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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Mark J. 

Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

April 2019 through April 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:17 March 27, 2019 April 15, 2019 

35:18 April 10, 2019 April 29, 2019 

35:19 April 24, 2019 May 13, 2019 

35:20 May 8, 2019 May 27, 2019 

35:21 May 22, 2019 June 10, 2019 

35:22 June 5, 2019 June 24, 2019 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-40. Charitable Gaming 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Nathan A. Freels, Powerhouse Gaming. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petitioner requests that the 

Charitable Gaming Board amend Charitable Gaming 

Regulations to allow "for the calculation of Use of Proceeds 

be adjusted such that electronic pulltabs are calculated as 2% 

of the charitable gaming gross receipts specifically realized 

from the use of electronic pulltabs." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Charitable 

Gaming Board will consider this request at its next scheduled 

meeting following the public comment period. This meeting 

will occur on June 18, 2019. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 7, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, or email 

michael.menefee@cdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-26; Filed February 18, 2019, 12:31 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND  
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Catherine Satterfield. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To recognize health care 

organizations accredited by DNV-GL Healthcare for approval 

of continuing education. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on March 18, 2019, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment 

ending April 17, 2019. Following receipt of all comments on 

the petition to amend regulations, the board will decide 

whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. This 

matter will be on the board's agenda for its first meeting after 

the public comment period, which will be on a date in July 

yet to be determined. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-29; Filed February 26, 2019, 9:43 a.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Linda Thurby-Hay. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To revise all regulations 

relating to the registration and practice of clinical nurse 

specialists. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be published on March 18, 

2019, in the Virginia Register of Regulations and also posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment ending 

April 17, 2019. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether 

to make any changes to the regulatory language. This matter 

will be on the board's agenda for its first meeting after the 

public comment period, which is scheduled for May 21, 2019. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-28; Filed February 26, 2019, 4:15 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Rosemarie Curley. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To add the National Strength 

and Conditioning Association (NSCA) to the list of 

organizations approved as continuing education providers. 

mailto:michael.menefee@cdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the board meeting on 

February 19, 2019, the board voted to refer the matter to the 

Legislative/Regulatory Committee for further review and to 

include the possible amendment in the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action that will be published pursuant to a 

periodic review of 18VAC112-20, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-14; Filed February 20, 2019, 10:16 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL  
SAFETY ACTION PROGRAM 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Ellen Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Ellen Hites, as a 

citizen of the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-

4007 of the Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition 

for the following amendment of Virginia Administrative 

Code 24VAC35-60-50. Currently, Virginia statute 24VAC35-

60-50 D, 9 reads: 'D. Service providers may charge offenders 

for ignition interlock services at rates up to, but not to exceed, 

the following:... 9. $50 for violation resets, when the violation 

is determined to be the fault of the offender.' As the law 

exists, in the event of 'mouth alcohol,' machine malfunction, 

or one of the host of non-ethanol readings expected by 

interlock companies for compounds in personal hygiene 

products, ignition interlock providers can withhold citizens' 

ability to utilize their personal vehicle until they provide the 

interlock company $50. This is tantamount to extortion. Until 

all evidence can be considered in a court of law, a violation 

cannot be determined. Due to this fact, a violation reset fee 

cannot be collected until a 'violation' can be determined by a 

judge. I propose that 24VAC35-60-50, within section D, #9, 

which allows a $50 reset fee to be collected by ignition 

interlock providers, be removed in its entirety. Currently, 

ASAP case managers are precluded from considering or 

accepting any evidence aside from the devices' failed 

readings. Employing circular logic, Section IV of the VASAP 

Process and Procedures Manual states: 'Under no 

circumstances shall the ASAP accept any other means of 

clearing a failing BAC registered on an interlock device other 

than the device itself. This includes, but is not limited to 

preliminary breath test machines, urine screens, etc...' When a 

petition was filed in 2018 to allow case managers to consider 

additional evidence when citing a violation, VASAP's 

Richard Foy responded with the following statements: 'The 

petitioner is suggesting that ASAP case managers...accept and 

consider additional evidence submitted by the client to 

include such things as urine screens, blood tests, preliminary 

breath tests, and police or other eyewitness testimony. All of 

that is to be considered prior to determining whether an 

ignition interlock violation occurred. Doing this would raise 

some questions and concerns. That's something the court 

would consider, and VASAP is not going to be comfortable 

in considering those results because it tends to put us in a 

judicial role. We believe any additional information...would 

be best presented to the court in a non-compliance hearing...' 

Ignition interlock machines use inherently non-ethanol 

specific electrochemical fuel cell technology. This means an 

ethanol violation may be suspected by a case manager, but all 

evidence must be considered to determine an ethanol 

violation, and only a judge can make that determination upon 

preponderance of the evidence. Commissioners, please amend 

this statute and remove #9 from 24VAC35-60-50, section D. 

It's wholly unfair to charge Virginians a 'violation' reset fee 

prior to conviction. Very Sincerely, Cynthia Hites." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Commission on 

Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program will consider this 

petition at its quarterly meeting on September 13, 2019. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 28, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-27; Filed February 15, 2019, 11:59 a.m. 

 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 

3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-

2248 or email jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

For summer flounder commercially harvested offshore 

(federal waters) and landed in Virginia, the amendments 

set the landing dates as March 1 through April 19 and the 

possession and landing limits as 10,000 pounds. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, and E 

of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection J of 

this section. 

C. From March 1 through April 30 19, it shall be unlawful 

for any person harvesting summer flounder outside of 

Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,500 10,000 

pounds of summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From October 16 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,000 pounds of 

summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or vessel 

issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit 

and owned and operated by a legal Virginia Commercial 

Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a Restricted Summer 

Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted to a possession and 

landing limit of 200 pounds of summer flounder, except as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

F. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

G. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection J of this section. A 

buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder from 

a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has 

satisfied the requirements described in subsection J of this 

section.  

H. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

I. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

J. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

K. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

L. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5849; Filed February 27, 2019, 1:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees (amending 9VAC20-

90-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1402.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 17, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects a citation to the Virginia Waste 

Management Act. 

9VAC20-90-40. Administration of regulation.  

A. The Virginia Waste Management Board promulgates and 

enforces regulations that it deems necessary to carry out its 

powers and duties.  

B. The director is authorized and directed to administer 

these regulations in accordance with the Virginia Waste 

Management Act, §§ 10.1-1400 through 10.1-1457 10.1-1458 

of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5537; Filed February 20, 2019, 8:01 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (adding 18VAC110-60-10 

through 18VAC110-60-330).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3447 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

March 26, 2019 - 9:10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: May 17, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia states that 

the board shall promulgate regulations to implement the 

registration process for practitioners and patients. The 

regulations shall include (i) a mechanism for sufficiently 

identifying the practitioner issuing the written certification, 

the patient being treated by the practitioner, and, if such 

patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 

§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia, the patient's parent or 

legal guardian; (ii) a process for ensuring that any changes in 

the information are reported in an appropriate timeframe; and 

(iii) a prohibition for the patient to be issued a written 

certification by more than one practitioner during any given 

time period. 

Section 54.1-3442.6 A of the Code of Virginia states that the 

board shall establish an application fee and other general 

requirements for such application, and § 54.1-3442.6 B states 

that each permit shall expire annually on a date determined by 

the board in regulation. Section 54.1-3442.6 C states that the 

board shall adopt regulations establishing health, safety, and 

security requirements for pharmaceutical processors. The 

regulations shall include requirements for (i) physical 

standards; (ii) location restrictions; (iii) security systems and 

controls; (iv) minimum equipment and resources; (v) 

recordkeeping; (vi) labeling and packaging; (vii) quarterly 

inspections; (viii) processes for safely and securely 

cultivating Cannabis plants intended for producing 

cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil, for producing cannabidiol oil 

and THC-A oil, and for dispensing and delivering in person 

cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil to a registered patient or, if 

such patient is a minor or an incapacitated adult as defined in 

§ 18.2-369, such patient's parent or legal guardian; (ix) a 

maximum number of marijuana plants a pharmaceutical 

processor may possess at any one time; (x) the secure 

disposal of plant remains; and (xi) a process for registering a 

cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil product. Section 54.1-3442.6 

E states that the board shall require an applicant for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit to submit to fingerprinting 

and provide personal descriptive information to be forwarded 

along with his fingerprints through the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for 

the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information 

regarding the applicant.  

Section 54.1-3442.7 A of the Code of Virginia states that the 

board shall establish in regulation an amount of cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil that constitutes a 90-day supply to treat or 

alleviate the symptoms of a patient's diagnosed condition or 

disease. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is 

compliance with Chapter 577 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly 

and with Chapters 246 and 809 and Chapter 567 of the 2018 

Acts of Assembly, which mandated the adoption of 

regulations to implement the acts. The goals of the proposed 

regulation are accessibility of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

for patients with any disease or condition diagnosed by a 

physician licensed in the Commonwealth in compliance with 

the conditions and restraints imposed by the statute and in 

consideration of the need for security of the facility and its 

contents and the integrity of the dispensed product. 

Section 54.1-3442.6 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 

board to "adopt regulations establishing health, safety, and 

security requirements for pharmaceutical processors." The 

safeguards put in place in statute and regulation are essential 

to protect the health and safety of the general public and, in 

particular, the health of the patients to whom cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil is dispensed. 

Substance: The proposed regulation sets out the requirements 

for issuance of permits to pharmaceutical processors for the 

cultivation, production, and dispensing of cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil. Regulations also establish requirements for 

registrations of physicians for writing certification to 

registered patients, parents, or legal guardians for possession 

of such oils. The proposed new chapter contains six parts, as 

follows: 

Part I establishes definitions and fees to be charged to 

applicants, registrants, and permitted processors.  

Part II, as specified in the legislation, establishes 

requirements for the issuance or denial of registration for 

certifying physicians, patients, parents, or legal guardians.  

Part III sets out the application and approval process for 

issuing a permit to a pharmaceutical processor, including the 

information that must be submitted, the requirements for 

issuing conditional and then final approval, the rules for 

notification to the board of any changes or of closure of the 

processor, and the causes for action against a processor. 
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Part IV sets out the provisions for personnel at the 

pharmaceutical processor, including a requirement that a 

pharmacist with a current, unrestricted Virginia license 

provide personal supervision on the premises at all times 

during hours of operation or whenever the processor is 

accessed. It includes requirements for employee training, 

supervision of pharmacy technicians, and the responsibilities 

of the pharmacist-in-charge.  

Part V sets out provisions for the operation of a 

pharmaceutical processor, including requirements for 

inventory, security, storage and handling, recordkeeping, and 

reportable events. 

Part VI establishes requirements for the cultivation, 

production, and dispensing of cannabidiol oil, including 

labeling, laboratory and testing standards, handling 

dispensing errors and quality assurance, and proper disposal. 

Issues: The advantages to the public include assurance of the 

safety and integrity of the product dispensed and security for 

the Cannabis and oils produced; there are no disadvantages to 

the public.  

The advantage to the agency is more clarity in the rules for a 

permitted facility; there are no disadvantages to the agency. 

This is a significant new program for the Board of Pharmacy 

and the Department of Health Professions in an evolving 

environment of medical marijuana with wide variance in the 

policies and models adopted across the United States and in a 

situation in which marijuana remains an illegal substance on 

the federal level. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to 20161 and 20182 legislation, the Board of 

Pharmacy (Board) proposes to establish a permanent 

regulation to replace an emergency regulation governing the 

cultivation of cannabis for production and sale of cannabidiol 

(CBD) oil and Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THC-A) oil. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. A different design would likely yield 

improved economic results for at least one proposed change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Legislation enacted in 2016 

required the Board to promulgate regulations addressing CBD 

oil and THC-A oil, including registration by the Board of 

practitioners and patients, and the issuance by the Board of 

permits for pharmaceutical processors to manufacture and 

provide these oils for the treatment of intractable epilepsy.3 

The statute authorized only neurologists and doctors that 

specialize in treatment of epilepsy to issue written certificates 

for obtaining these oils. 

CBD and THC-A are the two primary cannabinoids that occur 

naturally in the Cannabis sativa plant, most commonly known 

as cannabis. Both of these substances interact with the 

cannabinoid receptors found in the human body and brain, 

and both are minimally psychoactive, which means that they 

do not have an intoxicating effect.4 While either CBD or 

THC-A can provide relief from some of the same medical 

conditions, for some other medical conditions one may be 

better suited than the other. CBD and THC-A oils are 

normally administered orally, sublingually via an oral 

syringe, or in a capsule, but it is possible to inhale via vaping 

or a nebulizer. 

Pursuant to 2016 legislation, the Board established 

emergency regulations that became effective August 7, 2017.5 

Later, 2018 legislation required the Board to amend its 

emergency regulations to allow any doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy to recommend the oils for any diagnosed 

condition or disease that the doctor believes would benefit 

from their use. The 2018 legislation also made numerous 

other amendments to the original statute and required the 

Board to promulgate additional regulations for other aspects 

of CBD and THC-A oil production and sale.6 

Consequently, the Board proposes to establish a permanent 

comprehensive regulation governing all aspects of these oils 

(e.g., application; issuance, denial, revocation, suspension of 

licenses and certifications, their duration, and fees; 

cultivation; production; packaging; labeling; testing; 

distribution; dispensing; storage; disposal; safekeeping; 

reporting; recordkeeping; training; prohibited practices; etc.) 

for processors, doctors, employees involved, and patients or 

their legal guardians. 

The enabling legislation limits the number of permits the 

Board may issue to "one for each health service area [HSA] 

established by the Board of Health." Currently there are five 

HSAs statewide; each HSA covers nine, 26, 27, 32, and 41 

localities, respectively.  

Pursuant to the emergency regulations, the Board received 51 

applications along with a $10,000 fee per application, and 

issued five permits. These five entities will (per the 

regulation) pay an initial permit fee of $60,000 and pay an 

annual renewal fee of $10,000 for each permit. These and 

other fees would be used to cover the Board's expenses to 

evaluate applications, issue permits and certificates, conduct 

inspections, take actions for violations, etc.7  

Currently, processors are setting up their operations, and 

CBD and THC-A oils have not yet been sold; the Board 

expects sales to start sometime in 2019. Statute limits each 

registered patient to no more than a 90-day supply of CBD or 

THC-A oil in a 90-day period and states that "prior to the 

initial dispensing" of oil pursuant to each written certification, 

the patient, parent, or legal guardian must present their 

certification and a current photo identification "at the location 

of the pharmaceutical processor." Pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3, 

each such certification expires after one year. 
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The five processors will be the only entities authorized to 

produce and sell CBD and THC-A oils in their assigned HSA. 

The news media have reported on the locations of four of the 

five permitted processors, indicating facilities will be opened 

in Bristol, Staunton, Richmond, and Manassas; the location in 

the Hampton Roads-based HSA does not appear to be 

available.8 According to board staff, registered patients are 

not restricted to purchasing oils only in their HSA, and may 

purchase from any processor in the Commonwealth. As a 

result, it appears that a patient may purchase from the closest 

processor, regardless of which HSA they reside in. However, 

the patient must physically present their photo identification 

and the renewed certificate annually at the location of each 

processor they choose to purchase from. 

Estimated Economic Impact on Processors: 

Under the proposed regulatory design, an economic benefit 

would accrue to the processors. Even though they would 

incur costs associated with fees, setting up initial operations, 

and compliance with health, safety, and security 

requirements, they would apply for a permit only if they 

expect benefits would exceed the costs. In fact, because there 

is very limited competition and no price controls 

contemplated in the regulation, the permitted processors have 

the flexibility to set prices to ensure a certain level of 

revenues. Therefore, the proposed regulation should provide a 

net benefit to processors. 

Under the proposed regulatory design, the only apparent 

factor that would work to keep prices under control in a given 

HSA is the option for patients to buy oils from processors in 

other HSAs. However, depending on the distance patients 

must travel to the next-closest processor, the transportation 

costs (including charges associated with use of an authorized 

delivery agent) may offset any potential savings available 

from the lower prices offered by another processor. Any such 

potential savings may be further reduced given the statutory 

requirements that the maximum amount that can be dispensed 

(and purchased) at one time is a 90-day supply, and that a 

patient must present documentation "at the location of the 

pharmaceutical processor" once each year. 

Within the proposed regulation, other factors that may 

minimize the potential for market competition that could lead 

to lower prices include the mechanism whereby the 

incumbent processors may renew their permits annually, for 

an indefinite period of time, as long as they comply with the 

regulation. In addition, under the current statutory framework 

no more than five processors statewide may be permitted. In 

combination, these factors impact the opportunity for prices 

to be lowered through competitive forces by limiting the 

number of new firms that could enter the market. 

Estimated Economic Impact on Patients: 

The proposed regulation would benefit all patients by 

allowing them to legally purchase CBD or THC-A oil in the 

Commonwealth. The Board has issued registration cards to 

283 patients so far, even though no CBD or THC-A oil is 

available for sale, and proposes to establish certain fees for 

patients.9 Although the legal access to CBD or THC-A oil is 

the main benefit, some patients may also have peace of mind 

from carrying a registration card which may help them avoid 

potential legal issues that may otherwise result from 

possession of these oils. Because only those patients who 

value the access to these oils more than the cost of the fees 

would obtain a registration card, we can reliably infer that the 

benefits of registration would exceed the cost of registration 

for these patients.  

However, the ability of some patients to benefit from legal 

use of these oils, especially patients with lower incomes, may 

be somewhat limited if prices are higher than would 

otherwise exist if the market consisted of more than five 

processors. In addition, the distance between patient's 

location and the location of the nearest processor may be a 

limiting factor for their access to the oils, as the patients 

would have to absorb travel time and costs to purchase the 

oils or pay a delivery fee. Because the legislation only allows 

purchases to occur in five locations, it would not be 

uncommon for many patients to travel more than few hours to 

get to the nearest processor. Thus, travel costs or delivery fees 

would add to the price of oils and may limit patient access. 

Estimated Economic Impact on Practitioners: 

Similar to the patients, doctors who decide to obtain 

registration to recommend CBD or THC-A oil indicate that 

the benefits of doing so exceed the costs for them. The main 

benefits to the registered doctors are the potential to expand 

their customer base through patients who would benefit from 

these oils, as well as providing more effective treatment for 

current patients. The proposed regulation limits the number of 

such patients a doctor may treat to 600 at any given time, but 

allows the doctor to petition the Board for a higher limit. The 

proposed regulation also establishes a $50 fee for initial 

registration, a $50 fee for annual renewal, and $50 for 

replacement certificate to recommend the oils. According to 

DHP, there are 230 registered doctors. 

Other Estimated Economic Impacts: 

The issuance of certificates and permits to patients, doctors, 

and processors and enforcement of the proposed rules would 

require additional staff time for the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP). DHP has already dedicated two 

employees on a part-time basis to meet the current workload 

demands, and anticipates that three more full-time positions 

would be needed once the oils are offered for sale. The 

funding source for the four positions will be the fees 

collected. 

The five localities where the processors will be operating 

would see a positive impact from this regulation as the 

processors hire new employees to grow and process the plant 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 15 Virginia Register of Regulations March 18, 2019 

1968 

and get the final products ready for sale. However, the five 

localities may also have to deal with attempts to steal these 

oils or the cannabis plants from the processors or their 

delivery agents. 

Finally, the proposed regulation is expected to reduce crime. 

The enabling legislation made what used to be a misdemeanor 

crime a lawful activity, and made the certificate from the 

Board an affirmative defense against any misdemeanor 

charge the patient may face for possession of CBD and THC-

A oils. As a result, the number of misdemeanor charges and 

convictions for possession of these oils should decline. A 

decline in crime would free up the resources required for 

enforcement, prosecution, and incarceration of a number of 

cases and reduce the burden on the criminal justice system. 

Alternative Regulatory Designs: 

As discussed above, the proposed regulation would produce a 

net benefit to processors, patients, and doctors. However, 

statutory limitations on the number of processors, plus the 

impact of transportation and other costs, could limit the 

ability of some patients to benefit from the lower prices that 

would likely exist in a more competitive market. If changes to 

this statutory framework were made, alternative regulatory 

designs could be pursued that could potentially allow patients 

to more fully realize the benefits resulting from this 

regulation. These alternatives include either increasing the 

number of processors, or limiting the number of annual 

renewals, in order to allow additional processors to enter the 

market. If either course was chosen, the Board could then 

request new proposals with a lowest price guarantee (e.g., per 

ounce of the oils) for the duration of the permit, or with 

higher permit fees. These alternatives could increase the net 

benefits to patients by lowering prices or providing revenues 

that could be used to support compassionate need programs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 

CBD and THC-A oil processors, patients, and doctors. 

Currently, there are five processors with conditional approval, 

283 registered patients, and 230 registered doctors. The 

number of registered patients and doctors would likely 

significantly increase when the processors actually start 

selling CBD or THC-A oil.10 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 

would disproportionately affect the five particular localities 

where the processors are operating. These affected localities 

would likely see an increase in economic activity stemming 

from increased employment and business activity by the 

processors. However, there may also be instances of theft at 

the processor facilities or from the processor's delivery 

agents. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

would have a positive impact on employment, particularly in 

the areas where processors operate. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation would have a large positive impact on the 

asset value of processors as a result of the potential perpetual 

price setting power they are granted. 

Real Estate Development Costs. Except for potential impacts, 

near the location of the five processors the proposed 

amendments would not directly affect real estate development 

costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

not impose costs on small businesses. Whether any of the 

processors would qualify as a small business is not known. If 

they would qualify as small businesses, the other effects on 

them would be the same as the impact on processors 

described above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not impose adverse impacts on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed regulation does not impose adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed regulation may adversely affect 

particular localities in terms of the increased risk of theft at 

the processor facilities or from the processor's delivery 

agents. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not impose 

adverse impacts on other entities. 

____________________________ 

1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0577 

2http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0246 & 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0567 

3In the statute, cannabidiol oil is defined as processed Cannabis plant extract 
that contains at least 15 percent cannabidiol but no more than five percent 

tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the resin of the Cannabis plant that 

contains at least 50 milligrams of cannabidiol per milliliter but not more than 
five percent tetrahydrocannabinol; and THC-A oil is defined as processed 

Cannabis plant extract that contains at least 15 percent tetrahydrocannabinol 

acid but not more than five percent tetrahydrocannabinol, or a dilution of the 
resin of the Cannabis plant that contains at least 50 milligrams of 

tetrahydrocannabinol acid per milliliter but not more than five percent 

tetrahydrocannabinol. 

4National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, The Health 

Effects of Cannabis and Cannabinoids: The Current State of Evidence and 

Recommendations for Research. National Academies Press (US); January 12, 
2017. 

5http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7740 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?161+ful+CHAP0577
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0246
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0567
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=7740
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6http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0567 

7In addition to these permit and renewal fees, the proposed regulation 

establishes other fees: $100 for change of a processor name or of any other 
information provided on the application; $1,000 for any acquisition, 

expansion, remodel, change of location; $1,000 for re-inspection; and $25 for 

registration of each CBD or THC-A oil product. 

8Richmond Times-Dispatch, Virginia regulators pick five companies to open 

state's first medical cannabis dispensaries, September 25, 2018. 

9The board proposes to establish a $50 fee for initial registration of a patient, 
a $50 fee for annual renewal, a $25 fee for initial registration of a parent or 

guardian (in the emergency regulation, this fee was $50), a $25 fee for 

renewal of parent or guardian registration, and a $25 fee for replacement of 
lost, stolen, destroyed certificates. 

10According to a presentation made to the Board on July 1, 2016, 1% of the 

population have epilepsy and 1/3 of this population do not respond to 
currently approved drug therapy, which translates to 27,000 Virginians. 

Source: http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting\30\24620 

\Minutes_DHP_24620_v3.pdf 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 577 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

Chapter 613 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly, and Chapters 

246 and 809 and Chapter 567 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy is promulgating a new 

chapter, 18VAC110-60, governing the registration process 

for a patient who has been issued a written certification for 

the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and the issuance of 

a permit for a pharmaceutical processor to manufacture 

and provide cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil to a registered 

patient. The proposed chapter sets out the requirements for 

issuance of permits to pharmaceutical processors for the 

cultivation, production, and dispensing of cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil and establishes requirements for 

registrations of physicians for writing certification to 

registered patients, parents, or legal guardians for 

possession of such oils. 

The proposed chapter establishes (i) definitions and fees to 

be charged to applicants, registrants, and permitted 

processors; (ii) as specified in the legislation, 

requirements for issuance or denial of registration for 

certifying physicians, patients, parents, or legal guardians; 

(iii) the application and approval process for issuing a 

permit to a pharmaceutical processor, including the 

information that must be submitted, the requirements for 

issuing conditional and then final approval, the rules for 

notification to the board of any changes or of closure of 

the processor, and the causes for action against a 

processor; (iv) provisions for personnel at the 

pharmaceutical processor, including a requirement that a 

pharmacist with a current, unrestricted Virginia license 

provide personal supervision on the premises at all times 

during hours of operation or whenever the processor is 

accessed and requirements for employee training and 

supervision of pharmacy technicians and responsibilities 

of the pharmacist-in-charge; (v) provisions for the 

operation of a pharmaceutical processor, including 

requirements for inventory, security, storage and handling, 

recordkeeping, and reportable events; and (vi) 

requirements for the cultivation, production, and 

dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, including 

labeling, laboratory and testing standards, handling 

dispensing errors, quality assurance, and proper disposal. 

CHAPTER 60 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PHARMACEUTICAL 

PROCESSORS 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC110-60-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3408.3 

and 54.1-3442.5 of the Code of Virginia, the following words 

and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"90-day supply" means the amount of cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil reasonably necessary to ensure an uninterrupted 

availability of supply for a 90-day period for registered 

patients, which cannot exceed 60 fluid ounces. 

"Board" means the Board of Pharmacy. 

"Certification" means a written statement, consistent with 

requirements of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia, issued 

by a practitioner for the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

for treatment of or to alleviate the symptoms of any 

diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner 

to benefit from such use.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following was 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the oil:  

1. Variation from the intended oil to be dispensed, 

including: 

a. Incorrect oil; 

b. Incorrect oil strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0567
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting/30/24620/Minutes_DHP_24620_v3.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=meeting/30/24620/Minutes_DHP_24620_v3.pdf
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c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with 

a patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of an oil to the incorrect patient.  

4. An act or omission relating to the dispensing of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil that results in, or may 

reasonably be expected to result in, injury to or death of a 

registered patient or results in any detrimental change to 

the medical treatment for the patient. 

"Electronic tracking system" means an electronic radio-

frequency identification (RFID) seed-to-sale tracking system 

that tracks the Cannabis from either the seed or immature 

plant stage until the cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil are sold to 

a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian or until the 

Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, and extracts, 

are destroyed. The electronic tracking system shall include, at 

a minimum, a central inventory management system and 

standard and ad hoc reporting functions as required by the 

board and shall be capable of otherwise satisfying required 

recordkeeping. 

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmaceutical processor and is 

available as needed.  

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge. 

"Production" or "produce" means the manufacture, planting, 

preparation, cultivation, growing, harvesting, propagation, 

conversion, or processing of marijuana, (i) directly or 

indirectly by extraction from substances of natural origin, (ii) 

independently by means of chemical synthesis, or (iii) by a 

combination of extraction and chemical synthesis. 

"Production" or "produce" includes any packaging or 

repackaging of the substance or labeling or relabeling of its 

container. 

"Qualifying patient" means a Virginia resident who has 

received from a practitioner, as defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of 

the Code of Virginia, a written certification for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for treatment of or to alleviate 

the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease. 

"Registered patient" means a qualifying patient who has 

been issued a registration by the board for the dispensing of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to such patient. 

"Registration" means an identification card or other 

document issued by the board that identifies a person as a 

practitioner or a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian. 

"Resident" means a person whose principal place of 

residence is within the Commonwealth as evidenced by a 

federal or state income tax return or a current Virginia driver's 

license. If a person is a minor, residency may be established 

by evidence of Virginia residency by a parent or legal 

guardian. 

"Temperature and humidity" means temperature and 

humidity maintained in the following ranges: 

Room or Phase Temperature Humidity 

Mother room 65 - 75° 50% - 60% 

Nursery phase 71 - 85° F 65% - 75% 

Vegetation phase 71 - 85° F 55% - 65% 

Flower/harvest phase 71 - 85° F 55% - 60% 

Drying/extraction 

rooms 

< 75° F 55% - 60% 

18VAC110-60-20. Fees. 

A. Fees are required by the board as specified in this section. 

Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not 

be refundable. 

B. Registration of practitioner. 

1. Initial registration. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration. $50 

3. Replacement of registration for a 

qualifying practitioner whose information 

has changed or whose original registration 

certificate has been lost, stolen, or 

destroyed. 

$50 

C. Registration by a qualifying patient, parent, or legal 

guardian. 

1. Initial registration of a patient. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration of a 

patient. 

3. Initial registration of a parent or legal 

guardian. 

4. Annual renewal of registration of a 

parent or guardian. 

$50 

$25 

$25 

5. Replacement of registration for a 

qualifying patient, parent, or legal 

guardian whose original registration 

certificate has been lost, stolen, or 

destroyed. 

$25 
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D. Pharmaceutical processor permit. 

1. Application. $10,000 

2. Initial permit. $60,000 

3. Annual renewal of permit. $10,000 

4. Change of name of processor. $100 

5. Change of PIC or any other 

information provided on the permit 

application. 

$100 

6. Any acquisition, expansion, remodel, 

or change of location requiring an 

inspection. 

$1,000 

7. Reinspection fee. 

8. Registration of each cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil product. 

$1,000 

$25  

Part II 

Requirements for Practitioners and Patients 

18VAC110-60-30. Requirements for a practitioner issuing 

a certification. 

A. Prior to issuing a certification for cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil for any diagnosed condition or disease, the 

practitioner shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-3408.3 of 

the Code of Virginia, shall submit an application and fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC110-60-20, and shall be registered with 

the board.  

B. A practitioner issuing a certification shall: 

1. Conduct an assessment and evaluation of the patient in 

order to develop a treatment plan for the patient, which 

shall include an examination of the patient and the patient's 

medical history, prescription history, and current medical 

condition, including an in-person physical examination; 

2. Diagnose the patient; 

3. Be of the opinion that the potential benefits of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil would likely outweigh the 

health risks of such use to the qualifying patient; 

4. Explain proper administration and the potential risks and 

benefits of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the 

qualifying patient and, if the qualifying patient lacks legal 

capacity, to a parent or legal guardian prior to issuing the 

written certification;  

5. Be available or ensure that another practitioner, as 

defined in § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia, is 

available to provide follow-up care and treatment to the 

qualifying patient, including physical examinations, to 

determine the efficacy of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for 

treating the diagnosed condition or disease; 

6. Comply with generally accepted standards of medical 

practice, except to the extent such standards would counsel 

against certifying a qualifying patient for cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil;  

7. Maintain medical records in accordance with 18VAC85-

20-26 for all patients for whom the practitioner has issued 

a certification; and 

8. Access or direct the practitioner's delegate to access the 

Virginia Prescription Monitoring Program of the 

Department of Health Professions for the purpose of 

determining which, if any, covered substances have been 

dispensed to the patient. 

C. Patient care and evaluation shall not occur by 

telemedicine for at least the first year of certification. 

Thereafter, the practitioner shall use his professional 

judgment to determine the manner and frequency of patient 

care and evaluation. 

D. A practitioner shall not delegate the responsibility of 

diagnosing a patient or determining whether a patient should 

be issued a certification. Employees under the direct 

supervision of the practitioner may assist with preparing a 

certification, so long as the final certification is approved and 

signed by the practitioner before it is issued to the patient. 

E. The practitioner shall provide instructions for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the patient, parent, or 

guardian, as applicable, and shall also securely transmit such 

instructions to the permitted pharmaceutical processor. 

F. A practitioner shall not issue certifications for cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil to more than 600 patients at any given time. 

However, the practitioner may petition the Board of 

Pharmacy and Board of Medicine for an increased number of 

patients for whom certifications may be issued, upon 

submission of evidence that the limitation represents potential 

patient harm.  

G. Upon request, a practitioner shall make a copy of medical 

records available to an agent of the Board of Medicine or 

Board of Pharmacy for the purpose of enabling the board to 

ensure compliance with the law and regulations or to 

investigate a possible violation.   

18VAC110-60-40. Prohibited practices for practitioners. 

A. A practitioner who issues certifications shall not: 

1. Directly or indirectly accept, solicit, or receive anything 

of value from any person associated with a pharmaceutical 

processor or provider of paraphernalia, excluding 

information on products or educational materials on the 

benefits and risks of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

2. Offer a discount or any other thing of value to a 

qualifying patient, parent, or guardian based on the 

patient's agreement or decision to use a particular 
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pharmaceutical processor or cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

product; 

3. Examine a qualifying patient for purposes of diagnosing 

the condition or disease at a location where cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil is dispensed or produced; or 

4. Directly or indirectly benefit from a patient obtaining a 

certification. Such prohibition shall not prohibit a 

practitioner from charging an appropriate fee for the 

patient visit. 

B. A practitioner who issues certifications, and such 

practitioner's coworker, employee, spouse, parent, or child, 

shall not have a direct or indirect financial interest in a 

pharmaceutical processor or any other entity that may benefit 

from a qualifying patient's acquisition, purchase, or use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, including any formal or 

informal agreement whereby a pharmaceutical processor or 

other person provides compensation if the practitioner issues 

a certification for a qualifying patient or steers a qualifying 

patient to a specific pharmaceutical processor or cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil product. 

C. A practitioner shall not issue a certification for himself or 

for family members, employees, or coworkers. 

D. A practitioner shall not provide product samples 

containing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil other than those 

approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

18VAC110-60-50. Registration of a patient, parent, or 

legal guardian. 

A. A qualifying patient for whom a practitioner has issued a 

certification shall register with the board in accordance with 

this section. If the qualifying patient is a minor or an 

incapacitated adult, the qualifying patient's parent or legal 

guardian shall register with the board in accordance with this 

section. For a registration application to be considered 

complete, the following items shall be submitted: 

1. A copy of the certification issued by a registered 

practitioner;  

2. Proof of residency of the qualifying patient and proof of 

residency of a parent or legal guardian, if applicable, such 

as a government-issued identification card or tax receipt;  

3. Proof of identity of the qualifying patient and, if the 

patient is a minor, proof of identity of the parent or legal 

guardian in the form of a government-issued identification 

card; 

4. Proof of the qualifying patient's age in the form of a 

birth certificate or other government-issued identification; 

5. Payment of the appropriate fees; and 

6. Such other information as the board may require to 

determine the applicant's suitability for registration or to 

protect public health and safety. 

B. A qualifying patient shall not be issued a written 

certification by more than one practitioner during a given 

time period. 

C. Patients, parents, and legal guardians issued a registration 

shall carry their registrations with them whenever they are in 

possession of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

18VAC110-60-60. Denial of a qualifying patient, parent, 

or legal guardian registration application. 

A. The board may deny an application or renewal of the 

registration of a qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian if 

the applicant: 

1. Does not meet the requirements set forth in law or 

regulation or fails to provide complete information on the 

application form; 

2. Does not provide acceptable proof of identity, residency, 

or age of the patient to the board; 

3. Provides false, misleading, or incorrect information to 

the board; 

4. Has had a qualifying registration of a qualifying patient, 

parent, or legal guardian denied, suspended, or revoked by 

the board in the previous six months;  

5. Has a certification issued by a practitioner who is not 

authorized to certify patients for cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil; or 

6. Has a prior conviction of a violation of any law 

pertaining to controlled substances. 

B. If the board denies an application or renewal of a 

qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian applicant, the 

board shall provide the applicant with notice of the grounds 

for the denial and shall inform the applicant of the right to 

request a hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC110-60-70. Reporting requirements for 

practitioners, patients, parents, or legal guardians. 

A. A practitioner shall report to the board, on a form 

prescribed by the board, the death of a registered patient or a 

change in status involving a registered patient for whom the 

practitioner has issued a certification if such change affects 

the patient's continued eligibility to use cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil or the practitioner's inability to continue treating 

the patient. A practitioner shall report such death, change of 

status, or inability to continue treatment not more than 15 

days after the practitioner becomes aware of such fact. 

B. A patient, parent, or legal guardian who has been issued a 

registration shall notify the board of any change in the 

information provided to the board not later than 15 days after 

such change. The patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 

report changes that include a change in name, address, contact 

information, medical status of the patient, or change of the 
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certifying practitioner. The patient, parent, or legal guardian 

shall report such changes on a form prescribed by the board. 

C. If a patient, parent, or legal guardian notifies the board of 

any change that results in information on the patient, parent, 

or legal guardian's registration being inaccurate, the board 

shall issue a replacement registration. Upon receipt of a new 

registration, the qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian 

shall destroy in a nonrecoverable manner the registration that 

was replaced. 

D. If a patient, parent, or legal guardian becomes aware of 

the loss, theft, or destruction of the registration of such 

patient, parent, or legal guardian, the patient, parent, or legal 

guardian shall notify the board not later than five business 

days after becoming aware of the loss, theft, or destruction, 

and submit the fee for a replacement registration. The board 

shall inactivate the initial registration upon receiving such 

notice and issue a replacement registration upon receiving the 

applicable fee, provided the applicant continues to satisfy the 

requirements of law and regulation. 

18VAC110-60-80. Proper storage and disposal of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil by patients, parents, or legal 

guardians. 

A. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 

exercise reasonable caution to store cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil in a manner to prevent theft, loss, or access by 

unauthorized persons. 

B. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 

dispose of all usable cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in the 

registered patient, parent, or legal guardian's possession no 

later than 10 calendar days after the expiration of the patient's 

registration if such registration is not renewed, or sooner 

should the patient no longer wish to possess cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil. A registered patient, parent, or legal guardian 

shall complete such disposal by one of the following 

methods: 

1. By removing the oil from the original container and 

mixing it with an undesirable substance such as used 

coffee grounds, dirt, or kitty litter. The mixture shall be 

placed in a sealable bag, empty can, or other container to 

prevent the drug from leaking or breaking out of a garbage 

bag. 

2. By transferring it to law enforcement via a medication 

drop-box or drug take-back event if permissible under state 

and federal law. 

18VAC110-60-90. Revocation or suspension of a 

qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian registration. 

The board may revoke or suspend the registration of a 

patient, parent, or legal guardian under the following 

circumstances: 

1. The patient's practitioner notifies the board that the 

practitioner is withdrawing the written certification 

submitted on behalf of the patient, and 30 days after the 

practitioner's withdrawal of the written certification the 

patient has not obtained a valid written certification from a 

different practitioner; 

2. The patient, parent, or legal guardian provided false, 

misleading, or incorrect information to the board; 

3. The patient, parent, or legal guardian is no longer a 

resident of Virginia; 

4. The patient, parent, or legal guardian obtained more than 

a 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in a 90-

day period; 

5. The patient, parent, or legal guardian provided or sold 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to any person, including 

another registered patient, parent, or legal guardian; 

6. The patient, parent, or legal guardian permitted another 

person to use the registration of the patient, parent, or legal 

guardian; 

7. The patient, parent, or legal guardian tampered, falsified, 

altered, modified, or allowed another person to tamper, 

falsify, alter, or modify the registration of the patient, 

parent, or legal guardian; 

8. The registration of the patient, parent, or legal guardian 

was lost, stolen, or destroyed, and the patient, parent, or 

legal guardian failed to notify the board or notified the 

board of such incident more than five business days after 

becoming aware that the registration was lost, stolen, or 

destroyed; 

9. The patient, parent, or legal guardian failed to notify the 

board of a change in registration information or notified 

the board of such change more than 14 days after the 

change; or 

10. The patient, parent, or legal guardian violated any 

federal or state law or regulation. 

Part III 

Application and Approval Process for Pharmaceutical 

Processors 

18VAC110-60-100. Publication of notice for submission of 

applications. 

A. The board shall publish a notice of open applications for 

pharmaceutical processor permits. Such notice shall include 

information on how to obtain and complete an application, 

the required fees, the criteria for issuance of a permit, and the 

deadline for receipt of applications. 

B. The board shall have the right to amend the notice of 

open applications prior to the deadline for submitting an 

application. Such amended notice shall be published in the 

same manner as the original notice of open applications. 
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C. The board shall have the right to cancel a notice of open 

applications prior to the award of a pharmaceutical processor 

permit. 

18VAC110-60-110. Application process for 

pharmaceutical processor permits. 

A. The application process for permits shall occur in three 

stages: submission of initial application, award of conditional 

approval, and grant of a pharmaceutical processor permit. 

B. Submission of initial application. 

1. A pharmaceutical processor permit applicant shall 

submit the required application fee and form with the 

following information and documentation:  

a. The name and address of the applicant and the 

applicant's owners; 

b. The location within the health service area established 

by the State Board of Health for the pharmaceutical 

processor that is to be operated under such permit; 

c. Detailed information regarding the applicant's financial 

position indicating all assets, liabilities, income, and net 

worth to demonstrate the financial capacity of the 

applicant to build and operate a facility to cultivate 

Cannabis plants intended only for the production and 

dispensing of cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil pursuant to 

§§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3442.7 of the Code of Virginia, 

which may include evidence of an escrow account, letter 

of credit, or performance surety bond; 

d. Details regarding the applicant's plans for security to 

maintain adequate control against the diversion, theft, or 

loss of the Cannabis plants and the cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil; 

e. Documents sufficient to establish that the applicant is 

authorized to conduct business in Virginia and that all 

applicable state and local building, fire, and zoning 

requirements and local ordinances are met or will be met 

prior to issuance of a permit; 

f. Information necessary for the board to conduct a 

criminal background check on the applicant; 

g. Information about any previous or current involvement 

in the medical cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil industry; 

h. Whether the applicant has ever applied for a permit or 

registration related to medical cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil in any state and, if so, the status of that application, 

permit, or registration, to include any disciplinary action 

taken by any state on the permit, the registration, or an 

associated license; 

i. Any business and marketing plans related to the 

operation of the pharmaceutical processor or the sale of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

j. Text and graphic materials showing the exterior 

appearance of the proposed pharmaceutical processor; 

k. A blueprint of the proposed pharmaceutical processor 

that shall show and identify (i) the square footage of each 

area of the facility; (ii) the location of all safes or vaults 

used to store the Cannabis plants and oils; (iii) the 

location of all areas that may contain Cannabis plants, 

cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil; (iv) the placement of 

walls, partitions, and counters; and (v) all areas of ingress 

and egress; 

l. Documents related to any compassionate need program 

the pharmaceutical processor intends to offer; 

m. Information about the applicant's expertise in 

agriculture and other production techniques required to 

produce cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and to safely 

dispense such products; and 

n. Such other documents and information required by the 

board to determine the applicant's suitability for 

permitting or to protect public health and safety. 

2. In the event any information contained in the application 

or accompanying documents changes after being submitted 

to the board, the applicant shall immediately notify the 

board in writing and provide corrected information in a 

timely manner so as not to disrupt the permit selection 

process. 

3. The board shall conduct criminal background checks on 

applicants and may verify information contained in each 

application and accompanying documentation in order to 

assess the applicant's ability to operate a pharmaceutical 

processor.   

C. In the event the board determines that there are no 

qualified applicants to award conditional approval for a 

pharmaceutical processor permit in a health service area, the 

board may republish, in accordance with 18VAC110-60-100, 

a notice of open applications for pharmaceutical processor 

permits. 

D. No person who has been convicted of a felony or of any 

offense in violation of Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) or Article 

1.1 (§ 18.2-265.1 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the 

Code of Virginia shall have any form of ownership, be 

employed by, or act as an agent of a pharmaceutical 

processor. 

18VAC110-60-120. Conditional approval. 

A. Following the deadline for receipt of applications, the 

board shall evaluate each complete and timely submitted 

application and may grant conditional approval on a 

competitive basis based on compliance with requirements set 

forth in 18VAC110-60-110.  
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B. The board shall consider, but is not limited to, the 

following criteria in evaluating pharmaceutical processor 

permit applications: 

1. The results of the criminal background checks required 

in 18VAC110-60-110 B 3 or any history of disciplinary 

action imposed by a state or federal regulatory agency; 

2. The location for the proposed pharmaceutical processor, 

which shall not be within 1,000 feet of a school or daycare; 

3. The applicant's ability to maintain adequate control 

against the diversion, theft, and loss of the Cannabis, to 

include the seeds, any parts or extracts of the Cannabis 

plants, the cannabidiol oil, or the THC-A oil; 

4. The applicant's ability to maintain the knowledge, 

understanding, judgment, procedures, security controls, 

and ethics to ensure optimal safety and accuracy in the 

dispensing and sale of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil;  

5. The extent to which the applicant or any of the 

applicant's pharmaceutical processor owners have a 

financial interest in another license, permit, registrant, or 

applicant; and 

6. Any other reason provided by state or federal statute or 

state or federal regulation that is not inconsistent with the 

law and regulations regarding pharmaceutical processors. 

C. The board may disqualify any applicant who: 

1. Submits an incomplete, false, inaccurate, or misleading 

application; 

2. Fails to submit an application by the published deadline;  

3. Fails to pay all applicable fees; or  

4. Fails to comply with all requirements for a 

pharmaceutical processor.  

D. Following review, the board shall notify applicants of 

denial or conditional approval. The decision of the board not 

to grant conditional approval to an applicant shall be final.  

E. If granted conditional approval, an applicant shall have 

one year from date of notification to complete all 

requirements for issuance of a permit, to include employment 

of a PIC and other personnel necessary for operation of a 

pharmaceutical processor, construction or remodeling of a 

facility, installation of equipment, and securing local zoning 

approval.  

18VAC110-60-130. Granting of a pharmaceutical 

processor permit. 

A. The board may issue a pharmaceutical processor permit 

when all requirements of the board have been met, to include: 

1. Designation of a PIC; 

2. Evidence of criminal background checks for all 

employees and delivery agents of the processor to ensure 

compliance with § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Evidence of utilization of an electronic tracking system; 

and 

4. A satisfactory inspection of the facility conducted by the 

board or its agents. 

B. The permit shall not be awarded until any deficiency 

identified by inspectors has been corrected and the facility has 

been satisfactorily reinspected if warranted.  

C. Before any permit is issued, the applicant shall attest to 

compliance with all state and local laws and ordinances. A 

pharmaceutical processor permit shall not be issued to any 

person to operate from a private dwelling or residence.  

D. If an applicant has been awarded a pharmaceutical 

processor permit and has not commenced operation of such 

facility within 180 days of being notified of the issuance of a 

pharmaceutical processor permit, the board may rescind such 

permit, unless such delay was caused by circumstances 

beyond the control of the permit holder.  

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall be deemed to have 

commenced operation if Cannabis plants are under cultivation 

by the processor in accordance with the approved application. 

F. In the event a permit is rescinded pursuant to this section, 

the board may award a pharmaceutical processor permit by 

selecting among the qualified applicants who applied for the 

pharmaceutical processor permit subject to rescission. If no 

other qualified applicant who applied for such pharmaceutical 

processor permit satisfied the criteria for awarding a permit, 

the board shall publish in accordance with this section a 

notice of open applications for a pharmaceutical processor 

permit. 

G. Once the permit is issued, Cannabis may not be grown or 

held in the pharmaceutical processor earlier than two weeks 

prior to the opening date designated on the application. Once 

Cannabis has been placed in the pharmaceutical processor, a 

pharmacist shall be present during hours of operation to 

ensure the safety, security, and integrity of the Cannabis. If 

there is a change in the designated opening date, the 

pharmaceutical processor shall notify the board office, and a 

pharmacist shall continue to be on site on a daily basis. 

18VAC110-60-140. Notification of changes by 

pharmaceutical processor. 

A. Unless otherwise provided in law or regulation, the PIC 

designated on the application to be in full and actual charge of 

the pharmaceutical processor shall provide any notification or 

information that is required from a pharmaceutical processor. 

B. Prior to making any change to the pharmaceutical 

processor name, the pharmaceutical processor shall submit an 

application for such change to the board and pay the fee. 
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C. Any person wishing to engage in the acquisition of an 

existing pharmaceutical processor, change the location of an 

existing pharmaceutical processor, make structural changes to 

an existing pharmaceutical processor, or make changes to a 

previously approved security system shall submit an 

application to the board and pay the required fee. 

1. The proposed location or structural changes shall be 

inspected by an authorized agent of the board prior to 

issuance of a permit.  

2. Cannabis shall not be moved to a new location until 

approval is granted by the inspector or board staff.  

18VAC110-60-150. Pharmaceutical processor closings; 

going out of business; change of ownership. 

A. At least 30 days prior to the date a pharmaceutical 

processor closes, either temporarily or permanently, the 

owner shall: 

1. Notify the board;  

2. Send written notification to patients with current 

certification; and 

3. Post a notice on the window or door of the 

pharmaceutical processor.  

B. The proposed disposition of all Cannabis, dispensing 

records, patient information records, and other required 

records shall be reported to the board. If the Cannabis and 

records are to be transferred to another processor located in 

Virginia, the owner shall inform the board and the patients 

and include on the public notice the name and address of the 

processor to whom the Cannabis and records are being 

transferred and the date of transfer. 

C. Exceptions to the public notice shall be approved by the 

board and may include sudden closing due to fire, 

destruction, natural disaster, death, property seizure, eviction, 

bankruptcy, or other emergency circumstances. If the 

pharmaceutical processor is not able to meet the notification 

requirements, the owner shall ensure that the board and public 

are properly notified as soon as he knows of the closure and 

shall disclose the emergency circumstances preventing the 

notification within the required deadlines. 

D. In the event of an exception to the notice, the PIC or 

owner shall provide notice as far in advance of closing as 

allowed by the circumstances.  

E. At least 14 days prior to any change in ownership of an 

existing pharmaceutical processor, the owner shall notify the 

board of the pending change.  

1. Upon any change in ownership of an existing 

pharmaceutical processor, the dispensing records for the 

two years immediately preceding the date of change of 

ownership and other required patient information shall be 

provided to the new owners on the date of change of 

ownership in substantially the same format as previously 

used immediately prior to the transfer to provide continuity 

of services.  

2. The previous owner shall be held responsible for 

assuring the proper and lawful transfer of records on the 

date of the transfer.  

18VAC110-60-160. Grounds for action against a 

pharmaceutical processor permit. 

In addition to the bases enumerated in § 54.1-3316 of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to 

grant or renew a permit issued; place such permit on 

probation; place conditions on such permit; or take other 

actions permitted by statute or regulation on the following 

grounds:  

1. Any criminal conviction under federal or state statutes or 

regulations or local ordinances, unless the conviction was 

based on a federal statute or regulation related to the 

possession, purchase, or sale of cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil that is authorized under state law and regulations; 

2. Any civil action under any federal or state statute or 

regulation or local ordinance (i) relating to the applicant's, 

licensee's, permit holder's, or registrant's profession or (ii) 

involving drugs, medical devices, or fraudulent practices, 

including fraudulent billing practices; 

3. Failure to maintain effective controls against diversion, 

theft, or loss of Cannabis, cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, or 

other controlled substances; 

4. Intentionally or through negligence obscuring, 

damaging, or defacing a permit or registration card; 

5. Permitting another person to use the permit of a permit 

holder or registration of a qualifying patient, parent, or 

legal guardian; 

6. Failure to cooperate or give information to the board on 

any matter arising out of conduct at a pharmaceutical 

processor; or 

7. Discontinuance of business for more than 60 days, 

unless the board approves an extension of such period for 

good cause shown upon a written request from a 

pharmaceutical processor. Good cause includes exigent 

circumstances that necessitate the closing of the facility. 

Good cause shall not include a voluntary closing of the 

pharmaceutical processor or production facility. 

Part IV 

Requirements for Pharmaceutical Processor Personnel 

18VAC110-60-170. Pharmaceutical processor employee 

licenses and registrations. 

A. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license issued 

by the board practicing at the location of the address on the 

pharmaceutical processor application shall be in full and 
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actual charge of a pharmaceutical processor and serve as the 

pharmacist-in-charge. 

B. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license issued 

by the board shall provide personal supervision on the 

premises of the pharmaceutical processor at all times during 

hours of operation or whenever the processor is being 

accessed. 

C. A person who holds a current, unrestricted registration as 

a pharmacy technician pursuant to § 54.1-3321 of the Code of 

Virginia and who has had at least two years of experience 

practicing as a pharmacy technician may perform the 

following duties under supervision of a pharmacist: 

1. The entry of drug dispensing information and drug 

history into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of labels for dispensing the oils or 

patient information;  

3. The removal of the oil to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The measuring of the oil to be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the oil to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of devices used in the 

dispensing process;  

7. The selling of the oil to the registered patient, parent, or 

legal guardian; and 

8. The performance of any other task restricted to 

pharmacy technicians by the board's regulations.  

D. A pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license; a 

registered pharmacy intern who has completed the first 

professional year of pharmacy school; or a pharmacy 

technician with a current, unrestricted registration issued by 

the board may perform duties associated with the cultivation, 

extraction, and dispensing of the oils as authorized by the PIC 

or as otherwise authorized in law. 

E. A person who does not maintain licensure as a pharmacist 

or registration as a pharmacy technician but has received a 

degree in horticulture or has at least two years of experience 

cultivating plants may perform duties associated with the 

cultivation of Cannabis as authorized by the PIC.   

F. A person who does not maintain licensure as a pharmacist 

or registration as a pharmacy technician, but has received a 

degree in chemistry or pharmacology or has at least two years 

of experience extracting chemicals from plants may perform 

duties associated with the extraction of cannabidiol oil and 

THC-A oil as authorized by the PIC. 

G. A pharmacist on duty shall directly supervise the 

activities in all areas designated for cultivation, extraction, 

and dispensing or have a process in place, approved by the 

board, that provides adequate supervision to protect the 

security of the Cannabis, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and 

THC-A oil and ensure quality of the dispensed oils. 

H. At no time shall a pharmaceutical processor operate or be 

accessed without a pharmacist on duty. 

I. No person shall be employed by or serve as an agent of a 

pharmaceutical processor without being at least 18 years of 

age. 

J. No person who has had a license or registration suspended 

or revoked or been denied issuance of such license or 

registration shall serve as an employee or agent of the 

pharmaceutical processor unless such license or registration 

has been reinstated and is current and unrestricted. 

18VAC110-60-180. Employee training. 

A. All employees of a pharmaceutical processor shall 

complete training prior to the employee commencing work at 

the pharmaceutical processor. At a minimum, the training 

shall be in the following areas: 

1. The proper use of security measures and controls that 

have been adopted for the prevention of diversion, theft, or 

loss of Cannabis, to include the seeds, any parts or extracts 

of the Cannabis plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil; 

2. Procedures and instructions for responding to an 

emergency;  

3. Professional conduct, ethics, and state and federal 

statutes and regulations regarding patient confidentiality; 

and 

4. Developments in the field of the medical use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

B. Prior to regular performance of assigned tasks, the 

employee shall also receive on-the-job training and other 

related education, which shall be commensurate with the 

tasks assigned to the employee. 

C. The PIC shall assure the continued competency of all 

employees through continuing in-service training that is 

provided at least annually, is designed to supplement initial 

training, and includes any guidance specified by the board. 

D. The PIC shall be responsible for maintaining a written 

record documenting the initial and continuing training of all 

employees that shall contain: 

1. The name of the person receiving the training;  

2. The dates of the training; 

3. A general description of the topics covered; 

4. The name of the person supervising the training; and 

5. The signatures of the person receiving the training and 

the PIC. 
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E. When a change of pharmaceutical processor PIC occurs, 

the new PIC shall review the training record and sign it, 

indicating that the new PIC understands its contents. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain the record 

documenting the employee training and make it available in 

accordance with regulations. 

18VAC110-60-190. Pharmacy technicians; ratio; 

supervision and responsibility. 

A. The ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists on duty 

in the areas of a pharmaceutical processor designated for 

production or dispensing shall not exceed four pharmacy 

technicians to one pharmacist. 

B. The pharmacist providing direct supervision of pharmacy 

technicians may be held responsible for the pharmacy 

technicians' actions. Any violations relating to the dispensing 

of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil resulting from the actions of 

a pharmacy technician shall constitute grounds for action 

against the license of the pharmacist and the registration of 

the pharmacy technician. As used in this subsection, "direct 

supervision" means a supervising pharmacist who: 

1. Is on duty where the pharmacy technician is performing 

routine cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil production or 

dispensing functions; and 

2. Conducts in-process and final checks on the pharmacy 

technician's performance. 

C. Pharmacy technicians shall not: 

1. Counsel a registered patient or the patient's parent or 

legal guardian regarding (i) cannabidiol oil, THC-A oil, or 

other drugs either before or after cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil has been dispensed or (ii) any medical information 

contained in a patient medication record; 

2. Consult with the practitioner who certified the 

qualifying patient, or the practitioner's agent, regarding a 

patient or any medical information pertaining to the 

patient's cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil or any other drug 

the patient may be taking; 

3. Interpret the patient's clinical data or provide medical 

advice; 

4. Determine whether a different formulation of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil should be substituted for the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product or formulation 

recommended by the practitioner or requested by the 

registered patient or parent or legal guardian; or 

5. Communicate with a practitioner who certified a 

registered patient, or the practitioner's agent, to obtain a 

clarification on a qualifying patient's written certification 

or instructions. 

18VAC110-60-200. Responsibilities of the PIC. 

A. No person shall be PIC for more than one pharmaceutical 

processor or for one processor and a pharmacy at any one 

time. A processor shall employ the PIC at the pharmaceutical 

processor for at least 35 hours per week, except as otherwise 

authorized by the board.  

B. The PIC or the pharmacist on duty shall control all 

aspects of the practice of the pharmaceutical processor. Any 

decision overriding such control of the PIC or other 

pharmacist on duty may be grounds for disciplinary action 

against the pharmaceutical processor permit.  

C. The pharmaceutical processor PIC shall be responsible 

for ensuring that:  

1. Pharmacy technicians are registered and all employees 

are properly trained; 

2. All record retention requirements are met; 

3. All requirements for the physical security of the 

Cannabis, to include the seeds, any parts or extracts of the 

Cannabis plants, the cannabidiol oil, and the THC-A oil are 

met; 

4. The pharmaceutical processor has appropriate 

pharmaceutical reference materials to ensure that 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil can be properly dispensed; 

5. The following items are conspicuously posted in the 

pharmaceutical processor in a location and in a manner so 

as to be clearly and readily identifiable to registered 

patients, parents, or legal guardians: 

a. Pharmaceutical processor permit; 

b. Licenses for all pharmacists practicing at the 

pharmaceutical processor; and 

c. The price of all cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products 

offered by the pharmaceutical processor; and 

6. Any other required filings or notifications are made on 

behalf of the processor as set forth in regulation. 

D. When the PIC ceases practice at a pharmaceutical 

processor or no longer wishes to be designated as PIC, he 

shall immediately return the pharmaceutical processor permit 

to the board indicating the effective date on which he ceased 

to be the PIC.  

E. An outgoing PIC shall have the opportunity to take a 

complete and accurate inventory of all Cannabis, to include 

plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil on hand on the 

date he ceases to be the PIC, unless the owner submits written 

notice to the board showing good cause as to why this 

opportunity should not be allowed. 

F. A PIC who is absent from practice for more than 30 

consecutive days shall be deemed to no longer be the PIC. If 

the PIC knows of an upcoming absence of longer than 30 
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days, he shall be responsible for notifying the board and 

returning the permit. For unanticipated absences by the PIC 

that exceed 15 days with no known return date within the 

next 15 days, the permit holder shall immediately notify the 

board and shall obtain a new PIC.  

G. An application for a permit designating the new PIC shall 

be filed with the required fee within 14 days of the original 

date of resignation or termination of the PIC on a form 

provided by the board. It shall be unlawful for a 

pharmaceutical processor to operate without a new permit 

past the 14-day deadline unless the board receives a request 

for an extension prior to the deadline. The executive director 

for the board may grant an extension for up to an additional 

14 days for good cause shown.  

Part V 

Operation of a Pharmaceutical Processor 

18VAC110-60-210. General provisions. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall sell cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil only in a child-resistant, secure, and light-resistant 

container. Upon a written request from the registered patient, 

parent, or legal guardian, the oil may be dispensed in a non-

child-resistant container so long as all labeling is maintained 

with the product. 

B. Only a pharmacist may dispense cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil to registered patients or parents or legal guardians of 

patients who are minors or incapacitated adults and who are 

registered with the board. A pharmacy technician who meets 

the requirements of 18VAC110-60-170 C may assist, under 

the direct supervision of a pharmacist, in the dispensing and 

selling of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

C. The PIC or pharmacist on duty shall restrict access to the 

pharmaceutical processor to: 

1. A person whose responsibilities necessitate access to the 

pharmaceutical processor and then for only as long as 

necessary to perform the person's job duties; or 

2. A person who is a registered patient, parent, or legal 

guardian, in which case such person shall not be permitted 

behind the service counter or in other areas where 

Cannabis plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil is 

stored. 

D. All pharmacists and pharmacy technicians shall at all 

times while at the pharmaceutical processor have their current 

license or registration available for inspection by the board or 

the board's agent. 

E. While inside the pharmaceutical processor, all 

pharmaceutical processor employees shall wear name tags or 

similar forms of identification that clearly identify them, 

including their position at the pharmaceutical processor. 

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall be open for registered 

patients, parents, or legal guardians to purchase cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil products for a minimum of 35 hours a week, 

except as otherwise authorized by the board. 

G. A pharmaceutical processor that closes during its normal 

hours of operation shall implement procedures to notify 

registered patients, parents, and legal guardians of when the 

pharmaceutical processor will resume normal hours of 

operation. Such procedures may include telephone system 

messages and conspicuously posted signs. If the 

pharmaceutical processor is or will be closed during its 

normal hours of operation for longer than two business days, 

the pharmaceutical processor shall immediately notify the 

board. 

H. A pharmacist shall counsel registered patients, parents, 

and legal guardians regarding the use of cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil. Such counseling shall include information related 

to safe techniques for proper use and storage of cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil and for disposal of the oils in a manner that 

renders them nonrecoverable. 

I. The pharmaceutical processor shall establish, implement, 

and adhere to a written alcohol-free, drug-free, and smoke-

free work place policy that shall be available to the board or 

the board's agent upon request. 

18VAC110-60-220. Pharmaceutical processor 

prohibitions. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Cultivate Cannabis plants or produce or dispense 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in any place except the 

approved facility at the address of record on the application 

for the pharmaceutical processor permit; 

2. Sell, deliver, transport, or distribute Cannabis, including 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, to any other facility; 

3. Produce or manufacture cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

for use outside of Virginia; or  

4. Provide cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil samples. 

B. No pharmaceutical processor shall be open or in 

operation, and no person shall be in the pharmaceutical 

processor, unless a pharmacist is on the premises and directly 

supervising the activity within the pharmaceutical processor. 

At all other times, the pharmaceutical processor shall be 

closed and properly secured. 

C. No pharmaceutical processor shall sell anything other 

than cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products from the 

pharmaceutical processor. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor shall not advertise 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products, except it may post the 

following information on websites: 

1. Name and location of the processor; 

2. Contact information for the processor; 
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3. Hours and days the pharmaceutical processor is open for 

dispensing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products;  

4. Laboratory results;  

5. Product information and pricing; and 

6. Directions to the processor facility. 

E. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be consumed on 

the premises of a pharmaceutical processor, except for 

emergency administration to a registered patient. 

F. No person except a pharmaceutical processor employee 

or a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall be 

allowed on the premises of a processor with the following 

exceptions: laboratory staff may enter a processor for the sole 

purpose of identifying and collecting Cannabis, cannabidiol 

oil, or THC-A oil samples for purposes of conducting 

laboratory tests; the board or the board's authorized 

representative may waive the prohibition upon prior written 

request.  

G. All persons who have been authorized in writing to enter 

the facility by the board or the board's authorized 

representative shall obtain a visitor identification badge from 

a pharmaceutical processor employee prior to entering the 

pharmaceutical processor. 

1. An employee shall escort and monitor an authorized 

visitor at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 

processor.  

2. A visitor shall visibly display the visitor identification 

badge at all times the visitor is in the pharmaceutical 

processor and shall return the visitor identification badge to 

a pharmaceutical processor employee upon exiting the 

pharmaceutical processor. 

3. All visitors shall log in and out. The pharmaceutical 

processor shall maintain the visitor log that shall include 

the date, time, and purpose of the visit and that shall be 

available to the board. 

4. If an emergency requires the presence of a visitor and 

makes it impractical for the pharmaceutical processor to 

obtain a waiver from the board, the processor shall provide 

written notice to the board as soon as practicable after the 

onset of the emergency. Such notice shall include the name 

and company affiliation of the visitor, the purpose of the 

visit, and the date and time of the visit. A pharmaceutical 

processor shall monitor the visitor and maintain a log of 

such visit as required by this subsection. 

H. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be sold, dispensed, 

or distributed via a delivery service or any other manner 

outside of a pharmaceutical processor, except that a registered 

parent or legal guardian may deliver cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil to the registered patient or in accordance with 

18VAC110-60-310 A. 

I. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection F of this 

section, an agent of the board or local law enforcement or 

other federal, state, or local government officials may enter 

any area of a pharmaceutical processor if necessary to 

perform their governmental duties. 

18VAC110-60-230. Inventory requirements. 

A. Each pharmaceutical processor prior to commencing 

business shall: 

1. Conduct an initial comprehensive inventory of all 

Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, at the facility. 

The inventory shall include, at a minimum, the date of the 

inventory, a summary of the inventory findings, and the 

name, signature, and title of the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician who conducted the inventory. If a facility 

commences business with no Cannabis on hand, the 

pharmacist shall record this fact as the initial inventory; 

and 

2. Establish ongoing inventory controls and procedures for 

the conduct of inventory reviews and comprehensive 

inventories of all Cannabis plants, including the seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, 

that shall enable the facility to detect any diversion, theft, 

or loss in a timely manner. 

B. Upon commencing business, each pharmaceutical 

processor and production facility shall conduct a weekly 

inventory of all Cannabis plants, including the seeds, parts of 

plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil in stock, that shall 

include, at a minimum, the date of the inventory, a summary 

of the inventory findings, and the name, signature, and title of 

the pharmacist or pharmacy technician who conducted the 

inventory. The record of all cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil 

sold, dispensed, or otherwise disposed of shall show the date 

of sale; the name of the pharmaceutical processor; the 

registered patient, parent, or legal guardian to whom the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil was sold; the address of such 

person; and the kind and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil sold. 

C. The record of all cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil sold, 

dispensed, or otherwise disposed of shall show the date of 

sale or disposition; the name of the pharmaceutical processor; 

the name and address of the registered patient, parent, or legal 

guardian to whom the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil was sold; 

the kind and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil sold or 

disposed of; and the method of disposal. 

D. A complete and accurate record of all Cannabis plants, 

including the seeds, parts of plants, cannabidiol oil, and THC-

A oil on hand shall be prepared annually on the anniversary 

of the initial inventory or such other date that the PIC may 

choose, so long as it is not more than one year following the 

prior year's inventory. 
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E. All inventories, procedures, and other documents required 

by this section shall be maintained on the premises and made 

available to the board or its agent. 

F. Inventory records shall be maintained for three years from 

the date the inventory was taken.  

G. Whenever any sample or record is removed by a person 

authorized to enforce state or federal law for the purpose of 

investigation or as evidence, such person shall tender a 

receipt in lieu thereof and the receipt shall be kept for a 

period of at least three years. 

18VAC110-60-240. Security requirements. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall initially cultivate only 

the number of Cannabis plants necessary to produce 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for the number of patients 

anticipated within the first nine months of operation. 

Thereafter, the processor shall: 

1. Not maintain more than 12 Cannabis plants per patient 

at any given time based on dispensing data from the 

previous 90 days; 

2. Not maintain cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in excess of 

the quantity required for normal, efficient operation;  

3. Maintain all Cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil in a secure area or 

location accessible only by the minimum number of 

authorized employees essential for efficient operation; 

4. Store all cut parts of Cannabis plants, extracts, 

cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil in an approved safe or 

approved vault within the pharmaceutical processor and 

not sell cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil products when the 

pharmaceutical processor is closed; 

5. Keep all approved safes, approved vaults, or any other 

approved equipment or areas used for the production, 

cultivation, harvesting, processing, manufacturing, or 

storage of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil securely locked or 

protected from entry, except for the actual time required to 

remove or replace the Cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil;  

6. Keep all locks and security equipment in good working 

order;  

7. Restrict access to keys or codes to all safes, approved 

vaults, or other approved equipment or areas to 

pharmacists practicing at the pharmaceutical processor; 

and 

8. Not allow keys to be left in the locks or accessible to 

non-pharmacists.  

B. The pharmaceutical processor shall have an adequate 

security system to prevent and detect diversion, theft, or loss 

of Cannabis seeds, plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A 

oil. A device for the detection of breaking and a back-up 

alarm system with an ability to remain operational during a 

power outage shall be installed in each pharmaceutical 

processor. The installation and the device shall be based on 

accepted alarm industry standards and subject to the 

following conditions:  

1. The device shall be a sound, microwave, photoelectric, 

ultrasonic, or other generally accepted and suitable device;  

2. The device shall be monitored in accordance with 

accepted industry standards, be maintained in operating 

order, have an auxiliary source of power, and be capable of 

sending an alarm signal to the monitoring entity when 

breached if the communication line is not operational;  

3. The device shall fully protect the entire processor 

facility and shall be capable of detecting breaking by any 

means when activated;  

4. The device shall include a duress alarm, a panic alarm, 

and an automatic voice dialer; and 

5. Access to the alarm system for the pharmaceutical 

processor shall be restricted to the pharmacists working at 

the pharmaceutical processor, and the system shall be 

activated whenever the pharmaceutical processor is closed 

for business.  

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall keep the outside 

perimeter of the premises well-lit. A processor shall have 

video cameras in all areas that may contain Cannabis plants, 

seeds, parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil 

and at all points of entry and exit, which shall be appropriate 

for the normal lighting conditions of the area under 

surveillance. 

1. The processor shall direct cameras at all approved safes, 

approved vaults, dispensing areas, cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil sales areas, and any other area where Cannabis 

plants, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil are 

being produced, harvested, manufactured, stored, or 

handled. At entry and exit points, the processor shall angle 

cameras so as to allow for the capture of clear and certain 

identification of any person entering or exiting the facility; 

2. The video system shall have: 

a. A failure notification system that provides an audible, 

text, or visual notification of any failure in the 

surveillance system. The failure notification system shall 

provide an alert to the processor within five minutes of 

the failure, either by telephone, email, or text message; 

b. The ability to immediately produce a clear color still 

photo that is a minimum of 9600 dpi from any camera 

image, live or recorded; 

c. A date and time stamp embedded on all recordings. 

The date and time shall be synchronized and set correctly 

and shall not significantly obscure the picture; and  
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d. The ability to remain operational during a power 

outage; 

3. All video recordings shall allow for the exporting of still 

images in an industry standard image format. Exported 

video shall have the ability to be archived in a proprietary 

format that ensures authentication of the video and 

guarantees that no alteration of the recorded image has 

taken place. Exported video shall also have the ability to be 

saved in an industry standard file format that can be played 

on a standard computer operating system. A 

pharmaceutical processor shall erase all recordings prior to 

disposal or sale of the facility; and 

4. The processor shall make 24-hour recordings from all 

video cameras available for immediate viewing by the 

board or the board's agent upon request and shall retain the 

recordings for at least 30 days. If a processor is aware of a 

pending criminal, civil, or administrative investigation or 

legal proceeding for which a recording may contain 

relevant information, the processor shall retain an unaltered 

copy of the recording until the investigation or proceeding 

is closed or the entity conducting the investigation or 

proceeding notifies the pharmaceutical processor PIC that 

it is not necessary to retain the recording. 

D. The processor shall maintain all security system 

equipment and recordings in a secure location so as to prevent 

theft, loss, destruction, or alterations. All security equipment 

shall be maintained in good working order and shall be tested 

at least every six months. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor shall limit access to 

surveillance areas to persons who are essential to surveillance 

operations, law-enforcement agencies, security system 

service employees, the board or the board's agent, and others 

when approved by the board. A processor shall make 

available a current list of authorized employees and security 

system service employees who have access to the surveillance 

room to the processor. The pharmaceutical processor shall 

keep all onsite surveillance rooms locked and shall not use 

such rooms for any other function. 

F. If diversion, theft, or loss of Cannabis plants, seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil has occurred 

from a pharmaceutical processor, the board may require 

additional safeguards to ensure the security of the products. 

18VAC110-60-250. Requirements for the storage and 

handling of Cannabis, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall: 

1. Have storage areas that provide adequate lighting, 

ventilation, sanitation, temperature, and humidity as 

defined in 18VAC110-60-10 and space, equipment, and 

security conditions for the cultivation of Cannabis and the 

production and dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

2. Separate for storage in a quarantined area Cannabis 

plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, including 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, that is outdated, damaged, 

deteriorated, misbranded, or adulterated, or whose 

containers or packaging have been opened or breached, 

until such Cannabis plants, seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 

cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil are destroyed; 

3. Be maintained in a clean, sanitary, and orderly 

condition; and 

4. Be free from infestation by insects, rodents, birds, or 

vermin of any kind. 

B. A processor shall compartmentalize all areas in the 

facility based on function and shall restrict access between 

compartments. The processor shall establish, maintain, and 

comply with written policies and procedures regarding best 

practices for the secure and proper cultivation of Cannabis 

and production of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. These shall 

include policies and procedures that: 

1. Restrict movement between compartments; 

2. Provide for different colored identification cards for 

facility employees based on the compartment to which they 

are assigned at a given time so as to ensure that only 

employees necessary for a particular function have access 

to that compartment of the facility; 

3. Require pocketless clothing for all production facility 

employees working in an area containing Cannabis plants, 

seeds, and extracts, including cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil; and 

4. Document the chain of custody of all Cannabis plants, 

parts of plants, seeds, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A 

oil products. 

C. The PIC shall establish, maintain, and comply with 

written policies and procedures for the cultivation, 

production, security, storage, and inventory of Cannabis, 

including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and 

THC-A oil. Such policies and procedures shall include 

methods for identifying, recording, and reporting diversion, 

theft, or loss, and for correcting all errors and inaccuracies in 

inventories. Pharmaceutical processors shall include in their 

written policies and procedures a process for the following: 

1. Handling mandatory and voluntary recalls of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The process shall be 

adequate to deal with recalls due to any action initiated at 

the request of the board and any voluntary action by the 

pharmaceutical processor to (i) remove defective or 

potentially defective cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil from the 

market or (ii) promote public health and safety by 

replacing existing cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil with 

improved products or packaging; 
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2. Preparing for, protecting against, and handling any 

crises that affect the security or operation of any facility in 

the event of strike, fire, flood, or other natural disaster, or 

other situations of local, state, or national emergency; 

3. Ensuring that any outdated, damaged, deteriorated, 

misbranded, or adulterated Cannabis, including seeds, parts 

of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, is 

segregated from all other Cannabis, seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil and destroyed. 

This procedure shall provide for written documentation of 

the Cannabis, including seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 

cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil disposition; and 

4. Ensuring the oldest stock of Cannabis, including seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil 

product is used first. The procedure may permit deviation 

from this requirement if such deviation is temporary and 

appropriate. 

D. The processor shall store all Cannabis, including seeds, 

parts of plants, extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, in 

the process of production, transfer, or analysis in such a 

manner as to prevent diversion, theft, or loss; shall make 

Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, extracts, 

cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil accessible only to the 

minimum number of specifically authorized employees 

essential for efficient operation; and shall return the 

aforementioned items to their secure location immediately 

after completion of the production, transfer, or analysis 

process or at the end of the scheduled business day. If a 

production process cannot be completed at the end of a 

working day, the pharmacist shall securely lock the 

processing area or tanks, vessels, bins, or bulk containers 

containing Cannabis, including the seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, and THC-A oil, inside an area or 

building that affords adequate security. 

18VAC110-60-260. Recordkeeping requirements. 

A. If a pharmaceutical processor uses an electronic system 

for the storage and retrieval of patient information or other 

records related to cultivating, producing, and dispensing 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil, the pharmaceutical processor 

shall use a system that: 

1. Guarantees the confidentiality of the information 

contained in the system; 

2. Is capable of providing safeguards against erasures and 

unauthorized changes in data after the information has 

been entered and verified by the pharmacist; and 

3. Is capable of being reconstructed in the event of a 

computer malfunction or accident resulting in the 

destruction of the data bank. 

B. All records relating to the inventory, laboratory results, 

and dispensing shall be maintained for a period of three years 

and shall be made available to the board upon request. 

18VAC110-60-270. Reportable events; security. 

A. Upon becoming aware of (i) diversion, theft, loss, or 

discrepancies identified during inventory; (ii) unauthorized 

destruction of any cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; or (iii) any 

loss or unauthorized alteration of records related to 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil or qualifying patients, a 

pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall immediately 

notify appropriate law-enforcement authorities and the board. 

B. A pharmacist or processor shall provide the notice 

required by subsection A of this section to the board by way 

of a signed statement that details the circumstances of the 

event, including an accurate inventory of the quantity and 

brand names of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil diverted, stolen, 

lost, destroyed, or damaged and confirmation that the local 

law-enforcement authorities were notified. A pharmacist or 

processor shall make such notice no later than 24 hours after 

discovery of the event. 

C. A pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall notify the 

board no later than the next business day, followed by written 

notification no later than 10 business days, of any of the 

following: 

1. An alarm activation or other event that requires a 

response by public safety personnel; 

2. A breach of security; 

3. The failure of the security alarm system due to a loss of 

electrical support or mechanical malfunction that is 

expected to last longer than eight hours; and 

4. Corrective measures taken if any. 

D. A pharmacist or pharmaceutical processor shall 

immediately notify the board of an employee convicted of a 

felony or any offense referenced in § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Part VI 

Cultivation, Production, and Dispensing of Cannabidiol Oil 

or THC-A Oil 

18VAC110-60-280. Cultivation and production of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

A. No cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall have had pesticide 

chemicals or petroleum-based solvents used during the 

cultivation, extraction, production, or manufacturing process, 

except that the board may authorize the use of pesticide 

chemicals for purposes of addressing an infestation that could 

result in a catastrophic loss of Cannabis crops. 

B. Cultivation methods for Cannabis plants and extraction 

methods used to produce the cannabidiol oil and THC-A shall 

be performed in a manner deemed safe and effective based on 

current standards or scientific literature. 
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C. Any Cannabis plant, seed, parts of plant, extract, 

cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil not in compliance with this 

section shall be deemed adulterated. 

18VAC110-60-285. Registration of products. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall assign a brand name to 

each product of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The 

pharmaceutical processor shall register each brand name with 

the board on a form prescribed by the board prior to any 

dispensing and shall associate each brand name with a 

specific laboratory test that includes a terpenes profile and a 

list of all active ingredients, including: 

1. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

2. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

3. Cannabidiols (CBD); 

4. Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); and 

5. Any other active ingredient that constitutes at least 1.0% 

of the batch used in the product. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label two products 

with the same brand name unless the laboratory test results 

for each product indicate that they contain the same level of 

each active ingredient listed in subsection A of this section 

within a range of 97% to 103%. 

C. The board shall not register any brand name that: 

1. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

existing commercially available product; 

2. Is identical to or confusingly similar to the name of an 

unlawful product or substance; 

3. Is confusingly similar to the name of a previously 

approved cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product brand 

name; 

4. Is obscene or indecent; 

5. May encourage the use of marijuana, cannabidiol oil, or 

THC-A oil for recreational purposes; 

6. May encourage the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

for a disease or condition other than the disease or 

condition the practitioner intended to treat; 

7. Is customarily associated with persons younger than the 

age of 18; or 

8. Is related to the benefits, safety, or efficacy of the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product unless supported by 

substantial evidence or substantial clinical data.  

18VAC110-60-290. Labeling of batch of cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil products. 

A. Cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil produced as a batch shall 

not be adulterated. 

B. Cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil produced as a batch shall 

be: 

1. Processed, packaged, and labeled according to the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Current Good 

Manufacturing Practice in Manufacturing, Packaging, 

Labeling, or Holding Operations for Dietary Supplements, 

21 CFR Part 111; and 

2. Labeled with: 

a. The name and address of the pharmaceutical 

processor; 

b. The brand name of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

product that was registered with the board pursuant to 

18VAC110-20-285;  

c. A unique serial number that matches the product with 

the pharmaceutical processor batch and lot number so as 

to facilitate any warnings or recalls the board or 

pharmaceutical processor deem appropriate;  

d. The date of testing and packaging; 

e. The expiration date;  

f. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil contained 

in the batch;  

g. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including: 

(1) Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

(2) Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); 

(3) Cannabidiol (CBD); 

(4) Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA); and  

(5) Any other active ingredient that constitutes at least 

1.0% of the batch used in the product; and 

h. A pass or fail rating based on the laboratory's 

microbiological, mycotoxins, and heavy metals and 

pesticide chemical residue analysis. 

18VAC110-60-295. Labeling of dispensed cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall label each cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil product prior to dispensing by a pharmacist 

and shall securely affix to the package a label that states in 

legible English: 

1. The brand name of the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil that 

was registered with the board pursuant to 18VAC110-20-

285; 

2. A serial number as assigned by the pharmaceutical 

processor; 

3. The date of dispensing the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil;  
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4. An appropriate expiration date, not to exceed six 

months; 

5. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil contained 

in the package; 

6. A terpenes profile and a list of all active ingredients, 

including:  

a. Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC); 

b. Tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THC-A); and 

c. Cannabidiol (CBD);  

7. A pass or fail rating based on the laboratory's 

microbiological, mycotoxins, heavy metals, and chemical 

residue analysis; 

8. The name and registration number of the qualifying 

patient;  

9. The name of the certifying practitioner;  

10. Directions for use as may be included in the 

practitioner's written certification or otherwise provided by 

the practitioner;  

11. Name and address of the pharmaceutical processor; and 

12. Any cautionary statement required by statute or 

regulation.  

B. No person except a pharmacist or pharmacist technician 

under the direct supervision of a pharmacist at the 

pharmaceutical processor shall alter, deface, or remove any 

label so affixed. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall not label cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil products as "organic" unless the Cannabis 

plants have been organically grown and the cannabidiol oil or 

THC-A oil products have been produced, processed, 

manufactured, and certified to be consistent with organic 

standards in compliance with 7 CFR Part 205. 

18VAC110-60-300. Laboratory requirements; testing. 

A. No pharmaceutical processor shall utilize a laboratory to 

handle, test, or analyze cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil unless 

such laboratory:  

1. Is independent from all other persons involved in the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil industry in Virginia, which 

shall mean that no person with a direct or indirect interest 

in the laboratory shall have a direct or indirect financial 

interest in a pharmacist, pharmaceutical processor, 

certifying practitioner, or any other entity that may benefit 

from the production, manufacture, dispensing, sale, 

purchase, or use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; and 

2. Has employed at least one person to oversee and be 

responsible for the laboratory testing who has earned from 

a college or university accredited by a national or regional 

certifying authority at least (i) a master's level degree in 

chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of two 

years of post-degree laboratory experience or (ii) a 

bachelor's degree in chemical or biological sciences and a 

minimum of four years of post-degree laboratory 

experience. 

B. Immediately prior to producing any cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil product, a pharmaceutical processor shall segregate all 

harvested Cannabis into homogenized batches. A pharmaceutical 

processor shall make a sample available from each batch for a 

laboratory to (i) test for microbiological contaminants, 

mycotoxins, heavy metals, and pesticide chemical residue and 

(ii) conduct an active ingredient analysis. 

C. From the time that a batch of Cannabis has been 

homogenized for sample testing and eventual packaging, until 

the laboratory provides the results from its tests and analysis, the 

pharmaceutical processor shall segregate and withhold from use 

the entire batch of Cannabis, except the samples that have been 

removed by the laboratory for testing. During this period of 

segregation, the pharmaceutical processor shall maintain the 

Cannabis in a secure, cool, and dry location so as to prevent the 

Cannabis from becoming contaminated or losing its efficacy. 

D. Under no circumstances shall a pharmaceutical processor 

include Cannabis in a cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil product 

or sell it prior to the time that the laboratory has completed its 

testing and analysis and provided a certificate of analysis to 

the pharmaceutical processor or other designated facility 

employee. 

E. The processor shall require the laboratory to immediately 

return or properly dispose of any Cannabis products and 

materials upon the completion of any testing, use, or research.  

F. If a sample of Cannabis does not pass the 

microbiological, mycotoxin, heavy metal, or pesticide 

chemical residue test based on the standards set forth in this 

subsection, the pharmaceutical processor shall dispose of the 

entire batch from which the sample was taken. 

1. For purposes of the microbiological test, a cannabidiol 

oil or THC-A oil sample shall be deemed to have passed if 

it satisfies the standards set forth in Section 1111 of the 

United States Pharmacopeia. 

2. For purposes of the mycotoxin test, a Cannabis sample 

shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the following 

standards: 

Test Specification   

Aflatoxin B1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin B2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G1 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Aflatoxin G2 <20 ug/kg of Substance 

Ochratoxin A <20 ug/kg of Substance 
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3. For purposes of the heavy metal test, a Cannabis sample 

shall be deemed to have passed if it meets the following 

standards: 

Metal Natural Health Products 

Acceptable Limits ug/kg 

body weight/Day 

Arsenic <0.14 

Cadmium <0.09 

Lead <0.29 

Mercury <0.29 

4. For purposes of the pesticide chemical residue test, a 

Cannabis sample shall be deemed to have passed if it 

satisfies the most stringent acceptable standard for a 

pesticide chemical residue in any food item as set forth in 

Subpart C of the federal Environmental Protection 

Agency's regulations for Tolerances and Exemptions for 

Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food, 40 CFR Part 180. 

G. If a sample of Cannabis passes the microbiological, 

mycotoxin, heavy metal, and pesticide chemical residue test, 

the entire batch may be utilized by the processor for 

immediate manufacturing, packaging, and labeling for sale. 

H. The processor shall require the laboratory to file with the 

board an electronic copy of each laboratory test result for any 

batch that does not pass the microbiological, mycotoxin, 

heavy metal, or pesticide chemical residue test at the same 

time that it transmits those results to the pharmaceutical 

processor. In addition, the laboratory shall maintain the 

laboratory test results and make them available to the board 

or an agent of the board. 

I. Each pharmaceutical processor shall have such laboratory 

results available upon request to registered patients, parents, 

or legal guardians and registered practitioners who have 

certified qualifying patients. 

18VAC110-60-310. Dispensing of cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil. 

A. A pharmacist in good faith may dispense cannabidiol oil 

or THC-A oil to any registered patient, parent, or legal 

guardian as indicated on the written certification.  

1. Prior to the initial dispensing of oil pursuant to each 

written certification, the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician at the location of the pharmaceutical processor 

shall view a current photo identification of the patient, 

parent, or legal guardian. The pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician shall verify in the Virginia Prescription 

Monitoring Program of the Department of Health 

Professions or other program recognized by the board that 

the registrations are current, the written certification has 

not expired, and the date and quantity of the last dispensing 

of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to the registered patient.  

2. The pharmacist or pharmacy technician shall make and 

maintain for two years a paper or electronic copy of the 

current written certification that provides an exact image of 

the document that is clearly legible. 

3. Prior to any subsequent dispensing, the pharmacist, 

pharmacy technician, or delivery agent shall view the 

current written certification and a current photo 

identification and current registration of the patient, parent, 

or legal guardian and shall maintain record of such viewing 

in accordance with policies and procedures of the 

processor.  

B. A pharmacist may dispense a portion of a registered 

patient's 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. The 

pharmacist may dispense the remaining portion of the 90-day 

supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil at any time except 

that no registered patient, parent, or legal guardian shall 

receive more than a 90-day supply of cannabidiol oil or THC-

A oil in a 90-day period from any pharmaceutical processor. 

C. A dispensing record shall be maintained for three years 

from the date of dispensing, and the pharmacist or pharmacy 

technician under the direct supervision of the pharmacist shall 

affix a label to the container of oil that contains: 

1. A serial number assigned to the dispensing of the oil; 

2. The name or kind of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and 

its strength; 

3. The serial number assigned to the oil during production;  

4. The date of dispensing the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil; 

5. The quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil dispensed, 

which cannot exceed 60 fluid ounces;  

6. The name and registration number of the registered 

patient; 

7. The name and registration number of the certifying 

practitioner; 

8. Directions for use as may be included in the 

practitioner's written certification or otherwise provided by 

the practitioner; 

9. The name or initials of the dispensing pharmacist; 

10. Name, address, and telephone number of the 

pharmaceutical processor; 

11. Any necessary cautionary statement; and 

12. A prominently printed expiration date based on the 

pharmaceutical processor's recommended conditions of use 

and storage that can be read and understood by the 

ordinary individual. 

D. The cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall be dispensed in 

child-resistant packaging, except as provided in 18VAC110-

60-210 A. A package shall be deemed child-resistant if it 
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satisfies the standard for "special packaging" as set forth in 

the Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations, 16 

CFR 1700.1(b)(4). 

E. No person except a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician 

operating under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall 

alter, deface, or remove any label so affixed. 

F. A pharmacist shall be responsible for verifying the 

accuracy of the dispensed oil in all respects prior to 

dispensing and shall document that each verification has been 

performed. 

G. A pharmacist shall document a registered patient's self-

assessment of the effects of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in 

treating the registered patient's diagnosed condition or disease 

or the symptoms thereof. A pharmaceutical processor shall 

maintain such documentation in writing or electronically for 

two years from the date of dispensing and such 

documentation shall be made available in accordance with 

regulation. 

H. A pharmacist shall exercise professional judgment to 

determine whether to dispense cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

to a registered patient, parent, or legal guardian if the 

pharmacist suspects that dispensing cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil to the registered patient, parent, or legal guardian may 

have negative health or safety consequences for the registered 

patient or the public. 

18VAC110-60-320. Dispensing error review and 

reporting; quality assurance program. 

A. A pharmaceutical processor shall implement and comply 

with a quality assurance program that describes, in writing, 

policies and procedures to detect, identify, and prevent 

dispensing errors. A pharmaceutical processor shall distribute 

the written policies and procedures to all pharmaceutical 

processor employees and shall make the written policies and 

procedures readily available on the premises of the 

pharmaceutical processor. The policies and procedures shall 

include: 

1. Directions for communicating the details of a dispensing 

error to the practitioner who certified a qualifying patient 

and to the qualifying patient, the patient's parent or legal 

guardian or appropriate family member if the patient is 

deceased or is unable to fully comprehend the 

communication. The communication shall describe 

methods of correcting the dispensing error or reducing the 

negative impact of the error on the qualifying patient; and 

2. A process to document and assess dispensing errors to 

determine the cause of the error and an appropriate 

response. 

B. A pharmaceutical processor shall use the findings of its 

quality assurance program to develop systems and workflow 

processes designed to prevent dispensing errors. A 

pharmaceutical processor PIC shall: 

1. Inform pharmaceutical processor employees of changes 

to policy, procedure, systems, or processes made as a result 

of recommendations generated by the quality assurance 

program; 

2. Notify all processor employees that the discovery or 

reporting of a dispensing error shall be relayed 

immediately to a pharmacist on duty; 

3. Ensure that a pharmacist performs a quality assurance 

review for each dispensing error. A pharmacist shall 

commence such review as soon as is reasonably possible, 

but no later than two business days from the date the 

dispensing error is discovered; and 

4. Create a record of every quality assurance review. This 

record shall contain at least the following: 

a. The date of the quality assurance review and the names 

and titles of the persons performing the review; 

b. The pertinent data and other information relating to the 

dispensing error reviewed; 

c. Documentation of contact with the registered patient, 

parent, or legal guardian where applicable, and the 

practitioner who certified the patient; 

d. The findings and determinations generated by the 

quality assurance review; and 

e. Recommended changes to pharmaceutical processor 

policy, procedure, systems, or processes if any. 

C. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain for three years 

a copy of the pharmaceutical processor's quality assurance 

program and records of all reported dispensing errors and 

quality assurance reviews in an orderly manner and filed by 

date. 

18VAC110-60-330. Disposal of cannabidiol oil or THC-A 

oil. 

A. To mitigate the risk of diversion, a pharmaceutical 

processor shall routinely and promptly dispose of undesired, 

excess, unauthorized, obsolete, adulterated, misbranded, or 

deteriorated Cannabis plants, including seeds, parts of plants, 

extracts, cannabidiol oil, or THC-A oil by disposal in 

accordance with a plan approved by the board and in a 

manner as to render the cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

nonrecoverable. 

B. The destruction shall be witnessed by the PIC and an 

agent of the board or another pharmacist not employed by the 

pharmaceutical processor. The persons disposing of the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil shall maintain and make 

available a separate record of each such disposal indicating: 

1. The date and time of disposal;  

2. The manner of disposal; 
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3. The name and quantity of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil 

disposed of; and 

4. The signatures of the persons disposing of the 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil. 

C. The record of disposal shall be maintained at the 

pharmaceutical processor for three years from the date of 

disposal.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation are not being published. The forms are available in 

electronic form only online at the listed website. Questions 

regarding the agency forms should be directed to the agency 

contact. 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form 

available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 

online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 

certifications, online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for a pharmaceutical processor  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4878; Filed February 27, 2019, 9:24 a.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public 
comment period after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's 
effective date. During the initial or additional public comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C 
of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed for an additional comment period.  

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies to initiate or extend a 
public comment period. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 
guidance document to access it. Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND  
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY 

Title of Document: Guidance for Continuing Education (CE) 

Audits and Sanctioning for Failure to Complete CE. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 17, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 18, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Titles of Documents:  

Guidance Document on the Practice of Conversion Therapy. 

Scopes of Practice for Persons Regulated by the Board to 

Provide Substance Abuse Treatment. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 17, 2019. 

Effective Date: April 18, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38468005837~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38468005837~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005837&mime=application/pdf
mailto:audbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=557d1005837~20.pdf&typ=40&actno=005837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5508005837~31.pdf&typ=40&actno=005837&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5508005837~31.pdf&typ=40&actno=005837&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Authority conducted a 

small business impact review of 3VAC5-10, Procedural 

Rules for the Conduct of Hearings Before the Board and 

its Hearing Officers and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority is publishing its report of 

findings dated February 14, 2019, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed as it outlines the 

procedural rules for conducting hearings before the ABC 

Board or its hearing officers. The authority did not receive 

any complaints or comments from the public during the 

periodic review. The regulation is easy to understand and 

clearly written. The regulation is not redundant nor does it 

conflict with other federal or state regulations. The regulation 

is not complex. The last periodic review was completed in 

2012, and there have not been any significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the area 

affected by the regulation. No small business impact has been 

identified. 

Contact Information: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal 

Liaison, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 

latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority conducted a small 

business impact review of 3VAC5-60, Manufacturers and 

Wholesalers Operations, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority is publishing its report of 

findings dated February 14, 2019, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation continues to be needed as it provides guidance 

to licensed wholesalers and manufacturers of alcoholic 

beverages. The authority did not receive any complaints or 

comments from the public during the periodic review. The 

regulation is easy to understand and clearly written. The 

regulation is not redundant nor does it conflict with other 

federal or state regulations. The regulation is not complex. 

The last periodic review was completed in 2012, and there 

have not been any significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors in the area affected by 

the regulation. No small business impact has been identified. 

Contact Information: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal 

Liaison, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 

latonya.hucks@abc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Seeking Comment on Proposed Variances to the 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals 
Receiving Services from Providers Licensed, 

Funded, or Operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 

VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 

Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 

Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

(12VAC35-115), hereafter referred to as the "Human Rights 

Regulations," is announcing an opportunity for public 

comment on an application for proposed variances to the 

Human Rights Regulations submitted to the State Human 

Rights Committee (SHRC). The purpose of the regulations is 

to ensure and protect the legal and human rights of 

individuals receiving services in facilities or programs 

operated, licensed, or funded by DBHDS.  

Each variance application references the specific part of the 

regulations to which a variance is needed, the proposed 

wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 

justification for a variance. Such application also describes 

time limits and other conditions for duration and the 

circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 

After considering all available information including 

comments, the SHRC intends to submit a written decision 

deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 

variance application. All variances shall be approved for a 

specific time period. The decision and reasons for variance 

will be published in a later issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Purpose of notice: The SHRC is seeking public comment on 

the application for proposed new variances to the Human 

Rights Regulations for the Virginia Center for Behavioral 

Rehabilitation (VCBR).  

Variance to Procedures for Restrictions on Freedoms of 

Everyday Life, 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e.  

Requirements for the Imposition of Restrictions: The 

proposed variance would permit VCBR to place a resident on 

restrictions temporarily, without first meeting the criteria set 

forth in 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e, if a resident 

displays behavior that is determined to be an immediate threat 

to the safety and security of the facility or the community. 

Explanation: Individuals deemed by the court to be "sexually 

violent predators" may engage in behavior that requires an 
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immediate response to ensure the safety of individuals in the 

facility and the community. An appropriate response may be 

an immediate restriction on the freedoms of everyday life as 

outlined in 12VAC35-115-100 A 1 a through A 1 g. The 

immediate need to protect the safety and security of the 

facility or the community may be jeopardized by the process 

outlined in 12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e. 

When immediate restrictions are imposed to ensure the safety 

and security of the facility or the community, such restrictions 

shall be in effect only until the next business day that the 

restricted resident's treatment team is able to meet, review the 

imposed restriction, and meet the requirements set forth in 

12VAC35-115-100 B 3 a through B 3 e. 

Procedures for ensuring residents' freedoms of everyday life 

within VCBR and procedures for implementing restrictions 

on those freedoms shall be outlined in Facility Instruction No. 

201, Restrictions on Freedoms of Everyday Life. 

Variances to these regulations by the listed state facility are 

reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with reports to the 

SHRC regarding the variances as requested.  

Public comment period: March 4, 2019, through April 3, 

2019. 

How to comment: The SHRC accepts written comments by 

email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 

comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by 

DBHDS, who will provide them to the SHRC, by the last day 

of the comment period. All information received is part of the 

public record. 

To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 

supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 

listed DBHDS representative.  

Contact Information: Deborah Lochart, Director, Office of 

Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-0032, 

FAX (804) 804-371-2308, or email 

deb.lochart@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired conducted a 

small business impact review of 22VAC45-12, Public 

Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired is publishing its report of findings 

dated February 22, 2019, to support this decision in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC45-12 is required for the department to be in 

compliance with requirements set forth in §§ 2.2-4017 and 

2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia and Executive Order 14 

(as amended July 2018). The agency has not received any 

complaints or public comments concerning the regulation.  

The regulation is not necessarily complex but does describe in 

relative detail its purpose, definitions of relevant words and 

terms, and other specific public participation guidelines as 

required by the Code of Virginia. The regulation continues to 

be relevant because the agency administers workforce and 

independent living programs and services that impact the 

lives of individuals who are blind, vision impaired, and 

deafblind in the workforce and in the community.  

This regulation was last evaluated June 2017, and does not 

conflict with state or federal regulation. There are no 

substantial changes in technology, economic conditions, or 

other factors that impact the importance of implementation of 

the regulation.  

Economic impact on small business is negligible, and small 

business owners have the same opportunity for public 

participation as other interested stakeholders. 

Contact Information: Susan K. Davis, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 

401 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 

371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3157, or email 

susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Fountain Creek Solar LLC Notice of Intent Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Greensville County 

Fountain Creek Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Greensville County. The 

project is located approximately eight miles southwest of 

Emporia, bounded by Brink Road, Fish Road, and Fountain 

Creek Road at 36° 5'43.32" N 77° 40'19.98" W. The site 

consists of approximately 802 acres of land and will produce 

a maximum capacity of 80 megawatts. Currently the project 

will consist of approximately 240,000 modules, which may 

change based on improvements in technology and the 

availability of modules during procurement. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Reduction in Inpatient Cost Sharing to Comply with 
Federal Regulation 

Public comment period: February 28, 2019, through March 

30, 2019. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to provide for 

changes to the Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates-Inpatient Hospital Services (12VAC30-70) 

and Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - 

Other Types of Care (12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 42 

USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Sarah Samick, Policy, Planning, and 

Innovation Division, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, or via email at sarah.samick@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Public comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, 

within 30 days of publication of this notice to Ms. Samick, 

and such comments are available for review upon request. 

Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is decreasing the cost sharing amount charged per 

inpatient hospitalization from $100 to $75 in order to comply 

with federal rules at 42 CFR 447.52(b)(2). 

The expenditures for this change is expected to be $39,514. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

4VAC25-130, Coal Surface Mining Reclamation 

Regulations. The review of this regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The public comment period begins March 18, 2019, and ends 

April 8, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Michael Skiffington, Director of Policy 

and Planning, 1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or 

email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of 

the small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Motor Vehicles is conducting a periodic 

review and small business impact review of each listed 

regulation. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018).  

24VAC20-40, Rules and Regulations on Accident 

Prevention Courses for Older Drivers 

24VAC20-80, Overload Permit Regulations 

24VAC20-81, Hauling Permit Regulation 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The public comment period begins March 18, 2019, and ends 

April 8, 2019. 
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Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Domica Winstead, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23269, telephone (804) 367-1864, FAX (804) 

367-4336, or email domica.winstead@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and a report of the 

small business impact review will be published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Comcast Cable 
Communication Management LLC and TriWire 

Engineering Solutions Inc 

An enforcement action has been initiated against Comcast 

Cable Communication Management LLC (Comcast) and 

TriWire Engineering Solutions Inc (TriWire) for alleged 

violations resulting from a fuel spill occurring at 2937 Galena 

Avenue, North Chesterfield, VA. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent special order to Comcast 

and TriWire to address noncompliance with State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff 

Reynolds will accept comments by email at 

jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-

5106, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from March 18, 2019, to April 16, 2019. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Conny Oil Inc 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Conny Oil Inc 

for violations of the State Water Control Law at Wythe Oil 

Distributors in Wytheville, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office named below or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept comments 

by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-

4899, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from March 19, 2019, through April 

17, 2019. 

 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing  

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC20-100. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions. 

Publication: 34:21 VA.R. 2082-2112 June 11, 2018 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 2110, 6VAC20-100-70 A, first line, strike "A." before 

"Each officer" 

Page 2111, 6VAC20-100-70 B, underline subdivision 1 in its 

entirety 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5427; Filed February 25, 2019 
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