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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 
Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 
Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. 
Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

March 2019 through April 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:15 February 27, 2019 March 18, 2019 

35:16 March 13, 2019 April 1, 2019 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Willard Vaughn. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
residents in counseling to prohibit promoting or advertising 
their services independently to solicit business from the 
public. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on February 
8, 2019, the board discussed the request to amend regulations 
and all comment received. The board concurred with many of 
the comments in opposition and voted not to initiate 
rulemaking at this time. A letter was sent to the petitioner to 
inform him of the board's decision. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-16; Filed February 12, 2019, 9:12 a.m. 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jamie West. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To count up to 600 hours of 
supervised experience in a Commission on Accreditation for 
Marriage and Family Therapy Education or a Council for 
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 
Programs doctoral program toward hours of residency. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on February 
8, 2019, the board discussed the request to amend regulations 
and all comment received. The board voted to submit a 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to initiate 
rulemaking and receive further information and comment. 
Once the NOIRA is approved by the Governor, it will be 
published and a 30-day public comment period will be 
opened. The regulatory process typically takes 18 months to 
complete. The petitioner was advised to follow its progress on 
the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 
www.townhall.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-17; Filed February 12, 2019, 9:18 a.m. 

 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending 12VAC5-230, State Medical Facilities 
Plan. The purpose of the proposed action is to begin the 
process of fulfilling the statutory mandate for the State 
Medical Facilities Plan (SMFP) Task Force to complete a 
review to update or validate the certificate of public need 
(COPN) criteria in the SMFP at least every four years by 
updating standards to reflect current clinical application and 
technical capability. Any decision to issue a COPN must be 
consistent with the most recent applicable provisions of the 
SMFP, which is the regulation providing service or facility 
specific criteria for determining public need. In making a 
determination of need for a requested project, the State Health 
Commissioner must take into consideration each of eight 
statutory criteria for determining need, including consistency 
with the SMFP.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-102.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, COPN Division Director, 
Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-1889, FAX 
(804) 527-4502, or email erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5768; Filed February 5, 2019, 3:57 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given that the Board of Funeral Directors 
and Embalmers has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action for 18VAC65-40, Regulations for the 
Funeral Service Internship Program, which was published 
in 34:25 VA.R. 2489 August 6, 2018. The amendments 
intended for this action will be incorporated into an action 
resulting from the periodic review of 18VAC65-40. A new 
notice announcing an action including all amendments from 
the periodic review will be published at a later date.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 
(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 
corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5595; Filed February 1, 2019, 4:24 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to consider repealing 22VAC40-191, Background 
Checks for Child Welfare Agencies, and promulgating 
22VAC40-192, Background Checks for Child Welfare 
Agencies. The purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the 
existing regulation, 22VAC40-191, and replace it with a new 
regulation, 22VAC40-192, for consistency with federal law 
and the Code of Virginia. Repeal of the existing regulation 
and adoption of a new regulation allows greater flexibility to 
adjust the structure, format, and language of the regulation 
while incorporating state and federal requirements for 
background checks. Multiple changes are needed to update 
the existing regulation, including new requirements for 
fingerprint based background checks and out-of-state child 
abuse and neglect registry background checks, as well as 
correcting Code of Virginia citations that are no longer 
accurate. Several new sections will be added to provide 
program specific information. Other changes the agency 
deems necessary after comments and review may also be 
made. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Deborah Eves, Program Consultant, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7506, or email 
deborah.eves@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5557; Filed February 8, 2019, 8:49 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol34/iss25/v34i25.pdf
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-70. Other Provisions 
(amending 3VAC5-70-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-227 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: May 6, 2019. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 
2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 
(804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 
latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. Section 4.1-
103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the powers of the 
board of directors, which includes the authority to adopt 
regulations and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry 
out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
including promulgate regulations in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act and § 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 4.1-227 of the Code of Virginia permits the 
board to impose and collect civil penalties. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed amendments is to amend 
civil penalties for first-offense violations so that the new 
schedule of penalties will continue to encourage settlement for 
first-offense matters where there are no disputed facts and the 
licensee desires to resolve the matter without a hearing. The 
penalties remain lower than the maximum penalties listed in the 
Code of Virginia; however, there is a reasonable increase in 
previous amounts to reflect the increases in maximum civil 
penalties listed in § 4.1-227 of the Code of Virginia that were 
enacted in 2017. This action protects public health, safety, or 
welfare because increasing the penalties acts as a deterrent to 
licensees committing violations while still promoting education 
of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act in exchange for a lower 
penalty and making the disciplinary process more efficient. 

Substance: Any licensee charged with one of the offenses 
listed in 3VAC5-70-210, provided that the licensee has no 
other pending charges and has not had any substantiated 
violations of regulation or statute within the three years 
immediately preceding the date of the violation, may enter a 

written waiver of hearing and accept a period of suspension 
or pay a civil charge in lieu of a suspension. The amounts of 
the civil charges are listed in 3VAC5-70-210 and are less than 
the maximum monetary penalties permitted by § 4.1-227 of 
the Code of Virginia. The amendments increase the civil 
charges listed in 3VAC5-70-210 by either $250 or $500. The 
current civil charges are based on out-of-date maximum 
penalties that existed prior to the amendments in 2017. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, that is, licensees, 
is that the regulation continues to function as a means to 
allow licensees to resolve low-level first offenses 
expeditiously through a process that resolves the matter 
without licensees having to go through the hearing process, 
which can oftentimes be intimidating and stressful. The 
"disadvantage" is that these new penalties are higher than the 
previous penalties, but the General Assembly has increased 
the statutory maximums, so these penalties should increase as 
well to maintain a degree of consequence. 

The primary advantage to the agency is that the regulation 
continues to encourage prompt resolution for undisputed, 
low-level violations. This is very beneficial to the agency as a 
whole because since becoming an authority, the agency is 
operating with a part-time board of directors, and the more 
cases that are resolved through settlement, the less taxing it is 
on the board. There are no disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Following the 2017 legislative increase in maximum amount 
of penalties the Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board 
of Directors (Board) is authorized to impose,1 the Board 
proposes to increase penalties for first-offense violations by 
either $250 or $500. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The 2017 General Assembly 
increased the maximum penalty from $2,500 to $3,000 for first-
offense violations involving sale of alcohol to persons prohibited 
from purchasing alcohol and from $1,000 to $2,000 for other 
first-offense violations.2 Accordingly, the Board proposes to 
increase the 26 different civil charges prescribed in this 
regulation by either $250 or $500. Based on the type and number 
of violations that occurred in 2017, the Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Authority (ABC) expects the collections of penalties to 
increase from $532,225 to $794,250, a $262,025 annual increase. 
The money collected from penalties is a source of General Fund 
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revenue. Thus, the anticipated increase will be available to pay 
for general state expenditures. 

In addition to the positive revenue impact, higher penalties 
would likely discourage violations and improve compliance. 
According to ABC, the Board opted not to increase the penalties 
to the maximum authorized in the legislation in order to 
encourage resolution of low-level first offenses expeditiously 
through a process without licensees having to go through the 
hearing process, which can oftentimes be intimidating and 
stressful. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed new civil 
penalties apply to approximately 18,000 Board licensees. Most 
of the licensees are likely small businesses such as restaurants, 
bars, grocery stores, wineries, etc. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes would 
not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 
unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 
changes are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 
property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed changes would 
not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed changes would not have 
costs or other effects on small businesses licensees unless they 
commit a first-offense. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed changes would not impose adverse impacts on small 
businesses unless they commit a first-offense. There is no known 
alternative to minimize the adverse impact on such businesses 
while accomplishing the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed changes would not impose adverse 
impacts on non-small business licensees unless they commit a 
first-offense. 

Localities. The proposed changes would not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed changes would not adversely affect 
other entities.  

_______________________ 
1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0698 
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0707 
2Ibid. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary:  

The proposed amendments increase the civil penalty 
amounts charged in lieu of suspension for first-offense 
violations for a licensee that has no other pending charges, 
has not had a violation in three years, and enters a written 
waiver of hearing. The proposed increases reflect 
maximums effective July 2017 in § 4.1-227 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

3VAC5-70-210. Schedule of penalties for first-offense 
violations. 

A. Any licensee charged with any violation of board 
regulations or statutes listed below in this subsection, if the 
licensee has no other pending charges and has not had any 
substantiated violations of regulation or statute within the 
three years immediately preceding the date of the violation, 
may enter a written waiver of hearing and (i) accept the 
period of license suspension set forth below in this subsection 
for the violation, or (ii) pay the civil charge set forth below 
for the violation in lieu of suspension. In the case of a 
violation involving the sale of beer, wine, or mixed beverages 
to a person at least 18 but under younger than 21 years of age, 
or to an intoxicated person, or allowing consumption of such 
beverages by such person, any retail licensee that can 
demonstrate that it provided alcohol seller/server seller or 
server training certified in advance by the board to the 
employee responsible for such violation within the 12 months 
immediately preceding the alleged violation may accept the 
lesser period of license suspension or pay the lesser civil 
charge listed below for the violation in lieu of suspension. 
Any notice of hearing served on a licensee for a violation 
covered by this section shall contain a notice of the licensee's 
options under this section. Any licensee who fails to notify 
the board of its intent to exercise one of the options provided 
for under this section within 20 days after the date of mailing 
of the notice of hearing shall be deemed to have waived the 
right to exercise such options, and the case shall proceed to 
hearing. For good cause shown, the board may, in its 
discretion, allow a licensee to exercise the options provided 
for under this section beyond the 20-day period. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0698
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0707
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VIOLATION SUSPENSION CIVIL CHARGE 
SUSPENSION WITH 

CERTIFIED 
TRAINING 

CIVIL CHARGE 
WITH CERTIFIED 

TRAINING 

Sale of beer, wine, or 
mixed beverages to a 
person at least 18 but 
under younger than 21 
years of age. 

25 days $2,000 $2,500 5 days $1,000 $1,500 

Allowing consumption 
of beer, wine, or mixed 
beverages by a person 
at least 18 but under 
younger than 21 years 
of age. 

25 days $2,000 $2,500 5 days $1,000 $1,500 

Aiding and abetting the 
purchase of alcoholic 
beverages by a person 
at least 18 but under 
younger than 21 years 
of age. 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

Keeping unauthorized 
alcoholic beverages on 
the premises, upon 
which appropriate 
taxes have been paid. 

7 days $500 $750     

Allow an intoxicated 
person to loiter on the 
premises. 

7 days $500 $750     

Sale to an intoxicated 
person. 

25 days $2,000 $2,500 5 days $1,000 $1,500 

Allow consumption by 
an intoxicated person. 

25 days $2,000 $2,500 5 days $1,000 $1,500 

After hours sales or 
consumption of 
alcoholic beverages. 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

No designated manager 
on premises. 

7 days $500 $750     

Invalid check to 
wholesaler or board. 

7 days $250 $500     

Inadequate 
illumination. 

7 days $500 $750     

ABC license not 
posted. 

7 days $500 $750     

Not timely submitting 
report required by 
statute or regulation. 

7 days $500 $750     
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Designated manager 
not posted. 

7 days $500 $750     

Person less younger 
than 18 years of age 
serving alcoholic 
beverages; less 
younger than 21 years 
of age acting as 
bartender. 

7 days $500 $750     

Sale of alcoholic 
beverages in 
unauthorized place or 
manner. 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

Consumption of 
alcoholic beverages in 
unauthorized area. 

7 days $500 $750     

Removal of alcoholic 
beverages from 
authorized area. 

7 days $500 $750     

Failure to obliterate 
mixed beverage 
stamps. 

7 days $500 $750     

Employee on duty 
consuming alcoholic 
beverages. 

7 days $500 $750     

Conducting illegal 
happy hour. 

7 days $500 $750     

Illegally advertising 
happy hour. 

7 days $500 $750     

Unauthorized 
advertising. 

7 days $500 $750     

Failure to remit state 
beer/wine beer or wine 
tax (if deficiency has 
been corrected). 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

Wholesaler sale of 
wine/beer beer or wine 
in unauthorized manner. 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

Wholesaler sale of 
wine/beer beer or wine 
to unauthorized person. 

10 days $1,000 $1,250     

B. For purposes of this section, the Virginia Department of 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority will certify alcohol 
seller/server seller or server training courses that provide 
instruction on all the topics listed on the Seller/Server 
Training Evaluation form. The following steps should be 
completed to submit a training program for approval: 

1. Complete the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 
and review the Seller/Server Training Evaluation form to 
make sure the program will meet the listed criteria; and 

2. Submit the Alcohol Seller/Server Training Data Sheet 
and a copy of the proposed training program materials for 
review. Materials submitted should include copies of any 
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lesson plans and instructional materials used in the training 
program. 

Requests for certification of training courses should be sent 
to: 

Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority 

Education Section 

P.O. Box 27491 

Richmond, VA 23261 

Email correspondences: education@abc.virginia.gov 

Persons in charge of any certified alcohol server training 
course shall maintain complete records of all training classes 
conducted, including the date and location of each class, and 
the identity of all those successfully completing the course. 

C. For a licensee that operates more than one retail 
establishment, each such establishment shall be considered a 
separate licensee for the purpose of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5365; Filed February 8, 2019, 7:47 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation  
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 
Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-
540). 

12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 
and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-20, 
12VAC30-50-30, 12VAC30-50-60, 12VAC30-50-70, 
12VAC30-50-130, 12VAC30-50-226). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 
Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-5, 
12VAC30-60-50, 12VAC30-60-61). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 
Services (repealing 12VAC30-130-850, 12VAC30-130-860, 
12VAC30-130-870, 12VAC30-130-880, 12VAC30-130-
890).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: May 3, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
and promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 
Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 
State Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 
requirements and promulgate regulations. The Medicaid 
authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority for 
payments for services. 

The agency is proposing this regulatory action to comply with 
Item 301 OO and Item 301 PP of Chapter 665 of the 2015 
Acts of Assembly. Items 301 PP states: "The Department of 
Medical Assistance Services shall make programmatic 
changes in the provision of Residential Treatment Facility 
(Level C) and Levels A and B residential services (group 
homes) for children with serious emotional disturbances in 
order to ensure appropriate utilization and cost efficiency. 
The department shall consider all available options including, 
but not limited to, prior authorization, utilization review and 
provider qualifications. The department shall have authority 
to promulgate regulations to implement these changes within 
280 days or less from the enactment date of this act." 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to protect the 
health, safety, or welfare of Medicaid-covered individuals 
who require behavioral health services and their families to 
ensure that families are well informed about their family 
member's behavioral health condition about service options 
prior to receiving these services, that the services are 
medically necessary, and that the services are rendered by 
providers who use evidence-based treatment approaches. 

When residential treatment services were initially 
implemented by DMAS, individuals did not have access to 
standardized methods of effective care coordination upon 
entry into residential treatment due to placement processes at 
the time and DMAS reimbursement limitations. This resulted 
in a fragmented coordination approach for these individuals 
who were at risk for high levels of care and remained at risk 
of repeated placements at this level of care. Also, at the time 
of the appropriations act mandate, the process in place for 
Medicaid enrolled children placed in residential settings 
yielded an average stay of 260 days and had high readmission 
rates. 

While residential treatment is not a service that should be 
approved with great frequency for a large number of 
individuals, it is a service that should be accessible to the 
families and individuals who require that level of care. The 
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service model had significant operational layers to be 
navigated to access residential services. The processes 
involved coordination of care by local family access and 
planning teams (FAPTs) who have, over time, demonstrated 
some influence on determining an individual's eligibility for 
FAPT funded services. The local influence on the programs 
administration caused limitations on individualized freedom 
of provider choice and inconsistent authorization of funding 
for persons deemed to need psychiatric care out of the home 
setting. This local administration of the primary referral 
source for residential treatment was outside the purview of 
DMAS, and this situation produced outcomes that are 
inadequate to meet Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) requirements on ensuring the individual 
freedom of choice of providers. 

Also, the state rules on FAPT composition were not 
consistent with the federal Medicaid requirement for 
certifying a child for Medicaid-funded residential treatment 
placement. Changes to the program were necessary to address 
concerns that arose from the reliance upon the FAPT to fulfill 
the role as the federally mandated independent team to certify 
residential treatment. 

The residential treatment model requires an enhanced care 
coordination model to support the individuals who receive 
this level of service to ensure an effective return to the family 
or caregiver home environment with follow up services to 
facilitate ongoing treatment progress in the least restrictive 
environment. The added coordination is required to navigate a 
very complex service environment for the individual as the 
individual returns to a community setting to establish an 
effective aftercare environment that involves service 
providers who may be contracted with a variety of entities 
such as DMAS contracted managed care organizations 
(MCOs), enrolled providers, the local FAPT team, local 
school divisions, and the local community services board 
(CSB). The proposed amendments allow DMAS to 
implement a contracted care coordination team to focus on 
attaining specific clinical outcomes for all residential care 
episodes and to provide a single liaison who will ensure 
coordination of care in a complex service environment for 
individuals upon discharge from residential treatment and 
prior to the time when they will enroll in an MCO. During 
this transition period, the individual is very vulnerable to 
repeated admissions to residential or inpatient care and must 
be supported in the fee-for-service (FFS) environment with 
resources from the local CSB and enrolled service providers 
and requires ongoing support and coordination to receive 
post-discharge follow up and transition services. 

DMAS has the goal that individuals receive the correct level 
of service at the correct time for the treatment (service) needs 
related to the individual's medical or psychiatric condition. 
Residential treatment services consist of behavioral health 
interventions and are intended to provide high intensity 
clinical treatment that should be provided for a short duration. 

Stakeholder feedback supported observations by DMAS of 
lengthy durations of stay for many individuals. Residential 
treatment services will benefit from clarification of the 
service definition and eligibility requirements to ensure that 
residential treatment does not evolve into a long-term level of 
support instead of the high intensity psychiatric treatment 
modality that defines this level of care. 

Substance: The sections of the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance that are affected by this action are: Inspection of 
Care in Intermediate Care Facilities (12VAC30-10-540), 
Mandatory Coverage: Categorically Needy and other required 
special groups (12VAC30-30-10), the Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Services Provided to 
Categorically/Medically Needy Individuals-EPSDT Services 
(12VAC30-50-130); Applicability of utilization review 
requirements (12VAC30-60-5), Utilization control: 
Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR) and Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD) 
(12VAC30-60-50) and Services related to the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program 
(EPSDT); community mental health services for children 
(12VAC30-60-61). The state-only regulations that are 
affected by this action are Residential Psychiatric Treatment 
for Children and Adolescents (plans of care; review of plans 
of care (12VAC30-130-850 through 130-890). 

The proposed regulatory action will serve to better clarify 
policy interpretations that revise program standards to allow 
for more evidence based service delivery, allow DMAS to 
implement more effective utilization management in 
collaboration with the BHSA, enhance individualized 
coordination of care, implement standardized coordination of 
individualized aftercare resources by ensuring access to 
medical and behavioral health service providers in the 
individual's home community, and support DMAS audit 
practices. The proposed regulatory changes move toward a 
service model that will reduce lengths of stay and facilitate an 
evidence based treatment approach to better support the 
individual's discharge into their home environment. These 
changes also align DMAS in meeting the requirements set 
forth by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) in 42 CFR 441 Subpart D and 42 CFR 441.453.  

The proposed regulatory action incorporates changes made in 
the emergency regulation, including changes to the following 
areas: (i) provider qualifications including acceptable 
licensing standards; (ii) preadmission assessment 
requirements, (iii) program requirements; (iv) new discharge 
planning and care coordination requirements; and (iv) 
language enhancements for utilization review requirements to 
clarify program requirements, to ensure adequate 
documentation of service delivery, and to help providers 
avoid payment retractions. These changes are part of a review 
of the services to ensure that services are effectively delivered 
and utilized for individuals who meet the medical necessity 
criteria. For each individual seeking residential treatment 
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treatment needs are assessed with enhanced requirements by 
the current independent certification teams who coordinate 
clinical assessment information and assess local resources for 
each individual requesting residential care to determine an 
appropriate level of care. The certification teams are also 
better able to coordinate referrals for care to determine, in 
accordance with DOJ requirements, whether or not the 
individual seeking services can be safely served using 
community based services in the least restrictive setting. 
Independent team certifications are conducted prior to the 
onset of specified services, as required by CMS guidelines, 
by the DMAS behavioral health services administrator.  

The proposed regulatory action includes changes to program 
requirements that ensure that effective levels of care 
coordination and discharge planning occurs for each 
individual during the individual's residential stay by 
enhancing program rules and utilization management 
principles that facilitate effective discharge planning, family 
engagement and establish community-based services prior to 
the individual's discharge from residential care. The proposed 
regulatory action requires enhanced care coordination to 
provide the necessary objective evaluations of treatment 
progress and to facilitate evidence based practices during the 
treatment to reduce the length of stay by ensuring that 
medical necessity indicates the correct level of care and that 
appropriate and effective care is delivered in a person 
centered manner. The proposed regulatory action requires that 
service providers and local systems use standardized 
preadmission and discharge processes to ensure effective 
services are delivered. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the proposed regulatory 
action to the Commonwealth and to Medicaid members are 
that the proposed amendments (i) better clarify policy 
interpretations that revise program standards to allow for 
more evidence based service delivery, (ii) allow DMAS to 
implement more effective utilization management in 
collaboration with the behavioral health services 
administrator, (iii) enhance individualized coordination of 
care and implement standardized coordination of 
individualized aftercare resources by ensuring access to 
medical and behavioral health service providers in the 
individual's home community, (iv) support DMAS audit 
practices, and (v) move toward a service model that will 
reduce lengths of stay and facilitate an evidence based 
treatment approach to better support the individual's 
discharge into their home environment. There are no 
disadvantages to the Commonwealth or the public as a result 
of the proposed regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to legislative mandates, the Board of Medical 
Assistance Services (Board) proposes numerous changes to 

the provision of psychiatric residential treatment services. 
These changes were already implemented under an 
emergency regulation on July 1, 2017.1 The proposed 
regulation is a permanent replacement for the emergency 
regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed amendments. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to Item 301 OO 
paragraphs 7 through 18 and Item 301 PP of Chapter 665 of 
the 2015 Acts of Assembly, the Board proposes to eliminate 
Level A group homes as they did not meet the federal Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services requirements and to 
change the definition of "Level B" group homes to 
"Therapeutic Group Homes." In response to the legislative 
mandates, the Board also proposes changes to plan of care 
requirements, medical necessity requirements, discharge 
planning, required clinical activities and documentation for 
Therapeutic Group Homes (TGH); changes to Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment criteria, 
Independent Assessment, Certification and Coordination 
Team (IACCT) provider requirements and required activities, 
admission practices, and plan of care requirements for 
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF); and 
changes to service authorization and continued stay 
requirements both for PRTF and TGH. 

According to DMAS, since 2001, when residential treatment 
services were first implemented, individuals have not had 
access to standardized methods of effective care coordination 
upon entry into residential treatment due to locality influence 
and DMAS reimbursement limitations. This has resulted in a 
fragmented coordination approach for these individuals who 
are at risk for high level care and remain at risk of repeated 
placements at this level of care. The residential treatment 
prior authorization and utilization management structures 
require an enhanced care coordination model to support the 
individuals who receive this level of service to ensure an 
effective return to the family or caregiver home environment 
with follow up services to facilitate ongoing treatment 
progress in the least restrictive environment. The added 
coordination is required to navigate a very complex service 
environment for the individual as they return to a community 
setting to establish an effective aftercare environment that 
involves service providers who may be contracted with a 
variety of entities such as managed care organizations, 
enrolled providers, the local Family Assessment and Planning 
Team (FAPT), local school divisions and the local 
Community Service Boards.  

DMAS states that FAPT composition prior to the emergency 
regulation was not consistent with the federal Medicaid 
requirement for certifying a child for a Medicaid-funded 
residential treatment placement. Changes to the program were 
necessary to address the concerns that arose from the reliance 
upon the FAPT to fulfill the role as the federally mandated 
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independent team to certify residential treatment. The 
emergency regulation implemented the IACCT approach to 
attain specific clinical outcomes for all residential care 
episodes prior to managed care enrollment thorough 
discharge from residential treatment. IACCT ensures 
meaningful communication across all parts of the Children's 
Services Act providers, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, Managed Care Organizations, and 
fee-for-servicer systems to maximize efficiency of activities, 
eliminate duplicative and/or conflicting efforts, and ensure 
established timelines are met. In addition, the Virginia 
Independent Clinical Assessment Program (VICAP) process 
was originally used to streamline high quality comprehensive 
assessments for services; however, VICAP was sunset in 
order to use funds to pay for the IACCT. 

These proposed changes are intended to ensure appropriate 
utilization and cost efficiencies. Prior to the emergency 
regulation, the total expenditures relating to the affected 
services were approximately $113 million. In fiscal year 
2018, the total expenditures decreased to $89.2 million. 
While the precise total financial impact of these changes have 
not been quantified, available data show that members 
utilizing PRTF have decreased from 1,104 in the first quarter 
of 2016 to 887 in the third quarter of 2018 (a 20% reduction); 
that members utilizing TGH have decreased from 349 in the 
first quarter of 2016 to 311 in the third quarter of 2018 (an 
11% reduction); that members utilizing Level A group homes 
have decreased from 349 in the first quarter of 2016 to 0 in 
the third quarter of 2018 (because it was completely 
eliminated); that average length of stay in PRTF decreased 
from 215.2 days to 209 days (a 6.2-day reduction); and that 
average length of stay in TGH decreased from 142.8 days to 
120.9 days (a 21.9-day reduction). 

Moreover, between September 2017 and August 2018, 3,231 
IACCT inquiries were received; 2,353 of these inquiries were 
referred for assessment. Primary reasons for inquiries not 
leading to assessment included families not returning calls, 
families deciding to continue with community services 
instead, members being placed in juvenile detention, and 
families declining residential services; 2,009 of the 
assessments recommended a residential placement (1,421 
PRTF and 588 in a TGH). The remaining 344 individuals 
who received an assessment but were not recommended for a 
residential placement, were recommended for community 
services.  

According to DMAS, the proposed changes are essential for 
compliance with 42 CFR 441.153, which is prerequisite for 
federal match and for members to receive services as 
appropriate. 

Finally, this regulation has not been updated since 2001 when 
psychiatric residential treatment services were first provided. 
Since then major changes have occurred such as provision of 
behavioral health services through Magellan, the Behavioral 

Health Service Administrator, implementation of more 
evidence based service delivery systems, enhanced 
individualized coordination of care, audit practices, etc. As a 
result, the proposed changes also clarify provider 
qualifications including licensing standards; preadmission 
assessment requirements, program requirements, discharge 
planning and care coordination requirements in greater detail. 
Changes such as those are not expected to create any 
significant economic impact upon promulgation of this 
regulation. Added clarity of the regulatory requirements 
however would improve compliance and produce a net 
benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 
90 therapeutic group homes, 18 residential treatment 
facilities, 23 organizations (including Community Service 
Boards, Comprehensive Services Act providers, and private 
entities) providing Independent Assessment Certification and 
Coordination services, and 128 Family Assessment and 
Planning Teams. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality should be 
affected any more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
were implemented in July 2017. No impact on employment is 
expected upon promulgation of the proposed amendments. 
However, the implementation of the emergency regulations 
may have had a negative impact on group homes' and 
residential treatment facilities' demand for labor to the extent 
it improved efficiencies and eliminated duplicative and/or 
conflicting efforts. The establishment of the IACCT approach 
should have added to demand for labor for them to perform 
their functions. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 
on the use and value of private property is expected upon 
promulgation of the proposed amendments. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
impose costs on small businesses; however, to the extent they 
improve efficiencies and eliminate duplicative and/or 
conflicting efforts, they may reduce group homes and 
residential treatment facility revenues. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 
no known alternative method that would minimize the 
adverse impact while accomplishing the same goals. 
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Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments should not adversely 
affect businesses upon promulgation. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=7424 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 
issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action implements Items 301 OO 
and 301 PP of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, 
which required the department to develop and implement a 
care coordination model and make programmatic changes 
in the provision of residential treatment for children. The 
proposed action replaces emergency regulations published 
in 33:13 VA.R. 1436-1469 February 20, 2017, and 
extended in 35:9 VA.R. 1130 December 24, 2018. 

The proposed amendments clarify policy interpretations 
and revise program standards to allow for more evidence-
based service delivery, allow the department to implement 
more effective utilization management in collaboration 
with the behavioral health service administrator, enhance 
individualized coordination of care, implement 
standardized coordination of individualized aftercare 
resources by ensuring access to medical and behavioral 
health service providers in the individual's home 
community, and support department audit practices. The 
proposed action meets the requirements set forth by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 
42 CFR 441 Subpart D and 42 CFR 441.453.  

The proposed amendments include changes to the 
following areas: (i) provider qualifications, including 
acceptable licensing standards; (ii) preadmission 
assessment requirements; (iii) program requirements; (iv) 
new discharge planning and care coordination 
requirements; and (v) language enhancements for 
utilization review requirements to clarify program 
requirements, ensure adequate documentation of service 
delivery, and help providers avoid payment retractions.  

The proposed action requires enhanced care coordination 
to provide the necessary objective evaluations of treatment 
progress and to facilitate evidence-based practices during 
the treatment to reduce the length of stay by ensuring that 
medical necessity indicates the correct level of care, that 
appropriate and effective care is delivered in a person 

centered manner, and that service providers and local 
systems use standardized preadmission and discharge 
processes to ensure effective services are delivered.  

12VAC30-10-540. Inspection of care in intermediate care 
facilities for the mentally retarded persons with 
intellectual and developmental disabilities, facilities 
providing inpatient psychiatric services for individuals 
under younger than 21 years of age, and mental hospitals.  

All applicable requirements of 42 CFR 456, Subpart I, are 
met with respect to periodic inspections of care and services.*  

Inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under age 21 
are not provided under this plan.  

*Inspection of Care (IOC) in Intermediate Care Facilities for 
the Mentally Retarded and Institutions for Mental Diseases 
are Inspection of care in intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities is 
completed through contractual arrangements with the 
Virginia Department of Health.  

12VAC30-50-20. Services provided to the categorically 
needy without limitation.  

The following services as described in Part III (12VAC30-
50-100 et seq.) of this chapter are provided to the 
categorically needy without limitation:  

1. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of 
age or older.  

2. Services for individuals age 65 years of age or over 
older in institutions for mental diseases: inpatient hospital 
services; skilled nursing facility services; and services in 
an intermediate care facility.  

3. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 
services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 
determined, in accordance with § 1902(a)(31)(A) of the 
Social Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care, 
including such services in a public institution (or distinct 
part thereof) for the mentally retarded or persons with 
intellectual or developmental disability or related 
conditions.  

4. Hospice care (in accordance with § 1905(o) of the Act).  

5. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care 
recognized under state law, specified by the U.S. Secretary 
of Health and Human Services: care and services provided 
in religious nonmedical health care institutions;, nursing 
facility services for patients under younger than 21 years of 
age;, or emergency hospital services. 

6. Private health insurance premiums, coinsurance, and 
deductibles when cost effective (pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. 
No. 101-508 § 4402). 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=7424
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss13/v33i13.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss09/v35i09.pdf
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7. Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
services are provided for eligible individuals as an optional 
State Plan service for categorically needy individuals 
without limitation. 

8. Pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. No. 111-148 § 4107, counseling 
and pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use by 
pregnant women shall be covered.  

a. Counseling and pharmacotherapy for cessation of 
tobacco use by pregnant women means diagnostic, 
therapy, and counseling services and pharmacotherapy 
(including the coverage of prescription and 
nonprescription tobacco cessation agents approved by the 
U.S. Food and Drug Administration) for cessation of 
tobacco use by pregnant women who use tobacco 
products or who are being treated for tobacco use that is 
furnished (i) by or under the supervision of a physician, 
(ii) by any other health care professional who is legally 
authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 
state law and is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable 
services other than tobacco cessation services, or (iii) by 
any other health care professional who is legally 
authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 
state law and who is specifically designated by the U.S. 
Secretary of Health and Human Services in federal 
regulations for this purpose.  

b. No cost sharing shall be applied to these services. In 
addition to other services that are covered for pregnant 
women, 12VAC30-50-510 also provides for other 
smoking cessation services that are covered for pregnant 
women. 

9. Inpatient psychiatric facility services and residential 
psychiatric treatment services (including therapeutic group 
homes and psychiatric residential treatment facilities) for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

12VAC30-50-30. Services not provided to the 
categorically needy.  

The following services and devices are not provided to the 
categorically needy:  

1. Chiropractors' Chiropractor services.  

2. Private duty nursing services.  

3. Dentures.  

4. Other diagnostic and preventive services other than 
those provided elsewhere in this plan: diagnostic services 
(see 12VAC30-50-95 et seq.).  

5. Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals 
under 21 years of age, other than those covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (at 
12VAC30-50-130). (Reserved.) 

6. Special tuberculosis (TB) related services under 
§ 1902(z)(2)(F) of the Social Security Act (the Act).  

7. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 
§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).  

8. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished 
during a presumptive eligibility period by a qualified 
provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).  

9. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care 
recognized under state law specified by the U.S. Secretary 
of Health and Human Services: personal care services in 
recipient's home, prescribed in accordance with a plan of 
treatment and provided by a qualified person under 
supervision of a registered nurse.  

12VAC30-50-60. Services provided to all medically needy 
groups without limitations.  

Services as described in Part III (12VAC30-50-100 et seq.) 
of this chapter are provided to all medically needy groups 
without limitations. 

1. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of 
age or older.  

2. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of 
individuals under younger than 21 years of age, and 
treatment of conditions found.  

3. Pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. No. 111-148 § 4107, counseling 
and pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use by 
pregnant women shall be covered.  

a. Counseling and pharmacotherapy for cessation of 
tobacco use by pregnant women means diagnostic, 
therapy, and counseling services and pharmacotherapy 
(including the coverage of prescription and 
nonprescription tobacco cessation agents approved by the 
U.S. Food and Drug Administration) for cessation of 
tobacco use by pregnant women who use tobacco 
products or who are being treated for tobacco use that is 
furnished (i) by or under the supervision of a physician, 
(ii) by any other health care professional who is legally 
authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 
state law and is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable 
services other than tobacco cessation services, or (iii) by 
any other health care professional who is legally 
authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 
state law and who is specifically designated by the U.S. 
Secretary of Health and Human Services in federal 
regulations for this purpose.  

b. No cost sharing shall be applied to these services. In 
addition to other services that are covered for pregnant 
women, 12VAC30-50-510 also provides for other 
smoking cessation services that are covered for pregnant 
women. 
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4. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 
services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 
determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the 
Social Security Act (the Act) to be in need of such care. 

5. Hospice care (in accordance with § 1905(o) of the Act). 

6. Any other medical care or any other type of remedial 
care recognized under state law, specified by the secretary 
U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, including: 
care and services provided in religious nonmedical health 
care institutions;, skilled nursing facility services for 
patients under younger than 21 years of age;, and 
emergency hospital services. 

7. Private health insurance premiums, coinsurance and 
deductibles when cost effective (pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. 
No. 101-508 § 4402). 

8. Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
services are provided for eligible individuals as an optional 
State Plan service for medically needy individuals without 
limitation.  

9. Inpatient psychiatric facility services and residential 
psychiatric treatment services (including therapeutic group 
homes and psychiatric residential treatment facilities) for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

12VAC30-50-70. Services or devices not provided to the 
medically needy.  

1. Chiropractors' Chiropractor services.  

2. Private duty nursing services.  

3. Dentures.  

4. Diagnostic or preventive services other than those 
provided elsewhere in the State Plan.  

5. Inpatient hospital services, skilled nursing facility 
services, and intermediate care facility services for 
individuals age 65 years of age or older in institutions for 
mental disease(s) diseases.  

6. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 
services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 
determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the 
Social Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care in 
a public institution, or a distinct part thereof, for the 
mentally retarded or persons with intellectual or 
developmental disability or related conditions.  

7. Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals 
under 21 years of age, other than those covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (at 
12VAC30-50-130). (Reserved.) 

8. Special tuberculosis (TB) services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) 
of the Act.  

9. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 
§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).  

10. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women 
furnished during a presumptive eligibility period by a 
qualified provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).  

11. Personal care services in a recipient's home, prescribed 
in accordance with a plan of treatment and provided by a 
qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse.  

12. Home and community care for functionally disabled 
elderly individuals, as defined, described and limited in 
12VAC30-50-460 and 12VAC30-50-470.  

13. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is 
not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing facility, 
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
intellectually or developmentally disabled persons, or 
institution for mental disease that are (i) authorized for the 
individual by a physician in accordance with a plan of 
treatment, (ii) provided by an individual who is qualified to 
provide such services and who is not a member of the 
individual's family, and (iii) furnished in a home.  

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 
including school health services, and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 
or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 
the healing arts. 

B. Early General provisions for early and periodic screening 
and, diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) of individuals 
younger than 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions 
found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 
examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 
covered for foster children of the local departments of 
social services departments on specific referral from those 
departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 
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DMAS shall place appropriate utilization controls upon 
this service. 

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic 
screening, diagnostic, and treatment services means the 
following services: screening services, vision services, 
dental services, hearing services, and such other necessary 
health care, diagnostic services, treatment, and other 
measures described in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to 
correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental 
illnesses and conditions discovered by the screening 
services and that are medically necessary, whether or not 
such services are covered under the State Plan and 
notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to recipients 
ages 21 years of age and older, provided for by § 1905(a) 
of the Social Security Act. 

5. C. Community mental health services provided through 
early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment 
(EPSDT) for individuals younger than 21 years of age. These 
services in order to be covered (i) shall meet medical 
necessity criteria based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who 
are practicing within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are 
shall be reflected in provider records and on providers' 
provider claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes 
that support and are consistent with the requested professional 
services.  

a. 1. Definitions. The following words and terms when 
used in this section shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 
and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 
feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 
services described in this section. For the purpose of the 
use of these terms this term, adolescent means an 
individual 12 through 20 years of age; a child means an 
individual from birth up to 12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 
12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 
means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 
benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 
information among health care providers, who are involved 
with an individual's health care, to improve the care.  

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-
5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 
community services board or behavioral health authority, 
or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 
certification program approved by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 
health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 
part-time work to children and adolescents who have 
diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 
internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 
experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 
(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 
children and adolescents, (iii) community-based residential 
services for children and adolescents who are younger than 
21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) therapeutic behavioral 
services (Level B). Experience shall not include 
unsupervised internships, unsupervised practicums, and 
unsupervised field experience. The equivalency of part-
time hours to full-time hours for the purpose of this 
requirement shall be as established by DBHDS in the 
document entitled Human Services and Related Fields 
Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 
revised May 3, 2013.  

"Child" means an individual ages birth through 11 years. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 
supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 
supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 
documented practical experience rendering peer support 
services or family support services, have certification 
training as a PRS under a certifying body approved by 
DBHDS, and have documented completion of the DBHDS 
PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental 
health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as 
defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least two consecutive 
years of documented experience as a QMHP, and who has 
documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 
training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP who has documented 
completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training who is 
acting within his scope of practice under state law. An 
LMHP providing services before April 1, 2018, shall have 
until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS PRS 
supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services and its contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 
and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 
12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 
defined by DBHDS the Department of Health Professions 
in the document entitled Human Services and Related 
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Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 
2013, revised May 3, 2013 Approved Degrees in Human 
Services and Related Fields for QMHP Registration, 
adopted November 3, 2017, revised February 9, 2018. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 
term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 
the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 
"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 
professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 
marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 
for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An 
LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 
regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 
profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 
functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" 
until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 
site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board 
of Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to 
their supervisors for services provided by such residents, 
they shall use the title "Resident" in connection with the 
applicable profession after their signatures to indicate such 
status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 
same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 
in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. 
An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for 
supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and 
shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be 
considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 
clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 
writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology. For purposes 
of Medicaid reimbursement by supervisors for services 
provided by such residents, they shall use the title 
"Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to indicate 
such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 
or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 
in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 
An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for 
supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall 
not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered 
a "supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical 
duties at a specific site is preapproved in writing by the 
Virginia Board of Social Work. For purposes of Medicaid 
reimbursement to their supervisors for services provided 
by supervisees, these persons shall use the title "Supervisee 
in Social Work" after their signatures to indicate such 
status.  

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 
that contains the unique differences particular to the 
individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 
also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 
professional staff who have prepared the notes. 
Individualized and member-specific progress notes are part 
of the minimum documentation requirements and shall 
convey the individual's status, staff interventions, and, as 
appropriate, the individual's progress, or lack of progress, 
toward goals and objectives in the ISP. The progress notes 
shall also include, at a minimum, the name of the service 
rendered, the date of the service rendered, the signature 
and credentials of the person who rendered the service, the 
setting in which the service was rendered, and the amount 
of time or units/hours required to deliver the service. The 
content of each progress note shall corroborate the 
time/units billed. Progress notes shall be documented for 
each service that is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 
aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 
their family members or caregivers to access clear and 
concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 
accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 
and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 
and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 
interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 
therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 
needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 
family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 
mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 
solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 
means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-
20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-
E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-
105-20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-
105-590 including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the 
Department of Health Professions. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 
means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-
20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-
1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 
12VAC30-130-5160. 
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"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same 
as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-
5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 
interaction in which the provider obtains information from 
the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member 
as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental 
health status. It includes documented history of the 
severity, intensity, and duration of mental health care 
problems and issues and shall contain all of the following 
elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason issue or reason for 
referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 
previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 
response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 
developmental history including history of abuse, if 
appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational educational or 
vocational status, (vii) current living situation and family 
history and relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and 
alcohol profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental 
status exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 
summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 
care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 
the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
RP.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

b. 2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 
adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall be time-
limited interventions provided in the individual's residence 
and when clinically necessary in community settings. All 
interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 
defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 
shall be designed to specifically improve family dynamics, 
and provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 
interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 
interpersonal relations between family members in the 
home. IIH services are designed to promote 
psychoeducational benefits of psychoeducation in the 
home setting of an individual who is at risk of being 
moved into an out-of-home placement or who is being 
transitioned to home from an out-of-home placement due 
to a documented medical need of the individual. These 
services provide crisis treatment; individual and family 
counseling; communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist 
the individual and his the individual's parents or guardians, 

as appropriate, to understand and practice appropriate 
problem solving, anger management, and interpersonal 
interaction, etc.); care coordination with other required 
services; and 24-hour emergency response.  

(1) a. Service authorization shall be required for 
Medicaid reimbursement prior to the onset of services. 
Services rendered before the date of authorization shall 
not be reimbursed. 

(2) b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 
prior to the start of services at the onset of services and 
ISPs shall be required during the entire duration of 
services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 
outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 
be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-
specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this 
section. 

(3) c. These services may shall only be rendered by an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 
a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. 3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 
two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D 11). 
Day treatment programs provide evaluation; medication 
education and management; opportunities to learn and use 
daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 
skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management, 
community responsibility, increased impulse control, and 
appropriate peer relations, etc.); and individual, group, and 
family counseling.  

(1) a. Service authorization shall be required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. 

(2) b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 
at prior to the onset start of services, and ISPs shall be 
required during the entire duration of services. Services 
based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-
specific provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied 
reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific 
provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) c. These services may shall be rendered only by an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 
a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 
adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level A) 
pursuant to 42 CFR 440.031(d). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 
services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 
services will provide structure for daily activities, 
psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 
coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 
attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 
identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 
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Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 
medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 
due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 
community. The service must reasonably be expected to 
improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 
that the services will no longer be needed. The 
application of a national standardized set of medical 
necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 
McKesson InterQual® Criteria or an equivalent standard 
authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 
this service. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 
receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 
provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 
date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 
DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 
facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 
Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 
Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services under the Standards for 
Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-
151), Regulation Governing Juvenile Group Homes and 
Halfway Houses (6VAC35-41), or Regulations for 
Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 
seven psychoeducational activities per week. 
Psychoeducational programming must include 
development or maintenance of daily living skills, anger 
management, social skills, family living skills, 
communication skills, stress management, and any care 
coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 
with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 
documented in the individual's medical record. The 
documentation shall include who was contacted, when 
the contact occurred, and what information was 
transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. Services based upon 
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 
12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric 
residential treatment facility (PRTF) services for early and 
periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) of 
individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 
in this subsection shall have the following meanings: 

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan 
of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care 
(CIPOC). 

"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an 
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to obtain 
information from the child or adolescent and parent, 
guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing 
a tool or series of tools to provide a comprehensive 
evaluation and review of the child's or adolescent's mental 
health status. The assessment shall include a documented 
history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 
health problems and behavioral and emotional issues. 

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement 
by an independent certification team that services in a 
therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were needed.  

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, 
therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote 
(i) the development or restoration of adaptive functioning, 
self-care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated 
activities and community living skills that each individual 
requires to live in less restrictive environments; (iii) 
behavioral consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; 
(v) skills restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family 
living and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 
communication skills, and stress management skills; (vi) 
family education and family therapy; and (vii) 
individualized treatment planning. 

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" 
means a person centered plan of care that meets all of the 
requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 
individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 
identified in the clinical assessment and information 
gathered during the referral process. 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that 
produces an acute, heightened emotional, mental, physical, 
medical, or behavioral event. 

"Crisis management" means immediately provided 
activities and interventions designed to rapidly manage a 
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crisis. The activities and interventions include behavioral 
health care to provide immediate assistance to individuals 
experiencing acute behavioral health problems that require 
immediate intervention to stabilize and prevent harm and 
higher level of acuity. Activities shall include assessment 
and short-term counseling designed to stabilize the 
individual. Individuals are referred to long-term services 
once the crisis has been stabilized. 

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a 
PRTF through a resident-to-staff ratio approved by the 
Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services with documented 
supervision checks every 15 minutes throughout a 24-hour 
period. 

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care 
coordination that begins upon admission to a PRTF or 
therapeutic group home with the goal of transitioning the 
individual out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home to a 
less restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-
appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as 
possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be 
recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or 
treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of 
the plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS 
contractor. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 
Psychiatric Association. 

"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are 
made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it 
appears that the individual is in need of an immediate 
admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely 
does not meet the medical necessity criteria to receive 
crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute psychiatric 
inpatient services.  

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 
scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute 
psychiatric inpatient services, and referral assistance 
provided over the telephone or face-to-face if indicated, 
and available 24 hours a day, seven days per week. 

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and 
strengths-based approach to partnering with families in 
making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired 
outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-
being for children, adolescents, and families. Family 
engagement requires ongoing opportunities for an 
individual to build and maintain meaningful relationships 
with family members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, 
and noncontingent telephone calls and visits between an 
individual and family members. Family engagement may 
also include enhancing or facilitating the development of 
the individual's relationship with other family members 

and supportive adults responsible for the individual's care 
and well-being upon discharge. 

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention 
consisting of family psychoeducational training or 
coaching, transition planning with the family, family and 
independent living skills, and training on accessing 
community supports as identified in the plan of care. 
Family engagement activity does not include and is not the 
same as family therapy. 

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the 
individual's family and significant others to advance the 
treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the family 
member and significant others is for the direct benefit of 
the individual, (ii) the counseling is not aimed at 
addressing treatment needs of the individual's family or 
significant others, and (iii) the individual is present except 
when it is clinically appropriate for the individual to be 
absent in order to advance the individual's treatment goals. 
Family therapy shall be aligned with the goals of the 
individual's plan of care. All family therapy services 
furnished are for the direct benefit of the individual, in 
accordance with the individual's needs and treatment goals 
identified in the individual's plan of care, and for the 
purpose of assisting in the individual's recovery. 

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team. 

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of 
Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision, 
published by the World Health Organization.  

"Independent certification team" means a team that has 
competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, 
preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of the 
individual's situation; and is composed of at least one 
physician and one LMHP. The independent certification 
team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 
contractual or employment relationships with the required 
team members.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 
years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or 
PRTF services. 

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of 
principles, standards, and methods of the counseling 
profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis for 
the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives 
and (ii) planning, implementing, and evaluating plans of 
care using treatment interventions to facilitate human 
development and to identify and remediate mental, 
emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated 
distresses that interfere with mental health.  

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered 
plan of care established at admission that meets all of the 
requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 
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individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 
identified in the clinical assessment and information 
gathered during the referral process. 

"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such 
as individual or group psychoeducation; skills restoration; 
structured behavior support and training activities; 
recreation, art, and music therapies; community integration 
activities that promote or assist in the child's or 
adolescent's ability to acquire coping and functional or 
self-regulating behavior skills; day and overnight passes; 
and family engagement activities. Interventions shall not 
include individual, group, and family therapy; medical or 
dental appointments; or physician services, medication 
evaluation, or management provided by a licensed clinician 
or physician and shall not include school attendance. 
Interventions shall be provided in the therapeutic group 
home or PRTF and, when clinically necessary, in a 
community setting or as part of a therapeutic pass. All 
interventions and settings of the intervention shall be 
established in the plan of care. 

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the 
comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC). 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 
medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in 
§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" 
means the same as defined in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-
hour, supervised, clinically and medically necessary, out-
of-home active treatment program designed to provide 
necessary support and address mental health, behavioral, 
substance abuse, cognitive, and training needs of an 
individual younger than 21 years of age in order to prevent 
or minimize the need for more intensive treatment. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant 
or recipient for whom therapeutic group home or PRTF 
services are needed.  

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily 
cost for placement in a licensed PRTF. Residential room 
and board costs are maintenance costs associated with 
placement in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private 
room, three meals and two snacks per day, and personal 
care items. Room and board costs are reimbursed only for 
PRTF settings.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 
including physician and other health care services that are 
furnished to children while they are in a freestanding 
psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged 
practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric 
hospital's or PRTF's per diem. 

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist 
individuals in the restoration of lost skills that are 

necessary to achieve the goals established in the 
beneficiary's plan of care. Services include assisting the 
individual in restoring self-management, interpersonal, 
communication, and problem solving skills through 
modeling, coaching, and cueing. 

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential 
service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-
based home having eight or fewer residents.  

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with 
family consisting of partial or entire days of time away 
from the therapeutic group home or psychiatric residential 
treatment facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care 
and as paired with facility-based and community-based 
interventions to promote discharge planning, community 
integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic 
passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component 
of the plan of care and are designed for the direct benefit of 
the individual. 

"Treatment planning" means development of a person 
centered plan of care that is specific to the individual's 
unique treatment needs and acuity levels. 

e. 2. Therapeutic behavioral group home services (Level B) 
pursuant to 42 CFR 440.130(d). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 
in a residential setting. The residential services will 
provide structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, 
therapeutic supervision, care coordination, and 
psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 
therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 
individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 
qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 
necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 
mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 
significant functional impairments in major life activities 
in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 
service must reasonably be expected to improve the 
child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed. The application of a 
national standardized set of medical necessity criteria in 
use in the industry, such as McKesson InterQual ® 
Criteria, or an equivalent standard authorized in advance 
by DMAS shall be required for this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 
of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(3) a. Therapeutic group home services for children and 
adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall provide 
therapeutic services to restore or maintain appropriate 
skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior and 
healthy living, including skills restoration, family living 
and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 
communication skills, and stress management skills. 
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Therapeutic services shall also engage families and 
reflect family-driven practices that correlate to sustained 
positive outcomes post-discharge for youth and their 
family members. Each component of therapeutic group 
home services is provided for the direct benefit of the 
individual, in accordance with the individual's needs and 
treatment goals identified in the individual's plan of care, 
and for the purpose of assisting in the individual's 
recovery. These services are provided under 42 CFR 
440.130(d) in accordance with the rehabilitative services 
benefit. 

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 
including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 
period in addition to individual, group, and family 
therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 
is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 
the individual's deviations from the plan of care. 
Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and 
shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals 
and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation 
from the plan of care shall be documented along with a 
clinical or medical justification for the deviation.  

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a 
therapeutic group home. The following requirements for 
severity of need and intensity and quality of service shall 
be met to satisfy the medical necessity criteria for 
admission. 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the 
following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 
severity of need: 

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only 
be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour therapeutic 
milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to 
significant impairments in home, school, and community 
functioning caused by current mental health symptoms 
consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis.  

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the 
following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available 
modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 
treatment) available in the community do not meet the 
treatment needs of the individual; (ii) proper treatment of 
the individual's psychiatric condition requires services on 
an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and 
(iii) the services can reasonably be expected to improve 
the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 
that the services will no longer be needed. 

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. 
The assessment shall demonstrate at least two areas of 
moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate 
impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption 
in major life activities. A moderate impairment is 
evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in 

the family setting such as credible threats of physical 
harm, where "frequent" means more than expected for 
the individual's age and developmental level; (ii) frequent 
inability to accept age-appropriate direction and 
supervision from caretakers, from family members, at 
school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely 
limited involvement in social support, which means 
significant avoidance of appropriate social interaction, 
deterioration of existing relationships, or refusal to 
participate in therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired 
ability to form a trusting relationship with at least one 
caretaker in the home, school, or community; (v) limited 
ability to consider the effect of one's inappropriate 
conduct on others; and (vi) interactions consistently 
involving conflict, which may include impulsive or 
abusive behaviors. 

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been 
given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if 
not attempted, have been considered, but in either 
situation were determined to be unable to meet the 
individual's treatment needs and the reasons for that are 
discussed in the certificate of need. 

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment 
in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of care 
(LOC), are not primarily due to any of the following: (i) 
intellectual disability, developmental disability, or 
autistic spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, 
traumatic brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii) 
the individual does not require a more intensive level of 
care. 

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or 
surgical treatment. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 
admission. All of the following criteria shall be met to 
satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been 
prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other 
LMHP who has documented that a residential setting is 
the least restrictive clinically appropriate service that can 
meet the specifically identified treatment needs of the 
individual. 

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for 
clinically inappropriate reasons, including (i) an 
alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii) 
an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's 
capacity to provide a place of residence for the 
individual; or (iii) a treatment intervention when other 
less restrictive alternatives are available. 

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the 
service specific provider intake and include behaviorally 
defined objectives that require and can reasonably be 
achieved within a therapeutic group home setting. 
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(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate 
with the individual's community resources, including 
schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal of 
transitioning the individual out of the program to a less 
restrictive care setting for continued, sometimes 
intensive, services as soon as possible and appropriate. 

(e) The therapeutic group home program must 
incorporate nationally established, evidence-based, 
trauma-informed services and supports that promote 
recovery and resiliency.  

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with 
concrete plans for the individual to transition back into 
the community beginning within the first week of 
admission, with clear action steps and target dates 
outlined in the plan of care. 

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall 
be met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met 
and continue to be supported by the written clinical 
documentation.  

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following 
criteria: (i) the desired outcome or level of functioning 
has not been restored or improved in the timeframe 
outlined in the individual's plan of care or the individual 
continues to be at risk for relapse based on history or (ii) 
the nature of the functional gains is tenuous and use of 
less intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following 
criteria: (i) the individual has achieved initial CIPOC 
goals, but additional goals are indicated that cannot be 
met at a lower level of care; (ii) the individual is making 
satisfactory progress toward meeting goals but has not 
attained plan of care goals, and the goals cannot be 
addressed at a lower level of care; (iii) the individual is 
not making progress, and the plan of care has been 
modified to identify more effective interventions; or (iv) 
there are current indications that the individual requires 
this level of treatment to maintain level of functioning as 
evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for 
therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential 
setting or in a lower level of residential treatment.  

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) 
identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at 
discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual will 
attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes 
individualized education program (IEP) and FAPT 
recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the aftercare 
treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of 
care is not an acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists 
barriers to community reintegration and progress made 
on resolving these barriers since last review. 

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for 
combined treatment services and activities to ensure the 
attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 
identified in the plan of care. Combined treatment 
services reinforce and practice skills learned in 
individual, group, and family therapy such as community 
integration skills, coping skills, family living and health 
awareness skills, interpersonal skills, and stress 
management skills. Combined treatment services may 
occur in group settings, in one-on-one interactions, or in 
the home setting during a therapeutic pass. In addition to 
the combined treatment services, the child or adolescent 
must also receive psychotherapy services, care 
coordination, family-based discharge planning, and 
locality-based transition activities. The child or 
adolescent shall receive intensive family interventions at 
least twice per month, although it is recommended that 
the intensive family interventions be provided at a 
frequency of one family therapy session per week. 
Family involvement begins immediately upon admission 
to therapeutic group home. If the minimum requirement 
cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, and 
continued efforts to involve family members must also be 
documented. Other family members or supportive adults 
may be included as indicated in the plan of care. 

(f) Less restrictive treatment options have been 
considered but cannot yet meet the individual's treatment 
needs. There is sufficient current clinical documentation 
or evidence to show that therapeutic group home level of 
care continues to be the least restrictive level of care that 
can meet the individual's mental health treatment needs. 

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: 
(i) the level of functioning has improved with respect to 
the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the individual 
can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a 
lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual no longer 
benefits from service as evidenced by absence of 
progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 
days; or (iii) other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for 
each therapeutic group home resident: 

(1) An assessment be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an 
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 
calendar days prior to admission with a documented 
DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 
independent certification team according to the 
requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. 
Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar days 
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by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting 
within his scope of practice. 

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's unique 
treatment needs and acuity levels. The IPOC shall be 
completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by the 
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 
individual and a family member or legally authorized 
representative. The IPOC shall include all of the 
following:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 
that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 
develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual;  

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, 
and any special health care needs whether or not 
provided in the facilities, treatments, restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, therapeutic 
passes, social services, community integration, diet, and 
special procedures recommended for the health and 
safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care; and  

(g) Plans for discharge.  

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 
calendar days after admission. The CIPOC shall meet all 
of the following criteria:  

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 
situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group 
home care;  

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health 
care providers, FAPT if necessary, the individual, and the 
family or legal guardian;  

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include 
measurable short-term and long-term goals and 
objectives, with target dates for achievement;  

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 
activities, and experiences designed to meet the treatment 
objectives related to the diagnosis; and  

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with 
necessary, clinically appropriate community services to 

ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the 
individual's family, school, and community.  

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated 
every 30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member 
or primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated 
by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 
individual or a family member or legally authorized 
representative. The review shall include all of the 
following:  

(a) The individual's response to the services provided;  

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 
individual's overall response to the CIPOC interventions; 
and  

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being 
provided continue to be required.  

(7) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and 
individualized therapy shall be provided to address both 
behavioral health and substance use disorder needs as 
indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent crises 
and challenges within the therapeutic group home setting 
or community settings as defined in the plan of care and 
to avoid a higher level of care. 

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, 
educational, and other behavioral health providers and 
other entities involved in the care and discharge planning 
for the individual as included in the plan of care. 

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the 
therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate 
for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 
progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 
12VAC30-60-61.  

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) 
group therapy shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 
progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 
12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and documented in the 
plan of care. 

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically 
indicated, provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 
or LMHP-S, and documented in progress notes in 
accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61 
and as planned and documented in the plan of care. 

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in 
addition to family therapy or counseling. Family 
engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as 
outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication 
with the family or legally authorized representative shall 
be part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 
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care. For each service authorization period when family 
engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 
shall identify and document the specific barriers to the 
individual's engagement with the individual's family or 
legally authorized representatives. The therapeutic group 
home shall document on a weekly basis the reasons why 
family engagement is not occurring as required. The 
therapeutic group home shall document alternative 
family engagement strategies to be used as part of the 
interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 
the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 
engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 
shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly basis to 
develop individualized family engagement strategies and 
document the revised strategies in the plan of care. 

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 
indicated in the plan of care and as paired with facility-
based and community-based interventions to promote 
discharge planning, community integration, and family 
engagement activities.  

(a) The provider shall document how the family was 
prepared for the therapeutic pass to include a review of 
the plan of care goals and objectives being addressed by 
the planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in 
effect during the therapeutic pass. 

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the 
individual on the therapeutic pass and the therapeutic 
pass exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make daily 
contacts with the family and be available 24 hours per 
day to address concerns, incidents, or crises that may 
arise during the pass. 

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven 
calendar days of the therapeutic pass to discuss the 
accomplishments and challenges of the therapeutic pass 
along with an update on progress toward plan of care 
goals and any necessary changes to the plan of care. 

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per 
individual, per admission, without authorization as 
approved by the treating LMHP and documented in the 
plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require 
service authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic 
passes shall result in retraction for those days of service. 

(14) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 
continue throughout the individual's stay at the 
therapeutic group home. The family or guardian, the 
community services board (CSB), the family assessment 
and planning team (FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS 
contracted care manager shall be involved in treatment 
planning and shall identify the anticipated needs of the 
individual and family upon discharge and available 
services in the community. Prior to discharge, the 
therapeutic group home shall submit an active and viable 

discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. Once 
the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, the 
provider shall begin actively collaborating with the 
family or legally authorized representative and the 
treatment team to identify behavioral health and medical 
providers and schedule appointments for service-specific 
provider intakes as needed. The therapeutic group home 
shall request permission from the parent or legally 
authorized representative to share treatment information 
with these providers and shall share information pursuant 
to a valid release. The therapeutic group home shall 
request information from post-discharge providers to 
establish that the planning of pending services and 
transition planning activities has begun, shall establish 
that the individual has been enrolled in school, and shall 
provide individualized education program 
recommendations to the school if necessary. The 
therapeutic group home shall inform the DMAS 
contractor of all scheduled appointments within 30 
calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 
contractor within one business day of the individual's 
discharge date from the therapeutic group home. 

(15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 
Facilities that only provide independent living services or 
nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of 
this subsection are not reimbursed eligible for 
reimbursement. DMAS shall reimburse only for services 
provided in facilities or programs with no more than 16 
beds.  

(4) These residential (16) Therapeutic group home 
services providers must shall be licensed by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 
Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 
of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 
Psychoeducational programming must include 
development or maintenance of daily living skills, anger 
management, social skills, family living skills, 
communication skills, and stress management. This 
service may be provided in a program setting or a 
community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 
individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 
psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) (17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 
when treatment goals are met or other less intensive 
services may achieve stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. (18) Services that are 
based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-
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specific provider intakes or ISPs plans of care shall be 
denied reimbursement. Requirements for intakes and 
ISPs are set out in 12VAC30-60-61.  

(9) These (19) Therapeutic group home services may 
only be rendered by and within the scope of practice of 
an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-
RP, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 
12VAC35-105-20. 

(10) (20) The facility/group psychiatric residential 
treatment facility or therapeutic group home shall 
coordinate necessary services and discharge planning 
with other providers as medically and clinically 
necessary. Documentation of this care coordination shall 
be maintained by the facility/group facility or group 
home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 
include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 
and what information was transmitted, and recommended 
next steps. 

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this 
subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for 
each day of noncompliance.  

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and 
medically necessary out-of-home program designed to 
provide necessary support and address mental health, 
behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment 
needs of an individual younger than 21 years of age in 
order to prevent or minimize the need for more inpatient 
treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive discharge 
planning shall begin prior to admission. In order to be 
covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age, these 
services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved psychiatric 
medical necessity criteria or be approved as an EPSDT 
service based upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP, LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is practicing within the 
scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider records 
and on the provider's claims for services by recognized 
diagnosis codes that support and are consistent with the 
requested professional services.  

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of 
diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 
disorders when such services are rendered by a 
psychiatric facility that is not a hospital and is accredited 
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 
Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 
Services for Families and Children, or by any other 
accrediting organization with comparable standards that 
is recognized by the state. 

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by 
DBHDS.  

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 
treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a) and 
(b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and 
(ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 
Subpart G. Each admission must be service authorized, 
and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 
clinical necessity. 

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 
years of age shall include services defined at 42 CFR 
440.160 that are provided under the direction of a 
physician pursuant to a certification of medical necessity 
and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team 
of professionals and shall involve active treatment 
designed to achieve the child's discharge from PRTF 
services at the earliest possible time. The PRTF services 
benefit shall include services provided under 
arrangement furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers 
other than the PRTF, as long as the PRTF (i) arranges for 
and oversees the provision of all services, (ii) maintains 
all medical records of care furnished to the individual, 
and (iii) ensures that the services are furnished under the 
direction of a physician. Services provided under 
arrangement shall be documented by a written referral 
from the PRTF. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 
prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 
facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be 
considered the referral.  

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange 
for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 
these services: (i) medical and psychological services, 
including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 
health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 
professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 
therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 
(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; 
(iv) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 
for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 
disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) 
durable medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) 
dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) 
nonemergency transportation services; and (x) 
emergency services.  

f. PRTF services shall include assessment and 
reassessment; room and board; daily supervision; 
combined treatment services; individual, family, and 
group therapy; care coordination; interventions; general 
or special education; medical treatment (including 
medication, coordination of necessary medical services, 
and 24-hour onsite nursing); specialty services; and 
discharge planning that meets the medical and clinical 
needs of the individual. 

g. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. 
The following requirements for severity of need and 
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intensity and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the 
medical necessity criteria for admission: 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The 
following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 
severity of need: 

(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual has a 
DSM-5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric 
treatment. 

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition 
leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence 
of residential treatment. 

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual 
would be a risk to self or others if the individual were not 
in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the individual's mental 
disorder, there is an inability for the individual to 
adequately care for his own physical needs, and 
caretakers, guardians, or family members are unable to 
safely fulfill these needs, representing potential serious 
harm to self. 

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per 
week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for 
daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access 
to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare 
services; and to develop the adaptive and functional 
behavior that will allow the individual to live outside of a 
PRTF setting. 

(e) The individual's current living environment does not 
provide the support and access to therapeutic services 
needed. 

(f) The individual is medically stable and does not 
require the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or 
procedures provided in a hospital level of care. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 
admission. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy 
the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis 
must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation. 

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per 
week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of 
skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning 
and arranging access to a range of educational, 
therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the 
development of the adaptive and functional behavior that 
will allow the individual to live outside of a PRTF 
setting. 

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment 
and residential living support is provided in a timely 
manner. This treatment must be medically monitored, 
with 24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing 
services availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-

a-week psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family or 
support system involvement occurring at least once per 
week or valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is 
not clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii) psychotropic 
medications, when used, are to be used with specific 
target symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current 
medical problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant 
substance use issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination 
with the individual's community resources, including the 
local school division and FAPT case manager, as 
appropriate, with the goal of returning the individual to 
his regular social environment as soon as possible, unless 
contraindicated. School contact should address an 
individualized educational plan as appropriate. 

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 
admission, when progress is not occurring, when 
substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use 
and medications may have a potential adverse 
interaction. After a positive screen, additional random 
screens are considered and referral to a substance use 
disorder provider is considered. 

(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria 
shall be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical 
evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the 
persistence of problems that caused the admission to a 
degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both 
severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the 
emergence of additional problems that meet the 
admission criteria (both severity of need and intensity of 
service needs); or (iii) that disposition planning or 
attempts at therapeutic reentry into the community have 
resulted in or would result in exacerbation of the 
psychiatric illness to the degree that would necessitate 
continued PRTF treatment. Subjective opinions without 
objective clinical information or evidence are not 
sufficient to meet severity of need based on justifying the 
expectation that there would be a decompensation. 

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-
limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before 
the individual can return to a new or previous living 
situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made 
to secure timely access to treatment resources and 
housing in anticipation of discharge, with alternative 
housing contingency plans also being addressed. 

(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on 
the alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and precipitating 
psychosocial stressors that are interfering with the 
individual's ability to return to a less-intensive level of 
care. 

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably 
expected to bring about significant improvement in the 
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problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 c (3) (a) of 
this subsection, and this is documented in weekly 
progress notes written and signed by the provider. 

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support 
system involvement occurring at least once per week, 
unless there is an identified valid reason why it is not 
clinically appropriate or feasible. 

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked 
to the behaviors or symptoms that resulted in admission 
and begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF resources 
including the local school division and FAPT case 
manager as appropriate. 

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and 
quality of service criteria are applied as related to 
assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and 
appropriate. 

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the 
following applies: (i) the level of functioning has 
improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of 
care, and the individual can reasonably be expected to 
maintain these gains at a lower level of treatment; (ii) the 
individual no longer benefits from service as evidenced 
by absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a 
period of 30 days; or (iii) other less intensive services 
may achieve stabilization. 

h. The following clinical activities shall be required for 
each PRTF resident: 

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an 
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30 
calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter 
and shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis.  

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 
independent certification team according to the 
requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification 
shall occur at least every 30 calendar days by a physician 
acting within his scope of practice. 

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed 
within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The 
IPOC shall include:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 
that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 
develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, 
dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not 

provided in the facility; education or special education; 
treatments; interventions; and restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social 
services, diet, and special procedures recommended for 
the health and safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care;  

(g) Plans for discharge; and  

(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or 
legally authorized representative, a physician, and 
treatment team members. 

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later 
than 14 calendar days after admission by the treatment 
team. The PRTF shall request authorizations from 
families to release confidential information to collect 
information from medical and behavioral health 
treatment providers, schools, FAPT, social services, court 
services, and other relevant parties. This information 
shall be used when considering changes and updating the 
CIPOC. The CIPOC shall meet all of the following 
criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 
situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care; 

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of 
physicians and other personnel specified in subdivision 3 
d 4 of this subsection who are employed by or provide 
services to the individual in the facility in consultation 
with the individual, family member, or legally authorized 
representative, or appropriate others into whose care the 
individual will be released after discharge; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include 
measurable, evidence-based, and short-term and long-
term goals and objectives; family engagement activities; 
and the design of community-based aftercare with target 
dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 
interventions, activities, and experiences designed to 
meet the treatment objectives related to the individual 
and family treatment needs; and  

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and 
coordination of current care and post-discharge plans 
with related community services to ensure continuity of 
care upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, 
and community. 

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days 
by the team specified in subdivision 3 d 4 of this 
subsection to determine that services being provided are 
or were required from a PRTF and to recommend 
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changes in the plan as indicated by the individual's 
overall adjustment during the time away from home. The 
CIPOC shall include the signature and date from the 
individual, parent, or legally authorized representative, a 
physician, and treatment team members. 

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per 
week (or more frequently based upon the individual's 
needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 
LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 
progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 
this subsection and 12VAC30-60-61. 

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically 
indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-
S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 
progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 
this subsection. 

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically 
indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-
S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 
progress notes in accordance with the individual and 
family or legally authorized representative's goals and the 
requirements in this subsection. 

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to 
family therapy or counseling. Family engagement shall 
be provided at least weekly as outlined in the plan of care 
and daily communication with the treatment team 
representative and the treatment team representative and 
the family or legally authorized representative shall be 
part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 
care. For each service authorization period when family 
engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall identify and 
document the specific barriers to the individual's 
engagement with his family or legally authorized 
representatives. The PRTF shall document on a weekly 
basis the reasons that family engagement is not occurring 
as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family 
engagement strategies to be used as part of the 
interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 
the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 
engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall collaborate 
with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop individualized 
family engagement strategies and document the revised 
strategies in the plan of care. 

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour 
period including nights and weekends. Family 
engagement activities are considered to be an 
intervention and shall occur based on the treatment and 
visitation goals and scheduling needs of the family or 
legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be 
documented on a progress note and shall be outlined in 
and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the 
plan of care. Any deviation from the plan of care shall be 

documented along with a clinical or medical justification 
for the deviation based on the needs of the individual.  

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 
indicated in the plan of care and as paired with 
community-based and facility-based interventions to 
promote discharge planning, community integration, and 
family engagement. Therapeutic passes include activities 
as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this section. Twenty-
four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual, 
per admission, without authorization as approved by the 
treating physician and documented in the plan of care. 
Additional therapeutic passes shall require service 
authorization from DMAS. Any unauthorized therapeutic 
passes not approved by the provider or DMAS shall 
result in retraction for those days of service. 

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 
continue throughout the individual's placement at the 
PRTF. The parent or legally authorized representative, 
the community services board (CSB), the family 
assessment planning team (FAPT) case manager, if 
appropriate, and the DMAS contracted care manager 
shall be involved in treatment planning and shall identify 
the anticipated needs of the individual and family upon 
discharge and identify the available services in the 
community. Prior to discharge, the PRTF shall submit an 
active discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. 
Once the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, 
the provider shall begin collaborating with the parent or 
legally authorized representative and the treatment team 
to identify behavioral health and medical providers and 
schedule appointments for service-specific provider 
intakes as needed. The PRTF shall request written 
permission from the parent or legally authorized 
representative to share treatment information with these 
providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid 
release. The PRTF shall request information from post-
discharge providers to establish that the planning of 
services and activities has begun, shall establish that the 
individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide 
individualized education program recommendations to 
the school if necessary. The PRTF shall inform the 
DMAS contractor of all scheduled appointments within 
30 calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 
contractor within one business day of the individual's 
discharge date from the PRTF. 

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in 
subdivisions 3 h (1) through 3 h (12) of this subsection 
up until the discharge of the individual shall result in a 
retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and 
coordinated service payments for each day of 
noncompliance.  

i. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the 
following requirements: 
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(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise 
in pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and 
experience, preferably including competence in child or 
adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of 
the following: assessing the individual's immediate and 
long-range therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, 
and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing the 
potential resources of the individual's family or legally 
authorized representative; setting treatment objectives; 
and prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the 
CIPOC's objectives. 

(2) The team shall include one of the following:  

(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician 
licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or  

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 
the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a 
licensed clinical psychologist. 

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
RP. 

4. Requirements for independent certification teams 
applicable to both therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. The independent certification team shall certify the 
need for PRTF or therapeutic group home services and 
issue a certificate of need document within the process 
and timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under 
contractual agreement with the DMAS contractor. 

b. The independent certification team shall be approved 
by DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with 
a locality or be approved under contractual agreement 
with the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and 
coordinate referral to the family assessment and planning 
team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of 
the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and 
for consideration of educational coverage and other 
supports not covered by DMAS. 

c. The independent certification team shall assess the 
individual's and family's strengths and needs in addition 
to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that indicate the 
need for behavioral health treatment and also consider 
whether local resources and community-based care are 
sufficient to meet the individual's treatment needs, as 
presented within the previous 30 calendar days, within 
the least restrictive environment. 

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 
LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team, 
shall meet with an individual and the individual's parent 
or legally authorized representative within two business 

days from a request to assess the individual's needs and 
begin the process to certify the need for an out-of-home 
placement.  

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an 
individual and the individual's parent or legally 
authorized representative within 10 business days from a 
request to certify the need for an out-of-home placement. 

f. The independent certification team shall assess the 
treatment needs of the individual to issue a certificate of 
need (CON) for the most appropriate medically 
necessary services. The certification shall include the 
dated signature and credentials for each of the team 
members who rendered the certification. Referring or 
treatment providers shall not actively participate during 
the certification process but may provide supporting 
clinical documentation to the certification team. 

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior 
to admission. 

h. The independent certification team shall provide the 
completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of 
completing the CON. 

i. The individual and the individual's parent or legally 
authorized representative shall have the right to freedom 
of choice of service providers. 

j. If the individual or the individual's parent or legally 
authorized representative disagrees with the independent 
certification team's recommendation, the parent or legally 
authorized representative may appeal the 
recommendation in accordance with 12VAC30-110.  

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification 
team, determines that the individual is in immediate need 
of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to an 
appropriate Medicaid-enrolled crisis intervention 
provider, crisis stabilization provider, or inpatient 
psychiatric provider in accordance with 12VAC30-50-
226 or shall refer the individual for emergency admission 
to a PRTF or therapeutic group home under subdivision 4 
m of this subsection and shall also alert the individual's 
managed care organization.  

l. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid 
at the time of admission, the independent certification 
team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 
competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental 
illness, preferably in child psychiatry, and have 
knowledge of the individual's situation and service 
availability in the individual's local service area. The 
team shall be composed of at least one physician and one 
LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP. 
An individual's parent or legally authorized 
representative shall be included in the certification 
process. 
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m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be 
made by the team responsible for the comprehensive 
individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall 
only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the 
team responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days 
after admission. The certification shall cover any period 
of time after admission and before claims are made for 
reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an 
emergency admission, the therapeutic group home, 
PRTF, or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall 
notify the DMAS contractor within five calendar days of 
the individual's status as being under the care of the 
facility.  

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for 
Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the 
certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS 
contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care 
coordination and consideration of educational coverage 
and other supports not covered by DMAS. 

o. For individuals who apply and become eligible for 
Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program, 
the certification shall be made by the team responsible 
for the CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before 
the application for Medicaid eligibility for which claims 
are made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the 
individual's enrollment into the Medicaid program, the 
therapeutic group home, PRTF, or IMD shall notify the 
DMAS contractor of the individual's status as being 
under the care of the facility within five calendar days of 
the individual becoming eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both 
therapeutic group homes and PRTFs:  

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted 
by DMAS using medical necessity criteria specified in 
this subsection.  

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis 
and meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 
subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission. The 
diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past 
12 months. If a current diagnosis is not available, the 
individual will require a mental health evaluation prior to 
admission by an LMHP affiliated with the independent 
certification team to establish a diagnosis and 
recommend and coordinate referral to the available 
treatment options. 

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be 
agreed upon by the individual and parent or legally 
authorized representative with the treating provider, and 
the treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating 
and documenting evidence of treatment progress, 
assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement, 
and obtaining authorization for continued stay. 

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for 
these services shall include:  

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment 
instrument approved by DMAS;  

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent 
certification team specifying all of the following:  

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded 
services available in the community do not meet the 
specific treatment needs of the individual;  

(b) Alternative community-based care was not 
successful;  

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric 
condition requires services in a 24-hour supervised 
setting under the direction of a physician; and  

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve 
the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 
that a more intensive level of care will not be needed; 

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) 
an evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP that has been 
completed within 30 calendar days of admission or (ii) a 
diagnosis confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review 
of a previous evaluation completed within one year of 
admission; 

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the 
seven calendar days immediately prior to admission; 

(5) A description of alternate placements and community 
mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional 
behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the 
outcomes of each service; 

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical 
stability; 

(7) The level of family involvement and supports 
available; and 

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC). 

6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both 
therapeutic group homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay 
authorization or a reauthorization to occur, the individual 
shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 
subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The 
length of the authorized stay shall be determined by 
DMAS. A current plan of care and a current (within 30 
calendar days) summary of progress related to the goals 
and objectives of the plan of care shall be submitted to 
DMAS for continuation of the service. The service 
provider shall also submit: 

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 
more than 30 business days prior to the date of 
submission;  
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b. Documentation that the required services have been 
provided as defined in the plan of care;  

c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information 
on progress related to the achievement of all treatment 
and discharge-related goals; and  

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment 
and treatment needs, problem behaviors, family 
engagement activities, community-based discharge 
planning and care coordination, and need for a residential 
level of care.  

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic 
group homes and PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded 
based on medical necessity for individuals eligible for 
EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities 
not available to other individuals, such as applied 
behavioral analysis and neuro-rehabilitative services. 
Individualized services to address specific clinical needs 
identified in an EPSDT screening shall require 
authorization by a DMAS contractor. In unique EPSDT 
cases, DMAS may authorize specialized services beyond 
the standard therapeutic group home or PRTF medical 
necessity criteria and program requirements, as medically 
and clinically indicated to ensure the most appropriate 
treatment is available to each individual. Treating service 
providers authorized to deliver medically necessary 
EPSDT services in therapeutic group homes and PRTFs on 
behalf of a Medicaid-enrolled individual shall adhere to the 
individualized interventions and evidence-based progress 
measurement criteria described in the plan of care and 
approved for reimbursement by DMAS. All 
documentation, independent certification team, family 
engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and discharge 
planning requirements shall apply to cases approved as 
EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service. 

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age for medically 
necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described 
in 42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of 
diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 
disorders identified under EPSDT when such services meet 
the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this 
subsection. 

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under 
the direction of a physician.  

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a 
psychiatric hospital that undergoes a state survey to 
determine whether the hospital meets the requirements 
for participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as 
specified in 42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national 
organization whose psychiatric hospital accrediting 
program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an 

inpatient psychiatric program that undergoes a state 
survey to determine whether the hospital meets the 
requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, 
as specified in 42 CFR part 482 or is accredited by a 
national accrediting organization whose hospital 
accrediting program has been approved by CMS. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care 
hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also 
be subject to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 
12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25. 

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 
treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 
Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a) and 
42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 
42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of Participation 
in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be 
service authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 
requirements for clinical necessity. 

e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals 
younger than 21 years of age shall include services that 
are provided pursuant to a certification of medical 
necessity and plan of care developed by an 
interdisciplinary team of professionals and shall involve 
active treatment designed to achieve the individual's 
discharge from inpatient status at the earliest possible 
time. The inpatient psychiatric benefit shall include 
services provided under arrangement furnished by 
Medicaid enrolled providers other than the inpatient 
psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient psychiatric 
facility (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all 
services, (ii) maintains all medical records of care 
furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that the 
services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 
Services provided under arrangement shall be 
documented by a written referral from the inpatient 
psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 
prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 
inpatient psychiatric facility who is licensed to prescribe 
drugs shall be considered the referral.  

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 
for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 
pharmacy services and emergency services. Private 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 
maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order the 
following services: (i) medical and psychological 
services including those furnished by physicians, 
licensed mental health professionals, and other licensed 
or certified health professionals (i.e., nutritionists, 
podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and substance abuse 
treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient hospital services; 
(iii) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 
for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 
disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology services; (v) 
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vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic 
services; (vii) nonemergency transportation services; and 
(viii) emergency services. (Emergency services means 
the same as is set forth in 12VAC30-50-310 B.) 

f. E. Mental health family support partners. 

(1) 1. Mental health family support partners are peer 
recovery support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer 
activities that engage, educate, and support the caregiver 
and an individual's self-help efforts to improve health 
recovery resiliency and wellness. Mental health family 
support partners is a peer support service and is a strength-
based, individualized service provided to the caregiver of a 
Medicaid-eligible individual younger than 21 years of age 
with a mental health disorder that is the focus of support. 
The services provided to the caregiver and individual must 
be directed exclusively toward the benefit of the Medicaid-
eligible individual. Services are expected to improve 
outcomes for individuals younger than 21 years of age with 
complex needs who are involved with multiple systems 
and increase the individual's and family's confidence and 
capacity to manage their own services and supports while 
promoting recovery and healthy relationships. These 
services are rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a 
minor or adult child with a similar mental health disorder 
or (ii) an adult with personal experience with a family 
member with a similar mental health disorder with 
experience navigating behavioral health care services. The 
PRS shall perform the service within the scope of his 
knowledge, lived experience, and education. 

(2) 2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making 
the recommendation for mental health family support 
partners, the peer recovery specialist in consultation with 
his direct supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, 
and wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation 
for service, the individual's and the caregiver's perceived 
recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or service 
specific provider intakes as defined in this section within 
30 calendar days of the initiation of service. Development 
of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall include 
collaboration with the individual and the individual's 
caregiver. Individualized goals and strategies shall be 
focused on the individual's identified needs for self-
advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, and 
wellness plan shall also include documentation of how 
many days per week and how many hours per week are 
required to carry out the services in order to meet the goals 
of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 
shall be completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, the 
PRS, the direct supervisor, the individual, and the 
individual's caregiver within 30 calendar days of the 
initiation of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for 
the individual, encouraging the individual and the 
caregiver to take a proactive role in developing and 

updating goals and objectives in the individualized 
recovery planning. 

(3) 3. Documentation of required activities shall be 
required as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A, C, and E 
through J. 

(4) 4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall 
be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210.  

(5) 5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of 
age who qualify to receive mental health family support 
partners shall (i) care for an individual with a mental health 
disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet two 
or more of the following: 

(a) a. Individual and his caregiver need peer-based 
recovery-oriented services for the maintenance of 
wellness and the acquisition of skills needed to support 
the individual.  

(b) b. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to 
develop self-advocacy skills to assist the individual in 
achieving self-management of the individual's health 
status.  

(c) c. Individual and his caregiver need assistance and 
support to prepare the individual for a successful work or 
school experience.  

(d) d. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help 
the individual and caregiver assume responsibility for 
recovery. 

(6) 6. Individuals 18 through, 19, and 20 years of age who 
meet the medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 B 
7 e, who would benefit from receiving peer supports 
directly and who choose to receive mental health peer 
support services directly instead of through their caregiver, 
shall be permitted to receive mental health peer support 
services by an appropriate PRS. 

(7) 7. To qualify for continued mental health family 
support partners, medical necessity criteria shall continue 
to be met, and progress notes shall document the status of 
progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 
resiliency, and wellness plan. 

(8) 8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support 
partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-
5180 E. 

(9) 9. Mental health family support partners services shall 
be rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

(10) 10. Prior to service initiation, a documented 
recommendation for mental health family support partners 
services shall be made by a licensed mental health 
professional (LMHP) who is acting within his scope of 
practice under state law. The recommendation shall verify 
that the individual meets the medical necessity criteria set 
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forth in subdivision 5 of this subsection. The 
recommendation shall be valid for no longer than 30 
calendar days. 

(11) 11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist 
shall have the qualifications, education, experience, and 
certification required by DBHDS in order to be eligible to 
register with the Virginia Board of Counseling on or after 
July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations by the 
Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 
specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 
The PRS shall perform mental health family support 
partners services under the oversight of the LMHP making 
the recommendation for services and providing the clinical 
oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 

(12) 12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a 
contractual relationship with the enrolled provider licensed 
for one of the following:  

(a) a. Acute care general and emergency department 
hospital services licensed by the Department of Health.  

(b) b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 
psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(c) c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

(d) d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

(e) e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

(f) f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

(g) g. A community mental health and rehabilitative 
services provider licensed by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as a 
provider of one of the following community mental 
health and rehabilitative services as defined in this 
section, 12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, or 
12VAC30-50-430 for which the individual younger than 
21 years meets medical necessity criteria: (i) intensive in 
home; (ii) therapeutic day treatment; (iii) day treatment 
or partial hospitalization; (iv) crisis intervention; (v) 
crisis stabilization; (vi) mental health skill building; or 
(vii) mental health case management. 

(13) 13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as 
referenced in subdivision 5 f (12) 12 of this subsection 
shall be eligible to bill and receive reimbursement from 
DMAS or its contractor for mental health family support 
partner services. Payments shall not be permitted to 
providers that fail to enter into an enrollment agreement 

with DMAS or its contractor. Reimbursement shall be 
subject to retraction for any billed service that is 
determined not to be in compliance with DMAS 
requirements. 

(14) 14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the 
requirements set forth in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 l. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 42 CFR 
440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders 
identified under EPSDT when such services are rendered 
by: (i) a psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or (ii) a 
psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 
or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at 
general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-
25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 
treatment facilities shall also be subject to the requirements 
of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of Amount, 
Duration and Scope of Selected Services.  

a. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include 
services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 that are provided 
under the direction of a physician pursuant to a 
certification of medical necessity and plan of care 
developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals 
and shall involve active treatment designed to achieve the 
child's discharge from inpatient status at the earliest 
possible time. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit 
shall include services provided under arrangement 
furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 
inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient 
psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the 
provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical 
records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) 
ensures that the services are furnished under the direction 
of a physician. Services provided under arrangement 
shall be documented by a written referral from the 
inpatient psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy 
services, a prescription ordered by an employee or 
contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe 
drugs shall be considered the referral.  

b. Eligible services provided under arrangement with the 
inpatient psychiatric facility shall vary by provider type 
as described in this subsection. For purposes of this 
section, emergency services means the same as is set out 
in 12VAC30-50-310 B. 
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(1) State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 
for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 
these services: (i) pharmacy services and (ii) emergency 
services. 

(2) Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 
arrange for, maintain records of, and ensure that 
physicians order these services: (i) medical and 
psychological services including those furnished by 
physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 
other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 
nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 
substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient 
hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, occupational 
therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, 
or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology 
services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and 
orthodontic services; (vii) transportation services; and 
(viii) emergency services.  

(3) Residential treatment facilities, as defined at 42 CFR 
483.352, shall arrange for, maintain records of, and 
ensure that physicians order these services: (i) medical 
and psychological services, including those furnished by 
physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 
other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 
nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 
substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) pharmacy 
services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; (iv) physical 
therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for 
individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders; 
(v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) durable 
medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) dental, 
oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) transportation 
services; and (x) emergency services.  

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 
(i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 
441.151(a) and (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 
441.156, and (ii) the conditions of participation in 
42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be 
preauthorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 
requirements for clinical necessity. 

d. Service limits may be exceeded based on medical 
necessity for individuals eligible for EPSDT. 

7. F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals 
younger than 21 years of age according to medical necessity 
when provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the 
practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 
Virginia. 

8. G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 
covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et 
seq. 

9. H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-
directed personal care services consistent with the 
requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935.  

10. I. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

a. 1. Definitions. The following words and terms when 
used in this subsection shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 
provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope 
of practice defined under a Virginia Department of Health 
Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care 
under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 
years of age. Behavioral therapy includes applied 
behavioral analysis. Family training related to the 
implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be included 
as part of the behavioral therapy service. Behavioral 
therapy services shall be subject to clinical reviews and 
determined as medically necessary. Behavioral therapy 
may be provided in the individual's home and community 
settings as deemed by DMAS or its contractor as medically 
necessary treatment. 

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service 
that can only be provided by a person holding a license 
issued by a health regulatory board at the Department of 
Health Professions, which includes conducting 
assessments, making diagnoses of mental disorders and 
conditions, establishing treatment plans, and determining 
treatment interventions.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 
years of age who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 
practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 
care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 
screening and referral and coordination of other medical 
services needed by the individual. 

b. 2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to 
enhance communication skills and decrease maladaptive 
patterns of behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to 
more complex problems and the need for a greater or a 
more intensive level of care. The service goal shall be to 
ensure the individual's family or caregiver is trained to 
effectively manage the individual's behavior in the home 
using modification strategies. All services shall be 
provided in accordance with the ISP and clinical 
assessment summary. 

c. 3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 
recommended by the individual's primary care provider or 
other licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or 
licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 
contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 
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ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 
that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 
or mental disabilities. Criteria for medical necessity are set 
out in 12VAC30-60-61 H F. Service-specific provider 
intakes shall be required at the onset of these services in 
order to receive authorization for reimbursement. 
Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be required 
throughout the entire duration of services. The services 
shall be provided in accordance with the individual service 
plan and clinical assessment summary. These services shall 
be provided in settings that are natural or normal for a 
child or adolescent without a disability, such as the 
individual's home, unless there is justification in the ISP, 
which has been authorized for reimbursement, to include 
service settings that promote a generalization of behaviors 
across different settings to maintain the targeted 
functioning outside of the treatment setting in the 
individual's home and the larger community within which 
the individual resides. Covered behavioral therapy services 
shall include: 

(1) a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake 
as defined in 12VAC30-60-61 H F;  

(2) b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as 
established in 12VAC30-60-61 H F;  

(3) c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 
clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 H F; 

(4) d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's 
adaptive functioning and communication skills;  

(5) e. Training a family member in behavioral 
modification methods as established in 12VAC30-60-61 
H F;  

(6) f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable 
behavioral data related to the treatment objectives; and 

(7) g. Care coordination. 

C. J. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 
July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 
receive screenings from those organizations. School 
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 
from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 
individualized education program (IEP) and covered 
under one or more of the service categories described in 
§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 
mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state 
practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia 
Department of Education, and shall meet applicable 
qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of 
defects, illnesses or conditions, and services necessary to 
correct or ameliorate them shall be performed by 
practitioners qualified to make those determinations within 
their licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the 
IEP team or by a qualified practitioner outside the IEP 
team. 

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or 
under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 
may also be available in the community from other 
providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 
in accordance with standards of medical practice. 
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 
providers to make the medical necessity determination in 
accordance with their scope of practice. The services 
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, and occupational therapy and 
services for individuals with speech, hearing, and 
language disorders, performed by, or under the direction 
of, providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 
42 CFR 440.110. This coverage includes audiology 
services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 
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Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 
tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 
under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 
level of complexity and sophistication (based on 
assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation) 
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 
include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, 
medication administration/monitoring administration or 
monitoring, and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 
specifically related to an active, written plan of care 
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 
order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse 
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 
be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 
defined under state law or regulations and covered as 
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 
outpatient services include individual medical 
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 
and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 
admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or 
developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing 
facility, or any placement issue. These services are 
covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers 
who may render these services when licensed by the state 
include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, 
school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 
professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 
specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 
social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 
professional develops a written plan for meeting the 
needs of the child individual, which is implemented by 
the assistant. The assistant must have qualifications 
comparable to those for other personal care aides 
recognized by the Virginia Department of Medical 
Assistance Services. The assistant performs services such 
as assisting with toileting, ambulation, and eating. The 
assistant may serve as an aide on a specially adapted 
school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 
school or school contracted provider on days when the 

student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 
IEP. Children Individuals requiring an aide during 
transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall have 
this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 
identify the nature or extent of a child's an individual's 
medical or other health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 
(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 
only by school division personnel or contractors. 
Transportation is covered for a child an individual who 
requires transportation on a specially adapted school 
vehicle that enables transportation to or from the school 
or school contracted provider on days when the student 
individual is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under 
the IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's 
individual's IEP. Children Individuals requiring an aide 
during transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall 
have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 
reassess the need for medical services in a child's an 
individual's IEP and shall be performed by any of the 
above licensed practitioners within the scope of practice. 
Assessments and reassessments not tied to medical needs 
of the child individual shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 
that duplication of services will be monitored. School 
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child an 
individual is receiving additional therapy outside of the 
school, that there will be coordination of services to avoid 
duplication of service.  

D. K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals 
of child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 
of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 
services shall not include services to treat infertility or 
services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 
not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 
be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 
referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 
§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 
family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 
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women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 
services for family planning and STI testing; family 
planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 
sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 
family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 
contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 

12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 
tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Affiliated" means any entity or property in which a 
provider or facility has a direct or indirect ownership interest 
of 5.0% or more, or any management, partnership, or control 
of an entity. 

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 
12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 
means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 
benefits program under contract with DMAS. DMAS' 
designated BHSA shall be authorized to constitute, oversee, 
enroll, and train a provider network; perform service 
authorization; adjudicate claims; process claims; gather and 
maintain data; reimburse providers; perform quality 
assessment and improvement; conduct member outreach and 
education; resolve member and provider issues; and perform 
utilization management including care coordination for the 
provision of Medicaid-covered behavioral health services. 
Such authority shall include entering into or terminating 
contracts with providers in accordance with DMAS authority 
pursuant to 42 CFR Part 1002 and § 32.1-325 D and E of the 
Code of Virginia. DMAS shall retain authority for and 
oversight of the BHSA entity or entities. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the 
local community services board/behavioral board or 
behavioral health authority or its designee who is skilled in 
the assessment and treatment of mental illness and who has 
completed a certification program approved by DBHDS.  

"Clinical experience" means, for the purpose of rendering (i) 
mental health day treatment/partial hospitalization, (ii) 
intensive community treatment, (iii) psychosocial 
rehabilitation, (iv) mental health skill building, (v) crisis 
stabilization, or (vi) crisis intervention services, practical 
experience in providing direct services to individuals with 
diagnoses of mental illness or intellectual disability or the 
provision of direct geriatric services or special education 

services. Experience shall include supervised internships, 
supervised practicums, or supervised field experience. 
Experience shall not include unsupervised internships, 
unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field experience. 
The equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 
purpose of this requirement shall be established by DBHDS 
in the document titled Human Services and Related Fields 
Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 
revised May 3, 2013. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-
300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 
supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 
supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 
documented practical experience rendering peer support 
services or family support services, have certification training 
as a PRS under a certifying body approved by DBHDS, and 
have documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 
training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental health professional 
(QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as defined in 12VAC35-
105-20 with at least two consecutive years of documented 
experience as a QMHP, and who has documented completion 
of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training; or (iii) shall be an 
LMHP who has documented completion of the DBHDS PRS 
supervisor training who is acting within his scope of practice 
under state law. An LMHP providing services before April 1, 
2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS 
PRS supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services and its contractor or contractors consistent with 
Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 
Psychiatric Association. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 
defined by DBHDS the Department of Health Professions in 
the guidance document entitled Human Services and Related 
Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 
revised May 3, 2013. Approved Degrees in Human Services 
and Related Fields for QMHP Registration, adopted 
November 3, 2017, revised February 9, 2018. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of 
services described in this section.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 
and regularly updated treatment plan specific to the 
individual's unique treatment needs as identified in the 
service-specific provider intake. The ISP contains, but is not 
limited to, the individual's treatment or training needs, the 
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individual's goals and measurable objectives to meet the 
identified needs, services to be provided with the 
recommended frequency to accomplish the measurable goals 
and objectives, the estimated timetable for achieving the goals 
and objectives, and an individualized discharge plan that 
describes transition to other appropriate services. The 
individual shall be included in the development of the ISP 
and the ISP shall be signed by the individual. If the individual 
is a minor child, the ISP shall also be signed by the 
individual's parent/legal parent or legal guardian. 
Documentation shall be provided if the individual, who is a 
minor child or an adult who lacks legal capacity, is unable or 
unwilling to sign the ISP. 

"Individualized training" means instruction and practice in 
functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 
individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of daily 
living skills, and use of community resources; assistance with 
medical management; and monitoring health, nutrition, and 
physical condition. The training shall be rehabilitative and 
based on a variety of incremental (or cumulative) approaches 
or tools to organize and guide the individual's life planning 
and shall reflect what is important to the individual in 
addition to all other factors that affect his the individual's 
functioning, including effects of the disability and issues of 
health and safety. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 
the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 
"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 
professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 
marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-
resident shall be in continuous compliance with the regulatory 
requirements of the applicable counseling profession for 
supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the 
LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision 
for specific clinical duties at a specific site has been 
preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. 
For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 
for services provided by such residents, they shall use the title 
"Resident" in connection with the applicable profession after 
their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 
same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined in 
18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 
LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 
experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not 
perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a 
"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a 
specific site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia 
Board of Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid 
reimbursement by supervisors for services provided by such 

residents, they shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" 
after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 
"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" is defined in 
18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 
LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 
practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 
the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 
until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 
site is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 
Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 
supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these 
persons shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after 
their signatures to indicate such status. 

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-
E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-
20, including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the 
Department of Health Professions. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 
12VAC30-130-5160.  

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 
contractor that an individual will be receiving services that do 
not require service authorization. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-
5160. 

"Review of ISP" means that the provider evaluates and 
updates the individual's progress toward meeting the 
individualized service plan objectives and documents the 
outcome of this review. For DMAS to determine that these 
reviews are satisfactory and complete, the reviews shall (i) 
update the goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP to 
reflect any change in the individual's progress and treatment 
needs as well as any newly identified problems; (ii) be 
conducted in a manner that enables the individual to 
participate in the process; and (iii) be documented in the 
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individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 
from the date of the review.  

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Service authorization" means the process to approve 
specific services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or 
FAMIS individual by a DMAS service authorization 
contractor prior to service delivery and reimbursement in 
order to validate that the service requested is medically 
necessary and meets DMAS and DMAS contractor criteria 
for reimbursement. Service authorization does not guarantee 
payment for the service. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 
who are older than 21 years of age. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-
130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-
5160. 

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 
definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 
hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 
intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health skill 
building. Staff travel time shall not be included in billable 
time for reimbursement. These services, in order to be 
covered, shall meet medical necessity criteria based upon 
diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing within the 
scope of their licenses and are reflected in provider records 
and on providers' claims for services by recognized diagnosis 
codes that support and are consistent with the requested 
professional services. These services are intended to be 
delivered in a person-centered person centered manner. The 
individuals who are receiving these services shall be included 
in all service planning activities. All services which do not 
require service authorization require registration. This 
registration shall transmit service-specific information to 
DMAS or its contractor in accordance with service 
authorization requirements.  

1. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours per 
day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, to 
groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 
services, limited annually to 780 units, include the major 
diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, psychosocial, and 
psychoeducational treatment modalities designed for 
individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 
comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who 
do not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall 
be defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on 
a given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at 
least four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three 
units of service shall be defined as seven or more hours in 

a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
time limited interventions that are more intensive than 
outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 
individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 
delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 
hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 
hospitalization to the community. The service-specific 
provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 
document the individual's behavior and describe how the 
individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or is 
transitioning from a psychiatric hospitalization to the 
community.  

b. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Individuals must meet at least two of the 
following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 
isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that the 
individual requires repeated interventions or monitoring 
by the mental health, social services, or judicial system 
that have been documented; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 
they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 
less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 
stabilization.  

d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 
90 calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-
to-face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 
clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 
licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 
nurse specialist.  

e. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-
A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at least two 
or more hours per day to groups of individuals in a 
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nonresidential setting. These services, limited annually to 
936 units, include assessment, education to teach the 
patient about the diagnosed mental illness and appropriate 
medications to avoid complication and relapse, and 
opportunities to learn and use independent living skills and 
to enhance social and interpersonal skills within a 
supportive and normalizing program structure and 
environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum 
of two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units 
are defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a 
given day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven 
or more hours in a given day. Authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. The service-specific provider 
intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the 
individual's behavior and describe how the individual 
meets criteria for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Services are provided to individuals: (i) who 
without these services would be unable to remain in the 
community or (ii) who meet at least two of the following 
criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 
interventions documented by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 
or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  

b. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-
A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

3. Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental 
health care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, 
to assist individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 
dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 
service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 
condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 
provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 
setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 
the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 
designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 

further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 
the individual and family with ongoing care to prevent 
future crises. Crisis intervention services may include 
office visits, home visits, preadmission screenings, 
telephone contacts, and other client-related activities for 
the prevention of institutionalization. The service-specific 
provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 
document the individual's behavior and describe how the 
individual meets criteria for this service. The provision of 
this service to an individual shall be registered with either 
DMAS, DMAS contractors, or the BHSA within one 
business day or the completion of the service-specific 
provider intake to avoid duplication of services and to 
ensure informed care coordination.  

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the 
individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 
Individuals must meet at least two of the following 
criteria at the time of admission to the service: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions documented by mental health, social 
services, or the judicial system are or have been 
necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The annual limit for crisis intervention is 720 units per 
year. A unit shall equal 15 minutes.  

c. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, an 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, or a 
certified prescreener. 

4. Intensive community treatment (ICT), initially covered 
for a maximum of 26 weeks based on an initial service-
specific provider intake and may be reauthorized for up to 
an additional 26 weeks annually based on written intake 
and certification of need by a licensed mental health 
provider (LMHP), shall be defined by 12VAC35-105-20 or 
LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP and shall include 
medical psychotherapy, psychiatric assessment, medication 
management, and care coordination activities offered to 
outpatients outside the clinic, hospital, or office setting for 
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individuals who are best served in the community. 
Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement.  

a. To qualify for ICT, the individual must meet at least 
one of the following criteria:  

(1) The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 
hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due 
to mental illness or require intervention by the mental 
health or criminal justice system due to inappropriate 
social behavior.  

(2) The individual has a history (three months or more) 
of a need for intensive mental health treatment or 
treatment for co-occurring serious mental illness and 
substance use disorder and demonstrates a resistance to 
seek out and utilize appropriate treatment options.  

b. A written, service-specific provider intake, as defined 
at 12VAC30-50-130, that documents the individual's 
eligibility and the need for this service must be 
completed prior to the initiation of services. This intake 
must be maintained in the individual's records.  

c. An individual service plan shall be initiated at the time 
of admission and must be fully developed, as defined in 
this section, within 30 days of the initiation of services.  

d. The annual unit limit shall be 130 units with a unit 
equaling one hour. 

e. These services may only be rendered by a team that 
meets the requirements of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

5. Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 
individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 
individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 
may jeopardize their current community living situation. 
Services may be provided for up to a 15-day period per 
crisis episode following a face-to-face service-specific 
provider intake by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP. Only one unit of service shall be 
reimbursed for this intake. The provision of this service to 
an individual shall be registered with either DMAS, 
DMAS contractors, or the BHSA within one business day 
of the completion of the service-specific provider intake to 
avoid duplication of services and to ensure informed care 
coordination.  

a. The goals of crisis stabilization programs shall be to 
avert hospitalization or rehospitalization, provide 
normative environments with a high assurance of safety 
and security for crisis intervention, stabilize individuals 
in psychiatric crisis, and mobilize the resources of the 
community support system and family members and 
others for on-going maintenance and rehabilitation. The 
services must be documented in the individual's records 
as having been provided consistent with the ISP in order 
to receive Medicaid reimbursement.  

b. The crisis stabilization program shall provide to 
individuals, as appropriate, psychiatric assessment 
including medication evaluation, treatment planning, 
symptom and behavior management, and individual and 
group counseling.  

c. This service may be provided in any of the following 
settings, but shall not be limited to: (i) the home of an 
individual who lives with family or other primary 
caregiver; (ii) the home of an individual who lives 
independently; or (iii) community-based programs 
licensed by DBHDS to provide residential services but 
which are not institutions for mental disease (IMDs).  

d. This service shall not be reimbursed for (i) individuals 
with medical conditions that require hospital care; (ii) 
individuals with a primary diagnosis of substance abuse; 
or (iii) individuals with psychiatric conditions that cannot 
be managed in the community (i.e., individuals who are 
of imminent danger to themselves or others).  

e. The maximum limit on this service is 60 days 
annually. 

f. Services must be documented through daily progress 
notes and a daily log of times spent in the delivery of 
services. The service-specific provider intake, as defined 
at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the individual's 
behavior and describe how the individual meets criteria 
for this service. Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service 
arising from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that 
puts the individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 
Individuals must meet at least two of the following 
criteria at the time of admission to the service:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
the individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions documented by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 
or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 
individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

g. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-
A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E or a certified prescreener. 
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6. Mental health skill-building services (MHSS) shall be 
defined as goal-directed training to enable individuals to 
achieve and maintain community stability and 
independence in the most appropriate, least restrictive 
environment. Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 
of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. These 
services may be authorized up to six consecutive months as 
long as the individual meets the coverage criteria for this 
service. The service-specific provider intake, as defined at 
12VAC30-50-130, shall document the individual's 
behavior and describe how the individual meets criteria for 
this service. These services shall provide goal-directed 
training in the following areas in order to be reimbursed by 
Medicaid or the BHSA DMAS contractor: (i) functional 
skills and appropriate behavior related to the individual's 
health and safety, instrumental activities of daily living, 
and use of community resources; (ii) assistance with 
medication management; and (iii) monitoring of health, 
nutrition, and physical condition with goals towards self-
monitoring and self-regulation of all of these activities. 
Providers shall be reimbursed only for training activities 
defined in the ISP and only where services meet the service 
definition, eligibility, and service provision criteria and this 
section. A review of MHSS services by an LMHP, LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall be repeated for all 
individuals who have received at least six months of 
MHSS to determine the continued need for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service shall 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional 
illness that results in significant functional impairments 
in major life activities. Services are provided to 
individuals who require individualized goal-directed 
training in order to achieve or maintain stability and 
independence in the community. 

b. Individuals ages 21 years of age and older shall meet 
all of the following criteria in order to be eligible to 
receive mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall have one of the following as a 
primary mental health diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 
the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 
physician has documented specific to the identified 
individual within the past year and that includes all of the 
following: (i) is a serious mental illness; (ii) results in 
severe and recurrent disability; (iii) produces functional 
limitations in the individual's major life activities that are 
documented in the individual's medical record; and (iv) 

requires individualized training for the individual in 
order to achieve or maintain independent living in the 
community. 

(2) The individual shall require individualized goal-
directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-
regulation of basic living skills, such as symptom 
management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 
health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 
social skills and personal support systems; skills to 
manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 
maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 
management; and use of community resources.  

(3) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 
following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 
residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 
intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 
assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 
placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 
(RTC-Level C) (PRTF) as a result of decompensation 
related to the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) a 
temporary detention order (TDO) evaluation, pursuant to 
§ 37.2-809 B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall 
be met in order to be initially admitted to services and 
not for subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 
summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 
the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 
treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 
treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 
requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 
to meet this requirement. 

(4) The individual shall have had a prescription for 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications within the 12 months prior to the service-
specific provider intake date. If a physician or other 
practitioner who is authorized by his license to prescribe 
medications indicates that antipsychotic, mood 
stabilizing, or antidepressant medications are medically 
contraindicated for the individual, the provider shall 
obtain medical records signed by the physician or other 
licensed prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 
documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 
mental health skill-building services record, and the 
provider shall document and describe how the individual 
will be able to actively participate in and benefit from 
services without the assistance of medication. This 
criterion shall be met upon admission to services and 
shall not be required for subsequent authorizations of 
service. Discharge summaries from prior providers that 
clearly indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the 
dates of the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the 
name of the treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet 
this requirement. Family member statements shall not 
suffice to meet this requirement. 
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c. Individuals aged 18 to 21 years of age shall meet all of 
the following criteria in order to be eligible to receive 
mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall not be living in a supervised 
setting as described in § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. If the individual is transitioning into an 
independent living situation, MHSS shall only be 
authorized for up to six months prior to the date of 
transition. 

(2) The individual shall have at least one of the following 
as a primary mental health diagnosis.:  

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 
the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 
physician has documented specific to the identified 
individual within the past year and that includes all of the 
following: (i) is a serious mental illness or serious 
emotional disturbance; (ii) results in severe and recurrent 
disability; (iii) produces functional limitations in the 
individual's major life activities that are documented in 
the individual's medical record; and (iv) requires 
individualized training for the individual in order to 
achieve or maintain independent living in the 
community. 

(3) The individual shall require individualized goal-
directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-
regulation of basic living skills such as symptom 
management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 
health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 
social skills and personal support systems; skills to 
manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 
maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 
management; and use of community resources. 

(4) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 
following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 
residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 
intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 
assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 
placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 
(RTC-Level C) as a result of decompensation related to 
the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) temporary 
detention order (TDO) evaluation pursuant to § 37.2-809 
B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall be met in 
order to be initially admitted to services and not for 
subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 
summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 
the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 
treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 
treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 

requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 
to meet this requirement. 

(5) The individual shall have had a prescription for 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications, within the 12 months prior to the 
assessment date. If a physician or other practitioner who 
is authorized by his license to prescribe medications 
indicates that antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or 
antidepressant medications are medically contraindicated 
for the individual, the provider shall obtain medical 
records signed by the physician or other licensed 
prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 
documentation of medication management shall be 
maintained in the individual's mental health skill-
building services record. For individuals not prescribed 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications, the provider shall have documentation from 
the medication management physician describing how 
the individual will be able to actively participate in and 
benefit from services without the assistance of 
medication. This criterion shall be met in order to be 
initially admitted to services and not for subsequent 
authorizations of service. Discharge summaries from 
prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the type of 
treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 
previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 
provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 
Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 
requirement. 

(6) An independent clinical assessment, established in 
12VAC30-130-3020, shall be completed for the 
individual. 

d. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and individual service plans (ISPs) 
shall be required during the entire duration of 
services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 
outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 
be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-
specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in 
12VAC30-50-130. 

e. The yearly limit for mental health skill-building 
services is 520 units. Only direct face-to-face contacts 
and services to the individual shall be reimbursable. One 
unit is 1 to 2.99 hours per day, and two units is 3 to 4.99 
hours per day. 

f. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, 
QMHP-E, or QPPMH. 

g. The provider shall clearly document details of the 
services provided during the entire amount of time billed. 

h. The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 
duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 
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therapeutic group home or assisted living facility. The 
provider shall coordinate mental health skill-building 
services with the treatment plan established by the group 
home or assisted living facility and shall document all 
coordination activities in the medical record.  

i. Limits and exclusions. 

(1) Group Therapeutic group home (Level A or B) and 
assisted living facility providers shall not serve as the 
mental health skill-building services provider for 
individuals residing in the provider's respective facility. 
Individuals residing in facilities may, however, receive 
MHSS from another MHSS agency not affiliated with the 
owner of the facility in which they reside. 

(2) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 
residential services or congregate residential services 
through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 
and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

(3) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 
services under the Department of Social Services 
independent living program (22VAC40-151), 
independent living services (22VAC40-131 and 
22VAC40-151), or independent living arrangement 
(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-
funded independent living skills programs. 

(4) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who are receiving treatment 
foster care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

(5) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 
hospitals. 

(6) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 
except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 
individual has not been discharged from the nursing 
facility during the 60-day period of services, mental 
health skill-building services shall be terminated and no 
further service authorizations shall be available to the 
individual unless a provider can demonstrate and 
document that mental health skill-building services are 
necessary. Such documentation shall include facts 
demonstrating a change in the individual's circumstances 
and a new plan for discharge requiring up to 60 days of 
mental health skill-building services. 

(7) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available for residents of psychiatric residential treatment 
centers (Level C facilities) except for the intake code 
H0032 (modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior 
to discharge. 

(8) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 
services are being received simultaneously, unless 
justification is provided why this is necessary in the 
individual's mental health skill-building services record. 
Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 
need for services when personal care or attendant care 
services are being provided. This applies to individuals 
who are receiving additional services through the 
Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 
seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 
or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 
(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services 
(12VAC30-50-130).  

(9) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
duplicative of other services. Providers shall be required 
to ensure that if an individual is receiving additional 
therapeutic services that there will be coordination of 
services by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 
LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or QPPMH to 
avoid duplication of services. 

(10) Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 
delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 
elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 
mental health skill-building services unless their 
physicians issue signed and dated statements indicating 
that the individuals can benefit from this service. 

(11) Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious 
mental health disorder but who have personality 
disorders or other mental health disorders, or both, that 
may lead to chronic disability shall not be excluded from 
the mental health skill-building services eligibility 
criteria provided that the individual has a primary mental 
health diagnosis from the list included in subdivision B 6 
b (1) or B 6 c (2) of this section and that the provider can 
document and describe how the individual is expected to 
actively participate in and benefit from mental health 
skill-building services. 

7. Mental health peer support services. 

a. Mental health peer support services are peer recovery 
support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer 
activities that engage, educate, and support an 
individual's self-help efforts to improve health recovery, 
resiliency, and wellness. Mental health peer support 
services for adults is a person centered, strength-based, 
and recovery-oriented rehabilitative service for 
individuals 21 years of age or older provided by a peer 
recovery specialist successful in the recovery process 
with lived experience with a mental health disorder, who 
is trained to offer support and assistance in helping others 
in the recovery to reduce the disabling effects of a mental 
health disorder that is the focus of support. Services 
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assist the individual with developing and maintaining a 
path to recovery, resiliency, and wellness. Specific peer 
support service activities shall emphasize the acquisition, 
development, and enhancement of recovery, resiliency, 
and wellness. Services are designed to promote 
empowerment, self-determination, understanding, and 
coping skills through mentoring and service coordination 
supports, as well as to assist individuals in achieving 
positive coping mechanisms for the stressors and barriers 
encountered when recovering from their illnesses or 
disorders. 

b. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making the 
recommendation for mental health support services, the 
peer recovery specialist in consultation with his direct 
supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, and 
wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation for 
service, the individual's perceived recovery needs, and 
any clinical assessments or service specific provider 
intakes as defined in this section within 30 calendar days 
of the initiation of service. Development of the recovery, 
resiliency, and wellness plan shall include collaboration 
with the individual. Individualized goals and strategies 
shall be focused on the individual's identified needs for 
self-advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, 
and wellness plan shall also include documentation of 
how many days per week and how many hours per week 
are required to carry out the services in order to meet the 
goals of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness 
plan shall be completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, 
the PRS, the direct supervisor, and the individual within 
30 calendar days of the initiation of service. The PRS 
shall act as an advocate for the individual, encouraging 
the individual to take a proactive role in developing and 
updating goals and objectives in the individualized 
recovery planning. 

c. Documentation of required activities shall be required 
as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A, C, and E through 
J. 

d. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be 
the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210. 

e. Individuals 21 years of age or older qualifying for 
mental health peer support services shall meet the 
following requirements: 

(1) Require recovery-oriented assistance and support 
services for the acquisition of skills needed to engage in 
and maintain recovery; for the development of self-
advocacy skills to achieve a decreasing dependency on 
formalized treatment systems; and to increase 
responsibilities, wellness potential, and shared 
accountability for the individual's own recovery.  

(2) Have a documented mental health disorder diagnosis.  

(3) Demonstrate moderate to severe functional 
impairment because of a diagnosis that interferes with or 
limits performance in at least one of the following 
domains: educational (e.g., obtaining a high school or 
college degree); social (e.g., developing a social support 
system); vocational (e.g., obtaining part-time or full-time 
employment); self-maintenance (e.g., managing 
symptoms, understanding his illness, living more 
independently). 

f. To qualify for continued mental health peer support 
services, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be 
met, and progress notes shall document the status of 
progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 
resiliency, and wellness plan. 

g. Discharge criteria from mental health peer support 
services is the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 
E. 

h. Mental health peer support services shall be rendered 
on an individual basis or in a group. 

i. Prior to service initiation, a documented 
recommendation for mental health peer support 
services shall be made by a licensed mental health 
professional acting within the scope of practice under 
state law The recommendation shall verify that the 
individual meets the medical necessity criteria set forth in 
subdivision 7 e of this subsection. The recommendation 
shall be valid for no longer than 30 calendar days. 

j. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 
have the qualifications, education, experience, and 
certification established by DBHDS in order to be 
eligible to register with the Board of Counseling on or 
after July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations 
by the Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 
specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 
The PRS shall perform mental health peer support 
services under the oversight of the LMHP making the 
recommendation for services and providing the clinical 
oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 
The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 
relationship with an enrolled provider licensed for one of 
the following: 

(1) Acute care general hospital licensed by the 
Department of Health.  

(2) Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 
psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(3) Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services. 

(4) Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 
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(5) Rural health clinics and federally qualified health 
centers. 

(6) Hospital emergency department services licensed by 
the Department of Health. 

(7) Community mental health and rehabilitative services 
provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services as a provider of one 
of the following community mental health and 
rehabilitative services defined in this section or 
12VAC30-50-420 for which the individual meets 
medical necessity criteria: 

(a) Day treatment or partial hospitalization; 

(b) Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

(c) Crisis intervention; 

(d) Intensive community treatment; 

(e) Crisis stabilization;  

(f) Mental health skill building; or 

(g) Mental health case management. 

k. Only the licensed and enrolled provider referenced in 
subdivision 7 j of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 
mental health peer support services. Payments shall not 
be permitted to providers that fail to enter into an 
enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor. 
Reimbursement shall be subject to retraction for any 
billed service that is determined to not to be in 
compliance with DMAS requirements. 

l. Supervision of the PRS shall be required as set forth in 
the definition of "supervision" in 12VAC30-130-5160. 
Supervision of the PRS shall also meet the following 
requirements: the supervisor shall be under the clinical 
oversight of the LMHP making the recommendation for 
services, and the peer recovery specialist in consultation 
with his direct supervisor shall conduct and document a 
review of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 
every 90 calendar days with the individual and the 
caregiver, as applicable. The review shall be signed by 
the PRS and the individual and, as applicable, the 
identified family member or caregiver. Review of the 
recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan means the PRS 
evaluates and updates the individual's progress every 90 
days toward meeting the plan's goals and documents the 
outcome of this review in the individual's medical record. 
For DMAS to determine that these reviews are complete, 
the reviews shall (i) update the goals and objectives as 
needed to reflect any change in the individual's recovery 
as well as any newly identified needs, (ii) be conducted 
in a manner that enables the individual to actively 
participate in the process, and (iii) be documented by the 
PRS in the individual's medical record no later than 15 
calendar days from the date of the review. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-50)  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth 
Edition, DSM-5, 2013, American Psychiatric Association 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda 

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2010, dated 
March 13, 2014 
(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_
ORM_140313.pdf) 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 
2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine 

Human Services and Related Fields Approved 
Degrees/Experience, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (rev. 5/13)  

Approved Degrees in Human Services and Related Fields 
for QMHP Registration, adopted on November 3, 2017, 
revised on February 9, 2018 

12VAC30-60-5. Applicability of utilization review 
requirements. 

A. These utilization requirements shall apply to all Medicaid 
covered services unless otherwise specified. 

B. Some Medicaid covered services require an approved 
service authorization prior to service delivery in order for 
reimbursement to occur.  

1. To obtain service authorization, all providers' 
information supplied to the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS), service authorization 
contractor, or the behavioral health service authorization 
contractor or its contractor shall be fully substantiated 
throughout individuals' medical records.  

2. Providers shall be required to maintain documentation 
detailing all relevant information about the Medicaid 
individuals who are in providers' the provider's care. Such 
documentation shall fully disclose the extent of services 
provided in order to support providers' the provider's 
claims for reimbursement for services rendered. This 
documentation shall be written, signed, and dated at the 
time the services are rendered unless specified otherwise.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451%7E1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451%7E1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
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C. DMAS, or its designee contractor, shall perform reviews 
of the utilization of all Medicaid covered services pursuant to 
42 CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456.  

D. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered 
services when providers' documentation does not comport 
with standards specified in all applicable regulations. 

E. Providers who are determined not to be in compliance 
with DMAS requirements shall be subject to 12VAC30-80-
130 for the repayment of those overpayments to DMAS. 

F. Utilization review requirements specific to community 
mental health services and residential treatment services, 
including therapeutic group homes and psychiatric residential 
treatment facilities (PRTFs), as set out in 12VAC30-50-130 
and 12VAC30-50-226, shall be as follows: 

1. To apply to be reimbursed as a Medicaid provider, the 
required Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) license shall be either a 
full, annual, triennial, or conditional license. Providers 
must be enrolled with DMAS or the BHSA its contractor 
to be reimbursed. Once a health care entity has been 
enrolled as a provider, it shall maintain, and update 
periodically as DMAS or its contractor requires, a current 
Provider Enrollment Agreement for each Medicaid service 
that the provider offers.  

2. Health care entities with provisional licenses shall not be 
reimbursed as Medicaid providers of community mental 
health services. 

3. Payments shall not be permitted to health care entities 
that either hold provisional licenses or fail to enter into a 
Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement provider 
contract with DMAS or its contractor for a service prior to 
rendering that service. 

4. The behavioral health service authorization contractor 
DMAS or its contractor shall apply a national standardized 
set of medical necessity criteria in use in the industry, such 
as McKesson InterQual Criteria, or an equivalent standard 
authorized in advance by DMAS. Services that fail to meet 
medical necessity criteria shall be denied service 
authorization. 

5. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement for services 
provided by staff in residency, the following terms shall be 
used after their signatures to indicate such status: 

a. An LMHP-R shall use the term "Resident" after his 
signature. 

b. An LMHP-RP shall use the term "Resident in 
Psychology" after his signature. 

c. An LMHP-S shall use the term "Supervisee in Social 
Work" after his signature. 

12VAC30-60-50. Utilization control: Intermediate Care 
Facilities care facilities for the Mentally Retarded 
(ICF/MR) persons with intellectual and developmental 
disabilities and Institutions institutions for Mental Disease 
(IMD) mental disease.  

A. "Institution for mental disease" or "IMD" means the same 
as that term is defined in § 1905(i) of the Social Security Act. 

B. With respect to each Medicaid-eligible resident in an 
ICF/MR intermediate care facility for persons with 
intellectual and developmental disabilities (ICF/ID) or an 
IMD in Virginia, a written plan of care must be developed 
prior to admission to or authorization of benefits in such 
facility, and a regular program of independent professional 
review (including a medical evaluation) shall be completed 
periodically for such services. The purpose of the review is to 
determine: the adequacy of the services available to meet his 
the resident's current health needs and promote his the 
resident's maximum physical well being; the necessity and 
desirability of his the resident's continued placement in the 
facility; and the feasibility of meeting his the resident's health 
care needs through alternative institutional or noninstitutional 
services. Long-term care of residents in such facilities will be 
provided in accordance with federal law that is based on the 
resident's medical and social needs and requirements.  

B. C. With respect to each ICF/MR ICF/ID or IMD, periodic 
on-site onsite inspections of the care being provided to each 
person receiving medical assistance, by one or more 
independent professional review teams (composed of a 
physician or registered nurse and other appropriate health and 
social service personnel), shall be conducted. The review 
shall include, with respect to each recipient, a determination 
of the adequacy of the services available to meet his the 
resident's current health needs and promote his the resident's 
maximum physical well-being, the necessity and desirability 
of continued placement in the facility, and the feasibility of 
meeting his the resident's health care needs through 
alternative institutional or noninstitutional services. Full 
reports shall be made to the state agency by the review team 
of the findings of each inspection, together with any 
recommendations.  

C. D. In order for reimbursement to be made to a facility for 
the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 
developmental disabilities, the resident must meet criteria for 
placement in such facility as described in 12VAC30-60-360 
and the facility must provide active treatment for mental 
retardation intellectual or developmental disabilities.  

D. E. In each case for which payment for nursing facility 
services for the mentally retarded persons with intellectual or 
developmental disabilities or institution for mental disease 
services is made under the State Plan:  

1. A physician must certify for each applicant or recipient 
that inpatient care is needed in a facility for the mentally 
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retarded or an institution for mental disease. A certificate 
of need shall be completed by an independent certification 
team according to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 
5. Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar 
days by a physician, or by a physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner acting within their scope of practice as defined 
by state law and under the supervision of a physician. The 
certification must be made at the time of admission or, if 
an individual applies for assistance while in the facility, 
before the Medicaid agency authorizes payment; and  

2. A physician, or physician assistant or nurse practitioner 
acting within the scope of the practice as defined by state 
law and under the supervision of a physician, must 
recertify for each applicant at least every 365 60 calendar 
days that services are needed in a facility for the mentally 
retarded persons with intellectual and developmental 
disabilities or an institution for mental disease.  

E. F. When a resident no longer meets criteria for facilities 
for the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 
developmental disabilities or for an institution for mental 
disease, or no longer requires active treatment in a facility for 
the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 
developmental disabilities then the resident must shall be 
discharged.  

F. G. All services provided in an IMD and in an ICF/MR 
ICF/ID shall be provided in accordance with guidelines found 
in the Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual.  

H. All services provided in an IMD shall be provided with 
the applicable provider agreement and all documents 
referenced therein. 

I. Psychiatric services in IMDs shall only be covered for 
eligible individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

J. IMD services provided without service authorization from 
DMAS or its contractor shall not be covered. 

K. Absence of any of the required IMD documentation shall 
result in denial or retraction of reimbursement.  

L. In each case for which payment for IMD services is made 
under the State Plan: 

1. A physician shall certify at the time of admission, or at 
the time the IMD is notified of an individual's retroactive 
eligibility status, that the individual requires or required 
inpatient services in an IMD consistent with 42 CFR 
456.160. 

2. The physician, or physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner acting within the scope of practice as defined 
by state law and under the supervision of a physician, shall 
recertify at least every 60 calendar days that the individual 
continues to require inpatient services in an IMD. 

3.  Before admission to an IMD or before authorization for 
payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall 

perform a medical evaluation of the individual, and 
appropriate personnel shall complete a psychiatric and 
social evaluation as described in 42 CFR 456.170. 

4. Before admission to an IMD or before authorization for 
payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall 
establish a written plan of care for each individual as 
described in 42 CFR 441.155 and 42 CFR 456.180.  

M. It shall be documented that the individual requiring 
admission to an IMD who is younger than 21 years of age, 
that treatment is medically necessary, and that the necessity 
was identified as a result of an independent certification of 
need team review. Required documentation shall include the 
following: 

1. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition 2013, American 
Psychiatric Association, and based on an evaluation by a 
psychiatrist completed within 30 calendar days of 
admission or if the diagnosis is confirmed, in writing, by a 
previous evaluation completed within one year within 
admission. 

2. A certification of the need for services as defined in 
42 CFR 441.152 by an interdisciplinary team meeting the 
requirements of 42 CFR 441.153 or 42 CFR 441.156 and 
the Psychiatric Treatment of Minors Act (§ 16.1-335 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

N. The use of seclusion and restraint in an IMD shall be in 
accordance with 42 CFR 483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376. 
Each use of a seclusion or restraint, as defined in 42 CFR 
483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376, shall be reported by the 
service provider to DMAS or its contractor within one 
calendar day of the incident. 

12VAC30-60-61. Services related to the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program 
(EPSDT); community mental health and behavioral 
therapy services for children. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context indicates otherwise: 

"At risk" means one or more of the following: (i) within the 
two weeks before the intake, the individual shall be screened 
by an LMHP for escalating behaviors that have put either the 
individual or others at immediate risk of physical injury; (ii) 
the parent/guardian parent or guardian is unable to manage 
the individual's mental, behavioral, or emotional problems in 
the home and is actively, within the past two to four weeks, 
seeking an out-of-home placement; (iii) a representative of 
either a juvenile justice agency, a department of social 
services (either the state agency or local agency), a 
community services board/behavioral health authority, the 
Department of Education, or an LMHP, as defined in 
12VAC35-105-20, and who is neither an employee of nor 
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consultant to the intensive in-home (IIH) services or 
therapeutic day treatment (TDT) provider, has recommended 
an out-of-home placement absent an immediate change of 
behaviors and when unsuccessful mental health services are 
evident; (iv) the individual has a history of unsuccessful 
services (either crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, 
outpatient psychotherapy, outpatient substance abuse 
services, or mental health support) within the past 30 calendar 
days; or (v) the treatment team or family assessment planning 
team (FAPT) recommends IIH services or TDT for an 
individual currently who is either: (a) transitioning out of 
psychiatric residential treatment facility Level C (PRTF) 
services, (b) transitioning out of a therapeutic group home 
Level A or B services, (c) transitioning out of acute 
psychiatric hospitalization, or (d) transitioning between foster 
homes, mental health case management, crisis intervention, 
crisis stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, or outpatient 
substance abuse services.  

"Failed services" or "unsuccessful services" means, as 
measured by ongoing behavioral, mental, or physical distress, 
that the services did not treat or resolve the individual's 
mental health or behavioral issues. 

"Individual" means the Medicaid-eligible person receiving 
these services and for the purpose of this section includes 
children from birth up to 12 years of age or and adolescents 
ages 12 through 20 years. 

"Licensed assistant behavior analyst" means a person who 
has met the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and 
holds a valid license issued by the Department of Health 
Professions. 

"Licensed behavior analyst" means a person who has met 
the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and holds a valid 
license issued by the Department of Health Professions. 

"New service" means a community mental health 
rehabilitation service for which the individual does not have a 
current service authorization in effect as of July 17, 2011. 

"Out-of-home placement" means placement in one or more 
of the following: (i) either a Level A or Level B therapeutic 
group home; (ii) regular foster home if the individual is 
currently residing with his the individual's biological family 
and, due to his behavior problems, is at risk of being placed in 
the custody of the local department of social services; (iii) 
treatment foster care if the individual is currently residing 
with his the individual's biological family or a regular foster 
care family and, due to the individual's behavioral problems, 
is at risk of removal to a higher level of care; (iv) Level C 
psychiatric residential treatment facility; (v) emergency 
shelter for the individual only due either to his mental health 
or behavior or both; (vi) psychiatric hospitalization; or (vii) 
juvenile justice system or incarceration.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 
that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 
also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 
professional staff who have prepared the notes. Individualized 
progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 
requirements and shall convey the individual's status, staff 
interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's progress or 
lack of progress toward goals and objectives in the plan of 
care. The progress notes shall also include, at a minimum, the 
name of the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, 
the signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 
service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and the 
amount of time or units required to deliver the service. The 
content of each progress note shall corroborate the time or 
units billed. Progress notes shall be documented for each 
service that is billed. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the evaluation that 
is conducted according to the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) intake definition set out in 
12VAC30-50-130. 

B. Utilization review requirements for all services in this 
section. 

1. The services described in this section shall be rendered 
consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 
requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-
50-130. 

2. Providers shall be required to refund payments made by 
Medicaid if they fail to maintain adequate documentation 
to support billed activities. 

3. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall meet all of the 
requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-143 B 7. 

C. Utilization review of intensive in-home (IIH) services for 
children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for intensive in-home (IIH) 
services is contained in 12VAC30-50-130. 

2. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 
a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 
behavioral or emotional illness that results in significant 
functional impairments in major life activities. Individuals 
must meet at least two of the following criteria on a 
continuing or intermittent basis to be authorized for these 
services:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 
at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 
because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 
repeated interventions by the mental health, social 
services or judicial system are or have been necessary.  
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c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 
unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

3. Prior to admission, an appropriate service-specific 
provider intake, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, shall be 
conducted by the licensed mental health professional 
(LMHP), LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
RP, documenting the individual's diagnosis and describing 
how service needs can best be met through intervention 
provided typically but not solely in the individual's 
residence. The service-specific provider intake shall 
describe how the individual's clinical needs put the 
individual at risk of out-of-home placement and shall be 
conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence. 
Claims for services that are based upon service-specific 
provider intakes that are incomplete, outdated (more than 
12 months old), or missing shall not be reimbursed. 

4. An individual service plan (ISP) shall be fully 
completed, signed, and dated by either an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a 
QMHP-E and the individual and individual's 
parent/guardian parent or guardian within 30 calendar days 
of initiation of services. The ISP shall meet all of the 
requirements as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

5. DMAS shall not reimburse for dates of services in which 
the progress notes are not individualized and child-specific. 
Duplicated progress notes shall not constitute the required 
child-specific individualized progress notes. Each progress 
note shall demonstrate unique differences particular to the 
individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress. Claim 
payments shall be retracted for services that are supported 
by documentation that does not demonstrate unique 
differences particular to the individual.  

6. Services shall be directed toward the treatment of the 
eligible individual and delivered primarily in the family's 
residence with the individual present. As clinically 
indicated, the services may be rendered in the community 
if there is documentation, on that date of service, of the 
necessity of providing services in the community. The 
documentation shall describe how the alternative 
community service location supports the identified clinical 
needs of the individual and describe how it facilitates the 
implementation of the ISP. For services provided outside 
of the home, there shall be documentation reflecting 
therapeutic treatment as set forth in the ISP provided for 
that date of service in the appropriately signed and dated 
progress notes. 

7. These services shall be provided when the clinical needs 
of the individual put him the individual at risk for out-of-
home placement, as these terms are defined in this section: 

a. When services that are far more intensive than 
outpatient clinic care are required to stabilize the 
individual in the family situation,; or  

b. When the individual's residence as the setting for 
services is more likely to be successful than a clinic.  

The service-specific provider intake shall describe how the 
individual meets either subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this 
subdivision 7 subsection. 

8. Services shall not be provided if the individual is no 
longer a resident of the home. 

9. Services shall also be used to facilitate the transition to 
home from an out-of-home placement when services more 
intensive than outpatient clinic care are required for the 
transition to be successful. The individual and responsible 
parent/guardian parent or guardian shall be available and in 
agreement to participate in the transition.  

10. At least one parent/legal parent or legal guardian or 
responsible adult with whom the individual is living must 
be willing to participate in the intensive in-home services 
with the goal of keeping the individual with the family. In 
the instance of this service, a responsible adult shall be an 
adult who lives in the same household with the child and is 
responsible for engaging in therapy and service-related 
activities to benefit the individual.  

11. The enrolled provider shall be licensed by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) as a provider of intensive in-home 
services. The provider shall also have a provider 
enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor in 
effect prior to the delivery of this service that indicates that 
the provider will offer intensive in-home services. 

12. Services must only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 
QMHP-E. Reimbursement shall not be provided for such 
services when they have been rendered by a QPPMH as 
defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

13. The billing unit for intensive in-home service shall be 
one hour. Although the pattern of service delivery may 
vary, intensive in-home services is an intensive service 
provided to individuals for whom there is an ISP in effect 
which demonstrates the need for a minimum of three hours 
a week of intensive in-home service, and includes a plan 
for service provision of a minimum of three hours of 
service delivery per individual/family individual or family 
per week in the initial phase of treatment. It is expected 
that the pattern of service provision may show more 
intensive services and more frequent contact with the 
individual and family initially with a lessening or tapering 
off of intensity toward the latter weeks of service. Service 
plans shall incorporate an individualized discharge plan 
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that describes transition from intensive in-home to less 
intensive or nonhome based services. 

14. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 
updated as the individual's needs and progress changes and 
signed by either the parent or legal guardian and the 
individual. Documentation shall be provided if the 
individual, who is a minor child, is unable or unwilling to 
sign the ISP. If there is a lapse in services that is greater 
than 31 consecutive calendar days without any 
communications from family members/legal members or 
legal guardian or the individual with the provider, the 
provider shall discharge the individual. If the individual 
continues to need services, then a new intake/admission 
intake or admission shall be documented and a new service 
authorization shall be required. 

15. The provider shall ensure that the maximum staff-to-
caseload ratio fully meets the needs of the individual. 

16. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 
management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 
12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall contact the case 
manager and provide notification of the provision of 
services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 
updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 
discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 
within 30 calendar days of the service discontinuation date. 
Providers and case managers who are using the same 
electronic health record for the individual shall meet 
requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 
updates, and discharge summary upon entry of the 
information in the electronic health records.  

17. Emergency assistance shall be available 24 hours per 
day, seven days a week.  

18. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 
requirements at 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers that 
DMAS determines violate these marketing requirements 
shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 
12VAC30-130-2000 E.  

19. The provider shall determine who the primary care 
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 
individual or guardian, shall inform him the primary care 
provider of the individual's receipt of IIH services. The 
documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 
contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. 

D. Utilization review of therapeutic day treatment for 
children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for therapeutic day treatment 
(TDT) for children and adolescents is contained in 
12VAC30-50-130.  

2. Therapeutic day treatment is appropriate for children 
and adolescents who meet one of the following criteria:  

a. Children and adolescents who require year-round 
treatment in order to sustain behavior or emotional gains.  

b. Children and adolescents whose behavior and 
emotional problems are so severe they cannot be handled 
in self-contained or resource emotionally disturbed (ED) 
classrooms without:  

(1) This programming during the school day; or  

(2) This programming to supplement the school day or 
school year.  

c. Children and adolescents who would otherwise be 
placed on homebound instruction because of severe 
emotional/behavior problems that interfere with learning.  

d. Children and adolescents who (i) have deficits in 
social skills, peer relations or dealing with authority; (ii) 
are hyperactive; (iii) have poor impulse control; or (iv) 
are extremely depressed or marginally connected with 
reality.  

e. Children in preschool enrichment and early 
intervention programs when the children's 
emotional/behavioral emotional or behavioral problems 
are so severe that they the children cannot function in 
these programs without additional services.  

3. The service-specific provider intake shall document the 
individual's behavior and describe how the individual 
meets these specific service criteria in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection.  

4. Prior to admission to this service, a service-specific 
provider intake shall be conducted by the LMHP as 
defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

5. An ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and by the individual or the 
parent/guardian parent or guardian within 30 calendar days 
of initiation of services and shall meet all requirements of 
an ISP as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. Individual progress 
notes shall be required for each contact with the individual 
and shall meet all of the requirements as defined in 
12VAC30-50-130 this section. 

6. Such services shall not duplicate those services provided 
by the school.  

7. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 
a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 
due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Individuals shall meet at least two of the 
following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 
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at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 
because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 
repeated interventions by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary.  

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 
unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

8. The enrolled provider of therapeutic day treatment for 
child and adolescent services shall be licensed by DBHDS 
to provide day support services. The provider shall also 
have a provider enrollment agreement in effect with 
DMAS prior to the delivery of this service that indicates 
that the provider offers therapeutic day treatment services 
for children and adolescents.  

9. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 
QMHP-E.  

10. The minimum staff-to-individual ratio as defined by 
DBHDS licensing requirements shall ensure that adequate 
staff is available to meet the needs of the individual 
identified on the ISP.  

11. The program shall operate a minimum of two hours per 
day and may offer flexible program hours (i.e., before or 
after school or during the summer). One unit of service 
shall be defined as a minimum of two hours but less than 
three hours in a given day. Two units of service shall be 
defined as a minimum of three but less than five hours in a 
given day. Three units of service shall be defined as five or 
more hours of service in a given day.  

12. Time required for academic instruction when no 
treatment activity is going on shall not be included in the 
billing unit.  

13. Services shall be provided following a service-specific 
provider intake that is conducted by an LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. An LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident shall make and 
document the diagnosis. The service-specific provider 
intake shall include the elements as defined in 12VAC30-
50-130. 

14. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 
management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 
12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall collaborate with the 
case manager and provide notification of the provision of 
services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 
updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 
discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 
within 30 calendar days of the service discontinuation date. 
Providers and case managers using the same electronic 
health record for the individual shall meet requirements for 
delivery of the notification, monthly updates, and 

discharge summary upon entry of this documentation into 
the electronic health record.  

15. The provider shall determine who the primary care 
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 
individual or parent/legal the individual's parent or legal 
guardian, shall inform the primary care provider of the 
child's the individual's receipt of community mental health 
rehabilitative services. The documentation shall include 
who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 
information was transmitted. The parent/legal parent or 
legal guardian shall be required to give written consent that 
this provider has permission to inform the primary care 
provider of the child's or adolescent's receipt of community 
mental health rehabilitative services.  

16. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 
requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 
that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 
requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 
pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. 

17. If there is a lapse in services greater than 31 
consecutive calendar days, the provider shall discharge the 
individual. If the individual continues to need services, a 
new intake/admission intake or admission documentation 
shall be prepared and a new service authorization shall be 
required. 

E. Utilization review of community-based services for 
children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level 
A).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least one to six during the day 
and at least one to 10 between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The 
program director supervising the program/group home 
must be, at minimum, a QMHP-C or QMHP-E (as defined 
in 12VAC35-105-20). The program director must be 
employed full time.  

2. In order for Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at 
least 50% of the provider's direct care staff at the group 
home must meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff criteria, 
defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

3. Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 
All community-based services for children and adolescents 
younger than 21 (Level A) require authorization prior to 
reimbursement for these services. Reimbursement shall not 
be made for this service when other less intensive services 
may achieve stabilization.  

4. Services must be provided in accordance with an 
individual service plan (ISP), which must be fully 
completed within 30 days of authorization for Medicaid 
reimbursement.  

5. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake 
shall be conducted according to DMAS specifications 
described in 12VAC30-50-130. 
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6. Such service-specific provider intakes shall be 
performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP. 

7. If an individual receiving community-based services for 
children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age 
(Level A) is also receiving case management services, the 
provider shall collaborate with the case manager by 
notifying the case manager of the provision of Level A 
services and shall send monthly updates on the individual's 
progress. When the individual is discharged from Level A 
services, a discharge summary shall be sent to the case 
manager within 30 days of the service discontinuation 
date. Providers and case managers who are using the same 
electronic health record for the individual shall meet 
requirements for the delivery of the notification, monthly 
updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 
documentation into the electronic health record.  

F. E. Utilization review of therapeutic behavioral services 
group home for children and adolescents younger than 21 
years of age (Level B).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least one to four during the day 
and at least one to eight between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. 
approved by the Office of Licensure at the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. The 
clinical director must shall be a licensed mental health 
professional. The caseload of the clinical director must not 
exceed 16 individuals including all sites for which the 
same clinical director is responsible.  

2. The program director must shall be full time and be a 
QMHP-C or QMHP-E with a bachelor's degree and at least 
one year's clinical experience meet the requirements for a 
program director as defined in 12VAC35-46-350. 

3. For Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at least 
50% of the provider's direct care staff at the therapeutic 
group home shall meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff 
qualified paraprofessional in mental health (QPPMH) 
criteria, as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. The 
program/group therapeutic group home must shall 
coordinate services with other providers.  

4. All therapeutic behavioral group home services (Level 
B) shall be authorized prior to reimbursement for these 
services. Services rendered without such prior 
authorization shall not be covered.  

5. Services must be provided in accordance with an ISP a 
comprehensive individual plan of care as defined in 
12VAC30-50-130, which shall be fully completed within 
30 calendar days of authorization for Medicaid 
reimbursement.  

6. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake an 
assessment shall be performed using all elements specified 
by DMAS in 12VAC30-50-130.  

7. Such service-specific provider intakes assessments shall 
be performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP. 

8. If an individual receiving therapeutic behavioral group 
home services for children and adolescents younger than 
21 years of age (Level B) is also receiving case 
management services, the therapeutic behavioral group 
home services provider must collaborate with the care 
coordinator/case manager by notifying him of the 
provision of Level B therapeutic group home services and 
the Level B therapeutic group home services provider shall 
send monthly updates on the individual's treatment status. 
When the individual is discharged from Level B services, a 
discharge summary shall be sent to the care 
coordinator/case manager within 30 days of the 
discontinuation date.  

9. The provider shall determine who the primary care 
provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 
individual or parent/legal guardian parent or legally 
authorized representative, shall inform the primary care 
provider of the individual's receipt of these Level B 
therapeutic group home services. The documentation shall 
include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and 
what information was transmitted. If these individuals are 
children or adolescents, then the parent/legal guardian 
parent or legally authorized representative shall be required 
to give written consent that this provider has permission to 
inform the primary care provider of the individual's receipt 
of community mental health rehabilitative services.  

G. Utilization review. Utilization reviews for community-
based services for children and adolescents younger than 21 
years of age (Level A) and therapeutic behavioral services for 
children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level 
B) shall include determinations whether providers meet all 
DMAS requirements, including compliance with DMAS 
marketing requirements. Providers that DMAS determines 
have violated the DMAS marketing requirements shall be 
terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 12VAC30-
130-2000 E.  

H. F. Utilization review of behavioral therapy services for 
children individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

1. In order for Medicaid to cover behavioral therapy 
services, the provider shall be enrolled with DMAS or its 
contractor as a Medicaid provider. The provider enrollment 
agreement shall be in effect prior to the delivery of services 
for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than 21 years of age when 
recommended by the individual's primary care provider, 
licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or licensed 
nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 
contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 
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ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 
that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 
or mental disabilities. 

3. Behavioral therapy services require service 
authorization. Services shall be authorized only when 
eligibility and medical necessity criteria are met. 

4. Prior to treatment, an appropriate service-specific 
provider intake shall be conducted, documented, signed, 
and dated by a licensed behavior analyst (LBA), licensed 
assistant behavior analyst (LABA), LMHP, LMHP-R, 
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, acting within the scope of his 
practice, documenting the individual's diagnosis (including 
a description of the behaviors targeted for treatment with 
their frequency, duration, and intensity) and describing 
how service needs can best be met through behavioral 
therapy. The service-specific provider intake shall be 
conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence with 
the individual and parent or guardian.  

5. The ISP shall be developed upon admission to the 
service and reviewed within 30 days of admission to the 
service to ensure that all treatment goals are reflective of 
the individual's clinical needs and shall describe each 
treatment goal, targeted behavior, one or more measurable 
objectives for each targeted behavior, the behavioral 
modification strategy to be used to manage each targeted 
behavior, the plan for parent or caregiver training, care 
coordination, and the measurement and data collection 
methods to be used for each targeted behavior in the ISP. 
The ISP as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 shall be fully 
completed, signed, and dated by an LBA, LABA, LMHP, 
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. Every three months, 
the LBA, LABA, LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-
S shall review the ISP, modify the ISP as appropriate, and 
update the ISP, and all of these activities shall occur with 
the individual in a manner in which the individual may 
participate in the process. The ISP shall be rewritten at 
least annually.  

6. Reimbursement for the initial service-specific provider 
intake and the initial ISP shall be limited to five hours 
without service authorization. If additional time is needed 
to complete these documents, service authorization shall be 
required.  

7. Clinical supervision shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement of behavioral therapy services that are 
rendered by an LABA, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S 
or unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of practice as 
described by the applicable Virginia Department of Health 
Professions regulatory board. Clinical supervision of 
unlicensed staff shall occur at least weekly. As 
documented in the individual's medical record, clinical 
supervision shall include a review of progress notes and 
data and dialogue with supervised staff about the 
individual's progress and the effectiveness of the ISP. 

Clinical supervision shall be documented by, at a 
minimum, the contemporaneously dated signature of the 
clinical supervisor.  

8. Family training involving the individual's family and 
significant others to advance the treatment goals of the 
individual shall be provided when (i) the training with the 
family member or significant other is for the direct benefit 
of the individual, (ii) the training is not aimed at addressing 
the treatment needs of the individual's family or significant 
others, (iii) the individual is present except when it is 
clinically appropriate for the individual to be absent in 
order to advance the individual's treatment goals, and (iv) 
the training is aligned with the goals of the individual's 
treatment plan.  

9. The following shall not be covered under this service: 

a. Screening to identify physical, mental, or 
developmental conditions that may require evaluation or 
treatment. Screening is covered as an EPSDT service 
provided by the primary care provider and is not covered 
as a behavioral therapy service under this section.  

b. Services other than the initial service-specific provider 
intake that are provided but are not based upon the 
individual's ISP or linked to a service in the ISP. Time 
not actively involved in providing services directed by 
the ISP shall not be reimbursed. 

c. Services that are based upon an incomplete, missing, 
or outdated service-specific provider intake or ISP. 

d. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 
education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 
respite or child care. 

e. Services that are provided by a provider but are 
rendered primarily by a relative or guardian who is 
legally responsible for the individual's care. 

f. Services that are provided in a clinic or provider's 
office without documented justification for the location 
in the ISP. 

g. Services that are provided in the absence of the 
individual or a parent or other authorized caregiver 
identified in the ISP with the exception of treatment 
review processes described in subdivision 12 e of this 
subsection, care coordination, and clinical supervision.  

h. Services provided by a local education agency. 

i. Provider travel time. 

10. Behavioral therapy services shall not be reimbursed 
concurrently with community mental health services 
described in 12VAC30-50-130 B 5 C or 12VAC30-50-
226, or behavioral, psychological, or psychiatric 
therapeutic consultation described in 12VAC30-120-
756, 12VAC30-120-1000, or 12VAC30-135-320. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 14 Virginia Register of Regulations March 4, 2019 

1892 

11. If the individual is receiving targeted case management 
services under the Medicaid state plan State Plan (defined 
in 12VAC30-50-410 through 12VAC30-50-491 
12VAC30-50-491), the provider shall notify the case 
manager of the provision of behavioral therapy services 
unless the parent or guardian requests that the information 
not be released. In addition, the provider shall send 
monthly updates to the case manager on the individual's 
status pursuant to a valid release of information. A 
discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 
within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. A 
refusal of the parent or guardian to release information 
shall be documented in the medical record for the date the 
request was discussed. 

12. Other standards to ensure quality of services: 

a. Services shall be delivered only by an LBA, LABA, 
LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or clinically 
supervised unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of 
practice as described by the applicable Virginia 
Department of Health Professions regulatory board.  

b. Individual-specific services shall be directed toward 
the treatment of the eligible individual and delivered in 
the family's residence unless an alternative location is 
justified and documented in the ISP. 

c. Individual-specific progress notes shall be created 
contemporaneously with the service activities and shall 
document the name and Medicaid number of each 
individual; the provider's name, signature, and date; and 
time of service. Documentation shall include activities 
provided, length of services provided, the individual's 
reaction to that day's activity, and documentation of the 
individual's and the parent or caregiver's progress toward 
achieving each behavioral objective through analysis and 
reporting of quantifiable behavioral data. Documentation 
shall be prepared to clearly demonstrate efficacy using 
baseline and service-related data that shows clinical 
progress and generalization for the child and family 
members toward the therapy goals as defined in the 
service plan. 

d. Documentation of all billed services shall include the 
amount of time or billable units spent to deliver the 
service and shall be signed and dated on the date of the 
service by the practitioner rendering the service. 

e. Billable time is permitted for the LBA, LABA, LMHP, 
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to better define 
behaviors and develop documentation strategies to 
measure treatment performance and the efficacy of the 
ISP objectives, provided that these activities are 
documented in a progress note as described in 
subdivision 12 c of this subsection. 

13. Failure to comply with any of the requirements in 
12VAC30-50-130 or in this section shall result in 
retraction. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-60)  

Department of Medical Assistance Services Provider 
Manuals 
(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/
ProviderManuals): 

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual 

Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual  

Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual 

Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual 

Development of Special Criteria for the Purposes of Pre-
Admission Screening, Medicaid Memo, October 3, 2012, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), copyright 2000, American 
Psychiatric Association 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders (ASAM PPC-2R), Second Edition, 
copyright 2001, American Society on Addiction Medicine, 
Inc. 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: New Service 
Authorization Requirement for an Independent Clinical 
Assessment for Medicaid and FAMIS Children's Community 
Mental Health Rehabilitative Services, dated June 16, 2011, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Children 
Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - 
Children's Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated 
July 23, 2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Community 
Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - Adult-Oriented 
Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated July 23, 
2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Approved Degrees in Human Services and Related Fields 
for QMHP Registration, adopted November 3, 2017, revised 
February 9, 2018 

Part XIV  
Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and 

Adolescents (Repealed) 

12VAC30-130-850. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195%7E1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195%7E1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195%7E1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790%7E2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790%7E3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790%7E3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790%7E3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790%7E3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495%7E28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
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"Active treatment" means implementation of a 
professionally developed and supervised individual plan of 
care that must be designed to achieve the recipient's discharge 
from inpatient status at the earliest possible time.  

"Certification" means a statement signed by a physician that 
inpatient services in a residential treatment facility are or 
were needed. The certification must be made at the time of 
admission, or, if an individual applies for assistance while in 
a mental hospital or residential treatment facility, before the 
Medicaid agency authorizes payment.  

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means 
a written plan developed for each recipient in accordance with 
12VAC30-130-890 to improve his condition to the extent that 
inpatient care is no longer necessary.  

"Emergency services" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) such that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in placing the health of the individual (or, 
with respect to a pregnant woman, the health of the woman or 
her unborn child) in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to 
bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ 
or part. 

"Individual" or "individuals" means a child or adolescent 
younger than 21 years of age who is receiving a service 
covered under this part of this chapter.  

"Initial plan of care" means a plan of care established at 
admission, signed by the attending physician or staff 
physician, that meets the requirements in 12VAC30-130-890.  

"Inpatient psychiatric facility" or "IPF" means a private or 
state-run freestanding psychiatric hospital or psychiatric 
residential treatment center. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or 
recipient that inpatient services in a residential treatment 
facility are needed. Recertification must be made at least 
every 60 days by a physician, or physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner acting within the scope of practice as defined by 
state law and under the supervision of a physician.  

"Recipient" or "recipients" means the child or adolescent 
younger than 21 years of age receiving this covered service.  

"RTC-Level C" means a psychiatric residential treatment 
facility (Level C). 

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 
including physician and other health care services that are 
furnished to children while they are in an IPF that are billed 
by the arranged practitioners separately from the IPF per 
diem. 

12VAC30-130-860. Service coverage; eligible individuals; 
service certification. (Repealed.) 

A. Residential treatment programs (Level C) shall be 24-
hour, supervised, medically necessary, out-of-home programs 
designed to provide necessary support and address the special 
mental health and behavioral needs of a child or adolescent in 
order to prevent or minimize the need for more intensive 
inpatient treatment. Services must include, but shall not be 
limited to, assessment and evaluation, medical treatment 
(including drugs), individual and group counseling, and 
family therapy necessary to treat the child.  

B. Residential treatment programs (Level C) shall provide a 
total, 24 hours per day, specialized form of highly organized, 
intensive and planned therapeutic interventions that shall be 
utilized to treat some of the most severe mental, emotional, 
and behavioral disorders. Residential treatment is a definitive 
therapeutic modality designed to deliver specified results for 
a defined group of problems for children or adolescents for 
whom outpatient day treatment or other less intrusive levels 
of care are not appropriate, and for whom a protected, 
structured milieu is medically necessary for an extended 
period of time.  

C. Therapeutic Behavioral Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level B) and Community-Based 
Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A) 
must be therapeutic services rendered in a residential type 
setting such as a group home or program that provides 
structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic 
supervision and mental health care to ensure the attainment of 
therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the individual 
service plan (plan of care). The child or adolescent must have 
a medical need for the service arising from a condition due to 
mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 
significant functional impairments in major life activities.  

D. Active treatment shall be required. Residential 
Treatment, Therapeutic Behavioral and Community-Based 
Services for Children and Adolescents under age 21 shall be 
designed to serve the mental health needs of children. In order 
to be reimbursed for Residential Treatment (Level C), 
Therapeutic Behavioral Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level B), and Community-Based 
Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A), 
the facility must provide active mental health treatment 
beginning at admission and it must be related to the 
recipient's principle diagnosis and admitting symptoms. To 
the extent that any recipient needs mental health treatment 
and his needs meet the medical necessity criteria for the 
service, he will be approved for these services. These services 
do not include interventions and activities designed only to 
meet the supportive nonmental health special needs, including 
but not limited to personal care, habilitation or academic 
educational needs of the recipients.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 14 Virginia Register of Regulations March 4, 2019 

1894 

E. An individual eligible for Residential Treatment Services 
(Level C) is a recipient under the age of 21 years whose 
treatment needs cannot be met by ambulatory care resources 
available in the community, for whom proper treatment of his 
psychiatric condition requires services on an inpatient basis 
under the direction of a physician.  

An individual eligible for Therapeutic Behavioral Services 
for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level B) is a child, 
under the age of 21 years, for whom proper treatment of his 
psychiatric condition requires less intensive treatment in a 
structured, therapeutic residential program under the direction 
of a Licensed Mental Health Professional.  

An individual eligible for Community-Based Services for 
Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A) is a child, under 
the age of 21 years, for whom proper treatment of his 
psychiatric condition requires less intensive treatment in a 
structured, therapeutic residential program under the direction 
of a qualified mental health professional. The services for all 
three levels can reasonably be expected to improve the child's 
or adolescent's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will no longer be needed.  

F. In order for Medicaid to reimburse for Residential 
Treatment (Level C), Therapeutic Behavioral Services for 
Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level B), and 
Community-Based Services for Children and Adolescents 
under 21 (Level A), the need for the service must be certified 
according to the standards and requirements set forth in 
subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. At least one member 
of the independent certifying team must have pediatric mental 
health expertise.  

1. For an individual who is already a Medicaid recipient 
when he is admitted to a facility or program, certification 
must:  

a. Be made by an independent certifying team that 
includes a licensed physician who:  

(1) Has competence in diagnosis and treatment of 
pediatric mental illness; and  

(2) Has knowledge of the recipient's mental health 
history and current situation.  

b. Be signed and dated by a physician and the team.  

2. For a recipient who applies for Medicaid while an 
inpatient in the facility or program, the certification must:  

a. Be made by the team responsible for the plan of care;  

b. Cover any period of time before the application for 
Medicaid eligibility for which claims for reimbursement 
by Medicaid are made; and  

c. Be signed and dated by a physician and the team.  

12VAC30-130-870. Preauthorization. (Repealed.)  

A. Authorization for Residential Treatment (Level C) shall 
be required within 24 hours of admission and shall be 
conducted by DMAS or its utilization management contractor 
using medical necessity criteria specified by DMAS. At 
preauthorization, an initial length of stay shall be assigned 
and the residential treatment provider shall be responsible for 
obtaining authorization for continued stay.  

B. DMAS will not pay for admission to or continued stay in 
residential facilities (Level C) that were not authorized by 
DMAS.  

C. Information that is required in order to obtain admission 
preauthorization for Medicaid payment shall include:  

1. A completed state-designated uniform assessment 
instrument approved by the department.  

2. A certification of the need for this service by the team 
described in 12VAC30-130-860 that:  

a. The ambulatory care resources available in the 
community do not meet the specific treatment needs of 
the recipient;  

b. Proper treatment of the recipient's psychiatric 
condition requires services on an inpatient basis under 
the direction of a physician; and  

c. The services can reasonably be expected to improve 
the recipient's condition or prevent further regression so 
that the services will not be needed.  

3. Additional required written documentation shall include 
all of the following:  

a. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM-IV, 
effective October 1, 1996), including Axis I (Clinical 
Disorders), Axis II (Personality Disorders/Mental 
Retardation, Axis III (General Medical Conditions), Axis 
IV (Psychosocial and Environmental Problems), and 
Axis V (Global Assessment of Functioning);  

b. A description of the child's behavior during the seven 
days immediately prior to admission;  

c. A description of alternative placements tried or 
explored and the outcomes of each placement;  

d. The child's functional level and clinical stability;  

e. The level of family support available; and  

f. The initial plan of care as defined and specified at 
12VAC30-130-890.  

D. Continued stay criteria for Residential Treatment (Level 
C): information for continued stay authorization (Level C) for 
Medicaid payment must include:  
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1. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 
more than 90 days prior to the date of submission;  

2. Documentation that the required services are provided as 
indicated;  

3. Current (within the last 30 days) information on progress 
related to the achievement of treatment goals. The 
treatment goals must address the reasons for admission, 
including a description of any new symptoms amenable to 
treatment;  

4. Description of continued impairment, problem 
behaviors, and need for Residential Treatment level of 
care.  

E. Denial of service may be appealed by the recipient 
consistent with 12VAC30-110-10 et seq.; denial of 
reimbursement may be appealed by the provider consistent 
with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia).  

F. DMAS will not pay for services for Therapeutic 
Behavioral Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 
(Level B), and Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A) that are not prior authorized 
by DMAS.  

G. Authorization for Level A and Level B residential 
treatment shall be required within three business days of 
admission. Authorization for services shall be based upon the 
medical necessity criteria described in 12VAC30-50-130. The 
authorized length of stay must not exceed six months and 
may be reauthorized. The provider shall be responsible for 
documenting the need for a continued stay and providing 
supporting documentation.  

H. Information that is required in order to obtain admission 
authorization for Medicaid payment must include:  

1. A current completed state-designated uniform 
assessment instrument approved by the department. The 
state designated uniform assessment instrument must 
indicate at least two areas of moderate impairment for 
Level B and two areas of moderate impairment for Level 
A. A moderate impairment is evidenced by, but not limited 
to:  

a. Frequent conflict in the family setting, for example, 
credible threats of physical harm.  

b. Frequent inability to accept age appropriate direction 
and supervision from caretakers, family members, at 
school, or in the home or community.  

c. Severely limited involvement in social support; which 
means significant avoidance of appropriate social 
interaction, deterioration of existing relationships, or 
refusal to participate in therapeutic interventions.  

d. Impaired ability to form a trusting relationship with at 
least one caretaker in the home, school or community.  

e. Limited ability to consider the effect of one's 
inappropriate conduct on others, interactions consistently 
involving conflict, which may include impulsive or 
abusive behaviors.  

2. A certification of the need for the service by the team 
described in 12VAC30-130-860 that:  

a. The ambulatory care resources available in the 
community do not meet the specific treatment needs of 
the child;  

b. Proper treatment of the child's psychiatric condition 
requires services in a community-based residential 
program; and  

c. The services can reasonably be expected to improve 
the child's condition or prevent regression so that the 
services will not be needed.  

3. Additional required written documentation must include 
all of the following:  

a. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM-IV, 
effective October 1, 1996), including Axis I (Clinical 
Disorders), Axis II (Personality Disorders/Mental 
Retardation), Axis III (General Medical Conditions), 
Axis IV (Psychosocial and Environmental Problems), 
and Axis V (Global Assessment of Functioning);  

b. A description of the child's behavior during the 30 
days immediately prior to admission;  

c. A description of alternative placements tried or 
explored and the outcomes of each placement;  

d. The child's functional level and clinical stability;  

e. The level of family support available; and  

f. The initial plan of care as defined and specified at 
12VAC30-130-890.  

I. Denial of service may be appealed by the child consistent 
with 12VAC30-110; denial of reimbursement may be 
appealed by the provider consistent with the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

J. Continued stay criteria for Levels A and B:  

1. The length of the authorized stay shall be determined by 
DMAS or its contractor.  

2. A current Individual Service Plan (ISP) (plan of care) 
and a current (within 30 days) summary of progress related 
to the goals and objectives on the ISP (plan of care) must 
be submitted for continuation of the service.  

3. For reauthorization to occur, the desired outcome or 
level of functioning has not been restored or improved, 
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over the time frame outlined in the child's ISP (plan of 
care) or the child continues to be at risk for relapse based 
on history or the tenuous nature of the functional gains and 
use of less intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 
Any one of the following must apply:  

a. The child has achieved initial service plan (plan of 
care) goals but additional goals are indicated that cannot 
be met at a lower level of care.  

b. The child is making satisfactory progress toward 
meeting goals but has not attained ISP goals, and the 
goals cannot be addressed at a lower level of care.  

c. The child is not making progress, and the service plan 
(plan of care) has been modified to identify more 
effective interventions.  

d. There are current indications that the child requires 
this level of treatment to maintain level of functioning as 
evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for 
therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential 
setting or in a lower level of residential treatment.  

K. Discharge criteria for Levels A and B.  

1. Reimbursement shall not be made for this level of care if 
either of the following applies:  

a. The level of functioning has improved with respect to 
the goals outlined in the service plan (plan of care) and 
the child can reasonably be expected to maintain these 
gains at a lower level of treatment; or  

b. The child no longer benefits from service as evidenced 
by absence of progress toward service plan goals for a 
period of 60 days.  

12VAC30-130-880. Provider qualifications. (Repealed.)  

A. Providers must provide all Residential Treatment 
Services (Level C) as defined within this part and set forth in 
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D.  

B. Providers of Residential Treatment Services (Level C) 
must be:  

1. A residential treatment program for children and 
adolescents licensed by DMHMRSAS that is located in a 
psychiatric hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations;  

2. A residential treatment program for children and 
adolescents licensed by DMHMRSAS that is located in a 
psychiatric unit of an acute general hospital accredited by 
the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations; or  

3. A psychiatric facility that is (i) accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, 
the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities, the Council on Quality and Leadership in 

Supports for People with Disabilities, or the Council on 
Accreditation of Services for Families and Children and 
(ii) licensed by DMHMRSAS as a residential treatment 
program for children and adolescents.  

C. Providers of Community-Based Services for Children and 
Adolescents under 21 (Level A) must be licensed by the 
Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 
Justice, or Department of Education under the Standards for 
Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities (22VAC42-10).  

D. Providers of Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B) 
must be licensed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS) 
under the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC42-10).  

12VAC30-130-890. Plans of care; review of plans of care. 
(Repealed.)  

A. All Medicaid services are subject to utilization review 
and audit. The absence of any required documentation may 
result in denial or retraction of any reimbursement. 

B. For Residential Treatment Services (Level C) (RTS-
Level C), an initial plan of care must be completed at 
admission and a Comprehensive Individual Plan of Care 
(CIPOC) must be completed no later than 14 days after 
admission.  

C. Initial plan of care (Level C) must include:  

1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  

2. A description of the functional level of the individual;  

3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  

4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 
diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 
and safety of the individual and a list of services provided 
under arrangement (see 12VAC30-50-130 for eligible 
services provided under arrangement) that will be 
furnished to the individual through the RTC-Level C's 
referral to an employed or a contracted provider of services 
under arrangement, including the prescribed frequency of 
treatment and the circumstances under which such 
treatment shall be sought; 

5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care;  

6. Plans for discharge; and  

7. Signature and date by the physician.  

D. The CIPOC for Level C must meet all of the following 
criteria:  
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1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 
situation and must reflect the need for inpatient psychiatric 
care;  

2. Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of physicians 
and other personnel specified under subsection G of this 
section, who are employed by, or provide services to, 
patients in the facility in consultation with the individual 
and his parents, legal guardians, or appropriate others in 
whose care he will be released after discharge;  

3. State treatment objectives that must include measurable 
short-term and long-term goals and objectives, with target 
dates for achievement;  

4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 
and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 
related to the diagnosis;  

5. Include a list of services provided under arrangement 
(described in 12VAC30-50-130) that will be furnished to 
the individual through referral to an employee or a 
contracted provider of services under arrangement, 
including the prescribed frequency of treatment and the 
circumstances under which such treatment shall be sought; 
and 

6. Describe comprehensive discharge plans and 
coordination of inpatient services and post-discharge plans 
with related community services to ensure continuity of 
care upon discharge with the individual's family, school, 
and community.  

E. Review of the CIPOC for Level C. The CIPOC must be 
reviewed every 30 days by the team specified in subsection G 
of this section to:  

1. Determine that services being provided are or were 
required on an inpatient basis; and  

2. Recommend changes in the plan as indicated by the 
individual's overall adjustment as an inpatient.  

F. The development and review of the plan of care for Level 
C as specified in this section satisfies the facility's utilization 
control requirements for recertification and establishment and 
periodic review of the plan of care, as required in 42 CFR 
456.160 and 456.180.  

G. Team developing the CIPOC for Level C. The following 
requirements must be met:  

1. At least one member of the team must have expertise in 
pediatric mental health. Based on education and 
experience, preferably including competence in child 
psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of the 
following:  

a. Assessing the individual's immediate and long-range 
therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, and personal 
strengths and liabilities;  

b. Assessing the potential resources of the individual's 
family;  

c. Setting treatment objectives; and  

d. Prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the plan's 
objectives.  

2. The team must include, at a minimum, either:  

a. A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  

b. A clinical psychologist who has a doctoral degree and 
a physician licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; 
or  

c. A physician licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 
the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases, and a 
psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 
psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 
the state psychological association.  

3. The team must also include one of the following:  

a. A psychiatric social worker;  

b. A registered nurse with specialized training or one 
year's experience in treating mentally ill individuals;  

c. An occupational therapist who is licensed, if required 
by the state, and who has specialized training or one year 
of experience in treating mentally ill individuals; or  

d. A psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 
psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 
the state psychological association.  

H. The RTC-Level C shall not receive a per diem 
reimbursement for any day that:  

1. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails to 
include within three business days of the initiation of the 
service provided under arrangement: 

a. The prescribed frequency of treatment of such service, 
or includes a frequency that was exceeded; or 

b. All services that the individual needs while residing at 
the RTC-Level C and that will be furnished to the 
individual through the RTC-Level C referral to an 
employed or contracted provider of services under 
arrangement;  

2. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails to 
list the circumstances under which the service provided 
under arrangement shall be sought;  

3. The referral to the service provided under arrangement 
was not present in the individual's RTC-Level C record; 
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4. The service provided under arrangement was not 
supported in that provider's records by a documented 
referral from the RTC-Level C;  

5. The medical records from the provider of services under 
arrangement (i.e., admission and discharge documents, 
treatment plans, progress notes, treatment summaries, and 
documentation of medical results and findings) (i) were not 
present in the individual's RTC-Level C record or had not 
been requested in writing by the RTC-Level C within 
seven days of discharge from or completion of the service 
or services provided under arrangement or (ii) had been 
requested in writing within seven days of discharge from 
or completion of the service or services provided under 
arrangement, but not received within 30 days of the 
request, and not re-requested;  

6. The RTC-Level C did not have a fully executed contract 
or employee relationship with an independent provider of 
services under arrangement in advance of the provision of 
such services. For emergency services, the RTC-Level C 
shall have a fully executed contract with the emergency 
services provider prior to submission of the emergency 
service provider's claim for payment; 

7. A physician's order for the service under arrangement is 
not present in the record; or 

8. The service under arrangement is not included in the 
individual's CIPOC within 30 calendar days of the 
physician's order.  

I. The provider of services under arrangement shall be 
required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such service 
provided under arrangement that was (i) furnished prior to 
receiving a referral or (ii) in excess of the amounts in the 
referral. Providers of services under arrangement shall be 
required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such services 
provided under arrangement that were rendered in the 
absence of an employment or contractual relationship. 

J. For therapeutic behavioral services for children and 
adolescents under 21 (Level B), the initial plan of care must 
be completed at admission by the licensed mental health 
professional (LMHP) and a CIPOC must be completed by the 
LMHP no later than 30 days after admission. The assessment 
must be signed and dated by the LMHP.  

K. For community-based services for children and 
adolescents under 21 (Level A), the initial plan of care must 
be completed at admission by the QMHP and a CIPOC must 
be completed by the QMHP no later than 30 days after 
admission. The individualized plan of care must be signed 
and dated by the program director.  

L. Initial plan of care for Levels A and B must include:  

1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 
indicating the need for admission;  

2. A description of the functional level of the individual;  

3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 
goals;  

4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 
rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 
diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 
and safety of the patient;  

5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 
modification to the plan of care; and  

6. Plans for discharge.  

M. The CIPOC for Levels A and B must meet all of the 
following criteria:  

1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 
examination of the medical, psychological, social, 
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 
situation and must reflect the need for residential 
psychiatric care;  

2. The CIPOC for both levels must be based on input from 
school, home, other health care providers, the individual 
and family (or legal guardian);  

3. State treatment objectives that include measurable short-
term and long-term goals and objectives, with target dates 
for achievement;  

4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 
and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 
related to the diagnosis; and  

5. Describe comprehensive discharge plans with related 
community services to ensure continuity of care upon 
discharge with the individual's family, school, and 
community. 

N. Review of the CIPOC for Levels A and B. The CIPOC 
must be reviewed, signed, and dated every 30 days by the 
QMHP for Level A and by the LMHP for Level B. The 
review must include:  

1. The response to services provided;  

2. Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 
individual's overall response to the plan of care 
interventions; and  

3. Determinations regarding whether the services being 
provided continue to be required.  

Updates must be signed and dated by the service provider.  
VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4495; Filed February 6, 2019, 2:45 p.m.  
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Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 
12VAC30-50-165).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: May 3, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
and promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 authorizes the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services to 
administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
according to the board's requirements and promulgate 
regulations. The Medicaid authority as established by 
§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 
provides governing authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: As practices evolve and coverage is provided under 
the State Plan, there are times when it becomes necessary to 
amend regulations to conform them to best practices and new 
guidance from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) to eliminate areas of confusion. It is expected 
that these changes will clarify coverage of durable medical 
equipment (DME) for DME providers and Medicaid 
beneficiaries, and reduce unnecessary documentation 
elements for DME providers. Further, the changes will 
improve coverage by permitting newer and better forms of 
service delivery that have evolved in recent years and will 
align Virginia's coverage with recent guidance from CMS for 
enteral nutrition.  

These regulatory changes will improve the health, safety, and 
welfare of the affected Medicaid individuals by providing 
care coordination and well-person preventive services. 

Substance: 

1. Enteral nutrition. Current coverage requires that enteral 
nutrition be the primary or sole source of nutrition (defined) 
in order to qualify for coverage. In addition, DME providers 
must indicate on the certificate of medical necessity (CMN) if 
the enteral nutrition is covered through Women, Infants, and 
Children (WIC), a program of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture. CMS has provided new, written guidance to 
Virginia on coverage for enteral nutrition. The guidance 
includes the elimination of the requirement that such enteral 
nutrition be the Medicaid beneficiary's primary or sole source 

of nutrition. The guidance further spells out coverage 
requirements related to medical foods, over-the-counter 
products, and dietary restrictions. Lastly, the subsection on 
enteral nutrition has documentation requirements that are 
redundant and required of all providers as stated in an earlier 
subsection. The proposed changes amend the section to 
update and conform Medicaid coverage of enteral nutrition to 
guidance from CMS and to reduce redundant language and 
requirements.  

2. Infusion therapy. Current coverage in Virginia defines 
home infusion therapy as the administration of intravenous 
fluids, drugs, chemical agents, or nutritional supplements. 
Best practices for delivering home infusion therapy now 
include the option for providing such services intravenously 
(I.V.) or through an implantable pump. The proposed changes 
amend the section to permit the use of implantable pumps for 
delivering home infusion therapy.  

3. Delivery ticket components. Current coverage requires 
DME providers to include the Medicaid beneficiary's name 
and Medicaid number or date of birth on the delivery ticket. 
Further, DME providers must include the serial numbers or 
the product numbers of the DME or supplies. The delivery 
ticket requirements are unnecessary and burdensome to DME 
providers. The proposed changes amend the delivery ticket 
requirements to streamline and enhance flexibility and 
provide an alternative option of using an individual's medical 
record number. 

4. Replacement DME. Currently, the regulation does not 
identify a process for providing replacement DME to 
Medicaid beneficiaries who have lost DME or had DME 
destroyed as a result of a disaster. It has become evident to 
DMAS that a process should be developed and implemented 
to ensure quality care and protect the health and safety of 
Medicaid beneficiaries. The proposed changes amend the 
section to identify the process and requirements for providing 
replacement DME to Medicaid beneficiaries who have lost 
DME or had DME destroyed as a result of a disaster. 

Issues: The current coverages do not conform to best 
practices and processes as required by CMS to ensure quality 
care and protect the health and safety of Medicaid 
individuals. The primary advantages to the public, the agency, 
and the Commonwealth from the proposed amendments 
include enhanced service delivery to DME beneficiaries and 
greater consistency between Virginia regulations and current 
CMS practice. There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth as a result of these regulatory changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. On 
behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services, the 
Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) proposes to: 1) eliminate the requirement that 
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enteral nutrition (EN) be the Medicaid beneficiary's primary 
or sole source of nutrition in order to cover EN, 2) amend text 
to clarify that the use of implantable pumps for delivering 
home infusion therapy is permitted and covered, 3) reduce 
requirements concerning the delivery ticket, and 4) clarify the 
process for providing replacement durable medical equipment 
and supplies (DME) to Medicaid beneficiaries who have lost 
DME or had DME destroyed as a result of a natural disaster. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Enteral Nutrition: EN is defined as "any method of feeding 
that uses the gastrointestinal tract to deliver part or all of an 
individual's caloric requirements. Enteral nutrition may 
include a routine oral diet, the use of liquid supplements, or 
delivery of part or all of the daily requirements by use of a 
tube (tube feeding)." EN can be effective in helping prevent 
malnutrition for patients with a variety of conditions.1 It has 
been found to reduce hospital complications, duration of stay, 
and mortality.2 

The current regulation requires that EN be the primary or sole 
source of nutrition in order to qualify for coverage. Pursuant 
to guidance from the federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), the Director proposes to eliminate 
the requirement that enteral nutrition EN be the Medicaid 
beneficiary's primary or sole source of nutrition in order to 
qualify for coverage. DMAS estimates the annual cost of this 
proposed change to be $2,308,065, half to be paid with state 
funds and half to be paid with federal funds. As described 
above, expanding the use of EN can have significant health 
benefits.  

Home Infusion Therapy: The current regulation defines home 
infusion therapy as the administration of intravenous fluids, 
drugs, chemical agents, or nutritional supplements. The 
Director proposes to amend the definition of home infusion 
therapy to indicate that it can be administered either 
intravenously or through the use of an implantable pump. In 
practice, the use of an implantable pump has been covered.3 
Thus, this proposed amendment would effectively just be a 
clarification for readers of the regulation. Nevertheless, it 
would be beneficial in that it would reduce the likelihood of 
confusion over whether implantable pumps are covered. 

Delivery Ticket Components: Under the current regulation, 
DME providers must include the Medicaid beneficiary's name 
and Medicaid number or date of birth on the delivery ticket. 
Further, DME providers must include the serial number(s) or 
the product numbers of the DME or supplies. The Director 
proposes to: 1) allow DME providers the option of having a 
unique identifier (e.g., an individual's medical record number) 
instead of the Medicaid number or date of birth on the ticket, 
and 2) no longer require serial number(s) or the product 

numbers on the ticket. This proposal reduces the burden on 
DME providers. 

Replacement DME: The current regulation does not address 
the process for providing replacement DME to Medicaid 
beneficiaries who have lost DME or had DME destroyed due 
to a natural disaster. The Director proposes to add a section to 
the regulation to identify the process and requirements for 
providing replacement DME to Medicaid beneficiaries who 
have lost DME or had DME destroyed due to a natural 
disaster. According to DMAS, the proposed language 
matches how this is currently done in practice. However, 
adding the section would likely be beneficial in that it helps 
inform Medicaid recipients, Medicaid enrolled providers, and 
other interested parties who may not be specifically aware of 
the process and requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the approximate 1,400 Medicaid-enrolled DME 
providers,4 and Medicaid recipients. Most providers would 
qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to cover EN 
even when it is not the sole or primary source of nutrition 
would increase demand for tubing and other supplies 
associated with EN. There may consequently be a moderate 
increase in employment at firms that provide these supplies.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposal to cover EN even when it is not the sole or primary 
source of nutrition would increase demand for tubing and 
other supplies associated with EN. There may consequently 
be a moderate increase in the value of firms that provide these 
supplies. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposals to allow DME 
providers the option of having a unique identifier instead of 
the Medicaid number or date of birth on the delivery ticket, 
and to no longer require serial number(s) or the product 
numbers, would moderately reduce costs for small DME 
providers. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
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Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities.  

________________________ 
1See Thomas D "Enteral Tube Nutrition" Merck Manual February 2017. 
2See Stroud M, Duncan H, Nightingale J "Guidelines for enteral feeding in 
adult hospital patients" Gut 2003;52: vii1-vii12. 
3Source: Department of Medical Assistance Services 
4Data source: Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and concurs with 
this analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update coverage and 
documentation requirements for durable medical 
equipment (DME) by (i) eliminating the requirement that 
enteral nutrition be the Medicaid beneficiary's primary or 
sole source of nutrition and redundant language and 
requirements regarding enteral nutrition, (ii) permitting 
the use of implantable pumps for delivering home infusion 
therapy, (iii) streamlining the delivery ticket requirements 
to enhance flexibility and provide an alternative option of 
using an individual's medical record number on the ticket, 
and (iv) identifying the process and requirements for 
providing replacement DME to Medicaid beneficiaries 
who have lost DME or had DME destroyed as a result of a 
disaster.  

12VAC30-50-165. Durable medical equipment (DME) and 
supplies suitable for use in the home. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
these regulations this section shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Affirmative contact" means speaking, either face-to-face or 
by phone, with either the individual or caregiver in order to 
ascertain that the DME and supplies are is still needed and 
appropriate. Such contacts shall be documented in the 
individual's medical record. 

"Certificate of Medical Necessity" or "CMN" means the 
DMAS-352 form required to be completed and submitted in 
order for DMAS to provide reimbursement.  

"Designated agent" means an entity with whom DMAS has 
contracted to perform contracted functions such as provider 
audits and prior authorizations of services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. 

"DME provider" means those entities enrolled with DMAS 
to render DME services. 

"Durable medical equipment" or "DME" means medical 
equipment, supplies, and appliances suitable for use in the 
home consistent with 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3) that treat a 
diagnosed condition or assist the individual with functional 
limitations. 

"Enteral nutrition" refers to any method of feeding that uses 
the gastrointestinal tract to deliver part or all of an 
individual's caloric requirements. "Enteral nutrition" may 
include a routine oral diet, the use of liquid supplements, or 
delivery of part or all of the daily requirements by use of a 
tube, which is called tube feeding. 

"Expendable supply" means an item that is used and then 
disposed of. 

"Frequency of use" means the rate of use by the individual 
as documented by the number of times per day/week/month 
day, week, or month, as appropriate, a supply is used by the 
individual. Frequency of use must be recorded on the face of 
the CMN in such a way that reflects whether a supply is used 
by the individual on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. 
Frequency of use may be documented on the CMN as a range 
of the rate of use. By way of example and not limitation, the 
frequency of use of a supply may be expressed as a range, 
such as four to six adult diapers per day. However, large 
ranges shall not be acceptable documentation of frequency of 
use (for, for example, the range of one to six adult diapers per 
day shall not be acceptable.) The frequency of use provides 
the justification for the total quantity of supplies ordered on 
the CMN. 

"Functional limitation" means the inability to perform a 
normal activity. 

"Practitioner" means a licensed provider of physician 
services as defined in 42 CFR 440.50. 

"Prior authorization" or "PA" (also "service authorization") 
means the process of approving either by DMAS or its prior 
authorization (or service authorization) contractor for the 
purposes of DMAS reimbursement for the service for the 
individual before it is rendered or reimbursed. 

"Quantity" means the total number of supplies ordered on a 
monthly basis as reflected on the CMN. The monthly quantity 
of supplies ordered for the individual shall be dependent upon 
the individual's frequency of use.  

"Sole source of nutrition" means that the individual is unable 
to tolerate (swallow or absorb) any other form of oral 
nutrition in instances when more than 75% of the individual's 
daily caloric intake is received from nutritional supplements.  
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B. General requirements and conditions.  

1. a. All medically necessary supplies and equipment shall 
be covered. Unusual amounts, types, and duration of usage 
must be authorized by DMAS in accordance with 
published policies and procedures. When determined to be 
cost effective by DMAS, payment may be made for rental 
of the equipment in lieu of purchase.  

b. No provider shall have a claim of ownership on DME 
reimbursed by Virginia Medicaid once it has been 
delivered to the Medicaid individual. Providers shall only 
be permitted to recover DME, for example, when DMAS 
determines that it does not fulfill the required medically 
necessary purpose as set out in the Certificate of Medical 
Necessity, when there is an error in the ordering 
practitioner's CMN, or when the equipment was rented. 

2. DME providers shall adhere to all applicable federal and 
state laws and regulations and DMAS policies for DME 
and supplies. DME providers shall comply with all other 
applicable Virginia laws and regulations requiring 
licensing, registration, or permitting. Failure to comply 
with such laws and regulations that are required by such a 
licensing agency or agencies shall result in denial of 
coverage for DME or supplies.  

3. DME products or supplies must be furnished pursuant to 
a properly completed Certificate of Medical Necessity 
(CMN) (DMAS-352). In order to obtain Medicaid 
reimbursement, specific fields of the DMAS-352 form 
shall be completed as specified in 12VAC30-60-75.  

4. DME and supplies shall be ordered by the licensed 
practitioner and shall be related to medical treatment of the 
Medicaid individual. The complete DME order shall be 
recorded on the CMN for Medicaid individuals to receive 
such services. In the absence of a different effective period 
determined by DMAS or its designated agent, the CMN 
shall be valid for a maximum period of six months for 
Medicaid individuals younger than 21 years of age. In the 
absence of a different effective period determined by 
DMAS or its designated agent, the maximum valid time 
period for CMNs for Medicaid individuals 21 years of age 
and older shall be 12 months. The validity of the CMN 
shall terminate when the individual's medical need for the 
prescribed DME or supplies no longer exists as determined 
by the licensed practitioner. 

5. DME shall be furnished exactly as ordered by the 
licensed practitioner who signed the CMN. The CMN and 
any supporting verifiable documentation shall be fully 
completed, signed, and dated by the licensed practitioner, 
and in the DME provider's possession within 60 days from 
the time the ordered DME and supplies are is initially 
furnished by the DME provider. Each component of the 
DME items shall be specifically ordered on the CMN by 
the licensed practitioner. 

6. The CMN shall not be changed, altered, or amended 
after the licensed practitioner has signed it. If the 
individual's condition indicates that changes in the ordered 
DME or supplies are is necessary, the DME provider shall 
obtain a new CMN. All new CMNs shall be signed and 
dated by the licensed practitioner within 60 days from the 
time the ordered supplies are furnished by the DME 
provider. 

7. DMAS or its designated agent shall have the authority to 
determine a different (from those specified above) length 
of time from those specified in subdivisions 4, 5, and 6 of 
this subsection that a CMN may be valid based on medical 
documentation submitted on the CMN. The CMN may be 
completed by the DME provider or other appropriate 
health care professionals, but it shall be signed and dated 
by the licensed practitioner, as specified in subdivision 5 of 
this subsection. Supporting documentation may be attached 
to the CMN but the licensed practitioner's entire order for 
DME and supplies shall be on the CMN. 

8. The DME provider shall retain a copy of the CMN and 
all supporting verifiable documentation on file for DMAS' 
purposes of the DMAS post payment audit review 
purposes. DME providers shall not create or revise CMNs 
or supporting documentation for this service after the 
initiation of the post payment review audit process. 
Licensed practitioners shall not complete, sign, or date 
CMNs once the post payment audit review has begun.  

9. The DME provider shall be responsible for knowledge 
of items requiring prior authorization and the limitation on 
the provision of certain items as described in the Virginia 
Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Manual, Appendix B. The Appendix B shall be the official 
listing of all items covered through the Virginia Medicaid 
DME program and lists list the service limits, items that 
require prior authorization, billing units, and 
reimbursement rates. 

10. The DME provider shall be required to make 
affirmative contact with the individual or his caregiver and 
document the interaction prior to the next month's delivery 
and prior to the recertification CMN to assure that the 
appropriate quantity, frequency, and product are provided 
to the individual.  

11. Supporting documentation, added to a completed 
CMN, shall be allowed to further justify the medical need 
for DME. Supporting documentation shall not replace the 
requirement for a properly completed CMN. The dates of 
the supporting documentation shall coincide with the dates 
of service on the CMN, and the supporting documentation 
shall be fully signed and dated by the licensed practitioner. 

C. Effective July 1, 2010, the The billing unit for 
incontinence supplies (such as diapers, pull-ups, and panty 
liners) shall be by each product. For example, if the 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 14 Virginia Register of Regulations March 4, 2019 

1903 

incontinence supply being provided is diapers, the billing unit 
would be by individual diaper, rather than a case of diapers. 
Prior authorization shall be required for incontinence supplies 
provided in quantities greater than the allowable service limit 
per month. 

D. Supplies, equipment, or appliances that are not covered 
include, but shall not be limited to, the following:  

1. Space conditioning equipment, such as room 
humidifiers, air cleaners, and air conditioners;  

2. DME and supplies for any hospital or nursing facility 
resident, except ventilators and associated supplies or 
specialty beds for the treatment of wounds consistent with 
DME criteria for nursing facility residents that have been 
prior approved by the DMAS central office or designated 
agent;  

3. Furniture or appliances not defined as medical 
equipment (such as blenders, bedside tables, mattresses 
other than for a hospital bed, pillows, blankets or other 
bedding, special reading lamps, chairs with special lift 
seats, hand-held shower devices, exercise bicycles, and 
bathroom scales);  

4. Items that are only for the individual's comfort and 
convenience or for the convenience of those caring for the 
individual (e.g., a hospital bed or mattress because the 
individual does not have a bed; wheelchair trays used as a 
desk surface); mobility items used in addition to primary 
assistive mobility aide for caregiver's or individual's the 
convenience of the individual or his caregiver (e.g., an 
electric wheelchair plus a manual chair); and cleansing 
wipes;  

5. Prosthesis, except for artificial arms, legs, and their 
supportive devices, which shall be prior authorized by the 
DMAS central office or designated agent;  

6. Items and services that are not reasonable and necessary 
for the diagnosis or treatment of illness or injury or to 
improve the functioning of a malformed body member 
(e.g., dentifrices; toilet articles; shampoos that do not 
require a licensed practitioner's prescription; dental 
adhesives; electric toothbrushes; cosmetic items, soaps, 
and lotions that do not require a licensed practitioner's 
prescription; sugar and salt substitutes; and support 
stockings);  

7. Orthotics, including braces, diabetic shoe inserts, splints, 
and supports;  

8. Home or vehicle modifications;  

9. Items not suitable for or not used primarily in the home 
setting (e.g., car seats, equipment to be used while at 
school, etc.);  

10. Equipment for which the primary function is 
vocationally or educationally related (e.g., computers, 
environmental control devices, speech devices, etc.); 

11. Diapers for routine use by children younger than three 
years of age who have not yet been toilet trained; 

12. Equipment or items that are not suitable for use in the 
home; and 

13. Equipment or items that the Medicaid individual or his 
caregiver is unwilling or unable to use in the home.  

E. For coverage of blood glucose meters for pregnant 
women, refer to 12VAC30-50-510.  

F. Coverage of home infusion therapy.  

1. Home infusion therapy shall be defined as the 
intravenous (I.V.) administration of fluids, drugs, chemical 
agents, or nutritional substances to recipients individuals 
through intravenous (I.V.) therapy or an implantable pump 
in the home setting. DMAS shall reimburse for these 
services, supplies, and drugs on a service day rate 
methodology established in 12VAC30-80-30. The 
therapies to be covered under this policy shall be: 
hydration therapy, chemotherapy, pain management 
therapy, drug therapy, and total parenteral nutrition (TPN). 
All the therapies that meet criteria shall be covered and do 
not require prior authorization. The established service day 
rate shall reimburse for all services delivered in a single 
day. There shall be no additional reimbursement for special 
or extraordinary services. In the event of incompatible drug 
administration, a separate HCPCS code shall be used to 
allow for rental of a second infusion pump and purchase of 
an extra administration tubing. When applicable, this code 
may be billed in addition to the other service day rate 
codes. There shall be documentation to support the use of 
this code on the I.V. Implementation Form. Proper 
documentation shall include the need for pump 
administration of the medications ordered, frequency of 
administration to support that they are ordered 
simultaneously, and indication of incompatibility. 

2. The service day rate payment methodology shall be 
mandatory for reimbursement of all I.V. therapy services 
except for the individual who is enrolled in the Technology 
Assisted Waiver. 

3. The following limitations shall apply to this service:  

a. This service must be medically necessary to treat an 
individual's medical condition. The service must be 
ordered and provided in accordance with accepted 
medical practice. The service must not be desired solely 
for the convenience of the individual or the individual's 
caregiver.  

b. In order for Medicaid to reimburse for this service, the 
individual shall:  
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(1) Reside in either a private home or a domiciliary care 
facility, such as an assisted living facility. Because the 
reimbursement for DME is already provided under 
institutional reimbursement, individuals in hospitals, 
nursing facilities, rehabilitation centers, and other 
institutional settings shall not be covered for this service;  

(2) Be under the care of a licensed practitioner who 
prescribes the home infusion therapy and monitors the 
progress of the therapy;  

(3) Have body sites available for peripheral intravenous 
catheter or needle placement or have a central venous 
access; and  

(4) Be capable of either self-administering such therapy 
or have a caregiver who can be adequately trained, is 
capable of administering the therapy, and is willing to 
safely and efficiently administer and monitor the home 
infusion therapy. The caregiver must be willing to and be 
capable of following appropriate teaching and adequate 
monitoring. In cases where the individual is incapable of 
administering or monitoring the prescribed therapy and 
there is no adequate or trained caregiver, it may be 
appropriate for a home health agency to administer the 
therapy.  

G. The DME and supply vendor shall provide the equipment 
and supplies as prescribed by the licensed practitioner on the 
CMN. Orders shall not be changed unless the vendor obtains 
a new CMN, which includes the licensed practitioner's 
signature, prior to ordering the equipment or supplies or 
providing the equipment or supplies to the individual.  

H. Medicaid shall not provide reimbursement to the DME 
and supply vendor for services that are provided either: (i) 
prior to the date prescribed by the licensed practitioner; (ii) 
prior to the date of the delivery; or (iii) when services are not 
provided in accordance with DMAS' DMAS published 
regulations and guidance documents. If reimbursement is 
denied for one or all of these reasons, the DME and supply 
vendor shall not bill the Medicaid individual for the service 
that was provided.  

I. The following criteria shall be satisfied through the 
submission of adequate and verifiable documentation on the 
CMN satisfactory to DMAS. Medically necessary DME and 
supplies shall be:  

1. Ordered by the licensed practitioner on the CMN;  

2. A reasonable and necessary part of the individual's 
treatment plan;  

3. Consistent with the individual's diagnosis and medical 
condition, particularly the functional limitations and 
symptoms exhibited by the individual;  

4. Not furnished solely for the convenience, safety, or 
restraint of the individual, the family or caregiver, the 

licensed practitioner, or other licensed practitioner or 
supplier;  

5. Consistent with generally accepted professional medical 
standards (i.e., not experimental or investigational); and  

6. Furnished at a safe, effective, and cost-effective level 
suitable for use in the individual's home environment.  

J. Medical documentation shall provide DMAS or the 
designated agent with evidence of the individual's DME 
needs. Medical documentation may be recorded on the CMN 
or evidenced in the supporting documentation attached to the 
CMN. The following applies to the medical justification 
necessary for all DME services regardless of whether prior 
authorization is required. The documentation is necessary to 
identify: 

1. The medical need for the requested DME; 

2. The diagnosis related to the reason for the DME request; 

3. The individual's functional limitation and its relationship 
to the requested DME; 

4. How the DME service will treat the individual's medical 
condition; 

5. For expendable supplies, the quantity needed and the 
medical reason the requested amount is needed; 

6. The frequency of use to describe how often the DME is 
used by the individual; 

7. The estimated duration of use of the equipment (rental 
and purchased); 

8. Any other treatment being rendered to the individual 
relative to the use of DME or supplies; 

9. How the needs were previously met, identifying changes 
that have occurred that necessitate the DME; 

10. Other alternatives tried or explored and a description of 
the success or failure of these alternatives; 

11. How the DME service is required in the individual's 
home environment; and 

12. The individual's or his caregiver's ability, willingness, 
and motivation to use the DME. 

K. DME provider responsibilities. To receive 
reimbursement, the DME provider shall, at a minimum, 
perform the following: 

1. Verify the individual's current Medicaid eligibility; 

2. Determine whether the ordered item or items are a 
covered service and require prior authorization; 

3. Deliver all of the item or items ordered by the licensed 
practitioner; 
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4. Deliver only the quantities ordered by the licensed 
practitioner on the CMN and prior authorized by DMAS if 
required; 

5. Deliver only the item or items for the periods of service 
covered by the licensed practitioner's order and prior 
authorized, if required, by DMAS; 

6. Maintain a copy of the licensed practitioner's signed 
CMN and all verifiable supporting documentation for all 
DME and supplies ordered; 

7. Document and justify the description of services (i.e., 
labor, repairs, maintenance of equipment); 

8. Document and justify the medical necessity, frequency, 
and duration for all items and supplies as set out in the 
Medicaid DME guidance documents; 

9. Document all DME and supplies provided to an 
individual in accordance with the licensed practitioner's 
orders. The delivery ticket/proof ticket or proof of delivery 
shall document the requirements as stated in subsection L 
of this section.; and 

10. Documentation Meet documentation requirements for 
the use of DME billing codes that have Individual 
Consideration (IC) indicated as the reimbursement fee 
shall to include a complete description of the item or items, 
a copy of the supply invoice or supplies invoices or the 
manufacturer's cost information, and all discounts that 
were received by the DME provider. Additional 
information regarding requirements for the IC 
reimbursement process can be found in the relevant agency 
guidance document.  

L. Proof of delivery. 

1. The delivery ticket shall contain the following 
information: 

a. The Medicaid individual's name and Medicaid number 
or date of birth or a unique identifier (e.g., an individual's 
medical record number); 

b. A detailed description of the item or items being 
delivered, including the product name or names and 
brand or brands; 

c. The serial number or numbers or the product numbers 
of the DME or supplies, if available; 

d. The quantity delivered; and 

e. The dated signature of either the individual or his 
caregiver. 

2. If a commercial shipping service is used, the DME 
provider's records shall reference, in addition to the 
information required in subdivision 1 of this subsection, 
the delivery service's package identification number or 
numbers with a copy of the delivery service's delivery 

ticket, which may be printed from the online record on the 
delivery service's website.  

a. The delivery service's ticket identification number or 
numbers shall be recorded on the DME provider's 
delivery documentation. 

b. The service delivery documentation may be substituted 
for the individual's signature as proof of delivery. 

c. In the absence of a delivery service's ticket, the DME 
provider shall obtain the individual's or his caregiver's 
dated signature on the DME provider's delivery ticket as 
proof of delivery.  

3. Providers may use a postage-paid delivery invoice from 
the individual or his caregiver as a form of proof of 
delivery. The descriptive information concerning the item 
or items delivered, as described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, as well as the required signature and date 
from either the individual or his caregiver, shall be 
included on this invoice. 

4. DME providers shall make affirmative contact with the 
individual or his caregiver and document the interaction 
prior to dispensing repeat orders or refills to ensure that: 

a. The item is still needed; 

b. The quantity, frequency, and product are still 
appropriate; and 

c. The individual still resides at the address in the 
provider's records. 

5. The DME provider shall contact the individual prior to 
each delivery. This contact shall not occur any sooner than 
seven days prior to the delivery or shipping date and shall 
be documented in the individual's record. 

6. DME providers shall not deliver refill orders sooner than 
five days prior to the end of the usage period. 

7. Providers shall not bill for dates of service prior to 
delivery. The provider shall confirm receipt of the DME or 
supplies via the shipping service record showing the item 
was delivered prior to billing. Claims for refill orders shall 
be the start of the new usage period and shall not overlap 
with the previous usage period. 

8. The purchase prices listed in the Virginia Medicaid 
Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies Manual, 
Appendix B, represent the amount DMAS shall pay for 
newly purchased equipment. Unless otherwise approved by 
DMAS or its designated agent, documentation on the 
delivery ticket shall reflect that the purchased equipment is 
new upon the date of the service billed. Any warranties 
associated with new equipment shall be effective from the 
date of the service billed. Since Medicaid is the payer of 
last resort, the DME provider shall explore coverage 
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available under the warranty prior to requesting coverage 
of repairs from DMAS. 

9. DME and supplies for home use for an individual being 
discharged from a hospital or nursing facility may be 
delivered to the hospital or nursing facility one day prior to 
the discharge. However, the DME provider's claim date of 
service shall not begin prior to the date of the individual's 
discharge from the hospital or nursing facility. 

M. Enteral nutrition products. Coverage of enteral nutrition 
(EN) that does not include a legend drug shall be limited to 
when the nutritional supplement is the sole source form of 
nutrition, is administered orally or through a nasogastric or 
gastrostomy tube, and is necessary to treat a medical 
condition. DMAS shall provide coverage for nutritional 
supplements for enteral feeding only if the nutritional 
supplements are not available over the counter. Additionally, 
DMAS shall cover medical foods that are (i) specific to 
inherited diseases, metabolic disorders, PKU, etc.; (ii) not 
generally available in grocery stores, health food stores, or the 
retail section of a pharmacy; and (iii) not used as food by the 
general population. Coverage of EN shall not include the 
provision of routine infant formula or feedings as meal 
replacement only. Coverage of medical foods shall not extend 
to regular foods prepared to meet particular dietary 
restrictions, limitations, or needs, such as meals designed to 
address the situation of individuals with diabetes or heart 
disease. A nutritional assessment shall be required for all 
recipients individuals for whom nutritional supplements are 
ordered.  

1. General requirements and conditions.  

a. Enteral nutrition products shall only be provided by 
enrolled DME providers. 

b. DME providers shall adhere to all applicable DMAS 
policies, laws, and regulations. DME providers shall also 
comply with all other applicable Virginia laws and 
regulations requiring licensing, registration, or 
permitting. Failure to comply with such laws and 
regulations shall result in denial of coverage for enteral 
nutrition that is regulated by such licensing agency or 
agencies. 

2. Service units and service limitations.  

a. DME and supplies shall be furnished pursuant to the 
Certificate of Medical Necessity (CMN) (DMAS-352). 

b. The DME provider shall include documentation 
related to the nutritional evaluation findings on the CMN 
and may include supplemental information on any 
supportive documentation submitted with the CMN.  

c. DMAS shall reimburse for medically necessary 
formulae and medical foods when used under a licensed 
practitioner's direction to augment dietary limitations or 

provide primary nutrition to individuals via enteral or 
oral feeding methods. 

d. The CMN shall contain a licensed practitioner's order 
for the enteral nutrition products that are medically 
necessary to treat the diagnosed condition and the 
individual's functional limitation. The justification for 
enteral nutrition products shall be demonstrated in the 
written documentation either on the CMN or on the 
attached supporting documentation. The CMN shall be 
valid for a maximum period of six months.  

e. Regardless of the amount of time that may be left on a 
six-month approval period, the validity of the CMN shall 
terminate when the individual's medical need for the 
prescribed enteral nutrition products either ends, as 
determined by the licensed practitioner, or when the 
enteral nutrition products are no longer the primary 
source of nutrition.  

f. A face-to-face nutritional assessment completed by 
trained clinicians (e.g., physician, physician assistant, 
nurse practitioner, registered nurse, or a registered 
dietitian) shall be completed as required documentation 
of the need for enteral nutrition products.  

g. The CMN shall not be changed, altered, or amended 
after the licensed practitioner has signed it. As indicated 
by the individual's condition, if changes are necessary in 
the ordered enteral nutrition products, the DME provider 
shall obtain a new CMN.  

(1) New CMNs shall be signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner within 60 days from the time the ordered 
enteral nutrition products are furnished by the DME 
provider.  

(2) The order shall not be backdated to cover prior 
dispensing of enteral nutrition products. If the order is 
not signed within 60 days of the service initiation, then 
the date the order is signed becomes the effective date.  

h. g. Prior authorization of enteral nutrition products shall 
not be required. The DME provider shall assure that there 
is a valid CMN (i) completed every six months in 
accordance with subsection B of this section and (ii) on 
file for all Medicaid individuals for whom enteral 
nutrition products are provided. 

(1) The DME provider is further responsible for assuring 
that enteral nutrition products are provided in accordance 
with DMAS reimbursement criteria in 12VAC30-80-30 
A 6. 

(2) Upon post payment review, DMAS or its designated 
contractor may deny reimbursement for any enteral 
nutrition products that have not been provided and billed 
in accordance with these regulations this section and 
DMAS policies.  
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i. h. DMAS shall have the authority to determine that the 
CMN is valid for less than six months based on medical 
documentation submitted.  

3. Provider responsibilities.  

a. The DME provider shall provide the enteral nutrition 
products as prescribed by the licensed practitioner on the 
CMN. Physician orders shall not be changed unless the 
DME provider obtains a new CMN prior to ordering or 
providing the enteral nutrition products to the individual.  

b. The licensed practitioner's order (CMN) on the CMN 
shall state that the enteral nutrition products are the sole 
source of nutrition for the individual and specify either a 
brand name of the enteral nutrition product being ordered 
or the category of enteral nutrition products that must be 
provided. If a licensed practitioner orders a specific 
brand of enteral nutrition product, the DME provider 
shall supply the brand prescribed. The licensed 
practitioner order shall include the daily caloric intake 
and the route of administration for the enteral nutrition 
product. Additional supporting Supporting 
documentation may be attached to the CMN, but the 
entire licensed practitioner's order shall be on the CMN.  

c. The CMN shall be signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner within 60 days of the CMN begin service 
date. The order shall not be backdated to cover prior 
dispensing of enteral nutrition products. If the CMN is 
not signed and dated by the licensed practitioner within 
60 days of the CMN begin service date, the CMN shall 
not become valid until the on the date of the licensed 
practitioner's signature.  

d. The CMN shall include all of the following elements:  

(1) Height of individual (or length for pediatric patients);  

(2) Weight of individual. For initial assessments, indicate 
the individual's weight loss over time;  

(3) Tolerance of enteral nutrition product (e.g., is the 
individual experiencing diarrhea, vomiting, constipation). 
This element is only required if the individual is already 
receiving enteral nutrition products;  

(4) Indication of whether or not the enteral nutrition 
product is the primary or sole source of nutrition;  

(5) (4) Route of administration; and  

(6) (5) The daily caloric order and the number of calories 
per package or can; and. 

(7) Extent to which the quantity of the enteral nutrition 
product is available through WIC, the Special 
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and 
Children.  

e. The DME provider shall retain a copy of the CMN and 
all supporting verifiable documentation on file for 

DMAS' post payment review purposes. DME providers 
shall not create or revise CMNs or supporting 
documentation for this service after the initiation of the 
post payment review process. Licensed practitioners shall 
not complete or sign and date CMNs once the post 
payment review has begun.  

f. e. Medicaid reimbursement shall be recovered when 
the enteral nutrition products have not been ordered on 
the CMN. Supporting documentation is allowed to justify 
the medical need for enteral nutrition products. 
Supporting documentation shall not replace the 
requirement for a properly completed CMN. The dates of 
the supporting documentation shall coincide with the 
dates of service on the CMN, and the supporting 
documentation shall be fully signed and dated by the 
licensed practitioner.  

g. To receive reimbursement, the DME provider shall:  

(1) Deliver only the item or items and quantity or 
quantities ordered by the licensed practitioner and 
approved by DMAS or the designated prior or service 
authorization contractor;  

(2) Deliver only the item or items for the periods of 
service covered by the licensed practitioner's order and 
approved by DMAS or the designated prior or service 
authorization contractor;  

(3) Maintain a copy of the licensed practitioner's order 
and all verifiable supporting documentation for all DME 
ordered; and 

(4) Document all supplies provided to an individual in 
accordance with the licensed practitioner's orders. The 
delivery ticket must document the individual's name and 
Medicaid number, the date of delivery, the item or items 
that were delivered, and the quantity delivered.  

h. N. Reimbursement denials. 

1. DMAS shall deny payment to the DME provider if any 
of the following occur:  

(1) a. Absence of a current, fully completed CMN 
appropriately signed and dated by the licensed 
practitioner;  

(2) b. Documentation does not verify that the item was 
provided to the individual;  

(3) c. Lack of medical documentation, signed by the 
licensed practitioner to justify the enteral nutrition 
products DME; or  

(4) d. Item is noncovered or does not meet DMAS 
criteria for reimbursement.  

i. 2. If reimbursement is denied by Medicaid, the DME 
provider shall not bill the Medicaid individual for the 
service that was provided.  
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O. Replacement DME following a natural disaster. 

1. Medicaid individuals who (i) live in a disaster area, (ii) 
can prove they were present in the disaster area when the 
disaster occurred, or (iii) live in areas that have been 
declared by the Governor as a disaster or emergency area 
in accordance with § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia, 
and who need to replace DME previously approved by 
Medicaid that were damaged as a result of the disaster or 
emergency, may contact a DME provider (either enrolled 
in fee-for-service Medicaid or a Medicaid health plan) of 
their choice to obtain a replacement.  

a. If the individual's DME provider has gone out of 
business or is unable to provide replacement DME, the 
individual may choose another provider who is enrolled 
as a DME provider with Medicaid or the Medicaid health 
plan. The original authorization will be canceled or 
amended and a new authorization will be provided to the 
new DME provider.  

b. The DME provider shall submit a signed statement 
from the Medicaid individual requesting a change in 
DME provider in accordance with the declaration by the 
Governor as a state of emergency due to a natural 
disaster and giving the Medicaid individual's current 
place of residence.  

c. The individual can contact the state Medicaid office or 
the Medicaid health plan to get help finding a new DME 
provider. 

2. For Medicaid enrolled providers, the provider shall 
make a request to the service authorization contractor; 
however, a new CMN and medical documentation is not 
required unless the DME is beyond the service limit (e.g., 
the individual has a wheelchair that is older than five 
years). The provider shall keep documentation in the 
individual's record that includes the individual's current 
place of residence and states that the original DME was 
lost due to the natural disaster. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5024; Filed February 6, 2019, 9:18 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-360 through 12VAC30-120-
430).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 18, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and 
amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance and promulgate 
regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia 
authorizes the Director of DMAS to administer and amend 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance according to the board's 
requirements and promulgate regulations. The Medicaid 
authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority for 
payments for services. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to bring Virginia 
regulations into alignment with current federal rules, 
Medallion contracts, and current practice. The regulations are 
essential to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens 
in that the regulatory changes ensure compliance with federal 
requirements, which ensures continued federal financial 
participation, and enables continued funding for Medicaid 
managed care programs. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 
rulemaking because it is expected to be noncontroversial. The 
changes in the regulatory text do not reflect changes in 
Medicaid programs, but instead update the text to reflect 
changes that have already been made in Medallion contracts 
and practice. 

Substance: This regulatory action includes changes in the 
Code of Federal Regulations related to the Medicaid 
Managed Care Final Rule, as well as changes in the 
Medallion contract and the appeals process. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the Commonwealth and 
the public of these regulatory changes are that they update 
existing regulations to reflect current practice to allow for 
continued federal financial participation. 

There are no disadvantages to the Commonwealth or the 
public as a result of this regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board) proposes to 
update the regulation to reflect changes in federal rules as 
well as changes in the recent provider contract as they pertain 
to the Medallion program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
the proposed amendments. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Medallion is a managed care 
program that focuses on coverage of low-income children and 
families. The proposed changes would amend the Waivered 
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Services regulation to incorporate changes that have been 
made in the federal Medicaid Managed Care Final Rule in the 
Code of Federal Regulations.1 The regulation would also be 
updated to reflect changes in the most recent Medallion 
contract that were made following the federal rule changes. 
The main proposed changes pertain to the managed care 
appeals process and coverage of community mental health 
services, early intervention services and long-term care 
services through the managed care plans. 

All of the proposed changes have already been implemented. 
Thus, no significant economic effect is expected upon 
promulgation of this regulation. The proposed changes are 
beneficial, however, in that outdated regulatory language 
would be updated with new language that reflects the current 
rules already in place. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are six managed care 
organizations participating in the current Medallion program. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality should be 
affected any more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No impact on employment 
is expected upon the proposed amendments taking affect. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No effects 
on the use and value of private property is expected upon the 
proposed amendments taking affect. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities.  

_______________________________ 
1https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-05-06/pdf/2016-09581.pdf 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 
issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the regulation to reflect changes 
in (i) federal regulation related to the Medicaid Managed 
Care Final Rule, (ii) the current Medallion contract, and 
(iii) the managed care appeals process. 

Part VI  
Medallion Mandatory Managed Care 

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. All other words and terms used in this 
part shall comply with the definitions in the contract and 
those identified 42 CFR 438.2: 

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service, including the type or level of service; the 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 
for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 
manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 
act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Adverse benefit determination" means, consistent with 
42 CFR 438.400, (i) the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service; (ii) the failure to take action or timely take 
action on a request for service; (iii) the reduction, suspension, 
or termination of a previously authorized service; (iv) the 
denial in whole or in part of a payment for a covered service; 
(v) the failure to provide services within the timeframes 
required by the state, or for a resident of a rural exception 
area with only one MCO, the denial of a member's request to 
exercise his right under 42 CFR 438.52(b)(2)(ii) to obtain 
services outside of the network; (vi) the denial of a member's 
request to dispute a financial liability; or (vii) the failure of an 
MCO to act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 
438.408(b). 

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 
"action" is defined in this section.  

"Appeal" when applicable to a member means a request to 
DMAS to review an MCO's internal appeal decision to 
uphold the contractor's adverse benefit determination. For 
members, an appeal may only be requested after exhaustion 
of the MCO's one step internal appeal process. Member 
appeals to DMAS will be conducted in accordance with 
regulations at 42 CFR 431 Subpart E and 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370. 

"Appeal" when applicable to an appeal by a provider means 
a request to DMAS to review an MCO's reconsideration 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-05-06/pdf/2016-09581.pdf
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decision. For providers, an appeal may only be requested after 
exhaustion of the MCO's reconsideration process. Provider 
appeals to DMAS will be conducted in accordance with the 
requirements set forth in § 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia and 12VAC30-20-500 et seq. 

"Area of residence" means the member's address in the 
Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Day" means calendar day unless otherwise stated. 

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 
from one Managed Care Organization managed care 
organization (MCO) plan to another MCO, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services.  

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 
services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 
12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 
Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy, 

2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  

3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 
outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 
qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 
evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition. those 
health care services that are rendered by participating or 
nonparticipating providers after the sudden onset of a medical 
condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity, including severe pain, that a prudent layperson who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine could 
reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical attention 
to result in (i) placing the client's health in serious jeopardy; 
(ii) with respect to a pregnant woman, placing the health of 
the woman or her unborn child in serious jeopardy; (iii) 
serious impairment to bodily functions; or (iv) serious 
dysfunction of any bodily organ or part. 

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 
enrolls individuals in the contractor's plan and is responsible 
for the operation and documentation of a toll-free individual 
service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 
include, but shall not be limited to, individual education and 
MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of individuals' 
complaints resolutions, and may include individual marketing 
and outreach.  

"Exclude" means the removal of a member from the 
Medallion mandatory managed care program on a temporary 
or permanent basis.  

"External quality review organization" or "EQRO" means an 
organization that meets the competence and independence 
requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 
external quality reviews, other external quality review related 
activities as set forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Grievance" means, in accordance with 42 CFR 438.400, an 
expression of dissatisfaction about any matter other than an 
"action" is defined in this section "adverse benefit 
determination." Possible subjects for grievances include the 
quality of care or services provided; aspects of interpersonal 
relationships, such as rudeness of a provider or employee; or 
failure to respect the member's rights. 

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 
42 CFR 438.2.  

"Individual" or "individuals" means a person or persons who 
are is eligible for Medicaid, who are is not yet undergoing 
enrollment for mandatory managed care, and who are is not 
enrolled in a mandatory managed care organization. 

"Internal appeal" means a request to the MCO by a member 
or by a member's authorized representative or provider acting 
on behalf of the member and with the member's written 
consent for review of a contractor's adverse benefit 
determination, as defined in 42 CFR 438.400. The internal 
appeal is the only level of appeal with the MCO and must be 
exhausted by a member or deemed exhausted according to 
42 CFR 438.408(c)(3) before the member may initiate a state 
fair hearing with DMAS. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 
meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 
42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 
with DMAS to provide services covered under the mandatory 
managed care program. Covered services for mandatory 
managed care program individuals shall be as accessible (in 
terms of timeliness, amount, duration, and scope) as 
compared to other Medicaid individuals served within the 
geographic area. organization that offers managed care health 
insurance plans (MCHIP), as defined by § 38.2-5800 of the 
Code of Virginia. Any health maintenance organization as 
defined in § 38.2-4300 of the Code of Virginia or health 
carrier that offers preferred provider contracts or policies as 
defined in § 38.2-3407 of the Code of Virginia or preferred 
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provider subscription contracts as defined in § 38.2-4209 of 
the Code of Virginia shall be deemed to be offering one or 
more MCHIPs. For the purposes of this definition, the 
prohibition of balance billing by a provider shall not be 
deemed a benefit payment differential incentive for covered 
persons to use providers who are directly or indirectly 
managed by, owned by, under contract with, or employed by 
the health carrier. A single managed care health insurance 
plan may encompass multiple products and multiple types of 
benefit payment differentials; however, a single managed care 
health insurance plan shall encompass only one provider 
network or set of provider networks.  

Additionally, and in accordance with 42 CFR 438.2, 
"managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 
has qualified to provide the services covered in the Medallion 
program to qualifying Medallion members as accessible in 
terms of timeliness, amount, duration, and scope as those 
services are to other Medicaid members within the area 
served, and that meets the solvency standards of 42 CFR 
438.116.  

"Mandatory managed care program" means the same as set 
forth in 42 CFR 438.54(b) and (d). 

"Member" or "members" means people who have current 
Medicaid eligibility who are also enrolled in mandatory 
managed care a person eligible for Medicaid or Family 
Access to Medical Insurance Security who has been assigned 
to a Medicaid MCO. 

"Network provider" means doctors, hospitals, or other health 
care providers who participate or contract with an MCO 
contractor and, as a result, agree to accept a mutually agreed 
upon sum or fee schedule as payment in full for covered 
services that are rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 
child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"PCP of record" means a primary care physician of record 
with whom the recipient has an established history, and such 
history is documented in the individual's records. 

"Retractions" means the departure of an enrolled managed 
care organization from any one or more localities as provided 
for in 12VAC30-120-370. 

"Reconsideration" means a provider's request to the MCO 
for review of an adverse benefit determination. The MCO's 
reconsideration decision is a prerequisite to a provider's filing 
of an appeal, as provided for in 12VAC30-20-500 through 
12VAC30-20-560, to DMAS Appeals Division. 

"Rural exception" means a rural area designated in the 
§ 1915(b) managed care waiver, pursuant to § 1932(a)(3)(B) 
of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 438.52(b) and 
recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, wherein qualifying mandatory managed care 

members are mandated to enroll in the one available 
contracted MCO. 

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 
income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 
needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance.  

12VAC30-120-370. Mandatory Medallion mandatory 
managed care members. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion 
mandatory managed care.  

1. Medicaid eligible persons not meeting the exclusion 
criteria set out in subsection B of this section shall 
participate in the Medallion mandatory managed care 
program. Enrollment in Medallion mandatory managed 
care shall not be a guarantee of continuing eligibility for 
services and benefits under the Virginia Medical 
Assistance Services Program. 

1. 2. DMAS reserves the right to exclude from 
participation in the Medallion mandatory managed care 
program any member who has been consistently 
noncompliant with the policies and procedures of managed 
care or who is threatening to providers, MCOs, or DMAS. 
There must be sufficient documentation from various 
providers, the MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance 
issues and any attempts at resolution. Members excluded 
from Medallion mandatory managed care through this 
provision may appeal the decision to DMAS. 

2. Qualifying individuals enrolled in the Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) Waiver 
pursuant to Part IX (12VAC30-120-900 et seq.) of this 
chapter who do not meet any exclusions in subsection B of 
this section shall be required to enroll in managed care and 
shall receive all acute care services through the mandatory 
managed care delivery system. For these individuals, 
services provided under 12VAC30-120-380 A 2 shall 
continue to be provided through the DMAS fee-for-service 
system.  

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360 and the § 1915(b) managed care 
waiver) from participating in Medallion mandatory managed 
care as defined in the § 1915(b) managed care waiver. 
Individuals excluded from Medallion mandatory managed 
care shall include the following:  

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 

2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities; 

3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down, which is the 
process of reducing countable income by deducting 
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incurred medical expenses for medically needy individuals, 
as determined in the State Plan for Medical Assistance; 

4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment (except eligible EDCD members); 

5. Individuals under age Prior to April 1, 2019, individuals 
younger than 21 years of age who are approved for DMAS 
residential facility Level C programs as defined in 
12VAC30-130-860; 

6. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider (i.e., physician, hospital, 
or midwife) does not participate with the member's 
assigned MCO. Exclusion requests made during the third 
trimester may be made by the member, MCO, or provider. 
DMAS shall determine if the request meets the criteria for 
exclusion. Following the end of the pregnancy, these 
individuals shall be required to enroll to the extent they 
remain eligible for Medicaid; 

7. 6. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence, which is the member's 
address in the Medicaid eligibility file, for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 

8. 7. Individuals who receive hospice services in 
accordance with DMAS criteria; 

9. 8. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 
insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 

10. 9. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients 
in hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 
of this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO 
enrollment or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay 
or surgery within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment 
effective date. The exclusion shall remain effective until 
the first day of the month following discharge. This 
exclusion reason shall not apply to members admitted to 
the hospital while already enrolled in a department-
contracted MCO;  

11. 10. Individuals who request exclusion during 
assignment to an MCO or within a time set by DMAS from 
the effective date of their MCO enrollment, who have been 
diagnosed with a terminal condition and who have a life 
expectancy of six months or less. The individual's 
physician must certify the life expectancy; 

12. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 
Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 
DMAS to the mandatory managed care enrollment; 

13. 11. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is 
less than three months; 

14. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 

15. 12. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is 
only retroactive; and 

16. 13. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Members enrolled with a an MCO who subsequently 
meet one or more of the criteria of subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded from MCO 
participation as determined by DMAS, with the exception of 
those who subsequently become participants in the federal 
long-term care waiver programs, as otherwise defined 
elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based and community-
based Medicaid coverage (IFDDS, ID, EDCD, Day Support, 
or Alzheimer's, or as may be amended from time to time). 
These members shall receive acute and primary medical 
services via the MCO and shall receive waiver services and 
related transportation to waiver services via the fee-for-
service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Individuals who are enrolled in localities that qualify for 
the rural exception may meet exclusion criteria if their PCP of 
record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not 
participate with the one MCO in the locality. Individual 
requests to be excluded from MCO participation in localities 
meeting the qualification for the rural exception must be 
made to DMAS for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 
Members enrolled in MCO rural exception areas shall not 
have open enrollment periods and shall not be afforded the 
90-day window after initial enrollment during which they 
may make a health plan or program change. 

Individuals excluded from Medallion mandatory managed 
care enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the 
current fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer 
meet the criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll 
in the appropriate managed care program.  
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E. Mandatory Medallion mandatory managed care plans 
shall be offered to individuals, and individuals shall be 
enrolled in those plans, exclusively through an. DMAS has 
sole responsibility for determining enrollment in the 
contractor's plan. DMAS utilizes an independent enrollment 
broker under contract to DMAS to assist members with 
making plan choices after initial preassignment and during 
open enrollment. An enrollment broker is an independent 
contractor that enrolls individuals in the contractor's plan and 
is responsible for the operation and documentation of a toll-
free individual service helpline. 

F. Members shall be enrolled as follows: 

1. All eligible individuals, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of in subsection B of this section, shall be 
enrolled in Medallion mandatory managed care. 

2. Individuals shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS 
and shall be provided authorized medical care in 
accordance with DMAS' DMAS procedures after Medicaid 
eligibility has been determined to exist. 

3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate an assigned 
MCO, determined as provided in subsection F G of this 
section, in which the member will be enrolled if he does 
not make a selection within a period specified by DMAS of 
not less than 30 days. Members who are enrolled in one 
mandatory MCO program who immediately become 
eligible for another mandatory MCO program are able to 
maintain consistent enrollment with their the member's 
currently assigned MCO, if available. These members will 
receive a notification letter including information regarding 
their ability to change health plans under the new program. 

4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered a member of that same 
MCO for the newborn enrollment period. 

a. This requirement does not preclude the member, once 
he the member is assigned a Medicaid identification 
number, from disenrolling from one MCO to enrolling 
with another in accordance with subdivision H 1 of this 
section. 

b. The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is 
not contingent upon the mother's enrollment. 
Additionally, if the MCO's contract is terminated in 
whole or in part, the MCO shall continue newborn 
coverage if the child is born while the contract is active, 
until the newborn receives a Medicaid number or for the 
newborn enrollment period, whichever timeframe is 
earlier. Newborns who remain eligible for participation 
in Medallion mandatory managed care will be reenrolled 
in an MCO through the assignment process upon 
receiving a Medicaid identification number. 

c. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled in an MCO at 
the time of birth shall receive a Medicaid identification 
number prior to the end of the newborn enrollment 
period in order to maintain the newborn's enrollment in 
an MCO. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion mandatory managed care within 60 days will be 
reenrolled into their previous MCO without going through 
assignment and selection. 

G. Individuals who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision F 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO as 
follows: 

1. Individuals are assigned through a system algorithm 
based upon the member's history with a contracted MCO. 

2. Individuals not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another 
family member, if applicable. 

3. Individuals who live in rural exception areas as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360 shall enroll with the one available 
MCO. These individuals shall receive an assignment 
notification for enrollment into the MCO. Individuals in 
rural exception areas who are assigned to the one MCO 
may request exclusion from MCO participation if their 
PCP of record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or 
will not participate with the one MCO in the locality. 
Individual requests to be excluded from MCO participation 
in rural exception localities must be made to DMAS for 
consideration on a case-by-case basis.  

4. All other individuals shall be assigned to an MCO on a 
basis of approximately equal number by MCO in each 
locality. 

5. All eligible members are automatically assigned to a 
contracted MCO in their localities. Members are allowed 
90 days after the effective date of new or initial enrollment 
to change to another MCO that participates in the 
geographic area where the member lives. Members 
residing in localities qualifying for a rural exception shall 
not be afforded the 90-day window after initial enrollment 
during which they may make a health plan or program 
change. 

6. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize use an 
alternate strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment 
from the method described in this section for expansions, 
retractions, or changes to member populations, 
geographical areas, procurements, or any or all of these; 
such alternate strategy shall comply with federal waiver 
requirements. "Retractions" means the departure of an 
enrolled managed care organization from any one or more 
localities as provided in this section. 

H. Following their the member's initial enrollment into an 
MCO, members the member shall be restricted to the MCO 
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until the next open enrollment period, unless appropriately 
disenrolled or excluded by the department (as, as defined in 
12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or an initial MCO, a member may disenroll from that MCO 
to enroll into another MCO for any reason. Such 
disenrollment shall be effective no later than the first day 
of the second month after the month in which the member 
requests disenrollment. 

2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the 
member may only disenroll from one MCO into another 
MCO upon determination by DMAS that good cause exists 
as determined under subsection J of this section. 

I. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 
for all Medallion mandatory managed care members with the 
exception of those members who live in a designated rural 
exception area. The open enrollment period shall be the 60 
calendar days before the end of the enrollment period. Prior to 
the open enrollment period, DMAS will inform the member 
of the opportunity to remain with the current MCO or change 
to another MCO, without cause, for the following year. 
Enrollment selections will be effective on the first day of the 
next month following the open enrollment period. Members 
who do not make a choice during the open enrollment period 
will remain with their current MCO selection. 

J. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. and 
the disenrollment reasons shall be in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.56 (d)(2)(v ). 

1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, 
members may request disenrollment from DMAS based on 
cause. The request may be made orally or in writing to 
DMAS and shall cite the reason or reasons why the 
member wishes to disenroll. Cause for disenrollment shall 
include be in accordance with 42 CFR 438.56(d)(2), which 
includes the following reasons: 

a. A member's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center that is not under contract with the 
member's current MCO, and the member requests a 
change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center; 

b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
member by an MCO or one or more of its network 
providers that is deemed by the department's DMAS 
external quality review organizations to be below the 
generally accepted community practice of health care. 
This may include poor quality care; 

c. Lack of access to a PCP primary care physician or 
necessary specialty services covered under the State Plan 
or lack of access to network providers experienced in 
dealing with the member's health care needs; 

d. A member has a combination of complex medical 
factors that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be 
better served under another contracted MCO; 

e. The member moves out of the MCO's service area; 

f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the member seeks; or 

g. The member needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
within the network, and the member's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the member to 
unnecessary risk; or. 

h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 
the member files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56. 

3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 

4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the member in 
accordance with the department's DMAS client appeals 
process at 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-370. 

5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause. 

6. Members enrolled with a an MCO who subsequently 
meet one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded from 
Medallion as determined appropriate by DMAS, with the 
exception of those who subsequently become individuals 
participating in the IFDDS, ID, EDCD, Day Support, or 
Alzheimer's federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage. These members 
shall receive acute and primary medical services via the 
MCO and shall receive waiver services and related 
transportation to waiver services via the fee-for-service 
program. 

K. In accordance with 42 CFR 438.3(q)(5) and 42 CFR 
438.56(c)(2), a member has the right to disenroll from the 
contractor's plan without cause at the following times: 

1. During the 90 days following the date of the member's 
initial enrollment into the MCO or during the 90 days 
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following the date DMAS sends the member notice of that 
enrollment, whichever is later. 

2. At least once every 12 months thereafter. 

3. Upon automatic reenrollment under subsection G of this 
section if the temporary loss of Medicaid eligibility has 
caused the beneficiary to miss the annual disenrollment 
opportunity.  

4. When DMAS imposes the intermediate sanction 
specified in 42 CFR 438.702(a)(4). 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion MCO responsibilities. 

A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 
necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
federal and state regulations, the Medallion contract, policies, 
and instructions, except as otherwise modified or excluded in 
this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the MCOs and the hospital 
emergency departments. 

2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 
identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 
the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include dental 
and orthodontic services for children up to age younger 
than 21; for all others years of age, dental services for 
others (as described in 12VAC30-50-190), and school 
health services, community mental health services 
(12VAC30-50-130 and 12VAC30-50-226); early 
intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 
2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-50-131 and 12VAC30-50-
415); and long-term care services provided under the § 
1915(c) home-based and community-based waivers 
including related transportation to such authorized waiver 
services. 

3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether such services are 
provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT Early and periodic screening, diagnostic, and 
treatment (EPSDT) services shall be covered by the MCO and 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. The 
MCO shall have the authority to determine the provider of 
service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for members, and ad hoc quality studies performed by the 
MCO or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 

1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy comply 
with the records retention requirements as outlined in the 
contract. The MCO shall furnish such required information 
to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or his 
authorized representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud 
Control Unit on request and in the form requested. 

2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding 
member rights and shall comply with any applicable 
federal and state laws that pertain to member rights and 
shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers take those 
rights into account when furnishing services to members in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. comply with the 
member rights and protections stipulated in the contract 
and as identified in 42 CFR 438 Subpart C. 

E. The MCO shall comply with the contract and 42 CFR 438 
Subparts E and H to ensure that the health care provided to its 
members meets all applicable federal and state mandates, 
community standards for quality, and standards developed 
pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the Commonwealth and the MCO. Medical 
evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for urgent care 
and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-call 
clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days per 
week. 

G. The MCOs shall meet the standards specified in 42 CFR 
438, Subpart D by DMAS for sufficiency of provider 
networks as specified in the contract between the 
Commonwealth and the MCO. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
member's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60 447.90, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing 
obligations on members except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-
150 and 12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of a member who is 
his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 438.102. 
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K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

12VAC30-120-390. Payment rate for MCOs.  

The payment rate to MCOs that participate in the Medallion 
mandatory managed care program shall be set by negotiated 
contracts and in accordance with 42 CFR 438.6 438.4 through 
42 CFR 438.8 and other pertinent federal regulations.  

12VAC30-120-395. Payment Preauthorized, emergency, 
and post-stabilization services and payment rate for 
preauthorized or emergency care provided by out-of-
network providers.  

The MCOs shall pay for preauthorized or, emergency, and 
post-stabilization services when provided outside the MCO 
network to members in compliance with the contract and 
42 CFR 438.114. Preauthorized or, emergency, and post-
stabilization services provided to a managed care member by 
a provider or facility not participating in the MCO's network 
will be reimbursed according to the current Medicaid fee 
schedule. This reimbursement shall be considered payment in 
full to the provider or facility of emergency services.  

12VAC30-120-400. Quality control and utilization review.  

A. DMAS shall rigorously monitor the quality of care 
provided by the MCOs. DMAS may contract with one or 
more external quality review organizations to perform 
focused studies on the quality of care provided by the MCOs. 
The external organizations may utilize data or other tools to 
ensure contract compliance and quality improvement 
activities. Specifically and the MCOs shall comply with (i) 
the contract; (ii) 42 CFR 438 Subpart E, entitled Quality 
Measurement and Improvement: External Quality Review; 
and (iii) the MCO standards identified in 42 CFR 438 Subpart 
D, entitled MCO, PIHP, and PAHP Standards. DMAS shall 
monitor the MCOs to determine if the MCO: their 
compliance with the contract, 42 CFR Subpart A, and all 
other relevant sections of 42 CFR Part 438 (Managed Care) 
as follows: 

1. Fails If the MCO fails substantially to provide the 
medically necessary items and services required under law 
or under the contract to be provided to an enrolled recipient 
and the failure has adversely affected (or has substantial 
likelihood of adversely affecting) the individual.  

2. Engages If the MCO engages in any practice that 
discriminates against individuals on the basis of their 
health status or requirements for health care services, 
including expulsion or refusal to reenroll an individual, or 
any practice that could reasonably be expected to have the 
effect of denying or discouraging enrollment (except as 

permitted by § 1903(m) of the Social Security Act 
(42 USC § 1396b(m))) by eligible individuals whose 
medical conditions or histories indicate a need for 
substantial future medical services.  

3. Misrepresents If the MCO misrepresents or falsifies 
information that it furnishes, under § 1903(m) of the Social 
Security Act (42 USC § 1396b(m)) to CMS, DMAS, an 
individual, or any other entity.  

4. Fails If the MCO fails to comply with the requirements 
of 42 CFR 417.479(d) through 42 CFR 417.479(g) relating 
to physician incentive plans, or fails to submit to DMAS its 
physician incentive plans as required or requested in 
42 CFR 434.70.  

5. Imposes If the MCO imposes on members premiums or 
charges that are in excess of the premiums or charges 
permitted under the Medicaid program.  

B. DMAS shall ensure that data on performance and patient 
results are collected.  

C. DMAS shall ensure that quality outcomes information is 
provided to MCOs. DMAS shall ensure that changes which 
that are determined to be needed as a result of quality control 
or utilization review are made.  

12VAC30-120-410. Sanctions.  

A. If DMAS determines that an MCO is not in compliance 
with applicable state or federal laws, or regulations (including 
but not limited to the requirements of or pursuant to 
12VAC30-120-380 E § 1932(e)(1) of the Social Security Act 
(the Act), 12VAC30-120-380, or 42 CFR 438, Subpart I), or 
the MCO contract, DMAS may impose sanctions on the 
MCO pursuant to § 1932(e) of the Act and this section. The 
sanctions may include, but are not limited to:  

1. Limiting enrollments in the MCO by freezing voluntary 
member enrollments;  

2. Freezing DMAS assignment of members to the MCO;  

3. Limiting MCO enrollment to specific areas;  

4. Denying, withholding, or retracting payments to the 
MCO;  

5. Terminating the MCO's contract as provided in 
§ 1932(e)(4) of the Act;  

6. Intermediate sanctions including, but not limited to, the 
maximum civil money penalties specified in 42 CFR Part 
438, Subpart I, for the violations set forth therein, or in 
accordance therewith; and  

7. 6. Civil monetary penalties as specified in 42 CFR 
438.704; and 

7. Appointment of temporary management for an MCO as 
provided in 42 CFR 438.706. 
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B. In the case of an MCO that has repeatedly failed to meet 
the requirements of §§ 1903(m) and 1932 1932(e) of the 
Social Security Act, DMAS shall, regardless of what other 
sanctions are imposed, impose the following sanctions:  

1. Appoint a temporary manager to:  

a. Oversee the operation of the Medicaid managed care 
organization upon a finding by DMAS that there is 
continued egregious behavior by the organization or 
there is a substantial risk to the health of members; or  

b. Assure Ensure the health of the organization's 
members if there is a need for temporary management 
while (i) there is an orderly termination or reorganization 
of the organization or (ii) improvements are made to 
remedy the violations found under subsection A of this 
section. Temporary management under this subdivision 
may not be terminated until DMAS has determined that 
the MCO has the capability to ensure that the violations 
shall not recur.  

2. Permit members who are enrolled with the MCO to 
disenroll without cause. If this sanction is imposed, DMAS 
shall be responsible for notifying such members of the 
right to disenroll.  

C. Prior to terminating a contract as permitted under 
subdivision A 5 of this section, § 1932(e)(4) of the Act, 
DMAS shall provide the MCO with a hearing. DMAS shall 
not provide an MCO with a pretermination predetermination 
hearing before the appointment of a temporary manager under 
subdivision B 1 of this section.  

D. Prior to imposing any sanction other than termination of 
the MCO's contract, DMAS shall provide the MCO with 
notice, develop procedures with which the MCO must 
comply to eliminate specific sanctions, and provide such 
other due process protections as the Commonwealth may 
provide.  

E. In accordance with the terms of the contract, MCOs shall 
have the right to appeal any adverse action taken by DMAS. 
For appeal procedures not addressed by the contract, the 
MCO shall proceed in accordance with the appeals provisions 
of the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4364 and 2.2-4365 
of the Code of Virginia, DMAS shall establish an 
administrative appeals procedure through which the MCO 
may elect to appeal decisions on disputes arising during the 
performance of its contract. Pursuant to § 2.2-4365 of the 
Code of Virginia, such appeal shall be heard by a hearing 
officer; however, in no event shall the hearing officer be an 
employee of DMAS. In conducting the administrative appeal, 
the hearing officer shall follow the hearing procedure used in 
§ 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. When DMAS determines that an MCO committed one of 
the violations specified in 12VAC30-120-400 A, DMAS shall 
implement the provisions of 42 CFR 434.67.  

1. Any sanction imposed pursuant to this subsection shall 
be binding upon the MCO.  

2. The MCO shall have the appeals rights for any sanction 
imposed pursuant to this subsection as specified in 42 CFR 
434.67.  

12VAC30-120-420. Member grievances and appeals.  

A. The MCOs shall, whenever a member's request for 
covered services is reduced, denied or terminated, or payment 
for services is denied, provide a written notice in accordance 
with the notice provisions specified in 42 CFR 438.404 and 
42 CFR 438.210(c), as defined by comply with (i) the 
Grievance and Appeal System as identified in 42 CFR 438 
Subpart F, (ii) the Enrollee Rights and Protections 
requirements in 42 CFR 438 Subpart C, (iii) the Medallion 
contract between DMAS and the MCO, and (iv) any other 
applicable state or federal statutory or regulatory 
requirements.  

B. MCOs shall, at (i) the initiation of either new member 
enrollment or, (ii) the initiation of new provider/subcontractor 
provider or subcontractor contracts, or at (iii) the request of 
the member, provide to every member the information 
described in 42 CFR 438.10(g) concerning grievance/appeal 
grievance and appeal rights and procedures.  

C. Disputes between the MCO and the member concerning 
any aspect of service delivery, including medical necessity 
and specialist referral, shall be resolved through a verbal or 
written grievance/appeals grievance or appeals process 
operated by the MCO or through the DMAS appeals process. 
A provider or other representative who has the member's 
written consent may act on behalf of a member in the MCO 
grievance/appeals grievance or appeals or the DMAS appeals 
process.  

1. The member, provider, or representative acting on 
behalf of the member with the member's written consent 
may file an oral or written grievance or internal appeal 
with the MCO. The MCO must accept grievances or 
appeals filed at any time. Internal appeal requests must be 
submitted within 30 60 days from the date of the notice of 
adverse action benefit determination. Oral requests for 
internal appeals must be followed up in writing within 10 
business days by the member, provider, or the 
representative acting on behalf of the member with the 
member's consent, unless the request is for an expedited 
internal appeal. The member may also file a written request 
for a standard or expedited appeal with the DMAS Appeals 
Division within 30 days of the member's receipt of the 
notice of adverse action, in accordance with 42 CFR 431, 
Subpart E; 42 CFR Part 438, Subpart F; and 12VAC30-
110-10 through 12VAC30-110-370.  
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2. The member must exhaust the MCO's internal appeals 
process before appealing to the DMAS Appeals Division. 
The member may also file a written request for a standard 
or expedited internal appeal of the MCO's adverse benefit 
determination with the DMAS Appeals Division within 
120 days of the member's receipt of the MCO's internal 
appeal decision, in accordance with 42 CFR 431 Subpart 
E; 42 CFR Part 438 Subpart F; and 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370. 

3. As specified in 12VAC30-110-100, pending the 
resolution of a grievance, internal appeal, or appeal filed 
by a member or his representative (including a provider 
acting on behalf of the member) prior to the effective date 
of the adverse benefit determination, coverage shall not be 
terminated or reduced for the member for any reason 
which that is the subject of the grievance or appeal.  

3. 4. The MCO shall ensure that the employees or agents 
who make decisions on MCO grievances and appeals were 
not involved in any previous level of review or decision 
making, and neither the individuals nor agents, nor a 
subordinate of any such individual, who makes decisions 
on grievances and internal appeals were involved in any 
previous level of review or decision making. Additionally, 
where the reason for the grievance or internal appeal 
involves clinical issues, or relates to a denial or of a request 
for an expedited appeal, or where the appeal is based on a 
lack of medical necessity, the MCO shall ensure that the 
decision makers are health care professionals with the 
appropriate clinical expertise in treating the member's 
condition or disease.  

5. The MCO shall provide the member and any 
representative a reasonable opportunity in person and in 
writing to present evidence and testimony and to make 
legal and factual arguments in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.406(b)(4). The MCO shall inform the member of the 
limited time available for this sufficiently in advance of the 
resolution timeframe for appeals in accordance with 
42 CFR 438.406(b)(4). 

6. The MCO shall provide the member and any 
representative the member's case file, including medical 
records, and any new or additional evidence considered, 
relied upon, or generated by the MCO in connection with 
the appeal of the adverse benefit determination. This 
information must be provided free of charge and 
sufficiently in advance of the resolution timeframe for 
appeals in accordance with 42 CFR 438.406(b)(5). 

D. The MCO shall develop written materials describing the 
grievance/appeals grievance or appeals system and its 
procedures and operation.  

E. The MCO shall maintain a recordkeeping, reporting, and 
tracking system for complaints, grievances, and appeals that 
includes complies with the Medallion contract between 

DMAS and the MCO. The system shall include a copy of the 
original complaint, grievance, or internal appeal; the decision; 
and the nature of the decision; and data on the number of 
internal appeals filed, the average time to resolve internal 
appeals, and the total number of internal appeals open as of 
the reporting date. This system shall distinguish Medicaid 
from commercial members, if the MCO does not have a 
separate system for Medicaid members.  

F. At the time of enrollment and at the time of any adverse 
actions benefit determination, the MCO shall notify the 
member, in writing, that:  

1. Medical necessity, specialist referral or other service 
delivery issues An adverse benefit determination may be 
resolved through a system of grievances and appeals, first 
within the MCO or and then through the DMAS client 
appeals process;  

2. Members have the right to request an expedited internal 
appeal directly to DMAS;  

3. Members shall exhaust their internal appeals with the 
MCO before being given the right to appeal to DMAS; and 

4. The MCO shall promptly provide grievance or appeal 
forms, reasonable assistance, and written procedures to 
members who wish to register written grievances or 
appeals, including auxiliary aids and services upon request 
such as providing interpreter services and toll-free numbers 
that have adequate TTY/TTD and interpreter capability.  

G. The MCO shall issue grievance/appeal grievance or 
internal appeal decisions as defined by 42 CFR 438.408 and 
the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Oral grievance 
decisions are not required to be in writing.  

H. The MCO shall issue standard internal appeal decisions 
within 30 days from the date of initial receipt of the internal 
appeal in accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as defined by 
the Medallion contract between DMAS and the MCO. This 
timeframe may be extended by up to 14 days under the 
requirements of 42 CFR 438.408. The internal appeal 
decision shall be in writing and shall include, but shall not be 
limited to, the following:  

1. The decision reached, the results, and the date of the 
decision reached by the MCO;  

2. The reasons for the decision;  

3. The policies or procedures that provide the basis for the 
decision;  

4. A clear explanation of further appeal rights and a 
timeframe for filing an appeal; and For internal appeals not 
resolved wholly in favor of the member: 

a. A clear explanation of further appeal rights and a 
timeframe for filing an internal appeal; and  
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b. The right to continue to receive benefits in accordance 
with 42 CFR 438.420 pending a hearing and how to 
request continuation of benefits.  

The member may be held liable for the cost of those benefits 
if the hearing decision upholds the contractor's adverse 
benefit determination. 

5. For appeals that involve the termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment, 
the right to continue to receive benefits in accordance with 
42 CFR 438.420 pending a hearing, and how to request 
continuation of benefits. 

I. An expedited appeal decision shall be issued as 
expeditiously as the member's condition requires and within 
three business days 72 hours from receipt of the internal 
appeal request in cases of medical emergencies in which 
delay could result in death or serious injury to a member. 
Extensions to these timeframes shall be allowed in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as defined by the 
Medallion contract between DMAS and the MCO. Written 
confirmation of the decision shall promptly follow the verbal 
notice of the expedited decision.  

J. If the MCO fails to adhere to the internal appeals notice 
and timing requirements of this section, the member is 
deemed to have exhausted the MCO's internal appeals process 
and may file an internal appeal with DMAS. 

K. Any adverse benefit determination upheld in whole or in 
part by the internal appeal decision issued by the MCO may 
be appealed by the member to DMAS in accordance with the 
department's Client Appeals DMAS appeals regulations at 
12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-370. DMAS shall 
conduct an evidentiary hearing in accordance with the Client 
Appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-
110-370 and shall not base any appealed decision on the 
record established by any internal appeal decision of the 
MCO. The MCO shall comply with the DMAS appeal 
decision. The DMAS decision in these matters shall be final 
and shall not be subject to appeal by the MCO.  

K. L. The MCO shall provide information necessary for any 
DMAS appeal within timeframes established by DMAS.  

12VAC30-120-430 to 12VAC30-120-440. [Reserved] 
Provider grievances, reconsiderations, and appeals. 

A. The MCOs shall comply with the requirements of the 
Administrative Process Act (§§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia), the provider appeals regulations at 12VAC30-
20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560, the Medallion contract 
between DMAS and the MCO, and any other applicable state 
or federal statutory or regulatory requirements. 

B. The MCOs shall have a grievance system established to 
respond to grievances made by network providers. Network 
provider grievances are not appealable to the DMAS Appeals 
Division. 

C. MCOs shall, at the initiation of new network provider 
contracts, provide to every network provider the information 
described in this section concerning grievance, 
reconsideration, and appeal rights and procedures. 

D. Disputes between the MCO and the network provider 
concerning any aspect of reimbursement shall be resolved 
through a verbal or written grievance or reconsideration 
process operated by the MCO or through the DMAS appeals 
process. A network provider or representative that is 
authorized by the network provider may act on behalf of a 
network provider in the MCO grievance or reconsideration or 
the DMAS appeals process.  

E. Disputes arising solely from the MCO's denial or 
termination of a provider's enrollment in the MCO's network 
are not appealable to the DMAS Appeals Division. 

F. If a network provider has rendered services to a member 
and has been denied authorization or reimbursement for the 
services or has received reduced authorization or 
reimbursement, that provider may request a reconsideration 
of the denied or reduced authorization or reimbursement. 
Before appealing to DMAS, network providers must first 
exhaust all MCO reconsideration processes. The MCO's final 
denial letter must include a statement that the provider has 
exhausted its reconsideration rights with the MCO and that 
the next level of appeal is with DMAS. The final denial letter 
must include the appeal rights to DMAS in accordance with 
the provider appeals regulations at 12VAC30-20-500 through 
12VAC30-20-560. 

G. All network provider appeals to DMAS must be 
submitted to the DMAS Appeals Division in writing and 
within 30 days of the MCO's last date of denial. 

H. The MCO shall provide information necessary for any 
DMAS appeal within timeframes established by DMAS. 

I. The MCO shall comply with the DMAS appeal decision. 
A DMAS appeal decision is not appealable by the MCO. 

J. The MCO shall maintain a recordkeeping, reporting, and 
tracking system for complaints, grievances, and 
reconsiderations that complies with the Medallion contract 
between DMAS and the MCO. The system shall include a 
copy of the original complaint, grievance, or reconsideration; 
the decision; the nature of the decision; and data on the 
number of reconsiderations filed, the average time to resolve 
reconsiderations, and the total number of reconsiderations 
open as of the reporting date. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5010; Filed February 5, 2019, 3:55 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-40. Rules and Regulations 
for Single Family Mortgage Loans to Persons and 
Families of Low and Moderate Income (amending 
13VAC10-40-10 through 13VAC10-40-190, 13VAC10-40-
210, 13VAC10-40-220, 13VAC10-40-230; adding 
13VAC10-40-15, 13VAC10-40-240 through 13VAC10-40-
280; repealing 13VAC10-40-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jeff Quann, Senior Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5603 or email 
jeffrey.quann@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments align the regulations with current 
authority loan programs, policies, and financing sources 
and incorporate new authority loan programs that have 
been created since the regulations were last updated in 
2009. 

Part I  
General  

13VAC10-40-10. General.  

The following rules and regulations will be applicable This 
chapter applies to mortgage loans which that are made or 
financed or are proposed to be made or financed by the 
authority to persons and families of low and moderate income 
for the acquisition (and, where applicable, rehabilitation), 
construction, refinancing, ownership, and occupancy of single 
family housing units.  

In order to be considered eligible for a mortgage loan 
hereunder under the provisions of this chapter, the applicant 
or applicants must have a "gross income" (as determined in 
accordance with this chapter and the authority's rules and 
regulations) which origination guide) that does not exceed the 
applicable income limitation set forth in Part II (13VAC10-
40-30 et seq.) hereof of this chapter. Furthermore, the sales 
price of any single family unit to be financed hereunder must 
not exceed the applicable sales price limit set forth in Part II 
(13VAC10-40-30 et seq.) hereof. The term "sales price," with 
respect to a mortgage loan for the combined acquisition and 
rehabilitation of a single family dwelling unit, shall include 

the cost of acquisition, plus the cost of rehabilitation and debt 
service for such period of rehabilitation, not to exceed three 
months, as the executive director shall determine that such 
dwelling unit will not be available for occupancy. In addition, 
each mortgage loan issued a mortgage credit certificate must 
satisfy all requirements of federal law applicable to loans 
financed with the proceeds of tax-exempt bonds mortgage 
credit certificates as set forth in Part II (13VAC10-40-30 et 
seq.) hereof 13VAC10-190.  

Mortgage loans may be made or financed pursuant to these 
rules and regulations this chapter only if and to the extent that 
the authority has made or expects to make funds available 
therefor for such loans. Notwithstanding anything to the 
contrary herein, the The executive director is authorized with 
respect to any mortgage loan hereunder made or financed 
under the provisions of this chapter to waive or modify any 
provisions of these rules and regulations this chapter where 
deemed appropriate by him for good cause, to the extent not 
inconsistent with the Virginia Housing Development 
Authority Act (§ 36-55.24 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

All reviews, analyses, evaluations, inspections, 
determinations, and other actions by the authority pursuant to 
the provisions of these rules and regulations this chapter shall 
be made for the sole and exclusive benefit and protection of 
the authority and shall not be construed to waive or modify 
any of the rights, benefits, privileges, duties, liabilities, or 
responsibilities of the authority or the mortgagor under the 
agreements and documents executed in connection with the 
mortgage loan.  

The rules and regulations set forth herein in this chapter are 
intended to provide a general description of the authority's 
processing requirements and are not intended to include all 
actions involved or required in the originating and 
administration of mortgage loans under the authority's single 
family housing program. These rules and regulations are 
subject to change at any time by the authority and may be 
supplemented by the authority's origination guide and other 
policies, and rules and regulations adopted by the authority 
from time to time, to the extent such are not inconsistent with 
the provisions of this chapter.  

13VAC10-40-15. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means the Virginia Housing Development Authority 
Act (§ 36-55.24 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for an authority 
mortgage loan. 

"Authority" means the Virginia Housing Development 
Authority. 
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"Borrower" means a person who has obtained an authority 
mortgage loan. 

"Delegated lender" means an originating lender that has 
received approval from the authority to act in a delegated 
capacity to approve authority mortgage loans without prior 
review by the authority. 

"Fannie Mae" means the Federal National Mortgage 
Association. 

"Fannie Mae loan" means a mortgage loan made pursuant to 
the requirements of Fannie Mae. 

"FHA" means the U.S. Federal Housing Administration. 

"FHA loan" means a mortgage loan insured by FHA. 

"First mortgage loan" means a mortgage loan that is in a first 
lien position. 

"Freddie Mac" means the Federal Home Loan Mortgage 
Corporation. 

"Freddie Mac loan" means a mortgage loan made pursuant 
to the requirements of Freddie Mac. 

"Gross income" means the combined annualized gross 
income of all borrowers and nonborrower occupants taking 
title to a dwelling unit from whatever source derived and 
before taxes or withholdings. 

"Median family income" has the meaning set forth in 
§ 143(f)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. 

"Nondelegated lender" means an originating lender that has 
not received approval from the authority to act in a delegated 
capacity, such that authority mortgage loans must be 
submitted to the authority for approval. 

"Origination guide" means [ that the ] authority document 
prepared and revised from time to time, setting forth the 
accounting and other procedures to be followed by all 
originating lenders responsible for the origination, closing, 
and selling of mortgage loans under the applicable purchase 
agreements. 

"Originating agents" means mortgage brokers, financial 
institutions, and other private firms and individuals and 
governmental entities approved by the authority for the 
purpose of receiving applications for mortgage loans. 

"Originating lenders" means commercial banks, savings and 
loan associations, credit unions, private mortgage bankers, 
redevelopment and housing authorities, and agencies of local 
government approved by the authority to make mortgage 
loans pursuant to authority loan programs. 

"Present ownership interest" means an ownership interest in 
a principal residence including: 

1. A fee simple interest; 

2. A joint tenancy, a tenancy in common, or a tenancy by 
the entirety; 

3. The interest of a tenant shareholder in a cooperative; 

4. A life estate; 

5. A land contract, under which possession and the benefits 
and burdens of ownership are transferred although legal 
title is not transferred until some later time; and 

6. An interest held in trust for the eligible borrower 
(whether or not created by the eligible borrower) that 
would constitute a present ownership interest if held 
directly by the eligible borrower. 

Interests that do not include a present ownership interest 
include: 

1. A remainder interest; 

2. An ordinary lease with or without an option to purchase; 

3. A mere expectancy to inherit an interest in a principal 
residence; 

4. The interest that a purchaser of a [ resident residence ] 
acquires on the execution of an accepted offer to purchase 
real estate; and 

5. An interest in other than a principal residence during the 
previous three years. 

"Purchase agreement" means an agreement entered into 
between an originating lender and the authority containing 
such terms and conditions as the executive director shall 
require with respect to the origination and selling of mortgage 
loans to the authority. 

"Rural Development loan" means the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture Rural Development mission area, and one of its 
agencies, the Rural Housing Service. 

"Targeted areas" means those areas which are a qualified 
census tract or an area of chronic economic distress. A 
qualified census tract is a census tract in the Commonwealth 
in which 70% or more of the families have an income of 80% 
or less of the statewide median family income based on the 
most recent "safe harbor" statistics published by the U.S. 
Treasury. An area of chronic economic distress is an area 
designated as such by the Commonwealth and approved by 
the Secretaries of Housing and Urban Development and the 
Treasury under criteria specified in the tax code. Originating 
lenders will be informed by the authority as to the location of 
areas so designated. 

"Tax code" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended (26 USC § 1 et seq.).  

"VA" means the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. 

"VA loan" means a mortgage loan that is guaranteed by VA. 
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13VAC10-40-20. Origination and servicing of mortgage 
loans. 

A. The originating of mortgage loans and the processing of 
applications for the making or financing thereof in 
accordance herewith with this chapter shall, except as noted 
in subsection G L of this section, be performed through 
commercial banks, savings and loan associations, private 
mortgage bankers, redevelopment and housing authorities, 
and agencies of local government approved as originating 
agents ("originating agents") of the authority lenders. The 
servicing of mortgage loans shall, except as noted in 
subsection H of this section, be performed through 
commercial banks, savings and loan associations and private 
mortgage bankers approved as servicing agents ("servicing 
agents") of the authority be performed by the authority.  

B. To be initially approved as an originating agent or as a 
servicing agent lender and to continue to be so approved, the 
applicant must meet the following qualifications:  

1. Be authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia and be licensed as a mortgage lender or broker, as 
applicable, under the Virginia Mortgage Lender and 
Broker Act as set forth in Chapter 16 (§ 6.1-408 6.2-1600 
et seq.) of Title 6.1 6.2 of the Code of Virginia (including 
nonprofit corporations that may be exempt from licensing 
when making mortgage loans on their own behalf under 
subdivision 4 of § 6.1-411 6.2-1602 of the Code of 
Virginia); provided, however, that such licensing 
requirement shall not apply to persons exempt from 
licensure under: 

a. Subdivision 2 of § 6.1-411 6.2-1602 of the Code of 
Virginia (any person subject to the general supervision of 
or subject to examination by the Commissioner of the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions of the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission);  

b. Subdivision 3 of § 6.1-411 6.2-1602 of the Code of 
Virginia (any lender authorized to engage in business as 
a bank, savings institution, or credit union under the laws 
of the United States, or any state or territory of the 
United States, or the District of Columbia, and 
subsidiaries and affiliates of such entities, which lender, 
subsidiary or affiliate is subject to the general supervision 
or regulation of or subject to audit or examination by a 
regulatory body or agency of the United States, or any 
state or territory of the United States, or the District of 
Columbia) state); or 

c. Subdivision 5 of § 6.1-411 6.2-1602 of the Code of 
Virginia (agencies of the federal government, or any state 
or municipal government, or any quasi-governmental 
agency making or brokering mortgage loans under the 
specific authority of the laws of any state or the United 
States) [ .; ]  

2. Have a net worth equal to or in excess of $500,000 or 
such other amount as the executive director shall from time 
to time deem appropriate requirements mandated by FHA 
or any other guarantor or investor, as applicable to the 
programs in which the originating lender participates, 
except that this qualification requirement shall not apply to 
redevelopment and housing authorities and agencies of 
local government;  

3. Have a staff with demonstrated ability and experience in 
mortgage loan origination, underwriting, processing, and 
closing (in the case of an originating agent applicant) or 
servicing (in the case of a servicing agent applicant);  

4. To be approved as an originating agent, have Have a 
physical office located in Virginia that is open to the 
general public during commercially reasonable business 
hours, staffed with individuals qualified to take mortgage 
loan applications, and to which the general public may 
physically go to make an application for a mortgage loan, 
unless the executive director determines that it is 
reasonable or necessary to waive or modify such 
requirement after taking into consideration current industry 
and market conditions; 

5. To be approved as an originating agent, be Be eligible 
to, and have a staff qualified to (as set forth in subdivision 
3 of this subsection), originate mortgage loans under all of 
the authority's [ single-family single family ] mortgage 
loan programs (not including the Rural Development loan 
program), unless otherwise approved for originating 
lenders originating mortgage loans in underserved markets; 

6. Have a fidelity bond and mortgage errors and omissions 
coverage in an amount at least equal to $500,000 
requirements mandated by FHA or any other guarantor or 
investor as applicable to the programs in which the 
originating lender participates and provide the authority a 
certificate from the insurance carrier naming the authority 
as a party in interest to the bond, or the policies or bonds 
shall name the authority as one of the parties insured. The 
policy's deductible clause may be for any amount up to the 
greater of $100,000 or 5.0% of the face amount of the 
policy must also meet the requirements mandated by FHA 
or any other guarantor or investor as applicable to the 
programs in which the originating lender participates; 

7. Have a past history of satisfactory performance in the 
authority's and other mortgage lenders', insurers', 
guarantors', and investors' mortgage programs that, in the 
determination of the executive director, demonstrates that 
the applicant will be capable of meeting its obligations 
under the authority's programs, and provided further that, 
any applicant that has been previously terminated as an 
originating lender by the Authority authority shall not be 
eligible to reapply for 24 months after the effective date of 
such termination; and 
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8. Meet such other qualifications as the executive director 
shall deem to be related to the performance of its duties 
and responsibilities. 

The executive director may modify or waive any of the 
requirements in this subsection if he determines (i) that it is 
reasonable or necessary to do so after taking into 
consideration any mitigating factors and (ii) that the financial 
interests of the authority are adequately protected. In making 
this determination, the executive director may require such 
other requirements as he deems reasonable or necessary to 
adequately protect the financial interests of the authority. 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, in In the event that the 
executive director determines that it is reasonable or 
necessary (after taking into consideration the number of 
existing origination and servicing agents originating lenders, 
the current and expected level of loan production and demand 
for mortgage loans, and the current and expected resources 
available to the authority to make mortgage loans) to cease 
approving additional originating and servicing agents lenders, 
the authority may at any time decline to accept further 
applications and to approve applications previously 
submitted. 

C. Each originating agent lender approved by the authority 
shall enter into an originating a purchase agreement 
("originating agreement"), with the authority containing such 
terms and conditions as the executive director shall require 
with respect to the origination and processing of mortgage 
loans hereunder. Each servicing agent approved by the 
authority shall enter into a servicing agreement with the 
authority containing such terms and conditions as the 
executive director shall require with respect to the servicing 
of mortgage loans.  

An applicant may be approved as both an originating agent 
and a servicing agent ("originating and servicing agent"). 
Each originating and servicing agent shall enter into both an 
originating agreement and a servicing agreement.  

Once such agreements are the purchase agreement is 
executed, continued participation in the authority's programs 
shall be subject to the terms and conditions in such 
agreements the agreement. 

For the purposes of this chapter, the term "originating agent" 
shall hereinafter be deemed to include the term "originating 
and servicing agent," unless otherwise noted or the context 
indicates otherwise. The term "servicing agent" shall continue 
to mean an agent authorized only to service mortgage loans.  

D. Originating agents and servicing agents lenders shall 
maintain adequate books and records with respect to 
mortgage loans which they originate and process or service, 
as applicable sell to the authority, shall permit the authority to 
examine such books and records, and shall submit to the 
authority such reports (including annual financial statements) 
and information as the authority may require. The fees 

payable to the originating agents and servicing agents lenders 
for originating and processing or for servicing selling 
mortgage loans hereunder shall be established from time to 
time by the executive director and shall be set forth in the 
originating agreements and servicing agreements applicable 
to such originating agents and servicing agents origination 
guide.  

B. E. The executive director shall allocate funds for the 
making or financing of mortgage loans hereunder in such 
manner, to such persons and entities, in such amounts, for 
such period, and subject to such terms and conditions as he 
shall deem appropriate to best accomplish the purposes and 
goals of the authority. Without limiting the foregoing, the 
executive director may allocate funds (i) to mortgage loan 
applicants on a first-come, first-serve or other basis, (ii) to 
originating agents lenders and state and local government 
agencies and instrumentalities for the origination of mortgage 
loans to qualified applicants and/or, (iii) to builders for the 
permanent financing of residences constructed or 
rehabilitated or to be constructed or rehabilitated by them and 
to be sold to qualified applicants, or (iv) for permanent or 
interim construction or renovation financing of eligible 
properties to be sold to qualified applicants. In determining 
how to so allocate the funds, the executive director may 
consider such factors as he deems relevant, including any of 
the following:  

1. The need for the expeditious commitment and 
disbursement of such funds for mortgage loans;  

2. The need and demand for the financing of mortgage 
loans with such funds in the various geographical areas of 
the Commonwealth;  

3. The cost and difficulty of administration of the 
allocation of funds;  

4. The capability, history, and experience of any 
originating agents lenders, state and local governmental 
agencies and instrumentalities, builders, or other persons 
and entities (other than mortgage loan applicants) who are 
to receive an allocation; and  

5. Housing conditions in the Commonwealth.  

F. In the event that the executive director shall determine to 
make allocations of funds to builders as described above in 
subsection E of this section, the following requirements must 
be satisfied by each such builder:  

1. The builder must have a valid contractor's license in the 
Commonwealth;  

2. The builder must have at least three years' experience of 
a scope and nature similar to the proposed construction or 
rehabilitation; and  

3. The builder must submit to the authority plans and 
specifications for the proposed construction or rehabilitation 
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which are acceptable to the authority. builder shall satisfy the 
requirements as the executive director shall establish with 
respect to builder qualifications. 

G. The executive director may from time to time take such 
action as he may deem necessary or proper in order to solicit 
applications for allocation of funds hereunder. Such actions 
may include advertising in newspapers and other media, 
mailing of information to prospective applicants and other 
members of the public, and any other methods of public 
announcement which that the executive director may select as 
appropriate under the circumstances. The executive director 
may impose requirements, limitations, and conditions with 
respect to the submission of applications as he shall consider 
necessary or appropriate. The executive director may cause 
market studies and other research and analyses to be 
performed in order to determine the manner and conditions 
under which funds of the authority are to be allocated and 
such other matters as he shall deem appropriate relating 
thereto. The authority may also consider and approve 
applications for allocations of funds submitted from time to 
time to the authority without any solicitation therefor on the 
part of the authority.  

C. This chapter constitutes a portion of the originating guide 
of the authority. The originating guide and all exhibits and 
other documents referenced herein are not included in, and 
shall not be deemed to be a part of this chapter. H. The 
executive director is authorized to prepare and from time to 
time revise an originating origination guide and a servicing 
guide which shall set forth the accounting and other 
procedures to be followed by all originating agents and 
servicing agents responsible for the origination, closing and 
servicing of mortgage loans under the applicable originating 
agreements and servicing agreements. Copies of the 
originating origination guide and the servicing guide shall be 
available upon request. The executive director shall be 
responsible for the implementation and interpretation of the 
provisions of the originating origination guide (including the 
originating guide) and the servicing guide.  

D. I. The authority may from time to time (i) make mortgage 
loans directly to mortgagors with the assistance and services 
of its originating agents and lenders, (ii) agree to purchase 
individual mortgage loans from its originating agents or 
servicing agents lenders upon the consummation of the 
closing thereof, and (iii) make mortgage loans directly to 
mortgagors in underserved markets. The review and 
processing of applications for such mortgage loans, the 
issuance of mortgage loan commitments therefor approvals, 
the closing and servicing (and, and, if applicable, the 
purchase) purchase of such mortgage loans, and the terms and 
conditions relating to such mortgage loans shall be governed 
by and shall comply with the provisions of the applicable 
originating purchase agreement or servicing agreement, the 
originating origination guide, the servicing guide, the Act, 
and this chapter.  

J. If the applicant and the application for a mortgage loan 
meet the requirements of the Act and this chapter, the 
executive director authority may issue on behalf of the 
authority a mortgage loan commitment approval to the 
applicant for the financing of the single family dwelling unit. 
Such mortgage loan commitment shall be issued only upon 
the determination of the authority that such a mortgage loan is 
not otherwise available from private lenders upon reasonably 
equivalent terms and conditions, and such determination shall 
be set forth in the mortgage loan commitment approval. The 
original principal amount and term of such mortgage loan, the 
amortization period, the terms and conditions relating to the 
prepayment thereof, and such other terms, conditions, and 
requirements as the executive director deems necessary or 
appropriate shall be set forth or incorporated in the mortgage 
loan commitment approval issued on behalf of the authority 
with respect to such mortgage loan.  

E. The authority may purchase from time to time existing 
mortgage loans with funds held or received in connection 
with bonds issued by the authority prior to January 1, 1981, 
or with other funds legally available therefor. With respect to 
any such purchase, the executive director may request and 
solicit bids or proposals from the authority's originating 
agents and servicing agents for the sale and purchase of such 
mortgage loans, in such manner, within such time period and 
subject to such terms and conditions as he shall deem 
appropriate under the circumstances. The sales prices of the 
single family housing units financed by such mortgage loans, 
the gross family incomes of the mortgagors thereof, and the 
original principal amounts of such mortgage loans shall not 
exceed such limits as the executive director shall establish, 
subject to approval or ratification by resolution of the board. 
The executive director may take such action as he deems 
necessary or appropriate to solicit offers to sell mortgage 
loans, including mailing of the request to originating agents 
and servicing agents, advertising in newspapers or other 
publications and any other method of public announcement 
which he may select as appropriate under the circumstances. 
After review and evaluation by the executive director of the 
bids or proposals, he shall select those bids or proposals that 
offer the highest yield to the authority on the mortgage loans 
(subject to any limitations imposed by law on the authority) 
and that best conform to the terms and conditions established 
by him with respect to the bids or proposals. Upon selection 
of such bids or proposals, the executive director shall issue 
commitments to the selected originating agents and servicing 
agents to purchase the mortgage loans, subject to such terms 
and conditions as he shall deem necessary or appropriate. 
Upon satisfaction of the terms of the commitments, the 
executive director shall execute such agreements and 
documents and take such other action as may be necessary or 
appropriate in order to consummate the purchase and sale of 
the mortgage loans. The mortgage loans so purchased shall be 
serviced in accordance with the applicable originating 
agreement or servicing agreement and the servicing guide. 
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Such mortgage loans and the purchase thereof shall in all 
respects comply with the Act and the authority's rules and 
regulations.  

F. K. The executive director may, in his discretion, delegate 
to one or more originating agents lenders all or some of the 
responsibility for underwriting, issuing commitments 
approvals for mortgage loans, and disbursing the proceeds 
hereof without prior review and approval by the authority. 
The executive director may delegate to one or more servicing 
agents all or some of the responsibility for underwriting and 
issuing commitments for the assumption of existing authority 
mortgage loans without prior review and approval by the 
authority. If the executive director determines to make any 
such delegation, he shall establish criteria under which 
originating agents lenders may qualify for such delegation. If 
such delegation has been made, the originating agents lenders 
shall submit all required documentation to the authority at 
such time as the authority may require. If the executive 
director determines that a mortgage loan does not comply 
with any requirement under the originating origination guide, 
the applicable originating purchase agreement, the Act, or this 
chapter for which the originating agent lender was delegated 
responsibility, he may require the originating agents lender to 
purchase such mortgage loan, subject to such terms and 
conditions as he may prescribe.  

G. L. The authority may utilize financial institutions, 
mortgage brokers and other private firms and individuals and 
governmental entities ("field originators") approved by the 
authority originating agents for the purpose of receiving 
applications for mortgage loans. To be approved as a field 
originator an originating agent, the applicant must meet the 
following qualifications:  

1. Be authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia; and be licensed as a mortgage lender or broker, 
as applicable, under the Virginia Mortgage Lender and 
Broker Act as set forth in Chapter 16 (§ 6.2-1600 et seq.) 
of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia (including nonprofit 
corporations that may be exempt from licensing when 
making mortgage loans on their own behalf under 
subdivision 4 of § 6.2-1602 of the Code of Virginia); 
provided, however that such licensing requirement shall 
not apply to persons exempt from licensure under: 

a. Subdivision 2 of § 6.2-1602 of the Code of Virginia 
(any person subject to the general supervision of or 
subject to examination by the Commissioner of the 
Bureau of Financial Institutions of the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission); 

b. Subdivision 3 of § 6.2-1602 of the Code of Virginia 
(any lender authorized to engage in business as a bank, 
savings institution, or credit union under the laws of the 
United States or any state, and subsidiaries and affiliates 
of such entities which lender, subsidiary or affiliate is 
subject to the general supervision or regulation of or 

subject to audit or examination by a regulatory body or 
agency of the United States or any state); or 

c. Subdivision 5 of § 6.2-1602 of the Code of Virginia 
(agencies of the federal government, or any state or 
municipal government, or any quasi-governmental 
agency making or brokering mortgage loans under the 
specific authority of the laws of any state or the United 
States); 

2. Have made any necessary filings or registrations and 
have received any and all necessary approvals or licenses 
in order to receive applications for mortgage loans in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia;  

3. 2. Have the demonstrated ability and experience in the 
receipt and processing of mortgage loan applications; and  

4. 3. Have such other qualifications as the executive 
director shall deem to be related to the performance of its 
duties and responsibilities.  

Each field originator originating agent approved by the 
authority shall enter into such agreement as the executive 
director shall require with respect to the receipt of 
applications for mortgage loans. Field originators Originating 
agents shall perform such of the duties and responsibilities of 
originating agents lenders under this chapter as the authority 
may require in such agreement.  

Field originators M. Originating agents shall maintain 
adequate books and records with respect to mortgage loans 
for which they accept applications, shall permit the authority 
to examine such books and records, and shall submit to the 
authority such reports and information as the authority may 
require. The fees to the field originators originating agents for 
accepting applications shall be payable in such amount and at 
such time as the executive director shall determine.  

N. In the case of mortgage loans for which applications are 
received by field originators originating agents, the authority 
may process and originate the mortgage loans; accordingly, 
unless otherwise expressly provided, the provisions of this 
chapter requiring the performance of any action by 
originating agents lenders shall not be applicable to the 
origination and processing by the authority of such mortgage 
loans, and any or all of such actions may be performed by the 
authority on its own behalf.  

H. The authority may service mortgage loans for which the 
applications were received by field originators or any 
mortgage loan which, in the determination of the authority, 
originating agents and servicing agents will not service on 
terms and conditions acceptable to the authority or for which 
the originating agent or servicing agent has agreed to 
terminate the servicing thereof.  
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Part II  
Program Requirements  

13VAC10-40-30. Eligible persons and citizenship.  

A. One person or multiple persons are eligible to be a 
borrower or borrowers of a single family loan if such person 
or all such persons satisfy the criteria and requirements in 
these rules and regulations this chapter. All references in 
these rules and regulations this chapter to an applicant or 
borrower shall, in the case of multiple applicants or 
borrowers, be deemed to refer to each applicant or borrower 
individually, unless the provision containing such reference 
expressly refers to the applicants or borrowers collectively.  

B. Each applicant for an authority mortgage loan must either 
be a United States citizen, a lawful permanent resident alien 
as determined by the U.S. Department of Immigration and 
Naturalization Service Citizenship and Immigration Services 
or a nonpermanent resident alien provided the applicant has a 
social security number and is eligible to work in the United 
States. In addition, applicants must meet any stricter 
citizenship or residency requirements of the insurer, 
guarantor, or investor with respect to the applicable authority 
loan program. 

C. Each applicant must be 18 years of age or older or have 
been declared emancipated by order or decree of a court 
having jurisdiction.  

13VAC10-40-40. Compliance with certain requirements of 
the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended ("the tax 
code"). 

A. The tax code imposes certain requirements and 
restrictions on the eligibility of mortgagors and residences for 
(i) the financing with the proceeds of tax-exempt bonds (as 
well as requirements and restrictions on the assumption of 
mortgage loans so financed); and (ii) the issuance of 
mortgage credit certificates. 

B. The authority requires the following:  

1. The mortgage revenue bond residence requirements;  

2. The requirement that each applicant must not have had a 
present ownership interest in his principal residence within 
the preceding three years (the first-time homebuyer or 
three-year requirement); and  

3. The mortgage revenue bond income requirements.  

Notwithstanding the foregoing, certain authority loan 
programs described in 13VAC10-40-230, 13VAC10-40-250, 
13VAC10-40-260, and 13VAC10-40-270 contain exceptions 
to the mortgage revenue bond requirements in this subsection.  

C. In order to comply with these federal requirements and 
restrictions, as well as other authority requirements, the 
authority has established [ that ] certain procedures which 
must be performed by the originating agent lender in order to 

determine such eligibility. The eligibility requirements for the 
each borrower or the borrowers and, the dwelling, and the 
procedures to be performed are described below as well as the 
procedures to be performed in this subsection. The 
originating agent lender will perform these procedures and 
evaluate a each borrower's or borrowers' eligibility prior to 
the authority's approval of each loan. No loan will be 
approved by the authority unless all of the federal eligibility 
requirements are met as well as the usual requirements of the 
authority set forth [ in ] other parts of this originating chapter 
and the origination guide, unless the executive director 
determines that it is reasonable or necessary to waive or 
modify any such requirements and that the financial interests 
of the authority are adequately protected. 

The In addition to the three mortgage revenue bond 
requirements set forth in subsection B of this section, the 
executive director may apply some or all of the above-
referenced tax exempt other tax-exempt bond requirements 
and restrictions set forth in the tax code to authority mortgage 
loans that are not funded with tax exempt bonds if the 
executive director determines that such requirement and 
restrictions are necessary to enable the authority to effectively 
and efficiently allocate its current and anticipated financial 
resources so as to best meet the current and future housing 
needs of the citizens throughout the Commonwealth low and 
moderate income Virginians. 

13VAC10-40-50. Eligible borrowers.  

A. In order to be considered eligible for an authority 
mortgage loan, an applicant must, among other things, meet 
all of the following federal criteria:  

1. Each applicant must not have had a present ownership 
interest in his principal residence within the three years 
preceding the date of execution of the mortgage loan 
documents (see subsection B of this section);  

2. Each applicant must agree to occupy and use the 
residential property to be purchased as his permanent, 
principal residence within 60 days (90 days, or such longer 
amount of time as the executive director determines is 
reasonable in the case of a purchase and rehabilitation loan 
as described in 13VAC10-40-200), after the date of the 
closing of the mortgage loan (see subsection C of this 
section);  

3. Each applicant must not use the proceeds of the 
mortgage loan to acquire or replace an existing mortgage 
or debt, except in the case of certain types of temporary 
financing (see subsection D of this section);  

4. 3. Each applicant must have contracted to purchase an 
eligible dwelling (see 13VAC10-40-60, Eligible 
dwellings);  

5. 4. Each applicant must execute an affidavit of borrower 
(Exhibit E) E2) at the time of loan application; and 
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6. The 5. No applicant or applicants must not may receive 
income in an amount in excess of the applicable federal 
income limit imposed by the tax code (see 13VAC10-40-
100, Maximum gross income);. 

7. Each applicant must agree not to sell, lease or otherwise 
transfer an interest in the residence or permit the 
assumption of his mortgage loan unless certain 
requirements are met (see 13VAC10-40-140, Loan 
assumptions); and  

8. Each applicant must be over the age of 18 years or have 
been declared emancipated by order or decree of a court 
having jurisdiction.  

B. An eligible borrower does not include any borrower who, 
at any time during the three years preceding the date of 
execution of the mortgage loan documents, had a "present 
ownership interest" (as hereinafter defined) in his principal 
residence. Each borrower must certify on the affidavit of 
borrower that at no time during the three years preceding the 
execution of the mortgage loan documents has he had a 
present ownership interest in his principal residence. This 
requirement does not apply to residences located in "targeted 
areas" (see 13VAC10-40-70, Targeted areas); however, even 
if the residence is located in a "targeted area," the tax returns 
for the most recent taxable year (or the letter described in 
subdivision 3 below) must be obtained for the purpose of 
determining compliance with other requirements.  

1. "Present ownership interest" includes:  

a. A fee simple interest;  

b. A joint tenancy, a tenancy in common, or a tenancy by 
the entirety;  

c. The interest of a tenant shareholder in a cooperative;  

d. A life estate;  

e. A land contract, under which possession and the 
benefits and burdens of ownership are transferred 
although legal title is not transferred until some later 
time; and  

f. An interest held in trust for the eligible borrower 
(whether or not created by the eligible borrower) that 
would constitute a present ownership interest if held 
directly by the eligible borrower.  

Interests which do not constitute a present ownership 
interest include:  

a. A remainder interest;  

b. An ordinary lease with or without an option to 
purchase;  

c. A mere expectancy to inherit an interest in a principal 
residence;  

d. The interest that a purchaser of a residence acquires on 
the execution of an accepted offer to purchase real estate; 
and  

e. An interest in other than a principal residence during 
the previous three years.  

[ 2. 1. ] This requirement The present ownership interest 
limitation applies to any person who will execute the 
mortgage document or note and will have a present 
ownership interest (as defined above) in the eligible 
dwelling.  

[ 3. 2. ] To verify that each eligible borrower meets the 
three-year requirement, the originating agent lender must 
obtain copies of signed federal income tax returns filed by 
the eligible borrower for the three tax years immediately 
preceding execution of the mortgage documents (or 
certified copies of the returns) or a copy of a letter from the 
Internal Revenue Service stating that its Form 1040A or 
1040EZ was filed by the eligible borrower for any of the 
three most recent tax years for which copies of such returns 
are not obtained. If the eligible borrower was not required 
by law to file a federal income tax return for any of these 
three years and did not so file, and so states on the 
borrower affidavit, the requirement to obtain a copy of the 
federal income tax return or letter from the Internal 
Revenue Service for such year or years is waived: (i) the 
fully executed affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E2) signed by 
all borrowers and nonborrower occupants taking title; (ii) a 
completed Uniform Residential Loan Application [ , 
Freddie Mac Form 65/Fannie Mae Form 1003 ] (Form 
1003); and (iii) the credit report. If the originating lender is 
unable to confirm from the affidavit of borrower, Form 
1003, or the credit report that the borrowers or 
nonborrower occupants taking title meet the three-year 
requirement, additional documentation may be required, 
such as three years of federal tax returns or tax transcripts, 
rent verification, and other reports. 

The If reviewing tax returns or tax transcripts, the 
originating agent lender shall examine the tax returns or 
tax transcripts particularly for any evidence that an eligible 
borrower may have claimed deductions for property taxes 
or for interest on indebtedness with respect to real property 
constituting his principal residence.  

[ 4. 3. ] The originating agent lender must, with due 
diligence, verify the representations in the affidavit of 
borrower (Exhibit E) E2) regarding each eligible 
borrower's prior residency by reviewing any information 
including the Form 1003, a credit report and the, tax 
returns furnished by each eligible borrower or tax 
transcripts, rent verification, and other reports for 
consistency [ , ] and make a determination that on the basis 
of its review each borrower has not had present ownership 
interest in a principal residence at any time during the 
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three-year period prior to the anticipated date of the loan 
closing.  

C. Each eligible borrower must intend at the time of closing 
to occupy the eligible dwelling as a principal residence within 
60 days (90 days (or such longer amount of time as the 
executive director determines is reasonable in the case of a 
purchase and rehabilitation loan) after the closing of the 
mortgage loan. Unless the residence can reasonably be 
expected to become the principal residence of each eligible 
borrower within 60 days (90 days (or such longer amount of 
time as the executive director determines is reasonable in the 
case of a purchase and rehabilitation loan) of the mortgage 
loan closing date, the residence will not be considered an 
eligible dwelling and may not be financed with a mortgage 
loan from the authority. Each eligible borrower must 
covenant to intend to occupy the eligible dwelling as a 
principal residence within 60 days (90 days (or such longer 
amount of time as the executive director determines is 
reasonable in the case of a purchase and rehabilitation loan) 
after the closing of the mortgage loan on the affidavit of 
borrower (to be updated at the closing of the mortgage loan) 
and as part of the attachment to the deed of trust.  

1. A principal residence does not include any residence 
which that can reasonably be expected to be used: (i) 
primarily in a trade or business, (ii) as an investment 
property, or (iii) as a recreational or second home. A 
residence may not be used in a manner which that would 
permit any portion of the costs of the eligible dwelling to 
be deducted as a trade or business expense for federal 
income tax purposes or under circumstances where more 
than 15% of the total living area is to be used primarily in a 
trade or business.  

2. The land financed by the mortgage loan may not 
provide, other than incidentally, a source of income to an 
eligible borrower. Each eligible borrower must indicate on 
the affidavit of borrower that, among other things:  

a. No portion of the land financed by the mortgage loan 
provides a source of income (other than incidental 
income);  

b. He does not intend to farm any portion (other than as a 
garden for personal use) of the land financed by the 
mortgage loan; and  

c. He does not intend to subdivide the property.  

3. Only such land as is reasonably necessary to maintain 
the basic liveability livability of the residence may be 
financed by a mortgage loan. The financed land must not 
exceed the customary or usual lot in the area. Generally, 
the financed land will not be permitted to exceed two 
acres, even in rural areas. However, exceptions may be 
made to permit lots larger than two acres, but in no event 
in excess of five acres: (i) if the land is owned free and 
clear and is not being financed by the loan, the lot may be 

as large as five acres, (ii) if difficulty is encountered 
locating a well or septic field, the lot may include the 
additional acreage needed, (iii) local city and county 
ordinances which that require more acreage will be taken 
into consideration, or (iv) if the lot size is determined by 
the authority, based upon objective information provided 
by the borrower, to be usual and customary in the area for 
comparably priced homes. The executive director may 
modify or waive such requirements if he determines that it 
is reasonable or necessary to do so and that the financial 
interests of the authority are adequately protected. 

4. The affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E) E2) must be 
reviewed by the originating agent lender for consistency 
with each eligible borrower's federal income tax returns 
and the credit report Form 1003, credit report, tax returns 
or tax transcripts, rent verifications, and other reports, and 
the originating agent lender must, based on such review, 
make a determination that each borrower has not used any 
previous residence or any portion thereof primarily in any 
trade or business.  

5. The originating agent lender shall establish procedures 
to (i) review correspondence, checks, and other documents 
received from the each borrower or borrowers during the 
120-day period following the loan closing for the purpose 
of ascertaining that the address of the residence and the 
address of the each borrower or borrowers are the same 
and (ii) notify the authority if such addresses are not the 
same. Subject to the authority's approval, the originating 
agent lender may establish different procedures to verify 
compliance with this requirement.  

D. Mortgage loans may be made only to an eligible 
borrower who did not have a mortgage (whether or not paid 
off) on the eligible dwelling at any time prior to the execution 
of the mortgage. Mortgage loan proceeds may not be used to 
acquire or replace an existing mortgage or debt for which an 
eligible borrower is liable or which was incurred on behalf of 
an eligible borrower, except in the case of construction period 
loans, bridge loans or similar temporary financing which has 
a term of 24 months or less.  

1. For purposes of applying the new mortgage requirement, 
a mortgage includes deeds of trust, conditional sales 
contracts (i.e. generally a sales contract pursuant to which 
regular installments are paid and are applied to the sales 
price), pledges, agreements to hold title in escrow, a lease 
with an option to purchase which is treated as an 
installment sale for federal income tax purposes and any 
other form of owner-financing. Conditional land sale 
contracts shall be considered as existing loans or 
mortgages for purposes of this requirement.  

2. In the case of a mortgage loan (having a term of 24 
months or less) made to refinance a loan for the 
construction of an eligible dwelling, the authority shall not 
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make such mortgage loan until it has determined that such 
construction has been satisfactorily completed.  

3. Prior to closing the mortgage loan, the originating agent 
must examine the affidavit of borrower (Exhibit E), the 
affidavit of seller (Exhibit F), and related submissions, 
including (i) each eligible borrower's federal income tax 
returns for the preceding three years, and (ii) credit report, 
in order to determine whether the eligible borrower will 
meet the new mortgage requirements. Based upon such 
review, the originating agent shall make a determination 
that the proceeds of the mortgage loan will not be used to 
repay or refinance an existing mortgage debt of any 
borrower and that each borrower did not have a mortgage 
loan on the eligible dwelling prior to the date hereof, 
except for permissible temporary financing described 
above.  

E. D. Any eligible borrower may not have more than one 
outstanding authority first mortgage loan.  

13VAC10-40-60. Eligible dwellings. 

A. In order to qualify as an eligible dwelling for which an 
authority loan may be made, the residence must:  

1. Be located in the Commonwealth; 

2. Be a [ one-family single family ] detached residence, a 
townhouse [ one-family single family ] attached residence, 
or one unit of an authority approved a condominium 
meeting the requirements of the authority;  

3. Satisfy the acquisition cost requirements set forth below; 
and 

4. 3. Be owned or to be owned by the applicant in the form 
of fee simple interest. 

The authority may decline to finance more than 25% of the 
units in any one condominium project, planned unit 
development (PUD), or subdivision if the executive director 
determines that financing additional units would be 
detrimental to the authority's financial interests after taking 
into consideration the then current and expected demand and 
supply of housing in the applicable geographic region. 

B. The acquisition cost of an eligible dwelling may not 
exceed certain limits established by the U.S. Department of 
the Treasury in effect at the time of the application. Note: In 
all cases for new loans such federal limits equal or exceed the 
authority's sales price limits shown in 13VAC10-40-80. 
Therefore, for new loans the residence is an eligible dwelling 
if the acquisition cost is not greater than the authority's sales 
price limit. In the event that the acquisition cost exceeds the 
authority's sales price limit, the originating agent must contact 
the authority to determine if the residence is an eligible 
dwelling. 

1. To determine if the acquisition cost is at or below the 
federal limits for assumptions, the originating agent or, if 

applicable, the servicing agent must in all cases contact the 
authority (see 13VAC10-40-140). 

2. Acquisition cost means the cost of acquiring the eligible 
dwelling from the seller as a completed residence. 

a. Acquisition cost includes: 

(1) All amounts paid, either in cash or in kind, by the 
eligible borrower (or a related party or for the benefit of 
an eligible borrower) to the seller (or a related party or 
for the benefit of the seller) as consideration for the 
eligible dwelling. Such amounts include amounts paid for 
items constituting fixtures under state law, but not for 
items of personal property not constituting fixtures under 
state law. (See Exhibit R for examples of fixtures and 
items of personal property.) 

(2) The reasonable costs of completing or rehabilitating 
the residence (whether or not the cost of completing 
construction or rehabilitation is to be financed with the 
mortgage loan) if the eligible dwelling is incomplete or is 
to be rehabilitated. As an example of reasonable 
completion cost, costs of completing the eligible 
dwelling so as to permit occupancy under local law 
would be included in the acquisition cost. A residence 
which includes unfinished areas (i.e. an area designed or 
intended to be completed or refurbished and used as 
living space, such as the lower level of a tri-level 
residence or the upstairs of a Cape Cod) shall be deemed 
incomplete, and the costs of finishing such areas must be 
included in the acquisition cost. 

(3) The cost of land on which the eligible dwelling is 
located and which has been owned by an eligible 
borrower for a period no longer than two years prior to 
the construction of the structure comprising the eligible 
dwelling. 

b. Acquisition cost does not include: 

(1) Usual and reasonable settlement or financing costs. 
Such excluded settlement costs include title and transfer 
costs, title insurance, survey fees and other similar costs. 
Such excluded financing costs include credit reference 
fees, legal fees, appraisal expenses, points which are paid 
by an eligible borrower, or other costs of financing the 
residence. Such amounts must not exceed the usual and 
reasonable costs which otherwise would be paid. Where 
the buyer pays more than a pro rata share of property 
taxes, for example, the excess is to be treated as part of 
the acquisition cost. 

(2) The imputed value of services performed by an 
eligible borrower or members of his family (brothers and 
sisters, spouse, ancestors and lineal descendants) in 
constructing or completing the residence. 

3. The originating agent is required to obtain from each 
eligible borrower a completed affidavit of borrower which 
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shall include a calculation of the acquisition cost of the 
eligible dwelling in accordance with this subsection B. The 
originating agent shall assist each eligible borrower in the 
correct calculation of such acquisition cost. The affidavit 
of seller shall also certify as to the acquisition cost of the 
eligible dwelling. 

4. The originating agent shall for each new loan determine 
whether the acquisition cost of the eligible dwelling 
exceeds the authority's applicable sales price limit shown 
in 13VAC10-40-80. If the acquisition cost exceeds such 
limit, the originating agent must contact the authority to 
determine if the residence is an eligible dwelling for a new 
loan. (For an assumption, the originating agent or, if 
applicable, the servicing agent must contact the authority 
for this determination in all cases, see 13VAC10-40-140). 
Also, as part of its review, the originating agent must 
review the affidavit of borrower submitted by each 
mortgage loan applicant and must make a determination 
that the acquisition cost of the eligible dwelling has been 
calculated in accordance with this subsection B. In 
addition, the originating agent must compare the 
information contained in the affidavit of borrower with the 
information contained in the affidavit of seller and other 
sources and documents such as the contract of sale for 
consistency of representation as to acquisition cost. 

5. The authority reserves the right to obtain an independent 
appraisal in order to establish fair market value and to 
determine whether a dwelling is eligible for the mortgage 
loan requested. 

The authority may finance a dwelling located on land owned 
by a community land trust, provided that (i) the first mortgage 
loan is secured by a leasehold estate on the property owned 
by the community land trust and a fee simple interest in the 
improvements on the property; (ii) the dwelling and the first 
mortgage loan meet all applicable insurer, guarantor, or 
investor requirements; and (iii) the term of the leasehold 
estate created by the ground lease must extend for at least five 
years beyond the maturity date of the first mortgage loan. 

13VAC10-40-70. Targeted areas.  

A. In accordance with the tax code, the authority will make 
a portion of the proceeds of an issue of its bonds available for 
financing eligible dwellings located in targeted areas for at 
least one year following the issuance of a series of bonds. The 
authority will exercise due diligence in making mortgage 
loans in targeted areas by advising originating agents and 
certain localities of the availability of such funds in targeted 
areas and by advising potential eligible borrowers of the 
availability of such funds through advertising and/or news 
releases. The amount, if any, allocated to an originating agent 
exclusively for targeted areas will be specified in a forward 
commitment agreement between the originating agent and the 
authority.  

B. Mortgage loans for eligible dwellings located in targeted 
areas must comply in all respects with the requirements in 
13VAC10-40-40 and elsewhere in this guide for all mortgage 
loans, except for do not need to meet the three-year 
requirement described in 13VAC10-40-50 B. 
Notwithstanding this exception, each applicant must still 
submit certain federal income tax records. However, they will 
be used to verify income and to verify that previously owned 
residences have not been primarily used in a trade or business 
(and not to verify nonhomeownership), and only those 
records for the most recent year preceding execution of the 
mortgage documents (rather than the three most recent years) 
are required. See that section for the specific type of records 
to be submitted.  

The following definitions are applicable to targeted areas.  

1. A targeted area is an area which is a qualified census 
tract, as described in b below, or an area of chronic 
economic distress, as described in c below.  

2. A qualified census tract is a census tract in the 
Commonwealth in which 70% or more of the families have 
an income of 80% or less of the state-wide median family 
income based on the most recent "safe harbor" statistics 
published by the U.S. Treasury.  

3. An area of chronic economic distress is an area 
designated as such by the Commonwealth and approved by 
the Secretaries of Housing and Urban Development and the 
Treasury under criteria specified in the tax code. PDS 
agents will be informed by the authority as to the location 
of areas so designated.  

13VAC10-40-80. Sales price limits. 

A. The executive director shall, from time to time, establish 
the applicable maximum allowable sales prices. Each such 
maximum allowable sales price shall be expressed as a 
percentage of the applicable maximum purchase price 
permitted or approved by the U.S. Department of the 
Treasury pursuant to the federal tax code or as a dollar 
amount, which percentage or dollar amount may vary by loan 
program and geographic region as determined by the 
executive director, after taking into consideration such factors 
as he deems appropriate, including, without limitation, the 
following factors: 

1. The current and anticipated financial resources available 
to the authority to make mortgage loans; 

2. The current and anticipated financial resources available 
to potential applicants from sources other than the 
authority to finance mortgage loans; 

3. The current and anticipated demand for mortgage loans; 

4. The prevailing mortgage loan terms available to 
potential applicants; and  
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5. The current and anticipated need for targeted or 
subsidized lending in each region based upon financial 
conditions and the housing market in such region. 

B. The executive director shall apply the foregoing factors in 
subsection A of this section to establish the maximum 
allowable sales prices that enable the authority to effectively 
and efficiently allocate its current and anticipated financial 
resources so as to best meet the current and future housing 
needs of the citizens throughout the Commonwealth. 

The authority shall from time to time inform its originating 
agents and servicing agents lenders by written notification 
thereto of the foregoing maximum allowable sales prices 
under this section expressed in dollar amounts for each area 
of the state, as established by the executive director. Any 
changes to the dollar amounts of such maximum allowable 
sales prices shall be effective as of such date as the executive 
director shall determine (subject to any exceptions for 
pending loan reservations or applications locked loans as the 
executive director may determine), and authority is reserved 
to the executive director to may implement any such changes 
on such date or dates as he shall deem necessary or 
appropriate to best accomplish the purposes of the program. 

13VAC10-40-90. Net worth.  

To be eligible for authority financing, the no applicant or 
applicants cannot may have a net worth exceeding 50% of the 
sales price of the eligible dwelling. (The value of life 
insurance policies, retirement plans, furniture, and household 
goods shall not be included in determining net worth.) In 
addition, the portion of the an applicant's or applicants' liquid 
assets which that are used to make the down payment and to 
pay closing costs, up to a maximum of 25% of the sale price, 
will not be included in the net worth calculation.  

Any income producing assets needed as a source of income 
in order to meet the minimum income requirements for an 
authority loan will not be included in the an applicant's or 
applicants' net worth for the purpose of determining whether 
this net worth limitation has been violated. The executive 
director may modify or waive the net worth requirement if he 
determines that it is reasonable or necessary to do so and that 
the financial interests of the authority are adequately 
protected. 

13VAC10-40-100. Maximum gross income. 

A. As provided in 13VAC10-40-50 A 6 5, the gross income 
of the an applicant or applicants for an authority mortgage 
loan may not exceed the applicable income limitation 
imposed by the U.S. Department of the Treasury. Because the 
income limits of the authority imposed by this section apply 
to all loans to which such federal limits apply and are in all 
cases below such federal limits, the requirements of 
13VAC10-40-50 A 6 5 are automatically met if the an 
applicant's or applicants' gross income does not exceed the 
applicable limits set forth in this section. 

For the purposes hereof, the term "gross income" means the 
combined annualized gross income of all persons residing or 
intending to reside in a dwelling unit, from whatever source 
derived and before taxes or withholdings. For the purpose of 
this definition, annualized gross income means gross monthly 
income multiplied by 12. "Gross monthly income" is, in turn, 
the sum of monthly gross pay plus any additional income 
from overtime, part-time employment, bonuses, dividends, 
interest, royalties, pensions, Veterans Administration 
compensation, net rental income plus other income (such as 
alimony, child support, public assistance, sick pay, social 
security benefits, unemployment compensation, income 
received from trusts, and income received from business 
activities or investments) B. Gross income is calculated by 
projecting gross income forward for the 12-month period 
beginning on the date of loan application. Typically, income 
such as bonuses, overtime, and commissions will be averaged 
for the most recent 12-month period. If information is 
unavailable for this period, the originating lender may 
average the past year and year-to-date bonuses, overtime, and 
commissions. This average multiplied by 12 will be added to 
current base salary to determine gross income. All such 
earnings must be included in gross income unless the 
employer documents that such earnings will not be continued. 
The following are included in gross income: base salary, 
overtime, part-time employment, bonuses, dividends, interest, 
royalties, pensions, Veterans Administration compensation, 
net rental income, alimony, child support, public assistance, 
sick pay, social security benefits, unemployment 
compensation, income from trusts, and income from business 
activities or investments. 

C. The executive director shall, from time to time, establish 
the applicable maximum gross incomes. Each such maximum 
gross income shall be expressed as a percentage (which may 
be based on the number of persons expected to occupy the 
dwelling upon financing of the mortgage loan) of the 
applicable median family income (as defined in Section 
143(f)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended 
and referred to herein as the "median family income") or as a 
dollar amount, which percentage or dollar amount may vary 
by loan program and geographic region as determined by the 
executive director, after taking into consideration such factors 
as he deems appropriate, including, without limitation, the 
following factors: 

1. The current and anticipated financial resources available 
to the authority to make mortgage loans; 

2. The current and anticipated financial resources available 
to potential applicants from sources other than the 
authority to finance mortgage loans; 

3. The current and anticipated demand for mortgage loans; 

4. The prevailing mortgage loan terms available to 
potential applicants; and 
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5. The current and anticipated need for targeted or 
subsidized lending in each region based upon financial 
conditions and the housing market in such region. 

D. The executive director shall apply the foregoing factors 
in subsection C of this section to establish the maximum 
gross incomes that enable the authority to effectively and 
efficiently allocate its current and anticipated financial 
resources so as to best meet the current and future housing 
needs of the citizens throughout the Commonwealth low and 
moderate income Virginians. 

The authority shall from time to time inform its originating 
agents and servicing agents lenders by written notification 
thereto of the foregoing maximum gross incomes under this 
section expressed in dollar amounts for each area of the state, 
as established by the executive director, and the number of 
persons to occupy the dwelling, if applicable. Any changes to 
the dollar amounts of such maximum gross incomes shall be 
effective as of such date as the executive director shall 
determine (subject to any exceptions for pending loan 
reservations or applications locked loans as the executive 
director may determine), and authority is reserved to the 
executive director to may implement any such changes on 
such date or dates as he shall deem necessary or appropriate 
to best accomplish the purposes of the program. 

13VAC10-40-110. Calculation of maximum loan amount. 

Single family detached residence, townhouse (fee simple 
ownership) and approved condominium--Maximum A 
maximum of 100% (or, or in the case of an FHA, VA, Rural 
Development, Fannie Mae, or Freddie Mac loan or a loan 
with private mortgage insurance, such other percentage as 
may be permitted by FHA, VA, Rural Development, Fannie 
Mae, Freddie Mac, or the private mortgage insurance 
provider) provider of the lesser of the sales price or appraised 
value, except as may otherwise be approved by the executive 
director; provided, however,. However, the executive director 
may establish lower other percentages if the executive 
director determines that lower other percentages are necessary 
to protect the authority's financial interests or to enable the 
authority to effectively and efficiently allocate its current and 
anticipated financial resources so as to best meet the current 
and future housing needs of the citizens throughout the 
Commonwealth. 

In the case of an FHA, VA, or Rural Development loan, the 
FHA, VA, or Rural Development insurance fees or guarantee 
fees charged in connection with such loan (and, if an FHA 
loan, the FHA permitted closing costs as well), and other 
costs as allowed by the applicable insurer or guarantor, may 
be included in the calculation of the maximum loan amount in 
accordance with applicable FHA, VA or Rural Development 
requirements; provided, however, that. However, in no event 
shall this revised maximum loan amount, which includes such 
fees and closing costs, be permitted to exceed the authority's 

maximum allowable sales price limits set forth herein in this 
chapter. 

13VAC10-40-120. Mortgage insurance requirements. 

A. Unless the loan is an FHA, VA, or Rural Development 
loan, the borrower or all borrowers are required to purchase at 
time of loan closing full private mortgage insurance (in an 
amount equal to the percentage of the loan that exceeds 80% 
of the lesser or sales price or appraised value of the property 
or such higher percentage as the executive director may 
determine is necessary to protect the authority's financial 
interests) on each loan the amount of which exceeds 80% of 
the lesser of sales price or appraised value of the property to 
be financed in such amount as required by the applicable 
investor or such other amount as required by the executive 
director. Such insurance shall be issued by a company 
acceptable to the authority. The originating agent lender is 
required to escrow for annual payment of mortgage insurance, 
unless an alternative payment plan is approved by the 
authority. If the authority requires FHA, VA, or Rural 
Development insurance or guarantee, the loan will either, at 
the election of the authority, (a) be closed in the authority's 
name in accordance with the procedures and requirements 
herein or (b) be closed in the originating agent's lender's name 
and purchased by the authority once the FHA Certificate of 
Insurance, VA Guaranty, or Rural Development Guarantee 
has been obtained or subject to the condition that such FHA 
Certificate of Insurance, VA Guaranty or Rural Development 
Guarantee be obtained. In the event that the authority 
purchases an FHA, VA or Rural Development loan, the 
originating agent must enter into a purchase and sale 
agreement on such form as shall be provided by the authority. 
For assumptions of conventional loans (i.e., loans other than 
FHA, VA, or Rural Development loans), full private 
mortgage insurance as described above in this subsection is 
required unless waived by the authority. 

B. The executive director may waive the requirements for 
private mortgage insurance in the preceding paragraph 
subsection A of this section for a loan having a principal 
amount in excess of 80% of the lesser of sales price or 
appraised value of the property to be financed if the applicant 
satisfies the criteria set forth in subdivisions 11 through 17 of 
13VAC10-40-230 or if the executive director otherwise 
determines that the financial integrity of the program is 
protected by the financial strength of the an applicant or 
applicants or the terms of the financing.  

C. If the executive director determines it to be necessary to 
protect the authority's financial interests, the executive 
director may require that the company issuing such private 
mortgage insurance have a Moody's Investors Service 
Insurance Financial Strength rating not lower than Aa3 or a 
Standard & Poor's Ratings Services Financial Strength rating 
not lower than AA-. 
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13VAC10-40-130. Underwriting. 

A. In general, to be eligible for authority financing, an 
applicant or applicants must satisfy the following 
underwriting criteria, which demonstrate the willingness and 
ability to repay the mortgage debt and adequately maintain 
the financed property. 

1. The An applicant or applicants must document the 
receipt of a stable current income [ which that ] indicates 
that the applicant or applicants will receive future income 
which that is sufficient to enable the timely repayment of 
the mortgage loan as well as other existing obligations and 
living expenses. 

2. The Each applicant or, in the case of multiple applicants, 
the applicants individually and collectively must possess a 
credit history which that reflects the ability to successfully 
meet financial obligations and a willingness to repay 
obligations in accordance with established credit 
repayment terms. 

3. An applicant having a foreclosure instituted by the 
authority on his property financed by an authority 
mortgage loan will not be eligible for a mortgage loan 
hereunder. The authority will consider previous 
foreclosures (other than on authority financed loans) on an 
exception basis based upon circumstances surrounding the 
cause of the foreclosure, length of time since the 
foreclosure, the applicant's subsequent credit history and 
overall financial stability. Under no circumstances will an 
applicant be considered for an authority loan within three 
years from the date of the foreclosure. Applicants with 
prior significant mortgage events (foreclosure, deed in lieu, 
or short sale) must meet the applicable insurer, guarantor, 
or investor requirements in addition to any additional 
requirements imposed by the executive director. The 
authority has complete discretion to decline to finance a 
loan when a previous foreclosure is involved. 

4. The applicant or applicants must document that 
sufficient funds will be available for required down 
payment and closing costs. a. The terms and sources of any 
loan to be used as a source for down payment or closing 
costs must be reviewed and approved in advance of loan 
approval by the authority. b. Sweat equity, the imputed 
value of services performed by an eligible borrower or 
members of his the borrower's family (brothers and sisters 
(siblings, spouse, ancestors, and lineal descendants) in 
constructing or completing the residence, generally is not 
an acceptable source of funds for [ down payment 
downpayment ] and closing costs. Any sweat equity 
allowance must be approved by the authority prior to loan 
approval. 

5. Proposed monthly housing expenses compared to 
current monthly housing expenses will be reviewed. If 
there is a substantial increase in such expenses, the an 

applicant or applicants must demonstrate his ability to pay 
the additional expenses. 

6. All applicants are encouraged to attend a home 
ownership educational program to be better prepared to 
deal with the home buying process and the responsibilities 
related to homeownership. The authority may require all 
applicants applying for certain authority loan programs to 
complete an authority approved homeownership education 
program prior to loan approval. 

B. In addition to the requirements set forth in subsection A 
of this section, the following requirements must be met in 
order to satisfy the authority's underwriting requirements for 
conventional loans to be eligible for authority financing, an 
applicant must satisfy the specific underwriting criteria of the 
insurer, guarantor, or investor with respect to the applicable 
authority loan program. However, additional or more 
stringent requirements may be imposed (i) by private 
mortgage insurance companies with respect to those loans on 
which private mortgage insurance is required; (ii) on loans as 
described in the last paragraph of 13VAC10-40-120; or (iii) 
on loans that may be sold by the authority to an investor 
(including, without limitation, Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and 
Ginnie Mae) or (ii) by the executive director, in which case 
cases such additional or more stringent requirements of the 
investor will apply.  

C. The authority reserves the right to obtain an independent 
appraisal in order to establish the fair market value of the 
property and to determine whether the dwelling is eligible for 
the mortgage loan requested. 

D. The FHA mortgage insurance premium fee, the VA 
funding fee, and the Rural Development guarantee fee can be 
included in the loan amount provided the final loan amount 
does not exceed the authority's maximum allowable sales 
price. 

1. The following rules apply to the authority's employment 
and income requirement.  

a. Employment for the preceding two-year period must 
be documented. Education or training for employment 
during this two-year period shall be considered in 
satisfaction of this requirement if such education or 
training is related to an applicant's current line of work 
and adequate future income can be anticipated because 
such education and training will expand the applicant's 
job opportunities. The applicant must be employed a 
minimum of six months with present employer. An 
exception to the six-month requirement can be granted by 
the authority if it can be determined that the type of work 
is similar to previous employment and previous 
employment was of a stable nature.  

b. Note: Under the tax code, the residence may not be 
expected to be used in trade or business. (See 13VAC10-
40-50 C.) Any self-employed applicant must have a 
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minimum of two years of self-employment with the same 
company and in the same line of work. In addition, the 
following information is required at the time of 
application:  

(1) Federal income tax returns for the two most recent tax 
years.  

(2) Balance sheets and profit and loss statements 
prepared by an independent public accountant.  

In determining the income for a self-employed applicant, 
income will be averaged for the two-year period.  

c. The following rules apply to income derived from 
sources other than primary employment.  

(1) When considering alimony and child support. A copy 
of the legal document and sufficient proof must be 
submitted to the authority verifying that alimony and 
child support are court ordered and are being received. 
Child support payments for children 15 years or older are 
not accepted as income in qualifying an applicant or 
applicants for a loan.  

(2) When considering social security and other retirement 
benefits. Social Security Form No. SSA 2458 must be 
submitted to verify that applicant is receiving social 
security benefits. Retirement benefits must be verified by 
receipt or retirement schedules. VA disability benefits 
must be verified by the VA. Educational benefits and 
social security benefits for dependents 15 years or older 
are not accepted as income in qualifying an applicant or 
applicants for a loan.  

(3) All part-time employment must be continuous for a 
minimum of 24 months, except that the authority may 
consider part-time employment that is continuous for 
more than 12 months but less than 24 months if such 
part-time employment is of a stable nature and is likely to 
continue after closing of the mortgage loan.  

(4) Overtime earnings must be guaranteed by the 
employer or verified for a minimum of two years. Bonus 
and commissions must be reasonably predictable and 
stable and the applicant's employer must submit evidence 
that they have been paid on a regular basis and can be 
expected to be paid in the future.  

2. The following rules apply to each applicant's credit:  

a. The authority requires that an applicant's previous 
credit experience be satisfactory. Poor credit references 
without an acceptable explanation will cause a loan to be 
rejected. Satisfactory credit references and history are 
considered to be important requirements in order to 
obtain an authority loan. The executive director may 
impose a minimum credit score requirement if the 
executive director determines that such a requirement is 
standard and customary in the single family mortgage 

loan industry and is necessary to protect the authority's 
financial interests. 

b. An applicant will not be considered for a loan if the 
applicant has been adjudged bankrupt within the past two 
years. If longer than two years, the applicant must submit 
a written explanation giving details surrounding the 
bankruptcy. The authority has complete discretion to 
decline a loan when a bankruptcy is involved.  

c. An applicant is required to submit a written 
explanation for all judgments and collections. In most 
cases, judgments and collections must be paid before an 
applicant will be considered for an authority loan.  

3. The authority reserves the right to obtain an independent 
appraisal in order to establish the fair market value of the 
property and to determine whether the dwelling is eligible 
for the mortgage loan requested.  

4. The applicant or applicants satisfy the authority's 
minimum income requirement for financing if the monthly 
principal and interest (at the rate determined by the 
authority), tax, insurance ("PITI") and other additional 
monthly fees such as condominium association fees 
(excluding unit utility charges), townhouse assessments, 
etc. do not exceed 32% of monthly gross income and if the 
monthly PITI plus outstanding monthly debt payments 
with more than 10 months duration (and payments on debts 
lasting less than 10 months, if making such payments will 
adversely affect the applicant's or applicants' ability to 
make mortgage loan payments in the months following 
loan closing) do not exceed 40% of monthly gross income 
(see Exhibit B). However, with respect to those mortgage 
loans on which private mortgage insurance is required, the 
private mortgage insurance company may impose more 
stringent requirements. If either of the percentages set forth 
are exceeded, compensating factors may be used by the 
authority, in its sole discretion, to approve the mortgage 
loan. 

5. Funds necessary to pay the downpayment and closing 
costs must be deposited at the time of loan application. The 
authority does not permit an applicant to borrow funds for 
this purpose unless approved in advance by the authority. 
If the funds are being held in an escrow account by the real 
estate broker, builder or closing attorney, the source of the 
funds must be verified. A verification of deposit from the 
parties other than financial institutions authorized to handle 
deposited funds is not acceptable. 

6. The applicant may receive a gift from only a relative, 
employer or nonprofit entity not involved in the transfer or 
financing of the property. The individual(s) making the gift 
must provide a letter to the authority confirming that the 
transfer of funds is a gift with no obligation on the part of 
an applicant to repay the funds at any time. The party 
making the gift must submit proof that the funds are 
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available. The executive director may approve gifts from 
other sources provided the executive director determines 
that such transfer of funds to the applicant is not subject to 
repayment by the applicant and is not made in 
consideration of any past or future obligation of the 
applicant or in consideration of any terms of the property 
transfer or mortgage loan transaction. 

7. Seller contributions for settlement or financing costs 
(including closing costs, discount points and upfront 
mortgage insurance premiums) may not exceed the lesser 
of 6.0% of the sales price or the amount permitted by the 
applicable mortgage insurer guidelines.  

C. The following rules are applicable to FHA loans only.  

1. The authority will normally accept FHA underwriting 
requirements and property standards for FHA loans. 
However, the applicant or applicants must satisfy the 
underwriting criteria set forth in subsection A of this 
section and most of the authority's basic eligibility 
requirements including those described in 13VAC10-40-30 
through 13VAC10-40-100 hereof remain in effect due to 
treasury restrictions or authority policy. In addition, the 
executive director may impose one or more of the 
requirements of subsection B of this section to FHA loans 
on the same or less stringent basis as they apply to the 
authority's conventional loans if the executive director 
determines that such requirements are necessary to protect 
its financial interests.  

2. The applicant's or applicants' mortgage insurance 
premium fee may be included in the FHA acquisition cost 
and may be financed provided that the final loan amount 
does not exceed the authority's maximum allowable sales 
price. In addition, in the case of a condominium, such fee 
may not be paid in full in advance but instead is payable in 
annual installments.  

3. The FHA allowable closing fees may be included in the 
FHA acquisition cost and may be financed provided the 
final loan amount does not exceed the authority's 
maximum allowable sales price.  

4. FHA appraisals are acceptable. VA certificates of 
reasonable value (CRV's) are acceptable if acceptable to 
FHA.  

D. The following rules are applicable to VA loans only.  

1. The authority will normally accept VA underwriting 
requirements and property guidelines for VA loans. 
However, the applicant or applicants must satisfy the 
underwriting criteria set forth in subsection A of this 
section and most of the authority's basic eligibility 
requirements (including those described in 13VAC10-40-
30 through 13VAC10-40-100) remain in effect due to 
treasury restrictions or authority policy. In addition, the 
executive director may impose one or more of the 

requirements of subsection B of this section to VA loans 
on the same or less stringent basis as they apply to the 
authority's conventional loans if the executive director 
determines that such requirements are necessary to protect 
its financial interests.  

2. The funding fee can be included in loan amount 
provided the final loan amount does not exceed the 
authority's maximum allowable sales price.  

3. VA certificates of reasonable value (CRV's) are 
acceptable in lieu of an appraisal.  

E. The following rules are applicable to Rural Development 
loans only.  

1. The authority will normally accept Rural Development 
underwriting requirements and property standards for 
Rural Development loans. However, the applicant or 
applicants must satisfy the underwriting criteria set forth in 
subsection A of this section and most of the authority's 
basic eligibility requirements including those described in 
13VAC10-40-30 through 13VAC10-40-100 remain in 
effect due to treasury restrictions or authority policy. In 
addition, the executive director may impose one or more of 
the requirements of subsection B of this section to Rural 
Development loans on the same or less stringent basis as 
they apply to the authority's conventional loans if the 
executive director determines that such requirements are 
necessary to protect its financial interests.  

2. The Rural Development guarantee fee can be included in 
loan amount provided the final loan amount does not 
exceed the authority's maximum allowable sales price.  

F. With respect to FHA, VA, RD and conventional loans, 
the authority permits the deposit of a sum of money (the 
"buydown funds") by a party (the "provider") with an escrow 
agent, a portion of which funds are to be paid to the authority 
each month in order to reduce the amount of the borrower's or 
borrowers' monthly payment during a certain period of time. 
Such arrangement is governed by an escrow agreement for 
buydown mortgage loans (see Exhibit V) executed at closing 
(see 13VAC10-40-180 for additional information). The 
escrow agent will be required to sign a certification (Exhibit 
X) in order to satisfy certain insurer or guarantor 
requirements. E. For the purposes of underwriting buydown 
buy-down mortgage loans, the reduced monthly payment 
amount may be taken into account based on the applicable 
insurer or, guarantor, or investor guidelines then in effect (see 
also subsection C, D or E of this section, as applicable).  

G. Unlike the program described in subsection E of this 
section which permits a direct buydown of the borrower's or 
borrowers' monthly payment, the authority also from time to 
time permits the buydown of the interest rate on a 
conventional, FHA or VA mortgage loan for a specified 
period of time.  
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13VAC10-40-140. Loan assumptions.  

A. VHDA The authority may from time to time, in its 
discretion, permit assumptions of all or some of its single 
family mortgage loans, subject to satisfaction of (i) the 
applicable requirements in this section of the insurer, 
guarantor, or investor with respect to the applicable authority 
loan program and (ii) the requirements of the tax code if the 
mortgage loan was funded with the proceeds of tax-exempt 
bonds; provided, however, that assumptions shall be 
permitted when required by the mortgage insurer or, 
guarantor, or investor rules or applicable law. if the applicable 
requirements in this section are met. For all loans closed prior 
to January 1, 1991, except FHA loans which were closed 
during calendar year 1990, the maximum gross income for 
the person or persons assuming a loan shall be 100% of the 
applicable median family income. For such FHA loans closed 
during 1990, if assumed by a household of three or more 
persons, the maximum gross income shall be 115% of the 
applicable median family income (140% for a residence in a 
targeted area) and if assumed by a household of fewer than 
three persons, the maximum gross income shall be 100% of 
the applicable median family income (120% for a residence in 
a targeted area). For all loans closed after January 1, 1991, the 
maximum gross income for the person or persons assuming 
loans shall be the highest percentage, as then in effect under 
13VAC10-40-100 A, of applicable median family income for 
the number or persons to occupy the dwelling upon 
assumption of the mortgage loan, unless otherwise provided 
in the deed of trust. The requirements for each of the two 
different categories of mortgage loans listed below (and the 
subcategories within each) are as follows:  

1. The following rules apply to assumptions of 
conventional loans, if permitted by the authority.  

a. For assumptions of conventional loans financed by the 
proceeds of bonds issued on or after December 17, 1981, 
the requirements of the following sections hereof must be 
met:  

(1) Maximum gross income requirement in 13VAC10-
40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence requirement)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-130 (Authority underwriting 
requirements)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-50 B (Three-year requirement)  

(5) 13VAC10-40-60 B (Acquisition cost requirements)  

(6) 13VAC10-40-120 (Mortgage insurance 
requirements).  

b. For assumptions of conventional loans financed by the 
proceeds of bonds issued prior to December 17, 1981, the 
requirements of the following sections hereof must be 
met:  

(1) Maximum gross income requirement in 13VAC10-
40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence 
requirements)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-130 (Authority underwriting 
requirements)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-120 (Mortgage insurance 
requirements).  

2. The following rules apply to assumptions of FHA, VA 
or Rural Development loans, if permitted by the authority.  

a. For assumptions of FHA, VA or Rural Development 
loans financed by the proceeds of bonds issued on or 
after December 17, 1981, the following conditions, if 
applicable, must be met:  

(1) Maximum gross income requirement in this 
13VAC10-40-140 A  

(2) 13VAC10-40-50 C (Principal residence requirement)  

(3) 13VAC10-40-50 B (Three-year requirement)  

(4) 13VAC10-40-60 B (Acquisition cost requirements).  

In addition, all applicable FHA, VA or Rural 
Development underwriting requirements, if any, must be 
met.  

b. For assumptions of FHA, VA or Rural Development 
loans financed by the proceeds of bonds issued prior to 
December 17, 1981, only the applicable FHA, VA or 
Rural Development underwriting requirements, if any, 
must be met.  

B. If the authority will permit permits an assumption, the 
authority will determine whether or not the applicable 
requirements referenced above in subsection A of this section 
for assumption of the loan have been met and will advise the 
originating agent or servicing agent lender of such 
determination in writing. The authority will further advise the 
originating agent or servicing agent lender of all other 
requirements necessary to complete the assumption process. 
Such requirements may include [ but are not limited to ] the 
submission of satisfactory evidence of hazard insurance 
coverage on the property, approval of the deed of assumption, 
satisfactory evidence of mortgage insurance or mortgage 
guaranty including, if applicable, pool insurance, submission 
of an escrow transfer letter, and execution of a Recapture 
Requirement Notice (VHDA Doc. R-1) the programs 
disclosure and borrower affidavit (Exhibit E2) containing a 
recapture tax notice.  

13VAC10-40-150. Leasing, loan Loan term, and owner 
occupancy.  

A. The owner may not lease the property without first 
contacting the authority.  
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B. Loan A. No loan terms may not exceed 30 years.  

C. B. No loan will be made unless the residence is to be 
occupied by the owner as the owner's principal residence.  

13VAC10-40-160. Reservations/fees Loan lock-in and fees.  

A. The authority currently reserves funds for each mortgage 
loan on a first come, first serve basis. Reservations are made 
by specific originating agents or field originators with respect 
to specific applicants and properties. No substitutions are 
permitted. Similarly, locked-in interest rates are also 
nontransferable. However, if the applicant can document 
circumstances beyond the applicant's control constituting 
good cause, the executive director may permit such 
substitution and transfer. Funds will not be reserved longer 
than 60 days unless the originating agent requests and 
receives an additional one-time extension prior to the 60-day 
deadline; provided, however, the foregoing time periods may 
be shortened by the executive director as he deems necessary 
if the mortgage loan is to be sold by the authority to an 
investor (including, without limitation, Fannie Mae, Freddie 
Mac, and Ginnie Mae). Locked-in interest rates on all loans, 
including those on which there may be a VA Guaranty, 
cannot be reduced under any circumstances Authority loans 
may be locked-in by originating lenders for specific 
borrowers and properties. The interest rate is locked-in after 
loan application and after the originating lender has 
determined that the borrower meets the eligibility 
requirements and guidelines for the loan program. No 
substitutions of borrower, property, or originating lender are 
permitted. A change in loan program may require the loan to 
be [ relocked relocked-in ] at different terms. 

B. The applicant or applicants, including an applicant or 
applicants for a loan to be guaranteed by VA, may request a 
second reservation if the first has expired or has been 
cancelled. If the second reservation is made within 12 months 
of the date of the original reservation, the interest rate will be 
the greater of (i) the locked-in rate or (ii) the current rate 
offered by the authority at the time of the second reservation. 
However, if the applicant can document circumstances 
beyond the applicant's control constituting good cause, the 
executive director may waive the requirement in the 
preceding sentence Loans may be locked-in at an interest rate 
for different periods of time. The loan must close by the lock-
in expiration date. 

C. The originating agent or field originator shall collect a 
nonrefundable reservation fee in such amount and according 
to such procedures as the authority may require from time to 
time. Under no circumstances is this fee refundable. A second 
reservation fee must be collected for a second reservation. No 
substitutions of applicants or properties are permitted The 
originating lender may request extensions to the rate [ lock 
lock-in ] period, up to a maximum period of time. [ Lock 
Lock-in ] extension requests must be submitted on or before 
the [ lock lock-in ] expiration date. Each extension may be 

subject to a fee. This cost will be deducted from the net price 
of the loan. Extensions will not be processed on expired 
[ locks lock-ins ]. 

D. The following other fees shall be collected.  

1. In connection with the origination and closing of the 
loan, the originating agent shall collect at closing or, at the 
authority's option, simultaneously with the acceptance of 
the authority's commitment, an amount equal to 1.0% of 
the loan amount (please note that for FHA loans the loan 
amount for the purpose of this computation is the base loan 
amount only); provided, however, that the executive 
director may require the payment of an additional fee not 
in excess of 1.0% of the loan amount in the case of a step 
loan (i.e., a loan on which the initial interest rate is to be 
increased to a new interest rate after a fixed period of 
time). If the loan does not close, then the origination fee 
shall be waived.  

2. The originating agent shall collect at the time of closing 
an amount equal to 1.0% of the loan amount.  

If the executive director determines that the financial 
integrity of the program is protected by an adjustment to the 
rate of interest charged to the applicant or applicants or 
otherwise, the authority may provide the applicant or 
applicants with the option of an alternative fee requirement 
Unless otherwise stated in specific program guidelines, the 
originating lender may not earn compensation in excess of 
such amount set forth in the origination guide, including any 
points charged and the service release premium, on each loan. 
Any excess compensation must be applied as a lender credit 
to the borrower. In addition, the originating lender may 
collect fees for reimbursement of costs incurred, such as 
credit reports, appraisals, tax service fees, or flood 
certification fees, as applicable. 

E. Unless otherwise stated in specific program guidelines, a 
service release premium will be paid to the originating lender 
by the authority at the time of purchase in such amount set 
forth in the origination guide. The premium will be for both 
first and second mortgages if applicable. This will be 
included in the net price of the loan when purchased by the 
authority. 

F. For all loan programs, originating lenders are allowed to 
collect customary miscellaneous fees (i.e., underwriting, 
document review fees) that have been properly disclosed to 
the applicant at the time of loan application. 

13VAC10-40-170. Commitment Loan decision. 

A. Upon approval of the applicant or applicants, the 
authority will send a mortgage loan commitment to the 
borrower or borrowers in care of the originating agent. The 
originating agent shall ask the borrower or borrowers to 
indicate acceptance of the mortgage loan commitment by 
signing and returning it to the originating agent prior to 
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settlement Nondelegated lenders or delegated lenders 
submitting loans for programs that are not eligible for the 
delegated process [ , ] will submit loans to the authority for 
approval. Upon approval of an applicant, the authority will 
send a loan approval to the originating lender. If a loan is 
denied, the authority will send a notification to the originating 
lender. 

A commitment must be issued in writing by an authorized 
officer of the authority and signed by the applicant or 
applicants before a loan may be closed. The term of a 
commitment may be extended in certain cases upon written 
request by the applicant or applicants and approved by the 
authority. If an additional commitment is issued to an 
applicant or applicants, the interest rate may be higher than 
the rate offered in the original commitment and additional 
fees may be charged. Such new rate and the availability of 
funds therefor shall in all cases be determined by the 
authority in its discretion. 

B. If the application fails to meet any of the standards, 
criteria and requirements herein, a loan rejection letter will be 
issued by the authority (see Exhibit L). In order to have the 
application reconsidered, the applicant or applicants must 
resubmit the application within 30 days after loan rejection. If 
the application is so resubmitted, the credit documentation 
cannot be more than 90 days old and the appraisal not more 
than six months old. Delegated lenders will approve the loan 
without prior review by the authority. 

C. For mortgage loans to be made by the authority directly 
to borrowers in underserved markets, the authority will issue 
the loan approval or loan denial directly to the loan applicant. 

13VAC10-40-180. Buy-down points mortgage loans.  

With respect to checks for buy-down points under both the 
monthly payment buydown program described in 13VAC10-
40-130 F above and the interest rate buydown program 
described in 13VAC10-40-130 G). A certified or cashier's 
check made payable to the authority is to be provided at loan 
closing for buy-down points, if any. Under the tax code, the 
original proceeds of a bond issue may not exceed the amount 
necessary for the "governmental purpose" thereof by more 
than 5.0%. If buy-down points are paid out of mortgage loan 
proceeds (which are financed by bonds), then this federal 
regulation is violated because bond proceeds have in effect 
been used to pay debt service rather than for the proper 
"governmental purpose" of making mortgage loans. 
Therefore, it is required that buy-down fees be paid from the 
seller's own funds and not be deducted from loan proceeds. 
Because of this requirement, buy-down funds may not appear 
as a deduction from the seller's proceeds on the HUD-1 
Settlement Statement The authority may permit buy-down 
mortgage loan options. Such buy-down mortgage loan 
options must meet all applicable insurer, guarantor, or 
investor requirements. 

13VAC10-40-190. Property guidelines. 

A. For each application the authority must make the 
determination that the property will constitute adequate 
security for the loan. That determination shall in turn may be 
based solely in whole or in part upon a real estate appraisal's 
determination of the value and condition of the property, 
unless an appraisal is not required based upon the applicable 
insurer, guarantor, or investor program requirements. Such 
appraisal must be performed by an appraiser licensed in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

When the residence is located in an area experiencing a 
decline in property values as determined by the appraiser or 
the executive director based upon objective quantitative data, 
the executive director may establish additional requirements, 
including, without limitation, lower loan to value ratios, for 
such loan as determined necessary by the executive director 
to protect the financial interests of the authority. 

All properties must be structurally sound and in adequate 
condition to preserve the continued marketability of the 
property and to protect the health and safety of the occupants. 
Eligible properties must possess features which that are 
acceptable to typical purchasers in the subject market area 
and provide adequate amenities. Eligible properties must 
meet Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac property guidelines unless 
otherwise approved by the authority the property guidelines 
of the applicable insurer, guarantor, or investor. 

All properties must be structurally sound and in adequate 
condition to preserve the continued marketability of the 
property and to protect the health and safety of the occupants. 
Eligible properties must possess features that are acceptable 
to typical purchasers in the subject market area and provide 
adequate amenities. Eligible properties must meet FNMA and 
FHLMC property guidelines unless otherwise approved by 
the authority. 

In addition, manufactured housing, both new construction 
and certain existing, may be financed only if the loan is 
insured 100% by FHA (see subsection C of this section). 
meets the requirements of the applicable insurer, guarantor, or 
investor. Manufactured housing must also meet federal 
manufactured home construction and safety standards 
administered by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development; be permanently attached to the land and 
anchored per manufacturer specifications or state and local 
building codes; and have the wheels, axles, and trailer hitches 
removed. In addition, the property must be assessed and taxed 
as real estate, and there must be evidence that the title has 
been surrendered to DMV and all personal property liens 
released. The authority may also impose other property 
requirements and offer other financing terms for 
manufactured housing, provided that the executive director 
determines that such property requirements and financing 
terms adequately protect the financial integrity of the 
program. 
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B. The following rules apply to conventional loans. 

1. The following requirements apply to both new 
construction and existing housing to be financed by a 
conventional loan: (i) all property must be located on a 
state maintained road; provided, however, that the 
authority may, on a case-by-case basis, approve financing 
of property located on a private road acceptable to the 
authority if the right to use such private road is granted to 
the owner of the residence pursuant to a recorded right-of-
way agreement providing for the use of such private road 
and a recorded maintenance agreement provides for the 
maintenance of such private road on terms and conditions 
acceptable to the authority (any other easements or rights-
of-way to state maintained roads are not acceptable as 
access to properties); (ii) any easements, covenants or 
restrictions which will adversely affect the marketability of 
the property, such as high-tension power lines, drainage or 
other utility easements will be considered on a case-by-
case basis to determine whether such easements, covenants 
or restrictions will be acceptable to the authority; (iii) 
property with available water and sewer hookups must 
utilize them; and (iv) property without available water and 
sewer hookups may have their own well and septic system; 
provided that joint ownership of a well and septic system 
will be considered on a case-by-case basis to determine 
whether such ownership is acceptable to the authority, 
provided further that cisterns will be considered on a case-
by-case basis to determine whether the cistern will be 
adequate to serve the property. 

2. New construction financed by a conventional loan must 
also meet Virginia Statewide Building Code and local 
code. 

C. The following rules apply to FHA, VA or Rural 
Development loans.  

1. Both new construction and existing housing financed by 
an FHA, VA or Rural Development loan must meet all 
applicable requirements imposed by FHA, VA or Rural 
Development. 

2. Manufactured housing being financed by FHA loans 
must also meet federal manufactured home construction 
and safety standards, satisfy all FHA insurance 
requirements, be on a permanent foundation to be enclosed 
by a perimeter masonry curtain wall conforming to 
standards of the Virginia Statewide Building Code, be 
permanently affixed to the site owned by the borrower or 
borrowers and be insured 100% by FHA under its section 
203B program. In addition, the property must be classified 
and taxed as real estate and no personal property may be 
financed. 

13VAC10-40-200. Substantially rehabilitated. (Repealed.)  

For the purpose of qualifying as substantially rehabilitated 
housing under the authority's maximum sales price 

limitations, the housing unit must meet the following 
definitions:  

1. Substantially rehabilitated means improved to a 
condition which meets the authority's 
underwriting/property standard requirements from a 
condition requiring more than routine or minor repairs or 
improvements to meet such requirements. The term 
includes repairs or improvements varying in degree from 
gutting and extensive reconstruction to cosmetic 
improvements which are coupled with the cure of a 
substantial accumulation of deferred maintenance, but does 
not mean cosmetic improvements alone.  

2. For these purposes a substantially rehabilitated housing 
unit means a dwelling unit which has been substantially 
rehabilitated and which is being offered for sale and 
occupancy for the first time since such rehabilitation. The 
value of the rehabilitation must equal at least 25% of the 
total value of the rehabilitated housing unit.  

3. The authority's staff will inspect each house submitted 
as substantially rehabilitated to ensure compliance with our 
underwriting-property standards. An appraisal is to be 
submitted after the authority's inspection and is to list the 
improvements and estimate their value.  

4. The authority will only approve rehabilitation loans to 
an eligible borrower or borrowers who will be the first 
resident of the residence after the completion of the 
rehabilitation. As a result of the tax code, the proceeds of 
the mortgage loan cannot be used to refinance an existing 
mortgage, as explained in 13VAC10-40-50 D. The 
authority will approve loans to cover the purchase of a 
residence, including the rehabilitation:  

a. Where the eligible borrower or borrowers are 
acquiring a residence from a builder or other seller who 
has performed a substantial rehabilitation of the 
residence; and  

b. Where the eligible borrower or borrowers are 
acquiring an unrehabilitated residence from the seller and 
the eligible borrower or borrowers contract with others to 
perform a substantial rehabilitation or performs the 
rehabilitation work himself prior to occupancy.  

13VAC10-40-210. Condominium requirements. 

A. For conventional loans, the originating agent lender must 
provide evidence that the condominium meets the eligibility 
requirements of either Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, as 
determined by the loan program. The originating agent lender 
must submit evidence at the time the borrower's or borrowers' 
application is submitted to the authority for approval. The 
executive director may require additional evidence of 
marketability of the condominium unit, such as a market 
study prepared by qualified professional, if the executive 
director determines that such additional evidence is necessary 
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to protect the financial interests of the authority of eligibility 
to the authority. 

B. For FHA, VA, or Rural Development loans, the authority 
will accept a loan to finance a condominium if the 
condominium is approved by FHA, in the case of an FHA 
loan [ ,; ] by VA, in the case of a VA loan[ ,; ] or be by Rural 
Development, in the case of a Rural Development loan. 

C. The executive director may impose additional 
condominium requirements if necessary to protect the 
financial interests of the authority. The executive director 
may waive any requirements in subsections A and B of this 
section if he determines that any additional risk as a result of 
such waiver is adequately compensated or otherwise covered 
by the terms of the mortgage loan or the financial strength or 
credit of the applicant or applicants. 

13VAC10-40-220. FHA plus Subordinate financing 
program.  

A. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the The 
authority may make loans secured by second deed of trust 
liens ("second loans") (second mortgage loans) to provide 
[ downpayment down payment ] and closing cost assistance 
to an eligible borrower or borrowers who are obtaining FHA 
authority loans secured by first deed of trust liens (first 
mortgage loans). Such first deed of trust liens mortgage loans 
must be financed by the authority; provided that the authority 
may, in its discretion, permit such first deeds of trust to be 
financed by other lenders, subject to such terms and 
conditions as the executive director shall determine to be 
necessary to protect the financial integrity of the FHA plus 
subordinate financing program. Second mortgage loans shall 
not be available to a borrower [ or borrowers ] if the FHA 
authority loan is being made under the FHA buydown a buy-
down program or is subject to a step adjustment in the interest 
rate thereon or is subject to a reduced interest rate due to the 
financial support of the authority.  

B. The second mortgage loans shall not be insured by 
mortgage insurance; accordingly, the requirements of 
13VAC10-40-120 regarding mortgage insurance shall not be 
applicable to the second mortgage loan.  

C. The requirements of 13VAC10-40-110 regarding 
calculation of maximum loan amount shall not be applicable 
to the second mortgage loan. In order to be eligible for a 
second loan, the borrower or borrowers must obtain an FHA 
loan for the maximum loan amount permitted by FHA. The 
principal amount of the second mortgage loan shall not 
exceed 5.0% of the lesser of the sales price or appraised 
value, or such lesser percentage as may be determined by the 
executive director to protect the financial integrity of the FHA 
plus program the amount of the [ downpayment down 
payment ] plus closing costs, or such lesser amount as may be 
set forth in specific program guidelines. 

In no event shall the combined FHA first mortgage loan and 
the second mortgage loan amount and all other liens exceed 
(i) the amount allowed by the guidelines of the applicable 
insurer, guarantor, or investor or (ii) the sum of the lesser of 
the sales price or appraised value plus closing costs and fees 
to be paid by a borrower or (ii) the authority's maximum 
allowable sales price. The sum of all liens may not exceed 
100% of the cost to acquire the property. The cost to acquire 
the property is the sales price plus allowable borrower paid 
closing costs, discount points and prepaid expenses.  

Verified liquid funds (funds other than gifts, loans or 
retirement accounts) in an amount not less than 1.0% of the 
sales price must be: (i) may be required to be (i) contributed 
by the borrower toward the [ downpayment down payment ]; 
(ii) contributed by the borrower or borrowers towards toward 
closing costs or prepaid items; (ii) or (iii) retained by the 
borrower or borrowers as cash reserves after closing; or (iii) 
contributed and retained by the borrower or borrowers for the 
purposes of clauses (i) and (ii), respectively. The FHA-
insured first mortgage loan when combined with the FHA 
plus second mortgage loan and any other liens may not result 
in cash back to the borrower. 

D. If the authority is not making the FHA first mortgage 
loan secured by the first deed of trust lien, the authority may 
require that, as a condition of financing the FHA plus second 
mortgage loan, the FHA first mortgage loan secured by the 
first deed of trust lien meet the authority's requirements 
applicable to FHA loans that first mortgage loan program. 
With respect to underwriting, more stringent requirements or 
criteria than those applicable to the FHA first mortgage loan 
may be imposed on the second mortgage loan if the executive 
director determines such more stringent requirements or 
criteria are necessary to protect the financial integrity of the 
FHA plus subordinate financing program.  

E. The second mortgage loan shall may be assumable on the 
same terms and conditions as the FHA first mortgage loan.  

F. No origination fee or discount point shall be collected on 
the second loan; provided, however, that the authority may 
charge an origination fee and/or a discount point in an amount 
determined by the executive director to be necessary to 
compensate the authority for originating, processing, and 
closing the FHA plus loan, if the first deed of trust is to be 
financed by another lender. The authority may charge a 
higher interest rate on a first mortgage loan that is 
accompanied by a subordinate financing program second 
mortgage loan in order to protect the authority's interests and 
the financial integrity of the subordinate financing program. 

G. Upon approval of the applicant or applicants, the 
authority will issue a mortgage loan commitment pursuant to 
The same loan decision procedures described in 13VAC10-
40-170 will be used for the subordinate financing. The 
mortgage loan commitment will include the terms and 
conditions of the FHA loan and the second loan and will set 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 14 Virginia Register of Regulations March 4, 2019 

1941 

forth additional terms and conditions applicable to the second 
loan. Also enclosed in the commitment package will be other 
documents necessary to close the second loan.  

13VAC10-40-230. Flexible alternative mortgage Mortgage 
loan programs funded by taxable bonds. 

The executive director may establish flexible alternative 
mortgage loan programs funded by taxable bonds or other 
resources. 13VAC10-40-10 through 13VAC10-40-220 shall 
apply to such flexible alternative mortgage loan programs, 
with the following modifications:  

1. The following requirements shall not apply: (i) the new 
mortgage requirement; (ii) the requirements as to the use of 
the property in a trade or business; (iii) the requirements 
the requirement as to acquisition cost and maximum 
allowable sales price of the property to be financed; (iv) 
(ii) the requirement that each applicant shall not have had a 
present ownership interest in his principal residence within 
the preceding three years (the first-time homebuyer or 
three-year requirement); (v) (iii) the net worth requirement; 
(vi) the requirements for the payment by the seller of an 
amount equal to 1.0% of the loan in 13VAC10-40-160 D 
2; and (vii) (iv) the lot size restriction in 13VAC10-40-50 
C 3. 

2. The gross income of the applicant or applicants shall not 
exceed 120% of the applicable median family income 
without regard to household size, provided, however, that 
the authority may increase such percentage of applicable 
median family income, not to exceed 150%, if the 
executive director determines that it is necessary to provide 
financing in underserved areas identified by the executive 
director to persons with disabilities (i.e., physically or 
mentally disabled, as determined by the executive director 
on the basis of medical evidence from a licensed physician 
or other appropriate evidence satisfactory to the executive 
director), to applicants with a household size of two or 
more persons, or other similarly underserved individuals 
identified by the executive director.  

3. At the time of closing, each applicant must occupy or 
intend to occupy within 60 days (90 days (or such longer 
amount of time as the executive director determines is 
reasonable in the case of new construction) the property to 
be financed as his principal residence.  

4. The property to be financed must be one of the 
following types: (i) a single family residence (attached or 
detached); (ii) a unit in a condominium or PUD which that 
is approved for financing by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac or 
satisfies the requirements for such financing, except that 
the executive director may waive any of such requirements 
if he determines that any additional risk as a result of such 
waiver is adequately compensated or otherwise covered by 
the terms of the mortgage loan or the financial strength or 

credit of the applicant or applicants; or (iii) a doublewide 
manufactured home permanently affixed to the land.  

5. The land, residence, and all other improvements on the 
property to be financed must be expected to be used by the 
borrower or borrowers primarily for residential purposes.  

6. Personal property which is related to the use and 
occupancy of the property as the principal residence of the 
borrower or borrowers and is customarily transferred with 
single family residences may be included in the real estate 
contract, transferred with the residence and financed by the 
loan; however, the value of such personal property shall 
not be considered in the appraised value.  

7. The principal amount of the mortgage loan shall not 
exceed the limits established by Fannie Mae or Freddie 
Mac for single family residences.  

8. The maximum loan amount shall be calculated as 
follows:  

a. If the authority loan will be used to acquire the 
residence, the loan amount (plus all subordinate debt to 
be secured by the property after closing of the authority 
loan) may not exceed 100% of the lesser of appraised 
value or sales price; provided, however, the executive 
director may establish a lower percentage if the executive 
director determines that such lower percentage is 
necessary to protect the authority's financial interests or 
to enable the authority to effectively and efficiently 
allocate its current and anticipated financial resources so 
as to best meet the current and future housing needs of 
the citizens throughout the Commonwealth. In the case 
of loans to finance such acquisition, the executive 
director may approve additional subordinate financing if 
he determines that any additional risk as a result of such 
additional subordinate financing is adequately 
compensated or otherwise covered by the terms of the 
mortgage loan or the financial strength or credit of the 
applicant or applicants.  

b. If the loan proceeds will not be used to finance the 
acquisition of the residence, the loan amount (plus all 
subordinate debt to be secured by the property after 
closing of the authority loan) may not exceed the lesser 
of the current appraised value of the property or the sum 
of (i) the payoff (if any) of the applicant's existing first 
mortgage loan; (ii) the payoff (if any) of applicant's or 
applicants' subordinate mortgage loans (provided such 
loans do not permit periodic advancement of loan 
proceeds) closed for not less than 12 months preceding 
the date of the closing of the authority loan and the 
payoff (if any) of applicant's or applicants' home equity 
line of credit loan (i.e., loan that permits periodic 
advancement of proceeds) with no more than $2,000 in 
advances within the 12 months preceding the date of the 
closing of the authority loan, excluding funds used for 
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the purpose of documented improvements to the 
residence; (iii) improvements to be performed to the 
property after the closing of the authority loan and for 
which loan proceeds will be escrowed at closing; (iv) 
closing costs, discount points, fees and escrows payable 
in connection with the origination and closing of the 
authority loan; and (v) up to $500 to be payable to 
applicant or applicants at closing.  

c. If the applicant or applicants request to receive loan 
proceeds at closing in excess of the limit set forth in 
clause (v) of subdivision 8 b of this section, the loan 
amount (plus all subordinate debt to be secured by the 
property after closing of the authority loan) may be 
increased to finance such excess cash up to a loan 
amount not in excess of 95% of the current appraised 
value. To be eligible for such increased financing, the 
applicant's or applicants' credit score may be no less than 
660, and the financial integrity of the flexible alternative 
program must be protected by an upward adjustment to 
the rate of interest charged to the applicant or applicants 
or otherwise.  

d. If the applicant's or applicants' existing mortgage loan 
to be refinanced is an authority mortgage loan, the 
applicant or applicants may request a streamlined 
refinance of the authority mortgage loan in which the 
authority may require less underwriting documentation 
(e.g., verification of employment) and may charge 
reduced points and fees. For such streamlined refinances, 
the loan amount (plus all subordinate debt to be secured 
by the property after closing of the authority loan) is 
limited to (i) the payoff of the existing authority 
mortgage loan and (ii) required closing costs, discount 
points, fees and escrows payable in connection with the 
origination and closing of the new authority loan, 
provided, however, that the loan amount (plus all 
subordinate debt to be secured by the property after 
closing of the authority loan) may not exceed 100% of 
the greatest of original appraised value, current real 
estate tax assessment, current appraised value or other 
alternative valuation method approved by the authority. 
To be eligible for such streamlined refinance, the 
applicant's or applicants' payment history on the current 
authority loan may not include any 30 day late payments 
within the previous 24-month period (12 months for 
applicants whose current authority loans do not carry 
mortgage insurance) and no bankruptcy since the closing 
of the original mortgage loan. In approving such 
streamlined refinance, the executive director must 
determine that any additional risk is outweighed by the 
demonstrated satisfactory payment history of applicant to 
the authority.  

e. In addition to the foregoing maximum loan amounts 
under this section, the executive director may approve 
the disbursement of additional amounts to finance 

closing costs and fees and costs of rehabilitation and 
improvements to be completed subsequent to the closing. 
Except for loans financed under the program described in 
subdivision 24 of this subsection, these additional 
amounts may not exceed 5.0% of the lesser of sales price 
(if any) or appraised value, provided, however, that in 
addition to such 5.0%, amounts not to exceed 5.0% of the 
lesser of sales price (if any) or appraised value may be 
funded for the costs of rehabilitation and improvements 
to retrofit the residence or add accessibility features to 
accommodate the needs of a disabled occupant or to 
provide for visitability by disabled individuals.  

9. 6. Mortgage insurance shall not be required, except that 
in the case of manufactured homes mortgage insurance 
shall be required in accordance with 13VAC10-40-120 
unless the executive director determines that it is 
reasonable or necessary to protect the financial interests of 
the authority. 

10. (Reserved.)  

11. The applicant or applicants must have a history of 
receiving stable income from employment or other sources 
with a reasonable expectation that the income will continue 
in the foreseeable future; typically, verification of two 
years' stable income will be required; and education or 
training in a field related to the employment of the 
applicant or applicants may be considered to meet no more 
than one year of this requirement.  

12. The applicant or applicants must possess a credit 
history as of the date of loan application satisfactory to the 
authority and, in particular, must satisfy the following: (i) 
for each applicant, no bankruptcy or foreclosure within the 
preceding three years; for each applicant, no housing 
payment past due for 30 days in the preceding 24 months; 
for a single applicant individually and all multiple 
applicants collectively, no more than one payment past due 
for 30 days or more on any other debt or obligation within 
the preceding 12 months; for each applicant, no 
outstanding collection, judgment, charge off, repossession 
or 30-day past due account; and a minimum credit score of 
620 if the loan-to-value ratio is 95% or less or 660 if the 
loan-to-value ratio exceeds 95% (credit scores as 
referenced in these regulations shall be determined by 
obtaining credit scores for each applicant from a minimum 
of three repositories and using the middle score in the case 
of a single applicant and the lowest middle score in the 
case of multiple applicants); or (ii) for each applicant, no 
previous bankruptcy or foreclosure; for a single applicant 
individually and all multiple applicants collectively, no 
outstanding collection, judgment, charge off or 
repossession within the past 12 months or more than one 
30-day past due account within the past 12 months and no 
more than four 30-day past due accounts within the past 24 
months; for each applicant, no previous housing payment 
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past due for 30 days; for a single applicant individually and 
all multiple applicants collectively, minimum of three 
sources of credit with satisfactory payment histories for the 
most recent 24-month period; for a single applicant 
individually and all multiple applicants collectively, no 
more than nine accounts currently open; and for a single 
applicant individually and all multiple applicants 
collectively, no more than three new accounts opened in 
the past 12 months (in establishing guidelines to 
implement the flexible alternative mortgage loan programs, 
the authority may refer to the credit requirements in clause 
(i) of this subdivision as the "alternative" credit 
requirements and the requirements in clause (ii) of this 
subdivision as the "standard" credit requirements).  

If the executive director determines it is necessary to 
protect the financial integrity of the flexible alternative 
program, the executive director may require that applicant 
or applicants for loans having loan-to-value ratios in excess 
of 97% meet the alternative credit requirements in clause 
(i) of this subdivision.  

13. Homeownership education approved by the authority 
shall be required for any borrower who is a first time 
homeowner if the loan-to-value ratio exceeds 95%. This 
requirement shall be waived if the applicant or applicants 
have a credit score of 660 or greater (see subdivision 12 of 
this section for the manner of determining credit scores); 
unless the executive director determines that such 
homeownership education is necessary to protect its 
financial interests; 

14. Seller contributions for closing costs and other amounts 
payable by the borrower or borrowers in connection with 
the purchase or financing of the property shall not exceed 
4.0% of the contract price.  

15. Sources of funds for the down payment and closing 
costs payable by the borrower shall be limited to the 
borrower's or borrowers' funds, gifts or unsecured loans 
from relatives, grants from employers or nonprofit entities 
not involved in the transfer or financing of the property, 
and unsecured loans on terms acceptable to the authority 
(payments on any unsecured loans permitted under this 
subdivision shall be included in the calculation of the 
debt/income ratios described below), and documentation of 
such sources of funds shall be in form and substance 
acceptable to the authority.  

16. The maximum debt ratios shall be 35% and 43% in lieu 
of the ratios of 32% and 40%, respectively, set forth in 
13VAC10-40-130 B 4.  

17. Cash reserves at least equal to two months' loan 
payments must be held by the applicant or applicants if the 
loan-to-value ratio exceeds 95%; cash reserves at least 
equal to one month's loan payment must be held by the 
applicant or applicants if the loan-to-value ratio is greater 

than 90% and is less than or equal to 95%; and no cash 
reserves shall be required if the loan-to-value ratio is 90% 
or less.  

18. The payment of points (a point being equal to 1.0% of 
the loan amount) in addition to the origination fee shall be 
charged as follows: if the loan-to-value ratio is 90% or 
less, one-half of one point shall be charged; if the loan-to-
value ratio is greater than 90% and is less than or equal to 
95%, one point shall be charged; and if the loan-to-value 
ratio exceeds 95%, one and one-half point shall be 
charged. If the executive director determines that the 
financial integrity of the flexible alternative program is 
protected, by an adjustment to the rate of interest charged 
to the applicant or applicants or otherwise, the authority 
may provide the applicant or applicants with the option of 
an alternative point requirement.  

In addition to the above, a reduction of one-half of one 
point will be made to the applicant or applicants meeting 
the credit requirements in clause 12 (i) above with a credit 
score of 700 or greater (see subdivision 12 of this section 
for the manner of determining credit scores).  

19. The interest rate which would otherwise be applicable 
to the loan shall be reduced by.25% if the loan-to-value 
ratio is 80% or less.  

20. 7. The documents relating to requirements of the 
federal tax code governing tax-exempt bonds shall not be 
required.  

21. 8. For assumptions of loans, the above requirements for 
(i) occupancy of the property as the borrower's or 
borrowers' principal residence, and (ii) the above income 
limit, and the underwriting criteria in the regulations as 
modified by in this section must be satisfied.  

22. The authority may require that any or all loans financed 
under such alternative mortgage programs be serviced by 
the authority.  

23. 9. The authority may accept an approval of an 
automated underwriting system in lieu of satisfaction of the 
foregoing requirements for the flexible alternative program 
if the executive director determines that such delegated 
underwriting system is designed so as to adequately protect 
the financial integrity of the flexible alternative program 
loan programs funded by taxable bonds.  

24. The executive director may establish a flexible 
alternative rehabilitation mortgage loan program. The 
regulations set forth in subdivisions 1 through 23 of this 
section shall apply to such flexible alternative 
rehabilitation mortgage loan program, with the following 
modifications:  

a. At the time of closing, each applicant must occupy or 
intend to occupy within 180 days the property to be 
financed as his principal residence;  
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b. The provision of clause (iii) of subdivision 4 of this 
section permitting the financing of a doublewide 
manufactured home permanently affixed to the land shall 
not apply.  

c. The maximum loan amount for a purchase shall be 
100% of the lesser of (i) the sum of purchase price plus 
rehabilitation costs; or (ii) the as completed appraised 
value. The maximum loan amount for a refinance shall 
be 100% of the lesser of (i) the outstanding principal 
balance plus rehabilitation costs; or (ii) the as completed 
appraised value.  

d. The rehabilitation costs to be financed may not exceed 
an amount equal to 50% of the as completed appraised 
value.  

e. Loan proceeds may be used to finance the purchase 
and installation of eligible improvements. Improvements 
that are eligible for financing are structural alterations, 
repairs, additions to the residence itself, or other 
improvements (including appliances) upon or in 
connection with the residence. In order to be eligible, 
such improvements must substantially protect or improve 
the basic livability or utility of the residence. 
Improvements that are physically removed from the 
residence but that are located on the property occupied 
by the residence may be eligible for financing if these 
improvements substantially protect or improve the basic 
livability or utility of the residence (i.e., installation of a 
septic tank or the drilling of a well). Luxury items (such 
as swimming pools and spas) shall not be eligible for 
financing hereunder.  

f. Loan proceeds may not be used to finance any 
improvements that have been completed at the time the 
application is submitted to the authority.  

g. All work financed with the loan proceeds shall be 
performed by a contractor duly licensed in Virginia to 
perform such work and be performed pursuant to a 
validly issued building permit, if required, and shall 
comply with all applicable state and local health, 
housing, building, fire prevention and housing 
maintenance codes and other applicable standards and 
requirements. Compliance with the foregoing shall be 
evidenced by such documents and certifications as shall 
be prescribed by the executive director.  

h. The executive director may require the applicant or 
applicants to establish a contingency fund for the 
mortgage loan in an amount adequate to ensure sufficient 
reserve funds for the proper completion of the proposed 
improvements in the event of cost over runs. The 
executive director may also require a holdback from each 
disbursement of loan proceeds until completion of the 
residence.  

i. The executive director may approve originating agents 
to originate the acquisition/rehabilitation loans. To be so 
approved, the originating agent must have a staff with 
demonstrated ability and experience in 
acquisition/rehabilitation mortgage loan origination, 
processing and administration.  

j. In addition to the payment of points set forth in 
subdivision 18 of this section, the originating agent may 
collect an escrow administration fee and an inspection 
fee in an amount determined by the executive director to 
compensate the originating agent for administering the 
disbursement of the mortgage loan during the 
rehabilitation of the residence.  

Except as modified hereby in this section, all of the 
requirements, terms [ , ] and conditions set forth in 
13VAC10-40-10 through 13VAC10-40-220 shall apply to the 
flexible alternative mortgage loan programs established 
pursuant to this section.  

13VAC10-40-240. Down payment and closing cost 
assistance grants. 

The authority may make or finance down payment or 
closing cost assistance grants in connection with authority 
first mortgage loans. Such grants must meet the applicable 
insurer, guarantor, or investor requirements applicable to the 
first mortgage loan in addition to any additional requirements 
imposed by the executive director. Any such grants made or 
financed by the authority are not loans and no repayment 
shall be required. The executive director may establish lower 
maximum income limits in connection with such grants that 
enable the authority to effectively and efficiently allocate its 
current and anticipated financial resources so as to best meet 
the current and future housing needs of low and moderate 
income Virginians.  

13VAC10-40-250. Government-sponsored enterprises 
programs. 

A. The authority may make or finance mortgage loans 
pursuant to the requirements of Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac 
and may securitize and sell such mortgage loans to Fannie 
Mae or Freddie Mac, as applicable. 

B. The following requirements shall not apply to 
government-sponsored enterprises programs: (i) the 
requirement that each applicant must not have had a present 
ownership interest in his principal residence within the 
preceding three years (the first-time homebuyer or three-year 
requirement); (ii) the maximum allowable sales prices in 
13VAC10-40-80; and (iii) the net worth requirements in 
13VAC10-40-90. 

C. For the purposes of 13VAC10-40-100, gross income of 
applicants for Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loans shall be 
determined in accordance with the requirements of Fannie 
Mae or Freddie Mac, as applicable.  
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13VAC10-40-260. FHA, VA, or Rural Development 
streamline refinance program. 

A. The authority may make or finance streamline refinance 
loans that refinance existing authority FHA, VA, and Rural 
Development loans pursuant to the requirements of FHA for 
streamline refinances, the requirements of the VA for interest 
rate reduction refinance loans, and the requirements of Rural 
Development for streamlined refinances, as applicable. 

B. The following requirements shall not apply to streamline 
refinance programs: (i) the requirement that each applicant 
must not have had a present ownership interest in his 
principal residence within the preceding three years (the first-
time homebuyer or three-year requirement); (ii) the maximum 
allowable sales prices in 13VAC10-40-80; (iii) the net worth 
requirements in 13VAC10-40-90; and (iv) the underwriting 
requirement regarding income verification set forth in 
13VAC10-40-130 A 1. 

C. The income limits for applicants for FHA, VA, or Rural 
Development streamline refinances shall in no event exceed 
150% of the greater of the applicable area or statewide 
median family income. 

D. The condominium approval requirement in 13VAC10-
40-210 A is modified so that withdrawn FHA, VA, Fannie 
Mae, or Freddie Mac condominium approvals are acceptable.  

13VAC10-40-270. Real estate owned condo program. 

A. The authority may make or finance mortgage loans on 
authority real estate owned (REO) condominiums pursuant to 
the loan program provisions set forth in 13VAC10-40-230 
(mortgage loan programs funded by taxable bonds), except as 
altered by the provisions of this section. 

B. The new mortgage requirement shall apply to REO condo 
loans (refinances are not permitted under this program). 

C. For purposes of subdivision 2 of 13VAC10-40-230, the 
income limits for applicants for REO condo loans shall be (i) 
for applicants with a household size of one person, 120% of 
the greater of the applicable area or statewide median family 
income and (ii) for applicants with a household size of two or 
more persons, 150% of the greater of the applicable area or 
statewide median family income. 

D. The requirement in subdivision 4 of 13VAC10-40-230 
that a condominium unit must be approved by Fannie Mae or 
Freddie Mac or satisfy the requirements for their financing 
shall not apply. 

E. The maximum loan amount for REO condo loans shall be 
97% of the lesser of the sales price or appraised value. 

F. The minimum credit score shall be 660 for all applicants, 
regardless of loan-to-value ratios. 

G. The maximum debt ratios for REO condo loans shall be 
35% and 45%.  

13VAC10-40-280. Reduced rate financing. 

The authority may make or finance mortgage loans with an 
allocation of reduced rate funding to local governments, 
nonprofits, and housing industry partners to support special 
housing needs. Such reduced rate funding must meet the 
applicable insurer, guarantor, or investor requirements 
applicable to the first mortgage loan in addition to any 
additional requirements imposed by the executive director.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (13VAC10-40) 

Uniform Residential Loan Application, Freddie Mac Form 
65 [ /Fannie Mae Form 1003 ] (rev. 6/2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5800; Filed February 15, 2019, 9:34 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC10-190. Rules and Regulations 
for Qualified Mortgage Credit Certificate Programs 
(amending 13VAC10-190-10, 13VAC10-190-30 through 
13VAC10-190-70, 13VAC10-190-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jeff Quann, Senior Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5603 or email 
jeffrey.quann@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the mortgage credit certificate 
(MCC) regulations for consistency with other regulations, 
including (i) adding definitions and (ii) clarifying 
regulatory language and conditions under which the 
authority may issue an MCC to an applicant. 

13VAC10-190-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means the individual applying for a mortgage 
credit certificate. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a212005800%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005800&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5a212005800%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005800&mime=application/pdf
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"Authority" means the Virginia Housing Development 
Authority, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of 
Virginia constituting a public instrumentality. 

"Certificate credit rate" has the meaning set forth in IRC 
§ 25. 

"Certified indebtedness" has the meaning set forth in IRC 
§ 25. It is the indebtedness loan or portion thereof that the 
applicant will incur uses to acquire his principal residence and 
that, in the determination of the authority, meets the 
requirements of IRC § 25 and will be used in calculating the 
amount of the potential tax credit under the mortgage credit 
certificate MCC. 

"Commitment" means the obligation of the authority to 
provide a mortgage credit certificate to an eligible applicant 
pursuant to an approved application. 

"Commitment term" means the period of time during which 
the applicant must close on his loan to be entitled to a 
mortgage credit certificate pursuant to his commitment. 

"Executive director" means the executive director of the 
authority or any other officer or employee of the authority 
who is authorized to act on behalf of the executive director or 
the authority pursuant to a resolution of the board of the 
authority. 

"Internal Revenue Code" or "IRC" means Title 26 of the 
United States Code, as the same may be amended from time 
to time. 

"Loan" means any extension of credit that finances the 
purchase of and will be secured by a principal residence. 

"Mortgage credit certificate" or "MCC" means a certificate 
issued by the authority pursuant to IRC § 25. 

"Participating lender" means any person or organization that 
is legally authorized to engage in the business of making 
loans for the purchase of principal residences and meets the 
qualifications in this chapter to participate in the programs. 

"Principal residence" means a dwelling that will be occupied 
as the primary residence of the purchaser, that will not be 
property held in a trade or business or as investment property, 
that is not a recreational or second home, and no part of 
which will be used for any business purposes for which 
expenses may be deducted for federal income tax purposes. 

"Program" means a qualified mortgage credit certificate 
program as defined in IRC § 25, in particular IRC 
§ 25(c)(2)(A). 

"Private activity bonds" has the meaning set forth in IRC 
§ 141. 

"Qualified home improvement loan" has the meaning set 
forth in IRC § 143(k)(4). 

"Qualified mortgage bond" has the meaning set forth in IRC 
§ 143. 

"Qualified rehabilitation loan" has the meaning set forth in 
IRC § 143(k)(5). 

"Qualified veteran's mortgage bond" has the meaning set 
forth in IRC § 143. 

13VAC10-190-30. Purpose, applicability, and scope of 
regulations. 

A. All programs described in 13VAC10-190-20 and all of 
the MCCs issued by the authority pursuant to such programs 
are subject to this chapter. 

B. This chapter is intended to provide a general description 
of the authority's requirements and processing and is not 
intended to include all actions involved or required in the 
processing and administration of MCCs. This chapter is 
subject to amendment by the authority at any time and may be 
supplemented by policies, rules, and regulations adopted by 
the authority from time to time with respect to all of the 
programs. 

C. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 
the executive director is authorized with respect to any MCC 
program to waive or modify any provision of this chapter 
where deemed appropriate by him for good cause, to the 
extent not inconsistent with the IRC.  

D. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 
MCCs can only be issued when and to the extent permitted by 
the IRC and the applicable federal laws, rules, and regulations 
governing the issuance of MCCs. 

E. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this chapter, 
the federal laws, rules, and regulations governing the MCCs 
shall control over any inconsistent provision in this chapter, 
and individuals applicants to whom MCCs have been issued 
shall be entitled to the privileges and benefits thereof only to 
the extent permitted by the IRC. 

F. Wherever appropriate in this chapter, the singular shall 
include the plural; the plural shall include the singular; and 
the masculine shall include the feminine. 

13VAC10-190-40. Eligible persons. 

The authority may only issue an MCC to an individual only 
if he would be eligible to be a borrower of a tax exempt bond 
financed loan pursuant to 13VAC10-40-30, 13VAC10-40-40, 
13VAC10-40-50, 13VAC10-40-70, 13VAC10-40-90, and 
13VAC10-40-100 applicant if the applicant meets the 
requirements the authority establishes for the program, which 
include requirements that ensure the applicant qualifies under 
26 CFR 1.25-3T so that the MCC would be a qualified 
mortgage credit certificate pursuant to 26 CFR 1.25-3T. 
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13VAC10-190-50. Eligible properties. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual applicant 
only if his application for the MCC is based upon his 
purchasing a principal residence that qualifies under 26 CFR 
1.25-3T so that the MCC would be eligible for a tax exempt 
bond financed loan a qualified mortgage credit certificate 
pursuant to 13VAC10-40-40 through 13VAC10-40-80 26 
CFR 1.25-3T. 

13VAC10-190-60. Eligible lenders. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual applicant 
only if his application for the MCC is based upon his 
obtaining a loan from a participating lender. 

13VAC10-190-70. Eligible loans. 

The authority may issue an MCC to an individual applicant 
only if his application for the MCC is based upon a loan that: 

1. Is not funded in whole or in part from the proceeds of a 
qualified mortgage bond or a qualified veteran's mortgage 
bond as defined in IRC § 143, 

2. Is incurred by the applicant to acquire his principal 
residence, 

3. Is not being assumed from another borrower, and 

4. Is not a refinancing of other indebtedness of the 
applicant, except in the case of construction period loans, 
bridge loans, or similar temporary financing that has a term 
of 24 months or less, 

5. Is not a qualified home improvement loan or a qualified 
rehabilitation loan, and 

6. Otherwise satisfies the requirements of 26 CFR 1.25-
2T(c)(1). 

13VAC10-190-200. Compliance investigations. 

After each MCC is issued, the authority shall have the right, 
but not the obligation, to investigate the facts and 
circumstances relating to any application and the issuance and 
use of the related MCC and, if there are proper grounds, to 
revoke the MCC and take other appropriate legal action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5801; Filed February 15, 2019, 9:32 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 
board to schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to 
subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 3, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add six compounds into Schedule I of the 
Drug Control Act as recommended by the Virginia 
Department of Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 
of the Code of Virginia. The compounds added by this 
regulatory action will remain in effect for 18 months or 
until the compounds are placed in Schedule I by legislative 
action of the General Assembly. A technical amendment 
corrects the date until which the compounds listed in 
subsection C of the regulation remain in effect.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 2-(methylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 
Deschloroketamine), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

2. 2-methyl-1-(4-(methylthio)phenyl)-2-
morpholinopropiophenone (other name: MMMP), its 
optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 
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3. Alpha-ethylaminohexanophenone (other name: N-
ethylhexedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

4. N-ethyl-1-(3-methoxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 
name: 3-methoxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

5. 4-fluoro-alpha-pyrrolidinohexiophenone (other name: 4-
fluoro-alpha-PHP), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

6. N-ethyl-1,2-diphenylethylamine (other name: 
Ephenidine), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 
salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

7. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-1,3-
benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other name: Benzodioxole 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

b. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(diethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
methylbenzamide (other name: U-49900), its isomers, 
esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 
ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(2,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-48800), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 
the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

8. Central nervous system stimulants: 

a. Methyl 2-(4-fluorophenyl)-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate 
(other name: 4-fluoromethylphenidate), including its 
salts, isomers, and salts of isomers. 

b. Isopropyl-2-phenyl-2-(2-piperidinyl)acetate (other 
name: Isopropylphenidate), including its salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until August 21, 2019, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act:  

1. Research chemicals:  

a. 2-(ethylamino)-2-phenyl-cyclohexanone (other name: 
deschloro-N-ethyl-ketamine), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-tert-butylcathinone, its optical, 
position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation.  

c. 4-fluoro-N-ethylamphetamine, its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

d. Beta-keto-4-bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine 
(other name: bk-2C-B), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers, whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Synthetic opioids:  

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-
2butenamide (other name: Crotonyl fentanyl), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

b. 2-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)-N-[2-(dimethylamino) 
cyclohexyl]-N-methylacetamide (other name: U-51754), 
its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 
esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 
the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

c. N-phenyl-N-[4-phenyl-1-(2-phenylethyl)-
4piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: 
4phenylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 
salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 
excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, 
esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 
chemical designation.  

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until December 12, 2019, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 
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1. 2,5-dimethoxy-4-chloroamphetamine (other name: 
DOC), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 
and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

2. Synthetic opioids: 

a. N-(2-fluorophenyl)-2-methoxy-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-
4-piperidinyl]-acetamide (other name: Ocfentanil), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-butanamide (other name: 4-
methoxybutyrylfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, 
and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 
specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 
isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

c. N-phenyl-2-methyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-propanamide (other name: Isobutyryl 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

d. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-
cyclopentanecarboxamide (other name: Cyclopentyl 
fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 
isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 
whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 
and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

e. N-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-4-piperidinyl)-propanamide 
(other name: N-methyl norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, 
ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 
unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 
these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 
the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent: 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-
phenylethyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 4-
cyano CUMYL-BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

4. Benzodiazepine: Flualprazolam, its salts, isomers, and 
salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until March 4, 2019 2020, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid: N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-
methyl-1,3-benzodioxole-5-carboxamide (other names: 
3,4-methylenedioxy U-47700 or 3,4-MDO-U-47700), its 
isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 
and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 
existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Cannabimimetic agent: N-(adamantanyl)-1-(5-
chloropentyl) indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-
chloro-AKB48), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 
isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until May 27, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid: N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-
piperidinyl]-benzamide (other names: Phenyl fentanyl, 
Benzoyl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 
salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 
excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 
ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

2. Research chemicals: 

a. 4-acetyloxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (other name: 4-
AcO-DALT), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 
existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 4-chloro-N,N-dimethylcathinone, its optical, position, 
and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

c. 4-hydroxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (other 
name: 4-hydroxy-MiPT), its optical, position, and 
geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-pyrrolidinohexanophenone 
(other name: MDPHP), its optical, position, and 
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geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent: Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-
1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other 
name: 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts 
of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 
and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 
in effect until October 2, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5776; Filed February 7, 2019, 1:59 p.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Area Agency on Aging Service Standards. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Advisor, 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin 
Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, 
FAX (804) 662-7663, or email 
charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND HOME 
INSPECTORS 

Title of Document: Requirement to Take the Virginia Lead 
Law Examination. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, Board 
for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, 
FAX (804) 350-5354, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
Title of Document: Model Guidance for Positive and 
Preventive Code of Student Conduct Policy and Alternatives 
to Suspension. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Maribel Saimre, Director of Student Services, 
Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2818, or email 
maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 
Titles of Documents:  

90-2, Transmittal of Orders by Authorized Agents to Nurses, 
revised January 29, 2019. 

 

90-3, Continued Competency Violations for Nurses, revised 
January 29, 2019. 

90-12, Delegation of Authority to Board of Nursing RN 
Education and Discipline Staff, revised January 29, 2019. 

90-22, Requests for Accommodation for NCLEX and 
NNAAP Testing and Medication Aide Examination for 
Registration, revised January 29, 2019. 

90-31, Administer a Medication that Has Been Transmitted 
Orally or in Writing by a Pharmacist Acting as the 
Prescriber's Agent, revised January 29, 2019. 

90-35, Noncompliance with Board Orders by Individual 
Licensees, revised January 29, 2019. 

90-38, Disposition of Disciplinary Cases against Nurses and 
Massage Therapists Practicing on Expired Licenses, revised 
January 29, 2019. 

90-61, Disposition of Disciplinary Cases against Certified 
Nurse Aides and Registered Medication Aides Practicing on 
Expired Certificates or Registrations, revised January 29, 
2019. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 
Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 
527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
Title of Document: Guidance for Continuing Education (CE) 
Audits and Sanctioning for Failure to Complete CE.  

Public Comment Deadline: April 3, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4508, FAX (804) 
527-4471, or email, leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c29cb005836%7E52.pdf&typ=40&actno=005836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c29cb005836%7E52.pdf&typ=40&actno=005836&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=294c0005836%7E71.pdf&typ=40&actno=005836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4841005836%7E85.pdf&typ=40&actno=005836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb4f005836%7E98.pdf&typ=40&actno=005836&mime=application/pdf
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ANNUAL LIST 

Section 2.2-4103.1 of the Code of Virginia requires annual publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations of guidance 
document lists from state agencies. A guidance document is defined as "…any document developed by a state agency or staff 
that provides information or guidance of general applicability to the staff or public to interpret or implement statutes or the 
agency's rules or regulations..." Agencies are required to maintain a complete, current list of all guidance documents and 
make the full text of such documents available to the public. 

Generally, the format for the guidance document list is: document number (if any), title of document, date issued or last 
revised, and citation of Virginia Administrative Code regulatory authority or Code of Virginia statutory authority. Questions 
concerning documents or requests for copies of documents should be directed to the contact person listed by the agency. 

DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT 
Copies of the guidance document may be viewed at 
http://www.vaemergency.gov/em-community/plans/2012CO 
VEOP. The document may be printed without restrictions. 

Questions regarding interpretation or implementation of this 
document may be directed to Dillon Taylor, Policy Analyst, 
State Coordinator's Office, Virginia Department of 
Emergency Management, 10501 Trade Court, Richmond, VA 
23236, telephone (804) 543-0055, or email 
dillon.taylor@vdem.virginia.gov. 

Guidance Document: 

COVEOP, Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency 
Operations Plan, 9/1/2011 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Documents are available on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall at http://townhall.virginia.gov. Questions regarding 
interpretation or implementation of habitat documents may be 
directed to Tony Watkinson, Chief, Habitat Division, Marine 
Resources Commission, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2250, or FAX (757) 247-8062. 

Questions regarding interpretation or implementation of law-
enforcement documents may be directed to Colonel Rick 
Lauderman, Chief, Law Enforcement Division, Marine 
Resources Commission, Newport News, VA 23607, 
telephone (757) 247-2278, or FAX (757) 247-2020. 

Guidance Documents:  

4582, Rent and Royalty Guidelines, 12/1/2005 

4583, Resolution by the VMRC Citizen Board Interpreting 
§ 28.2-1203 a 5 (iv) of the Code of Virginia and Delegating 
Authority to make the Determination Called for by § 28.2-
1203 a 5 (iv), 12/6/2011 

4584, Coastal Primary Sand Dune/Beaches Guidelines, 
10/1/1990 

4585, Guidelines for Establishment, Use and Operation of 
Tidal Wetland Mitigation Banks, 12/6/2011 

4586, Subaqueous Guidelines, 10/1/2005 

4587, Wetlands Guidelines, 12/1/1982 

4588, Guidelines on Repeat Offenders - Appendix A, 
8/22/2017 

Revocation Orders, Guidelines on the Scope of License and 
Privilege Revocation Orders Issued under § 28.2-232 of the 
Code of Virginia, 7/27/2016 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter41/section2.2-4103.1/
http://www.vaemergency.gov/em-community/plans/2012COVEOP
http://www.vaemergency.gov/em-community/plans/2012COVEOP
mailto:dillon.taylor@vdem.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=2895
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=2895
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=2895
http://townhall.virginia.gov/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4582
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4582
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4583
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4583
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4583
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4583
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4583
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4584
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4584
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4585
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4585
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4585
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4586
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4586
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=4587
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

ALCHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority conducted a small 
business impact review of 3VAC5-11, Public Participation 
Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Authority is publishing its report of findings dated February 
4, 2019, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed as it outlines the 
procedures for the public to engage in the regulatory process 
as well as being necessary for the agency to comply with 
§ 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia. The agency did not receive 
any complaints or comments from the public during the 
periodic review. The regulation is easy to understand and 
clearly written. The regulation is not redundant nor does it 
conflict with other federal or state regulations. The regulation 
was last evaluated in 2012. No small business impact has 
been identified. 

Contact Information: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal 
Liaison, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 
latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Approval of Variances to the Regulations to Assure 
the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 
VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
(12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human Rights 
Regulations," is announcing a decision by the State Human 
Rights Committee (SHRC) on an application for proposed 
variances to the Human Rights Regulations. The purpose of 
the regulations is to ensure and protect the legal and human 
rights of individuals receiving services in facilities or 
programs operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of the 
regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 
wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application also describes 
time limits and other conditions for duration and the 

circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 
All variances shall be approved for a specific time period. 
Variances to the Human Rights Regulations by the listed state 
facility are reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with 
reports to the SHRC regarding the variances as requested.  

The variances must comply with the general requirements of 
Part VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Human 
Rights Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: After considering all available information 
at its meeting on January 31, 2019, the SHRC voted to 
approve the application for variances to the Human Rights 
Regulations for Western State Hospital (WSH). A public 
comment period was held from November 26, 2018, through 
December 26, 2018. Two comments were received. The 
variances were approved for a three-year period with 
semiannual updates to the SHRC and quarterly review by the 
local human rights committee. 

Variance to Procedures for Behavioral Treatment Plans: 

12VAC35-115-105 H: Providers shall not use seclusion in 
a behavioral treatment plan. 

Variance to Procedures for Use of Seclusion, Restraint, and 
Time Out: 

12VAC35-115-110 C 3: Only residential facilities for 
children that are licensed under the Regulations for 
Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46), and 
inpatient hospitals may use seclusion and only in an 
emergency.  

Explanation: The variances allow WSH to place an individual 
in an environment of seclusion at the individual's request and 
not as related to an emergency, in order to prevent self-
injurious harm to the individual and to the staff members 
responsible for the individual's care. 

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 
FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 
deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment on Proposed Variances to the 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals 
Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 

Funded, or Operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 
VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
(12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human Rights 
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Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 
comment on an application for proposed variances to the 
Human Rights Regulations submitted to the State Human 
Rights Committee (SHRC). The purpose of the regulations is 
to ensure and protect the legal and human rights of 
individuals receiving services in facilities or programs 
operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of the 
regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 
wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application also describes 
time limits and other conditions for the duration and 
circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 
After considering all available information including 
comments, the SHRC intends to submit a written decision 
deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 
variance application. All variances shall be approved for a 
specific time period. The decision and reasons for variance 
will be published in a later issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: The SHRC is seeking public comment on 
the application for proposed new variances to the Human 
Rights Regulations for the Virginia Center for Behavioral 
Rehabilitation (VCBR).  

Variance to Procedures for Restrictions on Freedoms of 
Everyday Life, 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e.  

Requirements for the Imposition of Restrictions: The 
proposed variance would permit VCBR to place a resident on 
restrictions temporarily, without first meeting the criteria set 
forth in 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e, if a resident 
displays behavior that is determined to be an immediate threat 
to the safety and security of the facility or the community. 

Explanation: Individuals deemed by the court to be "sexually 
violent predators" may engage in behavior that requires an 
immediate response to ensure the safety of individuals in the 
facility and the community. An appropriate response may be 
an immediate restriction on the freedoms of everyday life as 
outlined in 12VAC35-115-100 A 1 a through A 1 g. The 
immediate need to protect the safety and security of the 
facility or the community may be jeopardized by the process 
outlined in 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e. 

When immediate restrictions are imposed to ensure the safety 
and security of the facility or the community, such restrictions 
shall be in effect only until the next business day that the 
restricted resident's treatment team is able to meet, review the 
imposed restriction, and meet the requirements set forth in 
12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e. 

Procedures for ensuring residents' freedoms of everyday life 
within VCBR and procedures for implementing restrictions 
on those freedoms shall be outlined in Facility Instruction No. 
201, Restrictions on Freedoms of Everyday Life. 

Variances to these regulations by the listed state facility are 
reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with reports to the 
SHRC regarding the variances as requested.  

Public comment period: February 18, 2019, through March 
19, 2019. 

How to comment: The SHRC accepts written comments by 
email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 
comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting and be received by 
DBHDS, who will provide them to the SHRC, by the last day 
of the comment period. All information received is part of the 
public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 
supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 
listed DBHDS representative.  

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 
FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 
deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Dominion Energy Notice of Intent Small Renewable 

Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule -  
Greensville County 

Dominion Energy has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (Sadler Solar) in Greensville 
County. The project will be located on approximated 1,490 
acres at 3119 Dry Bread Road, Greensville County (Latitude 
36.68875, Longitude -77.604208). The solar facility will be 
comprised of ground-mounted, fixed-tilt photovoltaic arrays 
and auxiliary equipment to provide approximately 102 
megawatts alternating current of nameplate capacity. The 
project conceptually consists of 346,248 panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Mount Nebo Solar Partners LLC Notice of Intent 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by 

Rule - Surry County 
Mount Nebo Solar Partners LLC has provided the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of 
intent to submit the necessary documentation for a permit by 
rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) in Surry 
County. The proposed project will be located along Colonial 
Trail East approximately three miles east of Surry. The 
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project will have a maximum generating capacity of 20 
megawatts alternating current across approximately 80.2 
acres. The project is located at 37°7'3.78"N, 76°47'12.20"W. 
The project will use approximately 38,000 solar panels 
mounted to single-axis trackers that will follow the path of 
the sun throughout the day. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
of Historic Resources conducted a small business impact 
review of 17VAC5-30, Evaluation Criteria and Procedures 
for Designations by the Board of Historic Resources, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board of Historic Resources is publishing 
its report of findings dated February 7, 2019, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of 
Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed to meet the 
requirements of state law and regulations concerning the 
evaluation criteria and procedures for designations by the 
Board of Historic Resources. No complaints or public 
comments have been received concerning the content of the 
regulation or its complexity. The regulation sets out the state 
requirements for evaluating criteria and procedures and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other state laws or 
regulations. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 
Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6082, FAX (804) 
367-2391, or email stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 
Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Historic Resources conducted a small business 
impact review of 17VAC10-20, Evaluation Criteria and 
Procedures for Nominations of Property to the National 
Register or for Designation as a National Historic 
Landmark, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Department of Historic 
Resources is publishing its report of findings dated February 
7, 2019, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed to meet the 
requirements of federal and state law concerning the 

evaluation criteria and procedures for nominations of property 
to the National Register or for designation as a National 
Historic Landmark. No complaints or public comments have 
been received concerning the content of the regulation or its 
complexity. The regulation sets out the federal and state 
requirements for evaluating criteria and procedures and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal or state 
laws or regulations. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 
Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 
Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6082, FAX (804) 
367-2391, or email stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2018) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and 
Community Development is conducting a periodic review 
and small business impact review of each listed regulation. 
The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

13VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

13VAC5-80, Virginia Standards for Individual and 
Regional Code Academies 

13VAC5-200, Solar Energy Criteria for Tax Exemption 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins March 4, 2019, and ends April 3, 
2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 600 
East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
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public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 
the small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Opportunity to Review and Comment on Draft 
Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services 

Provider Manual for Stakeholder Input 
Comment period: February 4, 2019, through March 6, 2019. 

Changes to the Community Mental Health Rehabilitative 
Services Provider Manuals are now posted on the Department 
of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 
comment through March 6, 2019. The manuals will be 
finalized and officially posted by March 8, 2019. 

Finalized DMAS provider manuals can be found at 
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/P
roviderManual. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 
786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Renewal of FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS Select Title 
XXI § 1115 Demonstration Waiver 

Comment period: March 4, 2019, through April 4, 2019. 

Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.408, DMAS is providing a follow-up 
notice of intent to submit to the federal Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) a request to extend for five 
years its Title XXI § 1115 Demonstration for the FAMIS 
MOMS and FAMIS Select programs with no changes. The 
FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS Select demonstration is currently 
set to expire on June 30, 2019. 

DMAS provided an initial opportunity to review and provide 
input on the FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS Select § 1115 
Demonstration Extension November 13, 2018, through 
December 13, 2018. During that initial public notice period, 
two public hearings were held, one on November 30, 2018, 
and the other December 6, 2018.  

DMAS is now providing a second opportunity for the public 
to review and provide input on the FAMIS MOMS and 
FAMIS Select § 1115 Demonstration Extension, which has 
been modified to provide additional information and clarity 
on how demonstration objectives have been met, how the 
demonstration will be evaluated for continued success, and 
actual and projected program enrollment and costs. This 

public comment period will be open from March 4, 2019, 
through April 4, 2019. 

Virginia's Title XXI Children's Health Insurance Program 
(CHIP) covers children with family income from 143% to 
200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) under a separate 
child health plan known as the Family Access to Medical 
Insurance Security (FAMIS) Plan. Virginia's Title XXI 
§ 1115 Demonstration has two components. First, it expands 
Title XXI coverage to uninsured pregnant women with family 
income up to 200% of the federal poverty level (FPL) who 
are not eligible for Medicaid through a program known as 
FAMIS MOMS. Second, it uses Title XXI funds to support a 
health insurance premium assistance program known as 
FAMIS Select. To qualify, children must first be found 
eligible and enroll in FAMIS before electing to receive 
coverage through FAMIS Select. 

The goals of Virginia's Title XXI HIFA Demonstration are as 
follows: 

For FAMIS MOMS: 

• Facilitate access to prenatal, obstetric, and postpartum 
care for a vulnerable population that does not otherwise 
qualify for public insurance; 

• Improve selected birth outcomes of FAMIS MOMS 
participants and their newborns; and 

• Facilitate access to recommended pediatric primary care 
for newborns of FAMIS MOMS participants. 

For FAMIS Select: 

• Facilitate access to affordable private and employer-
sponsored health insurance for low-income families 
through premium assistance; 

• Ensure that access to and use of health care services 
available to children participating in FAMIS Select is 
comparable to that of children participating in FAMIS; and 

• Assure the aggregate cost-effectiveness of the FAMIS 
Select program. 

To read the FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS Select demonstration 
full public notice and to view the draft FAMIS MOMS and 
FAMIS Select demonstration renewal application, please visit 
the DMAS website 
at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/hifawaiver. 

To read the most recent Prenatal Care and Birth Outcomes 
Focused Study reports from the DMAS External Quality 
Review Organization (EQRO), please 
visit http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/med3studies. 

Public Comment: All comments must be received by 
11:59 p.m. (Eastern Time) on Thursday, April 4, 2019. Public 
comments may be submitted by email to 
hope.richardson@dmas.virginia.gov or by postal mail or in 
person at following the address: 
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Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services, FAMIS 
MOMS and FAMIS Select Demonstration Renewal, Attn: 
Hope Richardson, 600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 
23219. 

After considering public comments about the proposed 
demonstration renewal application, DMAS will make final 
decisions about the demonstration and submit a revised 
application to CMS. The summary of comments, as well as 
copies of written comments received, will be posted for 
public viewing on the DMAS website along with the 
demonstration extension application when it is submitted to 
CMS. 

Information regarding the FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS Select 
demonstration renewal application can be found on the 
DMAS website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov 
/#/hifawaiver. DMAS will update this website throughout the 
public comment and application process. 

For more information about the FAMIS MOMS and FAMIS 
Select demonstration, which the Commonwealth is seeking to 
extend, please visit the CMS website 
at https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/ 
demonstration-and-waiver-list/?entry=8648. 

Section 1115 of the Social Security Act gives the U.S. 
Secretary of Health and Human Services authority to approve 
experimental, pilot, or demonstration projects that promote 
the objectives of Medicaid and the Children's Health 
Insurance Program (CHIP). Under this authority, the 
Secretary may waive certain provisions of Medicaid or CHIP 
to give states additional flexibility to design and improve 
their programs. To learn more about § 1115 demonstrations, 
please visit the CMS website 
at https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/section-1115-demo/ 
index.html. 

Contact Information: Hope Richardson, Policy Planning and 
Innovation, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-7933, or email hope.richardson@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Consent Order for Ariake U.S.A. Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Ariake U.S.A. 
Inc. for violations at the Ariake U.S.A. Inc. food 
manufacturing facility in Harrisonburg, Virginia. The State 
Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order with 
penalty to Ariake U.S.A. Inc. to address noncompliance with 
State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the named Department of Environmental 
Quality office or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany 
Severs will accept comments by email at 
tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (540) 574-7878, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 
Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from March 4, 2019, to April 3, 
2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for  
Quality Built Homes Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Quality Built 
Homes Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 
regulations at the Oakwood Estates development located in 
King George County, Virginia. The State Water Control 
Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 
associated with the Oakwood Estates development. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the named 
Department of Environmental Quality office or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 
comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from March 5, 2019, through April 4, 2019. 

Notice of Community Meeting and Public Comment 
Period for Water Quality Study Total Maximum Daily 

Load for the Upper Bullpasture River 
Community meeting: March 12, 2019, at 6 p.m. at the 
Stonewall Ruritan Hall, 67 Bullpasture River Road, 
McDowell, VA 24458. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) and its contractors, Virginia Tech Biological Systems 
Engineering Department, will present a draft water quality 
study known as a total maximum daily load (TMDL) for the 
Upper Bullpasture River and its tributaries in Highland 
County, Virginia. The river is listed on the § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations of 
Virginia's water quality standards for recreational use. This is 
an opportunity for local residents to learn about the condition 
of the river and provide input on the draft report. A public 
comment period will follow the meeting (March 13, 2019, 
through April 11, 2019). In the event of inclement weather, 
the meeting will be held on March 19, 2019, at the same time 
and location, and the public comment period will be extended 
accordingly. 

Meeting description: A public informational meeting will be 
held to share a draft water quality study for the Upper 
Bullpasture River with the watershed community. This study 
was developed with input from local stakeholders, who were 
invited to provide information on potential sources of bacteria 
in the watershed and needed reductions through participation 
in a technical advisory committee. Section 303(d) of the 
Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of 
Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for pollutants 
responsible for each impaired water contained in Virginia's 
§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. The meeting will be 
open to the public and all are welcome. 

Description of study: The upper portion of the Bullpasture 
River, located in Highland County, Virginia is impaired for 
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the "recreational use" water quality standard, meaning that 
there is too much E. coli bacteria present in river. The 
impaired segment begins at the headwaters of the river at the 
Virginia-West Virginia border and extends to just below the 
confluence with Davis Run south of McDowell. Excessive 
bacteria levels may pose a threat to human health; therefore, a 
bacteria standard was established to preserve recreational uses 
in Virginia's waterbodies. This water quality study reports on 
the sources of bacteria and recommends reductions to meet a 
TMDL for the impaired segment of the river. A TMDL is the 
total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still 
meet water quality standards. To restore water quality in the 
Upper Bullpasture River, bacteria levels will need to be 
reduced to the TMDL amount. Through this process, Virginia 
agencies partnered with a technical advisory committee made 
up of local stakeholders, which met several times to identify 
sources of bacteria in the upper portion of the river and 
provided feedback on the reductions needed from these 
sources to meet the TMDL. 

In addition to presenting the draft TMDL study to local 
stakeholders, the meeting will serve as an opportunity to 
solicit input on next steps in the water quality improvement 
process in the Bullpasture River. Initial plans for this effort 
included development of an implementation plan for the 
TMDL following completion of the study. The purpose of the 
implementation plan is to outline the actions necessary to 
meet the water quality improvement goals described in the 
study. Such a plan typically includes best management 
practices to reduce pollutant loading to the waterway, 
associated costs and benefits, a timeline for implementation, 
and education and outreach strategies to encourage 
participation. Completion of a TMDL implementation plan 
may open the door for additional technical assistance and cost 
share funding to support implementation actions in the 
watershed. Based on local input during TMDL development, 
interest in proceeding with an implementation plan for the 
TMDL in the Bullpasture River watershed has been limited. 
Since the TMDL process is largely voluntary, local support is 
critical to success. Thus, the public comment period for the 
draft TMDL study will also include an invitation for 
comments regarding appropriate next steps in the watershed, 
and more specifically, whether the process should be 
continued to include TMDL implementation plan 
development beginning in spring or summer 2019. 

How to comment and participate: All meetings in support of 
TMDL development are open to the public and all interested 
parties are welcome. Written comments will be accepted 
through April 11, 2019, and should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person submitting the 
comments. For more information, or to submit written 

comments, please contact Nesha McRae, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, P.O. Box 
3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-7850, 
FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 
BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators. 

Publication: 35:12 VA.R. 1625-1635, February 4, 2019 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1629, 18VAC95-20-380 B 1, add "administrator" after 
"home"  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4984; Filed February 12, 2019, 4:49 p.m. 
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