farm, with at least 

five birds per house, on single-stage farms. 

(3) Broiler chickens less than or equal to 70 days of age 

for immediate slaughter at a slaughter establishment: 11 

birds per premises with at least one per house. 

b. The results of the tests for avian influenza are recorded 

and signed by an accredited veterinarian in the state of 

origin or are recorded on a report issued by a laboratory 

approved by any state or federal animal authority. Only 

agar gel immunodiffusion (AGID), enzyme-linked 

immunosorbent assay (ELISA), polymerase chain 

reaction (PCR), virus isolation, or other avian influenza 

test methods approved by the state veterinarian State 

Veterinarian and conducted in a laboratory approved by a 

state or federal animal health authority will be permitted. 

E. Exemptions. 

1. D. This chapter shall not apply to birds that are passing 

directly through Virginia to another state in interstate 

commerce. 

2. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

when the birds are kept properly under control by their 

owner or custodian when passing through Virginia to 

another state. 

3. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

brought into Virginia by a resident or by a resident of 

another state who intends to make his residence in Virginia 

except if brought into Virginia with the intent of offering it 

for public adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or promotional 

incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to birds other than poultry 

brought into Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose 

of hunting or legal exhibition with no change of ownership. 

F. E. This chapter section shall not be construed to (i) permit 

the entry into Virginia of any avian species otherwise 

prohibited or restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, 

or directive; or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements 

imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

2VAC5-141-70. Cattle entry requirements; exemptions. 

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

cattle must be deemed healthy and free of infectious diseases 

after examination by an accredited veterinarian and all 

required tests must be completed. Proof of examination, test 

results, and official identification must be submitted with the 

permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in 

a format approved by the State Veterinarian. All cattle shall 

be accompanied by an electronic or written Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection or alternative movement document 

approved by the State Veterinarian, which shall be in the 

possession of the person in charge of such cattle.  

B. All cattle entering Virginia must bear individual official 

identification, and the official identification number must be 

noted on the certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection or other alternative movement 

document if approved by the State Veterinarian. If multiple 

cattle of similar breed, age, and sex are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection, sequential identification 

numbers may be summarized. This requirement shall not 

apply to cattle 18 months of age or younger provided such 

cattle are not of a dairy type and are imported into Virginia 

for feeding purposes only.  

C. Official identification for cattle shall be: 

1. An ear tag or other permanently affixed device bearing a 

unique identification number issued by an official state or 

federal program; 
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2. A USDA back tag if the animal is consigned directly to 

a slaughter establishment; or 

3. Another form of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

B. D. All cattle that originated in or have transited through a 

foreign country, or are intended to be used for rodeo or other 

entertainment purposes, require a negative caudal fold or 

comparative cervical tuberculin test within 60 days prior to 

entry into Virginia. This requirement shall not apply to cattle 

consigned directly from a USDA accredited tuberculosis-free 

herd provided the accreditation number and date of the last 

herd test are listed on the certificate of veterinary inspection 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Entertainment purposes 

shall not include the display of cattle at a scheduled 

agricultural fair, show, or sale. 

C. E. All cattle originating from a region not considered free 

of tuberculosis for cattle by the USDA require a permit and a 

negative caudal fold or comparative cervical tuberculin test 

within 60 days prior to entry into Virginia. This requirement 

shall not apply to: 

1. Cattle consigned directly from an accredited 

tuberculosis-free herd provided the accreditation number 

and date of the last herd test are listed on the certificate of 

veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection; 

and or 

2. Cattle consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 

D. F. All sexually intact cattle originating from a region not 

considered free of brucellosis by the USDA require a permit 

and an individual brucellosis test within 30 days prior to entry 

into Virginia. Animals An animal allowed entry under a 

permit will be quarantined on the premises of the consignee 

until the animal is retested at the consignee's expense and 

found negative to for brucellosis no less fewer than 45 days 

and no more than 120 days after entry as indicated by the 

permit. This requirement shall not apply to: 

1. Cattle consigned directly from a certified brucellosis-

free herd provided the certification number and date of the 

last herd test are listed on the certificate of veterinary 

inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection; and or  

2. Cattle consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 

G. All bulls 18 months of age and older and all nonvirgin 

bulls younger than 18 months of age require a negative 

polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test for bovine 

trichomoniasis within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia 

unless consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 

E. H. Cattle may be imported for immediate slaughter into 

Virginia without a certificate of veterinary inspection 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection provided they are 

consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. Official 

identification for all cattle under this subsection must be 

listed on the waybill. 

F. I. Cattle from a region considered free of tuberculosis and 

brucellosis for cattle by the USDA may enter Virginia for the 

purpose of sale at a livestock marketing facility without a 

certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection if otherwise required provided: 

1. All cattle offered for sale at the livestock marketing 

facility excepting cattle 18 months of age or younger not of 

a dairy type and intended for feeding purposes bear official 

identification upon entry to the livestock marketing facility 

or have such applied at the livestock marketing facility; 

and 

2. The livestock marketing facility maintains for at least 

five years and makes available to the State Veterinarian a 

record of the consignor of the cattle, the identification 

numbers as required of the cattle he consigns, and the 

buyer of the cattle. 

J. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

K. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol.  

2VAC5-141-80. Companion Pet animal entry 

requirements; exemptions. 

A. Companion animals must be accompanied by a certificate 

of veterinary inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry 

into Virginia Within the 10 days prior to its date of entry into 

Virginia, a pet animal must be deemed healthy and free of 

infectious diseases after examination by an accredited 

veterinarian. Proof of examination must be submitted with the 

permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in 

a format approved by the State Veterinarian.  

B. No dog or cat less younger than eight seven weeks of age 

may be imported into Virginia unless accompanied by its dam 

if the dam is known to be alive. 

C. Any dog or cat greater older than four months of age 

entering Virginia shall be currently vaccinated for rabies. 

D. Exemptions. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals that 

are passing directly through Virginia to another state in 

interstate commerce.  
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2. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals that 

are kept properly under control by their owner or custodian 

when passing through Virginia to another state.  

3. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals 

brought into Virginia by a resident or by a resident of 

another state who intends to make his residence in Virginia 

except if brought into Virginia with the intent of offering it 

for public adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or promotional 

incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to companion animals 

brought into Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose 

of hunting or legal exhibition with no change of ownership. 

D. A pet animal kept properly under control by its owner or 

custodian when traveling through Virginia to another state 

shall not be subject to the requirements of this chapter.  

E. A pet animal brought into Virginia by a resident of 

Virginia or by a resident of another state who intends to make 

his residence in Virginia shall not be subject to the 

requirements of this chapter unless the pet animal is brought 

into Virginia to be offered for public adoption, transfer, sale, 

trade, or promotional incentive. 

F. A pet animal (i) brought into Virginia for less than 10 

days, (ii) for the purpose of hunting or legal exhibition, and 

(iii) with no change of ownership shall not be subject to the 

requirements of this chapter. 

E. G. This chapter section shall not be construed to (i) 

permit the entry into Virginia of any species of animal 

otherwise prohibited or restricted by any state or federal law, 

regulation, or directive; or (ii) contravene additional entry 

requirements imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, 

or directive. 

2VAC5-141-90. Goat and sheep entry requirements; 

exemptions. 

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

a goat or sheep must be deemed healthy and free of infectious 

diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian and 

all required tests must be completed. Proof of examination, 

test results, and official identification must be submitted with 

the permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection in a format approved by the State Veterinarian. A 

goat or sheep shall be accompanied by an electronic or 

written Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or alternative 

movement documentation approved by the State Veterinarian, 

which shall be in the possession of the person in charge of 

such goat or sheep. 

All goats and B. A goat or sheep entering Virginia must be 

officially identified, and the official identification number 

must be noted on the certificate of veterinary inspection 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. If multiple goats or 

sheep of similar breed, age, and sex are listed on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection, sequential identification 

numbers may be summarized. The This requirement shall not 

apply to castrated male goats that are not subject to the 

Scrapie Eradication Program.  

C. Official identification for a goat or sheep shall be: 

1. An official ear tag that is approved by the USDA for use 

in the Scrapie Eradication Program or the Scrapie Flock 

Certification Program; or 

2. Another form of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

D. Notwithstanding subsection C of this section, official 

identification for a goat that is exempt from the identification 

required by the Scrapie Eradication Program shall be: 

1. An ear tag or other affixed device bearing a unique 

identification number issued by an official state or federal 

program; 

2. A USDA back tag, if the goat is consigned directly to a 

slaughter establishment; or 

3. Another form of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

B. Scrapie control. 1. E. No sheep or goat or sheep may be 

imported into Virginia that does not originate from a scrapie 

consistent state unless originating from a flock enrolled in the 

complete monitored or export monitored category of the 

USDA Scrapie Flock Certification Program.  

2. F. No goat or sheep infected with scrapie, or the offspring 

of a goat or sheep infected with scrapie, may enter Virginia. 

C. All goats and G. A goat or sheep originating from a 

region not considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by the 

USDA shall be negative subject to a tuberculosis test and 

found negative within 60 days prior to entry into Virginia 

unless consigned directly to a livestock slaughter 

establishment. This requirement shall not apply to animals 

less than six months of age accompanied by their tested dam 

A goat or sheep six months of age or younger that 

accompanies its dam that has tested negative for tuberculosis 

is not subject to this requirement. 

D. All H. A sexually intact goats and goat or sheep 

originating from a region not considered free of brucellosis 

for cattle by the USDA shall be negative subject to a 

brucellosis test and found negative within 30 days prior to 

entry into Virginia unless consigned directly to a livestock 

slaughter establishment. This requirement shall not apply to 

animals less than six months of age accompanied by their 

tested dam A goat or sheep six months of age or younger that 

accompanies its dam that has tested negative for tuberculosis 

is not subject to this requirement. 

E. Goats and I. A goat or sheep may be imported for 

immediate slaughter into Virginia without a certificate of 

veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
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provided they are it is consigned directly to a livestock 

slaughter establishment or to a marketing facility and from 

there directly to a livestock slaughter establishment and its 

official identification is listed on the waybill. 

F. Goats and J. A goat or sheep from a region considered 

free of tuberculosis and brucellosis for cattle by the USDA 

may enter Virginia for the purpose of sale at a marketing 

facility without a certificate of veterinary inspection if 

otherwise required Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 

provided that: 

1. The goats and goat or sheep bear any required bears 

official identification upon entry to the marketing facility 

or have has such applied at the an approved marketing 

facility; and 

2. The marketing facility maintains for at least five years 

and makes available to the State Veterinarian a record of 

the consignor of the goats and goat or sheep, the 

identification numbers as required of the goats and goat or 

sheep he consigns, and the buyer of the goats and goat or 

sheep. 

K. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

L. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

2VAC5-141-100. Horse entry requirements; exemptions. 

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

a horse must be deemed healthy and free of infectious 

diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian, and 

all required tests must be completed. Proof of examination, 

test results, and official identification must be submitted with 

the permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection in a format approved by the State Veterinarian. All 

horses shall be accompanied by an electronic or written 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or alternative movement 

documentation approved by the State Veterinarian, which 

shall be in the possession of the person in charge of such 

horses. 

B. All horses entering Virginia must be officially identified, 

and the official identification must be noted on the certificate 

of veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 

or official equine interstate event permit.  

C. Official identification for a horse shall be: 

1. A thorough written or photographic record of the horse's 

appearance directly noted on or affixed to the Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection and endorsed by the issuing 

veterinarian; 

2. A legible breed association tattoo number; 

3. An affixed or implanted device, such as a microchip, 

bearing a unique identification number issued by a state or 

federal program or a breed or performance association that 

allows the State Veterinarian access to records; or 

4. Another form of identification approved by the USDA 

or the State Veterinarian. 

B. Equine infectious anemia testing.1. D. All horses 

imported into Virginia shall have been officially tested and 

found negative for equine infectious anemia within the past 

12 months prior to entry into Virginia and be accompanied by 

an official certificate stating this information. 2. Horses A 

horse that originate originates from infected an equine 

infectious anemia-infected premises in other states are 

another state is not eligible for entry into Virginia except by 

permit at the State Veterinarian's discretion. 3. Foals A foal 

six months of age or under younger accompanying a its tested 

negative dam are is exempt from equine infectious anemia 

testing. 

C. Contagious equine metritis control. 1. E. No sexually 

intact horse over older than two years of age that either 

originated in or has passed through premises or a country a 

region where contagious equine metritis is known to exist 

may enter into Virginia except by permit. 

2. Horses A horse that are is issued a permit shall be 

permanently identified with an affixed or implanted device, 

such as a microchip, bearing a unique identification number 

issued by a state or federal program and will be immediately 

placed under quarantine and assigned a testing protocol at the 

consignee's expense until the State Veterinarian is satisfied 

that they pose it poses no danger to the Virginia equine 

population. 

D. Horses F. A horse may enter Virginia with an official 

equine interstate event permit issued by another state in lieu 

of certificate of veterinary inspection a Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection provided the permit is not expired. 

G. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

H. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 
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health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

2VAC5-141-110. Other ruminant entry requirements; 

exemptions. 

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

an other ruminant must be deemed healthy and free of 

infectious diseases after examination by an accredited 

veterinarian, and all required tests must be completed. Proof 

of examination, test results, and official identification must be 

submitted with the permit request and on a Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection in a format approved by the State 

Veterinarian. All other ruminants shall be accompanied by an 

electronic or written Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or 

alternative movement documentation approved by the State 

Veterinarian, which shall be in the possession of the person in 

charge of such other ruminants. 

B. All other ruminants entering Virginia must bear an 

individual identification number, and such identification 

number must be noted on the certificate of veterinary 

inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Identification 

can be a tattoo, microchip, ear tag issued by a state or federal 

entity, or other form of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

B. All C. Any other ruminants ruminant originating from a 

region not considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by the 

USDA shall be negative subject to a tuberculosis test and 

found negative within 60 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

This requirement shall not apply to animals less than six 

months of age accompanied by their tested dam Any other 

ruminant six months of age or younger that is accompanying 

its dam that has tested negative for tuberculosis is not subject 

to this requirement. 

C. All D. Any sexually intact other ruminants ruminant 

originating from a region not considered free of brucellosis 

for cattle by the USDA shall be negative subject to a 

brucellosis test and found negative within 30 days prior to 

entry into Virginia. This requirement shall not apply to 

animals less than six months of age accompanied by their 

tested dam Any sexually intact other ruminant six months of 

age or younger that is accompanying its dam that has tested 

negative for brucellosis is not subject to this requirement. 

D. E. This chapter section shall not be construed to (i) 

permit the entry into Virginia of any species of animal 

otherwise prohibited or restricted by any state or federal law, 

regulation, or directive; or (ii) contravene additional entry 

requirements imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, 

or directive. 

F. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

2VAC5-141-120. Swine entry requirements; exemptions. 

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, 

a swine must be deemed healthy and free of infectious 

diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian and 

all required tests must be completed. Proof of examination, 

test results, and official identification must be submitted with 

the permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection in a format approved by the State Veterinarian. All 

swine shall be accompanied by an electronic or written 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or alternative movement 

documentation approved by the State Veterinarian, which 

shall be in the possession of the person in charge of such 

swine. 

B. All swine entering Virginia must bear an identification 

number, and the identification number must be noted on the 

certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary 

Inspection. 

C. Official identification for a swine shall be: 

1. An ear tag or other affixed device bearing a unique 

individual or group identification number issued by an 

official state or federal program; 

2. An official premises identification tattoo that includes 

the state of origin; or  

3. Another form of identification approved by the State 

Veterinarian. 

B. Swine D. A swine originating from a herd or region that 

is considered free from brucellosis and pseudorabies by a 

federal program or a state program approved by the State 

Veterinarian may enter Virginia without further testing 

requirements provided a statement indicating the region is 

considered free from brucellosis and pseudorabies by a 

federal or state program or verification of herd participation 

in the federal or state program is indicated on the certificate 

of veterinary inspection Certificate of Veterinary Inspection, 

and the swine have has not had known contact with free 

roaming swine. 

C. Sexually E. A sexually intact swine over four months of 

age not originating from a herd or region considered free of 

brucellosis by a federal program or a state program approved 

by the State Veterinarian must be negative individually 

subject to a brucellosis test and found negative within 30 days 

prior to entry into Virginia. A sexually intact swine shall be 

quarantined at the premises of destination until such time as it 

is retested between 30 and 60 days after importation into 

Virginia at the consignee's expense. 

D. Swine F. A swine not originating from a herd or region 

that is considered free from pseudorabies by a federal 

program or a state program approved by the State 
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Veterinarian shall be individually tested and negative subject 

to a pseudorabies test and found negative within 30 days prior 

to entry into Virginia. Sexually intact swine shall be 

quarantined at the premises of destination until retested 

between 30 and 60 days after importation at the consignee's 

expense.  

E. Slaughter swine entry requirements. G. A swine that is 

free roaming or that has had known contact with free roaming 

swine must have tested negative for brucellosis and 

pseudorabies within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia.  

Swine H. A swine may be imported for immediate slaughter 

into Virginia without a certificate of veterinary inspection 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection provided they are it is 

consigned directly to a slaughter establishment. 

F. Swine I. A swine intended for feeding purposes and not 

intended for breeding purposes from a farm of origin in a 

state adjoining Virginia and from a region therein considered 

free of pseudorabies by a federal or state program may enter 

Virginia without a certificate of veterinary inspection 

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection if an alternative 

movement document that has been approved by the State 

Veterinarian is submitted as required. 

G. Swine that are, or have had known contact with, free 

roaming swine must have tested negative for pseudorabies 

and brucellosis within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia. 

J. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

K. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

2VAC5-141-130. Primate entry requirements; 

exemptions. 

A. All primates imported into Virginia require a certificate 

of veterinary inspection issued within 10 days prior to entry 

Within the 10 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, a 

primate must be deemed healthy and free of infectious 

diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian, and 

all required tests must be completed. Proof of examination 

and test results must be submitted with the permit request and 

on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in a format approved 

by the State Veterinarian. 

B. All primates imported into Virginia must be 

microchipped, and such microchip number must be noted on 

the certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection. 

C. The certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate of 

Veterinary Inspection shall include a statement attesting to 

the fact that the veterinarian has carefully examined the oral 

mucosa of the primate and has found no evidence of disease 

lesions or inflammatory processes. 

D. Tuberculosis testing requirements. 1. Primates A primate 

imported into Virginia shall have a negative be subject to a 

tuberculosis test performed by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and be found negative within 30 days 

prior to entry into Virginia. If using a tuberculosis test other 

than the intradermal test, it is permissible for test results to be 

recorded on the certificate of veterinary inspection Certificate 

of Veterinary Inspection as pending, as long as the results are 

reported to the State Veterinarian within three business days 

of entry and the animals are animal is isolated upon arrival 

until the test results are reported. 

2. Primates E. A primate that have has been associated with 

a colony where there have been in which other primates 

showing have shown a response to the tuberculin test shall 

not be eligible for entry into Virginia until all primates in the 

colony shall have passed two consecutive tuberculosis tests 

not less than 30 days apart. 

E. Exceptions. 

1. This chapter shall not apply to primates that are passing 

directly through Virginia to another state in interstate 

commerce. 

2. This chapter shall not apply to primates that are kept 

properly under control by their owner or custodian when 

passing through Virginia to another state.  

3. This chapter shall not apply to primates brought into 

Virginia by a resident or by a resident of another state who 

intends to make his residence in Virginia, except if brought 

into Virginia with the intent of offering it for public 

adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or promotional incentive. 

4. This chapter shall not apply to primates brought into 

Virginia for less than 10 days for the purpose of legal 

exhibition with no change of ownership. 

F. A primate kept properly under control by its owner or 

custodian when traveling through Virginia to another state 

shall not be subject to the requirements of this chapter.  

G. A primate brought into Virginia by a resident of Virginia 

or by a resident of another state who intends to make his 

residence in Virginia shall not be subject to the requirements 

of this chapter unless the primate is brought into Virginia to 

be offered for public adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or 

promotional incentive. 

H. A primate brought into Virginia for fewer than 10 days 

for the purpose of legal exhibition with no change of 

ownership shall not be subject to the requirements of this 

chapter. 
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I. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry 

into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or 

restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive 

or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by 

any state or federal law, regulation, or directive. 

J. All testing required by this section shall be considered 

official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited 

veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or 

accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal 

health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health 

agency as dictated by testing protocol. 

FORMS (2VAC5-141) 

Application for Approval Number for the Importation of 

Poultry, Form OVS1201 (eff. 1/12). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5158; Filed November 26, 2018, 3:07 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

January 24, 2019 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments address snapping turtle 

population reduction concerns occurring from unregulated 

harvest by capping annual permit issuance, number of 

traps per permit, and minimum carapace (shell) length and 

imposing other conditions intended to keep the statewide 

harvest of breeding adults at or below 50,000 pounds 

annually to assure population viability while providing for 

regulated commercial harvest, including a Virginia 

residency requirement intended to buffer market-driven 

impacts when out-of-state commercial harvesters have 

accounted for as much as 70% of statewide harvests 

annually due to high market demands. 

4VAC15-360-30. Taking of snapping turtles, crayfish and 

hellgrammites for sale.  

A. It shall only be lawful to take and sell snapping turtles 

and hellgrammites with a Permit to Collect and Sell Snapping 

Turtles and Hellgrammites or a Permit to Hold and Sell 

Certain Wildlife under such restrictions and conditions as the 

board may prescribe. The director may issue, deny, modify, 

suspend, or revoke a Permit to Collect and Sell Snapping 

Turtles and Hellgrammites. Such permits shall be valid 

provided that the harvest of snapping turtles is not otherwise 

prohibited by state or federal law or regulation. To be eligible 

to harvest snapping turtles, an applicant must be a Virginia 

resident and submit an annual report. 

1. It shall be unlawful to harvest any snapping turtle with 

less than a 13-inch curved carapace length. 

2. It shall be unlawful to harvest snapping turtles from 

October 1 through May 31. 

3. It shall be unlawful for permit holders to take any 

species other than snapping turtles.  

4. The department will issue a maximum of 25 permits per 

year. No more than one individual residing at a single 

address may be issued a permit. Permits are not 

transferable. 

5. It shall be unlawful to operate more than 20 traps per 

permit. The permit number or name and address of 

permittee shall be marked on all traps.  

6. Hoop nets or similar homemade traps shall be the only 

lawful form of trapping snapping turtles. Hoop nets or 

other traps shall not exceed six feet in length with a throat 

opening that does not exceed 36 inches.  

7. Permit holders must check all traps at least once each 

day and remove all captured animals. 

8. Permit applications will be issued in the order received, 

to the maximum annual number. 

9. Failure to comply with the harvest and sales reporting 

requirements as detailed in conditions of the permit shall 

be unlawful and may result in immediate permit revocation 

and loss of harvest privileges for a minimum of one year.  

10. It shall be the permit holder's responsibility to report 

"no activity" when no activity occurs during the permit 

period.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c70bb001891~3&typ=40&actno=001891&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c70bb001891~3&typ=40&actno=001891&mime=application/msword
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B. It shall only be lawful to take and sell hellgrammites with 

a Permit to Collect and Sell Snapping Turtles and 

Hellgrammites or a Permit to Hold and Sell Certain Wildlife 

under such restrictions and conditions as the board may 

prescribe.  

C. It shall be lawful to hold and sell crayfish with a Permit 

to Hold and Sell Certain Wildlife under such restrictions as 

the board may prescribe.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5773; Filed December 3, 2018, 2:59 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, 

which provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et 

seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-380. Watercraft: Motorboat 

Numbering (amending 4VAC15-380-120).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-701.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 24, 2019 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: December 31, 2018. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase registration and 

titling fees and (ii) list titling fees that were not listed in the 

regulation. 

4VAC15-380-120. Certificate of registration and titling 

fees.  

A. The following fees shall be paid by applicants for 

certificates of registration:  

For a motorboat under 16 feet $27 $32 

For a motorboat 16 feet to less than 20 

feet 

$31 $36 

For a motorboat 20 feet to less than 40 

feet 

$37 $42 

For a motorboat 40 feet and over $45 $50 

For first 10 actively registered $27 $32 

motorboats by the same owner 

For more than 10 actively registered 

motorboats by the same owner 

$21 $26 

For a duplicate certificate of registration 

and/or or decal 

$9 $14 

B. The following fees shall be paid by applicants for 

certificates of title: 

Titling fee $10 

Duplicate title $7 

Change of motor on title $7 

Record supplemental lien on previously 

titled watercraft 

$10 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5774; Filed December 3, 2018, 2:56 p.m.  

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

40, 4VAC20-720-70, 4VAC20-720-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 11, 2018.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adjust the open dates of 

Rappahannock River Rotational Area 3 to close harvest by 

patent tong on November 11, 2018, and open harvest by 

hand scrape from November 12, 2018, through January 

10, 2019; and (ii) lower the limit in the patent tong areas 

to eight bushels per licensed harvester per day and 16 

bushels per vessel per day.  

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 
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the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

the following subdivisions of this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2018, through 

April 30, 2019. 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2018, through February 28, 

2019. 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November 1, 2018, 

through December 31, 2018. 

4. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018. 

5. Coan River Area: October 1, 2018, through December 

31, 2018. 

6. Yeocomico River Area: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018.  

7. Nomini Creek Area: October 1, 2018, through 

December 31, 2018. 

8. Mobjack Bay Area: February 1, 2019, through February 

28, 2019. 

9. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3: November 1, 

2018, through November 30 11, 2018 (patent tong only), 

and January 1, 2019, through February 28 November 12, 

2018, through January 10, 2019 (hand scrape only). 

10. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5: October 1, 2018, 

through November 30, 2018. 

11. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2: December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018, and February 1, 2019, 

through February 28, 2019. 

12. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

December 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018, and 

February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019. 

13. James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3: November 1, 

2018, through January 31, 2019. 

14. James River Hand Scrape Area 2: October 1, 2018, 

through December 31, 2018. 

15. Pocomoke Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2018, 

through January 31, 2019. 

16. Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2: December 1, 2018, 

through February 28, 2019. 

17. Pocomoke Sound Area: November 1, 2018, through 

November 30, 2018. 

18. Rappahannock River Area 8: October 1, 2018, through 

October 31, 2018 (patent tong only), and December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018 (hand scrape only). 

19. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2018, through February 

28, 2019. 

20. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2018, through March 31, 2019. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in the following subdivisions of this 

subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2018, through May 

31, 2019. 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2018, through May 31, 2019. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area, the Rappahannock River 

Area 9, Milford Haven, Little Wicomico River, Coan River 

Area, Nomini Creek Area and Yeocomico River Area, except 

by hand tong. It shall be unlawful for any person to have a 

hand scrape on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to 

harvest oysters from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters by any gear from 

the seaside of the Eastern Shore except by hand or hand tong. 

It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters that are not submerged 

at mean low water by any gear other than by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters in the following 

areas by any gear except by hand scrape: Rappahannock 

River Rotation Area 3, from January 1 November 12, 2018, 

through February 28 January 10, 2019; Rappahannock River 

Area 5, from October 1, 2018, through November 30, 2018; 

James River Hand Scrape Areas 1 and 3, from November 1, 

2018, through January 31, 2019; James River Hand Scrape 

Area 2, from October 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018; 

Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area, from 

December 1, 2018, through December 31, 2018, and February 

1, 2019, through February 28, 2019; Mobjack Bay Area, from 

February 1, 2019, through February 28, 2019; Pocomoke 

Sound Area, from November 1, 2018, through November 30, 

2018; and Great Wicomico River Areas, from December 1, 

2018, through December 31, 2018 and February 1, 2019, 

through February 28, 2019. 

D. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the following 

areas by any gear except an oyster patent tong: Rappahannock 

River Rotation Area 3, from November 1, 2018, through 

November 30 11, 2018, and Rappahannock River Rotation 

Area 8, from October 1, 2018, through October 31, 2018. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board his vessel while he is harvesting oysters 

or attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board his 

vessel while he is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand scrape. 
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F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2, except by an oyster 

dredge. 

G. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Deep 

Rock Area, except by an oyster patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

hand scrape or dredge license and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall be 

unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 

bushels clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described 

in 4VAC20-720-40 B 8 through 18 when the vessel is using 

the hand scrape or oyster dredge. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

hand or hand tong license and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of 12 bushels per day. It shall be unlawful 

for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit for clean cull 

oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-

40 B 2 through 7 and 20, whereby that vessel limit shall equal 

the number of registered commercial fisherman licensees on 

board the vessel who hold a valid gear license and have paid 

the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 12. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit for clean cull oysters harvested from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1, whereby that vessel limit 

shall equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and who have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 

12. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a 

valid commercial fisherman's registration license and hold a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses the valid 

licenses and has paid the oyster resource user fee as described 

in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum harvest of 12 

bushels per day. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75 and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

patent tong license and has paid the oyster resource user fee 

as described in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum 

harvest of 10 eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for 

any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 20 16 bushels of 

clean cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 

4VAC20-720-40 B when the vessel is using patent tongs. 

E. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2, no 

blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to possess 

on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5738; Filed December 11, 2018, 1:30 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1180. Pertaining to Fishing 

Guides (amending 4VAC20-1180-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248, or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the number of Class A fishing 

guide licenses available for purchase from the Marine 

Resources Commission each year as 240 for Virginia 

residents and 38 for nonresidents.  

4VAC20-1180-40. Limited sale of the Class A fishing 

guide license and conditional sale of the Class B fishing 

guide license. 

The commissioner has determined that the requirements for 

the fishing guide license in Maryland are substantially similar 

and reciprocal with the Class A fishing guide license, and the 

following provisions and qualifications shall define the 

administration of the Class A fishing guide license: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to serve as the 

captain of a charter boat or head boat without first 

qualifying for and obtaining a Class A or Class B fishing 

guide license or a fishing guide reciprocity permit. 

2. An applicant shall be considered qualified for the Class 

A fishing guide license once that applicant satisfies the 

following conditions: 
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a. The applicant shall be licensed by the U.S. Coast 

Guard to carry passengers for hire and shall include a 

copy of his current U.S. Coast Guard license with the 

application. 

b. The applicant shall have purchased, as the licensee, a 

2008 Virginia charter boat or head boat license before June 

25, 2008, or shall have purchased, as the licensee, Virginia 

charter boat or head boat licenses in 2006 and 2007, or can 

document that he has served as captain of a vessel for at 

least 30 days from January 1, 2006, through June 24, 2008, 

operating in Virginia waters that was licensed as a Virginia 

charter boat or head boat and provides a certificate of 

insurance listing him as the captain of a Virginia charter 

boat or head boat or federal tax form W-2 or 1099, listing 

his income as the captain of a Virginia charter boat or head 

boat during the period January 1, 2006, through June 24, 

2008. An additional form of documentation of the 30-day 

service as captain may include evidence that the applicant 

was enrolled during the qualifying period in a U.S. Coast 

Guard required random drug testing program for the 

business owning the qualifying vessel. 

3. A Class A fishing guide licensee shall be required to 

purchase a Class A fishing guide license annually to 

maintain his eligibility to purchase a Class A fishing guide 

license for the following year. 

4. The number of Class A fishing guide licenses sold in 

any one year shall not exceed 240 for residents of Virginia 

and 38 for nonresidents, which are the number numbers of 

persons meeting the qualifications specified in this section 

subdivision 2 b of this section. 

5. An applicant shall be considered qualified for the Class 

B fishing guide license once he provides documentation 

that he is licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard to carry 

passengers for hire and can provide a copy of his current 

U.S. Coast Guard license with the application. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5778; Filed December 11, 2018, 1:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Education will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 

Pupil Transportation (amending 8VAC20-70-350).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16, 22.1-176, and 22.1-177 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kerry Miller, Associate Director of Pupil 

Transportation, Department of Education, 101 North 14th 

Street, 24th floor, Richmond, VA 23238, telephone (804) 

225-2772, or email kerry.miller@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 203, 389, and 586 of the 2018 Acts 

of Assembly, the amendments (i) require minimum hours of 

classroom and behind-the-wheel training for school bus 

drivers and (ii) establish a training program required for 

school board employees who assist in the transportation of 

students with autism spectrum disorders on school buses. 

8VAC20-70-350. Training. 

No person shall operate a school or activity bus transporting 

pupils unless the person has:  

1. Received classroom, demonstration, and behind-the-

wheel instruction in accordance with a program developed 

by the Department of Education pursuant to § 22.1-181 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

2. Completed For persons not currently possessing a 

commercial driver's license, the individual shall complete a 

minimum of 24 classroom hours of classroom training and 

24 six hours of behind-the-wheel training on a school bus 

that contains no pupil passengers. A minimum of 10 of the 

24 hours of behind-the-wheel time shall involve the 

operation of a bus with pupils on board while For persons 

currently possessing a commercial driver's license, the 

individual shall complete a minimum of four hours 

classroom training and three hours of behind-the-wheel 

training on a school bus that contains no pupil passengers. 

Behind-the-wheel training shall be administered under the 

direct on-board supervision of a designated bus driver 

trainer. All drivers shall receive training in the operation of 

buses representative of the type used in the school division 

in which they will be employed and in the transportation of 

students with special needs. Classroom instruction means 

training provided by a qualified driver instructor through 

lectures, demonstrations, audio-visual presentations, 

computer-based instruction, driving simulation devices, or 

similar means. Instruction occurring outside a classroom 

qualifies as classroom instruction if it does not involve 

actual operation of a school bus and its components by the 

trainee. Behind-the-wheel training does not include time 

spent riding in a school bus or observing the operation of a 

school bus when the trainee is not in control of the vehicle. 
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The superintendent or his designee shall maintain a record 

showing that the applicant has completed the training and 

has been approved to operate a school or activity bus. 

3. New transportation directors/supervisors employed by 

school divisions shall complete the "Train the Trainer" 

"New Director/Supervisor" class conducted by the 

Department of Education within a year after being 

employed in this position. 

4. Each local school board employee who assists in the 

transportation of students with autism spectrum disorders 

on school buses, including individuals employed to operate 

school buses and school bus aides, shall participate in a 

training program on autism spectrum disorders established 

by the Board of Education. Such training shall include the 

characteristics of autism spectrum disorders, strategies for 

interacting with students with autism spectrum disorders, 

and collaboration with other employees who assist in the 

transportation of students on school buses.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5690; Filed November 26, 2018, 4:26 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-760. Regulations Governing 

the Designation of School Divisions of Innovation (adding 

8VAC20-760-10 through 8VAC20-760-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 24, 2019 - 11:30 a.m. - James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor, Conference Room, 

Richmond, VA 23219. The public hearing will begin 

immediately following adjournment of the Board of 

Education business meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director for Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, FAX (804) 225-2524, or email 

emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Education's overall regulatory authority 

is in § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. The Board of 

Education's authority for promulgating regulations governing 

the designation of School Divisions of Innovation is pursuant 

to Chapter 760 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, which adds 

Article 1.5 (§ 22.1-212.28 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 22.1 

of the Code of Virginia, relating to School Divisions of 

Innovation (SDIs). Article 1.5, which became effective on 

July 1, 2017, and directs the Board of Education to develop 

regulations for the designation of SDIs.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to establish 

a procedure for school divisions to be designated as a School 

Division of Innovation and develop creative alternatives to 

instructional and administrative practices or school structures 

to improve student learning and educational performance. 

Encouraging innovation education practices is advantageous 

to all citizens in the Commonwealth and promotes public 

safety, health, and welfare. This action fulfills the General 

Assembly's directive that regulations be developed for the 

designation of SDI. These regulations specify the procedure 

and timeline for SDI designation.  

Substance: The proposed regulations govern the designation 

of SDIs. The proposed regulations establish the procedure 

and criteria for the designation of an SDI and provide that the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction establish a format and 

timelines for local school boards to submit plans of 

innovation. The proposed regulations prohibit any 

exemptions from certain requirements, including special 

education regulations, graduation requirements, and other 

regulations that are mandated by state or federal law or are 

designed to promote health or safety. The proposed 

regulations also include provisions to evaluate the 

performance of an SDI, including revocation in the event that 

performance expectations are not met. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 

promulgation of these regulations will help provide high-

quality, effective learning environments for all students in the 

Commonwealth by allowing alternative policies to be 

developed and implemented to address the diverse needs of 

students. Staff has identified no disadvantage to the public or 

the Commonwealth of the proposed regulations. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 760 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Virginia Board of Education (Board) proposes to promulgate 

a regulation for the designation of School Division of 

Innovation (SDI).  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

most proposed amendments. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Chapter 760 added Article 1.5: 

School Divisions of Innovation. Article 1.5 consists of 

sections numbered § 22.1-212.28 through § 22.1-212.32, 

relating to SDI. Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.28 defines SDI 

as: 

… a school division in which the local school board has 

developed and for which the Board has approved 

pursuant to regulations as set forth in this article a plan of 

innovation to improve student learning; educational 

performance; and college, career, and citizenship 

readiness skills in each school in the local school 

division. 

Code of Virginia § 22.1-212.29 states that: 

The Board shall promulgate regulations for the 

designation of School Divisions of Innovation in which 
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the local school board in the local school division so 

designated shall, pursuant to a plan of innovation, be 

exempted from selected regulatory provisions and be 

permitted to adopt alternative policies for school 

administrators, teachers, and staff to meet the diverse 

needs of students. 

The designation of SDI is new, but the potential granting of 

exemption from regulatory provisions at the discretion of the 

Board is not. 

Standards of Quality Standard 3 (§ 22.1-253.13:3.H)2 allows 

the Board of Education to, at its discretion, waive regulatory 

requirements upon request from a local school board. The 

proposed Regulations Governing the Designation of School 

Divisions of Innovation neither increases nor decreases local 

school divisions ability to obtain waivers from regulations. 

The proposed regulation, pursuant to Chapter 760, does create 

the School Division of Innovation designation. School 

divisions may find this designation beneficial for 

communicating with the public and garnering support. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 132 public school divisions in the 

Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_______________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+ful+CHAP0760 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13.2/section22.1-

253.13:3/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes the School Division of 

Innovation (SDI) designation process and timeline, 

expectations for a plan of innovation, procedures for 

ongoing evaluation of an SDI, and regulations that may be 

waived in conjunction with an SDI application.  

CHAPTER 760 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE DESIGNATION OF 

SCHOOL DIVISIONS OF INNOVATION 

8VAC20-760-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Board of Education" or "board" means the board 

responsible for the general supervision of the public school 

system in Virginia as prescribed in Section 4 of Article VIII 

of the Constitution of Virginia and § 22.1-8 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Innovation" means a new or creative alternative to existing 

instructional or administrative practices or school structures 

that evidence-based practice suggests will be effective in 

improving student learning and educational performance. 

"School Division of Innovation" or "SDI" means a school 

division in which the local school board has developed and 

for which the board has approved a plan of innovation to 

improve student learning; educational performance; and 

college, career, and citizenship readiness skills in one or more 

schools, for the benefit of all schools in the school division.  

8VAC20-760-20. School Division of Innovation 

designation. 

A. Any local school board may apply to the board for the 

local school division to be designated as an SDI.  

B. Pursuant to a plan of innovation, an SDI shall be 

exempted from selected regulatory provisions and permitted 

to adopt alternative policies for school administrators, 

teachers, and staff to meet the diverse needs of students. 

C. An application for an SDI designation shall consist of a 

plan of innovation for the local school division, following a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?171+ful+CHAP0760
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13.2/section22.1-253.13:3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title22.1/chapter13.2/section22.1-253.13:3/
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format prescribed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction. 

The plan of innovation shall include: 

1. Goals and performance targets that may include: 

a. Reducing achievement and opportunity gaps among 

groups of public school students by expanding the range 

of engaging and relevant learning experiences for 

students who are identified as academically low-

achieving;  

b. Increasing student learning through the 

implementation of high, rigorous standards for student 

performance and balanced assessments that measure both 

student growth and achievement;  

c. Creating opportunities for students to demonstrate 

mastery of learning at different points in the learning 

process based on readiness;  

d. Increasing student participation in opportunities that 

enhance students' preparation for college, career, and 

citizenship;  

e. Increasing the number of students who are college, 

career, and citizenship ready;  

f. Increasing opportunities for students to learn from 

content experts through integrated course opportunities; 

or  

g. Motivating students at all levels by offering additional 

curricular choices, personalized learning opportunities, 

and relevant student learning experiences such as 

community service projects, internship opportunities, and 

job shadowing; 

2. Divisionwide and school-level policies that will lead 

students to be better prepared for success in work and life;  

3. A description of the ways in which designated schools 

will incorporate innovative practices; 

4. A description of how schools in the division will benefit 

from innovative practices and share experiences and 

practices for application in other schools; 

5. The incorporation of relevant professional development;   

6. Evidence of collaboration, support, and shared 

leadership among teachers in the school division;  

7. Evidence of the support and engagement of educators, 

parents, the local community, and the local business 

community in the development of the plan of innovation 

and of the capacity of such individuals and entities to 

support the implementation of innovation;  

8. Any requests for exemptions from regulatory provisions 

as provided in 8VAC20-760-30, including the rationale for 

such exemptions and alternative policies; and 

9. Specific measures of student success that may include 

alternate assessments or approved substitute tests that will 

be used to determine if students have met graduation 

requirements, as applicable. 

D. Applications for SDI designation shall conform to a 

format and timeline prescribed by the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction. The timeline shall include deadlines for (i) 

a preapplication conference to be held with staff if any 

exemptions are requested and (ii) submission for 

consideration by the board.  

8VAC20-760-30. Exemption from regulatory provisions. 

A. In conjunction with the designation of an SDI, the board 

may exempt a local school board from board regulations as 

requested in a school division's plan of innovation. However, 

the board shall not grant exemptions from the following 

provisions: 

1. Regulations mandated by state or federal law; 

2. Regulations designed to promote health or safety; 

3. Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for 

Children with Disabilities in Virginia (8VAC20-81); 

4. Student achievement expectations (8VAC20-131-30); 

5. Requirements for graduation (8VAC20-131-50 and 

8VAC20-131-51); 

6. Program of instruction and learning objectives 

(8VAC20-131-70); or 

7. Part VIII of the Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia, School 

Accreditation (8VAC20-131-370 through 8VAC20-131-

430). 

B. The board may grant all or a portion of any request for 

such an exemption and designate conditions as appropriate. 

8VAC20-760-40. Approval, amendment, and renewal. 

A. The designation of an SDI shall be for a five-year period 

beginning with the school year following the board's 

approval.  

B. SDI designations may be renewed for subsequent periods 

not to exceed five years each. 

C. School boards seeking to amend a plan of innovation 

shall be required to seek board approval following the same 

procedure as provided in 8VAC20-760-20.  

8VAC20-760-50. Evaluation. 

A. Each SDI shall annually submit to the Department of 

Education, prior to a date designated by the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction, information demonstrating progress 

toward meeting the goals and performance targets included in 

the approved plan of innovation.  
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B. Such information shall be considered by the board when 

possible SDI designation renewals are being reviewed. 

C. The board may revoke an SDI designation prior to the 

end of the five-year approval period in circumstances where it 

deems appropriate, including: 

1. Continued failure to meet goals and performance targets 

established in the plan of innovation. 

2. Continued failure to maintain accredited status for any 

school subject to the SDI designation. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5324; Filed November 27, 2018, 1:56 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-130. Solid Waste Planning 

and Recycling Regulations (amending 9VAC20-130-10, 

9VAC20-130-30, 9VAC20-130-60, 9VAC20-130-100, 

9VAC20-130-110, 9VAC20-130-120, 9VAC20-130-125, 

9VAC20-130-175, 9VAC20-130-230; adding 9VAC20-130-

92 through 9VAC20-130-98, 9VAC20-130-173; repealing 

9VAC20-130-180 through 9VAC20-130-220).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6942(b); 40 CFR Parts 255 and 256. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 

698-4019, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4002(b) of the Solid Waste Disposal Act, as 

amended by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 

1976 (42 USC § 6942(b)), requires all states to develop and 

implement state solid waste management plans. 40 CFR Parts 

255 and 256 contain requirements applicable to state solid 

waste management plans. 

Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia directs the Virginia 

Waste Management Board to "Supervise and control waste 

management activities in the Commonwealth." Section 10.1-

1411 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Virginia Waste 

Management Board to promulgate this regulation, which is 

required to include all aspects of solid waste management, 

including waste reduction, recycling and reuse, storage, 

treatment, and disposal. The board is also required to consider 

urban concentrations, geographic conditions, markets, 

transportation conditions, and other appropriate factors and 

provide reasonable variances and exemptions from regulatory 

requirements when adopting this regulation. 

Purpose: The Code of Virginia directs the Virginia Waste 

Management Board to adopt this regulation, which 

establishes requirements for localities to conduct planning 

efforts to ensure that solid waste is properly managed now 

and in the future. The regulation also implements the 

mandatory recycling rates described in state statute. These 

solid waste planning requirements are similar to the planning 

efforts that localities undertake to ensure their locality is 

planning for the future and is able to provide general services 

to their residents. This regulation allows localities to develop 

their own solid waste management plan or work with other 

localities to form a regional solid waste management plan. 

Solid waste management plans ensure that the locality or 

region is working to meet mandatory recycling rates and is 

preparing for future waste management needs. These actions 

reduce the amount of waste required to be disposed of and 

strive to protect the health and welfare of citizens from 

impacts related to improper management of solid waste. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial. The 

amendments clarify the requirements of the regulation and do 

not add any new requirements. There are no additional 

impacts to the regulated community as a result of these 

amendments. The changes to the regulation improve the 

readability and understanding of the regulation. The changes 

also make the regulation consistent with state statute. 

Substance: The regulation is being reorganized to assist the 

regulated community with understanding and complying with 

the requirements of the regulation. Sections of the regulation 

are being rearranged to appear in the order the regulated 

community would use the regulation. For example, the 

regulation currently discusses the designation of solid waste 

planning units after the requirements for the content of solid 

waste plans are discussed. Prior to developing a solid waste 

management plan, the membership of the planning unit must 

be established. The logical progression would be to discuss 

the establishment of solid waste planning units prior to 

discussing the plans the planning units are required to 

develop. Rearranging the order of the sections of the 

regulation will make understanding the correct order tasks 

described in the regulation need to occur easier for a reader. 

Changes have been made to the definition section. Obsolete 

definitions are removed from the regulation. Removing the 

definitions of terms that are not used in the regulation will 

help to avoid confusion concerning the applicability of these 

terms. For example, the term "white good" is defined in the 

definition section of the regulation; however, the term is not 

found in other sections of the regulation. As part of this 

amendment, the term "white good" is being removed from the 

regulation. Two additional definitions have been added to the 
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regulation in response to a comment received during the 

informal comment period. Definitions of the terms 

"nonmunicipal solid waste material" and "solid waste 

management plan" have been included in the regulation to 

provide additional clarity to the regulation.  

Additional details concerning the calculation of recycling 

rates have been included in the regulation. The calculation in 

the current regulation does not calculate the recycling rate as 

a percentage. The current calculation also mentions the 

inclusion of credits in the recycling rate but fails to explain 

how these credits are added to the recycling rate. This lack of 

explanation causes confusion since credits allowed may be 

expressed in tons or percentages. Additional details have been 

added to this section to address the inclusion of credits in the 

recycling rate. The regulatory language now mirrors the 

information on Department of Environmental Quality form 

50-30 that is provided to solid waste planning units to assist 

them with calculating their recycling rate.  

The recycling credits listed in the regulation have been 

reordered to be listed in the same order as they appear in 

§ 10.1-1411 C of the Code of Virginia. Only those recycling 

credits detailed in statute are being included in the regulation. 

Issues: The revisions to the regulation will make the 

regulation easier for the public and the regulated community 

to understand. The agency will benefit by having a regulation 

that is easier for the regulated community to understand. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, regulated 

community, or the agency from making these changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

amend its regulation governing solid waste planning and 

recycling for localities. Most of the changes proposed by the 

Board are non-substantive. Such changes include adding and 

modifying definitions, moving regulatory sections and 

updating obsolete references. Additionally, the Board 

proposes two substantive changes to regulatory text: 1) the 

Board proposes to remove a separate one-ton credit for "each 

inoperable vehicle for which a locality receives 

reimbursement from the Virginia Department of Motor 

Vehicles" and 2) the Board proposes to replace the formula 

for recycling rates that is currently in the regulation with an 

easier to use formula that is mathematically equivalent. 

Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Many changes that the Board 

proposes for this regulation will not modify or add any 

substantive requirement for regulated entities but, instead, are 

aimed at clarifying existing regulatory requirements. For 

instance, the Board proposes to add definitions for 

"nonmunicipal solid waste material" and "solid waste 

management plan" to the regulatory text. No affected entities 

will incur costs on account of changes such as these. 

Interested parties will benefit from the added definitions and 

the changed structure of the regulation as it will make it both 

easier to find and read any particular standard. Benefits likely 

outweigh costs for all reorganizing and clarifying changes. 

The Board also proposes to remove language that allowed a 

one-ton credit for every inoperable vehicle for which a 

locality receives reimbursement under § 46.2-1407 of the 

Code of Virginia. Localities will instead be able to claim 

credit for such vehicles by adding them to the amount of 

principal recyclable materials. Board staff reports that this 

change will likely have no impact on localities' calculated 

recycling rates. 

Finally, the Board proposes to replace the formula for 

calculating minimum recycling rates. Board staff reports that 

the replacement formula is mathematically equivalent to the 

formula in current regulation, but that the proposed formula 

defines all terms so will be easier to use. Board staff reports 

that the formula that the Board proposes to add to the 

regulation is already in use on forms that localities must fill 

out. This change will benefit affected entities as the 

regulatory formula will be both easier to calculate and 

consistent with what they already use. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This proposed action will 

affect all localities and solid waste management planning 

units in the Commonwealth. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality in the 

Commonwealth is likely to be particularly affected by this 

proposed regulation.  

Projected Impact on Employment. This proposed regulatory 

change is unlikely to affect employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. This 

proposed regulatory action is unlikely to have an effect on the 

use or value of private property in the Commonwealth. 

Real Estate Development Costs. This proposed regulatory 

action is unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. This regulatory action will likely not 

affect small businesses in the Commonwealth. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. This 

regulatory action will likely not affect small businesses in the 

Commonwealth. 
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Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. This regulatory action will likely not affect small 

businesses in the Commonwealth. 

Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 

see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 

regulatory changes. 

Other Entities. No other entities are likely to be adversely 

affected by this proposed change. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reorder the regulatory sections so that 

the requirements for solid waste planning units precede 

those for solid waste management plans and the 

requirement for planning units to maintain and update 

solid waste management plans is in its own section, (ii) 

clarify the difference between major and minor 

amendments to a solid waste management plan as well as 

other requirements of the regulation, and (iii) conform 

recycling rate credits to § 10.1-1411 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

9VAC20-130-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Agricultural waste" means all solid waste produced from 

farming operations.  

"Board" means the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Commercial waste" means all solid waste generated by 

establishments engaged in business operations other than 

manufacturing or construction. This category includes, but is 

not limited to, solid waste resulting from the operation of 

stores, markets, office buildings, restaurants, and shopping 

centers. 

"Compost" means a stabilized organic product produced by 

composting a controlled aerobic decomposition process in 

such a manner that the product can be handled, stored, and/or 

or applied to the land without adversely affecting public 

health or the environment. 

"Composting" means the manipulation of the natural process 

of decomposition of organic materials to increase the rate of 

decomposition.  

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 

structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to, 

lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipes, 

concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal 

or plastics are a part of the materials of construction or empty 

containers for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, 

asbestos-containing material, any liquid, compressed gases, 

or semi-liquids and garbage are not construction wastes.  

"Debris waste" means solid waste resulting from land 

clearing operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited 

to, stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils.  

"Demolition waste" means solid waste produced by the 

destruction of structures and their foundations and includes 

the same materials as construction wastes.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or his designee. For purposes of 

submissions to the director as specified in the Waste 

Management Act, submissions may be made to the 

department. 

"Disposal" means the discharge, deposit, injection, dumping, 

spilling, leaking or placing of any solid waste into or on any 

land or water so that such solid waste or any constituent of it 

may enter the environment or be emitted into the air or 

discharged into any waters.  

"Facility" means solid waste management facility unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Hazardous waste" means a "hazardous waste" as defined by 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulation 

Regulations, 9VAC20-60.  

"Incineration" means the controlled combustion of solid 

waste for disposal.  

"Industrial waste" means any solid waste generated by 

manufacturing or industrial process that is not a regulated 

hazardous waste. Such waste may include, but is not limited 

to, waste resulting from the following manufacturing 

processes: electric power generation; fertilizer/agricultural 

chemicals; food and related products/byproducts; inorganic 

chemicals; iron and steel manufacturing; leather and leather 

products; nonferrous metals manufacturing/foundries; organic 

chemicals; plastics and resins manufacturing; pulp and paper 

industry; rubber and miscellaneous plastic products; stone, 

glass, clay, and concrete products; textile manufacturing; 

transportation equipment; and water treatment. This term 

does not include mining waste or oil and gas waste.  

"Institutional waste" means all solid waste emanating from 

institutions such as, but not limited to, hospitals, nursing 

homes, orphanages, and public or private schools. It can 

include regulated medical waste from health care facilities 

and research facilities that must be managed as a regulated 

medical waste.  
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"Integrated waste management plan" means a governmental 

plan that considers all elements of waste management during 

generation, collection, transportation, treatment, storage, 

disposal, and litter control and selects the appropriate 

methods of providing necessary control and services for 

effective and efficient management of all wastes. An 

"integrated waste management plan" must provide for source 

reduction, reuse and recycling within the jurisdiction and the 

proper funding and management of waste management 

programs.  

"Jurisdiction" means a local governing body; city, county or 

town; or any independent entity, such as a federal or state 

agency, which join with local governing bodies to develop a 

waste management plan.  

"Landfill" means a sanitary landfill, an industrial waste 

landfill, or a construction/demolition/debris landfill (as these 

terms are defined in the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81).  

"Litter" means all waste material disposable packages or 

containers, but not including the wastes of the primary 

processes of mining, logging, farming, or manufacturing. 

"Market" or "markets" means interim or end destinations for 

the recyclable materials, including a materials recovery 

facility (MRF). 

"Market conditions" means business and system related 

issues used to determine if materials can be targeted, 

collected, and delivered to an interim or end market in an 

efficient manner. Issues may include, but are not limited to: 

the cost of collection, storage and preparation or both; the 

cost of transportation; accessible volumes of materials 

targeted for recycling; market value of materials targeted for 

collection/recycling; and distance to viable markets. 

"Materials recovery facility (MRF)" means, for the purpose 

of this regulation, a facility for the collection, processing, and 

marketing of recyclable materials including, but not limited 

to: metal, paper, plastics, and glass.  

"Mulch" means woody waste consisting of stumps, trees, 

limbs, branches, bark, leaves, and other clean wood waste that 

has undergone size reduction by grinding, shredding, or 

chipping, and is distributed to the general public for 

landscaping purposes or other horticultural uses, except 

composting as defined and regulated under the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81).  

"Municipal solid waste" or "MSW" means waste that is 

normally composed of residential, commercial, and 

institutional solid waste and residues derived from the 

combustion of these wastes.  

"Nonmunicipal solid waste material" means waste that is not 

normally composed of residential, commercial, and 

institutional solid waste and residues derived from the 

combustion of these wastes. 

"Permit" means the written permission of the director to 

own, operate, or construct a solid waste management facility.  

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, a governmental body, a municipal corporation, or 

any other legal entity.  

"Principal recyclable materials" (PRMs) or "PRMs" means 

paper, metal, plastic, glass, commingled, yard waste, wood, 

textiles, tires, used oil, used oil filters, used antifreeze, 

batteries, electronics, or material as may be approved by the 

director. Commingled materials refers to single stream 

collections of recyclables where sorting is done at a materials 

recovery facility. 

"Recycling" means the process of separating a given waste 

material from the waste stream and processing it so that it 

may be used again as a raw material for a product, which may 

or may not be similar to the original product. For the purpose 

of this chapter, recycling shall not include processes that only 

involve size reduction.  

"Recycling residue" means the (i) nonmetallic substances, 

including but not limited to plastic, rubber, and insulation, 

which remain after a shredder has separated for purposes of 

recycling the ferrous and nonferrous metal from a motor 

vehicle, appliance, or other discarded metallic item and (ii) 

organic waste remaining after removal of metals, glass, 

plastics, and paper that are to be recycled as part of a resource 

recovery process for municipal solid waste resulting in the 

production of a refuse derived fuel. 

"Regional boundary" means the boundary defining an area 

of land that will be a unit for the purpose of developing a 

waste management plan, and is established in accordance 

with 9VAC20-130-180 9VAC20-130-92 through 9VAC20-

130-220 9VAC20-130-100.  

"Regulated medical waste" means solid wastes so defined by 

the Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-120) as promulgated by the Virginia Waste 

Management Board.  

"Residential waste" means any waste material, including 

garbage, trash, and refuse, derived from households. 

Households include single and multiple residences, hotels and 

motels, bunkhouses, ranger stations, crew quarters, 

campgrounds, picnic grounds, and day-use recreation areas. 

Residential wastes do not include sanitary waste in septic 

tanks (septage), that is regulated by other state agencies.  

"Resource recovery system" means a solid waste 

management system that provides for collection, separation, 

recycling, and recovery of energy or solid wastes, including 

disposal of nonrecoverable waste residues.  

"Reuse" means the process of separating a given solid waste 

material from the waste stream and using it, without 

processing or changing its form, other than size reduction, for 

the same or another end use.  
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"Sanitary landfill" means an engineered land burial facility 

for the disposal of household waste, which is so located, 

designed, constructed, and operated to contain and isolate the 

waste so that it does not pose a substantial present or potential 

hazard to human health or the environment. A sanitary 

landfill also may receive other types of solid wastes, such as 

commercial solid waste, nonhazardous sludge, hazardous 

waste from conditionally exempt small quantity generators, 

construction demolition debris, and nonhazardous industrial 

solid waste.  

"Site" means all land and structures, other appurtenances, 

and improvements on them used for treating, storing, and 

disposing of solid waste. This term includes adjacent land 

within the facility boundary used for the utility systems such 

as repair, storage, shipping or processing areas, or other areas 

incident to the management of solid waste. (Note: This term 

includes all sites whether they are planned and managed 

facilities or open dumps.)  

"Sludge" means any solid, semisolid, or liquid waste 

generated from a public, municipal, commercial, or industrial 

wastewater treatment plant, water supply treatment plant, or 

air pollution control facility.  

"Solid waste" means any of those materials defined as "solid 

waste" in the Solid Waste Management Regulations 

(9VAC20-81). 

"Solid waste management plan" means a plan submitted by a 

solid waste planning unit in accordance with the requirements 

of this chapter. 

"Solid waste planning unit" means each region or locality 

that submits a solid waste management plan.  

"Solid waste management facility ("SWMF")" means a site 

used for planned treating, storing, or disposing of solid waste. 

A facility may consist of several treatment, storage, or 

disposal units.  

"Source reduction" means any action that reduces or 

eliminates the generation of waste at the source, usually 

within a process. Source reduction measures include process 

modifications, feedstock substitutions, improvements in 

feedstock purity, improvements in housekeeping and 

management practices, increases in the efficiency of 

machinery, and recycling within a process. Source reduction 

minimizes the material that must be managed by waste 

disposal or nondisposal options by creating less waste. 

"Source reduction" is also called "waste prevention," "waste 

minimization," or "waste reduction." 

"Source separation" means separation of recyclable 

materials by the waste generator of materials that are 

collected for use, reuse, reclamation, or recycling.  

"Tons" means 2,000 pounds. 

"Transfer station" means any solid waste storage or 

collection facility at which solid waste is transferred from 

collection vehicles to haulage vehicles for transportation to a 

central solid waste management facility for disposal, 

incineration, or resource recovery.  

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 

generated by yard and lawn care or land-clearing activities 

and includes, but is not limited to, leaves, grass trimmings, 

and woody wastes such as shrub and tree prunings, bark, 

limbs, roots, and stumps. For more detail see the Solid Waste 

Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

"Waste exchange" means any system to identify sources of 

wastes with potential for use, reuse, recycling, or reclamation 

and to facilitate its acquisition by persons who reuse, recycle, 

or reclaim it, with a provision for maintaining confidentiality 

of trade secrets.  

"White goods" means any stoves, washers, hot water heaters 

or other large appliances. For the purposes of this chapter, 

this definition also includes, but is not limited to, such Freon-

containing appliances as refrigerators, freezers, air 

conditioners, and dehumidifiers.  

"Yard waste" means decomposable waste materials 

generated by yard and lawn care and includes leaves, grass 

trimmings, brush, wood chips, and shrub and tree trimmings. 

Yard waste shall not include roots or stumps that exceed six 

inches in diameter.  

9VAC20-130-30. Policy.  

It is the policy of the Virginia Waste Management Board to 

require each region designated pursuant to 9VAC20-130-180 

9VAC20-130-92 through 9VAC20-130-220 9VAC20-130-

100, as well as each city, county, and town not part of such a 

region, to develop comprehensive and integrated solid waste 

management plans that, at a minimum, consider and address 

all components of the following hierarchy:  

1. Source reduction;  

2. Reuse;  

3. Recycling;  

4. Resource recovery (waste-to-energy);  

5. Incineration; and  

6. Landfilling.  

9VAC20-130-60. Applicability of regulations.  

A. This chapter applies to all cities, counties, towns, 

designated solid waste planning units (under 9VAC20-130-

180) 9VAC20-130-92), and permitted solid waste facilities 

within the solid waste planning unit, including those facilities 

covered under permit by rule procedures found in 9VAC20-

81. Any city, county, and town may mutually agree to unite 

for the purpose of solid waste management planning, and 
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upon joint written notification to the director, department 

shall be deemed to be a solid waste planning unit for 

development of a solid waste management plan.  

B. Any cities Cities, counties, and towns may be represented 

by a planning district, public service authority, or designated 

region that has been adopted under 9VAC20-130-90 B.  

C. The plan may (subject to statutory authority) specify that 

all solid waste must be recycled at the rate established by the 

plan regardless of the point of origin of the solid waste. Solid 

wastes from both public and private sources shall be subject 

to such requirement.  

9VAC20-130-92. Designation of solid waste planning 

units. 

The director has been authorized by the Governor to 

designate regional boundaries defining areas and jurisdictions 

to be considered for joint development of solid waste 

management plans. Only those solid waste planning units 

meeting the standards established in this chapter will be 

considered. Any group of jurisdictions may petition the 

director for designation as a solid waste planning unit, and if 

the proposed region meets the standards established for 

designation, the director shall approve the request. 

9VAC20-130-94. Considerations in designating solid waste 

unit boundaries. 

A. The following shall be considered in designating solid 

waste planning unit boundaries:  

1. Geographic areas or jurisdictions that have a history of 

cooperating to solve problems in environmental or other 

related matters;  

2. Existing regional management systems, authorities, or 

similar institutions;  

3. The size, configuration, and location of the regional 

areas should have sufficient solid waste contribution and 

market availability to support the solid waste management 

system;  

4. Solid waste types within areas and mutuality of solid 

waste management interests;  

5. Geologic, hydrologic, soil, and groundwater conditions; 

availability of land and soils; and natural barriers and 

ecosystems; and  

6. Existing planning areas established for purposes other 

than solid waste management including the existence of 

informational databases containing data related to that 

needed for solid waste management planning and 

recycling.  

B. Areas included within a solid waste planning unit's 

boundaries may be local or regional.  

1. A local area may include a city, town, or county and any 

towns within the county that through mutual agreement 

join with the county for the purpose of developing a plan.  

2. A regional area may include:  

a. The jurisdictions with existing regional planning 

district boundaries;  

b. Any combination of local governments formally joined 

to form a region or service authority; or  

c. Existing waste management or public service 

authorities. 

9VAC20-130-96. Criteria for designating a solid waste 

planning unit. 

A. The director may authorize an official committee or 

public body as authorized to develop, adopt, and promulgate 

the solid waste management plan.  

B. Prospective solid waste planning units shall have:  

1. Demonstrated ability to plan, manage, or operate solid 

waste management and recycling services; or  

2. Completed planning that resulted in successful 

implementation of solid waste management and recycling 

facilities or services.  

C. An entity designated as responsible for developing a solid 

waste management plan shall:  

1. Be an organization that represents the executive boards 

of jurisdictions within the solid waste planning unit;  

2. Have planning authority for the regional area;  

3. Be capable of readily starting the plan development 

work tasks;  

4. Have an established methodology for resolving 

conflicts, making planning decisions, and providing public 

participation in the development of the plan;  

5. Have experience in environmental planning and have a 

staff experienced in the work tasks involved in such 

planning;  

6. Have established a methodology and authority sufficient 

to implement the plan once it is complete and approved; 

and  

7. Have access to informational resources within the 

region. 

9VAC20-130-98. Development of designated solid waste 

planning units. 

A. At least 14 days prior to designating a regional boundary 

for solid waste management planning, the department shall 

place a notice of the proposed regional boundary and an 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 
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Regulations and in a newspaper of general circulation within 

the proposed solid waste planning unit.  

B. If as a result of the notices required by subsection A of 

this section, the director finds a need exists to hold a public 

hearing on the issues, a public hearing shall be held in the 

proposed region prior to the designation. At least 14 days 

prior to the public hearing, a notice of the public hearing shall 

appear in the same publications as the notice under subsection 

A of this section. 

9VAC20-130-100. [Reserved] Amendment of solid waste 

planning unit boundaries. 

The director may amend a solid waste planning unit's 

boundary based on an application from the governing body of 

the solid waste planning unit. Along with the application, 

each locality (within the original region and any locality 

being added) must submit a letter acknowledging the change 

in the boundary. Once the director amends a solid waste 

planning unit's boundary, the solid waste planning unit must 

amend the solid waste management plan as required by 

9VAC20-130-175. Any locality that withdraws membership 

from a regional solid waste planning unit must become a 

member of an existing solid waste planning unit or develop 

and submit a solid waste management plan for approval as 

specified in 9VAC20-130-110. 

9VAC20-130-110. Schedule for plan development.  

A. Each solid waste planning unit in the Commonwealth 

shall develop and maintain a solid waste management plan or 

amend an existing solid waste management plan and submit it 

for approval in accordance with this chapter. Existing plans 

may be amended by addendum of items such as consideration 

of the waste management hierarchy, the recycling program 

implementation activities, and other requirements of this 

chapter that are not a part of the existing plan. Details 

concerning amendments to solid waste management plans are 

found in 9VAC20-130-175.  

B. The department shall review and approve or return 

comments on the deficiencies in each plan submitted in 

accordance with 9VAC20-130-110 subsection A of this 

section no later than 90 days from the date the plans are 

received. In the event the department is unable to complete its 

review within 90 days, the applicant will be notified and 

given a date as to when the review will be completed.  

C. Each submitter who receives comments on its solid waste 

management plan under subsection B of this section shall 

submit a revised solid waste management plan to the 

department no later than 90 days following receipt of 

notification of deficiencies.  

D. Plans approved without alteration shall become effective 

upon notification of such approval by the department. If after 

review of the corrected plan submitted pursuant to subsection 

C of this section, the department cannot approve the corrected 

solid waste management plan because the department finds 

the plan not to be in accordance with this chapter, it will issue 

a notice of intent to disapprove to the submitter. The notice of 

intent to disapprove shall set forth (i) the reason for the 

disapproval, (ii) what is required for approval, (iii) the right 

of the submitter to an informal fact-finding proceeding under 

Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, and (iv) allow the development of an action plan for 

the solid waste planning unit as set forth in this chapter at 

9VAC20-130-120 I. The department will give priority 

consideration for review of corrected plans where the solid 

waste planning unit has a pending permit application for a 

solid waste management facility.  

E. The director may revoke the approval of any plan or 

require its revision and resubmittal if there is evidence that 

there has been significant deviation from the plan. Significant 

deviations are departures or omissions from activities planned 

in accordance with 9VAC20-130-120. The department 

director will issue a notice of intent to revoke or require 

revision and resubmittal of a plan. The notice of intent shall 

set forth (i) whether the department director intends to revoke 

or require revision and resubmittal of the plan, (ii) the reason 

the department director intends to take the action, and (iii) the 

right of the submitter of the plan to an informal fact-finding 

proceeding under Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 

of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC20-130-120. Planning requirements.  

A. Basic planning elements: 

1. Objectives for solid waste management within the 

planning unit; 

2. A discussion as to how the plan will be implemented and 

tracked, consisting of an integrated waste management 

strategy to support and promote the hierarchy set forth at 

9VAC20-130-30; and giving preference to alternatives in 

the following order of priority: source reduction, reuse, 

recycling, resource recovery, incineration, and landfilling; 

3. Definition of incremental stages of progress toward the 

objectives and schedule for their implementation, 

including, for compliance with 9VAC20-81-450, specific 

solid waste management facility names, facility capacities, 

and life based on 20-year need; 

4. Strategy for the provision of necessary funds and 

resources; 

5. Descriptions of the funding and resources necessary, 

including consideration of fees dedicated to future facility 

development; 

6. Strategy for public education and information on source 

reduction, reuse, and recycling; and 

7. Consideration of public and private sector partnerships 

and private sector participation in execution of the plan. 
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Existing private sector recycling operations should be 

incorporated in the plan, and the expansion of such 

operations should be encouraged.  

B. A minimum recycling rate as specified in § 10.1-1411 of 

the Code of Virginia for total municipal solid waste generated 

annually in each solid waste planning unit shall be met and 

maintained.  

1. The plan shall describe how the minimum recycling rate 

shall be met or exceeded. The department director may 

approve the solid waste management plans of units that do 

not currently meet the minimum recycling rate only if all 

other requirements of these regulations this chapter have 

been met and the solid waste planning unit demonstrates its 

commitment to implementing a strong and detailed action 

plan for recycling to meet the required rate. 

2. When a solid waste planning unit's annual recycling rate 

falls below the minimum rate, it shall constitute evidence 

of a significant deviation from the plan. The plan may be 

subject to revocation by the department under 9VAC20-

130-110 E unless the solid waste planning unit submits a 

recycling action plan acceptable to the department per 

subsection I of this section. 

C. The solid waste management plan shall include data and 

analyses of the following type(s) type for each jurisdiction. 

Each item below listed in this subsection shall be in a 

separate section and labeled as to content: 

1. Population information and projections for 20 years of 

population growth and development patterns; 

2. Urban concentrations, geographic conditions, economic 

growth and development, markets for the reuse and 

recycling of materials, transportation conditions, and 

related factors; 

3. Estimates of solid waste generation from residential, 

commercial institutional, industrial, construction, 

demolition, debris and other types of sources, including the 

amounts reused, recycled, recovered as a resource, 

incinerated, and landfilled. Entities engaged in the 

collection, processing, and marketing of recyclable 

materials should provide data for incorporation into the 

recycling rate calculation, when requested by the planning 

unit. 

4. A listing of existing and planned solid waste collection, 

storage, treatment, transportation, disposal, and other 

management facilities, their projected capacities, expected 

life, and systems for their use; 

5. All milestones in the implementation of the solid waste 

management plan over the 20-year projection and the 

parties responsible for each milestone; 

6. A description of programs for solid waste reduction, 

reuse, recycling, resource recovery, incineration, storage, 

treatment, disposal, and litter control; 

7. A description of outreach programs for waste exchange, 

public education, and public participation; 

8. The procedures for and results of evaluating solid waste 

collection, including transfer stations; and 

9. The assessment of all current and predicted needs for 

solid waste management for a period of 20 years and a 

description of the action to be taken to meet those needs. 

D. All known solid waste disposal sites, closed, inactive, 

and active, within the area of the solid waste management 

plan shall be documented and recorded at a centralized 

archive authorized to receive and record information and a 

copy shall be sent to the department. All new sites shall be 

recorded at the same central data source. 

E. A methodology shall be utilized to monitor the amount of 

solid waste of each type produced within the area of the solid 

waste management plan and to record the annual production 

by solid waste types at a centralized archive and a copy shall 

be sent to the department.  

F. The solid waste management plan shall include, when 

developed locally, a copy of the local governing body's 

resolution adopting the solid waste management plan. 

G. The When the solid waste management plan is developed 

regionally, the solid waste management plan shall include, 

when developed regionally, a copy of the resolution of the 

solid waste planning unit approving the plan adopted in 

accordance with the Virginia Area Development Regional 

Cooperation Act, the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities 

Act, the provisions of the Code of Virginia governing joint 

exercise of powers by political subdivisions (§ 15.2-1300 of 

the Code of Virginia), or other authority as applicable. The 

plan shall specify the solid waste planning unit's legal 

authority to adopt the solid waste management plan. 

H. The solid waste management plan shall clearly and 

explicitly demonstrate the manner in which the goals of the 

planning requirements in these regulations this chapter shall 

be accomplished and actions to take if these requirements are 

not met. 

I. A planning unit that does not meet the requirements of 

these regulations shall submit an action plan, by mail or 

electronic mail, for approval by the department. Such action 

plans shall include: 

1. A description of the deficiency that requires the 

development of the action plan. 

2. A time schedule to resolve the deficiency(ies) deficiency 

associated with the planning unit's failure to meet the 

requirements of the approved solid waste management 

plan. 
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3. A reporting requirement to the department, of a 

minimum of once every six months, including activities or 

updates documenting how the action plan requirements are 

being met. 

4. Plans and all subsequent reports and submittals shall be 

reviewed by the department within 30 days of receipt by 

the department. 

5. All the department's requests for further information or 

response(s) responses shall be provided within 30 days of 

receipt at the planning unit. The department may grant 

reasonable extensions to these deadlines on a case-by-case 

basis.  

9VAC20-130-125. Recycling requirements. 

A. Each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a minimum 

recycling rate for municipal solid waste generated within the 

solid waste planning unit pursuant to the following schedule: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a minimum 

25% recycling rate; or 

2. Each solid waste planning unit shall maintain a 

minimum 15% recycling rate if it has (i) a population 

density rate of less than 100 persons per square mile 

according to the most recent United States Census, or (ii) a 

not seasonally adjusted civilian unemployment rate for the 

immediately preceding calendar year that is at least 50% 

greater than the state average as reported by the Virginia 

Employment Commission for such year.  

B. The minimum recycling rate shall be determined by the 

following formula:  

Recycling Rate = [PRMs recycled] ÷ [MSW generated] + 

[all Credits in C] 

Where:  

PRMs recycled equals the amount of principal recyclable 

materials received for recycling each calendar year; and 

MSW generated equals the sum of PRMs recycled and 

MSW disposed. (MSW disposed equals the amount of 

MSW delivered to landfills, transfer stations, incineration 

and waste-to-energy facilities) 

The amounts shall be expressed in tons using one of the 

methods below:  

1. The actual weight of each component in tons; or 

2. The volume of each component, converted to weight in 

tons (conversion chart in Form DEQ 50-30). 

C. B. Credits may be added to the recycling formula in 

subsection B C of this section provided that the aggregate of 

all such credits shall not exceed five percentage points of the 

annual municipal solid waste recycling rate achieved for each 

solid waste planning unit: 

1. A credit of one ton for each ton of any nonmunicipal 

solid waste material that is recycled; two percentage points 

of the minimum recycling rate mandated for the solid 

waste planning unit for a source reduction program (SRP) 

that is implemented within the solid waste planning unit. 

The existence and operation of such a program shall be 

certified by the solid waste planning unit; 

2. A credit of one ton for each ton of any solid waste 

material that is reused; recycling residue generated in 

Virginia and deposited in a landfill permitted under § 10.1-

1408.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. A credit of one ton for each ton of recycling residue 

generated in Virginia and deposited in a landfill permitted 

under § 10.1-1408.1 of the Code of Virginia; any 

nonmunicipal solid waste material that is recycled; and 

4. A credit of two percentage points of the minimum 

recycling rate mandated for the solid waste planning unit 

for a source reduction program that is implemented within 

the solid waste planning unit. The existence and operation 

of such a program shall be certified by the solid waste 

planning unit; and one ton for each ton of any solid waste 

material that is reused. 

5. A credit of one ton for each inoperable vehicle for which 

a locality receives reimbursement from the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles under § 46.2-1407 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. Recycling rates shall be expressed in tons using the actual 

weight of the component or the volume of each component, 

converted to weight in tons using the conversion chart in 

Form DEQ 50-30.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: The equations in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection are new text. 

1. Recycling rates shall be calculated using the following 

formulas:  

 

 

 

Where:  

A = adjusted recycling rate 

B = base recycling rate 

C = the total tons that may be added to the recycling 

formula as allowed by subdivisions B 2, B 3, and B 4 of 

this section  
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M = the sum of PRMs recycled and MSW disposed in the 

calendar year. (MSW disposed equals the amount of MSW 

delivered to landfills, transfer stations, incineration, and 

waste-to-energy facilities.) 

P = the amount of PRMs received for recycling in the 

calendar year 

S = base or adjusted recycling rate with SRP credit 

In cases where the solid waste planning unit cannot obtain 

actual and accurate information from solid waste 

management facilities, a solid waste planning unit may 

request the department to allow the use of an alternative 

method to calculate MSW disposed for the purposes of 

calculating the recycling rate. 

2. Annual municipal solid waste recycling rate. The annual 

municipal solid waste recycling rate is either the base 

recycling rate, adjusted recycling rate, base recycling rate 

with SRP credit, or the adjusted recycling rate with SRP 

credit, whichever is higher; however, if the annual 

municipal solid waste recycling rate exceeds the base 

recycling rate by more than five percentage points, the 

annual municipal solid waste recycling rate shall be the 

base recycling rate plus five percentage points. 

D. Yard wastes and vegetative wastes are deemed to be 

recycled if they are composted or mulched and the finished 

mulch or compost is marketed or otherwise used 

productively. Tires are deemed to be recycled if they are 

beneficially used in a method consistent with the waste tire 

program operated by the department. Used oil, oil filters, and 

antifreeze are deemed to be recycled if they are marketed or 

otherwise used productively.  

9VAC20-130-173. Maintenance of solid waste 

management plans. 

A. Solid waste management planning units are required to 

maintain current solid waste management plans containing a 

20-year planning window.  

B. On or before each five-year anniversary of the 

department's plan approval date, the planning unit shall 

submit a letter to the department, by mail or electronic mail, 

certifying that the following plan elements listed in 9VAC20-

130-120 C have been maintained and updated:  

1. Waste generation estimates are current (9VAC20-130-

120 C 3);  

2. The schedule increments have been met (9VAC20-130-

120 C 5); and  

3. A projected 20-year waste management capacity 

remains available or projects otherwise are on schedule to 

meet the planning unit's solid waste needs (9VAC20-130-

120 C 9).  

C. The letter of certification submitted in accordance with 

subsection B of this section shall be used in the department's 

assessment of whether any plan amendments are necessary 

and to ensure compliance with 9VAC20-130-110 E. 

D. If revisions to the plan are needed, solid waste 

management planning units shall amend the plan as described 

in 9VAC20-130-175. 

9VAC20-130-175. Amendments to plans.  

A. Amendments to the plans shall be classified as major or 

minor. These classifications are as described in this section 

below.  

B. Major amendments. 

1. Major amendments shall include: 

a. Any addition, deletion, or cessation of operation of any 

solid waste disposal facility;  

b. Any increase in landfill capacity;  

c. Any change that moves toward implementation of a 

waste management strategy that is lower in the waste 

management hierarchy;  

d. Action plan(s) plans, including an action plan to 

address a planning unit's recycling rate that has fallen 

below the statutory minimum; or  

e. Any change to membership in the approved area. 

Director approval of changes to planning unit boundaries, 

as described in 9VAC20-130-100, shall occur prior to 

submission of solid waste plan amendments to revise 

plan membership.  

2. Minor amendments shall include: 

a. Any addition, deletion, or cessation of operation of any 

facility that is not a solid waste disposal facility; 

b. Any change that moves toward implementation of a 

waste management strategy that is higher in the waste 

management hierarchy; or 

c. Any nonsubstantive administrative change such as a 

change in name.  

3. Minor amendments shall be submitted, by mail or 

electronic mail, directly to the department for notation. The 

planning units are the repository for the minor amendments 

to the plans. 

B. 2. Major amendments shall require the same public 

participation as detailed in 9VAC20-130-130 B before 

being submitted, by mail or electronic mail, to the 

department for approval prior to implementation.  

C. 3. The department shall review major amendments and 

approve or return comments on any deficiencies no later 

than 90 days from the date the amendments are received. 

In the event the department is unable to complete its 
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review within 90 days, the applicant will be notified and 

given a date as to when the review will be completed. No 

department approval shall be necessary for minor 

amendments. 

D. 4. Each submitter who receives comments on his major 

plan amendment under subsection C subdivision B 3 of 

this section shall submit a corrected amendment to the 

department no later than 90 days following notification of 

deficiencies.  

E. 5. Major amendments approved without alteration shall 

become effective upon notification. If after review of the 

corrected amendment submitted pursuant to subsection D 

subdivision B 4 of this section, the department cannot 

approve the corrected amendment because it finds the 

amendment not to be in accordance with this chapter, it 

will issue a notice of intent to disapprove to the submitter. 

The notice of intent to disapprove shall set forth (i) the 

reason for the disapproval, (ii) what is required for 

approval, and (iii) the right of the submitter to an informal 

fact-finding proceeding under Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The department 

will give priority consideration for review of corrected 

amendments when the planning unit has a pending permit 

application for a solid waste management facility. 

F. Solid waste management planning units are required to 

maintain current plans. On or before each five-year 

anniversary of the department's plan-approval date, the 

planning unit shall submit a letter to the department, by mail 

or electronic mail, certifying that the following plan elements, 

listed in 9VAC20-130-120 C, have been maintained and 

updated: waste generation estimates are current, the schedule 

increments have been met, and a projected 20-year waste 

management capacity remains available or projects otherwise 

are on schedule to meet the unit's solid waste needs. The letter 

of certification will be used in the department's assessment of 

whether any plan amendments are necessary and to ensure 

compliance with 9VAC20-130-110 E. 

C. Minor amendments. 

1. Minor amendments shall include: 

a. Any addition, deletion, or cessation of operation of any 

facility that is not a solid waste disposal facility; 

b. Any change that moves toward implementation of a 

waste management strategy that is higher in the waste 

management hierarchy; or 

c. Any nonsubstantive administrative change such as a 

change in name.  

2. Minor amendments shall be submitted, by mail or 

electronic mail, directly to the department for notation. The 

planning units are the repository for the minor amendments 

to the plans. 

9VAC20-130-180. Designation of solid waste planning 

units. (Repealed.) 

The director has been authorized by the Governor to 

designate regional boundaries defining areas and jurisdictions 

to be considered for joint development of solid waste 

management plans. Only those solid waste planning units 

meeting the standards established in this chapter will be 

considered. Any group of jurisdictions may petition the 

director for designation as a solid waste planning unit, and, if 

the proposed region meets the standards established for 

designation, the director shall approve the request.  

9VAC20-130-190. Development of designated solid waste 

planning units. (Repealed.) 

A. At least 14 days prior to designating a regional boundary 

for solid waste management planning, the director shall place 

a notice of the proposed regional boundary and an 

opportunity to comment in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and in a newspaper of general circulation within 

the proposed solid waste planning unit.  

B. If, as a result of the notices required by subsection A of 

this section, the director feels a significant need exists to hold 

a public hearing on the issues, a public hearing shall be held 

in the proposed region prior to the designation. At least 14 

days prior to the public hearing, a notice of the proposed 

public hearing shall appear in the same publications as the 

notice under subsection A of this section.  

9VAC20-130-200. Considerations in designating solid 

waste planning unit boundaries. (Repealed.) 

A. The following shall be considered in designating solid 

waste planning unit boundaries:  

1. Geographic areas or jurisdictions which have a history 

of cooperating to solve problems in environmental or other 

related matters;  

2. Existing regional management systems, authorities or 

similar institutions;  

3. The size, configuration and location of the regional areas 

should have sufficient solid waste contribution and market 

availability to support the solid waste management system;  

4. Solid waste types within areas and mutuality of solid 

waste management interests;  

5. Geologic, hydrologic, soil and groundwater conditions; 

availability of land and soils; and natural barriers and 

ecosystems; and  

6. Existing planning areas established for purposes other 

than solid waste management including the existence of 

informational databases containing data related to that 

needed for solid waste management planning and 

recycling.  
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B. Areas included within a solid waste planning unit's 

boundaries may be local or regional.  

1. A local area may include a city, town or county and any 

towns within the county that through mutual agreement 

join with the county for the purpose of developing a plan.  

2. A regional area may include:  

a. The jurisdictions with existing regional planning 

district boundaries;  

b. Any combination of local governments formally joined 

to form a region or service authority; or  

c. Existing waste management or public service 

authorities.  

9VAC20-130-210. Criteria for designating a solid waste 

planning unit. (Repealed.) 

A. The director may authorize an official committee or 

public body as authorized to develop, adopt and promulgate 

the solid waste management plan.  

B. Prospective solid waste planning units shall have:  

1. Demonstrated ability to plan, manage or operate solid 

waste management and recycling services; or  

2. Completed planning that resulted in successful 

implementation of solid waste management and recycling 

facilities or services.  

C. An entity designated as responsible for developing a solid 

waste management plan shall:  

1. Be an organization that represents the executive boards 

of jurisdictions within the solid waste planning unit;  

2. Have planning authority for the regional area;  

3. Be capable of readily starting the plan development 

work tasks;  

4. Have an established methodology for resolving 

conflicts, making planning decisions and providing public 

participation in the development of the plan;  

5. Have experience in environmental planning and have a 

staff experienced in the work tasks involved in such 

planning;  

6. Have established a methodology and authority sufficient 

to implement the plan once it is complete and approved; 

and  

7. Have access to informational resources within the 

region.  

9VAC20-130-220. Amendment of solid waste planning 

unit boundaries. (Repealed.) 

The director may amend a solid waste planning unit's 

boundary based on an application from the governing body or 

bodies of the solid waste planning unit. Along with the 

application, each locality (within the original region and any 

locality being added) must submit a letter acknowledging the 

change in the boundary. 

9VAC20-130-230. Petitioning for variance or exemption.  

A. Any person regulated by this chapter may petition the 

director to grant a variance or an exemption from any 

requirement of this chapter subject to the provisions of this 

section. Any petition submitted to the department is also 

subject to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. The director may grant the variance or an exemption 

provided the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 

director that: 1. The the solid waste planning unit has 

demonstrated that it has made a good faith effort to comply 

with the minimum recycling rates and with the requirements 

of this chapter before that unit petitioned for a variance; and: 

2. (i) 1. If the minimum recycling rate is addressed in the 

petition, and strict application of the minimum recycling 

rates will result in undue hardship as a result of the solid 

waste planning unit's particular market conditions that are 

beyond the planning unit's control; or (ii) if 

2. If the recycling rate is not addressed in the petition and, 

granting the variance will not have an adverse impact on 

the integrity of the overall solid waste management plan. 

C. The petition shall be submitted to the department by 

certified mail and shall include:  

1. The petitioner's name and address;  

2. A statement of petitioner's interest in the proposed 

action;  

3. A description of desired action and a citation of the 

regulation from which a variance is requested;  

4. A description of need and justification for the proposed 

action, including impacts from existing operations and 

market conditions (if the planning unit chooses to petition 

for subdivision B 2 (i) 1 of this section);  

5. The duration of the variance, if applicable;  

6. Other information believed by the applicant to be 

pertinent; and  

7. The following statement signed by the petitioner or 

authorized representative:  

"I certify that I have personally examined and am familiar 

with the information submitted in this petition and all 

attached documents, and that, based on my inquiry of those 

individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the 

information, I believe that the submitted information is true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment." 
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D. Petition processing and resolution. 

1. In the case of a denial, the petitioner's procedural rights 

are outlined in Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If the director grants a variance request, the notice to the 

petitioner shall provide that the variance may be terminated 

upon a finding by the director that the petitioner has failed 

to comply with any variance requirements.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC20-130) 

Paint Filter Liquids Test, Method 9095, USEPA Publication 

SW-846.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-4196; Filed November 28, 2018, 9:51 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 

Reuse Regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, or email 

debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-740) 

Application for an Emergency Authorization to Produce, 

Distribute or Reuse Reclaimed Water (12/2015) 

Application for Reclaimed Water Hauling Operations, DEQ 

Form WR&R-2 (eff. 10/2018) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 

for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 

or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit (1/2014)  

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 

for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 

or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit, DEQ Form 

WR&R-1 (rev. 11/2018) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Variance Application 

(12/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5672; Filed November 27, 2018, 1:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

540). 

12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 

and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-

130). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-5, 

12VAC30-60-50, 12VAC30-60-61). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Selected 

Services (amending 12VAC30-130-3000; repealing 

12VAC30-130-850 through 12VAC30-130-890, 12VAC30-

130-3020).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: June 30, 2019. 

The Governor approved the request of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to extend this 

emergency regulation for six months as provided in § 2.2-

4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the emergency 

action will continue in effect through June 30, 2019. The 

emergency regulation was published in 33:13 VA.R. 1436-

1469 February 20, 2017. The emergency regulations clarify 

policy interpretations that revise program standards to allow 

for more evidence-based service delivery, allow DMAS to 

implement more effective utilization management in 

collaboration with the behavioral health service administrator, 

enhance individualized coordination of care, implement 

standardized coordination of individualized aftercare 

resources by ensuring access to medical and behavioral health 

service providers in the individual's home community, and 

support DMAS audit practices. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4495; Filed December 12, 2018, 2:45 p.m.  

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49dc7004616~2&typ=40&actno=004616&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49dc7004616~2&typ=40&actno=004616&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4c17005676~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005676&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4c17005676~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005676&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3871005672~1.docx&typ=40&actno=005672&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3871005672~1.docx&typ=40&actno=005672&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3871005672~1.docx&typ=40&actno=005672&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e3871005672~1.docx&typ=40&actno=005672&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97fc5004616~1&typ=40&actno=004616&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97fc5004616~1&typ=40&actno=004616&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss13/v33i13.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss13/v33i13.pdf
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Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (adding 

12VAC30-60-361; repealing 12VAC30-60-360).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to administer and amend the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: This regulatory action permits DMAS to replace the 

current Level of Functioning (LOF) survey instrument with 

the more current Virginia Individual Developmental 

Disability Eligibility Survey (VIDES) assessment. The 

purpose of this action is to implement the same screening 

standard to be applied to individuals for admission to an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 

disability as is being used for screening such individuals for 

home and community based developmental disability waiver 

services. Using the same screening standard for all 

individuals, regardless of whether they seek institutional care 

or community care, ensures the uniformity and consistency of 

evaluation and treatment to protect the health and welfare of 

these vulnerable citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is being promulgated as a noncontroversial 

fast-track rulemaking action since the use of the VIDES 

assessment instrument for waiver services, under the 

authority of a current emergency regulation, has been well 

received by the affected provider and citizen communities. 

Substance: The section of the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance that is affected by this action is Standards 

Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality of 

Care: Criteria for care in facilities for mentally retarded 

persons (12VAC30-60-360). 

Current Policy: This section of the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance was implemented after the 1987 Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act required that states specify standards for a 

level of functioning that individuals were required to meet for 

Medicaid to reimburse for intermediate care facilities for the 

mentally retarded (ICF/MR) services. With the exception of 

specifying that the Level of Functioning (LOF) survey also 

applied to individuals seeking waiver services in their 

communities, this section of the State Plan has not been 

substantially revised since it was originally promulgated.  

The LOF survey assessed individuals in the following areas: 

(i) Health status, as in medication administration, seizure 

control, handling diagnoses for disease control and care, 

direct service care for lesions or wound dressings, motor 

disabilities that interfere with activities of daily living, 

and nutritional issues (e.g., undernourishment, 

swallowing problems, obesity). 

(ii) Communication, as in how often does the individual 

indicate wants by pointing or vocalization, use simple 

words or phrases, understand simple words or phrases, 

identify at least 10 things using the appropriate word, or 

speak in an understandable manner.  

(iii) Task learning skills, as in paying attention to 

purposeful activities for five minutes, staying with a 

three-step task, telling time to the hour and understanding 

time intervals, counting more than 10 objects, writing or 

printing 10 words, or naming people or objects. 

(iv) Personal or self-care, as in performing activities of 

daily living (e.g., eating, toileting, bathing, dressing).  

(v) Mobility, as in moving around the environment, 

rising from sitting or lying down positions, and turning 

or repositioning in bed. 

(vi) Behavior, as in engaging in self-destructive behavior, 

threatening physical harm to others, throwing things, 

damaging property, or responding in socially 

unacceptable manners.  

(vii) Community living skills, as in preparing simple 

foods, caring for personal belongings and living space, 

performing laundry functions, counting money, using the 

telephone, being in the community without wandering 

off, and refraining from exhibiting unacceptable sexual 

behaviors in public. 

The individual's level of functioning in each category indicate 

his areas of dependency. In some categories, dependency is 

rated by the degree of assistance required by the individual. In 

other categories, dependency is established by the frequency 

of a particular behavior or the individual's ability to perform a 

given task. 

The formal name for ICF/MR institutions was changed by the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Health Care 
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Financing Administration (the Medicaid federal funding 

agency that preceded the current Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services), to intermediate care facilities for 

individuals with intellectual disability (ICF/IID).  

Recommendations: Beginning in 2013, DMAS, in 

collaboration with the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), began a major overhaul 

of its waiver programs for intellectually and developmentally 

disabled citizens, partially in response to the Department of 

Justice (DOJ) Settlement (court approved in 2012). These 

waivered programs were originally called the Individuals and 

Families with Developmental Disabilities (DD), the 

Intellectual Disabilities Waiver (ID), and the Day Support 

Waiver (DS). The DD waiver is being replaced with the 

Family and Individual Supports (FIS) waiver; the ID waiver 

is being replaced with the Community Living (CL) waiver; 

and the DS waiver is being replaced with the Building 

Independence (BI) waiver.  

During the course of revamping these three waivers, DMAS 

and DBHDS replaced the outdated Level of Functioning 

(LOF) survey with the Virginia Individual Developmental 

Disability Eligibility Survey (VIDES). Adopting the use of 

the VIDES standards for individuals seeking institutional care 

in ICF/IIDs, as set out in this regulatory action, restores 

consistency to the standards applied to such individuals 

regardless of whether services are to be received in 

communities or institutions. The result will be that all such 

affected individuals will be evaluated by the same criteria.  

In addition to the change in the survey tool, a new single 

point of referral for the screening process has been added to 

address concerns from the DOJ Settlement Agreement about 

consistency in screening and availability of community 

options. 

The Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities 

Eligibility Survey (VIDES) has three age-appropriate 

versions: VIDES for infants (children up to three years of 

age), VIDES for children (ages three through 18), and VIDES 

for adults (individuals 18 years of age and older).  

The adult form assesses an individual's abilities, for example, 

in these areas:  

(i) Health status, as in how often does the individual 

require support for medication administration, 

monitoring of seizures, or learning a prescribed regimen 

for a diagnosed chronic health care condition. 

(ii) Communication, as in how often does the individual 

effectively share information, effectively communicate 

wants or needs; use at least simple words, phrases, or 

short sentences; ask for things using appropriate names; 

engage in purposeful activities; complete a multi-step 

task without reminders; or count more than 10 objects.  

(iii) Task learning, as in how often does the individual 

engage in purposeful activities for at least five minutes, 

complete a multi-step task without reminders, tell time to 

the hour and understand time intervals, or count more 

than 10 objects.  

(iv) Personal or self-care, as in with what type of 

assistance can the individual perform personal hygiene 

tasks, perform dining or eating functions, perform 

bathing or showering functions, and perform grooming 

tasks.  

(v) Motor skills, as in with what type of assistance can 

the individual move safely about his environment, safely 

get in and out of bed, and demonstrate fine motor control 

or eye-hand coordination. 

(vi) Behavior, as in how often does this individual 

engage in behavior that results in harm or injury to 

himself, demonstrate aggressive or threatening behavior 

toward other persons, engage in property destruction, or 

respond to others in a socially inappropriate manner. 

(vii) Community living skills, as in with what type of 

assistance is the individual able to prepare simple foods, 

perform housecleaning and laundry tasks, identify and 

calculate the value of money, use the telephone, 

recognize and respond appropriately to dangerous 

situations, and remain safely in the community without 

wandering off. 

(viii) Self direction skills, as in making and 

implementing daily personal decisions regarding daily 

schedule and time management; making and 

implementing major life decisions such as choice and 

type of living arrangements; demonstrating adequate 

social skills to establish or maintain interpersonal 

relationships; demonstrating the ability to cope with 

fears, anxieties, or frustrations; demonstrating the ability 

to manage personal finances; or demonstrating ability to 

protect self from exploitation. 

The primary difference between the old LOF and the new 

VIDES is the addition of the self-direction section. This 

addition has resulted from recent federal emphasis on 

providing for and encouraging person-centered planning, 

activities, and program focus. Agencies that are charged with 

serving these individuals are now required to promote an 

individual's participation in developing that individual's own 

plan of care that must incorporate the individual's goals and 

objectives for life. 

Issues: The advantages to the public and the Commonwealth 

are that consistent, person-centered functional standards will 

be applied to individuals who obtain care in their 

communities or in ICF/IID institutions. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth in this 

action. Private businesses will only be affected to the degree 

that they are privately operated ICF/IIDs. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medical Assistance Services proposes to replace the 

current Level of Functioning (LOF) survey standards with the 

new Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities 

Eligibility Survey (VIDES) standards for individuals seeking 

care in Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with 

Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs). 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The LOF survey has been a 

screening tool used to determine the level of care eligibility 

for certain mental health services since 1987. It assesses 

individuals in areas such as health status, communication, 

task learning, personal/self-care, mobility, behavior, and 

community living skills. Beginning in 2013, the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) in collaboration 

with the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS), began a major overhaul of its waiver 

programs for intellectually and developmentally disabled 

citizens. 

During the course of revamping the waiver programs that 

provided services in community settings,1 DMAS and 

DBHDS replaced the outdated LOF survey with the Virginia 

Individual Developmental Disability Eligibility Survey 

(VIDES). The new VIDES survey assesses individuals in the 

same areas as the LOF survey but also includes an additional 

assessment on self-direction skills. Self-direction skills 

include making and implementing daily personal decisions 

regarding daily schedule and time management; making and 

implementing major life decisions such as choice and type of 

living arrangements; demonstrating adequate social skills to 

establish/maintain interpersonal relationships; demonstrating 

the ability to cope with fears, anxieties, or frustrations; 

demonstrating the ability to manage personal finances; and 

demonstrating ability to protect self from exploitation. 

The added focus on self-direction has resulted from a recent 

federal emphasis on providing for and encouraging person-

centered planning, activities, and program focus following the 

1999 United States Supreme Court decision in Olmstead v. 

L.C., which requires that individuals with disabilities be 

served in the most integrated settings that are possible for 

their particular circumstances.2 Agencies that are charged 

with serving these individuals are now required to promote 

individuals' participation in developing their own plans of 

care that must incorporate the individuals' goals and 

objectives for their lives. 

Adopting the use of the VIDES standards for individuals 

seeking institutional care in ICF/IIDs restores consistency to 

the standards applied to such individuals regardless of 

whether services are to be received in communities or 

institutions. The expected result is that all such affected 

individuals will be evaluated by the same updated criteria as 

before the implementation of the new waiver designs. 

DMAS does not expect the change in the survey to affect the 

number of individuals placed in ICF/IIDs. Thus, the proposed 

adoption of the VIDES survey should not create any 

significant financial impact on the Commonwealth. To the 

extent the new survey accommodates self-direction and 

updates screening standards with modern criteria, the 

proposed regulation should create a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 57 

ICF/IIDs enrolled with DMAS. Some of these may be small 

businesses. These facilities have approximately 530-bed 

capacity. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionately affect any locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation does not 

impose costs and other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no adverse impact on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

___________________________ 

1These waivered programs were originally called the Individuals and 

Families with Developmental Disabilities (DD), the Intellectual Disabilities 

Waiver (ID), and the Day Support Waiver (DS). The DD waiver is being 
replaced with the Family and Individual Supports (FIS) waiver; the ID 

waiver is being replaced with the Community Living (CL) waiver; and the 

DS waiver is being replaced with the Building Independence (BI) waiver. 

2527 U.S. 581 (1999). 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action replaces the current Level of 

Functioning Survey standards with the Virginia Individual 

Developmental Disabilities Eligibility Survey (VIDES) 

standards for individuals seeking care in intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities 

(ICF/IIDs). The Commonwealth has recently adopted the 

VIDES standards for the comparable level of functioning 

for waiver services in communities. By using the VIDES 

standards for institutional care in this action, the 

Commonwealth is restoring the consistency of functional 

standards for individuals regardless of whether they obtain 

their care in their communities or in ICF/IID institutions. 

12VAC30-60-360. Criteria for care in facilities for 

mentally retarded persons. (Repealed.) 

§ 4.0 Definitions. The following words and terms, when 

used in these criteria, shall have the following meaning, 

unless the context clearly indicated otherwise:  

"no assistance" shall mean no help is needed.  

"prompting/structuring" shall mean prior to the functioning, 

some verbal direction and/or some rearrangement of the 

environment is needed.  

"supervision" shall mean that a helper must be present 

during the function and provide only verbal direction, general 

prompts, and/or guidance.  

"some direct assistance" shall mean that helper must be 

present and provide some physical guidance/support (with or 

without verbal direction).  

"total care" shall mean that a helper must perform all or 

nearly all of the functions.  

"rarely" shall mean that a behavior occurs quarterly or less.  

"sometimes" shall mean that a behavior occurs once a month 

or less.  

"often" shall mean that a behavior occurs 2-3 times a month.  

"regularly" shall mean that a behavior occurs weekly or 

more.  

§ 4.1 Utilization Control regulations require that criteria be 

formulated for guidance for appropriate levels of services. 

Traditionally, care for the mentally retarded has been 

institutionally based; however, this level of care need not be 

confined to a specific setting. The habilitative and health 

needs of the client are the determining issues.  

§ 4.2 The purpose of these regulations is to establish 

standard criteria to measure eligibility for Medicaid payment. 

Medicaid can pay for care only when the client is receiving 

appropriate services and when "active treatment" is being 

provided. An individual's need for care must meet these 

criteria before any authorization for payment by Medicaid 

will be made for either institutional or waivered rehabilitative 

services for the mentally retarded.  

§ 4.3 Care in facilities for the mentally retarded requires 

planned programs for habilitative needs and/or health related 

services which exceed the level of room, board, and 

supervision of daily activities.  

Such cases shall be combination of habilitative, 

rehabilitative, and health services directed toward increasing 

the functional capacity of the retarded person. Examples of 

services shall include training in the activities of daily living, 

task-learning skills, socially acceptable behaviors, basic 

community living programming, or health care and health 

maintenance. The overall objective of programming shall be 

the attainment of the optimal physical, intellectual, social, or 

task learning level which the person can presently or 

potentially achieve.  

§ 4.4 The evaluation and re-evaluation for care in a facility 

for the mentally retarded shall be based on the needs of the 

person, the reasonable expectations of the resident's 

capabilities, the appropriateness of programming, whether 

progress is demonstrated from the training and, in an 

institution, whether the services could reasonably be provided 

in a less restrictive environment.  

§ 4.5 Patient assessment criteria. The patient assessment 

criteria are divided into broad categories of needs, or services 

provided. These must be evaluated in detail to determine the 

abilities/skills which will be the basis for the development of 

a plan for care. The evaluation process will demonstrate a 

need for programming an array of skills and abilities or health 

care services. These have been organized in seven major 

categories. Level of functioning in each category is graded 

from the most dependent to the least dependent. In some 

categories, the dependency status is rated by the degree of 

assistance required. In other categories, the dependency is 

established by the frequency of a behavior or ability to 

perform a given task.  

§ 4.6 The resident must meet the indicated dependency level 

in TWO OR MORE of categories 1 through 7.  

1. Two or more questions must be answered with a 4, OR  

2. Question "j" must be answered "yes."  

B. Communication Skills - To meet this category three or 

more questions must be answered with a 3 or a 4.  

C. Task Learning Skills - To meet this category three or 

more questions must be answered with a 3 or a 4.  

D. Personal Care - To meet this category  

1. Question "a" must be answered with a 4 or a 5, OR  
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2. Question "b" must be answered with a 4 or a 5, OR  

3. Questions "c" and "d" must be answered with a 4 or a 5.  

E. Mobility - To meet this category any one question must 

be answered with a 4 or a 5.  

F. Behavior - To meet this category any one question must 

be answered with a 3 or a 4.  

G. Community Living - To meet this category  

1. Any two of the questions "b", "e", or "g" must be 

answered with a 4 or a 5, OR  

2. Three or more questions must be answered with a 4 or a 

5.  

§ 4.7. Level of functioning survey.  

A. HEALTH STATUS 

How often is nursing care or nursing supervision by a 

licensed nurse required for the following? 

(Key:1=rarely, 2=sometimes, 3=often, and 4=regularly) 

1. Medication administration 

and/or evaluation for 

effectiveness of a 

medication regimen? 

1 2 3 4 

2. Direct services: i.e., care 

for lesions, dressings, 

treatments, (other than 

shampoos, foot power, etc.) 

1 2 3 4 

3. Seizures control 1 2 3 4 

4. Teaching diagnosed 

disease control and care, 

including diabetes 

1 2 3 4 

5. Management of care of 

diagnosed circulatory or 

respiratory problems 

1 2 3 4 

6. Motor disabilities which 

interfere with all activities of 

Daily Living - Bathing, 

Dressing, Mobility, 

Toileting, etc. 

1 2 3 4 

7. Observation for 

choking/aspiration while 

eating, drinking? 

1 2 3 4 

8. Supervision of use of 

adaptive equipment, i.e., 

special spoon, braces, etc. 

1 2 3 4 

9. Observation for 

nutritional problems (i.e., 

undernourishment, 

swallowing difficulties, 

obesity) 

1 2 3 4 

10. Is age 55 or older, has a 

diagnosis of a chronic 

disease and has been in an 

institution 20 years or more 

1 2 3 4 

B. COMMUNICATION 

Using the Key 1=regularly, 2=often, 3=sometimes, 

4=rarely, how often does this person 

1. Indicate wants by 

pointing, vocal noises, or 

signs? 

1 2 3 4 

2. Use simple words, 

phrases, short sentences? 
1 2 3 4 

3. Ask for at least ten things 

using appropriate names? 
1 2 3 4 

4. Understand simple words, 

phrases or instructions 

containing prepositions: i.e., 

on in behind? 

1 2 3 4 

5. Speak in an easily 

understood manner? 
1 2 3 4 

6. Identify self, place of 

residence, and significant 

others? 

1 2 3 4 

C. TASK LEARNING SKILLS 

How often does this person perform the following 

activities (Key: 1=regularly, 2=often, 3=sometimes, 

4=rarely) 

1. Pay attention to 

purposeful activities for 5 

minutes? 

1 2 3 4 

2. Stay with a 3 step task for 

more than 15 minutes? 
1 2 3 4 

3. Tell time to the hour and 

understand time intervals? 
1 2 3 4 

4. Count more than 10 

objects? 
1 2 3 4 

5. Do simple addition, 

subtraction? 
1 2 3 4 
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6. Write or print ten words? 1 2 3 4 

7. Discriminate shapes, 

sizes, or colors? 
1 2 3 4 

8. Name people or objects 

when describing pictures? 
1 2 3 4 

9. Discriminate between 

one, many, lot? 
1 2 3 4 

D. PERSONAL and SELF CARE 

With what type of assistance can this person currently 

(Key: 1=No Assistance, 2=Prompting/Structures, 

3=Supervision, 4=Some Direct Assistance, 5=Total 

Care) 

1. Perform toileting 

functions: i.e., 

maintain bladder and 

bowel continence, 

clean self, etc.? 

1 2 3 4 5 

2. Perform 

eating/feeding 

functions: i.e., drinks 

liquids and eats with 

spoon or fork, etc.? 

1 2 3 4 5 

3. Perform bathing 

function: i.e., bathes, 

runs bath, dry self, 

etc.? 

1 2 3 4 5 

4. Dress self 

completely, i.e., 

including fastening, 

putting on clothes, 

etc.? 

1 2 3 4 5 

E. MOBILITY 

With what type of assistance can this person currently 

(Key: 1=No Assistance, 2=Prompting/Structures, 

3=Supervision, 4=Some Direct Assistance, 5=Total 

Care) 

1. Move, (walking, 

wheeling) around 

environment? 

1 2 3 4 5 

2. Rise from lying 

down to sitting 

positons, sits without 

support? 

1 2 3 4 5 

3. Turn and position 

in bed, roll over? 
1 2 3 4 5 

F. BEHAVIOR 

How often does this person (Key:1=Rarely, 

2=Sometimes, 3=Often, and 4=Regularly) 

1. Engage in self destructive 

behavior? 
1 2 3 4 

2. Threaten or do physical 

violence to others? 
1 2 3 4 

3. Throw things, damage 

property, have temper 

outbursts? 

1 2 3 4 

4. Respond to others in a 

socially unacceptable 

manner - (without undue 

anger, frustration, or 

hostility) 

1 2 3 4 

G. COMMUNITY LIVING SKILLS 

With what type of assistance can this person currently 

(Key:1=No Assistance, 2=Prompting/Structures, 

3=Supervision, 4=Some Direct Assistance, 5=Total 

Care) 

1. Prepare simple 

foods requiring no 

mixing or cooking? 

1 2 3 4 5 

2. Take care of 

personal belongings, 

room (excluding 

vacuuming, ironing, 

clothes 

washing/drying, wet 

mopping)? 

1 2 3 4 5 

3. Add coins of 

various 

denominations up to 

one dollar? 

1 2 3 4 5 

4. Use the telephone 

to call home, doctor, 

fire, police? 

1 2 3 4 5 

5. Recognize survival 

signs/words: i.e., stop, 

go, traffic lights, 

police, men, women, 

restrooms, danger, 

etc.? 

1 2 3 4 5 

6. Refrain from 

exhibiting 

unacceptable sexual 

behavior in public? 

1 2 3 4 5 
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7. Go around cottage, 

ward, building, 

without running away, 

wandering off, or 

becoming lost? 

1 2 3 4 5 

8. Make minor 

purchases, i.e., candy, 

soft drink, etc? 

1 2 3 4 5 

12VAC30-60-361. Criteria for supports and services in 

intermediate care facilities for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities. 

A. This section establishes standard criteria that shall be met 

by individuals in order to receive Medicaid payment for care 

in intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual 

disabilities (ICF/IID). Once the individual has been screened 

and found to meet these criteria, Medicaid covers the costs of 

care only when the individual is receiving appropriate 

supports and services and when active treatment, as set forth 

in 42 CFR 483.440(a), is being provided. 

B. Supports and services that are provided in facilities for 

individuals with developmental or intellectual disabilities for 

the purpose of claiming Medicaid reimbursement requires 

individualized, person-centered planned programs of supports 

and services to address habilitative needs or health needs, or 

both, as set forth in 42 CFR 483.21. 

1. Such care may be a combination of habilitative, 

rehabilitative, and health services directed toward 

increasing or maintaining the highest mental, physical, and 

psychosocial skills and abilities of the individual. 

Individuals with degenerative conditions shall receive 

supports and services designed to retain skills and 

functioning and to prevent further regression to the extent 

possible. Examples of such care include (i) skill building in 

the activities of daily living, (ii) skill building in task-

learning, (iii) learning socially acceptable behaviors, (iv) 

learning basic community living skills, (v) health care and 

health maintenance, and (vi) skill building in self direction. 

2. The overall objective of facility based supports and 

services, as set out in the person-centered plan, shall be the 

attainment of the optimal physical, intellectual, social, or 

task learning level that the individual can presently or 

potentially achieve. 

C. Level of dependency and level of functioning criteria. 

1. An individual's need for care shall meet the level of 

functioning criteria in the Virginia Individual 

Developmental Disability Eligibility Survey (VIDES) 

before any authorization for payment by Medicaid will be 

made for institutional services.  

2. The level of dependency in each category shall be 

indicated from the most dependent to the least dependent. 

In some categories, the dependency status shall be rated by 

the degree of assistance required, while in other categories, 

the dependency shall be established by the frequency of a 

behavior or the ability to perform a given task. 

a. The adult-individual (18 years of age and older) shall 

demonstrate an overall total level for the VIDES 

assessment of dependency in three or more of the skills 

or statuses on the VIDES; to demonstrate a skill or 

exhibit a status, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

the dependency level set out for that skill or status in 

DMAS Form P237.  

b. Children (ages three years through 17 years old) shall 

demonstrate an overall total level for the VIDES 

assessment of dependency in two or more areas for the 

VIDES specific for the child's age as set forth in DMAS 

Form P236.  

c. Infants (younger than three years of age) shall 

demonstrate an overall total level for the VIDES 

assessment of dependency in two or more areas for the 

VIDES specific for the infant's age as set forth in DMAS 

Form P235. 

D. Screening process for entrance into an ICF/IID shall be 

coordinated through DMAS or its designee. 

1. ICF/IID screening requests: 

a. DMAS or its designee shall accept requests for 

ICF/IID screenings and ensure that, within seven 

calendar days of referral, those screenings are scheduled. 

b. DMAS or its designee shall accept requests for 

ICF/IID screenings and ensure that those who need 

emergency access are scheduled and screened within 48 

hours. The criteria to determine the need for emergency 

access shall be one of the following:  

(1) Child protective services has substantiated abuse or 

neglect against the primary caregiver and has removed 

the individual from the home, or for adults where (i) 

adult protective services has found that the individual 

needs and accepts protective services or (ii) abuse or 

neglect has not been founded, but corroborating 

information from other sources (agencies) indicate that 

there is an inherent risk present and there are no other 

caregivers available to provide support services to the 

individual.  

(2) Death of primary caregiver or lack of alternative 

caregiver coupled with the individual's inability to care 

for himself and endangerment to self or others without 

supports. 

c. The screening will be provided to the chosen ICF/IID 

during its assessment and admission process when 

requested by the facility. 
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d. Screenings by the DMAS designee shall be completed 

or approved prior to admission to an ICF/IID. 

2. DMAS or its designee shall also explore and review 

more integrated community options with the individual and 

family or guardian at the time of screening and through the 

established review recommendations and procedures with 

DBHDS. 

E. Upon admission to an ICF/IID, the facility shall perform 

an assessment of the individual consistent with 42 CFR 

483.440. 

F. The assessment and reassessment for determination of 

continued stay in the ICF/IID level of care shall be performed 

by the interdisciplinary team and be based on (i) the needs of 

the individual, (ii) the individual's capabilities, (iii) the 

appropriateness of services and supports to be provided, (iv) 

the progress the individual demonstrates from the skill 

building, and (v) whether the services and supports could 

reasonably be provided and are available in a less restrictive 

environment. 

G. The individual assessment shall be evaluated in detail to 

determine the skills, abilities, and status that will be the basis 

for the development of an individual program plan (IPP). The 

assessment process shall indicate a need for an IPP that 

addresses the individual's skills, abilities, and need for health 

care services as set forth in 42 CFR 483.440. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have been 

filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations 

may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (12VAC30-60)  

Certificate of Medical Necessity -- Durable Medical 

Equipment and Supplies, DMAS 352 (rev. 8/95).  

Request for Hospice Benefits, DMAS 420 (rev. 1/99).  

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Infants' Version, P235 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Children's Version, P236 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Adults' Version, P237 (eff. 3/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5099; Filed November 26, 2018, 8:25 a.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(adding 12VAC30-120-600 through 12VAC30-120-690).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: June 14, 2019. 

The Governor approved the request of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services to extend this emergency 

regulation for six months as provided in § 2.2-4011 D of the 

Code of Virginia. Therefore, the emergency action will 

continue in effect through June 14, 2019. The emergency 

regulation established provisions for Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care Plus, which is the statewide Medicaid 

managed long-term services and supports program, and was 

published in 33:23 VA.R. 2539-2549 July 10, 2017.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4974; Filed December 12, 2018, 2:45 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 

(amending 12VAC30-120-900 through 12VAC30-120-925, 

12VAC30-120-927, 12VAC30-120-930, 12VAC30-120-935, 

12VAC30-120-945; repealing 12VAC30-120-1700, 

12VAC30-120-1705, 12VAC30-120-1710 through 

12VAC30-120-1770).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: June 27, 2020. 

The Governor approved the request of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services to extend this emergency 

regulation for six months as provided in § 2.2-4011 D of the 

Code of Virginia. Therefore, the emergency action will 

continue in effect through June 27, 2020. The emergency 

regulation establishes Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus 

(CCC Plus) and was published in 33:24 VA.R. 2377-2437 

July 23, 2018. Individuals previously served under the 

Elderly and Disabled with Consumer Direction and the 

Technology Assistance Waivers are included in CCC Plus, 

which operates under a fully integrated model across the full 

continuum of care and with very few carved out services. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5055; Filed December 12, 2018, 2:45 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0581c005099~1S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0581c005099~1S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b765f005099~2S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b765f005099~2S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f364e005099~3S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f364e005099~3S.pdf&typ=40&actno=005099&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6461
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6973
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6973
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-90. Federal Identical 

General Industry Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-

1910.1024). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia; 

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: February 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director, Legal Support, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-9873, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, federal Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration (OSHA) extended the compliance date for 

certain ancillary requirements in the general industry 

beryllium standard. The provisions affected include 

methods of compliance, beryllium work areas, regulated 

areas, personal protective clothing and equipment, hygiene 

areas and practices, housekeeping, communication of 

hazards, and recordkeeping. In this regulatory action, the 

board adopts this final rule. 

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 

of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1910 (Occupational 

Safety and Health Standards) is declared a document 

generally available to the public and appropriate for 

incorporation by reference. For this reason, this document 

will not be printed in the Virginia Register of Regulations. A 

copy of this document is available for inspection at the 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, and in the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On November 8, 2018, 

the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted federal OSHA's 

Limited Extension of Select Compliance Dates for the 

Occupational Exposure to Beryllium in General Industry, as 

published in 83 FR 39351 through 83 FR 39360 on August 9, 

2018, with an effective date of February 15, 2019.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 

set forth in the revised final rule for Occupational Safety and 

Health Standards are applied to the Commissioner of the 

Department of Labor and Industry or to Virginia employers, 

the following federal terms shall be considered to read as 

follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry 

Agency Department 

August 9, 2018 February 15, 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5757; Filed November 27, 2018, 4:37 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC50-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02, 54.1-201, and 54.1-1102 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use Public Participation 

Guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is clarity and conformity 

to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). Participation by the public in the 

regulatory process is essential to assist the board in the 
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promulgation of regulations that will protect the public health 

and safety.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment was recommended by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and is intended to merely conform to the 

statute, so the rulemaking is not expected to be controversial 

and, therefore, appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking 

process. 

Substance: The amendment provides that interested persons 

may be accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative when presenting their views in the 

promulgation of any regulatory action.  

Issues: As the proposed change merely conforms the 

regulation to statute, the primary advantage for the agency 

and the public is to ensure consistency between the law and 

regulation, which should reduce the chance of any confusion. 

There are no anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Board for Contractors (Board) proposes to specify in this 

regulation that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative when submitting data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to the Code 

of Virginia § 2.2-4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" 

that interested persons also be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative. Since the Code of Virginia already specifies 

that interested persons shall be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative, the Board's proposal to add this language to 

the regulation will not change the law in effect but will be 

beneficial in that it will inform interested parties who read 

this regulation but not the statute of their legal rights 

concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Contractors concurs with the approval of the economic 

impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC50-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5470; Filed November 26, 2018, 11:03 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30 through 

18VAC50-22-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 7, 2019 - 10 a.m. - Commonwealth of Virginia 

Conference Center, Perimeter Center, Training Room 2, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

authority for the Board for Contractors to promulgate 

regulations for the licensure of contractors in the 

Commonwealth. The content of the regulations is pursuant to 

the board's discretion but shall not be in conflict with the 

purposes of the statutory authority. 

Purpose: On December 1, 2012, the Board for Contractors 

promulgated regulations that require qualified individuals 

complete a technical examination in their related specialty as 

one of the eligibility criteria for approval of the application 

for licensure. On March 1, 2016, the Board for Contractors 

promulgated regulations that expanded the number of 

specialties available to applicants for licensure. 

Comment received by the board since the 2012 examination 

requirement and the 2016 specialty examination amendment, 

as well as a review of examination statistics, has indicated 

that many contractors are performing work that is specialized 

to the point of not meeting any one existing specialty. As a 

result, the qualified individual finds it difficult to meet the 

examination requirements and obtain licensure because the 

material covered in the technical examination is too broad for 

the applicant's specialized expertise.  

The proposed miscellaneous contracting specialty will allow 

an applicant for licensure who demonstrates to the Board for 

Contractors that the work performed is too specialized to be 

categorized in an existing specialty to obtain a license just for 

that one particular area. Currently, a number of these 

applicants are unable to pass the technical examination and 

are not able to become licensed. The proposed miscellaneous 

contracting specialty will allow these applicants to become 

licensed and engage in business within the Commonwealth. 

The proposed miscellaneous contracting specialty will ensure 

the least restrictive regulatory environment necessary for 

niche contractors while still protecting the public's health, 

safety, and welfare. 

Substance: The board proposes adding the miscellaneous 

contracting specialty to 18VAC50-22-30 with a definition to 

allow eligible contractors to perform work in a narrow and 

defined scope that may not be covered by any of the other 

specialties. 

Issues: Current regulations provide more than 50 different 

classifications or specialties available to licensed contractors 
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(e.g., residential building, roofing, plumbing, swimming pool 

construction, and painting). Since 2012, the qualified 

individual for license specialties that do not require an 

individual license (e.g., trade-related specialties, 

elevator/escalator, and water well systems) must successfully 

complete a technical examination based on the work 

permitted under the scope of practice for each specialty as 

outlined in 18VAC50-22-20 and 18VAC50-22-30.  

There have been some instances, however, where the 

contractor is performing a solitary activity that, while it falls 

under a specialty listed in the regulations, is specialized to the 

point of being a single restricted activity. For example, in 

2014 a contractor applied for a license to install curtains as a 

subcontractor for a project involving the historical renovation 

of a theatre. The company only installs theatre curtains and 

was licensed to do so in another state. Because Virginia does 

not offer a specialty restricted only to theatre curtain 

installation, the contractor was forced to apply for the 

multipurpose commercial improvement contracting (CIC) 

specialty. The qualified individual was tested on framing, 

drywall, finish carpentry, painting, commercial build outs, 

and other work that would fall under the CIC specialty, but 

nothing regarding theatre curtains. The applicant took the 

examination multiple times before being able to pass, 

primarily because the exam did not cover the type of work 

that the company performed. 

The proposed amendments would allow contractors who 

perform a single restrictive task to apply for the 

miscellaneous contracting specialty, which permit the license 

holder to perform only that one task. A miscellaneous 

contracting specialty is less burdensome on such contractors 

as well as advantageous to the public as it would allow these 

companies to become licensed. There are no anticipated 

disadvantages to the public. 

The proposed amendments present no disadvantages to the 

board, the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, or the Commonwealth. The advantages would 

include a less burdensome, more business friendly path for 

niche contractors to obtain licensure.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Contractors (Board) proposes to create an 

additional contracting specialty. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Virginia Code § 54.1-1103 

prohibits performing contracting work without a license. In 

order to issue a contactors license, the Board designates at 

least one of the specialties (e.g. roofing, plumbing, painting, 

etc.) listed in the regulation. Currently there are more than 50 

classifications/specialties. Generally, passing of a technical 

exam is required for a specialty designation. However, the 

Board has recently had individuals whose scope of work has 

been limited to a single activity within a specialty and 

therefore had struggled to pass the specialty exam because 

they did not have the broad knowledge and experience 

associated with all aspects of that specialty. These individuals 

wanted to be able to perform contracting work in the very 

narrow scope of work they are familiar with and had no 

interest in performing other work in the broader scope of that 

specialty. The examples of such individuals include someone 

who wanted to install only theatre curtains without obtaining 

a commercial improvement contracting specialty designation 

and someone who wanted to install only guardrails without 

having any interest in performing any other highway 

construction work.  

In order to accommodate individuals in those situations, the 

Board proposes to create a Miscellaneous Specialty. This 

proposed specialty would be used in those instances where 

the work being performed by the contractor is restricted to a 

single activity, and that activity is more limited than the 

functions provided by any other specialty offered by the 

Board. This specialty however, may not be used for work that 

would fall under the electric, heating and cooling, plumbing, 

gas fitting, liquefied petroleum, natural gas fitting, 

elevator/escalator, water well/pump, accessibility service, 

lead abatement, or asbestos classifications and specialties. 

Under the proposed language, an individual will be allowed 

to apply to the Board for a Miscellaneous Specialty and their 

scope of work will be limited to what they declare to the 

Board. There will be no specialty exam. Applicants for this 

type of contractor license will have their application reviewed 

by the Board in the same way that other non-routine 

applications are currently processed. Most of these 

applications are sent first to the board's Application Review 

Committee, who will typically approve an application 

between 80 and 90 percent of the time. Applications that are 

not approved are sent to the board for an informal fact finding 

(IFF) procedure pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-4019. The 

presiding officer at the IFF can either approve the application 

or make a recommendation to the full board, who then makes 

a case decision to either approve or deny the application. If an 

applicant is dissatisfied with the board's denial, that appeal 

would be made to Circuit Court. The Board estimates that 

over the past two years, approximately twelve contractors 

might have been eligible to apply for the specialty 

classification under this procedure, and of those twelve, 

perhaps half would have been granted. 

The proposed regulation would benefit the applicants for 

Miscellaneous Specialty in that they would be allowed to 

obtain a license, perform contracting work, and participate in 

business. They would also avoid paying $85 for the specialty 

examination and spending their time to complete the 

examination as there would be no exam required, and they 
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would likely avoid taking it multiple times due to their 

inability to pass the exam for any of the current specialties. 

Issuing additional licenses would add to the administrative 

costs of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR). Administrative costs are likely to be low 

in most cases because most applications would be determined 

by the Application Review Committee that already meets on a 

regular basis. Only if the application goes to an IFF, would 

there be an additional administrative cost. This amount would 

likely vary between $150-$300, depending on the complexity 

of the proceeding. The license fees are $385 for a Class A 

license, $370 for a Class B license, or $235 for a Class C 

license. These fees would be used to cover the administrative 

costs associated with issuing such licenses. 

DPOR does not expect any additional health or safety risks 

due to issuing licenses with the Miscellaneous Specialty. 

According to DPOR, a contractor applying for the 

Miscellaneous Specialty would be required to provide the 

Board with significant documentation indicating that they 

possess the knowledge, skills, and ability to perform the work 

for which they wish to be licensed. Because the proposed 

regulation benefits Miscellaneous Specialty applicants 

without a likely increase in health and safety risks, it should 

produce a net economic benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DPOR estimates that there 

would be 50-100 applications for the Miscellaneous Specialty 

contractors license. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

would allow an estimated 50-100 individuals to obtain a 

Miscellaneous Specialty contractors license and provide their 

services. There would also be an increased workload at 

DPOR. Thus, the proposed regulation should have a positive 

impact on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation would enable 50-100 individuals to 

establish a licensed contracting business. Thus, a positive 

impact on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

impose costs on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not have adverse effects on small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not have adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add a contractor license 

specialty to accommodate those instances where the work 

being performed by the contractor is restricted to a single 

activity, and that activity is more limited than the functions 

provided by any other specialty offered by the Board for 

Contractors.  

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting - LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 
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service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and CBC are the classifications 

that can perform this work except that a contractor in this 

specialty may connect or disconnect signs to existing 

electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, electrical, or 

HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the 

USBC. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The CIC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes finishing, coloring, curing, repairing, 

testing, sawing, grinding, grouting, placing of film barriers, 

sealing, and waterproofing. Construction and assembling of 

forms, molds, slipforms, and pans, centering, and the use of 

rebar are also included. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Drug lab remediation contracting" (Abbr: DLR) means the 

service that provides for the cleanup, treatment, containment, 

or removal of hazardous substances at or in a property 

formerly used to manufacture methamphetamine or other 

drugs and may include demolition or disposal of structures or 

other property. No other classification or specialty provides 

for this function. 

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural 

partitioning. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and 

CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including conveyors or heavy 

machinery. Boilers exempted by the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but regulated by the 

Department of Labor and Industry are also included in this 

specialty. This specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. 
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"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing 

of cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems that operate at 50 volts or 

less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. A 

firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including halon and 

other gas systems, dry chemical systems, and carbon dioxide 

systems annexed to real property. No other classification 

provides for this function. The FSP specialty does not provide 

for the installation, repair, or maintenance of water sprinkler 

systems. 

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes wood and wood composite 

flooring, tack strips or other products used to secure carpet, 

vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, stone, and all other 

types of tile, and includes the installation or replacement of 

subflooring, leveling products, or other materials necessary to 

facilitate the installation of the flooring or floor covering. 

This does not include the installation, repair, or removal of 

floor joists or other structural components of the flooring 

system. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function. 

"Framing subcontractor" (Abbr: FRM) means the service 

which, while serving in the role of a subcontractor to a 

licensed prime contractor, provides for the construction, 

removal, repair, or improvement to any framing or rough 

carpentry necessary for the construction of framed structures, 

including the installation and repair of individual components 

of framing systems. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations. 

"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, 

glass work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; 

executes the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes 

and doors; or installs these items in any structure. This 

specialty includes the installation of standard methods of 

weatherproofing, caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to dwellings 

and townhouses as defined in the USBC or structures 

annexed to those dwellings or townhouses as defined in the 

USBC. The RBC classification also provides for this 

function. The HIC specialty does not provide for electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It does not include 

new construction functions beyond the existing building 

structure other than decks, patios, driveways, and utility out 

buildings that do not require a permit per the USBC.  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete 

internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC 

systems. It does not allow for installing additional plumbing, 

gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service 

meter, or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC 

system. The CBC and RBC classifications also provide for 

this function.  

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 
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or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, 

or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The CBC and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function. The MCC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of accessory structures or electrical, HVAC, or 

plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate, or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging, and 

cleaning and welding of reinforcement steel related to 

masonry construction. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Miscellaneous contracting" (Abbr: MSC) means the service 

that may fall under another classification or specialty service 

but is more limited than the functions provided by the other 

classification or specialty. This specialty is limited to a single 

activity and will be restricted to that specialty only. This 

specialty may not be used for work that would fall under the 

ELE, HVA, PLB, GFC, LPG, NGF, EEC, WWP, ASC, LAC, 

or ASB classification or specialty. Contractors applying for 

the MSC specialty will have their applications reviewed by 

the Board for Contractors.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 

testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 

or other natural gas equipment that requires an HVA or PLB 

license. The GFC specialty also provides for this function. A 

firm holding an NGF license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. No electrical, plumbing, 

gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The CBC classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 
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provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVA classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The CBC and 

RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property. 

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural 

steel shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used 

as structural members, or tanks, including any related 

riveting, welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the 

fabrication, placement and tying of steel reinforcing bars 

(rods), and post-tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings 

and structures. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

CBC and RBC classifications and the RFC specialty also 

provide for this function. No trade related plumbing, 

electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in this 

specialty.  

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, faience, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr: 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future 

building sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer 

collection systems at storm sewer structures. This specialty 

may install empty underground conduits in rights-of way, 

easements, platted rights-of-way in new site development, 

and sleeves for parking lot crossings if each conduit system 

does not include installation of any conductor wiring or 

connection to an energized electrical system. The H/H 

classification also provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude the PLB, ELE, or HVA classification from 

installation of pumps and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the CBC or RBC 

classification.  

Appliances  Fences  Railings  

Awnings  Fiberglass Rigging 

Blinds Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Bulkheads Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Carpeting  Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Ceilings  Grouting  Screens 

Chimneys  Guttering Shutters 

Chutes  Interior 

decorating 

Siding 

Curtains  Lubrication  Skylights 

Curtain walls  Metal work  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Decks Millwrighting  Stucco 
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Doors  Mirrors  Vaults 

Drapes  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Wall panels 

Epoxy  Ornamental iron Waterproofing 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions Windows 

Facings Protective 

coatings 
 

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall submit 

information on any past-due debts and judgments or defaults 

on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as 

defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a 

license in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed a board-approved basic business 

course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 
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4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 

or more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 

the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 

requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm as defined in this chapter;  

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with § 

54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  
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4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;  

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm;  

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee, and the qualified individual or 

individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and  

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5224; Filed November 29, 2018, 12:17 p.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Genetic Counselors (amending 18VAC85-

170-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.18 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2019.  
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Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-

2957.19 of the Code of Virginia specifically relates to 

licensure of genetic counselors.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is clarity and 

consistency in interpretation of the law and regulation related 

to issuance of temporary licenses in genetic counseling. A 

person who passes the national examination and receives 

certification, as required for licensure, no longer has "active 

candidate status." The regulation, as currently written, 

appears to terminate a temporary license when active 

candidate status is terminated, resulting in placing a qualified 

genetic counselor who is employed and seeing patients in a 

limbo period between passage of the examination and 

issuance of a permanent license. The amendment is necessary 

to ensure continuation of the temporary license until a 

permanent license is issued, so there is no disruption in 

patient care. Likewise, the regulation is amended to clarify 

that failure of the examination results in termination of active 

candidate status and of the temporary license, so patient 

health and safety is not at risk by receiving care from an 

applicant who has not demonstrated minimal competency. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Upon 

recommendation of the Advisory Board on Genetic 

Counseling, the Board of Medicine voted in February 2018 to 

adopt an amendment by a fast-track rulemaking action. 

Subsequently, it was decided that § 54.1-2957.19 of the Code 

of Virginia should be amended, so the regulatory action was 

not submitted at that time. The advisory board is concerned 

that the statutory change may not occur in 2019 and has 

requested that the Board of Medicine proceed with this fast-

track rulemaking action. 

Substance: The amendment to 18VAC85-170-60 clarifies that 

if an applicant fails the licensure examination for genetic 

counseling, the applicant's active candidate status is 

terminated, and the applicant is no longer eligible for a 

temporary license. However, an applicant who passes the 

examination may continue to practice with a temporary 

license until a permanent license has been issued. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is continuation of genetic 

counseling services without interruption if those services are 

being provided by a person with a temporary license who 

passes the examination and has been certified but has not yet 

received a permanent license issued by the board. There are 

no disadvantages; if an applicant fails the examination, the 

applicant can no longer practice with a temporary license. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to allow continuance of 

the temporary license status of a genetic counselor applicant 

when he or she passes the certification exam. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. An individual may be issued a 

temporary genetic counselor license when he or she is granted 

active candidate status by the American Board of Genetic 

Counseling. Under the current regulatory language, a 

temporary license expires when the active candidate status is 

terminated, which occurs when the individual takes the 

certification exam, regardless of success or failure. As a 

result, the current regulation calls for termination of a 

temporary license when the candidate successfully passes the 

certification exam. The Board proposes to amend the 

language so that the temporary license is terminated only if 

the candidate fails the exam. 

The proposed amendment would prevent a potential interim 

period for temporary license holders who have met the 

qualifications for permanent licensing standards, but have yet 

to be issued such a license by the Board. No individuals have 

been disadvantaged by the current regulatory language so far 

because licensing of genetic counselors have just started 

recently. The proposed change, however, is beneficial in that 

it would prevent potential disruptions in employment of 

successful candidates as well as disruptions in care of their 

patients. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are five 

pending applications for temporary licensure. In addition, 

Virginia Commonwealth University, the only genetic 

counseling program in Virginia, graduates approximately 

eight new genetic counselors per year. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

should help prevent unnecessary disruptions in employment 

of successful genetic counselor candidates. Thus, a potential 

negative impact on employment would be avoided. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 
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Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

create costs. In addition, it should not have other effects on 

small businesses as genetic counselors usually practice in 

large medical institutions/hospital systems. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not have adverse effects on small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment should benefit large 

institutions/hospital systems by preventing a potential 

disruption in their employment of successful genetic 

counselor candidates. 

Localities. The proposed amendment would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment would not adversely 

affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment clarifies that if an applicant fails the 

licensure examination for genetic counseling, the 

applicant's active candidate status is terminated and the 

applicant is no longer eligible for a temporary license. An 

applicant who passes the examination may continue to 

practice with a temporary license until a permanent license 

has been issued. 

18VAC85-170-60. Licensure requirements. 

A. An applicant for a license to practice as a genetic 

counselor shall provide documentation of (i) a master's degree 

from a genetic counseling training program that is accredited 

by the Accreditation Council of Genetic Counseling and (ii) a 

current, valid certificate issued by the ABGC or ABMG to 

practice genetic counseling. 

B. Pursuant to § 54.1-2957.19 D of the Code of Virginia, 

applicants for licensure who do not meet the requirements of 

subsection A of this section may be issued a license provided 

they (i) apply for licensure before December 31, 2018; (ii) 

comply with the board's regulations relating to the NSGC 

Code of Ethics; (iii) have at least 20 years of documented 

work experience practicing genetic counseling; (iv) submit 

two letters of recommendation, one from a genetic counselor 

and another from a physician; and (v) have completed, within 

the last five years, 25 hours of continuing education approved 

by the NSGC or the ABGC. For the purpose of this 

subsection, the board deems the provisions of Part IV 

(18VAC85-170-110 et seq.) of this chapter to be consistent 

with the NSGC Code of Ethics. 

C. An applicant for a temporary license shall provide 

documentation of having been granted the active candidate 

status by the ABGC. Such license shall expire 12 months 

from issuance or upon expiration of active candidate status 

failure of the ABGC certification examination, whichever 

comes first. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5422; Filed November 21, 2018, 1:45 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-15. Regulations for 

Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (adding 18VAC110-

15-10). 

18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10, 18VAC110-20-20, 

18VAC110-20-25, 18VAC110-20-110, 18VAC110-20-140, 

18VAC110-20-150, 18VAC110-20-180, 18VAC110-20-200, 

18VAC110-20-211, 18VAC110-20-220, 18VAC110-20-240, 

18VAC110-20-270, 18VAC110-20-280, 18VAC110-20-290, 

18VAC110-20-355, 18VAC110-20-390, 18VAC110-20-425, 

18VAC110-20-470, 18VAC110-20-490, 18VAC110-20-530, 

18VAC110-20-550, 18VAC110-20-580, 18VAC110-20-630, 

18VAC110-20-680; adding 18VAC110-20-112; repealing 

18VAC110-20-15, 18VAC110-20-21, 18VAC110-20-30 

through 18VAC110-20-106). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(adding 18VAC110-21-10 through 18VAC110-21-180). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 

Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 

(amending 18VAC110-50-40, 18VAC110-50-60, 

18VAC110-50-80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 9, 2019 - 9:05 a.m. - Perimeter Center, 

Commonwealth Conference Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 201, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia establishes the general powers and duties of 

health regulatory boards, including the responsibility to 

promulgate regulations and establish renewal schedules. The 

specific authority to control prescription drugs in the 

Commonwealth is found in Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) 

and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: Regulation of the practice of pharmacy is both 

complex and essential to public health and safety. The Board 

of Pharmacy takes seriously its statutory responsibility to 

ensure the safety, integrity, and efficacy of prescription drugs 

in the Commonwealth. At the same time, the practice of 

pharmacy is constantly changing as new technologies become 

available. To incorporate efficiency and cost-effectiveness, 

rules for pharmacy practice must be changed while balancing 

the assurances that controlled substances are dispensed in a 

manner that protects from medication error and diversion that 

is harmful to the patient and the community. 

Substance: As part of the periodic review, the board 

determined that provisions in 18VAC110-20 relating to the 

licensure of pharmacists and registration of pharmacy 

technicians should be re-promulgated into a separate chapter, 

18VAC110-21, to reduce the size and complexity of this 

chapter. Some of Part I, General Provisions, will be included 

in a new chapter, and all of Parts II and III will be repealed 

and restated. Additionally, 18VAC110-20-15, Criteria for 

delegation of informal fact-finding proceedings to an agency 

subordinate, will be moved into a separate chapter, 

18VAC110-15, because it applies to all types of licensees, 

registrants, and permit holders regulated by the board. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public may be stronger 

provisions defining unprofessional conduct, such as 

"performing any act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the 

public." While the board may currently be able to establish 

grounds for disciplinary action, additional specificity 

strengthens the ability of the board to take action if there is 

harm to the public. There are no disadvantages to the public. 

With exception of clearer rules for licensees, there are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the agency.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a periodic review,1 the Board of Pharmacy (Board) 

proposes to mainly update and reformat the regulation to 

improve clarity and readability. The proposed regulation also 

contains a number of changes to address issues identified in 

practice or to streamline enforcement. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The majority of the changes in 

this action are intended to improve clarity and readability of 

the regulation without introducing any new requirements or 

altering existing ones. However, there are proposals that 

represent a change in practice. One such change is the 

proposed update of the practices that constitute 

unprofessional conduct. Based on situations encountered in 

disciplinary cases and/or included in other chapters enacted 

by other health regulatory boards, the Board proposes to 

update what constitutes unprofessional conduct. For example, 

obtaining money or property of a patient by fraud or 

misrepresentation, providing false information to the 

compliance inspector, performing acts to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public are now listed in this section. This change 

does not directly affect any particular person or entity at this 

time but may be the basis of a disciplinary action for someone 

in the future. 

In another change, the Board proposes to specify that if the 

pharmacy is not operational within 90 days from issuance of a 

new permit, the permit is rescinded unless an extension is 

granted. Normally, controlled substances should not be left in 

a facility that is not operational. This change was prompted 

by a questionable pharmacy operation that came to the 

Board's attention, but the Board could not take action due to 

lack of authority to rescind such a permit. Under the proposed 

rule, the Board will allow 90 days from the date the permit is 

issued for last minute preparations to occur. This change is 

not expected to have any direct impact on any regulated entity 

at this time because the questionable pharmacy operation has 

already been ceased but will likely strengthen the Board's 

enforcement authority if and when needed. 

Similarly, one of the medical equipment suppliers has 

challenged the Board's authority to request hours of its 

operation. Medical equipment suppliers are sometimes open 

for limited hours, complicating enforcement. Without such 

information, the Board could not effectively schedule an 

unannounced inspection of the facility. Thus, the Board 

proposes to require that a medical equipment supplier must 

designate the hours of operation when it is open to the public 

and to require notification to the Board and to the public if 

those hours change. These requirements are similar to those 

for pharmacies. With the requested information, the Board 

will know the hours of operation, when the facility is open, 

and when an inspection can occur. 

The Board is also concerned with the adequacy of the current 

requirements to become a pharmacist-in-charge. There is no 

minimum experience requirement to become a pharmacist-in-

charge, yet the position requires broad knowledge of 

pharmacy operations and significant responsibilities for the 

inventory and security of the pharmacy. Thus, the Board 

proposes to require a minimum of two years of experience 

before becoming a pharmacist-in-charge. This change will 

narrow the pool of eligible pharmacists to become a 

pharmacist-in-charge but will likely improve public safety 

and protect the pharmacists who might be assigned the job of 

pharmacist-in-charge before he/she was ready to assume such 

a responsibility. 
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The Board proposes to require a temperature record for cold 

storage units and for maintenance of such record for two 

years. The facilities are already required to have proper 

refrigeration equipment to protect the integrity and safety of 

certain drugs such as vaccines. According to the Department 

of Health Professions (DHP), inexpensive tools are available 

to measure and record temperatures in a cold storage. This 

change will make sure that information to check compliance 

will be available for review by inspectors. Regulants may also 

benefit from proper refrigeration by reducing waste of 

valuable drugs due to exposing drugs to improper 

temperatures. 

The Board proposes to add language that the policy and 

procedure manual must include provisions for granting and 

terminating user access in settings where automated devices 

dispense and administer drugs. According to the Board, it is 

vital that only appropriately qualified users have access to 

automated devices that dispense drugs to prevent diversion 

for personal use or for sale. 

The Board proposes to require that five of the required 15 

hours of continuing education for annual renewal be obtained 

in courses or programs that are live or interactive. The Board 

also proposes to allow two new activities that may be used to 

fulfill required live or interactive continuing education, 

including one hour for attendance at a board meeting or 

hearing and one hour for serving as a preceptor for someone 

gaining practical experience. The Board believes pharmacists 

benefit from some interaction in an educational environment, 

so a portion of continuing hours is proposed to be live or 

interactive. DHP notes that it would not be necessary for a 

pharmacist to attend a course in person; participation in an 

interactive, real-time course would suffice. To the extent live 

or interactive continuing education is more effective than 

other settings, this change should be beneficial. 

The Board proposes to give a pharmacist who is presented 

with a forged prescription the option of returning it to the 

customer or keeping it for law enforcement. Current 

regulation prohibits the return of a forged prescription, but 

DHP notes that pharmacists sometimes feel threatened by 

refusing to return it. The regulation is being amended to give 

the pharmacist the option depending on the situation. This 

change will likely help pharmacists to safely get themselves 

out of a dangerous situation in the case of a criminal attempt 

to obtain drugs from them by forged prescriptions. 

In response to a petition for rulemaking,2 the Board proposes 

to allow sharing of prescriptions between a provider 

pharmacy for a long-term care facility and a back-up 

pharmacy for such a facility to dispense drugs up to a seven-

day supply. Currently, the prescription must be transferred to 

the back-up facility to dispense any drugs. This change will 

facilitate coverage when the provider pharmacy experiences a 

temporary shortage in a medication that is needed at the 

facility. 

Finally, the Board proposes to allow that a stat-drug box may 

include a substitution of liquid for solid dosage unit for each 

drug schedule. This change will provide more flexibility to 

the pharmacies that utilize stat-boxes. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 34,789 persons or 

entities that have been issued a license, registration, or permit 

by the Board. These entities include, but are not limited to, 

pharmacists, technicians, interns, pharmacies, manufacturers, 

wholesalers, warehouses, medical equipment suppliers, etc. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

does not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No significant impact on real 

estate development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. There is no estimate of the number 

of small businesses. However, the majority of pharmacies are 

part of large national chains. The costs and other effects on 

any small business would be the same as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed changes are not likely to create a significant adverse 

impact on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed changes are not likely to create a 

significant adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation will not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation will not adversely 

affect other entities.  

______________________________ 

1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1466 

2http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPetition.cfm?petitionId=233 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1466
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPetition.cfm?petitionId=233
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Summary: 

Pursuant to a periodic review, the Board of Pharmacy 

proposes to (i) move the provisions relating to the 

licensure of pharmacists and registration of pharmacy 

technicians from Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Pharmacy (18VAC110-20) into a new regulatory chapter, 

Regulations Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and 

Registration of Pharmacy Technicians (18VAC110-21); 

(ii) address current issues with practice, clarify 

requirements, and incorporate provisions currently found 

in guidance documents in 18VAC110-20 and Regulations 

Governing Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and 

Warehousers (18VAC-110-50); and (iii) move the 

provision regarding the delegation of informal fact-finding 

proceedings from 18VAC110-20 into a new chapter, 

Regulations for Delegation to an Agency Subordinate 

(18VAC110-15). 

CHAPTER 15 

REGULATIONS FOR DELEGATION TO AN AGENCY 

SUBORDINATE 

18VAC110-15-10. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-

finding proceeding to an agency subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with subdivision 10 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the board may 

delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency 

subordinate upon determination that probable cause exists 

that a practitioner or an entity may be subject to a disciplinary 

action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated 

to an agency subordinate, except as may be approved by a 

committee of the board, include those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a patient;  

2. Drug diversion;  

3. Impairment with an inability to practice with skill and 

safety;  

4. Indiscriminate dispensing; and  

5. Medication error in administration or dispensing.  

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 

conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 

board members and professional staff or other persons 

deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training and 

experience in administrative proceedings involving the 

regulation and discipline of health professionals.  

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 

appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-

finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 

the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 

being heard.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered, or 

licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 

or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 

corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 

of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 

composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 

outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 

the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 

subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 

to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 

on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 

or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 

parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 

entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Actively reports" means reporting all dispensing errors and 

analyses of such errors to a patient safety organization as 

soon as practical or at least within 30 days of identifying the 

error.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 

18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 

behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 

patient. 

"Analysis" means a review of the findings collected and 

documented on each dispensing error, assessment of the cause 

and any factors contributing to the dispensing error, and any 

recommendation for remedial action to improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

"Authorized collector" means a narcotic treatment program, 

hospital, or clinic with an on-site pharmacy, or pharmacy that 

is authorized by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 

to receive drugs from an ultimate user, a person lawfully 

entitled to dispose of an ultimate user decedent's property, or 

a long-term care facility on behalf of an ultimate user who 

resides or has resided at that facility for the purpose of 

destruction. 
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"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 

integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 

no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 

entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 

prescriber or his the prescriber's designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 

drugs that is comprised of a series of containers for solid oral 

dosage forms and designed to assist the user in administering 

or self-administering the drugs in accordance with directions 

for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 

facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 

are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the drug:  

1. Variation from the prescriber's prescription drug order, 

including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug; 

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with a 

patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a drug to the incorrect patient.  

4. Variation in bulk repackaging or filling of automated 

devices, including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug;  

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; or 

d. Inadequate or incorrect packaging or labeling. 

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 

specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 

pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application and is transmitted to a 

pharmacy as an electronic data file; Schedules II through V 

prescriptions shall be transmitted in accordance with 21 CFR 

Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an electronic 

data file. 

"EMS" means emergency medical services. 

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 

by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 

may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) "Faxed prescription" means a written 

prescription or order which that is transmitted by an 

electronic device over telephone lines which sends that send 

the exact image to the receiver (pharmacy) in a hard copy 

form.  

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 

distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 

prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 

of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 

falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1157 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 

in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-

NF) or in the United States Adopted Names (USAN) and the 

USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 

defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 

regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license that is registered with the 

Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to practice, 

the holder of which is not required to submit documentation 

of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Initials" means the first letters of a person's name or other 

unique personal identifier. 

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 

care, mental care, or other facility or institution that provides 

extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 

radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"On-hold prescription" means a valid prescription that is 

received and maintained at the pharmacy for initial 

dispensing on a future date. 

"Patient safety organization" means an organization that has 

as its primary mission continuous quality improvement under 

the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act of 2005 

(Pub. L. (P.L. 109-41) and is credentialed by the Agency for 

Healthcare Research and Quality. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 

drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 

not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 

recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed, or 

otherwise distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 

physically present and render direct, personal control over the 

entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 

prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor shall 

supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 

any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 

ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 

pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 

records or other required patient records for the purpose of 

continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 

pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 

evaluates or treats a patient.  

"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 

noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing, 

and storage of all Schedule Schedules II through VI drugs and 

devices and any Schedule I investigational drugs drug.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 

board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 

or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 

spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 

emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 

nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 

but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 

compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 

quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 

includes any biological product that is labeled with a 

radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 

radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 

manufacturer's original package and placed in different 

packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 

controlled by a computer that performs operations or 

activities relative to the storage, packaging, compounding, 

labeling, dispensing, or distribution of medications, and 

collects, controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container that meets the 

requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging Act 

of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), that is, in testing such 

containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 

41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-

minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 
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a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 

group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 

container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy that is 

noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 

hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 

permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children younger 

than five years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful 

amount of the drug contained therein within a reasonable time 

and not difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does 

not mean packaging that all such children cannot open or 

obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 

pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 

from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 

in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 

which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 

considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 

produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 

following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 

(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 

is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 

and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 

temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 

and -10°C (-4° and 14°F).  

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 

in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 

maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 

and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 

to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 

calculated to be not more than 25°C; and that allows for 

excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 86°F) that are 

experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 

(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 

(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 

the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 

product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 

alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 

appropriate instruction to protect the product from 

freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 

(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ultimate user" means a person who has lawfully obtained, 

and who possesses, a controlled substance for his own use or 

for the use of a member of his household or for an animal 

owned by him or a member of his household. 

"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 

container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 

than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 

container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 

particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 

in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 

such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 

name and location. Directions for administration are not 

provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 

but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 

prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 

contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 

under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 

shipment, storage, and distribution.  

18VAC110-20-15. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-

finding proceedings to an agency subordinate. (Repealed.) 

A. Decision to delegate. In accordance with § 54.1-2400 

(10) of the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an 

informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate 

upon determination that probable cause exists that a 

practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated 

to an agency subordinate, except as may be approved by a 

committee of the board, include those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a patient;  

2. Drug diversion;  

3. Impairment with an inability to practice with skill and 

safety;  

4. Indiscriminate dispensing; and  

5. Medication error in administration or dispensing.  

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to 

conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may include 

board members and professional staff or other persons 
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deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training and 

experience in administrative proceedings involving the 

regulation and discipline of health professionals.  

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of 

appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal fact-

finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on 

the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case 

being heard.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. B. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. 1. Pharmacy permit $270 

5. 2. Permitted physician licensed to 

dispense drugs 

$270 

6. 3. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 

7. Humane society permit $20 

8. 4. Outsourcing facility permit $270 

9. 5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $270 

10. 6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$270 

11. 7. Controlled substances registrations  $90 

12. 8. Innovative program approval. $250 

If the board determines that a 

technical consultant is required in 

order to make a decision on approval, 

any consultant fee, not to exceed the 

actual cost, shall also be paid by the 

applicant in addition to the application 

fee. 

  

13. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$150 

14. Approval of a continuing education 

program 

$100 

15. 9. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 

D. C. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – due 

no later than December 31 

$25 

4. 1. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$270 

5. 2. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy – due no later than February 28 

$270 

6. 3. Medical equipment supplier permit 

– due no later than February 28 

$180 

7. Humane society permit – due no later 

than February 28 

$20 

8. 4. Outsourcing facility permit – due no 

later than April 30 

$270 

9. 5. Nonresident pharmacy registration – 

due no later than the date of initial 

registration 

$270 

10. 6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration – due no later than the date of 

initial registration 

$270 

11. 7. Controlled substances registrations 

– due no later than February 28 

$90 

12. 8. Innovative program continued 

approval based on board order not to 

exceed $200 per approval period. 

  

13. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$75 every 

two years 

14. Approval of a repackaging 9. 

Repackaging training program 

$30 every 

two years 

E. D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license permit or registration within one year of the expiration 

date or within two years in the case of a pharmacy technician 

training program. In addition, engaging in activities requiring 

a license, permit, or registration after the expiration date of 

such license, permit, or registration shall be grounds for 

disciplinary action by the board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 
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4. 1. Pharmacy permit $90 

5. 2. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy 

$90 

6. 3. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 

7. Humane society permit $5 

8. 4. Outsourcing facility permit $90 

9. 5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $90 

10. 6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$90 

11. 7. Controlled substances registrations $30 

12. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$15 

13. Approval of a repackaging 8. 

Repackaging training program 

$10 

F. E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any person or entity attempting to renew a license, 

permit, or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration 

date in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, 

shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application 

and payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. 2. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to 

resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement but shall 

apply for a new permit or registration. Facilities or entities 

that failed to renew and continued to operate for more than 

one renewal cycle shall pay the current and all back 

renewal fees for the years in which they were operating 

plus the following reinstatement fees: 

a. Pharmacy permit $240 

b. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy 

$240 

c. Medical equipment supplier 

permit 

$210 

d. Humane society permit $30 

e. d. Outsourcing facility permit $240 

f. e. Nonresident pharmacy 

registration 

$115 

g. f. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$240 

h. g. Controlled substances 

registration 

$180 

i. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$75 

j. Approval of a repackaging h. 

Repackaging training program 

$50 

G. F. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities 

or other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change 

of location for any facility 

$150 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 

5. Board-required inspection for a 

robotic pharmacy system 

$150 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$150 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for 

an approved innovative program 

$25 

H. G. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. 1. Returned check $35 

3. 2. Duplicate license permit or 

registration 

$10 

4. 3. Verification of licensure permit or 

registration 

$25 

18VAC110-20-21. Public address. (Repealed.) 

An individual licensed by or registered with the board who 

has provided the board with a public address that is different 

from the address of record shall notify the board in writing if 

there is a change in the address. 

18VAC110-20-25. Unprofessional conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-3316 of the Code of 

Virginia:  

1. Failing to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of 

the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records or related to provision of 
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patient records to another practitioner or to the patient or 

his the patient's personal representative; 

2. Willfully or negligently breaching the confidentiality of 

a patient unless otherwise required or permitted by 

applicable law; 

3. Failing to maintain confidentiality of information 

received from the Prescription Monitoring Program, 

obtaining such information for reasons other than to assist 

in determining the validity of a prescription to be filled, or 

misusing information received from the program; 

4. Engaging in disruptive or abusive behavior in a 

pharmacy or other health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage in a relationship with 

a patient that constitutes a professional boundary violation 

in which the practitioner uses his professional position to 

take advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or his 

family, including but not limited to sexual misconduct with 

a patient or a member of his family or other conduct that 

results or could result in personal gain at the expense of the 

patient;  

6. 4. Failing to maintain adequate safeguards against 

diversion of controlled substances;  

7. 5. Failing to appropriately respond to a known 

dispensing error in a manner that protects the health and 

safety of the patient;  

8. 6. Delegating a task within the practice of pharmacy to a 

person who is not adequately trained to perform such a 

task; 

9. 7. Failing by the PIC to ensure that pharmacy interns 

and pharmacy technicians working in the pharmacy are 

registered and that such registration is current; or 

10. Failing to exercise professional judgment in 

determining whether a prescription meets requirements of 

law before dispensing  

8. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

9. Providing false information or failing to cooperate with 

an employee of the Department of Health Professions in 

the conduct on an investigation or inspection; 

10. Violating any provision of this chapter or Chapter 33 

(§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) or 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

11. Performing any act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

the public; or 

12. Having a restriction of a license, permit, or registration 

to practice in another jurisdiction in the United States. 

Part II  

Licensure Requirements for Pharmacists (Repealed) 

18VAC110-20-30. Requirements for pharmacy practical 

experience. (Repealed.) 

A. Each applicant for licensure as a pharmacist shall have 

gained practical experience in the practice of pharmacy as set 

forth in this section and 18VAC110-20-40.  

B. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacist shall attain a 

minimum of 1,500 hours of practical experience. 

C. Practical experience that is gained within an ACPE-

accredited school of pharmacy, that conforms to the current 

ACPE standards, and that allows the student to gain at least 

1,500 hours of practical experience, shall meet the board's 

practical experience requirements for licensure as a 

pharmacist.  

D. All practical experience credit gained outside of an 

ACPE-accredited school of pharmacy program shall only be 

gained after successful completion of the equivalent of at 

least two semesters in an ACPE-accredited school of 

pharmacy. Credit shall not be given for more than 50 hours in 

one week and not less than an average of 20 hours per week 

averaged over a month. The board may grant an exception to 

the minimum number of hours for good cause shown. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-3312 of the Code of Virginia, 

all practical experience required by this section shall be 

gained within the United States.  

18VAC110-20-40. Procedure for gaining practical 

experience. (Repealed.)  

A. Each person desiring to gain practical pharmacy 

experience in Virginia shall first register with the board as a 

pharmacy intern on a form provided by the board prior to 

becoming so engaged as a pharmacy intern. This requirement 

shall apply to any person gaining practical experience within 

the Commonwealth whether for licensure in Virginia or in 

another state.  

B. In order to be eligible to register as a pharmacy intern, an 

applicant shall meet at least one of the following criteria: 

1. The applicant shall be enrolled in and have started 

course work in a professional degree program of a board-

approved school of pharmacy. Such registration is only 

valid while the student is enrolled in the school of 

pharmacy and is satisfactorily progressing toward meeting 

the requirements for licensure as a pharmacist. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to the registration to cover 

the estimated time period for the student to complete the 

school program and pass the required examinations. If the 

student is no longer enrolled in the school program, takes a 

voluntary break from the program, or is otherwise not 

actively participating in the school program, except for 

regularly scheduled school breaks, the registration is no 
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longer valid and shall be returned to the board 

immediately;  

2. The applicant is a graduate of a board-approved school 

of pharmacy or a graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy, 

has established educational equivalency and proficiency in 

English by obtaining the FPGEC certificate, and desires to 

gain required practical experience required for licensure as 

a pharmacist. Such applicant shall provide documentation 

on a board-approved form of current employment or an 

employment start date within 90 days in a pharmacy in 

Virginia with approval by the supervising pharmacist. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to cover the estimated 

time period needed to obtain the required practical 

experience hours and take the required examinations to 

become licensed as a pharmacist; 

3. The applicant has already gained the required practical 

experience, but is an otherwise qualified applicant awaiting 

examination for licensure. A three-month expiration date 

shall be assigned to allow the applicant time to take 

required examinations; or  

4. The applicant is an applicant for reactivation or 

reinstatement of a previously issued pharmacist license and 

is meeting board requirements for relicensure. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to reasonably cover the 

period of time necessary to meet the board requirements. 

C. For documented, good cause shown, the executive 

director of the board may extend the expiration date of the 

intern registration upon submission of an application form 

approved by the board and payment of the initial application 

fee. 

D. A pharmacy intern shall be supervised by a pharmacist 

who holds a current, unrestricted license and assumes full 

responsibility for the training, supervision and conduct of the 

intern.  

E. The intern registration of a pharmacy student shall be 

valid only while the student is enrolled in a school of 

pharmacy. The registration card issued by the board shall be 

returned to the board upon failure to be enrolled.  

F. Practical experience gained within any other state must be 

registered with and certified by the board of that state in order 

to be accepted or certified by this board. In the event that a 

state relies on the pharmacy school to certify the hours of 

experience, an affidavit from the pharmacy school certifying 

the hours of experience gained in the United States may be 

accepted in lieu of board certification.  

G. All practical experience of the pharmacy intern shall be 

evidenced by an affidavit approved by the board, which shall 

be filed prior to or with the application for examination for 

licensure.  

H. An applicant for licensure by endorsement may provide 

verification acceptable to the board of practical experience 

hours worked as a pharmacist in another state within the 

United States in lieu of prelicensure intern hours in order to 

meet the practical experience requirement. 

I. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing of any 

change in address of record within 14 days of such change.  

18VAC110-20-50. Curriculum and approved schools of 

pharmacy. (Repealed.) 

A. The following minimum educational requirements for the 

specified periods shall be recognized by the board for the 

purpose of licensure.  

1. On and after June 1, 1936, but before June 1, 1964, the 

applicant for licensure shall have been graduated from a 

four-year course of study with a Bachelor of Science 

degree in pharmacy awarded.  

2. On and after June 1, 1964, the applicant for licensure 

shall have been graduated from at least a five-year course 

of study with a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy or 

a Doctorate of Pharmacy degree awarded.  

B. In order to be licensed as a pharmacist within this 

Commonwealth, the applicant shall have been granted the 

first professional degree from a program of a school of 

pharmacy which meets the requirements of § 54.1-3312 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

18VAC110-20-60. Content of the examination and grades 

required; limitation on admittance to examination. 

(Repealed.)  

A. Prior to admission to any examination required for 

licensure, the applicant shall have met all other requirements 

to include education and practical experience requirements, 

but in no case shall the applicant be admitted if grounds exist 

to deny licensure under § 54.1-3316 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The applicant shall achieve a passing score as determined 

by the board on the licensure examination which is approved 

by the board and which shall consist of an integrated 

examination of pharmacy practice, pharmacology, pharmacy 

mathematics, and such other subjects as are necessary to 

assure that the candidate possesses the necessary knowledge 

and skills to practice pharmacy.  

C. When an applicant for licensure by examination fails to 

meet the passing requirements of the board-approved 

integrated pharmacy examination on three occasions, he shall 

not be readmitted to the examination until he has completed 

an additional 1,000 hours of practical experience as a 

pharmacy intern as set forth in 18VAC110-20-40.  

D. The applicant shall also achieve a passing score as 

determined by the board on an examination that tests the 

candidate's knowledge of federal and state laws related to 

pharmacy practice. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1163 

E. When an applicant fails to pass the law examination, he 

shall not be allowed to retake it for a period of 30 days. 

F. If an applicant requests a testing accommodation for 

either examination based on a physical or mental impairment 

that substantially limits one or more major life activities, 

subject to the Americans with Disabilities Act, the board may 

approve a reasonable accommodation that does not 

compromise the security or integrity of the examination. 

1. Supporting documentation shall be provided by the 

applicant to include the following to be considered for 

review: 

a. A letter of request from the candidate that specifies the 

testing accommodation requested; 

b. A written report of an evaluation (educational, 

psychological, or physical) within the preceding two 

years from a qualified professional that states a diagnosis 

of the disability, describes the disability, recommends 

specific accommodations, and provides justification that 

the accommodation is appropriate and necessary for the 

diagnosed disability. If the comprehensive evaluation 

was done more than two years ago and the condition is 

one that is not subject to change, the original evaluation 

report may be submitted along with a current letter from 

the qualified professional stating that there has been no 

change in the condition since the time of the evaluation; 

and 

c. A written statement from the appropriate person at the 

applicant's school of pharmacy that describes any testing 

accommodations made while the student was enrolled, if 

applicable.  

2. The applicant will be notified in writing of the decision. 

If the request for accommodation is granted, the approval 

information will be forwarded to the examination 

contractor and the form of the accommodation will be 

coordinated with the contractor.  

18VAC110-20-70. Requirements for foreign-trained 

applicants. (Repealed.)  

A. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 

schools of pharmacy shall obtain the FPGEC certificate prior 

to being allowed to register as a pharmacy intern and gain 

required practical experience in Virginia. 

B. After obtaining the FPGEC certificate, the applicant may 

apply for a pharmacy intern registration and shall fulfill the 

requirements for practical experience set forth in 18VAC110-

20-30 and 18VAC110-20-40 before being admitted to 

examinations required by 18VAC110-20-60.  

C. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 

schools of pharmacy shall also complete and achieve passing 

scores on the examinations set forth in 18VAC110-20-60 

before being licensed as a pharmacist. 

18VAC110-20-75. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licensees. (Repealed.)  

Any pharmacist who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 54.1-3301 of 

the Code of Virginia under the auspices of a publicly 

supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors 

the provision of health care to populations of underserved 

people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice;  

2. Provide a complete list of each state in which he has 

held a pharmacist license and a copy of any current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

the provisions of subdivision 12 of § 54.1-3301 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

18VAC110-20-80. Renewal and reinstatement of license. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Pharmacist licenses expire on December 31 and shall be 

renewed annually prior to that date by the submission of a 

renewal fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

B. A pharmacist newly licensed on or after October 1 shall 

not be required to renew that license until December 31 of the 

following year.  

C. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license by the 

expiration date may renew his license at any time within one 

year of its expiration by submission of the renewal fee and 

late fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

D. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license for more than 

one year following expiration and who wishes to reinstate 

such license shall submit an application for reinstatement, pay 

the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee, and submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements. Reinstatement is at the discretion of 

the board and may be granted by the executive director of the 

board provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement.  

E. A pharmacist who has been registered as inactive for 

more than one year must apply for reinstatement, submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements, and pay the current year active 

renewal fee in order to resume active licensure.  

F. In order to reactivate or reinstate a license to active status, 

a pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who has allowed 
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his license to lapse, or who has had his license suspended or 

revoked must submit evidence of completion of CEU's or 

hours equal to the requirements for the number of years in 

which his license has not been active, not to exceed a total of 

60 hours of CE.  

G. A pharmacist whose license has been lapsed, in inactive 

status, or suspended or revoked for more than five years shall, 

as a condition of reinstatement in addition to 60 hours CE, 

take and receive a passing score on the board-approved law 

examination and furnish acceptable documentation of one of 

the following:  

1. Active pharmacy practice within the past five years as a 

properly licensed pharmacist in another state; or  

2. Practical experience as a pharmacy intern registered 

with the board of at least 160 hours within six months 

immediately prior to being reinstated.  

H. The practice of pharmacy without a current, active 

pharmacist license is unlawful and shall constitute grounds 

for disciplinary action by the board.  

I. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee to 

inform the board of his current address. A licensee shall 

notify the board within 14 days in writing or electronically of 

any change of an address of record. Properly updating address 

of record directly through the board's web-based application 

or other approved means shall constitute lawful notification. 

All notices required by law or by these rules and regulations 

are deemed to be legally given when mailed to the address of 

record and shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to 

comply.  

18VAC110-20-90. Requirements for continuing education. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A pharmacist shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 1.5 CEUs or 15 contact hours of continuing 

pharmacy education in an approved program for each annual 

renewal of licensure. CEUs or hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may not be transferred or credited to 

another year.  

B. A pharmacy education program approved for continuing 

pharmacy education is:  

1. One that is approved by the Accreditation Council for 

Pharmacy Education (ACPE);  

2. One that is approved as a Category I Continuing 

Medical Education (CME) course, the primary focus of 

which is pharmacy, pharmacology, or drug therapy; or  

3. One that is approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of 18VAC110-20-100.  

C. The board may grant an extension pursuant to § 54.1-

3314.1 E of the Code of Virginia. Any subsequent extension 

shall be granted only for good cause shown.  

D. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacist, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving health services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic.  

E. Pharmacists are required to attest to compliance with CE 

requirements in a manner approved by the board at the time 

of their annual license renewal. Following each renewal 

period, the board may conduct an audit of the immediate past 

two years' CE documents to verify compliance with 

requirements. Pharmacists are required to maintain, for two 

years following renewal, the original certificates documenting 

successful completion of CE, showing date and title of the CE 

program or activity, the number of CEUs or contact hours 

awarded, and a certifying signature or other certification of 

the approved provider. Pharmacists selected for audit must 

provide these original documents to the board by the deadline 

date specified by the board in the audit notice.  

18VAC110-20-100. Approval of continuing education 

programs. (Repealed.) 

A. The board will approve without application or further 

review any program offered by an ACPE-approved provider 

and will accept for credit certificates bearing the official 

ACPE logo and program number.  

B. The board may approve an individual CE program under 

the following provisions:  

1. An approved individual program is a course, activity, or 

lecture which includes subject matter related to the 

competency of the practice of pharmacy and which has 

been approved for CE credit by the board.  

2. In order to receive approval for an individual program, 

the sponsor or provider must apply prior to the program 

offering on a form provided by the board. The information 

which must be provided shall include but not be limited to: 

name of provider, location, date and time of program, 

charges to participants, description of program content and 

objectives, credentials of speaker or author, method of 

delivery, evaluation procedure, evidence of a post 

assessment, credits requested, mechanism for 

recordkeeping, and any such information as the board 

deems necessary to assure quality and compliance.  

3. The sponsor applying for board approval of an 

individual program must pay a fee as required in 

18VAC110-20-20 C 12.  

4. The board shall notify the provider or sponsor within 60 

days following the receipt of a completed application of 

approval or disapproval of a program and the number of 
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credits which may be awarded. The board shall also assign 

an expiration date for approval of the program not to 

exceed two years from the date of approval. 

5. The provider of an approved program shall provide to 

each participant who completes the required hours and 

passes the post test a certification with the name of the 

provider, name of the participant, description of course and 

method of delivery, number of hours credited, date of 

completion, and program identification number.  

6. The provider of an approved program shall maintain all 

records on that program, its participants, and hours 

awarded for a period of five years and shall make those 

records available to the board upon request.  

7. The board shall periodically review and monitor 

programs. The provider of a CE program shall waive 

registration fees for a representative of the board for that 

purpose.  

8. Any changes in the information previously provided 

about an approved program or provider must be submitted 

or the board may withdraw its approval. If a provider 

wants to give a live program more than once, all program 

dates must either be submitted on the original application 

or provided to the board in subsequent correspondence at 

least five days prior to giving the program.  

Part III  

Requirements for Pharmacy Technician Registration 

(Repealed) 

18VAC110-20-101. Application for registration as a 

pharmacy technician. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a 

pharmacy technician shall submit the application fee and an 

application on a form approved by the board.  

B. In order to be registered as a pharmacy technician, an 

applicant shall provide evidence of the following:  

1. Satisfactory completion of an approved training 

program; and  

2. A passing score on a board-approved examination.  

C. In lieu of the requirements of subsection B of this section, 

an applicant may provide evidence of current PTCB 

certification.  

D. A pharmacy technician trainee may perform tasks 

restricted to pharmacy technicians for no more than nine 

months without becoming registered as a pharmacy 

technician. 

18VAC110-20-102. Criteria for approval for training 

programs. (Repealed.) 

A. Any person wishing to apply for approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program shall submit the application fee 

and an application on a form approved by the board and meet 

the criteria established in this section.  

B. The curriculum of a training program for pharmacy 

technicians shall include instruction in applicable, current 

laws and regulations and in the tasks that may be performed 

by a pharmacy technician to include the following or any 

other task restricted to pharmacy technicians in regulation:  

1. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information;  

3. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The counting, measuring, or compounding of the drug to 

be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices 

or other devices used in the dispensing process; and  

7. The acceptance of refill authorization from a prescriber 

or his authorized agent provided there is no change to the 

original prescription.  

C. Each program shall have a program director who shall be 

either (i) a pharmacist with a current license in any 

jurisdiction and who is not currently suspended or revoked in 

any jurisdiction in the United States; (ii) a pharmacy 

technician with at least one year of experience performing 

technician tasks who holds a current registration in Virginia 

or current PTCB certification and who is not currently 

suspended or revoked as a pharmacy technician in any 

jurisdiction; or (iii) other person approved and deemed 

qualified by the board to be a program director.  

D. Instructors for the core components listed in subsection B 

of this section shall meet the requirements for the program 

director listed in subsection C of this section. The program 

director may serve as an instructor.  

E. The length of the program shall be sufficient to prepare a 

program participant to sit for the board-approved examination 

and demonstrate entry-level competency.  

F. The program shall maintain records of program 

participants either on-site or at another location where the 

records are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. A 

program shall provide a certificate of completion to 

participants who successfully complete the program and 

provide verification of completion of the program for a 

participant upon request by the board. Records shall be 

maintained for two years from date of completion or 

termination of program.  

G. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 

change in the program to include a change in program name, 
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program director, instructors, name of institution or business 

if applicable, address, program content, length of program, or 

location of records.  

H. A pharmacy technician training program approval expires 

after two years, after which the program may apply for 

renewal. For continued approval, the program shall submit 

the renewal application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation 

report on a form provided by the board at the time of renewal 

notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 

discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 

based on documentation of continued compliance with the 

criteria set forth in this section.  

18VAC110-20-103. Examination. (Repealed.) 

A. The board shall approve one or more examinations to test 

entry-level competency for pharmacy technicians. In order to 

be approved, a competency examination shall be developed in 

accordance with and meet the recognized acceptable test 

measurement standards of the Joint Technical Standards for 

Education and Psychological Testing (American 

Psychological Association, current edition), and shall be 

administered by an independent third party.  

B. The board may contract with an examination service for 

the development and administration of a competency 

examination.  

C. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 

on the competency examination.  

D. Any requests for testing accommodations under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of 18VAC110-20-60 F.  

18VAC110-20-104. Address of record; maintenance of 

certificate. (Repealed.) 

A. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each pharmacy 

technician to inform the board of his current address. A 

pharmacy technician shall notify the board in writing or 

electronically of any change of an address of record within 14 

days. Properly updating address of record directly through the 

board's web-based application or other approved means shall 

constitute lawful notification. All notices required by law or 

by these rules and regulations are deemed to be legally given 

when mailed to the address of record and shall not relieve the 

registrant of the obligation to comply. 

B. A pharmacy technician shall maintain his current 

registration certificate at his principal place of practice 

available for inspection upon request. A pharmacy technician 

who does not have a principal place of practice may maintain 

it at any pharmacy in which he practices or his address of 

record. 

18VAC110-20-105. Renewal and reinstatement of 

registration. (Repealed.)  

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 

and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 

submission of a renewal fee and renewal form. A pharmacy 

technician newly registered on or after July 1 shall not be 

required to renew that registration until December 31 of the 

following year. Failure to receive the application for renewal 

shall not relieve the pharmacy technician of the responsibility 

for renewing the registration by the expiration date.  

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 

within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 

fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having 

obtained required continuing education.  

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

for more than one year following expiration and who wishes 

to reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 

reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 

fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 

reinstatement. Conducting tasks associated with a pharmacy 

technician with a lapsed registration shall be illegal and may 

subject the registrant to disciplinary action by the board.  

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 

registration within five years of expiration, shall not be 

eligible for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved 

training program and repeat and pass the examination, or hold 

current PTCB certification, before applying to be reregistered.  

18VAC110-20-106. Requirements for continued 

competency. (Repealed.) 

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 

renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year.  

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet 

the requirements as set forth in subsection B of 18VAC110-

20-90 or subsection B of 18VAC110-20-100.  

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 

may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 

pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 

of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician 

from complying with current year requirements. Any 

subsequent extension shall be granted for good cause shown.  

D. Up to one hour of the five hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacy technician, without compensation, to 
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low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the 

health department or free clinic.  

E. Original certificates showing successful completion of 

continuing education programs shall be maintained by the 

pharmacy technician for a period of two years following the 

renewal of his registration. The pharmacy technician shall 

provide such original certificates to the board upon request in 

a manner to be determined by the board.  

Part IV II 

Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-110. Pharmacy permits generally.  

A. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to a pharmacist to 

be simultaneously in charge of more than two pharmacies. 

B. Except in an emergency, a permit holder shall not require 

a pharmacist to work longer than 12 continuous hours in any 

work day and shall allow at least six hours of off-time 

between consecutive shifts. A pharmacist working longer 

than six continuous hours shall be allowed to take a 30-

minute break. 

C. The pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) PIC or the pharmacist on 

duty shall control all aspects of the practice of pharmacy. Any 

decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 

pharmacist on duty shall be deemed the practice of pharmacy 

and may be grounds for disciplinary action against the 

pharmacy permit.  

D. A pharmacist shall not be eligible to serve as PIC until 

after having obtained a minimum of two years of experience 

practicing as a pharmacist in Virginia or another jurisdiction 

in the United States. The board may grant an exception to the 

minimum number of years of experience for good cause 

shown.  

D. E. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmacy or no 

longer wishes to be designated as PIC, he shall immediately 

return the pharmacy permit to the board indicating the 

effective date on which he ceased to be the PIC.  

E. F. Although not required by law or regulation, an 

outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a complete 

and accurate inventory of all Schedule Schedules II through V 

controlled substances on hand on the date he ceases to be the 

PIC, unless the owner submits written notice to the board 

showing good cause as to why this opportunity should not be 

allowed.  

F. G. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. 

Pharmacists-in-charge having knowledge of upcoming 

absences for longer than 30 days shall be responsible for 

notifying the board and returning the permit. For 

unanticipated absences by the PIC, which exceed 15 days 

with no known return date within the next 15 days, the owner 

shall immediately notify the board and shall obtain a new 

PIC.  

G. H. An application for a permit designating the new PIC 

shall be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the 

original date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a 

form provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 

pharmacy to operate without a new permit past the 14-day 

deadline unless the board receives a request for an extension 

prior to the deadline. The executive director for the board 

may grant an extension for up to an additional 14 days for 

good cause shown.  

H. I. Only one pharmacy permit shall be issued to conduct a 

pharmacy occupying the same designated prescription 

department space. A pharmacy shall not engage in any other 

activity requiring a license or permit from the board, such as 

manufacturing or wholesale-distributing, out of the same 

designated prescription department space. 

I. J. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all federal, state, and local laws and 

ordinances. A pharmacy permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence after 

September 2, 2009. 

18VAC110-20-112. Supervision of pharmacy technicians. 

A. A pharmacist shall determine the number of pharmacy 

interns, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy technician 

trainees he can safely and competently supervise at one time; 

however, no pharmacist shall supervise more than four 

persons performing the duties of a pharmacy technician at one 

time. 

B. In addition to the acts restricted to a pharmacist in § 54.1-

3320 A of the Code of Virginia, a pharmacist shall provide 

personal supervision of compounding of extemporaneous 

preparations by pharmacy technicians. 

18VAC110-20-140. New pharmacies, acquisitions, and 

changes to existing pharmacies.  

A. Any person wishing to open a new pharmacy, engage in 

the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, change the location 

of an existing pharmacy, move the location or make structural 

changes to an existing prescription department, or make 

changes to a previously approved security system shall file an 

application with the board.  

B. In the acquisition of an existing pharmacy, if prescription 

records are to be accessible to anyone for purposes other than 

for continuity of pharmacy services at substantially the same 

level offered by the previous owner or for the necessary 

transfer of prescription records, the owner of the pharmacy 

acquiring the records shall disclose such information in 

writing to each patient 14 days prior to the acquisition. Such 
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release of prescription records shall be allowed only to the 

extent authorized by § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Although a closing inventory is not required, a complete 

and accurate inventory shall be taken of all Schedules II 

through V controlled substances on hand in accordance with 

§ 54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia on the date the 

pharmacist first engages in business under the new 

ownership. Inventories associated with any change in PIC 

shall also be performed in accordance with 18VAC110-20-

110. 

C. D. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 

inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 

issuance of a permit.  

1. Pharmacy permit applications which that indicate a 

requested inspection date, or requests which that are 

received after the application is filed, shall be honored 

provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the requested 

inspection date.  

2. Requested inspection dates which that do not allow a 14-

day notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to 

provide 14 days for the scheduling of the inspection.  

3. At the time of the inspection, the dispensing area shall 

comply with 18VAC110-20-150, 18VAC110-20-160, 

18VAC110-20-170, 18VAC110-20-180, and 18VAC110-

20-190.  

4. If an applicant substantially fails to meet the 

requirements for issuance of a permit and a reinspection is 

required, or if the applicant is not ready for the inspection 

on the established date and fails to notify the inspector or 

the board at least 24 hours prior to the inspection, the 

applicant shall pay a reinspection fee as specified in 

18VAC110-20-20 prior to a reinspection being conducted.  

D. E. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed 

pharmacy or moved to a new location until approval is 

granted by the inspector or board staff.  

E. F. Once the permit is issued, prescription drugs may not 

be stocked earlier than two weeks prior to the designated 

opening date. Once prescription drugs have been placed in the 

pharmacy, a pharmacist shall be present on a daily basis to 

ensure the safety and integrity of the drugs. If there is a 

change in the designated opening date, the pharmacy shall 

notify the board office, and a pharmacist shall continue to be 

on site on a daily basis. 

G. If the pharmacy is not operational within 90 days from 

the date the permit is issued, the board shall rescind the 

pharmacy permit unless an extension is granted for good 

cause shown. 

18VAC110-20-150. Physical standards for all pharmacies.  

A. The prescription department shall not be less than 240 

square feet. The patient waiting area or the area used for 

counseling, devices, cosmetics, and proprietary medicines 

shall not be considered a part of the minimum 240 square 

feet. The total area shall be consistent with the size and scope 

of the services provided.  

B. Access to stock rooms, rest rooms, and other areas other 

than an office that is exclusively used by the pharmacist shall 

not be through the prescription department. A rest room in the 

prescription department, used exclusively by pharmacists and 

personnel assisting with dispensing functions, may be 

allowed provided there is another rest room outside the 

prescription department available to other employees and the 

public. This subsection shall not apply to prescription 

departments in existence prior to November 4, 1993.  

C. The pharmacy shall be constructed of permanent and 

secure materials. Trailers or other moveable facilities or 

temporary construction shall not be permitted.  

D. The entire area of the location of the pharmacy practice, 

including all areas where drugs are stored, shall be well 

lighted and well ventilated; the proper storage temperature 

shall be maintained to meet USP-NF specifications for drug 

storage.  

E. The prescription department counter work space shall be 

used only for the compounding and dispensing of drugs and 

necessary record keeping recordkeeping.  

F. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be within the 

prescription department. A pharmacy issued a limited-use 

permit that does not stock prescription drugs as part of its 

operation is exempt from this requirement. 

G. Adequate refrigeration facilities equipped with a 

monitoring thermometer for the storage of drugs requiring 

cold storage temperature shall be maintained within the 

prescription department, if the pharmacy stocks such drugs.  

H. A pharmacy stocking drugs requiring cold storage 

temperature shall record the temperature daily and adjust the 

thermostat as necessary to ensure an appropriate temperature 

range. The record shall be maintained manually or 

electronically for a period of two years. 

18VAC110-20-180. Security system. 

A. A device for the detection of breaking shall be installed 

in each prescription department of each pharmacy. The 

installation and the device shall be based on accepted alarm 

industry standards, and shall be subject to the following 

conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 

ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 

device.  

2. The device shall have at least one hard-wired 

communication method, be monitored in accordance with 

accepted industry standards, maintained in operating order, 

have an auxiliary source of power, and be capable of 
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sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity when 

breached if the communication line is not operational.  

3. The device shall fully protect the prescription 

department and shall be capable of detecting breaking by 

any means when activated.  

4. Access to the alarm system for the prescription 

department area of the pharmacy shall be restricted to the 

pharmacists working at the pharmacy, except for access by 

other persons in accordance with 18VAC110-20-190 B 2, 

and the system shall be activated whenever the prescription 

department is closed for business.  

5. The alarm system shall include a feature by which any 

breach in the alarm shall be communicated by the 

monitoring entity to the PIC or a pharmacist working at the 

pharmacy. 

B. Exceptions to provisions in this section: 

1. Alarm systems approved prior to November 4, 1993, 

will be deemed to meet the requirements of subdivisions A 

1, A 2, and A 3 of this section, provided that no structural 

changes are made in the prescription department, that no 

changes are made in the security system, that the 

prescription department is not closed while the rest of the 

business remains open, and that a breaking and loss of 

drugs does not occur. If a breaking with a loss of drugs 

occurs, the pharmacy shall upgrade the alarm to meet the 

current standards and shall file an application with the 

board in accordance with 18VAC110-20-140 A within 14 

days of the breaking. 

2. If the prescription department was located in a business 

with extended hours prior to November 4, 1993, and had 

met the special security requirements by having a floor to 

ceiling enclosure, a separately activated alarm system shall 

not be required.  

3. This section shall not apply to pharmacies which that are 

open and staffed by pharmacists 24 hours a day. If the 

pharmacy changes its hours or if it must be closed for any 

reason, the PIC or owner must immediately notify the 

board, file an application in accordance with 18VAC110-

20-140 A, and have installed prior to closing, a security 

system that meets the requirements of subdivisions A 1 

through A 4 of this section.  

18VAC110-20-200. Storage of drugs, devices, and 

controlled paraphernalia; expired drugs.  

A. Prescriptions awaiting delivery. Prescriptions prepared 

for delivery to the patient may be placed in a secured area 

outside of the prescription department, not accessible to the 

public, where access to the prescriptions is restricted to 

individuals designated by the pharmacist. With the 

permission of the pharmacist, the prepared prescriptions may 

be transferred to the patient at a time when the pharmacist is 

not on duty. If a prescription is delivered at a time when the 

pharmacist is not on duty, written procedures shall be 

established and followed by the pharmacy which that detail 

security of the dispensed prescriptions and a method of 

compliance with counseling requirements of § 54.1-3319 of 

the Code of Virginia. Additionally, a log shall be made and 

maintained of all prescriptions delivered to a patient when a 

pharmacist is not present to include the patient's name, 

prescription number(s) number, date of delivery, and the 

signature of the person receiving the prescription. Such log 

shall be maintained for a period of one year.  

B. Dispersion of Schedule II drugs. Schedule II drugs shall 

either be dispersed with other schedules of drugs or shall be 

maintained within a securely locked cabinet, drawer, or safe 

or maintained in a manner that combines the two methods for 

storage. The cabinet, drawer, or safe may remain unlocked 

during hours that the prescription department is open and a 

pharmacist is on duty.  

C. Safeguards for controlled paraphernalia and Schedule VI 

medical devices. Controlled paraphernalia and Schedule VI 

medical devices shall not be placed in an area completely 

removed from the prescription department whereby patrons 

will have free access to such items or where the pharmacist 

cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.  

D. Expired, or otherwise adulterated or misbranded drugs; 

security. Any drug which that has exceeded the expiration 

date, or is otherwise adulterated or misbranded, shall not be 

dispensed or sold; it shall be separated from the stock used 

for dispensing. Expired prescription drugs shall be maintained 

in a designated area within the prescription department until 

proper disposal.  

18VAC110-20-211. Disposal of drugs by authorized 

collectors. 

Any narcotic treatment program, hospital, or clinic with an 

on-site pharmacy, or pharmacy wishing to accept for return 

that accepts a previously dispensed drug for the purpose of 

destruction shall first be authorized by the DEA as a collector. 

A collector so authorized may receive drugs from an ultimate 

user, a person lawfully entitled to dispose of an ultimate user 

decedent's property, or a long-term care facility on behalf of 

an ultimate user who resides or has resided at that facility 

shall first be authorized by the DEA as a collector. The 

process used to collect and destroy drugs, along with any 

required recordkeeping, shall comply with applicable federal 

and state law. 

1. Prior to collecting drugs, an authorized collector shall 

submit in writing to the board: 

a. The name, address, and license number, if applicable, 

of the facility;  

b. The intended method or methods of collection (i.e., 

collection receptacle or mail-back program); and 
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c. Signature of PIC or medical director of a narcotic 

treatment program. 

2. If an authorized collector chooses to cease acting as a 

collector, the PIC or medical director shall notify the board 

within 30 days. 

3. A narcotic treatment program that does not have an in-

house pharmacy shall obtain a controlled substance 

registration. 

Part V III 

Nuclear Pharmacies  

18VAC110-20-220. General requirements for pharmacies 

providing radiopharmaceutical services. 

A. Nuclear pharmacies shall comply with standards and 

requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) 

and the Virginia Department of Health related to the staffing 

and operation of the facility. 

B. Radiopharmaceuticals are to be dispensed only upon an 

order from a prescriber authorized to possess, use, and 

administer radiopharmaceuticals. 

1. Orders shall originate at an institution or healthcare 

health care facility licensed to receive and possess 

radiopharmaceuticals, and must contain all necessary 

information relative to the radiopharmaceutical, activity, 

time of calibration, and any special preparation or delivery 

instructions. 

2. Orders for radiopharmaceuticals may be transmitted 

orally, by fax facsimile (fax), or by electronic transmission 

by an authorized agent of the prescriber. If the fax or 

electronic transmission of the authorized agent is pursuant 

to an oral order from the prescriber, the transmitted 

document need not include the prescriber's signature, but 

must include the name of the agent. 

C. The immediate outside container of a radioactive drug to 

be dispensed shall also be labeled in accordance with 

requirements of § 54.1-3410.1 B of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The immediate inner container shall be labeled with: (i) 

the standard radiation symbol;, (ii) the words "Caution--

Radioactive Material,"; and (iii) the serial number assigned to 

the order. 

E. Nuclear pharmacies may redistribute approved 

radioactive drugs if the pharmacy does not process the 

radioactive drugs in any manner nor violate the product 

packaging. 

Part VI IV 

Drug Inventory and Records  

18VAC110-20-240. Manner of maintaining records, 

prescriptions, inventory records. 

A. Each pharmacy shall perform and maintain the 

inventories and records of drugs as follows:  

1. Inventories and records of all drugs listed in Schedules I 

and II shall be maintained separately from all other records 

of the pharmacy. Inventories of drugs in Schedules I and II 

shall be performed by physically counting the drugs.  Each 

pharmacy shall maintain a perpetual inventory of all 

Schedule II drugs received and dispensed, with that 

accurately indicates the physical count of each Schedule II 

drug "on-hand" at the time of performing the inventory. 

The perpetual inventory shall include a reconciliation of 

each Schedule II drug at least monthly with a written 

explanation for any difference between the physical count 

and the theoretical count. Electronic monitoring at the 

pharmacy or by another entity that provides alerts for 

discrepancies between drugs received and drugs dispensed 

is acceptable provided such alerts are reviewed at least 

monthly. 

2. Inventories and records of drugs listed in Schedules III, 

IV, and V may be maintained separately or with records of 

Schedule VI drugs but shall not be maintained with other 

records of the pharmacy. Inventories of drugs in Schedules 

III, IV, and V may be performed by estimating the count of 

drugs in Schedules III, IV, and V unless the container 

contains greater than 1,000 tablets or capsules or there has 

been a theft or any other unusual loss of drug and the exact 

kind and quantity of the drug loss is unknown.  

3. All executed order forms, prescriptions, and inventories 

of Schedule Schedules II through V drugs shall be 

maintained at the same address as the stock of drugs to 

which the records pertain. If authorized by DEA, other 

records pertaining to Schedule Schedules II through V 

drugs, such as invoices, may be maintained in an off-site 

database or in secured storage. All records in off-site 

storage shall be retrieved and made available for inspection 

or audit within 48 hours of a request by the board or an 

authorized agent.  

4. All inventories required by § 54.1-3404 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be signed and dated by the person taking the 

inventory and shall indicate whether the inventory was 

taken prior to the opening of business or after close of 

business. A 24-hour pharmacy with no opening or closing 

of business shall clearly document whether the receipt or 

distribution of drugs on the inventory date occurred before 

or after the inventory was taken.  

5. Invoices or other records showing receipts of Schedule 

VI drugs shall be maintained, but may be stored in an 

electronic database or record as an electronic image that 
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provides an exact, clearly legible, image of the document 

or in secured storage either on site or off site. All records 

in off-site storage or database shall be retrieved and made 

available for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a 

request by the board or an authorized agent.  

6. All records required by this section shall be filed 

chronologically and maintained for a period of not less 

than two years from the date of transaction.  

B. Prescriptions.  

1. A hard copy prescription shall be placed on file for 

every initial prescription dispensed and be maintained for 

two years from the date of last refill. All prescriptions shall 

be filed chronologically by date of initial dispensing or by 

date of initial entry into the automated data processing 

system in compliance with 18VAC110-20-250 if such a 

system is employed by the pharmacy.  

2. Schedule II drugs. Prescriptions for Schedule II drugs 

shall be maintained in a separate prescription file.  

3. Schedule Schedules III through, IV, and V drugs. 

Prescriptions for Schedule Schedules III through, IV, and 

V drugs shall be maintained either in a separate 

prescription file for drugs listed in Schedules III, IV, and V 

only or in such form that they are readily retrievable from 

the other prescriptions of the pharmacy. Prescriptions will 

be deemed readily retrievable if, at the time they are 

initially filed, the face of the prescription is stamped in red 

ink in the lower right corner with the letter "C" no less than 

one inch high and filed in the prescription file for drugs 

listed in the usual consecutively numbered prescription file 

for Schedule VI drugs. However, if a pharmacy employs 

an automated data processing system or other electronic 

recordkeeping system for prescriptions which that permits 

identification by prescription number and retrieval of 

original documents by prescriber's name, patient's name, 

drug dispensed, and date filled, then the requirement to 

mark the hard copy prescription with a red "C" is waived.  

C. Chart orders.  

1. A chart order written for a patient in a hospital or long-

term care facility, a patient receiving home infusion 

services, or a hospice patient pursuant to § 54.1-3408.01 A 

of the Code of Virginia shall be exempt from having to 

contain all required information of a written prescription 

provided:  

a. This information is contained in other readily 

retrievable records of the pharmacy; and  

b. The pharmacy maintains and complies with a current 

policy and procedure manual that sets out where this 

information is maintained and, how to retrieve it, and the 

minimum requirements for chart orders consistent with 

state and federal law and accepted standard of care.  

2. A chart order may serve as the hard copy prescription 

for those patients listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

When a chart order is intended for out-patient dispensing, 

it shall comply with requirements for a prescription in 

18VAC110-20-286. 

3. Requirements for filing of chart orders.  

a. Chart orders shall be filed chronologically by date of 

initial dispensing with the following exception: If 

dispensing data can be produced showing a complete 

audit trail for any requested drug for a specified time 

period and each chart order is readily retrievable upon 

request, chart orders may be filed using another method. 

Such alternate method shall be clearly documented in a 

current policy and procedure manual.  

b. If a single chart order contains both an order for a 

Schedule II drug and one or more orders for a drug in 

another schedule, where the Schedule II drug is not floor 

stocked, but is dispensed from the pharmacy pursuant to 

this order for the specific patient, the original order must 

be filed with records of dispensing of Schedule II drugs 

and a copy of the order placed in the file for other 

schedules.  

Part VII V 

Prescription Order and Dispensing Standards  

18VAC110-20-270. Dispensing of prescriptions; 

certification of completed prescriptions; supervision of 

pharmacy technicians. 

A. In addition to the acts restricted to a pharmacist in § 54.1-

3320 A of the Code of Virginia, a pharmacist shall provide 

personal supervision of compounding of extemporaneous 

preparations by pharmacy technicians. B. A pharmacist shall 

determine the number of pharmacy interns, pharmacy 

technicians, and pharmacy technician trainees he can safely 

and competently supervise at one time; however, no 

pharmacist shall supervise more than four persons acting as 

pharmacy technicians at one time requirements in § 54.1-

3408.01 of the Code of Virginia for an oral prescription or 

written prescription, including those transmitted via facsimile 

or electronically, a prescription shall include a quantity or 

duration of the order by which the pharmacist can calculate 

the authorized quantity using directions for use. Except for 

prescriptions transmitted electronically in compliance with 

18VAC110-20-285, written prescriptions shall also include 

the prescriber's manual signature. 

C. B. After the prescription has been prepared and prior to 

the delivery of the order, a pharmacist shall inspect the 

prescription product to verify its accuracy in all respects, and 

place his initials on the record of dispensing as a certification 

of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, the entire 

transaction. If more than one pharmacist is involved in 

verifying the accuracy of the prescription product, a record 

shall be maintained identifying the date of dispensing, each 
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pharmacist involved in the process, and the individual task for 

which he each pharmacist is responsible for verifying the 

accuracy. Such record showing verification of accuracy shall 

be maintained on a pharmacy record and, if necessary, an 

alternate record consistent with 18VAC110-20-255 for the 

required time period of two years, unless otherwise specified 

in regulation. If the dispensing involves central or remote 

processing, records of pharmacist verification shall be 

maintained in a manner consistent with 18VAC110-20-276 

and 18VAC110-20-515. 

D. C. If a pharmacist declines to fill a prescription for any 

reason other than the unavailability of the drug prescribed, he 

shall record on the back of the prescription the word 

"declined"; the name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmacy; the date filling of the prescription was declined; 

and the signature of the pharmacist.  

E. D. If a pharmacist determines from a prescriber or by 

other means, including the use of his professional judgment, 

that a prescription presented for dispensing is a forgery, the 

pharmacist shall not may refuse to return the forged 

prescription to the person presenting it. The forged 

prescription may be given to a law-enforcement official 

investigating the forgery;, or it shall be retained for a 

minimum of 30 days before destroying it, in the event it is 

needed for an investigative or other legitimate purpose. 

F. E. An on-hold prescription shall be entered into the 

automated data processing system if such system is employed 

by the pharmacy, and the pharmacist on-duty shall verify the 

accuracy of the data entry at that time. The pharmacist 

subsequently dispensing the on-hold prescription on a future 

date shall, at a minimum, conduct a prospective drug review 

consistent with § 54.1-3319 A of the Code of Virginia. If an 

on-hold prescription is returned to a patient prior to the initial 

dispensing of the drug, the pharmacist shall delete the entry in 

the automated data processing system. 

F. A pharmacy may use a drop box for the collection of 

written prescriptions and refill requests. The drop box shall be 

located in a visible area within the permitted facility and shall 

be locked at all times with access to the items placed in the 

drop box restricted to pharmacists practicing at the pharmacy 

or an authorized pharmacy technician practicing at the 

pharmacy when a pharmacist is on duty. The drop box shall 

be constructed in a manner to prevent the theft or loss of a 

written prescription or confidential information and shall be 

bolted to the floor or a fixed structure. Pharmacists shall in 

some manner inform the public that containers left in a drop 

box for refill should not contain unused drugs. 

18VAC110-20-280. Transmission of a prescription order 

by facsimile machine device. 

A. Unless otherwise prohibited by federal law, prescription 

orders for Schedule Schedules III through VI drugs may be 

transmitted to pharmacies by facsimile (fax) device (FAX) 

upon the following conditions:  

1. The prescription shall be faxed only to the pharmacy of 

the patient's choice.  

2. A valid faxed prescription shall contain all required 

information for a prescription. A written prescription shall 

include the prescriber's signature.  

3. An authorized agent, as defined in § 54.1-3408.01 C of 

the Code of Virginia, may transmit an oral prescription by 

facsimile and shall record on the faxed prescription the 

agent's full name and wording that clearly indicates that the 

prescription being transmitted is an oral prescription.  

4. A faxed prescription shall be valid only if faxed from the 

prescriber's practice location, except in the following 

situations: 

a. Forwarding a faxed chart order from a long-term care 

facility or from a hospice, including a home hospice; 

b. Faxing an oral prescription by authorized agent under 

the conditions set forth in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection; or 

c. Forwarding a written prescription by an authorized 

agent from a long-term care facility, provided the 

provider pharmacy maintains written procedures for such 

transactions, and provided the original prescription is 

obtained by the provider pharmacy within seven days of 

dispensing. The original prescription shall be attached to 

the faxed copy. 

5. The following additional information shall be recorded 

on the faxed prescription: 

a. The date that the prescription was faxed; 

b. The printed name, address, phone number, and fax 

number of the authorized prescriber; and 

c. The institution, if applicable, from which the 

prescription was faxed, including address, phone number, 

and fax number. 

B. Prescription orders for Schedule II drugs may only be 

faxed for information purposes and may not serve as the 

original written prescription authorizing dispensing, except 

for orders to be administered to long-term care facility and 

home infusion patients in accordance with § 54.1-3408.01 B 

of the Code of Virginia and except for prescriptions written 

for a Schedule II narcotic substance for patients residing in a 

hospice certified by Medicare under Title XVIII or licensed 

by the state, which may include home hospice. The prescriber 

shall note on the prescription if the patient is a hospice 

patient, and the prescription shall meet all requirements for a 

written prescription, including the prescriber's manual 

signature. 
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C. If the faxed prescription is of such quality that the print 

will fade and not remain legible for the required retention 

period, the receiving pharmacist shall copy or transcribe the 

faxed prescription on paper of permanent quality.  

D. Authorizations for refills may be faxed by the prescriber 

to the pharmacy provided the authorization includes patient 

name, address, drug name and strength, quantity, directions 

for use, prescriber's name, prescriber's manual signature or 

agent's name, and date of authorization.  

18VAC110-20-290. Dispensing of Schedule II drugs.  

A. A prescription for a Schedule II drug shall be dispensed 

in good faith but in no case shall it be dispensed more than 

six months after the date on which the prescription was 

issued.  

B. A prescription for a Schedule II drug shall not be refilled 

except as authorized under the conditions for partial 

dispensing as set forth in 18VAC110-20-310.  

C. In case of an emergency situation, a pharmacist may 

dispense a drug listed in Schedule II upon receiving oral 

authorization of a prescribing practitioner, provided that:  

1. The quantity prescribed and dispensed is limited to the 

amount adequate to treat the patient during the emergency 

period;  

2. The prescription shall be immediately reduced to writing 

by the pharmacist and shall contain all information 

required in § 54.1-3410 of the Drug Control Act, except for 

the signature of the prescribing practitioner;  

3. If the pharmacist does not know the practitioner, he the 

pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to determine that 

the oral authorization came from a practitioner using his 

the practitioner's phone number as listed in the telephone 

directory or other good-faith efforts to ensure the 

practitioner's identity; and  

4. Within seven days after authorizing an emergency oral 

prescription, the prescribing practitioner shall cause a 

written prescription for the emergency quantity prescribed 

to be delivered to the dispensing pharmacist. In addition to 

conforming to the requirements of § 54.1-3410 of the Drug 

Control Act, the prescription shall have written on its face 

"Authorization for Emergency Dispensing" and the date of 

the oral order. The written prescription may be delivered to 

the pharmacist in person or by mail postmarked within the 

seven-day period, or transmitted as an electronic 

prescription in accordance with federal law and regulation 

to include annotation of the electronic prescription with the 

original authorization and date of the oral order. Upon 

receipt, the dispensing pharmacist shall attach the paper 

prescription to the oral emergency prescription, which had 

earlier been reduced to writing. The pharmacist shall notify 

the nearest office of the Drug Enforcement Administration 

and the board if the prescribing practitioner fails to deliver 

a written prescription to him the pharmacist. Failure of the 

pharmacist to do so shall void the authority conferred by 

this subdivision to dispense without a written prescription 

of a prescribing practitioner.  

D. When presented a prescription written for a Schedule II 

controlled substance, a pharmacist may add or correct the 

patient's address upon verification, correct the patient's name 

upon verification, or add the prescriber's DEA registration 

number to the prescription. The pharmacist may add or 

change the dosage form, drug strength, directions for use, 

drug quantity, or issue date only after oral consultation 

directly with and agreement of the prescriber. Such 

consultations and corresponding changes shall be noted by 

the pharmacist on the prescription. The pharmacist shall not 

add or change the prescriber's signature or make changes to 

the controlled substance prescribed, except for dispensing 

therapeutically equivalent drugs as permitted by law. 

18VAC110-20-355. Pharmacy repackaging of drug; 

records required; labeling requirements.  

A. Pharmacies in which bulk reconstitution of injectable, 

bulk compounding, or the repackaging or prepackaging of 

drugs is performed shall maintain adequate control records 

for a period of one year or until the expiration, whichever is 

greater. The records shall show the name of the drug(s) drugs 

used; strength, if any; date repackaged; quantity prepared; 

initials of the pharmacist verifying the process; the assigned 

lot or control number; the manufacturer's or distributor's name 

and lot or control number; and an expiration date.  

B. The drug name; strength, if any; the assigned lot or 

control number or the manufacturer's or distributor's name 

and lot or control number; and an appropriate expiration date 

determined by the pharmacist in accordance with USP 

guidelines shall appear on any subsequently repackaged or 

reconstituted units. 

C. Repackaging of drugs shall be performed in compliance 

with USP-NF standards. 

C. D. Pharmacies using automated counting devices or 

dispensers in which drugs are removed from manufacturer's 

original packaging and placed in bulk bins shall comply with 

the following requirements:  

1. A bin filling record shall be maintained, manually or in a 

computerized record for a period of one year from date of 

filling from which information can be readily retrieved, for 

each bin including: 

a. The drug name and strength, if any;  

b. The name of the manufacturer or distributor;  

c. Manufacturer's control or lot number(s) numbers and 

expiration date for all lots placed into the bin at the time 

of filling;  

d. Any assigned lot number;  
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e. An expiration date determined according to USP 

guidelines for repackaging; 

f. The date of filling; and 

g. The pharmacist's initials verifying the accuracy of the 

process. 

2. If more than one lot is added to a bin at the same time, 

the lot which that expires first shall be used to determine 

the expiration date if shorter than a calculated date based 

on USP guidelines. 

3. Each bin shall be labeled in such a manner as to cross-

reference the information on the filling record with the 

correct expiration date. 

4. If only one lot is added to a bin at one time, but a 

subsequent lot may be added before the first has cleared, 

the automated device shall be constructed to reasonably 

dispense the first lot before the second lot is dispensed, and 

the expiration date on the bin's label shall reflect the 

expiration date assigned to the earlier lot. 

5. In the event of a drug recall involving one of multiple 

lots placed in a bin of an automated counting device in the 

last three months or if a recalled drug is known to remain 

in the bin, all drugs shall be removed from the bin and not 

used for patient care. The removal of drugs from the bin is 

not required if: 

a. The technology of the automated counting device can 

ensure drugs in a particular lot have been cleared; or 

b. The bin has been "run dry," with a record made of the 

"run dry" date, since the addition of the recalled lot 

number in which all drugs were completely removed 

prior to filling with a subsequent lot number. 

6. An automated counting device shall be cleaned and 

maintained in accordance with recommended manufacturer 

guidelines and specifications. 

D. E. A pharmacy may return a dispensed drug to stock for 

redispensing that has never left the pharmacy premises or the 

control of the pharmacy delivery agent pursuant to § 54.1-

3411.1 A 3 of the Code of Virginia under the following 

conditions: 

1. An expiration date shall be placed on the label prior to 

returning the drug to stock. In the absence of stability data 

to the contrary, the date on the label may not exceed the 

expiration date on the manufacturer's container or one year 

from the date the drug was originally dispensed and placed 

in the prescription vial, whichever date is earlier.  

2. The restocked drug shall be used to fill the next 

prescription received for that product. In the event that the 

drug is not dispensed prior to the new assigned expiration 

date, it shall be removed from working stock as expired, 

and disposed of in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210. 

3. If there is no lot number on the label of a drug returned 

to stock or on the prescription records that can be cross-

referenced from the prescription label, the drug shall be 

removed from stock upon any recall of that drug product 

and returned to the manufacturer or otherwise disposed of 

in accordance with 18VAC110-20-210.  

18VAC110-20-390. Kickbacks, fee-splitting, interference 

with supplier.  

A. A pharmacist pharmacy shall not solicit or foster 

prescription practice with a prescriber of drugs or any other 

person providing for rebates, "kickbacks," fee-splitting, or 

special charges in exchange for prescription orders unless 

fully disclosed in writing to the patient and any third party 

payor.  

B. A pharmacist pharmacy shall not interfere with the 

patient's right to choose his supplier of medication or 

cooperate with any person or persons in denying a patient the 

opportunity to select his supplier of prescribed medications.  

18VAC110-20-425. Robotic pharmacy systems.  

A. Consistent with 18VAC110-20-420, a pharmacy 

providing services to a hospital or a long-term care facility 

and operating a robotic pharmacy system that dispenses drugs 

in bar-coded barcoded unit dose or compliance packaging is 

exempted from 18VAC110-20-270 C, provided the accuracy 

of the final dispensed prescription product complies with a 

written quality assurance plan and requirements of this 

chapter. The following requirements for operation of a robotic 

pharmacy system shall apply: 

1. Pharmacists shall review for accuracy and 

appropriateness of therapy all data entry of prescription 

orders into the computer operating the system. 

2. The packaging, repackaging, stocking, and restocking of 

the robotic pharmacy system shall be performed by 

pharmacy technicians or pharmacists. 

3. Pharmacists shall verify and check for the accuracy of 

all drugs packaged or repackaged for use by the robot by a 

visual check of both labeling and contents prior to stocking 

the drugs in the robotic pharmacy system. A repackaging 

record shall be maintained in accordance with 18VAC110-

20-355 A, and the verifying pharmacist shall initial the 

record. Packaging and labeling, including the appropriate 

beyond-use date, shall conform to requirements of this 

chapter and current USP-NF standards. 

4. A written policy and procedure must be maintained and 

complied with and shall include at a minimum, procedures 

for ensuring: 

a. Accurate packaging and repackaging of all drugs for 

use in the robotic pharmacy system, to include properly 

labeled barcodes, and method for ensuring pharmacist 
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verification of all packaged and repacked drugs 

compliant with this chapter and assigned barcodes;  

b. Accurate stocking and restocking of the robotic 

pharmacy system; 

c. Removing expired drugs; 

d. Proper handling of drugs that may be dropped by the 

robotic pharmacy system;  

e. Performing routine maintenance of robotic pharmacy 

system as indicated by manufacturer's schedules and 

recommendations; 

f. Accurate dispensing of drugs via robotic pharmacy 

system for cart fills, first doses, and cart fill updates 

during normal operation and during any scheduled or 

unscheduled downtime; 

g. Accurate recording of any scheduled or unanticipated 

downtime with an explanation of the problem to include 

the time span of the downtime and the resolution; 

g. h. Appropriately investigating, identifying and 

correcting performing a root cause analysis to 

investigate, identify, and correct sources of discrepancies 

or errors associated with the robotic pharmacy system; 

and 

h. i. Maintaining quality assurance reports. 

5. Pharmacists shall perform a daily random check of 

medications or compliance packaging picked by the robot 

for 5.0% of all patients' bins and 5.0% of all first doses or 

cart updates. Documentation of this check shall include the 

pharmacist's initials for each medication checked and a 

description of all discrepancies found. 

6. 5. All manual picks shall be checked by pharmacists. 

7. 6. If the robot picks an incorrect medication, the 

pharmacy shall immediately institute a 100% check of all 

affected doses or compliance packages and shall 

immediately report the error to the board. The 100% check 

procedure shall continue until such time as the pharmacy 

provides documentation to the board showing that the 

cause of the error has been determined and addressed and 

that the robot is no longer making errors, and the board 

allows the pharmacy to return to a reduction in checking 

perform a root cause analysis to investigate, identify, and 

correct the source of discrepancy or error in compliance 

with the pharmacy's policies and procedures prior to 

resuming full operations of the robot. 

8. 7. Quarterly quality assurance reports demonstrating the 

accuracy of the robot shall be maintained. At a minimum, 

these reports shall include: a. A a summary indicating the 

date and description of all discrepancies that include but 

are not limited to discrepancies involving the packaging, 

repackaging, and dispensing of drugs via the robotic 

pharmacy system found during that quarter plus a 

cumulative summary since initiation of the robotic 

pharmacy system. 

b. The total number of doses packaged or compliance 

packages prepared for the robotic pharmacy system and 

total number of doses or compliance packages picked by 

the robot during the quarter. 

c. The total number of doses or compliance packages 

picked by the robot that were checked in conducting the 

5.0% checks. 

d. Dates and time associated with any scheduled or 

unanticipated downtime with an explanation of the 

problem to include the time span of the downtime and the 

resolution.  

9. All unanticipated downtime shall be immediately 

reported to the board. 

10. 8. All records required by this section shall be 

maintained at the address of the pharmacy for a minimum 

of two years. Records may be maintained in offsite storage 

or as an electronic image that provides an exact image of 

the document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 

electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 

inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 

board or an authorized agent.  

B. Intravenous admixture robotics may be utilized to 

compound drugs in compliance with § 54.1-3410.2 of the 

Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-321; however, a 

pharmacist shall verify the accuracy of all compounded drugs 

pursuant to 18VAVC110-20-270 B. 

18VAC110-20-470. Emergency room.  

All drugs in the emergency department shall be under the 

control and supervision of the PIC and shall be subject to the 

following additional requirements:  

1. All drugs kept in the emergency room shall be in a 

secure place from which unauthorized personnel and the 

general public are excluded.  

2. Oral orders for medications shall be reduced to writing 

and shall be signed by the practitioner prescriber.  

3. A medical practitioner may dispense drugs to his 

patients if in a bona fide medical emergency or when 

pharmaceutical services are not readily available and if 

permitted to do so by the hospital; the drug container and 

the labeling shall comply with the requirements of this 

chapter and the Drug Control Act.  

4. A record shall be maintained of all drugs administered in 

the emergency room.  

5. A separate record shall be maintained on all drugs, 

including drug samples, dispensed in the emergency room. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1176 

The records shall be maintained for a period of two years 

showing:  

a. Date and time dispensed;  

b. Patient's name;  

c. Prescriber's name;  

d. Name of drug dispensed, strength, dosage form, 

quantity dispensed, and dose.  

18VAC110-20-490. Automated devices for dispensing and 

administration of drugs. 

A. A hospital may use automated devices for the dispensing 

and administration of drugs pursuant to § 54.1-3301 of the 

Code of Virginia and §§ 54.1-3401 and 54.1-3434.02 of the 

Drug Control Act and in accordance with 18VAC110-20-270, 

18VAC110-20-420, or 18VAC110-20-460 as applicable.  

B. Policy and procedure manual; access codes.  

1. Proper use of the automated dispensing devices and 

means of compliance with requirements shall be set forth 

in the pharmacy's policy and procedure manual, which 

shall include provisions for granting and terminating user 

access.  

2. Personnel allowed access to an automated dispensing 

device shall have a specific access code that records the 

identity of the person accessing the device. The device may 

verify access codes using biometric identification or other 

coded identification after the initial log-on in order to 

eliminate sharing or theft of access codes. 

C. Distribution of drugs from the pharmacy. 

1. Prior to removal of drugs from the pharmacy, a delivery 

record shall be generated for all drugs to be placed in an 

automated dispensing device which. The delivery record 

shall include the date; drug name, dosage form, and 

strength; quantity; hospital unit and a unique identifier for 

the specific device receiving the drug; initials of the person 

loading the automated dispensing device; and initials of the 

pharmacist checking the drugs to be removed from the 

pharmacy and the delivery record for accuracy.  

2. At the time of loading any Schedule Schedules II 

through V drug, the person loading will verify that the 

count of that drug in the automated dispensing device is 

correct. Any discrepancy noted shall be recorded on the 

delivery record and immediately reported to the pharmacist 

in charge, who shall be responsible for ensuring 

reconciliation of the discrepancy or properly reporting of a 

loss. 

D. Distribution of drugs from the device. 

1. Automated dispensing devices in hospitals shall be 

capable of producing a hard-copy record of distribution 

which that shall show patient name, drug name and 

strength, dose withdrawn, date and time of withdrawal 

from the device, and identity of person withdrawing the 

drug. The record shall be filed in chronological order from 

date of issue or maintained electronically. 

2. If an automated dispensing device is used to obtain 

drugs for dispensing from an emergency room, a separate 

dispensing record is not required provided the automated 

record distinguishes dispensing from administration and 

records the identity of the physician who is dispensing. 

E. Discrepancy reports. A discrepancy report for all 

Schedules II through V drugs and any drugs of concern, as 

defined in § 54.1-3456.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

generated for each discrepancy in the count of a drug on hand 

in the device. Each such report shall be initiated or resolved 

by the PIC or his designee within 72 hours of the time the 

discrepancy was discovered or, if determined to be a theft or 

an unusual loss of drugs, shall be immediately reported to the 

board in accordance with § 54.1-3404 E of the Drug Control 

Act. 

F. Reviews and audits. 

1. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 

review for compliance with written policy and procedures 

that are consistent with § 54.1-3434.02 A of the Drug 

Control Act for security and use of the automated 

dispensing devices, to include procedures for timely 

termination of access codes when applicable, accuracy of 

distribution from the device, and proper recordkeeping. 

2. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 

audit to review distribution of Schedule Schedules II 

through V drugs from each automated dispensing device as 

follows:  

a. The audit shall reconcile records of all quantities of 

Schedule Schedules II through V drugs dispensed from 

the pharmacy with records of all quantities loaded into 

each device to detect whether any drugs drug recorded as 

removed from the pharmacy were was diverted rather 

than being placed in the proper device.  

b. If a pharmacy has an ongoing method for perpetually 

monitoring drugs in Schedule Schedules II through V to 

ensure drugs dispensed from the pharmacy have been 

loaded into the device and not diverted, such as with the 

use of perpetual inventory management software, then 

the audit required in this subsection may be limited to the 

discrepancies or exceptions as identified by the method 

for perpetually monitoring the drugs.  

3. The PIC or his designee shall conduct at least a monthly 

audit to review the dispensing and administration records 

of Schedule Schedules II through V drugs from each 

automated dispensing device as follows: 

a. The audit shall include a review of administration 

records from for each device per month for possible 
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diversion by fraudulent charting. The review shall 

include all Schedule Schedules II through V drugs 

administered for a time period of not less than 24 

consecutive hours during the audit period.  

b. The hard-copy distribution and administration records 

printed out and reviewed in the audit shall be initialed 

and dated by the person conducting the audit. If 

nonpharmacist personnel conduct the audit, a pharmacist 

shall review the record and shall initial and date the 

record.  

c. The PIC or his designee shall be exempt from 

requirements of this audit if reconciliation software that 

provides a statistical analysis is used to generate reports 

at least monthly. The statistical analysis shall be based 

on: 

(1) Peer-to-peer comparisons of use for that unit or 

department; and 

(2) Monitoring of overrides and unresolved 

discrepancies. 

d. The report shall be used to identify suspicious activity, 

which includes, but is not limited to, usage beyond three 

standard deviations in peer-to-peer comparisons. A 

focused audit of the suspicious activity and individuals 

associated with the activity shall be performed whenever 

suspicious activity is identified from the reports. 

4. The PIC or his designee shall maintain a record of 

compliance with the reviews and audits in accordance with 

subsection H of this section.  

G. Inspections. Automated dispensing devices shall be 

inspected monthly by pharmacy personnel to verify proper 

storage, proper location of drugs within the device, expiration 

dates, the security of drugs, and validity of access codes. The 

PIC or his designee shall maintain documentation of the 

inspection in accordance with subsection H of this section. 

With the exception of a monthly physical review of look-alike 

and sound-alike drugs stored within matrix drawers or open 

access areas within the device, such monthly inspection shall 

not require physical inspection of the device if the device is 

capable of and performs the following: 

1. At least daily monitoring of refrigerator or freezer 

storage with documented temperature ranges, variances, 

and resolutions; 

2. Automatic identification and isolation of the location of 

each drug within the device using a machine readable 

product identifier, such as barcode technology, and 

generation of a report verifying the applicable settings; 

3. Electronic tracking of drug expiration dates and 

generation of proactive reports allowing for the 

replacement of drugs prior to their expiration date; and  

4. Electronic detection of the opening of the device, 

identification of the person accessing the device, automatic 

denial of access to the device during malfunctions and 

mechanical errors, and generation of reports of any 

malfunction and mechanical error. 

H. Records. 

1. All records required by this section shall be maintained 

for a period of not less than two years. Records shall be 

maintained at the address of the pharmacy providing 

services to the hospital except manual Schedule VI 

distribution records, reports auditing for indications of 

suspicious activity, and focused audits, all of which may be 

maintained in offsite storage or electronically as an 

electronic image that provides an exact image of the 

document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 

electronic records are retrievable and made available for 

inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 

board or an authorized agent. 

2. Distribution and delivery records and required initials 

may be generated or maintained electronically provided: 

a. The system being used has the capability of recording 

an electronic signature that is a unique identifier and 

restricted to the individual required to initial or sign the 

record. 

b. The records are maintained in a read-only format that 

cannot be altered after the information is recorded. 

c. The system used is capable of producing a hard-copy 

printout of the records upon request.  

3. Schedule Schedules II through V distribution and 

delivery records may also be stored offsite off site or 

electronically in compliance with requirements of 

subdivision 1 of this subsection and if authorized by DEA 

or in federal law or regulation.  

4. Hard-copy distribution and administration records that 

are printed and reviewed in conducting required audits may 

be maintained at an off-site location or electronically 

provided they can be readily retrieved upon request; 

provided they are maintained in a read-only format that 

does not allow alteration of the records; and provided a 

separate log is maintained for a period of two years 

showing dates of audit and review, the identity of the 

automated dispensing device being audited, the time period 

covered by the audit and review, and the initials of all 

reviewers.  

18VAC110-20-530. Pharmacy's responsibilities to long-

term care facilities.  

A. The pharmacy serving a long-term care facility shall:  

1. Receive a valid order prior to the dispensing of any 

drug.  
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2. Ensure that personnel administering the drugs are 

trained in using the dispensing system provided by the 

pharmacy.  

3. Ensure that the drugs for each patient are kept and stored 

in the originally received containers and that the 

medication of one patient shall not be transferred to 

another patient.  

4. Ensure that each cabinet, cart, or other area utilized for 

the storage of drugs is locked and accessible only to 

authorized personnel.  

5. Ensure that the storage area for patients' drugs is well 

lighted, of sufficient size to permit storage without 

crowding, and is maintained at appropriate temperature.  

6. Ensure that poison and drugs for "external use only" are 

kept in a cabinet and separate from other medications.  

7. Provide for the disposition of discontinued drugs under 

the following conditions:  

a. Discontinued drugs may be returned to the pharmacy 

for resale or transferred to another pharmacy for 

redispensing to the indigent if authorized by § 54.1-

3411.1 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-400, 

or disposed of by appropriate means in compliance with 

18VAC110-20-210 and with any applicable local, state, 

and federal laws and regulations.  

b. Drug destruction at the pharmacy shall be witnessed 

by the PIC and by another pharmacy employee. The 

pharmacy may transfer the drugs for destruction to an 

entity appropriately licensed to accept returns for 

destruction. Drug destruction at the facility shall be 

witnessed by the director of nursing or, if there is no 

director, then by the facility administrator and by a 

pharmacist providing pharmacy services to the facility or 

by another employee authorized to administer 

medication.  

c. A complete and accurate record of the drugs returned 

or destroyed or both shall be made. The original of the 

record of destruction shall be signed and dated by the 

persons witnessing the destruction and maintained at the 

long-term care facility for a period of two years. A copy 

of the destruction record shall be maintained at the 

provider pharmacy for a period of two years.  

d. Long-term care facilities shall destroy discontinued or 

unused drugs or return them to the pharmacy within 30 

days of the date the drug was discontinued.  

8. Ensure that appropriate drug reference materials are 

available in the facility units.  

9. Ensure that a monthly review of drug therapy by a 

pharmacist is conducted for each patient in long-term care 

facilities except those licensed under Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. Such review shall be used to determine any 

irregularities, which may include but not be limited to drug 

therapy, drug interactions, drug administration, or 

transcription errors. The pharmacist shall sign and date the 

notation of the review. All significant irregularities shall be 

brought to the attention of the attending practitioner or 

other party having authority to correct the potential 

problem.  

B. The pharmacy providing services to the long-term care 

facility may share a copy of a Schedule VI prescription or 

order with another pharmacy for the purpose of dispensing an 

immediate supply of drugs, not to exceed a seven-day supply, 

without transferring the prescription pursuant to 18VAC110-

20-360 if the following conditions are satisfied: 

1. The pharmacy providing services to the long-term care 

facility has a written contract with the other pharmacy 

outlining services to be provided, the recordkeeping 

associated with the dispensing, and the responsibilities of 

each pharmacy; and 

2. The pharmacy providing services to the long-term care 

facility provides a valid oral or written prescription or 

order to the other pharmacy. 

18VAC110-20-550. Stat-drug box. 

A. An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be 

prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior 

to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. Access to 

the stat-drug box is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, 

or prescriber and only these licensed individuals may 

administer a drug taken from the stat-drug box. Additionally, 

a valid prescription or lawful order of a prescriber must exist 

prior to the removal of any drug from the stat-drug box. A 

stat-drug box shall be subject to the following conditions:  

1. The box is sealed in such a manner that will preclude the 

loss of drugs.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 

sealing such boxes so that once the seal is broken, it 

cannot be reasonably resealed without the breach being 

detected.  

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 

resealing, or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record 

of the seal identifiers when placed on a box and maintain 

the record until such time as the seal is replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a box with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

2. The box shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 

the box and removing contents to write the name of the 

person opening the box, the date, the time, and the name 

and quantity of items removed. When the stat-drug box has 

been opened, it is returned to the pharmacy.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1179 

3. There shall be a listing of the contents of the box 

maintained in the pharmacy and also attached to the box in 

the facility. This same listing shall become a part of the 

policy and procedure manual of the facility served by the 

pharmacy.  

4. The drug listing on the box shall bear an expiration date 

for the box. The expiration date shall be the day on which 

the first drug in the box will expire.  

5. The contents of the box shall be limited to those drugs in 

which a delay in initiating therapy may result in harm to 

the patient.  

a. The listing of drugs contained in the stat-drug box 

shall be determined by the provider pharmacist in 

consultation with the medical and nursing staff of the 

long-term care facility.  

b. The stat-drug box shall contain no more than 20 solid 

dosage units per schedule of Schedules II through V 

drugs except that one unit of liquid, not to exceed 30 ml, 

may be substituted for a solid dosage unit in each drug 

schedule. If the unit of a liquid that may contain more 

than one dose is removed from the stat-drug box pursuant 

to a patient order, the remainder shall be stored with that 

patient's other drugs, may be used for subsequent doses 

administered to that patient, and shall not be 

administered to any other patient. 

B. Drugs that would be stocked in a stat-drug box, pursuant 

to this section, may be stocked in an automated drug 

dispensing system in a nursing home in accordance with 

18VAC110-20-555, except that the quantity of drugs in 

Schedules II through V stocked in the system shall be 

determined by the provider pharmacist in consultation with 

the medical and nursing staff of the nursing home. 

C. The pharmacy may provide more than one stat-drug box 

to a long-term care facility. Contents of the multiple boxes are 

not required to be uniform. 

18VAC110-20-580. Humane societies and animal Animal 

shelters. 

A humane society or An animal shelter, after having 

obtained the proper registrations pursuant to state and federal 

laws, may purchase, possess and administer controlled 

substances in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-3423 of 

the Code of Virginia provided that these procedures are 

followed:  

1. Drugs ordered by a humane society public or private 

animal shelter, as defined in § 3.2-6500 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall only be stored and administered at the 

address of the humane society or shelter.  

2. A veterinarian shall provide general supervision for the 

facility and shall provide and certify training in accordance 

with guidelines set forth by the State Veterinarian to the 

person(s) persons responsible for administration of the 

drugs. Certification of training signed by the veterinarian 

providing the training shall be maintained at the facility for 

each person administering drugs and must be retained for 

not less than two years after the person ceases 

administering.  

3. The person in charge of administration of drugs for the 

facility shall obtain the required permit and controlled 

substances registration from the board and shall be 

responsible for maintaining proper security and required 

records of all controlled substances obtained and 

administered.  

a. If that person ceases employment with the facility or 

relinquishes his position, he shall immediately return the 

registration to the board and shall take a complete and 

accurate inventory of all drugs in stock.  

b. An application for a new registration shall be filed 

with the required fee within 14 days on a form provided 

by the board. At that time, the new responsible person 

shall take a complete and accurate inventory of all drugs 

in stock.  

4. Drugs shall be stored in a secure, locked place and only 

the person(s) person responsible for administering may 

have access to the drugs.  

5. All invoices and order forms shall be maintained for a 

period of two years.  

6. Complete and accurate records shall be maintained for 

two years on the administration of the drug. The record 

shall show the name and strength of the drug, date of 

administration, the species of the animal, the weight of 

animal, the amount of drug administered and the signature 

of the person administering the drug.  

Part XV XIII 

Medical Equipment Suppliers  

18VAC110-20-630. Issuance of a permit as a medical 

equipment supplier.  

A. Any person or entity desiring to obtain a permit as a 

medical equipment supplier shall file an application with the 

board on a form approved by the board. An application shall 

be filed for a new permit or for acquisition of an existing 

medical equipment supplier. The application shall designate 

the hours of operation the location will be open to service the 

public and shall be signed by a person who works at the 

location address on the application and will act as a 

responsible party for that location. 

B. Any change in the hours of operation expected to last for 

more than one week shall be reported to the board in writing 

and a notice posted, at least 14 days prior to the anticipated 

change, in a conspicuous place to the public. 
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1. Such notification of a change in hours of operation is not 

required when the change is necessitated by emergency 

circumstances beyond the control of the owner or 

responsible party or when the change will result in an 

expansion of the current hours of operation. 

2. If the medical equipment supplier is unable to post the 

change in hours 14 days in advance, the responsible party 

or owner shall ensure the board is notified as soon as he 

knows of the change and disclose the emergency 

circumstances preventing the required notification. 

C. Within 14 days of a change in the responsible party 

assigned to the permit, the outgoing responsible party shall 

inform the board, and a new application shall be submitted 

indicating the name of the new responsible party. 

B. D. A permit holder proposing to change the location of an 

existing license or permit or make structural changes to an 

existing location shall file an application for approval of the 

changes following an inspection conducted by an authorized 

agent of the board.  

C. E. A permit shall not be issued to any medical equipment 

supplier to operate from a private dwelling or residence or to 

operate without meeting the applicable facility requirements 

for proper storage and distribution of drugs or devices. Before 

any license or permit is issued, the applicant shall 

demonstrate compliance with all federal, state and local laws 

and ordinances.  

18VAC110-20-680. Medical equipment suppliers.  

A. A medical equipment supplier's location shall be 

inspected by the board prior to engaging in business. The 

location shall be clean and sanitary and shall have a system of 

temperature control to provide for specified storage 

conditions for any Schedule VI drug or device.  

B. Hypodermic needles and syringes and Schedule VI drugs 

shall not be placed on open display or in an open area where 

patrons will have access to such items. No Schedule VI 

devices shall be placed in an area where responsible parties 

cannot exercise reasonable supervision and control.  

C. A medical equipment supplier shall receive a valid order 

from a practitioner prior to dispensing and shall maintain this 

order on file on the premises for a period of two years from 

date of last dispensing. The original order may be kept at a 

centralized office as long as it is readily retrievable within 48 

hours and a copy of the order is kept on the premises of the 

dispensing supplier. In lieu of a hard copy, an electronic 

image of an order may be maintained in an electronic 

database provided it preserves and provides an exact image of 

the order that is clearly legible and made available within 48 

hours of a request by a person authorized by law to have 

access to prescription information. 

D. Medical equipment suppliers shall make a record at the 

time of dispensing. This record shall be maintained on the 

premises for two years from date of dispensing and shall 

include:  

1. Name and address of patient;  

2. Item dispensed and quantity, if applicable; and  

3. Date of dispensing.  

E. A valid order authorizing the dispensing of drugs or 

devices may be transferred from one medical equipment 

supplier to another medical equipment supplier provided the 

order can be filled or refilled. The transfer shall be 

communicated either orally by direct communication between 

an individual at the transferring medical equipment supplier 

and the receiving medical equipment supplier, by facsimile 

machine, or by electronic transmission.  

1. The transferring medical equipment supplier shall: 

a. Record the word "VOID" on the face of the invalidated 

order; 

b. Record on the reverse side of the invalidated order the 

name and address of the medical equipment supplier to 

which it was transferred, the date of the transfer, and for 

an oral transfer, the name of the individual receiving the 

prescription information and the name of the individual 

transferring the information. 

2. The receiving medical equipment supplier shall: 

a. Write the word "TRANSFER" on the face of the trans-

ferred prescription; 

b. Provide all information required to be on a valid order 

to include: 

(1) Date of issuance of original order; 

(2) Original number of refills authorized on the original 

order; 

(3) Date of original dispensing if applicable; 

(4) Number of valid refills remaining and date of last 

dispensing; 

(5) Medical equipment supplier name and address from 

which the order information was transferred; and 

(6) Name of transferring individual if transferred orally. 

3. Both the original and transferred order shall be main-

tained for a period of two years from the date of last refill. 

In lieu of recording the required information on the hard 

copy of a valid order, a medical equipment supplier may 

record all required information in an automated data 

processing system used for the storage and retrieval of 

dispensing information.  

E. F. A nonresident medical equipment supplier shall 

register and practice in accordance with § 54.1-3435.3:1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 
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CHAPTER 21 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE LICENSURE OF 

PHARMACISTS AND REGISTRATION OF PHARMACY 

TECHNICIANS 

Part I General 

Provisions 

18VAC110-21-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the board.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy and has 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Inactive license" means a license that is registered with the 

Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to practice, 

and the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for the voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians. 

18VAC110-21-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 

4. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$150 

5. Approval of a continuing 

education program 

$100 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 

no later than December 31 

$45 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$25 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$75 every two 

years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license or 

registration within one year of the expiration date or within 

two years in the case of a pharmacy technician training 

program. In addition, engaging in activities requiring a 

license or registration after the expiration date of such license 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$15 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration 

date in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, 

shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board 
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and, except for reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the 

board upon completion of an application and payment of any 

required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 

or suspension 

$500 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Pharmacy technician registration 

after revocation or suspension 

$125 

5. A pharmacy technician training 

program that failed to renew and 

continued to operate for more than 

one renewal cycle shall pay the 

current and all back renewal fees for 

the years in which they were 

operating plus a reinstatement fee of 

$75. A pharmacy technician training 

program that ceases operation and 

wishes to resume shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement but shall apply for a 

new registration.  

  

G. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $10 

4. Verification of licensure or 

registration 

$25 

18VAC110-21-30. Current name and address. 

A. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each licensee and 

registrant to inform the board of his current name and 

address. A licensee or registrant shall notify the board within 

14 days in writing or electronically of a name change or a 

change of an address of record. Properly updating a name or 

an address of record directly through the board's web-based 

application or other approved means shall constitute lawful 

notification.  

B. All notices required by law or by this chapter are deemed 

to be received by the licensee or registrant when sent to the 

address of record and shall not relieve the licensee or 

registrant of the obligation to comply. 

C. An individual licensed by or registered with the board 

who has provided the board with a public address that is 

different from the address of record shall notify the board in 

writing if there is a change in the address. 

18VAC110-21-40. Unprofessional conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-3316 of the Code of 

Virginia:  

1. Failing to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of 

the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records or related to providing patient 

records to another practitioner or to the patient or the 

patient's personal representative; 

2. Willfully or negligently breaching the confidentiality of 

a patient unless otherwise required or permitted by 

applicable law; 

3. Failing to maintain the confidentiality of information 

received from the Prescription Monitoring Program, 

obtaining such information for reasons other than to assist 

in determining the validity of a prescription to be filled, or 

misusing information received from the program; 

4. Engaging in disruptive or abusive behavior in a 

pharmacy or other health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage in a relationship with 

a patient that constitutes a professional boundary violation 

in which the practitioner uses his professional position to 

take advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or the 

patient's family, including sexual misconduct with a patient 

or a member of the patient's family or other conduct that 

results or could result in personal gain at the expense of the 

patient;  

6. Failing to maintain adequate safeguards against the 

diversion of controlled substances;  

7. Failing to appropriately respond to a known dispensing 

error in a manner that protects the health and safety of the 

patient;  

8. Delegating a task within the practice of pharmacy to a 

person who is not adequately trained to perform such a 

task; 

9. Failing by the pharmacist in charge to ensure that 

pharmacy interns and pharmacy technicians working in the 

pharmacy are registered and that such registration is 

current; 

10. Failing to exercise professional judgment in 

determining whether a prescription meets the requirements 

of law before dispensing; 

11. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

12. Providing false information or failing to cooperate with 

an employee of the Department of Health Professions in 

the conduct on an investigation or inspection; 
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13. Violating any provision of this chapter, 18VAC110-20, 

or Chapter 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) or 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

14. Performing any act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

the public; or 

15. Having a restriction of a license to practice pharmacy 

or a registration as a pharmacy technician in another 

jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC110-21-45. Kickbacks, fee-splitting, interference 

with supplier. 

A. A pharmacist shall not solicit or foster prescription 

practice with a prescriber of drugs or any other person 

providing for rebates, kickbacks, fee-splitting, or special 

charges in exchange for prescription orders.  

B. A pharmacist shall not interfere with the patient's right to 

choose his supplier of medication or cooperate with any 

person or persons in denying a patient the opportunity to 

select his supplier of prescribed medications. 

Part II  

Licensure Requirement for Pharmacists 

18VAC110-21-50. Requirements for pharmacy practical 

experience. 

A. Each applicant for licensure as a pharmacist shall have 

gained practical experience in the practice of pharmacy as set 

forth in this section and 18VAC110-21-60.  

B. An applicant for licensure as a pharmacist shall attain a 

minimum of 1,500 hours of practical experience.  

C. Practical experience that is gained within an ACPE-

accredited school of pharmacy, that conforms to the current 

ACPE standards, and that allows the student to gain at least 

1,500 hours of practical experience shall meet the board's 

practical experience requirements for licensure as a 

pharmacist.  

D. All practical experience credit gained outside of an 

ACPE-accredited school of pharmacy program shall only be 

gained after successful completion of the equivalent of at 

least two semesters in an ACPE-accredited school of 

pharmacy. Credit shall not be given for more than 50 hours in 

one week and not less than an average of 20 hours per week 

averaged over a month. The board may grant an exception to 

the minimum number of hours for good cause shown. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-3312 of the Code of Virginia, 

all practical experience required by this section shall be 

gained within the United States. 

18VAC110-21-60. Procedure for gaining practical 

experience. 

A. Each person desiring to gain practical pharmacy 

experience in Virginia shall first register with the board as a 

pharmacy intern on a form provided by the board prior to 

becoming so engaged as a pharmacy intern. This requirement 

shall apply to any person gaining practical experience within 

the Commonwealth whether for licensure in Virginia or in 

another state.  

B. In order to be eligible to register as a pharmacy intern, an 

applicant shall meet at least one of the following criteria: 

1. The applicant shall be enrolled in and have started 

course work in a professional degree program of a board-

approved school of pharmacy. Such registration is only 

valid while the student is enrolled in the school of 

pharmacy and is satisfactorily progressing toward meeting 

the requirements for licensure as a pharmacist. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to the registration to cover 

the estimated time period for the student to complete the 

school program and pass the required examinations. If the 

student is no longer enrolled in the school program, takes a 

voluntary break from the program, or is otherwise not 

actively participating in the school program, except for 

regularly scheduled school breaks, the registration is no 

longer valid and shall be returned to the board 

immediately;  

2. The applicant is a graduate of a board-approved school 

of pharmacy or a graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy, 

has established educational equivalency and proficiency in 

English by obtaining the FPGEC certificate, and desires to 

gain required practical experience required for licensure as 

a pharmacist. Such applicant shall provide documentation 

on a board-approved form of current employment or an 

employment start date within 90 days in a pharmacy in 

Virginia with approval by the supervising pharmacist. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to cover the estimated 

time period needed to obtain the required practical 

experience hours and take the required examinations to 

become licensed as a pharmacist; 

3. The applicant has already gained the required practical 

experience but is an otherwise qualified applicant awaiting 

examination for licensure. A three-month expiration date 

shall be assigned to allow the applicant time to take 

required examinations; or  

4. The applicant is an applicant for reactivation or 

reinstatement of a previously issued pharmacist license and 

is meeting board requirements for relicensure. An 

expiration date shall be assigned to reasonably cover the 

period of time necessary to meet the board requirements. 

C. For documented good cause shown, the executive 

director of the board may extend the expiration date of the 

intern registration upon submission of an application form 

approved by the board and payment of the initial application 

fee. 

D. A pharmacy intern shall be supervised by a pharmacist 

who holds a current, unrestricted license and assumes full 
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responsibility for the training, supervision, and conduct of the 

intern.  

E. The intern registration of a pharmacy student shall be 

valid only while the student is enrolled in a school of 

pharmacy. The registration card issued by the board shall be 

returned to the board upon failure to be enrolled.  

F. Practical experience gained within any other state must be 

registered with and certified by the board of that state in order 

to be accepted or certified by the board. In the event that a 

state relies on the pharmacy school to certify the hours of 

experience, an affidavit from the pharmacy school certifying 

the hours of experience gained in the United States may be 

accepted in lieu of board certification.  

G. All practical experience of the pharmacy intern shall be 

evidenced by an affidavit approved by the board, which shall 

be filed prior to or with the application for examination for 

licensure.  

H. An applicant for licensure by endorsement may provide 

verification acceptable to the board of practical experience 

hours worked as a pharmacist in another state within the 

United States in lieu of prelicensure intern hours in order to 

meet the practical experience requirement. 

I. A pharmacy intern shall notify the board in writing of any 

change in address of record within 14 days of such change.  

18VAC110-21-70. Curriculum and approved schools of 

pharmacy. 

A. The following minimum educational requirements for the 

specified periods shall be recognized by the board for the 

purpose of licensure.  

1. On and after June 1, 1936, but before June 1, 1964, the 

applicant for licensure shall have been graduated from a 

four-year course of study with a Bachelor of Science 

degree in pharmacy awarded.  

2. On and after June 1, 1964, the applicant for licensure 

shall have been graduated from at least a five-year course 

of study with a Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy or 

a Doctorate of Pharmacy degree awarded.  

B. In order to be licensed as a pharmacist within this 

Commonwealth, the applicant shall have been granted the 

first professional degree from a program of a school of 

pharmacy that meets the requirements of § 54.1-3312 of the 

Code of Virginia or shall satisfy the requirements of 

18VAC110-21-90.  

18VAC110-21-80. Content of the examination and grades 

required; limitation on admittance to examination. 

A. Prior to admission to any examination required for 

licensure, the applicant shall have met all other requirements 

to include education and practical experience requirements, 

but in no case shall the applicant be admitted if grounds exist 

to deny licensure under § 54.1-3316 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The applicant shall achieve a passing score as determined 

by the board on the licensure examination that is approved by 

the board and that shall consist of an integrated examination 

of pharmacy practice, pharmacology, pharmacy mathematics, 

and such other subjects as are necessary to assure that the 

candidate possesses the necessary knowledge and skills to 

practice pharmacy.  

C. When an applicant for licensure by examination fails to 

meet the passing requirements of the board-approved 

integrated pharmacy examination on three occasions, the 

applicant shall not be readmitted to the examination until he 

has completed an additional 1,000 hours of practical 

experience as a pharmacy intern as set forth in 18VAC110-

21-60.  

D. The applicant shall also achieve a passing score as 

determined by the board on an examination that tests the 

candidate's knowledge of federal and state laws related to 

pharmacy practice. If an applicant has not subsequently been 

issued a license by any jurisdiction in the United States within 

three years of achieving a passing score, the applicant shall 

retake the examination in order to be licensed in Virginia. 

E. When an applicant fails to pass the law examination, the 

applicant shall not be allowed to retake it for a period of 30 

days. 

F. If an applicant requests a testing accommodation for 

either examination based on a physical or mental impairment 

that substantially limits one or more major life activities, 

subject to the Americans with Disabilities Act, the board may 

approve a reasonable accommodation that does not 

compromise the security or integrity of the examination. 

1. Supporting documentation shall be provided by the 

applicant to include the following to be considered for 

review: 

a. A letter of request from the candidate that specifies the 

testing accommodation requested; 

b. A written report of an evaluation (educational, 

psychological, or physical) within the preceding two 

years from a qualified professional that states a diagnosis 

of the disability, describes the disability, recommends 

specific accommodations, and provides justification that 

the accommodation is appropriate and necessary for the 

diagnosed disability. If the comprehensive evaluation 

was done more than two years ago and the condition is 

one that is not subject to change, the original evaluation 

report may be submitted along with a current letter from 

the qualified professional stating that there has been no 

change in the condition since the time of the evaluation; 

and 
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c. A written statement from the appropriate person at the 

applicant's school of pharmacy that describes any testing 

accommodations made while the student was enrolled, if 

applicable.  

2. The applicant will be notified in writing of the decision. 

If the request for accommodation is granted, the approval 

information will be forwarded to the examination 

contractor and the form of the accommodation will be 

coordinated with the contractor. 

18VAC110-21-90. Requirements for foreign-trained 

applicants. 

A. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 

schools of pharmacy shall obtain the FPGEC certificate prior 

to being allowed to register as a pharmacy intern and gain the 

required practical experience in Virginia.  

B. After obtaining the FPGEC certificate, the applicant may 

apply for a pharmacy intern registration and shall fulfill the 

requirements for practical experience set forth in 18VAC110-

21-50 and 18VAC110-21-60 before being admitted to 

examinations required by 18VAC110-21-80.  

C. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 

schools of pharmacy shall also complete and achieve passing 

scores on the examinations set forth in 18VAC110-21-80 

before being licensed as a pharmacist. 

D. Applicants for licensure who were trained in foreign 

schools of pharmacy, but who subsequently have been 

granted a professional degree from a program of a school of 

pharmacy that meets the requirements of § 54.1-3312 of the 

Code of Virginia, as specified in18VAC110-21-70, shall be 

exempt from the requirement for a FPGEC certificate but 

shall fulfill the requirements for practical experience set forth 

in 18VAC110-21-50 and 18VAC110-21-60 before being 

admitted to examinations required by 18VAC110-21-80. 

18VAC110-21-100. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licensees. 

Any pharmacist who seeks registration to practice on a 

voluntary basis pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 54.1-3301 of 

the Code of Virginia under the auspices of a publicly 

supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors 

the provision of health care to populations of underserved 

people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice;  

2. Provide a complete list of each state in which the 

pharmacist has held a pharmacist license and a copy of any 

current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization and the 

dates and location of the voluntary provision of services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

the provisions of subdivision 12 of § 54.1-3301 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Part III 

Requirements for Renewal or Reinstatement of Licensure 

18VAC110-21-110. Renewal and reinstatement of license. 

A. Pharmacist licenses expire on December 31 and shall be 

renewed annually prior to that date by the submission of a 

renewal fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

B. A pharmacist newly licensed on or after October 1 shall 

not be required to renew that license until December 31 of the 

following year.  

C. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license by the 

expiration date may renew his license at any time within one 

year of its expiration by submission of the renewal fee and 

late fee, renewal form, and statement of compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

D. A pharmacist who fails to renew his license for more than 

one year following expiration and who wishes to reinstate 

such license shall submit an application for reinstatement, pay 

the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee, and submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements. Reinstatement is at the discretion of 

the board and may be granted by the executive director of the 

board provided no grounds exist to deny said reinstatement. 

E. A pharmacist who has been registered as inactive for 

more than one year must apply for reactivation, submit 

documentation showing compliance with continuing 

education requirements, and pay the difference between the 

inactive fee and the current year active renewal fee in order to 

resume active licensure.  

F. In order to reactivate or reinstate a license to active status, 

a pharmacist who holds an inactive license, who has allowed 

his license to lapse, or who has had his license suspended or 

revoked must submit evidence of completion of CEUs or 

hours equal to the requirements for the number of years in 

which his license has not been active, not to exceed a total of 

60 hours of CE.  

G. A pharmacist whose license has been lapsed, is in 

inactive status, or has been suspended or revoked for more 

than five years shall, as a condition of reinstatement or 

reactivation in addition to 60 hours CE, take and receive a 

passing score on the board-approved law examination and 

furnish acceptable documentation of one of the following: 

1. Active pharmacy practice within the past five years as a 

properly licensed pharmacist in another state; or  
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2. Practical experience as a pharmacy intern registered 

with the board of at least 160 hours within six months 

immediately prior to being reinstated or reactivated. 

H. The practice of pharmacy without a current, active 

pharmacist license is unlawful and shall constitute grounds 

for disciplinary action by the board. 

18VAC110-21-120. Requirements for continuing 

education. 

A. A pharmacist shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 1.5 CEUs or 15 contact hours of continuing 

pharmacy education in an approved program for each annual 

renewal of licensure. CEUs or hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may not be transferred or credited to 

another year.  

B. A pharmacy education program approved for continuing 

pharmacy education is:  

1. One that is approved by the ACPE;  

2. One that is approved as a Category I continuing medical 

education course, the primary focus of which is pharmacy, 

pharmacology, or drug therapy; or  

3. One that is approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of 18VAC110-21-130.  

C. Of the 15 contact hours required for annual renewal, at 

least five hours shall be obtained in courses or programs that 

are live or real-time interactive. Included in the five hours, the 

following may be credited: 

1. A maximum of one hour for attendance at a board 

meeting or formal hearing; or 

2. A maximum of one hour for serving as a preceptor for a 

pharmacy student or resident in an accredited school or 

program or for a foreign-trained student obtaining hours of 

practical experience.  

D. The board may grant an extension pursuant to § 54.1-

3314.1 E of the Code of Virginia. Any subsequent extension 

shall be granted only for good cause shown.  

E. Pharmacists are required to attest to compliance with the 

CE requirements in a manner approved by the board at the 

time of their annual license renewal. Following each renewal 

period, the board may conduct an audit of the immediate past 

two years CE documents to verify compliance with the 

requirements. Pharmacists are required to maintain for two 

years following renewal the original certificates documenting 

successful completion of CE, showing the date and title of the 

CE program or activity, the number of CEUs or contact hours 

awarded, and a certifying signature or other certification of 

the approved provider. Pharmacists selected for audit must 

provide these original documents to the board by the deadline 

date specified by the board in the audit notice. 

18VAC110-21-130. Approval of continuing education 

programs. 

A. The board will approve without application or further 

review any program offered by an ACPE-approved provider 

and will accept for credit certificates bearing the official 

ACPE logo and program number.  

B. The board may approve an individual CE program under 

the following provisions:  

1. An approved individual program is a course, activity, or 

lecture that includes subject matter related to the 

competency of the practice of pharmacy and that has been 

approved for CE credit by the board.  

2. In order to receive approval for an individual program, 

the sponsor or provider must apply prior to offering the 

program on a form provided by the board. The information 

that must be provided shall include: 

a. Name of provider;  

b. Location;  

c. Date and time of program;  

d. Charges to participants;  

e. Description of program content and objectives;  

f. Credentials of speaker or author;  

g. Method of delivery;  

h. Evaluation procedure;  

i. Evidence of a post assessment;  

j. Credits requested;  

k. Mechanism for recordkeeping; and  

l. Any such information as the board deems necessary to 

assure quality and compliance.  

3. The sponsor applying for board approval of an 

individual program shall pay a fee as required in 

18VAC110-21-20 C 5.  

4. The board shall notify the provider or sponsor within 60 

days following the receipt of a completed application of 

approval or disapproval of a program and the number of 

credits that may be awarded. The board shall also assign an 

expiration date for approval of the program not to exceed 

two years from the date of approval. 

5. The provider of an approved program shall provide to 

each participant who completes the required hours and 

passes the post-test a certification with the name of the 

provider, name of the participant, description of course and 

method of delivery, number of hours credited, date of 

completion, and program identification number.  
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6. The provider of an approved program shall maintain all 

records on that program, program participants, and hours 

awarded for a period of five years and shall make those 

records available to the board upon request.  

7. The board shall periodically review and monitor 

programs. The provider of a CE program shall waive 

registration fees for a representative of the board for that 

purpose.  

8. Any changes in the information previously provided 

about an approved program or provider shall be submitted, 

or the board may withdraw its approval. If a provider 

wants to give a live program more than once, all program 

dates shall either be submitted on the original application 

or provided to the board in subsequent correspondence at 

least five days prior to giving the program. 

Part IV 

Requirements for Pharmacy Technician Registration 

18VAC110-21-140. Application for registration as a 

pharmacy technician. 

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a 

pharmacy technician shall submit the application fee and an 

application on a form approved by the board.  

B. To be registered as a pharmacy technician, an applicant 

shall provide evidence of the following:  

1. Satisfactory completion of a board-approved training 

program; and  

2. A passing score on a board-approved examination.  

C. In lieu of the requirements of subsection B of this section, 

an applicant may provide evidence of current PTCB 

certification.  

D. A pharmacy technician trainee enrolled in an approved 

pharmacy technician training program pursuant to § 54.1-

3321 D of the Code of Virginia may perform tasks restricted 

to pharmacy technicians for no more than nine consecutive 

months from the date the trainee begins performing duties 

restricted to a pharmacy technician without becoming 

registered as a pharmacy technician. 

18VAC110-21-150. Criteria for approval for training 

programs. 

A. Any person wishing to apply for approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program shall submit the application fee, a 

sample certificate, and an application on a form approved by 

the board and meet the criteria established in this section.  

B. The curriculum of a training program for pharmacy 

technicians shall include instruction in applicable current laws 

and regulations and in the tasks that may be performed by a 

pharmacy technician to include the following or any other 

task restricted to pharmacy technicians in regulation:  

1. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information;  

3. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The counting, measuring, or compounding of the drug to 

be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices 

or other devices used in the dispensing process; and  

7. The acceptance of refill authorization from a prescriber 

or the prescriber's authorized agent provided there is no 

change to the original prescription.  

C. Each program shall have a program director who shall be 

either (i) a pharmacist with a current license in any 

jurisdiction and who is not currently suspended or revoked in 

any jurisdiction in the United States; (ii) a pharmacy 

technician with at least one year of experience performing 

technician tasks who holds a current registration in Virginia 

or current PTCB certification and who is not currently 

suspended or revoked as a pharmacy technician in any 

jurisdiction; or (iii) other person approved and deemed 

qualified by the board to be a program director.  

D. Instructors for the core components listed in subsection B 

of this section shall meet the requirements for the program 

director listed in subsection C of this section. The program 

director may serve as an instructor.  

E. The length of the program shall be sufficient to prepare a 

program participant to sit for the board-approved examination 

and demonstrate entry-level competency.  

F. The program shall maintain records of program 

participants either on site or at another location where the 

records are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. A 

program shall provide a certificate of completion, including 

the program approval number, to participants who 

successfully complete the program and provide verification of 

completion of the program for a participant upon request by 

the board. Records shall be maintained for two years from 

date of completion or termination of program.  

G. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 

change in the program to include a change in program name, 

program certificate, program director, instructors, name of 

institution or business if applicable, address, program content, 

length of program, or location of records.  

H. A pharmacy technician training program approval expires 

after two years, after which the program may apply for 

renewal. For continued approval, the program shall submit 

the renewal application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation 
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report on a form provided by the board at the time of renewal 

notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 

discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 

based on documentation of continued compliance with the 

criteria set forth in this section. 

18VAC110-21-160. Examination. 

A. The board shall approve one or more examinations to test 

entry-level competency for pharmacy technicians. In order to 

be approved, a competency examination shall be developed in 

accordance with and meet the recognized acceptable test 

measurement standards of the Joint Technical Standards for 

Education and Psychological Testing (American 

Psychological Association, current edition), and shall be 

administered by an independent third party.  

B. The board may contract with an examination service for 

the development and administration of a competency 

examination.  

C. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 

on the competency examination.  

D. Any requests for testing accommodations under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of 18VAC110-21-80 F. 

18VAC110-21-170. Renewal and reinstatement of 

registration. 

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 

and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 

submission of a renewal fee and renewal form. A pharmacy 

technician newly registered on or after July 1 shall not be 

required to renew that registration until December 31 of the 

following year. Failure to receive the application for renewal 

shall not relieve the pharmacy technician of the responsibility 

for renewing the registration by the expiration date.  

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 

within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 

fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having met 

the continuing education requirements.  

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

for more than one year following expiration and who wishes 

to reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 

reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 

fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 

reinstatement. Practicing as a pharmacy technician with a 

lapsed registration shall be illegal and may subject the 

registrant to disciplinary action by the board. 

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 

registration within five years of expiration shall not be 

eligible for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved 

training program and repeat and pass the examination or hold 

current PTCB certification before applying to be reregistered. 

18VAC110-21-180. Requirements for continued 

competency. 

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 

approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 

renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year.  

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet 

the requirements as set forth in 18VAC110-21-120 B or 

18VAC110-21-130 B.  

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 

may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 

pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 

of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician 

from complying with current year requirements. Any 

subsequent extension shall be granted for good cause shown.  

D. Original documentation showing successful completion 

of continuing education programs shall be maintained by the 

pharmacy technician for a period of two years following the 

renewal of his registration. The pharmacy technician shall 

provide such documentation to the board upon request in a 

manner to be determined by the board. 

CHAPTER 50  

REGULATIONS GOVERNING WHOLESALE 

DISTRIBUTORS, MANUFACTURERS, THIRD-PARTY 

LOGISTICS PROVIDERS, AND WAREHOUSERS  

18VAC110-50-40. Safeguards against diversion of drugs.  

A. The holder of the license as a wholesale distributor or 

permit as a manufacturer, warehouser, or third-party logistics 

provider, or registration as a nonresident wholesale distributor 

or nonresident manufacturer shall restrict all areas in which 

prescription drugs are stored or kept for sale to only those 

persons specifically designated as necessary for the 

manufacture, receipt, storage, distribution, or quality control 

of the controlled substance inventory and shall provide 

reasonable security measures to include appropriate locking 

devices on all access doors to these areas and adequate 

lighting both inside and outside the facility to deter 

unauthorized entry and diversion.  

B. The holder of the license, permit, or registration, except 

for those distributors of only medical gases other than nitrous 

oxide, shall install a device for the detection of breaking 

subject to the following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 

ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 

device.  
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2. The One communication line installation shall be 

hardwired and both the installation and device shall be 

based on accepted burglar alarm industry standards to 

include wireless motion sensors.  

3. The device shall be maintained in operating order and, 

shall have an auxiliary source of power, and shall be 

capable of sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity 

when breached if the communication line is not 

operational.  

4. The device shall fully protect all areas where 

prescription drugs are stored and shall be capable of 

detecting breaking by any means when activated.  

5. Access to the alarm system shall be restricted to the 

person named on the application as the responsible party or 

to persons specifically designated in writing in a policy and 

procedure manual.  

6. The system shall be activated whenever the drug storage 

areas are closed for business.  

C. Distribution or delivery of prescription drugs shall be 

accomplished in a manner to prevent diversion or possession 

of drugs by unauthorized persons.  

1. The holder of the license, permit, or registration shall 

only deliver prescription drugs to a person authorized to 

possess such drugs at a location where the person is 

authorized to possess such drugs, and only at a time when 

someone authorized to possess such drugs is in attendance.  

2. The holder of the license, permit, or registration shall 

affirmatively verify that the person to whom prescription 

drugs are delivered is authorized by law to receive such 

drugs.  

3. Prescription drugs may be transferred to an authorized 

agent of a person who may lawfully possess prescription 

drugs, provided the transfer occurs on the premises of the 

wholesale distributor, manufacturer, warehouser, third-

party logistics provider, nonresident wholesale distributor, 

or nonresident manufacturer and provided the identity and 

authorization of the agent is verified, and such transfer is 

only used to meet the immediate needs of a patient or 

patients.  

Part II  

Wholesale Distributors and Third-Party Logistics Providers 

18VAC110-50-60. Special or limited-use licenses.  

The board may issue a limited-use wholesale distributor 

license,; limited-use nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration,; or limited-use manufacturer, limited-use 

nonresident manufacturer, or limited-use third-party logistics 

provider permit to entities that do not engage in the wholesale 

distribution of prescription drugs or in the acts of a third-party 

logistics provider except medical gases and may waive 

certain requirements of regulation based on the limited nature 

of such distribution. The issuance of such a license shall be 

subject to continuing compliance with the conditions set forth 

by the board.  

18VAC110-50-80. Minimum qualifications, eligibility, and 

responsible party.  

A. The board shall use the following factors in determining 

the eligibility for licensure of wholesale distributors, 

registration of nonresident wholesale distributors, and 

permitting of third-party logistics providers:  

1. The existence of grounds to deny an application as set 

forth in § 54.1-3435.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. The applicant's past experience in the manufacture or 

distribution of drugs or devices;  

3. Compliance with the recordkeeping requirements;  

4. Prior disciplinary action by a regulatory authority, prior 

criminal convictions, or ongoing investigations related to 

the manufacturing, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing 

of drugs by the responsible party or immediate family 

members of the responsible party, and owners, directors, or 

officers; and  

5. The responsible party's credentials as set forth in 

subsection B of this section.  

B. Requirements for the person named as the responsible 

party.  

1. The responsible party shall be the primary contact 

person for the board as designated by the wholesale 

distributor, nonresident wholesale distributor, or third-

party logistics provider, who shall be responsible for 

managing the wholesale distribution operations at that 

location;  

2. The responsible party shall have a minimum of two 

years of verifiable experience in a pharmacy or wholesale 

distributor or third-party logistics provider licensed, 

registered, or permitted in Virginia or another state where 

the person's responsibilities included, but were not limited 

to, managing or supervising the recordkeeping, storage, 

and shipment for drugs or devices;  

3. A person may only serve as the responsible party for one 

wholesale distributor license, nonresident wholesale 

distributor registration, or third-party logistics provider 

permit at any one time;  

4. The responsible party shall be employed full time in a 

managerial position and actively engaged in daily 

operations of the wholesale distributor, nonresident 

wholesale distributor, or third-party logistics provider;  

5. The responsible party shall be present on a full-time 

basis at the location of the wholesale distributor, 

nonresident wholesale distributor, or third-party logistics 

provider during normal business hours, except for time 
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periods when absent due to illness, family illness or death, 

vacation, or other authorized absence; and  

6. The responsible party shall be aware of, and 

knowledgeable about, all policies and procedures 

pertaining to the operations of the wholesale distributor, 

nonresident wholesale distributor, or third-party logistics 

provider and all applicable state and federal laws related to 

wholesale distribution of prescription drugs or the legal 

acts of a third-party logistics provider.  

C. The person named as the responsible party on the 

application shall submit the following with the application:  

1. A passport size and quality photograph taken within 30 

days of submission of the application;  

2. A resume listing employment, occupations, or offices 

held for the past seven years including names, addresses, 

and telephone numbers of the places listed;  

3. An attestation disclosing whether the person has a 

criminal conviction or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges within or outside the Commonwealth;  

4. A federal criminal history record check through the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange; and  

5. A description of any involvement by the person with any 

business, including any investments, other than the 

ownership of stock in publicly traded company or mutual 

fund, during the past seven years, which manufactured, 

administered, prescribed, distributed, or stored drugs and 

devices and any lawsuits, regulatory actions, or criminal 

convictions related to drug laws or laws concerning third-

party logistics providers or wholesale distribution of 

prescription drugs in which such businesses were named as 

a party.  

D. Responsibilities of the responsible party.  

1. Ensuring that any employee engaged in operations is 

adequately trained in the requirements for the lawful and 

appropriate wholesale distribution of prescription drugs or 

the legal acts of a third-party logistics provider;  

2. Requiring any employee who has access to prescription 

drugs to attest that he the employer has not been convicted 

of any federal or state drug law or any law relating to third-

party logistics providers or to the manufacture, 

distribution, or dispensing of prescription drugs;  

3. Maintaining current working knowledge of requirements 

for wholesale distributors or third-party logistics providers 

and assuring continued training for employees;  

4. Maintaining proper security, storage, and shipping 

conditions for all prescription drugs; and 

5. Maintaining all required records.  

E. Each nonresident wholesale distributor shall designate a 

registered agent in Virginia for service of any notice or other 

legal document. Any nonresident wholesale distributor that 

does not so designate a registered agent shall be deemed to 

have designated the Secretary of the Commonwealth to be its 

true and lawful agent, upon who whom may be served all 

legal process in any action or proceeding against such 

nonresident wholesale distributor. A copy of any such service 

of legal documents shall be mailed to the nonresident 

wholesale distributor by the board by certified mail at the 

address of record.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC110-50) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

3/09). 3/2009) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonrestricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 3/09). 3/2009) 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 3/09). 

3/2009) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

3/09). 3/2009) 

Application for a Nonresident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 9/08). 9/2008) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor - 

Limited Use for Distribution of Medical Gases Only (rev. 

3/2010).  

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(eff. 9/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4673; Filed November 27, 2018, 8:49 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-690, 

18VAC110-20-700, 18VAC110-20-710; adding 

18VAC110-20-735).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39cdd002946~3&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39cdd002946~3&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39cdd002946~3&typ=40&actno=002946&mime=application/msword
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 55 and 168 and Chapters 58 and 110 

of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, the amendments authorize 

issuance of a controlled substances registration to (i) 

persons who have been trained in the administration of 

naloxone in order to possess and dispense the drug to 

persons receiving training and (ii) an entity for the 

purpose of establishing a bona fide practitioner-patient 

relationship for prescribing when treatment is provided by 

telemedicine in accordance with federal rules. The 

amendments include applicable recordkeeping, security, 

and storage requirements. The amendments replace 

emergency regulations currently in effect. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC110-20-690. Persons or entities authorized or 

required to obtain a controlled substances registration.  

A. A person or entity which that maintains or intends to 

maintain a supply of Schedule Schedules II through Schedule 

VI controlled substances, other than manufacturers' samples, 

in accordance with provisions of the Drug Control Act 

(§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) may apply for a 

controlled substances registration on forms approved by the 

board.  

B. Persons or entities which that may be registered by the 

board shall include, but not be limited to, hospitals without 

in-house pharmacies, nursing homes without in-house 

pharmacies that use automated drug dispensing systems, 

ambulatory surgery centers, outpatient clinics, alternate 

delivery sites, crisis stabilization units, persons authorized by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services to train individuals on the administration of 

naloxone and to dispense naloxone for opioid overdose 

reversal, and emergency medical services agencies provided 

such persons or entities are otherwise authorized by law and 

hold required licenses or appropriate credentials to administer 

the drugs for which the registration is being sought.  

C. In determining whether to register an applicant, the board 

shall consider factors listed in subsections A and D of § 54.1-

3423 of the Code of Virginia and compliance with applicable 

requirements of this chapter.  

1. The proposed location shall be inspected by an 

authorized agent of the board prior to issuance of a 

controlled substances registration. 

2. Controlled substances registration applications that 

indicate a requested inspection date, or requests that are 

received after the application is filed, shall be honored 

provided a 14-day notice is allowed prior to the requested 

inspection date.  

3. Requested inspection dates that do not allow a 14-day 

notice to the board may be adjusted by the board to provide 

14 days for the scheduling of the inspection. 

4. Any person wishing to change an approved location of 

the drug stock, make structural changes to an existing 

approved drug storage location, or make changes to a 

previously approved security system shall file an 

application with the board and be inspected.  

5. Drugs shall not be stocked within the proposed drug 

storage location or moved to a new location until approval 

is granted by the board. 

D. The application shall be signed by a person who will act 

as a responsible party for the controlled substances. The 

responsible party may be a prescriber, nurse, pharmacist, or 

pharmacy technician for alternate delivery sites, a person 

authorized by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services to train individuals on the 

administration of naloxone and to dispense naloxone for 

opioid overdose reversal, or other person approved by the 

board who is authorized to administer the controlled 

substances. 

E. The board may require a person or entity to obtain a 

controlled substances registration upon a determination that 

Schedule Schedules II through VI controlled substances have 

been obtained and are being used as common stock by 

multiple practitioners and that one or more of the following 

factors exist:  

1. A federal, state, or local government agency has 

reported that the person or entity has made large purchases 

of controlled substances in comparison with other persons 

or entities in the same classification or category.  

2. The person or entity has experienced a diversion, theft, 

or other unusual loss of controlled substances which 

requires reporting pursuant to § 54.1-3404 of the Drug 

Control Act.  

3. The person or entity has failed to comply with 

recordkeeping requirements for controlled substances.  

4. The person or entity or any other person with access to 

the common stock has violated any provision of federal, 

state, or local law or regulation relating to controlled 

substances. 

F. The board may issue a controlled substance registration to 

an entity at which a patient is being treated by the use of 

instrumentation and diagnostic equipment through which 

images and medical records may be transmitted electronically 

for the purpose of establishing a bona fide practitioner-patient 

relationship and is being prescribed Schedules II through VI 

controlled substances when such prescribing is in compliance 

with federal requirements for the practice of telemedicine and 

the patient is not in the physical presence of a practitioner 
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registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 

provided: 

1. There is a documented need for such registration, and 

issuance of the registration of the entity is consistent with 

the public interest; 

2. The entity is under the general supervision of a licensed 

pharmacist or a practitioner of medicine, osteopathy, 

podiatry, dentistry, or veterinary medicine; and  

3. The application is signed by a person who will act as the 

responsible party for the entity for the purpose of 

compliance with provisions of this subsection. The 

responsible party shall be a prescriber, nurse, pharmacist, 

or other person who is authorized by provisions of § 54.1-

3408 of the Code of Virginia to administer controlled 

substances. 

18VAC110-20-700. Requirements for supervision for 

controlled substances registrants. 

A. A practitioner licensed in Virginia shall provide 

supervision for all aspects of practice related to the 

maintenance and use of controlled substances as follows:  

1. In a hospital or nursing home without an in-house 

pharmacy, a pharmacist shall supervise.  

2. In an emergency medical services agency, the 

operational medical director shall supervise.  

3. For any other type of applicant or registrant, a 

pharmacist or a prescriber whose scope of practice is 

consistent with the practice of the applicant or registrant 

and who is approved by the board may provide the 

required supervision.  

B. The supervising practitioner shall approve the list of 

drugs which that may be ordered by the holder of the 

controlled substances registration; possession of controlled 

substances by the entity shall be limited to such approved 

drugs. The list of drugs approved by the supervising 

practitioner shall be maintained at the address listed on the 

controlled substances registration.  

C. Access to the controlled substances shall be limited to (i) 

the supervising practitioner or to those persons who are 

authorized by the supervising practitioner and who are 

authorized by law to administer drugs in Virginia; (ii) such 

other persons who have successfully completed a training 

program for repackaging of prescription drug orders in a 

CSB, BHA, or PACE site as authorized in § 54.1-3420.2 of 

the Code of Virginia; or (iii) other such persons as designated 

by the supervising practitioner or the responsible party to 

have access in an emergency situation, or (iv) persons 

authorized by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services to train individuals on the 

administration of naloxone and to dispense naloxone for 

opioid overdose reversal. If approved by the supervising 

practitioner, pharmacy technicians may have access for the 

purpose of delivering controlled substances to the registrant, 

stocking controlled substances in automated dispensing 

devices, conducting inventories, audits and other 

recordkeeping requirements, overseeing delivery of dispensed 

prescriptions at an alternate delivery site, and repackaging of 

prescription drug orders retained by a CSB, BHA, or PACE 

site as authorized in § 54.1-3420.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Access to stock drugs in a crisis stabilization unit shall be 

limited to prescribers, nurses, or pharmacists. 

D. The supervising practitioner shall establish procedures 

for and provide training as necessary to ensure compliance 

with all requirements of law and regulation, including, but not 

limited to, storage, security, and recordkeeping.  

E. Within 14 days of a change in the responsible party or 

supervising practitioner assigned to the registration, either the 

responsible party or outgoing responsible party shall inform 

the board, and a new application shall be submitted indicating 

the name and license number, if applicable, of the new 

responsible party or supervising practitioner. 

18VAC110-20-710. Requirements for storage and security 

for controlled substances registrants.  

A. Drugs shall be stored under conditions which that meet 

USP-NF specifications or manufacturers' suggested storage 

for each drug.  

B. Any drug which that has exceeded the expiration date 

shall not be administered; it shall be separated from the stock 

used for administration and maintained in a separate, locked 

area until properly disposed.  

C. If a controlled substances registrant wishes to dispose of 

unwanted or expired Schedule Schedules II through VI drugs, 

he shall transfer the drugs to another person or entity 

authorized to possess and to provide for proper disposal of 

such drugs.  

D. Drugs shall be maintained in a lockable cabinet, cart, 

device, or other area which that shall be locked at all times 

when not in use. The keys or access code shall be restricted to 

the supervising practitioner and persons designated access in 

accordance with 18VAC110-20-700 C.  

E. In a facility not staffed 24 hours a day, the drugs shall be 

stored in a fixed and secured room, cabinet or area which that 

has a security device for the detection of breaking which that 

meets the following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 

ultrasonic, or any other generally accepted and suitable 

device.  

2. The installation and device shall be based on accepted 

alarm industry standards.  

3. The device shall be maintained in operating order, have 

an auxiliary source of power, be monitored in accordance 
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with accepted industry standards, be maintained in 

operating order; and shall be capable of sending an alarm 

signal to the monitoring entity if breached and the 

communication line is not operational. 

4. The device shall fully protect all areas where 

prescription drugs are stored and shall be capable of 

detecting breaking by any means when activated.  

5. Access to the alarm system shall be restricted to only 

designated and necessary persons, and the system shall be 

activated whenever the drug storage areas are closed for 

business.  

6. An alarm system is not required for researchers, animal 

control officers, humane societies, alternate delivery sites 

as provided in 18VAC110-20-275, emergency medical 

services agencies stocking only intravenous fluids with no 

added drug, persons authorized by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to train 

individuals on the administration of naloxone and to 

dispense naloxone for opioid overdose reversal, and 

teaching institutions possessing only Schedule VI drugs.  

18VAC110-20-735. Requirements for dispensing of 

naloxone by trained individuals. 

A. Persons authorized by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services to train individuals on the 

administration of naloxone and dispense naloxone for opioid 

overdose reversal pursuant to subsection Y of § 54.1-3408 of 

the Code of Virginia shall maintain the following records: 

1. The prescriber's standing order issued in accordance 

with subsection Y of § 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizing the trained individual to dispense naloxone. 

2. Invoices or other records showing receipts of naloxone 

shall be maintained, but may be stored in an electronic 

database or record as an electronic image that provides an 

exact, clearly legible image of the document or in secured 

storage either on site or off site. All records in off-site 

storage or database shall be retrieved and made available 

for inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 

board or an authorized agent. 

3. A manual or electronic log indicating the name, strength, 

lot, expiration date, and quantity of naloxone transferred to 

and from the controlled substances registration location to 

the off-site training location, along with date of transfer 

and the name of the trained individual approved by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

4. Record of dispensing indicating the name of the person 

receiving naloxone, address or contact information if 

available, date of dispensing, drug name, strength, 

quantity, lot number, expiration date, and the name of the 

trained individual approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to dispense 

naloxone. 

B. The naloxone shall be labeled with directions for use in 

accordance with the prescriber's standing order, date of 

dispensing, name of person receiving the drug, drug name and 

strength, and the name and the telephone number for the 

entity associated with the controlled substances registration. 

C. The naloxone shall be stored and transported under 

appropriate storage conditions in accordance with the 

manufacturer's directions to protect it from adulteration. 

D. In the event of a manufacturer recall, the supervising 

practitioner or responsible party associated with the 

controlled substances registration certificate shall ensure 

compliance with recall procedures as issued by the 

manufacturer, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, or board 

to ensure an affected drug is transferred to a person or entity 

authorized to possess the drug for return or destruction. 

E. Except for a prescriber's standing order, which shall be 

maintained on site for a period of not less than two years from 

the date of the last dispensing, records shall be filed 

chronologically and maintained for a period of not less than 

two years from the date of transaction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5048; Filed November 21, 2018, 1:26 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 

(adding 18VAC110-50-55).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: December 13, 2018, through June 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia provides that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law requires that a regulation be 

effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  

Chapters 241 and 242 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 

enacted § 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, establishes 

the requirements for delivery of Schedule VI devices 

directly to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a 

medical equipment supplier upon a valid order from a 

prescriber or upon request from the medical director of a 

home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1194 

or hospice. This emergency regulation adding 18VAC110-

50-55 is necessary to implement Chapters 241 and 242. 

18VAC110-50-55. Delivery of Schedule VI devices. 

A. In accordance with the provisions of subsection A of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 

nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 

wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 

nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 

nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 

Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices 

directly to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a 

medical equipment supplier. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 

agreement between a delivering entity named in this 

subsection and a medical equipment supplier in 

compliance with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 

entity or multiple delivering entities under shared 

ownership and an individual medical equipment supplier or 

multiple medical equipment suppliers under shared 

ownership. The agreement shall be applicable to all 

ultimate users or consumers receiving services from the 

medical equipment supplier who require delivery of 

Schedule VI prescription devices. 

3. The medical equipment supplier shall represent to the 

delivering entity that it has complied with the provisions of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding the 

existence of a valid order from a prescriber for the delivery 

of a Schedule VI prescription device to an ultimate user or 

consumer. Validation of orders of prescribers shall be the 

responsibility of the medical equipment supplier upon 

request of the board or delivering entity. 

B. In accordance with the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 

nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 

wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 

nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 

nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 

Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices 

directly to an ultimate user's or consumer's residence to be 

administered by persons authorized to administer such 

devices, provided that (i) such delivery is made on behalf of a 

medical director of a home health agency, nursing home, 

assisted living facility, or hospice who has requested the 

distribution of the Schedule VI prescription device and directs 

the delivery of such device to the ultimate user's or 

consumer's residence and (ii) the medical director on whose 

behalf such Schedule VI prescription device is being 

delivered has entered into an agreement with the 

manufacturer, nonresident manufacturer, wholesale 

distributor, nonresident wholesale distributor, warehouser, 

nonresident warehouser, third-party logistics provider, or 

nonresident third-party logistics provider for such delivery. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 

agreement between a delivering entity authorized in this 

subsection and a medical director of a home health agency, 

nursing home, assisted living facility, or hospice and in 

compliance with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 

entity or multiple delivering entities under shared 

ownership and the medical director of an individual home 

health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or 

hospice, or multiple such entities under shared ownership. 

The agreement shall be applicable to all ultimate users or 

consumers of the home health agency, nursing home, 

assisted living facility, or hospice who require delivery of 

Schedule VI prescription devices.  

3. The home health agency, nursing home, assisted living 

facility, or hospice shall represent to the delivering entity 

that it has complied with provisions of § 54.1-3415.1 of the 

Code of Virginia regarding the existence of a request from 

a prescriber for the delivery of a Schedule VI prescription 

device to an ultimate user or consumer. Validation of the 

request from a prescriber shall be the responsibility of the 

home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 

or hospice upon request of the board or delivering entity. 

C. The agreement, as required by subdivisions A 1 and B 1 

of this section, shall be in written or electronic format and 

shall be retained in a format available upon request to the 

board at all times the agreement is in effect and for two years 

after the date the agreement is terminated or concluded. 

D. An agreement shall not contain any patient specific or 

patient health information that would be subject to the 

provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 (P.L. 104-191). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5526; Filed December 12, 2018, 2:27 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-131).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
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Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 (§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board 

of Physical Therapy the authority to promulgate regulations 

that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to 

encourage participation in the policy-making and disciplinary 

work of the board to give licensees a better understanding of 

the laws and regulations governing their practice. While a 

licensee can satisfy up to two hours of Type 2 continuing 

education with attendance at a board meeting or a hearing, the 

licensee is still required to have 20 Type 1 hours of approved 

continuing education for physical therapists and 15 Type 1 

hours for physical therapist assistants necessary to acquire 

new knowledge and skills. Therefore, the public health is 

served by a better understanding of ethical practice, but 

public safety is not sacrificed by permitting this use of two 

hours of Type 2 continuing education hours required for 

renewal. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

allowance of hours of attendance at board meetings or 

disciplinary hearings is voluntary and less restrictive. A 

licensee is not required to attend but may be credited with 

continuing education hours for doing so. The provision is 

permissive and not controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted an amendment to the 

regulation to allow physical therapists and physical therapist 

assistants to count two hours of the Type 2 hours allowed for 

renewal to be satisfied by attending a board meeting or an 

informal conference or a formal hearing conducted by the 

board. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is the incentive given for 

licensees to participate in the policy and disciplinary activities 

of the board in exchange for credit toward meeting continuing 

education requirements. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to allow 

physical therapists and physical therapist assistants to count 

up to two hours of required Type 2 continuing education 

hours to be satisfied by attending a board meeting, an 

informal conference, or a formal hearing.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

the proposed amendment. 

Estimated Economic Impact. In order to renew an active 

license biennially, a physical therapist or a physical therapist 

assistant must complete at least 30 contact hours of 

continuing learning activities within the two years 

immediately preceding renewal. Up to 10 of the contact hours 

required for physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours 

required for physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 

activities or courses. The current regulation states that Type 2 

activities may include but not be limited to consultation with 

colleagues, independent study, and research or writing on 

subjects related to practice. Up to two of the Type 2 

continuing education hours may be satisfied through delivery 

of physical therapy services, without compensation, to low-

income individuals receiving services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily 

for the delivery of health services. The Board proposes to 

allow attendance at a meeting of the Board or disciplinary 

proceeding conducted by the Board to count for up to two 

hours of required Type 2 continuing education hours. 

According to the Department of Health Professions, 

continuing education hours would be granted on a one-for-

one basis for the time of attendance (up to the two-hour 

limit).  

Similar to consultation with colleagues, attendance of board 

meetings or disciplinary proceeding would help practitioners 

be aware of current issues affecting the profession. 

Attendance of Board meetings would enable licensees to hear 

discussion of the statutes and regulations that directly affect 

physical therapy licensure and practice, including for recent 

examples, discussions about dry needling, consideration of 

participation in a physical therapy licensure compact, and 

tools available for physical therapists to gauge continuing 

competency, as well as possible legislation and regulatory 

proposals. Attendance of disciplinary proceedings would give 

licensees an opportunity to see/hear first-hand the practice 

issues/violations that are seen by the Board in disciplinary 

cases and how the Board sanctions violations. This would not 

only be an educational experience, it may also have a 

deterrent impact by virtue of educating practitioners about 

actions or conduct they should avoid in their practice. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects the 8,032 physical therapists and 3,348 

physical therapist assistants licensed in the Commonwealth.1 

Many physical therapists and physical therapist assistants 

work for large health systems. It is unknown how many work 

for small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 
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Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities.  

___________________________________ 

1Data source: Department of Health Professions 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Physical Therapy concurs with the economic impact 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows physical therapists and physical 

therapist assistants to satisfy up to two hours of the total 

Type 2 continuing education hours allowed for license 

renewal to be satisfied by attending a board meeting or an 

informal conference or a formal hearing conducted by the 

board. 

18VAC112-20-131. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a physical 

therapist or a physical therapist assistant shall complete at 

least 30 contact hours of continuing learning activities within 

the two years immediately preceding renewal. In choosing 

continuing learning activities or courses, the licensee shall 

consider the following: (i) the need to promote ethical 

practice, (ii) an appropriate standard of care, (iii) patient 

safety, (iv) application of new medical technology, (v) 

appropriate communication with patients, and (vi) knowledge 

of the changing health care system.  

B. To document the required hours, the licensee shall 

maintain the Continued Competency Activity and Assessment 

Form that is provided by the board and that shall indicate 

completion of the following:  

1. A minimum of 20 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants shall be in Type 1 courses. For 

the purpose of this section, "course" means an organized 

program of study, classroom experience or similar 

educational experience that is directly related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy and approved or provided by 

one of the following organizations or any of its 

components:  

a. The Virginia Physical Therapy Association;  

b. The American Physical Therapy Association;  

c. Local, state, or federal government agencies;  

d. Regionally accredited colleges and universities;  

e. Health care organizations accredited by a national 

accrediting organization granted authority by the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services to assure 

compliance with Medicare conditions of participation;  

f. The American Medical Association - Category I 

Continuing Medical Education course;  

g. The National Athletic Trainers' Association; or 

h. The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.  

2. No more than 10 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapists and 15 of the contact hours required for 

physical therapist assistants may be Type 2 activities or 

courses, which may or may not be offered by an approved 

organization but which shall be related to the clinical 

practice of physical therapy. Type 2 activities may include 

consultation with colleagues, independent study, and 

research or writing on subjects related to practice. Up to 

two of the Type 2 continuing education hours may be 

satisfied through delivery of physical therapy services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health 

services. Up to two of the Type 2 continuing education 

hours may be satisfied by attendance at a meeting of the 

board or disciplinary proceeding conducted by the board. 

3. Documentation of specialty certification by the 

American Physical Therapy Association may be provided 

as evidence of completion of continuing competency 

requirements for the biennium in which initial certification 

or recertification occurs.  

4. Documentation of graduation from a transitional doctor 

of physical therapy program may be provided as evidence 

of completion of continuing competency requirements for 

the biennium in which the physical therapist was awarded 

the degree. 

5. A physical therapist who can document that he attained 

at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool may receive 
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five hours of Type 1 credit for the biennium in which the 

assessment tool was taken. A physical therapist who can 

document that he attained at least Level 3 or 4 on the 

FSBPT assessment tool may receive 10 hours of Type 1 

credit for the biennium in which the assessment tool was 

taken. Continuing competency credit shall only be granted 

for the FSBPT assessment tool once every four years. 

C. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure by examination in 

Virginia.  

D. The licensee shall retain his records on the completed 

form with all supporting documentation for a period of four 

years following the renewal of an active license.  

E. The licensees selected in a random audit conducted by the 

board shall provide the completed Continued Competency 

Activity and Assessment Form and all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

F. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

G. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5366; Filed November 21, 2018, 1:48 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC155-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 18VAC155-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 54.1-201 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8511, 

FAX (866) 430-1033, or email wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use Public Participation 

Guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. The 

Board for Waste Management Facility Operators is the 

promulgating entity. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is clarity and conformity 

to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). Participation by the public in the 

regulatory process is essential to assist the board in the 

promulgation of regulations that will protect the public health 

and safety.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As the 

amendment merely conforms the regulation to statute and was 

recommended by the Department of Planning and Budget, the 

rulemaking is not expected to be controversial and is 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process. 

Substance: The amendment provides that interested persons 

may be accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative when presenting their views in the 

promulgation of any regulatory action.  

Issues: As the amendment merely conforms the regulation to 

statute, the primary advantage to the public and the agency is 

to ensure consistency between the law and regulation, which 

should reduce the chance of confusion. There are no 

anticipated disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Board for Waste Management Facility Operators (Board) 

proposes to specify in this regulation that interested persons 

shall be afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. "Public participation 

guidelines" that interested persons also be afforded an 
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opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities.  

______________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Waste Management Facility Operators concurs with the 

approval of the economic impact analysis. 

Summary:  

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative.  

Part III  

Public Participation Procedures  

18VAC155-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide copies 

of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and issues; the 

economic impact analysis of the proposed or fast-track 

regulatory action; and the agency's response to public 

comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior to 

or during any opportunities it provides to the public to submit 

comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after the 

publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register as 

follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5457; Filed November 26, 2018, 11:07 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-293. Locality Groupings 

(amending 22VAC40-293-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: January 23, 2019. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, TANF Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, FAX (804) 

726-7357, or email mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia places 

responsibility on the State Board of Social Services to make 

rules and regulations necessary to carry out the purpose and 

intent of the Code of Virginia as related to social services. 

Item 342 O of the 2017 Appropriation Act provides, "The 

Board of Social Services shall combine Groups I and II for 

the purposes of Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

cash benefits and use the Group II rates for the new group." 

Purpose: This regulation establishes criteria for local 

departments of social services to change Temporary 

Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) locality groupings. 

Each local area is placed in a locality grouping, which 

determines payment levels for recipients of TANF in that 

locality. The regulation provides the required data and the 

criteria to determine if a locality may switch to another 

locality grouping and change payment levels. The TANF 

Program provides an important safety net to low-income 

families and is essential to protecting the welfare of eligible 

citizens. The locality groupings regulation ensures that 

localities administer the program in a manner that best meets 

the needs of citizens. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

2017 General Assembly action amending the budget language 

was not controversial nor was it controversial when the 

change was implemented effective July 1, 2017. Because this 

regulatory action updates the regulation to reflect the intent of 

the budget change, it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: References to three separate groups is being 

replaced with reference to "one of two groups." This 

approach was determined to be a clearer, more streamlined 

change that is in keeping with practice, as opposed to 

eliminating "Group I" and having the regulation reference just 

Groups II and III. 

Issues: Localities are divided into two groups for the purposes 

of determining payment levels for recipients of TANF. 

Previously, there were three groups of localities. The 

definition of "locality groupings" is being amended to reflect 

two groups. Amending the regulation will ensure that it is 

reflective of the 2017 Appropriation Act (Chapter 836 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly) and current practice, and that 

program rules are transparent to the public. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services proposes to amend the 

definition of locality groupings to reflect a statutory change. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation contains a 

definition for locality groupings, which is used in determining 

the amount of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) in different geographic locations. Originally, there 

were three distinct locality groupings: Group I, Group II, and 

Group III. Item 342 O, of the 2017 Appropriation Act1 moved 

all localities in Group I into Group II, which went into effect 

on July 1, 2017. The proposed change merely reflects that 

statutory amendment. Since this regulatory action does not 

reflect any change in administration of TANF benefits, no 

economic effect is expected other than eliminating conflicting 

information between the Code of Virginia and the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are approximately 

21,000 TANF families of which 72% are in Group II 

localities and 28% are in Group III localities. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation reflects 

the fact that a recent statutory amendment moved Group I 

localities (i.e., Counties of Accomack, Alleghany, Amelia, 

Amherst, Appomattox, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, 

Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell, Carroll, Charles 

City, Charlotte, Clarke, Craig, Culpeper, Cumberland, 

Dickenson, Dinwiddie, Essex, Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, 

Frederick, Giles, Gloucester, Goochland, Grayson, Greene, 

Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henry, Highland, Isle of Wight, 

King & Queen, King William, Lancaster, Lee, Louisa, 

Lunenburg, Madison, Matthews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, 
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Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Orange, Page, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, 

Prince George, Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Rockbridge, 

Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, Surry, 

Tazewell, Washington, Westmoreland, Wise, Wythe, and Cities 

of Bristol, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Danville, Emporia, 

Franklin, Galax, Norton, Suffolk) into Group II localities (i.e., 

Counties of Albemarle, Chesterfield, Henrico, Loudoun, 

Roanoke, Rockingham, Warren, and Cities of Chesapeake, 

Covington, Harrisonburg, Hopewell, Lexington, Lynchburg, 

Martinsville, Norfolk, Petersburg, Portsmouth, Radford, 

Richmond, Roanoke, Virginia Beach, Williamsburg, and 

Winchester). 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No costs or other effects are 

expected on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. No adverse effects are expected on small 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 

1https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2017/1/HB1500/Chapter/1/342/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

Item 342 O of Chapter 836 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, 

the 2017 Appropriation Act, eliminated the Group I 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Family (TANF) Services 

locality grouping and moved all Group I TANF localities 

to Group II as of July 1, 2017. The amendment changes the 

definition of "locality groupings" to be consistent with the 

Appropriation Act, eliminating the reference to Group I.  

22VAC40-293-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Locality groupings" means the placement of a locality into 

either Group I, Group II, or Group III one of two groups, 

which determines the Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) payment level for families residing in that 

locality.  

"Standard of assistance" means the TANF payment standard 

that is graduated by family size.  

"State board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5462; Filed November 27, 2018, 11:58 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-370. Cigarette Tax 

Regulations (amending 23VAC10-370-20, 23VAC10-370-

40, 23VAC10-370-70, 23VAC10-370-90, 23VAC10-370-

100, 23VAC10-370-110; repealing 23VAC10-370-80, 

23VAC10-370-120, 23VAC10-370-180).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 25, 2019. 

Effective Date: March 12, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-

2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 

interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 

administered by the Department of Taxation. Section 58.1-

1016 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Department of 

Taxation to administer the cigarette tax. 

Purpose: As a result of a periodic review of the Cigarette Tax 

Regulations initiated by the Department of Taxation on 

August 3, 2016, and completed September 26, 2016, the 

department has determined that the regulation should be 

amended because the majority of the regulation sections are 

outdated and provide no guidance beyond the plain meaning 

https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2017/1/HB1500/Chapter/1/342/
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of the statutes to which they apply. This action removes 

language that provides no guidance beyond the plain meaning 

of the statutes. 

The amendment of the regulation does not reflect any change 

in current tax policy and has no impact on the administration 

of the cigarette tax. The regulation is amended to reflect 

statutory changes and to remove provisions that paraphrase 

statutes that are clear and unambiguous. This action amends 

the regulation to (i) remove language authorizing the use of 

meter impressions to evidence payment of the tax, (ii) reflect 

the department's policy that Virginia revenue stamps are heat 

applied stamps that may be applied by machine or by hand, 

and (iii) clarify that only duly qualified stamping agents may 

purchase stamps and apply them to cigarettes. 

This action repeals 23VAC10-370-80, 23VAC10-370-120, 

and 23VAC10-370-180 as they are outdated and provide no 

guidance beyond the plain meaning of the statutes to which 

they apply. The repealed sections are not necessary to protect 

the public health, safety, or welfare. A regulation that is not 

necessary to interpret the law or to protect the public health, 

safety, or welfare violates the general principles set forth in 

Governor Ralph S. Northam's Executive Order 14 (2018 

amended) signed July 16, 2018. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

department is using the fast-track rulemaking process because 

the amendment of the regulation to remove language that is 

outdated and provides no guidance beyond the plain meaning 

of the statutes is expected to be noncontroversial. No 

comments were received during the periodic review of the 

regulation. 

Substance: The Commonwealth imposes a state cigarette tax 

at the rate of 1.5 cents per cigarette (30 cents per pack of 20 

cigarettes), which is paid by stamping agents through the 

purchase of stamps. The revenues from the cigarette tax are 

dedicated to the Health Care Fund and used solely for the 

provision of health care services, including Medicaid 

payments; disease diagnosis, prevention, and control; and 

community health services. The regulatory action does not 

reflect any change in current tax policy and will have no 

impact on the administration of the cigarette tax. 

This action repeals 23VAC10-370-80, 23VAC10-370-120, 

and 23VAC10-370-180 as they are outdated and provide no 

guidance beyond the plain meaning of the statutes to which 

they apply. 

This action amends 23VAC10-370-40 to remove language 

authorizing the use of meter impressions to evidence payment 

of the tax. The department has not allowed meter impressions 

for at least 17 years. This action will also remove stamping 

requirements reflecting statutory law that has been amended. 

This action amends 23VAC10-370-70 to remove language 

that is outdated and provides no guidance beyond the plain 

meaning of the statute to which it applies. This section also 

will be amended to remove language authorizing the use of 

meter impressions to evidence payment of the tax. The statute 

does not authorize the use of meter impressions, and the 

department has never implemented the use of meter 

impressions. This section also is amended to reflect the 

mandate of § 58.1-1010 of the Code of Virginia that only 

wholesale dealers who have qualified as stamping agents 

under § 58.1-1011 of the Code of Virginia may apply revenue 

stamps to cigarettes. This section is amended to reflect the 

department's policy that Virginia revenue stamps are heat 

applied stamps that may be applied by machine or by hand. 

This action amends 23VAC10-370-90 to remove language 

that is outdated and provides no guidance beyond the plain 

meaning of the statute to which it applies. This section also is 

amended to reflect the mandate of § 58.1-1010 that only 

wholesale dealers who have qualified as stamping agents 

under § 58.1-1011 may apply revenue stamps to cigarettes. 

This action amends 23VAC10-370-100 to remove language 

that is outdated and provides no guidance beyond the plain 

meaning of the statute to which it applies. This section is 

amended to reflect the mandate of § 58.1-1010 that only 

wholesale dealers who have qualified as stamping agents 

under § 58.1-1011 may apply revenue stamps to cigarettes. 

This action amends 23VAC10-370-110 to reflect the mandate 

of § 58.1-1010 that only wholesale dealers who have 

qualified as stamping agents under § 58.1-1011 may apply 

revenue stamps to cigarettes. 

Issues: As this regulatory action updates the Cigarette Tax 

Regulations to reflect current law and remove language that is 

outdated and provides no additional guidance to statutes that 

are clear and unambiguous, there are no issues or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth, the agency, and the 

public associated with this regulatory action. The primary 

advantage to the Commonwealth, the agency, and the public 

is the repeal of regulatory text that is unnecessary and in some 

cases contrary to the statutory law because of changes in the 

statutory law that have been made since the regulation was 

promulgated. The remaining regulation will be up to date. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As a 

result of a periodic review,1 the Department of Taxation 

proposes to repeal provisions that are no longer accurate due 

to statutory changes or duplicative of the statutory language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation contains general 

provisions applicable to the cigarette tax. Numerous statutory 

changes in the 2004, 2005, 2010, and 2015 Virginia General 

Assembly sessions amended the cigarette tax and rendered 

the current regulatory language inaccurate.2 In addition, some 

of the current regulatory provisions are unnecessary because 

they are duplicative of information provided in the statute. 

The proposed changes will update the regulation so that it is 

consistent with the statute. Since this regulatory action does 

not reflect any change in current tax policy or on the 

administration of the cigarette tax, no economic effect is 

expected other than eliminating conflicting information 

between the Code of Virginia and the regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 

approximately 95 cigarette tax stamping permit holders. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 

is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property is expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. No costs or other effects are 

expected on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. No adverse effects are expected on small 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 

1See http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1515. 

2See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?042+ful+CHAP0003, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?041+ful+CHAP1029, 
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0028, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?101+ful+CHAP0701, 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0738. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 

Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments reflect statutory changes and remove 

provisions that paraphrase clear and unambiguous 

statutes, including (i) removing language authorizing the 

use of meter impressions to evidence payment of the tax; 

(ii) reflecting the department's policy that Virginia revenue 

stamps are heat applied stamps that may be applied by 

machine or by hand; (iii) clarifying that only duly qualified 

stamping agents may purchase stamps and apply them to 

cigarettes; and (iv) repealing 23VAC10-370-80, 23VAC10-

370-120, and 23VAC10-370-180, which are outdated and 

provide no guidance beyond the plain meaning of the 

statutes to which they apply. 

23VAC10-370-20. Tax levied; rate.  

The Virginia cigarette excise tax is imposed at the rate of 

one and one-quarter mills on each cigarette and is required to 

be paid by every person within the Commonwealth who sells, 

stores, or receives cigarettes made of tobacco or any 

substitute thereof, for the purpose of distribution within this 

State state except a retail dealer or other person who sells, 

stores, or receives cigarettes with Virginia tax stamps affixed 

thereto.  

Every person meeting the requirements of a permitted 

wholesaler under 23VAC10-370-120 shall be required to 

remit the tax on cigarettes for sale, storage or distribution in 

this state and be required to comply with all other provisions 

of this chapter.  

23VAC10-370-40. How paid; affixing of stamps; records 

of dealers; penalty.  

A. Generally. The Virginia cigarette excise tax shall be paid 

by the wholesale dealer who has qualified as such under the 

provisions of 23VAC10-370-120 or retail dealer who 

purchases unstamped cigarettes. Such payment of Payment of 

the tax shall be represented by a stamp, or stamps, or meter 

impression (hereinafter stamp) affixed to each package of 

cigarettes. The stamp value shall evidence the amount of tax 

imposed upon the individual package to which it is affixed.  

B. Affixing of stamps. Every wholesale or retail dealer who 

receives unstamped cigarettes shall, within one hour after 

receipt of such cigarettes, begin affixing the proper stamp to 

each individual cigarette container.  

1. The stamps shall be affixed to each individual container 

in such a manner that the removal will require continued 

application of water or steam.  

2. The wholesale or retail dealer shall continue stamping 

the unstamped containers of cigarettes until all of the 

products subject to tax have been stamped.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1515
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?042+ful+CHAP0003
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?041+ful+CHAP1029
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?051+ful+CHAP0028
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?101+ful+CHAP0701
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151+ful+CHAP0738
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3. B. Cigarettes destined for sale outside Virginia and in the 

inventory of a wholesale dealer engaged in interstate 

business, may be set aside and remain unstamped. Such tax 

exempt interstate stock shall be kept entirely separate from 

taxable stock in a manner to prevent the commingling of the 

interstate stock with the taxable stock.  

C. Records of dealers. Every wholesale and retail dealer 

subject to imposition of the tax shall keep a record of 

purchases of all cigarettes, and retain all books and records, 

pertaining to the purchase and sale of such cigarettes.  

Every wholesale dealer shall at the time of shipping or 

delivering any cigarettes make and retain a duplicate invoice 

which shows full and complete details of the sale or delivery 

of the taxable cigarettes.  

D. Penalty for failure to comply. Any wholesaler or retailer 

who refuses or fails to comply with any of the provisions 

within this section shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 

1 misdemeanor.  

 

23VAC10-370-70. Forms and kinds of containers, 

methods of breaking packages, and methods of affixing 

stamps; penalty for interfering with enforcement of 

article.  

A. Generally. The Department of Taxation requires each 

package of cigarettes to have a stamp or meter impression 

conspicuously affixed, showing that the proper Virginia 

cigarette tax has been paid.  

B. Methods of affixing stamps. Each wholesale or retail 

dealer stamping agent may affix such stamp or meter 

impression by using (1) hand applied stamps, (2) heat stamps 

attached to the cellophane wrappers and applied by a fusion 

stamping machine, or (3) Virginia tax paid impressions on the 

cellophane wrappers applied by cigarette tax stamping meter 

by hand.  

C. Penalty for interfering with enforcement of article. Any 

person who is subject to the Virginia cigarette excise tax who 

refuses to allow the Department of Taxation's agents to fully 

inspect his premises, or in any way interferes with any agent 

of the Department in the performance of his duties in 

enforcing the statutes or regulations relating to the cigarette 

tax shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 2 

misdemeanor.  

23VAC10-370-80. Documents touching purchase, sale, 

etc., of cigarettes to be kept for three years, subject to 

inspection. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Every person who receives, stores, sells, 

handles or transports cigarettes in any manner whatsoever, is 

required to preserve all invoices, books, cancelled checks, or 

other documents relating to the purchase, sale, exchange, 

receipt or transportation of all cigarettes for a period of three 

years.  

B. Examination of records. All invoices, books, cancelled 

checks and records dealing with cigarettes shall be subject to 

audit and inspection by any duly authorized representative of 

the Department during the usual business hours of the day.  

C. Penalty for failing to keep records. Any person who fails 

or refuses to keep and preserve the records as required, or 

who fails or refuses to allow an audit or inspection of the 

records required, shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 2 

misdemeanor.  

23VAC10-370-90. Monthly reports of wholesale dealers 

Cigarette tax credit certificates.  

A. Generally. Every wholesale dealer qualified as such 

under the provisions of 23VAC10-370-120, shall file monthly 

reports, with the Department of Taxation, covering the 

purchase or receipt of all cigarettes during the preceding 

month. Such report must be filed between the first and tenth 

of each month, for the preceding month.  

B. Information required on the monthly report. The report 

shall contain detailed information on: (1) tax value of all 

unstamped cigarettes on hand first day of month; (2) tax value 

of all unstamped cigarettes actually received during month; 

(3) tax value of unstamped cigarettes sold during the month; 

(4) tax value of unstamped cigarettes on hand last day of 

month; (5) gross tax value of Virginia tobacco revenue 

stamps on hand and unaffixed first day of month; (6) gross 

tax value of Virginia tobacco revenue stamps actually 

received during month; (7) gross tax value of Virginia 

tobacco revenue stamps on hand and unaffixed last day of 

month.  

C. Examination of invoices. If the Department of Taxation 

examines the invoices of any wholesale dealer and the dealer 

is unable to furnish evidence that sufficient tobacco revenue 

stamps were purchased to cover unstamped cigarette 

purchases, the prima facie presumption shall be that such 

cigarettes were sold without proper stamps. Such presumption 

shall be that the sales were made in violation of 23VAC10-

370-40.  

D. Penalty for failure to file. Any qualified wholesale dealer 

who fails or refuses to timely file monthly reports as required 

herein shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor.  

E. Credit for erroneously applied stamps and Virginia 

stamped unsalable cigarettes returned to the manufacturer. 

Any qualified wholesale dealer stamping agent who 

erroneously applies Virginia revenue stamps to cigarettes or 

applies Virginia stamps to unsalable cigarettes which that are 

returned to the manufacturer, may apply to the Department of 

Taxation for a cigarette tax credit certificate.  
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1. Application for a cigarette tax credit certificate should 

be accompanied by substantiating evidence showing the 

circumstances surrounding the erroneously applied stamps, 

the quantity of stamps erroneously applied, and resolution 

of the situation. Application for credit certificate for 

unsalable cigarettes which that are returned to the 

manufacturer should be accompanied by a manufacturer's 

affidavit or manufacturer's statement that such quantity and 

package size of cigarettes were actually returned.  

2. If the wholesaler has reasonably satisfied the 

Department of Taxation that the credit is due, the 

Department department shall issue a tobacco tax credit 

certificate.  

3. The tobacco tax credit certificate may be utilized for 

subsequent tax stamp purchases.  

4. If cigarettes are destroyed by fire or other disaster prior 

to stamping, application for a credit against accountability 

may be made with the Department department. If cigarettes 

are destroyed by fire or other disaster after cigarette stamps 

are applied, application for a tobacco tax credit certificate 

or tax refund may be made with the Department 

department. The application should be made as set out in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection section.  

23VAC10-370-100. Preparation, design and sale of 

stamps; unlawful sale of stamps a felony.  

A. Generally. Virginia revenue stamps (cigarette tax stamps) 

will be prepared and offered for sale by the Department of 

Taxation and may be purchased only from the Department of 

Taxation. It shall be unlawful for any person, other than the 

Department of Taxation, to sell tobacco revenue stamps not 

affixed to cigarettes sold.  

1. Virginia revenue State cigarette tax stamps may be 

purchased only from the Department of Taxation, 

Richmond, Virginia, or from certain district offices of the 

department or certain commissioners of the revenue, which 

may change from time to time authorized city or county 

officers. Specific information on current locations will be 

provided by the Department of Taxation upon request.  

2. Any purchase of Virginia revenue stamps must be made 

with cash, money order, cashier's check, or certified check 

unless bonding arrangements have been previously made 

with the Department of Taxation.  

3. The wholesale dealer will be required to bear the burden 

for any postage and shipping charges for any Virginia 

revenue stamps shipped or mailed.  

B. Penalty on unlawful sale of stamps. Any person 

unlawfully selling Virginia revenue stamps, whether the 

stamps are genuine or counterfeit, shall be, upon conviction, 

guilty of a Class 6 felony.  

C. Discount on sale of stamps to qualified wholesalers. 

Qualified wholesalers, as regulated in 23VAC10-370-120, 

who purchase Virginia revenue stamps for use on taxable 

cigarettes sold and delivered by them shall be entitled to a 

discount.  

1. For purposes of discount, carton shall mean (a) ten packs 

of cigarettes, each containing twenty cigarettes or, (b) nine 

packs of cigarettes, each containing twenty-five cigarettes.  

2. The discount on sale of stamps to qualified wholesalers 

shall be two and one-half ($0.025) cents per carton of 10 

packs of cigarettes, each containing twenty cigarettes and 

two and one-quarter ($0.0225) cents per carton of nine 

packs of cigarettes, each containing 25 cigarettes.  

23VAC10-370-110. Sale of unstamped cigarettes by 

wholesale dealers; penalty stamping agents.  

A. Generally. A wholesale dealer, who is qualified under 

23VAC10-370-120, stamping agent may sell cigarettes in 

interstate commerce without affixing Virginia revenue stamps 

if such cigarettes are sold and shipped or delivered to persons 

outside this state. However, cigarettes without Virginia 

revenue stamps affixed, may be sold in interstate commerce 

only if: (1) (i) such cigarettes are sold to persons engaged in 

business as dealers in cigarettes in other states; (2), (ii) such 

cigarettes are purchased from the wholesale dealer stamping 

agent exclusively for resale in other states;, and (3) (iii) such 

cigarettes are at the time of sale properly stamped with 

revenue stamps of other states.  

B. Other sales of unstamped cigarettes by wholesale dealers 

stamping agents. A duly qualified wholesale dealer stamping 

agent may also sell cigarettes without Virginia revenue 

stamps affixed thereto when: (1) (i) such cigarettes are sold to 

the United States or any of its instrumentalities for resale to 

or use or consumption by members of the armed services or 

to the Veterans Canteen Service of the Veterans 

Administration for resale to veterans of the United States 

armed services who are hospitalized or domiciled in hospitals 

or homes of the Veterans Administration or; (2) (ii) such 

cigarettes are sold and delivered to ships for consumption 

thereon, regularly engaged in foreign commerce or interstate 

coastwise shipping for consumption on the ships.  

C. Records needed for cigarettes sold and shipped or 

delivered in interstate commerce to a person outside Virginia. 

A qualified wholesale dealer, stamping agent who sells 

unstamped cigarettes which that are delivered in interstate 

commerce, must keep: (1) (i) adequate records which that 

record the sale; (2), (ii) a copy of the invoice for such 

purchase or other substantiating evidence, and (3) (iii) the 

receipt from the common carrier, contract carrier, or post 

office showing shipment for delivery in another state. If 

delivered by the wholesale dealer stamping agent to the 

purchaser at a point outside of Virginia, the wholesaler 

stamping agent must maintain in addition to other records 
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required herein by this chapter, a receipt which that shows 

such delivery. D. Records needed for sales of cigarettes 

properly stamped with revenue stamps of another state. A 

qualified wholesale dealer, stamping agent who sells 

cigarettes stamped with revenue stamps of another state must 

keep records of each sale, the original purchase order, a copy 

of the invoice for such purchase, and a receipt from the 

purchaser showing that the purchase was made exclusively 

for resale in another state. In addition, records must be 

maintained which that show the purchase and use of the other 

state's revenue stamps that the wholesale dealer used.  

1. Exception. The wholesale dealer stamping agent who 

stamps cigarettes with out-of-state revenue stamps and has a 

place of business located partly within a city in Virginia and 

partly without Virginia, or in a county which adjoins such 

city, shall not be required to obtain a receipt from a purchaser 

from the other state if the cigarette tax in the other state is 

higher than the tax imposed in Virginia.  

E. D. Cigarettes sold to the United States or instrumentality 

of the United States for resale to or use or consumption. 

Qualified wholesale dealers Stamping agents may sell 

unstamped cigarettes to the United States or to any U.S. 

instrumentalities for resale to or for the use or consumption 

by members of the armed services of the United States. The 

qualified wholesale dealer stamping agent may also sell 

unstamped cigarettes to the Veterans Canteen Service of the 

Veterans Administration for resale to veterans of the armed 

services of the United States who are hospitalized or 

domiciled in hospitals or homes of the Veterans 

Administration.  

Qualified wholesale dealers Stamping agents must keep 

books and records regarding such sales to the United States, 

U.S. instrumentalities, or Veterans Canteen Service and 

maintain files of the original purchase orders or copies of 

invoices showing such sales.  

Example 1: Qualified wholesale dealer Stamping agent A 

sells cigarettes to commissaries or officers' clubs operated by 

the U.S. Army as instrumentalities of the United States. 

Unstamped cigarettes may be sold to the commissaries or 

officers' clubs operated as instrumentalities of the United 

States.  

Example 2: Qualified wholesale dealer Stamping agent B 

sells cigarettes to federal reformatories for resale. The 

cigarettes must be stamped by the wholesaler stamping agent 

prior to sale. Cigarettes may be sold to the United States or its 

instrumentalities without tax stamps affixed only if such 

cigarettes are sold for use or consumption to members of the 

armed forces or veterans of the armed forces hospitalized or 

domiciled in hospitals or homes of the Veterans 

Administration.  

Example 3: Qualified wholesale dealer Stamping agent C 

sells cigarettes to the Post Enlisted Men's Club, which is not 

organized or operated as an instrumentality of the United 

States. The cigarettes must be stamped by the wholesaler 

stamping agent prior to sale since the Enlisted Men's Club is 

not considered an instrumentality of the United States, and 

such sale of cigarettes is not considered a sale made to the 

United States.  

F. E. Cigarettes sold and delivered to ships, for consumption 

thereon, regularly engaged in foreign commerce or interstate 

coastwise shipping for consumption on the ships. A qualified 

wholesale dealer stamping agent may sell unstamped 

cigarettes for delivery to ships regularly engaged in foreign 

commerce or coastwise shipping between points in Virginia 

and points outside Virginia. The unstamped cigarettes must 

be delivered by the wholesale dealer stamping agent to the 

ship. The unstamped cigarettes must be for resale, use, or 

consumption upon such ship or in foreign commerce.  

G. F. Conditions surrounding sale of unstamped cigarettes 

subjecting wholesale dealer stamping agent to tax. If any 

wholesale dealer fails to comply with any of the these 

provisions of 23VAC10-370-110, with respect to any sale of 

unstamped cigarettes, such wholesale dealer stamping agent 

shall pay the tax imposed upon such cigarettes.  

H. Penalty for violation of sale of unstamped cigarettes. Any 

person who violates any of the provisions on the sale of 

unstamped cigarettes shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a 

Class 2 misdemeanor.  

23VAC10-370-120. Qualification for dealer's permit. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Any wholesaler, who desires to qualify and 

receive a permit to purchase and affix Virginia tobacco 

revenue stamps to cigarettes, must make application to the 

Department of Taxation. Such application must be made on 

the forms provided by the Department.  

B. Issuance of stamping permit. After reviewing the 

wholesaler's application, the Department shall issue to the 

wholesaler it finds to be qualified, a permit which qualifies 

him to purchase and affix Virginia tobacco revenue stamps to 

cigarettes.  

C. Privileges of qualified wholesale dealer. Any duly 

qualified wholesale dealer, who has received his permit to 

purchase and affix Virginia tobacco revenue stamps, shall be 

allowed a discount on purchases of the Virginia tobacco 

revenue stamps for his individual use as regulated in 

23VAC10-370-100 C.  

The Department of Taxation shall not sell stamps subject to 

discount to any wholesaler until he has received from the 

Department a permit to purchase and affix Virginia revenue 

stamps.  

D. Revocation of stamping permit. The Department may 

revoke the wholesaler's permit if the wholesaler is found 

guilty of violating any provisions of the cigarette tax statutes 
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or any adopted and promulgated rules of the Department 

pertaining to the cigarette tax.  

Example 1: Wholesaler A has a place of business in Virginia 

and purchases unstamped cigarettes directly from the 

manufacturer. For purposes of the Virginia cigarette tax the 

wholesaler qualifies for a permit to buy at discount and stamp 

cigarettes with Virginia revenue stamps.  

Example 2: Wholesaler B is an out of state business with no 

business locations in Virginia. Wholesaler B sells cigarettes 

to Virginia retailers. Wholesaler B qualifies for a permit to 

buy at discount and stamp the cigarettes subject to the 

Virginia cigarette excise tax.  

Example 3: Chain store C distribution center with locations 

within and without Virginia, purchases cigarettes directly 

from manufacturers. Each distribution center within Virginia 

and without Virginia may qualify for a permit to buy at 

discount and stamp cigarettes subject to the Virginia cigarette 

excise tax.  

Example 4: Wholesaler D, a qualified wholesale dealer for 

Virginia revenue stamp purposes, receives a request from 

Retailer E to stamp cigarettes owned by the retailer. The sale 

of Virginia revenue stamps by anyone other than the 

Department of Taxation is prohibited.  

Example 5: Wholesaler F and Wholesaler G are engaged in 

a joint stamping operation. Each wholesaler must have been 

issued the permit required for stamping and each wholesaler 

must separately maintain all of his own records. Each 

wholesaler must separately purchase Virginia revenue stamps. 

If metering devices are used, each must have a separate meter 

with separately assigned meter number and each must stamp 

his own cigarettes.  

23VAC10-370-180. Sale, purchase, possession, etc., of 

cigarettes for purposes of evading tax; penalty. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Except as otherwise provided by law, it is 

unlawful for any person to sell, purchase, transport, receive or 

possess unstamped cigarettes.  

1. Certain persons, as regulated in 23VAC10-370-110, may 

sell unstamped cigarettes; however, no person shall lawfully 

sell cigarettes without stamps for purposes of evading 

cigarette tax.  

2. Any person who is not a regularly licensed dealer, as 

regulated in 23VAC10-370-120, having more than thirty 

packages of unstamped cigarettes in his possession in this 

State, is presumed to be evading the cigarette tax due on such 

cigarettes.  

B. Penalty. Any person selling unstamped cigarettes for the 

purpose of evading the cigarette tax shall be, upon conviction, 

guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5506; Filed November 27, 2018, 3:59 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 22VAC30-60, Grants to Area Agencies on Aging. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 24, 2018, and ends 

January 14, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy 

Advisor, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Opportunity for Public Comment on the State 
Implementation Plan Revision - § 110(a)(2) with 

Respect to the 2015 Ozone NAAQS 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to assure necessary authorities are contained in 

the state implementation plan (SIP) for the 2015 Ozone 

National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) supporting 

the infrastructure requirements of the federal Clean Air Act. 

The Commonwealth intends to submit the plan as a revision 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP in accordance with the 

requirements of § 110(a) of the Clean Air Act. The SIP is the 

plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its 

responsibilities under the Clean Air Act to attain and maintain 

the ambient air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the plan demonstrates the Commonwealth's 

compliance with federal Clean Air Act requirements related 

to general state plan infrastructure for controlling the 

interstate transport of air pollution for the 2015 Ozone 

NAAQS. 

Public comment period: December 24, 2018, through January 

23, 2018. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name and address of the person requesting the hearing 

and be received by DEQ on the last day of the comment 

period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any requested 

public hearing will be announced in a separate notice, and 

another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of a 

demonstration that Virginia meets the obligations of 

§ 110(a)(2) with respect to the 2015 Ozone NAAQS.  

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a 

revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) 

of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 

51.104. It is planned to submit all provisions of the proposal 

as a revision to the SIP.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 

day of the comment period. All information received is part 

of the public record.  

To review the proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airp

lansandprograms.aspx. 

The documents may also be obtained by contacting the listed 

DEQ representative. The public may review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until 

the close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations: 1) DEQ Main Street Office, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070; 2) 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4197, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 

impact review of 9VAC5-540, Emergency Generator 

General Permit, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated November 19, 2018, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 

with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 

and federal requirements that protect air quality. There was 

one comment received that requested a change to the 

regulation, but none were received that were consistent with 

the purpose of the regulation, which is to permit the use of 

emergency generators in emergencies. The regulation's level 

of complexity is appropriate to ensure that the regulated entity 

is able to meet its legal mandate as efficiently and cost-

effectively as possible. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with any state law or other state 

regulation.  

This regulation became effective in 2011. Over time, it 

generally becomes less expensive to characterize, measure, 

and mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor 

air quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 

efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 

impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 

emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation and 

relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 

requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 

emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 

minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia 

employers and their ability to maintain and increase the 

number of jobs in the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 

Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology conducted a 

small business impact review of 18VAC30-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology is publishing its 

report of findings dated November 30, 2018, to support this 

decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Counseling conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC115-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board of Counseling is publishing its report 

of findings dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision 

in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 26, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00059 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Appalachian Power Company d/b/a 

American Electric Power-Virginia 

of a pilot program for the deployment of 

electric power storage batteries pursuant to 

mailto:doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of 

Senate Bill 966 

and 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00060 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Virginia Electric and Power 

Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia 

of a pilot program for the deployment of 

electric power storage batteries pursuant to 

Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of 

Senate Bill 966 

ORDER ESTABLISHING GUIDELINES 

Pursuant to provisions within Chapter 296 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly ("Act"),1 the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") docketed these proceedings to implement 

electric power storage pilot programs for Appalachian Power 

Company ("APCo") and Dominion Energy Virginia ("DEV"). 

The Act directs the Commission to adopt such rules or 

establish such guidelines by December 1, 2018, as may be 

necessary for the general administration of the pilot programs. 

On April 20, 2018, the Commission issued its Order 

Directing Comments ("Order Directing Comments") herein 

for the purpose of receiving comments from APCo, DEV and 

any other interested party regarding the implementation of 

these pilot programs. The Order Directing Comments further 

required DEV and APCo to submit comments (and permitted 

interested parties to submit comments) concerning any rules 

or guidelines such utilities or interested parties believed 

necessary for the general administration of these programs.  

On June 19, 2018, DEV and APCo jointly filed comments in 

these dockets suggesting that the Commission adopt 

guidelines for the administration of these pilot programs (in 

lieu of a formal rulemaking). The utilities attached to their 

joint comments, a set of draft guidelines proposed as the basis 

for Commission guidelines concerning these programs.2 

Comments were also received from Cliona Mary Robb, in her 

capacity as Chair of the Virginia Solar Energy Development 

and Energy Storage Authority. No additional comments were 

received in response to the Order Directing Comments. 

The Commission Staff's ("Staff") Action Brief filed in these 

dockets thereafter stated that the guidelines jointly proposed 

by DEV and APCo were generally compliant with the 

requirements outlined in Enactment Clauses 9 and 10 of the 

Act. The Staff suggested revisions to the draft and further 

recommended that the Commission issue an Order providing 

notice of these draft guidelines, as revised by the Staff, 

allowing DEV and APCo, and other interested parties to 

submit comments thereon. 

On August 28, 2018, the Commission issued its Order for 

Comments on Draft Guidelines ("August 28, 2018 Order") 

soliciting comments on the revised draft guidelines. 

Comments were to be filed on or before October 1, 2018.3 

Thereafter, on September 28, 2018, the Commission issued 

its Order Extending Comment Period herein, extending the 

deadline for submitting comments on the draft guidelines to 

October 19, 2018. 

Comments concerning the revised draft guidelines were 

jointly submitted by APCo and DEV on October 19, 2018 

("Joint Comments"). The Joint Comments principally propose 

that the Commission incorporate in these guidelines certain 

provisions previously proposed by APCo and DEV in their 

joint submission on June 19, 2018 (but not incorporated in the 

revised draft guidelines attached to the Commission's August 

28, 2018 Order).  These provisions relate to the "repurposing" 

of battery energy storage systems during a pilot program 

subject to these guidelines.4 The Joint Comments also 

propose that utility annual reporting requirements in the 

guidelines be modified to address circumstances in which 

information for an annual report is not available or 

applicable.5 No additional comments were received 

concerning the revised draft guidelines made available for 

comment by the August 28, 2018 Order. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

matter, is of the opinion and finds as follows: The Act states 

that the Commission shall adopt rules or establish such 

guidelines by December 1, 2018, as may be necessary for the 

general administration of the pilot programs to deploy electric 

power storage batteries. We have considered all comments 

and submissions in these dockets, and find it reasonable to 

establish the Guidelines Regarding Electric Power Storage 

Battery Pilot Programs attached to this Order. We have 

substantially incorporated therein the modifications proposed 

by DEV and APCo in their Joint Comments, together with 

other clarifying changes. The guidelines attached to this 

Order show the additions and deletions associated with such 

modifications. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Guidelines Regarding Electric Power Storage Battery 

Pilot Programs as set forth in the Attachment to this Order are 

hereby established pursuant to the Act; and  

(2) There being nothing further to come before the 

Commission in this proceeding, the case is hereby dismissed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to:  Joseph K. Reid, III, Esquire, 

McGuireWoods LLP, Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, 

14th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Mark O. Webb, 

General Counsel, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 

Tredegar Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Noelle J. Coates, 

Senior Counsel, American Electric Power Service 

Corporation, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Suite 
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1100, Richmond, Virginia 23219; James R. Bacha, Esquire, 

American Electric Power Service Corporation, 1 Riverside 

Plaza, 29th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215; Cliona Mary 

Robb, Esquire, 3006 Seminary Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 

23227; and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219-3424. Copies shall be delivered to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and Divisions of Public Utility 

Regulation and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

_________________________ 

1The Act, signed into law by the Governor of Virginia on March 9, 2018, 
became effective July 1, 2018. At the direction of the Virginia Code 

Commission, Enactment Clauses 9 and 10 of the Act establishing this pilot 

program were codified as § 56-585.1:6 of the Code of Virginia. 

2The draft guidelines, inter alia, defined the scope of "battery energy storage 

systems" ("BESS"); outlined information to be furnished to the Commission 

regarding each proposal to deploy such storage systems in conjunction with 
these pilot programs; and contained utility reporting requirements including 

(i) written notice by these electric utilities to the Commission prior to placing 

a BESS into service as part of a pilot program, and (ii) annual reports by 
these electric utilities to the Commission concerning the status of each pilot 

program.   

3The Commission also directed the Commission's Division of Public Utility 
Regulation to provide copies of this Order and the draft guidelines by 

electronic transmission, or when electronic transmission was not possible, by 

mail, to individuals, organizations, and companies identified by Staff as 
potentially having an interest in these proceedings. 

4APCo and DEV propose that the guidelines permit a utility to utilize a BESS 

for some period other than the expected five-year period established under 
the draft guidelines if the BESS is "repurposed" by the utility.  Related 

language establishing procedures by which a utility would notify the 

Commission that a BESS is to be repurposed is also proposed in the Joint 
Comment. The Joint Comments further propose that "repurpose" be defined 

in the guidelines, and that this term be defined to mean "chang[ing] the 

application(s) or location of the BESS from what was in the initial project." 
The Staff's Action Brief had identified the absence of such a definition in the 

June 19, 2018 joint submission of APCo and DEV as one basis for not 

recommending the inclusion of "repurposing" provisions in the guidelines; 
Staff had also questioned the necessity of these provisions. The Joint 

Comments, however, noted that unforeseen events or changes in technology 

could result in the utilization of an installed BESS in a different or more 
economical way than originally approved. To allow for flexibility and to 

account for these possibilities, the Joint Comments advocated the inclusion of 

these provisions in the Commission's guidelines. The Commission is advised 
by the Staff that it has no objection to the inclusion of the "repurposing" 

language proposed in the Joint Comments. 

5Language proposed in the Joint Comments would permit a utility to note and 
explain any information requested in the guidelines that is not available or 

applicable at the time of each annual report. The Commission is advised by 
the Staff that it does not object to this proposed modification. 

Guidelines Regarding Electric Power Storage Battery Pilot 

Programs 

A. Purpose 

The Commission is establishing these guidelines pursuant to 

Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of the Grid Transformation 

and Security Act of 2018, Chapter 296 of the 2018 Virginia 

Acts of Assembly, regarding pilot programs for electric 

power storage batteries (the "Pilot Programs").1 Specifically, 

Enactment Clause No. 10 provides that the Commission shall 

establish such general guidelines as may be necessary for its 

administration of the Pilot Programs by December 1, 2018. 

B. Applicability 

These guidelines ("Guidelines") are applicable to each Phase 

I Utility and Phase II Utility, as such terms are defined in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. In 

other words, these guidelines are applicable to Appalachian 

Power Company, the Phase I Utility, and Virginia Electric 

and Power Company, currently doing business as Dominion 

Energy Virginia, the Phase II Utility. 

C. Definition 

"Battery energy storage systems" ("BESS"). A system that 

includes the battery (or batteries) and all the equipment 

necessary to interconnect the battery (or batteries) to the 

utility's electric system. This includes but is not limited to 

switchgear, transformers, inverters, switches, cables, wires, 

conductors, bus work, protection devices and systems, control 

devices and systems, fire protection systems, and 

environmental protection systems.  

"Repurpose." To change the application(s) or the location of a 

BESS from that stated in an initial project filing. 

D. Filing 

Each utility may file with the Commission one or more 

applications to participate in the Pilot Program at different 

times, up to the maximum allowable capacity cap of 10 

megawatts ("MW") for the Phase I Utility and 30 MW for the 

Phase II Utility. The utility will note and explain the omission 

of any information requested in these Guidelines that is not 

available or applicable at the time of each filing. 

Any information considered to be confidential may be 

designated as such, filed separately, and include a request that 

it be treated in accordance with the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, 5 VAC 5-20-10, et seq. 

E. Contents of Filing 

Each proposal to deploy a BESS submitted as part of the Pilot 

Program shall include the following information: 

• Location. The utility shall provide the location where the 

utility proposes to install the BESS. If the utility proposes to 

install a BESS at a customer premise, the utility shall provide 

the name and address of the customer, a description of the 

arrangement with the customer allowing collocation on the 

customer's property, and a description of the proposed 

ownership of the BESS. 

• Capacity. The utility shall provide the capacity of the 

proposed BESS and the aggregate capacity of all proposals 

approved by the Commission under the Pilot Program for the 

utility. 
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• Technology. The utility shall specify the proposed BESS 

technology and the manner in which the BESS will be or has 

been procured. 

• In-Service Date. The utility shall provide the expected date 

on which the proposed BESS will be placed into service. The 

in-service date shall serve as the start date for the BESS as 

part of the Pilot Program. The proposed BESS will be in 

service for five years unless the utility has provided notice to 

repurpose or retire the BESS. Each proposal shall include an 

explanation by the utility for any proposed use of the BESS 

beyond the five-year duration of the Pilot Program. 

• Useful Life and Decommissioning. The utility shall provide 

the projected useful life of the proposed BESS, including 

known or projected performance degradation and proposed 

plan for decommissioning at the end of its useful life. 

• Cost. The utility shall provide the projected installation cost 

of the proposed BESS and a detailed analysis of the projected 

operation and maintenance ("O&M") cost associated with the 

proposed BESS.  This shall include an appropriate cost metric 

for evaluation based on the proposed objective(s) of the 

BESS. 

• Asset Classification. The utility shall indicate its preferred 

classification of the proposed BESS as a generation, 

transmission, or distribution asset. 

• Objective. The utility shall specify the objective(s) that the 

specific proposal will seek to accomplish, including a 

description of how the specific proposal will accomplish the 

stated objective(s).  Permissible objectives, as listed in 

Enactment Clause No. 9, include: (i) improved reliability of 

electrical transmission or distribution systems; (ii) improved 

integration of different types of renewable resources; (iii) 

deferred investment in generation, transmission, or 

distribution of electricity; (iv) reduced need for additional 

generation of electricity during times of peak demand; or (v) 

connection to the facilities of a customer receiving 

generation, transmission, and distribution service from the 

utility. 

• Metrics and Performance Data. The utility shall provide the 

initial metrics that will be used to determine if the proposed 

BESS is meeting the objective(s) that the proposal seeks to 

accomplish. Initial metrics may include performance and 

operational safety metrics. 

F. Repurposing 

If a utility seeks to repurpose a BESS that the Commission 

has approved for inclusion in the Pilot Program and that the 

utility has deployed as part of the Pilot Program, the utility 

shall provide notice to the Commission at least thirty (30) 

days before repurposing the BESS. The notice shall include 

all of the information required by Section E of these 

Guidelines, as well as the reason why the utility seeks to 

repurpose the BESS. 

A repurposed BESS will continue to count toward the 

allowable capacity cap as originally approved. 

G. Reporting 

The utility shall provide written notice to the Commission 

within fifteen (15) business days of placing a BESS into 

service as part of the Pilot Program. The written notice shall 

include the actual capacity of the BESS placed into service 

and the capacity remaining available to the utility for future 

proposals under the Pilot Program.   

Each utility shall submit to the Commission an annual 

consolidated report on the status of the Pilot Program by 

March 31 of the following year. The report shall include the 

aggregate capacity of Commission-approved proposals under 

the Pilot Program. For each approved proposal, the report 

shall include (i) an update on the progress of the specific 

proposal in meeting its objective(s), using metrics identified 

in the initial filing for the proposal as approved by the 

Commission; (ii) an update on installation cost, as well as 

actual and projected O&M costs; and (iii) performance data 

and metrics over time, including any additional metrics 

developed during the course of the deployment. The report 

shall also discuss (i) transmission and distribution system 

benefits; (ii) line-loss savings; (iii) enhanced electric 

generation capacity; (iv) fuel cost savings; (v) ancillary 

services benefits; and (vi) any readily quantifiable economic 

development and job creation benefits across the 

Commonwealth. The utility will note and explain the 

omission of any information requested in these Guidelines 

that is not available or applicable at the time of each annual 

report. 

_____________________________ 

1Enactment Clause Nos. 9 and 10 of Chapter 296 of the 2018 Virginia Acts 

of Assembly were codified as § 56-585.1:6 of the Code of Virginia at the 
direction of the Virginia Code Commission. 

 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 26, 2018 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

CASE NO. PUR-2018-00061 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning the implementation by 

Virginia Electric and Power 

Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia 

of a pilot aggregation program pursuant 

to House Bill 1451 

ORDER ESTABLISHING GUIDELINES 

Pursuant to the Chapter 415 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 

("Act"),1 on April 20, 2018, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") issued its Order Directing 
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Comments ("Order Directing Comments") herein for the 

purpose of receiving comments from Dominion Energy 

Virginia ("DEV" or "Company") and any other interested 

party regarding a pilot program established pursuant to the 

Act.2 

Thereafter, on June 19, 2018, DEV submitted comments and 

draft guidelines in response to the Order Directing 

Comments. The draft guidelines addressed, inter alia, the 

applicability of the Commission's net metering rules to this 

pilot, various charges that participating schools will continue 

to pay, as well as metering requirements, the treatment of 

renewable energy certificates, and liability insurance 

requirements. Comments in this docket were also filed on 

June 19, 2018, by WGL Energy Systems, Inc. ("WGL 

Energy").3 No other comments were received. 

The Commission Staff's ("Staff") Action Brief filed in this 

docket on August 28, 2018, stated that the Staff was in 

general agreement with the draft guidelines submitted by 

DEV as well as further revisions made by the Company 

addressing questions raised by the Staff. The Staff then 

recommended that the Commission issue an order providing 

notice of the draft guidelines as revised ("Draft Guidelines") 

and allow an opportunity for interested parties to submit 

comments thereon.  

On August 28, 2018, the Commission issued an Order for 

Comments on Draft Guidelines.4 Comments on the Draft 

Guidelines were to be filed in this docket on or before 

October 1, 2018. Thereafter, on September 28, 2018, the 

Commission issued an Order Extending Comment Period in 

this docket, extending the comment submission deadline from 

October 1, 2018, to October 19, 2018. 

Joint comments and proposed modifications to the Draft 

Guidelines ("Joint Comments") were filed by DEV and 

Arlington Public Schools ("APS") on October 19, 2018. The 

Joint Comments, inter alia, sought to clarify the costs 

included in the VEPGA_RATE used in the guidelines' 

formula for crediting excess electricity generation to schools 

participating in the pilot program. Specifically, APS and DEV 

propose that the formula include the full cost of generation, 

including certain generation-related rate adjustment clauses, 

in calculating the VEPGA_RATE while excluding certain 

distribution- and transmission-related riders in that rate's 

calculation. No other comments concerning the Draft 

Guidelines were filed in this proceeding. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

matter, is of the opinion and finds as follows. The Act states 

that by December 1, 2018, the Commission shall adopt rules 

or establish guidelines "as may be necessary for the general 

administration of the pilot program."  

We have considered all comments and submissions in this 

docket, and find it reasonable to establish the guidelines 

attached to this Order. In particular, we have incorporated 

therein the modifications proposed by DEV and Arlington 

Public Schools in their Joint Comments concerning the 

formula for crediting excess electricity generation to schools 

participating in the pilot program. The guidelines attached to 

this Order show the additions and deletions associated with 

such modifications. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The guidelines as set forth in the Attachment to this Order 

are hereby established pursuant to the Act; and 

(2) There being nothing further to come before the 

Commission in this proceeding, this case is hereby dismissed.  

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent by the Clerk 

of the Commission to:  Joseph K. Reid, III, Esquire, 

McGuireWoods LLP, Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, 

14th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Mark O. Webb, 

General Counsel, Dominion Resources Services, Inc., 120 

Tredegar Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219; Noelle J. Coates, 

Senior Counsel, American Electric Power Service 

Corporation, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Suite 

1100, Richmond, Virginia 23219; James R. Bacha, Esquire, 

American Electric Power Service Corporation, 1 Riverside 

Plaza, 29th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215; 

Telemac N. Chryssikos, Esquire, WGL Energy Systems, Inc., 

101 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20080; 

and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424. A copy shall be delivered to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and Divisions of 

Public Utility Regulation and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

______________________________ 

1The Act, introduced as House Bill 1451 and signed into law by the Governor 
of Virginia on March 23, 2018, became effective July 1, 2018. At the 

direction of the Virginia Code Commission, the Act was codified as 

§ 56-585.1:7 of the Code of Virginia. 

2The Act directs DEV to submit a proposal to the Commission to establish a 

pilot program that would allow "any school in a public school division . . . 

that generates electricity from a wind-powered or solar powered renewable 
energy facility located at the school" certain enumerated options with regard 

to any amounts of generated electricity that exceed the school's consumption. 

The Act also directed the Commission, by December 1, 2018, to adopt rules 
or establish guidelines "as may be necessary for the general administration of 

the pilot program . . . ." 

3WGL Energy offered comments in support of the pilot and advocated that 

the pilot program operate in the form of a feed-in tariff that would enable 

third party suppliers to participate in the development and operation of solar 

facilities utilized in the pilot program. 

4In the Order for Comments on Draft Guidelines, the Commission also 

directed its Division of Public Utility Regulation to provide copies of that 

Order and the Draft Guidelines by electronic transmission, or when electronic 
transmission is not possible, by mail, to individuals, organizations, and 

companies identified by Staff as potentially having an interest in this 

proceeding. 
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GUIDELINES FOR PUBLIC SCHOOL EXCESS WIND OR 

SOLAR RENEWABLE GENERATION PILOT PROGRAM 

I. Introduction 

The defined terms in these Pilot Program guidelines shall 

have the meanings provided in Paragraph III, below. 

These guidelines are established pursuant to House Bill 1451, 

enacted as Chapter 415 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly,1 They 

will govern the Company's Pilot Program not to exceed an 

aggregate of ten megawatts ("10 MW") of installed capacity, 

for the treatment of any Host School's excess wind or solar 

renewable fuel generation, as envisioned by House Bill 1451 

and as described below. 

The Pilot Program will allow any Host School in a public 

school division in the Company's Virginia service territory 

that generates electricity from a wind-powered or solar-

powered renewable fuel generator, which is located on such 

Host School's premises, in an amount that exceeds the 

electricity consumed by such Host School to have the 

Company either (i) credit one or more Metered Account(s) of 

Target School(s) or (ii) provide a payment for such Excess 

Generation to the Host School. 

The School Board overseeing the Host School shall have the 

option to direct the Company to provide compensation for the 

Host School's Excess Generation on an annual basis, in a 

manner to be determined by the School Board, as follows: 

A. As the first option, the School Board could direct the 

Company to apportion the Host School's Excess Generation 

to the Metered Account(s) of Target School(s) in the same 

public school division, such that the generation energy 

charges on the electric bills of such Metered Accounts of the 

Target Schools would be reduced by the amount of the 

Excess Generation kWh apportioned to the Metered Accounts 

multiplied by the applicable VEPGA generation energy rate 

of the Target Schools;  

B. Alternatively, the School Board could direct the Company 

to pay the Host School for its Excess Generation through a 

power purchase agreement at a rate pursuant to the Amended 

and Restated Agreement for the Provision of Electric Service 

to Municipalities and Counties of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia From Virginia Electric and Power Company entered 

into by the Company and VEPGA on August 1, 2014, as 

amended. 

II. Term 

The Term of the Pilot Program shall be for six (6) years.  

Such term shall begin on the Commencement Date and end 

on the 6th anniversary of the Commencement Date, which 

shall be the Termination Date.  

III. Terms and Definitions 

The terms below shall have the following definitions for the 

purposes of these Pilot Program guidelines: 

A. "Act" – House Bill 1451 or Chapter 415 of the 2018 Acts 

of Assembly. 

B. "Agreement" – the Amended and Restated Agreement for 

the Provision of Electric Service to Municipalities and 

Counties of the Commonwealth of Virginia From Virginia 

Electric and Power Company entered into by the Company 

and VEPGA on August 1, 2014, as amended, and any 

superseding agreement reached between the Company and 

VEPGA for Electric Service to become effective subsequent 

to the August 1, 2014 agreement. 

C. "Commencement Date" – the commencement date for the 

Pilot Program, which shall be the first of the month that (i) is 

no less than fifteen (15) calendar days after entry of a 

Commission order adopting guidelines, rules, or regulations 

governing the Pilot Program and (ii) no more than sixty (60) 

calendar days after the date of such order of the Commission. 

D. "Commission" – the State Corporation Commission of 

Virginia. 

E. "Company" – Virginia Electric and Power Company, d/b/a 

Dominion Energy Virginia. 

F. "Customer" – Any person, group of persons, association, 

partnership, firm or corporation purchasing Electric Service 

from the Company. 

G. "Delivery Point" – the point where the Company's 

conductors for delivering Electric Service are connected to 

the Customer's conductors for receiving Electric Service. 

H. "Distribution Service" – The delivery of electricity through 

the distribution facilities of the Company to the Delivery 

Point of a Customer. 

I. "Electric Delivery Service" – Distribution Service, and the 

delivery of electricity under this tariff to Customers served at 

transmission level voltage, and related utility services, to the 

extent each is provided under this tariff by the Company. 

J. "Electric Service" – The provision, by the Company to the 

Customer, of Electric Delivery Service and, to the extent 

provided by the Company, Electricity Supply Service and 

utility services. Electric Service also means, where 

applicable, the interconnection of electric generators with the 

Company. 

K. "Electricity Supply Service" – The generation of 

electricity, or when provided together, the generation of 

electricity and its transmission to the distribution facilities of 

the Company on behalf of a Customer. 

L. "Excess Generation" – the amount of electricity generated 

by the Host School's Renewable Generation Facility during 

the Host School's Net Metering Period that is in excess of the 

number of kilowatt-hours consumed by the Host School 

during the same Net Metering Period. 
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M. "Host School" – a public elementary, middle, or high 

school that (i) is a Customer of the Company, (ii) is billed 

under an applicable VEPGA Rate Schedule, (iii) is situated in 

the Company's Virginia service territory, and (iv) has a 

Renewable Generation Facility, located on its premises, and 

generates more electricity than the Host School consumes in 

any Net Metering Period.  

N. "Metered Account" – the Company-assigned account 

number, (and any superseding account number(s) that the 

Company may assign for this same account) for a Delivery 

Point metered by the Company for a Target School, which 

was identified by the School Board to receive a portion of the 

Host School's Excess Generation.    

O. "Person" – means any individual, sole proprietorship, 

corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or any city, town, 

authority or other political subdivision of the Commonwealth. 

P. "Pilot Program" – the pilot program conducted by the 

Company pursuant to the Act. 

Q. "Rate Schedule" – any of the Company's rate schedules 

that are included in Attachment B of the Agreement.  

R. "REC" or "RECs" – one or more renewable energy 

certificates owned by the Host School and created by the 

renewable energy output of the Host School's Renewable 

Generation Facility. 

S. "Renewable Fuel Generator" – one or more electrical 

generators that meet the following criteria:   

1. Wind or solar power is the exclusive renewable fuel 

source; 

2. The Host School owns and operates or has contracted 

with other Persons to own or operate, or both, the electrical 

generator(s), pursuant to the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules; 

3. The electrical generator(s) is located on the Host 

School's premises and is connected to the Host School's 

wiring on the Host School's side of the interconnection 

with the Company;  

4. The electrical generator(s) operates in parallel with the 

Company's distribution facilities. 

T. "Renewable Generation Facility" – one or more Renewable 

Fuel Generators that has an aggregate installed capacity not to 

exceed the limitations of the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules. 

U. "School Board" – the local recognized elected or 

appointed board or group that is responsible for public 

education in the same public school division in which the 

Host School and Target School(s) are located. 

V. "Target School" – a public elementary, middle, or high 

school (including any public school technical center located 

in and only available to the public school students of the same 

public school division in which the Host School is located) 

that (i) is a Customer of the Company, (ii) is billed under an 

applicable VEPGA Rate Schedule, (iii) is located in the same 

public school division as the Host School, and (iv) has one or 

more Metered Accounts identified by the School Board to 

receive a bill credit amount based on an apportionment of the 

Host School's Excess Generation. 

W. "Term" – the six (6)-year period during which the Pilot 

Program is effective, beginning with the Commencement 

Date and ending on the Termination Date. 

X. "Termination Date" – the termination date of the Pilot 

Program, which will be the sixth anniversary of the 

Commencement Date. 

Y. "VEPGA" – the Virginia Energy Purchasing 

Governmental Association. 

Z. "20 VAC 5-315 Rules" – the Commission's Regulations 

Governing Net Energy Metering, 20 VAC 5-315-10, et seq. 

IV. Applicability and Availability 

A. Pursuant to the Act and the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules2 and 

pursuant to Attachment A of the Agreement, the Company's 

Pilot Program is applicable to any Host School which meets 

the following criteria: 

1. The Host School must be a Net Metering Customer as 

defined in the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules; 

2. The Host School's Renewable Generation Facility is 

accepted by the Company into the Pilot Program, along with 

any Metered Account(s) of one or more Target Schools, 

which have been identified by the School Board to receive an 

apportionment of the Excess Generation, as described in 

Paragraph VI, below; 

3. The following provisions of the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules are 

not applicable to the Host School or to any Target School: 

a. Agricultural Net Metering; 

b. Small Agricultural Generators provisions;  

c. The standby charge for residential Net Metering 

Customers; and 

d. Option for the Host School to sign a power purchase 

agreement with the Company under the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules 

if the School Board directs the Company to apportion the 

Host School's Excess Generation to Metered Account(s) of 

Target School(s) in accordance with Paragraph I.A., above. 

4. The Host School and the School Board-designated Metered 

Accounts of each Target School accepted into the Company's 

Pilot Program must purchase Electricity Supply Service from 

the Company during the Term of the Pilot Program. 

5. Once the aggregate 10 MW alternating current installed 

capacity limit is reached, this Pilot Program shall be closed 

and no longer available to other host schools. 
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B. Once a Host School is accepted into the Pilot Program, in 

accordance with Paragraph IV.A., above, the provisions of 

the applicable of Paragraph I.A., or Paragraph I.B., above – 

but not both – will be available at the conclusion of the Host 

School's Net Metering Period that is in progress as of the 

Commencement Date of the Pilot Program.  

C. The Pilot Program shall end on the Termination Date. As 

such, the provisions of the applicable of Paragraph I.A., or 

Paragraph I.B., above – but not both – shall no longer be 

available for the Host School's excess generation determined 

by the Company, in accordance with Paragraph V., below, for 

the Net Metering Period that is in progress as of the 

Termination Date of the Pilot Program. After the Termination 

Date, the VAC 5-315 Rules shall apply to the Host School's 

excess generation. 

V. Excess Generation 

A. The Company will determine the Host School's Excess 

Generation pursuant to these Pilot Program guidelines. 

B. The Company will calculate the Host School's Excess 

Generation for the most recently completed Net Metering 

Period during the Term of the Pilot Program.  Unless the 

School Board directs the Company to provide compensation 

for the Host School's Excess Generation in accordance with 

either Paragraph I.A. or Paragraph I.B., above – but not both 

– the Company will follow the 20 VAC 5-315 Rules 

regarding the Host School's Excess Generation. 

C. Within sixty (60) days of the effective date of the Pilot 

Program to the Host School, the School Board will provide 

the Company with the following information: 

1. A list of the Metered Account(s) for one or more Target 

School(s) to which the Host School's Excess Generation will 

be apportioned;  

2. The percentage of the Host School's Excess Generation to 

be apportioned to each Metered Account, where the sum of 

the percentages provided by the School Board for the Metered 

Accounts cannot exceed 100 percent or the total amount of 

the Host School's Excess Generation. 

VI. Billing and Payment 

A. Within sixty (60) days after the end of the Host School's 

most recently completed Net Metering Period and continuing 

annually, thereafter, for each successive Host School Net 

Metering Period during the Term of the Pilot Program until 

the Termination Date, the Company will do the following: 

1. If the School Board directs the Company to apportion the 

Host School's Excess Generation to one or more Metered 

Accounts, the Company will calculate and apply a bill credit 

dollar amount to each Metered Account, which will receive a 

School-Board-designated portion of the Host School's Excess 

Generation, using the following formula: 

TSMA_BCDA = EG * TSMA% * VEPGA_RATE 

Where: 

TSMA_BCDA = Target School Metered Account's Bill 

Credit Dollar Amount which is the 

amount that the Company will apply to 

one or more Metered Accounts 

designated by the School Board; 

EG =  Excess Generation at the end of Host 

School's most recently completed Net 

Metering Period 

TSMA% =  Specified Target School Metered 

Account's percentage of the Host 

School's Excess Generation that is 

designated by the School Board, for the 

Metered Account; and 

VEPGA_RATE = VEPGA Rate which is the applicable 

generation-related energy rate under the 

Electricity Supply Service Charges 

paragraph of the applicable, selected 

VEPGA Rate Schedule used to bill the 

Metered Account, plus all applicable 

VEPGA kWh-based riders with the 

exception of any non-fuel-related or non-

generation-related VEPGA kWh-based 

riders (e.g., VEPGA Rider U Phase 1-

CM, VEPGA Rider U Phase 2-CM, any 

other distribution-related kWh-based 

rider(s) which becomes applicable 

VEPGA in the future, and VEPGA Rider 

T). This generation-related VEPGA 

energy rate will be equal to the average 

annual generation-related energy rate, 

plus all applicable VEPGA kWh-based 

riders with the exception of any non-fuel-

related or non-generation-related VEPGA 

kWh-based riders, for each Metered 

Account for the consecutive 12-month 

billing period that most closely matches 

the Host School's Net Metering Period. 

Such average annual generation-related 

VEPGA energy rate per kWh for such 

12-month billing period will be 

determined as the sum of all of the 

monthly (i) generation-related kWh 

charges under the Electricity Supply 

Service Charges paragraph of the 

applicable, selected VEPGA Rate 

Schedule used to bill the Target School's 

Metered Account, plus (ii) the VEPGA 

fuel charges, plus (iii) the generation 

kWh-based rider charges, which are 

calculated for each VEPGA generation 

kWh-based rider and exclude any non-

fuel-related or non-generation-related 
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VEPGA kWh-based rider charges, where 

the sum is divided by the Target School's 

annual kWh consumption for the same 

12-month billing period. 

There shall be no assessment of any new service charges or 

fees in connection with or arising out of such crediting during 

the Term of the Pilot Program. 

If the School Board identifies one or more Metered Accounts 

but does not provide the Company with the corresponding 

percentage(s) to apportion the Host School's Excess 

Generation to the Metered Account(s), or otherwise does not 

follow the Pilot Program guidelines, the Company will 

provide compensation for the Host School's Excess 

Generation in accordance with the 20 VAC 3-315 Rules. 

2. If, alternatively, the School Board directs the Company to 

provide a payment to the Host School for the Excess 

Generation, the Company will compensate the Host School 

for the Excess Generation in accordance with the VEPGA 

Agreement. 

B. For each billing month, the Host School will pay to the 

Company the sum of the applicable Distribution Service 

Charges, Electricity Supply Service Charges, standby charges 

mutually agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the 

Agreement, and all riders applicable to the VEPGA Rate 

Schedule under which the Host School receives Electric 

Service from the Company. 

C. For each billing month, the Target School will pay to the 

Company the sum of the applicable Distribution Service 

Charges, Electricity Supply Service Charges, standby charges 

mutually agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the 

Agreement, and all riders applicable to the VEPGA Rate 

Schedule under which the Target School receives Electric 

Service from the Company. 

VII. Metering Requirements 

A. The Company will require the installation of an interval 

data recorder ("IDR") meter or an advanced metering 

infrastructure ("AMI") meter at the Host School's service 

location to measure (i) the Host School's average 30-minute 

interval capacity and energy consumption by half-hour during 

the billing month and (ii) the average 30-minute interval 

capacity and energy delivered to the Host School by the Host 

School's Renewable Generation Facility.   

If the Host School's applicable selected VEPGA Rate 

Schedule does not otherwise require interval data metering or 

if the Host School is not located in the Company's "AMI 

footprint," the Host School agrees to pay to the Company the 

Company's incremental cost for the interval data metering 

equipment, subject to an Excess Facilities Charge mutually 

agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the Agreement, 

during the period that the Host School participates in the 

Company's Pilot Program. 

B. The Company will require the installation of an IDR or an 

AMI meter to measure the total output by half-hour of the 

Host School's Renewable Generation Facility for the billing 

month.  The Host School agrees to pay to the Company the 

Company's incremental cost for the interval data metering 

equipment, subject to an Excess Facilities Charge mutually 

agreed to by the Company and VEPGA in the Agreement, 

during the period that the Host School participates in the 

Company's Pilot Program. 

VIII. Renewable Energy Certificates 

A. The Host School owns any RECs associated with the 

Renewable Generation Facility during the Term of the Pilot 

Program. 

B. During the Term of the Pilot Program and continuing after 

the Termination Date of the Pilot Program, the Host School 

agrees to waive any right (i) to sell to the Company or to any 

other party or (ii) to offer to market all Renewable Generation 

Facility RECs which are created and accumulated during the 

Term of the Pilot Program. 

IX. Liability insurance 

A. A Host School with a Renewable Generation Facility 

having an alternating current capacity not exceeding 10 

kilowatts shall maintain commercial or other insurance 

providing coverage of at least $1,000,000 for the liability of 

the insured against loss arising out of the use of a Renewable 

Generation Facility, and for a Renewable Generation Facility 

having an alternating current capacity exceeding 10 kilowatts 

the coverage shall be in the amount of at least $2,000,000. 

The Host School shall name the Company as an additional 

insured party under such policy. 

B. The Host School is not required to purchase additional 

liability insurance where the Host School's existing insurance 

policy provides coverage against loss arising out of the use of 

a Renewable Generation Facility by virtue of not explicitly 

excluding coverage for such loss. 

X. Additional Controls and Tests 

A Host School's Renewable Generation Facility shall meet all 

applicable safety and performance standards established by 

the National Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and 

Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories 

such as Underwriters Laboratories.  Beyond the requirements 

set forth in these Pilot Program guidelines, and to ensure 

public safety, power quality, and reliability of the Company's 

electric distribution system, the Host School whose 

Renewable Generation Facility meets those standards shall 

bear all reasonable costs of equipment required for the 

interconnection to the Company's electric distribution system, 

including costs, if any, to (i) install additional controls and (ii) 

perform additional tests.  To the extent permissible under the 

Virginia Tort Claims Act,3 the participating schools and 

school districts shall be responsible for any negligent acts or 
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omissions of their board members, employees, contractors, 

agents, students, or other representatives associated with the 

Pilot Program. 

XI. Reports to the General Assembly 

The Company shall submit a report to the General Assembly 

by December 1 of each year the Pilot Program is in effect, 

commencing in 2020, regarding the status of the Pilot 

Program's enrollment and any other information the Company 

deems appropriate. 

____________________________ 

1HB 1451 was codified as § 56-585.1:7 of the Code of Virginia at the 
direction of the Virginia Code Commission. 

2All 20 VAC 5-315 Rules definitions, which are applicable to the Host 

School, shall have the same meaning in these Pilot Program guidelines. 

3Article 18.1 (§ 8.01 - 195.1, et. seq.) of Chapter 3 of Title 8.01 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Dentistry conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC60-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board of Dentistry is publishing its report 

of findings dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision 

in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses.  

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Mount Jackson Solar III LLC Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by 

Rule - Shenandoah County 

Mount Jackson Solar III LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to construct a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Shenandoah County. The 

proposed Mount Jackson Solar III project will be a 16.2-

megawatts alternating current photovoltaic solar facility on a 

portion of one parcel, totaling more or less 130 acres, roughly 

positioned south of Wissler Road and west of Turkey Knob 

Road, near Mount Jackson in Shenandoah County. The 

coordinates for that project are 38.727014, -78.674170. The 

project will be comprised of monocrystalline photovoltaic 

collectors and associated equipment. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Pleasant Hill Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

City of Suffolk 

Pleasant Hill Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in the City of Suffolk. 

Located approximately three miles south of downtown 

Suffolk on Hosier Road, the proposed project is a solar 

photovoltaic electricity generation facility on single-axis sun-

tracking racks on roughly 160 acres of land, with a 

preliminary estimated capacity of 20 megawatts alternating 

current delivered via 73,000 modules. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

VSF Solar 2 LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Westmoreland County 

VSF Solar 2 LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Westmoreland County 

pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

project will be located on roughly 100 acres of agricultural 

land southwest of the Town of Colonial Beach. The project is 

anticipated to have a nameplate capacity of 11 megawatts 

alternating current and will be comprised of approximately 

39,210 solar panels. The coordinates are Latitude 

38.245N/Longitude 76.992W. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers conducted a small 

business impact review of 18VAC65-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers is publishing its report of findings 

dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 
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The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 

367-4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Health Professions conducted a small business impact 

review of 18VAC75-11, Public Participation Guidelines, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board of Health Professions is publishing 

its report of findings dated November 30, 2018, to support 

this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code 

of Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Health Professions conducted a small business 

impact review of 18VAC76-31, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The Department of Health 

Professions is publishing its report of findings dated 

November 30, 2018, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The department received no complaints or recommendations 

for change to public participation guidelines. There is no 

impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Juvenile 

Justice is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of each of the regulations listed below. The 

review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

6VAC35-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

6VAC35-190, Regulations Governing Juvenile Work and 

Educational Release Programs 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 24, 2018, and ends 

January 22, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Kristen 

Peterson, Regulatory Coordinator, Board of Juvenile Justice, 

P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 

588-3902, FAX (804) 371-6497, or email 

kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators conducted a small 

business impact review of 18VAC95-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Board of Long-

Term Care Administrators is publishing its report of findings 

dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 
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The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Opportunity for Public Review of the Draft 
Transportation Provider Manual 

The draft chapters (Chapters 2, 4, and 5) of the Transportation 

Provider Manual are posted on the DMAS website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft. 

The Transportation Provider Manual will be finalized and 

officially posted by January 11, 2019, at 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/myport

al/ProviderManual.  

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Medicine conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC85-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board of Medicine is publishing its report 

of findings dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision 

in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Nursing conducted a small business impact review of 

18VAC90-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Board of Nursing is publishing its report of 

findings dated November 30, 2018, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The board received no complaints or recommendations for 

change to public participation guidelines. There is no impact 

on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Richmond VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX (804) 

527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety 

and Health Codes Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 16VAC25-145, Safety Standards for Fall 

Protection in Steel Erection, Construction Industry, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The Safety and Health Codes Board is 

publishing its report of findings dated November 8, 2018, to 

support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 

Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because it most 

adequately protects Virginia workers from hazards in the steel 

erection industry. The regulation, as written, continues to 

protect the safety, health, and welfare of the public by 

limiting worker exposure to hazards, with the least cost to 

citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth. No comments 

were received during this periodic review. The regulation is 

not overly complex and is clearly written. It does not 

duplicate, overlap, or conflict with state or federal laws or 

regulations, and there is no apparent negative impact on the 

regulated community. The regulation was last reviewed in 

2014. There have been little or no changes in technology, 

economic conditions, and other factors that would affect the 

regulation. 

Contact Information: Holly Raney, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, email holly.raney@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the State Board of Social 

Services is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of each of the regulations listed below. The 

review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  
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22VAC40-295, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) 

22VAC40-470, Exemptions Applicable to Public 

Assistance Programs 

22VAC40-601, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins December 24, 2018, and ends 

January 14, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Vanea Preston, Assistant Director of the 

Division of Benefit Programs, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7889, FAX (804) 819-7184, or email 

vanea.preson@dss.virginia.gov.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for the Loudoun County 
Sanitation Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Loudoun 

County Sanitation Authority for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and regulations at the Elysian Heights Sewage 

Treatment Plant located in Leesburg, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Elysian Heights 

Sewage Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Stephanie Bellotti will accept comments by email at 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

December 25, 2018, through January 24, 2019. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Wash City LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Wash City LLC 

for violations of the State Water Control Law in Northampton 

County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell 

Deppe will accept comments by email at 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from December 24, 2018, to 

January 24, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for Welbourne LP 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Welbourne LP 

for violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations 

at the Welbourne Bed and Breakfast Sewage Treatment Plant 

located in Loudoun County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 

violations associated with the Welbourne Bed and Breakfast 

Sewage Treatment Plant. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Benjamin Holland will accept comments by email at 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

December 25, 2018, through January 24, 2019. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD AND VIRGINIA 
WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Fitzgerald's  
Orchards LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fitzgerald's 

Orchards LLC for violations at the Fitzgerald's Orchard in 

Nelson County, Virginia.  The State Water Control Board and 

the Virginia Waste Management Board propose to issue a 

consent order to Fitzgerald's Orchards LLC to address 

noncompliance with the State Water Control Law, Virginia 

Waste Management Act, and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Tamara Ambler will accept comments 

by email at tamara.ambler@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 

574-7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental 

Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from December 24, 2018, to 

January 23, 2019. 

 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:vanea.preson@dss.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:tamara.ambler@deq.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 35, Issue 9 Virginia Register of Regulations December 24, 2018 

1221 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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