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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; 

Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2019 through August 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:23 June 19, 2019 July 8, 2019 

35:24 July 3, 2019 July 22, 2019 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Joyce Samples. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "Requesting that the Board 

review to amend the requirements to be a supervisor. 

Currently the requirements are two years post licensure work 

and either graduate class or 20-hour supervision training. I am 

requesting the Board amend the criteria from either two years 

to five years post licensure experience or have the individual 

document experience in all clinical areas. For example, 

working two years post licensure in administration should not 

be allowed to qualify since no clinical work has been 

performed." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and published on June 10, 2019, with public 

comment requested until July 9, 2019. It will also be placed 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://www.townhall.virginia.gov and available for 

comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 

following the close of comment, which is scheduled for 

August 16, 2019, the board will consider the request to amend 

regulations and all comment received in support or 

opposition. The petitioner will be informed of the board's 

response and any action it approves. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-34; Filed May 10, 2019, 8:11 a.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTATORS 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3102 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Bertha Simmons. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: 1) Allow an administrator-in-

training who is an acting administrator to count more than 40 

hours per week on the monthly report for training.  

2) Allow some of the credit hours in an administrator-in-

training program in assisted living to also count for training 

for nursing home licensure. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition was filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

at https://www.townhall.virginia.gov. Public comment will be 

requested from interested parties until July 9, 2019. The 

petition and copies of all comment will be considered by the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators at its meeting 

scheduled for September 12, 2019. After considering the 

request and reviewing the comments, the board will decide 

whether to initiate rulemaking or deny the petition and retain 

the current requirements. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, Department of 

Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4595, or 

email corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-33; Filed May 10, 2019, 12:14 p.m. 

https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

has WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

for 6VAC20-290, Rules Relating to Minimum Training 

Standards for Juvenile Corrections Officers, which was 

published in 32:4 VA.R. 450 October 19, 2015. Pursuant to 

Chapter 366 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the regulatory 

responsibility to establish minimum training standards for 

juvenile correctional officers was transferred from the 

Criminal Justice Services Board to the State Board of 

Juvenile Justice. 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 

Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 225-3853, or email 

barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-3958; Filed May 10, 2019, 8:59 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider amending 12VAC5-412, Regulations for Licensure 

of Abortion Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to assess all current regulation content and determine whether 

it should be amended or retained in its current form. This 

regulation governs the licensure of facilities that perform five 

or more first trimester abortions per month. This action may 

address comments received during the public comment period 

for this notice and subsequent stages of this action, as well as 

comments received during the public hearing. 

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 

16, 2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 

regulation should be terminated, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5664; Filed May 22, 2019, 11:16 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-40, 

Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to reduce the required 

hours of internship from 3,000 to 2,000 for funeral service 

interns. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone 

(804) 367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5971; Filed May 16, 2019, 2:59 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation intends to consider amending 

18VAC120-30, Regulations Governing Polygraph 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol32/iss04/v32i04.pdf
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Examiners. The purpose of the proposed action is to extend 

the license term and reinstatement periods currently in place. 

The amendments will eliminate the requirement that licenses 

be renewed annually and, by extending the reinstatement 

period, provide a longer amount of time a licensee may be 

late with a renewal payment before the license is terminated. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-1802.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-7226, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 

polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5965; Filed May 14, 2019, 2:56 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration. 

Agency Contact: Samantha Buckley, Policy and Planning 

Specialist II, Virginia Department of Elections, 1100 Bank 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8948, or 

email samantha.buckely@elections.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (1VAC20-40) 

Virginia Voter Registration Application Form, VA-NVRA-1 

(rev. 4/2016) 

Virginia Voter Registration Application Form, VA-NVRA-1 

(rev. 7/2019) 

National Voter Registration Application Form, Register to 

Vote in Your State by Using this Postcard Form and Guide 

(rev. 3/2006) 

Voter Photo Identification Card Application (undated) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6011; Filed May 14, 2019, 3:44 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-90. Campaign Finance and 

Political Advertisements (adding 1VAC20-90-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 6, 2019 - 1 p.m. - Virginia State Capitol, Senate 

Room 3, Richmond, VA 23219 

Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: David Nichols, Director of Election 

Services, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8952, or email 

david.nichols@elections.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department of Elections is promulgating this 

regulation on behalf of the State Board of Elections (the 

board) per § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Current campaign finance summaries define express 

advocacy as a direct or indirect contribution, in-kind 

contribution, independent expenditure, or loan made to a 

candidate or political committee for the purpose of 

influencing the outcome of an election; or an advertisement 

that refers to a party or candidate by name and states "Vote 

for…"; "Support…"; "Elect…"; "Smith for Congress"; "Send 

him home"; "Oppose..." etc. The board has repeatedly 

expressed concern that the definition currently included in 

campaign finance summaries does not provide sufficient 

clarity to citizens and entities of the Commonwealth wishing 

to sponsor political campaign advertisements. 

The purpose of this regulation is to provide the State Board of 

Elections with authority to regulate campaign advertisements 

that unambiguously call for the election or defeat of a 

candidate; to further the public welfare and public interest in 

fair and fully informed elections by requiring sponsors of 

campaign advertisements to identify to the public who paid 

for or sponsored the advertisement; and in cases where 

another candidate is mentioned, to inform the public whether 

candidates mentioned in the advertisements did or did not 

approve the advertisement. 

Substance: This regulatory action adds the definition of 

"express advocacy" to the Virginia Administrative Code. The 

proposed definition is taken from federal regulations 

governing campaign finance. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the 

Commonwealth, and the Department of Elections is that this 

amendment clarifies which political advertisements must be 

disclosed. This clarity also advantages sponsors of political 

advertisements by making them aware that, regardless of 

whether certain words are used, advertisements that expressly 

advocate must be disclosed. The advantage of the amendment 

to the public is that they will be able to see which candidate 

or sponsor paid for a political advertisement. The Department 

of Elections is not aware of any disadvantages of 

implementing the amendment. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Elections (Board) proposes to adopt the federal 

definition of "express advocacy." The definition of express 

mailto:samantha.buckely@elections.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9d7c006011~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9d7c006011~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006011&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7804d002626~3&typ=40&actno=002626&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7804d002626~3&typ=40&actno=002626&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7804d002626~3&typ=40&actno=002626&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98183004012~1&typ=40&actno=004012&mime=application/pdf
mailto:david.nichols@elections.virginia.gov
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advocacy is important in determining if disclosure statements 

need to be made in advertisements. 

Result of Analysis. Whether the benefits exceed the costs 

depend on the policy views of the observer. Detailed analysis 

of the benefits and costs can be found in the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Generally speaking, disclosure 

statements identify the person(s) or organization(s) that has 

paid for the advertisement. Code of Virginia § 24.2-955 states 

that disclosure requirements for political campaign 

advertisements apply to any sponsor of an advertisement in 

the print media or on radio or television the cost or value of 

which constitutes an expenditure or contribution.1 

"Expenditure" is defined in § 24.2-945.1 as: 

"money and services of any amount, and any other thing 

of value, paid, loaned, provided, or in any other way 

disbursed by any candidate, campaign committee, 

political committee, or person for the purpose of 

expressly advocating the election or defeat of a clearly 

identified candidate or by any inaugural committee for 

the purpose of defraying the costs of the inauguration of 

a Governor, Lieutenant Governor, or Attorney General." 

"Contribution" is defined in § 24.2-945.1 as: 

"money and services of any amount, in-kind 

contributions, and any other thing of value, given, 

advanced, loaned, or in any other way provided to a 

candidate, campaign committee, political committee, or 

person for the purpose of expressly advocating the 

election or defeat of a clearly identified candidate or to 

an inaugural committee for the purpose of defraying the 

costs of the inauguration of a Governor, Lieutenant 

Governor, or Attorney General. "Contribution" includes 

money, services, or things of value in any way provided 

by a candidate to his own campaign and the payment by 

the candidate of a filing fee for any party nomination 

method." 

Thus, the definition of express advocacy is important in 

determining if disclosure statements need to be made in 

political campaign advertisements. 

The Board currently uses the following definition for 

"express advocacy":  

"a direct or indirect contribution, in-kind contribution, 

independent expenditure or loan made to a candidate or 

political committee for the purpose of influencing the 

outcome of an election; an advertisement that refers to a 

party or candidate(s) by name and states "Vote for…"; 

"Support"; "Elect…"; "Smith for Congress"; "Send Him 

Home"; "Oppose", etc." 

There has been concern that this definition has provided a 

loophole by effectively permitting the absence of disclosure 

statements for political advertising that is intended to affect 

the outcome of an election, but does not use the specific 

wording listed above. Consequently, the Board proposes to 

adopt the federal definition of "express advocacy," which is 

expected to close the loophole. This definition includes the 

specific wording above, and adds: 

or any variations thereof or any communication when taken 

as a whole and with limited reference to external events, such 

as the proximity to the election, could only be interpreted by a 

reasonable person as containing advocacy of the election or 

defeat of one or more clearly identified candidates because (i) 

the electoral portion of the communication is unmistakable, 

unambiguous, and suggestive of only one meaning; and (ii) 

reasonable minds could not differ as to whether it encourages 

actions to elect or defeat one or more clearly identified 

candidates. 

The proposed new definition does appear to close the 

loophole and would require that more advertising be 

accompanied with disclosure statements. For those who 

believe the more transparent political campaigns and their 

associated advertising are, the better, the Board's proposed 

new definition would produce a net benefit. For those who 

believe privacy should trump transparency, the proposed new 

definition of "express advocacy" would not be beneficial. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

affects persons and organizations that pay for political 

advertisements. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment is unlikely to significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment is 

unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment is unlikely 

to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment is unlikely to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment is unlikely to adversely 

affect businesses. 
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Localities. The proposed amendment is unlikely to adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments is unlikely to 

adversely affect other entities. 

_________________________________ 
1The Code section exempts "(i) an individual who makes independent 

expenditures aggregating less than $1,000 in an election cycle for or against a 
candidate for statewide office or less than $200 in an election cycle for or 

against a candidate for any other office or (ii) an individual who incurs 

expenses only with respect to a referendum." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Elections concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adopts a definition of "express 

advocacy." 

1VAC20-90-30. Express advocacy. 

When used in Chapter 9.3 (§ 24.2-945 et seq.) and Chapter 

9.5 (§ 24.2-955 et seq.) of Title 24.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

"expressly advocating" or any variation thereof shall mean 

any communication that uses phrases such as "vote for," 

"elect," "support," "cast your ballot for," "Smith for 

Congress," "vote against," "defeat," "reject," or any variation 

thereof or any communication when taken as a whole and 

with limited reference to external events, such as the 

proximity to the election, that could only be interpreted by a 

reasonable person as containing advocacy of the election or 

defeat of one or more clearly identified candidates because (i) 

the electoral portion of the communication is unmistakable, 

unambiguous, and suggestive of only one meaning and (ii) 

reasonable minds could not differ as to whether it encourages 

actions to elect or defeat one or more clearly identified 

candidates. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5607; Filed May 17, 2019, 2:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-675. Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services (amending 2VAC5-675-20 

through 2VAC5-675-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3906 of the Code Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 11, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program Manager, 

Office of Pesticide Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 371-2283, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments adjust the current fee structure for 

licensure, registration, and certification to reflect actual 

costs of program implementation and include a fee 

increase for commercial pesticide applicator certification, 

registered technician certification, pesticide business 

licensure, and pesticide product registration.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part II  

Fees  

2VAC5-675-20. Pesticide product registration fee; 

registration of new pesticide products; renewal of 

pesticide product registration.  

A. Every pesticide product which is to be manufactured, 

distributed, sold, offered for sale, used, or offered for use 

within the Commonwealth shall be registered with the 

commissioner. The fee for registering each brand shall be 

$160 $225. If a brand has more than one grade, each grade 

shall be registered, not the brand at the registration fee then in 

effect. The registration for a new pesticide product shall be 

effective upon receipt by the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services of the application form accompanied by 

the required registration fee.  

B. All pesticide product registrations shall expire on 

December 31 of each year unless canceled or otherwise 

terminated for cause. A registration not canceled or otherwise 

terminated for cause will be renewed upon receipt of the 

annual registration fee as set forth in subsection A of this 

section accompanied by the application renewal form. A 

registration that has been canceled or otherwise terminated 

for cause prior to December 31 may be resubmitted as a new 

registration when the conditions resulting in the cancellation 

or termination have been resolved. The registration of each 

brand or grade shall be renewed with the commissioner prior 

to December 31 of each year. If the registration is not 

renewed prior to December 31 of each year, the 

commissioner shall assess a late fee of 20% that shall be 

added to the registration fee. The late fee shall apply to all 

renewal registrations submitted to the department any time 

during the 12-month period following the expiration of the 

registration. Registrants who permit a registration to lapse for 

more than one year shall thereafter register the product as a 

new product. The applicant shall pay the total fee prior to the 

issuance of the registration by the commissioner.  
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2VAC5-675-30. Commercial applicator certificate fee.  

Any person applying for a certificate as a commercial 

applicator shall pay to the department an initial nonrefundable 

certificate fee of $70 $100 and a biennial nonrefundable 

renewal fee of $70 $100 thereafter. All certificates shall 

expire at midnight on June 30 in the second year after 

issuance unless suspended or revoked for cause. All 

certificates not suspended or revoked for cause will be 

renewed upon receipt of the biennial renewal fee. If the 

applicator does not file an application for renewal of his 

certificate prior to COB June 30, the commissioner shall 

assess a late filing fee of 20% that shall be added to the 

renewal fee. The applicant shall pay the total fee prior to the 

commissioner's issuance of the renewal. However, if the 

certificate is not renewed within 60 days following the 

expiration of the certificate, then such certificate holder shall 

be required to take another examination. The fee for this 

reexamination or for any commercial applicator 

reexamination pursuant to subsection C of § 3.2-3930 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be $70 $100 and shall be 

nonrefundable. Any person applying to add a category or 

subcategory to his certificate shall pay to the department a 

nonrefundable fee of $35. Federal, state, and local 

government employees certified to use, or supervise the use 

of, pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from 

any certification fees.  

2VAC5-675-40. Registered technician certificate fee.  

Any person applying for a certificate as a registered 

technician shall pay to the department an initial 

nonrefundable certificate fee of $30 $50 and a biennial 

nonrefundable renewal fee of $30 $50 thereafter. All 

certificates shall expire at midnight on June 30 in the second 

year after issuance unless suspended or revoked for cause. A 

certificate not suspended or revoked for cause will be 

renewed upon receipt of the biennial renewal fee. If the 

application for renewal of any certificate is not filed prior to 

COB June 30, a late filing fee of 20% shall be assessed and 

added to the renewal fee and shall be paid by the applicant 

before the renewal shall be issued. If the certificate is not 

renewed within 60 days following the expiration of the 

certificate, then such certificate holder shall be required to 

take another examination. The fee for this reexamination 

pursuant to subsection C of § 3.2-3930 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be $30 $50 and shall be nonrefundable. 

Federal, state, and local government employees certified to 

use pesticides in government programs shall be exempt from 

any certification fees.  

2VAC5-675-50. Business license fee.  

Any pesticide business that distributes, stores, sells, 

recommends for use, mixes, or applies pesticides shall pay a 

nonrefundable annual pesticide business licensing fee of $50 

$150 for each location or outlet that [ he or ] it operates. All 

business licenses will expire at midnight on March 3l of each 

year unless suspended or revoked for cause. If a business 

license is not suspended or revoked for cause, it will be 

renewed upon payment of the annual fee. If any person 

operating as a pesticide business fails to apply for renewal of 

a pesticide business license by COB March 31 the applicant, 

as a condition of renewal, shall pay a late license fee of 20% 

of the licensing fee in addition to that fee. Merchants of 

limited quantities of nonrestricted use pesticides including 

grocery stores, convenience stores, drug stores, veterinarians, 

and other businesses [ who that ] sell pesticides primarily for 

limited household use shall be exempt from the business 

license requirement.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (2VAC5-675)  

Application for New Pesticide Product 

Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS—07208 (rev. 7/12). 

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, 

VDACS—07209 (eff. 9/06). 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator 

Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, 

VDACS—07210 (eff. 5/09). 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial 

Applicator Certification, VDACS—07211 (rev. 7/12). 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, 

VDACS—07212 (eff. 1/09). 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS—07218 (eff. 1/09). 

Application for New Pesticide Product 

Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS-07208 (rev. 7/2017) 

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, 

VDACS-07209 (rev. 7/2017) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator 

Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, 

VDACS-07210 (rev. 7/2017) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47931005041~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47931005041~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47931005041~17.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5708005041~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5708005041~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5708005041~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d10c005041~37.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d10c005041~37.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1d10c005041~37.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
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Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial 

Applicator Certification, VDACS-07211 (rev. 7/2017) 

[ Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-

07212 (rev. 7/2017) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-

07212-A (rev. 7/2018) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination, VDACS-07212-B 

(eff. 7/2018) ]  

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS-07218 (rev. 7/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5041; Filed May 22, 2019, 10:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 

2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone 

(804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email 

latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Directors of the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (ABC) is granted the authority to 

promulgate regulations under § 4.1-101 of the Code of 

Virginia, and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

board with the authority to adopt reasonable regulations that 

"...shall prescribe the terms for any 'happy hour' conducted by 

on-premises licensees. Such regulations shall permit on-

premises licensees to advertise any alcoholic beverage 

products featured during a happy hour but prohibit the 

advertising of any pricing related to such happy hour." 

Purpose: Virginia ABC has undertaken this action as a 

measure to allow its licensees to engage in responsible 

advertising for happy hour events. These changes will provide 

the public with a regulation that is condensed and easily 

accessible and understandable by eliminating some 

redundancies and clarifying the rules relating to happy hour 

advertising, all of which lends itself to the ongoing protection 

of the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. Virginia ABC 

does not anticipate any potential issues that would have to be 

addressed as this regulation is developed. Virginia ABC 

hopes that the change will afford licensees more discretion in 

the language that they choose to use in their advertising while 

still maintaining compliance with the Code of Virginia. 

Substance: The substantive changes to the existing regulation 

include adding a new subsection B to 3VAC5-50-160 that 

permits happy hour advertising so long as the advertisement 

does not induce minors or interdicted individuals to consume 

alcohol or encourage people to consume in excess. The 

section is relabeled to accommodate the addition of the 

regulation permitting happy hour advertising, and a cross 

reference to the definition of "advertising" in 3VAC5-20-10 

is included. Subdivisions B 2, B 5, and B 6 are deleted 

because those provisions are addressed in other regulations. 

Subsection E is added and includes a provision that the 

regulation is subject to and shall be adhered to in a manner 

consistent with all other regulations of the authority. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that licensees 

will have more discretion in advertising happy hour events, 

provided they do so responsibly and according to the 

provisions of the Code of Virginia. The primary advantage to 

the agency is that the regulation maintains compliance the 

Code of Virginia and removes some redundancies. There are 

no disadvantages to the public or Commonwealth associated 

with this regulatory change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board of Directors 

(Board) proposes to repeal prescriptive restrictions on happy 

hour advertising. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Section 4.1-111(B)(15) of the 

Code of Virginia authorizes the Board to permit on-premises 

licensees to advertise any alcoholic beverage products 

featured during a happy hour. The statute, however, prohibits 

the advertising of any pricing related to such happy hour.1 

Under the current regulation, licensees are prohibited to 

advertise happy hour anywhere other than within the interior 

of the licensed premises unless they only use the terms 

"Happy Hour" or "Drink Specials" in outside advertisements 

and only provide a list of the alcoholic beverage products 

featured during a happy hour as well as the time period within 

which alcoholic beverages are being sold at reduced prices. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87ed1005041~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87ed1005041~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87ed1005041~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9dff9005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9dff9005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9dff9005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfa35005041~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfa35005041~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bfa35005041~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f6b1005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f6b1005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f6b1005041~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005041&mime=application/pdf
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The Board proposes to repeal this permissive but prescriptive 

language allowing happy hour advertising only in certain 

ways, which would effectively afford licensees more 

discretion in how they advertise their happy hour event. 

However, the Board also proposes to add new language 

stating that a licensee may advertise its happy hour so long as 

the advertising does not tend to induce minors or other 

interdicted individuals to drink or encourage persons to 

consume to excess; and that the new language is subject to 

and shall be adhered to in a manner consistent with all other 

regulations of the authority. As a result, licensees would be 

allowed to advertise as they wish so long as they do not 

induce minors, encourage excess consumption, and do 

comply with the other regulations of the Board. These 

changes would benefit the licensees in terms of the flexibility 

they would provide for happy hour advertising, but also 

establish performance criteria on what the advertisement shall 

not do. 

The remaining changes repeal language duplicative of other 

regulations, which are not expected to create any economic 

impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 7,579 on-

premises alcoholic beverage licensees. Most of the licensees 

are likely small businesses such as restaurants, bars, grocery 

stores, wineries, etc. According to the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority, there were three advertising-

related violations in the last three calendar years. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes would 

not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed changes are 

unlikely to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed changes are unlikely to significantly affect the use 

and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed changes would 

not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed changes would not 

have costs on small businesses licensees, but allow more 

flexibility in how they advertise their happy hour events. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed changes would not impose adverse impacts on small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed changes would not impose adverse 

impacts on non-small business licenses. 

Localities. The proposed changes would not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed changes would not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 

1According to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, an advertisement 

that does not state the dollar price is allowed. For example, an advertisement 

stating "one-half of regular menu price during happy hour" is not prohibited. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) permit advertising of happy 

hour so long as the advertisement does not tend to induce 

minors or other individuals who cannot legally drink to 

drink or encourage persons to drink in excess, (ii) remove 

superfluous provisions that appear in other authority 

regulations, and (iii) add a reminder that the regulation is 

subject to and shall be adhered to in a manner consistent 

with all other authority regulations. 

3VAC5-50-160. Happy hour and related promotions; 

definitions; exceptions.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

1. "Happy hour" means a specified period of time during 

which alcoholic beverages are sold at prices reduced from 

the customary price established by a retail licensee.  

2. "Drink" means any beverage containing the amount of 

alcoholic beverages customarily served to a patron as a 

single serving by a retail licensee.  

B. A licensee may advertise its happy hour so long as the 

advertising does not tend to induce minors or other 

interdicted individuals to drink or encourage persons to 

consume to excess. 

C. No retail licensee shall engage in any of the following 

practices:  

1. Conducting a happy hour between 9 p.m. of each day 

and 2 a.m. of the following day;  

2. Allowing a person to possess more than two drinks at 

any one time during a happy hour, with the exception of 

flights of wine and beer consisting of samples of not more 

than five different wines or beers or samples of five 

different distilled spirits products provided each distilled 
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spirits sample contains no more than one-half ounce of 

distilled spirits;  

3. 2. Increasing the volume of alcoholic beverages 

contained in a drink without increasing proportionately the 

customary or established retail price charged for such 

drink;  

4. 3. Selling two or more drinks for one price, such as "two 

for one" or "three for one";  

5. Selling pitchers of mixed beverages except in 

accordance with 3VAC5-50-60;  

6. Giving away drinks;  

7. 4. Selling an unlimited number of drinks for one price, 

such as "all you can drink for $5.00"; 8. Advertising happy 

hour anywhere other than within the interior of the licensed 

premises, except that a licensee may use the term "Happy 

Hour" or "Drink Specials," a list of the alcoholic beverage 

products featured during a happy hour as well as the time 

period within which alcoholic beverages are being sold at 

reduced prices in any otherwise lawful advertisement; or  

9. 5. Establishing a customary retail price for any drink at a 

markup over cost significantly less than that applied to 

other beverages of similar type, quality, or volume.  

C. D. This regulation section shall not apply to prearranged 

private parties, functions, or events, not open to the public, 

where the guests thereof are served in a room or rooms 

designated and used exclusively for private parties, functions, 

or events.  

E. This section is subject to and shall be adhered to in a 

manner consistent with all other regulations of the authority. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5585; Filed May 15, 2019, 6:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

80, 4VAC20-252-100; repealing 4VAC20-252-60, 

4VAC20-252-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 28, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments eliminate the Bay, Coastal, and Potomac 

River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fisheries. 

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake area" means the area that includes the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by this section.  

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  

"Commercial fishing" or "fishing commercially" or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at 

Dameron Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West 

Longitude 76-17.1294; thence extending to the southernmost 

point of Tangier Island, and thence north to a point on the 

Virginia-Maryland state boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 

37-57.0407, West Longitude 75-58.5043, thence westerly 

along the Virginia-Maryland state boundary to Smith Point.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the District of Columbia boundary.  
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"Recreational fishing" or "fishing recreationally" or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not 

for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or is not 

intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational striped 

bass fishery. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Trophy-size striped bass" means any striped bass that is 36 

inches or greater in total length. 

4VAC20-252-60. Bay and Coastal spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational fisheries. (Repealed.) 

A. The open season for the Bay spring trophy-size striped 

bass recreational fishery shall be May 1 through June 15, 

inclusive. 

B. The area open for the Bay spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery shall be the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries, except the spawning reaches of the James, 

Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and Rappahannock Rivers.  

C. The open season for the Coastal spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational fishery shall be May 1 through May 

15, inclusive.  

D. The area open for the Coastal spring trophy-size striped 

bass recreational fishery is the coastal area as described in 

4VAC20-252-20.  

E. The minimum size limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be 36 inches total length.  

F. The possession limit for the fisheries described in this 

section shall be one fish per person.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Bay spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or 

Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery to 

possess or land any trophy-size striped bass from a 

recreational vessel unless the captain or operator of that 

recreational vessel has obtained a Spring Recreational Striped 

Bass Trophy Permit. The captain or operator shall be 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the recreational 

vessel and shall provide his Marine Resources Commission 

identification (MRC ID) number, the date of harvest, the 

number of individuals on board, the mode of fishing, the 

water body where the trophy-size striped bass was caught, 

and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept or released. 

H. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Bay spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or 

Coastal spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery to 

possess or land any trophy-size striped bass harvested 

recreationally from shore, a pier, or any other man-made 

structure without first having obtained a Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission. Any such permittee shall provide his MRC ID 

number, the date of harvest, the mode of fishing, the water 

body where the trophy-size striped bass was caught, and the 

number of trophy-size striped bass kept or released. 

I. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped bass 

trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass permittee to 

fail to report trips where striped bass are caught, whether 

harvested, released, or possessed, as described in this section, 

on forms provided by the commission within seven days after 

the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail 

to report trips where striped bass are targeted but not 

successfully caught by the 21st day after any close of the Bay 

spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or Coastal 

spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery.  

1. Any permittee who did not participate in any Bay spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery or Coastal 

spring trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery shall 

notify the commission of his lack of participation by the 

21st day after the close of any Bay spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational fishery or Coastal spring trophy-

size striped bass recreational fishery on forms provided by 
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the commission or through the Virginia Saltwater 

Fisherman's Journal. 

2. Following the 21st day after the close of any Bay spring 

trophy-size striped bass or Coastal spring trophy-size 

striped bass recreational season, any permittee who failed 

to report, whether there was harvest or no activity during 

that season, shall be ineligible to receive a Spring 

Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit for the following 

trophy-size striped bass season but shall be eligible to 

reapply for that permit in subsequent years. 

4VAC20-252-70. Potomac River tributaries spring 

trophy-size striped bass recreational fishery. (Repealed.) 

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries spring 

striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond to the open 

season as established by the Potomac River Fisheries 

Commission for the mainstem Potomac River spring fishery.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be those tributaries of 

the Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence upstream to 

the Route 301 bridge.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall correspond 

to the minimum size limit as established by the Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River 

spring trophy-size fishery.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 

person.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery to possess or land any trophy-size striped 

bass from a recreational vessel unless the captain or operator 

of that recreational vessel has obtained a Spring Recreational 

Striped Bass Trophy Permit. The captain or operator shall be 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the recreational 

vessel and shall provide his Marine Resources Commission 

identification (MRC ID) number, the date of harvest, the 

number of individuals on board, the mode of fishing, the 

water body where the trophy-size striped bass was caught, 

and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept or released. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person participating in any 

Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fisheries to possess or land any trophy-size 

striped bass harvested recreationally from shore, a pier, or any 

other man-made structure without first having obtained a 

Spring Recreational Striped Bass Trophy Permit from the 

Marine Resources Commission. Any such permittee shall 

provide his MRC ID number, the date of harvest, the mode of 

fishing, the water body where the trophy-size striped bass was 

caught, and the number of trophy-size striped bass kept or 

released. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any spring recreational striped 

bass trophy permittee or any charter boat striped bass 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are caught, 

whether harvested, released, or possessed, as described in this 

section, on forms provided by the commission within seven 

days after the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any 

permittee to fail to report trips where striped bass are targeted 

but not successfully caught by the 21st day after the close of 

any Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery.  

1. Any permittee who did not participate in any Potomac 

River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery shall notify the commission of his lack 

of participation by the 21st day after the close of any 

Potomac River tributaries spring trophy-size striped bass 

recreational fishery on forms provided by the commission 

or through the Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's Journal. 

2. Following the 21st day after the close of any Potomac 

River tributaries recreational spring trophy-size striped 

bass season, any permittee who failed to report, whether 

there was harvest or no activity during that season, shall be 

ineligible to receive a Spring Recreational Striped Bass 

Trophy Permit for the following trophy-size striped bass 

season but shall be eligible to reapply for that permit in 

subsequent years. 

4VAC20-252-80. Bay Spring/Summer Striped Bass 

Recreational Fishery spring/summer striped bass 

recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Bay Spring/Summer Striped 

Bass Recreational Fishery spring/summer striped bass 

recreational fishery shall be May 16 through June 15 

inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 

Bay and its tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 

total length, and the maximum size limit for this fishery shall 

be 28 inches total length, except as provided in subsection E 

of this section.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 

person.  

E. The possession limit described in subsection D of this 

section may consist of one trophy-size striped bass 36 inches 

or greater in total length, which is subject to the provisions of 

subsections A, B, E, F, G, H, I, and J of 4VAC20-252-60.  

4VAC20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries summer/fall 

striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries 

summer/fall striped bass fishery shall correspond to the open 

summer/fall season as established by the Potomac River 

Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River, 

except as provided in subsection D of this section.  
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B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 

total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 

inches total length; however, the maximum size limit shall 

only apply to one fish of the possession limit from May 16 

through June 15.  

E. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two fish per 

person.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5973; Filed May 28, 2019, 1:59 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1340. Fast-Track Permitting 

Program for Disposal of Dredged Material (adding 

4VAC20-1340-10 through 4VAC20-1340-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 449 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, this 

chapter establishes a fast-track permitting program for 

dredging and the selection and use of appropriate sites for 

disposal of dredge material on state-owned submerged 

lands for projects in Tidewater Virginia. The new chapter 

includes requirements for the permit application, 

qualifications for authorization of projects, and 

implementation of the fast-track permitting program.  

CHAPTER 1340 

FAST-TRACK PERMITTING PROGRAM FOR DISPOSAL 

OF DREDGED MATERIAL 

4VAC20-1340-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to establish the necessary 

application requirements and review procedures for fast-track 

permitting of dredging and dredged material disposal sites 

involving state-owned submerged lands. Fast-track permitting 

shall be available only to local governments in Tidewater 

Virginia, as "Tidewater Virginia" is defined in § 28.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1340-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Coastal resilience" means the ability of natural and built 

coastal environments to withstand and recover from 

hazardous events such as extreme weather, storm surge, and 

recurrent flooding.  

"Joint Permit Application" means the current standard 

application utilized by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality, and local wetlands 

boards to evaluate projects involving submerged lands, 

wetlands, and coastal primary sand dunes and beaches for 

permit review.  

"Living shoreline" means the same as defined in § 28.2-

104.1 of the Code of Virginia, that is, a shoreline 

management practice that provides erosion control and water 

quality benefits; protects, restores, or enhances shoreline 

habitat; and maintains coastal processes through the strategic 

placement of plants, stone, sand fill, and other structural and 

organic material. 

"Local government" means counties, cities, towns, and 

political subdivisions of the Commonwealth. 

"Sand" or "beach sand" means material that is SM (silty 

sands), SP (poorly graded sand), or SW (well graded sand), 

using the Unified Soil Classification System, with a minimum 

median grain size of around 0.25 mm with no more than 20% 

passing through a #100 sieve (0.149mm) and no more than 

10% passing through a #200 sieve (0.074mm).  

"Sand dunes and beaches" means the jurisdictional areas 

defined as "coastal primary sand dunes" and "beaches" in 

§ 28.2-1400 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Submerged aquatic vegetation bed" or "SAV bed" means 

those areas of submerged aquatic vegetation identified and 

annually mapped by Virginia Institute of Marine Science 

(VIMS) during at least one of the previous five years. 

"Submerged aquatic vegetation" means any of a diverse 

assemblage of underwater plants found in the shoal areas of 

the Chesapeake Bay and Virginia's coastal bays and river 

tributaries, that are primarily eelgrass (Zostera marina), 

widgeon grass (Ruppia maritima), or may include Eurasian 

watermilfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum), redhead grass 

(Potamogeton perfoliatus), wild celery (Vallisneria 

americana), common elodea (Elodea canadensis), water 

stargrass (Heteranthera dubia), coontail (Ceratophyllum 

demersum), water-weed (Egeria densa), muskgrass (Najas 

minor), pondweeds (Potamogeton sp.), Hydrilla (Hydrilla 

verticillata), and naiads (Najas sp.). 

"VMRC" means the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission. 
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"Wetlands" means the jurisdictional areas defined as 

"vegetated wetlands" and "nonvegetated wetlands" in § 28.2-

1300 of the Code of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1340-30. Applicability and procedures. 

A. Fast-track consideration of Joint Permit Applications for 

dredging projects and associated dredge material disposal 

sites involving state-owned submerged lands shall be 

provided to local governments in Tidewater Virginia when 

shoreline or open water placement of dredge material is 

preferable for habitat creation or development of living 

shoreline features or to enhance coastal resilience.  

B. When placement of dredge material does not involve use 

of state-owned submerged lands, upland disposal sites must 

be identified in the Joint Permit Application.  

C. To qualify for fast-track review, the applicant must 

submit to VMRC a request for fast-track review, a complete 

Joint Permit Application, the additional information identified 

in subsection D of this section, and any supplemental 

information deemed necessary by VMRC or the applicable 

wetlands board.  

D. The application shall include a dredging plan, a dredged 

material placement plan, and the following additional 

information: 

1. Geotechnical analysis of the material in the proposed 

channel to be dredged, unless the dredged material is sand 

with the same properties as the sand at the placement 

location and the placement location is adjacent to the 

dredge site; 

2. Chemical analysis of the material to be dredged when 

VMRC determines chemical analysis is necessary due to 

the presence of known chemical contaminates; 

3. Analysis of the benthic, marine, and fishery resources in 

the placement site; 

4. Current recreational and commercial fishing activity in 

the proposed dredge and placement areas; 

5. Any impact on historical artifacts in the proposed dredge 

and placement areas; 

6. Any impact on other uses of the state waters and 

bottomlands at the dredge and placement sites; and 

7. Anticipated environmental impact of the dredge material 

proposed for placement on (i) wetlands, dunes or beaches, 

submerged lands, and (ii) nearby benthic, marine, and 

fishery resources, including an assessment of any coastal 

resilience or beneficial ecological services provided by 

such placement. 

E. VMRC, in consultation with the Department of 

Environmental Quality, the Virginia Department of Health, 

the Department of Historic Resources, the Virginia Institute 

of Marine Science, and any other interested state agency, 

shall coordinate a review process to ensure the orderly 

evaluation of a Joint Permit Application that qualifies for 

fast-track review. The review process shall be completed by 

all agencies that have been asked to comment within 45 days 

of VMRC notifying the agency of the Joint Permit 

Application.  

F. Any property owner adjacent to or within 200 feet of the 

disposal site shall be identified in the Joint Permit 

Application, and VMRC shall notify such property owners of 

the proposed project and provide an opportunity for 

comment.  

G. VMRC shall issue a public notice for any dredge or 

dredge material placement project requiring public notice 

under 4VAC20-120-10.  

H. A wetlands or sand dunes and beaches permit will not be 

required for any use authorized under subdivision 3 of § 28.2-

1302 or subdivision 3 of § 28.2-1403 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. When a wetlands or sand dunes and beaches permit is 

required, VMRC will not make a decision on the Joint Permit 

Application until receiving proof that a wetlands or sand 

dunes and beaches permit has been issued by the appropriate 

authority pursuant to § 28.2-1302 or 28.2-1403 of the Code of 

Virginia. After receiving such proof, or after receipt of a 

complete application if no wetlands or sand dunes and 

beaches permit is required, VMRC shall make a decision on 

the Joint Permit Application no more than 90 days thereafter 

to the extent practicable.  

J. If an objection to a Joint Permit Application is filed with 

VMRC, VMRC shall allow 90 days from completion of the 

application to attempt to resolve the objection. If resolution 

cannot be achieved, VMRC shall consider the Joint Permit 

Application at a public hearing no later than 30 days after the 

time for resolution has ended or as soon as practicable. 

4VAC20-1340-40. Fast-track limitations. 

A. Fast-track permitting shall not apply under the following 

conditions: 

1. Placement of dredged material on SAV beds or where 

the dredged material will flow onto SAV beds. 

2. Placement of dredged material on any oyster planting 

ground lease without written consent by the lessee.  

3. Placement of dredged material, excluding sand, within 

1,500 feet of an oyster planting ground lease without 

written consent by the lessee. 

4. Placement of dredged material on sanctuary oyster reefs; 

natural oyster beds, rocks, or shoals; or where the dredged 

material will flow onto sanctuary oyster reefs or natural 

oyster beds, rocks, or shoals. 

B. When dredged material is to be placed on shorelines not 

owned by the local government or political subdivision 
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conducting the dredging, the local government or political 

subdivision must have a suitable property interest or written 

permission from the landowner to place dredging material on 

that property for any single dredging event and subsequent 

maintenance dredging.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1340) 

Standard Joint Permit Application (rev. 9/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6025; Filed May 29, 2019, 11:36 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC25-31. Reclamation 

Regulations for Mineral Mining (amending 4VAC25-31-

120, 4VAC25-31-130, 4VAC25-31-170, 4VAC25-31-240, 

4VAC25-31-360, 4VAC25-31-405 through 4VAC25-31-

450).  

4VAC25-40. Safety and Health Regulations for Mineral 

Mining (amending 4VAC25-40-670).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-180.3 of the 

Code of Virginia (4VAC25-31-120, 4VAC25-31-130, 

4VAC25-31-170, 4VAC25-31-240, 4VAC25-31-360, 

4VAC25-31-405, 4VAC25-31-410, 4VAC25-31-420, 

4VAC25-31-430, 4VAC25-31-440, 4VAC25-31-450). 

§§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.294, and 45.1-161.305 of the Code 

of Virginia (4VAC25-40-670). 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulatory authority for the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME) for this action is located in 

§§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.292:19, and 45.1-180.3 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is necessary to clarify and 

codify longstanding agency policy. This change will result in 

clearer, more precise requirements that will enhance worker 

and public safety, as well as environmental protection. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is noncontroversial because it merely makes 

minor changes and clarifies and codifies longstanding agency 

policy. 

Substance: Substantive changes to existing sections in this 

regulatory action include specifying requirements for 

operation and reclamation plans, clarification of permit 

application notification requirements, clarification of top soil 

requirements for reclamation, clarification of temporary 

cessation conditions, and the addition of a standard for fire 

extinguishers on mineral mine sites. Other changes clarify 

existing agency policy. 

Issues: The public, DMME, and the regulated community will 

all benefit from regulatory requirements that codify and 

clarify longstanding agency policy. These changes will result 

in enhanced environmental protection and public and worker 

health and safety. There are no known disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME) proposes to 1) require mine 

operators to cover on-site generated mine waste used as a fill 

by an "adequate" cover instead of requiring coverage by four 

inches of top soil, 2) require operators to send a copy of the 

permit notification to DMME at the time they are mailed to 

those who must be noticed, and 3) make changes to clarify 

numerous other requirements or delete redundant language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. One of the proposed substantive 

changes is requiring mine operators to cover mine waste used 

as a fill by "adequate" cover as opposed to requiring four 

inches of top soil cover in every case for reclamation 

purposes. According to DMME, using mine waste as fill is a 

site-specific exercise that should not be regulated in a one-

size-fits-all fashion. This change would provide greater 

flexibility to the mine operators in terms of choosing the type 

and the amount of cover. The proposed change is essentially 

replacing a prescriptive criterion by a performance criterion. 

Generally, performance criteria lead to better allocation of 

scarce resources with proper enforcement. While some 

operators may incur greater cost to provide "adequate" cover 

than the cost of four inches of top soil cover and in other 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aabeb006025~3N.pdf&typ=40&actno=006025&mime=application/pdf
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cases may incur less, this change should help prevent 

unnecessary use of cover material overall. Under the 

proposed change, only the just right type and amount of cover 

would be required while maintaining "adequate" cover. 

DMME notes however, any savings or costs from this change 

would be minor, but is unable to quantify the likely 

magnitude as it depends on the site, the materials, frequency 

of the work, etc. 

Another proposed change would require operators to send a 

copy of a permit notification to DMME at the time they are 

mailed to those who must be noticed. According to DMME, 

this will serve as a heads up to the agency that it will soon 

receive a permit application and may increase efficiency. The 

cost of this change would be sending an additional copy of an 

already existing notice to DMME, which should be very 

small. 

The remaining changes include numerous clarifications of 

long-standing agency practices and removal of fees set by 

statute from this regulation. These changes are not expected 

to create any significant economic impact beyond improving 

the clarity of the requirements and language. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. According to DMME, there 

are approximately 440 permitted mineral mine sites operated 

by 278 entities across the Commonwealth. Approximately 

90% of these operators would qualify as small business. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

would affect all localities in the Commonwealth that have 

mineral mines. According to DMME, 91% of Virginia's 

counties have mineral mines governed by these regulations. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

may increase or decrease demand for labor at different sites 

by a small margin depending on whether adequate coverage 

can be achieved by more or less coverage than the currently 

required four inches of top soil. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments could have a positive or negative 

impact on the asset values of the affected operators by a small 

margin depending on whether their site-specific compliance 

costs increase or decrease. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

should not significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The costs and other impact on mine 

operators that are small businesses are the same as discussed 

above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no known alternative that would minimize the likely small 

adverse impact in some cases while accomplishing the same 

goals. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The likely small adverse impact for some mine 

operators will depend on the specific site conditions as 

discussed above. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities. 

______________________________ 

1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1678 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy concurs with the 

economic impact analysis conducted by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update reclamation requirements for 

mineral mining to clarify and codify longstanding agency 

policy. Additionally, one minor technical amendment is being 

made to the mineral mining safety and health regulations to 

correct an omission. 

4VAC25-31-120. Permit fee and bond.  

A. The following permit fees shall be submitted upon receipt 

of a billing notice from the director and before the permit is 

issued:  

1. A fee of $31 per acre for the total permitted acres shall 

be submitted for the initial permit application.  

2. A fee of $16 per acre for the land permitted by the total 

operation shall be paid to transfer the permit when one 

operator succeeds another on an uncompleted operation. 

Permit fees for the initial permit application and permit 

renewal shall be submitted upon receipt of a billing notice 

from the director and before the permit is issued or 

renewed. Fees shall be paid in accordance with § 45.1-181 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Permit fees for the transfer of a mine permit shall be 

submitted upon receipt of a billing notice from the director 

and before the transferred permit is issued. Fees shall be paid 

in accordance with § 45.1-184.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. All fees shall be in the form of cash, check, money order, 

or other form of payment acceptable to the director.  

C. D. A bond is required as set forth in Part III of this 

regulation. Bonding shall be provided once the permit 

application is deemed complete.  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1678
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4VAC25-31-130. Mineral mining plans.  

Mineral mining plans shall be attached to the application 

and consist of the following:  

1. The operation plan shall include a description of the 

proposed method of mining and processing; the location of 

top soil storage areas; overburden, refuse, and waste 

disposal areas; stockpiles, equipment storage, and 

maintenance areas; cut and fill slopes; and roadways. The 

operation plan shall address plans for the storage and 

disposal of scrap metal, scrap tires, used lubricants, 

coolants, and other equipment service products, batteries, 

process chemicals, trash, debris, and other hazardous 

materials. The operation plan shall also include all related 

design and construction data. The method of operation 

shall provide for the conducting of reclamation 

simultaneously where practicable with the mining 

operation. For the impoundments that meet the criteria of 

§ 45.1-225.1 A of the Code of Virginia, plans shall be 

provided as required under 4VAC-25-31-180 and 

4VAC25-31-500.  

2. The drainage plan shall consist of a description of the 

drainage system to be constructed before, during, and after 

mining,; a map or overlay showing the natural drainage 

system,; and all sediment and drainage control structures to 

be installed along with all related design and construction 

data.  

3. The reclamation plan shall include a statement of the 

planned land use to which the disturbed land will be 

returned through reclamation, the proposed actions to 

assure suitable reclamation, and a time schedule for 

reclamation. The method of grading,; removal of metal, 

lumber, and debris, including processing equipment,; 

buildings,; and other equipment relative to the mining 

operation and revegetation of the disturbed area shall be 

specified. Reclamation plans for underground mines shall 

include plans for closing or securing all entrances to 

underground workings. 

4. Adequate maps, plans and cross sections, and 

construction specifications shall be submitted to 

demonstrate compliance with the performance standards of 

Part IV (4VAC25-31-330 et seq.) of this chapter and 

Chapter 16 (§ 45.1-180 et seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Designs, unless otherwise specified, shall be 

prepared by a qualified person, using accepted engineering 

design standards and specifications.  

5. A copy of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

land use permit for roads that connect to public roads.  

6. If mining below the water table is to take place, the 

following conditions apply:  

a. The application shall contain an assessment of the 

potential for impact on the overall hydrologic balance 

from the proposed operations to be conducted within the 

permitted area for review and approval.  

b. A plan for the minimization of adverse effects on 

water quality or quantity shall be prepared based on the 

assessment in subdivision 6 a of this section and included 

in the application.  

c. Permanent lakes or ponds created by mining shall be 

equal to or greater than four feet deep or otherwise 

constructed in a manner acceptable to the director.  

4VAC25-31-170. Permit application notifications.  

A. The applicant shall notify the following shall be made 

with parties of a new permit application via certified mail:  

1. Notification to property Property owners within 1,000 

feet of the permit boundary by certified mail. A record 

shall be kept of:  

a. The names and addresses of those notified, and  

b. The certified mail return receipts used for the 

notification.  

2. A statement as required by § 45.1-184.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to property owners that requires land owners 

within 1,000 feet of the permit boundary to be notified that 

the operator is seeking a surface mining and reclamation 

permit from the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy. The statement shall also include:  

a. Company name;  

b. Date;  

c. Location;  

d. Distance and direction of nearest town or other easily 

identified landmark;  

e. City or county;  

f. Tax map identification number; and  

g. Requirements for (i) regrading; (ii) revegetation; and 

(iii) erosion controls of mineral mine sites.  

h. A notice that informs property owners that they have 

10 days from receipt of the permit notification to specify 

written objections or request a hearing. This request shall 

be in writing and shall be sent to the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mineral 

Mining. The Chief Administrative Official of the local 

political subdivision where the prospective mining 

operation would take place. 

3. All public utilities on or within 500 feet of permit 

boundary. 

B. Applicants will provide a copy of the permit notification 

to the division at the time they are mailed to the neighboring 

landowners. All notifications shall contain: 
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1. The name of the permit applicant issuing notice and the 

date of notification; 

2. The permit applicant's address, phone number, and other 

contact information as available; 

3. The name and address of the property owner, chief 

administrative official, or utility receiving the notification; 

4. A statement as required by § 45.1-184.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to property owners that requires land owners 

within 1,000 feet of the permit boundary to be notified that 

the operator is seeking a mining and reclamation permit 

from the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. The 

statement shall also note that the mining permit must 

address department requirements for regrading, 

revegetation, and erosion controls of mineral mine sites; 

5. The location of the proposed mine, the city or county in 

which it is located, the distance of the nearest town or other 

easily identified landmark, and the tax map identification 

number of the parcels to be permitted; and 

6. A notice that informs property owners within 1,000 feet 

of the permit boundary that they have 10 days from receipt 

of the permit notification to specify written objections or 

request a hearing. This request shall be in writing and shall 

be sent to the division. The current address for the division 

shall be provided on the notification. 

C. A statement, with certified mail receipt, certifying that 

the chief administrative official of the local political 

subdivision has been notified.  

D. Notification shall be made to any public utilities on or 

within 500 feet of the permitted area. The notification shall 

consist of the following:  

1. The name of the party issuing the notice;  

2. The applicant name, address, and phone number; and  

3. The name and address of the party receiving the notice 

and the information noted in subdivision A 2 of this 

section.  

E. C. No permit will be issued until at least 15 days after 

receipt of the application by the division. If all persons 

required to receive notice have issued a statement of no 

objection, the permit may be issued in less than 15 days.  

F. D. Copies of all permit notifications and statements 

required in subsections A through D of this section shall be 

supplied submitted to the division with the application at the 

time they are mailed to the parties identified in subsection A 

of this section.  

E. Documentation of certified mail receipts of the 

notifications described in this section shall be included with 

the permit application.  

4VAC25-31-240. Bond amount.  

A. The amount of bond shall be $1,000 per acre of disturbed 

land Bond shall be set in accordance with § 45.1-183 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. The minimum bond for a mineral mining permit shall be 

$1,000 $3,000, except for restricted permits and Minerals 

Reclamation Fund participants.  

4VAC25-31-360. Operation and reclamation.  

A. Mining operations shall be conducted to minimize 

adverse effects on the environment and facilitate integration 

of reclamation with mining operations according to the 

special requirements of individual mineral types and the 

approved operation, drainage, and reclamation plans. Mining 

shall be conducted to minimize the acreage that is disturbed, 

and reclamation shall be conducted simultaneously with 

mining to the extent feasible.  

B. Open pit mining of unconsolidated material shall be 

performed in such a way that extraction and reclamation are 

conducted simultaneously.  

C. Mining activities shall be conducted so that the impact on 

water quality and quantity are minimized. Mining below the 

water table shall be done in accordance with the mining plan 

under 4VAC25-31-130.  

D. Permanent lakes or ponds created by mining shall be 

equal to or greater than four feet deep, or otherwise 

constructed in a manner acceptable to the director.  

E. Excavation shall be done in such a manner as to keep 

storm drainage flowing toward sediment control structures. 

Diversions shall be used to minimize storm run-off runoff 

over disturbed areas.  

F. The mining operation shall be planned to enhance the 

appearance to the public during mining and to achieve 

simultaneous and final reclamation.  

G. At the completion of mining, all entrances to 

underground mines shall be closed or secured and the surface 

area reclaimed in accordance with the mineral mining plan.  

H. Reclamation shall be completed to allow the post-mining 

land use to be implemented. After reclamation, the post 

mining land use shall be achievable and compatible with 

surrounding land use. All necessary permits and approvals for 

the post-mining land use shall be obtained prior to 

implementation.  

4VAC25-31-405. Disposal of waste. 

On-site generated mine waste shall not be disposed of within 

the permitted mine area without prior approval. On-site 

generated inert materials are mine waste is approved for use 

as fill on the mining site provided they are capped with a 

minimum of four feet of soil an adequate cover and seeding is 

established per the approved reclamation plan. Off-site 
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generated inert waste shall not be brought onto the mine 

permitted area or disposed of on the mine permitted area 

without prior approval. 

4VAC25-31-410. Storage of top soil.  

A. Top soil required for reclamation shall be stored with a 

maximum slope of 2:1 and in such a manner as to remain 

available for reclamation. The operator shall retain a 

minimum quantity sufficient to cover all disturbed areas to be 

reclaimed with six inches of top soil or as specified in an 

approved operations plan. Top soil will be needed for future 

reclamation and shall not be removed from the permitted area 

unless authorized by the division.  

B. The stockpiled top soil shall be seeded with quick 

growing grasses or legumes for stabilization until used in 

final reclamation.  

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to sand and 

gravel operations in the Coastal Plain physiographic province. 

4VAC25-31-420. Screening.  

A. Screening shall be provided for sound absorption and to 

improve the appearance of the mining site from public roads, 

public buildings, recreation areas, and occupied dwellings.  

B. If screening is to be undisturbed forest, a distance of 100 

feet must be left undisturbed within the permit boundary. 

Less than 100 feet may be approved if the natural vegetation 

provides the needed screening benefits between the mining 

operation and the adjacent property. Planted earth berms, tree 

plantings, natural topography, or appropriately designed 

fences or walls may be used if approved in the mineral 

mining plan.  

C. On permanent berms for screening, the spoils (waste 

materials) shall be initially placed on the proposed berm area, 

and top soil (where available) shall be spread over the spoil 

areas berm, not less than six inches in thickness, and if 

possible, 12 inches in thickness. The remaining top soil shall 

be placed in a designated area for future spreading on other 

areas which that need top dressing. The top soil screening 

berm shall be seeded or planted in accordance with the 

approved reclamation plan.  

4VAC25-31-430. Completion of active mining.  

A. Except as provided in subsection B of this section and 

with the director's approval, a mining operation, where no 

mineral has been removed or overburden removed or 

regraded, or where no substantial mine-related activity has 

been conducted for a period of 12 consecutive months, shall 

be declared complete, and total reclamation shall begin.  

B. At the option of the operator and with the director's 

concurrence approval, an operation may remain under permit 

for an indefinite period during which no mineral or 

overburden is removed if the following conditions are met to 

the director's satisfaction:  

1. All disturbed areas are reclaimed to prevent erosion and 

sedimentation or adequately stabilized, or all erosion and 

sediment control systems are maintained in accordance 

with mining plans and proper engineering practices.  

2. All drainage structures such as culverts and ditches are 

constructed and maintained in accordance with mining 

plans and proper engineering practices.  

3. All vegetation is maintained, including reseeding if 

necessary.  

4. All improvements on site, including machinery and 

equipment, are maintained in a state of good repair and 

condition.  

If the above conditions listed in this subsection are not met, 

the permit may be revoked by the director in accordance with 

§ 45.1-186.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

4VAC25-31-440. Drainage and sediment control.  

All mining operations shall have adequate drainage, erosion, 

and sediment control measures installed and maintained in 

accordance with the approved drainage plan or as acceptable 

to the division. Drainage from disturbed areas shall be 

directed into a sediment control structure before it is 

discharged from the permitted area. If adequate drainage, 

erosion, and sediment control measures cannot be provided, 

the permit for the affected portion or the entire mine may be 

denied.  

4VAC25-31-450. Sediment basins.  

Drainage from disturbed areas shall be directed into a 

sediment basin before it is discharged from the permit area. 

Sediment basins shall be located as close to the disturbed area 

as possible. Sediment basins shall not be located in perennial 

streams. Sediment control measures shall be installed prior to 

land disturbing activities within the drainage area controlled 

by the sediment basin. Each primary sediment basin shall 

provide at least 0.125 acre feet of storage capacity for each 

acre of disturbed land draining to it. Storage basins shall be 

cleaned as necessary to ensure proper functioning before they 

reach 60% capacity. Alternate sediment control measures that 

are as effective as sediment basins may be approved. The 

measures may include reduced basin storage capacity for 

small short-term disturbances, sediment channels, check 

dams, or mining methods that incorporate sediment control.  

4VAC25-40-670. Fire extinguishers.  

A. Whenever a fire or its effects could impede escape from 

self-propelled equipment, a fire extinguisher shall be on the 

equipment.  

B. Whenever a fire or its effects would not impede escape 

from the equipment but could affect the escape of other 

persons in the area, a fire extinguisher shall be on the 

equipment or within 100 feet of the equipment. 
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C. All fire extinguishers required by this chapter shall meet 

the current standards established by the National Fire 

Prevention Association.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC25-40) 

1996 Threshold Limit Values and Biological Exposure 

Indices published by the American Conference of 

Governmental Industrial Hygienists  

American Table of Distances, 1991 edition, published by the 

Institute of Makers of Explosives 

National Electrical Code, 2008 edition, published by the 

National Fire Protection Association  

National Fire Protection Association 10: Standard for 

Portable Fire Extinguishers, 2013 edition 

Bureau of Mines Instruction Guide 19, Mine Emergency 

Training, U.S. Department of Labor, 1972 edition 

Blasting Guidance Manual, U.S. Department of Interior, 

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, 

1987 edition 

The American National Standard for Wire Rope for Miners, 

M11.11980, published by the American National Standards 

Institute 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5638; Filed May 17, 2019, 8:19 a.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-35. Certification 

Requirements for Mineral Miners. 

Contact Information: Larry Corkey, Energy and Regulatory 

Manager, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 

Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 692-3239, or email larry.corkey@dmme.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (4VAC25-35)  

Application for Certification Examination, DMM-BMME-1 

(rev. 8/12). 

Application for Renewal-Mineral Mining, DMM-BMME-3 

(rev. 8/12). 

Verification of Work Experience Form-Mineral Mining, DMM-

BMME-2 (rev. 8/12). 

Application for Certification Examination, DMM-BMME-1 

(rev. 3/2017) 

Application for Renewal, DMM-BMME-3 (rev. 3/2017) 

Verification of Work Experience Form, DMM-BMME-2 

(rev. 3/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6012; Filed May 14, 2019, 2:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Criminal 

Justice Services is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

26 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the department 

when developing, issuing, or revising any training standards 

established by the Criminal Justice Services Board under 

§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, provided such actions are 

authorized by the Governor in the interest of public safety. 

Titles of Regulations: 6VAC20-20. Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Law-

Enforcement Officers (amending 6VAC20-20-10, 

6VAC20-20-21 through 6VAC20-20-40, 6VAC20-20-70, 

6VAC20-20-80, 6VAC20-20-90; adding 6VAC20-20-120, 

6VAC20-20-130; repealing 6VAC20-20-20, 6VAC20-20-

50, 6VAC20-20-61). 

6VAC20-50. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officers, 

Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officers and Process 

Service Officers (amending 6VAC20-50-10 through 

6VAC20-50-40, 6VAC20-50-70, 6VAC20-50-80, 6VAC20-

50-90; adding 6VAC20-50-120, 6VAC20-50-130; repealing 

6VAC20-50-50, 6VAC20-50-60). 

6VAC20-60. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Dispatchers (amending 6VAC20-

60-10 through 6VAC20-60-40, 6VAC20-60-70, 6VAC20-

60-80, 6VAC20-60-90; adding 6VAC20-60-95; repealing 

6VAC20-60-50, 6VAC20-60-60). 

6VAC20-90. Rules Relating to Regional Criminal Justice 

Training Academies (amending 6VAC20-90-10 through 

6VAC20-90-40; adding 6VAC20-90-60 through 6VAC20-

90-130). 

6VAC20-100. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 

Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions 

(amending 6VAC20-100-10 through 6VAC20-100-40, 

6VAC20-100-70, 6VAC20-100-80, 6VAC20-100-90; 

adding 6VAC20-100-25; repealing 6VAC20-100-50, 

6VAC20-100-60, 6VAC20-100-100, 6VAC20-100-110).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eadc3004997~2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eadc3004997~2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=875e4004997~42.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=875e4004997~42.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf116004997~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf116004997~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cf116004997~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60c62004997~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60c62004997~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60c62004997~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=004997&mime=application/pdf
mailto:larry.corkey@dmme.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6297b006012~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=006012&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6297b006012~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=006012&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e68f0006012~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=006012&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94ec7006012~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006012&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94ec7006012~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006012&mime=application/pdf
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Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Laureen Hyman, Executive Administrative 

Assistant to the Director, Department of Criminal Justice 

Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-8718, or email laureen.hyman@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Summary: 

The amendments to all chapters (i) separate agency 

responsibility and academy responsibility; (ii) codify 

Department of Criminal Justice Services practice and 

policy; (iii) clarify that training extensions will not be 

granted for failing to pass or meet compulsory minimum 

training standards and requirements; and (iv) correct and 

update Code of Virginia citations and address inconsistent 

terminology, definitions, and processes. 

Additionally, amendments to 6VAC20-90 (i) provide 

training academies clear instructions on the requirements 

for certification and recertification; (ii) codify the current 

department policy and practice, which requires academies 

meet 100% of the certification standards identified in the 

Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy Certification 

Checklist and Report for initial certification and the 

Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 

Recertification Checklist and Report for recertification; 

(iii) describe the process, responsibilities, and timeline for 

reassessment and the application of enforcement actions, 

including probation, suspension, and revocation, in detail; 

(iv) describe the appeal process, including an initial 

appeal to the director of the department and a second 

opportunity to appeal to the Executive Committee of the 

Criminal Justice Services Board; and (v) identify the 

process for creating a regional academy, those regional 

academies eligible to receive state funding, and the 

department's ability to suspend or revoke the certification 

of a certified training academy. 

At the final stage of this regulatory action, the board did 

not adopt the proposed changes to 6VAC20-70, Rules 

Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Noncustodial Employees of the Department of Corrections.  

6VAC20-20-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 

or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 

department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a 

training facility [ or campus ] in compliance with academy 

certification or recertification standards operated by the state 

or local [ units unit ] of government that is owned, leased, 

rented, or used exclusively for the purpose of providing 

instruction of compulsory minimum training standards 

training criminal justice professionals regulated by the 

department and board. [ Approved firing ranges, driving 

tracks, and defensive tactics training rooms are considered 

part of the academy facility, subject to review during 

academy certification and recertification. ] 

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 

committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 

proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 

public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 

needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 

Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the 

Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" or "CRC" means the 

committee consisting of nine individuals representing the 

certified [ criminal justice training ] academies. Four 

members of the committee shall represent regional criminal 

justice [ training ] academies, four members of the committee 

shall represent independent criminal justice [ training ] 

academies, and one member shall represent the Department of 

State Police Training Academy. The Committee on Training 

shall appoint members of the Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

[ "Designee" means one who acts with the authority of the 

chief executive of the agency. ]  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department or his the director's designee.  

[ "External training location" means a training location 

approved by the department located away from the certified 

criminal justice training academy, which the certified 

criminal justice training academy uses to conduct mandated 

training using full-time and part-time academy staff with 

general instructorships. ]  

"Requirements" means the core elements an officer needs to 

accomplish to obtain law-enforcement certification. 
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6VAC20-20-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards. (Repealed.)  

Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9-170 of the 

Code of Virginia, the department establishes these standards 

for compulsory minimum training for full-time and part-time 

law-enforcement officers.  

6VAC20-20-21. Performance outcomes and minimum 

hours required Compulsory minimum training standards 

and requirements.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 9.1-102 

of the Code of Virginia, the department under the direction of 

the board establishes the standards for Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards for Law-Enforcement Officers. The 

complete document may be found on the Department of 

Criminal Justice Services' website at 

http://www.dcjs.virginia.gov compulsory minimum training 

[ standards ] for full-time and part-time law-enforcement 

officers.  

B. Academy training.  

1. Category 1 - Professionalism 

2. Category 2 - Legal Issues 

3. Category 3 - Communications  

4. Category 4 - Patrol 

5. Category 5 - Investigations 

6. Category 6 - Defensive Tactics/Use of Force 

7. Category 7 - Weapons Use 

8. Category 8 - Driver Training 

9. Category 9 - Physical Training (Optional)  

ACADEMY TRAINING HOURS - 480 (excluding 

Category 9)  

C. Field training.  

Category 10 - Field Training 

FIELD TRAINING HOURS - 100  

TOTAL MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS HOURS 

- 580 (excluding Category 9)  

B. An individual hired as a law-enforcement officer as 

defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia shall comply 

with the following law-enforcement certification 

requirements:  

1. Successfully complete law-enforcement basic training at 

a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy, which 

includes receiving a minimum of 480 hours of department 

approved training in the following categories:  

a. Professionalism, 

b. Legal, 

c. Communication,  

d. Patrol, 

e. Investigations, 

f. Defensive tactics and use of force, 

g. Weapons, and 

h. Driver training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 100 hours of 

approved training in the category of field training by 

meeting or exceeding the field training performance 

outcomes identified in the Virginia Department of 

Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job 

Training Performance Outcomes. 

C. Law-enforcement officers become certified upon meeting 

all compulsory minimum training standards and [ other ] 

requirements that include documented completion of all 

performance outcomes, the law enforcement certification 

exam, and field training. 

6VAC20-20-25. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 

approval authority for the training categories and hours of the 

compulsory minimum training standards identified in 

6VAC20-20-21. Amendments to training categories and 

hours shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training (COT) [ of the ] Criminal 

Justice Services Board [ board ] shall be the approval 

authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, 

criteria, and lesson plan guides that support the performance 

outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 

training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 

the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 

recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 

administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review 

Committee (CRC), an interested party, or member of the 

community.  

Any suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to 

performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at the regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Review Committee. 

If comment is received at any public hearing, the 

Committee on Training may make a decision at that time. 

Changes to the hours and training categories will only be 

made in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act by the CRC. The CRC shall 

present recommendations for revisions to the COT.  
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C. Prior to Before approving changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 

the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 

hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 

meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 

before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 

changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academies for the opportunity to 

comment. Notice of change of changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides 

shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations upon adoption, change, or deletion. 

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy in writing of any new, revised, or 

deleted objectives. Such adoptions, changes, or deletions shall 

become effective 30 days after notice of publication in the 

Virginia Register COT approved revisions. COT approved 

revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academies prior to becoming 

effective. 

6VAC20-20-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time law-

enforcement officer, as defined by § 9-169 (9) § 9.1-101 of 

the Code of Virginia, subsequent to after July 1, 1971, shall 

satisfactorily complete the compulsory minimum training 

standards and the requirements for law-enforcement officers 

as identified in 6VAC20-20-21 and 6VAC20-20-40.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 

from the compulsory minimum training standards and the 

requirements set forth in 6VAC20-20-21 to a law-

enforcement officer of any a political subdivision of the 

Commonwealth who has had previous experience and 

training as provided in § 9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

C. Any A person not employed as a full-time or part-time 

law-enforcement officer on July 1, 1971, who remains out of 

law-enforcement law enforcement for more than 24 months, 

upon reappointment as a full-time or part-time law-

enforcement officer, shall be required to comply with the 

compulsory minimum training standards and the requirements 

identified in 6VAC20-20-21 unless provided otherwise in 

accordance with subsection B of this section.  

6VAC20-20-40. Time requirement for completion of 

training.  

A. Every law-enforcement officer who is Law-enforcement 

officers required to comply with the compulsory minimum 

training standards requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 shall 

satisfactorily complete such training the requirements within 

12 months of the date of hire or appointment as a law-

enforcement officer.  

B. The director, or his the director's designee, may grant an 

extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory 

minimum training standards under the following conditions 

and [ other ] requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Illness Medical condition; 

2. Injury;  

3. Military service; or 

4. Special duty assignment required and performed in the 

public interest; 

[ 5. 4. ] Administrative leave involving the determination 

of worker's compensation or disability retirement issues, 

full-time educational leave or suspension pending 

investigation or adjudication of a crime; or.  

6. Any other reason documented by the agency 

administrator. Such reason shall be specified and  

C. The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 

leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted 

[ , ] the extension shall not exceed 90 days. 

D. [ The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider requests to renew training extensions if the reason 

for the original training extension continues and the request 

occurs before the expiration of the original extension.  

E. ] The director shall not grant an extension for:  

1. Failing to pass compulsory minimum training standards 

and requirements within specified time limits.  

2. Failing the certification examination.  

[ E. F. ] The agency administrator may request an extension 

from the director or the director's designee.  

1. The request shall be in writing and include written 

documentation articulating the reason the individual is 

unable to complete the required training within the 

specified time limits.  

2. The request shall be submitted to the department before 

the expiration of the specified time limits. 

C. [ F. G. ] Law-enforcement officers who do not 

satisfactorily complete compulsory minimum training 

standards [ , field training, ] and [ other ] requirements within 

12 months of employment hire or appointment as a law-

enforcement officer, or who do not receive an extension of 

the time limit for completion of training the requirements, 

shall be subject to the provisions of § 9-181 § 9.1-115 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

[ G. H. ] The department shall notify the agency 

administrator of any officer individuals not in compliance 

with the requirements of this section.  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 10, 2019 

2466 

6VAC20-20-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 

training standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 

accomplished by satisfactory completion of the academy 

training objectives and criteria at a certified training academy 

and the successful completion of field training objectives 

unless otherwise provided by 6VAC20-20-30 B.  

B. Officers attending approved training are required to 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 

except in cases of emergency.  

6VAC20-20-61. Certified training academies. (Repealed.)  

A. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 

government must demonstrate a need which contains the 

following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 

academies or a sufficient hardship which renders the use of 

other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 

number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-

time training function for a minimum of five years.  

B. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 

make the following commitments:  

1. The provision of a full range of training to include entry-

level training, in-service training, recertification training, 

specialized training and instructor certification.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 

responsibility as academy director and one clerical position 

to support training and training-related functions.  

3. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 

conduct training in accordance with academy certification 

standards.  

4. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 

support the training function.  

C. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 

justification to the Committee on Training as described in 

subsection B of this section. The Committee on Training 

shall review the justification and make a recommendation 

to the department as to whether the establishment of an 

academy is warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 

establishment of the proposed academy, the department 

shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 

of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 

department, the proposed academy must successfully 

complete the academy certification process.  

D. The certified training academy shall submit to the 

department its curriculum and other information as designated 

within time limitations established by the department.  

E. Each academy director shall maintain a file of all current 

lesson plans and supporting material for training objectives 

and shall provide this information to the director upon 

request.  

F. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 

review by the director or his staff.  

G. The department may suspend or revoke the certification 

of any certified training academy upon written notice, which 

shall contain the reason or reasons upon which the suspension 

or revocation is based, to the academy's director. The 

academy's director may request a hearing before the director. 

The request shall be in writing and shall be received by the 

department within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

suspension or revocation. The academy's director may appeal 

the director's decision to the board.  

6VAC20-20-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 

procedures which indicate that every officer has satisfactorily 

completed the criteria in each training objective approved by 

the Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice Services 

Board. Attendance. 

1. Officers attending approved training are required to 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call 

except in cases of an emergency. If there is an emergency 

(e.g., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency 

administrator or designee shall determine if it is 

appropriate to place officers on duty or on call and shall 

advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed 

during an excused absence.  

B. Academy testing. 

1. Officers shall comply with the requirements of 

subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21.  

2. Each officer shall meet all the training objectives and 

pass each criteria for testing related to every performance 

outcome approved by the COT.  

3. An officer may be tested and retested as may be 

necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-20-40 and in 

accordance with each the certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy's written policy.  

B. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 

records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 

training records must be maintained in accordance with the 

provisions of these rules and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 

the Code of Virginia.  
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C. Law-enforcement certification exam. Upon documented 

compliance with the compulsory minimum training standards 

identified in subdivision B 1 of 6VAC20-20-21 officers will 

be eligible to complete the law-enforcement certification 

exam.  

6VAC20-20-80. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations.  

A. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the department. The academy director shall 

be responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations 

established to govern the conduct of attendees. 

If the academy director considers a violation of B. 

Individuals violating the rules and regulations governing the 

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy determined to 

be detrimental to the welfare of the certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy, the academy director may expel 

the individual or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel 

may be expelled from the academy.  

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 

immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 

administrator of the individual in accordance with the rules 

and regulations within the authority of the certified training 

academy and the department.  

6VAC20-20-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports will be required from the agency administrator 

and academy director on forms approved by the department 

and at such times as designated by the director. [ Law-

enforcement agencies will receive a roster containing the 

names of those officers who have satisfactorily completed the 

compulsory minimum training standards within 60 days of 

completion. 

B. ] The law-enforcement agency shall complete the 

department authorized field training completion form (Form 

B-13) documenting the completion of field training for 

officers.  

[ C. B. Field training shall be completed in accordance with 

the requirements in 6VAC20-20-40. ] The agency 

administrator shall forward a properly executed field training 

form sign and submit the field training completion form to the 

department for each officer [ , within 12 months of 

employment hire or appointment ].  

C. The academy director shall, within 30 days upon 

completion of approved training, comply with the following:  

1. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 

of those officers who have satisfactorily completed the 

compulsory minimum training standards.  

2. Submit to the department the final curriculum with the 

training objectives, hours and instructor names listed.  

[ D. C. ] The academy director shall furnish each instructor 

with the applicable performance outcomes, criteria and lesson 

plan guides for assigned subject matter. Records and 

documentation shall be open to audit, inspection, and review 

by the department upon request.  

[ E. D. ] Training records shall be maintained in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public 

Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

6VAC20-20-120. Certification status and in-service 

training. 

A. All full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a 

police department or sheriff's office that is part of or 

administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, 

law-enforcement officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code 

of Virginia, and all jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful 

completion of training at [ an approved a certified ] criminal 

justice training academy in order to remain eligible for 

appointment or employment. 

B. Officers shall comply with in-service training and 

firearms training requirements identified in 6VAC20-30. 

6VAC20-20-130. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 

department shall be a member of a certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-20)  

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, eff. 1/91  

Field Training: Law Enforcement, B-13, rev. 1/98  

Criminal Justice Training Roster, Form 41, rev. 4/94  

[ Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, (rev. 5/2018) ]  

Field Training: Law Enforcement, B-13, (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-20) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0ed8005427~2E.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dff6a005427~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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6VAC20-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff 

or, agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or 

agency head of a local correctional facility as defined in 

§ 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified training academy.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 

department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a 

training facility [ or campus ] in compliance with academy 

certification or recertification standards operated by the state 

or local unit(s) [ unit units ] of government that is owned, 

leased, rented, or used exclusively for the purpose of 

providing instruction of compulsory minimum training 

standards training criminal justice professionals regulated by 

the department and board. [ Approved firing ranges, driving 

tracks, and defensive tactics training rooms are considered 

part of the academy facility, subject to review during 

academy certification and recertification. ] 

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 

committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 

proposed changes to the standards, holding public hearings 

receiving and reviewing public comments, and approving 

changes to the standards as needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

written performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria for 

testing, and lesson plan guides approved by the Committee on 

Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the 

board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" or "CRC" means a 

committee consisting of nine individuals representing the 

conduct of entry-level jailor or custodial officer, courthouse 

and courtroom security officer, and process service officer 

training. The composition of the committee shall be three 

representatives of sheriffs' offices, three representatives of 

regional jails, two and three representatives from [ criminal 

justice training ] academies, and one representative of the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Jails Training Unit. 

The Committee on Training shall appoint the members of the 

Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

[ "Designee" means one who acts with the authority of the 

chief executive of the agency. ]  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department or the director's designee.  

"Full-time attendance" means that officers in training shall 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 

except in cases of emergency for the duration of the school.  

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 

an approved training school.  

"Requirements" means the core elements a jail officer, 

deputy sheriff, court security officer, or civil process officer 

needs to accomplish to obtain department certification. 

6VAC20-50-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions 7, 8, and 9 of 

§ 9.1-102 and § 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia, the 

department under the direction of the board establishes the 

standards for Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

full and part-time Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse 

and Courtroom Security Officers, and Process Service 

Officers. The complete document may be found on the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services' website at 

www.dcjs.virginia.gov. compulsory minimum training 

standards for full-time and part-time deputy sheriffs and jail 

officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia; 

persons designated to provide courthouse and courtroom 

security pursuant to § 53.1-120 of the Code of Virginia; and 

persons designated to serve process pursuant to § 8.01-293 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. Academy training categories - Jailor Individuals hired as 

deputy sheriffs or jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum 

training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training 

academy and complete field training requirements. 

Certification requires deputy sheriffs and jail officers comply 

with the following: 

1. Successfully complete jail officer department approved 

training at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

in the following categories: 

1. a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. Operations d. Jail operations; 

5. e. Investigations; 

6. f. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 

force; 

7. g. Weapons Use; and 
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8. Training h. Driver training and transportation. 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 

category of field training identified in the Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 

and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

C. Jailor or Custodial Officer Field Training Category 9  

D. Academy training categories – Courthouse and 

Courtroom Security Officer.  

Individuals hired as courthouse and courtroom security 

officers shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum training 

standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

and complete field training requirements. Certification 

requires courthouse and courtroom security officers comply 

with the following: 

1. Successfully complete courthouse and courtroom 

security officers department approved training at a certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy in the following 

categories:  

1. Court Security a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. d. Court Security Operations security operations; 

5. Court Security e. Investigations; 

6. f. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 

force; 

7. g. Weapons Use; and 

8. Transportation h. Driver training and transportation. 

E. Courthouse and Courtroom Security Officer Field 

Training Category 9 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 

category of field training identified in the Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 

and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

D. Individuals hired as deputy sheriffs and designated to 

serve process shall meet or exceed compulsory minimum 

training standards at a certified [ criminal justice ] training 

academy and complete field training requirements. 

Certification requires courthouse and courtroom security 

officers comply with the following: 

1. Successfully complete process service officer 

department approved training at a certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy in the following categories:  

F. Academy training categories – Process Service Officer.  

1. Process Service Officer Operations a. Professionalism; 

2. b. Legal Issues; 

3. Communications c. Communication; 

4. d. Civil Process Operations process operations; 

5. Civil Process Investigations 

6. e. Defensive Tactics/Use tactics and use of Force 

force; 

7. f. Weapons Use; and 

8. Transportation g. Driver training. 

G. Process Service Officer Field Training Category 9 

2. Meet or exceed the performance outcomes in the 

category of field training identified in the Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training 

and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.  

6VAC20-50-21. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 

approval authority for the training categories of the 

compulsory minimum training standards identified in 

6VAC20-50-20. Amendments to the training categories shall 

be made in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 

Services Board shall be the approval authority for the 

performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 

training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 

the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 

recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 

administrator, academy director, Curriculum Review 

Committee (CRC), interested party, or member of the 

community. 

Any suggestions 2. Suggestions received related to 

performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides shall be reviewed at the regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Curriculum Review Committee 

CRC. If comment is received at any public hearing, the 

Committee on Training may make a decision at that time. 

Changes to the training categories will only be made in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Process Act The CRC shall present recommendations for 

revisions to the COT. 

C. Prior to Before approving changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 

the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 

hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 

meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 

before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 

changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 
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[ criminal justice ] training academies for the opportunity to 

comment. Notice of change of changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides 

shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations upon adoption, change, or deletion.  

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy in writing of any new, revised, or 

deleted objectives. Such adoptions, changes, or deletions shall 

become effective 30 days after notice of publication in the 

Virginia Register. COT approved revisions. COT approved 

revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academies prior to becoming 

effective. 

6VAC20-50-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a jailor or custodial sheriff 

deputy or jail officer as defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of 

Virginia and in accordance with subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of 

the Code of Virginia shall meet compulsory minimum 

training standards and requirements established in subsections 

subsection B, C, and D of 6VAC20-50-20 and 6VAC20-50-

40 unless provided otherwise in accordance with subsection 

D of this section.  

B. Every person employed as a Courthouse and Courtroom 

Security Officer courthouse and courtroom security officer in 

accordance with subdivision 7 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 

Virginia shall meet compulsory minimum training standards 

established in subsections E and F subsection C of 6VAC20-

50-20 and 6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in 

accordance with subsection D of this section.  

C. Every person employed as a Deputy Sheriff Designated 

to Serve Process deputy sheriff designated to serve process in 

accordance with § 15.2-1612.1 of the Code of Virginia shall 

meet compulsory minimum training standards established in 

subsections G and H subsection D of 6VAC20-50-20 and 

6VAC20-50-40 unless provided otherwise in accordance with 

subsection D of this section.  

D. The director may grant an exemption or partial 

exemption of the compulsory minimum training standards as 

established herein in this chapter, in accordance with § 9.1-

116 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 

security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 

process who originally complied with all applicable training 

requirements and later separated from deputy sheriff, jail 

officer, courthouse and courtroom security officer, and deputy 

sheriff designated to serve process status in excess of 24 

months, upon reentry as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, 

courthouse and courtroom security officer, or deputy sheriff 

designated to serve process will be required to complete all 

compulsory minimum training standards in accordance with 

6VAC20-50-20 unless provided otherwise in accordance with 

subsection D of this section.  

6VAC20-50-40. Time requirement for completion of 

training.  

A. Every jailor or custodial officer, courthouse and 

courtroom security officer and process service officer Deputy 

sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom security 

officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve process who 

is are required to comply with the compulsory minimum 

training standards [ , field training, and other requirements ] 

shall satisfactorily complete such training within 12 months 

of the date of appointment or hire as a jailor or custodial 

officer, courtroom security officer or process service officer 

deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 

security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 

process unless provided otherwise in accordance with 

subsection B of this section.  

B. The director or director's designee may grant an extension 

of the time limit for completion of the compulsory minimum 

training required upon presentation of evidence by the agency 

administrator that such officer was unable to complete the 

required training within the specified time limit due to illness, 

injury, military service, special duty assignment required and 

performed in the public interest or leave without pay or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime. 

The agency administrator shall request such extension prior to 

expiration of any time limit. C. Any jailor or custodial officer, 

courthouse and courtroom security officer or process service 

officer who originally complied with all applicable training 

requirements and later separated from jailor or custodial 

officer, courtroom security officer, process service officer 

status, in excess of 24 months, upon reentry as a jailor, 

courthouse and courtroom security officer/process server will 

be required to complete all compulsory minimum training 

standards unless provided otherwise in accordance with 

6VAC20-50-30 D. standards and requirements for the 

following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 

worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 

crime. 

C. The director or director's designee may review and 

consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 

leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted 

[ , ] the extension shall not exceed 90 days.  

D. [ The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider requests to renew training extensions if the reason 

for the original training extension continues and the request 

occurs before the expiration of the original extension. 
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E. ] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 

pass compulsory minimum training standards within the 

specified time limits.  

[ E. F. ] Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and 

courtroom security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to 

serve process who do not satisfactorily complete the 

compulsory minimum training standards [ , field training, ] 

and [ other ] requirements within 12 months of hire or 

appointment as a deputy sheriff, jail officer, courthouse and 

courtroom security officer, or deputy sheriff designated to 

serve process, or who do not receive an extension of the time 

limit for completion of the requirements, shall be subject to 

the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia. 

[ F. G. ] The department shall notify the agency 

administrator of individuals not in compliance with the 

requirements of this section. 

6VAC20-50-50. How compulsory minimum training may 

be attained. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 

attained by attending and satisfactorily completing 

performance outcomes at certified training academy and field 

training requirements.  

B. Officers attending a certified training academy are 

required to attend all classes and should not be placed on duty 

or on call except in cases of emergency.  

C. All certified training academies that begin on or after July 

1, 2007, shall be conducted in conformance with the Rules 

Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom 

Security Officers and Process Service Officers as amended by 

the board on September 14, 2006. However, the period July 1, 

2007, through June 30, 2008, shall serve as a transition period 

wherein certified training academies may be approved by the 

department to conduct training according to the Rules 

Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 

Jailors or Custodial/Courthouse and Courtroom Security 

Officers/Deputy Sheriffs Designated to Serve Process as 

amended by the board on April 4, 1990, or according to the 

Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 

for Jailors or Custodial Officers, Courthouse and Courtroom 

Security Officers and Process Service Officers as amended by 

the board on September 14, 2006.  

6VAC20-50-60. Certified training academies. (Repealed.) 

A. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 

government must demonstrate a need that contains the 

following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 

academies or a sufficient hardship that renders the use of 

other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 

number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-

time training function for a minimum of five years.  

B. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 

make the following commitments:  

1. Provide a full range of training to include entry-level 

training, in-service training, instructor certification and 

recertification training and specialized training.  

2. Assignment of one position with primary responsibility 

as academy director and one clerical position to support 

training and training-related functions.  

3. Maintain a training facility adequate to conduct training 

in accordance with academy certification standards.  

4. Commitment of sufficient funding to adequately support 

the training function.  

C. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 

justification, as outlined in subsection B of this section, to 

the Committee on Training, which shall review the 

justification and make a recommendation to the department 

as to whether the establishment of an academy is 

warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 

establishment of the proposed academy, the department 

shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 

of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 

department, the proposed academy must successfully 

complete the academy certification process and be in 

compliance with § 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia.  

D. Each certified academy director shall maintain a file of 

all current lesson plans and supporting material for each 

subject contained in the compulsory minimum training 

standards. The certified training academy shall submit to the 

department its curriculum and other information as designated 

within time limits established by the department.  

E. Certified academies that are approved shall be subject to 

inspection and review by the director.  

F. The department may suspend or revoke the approval of a 

certified training school academy upon written notice to the 

academy's director. The notice shall contain the reason(s) 

upon which the suspension or revocation is based. The 

academy's director may request a hearing before the director 

or his designee. The request shall be in writing and must be 

received by the department within 15 days of the date of the 

notice of suspension/revocation. The school's director may 

appeal the decision of the director or his designee to the 

board. Such request shall be in writing and must be received 
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by the board within 15 days of the date of the decision of the 

director or his designee.  

6VAC20-50-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 

procedures that indicate that every officer, prior to 

satisfactory completion of the training, has passed the criteria 

for testing and met the training objectives related to each 

performance outcome specified in the document entitled 

"Performance Outcomes for Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Jailors or Custodial Officer, Courthouse and 

Courtroom Security Officers and Process Service Officers."  

A. Attendance. 

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 

security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 

process attending approved training are required to attend 

all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call except 

in cases of emergency (e.g., natural disaster, etc.). In the 

event of such an emergency, the agency administrator or 

designee shall determine if it is appropriate to place 

officers on duty or on call and shall advise the academy 

director within 24 hours. 

2. Officers shall be responsible for any material missed 

during an excused absence. 

B. Academy testing. 

1. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 

security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 

process shall meet all the training objectives and pass all 

criteria for testing related to each performance outcome 

approved by the COT [ of the board ]. 

2. The officer may be tested and retested as may be 

necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-50-40 A and 

each certified [ criminal justice ] training academy's 

written policy. An officer shall not be certified as having 

complied with the compulsory minimum training standards 

unless all applicable requirements have been met.  

C. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 

records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 

training records must be maintained in accordance with the 

provisions of these rules and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-50-80. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations.  

Any individual A. Individuals attending a certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy shall comply with the 

rules and regulations promulgated by the department. The 

academy director shall be responsible for enforcement of all 

rules and regulations established to govern the conduct of 

attendees.  

If the academy director considers a violation of the rules and 

regulations B. Individuals violating the rules and regulations 

governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the academy, 

the academy director may expel the officer from the academy 

or the safety of officers, visitors, or personnel may be 

expelled. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 

immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 

administrator of the officer in accordance with rules and 

regulations within the authority of the certified training 

academy individual and the department.  

6VAC20-50-90. Administrative requirements.  

The academy director shall maintain a final curriculum that 

includes performance outcomes, hours and instructor names.  

A. [ Criminal justice agencies will receive a roster 

containing the names of those deputy sheriffs, jail officers, 

courthouse and courtroom security officers, and deputy 

sheriffs designated to serve process who have satisfactorily 

completed the compulsory minimum training standards 

within 60 days of completion. B. Field training shall be 

completed in accordance with the requirements in 6VAC20-

50-40. ] The agency shall complete the appropriate 

department authorized field training completion form (Form 

J-1, Form CS-1, [ and or ] Form CP-1) documenting the 

completion of field training for officers.  

[ C. B. ] The agency administrator shall sign and submit the 

field training completion form to the department for each 

officer [ within 12 months of hire or appointment ].  

[ D. C. ] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 

inspection, and review by the department upon request.  

[ E. D. ] Training records shall be maintained in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter and the Virginia Public 

Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

6VAC20-50-120. Certification status and in-service 

training. 

A. Full-time and part-time law-enforcement officers of a 

police department or sheriff's office that is part of or 

administered by the Commonwealth or any political division, 

law-enforcement officers as defined in § 9.1-101 of the Code 

of Virginia, and all jail officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia must be certified through the successful 

completion of training at [ an approved a certified ] criminal 

justice training academy in order to remain eligible for 

appointment or employment. 

B. Deputy sheriffs, jail officers, courthouse and courtroom 

security officers, and deputy sheriffs designated to serve 

process shall comply with in-service training and firearms 

training requirements identified in 6VAC20-30. 
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6VAC20-50-130. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 

department shall be a member or a certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-50)  

Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 8/05)  

 [ Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) ]  

Field Training: Jail Deputy and Jail Officer, J-1, (rev. 

5/2018) 

Field Training: Court Security Officer, CS-1, (rev. 5/2018) 

Field Training: Civil Process Officers, CP-1, (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-50) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

6VAC20-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy.  

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 

or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or 

non-law-enforcement head of a communications center.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a 

training facility [ or campus ] in compliance with academy 

certification or recertification standards and operated by the 

state or local unit(s) [ unit units ] of government that is 

owned, leased, rented, or used exclusively for the purpose of 

providing instruction of compulsory minimum training 

standards training criminal justice professionals regulated by 

department and board. [ Approved firing ranges, driving 

tracks, and defensive tactics training rooms are considered 

part of the academy facility, subject to review during 

academy certification and recertification. ]  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 

committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 

proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 

public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 

needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 

Training and minimum [ training ] hours approved by the 

Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee 

consisting of the following nine individuals: two members of 

the committee shall represent regional criminal justice 

[ training ] academies, two members of the committee shall 

represent independent criminal justice [ training ] academies, 

one member shall represent the Department of State Police 

Training Academy, and four experienced communications 

personnel shall represent emergency communication 

functions. The Committee on Training shall appoint members 

of the Curriculum Review Committee.  

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

[ "Designee" means one who acts with the authority of the 

chief executive of the agency. ]  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

Department of Criminal Justice Services department or the 

director's designee.  

"Dispatcher" means any person employed by or in any local 

or state government agency either full time or part-time part 

time whose duties include the dispatching of law-enforcement 

personnel.  

"Emergency medical dispatcher training" means training 

which meets or exceeds the training objectives as provided in 

Performance Outcome 1.6, which is set out in 6VAC20-60-

100.  

"Standard" means Performance Outcome, Training 

Objective, Criteria for Testing, and Lesson Plan Guide 

relating to compulsory minimum training for dispatchers and 

is found on the department's website.  

"VCIN/NCIC training" means approved training as specified 

by the Virginia Department of State Police for dispatchers 

accessing Virginia Crime Information Network/National 

Crime Information Center information.  

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies 

compulsory minimum training requirements (i.e., basic and 

in-service training). 

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 

from the certified academy facility, which the certified 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfdcc005427~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfdcc005427~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=549ff005427~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5e80e005427~78.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427~8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427~8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427~8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb28b005427~8g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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[ criminal justice training ] academy uses exclusively to 

conduct in-service training. 

6VAC20-60-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 10 of § 9.1-102 

(10) of the Code of Virginia, the department under the 

direction of the board establishes the categories of training as 

listed below in subsection B of this section as the compulsory 

minimum training standards for dispatchers: whose duties 

include dispatching for law enforcement. 

B. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the 

compulsory minimum training standards in the following 

categories at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy: 

1. Category 1 - Communications. Communication; 

2. Category 2 - Dispatcher Judgment. judgment; 

3. Category 3 - Legal Issues.; and 

4. Category 4 - Professionalism. 

5. Category 5 - On-the-Job Training.  

C. Individuals hired as dispatchers shall meet or exceed the 

performance outcomes in the category of on-the-job training 

identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice 

Services Field Training and On the Job Training Performance 

Outcomes.  

6VAC20-60-25. Approval authority.  

A. The Criminal Justice Services Board board shall be the 

approval authority for the training categories of the 

compulsory minimum training standards identified in 

6VAC20-60-20. Amendments to training categories shall be 

made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The Committee on Training of the Criminal Justice 

Services Board (COT) shall be the approval authority for the 

performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes.  

1. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum 

training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by 

the Committee on Training COT based upon on written 

recommendation of a chief of police, sheriff, agency 

administrator, academy director, non-law-enforcement 

head of a communications center, or the Curriculum 

Review Committee (CRC).  

2. Suggestions received related to performance outcomes, 

training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be 

reviewed by the CRC. The CRC shall present 

recommendations for revisions to the COT. 

Prior to C. Before approving changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, 

the Committee on Training COT shall conduct a public 

hearing schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 

meeting of the COT. Sixty A minimum of 60 days prior to 

before the public hearing meeting of the COT, the proposed 

changes shall be distributed to all affected parties certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academies for the opportunity to 

comment. Notice of change of changes to the performance 

outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides 

shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations upon adoption, change, or deletion.  

D. The [ department Department ] shall notify each certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of any new, 

revised, or deleted objectives COT approved revisions. Such 

adoptions, changes, or deletions shall become effective 30 

days after notice of publication in the Virginia Register COT 

approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to 

certified [ criminal justice ] training academies prior to 

becoming effective. 

6VAC20-60-30. Applicability.  

A. All Full-time or part-time dispatchers employed by or in 

any local or state government agency whose duties include 

the dispatching of law-enforcement personnel and who were 

hired on or after July 1, 1988, must meet compulsory 

minimum training standards established at the time of their 

appointment, and requirements as identified in 6VAC20-60-

20 and 6VAC20-60-40 unless provided otherwise in 

accordance with subsection B of this chapter section.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 

of the compulsory minimum training standards established 

herein in this chapter, in accordance with § 9.1-116 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

C. Any dispatcher having previously and successfully 

completed the compulsory minimum training standards who 

resigns and is reappointed within 24 months from departure 

will not be required to complete the academy training class.  

6VAC20-60-40. Time requirement for completion of 

training.  

A. Every dispatcher who is Dispatchers required to comply 

with the compulsory minimum training standards must 

satisfactorily complete the required training set forth in 

6VAC20-60-20, within 24 months of the date of [ hire or ] 

appointment as a dispatcher, unless provided otherwise in 

accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The director [ or the director's designee ] may grant an 

extension of the time limit for completion of the compulsory 

minimum training standards under and requirements for the 

following conditions: reasons [ .: ]  

1. [ The chief of police, sheriff, or agency administrator 

shall present written notification that the dispatcher was 

unable to complete the required training within the specified 

time limit due to: ]   
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a. Illness 1. Medical condition;  

b. 2. Injury;  

c. 3. Military service; or 

d. Special duty assignment required and performed in the 

public interest;  

e. 4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 

workers' compensation or disability retirement issues, or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 

crime; or.  

f. Any other reason documented by the agency 

administrator. Such reason must be specific and any C. The 

director or the director's designee may review and consider 

other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical leave, 

etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, the 

extension shall not exceed 90 days.  

2. Any extension granted under subdivision 1 e of this 

subsection shall require the dispatcher to complete 

compulsory minimum training prior to resuming job 

duties. Requests may be granted for periods not to exceed 

12 months.  

D. [ The director or the director's designee may review and 

consider requests to renew training extensions if the reason 

for the original training extension continues and the request 

occurs before the expiration of the original extension. 

E. ] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 

pass compulsory minimum training standards and 

requirements within specified time limits.  

[ E. F. ] The agency administrator may request an extension 

from the director or the director's designee. 

1. The request shall be in writing and include written 

documentation articulating the reason the individual is 

unable to complete the required training within the 

specified time limits.  

2. The request shall be submitted to the department before 

the expiration of the specified time limits. 

3. Dispatchers who do not satisfactorily complete 

compulsory minimum training standards [ and on-the-job 

training ] within 24 months of appointment as a dispatcher 

and who do not receive an extension of the time limit for 

completion of the requirements shall be subject to the 

provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. The agency administrator must request such extension 

prior to expiration of any time limit.  

C. Any dispatcher having previously and successfully 

completed the compulsory minimum training standards who 

resigns and is reappointed within 24 months from departure 

will not be required to complete the academy training class.  

6VAC20-60-50. Compliance with compulsory minimum 

training standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 

accomplished by satisfactory completion of the academy 

training objectives at a certified training academy and the 

successful completion of on-the-job training objectives as 

provided by 6VAC20-60-30 B.  

B. Dispatchers attending compulsory minimum training at a 

certified training academy are required to attend all classes 

and should not be placed on duty or call except in cases of 

emergency.  

C. The Criminal Justice Services Board will provide a 

transition period for implementation of this chapter. The 

transition period shall begin January 1, 2002. During the 

transition period, certified training academies may conduct 

dispatcher entry-level training using the performance 

objectives within the "Rules Relating to Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards for Dispatchers," effective 

January 1, 1994, or the performance outcomes and training 

objectives. Accordingly, any certified training academy may 

institute a curriculum transition by replacing existing 

performance objectives with the revised performance 

outcomes and training objectives. Effective January 1, 2003, 

all entry-level training programs shall meet the requirements 

of 6VAC20-60-100.  

6VAC20-60-60. Approved training schools. (Repealed.)  

A. Dispatcher classroom training may only be provided by a 

certified training academy. The certified training academy 

shall submit to the department the curriculum and other 

information as designated, within time limitations established 

by the department.  

B. Each academy director will be required to maintain a file 

of all current lesson plans and supporting materials for each 

subject contained in the compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

C. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 

review by the director or staff.  

D. To become a certified academy, a state or local unit of 

government must demonstrate a need that contains the 

following elements:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 

academies or a sufficient hardship that renders the use of 

other existing academies impractical.  

2. Based upon a training needs assessment, a sufficient 

number of officers to warrant the establishment of a full-

time training function for a minimum of five years.  

E. In addition, the state or local unit of government must 

make the following commitments:  
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1. The provision of a full range of training to include entry-

level training and specialized training.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 

responsibility as academy director and one clerical position 

to support training and training related functions and 

instructor certification.  

3. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 

conduct training in accordance with academy certification 

standards.  

4. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 

support the training function.  

F. Process.  

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 

justification to the Committee on Training as described in 

subsection D of this section. The Committee on Training 

shall review the justification and make a recommendation 

to the department as to whether the establishment of an 

academy is warranted.  

2. If the Committee on Training recommends the 

establishment of the proposed academy, the department 

shall make a determination as to whether the establishment 

of the academy is warranted.  

3. If the establishment of the academy is approved by the 

department, the proposed academy must successfully 

complete the academy certification process.  

G. The certified training academy shall submit to the 

department its curriculum and other information as designated 

within time limitations established by the department.  

H. Each academy director shall maintain a file of all current 

lesson plans and supporting material for training objectives, 

and shall provide this information to the director upon 

request.  

I. A certified training academy is subject to inspection and 

review by the director or his staff.  

J. The department may suspend or revoke the certification of 

any certified training academy upon written notice, which 

shall contain the reason or reasons upon which the suspension 

or revocation is based, to the academy's director. The 

academy's director may request a hearing before the director. 

The request shall be in writing and shall be received by the 

department within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

suspension or revocation. The academy's director may appeal 

the director's decision to the board.  

6VAC20-60-70. Grading Attendance, testing, and grading.  

A. All certified training academies shall utilize testing 

procedures that indicate that every dispatcher has 

satisfactorily completed the criteria in each training objective 

approved by the Committee on Training of the Criminal 

Justice Services Board. Attendance. 

1. Dispatchers attending approved training are required to 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or on call 

except in cases of an emergency. If there is an emergency 

(e.g., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) the agency 

administrator or designee shall determine if it is 

appropriate to place dispatchers on duty or on call and shall 

advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Dispatchers shall be responsible for any material missed 

during an excused absence.  

B. Academy testing. 

1. Dispatchers shall comply with the requirements of 

6VAC20-60-20.  

2. Each dispatcher shall meet all the training objectives and 

pass each criteria for testing related to every performance 

outcome approved by the COT. 

3. A dispatcher may be tested and retested as may be 

necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-60-40 and in 

accordance with each the certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy's written policy.  

B. Certified training academies shall maintain accurate 

records of all tests, grades and testing procedures. Academy 

training records must be maintained in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter and §§ 42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

C. Every individual attending compulsory minimum training 

shall satisfactorily complete each required performance 

outcome, training objective, and criteria, and any optional job 

related subject performance requirements, where applicable. 

Any individual who fails to satisfactorily complete any 

performance outcomes or objectives in any subject will be 

required to attend that subject in a subsequent approved 

dispatcher training school and satisfactorily complete the 

required performance objective or objectives.  

6VAC20-60-80. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations.  

A. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the department. The academy director shall 

be responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations 

established to govern the conduct of attendees.  

If the academy director considers a violation of the rules and 

regulations B. Individuals violating the rules and regulations 

governing the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy, the academy director 

may expel the individual or the safety of dispatchers, visitors, 

or personnel may be expelled from the certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy.  

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 

immediately be reported, in writing, to the agency 
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administrator of the dispatcher and the director individual and 

the department.  

6VAC20-60-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports will be required from the agency administrator 

and academy director on forms approved or provided by the 

department and at such times as designated by the director. 

[ Agencies will receive a roster containing the names of those 

dispatchers who have satisfactorily completed the compulsory 

minimum training standards within 60 days of completion. 

B. ] The agency shall complete the department authorized on-

the-job training completion form (Form D-1) documenting 

the completion of on-the-job training for dispatchers. 

[ C. B. ] The agency administrator shall, within the time 

requirement set forth in subsection A of 6VAC20-60-40, sign 

and forward a properly executed on-the-job training form to 

the department for each dispatcher. 

C. The academy director shall, within 30 days upon 

completion of the dispatcher training:  

1. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 

of those dispatchers who have satisfactorily completed the 

compulsory minimum training standards.  

2. Submit to the department the final curriculum with the 

training objectives and instructor names listed.  

D. The academy director shall furnish each instructor with 

the performance based training and testing objectives for the 

assigned subject matter.  

E. Each certified training academy shall maintain accurate 

records of all tests, grades and testing procedures.  

[ D. C. ] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 

inspection, and review by the department upon request.  

[ E. D. ] Dispatcher training records shall be maintained in 

accordance with the provisions of these regulations this 

chapter and §§ 42.1-67 through 42.1-91 the Virginia Public 

Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC20-60-95. Certified training academies. 

Every criminal justice agency under the purview of the 

department shall be a member of a certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-60) 

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, rev. 04/10. 

On the Job Training Dispatchers, Form D-1, rev. 09/02. 

 [ Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) ]  

On the Job Training Dispatchers, Form D-1 (rev. 5/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-60) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

EDITOR'S NOTE: The proposed amendments to 6VAC20-

70, which were published in 34:21 VA.R. 2082-2112 June 11, 

2018, were not adopted by the Criminal Justice Services 

Board. Since no changes were made to this chapter, the text is 

removed from the final regulation.  

CHAPTER 90  

RULES RELATING TO REGIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE 

TRAINING ACADEMIES  

6VAC20-90-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise.:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy. 

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff, 

or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency 

[ or agency head of a local correctional facility as defined in 

§ 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Approved training" means any training approved by the 

department to meet minimum training standards. 

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a 

training facility [ or campus ] in compliance with academy 

certification or recertification standards operated by the state 

or local [ unit units ] of government that is owned, leased, 

rented, or used exclusively for the purpose of training 

criminal justice professionals regulated by the department and 

board. [ Approved firing ranges, driving tracks, and defensive 

tactics training rooms are considered part of the academy 

facility, subject to review during academy certification and 

recertification. ]  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 

committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 

proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49211005427~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427~11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427~11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427~11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41dbf005427~11g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6914
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6914
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public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 

needed. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 

Training and the minimum [ training ] hours approved by the 

Criminal Justice Services Board. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services. 

[ "Designee" means one who acts with the authority of the 

chief executive of the agency. ]  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department.  

"External [ classroom training location ]" means a training 

[ room location ] approved by the department located away 

from the certified [ criminal justice training ] academy, which 

the certified [ criminal justice training ] academy uses to 

conduct mandated training [ , ] using full-time [ and part-

time ] academy staff with general instructorships. 

"Mandated training" means training that satisfies 

compulsory minimum training requirements (i.e., basic and 

in-service training). 

"Regional Academy" means [ Regional Criminal Justice 

Training Academy a regional criminal justice academy as 

defined by § 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia ].  

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 

from the certified academy facility, which the certified 

academy uses exclusively to conduct in-service training.  

6VAC20-90-20. Designation.  

A. The regional academies set forth below in this subsection 

are designated as regional academies and are eligible to 

receive allocated funds from the department.  

Cardinal Criminal Justice Academy  

Salem, Virginia  

Central Shenandoah Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Waynesboro, Virginia  

Central Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Lynchburg, Virginia  

Crater Criminal Justice Academy  

Petersburg, Virginia  

Hampton Roads Regional Academy of Criminal Justice  

Newport News, Virginia  

New River Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Radford, Virginia  

Northern Virginia Criminal Justice Academy  

Ashburn, Virginia  

Piedmont Regional Criminal Justice Training Academy  

Martinsville, Virginia  

Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy  

Fredericksburg, Virginia  

Skyline Regional Criminal Justice Academy 

Front Royal, Virginia 

Southwest Law Enforcement Virginia Criminal Justice 

Academy  

Bristol, Virginia  

B. Jurisdictions may operate their own certified independent 

training academies if approved by the department; however, 

no state funds will be available for such academies. A 

jurisdiction, within or without the Commonwealth, may join a 

regional academy at any time subject to complying with the 

policies established by the board requirements of §§ 15.2-

1300 and 15.2-1747 of the Code of Virginia, and this chapter.  

C. A regional academy site may be changed by the academy 

governing body with the approval of the board.  

D. Training, where practical, shall be conducted at 

designated satellite locations throughout the geographical 

confines of the regional academy to ensure minimum travel 

for student officers.  

E. The board shall define geographical boundaries of 

designated regional academies.  

6VAC20-90-30. Academy governing body.  

Each regional academy shall have a charter, which shall be 

established in accordance with § §§ 15.2-1300 and 15.2-1747 

of the Code of Virginia. The charter shall, in accordance with 

guidelines established by the board, create an academy 

governing body and specify the composition, authority and 

functions of the academy governing body and selection 

criteria and duties of the regional academy director.  

6VAC20-90-40. Funds.  

The department will disburse funds to the regional 

academies designated in 6VAC20-90-20 in accordance with 

the appropriations made to the department for the purpose of 

providing financial support to the regional training 

academies. Financial reports An operating budget and 

independent audit by a third-party auditor will be required as 

determined by the department to be submitted to the 

department annually.  

6VAC20-90-60. Academy creation. 

A. Conduct training needs assessment. To determine if a 

need exists for the creation of a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy, a state or local unit of government must 
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complete a training needs assessment. The needs assessment 

will evaluate the following:  

1. The inability to obtain adequate training from existing 

academies.  

2. A hardship that renders the use of other existing 

academies impractical. 

3. The number of criminal justice professionals (i.e., 

students) the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

would serve.  

4. That there are a sufficient number of criminal justice 

professionals, financial resources, and academy personnel 

to support the creation and maintenance of a full-time 

regional or independent training academy for a minimum 

of five years. 

B. Identify and acknowledge commitments. The state or 

local unit of government shall in writing make the following 

commitments: 

1. The provision of a full range of training to include basic 

training, in-service training, and instructor certification and 

recertification training.  

2. The assignment of one position with primary 

responsibility as academy director and one clerical, 

financial officer [ , ] or support position to support training 

and training-related functions.  

3. The provision of adjunct instructors to instruct classes 

and courses. 

4. The maintenance of a training facility adequate to 

conduct training in accordance with academy certification 

standards. 

5. The commitment of sufficient funding to adequately 

support the training function. 

C. Review and consideration. 

1. The state or local governmental unit shall submit a 

training needs assessment and written commitments to the 

Committee on Training (COT) as described in subsections 

A and B of this section.  

2. [ The department and the COT shall review and consider 

assessments after reviewing the mutual agreement 

documents signed by the separating agency and the 

certified criminal justice training academy. 

3. ] The COT shall review the assessment and make a 

recommendation to the department as to whether the 

creation of an academy is warranted. 

[ 3. 4. ] If the COT recommends the creation of the 

proposed academy, the department shall make a 

determination as to whether the creation of an academy is 

warranted. 

a. If the creation of a regional academy is approved by 

the department, the governing bodies or political 

subdivisions of the proposed academy must successfully 

complete the academy certification process and be in 

compliance with the provisions of § 15.2-1747 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

b. If the creation of an independently operated academy 

is approved by the department, the governing body of the 

proposed academy must successfully complete the 

academy certification process and be in compliance with 

the provisions of subsection D of § 15.2-1747 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

6VAC20-90-70. Academy certification. 

A. An academy shall not conduct mandated training until the 

academy meets all certification requirements.  

B. Training academies, all places of operation (i.e., satellite 

facilities, external [ classrooms training locations ], firing 

range, driving course, etc.), and the records are subject to 

audit, inspection, and review by the department. Audits and 

inspections may be announced or unannounced.  

C. The academy must formally request academy 

certification status from the department and meet the 

following requirements:  

1. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date 

with the academy director and conduct the on-site 

assessment for academy certification. 

2. The academy shall meet 100% [ of ] the academy 

certification standards identified in the DCJS Certified 

Criminal Justice Training Academy Certification Checklist 

and Report in each of the following categories:  

a. Administration;  

b. Personnel; 

c. Facility;  

d. Instruction; and  

e. Satellite facility. 

3. Certification is valid for one year from the date of 

certification. 

a. In order to maintain certification status, the academy 

must successfully complete the academy recertification 

process before the expiration of the original certification.  

b. The recertification will extend the expiration date to 

June 30 of the third year following the date of 

recertification.  

D. If the academy does not meet one or more certification 

standards identified in the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice 

Training Academy Certification Checklist and Report:  
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1. The academy director will receive written notification of 

the certification standards that have not been met and the 

date when a reassessment will be conducted. 

2. The department shall provide the written notification 

and date of reassessment within five business days of the 

last date of assessment.  

3. The academy will be given time to correct the 

[ situation noncompliance], not to exceed 60 days. 

4. Department staff shall reassess the academy. If the 

academy does not meet one or more of the certification 

standards upon reassessment, the department will provide 

written notification of the standards not met during 

reassessment to the academy director and agency 

administrator or board chairman of the academy. The 

academy will have a maximum of 30 days to comply with 

all certification standards. 

5. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 

30 days following the first reassessment. If the academy is 

still not in compliance with all certification standards at the 

time of the second reassessment, the department shall not 

certify the academy. 

6. The academy director may appeal the findings of the 

academy certification to the director. The decision of the 

director is final. 

E. Academies failing to meet the certification requirements 

or losing on appeal shall restart the academy certification 

process identified within this section beginning with 

6VAC20-90-70 C.  

6VAC20-90-80. Academy recertification. 

A. A certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall not 

conduct mandated training for courses in which it is not in 

compliance with regulatory and certification requirements. 

B. A certified [ criminal justice ] training academy, all 

places of operation (i.e., satellite facilities, firing range, 

driving course, etc.), and the records are subject to audit, 

inspection, and review by the department. Audits and 

inspections may be announced and unannounced.  

C. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy must 

successfully complete the academy recertification process 

before June 30 of the third year from the last date of 

recertification.  

D. The department will establish a mutually agreeable date 

with the academy director and conduct the on-site assessment 

for academy recertification. 

1. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

[ meet 100% of be assessed for compliance with ] the 

academy certification standards identified in the DCJS 

Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 

Recertification Checklist and Report in each of the 

following categories: 

a. Administration;  

b. Personnel; 

c. Facility;  

d. Instruction; and  

e. Satellite facility. 

2. If the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy does 

not meet one or more recertification standards identified in 

the DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 

Recertification Checklist and Report:  

a. The academy director will receive written notification 

of the recertification standards that have not been met 

along with a department drafted corrective action plan 

and the date when a reassessment will be conducted 

within five business days from the last date of 

assessment.  

b. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy will 

be given time to correct the [ situation noncompliance ], 

not to exceed 60 days. 

c. The department staff shall reassess the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy. If the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy does not meet one or 

more of the certification standards upon reassessment, 

the department will provide written notification of the 

standards not met during reassessment to the academy 

director and agency administrator, or board chairman of 

the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy. The 

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy will have a 

maximum of 30 days to comply with all certification 

standards. 

d. A second reassessment will be conducted no later than 

30 days following the first reassessment. If the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy is [ still ] not in 

compliance with all certification standards [ or has failed 

to adopt and implement the department issued corrective 

action plan ] at the time of the second reassessment, the 

director shall suspend the [ academies academy's ] 

certification in accordance with 6VAC20-90-100 and 

conduct a hearing within 30 days to determine the status 

of the academy's certification. 

E. The director shall review all pertinent documents.  

1. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal 

presentation.  

2. After a review of all pertinent information, the director 

shall determine the status of the academy certification.  
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F. The academy director may seek appeal to the enforcement 

actions identified in 6VAC20-90-100 of the academy 

recertification assessment.  

1. The academy director may request a hearing before 

[ the ] Executive Committee of the Criminal Justice 

Services Board. The request shall be in writing and shall be 

received by the department within 15 days of the date of 

the notice of probation, suspension, or revocation.  

2. The academy will have an opportunity to make a verbal 

presentation before the executive committee.  

3. After a review of all pertinent information, the executive 

committee shall determine the status of the certification.  

6VAC20-90-90. Training requirements, approvals, audits, 

inspections, and reviews. 

A. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

conduct mandated (e.g., basic) training using the Virginia 

Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards for:  

1. Law enforcement officers in accordance with the 

requirements of 6VAC20-20-21 B 1. 

2. Deputy sheriffs and jail officers in accordance with the 

requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 B 1. 

3. Courthouse and courtroom security officers in 

accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 C 1. 

4. Deputy sheriffs designated to serve process in 

accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-50-20 D 1. 

5. Dispatchers in accordance with the requirements of 

6VAC20-60-20 B. 

6. Noncustodial employees of the Department of 

Corrections designated by the Director of the Department 

of Corrections to carry a weapon in accordance with the 

requirements of 6VAC20-70-20. 

7. Correctional officers of the Department of Corrections 

in accordance with the requirements of 6VAC20-100-20 B 

1. 

B. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

submit to the department its curriculum containing the 

performance outcomes, instructor names, and the dates and 

times for all basic training, including all instructor schools 

and field training officer schools, and a letter requesting 

approval (e.g., memorandum of transmittal) at least 30 days 

before the start of the course.  

C. The department shall review the documents submitted, 

and if approved, the department shall notify the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy in writing of course 

approval.  

D. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

approve in-service training in accordance with the 

requirements identified in 6VAC20-30.  

E. The department shall conduct training audits, inspections, 

and review.  

6VAC20-90-100. Enforcement actions for recertification. 

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions 

provided in this subsection when identifying noncompliance 

of this chapter that varies from the intent of this chapter by 

academies and certified [ criminal justice training ] 

academies.  

1. Probation is a written notification for violations of 

department rules or regulations requiring continuous 

oversight by the department for a specific duration of time.  

2. Suspension is a written notification of the removal of 

authorization to conduct, instruct, or hold specified courses 

or schools for violations of this chapter for a specific 

duration of time.  

3. Revocation is a written notification by the director of the 

deactivation and removal of authorization issued under 

certification to operate as a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy for violations of this chapter for an 

indefinite period of time.  

B. The enforcement actions and procedures provided in this 

subsection are not mutually exclusive. The department may 

invoke as many enforcement actions as the situation requires. 

1. The department may consider probation, suspension, or 

revocation status for a certified [ criminal justice ] training 

academy with documented noncompliance for one or more 

academy recertification standards when the certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy has failed to correct 

the noncompliance in accordance with the recertification 

process and timeline identified in 6VAC20-90-80.  

2. If there is a life, health, or safety issue or felonious 

criminal activity occurring during any department or 

academy approved training, at any location, the director 

may unilaterally revoke the academy's certification. The 

status of the revocation shall be reviewed at the next 

scheduled Criminal Justice Services Board meeting.  

6VAC20-90-110. Enforcement actions for instruction and 

training. 

A. The department shall use the enforcement actions 

provided in this subsection when identifying noncompliance 

of this chapter by certified training academies.  

1. Probation is a written notification for violations of 

department rules or regulations requiring continuous 

oversight by the department for a specific course or class.  
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2. Suspension is a written notification of the removal of 

authorization to conduct, instruct, or hold specified courses 

or schools for violations of this chapter. 

B. The department may conduct training audits inspections 

and reviews and immediately suspend a class, course, or 

training if there is a violation of academy certification or 

recertification standard or requirements or if there is a life, 

health, or safety issue or felonious criminal activity occurring 

at an academy or a satellite facility. The suspension shall 

remain in place until the noncompliance is corrected. 

C. The department may assign probation status to a certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy's course or class. This 

allows a certified academy to conduct a class with oversight 

from the department.  

D. Probation and suspension status shall be reviewed by the 

department upon compliance with all requirements.  

6VAC20-90-120. Attendance, testing, grading, and 

recordkeeping. 

A. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

establish, maintain, and follow a policy that requires criminal 

justice professionals to attend all classes except in emergency 

situations (i.e., natural disaster, catastrophic event, etc.) and 

notify criminal justice professionals of their responsibility for 

any material missed during an excused absence per academy 

policy.  

B. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

utilize testing procedures that indicate that every criminal 

justice professional has satisfactorily completed the criteria 

for every training objective and performance outcome 

approved by the Committee on Training of the Criminal 

Justice Services Board and located in the Virginia Criminal 

Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory Minimum 

Training Standards. 

C. A criminal justice officer may be tested and retested as 

may be necessary within the time limits of 6VAC20-20-40, 

6VAC20-50-40, 6VAC20-60-40, 6VAC20-70-40, or 

6VAC20-100-40 and in accordance with each certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy's written policy.  

D. Law-enforcement certification exam.  

1. The department shall generate and proctor the law-

enforcement certification exam.  

2. All certified training academies shall document that each 

law-enforcement officer has complied with all minimum 

training standards in all categories identified in 6VAC20-

20-21 before scheduling the law-enforcement certification 

exam. 

3. Upon documented compliance with the minimum 

training standards identified in 6VAC20-20-21 officers 

will be eligible to complete the law-enforcement 

certification exam.  

E. The academy director shall certify [ each] criminal justice 

professional [ have has ] complied with the applicable rules 

relating to the compulsory minimum training standards and 

requirements. The academy director shall submit the 

following information using the department's electronic 

training records management system within 60 days of the 

last day of completing the compulsory minimum training or 

in-service training. 

1. Name of certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

and academy director's name; 

2. Start and end dates of training; 

3. Name and type of course; 

4. Social security number of criminal justice professionals;  

5. Last name, first name, and middle initial of criminal 

justice professionals; 

6. Name of criminal justice professional's employing 

agency; and 

7. Academy director's signature and date. 

F. Certified [ criminal justice ] training academies shall 

maintain accurate records of all tests, grades, and testing 

procedures.  

G. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

director shall maintain a file of all current lesson plans and 

supporting material for training objectives and shall provide 

this information to the director upon request. 

H. The certified [ criminal justice ] training academy shall 

maintain training records in accordance with the provisions of 

this chapter and the Virginia Public Records Act (§ 42.1-76 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

6VAC20-90-130. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations. 

A. The academy director shall be responsible for 

enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 

the conduct of attendees. 

B. Any individual attending a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the certified [ criminal justice ] training 

academy and the department. 

C. Individuals violating the rules and regulations governing 

the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy or violating 

the rules of the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

determined to be detrimental to the welfare of the academy or 

the safety of [ officers criminal justice professionals ], 

visitors, or personnel may be expelled.  

D. Notification of expulsion will immediately be reported in 

writing to the agency administrator of the individual and the 

department. 
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-90) 

DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 

Certification Checklist and Report, May 2018, Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services 

DCJS Certified Criminal Justice Training Academy 

Recertification Checklist and Report, May 2018, Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Satellite Facility Worksheet, May 2018, Virginia 

Department of Criminal Justice Services 

Virginia Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards, published online 

September 2012, (Revised [ March September ] 2018) 

available on the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice 

Services website at https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-

enforcement/manual  

6VAC20-100-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise.:  

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer 

of a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy. 

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff 

or, agency head of a state, or local law-enforcement agency, 

or the director of the Department of Corrections [ , ] or his 

designee.  

"Approved training school" means a training school which 

provides instruction of at least the minimum training 

standards as mandated by the board and has been approved by 

the department for the specific purpose of training criminal 

justice personnel.  

"Approved training" means training approved by the 

department to meet minimum training standards.  

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.  

"Corrections facility director/manager" means the chief 

administrative officer of a correctional facility.  

"Certified [ criminal justice ] training academy" means a 

training facility [ or campus ] in compliance with academy 

certification or recertification standards and operated by the 

state or local unit of government that is owned, leased, rented, 

or used exclusively for the purpose training criminal justice 

professionals regulated by department and board. [ Approved 

firing ranges, driving tracks, and defensive tactics training 

rooms are considered part of the academy facility, subject to 

review during academy certification and recertification. 

"Compulsory minimum training standards" means the 

written performance outcomes approved by the Committee on 

Training and the minimum training hours approved by the 

Criminal Justice Services Board. ]  

"Committee on Training" or "COT" means the standing 

committee of the board that is charged with reviewing 

proposed changes to the standards, receiving and reviewing 

public comments, and approving changes to the standards as 

needed. 

"Curriculum Review Committee" means the committee 

consisting of nine individuals representing the Department of 

Corrections. Two members of the committee shall represent 

the western region, two members shall represent the eastern 

region, two members shall represent the central region, and 

three members shall represent administration. 

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice 

Services.  

[ "Designee" means one who acts with the authority of the 

chief executive of the agency. ]  

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the 

department or the director's designee.  

"Full-time attendance" means that officers in training shall 

attend all classes and shall not be placed on duty or call 

except in cases of emergency for the duration of the school.  

[ "External training location" means a training location 

approved by the department located away from the certified 

criminal justice training academy, which the certified 

criminal justice training academy uses to conduct mandated 

training using full-time and part-time academy staff with 

general instructorships. ]  

"Satellite facility" means a temporary facility located away 

from the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy 

facility, which the certified academy uses exclusively to 

conduct in-service training. 

"School director" means the chief administrative officer of 

an approved training school.  

6VAC20-100-20. Compulsory minimum training 

standards.  

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 9-170 7 of the subdivision 

9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the department under 

the direction of the board establishes the following as the 

compulsory minimum training standards for full-time or part-

time correctional officers of the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions.  

The performance objectives constituting the institutional and 

academy for staff development core and sub-core curricula is 

detailed in the document entitled, "Performance-Based 

Training and Testing Objectives for Compulsory Minimum 

Training for Correctional Officers of the Department of 

Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions" (June, 1986), 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427~12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427~12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1b95d005427~12).pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=88b9e005427~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e19005427~178.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e19005427~178.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual
https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/law-enforcement/manual
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which is incorporated by reference and made a part of these 

regulations.  

A. Basic correctional officer training - institutional training.  

1. Core curriculum.  

4.0. Key Control  

5.0. Tool Control  

6.0. Control/Account for Inmates  

10.0. Search Procedures - Persons  

11.0. Search Procedures - Objects  

12.0. Search Procedures - Vehicles  

13.0. Search Procedures - Areas  

14.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Facility - 

Perimeter  

15.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Tower  

16.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Sally Port  

17.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Visiting Room  

18.0. Control of Movement In and Out of Gates  

19.0. Radio/Telephone Communications  

20.0. Control of Movement - Control Room  

21.0. Control of Movement - Master Control  

22.0. Maintaining Effective Security Equipment  

23.0. Control of Contraband  

24.0. Control of Movement Using Restraints  

24.1. Identification of Restraints  

24.2. Use of Restraints  

25.0. Control of Inmate Movement - Internal  

26.0. Transportation and Escorting  

32.0. Communication of Critical Information to 

Correctional Officers  

33.0. Communication of Critical Information to 

Supervisors  

34.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations  

35.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - Behavior 

Adjustment  

36.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - 

Adjustment Committee  

37.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules - ICC  

43.0. Use of Force - Firearms  

44.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Riot or 

Disturbance  

45.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response  

46.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Hostage  

47.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Minor 

Disturbance  

48.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - First Aid  

50.0. Inmate Supervision - Providing Information  

52.0. Inmate Supervision - Work/Recreation  

53.0. Inmate Welfare - Receiving  

54.0. Inmate Welfare - Medical Care  

55.0. Inmate Welfare - Mail  

56.0. Inmate Welfare - Personal Property  

57.0. Inmate Welfare - Housekeeping/Laundry  

.........TOTAL INSTITUTIONAL CURRICULUM 

HOURS - 80  

B. Basic correctional officer training - academy for staff 

development.  

1. Core curriculum.  

1.0. Role of the Correctional System  

2.0. Corrections Within the Criminal Justice System  

3.0. Corrections As a Profession  

7.0. Law-Enforcement Techniques  

8.0. Secure and Safeguard of Crime Scene  

9.0. Testifying  

10.0. Search Procedures - Persons  

23.0. Control of Contraband  

23.1. Control of Drug Use  

23.2. Identification of Controlled/Abused Substance  

23.3. Identification of Materials Used to Achieve 

Intoxication  

23.4. Identification of Materials Used to Make Weapons  

23.5. Procedure for Handling Contraband  

24.0. Control of Movement Using Restraints  

24.1. Identification of Restraints  

24.2. Use of Restraints  

28.0. Crisis Prevention/Inmate  

29.0. Crisis Prevention/I.D. of Potential Problems  
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30.0. Crisis Prevention/I.D. of Mentally Disturbed 

Inmates  

31.0. Conflict Management/Crisis Intervention  

34.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations  

35.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules and Regulations - Behavior 

Adjustment  

38.0. Enforcing Laws, Rules - Grievance  

39.0. Use of Force  

40.0. Use of Force - Defensive Tactics  

41.0. Use of Force - Baton  

42.0. Use of Force - Chemical Agents  

43.0. Use of Force - Firearms  

44.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Riot or 

Disturbance  

45.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response  

46.0. Emergency Preparedness and Response - Hostage  

49.0. Inmate Supervision - Interpersonal 

Communications  

50.0. Inmate Supervision - Providing Information  

51.0. Inmate Supervision - Limitations  

52.0. Inmate Supervision - Work/Recreation  

............TOTAL CORE CURRICULUM HOURS - 120  

2. Sub-core curriculum (required for all correctional 

officers who, in the performance of duties, are required to 

transport inmates by vehicular means).  

27.0. Vehicle Operation.  

............ TOTAL SUB-CORE CURRICULUM HOURS - 

16  

............ TOTAL CURRICULUM HOURS - 216  

B. Individuals hired as correctional officers as defined in 

§ 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed the 

compulsory minimum training standards at a certified 

[ criminal justice ] training academy [ , external training 

location, or satellite facility ] and complete field training 

requirements. Correctional officers shall comply with the 

following:  

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training 

at a certified [ criminal justice ] training academy [ , 

external training location, ] or satellite facility, which 

includes receiving a minimum of 400 hours of department 

approved training in the following categories: 

a. Security and supervision; 

b. Communication; 

c. Safety; 

d. Emergency response; 

e. Conflict and crisis management; 

f. Law and legal; 

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities; 

h. Professionalism; 

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and 

j. Physical fitness training. 

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours of 

approved training in the category of field training 

identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice 

Services Field Training and On the Job Training 

Performance Outcomes. 

6VAC20-100-25. Approval authority. 

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training 

categories and hours identified in 6VAC20-100-20 of the 

compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to 

training categories shall be made in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval 

authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, 

criteria, and lesson plan guides that support the performance 

outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, 

criteria, and lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory 

minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or 

amended by the COT based upon written recommendation of 

the director of the Department of Corrections, a chief of 

police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the 

Curriculum Review Committee. 

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, 

training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, the COT 

shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a 

meeting of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before [ to ] the 

meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be 

distributed to all certified training academies for an 

opportunity to comment. Notice of changes to the 

performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and 

lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations.  

D. The department shall notify each certified [ criminal 

justice ] training academy in writing of any COT approved 

revisions. COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 

days' notice to certified [ criminal justice ] training academies 

prior to becoming effective.  
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6VAC20-100-30. Applicability.  

A. Every A person employed as a full-time or part-time 

correctional officer, and who has not met the compulsory 

minimum training standards for correctional officers 

subsequent to the effective date of these regulations, in 

accordance with subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall meet the compulsory minimum training 

standards herein and requirements established in 6VAC20-

100-20 and 6VAC20-100-40 unless provided otherwise in 

accordance with subsection B of this section.  

B. The director may grant an exemption or partial exemption 

of the compulsory minimum training standards established 

[ herein in 6VAC20-100-20 and 6VAC20-100-40 ], in 

accordance with § 9-173 § 9.1-116 of the Code of Virginia.  

6VAC20-100-40. Time requirement for completion of 

training.  

A. Every correctional officer Correctional officers who is 

are required to comply with the compulsory minimum 

training standards [ , field training, and requirements ] shall 

satisfactorily complete such training within 12 months of the 

date of appointment unless provided otherwise in accordance 

with subsection B of this section.  

B. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for 

completion of the compulsory minimum training required 

upon presentation of evidence by the agency administrator 

that the officer was unable to complete the required training 

within the specified time limit due to illness, injury, military 

service or special duty assignment required and performed in 

the public interest. However, each agency administrator shall 

request such extension prior to expiration of any time limit. 

standards and requirements for the following reasons: 

1. Medical condition; 

2. Injury; 

3. Military service; or 

4. Administrative leave involving the determination of 

worker's compensation or disability retirement issues or 

suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a 

crime.  

C. Any correctional officer The director may review and 

consider other reasons (e.g., natural disaster, family medical 

leave, etc.) for granting an extension. If approval is granted, 

the extension shall not exceed 90 days. 

D. [ The director or director's designee may review and 

consider requests to renew training extensions if the reason 

for the original training extension continues and the request 

occurs before the expiration date of the original extension.  

E. ] The director shall not grant an extension for failing to 

pass compulsory minimum training standards within the 

specified time limits. 

[ E. F. ] Correctional officers who do not [ satisfactorily 

complete compulsory minimum training standards, field 

training, and other requirements within 12 months of hire or 

appointment as a correctional officer, or who do not ] receive 

an extension of the time limit for completion of requirements 

shall be subject to the provisions of § 9.1-115 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

[ F. G. ] The department shall notify the agency 

administrator of individuals not in compliance with the 

requirements of this section. 

[ G. H. ] Correctional officers who originally complied with 

all training requirements and later separated from correctional 

officer status, more than 12 months but less than for a period 

of 24 months or less, upon reentry as a correctional officer, 

will be required to complete all compulsory minimum 

training standards set forth in 6VAC20-100-20 A 1 in-service 

and firearms training requirements set forth in 6VAC20-30.  

D. Any correctional officer [ H. I. ] Correctional officers 

who originally complied with all training requirements and 

later separated from correctional officer status [ , ] in excess 

of for a period greater than 24 months, upon reentry as a 

correctional officer [ , ] shall be required to complete all 

compulsory minimum training standards unless provided 

otherwise in accordance with 6VAC20-100-20 A 1 required 

for correctional officers as set forth in this chapter. 

6VAC20-100-50. How minimum training may be attained. 

(Repealed.)  

A. The compulsory minimum training standards shall be 

attained by attending and satisfactorily completing an 

approved training school.  

B. Officers attending an approved training school are 

required to be present for all classes and should not be placed 

on duty or on call except in cases of emergency. In the event 

of such an emergency, the agency administrator shall advise 

the school director within 24 hours. Officers will be 

responsible for any material missed during an excused 

absence.  

C. All approved training schools which begin on or after 

January 1, 1989, shall be conducted in conformance with the 

Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards 

for Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions, as adopted by the board on 

October 7, 1987. However, the period January 1, 1988, 

through December 31, 1988, shall serve as a transition period 

wherein training schools may be approved by the department 

to conduct training in accordance with the Rules Relating to 

Compulsory Minimum Training Standards For Correctional 

Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of 

Institutional Services, as amended by the board on February 

12, 1982, or according to the Rules Relating to Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the 

Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions, as 
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adopted by the board on October 7, 1987. Every correctional 

officer satisfactorily completing training approved by the 

department under the rules amended February 12, 1982, or 

under the rules adopted on October 7, 1987, shall be deemed 

to have complied with the compulsory minimum training 

standards for correctional officers.  

6VAC20-100-60. Approved training schools. (Repealed.)  

A. Correctional officer training schools shall be approved by 

the department prior to the first scheduled class. Approval is 

requested by making application to the director on forms 

provided by the department. The director may approve those 

schools, which, on the basis of curricula, instructors, facilities 

and examinations provide the required minimum training. 

One application for all mandated training shall be submitted 

prior to the beginning of each fiscal year. A curriculum listing 

performance objective by number, the instructors, dates, and 

times for the entire proposed session shall be submitted to the 

department 30 days prior to the beginning of each such 

proposed session. An exemption to the 30-day requirement 

may be granted for good cause shown by the school director.  

B. Each school director shall be required to maintain a file 

of all lesson plans and supporting material for each subject 

contained in the compulsory minimum training standards.  

C. Schools which are approved shall be subject to inspection 

and review by the director or staff.  

D. The department may suspend the approval of an 

approved training school upon written notice, which shall 

contain the reason(s) upon which the suspension is based, to 

the school's director. The school's director may request a 

hearing before the director or his designee. The request shall 

be in writing and must be received by the department within 

15 days of the date of the notice of suspension. The school's 

director may appeal the decision of the director or his 

designee to the board. Such request shall be in writing and 

must be received by the board within 15 days of the date of 

the decision of the director or his designee.  

E. The department may revoke the approval of an approved 

training school upon written notice, which shall contain the 

reason(s) upon which the revocation is based, to the school's 

director. The school's director may request a hearing before 

the director or his designee. The request shall be in writing 

and must be received by the department within 15 days of the 

date of the notice of revocation. The school's director may 

appeal the decision of the director or his designee to the 

board. Such request shall be in writing and must be received 

by the board within 15 days of the date of the decision of the 

director or his designee.  

6VAC20-100-70. Grading Attendance, requirements, 

testing, and grading.  

A. Each officer shall comply with the requirements of all the 

performance objectives set forth in 6VAC20-100-20 and the 

document entitled, "Performance-Based Training and Testing 

Objectives for Compulsory Minimum Training for 

Correctional Officers of the State Department of Corrections, 

Division of Adult Institutions" (June, 1986). All approved 

training schools shall utilize testing procedures which 

indicate that every officer, prior to satisfactory completion of 

the training school, has met the requirements set forth in each 

performance objective specified in the document entitled, 

"Performance-Based Training and Testing Objectives for 

Compulsory Minimum Training for Correctional Officers of 

the State Department of Corrections, Division of Adult 

Institutions" (June, 1986). An [ officer may be tested and 

retested as may be necessary within the time limits of 

6VAC20-100-40 and in accordance with each academy's 

written policy. An officer shall not be certified as having 

complied with the compulsory minimum training standards 

unless all applicable requirements have been met. ]  

B. The school director shall submit a grade report on each 

officer on forms provided by the department.  

C. The following firearms training will be required for each 

officer attending an approved school:  

1. Nomenclature and care of service revolver;  

2. Safety (on the firearms range, on duty and off duty);  

3. Legal responsibilities and liabilities of firearms;  

4. Service revolver (handling, firing principles);  

5. Dry firing and application of basic shooting principles;  

6. Prequalification shooting (60 rounds, minimum);  

7. Basic Correctional Firearms Qualification Course - 

Minimum 70% qualification required  

8. Shotgun Qualification Course - Minimum 80% 

qualification required  

9. Special Weapons Qualification Courses - Minimum 80% 

qualification required  

a. .223 caliber mini-14 rifle  

b. AR-15 semi-automatic rifle  

A. Attendance. 

1. Correctional officers attending approved training are 

required to attend all classes and shall not be placed on 

duty or on call except in cases of an emergency (e.g., 

natural disaster, etc.) [ . ] In the event of such an 

emergency, the agency administrator or designee shall 

determine if it is appropriate to place officers on duty or on 

call and shall advise the academy director within 24 hours.  

2. Correctional officers shall be responsible for any 

material missed during an excused absence. 
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B. Academy testing.  

1. Correctional officers shall meet all the training 

objectives and pass all criteria for testing related to each 

performance outcome approved by the COT.  

2. A correctional [ officer may be tested and retested 

within the time limits of 6VAC20-100-40 and in 

accordance with each certified criminal justice training 

academy's written policy. An officer shall not be certified 

as having complied with the compulsory minimum training 

standards unless all requirements have been met. ]  

6VAC20-100-80. Failure to comply with rules and 

regulations.  

Any correctional officer A. Any individual attending an 

approved training school a certified [ criminal justice ] 

training academy shall comply with the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the department and board and any other rules 

and regulations within the authority of the school director. 

The school academy director shall be responsible for 

enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern 

the conduct of attendees. 

If the school director considers a violation of B. Any 

individual violating the rules and regulations governing the 

certified [ criminal justice ] training academy determined to 

be detrimental to the welfare of the school, the school director 

the certified [ criminal justice ] training academy or the safety 

of officers, visitors, or personnel may expel the officer be 

expelled from the school academy. 

C. Notification of such action shall an expulsion will 

immediately be reported, in writing, to the corrections facility 

director manager of the officer and the director agency 

administrator or designee and the department. 

6VAC20-100-90. Administrative requirements.  

A. Reports shall be required from the agency administrator 

and school director on forms approved or provided by the 

department and at such times as designated by the director.  

B. The school director shall, within 30 days upon 

completion of an approved training school session, comply 

with the following:  

1. Prepare a grade report on each officer maintaining the 

original for academy records and forwarding a copy to the 

corrections facility director/manager of the officer.  

2. Submit to the department a roster containing the names 

of those officers who have satisfactorily completed all 

training requirements and, if applicable, a revised 

curriculum for the training session.  

C. The school director shall furnish each instructor with the 

applicable performance objectives for the assigned subject 

matter.  

D. Approved correctional officer training schools shall 

maintain accurate records of all tests, grades and testing 

procedures.  

A. [ Field training shall be completed in accordance with the 

requirements in 6VAC20-100-40. The superintendent or 

warden shall sign and submit the field training completion 

form for each officer to the department. 

B. ] Records and documentation shall be open to audit, 

inspection, and review by the department upon request. 

[ B. C. ] Training school records shall be maintained in 

accordance with the provisions of these rules this chapter and 

the Virginia Public Records Act [ §§ (§ ] 42.1-76 through 

42.1-91 et seq. of the Code of Virginia Virginia).  

6VAC20-100-100. Effective date. (Repealed.)  

These regulations shall be effective on and after January 1, 

1988, and until amended or repealed.  

6VAC20-100-110. Recision of previous rules. (Repealed.)  

The Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training 

Standards for Correctional Officers of the Department of 

Corrections, Division of Institutional Services, as amended on 

February 12, 1982, are hereby rescinded effective January 1, 

1989.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 

a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (6VAC20-100)  

Application for Exemption From Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2, eff. 1/91.  

Criminal Justice Training Roster, Form 41, eff. 1/93.  

[ Application for Exemption from Virginia Compulsory 

Minimum Training Standards, Form W-2 (rev. 5/2018) 

Field Training: Department of Corrections Basic Corrections 

Officer, DOC-1 (rev. 8/2018) ] 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(6VAC20-100) 

Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field 

Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes, 

published September 2012, Virginia Department of Criminal 

Justice Services (Revised January 2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5427; Filed May 21, 2019, 4:42 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39b09005427~181.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=39b09005427~181.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427~17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427~17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427~17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8adf005427~17g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005427&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which 

excludes regulations that consist only of changes in style or 

form or corrections of technical errors. The State Board of 

Education will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-23. Licensure Regulations for 

School Personnel (amending 8VAC20-23-630).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 

371-2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment restores a requirement for the Option II 

tract of the Division Superintendent License, which was 

inadvertently omitted, that an individual qualifying for 

licensure complete five years of educational experience in 

a public or an accredited nonpublic school, two years of 

which shall be successful, full-time teaching experience at 

the preK-12 level and two years of which shall be in 

administration and supervision at the preK-12 level. 

8VAC20-23-630. Division Superintendent License. 

An individual may be a candidate for the list of eligible 

division superintendents and the renewable Division 

Superintendent License through the completion of the 

requirements in one of the following four options: 

1. Option I. The individual shall have: 

a. Earned a doctorate degree in educational 

administration or educational leadership from a 

regionally accredited college or university; and 

b. Completed five years of educational experience in a 

public or an accredited nonpublic school, two years of 

which shall be successful, full-time teaching experience 

at the preK-12 level and two years of which shall be in 

administration and supervision at the preK-12 level. 

2. Option II. The individual shall have: 

a. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university and successfully completed 30 

graduate semester hours beyond the conferral date of the 

master's degree; and 

b. Completed requirements for administration and 

supervision preK-12 endorsement that includes the 

demonstration of competencies in the following areas: 

(1) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

planning, assessment, and instructional leadership that 

builds collective professional capacity, including: 

(a) Principles of student motivation, growth, and 

development as a foundation for age-appropriate and 

grade-appropriate curriculum, instruction, and 

assessment; 

(b) Collaborative leadership in gathering and analyzing 

data to identify needs to develop and implement a school 

improvement plan that results in increased student 

learning; 

(c) Planning, implementation, and refinement of 

standards-based curriculum aligned with instruction and 

assessment; 

(d) Collaborative planning and implementation of a 

variety of assessment techniques, including examination 

of student work that yields individual, class, grade level, 

and school level data as a foundation for identifying 

existing competencies and targeting areas in need of 

further attention; 

(e) Incorporation of differentiated and effective 

instruction that responds to individual learner needs, 

including appropriate response to cultural, ethnic, and 

linguistic diversity; 

(f) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

federal and state regulatory requirements and 

expectations associated with identification, education, 

and evaluation of students with disabilities; 

(g) Collaboratively working with parents and school 

personnel to ensure that students with disabilities are 

included as a valued part of the school community, and 

that they receive effective and appropriately intensive 

instruction to assist them in meeting the standards set for 

all students, as well as individual goals outlined in their 

individualized education programs; 

(h) Integration of technology in curriculum and 

instruction to enhance learner understanding; 

(i) Identification, analysis, and resolution of problems 

using effective problem-solving techniques; and 

(j) Development, articulation, implementation, and 

stewardship of a vision of excellence linked to mission 

and core beliefs that promote continuous improvement 

consistent with the goals of the school division. 
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(2) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

leadership and organizations, including: 

(a) The change process of systems, organizations, and 

individuals, using appropriate and effective adult 

learning models; 

(b) Aligning organizational practice, division mission, 

and core beliefs for developing and implementing 

strategic plans; 

(c) Information Understanding information sources and 

processing, including data collection and data analysis 

strategies; 

(d) Using data as a part of ongoing program evaluation to 

inform and lead change; 

(e) Developing a change management strategy for 

improved student outcomes; 

(f) Developing distributed leadership strategies to create 

personalized learning environments for diverse schools; 

and 

(g) Effective Practicing effective two-way 

communication skills including consensus building, 

negotiation, and mediation skills. 

(3) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

management and leadership skills that achieve effective 

and efficient organizational operations and sustain an 

instructional program conducive to student academic 

progress, including: 

(a) Alignment of curriculum and instruction and 

assessment of the educational program to achieve high 

academic success at the school and division or district 

level; 

(b) Principles and issues of supervising and leading 

others to ensure a working and learning climate that is 

safe, secure, and respectful of a diverse school 

community; 

(c) Management decisions that ensure successful 

teaching and learning including, human resources 

management and development, theories of motivation, 

change in school culture, innovation and creativity, 

conflict resolution, adult learning, and professional 

development models; 

(d) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Teachers and 

Virginia's Guidelines for Uniform Performance 

Standards and Evaluation Criteria for Principals;  

(e) Principles and issues related to fiscal operations of 

school management; 

(f) Principles and issues related to school facilities and 

use of space and time for supporting high-quality school 

instruction and student learning; 

(g) Legal issues impacting school operations and 

management; 

(h) Technologies that support management functions; and 

(i) Application of data-driven decision making to initiate 

and continue improvement in school and classroom 

practices and student achievement. 

(4) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

conditions and dynamics impacting a diverse school 

community, including: 

(a) Emerging Recognizing emerging issues and trends 

within school and community relations; 

(b) Working collaboratively with staff, families, and 

community members to secure resources and to support 

the success of a diverse population; 

(c) Developing appropriate public relations and public 

engagement strategies and processes for building and 

sustaining positive relationships with families, 

caregivers, and community partners; and 

(d) Integration of Integrating technology to support 

communication efforts. 

(5) Knowledge, understanding, and application of the 

purpose of education and the role of professionalism in 

advancing educational goals, including: 

(a) Philosophy of education that reflects commitment to 

principles of honesty, fairness, caring, and equity in day-

to-day professional behavior; 

(b) Integration of high-quality, content-rich, job-

embedded professional learning that respects the 

contribution of all faculty and staff members in building 

a diverse professional learning community; 

(c) Reflective understanding of moral and legal 

consequences of decision making in the school setting; 

(d) Intentional and purposeful effort to model 

professional, moral, and ethical standards, as well as 

personal integrity in all interactions; and 

(e) Intentional and purposeful effort to model continuous 

professional learning and to work collegially and 

collaboratively with all members of the school 

community to support the school's goals and enhance its 

collective capacity. 

(6) Knowledge, understanding, and application of 

leadership theories and influences that impact schools, 

including: 
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(a) Concepts of leadership including systems theory, 

change theory, learning organizations, and current 

leadership theory; 

(b) Ability to identify and respond to internal and 

external forces and influences on a school; 

(c) Ability to identify and apply the processes of 

educational policy development at the state, local, and 

school level; and  

(d) Ability to identify and demonstrate ways to influence 

educational policy development at the state, local, and 

school level; and 

c. Completed five years of successful educational 

experience in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, 

two years of which must be full-time teaching experience 

at the preK-12 level and two years of which must be in 

administration and supervision. 

3. Option III. The individual shall have: 

a. Earned a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university;  

b. A current, valid out-of-state license with an 

endorsement as a division or district superintendent; and 

c. Completed five years of successful educational 

experience in a public or an accredited nonpublic school, 

two years of which must be full-time teaching experience 

at the preK-12 level and two years of which must be in 

administration and supervision. 

4. Option IV. The individual shall have: 

a. Earned a master's degree or its equivalent from a 

regionally accredited college or university; 

b. A minimum of three years of successful, full-time 

experience in a senior leadership position, such as chief 

executive officer or senior military officer; and 

c. Be recommended by a Virginia school board interested 

in employing the individual as superintendent. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5862; Filed May 20, 2019, 1:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 

A 2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any 

agency of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-120. Money Order Sellers 

and Money Transmitters (amending 10VAC5-120-10, 

10VAC5-120-20, 10VAC5-120-40 through 10VAC5-120-

70; adding 10VAC5-120-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 6.2-1913 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 21, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments implement Chapter 634 of the 

2019 Acts of Assembly and require licensees to register 

with the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and 

Registry (NMLS). Proposed amendments (i) require 

current licensees to transition to NMLS and for other 

persons seeking a license under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et 

seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia to apply through 

NMLS; (ii) require licensees to maintain current 

information in NMLS records; (iii) clarify that licenses 

must be renewed annually between November 1 and 

December 31; (iv) replace existing reporting requirements 

with a requirement that licensees file quarterly call reports 

through NMLS along with information concerning their 

financial condition; (v) establish the time period within 

which licensees must file audited financial statements 

required by § 6.2-1905 D of the Code of Virginia; (vi) 

provide that the authorized delegate information 

referenced in § 6.2-1917 B of the Code of Virginia must be 

submitted through the NMLS agent reporting functionality; 

(vii) specify that the annual assessment is calculated using 

the information reported by licensees in quarterly call 

reports or other written reports required by the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions; (viii) provide that 

if the Bureau of Financial Institutions requests information 

from an applicant to complete a deficient application and 

the information is not received within 60 days of the 

request, the application is deemed abandoned unless an 

extension of time is requested and approved prior to the 

expiration of the 60-day period; and (ix) make other 

technical changes for consistency and clarity.  
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AT RICHMOND, MAY 21, 2019 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2019-00016 

Ex Parte: In re: Money Order Sellers 

and Money Transmitters 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.2-1913 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 

State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall adopt 

such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the purposes 

of Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia ("Chapter 19"). The Commission's regulations 

governing money order sellers and money transmitters who 

are licensed under Chapter 19 ("licensees") are set forth in 

Chapter 120 of Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

("Chapter 120"). 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed amendments to 

Chapter 120.  The primary impetus for the proposed 

amendments is Chapter 634 of the 2019 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, which will become effective on July 1, 2019, and 

require all licensees to register with the Nationwide 

Multistate Licensing System and Registry ("NMLS"). The 

proposed regulations set forth the requirements for current 

licensees to transition to NMLS and for other persons seeking 

licensure under Chapter 19 to submit their applications 

through NMLS. In addition, the proposal requires licensees to 

maintain current information in their NMLS records and 

clarifies that all licenses must be renewed annually between 

November 1 and December 31. The proposed regulations 

also:  (i) replace the existing reporting requirements in 

subsections A and B of 10 VAC 5-120-40 with a requirement 

that licensees file quarterly call reports through NMLS along 

with information concerning their financial condition; (ii) 

prescribe the time period within which licensees must file the 

audited financial statements required by § 6.2-1905 D of the 

Code of Virginia; (iii) require the authorized delegate 

information specified in § 6.2-1917 B of the Code of Virginia 

to be submitted through the agent reporting functionality in 

NMLS; (iv) specify that the annual assessment will be 

calculated using the information reported by licensees in their 

quarterly call reports or other written reports that may be 

required by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions; and 

(v) provide that if the Bureau requests information from an 

applicant to complete a deficient application and such 

information is not received within 60 days of the Bureau's 

request, the application will be deemed abandoned unless an 

extension of time is requested and approved prior to the 

expiration of the 60-day period. Various technical and 

conforming amendments have also been proposed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 

supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 

proposed regulations should be considered for adoption with 

a proposed effective date of July 1, 2019. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are appended hereto and made 

a part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, 

Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or 

before June 21, 2019. Requests for a hearing shall state why a 

hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be adequately 

addressed in written comments. All correspondence shall 

contain a reference to Case No. BFI-2019-00016. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments or request a hearing 

electronically may do so by following the instructions 

available at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall 

be posted on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 

proposed regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 

and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 

forthwith send by e-mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, 

together with a copy of the proposed regulations, to all 

licensed money order sellers and money transmitters, and 

such other interested parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-120-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Authorized delegate," "licensee," "monetary value," 

"money order," and "outstanding" shall have the meanings 

ascribed to them in § 6.2-1900 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Bureau," "commission," and "commissioner" shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Chapter 19" means Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Generally accepted accounting principles" for purposes of 

Chapter 19 and this chapter means standard accounting 
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guidelines as established and administered by the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and the 

United States Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB). 

"Merchant or service provider" means a person engaged in 

the business of selling goods or services, but excluding a 

person licensed or required to be licensed under Chapter 19. 

"Money transmission" for purposes of Chapter 19 and this 

chapter shall have the meaning ascribed to it in § 6.2-1900 of 

the Code of Virginia. However, the term shall not include the 

actions of an agent who collects funds on behalf of a 

merchant or service provider, provided that (i) the agent has 

been explicitly designated in a written agreement as an agent 

of the merchant or service provider; (ii) any funds collected 

by the agent shall be deemed for all purposes to be received 

by the merchant or service provider, regardless of whether the 

agent actually remits such funds to the merchant or service 

provider; (iii) the agent provides the Virginia resident with a 

dated receipt indicating that payment to the agent constitutes 

payment to the merchant or service provider; and (iv) there is 

no risk of loss to the Virginia resident if the agent fails to 

remit such resident's funds to the merchant or service 

provider. This definition shall not be construed to prohibit the 

merchant or service provider from seeking indemnification 

from its agent for any direct losses incurred due to the agent's 

failure to remit funds in accordance with its agreement. 

"Reporting period" means a calendar quarter, the first six 

months of a calendar year, or the last six months of a calendar 

year, as the case may be. 

"Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry" and 

"registry" shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-

1900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Senior officer" for purposes of Chapter 19 means an 

individual who has significant management responsibility 

within an organization or otherwise has the authority to 

influence or control the conduct of the organization's affairs, 

including but not limited to its compliance with applicable 

laws and regulations.  

10VAC5-120-20. Surety bond standards.  

A. Every licensee shall be bonded in a principal amount 

determined by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions. 

The bond amount shall be equal to the licensee's Virginia 

average monthly money order sales during the preceding two 

reporting periods calendar quarters, or its Virginia average 

monthly money transmission volume during such periods, or 

both, as applicable, rounded to the next highest multiple of 

$10,000, but not exceeding $500,000. The commissioner, 

however, may increase the amount of bond required to a 

maximum of $1 million upon the basis of the impaired 

financial condition of a licensee, as evidenced by net worth 

reduction, financial losses, or other relevant criteria.  

B. The amount of bond required of a new licensee shall be 

based upon the applicant's financial condition, capitalization, 

projected Virginia monthly money order sales and money 

transmission volume, experience, and other factors deemed 

pertinent.  

C. The minimum bond required shall be $25,000.  

D. The form of the bond will be prescribed and provided by 

the commissioner. The required bond shall be submitted prior 

to the issuance of a license, and shall be maintained 

continuously thereafter as long as the licensee or former 

licensee has money orders outstanding or unfulfilled money 

transmission agreements.  

10VAC5-120-35. Nationwide Multistate Licensing System 

and Registry. 

A. Applications for a license under Chapter 19 shall be 

made through the registry in accordance with instructions 

provided by the commissioner. The commissioner may 

provide these instructions through the registry, on the 

commission's Internet website, or by any other means the 

commissioner deems appropriate. 

B. Every licensee holding a license under Chapter 19 prior 

to July 1, 2019, shall register with the registry and file 

through the registry a transition request for its license under 

Chapter 19 no later than September 1, 2019. 

C. Every licensee shall maintain current information in its 

records with the registry. Except as otherwise required by 

Chapter 19 or this chapter, a licensee shall update its 

information as soon as is practicable, but in no event later 

than 10 business days from when a change takes effect. 

D. A license issued under Chapter 19 shall expire on 

December 31 of each calendar year unless it is renewed by a 

licensee on or after November 1 of the same year. However, 

licenses that are granted between November 1 and December 

31 shall not expire until the end of the following calendar 

year. A license shall be renewed upon the commissioner 

finding that the licensee has satisfied the requirements set 

forth in subsection F of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-120-40. Reporting and filing requirements.  

A. 1. Licensees licensed for less than three years shall file 

reports with the commissioner within 45 days after the end of 

each calendar quarter.  

2. Licensees licensed for three years or longer shall file 

reports with the commissioner within 45 days after the end 

of each semiannual reporting period.  

3. Licensees affiliated by common ownership with another 

licensee licensed for three years or longer, and licensees 

that acquire all or part of the money order sales business or 

money transmission business of another licensee licensed 

for three years or longer, shall file reports with the 
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commissioner within 45 days after the end of each 

semiannual reporting period.   

Pursuant to subsection D of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia, every licensee shall file quarterly call reports 

through the registry as well as such other information 

pertaining to the licensee's financial condition as may be 

required by the registry. Reports shall be in such form, 

contain such information, and be submitted with such 

frequency and by such dates as the registry may require. 

Compliance with this subsection shall satisfy the requirement 

in subsection B of § 6.2-1917 of the Code of Virginia that a 

licensee file its quarterly financial statements with the 

commissioner. 

B. Licensees shall file a report of outstandings and 

permissible investments with the commissioner within 45 

days after the end of each calendar quarter. 

C. Within one business day after a licensee becomes aware 

of the occurrence of any of the following events, the licensee 

shall file a written report with the commissioner describing 

the event:  

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 

are filed by or against the licensee.  

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the licensee. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the licensee's money order seller 

license, money transmitter license, or other license for a 

similar business; (ii) takes formal administrative, 

regulatory, or enforcement action against the licensee 

relating to its money order sales, money transmission, or 

similar business; or (iii) takes any other action against the 

licensee relating to its money order sales, money 

transmission, or similar business where the total amount of 

restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 

$20,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 

commissioner with information about such event to the 

extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 

another state. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the licensee violated any law 

or regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed 

money order sales, money transmission, or similar 

business, the licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the 

entry of, a settlement or consent order, decree, or 

agreement with or by such governmental authority. 

5. The licensee surrenders its money order seller license, 

money transmitter license, or other license for a similar 

business in another state in lieu of threatened or pending 

license revocation; license suspension; or other 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action. 

6. The licensee is denied a money order seller license, 

money transmitter license, or other license for a similar 

business in another state. 

7. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 

officers, principals, employees, or authorized delegates is 

indicted or convicted of a felony. 

D. C. The reports required by this section shall contain such 

information as the commissioner may require. The 

commissioner may require such additional reports as he 

deems necessary. 

D. Every licensee shall file the audited financial statements 

required by subsection D of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia within 105 days of the end of its fiscal year. For 

example, if a licensee's fiscal year ends on March 31, its 

audited financial statements must be filed by July 14 of the 

same year. If a licensee is unable to file its audited financial 

statements within 105 days of the end of its fiscal year, the 

licensee may request an extension, which may be granted by 

the commissioner for good cause shown. A licensee's audited 

financial statements shall cover the prior 12-month fiscal 

period and be prepared in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles. 

E. The authorized delegate information required by 

subsection B of § 6.2-1917 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

submitted to the commissioner through the registry's agent 

reporting functionality. 

F. Any reports, notifications, or filings required by Chapter 

19 or this chapter may be submitted to the commissioner 

through the registry, provided that the registry is capable of 

receiving such reports, notifications, or filings. 

10VAC5-120-50. Assessment schedule for the examination 

and supervision of money order sellers and money 

transmitters. 

Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia, the commission sets the following schedule for the 

annual assessment to be paid by persons licensed under 

Chapter 19. The assessment defrays the costs of the 

examination and supervision of licensees by the bureau. 

The annual assessment shall be $0.000047 per dollar of 

money orders sold and money transmitted by a licensee 

pursuant to Chapter 19. The assessment shall be based on the 

dollar volume of business conducted by a licensee, either 

directly or through its authorized delegates, during the 

calendar year preceding the year of the assessment as reported 

by each licensee in (i) the quarterly call reports filed through 

the registry or (ii) such other written reports as the 

commissioner may require pursuant to subsection D of § 6.2-

1905 of the Code of Virginia. If a licensee fails to fully report 

its volume information for the prior calendar year by the 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 10, 2019 

2495 

assessment date, a provisional fee subject to adjustment when 

the information is reported, shall be assessed. 

The amount calculated using the above schedule in this 

section shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before August 1 for the current 

calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by licensees on or 

before September 1. 

The annual report, due April 15 each year, of each licensee 

provides the basis for its assessment. In cases where a license 

has been granted between January 1 and April 15 of the year 

of the assessment, the licensee's initial annual assessment 

shall be $0. 

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are 

apart from, and do not include, the following: (i) the annual 

license renewal fee of $750 authorized by subsection A of 

§ 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the reimbursement 

for expenses authorized by subsection C of § 6.2-1905 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-120-60. Responding to requests from the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions; providing false, misleading, or 

deceptive information. 

A. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 

records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 

or its authorized delegate in connection with the bureau's 

investigation, enforcement, or examination of compliance 

with applicable laws and regulations, the licensee or 

authorized delegate shall deliver a written response as well as 

any requested books, records, documentation, or information 

within the time period specified in the bureau's request. If no 

time period is specified, a written response as well as any 

requested books, records, documentation, or information shall 

be delivered by the licensee or its authorized delegate to the 

bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request. In 

determining the specified time period for responding to the 

bureau and when considering a request for an extension of 

time to respond, the bureau shall take into consideration the 

volume and complexity of the requested written response, 

books, records, documentation, or information, and such 

other factors as the bureau determines to be relevant under the 

circumstances. Requests made by the bureau pursuant to this 

subsection are deemed to be in furtherance of the bureau's 

investigation and examination authority provided for in § 6.2-

1910 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. A licensee shall not provide any false, misleading, or 

deceptive information to the bureau. 

C. If the bureau requests information from an applicant to 

complete a deficient application filed under § 6.2-1903 or 6.2-

1914 of the Code of Virginia, and the information is not 

received within 60 days of the request, the application shall 

be deemed abandoned unless a request for an extension of 

time is received and approved by the bureau prior to the 

expiration of the 60-day period. 

10VAC5-120-70. Acquisitions; additional business 

requirements and restrictions; operating rules. 

A. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 

corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 

person licensed to conduct business under Chapter 19 shall 

pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500.  

B. A licensee shall not permit an authorized delegate to 

designate or appoint a subdelegate to sell money orders or 

engage in money transmission business. 

C. The audited financial statements filed by a licensee 

pursuant to § 6.2-1905 D of the Code of Virginia shall cover 

the prior 12-month fiscal period and be prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.  

D. Quarterly financial statements filed by a licensee 

pursuant to § 6.2-1917 B of the Code of Virginia shall be 

consolidated and prepared in accordance with generally 

accepted accounting principles. 

E. A licensee shall comply with Chapter 19, this chapter, 

and all other state and federal laws and regulations applicable 

to the conduct of its business. For purposes of Chapter 19 and 

this chapter, the acts and omissions of a licensee's authorized 

delegates shall be deemed acts and omissions of such 

licensee. 

F. D. In addition to the records specified in subsection B of 

§ 6.2-1916 B of the Code of Virginia, a licensee shall 

maintain in its principal place of business such other books, 

accounts, and records as the commissioner may reasonably 

require in order to determine whether such licensee is 

complying with the provisions of Chapter 19, this chapter, 

and other laws and regulations applicable to the conduct of its 

business. 

G. E. If a licensee, authorized delegate, or former licensee 

disposes of records containing a consumer's personal 

financial information or copies of a consumer's identification 

documents, such records and copies shall be shredded, 

incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure manner. A 

licensee, authorized delegate, or former licensee may arrange 

for service from a business record destruction vendor. 

H. F. A licensee or former licensee shall provide the 

following information to the bureau within 10 days after such 

person's license is surrendered or revoked or the licensed 

business is otherwise closed: (i) the names, addresses, 

telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email addresses of a 

designated contact person and the person who consumers may 

contact regarding outstanding money orders or money 

transmission transactions; (ii) the location of the licensee's or 

former licensee's money order and money transmission 

records; and (iii) any additional information that the bureau 
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may reasonably require. A licensee or former licensee shall 

maintain current information with the bureau until the 

licensee or former licensee has no outstanding money orders 

and money transmission transactions. 

I. G. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of 

Chapter 19 and this chapter applicable to licensees in 

connection with all money orders sold and money or 

monetary value received for transmission while licensed 

under Chapter 19 notwithstanding the occurrence of any of 

the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered or revoked; or 

2. The person ceases selling money orders or transmitting 

money or monetary value. 

J. H. A licensee shall not provide any information to a 

Virginia resident that is false, misleading, or deceptive. 

K. I. A licensee shall not engage in any activity that directly 

or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions of Chapter 

19 or this chapter. 

L.  J. A licensee shall continuously maintain the 

requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-

1906 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6009; Filed May 22, 2019, 11:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Robert Payne, Director, Office of Licensure 

and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 271 and 682 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments establish a protocol requiring 

that, before a health care provider arranges for air 

medical transportation services for a patient who does not 

have an emergency medical condition, the hospital shall 

provide the patient or authorized representative with 

written or electronic notice that the patient (i) may have a 

choice of transportation by an air medical transportation 

provider or medically appropriate ground transportation 

by an emergency medical services provider and (ii) will be 

responsible for charges incurred for such transportation in 

the event that the provider is not a contracted network 

provider of the patient's health insurance carrier or such 

charges are not otherwise covered in full or in part by the 

patient's health insurance plan. 

12VAC5-410-230. Patient care management. 

A. All patients shall be under the care of a member of the 

medical staff. 

B. Each hospital shall have a plan that includes effective 

mechanisms for the periodic review and revision of patient 

care policies and procedures. 

C. Each hospital shall establish a protocol relating to the 

rights and responsibilities of patients based on Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations' 

2000 Hospital Accreditation Standards, January 2000. The 

protocol shall include a process reasonably designed to 

inform patients of their rights and responsibilities. Patients 

shall be given a copy of their rights and responsibilities upon 

admission. 

D. No medication or treatment shall be given except on the 

signed order of a person lawfully authorized by state statutes. 

1. Hospital personnel, as designated in medical staff 

bylaws, rules and regulations, or hospital policies and 

procedures, may accept emergency telephone and other 

verbal orders for medication or treatment for hospital 

patients from physicians and other persons lawfully 

authorized by state statute to give patient orders. 

2. As specified in the hospital's medical staff bylaws, rules 

and regulations, or hospital policies and procedures, 

emergency telephone and other verbal orders shall be 

signed within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 72 

hours, by the person giving the order, or, when such person 

is not available, cosigned by another physician or other 

person authorized to give the order. 

E. Each hospital shall have a reliable method for 

identification of each patient, including newborn infants. 
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F. Each hospital shall include in its visitation policy a 

provision allowing each adult patient to receive visits from 

any individual from whom the patient desires to receive 

visits, subject to other restrictions contained in the visitation 

policy including the patient's medical condition and the 

number of visitors permitted in the patient's room 

simultaneously. 

G. Each hospital that is equipped to provide life-sustaining 

treatment shall develop a policy to determine the medical or 

ethical appropriateness of proposed medical care, which shall 

include: 

1. A process for obtaining a second opinion regarding the 

medical and ethical appropriateness of proposed medical 

care in cases in which a physician has determined proposed 

care to be medically or ethically inappropriate;  

2. Provisions for review of the determination that proposed 

medical care is medically or ethically inappropriate by an 

interdisciplinary medical review committee and a 

determination by the interdisciplinary medical review 

committee regarding the medical and ethical 

appropriateness of the proposed health care of the patient;  

3. Requirements for a written explanation of the decision 

of the interdisciplinary medical review committee, which 

shall be included in the patient's medical record; and 

4. Provisions to ensure the patient, the patient's agent, or 

the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions in accordance with § 54.1-2986 of the Code of 

Virginia is informed of the patient's right to obtain the 

patient's medical record and the right to obtain an 

independent medical opinion and afforded reasonable 

opportunity to participate in the medical review committee 

meeting.  

The policy shall not prevent the patient, the patient's agent, 

or the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions from obtaining legal counsel to represent the patient 

or from seeking other legal remedies, including court review, 

provided that the patient, the patient's agent, person 

authorized to make the patient's medical decisions, or legal 

counsel provide written notice to the chief executive officer 

of the hospital within 14 days of the date of the physician's 

determination that proposed medical treatment is medically or 

ethically inappropriate as documented in the patient's medical 

record. 

H. Each hospital shall establish a protocol requiring that, 

before a health care provider arranges for air medical 

transportation services for a patient who does not have an 

emergency medical condition as defined in 42 USC 

§ 1395dd(e)(1), the hospital shall provide the patient or the 

patient's authorized representative with written or electronic 

notice that the patient (i) may have a choice of transportation 

by an air medical transportation provider or medically 

appropriate ground transportation by an emergency medical 

services provider and (ii) will be responsible for charges 

incurred for such transportation in the event that the provider 

is not a contracted network provider of the patient's health 

insurance carrier or such charges are not otherwise covered in 

full or in part by the patient's health insurance plan. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5817; Filed May 21, 2019, 8:26 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC5-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 17VAC5-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 10.1-2205 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 482-6082, FAX (804) 

367-2391, or email stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. 

Purpose: The purpose is clarity and conformity to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Participation by the public in the regulatory process 

is essential to assist the board in the promulgation of 

regulations that will protect the public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment was recommended by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and is intended to merely conform the 

regulation to the statute. Therefore, there is no controversy in 

its promulgation.  

Substance: The board has amended subsection A of 17VAC5-

11-50 to include a requirement for the board to afford 

interested persons an opportunity to present their views and 

be accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative in the promulgation of any regulatory action. 
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Issues: Other than conformity and consistency between law 

and regulation, there are no primary advantages and 

disadvantages to the public in implementing the amended 

provisions, since it is already in the Code of Virginia. There 

are no primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or 

the Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Board of Historic Resources (Board) proposes to specify in 

this regulation that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative when submitting data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 

Board proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. "Public participation 

guidelines" that interested persons also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities.  

________________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Historic Resources on behalf of the Board of 

Historic Resources concurs with the Department of Planning 

and Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

17VAC5-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5758; Filed May 17, 2019, 9:32 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 17VAC10-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 17VAC10-11-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 10.1-2202 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6082, or email 

stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. 

Purpose: The purpose is clarity and conformity to the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Participation by the public in the regulatory process 

is essential to assist the department in the promulgation of 

regulations that will protect the public health and safety. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendment was recommended by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and is intended to merely conform the 

regulation to the statute. Therefore, there is no controversy in 

its promulgation. The action conforms the department's 

regulation to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly. 

Substance: The department has amended subsection A of 

17VAC10-11-50 to include a requirement for the department 

to afford interested persons an opportunity to present their 

views and be accompanied by and represented by counsel or 

other representative in the promulgation of any regulatory 

action. 

Issues: Other than conformity and consistency between law 

and regulation, there are no primary advantages and 

disadvantages to the public in implementing the amended 

provisions, since it is already in the Code of Virginia. There 

are no primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or 

the Commonwealth. There are no disadvantages to the public 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Virginia Department of Historic Resources (Department) 

proposes to specify in this regulation that interested persons 

shall be afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency." The 
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Department proposes to append "and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative." 

Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added to § 2.2-

4007.02 of the Code of Virginia. "Public participation 

guidelines" that interested persons also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative. Since the Code of Virginia already 

specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Board's proposal to add this 

language to the regulation will not change the law in effect 

but will be beneficial in that it will inform interested parties 

who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

potentially affects all individuals who comment on pending 

regulatory changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

does not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 

affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Historic Resources concurs with the 

Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

17VAC10-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall.  

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide 

copies of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and 

issues; the economic impact analysis of the proposed or 

fast-track regulatory action; and the agency's response to 

public comments received.  

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments.  

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows:  

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA).  

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation.  

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation.  

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation.  

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation.  

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review.  

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking.  

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121+ful+CHAP0795+hil
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D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30 

calendar days to solicit additional public comment on the 

changes in accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on 

the proposed regulation at least five days before final 

adoption of the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the 

Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5759; Filed May 17, 2019, 9:35 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30 through 

18VAC50-22-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add a contractor license specialty to 

accommodate those instances where the work being 

performed by the contractor is restricted to a single 

activity, and that activity is more limited than the functions 

provided by any other specialty offered by the Board for 

Contractors.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context shall have the following meanings:  

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting - LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection 

with the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work.  

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative 

energy generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions.  

"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function.  

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and 

accessories common to the industry. This includes height 

adjustment of existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water 

valves, sewer cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary 

excavation and grading. The H/H classification also provides 

for this function.  

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and CBC are the classifications 

that can perform this work except that a contractor in this 

specialty may connect or disconnect signs to existing 

electrical circuits. No trade related plumbing, electrical, or 

HVAC work is included in this function.  

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the 

service that provides for the use of explosive charges for the 

repair, improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real 

property or any structure annexed to real property.  

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the 

USBC. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The CIC specialty does not provide for the 
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construction of new buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas work.  

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes finishing, coloring, curing, repairing, 

testing, sawing, grinding, grouting, placing of film barriers, 

sealing, and waterproofing. Construction and assembling of 

forms, molds, slipforms, and pans, centering, and the use of 

rebar are also included. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Drug lab remediation contracting" (Abbr: DLR) means the 

service that provides for the cleanup, treatment, containment, 

or removal of hazardous substances at or in a property 

formerly used to manufacture methamphetamine or other 

drugs and may include demolition or disposal of structures or 

other property. No other classification or specialty provides 

for this function. 

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural 

partitioning. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and 

CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: 

ESC) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of electronic or 

communications systems annexed to real property including 

telephone wiring, computer cabling, sound systems, data 

links, data and network installation, television and cable TV 

wiring, antenna wiring, and fiber optics installation, all of 

which operate at 50 volts or less. A firm holding an ESC 

license is responsible for meeting all applicable tradesman 

licensure standards. The ELE classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function.  

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground.  

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. 

No other specialty provides for this function. This specialty 

does not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or 

HVAC functions.  

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including conveyors or heavy 

machinery. Boilers exempted by the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but regulated by the 

Department of Labor and Industry are also included in this 

specialty. This specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions.  

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. The FIC specialty does not provide for any 

electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. 

"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing 

of cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems that operate at 50 volts or 

less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. A 

firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards.  

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not 

provide for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other 

types of fire suppression systems. The PLB classification 

allows for the installation of systems permitted to be designed 

in accordance with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. 

This specialty may engage in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices in the fire sprinkler supply main and 

incidental to the sprinkler system installation when the 

installer has received formal vocational training approved by 

the board that included instruction in the installation of 

backflow prevention devices.  

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of fire suppression systems including halon and 

other gas systems, dry chemical systems, and carbon dioxide 

systems annexed to real property. No other classification 

provides for this function. The FSP specialty does not provide 
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for the installation, repair, or maintenance of water sprinkler 

systems. 

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes wood and wood composite 

flooring, tack strips or other products used to secure carpet, 

vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, stone, and all other 

types of tile, and includes the installation or replacement of 

subflooring, leveling products, or other materials necessary to 

facilitate the installation of the flooring or floor covering. 

This does not include the installation, repair, or removal of 

floor joists or other structural components of the flooring 

system. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function. 

"Framing subcontractor" (Abbr: FRM) means the service 

which, while serving in the role of a subcontractor to a 

licensed prime contractor, provides for the construction, 

removal, repair, or improvement to any framing or rough 

carpentry necessary for the construction of framed structures, 

including the installation and repair of individual components 

of framing systems. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual (tradesman) licensure regulations. 

"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, 

glass work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; 

executes the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes 

and doors; or installs these items in any structure. This 

specialty includes the installation of standard methods of 

weatherproofing, caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function.  

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to dwellings 

and townhouses as defined in the USBC or structures 

annexed to those dwellings or townhouses as defined in the 

USBC. The RBC classification also provides for this 

function. The HIC specialty does not provide for electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. It does not include 

new construction functions beyond the existing building 

structure other than decks, patios, driveways, and utility out 

buildings that do not require a permit per the USBC.  

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

This classification covers foundation work in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63) and allows the licensee to complete 

internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC 

systems. It does not allow for installing additional plumbing, 

gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as installing the service 

meter, or installing the outside compressor for the HVAC 

system. The CBC and RBC classifications also provide for 

this function.  

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for 

this function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices.  

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function.  

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the 

service that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide 

this service incidental to work in those classifications.  

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, 

or utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for 

this function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible 

for meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 10, 2019 

2504 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for 

installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work 

such as installing the service meter or installing the outside 

compressor for the HVAC system. No other specialty 

provides for this function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of any structure the purpose of 

which is to provide access to, impede, or alter a body of 

surface water. The CBC and H/H classifications also provide 

for this function. The MCC specialty does not provide for the 

construction of accessory structures or electrical, HVAC, or 

plumbing functions.  

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, 

marble, slate, or other units and products common to the 

masonry industry, including mortarless type masonry 

products. This includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck 

pointing, sand blasting, mortar washing, parging, and 

cleaning and welding of reinforcement steel related to 

masonry construction. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function.  

"Miscellaneous contracting" (Abbr: MSC) means the service 

that may fall under another classification or specialty service 

but is more limited than the functions provided by the other 

classification or specialty. This specialty is limited to a single 

activity and will be restricted to that specialty only. This 

specialty may not be used for work that would fall under the 

ELE, HVA, PLB, GFC, LPG, NGF, EEC, WWP, ASC, LAC, 

or ASB classification or specialty. Contractors applying for 

the MSC specialty will have their applications reviewed by 

the Board for Contractors.  

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) 

means the service that provides for the incidental repair, 

testing, or removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to 

real property. This does not include new installation of gas 

piping for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, 

or other natural gas equipment that requires an HVA or PLB 

license. The GFC specialty also provides for this function. A 

firm holding an NGF license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs or improvements 

to buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. No electrical, plumbing, 

gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by this specialty.  

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving 

and the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and 

HVAC functions. The CBC classification also provides for 

this function.  

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold 

room equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration 

equipment. The HVA classification also provides for this 

function.  

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction 

with a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The CBC and 

RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function.  

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real 

property. 

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural 

steel shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used 

as structural members, or tanks, including any related 

riveting, welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the 

fabrication, placement and tying of steel reinforcing bars 

(rods), and post-tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings 

and structures. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC 

and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

CBC and RBC classifications and the RFC specialty also 

provide for this function. No trade related plumbing, 
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electrical, backflow, or HVAC work is included in this 

specialty.  

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, faience, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr: 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future 

building sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer 

collection systems at storm sewer structures. This specialty 

may install empty underground conduits in rights-of way, 

easements, platted rights-of-way in new site development, 

and sleeves for parking lot crossings if each conduit system 

does not include installation of any conductor wiring or 

connection to an energized electrical system. The H/H 

classification also provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or 

piping that hold or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, 

waste, or potable water supplies. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function.  

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well 

system, including geothermal wells, which includes 

construction of a water well to reach groundwater, as defined 

in § 62.1-255 of the Code of Virginia, and the installation of 

the well pump and tank, including pipe and wire, up to and 

including the point of connection to the plumbing and 

electrical systems. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for construction of water wells. This regulation shall 

not exclude the PLB, ELE, or HVA classification from 

installation of pumps and tanks.  

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the CBC or RBC 

classification.  

Appliances  Fences  Railings  

Awnings  Fiberglass Rigging 

Blinds Fireplaces  Rubber linings 

Bulkheads Fireproofing  Sandblasting 

Carpeting  Fixtures  Scaffolding 

Ceilings  Grouting  Screens 

Chimneys  Guttering Shutters 

Chutes  Interior 

decorating 

Siding 

Curtains  Lubrication  Skylights 

Curtain walls  Metal work  Storage bins and 

lockers 

Decks Millwrighting  Stucco 

Doors  Mirrors  Vaults 

Drapes  Miscellaneous 

iron 

Wall panels 

Epoxy  Ornamental iron Waterproofing 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions Windows 

Facings Protective 

coatings 
 

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 
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b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall submit 

information on any past-due debts and judgments or defaults 

on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as 

defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a 

license in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed a board-approved basic business 

course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 
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e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 

or more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 

the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 

requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm as defined in this chapter;  

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 

by § 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 

exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 

§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 

individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old;  

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier;  

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 

the firm;  

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification), 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification), and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 
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certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for 

the miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 

the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 

time of application any current or previous substantial 

identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 

Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 

taken on these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

all applicants shall disclose the following information about 

the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee, and the qualified individual or 

individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and  

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 

in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5224; Filed May 15, 2019, 11:39 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Board for Contractors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-

170).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments extend a temporary reduction in fees for 

contractor license renewal and reinstatement applications 

received on or before August 31, 2021, to comply with 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. Without this regulatory 

action, the fees would revert to higher, permanent fees on 

September 1, 2019. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$195  

Class B renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$225  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 21 Virginia Register of Regulations June 10, 2019 

2509 

Class A renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$240 

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$195  

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2019 

2021, the fees shall be $100 $165 for a Class C renewal, $125 

$195 for a Class B renewal, and $150 $210 for a Class A 

renewal.  

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees.  

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit 

fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department:  

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405*  

Class B 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460*  

Class A 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490*  

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 

its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once two years 

from the expiration date of the license have passed.  

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2019 2021, the fees shall be $200 $330 for Class C 

reinstatement, $250 $390 for Class B reinstatement, and $300 

$420 for Class A reinstatement. These fees include the 

renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6000; Filed May 21, 2019, 12:27 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Board for Contractors will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-120, 

18VAC50-30-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments extend a temporary reduction in fees for 

individual contractor license or certification renewal and 

reinstatement applications received on or before August 

31, 2021, to comply with § 54.1-113 of the Code of 

Virginia. Without this regulatory action, the fees would 

revert to higher, permanent fees on September 1, 2019. 

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses issued under this chapter to electricians, gas 

fitters, HVAC tradesmen, or plumbers shall expire three years 

from the last day of the month in which they were issued as 

indicated on the license. 

B. All other licenses and certification cards issued under this 

chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month 

in which they were issued as indicated on the license or 

certification card. 

C. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or 

reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of 

Virginia, all individuals holding tradesman licenses with the 

trade designations of plumbing, electrical, and heating 

ventilation and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete three hours of continuing education for each 

designation, and individuals holding licenses as liquefied 
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petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter providers, one hour 

of continuing education, relating to the applicable building 

code, from a provider approved by the board in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is 

not required to meet the continuing education requirements as 

a condition of renewal. 

D. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility 

mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and 

pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing 

education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators, 

and related conveyances. This continuing education will be 

from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter.  

E. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved 

by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

F. Renewal fees are as follows:  

Tradesman license $135 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90  

Natural gas fitter provider license $90 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90  

Elevator mechanic certification $90 

Certified accessibility mechanic $90 

Water well systems provider certification $90 

Residential building energy analyst 

license 

$90 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

For Tradesman license renewal fees received on or before 

August 31, 2019 2021, the fee shall be $60 $115. For all other 

renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2021, the fee 

shall be $75. 

G. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this 

notice, however, shall not relieve the regulant of the 

obligation to renew. If the regulant fails to receive the 

renewal notice, a photocopy of the tradesman license or 

backflow prevention device worker certification card may be 

submitted with the required fee as an application for renewal 

within 30 days of the expiration date. 

H. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

I. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or discipline a 

regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by 

the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

J. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

K. Residential building energy analysts, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement, shall provide documentation of 

continued membership, in good standing, of a certifying 

organization approved by the board and proof of insurance as 

required in 18VAC50-30-40 I 4.  

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees 

within 30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be 

required to apply for reinstatement of the license or 

certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $185* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Certified accessibility mechanic $140* 

Water well systems provider 

certification 

$140* 

Residential building energy analyst 

license 

$140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall 

not be prorated. 

For Tradesman license reinstatement fees received on or 

before August 31, 2019 2021, the fee shall be $100 $165. For 

all other reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 

2021, the fee shall be $125. This fee includes the renewal fee 

listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 
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C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by 

the department or its agent will determine whether the license 

or certification card is reinstated or a new application is 

required.  

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, gas fitters, liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow 

prevention device workers, elevator mechanics, water well 

systems providers, or residential building energy analysts, no 

reinstatement will be permitted once two years from the 

expiration date has passed. After that date the applicant must 

apply for a new license or certification card and meet the then 

current entry requirements.  

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural gas 

fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the expiration of 

the license may constitute unlicensed activity and may be subject 

to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Further, 

any person who holds himself out as a certified backflow 

prevention device worker, as defined in § 54.1-1128 of the Code 

of Virginia, or as a certified elevator mechanic or certified 

accessibility mechanic, as defined in § 54.1-1140 of the Code of 

Virginia, or as a water well systems provider as defined in 

§ 54.1-1129.1 of the Code of Virginia, without the appropriate 

certification, may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. Any activity related to the operating 

integrity of an elevator, escalator, or related conveyance, 

conducted subsequent to the expiration of an elevator mechanic 

certification may constitute illegal activity and may be subject to 

prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

individual who completes a residential building energy analysis, 

as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, subsequent to 

the expiration of a residential building energy analyst license 

may have engaged in illegal activity and may be subject to 

prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6015; Filed May 21, 2019, 12:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-220). 

18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 

Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-10; adding 

18VAC90-40-150 through 18VAC90-40-290).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the practitioners to whom the 

regulations apply and exceptions or nonapplicability. 

Provisions for the management of acute pain include 

requirements for the evaluation of the patient, limitations 

on quantity and dosage, and recordkeeping. Provisions for 

management of chronic pain include requirements for 

evaluation and treatment, including a treatment plan, 

informed consent and agreement, consultation with other 

providers, and medical recordkeeping. Provisions for 

prescribing of buprenorphine include requirements for 

patient assessment and treatment planning, limitations on 

prescribing the buprenorphine mono-product (without 

naloxone), dosages, co-prescribing of other drugs, 

consultation, and medical records for opioid addiction 

treatment. The amendments replace emergency regulations 

currently in effect. 

Changes to the proposed regulation (i) add sickle cell 

disease to the exceptions, (ii) clarify that tramadol is an 

atypical opioid, (iii) replace the requirement for drug 

testing every three months in the first year following 

initiation of chronic pain management with testing that is 

"randomly at the discretion of the practitioner" at least 

once a year, and (iv) provide that a nurse practitioner who 

has been authorized by the boards for autonomous 

practice isn't limited to prescribing buprenorphine for 

opioid addiction per a practice agreement.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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18VAC90-30-220. Grounds for disciplinary action against 

the license of a licensed nurse practitioner.  

The boards may deny licensure or relicensure, revoke or 

suspend the license, or take other disciplinary action upon 

proof that the nurse practitioner:  

1. Has had a license or multistate privilege to practice 

nursing in this Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction 

revoked or suspended or otherwise disciplined;  

2. Has directly or indirectly represented to the public that 

the nurse practitioner is a physician, or is able to, or will 

practice independently of a physician;  

3. Has exceeded the authority as a licensed nurse 

practitioner;  

4. Has violated or cooperated in the violation of the laws or 

regulations governing the practice of medicine, nursing or 

nurse practitioners;  

5. Has become unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

safety to patients as the result of a physical or mental 

illness or the excessive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, 

chemicals or any other type of material;  

6. Has violated or cooperated with others in violating or 

attempting to violate any law or regulation, state or federal, 

relating to the possession, use, dispensing, administration 

or distribution of drugs; or  

7. Has failed to comply with continuing competency 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC90-30-105;  

8. Has willfully or negligently breached the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a patient. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful; or  

9. Has engaged in unauthorized use or disclosure of 

confidential information received from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program, the electronic system within the 

Department of Health Professions that monitors the 

dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC90-40-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal 

course of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery for 

which controlled substances containing an opioid may be 

prescribed for no more than three months. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Medicine and the 

Virginia Board of Nursing.  

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances containing an opioid may be prescribed 

for a period greater than three months. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"Nonprofit health care clinics or programs" means a clinic 

organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health care 

services without charge or when a reasonable minimum fee is 

charged only to cover administrative costs. 

"Nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice registered 

nurse who has met the requirements for licensure as a nurse 

practitioner as stated in 18VAC90-30. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic 

agreement jointly developed by the patient care team 

physician and the nurse practitioner for the practice of the 

nurse practitioner that also describes the prescriptive authority 

of the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the 

practice agreement is a statement jointly developed with the 

consulting physician.  

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"SAMHSA" means the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Services Administration. 

Part V 

Management of Acute Pain 

18VAC90-40-150. Evaluation of the patient for acute pain. 

A. The requirements of this part shall not apply to: 

1. The treatment of acute pain related to (i) cancer, (ii) 

[ sickle cell, (iii) ] a patient in hospice care, or [ (iii) (iv) ] a 

patient in palliative care; 

2. The treatment of acute pain during an inpatient hospital 

admission or in a nursing home or an assisted living 

facility that uses a sole source pharmacy; or 

3. A patient enrolled in a clinical trial as authorized by 

state or federal law.  

B. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If 
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an opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute 

pain, the practitioner shall give a short-acting opioid in the 

lowest effective dose for the fewest possible days.  

C. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 

containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain, the 

prescriber shall perform a history and physical examination 

appropriate to the complaint, query the Prescription 

Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the patient's history 

and risk of substance misuse as a part of the initial evaluation. 

18VAC90-40-160. Treatment of acute pain with opioids. 

A. Initiation of opioid treatment for patients with acute pain 

shall be with short-acting opioids. 

1. A prescriber providing treatment for a patient with acute 

pain shall not prescribe a controlled substance containing 

an opioid in a quantity that exceeds a seven-day supply as 

determined by the manufacturer's directions for use, unless 

extenuating circumstances are clearly documented in the 

medical record. This shall also apply to prescriptions of a 

controlled substance containing an opioid upon discharge 

from an emergency department. 

2. An opioid prescribed as part of treatment for a surgical 

procedure shall be for no more than 14 consecutive days in 

accordance with manufacturer's direction and within the 

immediate perioperative period, unless extenuating 

circumstances are clearly documented in the medical 

record.  

B. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients shall include 

the following:  

1. The practitioner shall carefully consider and document 

in the medical record the reasons to exceed 50 MME per 

day.  

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME per day, the practitioner 

shall document in the medical record the reasonable 

justification for such doses or refer to or consult with a 

pain management specialist.  

3. Naloxone shall be prescribed for any patient when risk 

factors of prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in 

excess of 120 MME per day, or concomitant 

benzodiazepine are present.  

C. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 

used with benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, 

and tramadol [ (an atypical opioid) ], the prescriber shall only 

co-prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed. 

D. Buprenorphine is not indicated for acute pain in the 

outpatient setting, except when a prescriber who has obtained 

a SAMHSA waiver is treating pain in a patient whose 

primary diagnosis is the disease of addiction. 

18VAC90-40-170. Medical records for acute pain. 

The medical record shall include a description of the pain, a 

presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain, an 

examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 

and the medication prescribed or administered to include the 

date, type, dosage, and quantity prescribed or administered. 

Part VI 

Management of Chronic Pain 

18VAC90-40-180. Evaluation of the chronic pain patient. 

A. The requirements of this part shall not apply to: 

1. The treatment of chronic pain related to (i) cancer, (ii) 

[ sickle cell, (iii) ] a patient in hospice care, or [ (iii) (iv) ] a 

patient in palliative care; 

2. The treatment of chronic pain during an inpatient 

hospital admission or in a nursing home or an assisted 

living facility that uses a sole source pharmacy; or 

3. A patient enrolled in a clinical trial as authorized by 

state or federal law.  

B. Prior to initiating management of chronic pain with a 

controlled substance containing an opioid, a medical history 

and physical examination, to include a mental status 

examination, shall be performed and documented in the 

medical record, including:  

1. The nature and intensity of the pain;  

2. Current and past treatments for pain;  

3. Underlying or coexisting diseases or conditions;  

4. The effect of the pain on physical and psychological 

function, quality of life, and activities of daily living; 

5. Psychiatric, addiction, and substance misuse histories of 

the patient and any family history of addiction or substance 

misuse;  

6. A urine drug screen or serum medication level;  

7. A query of the Prescription Monitoring Program as set 

forth in § 54.1-2522.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

8. An assessment of the patient's history and risk of 

substance misuse; and 

9. A request for prior applicable records.  

C. Prior to initiating opioid analgesia for chronic pain, the 

practitioner shall discuss with the patient the known risks and 

benefits of opioid therapy and the responsibilities of the 

patient during treatment to include securely storing the drug 

and properly disposing of any unwanted or unused drugs. The 

practitioner shall also discuss with the patient an exit strategy 
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for the discontinuation of opioids in the event they are not 

effective. 

18VAC90-40-190. Treatment of chronic pain with opioids. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 

shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids.  

B. In initiating opioid treatment for all patients, the 

practitioner shall:  

1. Carefully consider and document in the medical record 

the reasons to exceed 50 MME per day;  

2. Prior to exceeding 120 MME per day, the practitioner 

shall document in the medical record the reasonable 

justification for such doses or refer to or consult with a 

pain management specialist;  

3. Prescribe naloxone for any patient when risk factors of 

prior overdose, substance misuse, doses in excess of 120 

MME per day, or concomitant benzodiazepine are present; 

and 

4. Document the rationale to continue opioid therapy every 

three months.  

C.  Buprenorphine mono-product in tablet form shall not be 

prescribed for chronic pain.  

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids, 

including buprenorphine, are given with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol [ (an atypical opioid) ], the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 

tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed. 

E. The practitioner shall regularly evaluate for opioid use 

disorder and shall initiate specific treatment for opioid use 

disorder, consult with an appropriate health care provider, or 

refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if indicated. 

18VAC90-40-200. Treatment plan for chronic pain. 

A. The medical record shall include a treatment plan that 

states measures to be used to determine progress in treatment, 

including pain relief and improved physical and psychosocial 

function, quality of life, and daily activities. 

B. The treatment plan shall include further diagnostic 

evaluations and other treatment modalities or rehabilitation 

that may be necessary depending on the etiology of the pain 

and the extent to which the pain is associated with physical 

and psychosocial impairment. 

C. The prescriber shall record in the medical records the 

presence or absence of any indicators for medication misuse 

or diversion and take appropriate action. 

18VAC90-40-210. Informed consent and agreement for 

treatment of chronic pain. 

A. The practitioner shall document in the medical record 

informed consent, to include risks, benefits, and alternative 

approaches, prior to the initiation of opioids for chronic pain. 

B. There shall be a written treatment agreement, signed by 

the patient, in the medical record that addresses the 

parameters of treatment, including those behaviors that will 

result in referral to a higher level of care, cessation of 

treatment, or dismissal from care.  

C. The treatment agreement shall include notice that the 

practitioner will query and receive reports from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program and permission for the 

practitioner to:  

1. Obtain urine drug screen or serum medication levels, 

when requested; and 

2. Consult with other prescribers or dispensing pharmacists 

for the patient.  

D. Expected outcomes shall be documented in the medical 

record including improvement in pain relief and function or 

simply in pain relief. Limitations and side effects of chronic 

opioid therapy shall be documented in the medical record. 

18VAC90-40-220. Opioid therapy for chronic pain. 

A. The practitioner shall review the course of pain treatment 

and any new information about the etiology of the pain or the 

patient's state of health at least every three months.  

B. Continuation of treatment with opioids shall be supported 

by documentation of continued benefit from the prescribing. 

If the patient's progress is unsatisfactory, the practitioner shall 

assess the appropriateness of continued use of the current 

treatment plan and consider the use of other therapeutic 

modalities. 

C. Practitioners shall check the Prescription Monitoring 

Program at least every three months after the initiation of 

treatment.  

D. The practitioner shall order and review a urine drug 

screen or serum medication levels at the initiation of chronic 

pain management and [ at least every three months for the 

first year of treatment and thereafter randomly at the 

discretion of the practitioner but ] at least [ every six months 

thereafter once a year ]. 

E. The practitioner shall regularly evaluate for opioid use 

disorder and shall initiate specific treatment for opioid use 

disorder, consult with an appropriate health care provider, or 

refer the patient for evaluation for treatment if indicated. 
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18VAC90-40-230. Additional consultation. 

A. When necessary to achieve treatment goals, the 

prescriber shall refer the patient for additional evaluation and 

treatment.  

B. When a practitioner makes the diagnosis of opioid use 

disorder, treatment for opioid use disorder shall be initiated or 

the patient shall be referred for evaluation and treatment. 

18VAC90-40-240. Medical records. 

The prescriber shall keep current, accurate, and complete 

records in an accessible manner and readily available for 

review to include: 

1. The medical history and physical examination; 

2. Past medical history; 

3. Applicable records from prior treatment providers or any 

documentation of attempts to obtain those records;  

4. Diagnostic, therapeutic, and laboratory results; 

5. Evaluations and consultations; 

6. Treatment goals;  

7. Discussion of risks and benefits; 

8. Informed consent and agreement for treatment; 

9. Treatments; 

10. Medications, including date, type, dosage and quantity 

prescribed, and refills;  

11. Patient instructions; and  

12. Periodic reviews. 

Part VII 

Prescribing of Buprenorphine 

18VAC90-40-250. General provisions. 

A. Practitioners engaged in office-based opioid addiction 

treatment with buprenorphine shall have obtained a waiver 

from SAMHSA and the appropriate U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration registration. 

B. Practitioners shall abide by all federal and state laws and 

regulations governing the prescribing of buprenorphine for 

the treatment of opioid use disorder. 

C. Nurse practitioners who have obtained a SAMHSA 

waiver shall only prescribe buprenorphine for opioid 

addiction pursuant to a practice agreement with a SAMHSA-

waivered doctor of medicine or doctor of osteopathic 

medicine [ unless the nurse practitioner has been authorized 

by the boards for autonomous practice ]. 

D. Practitioners engaged in medication-assisted treatment 

shall either provide counseling in their practice or refer the 

patient to a mental health service provider, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, who has the education 

and experience to provide substance misuse counseling. The 

practitioner shall document provision of counseling or referral 

in the medical record.  

18VAC90-40-260. Patient assessment and treatment 

planning. 

A. A practitioner shall perform and document an assessment 

that includes a comprehensive medical and psychiatric 

history, substance misuse history, family history and 

psychosocial supports, appropriate physical examination, 

urine drug screen, pregnancy test for women of childbearing 

age and ability, a check of the Prescription Monitoring 

Program, and, when clinically indicated, infectious disease 

testing for human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B, 

hepatitis C, and tuberculosis. 

B. The treatment plan shall include the practitioner's 

rationale for selecting medication assisted treatment, patient 

education, written informed consent, how counseling will be 

accomplished, and a signed treatment agreement that outlines 

the responsibilities of the patient and the practitioner. 

18VAC90-40-270. Treatment with buprenorphine. 

A. Buprenorphine without naloxone (buprenorphine mono-

product) shall not be prescribed except: 

1. When a patient is pregnant;  

2. When converting a patient from methadone or 

buprenorphine mono-product to buprenorphine containing 

naloxone for a period not to exceed seven days;  

3. In formulations other than tablet form for indications 

approved by the FDA; or 

4. For patients who have a demonstrated intolerance to 

naloxone; such prescriptions for the mono-product shall 

not exceed 3.0% of the total prescriptions for 

buprenorphine written by the prescriber, and the exception 

shall be clearly documented in the patient's medical record.  

B. Buprenorphine mono-product tablets may be 

administered directly to patients in federally licensed [ opiate 

opioid ] treatment programs. With the exception of those 

conditions listed in subsection A of this section, only the 

buprenorphine product containing naloxone shall be 

prescribed or dispensed for use off site from the program.  

C. The evidence for the decision to use buprenorphine 

mono-product shall be fully documented in the medical 

record. 

D. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when 

buprenorphine is prescribed with other opioids, 

benzodiazepines, sedative hypnotics, carisoprodol, and 

tramadol [ (an atypical opioid) ], the prescriber shall only co-

prescribe these substances when there are extenuating 

circumstances and shall document in the medical record a 
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tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible effective doses if 

these medications are prescribed.  

E. Prior to starting medication-assisted treatment, the 

practitioner shall perform a check of the Prescription 

Monitoring Program. 

F. During the induction phase, except for medically 

indicated circumstances as documented in the medical record, 

patients should be started on no more than eight milligrams of 

buprenorphine per day. The patient shall be seen by the 

prescriber at least once a week. 

G. During the stabilization phase, the prescriber shall 

increase the daily dosage of buprenorphine in safe and 

effective increments to achieve the lowest dose that avoids 

intoxication, withdrawal, or significant drug craving. 

H. Practitioners shall take steps to reduce the chances of 

buprenorphine diversion by using the lowest effective dose, 

appropriate frequency of office visits, pill counts, and checks 

of the Prescription Monitoring Program. The practitioner 

shall also require urine drug screens or serum medication 

levels at least every three months for the first year of 

treatment and at least every six months thereafter. 

I. Documentation of the rationale for prescribed doses 

exceeding 16 milligrams of buprenorphine per day shall be 

placed in the medical record. Dosages exceeding 24 

milligrams of buprenorphine per day shall not be prescribed.  

J. The practitioner shall incorporate relapse prevention 

strategies into counseling or assure that they are addressed by 

a mental health service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 

of the Code of Virginia, who has the education and 

experience to provide substance [ abuse misuse ] counseling. 

18VAC90-40-280. Special populations. 

A. Pregnant women may be treated with the buprenorphine 

mono-product, usually 16 milligrams per day or less. 

B. Patients younger than the age of 16 years shall not be 

prescribed buprenorphine for addiction treatment unless such 

treatment is approved by the FDA. 

C. The progress of patients with chronic pain shall be 

assessed by reduction of pain and functional objectives that 

can be identified, quantified, and independently verified. 

D. Practitioners shall (i) evaluate patients with medical 

comorbidities by history, physical exam, and appropriate 

laboratory studies and (ii) be aware of interactions of 

buprenorphine with other prescribed medications. 

E. Practitioners shall not undertake buprenorphine treatment 

with a patient who has psychiatric comorbidities and is not 

stable. A patient who is determined by the practitioner to be 

psychiatrically unstable shall be referred for psychiatric 

evaluation and treatment prior to initiating medication-

assisted treatment. 

18VAC90-40-290. Medical records for opioid addiction 

treatment. 

A. Records shall be timely, accurate, legible, complete, and 

readily accessible for review. 

B. The treatment agreement and informed consent shall be 

maintained in the medical record. 

C. Confidentiality requirements of 42 CFR Part 2 shall be 

followed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5096; Filed May 14, 2019, 3:28 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system, and § 54.1-

3307 of the Code of Virginia, which specifies that the board 

shall regulate the practice of pharmacy and the 

manufacturing, dispensing, selling, distributing, processing, 

compounding, or disposal of drugs and devices.  

Purpose: The purpose of the amended regulation is to 

maintain state regulations for consistency with the national 

standards for temperature and storage of drugs found in 

Chapter 659 of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP), which 

is a pharmacopeia (compendium of drug information) for the 

United States. The USP is published in a combined volume 

with the National Formulary (a formulary) as the USP-NF. 

USP-NF standards have a role in federal law; a drug or drug 

ingredient with a name recognized in USP-NF is considered 

adulterated if it does not satisfy compendial standards for 

strength, quality, or purity. USP has no role in enforcing its 

standards. Enforcement is the responsibility of U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) and other government authorities 

in the United States and elsewhere. Consistency of state 

regulations with USP standards protects the public health and 

safety in matters relating to drug storage and integrity. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

impetus for this action is conforming to a national standard 

for drug safety and purity and should not be controversial, so 

a fast-track rulemaking process is appropriate. 

Substance: 18VAC110-20-10 is amended to conform the 

definition of "cold" to include the revised temperature range 

for drug storage in a freezer in accordance with recent 

guidance from the United States Pharmacopeia. 

Issues: There are no real advantages or disadvantages to the 

public There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to update the definition 

of cold to mirror that of United States (U.S.) Pharmacopeia.  

Result of Analysis. There is insufficient data to accurately 

compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, the definition of cold 

in this regulation contains a temperature range for freezers 

(i.e., between -20 and -10 degrees Celsius or -4 and 14 

degrees Fahrenheit). This language reflects the definition in 

the U.S. Pharmacopeia prior to its 2017 revision. Under the 

revised version, the freezer temperature range is -25 and -10 

degrees Celsius or -13 and 14 degrees Fahrenheit.1 The Board 

proposes to amend the regulation to reflect that change. Since 

the proposed range is broader than the current range, existing 

freezers at pharmacies would be sufficient to maintain the 

new range. Thus, no significant effect on pharmacies is 

expected from this change. 

The 2017 version of the U.S. Pharmacopeia also established a 

new temperature range for articles that are recommended to 

be stored at a specific temperature that is below -20 Celsius or 

-4 degrees Fahrenheit. In those cases, the U.S. Pharmacopeia 

states the temperature of the storage location should be 

controlled to plus or minus 10 degrees of the recommended 

temperature.2 The Board also proposes to incorporate this 

new range for articles that have a recommended storage 

condition. This new language can, theoretically, create a need 

to purchase new equipment for storage of such items or lead 

to no longer carrying those items if the pharmacy does not 

maintain the storage temperature within the recommended 

range. For example, a -40 degrees of Celsius recommended 

storage range would require the capability to control the 

temperature at -30 degrees of Celsius which is outside the 

temperature range of a freezer. The Board staff believes that 

this new language is unlikely to necessitate purchase of new 

equipment because most likely the pharmacies would already 

have the capability to maintain manufacturers recommended 

storage temperature range, or they would not stock those 

items. However, whether this change would lead to purchases 

of new equipment or no longer carrying some items at some 

pharmacies, or no effect at all on any pharmacies, cannot be 

ascertained with any degree of certainty. Thus, the net impact 

of this change is not known. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

apply to 1,813 permitted pharmacies. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most pharmacies are owned by large 

retail chains. Whether the proposed amendments would have 

any costs or other effects on small businesses is not known. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Whether 

the proposed amendments would adversely affect small 

businesses is not known. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. Whether the proposed amendments would 

adversely affect businesses is not known. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

____________________________ 

1See page 6 at https://www.uspnf.com/sites/default/files/usp_pdf/EN/USPNF
/revisions/659_rb_notice.pdf 

2Ibid. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the definition of "cold" in 

reference to the temperature range for drug storage in a 

freezer to recent guidance from the United States 

Pharmacopeia. 

https://www.uspnf.com/sites/default/files/usp_pdf/EN/USPNF/revisions/659_rb_notice.pdf
https://www.uspnf.com/sites/default/files/usp_pdf/EN/USPNF/revisions/659_rb_notice.pdf
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18VAC110-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education.  

"Acquisition" of an existing entity permitted, registered, or 

licensed by the board means (i) the purchase or transfer of all 

or substantially all of the assets of the entity or of any 

corporation that owns or controls the entity; (ii) the creation 

of a partnership by a sole proprietor or change in partnership 

composition; (iii) the acquiring of 50% or more of the 

outstanding shares of voting stock of a corporation owning 

the entity or of the parent corporation of a wholly owned 

subsidiary owning the entity, except that this shall not apply 

to any corporation the voting stock of which is actively traded 

on any securities exchange or in any over-the-counter market; 

or (iv) the merger of a corporation owning the entity, or of the 

parent corporation of a wholly owned subsidiary owning the 

entity, with another business or corporation.  

"Actively reports" means reporting all dispensing errors and 

analyses of such errors to a patient safety organization as 

soon as practical or at least within 30 days of identifying the 

error.  

"Alternate delivery site" means a location authorized in 

18VAC110-20-275 to receive dispensed prescriptions on 

behalf of and for further delivery or administration to a 

patient. 

"Analysis" means a review of the findings collected and 

documented on each dispensing error, assessment of the cause 

and any factors contributing to the dispensing error, and any 

recommendation for remedial action to improve pharmacy 

systems and workflow processes to prevent or reduce future 

errors. 

"Authorized collector" means a narcotic treatment program, 

hospital, or clinic with an on-site pharmacy, or pharmacy that 

is authorized by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration 

to receive drugs from an ultimate user, a person lawfully 

entitled to dispose of an ultimate user decedent's property, or 

a long-term care facility on behalf of an ultimate user who 

resides or has resided at that facility for the purpose of 

destruction. 

"Beyond-use date" means the date beyond which the 

integrity of a compounded, repackaged, or dispensed drug can 

no longer be assured and as such is deemed to be adulterated 

or misbranded as defined in §§ 54.1-3461 and 54.1-3462 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.  

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the Board of Pharmacy.  

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours.  

"Chart order" means a lawful order for a drug or device 

entered on the chart or in a medical record of a patient by a 

prescriber or his the prescriber's designated agent. 

"Compliance packaging" means packaging for dispensed 

drugs that is comprised of a series of containers for solid oral 

dosage forms and designed to assist the user in administering 

or self-administering the drugs in accordance with directions 

for use.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program.  

"Correctional facility" means any prison, penitentiary, penal 

facility, jail, detention unit, or other facility in which persons 

are incarcerated by government officials. 

"DEA" means the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.  

"Dispensing error" means one or more of the following 

discovered after the final verification by the pharmacist, 

regardless of whether the patient received the drug:  

1. Variation from the prescriber's prescription drug order, 

including but not limited to: 

a. Incorrect drug; 

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; 

d. Incorrect patient; or 

e. Inadequate or incorrect packaging, labeling, or 

directions. 

2. Failure to exercise professional judgment in identifying 

and managing: 

a. Known therapeutic duplication; 

b. Known drug-disease contraindications; 

c. Known drug-drug interactions; 

d. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

e. Known drug-allergy interactions; 

f. A clinically significant, avoidable delay in therapy; or 

g. Any other significant, actual, or potential problem with a 

patient's drug therapy. 

3. Delivery of a drug to the incorrect patient.  

4. Variation in bulk repackaging or filling of automated 

devices, including but not limited to: 
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a. Incorrect drug;  

b. Incorrect drug strength; 

c. Incorrect dosage form; or 

d. Inadequate or incorrect packaging or labeling. 

"Drug donation site" means a permitted pharmacy that 

specifically registers with the board for the purpose of 

receiving or redispensing eligible donated prescription drugs 

pursuant to § 54.1-3411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Electronic prescription" means a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application in accordance with 21 

CFR Part 1300 and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an 

electronic data file.  

"EMS" means emergency medical services. 

"Expiration date" means that date placed on a drug package 

by the manufacturer or repacker beyond which the product 

may not be dispensed or used.  

"Facsimile (FAX) prescription" means a written prescription 

or order which that is transmitted by an electronic device that 

sends over telephone lines which sends the exact image to the 

receiver (pharmacy) in a hard copy form.  

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.  

"Floor stock" means a supply of drugs that have been 

distributed for the purpose of general administration by a 

prescriber or other authorized person pursuant to a valid order 

of a prescriber.  

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person 

to practice pharmacy in that country. 

"Forgery" means a prescription that was falsely created, 

falsely signed, or altered. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational 

equivalency to board approved schools of pharmacy, and has 

passed approved examinations establishing proficiency in 

English.  

"Generic drug name" means the nonproprietary name listed 

in the United States Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP-

NF) or in the United States Adopted Names (USAN) and the 

USP Dictionary of Drug Names.  

"Hospital" or "nursing home" means those facilities as 

defined in Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or as defined in 

regulations by the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Inactive license" means a license that is registered with the 

Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to practice, 

the holder of which is not required to submit documentation 

of CE necessary to hold an active license.  

"Long-term care facility" means a nursing home, retirement 

care, mental care, or other facility or institution that provides 

extended health care to resident patients.  

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"Nuclear pharmacy" means a pharmacy providing 

radiopharmaceutical services.  

"On duty" means that a pharmacist is on the premises at the 

address of the permitted pharmacy and is available as needed.  

"On-hold prescription" means a valid prescription that is 

received and maintained at the pharmacy for initial 

dispensing on a future date. 

"Patient safety organization" means an organization that has 

as its primary mission continuous quality improvement under 

the Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act of 2005 

(Pub. L. (P.L. 109-41) and is credentialed by the Agency for 

Healthcare Research and Quality. 

"Permitted physician" means a physician who is licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3304 of the Code of Virginia to dispense 

drugs to persons to whom or for whom pharmacy services are 

not reasonably available.  

"Perpetual inventory" means an ongoing system for 

recording quantities of drugs received, dispensed, or 

otherwise distributed by a pharmacy. 

"Personal supervision" means the pharmacist must be 

physically present and render direct, personal control over the 

entire service being rendered or act being performed. Neither 

prior nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor shall 

supervision rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by 

any mechanical or electronic methods be sufficient.  

"Pharmacy closing" means that the permitted pharmacy 

ceases pharmacy services or fails to provide for continuity of 

pharmacy services or lawful access to patient prescription 

records or other required patient records for the purpose of 

continued pharmacy services to patients.  

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician 

training program and is performing duties restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical 

experience in accordance with § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PIC" means the pharmacist-in-charge of a permitted 

pharmacy.  

"Practice location" means any location in which a prescriber 

evaluates or treats a patient.  
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"Prescription department" means any contiguous or 

noncontiguous areas used for the compounding, dispensing, 

and storage of all Schedule II through VI drugs and devices 

and any Schedule I investigational drugs.  

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians.  

"Quality assurance plan" means a plan approved by the 

board for ongoing monitoring, measuring, evaluating, and, if 

necessary, improving the performance of a pharmacy function 

or system.  

"Radiopharmaceutical" means any drug that exhibits 

spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the 

emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any 

nonradioactive reagent kit or radionuclide generator that is 

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance, 

but does not include drugs such as carbon-containing 

compounds or potassium-containing salts that include trace 

quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides. The term also 

includes any biological product that is labeled with a 

radionuclide or intended solely to be labeled with a 

radionuclide.  

"Repackaged drug" means any drug removed from the 

manufacturer's original package and placed in different 

packaging.  

"Robotic pharmacy system" means a mechanical system 

controlled by a computer that performs operations or 

activities relative to the storage, packaging, labeling, 

dispensing, or distribution of medications, and collects, 

controls, and maintains all transaction information.  

"Safety closure container" means a container that meets the 

requirements of the federal Poison Prevention Packaging Act 

of 1970 (15 USC §§ 1471-1476), that is, in testing such 

containers, that 85% of a test group of 200 children of ages 

41-52 months are unable to open the container in a five-

minute period and that 80% fail in another five minutes after 

a demonstration of how to open it and that 90% of a test 

group of 100 adults must be able to open and close the 

container.  

"Satellite pharmacy" means a pharmacy that is 

noncontiguous to the centrally permitted pharmacy of a 

hospital but at the location designated on the pharmacy 

permit.  

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children younger 

than five years of age to open to obtain a toxic or harmful 

amount of the drug contained therein within a reasonable time 

and not difficult for normal adults to use properly, but does 

not mean packaging that all such children cannot open or 

obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time.  

"Special use permit" means a permit issued to conduct a 

pharmacy of a special scope of service that varies in any way 

from the provisions of any board regulation.  

"Storage temperature" means those specific directions stated 

in some monographs with respect to the temperatures at 

which pharmaceutical articles shall be stored, where it is 

considered that storage at a lower or higher temperature may 

produce undesirable results. The conditions are defined by the 

following terms:  

1. "Cold" means any temperature not exceeding 8°C 

(46°F). A refrigerator is a cold place in which temperature 

is maintained thermostatically between 2° and 8°C (36° 

and 46°F). A freezer is a cold place in which the 

temperature is maintained thermostatically between -20° 

and -10°C (-4° and 14°F) controlled between -25° and 

-10°C (-13° and 14°F). In those instances in which articles 

may have a recommended storage condition below -20°C 

(-4°F), the temperature of the storage location should be 

controlled to plus or minus 10 degrees. 

2. "Room temperature" means the temperature prevailing 

in a working area.  

3. "Controlled room temperature" means a temperature 

maintained thermostatically that encompasses the usual 

and customary working environment of 20° to 25°C (68° 

to 77°F); that results in a mean kinetic temperature 

calculated to be not more than 25°C (77°F); and that 

allows for excursions between 15° and 30°C (59° and 

86°F) that are experienced in pharmacies, hospitals, and 

warehouses.  

4. "Warm" means any temperature between 30° and 40°C 

(86° and 104°F).  

5. "Excessive heat" means any temperature above 40°C 

(104°F).  

6. "Protection from freezing" means where, in addition to 

the risk of breakage of the container, freezing subjects a 

product to loss of strength or potency, or to the destructive 

alteration of its characteristics, the container label bears an 

appropriate instruction to protect the product from 

freezing.  

7. "Cool" means any temperature between 8° and 15°C 

(46° and 59°F).  

"Terminally ill" means a patient with a terminal condition as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Ultimate user" means a person who has lawfully obtained, 

and who possesses, a controlled substance for his own use or 

for the use of a member of his household or for an animal 

owned by him or a member of his household. 
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"Unit dose container" means a container that is a single-unit 

container, as defined in United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary, for articles intended for administration by other 

than the parenteral route as a single dose, direct from the 

container.  

"Unit dose package" means a container that contains a 

particular dose ordered for a patient.  

"Unit dose system" means a system in which multiple drugs 

in unit dose packaging are dispensed in a single container, 

such as a medication drawer or bin, labeled only with patient 

name and location. Directions for administration are not 

provided by the pharmacy on the drug packaging or container 

but are obtained by the person administering directly from a 

prescriber's order or medication administration record.  

"USP-NF" means the United States Pharmacopeia-National 

Formulary.  

"Well-closed container" means a container that protects the 

contents from extraneous solids and from loss of the drug 

under the ordinary or customary conditions of handling, 

shipment, storage, and distribution.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5775; Filed May 16, 2019, 3:00 p.m.  

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS, 
WETLAND PROFESSIONALS, AND GEOLOGISTS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC145-30. Regulations Governing 

Certified Professional Wetland Delineators (amending 

18VAC145-30-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2203 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Professional Soil Scientists, Wetland Professionals, 

and Geologists, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 527-4294, 

or email soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia grants 

authority to the board to promulgate regulations " . . . in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the regulatory board."  

Purpose: This proposed amendment addresses concerns in the 

wetland delineation community about the inappropriate use of 

professional work. The board requested this proposed 

addition to the standards of practice and conduct to promote 

transparency and ensure minimum competency in the practice 

of wetland delineation by certified professionals. Ensuring a 

professional's work is not used or altered without permission 

protects the safety of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

fast-track rulemaking process is being used to amend the 

board's standards of practice and conduct because the 

proposed amendment is not expected to be controversial. 

Members of the regulated community requested the change, 

and it provides helpful clarification to existing guidelines and 

prohibitions on representations of professional opinion. 

Substance: The board's proposed amendment to 18VAC145-

30-140 adds a new prohibited act to make explicit that a 

Virginia certified professional wetland delineator is 

prohibited from using the work of another without written 

consent. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public of adding the 

proposed amendment is ensuring the integrity of the 

regulatory program for Virginia certified professional wetland 

delineators and promoting an ethical marketplace overall by 

prohibiting certificate holders from using another 

professional's work without permission. Moreover, businesses 

engaged in wetland delineation and the individual employees 

of those businesses will be better protected against improper 

use of their work. There are no disadvantages to the public or 

individual private citizens or businesses. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth is that the 

regulatory program will be able to take disciplinary action 

against certificate holders who use the work of another 

without permission. Not only do such individuals take 

advantage of other professionals in their field, but such 

behavior puts the public's health, safety, and welfare at 

potential risk. There are no identified disadvantages to the 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Professional Scientists, Wetland Professionals, and 

Geologists (Board) proposes to clarify that a Virginia 

certified professional wetland delineator is prohibited from 

using the work of another without written consent. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current standards of 

practice and conduct already prohibit certified wetland 

delineators from signing work they do not themselves 

prepare, review, or approve.1 The Board proposes to make 

explicit in the regulation that a wetland delineator is 

prohibited from using the work of another without written 
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consent. The proposed change will allow the Board to take a 

disciplinary action against certificate holders who use the 

work of another without permission and strengthen the 

copyright protections afforded to the owners of original work. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 109 individuals 

certified as wetland delineators. 

Localities Particularly Affected. There are no localities 

particularly affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. Most, if not all, of the wetland 

delineators in the private sector are believed to be working for 

small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No net 

adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have an 

adverse impact on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 

other entities. 

_______________________ 

1See 18VAC145-30-140(3). 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments make explicit that a Virginia certified 

professional wetland delineator is prohibited from using 

the work of another without written consent. The standards 

of practice and conduct already prohibit certificate holders 

from signing work they do not themselves prepare, review, 

or approve; this amendment clarifies that using the work of 

another person or organization when rendering services 

requires written consent. 

18VAC145-30-140. Standards of practice and conduct.  

A Virginia certified professional wetland delineator:  

1. Shall not submit any false statements, make any 

misrepresentations or fail to disclose any facts requested 

concerning any application for certification or 

recertification.  

2. Shall not engage in any fraud, deceit, or 

misrepresentation in advertising, in soliciting or in 

providing professional services.  

3. Shall not knowingly sign any plans, drawings, 

blueprints, surveys, reports, specifications, maps, or other 

documents not prepared or reviewed and approved by the 

certificate holder.  

4. Shall not knowingly represent a client or employer on a 

project on which the certificate holder represents or has 

represented another client or employer without making full 

disclosure thereof.  

5. Shall express a professional opinion only when it is 

founded on adequate knowledge of established facts at 

issue and based on a background of technical competence 

in the subject matter.  

6. Shall not knowingly misrepresent factual information in 

expressing a professional opinion.  

7. Shall immediately notify the client or employer and the 

appropriate regulatory agency if the certificate holder's 

professional judgment is overruled and not adhered to when 

advising appropriate parties of any circumstances of a 

substantial threat to the public health, safety, or welfare.  

8. Shall exercise reasonable care when rendering professional 

services and shall apply the technical knowledge, skill, and 

terminology ordinarily applied by practicing wetland 

professionals.  

9. Shall sign and date all plans, drawings, blueprints, surveys, 

reports, specifications, maps, or other documents prepared or 

reviewed and approved by the certificate holder. The certified 

professional wetland professional delineator shall also 

indicate that he is a Virginia Certified Wetland Professional 

Delineator certified professional wetland delineator on all 

plans, drawings, blueprints, surveys, reports, specifications, 

maps, or other documents prepared or reviewed and approved 

by the certificate holder and include his certificate number.  

10. Shall not utilize the design, drawings, specifications, or 

work of another regulant to complete or to replicate any work 

without the written consent of the person who or organization 

that owns the design, drawings, specifications, or work. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5301; Filed May 16, 2019, 4:55 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Fire Services Board 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 19VAC15-20. Regulations 

Establishing Certification Standards for Fire Inspectors 

(repealing 19VAC15-20-10 through 19VAC15-20-1100). 

19VAC15-30. Regulations Establishing the Certification 

Standards for Fire Investigators (repealing 19VAC15-30-

10 through 19VAC15-30-1970). 

19VAC15-40. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Instructors Providing Training at Local Fire Training 

Facilities (repealing 19VAC15-40-10 through 19VAC15-

40-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Mohamed G. Abbamin, MPA, Policy 

Manager, Department of Fire Programs, 1005 Technology 

Park Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-

1982, or email mohamed.abbamin@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal fire inspector training 

requirements (19VAC15-20), fire investigator training 

requirements (19VAC15-30), and the requirements for the 

instructors at local fire training facilities (19VAC15-40) 

because the agency no longer regulates such training.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5945; Filed April 25, 2019, 4:04 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of State Police will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia; 

49 CFR Part 390. 

Effective Date: July 10, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Lieutenant Sean Stewart, Assistant Safety 

Officer, Motor Carrier Division, Department of State Police, 

P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone (804) 278-

5303, or email sean.stewart@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the effective date of the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration that are incorporated for 

compliance and enforcement purposes. 

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to the 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations operating in interstate or 

intrastate commerce within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations promulgated by the United States Department of 

Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, 

with amendments promulgated and in effect as of October 1, 

2018 July 1, 2019, pursuant to the United States Motor 

Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR Parts 366, 370 through 

376, 379, 380 Subpart E, 382, 385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 

through 397, and 399, which are incorporated in these 

regulations by reference, with certain exceptions.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6017; Filed May 17, 2019, 4:20 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-ONE (2019) 

Transfer of the Museum of Natural History to the 
Secretary of Education 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia is home to some of the finest 

state-owned museums in the nation. These museums are vital 

educational resources for citizens and visitors of the 

Commonwealth. Through these institutions, the public can 

study and enjoy history, science and the arts. 

The Secretary of Education is responsible for coordinating 

among and supporting public education institutions 

throughout the Commonwealth. The secretariat provides 

guidance to the Virginia Department of Education, the 

Virginia Community College System and the State Council of 

Higher Education for Virginia, and Virginia's 16 public 

colleges and universities, 23 community colleges and five 

higher education and research centers, seven state-funded arts 

and cultural institutions, and the Library of Virginia. 

Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Museum of 

Natural History investigates, preserves, and exhibits the 

various elements of natural history found in Virginia and 

other parts of the United States and the world. It encourages 

and promotes research in the varied natural heritage of 

Virginia and other parts of the world. It encourages 

individuals and scholars to study our natural history and to 

apply this understanding of the past to the challenges of the 

future. The museum coordinates an efficient network in 

Virginia where researchers and the public can readily access 

the museum's materials and its branches. 

The mission and purpose of the Virginia Museum of Natural 

History can be achieved best if it is integrated into the 

network of Virginia's other museums, colleges, and 

universities. This requires transferring management and 

oversight responsibilities from the Secretary of Natural 

Resources to the Secretary of Education. 

The Museum of Natural History will continue performing all 

existing functions and duties in accordance with Virginia law. 

Transfer of the Museum 

By virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor under 

§§ 2.2-208 and 2.2-215 of the Code of Virginia, I hereby 

authorize the transfer of administrative authority of the 

Virginia Museum of Natural History from the Secretary of 

Natural Resources to the Secretary of Education. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

shall remain in force and effect unless amended or rescinded 

by further executive order. 

 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 14th day of May, 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the initial or 
additional public comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional comment period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies to initiate or extend a public 
comment period. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance 
document to access it. Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Title of Document: Inspections of Specific Components of a 

Residential Building. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Mary Broz-Vaughan, Deputy Director for 

Licensing and Regulation, Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8537, or email mary.broz-vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidance Document Governing Certain 

Provisions of the Regulations Establishing Standards for 

Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director of Board 

Relations, Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 

101 North 14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2924, or email 

emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Document: Hardship Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Lance Gregory, Division Director, 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7491, or email 

lance.gregory@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Document: Hazardous Waste Generated at Remote 

Site Locations by Utility and Rail Companies. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2019. 

Effective Date: July 11, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4378, or email 

cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov.  

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a009005950~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a009005950~3g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
mailto:mary.broz-vaughan@dpor.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=091cd005950~1a.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=091cd005950~1a.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=091cd005950~1a.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
mailto:emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c0b7005950~4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
mailto:lance.gregory@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16db9005950~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16db9005950~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005950&mime=application/pdf
mailto:cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of each listed regulation. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

18VAC15-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC15-20, Virginia Asbestos Licensing Regulations 

18VAC15-30, Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities 

Regulations 

18VAC15-40, Home Inspector Licensing Regulations 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends July 

1, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 

on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 

review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Common Interest Community Board is conducting a periodic 

review and small business impact review of 18VAC48-30, 

Condominium Regulations. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends July 

1, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

May 17, 2019 

Administrative Letter 2019-02 

TO: All Health Carriers Licensed in Virginia and Interested 

Parties 

RE: External Review of Adverse Coverage Determinations 

for Cancer Patients 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is to provide 

guidance for the submission of complaint system filings, 

notice and policy form requirements to comply with the 

provisions of Chapter 826 (House Bill 1915) and Chapter 840 

(Senate Bill 1161) enacted by the General Assembly during 

its 2019 legislative session.  

Chapter 826 (House Bill 1915) and Chapter 840 (Senate Bill 

1161) of the Acts of General Assembly, became effective 

April 3, 2019, and amend the following sections within Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia: §§ 38.2-3559, 38.2-3560, 38.2-

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
CIC@dpor.virginia.gov
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3561 and 38.2-3562. The bills establish that a covered person 

is not required to exhaust the health carrier's internal appeal 

process before seeking a standard or expedited external 

review of an adverse determination involving the treatment of 

cancer. In the event of an adverse determination, the health 

carrier must notify the covered person of this right. The bills 

are applicable to all plans offered by health carriers except 

those specifically excluded in § 38.2-3557 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Complaint System Filings 

Section 38.2-5804 of the Code of Virginia requires all 

Managed Care Health Insurance Plans (MCHIPs) to file their 

complaint systems with the State Corporation Commission 

and the State Health Commissioner.  The State Corporation 

Commission's Bureau of Insurance (Bureau) anticipates that 

all health carriers will need to revise existing complaint and 

appeal procedures, and that all MCHIPs that are health 

carriers will need to refile for approval revised complaint and 

appeal procedures. The Bureau's Complaint System and 

Appeal Procedures/MCHIP Filing Requirements checklist has 

been updated to incorporate the new legislative requirements. 

The checklist can be found on the Bureau's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/index.aspx. 

In order to expedite and facilitate the review and approval of 

MCHIP complaint and appeal procedure filings, the Bureau 

requests that applicable MCHIPs complete and return the 

checklist with the filing of its new or revised procedures. 

MCHIPs should provide a red-line identification of the 

changes made to its procedures. Revised complaint system 

and appeal procedure filings that comply with this new 

requirement must be filed with the Bureau by June 3, 2019. 

External Review Request Form 

The External Review Request Form, Form 216-A, has been 

updated to allow the covered person to request a standard or 

expedited external review if an adverse determination 

involves treatment of cancer. The revised Form 216-A can be 

found on the Bureau's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/omb/ext_review.aspx. 

Policy Forms 

In lieu of carriers filing endorsements to 2019 policy forms, 

health carriers may use the attached notice to inform 

policyholders of the external review process change. If a 

carrier chooses not to use this notice, or if a carrier has 

already sent a notice, the carrier should submit its sent or 

intended notice to the Bureau for review and approval. The 

Bureau will not penalize a carrier for sending a notice without 

our approval if such notice was sent prior to this 

Administrative Letter and accurately reflects the new 

requirements. If a carrier wishes to amend its policy forms 

instead of using the attached general notice, the carrier must 

submit the amendment to the Bureau by May 28, 2019, for 

review and approval.  

Please contact the Bureau with any questions or requests for 

clarification. Questions or clarification regarding the external 

review process should be addressed to Kim Naoroz, Principal 

Insurance Market Examiner, Office of Independent External 

Review, Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 

P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9913, FAX (804) 371-9915, or email 

kim.naoroz@scc.virginia.gov. 

Questions or clarification regarding complaint system filings 

should be addressed to Todd Bryant, Principal Insurance 

Market Examiner, Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman, 

Life and Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, P. O. Box 

1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9760, FAX 

(804) 371-9944, or email todd.bryant@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

Attachment 

Notice to Policyholder and Dependents of 

Revision to Your Appeal Process 

This Notice Advises You of Expanded Protection to Your 

Appeal Process due to a Newly Enacted Virginia Law. Keep 

this Notice with Your Policy Documents. 

Effective April 3, 2019, Virginia law requires that should you 

receive an "adverse determination" from [name of carrier or 

the utilization review entity] involving the treatment of 

cancer, you are not required to exhaust [name of carrier's] 

internal appeal process before requesting a standard or 

expedited independent external review. The notice you 

receive with an adverse determination will inform you of this 

right and provide you with necessary information. 

"Adverse determination" means a determination by a health 

carrier or its designee utilization review entity that an 

admission, availability of care, continued stay, or other health 

care service that is a covered benefit has been reviewed and, 

based upon the information provided, does not meet the 

health carrier's requirements for medical necessity, 

appropriateness, health care setting, level of care, or 

effectiveness, and the requested service or payment for the 

service is therefore denied, reduced, or terminated. 

You can find additional information concerning the appeal 

and external review process in your policy/certificate. Please 

direct any questions to:  ___________________. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Reams Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

Dinwiddie County 

Reams Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/index.aspx
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/omb/ext_review.aspx
mailto:Kim.Naoroz@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:Todd.Bryant@scc.virginia.gov
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necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Dinwiddie County 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The project is located on 

approximately 1,500-2,000 acres west of Interstate 95, and 

approximately eight miles east of the town of Dinwiddie. The 

project conceptually consists of approximately 234,000  

435-watt modules across 82.8 megawatts alternating current 

arrays, providing a facility net capacity of 80 megawatts 

alternating current. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Walnut Solar I LLC Revised Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar)  
Permit by Rule - King and Queen County 

Walnut Solar I LLC has submitted a revised notice of intent 

to submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule 

for a small renewable energy project (solar) in King and 

Queen County pursuant to 9VAC15-60. The revised notice 

increases the size of the project to 149.90 megawatts. The 

project is located approximately two miles southeast of the 

community of Shacklefords on the south side of State Route 

14 in King and Queen County. The project will be 

constructed on multiple parcels of land totaling approximately 

1,800 acres and will use conventional solar panels to deliver 

up to 149.90 megawatts of electricity (alternating current) to 

an existing transmission line. Previous notices of intent on 

this project were published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on August 21, 2017 (33:26 VA.R. 3011) and 

October 1, 2018 (35:3 VA.R. 498). 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4510, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Public Hearing 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 12 and § 36-100 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community Development 

will hold a public hearing on the Virginia Amusement 

Device Regulations (13VAC5-31), Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code (13VAC5-51), Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), and the Virginia 

Industrialized Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

At the public hearing, the board will also receive comments 

regarding the regulatory actions for Virginia Certification 

Standards (13VAC5-21), the Virginia Manufactured Home 

Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95), and the emergency cooling 

amendment to the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63-540). Public hearings regarding these three 

regulations will also be held after publication of the proposed 

regulations as stated in their respective Notices of Intended 

Regulatory Action. 

The purpose of the public hearing is to consider updating the 

listed codes to the newest editions of the model codes and 

standards and to consider related proposals prior to the 

publication of proposed regulations. 

The public hearing will be held at the Virginia Housing 

Center, 4224 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, beginning at 

10 am on July 22, 2019. For more information, please contact 

Kyle Flanders, telephone (804) 786-6761 or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Opportunity for Public Comment on the Draft 
Pharmacy (Appendix D) Provider Manual for 

Stakeholder Input 

The new Pharmacy Appendix D provider manual is now 

posted on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for 

public comment through June 12, 2019. 

Public comment period: May 13, 2019, through June 12, 

2019. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation is 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 18VAC120-11, Public Participation Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol33/iss26/v33i26.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss03/v35i03.pdf
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8571
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8571
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8566
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8566
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8564
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8564
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=8564
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
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economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends July 

1, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Mary Broz-Vaughan, Acting Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8519, FAX (804) 527-4408, or email 

director@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

State Board of Social Services is conducting a periodic 

review and small business impact review of each listed 

regulation. The review of each regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

22VAC40-680, Virginia Energy Assistance Program - 

Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program 

(LIHEAP) 

Contact Information: Denise Surber, Energy Assistance 

Program Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7386, FAX (804) 726-7358, or email 

denise.t.surber@dss.virginia.gov. 

22VAC40-780, Eligibility for Direct Social Services 

Contact Information: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Program 

Manager for Legislation and Regulations, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7943, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 

nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov. 

22VAC40-901, Community Services Block Grant 

Program 

Contact Information: Matt Fitzgerald, Community Service 

Program Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East 

Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7142, FAX (804) 726-7088, or email 

matt.fitzgerald@dss.virginia.gov. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends July 

1, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to the agency contacts listed in this notice. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 

on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 

review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

TREASURY BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of the Treasury and Treasury Board are 

conducting a periodic review and small business impact 

review of 1VAC75-11, Public Participation Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends 

July 2, 2019. 

 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to William Watt, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Treasury Board, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6242, FAX (804) 225-3167, 

or email william.watt@trs.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Environmental Quality is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

9VAC20-81, Solid Waste Management Regulations. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 10, 2019, and ends 

July 1, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for Greensville County 
Water and Sewer Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Greensville 

County Water and Sewer Authority (WSA) for alleged 

violations that occurred at the Falling Run Wastewater 

Treatment Plant in Emporia, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 

Greensville County WSA to address noncompliance with 

State Water Control Board law. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Cynthia Akers will accept comments by email at 

cynthia.akers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from June 10, 2019, to July 10, 2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for Herndon  
Car Wash LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Herndon Car 

Wash LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Flagship Car Wash facility located in 

Herndon, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the Flagship Car Wash facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Benjamin Holland will accept comments by email at 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov, or by postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

June 11, 2019, through July 11, 2019. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:william.watt@trs.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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