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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 

Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 

Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2019 through August 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC15-40. Charitable Gaming 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-340.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Nathan A. Freels, Powerhouse Gaming. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petitioner requests that the 

Charitable Gaming Board amend Charitable Gaming 

Regulations to allow "for the calculation of Use of Proceeds 

be adjusted such that electronic pulltabs are calculated as 2% 

of the charitable gaming gross receipts specifically realized 

from the use of electronic pulltabs." 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Charitable Gaming 

Board (board) voted to take no action on the petitioner's 

request for rulemaking for the following reason: 

In 2018, the board created a workgroup to evaluate use of 

proceeds and to consider whether changes to the current 

structure are appropriate and necessary. It is premature for the 

board to interject itself into this evaluation until the 

workgroup has completed its work. Though the board voted 

to take no action on the petition, the workgroup will consider 

the specific idea brought forth in the petition for rulemaking 

as it deliberates over use of proceeds. 

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, or email 

michael.menefee@cdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-26; Filed July 1, 2019, 5:56 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 24 TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-30. VASAP Case 

Management Policy and Procedure Manual. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Ellen Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Ellen Hites, as a 

citizen of the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-

4007 of the Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition 

for the following amendment to Virginia Administrative 

Code 24VAC35-30-150 (VASAP Policy and Procedures 

Manual). Currently, the law states the following: Section 150, 

Paragraph A: 'Noncompliance reporting. When the offender 

has been deemed noncompliant by the case manager, that 

case manager, within five working days, shall notify in 

writing the referring court or agency and the offender.' As of 

now, no penalty exists to the caseworker for breech of this 

law. With no adverse effect to the caseworker, or ASAP 

director, respectively, for failing to fulfill their duties, ASAP 

caseworkers can effectively operate with impunity regarding 

the time allotted them to notify [the] offender and court of 

noncompliance. There are no penalties established for the 

incidences of caseworker error or malfeasance that result in 

restart of [an] ignition interlock sentence, or force [the] 

offender to reappear in court to face further punishment. I 

propose the following language be adopted, in lieu of the 

current: 'A. Noncompliance reporting. When the offender has 

been deemed noncompliant by the case manager, that case 

manager, within five working days, shall notify in writing the 

referring court or agency and the offender. If [the] caseworker 

fails to notify in writing both parties, within five working 

days, the instance of noncompliance shall not be considered, 

and the offender shall incur no penalty.'" 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: During its June 7, 2019, 

meeting, the Commission on VASAP denied this petition, 

taking no action for the following reasons: 

1) Failure of a case manager to report noncompliance 

promptly should not exonerate a client for violation of a 

probationary requirement; however, it might be considered in 

mitigation. 

2) Whenever there is any malfeasance by a case manager, or a 

failure to otherwise perform required duties, any corrective or 

disciplinary action of the ASAP employee is a personnel 

matter best handled on a case-by-case basis to account for the 

specific circumstances. 

3) ASAP case managers are not state employees. Thus, any 

employee consequences pertaining to job performance must 

be addressed by the local ASAP director and policy board and 

should not be included in state regulations. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-25; Filed June 20, 2019, 4:55 p.m. 

 

mailto:michael.menefee@cdacs.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 

consider amending 18VAC90-19, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to initiate rulemaking in response to a petition for 

rulemaking from the Virginia Association of Clinical Nurse 

Specialists, which requested changes to regulations relating to 

registration of a clinical nurse specialist. The board intends to 

amend 18VAC90-19-210 to clarify that the board will accept 

for registration evidence of a clinical nurse specialist 

certification that has been retired or is the core certification, 

provided the certification has been maintained and is current. 

Likewise, a retired or core certification that remains current 

qualifies a clinical nurse specialist to renew registration. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-28; Filed July 1, 2019, 8:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services intends to consider amending 

22VAC30-60, Grants to Area Agencies on Aging. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to update and clarify the 

chapter, which prescribes the requirements for a state-

designated area agency on aging in Virginia to receive federal 

and state funds for various programs, including those for 

nutrition services, care coordination, legal assistance, and 

information and referral services. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 3001 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7063, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6060; Filed June 25, 2019, 10:00 a.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-115. Regulations for 

Determining Whether a Facility Meets the Purpose of 

Finding Permanent Adoptive Homes for Animals (adding 

2VAC5-115-10, 2VAC5-115-20, 2VAC5-115-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6501 of the Code of Virginia; 

Chapter 319 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Kathryn MacDonald, Program Manager, 

Animal Care and Emergency Response, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 692-4001, FAX (804) 

371-2380, or email kathryn.macdonald@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 319 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

which directed the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services to promulgate a regulation to determine whether 

a private animal shelter meets the purpose of finding 

permanent adoptive homes for animals, the new chapter 

establishes provisions for making such a determination. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 115 

REGULATIONS FOR DETERMINING WHETHER A 

FACILITY MEETS THE PURPOSE OF FINDING 

PERMANENT ADOPTIVE HOMES FOR ANIMALS 

2VAC5-115-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Facility" means a building or portion thereof as designated 

by the State Veterinarian, other than a private residential 

dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used to contain 

primary enclosures in which animals are housed or kept. 

"Foster care provider" means a person who provides care or 

rehabilitation for companion animals through an affiliation 

with a public or private animal shelter, home-based rescue, 

releasing agency, or other animal welfare organization.  

"Private animal shelter" means a facility operated for the 

purpose of finding permanent adoptive homes for animals 

that is used to house or contain animals and that is owned or 

operated by an incorporated, nonprofit, and nongovernmental 

entity, including a humane society, animal welfare 

organization, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, 

or any other similar organization. 

"Releasing agency" means (i) a public animal shelter or (ii) 

a private animal shelter, humane society, animal welfare 

organization, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, 

or other similar entity or home-based rescue that releases 

companion animals for adoption. 

2VAC5-115-20. Meeting the purpose of finding 

permanent adoptive homes for animals. 

A facility that is operated for the purpose of finding 

permanent adoptive homes for animals shall annually (i) find 

permanent adoptive homes for animals and (ii) conduct at 

least three of the following activities: 

1. Be accessible to the public to view animals available for 

adoption; 

2. Advertise to the general public animals that are available 

for adoption; 

3. Transfer animals available for adoption to a releasing 

agency; 

4. Utilize a foster care provider for animals temporarily 

awaiting placement in permanent adoptive homes; or 

5. Offer services to the public in an effort to keep animals 

in their permanent homes. 

2VAC5-115-30. Failure to meet requirements. 

Failure to meet the requirements in this chapter will result in 

the State Veterinarian or the State Veterinarian's 

representative determining that the facility does not operate 

for the purpose of finding permanent adoptive homes for 

animals and is not a private animal shelter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4927; Filed June 27, 2019, 4:40 p.m.  
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Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 2VAC5-670. Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Product Registration, Handling, Storage, and 

Disposal under Authority of the Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act. 

2VAC5-675. Regulations Governing Pesticide Fees 

Charged by the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services. 

2VAC5-680. Regulations Governing Licensing of Pesticide 

Businesses Operating under Authority of the Virginia 

Pesticide Control Act. 

2VAC5-685. Regulations Governing Pesticide Applicator 

Certification under Authority of Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 

Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, or email 

liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (2VAC5-670) 

Application for New Pesticide Product Registration, 

VDACS 07208 (rev. 9/2014)  

Application for New Pesticide Product 

Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS-07208 (rev. 7/2019) 

FORMS (2VAC5-675)  

Application for New Pesticide Product 

Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS-07208 (rev. 7/2017)  

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, 

VDACS-07209 (rev. 7/2017)  

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator 

Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, 

VDACS-07210 (rev. 7/2017)  

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial 

Applicator Certification, VDACS-07211 (rev. 7/2017) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-

07212-A (rev. 7/2018) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination, VDACS-07212-B 

(eff. 7/2018)  

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS-07218 (rev. 7/2017)  

Application for New Pesticide Product 

Registration/Additional Information and Instructions, 

VDACS-07208 (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, 

VDACS-07209 (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator 

Certificate/Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories, 

VDACS-07210 (rev. 7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification 

Application/Eligibility Requirements for Commercial 

Applicator Certification, VDACS-07211 (rev. 7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application/General 

Training Requirements for Registered Technicians, VDACS-

07212A (rev. 7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination, VDACS-07212B 

(rev. 7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination/Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator Categories, VDACS-07218 (rev. 7/2019) 

FORMS (2VAC5-680)  

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License, Form 

VDACS-07209 (rev. 9/06).  

Application for Virginia Pesticide Business License to sell, 

distribute, store, apply, or recommend pesticides for use, 

VDACS-07209 (rev. 7/2019) 

Certificate of Insurance, Form VDACS-07214 (rev. 4/96). 

Request to take the Virginia Pesticide Business License 

Examination (rev. 1/09)  

Request to take the Virginia Pesticide Business License 

Examination (rev. 7/2019) 

FORMS (2VAC5-685)  

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Application - 

A, Form VDACS-07211 (rev. 9/2016) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc57f006080~98.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc57f006080~98.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cc57f006080~98.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d17e4006080~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d17e4006080~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d17e4006080~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21184006080~119.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21184006080~119.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21184006080~119.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c0e1006080~120.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c0e1006080~120.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c0e1006080~120.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5e9d006080~131.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5e9d006080~131.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5e9d006080~131.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=331a0006080~14A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=331a0006080~14A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=331a0006080~14A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6ef7006080~15B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6ef7006080~15B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f6ef7006080~15B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5c79006080~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5c79006080~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5c79006080~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c22bf006080~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c22bf006080~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c22bf006080~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77705006080~17n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=77705006080~17n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
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Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination - B, Form 

VDACS-07218 (rev. 9/2016) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Application - 

A, Form VDACS-07211 (rev. 7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination - B, Form 

VDACS-07218 (rev. 7/2019) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification Exam bubble 

answer sheet, 2003 

Private Pesticide Applicator Certification Exam bubble answer 

sheet, 2003 

Private Pesticide Applicator Request for Authorization to Take 

Pesticide Applicator Examination at Department of Motor 

Vehicles Customer Service Center (eff. 1/2009) 

Power of Attorney (rev. 9/2016) 

Proof of Additional Category Specific Training for Registered 

Technicians (rev. 8/2016) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator Certificate, 

Form VDACS-07210 (rev. 9/2016)  

Pesticide Registered Technician Application Form - RT-A, 

Form VDACS-07212-A (rev. 9/2016)  

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization to 

Take Pesticide Applicator Examination – RT-B, Form VDACS-

07212-B (eff. 9/2016) 

Application for Reciprocal Pesticide Applicator Certificate, 

Form VDACS-07210 (rev. 7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Application Form - RT-A, 

Form VDACS-07212-A (rev. 7/2019) 

Pesticide Registered Technician Request for Authorization 

to Take Pesticide Applicator Examination – RT-B, Form 

VDACS-07212-B (rev. 7/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6080; Filed July 11, 2019, 8:51 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, 

which provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et 

seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-380. Watercraft: Motorboat 

Numbering (amending 4VAC15-380-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-710 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2019 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds the definition of "tender 

vessel." 

4VAC15-380-110. Lifeboats and tender vessels defined.  

The term "lifeboat" as used in § 29.1-710 of the Code of 

Virginia shall mean a boat used exclusively as a lifesaving 

device during times of emergency.  

The term "tender vessel" as authorized under § 29.1-710 of 

the Code of Virginia shall mean a vessel equipped with 

propulsion machinery of less than 10 horsepower that:  

1. Is owned by the owner of a vessel for which a valid 

certificate of number has been issued; 

2. Displays the number of the owner's vessel as prescribed 

in 4VAC15-380-30 followed by the suffix "1"; and 

3. Is used as a tender for direct transportation between that 

vessel and the shore and for no other purpose.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6051; Filed June 27, 2019, 2:36 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 29.1-701 E of the Code of Virginia, 

which provides that the board shall promulgate regulations to 

supplement Chapter 7 (§ 29.1-700 et seq.) of Title 29.1 of the 

Code of Virginia as prescribed in Article 1 (§ 29.1-500 et 

seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-430. Watercraft: Safety 

Equipment Requirements (amending 4VAC15-430-20 

through 4VAC15-430-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-735 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f6b9006080~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f6b9006080~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5757006080~208.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5757006080~208.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a5757006080~208.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74e1c006080~210.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74e1c006080~210.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cbf6006080~22A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cbf6006080~22A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1790006080~23B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1790006080~23B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1790006080~23B.pdf&typ=40&actno=006080&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information: 

August 22, 2019 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228 

Public Comment Deadline: July 31, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 7870 Villa Park 

Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-

8341, or email aaron.proctor@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update requirements for 

personal flotation devices to align with federal regulations. 

4VAC15-430-20. Definitions.  

As used in this chapter the following words and terms shall 

have the following meanings:  

"Coastal waters" means the territorial seas of the United 

States, and those waters directly connected to the territorial 

seas (i.e., bays, sounds, harbors, rivers, inlets, etc.) where any 

entrance exceeds two nautical miles between opposite 

shorelines to the first point where the largest distance between 

shorelines narrows to two miles, as shown on the current 

edition of the appropriate National Ocean Service chart used 

for navigation. Shorelines of islands or points of land present 

within a waterway are considered when determining the 

distance between opposite shorelines.  

"Passenger" means every person carried on board a vessel 

other than:  

1. The owner or his representative;  

2. The operator;  

3. Bona fide members of the crew engaged in the business 

of the vessel who have contributed no consideration for 

their carriage and who are paid for their services; or  

4. Any guest on board a vessel that is being used 

exclusively for pleasure purposes who has not contributed 

any consideration, directly or indirectly, for his carriage.  

"Personal flotation device" or "PFD" means a device that is 

approved by the U.S. Coast Guard.  

"Racing shell, rowing scull, racing canoe, and racing kayak" 

means a manually propelled vessel that is recognized by 

national or international racing associations for use in 

competitive racing and one in which all occupants row, scull, 

or paddle, with the exception of a coxswain, if one is 

provided, and is not designed to carry and does not carry any 

equipment not solely for competitive racing.  

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel being manufactured 

or operated primarily for pleasure, or leased, rented, or 

chartered to another for the latter's pleasure. It does not 

include any vessel engaged in the carrying of any passengers 

for consideration.  

"Sailboard" means a sail-propelled vessel with no freeboard 

and equipped with a swivel-mounted mast not secured to a 

hull by guys or stays. 

"Throwable PFD" means a PFD that is intended to be 

thrown to a person in the water. A PFD marked as Type IV or 

Type V with Type IV performance is considered a throwable 

PFD unless specifically marked otherwise. A wearable PFD 

is not a throwable PFD. 

"Use" means operate, navigate, or employ.  

"Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a 

seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a 

means of transportation on water, but does not include 

surfboards, tubes, swimming rafts, inflatable toys and similar 

devices routinely used as water toys or swimming aids.  

"Visual distress signal" means a device that is approved by 

the U.S. Coast Guard or certified by the manufacturer.  

"Wearable PFD" means a PFD that is intended to be worn or 

otherwise attached to the body. A PFD marked as Type I, 

Type II, Type III, or Type V with Type I, II, or III 

performance is considered a wearable PFD. 

4VAC15-430-30. Personal flotation devices required.  

A. Except as provided in 4VAC15-430-40, it shall be 

unlawful to use a recreational vessel unless at least one PFD 

of the following types is on board for each person:  

1. Type I PFD At least one wearable PFD is on board for 

each person;  

2. Type II PFD Each PFD is used in accordance with any 

requirements on the approval label; or and 

3. Type III PFD Each PFD is used in accordance with any 

requirements in its owner's manual if the approval label 

makes reference to such a manual.  

B. Except as provided in 4VAC15-430-40, it shall be 

unlawful to use a recreational vessel of 16 feet or greater 

unless one Type IV throwable PFD is on board in addition to 

the total number of PFDs required in subsection A of this 

section.  

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 29.1-742 of the Code 

of Virginia, it shall be unlawful to operate a personal 

watercraft unless each person riding on the personal 

watercraft or being towed by it is wearing a Type I, Type II, 

Type III or Type V PFD wearable PFD that is approved for 

such activity.  

4VAC15-430-40. Personal flotation device exemptions.  

A. A Type V PFD may be used in lieu of any PFD required 

under 4VAC15-430-30, provided:  
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1. The approval label on the Type V PFD indicates that the 

device is approved:  

a. For the activity in which the vessel is being used; or  

b. As a substitute for a PFD of the type required on the 

vessel in use;  

2. The PFD is used in accordance with any requirements 

on the approval label;  

3. The PFD is used in accordance with requirements in its 

owner's manual, if the approval label makes reference to 

such a manual; and  

4. The PFD is being worn.  

B. A. The following vessels are exempted from the 

requirements for carriage of the additional Type IV not 

required to carry an additional throwable PFD required by 

4VAC15-430-30.  

1. Personal watercraft. 

2. Nonmotorized canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length and 

over. 

3. Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes, and racing 

kayaks.  

4. Sailboards.  

5. Vessels of the United States used by foreign competitors 

while practicing for or racing in competition.  

B. The following vessels are not required to carry any PFD: 

1. Racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes, and racing 

kayaks while participating in or preparing and practicing 

for a race. 

2. Sailboards. 

C. Vessels of the United States used by foreign competitors 

while practicing for or racing in competition are not required 

to carry any PFD, provided the vessel carries one of the 

sponsoring foreign country's acceptable flotation devices for 

each foreign competitor onboard. 

4VAC15-430-50. Personal flotation device stowage.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use a recreational vessel unless 

each Type I, II, or III wearable PFD required by 4VAC15-

430-30, or equivalent type allowed by 4VAC15-430-40, is 

readily accessible. "Readily accessible" means that PFDs are 

stowed where they can be easily reached, or are out in the 

open ready for wear. A readily accessible PFD cannot be in a 

protective covering or under lock and key.  

B. It shall be unlawful to use a recreational vessel unless 

each Type IV throwable PFD required by 4VAC15-430-30 of 

this chapter is immediately available. "Immediately available" 

means the PFD shall be quickly reachable in an emergency 

situation. An immediately available PFD cannot be in a 

protective covering, in a closed compartment or under other 

equipment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6052; Filed June 27, 2019, 2:45 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors, and an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-60. Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations (amending 9VAC20-60-

18, 9VAC20-60-70, 9VAC20-60-260, 9VAC20-60-261, 

9VAC20-60-264, 9VAC20-60-265, 9VAC20-60-266, 

9VAC20-60-328, 9VAC20-60-1390, 9VAC20-60-1430, 

9VAC20-60-1505).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6921 et seq.; 40 CFR Parts 260 through 272. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Lisa A. Ellis, Coordinator, Hazardous Waste 

Compliance Program, Department of Environmental Quality, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4237, or email 

lisa.ellis@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments incorporate the 2018 amendments to Title 

40 of the Code of Federal Regulations into the regulation, 

not including the provisions of the Environmental 

Protection Agency's (EPA) Response to Vacatur of Certain 

Provisions of the Definition of Solid Waste Rule (83 FR 

24664). The amendments also incorporate EPA rules 

promulgated after July 1, 2018: (i) Safe Management of 

Recalled Air Bags (83 FR 61552) and (ii) Management of 

Hazardous Waste Pharmaceuticals and Amendment to the 

P075 Listing for Nicotine (84 FR 5816).  
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9VAC20-60-18. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates on which they became effective.  

A. Except as noted, when a regulation of the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 

of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced and 

incorporated herein into this chapter, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published in the July 1, 2017, update 

2018 annual edition; however, the incorporation by reference 

of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations shall not 

include the requirements of EPA's Response to Vacatur of 

Certain Provisions of the Definition of Solid Waste Rule 

(83 FR 24664, May 30, 2018). 

B. The references and incorporation of Title 40 of the Code 

of Federal Regulations into this chapter also includes the 

following rules promulgated by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency after publication of the 

July 1, 2018, annual edition of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations: 

1. Safe Management of Recalled Air Bags (83 FR 61552, 

November 30, 2018); and 

2. Management of Hazardous Waste Pharmaceuticals Rule 

and Amendment to the P075 Listing for Nicotine (84 FR 

5816, February 22, 2019). 

9VAC20-60-70. Public participation.  

A. All regulations developed under the provisions of Title 

10.1 of the Code of Virginia for hazardous waste 

management shall be developed in accordance with the 

provisions of the Commonwealth of Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 

the Virginia Waste Management Board Public Participation 

Guidelines, 9VAC20-10 9VAC20-11.  

B. Modifications and revisions to all hazardous waste 

management facility permits, except changes to interim 

status, shall be subject to public participation in accordance 

with 9VAC20-60-270.  

C. Modifications and revisions to this chapter shall be the 

subject of public participation as specified by the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act and the public participation 

guidelines of the board.  

D. Dockets of all permitting actions, enforcement actions, 

and administrative actions relative to this chapter shall be 

available to the public for review, consistent with the 

Commonwealth of Virginia Administrative Process Act, the 

Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia), and the provisions of this chapter.  

E. All reports and related materials received from hazardous 

waste generators, transporters, and facilities, as required by 

this chapter, shall be open to the public for review.  

F. Public participation in the compliance evaluation and 

enforcement programs is encouraged. The department will:  

1. Investigate and provide written responses to all citizen 

complaints addressed to the department;  

2. Not oppose intervention by any citizen in a suit brought 

before a court by the department as a result of the 

enforcement action; and  

3. Publish a notice in major daily or weekly newspaper of 

general circulation in the area and provide at least 30 days 

of public comment on proposed settlements of civil 

enforcement actions except where the settlement requires 

some immediate action.  

9VAC20-60-260. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 260 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 260 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials, and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

260 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

260 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Administrator" shall mean 

the Administrator of the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency or his designee.  

2. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "contained" shall be 

appended by adding the following: (5) Hazardous 

secondary materials managed under the exclusion provided 

in 40 CFR 261.4(a)(23) or (a)(24) shall not be managed in 

a land-based unit unless the land-based unit meets the 

applicable standards of 40 CFR Parts 260 through 270, as 

incorporated by reference, for management of hazardous 

waste. 

3. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "EPA" shall mean the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency.  

4. In 40 CFR 260.10 the term "new tank system" and 

"existing tank system," the reference to July 14, 1986, 

applies only to tank regulations promulgated pursuant to 

federal Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendment (HSWA) 

requirements. HSWA requirement categories include:  

a. Interim status and permitting requirements applicable 

to tank systems owned and operated by small quantity 

generators;  

b. Leak detection requirements for all underground tank 

systems for which construction commenced after July 14, 

1986; and  
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c. Permitting standards for underground tanks that cannot 

be entered for inspection.  

For non-HSWA regulations, the reference date shall be 

January 1, 1998.  

5. In 40 CFR 260.10, the term "Regional Administrator" 

shall mean the Regional Administrator of Region III of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 

designee.  

6. In 40 CFR 260.10 definitions of the terms "Person," 

"State," and "United States," the term "state" shall have the 

meaning originally intended by the Code of Federal 

Regulations and not be supplanted by "Commonwealth of 

Virginia."  

7. In 40 CFR 260.10 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 of 

the Code of Federal Regulations the term "universal waste" 

appears, it shall be amended by addition of the following 

sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes listed 

herein, the term "universal waste" shall include those 

hazardous wastes listed in Part XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et 

seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations as universal wastes, under such terms and 

requirements as shall therein be ascribed."  

8. Throughout 40 CFR 260.11(a), the terms "EPA" and 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" shall not be 

supplanted with the term "Commonwealth of Virginia."  

9. In Part XIV (9VAC20-60-1370 et seq.), the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations contain 

provisions analogous to 40 CFR 260.30, 40 CFR 260.31, 

40 CFR 260.32, 40 CFR 260.33, 40 CFR 260.34, 40 CFR 

260.40, and 40 CFR 260.41. These sections of 40 CFR Part 

260 are not incorporated by reference and are not a part of 

the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

10. Sections 40 CFR 260.2, 40 CFR 260.20, 40 CFR 

260.21, 40 CFR 260.22, and 40 CFR 260.23 are not 

included in the incorporation of 40 CFR Part 260 by 

reference and are not a part of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations.  

11. Appendix I to 40 CFR Part 260 is not incorporated by 

reference and is not a part of the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations. 

12. In the 40 CFR 260.10 definitions of the terms "AES 

filing compliance date," and "Electronic import-export 

reporting compliance date," the term "EPA" shall have the 

meaning originally intended by the Code of Federal 

Regulations and not be supplanted by "Department of 

Environmental Quality." 

13. In 40 CFR 260.4(a)(4) and 40 CFR 260.5(b)(2), the 

term "EPA" shall be retained and shall mean the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency. The term "EPA" 

shall not be supplanted with "Department of 

Environmental Quality" as instructed in 9VAC20-60-14 B 

2. 

14. The United States Environmental Protection Agency's 

amendments to 40 CFR 260 by the Response to Vacatur of 

Certain Provisions of the Definition of Solid Waste rule 

(83 FR 24664, May 30, 2018) shall not be included in the 

incorporation by reference of 40 CFR 260 and are not part 

of this chapter, 9VAC20-60; therefore, the incorporation of 

40 CFR 260 is modified as follows: 

a. Retain 40 CFR 260.42 as it appears in EPA's 

Definition of Solid Waste rule (80 FR 1694, January 13, 

2015). 

b. Retain 40 CFR 260.43 as it appears in EPA's 

Definition of Solid Waste rule (80 FR 1694, January 13, 

2015). 

9VAC20-60-261. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 261 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 261 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials, and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

261 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

261 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations 

this chapter:  

1. Any agreements required by 40 CFR 261.4(b)(11)(ii) 

shall be sent to the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency at the address shown Waste Identification Branch 

(5304), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1200 

Pennsylvania Ave., NW., Washington, DC 20460 and to 

the Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218.  

2. In 40 CFR 261.4(e)(3)(iii), the text "in the Region where 

the sample is collected" shall be deleted.  

3. In 40 CFR 261.4(f)(1), the term "Regional 

Administrator" shall mean the Regional Administrator of 

Region III of the United States Environmental Protection 

Agency or his designee.  

4. In 40 CFR 261.6(a)(2), recyclable materials shall be 

subject to the requirements of 9VAC20-60-270 and Part 

XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

5. Reserved. 

6. In 40 CFR 261.9 and wherever elsewhere in Title 40 of 

the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 
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universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 

the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 

universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 

following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 

listed here, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 

universal waste or waste subject to provisions of 40 CFR 

Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 

XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, in 

accordance with the terms and requirements described."  

7. In Subparts B and D of 40 CFR Part 261, the term 

"Administrator" shall mean the Administrator of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency, and the 

term "Director" shall not supplant "Administrator" 

throughout Subparts B and D.  

8. For the purpose of this chapter, any solid waste is a 

hazardous waste if it is defined to be hazardous waste 

under the laws or regulations of the state in which it first 

became a solid waste. 

9. In 40 CFR 261.6(c)(1) and 40 CFR 261.6(c)(2) mercury-

containing lamp recycling facilities must also comply with 

all applicable requirements of 9VAC20-60-264 B 34 and 

9VAC20-60-265 B 21. 

10. In Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 261, the term "EPA" shall 

have the meaning originally intended by the Code of 

Federal Regulations and not be supplanted by "Department 

of Environmental Quality."  

11. In 40 CFR 261.2(a), reference to 40 CFR 260.30, 

40 CFR 260.31, and 40 CFR 260.34 are replaced by 

analogous provisions of Part XIV (9VAC20-60-1370 et 

seq.) of this chapter. 

12. In 40 CFR 261.3(a)(2), reference to exclusion under 40 

CFR 260.20 and 40 CFR 260.22 are not incorporated by 

reference. 

13. In 40 CFR 261.21(f)(6)(i), the term "EPA" shall be 

retained and shall mean the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency. The term "EPA" shall not be 

supplanted with "Department of Environmental Quality" as 

instructed in 9VAC20-60-14 B 2. 

14. The United States Environmental Protection Agency's 

(EPA's) amendments to 40 CFR 261 by the Response to 

Vacatur of Certain Provisions of the Definition of Solid 

Waste Rule (83 FR 24664, May 30, 2018) shall not be 

included in the incorporation by reference of 40 CFR 261 

and are not part of this chapter, 9VAC20-60; therefore, the 

incorporation of 40 CFR 261 is modified as follows: 

a. Retain 40 CFR 261.4(a)(23) as it appears in EPA's 

Definition of Solid Waste rule (80 FR 1694, January 13, 

2015). 

b. Retain 40 CFR 261.4(a)(24) as it appears in EPA's 

Definition of Solid Waste rule (80 FR 1694, January 13, 

2015). 

c. Reserve 40 CFR 261.4(a)(25) as it appears in EPA's 

Definition of Solid Waste rule (80 FR 1694, January 13, 

2015).  

9VAC20-60-264. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 264 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 264 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

264 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

264 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. Sections 40 CFR 264.1(d), 40 CFR 264.1(f), 40 CFR 

264.149, 40 CFR 264.150, 40 CFR 264.301(l), and 

Appendix VI are not included in the incorporation of 

40 CFR Part 264 by reference and are not a part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

2. In 40 CFR 264.1(g)(11) and wherever elsewhere in Title 

40 of the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 

universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 

the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 

universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 

following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 

listed here, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 

universal waste or waste subject to provisions of 40 CFR 

Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 

XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, in 

accordance with the terms and requirements described."  

3. In 40 CFR 264.12(a), the term "Regional Administrator" 

shall mean the Regional Administrator of Region III of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 

designee.  

4. In 40 CFR 264.33, the following sentence shall be added 

to the end of the paragraph: "A record of tests or 

inspections will be maintained on a log at that facility or 

other reasonably accessible and convenient location."  

5. In addition to the notifications required by 40 CFR 

264.56(d)(2), notification shall be made to the on-scene 

coordinator, the National Response Center, and the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management, 

Emergency Operations Center. In the associated report 

filed under 40 CFR 264.56(i), the owner or operator shall 
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include such other information specifically requested by 

the director, which is reasonably necessary and relevant to 

the purpose of an operating record.  

6. In 40 CFR 264.93, "hazardous constituents" shall 

include constituents identified in 40 CFR Part 264 

Appendix IX in addition to those in 40 CFR Part 261 

Appendix VIII.  

7. The federal text at 40 CFR 264.94(a)(2) is not 

incorporated by reference. The following text shall be 

substituted for 40 CFR 264.94(a)(2): "For any of the 

constituents for which the USEPA has established a 

Maximum Contaminant Level (MCL) under the National 

Primary Drinking Water Regulation, 40 CFR Part 141 

(regulations under the Safe Drinking Water Act), the 

concentration must not exceed the value of the MCL; or."  

8. The owner or operator must submit the detailed, written 

closure cost estimate described in 40 CFR 264.142 upon 

the written request of the director.  

9. In 40 CFR 264.143(b)(1), 40 CFR 264.143(c)(1), 

40 CFR 264.145(b)(1), and 40 CFR 264.145(c)(1), any 

surety company issuing surety bonds to guarantee payment 

or performance must be licensed pursuant to Chapter 10 

(§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

10. In 40 CFR 264.143(b), 40 CFR 264.143(c), 40 CFR 

264.145(b), and 40 CFR 264.145(c), any owner or operator 

demonstrating financial assurance for closure or post-

closure care using a surety bond shall submit with the 

surety bond a copy of the deed book page documenting 

that the power of attorney of the attorney-in-fact executing 

the bond has been recorded pursuant to § 38.2-2416 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

11. Where in 40 CFR 264.143(c)(5) the phrase "final 

administrative determination pursuant to section 3008 of 

RCRA" appears, it shall be replaced with "final 

determination pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia."  

12. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.143(d)(8): "Following a final administrative 

determination pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia that the owner or 

operator has failed to perform final closure in accordance 

with the approved closure plan, the applicable regulations 

or other permit requirements when required to do so, the 

director may draw on the letter of credit."  

13. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.143(e)(1): "An owner or operator may satisfy the 

requirements of this section by obtaining closure insurance 

which conforms to the requirements of this paragraph and 

submitting a certificate of such insurance, along with a 

complete copy of the insurance policy, to the department. 

An owner or operator of a new facility must submit the 

certificate of insurance along with a complete copy of the 

insurance policy to the department at least 60 days before 

the date on which the hazardous waste is first received for 

treatment, storage or disposal. The insurance must be 

effective before this initial receipt of hazardous waste. At a 

minimum, the insurer must be licensed pursuant to Chapter 

10 (§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of 

Virginia."  

14. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.143(f)(3)(ii), 40 CFR 264.145(f)(3)(ii), and 40 CFR 

264.147(f)(3)(ii): "A copy of the owner's or operator's 

audited financial statements for the latest completed fiscal 

year; including a copy of the independent certified public 

accountant's report on examination of the owner's or 

operator's financial statements for the latest completed 

fiscal year; and"  

15. In addition to the other requirements in 40 CFR 

264.143(f)(3), 40 CFR 264.145(f)(3) and 40 CFR 

264.147(f)(3), an owner or operator must submit 

confirmation from the rating service that the owner or 

operator has a current rating for its most recent bond 

issuance of AAA, AA, A, or BBB as issued by Standard 

and Poor's or Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa as issued by Moody's if 

the owner or operator passes the financial test with a bond 

rating as provided in 40 CFR 264.143(f)(1)(ii)(A).  

16. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.143(h) and 40 CFR 264.145(h): "An owner or operator 

may use a financial assurance mechanism specified in this 

section to meet the requirements of this section for more 

than one facility in Virginia. Evidence of financial 

assurance submitted to the department must include a list 

showing, for each facility, the EPA Identification Number, 

name, address, and the amount of funds for closure or post-

closure assured by the mechanism. The amount of funds 

available through the mechanism must be no less than the 

sum of funds that would be available if a separate 

mechanism had been established and maintained for each 

facility. In directing funds available through the 

mechanism for closure or post-closure care of any of the 

facilities covered by the mechanism, the director may 

direct only the amount of funds designated for that facility, 

unless the owner or operator agrees to the use of additional 

funds available under the mechanism."  

17. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR 264.144, 

"the owner or operator must submit a detailed, written 

post-closure cost estimate upon the written request of the 

director."  

18. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.144(b): "During the active life of the facility and the 

post-closure period, the owner or operator must adjust the 

post-closure cost estimate for inflation within 60 days prior 

to the anniversary date of the establishment of the financial 

instruments used to comply with 40 CFR 264.145. For 
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owners or operators using the financial test or corporate 

guarantee, the post-closure cost estimate must be updated 

for inflation within 30 days after the close of the firm's 

fiscal year and before the submission of updated 

information to the department as specified in 40 CFR 

264.145(f)(5). The adjustment may be made by 

recalculating the post-closure cost estimate in current 

dollars or by using an inflation factor derived from the 

most recent Implicit Price Deflator for Gross National 

Product published by the U.S. Department of Commerce in 

its Survey of Current Business as specified in 40 CFR 

264.142(b)(1) and (2). The inflation factor is the result of 

dividing the latest published annual Deflator by the 

Deflator for the previous year.  

a. The first adjustment is made by multiplying the post-

closure cost estimate by the inflation factor. The result is 

the adjusted post-closure cost estimate.  

b. Subsequent adjustments are made by multiplying the 

latest adjusted post-closure cost estimate by the latest 

inflation factor."  

19. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.144(c): "During the active life of the facility and the 

post-closure period, the owner or operator must revise the 

post-closure cost estimate within 30 days after the director 

has approved the request to modify the post-closure plan, if 

the change in the post-closure plan increases the cost of 

post-closure care. The revised post-closure cost estimate 

must be adjusted for inflation as specified in 264.144(b)."  

20. Where in 40 CFR 264.145(c)(5) the phrase "final 

administrative determination pursuant to section 3008 of 

RCRA" appears, it shall be replaced with "final 

determination pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia."  

21. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.145(d)(9): "Following a final administrative 

determination pursuant to Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia that the owner or 

operator has failed to perform post-closure in accordance 

with the approved post-closure plan, the applicable 

regulations, or other permit requirements when required to 

do so, the director may draw on the letter of credit."  

22. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.145(e)(1): "An owner or operator may satisfy the 

requirements of this section by obtaining post-closure 

insurance which conforms to the requirements of this 

paragraph and submitting a certificate of such insurance to 

the department. An owner or operator of a new facility 

must submit the certificate of insurance along with a 

complete copy of the insurance policy to the department at 

least 60 days before the date on which the hazardous waste 

is first received for treatment, storage or disposal. The 

insurance must be effective before this initial receipt of 

hazardous waste. At a minimum, the insurer must be 

licensed pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia."  

23. In 40 CFR 264.147(a)(1)(ii), 40 CFR 264.147(b)(1)(ii), 

40 CFR 264.147(g)(2), and 40 CFR 264.147(i)(4), the term 

"Virginia" shall not be substituted for the term "State" or 

"States."  

24. In 40 CFR 264.191(a), the compliance date of January 

12, 1988, applies only for HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA 

tanks, the compliance date is November 2, 1997, instead of 

January 12, 1997.  

25. In 40 CFR 264.191(c), the reference to July 14, 1986, 

applies only to HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA tanks, the 

applicable date is November 2, 1987, instead of July 14, 

1986.  

26. In 40 CFR 264.193, the federal effective dates apply 

only to HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA tanks, the applicable 

date is November 2, 1997, instead of January 12, 1997.  

27. A copy of all reports made in accordance with 40 CFR 

264.196(d) shall be sent to the director and to the chief 

administrative officer of the local government of the 

jurisdiction in which the event occurs. The sentence in 

40 CFR 264.196(d)(1), "If the release has been reported 

pursuant to 40 CFR Part 302, that report will satisfy this 

requirement." is not incorporated by reference into these 

regulations and is not a part of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations.  

28. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

264.570(a): "The requirements of this subpart apply to 

owners and operators of facilities that use new or existing 

drip pads to convey wood drippage, precipitation and/or 

surface water run-off to an associated collection system. 

Existing HSWA drip pads are those constructed before 

December 6, 1990, and those for which the owner or 

operator has a design and has entered into a binding 

financial or other agreement for construction prior to 

December 6, 1990. Existing non-HSWA drip pads are 

those constructed before January 14, 1993, and those for 

which the owner or operator has a design and has entered 

into a binding financial or other agreements for 

construction prior to January 14, 1993. All other drip pads 

are new drip pads. The requirement at 40 CFR 

264.573(b)(3) to install a leak collection system applies 

only to those HSWA drip pads that are constructed after 

December 24, 1992, except for those constructed after 

December 24, 1992, for which the owner or operator has a 

design and has entered into a binding financial or other 

agreement for construction prior to December 24, 1992. 

For non-HSWA drip pads, the requirement at 40 CFR 

264.573(b)(3) to install a leak collection system applies 

only to those non-HSWA drip pads that are constructed 

after September 8, 1993, except for those constructed after 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2787 

September 8, 1993, for which the owner or operator has a 

design and has entered into a binding financial or other 

agreement for construction prior to September 8, 1993."  

29. In 40 CFR 264.1030(c), the reference to 40 CFR 

124.15 shall be replaced by a reference to 40 CFR 124.5.  

30. The underground injection of hazardous waste for 

treatment, storage or disposal shall be prohibited 

throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

31. In addition to the notices required in Subpart B and 

others parts of 40 CFR Part 264, the following notices are 

also required:  

a. The owner or operator of a facility that has arranged to 

receive hazardous waste from a foreign source (a source 

located outside of the United States of America) shall 

notify the department and administrator in writing at least 

four weeks in advance of the date the waste is expected 

to arrive at the facility. Notice of subsequent shipments 

of the same waste from the same foreign source is not 

required.  

b. The owner or operator of a facility that receives 

hazardous waste from an off-site source (except where 

the owner or operator of the facility is also the generator 

of this waste) shall inform the generator in writing that he 

has appropriate permits for, and will accept, the waste 

that the generator is shipping. The owner or operator 

shall keep a copy of this written notice as part of the 

operating record.  

c. Before transferring ownership or operation of a facility 

during its operating life, or of a disposal facility during 

the post-closure care period, the owner or operator shall 

notify the new owner or operator in writing of the 

requirements contained in this section and 9VAC20-60-

270. An owner or operator's failure to notify the new 

owner or operator of the requirements in this section and 

9VAC20-60-270 in no way relieves the new owner or 

operator of his obligation to comply with all applicable 

requirements.  

d. Any person responsible for the release of a hazardous 

substance from the facility that poses an immediate or 

imminent threat to public health and who is required by 

law to notify the National Response Center shall notify 

the department and the chief administrative officer of the 

local government of the jurisdiction in which the release 

occurs or their designees. In cases when the released 

hazardous substances are hazardous wastes or hazardous 

waste constituents additional requirements are prescribed 

by Subpart D of 40 CFR Part 264.  

32. In 40 CFR 264.71, the terms "EPA" and 

"Environmental Protection Agency" shall mean the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency, and the reference 

to "system" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency's national electronic manifest system. 

33. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 

requirements of 40 CFR 264.71(j) are Subpart FF of 

40 CFR Part 264 shall not be incorporated into this 

chapter. 

34. Requirements for mercury-containing lamp recycling 

facilities. The following requirements apply to all facilities 

that recover or reclaim mercury from lamps. 

a. All owners and operators of mercury-containing lamp 

recycling facilities shall: 

(1) Have established markets for the utilization of 

reclaimed materials and be able to identify these markets 

to the department; 

(2) Only introduce into the processing equipment lamps 

or devices for which the equipment was specifically 

designed to process and operate and maintain processing 

equipment consistent with the equipment manufacturer's 

specifications; and 

(3) Not speculatively accumulate the materials.  

b. If a mercury-containing lamp recycling facility's 

processed materials are to be delivered to a facility other 

than a mercury reclamation facility, the owner or 

operator shall: 

(1) Demonstrate proper equipment operation and 

efficiency by sampling and analytical testing of the 

processed materials. The testing shall ensure that such 

processed materials (i) have less than three parts per 

million of "average mercury" during each consecutive 

12-week time period of operations ("average mercury" 

shall be calculated pursuant to subdivision 34 b (3) of 

this subsection); (ii) have less than five parts per million 

of total mercury as reported in the "weekly composite 

sample of process operations" ("weekly composite 

sample of process operations" shall be calculated 

pursuant to subdivision 34 b (3) of this subsection); (iii) 

are not a hazardous waste; and (iv) comply with 40 CFR 

Part 268, if applicable. 

(2) Retest, reprocess, or deliver to a mercury reclamation 

facility processed materials that are in excess of the 

allowable levels of mercury specified in subdivision 34 b 

(1) of this subsection. 

(3) Sample and perform analytical testing of the 

processed material for total mercury as follows: 

(a) Facility operators shall take daily physical samples of 

the mercury-containing materials at the point at which 

they exit the processing equipment. These samples shall 

be representative of the materials processed during that 

day. 
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(b) At the beginning of each week, the prior week's daily 

samples shall be consolidated into one weekly sample, 

which shall be submitted for chemical analysis of total 

mercury content using an approved EPA methodology. 

At least three separate daily samples shall be taken in 

order to obtain a weekly sample. When a facility is not 

operating at least three days during a week, that week 

will be dropped out of the 12-week rolling average as 

calculated under subdivision 34 b (3) (c) of this 

subsection. However, all daily samples that are in a week 

that has been dropped out shall be counted towards the 

very next weekly sample that is included in a 12-week 

rolling average. The result of this analysis shall be 

considered the "weekly composite sample of process 

operations." 

(c) The "average mercury" value calculation shall be the 

rolling average of weekly composite sample results from 

samples taken during the most recent 12-week time 

period with each new weekly composite sample result 

replacing the oldest sample result that was used in the 

previous 12-week period. 

c. Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities shall 

ensure that the separated materials that are generated 

from their operations are suitable and safe for their 

intended end use and shall bear the burden of 

responsibility for the safety of these materials sold or 

delivered from the operations. Facilities shall notify in 

writing receiving sources, other than mercury 

reclamation facilities, of the amount and type of 

hazardous substances present in the processed materials 

as demonstrated by laboratory analysis. 

d. Operating requirements. Mercury-containing lamp 

recycling facilities shall be operated in accordance with 

the following requirements:  

(1) Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities shall 

control mercury emissions through the use of a single air 

handling system with redundant mercury controls and 

comply with the following: 

(a) The owner or operator shall operate, monitor, and 

maintain an air handling system with redundant air 

pollution control equipment in order to reduce the 

mercury content of the air collected during the volume 

reduction and mercury recovery and reclamation 

processes. 

(b) Redundant air pollution control equipment shall 

incorporate at least two carbon filters or equivalent 

technology arranged in a series so that the air passes 

through both filters before being released. In the event of 

a single filter failure, each filter shall be designed to 

ensure compliance with the risk-based protectiveness 

standards for mercury vapor provided in subdivision 34 e 

of this subsection. 

(c) A sample of air shall be collected after the first 

carbon filter (or equivalent technology) and upstream of 

the second once each operating day while mercury-

containing lamps or devices are being processed. The 

mercury content of the sample shall be determined for 

comparison with the risk-based protectiveness standards 

provided in subdivision 34 e of this subsection. 

(d) The owner or operator shall operate, monitor, and 

maintain the air pollution control equipment in such a 

manner as not to exceed the risk-based protectiveness 

standards under subdivision 34 e of this subsection for 

mercury vapor downstream of the first carbon filter (or 

equivalent technology) and upstream of the second 

carbon filter. 

(2) The area in which the processing equipment is 

located shall be fully enclosed and kept under negative 

pressure while processing mercury-containing lamps or 

devices. 

e. Testing for mercury releases from lamp crushing units 

shall be performed using a mercury vapor analyzer that has 

been approved for the application by the U.S. Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration or the Virginia 

Department of Labor and Industry or a comparable device 

that has been calibrated by the manufacturer or laboratory 

providing the equipment. Mercury vapor monitors used for 

testing must be capable of detecting mercury at the 

applicable concentrations provided below or lower in air and 

must be equipped with a data recording device to provide a 

record of measurements taken. Mercury monitoring data 

shall be documented and available for inspection in 

accordance with subdivision 34 g of this subsection. The 

acute exposure protectiveness standard is 300 µg/m3 for a 

10-minute exposure with the understanding that the acute 

exposure protectiveness standard is considered a ceiling 

value and at no time during bulb crushing operation will the 

air concentrations of mercury exceed 300 µg/m3. The 

following are risk-based protectiveness standards at a 

distance of five feet from the bulb crushing unit: 

Monthly Bulb 

Crushing 

Duration (X 

Hours/Month)* 

Chronic 

Exposure Air 

Emission 

Limit (µg/m3) 

Acute 

Exposure Air 

Emission Limit 

(µg/m3) 

X ≥ 32 1.314skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

8 < X < 32 6.317 skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

X ≤ 8 27.375 skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

*Monthly crushing duration is determined based on the 

maximum number of hours that bulb crushing occurred 

in any one month over the last 12-month period. 
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f. Closure. Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities 

must prepare and maintain a closure plan conforming to 

the requirements of 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart G as 

adopted by reference in this section. Financial assurance 

shall be provided to the department in accordance with 

40 CFR Part 264, Subpart H as adopted by reference in 

this section.  

g. Recordkeeping requirements. The owner or operator of 

a mercury-containing lamp recycling facility shall 

maintain records of monitoring information that (i) 

specify the date, place, and time of measurement; (ii) 

provide the methodology used; and (iii) list the analytical 

results. The records maintained shall include all 

calibration and maintenance records of monitoring 

equipment. The owner or operator shall retain records of 

all monitoring data and supporting information available 

for department inspection for a period of at least three 

years from the date of collection. 

35. The following additional information is required from 

owners or operators of facilities that store or treat 

hazardous waste in waste piles if an exemption is sought to 

Subpart F of 40 CFR Part 264 and 40 CFR 264.251 as 

provided in 40 CFR 264.250(c) and 40 CFR 264.90(b)(2):  

a. An explanation of how the standards of 40 CFR 

264.250(c) will be complied with; and  

b. Detailed plans and an engineering report describing 

how the requirements of 40 CFR 264.90(b)(2) will be 

met.  

9VAC20-60-265. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 265 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 265 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are parts of 40 CFR Part 

265 are also hereby incorporated as parts of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

265 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications, and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. Sections 40 CFR 265.1(c)(4), 40 CFR 265.149 and 

40 CFR 265.150 and Subpart R of 40 CFR Part 265 are not 

included in the incorporation of 40 CFR Part 265 by 

reference and are not a part of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations.  

2. In 40 CFR 265.1(c)(14) and wherever elsewhere in Title 

40 of the Code of Federal Regulations there is a listing of 

universal wastes or a listing of hazardous wastes that are 

the subject of provisions set out in 40 CFR Part 273 as 

universal wastes, it shall be amended by addition of the 

following sentence: "In addition to the hazardous wastes 

listed here, the term "universal waste" and all lists of 

universal waste or waste subject to provision of 40 CFR 

Part 273 shall include those hazardous wastes listed in Part 

XVI (9VAC20-60-1495 et seq.) of the Virginia Hazardous 

Waste Management Regulations as universal wastes, in 

accordance with the terms and requirements described."  

3. A copy of all reports and notices made in accordance 

with 40 CFR 265.12 shall be sent to the department, the 

administrator and the chief administrative officer of the 

local government of the jurisdiction in which the event 

occurs.  

4. In 40 CFR 265.12(a), the term "Regional Administrator" 

shall mean the Regional Administrator of Region III of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency or his 

designee.  

5. In 40 CFR 265.33, the following sentence shall be added 

to the end of the paragraph: "A record of tests or 

inspections will be maintained on a log at that facility or 

other reasonably accessible and convenient location."  

6. In addition to the notifications required by 40 CFR 

265.56(d)(2), notification shall be made to the on-scene 

coordinator, the National Response Center, and the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management, 

Emergency Operations Center. In the associated report 

filed under 40 CFR 265.56(i), the owner or operator shall 

include such other information specifically requested by 

the director, which is reasonably necessary and relevant to 

the purpose of an operating record.  

7. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR 265.91, a log 

shall be made of each ground water groundwater 

monitoring well describing the soils or rock encountered, 

the permeability of formations, and the cation exchange 

capacity of soils encountered. A copy of the logs with 

appropriate maps shall be sent to the department.  

8. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

265.143(g) and 40 CFR 265.145(g): "An owner or operator 

may use a financial assurance mechanism specified in this 

section to meet the requirements of this section for more 

than one facility in Virginia. Evidence of financial 

assurance submitted to the department must include a list 

showing, for each facility, the EPA Identification Number, 

name, address, and the amount of funds for closure or post-

closure assured by the mechanism. The amount of funds 

available through the mechanism must be no less than the 
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sum of funds that would be available if a separate 

mechanism had been established and maintained for each 

facility. In directing funds available through the 

mechanism for closure or post-closure care of any of the 

facilities covered by the mechanism, the director may 

direct only the amount of funds designated for that facility, 

unless the owner or operator agrees to the use of additional 

funds available under the mechanism.  

9. In 40 CFR 265.147(a)(1)(ii), 40 CFR 265.147(g)(2), and 

40 CFR 265.147(i)(4), the term "Virginia" shall not be 

substituted for the term "State" or "States."  

10. In 40 CFR 265.191(a), the compliance date of January 

12, 1988, applies only for HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA 

tanks, the compliance date is November 2, 1986.  

11. In 40 CFR 265.191(c), the reference to July 14, 1986, 

applies only to HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA tanks, the 

applicable date is November 2, 1987.  

12. In 40 CFR 265.193, the federal effective dates apply 

only to HSWA tanks. For non-HSWA tanks, the applicable 

date of January 12, 1987, is replaced with November 2, 

1997.  

13. The following text shall be substituted for 40 CFR 

265.440(a): "The requirements of this subpart apply to 

owners and operators of facilities that use new or existing 

drip pads to convey wood drippage, precipitation and/or 

surface water run-off to an associated collection system. 

Existing HSWA drip pads are those constructed before 

December 6, 1990, and those for which the owner or 

operator has a design and has entered into a binding 

financial or other agreement for construction prior to 

December 6, 1990. Existing non-HSWA drip pads are 

those constructed before January 14, 1993, and those for 

which the owner or operator has a design and has entered 

into a binding financial or other agreement for construction 

prior to January 14, 1993. All other drip pads are new drip 

pads. The requirement at 40 CFR 265.443(b)(3) to install a 

leak collection system applies only to those HSWA drip 

pads that are constructed after December 24, 1992, except 

for those constructed after December 24, 1992, for which 

the owner or operator has a design and has entered into a 

binding financial or other agreement for construction prior 

to December 24, 1992. For non-HSWA drip pads, the 

requirement at 40 CFR 264.573(b)(3) to install a leak 

collection system applies only to those non-HSWA drip 

pads that are constructed after September 8, 1993, except 

for those constructed after September 8, 1993, for which 

the owner or operator has a design and has entered into a 

binding financial or other agreement for construction prior 

to September 8, 1993."  

14. In 40 CFR 265.1083(c)(4)(ii), the second occurrence of 

the term "EPA" shall mean the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency.  

15. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR 265.310, the 

owner or operator shall consider at least the following 

factors in addressing the closure and post-closure care 

objectives of this part:  

a. Type and amount of hazardous waste and hazardous 

waste constituents in the landfill;  

b. The mobility and the expected rate of migration of the 

hazardous waste and hazardous waste constituents;  

c. Site location, topography, and surrounding land use, 

with respect to the potential effects of pollutant 

migration;  

d. Climate, including amount, frequency and pH of 

precipitation;  

e. Characteristics of the cover, including material, final 

surface contours, thickness, porosity and permeability, 

slope, length of run of slope, and type of vegetation on 

the cover; and  

f. Geological and soil profiles and surface and subsurface 

hydrology of the site.  

16. Additionally, during the post-closure care period, the 

owner or operator of a hazardous waste landfill shall 

comply with the requirements of 40 CFR 265.116 and the 

following items:  

a. Maintain the function and integrity of the final cover 

as specified in the approved closure plan;  

b. Maintain and monitor the leachate collection, removal, 

and treatment system, if present, to prevent excess 

accumulation of the leachate in the system;  

c. Maintain and monitor the landfill gas collection and 

control system, if present, to control the vertical and 

horizontal escape of gases;  

d. Protect and maintain, if present, surveyed benchmarks; 

and  

e. Restrict access to the landfill as appropriate for its 

post-closure use.  

17. The underground injection of hazardous waste for 

treatment, storage or disposal shall be prohibited 

throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

18. Regulated units of the facility are those units used for 

storage treatment or disposal of hazardous waste in surface 

impoundments, waste piles, land treatment units, or 

landfills that received hazardous waste after July 26, 1982. 

In addition to the requirements of Subpart G of 40 CFR 

Part 265, owners or operators of regulated units who 

manage hazardous wastes in regulated units shall comply 

with the closure and post-closure requirements contained 

in Subpart G of 40 CFR Part 264, Subpart H of 40 CFR 

Part 264, and Subpart K of 40 CFR Part 264 through 
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Subpart N of 40 CFR Part 264, as applicable, and shall 

comply with the requirements in Subpart F of 40 CFR Part 

264 during any post-closure care period and for the 

extended ground water monitoring period, rather than the 

equivalent requirements contained in 40 CFR Part 265. 

The following provisions shall also apply:  

a. For owners or operators of surface impoundments or 

waste piles included above who intend to remove all 

hazardous wastes at closure in accordance with 40 CFR 

264.228(a)(1) or 40 CFR 264.258(a), as applicable, 

submittal of contingent closure and contingent post-

closure plans is not required. However, if the facility is 

subsequently required to close as a landfill in accordance 

with Subpart N of 40 CFR Part 264, a modified closure 

plan shall be submitted no more than 30 days after such 

determination. These plans will be processed as closure 

plan amendments. For such facilities, the corresponding 

post-closure plan shall be submitted within 90 days of the 

determination that the unit shall be closed as a landfill.  

b. A permit application as required under 9VAC20-60-

270 to address the post-closure care requirements of 

40 CFR 264.117 and for ground water groundwater 

monitoring requirements of 40 CFR 264.98, 40 CFR 

264.99, or 40 CFR 264.100, as applicable, shall be 

submitted for all regulated units that fail to satisfy the 

requirements of closure by removal or decontamination 

in 40 CFR 264.228(a)(1), 40 CFR 264.258(a), or 40 CFR 

264.280(d) and 40 CFR 264.280(e), as applicable. The 

permit application shall be submitted at the same time as 

the closure plan for those units closing with wastes in 

place and six months following the determination that 

closure by removal or decontamination is unachievable 

for those units attempting such closure. The permit 

application shall address the post-closure care 

maintenance of both the final cover and the ground water 

groundwater monitoring wells as well as the 

implementation of the applicable ground water 

groundwater monitoring program whenever 

contaminated soils, subsoils, liners, etc., are left in place. 

When all contaminated soils, subsoils, liners, etc., have 

been removed yet ground water groundwater 

contamination remains, the permit application shall 

address the post-closure care maintenance of the ground 

water monitoring wells as well as the implementation of 

the applicable ground water monitoring program.  

c. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR 

264.112(d)(2)(i) for requesting an extension to the one-

year limit, the owner or operator shall demonstrate that 

he will continue to take all steps to prevent threats to 

human health and the environment.  

d. In addition to the requirements of 40 CFR 264.119(c), 

the owner or operator shall also request a modification to 

the post-closure permit if he wishes to remove 

contaminated structures and equipment.  

19. In 40 CFR 265.71, the terms "EPA" and 

"Environmental Protection Agency" shall mean the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency, and the reference 

to "system" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency's national electronic manifest system. 

20. Regardless of the provisions of 9VAC20-60-18, the 

requirements of 40 CFR 265.71(j) are Subpart FF of 

40 CFR Part 265 shall not be incorporated into this 

chapter. 

21. Requirements for mercury-containing lamp recycling 

facilities. The following requirements apply to all facilities 

that recover or reclaim mercury from lamps:  

a. All owners and operators of mercury-containing lamp 

recycling facilities shall: 

(1) Have established markets for the utilization of 

reclaimed materials and be able to identify these markets 

to the department; 

(2) Only introduce into the processing equipment lamps 

or devices for which the equipment was specifically 

designed to process and operate and maintain processing 

equipment consistent with the equipment manufacturer's 

specifications; and 

(3) Not speculatively accumulate the materials.  

b. If a mercury-containing lamp recycling facility's 

processed materials are to be delivered to a facility other 

than a mercury reclamation facility, the owner or 

operator shall:  

(1) Demonstrate proper equipment operation and 

efficiency by sampling and analytical testing of the 

processed materials. The testing shall ensure that such 

processed materials (i) have less than three parts per 

million of "average mercury" during each consecutive 

12-week time period of operations ("average mercury" 

shall be calculated pursuant to subdivision 21 b (3) of 

this subsection); (ii) have less than five parts per million 

of total mercury as reported in the "weekly composite 

sample of process operations" ("weekly composite 

sample of process operations" shall be calculated 

pursuant to subdivision 21 b (3) of this subsection); (iii) 

are not a hazardous waste; and (iv) comply with 40 CFR 

Part 268, if applicable. 

(2) Retest, reprocess, or deliver to a mercury reclamation 

facility processed materials that are in excess of the 

allowable levels of mercury specified in subdivision 21 b 

(1) of this subsection. 

(3) Sample and perform analytical testing of the 

processed material for total mercury as follows: 
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(a) Facility operators shall take daily physical samples of 

the mercury-containing materials at the point at which 

they exit the processing equipment. These samples shall 

be representative of the materials processed during that 

day. 

(b) At the beginning of each week, the prior week's daily 

samples shall be consolidated into one weekly sample 

that shall be submitted for chemical analysis of total 

mercury content using an approved EPA methodology. 

At least three separate daily samples shall be taken in 

order to obtain a weekly sample. When a facility is not 

operating at least three days during a week, that week 

will be dropped out of the 12-week rolling average as 

calculated under subdivision 21 b (3) (c) of this 

subsection. However, all daily samples that are in a week 

that has been dropped out shall be counted towards the 

very next weekly sample that is included in a 12-week 

rolling average. The result of this analysis shall be 

considered the "weekly composite sample of process 

operations." 

(c) The "average mercury" value calculation shall be the 

rolling average of weekly composite sample results from 

samples taken during the most recent 12-week time 

period with each new weekly composite sample result 

replacing the oldest sample result that was used in the 

previous 12-week period. 

c. Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities shall 

ensure that the separated materials that are generated 

from their operations are suitable and safe for their 

intended end use and shall bear the burden of 

responsibility for the safety of these materials sold or 

delivered from the operations. Facilities shall notify in 

writing receiving sources, other than mercury 

reclamation facilities, of the amount and type of any 

hazardous substances present in the processed materials 

as demonstrated by laboratory analysis. 

d. Operating requirements. Mercury-containing lamp 

recycling facilities shall be operated in accordance with 

the following requirements:  

(1) Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities shall 

control mercury emissions through the use of a single air 

handling system with redundant mercury controls and 

comply with the following: 

(a) The owner or operator shall operate, monitor, and 

maintain an air handling system with redundant air 

pollution control equipment in order to reduce the 

mercury content of the air collected during the volume 

reduction and mercury recovery and reclamation 

processes. 

(b) Redundant air pollution control equipment shall 

incorporate at least two carbon filters or equivalent 

technology arranged in a series so that the air passes 

through both filters before being released. In the event of 

a single filter failure, each filter shall be designed to 

ensure compliance with the risk-based protectiveness 

standards for mercury vapor provided in subdivision 21 e 

of this subsection. 

(c) A sample of air shall be collected after the first 

carbon filter (or equivalent technology) and upstream of 

the second once each operating day while mercury-

containing lamps or devices are being processed. The 

mercury content of the sample shall be determined for 

comparison with the risk-based protectiveness standards 

provided in subdivision 21 e of this subsection. 

(d) The owner or operator shall operate, monitor, and 

maintain the air pollution control equipment in such a 

manner as not to exceed the risk-based protectiveness 

standards under subdivision 21 e of this subsection for 

mercury vapor downstream of the first carbon filter (or 

equivalent technology) and upstream of the second 

carbon filter.  

(2) The area in which the processing equipment is 

located shall be fully enclosed and kept under negative 

pressure while processing mercury-containing lamps or 

devices. 

e. Testing for mercury releases from lamp crushing units 

shall be performed using a mercury vapor analyzer that 

has been approved for the application by the U.S. 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration or the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry or a 

comparable device that has been calibrated by the 

manufacturer or laboratory providing the equipment. 

Mercury vapor monitors used for testing must be capable 

of detecting mercury at the applicable concentrations 

provided below in this subdivision or lower in air and 

must be equipped with a data recording device to provide 

a record of measurements taken. Mercury monitoring 

data shall be documented and available for inspection in 

accordance with subdivision 21 g of this subsection. The 

acute exposure protectiveness standard is 300 µg/m3 for a 

10-minute exposure with the understanding that the acute 

exposure protectiveness standard is considered a ceiling 

value and at no time during bulb crushing operation will 

the air concentrations of mercury exceed 300 µg/m3. The 

following are risk-based protectiveness standards at a 

distance of five feet from the bulb crushing unit: 

Monthly Bulb 

Crushing 

Duration (X 

Hours/Month)* 

Chronic 

Exposure 

Air Emission 

Limit 

(µg/m3) 

Acute 

Exposure Air 

Emission Limit 

(µg/m3)  

X ≥ 32 1.314skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 
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8 < X < 32 6.317 skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

X ≤ 8 27.375 skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

*Monthly crushing duration is determined based on 

the maximum number of hours that bulb crushing 

occurred in any one month over the last 12-month 

period. 

f. Closure. Mercury-containing lamp recycling facilities 

must prepare and maintain a closure plan conforming to 

the requirements of 40 CFR Part 265, Subpart G as 

adopted by reference in this section. Financial assurance 

shall be provided to the department in accordance with 

40 CFR Part 265, Subpart H as adopted by reference in 

this section.  

g. Recordkeeping requirements. The owner or operator of 

a mercury-containing lamp recycling facility shall 

maintain records of monitoring information that (i) 

specify the date, place, and time of measurement; (ii) 

provide the methodology used; and (iii) list the analytical 

results. The records maintained shall include all 

calibration and maintenance records of monitoring 

equipment. The owner or operator shall retain records of 

all monitoring data and supporting information available 

for department inspection for a period of at least three 

years from the date of collection. 

22. In 40 CFR 265.12, the term "EPA" shall mean the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency.  

9VAC20-60-266. Adoption of 40 CFR Part 266 by 

reference.  

A. Except as otherwise provided, the regulations of the 

United States Environmental Protection Agency set forth in 

40 CFR Part 266 are hereby incorporated as part of the 

Virginia Hazardous Waste Management Regulations. Except 

as otherwise provided, all material definitions, reference 

materials and other ancillaries that are a part of 40 CFR Part 

266 are also hereby incorporated as part of the Virginia 

Hazardous Waste Management Regulations.  

B. In all locations in these regulations where 40 CFR Part 

266 is incorporated by reference, the following additions, 

modifications and exceptions shall amend the incorporated 

text for the purpose of its incorporation into these regulations:  

1. In addition to the requirements of Subpart C of 40 CFR 

Part 266, those who generate or transport recyclable 

materials or those who own or operate facilities that use or 

store recyclable materials are also subject to applicable 

requirements of Parts IV (9VAC20-60-305 et seq.), VII 

(9VAC20-60-420 et seq.), and XII (9VAC20-60-1260 et 

seq.) of these regulations if the materials are used in a 

manner constituting disposal.  

2. In addition to the requirements of Subpart C of 40 CFR 

Part 266, those who generate or transport recyclable 

materials or those who own or operate facilities that use or 

store recyclable materials are also subject to applicable 

requirements of Parts IV, VII and XII of these regulations 

if the recyclable materials are for precious metals recovery.  

3. In addition to the requirements of Subpart G of 40 CFR 

Part 266, those who store lead-acid batteries subject to 40 

CFR 266.80(b) are also subject to the requirements of Parts 

IV, VII and XII of these regulations. 

4. In 40 CFR Part 266, references to 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 180 shall be as 49 CFR Parts 171 through 180 are 

incorporated by reference in 9VAC20-110-110. 

5. In 40 CFR 266.506(b)(3)(i), reference to (i) 40 CFR Part 

62, Subpart FFF shall be replaced by 40 CFR Part 62, 

Subpart VV, which incorporates Article 54 (9VAC5-40-

7950 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40; and (ii) 40 CFR Part 60, 

Subpart Eb shall be as it is incorporated by reference in 

Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of 9VAC5-50. 

6. In 40 CFR 266.506(b)(3)(ii), reference to (i) 40 CFR 

Part 62, Subpart JJJ shall be replaced by 40 CFR Part 62, 

Subpart VV, which incorporates Article 46 (9VAC5-40-

6550 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40; and (ii) 40 CFR Part 60, 

Subpart AAAA shall be as it is incorporated by reference 

in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of 9VAC5-50. 

7. In 40 CFR 266.506(b)(3)(iii), reference to (i) 40 CFR 

Part 62, Subpart HHH is not applicable in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia as there are no affected 

facilities and a negative declaration was made in 40 CFR 

Part 62, Subpart VV; and (ii) 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ec 

shall be as Subpart Ec is incorporated by reference in 

Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of 9VAC5-50. 

8. In 40 CFR 266.506(b)(3)(iv), reference to 40 CFR Part 

62, Subpart III shall be replaced by 40 CFR Part 62, 

Subpart VV, which incorporates Article 45 (9VAC5-40-

6250 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40; and (ii) 40 CFR Part 60, 

Subpart CCCC shall be as Subpart CCCC is incorporated 

by reference in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-50. 

9. In 40 CFR 266.506(b)(3)(v), reference to 40 CFR Part 

63, Subpart EEE shall be as Subpart EEE is incorporated 

by reference in Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et seq.) of 

9VAC5-60. 

9VAC20-60-328. EPA identification number.  

A. A generator shall not treat, store, dispose of, transport, or 

offer for transportation hazardous waste without having 

received an EPA identification number from the administrator 

or the department.  

B. A generator who has not received an EPA identification 

number may obtain one by applying to the department using 
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EPA Form 8700-12. Upon receiving a request, the department 

will assign an EPA identification number to the generator.  

C. A generator shall not offer his hazardous waste to 

transporters or to facilities that have not received an EPA 

identification number.  

D. Provisional identification number. If an emergency or 

other unusual incident occurs which causes a necessity for the 

rapid transport of a hazardous waste to an authorized 

hazardous waste management facility, the generator involved 

in such a circumstance can telephone the Department of 

Environmental Quality (804-698-4000) and obtain a 

provisional identification number. Applicants receiving such 

a number will be mailed a blank EPA Form 8700-12 that 

shall be completed and returned to the Department of 

Environmental Quality regional office within 10 calendar 

days. (Note: The department's website, 

http://www.deq.state.va.us http://www.deq.virginia.gov, or 

the receptionist at 804-698-4000, will provide information on 

how to contact the appropriate regional office.)  

9VAC20-60-1390. Changes in classifications as a solid 

waste.  

A. Variances.  

1. Applicability.  

a. A person who recycles waste that is managed entirely 

within the Commonwealth may petition the director to 

exclude the waste at a particular site from the 

classification as the solid waste (Parts I (9VAC20-60-12 

et seq.) and III (9VAC20-60-124 et seq.) of this chapter). 

The conditions under which a petition for a variance will 

be accepted are shown in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. The wastes excluded under such petitions 

may still, however, remain classified as a solid waste for 

the purposes of other regulations issued by the Virginia 

Waste Management Board or other agencies of the 

Commonwealth.  

b. A person who generates wastes at a generating site in 

Virginia and whose waste is subject to federal 

jurisdiction (e.g., the waste is transported across state 

boundaries) shall first obtain a favorable decision from 

the administrator in accordance with Subpart C, 40 CFR 

Part 260, before his waste may be considered for a 

variance by the director.  

c. A person who recycles materials from a generating site 

outside the Commonwealth and who causes them to be 

brought into the Commonwealth for recycling shall first 

obtain a favorable decision from the administrator in 

accordance with Subpart C, 40 CFR Part 260, before the 

waste may be considered for a variance by the director.  

d. A person who received a favorable decision from the 

administrator in the response to a petition for variance or 

nonwaste determination or a person whose wastes were 

delisted as a result of a successful petition to the 

administrator shall provide a notification to the 

department containing the following information: (i) the 

petitioner's name and address and (ii) a copy of the 

administrator's decision.  

2. Conditions for a variance. In accordance with the 

standards and criteria in subsection B of this section and 

the procedures in 9VAC20-60-1420 B, the director may 

determine on a case-by-case basis that the following 

recycled materials are not solid wastes:  

a. Materials that are accumulated speculatively without 

sufficient amounts being recycled (as defined in Part I).  

b. Materials that are reclaimed and then reused within the 

original primary production process in which they were 

generated.  

c. Materials that have been reclaimed but must be 

reclaimed further before the materials are completely 

recovered.  

d. Hazardous secondary materials that are reclaimed in a 

continuous industrial process. 

e. Hazardous secondary materials that are 

indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 

intermediate. 

f. Hazardous secondary materials that are transferred for 

reclamation under 40 CFR 261.4(a)(24) and are managed 

at a verified reclamation facility or intermediate facility 

where the management of the hazardous secondary 

materials is not addressed under an a RCRA Part B 

permit or interim status standards. 

B. Standards and criteria for variances.  

1. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those materials that are 

accumulated speculatively without sufficient amounts 

being recycled if the applicant demonstrates that sufficient 

amounts of the material will be recycled or transferred for 

recycling in the following year. If a variance is granted, it 

is valid only for the following year, but can be renewed on 

an annual basis by filing a new application. The director's 

decision will be based on the following criteria:  

a. The manner in which the material is expected to be 

recycled, and when the material is expected to be 

recycled, and whether this expected disposition is likely 

to occur (for example, because of past practice, market 

factors, the nature of the material, or contractual 

arrangement for recycling);  

b. The reason that the applicant has accumulated the 

material for one or more years without recycling 75% of 

the volume accumulated at the beginning of the year;  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/


Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2795 

c. The quantity of material already accumulated and the 

quantity expected to be generated and accumulated 

before the material is recycled;  

d. The extent to which the material is handled to 

minimize loss; and  

e. Other relevant factors.  

2. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those materials that are 

reclaimed and then reused as feedstock within the original 

production process in which the materials were generated 

if the reclamation operation is an essential part of the 

production process. This determination will be based on 

the following criteria:  

a. How economically viable the production process 

would be if it were to use virgin materials, rather than 

reclaimed materials;  

b. The prevalence of the practice on an industry-wide 

basis;  

c. The extent to which the material is handled before 

reclamation to minimize loss;  

d. The time periods between generating the material and 

its reclamation, and between reclamation and return to 

the original primary production process;  

e. The location of the reclamation operation in relation to 

the production process;  

f. Whether the reclaimed material is used for the purpose 

for which it was originally produced when it is returned 

to the original process, and whether it is returned to the 

process in substantially its original form;  

g. Whether the person who generates the material also 

reclaims it; and  

h. Other relevant factors.  

3. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those hazardous secondary 

materials that have been partially reclaimed but must be 

reclaimed further before recovery is completed if the 

partial reclamation has produced a commodity-like 

material. A determination that a partially reclaimed 

material for which the variance is sought is commodity-

like will be based on whether the hazardous secondary 

material is legitimately recycled as specified in 40 CFR 

260.43 and on whether all of the following decision criteria 

are satisfied: 

a. Whether the degree of partial reclamation the material 

has undergone is substantial as demonstrated by using a 

partial reclamation process other than the process that 

generated the hazardous waste; 

b. Whether the partially reclaimed material has sufficient 

economic value that it will be purchased for further 

reclamation; 

c. Whether the partially reclaimed material is a viable 

substitute for a product or intermediate produced from 

virgin or raw materials that is used in subsequent 

production steps;  

d. Whether there is a market for the partially reclaimed 

material as demonstrated by known customer or 

customers who are further reclaiming the material (e.g., 

records of sales or contracts and evidence of subsequent 

use, such as bills of lading); and 

e. Whether the partially reclaimed material is handled to 

minimize loss. 

4. The director may grant requests for a variance from 

classifying as a solid waste those hazardous secondary 

materials that are transferred for reclamation under 40 CFR 

261.4(a)(24) and are managed at a verified reclamation 

facility or intermediate facility where the management of 

the hazardous secondary materials is not addressed under a 

RCRA Part B permit or interim status standards. The 

director's decision will be based on the following criteria: 

a. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

demonstrate that the reclamation process for the 

hazardous secondary materials is legitimate pursuant to 

40 CFR 260.43; 

b. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

satisfy the financial assurance condition in 40 CFR 

261.4(a)(24)(vi)(F); 

c. The reclamation facility or intermediate facility must 

not be subject to a formal enforcement action in the 

previous three years and not be classified as a significant 

noncomplier under RCRA Subtitle C, or must provide 

credible evidence that the facility will manage the 

hazardous secondary materials properly. Credible 

evidence may include a demonstration that the facility 

has taken remedial steps to address the violations and 

prevent future violations, or that the violations are not 

relevant to the proper management of the hazardous 

secondary materials; 

d. The intermediate or reclamation facility must have the 

equipment and trained personnel needed to safely 

manage the hazardous secondary material and must meet 

emergency preparedness and response requirements 

under 40 CFR Part 261 Subpart M;  

e. If residuals are generated from the reclamation of the 

excluded hazardous secondary materials, the reclamation 

facility must have the permits required (if any) to manage 

the residuals, have a contract with an appropriately 

permitted facility to dispose of the residuals, or present 

credible evidence that the residuals will be managed in a 
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manner that is protective of human health and the 

environment; and 

f. The intermediate or reclamation facility must address 

the potential for risk to proximate populations from 

unpermitted releases of the hazardous secondary material 

to the environment (i.e., releases that are not covered by 

a permit, such as a permit to discharge to water or air), 

which may include, but are not limited to, potential 

releases through surface transport by precipitation runoff, 

releases to soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, 

fugitive air emissions, and catastrophic unit failures, and 

must include consideration of potential cumulative risks 

from other nearby potential stressors. 

5. An applicant may apply to the administrator for a formal 

determination that a hazardous secondary material is not 

discarded and therefore not a solid waste (i.e., nonwaste 

determination). The determinations will be based on the 

criteria contained in subdivision B 6 or B 7 of this section, 

as applicable. If an application is denied, the hazardous 

secondary material might still be eligible for a solid waste 

variance or exclusion (e.g., one of the solid waste variances 

under this section). Determinations may also be granted by 

the director if the state is either authorized for this 

provision or if the following conditions are met: 

a. The director determines the hazardous secondary 

material meets the criteria in subdivision B 6 or B 7 of 

this section, as applicable; 

b. The state requests that EPA review its determination; 

and 

c. EPA approves the state determination. 

6. The director may grant a nonwaste determination for 

hazardous secondary material that is reclaimed in a 

continuous industrial process if the applicant demonstrates 

that the hazardous secondary material is a part of the 

production process and is not discarded. The determination 

will be based on whether the hazardous secondary material 

is legitimately recycled as specified in 40 CFR 260.43 and 

on the following criteria: 

a. The extent that the management of the hazardous 

secondary material is part of the continuous primary 

production process and is not waste treatment;  

b. Whether the capacity of the production process would 

use the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable 

timeframe and ensure that the hazardous secondary 

material will not be abandoned (e.g., based on past 

practices, market factors, the nature of the hazardous 

secondary material, or any contractual arrangements); 

c. Whether the hazardous constituents in the hazardous 

secondary material are reclaimed rather than released to 

the air, water, or land at significantly higher levels from 

either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

d. Other relevant factors that demonstrate the hazardous 

secondary material is not discarded, including why the 

hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or should not 

have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion under 

40 CFR 261.2 or 40 CFR 261.4. 

7. The director may grant a nonwaste determination for 

hazardous secondary material that is indistinguishable in 

all relevant aspects from a product or intermediate if the 

applicant demonstrates that the hazardous secondary 

material is comparable to a product or intermediate and is 

not discarded. The determination will be based on whether 

the hazardous secondary material is legitimately recycled 

as specified in 40 CFR 260.43 and on the following 

criteria: 

a. Whether market participants treat the hazardous 

secondary material as a product or intermediate rather 

than a waste (e.g., based on the current positive value of 

the hazardous secondary material, stability of demand, or 

any contractual arrangements); 

b. Whether the chemical and physical identity of the 

hazardous secondary material is comparable to 

commercial products or intermediates; 

c. Whether the capacity of the market would use the 

hazardous secondary material in a reasonable timeframe 

and ensure that the hazardous secondary material will not 

be abandoned (e.g., based on past practices, market 

factors, the nature of the hazardous secondary material, 

or any contractual arrangements); 

d. Whether the hazardous constituents in the hazardous 

secondary material are reclaimed rather than released to 

the air, water, or land at significantly higher levels from 

either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

e. Other relevant factors that demonstrate the hazardous 

secondary material is not discarded, including why the 

hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or should not 

have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion under 

40 CFR 261.2 or 40 CFR 261.4. 

9VAC20-60-1430. Petitions to include additional 

hazardous wastes.  

A. General.  

1. Any person seeking to add a hazardous waste or a 

category of hazardous waste to the universal waste 

regulations of 9VAC20-60-273 and Part XVI (9VAC20-

60-1495 et seq.) of this chapter may petition for a 

regulatory amendment under this part.  
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2. To be successful, the petitioner shall demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the director that regulation under the 

universal waste regulations of 9VAC20-60-273 and Part 

XVI of this chapter:  

a. Is appropriate for the waste or category of waste;  

b. Will improve management practices for the waste or 

category of waste; and  

c. Will improve implementation of the hazardous waste 

program.  

The petition shall include the information required by 

9VAC20-60-1370 C. The petition should also address as 

many of the factors listed in subsection B of this section as 

are appropriate for the waste or category of waste 

addressed in the petition.  

3. The director will grant or deny a petition using the 

factors listed in subsection B of this section. The decision 

will be based on the weight of evidence showing that 

regulation under 9VAC20-60-273 and Part XVI of this 

chapter is appropriate for the waste or category of waste, 

will improve management practices for the waste or 

category of waste, and will improve implementation of the 

hazardous waste program.  

4. The director may request additional information needed 

to evaluate the merits of the petition.  

5. If the director adds new hazardous wastes to the list 

contained in 9VAC20-60-273 and in Part XVI of these 

regulations, management of these wastes under the 

universal waste regulations would only be allowed within 

the Commonwealth or other states that have added those 

particular wastes to their regulations. Shipments of such 

wastes to a state where universal waste standards do not 

apply to that waste would have to comply with the full 

hazardous waste requirements of Parts I through XV of this 

chapter.  

B. Factors to consider.  

1. The waste or category of waste, as generated by a wide 

variety of generators, is listed in Subpart D of 40 CFR Part 

261, or (if not listed) a proportion of the waste stream 

exhibits one or more characteristics of hazardous waste 

identified in Subpart C of 40 CFR Part 261. (When a 

characteristic waste is added to the universal waste 

regulations of 9VAC20-60-273 and Part XVI of this 

chapter by using a generic name to identify the waste 

category (e.g., batteries), the definition of universal waste 

will be amended to include only the hazardous waste 

portion of the waste category (e.g., hazardous waste 

batteries). Thus, only the portion of the waste stream that 

does exhibit one or more characteristics (i.e., is hazardous 

waste) is subject to the universal waste regulations of 

9VAC20-60-273 and Part XVI of this chapter;  

2. The waste or category of waste is not exclusive to a 

specific industry or group of industries, is commonly 

generated by a wide variety of types of establishments 

(including, for example, households, retail and commercial 

businesses, office complexes, conditionally exempt very 

small quantity generators, small businesses, government 

organizations, as well as large industrial facilities);  

3. The waste or category of waste is generated by a large 

number of generators (e.g., more than 1,000 nationally) 

and is frequently generated in relatively small quantities by 

each generator;  

4. Systems to be used for collecting the waste or category 

of waste (including packaging, marking, and labeling 

practices) would ensure close stewardship of the waste;  

5. The risk posed by the waste or category of waste during 

accumulation and transport is relatively low compared to 

other hazardous wastes, and specific management 

standards proposed or referenced by the petitioner (e.g., 

waste management requirements appropriate to be added to 

9VAC20-60-273 or Part XVI of this chapter; and 

applicable requirements of the Virginia Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Hazardous Materials, 

9VAC20-110-10 et seq.) 9VAC20-110) would be 

protective of human health and the environment during 

accumulation and transport;  

6. Regulation of the waste or category of waste under 

9VAC20-60-273 will increase the likelihood that the waste 

will be diverted from nonhazardous waste management 

systems (e.g., the municipal waste stream, nonhazardous 

industrial or commercial waste stream, municipal sewer or 

stormwater systems) to recycling, treatment, or disposal in 

compliance with the Virginia Hazardous Waste 

Management Regulations;  

7. Regulation of the waste or category of waste under 

9VAC20-60-273 will improve implementation of and 

compliance with the hazardous waste regulatory program; 

and  

8. Such other factors as may be appropriate.  

9VAC20-60-1505. Additional universal wastes.  

A. The Commonwealth of Virginia incorporates at 

9VAC20-60-273 A all universal wastes adopted by the 

federal government at 40 CFR Part 273. In addition to the 

universal wastes listed in 40 CFR Part 273, the universal 

wastes listed in this section are also universal wastes in 

Virginia if the requirements as provided in this section for 

each particular universal waste are met. 

B. Mercury-containing lamps may be crushed for size 

reduction provided the requirements of this subsection are 

met. 
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1. Mercury-containing lamps are crushed under the control 

of the generator as defined in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection, and the crushed lamps are sent off site for 

recycling.  

2. The use of mobile crushing units is prohibited. Mobile 

crushing units include any device or equipment or 

combination of devices and equipment that is designed to 

be transported and operated at more than one site.  

3. Mercury-containing lamps that are crushed for size 

reduction by a generator or under the control of the 

generator as defined in subdivision 4 of this subsection 

may be managed under the provisions for universal wastes, 

9VAC20-60-273, if the owner or operator complies with 

all the requirements and qualifications of this section. 

4. "Under the control of the generator" means: 

a. That the mercury-containing lamps are generated and 

crushed at the generating facility (for purposes of this 

definition, generating facility means all contiguous 

property owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 

universal waste (UW) lamp generator); or 

b. That the mercury-containing lamps are generated and 

crushed at different facilities if the crushing facility is 

controlled by the generator or if both the generating 

facility and the crushing facility are controlled by a 

person as defined in 40 CFR Part 260.10, and if the 

generator provides one of the following certifications: (i) 

"on behalf of [insert generator facility name], I certify 

that this facility will send the indicated UW lamps to 

[insert crushing facility name], which is controlled by 

[insert generator facility name] and that [insert the name 

of either facility] has acknowledged full responsibility 

for the safe management of the UW lamps" or (ii) "on 

behalf of [insert generator facility name] I certify that 

this facility will send the indicated UW lamps to [insert 

crushing facility name], that both facilities are under 

common control, and that [insert name of either facility] 

has acknowledged full responsibility for the safe 

management of the UW lamps." For purposes of this 

certification, "control" means the power to direct the 

policies of the facility, whether by the ownership of 

stock, voting rights, or otherwise, except that contractors 

who operate facilities on behalf of a different person as 

defined in 40 CFR Part 260.10 shall not be deemed to 

"control" such facilities. The certification shall be 

submitted to the department in accordance with 

subdivision 7 (h) of this subsection. 

5. Mercury-containing lamp crushing operations that do 

not meet the definition of "under the control of the 

generator" in subdivision 4 of this subsection are subject to 

all applicable requirements for destination facilities in 

40 CFR Part 273, Subpart E.  

6. Safety hazards to operating personnel shall be controlled 

through an active safety program consistent with the 

requirements of 29 CFR Part 1910. 

7. Crushing, handling, and storing mercury-containing 

lamps shall occur in a safe and controlled manner that 

minimizes the release of mercury to the environment. 

Requirements for a safe and controlled manner shall 

include the following: 

a. Mercury-containing lamps shall be crushed in a 

mechanical unit specifically designed to crush mercury-

containing lamps. This unit shall be hermetically sealed, 

except for air intakes, and under negative pressure. Air 

intake points must be closed when the unit is not 

operating.  

b. Crushing operations shall occur in a space with its 

ambient air isolated from other work areas where persons 

who are not involved in the crushing operation may 

work. The ambient air from rooms containing crushing 

operations shall be discharged after filtration directly to 

an area outside the building where persons are unlikely to 

be directly exposed. If a situation exists at a particular 

facility in which the facility determines that discharge of 

ambient air from a room containing a crushing operation 

to the outside is technically or financially impracticable, 

the department may approve an alternated design that 

allows the discharge of ambient air from a room 

containing a crushing operation to another internal 

building space or centralized air circulation system if: 

(1) The ambient air is discharged to the internal building 

space or centralized air circulation system through 

filtration system capable of capturing both particulate 

and vapor phase mercury. 

(2) The filtration system is maintained as recommended 

by the manufacturer to ensure that it operates at its design 

mercury removal efficiency. 

(3) Maintenance of the filtration system shall be 

documented and records of maintenance shall be kept on 

site. 

c. Mercury-containing lamps shall be crushed with a 

device that is equipped with air pollution controls that 

capture both particulate and vapor phase mercury. At a 

minimum, these controls shall include a HEPA filter, a 

sorption column of sulfur impregnated activated carbon 

media, and a negative air flow (vacuum) throughout the 

unit. The crushing unit shall have documentation from 

the manufacturer that demonstrates that the unit is 

equipped as required and:  

(1) Achieves a particle retention rate of 99.97% in the 

HEPA filter (at a particle diameter less than 0.3 microns); 

and  
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(2) Achieves the air emission limits specified in the risk-

based protectiveness standards table of subdivision 7 n 

(2) of this subsection. 

d. Mercury-containing lamps shall be crushed indoors.  

e. The transfer of crushed mercury-containing lamps in 

drums or containers to other drums or containers is not 

permitted. 

f. Crushed mercury-containing lamps shall be stored in 

closed and hermetically sealed, nonleaking drums or 

containers that are in good condition (e.g., no severe 

rusting, no apparent structural defects, and no leaking).  

g. Drums or containers used for storage of crushed 

mercury-containing lamps shall be properly sealed and 

labeled. The label shall bear the words "universal waste-

lamps," "waste lamps," or "used lamps."  

h. The generator or facility under the control of the 

generator shall make written notification to the 

department of the physical location of the crushing 

operation no later than January 31, 2017, for all existing 

operations or 30 calendar days prior to beginning 

operation of a new crushing operation. The notification 

shall include the name of the individual or company that 

owns the operation; the EPA ID number if one has been 

issued for the facility; the location of the crushing 

operation; and the names, addresses, and telephone 

numbers of the operator and principal contact person or 

persons. A written notice of changes in the notification 

data shall be sent to the department within 15 calendar 

days of the change. The notification shall include the 

certification required under subdivision 4 (b) of this 

subsection if applicable. 

i. A written procedure specifying how to safely crush, 

handle, and store mercury-containing lamps and how to 

minimize the release of mercury, including during drum 

changes and malfunctions, shall be developed, 

implemented, and documented. This procedure shall 

include (i) the type of equipment to be used to crush 

mercury-containing lamps safely, (ii) instructions for 

proper equipment operation and a schedule for 

maintenance of the unit in accordance with written 

procedures developed by the manufacturer of the 

equipment, (iii) proper waste management practices, and 

(iv) the use of personal protective equipment to include 

at a minimum safety glasses or full face shield and cut-

proof gloves. The maintenance schedule shall identify all 

maintenance operations and the frequency with which 

they must be performed, including replacement of 

particle filters and the activated carbon media as 

recommended by the manufacturer of the crushing unit. 

j. Maintenance activities shall be documented and 

records of maintenance shall be maintained and available 

for inspection per subdivision 8 of this subsection.  

k. Each unit operator shall receive initial and annual 

training in crushing procedures, waste handling, safety, 

use of personal protective equipment, and emergency 

procedures, including proper procedures for cleaning up 

broken mercury-containing lamps. All training shall be 

documented and records of training shall be maintained 

and available for inspection per subdivision 8 of this 

subsection.  

l. Residues, filter media, used equipment, other mercury-

containing equipment, and other solid waste shall not be 

placed in the container with the crushed mercury-

containing lamps. Any waste materials generated as part 

of the crushing operation that are determined to be 

hazardous waste shall be managed under this chapter, as 

hazardous waste or if not hazardous waste, as a solid 

waste under the Solid Waste Management Regulations, 

9VAC20-81. 

m. Any spills of the contents of the mercury-containing 

lamps that may occur shall be cleaned up in accordance 

with 40 CFR Part 273.13(d)(2) or 40 CFR Part 

273.33(d)(2). 

n. All generators or facilities under the control of the 

generator that crush mercury-containing lamps, except 

those generators or facilities that crush two hours or less 

and no more than 220 pounds/100 kilograms (CESQG 

(VSQG equivalent) of bulbs per month, shall provide 

monitoring as follows: 

(1) Ambient air within the lamp crushing room and 

exhaust air from the lamp crushing unit shall be tested for 

mercury during the first month of using the lamp 

crushing unit and whenever the unit is modified or 

replaced, and annually thereafter. In addition, all 

connection points for hoses circulating air from within 

the unit, the seal between the unit and the drum, and 

openings in the crushing unit (e.g., the lamp feed tube) 

shall also be tested for mercury release during the first 

month of lamp crushing operation and annually 

thereafter. Routine maintenance of the machine does not 

constitute modified or replaced for purposes of requiring 

ambient air testing. Ambient air shall be tested within 

five feet of the lamp crushing device. Exhaust air and 

other tests shall be performed within two inches of the 

designated testing points on the lamp crushing device. 

All mercury testing required by this section shall be 

performed at a time when the lamp crushing device is 

being used to crush mercury-containing lamps. 

(2) Testing for mercury releases from lamp crushing 

units shall be performed using a mercury vapor analyzer 

that has been approved for the application by the U.S. 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration or the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, or a 

comparable device that has been calibrated by the 

manufacturer or laboratory providing the equipment. 
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Mercury vapor monitors used for testing must be capable 

of detecting mercury at the applicable concentrations 

provided below or lower in air and must be equipped 

with a data recording device to provide a record of 

measurements taken. Mercury monitoring data shall be 

documented and available for inspection per subdivision 

8 of this subsection. The acute exposure protectiveness 

standard is 300 µg/m3 for a 10-minute exposure with the 

understanding that the acute exposure protectiveness 

standard is considered a ceiling value and at no time 

during bulb crushing operation will the air concentrations 

of mercury exceed 300 µg/m3. Alternately, compliance 

with the acute exposure protectiveness standard may be 

demonstrated by comparing the 95% upper confidence 

level of the mean of the individual data points to the 

standard. The following are risk-based protectiveness 

standards at a distance of five feet from the bulb crushing 

unit: 

Monthly Bulb 

Crushing 

Duration (X 

Hours/Month)* 

Chronic 

Exposure Air 

Emission 

Limit 

(µg/m3) 

Acute Exposure 

Air Emission 

Limit (µg/m3) 

X ≥ 32 1.314skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

8 < X < 32 6.317 skin 

µg/m3 

300 µg/m3 

X ≤ 8 27.375 skin 

µg/m3 

300µg/m3 

X ≤ 2 

and no more 

than 220 

lbs/month or 

100 kg/month 

of bulbs 

crushed 

Monitoring 

not required 

Monitoring not 

required 

*Monthly crushing duration is determined based on 

the maximum number of hours that bulb crushing 

occurred in any one month over the last 12-month 

period. 

(3) Any lamp crushing device that, when tested as 

described in subdivisions 7 n (1) and 7 n (2) of this 

subsection, fails to meet the criteria specified in 

subdivision 7 n (2) of this subsection, must immediately 

be removed from service. Lamp crushing devices 

removed from service under this subdivision may not be 

returned to service until the device has been inspected 

and repaired, and in subsequent testing has been shown 

to meet the specified criteria. Test data and 

documentation of repairs shall be kept in the facility 

record and available for inspection per subdivision 8 of 

this subsection. 

(4) The facility shall document the amount of time spent 

crushing lamps and this information shall be maintained 

in the facility record and available for inspection per 

subdivision 8 of this subsection. 

8. A copy of all records, notifications, certifications, and 

reports required by this section shall be kept on site and be 

available for examination by the department for a period of 

at least three years. 

9. All requirements of this section shall be immediately 

effective for all new facilities beginning operations on or 

after January 1, 2017. All requirements of this section shall 

be effective for all existing facilities no later than April 1, 

2017. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5986; Filed June 26, 2019, 1:44 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-70. Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and 

Treatment Facilities (amending 9VAC20-70-210, 

9VAC20-70-290).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1410 of the Code 

of Virginia; §§ 1008(a)(3), 2002, and 4004(a) of the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act; 40 CFR Part 258. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Virginia Waste Management Board to promulgate and 

enforce regulations necessary to carry out its powers and 

duties and the intent of the chapter and federal law. Section 

10.1-1410 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board to 

promulgate regulations that ensure that if a solid waste 

treatment, transfer, or disposal facility is abandoned, the costs 

associated with protecting the public health and safety from 

the consequences of such abandonment may be recovered 

from the person abandoning the facility.  

Purpose: This amendment removes language that is no longer 

applicable. Removing the obsolete language will avoid 

confusion concerning the requirements applicable to local 

governments using the local government financial test. The 

amendments protect public health, safety and welfare by 
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providing clarity to local governments required to provide 

financial assurance for their activities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action makes technical corrections. A previous amendment to 

this regulation removed requirements for local governments 

to provide additional financial assurance if their closure cost 

obligations are between 20% and 43% of their total annual 

revenue. The amendments remove obsolete language 

pertaining to the removal of the requirement for additional 

financial assurance to be provided when the locality's closure 

cost obligations are between 20% and 43% of their total 

annual revenue. The amendments do not change any financial 

assurance requirements for local governments and avoid 

confusion concerning the applicable regulatory requirements. 

This regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial 

since it deletes obsolete language. It does not change any 

requirements of the local government financial test. An 

informal public comment period was held on the proposed 

changes and no comments were received on the changes. 

Substance: Corrections are being made to remove obsolete 

language related to the local government financial test that is 

no longer applicable. The amendments do not change any 

requirements of the local government financial test.  

Issues: The primary advantage of this action is the removal of 

obsolete language, which makes the requirements related to 

the local government financial test easier to understand. This 

change benefits the regulated community and the agency. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, agency, 

Commonwealth, or regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Waste Management Board (Board) proposes to 

eliminate obsolete language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The purpose of this regulation is to 

assure that owners and operators of permitted or unpermitted 

waste management facilities are financially responsible for the 

closure, post-closure care and corrective action at their facilities. 

The regulation establishes standards and procedures for financial 

assurance to be used in the issuance and continuation of permits 

to construct, operate, modify, close, or provide post-closure care 

and to be used in the performance of corrective actions or in 

formulation of enforcement documents issued by the Department 

of Environmental Quality. 

Eliminating obsolete language would have no impact on 

requirements in practice but would be beneficial in that clarity 

for readers of the regulation would be improved. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. As the proposed 

amendments do not change any requirements in practice and 

only improve the clarity of the requirements, it is readers of 

the regulation that are particularly affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The revised proposed 

amendments do not significantly affect real estate 

development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

__________________ 

1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in cost for any entity, 
even if the benefits exceed the costs. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Environmental Quality has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove language pertaining to an 

obsolete requirement for additional financial assurance to 

be provided when a locality's closure cost obligations are 

between 20% and 43% of their total annual revenue. This 

action does not change any financial assurance 

requirements for local governments. 

9VAC20-70-210. Local government financial test.  

An owner or operator that satisfies the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 through 3 of this section may demonstrate 
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financial assurance using the local government financial test 

up to the amount specified in subdivision 4 of this section.  

1. Financial component.  

a. The owner or operator shall satisfy the provisions of 

subdivision 1 a of this section, as applicable:  

(1) If the owner or operator has outstanding, rated, 

general obligation bonds that are not secured by 

insurance, a letter of credit, or other collateral or 

guarantee, he shall supply the director with 

documentation demonstrating that the owner or operator 

has a current rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa, as issued by 

Moody's, or AAA, AA, A, or BBB, as issued by Standard 

and Poor's on all such general obligation bonds; or  

(2) If the owner or operator does not have outstanding, 

rated general obligation bonds, he shall satisfy each of 

the following financial ratios based on the owner's or 

operator's most recent audited annual financial statement:  

(a) A ratio of cash plus marketable securities to total 

expenditures greater than or equal to 0.05; and  

(b) A ratio of annual debt service to total expenditures 

less than or equal to 0.20.  

b. The owner or operator shall prepare his financial 

statements in conformity with Generally Accepted 

Accounting Principles for governments and have its his 

financial statements audited by an independent certified 

public accountant or by the Auditor of Public Accounts.  

c. An owner or operator is not eligible to assure its his 

obligations under this section if he:  

(1) Is currently in default on any outstanding general 

obligation bonds;  

(2) Has any outstanding general obligation bonds rated 

lower than Baa as issued by Moody's or BBB as issued 

by Standard and Poor's;  

(3) Operated at a deficit equal to 5.0% or more of total 

annual revenue in each of the past two fiscal years; or  

(4) Receives an adverse opinion, disclaimer of opinion, 

or other qualified opinion from the independent certified 

public accountant or Auditor of Public Accounts auditing 

its his financial statement as required under subdivision 1 

b of this section. However, the director may evaluate 

qualified opinions on a case-by-case basis and allow use 

of the financial test in cases where the director deems the 

qualification insufficient to warrant disallowance of the 

test.  

2. Public notice component. The local government owner 

or operator shall place a reference to the closure, post-

closure care, or corrective action costs assured through the 

financial test into the next comprehensive annual financial 

report (CAFR) after January 7, 1998, or prior to the initial 

receipt of waste at the facility, whichever is later. 

Disclosure shall include the nature and source of closure 

and post-closure requirements, the reported liability at the 

balance sheet date, the estimated total closure and post-

closure care cost remaining to be recognized, the 

percentage of landfill capacity used to date, and the 

estimated landfill life in years. A reference to corrective 

action cost shall be placed in CAFR no later than 120 days 

after the corrective action remedy has been selected in 

accordance with 9VAC20-81-260. For the first year the 

financial test is used to assure costs at a particular facility, 

the reference may instead be placed in the operating record 

until issuance of the next available CAFR if timing does 

not permit the reference to be incorporated into the most 

recently issued CAFR or budget. For closure and post-

closure care costs, conformance with Government 

Accounting Standards Board Statement 18 assures 

compliance with this public notice component.  

3. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements.  

a. The local government owner or operator must submit 

to the department the following items and place copies of 

the items in the facility's operating record:  

(1) An original letter signed by the local government's 

chief financial officer worded as specified in 9VAC20-

70-290 G;  

(2) The local government's independently audited year-

end financial statements for the latest fiscal year, 

including the unqualified opinion of the auditor who 

must be an independent, certified public accountant or an 

appropriate state agency that conducts equivalent 

comprehensive audits;  

(3) A report to the local government from the local 

government's independent certified public accountant 

(CPA) or the Auditor of Public Accounts based on 

performing an agreed upon procedures engagement 

relative to the financial ratios required by subdivision 1 a 

(2) of this section, if applicable, and the requirements of 

subdivisions 1 b, 1 c (3), and 1 c (4) of this section. The 

CPA or state agency's report shall state the procedures 

performed and the CPA or state agency's findings;  

(4) A copy of the comprehensive annual financial report 

(CAFR) used to comply with subdivision 2 of this 

section or certification that the requirements of General 

Accounting Standards Board Statement 18 have been 

met; and 

(5) A certification from the local government's chief 

executive officer stating in detail the method selected by 

the local government for funding closure and post-

closure costs. If the method selected by the local 

government is a trust fund, escrow account or similar 

mechanism, there shall be included a certification from 

the local government's chief financial officer indicating 
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the current reserve obligated to closure and post-closure 

care cost. If the method selected by local governments is 

the use of annual operating budget and Capital 

Investment Funds, there shall be a certification from the 

local government's chief financial officer so indicating. 

Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the local 

government from revising its plan for funding closure 

and post-closure care costs if such revision provides 

economic benefit to the local government and if such 

revision provides adequate means for funding closure 

and post-closure care cost. This certification shall be 

worded as specified in 9VAC20-70-290 H; and (6) If the 

local government is required under this section to fund a 

restricted sinking fund, escrow account, or to obtain an 

irrevocable letter of credit, an original letter signed by the 

local government's chief financial officer and worded as 

specified in 9VAC20-70-290 I must be submitted.  

b. The items required in subdivision 3 a of this section 

shall be submitted to the department and placed in the 

facility operating record as follows:  

(1) In the case of closure and post-closure care, either 

before January 7, 1998, or prior to the initial receipt of 

waste at the facility, whichever is later; or  

(2) In the case of corrective action, not later than 120 

days after the corrective action remedy is selected in 

accordance with the requirements of 9VAC20-81-260.  

c. After the initial submission of the items, the local 

government owner or operator must update the 

information, place a copy of the updated information in 

the operating record, and submit the updated 

documentation described in subdivisions 3 a (1) through 

(6) of this section to the department within 180 days 

following the close of the owner or operator's fiscal year.  

d. The local government owner or operator is no longer 

required to meet the requirements of subdivision 3 of this 

section when:  

(1) The owner or operator substitutes alternate financial 

assurance as specified in this section; or  

(2) The owner or operator is released from the 

requirements of this section in accordance with 9VAC20-

70-111 E, 9VAC20-70-112 B, or 9VAC20-70-113 C.  

e. A local government shall satisfy the requirements of 

the financial test at the close of each fiscal year. If the 

local government owner or operator no longer meets the 

requirements of the local government financial test it 

must, within 210 days following the close of the owner 

or operator's fiscal year, obtain alternative financial 

assurance that meets the requirements of this section, 

place a copy of the financial assurance mechanism in the 

operating record, and submit the original financial 

assurance mechanism to the director.  

f. The director, based on a reasonable belief that the local 

government owner or operator may no longer meet the 

requirements of the local government financial test, may 

require additional reports of financial condition from the 

local government at any time. If the director finds, on the 

basis of such reports or other information, that the owner 

or operator no longer meets the requirements of the local 

government financial test, the local government shall 

provide alternate financial assurance in accordance with 

this article.  

4. Calculation of costs to be assured. The portion of the 

closure, post-closure, and corrective action costs for which 

an owner or operator can assure under subdivision 1 of this 

section is determined as follows:  

a. If the local government owner or operator does not 

assure other environmental obligations through a 

financial test, it may assure closure, post-closure, and 

corrective action costs that equal up to 43% of the local 

government's total annual revenue or the sum of total 

revenues of constituent governments in the case of 

regional authorities.  

b. If the local government assures other environmental 

obligations through a financial test, including those 

associated with UIC facilities under 40 CFR 144.62, 

petroleum underground storage tank facilities under 

9VAC25-590, PCB polychlorinated biphenyls storage 

facilities under 40 CFR Part 761, and hazardous waste 

treatment, storage, and disposal facilities under Part IX or 

X of the Virginia Hazardous Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-60), it shall add those costs to the 

closure, post-closure, and corrective action costs it seeks 

to assure under subdivision 1 of this section. The total 

shall not exceed 43% of the local government's total 

annual revenue.  

c. The owner or operator shall obtain an alternate 

financial assurance mechanism for those costs that 

exceed the limits set in subdivisions 4 a and 4 b of this 

section.  

9VAC20-70-290. Wording of financial mechanisms.  

A. Wording of trust agreements.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.)  

TRUST AGREEMENT  

Trust agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of (date) 

by and between (name of the owner or operator), a (State) 

(corporation, partnership, association, proprietorship), the 

"Grantor," and (name of corporate trustee), a (State 

corporation) (national bank), the "Trustee."  

Whereas, the Virginia Waste Management Board has 

established certain regulations applicable to the Grantor, 
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requiring that the owner or operator of a (solid) (regulated 

medical) (yard) waste (transfer station) (receiving) 

(management) facility must provide assurance that funds will 

be available when needed for (closure, post-closure care, or 

corrective action) of the facility,  

Whereas, the Grantor has elected to establish a trust to 

provide (all or part of) such financial assurance for the facility 

identified herein,  

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized 

officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this 

agreement, and the Trustee is willing to act as trustee,  

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as 

follows:  

Section 1. Definitions. As used in this Agreement:  

A. The term "fiduciary" means any person who exercises 

any power of control, management, or disposition or 

renders investment advice for a fee or other compensation, 

direct or indirect, with respect to any moneys or other 

property of this trust fund, or has any authority or 

responsibility to do so, or who has any authority or 

responsibility in the administration of this trust fund.  

B. The term "Grantor" means the owner or operator who 

enters into this Agreement and any successors or assigns of 

the Grantor.  

C. The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters into 

this Agreement and any successor Trustee.  

Section 2. Identification of Facility and Cost Estimates. This 

Agreement pertains to facility(ies) and cost estimates 

identified on attached Schedule A.  

(NOTE: On Schedule A, for each facility list, as applicable, 

the permit number, name, address, and the current closure, 

post-closure, corrective action cost estimates, or portions 

thereof, for which financial assurance is demonstrated by this 

Agreement.)  

Section 3. Establishment of Fund. The Grantor and the 

Trustee hereby establish a trust fund, the "Fund," for the 

benefit of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The Grantor and the Trustee 

intend that no third party have access to the Fund except as 

herein provided. The Fund is established initially as property 

consisting of cash or securities, which are acceptable to the 

Trustee, described in Schedule B attached hereto. Such 

property and any other property subsequently transferred to 

the Trustee is referred to as the fund, together with all 

earnings and profits thereon, less any payments or 

distributions made by the Trustee pursuant to this Agreement. 

The Fund will be held by the Trustee, IN TRUST, as 

hereinafter provided. The Trustee undertakes no 

responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to 

collect from the Grantor, any payments to discharge any 

liabilities of the Grantor established by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality.  

Section 4. Payment for (Closure, Post-Closure Care, or 

Corrective Action). The Trustee will make such payments 

from the Fund as the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia will direct, in writing, to provide 

for the payment of the costs of (closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action) of the facility covered by this Agreement. 

The Trustee will reimburse the Grantor or other persons as 

specified by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, from the Fund for (closure, post-

closure care, corrective action) expenditures in such amounts 

as the Department of Environmental Quality will direct, in 

writing. In addition, the Trustee will refund to the Grantor 

such amounts as the Department of Environmental Quality 

specifies in writing. Upon refund, such funds will no longer 

constitute part of the Fund as defined herein.  

Section 5. Payments Comprising the Fund. Payments made 

to the Trustee for the fund will consist of cash or securities 

acceptable to the Trustee.  

Section 6. Trustee Management. The Trustee will invest and 

reinvest the principal and income of the Fund and keep the 

Fund invested as a single fund, without distinction between 

principal and income, in accordance with investment 

guidelines and objectives communicated in writing to the 

Trustee from time to time by the Grantor, subject, however, to 

the provisions of this Section. In investing, reinvesting, 

exchanging, selling and managing the Fund, the Trustee or 

any other fiduciary will discharge his duties with respect to 

the trust fund solely in the interest of the beneficiary and with 

the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under the 

circumstances then prevailing which persons of prudence, 

acting in a like capacity and familiar with such matters, would 

use in the conduct of any enterprise of a like character and 

with like aims; except that:  

A. Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any 

other owner or operator of the facility, or any of their 

affiliates as defined in the Investment Company Act of 

1940, as amended, 15 USC § 80a-2(a), will not be acquired 

or held, unless they are securities or other obligations of 

the federal or a state government;  

B. The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time or 

demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured by an 

agency of the federal or state government; and  

C. The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting 

investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable time 

and without liability for the payment of interest thereon.  

Section 7. Commingling and Investment. The Trustee is 

expressly authorized in its discretion:  

A. To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets of 

the Fund to any common, commingled or collective trust 
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fund created by the Trustee in which the Fund is eligible to 

participate subject to all of the provisions thereof, to be 

commingled with the assets of other trusts participating 

herein. To the extent of the equitable share of the Fund in 

any such commingled trust, such commingled trust will be 

part of the Fund; and  

B. To purchase shares in any investment company 

registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940, 

15 USC § 80a-1 et seq., of one which may be created, 

managed, underwritten, or to which investment advice is 

rendered or the shares of which are sold by the Trustee. 

The Trustees may vote such shares in its discretion.  

Section 8. Express Powers of Trustee. Without in any way 

limiting the powers and discretions conferred upon the 

Trustee by the other provisions of this Agreement or by law, 

the Trustee is expressly authorized and empowered:  

A. To sell, exchange, convey, transfer or otherwise dispose 

of any property held by it, by private contract or at public 

auction. No person dealing with the Trustee will be bound 

to see to the application of the purchase money or to 

inquire into the validity or expediency of any such sale or 

other dispositions;  

B. To make, execute, acknowledge and deliver any and all 

documents of transfer and conveyance and any and all 

other instruments that may be necessary or appropriate to 

carry out the powers herein granted;  

C. To register any securities held in the fund in its own 

name or in the name of a nominee and to hold any security 

in bearer form or in book entry, or to combine certificates 

representing such securities with certificates of the same 

issue held by the Trustee in other fiduciary capacities, or to 

deposit or arrange for the deposit of such securities in a 

qualified central depository even though, when so 

deposited, such securities may be merged and held in bulk 

in the name of the nominee of such depository with other 

securities deposited therein by another person, or to deposit 

or arrange for the deposit of any securities issued by the 

United State government, or any agency or instrumentality 

thereof with a Federal Reserve Bank, but the books and 

records of the Trustee will at all times show that all such 

securities are part of the Fund;  

D. To deposit any cash in the fund in interest-bearing 

accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by the 

Trustee, in its separate corporate capacity, or in any other 

banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the extent 

insured by an agency of the Federal or State government; 

and  

E. To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in favor 

of or against the Fund.  

Section 9. Taxes and Expenses. All taxes of any kind that 

may be assessed or levied against or in respect of the Fund 

and all brokerage commissions incurred by the Fund will be 

paid from the Fund. All other expenses incurred by the 

Trustee in connection with the administration of this Trust, 

including fees for legal services rendered to the Trustee, the 

compensation of the Trustee to the extent not paid directly by 

the Grantor, and all other proper charges and disbursements 

of the Trustee will be paid from the Fund.  

Section 10. Annual Valuation. The Trustee will annually, at 

the end of the month coincident with or preceding the 

anniversary date of establishment of the Fund, furnish the 

Grantor and to the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, a 

statement confirming the value of the Trust. Any securities in 

the Fund will be valued at market value as of no more than 30 

days prior to the date of the statement. The failure of the 

Grantor to object in writing to the Trustee within 90 days 

after the statement has been furnished to the Grantor and the 

director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia will constitute a conclusively 

binding assent by the Grantor, barring the Grantor from 

asserting any claim or liability against the Trustee with 

respect to matters disclosed in the statement.  

Section 11. Advice of Counsel. The Trustee may from time 

to time consult with counsel, who may be counsel to the 

Grantor, with respect to any question arising as to the 

construction of this Agreement or any action to be taken 

hereunder. The Trustee will be fully protected, to the extent 

permitted by law, in acting upon the advice of counsel.  

Section 12. Trustee Compensation. The Trustee will be 

entitled to reasonable compensation for its services as agreed 

upon in writing from time to time with the Grantor.  

Section 13. Successor Trustee. The Trustee may resign or 

the Grantor may replace the Trustee, but such resignation or 

replacement shall not be effective until the Grantor has 

appointed a successor trustee and this successor accepts the 

appointment. The successor trustee shall have the same 

powers and duties as those conferred upon the Trustee 

hereunder. Upon acceptance of the appointment by the 

successor trustee, the Trustee will assign, transfer and pay 

over to the successor trustee the funds and properties then 

constituting the Fund. If for any reason the grantor cannot or 

does not act in the event of the resignation of the Trustee, the 

Trustee may apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for the 

appointment of a successor trustee or for instructions. The 

successor trustee and the date on which he assumes 

administration of the trust will be specified in writing and 

sent to the Grantor, the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, and the 

present trustees by certified mail 10 days before such change 

becomes effective. Any expenses incurred by the Trustee as a 

result of any of the acts contemplated by this section will be 

paid as provided in Part IX.  
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Section 14. Instructions to the Trustee. All orders, requests 

and instructions by the Grantor to the Trustee will be in 

writing, signed by such persons as are designated in the 

attached Exhibit A or such other designees as the grantor may 

designate by amendment to Exhibit A. The Trustee will be 

fully protected in acting without inquiry in accordance with 

the Grantor's orders, requests and instructions. All orders, 

requests, and instructions by the Director of the Department 

of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, to the 

Trustee will be in writing, signed by the Director and the 

Trustee will act and will be fully protected in acting in 

accordance with such orders, requests and instructions. The 

Trustee will have the right to assume, in the absence of 

written notice to the contrary, that no event constituting a 

change or a termination of the authority of any person to act 

on behalf of the Grantor or the Commonwealth of Virginia's 

Department of Environmental Quality hereunder has 

occurred. The Trustee will have no duty to act in the absence 

of such orders, requests and instructions from the Grantor 

and/or the Commonwealth of Virginia's Department of 

Environmental Quality, except as provided for herein.  

Section 15. Notice of Nonpayment. The Trustee will notify 

the Grantor and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, by 

certified mail within 10 days following the expiration of the 

30-day period after the anniversary of the establishment of the 

Trust, if no payment is received from the Grantor during that 

period. After the pay-in period is completed, the Trustee is 

not required to send a notice of nonpayment.  

Section 16. Amendment of Agreement. This Agreement 

may be amended by an instrument in writing executed by the 

Grantor, the Trustee, and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the 

Trustee and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, if the Grantor ceases to 

exist.  

Section 17. Irrevocability and Termination. Subject to the 

right of the parties to amend this Agreement as provided in 

Section 16, this Trust will be irrevocable and will continue 

until terminated at the written agreement of the Grantor, the 

Trustee, and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the Trustee and 

the Director if the Grantor ceases to exist. Upon termination 

of the Trust, all remaining trust property, less final trust 

administration expenses, will be delivered to the Grantor.  

Section 18. Immunity and Indemnification. The Trustee will 

not incur personal liability of any nature in connection with 

any act or omission, made in good faith, in the administration 

of this Trust, or in carrying out any directions by the Grantor 

or the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, issued in accordance with this 

Agreement. The Trustee will be indemnified and saved 

harmless by the Grantor or from the Trust Fund, or both, from 

and against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be 

subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official 

capacity, including all expenses reasonably incurred in its 

defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such defense.  

Section 19. Choice of Law. This Agreement will be 

administered, construed and enforced according to the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

Section 20. Interpretation. As used in the Agreement, words 

in the singular include the plural and words in the plural 

include the singular. The descriptive headings for each 

section of this Agreement will not affect the interpretation of 

the legal efficacy of this Agreement.  

In witness whereof the parties have caused this Agreement 

to be executed by their respective officers duly authorized and 

their corporate seals to be hereunto affixed and attested as of 

the date first above written. The parties below certify that the 

wording of this Agreement is identical to the wording 

specified in 9VAC20-70-290 A of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer and 

Treatment Facilities, as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below.  

(Signature of Grantor)   

By: (Title) (Date) 

Attest:   

(Title) (Date) 

(Seal)   

(Signature of Trustee)   

By   

Attest:   

(Title)   

(Seal) (Date) 

Certification of Acknowledgment:  

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  

STATE OF __________  

CITY/COUNTY OF __________  

On this date, before me personally came (owner or operator) 

to me known, who being by me duly sworn, did depose and 

say that she/he resides at (address), that she/he is (title) of 

(corporation), the corporation described in and which 

executed the above instrument; that she/he knows the seal of 

said corporation; that the seal affixed to such instrument is 

such corporate seal; that it was so affixed by order of the 

Board of Directors of said corporation, and that she/he signed 

her/his name thereto by like order.  

(Signature of Notary Public)  
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B. Wording of surety bond guaranteeing performance or 

payment.  

(NOTE: instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.)  

PERFORMANCE OR PAYMENT BOND  

Date bond executed: __________  

Effective date: __________  

Principal: (legal name and business address) 

_____________  

Type of organization: (insert "individual," "joint venture," 

"partnership," or "corporation") _____________  

State of incorporation: __________  

Surety: (name and business address) _____________  

Name, address, permit number, if any, and (closure, post-

closure care, or corrective action) cost estimate for the 

facility: _____________  

Penal sum of bond: $________  

Surety's bond number: __________  

Know all men by these present, That we, the Principal and 

Surety hereto are firmly bound to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, 

(hereinafter called the Department) in the above penal sum 

for the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, 

executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and 

severally; provided that, where the Surety(ies) are 

corporations acting as co-sureties, we, the Sureties, bind 

ourselves in such sum "jointly and severally" only for the 

purpose of allowing a joint action or actions against any or all 

of us, and for all other purposes each Surety binds itself, 

jointly and severally with the Principal, for the payment of 

each sum only as is set forth opposite the name of such 

Surety, but if no limit of liability is indicated, the limit of 

liability shall be the full amount of the penal sum.  

Whereas, said Principal is required to have a permit from the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, in order to own or operate the (solid, regulated 

medical, yard) waste management facility identified above, 

and  

Whereas, said Principal is required to provide financial 

assurance for (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) of 

the facility as a condition of the permit or an order issued by 

the department,  

Now, therefore the conditions of this obligation are such that 

if the Principal shall faithfully perform (closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action), whenever required to do so, of the 

facility identified above in accordance with the order or the 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) plan submitted 

to receive said permit and other requirements of said permit 

as such plan and permit may be amended or renewed pursuant 

to all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations, as such 

laws, statutes, rules, and regulations may be amended,  

Or, if the Principal shall faithfully perform (closure, post-

closure care, corrective action) following an order to begin 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) issued by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia's Department of Environmental 

Quality or by a court, or following a notice of termination of 

the permit,  

Or, if the Principal shall provide alternate financial 

assurance as specified in the Department's regulations and 

obtain the director's written approval of such assurance, 

within 90 days of the date notice of cancellation is received 

by the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality 

from the Surety, then this obligation will be null and void, 

otherwise it is to remain in full force and effect for the life of 

the management facility identified above.  

The Surety shall become liable on this bond obligation only 

when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions 

described above. Upon notification by the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, that the Principal has been found in violation of the 

requirements of the Department's regulations, the Surety must 

either perform (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) 

in accordance with the approved plan and other permit 

requirements or forfeit the (closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action) amount guaranteed for the facility to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

Upon notification by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, that the 

Principal has been found in violation of an order to begin 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action), the Surety must 

either perform (closure, post-closure care, corrective action) 

in accordance with the order or forfeit the amount of the 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) guaranteed for 

the facility to the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

The Surety hereby waives notification of amendments to the 

(closure, post-closure care, corrective action) plans, orders, 

permit, applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations and 

agrees that such amendments shall in no way alleviate its 

obligation on this bond.  

For purposes of this bond, (closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action) shall be deemed to have been completed 

when the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, determines that the 

conditions of the approved plan have been met.  

The liability of the Surety shall not be discharged by any 

payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and 

until such payment or payments shall amount in the aggregate 

to the penal sum of the bond, but the obligation of the Surety 

hereunder shall not exceed the amount of said penal sum 

unless the Director of the Department of Environmental 
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Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, should prevail in an 

action to enforce the terms of this bond. In this event, the 

Surety shall pay, in addition to the penal sum due under the 

terms of the bond, all interest accrued from the date the 

Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, first ordered the Surety to 

perform. The accrued interest shall be calculated at the 

judgment rate of interest pursuant to § 6.2-302 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

The Surety may cancel the bond by sending written notice of 

cancellation to the owner or operator and to the Director of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, provided, however, that cancellation cannot occur 

(1) during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the 

notice of cancellation by the director as shown on the signed 

return receipt; or (2) while an enforcement action is pending.  

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written 

notice to the Surety, provided, however, that no such notice 

shall become effective until the Surety receives written 

authorization for termination of the bond by the Director of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

In witness whereof, the Principal and Surety have executed 

this Performance Bond and have affixed their seals on the 

date set forth above.  

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify 

that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf 

of the Principal and Surety and I hereby certify that the 

wording of this surety bond is identical to the wording 

specified in 9VAC20-70-290 B of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below.  

Principal  

Signature(s): __________  

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________  

Corporate Surety  

Name and Address: __________  

State of Incorporation: __________  

Liability Limit: $___  

Signature(s): __________  

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________  

Corporate Seal:  

C. Wording of irrevocable standby letter of credit.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.)  

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT  

Director  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Dear (Sir or Madam):  

We hereby establish our Irrevocable Letter of Credit No...... 

in your favor at the request and for the account of (owner's or 

operator's name and address) up to the aggregate amount of 

(in words) U.S. dollars $____, available upon presentation of  

1. Your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of credit 

No ____ together with  

2. Your signed statement declaring that the amount of the 

draft is payable pursuant to regulations issued under the 

authority of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

The following amounts are included in the amount of this 

letter of credit: (Insert the facility permit number, if any, 

name and address, and the closure, post-closure care, 

corrective action cost estimate, or portions thereof, for which 

financial assurance is demonstrated by this letter of credit.)  

This letter of credit is effective as of (date) and will expire 

on (date at least one year later), but such expiration date will 

be automatically extended for a period of (at least one year) 

on (date) and on each successive expiration date, unless, at 

least 120 days before the current expiration date, we notify 

you and (owner or operator's name) by certified mail that we 

decide not to extend the Letter of Credit beyond the current 

expiration date. In the event you are so notified, unused 

portion of the credit will be available upon presentation of 

your sight draft for 120 days after the date of receipt by you 

as shown on the signed return receipt or while a compliance 

procedure is pending, whichever is later.  

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in 

compliance with the terms of this credit, we will duly honor 

such draft upon presentation to us, and we will pay to you the 

amount of the draft promptly and directly.  

I hereby certify that I am authorized to execute this letter of 

credit on behalf of (issuing institution) and I hereby certify 

that the wording of this letter of credit is identical to the 

wording specified in 9VAC20-70-290 C of the Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, 

and Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted 

on the date shown immediately below.  
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Attest:  

(Print name and title of official of issuing institution) (Date)  

    

(Signature) (Date) 

This credit is subject to (insert "the most recent edition of 

the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, 

published by the International Chamber of Commerce," of 

"the Uniform Commercial Code.")  

D. Assignment of certificate of deposit account.  

City _______________________ ____________, 20___  

FOR VALUE RECEIVED, the undersigned assigns all 

right, title and interest to the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, and its 

successors and assigns the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality the principal amount of the 

instrument, including all monies deposited now or in the 

future to that instrument, indicated below:  

() If checked here, this assignment includes all interest now 

and hereafter accrued.  

Certificate of Deposit Account No. 

_____________________  

This assignment is given as security to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality in the amount of 

_______________________ Dollars ($_____________).  

Continuing Assignment. This assignment shall continue to 

remain in effect for all subsequent terms of the automatically 

renewable certificate of deposit.  

Assignment of Document. The undersigned also assigns any 

certificate or other document evidencing ownership to the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.  

Additional Security. This assignment shall secure the 

payment of any financial obligation of the (name of 

owner/operator) to the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality for ("closure" "post closure care" "corrective action") 

at the (facility name and permit number) located (physical 

address)  

Application of Funds. The undersigned agrees that all or any 

part of the funds of the indicated account or instrument may 

be applied to the payment of any and all financial assurance 

obligations of (name of owner/operator) to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality for ("closure" "post 

closure care" "corrective action") at the (facility name and 

address). The undersigned authorizes the Virginia Department 

of Environmental Quality to withdraw any principal amount 

on deposit in the indicated account or instrument including 

any interest, if indicated, and to apply it in the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality's discretion to fund 

("closure" "post closure care" "corrective action") at the 

(facility name) or in the event of (owner or operator's) failure 

to comply with the Virginia Financial Assurance Regulations 

for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities, 

9VAC20-70. The undersigned agrees that the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality may withdraw any 

principal and/or interest from the indicated account or 

instrument without demand or notice. (The undersigned) 

agrees to assume any and all loss of penalty due to federal 

regulations concerning the early withdrawal of funds. Any 

partial withdrawal of principal or interest shall not release this 

assignment.  

The party or parties to this Assignment set their hand or 

seals, or if corporate, has caused this assignment to be signed 

in its corporate name by its duly authorized officers and its 

seal to be affixed by authority of its Board of Directors the 

day and year above written.  

  SEAL  

(Owner)    

    

(print owner's name)    

  SEAL 

(Owner)    

    

(print owner's name)    

THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED 

BY THE BRANCH OR LENDING OFFICE:  

The signature(s) as shown above compare correctly with the 

name(s) as shown on record as owner(s) of the Certificate of 

Deposit indicated above. The above assignment has been 

properly recorded by placing a hold in the amount of $ 

_______________________ for the benefit of the 

Department of Environmental Quality.  

() If checked here, the accrued interest on the Certificate of 

Deposit indicated above has been maintained to capitalize 

versus being mailed by check or transferred to a deposit 

account.  

      

(Signature)   (Date) 

      

(print name)     

      

(Title)     

E. Wording of certificate of insurance.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.)  
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CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE  

Name and Address of Insurer (herein called the "Insurer"):  

_____________  

_____________  

 

Name and Address of Insured (herein called the "Insured"):  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

Facilities Covered: (List for each facility: Permit number (if 

applicable), name, address and the amount of insurance for 

closure, post-closure care, or corrective action. (These 

amounts for all facilities covered shall total the face amount 

shown below.))  

Face Amount: $ __________  

Policy Number: __________  

Effective Date: ___________  

The Insurer hereby certifies that it has issued to the Insured 

the policy of insurance identified above to provide financial 

assurance for (insert "closure," "post-closure care," 

"corrective action") for the facilities identified above. The 

Insurer further warrants that such policy conforms in all 

respects with the requirements of 9VAC20-70-190 of the 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer, and Treatment Facilities ("Regulations") (9VAC20-

70), as such regulations were constituted on the date shown 

immediately below. It is agreed that any provision of the 

policy inconsistent with such regulations is hereby amended 

to eliminate such inconsistency.  

Whenever requested by the Director, the Insurer agrees to 

furnish to the Director a duplicate original of the policy listed 

above, including all endorsements thereon.  

I hereby certify that the wording of this certificate is 

identical to the wording specified in 9VAC20-70-290 E of the 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer, and Treatment Facilities as such regulations were 

constituted on the date shown immediately below.  

(Authorized signature for Insurer)  

(Name of person signing)  

(Title of person signing)  

Signature of witness or notary:  

(Date)  

F. Wording of letter from chief financial officer.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.)  

Director  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Dear (Sir, Madam):  

I am the chief financial officer of (name and address of 

firm). This letter is in support of this firm's use of the 

financial test to demonstrate financial assurance, as specified 

in 9VAC20-70-200 of the Financial Assurance Regulations 

for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities 

(9VAC20-70) ("Regulations").  

(Fill out the following four paragraphs regarding solid 

waste, regulated medical waste, yard waste composting, 

hazardous waste, underground injection (regulated under the 

federal program in 40 CFR Part 144, or its equivalent in other 

states), petroleum underground storage (9VAC25-590), above 

ground storage facilities (9VAC25-640) and PCB storage 

(regulated under 40 CFR Part 761) facilities and associated 

cost estimates. If your firm has no facilities that belong in a 

particular paragraph, write "None" in the space indicated. For 

each facility, include its name, address, permit number, if 

any, and current closure, post-closure care, corrective action 

or any other environmental obligation cost estimates. Identify 

each cost estimate as to whether it is for closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action or other environmental obligation.)  

1. This firm is the owner or operator of the following 

facilities for which financial assurance is demonstrated 

through the corporate test specified in 9VAC20-70-200 or 

its equivalent in other applicable regulations. The current 

cost estimates covered by the test are shown for each 

facility:  

2. This firm guarantees, through the corporate guarantee 

specified in 9VAC20-70-220, the financial assurance for 

the following facilities owned or operated by subsidiaries 

of this firm. The current cost estimates so guaranteed are 

shown for each facility:  

3. This firm, as owner or operator or guarantor, is 

demonstrating financial assurance for the following 

facilities through the use of a financial test. The current 

cost estimates covered by such a test are shown for each 

facility:  

4. This firm is the owner or operator of the following waste 

management facilities for which financial assurance is not 

demonstrated through the financial test or any other 

financial assurance mechanism. The current cost estimates 

for the facilities which are not covered by such financial 

assurance are shown for each facility:  

This firm (insert "is required" or "is not required") to file a 

Form 10K with the Securities and Exchange Commission 

(SEC) for the latest fiscal year.  
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The fiscal year of this firm ends on (month, day). The 

figures for the following items marked with an asterisk are 

derived from this firm's independently audited, year-end 

financial statements for the latest completed fiscal year, ended 

(date).  

1) Sum of current closure, post-

closure care, corrective action or 

other environmental obligations 

cost estimates (total of all cost 

estimates shown in the four 

paragraphs above.) $_____________ 

2) Tangible net worth* 

  

$_____________ 

3) Total assets located in the 

United States*  

$_____________ 

  YES 

  

NO 

Line 2 exceeds line 1 by at least 

$10 million? 

_____ _____ 

Line 3 exceeds line 1 by at least 

$10 million? 

_____ _____ 

(Fill in Alternative I if the criteria of 9VAC20-70-200 1 a 

(1) are used. Fill in Alternative II if the criteria of 9VAC20-

70-200 1 a (2) are used. Fill in Alternative III if the criteria of 

9VAC20-70-200 1 a (3) are used.)  

ALTERNATIVE I  

Current bond rating of this firm's senior unsubordinated debt 

and name of rating service  

Date of issuance of bond  

Date of maturity of bond  

ALTERNATIVE II  

4) Total liabilities* (if any portion of the 

closure, post-closure care, corrective 

action or other environmental obligations 

cost estimates is included in total 

liabilities, you may deduct the amount of 

that portion from this line and add that 

amount to line 5.) $____________ 

5) Net worth* $____________ 

Is line 4 divided by line 5 less than 1.5? YES NO 

  

ALTERNATIVE III  

6) Total liabilities*   $_______ 

7) The sum of net income plus depreciation, 

depletion, and amortization minus $10 

million*  

$_______ 

Is line 7 divided by line 6 less than 0.1? YES NO 

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to 

the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 F of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below.  

(Signature)  

(Name)  

(Title)  

(Date)  

G. Wording of the local government letter from chief 

financial officer.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses deleted.)  

LETTER FROM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER  

I am the chief financial officer of (insert: name and address 

of local government owner or operator, or guarantor). This 

letter is in support of the use of the financial test to 

demonstrate financial responsibility for ("closure care" "post-

closure care" "corrective action costs") arising from operating 

a solid waste management facility.  

The following facilities are assured by this financial test: 

(List for each facility: the name and address of the facility, 

the permit number, the closure, post-closure and/or corrective 

action costs, whichever applicable, for each facility covered 

by this instrument).  

This owner's or operator's financial statements were 

prepared in conformity with Generally Accepted Accounting 

Principles for governments and have been audited by ("an 

independent certified public accountant" "Auditor of Public 

Accounts"). The owner or operator has not received an 

adverse opinion or a disclaimer of opinion from ("an 

independent certified public accountant" "Auditor of Public 

Accounts") on its financial statements for the latest completed 

fiscal year.  

This owner or operator is not currently in default on any 

outstanding general obligation bond. Any outstanding issues 

of general obligation, if rated, have a Moody's rating of Aaa, 

Aa, A, or Baa or a Standard and Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A 

or BBB; if rated by both firms, the bonds have a Moody's 

rating of Aaa, Aa, A or Baa and a Standard and Poor's rating 

of AAA, AA, A, or BBB.  
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The fiscal year of this owner or operator ends on (month, 

day). The figures for the following items marked with the 

asterisk are derived from this owner's or operator's 

independently audited, year-end financial statements for the 

latest completed fiscal year ended (date).  

(Please complete Alternative I or Alternative II.)  

(Fill in Alternative I if the criteria in 9VAC20-70-210 1 a 

(1) are used. Fill in Alternative II if the criteria of 9VAC20-

70-210 1 a (2) are used.)  

ALTERNATIVE I - BOND RATING TEST  

The details of the issue date, maturity, outstanding amount, 

bond rating, and bond rating agency of all outstanding general 

obligation bond issues that are being used by (name of local 

government owner or operator, or guarantor) to demonstrate 

financial responsibility are as follows: (complete table):  

Issue 

Date 

Maturity 

Date 

Outstanding 

Amount 

Bond 

Rating 

Rating 

Agency 

______ ______ __________ ______ ___________ 

______ ______ __________ ______ ___________ 

______ ______ __________ ______ ___________ 

______ ______ __________ ______ ___________ 

______ ______ __________ ______ ___________ 

______ ______ ___________ ______ ___________ 

Any outstanding issues of general obligation bonds, if rated, 

have a Moody's rating of Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa or a Standard 

and Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A or BBB; if rated by both 

firms, the bonds have a Moody's rating of Aaa, Aa, A or Baa 

and a Standard and Poor's rating of AAA, AA, A or BBB.  

1) Sum of current closure, 

post-closure and corrective 

action cost estimates (total of 

all cost estimates listed above) $_______________ 

*2) Operating Deficit   

  (a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

  (b) previous fiscal year 

(insert year) 

$_______________ 

*3) Total Revenue   

  (a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

  (b) previous fiscal year 

(insert year) 

$_______________ 

4) Other self-insured 

environmental costs   

  (a) Amount of aggregate 

underground injection control 

systems financial assurance 

insured by a financial test 

under 40 CFR 144.62 $_______________ 

  (b) Amount of annual 

underground storage tank 

aggregate coverage insured 

by a financial test under 40 

CFR Part 280 and 9VAC25-

590  $_______________ 

  (c) Amount of aggregate 

costs associated with PCB 

storage facilities insured by a 

financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 761 $_______________ 

  (d) Amount of annual 

aggregate hazardous waste 

financial assurance insured 

by a financial test under 40 

CFR Parts 264 and 265 and 

9VAC20-60 $_______________ 

  (e) Total of lines 4(a) through 

4(d) 

$_______________ 

  YES NO 

5) Is (line 2a / line 3a) < 0.05? ____ ____ 

6) Is (line 2b / line 3b) < 0.05? ____ ____ 

7) Is (line 1 + line 4e) <= (line 3a x 0.43)? ____ ____ 

8) Is (line 1 + line 4e) <= (line 3a x 0.20)? ____ ____ 

If the answer to line 7 is yes and the answer to line 8 is no, 

please attach documentation from the agent/trustee /issuing 

institution stating the current balance of the account/fund 

/irrevocable letter of credit as of the latest fiscal reporting 

year to this form as required by 9VAC20-70-210.  

ALTERNATIVE II - FINANCIAL RATIO TEST  

1) Sum of current closure, 

post-closure and corrective 

action cost estimates $_______________ 

*2) Operating Deficit   

  (a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

  (b) previous fiscal year 

(insert year) 

$_______________ 
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*3) Total Revenue   

  (a) latest completed fiscal 

year (insert year) 

$_______________ 

  (b) previous fiscal year 

(insert year) 

$_______________ 

4) Other self-insured 

environmental costs   

  (a) Amount of aggregate 

underground injection control 

systems financial assurance 

insured by a financial test 

under 40 CFR 144.62 $_______________ 

  (b) Amount of annual 

underground storage tank 

aggregate coverage insured 

by a financial test under 40 

CFR Part 280 and 9VAC25-

590  $_______________ 

  (c) Amount of aggregate 

costs associated with PCB 

storage facilities insured by a 

financial test under 40 CFR 

Part 761 $_______________ 

  (d) Amount of annual 

aggregate hazardous waste 

financial assurance insured 

by a financial test under 40 

CFR Parts 264 and 265 and 

9VAC20-60 $_______________ 

  (e) Total of lines 4(a) through 

4(d) 

$_______________ 

*5) Cash plus marketable 

securities $_______________ 

*6) Total Expenditures $_______________ 

*7) Annual Debt Service $_______________ 

  YES NO 

8) Is (line 2a / line 3a) < 0.05? ____ ____ 

9) Is (line 2b / line 3b) < 0.05? ____ ____ 

10) Is (line 1 + line 4e) <= (line 3a x 

0.43)? 

____ ____ 

11) Is (line 5 / line 6) >= 0.05? ____ ____ 

12) Is (line 7 / line 6) <= 0.20? ____ ____ 

13) Is (line 1 + line 4e) <= (line 3a x.20) ____ ____ 

 

If the answer to line 13 is no, please attach documentation 

from the agent/trustee/issuing institution stating the current 

balance of the account/fund/irrevocable letter of credit as of 

the latest fiscal reporting year to this form as required by 

9VAC20-70-210.  

I hereby certify that the wording of this letter is identical to 

the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 G of the Financial Assurance 

Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, and 

Treatment Facilities as such regulations were constituted on 

the date shown immediately below.  

(Signature)  

(Name of person signing)  

(Title of person signing)  

(Date)  

H. Certification of funding.  

CERTIFICATION OF FUNDING  

I certify the following information details the current plan 

for funding closure and post closure at the solid waste 

management facilities listed below.  

      

Facility Permit #    Source for funding closure and 

post closure  

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

  

Name of Locality or Corporation: 

_______________________________________ 

          

          

Signature   Printed Name   Date 

          

Title         
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I. Certification of escrow/sinking fund /irrevocable letter of 

credit balance.  

CERTIFICATION OF ESCROW/SINKING FUND 

BALANCE OR AMOUNT OF IRREVOCABLE LETTER 

OF CREDIT  

I am the Chief Financial Officer of (name of locality) and 

hereby certify that as of (date) the current balance in the 

restricted sinking (type of fund) fund or the escrow account or 

the amount of the irrevocable letter of credit restricted to 

landfill closure costs is $_____________  

The calculation used to determine the amount required to be 

funded is as follows:  

(Show the values that were used in the following formula:  

(CE * CD) - E  

Where CE is the current closure cost estimate, CD is the 

percentage of landfill capacity used to date, and E is 

current year expenses for closure.)  

Therefore, this account has been funded or an irrevocable 

letter of credit has been obtained in accordance with the 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer and Treatment Facilities, 9VAC20-70.  

(Signature)  

(Name of person signing)  

(Title of person signing)  

(Date)  

J. I. Wording of corporate guarantee.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.)  

CORPORATE GUARANTEE  

Guarantee made this (date) by (name of guaranteeing 

entity), a business corporation organized under the laws of the 

state of (insert name of state), herein referred to as guarantor. 

This guarantee is made on behalf of the (owner or operator) 

of (business address), which is (one of the following: "our 

subsidiary"; "a subsidiary of (name and address of common 

parent corporation) of which guarantor is a subsidiary"; or "an 

entity with which the guarantor has a substantial business 

relationship, as defined in Part I of the Virginia Financial 

Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, Transfer, 

and Treatment Facilities (9VAC20-70)") to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality ("Department"), 

obligee, on behalf of our subsidiary (owner or operator) of 

(business address).  

Recitals  

1. Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria in 

9VAC20-70-200 and agrees to comply with the reporting 

requirements for guarantors as specified in 9VAC20-70-

220 of the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid 

Waste Disposal, Transfer, and Treatment Facilities 

("Regulations").  

2. (Owner or operator) owns or operates the following 

(solid, regulated medical, yard) waste management 

facility(ies) covered by this guarantee: (List for each 

facility: name, address, and permit number, if any. Indicate 

for each whether guarantee is for closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action or other environmental obligations.)  

3. "Closure plans", "post-closure care plans" and 

"corrective action plans" as used below refer to the plans 

maintained as required by the Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (9VAC20-81), or the Regulated Medical 

Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-120).  

4. For value received from (owner or operator), guarantor 

guarantees to the Department that in the event that (owner 

or operator) fails to perform (insert "closure," "post-closure 

care," or "corrective action") of the above facility(ies) in 

accordance with the closure or post-closure care plans and 

other (requirements of the) permit or (the order) whenever 

required to do so, the guarantor shall do so or establish a 

trust fund as specified in 9VAC20-70-140 in the name of 

(owner or operator) in the amount of the current cost 

estimates.  

5. Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year 

before termination of this guarantee, the guarantor fails to 

meet the financial test criteria, guarantor shall send within 

90 days, by certified mail, notice to the director and to 

(owner or operator) that he intends to provide alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of 

the Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator). 

Within 120 days after the end of such fiscal year, the 

guarantor shall establish such financial assurance unless 

(owner or operator) has done so.  

6. The guarantor agrees to notify the director by certified 

mail, of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 

11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, 

within 10 days after commencement of the proceeding.  

7. Guarantor agrees that within 30 days after being notified 

by the director of a determination that guarantor no longer 

meets the financial test criteria or that he is disallowed 

from continuing as a guarantor of closure, post-closure 

care, or corrective action, he shall establish alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of 

the Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator) unless 

(owner or operator) has done so.  

8. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

notwithstanding any or all of the following: amendment or 

modification of the closure, post-closure or corrective 

action plan, amendment or modification of the permit, 

amendment or modification of the order, the extension or 

reduction of the time of performance of closure, post-
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closure, or corrective action or any other modification or 

alteration of an obligation of the owner or operator 

pursuant to the (Solid Waste Management Regulations or 

Regulated Medical Waste Management Regulations or 

§ 10.1-1454.1 of the Code of Virginia).  

9. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

for so long as (owner or operator) shall comply with the 

applicable financial assurance requirements of Article 4 of 

Part III of the Regulations for the above-listed facilities, 

except as provided in paragraph 10 of this agreement.  

10. (Insert the following language if the guarantor is (a) a 

direct or higher-tier corporate parent, or (b) a firm whose 

parent corporation is also the parent corporation of the owner 

or operator:) Guarantor may terminate this guarantee by 

sending notice by certified mail to the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality and to the (owner or 

operator), provided that this guarantee may not be terminated 

unless and until (the owner or operator) obtains and the 

director approves, alternate (closure, post-closure, corrective 

action) coverage complying with the requirements of 

9VAC20-70. (Insert the following language if the guarantor is 

a firm qualifying as a guarantor due to its "substantial 

business relationship" with the owner or operator:) Guarantor 

may terminate this guarantee 120 days following the receipt of 

notification, through certified mail, by the director and by (the 

owner or operator).  

11. Guarantor agrees that if (owner or operator) fails to 

provide alternate financial assurance as specified in Article 

4 of Part III of the Regulations, and obtain written approval 

of such assurance from the director within 90 days after a 

notice of cancellation by the guarantor is received by the 

director from guarantor, guarantor shall provide such 

alternate financial assurance in the name of (owner or 

operator).  

12. Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this 

guarantee by the Department or by (owner or operator). 

Guarantor also expressly waives notice of amendments or 

modifications of the closure and/or post-closure plan and 

of amendments or modifications of the facility permit(s).  

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is 

identical to the wording in 9VAC20-70-290 JI of the 

Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste Disposal, 

Transfer, and Treatment Facilities as such regulations were 

constituted on the date shown immediately below.  

(Name of guarantor)  

Effective date: __________  

(Authorized signature for guarantor) __________  

(Name of person signing) __________  

(Title of person signing) __________  

Signature of witness or notary: __________  

K. J. Wording of local government guarantee.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant information and the parentheses removed.)  

LOCAL GOVERNMENT GUARANTEE  

Guarantee made this (date) by (name of guaranteeing 

entity), a local government created under the laws of the state 

of Virginia, herein referred to as guarantor. This guarantee is 

made on behalf of the (owner or operator) of (address), to the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

("Department"), obligee.  

Recitals  

1. Guarantor meets or exceeds the financial test criteria in 

9VAC20-70-210 and agrees to comply with the reporting 

requirements for guarantors as specified in 9VAC20-70-

230 of the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid 

Waste Disposal, Treatment and Transfer Facilities 

("Regulations").  

2. (Owner or operator) owns or operates the following 

(solid, regulated medical, yard) waste management 

facility(ies) covered by this guarantee: (List for each 

facility: name, address, and permit number, if any. Indicate 

for each whether guarantee is for closure, post-closure 

care, corrective action or other environmental obligations.)  

3. "Closure plans" and "post-closure care plans" as used 

below refer to the plans maintained as required by the 

Solid Waste Management Regulations (9VAC20-81). 

4. For value received from (owner or operator), guarantor 

guarantees to the Department that in the event that (owner 

or operator) fails to perform (insert "closure," "post-closure 

care," or "corrective action") of the above facility(ies) in 

accordance with the closure or post-closure care plans and 

other (requirements of the) permit or (the order) whenever 

required to do so, the guarantor shall do so or establish a 

trust fund as specified in 9VAC20-70-150 in the name of 

(owner or operator) in the amount of the current cost 

estimates.  

5. Guarantor agrees that if, at the end of any fiscal year 

before termination of this guarantee, the guarantor fails to 

meet the financial test criteria, guarantor shall send within 

90 days, by certified mail, notice to the director and to 

(owner or operator) that he intends to provide alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of 

the Regulations, in the name of (owner or operator). 

Within 120 days after the end of such fiscal year, the 

guarantor shall establish such financial assurance unless 

(owner or operator) has done so.  

6. The guarantor agrees to notify the director by certified 

mail, of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under Title 

11 (bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming guarantor as debtor, 

within 10 days after commencement of the proceeding.  
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7. Guarantor agrees that within 30 days after being notified 

by the director of a determination that guarantor no longer 

meets the financial test criteria or that he is disallowed 

from continuing as a guarantor of closure, post-closure 

care, or corrective action, he shall establish alternate 

financial assurance as specified in Article 4 of Part III of 

the Regulations in the name of (owner or operator) unless 

(owner or operator) has done so.  

8. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

notwithstanding any or all of the following: amendment or 

modification of the closure or post-closure plan, 

amendment or modification of the closure or post-closure 

plan, amendment or modification of the permit, 

amendment or modification of the order, the extension or 

reduction of the time of performance of the closure or post-

closure, or any other modification or alteration of an 

obligation of the owner or operator pursuant to the Virginia 

(Solid Waste Management or Regulated Medical Waste 

Management) Regulations.  

9. Guarantor agrees to remain bound under this guarantee 

for so long as (owner or operator) shall comply with the 

applicable financial assurance requirements of Article 4 of 

Part III of the Regulations for the above-listed facilities, 

except as provided in paragraph 10 of this agreement.  

10. Guarantor may terminate this guarantee by sending 

notice by certified mail to the Director of the Department 

of Environmental Quality and to the (owner or operator), 

provided that this guarantee may not be terminated unless 

and until (the owner or operator) obtains and the director 

approves, alternate (closure, post-closure, corrective 

action,) coverage complying with the requirements of 

9VAC20-70.  

11. Guarantor agrees that if (owner or operator) fails to 

provide alternate financial assurance as specified in Article 

4 of Part III of the Regulations, and obtain written approval 

of such assurance from the director with 90 days after a 

notice of cancellation by the guarantor is received by the 

director from guarantor, guarantor shall provide such 

alternate financial assurance in the name of (owner or 

operator).  

12. Guarantor expressly waives notice of acceptance of this 

guarantee by the Department or by (owner or operator). 

Guarantor also expressly waives notice of amendments or 

modifications of the closure and/or post-closure plan and 

of amendments or modifications of the facility permit(s).  

I hereby certify that the wording of this guarantee is 

identical to the wording specified in 9VAC20-70-290 K J of 

the Financial Assurance Regulations for Solid Waste 

Disposal, Transfer and Treatment Facilities as such 

regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately 

below.  

(Name of guarantor) __________  

Effective date: __________  

(Authorized signature for guarantor) __________  

(Name of person signing) __________  

(Title of person signing) __________  

Signature of witness or notary: __________  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5480; Filed June 23, 2019, 11:56 a.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-90) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program - 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 

Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 11/2014) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 6/2018) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 6/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6059; Filed July 1, 2019, 3:32 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors, and an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Virginia Waste Management 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6cda9004221~2&typ=40&actno=004221&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be422006059~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006059&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be422006059~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006059&mime=application/pdf
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-110. Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (amending 

9VAC20-110-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1450 and 44-146.30 of the Code 

of Virginia; 49 USC §§ 1809 through 1810; 49 CFR Parts 

107, 170 through 180, 383, and 390 through 397. 

Effective Date: August 21, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Harris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 698-4019, or 

email debra.harris@deq.virgina.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the federal regulations from Title 

49 of the Code of Federal Regulations that are 

incorporated by reference into Virginia's Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Hazardous Materials 

(9VAC20-110) to the latest version as published on 

October 1, 2018. 

Part III  

Compliance with Federal Regulations  

9VAC20-110-110. Compliance.  

A. Every person who transports or offers for transportation 

hazardous materials within or through the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall comply with the federal regulations governing 

the transportation of hazardous materials promulgated by the 

U.S. Secretary of Transportation with amendments 

promulgated as of October 1, 2016 2018, pursuant to the 

Hazardous Materials Transportation Act, and located at Title 

49 of the Code of Federal Regulations as set forth below and 

which are incorporated in these regulations by reference:  

1. Special Permits. 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart B.  

2. Registration of Cargo Tank and Cargo Tank Motor 

Vehicle Manufacturers, Assemblers, Repairers, Inspectors, 

Testers, and Design Certifying Engineers in 49 CFR Part 

107, Subpart F.  

3. Registration of Persons Who Offer or Transport 

Hazardous Materials in 49 CFR Part 107, Subpart G.  

4. Hazardous Materials Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 171 

through 177.  

5. Specifications for Packagings in 49 CFR Part 178.  

6. Specifications for Tank Cars in 49 CFR Part 179.  

7. Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of 

Packagings in 49 CFR Part 180.  

8. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations in 49 CFR Parts 390 

through 397.  

 

B. The references to and incorporation by reference of 

49 CFR Part 390 into this chapter includes the compliance 

date extension as promulgated by the U.S. Department of 

Transportation's Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

(83 FR 62505, December 4, 2018). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5539; Filed June 27, 2019, 8:41 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-640. Aboveground Storage 

Tank and Pipeline Facility Financial Responsibility 

Requirements (amending 9VAC25-640-30; repealing 

9VAC25-640-250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.34:16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal basis for the Aboveground Storage Tank and 

Pipeline Facility Financial Responsibility Requirements 

(9VAC25-640) is the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Specifically, § 62.1-44.34:16 

D of the Code of Virginia authorizes the State Water Control 

Board to promulgate regulations requiring operators of 

facilities to demonstrate financial responsibility based on the 

total storage capacity of all facilities operated within the 

Commonwealth and operators of pipelines to demonstrate 

financial responsibility for any pipelines operated within the 

Commonwealth. 

Purpose: The amendment modifies the language in 9VAC25-

640-30 to include the revisions made to the exclusions in 

9VAC25-91-30 of the Facility and Aboveground Storage 

Tank (AST) Regulation. This will remove confusion 

concerning activities excluded from regulation. The 

amendments are necessary to protect the public health, safety, 

and welfare as they remove confusion concerning activities 

excluded from the regulation. 

9VAC25-640-250, which is obsolete, is being repealed. 

Regulations are periodically reviewed as required by 

Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of 

the Code of Virginia and the regulatory language is no longer 

needed or applicable. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments are expected to be noncontroversial 

and therefore justify using the fast-track rulemaking process.  

Substance: This amendment modifies the language in 

9VAC25-640-30 to include the revisions made to the 

exclusions in 9VAC25-91-30 of the Facility and 

Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Regulation. This will 

remove confusion concerning activities excluded from 

regulation.  

9VAC25-640-250, which is obsolete is also being repealed. 

Issues: The public, regulated community, and agency will all 

benefit from these changes. There are no disadvantages to the 

public, regulated community, or agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to incorporate 

the changes that occurred in a companion regulation. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. This regulation establishes 

financial assurance requirements for facilities and individual 

storage tanks that are subject to a companion regulation, the 

Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Regulation 

(9VAC25-91). The companion regulation contains the 

technical requirements for registration of facilities and 

individual ASTs among others. The Board recently excluded 

ASTs that are an integral part of an equipment or machinery 

(e.g., fuel tank affixed into the frame of an emergency 

generator) from registration.1 In the same action, the Board 

also added an example to clarify that airport refueling trucks 

and mobile refueling vehicles are exempt from registration 

because they are examples of "licensed motor vehicles" that 

are already excluded from the regulation. In this action, the 

Board proposes to incorporate in this regulation the new 

exemption and the clarification of an existing exemption in 

the companion regulation. 

The companion regulation determines whether a facility or an 

individual AST is subject to registration. Thus, when the 

companion regulation was amended to exempt certain 

equipment, the financial assurance requirements relating to 

those types of ASTs were automatically made obsolete. As a 

result, amending this regulation will have no economic 

impact other than improving the clarity of this regulation and 

consistency between this regulation and the companion 

regulation. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. At the end of fiscal year 

2017, there were 10,972 active registered ASTs in Virginia. 

These ASTs were located at 4,003 facilities within the state. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not affect any particular locality more than others. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not have any effect on employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not have any effect on the use and 

value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 

development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. According to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, there are 2,030 facilities that only 

have one AST registered, which is an indication that the 

facility is likely a small business. The proposed changes do 

not affect costs for them, but will likely improve clarity of the 

regulation. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not have adverse effects on small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not have adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities. 

______________________ 

1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=6844 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Environmental Quality has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) revise the list of exclusions in 

9VAC25-640 for consistency with the Facility and 

Aboveground Storage Tank Regulation (9VAC25-91-30), a 

companion regulation, and (ii) repeal an obsolete section 

regarding regular review of the regulation. 

9VAC25-640-30. Exclusions.  

The requirements of this chapter do not apply to:  

1. Vessels;  

http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewstage.cfm?stageid=6844
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2. Licensed motor vehicles, unless used solely for the 

storage of oil (e.g., airport refueling trucks and mobile 

refueling vehicles);  

3. An AST with a storage capacity of 660 gallons or less of 

oil, except with regard to purposes of the requirements of 

9VAC25-640-220;  

4. An AST containing petroleum, including crude oil or 

any fraction thereof, which is liquid at standard 

temperature and pressure (60°F at 14.7 pounds per square 

inch absolute) subject to and specifically listed or 

designated as a hazardous substance under subparagraphs 

(A) through (F) of § 101(14) of the federal Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act 

(CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601 et seq.);  

5. A wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a 

wastewater treatment facility regulated under § 402 or 

§ 307(b) of the federal Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq.);  

6. An AST that is regulated by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy under Chapter 22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et 

seq.) of Title 45.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

7. An AST used for the storage of products that are 

regulated pursuant to the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic 

Act (21 USC § 301 et seq.), except with regard to purposes 

of the requirements of 9VAC25-640-220;  

8. An AST that is used to store hazardous wastes listed or 

identified under Subtitle C of the Resource Conservation 

and Recovery Act (RCRA) (Solid Waste Disposal Act) 

(42 USC § 6901 et seq.);  

9. An AST that is used to store propane gas, butane gas, or 

other liquid petroleum gases;  

10. An AST used to store nonpetroleum hydrocarbon-

based animal and vegetable oils;  

11. A liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly 

related to oil or gas production, or gathering operations;  

12. A surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon;  

13. A storm water or wastewater collection system;  

14. Equipment or machinery that contains oil for 

operational purposes, including but not limited to 

lubricating systems, hydraulic systems, and heat transfer 

systems;  

15. An AST that forms an integral part (cannot be readily 

detached or removed) of the equipment or machinery and 

the contents of the AST are solely used by the attached 

equipment or machinery (e.g., fuel tank affixed into the 

frame of an emergency generator); 

16. An AST used to contain oil for less than 120 days 

when: (i) used in connection with activities related to the 

containment and clean up of oil; (ii) used by a federal, 

state, or local entity in responding to an emergency; or (iii) 

used temporarily on site to replace permanent storage 

capacity, except with regard to purposes of the 

requirements of 9VAC25-640-220;  

16. 17. Oil-filled electrical equipment, including, but not 

limited to, transformers, circuit breakers, or capacitors;  

17. 18. A flow-through process tank;  

18. 19. Oily water separators;  

19. 20. An AST containing dredge spoils;  

20. 21. An AST located on a farm or residence used for 

storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes with an 

aggregated storage capacity of 1,100 gallons or less, except 

with regard to purposes of the requirements of 9VAC25-

640-220;  

21. 22. Pipes or piping beyond the first valve from the AST 

that connects an AST with production process tanks or 

production process equipment;  

22. 23. An AST storing asphalt and asphalt compounds 

which are not liquid at standard conditions of temperature 

and pressure (60°F at 14.7 pounds per square inch 

absolute);  

23. 24. Underground storage tanks regulated under a state 

program;  

24. 25. An AST with a capacity of 5,000 gallons or less 

used for storing heating oil for consumptive use on the 

premises where stored, except with regard to purposes of 

the requirements of 9VAC25-640-220.  

9VAC25-640-250. Evaluation of chapter. (Repealed.) 

A. By October 31, 2012, the department shall perform an 

analysis on this chapter and provide the board with a report on 

the results. The analysis shall include (i) the purpose and need 

for the chapter; (ii) alternatives that would achieve the stated 

purpose of this chapter in a less burdensome and less intrusive 

manner; (iii) an assessment of the effectiveness of this chapter; 

(iv) the results of a review of current state and federal statutory 

and regulatory requirements, including identification and 

justification of requirements of this chapter which are more 

stringent than federal requirements; and (v) the results of a 

review as to whether this chapter is clearly written and easily 

understandable by affected entities. 

B. Upon review of the department's analysis, the board shall 

confirm the need to (i) continue this chapter without 

amendments, (ii) repeal this chapter or (iii) amend this chapter. If 

the board's decision is to repeal or amend this chapter, the board 

shall authorize the department to initiate the applicable 

regulatory process to carry out the decision of the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-4744; Filed June 23, 2019, 12:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-120. Money Order Sellers 

and Money Transmitters (amending 10VAC5-120-10, 

10VAC5-120-20, 10VAC5-120-40 through 10VAC5-120-

70; adding 10VAC5-120-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1913 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement Chapter 634 of the 2019 Acts 

of Assembly and require licensees to register with the 

Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry 

(NMLS). Amendments (i) require current licensees to 

transition to NMLS and for other persons seeking a license 

under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code of Virginia to apply through NMLS; (ii) require 

licensees to maintain current information in NMLS 

records; (iii) clarify that licenses must be renewed 

annually between November 1 and December 31; (iv) 

replace existing reporting requirements with a requirement 

that licensees file quarterly call reports through NMLS 

along with information concerning their financial 

condition; (v) establish the time period within which 

licensees must file audited financial statements required by 

§ 6.2-1905 D of the Code of Virginia; (vi) provide that the 

authorized delegate information referenced in § 6.2-1917 

B of the Code of Virginia must be submitted through the 

NMLS agent reporting functionality; (vii) specify that the 

annual assessment is calculated using the information 

reported by licensees in quarterly call reports or other 

written reports required by the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions; (viii) provide that if the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions requests information from an applicant to 

complete a deficient application and the information is not 

received within 60 days of the request, the application is 

deemed abandoned unless an extension of time is requested 

and approved prior to the expiration of the 60-day period; 

and (ix) make other technical changes for consistency and 

clarity.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 1, 2019 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2019-00016 

Ex Parte: In re: Money Order Sellers 

and Money Transmitters 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On May 21, 2019, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 

proposal by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to 

amend the Commission's regulations governing licensed 

money order sellers and money transmitters ("licensees"), 

which are set forth in Chapter 120 of Title 10 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code ("Chapter 120"). 

The proposed amendments to Chapter 120 were prompted 

by Chapter 634 of the 2019 Virginia Acts of Assembly, 

which became effective on July 1, 2019, and requires all 

licensees to register with the Nationwide Multistate Licensing 

System and Registry ("NMLS"). The proposal sets forth the 

requirements for current licensees to transition to NMLS and 

for other persons seeking a license under Chapter 19 of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia to submit their applications 

through NMLS. Additionally, the proposed regulations 

require licensees to maintain current information in their 

NMLS records and clarify that all licenses must be renewed 

annually between November 1 and December 31. The 

proposal also: (i) replaces the existing reporting requirements 

in subsections A and B of 10 VAC 5-120-40 with a 

requirement that licensees file quarterly call reports through 

NMLS along with information concerning their financial 

condition; (ii) prescribes the time period within which 

licensees must file the audited financial statements required 

by § 6.2-1905 D of the Code of Virginia; (iii) requires the 

authorized delegate information specified in § 6.2-1917 B of 

the Code of Virginia to be submitted through the agent 

reporting functionality in NMLS; (iv) specifies that the 

annual assessment will be calculated using the information 

reported by licensees in their quarterly call reports or other 

written reports that may be required by the Commissioner of 

Financial Institutions; and (v) provides that if the Bureau 

requests information from an applicant to complete a 

deficient application and such information is not received 

within 60 days of the Bureau's request, the application will be 

deemed abandoned unless an extension of time is requested 

and approved prior to the expiration of the 60-day period. 

Various technical and conforming amendments were also 

proposed. 
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The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on June 10, 

2019, posted on the Commission's website, and sent to all 

licensees and other interested parties. Licensees and other 

interested parties were afforded the opportunity to file written 

comments or request a hearing on or before June 21, 2019. 

No comments or requests for a hearing were filed. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed regulations, the record herein, and applicable law, 

concludes that the proposed regulations should be adopted as 

proposed with an effective date of July 15, 2019. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, as attached hereto, are adopted 

effective July 15, 2019. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 

for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 

attached regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 

and the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall 

forthwith send by e-mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, 

together with a copy of the attached regulations, to all 

licensed money order sellers and money transmitters, and 

such other interested parties as he may designate. 

10VAC5-120-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Authorized delegate," "licensee," "monetary value," 

"money order," and "outstanding" shall have the meanings 

ascribed to them in § 6.2-1900 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Bureau," "commission," and "commissioner" shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Chapter 19" means Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Generally accepted accounting principles" for purposes of 

Chapter 19 and this chapter means standard accounting 

guidelines as established and administered by the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and the 

United States Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB). 

"Merchant or service provider" means a person engaged in 

the business of selling goods or services, but excluding a 

person licensed or required to be licensed under Chapter 19. 

"Money transmission" for purposes of Chapter 19 and this 

chapter shall have the meaning ascribed to it in § 6.2-1900 of 

the Code of Virginia. However, the term shall not include the 

actions of an agent who collects funds on behalf of a 

merchant or service provider, provided that (i) the agent has 

been explicitly designated in a written agreement as an agent 

of the merchant or service provider; (ii) any funds collected 

by the agent shall be deemed for all purposes to be received 

by the merchant or service provider, regardless of whether the 

agent actually remits such funds to the merchant or service 

provider; (iii) the agent provides the Virginia resident with a 

dated receipt indicating that payment to the agent constitutes 

payment to the merchant or service provider; and (iv) there is 

no risk of loss to the Virginia resident if the agent fails to 

remit such resident's funds to the merchant or service 

provider. This definition shall not be construed to prohibit the 

merchant or service provider from seeking indemnification 

from its agent for any direct losses incurred due to the agent's 

failure to remit funds in accordance with its agreement. 

"Reporting period" means a calendar quarter, the first six 

months of a calendar year, or the last six months of a calendar 

year, as the case may be. 

"Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry" and 

"registry" shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 6.2-

1900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Senior officer" for purposes of Chapter 19 means an 

individual who has significant management responsibility 

within an organization or otherwise has the authority to 

influence or control the conduct of the organization's affairs, 

including but not limited to its compliance with applicable 

laws and regulations.  

10VAC5-120-20. Surety bond standards.  

A. Every licensee shall be bonded in a principal amount 

determined by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions. 

The bond amount shall be equal to the licensee's Virginia 

average monthly money order sales during the preceding two 

reporting periods calendar quarters, or its Virginia average 

monthly money transmission volume during such periods, or 

both, as applicable, rounded to the next highest multiple of 

$10,000, but not exceeding $500,000. The commissioner, 

however, may increase the amount of bond required to a 

maximum of $1 million upon the basis of the impaired 

financial condition of a licensee, as evidenced by net worth 

reduction, financial losses, or other relevant criteria.  

B. The amount of bond required of a new licensee shall be 

based upon the applicant's financial condition, capitalization, 

projected Virginia monthly money order sales and money 

transmission volume, experience, and other factors deemed 

pertinent.  

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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C. The minimum bond required shall be $25,000.  

D. The form of the bond will be prescribed and provided by 

the commissioner. The required bond shall be submitted prior 

to the issuance of a license, and shall be maintained 

continuously thereafter as long as the licensee or former 

licensee has money orders outstanding or unfulfilled money 

transmission agreements.  

10VAC5-120-35. Nationwide Multistate Licensing System 

and Registry. 

A. Applications for a license under Chapter 19 shall be 

made through the registry in accordance with instructions 

provided by the commissioner. The commissioner may 

provide these instructions through the registry, on the 

commission's Internet website, or by any other means the 

commissioner deems appropriate. 

B. Every licensee holding a license under Chapter 19 prior 

to July 1, 2019, shall register with the registry and file 

through the registry a transition request for its license under 

Chapter 19 no later than September 1, 2019. 

C. Every licensee shall maintain current information in its 

records with the registry. Except as otherwise required by 

Chapter 19 or this chapter, a licensee shall update its 

information as soon as is practicable, but in no event later 

than 10 business days from when a change takes effect. 

D. A license issued under Chapter 19 shall expire on 

December 31 of each calendar year unless it is renewed by a 

licensee on or after November 1 of the same year. However, 

licenses that are granted between November 1 and December 

31 shall not expire until the end of the following calendar 

year. A license shall be renewed upon the commissioner 

finding that the licensee has satisfied the requirements set 

forth in subsection F of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-120-40. Reporting and filing requirements.  

A. 1. Licensees licensed for less than three years shall file 

reports with the commissioner within 45 days after the end of 

each calendar quarter.  

2. Licensees licensed for three years or longer shall file 

reports with the commissioner within 45 days after the end 

of each semiannual reporting period.  

3. Licensees affiliated by common ownership with another 

licensee licensed for three years or longer, and licensees 

that acquire all or part of the money order sales business or 

money transmission business of another licensee licensed 

for three years or longer, shall file reports with the 

commissioner within 45 days after the end of each 

semiannual reporting period.   

Pursuant to subsection D of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia, every licensee shall file quarterly call reports 

through the registry as well as such other information 

pertaining to the licensee's financial condition as may be 

required by the registry. Reports shall be in such form, 

contain such information, and be submitted with such 

frequency and by such dates as the registry may require. 

Compliance with this subsection shall satisfy the requirement 

in subsection B of § 6.2-1917 of the Code of Virginia that a 

licensee file its quarterly financial statements with the 

commissioner. 

B. Licensees shall file a report of outstandings and 

permissible investments with the commissioner within 45 

days after the end of each calendar quarter. 

C. Within one business day after a licensee becomes aware 

of the occurrence of any of the following events, the licensee 

shall file a written report with the commissioner describing 

the event:  

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 

are filed by or against the licensee.  

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the licensee. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the licensee's money order seller 

license, money transmitter license, or other license for a 

similar business; (ii) takes formal administrative, 

regulatory, or enforcement action against the licensee 

relating to its money order sales, money transmission, or 

similar business; or (iii) takes any other action against the 

licensee relating to its money order sales, money 

transmission, or similar business where the total amount of 

restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 

$20,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 

commissioner with information about such event to the 

extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 

another state. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the licensee violated any law 

or regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed 

money order sales, money transmission, or similar 

business, the licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the 

entry of, a settlement or consent order, decree, or 

agreement with or by such governmental authority. 

5. The licensee surrenders its money order seller license, 

money transmitter license, or other license for a similar 

business in another state in lieu of threatened or pending 

license revocation; license suspension; or other 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action. 

6. The licensee is denied a money order seller license, 

money transmitter license, or other license for a similar 

business in another state. 
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7. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 

officers, principals, employees, or authorized delegates is 

indicted or convicted of a felony. 

D. C. The reports required by this section shall contain such 

information as the commissioner may require. The 

commissioner may require such additional reports as he 

deems necessary. 

D. Every licensee shall file the audited financial statements 

required by subsection D of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia within 105 days of the end of its fiscal year. For 

example, if a licensee's fiscal year ends on March 31, its 

audited financial statements must be filed by July 14 of the 

same year. If a licensee is unable to file its audited financial 

statements within 105 days of the end of its fiscal year, the 

licensee may request an extension, which may be granted by 

the commissioner for good cause shown. A licensee's audited 

financial statements shall cover the prior 12-month fiscal 

period and be prepared in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles. 

E. The authorized delegate information required by 

subsection B of § 6.2-1917 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

submitted to the commissioner through the registry's agent 

reporting functionality. 

F. Any reports, notifications, or filings required by Chapter 

19 or this chapter may be submitted to the commissioner 

through the registry, provided that the registry is capable of 

receiving such reports, notifications, or filings. 

10VAC5-120-50. Assessment schedule for the examination 

and supervision of money order sellers and money 

transmitters. 

Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of 

Virginia, the commission sets the following schedule for the 

annual assessment to be paid by persons licensed under 

Chapter 19. The assessment defrays the costs of the 

examination and supervision of licensees by the bureau. 

The annual assessment shall be $0.000047 per dollar of 

money orders sold and money transmitted by a licensee 

pursuant to Chapter 19. The assessment shall be based on the 

dollar volume of business conducted by a licensee, either 

directly or through its authorized delegates, during the 

calendar year preceding the year of the assessment as reported 

by each licensee in (i) the quarterly call reports filed through 

the registry or (ii) such other written reports as the 

commissioner may require pursuant to subsection D of § 6.2-

1905 of the Code of Virginia. If a licensee fails to fully report 

its volume information for the prior calendar year by the 

assessment date, a provisional fee subject to adjustment when 

the information is reported, shall be assessed. 

The amount calculated using the above schedule in this 

section shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before August 1 for the current 

calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by licensees on or 

before September 1. 

The annual report, due April 15 each year, of each licensee 

provides the basis for its assessment. In cases where a license 

has been granted between January 1 and April 15 of the year 

of the assessment, the licensee's initial annual assessment 

shall be $0. 

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are 

apart from, and do not include, the following: (i) the annual 

license renewal fee of $750 authorized by subsection A of 

§ 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the reimbursement 

for expenses authorized by subsection C of § 6.2-1905 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-120-60. Responding to requests from the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions; providing false, misleading, or 

deceptive information. 

A. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 

records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 

or its authorized delegate in connection with the bureau's 

investigation, enforcement, or examination of compliance 

with applicable laws and regulations, the licensee or 

authorized delegate shall deliver a written response as well as 

any requested books, records, documentation, or information 

within the time period specified in the bureau's request. If no 

time period is specified, a written response as well as any 

requested books, records, documentation, or information shall 

be delivered by the licensee or its authorized delegate to the 

bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request. In 

determining the specified time period for responding to the 

bureau and when considering a request for an extension of 

time to respond, the bureau shall take into consideration the 

volume and complexity of the requested written response, 

books, records, documentation, or information, and such 

other factors as the bureau determines to be relevant under the 

circumstances. Requests made by the bureau pursuant to this 

subsection are deemed to be in furtherance of the bureau's 

investigation and examination authority provided for in § 6.2-

1910 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. A licensee shall not provide any false, misleading, or 

deceptive information to the bureau. 

C. If the bureau requests information from an applicant to 

complete a deficient application filed under § 6.2-1903 or 6.2-

1914 of the Code of Virginia, and the information is not 

received within 60 days of the request, the application shall 

be deemed abandoned unless a request for an extension of 

time is received and approved by the bureau prior to the 

expiration of the 60-day period. 
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10VAC5-120-70. Acquisitions; additional business 

requirements and restrictions; operating rules. 

A. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 

corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 

person licensed to conduct business under Chapter 19 shall 

pay a nonrefundable application fee of $500.  

B. A licensee shall not permit an authorized delegate to 

designate or appoint a subdelegate to sell money orders or 

engage in money transmission business. 

C. The audited financial statements filed by a licensee 

pursuant to § 6.2-1905 D of the Code of Virginia shall cover 

the prior 12-month fiscal period and be prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.  

D. Quarterly financial statements filed by a licensee 

pursuant to § 6.2-1917 B of the Code of Virginia shall be 

consolidated and prepared in accordance with generally 

accepted accounting principles. 

E. A licensee shall comply with Chapter 19, this chapter, 

and all other state and federal laws and regulations applicable 

to the conduct of its business. For purposes of Chapter 19 and 

this chapter, the acts and omissions of a licensee's authorized 

delegates shall be deemed acts and omissions of such 

licensee. 

F. D. In addition to the records specified in subsection B of 

§ 6.2-1916 B of the Code of Virginia, a licensee shall 

maintain in its principal place of business such other books, 

accounts, and records as the commissioner may reasonably 

require in order to determine whether such licensee is 

complying with the provisions of Chapter 19, this chapter, 

and other laws and regulations applicable to the conduct of its 

business. 

G. E. If a licensee, authorized delegate, or former licensee 

disposes of records containing a consumer's personal 

financial information or copies of a consumer's identification 

documents, such records and copies shall be shredded, 

incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure manner. A 

licensee, authorized delegate, or former licensee may arrange 

for service from a business record destruction vendor. 

H. F. A licensee or former licensee shall provide the 

following information to the bureau within 10 days after such 

person's license is surrendered or revoked or the licensed 

business is otherwise closed: (i) the names, addresses, 

telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email addresses of a 

designated contact person and the person who consumers may 

contact regarding outstanding money orders or money 

transmission transactions; (ii) the location of the licensee's or 

former licensee's money order and money transmission 

records; and (iii) any additional information that the bureau 

may reasonably require. A licensee or former licensee shall 

maintain current information with the bureau until the 

licensee or former licensee has no outstanding money orders 

and money transmission transactions. 

I. G. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of 

Chapter 19 and this chapter applicable to licensees in 

connection with all money orders sold and money or 

monetary value received for transmission while licensed 

under Chapter 19 notwithstanding the occurrence of any of 

the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered or revoked; or 

2. The person ceases selling money orders or transmitting 

money or monetary value. 

J. H. A licensee shall not provide any information to a 

Virginia resident that is false, misleading, or deceptive. 

K. I. A licensee shall not engage in any activity that directly 

or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions of Chapter 

19 or this chapter. 

L. J. A licensee shall continuously maintain the 

requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-

1906 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6009; Filed July 1, 2019, 4:27 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-220. Virginia Medical Care 

Facilities Certificate of Public Need Rules and 

Regulations (amending 12VAC5-220-100; adding 

12VAC5-220-155).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-102.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Division Director, COPN, 

MCHIP, and Cooperative Agreement, Virginia Department of 

Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-1889, or email 

erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

As required by legislation enacted during the 2019 Session 

of the General Assembly, the amendments (i) establish an 

exemption from the requirement for a certificate of public 

need, for a period of no more than 30 days, for projects 

involving a temporary increase in the total number of beds 

in an existing hospital or nursing home when the 

commissioner has determined that a natural or man-made 

disaster has caused the evacuation of a hospital or nursing 

home and that a public health emergency exists due to a 

shortage of hospital or nursing home beds (Chapters 136 

and 343) and (ii) require every medical care facility 

subject to the requirements of certificate of public need law 

whose certificate does not include conditions for charity 

care but opt to provide charity care to annually report the 

amount of charity care provided to the commissioner 

(Chapter 839).  

Part III  

Mandatory Requirements  

12VAC5-220-100. Requirements for reviewable medical 

care facility projects; exceptions.  

A. Prior to initiating a reviewable medical care facility 

project the owner or sponsor shall obtain a certificate of 

public need from the commissioner. In the case of an 

acquisition of an existing medical care facility, the 

notification requirement set forth in 12VAC5-220-120 shall 

be met.  

B. Projects involving a temporary increase in the total 

number of beds in an existing hospital or nursing home shall 

be exempt from the requirement for a certificate, for a period 

of no more than 30 days, if the commissioner has determined 

that a natural or man-made disaster has caused the evacuation 

of a hospital or nursing home and that a public health 

emergency exists due to a shortage of hospital or nursing 

home beds. 

12VAC5-220-155. Requirements for the reporting of 

charity care. 

Every medical care facility subject to the requirements of 

Article 1.1 (§ 32.1-102.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 32.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, other than a nursing home, that is not a 

medical care facility for which a certificate with conditions 

imposed pursuant to § 32.1-102.4 F of the Code of Virginia 

has been issued and that provides charity care, as defined in 

§ 32.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall annually report to 

the commissioner the amount of charity care provided. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5942; Filed June 20, 2019, 5:41 p.m.  

 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-

30, 12VAC5-371-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Robert Payne, Director, Office of Licensure 

and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In accordance with Chapters 136 and 343 of the 2019 Acts 

of Assembly, the amendment establishes an exemption, for 

a period of no more than 30 days, from the requirement to 

obtain a license to add temporary beds in an existing 

nursing home when the commissioner has determined that 

a natural or man-made disaster has caused the evacuation 

of a hospital or nursing home and that a public health 

emergency exists due to a shortage of nursing home beds. 

12VAC5-371-30. License.  

A. A license to operate a facility is issued to a person or 

organization. An organization may be a partnership, 

association, corporation, or public entity.  

B. Each license and renewal thereof shall be issued for one 

year. A nursing facility shall operate within the terms of its 

license, which include the:  

1. Name of the facility;  

2. Name of the operator;  

3. Physical location of the nursing facility;  

4. Maximum number of beds allowed; and  

5. Date the license expires.  

C. A separate license shall be required for nursing facilities 

maintained on separate premises, even though they are owned 

or are operated under the same management.  
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D. Every nursing facility shall be designated by a permanent 

and appropriate name. The name shall not be changed without 

first notifying the OLC.  

E. The number of resident beds allowed in a nursing facility 

shall be determined by the department. Requests to increase 

beds must be made in writing and must include an approved 

Certificate of Public Need, except as provided in 12VAC5-

371-40 J.  

F. Nursing facility units located in and operated by hospitals 

shall be licensed under Regulations for the Licensure of 

Hospitals in Virginia (12VAC5-410). Approval for such units 

shall be included on the annual license issued to each 

hospital.  

G. Any person establishing, conducting, maintaining, or 

operating a nursing facility without a license shall be guilty of 

a Class 6 felony.  

12VAC5-371-40. Licensing process.  

A. Upon request, the OLC will provide consultation to any 

person seeking information about obtaining a license. The 

purpose of such consultation is to:  

1. Explain the standards and the licensing process;  

2. Provide assistance in locating other sources of 

information;  

3. Review the potential applicant's proposed program 

plans, forms, and other documents, as they relate to 

standards; and  

4. Alert the potential applicant regarding the need to meet 

other state and local ordinances, such as fire and building 

codes and environmental health standards, where 

applicable.  

B. Upon request, the OLC will provide an application form 

for a license to operate a nursing facility.  

C. The OLC shall consider the application complete when 

all requested information and the application fee is submitted 

with the form required. If the OLC finds the application 

incomplete, the applicant will be notified of receipt of the 

incomplete application.  

D. The applicant shall complete and submit the initial 

application to the OLC at least 30 days prior to a planned 

opening date to allow the OLC time to act on the application. 

An application for a license may be withdrawn at any time.  

E. Application for initial license of a nursing facility shall 

include a statement of any agreement made with the 

commissioner as a condition for Certificate of Public Need 

approval to provide a level of care at a reduced rate to 

indigents or accept patients requiring specialized care.  

Any initial license issued to any nursing facility that made 

such agreement as a condition of its Certificate of Public 

Need approval shall not be renewed without demonstrating 

prior to or at the time of applying for renewal that it is 

substantially complying with its agreement.  

F. The renewal of a nursing facility license shall be 

conditioned upon the up-to-date payment of any civil 

penalties owed as a result of willful refusal, failure, or neglect 

to honor certain conditions established in their award of a 

Certificate of Public Need pursuant to § 32.1-102.4 F of the 

Code of Virginia.  

G. Prior to changes in operation which would affect the 

terms of the license, the licensee must secure a modification 

to the terms of the license from the OLC.  

H. Requests to modify a license must be submitted in 

writing, 30 working days in advance of any proposed 

changes, to the Director of the Office of Licensure and 

Certification.  

I. The license shall be returned to the OLC following a 

correction or reissuance when there has been a change in:  

1. Address;  

2. Operator;  

3. Name; or  

4. Bed capacity.  

J. Nursing facilities shall be exempt, for a period of no more 

than 30 days, from the requirement to obtain a license to add 

temporary beds when the commissioner has determined that a 

natural or man-made disaster has caused the evacuation of a 

hospital or nursing home and that a public health emergency 

exists due to a shortage of hospital or nursing home beds. 

J. K. The OLC will evaluate written information about any 

planned changes in operation which would affect either the 

terms of the license or the continuing eligibility for a license. 

A licensing representative may visit the facility during the 

process of evaluating a proposed modification.  

K. L. If a modification can be granted, the OLC shall 

respond in writing with a modified license. In the event a new 

application is needed, the licensee will receive written 

notification. When the modification cannot be granted, the 

licensee shall be advised by letter.  

L. M. The department shall send an application for renewal 

of the license to the licensee prior to the expiration date of the 

current license.  

M. N. The licensee shall submit the completed renewal 

application form along with any required attachments and the 

application fee by the date indicated in the cover letter.  

N. O. It is the licensee's responsibility to complete and 

return the application to assure timely processing. Should a 

current license expire before a new license is issued, the 
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current license shall remain in effect provided the complete 

and accurate application was filed on time.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5944; Filed June 20, 2019, 5:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-110, 12VAC5-410-130, 12VAC5-410-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 23, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Robert Payne, Director, Office of Licensure 

and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In accordance with legislation enacted during the 2019 

Session of the General Assembly, the amendments (i) 

establish an exemption, for a period of no more than 30 

days, from the requirement to obtain a license to add 

temporary beds in an existing hospital when the 

commissioner has determined that a natural or man-made 

disaster has caused the evacuation of a hospital or nursing 

home and that a public health emergency exists due to a 

shortage of hospital beds (Chapters 136 and 343) and (ii) 

require every hospital to provide written information about 

a patient's ability to request an estimate of the payment, 

post that information conspicuously in public areas of the 

hospital, including admissions or registration areas, and 

include that information on any website maintained by the 

hospital (Chapters 670 and 671).  

12VAC5-410-110. Bed capacity.  

A. Each license issued by the commissioner shall specify the 

maximum allowable number of beds. The number of beds 

allowed shall be determined by the OLC and shall so appear 

on the license issued by the OLC.  

B. Request for licensed bed increase or decrease shall be 

made in writing to the OLC. No increase will be granted 

without an approved Certificate of Public Need.  

C. Hospitals shall be exempt from the requirement to obtain 

a license to add temporary beds, for a period of no more than 

30 days, when the commissioner has determined that a natural 

or man-made disaster has caused the evacuation of a hospital 

or nursing home and that a public health emergency exists 

due to a shortage of hospital or nursing home beds. 

12VAC5-410-130. Return of license.  

The OLC shall be notified in writing at least within 30 

working days in advance of any proposed change in location 

or ownership of the facility. A license shall not be transferred 

from one owner to another or from one location to another. 

The license issued by the commissioner shall be returned to 

the OLC for correction or reissuance when any of the 

following changes occur during the licensing year:  

1. Revocation;  

2. Change of location;  

3. Change of ownership;  

4. Change of name;  

5. Change of bed capacity, except as provided in 12VAC5-

410-110 C; or  

6. Voluntary closure.  

Article 2  

Patient Care Services  

12VAC5-410-230. Patient care management. 

A. All patients shall be under the care of a member of the 

medical staff. 

B. Each hospital shall have a plan that includes effective 

mechanisms for the periodic review and revision of patient 

care policies and procedures. 

C. Each hospital shall establish a protocol relating to the 

rights and responsibilities of patients based on Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations' 

2000 Hospital Accreditation Standards, January 2000. The 

protocol shall include a process reasonably designed to 

inform patients of their rights and responsibilities. Patients 

shall be given a copy of their rights and responsibilities upon 

admission. 

D. No medication or treatment shall be given except on the 

signed order of a person lawfully authorized by state statutes. 

1. Hospital personnel, as designated in medical staff 

bylaws, rules and regulations, or hospital policies and 

procedures, may accept emergency telephone and other 

verbal orders for medication or treatment for hospital 

patients from physicians and other persons lawfully 

authorized by state statute to give patient orders. 

2. As specified in the hospital's medical staff bylaws, rules 

and regulations, or hospital policies and procedures, 
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emergency telephone and other verbal orders shall be 

signed within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 72 

hours, by the person giving the order, or, when such person 

is not available, cosigned by another physician or other 

person authorized to give the order. 

E. Each hospital shall have a reliable method for 

identification of each patient, including newborn infants. 

F. Each hospital shall include in its visitation policy a 

provision allowing each adult patient to receive visits from 

any individual from whom the patient desires to receive 

visits, subject to other restrictions contained in the visitation 

policy including the patient's medical condition and the 

number of visitors permitted in the patient's room 

simultaneously. 

G. Each hospital that is equipped to provide life-sustaining 

treatment shall develop a policy to determine the medical or 

ethical appropriateness of proposed medical care, which shall 

include: 

1. A process for obtaining a second opinion regarding the 

medical and ethical appropriateness of proposed medical 

care in cases in which a physician has determined proposed 

care to be medically or ethically inappropriate;  

2. Provisions for review of the determination that proposed 

medical care is medically or ethically inappropriate by an 

interdisciplinary medical review committee and a 

determination by the interdisciplinary medical review 

committee regarding the medical and ethical 

appropriateness of the proposed health care of the patient;  

3. Requirements for a written explanation of the decision 

of the interdisciplinary medical review committee, which 

shall be included in the patient's medical record; and 

4. Provisions to ensure the patient, the patient's agent, or 

the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions in accordance with § 54.1-2986 of the Code of 

Virginia is informed of the patient's right to obtain the 

patient's medical record and the right to obtain an 

independent medical opinion and afforded reasonable 

opportunity to participate in the medical review committee 

meeting.  

The policy shall not prevent the patient, the patient's agent, 

or the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions from obtaining legal counsel to represent the patient 

or from seeking other legal remedies, including court review, 

provided that the patient, the patient's agent, person 

authorized to make the patient's medical decisions, or legal 

counsel provide written notice to the chief executive officer 

of the hospital within 14 days of the date of the physician's 

determination that proposed medical treatment is medically or 

ethically inappropriate as documented in the patient's medical 

record. 

H. Each hospital shall establish a protocol requiring that, 

before a health care provider arranges for air medical 

transportation services for a patient who does not have an 

emergency medical condition as defined in 42 USC 

§ 1395dd(e)(1), the hospital shall provide the patient or the 

patient's authorized representative with written or electronic 

notice that the patient (i) may have a choice of transportation 

by an air medical transportation provider or medically 

appropriate ground transportation by an emergency medical 

services provider and (ii) will be responsible for charges 

incurred for such transportation in the event that the provider 

is not a contracted network provider of the patient's health 

insurance carrier or such charges are not otherwise covered in 

full or in part by the patient's health insurance plan. 

I. Each hospital shall provide written information about the 

patient's ability to request an estimate of the payment amount 

for which the participant will be responsible pursuant to 

§ 32.1-137.05 of the Code of Virginia. The written 

information shall be posted conspicuously in public areas of 

the hospital, including admissions or registration areas, and 

included on any website maintained by the hospital. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5943; Filed June 20, 2019, 5:42 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

540). 

12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 

and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-20, 

12VAC30-50-30, 12VAC30-50-60, 12VAC30-50-70, 

12VAC30-50-130, 12VAC30-50-226). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-5, 

12VAC30-60-50, 12VAC30-60-61). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 

Services (repealing 12VAC30-130-850 through 12VAC30-

130-890).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia, 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The regulatory action implements Items 301 OO and 301 

PP of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, which 

required the department to develop and implement a care 

coordination model and make programmatic changes in 

the provision of residential treatment for children. The 

action replaces emergency regulations published in 33:13 

VA.R. 1436-1469 February 20, 2017, and extended in 35:9 

VA.R. 1130 December 24, 2018. 

The amendments clarify policy interpretations and revise 

program standards to allow for more evidence-based 

service delivery, allow the department to implement more 

effective utilization management in collaboration with the 

behavioral health service administrator, enhance 

individualized coordination of care, implement 

standardized coordination of individualized aftercare 

resources by ensuring access to medical and behavioral 

health service providers in the individual's home 

community, and support department audit practices. The 

action meets the requirements set forth by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 42 CFR 441 

Subpart D and 42 CFR 441.453.  

The amendments include changes to the following areas: 

(i) provider qualifications, including acceptable licensing 

standards; (ii) preadmission assessment requirements; (iii) 

program requirements; (iv) discharge planning and care 

coordination requirements; and (v) utilization review 

requirements to clarify program requirements, ensure 

adequate documentation of service delivery, and help 

providers avoid payment retractions.  

The action requires enhanced care coordination to provide 

the necessary objective evaluations of treatment progress 

and to facilitate evidence-based practices during the 

treatment to reduce the length of stay by ensuring that 

medical necessity indicates the correct level of care, that 

appropriate and effective care is delivered in a person 

centered manner, and that service providers and local 

systems use standardized preadmission and discharge 

processes to ensure effective services are delivered. The 

final regulatory text is the same as the proposed regulatory 

text. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

12VAC30-10-540. Inspection of care in intermediate care 

facilities for the mentally retarded persons with 

intellectual and developmental disabilities, facilities 

providing inpatient psychiatric services for individuals 

under younger than 21 years of age, and mental hospitals.  

All applicable requirements of 42 CFR 456, Subpart I, are 

met with respect to periodic inspections of care and services.*  

Inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under age 21 

are not provided under this plan.  

*Inspection of Care (IOC) in Intermediate Care Facilities for 

the Mentally Retarded and Institutions for Mental Diseases 

are Inspection of care in intermediate care facilities for 

persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities is 

completed through contractual arrangements with the 

Virginia Department of Health.  

12VAC30-50-20. Services provided to the categorically 

needy without limitation.  

The following services as described in Part III (12VAC30-

50-100 et seq.) of this chapter are provided to the 

categorically needy without limitation:  

1. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of 

age or older.  

2. Services for individuals age 65 years of age or over 

older in institutions for mental diseases: inpatient hospital 

services; skilled nursing facility services; and services in 

an intermediate care facility.  

3. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 

services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 

determined, in accordance with § 1902(a)(31)(A) of the 

Social Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care, 

including such services in a public institution (or distinct 

part thereof) for the mentally retarded or persons with 

intellectual or developmental disability or related 

conditions.  

4. Hospice care (in accordance with § 1905(o) of the Act).  

5. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care 

recognized under state law, specified by the U.S. Secretary 

of Health and Human Services: care and services provided 

in religious nonmedical health care institutions;, nursing 

facility services for patients under  younger than 21 years 

of age;, or emergency hospital services. 

6. Private health insurance premiums, coinsurance, and 

deductibles when cost effective (pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. 

No. 101-508 § 4402). 

7. Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 

services are provided for eligible individuals as an optional 

State Plan service for categorically needy individuals 

without limitation. 

8. Pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. No. 111-148 § 4107, counseling 

and pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use by 

pregnant women shall be covered.  

a. Counseling and pharmacotherapy for cessation of 

tobacco use by pregnant women means diagnostic, 

therapy, and counseling services and pharmacotherapy 

(including the coverage of prescription and 
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nonprescription tobacco cessation agents approved by the 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration) for cessation of 

tobacco use by pregnant women who use tobacco 

products or who are being treated for tobacco use that is 

furnished (i) by or under the supervision of a physician, 

(ii) by any other health care professional who is legally 

authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 

state law and is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable 

services other than tobacco cessation services, or (iii) by 

any other health care professional who is legally 

authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 

state law and who is specifically designated by the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Services in federal 

regulations for this purpose.  

b. No cost sharing shall be applied to these services. In 

addition to other services that are covered for pregnant 

women, 12VAC30-50-510 also provides for other 

smoking cessation services that are covered for pregnant 

women. 

9. Inpatient psychiatric facility services and residential 

psychiatric treatment services (including therapeutic group 

homes and psychiatric residential treatment facilities) for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

12VAC30-50-30. Services not provided to the 

categorically needy.  

The following services and devices are not provided to the 

categorically needy:  

1. Chiropractors' Chiropractor services.  

2. Private duty nursing services.  

3. Dentures.  

4. Other diagnostic and preventive services other than 

those provided elsewhere in this plan: diagnostic services 

(see (12VAC30-50-95) et seq.).  

5. Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals 

under 21 years of age, other than those covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (at 

12VAC30-50-130). (Reserved.) 

6. Special tuberculosis (TB) related services under 

§ 1902(z)(2)(F) of the Social Security Act (the Act).  

7. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 

§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).  

8. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished 

during a presumptive eligibility period by a qualified 

provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).  

9. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care 

recognized under state law specified by the U.S. Secretary 

of Health and Human Services: personal care services in 

recipient's home, prescribed in accordance with a plan of 

treatment and provided by a qualified person under 

supervision of a registered nurse.  

12VAC30-50-60. Services provided to all medically needy 

groups without limitations.  

Services as described in Part III (12VAC30-50-100 et seq.) 

of this chapter are provided to all medically needy groups 

without limitations. 

1. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of 

age or older.  

2. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of 

individuals under younger than 21 years of age, and 

treatment of conditions found.  

3. Pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. No. 111-148 § 4107, counseling 

and pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use by 

pregnant women shall be covered.  

a. Counseling and pharmacotherapy for cessation of 

tobacco use by pregnant women means diagnostic, 

therapy, and counseling services and pharmacotherapy 

(including the coverage of prescription and 

nonprescription tobacco cessation agents approved by the 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration) for cessation of 

tobacco use by pregnant women who use tobacco 

products or who are being treated for tobacco use that is 

furnished (i) by or under the supervision of a physician, 

(ii) by any other health care professional who is legally 

authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 

state law and is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable 

services other than tobacco cessation services, or (iii) by 

any other health care professional who is legally 

authorized to provide tobacco cessation services under 

state law and who is specifically designated by the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Services in federal 

regulations for this purpose.  

b. No cost sharing shall be applied to these services. In 

addition to other services that are covered for pregnant 

women, 12VAC30-50-510 also provides for other 

smoking cessation services that are covered for pregnant 

women. 

4. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 

services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 

determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the 

Social Security Act (the Act) to be in need of such care. 

5. Hospice care (in accordance with § 1905(o) of the Act). 

6. Any other medical care or any other type of remedial 

care recognized under state law, specified by the secretary 

U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, including: 

care and services provided in religious nonmedical health 

care institutions;, skilled nursing facility services for 
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patients under younger than 21 years of age;, and 

emergency hospital services. 

7. Private health insurance premiums, coinsurance and 

deductibles when cost effective (pursuant to Pub. L. P.L. 

No. 101-508 § 4402). 

8. Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 

services are provided for eligible individuals as an optional 

State Plan service for medically needy individuals without 

limitation.  

9. Inpatient psychiatric facility services and residential 

psychiatric treatment services (including therapeutic group 

homes and psychiatric residential treatment facilities) for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

12VAC30-50-70. Services or devices not provided to the 

medically needy.  

1. Chiropractors' Chiropractor services.  

2. Private duty nursing services.  

3. Dentures.  

4. Diagnostic or preventive services other than those 

provided elsewhere in the State Plan.  

5. Inpatient hospital services, skilled nursing facility 

services, and intermediate care facility services for 

individuals age 65 years of age or older in institutions for 

mental disease(s) diseases.  

6. Intermediate care facility services (other than such 

services in an institution for mental diseases) for persons 

determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the 

Social Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care in 

a public institution, or a distinct part thereof, for the 

mentally retarded or persons with intellectual or 

developmental disability or related conditions.  

7. Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals 

under 21 years of age, other than those covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (at 

12VAC30-50-130). (Reserved.) 

8. Special tuberculosis (TB) services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) 

of the Act.  

9. Respiratory care services (in accordance with 

§ 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).  

10. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women 

furnished during a presumptive eligibility period by a 

qualified provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).  

11. Personal care services in a recipient's home, prescribed 

in accordance with a plan of treatment and provided by a 

qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse.  

12. Home and community care for functionally disabled 

elderly individuals, as defined, described and limited in 

12VAC30-50-460 and 12VAC30-50-470.  

13. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is 

not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing facility, 

intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 

intellectually or developmentally disabled persons, or 

institution for mental disease that are (i) authorized for the 

individual by a physician in accordance with a plan of 

treatment, (ii) provided by an individual who is qualified to 

provide such services and who is not a member of the 

individual's family, and (iii) furnished in a home.  

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services, and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. Early General provisions for early and periodic screening 

and, diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) of individuals 

younger than 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions 

found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age, who are 

Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 

care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 

services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local departments of 

social services departments on specific referral from those 

departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 

DMAS shall place appropriate utilization controls upon 

this service. 

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic 

screening, diagnostic, and treatment services means the 

following services: screening services, vision services, 

dental services, hearing services, and such other necessary 

health care, diagnostic services, treatment, and other 

measures described in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to 

correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental 
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illnesses and conditions discovered by the screening 

services and that are medically necessary, whether or not 

such services are covered under the State Plan and 

notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to recipients 

ages 21 years of age and older, provided for by § 1905(a) 

of the Social Security Act. 

5. C. Community mental health services provided through 

early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment 

(EPSDT) for individuals younger than 21 years of age. These 

services in order to be covered (i) shall meet medical 

necessity criteria based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who 

are practicing within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are 

shall be reflected in provider records and on providers' 

provider claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes 

that support and are consistent with the requested professional 

services.  

a. 1. Definitions. The following words and terms when 

used in this section shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the 

use of these terms this term, adolescent means an 

individual 12 through 20 years of age; a child means an 

individual from birth up to 12 years of age.  

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 

benefits program under contract with DMAS.  

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers, who are involved 

with an individual's health care, to improve the care.  

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, 

or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 

treatment of mental illness and has completed a 

certification program approved by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 

(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 

children and adolescents, (iii) community-based residential 

services for children and adolescents who are younger than 

21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) therapeutic behavioral 

services (Level B). Experience shall not include 

unsupervised internships, unsupervised practicums, and 

unsupervised field experience. The equivalency of part-

time hours to full-time hours for the purpose of this 

requirement shall be as established by DBHDS in the 

document entitled Human Services and Related Fields 

Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 

revised May 3, 2013.  

"Child" means an individual ages birth through 11 years. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification 

training as a PRS under a certifying body approved by 

DBHDS, and have documented completion of the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental 

health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least two consecutive 

years of documented experience as a QMHP, and who has 

documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP who has documented 

completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training who is 

acting within his scope of practice under state law. An 

LMHP providing services before April 1, 2018, shall have 

until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS PRS 

supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS the Department of Health Professions 

in the document entitled Human Services and Related 

Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 

2013, revised May 3, 2013 Approved Degrees in Human 

Services and Related Fields for QMHP Registration, 

adopted November 3, 2017, revised February 9, 2018. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 
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"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 

for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An 

LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board 

of Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to 

their supervisors for services provided by such residents, 

they shall use the title "Resident" in connection with the 

applicable profession after their signatures to indicate such 

status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 

in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. 

An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology. For purposes 

of Medicaid reimbursement by supervisors for services 

provided by such residents, they shall use the title 

"Resident in Psychology" after their signatures to indicate 

such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall 

not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered 

a "supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical 

duties at a specific site is preapproved in writing by the 

Virginia Board of Social Work. For purposes of Medicaid 

reimbursement to their supervisors for services provided 

by supervisees, these persons shall use the title "Supervisee 

in Social Work" after their signatures to indicate such 

status.  

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. 

Individualized and member-specific progress notes are part 

of the minimum documentation requirements and shall 

convey the individual's status, staff interventions, and, as 

appropriate, the individual's progress, or lack of progress, 

toward goals and objectives in the ISP. The progress notes 

shall also include, at a minimum, the name of the service 

rendered, the date of the service rendered, the signature 

and credentials of the person who rendered the service, the 

setting in which the service was rendered, and the amount 

of time or units/hours required to deliver the service. The 

content of each progress note shall corroborate the 

time/units billed. Progress notes shall be documented for 

each service that is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 

and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 

and strategies.  

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 

family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 

mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 

solving and increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-

105-590 including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the 

Department of Health Professions. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same 

as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2834 

as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental 

health status. It includes documented history of the 

severity, intensity, and duration of mental health care 

problems and issues and shall contain all of the following 

elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason issue or reason for 

referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 

previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 

response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 

developmental history including history of abuse, if 

appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational educational or 

vocational status, (vii) current living situation and family 

history and relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and 

alcohol profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental 

status exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 

summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 

care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 

the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

b. 2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall be time-

limited interventions provided in the individual's residence 

and when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family dynamics, 

and provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote 

psychoeducational benefits of psychoeducation in the 

home setting of an individual who is at risk of being 

moved into an out-of-home placement or who is being 

transitioned to home from an out-of-home placement due 

to a documented medical need of the individual. These 

services provide crisis treatment; individual and family 

counseling; communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist 

the individual and his the individual's parents or guardians, 

as appropriate, to understand and practice appropriate 

problem solving, anger management, and interpersonal 

interaction, etc.); care coordination with other required 

services; and 24-hour emergency response.  

(1) a. Service authorization shall be required for 

Medicaid reimbursement prior to the onset of services. 

Services rendered before the date of authorization shall 

not be reimbursed. 

(2) b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 

prior to the start of services at the onset of services and 

ISPs shall be required during the entire duration of 

services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 

outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 

be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-

specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this 

section. 

(3) c. These services may shall only be rendered by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 

a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

c. 3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 

two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D 11). 

Day treatment programs provide evaluation; medication 

education and management; opportunities to learn and use 

daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management, 

community responsibility, increased impulse control, and 

appropriate peer relations, etc.); and individual, group, and 

family counseling.  

(1) a. Service authorization shall be required for 

Medicaid reimbursement. 

(2) b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 

at prior to the onset start of services, and ISPs shall be 

required during the entire duration of services. Services 

based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-

specific provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied 

reimbursement. Requirements for service-specific 

provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this section. 

(3) c. These services may shall be rendered only by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 

a QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

d. Community-based services for children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level A) 

pursuant to 42 CFR 440.031(d). 

(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 

services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 

services will provide structure for daily activities, 

psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 

coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 

Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 

medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 

community. The service must reasonably be expected to 

improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. The 

application of a national standardized set of medical 
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necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 

McKesson InterQual® Criteria or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 

this service. 

(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 

receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 

provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 

date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 

facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 

(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Standards for 

Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-

151), Regulation Governing Juvenile Group Homes and 

Halfway Houses (6VAC35-41), or Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 

seven psychoeducational activities per week. 

Psychoeducational programming must include 

development or maintenance of daily living skills, anger 

management, social skills, family living skills, 

communication skills, stress management, and any care 

coordination activities.  

(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 

with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 

documented in the individual's medical record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, and what information was 

transmitted. 

(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric 

residential treatment facility (PRTF) services for early and 

periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) of 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this subsection shall have the following meanings: 

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan 

of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care 

(CIPOC). 

"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to obtain 

information from the child or adolescent and parent, 

guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing 

a tool or series of tools to provide a comprehensive 

evaluation and review of the child's or adolescent's mental 

health status. The assessment shall include a documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health problems and behavioral and emotional issues. 

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement 

by an independent certification team that services in a 

therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were needed.  

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, 

therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote 

(i) the development or restoration of adaptive functioning, 

self-care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated 

activities and community living skills that each individual 

requires to live in less restrictive environments; (iii) 

behavioral consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; 

(v) skills restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family 

living and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 

communication skills, and stress management skills; (vi) 

family education and family therapy; and (vii) 

individualized treatment planning. 

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" 

means a person centered plan of care that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that 

produces an acute, heightened emotional, mental, physical, 

medical, or behavioral event. 

"Crisis management" means immediately provided 

activities and interventions designed to rapidly manage a 

crisis. The activities and interventions include behavioral 

health care to provide immediate assistance to individuals 

experiencing acute behavioral health problems that require 

immediate intervention to stabilize and prevent harm and 

higher level of acuity. Activities shall include assessment 

and short-term counseling designed to stabilize the 

individual. Individuals are referred to long-term services 

once the crisis has been stabilized. 
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"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a 

PRTF through a resident-to-staff ratio approved by the 

Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services with documented 

supervision checks every 15 minutes throughout a 24-hour 

period. 

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care 

coordination that begins upon admission to a PRTF or 

therapeutic group home with the goal of transitioning the 

individual out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home to a 

less restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-

appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as 

possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be 

recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or 

treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of 

the plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS 

contractor. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are 

made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it 

appears that the individual is in need of an immediate 

admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely 

does not meet the medical necessity criteria to receive 

crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute psychiatric 

inpatient services.  

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute 

psychiatric inpatient services, and referral assistance 

provided over the telephone or face-to-face if indicated, 

and available 24 hours a day, seven days per week. 

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and 

strengths-based approach to partnering with families in 

making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired 

outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-

being for children, adolescents, and families. Family 

engagement requires ongoing opportunities for an 

individual to build and maintain meaningful relationships 

with family members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, 

and noncontingent telephone calls and visits between an 

individual and family members. Family engagement may 

also include enhancing or facilitating the development of 

the individual's relationship with other family members 

and supportive adults responsible for the individual's care 

and well-being upon discharge. 

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention 

consisting of family psychoeducational training or 

coaching, transition planning with the family, family and 

independent living skills, and training on accessing 

community supports as identified in the plan of care. 

Family engagement activity does not include and is not the 

same as family therapy. 

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the 

individual's family and significant others to advance the 

treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the family 

member and significant others is for the direct benefit of 

the individual, (ii) the counseling is not aimed at 

addressing treatment needs of the individual's family or 

significant others, and (iii) the individual is present except 

when it is clinically appropriate for the individual to be 

absent in order to advance the individual's treatment goals. 

Family therapy shall be aligned with the goals of the 

individual's plan of care. All family therapy services 

furnished are for the direct benefit of the individual, in 

accordance with the individual's needs and treatment goals 

identified in the individual's plan of care, and for the 

purpose of assisting in the individual's recovery. 

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team. 

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of 

Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision, 

published by the World Health Organization.  

"Independent certification team" means a team that has 

competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, 

preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of the 

individual's situation; and is composed of at least one 

physician and one LMHP. The independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

contractual or employment relationships with the required 

team members.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or 

PRTF services. 

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of 

principles, standards, and methods of the counseling 

profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis for 

the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives 

and (ii) planning, implementing, and evaluating plans of 

care using treatment interventions to facilitate human 

development and to identify and remediate mental, 

emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated 

distresses that interfere with mental health.  

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered 

plan of care established at admission that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such 

as individual or group psychoeducation; skills restoration; 

structured behavior support and training activities; 

recreation, art, and music therapies; community integration 
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activities that promote or assist in the child's or 

adolescent's ability to acquire coping and functional or 

self-regulating behavior skills; day and overnight passes; 

and family engagement activities. Interventions shall not 

include individual, group, and family therapy; medical or 

dental appointments; or physician services, medication 

evaluation, or management provided by a licensed clinician 

or physician and shall not include school attendance. 

Interventions shall be provided in the therapeutic group 

home or PRTF and, when clinically necessary, in a 

community setting or as part of a therapeutic pass. All 

interventions and settings of the intervention shall be 

established in the plan of care. 

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the 

comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC). 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" 

means the same as defined in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-

hour, supervised, clinically and medically necessary, out-

of-home active treatment program designed to provide 

necessary support and address mental health, behavioral, 

substance abuse, cognitive, and training needs of an 

individual younger than 21 years of age in order to prevent 

or minimize the need for more intensive treatment. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant 

or recipient for whom therapeutic group home or PRTF 

services are needed.  

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily 

cost for placement in a licensed PRTF. Residential room 

and board costs are maintenance costs associated with 

placement in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private 

room, three meals and two snacks per day, and personal 

care items. Room and board costs are reimbursed only for 

PRTF settings.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 

including physician and other health care services that are 

furnished to children while they are in a freestanding 

psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged 

practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric 

hospital's or PRTF's per diem. 

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist 

individuals in the restoration of lost skills that are 

necessary to achieve the goals established in the 

beneficiary's plan of care. Services include assisting the 

individual in restoring self-management, interpersonal, 

communication, and problem solving skills through 

modeling, coaching, and cueing. 

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential 

service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-

based home having eight or fewer residents.  

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with 

family consisting of partial or entire days of time away 

from the therapeutic group home or psychiatric residential 

treatment facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care 

and as paired with facility-based and community-based 

interventions to promote discharge planning, community 

integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic 

passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component 

of the plan of care and are designed for the direct benefit of 

the individual. 

"Treatment planning" means development of a person 

centered plan of care that is specific to the individual's 

unique treatment needs and acuity levels. 

e. 2. Therapeutic behavioral group home services (Level B) 

pursuant to 42 CFR 440.130(d). 

(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 

in a residential setting. The residential services will 

provide structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, 

therapeutic supervision, care coordination, and 

psychiatric treatment to ensure the attainment of 

therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the 

individual service plan (plan of care). Individuals 

qualifying for this service must demonstrate medical 

necessity for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities 

in the home, school, at work, or in the community. The 

service must reasonably be expected to improve the 

child's condition or prevent regression so that the 

services will no longer be needed. The application of a 

national standardized set of medical necessity criteria in 

use in the industry, such as McKesson InterQual ® 

Criteria, or an equivalent standard authorized in advance 

by DMAS shall be required for this service. 

(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  

(3) a. Therapeutic group home services for children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall provide 

therapeutic services to restore or maintain appropriate 

skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior and 

healthy living, including skills restoration, family living 

and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 

communication skills, and stress management skills. 

Therapeutic services shall also engage families and 

reflect family-driven practices that correlate to sustained 

positive outcomes post-discharge for youth and their 

family members. Each component of therapeutic group 

home services is provided for the direct benefit of the 
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individual, in accordance with the individual's needs and 

treatment goals identified in the individual's plan of care, 

and for the purpose of assisting in the individual's 

recovery. These services are provided under 42 CFR 

440.130(d) in accordance with the rehabilitative services 

benefit. 

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 

including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 

period in addition to individual, group, and family 

therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 

is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 

the individual's deviations from the plan of care. 

Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and 

shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals 

and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation 

from the plan of care shall be documented along with a 

clinical or medical justification for the deviation.  

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a 

therapeutic group home. The following requirements for 

severity of need and intensity and quality of service shall 

be met to satisfy the medical necessity criteria for 

admission. 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only 

be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour therapeutic 

milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to 

significant impairments in home, school, and community 

functioning caused by current mental health symptoms 

consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis.  

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the 

following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available 

modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 

treatment) available in the community do not meet the 

treatment needs of the individual; (ii) proper treatment of 

the individual's psychiatric condition requires services on 

an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and 

(iii) the services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. 

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. 

The assessment shall demonstrate at least two areas of 

moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate 

impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption 

in major life activities. A moderate impairment is 

evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in 

the family setting such as credible threats of physical 

harm, where "frequent" means more than expected for 

the individual's age and developmental level; (ii) frequent 

inability to accept age-appropriate direction and 

supervision from caretakers, from family members, at 

school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely 

limited involvement in social support, which means 

significant avoidance of appropriate social interaction, 

deterioration of existing relationships, or refusal to 

participate in therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired 

ability to form a trusting relationship with at least one 

caretaker in the home, school, or community; (v) limited 

ability to consider the effect of one's inappropriate 

conduct on others; and (vi) interactions consistently 

involving conflict, which may include impulsive or 

abusive behaviors. 

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been 

given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if 

not attempted, have been considered, but in either 

situation were determined to be unable to meet the 

individual's treatment needs and the reasons for that are 

discussed in the certificate of need. 

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment 

in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of care 

(LOC), are not primarily due to any of the following: (i) 

intellectual disability, developmental disability, or 

autistic spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, 

traumatic brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii) 

the individual does not require a more intensive level of 

care. 

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or 

surgical treatment. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. All of the following criteria shall be met to 

satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been 

prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other 

LMHP who has documented that a residential setting is 

the least restrictive clinically appropriate service that can 

meet the specifically identified treatment needs of the 

individual. 

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for 

clinically inappropriate reasons, including (i) an 

alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii) 

an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's 

capacity to provide a place of residence for the 

individual; or (iii) a treatment intervention when other 

less restrictive alternatives are available. 

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the 

service specific provider intake and include behaviorally 

defined objectives that require and can reasonably be 

achieved within a therapeutic group home setting. 

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate 

with the individual's community resources, including 

schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal of 

transitioning the individual out of the program to a less 
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restrictive care setting for continued, sometimes 

intensive, services as soon as possible and appropriate. 

(e) The therapeutic group home program must 

incorporate nationally established, evidence-based, 

trauma-informed services and supports that promote 

recovery and resiliency.  

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with 

concrete plans for the individual to transition back into 

the community beginning within the first week of 

admission, with clear action steps and target dates 

outlined in the plan of care. 

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall 

be met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met 

and continue to be supported by the written clinical 

documentation.  

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the desired outcome or level of functioning 

has not been restored or improved in the timeframe 

outlined in the individual's plan of care or the individual 

continues to be at risk for relapse based on history or (ii) 

the nature of the functional gains is tenuous and use of 

less intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the individual has achieved initial CIPOC 

goals, but additional goals are indicated that cannot be 

met at a lower level of care; (ii) the individual is making 

satisfactory progress toward meeting goals but has not 

attained plan of care goals, and the goals cannot be 

addressed at a lower level of care; (iii) the individual is 

not making progress, and the plan of care has been 

modified to identify more effective interventions; or (iv) 

there are current indications that the individual requires 

this level of treatment to maintain level of functioning as 

evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for 

therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential 

setting or in a lower level of residential treatment.  

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) 

identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at 

discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual will 

attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes 

individualized education program (IEP) and FAPT 

recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the aftercare 

treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of 

care is not an acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists 

barriers to community reintegration and progress made 

on resolving these barriers since last review. 

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for 

combined treatment services and activities to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the plan of care. Combined treatment 

services reinforce and practice skills learned in 

individual, group, and family therapy such as community 

integration skills, coping skills, family living and health 

awareness skills, interpersonal skills, and stress 

management skills. Combined treatment services may 

occur in group settings, in one-on-one interactions, or in 

the home setting during a therapeutic pass. In addition to 

the combined treatment services, the child or adolescent 

must also receive psychotherapy services, care 

coordination, family-based discharge planning, and 

locality-based transition activities. The child or 

adolescent shall receive intensive family interventions at 

least twice per month, although it is recommended that 

the intensive family interventions be provided at a 

frequency of one family therapy session per week. 

Family involvement begins immediately upon admission 

to therapeutic group home. If the minimum requirement 

cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, and 

continued efforts to involve family members must also be 

documented. Other family members or supportive adults 

may be included as indicated in the plan of care. 

(f) Less restrictive treatment options have been 

considered but cannot yet meet the individual's treatment 

needs. There is sufficient current clinical documentation 

or evidence to show that therapeutic group home level of 

care continues to be the least restrictive level of care that 

can meet the individual's mental health treatment needs. 

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: 

(i) the level of functioning has improved with respect to 

the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the individual 

can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a 

lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual no longer 

benefits from service as evidenced by absence of 

progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 

days; or (iii) other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each therapeutic group home resident: 

(1) An assessment be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission with a documented 

DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. 

Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar days 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting 

within his scope of practice. 

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's unique 

treatment needs and acuity levels. The IPOC shall be 
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completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual and a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The IPOC shall include all of the 

following:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 

that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 

develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual;  

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, 

and any special health care needs whether or not 

provided in the facilities, treatments, restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, therapeutic 

passes, social services, community integration, diet, and 

special procedures recommended for the health and 

safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; and  

(g) Plans for discharge.  

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 

calendar days after admission. The CIPOC shall meet all 

of the following criteria:  

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group 

home care;  

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health 

care providers, FAPT if necessary, the individual, and the 

family or legal guardian;  

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include 

measurable short-term and long-term goals and 

objectives, with target dates for achievement;  

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

activities, and experiences designed to meet the treatment 

objectives related to the diagnosis; and  

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with 

necessary, clinically appropriate community services to 

ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the 

individual's family, school, and community.  

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated 

every 30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member 

or primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated 

by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual or a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The review shall include all of the 

following:  

(a) The individual's response to the services provided;  

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's overall response to the CIPOC interventions; 

and  

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being 

provided continue to be required.  

(7) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and 

individualized therapy shall be provided to address both 

behavioral health and substance use disorder needs as 

indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent crises 

and challenges within the therapeutic group home setting 

or community settings as defined in the plan of care and 

to avoid a higher level of care. 

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, 

educational, and other behavioral health providers and 

other entities involved in the care and discharge planning 

for the individual as included in the plan of care. 

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the 

therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate 

for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61.  

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) 

group therapy shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and documented in the 

plan of care. 

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically 

indicated, provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S, and documented in progress notes in 

accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61 

and as planned and documented in the plan of care. 

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in 

addition to family therapy or counseling. Family 

engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as 

outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication 

with the family or legally authorized representative shall 

be part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 

care. For each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall identify and document the specific barriers to the 

individual's engagement with the individual's family or 

legally authorized representatives. The therapeutic group 

home shall document on a weekly basis the reasons why 
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family engagement is not occurring as required. The 

therapeutic group home shall document alternative 

family engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly basis to 

develop individualized family engagement strategies and 

document the revised strategies in the plan of care. 

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with facility-

based and community-based interventions to promote 

discharge planning, community integration, and family 

engagement activities.  

(a) The provider shall document how the family was 

prepared for the therapeutic pass to include a review of 

the plan of care goals and objectives being addressed by 

the planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in 

effect during the therapeutic pass. 

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the 

individual on the therapeutic pass and the therapeutic 

pass exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make daily 

contacts with the family and be available 24 hours per 

day to address concerns, incidents, or crises that may 

arise during the pass. 

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven 

calendar days of the therapeutic pass to discuss the 

accomplishments and challenges of the therapeutic pass 

along with an update on progress toward plan of care 

goals and any necessary changes to the plan of care. 

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per 

individual, per admission, without authorization as 

approved by the treating LMHP and documented in the 

plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require 

service authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic 

passes shall result in retraction for those days of service. 

(14) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's stay at the 

therapeutic group home. The family or guardian, the 

community services board (CSB), the family assessment 

and planning team (FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS 

contracted care manager shall be involved in treatment 

planning and shall identify the anticipated needs of the 

individual and family upon discharge and available 

services in the community. Prior to discharge, the 

therapeutic group home shall submit an active and viable 

discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. Once 

the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, the 

provider shall begin actively collaborating with the 

family or legally authorized representative and the 

treatment team to identify behavioral health and medical 

providers and schedule appointments for service-specific 

provider intakes as needed. The therapeutic group home 

shall request permission from the parent or legally 

authorized representative to share treatment information 

with these providers and shall share information pursuant 

to a valid release. The therapeutic group home shall 

request information from post-discharge providers to 

establish that the planning of pending services and 

transition planning activities has begun, shall establish 

that the individual has been enrolled in school, and shall 

provide individualized education program 

recommendations to the school if necessary. The 

therapeutic group home shall inform the DMAS 

contractor of all scheduled appointments within 30 

calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 

contractor within one business day of the individual's 

discharge date from the therapeutic group home. 

(15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services or 

nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of 

this subsection are not reimbursed eligible for 

reimbursement. DMAS shall reimburse only for services 

provided in facilities or programs with no more than 16 

beds.  

(4) These residential (16) Therapeutic group home 

services providers must shall be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 

Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 

of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 

Psychoeducational programming must include 

development or maintenance of daily living skills, anger 

management, social skills, family living skills, 

communication skills, and stress management. This 

service may be provided in a program setting or a 

community-based group home.  

(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 

individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 

psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  

(7) (17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when treatment goals are met or other less intensive 

services may achieve stabilization. 

(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 

the entire duration of services. (18) Services that are 

based upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-

specific provider intakes or ISPs plans of care shall be 

denied reimbursement. Requirements for intakes and 

ISPs are set out in 12VAC30-60-61.  

(9) These (19) Therapeutic group home services may 

only be rendered by and within the scope of practice of 

an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident,  
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LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

(10) (20) The facility/group psychiatric residential 

treatment facility or therapeutic group home shall 

coordinate necessary services and discharge planning 

with other providers as medically and clinically 

necessary. Documentation of this care coordination shall 

be maintained by the facility/group facility or group 

home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 

and what information was transmitted, and recommended 

next steps. 

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this 

subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for 

each day of noncompliance.  

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and 

medically necessary out-of-home program designed to 

provide necessary support and address mental health, 

behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment 

needs of an individual younger than 21 years of age in 

order to prevent or minimize the need for more inpatient 

treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive discharge 

planning shall begin prior to admission. In order to be 

covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age, these 

services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved psychiatric 

medical necessity criteria or be approved as an EPSDT 

service based upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is practicing within the 

scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider records 

and on the provider's claims for services by recognized 

diagnosis codes that support and are consistent with the 

requested professional services.  

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders when such services are rendered by a 

psychiatric facility that is not a hospital and is accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children, or by any other 

accrediting organization with comparable standards that 

is recognized by the state. 

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by 

DBHDS.  

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a) and 

(b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and 

(ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be service authorized, 

and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 

clinical necessity. 

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 

years of age shall include services defined at 42 CFR 

440.160 that are provided under the direction of a 

physician pursuant to a certification of medical necessity 

and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team 

of professionals and shall involve active treatment 

designed to achieve the child's discharge from PRTF 

services at the earliest possible time. The PRTF services 

benefit shall include services provided under 

arrangement furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers 

other than the PRTF, as long as the PRTF (i) arranges for 

and oversees the provision of all services, (ii) maintains 

all medical records of care furnished to the individual, 

and (iii) ensures that the services are furnished under the 

direction of a physician. Services provided under 

arrangement shall be documented by a written referral 

from the PRTF. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 

prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 

facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be 

considered the referral.  

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

these services: (i) medical and psychological services, 

including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 

health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iv) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) 

durable medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) 

dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) 

nonemergency transportation services; and (x) 

emergency services.  

f. PRTF services shall include assessment and 

reassessment; room and board; daily supervision; 

combined treatment services; individual, family, and 

group therapy; care coordination; interventions; general 

or special education; medical treatment (including 

medication, coordination of necessary medical services, 

and 24-hour onsite nursing); specialty services; and 

discharge planning that meets the medical and clinical 

needs of the individual. 

g. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. 

The following requirements for severity of need and 

intensity and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the 

medical necessity criteria for admission: 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 
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(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual has a 

DSM-5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric 

treatment. 

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition 

leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence 

of residential treatment. 

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual 

would be a risk to self or others if the individual were not 

in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the individual's mental 

disorder, there is an inability for the individual to 

adequately care for his own physical needs, and 

caretakers, guardians, or family members are unable to 

safely fulfill these needs, representing potential serious 

harm to self. 

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for 

daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access 

to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare 

services; and to develop the adaptive and functional 

behavior that will allow the individual to live outside of a 

PRTF setting. 

(e) The individual's current living environment does not 

provide the support and access to therapeutic services 

needed. 

(f) The individual is medically stable and does not 

require the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or 

procedures provided in a hospital level of care. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy 

the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis 

must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation. 

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of 

skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning 

and arranging access to a range of educational, 

therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the 

development of the adaptive and functional behavior that 

will allow the individual to live outside of a PRTF 

setting. 

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment 

and residential living support is provided in a timely 

manner. This treatment must be medically monitored, 

with 24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing 

services availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-

a-week psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family or 

support system involvement occurring at least once per 

week or valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is 

not clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii) psychotropic 

medications, when used, are to be used with specific 

target symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current 

medical problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant 

substance use issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination 

with the individual's community resources, including the 

local school division and FAPT case manager, as 

appropriate, with the goal of returning the individual to 

his regular social environment as soon as possible, unless 

contraindicated. School contact should address an 

individualized educational plan as appropriate. 

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 

admission, when progress is not occurring, when 

substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use 

and medications may have a potential adverse 

interaction. After a positive screen, additional random 

screens are considered and referral to a substance use 

disorder provider is considered. 

(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria 

shall be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical 

evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the 

persistence of problems that caused the admission to a 

degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both 

severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the 

emergence of additional problems that meet the 

admission criteria (both severity of need and intensity of 

service needs); or (iii) that disposition planning or 

attempts at therapeutic reentry into the community have 

resulted in or would result in exacerbation of the 

psychiatric illness to the degree that would necessitate 

continued PRTF treatment. Subjective opinions without 

objective clinical information or evidence are not 

sufficient to meet severity of need based on justifying the 

expectation that there would be a decompensation. 

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-

limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before 

the individual can return to a new or previous living 

situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made 

to secure timely access to treatment resources and 

housing in anticipation of discharge, with alternative 

housing contingency plans also being addressed. 

(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on 

the alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and precipitating 

psychosocial stressors that are interfering with the 

individual's ability to return to a less-intensive level of 

care. 

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably 

expected to bring about significant improvement in the 

problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 c (3) (a) of 

this subsection, and this is documented in weekly 

progress notes written and signed by the provider. 

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support 

system involvement occurring at least once per week, 
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unless there is an identified valid reason why it is not 

clinically appropriate or feasible. 

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked 

to the behaviors or symptoms that resulted in admission 

and begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF resources 

including the local school division and FAPT case 

manager as appropriate. 

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and 

quality of service criteria are applied as related to 

assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and 

appropriate. 

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the 

following applies: (i) the level of functioning has 

improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of 

care, and the individual can reasonably be expected to 

maintain these gains at a lower level of treatment; (ii) the 

individual no longer benefits from service as evidenced 

by absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a 

period of 30 days; or (iii) other less intensive services 

may achieve stabilization. 

h. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each PRTF resident: 

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter 

and shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis.  

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification 

shall occur at least every 30 calendar days by a physician 

acting within his scope of practice. 

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed 

within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The 

IPOC shall include:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 

that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 

develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, 

dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not 

provided in the facility; education or special education; 

treatments; interventions; and restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social 

services, diet, and special procedures recommended for 

the health and safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care;  

(g) Plans for discharge; and  

(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or 

legally authorized representative, a physician, and 

treatment team members. 

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later 

than 14 calendar days after admission by the treatment 

team. The PRTF shall request authorizations from 

families to release confidential information to collect 

information from medical and behavioral health 

treatment providers, schools, FAPT, social services, court 

services, and other relevant parties. This information 

shall be used when considering changes and updating the 

CIPOC. The CIPOC shall meet all of the following 

criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care; 

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

physicians and other personnel specified in subdivision 3 

d 4 of this subsection who are employed by or provide 

services to the individual in the facility in consultation 

with the individual, family member, or legally authorized 

representative, or appropriate others into whose care the 

individual will be released after discharge; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include 

measurable, evidence-based, and short-term and long-

term goals and objectives; family engagement activities; 

and the design of community-based aftercare with target 

dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

interventions, activities, and experiences designed to 

meet the treatment objectives related to the individual 

and family treatment needs; and  

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and 

coordination of current care and post-discharge plans 

with related community services to ensure continuity of 

care upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, 

and community. 

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days 

by the team specified in subdivision 3 d 4 of this 

subsection to determine that services being provided are 

or were required from a PRTF and to recommend 

changes in the plan as indicated by the individual's 

overall adjustment during the time away from home. The 

CIPOC shall include the signature and date from the 

individual, parent, or legally authorized representative, a 

physician, and treatment team members. 
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(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per 

week (or more frequently based upon the individual's 

needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

this subsection and 12VAC30-60-61. 

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically 

indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

this subsection. 

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically 

indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the individual and 

family or legally authorized representative's goals and the 

requirements in this subsection. 

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to 

family therapy or counseling. Family engagement shall 

be provided at least weekly as outlined in the plan of care 

and daily communication with the treatment team 

representative and the treatment team representative and 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be 

part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 

care. For each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall identify and 

document the specific barriers to the individual's 

engagement with his family or legally authorized 

representatives. The PRTF shall document on a weekly 

basis the reasons that family engagement is not occurring 

as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family 

engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall collaborate 

with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop individualized 

family engagement strategies and document the revised 

strategies in the plan of care. 

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour 

period including nights and weekends. Family 

engagement activities are considered to be an 

intervention and shall occur based on the treatment and 

visitation goals and scheduling needs of the family or 

legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be 

documented on a progress note and shall be outlined in 

and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the 

plan of care. Any deviation from the plan of care shall be 

documented along with a clinical or medical justification 

for the deviation based on the needs of the individual.  

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with 

community-based and facility-based interventions to 

promote discharge planning, community integration, and 

family engagement. Therapeutic passes include activities 

as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this section. Twenty-

four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual, 

per admission, without authorization as approved by the 

treating physician and documented in the plan of care. 

Additional therapeutic passes shall require service 

authorization from DMAS. Any unauthorized therapeutic 

passes not approved by the provider or DMAS shall 

result in retraction for those days of service. 

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's placement at the 

PRTF. The parent or legally authorized representative, 

the community services board (CSB), the family 

assessment planning team (FAPT) case manager, if 

appropriate, and the DMAS contracted care manager 

shall be involved in treatment planning and shall identify 

the anticipated needs of the individual and family upon 

discharge and identify the available services in the 

community. Prior to discharge, the PRTF shall submit an 

active discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. 

Once the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, 

the provider shall begin collaborating with the parent or 

legally authorized representative and the treatment team 

to identify behavioral health and medical providers and 

schedule appointments for service-specific provider 

intakes as needed. The PRTF shall request written 

permission from the parent or legally authorized 

representative to share treatment information with these 

providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid 

release. The PRTF shall request information from post-

discharge providers to establish that the planning of 

services and activities has begun, shall establish that the 

individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide 

individualized education program recommendations to 

the school if necessary. The PRTF shall inform the 

DMAS contractor of all scheduled appointments within 

30 calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 

contractor within one business day of the individual's 

discharge date from the PRTF. 

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in 

subdivisions 3 h (1) through 3 h (12) of this subsection 

up until the discharge of the individual shall result in a 

retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and 

coordinated service payments for each day of 

noncompliance.  

i. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise 

in pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and 

experience, preferably including competence in child or 

adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of 

the following: assessing the individual's immediate and 

long-range therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, 
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and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing the 

potential resources of the individual's family or legally 

authorized representative; setting treatment objectives; 

and prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the 

CIPOC's objectives. 

(2) The team shall include one of the following:  

(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician 

licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or  

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 

the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a 

licensed clinical psychologist. 

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP. 

4. Requirements for independent certification teams 

applicable to both therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. The independent certification team shall certify the 

need for PRTF or therapeutic group home services and 

issue a certificate of need document within the process 

and timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under 

contractual agreement with the DMAS contractor. 

b. The independent certification team shall be approved 

by DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with 

a locality or be approved under contractual agreement 

with the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and 

coordinate referral to the family assessment and planning 

team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of 

the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and 

for consideration of educational coverage and other 

supports not covered by DMAS. 

c. The independent certification team shall assess the 

individual's and family's strengths and needs in addition 

to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that indicate the 

need for behavioral health treatment and also consider 

whether local resources and community-based care are 

sufficient to meet the individual's treatment needs, as 

presented within the previous 30 calendar days, within 

the least restrictive environment. 

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team, 

shall meet with an individual and the individual's parent 

or legally authorized representative within two business 

days from a request to assess the individual's needs and 

begin the process to certify the need for an out-of-home 

placement.  

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an 

individual and the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative within 10 business days from a 

request to certify the need for an out-of-home placement. 

f. The independent certification team shall assess the 

treatment needs of the individual to issue a certificate of 

need (CON) for the most appropriate medically 

necessary services. The certification shall include the 

dated signature and credentials for each of the team 

members who rendered the certification. Referring or 

treatment providers shall not actively participate during 

the certification process but may provide supporting 

clinical documentation to the certification team. 

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior 

to admission. 

h. The independent certification team shall provide the 

completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of 

completing the CON. 

i. The individual and the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative shall have the right to freedom 

of choice of service providers. 

j. If the individual or the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative disagrees with the independent 

certification team's recommendation, the parent or legally 

authorized representative may appeal the 

recommendation in accordance with 12VAC30-110.  

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification 

team, determines that the individual is in immediate need 

of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to an 

appropriate Medicaid-enrolled crisis intervention 

provider, crisis stabilization provider, or inpatient 

psychiatric provider in accordance with 12VAC30-50-

226 or shall refer the individual for emergency admission 

to a PRTF or therapeutic group home under subdivision 4 

m of this subsection and shall also alert the individual's 

managed care organization.  

l. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid 

at the time of admission, the independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental 

illness, preferably in child psychiatry, and have 

knowledge of the individual's situation and service 

availability in the individual's local service area. The 

team shall be composed of at least one physician and one 

LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP. 

An individual's parent or legally authorized 

representative shall be included in the certification 

process. 

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be 

made by the team responsible for the comprehensive 

individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall 

only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the 

team responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days 
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after admission. The certification shall cover any period 

of time after admission and before claims are made for 

reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an 

emergency admission, the therapeutic group home, 

PRTF, or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall 

notify the DMAS contractor within five calendar days of 

the individual's status as being under the care of the 

facility.  

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the 

certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS 

contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care 

coordination and consideration of educational coverage 

and other supports not covered by DMAS. 

o. For individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program, 

the certification shall be made by the team responsible 

for the CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before 

the application for Medicaid eligibility for which claims 

are made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the 

individual's enrollment into the Medicaid program, the 

therapeutic group home, PRTF, or IMD shall notify the 

DMAS contractor of the individual's status as being 

under the care of the facility within five calendar days of 

the individual becoming eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs:  

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted 

by DMAS using medical necessity criteria specified in 

this subsection.  

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis 

and meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission. The 

diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past 

12 months. If a current diagnosis is not available, the 

individual will require a mental health evaluation prior to 

admission by an LMHP affiliated with the independent 

certification team to establish a diagnosis and 

recommend and coordinate referral to the available 

treatment options. 

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be 

agreed upon by the individual and parent or legally 

authorized representative with the treating provider, and 

the treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating 

and documenting evidence of treatment progress, 

assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement, 

and obtaining authorization for continued stay. 

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for 

these services shall include:  

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment 

instrument approved by DMAS;  

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent 

certification team specifying all of the following:  

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded 

services available in the community do not meet the 

specific treatment needs of the individual;  

(b) Alternative community-based care was not 

successful;  

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric 

condition requires services in a 24-hour supervised 

setting under the direction of a physician; and  

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that a more intensive level of care will not be needed; 

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) 

an evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP that has been 

completed within 30 calendar days of admission or (ii) a 

diagnosis confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review 

of a previous evaluation completed within one year of 

admission; 

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the 

seven calendar days immediately prior to admission; 

(5) A description of alternate placements and community 

mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional 

behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the 

outcomes of each service; 

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical 

stability; 

(7) The level of family involvement and supports 

available; and 

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC). 

6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay 

authorization or a reauthorization to occur, the individual 

shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The 

length of the authorized stay shall be determined by 

DMAS. A current plan of care and a current (within 30 

calendar days) summary of progress related to the goals 

and objectives of the plan of care shall be submitted to 

DMAS for continuation of the service. The service 

provider shall also submit: 

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 

more than 30 business days prior to the date of 

submission;  

b. Documentation that the required services have been 

provided as defined in the plan of care;  
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c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information 

on progress related to the achievement of all treatment 

and discharge-related goals; and  

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment 

and treatment needs, problem behaviors, family 

engagement activities, community-based discharge 

planning and care coordination, and need for a residential 

level of care.  

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic 

group homes and PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded 

based on medical necessity for individuals eligible for 

EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities 

not available to other individuals, such as applied 

behavioral analysis and neuro-rehabilitative services. 

Individualized services to address specific clinical needs 

identified in an EPSDT screening shall require 

authorization by a DMAS contractor. In unique EPSDT 

cases, DMAS may authorize specialized services beyond 

the standard therapeutic group home or PRTF medical 

necessity criteria and program requirements, as medically 

and clinically indicated to ensure the most appropriate 

treatment is available to each individual. Treating service 

providers authorized to deliver medically necessary 

EPSDT services in therapeutic group homes and PRTFs on 

behalf of a Medicaid-enrolled individual shall adhere to the 

individualized interventions and evidence-based progress 

measurement criteria described in the plan of care and 

approved for reimbursement by DMAS. All 

documentation, independent certification team, family 

engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and discharge 

planning requirements shall apply to cases approved as 

EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service. 

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age for medically 

necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described 

in 42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders identified under EPSDT when such services meet 

the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this 

subsection. 

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under 

the direction of a physician.  

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a 

psychiatric hospital that undergoes a state survey to 

determine whether the hospital meets the requirements 

for participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as 

specified in 42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national 

organization whose psychiatric hospital accrediting 

program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an 

inpatient psychiatric program that undergoes a state 

survey to determine whether the hospital meets the 

requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, 

as specified in 42 CFR part 482 or is accredited by a 

national accrediting organization whose hospital 

accrediting program has been approved by CMS. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care 

hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also 

be subject to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 

12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25. 

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a) and 

42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 

42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of Participation 

in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be 

service authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 

requirements for clinical necessity. 

e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age shall include services that 

are provided pursuant to a certification of medical 

necessity and plan of care developed by an 

interdisciplinary team of professionals and shall involve 

active treatment designed to achieve the individual's 

discharge from inpatient status at the earliest possible 

time. The inpatient psychiatric benefit shall include 

services provided under arrangement furnished by 

Medicaid enrolled providers other than the inpatient 

psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient psychiatric 

facility (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all 

services, (ii) maintains all medical records of care 

furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that the 

services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 

Services provided under arrangement shall be 

documented by a written referral from the inpatient 

psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 

prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 

inpatient psychiatric facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral.  

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

pharmacy services and emergency services. Private 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order the 

following services: (i) medical and psychological 

services including those furnished by physicians, 

licensed mental health professionals, and other licensed 

or certified health professionals (i.e., nutritionists, 

podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and substance abuse 

treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iii) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology services; (v) 

vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic 

services; (vii) nonemergency transportation services; and 
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(viii) emergency services. (Emergency services means 

the same as is set forth in 12VAC30-50-310 B.) 

f. E. Mental health family support partners. 

(1) 1. Mental health family support partners are peer 

recovery support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer 

activities that engage, educate, and support the caregiver 

and an individual's self-help efforts to improve health 

recovery resiliency and wellness. Mental health family 

support partners is a peer support service and is a strength-

based, individualized service provided to the caregiver of a 

Medicaid-eligible individual younger than 21 years of age 

with a mental health disorder that is the focus of support. 

The services provided to the caregiver and individual must 

be directed exclusively toward the benefit of the Medicaid-

eligible individual. Services are expected to improve 

outcomes for individuals younger than 21 years of age with 

complex needs who are involved with multiple systems 

and increase the individual's and family's confidence and 

capacity to manage their own services and supports while 

promoting recovery and healthy relationships. These 

services are rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a 

minor or adult child with a similar mental health disorder 

or (ii) an adult with personal experience with a family 

member with a similar mental health disorder with 

experience navigating behavioral health care services. The 

PRS shall perform the service within the scope of his 

knowledge, lived experience, and education. 

(2) 2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making 

the recommendation for mental health family support 

partners, the peer recovery specialist in consultation with 

his direct supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation 

for service, the individual's and the caregiver's perceived 

recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or service 

specific provider intakes as defined in this section within 

30 calendar days of the initiation of service. Development 

of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall include 

collaboration with the individual and the individual's 

caregiver. Individualized goals and strategies shall be 

focused on the individual's identified needs for self-

advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan shall also include documentation of how 

many days per week and how many hours per week are 

required to carry out the services in order to meet the goals 

of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 

shall be completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, the 

PRS, the direct supervisor, the individual, and the 

individual's caregiver within 30 calendar days of the 

initiation of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for 

the individual, encouraging the individual and the 

caregiver to take a proactive role in developing and 

updating goals and objectives in the individualized 

recovery planning. 

(3) 3. Documentation of required activities shall be 

required as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A, C, and E 

through J. 

(4) 4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall 

be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210.  

(5) 5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of 

age who qualify to receive mental health family support 

partners shall (i) care for an individual with a mental health 

disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet two 

or more of the following: 

(a) a. Individual and his caregiver need peer-based 

recovery-oriented services for the maintenance of 

wellness and the acquisition of skills needed to support 

the individual.  

(b) b. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to 

develop self-advocacy skills to assist the individual in 

achieving self-management of the individual's health 

status.  

(c) c. Individual and his caregiver need assistance and 

support to prepare the individual for a successful work or 

school experience.  

(d) d. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help 

the individual and caregiver assume responsibility for 

recovery. 

(6) 6. Individuals 18 through, 19, and 20 years of age who 

meet the medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 B 

7 e, who would benefit from receiving peer supports 

directly and who choose to receive mental health peer 

support services directly instead of through their caregiver, 

shall be permitted to receive mental health peer support 

services by an appropriate PRS. 

(7) 7. To qualify for continued mental health family 

support partners, medical necessity criteria shall continue 

to be met, and progress notes shall document the status of 

progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan. 

(8) 8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support 

partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-

5180 E. 

(9) 9. Mental health family support partners services shall 

be rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

(10) 10. Prior to service initiation, a documented 

recommendation for mental health family support partners 

services shall be made by a licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP) who is acting within his scope of 

practice under state law. The recommendation shall verify 

that the individual meets the medical necessity criteria set 

forth in subdivision 5 of this subsection. The 

recommendation shall be valid for no longer than 30 

calendar days. 
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(11) 11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist 

shall have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification required by DBHDS in order to be eligible to 

register with the Virginia Board of Counseling on or after 

July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations by the 

Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 

The PRS shall perform mental health family support 

partners services under the oversight of the LMHP making 

the recommendation for services and providing the clinical 

oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 

(12) 12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a 

contractual relationship with the enrolled provider licensed 

for one of the following:  

(a) a. Acute care general and emergency department 

hospital services licensed by the Department of Health.  

(b) b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(c) c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(d) d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(e) e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(f) f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

(g) g. A community mental health and rehabilitative 

services provider licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services as a 

provider of one of the following community mental 

health and rehabilitative services as defined in this 

section, 12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, or 

12VAC30-50-430 for which the individual younger than 

21 years meets medical necessity criteria: (i) intensive in 

home; (ii) therapeutic day treatment; (iii) day treatment 

or partial hospitalization; (iv) crisis intervention; (v) 

crisis stabilization; (vi) mental health skill building; or 

(vii) mental health case management. 

(13) 13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as 

referenced in subdivision 5 f (12) 12 of this subsection 

shall be eligible to bill and receive reimbursement from 

DMAS or its contractor for mental health family support 

partner services. Payments shall not be permitted to 

providers that fail to enter into an enrollment agreement 

with DMAS or its contractor. Reimbursement shall be 

subject to retraction for any billed service that is 

determined not to be in compliance with DMAS 

requirements. 

(14) 14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 l. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 

stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 42 CFR 

440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of diagnosis and 

treatment of mental health and behavioral disorders 

identified under EPSDT when such services are rendered 

by: (i) a psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 

program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 

on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or (ii) a 

psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 

or the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 

Facilities. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at 

general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 

12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-

25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 

treatment facilities shall also be subject to the requirements 

of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of Amount, 

Duration and Scope of Selected Services.  

a. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age shall include 

services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 that are provided 

under the direction of a physician pursuant to a 

certification of medical necessity and plan of care 

developed by an interdisciplinary team of professionals 

and shall involve active treatment designed to achieve the 

child's discharge from inpatient status at the earliest 

possible time. The inpatient psychiatric services benefit 

shall include services provided under arrangement 

furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 

inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient 

psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the 

provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical 

records of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) 

ensures that the services are furnished under the direction 

of a physician. Services provided under arrangement 

shall be documented by a written referral from the 

inpatient psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy 

services, a prescription ordered by an employee or 

contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral.  

b. Eligible services provided under arrangement with the 

inpatient psychiatric facility shall vary by provider type 

as described in this subsection. For purposes of this 

section, emergency services means the same as is set out 

in 12VAC30-50-310 B. 

(1) State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

these services: (i) pharmacy services and (ii) emergency 

services. 
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(2) Private freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 

arrange for, maintain records of, and ensure that 

physicians order these services: (i) medical and 

psychological services including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient 

hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, occupational 

therapy, and therapy for individuals with speech, hearing, 

or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology 

services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and 

orthodontic services; (vii) transportation services; and 

(viii) emergency services.  

(3) Residential treatment facilities, as defined at 42 CFR 

483.352, shall arrange for, maintain records of, and 

ensure that physicians order these services: (i) medical 

and psychological services, including those furnished by 

physicians, licensed mental health professionals, and 

other licensed or certified health professionals (i.e., 

nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and 

substance abuse treatment practitioners); (ii) pharmacy 

services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; (iv) physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy for 

individuals with speech, hearing, or language disorders; 

(v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) durable 

medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) dental, 

oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) transportation 

services; and (x) emergency services.  

c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 

when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 

(i) 42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 

441.151(a) and (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 

441.156, and (ii) the conditions of participation in 

42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be 

preauthorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 

requirements for clinical necessity. 

d. Service limits may be exceeded based on medical 

necessity for individuals eligible for EPSDT. 

7. F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age according to medical necessity 

when provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the 

practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 

Virginia. 

8. G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et 

seq. 

9. H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935.  

10. I. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

a. 1. Definitions. The following words and terms when 

used in this subsection shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 

provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope 

of practice defined under a Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care 

under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 

years of age. Behavioral therapy includes applied 

behavioral analysis. Family training related to the 

implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be included 

as part of the behavioral therapy service. Behavioral 

therapy services shall be subject to clinical reviews and 

determined as medically necessary. Behavioral therapy 

may be provided in the individual's home and community 

settings as deemed by DMAS or its contractor as medically 

necessary treatment. 

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service 

that can only be provided by a person holding a license 

issued by a health regulatory board at the Department of 

Health Professions, which includes conducting 

assessments, making diagnoses of mental disorders and 

conditions, establishing treatment plans, and determining 

treatment interventions.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 

practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 

care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 

screening and referral and coordination of other medical 

services needed by the individual. 

b. 2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to 

enhance communication skills and decrease maladaptive 

patterns of behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to 

more complex problems and the need for a greater or a 

more intensive level of care. The service goal shall be to 

ensure the individual's family or caregiver is trained to 

effectively manage the individual's behavior in the home 

using modification strategies. All services shall be 

provided in accordance with the ISP and clinical 

assessment summary. 

c. 3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider or 

other licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or 

licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 

contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 

ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 

that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 

or mental disabilities. Criteria for medical necessity are set 

out in 12VAC30-60-61 H F. Service-specific provider 

intakes shall be required at the onset of these services in 

order to receive authorization for reimbursement. 
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Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be required 

throughout the entire duration of services. The services 

shall be provided in accordance with the individual service 

plan and clinical assessment summary. These services shall 

be provided in settings that are natural or normal for a 

child or adolescent without a disability, such as the 

individual's home, unless there is justification in the ISP, 

which has been authorized for reimbursement, to include 

service settings that promote a generalization of behaviors 

across different settings to maintain the targeted 

functioning outside of the treatment setting in the 

individual's home and the larger community within which 

the individual resides. Covered behavioral therapy services 

shall include: 

(1) a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake 

as defined in 12VAC30-60-61 H F;  

(2) b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as 

established in 12VAC30-60-61 H F;  

(3) c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 

clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 H F; 

(4) d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's 

adaptive functioning and communication skills;  

(5) e. Training a family member in behavioral 

modification methods as established in 12VAC30-60-61 

H F;  

(6) f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable 

behavioral data related to the treatment objectives; and 

(7) g. Care coordination. 

C. J. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state 

practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia 

Department of Education, and shall meet applicable 

qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of 

defects, illnesses or conditions, and services necessary to 

correct or ameliorate them shall be performed by 

practitioners qualified to make those determinations within 

their licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the 

IEP team or by a qualified practitioner outside the IEP 

team. 

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or 

under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy, and occupational therapy and 

services for individuals with speech, hearing, and 

language disorders, performed by, or under the direction 

of, providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 

42 CFR 440.110. This coverage includes audiology 

services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation) 
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that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, 

medication administration/monitoring administration or 

monitoring, and urinary catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or 

developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing 

facility, or any placement issue. These services are 

covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers 

who may render these services when licensed by the state 

include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, 

school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 

professional develops a written plan for meeting the 

needs of the child individual, which is implemented by 

the assistant. The assistant must have qualifications 

comparable to those for other personal care aides 

recognized by the Virginia Department of Medical 

Assistance Services. The assistant performs services such 

as assisting with toileting, ambulation, and eating. The 

assistant may serve as an aide on a specially adapted 

school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 

school or school contracted provider on days when the 

student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 

IEP. Children Individuals requiring an aide during 

transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall have 

this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of a child's an individual's 

medical or other health related condition.  

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for a child an individual who 

requires transportation on a specially adapted school 

vehicle that enables transportation to or from the school 

or school contracted provider on days when the student 

individual is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under 

the IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's 

individual's IEP. Children Individuals requiring an aide 

during transportation on a specially adapted vehicle shall 

have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in a child's an 

individual's IEP and shall be performed by any of the 

above licensed practitioners within the scope of practice. 

Assessments and reassessments not tied to medical needs 

of the child individual shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child an 

individual is receiving additional therapy outside of the 

school, that there will be coordination of services to avoid 

duplication of service.  

D. K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals 

of child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2854 

12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Affiliated" means any entity or property in which a 

provider or facility has a direct or indirect ownership interest 

of 5.0% or more, or any management, partnership, or control 

of an entity. 

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 

benefits program under contract with DMAS. DMAS' 

designated BHSA shall be authorized to constitute, oversee, 

enroll, and train a provider network; perform service 

authorization; adjudicate claims; process claims; gather and 

maintain data; reimburse providers; perform quality 

assessment and improvement; conduct member outreach and 

education; resolve member and provider issues; and perform 

utilization management including care coordination for the 

provision of Medicaid-covered behavioral health services. 

Such authority shall include entering into or terminating 

contracts with providers in accordance with DMAS authority 

pursuant to 42 CFR Part 1002 and § 32.1-325 D and E of the 

Code of Virginia. DMAS shall retain authority for and 

oversight of the BHSA entity or entities. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the 

local community services board/behavioral board or 

behavioral health authority or its designee who is skilled in 

the assessment and treatment of mental illness and who has 

completed a certification program approved by DBHDS.  

"Clinical experience" means, for the purpose of rendering (i) 

mental health day treatment/partial hospitalization, (ii) 

intensive community treatment, (iii) psychosocial 

rehabilitation, (iv) mental health skill building, (v) crisis 

stabilization, or (vi) crisis intervention services, practical 

experience in providing direct services to individuals with 

diagnoses of mental illness or intellectual disability or the 

provision of direct geriatric services or special education 

services. Experience shall include supervised internships, 

supervised practicums, or supervised field experience. 

Experience shall not include unsupervised internships, 

unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field experience. 

The equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 

purpose of this requirement shall be established by DBHDS 

in the document titled Human Services and Related Fields 

Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 

revised May 3, 2013. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification training 

as a PRS under a certifying body approved by DBHDS, and 

have documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental health professional 

(QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as defined in 12VAC35-

105-20 with at least two consecutive years of documented 

experience as a QMHP, and who has documented completion 

of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training; or (iii) shall be an 

LMHP who has documented completion of the DBHDS PRS 

supervisor training who is acting within his scope of practice 

under state law. An LMHP providing services before April 1, 

2018, shall have until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractor or contractors consistent with 

Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS the Department of Health Professions in 

the guidance document entitled Human Services and Related 

Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 

revised May 3, 2013. Approved Degrees in Human Services 

and Related Fields for QMHP Registration, adopted 

November 3, 2017, revised February 9, 2018. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of 

services described in this section.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 

and regularly updated treatment plan specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs as identified in the 

service-specific provider intake. The ISP contains, but is not 

limited to, the individual's treatment or training needs, the 

individual's goals and measurable objectives to meet the 

identified needs, services to be provided with the 

recommended frequency to accomplish the measurable goals 

and objectives, the estimated timetable for achieving the goals 

and objectives, and an individualized discharge plan that 

describes transition to other appropriate services. The 

individual shall be included in the development of the ISP 
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and the ISP shall be signed by the individual. If the individual 

is a minor child, the ISP shall also be signed by the 

individual's parent/legal parent or legal guardian. 

Documentation shall be provided if the individual, who is a 

minor child or an adult who lacks legal capacity, is unable or 

unwilling to sign the ISP. 

"Individualized training" means instruction and practice in 

functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 

individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of daily 

living skills, and use of community resources; assistance with 

medical management; and monitoring health, nutrition, and 

physical condition. The training shall be rehabilitative and 

based on a variety of incremental (or cumulative) approaches 

or tools to organize and guide the individual's life planning 

and shall reflect what is important to the individual in 

addition to all other factors that affect his the individual's 

functioning, including effects of the disability and issues of 

health and safety. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-

resident shall be in continuous compliance with the regulatory 

requirements of the applicable counseling profession for 

supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the 

LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision 

for specific clinical duties at a specific site has been 

preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 

for services provided by such residents, they shall use the title 

"Resident" in connection with the applicable profession after 

their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined in 

18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 

LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not 

perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a 

"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a 

specific site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia 

Board of Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid 

reimbursement by supervisors for services provided by such 

residents, they shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" 

after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" is defined in 

18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 

LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 

the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 

Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these 

persons shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after 

their signatures to indicate such status. 

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20, including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the 

Department of Health Professions. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160.  

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 

contractor that an individual will be receiving services that do 

not require service authorization. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Review of ISP" means that the provider evaluates and 

updates the individual's progress toward meeting the 

individualized service plan objectives and documents the 

outcome of this review. For DMAS to determine that these 

reviews are satisfactory and complete, the reviews shall (i) 

update the goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP to 

reflect any change in the individual's progress and treatment 

needs as well as any newly identified problems; (ii) be 

conducted in a manner that enables the individual to 

participate in the process; and (iii) be documented in the 

individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 

from the date of the review.  

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service authorization" means the process to approve 

specific services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or 

FAMIS individual by a DMAS service authorization 

contractor prior to service delivery and reimbursement in 
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order to validate that the service requested is medically 

necessary and meets DMAS and DMAS contractor criteria 

for reimbursement. Service authorization does not guarantee 

payment for the service. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 

who are older than 21 years of age. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 

definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 

hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 

intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health skill 

building. Staff travel time shall not be included in billable 

time for reimbursement. These services, in order to be 

covered, shall meet medical necessity criteria based upon 

diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing within the 

scope of their licenses and are reflected in provider records 

and on providers' claims for services by recognized diagnosis 

codes that support and are consistent with the requested 

professional services. These services are intended to be 

delivered in a person-centered person centered manner. The 

individuals who are receiving these services shall be included 

in all service planning activities. All services which do not 

require service authorization require registration. This 

registration shall transmit service-specific information to 

DMAS or its contractor in accordance with service 

authorization requirements.  

1. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours per 

day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, to 

groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 

services, limited annually to 780 units, include the major 

diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, psychosocial, and 

psychoeducational treatment modalities designed for 

individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 

comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who 

do not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall 

be defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on 

a given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at 

least four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three 

units of service shall be defined as seven or more hours in 

a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 

time limited interventions that are more intensive than 

outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 

individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 

delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 

hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 

hospitalization to the community. The service-specific 

provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 

document the individual's behavior and describe how the 

individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or is 

transitioning from a psychiatric hospitalization to the 

community.  

b. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Individuals must meet at least two of the 

following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 

isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that the 

individual requires repeated interventions or monitoring 

by the mental health, social services, or judicial system 

that have been documented; or 

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 

they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 

less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 

stabilization.  

d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 

90 calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-

to-face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 

clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 

licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 

nurse specialist.  

e. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-

A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

2. Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at least two 

or more hours per day to groups of individuals in a 

nonresidential setting. These services, limited annually to 

936 units, include assessment, education to teach the 

patient about the diagnosed mental illness and appropriate 

medications to avoid complication and relapse, and 

opportunities to learn and use independent living skills and 

to enhance social and interpersonal skills within a 

supportive and normalizing program structure and 

environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum 

of two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units 
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are defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a 

given day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven 

or more hours in a given day. Authorization is required for 

Medicaid reimbursement. The service-specific provider 

intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual 

meets criteria for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Services are provided to individuals: (i) who 

without these services would be unable to remain in the 

community or (ii) who meet at least two of the following 

criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 

interventions documented by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 

or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior.  

b. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-

A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

3. Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental 

health care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, 

to assist individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 

dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 

service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 

condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 

provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 

setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 

the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 

designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 

further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 

the individual and family with ongoing care to prevent 

future crises. Crisis intervention services may include 

office visits, home visits, preadmission screenings, 

telephone contacts, and other client-related activities for 

the prevention of institutionalization. The service-specific 

provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 

document the individual's behavior and describe how the 

individual meets criteria for this service. The provision of 

this service to an individual shall be registered with either 

DMAS, DMAS contractors, or the BHSA within one 

business day or the completion of the service-specific 

provider intake to avoid duplication of services and to 

ensure informed care coordination.  

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the 

individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 

Individuals must meet at least two of the following 

criteria at the time of admission to the service: 

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions documented by mental health, social 

services, or the judicial system are or have been 

necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 

are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 

inappropriate social behavior.  

b. The annual limit for crisis intervention is 720 units per 

year. A unit shall equal 15 minutes.  

c. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, an 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, or a 

certified prescreener. 

4. Intensive community treatment (ICT), initially covered 

for a maximum of 26 weeks based on an initial service-

specific provider intake and may be reauthorized for up to 

an additional 26 weeks annually based on written intake 

and certification of need by a licensed mental health 

provider (LMHP), shall be defined by 12VAC35-105-20 or 

LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP and shall include 

medical psychotherapy, psychiatric assessment, medication 

management, and care coordination activities offered to 

outpatients outside the clinic, hospital, or office setting for 

individuals who are best served in the community. 

Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement.  

a. To qualify for ICT, the individual must meet at least 

one of the following criteria:  

(1) The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 

hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due 

to mental illness or require intervention by the mental 

health or criminal justice system due to inappropriate 

social behavior.  
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(2) The individual has a history (three months or more) 

of a need for intensive mental health treatment or 

treatment for co-occurring serious mental illness and 

substance use disorder and demonstrates a resistance to 

seek out and utilize appropriate treatment options.  

b. A written, service-specific provider intake, as defined 

at 12VAC30-50-130, that documents the individual's 

eligibility and the need for this service must be 

completed prior to the initiation of services. This intake 

must be maintained in the individual's records.  

c. An individual service plan shall be initiated at the time 

of admission and must be fully developed, as defined in 

this section, within 30 days of the initiation of services.  

d. The annual unit limit shall be 130 units with a unit 

equaling one hour. 

e. These services may only be rendered by a team that 

meets the requirements of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

5. Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 

individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 

individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 

may jeopardize their current community living situation. 

Services may be provided for up to a 15-day period per 

crisis episode following a face-to-face service-specific 

provider intake by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. Only one unit of service shall be 

reimbursed for this intake. The provision of this service to 

an individual shall be registered with either DMAS, 

DMAS contractors, or the BHSA within one business day 

of the completion of the service-specific provider intake to 

avoid duplication of services and to ensure informed care 

coordination.  

a. The goals of crisis stabilization programs shall be to 

avert hospitalization or rehospitalization, provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety 

and security for crisis intervention, stabilize individuals 

in psychiatric crisis, and mobilize the resources of the 

community support system and family members and 

others for on-going maintenance and rehabilitation. The 

services must be documented in the individual's records 

as having been provided consistent with the ISP in order 

to receive Medicaid reimbursement.  

b. The crisis stabilization program shall provide to 

individuals, as appropriate, psychiatric assessment 

including medication evaluation, treatment planning, 

symptom and behavior management, and individual and 

group counseling.  

c. This service may be provided in any of the following 

settings, but shall not be limited to: (i) the home of an 

individual who lives with family or other primary 

caregiver; (ii) the home of an individual who lives 

independently; or (iii) community-based programs 

licensed by DBHDS to provide residential services but 

which are not institutions for mental disease (IMDs).  

d. This service shall not be reimbursed for (i) individuals 

with medical conditions that require hospital care; (ii) 

individuals with a primary diagnosis of substance abuse; 

or (iii) individuals with psychiatric conditions that cannot 

be managed in the community (i.e., individuals who are 

of imminent danger to themselves or others).  

e. The maximum limit on this service is 60 days 

annually. 

f. Services must be documented through daily progress 

notes and a daily log of times spent in the delivery of 

services. The service-specific provider intake, as defined 

at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the individual's 

behavior and describe how the individual meets criteria 

for this service. Individuals qualifying for this service 

must demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service 

arising from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that 

puts the individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 

Individuals must meet at least two of the following 

criteria at the time of admission to the service:  

(1) Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 

normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 

the individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 

homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 

as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 

maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 

such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  

(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 

interventions documented by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 

or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 

individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

g. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-

A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E or a certified prescreener. 

6. Mental health skill-building services (MHSS) shall be 

defined as goal-directed training to enable individuals to 

achieve and maintain community stability and 

independence in the most appropriate, least restrictive 

environment. Authorization is required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 

of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. These 

services may be authorized up to six consecutive months as 

long as the individual meets the coverage criteria for this 

service. The service-specific provider intake, as defined at 

12VAC30-50-130, shall document the individual's 

behavior and describe how the individual meets criteria for 
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this service. These services shall provide goal-directed 

training in the following areas in order to be reimbursed by 

Medicaid or the BHSA DMAS contractor: (i) functional 

skills and appropriate behavior related to the individual's 

health and safety, instrumental activities of daily living, 

and use of community resources; (ii) assistance with 

medication management; and (iii) monitoring of health, 

nutrition, and physical condition with goals towards self-

monitoring and self-regulation of all of these activities. 

Providers shall be reimbursed only for training activities 

defined in the ISP and only where services meet the service 

definition, eligibility, and service provision criteria and this 

section. A review of MHSS services by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S shall be repeated for all 

individuals who have received at least six months of 

MHSS to determine the continued need for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service shall 

demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 

from a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional 

illness that results in significant functional impairments 

in major life activities. Services are provided to 

individuals who require individualized goal-directed 

training in order to achieve or maintain stability and 

independence in the community. 

b. Individuals ages 21 years of age and older shall meet 

all of the following criteria in order to be eligible to 

receive mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall have one of the following as a 

primary mental health diagnosis: 

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness; (ii) results in 

severe and recurrent disability; (iii) produces functional 

limitations in the individual's major life activities that are 

documented in the individual's medical record; and (iv) 

requires individualized training for the individual in 

order to achieve or maintain independent living in the 

community. 

(2) The individual shall require individualized goal-

directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-

regulation of basic living skills, such as symptom 

management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 

health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 

social skills and personal support systems; skills to 

manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 

maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 

management; and use of community resources.  

(3) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 

residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 

intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 

assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 

placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 

(RTC-Level C) (PRTF) as a result of decompensation 

related to the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) a 

temporary detention order (TDO) evaluation, pursuant to 

§ 37.2-809 B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall 

be met in order to be initially admitted to services and 

not for subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 

summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 

the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 

treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 

treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 

requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 

to meet this requirement. 

(4) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications within the 12 months prior to the service-

specific provider intake date. If a physician or other 

practitioner who is authorized by his license to prescribe 

medications indicates that antipsychotic, mood 

stabilizing, or antidepressant medications are medically 

contraindicated for the individual, the provider shall 

obtain medical records signed by the physician or other 

licensed prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 

documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 

mental health skill-building services record, and the 

provider shall document and describe how the individual 

will be able to actively participate in and benefit from 

services without the assistance of medication. This 

criterion shall be met upon admission to services and 

shall not be required for subsequent authorizations of 

service. Discharge summaries from prior providers that 

clearly indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the 

dates of the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the 

name of the treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet 

this requirement. Family member statements shall not 

suffice to meet this requirement. 

c. Individuals aged 18 to 21 years of age shall meet all of 

the following criteria in order to be eligible to receive 

mental health skill-building services: 

(1) The individual shall not be living in a supervised 

setting as described in § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. If the individual is transitioning into an 

independent living situation, MHSS shall only be 

authorized for up to six months prior to the date of 

transition. 
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(2) The individual shall have at least one of the following 

as a primary mental health diagnosis.:  

(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 

the DSM-5; 

(b) Major depressive disorder; 

(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 

(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 

physician has documented specific to the identified 

individual within the past year and that includes all of the 

following: (i) is a serious mental illness or serious 

emotional disturbance; (ii) results in severe and recurrent 

disability; (iii) produces functional limitations in the 

individual's major life activities that are documented in 

the individual's medical record; and (iv) requires 

individualized training for the individual in order to 

achieve or maintain independent living in the 

community. 

(3) The individual shall require individualized goal-

directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-

regulation of basic living skills such as symptom 

management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 

health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 

social skills and personal support systems; skills to 

manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 

maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 

management; and use of community resources. 

(4) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 

following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 

residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 

intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 

assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 

placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 

(RTC-Level C) as a result of decompensation related to 

the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) temporary 

detention order (TDO) evaluation pursuant to § 37.2-809 

B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall be met in 

order to be initially admitted to services and not for 

subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 

summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 

the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 

treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 

treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 

requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 

to meet this requirement. 

(5) The individual shall have had a prescription for 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications, within the 12 months prior to the 

assessment date. If a physician or other practitioner who 

is authorized by his license to prescribe medications 

indicates that antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or 

antidepressant medications are medically contraindicated 

for the individual, the provider shall obtain medical 

records signed by the physician or other licensed 

prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 

documentation of medication management shall be 

maintained in the individual's mental health skill-

building services record. For individuals not prescribed 

antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 

medications, the provider shall have documentation from 

the medication management physician describing how 

the individual will be able to actively participate in and 

benefit from services without the assistance of 

medication. This criterion shall be met in order to be 

initially admitted to services and not for subsequent 

authorizations of service. Discharge summaries from 

prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the type of 

treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 

previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 

provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 

Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 

requirement. 

(6) An independent clinical assessment, established in 

12VAC30-130-3020, shall be completed for the 

individual. 

d. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of services and individual service plans (ISPs) 

shall be required during the entire duration of 

services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 

outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 

be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-

specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in 

12VAC30-50-130. 

e. The yearly limit for mental health skill-building 

services is 520 units. Only direct face-to-face contacts 

and services to the individual shall be reimbursable. One 

unit is 1 to 2.99 hours per day, and two units is 3 to 4.99 

hours per day. 

f. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, 

QMHP-E, or QPPMH. 

g. The provider shall clearly document details of the 

services provided during the entire amount of time billed. 

h. The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 

duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 

therapeutic group home or assisted living facility. The 

provider shall coordinate mental health skill-building 

services with the treatment plan established by the group 

home or assisted living facility and shall document all 

coordination activities in the medical record.  

i. Limits and exclusions. 

(1) Group Therapeutic group home (Level A or B) and 

assisted living facility providers shall not serve as the 

mental health skill-building services provider for 
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individuals residing in the provider's respective facility. 

Individuals residing in facilities may, however, receive 

MHSS from another MHSS agency not affiliated with the 

owner of the facility in which they reside. 

(2) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 

residential services or congregate residential services 

through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 

and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 

(3) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 

services under the Department of Social Services 

independent living program (22VAC40-151), 

independent living services (22VAC40-131 and 

22VAC40-151), or independent living arrangement 

(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-

funded independent living skills programs. 

(4) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who are receiving treatment 

foster care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 

(5) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 

hospitals. 

(6) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 

except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 

individual has not been discharged from the nursing 

facility during the 60-day period of services, mental 

health skill-building services shall be terminated and no 

further service authorizations shall be available to the 

individual unless a provider can demonstrate and 

document that mental health skill-building services are 

necessary. Such documentation shall include facts 

demonstrating a change in the individual's circumstances 

and a new plan for discharge requiring up to 60 days of 

mental health skill-building services. 

(7) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

available for residents of psychiatric residential treatment 

centers (Level C facilities) except for the intake code 

H0032 (modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior 

to discharge. 

(8) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 

services are being received simultaneously, unless 

justification is provided why this is necessary in the 

individual's mental health skill-building services record. 

Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 

need for services when personal care or attendant care 

services are being provided. This applies to individuals 

who are receiving additional services through the 

Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 

seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 

Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 

or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 

(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services 

(12VAC30-50-130).  

(9) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 

duplicative of other services. Providers shall be required 

to ensure that if an individual is receiving additional 

therapeutic services that there will be coordination of 

services by either the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or QPPMH to 

avoid duplication of services. 

(10) Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 

delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 

elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 

mental health skill-building services unless their 

physicians issue signed and dated statements indicating 

that the individuals can benefit from this service. 

(11) Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious 

mental health disorder but who have personality 

disorders or other mental health disorders, or both, that 

may lead to chronic disability shall not be excluded from 

the mental health skill-building services eligibility 

criteria provided that the individual has a primary mental 

health diagnosis from the list included in subdivision B 6 

b (1) or B 6 c (2) of this section and that the provider can 

document and describe how the individual is expected to 

actively participate in and benefit from mental health 

skill-building services. 

7. Mental health peer support services. 

a. Mental health peer support services are peer recovery 

support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer 

activities that engage, educate, and support an 

individual's self-help efforts to improve health recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness. Mental health peer support 

services for adults is a person centered, strength-based, 

and recovery-oriented rehabilitative service for 

individuals 21 years of age or older provided by a peer 

recovery specialist successful in the recovery process 

with lived experience with a mental health disorder, who 

is trained to offer support and assistance in helping others 

in the recovery to reduce the disabling effects of a mental 

health disorder that is the focus of support. Services 

assist the individual with developing and maintaining a 

path to recovery, resiliency, and wellness. Specific peer 

support service activities shall emphasize the acquisition, 

development, and enhancement of recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness. Services are designed to promote 

empowerment, self-determination, understanding, and 

coping skills through mentoring and service coordination 

supports, as well as to assist individuals in achieving 

positive coping mechanisms for the stressors and barriers 
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encountered when recovering from their illnesses or 

disorders. 

b. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making the 

recommendation for mental health support services, the 

peer recovery specialist in consultation with his direct 

supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation for 

service, the individual's perceived recovery needs, and 

any clinical assessments or service specific provider 

intakes as defined in this section within 30 calendar days 

of the initiation of service. Development of the recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan shall include collaboration 

with the individual. Individualized goals and strategies 

shall be focused on the individual's identified needs for 

self-advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, 

and wellness plan shall also include documentation of 

how many days per week and how many hours per week 

are required to carry out the services in order to meet the 

goals of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan shall be completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, 

the PRS, the direct supervisor, and the individual within 

30 calendar days of the initiation of service. The PRS 

shall act as an advocate for the individual, encouraging 

the individual to take a proactive role in developing and 

updating goals and objectives in the individualized 

recovery planning. 

c. Documentation of required activities shall be required 

as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A, C, and E through 

J. 

d. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be 

the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210. 

e. Individuals 21 years of age or older qualifying for 

mental health peer support services shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) Require recovery-oriented assistance and support 

services for the acquisition of skills needed to engage in 

and maintain recovery; for the development of self-

advocacy skills to achieve a decreasing dependency on 

formalized treatment systems; and to increase 

responsibilities, wellness potential, and shared 

accountability for the individual's own recovery.  

(2) Have a documented mental health disorder diagnosis.  

(3) Demonstrate moderate to severe functional 

impairment because of a diagnosis that interferes with or 

limits performance in at least one of the following 

domains: educational (e.g., obtaining a high school or 

college degree); social (e.g., developing a social support 

system); vocational (e.g., obtaining part-time or full-time 

employment); self-maintenance (e.g., managing 

symptoms, understanding his illness, living more 

independently). 

f. To qualify for continued mental health peer support 

services, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be 

met, and progress notes shall document the status of 

progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan. 

g. Discharge criteria from mental health peer support 

services is the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 

E. 

h. Mental health peer support services shall be rendered 

on an individual basis or in a group. 

i. Prior to service initiation, a documented 

recommendation for mental health peer support 

services shall be made by a licensed mental health 

professional acting within the scope of practice under 

state law The recommendation shall verify that the 

individual meets the medical necessity criteria set forth in 

subdivision 7 e of this subsection. The recommendation 

shall be valid for no longer than 30 calendar days. 

j. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 

have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification established by DBHDS in order to be 

eligible to register with the Board of Counseling on or 

after July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations 

by the Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 

The PRS shall perform mental health peer support 

services under the oversight of the LMHP making the 

recommendation for services and providing the clinical 

oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 

The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 

relationship with an enrolled provider licensed for one of 

the following: 

(1) Acute care general hospital licensed by the 

Department of Health.  

(2) Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

(3) Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

(4) Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

(5) Rural health clinics and federally qualified health 

centers. 

(6) Hospital emergency department services licensed by 

the Department of Health. 

(7) Community mental health and rehabilitative services 

provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services as a provider of one 

of the following community mental health and 

rehabilitative services defined in this section or 
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12VAC30-50-420 for which the individual meets 

medical necessity criteria: 

(a) Day treatment or partial hospitalization; 

(b) Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

(c) Crisis intervention; 

(d) Intensive community treatment; 

(e) Crisis stabilization;  

(f) Mental health skill building; or 

(g) Mental health case management. 

k. Only the licensed and enrolled provider referenced in 

subdivision 7 j of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 

mental health peer support services. Payments shall not 

be permitted to providers that fail to enter into an 

enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor. 

Reimbursement shall be subject to retraction for any 

billed service that is determined to not to be in 

compliance with DMAS requirements. 

l. Supervision of the PRS shall be required as set forth in 

the definition of "supervision" in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

Supervision of the PRS shall also meet the following 

requirements: the supervisor shall be under the clinical 

oversight of the LMHP making the recommendation for 

services, and the peer recovery specialist in consultation 

with his direct supervisor shall conduct and document a 

review of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 

every 90 calendar days with the individual and the 

caregiver, as applicable. The review shall be signed by 

the PRS and the individual and, as applicable, the 

identified family member or caregiver. Review of the 

recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan means the PRS 

evaluates and updates the individual's progress every 90 

days toward meeting the plan's goals and documents the 

outcome of this review in the individual's medical record. 

For DMAS to determine that these reviews are complete, 

the reviews shall (i) update the goals and objectives as 

needed to reflect any change in the individual's recovery 

as well as any newly identified needs, (ii) be conducted 

in a manner that enables the individual to actively 

participate in the process, and (iii) be documented by the 

PRS in the individual's medical record no later than 15 

calendar days from the date of the review. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-50)  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth 

Edition, DSM-5, 2013, American Psychiatric Association 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 

Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 

American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 

of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 

and Addenda 

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 

DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2010, dated 

March 13, 2014 

(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_

ORM_140313.pdf) 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-

Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 

2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine 

Human Services and Related Fields Approved 

Degrees/Experience, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (rev. 5/13)  

Approved Degrees in Human Services and Related Fields 

for QMHP Registration, adopted on November 3, 2017, 

revised on February 9, 2018 

12VAC30-60-5. Applicability of utilization review 

requirements. 

A. These utilization requirements shall apply to all Medicaid 

covered services unless otherwise specified. 

B. Some Medicaid covered services require an approved 

service authorization prior to service delivery in order for 

reimbursement to occur.  

1. To obtain service authorization, all providers' 

information supplied to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS), service authorization 

contractor, or the behavioral health service authorization 

contractor or its contractor shall be fully substantiated 

throughout individuals' medical records.  

2. Providers shall be required to maintain documentation 

detailing all relevant information about the Medicaid 

individuals who are in providers' the provider's care. Such 

documentation shall fully disclose the extent of services 

provided in order to support providers' the provider's 

claims for reimbursement for services rendered. This 

documentation shall be written, signed, and dated at the 

time the services are rendered unless specified otherwise.  

C. DMAS, or its designee contractor, shall perform reviews 

of the utilization of all Medicaid covered services pursuant to 

42 CFR 440.260 and 42 CFR Part 456.  

D. DMAS shall recover expenditures made for covered 

services when providers' documentation does not comport 

with standards specified in all applicable regulations. 

E. Providers who are determined not to be in compliance 

with DMAS requirements shall be subject to 12VAC30-80-

130 for the repayment of those overpayments to DMAS. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451~1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451~1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db85f004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
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F. Utilization review requirements specific to community 

mental health services and residential treatment services, 

including therapeutic group homes and psychiatric residential 

treatment facilities (PRTFs), as set out in 12VAC30-50-130 

and 12VAC30-50-226, shall be as follows: 

1. To apply to be reimbursed as a Medicaid provider, the 

required Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) license shall be either a 

full, annual, triennial, or conditional license. Providers 

must be enrolled with DMAS or the BHSA its contractor 

to be reimbursed. Once a health care entity has been 

enrolled as a provider, it shall maintain, and update 

periodically as DMAS or its contractor requires, a current 

Provider Enrollment Agreement for each Medicaid service 

that the provider offers.  

2. Health care entities with provisional licenses shall not be 

reimbursed as Medicaid providers of community mental 

health services. 

3. Payments shall not be permitted to health care entities 

that either hold provisional licenses or fail to enter into a 

Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement provider 

contract with DMAS or its contractor for a service prior to 

rendering that service. 

4. The behavioral health service authorization contractor 

DMAS or its contractor shall apply a national standardized 

set of medical necessity criteria in use in the industry, such 

as McKesson InterQual Criteria, or an equivalent standard 

authorized in advance by DMAS. Services that fail to meet 

medical necessity criteria shall be denied service 

authorization. 

5. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement for services 

provided by staff in residency, the following terms shall be 

used after their signatures to indicate such status: 

a. An LMHP-R shall use the term "Resident" after his 

signature. 

b. An LMHP-RP shall use the term "Resident in 

Psychology" after his signature. 

c. An LMHP-S shall use the term "Supervisee in Social 

Work" after his signature. 

12VAC30-60-50. Utilization control: Intermediate Care 

Facilities care facilities for the Mentally Retarded 

(ICF/MR) persons with intellectual and developmental 

disabilities and Institutions institutions for Mental Disease 

(IMD) mental disease.  

A. "Institution for mental disease" or "IMD" means the same 

as that term is defined in § 1905(i) of the Social Security Act. 

B. With respect to each Medicaid-eligible resident in an 

ICF/MR intermediate care facility for persons with 

intellectual and developmental disabilities (ICF/ID) or an 

IMD in Virginia, a written plan of care must be developed 

prior to admission to or authorization of benefits in such 

facility, and a regular program of independent professional 

review (including a medical evaluation) shall be completed 

periodically for such services. The purpose of the review is to 

determine: the adequacy of the services available to meet his 

the resident's current health needs and promote his the 

resident's maximum physical well being; the necessity and 

desirability of his the resident's continued placement in the 

facility; and the feasibility of meeting his the resident's health 

care needs through alternative institutional or noninstitutional 

services. Long-term care of residents in such facilities will be 

provided in accordance with federal law that is based on the 

resident's medical and social needs and requirements.  

B. C. With respect to each ICF/MR ICF/ID or IMD, periodic 

on-site onsite inspections of the care being provided to each 

person receiving medical assistance, by one or more 

independent professional review teams (composed of a 

physician or registered nurse and other appropriate health and 

social service personnel), shall be conducted. The review 

shall include, with respect to each recipient, a determination 

of the adequacy of the services available to meet his the 

resident's current health needs and promote his the resident's 

maximum physical well-being, the necessity and desirability 

of continued placement in the facility, and the feasibility of 

meeting his the resident's health care needs through 

alternative institutional or noninstitutional services. Full 

reports shall be made to the state agency by the review team 

of the findings of each inspection, together with any 

recommendations.  

C. D. In order for reimbursement to be made to a facility for 

the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 

developmental disabilities, the resident must meet criteria for 

placement in such facility as described in 12VAC30-60-360 

and the facility must provide active treatment for mental 

retardation intellectual or developmental disabilities.  

D. E. In each case for which payment for nursing facility 

services for the mentally retarded persons with intellectual or 

developmental disabilities or institution for mental disease 

services is made under the State Plan:  

1. A physician must certify for each applicant or recipient 

that inpatient care is needed in a facility for the mentally 

retarded or an institution for mental disease. A certificate 

of need shall be completed by an independent certification 

team according to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 

5. Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar 

days by a physician, or by a physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner acting within their scope of practice as defined 

by state law and under the supervision of a physician. The 

certification must be made at the time of admission or, if 

an individual applies for assistance while in the facility, 

before the Medicaid agency authorizes payment; and  

2. A physician, or physician assistant or nurse practitioner 

acting within the scope of the practice as defined by state 
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law and under the supervision of a physician, must 

recertify for each applicant at least every 365 60 calendar 

days that services are needed in a facility for the mentally 

retarded persons with intellectual and developmental 

disabilities or an institution for mental disease.  

E. F. When a resident no longer meets criteria for facilities 

for the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 

developmental disabilities or for an institution for mental 

disease, or no longer requires active treatment in a facility for 

the mentally retarded persons with intellectual and 

developmental disabilities then the resident must shall be 

discharged.  

F. G. All services provided in an IMD and in an ICF/MR 

ICF/ID shall be provided in accordance with guidelines found 

in the Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual.  

H. All services provided in an IMD shall be provided with 

the applicable provider agreement and all documents 

referenced therein. 

I. Psychiatric services in IMDs shall only be covered for 

eligible individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

J. IMD services provided without service authorization from 

DMAS or its contractor shall not be covered. 

K. Absence of any of the required IMD documentation shall 

result in denial or retraction of reimbursement.  

L. In each case for which payment for IMD services is made 

under the State Plan: 

1. A physician shall certify at the time of admission, or at 

the time the IMD is notified of an individual's retroactive 

eligibility status, that the individual requires or required 

inpatient services in an IMD consistent with 42 CFR 

456.160. 

2. The physician, or physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner acting within the scope of practice as defined 

by state law and under the supervision of a physician, shall 

recertify at least every 60 calendar days that the individual 

continues to require inpatient services in an IMD. 

3.  Before admission to an IMD or before authorization for 

payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall 

perform a medical evaluation of the individual, and 

appropriate personnel shall complete a psychiatric and 

social evaluation as described in 42 CFR 456.170. 

4. Before admission to an IMD or before authorization for 

payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall 

establish a written plan of care for each individual as 

described in 42 CFR 441.155 and 42 CFR 456.180.  

M. It shall be documented that the individual requiring 

admission to an IMD who is younger than 21 years of age, 

that treatment is medically necessary, and that the necessity 

was identified as a result of an independent certification of 

need team review. Required documentation shall include the 

following: 

1. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association, and based on an evaluation by a 

psychiatrist completed within 30 calendar days of 

admission or if the diagnosis is confirmed, in writing, by a 

previous evaluation completed within one year within 

admission. 

2. A certification of the need for services as defined in 

42 CFR 441.152 by an interdisciplinary team meeting the 

requirements of 42 CFR 441.153 or 42 CFR 441.156 and 

the Psychiatric Treatment of Minors Act (§ 16.1-335 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

N. The use of seclusion and restraint in an IMD shall be in 

accordance with 42 CFR 483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376. 

Each use of a seclusion or restraint, as defined in 42 CFR 

483.350 through 42 CFR 483.376, shall be reported by the 

service provider to DMAS or its contractor within one 

calendar day of the incident. 

12VAC30-60-61. Services related to the Early and 

Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program 

(EPSDT); community mental health and behavioral 

therapy services for children. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context indicates otherwise: 

"At risk" means one or more of the following: (i) within the 

two weeks before the intake, the individual shall be screened 

by an LMHP for escalating behaviors that have put either the 

individual or others at immediate risk of physical injury; (ii) 

the parent/guardian parent or guardian is unable to manage 

the individual's mental, behavioral, or emotional problems in 

the home and is actively, within the past two to four weeks, 

seeking an out-of-home placement; (iii) a representative of 

either a juvenile justice agency, a department of social 

services (either the state agency or local agency), a 

community services board/behavioral health authority, the 

Department of Education, or an LMHP, as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20, and who is neither an employee of nor 

consultant to the intensive in-home (IIH) services or 

therapeutic day treatment (TDT) provider, has recommended 

an out-of-home placement absent an immediate change of 

behaviors and when unsuccessful mental health services are 

evident; (iv) the individual has a history of unsuccessful 

services (either crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, 

outpatient psychotherapy, outpatient substance abuse 

services, or mental health support) within the past 30 calendar 

days; or (v) the treatment team or family assessment planning 

team (FAPT) recommends IIH services or TDT for an 

individual currently who is either: (a) transitioning out of 

psychiatric residential treatment facility Level C (PRTF) 
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services, (b) transitioning out of a therapeutic group home 

Level A or B services, (c) transitioning out of acute 

psychiatric hospitalization, or (d) transitioning between foster 

homes, mental health case management, crisis intervention, 

crisis stabilization, outpatient psychotherapy, or outpatient 

substance abuse services.  

"Failed services" or "unsuccessful services" means, as 

measured by ongoing behavioral, mental, or physical distress, 

that the services did not treat or resolve the individual's 

mental health or behavioral issues. 

"Individual" means the Medicaid-eligible person receiving 

these services and for the purpose of this section includes 

children from birth up to 12 years of age or and adolescents 

ages 12 through 20 years. 

"Licensed assistant behavior analyst" means a person who 

has met the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and 

holds a valid license issued by the Department of Health 

Professions. 

"Licensed behavior analyst" means a person who has met 

the licensing requirements of 18VAC85-150 and holds a valid 

license issued by the Department of Health Professions. 

"New service" means a community mental health 

rehabilitation service for which the individual does not have a 

current service authorization in effect as of July 17, 2011. 

"Out-of-home placement" means placement in one or more 

of the following: (i) either a Level A or Level B therapeutic 

group home; (ii) regular foster home if the individual is 

currently residing with his the individual's biological family 

and, due to his behavior problems, is at risk of being placed in 

the custody of the local department of social services; (iii) 

treatment foster care if the individual is currently residing 

with his the individual's biological family or a regular foster 

care family and, due to the individual's behavioral problems, 

is at risk of removal to a higher level of care; (iv) Level C 

psychiatric residential treatment facility; (v) emergency 

shelter for the individual only due either to his mental health 

or behavior or both; (vi) psychiatric hospitalization; or (vii) 

juvenile justice system or incarceration.  

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. Individualized 

progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 

requirements and shall convey the individual's status, staff 

interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's progress or 

lack of progress toward goals and objectives in the plan of 

care. The progress notes shall also include, at a minimum, the 

name of the service rendered, the date of the service rendered, 

the signature and credentials of the person who rendered the 

service, the setting in which the service was rendered, and the 

amount of time or units required to deliver the service. The 

content of each progress note shall corroborate the time or 

units billed. Progress notes shall be documented for each 

service that is billed. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the evaluation that 

is conducted according to the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) intake definition set out in 

12VAC30-50-130. 

B. Utilization review requirements for all services in this 

section. 

1. The services described in this section shall be rendered 

consistent with the definitions, service limits, and 

requirements described in this section and in 12VAC30-

50-130. 

2. Providers shall be required to refund payments made by 

Medicaid if they fail to maintain adequate documentation 

to support billed activities. 

3. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall meet all of the 

requirements set forth in 12VAC30-60-143 B 7. 

C. Utilization review of intensive in-home (IIH) services for 

children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for intensive in-home (IIH) 

services is contained in 12VAC30-50-130. 

2. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from mental, 

behavioral or emotional illness that results in significant 

functional impairments in major life activities. Individuals 

must meet at least two of the following criteria on a 

continuing or intermittent basis to be authorized for these 

services:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social 

services or judicial system are or have been necessary.  

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

3. Prior to admission, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130, shall be 

conducted by the licensed mental health professional 

(LMHP), LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP, documenting the individual's diagnosis and describing 

how service needs can best be met through intervention 

provided typically but not solely in the individual's 

residence. The service-specific provider intake shall 

describe how the individual's clinical needs put the 

individual at risk of out-of-home placement and shall be 
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conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence. 

Claims for services that are based upon service-specific 

provider intakes that are incomplete, outdated (more than 

12 months old), or missing shall not be reimbursed. 

4. An individual service plan (ISP) shall be fully 

completed, signed, and dated by either an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-C, or a 

QMHP-E and the individual and individual's 

parent/guardian parent or guardian within 30 calendar days 

of initiation of services. The ISP shall meet all of the 

requirements as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

5. DMAS shall not reimburse for dates of services in which 

the progress notes are not individualized and child-specific. 

Duplicated progress notes shall not constitute the required 

child-specific individualized progress notes. Each progress 

note shall demonstrate unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress. Claim 

payments shall be retracted for services that are supported 

by documentation that does not demonstrate unique 

differences particular to the individual.  

6. Services shall be directed toward the treatment of the 

eligible individual and delivered primarily in the family's 

residence with the individual present. As clinically 

indicated, the services may be rendered in the community 

if there is documentation, on that date of service, of the 

necessity of providing services in the community. The 

documentation shall describe how the alternative 

community service location supports the identified clinical 

needs of the individual and describe how it facilitates the 

implementation of the ISP. For services provided outside 

of the home, there shall be documentation reflecting 

therapeutic treatment as set forth in the ISP provided for 

that date of service in the appropriately signed and dated 

progress notes. 

7. These services shall be provided when the clinical needs 

of the individual put him the individual at risk for out-of-

home placement, as these terms are defined in this section: 

a. When services that are far more intensive than 

outpatient clinic care are required to stabilize the 

individual in the family situation,; or  

b. When the individual's residence as the setting for 

services is more likely to be successful than a clinic.  

The service-specific provider intake shall describe how the 

individual meets either subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this 

subdivision 7 subsection. 

8. Services shall not be provided if the individual is no 

longer a resident of the home. 

9. Services shall also be used to facilitate the transition to 

home from an out-of-home placement when services more 

intensive than outpatient clinic care are required for the 

transition to be successful. The individual and responsible 

parent/guardian parent or guardian shall be available and in 

agreement to participate in the transition.  

10. At least one parent/legal parent or legal guardian or 

responsible adult with whom the individual is living must 

be willing to participate in the intensive in-home services 

with the goal of keeping the individual with the family. In 

the instance of this service, a responsible adult shall be an 

adult who lives in the same household with the child and is 

responsible for engaging in therapy and service-related 

activities to benefit the individual.  

11. The enrolled provider shall be licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) as a provider of intensive in-home 

services. The provider shall also have a provider 

enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor in 

effect prior to the delivery of this service that indicates that 

the provider will offer intensive in-home services. 

12. Services must only be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 

QMHP-E. Reimbursement shall not be provided for such 

services when they have been rendered by a QPPMH as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

13. The billing unit for intensive in-home service shall be 

one hour. Although the pattern of service delivery may 

vary, intensive in-home services is an intensive service 

provided to individuals for whom there is an ISP in effect 

which demonstrates the need for a minimum of three hours 

a week of intensive in-home service, and includes a plan 

for service provision of a minimum of three hours of 

service delivery per individual/family individual or family 

per week in the initial phase of treatment. It is expected 

that the pattern of service provision may show more 

intensive services and more frequent contact with the 

individual and family initially with a lessening or tapering 

off of intensity toward the latter weeks of service. Service 

plans shall incorporate an individualized discharge plan 

that describes transition from intensive in-home to less 

intensive or nonhome based services. 

14. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 

updated as the individual's needs and progress changes and 

signed by either the parent or legal guardian and the 

individual. Documentation shall be provided if the 

individual, who is a minor child, is unable or unwilling to 

sign the ISP. If there is a lapse in services that is greater 

than 31 consecutive calendar days without any 

communications from family members/legal members or 

legal guardian or the individual with the provider, the 

provider shall discharge the individual. If the individual 

continues to need services, then a new intake/admission 

intake or admission shall be documented and a new service 

authorization shall be required. 
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15. The provider shall ensure that the maximum staff-to-

caseload ratio fully meets the needs of the individual. 

16. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 

management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 

12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall contact the case 

manager and provide notification of the provision of 

services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 

updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 

within 30 calendar days of the service discontinuation date. 

Providers and case managers who are using the same 

electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for delivery of the notification, monthly 

updates, and discharge summary upon entry of the 

information in the electronic health records.  

17. Emergency assistance shall be available 24 hours per 

day, seven days a week.  

18. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements at 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers that 

DMAS determines violate these marketing requirements 

shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 

12VAC30-130-2000 E.  

19. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or guardian, shall inform him the primary care 

provider of the individual's receipt of IIH services. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 

contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. 

D. Utilization review of therapeutic day treatment for 

children and adolescents.  

1. The service definition for therapeutic day treatment 

(TDT) for children and adolescents is contained in 

12VAC30-50-130.  

2. Therapeutic day treatment is appropriate for children 

and adolescents who meet one of the following criteria:  

a. Children and adolescents who require year-round 

treatment in order to sustain behavior or emotional gains.  

b. Children and adolescents whose behavior and 

emotional problems are so severe they cannot be handled 

in self-contained or resource emotionally disturbed (ED) 

classrooms without:  

(1) This programming during the school day; or  

(2) This programming to supplement the school day or 

school year.  

c. Children and adolescents who would otherwise be 

placed on homebound instruction because of severe 

emotional/behavior problems that interfere with learning.  

d. Children and adolescents who (i) have deficits in 

social skills, peer relations or dealing with authority; (ii) 

are hyperactive; (iii) have poor impulse control; or (iv) 

are extremely depressed or marginally connected with 

reality.  

e. Children in preschool enrichment and early 

intervention programs when the children's 

emotional/behavioral emotional or behavioral problems 

are so severe that they the children cannot function in 

these programs without additional services.  

3. The service-specific provider intake shall document the 

individual's behavior and describe how the individual 

meets these specific service criteria in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

4. Prior to admission to this service, a service-specific 

provider intake shall be conducted by the LMHP as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

5. An ISP shall be fully completed, signed, and dated by an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and by the individual or the 

parent/guardian parent or guardian within 30 calendar days 

of initiation of services and shall meet all requirements of 

an ISP as defined in 12VAC30-50-226. Individual progress 

notes shall be required for each contact with the individual 

and shall meet all of the requirements as defined in 

12VAC30-50-130 this section. 

6. Such services shall not duplicate those services provided 

by the school.  

7. Individuals qualifying for this service shall demonstrate 

a clinical necessity for the service arising from a condition 

due to mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 

in significant functional impairments in major life 

activities. Individuals shall meet at least two of the 

following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  

a. Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 

interpersonal relationships to such a degree that they are 

at risk of hospitalization or out-of-home placement 

because of conflicts with family or community.  

b. Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that documented, 

repeated interventions by the mental health, social 

services, or judicial system are or have been necessary.  

c. Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they are 

unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 

significantly inappropriate social behavior.  

8. The enrolled provider of therapeutic day treatment for 

child and adolescent services shall be licensed by DBHDS 

to provide day support services. The provider shall also 

have a provider enrollment agreement in effect with 

DMAS prior to the delivery of this service that indicates 

that the provider offers therapeutic day treatment services 

for children and adolescents.  
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9. Services shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-C, or 

QMHP-E.  

10. The minimum staff-to-individual ratio as defined by 

DBHDS licensing requirements shall ensure that adequate 

staff is available to meet the needs of the individual 

identified on the ISP.  

11. The program shall operate a minimum of two hours per 

day and may offer flexible program hours (i.e., before or 

after school or during the summer). One unit of service 

shall be defined as a minimum of two hours but less than 

three hours in a given day. Two units of service shall be 

defined as a minimum of three but less than five hours in a 

given day. Three units of service shall be defined as five or 

more hours of service in a given day.  

12. Time required for academic instruction when no 

treatment activity is going on shall not be included in the 

billing unit.  

13. Services shall be provided following a service-specific 

provider intake that is conducted by an LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. An LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident shall make and 

document the diagnosis. The service-specific provider 

intake shall include the elements as defined in 12VAC30-

50-130. 

14. If an individual receiving services is also receiving case 

management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 

12VAC30-50-430, the provider shall collaborate with the 

case manager and provide notification of the provision of 

services. In addition, the provider shall send monthly 

updates to the case manager on the individual's status. A 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 

within 30 calendar days of the service discontinuation date. 

Providers and case managers using the same electronic 

health record for the individual shall meet requirements for 

delivery of the notification, monthly updates, and 

discharge summary upon entry of this documentation into 

the electronic health record.  

15. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or parent/legal the individual's parent or legal 

guardian, shall inform the primary care provider of the 

child's the individual's receipt of community mental health 

rehabilitative services. The documentation shall include 

who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and what 

information was transmitted. The parent/legal parent or 

legal guardian shall be required to give written consent that 

this provider has permission to inform the primary care 

provider of the child's or adolescent's receipt of community 

mental health rehabilitative services.  

16. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 

requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 

that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 

requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 

pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. 

17. If there is a lapse in services greater than 31 

consecutive calendar days, the provider shall discharge the 

individual. If the individual continues to need services, a 

new intake/admission intake or admission documentation 

shall be prepared and a new service authorization shall be 

required. 

E. Utilization review of community-based services for 

children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level 

A).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least one to six during the day 

and at least one to 10 between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. The 

program director supervising the program/group home 

must be, at minimum, a QMHP-C or QMHP-E (as defined 

in 12VAC35-105-20). The program director must be 

employed full time.  

2. In order for Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at 

least 50% of the provider's direct care staff at the group 

home must meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff criteria, 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

3. Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement. 

All community-based services for children and adolescents 

younger than 21 (Level A) require authorization prior to 

reimbursement for these services. Reimbursement shall not 

be made for this service when other less intensive services 

may achieve stabilization.  

4. Services must be provided in accordance with an 

individual service plan (ISP), which must be fully 

completed within 30 days of authorization for Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

5. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake 

shall be conducted according to DMAS specifications 

described in 12VAC30-50-130. 

6. Such service-specific provider intakes shall be 

performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

7. If an individual receiving community-based services for 

children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age 

(Level A) is also receiving case management services, the 

provider shall collaborate with the case manager by 

notifying the case manager of the provision of Level A 

services and shall send monthly updates on the individual's 

progress. When the individual is discharged from Level A 

services, a discharge summary shall be sent to the case 

manager within 30 days of the service discontinuation 

date. Providers and case managers who are using the same 

electronic health record for the individual shall meet 

requirements for the delivery of the notification, monthly 
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updates, and discharge summary upon entry of this 

documentation into the electronic health record.  

F. E. Utilization review of therapeutic behavioral services 

group home for children and adolescents younger than 21 

years of age (Level B).  

1. The staff ratio must be at least one to four during the day 

and at least one to eight between 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

approved by the Office of Licensure at the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. The 

clinical director must shall be a licensed mental health 

professional. The caseload of the clinical director must not 

exceed 16 individuals including all sites for which the 

same clinical director is responsible.  

2. The program director must shall be full time and be a 

QMHP-C or QMHP-E with a bachelor's degree and at least 

one year's clinical experience meet the requirements for a 

program director as defined in 12VAC35-46-350. 

3. For Medicaid reimbursement to be approved, at least 

50% of the provider's direct care staff at the therapeutic 

group home shall meet DBHDS paraprofessional staff 

qualified paraprofessional in mental health (QPPMH) 

criteria, as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. The 

program/group therapeutic group home must shall 

coordinate services with other providers.  

4. All therapeutic behavioral group home services (Level 

B) shall be authorized prior to reimbursement for these 

services. Services rendered without such prior 

authorization shall not be covered.  

5. Services must be provided in accordance with an ISP a 

comprehensive individual plan of care as defined in 

12VAC30-50-130, which shall be fully completed within 

30 calendar days of authorization for Medicaid 

reimbursement.  

6. Prior to admission, a service-specific provider intake an 

assessment shall be performed using all elements specified 

by DMAS in 12VAC30-50-130.  

7. Such service-specific provider intakes assessments shall 

be performed by an LMHP, an LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP. 

8. If an individual receiving therapeutic behavioral group 

home services for children and adolescents younger than 

21 years of age (Level B) is also receiving case 

management services, the therapeutic behavioral group 

home services provider must collaborate with the care 

coordinator/case manager by notifying him of the 

provision of Level B therapeutic group home services and 

the Level B therapeutic group home services provider shall 

send monthly updates on the individual's treatment status. 

When the individual is discharged from Level B services, a 

discharge summary shall be sent to the care 

coordinator/case manager within 30 days of the 

discontinuation date.  

9. The provider shall determine who the primary care 

provider is and, upon receiving written consent from the 

individual or parent/legal guardian parent or legally 

authorized representative, shall inform the primary care 

provider of the individual's receipt of these Level B 

therapeutic group home services. The documentation shall 

include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, and 

what information was transmitted. If these individuals are 

children or adolescents, then the parent/legal guardian 

parent or legally authorized representative shall be required 

to give written consent that this provider has permission to 

inform the primary care provider of the individual's receipt 

of community mental health rehabilitative services.  

G. Utilization review. Utilization reviews for community-

based services for children and adolescents younger than 21 

years of age (Level A) and therapeutic behavioral services for 

children and adolescents younger than 21 years of age (Level 

B) shall include determinations whether providers meet all 

DMAS requirements, including compliance with DMAS 

marketing requirements. Providers that DMAS determines 

have violated the DMAS marketing requirements shall be 

terminated as a Medicaid provider pursuant to 12VAC30-

130-2000 E.  

H. F. Utilization review of behavioral therapy services for 

children individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

1. In order for Medicaid to cover behavioral therapy 

services, the provider shall be enrolled with DMAS or its 

contractor as a Medicaid provider. The provider enrollment 

agreement shall be in effect prior to the delivery of services 

for Medicaid reimbursement. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider, 

licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or licensed 

nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 

contractor to be medically necessary to correct or 

ameliorate significant impairments in major life activities 

that have resulted from either developmental, behavioral, 

or mental disabilities. 

3. Behavioral therapy services require service 

authorization. Services shall be authorized only when 

eligibility and medical necessity criteria are met. 

4. Prior to treatment, an appropriate service-specific 

provider intake shall be conducted, documented, signed, 

and dated by a licensed behavior analyst (LBA), licensed 

assistant behavior analyst (LABA), LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, acting within the scope of his 

practice, documenting the individual's diagnosis (including 

a description of the behaviors targeted for treatment with 

their frequency, duration, and intensity) and describing 
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how service needs can best be met through behavioral 

therapy. The service-specific provider intake shall be 

conducted face-to-face in the individual's residence with 

the individual and parent or guardian.  

5. The ISP shall be developed upon admission to the 

service and reviewed within 30 days of admission to the 

service to ensure that all treatment goals are reflective of 

the individual's clinical needs and shall describe each 

treatment goal, targeted behavior, one or more measurable 

objectives for each targeted behavior, the behavioral 

modification strategy to be used to manage each targeted 

behavior, the plan for parent or caregiver training, care 

coordination, and the measurement and data collection 

methods to be used for each targeted behavior in the ISP. 

The ISP as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 shall be fully 

completed, signed, and dated by an LBA, LABA, LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. Every three months, 

the LBA, LABA, LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S shall review the ISP, modify the ISP as appropriate, and 

update the ISP, and all of these activities shall occur with 

the individual in a manner in which the individual may 

participate in the process. The ISP shall be rewritten at 

least annually.  

6. Reimbursement for the initial service-specific provider 

intake and the initial ISP shall be limited to five hours 

without service authorization. If additional time is needed 

to complete these documents, service authorization shall be 

required.  

7. Clinical supervision shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement of behavioral therapy services that are 

rendered by an LABA, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S 

or unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of practice as 

described by the applicable Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board. Clinical supervision of 

unlicensed staff shall occur at least weekly. As 

documented in the individual's medical record, clinical 

supervision shall include a review of progress notes and 

data and dialogue with supervised staff about the 

individual's progress and the effectiveness of the ISP. 

Clinical supervision shall be documented by, at a 

minimum, the contemporaneously dated signature of the 

clinical supervisor.  

8. Family training involving the individual's family and 

significant others to advance the treatment goals of the 

individual shall be provided when (i) the training with the 

family member or significant other is for the direct benefit 

of the individual, (ii) the training is not aimed at addressing 

the treatment needs of the individual's family or significant 

others, (iii) the individual is present except when it is 

clinically appropriate for the individual to be absent in 

order to advance the individual's treatment goals, and (iv) 

the training is aligned with the goals of the individual's 

treatment plan.  

9. The following shall not be covered under this service: 

a. Screening to identify physical, mental, or 

developmental conditions that may require evaluation or 

treatment. Screening is covered as an EPSDT service 

provided by the primary care provider and is not covered 

as a behavioral therapy service under this section.  

b. Services other than the initial service-specific provider 

intake that are provided but are not based upon the 

individual's ISP or linked to a service in the ISP. Time 

not actively involved in providing services directed by 

the ISP shall not be reimbursed. 

c. Services that are based upon an incomplete, missing, 

or outdated service-specific provider intake or ISP. 

d. Sessions that are conducted for family support, 

education, recreational, or custodial purposes, including 

respite or child care. 

e. Services that are provided by a provider but are 

rendered primarily by a relative or guardian who is 

legally responsible for the individual's care. 

f. Services that are provided in a clinic or provider's 

office without documented justification for the location 

in the ISP. 

g. Services that are provided in the absence of the 

individual or a parent or other authorized caregiver 

identified in the ISP with the exception of treatment 

review processes described in subdivision 12 e of this 

subsection, care coordination, and clinical supervision.  

h. Services provided by a local education agency. 

i. Provider travel time. 

10. Behavioral therapy services shall not be reimbursed 

concurrently with community mental health services 

described in 12VAC30-50-130 B 5 C or 12VAC30-50-

226, or behavioral, psychological, or psychiatric 

therapeutic consultation described in 12VAC30-120-

756, 12VAC30-120-1000, or 12VAC30-135-320. 

11. If the individual is receiving targeted case management 

services under the Medicaid state plan State Plan (defined 

in 12VAC30-50-410 through 12VAC30-50-491 

12VAC30-50-491), the provider shall notify the case 

manager of the provision of behavioral therapy services 

unless the parent or guardian requests that the information 

not be released. In addition, the provider shall send 

monthly updates to the case manager on the individual's 

status pursuant to a valid release of information. A 

discharge summary shall be sent to the case manager 

within 30 days of the service discontinuation date. A 

refusal of the parent or guardian to release information 

shall be documented in the medical record for the date the 

request was discussed. 
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12. Other standards to ensure quality of services: 

a. Services shall be delivered only by an LBA, LABA, 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, or clinically 

supervised unlicensed staff consistent with the scope of 

practice as described by the applicable Virginia 

Department of Health Professions regulatory board.  

b. Individual-specific services shall be directed toward 

the treatment of the eligible individual and delivered in 

the family's residence unless an alternative location is 

justified and documented in the ISP. 

c. Individual-specific progress notes shall be created 

contemporaneously with the service activities and shall 

document the name and Medicaid number of each 

individual; the provider's name, signature, and date; and 

time of service. Documentation shall include activities 

provided, length of services provided, the individual's 

reaction to that day's activity, and documentation of the 

individual's and the parent or caregiver's progress toward 

achieving each behavioral objective through analysis and 

reporting of quantifiable behavioral data. Documentation 

shall be prepared to clearly demonstrate efficacy using 

baseline and service-related data that shows clinical 

progress and generalization for the child and family 

members toward the therapy goals as defined in the 

service plan. 

d. Documentation of all billed services shall include the 

amount of time or billable units spent to deliver the 

service and shall be signed and dated on the date of the 

service by the practitioner rendering the service. 

e. Billable time is permitted for the LBA, LABA, LMHP, 

LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to better define 

behaviors and develop documentation strategies to 

measure treatment performance and the efficacy of the 

ISP objectives, provided that these activities are 

documented in a progress note as described in 

subdivision 12 c of this subsection. 

13. Failure to comply with any of the requirements in 

12VAC30-50-130 or in this section shall result in 

retraction. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-60)  

Department of Medical Assistance Services Provider 

Manuals 

(https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/

ProviderManuals): 

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual 

Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual  

Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual 

Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual 

Development of Special Criteria for the Purposes of Pre-

Admission Screening, Medicaid Memo, October 3, 2012, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 

Fourth Edition (DSM-IV-TR), copyright 2000, American 

Psychiatric Association 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-

Related Disorders (ASAM PPC-2R), Second Edition, 

copyright 2001, American Society on Addiction Medicine, 

Inc. 

Medicaid Memo, Reissuance of the Pre-Admission 

Screening (PAS) Provider Manual, Chapter IV, November 

22, 2016, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: New Service 

Authorization Requirement for an Independent Clinical 

Assessment for Medicaid and FAMIS Children's Community 

Mental Health Rehabilitative Services, dated June 16, 2011, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Children 

Community Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - 

Children's Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated 

July 23, 2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Medicaid Special Memo, Subject: Changes to Community 

Mental Health Rehabilitative Services - Adult-Oriented 

Services, July 1, 2010 & September 1, 2010, dated July 23, 

2010, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Approved Degrees in Human Services and Related Fields 

for QMHP Registration, adopted November 3, 2017, revised 

February 9, 2018 

Part XIV  

Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and 

Adolescents (Repealed) 

12VAC30-130-850. Definitions. (Repealed.)  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Active treatment" means implementation of a 

professionally developed and supervised individual plan of 

care that must be designed to achieve the recipient's discharge 

from inpatient status at the earliest possible time.  

"Certification" means a statement signed by a physician that 

inpatient services in a residential treatment facility are or 

were needed. The certification must be made at the time of 

admission, or, if an individual applies for assistance while in 

a mental hospital or residential treatment facility, before the 

Medicaid agency authorizes payment.  

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means 

a written plan developed for each recipient in accordance with 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManuals
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=87da3003195~1&typ=40&actno=003195&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fb624004355~9&typ=40&actno=004355&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6647c002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28966002790~2&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bac9b002790~3&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a68c9004495~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=004495&mime=application/pdf
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12VAC30-130-890 to improve his condition to the extent that 

inpatient care is no longer necessary.  

"Emergency services" means a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 

(including severe pain) such that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in placing the health of the individual (or, 

with respect to a pregnant woman, the health of the woman or 

her unborn child) in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to 

bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ 

or part. 

"Individual" or "individuals" means a child or adolescent 

younger than 21 years of age who is receiving a service 

covered under this part of this chapter.  

"Initial plan of care" means a plan of care established at 

admission, signed by the attending physician or staff 

physician, that meets the requirements in 12VAC30-130-890.  

"Inpatient psychiatric facility" or "IPF" means a private or 

state-run freestanding psychiatric hospital or psychiatric 

residential treatment center. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or 

recipient that inpatient services in a residential treatment 

facility are needed. Recertification must be made at least 

every 60 days by a physician, or physician assistant or nurse 

practitioner acting within the scope of practice as defined by 

state law and under the supervision of a physician.  

"Recipient" or "recipients" means the child or adolescent 

younger than 21 years of age receiving this covered service.  

"RTC-Level C" means a psychiatric residential treatment 

facility (Level C). 

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 

including physician and other health care services that are 

furnished to children while they are in an IPF that are billed 

by the arranged practitioners separately from the IPF per 

diem. 

12VAC30-130-860. Service coverage; eligible individuals; 

service certification. (Repealed.) 

A. Residential treatment programs (Level C) shall be 24-

hour, supervised, medically necessary, out-of-home programs 

designed to provide necessary support and address the special 

mental health and behavioral needs of a child or adolescent in 

order to prevent or minimize the need for more intensive 

inpatient treatment. Services must include, but shall not be 

limited to, assessment and evaluation, medical treatment 

(including drugs), individual and group counseling, and 

family therapy necessary to treat the child.  

B. Residential treatment programs (Level C) shall provide a 

total, 24 hours per day, specialized form of highly organized, 

intensive and planned therapeutic interventions that shall be 

utilized to treat some of the most severe mental, emotional, 

and behavioral disorders. Residential treatment is a definitive 

therapeutic modality designed to deliver specified results for 

a defined group of problems for children or adolescents for 

whom outpatient day treatment or other less intrusive levels 

of care are not appropriate, and for whom a protected, 

structured milieu is medically necessary for an extended 

period of time.  

C. Therapeutic Behavioral Services for Children and 

Adolescents under 21 (Level B) and Community-Based 

Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A) 

must be therapeutic services rendered in a residential type 

setting such as a group home or program that provides 

structure for daily activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic 

supervision and mental health care to ensure the attainment of 

therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the individual 

service plan (plan of care). The child or adolescent must have 

a medical need for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities.  

D. Active treatment shall be required. Residential 

Treatment, Therapeutic Behavioral and Community-Based 

Services for Children and Adolescents under age 21 shall be 

designed to serve the mental health needs of children. In order 

to be reimbursed for Residential Treatment (Level C), 

Therapeutic Behavioral Services for Children and 

Adolescents under 21 (Level B), and Community-Based 

Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A), 

the facility must provide active mental health treatment 

beginning at admission and it must be related to the 

recipient's principle diagnosis and admitting symptoms. To 

the extent that any recipient needs mental health treatment 

and his needs meet the medical necessity criteria for the 

service, he will be approved for these services. These services 

do not include interventions and activities designed only to 

meet the supportive nonmental health special needs, including 

but not limited to personal care, habilitation or academic 

educational needs of the recipients.  

E. An individual eligible for Residential Treatment Services 

(Level C) is a recipient under the age of 21 years whose 

treatment needs cannot be met by ambulatory care resources 

available in the community, for whom proper treatment of his 

psychiatric condition requires services on an inpatient basis 

under the direction of a physician.  

An individual eligible for Therapeutic Behavioral Services 

for Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level B) is a child, 

under the age of 21 years, for whom proper treatment of his 

psychiatric condition requires less intensive treatment in a 

structured, therapeutic residential program under the direction 

of a Licensed Mental Health Professional.  

An individual eligible for Community-Based Services for 

Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level A) is a child, under 

the age of 21 years, for whom proper treatment of his 
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psychiatric condition requires less intensive treatment in a 

structured, therapeutic residential program under the direction 

of a qualified mental health professional. The services for all 

three levels can reasonably be expected to improve the child's 

or adolescent's condition or prevent regression so that the 

services will no longer be needed.  

F. In order for Medicaid to reimburse for Residential 

Treatment (Level C), Therapeutic Behavioral Services for 

Children and Adolescents under 21 (Level B), and 

Community-Based Services for Children and Adolescents 

under 21 (Level A), the need for the service must be certified 

according to the standards and requirements set forth in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. At least one member 

of the independent certifying team must have pediatric mental 

health expertise.  

1. For an individual who is already a Medicaid recipient 

when he is admitted to a facility or program, certification 

must:  

a. Be made by an independent certifying team that 

includes a licensed physician who:  

(1) Has competence in diagnosis and treatment of 

pediatric mental illness; and  

(2) Has knowledge of the recipient's mental health 

history and current situation.  

b. Be signed and dated by a physician and the team.  

2. For a recipient who applies for Medicaid while an 

inpatient in the facility or program, the certification must:  

a. Be made by the team responsible for the plan of care;  

b. Cover any period of time before the application for 

Medicaid eligibility for which claims for reimbursement 

by Medicaid are made; and  

c. Be signed and dated by a physician and the team.  

12VAC30-130-870. Preauthorization. (Repealed.)  

A. Authorization for Residential Treatment (Level C) shall 

be required within 24 hours of admission and shall be 

conducted by DMAS or its utilization management contractor 

using medical necessity criteria specified by DMAS. At 

preauthorization, an initial length of stay shall be assigned 

and the residential treatment provider shall be responsible for 

obtaining authorization for continued stay.  

B. DMAS will not pay for admission to or continued stay in 

residential facilities (Level C) that were not authorized by 

DMAS.  

C. Information that is required in order to obtain admission 

preauthorization for Medicaid payment shall include:  

1. A completed state-designated uniform assessment 

instrument approved by the department.  

2. A certification of the need for this service by the team 

described in 12VAC30-130-860 that:  

a. The ambulatory care resources available in the 

community do not meet the specific treatment needs of 

the recipient;  

b. Proper treatment of the recipient's psychiatric 

condition requires services on an inpatient basis under 

the direction of a physician; and  

c. The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the recipient's condition or prevent further regression so 

that the services will not be needed.  

3. Additional required written documentation shall include 

all of the following:  

a. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM-IV, 

effective October 1, 1996), including Axis I (Clinical 

Disorders), Axis II (Personality Disorders/Mental 

Retardation, Axis III (General Medical Conditions), Axis 

IV (Psychosocial and Environmental Problems), and 

Axis V (Global Assessment of Functioning);  

b. A description of the child's behavior during the seven 

days immediately prior to admission;  

c. A description of alternative placements tried or 

explored and the outcomes of each placement;  

d. The child's functional level and clinical stability;  

e. The level of family support available; and  

f. The initial plan of care as defined and specified at 

12VAC30-130-890.  

D. Continued stay criteria for Residential Treatment (Level 

C): information for continued stay authorization (Level C) for 

Medicaid payment must include:  

1. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 

more than 90 days prior to the date of submission;  

2. Documentation that the required services are provided as 

indicated;  

3. Current (within the last 30 days) information on progress 

related to the achievement of treatment goals. The 

treatment goals must address the reasons for admission, 

including a description of any new symptoms amenable to 

treatment;  

4. Description of continued impairment, problem 

behaviors, and need for Residential Treatment level of 

care.  

E. Denial of service may be appealed by the recipient 

consistent with 12VAC30-110-10 et seq.; denial of 

reimbursement may be appealed by the provider consistent 
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with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

F. DMAS will not pay for services for Therapeutic 

Behavioral Services for Children and Adolescents under 21 

(Level B), and Community-Based Services for Children and 

Adolescents under 21 (Level A) that are not prior authorized 

by DMAS.  

G. Authorization for Level A and Level B residential 

treatment shall be required within three business days of 

admission. Authorization for services shall be based upon the 

medical necessity criteria described in 12VAC30-50-130. The 

authorized length of stay must not exceed six months and 

may be reauthorized. The provider shall be responsible for 

documenting the need for a continued stay and providing 

supporting documentation.  

H. Information that is required in order to obtain admission 

authorization for Medicaid payment must include:  

1. A current completed state-designated uniform 

assessment instrument approved by the department. The 

state designated uniform assessment instrument must 

indicate at least two areas of moderate impairment for 

Level B and two areas of moderate impairment for Level 

A. A moderate impairment is evidenced by, but not limited 

to:  

a. Frequent conflict in the family setting, for example, 

credible threats of physical harm.  

b. Frequent inability to accept age appropriate direction 

and supervision from caretakers, family members, at 

school, or in the home or community.  

c. Severely limited involvement in social support; which 

means significant avoidance of appropriate social 

interaction, deterioration of existing relationships, or 

refusal to participate in therapeutic interventions.  

d. Impaired ability to form a trusting relationship with at 

least one caretaker in the home, school or community.  

e. Limited ability to consider the effect of one's 

inappropriate conduct on others, interactions consistently 

involving conflict, which may include impulsive or 

abusive behaviors.  

2. A certification of the need for the service by the team 

described in 12VAC30-130-860 that:  

a. The ambulatory care resources available in the 

community do not meet the specific treatment needs of 

the child;  

b. Proper treatment of the child's psychiatric condition 

requires services in a community-based residential 

program; and  

c. The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the child's condition or prevent regression so that the 

services will not be needed.  

3. Additional required written documentation must include 

all of the following:  

a. Diagnosis, as defined in the Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition (DSM-IV, 

effective October 1, 1996), including Axis I (Clinical 

Disorders), Axis II (Personality Disorders/Mental 

Retardation), Axis III (General Medical Conditions), 

Axis IV (Psychosocial and Environmental Problems), 

and Axis V (Global Assessment of Functioning);  

b. A description of the child's behavior during the 30 

days immediately prior to admission;  

c. A description of alternative placements tried or 

explored and the outcomes of each placement;  

d. The child's functional level and clinical stability;  

e. The level of family support available; and  

f. The initial plan of care as defined and specified at 

12VAC30-130-890.  

I. Denial of service may be appealed by the child consistent 

with 12VAC30-110; denial of reimbursement may be 

appealed by the provider consistent with the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

J. Continued stay criteria for Levels A and B:  

1. The length of the authorized stay shall be determined by 

DMAS or its contractor.  

2. A current Individual Service Plan (ISP) (plan of care) 

and a current (within 30 days) summary of progress related 

to the goals and objectives on the ISP (plan of care) must 

be submitted for continuation of the service.  

3. For reauthorization to occur, the desired outcome or 

level of functioning has not been restored or improved, 

over the time frame outlined in the child's ISP (plan of 

care) or the child continues to be at risk for relapse based 

on history or the tenuous nature of the functional gains and 

use of less intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 

Any one of the following must apply:  

a. The child has achieved initial service plan (plan of 

care) goals but additional goals are indicated that cannot 

be met at a lower level of care.  

b. The child is making satisfactory progress toward 

meeting goals but has not attained ISP goals, and the 

goals cannot be addressed at a lower level of care.  

c. The child is not making progress, and the service plan 

(plan of care) has been modified to identify more 

effective interventions.  
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d. There are current indications that the child requires 

this level of treatment to maintain level of functioning as 

evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for 

therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential 

setting or in a lower level of residential treatment.  

K. Discharge criteria for Levels A and B.  

1. Reimbursement shall not be made for this level of care if 

either of the following applies:  

a. The level of functioning has improved with respect to 

the goals outlined in the service plan (plan of care) and 

the child can reasonably be expected to maintain these 

gains at a lower level of treatment; or  

b. The child no longer benefits from service as evidenced 

by absence of progress toward service plan goals for a 

period of 60 days.  

12VAC30-130-880. Provider qualifications. (Repealed.)  

A. Providers must provide all Residential Treatment 

Services (Level C) as defined within this part and set forth in 

42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D.  

B. Providers of Residential Treatment Services (Level C) 

must be:  

1. A residential treatment program for children and 

adolescents licensed by DMHMRSAS that is located in a 

psychiatric hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on 

Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations;  

2. A residential treatment program for children and 

adolescents licensed by DMHMRSAS that is located in a 

psychiatric unit of an acute general hospital accredited by 

the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations; or  

3. A psychiatric facility that is (i) accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, 

the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 

Facilities, the Council on Quality and Leadership in 

Supports for People with Disabilities, or the Council on 

Accreditation of Services for Families and Children and 

(ii) licensed by DMHMRSAS as a residential treatment 

program for children and adolescents.  

C. Providers of Community-Based Services for Children and 

Adolescents under 21 (Level A) must be licensed by the 

Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 

Justice, or Department of Education under the Standards for 

Interdepartmental Regulation of Children's Residential 

Facilities (22VAC42-10).  

D. Providers of Therapeutic Behavioral Services (Level B) 

must be licensed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS) 

under the Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 

Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC42-10).  

12VAC30-130-890. Plans of care; review of plans of care. 

(Repealed.)  

A. All Medicaid services are subject to utilization review 

and audit. The absence of any required documentation may 

result in denial or retraction of any reimbursement. 

B. For Residential Treatment Services (Level C) (RTS-

Level C), an initial plan of care must be completed at 

admission and a Comprehensive Individual Plan of Care 

(CIPOC) must be completed no later than 14 days after 

admission.  

C. Initial plan of care (Level C) must include:  

1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

2. A description of the functional level of the individual;  

3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 

diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 

and safety of the individual and a list of services provided 

under arrangement (see 12VAC30-50-130 for eligible 

services provided under arrangement) that will be 

furnished to the individual through the RTC-Level C's 

referral to an employed or a contracted provider of services 

under arrangement, including the prescribed frequency of 

treatment and the circumstances under which such 

treatment shall be sought; 

5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care;  

6. Plans for discharge; and  

7. Signature and date by the physician.  

D. The CIPOC for Level C must meet all of the following 

criteria:  

1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and must reflect the need for inpatient psychiatric 

care;  

2. Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of physicians 

and other personnel specified under subsection G of this 

section, who are employed by, or provide services to, 

patients in the facility in consultation with the individual 

and his parents, legal guardians, or appropriate others in 

whose care he will be released after discharge;  

3. State treatment objectives that must include measurable 

short-term and long-term goals and objectives, with target 

dates for achievement;  
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4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 

and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 

related to the diagnosis;  

5. Include a list of services provided under arrangement 

(described in 12VAC30-50-130) that will be furnished to 

the individual through referral to an employee or a 

contracted provider of services under arrangement, 

including the prescribed frequency of treatment and the 

circumstances under which such treatment shall be sought; 

and 

6. Describe comprehensive discharge plans and 

coordination of inpatient services and post-discharge plans 

with related community services to ensure continuity of 

care upon discharge with the individual's family, school, 

and community.  

E. Review of the CIPOC for Level C. The CIPOC must be 

reviewed every 30 days by the team specified in subsection G 

of this section to:  

1. Determine that services being provided are or were 

required on an inpatient basis; and  

2. Recommend changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's overall adjustment as an inpatient.  

F. The development and review of the plan of care for Level 

C as specified in this section satisfies the facility's utilization 

control requirements for recertification and establishment and 

periodic review of the plan of care, as required in 42 CFR 

456.160 and 456.180.  

G. Team developing the CIPOC for Level C. The following 

requirements must be met:  

1. At least one member of the team must have expertise in 

pediatric mental health. Based on education and 

experience, preferably including competence in child 

psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of the 

following:  

a. Assessing the individual's immediate and long-range 

therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, and personal 

strengths and liabilities;  

b. Assessing the potential resources of the individual's 

family;  

c. Setting treatment objectives; and  

d. Prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the plan's 

objectives.  

2. The team must include, at a minimum, either:  

a. A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  

b. A clinical psychologist who has a doctoral degree and 

a physician licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; 

or  

c. A physician licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 

the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases, and a 

psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 

psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 

the state psychological association.  

3. The team must also include one of the following:  

a. A psychiatric social worker;  

b. A registered nurse with specialized training or one 

year's experience in treating mentally ill individuals;  

c. An occupational therapist who is licensed, if required 

by the state, and who has specialized training or one year 

of experience in treating mentally ill individuals; or  

d. A psychologist who has a master's degree in clinical 

psychology or who has been certified by the state or by 

the state psychological association.  

H. The RTC-Level C shall not receive a per diem 

reimbursement for any day that:  

1. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails to 

include within three business days of the initiation of the 

service provided under arrangement: 

a. The prescribed frequency of treatment of such service, 

or includes a frequency that was exceeded; or 

b. All services that the individual needs while residing at 

the RTC-Level C and that will be furnished to the 

individual through the RTC-Level C referral to an 

employed or contracted provider of services under 

arrangement;  

2. The initial or comprehensive written plan of care fails to 

list the circumstances under which the service provided 

under arrangement shall be sought;  

3. The referral to the service provided under arrangement 

was not present in the individual's RTC-Level C record; 

4. The service provided under arrangement was not 

supported in that provider's records by a documented 

referral from the RTC-Level C;  

5. The medical records from the provider of services under 

arrangement (i.e., admission and discharge documents, 

treatment plans, progress notes, treatment summaries, and 

documentation of medical results and findings) (i) were not 

present in the individual's RTC-Level C record or had not 

been requested in writing by the RTC-Level C within 

seven days of discharge from or completion of the service 

or services provided under arrangement or (ii) had been 

requested in writing within seven days of discharge from 

or completion of the service or services provided under 

arrangement, but not received within 30 days of the 

request, and not re-requested;  
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6. The RTC-Level C did not have a fully executed contract 

or employee relationship with an independent provider of 

services under arrangement in advance of the provision of 

such services. For emergency services, the RTC-Level C 

shall have a fully executed contract with the emergency 

services provider prior to submission of the emergency 

service provider's claim for payment; 

7. A physician's order for the service under arrangement is 

not present in the record; or 

8. The service under arrangement is not included in the 

individual's CIPOC within 30 calendar days of the 

physician's order.  

I. The provider of services under arrangement shall be 

required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such service 

provided under arrangement that was (i) furnished prior to 

receiving a referral or (ii) in excess of the amounts in the 

referral. Providers of services under arrangement shall be 

required to reimburse DMAS for the cost of any such services 

provided under arrangement that were rendered in the 

absence of an employment or contractual relationship. 

J. For therapeutic behavioral services for children and 

adolescents under 21 (Level B), the initial plan of care must 

be completed at admission by the licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP) and a CIPOC must be completed by the 

LMHP no later than 30 days after admission. The assessment 

must be signed and dated by the LMHP.  

K. For community-based services for children and 

adolescents under 21 (Level A), the initial plan of care must 

be completed at admission by the QMHP and a CIPOC must 

be completed by the QMHP no later than 30 days after 

admission. The individualized plan of care must be signed 

and dated by the program director.  

L. Initial plan of care for Levels A and B must include:  

1. Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

2. A description of the functional level of the individual;  

3. Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

4. Any orders for medications, treatments, restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social services, 

diet, and special procedures recommended for the health 

and safety of the patient;  

5. Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; and  

6. Plans for discharge.  

M. The CIPOC for Levels A and B must meet all of the 

following criteria:  

1. Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and must reflect the need for residential 

psychiatric care;  

2. The CIPOC for both levels must be based on input from 

school, home, other health care providers, the individual 

and family (or legal guardian);  

3. State treatment objectives that include measurable short-

term and long-term goals and objectives, with target dates 

for achievement;  

4. Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 

and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 

related to the diagnosis; and  

5. Describe comprehensive discharge plans with related 

community services to ensure continuity of care upon 

discharge with the individual's family, school, and 

community. 

N. Review of the CIPOC for Levels A and B. The CIPOC 

must be reviewed, signed, and dated every 30 days by the 

QMHP for Level A and by the LMHP for Level B. The 

review must include:  

1. The response to services provided;  

2. Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's overall response to the plan of care 

interventions; and  

3. Determinations regarding whether the services being 

provided continue to be required.  

Updates must be signed and dated by the service provider.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4495; Filed July 3, 2019, 8:58 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 

Services (repealing 12VAC30-135-100 through 12VAC30-

135-360).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 21, 2019.  
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Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action repeals the regulations for the Medicaid 

Children's Mental Health Waiver, a grant program 

designed to enable the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services to develop reliable cost and utilization data to 

evaluate the effectiveness of community-based service 

delivery models for children with serious emotional 

disturbances who require psychiatric residential treatment 

facility level of care, because of discontinuation of federal 

funding due to loss of federal authority for this program. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services terminated 

this waiver effective September 30, 2017.  

Part II 

Children's Mental Health Waiver 

12VAC30-135-100. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

tasks, e.g., bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 

eating/feeding. A client's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining 

appropriate level-of-care and services. 

"Agency-directed model" means services provided by a 

participating provider and where the provider is responsible 

for hiring, training, supervising, and firing of the staff. 

"Appeal" means the process used to challenge adverse 

actions regarding services, benefits and reimbursement 

provided by Medicaid pursuant to 12VAC30-110 and 

12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

"Approve" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) or a DMAS-contracted entity authorizes a 

participating provider's request for services, on behalf of a 

client, as medically necessary and meeting DMAS criteria for 

reimbursement. 

"Assessment" means a face-to-face meeting conducted to 

identify a client's physical, emotional, behavioral, and social 

strengths, preferences, and needs. Assessments are performed 

by a DMAS-authorized provider prior to the development of 

the individualized service plan (ISP) and comprehensive 

service plan (CSP). 

"Barrier crime" means those crimes as defined at § 32.1-

162.9:1 or 37.2-416 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Behavioral health authority" or "BHA" means the local 

agency, established by a city or county or combination of 

counties or cities or cities and counties under Chapter 1 

(§ 37.2-100 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that 

plans, provides, and evaluates mental health, mental 

retardation, and substance abuse services in the locality or 

localities that it serves. 

"Case management" means the assessing and planning of 

services; linking the client to services and supports identified 

in the comprehensive service plan (CSP); assisting the client 

directly for the purpose of locating, developing or obtaining 

needed services and resources; coordinating services and 

service planning with other agencies and providers involved 

with the client; enhancing community integration; making 

collateral contacts to promote the implementation of the CSP 

and community integration; monitoring to assess ongoing 

progress and ensuring services are delivered; and education 

and counseling that guides the client and develops a 

supportive relationship that promotes the CSP. 

"Case manager" means the individual on behalf of a DMAS 

participating provider possessing a combination of work 

experience and relevant education that indicates that the 

individual possesses the knowledge, skills and abilities, at the 

entry level to provide the services described, at 12VAC30-50-

420 through 12VAC30-50-430 or 12VAC30-50-480 or 

12VAC30-50-130 B 5 a for case management services. The 

case manager may be the provider of Intensive In-Home 

Services or the Treatment Foster Care Case Manager or other 

provider as designated by DMAS. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 

means the unit of the federal Department of Health and 

Human Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 

programs. 

"Child" means, for the purpose of this regulation, an 

individual under the age of 21 years. 

"Client" means the person receiving the services. 

"CMH waiver" means the Children's Mental Health 

§ 1915(c) home and community-based services demonstration 

waiver. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means the local 

agency established by a city or county or combination of 

cities and/or counties under Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia, that plans, provides, and 

evaluates mental health, mental retardation, and substance 

abuse services in the jurisdiction or jurisdictions it serves. 

"Community transition services" means services that are 

provided to individuals who are leaving the PRTF and have 

chosen to receive services in the community. Community 

transition services include assessment of the child and family; 

assistance with meeting the requirements of waiver 

enrollment; referral for Medicaid eligibility; developing a 
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community plan of care in coordination with the family, CSA 

(if involved), and other involved parties; identifying 

community service providers; and monitoring the initial 

transition to the community. 

"Companion" means, for the purpose of these regulations, an 

individual who provides companion services.  

"Companion services" means assistance with skill 

development and with understanding family interaction, 

behavioral interventions for support and safety, nonmedical 

care, nonmedical transportation, community integration, and 

rewarding appropriate behaviors. This service is available 

through both a consumer-directed (CD) and agency-directed 

delivery approach and shall not exceed eight hours in one 

day. 

"Comprehensive Services Act" or "CSA" means a 

collaborative system of services and funding that is child-

centered, family-focused, and community-based when 

addressing the strengths and needs of troubled and at-risk 

youth and their families. 

"Comprehensive service plan" or "CSP" means the overall 

service plan that addresses the total needs of the client in all 

life areas. The CSP incorporates the ISPs developed for each 

individual service. The CSP defines and describes the goals, 

objectives and expected outcomes of service(s). The client or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, will be involved to the 

maximum extent possible in the development and revision of 

the CSP. The CSP includes, at a minimum: (i) a summary or 

reference to the assessment; (ii) goals and measurable 

objectives for addressing each identified need; (iii) the 

services, supports, and frequency of service to accomplish the 

goals and objectives; (iv) target dates for accomplishment of 

goals and objectives; (v) estimated duration of service; (vi) 

the role of other agencies if the plan is a shared responsibility; 

and (vii) the staff responsible for coordination and integration 

of services, including the staff of other agencies if the plan is 

a shared responsibility. 

"Consumer-directed model" or "CD" means services for 

which the client or family/caregiver is responsible for hiring, 

training, supervising, and firing of the staff. 

"Consumer-directed services facilitator" means the DMAS-

enrolled provider who is responsible for supporting the client 

by ensuring the development and monitoring of the CD 

services individualized service plan (ISP), and completing 

ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for CD 

companion services and CD respite services.  

"Deny" means DMAS or a DMAS-contracted entity denies a 

participating provider's request for services, on behalf of a 

client, as not medically necessary or not meeting DMAS 

criteria for reimbursement. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services or its contractors. 

"DMAS staff" means individuals employed by DMAS. 

"DMHMRSAS" means the Department of Mental Health, 

Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services.  

"DSM-IV" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders that is the standard classification of mental 

disorders used by mental health professionals.  

"DSM-IV-TR" means the text revision of the DSM-IV, 

published in July 2000, which corrected errors identified in 

the DSM-IV and included numerous changes to the 

classification (i.e., disorders were added, deleted, and 

reorganized), to the diagnostic criteria sets, and to the 

descriptive text. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Enroll" means that a client has been added to the CMH 

waiver after it has been determined that the client meets all of 

the eligibility requirements for the waiver. 

"Environmental modifications" means physical adaptations 

to a client's home or primary place of residence or primary 

vehicle, which provide direct medical or remedial benefit to 

the client. These adaptations are necessary to ensure the 

health, welfare, and safety of the client, or enable the client to 

function with greater independence in the home. Without 

these adaptations, the client would require institutionalization 

in a psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF). 

"EPSDT" means the "Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 

and Treatment" program administered by DMAS for children 

under the age of 21 according to federal guidelines that 

prescribe specific preventive and treatment services for 

Medicaid-eligible children as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Family/caregiver" means the family, legal guardian, 

neighbor, friend, companion or co-worker, or any person who 

provides uncompensated care, training, guidance, 

companionship or support to a person served under this 

waiver. 

"Family/caregiver training" means training and counseling 

services provided to families or caregivers of clients receiving 

services in the CMH waiver. Training includes instruction 

about treatment regimens and behavioral plans specified in 

the ISP, and shall include updates as necessary to safely 

maintain the client at home. Counseling may be provided to 

the family/caregiver to improve and develop the 

family's/caregiver's skills in dealing with life circumstances 

of parenting a child with special needs and help the client 

remain at home. All training/counseling will be provided on a 

face-to-face basis. 

"Fiscal management service" or "FMS" means an agency or 

organization within DMAS or contracted by DMAS to handle 

employment, payroll, and tax responsibilities on behalf of 

clients who are receiving CD respite and companion services. 
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"Health, welfare, and safety standard" means that a client's 

right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a finding that 

the client needs the service, based on appropriate assessment 

criteria and a written CSP, and that services can be provided 

safely in the community. 

"Home and community-based waiver services" or "waiver 

services" means a variety of home and community-based 

services reimbursed by DMAS as authorized pursuant to 

§ 1915(c) of the Social Security Act designed to offer clients 

an alternative to institutionalization. Clients may be pre-

authorized to receive one or more of these services either 

solely or in combination, based on the documented need for 

the service in order to discharge the client from a PRTF. 

"Individualized service plan" or "ISP" means the specific 

service plan developed by the service provider related solely 

to the specific tasks required of that service provider. The 

client will be involved to the maximum extent possible in the 

development and revision of the ISP. The ISP helps to 

comprise the overall CSP. The ISP includes, at a minimum: 

(i) a summary or reference to the assessment; (ii) goals and 

measurable objectives for addressing each identified need; 

(iii) the services, supports, and frequency of service to 

accomplish the goals and objectives; (iv) target dates for 

accomplishment of goals and objectives; (v) estimated 

duration of service; (vi) the role of other agencies if the plan 

is a shared responsibility; and (vii) the staff responsible for 

coordination and integration of services, including the staff of 

other agencies if the plan is a shared responsibility. 

"In-home residential supports" means agency-directed 

services that increase or maintain personal self sufficiency, 

and facilitate the client's achievement of community inclusion 

and remaining in the home. The supports may be provided in 

the client's residence or in community settings. Community 

living supports provides assistance to the family in the care of 

their child, while facilitating the client's independence and 

integration into the community. The service also includes 

communication and relationship-building skills, and 

participation in leisure and community activities. These 

supports must be provided directly to, or on behalf of, the 

client enabling the client to attain or maintain his maximum 

potential. These supports may serve to reinforce skills or 

lessons taught in school, therapy, or other settings. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 

laundry, and money management. 

"Legal guardian" means a person who has been legally 

authorized to take care of and make decisions for the client in 

order to protect the interests of a minor client or an adult who 

has been declared by the circuit court to be incapable of 

administering his own affairs. The powers and duties of the 

guardian are defined by the court and are limited to matters 

within the areas where the client has been determined to be 

incapacitated. 

"Level-of-care" means the psychiatric residential treatment 

facility (PRTF) criteria. Review of a client's level-of-care 

requires the case manager to assure that the client continues 

to meet the PRTF criteria. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

clinician in the human services field as defined at 12VAC30-

50-226. 

"Participating provider" means a person, institution, facility, 

agency, partnership, corporation, or association that meets the 

standards and requirements set forth by DMAS, and has a 

current, signed provider participation agreement with DMAS. 

"Pend" means delaying the consideration of a provider's 

request, on behalf of a client, for services until all required 

information is received by the preauthorization entity. 

"Person-centered planning" means a process, directed by the 

client or family/caregiver, as appropriate, with assistance as 

needed from others involved in the care of the child. Person-

centered planning shall be intended to identify the strengths, 

capacities, preferences, needs and desired outcomes of the 

client. 

"Personal care agency" means a participating provider that 

renders services designed to prevent or reduce institutional 

care by providing eligible clients with companions and 

assistants who provide companion or respite services. 

"Preauthorization" means the process to approve specific 

services for a client by a Medicaid-enrolled provider prior to 

service delivery and reimbursement. 

"Preauthorized" means that an individual's comprehensive 

service plan has been approved by DMAS or a DMAS-

approved entity prior to commencement of the service by the 

service provider for provision and reimbursement of services. 

"Primary caregiver" means the primary person who 

consistently assumes the role of providing direct care and 

support of the client to live successfully in the community 

without compensation for providing such care. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" means 

a facility that provides 24-hour-per-day specialized, highly 

organized, intensive, and planned therapeutic interventions to 

children that are utilized to treat severe mental, emotional, 

and behavioral disorders. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

clinician in the human services field as defined at 12VAC30-

50-226. 

"Respite care agency" means a participating provider that 

renders services designed to prevent or reduce inappropriate 

institutional care by providing respite services to eligible 

clients for their caregivers. 

"Respite services" means services provided to clients and 

their families to offer relief to unpaid caregivers. Respite 
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services will be provided in the client's home or place of 

residence, in the community, or a licensed respite facility, 

such as a group home. This service is available through both a 

CD and agency-directed delivery approach.  

"Screening" means the process to evaluate the medical, 

emotional, psychiatric, and social needs of clients referred for 

screening to determine client's eligibility to be discharged 

from a PRTF, and to authorize Medicaid-funded community-

based care for those clients who meet the CMH waiver 

eligibility criteria. 

"Screener" means the entity or entities identified by DMAS 

that is responsible for performing screening for the CMH 

waiver. 

"Serious emotional disturbance" or "SED" means a serious 

mental health problem in children ages birth through 21 that 

can be diagnosed under the DSM-IV-TR, or exhibited by all 

of the following: (i) problems in personality development and 

social functioning that have been exhibited over at least one 

year's time; and (ii) problems that are significantly disabling 

based upon the social functioning of most children that age; 

and (iii) problems that have become more disabling over 

time; and (iv) service needs that require significant 

intervention by more than one agency. 

"Service provider" means the entity providing direct services 

to the client. 

"Services facilitator" means the participating provider who 

is responsible for supporting the client by ensuring the 

development and monitoring of the CD Services ISP, 

providing employee management training, and completing 

ongoing review activities as required by DMAS for services 

with an option of a CD model. These services include 

companion and respite services. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Therapeutic consultation" means services that provide 

expertise, training, and technical assistance by licensed 

professionals to assist family members, caregivers, and other 

service providers in supporting the client. This service 

includes the assessment of the client and family strengths, 

observation, and developing, with the family, a culturally 

sensitive ISP. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" means the uniform 

assessment instrument, as designated by DMAS, used to 

measure functional outcomes for children. This tool is used 

by the screener as one component of its assessment and is 

used to inform but not dictate a level-of-care. The completion 

of this tool is required for children who participate in the 

CMH waiver. This tool is separate from the UAI used for 

long-term care services in other home and community-based 

services waivers. 

12VAC30-135-110. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-120. General coverage and requirements 

for Children's Mental Health Waiver services. (Repealed.) 

A. Waiver service populations. Home and community-based 

waiver services shall be available through a § 1915(c) of the 

Social Security Act waiver for clients under the age of 21 

who have resided in a PRTF for at least 90 days and have 

been determined to continue to meet PRTF level-of-care, but 

with additional supports could reside in the community. 

B. Required documentation, as identified by DMAS, for 

admission to the CMH waiver must be submitted to DMAS in 

order for the client to be enrolled. Upon determination by 

DMAS or a DMAS-contracted entity that the client is 

appropriate for admission to the waiver, the case manager or 

screener will work with the client family/caregiver, the 

facility currently housing the client, and 

client/family/caregiver-selected providers of community-

based services to determine an appropriate transfer date. 

C. Covered services. 

1. Covered services shall include respite services (both CD 

and agency-directed), in-home residential supports, 

companion services (both CD and agency-directed), 

family/caregiver training, environmental modifications, 

community transition services and therapeutic consultation. 

2. These services shall be medically appropriate and 

necessary to maintain the client in the community. Federal 

waiver requirements provide that the overall costs of 

community care shall be no more than the overall costs that 

would have been incurred at the same level of service in 

the PRTF. 

3. Waiver services shall not be furnished to clients who are 

inpatients of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care 

facility for persons with mental retardation, inpatient 

rehabilitation facility, or a PRTF consistent with federal 

waiver limitations. 

4. Under this § 1915(c) waiver, DMAS waives 

§ 1902(a)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act related to 

comparability. 

D. Requests for services. All requests for waiver services by 

CMH waiver clients will be reviewed under the health, 

welfare, and safety standard. This standard assures that a 

client's right to receive a waiver service is dependent on a 

finding that the client needs the service, based on appropriate 

assessment criteria and a written CSP and that services can 

safely be provided in the community. If the determination is 

made that these services cannot be safely provided to a client, 

then such clients shall not be approved for this waiver. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2883 

E. Medicaid reimbursement is available only for services 

provided when the client is present and when a qualified 

provider is providing the services. If the client is absent, such 

as in a hospitalization, no reimbursement will be provided for 

these waiver services. 

F. Appeals. Individual appeals shall be considered pursuant 

to 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380. Provider 

appeals shall be considered pursuant to 12VAC30-10-1000 

and 12VAC30-20-500 through 12VAC30-20-560. 

G. Reevaluation of service need and utilization review. 

Reviews and updates of the CSP and level-of-care must meet 

the requirements as specified by DMAS. Providers shall meet 

the documentation requirements as specified by DMAS and 

DMAS will conduct quality management reviews for services 

rendered. Services failing to meet DMAS' quality 

management standards shall not be reimbursed or shall be 

subject to payment recoveries. 

12VAC30-135-130. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-140. Client eligibility requirements and 

intake process. (Repealed.) 

A. Virginia will evaluate clients for the CMH waiver as a 

separate assistance unit of one regardless of whether the child 

is living in the home with a parent or guardian, or siblings. 

Under this waiver, clients must meet the financial and 

nonfinancial Medicaid eligibility criteria and meet the PRTF 

institutional level-of-care criteria. DMAS shall be the single 

state agency authority responsible for the supervision and 

administration of the CMH waiver. 

B. The following three criteria shall apply to all CMH 

waiver services: 

1. Clients qualifying for CMH waiver services must have a 

demonstrated need for the service resulting in significant 

functional limitations. The need for the service must arise 

from the client having a SED and meeting the level-of-care 

for admission to a PRTF; 

2. The services described in the ISP, and services as 

delivered, must be consistent with the Medicaid definition 

of each service; and 

3. Services must be recommended based on a current 

assessment using a DMAS-approved assessment 

instrument and a client's demonstrated need for each 

specific service. 

C. Assessment, screening, authorization and enrollment in 

home and community-based care services. 

1. To ensure that Virginia's CMH waiver serves only 

clients who would otherwise remain in a PRTF, home and 

community-based care services shall be considered only 

for clients who have resided in a PRTF for at least 90 days 

to ensure that the client's condition has been stabilized. 

Home and community-based care services shall be the 

critical service that enables the client to be discharged 

home rather than remaining in a PRTF. Clients must 

receive at least one CMH waiver service to remain in the 

waiver. 

2. CMH waiver services must be determined by DMAS or 

a DMAS-contracted entity to be an appropriate service 

alternative as defined in these regulations to remaining in a 

PRTF. 

3. The client shall be recommended for CMH waiver 

services after completion of a comprehensive assessment 

of the client's needs and available supports. The 

completion of an assessment is mandatory before the client 

can be enrolled in the CMH waiver and Medicaid assumes 

payment responsibility for the waiver services. 

4. The CMH waiver screener shall gather relevant medical, 

social, and psychological data and identify services to meet 

the client's needs in the community. 

5. The client or family/caregiver, as appropriate, must be 

offered the choice of CMH waiver services or to remain in 

the PRTF. If the client chooses CMH waiver services, the 

client must also be offered the choice of waiver providers. 

6. The screener shall explore alternative settings and 

services to provide the care needed by the client. 

7. Medicaid will not pay for any home and community-

based care services delivered prior to the authorization date 

approved by DMAS or a DMAS-contracted entity. Any 

CSP for home and community-based care services must be 

preapproved by DMAS prior to Medicaid reimbursement 

for waiver services. 

D. Screening for the CMH waiver. 

1. Clients requesting CMH waiver services will be 

screened and will receive services on a first-come, first-

served basis based on the availability of services in the 

community to support the client.  

2. To be eligible for CMH waiver services, the client must:  

a. Have been a resident of a PRTF for at least 90 days 

prior to applying for the CMH waiver;  

b. Continue to meet the PRTF criteria described in 

12VAC30-50-130; 

c. Have services identified in the community to meet the 

client's needs;  

d. Have a case manager assigned; and  

e. Continue to meet Medicaid eligibility criteria. 

E. Waiver approval process: authorizing and accessing 

services. 
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1. The screener is the entity responsible for assessing the 

client to determine if the client meets the criteria for 

admission to the CMH waiver. 

2. If a client is a CSA client, the screener shall be the CSA 

representative. If the client is not a CSA client, the screener 

shall be the mental health or treatment foster care case 

manager. 

3. Once the screener has determined that a client meets the 

eligibility criteria for CMH waiver services and the client 

or family/caregiver, as appropriate, has chosen this 

program, the client or family/caregiver will be provided 

with a list of available service providers. The client or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, must be given a choice of 

providers if there is more than one provider available that 

can meet the client's needs. The client or family/caregiver, 

as appropriate, must also be given a choice of CD or 

agency-directed respite and companion services, if the 

client is eligible for these services. 

4. When all required information has been submitted to 

DMAS or its contractor for preauthorization, DMAS or the 

contractor will have 10 business days to review 

preauthorization requests. If the request is approved, the 

client will be sent written notification of enrollment in the 

CMH waiver and services may begin. 

5. Only CMH waiver services authorized on the CSP by 

the screening entity according to DMAS policies may be 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

6. All CSPs are subject to approval by DMAS. 

F. Reevaluation of service need. 

1. The comprehensive service plan (CSP). 

a. The CSP shall be reviewed at intervals as determined 

by DMAS with the case manager, client, 

family/caregiver, service providers, consultants, and 

others involved in the care of the client based on 

relevant, current assessment data. 

b. The case manager is responsible for continuous 

monitoring of the appropriateness of the client's services 

and revisions to the CSP as indicated by the changing 

needs of the client. The case manager must review the 

CSP at least every three months to determine whether 

service goals and objectives are being met and whether 

any modifications to the CSP are necessary. 

c. Any modification to the amount or type of services in 

the CSP must be approved by the client or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, and be pre-authorized 

by DMAS. 

2. Review of level-of-care. 

a. The case manager shall complete a reassessment 

annually, in coordination with the client, 

family/caregiver, service providers, consultants, and 

others involved in the care of the client, to ensure that the 

client continues to meet the PRTF criteria. The 

reassessment shall include the completion of the 

assessment instrument and any other appropriate 

assessment data. If warranted, the case manager shall 

coordinate a medical examination and a mental health 

assessment for the client. The CSP shall be revised as 

appropriate. 

b. A new mental health assessment shall be required 

whenever the current mental health assessment is no 

longer reflective of the client's current condition. 

3. The case manager will monitor the service providers' 

ISPs to ensure that all providers are working toward the 

identified goals of the client. 

4. Case managers will be required to conduct a minimum 

of quarterly face-to-face visits for all CMH waiver clients. 

12VAC30-135-150. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-160. Participation standards for home and 

community-based waiver services participating providers. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Requests for participation. Requests for participation 

from providers will be evaluated to determine whether the 

provider applicant meets the basic requirements for 

participation. 

B. Providers approved for participation shall, at a minimum, 

perform the following activities: 

1. For services that require licensure and/or certification, 

the provider must meet all licensure and/or certification 

requirements pursuant to 42 CFR 440.50 and 42 CFR 

440.60 and any other applicable state or federal 

requirements; 

2. The ability to document and maintain client case records 

in accordance with state and federal requirements; 

3. Immediately notify DMAS in writing of any change in 

the information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS; 

4. Assure freedom of choice to the client or 

family/caregiver, as appropriate, in seeking services from 

any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or other provider 

qualified to perform the service or services required and 

participating in the Medicaid program at the time the 

service or services are performed; 

5. Assure the freedom of the client or family/caregiver, as 

appropriate, to refuse medical care, treatment and services; 

6. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 

to initiate services and perform such services on an 

ongoing basis; 
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7. Provide services and supplies to clients in full 

compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

as amended (42 USC § 2000d et seq.), which prohibits 

discrimination on the grounds of race, color, or national 

origin; the Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation 

Act of 1973, as amended (29 USC § 794), which prohibits 

discrimination on the basis of a disability; and the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended (42 USC 

§ 12101 et seq.), which provides comprehensive civil 

rights protections to clients with disabilities in the areas of 

employment, public accommodations, state and local 

government services, and telecommunications; 

8. Provide services and supplies to clients of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as are provided to 

the general public; 

9. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services 

and supplies to clients in amounts not to exceed the 

provider's usual and customary charges to the general 

public and accept as payment in full the amount 

established by DMAS' payment methodology beginning 

with the onset of the client's authorization date for the 

waiver services; 

10. Use program-designated billing forms for submission 

of charges; 

11. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided; 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 

six years from the last date of service or as provided by 

applicable state or federal laws, whichever period is 

longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the 

required retention period, the records shall be retained 

until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 

Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 

such minor has reached the age of 18 years. 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of storage location and procedures for 

obtaining records for review should the need arise. The 

location and agent, or trustee shall be within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

c. Documentation must be maintained that indicates the 

date, type of services rendered, and the number of 

hours/units provided, including the specific time frames. 

12. Agree to furnish information on request and in the form 

requested by DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 

his authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 

state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 

right of access to provider agencies and records shall 

survive any termination of the provider agreement; 

13. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 

or other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to recipients of Medicaid; 

14. Pursuant to 42 CFR Part 431, Subpart F, 12VAC30-20-

90, and any other applicable state or federal law, hold 

confidential and use for authorized DMAS' purposes only 

all medical assistance information regarding clients served. 

A provider shall disclose information in his possession 

only when the information is used in conjunction with a 

claim for health benefits or the data is necessary for the 

functioning of DMAS in conjunction with the cited laws. 

DMAS shall not disclose medical information to the 

public; 

15. Notify DMAS of change of ownership, as defined in 

42 CFR 489.18. When ownership of the provider changes, 

DMAS shall be notified at least 15 calendar days before 

the date of change; 

16. For all facilities covered by § 1616(e) of the Social 

Security Act in which home and community-based waiver 

services will be provided, be in compliance with applicable 

standards that meet the requirements for board and care 

facilities; 

17. Suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1509 

and 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, if a participating 

provider knows or suspects that a home and community-

based waiver service client is being abused, neglected, or 

exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of the 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report this immediately 

from first knowledge to the local DSS protective services 

worker, to DMAS, and to DMHMRSAS Offices of 

Licensing and Human Rights as applicable; 

18. Adhere to the provider participation agreement and the 

DMAS provider service manual. In addition to compliance 

with the general conditions and requirements, all providers 

enrolled by DMAS shall adhere to the conditions of 

participation outlined in their individual provider 

participation agreements and in the DMAS provider 

manual. 

D. Recipient choice of providers. The case manager must 

inform the client and family/caregiver of all available waiver 

providers in the community in which he desires services. The 

client and family/caregiver shall have the option of selecting 

the provider of his choice from among those providers who 

are able to meet his needs. A client's case manager shall not 

be the direct staff person or immediate supervisor of a staff 

person who provides CMH waiver services for the client. 

E. Review of provider participation standards and renewal 

of contracts. DMAS is responsible for assuring continued 

adherence to provider participation standards. DMAS shall 
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conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies and periodically 

recertify each provider for participation agreement renewal 

with DMAS to provide home and community-based waiver 

services. A provider's noncompliance with DMAS policies 

and procedures, as required in the provider's participation 

agreement, may result in a written request from DMAS for a 

corrective action plan that details the steps the provider must 

take and the length of time permitted to achieve full 

compliance with the plan to correct the deficiencies that have 

been cited. 

F. Termination of provider participation. A participating 

provider may voluntarily terminate his participation in 

Medicaid by providing 30 days' written notification. DMAS 

may terminate at-will a provider's participation agreement on 

30 days' written notice as specified in the DMAS 

participation agreement. DMAS may also immediately 

terminate a provider's participation agreement in the event of 

a breach of the contract by the provider as specified in the 

DMAS participation agreement and also if the provider is no 

longer eligible to participate in the program. Such action 

precludes further payment by DMAS for services provided to 

clients subsequent to the date of termination. 

G. Reconsideration of adverse actions. A provider shall have 

the right to appeal adverse action taken by DMAS to the 

extent such action is appealable under the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Unless otherwise provided by law, adverse action includes, 

but shall not be limited to, termination of the provider 

participation agreement by DMAS and retraction of payments 

from the provider by DMAS for noncompliance with 

applicable law, regulation, policy, or procedure. All disputes 

regarding provider reimbursement or termination of the 

agreement by DMAS for any reason shall be resolved through 

administrative proceedings conducted at the office of DMAS 

in Richmond, Virginia, unless otherwise provided by law. 

These administrative proceedings and judicial review of such 

administrative proceedings shall be conducted pursuant to the 

Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

provided for in § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia, and duly 

promulgated regulations. Court review of final agency 

determinations concerning provider reimbursement shall be 

made in accordance with the Administrative Process Act. 

H. Provider appeals shall be considered pursuant to 

12VAC30-10-1000 and 12VAC30-20-500 through 

12VAC30-20-560. 

I. It is the responsibility of the case management provider to 

notify DMAS, in writing, when any of the following 

circumstances or events occurs: 

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 

implemented; 

2. A client dies; 

3. A client is discharged from all waiver services; 

4. Any other circumstances (including hospitalization) that 

cause home and community-based waiver services to cease 

or be interrupted for more than 30 days; or  

5. A selection by the client of a different provider of case 

management services.  

J. Changes or termination of services. The case manager 

shall authorize changes to a client's CSP based on the 

recommendations of the service provider and approval by the 

client or family/caregiver, as appropriate. Providers of direct 

service are responsible for modifying their ISP with the 

involvement of the client and family/caregiver and submitting 

ISPs to the case manager any time there is a change in the 

client's condition or circumstances that may warrant a change 

in the amount or type of service rendered. The case manager 

will review the need for a change and may recommend a 

change to the CSP and submit this change to the DMAS-

contracted preauthorization entity. The preauthorization entity 

will review and approve, deny, or pend for additional 

information the requested change to the client's CSP, and 

communicate this to the case manager. 

K. In the case of reduction, termination, suspension or denial 

of home and community-based waiver services by the 

preauthorization contractor or DMAS staff, clients shall be 

notified in writing of their appeal rights by the case manager 

pursuant to 12VAC30-110. The case manager shall have the 

responsibility to identify those clients who no longer meet the 

level-of-care criteria or for whom home and community-

based waiver services are no longer an appropriate alternative 

to residential placement. All CSPs are subject to approval by 

the Medicaid agency. 

L. Termination of a provider participation agreement upon 

conviction of a felony. Section 32.1-325 of the Code of 

Virginia mandates that "any such Medicaid agreement or 

contract shall terminate upon conviction of the provider of a 

felony." A provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in 

any other of the 50 states or Washington, D.C., must, within 

30 days, notify the Medicaid Program of this conviction and 

relinquish its provider participation agreement. Reinstatement 

will be contingent upon provisions of state law. In addition, 

termination of a provider participation agreement will occur 

as may be required for federal financial participation. 

M. Changes or termination of care. It is the DMAS staff's 

responsibility to authorize any changes to a client's CSP 

based on the recommendations of the case manager. 

Participating providers providing direct service are 

responsible for modifying the ISP if the 

client/family/caregiver agrees. The provider must submit the 

ISP to the case manager any time there is a change in the 

client's condition or circumstances that may warrant a change 

in the amount or type of service rendered. The case manager 
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must review the need for a change and will sign the ISP if he 

agrees to the changes. The case manager must submit the 

revised CSP to the DMAS staff to receive approval for that 

change. DMAS staff has the final authority to approve or 

deny the requested change. 

1. Nonemergency termination of home and community-

based care services by the participating provider. The 

participating provider must give the client and case 

manager 10 business days' written notification of the intent 

to terminate services. The letter must provide the reasons 

for and the effective date of the termination. The effective 

date of services termination must be at least 10 days from 

the date of the termination notification letter. The client is 

not eligible for appeal rights in this situation and may 

pursue services from another provider. 

2. Emergency termination of home and community-based 

care services by the participating provider. In an 

emergency situation when the health and safety of the 

client or provider agency personnel is endangered, the case 

manager, DMAS and the DMHMRSAS Offices of 

Licensing and Human Rights must be notified prior to 

termination of services. The 10-business day written 

notification period shall not be required. If appropriate, the 

local DSS protective services unit must be notified 

immediately. 

3. DMAS termination of eligibility to receive home and 

community-based care services. DMAS has the ultimate 

responsibility for assuring appropriate placement of the 

client in home and community-based care services and the 

authority to terminate such services to the client for the 

following reasons: 

a. The client no longer meets the institutional level-of-

care criteria; 

b. The client's environment does not provide for his 

health, safety, and welfare; or 

c. An appropriate and cost-effective CSP cannot be 

developed. 

N. Documentation requirements. 

1. Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years 

after such minor has reached the age of 18 years. The case 

manager must retain the following documentation for 

quality management review by DMAS for a period of not 

less than six years from each client's last date of service or 

as provided by applicable state or federal laws, whichever 

period is longer. 

a. The comprehensive assessment and all CSPs 

completed for the client; 

b. All ISPs from every provider rendering waiver 

services to the client; 

c. All supporting documentation related to any change in 

the ISP; 

d. All related communication with the client, 

family/caregiver, consultants, providers, the screening 

entity, DMAS, DMHMRSAS, CSA, DSS and others 

involved in the care of the client; and 

e. An ongoing log that documents all contacts made by 

the case manager related to the client. 

2. Quality management review of client-specific 

documentation must be conducted by DMAS staff. This 

documentation must contain, up to and including the last 

date of service, all of the following: 

a. All assessments and reassessments; 

b. All ISP's developed for that client and the written 

reviews; 

c. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 

the amount and type of services rendered; 

d. Appropriate data, contact notes or progress notes 

reflecting a client's status and, as appropriate, progress or 

lack of progress toward the goals on the ISP; and 

e. Any documentation to support that services provided 

are appropriate and necessary to maintain the client in the 

home and in the community. 

12VAC30-135-170. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-180. Agency-directed companion services. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Service description. Companion services provide 

assistance with skill development and with understanding 

family interaction, behavioral interventions for support and 

safety, nonmedical care, nonmedical transportation, 

community integration, and rewarding appropriate behaviors. 

These include, but are not limited to, nonmedical care, 

socialization, or support to a client. Companions may assist or 

support the individual with such tasks as meal preparation, 

community access and activities, laundry and shopping, but 

companions do not perform these activities as discrete 

services. This service is provided in accordance with a 

therapeutic goal in the ISP and is not purely diversional in 

nature. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for companion services, the 

client shall have demonstrated a need for assistance with 

IADLs, light housekeeping, community access, reminders for 

medication self-administration, or support to assure safety. 

1. The inclusion of companion services in the ISP is 

appropriate only when the client cannot be left alone at any 

time due to the SED. The provision of companion services 

does not entail hands-on care. 
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2. Companion services shall not be covered if required 

only because the client does not have a telephone in the 

home or because the client does not speak English. 

3. There must be a clear and present danger to the client as 

a result of being left unsupervised. Companion services 

cannot be authorized for clients whose only need for such 

services is for assistance exiting the home in the event of 

an emergency. 

C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. The amount of companion services time included in the 

ISP must be no more than is necessary to prevent the 

deterioration or injury to the client. In no event may the 

amount of time relegated solely to companion care on the 

ISP exceed eight hours per day, either separately or in any 

combination of CD and agency-directed companion 

services. 

2. The hours authorized are based on individual need. No 

more than three unrelated clients who are receiving waiver 

services and live in the same home are permitted to share 

the authorized work hours of the same companion. 

3. Companion care will be authorized for family 

members/caregivers to sleep either during the day or 

during the night when the client cannot be left alone at any 

time due to his condition. Companion services must be 

necessary to ensure the client's safety if he cannot be left 

unsupervised due to health and safety concerns. 

4. Companion services can be authorized when no one else 

is in the home who is competent to monitor the client for 

safety. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160, companion service providers must meet 

the following qualifications: 

1. Providers must either be licensed by DMHMRSAS as (i) 

a residential service provider, (ii) supportive in-home 

residential service provider; (iii) day support service 

provider; or (iv) respite service provider; or meet the 

DMAS criteria to be a personal care/respite services 

provider. 

2. Companions will be employees of providers that have 

provider participation agreements with DMAS to provide 

companion services. Providers are required to have a 

companion services supervisor to monitor companion 

services. The supervisor must be at least a QMHP. 

3. The supervisor must conduct an initial home visit prior 

to initiating companion services to document the efficacy 

and appropriateness of services and to establish an ISP for 

the client. The supervisor must provide follow-up home 

visits to monitor the provision of services at a minimum of 

every three months or as often as needed. The client must 

be reassessed for services annually. 

4. Required documentation in the client's record. The 

provider must maintain a record of each client receiving 

companion services. At a minimum these records must 

contain: 

a. An initial assessment completed prior to the date 

services are initiated and subsequent reassessments and 

changes to the ISP; 

b. An ISP containing the following elements: 

(1) The client's strengths, desired outcomes, required or 

desired supports, or both; 

(2) The services to be rendered and the schedule of 

services to accomplish the desired outcomes; 

c. Documentation that the ISP goals, objectives, and 

activities have been reviewed by the provider quarterly, 

annually, and more often as needed, modified as 

appropriate, and the results of these reviews submitted to 

the case manager. For the annual review and in cases 

where the ISP is modified, the ISP must be reviewed 

with the client and family/caregiver. 

d. All correspondence to the client, family/caregiver, case 

manager, DMAS, and DMHMRSAS;  

e. Contacts made with family/caregiver, physicians, 

formal and informal service providers, and others 

involved in the care of the child; 

f. The companion services supervisor must document in 

the client's record in a summary note following 

significant contacts with the companion and home visits 

with the client that occur at least quarterly: 

(1) Whether companion services continue to be 

appropriate; 

(2) Whether the plan is adequate to meet the client's 

needs or changes are indicated in the plan; 

(3) The client and family/caregiver's satisfaction with the 

service; 

(4) The presence or absence of the companion during the 

supervisor's visit; 

(5) Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported; and 

(6) Any hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status. 

g. In addition to the above requirements, the companion 

record must contain: 

(1) The specific services delivered to the client by the 

companion, dated the day of service delivery, and the 

client's responses; 
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(2) The companion's arrival and departure times; 

(3) The companion's weekly comments or observations 

about the client to include observations of the client's 

physical and emotional condition, daily activities, and 

responses to services rendered; and 

(4) The weekly signature of the companion, or 

parent/caregiver, as appropriate, recorded and dated on 

the last day of service delivery for any given week to 

verify that companion services during that week have 

been rendered. 

12VAC30-135-190. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-200. Agency-directed respite services. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Service description. 

1. Respite services means services specifically designed to 

provide a temporary but periodic or routine relief to the 

primary unpaid caregiver of a client who is in need of 

specialized supervision due to a SED. Respite services 

include assistance with or monitoring of personal hygiene, 

nutritional support, safety, and environmental maintenance 

authorized as either episodic, temporary relief, or as a 

routine periodic relief of the caregiver. 

2. Respite services do not include either practical or 

professional nursing services or those practices regulated 

in Chapters 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as appropriate. 

This service does not include skilled nursing services with 

the exception of skilled nursing tasks that may be 

delegated pursuant to 18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460. 

B. Criteria. 

1. Respite services may only be offered to clients who have 

an unpaid primary caregiver living in the home who 

requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the 

client. Respite services are designed to focus on the need 

of the caregiver for temporary relief. 

2. Respite services are supports for the family or other 

unpaid primary caregiver of a client. These services are 

furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence or 

need for relief of those unpaid caregivers normally 

providing the care for the clients. 

C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. Effective July 1, 2011, respite services shall be limited 

to a maximum of 480 hours per year. Clients who are 

receiving services through both the agency-directed and 

CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per year combined. 

2. The unit of service is one hour. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160, respite services providers must meet 

additional provider requirements: 

1. Services shall be provided by: 

a. A DMAS respite services provider; a DMHMRSAS-

licensed residential services provider; or by a 

DMHMRSAS-licensed respite services provider or a 

DSS-approved foster care home-for-children provider. 

b. For DMAS-enrolled respite services providers, the 

provider must employ or subcontract with a QMHP or 

LMHP to supervise all assistants. The supervisor must 

meet DMAS qualifications. 

2. The QMHP/LMHP supervisor must make a home visit 

to conduct an initial assessment prior to the start of 

services for all clients requesting respite services. The 

supervisor must also perform any subsequent 

reassessments or changes to the ISP. 

3. The QMHP/LMHP supervisor must make supervisory 

home visits as often as needed to ensure both quality and 

appropriateness of services. The minimum frequency of 

these visits is every 30 to 90 days. 

a. When respite services are received on a routine basis, 

the minimum acceptable frequency of these supervisory 

visits shall be every 30 to 90 days, depending on the 

needs of the client. 

b. When respite services are not received on a routine 

basis, but are episodic in nature, the supervisor is not 

required to conduct a supervisory visit every 30 to 90 

days. Instead, the QMHP/LMHP supervisor must 

conduct the initial home visit with the respite care 

assistant immediately preceding the start of services and 

make a second home visit within the respite services 

period. 

4. Based on continuing evaluations of the assistant's 

performance and client's needs, the QMHP/LMHP 

supervisor shall identify any gaps in the assistant's ability 

to function competently and shall provide training as 

indicated. 

5 The QMHP/LMHP supervisor must document in a 

summary note: 

a. Whether respite services continue to be appropriate; 

b. Whether the ISP is adequate to meet the client's needs 

or if changes need to be made; 

c. The client's and family/caregiver's satisfaction with the 

service; 

d. Any hospitalization or change in medical condition or 

functioning status; 
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e. Other services received and the amount; and 

f. The presence or absence of the assistant in the home 

during the visit. 

6. Qualification of assistants. The assistant must complete 

a training curriculum consistent with DMAS requirements. 

Prior to assigning an assistant to a client, the provider must 

obtain documentation that the assistant has satisfactorily 

completed a training program consistent with DMAS' 

requirements. DMAS requirements may be met in one of 

two ways: 

a. Registration as a certified nurse aide; or 

b. Graduation from an approved educational curriculum 

that offers certificates qualifying the student as a nursing 

assistant, home health aide, or meeting the 

paraprofessional criteria as established by 12VAC30-50-

226. 

E. Required documentation for the client's records. The 

provider must maintain all records of each client receiving 

services. These records must be separated from those of other 

nonwaiver services, such as home health services. These 

records will be reviewed periodically by DMAS staff. At a 

minimum these records must contain: 

1. An initial assessment completed by the QMHP/LMHP 

supervisor prior to or on the date services are initiated. 

2. Reassessments and any changes to the ISP made during 

the provision of services by the supervisor. 

3. The most recent ISP and supporting documentaion that 

contains, at a minimum, the following elements: 

a. The client's strengths, desired outcomes, and required 

or desired supports; 

b. The client's and family's/caregiver's goals and 

objectives to meet the identified outcomes; 

c. Services to be rendered and the frequency of services 

to accomplish the goals and objectives; and  

d. The provider staff responsible for the overall 

coordination and integration of the services specified in 

the ISP. 

4. The ISP goals, objectives, and activities must be 

reviewed by the supervisor quarterly, annually, and more 

often as needed and modified as appropriate. The results of 

these reviews must be submitted to the case manager. For 

the annual review and in cases where the ISP is modified, 

the ISP must be reviewed with the client and 

family/caregiver. 

5. The QMHP/LMHP supervisor's notes recorded and 

dated during significant contacts with the respite services 

assistant and during supervisory visits to the client's home. 

The written summary of the supervision visits must 

include: 

a. Whether services continue to be appropriate and 

whether the ISP is adequate to meet the needs or if 

changes are indicated in the ISP; 

b. Any suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation and to 

whom it was reported; 

c. Any special tasks performed by the assistant and the 

assistant's qualifications to perform these tasks; 

d. The client's and family/caregiver's satisfaction with the 

service; 

e. Any hospitalization or change in medical condition or 

functioning status; 

f. Other services received and their amount; and 

g. The presence or absence of the assistant in the home 

during the supervisor's visit. 

6. All correspondence to the client, family/caregiver, case 

manager, DMAS, DMHMRSAS, and CSA; 

7. Significant contacts made with the client, 

family/caregivers, physicians, DMAS and others involved 

in the care of the client; 

8. The assistant record must contain: 

a. The specific services delivered to the client by the 

assistant, dated the day of service delivery, and the 

client's responses; 

b. The assistant's arrival and departure times; 

c. The assistant's weekly comments or observations about 

the client to include observations of the client's physical 

and emotional condition, daily activities, and responses 

to services rendered; and 

d. The assistant's, client's and family/caregiver's weekly 

signatures with dates recorded on the last day of service 

delivery for any given week to verify that services during 

that week have been rendered. 

e. Signatures, times, and dates shall not be placed on the 

assistant record prior to the last date of the week that the 

services are delivered. 

9. All DMAS quality management review forms. 

12VAC30-135-210. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-220. Consumer-directed companion and 

respite services. (Repealed.) 

A. Companion services. 

1. Service description. Companion services provide 

assistance with skill development and with understanding 

family interaction, behavioral interventions for support and 
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safety, nonmedical care, nonmedical transportation, 

community integration, and rewarding appropriate 

behaviors. This service is available through both a 

consumer-directed (CD) and agency-directed delivery 

approach and shall not exceed eight hours in one day. 

These services include, but are not limited to, nonmedical 

care, socialization, or support to a client as well as 

supervision or monitoring to those clients who require the 

physical presence of an aide to ensure their safety during 

times when no other supportive individuals are available. 

This service is provided in accordance with a therapeutic 

goal in the ISP and is not purely diversional in nature. 

2. Criteria. 

a. The inclusion of companion services in the ISP is 

appropriate only when the client cannot be left alone at 

any time due to the SED. The provision of companion 

services does not entail hands-on care. 

b. Companion services shall not be covered if required 

only because the client does not have a telephone in the 

home or because the client does not speak English. 

c. There must be a clear and present danger to the client 

as a result of being left unsupervised. Companion 

services cannot be authorized for clients whose only need 

for companion services is for assistance exiting the home 

in the event of an emergency. 

3. Service units and service limitations. 

a. The amount of companion service time included in the 

ISP must be no more than eight hours per day, either 

separately or in any combination of CD or agency-

directed companion services. 

b. The hours authorized are based on individual need. No 

more than three unrelated individuals who are receiving 

waiver services and live in the same home are permitted 

to share the authorized work hours of the same 

companion. 

c. Companion services may be authorized for 

family/caregivers to sleep either during the day or during 

the night when the client cannot be left alone at any time 

due to the client's condition. Companion aide services 

must be necessary to ensure the client's safety if the 

client cannot be left unsupervised due to health and 

safety concerns. 

d. Companion services can be authorized when no one 

else is in the home who is competent to monitor the 

client for safety. 

4. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the 

general conditions and requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers as specified in 

12VAC30-135-120 and 12VAC30-135-160, companion 

service providers must meet the following qualifications: 

a. General companion qualifications. Companions must 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) Be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) Have the required skills to perform CD services as 

specified in the client's ISP; 

(3) Possess basic reading, writing, and math skills;  

(4) Be capable of following a care plan with minimal 

supervision; 

(5) Submit to a criminal history record check within 15 

days from the date of employment and, if the client is a 

minor, the Child Protective Services Central Registry. 

The companion will not be compensated for services 

provided to the client if the records check verifies the 

companion has been convicted of crimes described in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 or 37.2-416 of the Code of Virginia; or if 

the companion has a complaint confirmed by the DSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry; 

(6) Possess a valid social security number; 

(7) Be willing to attend training at the client's and 

family/caregiver's request; 

(8) Receive an annual tuberculosis (TB) screening; and 

(9) Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS 

CMH waiver requirements as described in DMAS 

guidance documents. 

b. Companions shall not be spouses, parents or 

caregivers. Payment will not be made for services 

furnished by other family members unless there is 

objective written documentation as to why there are no 

other providers available to provide the care. Medicaid-

reimbursed companion services shall not be provided by 

adult foster care providers or any other paid (regardless 

of the payment source) caregivers for a client residing in 

that home. 

c. Family/caregivers who are reimbursed to provide 

companion services must meet the companion 

qualifications stated above. 

d. Retention, hiring, and substitution of companions. 

Upon the client's request, the CD services facilitator shall 

provide the client or family/caregiver with a list of 

persons on the assistant registry who can provide 

temporary assistance until the assistant returns or the 

client is able to select and hire a new assistant. If a client 

or family/legal guardian is consistently unable to hire and 

retain the employment of an assistant to provide CD 

companion services, the services facilitator must contact 

the case manager and DMAS to transfer the client, at the 

client's choice, to a provider that provides Medicaid-

funded agency-directed companion services. The CD 
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services facilitator will make arrangements with the case 

manager to have the client transferred. 

B. Respite services. 

1. Service description. Respite services include assistance 

with or monitoring of personal hygiene, nutritional 

support, safety, and environmental maintenance authorized 

as either episodic, temporary relief, or as a routine periodic 

relief of the caregiver. For the purposes of this section, an 

assistant refers to the individual providing CD respite. 

2. Criteria. 

a. CD respite services may only be offered to clients who 

have a primary unpaid caregiver living in the home who 

requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of 

the client, and it is designed to focus on the need of the 

caregiver for temporary relief. 

b. The inclusion of respite services in the ISP is 

appropriate only when the client cannot be left 

unsupervised due to the mental health condition at any 

time. 

3. Service units and service limitations. 

a. Effective July 1, 2011, CD respite services are limited 

to a maximum of 480 hours per year. Clients who are 

receiving services through both the agency-directed and 

CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per year 

combined. 

b. Clients can receive CD respite services and in-home 

residential support services in their CSPs but cannot 

receive these services simultaneously. 

c. For CD respite services, clients and family/legal 

guardian, as appropriate, will hire their own assistants 

and manage and supervise the assistant's performance. 

4. Provider requirements. 

a. The assistant must meet the following requirements:  

(1) Be at least 18 years of age;  

(2) Have the required skills to perform CD services as 

specified in the client's ISP; 

(3) Possess basic reading, writing and math skills;  

(4) Be capable of following a care plan with minimal 

supervision; 

(5) Submit to a criminal history record check within 15 

days from the date of employment, and if the client is a 

minor, the Child Protective Services Central Registry. 

The assistant will not be compensated for services 

provided to the client if the records check verifies the 

assistant has been convicted of crimes described in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 or 37.2-416 of the Code of Virginia or if 

the assistant has a complaint confirmed by the DSS Child 

Protective Services Central Registry; 

(6) Possess a valid social security number; 

(7) Be willing to attend training at the client's and 

family/caregiver's request; 

(8) Receive periodic TB screening; and 

(9) Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS 

CMH waiver requirements. 

b. Assistants cannot be spouses, parents of minor 

children, or legally responsible relatives. Payment will 

not be made for services furnished by other family 

members unless there is objective written documentation 

as to why there are no other providers available to 

provide the care. 

c. Family/caregivers who are reimbursed to provide 

respite services must meet the assistant qualifications. 

d. Retention, hiring, and substitution of assistants. Upon 

the client's request, the CD services facilitation provider 

shall provide the client or family/legal guardian with a 

list of persons on the assistant registry who can provide 

temporary assistance until the assistant returns or the 

client is able to select and hire a new assistant. If a client 

is consistently unable to hire and retain the employment 

of an assistant to provide CD respite services, the CD 

services facilitator must contact the case manager and 

DMAS to transfer the client, at the client's choice, to a 

provider that provides Medicaid-funded agency-directed 

respite services. The CD services facilitator will make 

arrangements with the case manager to have the client 

transferred. 

C. Service facilitation. 

1. Clients choosing the CD option must receive support 

from a CD services facilitator and meet requirements for 

consumer direction as described in these regulations. 

2. DMAS shall contract for the services of a Fiscal 

Management Service agent for CD companion and respite 

services. The FMS agent will be reimbursed by DMAS to 

perform certain tasks as an agent for the 

client/family/caregiver/employer who is receiving CD 

services. The FMS agent will handle the responsibilities 

for the client/family/caregiver/employer for employment 

taxes. The FMS agent will seek and obtain all necessary 

authorizations and approvals of the Internal Revenue 

Services in order to fulfill all of these duties. 

3. If a client is unable to direct his own care or is under 18 

years of age, a family/legal guardian may serve as the 

employer on behalf of the client. Specific employer duties 

include checking of references of assistants/companions, 

determining that assistants/companions meet basic 

qualifications, training assistants/companions, supervising 
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the assistant's/companion's performance, and submitting 

timesheets to the FMS agent on a consistent and timely 

basis. There must be a back-up plan in case the 

assistant/companion does not show up for work as 

expected or terminates employment without prior notice. 

This is the responsibility of the client or family/legal 

guardian to establish. 

4. Clients or family/legal guardians, as appropriate, 

choosing the CD model of service delivery must receive 

support from a CD services facilitator. This is not a 

separate waiver service, but is required in conjunction with 

CD respite and companion services. The CD services 

facilitator is responsible for assessing the client's particular 

needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the 

development of the ISP, providing training to the 

family/legal guardian on his responsibilities as an 

employer, and providing ongoing support of the CD model 

of services. The CD services facilitator cannot be the 

client, the client's case manager, direct service provider, 

spouse, parent or legally responsible party of the client 

who is a minor child, or a family/legal guardian employing 

the assistant/companion. If a client enrolled in CD services 

has a lapse in services for more than 90 consecutive days, 

DMAS must be notified and the CD services will be 

discontinued. 

5. Either DMAS or its contractor shall provide the FMS for 

CD companion and respite services. The FMS agent will 

be reimbursed by DMAS to perform certain tasks as an 

agent for the client/employer who is receiving CD services. 

The FMS agent will handle the responsibilities of 

employment taxes for the client. The FMS agent will seek 

and obtain all necessary authorizations and approvals of 

the Internal Revenue Services in order to fulfill all of these 

duties. 

6. CD services facilitator qualifications. In addition to 

meeting the general conditions and requirements for home 

and community-based services participating providers as 

specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 12VAC30-135-160, 

the CD services facilitator must meet the following 

qualifications: 

a. To be enrolled as a Medicaid CD services facilitator 

and maintain provider status, the CD services facilitator 

must operate from a physical business office and employ 

sufficient qualified staff to perform the needed ISP 

development and monitoring, reassessments, service 

coordination, and support activities as required. In 

addition, the CD services facilitator must have the ability 

to maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided. 

b. It is preferred that employees of the CD services 

facilitator possess a minimum of an undergraduate 

degree in a human services field or be a QMHP. In 

addition, it is preferable that the CD services facilitator 

have two years of satisfactory experience in the human 

services field working with persons with SED. The CD 

services facilitator must possess a combination of work 

experience and relevant education that indicates 

possession of the following knowledge, skills, and 

abilities. Such knowledge, skills and abilities must be 

documented on the application form, found in supporting 

documentation, or be observed during the job interview. 

Observations during the interview must be documented. 

The knowledge, skills, and abilities include: 

(1) Knowledge of: 

(a) Types of functional limitations and health problems 

that may occur in clients with SED, or clients with other 

disabilities, as well as strategies to reduce limitations and 

health problems; 

(b) Equipment and environmental modifications that may 

be required by clients with SED that reduce the need for 

human help and improve safety; 

(c) Community-based and other services, including 

PRTF placement criteria, Medicaid waiver services, and 

other federal, state, and local resources that provide 

respite and companion services; 

(d) CMH Waiver requirements, as well as the 

administrative duties for which the services facilitator 

will be responsible; 

(e) CMH Waiver requirements, as well as the 

administrative duties for which the client and 

family/caregiver will be responsible; 

(f) Conducting assessments (including environmental, 

psychosocial, health, and functional factors) and their 

uses in care planning; 

(g) Interviewing techniques; 

(h) The client's and family/legal guardian's right to make 

decisions about, direct the provisions of, and control his 

CD respite and companion services, including hiring, 

training, managing, approving time sheets, and firing an 

assistant/companion; 

(i) The principles of human behavior and interpersonal 

relationships; and 

(j) General principles of record documentation. 

(2) Skills in: 

(a) Negotiating with clients, family/caregivers and 

service providers; 

(b) Assessing, supporting, observing, recording, and 

reporting behaviors; 

(c) Identifying, developing, or providing services to 

clients with SED; and 
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(d) Identifying services within the established services 

system to meet the client's needs. 

(3) Abilities to: 

(a) Report findings of the assessment or onsite visit, 

either in writing or an alternative format for clients who 

have visual impairments; 

(b) Demonstrate a positive regard for clients and their 

families; 

(c) Be persistent and remain objective; 

(d) Work independently, performing position duties 

under general supervision; 

(e) Communicate effectively, orally and in writing; and 

(f) Develop a rapport and communicate with persons 

from diverse cultural backgrounds. 

c. If the CD services facilitator is not a QMHP, the CD 

services facilitator must have QMHP consulting services 

available, either by a staffing arrangement or through a 

contracted consulting arrangement. The QMHP 

consultant is to be available as needed to consult with 

clients and CD services facilitators on issues related to 

the needs of the client. 

7. Initiation of services and service monitoring. 

a. The CD services facilitator must make an initial 

comprehensive home visit to collaborate with the client 

and family/caregiver to identify needs, assist in the 

development of the ISP with the client and provide 

employee management training. The initial 

comprehensive home visit is done only once upon the 

client's entry into the CD model of service regardless of 

the number or type of CD services that a client chooses 

to receive. If a client changes CD services facilitators, the 

new CD services facilitator must complete and bill for a 

reassessment visit in lieu of an initial comprehensive 

visit. 

b. After the initial visit, the CD services facilitator will 

periodically review the utilization of companion services 

at a minimum of every six months or, for respite services, 

either every six months or upon the use of 300 respite 

service hours, whichever comes first. 

c. A reassessment of the client's level-of-care will occur 

six months after initial entry into the program, and 

subsequent reevaluations will occur at a minimum of 

every six months. During visits to the client's home, the 

CD services facilitator must observe, evaluate, and 

consult with the client and family/caregiver and 

document the adequacy and appropriateness of CD 

services with regard to the client's current functioning 

and cognitive status, medical, and social needs. The CD 

services facilitator's summary must include, but not 

necessarily be limited to: 

(1) Whether CD respite services continue to be 

appropriate and medically necessary to prevent 

institutionalization; 

(2) Whether the service is adequate to meet the client's 

needs; 

(3) Any special tasks performed by the 

assistant/companion and the assistant's/companion's 

qualifications to perform these tasks; 

(4) Client's or family/caregiver's satisfaction with the 

service; 

(5) Hospitalization or change in medical condition, 

functioning, or cognitive status; 

(6) Other services received and their amount; and 

(7) The presence or absence of the companion/assistant 

in the home during the CD services facilitator's visit. 

d. A face-to-face meeting with the client must be 

conducted at least every six months to reassess the 

client's needs and to ensure appropriateness of any CD 

services received by the client. 

e. The CD services facilitator must be available to the 

client and family/caregiver by telephone. 

f. The CD services facilitator must submit a criminal 

record check pertaining to the assistant/companion on 

behalf of the client and report findings of the criminal 

record check to the client and the program's FMS agent. 

If the client is a minor, the assistant/companion must also 

be screened through the DSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry. Assistants/companions will not be 

reimbursed for services provided to the client effective 

the date that the criminal record check confirms an 

assistant/companion was convicted of a barrier crime or 

if the assistant/companion has a founded complaint on 

record in the DSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry. The criminal record check and DSS Child 

Protective Services Central Registry finding must be 

requested by the CD services facilitator within 15 

calendar days of employment. The services facilitator 

must maintain evidence that a criminal record check was 

obtained and must make such evidence available for 

DMAS review. 

g. The CD services facilitator shall review and verify bi-

weekly timesheets signed by the family/caregiver and the 

assistant/companion during the face-to-face visits or 

more often as needed to ensure that the number of ISP-

approved hours is not exceeded. If discrepancies are 

identified, the CD services facilitator must discuss these 

with the client to resolve discrepancies and must notify 

the FMS agent. If the client is consistently identified as 
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having discrepancies in his timesheets, the CD services 

facilitator must contact the case manager to resolve the 

situation. The CD services facilitator cannot verify 

timesheets for assistants/companions who have been 

convicted of a barrier crime or who have a founded 

complaint on record in the DSS Child Protective Services 

Registry and must notify the FMS agent. 

h. The CD services facilitator must maintain records of 

each client as described in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160. 

i. If a client/family/legal guardian is consistently unable 

to hire and retain the employment of an 

assistant/companion to provide CD respite or companion 

services, the CD services facilitator will make 

arrangements with the case manager to have the services 

transferred to an agency-directed services provider or to 

discuss with the client/family/caregiver other service 

options. 

j. The family/legal guardian or client, as appropriate, 

must hire and train the assistants or companions and 

supervise the assistant's or companion's performance. 

The hours authorized are based on individual need. 

8. Responsibilities as employer. The client or family/legal 

guardian, as appropriate, shall be the employer in this 

service and responsible for hiring, training, supervising, 

and firing assistants and companions. Specific duties 

include checking references of assistants/companions, 

determining that assistants/companions meet basic 

qualifications, training assistants/companions, supervising 

the assistant's/companion's performance, and submitting 

timesheets to the CD services facilitator and FMS agent on 

a consistent and timely basis. The client must have an 

emergency back-up plan in case the assistant/companion 

does not show up for work as expected or terminates 

employment without prior notice. 

9. Required documentation in client's records. The CD 

services facilitator must maintain all records of each client. 

At a minimum these records must contain: 

a. All copies of the ISP and all supporting 

documentation. 

b. All DMAS quality management review forms. 

c. CD services facilitator's notes contemporaneously 

recorded and dated during any contacts with the client 

and family/caregiver and during visits to the client's 

home. 

d. All correspondence to the client, family/caregiver and 

to DMAS. 

e. Reassessments made during the provision of services. 

f. Records of contacts made with family/caregivers, 

physicians, DMAS, formal and informal service 

providers, and others involved in the care of the child. 

g. All training provided to the assistant/companion or 

assistants/companions on behalf of the client. 

h. All management training provided to the client or 

family/caregiver including the client's or 

family/caregiver's responsibility for the accuracy of the 

timesheets. 

i. All documents signed by the client or family/caregiver 

that acknowledge the responsibilities of the services. 

12VAC30-135-230. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-240. Community transition services. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Service description. 

Community transition services are provided to individuals 

who are leaving the PRTF and have chosen to receive 

services in the community. Community transition services 

include assessment of the child and family; assistance with 

meeting the requirements of waiver enrollment; referral for 

Medicaid eligibility; developing a community plan of care in 

coordination with the family, CSA (if involved), and other 

involved parties; identifying community service providers; 

and monitoring the initial transition to the community. 

Community transition services do not include monthly rental 

or mortgage expense; food, regular utility charges; and/or 

household appliances or items that are intended for purely 

diversional/recreational purposes. 

Community transition services ensure the development, 

coordination, implementation, monitoring, and modification 

of comprehensive service plans; link recipients with 

appropriate community resources and supports; coordinate 

service providers; and monitor quality of care. 

Community transition services may be provided in the 

PRTF, in the home, school or other community locations. 

Community transition services may be provided up to three 

months prior to discharge from the PRTF and one month after 

discharge. The cost of community transition services is 

considered to be incurred and billable when the client leaves 

the PRTF and enters the Children's Mental Health Waiver. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the client 

must be a resident of the PRTF and also have been identified 

as a possible participant in the Children's Mental Health 

Waiver. 

C. Service units and service limitations. The unit of service 

shall be 15 minutes with a maximum of 80 units for each 

admission to the Children's Mental Health Waiver. 
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Services provided must be documented in records 

maintained by the community transition services provider. 

Documentation may be required to be submitted to DMAS. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160, professionals rendering community 

transition services must be DMAS-enrolled providers of 

treatment foster care case management, DMAS-enrolled 

providers of mental health case management services or be 

local CSA coordinators or FAPT members who meet the 

knowledge, skills, and abilities established for mental health 

case managers. 

E. The following documentation is required: 

1. A comprehensive services plan that contains at a 

minimum, the following elements: 

a. Identifying information: client's name and Medicaid 

number; provider name and provider number; responsible 

person and telephone number; effective dates for 

supporting documentation; and semi-annual review dates, 

if applicable; 

b. Identified services, provider names and individual 

service plans; 

c. Targeted objectives, time frames, and expected 

outcomes. 

2. Ongoing documentation of all contacts. All notes must 

include: 

a. Specific details of the activities conducted; 

b. Dates, locations, and times of service delivery; 

c. CSP objectives addressed; 

d. Services delivered as planned or modified; 

e. Effectiveness of the strategies and client's and 

family/caregiver's satisfaction with service; 

f. Client status; and 

g. Outcomes and effectiveness of the comprehensive 

services plan. 

F. When transition coordination services are completed, a 

final CSP must be discussed and forwarded to the ongoing 

case manager before the end of transition coordination. The 

transition services coordination provider must include: 

1. Strategies utilized; 

2. Objectives met; 

3. Unresolved issues; and 

4. Consultant recommendations. 

12VAC30-135-250. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-260. Environmental modifications. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Service description. Environmental modifications shall 

be defined as those physical adaptations to the home or to a 

vehicle, included in the client's ISP, that are necessary to 

ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the client, or that 

enable the client to function with greater independence in the 

home and without which the client would require continued 

institutionalization. Such adaptations include items to ensure 

the safety of the client, family/caregiver and the community. 

Modifications can be made to an automotive vehicle only if it 

is the primary vehicle being used by the client. 

B. Service units and service limitations. Environmental 

modifications shall be available to clients who are receiving 

at least one other waiver service. A maximum limit of $5,000 

may be reimbursed per ISP year. Costs for environmental 

modifications shall not be carried over from ISP year to ISP 

year and must be pre-authorized by DMAS or the contracted 

preauthorization entity for each ISP year. Excluded from this 

service shall be those adaptations or improvements to the 

home that are of general utility and are not of direct medical 

or remedial benefit to the client, such as carpeting, roof 

repairs, central air conditioning, etc. Adaptations that add to 

the total square footage of the home are also excluded from 

this benefit. Modifications may not be used to bring a 

substandard dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. 

Also excluded are modifications that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act, and the 

Rehabilitation Act. All services shall be provided in 

accordance with applicable state or local building codes. 

C. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the client 

must have a demonstrated need for equipment or 

modifications of a remedial or medical benefit offered 

primarily in a client's primary home, primary vehicle used by 

the client or for the client by the family/caregiver, to 

specifically improve the client's personal functioning. This 

service shall encompass those items not otherwise covered in 

the State Plan for Medical Assistance or through another 

program. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160, environmental modifications must be 

provided in accordance with all applicable federal, state or 

local building codes and laws by providers who have a 

provider participation agreement with DMAS. The provider 

must submit information regarding environmental 

modifications to the case manager. The following are 

provider documentation requirements that must be included 

in the client's record: 
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1. Supporting documentation that documents the need for 

the service, the process to obtain the service, and the time 

frame during which the services are to be provided; 

2. Documentation of the time frame involved to complete 

the modification and the amount of services and supplies; 

3. Any other relevant information regarding the 

modification; 

4. Documentation of notification by the client and 

family/caregiver of satisfactory completion of the service; 

and 

5. Instructions regarding any warranty, repairs, complaints, 

and servicing that may be needed. 

12VAC30-135-270. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-280. Family/caregiver training. (Repealed.) 

A. Service description. Family or caregiver training is the 

provision of identified training and education related to SED, 

community integration, family dynamics, stress management, 

behavioral interventions, and mental health to the 

family/caregiver. For purposes of this service, "family" is 

defined as the persons who live with, provide care to or 

support a waiver client, and may include a spouse, children, 

relatives, a legal guardian, foster family, or in-laws. "Family" 

does not include individuals who are employed to care for the 

client. All family/caregiver training must be included in the 

client's ISP. 

B. Criteria. The need for the training and the content of the 

training in order to assist the family or caregivers with 

maintaining the client at home must be documented in the 

client's ISP. The training must be necessary in order to 

improve the family or caregiver's ability to provide care and 

support. 

C. Service units and service limitations. Services are billed 

hourly and must be pre- authorized. Clients may receive up to 

80 hours of family/caregiver training per ISP treatment year. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-

120 and 12VAC30-135-160, providers must meet the 

following qualifications: 

1. Family/caregiver training must be provided on an 

individual basis, in small groups or through seminars and 

conferences provided by Medicaid-approved or enrolled 

family and caregiver training providers; 

2. Family/caregiver training must be provided by 

individuals with expertise who work for an agency with 

experience in or demonstrated knowledge of the training 

topic and who work for an agency or organization that has 

a provider participation agreement with DMAS to provide 

these services. Individuals must also have the appropriate 

licensure or certification as required for the specific 

professional field associated with the training area. 

Licensed professional counselors, licensed clinical social 

workers, licensed psychologists, licensed marriage and 

family therapists, and psychiatric clinical nurse specialists 

may enroll as individual practitioners with DMAS to 

provide family/caregiver training; 

3. The family/caregiver training provider must submit 

documentation of all training to the case manager 

quarterly. This documentation must include: 

a. All assessments and reassessments; 

b. All supporting documentation developed for the client 

and the written reviews; 

c. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 

the amount and type of services rendered; and 

d. Any documentation to support that services provided 

are appropriate and necessary to maintain the client in the 

home and in the community. 

12VAC30-135-290. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-300. In-home residential support services. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Service description. 

1. The service shall be designed to enable clients 

qualifying for the CMH Waiver to live in their homes and 

shall include (i) training and assistance in or reinforcement 

of functional skills and appropriate behavior related to a 

client's health and safety, personal care, ADLs, and use of 

community resources; (ii) assistance with medication 

management and monitoring the client's health, nutrition, 

and physical condition; (iii) life skills training; and (iv) 

cognitive rehabilitation. 

2. This service provides assistance or specialized 

supervision provided primarily in a client's home or foster 

home to enable a client to acquire, retain, or improve the 

self-help, socialization, behaviors and adaptive skills 

necessary to reside successfully in home and community-

based settings. 

3. This service must be provided on a client-specific basis 

according to the ISP, supporting documentation, and 

service setting requirements. 

4. Room and board and general supervision shall not be 

components of this service. 

5. This service shall not be used solely to provide routine 

or emergency respite care for the family or caregivers with 

whom the client lives. 

6. Medicaid reimbursement is available only for in-home 

residential support services provided when the client is 
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present and when a qualified provider is providing the 

services.  

B. Criteria. 

1. All clients must meet the CMH Waiver criteria in order 

for Medicaid to reimburse for in-home residential support 

services. The client shall have a demonstrated need for 

supports to be provided by staff who are paid by the in-

home residential support provider. 

2. A functional assessment must be conducted to evaluate 

each client in his home environment and community 

settings. 

3. The supporting documentation must indicate the 

necessary amount and type of activities required by the 

client, the schedule of residential support services, and the 

total number of projected hours per week of waiver 

reimbursed residential support. 

4. Routine supervision/oversight of direct care staff. To 

provide additional assurance for the protection or 

preservation of a client's health and safety, there are 

specific requirements for the supervision and oversight of 

direct care staff providing residential support as outlined 

below. All in-home residential support services must be 

provided under a DMHMRSAS license and include the 

following requirements: 

a. An employee of the agency, typically by position, must 

be formally designated as the supervisor of each direct 

care staff person who is providing in-home residential 

support services. 

b. The supervisor must have and document at least one 

supervisory contact per month with each staff person 

regarding service delivery and staff performance. 

c. The supervisor must observe each staff person 

delivering services at least semi-annually. Staff 

performance and service delivery according to the ISP 

should be documented, along with evaluation and 

evidence of the client's and family/caregiver's satisfaction 

with service delivery by staff. 

d. Providers of in-home residential supports must also 

have and document at least one monthly contact with the 

client and family/caregiver regarding satisfaction with 

services delivered by each staff person. 

C. Service units and service limitations. In-home residential 

supports shall be reimbursed on an hourly basis for time the 

in-home residential support staff is working directly with the 

client. Total monthly billing cannot exceed the authorized 

amount in the ISP. The provider must maintain 

documentation of the date and times that services are 

provided, the specific services provided, and specific 

circumstances that prevented provision of all of the scheduled 

services, if applicable. 

Service providers shall be reimbursed only for the amount 

and type of in-home residential support services included in 

the client's approved ISP. Services will not be reimbursed for 

a continuous 24-hour period. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-

120 and 12VAC30-135-160, each in-home residential support 

service provider must be licensed by DMHMRSAS as a 

provider of supportive residential services. The provider must 

also have training in mental health and appropriate 

interventions, strategies, and support methods for persons 

with SED. 

1. The ISP and ongoing documentation must be consistent 

with licensing regulations. 

2. Documentation must confirm attendance and the amount 

of time services were provided and provide specific 

information regarding the client's response to various 

settings and supports as agreed to in the ISP objectives. 

Assessment results must be available in at least a daily note 

or a weekly summary. Data must be collected as described 

in the ISP, analyzed, summarized, and then clearly 

addressed in the CSP. 

3. In addition to licensing requirements, persons providing 

residential support services are required to participate in 

training specified by DMAS in the characteristics of SED. 

The training shall include appropriate interventions, 

training strategies, and support methods for individuals 

with SED. 

4. The ISP must be reviewed by the provider with the 

client or family/caregiver, as appropriate, and this review 

submitted to the case manager, at least semi-annually, with 

goals, objectives, and activities modified as appropriate. 

5. Documentation must be maintained for supervision and 

oversight of all in-home residential support staff. All 

significant contacts must be documented. 

6. Required documentation in the client's record. The 

provider agency must maintain records of each client 

receiving residential support services. Documentation must 

be completed and signed by the staff person designated to 

perform the supervision and oversight. At a minimum, 

these records must contain the following: 

a. Date of contact or observation and the amount of time 

spent; 

b. Person or persons contacted or observed; 

c. A note regarding staff performance and ISP service 

delivery for monthly contact and semi-annual home 

visits; 
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d. Semi-annual observation documentation must also 

address client's and family/caregiver's satisfaction with 

service provision; 

e. Any action planned or taken to correct problems 

identified during supervision and oversight; 

f. A functional assessment conducted by the provider to 

evaluate each client in the residential environment and 

community settings; and 

g. An ISP that must contain the following elements: 

(1) The client's strengths, desired outcomes, required or 

desired supports, or both, and training needs; 

(2) The client's or family/caregiver's goals and 

measurable objectives to meet the identified outcomes; 

(3) The services to be rendered and the schedule of 

services to accomplish the goals, objectives, and desired 

outcomes; 

(4) A timetable for the accomplishment of the client's 

goals and objectives; 

(5) The estimated duration of the client's needs for 

services; and 

(6) The provider staff responsible for the overall 

coordination and integration of the services specified in 

the ISP. 

h. The ISP goals, objectives, and activities must be 

reviewed by the provider quarterly, annually, and more 

often as needed, modified as appropriate, and results of 

these reviews submitted to the case manager. For the 

annual review and in cases where the ISP is modified, the 

ISP must be reviewed with and approved by the client 

and family/caregiver. 

12VAC30-135-310. (Reserved.) (Repealed.) 

12VAC30-135-320. Therapeutic consultation. (Repealed.) 

A. Service description. 

1. Therapeutic consultation is available through the CMH 

Waiver for Virginia-licensed or certified practitioners in 

psychology, social work, occupational therapy, therapeutic 

recreation, rehabilitation, speech/language therapy, 

professional counseling, marriage and family therapy, 

medicine, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists, and 

psychiatric nurse practitioners. Behavioral consultation 

performed by these individuals may also be a covered 

waiver service. These services may be provided, based on 

the client's ISP, for those clients for whom specialized 

consultation is clinically necessary to enable their 

utilization of waiver services. 

2. Therapeutic consultation provides expertise, training and 

technical assistance for any of the specialty providers listed 

above to assist family members, caregivers, and other 

service providers in supporting the client. The specialty 

areas are (i) psychology, (ii) behavioral consultation, (iii) 

therapeutic recreation, (iv) speech and language pathology, 

and (v) occupational therapy. The need for any of these 

services is based on the client's ISP and provided to those 

clients for whom specialized consultation is clinically 

necessary and who have additional challenges restricting 

their ability to function in the community. Therapeutic 

consultation services may be provided in the client's home, 

and in appropriate community settings and are intended to 

facilitate implementation of the individual's and 

family/caregiver's desired outcomes as identified in his 

ISP. 

3. Therapeutic consultation services may be provided in in-

home residential or treatment support settings or in office 

settings in conjunction with another service. Behavioral 

consultation may be offered in the absence of any other 

waiver service when the consultation provided to informal 

caregivers is determined to be necessary to prevent 

institutionalization. Therapeutic consultation service 

providers are reimbursed according to the amount and type 

of service authorized in the ISP based on an hourly fee-for-

service rate. 

B. Criteria. In order to qualify for these services, the client 

shall have a demonstrated need for consultation in any of 

these services. Documented need must indicate that the ISP 

cannot be implemented effectively and efficiently without 

such consultation from this service. 

1. The client's therapeutic consultation supporting 

documentation must clearly reflect the client's needs, as 

documented in the assessment, for specialized consultation 

provided to family/caregivers and providers in order to 

implement the ISP effectively. 

2. Therapeutic consultation services may not include direct 

therapy provided to waiver clients or monitoring activities, 

and may not duplicate the activities of other services that 

are available to the client through the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance. 

C. Service units and service limitations. The unit of service 

shall equal one hour. The services must be explicitly detailed 

in the ISP or supporting documentation. Travel time, written 

preparation, and telephone communication are not billable as 

separate items. Therapeutic consultation may not be billed 

solely for purposes of monitoring. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-135-120 and 

12VAC30-135-160, professionals rendering therapeutic 

consultation services, including behavioral consultation 

services, shall meet all applicable state or national licensure, 

endorsement or certification requirements. Behavioral 

consultation may be performed by professionals based on the 
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professionals' work experience, education, and demonstrated 

knowledge, skills, and abilities. 

The following documentation is required for therapeutic 

consultation: 

1. ISP, that contains at a minimum, the following elements: 

a. Identifying information: client's name and Medicaid 

number; provider name and provider number; responsible 

person and telephone number; effective dates for 

supporting documentation; and semi-annual review dates, 

if applicable; 

b. Targeted objectives, time frames, and expected 

outcomes; 

c. Specific consultation activities; and 

d. The expected outcomes. 

2. A written support plan detailing the recommended 

interventions or support strategies for providers and 

family/caregivers to use to better support the client in the 

service. 

3. Ongoing documentation of consultative services 

rendered in the form of contact-by-contact or monthly 

notes that identify each contact. All monthly, quarterly, 

semi-annual and annual notes must include: 

a. Specific details of the activities conducted; 

b. Dates, locations, and times of service delivery; 

c. Supporting documentation objectives addressed; 

d. Services delivered as planned or modified; 

e. Effectiveness of the strategies and client's and 

family/caregiver's satisfaction with service; 

f. Client status; and 

g. Consultation outcomes and effectiveness of support 

plan. 

4. If consultation services extend less than three months, 

the provider must forward monthly contact notes or a 

summary of them to the case manager. 

5. If the consultation services extend three months or 

longer, written quarterly reviews must be completed by the 

service provider and are to be forwarded to the case 

manager. Any changes to the ISP must be reviewed with 

the client and family/caregiver. 

6. Semi-annual reviews are required by the service 

provider if consultation extends three months or longer and 

are to be forwarded to the case manager. 

7. If the consultation service extends beyond one year, the 

ISP must be reviewed by the provider with the client and 

family/caregiver and the case manager. The written review 

must be submitted to the case manager, at least annually, or 

more often as needed. 

8. A written support plan, detailing the interventions and 

strategies for staff, family, or caregivers to use to better 

support the client in the service. 

9. A final disposition summary must be forwarded to the 

case manager within 30 days following the end of this 

service and must include: 

a. Strategies utilized; 

b. Objectives met; 

c. Unresolved issues; and 

d. Consultant recommendations. 

12VAC30-135-340. Reevaluation of service need and 

quality management review. (Repealed.) 

A. The comprehensive service plan (CSP). 

1. The CSP shall be developed by the case manager in 

coordination with others involved in the care of the client 

based on relevant, current assessment data. The CSP 

process determines the services to be rendered to clients, 

the frequency of services, the type of service provider, and 

a description of the services to be offered. All CSPs 

developed by the case manager are subject to approval by 

DMAS. 

2. The case manager shall be responsible for continuous 

monitoring of the appropriateness of the client's CSP and 

revisions to the CSP as indicated by the changing needs of 

the client. At a minimum, the case manager must review 

the CSP every three months to determine whether service 

goals and objectives are being met and whether any 

modifications to the CSP are necessary. 

3. The DMAS staff will review the CSP every 12 months 

or more frequently as required to assure proper utilization 

of services. Any modification to the amount or type of 

services in the CSP must be authorized by DMAS. 

B. Review of level-of-care. 

1. The case manager must complete an annual 

comprehensive reassessment, in coordination with the 

individual, family/caregivers and service providers. If 

warranted, the case manager will coordinate a medical 

examination and a mental health evaluation for each 

waiver client. The reassessment must include an update of 

the assessment instrument and any other appropriate 

assessment data. 

2. Medical examinations must be completed according to 

the recommended frequency and periodicity of the EPSDT 

program. 

3. The mental health assessment for clients must reflect the 

current psychological status (diagnosis) and adaptive level 
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of functioning. A new mental health assessment shall be 

required whenever the current mental health assessment is 

no longer reflective of the child's current condition. 

C. Documentation required. 

The case management agency must maintain the following 

documentation for review by the DMAS staff for each waiver 

client: 

1. All CSPs, assessment summaries, and supporting 

documentation completed for the client and retained for a 

period of not less than six years from each client's last date 

of service or as provided by applicable state or federal 

laws; whichever period is longer. Records of minors shall 

be kept for at least six years after such minor has reached 

the age of 18 years; 

2. All individual providers' ISPs from any provider 

rendering waiver services to the client and all supporting 

documentation related to any change in the ISPs; 

3. All supporting documentation related to any change in 

the CSP; 

4. All related communication with the providers, client, 

consultants, DMHMRSAS, CSA, DMAS, DSS, DRS; and 

others involved in the care of the child; and 

5. An ongoing log that documents all contacts made by the 

case manager related to the waiver client. 

6. All supporting documentation developed for the client 

and retained for a period of not less than six years from 

each client's last date of service or as provided by 

applicable state or federal laws, whichever period is longer. 

Records of minors shall be kept for at least six years after 

such minor has reached the age of 18 years; 

7. An attendance log that documents the date services were 

rendered and the amount and type of services rendered; 

and 

8. Appropriate progress notes reflecting client's status and, 

as appropriate, progress toward the goals on the CSP. 

12VAC30-135-360. Sunset provision. (Repealed.) 

Consistent with federal requirements applicable to this 

§ 1915(c) demonstration waiver, these regulations shall 

expire effective with the termination of the federally 

approved waiver. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5695; Filed June 26, 2019, 3:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations 

(amending 18VAC41-50-10 through 18VAC41-50-40, 

18VAC41-50-80, 18VAC41-50-100 through 18VAC41-50-

130, 18VAC41-50-150, 18VAC41-50-160, 18VAC41-50-

180, 18VAC41-50-230, 18VAC41-50-250, 18VAC41-50-

280, 18VAC41-50-290, 18VAC41-50-360, 18VAC41-50-

400, 18VAC41-50-420; adding 18VAC41-50-91, 

18VAC41-50-92, 18VAC41-50-93; repealing 18VAC41-50-

50, 18VAC41-50-60, 18VAC41-50-90, 18VAC41-50-240, 

18VAC41-50-260, 18VAC41-50-270, 18VAC41-50-320, 

18VAC41-50-340, 18VAC41-50-350).  

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-10 through 18VAC41-60-40, 18VAC41-60-

80, 18VAC41-60-110, 18VAC41-60-120, 18VAC41-60-140, 

18VAC41-60-190, 18VAC41-60-220; repealing 18VAC41-

60-50, 18VAC41-60-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 12, 2019 - 1 p.m. - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 200, 

Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 20, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory Operations 

Administrator, Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to promulgate regulations. The section states, in 

part, that the board has the power and duty to promulgate 

regulations that are necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the board. 

Sections 54.1-703, 54.1-704.1, and 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia require board-issued licenses for tattooists and body 

piercers, tattoo parlors and body-piercing salons, and 

tattooing and body-piercing schools.  

Purpose: The board seeks to amend its current regulations to 

ensure they are as minimally invasive and burdensome as 

possible in order to assist in providing an environment with 

the least restrictive regulations necessary to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public. The proposed amendments 

are intended to ensure the regulations are clearly written, 
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easily understandable, and representative of the current 

advancements and standards of the industries. 

Substance:  

Tattooing: 

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions. The proposed amendments (i) 

add definitions for business entity, convention tattooer, firm, 

guest tattooer, guest tattooer sponsor, responsible 

management, sole proprietor, post-secondary education level, 

and tattoo convention; (ii) amend definitions of licensee and 

master permanent cosmetic tattooer for clarification, and (iii) 

eliminate the definitions of limited term tattooer. 

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer, 

convention tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 

tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer. The proposed 

amendments update, clarify, and standardize entry 

requirements. The proposed amendments (i) require an 

applicant disclose all felony convictions during his lifetime 

and certain misdemeanors within the last two years, (ii) add 

that the board may deny licensure to any applicant having 

prior disciplinary violations for which the board deems the 

applicant unfit to engage in the profession, and (iii) 

incorporate registered apprenticeship as a means for 

qualifying for the exam. 

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify 

endorsement requirements. 

18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify 

and consolidate examination requirements. The proposed 

amendments add requirements that if an applicant does not 

apply for licensure within five years of passing both exams, 

he must reapply, and that the board will only retain 

examination records for nonapplicants for a maximum of five 

years. 

18VAC41-50-50. Reexamination requirements. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-50-40. 

18VAC41-50-60. Examination administration. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-50-40. 

18VAC41-50-80. Tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulations. The proposed amendments (i) add 

the requirement that the applicant's license be in good 

standing and require applicants and any member of 

responsible management to disclose all felony convictions 

during his lifetime, certain misdemeanors within the last two 

years, and any prior discipline by a licensing entity; (ii) add 

that the board may deny licensure to any applicant who has 

prior disciplinary violations for which the board deems the 

applicant unfit to engage in the profession; (iii) require 

disclosure of the applicant's physical address and the firm's 

responsible management and certification that the applicant 

has read applicable laws and regulations; (iv) add the 

requirement that voided licenses be returned to the board 

within 30 days and set forth what events void a license; (v) 

require any change in responsible management be reported to 

the board within 30 days of the change; and (vi) add the 

requirement that parlors and salons that host guest tattooers 

must identify themselves as the sponsor and that parlors and 

salons provide direct supervision of the guest tattooer. 

18VAC41-50-90. Limited term tattooer license. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

18VAC41-50-91. Convention tattooer license. The proposed 

amendments create a one-year convention tattooer license and 

set the requirements for licensure, including the requirements 

set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4, out-of-state 

residency, and health education in certain areas. 

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer license. The proposed 

amendments create a two-week guest tattooer license and set 

the requirements for licensure, including the requirements set 

forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4, out-of-state 

residency, and health education in certain areas. Up to three 

guest tattooers licenses may be obtained per calendar year. 

18VAC41-50-93. Guest tattooer sponsor. The proposed 

amendments create requirements for parlor and salons to 

sponsor guest tattooers, including direct supervision by a 

licensee. 

18VAC41-50-100. School license. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and standardize the 

regulations. The proposed amendments (i) add the 

requirement that the applicant's license be in good standing 

and requires applicants and any member of responsible 

management to disclose all felony convictions during his 

lifetime, certain misdemeanors within the last two years, and 

any prior discipline by a licensing entity; (ii) add that the 

board may deny licensure to any applicant having prior 

disciplinary violations for which the board deems the 

applicant unfit to engage in the profession; (iii) require 

disclosure of the applicant's physical address and the firm's 

responsible management and certification that the applicant 

has read applicable laws and regulations; (iv) add the 

requirement that voided licenses be returned to the board 

within 30 days and set forth what events void a license; and 

(v) require any change in responsible management be 

reported to the board within 30 days of the change.  

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooer instructor certificate. The 

proposed amendments update this section to add a 

requirement that instructors pass a course in teaching 

techniques at the post-secondary education level.  

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor 

certificate. The proposed amendments update this section to 
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add the additional requirement that instructors pass a course 

in teaching techniques at the post-secondary education level.  

18VAC41-50-130. Fees. The proposed amendments remove 

the fee for tattoo instructor endorsement, as the regulations do 

not allow for instructor endorsement.  

18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements. Additionally, the amendments 

identify the expiration for the convention and guest tattooer 

licenses. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements, including the addition of 

reinstatement requirements for tattoo schools that are 

consistent with other schools licensed under the board. 

18VAC41-50-230. General requirements. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulations. The proposed amendments also 

require schools to hold tattoo parlor licenses as required under 

§ 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC41-50-240. School identification. The proposed 

amendments repeal this regulation. 

18VAC41-50-250. Records. The proposed amendments add a 

requirement that schools provide certain documentation to 

students within specified time periods. 

18VAC41-50-260. Hours reported. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

18VAC41-50-270. Health education. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and move its requirement to 

18VAC41-50-280. 

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum requirements. 

The proposed amendments update this section for consistency 

and add the requirement for health education from 18VAC41-

50-270.  

18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances. 

The proposed amendments change the hours of instruction for 

tattooing schools from 750 to 1,000. 

18VAC41-50-320. School identification. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

18VAC41-50-340. Hours reported. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

18VAC41-50-350. Health education. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and move its requirement 

to18VAC41-50-280. 

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

curriculum requirements. The proposed amendments update 

this section for consistency and add the requirement for health 

education from 18VAC41-50-350. 

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal, or reinstatement; 

or imposition of a monetary penalty. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and simplify 

the requirements. The proposed amendments (i) provide 

grounds for discipline for failing to teach the approved 

curriculum, bribery, failing to respond or providing false or 

misleading information to the board or its agents, and 

refusing to allow inspection of any parlor, salon, or school; 

(ii) clarify and refine grounds for discipline for certain 

criminal convictions and failing to report convictions within a 

certain time period; and (iii) provide grounds for discipline 

for allowing unlicensed activity, failing to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable disease, 

and failing to comply with all procedures with regard to 

conduct at the examination. 

Body Piercing: 

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions. The proposed amendments add 

definitions for business entity, firm, responsible management, 

and sole proprietor. The definition of licensee has been 

amended to further clarify terms used in this chapter. 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize entry requirements. The proposed amendments (i) 

require an applicant disclose all felony convictions during his 

lifetime and certain misdemeanors within the last two years; 

(ii) add that the board may deny licensure to any applicant 

having prior disciplinary violations for which the board 

deems the applicant unfit to engage in the profession; and (iii) 

incorporate registered apprenticeship as the means for 

qualifying for the exam. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify 

endorsement requirements. 

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify 

and consolidate examination requirements. The proposed 

amendments also add requirements that if an applicant does 

not apply for licensure within five years of passing both 

exams, he must reapply, and that the board will only retain 

examination records for nonapplicants for a maximum of five 

years. 

18VAC41-60-50. Reexamination requirements. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-60-40. 

18VAC41-60-60. Examination administration. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-60-40. 

18VAC41-60-80. Salon license. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and standardize the 

regulations. The proposed amendments (i) add the 
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requirement that the applicant's license be in good standing 

and require applicants and any member of responsible 

management to disclose all felony convictions during his 

lifetime, certain misdemeanors within the last two years, and 

any prior discipline by a licensing entity; (ii) add that the 

board may deny licensure to any applicant who has prior 

disciplinary violations for which the board deems the 

applicant unfit to engage in the profession; (iii) require 

disclosure of the applicant's physical address and the firm's 

responsible management and certification that the applicant 

has read applicable laws and regulations; (iv) add the 

requirement that voided licenses be returned to the board 

within 30 days and set forth what events void a license; and 

(v) require any change in responsible management be 

reported to the board within 30 days of the change. 

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal required. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulations. 

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirement. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify 

and standardize the regulations. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements. 

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilities. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulations.   

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal or reinstatement; or 

imposition of a monetary penalty. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and simplify the 

requirements. The proposed amendments (i) provide grounds 

for discipline for failing to teach the approved curriculum, 

bribery, failing to respond or providing false or misleading 

information to the board or its agents, and refusing to allow 

inspection of any salon; (ii) clarify and refine grounds for 

discipline for certain criminal convictions and failing to 

report convictions within a certain time period; and (iii) 

provide grounds for discipline for allowing unlicensed 

activity, failing to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable disease, and failing to comply 

with all procedures with regard to conduct at the examination. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the addition of 

the responsible management system for tracking ownership of 

tattooing and body-piercing businesses. This system allows 

the board to better identify when individuals previously 

disciplined by the board are attempting to re-enter the 

profession. The addition of a one-year convention license and 

two-week guest tattooer license will facilitate businesses 

providing better services to the public and out-of-state 

tattooers working as guests in Virginia and contributing to 

Virginia's economy, all without diminishing health and safety 

protections for the public. The board will continue to approve 

applicants and license professionals for which it has 

safeguards to ensure proper competency and standards of 

conduct as required by statute. The addition of prohibited acts 

will reduce fraud and better ensure the regulant population is 

minimally competent. Further, regulants and applicants 

within these professions will be able to read the board's 

requirements with greater clarity and understanding. The 

added clarity of the language in the proposed regulations will 

facilitate a quicker and more efficient process for applicants 

and regulants by enhancing their understanding of their 

individual requirements. Consumers in the public, as well as 

regulators from related agencies, will have a better 

understanding of the board's requirements, which will also 

allow them to conduct their business with greater efficiency 

and ultimately lead to a more protected public. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 

continued successful regulation of tattooers and body piercers 

who meet the minimum entry standards as required by statute. 

The proposed amendments strengthen the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation's ability to 

investigate and discipline regulants who disregard the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public. The primary disadvantage to 

the department is that by adding the responsible management 

systems, as well as turning the limited-term license into two 

separate licenses, there is more complexity added to the 

administration of the regulations. 

The clarification of the proposed language will facilitate 

greater understanding of the board's requirements for all 

involved.  Several changes, including teaching techniques 

training for tattoo instructors, guest and convention licenses, 

and increasing the hours of training were included at the 

request of the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Board) proposes to: 1) 

add the responsible management system for tracking 

ownership of tattooing and body piercing businesses, 2) 

significantly alter the limited-term tattooer license structure, 

3) amend training requirements for tattooing schools and 

tattoo instructors, 4) address the release of tattoo school 

records, and 5) make other amendments for improved clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

the majority of proposed changes. For other proposed 

amendments it is uncertain. 

Estimated Economic Impact: 

Responsible Management. The Board proposes to add the 

requirement that applicants for tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, permanent cosmetic tattoo salon, body piercing 

salon, or body piercing ear only salon, disclose the names of 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2905 

the firm's responsible management. The proposed regulation 

defines responsible management as:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management would be required to be in good standing as a 

licensed shop or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 

where licensed and disclose any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions. This would allow the 

Board to better identify when individuals previously 

disciplined by the Board are attempting to re-enter the 

profession. 

Limited-term Tattooer License. The current regulation 

contains a limited term tattooer license that is effective for 

five consecutive days prior to the expiration date. A person 

may obtain a maximum of five limited term tattooer licenses 

within a calendar year and a maximum of two limited term 

tattooer licenses within 30 consecutive days.  

According to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR), out-of-state tattooers 

coming to Virginia for tattoo conventions and the licensee 

hosts of the convention have found the need to reapply for 

licensure and pay the licensing fee multiple times each year to 

be onerous. Also according to the agency, potential guest 

tattooers from out-of-state and the potential hosts of the guest 

tattooers have often found the five-day licensing period 

inadequate to sufficiently justify traveling to Virginia. Parlor 

owners at times find having guest tattooers to be good for 

business. The Board proposes to eliminate the current five-

day limited-term tattooer license and replace it with a one-

year convention tattooer license and a two-week guest 

tattooer license. 

For both the one-year convention tattooer license and the two-

week guest tattooer license, the applicant would need to: 1) 

present documentation showing out-of-state residency, 2) 

provide documentation of health education knowledge to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, 

and aseptic techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and 

CPR that is acceptable to the Board, 3) disclose any 

disciplinary action taken in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

in connection with the applicant's practice, 4) disclose 

criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions, 

and 5) sign a statement certifying that the applicant has read 

and understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and 

regulation. The guest tattooer license applicant would also 

need to show guest tattooer sponsorship, including signature 

of the sponsor parlor's responsible management. An out of 

state resident would be able to obtain up to three guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. The proposed 

requirements help ensure the same level of health, safety and 

welfare protections as under the current regulation. 

Both the existing and proposed regulation contain a $75 fee 

for all individual licenses.1 The one-year convention license 

reduces administrative hassle and fees expended for 

applicants who intend to participate in more than one Virginia 

convention per year. Under the current regulation, licensure 

for participating at two conventions (that are not entirely 

within the same five-day period) would cost $150 in fees, and 

licensure for participating at three conventions would cost 

$225 in fees. With the proposed one-year convention license, 

the tattooer would only need to apply for one license a year 

and pay only $75 in fees. This may encourage greater 

participation at Virginia tattoo conventions, helping ensure 

the success and continuation of such conventions.  

As mentioned above, the limited term tattooer license that is 

effective for only five consecutive days has discouraged 

Virginia tattoo parlors from having out-of-state guest 

tattooers. The proposed two-week guest tattooer license 

would likely greatly alleviate that problem by providing 

sufficient time for the guest tattoo artist to practice and make 

the trip worthwhile. As some parlor owners may find having 

guest tattooers to be good for business, this proposal would 

be beneficial for the Commonwealth. 

Training Requirements. DPOR reports that there have been 

numerous complaints concerning tattoo instructor teaching 

ability. Consequently, the Board proposes to require that 

tattoo instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo 

instructor applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at 

the post-secondary level. There is presumably variation in the 

effectiveness of such courses. Thus it is not known whether 

the benefits would exceed the costs of this proposed 

requirement. As for cost, DPOR has indicated that it would 

accept online courses that may cost about $150 in fees and 24 

hours (spread over six weeks) in time.2 

The regulation includes an extensive list of topics to be 

addressed within tattooing school instruction. It currently 

states that the curriculum requirements shall be taught over a 

minimum of 750 hours. According to DPOR, there is a 

consensus that the curriculum requirements cannot be 

adequately taught within that time. Thus, the Board proposes 

to increase the minimum hours to 1,000. DPOR does not 

anticipate any objection to this change. 

Tattooing School Records. DPOR has heard frequent 

complaints that tattooing schools are withholding progress 

documentation from their students. In response, the Board 

proposes to require that schools, within 21 days of a student's 
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request, produce documentation and performances completed 

by that student. This provision would assist students in 

obtaining their records, which are needed for licensure 

applications.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 642 tattooers, 242 tattoo parlors, 9 

tattooing instructors, 5 tattoo schools, 355 permanent 

cosmetic tattooers, 7 master permanent cosmetic tattooers, 24 

permanent cosmetic tattoo instructors, 105 permanent 

cosmetic tattooing salons, 14 permanent cosmetic tattooing 

schools, 127 body piercers, 97 body piercing salons, 304 "ear-

only" body piercers, and 62 body piercer ear only salons 

licensed by the Board. The Board received 191 limited-term 

tattooer license applications in 2017, which would be 

replaced by an estimated 100 to 150 convention and guest 

tattooer applications under the proposed regulatory change.3 

Most, if not all, of the parlors and salons would qualify as 

small businesses. The proposal to require that tattoo instructor 

applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level would also affect providers of such courses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 

that tattoo instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo 

instructor applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at 

the post-secondary level may moderately increase 

employment at private providers of such courses. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to require that tattoo instructor applicants and 

permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor applicants pass a course 

on teaching techniques at the post-secondary level would 

increase demand for and perhaps increase the value of private 

providers of such courses. To the extent that the proposed 

one-year convention license encourages greater participation 

at Virginia tattoo conventions and the proposed two-week 

guest tattooer license increases the profitable use of such 

tattoo artists at Virginia parlors, the use and value of Virginia 

tattoo conventions and tattoo parlors may be positively 

affected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to require that tattoo 

instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level increases costs for these individuals. This 

would likely add cost for tattooing schools, as they may pay 

for all or part of the instructor's cost, or find it more difficult 

to find qualified instructors. The tattooing schools are likely 

all small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

adverse impact stems from increased cost associated with 

trying to improve teaching quality at tattooing schools. There 

is no clear alternative that would achieve this goal at lower 

cost. 

Adverse Impacts:  

Businesses. The proposal to require that tattoo instructor 

applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level increases costs for these individuals. This 

would likely add cost for tattooing schools, as they may pay 

for all or part of the instructor's cost, or find it more difficult 

to find qualified instructors. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposal to require that tattoo instructor 

applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level increases costs for these individuals.  

___________________________ 

1The existing and proposed regulations specify a $75 fee through August 31, 

2020, and a $105 fee for September 1, 2020, and after. 

2For example, as of August 24, 2018, the URL the ed2go course Teaching 

Adult Learners indicated a $149 fee and 24 hours of course time over 6 

weeks. https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-
development/child-development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners 

3Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add the responsible 

management system for tracking ownership of tattooing 

and body-piercing businesses; (ii) significantly alter the 

limited term tattooer license structure by eliminating the 

current five-day limited term tattooer license and replacing 

it with a one-year tattooer license and a two-week guest 

tattooer license; (iii) update training requirements for 

tattoo schools and tattoo instructors; (iv) address the 

release of tattoo school records; and (v) make other 

changes to clarify, update, and standardize the 

regulations. 

https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-development/child-development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners
https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-development/child-development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners
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Part I  

General  

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated in this chapter.  

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved tattooing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct tattooing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-50-70.  

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Convention tattooer" means a tattooer residing outside 

Virginia who is licensed to work only at a tattoo convention 

located in Virginia. 

"Direct supervision" means (i)  that a Virginia licensed 

tattooer shall be present in the tattoo parlor at all times when 

services are being performed by an apprentice, (ii) that a 

Virginia licensed tattooing instructor shall be present in the 

tattooing school at all times when services are being 

performed by a student, or (iii) that a Virginia licensed 

permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor shall be present in the 

permanent cosmetic tattooing school at all times when 

services are being performed by a student.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing tattooing services without receiving 

compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous services do 

not include services provided at no charge when goods are 

purchased.  

"Guest tattooer" means a tattooer or permanent cosmetic 

tattooer residing outside of Virginia who is licensed only to 

work for a two-week period at a specified tattoo parlor or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. 

"Guest tattooer sponsor" means a licensed tattoo parlor or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that is sponsoring and 

providing direct supervision of a guest tattooer. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, 

partnership, association, corporation, limited liability 

company, or corporation limited liability partnership, or any 

other form of organization permitted by law holding a license 

issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Limited term tattooer" means a tattooer licensed to perform 

tattooing for a maximum of five consecutive days in an 

organized event or in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor.  

"Limited term tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary 

location licensed to operate for a maximum of five 

consecutive days.  

"Master permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person 

who for compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing 

known in the industry as advanced permanent cosmetic 

tattooing, including but not limited to cheek blush, eye 

shadow, and breast and scar repigmentation or camouflage.  

"Permanent cosmetic tattoo salon" means any place in which 

permanent cosmetic tattooing is offered or practiced for 

compensation.  

"Permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who for 

compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing known 

in the industry as basic permanent cosmetic tattooing, 

including but not limited to eyebrows, eyeliners, lip coloring, 

lip liners, or full lips.  

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing" means placing marks upon 

or under the skin of any person with ink or any other 

substance, resulting in the permanent coloration of the skin on 

the face, including but not limited to eyebrows, eyeliners, lip 

coloring, lip liners, full lips, cheek blush, eye shadow, and on 

the body for breast and scar repigmentation or camouflage;, 

also known as permanent make-up makeup or 

micropigmentation.  

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor" means a person 

who has been certified by the board who meets the 

competency standards of the board as an instructor of 

permanent cosmetic tattooing.  

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing school" means a place or 

establishment licensed by the board to accept and train 

students and offers a permanent cosmetic tattooing 

curriculum approved by the board.  

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by an 

accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Department 

of Education. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  
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"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which 

tattooing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized.  

"Tattoo convention" means an event where Virginia and out-

of-state tattooers gather for no more than five consecutive 

days to offer tattooing services to the public. 

"Tattooing instructor" means a person who has been 

certified by the board who meets the competency standards of 

the board as an instructor of tattooing.  

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which 

tattooing is performed for a specified length of time of not 

more than five days in conjunction with a single event or 

celebration.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer, 

limited term convention tattooer, guest tattooer, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer.  

A. In order to receive a license as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code 

of Virginia, an applicant must Any individual wishing to 

engage in tattooing, limited term tattooing, permanent 

cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the 

Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, 

limited term convention tattooer, guest tattooer, permanent 

cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in 

every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in connection 

with the applicant's practice as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. This disclosure includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or 

voluntary termination of a license. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

whether if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

tattooer, limited term tattooer, permanent cosmetic 

tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in tattooing, convention tattooing, guest 

tattooing, permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and the 

board's tattooing regulations this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the each applicant must not have been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony that directly relates 

to the profession of tattooing. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the applicant's record of prior 

convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the profession of tattooing. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. 

The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall 

be forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days 

after all appeal rights have expired. shall disclose the 
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following information regarding criminal convictions in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service.  

6. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2007; (ii) have 

completed three years of documented work experience 

within the preceding five years as a tattooer; and (iii) have 

completed a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, 

and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and first aid and 

CPR that is acceptable to the board are not required to 

complete subdivision 5 of this subsection.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination.  

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

a. Any person completing an approved tattooing 

apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed tattoo 

parlor or completing an approved tattooing training 

program in a Virginia licensed school of tattooing, or 

completing a permanent cosmetic tattooing training 

program in a Virginia licensed permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be eligible to sit for the applicable 

examination.  

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories.  

a. Any person completing a tattooing or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing training or tattooing apprenticeship 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 

examination. If less than the required hours of tattooing 

or permanent cosmetic tattooing training or tattooing 

apprenticeship was completed, an applicant must submit 

(i) documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent tattooing 

training or tattooing apprenticeship or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing training or documentation of three 

years of work experience within the preceding five years 

as a tattooer, and (ii) documentation of completion of a 

minimum of five hours of health education to include but 

not limited to blood-borne disease (a) bloodborne 

pathogens, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to 

tattooing and; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable 

to the board in order to be eligible for examination.  

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility.  

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may 

be issued a tattooer license, permanent cosmetic tattooer 

license, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, 

respectively, without an examination. The applicant must also 

meet the requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 

through A 4.  

18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be 

administered by the board or by a designated testing service.  

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee.  

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-
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4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years.  

18VAC41-50-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.)  

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-50-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.)  

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or 

the designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

18VAC41-50-80. Tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor, 

limited term tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

shall obtain a tattoo parlor license, limited term tattoo parlor 

license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license in 

compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of Virginia. and 

shall meet the following qualifications in order to receive a 

license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or 

practice of the profession. This disclosure includes 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a tattoo parlor, 

limited term tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattoo parlor license, limited term tattoo parlor license, 

or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license shall not be 

transferable and shall bear the same name and address of the 
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business. Any changes in the name, or address, or ownership 

of the parlor or salon shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such changes. New owners shall be 

responsible for reporting such changes in writing to the board 

applying for a new license within 30 days of the changes.  

C. In the event of a closing of a tattoo parlor or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon, the board must be notified by the 

owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the 

license must be returned by the owners to the board. 

Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

the business entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Any tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

wishing to host a guest tattooer must identify itself as the 

guest tattooer sponsor and must provide direct supervision of 

any tattooing by the guest tattooer. 

D. F. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor 

in a temporary location must have a tattoo parlor license or 

limited term tattoo parlor license issued by the board.  

E. G. A limited term tattoo parlor license is effective for five 

consecutive days prior to the expiration date.  

F. H. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of five 

limited term tattoo parlor licenses within a calendar year.  

G. I. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of two 

limited term tattoo parlor licenses within a 30 consecutive 

days time period.  

18VAC41-50-90. Limited term tattooer license. 

(Repealed.)  

A. A limited term tattooer license is effective for five 

consecutive days prior to the expiration date.  

B. A person may obtain a maximum of five limited term 

tattooer licenses within a calendar year.  

C. A person may obtain a maximum of two limited term 

tattooer licenses within a 30 consecutive days time period.  

D. A limited term tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through 

A 4.  

2. Documentation of health education knowledge to 

include but not limited to blood-borne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing, 

and first aid and CPR that is acceptable to the board.  

E. A limited term tattooer applicant is not required to 

complete 18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

18VAC41-50-91. Convention tattooer license. 

A. A convention tattooer license shall expire one year from 

the last day of the month in which it was issued.  

B. A convention tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through 

A 4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to 

include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR 

that is acceptable to the board.  

C. A convention tattooer applicant is not required to 

complete 18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer license. 

A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to 

the expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to three guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through 

A 4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to 

include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR 

that is acceptable to the board.  

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor 

including signature of sponsor parlor's responsible 

management. 

D. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  
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18VAC41-50-93. Guest tattooer sponsor. 

A. The licensed tattoo parlor that agrees to sponsor a guest 

tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that 

agrees to sponsor a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest 

tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or 

permanent cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

C. The guest tattooer sponsor's responsible management 

must sign the guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor 

will ensure the requirements of subsections A and B of this 

section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the 

acts or omissions of the guest tattooer in the performance of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

18VAC41-50-100. School license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattooing school 

or permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall obtain a school 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or 

practice of the profession. This disclosure includes 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a tattoo parlor, 

limited term tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattooing school license or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school license shall not be transferable and shall 

bear the same name and address as the school. Any changes 

in the name or address of the school shall be reported to the 

board in writing within 30 days of such change. The name of 

the school must indicate that it is an educational institution. 

All signs or other advertisements must reflect the name as 

indicated on the license issued by the board and contain 

language indicating it is an educational institution.  

C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the 

new owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2913 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes. Whenever 

the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or 

altered to form a new business entity, the original license 

becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 30 

days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a 

new license within 30 days of the change in the business 

entity. Such changes include:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. In the event of a school closing, the board must be 

notified by the owners in writing within 30 days of the 

closing, and the license must be returned. Within 30 days of 

the closing, the school shall return the license to the board 

and provide a written report to the board on performances and 

hours of each student who has not completed the program. 

E. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooing instructor certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for a tattooing instructor 

certificate if the person:  

1. Holds a current Virginia tattooer license; and  

2. Provides documentation of three years of work 

experience within the past five years; and  

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques in a post-

secondary education level. 

B. Tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a 

tattooer license.  

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructor certificate.  

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers 

and Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set 

forth in this section shall be eligible for a permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instructor certificate if the person:  

1. Holds a current Virginia permanent cosmetic tattooer 

license or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license; and  

2. Provides documentation of three years of work 

experience within the past five years; and 

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary education level. 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors shall be 

required to maintain a permanent cosmetic tattooer license or 

master permanent cosmetic tattooer license.  

Part III  

Fees  

18VAC41-50-130. Fees.  

The following fees apply:  

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2016, 

through August 31, 2020 

AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2020, and 

after 

WHEN DUE 

Individuals:  

  Application $75 $105 With application 

  License by Endorsement $75 $105 With application 

  Renewal $75 $105 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes $75 renewal fee 

and $75 reinstatement fee 

$210* 

*includes $105 renewal 

fee and $105 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 
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Instructors:  

  Application $100 $125 With application 

  License by Endorsement $100 $125 With application 

  Renewal $100 $150 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes $100 renewal 

fee and $100 

reinstatement fee 

$300* 

*includes $150 renewal 

fee and $150 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Parlors or salons: 

  Application $130 $190 With application 

  Renewal $130 $190 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes $130 renewal 

fee and $130 

reinstatement fee 

$380* 

*includes $190 renewal 

fee and $190 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

  Application $140 $220 With application 

  Renewal $140 $220 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

  Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes $140 renewal 

fee and $140 

reinstatement fee 

$440* 

*includes $220 renewal 

fee and $220 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

     

Part IV  

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required.  

All tattooer 1. Tattooer licenses, tattoo parlor licenses, 

tattooing instructors licenses, tattooing schools licenses, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer licenses, permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

licenses, and permanent cosmetic tattooing schools 

licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the 

month in which they were issued.  

2. Convention tattooer licenses shall expire one year from 

the last day of the month in which it was issued. 

3. Guest tattooer licenses will expire 14 days after the 

effective date of the license and may not be renewed. 

18VAC41-50-160. Continuing education requirement.  

All licensed tattooers, permanent cosmetic tattooers, and 

master permanent cosmetic tattooers shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete a minimum of five hours of health 

education to include but not limited to (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing, (ii) 

first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. 

Documentation of training completion shall be provided at 

the time of renewal along with the required fee.  

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew.  

A. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within 30 days 

following its the expiration date of the license, the licensee 

shall meet the renewal requirements as prescribed in 

18VAC41-50-170 and apply for reinstatement of the license 

by submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

B. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former licensee shall apply 

for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all current 
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application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination, and shall receive a new license.  

C. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application 

along with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To 

resume practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure 

as a new applicant and shall meet all current application 

requirements.  

E. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, the licensee shall be required to apply for 

reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement 

application along with the required renewal and reinstatement 

fees.  

F. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within two years following 

the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To 

resume practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure 

as a new applicant and shall meet all current application 

requirements.  

C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall 

provide (i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the 

expiration date, and (ii) a notarized statement that all students 

currently enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been 

notified in writing that the school's license has expired. All of 

these materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the 

school and if the school's records are maintained in 

accordance with 18VAC41-50-250 and 18VAC41-50-330. 

Pursuant to 18VAC41-50-100, 18VAC41-50-230, and 

18VAC41-50-310 upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, 

application package, and inspection results, the board may 

reinstate the school's license or require requalification or 

both. If the reinstatement application package and 

reinstatement fee are not received by the board within six 

months following the expiration date of the school's license, 

the board will notify the testing service that prospective 

graduates of the unlicensed school are not acceptable 

candidates for the examination. Such notification will be sent 

to the school and must be displayed in a conspicuous manner 

by the school in an area that is accessible to the public. No 

student shall be disqualified from taking the examination 

because the school was not licensed for a portion of the time 

the student attended if the school license is reinstated by the 

board. 

G. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, 

will be used to determine whether the requirement for 

reinstatement of a license is applicable and an additional fee 

is required.  

H. E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have 

the same license number and shall be assigned an expiration 

date two years from the previous expiration date of the 

license date of the last day of the month of reinstatement.  

I. F. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement.  

J. G. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license 

shall be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 

of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the 

law or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed.  

18VAC41-50-230. General requirements.  

A tattooing school shall:  

1. Hold a tattooing school license for each and every 

location.  

2. Hold a tattoo parlor license if the school receives 

compensation for services provided in the area where 

practical instruction is conducted and services are 

provided.  

3. Employ a staff of certified tattooing instructors.  

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in 

tattooing.  

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to 

curricula must be resubmitted and approved by the board. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the tattooing school receives compensation for 

services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the 

reception area of the shop or salon in plain view of the 

public.  

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided.  

8. Conduct all instruction and training of tattooers under 

the direct supervision of a certified tattooing instructor.  

18VAC41-50-240. School identification. (Repealed.)  

Each tattooing school approved by the board shall identify 

itself to the public as a teaching institution.  
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18VAC41-50-250. Records.  

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, 

termination, or withdrawal, written records of hours and 

performances showing what instruction a student has received 

for a period of five years after the student terminates or 

completes the curriculum of the school. These records shall 

be available for inspection by the department. All records 

must be kept on the premises of each school.  

B. For a period of five years after a student completes the 

curriculum, terminates, or withdraws from the school, schools 

are required to provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by a student upon receipt of a 

written request from the student.  

C. Schools shall within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

C. D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school 

closing, the schools are required to provide to current students 

documentation of hours and performances completed.  

D. E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, schools are required to provide documentation of 

hours and performances completed by a current student upon 

receipt of a written request from the student.  

18VAC41-50-260. Hours reported. (Repealed.)  

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed tattooing school 

for any reason, the school shall provide a written report to the 

board on performances and hours of each of its students who 

has not completed the program.  

18VAC41-50-270. Health education. (Repealed.)  

Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall be 

required to provide documentation of satisfactory completion 

of a minimum of five hours of health education to include but 

not limited to blood-borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR.  

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum 

requirements.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall 

be required to provide documentation of satisfactory 

completion of a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR.  

B. Tattooing school curriculum requirements are as follows:  

1. Microbiology.  

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungus;  

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and  

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents.  

2. Immunization.  

a. Types of immunizations;  

b. Hepatitis A—G A through G transmission and 

immunization;  

c. HIV/AIDS;  

d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, 

pneumococcal, and influenza;  

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella;  

f. Vaccines and immunization; and  

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect 

the tattooer and client.  

3. Sanitation and disinfection.  

a. Definition of terms:  

(1) Sterilization;  

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant;  

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant;  

(4) Antiseptic;  

(5) Germicide;  

(6) Decontamination; and  

(7) Sanitation.  

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques;  

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, 

and fumigants;  

d. The use of sanitation equipment;  

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and  

f. Postservice sanitation procedure.  

4. Safety.  

a. Proper needle handling and disposal;  

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals;  

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets;  

d. Blood spill procedures;  

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and  

f. First aid and CPR.  

5. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards.  

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards;  

b. Control plan for blood-borne bloodborne pathogens;  

c. Exposure control plan for tattooers;  
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d. Overview of compliance requirements; and  

e. Disorders and when not to service a client.  

6. Professional standards.  

a. History of tattooing;.  

b. Ethics;.  

c. Recordkeeping:  

(1) Client health history;  

(2) Consent forms; and  

(3) HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 Privacy Rule) Standards.  

d. Preparing station, making appointments, parlor ethics:  

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying 

clients of schedule changes; and  

(2) Promoting services of the parlor and establishing 

clientele.  

e. Parlor management.  

(1) Licensing requirements; and  

(2) Taxes.  

f. Supplies.  

(1) Usages;  

(2) Ordering; and  

(3) Storage.  

7. Tattooing.  

a. Client consultation;  

b. Client health form;  

c. Client disclosure form;  

d. Client preparation;  

e. Sanitation and safety precautions;  

f. Implement selection and use;  

g. Proper use of equipment;  

h. Material selection and use;  

i. Needles;  

j. Ink;  

k. Machine:  

(1) Construction;  

(2) Adjustment; and  

(3) Power supply;  

l. Art, drawing; and  

m. Portfolio.  

8. Anatomy.  

a. Understanding of skin; and  

b. Parts and functions of skin.  

9. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations.  

18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances.  

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-280 

shall be taught over a minimum of 750 1,000 hours as 

follows:  

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivisions 18VAC41-50-280 B 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 

18VAC41-50-280;  

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-50-280; and  

3. The remaining 250 500 hours shall be devoted to 

practical training to include but not limited to tattooing 

curriculum requirements and a total of 100 performances 

pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-280 B 7.  

B. An approved tattooing school may conduct an assessment 

of a student's competence in the theory and practical 

requirements for tattooing and, based on the assessment, give 

a maximum of 350 hours of credit towards toward the 

requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this section. No 

credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in 

subdivision A 2 of this section.  

18VAC41-50-320. School identification. (Repealed.)  

Each permanent cosmetic tattooing school approved by the 

board shall identify itself to the public as a teaching 

institution.  

18VAC41-50-340. Hours reported. (Repealed.)  

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed permanent 

cosmetic tattooing school for any reason, the school shall 

provide a written report to the board on performances and 

hours of each of its students who have not completed the 

program.  

18VAC41-50-350. Health education. (Repealed.)  

Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation 

of satisfactory completion of health education on blood-borne 

disease.  

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

curriculum requirements.  

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation 

of satisfactory completion of health education on bloodborne 

disease.  
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B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school curriculum 

requirements are as follows:  

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations.  

2. Machines and devices.  

a. Coil machine;  

b. Hand device; and  

c. Others devices.  

3. Needles.  

a. Types;  

b. Uses; and  

c. Application.  

4. Anatomy.  

a. Layers of skin;  

b. Parts and functions of skin; and  

c. Diseases.  

5. Color theory.  

a. Skin and pigment color; and  

b. Handling and storage of pigments.  

6. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases.  

7. Immunization.  

a. Types of immunizations; and  

b. General preventative measures to be taken to protect 

the tattooer and client.  

8. Sanitation and disinfection.  

a. Definition of terms:  

(1) Sterilization;  

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant;  

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant;  

(4) Antiseptic;  

(5) Germicide;  

(6) Decontamination; and  

(7) Sanitation.;  

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques;  

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, and 

disinfectants;  

d. The use of sanitation equipment;  

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and  

f. Postservice sanitation procedure.  

9. Safety.  

a. Proper needle handling and disposal;  

b. Blood spill procedures;  

c. Equipment and instrument storage; and  

d. First aid.  

10. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards.  

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards;  

b. Overview of compliance requirements; and  

c. Disorders and when not to service a client.  

11. Anesthetics.  

a. Use;  

b. Types;  

c. Application; and  

d. Removal.  

12. Equipment.  

a. Gloves;  

b. Masks;  

c. Apron;  

d. Chair;  

e. Lighting; and  

f. Work table.  

13. Professional standards.  

a. History of permanent cosmetic tattooing;.  

b. Ethics;.  

c. Recordkeeping:  

(1) Client health history; and  

(2) Consent forms.  

d. Preparing station, making appointments, salon ethics:  

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying 

clients of schedule changes; and  

(2) Promoting services of the salon and establishing 

clientele.  

e. Salon management:  

(1) Licensing requirements; and  

(2) Taxes.  

14. Permanent cosmetic tattooing.  
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a. Client consultation;  

b. Client health form;  

c. Client disclosure form;  

d. Client preparation;  

e. Sanitation and safety precautions;  

f. Implement selection and use;  

g. Proper use of equipment;  

h. Material selection and use.;  

i. Eyebrows;  

j. Eyeliner;  

k. Lip coloring; and  

l. Lip liners.  

18VAC41-50-400. Tattooer or permanent cosmetic 

tattooer or master permanent cosmetic tattooer 

responsibilities.  

A. All tattooers shall provide to the owner one of the 

following:  

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine;  

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or  

3. Written declaration of refusal of the owner's offer of a 

full series of Hepatitis B vaccine.  

B. All tattooers shall wear clean outer garments, maintain a 

high degree of personal cleanliness, and conform to hygienic 

practices while on duty.  

C. All tattooers shall clean their hands thoroughly using hot 

or tempered water with a liquid germicidal soap or use 

sanitizing solution to clean hands before and after tattooing 

and as necessary to remove contaminants.  

D. All tattooers must wear single-use examination gloves 

while assembling tattooing instruments and while tattooing.  

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, each 

time the gloves become torn or perforated, or whenever the 

ability of the gloves to function as a barrier is compromised:  

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and  

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used.  

F. Tattooers shall use standard precautions while tattooing. 

A tattooer diagnosed with a communicable disease shall 

provide to the department a written statement from a health 

care practitioner that the tattooer's condition no longer poses a 

threat to public health.  

G. Tattooers with draining lesions on their hands or face will 

not be permitted to work until cleared by a health-care health 

care professional.  

H. The area of the client's skin to be tattooed shall be 

cleaned with an approved germicidal soap according to label 

directions.  

I. Tattooing inks and dyes shall be placed in a single-use 

disposable container for each client. Following the procedure, 

the unused contents and container will be properly disposed 

of.  

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use and 

disposed of in a puncture resistant container.  

K. Each tattooer performing any tattooing procedures in the 

parlor or salon shall have the education, training, and 

experience, or any combination thereof, to practice aseptic 

technique and prevent the transmission of bloodborne 

pathogens. All procedures shall be performed using aseptic 

technique.  

L. A set of individual, sterilized needles shall be used for 

each client. Single-use disposable instruments shall be 

disposed of in a puncture resistant container.  

M. Used, nondisposable instruments shall be kept in a 

separate, puncture resistant container until brush scrubbed in 

hot water soap and then sterilized by autoclaving. 

Contaminated instruments shall be handled with disposable 

gloves.  

N. Used instruments that are ultrasonically cleaned shall be 

rinsed under running hot water prior to being placed in the 

used instrument container;  

O. Used instruments that are not ultrasonically cleaned prior 

to being placed in the used instrument container shall be kept 

in a germicidal or soap solution until brush scrubbed in hot 

water and soap and sterilized by autoclaving.  

P. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a 

germicidal solution.  

Q. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall be 

handled and stored in a manner to prevent contamination. 

Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made 

specifically for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall 

include the date of sterilization. If nontransparent bags are 

utilized, the bag shall also list the contents.  

R. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator 

that changes color upon proper sterilization shall be utilized 

during the autoclave sterilization process.  

S. Instruments shall be placed in the autoclave in a manner 

to allow live steam to circulate around them.  

T. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be 

disposed of in accordance with federal and state regulations 

regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials.  
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U. The manufacturer's written instructions of the autoclave 

shall be followed.  

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or probation; denial of application, 

renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary 

penalty.  

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee or certificate holder and 

suspend, place on probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or 

reinstate any license or certificate, or deny any application 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of 

the board this chapter if the board it finds that the licensee, 

certificate holder, or applicant:  

1. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

incompetent, or negligent in practice tattooing, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a 

tattooer, limited term tattooer, tattooer apprentice, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer or (ii) operate a parlor, permanent 

cosmetic tattooing salon, or school;  

2. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice of tattooing or 

fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in this chapter;  

3. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant obtained 

Obtained, attempted to obtain, renewed, or reinstated a 

license by false or fraudulent representation;  

4. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant violates 

Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which tattooers may practice or offer to practice;  

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing tattooing as defined in 

§ 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed parlor, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 8. Fails 

to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of 

its agents, any document, book, record, or copy thereof in a 

licensee's or owner's possession or maintained in 

accordance with this chapter;  

6. A licensee or certificate holder fails 9. Fails to notify the 

board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 

days of the change for each and every license. The board 

shall not be responsible for the licensee's or certificate 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensees' or certificate 

holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of 

any change of name or address or for any other reason 

beyond the control of the board;  

7. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant 10. Makes 

any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be 

published any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or 

misleading;  

8. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 11. 

Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license or 

certificate in connection with a disciplinary action in any 

other jurisdiction or of any license or certificate that has 

been the subject of disciplinary action in any other 

jurisdiction; or  

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the licensee or certificate holder has been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony that directly relates 

to the profession of tattooing. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the regulant's record of prior 

convictions, if the regulant is unfit or unsuited to engage in 

the profession of tattooing or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 

issue such order, decree or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction. This record shall be forwarded by the applicant 

to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights have 

expired.  

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or impose a fine as permitted 

by law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon fails to 

comply with the facility requirements of tattoo parlors, 

limited term tattoo parlors, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 
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salons provided for in this chapter or in any local 

ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in this chapter;  

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

tattooing instructor certificate; or  

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of tattooing.  

D. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate 

the license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by 

law, or both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take 

sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable 

or infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state 

or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health 

and sanitation for the practice of tattooing.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions 

as stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a parlor, salon, 

or school, a person who has not obtained a license or guest 

tattooer license to practice as a tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a 

person who has not obtained an instructor certificate to 

practice as a tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practice of tattooing, or the operation of tattoo parlors or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC41-50)  

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/2011)  

Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12TATSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A425-

1234TAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-12TAC (eff. 

9/2011) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A425-12DIS, A425-12TDIS 

(eff. 9/2011) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-

1233LIC-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v5 (rev. 9/2016) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1236EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & 

License Application, A425-1237EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
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Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-

1231EXLIC (rev. 7/2019) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A450-12TDIS (rev. 4/2013) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v6 (rev. 7/2019) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & 

License Application, A450-1237EXLIC-v11 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v11 

(rev. 7/2019) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v11 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v5 (rev. 3/2017) 

Convention Tattooer License Application, A450-

1233COVLIC-v1 (eff. 7/2019) 

Guest Tattooer License Application, A450-1233GLIC-v1 

(eff. 7/2019) 

Part I  

General  

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are 

incorporated in this chapter.  

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved body-piercing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor.  

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct body-piercing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-60-70.  

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place.  

"Body piercer ear only" means any person who uses only a 

mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates 

the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both for 

compensation.  

"Body piercing ear only" means the use of a mechanized, 

presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer 

perimeter or lobe of the ear or both.  

"Body-piercing ear only salon" means any place in which a 

fee is charged for the act of using a mechanized, presterilized 

ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe 

of the ear or both.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state.  

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing body-piercing services without 

receiving compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous 

services do not include services provided at no charge when 

goods are purchased.  

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, or corporation sole 

proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or any other form 

of organization permitted by law holding a license issued by 

the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology as defined in § 54.1-

700 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

for another period of time.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8b512005125~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8b512005125~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=deaca005125~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c004005125~13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c004005125~13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eee0c005125~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eee0c005125~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9521005125~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9521005125~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b44005125~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b44005125~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47dfc005125~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47dfc005125~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad25005125~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad25005125~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93c4f005125~8D.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00765005125~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00765005125~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2412d005125~107.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2412d005125~107.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f2a005125~117.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f2a005125~117.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4cc46005125~127.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4cc46005125~127.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2129005125~14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b2129005125~14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5540e005125~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5540e005125~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
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"Responsible management" means the following 

individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which body-

piercing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized.  

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which body 

piercing is performed for a specified length of time of not 

more than seven days in conjunction with a single event or 

celebration.  

Part II  

Entry  

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements.  

A. In order to receive a license as a body piercer in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant must Any individual wishing to engage in body 

piercing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 

of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or 

registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the 

time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a body piercer. 

This disclosure includes monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure whether if he 

has been previously licensed in Virginia as a body piercer.  

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in body piercing and body piercing ear 

only. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and 

the board's body-piercing regulations this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for this 

purpose of this section. The record of a conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. 

The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or 

certification to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service.  

6. Persons who (i) make application between April 1, 2007, 

and March 31, 2008; (ii) have completed three years of 

documented work experience within the preceding five 

years as a body piercer; and (iii) have completed a 

minimum of five hours of health education including but 

not limited to blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to body piercing and first aid and CPR 

that is acceptable to the board are not required to complete 

subdivision 5 of this subsection.  
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B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved body-piercer 

examination.  

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved body-piercing apprenticeship 

program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination.  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. Any person 

completing a body-piercing training or apprenticeship 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 

examination. If less than required hours of body-piercing 

training or body-piercing apprenticeship was completed, an 

applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the 

board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent body-piercing training or body-piercing 

apprenticeship or documentation of three years of work 

experience within the preceding five years as a body 

piercer and (ii) documentation of completion of a 

minimum of five hours of health education to include but 

not limited to blood borne (a) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body 

piercing and; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to 

the board in order to be eligible for examination.  

C. In order to receive a license as a body piercer ear only, an 

applicant must meet the following qualifications:  

1. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three 

hours of health education to include but not limited to 

blood borne bloodborne disease and first aid that is 

acceptable to the board and provide verification of training 

on a mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that 

penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and 

aftercare of piercing.  

2. The applicant shall be in good standing in every 

jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

licensed, certified, or registered practice. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure whether he has been previously licensed in 

Virginia in any profession regulated by the board.  

3. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable.  

4. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and 

the board's body-piercing regulations.  

5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for this 

purpose of this section. The record of a conviction certified 

or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. 

The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or 

certification to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement.  

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a body piercer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may 

be issued a body-piercer body piercer license without an 

examination. The applicant must also meet the requirements 

set forth in 18VAC41-60-20 A 1 through A 4.  

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees.  

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be 

administered by the board or by a designated testing service.  

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee.  

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 
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D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-60-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.)  

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-60-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.)  

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or 

the designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, 

on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted 

and charged to the candidate in accordance with these 

contracts. The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

18VAC41-60-80. Salon license.  

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-piercing 

salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall obtain a salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license:  

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed salon 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear 

only salon or practice of the profession. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure if the applicant or any member of 

the responsible management has been previously licensed 

in Virginia as a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear 

only salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or 

unsuited to engage in the operation of a body-piercing 

salon or body-piercing ear only salon. The board will 

decide each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and 

this chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

about the firm and all members of the responsible 

management regarding criminal convictions in Virginia 

and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 

conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  
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B. A body-piercing salon license or body-piercing ear only 

salon license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address of the business. Any changes in the name, 

or address, or ownership of the salon shall be reported to the 

board in writing within 30 days of such changes. New owners 

shall be responsible for reporting such changes in writing to 

the board applying for a new license within 30 days of the 

changes.  

C. In the event of a closing of a body-piercing salon or 

body-piercing ear only salon, the board must be notified by 

the owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the 

license must be returned by the owners to the board. 

Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the 

original license becomes void and shall be returned to the 

board within 30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm 

shall apply for a new license within 30 days of the change in 

the business entity. Such changes include:  

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited 

partnership; and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 

a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

D. E. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-

piercing salon in a temporary location must have a body-

piercing salon license issued by the board.  

Part IV  

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal required.  

All body-piercer body piercer, body-piercer body piercer ear 

only, body-piercing salon, and body-piercing ear only salon 

licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the month 

in which they were issued.  

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirement.  

All licensed body piercers shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to blood borne (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body piercing 

and; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. All 

licensed body piercers ear only shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete a minimum of three hours of health 

education to include but not limited to blood borne 

bloodborne disease and first aid during their licensed term. 

Documentation of training completion shall be provided at 

the time of renewal along with the required fee.  

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew.  

A. When a body piercer an individual or body piercer ear 

only business entity fails to renew their license within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee shall meet the 

renewal requirements prescribed in 18VAC41-60-120 and 

18VAC41-60-130 and apply for reinstatement of the license 

by submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

B. When a body piercer or body piercer ear only an 

individual or business entity fails to renew his its license 

within two years following the expiration date, reinstatement 

is no longer possible. To resume practice, the former body-

piercer licensee shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, 

shall meet all current application requirements, shall pass the 

board's current examination if applicable, and shall receive a 

new license. To resume practice, the former body-piercer ear 

only licensee shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, 

shall meet all current application requirements, and shall 

receive a new license.  

C. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application 

along with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To 

resume practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure 

as a new applicant and shall meet all current application 

requirements.  

E. C. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, 

will be used to determine whether the requirement for 

reinstatement of a license is applicable and an additional fee 

is required.  

F. D. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license 

date of the last day of the month of reinstatement.  

G. E. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement.  

H. F. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license 

shall be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 
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of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the 

law or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed.  

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilities.  

A. A body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon 

must be in a permanent building, which must be in a location 

permissible under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the 

body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall be 

separated from any living quarters by complete floor to 

ceiling partitioning and shall contain no access to living 

quarters.  

B. The body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be maintained in a clean and orderly 

manner.  

C. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the 

work area.  

D. Work surfaces in a body-piercing salon, body-piercing 

ear only salon, or temporary location shall be cleaned with an 

EPA-registered, hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that 

come in contact with blood or other body fluids shall be 

immediately disinfected with an EPA-registered germicide 

solution. Appropriate personal protective equipment shall be 

worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures.  

E. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, cabinets or containers for the storage of 

instruments, single-use articles, and other utensils shall be 

provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a 

sanitary manner.  

F. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, bulk single-use articles shall be 

commercially packaged and handled in such a way as to 

protect them the articles from contamination.  

G. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, all materials applied to the human skin 

shall be from single-use articles or transferred from bulk 

containers to single use containers and shall be disposed of 

after each use.  

H. In a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon, 

the walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. 

The body-piercing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard, 

surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 

colored, and easily cleaned. New physical facilities shall not 

include any dark-colored surfaces in the body-piercing area. 

Existing physical facilities with dark-colored surfaces in the 

body-piercing area shall replace the dark-colored surfaces 

with light-colored surfaces whenever the facilities are 

extensively remodeled or upon relocation of the business.  

I. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have adequate lighting of at least 50 

foot-candles of illumination in the body-piercing and 

sterilization areas.  

J. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, adequate mechanical ventilation shall be 

provided.  

K. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be equipped with hand-cleaning 

facilities for its personnel with unobstructed access to the 

body-piercing area or body-piercing ear only area such that 

the body piercer or body piercer ear only can return to the 

area without having to touch anything with his hands. Hand-

cleaning facilities shall be equipped either with hot and cold 

or tempered running water under pressure and liquid 

germicidal soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean hands. 

Hand-cleaning facilities shall be equipped with single-use 

towels or mechanical hand drying devices and a covered 

refuse container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in 

good repair. All facilities must have running water and soap 

accessible for cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids.  

L. Animals are not permitted in the body-piercing salon, 

body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location except for 

guide or service animals accompanying persons with 

disabilities or nonmammalian animals in enclosed glass 

containers such as fish aquariums, which shall be outside of 

the body-piercing area or sterilization areas area. No animals 

are allowed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only 

area, or sterilization areas area.  

M. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, 

or temporary location, the use of tobacco products and 

consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be prohibited in the 

body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, or 

sterilization areas area.  

N. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, no food or drink will be stored or 

consumed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only 

area, or sterilization areas area.  

O. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, if body-piercing or body-piercing ear 

only is performed where cosmetology services are provided, 

it shall be performed in an area that is separate and enclosed.  

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at 

least monthly.  

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an 

independent laboratory.  

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period 

of three years and made available upon request.  

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used 

by the salon's employees.  
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18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension or probation; denial of application, renewal, 

or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty.  

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee and suspend, place on 

probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any 

license, or deny any application issued under the provisions 

of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and the regulations of the board this chapter if the 

board it finds that the licensee or applicant:  

1. The licensee is Is incompetent or negligent in practice, 

or incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a 

body piercer or body piercer ear only, or (ii) operate a body 

piercing salon;  

2. The licensee or applicant is Is convicted of fraud or 

deceit in the practice body piercing or body piercing ear 

only;  

3. The licensee or applicant attempted Attempted to obtain, 

obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license by false or 

fraudulent representation;  

4. The licensee or applicant violates Violates or induces 

others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any 

of the provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local 

ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and 

sanitation of the establishment in which body piercers or 

body piercers ear only may practice or offer to practice;  

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent in the 

performance of his duties any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing body piercing as 

defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee or applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon 

request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 

document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or 

owner's possession or maintained in accordance with this 

chapter;  

6. A licensee fails 9. Fails to notify the board of a change 

of name or address in writing within 30 days of the change 

for each and every license. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's failure to receive notices, 

communications and correspondence caused by the 

licensee's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of 

any change of name or address or for any other reason 

beyond the control of the board;  

7. The licensee or applicant 10. Makes any 

misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published 

any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading;  

8. The licensee or applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the 

board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, 

revocation, or surrender of a license, certificate, or permit 

in connection with a disciplinary action in any other 

jurisdiction or of any license, certificate, or permit which 

has been the subject of disciplinary action in any other 

jurisdiction;  

9. The licensee or applicant has been convicted or found 

guilty in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purpose of this section. The record of a 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such guilt; or  

10. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails to notify the board in writing 

within 30 days that the licensee, certificate holder, 

temporary license holder, or applicant has pleaded guilty or 

nolo contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

misdemeanor or felony.  

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon or impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the 

board finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the body-piercing salon or 

body-piercing ear only salon fails to comply with the 

facility requirements of body-piercing salons or body-

piercing ear only salons provided for in this chapter or in 

any local ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a body piercer or body 

piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, 

or both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take 

sufficient measures to prevent transmission of communicable 

or infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state 

or federal law or regulation governing the standards of health 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2929 

and sanitation for the practice of body piercing or body 

piercing ear only.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions 

as stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a salon, a 

person who has not obtained a license to practice as a body 

piercer or body piercer ear only unless the person is duly 

enrolled as an apprentice; 

15. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable or infectious diseases or 

fails to comply with sanitary requirements provided for in 

this chapter or any local, state, or federal law or regulation 

governing the standards of health and sanitation for the 

practice of body piercing, or the operation of body-piercing 

salon or body-piercing ear only salon; or 

16. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC41-60)  

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A425-

1241EXLIC (eff. 9/2011)  

Body-Piercing Training & Experience Verification Form, 

A425-12BPTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12BPSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A425-

1244BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-

12BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A425-12BPDIS (eff. 

9/2011) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-

1245LIC-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-

1241EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A450-12BPDIS-v2 

(rev. 4/2013) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-

1245LIC-v7 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5125; Filed July 2, 2019, 10:38 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-26, 18VAC85-

20-29, 18VAC85-20-90, 18VAC85-20-121, 18VAC85-20-

122, 18VAC85-20-140, 18VAC85-20-220, 18VAC85-20-

225, 18VAC85-20-235, 18VAC85-20-410).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65f47005125~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65f47005125~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0c05005125~173.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0c05005125~173.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0dac0005125~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0dac0005125~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7de8005125~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7de8005125~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67801005125~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67801005125~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c11aa005125~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c11aa005125~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8bbb005125~22D.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c40005125~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c40005125~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
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Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2019.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the authority of 

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: 18VAC85-20 needs to be retained because its 

provisions protect the health and safety of patients who 

received medical care from a doctor licensed under the 

chapter. The regulatory changes are consistent with the 

principle that regulations should be clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As 

required by Executive Order 14 (2018), the Board of 

Medicine conducted a periodic review of this chapter. The 

amendments are clarifying or intended for consistency with 

current practice. There are no substantive changes, so the 

amendments are not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Pursuant to its periodic review of 18VAC85-20, 

the board amended the regulation to delete outdated 

provisions and clarify others consistent with current practice. 

Issues: There are no substantive changes to the regulation, so 

there are no real advantages or disadvantages to the public. 

Most of the amendments are technical and clarifying. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth, except clearer regulations may result in 

fewer inquiries to staff. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the Board of Medicine 

(Board) proposes to delete outdated provisions and clarify 

several others consistent with current practice. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to delete 

outdated provisions such as dates that are no longer 

necessary, update terminology, update names of an 

accrediting body, clarify that teaching in a health care 

professional field qualifies for continuing education credits, 

and clarify that a single interaction that interferes with patient 

care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered to a patient might be grounds for 

disciplinary action, etc. The proposed changes are not 

expected to create any economic impact beyond improving 

the accuracy and clarity of existing requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are 38,014 doctors of 

medicine, 3,473 doctors of osteopathic medicine, 541 doctors 

of podiatry, and 1,729 doctors of chiropractic regulated by the 

Board. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

would not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

not have costs on other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments would not impose adverse impacts on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not impose 

adverse impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities. 

___________________________ 
1http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1647 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove outdated provisions, make a 

number of technical changes, and clarify for consistency 

with current practice. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1647
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18VAC85-20-26. Patient records.  

A. Practitioners shall comply with the provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality 

and disclosure of patient records.  

B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another 

practitioner or to the patient or his the patient's personal 

representative in a timely manner in accordance with 

provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Practitioners shall properly manage patient records and 

shall maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete patient 

records.  

D. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a 

minimum of six years following the last patient encounter 

with the following exceptions:  

1. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, shall 

be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 or 

becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for record 

retention of six years from the last patient encounter 

regardless of the age of the child;  

2. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or his the patient's personal representative; or  

3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.  

E. From October 19, 2005, practitioners Practitioners shall 

post information or in some manner inform all patients 

concerning the time frame timeframe for record retention and 

destruction. Patient records shall only be destroyed in a 

manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by 

incineration or shredding.  

F. When a practitioner is closing, selling, or relocating his 

practice, he shall meet the requirements of § 54.1-2405 of the 

Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can 

be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice 

or provided to the patient.  

18VAC85-20-29. Practitioner responsibility.  

A. A practitioner shall not:  

1. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient 

safety or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's 

scope of practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners 

shall delegate patient care only to subordinates who are 

properly trained and supervised;  

2. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

an interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or  

3. Exploit the practitioner/patient practitioner and patient 

relationship for personal gain.  

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in 

behavior prohibited in subdivision A 2 of this section.  

18VAC85-20-90. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss.  

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 

II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.  

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 

Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 

or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 

conditions are met:  

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are 

performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 

pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 

and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 

indicated, including testing for thyroid function;  

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect 

cardiac function, the physician shall review the results of 

an electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 

days of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;  

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is 

prescribed and recorded;  

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 

initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss by the 

prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 

prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 

prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 

made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may 

be necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of 

drug therapy;  

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 

including the intervals for patient visits and the 

continuation of or any subsequent changes in 

pharmacotherapy. Continuation of prescribing for 

treatment of obesity shall occur only if the patient has 

continued progress toward achieving or maintaining a 

target weight and has no significant adverse effects from 

the prescribed program.  

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 

supervising or collaborating patient care team physician, a 

physician assistant or nurse practitioner may perform the 

physical examination, review tests, and prescribe Schedules 

III through VI controlled substances for treatment of obesity, 

as specified in subsection B of this section. 

18VAC85-20-121. Educational requirements: graduates of 

approved institutions.  

A. Such an applicant shall be a graduate of an institution that 

meets the criteria appropriate to the profession in which he 

seeks to be licensed, which are as follows:  
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1. For licensure in medicine. The institution shall be 

approved or accredited by the Liaison Committee on 

Medical Education or other official accrediting body 

recognized by the American Medical Association, or by 

the Committee for the Accreditation of Canadian Medical 

Schools or its appropriate subsidiary agencies or any other 

organization approved by the board.  

2. For licensure in osteopathic medicine. The institution 

shall be approved or accredited by the Bureau of 

Professional Education of the American Osteopathic 

Association Committee on Osteopathic College 

Accreditation or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

3. For licensure in podiatry. The institution shall be 

approved and recommended by the Council on Podiatric 

Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

B. Such an applicant for licensure in medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, or podiatry shall provide evidence of having 

completed 12 months of satisfactory postgraduate training as 

an intern or resident in one program or institution when such 

a program or institution is approved by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the board for internship and residency training.  

C. For licensure in chiropractic.  

1. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college 

prior to July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the American 

Chiropractic Association or the International Chiropractic 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board. 

2. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college on 

or after July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on 

Accreditation of the Council of Chiropractic Education or 

any other organization approved by the board.  

2. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college 

prior to July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the American 

Chiropractic Association or the International Chiropractic 

Association or any other organization approved by the 

board.  

18VAC85-20-122. Educational requirements: graduates 

and former students of institutions not approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board.  

A. A graduate of an institution not approved by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the board shall present 

documentary evidence that he:  

1. Was enrolled and physically in attendance at the 

institution's principal site for a minimum of two 

consecutive years and fulfilled at least half of the degree 

requirements while enrolled two consecutive academic 

years at the institution's principal site.  

2. Has received a degree from the institution. 

3. Has fulfilled the applicable requirements of § 54.1-2930 

of the Code of Virginia.  

3. 4. Has obtained a certificate from the Educational 

Council of Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG), or its 

equivalent. Proof of licensure by the board of another state 

or territory of the United States or a province of Canada 

may be accepted in lieu of ECFMG certification.  

4. 5. Has had supervised clinical training as a part of his 

curriculum in an approved hospital, institution, or school of 

medicine offering an approved residency program in the 

specialty area for the clinical training received or in a 

program acceptable to the board and deemed a 

substantially equivalent experience, if such training was 

received in the United States.  

5. 6. Has completed one year of satisfactory postgraduate 

training as an intern, resident, or clinical fellow. The one 

year shall include at least 12 months in one program or 

institution approved by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the board for internship or residency training or in a 

clinical fellowship acceptable to the board in the same or a 

related field. 

The board may substitute continuous full-time practice of 

five years or more with a limited professorial license in 

Virginia and one year of postgraduate training in a foreign 

country in lieu of one year of postgraduate training.  

6. Has received a degree from the institution.  

B. A former student who has completed all degree 

requirements except social services and postgraduate 

internship at a school not approved by an accrediting agency 

recognized by the board shall be considered for licensure 

provided that he:  

1. Has fulfilled the requirements of subdivisions A 1 and A 

3 through 5 A 6 of this section;  

2. Has qualified for and completed an appropriate 

supervised clinical training program as established by the 

American Medical Association; and  

3. Presents a document issued by the school certifying that 

he has met all the formal requirements of the institution for 

a degree except social services and postgraduate internship.  

Part IV  

Licensure: Examination Requirements  

18VAC85-20-140. Examinations, general. 

A. The Executive Director of the Board of Medicine or his 

designee shall review each application for licensure and in no 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2933 

case shall an applicant be licensed unless there is evidence 

that the applicant has passed an examination equivalent to the 

Virginia Board of Medicine examination required at the time 

he was examined and meets all requirements of Part III 

(18VAC85-20-120 et seq.) of this chapter. If the executive 

director or his designee is not fully satisfied that the applicant 

meets all applicable requirements of Part III of this chapter 

and this part, he the executive director or his designee shall 

refer the application to the Credentials Committee for a 

determination on licensure. 

B. A Doctor doctor of Medicine medicine or Osteopathic 

Medicine osteopathic medicine who has passed the 

examination of the National Board of Medical Examiners or 

of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners, 

Federation Licensing Examination, or the United States 

Medical Licensing Examination, or the examination of the 

Licensing Medical Council of Canada or other such 

examinations as prescribed in § 54.1-2913.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be accepted for licensure. 

C. A Doctor doctor of Podiatry podiatry who has passed the 

National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examination 

and has passed a clinical competence examination acceptable 

to the board may be accepted for licensure. 

D. A Doctor doctor of Chiropractic chiropractic who has 

met the requirements of one of the following may be accepted 

for licensure: 

1. An applicant who graduated after January 31, 1996, 

shall document successful completion of Parts I, II, III, and 

IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners 

examination (NBCE). 

2. An applicant who graduated from January 31, 1991, to 

January 31, 1996, shall document successful completion of 

Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners examination (NBCE). 

3. An applicant who graduated from July 1, 1965, to 

January 31, 1991, shall document successful completion of 

Parts I, II, and III of the NBCE, or Parts I and II of the 

NBCE and the Special Purpose Examination for 

Chiropractic (SPEC), and document evidence of licensure 

in another state for at least two years immediately 

preceding his application. 

4. An applicant who graduated prior to July 1, 1965, shall 

document successful completion of the SPEC, and 

document evidence of licensure in another state for at least 

two years immediately preceding his application. 

E. The following provisions shall apply for applicants taking 

Step 3 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination or 

the Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination: 1. Applicants 

for licensure in medicine and osteopathic medicine may be 

eligible to sit for Step 3 of the United States Medical 

Licensing Examination (USMLE) upon evidence of having 

passed Steps 1 and 2 of the United States Medical Licensing 

Examination (USMLE). 2. Applicants who sat for the United 

States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) or the 

Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensure Examination 

(COMLEX-USA) shall provide evidence of passing Steps 1, 

2, and 3 all steps within a 10-year period unless the applicant 

is board certified in a specialty approved by the American 

Board of Medical Specialties or the Bureau of Osteopathic 

Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association. 3. 

Applicants shall have completed the required training or be 

engaged in their final year of required postgraduate training. 

4. F. Applicants for licensure in podiatry shall provide 

evidence of having passed the National Board of Podiatric 

Medical Examiners Examination to be eligible to sit for the 

Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination (PMLEXIS) in 

Virginia. 

18VAC85-20-220. Temporary licenses to interns and 

residents.  

A. An intern or resident applying for a temporary license to 

practice in Virginia shall:  

1. Successfully complete the preliminary academic 

education required for admission to examinations given by 

the board in his particular field of practice, and submit a 

letter of confirmation from the registrar of the school or 

college conferring the professional degree, or official 

transcripts confirming the professional degree and date the 

degree was received.  

2. Submit a recommendation from the applicant's chief or 

director of graduate medical education of the approved 

internship or residency program specifying acceptance. 

The beginning and ending dates of the internship or 

residency shall be specified.  

3. Submit evidence of a standard Educational Commission 

for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG) certificate or its 

equivalent if the candidate graduated from a school not 

approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the 

board.  

B. The intern or resident license applies only to the practice 

in the hospital or outpatient clinics where the internship or 

residency is served. Outpatient clinics in a hospital or other 

facility must be a recognized part of an internship or 

residency program.  

C. The intern or resident license shall be renewed annually 

upon the recommendation of the chief or director of graduate 

medical education of the internship or residency program.  

A residency program transfer request shall be submitted to 

the board in lieu of a full application.  

D. The extent and scope of the duties and professional 

services rendered by the intern or resident shall be confined to 

persons who are bona fide patients within the hospital or who 
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receive treatment and advice in an outpatient department of 

the hospital or outpatient clinic where the internship or 

residency is served.  

E. The intern and resident shall be responsible and 

accountable at all times to a fully licensed member of the staff 

faculty where the internship or residency is served. The intern 

and resident is prohibited from employment outside of the 

graduate medical educational program where a full license is 

required.  

F. The intern or resident shall abide by the respective 

accrediting requirements of the internship or residency as 

approved by the Liaison Council on Graduate Education of 

the American Medical Association, American Osteopathic 

Association, American Podiatric Medical Association, or 

Council on Chiropractic Education.  

18VAC85-20-225. Registration for voluntary practice by 

out-of-state licenses.  

Any doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or 

chiropractic who does not hold a license to practice in 

Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under 

subdivision A 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a 

voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 

volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 

of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 

provided by the board at least five business days prior to 

engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will 

not be considered;  

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 

each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 

current license;  

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the 

dates, and the location of the voluntary provision of 

services;  

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and  

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of 

the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with 

provisions of subdivision A 27 of § 54.1-2901 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

18VAC85-20-235. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. In order to renew an active license biennially, a 

practitioner shall attest to completion of at least 60 hours of 

continuing learning activities within the two years 

immediately preceding renewal as follows:  

1. A minimum of 30 of the 60 hours shall be in Type 1 

activities or courses offered by an accredited sponsor or 

organization sanctioned by the profession.  

a. Type 1 hours in chiropractic shall be clinical hours that 

are approved by a college or university accredited by the 

Council on Chiropractic Education or any other 

organization approved by the board.  

b. Type 1 hours in podiatry shall be accredited by the 

American Podiatric Medical Association, the American 

Council of Certified Podiatric Physicians and Surgeons 

or any other organization approved by the board.  

2. No more than 30 of the 60 hours may be Type 2 

activities or courses, which may or may not be approved 

by an accredited sponsor or organization but which shall be 

chosen by the licensee to address such areas as ethics, 

standards of care, patient safety, new medical technology, 

and patient communication.  

a. Up to 15 of the Type 2 continuing education hours 

may be satisfied through delivery of services, without 

compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

services through a local health department or a free clinic 

organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health 

services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer 

services. For the purpose of continuing education credit 

for voluntary service, documentation by the health 

department or free clinic shall be acceptable.  

b. Type 2 hours may include teaching in a health care 

profession field. 

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing 

competency requirements for the first biennial renewal 

following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.  

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records all supporting 

documentation for a period of six years following the renewal 

of an active license.  

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners 

selected for the audit shall provide all supporting 

documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the 

audit.  

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject 

the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing competency requirements for up to one year for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date.  

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters.  

H. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for a licensee who: 
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1. Is practicing solely in an uncompensated position, 

provided his practice is under the direction of a physician 

fully licensed by the board; or 

2. Is practicing solely as a medical examiner, provided the 

licensee obtains six hours of medical examiner training per 

year provided by the Office of the Chief Medical 

Examiner. 

18VAC85-20-410. Requirements for low-risk, medium-

risk, or high-risk sterile mixing, diluting, or 

reconstituting. 

A. Any mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products 

that does not meet the criteria for immediate-use as set forth 

in 18VAC85-20-400 A shall be defined as low-risk, medium-

risk, or high-risk compounding under the definitions of 

Chapter 797 of the U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP). 

B. Until July 1, 2007, all low-, medium-, or high-risk 

mixing, diluting or reconstituting of sterile products shall 

comply with the standards for immediate-use mixing, diluting 

or reconstituting as specified in 18VAC85-20-400. Beginning 

July 1, 2007, doctors Doctors of medicine or osteopathic 

medicine who engage in low-risk, medium-risk, or high-risk 

mixing, diluting, or reconstituting of sterile products shall 

comply with all applicable requirements of the USP Chapter 

797. Subsequent changes to the USP Chapter 797 shall apply 

within one year of the official announcement by USP. 

C. A current copy, in any published format, of USP Chapter 

797 shall be maintained at the location where low-risk, 

medium-risk, or high-risk mixing, diluting, or reconstituting 

of sterile products is performed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5663; Filed July 1, 2019, 8:11 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 

Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-40-20, 18VAC90-40-55, 18VAC90-40-70, 

18VAC90-40-110; repealing 18VAC90-40-50, 18VAC90-

40-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 27, 2019 - 8:30 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Training Room 2, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 20, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Boards of Nursing and Medicine the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Section 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of Virginia provides 

requirements for prescription of certain controlled substances 

and devices by licensed nurse practitioners. 

Purpose: The purpose of the proposed regulatory action is to 

eliminate unnecessary regulations and costs for nurse 

practitioners. The Code of Virginia specifies certain 

requirements for prescriptive authority for nurse practitioners 

but does not require maintenance of a separate license, which 

is required by regulation. Therefore, the boards propose to 

retain the requirements for prescriptive authority and for 

continuing education, but eliminate the requirement to renew 

the license. Requirements for continuing competency and 

disclosure to patients in accordance with § 54.1-2957.1 will 

remain in effect to protect the health and safety of patients. 

Substance: This regulatory action eliminates the requirement 

for renewal of prescriptive authority for nurse practitioners 

and reduces the fee for an application for prescriptive from 

$75 to $35. Requirements for continuing competency and 

disclosure to patients remain in effect, as mandated by the 

Code of Virginia. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public. The amendments will benefit nurse practitioners and 

make their practice less costly. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. The loss 

of revenue can be absorbed in the budget of the Board of 

Nursing without necessitating any increase in fees. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine (Boards) propose to 

eliminate the requirement for renewal of prescriptive 

authority for a nurse practitioner and reduce the fee for initial 

application for prescriptive authority from $75 to $35. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation includes 

a $35 biennial fee for renewal of prescriptive authority for 

nurse practitioners. The proposal to eliminate the requirement 

for renewal of prescriptive authority would save nurse 

practitioners $35 every other year, as well as the time 

associated with applying for renewal. The Boards do not 

believe eliminating this requirement would affect health and 

safety.  

The Boards' proposal to reduce the fee for initial application 

for prescriptive authority from $75 to $35 would save nurse 

practitioners $40 when they first apply for the authority. The 

proposed reduction of the fee for initial application for 
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prescriptive authority, and the proposed elimination of the 

requirement for renewal of prescriptive authority, would both 

reduce revenue received by the Board of Nursing (Board). 

According to the Department of Health Professions, the 

Board would continue to have sufficient resources with the 

reduction of revenue. Given the benefits for nurse 

practitioners and lack of impact on health and safety and the 

Board's ability to operate, both proposals should produce net 

benefits. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 7,417 licensed nurse practitioners with prescriptive 

authority, as well as future applicants for nurse practitioners 

prescriptive authority 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine concur with the analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments eliminate the requirement for 

renewal of prescriptive authority for a nurse practitioner 

and reduce the fee for an application for prescriptive 

authority to $35.  

18VAC90-40-20. Authority and administration of 

regulations. 

A. The statutory authority for this chapter is found in 

§§ 54.1-2957.01, 54.1-3303, 54.1-3401, and 54.1-3408 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Joint boards of nursing and medicine. 

1. The Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine shall be appointed to administer this chapter 

governing prescriptive authority. 

2. The boards hereby delegate to the Executive Director of 

the Virginia Board of Nursing the authority to issue the 

initial authorization and biennial renewal to those persons 

who meet the requirements set forth in this chapter and to 

grant extensions or exemptions for compliance with 

continuing competency requirements as set forth in 

subsection E of 18VAC90-40-55. Questions of eligibility 

shall be referred to the committee. 

3. All records and files related to prescriptive authority for 

nurse practitioners shall be maintained in the office of the 

Board of Nursing. 

18VAC90-40-50. Renewal of prescriptive authority. 

(Repealed.)  

An applicant for renewal of prescriptive authority shall:  

1. Renew biennially at the same time as the renewal of 

licensure to practice as a nurse practitioner in Virginia.  

2. Submit a completed renewal form attesting to 

compliance with continuing competency requirements set 

forth in 18VAC90-40-55 and the renewal fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC90-40-70.  

18VAC90-40-55. Continuing competency requirements. 

A. In order to renew prescriptive authority, a A licensee with 

prescriptive authority shall meet continuing competency 

requirements for biennial renewal as a licensed nurse 

practitioner. Such requirements shall address issues such as 

ethical practice, an appropriate standard of care, patient 

safety, and appropriate communication with patients. 

B. A nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority shall 

obtain a total of eight hours of continuing education in 

pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics for each biennium in 

addition to the minimal requirements for compliance with 

subsection B of 18VAC90-30-105. 

C. The nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority shall 

retain evidence of compliance and all supporting 

documentation for a period of four years following the 

renewal period for which the records apply. 
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D. The boards shall periodically conduct a random audit of 

its their licensees to determine compliance. The nurse 

practitioners selected for the audit shall provide the evidence 

of compliance and supporting documentation within 30 days 

of receiving notification of the audit. 

E. The boards may delegate to the committee the authority 

to grant an extension or an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

18VAC90-40-60. Reinstatement of prescriptive authority. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A nurse practitioner whose prescriptive authority has 

lapsed may reinstate within one renewal period by payment of 

the current renewal fee and the late renewal fee.  

B. A nurse practitioner who is applying for reinstatement of 

lapsed prescriptive authority after one renewal period shall:  

1. File the required application;  

2. Provide evidence of a current, unrestricted license to 

practice as a nurse practitioner in Virginia;  

3. Pay the fee required for reinstatement of a lapsed 

authorization as prescribed in 18VAC90-40-70; and  

4. If the authorization has lapsed for a period of two or 

more years, the applicant shall provide proof of:  

a. Continued practice as a licensed nurse practitioner 

with prescriptive authority in another state; or  

b. Continuing education, in addition to the minimal 

requirements for current professional certification, 

consisting of four contact hours in pharmacology or 

pharmacotherapeutics for each year in which the 

prescriptive authority has been lapsed in the 

Commonwealth, not to exceed a total of 16 hours.  

C. An applicant for reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

authorization shall:  

1. Petition for reinstatement and pay the fee for 

reinstatement of a suspended or revoked authorization as 

prescribed in 18VAC90-40-70;  

2. Present evidence of competence to resume practice as a 

nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority; and 

3. Meet the qualifications and resubmit the application 

required for initial authorization in 18VAC90-40-40.  

18VAC90-40-70. Fees for prescriptive authority. 

A. The following fees have been established by the boards:  

1. Initial issuance of prescriptive 

authority 

$75 $35 

2. Biennial renewal $35 

3. Late renewal $15 

4. Reinstatement of lapsed authorization $90 

5. Reinstatement of suspended or 

revoked authorization 

$85  

6. Duplicate of authorization $15 

7. 2. Return check charge $35 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

  Biennial renewal $26 

18VAC90-40-110. Disclosure.  

A. The nurse practitioner shall include on each prescription 

written issued or dispensed his signature and the Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) number, when 

applicable. If his the nurse practitioner's practice agreement 

authorizes prescribing of only Schedule VI drugs and the 

nurse practitioner does not have a DEA number, he shall 

include the prescriptive authority number as issued by the 

boards. 

B. The nurse practitioner shall disclose to patients at the 

initial encounter that he is a licensed nurse practitioner. Such 

disclosure may be included on a prescription pad or may be 

given in writing to the patient.  

C. The nurse practitioner shall disclose, upon request of a 

patient or a patient's legal representative, the name of the 

patient care team physician and information regarding how to 

contact the patient care team physician.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5352; Filed June 27, 2019, 11:57 a.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-49). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

50). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3503, and 54.1-3506 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 16, 2019 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23233. 
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Public Comment Deadline: September 20, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the authority of 

§ 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Counseling the 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system. Specific authority for regulation of the 

profession of counseling is found in § 54.1-3503 of the Code 

of Virginia, which requires that the Board of Counseling 

regulate the practice of counseling, substance abuse 

treatment, and marriage and family therapy and in § 54.1-

3506, which provides that in order to engage in the practice of 

counseling or marriage and family therapy or in the 

independent practice of substance abuse treatment, as defined 

in the statute, it is necessary to hold a license. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action will allow persons 

who graduated from foreign educational programs in 

counseling to qualify for licensure by providing 

documentation from a credentialing service of the 

equivalency of the foreign education and experience to that 

required of applicants who trained in the United States. To the 

extent some applicants may be able to qualify for licensure, 

the public may benefit from an increased supply of mental 

health providers. Such credentialing services already evaluate 

the qualifications of other health and mental health providers, 

so there is assurance of minimal competency to practice 

counseling safely for the health and welfare of clients. 

Substance: 18VAC115-20-49 sets out the degree program 

requirements for licensure as a professional counselor, with 

which graduates of foreign programs cannot comply. 

18VAC115-20-51 sets out the coursework requirements that 

must be met.  Foreign-trained graduates find it very difficult 

to meet those requirements because board staff does not have 

adequate information to review credentials from a foreign 

country. Consequently, the amendment would add language 

similar to psychology regulations, which provide that 

graduates of programs that are not within the United States or 

Canada can qualify for licensure if the graduates can provide 

documentation from an acceptable credential evaluation 

service that allows the board to determine if the program 

meets the requirements set forth in the regulation. 

There are similar provisions in 18VAC115-50-50 for 

marriage and family therapists and in 18VAC115-60-60 for 

substance abuse treatment practitioners. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

public; the amendments will benefit a small number of 

applicants who are now unable to be initially licensed in 

Virginia. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth, other than the amendment may facilitate 

licensure for a small number of counselors who can provide 

mental health services in the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to establish a pathway 

for individuals who graduated from foreign schools to obtain 

licensure as a professional counselor, marriage and family 

therapist, or a substance abuse treatment practitioner. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Currently, this regulation 

requires graduation from a college or university accredited by 

a regional accrediting agency. Since degree programs in 

foreign countries are not regionally accredited, there is no 

pathway in Virginia for individuals with degrees from 

countries other than the United States or Canada to be 

initially licensed as a professional counselor, marriage and 

family therapist, or a substance abuse treatment practitioner.1 

The Board proposes to allow foreign graduates to obtain 

licensure if they can provide documentation from an 

acceptable credential evaluation service that provides 

information to enable the Board to determine equivalency of 

the foreign program. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Board accepts credentialing 

evaluations from more than one source. Such credentialing 

services already evaluate the qualifications of other health 

and mental health providers such as psychology. Psychology 

foreign graduates can get an evaluation for a fee of $85, 

which includes an analysis, equivalency, certification, 

notarization, and mailing to one address. For a fee of $149, a 

more detailed (e.g., course-by-course analysis, credit, GPA 

calculation, and courses studied in addition to the basic 

evaluation) is also offered. DHP believes the Board may find 

it necessary to require the more detailed evaluation and 

expects no more than 10 to 20 foreign-trained graduates to 

apply per year. 

The proposed amendments would benefit foreign-trained 

graduates who have an equivalent degree to those in the 

United States. This new pathway has the potential to add to 

the supply of professional counselors, marriage and family 

therapists, or substance abuse treatment practitioners. For a 

fee of $149, qualifying individuals would be able to obtain a 

license to practice as a professional mental health provider. In 

addition, this change would add slightly to the demand for 

services of the credential evaluation service businesses. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DHP expects no more than 

10 to 20 foreign-trained graduates per year to apply under the 

proposed pathway to licensure. According to DHP, there are 

several credential evaluation service providers, all of which 

are likely small businesses. 
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Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would have a positive impact on the supply and employment 

of professional health care providers and demand for 

credential evaluation services. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments should have a positive but likely small 

impact on the asset values of credential evaluation services. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

not impose costs on small businesses. However, small 

businesses that hire affected professions would benefit from 

increased supply of such professionals. The expected impact 

on demand for credential evaluation services is also positive. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

The proposed amendments would not impose adverse impacts 

on small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not impose 

adverse impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not adversely 

affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not 

adversely affect other entities.  

______________________ 
1If a foreign graduate is initially licensed in another state and has at least 24 

out of the past 60 months of active clinical practice without discipline, he or 
she may qualify for licensure by endorsement in Virginia. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments provide a pathway for a 

foreign-trained graduate in counseling to obtain licensure 

as a professional counselor, a marriage and family 

therapist, or a substance abuse treatment practitioner in 

the Commonwealth. The proposed amendments provide 

that graduates of programs that are not within the United 

States or Canada can qualify for licensure if the graduates 

can provide documentation from an acceptable credential 

evaluation service that allows the board to determine if the 

program meets the requirements set forth in the regulation. 

18VAC115-20-49. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

counseling, as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia, 

which is offered by a college or university accredited by a 

regional accrediting agency, and which meets the following 

criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 

and an identifiable body of students who complete that 

sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP or CORE are 

recognized as meeting the requirements of subsection A of 

this section.  

C. Graduates of programs that are not within the United 

States or Canada shall provide documentation from an 

acceptable credential evaluation service that provides 

information that allows the board to determine if the program 

meets the requirements set forth in this chapter. 

18VAC115-50-50. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice marriage 

and family therapy as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of 

Virginia from a college or university which that is accredited 

by a regional accrediting agency and which that meets the 

following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare students to practice marriage 

and family therapy as documented by the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable marriage and family 

therapy training faculty and an identifiable body of 

students who complete that sequence of academic study; 

and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP as programs in 

marriage and family counseling/therapy counseling or therapy 

or by COAMFTE are recognized as meeting the requirements 

of subsection A of this section. 

C. Graduates of programs that are not within the United 

States or Canada shall provide documentation from an 
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acceptable credential evaluation service that provides 

information that allows the board to determine if the program 

meets the requirements set forth in this chapter. 

18VAC115-60-60. Degree program requirements.  

A. The applicant shall have completed a graduate degree 

from a program that prepares individuals to practice 

substance abuse treatment or a related counseling discipline 

as defined in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia from a 

college or university accredited by a regional accrediting 

agency that meets the following criteria:  

1. There must be a sequence of academic study with the 

expressed intent to prepare counselors as documented by 

the institution;  

2. There must be an identifiable counselor training faculty 

and an identifiable body of students who complete that 

sequence of academic study; and  

3. The academic unit must have clear authority and 

primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas.  

B. Programs that are approved by CACREP as programs in 

addictions counseling are recognized as meeting the 

requirements of subsection A of this section. 

C. Graduates of programs that are not within the United 

States or Canada shall provide documentation from an 

acceptable credential evaluation service that provides 

information that allows the board to determine if the program 

meets the requirements set forth in this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5643; Filed July 1, 2019, 8:09 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 

18VAC115-50-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3506 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 6, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Specific authority for regulation of the profession of 

counseling is found in §§ 54.1-3503 and 54.1-3506 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action will allow persons 

who have obtained a doctoral degree in counseling to become 

licensed with a smaller number of postgraduate hours in a 

supervised residency. The proposal accelerates the licensure 

process for those candidates and allows them to provide 

counseling services in independent practice more quickly. 

Since the practicum and internship hours are within a 

Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 

Education (COAMFTE) or Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) 

program and under the supervision of credentialed faculty, the 

board is assured of appropriate oversight to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: In 

response to a petition for rulemaking, the board has adopted 

the amendment by fast-track rulemaking process because a 

similar change at the final stage of adoption requested for 

persons in residencies for professional counseling was fully 

supported by public comment. 

Substance: An amendment to section 18VAC115-50-60 

allows the acceptance of supervised internship or practicum 

hours of up to 900 direct or indirect hours and up to 100 

supervision hours to residency requirements if (i) the hours 

are obtained in a COAMFTE or CACREP accredited doctoral 

program and (ii) the supervisor has an active professional 

counselor license. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment to the 

public is the ability of a supervisee with a doctoral degree to 

qualify for licensure with fewer hours in a residency. There 

are no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a 2017 petition for rulemaking,1 the Board of 

Counseling (Board) proposes to accept supervised practicum 

and internship hours in a Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Education (COAMFTE) or Council for 

Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 

Programs (CACREP) accredited doctoral program to count as 

required hours for a residency in marriage and family therapy. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. An individual must complete a 

total of 3,400 hours in a supervised residency prior to 

becoming licensed as a professional marriage and family 

therapist. The residency must include a minimum of 200 

hours of in-person supervision between the supervisor and the 
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resident in the consultation and review of marriage and family 

therapy services provided by the resident. 

The Board proposes to amend 18VAC115-50 to allow up to 

900 hours of the residency requirement and up to 100 of the 

required hours of in-person supervision to be satisfied by 

supervised practicum and internship hours in a COAMFTE or 
CACREP-accredited doctoral marriage and family therapy 

program. Assuming a workweek is 40 hours, the Board's 

proposal to accept up to 900 hours for the residency requirement 

could allow the fulfillment of the residency requirement to be 

completed by up to 22.5 weeks sooner.2 This would be beneficial 

for individuals who have obtained such supervised practicum and 

internship hours in a COAMFTE or CACREP-accredited 

doctoral counseling program in that they may start practicing as a 

fully licensed professional marriage and family therapist sooner, 

and commensurately earn greater income. Given that the Board 

does not believe this proposal would permit unqualified 

individuals to become licensed, the proposal likely produces a 

net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. There are one COAMFTE 

and four CACREP-accredited doctoral programs in the 

Commonwealth. However, currently only one of them 

(Virginia Tech) has a focus on marriage and family therapy. 

Students at that institution would also be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not significantly affect total employment. The proposals 

would allow some individuals to become employed as a fully 

licensed marriage and family therapist sooner. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual 

sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=286 

2900/40 = 22.5 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendment recognizes hours acquired in an internship 

or practicum in doctoral programs accredited by 

Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 

Education or Council for Accreditation of Counseling and 

Related Educational Programs as meeting a portion of the 

hours of supervised residency required for licensure. 

18VAC115-50-60. Residency requirements. 

A. Registration. Applicants who render marriage and family 

therapy services shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision;  

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as specified in 18VAC115-50-50 to 

include completion of the coursework and internship 

requirement specified in 18VAC115-50-55; and  

3. Pay the registration fee.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant shall have completed no fewer than 3,400 

hours of supervised residency in the role of a marriage and 

family therapist, to include 200 hours of in-person 

supervision with the supervisor in the consultation and 

review of marriage and family services provided by the 

resident. For the purpose of meeting the 200 hours of 

supervision required for a residency, in-person may also 

include the use of technology that maintains client 

confidentiality and provides real-time, visual contact 

between the supervisor and the resident. At least one-half 

of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist. 

a. Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 

maximum of four hours of supervision for every 40 hours 

of supervised work experience.  

b. No more than 100 hours of the supervision may be 

acquired through group supervision, with the group 

consisting of no more than six residents. One hour of 

group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour 

of individual supervision.  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=286
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c. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed marriage and family therapist or a 

licensed professional counselor.  

2. The residency shall include documentation of at least 

2,000 hours in clinical marriage and family services of 

which 1,000 hours shall be face-to-face client contact with 

couples or families or both. The remaining hours may be 

spent in the performance of ancillary counseling services. 

For applicants who hold current, unrestricted licensure as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical 

social worker, the remaining hours may be waived. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 

set forth in 18VAC115-50-55.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 

master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 

discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50.  

5. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency.  

6. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a 

COAMFTE-accredited or a CACREP-accredited doctoral 

program in marriage and family therapy or counseling may 

be accepted for up to 900 hours of the residency 

requirement and up to 100 of the required hours of 

supervision provided the supervisor holds a current, 

unrestricted license as a marriage and family therapist or 

professional counselor.  

6. 7. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability which limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

7. 8. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and 

family therapists, directly bill for services rendered, or in 

any way represent themselves as marriage and family 

therapists. During the residency, they residents may use 

their names, the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy." Clients shall 

be informed in writing of the resident's status, along with 

the name, address, and telephone number of the resident's 

supervisor.  

8. 9. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they do not have 

appropriate education.  

9. 10. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four years. Residents who began a 

residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 

residency by August 24, 2020. An individual who does not 

complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. 

10. 11. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another United States jurisdiction and that meet 

the requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy 

shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 

family therapist or professional counselor in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 

therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. At least one-

half of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist. Supervisors who 

are clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, or 

psychiatrists and have been approved to provide 

supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 2017.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 

evaluate the applicant's competency to the board.  

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 

resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 

objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.  

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-50-10 and shall assume full responsibility for 

the clinical activities of residents as specified within the 

supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-17; Filed July 1, 2019, 8:10 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 21VAC5-20. Broker-Dealers, 

Broker-Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer (amending 

21VAC5-20-280). 
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21VAC5-30. Securities Registration (amending 21VAC5-

30-80). 

21VAC5-45. Federal Covered Securities (amending 

21VAC5-45-20). 

21VAC5-80. Investment Advisors (amending 21VAC5-80-

10, 21VAC5-80-160, 21VAC5-80-200; adding 21VAC5-80-

260).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: Public hearing available upon 

request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Hazel Stewart, Manager, Securities Retail 

Franchising, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 

9th Floor, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-9685, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 

hazel.stewart@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments to 21VAC5-20 (i) allow broker-

dealers to delay or refuse transactions and disbursements 

of funds from the accounts of vulnerable adults where the 

financial institution suspects financial exploitation and (ii) 

update three documents incorporated by reference that 

pertain to continuing education adopted by federal self-

regulatory organizations.  

The proposed amendments to 21VAC5-30 (i) update a 

number of the statements of policy that apply to the 

registration of securities, including underwriting expenses, 

unsound financial condition, corporate securities 

definitions, and loans and other material transactions and 

(iii) incorporate by reference all statements of policy 

previously adopted by the State Corporation Commission.  

The proposed amendments to 21VAC5-45 remove the date 

of adoption of Form D, which is the filing form for notices 

under federal Rule 506 of Regulation D.  

The proposed amendments to 21VAC5-80 (i) allow 

investment advisors to delay or refuse to place orders or 

disburse funds that may involve or result in financial 

exploitation of an individual; (ii) prohibit mandatory 

arbitration clauses in investment advisory contracts; (iii) 

based on the North American Securities Administrators 

Association May 18, 2019 Model Rule, add a new section 

that establishes the minimum policies and procedures to 

protect client information and privacy, including both 

physical and cybersecurity measures; (iv) add these 

information and cybersecurity policy and procedures to the 

list of required documents to be filed by investment advisor 

applicants and to the list of required records for 

investment advisors; (v) conform the regulation to the new 

model rule and remove the reference to the Securities and 

Exchange Commission and self-regulatory organizations; 

and (vi) make it a dishonest or unethical practice for an 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative to 

fail to report unauthorized access to a client's information 

to the commission and client within three business days of 

discovery.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 27, 2019 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2019-00024 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction. Section 13.1-523 of the Virginia Securities Act 

("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of the Act. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 

Commission’s website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

Proposed Revision to Chapter 20. Broker-Dealers, Broker-

Dealer Agents and Agents of the Issuer. Prohibited Business 

Conduct 

Under certain provisions of Chapter 20, a broker-dealer is 

required to make securities trades and disburse funds from 

customer accounts within a prescribed period of time. The 

proposed amendment to Chapter 20 provides for an exception 

to these provisions to allow broker-dealers to protect 

vulnerable customers from potential financial exploitation by 

permitting the broker-dealer to delay or refuse such 

transactions and disbursements. 

Financial exploitation is the fastest growing category of 

elder abuse in many states. It is estimated that one in every 

five older adults have been victimized by financial fraud. 

These frauds can be perpetrated by strangers, con artists, or 

even family members and caregivers in whom these adults 

place their trust. During the 2019 General Assembly, the 

legislature addressed the growing issue of financial 

exploitation of vulnerable adults by passing a new subsection 

L to § 63.2-1606 of the Code for the Protection of Aged or 

Incapacitated Adults. 

This new subsection allows financial institutions to delay 

transactions and refuse disbursements from the accounts of 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case


Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2944 

vulnerable adults where the financial institution suspects 

financial exploitation. With this new subsection a broker-

dealer’s staff can report any information or records to the 

appropriate authorities if the staff has a good faith belief that 

the transaction or disbursement may involve financial 

exploitation of such adults. If the broker-dealer staff follows 

the requirements of the new subsection, they will be immune 

from civil or criminal liability, absent gross negligence or 

willful misconduct.  

To effectuate the new statute subsection, the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") proposes to 

add a subsection E to Commission Rule 21 VAC 5-20-280. 

The new subsection would allow a broker-dealer to delay 

distributions or refuse transactions if the broker-dealer 

complies with § 63.2-1606 L of the Code. 

In addition, Documents Incorporated by Reference in 

Chapter 21 VAC 5-20-280 contain revisions to certain rules 

pertaining to continuing education adopted by federal self-

regulatory organizations, including rule revisions for: (1) one 

revised effective October 1, 2018, by the Financial Industry 

Regulatory Authority ("FINRA"); (2) one revised effective 

October 1, 2018. by the New York Stock Exchange 

(superseded by new FINRA rule); and (3) one revised by the 

Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board. 

Proposed Revision to Chapter 80. Investment Advisors. 

A. Dishonest or Unethical Practices. 

I. Proposed New Subsection E. Just as with the broker-

dealers, the new legislation protecting vulnerable adults from 

financial exploitation, the Division proposes that new 

§ 63.2-1606 L of the Code apply to the practices of 

investment advisors. Investment advisors are charged with 

acting in the best interests of their clients and should do all 

they can to protect them from financial exploitation. The 

Division proposes to add a subsection under the Dishonest or 

Unethical Practices of Chapter 80 to the provide investment 

advisors the same relief under § 63.2-1606 L of the Code as 

the Division proposes for broker-dealers. 

II. Proposed New Subsection F. Over twenty years ago, 

investors had a choice of investing with a firm that required 

arbitration or one that recognized a judicial forum for 

disputes. Today, almost all financial services contracts 

offered by broker-dealers includes a mandatory predispute 

arbitration provision that forces public investors to submit all 

disputes that they may have to mandatory arbitration. Many 

investors are not aware of this provision, nor do they have a 

choice, as all disputes are conducted through a single 

securities arbitration forum maintained by the securities 

industry. 

In 1996, the United States ("U.S.") Congress ("Congress") 

passed legislation entitled the National Securities Markets 

Improvement Act ("NSMIA").1 NSMIA effectively divided 

the regulation of investment advisors between the U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC") and the states. 

In general, primary jurisdiction of investment advisors 

(known as state-covered advisors) with less than $100 million 

in assets under management fall under state regulation.  

However, the state-covered investment advisors are now 

including boilerplate mandatory arbitration provisions in their 

clients' contracts. The Division believes, as do many other 

states, that these "take-it-or-leave-it" clauses in client 

contracts is inherently unfair to investors. It is particularly 

unfair when an investment advisor is required by law to act in 

the best interests of their clients. An investment advisor 

should not be allowed to force clients to bring any disputes to 

a forum of the investment advisor's choosing by contract. 

Therefore, the Division proposes to add a new subsection F 

to the Dishonest or Unethical Practices section of Chapter 80 

to prohibit mandatory arbitration clauses in investment 

advisory contracts. There is nothing to prevent the investment 

advisor and their client from agreeing to arbitrated disputes 

after negotiation and discussion between each. To require 

mandatory arbitration in standard investment advisor 

contracts is contrary to the investment advisors mandate to act 

in the best interest of their clients. 

B. Proposed Investment Advisor Information Security and 

Privacy Rule.  

In recent years, both state and federal regulators have been 

concerned about data privacy and security in the financial 

markets. By a vote of its members on May 18, 2019, the 

North American Securities Administrators Association 

("NASAA"),2 adopted a model rule to address the basic 

structure for how state-registered investment advisors may 

design their information security policies and procedures. The 

new Model Rule requires investment advisors to adopt 

policies and procedures regarding information security and to 

deliver its privacy policy annually to clients. The Model Rule 

was adopted to create uniformity in both state regulation and 

state-registered investment advisors. 

I. Proposed New Section 260. Information Security and 

Privacy. This new section will be added to the rules for 

investment advisors to establish the minimum policies and 

procedures to protect client information and provide 

information privacy. The current Commission rules require 

the delivery of the investment advisor's privacy policy on a 

yearly basis, but the proposed new rule would further refine 

that requirement. In addition, the model rule adds the new 

requirements for client information security. 

II. Proposed Amendments to Section 10. Application for 

Registration as an Investment Advisor and Notice Filing as a 

Federal Covered Advisor. The proposed amendments add the 

information and cyber security policy and procedures to the 

list of required documents to be filed by investment advisor 

applicants. In addition, the proposed amendment requires the 
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investment advisor to file a copy of their privacy policy, as 

required for the proposed new rule. 

III. Proposed Amendment to Section 160 A. Recordkeeping 

Requirements for Investment Advisors. Under section 160, 

investment advisors are required to keep certain records. 

These records are used by the Division staff to determine 

compliance with the securities laws and regulations. This 

amendment will add a new subsection 25 which will add the 

requirement that investment advisors keep a copy of the 

policies and procedures required by the proposed new section 

260. 

IV. Proposed Amendments to Section 200. Dishonest or 

Unethical Practices 

(a) Prohibited conduct regarding privacy of information. 

Currently, subsection 14 of 200 A requires investment 

advisors to protect their client’s information and makes it a 

violation for the investment advisor to fail to comply with any 

applicable privacy provision or standard promulgated by the 

SEC or any self-regulatory organization approved by the 

SEC. Now that the NASAA membership has adopted similar 

requirements in the Model Rule, the Division proposes to 

amend this section to conform it to the new Model Rule. The 

proposed amendment removes the reference to the SEC and 

self-regulatory organizations since the state-covered advisors 

will be governed by the new section 260, if adopted. 

(b) Prohibited conduct regarding an investment advisor's 

failure to report an unauthorized access of a client's 

information to the Division and the client. The consequences 

of unauthorized access to a client's information could be 

devastating to the client. To address that, the Division 

proposes a new subsection G to section 200. The proposed 

new subsection makes it a dishonest or unethical practice for 

an investment advisor or investment advisor representative to 

fail to report such unauthorized access to the Division and the 

client within three business days of discovery. If properly 

reported, the Division can work with the investment advisor 

and investment advisor representative to take the appropriate 

measures to limit the damage and prevent further 

unauthorized access. 

Proposed Revision to Chapter 30. Adoption of NASAA. 

Statements of Policy. 

The Division is a member of NASAA, the association of 

state securities regulatory agencies. As a part of its mission to 

provide a uniform approach to the state regulation of 

securities, the Division, along with the member states, 

develops and adopts statements of policy that apply to the 

registration of securities. From time-to-time, NASAA amends 

these statements of policy to keep them current and address 

changes in the types of products offered by industry 

members, as well the changing norms for the standards that 

will apply to those registrations. 

The proposed amendment updates a number of these 

statements of policy, including (1) underwriting expenses; (2) 

unsound financial condition; (3) corporate securities 

definitions; and (4) loans and other material transactions. 

NASAA vetted the proposed amendments by providing 

public notice and opportunity to comment. Following the 

expiration of the comment period, the revisions were adopted 

in May of 2018 by a vote of the NASAA members. 

In addition, Documents Incorporated by Reference in 

Chapter 21 VAC5-30, will be updated to include all 

Statements of Policy previously adopted by the Commission 

in Section 8. 

Proposed Revisions to Chapter 45. Offerings conducted 

pursuant to Rule 506 of Regulation D (17 CFR 230.506): 

Filing Requirements and issuer-agent exemption. 

Many securities offerings today are made through a federal 

exemption known as Rule 506, which allows an issuer of 

securities who meets the requirements of the exemption to 

offer and sell securities in every state without registration. As 

a part of the adoption of this federal regulation, Congress 

provided a means for states to monitor these offerings in their 

state by allowing the states to accept notice filings made 

under the federal regulation. 

To make such notices uniform among the states, the 

Division adopted this rule to provide for the notice filing 

through the use of the filing form developed by the SEC, 

known as Form D.  Over the years since Form D was 

adopted, the SEC has amended the form.  In order to make it 

easier to keep up with the changes to Form D, and to allow 

the securities industry to use the appropriate form, the 

Division proposes to drop the date of adoption of Form D 

from the body of the regulation and instead update its form 

list (attached hereto to this Order), as necessary. 

The Division recommended to the Commission that the 

proposed revisions should be considered for adoption. The 

Division also has recommended to the Commission that a 

hearing should be held only if requested by those interested 

parties who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary 

and the reasons therefore. 

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 

interested parties from the Division by telephone, mail, or e-

mail request and also can be found at the Division's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/srf. Any comments to 

the proposed rules must be received by August 9, 2019.  

Accordingly, IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and made a 

part of the record herein. 

(2) On or before August 9, 2019, comments or request for 

hearing on the proposed revisions must be submitted in 

writing to Joel H. Peck, Clerk of the Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/srf


Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2946 

Virginia 23218. A request for hearing shall state why a 

hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be adequately 

addressed in written comments. All correspondence shall 

contain reference to Case No. SEC-2019-00024. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions available at the Commission's 

website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 

Commission's website at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case 

and on the Division’s website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Interested persons also may 

request a copy of the proposed revisions from the Division by 

telephone, mail or e-mail. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF, together with a copy of 

the proposed revisions, shall be sent to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

AN ATTESTED COPY HEREOF shall be sent to the 

Director of the Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 

who shall forthwith mail a copy of this Order to any 

interested persons as he may designate. 

_________________________________ 

1Pub.L. No. 104-290, 110 Stat. 3415 (codified through various parts of 
15 USC 2006). 

2NASAA is the membership organization of state securities regulators. 

21VAC5-20-280. Prohibited business conduct. 

A. Every broker-dealer is required to observe high standards 

of commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade 

in the conduct of its business. The acts and practices 

described in this subsection are considered contrary to such 

standards and may constitute grounds for denial, suspension, 

or revocation of registration or such other action authorized 

by the Act. No broker-dealer who is registered or required to 

be registered shall: 

1. Engage in a pattern of unreasonable and unjustifiable 

delays in the delivery of securities purchased by any of its 

customers or in the payment upon request of free credit 

balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its 

customers, or take any action that directly or indirectly 

interferes with a customer's ability to transfer his account; 

provided that the account is not subject to any lien for 

moneys owed by the customer or other bona fide claim, 

including, but not limited to, seeking a judicial order or 

decree that would bar or restrict the submission, delivery or 

acceptance of a written request from a customer to transfer 

his account; 

2. Induce trading in a customer's account which is 

excessive in size or frequency in view of the financial 

resources and character of the account; 

3. Recommend to a customer the purchase, sale or 

exchange of any security without reasonable grounds to 

believe that the recommendation is suitable for the 

customer. The reasonable basis to recommend any such 

transaction to a customer shall be based upon the risks 

associated with a particular security, and the information 

obtained through the diligence and inquiry of the broker-

dealer to ascertain the customer's investment profile. A 

customer's investment profile includes, but is not limited 

to, the customer's investment objectives, financial 

situation, risk tolerance and needs, tax status, age, other 

investments, investment experience, investment time 

horizon, liquidity needs, and any other relevant 

information known by the broker-dealer or of which the 

broker-dealer is otherwise made aware in connection with 

such recommendation; 

4. Execute a transaction on behalf of a customer without 

authority to do so or, when securities are held in a 

customer's account, fail to execute a sell transaction 

involving those securities as instructed by a customer, 

without reasonable cause; 

5. Exercise any discretionary power in effecting a 

transaction for a customer's account without first obtaining 

written discretionary authority from the customer, unless 

the discretionary power relates solely to the time or price 

for the execution of orders; 

6. Execute any transaction in a margin account without 

securing from the customer a properly executed written 

margin agreement promptly after the initial transaction in 

the account, or fail, prior to or at the opening of a margin 

account, to disclose to a noninstitutional customer the 

operation of a margin account and the risks associated with 

trading on margin at least as comprehensively as required 

by FINRA Rule 2264; 

7. Fail to segregate customers' free securities or securities 

held in safekeeping; 

8. Hypothecate a customer's securities without having a 

lien thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from the 

customer a properly executed written consent promptly 

after the initial transaction, except as permitted by Rules of 

the SEC; 

9. Enter into a transaction with or for a customer at a price 

not reasonably related to the current market price of a 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or 

profit; 

10. Fail to furnish to a customer purchasing securities in an 

offering, no later than the date of confirmation of the 

transaction, either a final prospectus or a preliminary 

prospectus and an additional document, which together 

include all information set forth in the final prospectus, 

either by (i) hard copy prospectus delivery or (ii) electronic 

prospectus delivery; 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf
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11. Introduce customer transactions on a "fully disclosed" 

basis to another broker-dealer that is not exempt under 

§ 13.1-514 B 6 of the Act; 

12. a. Charge unreasonable and inequitable fees for 

services performed, including miscellaneous services such 

as collection of moneys due for principal, dividends or 

interest, exchange or transfer of securities, appraisals, 

safekeeping, or custody of securities and other services 

related to its securities business; 

b. Charge a fee based on the activity, value or contents 

(or lack thereof) of a customer account unless written 

disclosure pertaining to the fee, which shall include 

information about the amount of the fee, how imposition 

of the fee can be avoided and any consequence of late 

payment or nonpayment of the fee, was provided no later 

than the date the account was established or, with respect 

to an existing account, at least 60 days prior to the 

effective date of the fee; 

13. Offer to buy from or sell to any person any security at a 

stated price unless the broker-dealer is prepared to 

purchase or sell at the price and under such conditions as 

are stated at the time of the offer to buy or sell; 

14. Represent that a security is being offered to a customer 

"at a market" or a price relevant to the market price unless 

the broker-dealer knows or has reasonable grounds to 

believe that a market for the security exists other than that 

made, created or controlled by the broker-dealer, or by any 

person for whom he is acting or with whom he is 

associated in the distribution, or any person controlled by, 

controlling or under common control with the broker-

dealer; 

15. Effect any transaction in, or induce the purchase or sale 

of, any security by means of any manipulative, deceptive 

or fraudulent device, practice, plan, program, design or 

contrivance, which may include but not be limited to: 

a. Effecting any transaction in a security which involves 

no change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

b. Entering an order or orders for the purchase or sale of 

any security with the knowledge that an order or orders 

of substantially the same size, at substantially the same 

time and substantially the same price, for the sale of any 

security, has been or will be entered by or for the same or 

different parties for the purpose of creating a false or 

misleading appearance of active trading in the security or 

a false or misleading appearance with respect to the 

market for the security; however, nothing in this 

subdivision shall prohibit a broker-dealer from entering 

bona fide agency cross transactions for its customers; or 

c. Effecting, alone or with one or more other persons, a 

series of transactions in any security creating actual or 

apparent active trading in the security or raising or 

depressing the price of the security, for the purpose of 

inducing the purchase or sale of the security by others; 

16. Guarantee a customer against loss in any securities 

account of the customer carried by the broker-dealer or in 

any securities transaction effected by the broker-dealer 

with or for the customer; 

17. Publish or circulate, or cause to be published or 

circulated, any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper 

article, investment service, or communication of any kind 

which purports to report any transaction as a purchase or 

sale of any security unless the broker-dealer believes that 

the transaction was a bona fide purchase or sale of the 

security; or which purports to quote the bid price or asked 

price for any security, unless the broker-dealer believes 

that the quotation represents a bona fide bid for, or offer of, 

the security; 

18. Use any advertising or sales presentation in such a 

fashion as to be deceptive or misleading. An example of 

such practice would be a distribution of any nonfactual 

data, material or presentation based on conjecture, 

unfounded or unrealistic claims or assertions in any 

brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures, graphs or 

otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede 

or defeat the purpose or effect of any prospectus or 

disclosure; 

19. Fail to make reasonably available upon request to any 

person expressing an interest in a solicited transaction in a 

security, not listed on a registered securities exchange or 

quoted on an automated quotation system operated by a 

national securities association approved by regulation of 

the commission, a balance sheet of the issuer as of a date 

within 18 months of the offer or sale of the issuer's 

securities and a profit and loss statement for either the 

fiscal year preceding that date or the most recent year of 

operations, the names of the issuer's proprietor, partners or 

officers, the nature of the enterprises of the issuer and any 

available information reasonably necessary for evaluating 

the desirability or lack of desirability of investing in the 

securities of an issuer. All transactions in securities 

described in this subdivision shall comply with the 

provisions of § 13.1-507 of the Act; 

20. Fail to disclose that the broker-dealer is controlled by, 

controlling, affiliated with or under common control with 

the issuer of any security before entering into any contract 

with or for a customer for the purchase or sale of the 

security, the existence of control to the customer, and if 

disclosure is not made in writing, it shall be supplemented 

by the giving or sending of written disclosure at or before 

the completion of the transaction; 

21. Fail to make a bona fide public offering of all of the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution, 

whether acquired as an underwriter, a selling group 
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member, or from a member participating in the distribution 

as an underwriter or selling group member; 

22. Fail or refuse to furnish a customer, upon reasonable 

request, information to which the customer is entitled, or to 

respond to a formal written request or complaint;  

23. Fail to clearly and separately disclose to its customer, 

prior to any security transaction, providing investment 

advice for compensation or any materially related 

transaction that the customer's funds or securities will be in 

the custody of an investment advisor or contracted 

custodian, in a manner that does not provide Securities 

Investor Protection Corporation protection, or equivalent 

third-party coverage over the customer's assets; 

24. Market broker-dealer services that are associated with 

financial institutions in a manner that is misleading or 

confusing to customers as to the nature of securities 

products or risks;  

25. In transactions subject to breakpoints, fail to: 

a. Utilize advantageous breakpoints without reasonable 

basis for their exclusion; 

b. Determine information that should be recorded on the 

books and records of a member or its clearing firm, 

which is necessary to determine the availability and 

appropriateness of breakpoint opportunities; or 

c. Inquire whether the customer has positions or 

transactions away from the member that should be 

considered in connection with the pending transaction 

and apprise the customer of the breakpoint opportunities;  

26. Use a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of securities 

that indicates or implies that the user has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees in such a way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation; 

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation; 

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or 

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that: 

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales or marketing; 

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants; 

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or 

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate. 

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 26 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by:  

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or 

(3) An organization that is on the U.S. Department of 

Education's list entitled "Accrediting Agencies 

Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the designation or 

credential issued therefrom does not primarily apply to 

sales or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency when 

that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under 

§ 3 (a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 

(15 USC § 80a-3(a)(1)). 
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e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of law; 

27. Represent that securities will be listed or that 

application for listing will be made on a securities 

exchange or the National Association of Securities Dealers 

Automated Quotations (NASDAQ) system or other 

quotation system without reasonable basis in fact for the 

representation; 

28. Falsify or alter so as to make false or misleading any 

record or document or any information provided to the 

commission; 

29. Negotiate, facilitate, or otherwise execute a transaction 

on behalf of an investor involving securities issued by a 

third party pursuant to a claim for exemption under 

subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act unless the broker-

dealer intends to report the securities owned and the value 

of such securities on at least a quarterly basis to the 

investor; 

30. Offer or sell securities pursuant to a claim for 

exemption under subsection B of § 13.1-514 of the Act 

without having first verified the information relating to the 

securities offered or sold, which shall include, but not be 

limited to, ascertaining the risks associated with investing 

in the respective security; 

31. Allow any person to represent or utilize its name as a 

trading platform without conspicuously disclosing the 

name of the registered broker-dealer in effecting or 

attempting to effect purchases and sales of securities; or 

32. Engage in any conduct that constitutes a dishonest or 

unethical practice including, but not limited to, forgery, 

embezzlement, nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure or 

material omissions or untrue statements of material facts, 

manipulative or deceptive practices, or fraudulent course of 

business. 

B. Every agent is required to observe high standards of 

commercial honor and just and equitable principles of trade in 

the conduct of his business. The acts and practices described 

in this subsection are considered contrary to such standards 

and may constitute grounds for denial, suspension, or 

revocation of registration or such other action authorized by 

the Act. No agent who is registered or required to be 

registered shall: 

1. Engage in the practice of lending or borrowing money or 

securities from a customer, or acting as a custodian for 

money, securities or an executed stock power of a 

customer; 

2. Effect any securities transaction not recorded on the 

regular books or records of the broker-dealer which the 

agent represents, unless the transaction is authorized in 

writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the 

transaction; 

3. Establish or maintain an account containing fictitious 

information in order to execute a transaction which would 

otherwise be unlawful or prohibited; 

4. Share directly or indirectly in profits or losses in the 

account of any customer without the written authorization 

of the customer and the broker-dealer which the agent 

represents; 

5. Divide or otherwise split the agent's commissions, 

profits or other compensation from the purchase or sale of 

securities in this Commonwealth with any person not also 

registered as an agent for the same broker-dealer, or for a 

broker-dealer under direct or indirect common control; 

6. Engage in conduct specified in subdivision A 2, 3, 4, 5, 

6, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, or 32 of 

this section; 

7. Fail to comply with the continuing education 

requirements under 21VAC5-20-150 C; or 

8. Hold oneself out as representing any person other than 

the broker-dealer with whom the agent is registered and, in 

the case of an agent whose normal place of business is not 

on the premises of the broker-dealer, failing to 

conspicuously disclose the name of the broker-dealer for 

whom the agent is registered when representing the dealer 

in effecting or attempting to effect the purchases or sales of 

securities. 

C. No person shall publish, give publicity to, or circulate 

any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, letter, 

investment service or communication which, though not 

purporting to offer a security for sale, describes the security, 

for a consideration received or to be received, directly or 

indirectly, from an issuer, underwriter, or dealer, without 

fully disclosing the receipt, whether past or prospective, of 

such consideration and the amount thereof. 

D. The purpose of this subsection is to identify practices in 

the securities business that are generally associated with 

schemes to manipulate and to identify prohibited business 

conduct of broker-dealers or sales agents who are registered 

or required to be registered. 

1. Entering into a transaction with a customer in any 

security at an unreasonable price or at a price not 

reasonably related to the current market price of the 

security or receiving an unreasonable commission or profit. 

2. Contradicting or negating the importance of any 

information contained in a prospectus or other offering 

materials with intent to deceive or mislead or using any 

advertising or sales presentation in a deceptive or 

misleading manner. 

3. In connection with the offer, sale, or purchase of a 

security, falsely leading a customer to believe that the 

broker-dealer or agent is in possession of material, 
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nonpublic information that would affect the value of the 

security. 

4. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of a security, engaging in a pattern or practice of making 

contradictory recommendations to different investors of 

similar investment objective for some to sell and others to 

purchase the same security, at or about the same time, 

when not justified by the particular circumstances of each 

investor. 

5. Failing to make a bona fide public offering of all the 

securities allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution by, 

among other things, (i) transferring securities to a 

customer, another broker-dealer, or a fictitious account 

with the understanding that those securities will be 

returned to the broker-dealer or its nominees or (ii) parking 

or withholding securities. 

6. a. In addition to the application of the general anti-fraud 

provisions against anyone in connection with practices 

similar in nature to the practices discussed in this 

subdivision 6, the following subdivisions (1) through (6) 

specifically apply only in connection with the solicitation 

of a purchase or sale of over the counter (OTC) unlisted 

non-NASDAQ equity securities except those exempt from 

registration under 21VAC5-40-50: 

(1) Failing to advise the customer, both at the time of 

solicitation and on the confirmation, of any and all 

compensation related to a specific securities transaction 

to be paid to the agent including commissions, sales 

charges, or concessions. 

(2) In connection with a principal transaction, failing to 

disclose, both at the time of solicitation and on the 

confirmation, a short inventory position in the firm's 

account of more than 3.0% of the issued and outstanding 

shares of that class of securities of the issuer; however, 

this subdivision 6 of this subsection shall apply only if 

the firm is a market maker at the time of the solicitation. 

(3) Conducting sales contests in a particular security. 

(4) After a solicited purchase by a customer, failing or 

refusing, in connection with a principal transaction, to 

promptly execute sell orders. 

(5) Soliciting a secondary market transaction when there has 

not been a bona fide distribution in the primary market. 

(6) Engaging in a pattern of compensating an agent in 

different amounts for effecting sales and purchases in the 

same security. 

b. Although subdivisions D 6 a (1) through (6) of this 

section do not apply to OTC unlisted non-NASDAQ 

equity securities exempt from registration under 

21VAC5-40-50, nothing in this subsection precludes 

application of the general anti-fraud provisions against 

anyone in connection with practices similar in nature to 

the practices discussed in subdivisions D 6 a (1) through 

(6) of this section.  

7. Effecting any transaction in, or inducing the purchase or 

sale of, any security by means of any manipulative, 

deceptive, or other fraudulent device or contrivance 

including but not limited to the use of boiler room tactics 

or use of fictitious or nominee accounts. 

8. Failing to comply with any prospectus delivery 

requirements promulgated under federal law or the Act. 

9. In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase 

of an OTC unlisted non-NASDAQ security, failing to 

promptly provide the most current prospectus or the most 

recently filed periodic report filed under § 13 of the 

Securities Exchange Act when requested to do so by a 

customer. 

10. Marking any order tickets or confirmations as 

unsolicited when in fact the transaction was solicited. 

11. For any month in which activity has occurred in a 

customer's account, but in no event less than every three 

months, failing to provide each customer with a statement 

of account with respect to all OTC non-NASDAQ equity 

securities in the account, containing a value for each such 

security based on the closing market bid on a date certain; 

however, this subdivision shall apply only if the firm has 

been a market maker in the security at any time during the 

month in which the monthly or quarterly statement is 

issued. 

12. Failing to comply with any applicable provision of the 

FINRA Rules or any applicable fair practice, privacy, or 

ethical standard promulgated by the SEC or by a self-

regulatory organization approved by the SEC. 

13. In connection with the solicitation of a purchase or sale 

of a designated security: 

a. Failing to disclose to the customer the bid and ask 

price, at which the broker-dealer effects transactions with 

individual, retail customers, of the designated security as 

well as its spread in both percentage and dollar amounts 

at the time of solicitation and on the trade confirmation 

documents; or 

b. Failing to include with the confirmation, the notice 

disclosure contained under 21VAC5-20-285, except the 

following shall be exempt from this requirement: 

(1) Transactions in which the price of the designated 

security is $5.00 or more, exclusive of costs or charges; 

however, if the designated security is a unit composed of 

one or more securities, the unit price divided by the 

number of components of the unit other than warrants, 

options, rights, or similar securities must be $5.00 or 

more, and any component of the unit that is a warrant, 

option, right, or similar securities, or a convertible 
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security must have an exercise price or conversion price 

of $5.00 or more. 

(2) Transactions that are not recommended by the broker-

dealer or agent. 

(3) Transactions by a broker-dealer (i) whose 

commissions, commission equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in designated securities during each of 

the preceding three months, and during 11 or more of the 

preceding 12 months, did not exceed 5.0% of its total 

commissions, commission-equivalents, and mark-ups 

from transactions in securities during those months; and 

(ii) who has not executed principal transactions in 

connection with the solicitation to purchase the 

designated security that is the subject of the transaction 

in the preceding 12 months. 

(4) Any transaction or transactions that, upon prior 

written request or upon its own motion, the commission 

conditionally or unconditionally exempts as not 

encompassed within the purposes of this section. 

c. For purposes of this section, the term "designated 

security" means any equity security other than a security: 

(1) Registered, or approved for registration upon notice 

of issuance, on a national securities exchange and makes 

transaction reports available pursuant to 17 CFR 11Aa3-

1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; 

(2) Authorized, or approved for authorization upon notice 

of issuance, for quotation in the NASDAQ system; 

(3) Issued by an investment company registered under 

the Investment Company Act of 1940; 

(4) That is a put option or call option issued by The 

Options Clearing Corporation; or 

(5) Whose issuer has net tangible assets in excess of $4 

million as demonstrated by financial statements dated 

within no less than 15 months that the broker-dealer has 

reviewed and has a reasonable basis to believe are true 

and complete in relation to the date of the transaction 

with the person, and 

(a) In the event the issuer is other than a foreign private 

issuer, are the most recent financial statements for the 

issuer that have been audited and reported on by an 

independent public accountant in accordance with the 

provisions of 17 CFR 210.2-02 under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or 

(b) In the event the issuer is a foreign private issuer, are 

the most recent financial statements for the issuer that 

have been filed with the SEC; furnished to the SEC 

pursuant to 17 CFR 240.12g3-2(b) under the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934; or prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles in the country 

of incorporation, audited in compliance with the 

requirements of that jurisdiction, and reported on by an 

accountant duly registered and in good standing in 

accordance with the regulations of that jurisdiction. 

E. A broker-dealer or an agent may delay or refuse a 

transaction or a disbursement of funds that may involve or 

result in the financial exploitation of an individual pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1606 L of the Code of Virginia. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(21VAC5-20) 

Rule 1250 of FINRA By-Laws, Continuing Education 

Requirements, amended by SR-FINRA-2011-013, eff. 

October 17, 2011, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, 

Inc. 

Rule 345 A of the New York Stock Exchange Rules, 

Continuing Education for Registered Persons, effective as 

existed July 1, 1995, New York Stock Exchange. 

Rule G-3(h) of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board, 

Classification of Principals and Representatives; Numerical 

Requirements; Testing; Continuing Education Requirements, 

effective as existed July 1, 1995, Municipal Securities 

Rulemaking Board. 

Rule 1240 of FINRA By-Laws, Continuing Education 

Requirements, amended by SR-FINRA-2017-007, eff. 

October 1, 2018, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, 

Inc. 

Rule 345 A of the New York Stock Exchange Rules, 

Continuing Education for Registered Persons, effective as 

existed July 1, 1995, New York Stock Exchange, superseded 

by Financial Industry Regulation Authority, Inc. Rule 1200 

Series - Rule, 1240, eff. October 1, 2018 

Rule G-3(i) of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board, 

Classification of Principals and Representatives; Numerical 

Requirements; Testing; Continuing Education Requirements, 

effective as existed July 1, 1995, Municipal Securities 

Rulemaking Board 

Rule 341A of the New York Stock Exchange Market Rules, 

Continuing Education for Registered Persons, effective as 

existed May 14, 2012, New York Stock Exchange.  

Rule 9.3A of the Chicago Board Options Exchange, 

Continuing Education for Registered Persons, effective as 

existed July 1, 1995, Chicago Board Options Exchange. 

Article VI, Rule 11 of the Rules of the Chicago Stock 

Exchange, Inc., Continuing Education for Registered Persons, 

effective as existed July 1, 1995, Chicago Stock Exchange, 

Inc. 

FINRA, Rule 2264, Margin Disclosure Statement, amended 

by SR-FINRA-2011-065, eff. December 5, 2011. 

Article I, Paragraph u of FINRA By-Laws, amended by SR-

FINRA-2008-0026, eff. December 15, 2008. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c385005907~20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c385005907~20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c385005907~20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c385005907~20s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e37005907~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e37005907~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e37005907~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e37005907~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8e37005907~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57270005907~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57270005907~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57270005907~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57270005907~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=57270005907~189.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
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21VAC5-30-80. Adoption of North American Securities 

Administration Association, Inc. statements of policy. 

The commission adopts the following North American 

Securities Administration Association, Inc. (NASAA) 

statements of policy that shall apply to the registration of 

securities in the Commonwealth. It will be considered a basis 

for denial of an application if an offering fails to comply with 

an applicable statement of policy. While applications not 

conforming to a statement of policy shall be looked upon with 

disfavor, where good cause is shown, certain provisions may 

be modified or waived by the commission. 

1. Options and Warrants, as amended March 31, 2008. 

2. Underwriting Expenses, Underwriter's Warrants, Selling 

Expenses and Selling Security Holders, as amended March 

31, 2008 May 6, 2018. 

3. Real Estate Programs, as amended May 7, 2007. 

4. Oil and Gas Programs, as amended May 6, 2012. 

5. Cattle-Feeding Programs, as adopted September 17, 

1980. 

6. Unsound Financial Condition, as amended March 31, 

2008 May 6, 2018. 

7. Real Estate Investment Trusts, as amended May 7, 2007. 

8. Church Bonds, as adopted April 29, 1981. 

9. Small Company Offering Registrations, as adopted April 

28, 1996. 

10. NASAA Guidelines Regarding Viatical Investment, as 

adopted October 1, 2002. 

11. Corporate Securities Definitions, as amended March 

31, 2008 May 6, 2018. 

12. Church Extension Fund Securities, as amended April 

18, 2004. 

13. Promotional Shares, as amended March 31, 2008. 

14. Loans and Other Material Transactions, as amended 

March 31, 2008 May 6, 2018. 

15. Impoundment of Proceeds, as amended March 31, 

2008. 

16. Electronic Offering Documents and Electronic 

Signatures, as adopted May 8, 2017. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(21VAC5-30) 

Statement of Policy Regarding Church Extension Fund 

Securities, adopted April 17, 1994, amended April 18, 2004, 

North American Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Church Extension Fund 

Securities as amended April 18, 2004, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Options and Warrants, as 

amended March 31, 2008, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Underwriting Expenses, 

Underwriter's Warrants, Selling Expenses and Selling 

Security Holders, as amended May 6, 2018, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Unsound Financial 

Condition, as amended May 6, 2018, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Church Bonds, as adopted 

April 29, 1981, North American Securities Administrators 

Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Real Estate Programs, as 

amended May 7, 2007, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Oil and Gas Programs, as 

amended May 6, 2012, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Church Bonds, as adopted 

April 29, 1981, North American Securities Administrators 

Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Small Company Offering 

Registrations, as adopted April 28, 1996, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

NASAA Guidelines Regarding Viatical Investment, as 

adopted October 1, 2002, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Corporate Securities 

Definitions, as amended May 6, 2018, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Promotional Shares, as 

amended March 31, 2008, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Loans and Other Material 

Transactions, as amended May 6, 2018, North American 

Securities Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Impoundment of Proceeds, 

as amended March 31, 2008, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

Statement of Policy Regarding Electronic Offering 

Documents and Electronic Signatures, as adopted May 8, 

2017, North American Securities Administrators Association, 

Inc. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=761d7005907~244.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=761d7005907~244.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=761d7005907~244.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f239005907~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f239005907~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8f239005907~28.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a0a005907~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a0a005907~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a0a005907~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=18a0a005907~58.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e82a6005907~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e82a6005907~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e82a6005907~68.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74b2c005907~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74b2c005907~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=74b2c005907~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab8be005907~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab8be005907~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ab8be005907~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=965fe005907~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=965fe005907~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=965fe005907~52.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d533c005907~81.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d533c005907~81.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d533c005907~81.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f0d005907~96.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f0d005907~96.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f0d005907~96.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4bde005907~102.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4bde005907~102.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4bde005907~102.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8534005907~118.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8534005907~118.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a8534005907~118.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e720005907~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e720005907~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e720005907~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cba4005907~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cba4005907~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cba4005907~138.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c6d7005907~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c6d7005907~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c6d7005907~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b3b6005907~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b3b6005907~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b3b6005907~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b3b6005907~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf


Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2953 

Statement of Policy Regarding Cattle-Feeding Programs, as 

adopted September 17, 1980, North American Securities 

Administrators Association, Inc. 

21VAC5-45-20. Offerings conducted pursuant to Rule 506 

of federal Regulation regulation D (17 CFR 230.506): 

Filing filing requirements and issuer-agent exemption. 

A. An issuer offering a security that is a covered security 

under § 18 (b)(4)(D) of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 USC § 

77r(b)(4)(D)) shall file with the commission no later than 15 

days after the first sale of such federal covered security in this 

Commonwealth:  

1. A notice on SEC Form D (17 CFR 239.500), as filed 

with the SEC.  

2. A filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

B. An amendment filing shall contain a copy of the amended 

SEC Form D. No fee is required for an amendment.  

C. For the purpose of this chapter, SEC "Form D" is the 

document, as adopted by the SEC, and in effect on September 

23, 2013, entitled "Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of 

Securities." 

D. Pursuant to § 13.1-514 B 13 of the Act, an agent of an 

issuer who effects transactions in a security exempt from 

registration under the Securities Act of 1933 pursuant to rules 

and regulations promulgated under § 4(2) thereof (15 USC § 

77d(2)) is exempt from the agent registration requirements of 

the Act.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (21VAC5-45)  

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972 (rev. 

2/2012)  

Form D, Notice of Exempt Offering of Securities, U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC1972 (rev. 

5/2017) 

Uniform Consent to Service of Process, Form U-2 (rev. 

7/2017) 

Uniform Notice of Regulation A - Tier 2 Offering (undated, 

filed 10/2016) 

Form NF - Uniform Investment Company Notice Filing 

(4/1997) 

Uniform Notice of Federal Crowdfunding Offering, Form 

U-CF (undated, filed 9/2017) 

Part I  

Investment Advisor Registration, Notice Filing for Federal 

Covered Advisors, Expiration, Renewal, Updates and 

Amendments, Terminations and Merger or Consolidation 

21VAC5-80-10. Application for registration as an 

investment advisor and notice filing as a federal covered 

advisor. 

A. Application for registration as an investment advisor 

shall be filed in compliance with all requirements of IARD 

and in full compliance with forms and regulations prescribed 

by the commission and shall include all information required 

by such forms. 

B. An application shall be deemed incomplete for 

registration as an investment advisor unless the applicant 

submits the following executed forms, fee, and information:  

1. Form ADV Parts 1 and 2 submitted to IARD. 

2. The statutory fee made payable to FINRA in the amount 

of $200 submitted to IARD pursuant to § 13.1-505 F of the 

Act. 

3. A copy of the client agreement.  

4. A copy of the firm's supervisory and procedures manual 

as required by 21VAC5-80-170.  

5. Copies of all advertising materials.  

6. Copies of all stationery and business cards.  

7. A signed affidavit stating that an investment advisor 

domiciled in Virginia has not conducted investment 

advisory business prior to registration, and for investment 

advisors domiciled outside of Virginia an affidavit stating 

that the advisor has fewer than six clients in the prior 12-

month period.  

8. An audited or certified balance sheet prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting practices 

reflecting the financial condition of the investment advisor 

not more than 90 days prior to the date of such filing. 

9. A copy of the firm's disaster recovery plan as required 

by 21VAC5-80-160 F. 

10. Evidence of at least one qualified individual with an 

investment advisor representative registration pending on 

IARD on behalf of the investment advisor.  

11. A copy of the firm’s physical security and 

cybersecurity policies and procedures as required by 

21VAC5-80-260 A. 

12. A copy of the firm’s privacy policy as required by 

21VAC5-80-260 B. 

13. Any other information the commission may require. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f9f6005907~16g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f9f6005907~16g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0f9f6005907~16g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c1c0005907~17n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c1c0005907~17n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5c1c0005907~17n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd55e005907~242.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd55e005907~242.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29c4b005907~23g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=29c4b005907~23g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0aa11005907~22g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005907&mime=application/pdf
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For purposes of this section, the term "net worth" means an 

excess of assets over liabilities, as determined by generally 

accepted accounting principles. Net worth shall not include: 

prepaid expenses (except as to items properly classified as 

assets under generally accepted accounting principles), 

deferred charges such as deferred income tax charges, 

goodwill, franchise rights, organizational expenses, patents, 

copyrights, marketing rights, unamortized debt discount and 

expense, all other assets of intangible nature, home 

furnishings, automobiles, and any other personal items not 

readily marketable in the case of an individual; advances or 

loans to stockholders and officers in the case of a corporation; 

and advances or loans to partners in the case of a partnership. 

C. The commission shall either grant or deny each 

application for registration within 30 days after it is filed. 

However, if additional time is needed to obtain or verify 

information regarding the application, the commission may 

extend such period as much as 90 days by giving written 

notice to the applicant. No more than three such extensions 

may be made by the commission on any one application. An 

extension of the initial 30-day period, not to exceed 90 days, 

shall be granted upon written request of the applicant.  

D. Every person who transacts business in this 

Commonwealth as a federal covered advisor shall file a notice 

as prescribed in subsection E of this section in compliance 

with all requirements of the IARD.  

E. A notice filing for a federal covered advisor shall be 

deemed incomplete unless the federal covered advisor 

submits the following executed forms, fee, and information:  

1. Form ADV Parts 1 and 2.  

2. A fee made payable to FINRA in the amount of $200.  

21VAC5-80-160. Recordkeeping requirements for 

investment advisors. 

A. Every investment advisor registered or required to be 

registered under the Act shall make and keep true, accurate 

and current the following books, ledgers and records, except 

an investment advisor having its principal place of business 

outside this Commonwealth and registered or licensed, and in 

compliance with the applicable books and records 

requirements, in the state where its principal place of business 

is located, shall only be required to make, keep current, 

maintain and preserve such of the following required books, 

ledgers and records as are not in addition to those required 

under the laws of the state in which it maintains its principal 

place of business: 

1. A journal or journals, including cash receipts and 

disbursements records, and any other records of original 

entry forming the basis of entries in any ledger. 

2. General and auxiliary ledgers (or other comparable 

records) reflecting asset, liability, reserve, capital, income 

and expense accounts. 

3. A memorandum of each order given by the investment 

advisor for the purchase or sale of any security, of any 

instruction received by the investment advisor from the 

client concerning the purchase, sale, receipt or delivery of 

a particular security, and of any modification or 

cancellation of any such order or instruction. The 

memoranda shall show the terms and conditions of the 

order, instruction, modification or cancellation; shall 

identify the person connected with the investment advisor 

who recommended the transaction to the client and the 

person who placed the order; and shall show the account 

for which entered, the date of entry, and the bank, broker 

or dealer by or through whom executed where appropriate. 

Orders entered pursuant to the exercise of discretionary 

power shall be so designated. 

4. All check books, bank statements, canceled checks and 

cash reconciliations of the investment advisor. 

5. All bills or statements (or copies of), paid or unpaid, 

relating to the business as an investment advisor. 

6. All trial balances, financial statements prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles 

which shall include a balance sheet, income statement and 

such other statements as may be required pursuant to 

21VAC5-80-180, and internal audit working papers 

relating to the investment advisor's business as an 

investment advisor. 

7. Originals of all written communications received and 

copies of all written communications sent by the 

investment advisor relating to (i) any recommendation 

made or proposed to be made and any advice given or 

proposed to be given; (ii) any receipt, disbursement or 

delivery of funds or securities; and (iii) the placing or 

execution of any order to purchase or sell any security; 

however, (a) the investment advisor shall not be required to 

keep any unsolicited market letters and other similar 

communications of general public distribution not prepared 

by or for the investment advisor, and (b) if the investment 

advisor sends any notice, circular or other advertisement 

offering any report, analysis, publication or other 

investment advisory service to more than 10 persons, the 

investment advisor shall not be required to keep a record of 

the names and addresses of the persons to whom it was 

sent; except that if the notice, circular or advertisement is 

distributed to persons named on any list, the investment 

advisor shall retain with a copy of the notice, circular or 

advertisement a memorandum describing the list and the 

source thereof. 

8. A list or other record of all accounts which list identifies 

the accounts in which the investment advisor is vested with 

any discretionary power with respect to the funds, 

securities or transactions of any client. 
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9. All powers of attorney and other evidences of the 

granting of any discretionary authority by any client to the 

investment advisor, or copies thereof. 

10. All written agreements (or copies thereof) entered into 

by the investment advisor with any client, and all other 

written agreements otherwise related to the investment 

advisor's business as an investment advisor. 

11. A file containing a copy of each notice, circular, 

advertisement, newspaper article, investment letter, 

bulletin, or other communication including by electronic 

media that the investment advisor circulates or distributes, 

directly or indirectly, to two or more persons (other than 

persons connected with the investment advisor), and if the 

notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, 

investment letter, bulletin, or other communication 

including by electronic media recommends the purchase or 

sale of a specific security and does not state the reasons for 

the recommendation, a memorandum of the investment 

adviser indicating the reasons for the recommendation. 

12. a. A record of every transaction in a security in which 

the investment advisor or any investment advisory 

representative of the investment advisor has, or by reason 

of any transaction acquires, any direct or indirect beneficial 

ownership, except (i) transactions effected in any account 

over which neither the investment advisor nor any 

investment advisory representative of the investment 

advisor has any direct or indirect influence or control; and 

(ii) transactions in securities which are direct obligations of 

the United States. The record shall state the title and 

amount of the security involved; the date and nature of the 

transaction (i.e., purchase, sale or other acquisition or 

disposition); the price at which it was effected; and the 

name of the broker, dealer or bank with or through whom 

the transaction was effected. The record may also contain a 

statement declaring that the reporting or recording of any 

such transaction shall not be construed as an admission that 

the investment advisor or investment advisory 

representative has any direct or indirect beneficial 

ownership in the security. A transaction shall be recorded 

not later than 10 days after the end of the calendar quarter 

in which the transaction was effected. 

b. For purposes of this subdivision 12, the following 

definitions will apply. The term "advisory representative" 

means any partner, officer or director of the investment 

advisor; any employee who participates in any way in the 

determination of which recommendations shall be made; 

any employee who, in connection with his duties, obtains 

any information concerning which securities are being 

recommended prior to the effective dissemination of the 

recommendations; and any of the following persons who 

obtain information concerning securities 

recommendations being made by the investment advisor 

prior to the effective dissemination of the 

recommendations: 

(1) Any person in a control relationship to the investment 

adviser; 

(2) Any affiliated person of a controlling person; and 

(3) Any affiliated person of an affiliated person. 

"Control" means the power to exercise a controlling 

influence over the management or policies of a company, 

unless such power is solely the result of an official 

position with the company. Any person who owns 

beneficially, either directly or through one or more 

controlled companies, more than 25% of the ownership 

interest of a company shall be presumed to control the 

company. 

c. An investment advisor shall not be deemed to have 

violated the provisions of this subdivision 12 because of 

his failure to record securities transactions of any 

investment advisor representative if the investment 

advisor establishes that it instituted adequate procedures 

and used reasonable diligence to obtain promptly reports 

of all transactions required to be recorded. 

13. a. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 12 of 

this subsection, where the investment advisor is primarily 

engaged in a business or businesses other than advising 

investment advisory clients, a record must be maintained 

of every transaction in a security in which the investment 

advisor or any investment advisory representative of such 

investment advisor has, or by reason of such transaction 

acquires, any direct or indirect beneficial ownership, 

except (i) transactions effected in any account over which 

neither the investment advisor nor any investment advisory 

representative of the investment advisor has any direct or 

indirect influence or control; and (ii) transactions in 

securities which are direct obligations of the United States. 

The record shall state the title and amount of the security 

involved; the date and nature of the transaction (i.e., 

purchase, sale or other acquisition or disposition); the price 

at which it was effected; and the name of the broker, dealer 

or bank with or through whom the transaction was 

effected. The record may also contain a statement 

declaring that the reporting or recording of any such 

transaction shall not be construed as an admission that the 

investment advisor or investment advisory representative 

has any direct or indirect beneficial ownership in the 

security. A transaction shall be recorded not later than 10 

days after the end of the calendar quarter in which the 

transaction was effected. 

b. An investment advisor is "primarily engaged in a 

business or businesses other than advising investment 

advisory clients" when, for each of its most recent three 

fiscal years or for the period of time since organization, 

whichever is less, the investment advisor derived, on an 
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unconsolidated basis, more than 50% of (i) its total sales 

and revenues, and (ii) its income (or loss) before income 

taxes and extraordinary items, from such other business 

or businesses. 

c. For purposes of this subdivision 13, the following 

definitions will apply. The term "advisory 

representative," when used in connection with a company 

primarily engaged in a business or businesses other than 

advising investment advisory clients, means any partner, 

officer, director or employee of the investment advisor 

who participates in any way in the determination of 

which recommendation shall be made, or whose 

functions or duties relate to the determination of which 

securities are being recommended prior to the effective 

dissemination of the recommendations; and any of the 

following persons, who obtain information concerning 

securities recommendations being made by the 

investment advisor prior to the effective dissemination of 

the recommendations or of the information concerning 

the recommendations: 

(1) Any person in a control relationship to the investment 

advisor; 

(2) Any affiliated person of a controlling person; and 

(3) Any affiliated person of an affiliated person. 

d. An investment advisor shall not be deemed to have 

violated the provisions of this subdivision 13 because of 

his failure to record securities transactions of any 

investment advisor representative if he establishes that he 

instituted adequate procedures and used reasonable 

diligence to obtain promptly reports of all transactions 

required to be recorded. 

14. A copy of each written statement and each amendment 

or revision, given or sent to any client or prospective client 

of such investment advisor in accordance with the 

provisions of 21VAC5-80-190 and a record of the dates 

that each written statement, and each amendment or 

revision, was given, or offered to be given, to any client or 

prospective client who subsequently becomes a client. 

15. For each client that was obtained by the advisor by 

means of a solicitor to whom a cash fee was paid by the 

advisor, the following: 

a. Evidence of a written agreement to which the advisor 

is a party related to the payment of such fee; 

b. A signed and dated acknowledgement of receipt from 

the client evidencing the client's receipt of the investment 

advisor's disclosure statement and a written disclosure 

statement of the solicitor; and  

c. A copy of the solicitor's written disclosure statement. 

The written agreement, acknowledgement and solicitor 

disclosure statement will be considered to be in 

compliance if such documents are in compliance with 

Rule 275.206(4)-3 of the Investment Advisers Act of 

1940. 

For purposes of this regulation, the term "solicitor" means 

any person or entity who, for compensation, acts as an 

agent of an investment advisor in referring potential 

clients. 

16. All accounts, books, internal working papers, and any 

other records or documents that are necessary to form the 

basis for or demonstrate the calculation of the performance 

or rate of return of all managed accounts or securities 

recommendations in any notice, circular, advertisement, 

newspaper article, investment letter, bulletin, or other 

communication including but not limited to electronic 

media that the investment advisor circulates or distributes 

directly or indirectly, to two or more persons (other than 

persons connected with the investment advisor); however, 

with respect to the performance of managed accounts, the 

retention of all account statements, if they reflect all debits, 

credits, and other transactions in a client's account for the 

period of the statement, and all worksheets necessary to 

demonstrate the calculation of the performance or rate of 

return of all managed accounts shall be deemed to satisfy 

the requirements of this subdivision. 

17. A file containing a copy of all written communications 

received or sent regarding any litigation involving the 

investment advisor or any investment advisor 

representative or employee, and regarding any written 

customer or client complaint. 

18. Written information about each investment advisory 

client that is the basis for making any recommendation or 

providing any investment advice to the client. 

19. Written procedures to supervise the activities of 

employees and investment advisor representatives that are 

reasonably designed to achieve compliance with applicable 

securities laws and regulations. 

20. A file containing a copy of each document (other than 

any notices of general dissemination) that was filed with or 

received from any state or federal agency or self regulatory 

organization and that pertains to the registrant or its 

investment advisor representatives, which file should 

contain, but is not limited to, all applications, amendments, 

renewal filings, and correspondence. 

21. Any records documenting dates, locations and findings 

of the investment advisor's annual review of these policies 

and procedures conducted pursuant to subdivision F of 

21VAC5-80-170. 

22. Copies, with original signatures of the investment 

advisor's appropriate signatory and the investment advisor 

representative, of each initial Form U4 and each 

amendment to Disclosure Reporting Pages (DRPs U4) 
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must be retained by the investment advisor (filing on 

behalf of the investment advisor representative) and must 

be made available for inspection upon regulatory request.  

23. Where the advisor inadvertently held or obtained a 

client's securities or funds and returned them to the client 

within three business days or has forwarded third party 

checks within three business days of receipt, the advisor 

will be considered as not having custody but shall keep the 

following record to identify all securities or funds held or 

obtained relating to the inadvertent custody: 

A ledger or other listing of all securities or funds held or 

obtained, including the following information:  

a. Issuer;  

b. Type of security and series; 

c. Date of issue; 

d. For debt instruments, the denomination, interest rate 

and maturity date;  

e. Certificate number, including alphabetical prefix or 

suffix;  

f. Name in which registered;  

g. Date given to the advisor;  

h. Date sent to client or sender;  

i. Form of delivery to client or sender, or copy of the 

form of delivery to client or sender; and  

j. Mail confirmation number, if applicable, or 

confirmation by client or sender of the fund's or security's 

return.  

24. If an investment advisor obtains possession of 

securities that are acquired from the issuer in a transaction 

or chain of transactions not involving any public offering 

that comply with the exception from custody under 

subdivision C 2 of 21VAC5-80-146, the advisor shall keep 

the following records:  

a. A record showing the issuer or current transfer agent's 

name address, phone number, and other applicable 

contract information pertaining to the party responsible 

for recording client interests in the securities; and  

b. A copy of any legend, shareholder agreement, or other 

agreement showing that those securities that are 

transferable only with prior consent of the issuer or 

holders of the outstanding securities of the issuer.  

25. Any records required pursuant to 21VAC5-80-260. 

B. 1. If an investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 

section has custody or possession of securities or funds of any 

client, the records required to be made and kept under 

subsection A of this section shall also include: 

a. A journal or other record showing all purchases, sales, 

receipts and deliveries of securities (including certificate 

numbers) for such accounts and all other debits and 

credits to the accounts. 

b. A separate ledger account for each client showing all 

purchases, sales, receipts and deliveries of securities, the 

date and price of each purchase and sale, and all debits 

and credits. 

c. Copies of confirmations of all transactions effected by 

or for the account of any client. 

d. A record for each security in which any client has a 

position, which record shall show the name of each client 

having any interest in each security, the amount or 

interest of each client, and the location of each security. 

e. A copy of any records required to be made and kept 

under 21VAC5-80-146. 

f. A copy of any and all documents executed by the client 

(including a limited power of attorney) under which the 

advisor is authorized or permitted to withdraw a client's 

funds or securities maintained with a custodian upon the 

advisor's instruction to the custodian.  

g. A copy of each of the client's quarterly account 

statements as generated and delivered by the qualified 

custodian. If the advisor also generates a statement that is 

delivered to the client, the advisor shall also maintain 

copies of such statements along with the date such 

statements were sent to the clients. 

h. If applicable to the advisor's situation, a copy of the 

special examination report verifying the completion of 

the examination by an independent certified public 

accountant and describing the nature and extent of the 

examination.  

i. A record of any finding by the independent certified 

public accountant of any material discrepancies found 

during the examination.  

j. If applicable, evidence of the client's designation of an 

independent representative. 

2. If an investment advisor has custody because it advises a 

pooled investment vehicle, as defined in 21VAC5-80-146 

A in the definition of custody in clause subdivision 1 c, the 

advisor shall also keep the following records:  

a. True, accurate, and current account statements;  

b. Where the advisor complies with 21VAC5-80-146 C 

4, the records required to be made and kept shall include:  

(1) The date or dates of the audit;  

(2) A copy of the audited financial statements; and  
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(3) Evidence of the mailing of the audited financial to all 

limited partners, members, or other beneficial owners 

within 120 days of the end of its fiscal year.  

c. Where the advisor complies with 21VAC5-80-146 B 5, 

the records required to be made and kept shall include:  

(1) A copy of the written agreement with the independent 

party reviewing all fees and expenses, indicating the 

responsibilities of the independent third party.  

(2) Copies of all invoices and receipts showing approval 

by the independent party for payment through the 

qualified custodian. 

C. Every investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 

section who renders any investment advisory or management 

service to any client shall, with respect to the portfolio being 

supervised or managed and to the extent that the information 

is reasonably available to or obtainable by the investment 

advisor, make and keep true, accurate and current: 

1. Records showing separately for each client the securities 

purchased and sold, and the date, amount and price of each 

purchase and sale. 

2. For each security in which any client has a current 

position, information from which the investment advisor 

can promptly furnish the name of each client and the 

current amount or interest of the client. 

D. Any books or records required by this section may be 

maintained by the investment advisor in such manner that the 

identity of any client to whom the investment advisor renders 

investment advisory services is indicated by numerical or 

alphabetical code or some similar designation. 

E. Every investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 

section shall preserve the following records in the manner 

prescribed: 

1. All books and records required to be made under the 

provisions of subsection A through subdivision C 1, 

inclusive, of this section, except for books and records 

required to be made under the provisions of subdivisions A 

11 and A 16 of this section, shall be maintained in an 

easily accessible place for a period of not less than five 

years from the end of the fiscal year during which the last 

entry was made on record, the first two years of which 

shall be maintained in the principal office of the 

investment advisor. 

2. Partnership articles and any amendments, articles of 

incorporation, charters, minute books, and stock certificate 

books of the investment advisor and of any predecessor, 

shall be maintained in the principal office of the 

investment advisor and preserved until at least three years 

after termination of the enterprise. 

3. Books and records required to be made under the 

provisions of subdivisions A 11 and A 16 of this section 

shall be maintained in an easily accessible place for a 

period of not less than five years, the first two years of 

which shall be maintained in the principal office of the 

investment advisor, from the end of the fiscal year during 

which the investment advisor last published or otherwise 

disseminated, directly or indirectly, the notice, circular, 

advertisement, newspaper article, investment letter, 

bulletin, or other communication including by electronic 

media. 

4. Books and records required to be made under the 

provisions of subdivisions A 17 through A 22, inclusive, of 

this section shall be maintained and preserved in an easily 

accessible place for a period of not less than five years, 

from the end of the fiscal year during which the last entry 

was made on such record, the first two years in the 

principal office of the investment advisor, or for the time 

period during which the investment advisor was registered 

or required to be registered in the state, if less. 

5. Notwithstanding other record preservation requirements 

of this subsection, the following records or copies shall be 

required to be maintained at the business location of the 

investment advisor from which the customer or client is 

being provided or has been provided with investment 

advisory services: (i) records required to be preserved 

under subdivisions A 3, A 7 through A 10, A 14 and A 15, 

A 17 through A 19, subsections B and C, and (ii) the 

records or copies required under the provision of 

subdivisions A 11 and A 16 of this section which records 

or related records identify the name of the investment 

advisor representative providing investment advice from 

that business location, or which identify the business 

locations' physical address, mailing address, electronic 

mailing address, or telephone number. The records will be 

maintained for the period described in this subsection. 

F. Every investment advisor shall establish and maintain a 

written disaster recovery plan that shall address at a 

minimum: 

1. The identity of individuals that will conduct or wind 

down business on behalf of the investment advisor in the 

event of death or incapacity of key persons; 

2. Means to provide notification to clients of the 

investment advisor and to those states in which the advisor 

is registered of the death or incapacity of key persons; 

a. Notification shall be provided to the Division of 

Securities and Retail Franchising via IARD/CRD 

within 24 hours of the death or incapacity of key persons. 

b. Notification shall be given to clients within five 

business days from the death or incapacity of key 

persons. 

3. Means for clients' accounts to continue to be monitored 

until an orderly liquidation, distribution or transfer of the 
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clients' portfolio to another advisor can be achieved or until 

an actual notice to the client of investment advisor death or 

incapacity and client control of their assets occurs; 

4. Means for the credit demands of the investment advisor 

to be met; and 

5. Data backups sufficient to allow rapid resumption of the 

investment advisor's activities. 

G. An investment advisor subject to subsection A of this 

section, before ceasing to conduct or discontinuing business 

as an investment advisor, shall arrange for and be responsible 

for the preservation of the books and records required to be 

maintained and preserved under this section for the remainder 

of the period specified in this section, and shall notify the 

commission in writing of the exact address where the books 

and records will be maintained during such period. 

H. 1. The records required to be maintained pursuant to this 

section may be immediately produced or reproduced by 

photograph on film or, as provided in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection, on magnetic disk, tape or other computer storage 

medium, and be maintained for the required time in that form. 

If records are preserved or reproduced by photographic film 

or computer storage medium, the investment advisor shall: 

a. Arrange the records and index the films or computer 

storage medium so as to permit the immediate location of 

any particular record; 

b. Be ready at all times to promptly provide any facsimile 

enlargement of film or computer printout or copy of the 

computer storage medium which the commission by its 

examiners or other representatives may request; 

c. Store separately from the original one other copy of 

the film or computer storage medium for the time 

required; 

d. With respect to records stored on computer storage 

medium, maintain procedures for maintenance of, and 

access to, records so as to reasonably safeguard records 

from loss, alteration, or destruction; and 

e. With respect to records stored on photographic film, at 

all times have available, for the commission's 

examination of its records, facilities for immediate, easily 

readable projection of the film and for producing easily 

readable facsimile enlargements. 

2. Pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection, an advisor 

may maintain and preserve on computer tape or disk or 

other computer storage medium records which, in the 

ordinary course of the advisor's business, are created by the 

advisor on electronic media or are received by the advisor 

solely on electronic media or by electronic transmission. 

I. Any book or record made, kept, maintained, and preserved 

in compliance with SEC Rules 17a-3 (17 CFR 240.17a-3) and 

17a-4 (17 CFR 240.17a-4) under the Securities Exchange Act 

of 1934, which is substantially the same as the book, or other 

record required to be made, kept, maintained, and preserved 

under this section shall be deemed to be made, kept, 

maintained, and preserved in compliance with this section. 

J. For purposes of this section, "investment supervisory 

services" means the giving of continuous advice as to the 

investment of funds on the basis of the individual needs of 

each client; and "discretionary power" shall not include 

discretion as to the price at which or the time when a 

transaction is or is to be effected if, before the order is given 

by the investment advisor, the client has directed or approved 

the purchase or sale of a definite amount of the particular 

security. 

K. For purposes of this section, "principal place of business" 

and "principal office" mean the executive office of the 

investment advisor from which the officers, partners, or 

managers of the investment advisor direct, control, and 

coordinate the activities of the investment advisor. 

L. Every investment advisor registered or required to be 

registered in this Commonwealth and has its principal place 

of business in a state other than the Commonwealth shall be 

exempt from the requirements of this section to the extent 

provided by the National Securities Markets Improvement 

Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290), provided the investment 

advisor is licensed in such state and is in compliance with 

such state's recordkeeping requirements. 

21VAC5-80-200. Dishonest or unethical practices. 

A. An investment advisor or federal covered advisor is a 

fiduciary and has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his 

clients. While the extent and nature of this duty varies 

according to the nature of the relationship between an 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor and his clients 

and the circumstances of each case, an investment advisor or 

federal covered advisor who is registered or required to be 

registered shall not engage in unethical practices, including 

the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 

supervisory, management or consulting services are 

provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 

without reasonable grounds to believe that the 

recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 

information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 

concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 

situation, risk tolerance and needs, and any other 

information known or acquired by the investment advisor 

or federal covered advisor after reasonable examination of 

the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 
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first having obtained a written third-party authorization 

from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 

for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 

obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 

within 10 business days after the date of the first 

transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 

unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 

which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 

amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 

size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 

investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 

client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor, or a financial institution 

engaged in the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 

or federal covered advisor is a financial institution engaged 

in the business of loaning funds or the client is an affiliate 

of the investment advisor or federal covered advisor. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 

advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 

or federal covered advisor, or misrepresenting the nature of 

the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged 

for the services, or omission to state a material fact 

necessary to make the statements made regarding 

qualifications services or fees, in light of the circumstances 

under which they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 

client prepared by someone other than the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor without disclosing that 

fact. This prohibition does not apply to a situation where 

the advisor uses published research reports or statistical 

analyses to render advice or where an advisor orders such a 

report in the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 

of the fees charged by other investment advisors or federal 

covered advisors providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 

advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 

to the investment advisor or federal covered advisor or any 

of his employees which could reasonably be expected to 

impair the rendering of unbiased and objective advice 

including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 

services to clients which are in addition to compensation 

from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 

when a commission for executing securities transactions 

pursuant to such advice will be received by the advisor or 

his employees. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 

achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 

any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 

service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 

advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

that were or would have been profitable to any person; 

except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 

representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 

recommendations made by the investment advisor or 

investment advisor representative within the immediately 

preceding period of not less than one year if the 

advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 

and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 

that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 

be acted upon, and the most recently available market 

price of each security; and 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 

that states that the reader should not assume that 

recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 

will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 

device being offered can be used to determine which 

securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 

which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 

chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 

any person in making that person's own decisions as to 

which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 

them, without prominently disclosing in the 

advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 

associated to its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 

will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 

report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 

furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 

condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 

advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 

is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 

includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2961 

communication addressed to more than one person, or any 

notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 

publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 

offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 

securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 

securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 

client to any third party unless required by law or an order 

of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 

consented to by the client, or failing to comply with any 

applicable privacy provision or standard promulgated by 

the SEC or by a self-regulatory organization approved by 

the SEC. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 

those securities or funds in which any client has any 

beneficial interest, where the investment advisor has 

custody or possession of such securities or funds, when the 

investment advisor's action is subject to and does not 

comply with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-

146. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 

advisory contract unless the contract is in writing and 

discloses, in substance, the services to be provided, the 

term of the contract, the advisory fee, the formula for 

computing the fee, the amount of prepaid fee to be returned 

in the event of contract termination or nonperformance, 

whether the contract grants discretionary power to the 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor and that no 

assignment of such contract shall be made by the 

investment advisor or federal covered advisor without the 

consent of the other party to the contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 

customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 

investment advice for compensation or any materially 

related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 

will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 

contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 

Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 

equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 

or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 

securities, either directly or indirectly or through 

publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 

analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 

implies that the user has special certification or training in 

advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 

way as to mislead any person. 

a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute;  

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or  

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales or marketing.  

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2962 

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 

when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization.  

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under § 3 

(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-3(a)(1)).  

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of the law. 

B. An investment advisor representative is a fiduciary and 

has a duty to act primarily for the benefit of his clients. While 

the extent and nature of this duty varies according to the 

nature of the relationship between an investment advisor 

representative and his clients and the circumstances of each 

case, an investment advisor representative who is registered 

or required to be registered shall not engage in unethical 

practices, including the following: 

1. Recommending to a client to whom investment 

supervisory, management or consulting services are 

provided the purchase, sale or exchange of any security 

without reasonable grounds to believe that the 

recommendation is suitable for the client on the basis of 

information furnished by the client after reasonable inquiry 

concerning the client's investment objectives, financial 

situation and needs, and any other information known or 

acquired by the investment advisor representative after 

reasonable examination of the client's financial records. 

2. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client without written authority to do so. 

3. Placing an order to purchase or sell a security for the 

account of a client upon instruction of a third party without 

first having obtained a written third-party authorization 

from the client. 

4. Exercising any discretionary power in placing an order 

for the purchase or sale of securities for a client without 

obtaining written discretionary authority from the client 

within 10 business days after the date of the first 

transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary authority, 

unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at 

which, or the time when, an order involving a definite 

amount of a specified security shall be executed, or both. 

5. Inducing trading in a client's account that is excessive in 

size or frequency in view of the financial resources, 

investment objectives and character of the account. 

6. Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the 

client is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment 

advisor representative, or a financial institution engaged in 

the business of loaning funds or securities. 

7. Loaning money to a client unless the investment advisor 

representative is engaged in the business of loaning funds 

or the client is an affiliate of the investment advisor 

representative. 

8. Misrepresenting to any advisory client, or prospective 

advisory client, the qualifications of the investment advisor 

representative, or misrepresenting the nature of the 

advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for 

the services, or omission to state a material fact necessary 

to make the statements made regarding qualifications, 

services or fees, in light of the circumstances under which 

they are made, not misleading. 

9. Providing a report or recommendation to any advisory 

client prepared by someone other than the investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor who the investment 

advisor representative is employed by or associated with 

without disclosing that fact. This prohibition does not 

apply to a situation where the investment advisor or federal 

covered advisor uses published research reports or 

statistical analyses to render advice or where an investment 

advisor or federal covered advisor orders such a report in 

the normal course of providing service. 

10. Charging a client an unreasonable advisory fee in light 

of the fees charged by other investment advisor 

representatives providing essentially the same services. 

11. Failing to disclose to clients in writing before any 

advice is rendered any material conflict of interest relating 

to the investment advisor representative which could 

reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased 

and objective advice including: 

a. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory 

services to clients which are in addition to compensation 

from such clients for such services; or 

b. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice 

when a commission for executing securities transactions 

pursuant to such advice will be received by the 

investment advisor representative. 

12. Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be 

achieved as a result of the advice which will be rendered. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2963 

13. Directly or indirectly using any advertisement that does 

any one of the following: 

a. Refers to any testimonial of any kind concerning the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

or concerning any advice, analysis, report, or other 

service rendered by the investment advisor or investment 

advisor representative; 

b. Refers to past specific recommendations of the 

investment advisor or investment advisor representative 

that were or would have been profitable to any person; 

except that an investment advisor or investment advisor 

representative may furnish or offer to furnish a list of all 

recommendations made by the investment advisor or 

investment advisor representative within the immediately 

preceding period of not less than one year if the 

advertisement or list also includes both of the following: 

(1) The name of each security recommended, the date 

and nature of each recommendation, the market price at 

that time, the price at which the recommendation was to 

be acted upon, and the most recently available market 

price of each security; and 

(2) A legend on the first page in prominent print or type 

that states that the reader should not assume that 

recommendations made in the future will be profitable or 

will equal the performance of the securities in the list; 

c. Represents that any graph, chart, formula, or other 

device being offered can be used to determine which 

securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell them; or 

which represents, directly or indirectly, that any graph, 

chart, formula, or other device being offered will assist 

any person in making that person's own decisions as to 

which securities to buy or sell, or when to buy or sell 

them, without prominently disclosing in the 

advertisement the limitations thereof and the risks 

associated with its use; 

d. Represents that any report, analysis, or other service 

will be furnished for free or without charge, unless the 

report, analysis, or other service actually is or will be 

furnished entirely free and without any direct or indirect 

condition or obligation; 

e. Represents that the commission has approved any 

advertisement; or 

f. Contains any untrue statement of a material fact, or that 

is otherwise false or misleading.  

For the purposes of this section, the term "advertisement" 

includes any notice, circular, letter, or other written 

communication addressed to more than one person, or any 

notice or other announcement in any electronic or paper 

publication, by radio or television, or by any medium, that 

offers any one of the following: 

(i) Any analysis, report, or publication concerning 

securities; 

(ii) Any analysis, report, or publication that is to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security or which security to buy or sell; 

(iii) Any graph, chart, formula, or other device to be used 

in making any determination as to when to buy or sell 

any security, or which security to buy or sell; or 

(iv) Any other investment advisory service with regard to 

securities. 

14. Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any 

client to any third party unless required by law or an order 

of a court or a regulatory agency to do so, or unless 

consented to by the client. 

15. Taking any action, directly or indirectly, with respect to 

those securities or funds in which any client has any 

beneficial interest, where the investment advisor 

representative other than a person associated with a federal 

covered advisor has custody or possession of such 

securities or funds, when the investment advisor 

representative's action is subject to and does not comply 

with the safekeeping requirements of 21VAC5-80-146. 

16. Entering into, extending or renewing any investment 

advisory or federal covered advisory contract unless such 

contract is in writing and discloses, in substance, the 

services to be provided, the term of the contract, the 

advisory fee, the formula for computing the fee, the 

amount of prepaid fee to be returned in the event of 

contract termination or nonperformance, whether the 

contract grants discretionary power to the investment 

advisor representative and that no assignment of such 

contract shall be made by the investment advisor 

representative without the consent of the other party to the 

contract. 

17. Failing to clearly and separately disclose to its 

customer, prior to any security transaction, providing 

investment advice for compensation or any materially 

related transaction that the customer's funds or securities 

will be in the custody of an investment advisor or 

contracted custodian in a manner that does not provide 

Securities Investor Protection Corporation protection, or 

equivalent third-party coverage over the customer's assets. 

18. Using a certification or professional designation in 

connection with the provision of advice as to the value of 

or the advisability of investing in, purchasing, or selling 

securities, either directly or indirectly or through 

publications or writings, or by issuing or promulgating 

analyses or reports relating to securities that indicates or 

implies that the user has special certification or training in 

advising or servicing senior citizens or retirees in such a 

way as to mislead any person. 
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a. The use of such certification or professional 

designation includes, but is not limited to, the following:  

(1) Use of a certification or designation by a person who 

has not actually earned or is otherwise ineligible to use 

such certification or designation;  

(2) Use of a nonexistent or self-conferred certification or 

professional designation;  

(3) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

indicates or implies a level of occupational qualifications 

obtained through education, training, or experience that 

the person using the certification or professional 

designation does not have; or  

(4) Use of a certification or professional designation that 

was obtained from a designating or certifying 

organization that:  

(a) Is primarily engaged in the business of instruction in 

sales or marketing;  

(b) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

assuring the competency of its designees or certificants;  

(c) Does not have reasonable standards or procedures for 

monitoring and disciplining its designees or certificants 

for improper or unethical conduct; or  

(d) Does not have reasonable continuing education 

requirements for its designees or certificants in order to 

maintain the designation or certificate.  

b. There is a rebuttable presumption that a designating or 

certifying organization is not disqualified solely for 

purposes of subdivision 18 a (4) of this subsection, when 

the organization has been accredited by: 

(1) The American National Standards Institute; 

(2) The Institute for Credentialing Excellence (formerly 

the National Commission for Certifying Agencies); or 

(3) An organization that is on the United States 

Department of Education's list entitled "Accrediting 

Agencies Recognized for Title IV Purposes" and the 

designation or credential issued therefrom does not 

primarily apply to sales or marketing. 

c. In determining whether a combination of words (or an 

acronym standing for a combination of words) 

constitutes a certification or professional designation 

indicating or implying that a person has special 

certification or training in advising or servicing senior 

citizens or retirees, factors to be considered shall include:  

(1) Use of one or more words such as "senior," 

"retirement," "elder," or like words, combined with one 

or more words such as "certified," "chartered," "adviser," 

"specialist," "consultant," "planner," or like words, in the 

name of the certification or professional designation; and  

(2) The manner in which those words are combined.  

d. For purposes of this section, a certification or 

professional designation does not include a job title 

within an organization that is licensed or registered by a 

state or federal financial services regulatory agency, 

when that job title:  

(1) Indicates seniority within the organization; or  

(2) Specifies an individual's area of specialization within 

the organization. 

For purposes of this subdivision d, "financial services 

regulatory agency" includes, but is not limited to, an 

agency that regulates broker-dealers, investment 

advisers, or investment companies as defined under 

§ 3(a)(1) of the Investment Company Act of 1940 

(15 USC § 80a-3(a)(1). 

e. Nothing in this regulation shall limit the commission's 

authority to enforce existing provisions of law. 

C. The conduct set forth in subsections A and B of this 

section is not all inclusive. Engaging in other conduct such as 

nondisclosure, incomplete disclosure, or deceptive practices 

may be deemed an unethical business practice except to the 

extent permitted by the National Securities Markets 

Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

D. The provisions of this section shall apply to federal 

covered advisors to the extent that fraud or deceit is involved, 

or as otherwise permitted by the National Securities Markets 

Improvement Act of 1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-290 (96)). 

E. An investment advisor or investment advisor 

representative may delay or refuse to place an order or to 

disburse funds that may involve or result in the financial 

exploitation of an individual pursuant to § 63.2-1606 L of the 

Code of Virginia. 

F. For purposes of the section, any mandatory arbitration 

provision in an advisory contract shall be prohibited. 

G. The investment advisor and investment advisor 

representative shall notify the Division of Securities and 

Retail Franchising, State Corporation Commission and the 

client of an unauthorized access to records that may expose a 

client's identity or investments to a third party within three 

business days of the discovery of the unauthorized access. 

21VAC5-80-260. Information security and privacy. 

A. Every investment advisor registered or required to be 

registered shall establish, implement, update, and enforce 

written physical security and cybersecurity policies and 

procedures reasonably designed to ensure the confidentiality, 

integrity, and availability of physical and electronic records 

and information. The policies and procedures shall be tailored 

to the investment advisor's business model, taking into 
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account the size of the firm, type of services provided, and the 

number of locations of the investment advisor. 

1. The physical security and cybersecurity policies and 

procedures shall: 

a. Protect against reasonably anticipated threats or 

hazards to the security or integrity of client records and 

information; 

b. Ensure that the investment advisor safeguards 

confidential client records and information; and 

c. Protect any records and information the release of 

which could result in harm or inconvenience to any 

client. 

2. The physical security and cybersecurity policies and 

procedures shall cover at least five functions: 

a. The organizational understanding to manage 

information security risk to systems, assets, data, and 

capabilities; 

b. The appropriate safeguards to ensure delivery of 

critical infrastructure services; 

c. The appropriate activities to identify the occurrence of 

an information security event; 

d. The appropriate activities to take action regarding a 

detected information security event; and 

e. The appropriate activities to maintain plans for 

resilience and to restore any capabilities or services that 

were impaired due to an information security event. 

3. The investment advisor shall review, no less frequently 

than annually, and modify, as needed, these policies and 

procedures to ensure the adequacy of the security measures 

and the effectiveness of their implementation. 

B. The investment advisor shall deliver upon the investment 

advisor's engagement by a client, and on an annual basis 

thereafter, a privacy policy to each client that is reasonably 

designed to aid in the client's understanding of how the 

investment advisor collects and shares, to the extent permitted 

by state and federal law, nonpublic personal information. The 

investment advisor shall promptly update and deliver to each 

client an amended privacy policy if any of the information in 

the policy becomes inaccurate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5907; Filed June 28, 2019, 12:01 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from Article 

2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-80. Auxiliary Grants 

Program (amending 22VAC30-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7531, or email 

tishaun.harrisugworji@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 657 and 658 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendment allows individuals receiving 

auxiliary grants to select supportive housing without any 

requirement that such individuals wait until their first or 

any subsequent annual reassessment to make such 

selection. 

22VAC30-80-20. Assessment.  

A. In order to receive payment from the AG for care in an 

ALF or an AFC home, an individual applying for AG shall 

have been assessed by a qualified assessor using the UAI in 

accordance with 22VAC30-110 and determined to need 

residential or assisted living care or AFC.  

B. As a condition of eligibility for the AG, a UAI shall be 

completed on an individual prior to admission, except for an 

emergency placement as documented and approved by a 

Virginia adult protective services worker; at least once 

annually; and whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's level of care, and a determination is made that the 

individual needs residential or assisted living care in an ALF 

or, AFC home, or SH setting. 

C. The ALF or, AFC, or SH provider is prohibited from 

charging a security deposit or any other form of compensation 

for providing a room and services to the individual. The 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2966 

collection or receipt of money, gift, donation or other 

consideration from or on behalf of an individual for any 

services provided is prohibited. 

D. In order to receive payment from the AG for care in the 

SH setting, an individual shall be evaluated by a qualified 

assessor in accordance with § 51.5-160 E of the Code of 

Virginia. Eligible individuals shall be notified of the SH 

setting option and the availability of approved SH providers 

at the time of their first assessment and annual level of care 

assessment. The individual may select, subject to availability, 

SH or ALF at any time after the first assessment or any 

subsequent annual reassessment as long as the individual 

meets the criteria for residential or assisted living level of 

care and subject to the availability of the selected housing 

option. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5897; Filed June 25, 2019, 10:25 a.m.  



GOVERNOR 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2967 

GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-THREE (2019) 

Continuing the Governor's Advisory Commission 
on Quality Child Care and Education 

Importance of the Issue 

As Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia, I am 

committed to ensuring the prosperity of Virginia. The 

Commonwealth employs approximately 100,000 employees. 

Many of these employees play a critically-important role 

outside of their working hours – that of a parent. These 

employees work hard to secure a future that is bright and full 

of opportunity for their children. The Commonwealth should 

ensure a supportive work environment where employees can 

work toward the success of their families and the 

Commonwealth. 

Currently, state employees across the Commonwealth 

struggle with the access to and affordability of quality early 

care and learning environments for their children. Childhood 

is a time of development and discovery for parent and child 

alike. Having a reliable, safe, and nurturing environment 

where young children can grow and explore individual 

potential is key to a parent's ability to be a productive 

member of the workforce. In order to compete to recruit and 

retain talented young employees, the Commonwealth must 

support state employees' ability to access and afford early 

care and learning for their children. 

Establishment and Composition of the Commission 

Thus, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor, 

under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and §§ 2.2-

134, 2.2-135 and 2.2-2100 of the Code of Virginia, and 

subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and 

responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby continue the 

Virginia Advisory Commission on Quality Child Care and 

Education (Commission). Focusing on an area that reflects 

the highest concentration of the state government's labor 

force, the Commission will explore the feasibility of 

providing an evidence-based early care and learning program 

for young children of state employees working on and around 

Capitol Square in Richmond. 

The Commission's membership shall be appointed by the 

Governor and co-chaired by the Secretaries of Education and 

Health and Human Resources or their designees (Co-Chairs). 

Membership shall also consist of the following: 

• A representative from the Office of the First Lady; 

• The Secretary of Administration or her designee; 

• Two members from the House of Delegates, as 

recommended by the Speaker of the House; 

• One member from the Senate, as recommended by the 

President pro tempore of the Senate; and 

• Experts in early childhood education and development, as 

appointed by the Governor. 

The Governor may appoint other members deemed necessary 

to carry out the assigned functions of the Commission. The 

Commission will meet upon the call of the Co-Chairs and will 

issue a report regarding their findings and recommendations 

no later than November 1, 2019, and any additional reports 

and recommendations as necessary or as requested by the 

Governor. 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 

Secretary of Education, the Secretary of Health and Human 

Resources, the Office of the Governor, and any other agencies 

or offices as may be designated by the Governor. An 

estimated 100 hours of staff time will be required to support 

the work of the Commission. 

Our workforce is only as strong, resilient, and adaptive as we 

enable it to be. It is my hope that the Commission's findings 

and recommendations will be shared to promote best 

practices across the Commonwealth. More particularly, by 

seeking to nurture the growth of our children, while assisting 

their parents in managing a work-life balance, I want the 

Commonwealth to set an example – an example other 

government and private sector employers will follow. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and 

shall remain in full force and effect for a year from its 

signing, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 25th day of June, 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-FOUR (2019) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency for the 
Commonwealth of Virginia Due to Highway 

Damages from Flooding 

Importance of the Issue 

On this date, June 11, 2019, I am declaring a state of 

emergency to exist for the Commonwealth of Virginia due to 

flooding that affected roadways in the southwest portions of 

the Commonwealth during February 24, 2019 – March 3, 

2019. 

The health and general welfare of the citizens require that 

state action be taken to help alleviate the conditions caused by 

this situation. The effects of this incident constitute a disaster 

wherein human life and public and private property are 

imperiled, as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by  

§ 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, as Governor and as 

Director of Emergency Management, and by virtue of the 

authority vested in me by Article V, Section 7 of the 

Constitution of Virginia and by § 44-75.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, as Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the armed 

forces of the Commonwealth, and subject always to my 

continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act in 

such matters, I declare that a state of emergency exists, and I 

am directing that appropriate assistance be rendered by 

agencies of both state and local governments to respond to the 

impacts of this severe weather event, alleviate any conditions 

resulting from the incident, and to implement recovery and 

mitigation operations and activities so as to return impacted 

areas to pre-event conditions in so far as possible. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures to meet this 

threat and recover from its effects, and in accordance with my 

authority contained in § 44-146.17 of the Code of Virginia, I 

hereby order the following protective and restoration 

measures: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan (COVEOP) along with 

other appropriate state agency plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

(VEOC) and the Virginia Emergency Support Team (VEST), 

as directed by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, to coordinate the provision of assistance to 

local governments and emergency services assignments of 

other agencies as necessary and determined by the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management and other agencies 

as appropriate. 

C. Implementation by public agencies of their emergency 

assignments under my supervision and control as directed in 

the COVEOP without regard to normal procedures pertaining 

to performance of public work, entering into contracts, 

incurring of obligations or other logistical and support 

measures of the Emergency Services and Disaster Laws, as 

provided in § 44-146.28(b) Code of Virginia. Section 44-

146.24 of the Code of Virginia also applies to the disaster 

activities of state agencies. 

D. Upon my approval, the costs incurred by state agencies 

and other agents in performing mission assignments through 

the VEOC of the Commonwealth as defined herein and in 

§ 44 146.28 of the Code of Virginia, other than costs defined 

in the paragraphs above pertaining to the Virginia National 

Guard and pertaining to the Virginia Defense Force, in 

performing these missions shall be paid from state funds. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective February 24, 2019, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until July 11, 2019, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of the Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal-type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 27th day of June 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-FIVE (2019) 

Advancing Equity for Small-, Women-, Minority-, 
and Service Disabled Veteran-Owned Businesses in 

State Contracting 

Importance of the Issue 

State contracting provides the catalyst for economic 

opportunity and expands access for many businesses. As part 

of this process, it is imperative for Virginia to maximize the 

participation of small businesses, including those owned by 

women, minorities, and service disabled veterans, in state 

contractual work. For Virginia to remain competitive and 

continue to advance its small business goals, significant work 

must be done for a more transparent, equitable, and inclusive 

process. 

Furthermore, Virginia must work to maximize participation 

of a diverse group of vendors in state contractual work. 

Virginia has a long history of racial inequality and 

disenfranchisement of minority communities. We have made 

some progress in the last six decades since the civil rights 

movement began, but not enough. Additionally, in June we 

celebrate the centennial anniversary of Congress passing the 

women's right to vote. One hundred years later, however, 

women are more likely to live in poverty, economic gender 

inequality continues, and women are underrepresented in 

elected office, business, and the workforce. 

The Commonwealth conducted procurement disparity studies 

in 2002 and 2009. The 2002 study resulted in a 2004 report, 

which found that from 1998 to 2002, only 1.27 percent of 

total state contracts were awarded to women-owned and 

minority-owned businesses. The 2009 study which was 

published in a 2011 report found that for 2007, 2.82 percent 

of total state contracts were awarded to women-owned and 

minority-owned businesses. While this showed movement, 

the update found continued disparity between the availability 

and utilization of women-owned and minority-owned 

businesses in all business categories of prime contractors 

including (i) construction, (ii) architecture and engineering, 

(iii) professional services, (iv) nonprofessional services, and 

(v) goods and supplies. As part of the effort under this 

Executive Order, a new disparity study must be conducted. 
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Directive 

To provide for a more equitable and inclusive process, I am 

directing the following executive branch agencies and 

institutions of higher education that have statutory authority 

over procurement, in conjunction with the Department of 

Small Business and Supplier Diversity (DSBSD), as provided 

in § 2.2-1605(A)(6) of the Code of Virginia, to implement the 

requirements herein within their respective areas of 

procurement authority: Department of General Services 

(DGS), Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA), 

Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), those 

institutions of higher education that have autonomy in 

procurement granted under the Restructured Higher 

Education Financial and Administrative Operations Act 

(Code of Virginia § 23.1-1000, et seq.), and all other 

executive branch agencies that have statutory authority for 

procurement. 

For purposes of this Executive Order: 1) "Executive Branch 

Agency" shall mean all entities in the executive branch, 

including agencies, authorities, commissions, departments, 

and all institutions of higher education; 2) "small businesses" 

shall include, but not be limited to, small, any subcategory of 

small, small women-owned, small minority-owned, or small 

service disabled veteran-owned businesses (SWaM). 

Initiatives 

With a continuing rational basis for small business 

enhancement, and pursuant to the authority vested in me as 

Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, 

§ 2.2-4310(C) of the Code of Virginia, and applicable 

Memoranda of Understanding and Management Agreements 

entered into pursuant to Code of Virginia § 23.1-1000, et seq., 

I hereby direct my Cabinet Secretaries and all Executive 

Branch Agencies as follows: 

1. That the Commonwealth exceed a target goal of 42 percent 

of discretionary spending for Executive Branch Agencies 

with small businesses certified by DSBSD, which would be 

the highest percentage of expenditures since FY 2004. This 

percentage applies to discretionary spending in categories 

from which the Commonwealth derives procurement orders, 

prime contracts, and subcontracts. DSBSD, in consultation 

with Executive Branch Agencies with procurement 

responsibilities, shall advance this procurement goal. Further, 

for all new capital outlay construction solicitations issued, 

Executive Branch Agencies shall include a requirement for a 

target goal of 50 percent subcontracting to small businesses. 

Each Executive Branch Agency shall submit annual agency 

SWaM plans to DSBSD on September 1, to include 

promotion and utilization of: small, any subcategory of small, 

small women-owned, small minority-owned, small service 

disabled veteran-owned, and employment service 

organizations. Executive Branch Agencies shall review and 

update their goals, policies, and procedures to conform with 

this Executive Order and the implementing regulations 

adopted pursuant to § 2.2-1605(A)(6) of the Code of Virginia 

and thereby ensure that a greater percentage of purchases is 

made from certified small businesses in goods, services, and 

construction categories from which the Commonwealth 

makes its purchases. 

2. Continue the subcategory of small businesses eligible for 

micro business designation, which includes those certified 

small businesses that have no more than 25 employees and no 

more than $3 million in average annual revenue over the 

three-year period prior to certification. 

3. Conduct an updated disparity study on women- and 

minority-owned business participation in the 

Commonwealth's procurement transactions. The 2004 and 

2011 disparity study reports provided an analysis that 

documented a statistically significant disparity between the 

availability and utilization of women-owned and minority-

owned businesses, indicating a need for a narrowly-tailored 

race and gender conscious program. However, these studies 

need to be updated to ensure that any policy derived there 

from will withstand legal scrutiny. As required in § 2.2-4310 

of the Code of Virginia, I hereby direct the DSBSD to 

contract with a qualified, independent third party to conduct a 

disparity assessment on the status of women-owned and 

minority-owned business participation in the 

Commonwealth's procurement transactions. This study shall: 

(i) determine if disparity exists and (ii) if so, determine why 

the disparity exists and what solutions or remedies could be 

implemented, specifically evaluating narrowly-tailored race 

and gender conscious programs. I further direct all Executive 

Branch Agencies to support and provide requested data to 

DSBSD to facilitate this comprehensive study. 

4. Executive Branch Agencies shall formulate policies and 

procedures for a set-aside program, which shall, at a 

minimum, require that purchases up to $100,000 for goods, 

nonprofessional services, and construction, and up to $80,000 

for professional services, be set aside for award to DSBSD-

certified small businesses when the price quoted is fair and 

reasonable and does not exceed 5 percent of the lowest 

responsive and responsible noncertified bidder. Purchases up 

to $10,000 shall be set aside for award to micro businesses 

when the price quoted is fair and reasonable and does not 

exceed 5 percent of the lowest responsive and responsible 

noncertified bidder. 

5. Executive branch agencies shall formulate policies and 

procedures to require a small business subcontracting plan in 

all procurements over $100,000. Each bidder/offeror shall be 

required to submit their bid/proposal and their small business 

sub-contracting plan using DGS's central electronic 

procurement system, except for VDOT contracts for highway 

construction and design projects. Such plans shall identify all 

planned utilization of (i) small businesses, (ii) subcategory of 

small businesses, (iii) small women-owned businesses, (iv) 
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small minority-owned businesses, and (v) small service 

disabled veteran-owned businesses. 

6. Each prime contractor shall be required to report 

compliance with its small subcontracting plans using DGS's 

central electronic procurement system, except for VDOT 

contracts for highway construction and design projects. 

Before final payment is made, the purchasing agency shall 

confirm that the prime contractor certified compliance with 

the contract's small business subcontracting plan. If there are 

any variances between the prime contractor's required small 

business subcontracting plan and the actual participation, the 

prime contractor shall provide a written explanation to the 

purchasing agency. The written explanation shall be kept with 

the contract file and made available upon request. 

Contracts and renewals shall include a provision allowing 

final payment to be withheld until the prime contractor 

complies with its small business subcontracting plan. Prior to 

entering into a new contract or renewing a contract with a 

prime contractor, a purchasing agency shall review a 

contractor's record of compliance with small business 

subcontracting plan requirements. A prime contractor's failure 

to meet satisfactorily designated small business 

subcontracting procurement plan requirements shall be 

considered in the prospective award or renewal of any future 

contracts with the prime contractor. 

7. To ensure that all SWaM businesses have one central site 

to provide transparency to all Virginia opportunities and 

contracts, Executive Branch Agencies shall utilize DGS's 

central electronic procurement system to post current and 

future procurement and subcontracting opportunities. 

Executive Branch Agencies shall use DGS's central electronic 

procurement system beginning at the point of requisitioning 

for all procurement actions, including but not limited to 

technology, transportation, professional services, and 

construction. This data will also be instrumental in the 

facilitation of the disparity study. 

8. Notwithstanding paragraphs 5, 6, and 7, institutions of 

higher education with statutory authority for procurement 

shall provide such data or plans as required using DGS's 

central electronic procurement system or by integration or 

interface with the DGS system. 

9. Institutions of higher education shall work with the 

Secretary of Administration, Secretary of Commerce and 

Trade, and the Secretary of Education to define best practices 

and assist the Commonwealth in its work to advance equity 

for small-, women-, minority-, and service disabled veteran-

owned businesses in state contracting. 

Collaborative Agency Efforts 

The above initiatives will spur creativity, promote economic 

development, and encourage procurement participation by 

small businesses, including those owned by women, 

minorities, and service disabled veterans. In support of the 

initiatives set out above, I further direct the following actions 

to be taken by Cabinet Secretaries and Executive Branch 

Agencies: 

1. DSBSD, in conjunction with DGS, VITA, VDOT, and 

institutions of higher education with procurement autonomy, 

shall implement initiatives to enhance the development of 

small businesses in Virginia. Such initiatives shall include, 

but not be limited to: 

• Information on access to capital, including contract 

financing, bonding support, and other opportunities for 

economic development as well as management and 

technical assistance programs; 

• Partnerships and outreach with local business groups, 

chambers of commerce, and other organizations to develop 

a diverse vendor base; and 

• Statewide mentor protégé programs. 

2. DSBSD, in collaboration with DGS and institutions of 

higher education with procurement autonomy, shall conduct a 

vendor outreach training program throughout the 

Commonwealth. Such training shall include instructions on 

how to obtain certification from DSBSD as well as 

registration with and research through the DGS's central 

electronic procurement system. The training should 

encourage SWaM participation and help businesses overcome 

identified barriers. 

3. Executive Branch Agencies shall review the efficacy of 

implementing other small business enhancement tools and 

processes, such as: 

• Unbundling contracts; 

• Relaxing the requirement for mandatory attendance at 

pre-bid meetings; 

• Expanding time to respond to small purchase 

solicitations; and 

• Streamlining the paperwork required of small businesses. 

4. All Executive Branch Agencies shall include updated 

SWaM regulations and/or guidelines to reflect the 

requirements of this Executive Order in purchasing manuals, 

regulations, and guidelines. 

5. Executive Branch Agencies shall actively recruit small 

businesses to seek certification from DSBSD, to register on 

DGS's central procurement system, and to compete for state 

procurement opportunities. 

6. VDOT, for road and bridge construction, and DGS, for 

construction, shall develop guidelines to be used by 

Executive Branch Agencies in making construction 

mobilization payments to businesses when reasonable and 

necessary to facilitate contract initiation. 



Governor 

Volume 35, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 22, 2019 

2971 

7. The Virginia Economic Development Partnership (VEDP) 

shall send DSBSD its regular report to the Secretary of 

Commerce and Trade on new economic development 

announcements of business activity in the Commonwealth, 

including those announcements in which VEDP provided an 

administered economic incentive. Such report will enable 

DSBSD to ascertain in a timely manner what opportunities 

the activity may bring for Virginia's SWaM businesses. 

8. Each Executive Branch Agencies shall designate a SWaM 

equity champion to ensure equity in the solicitation of 

procurement proposals/bids and awarding of contracts. 

9. DSBSD, in collaboration from DGS, VITA, and 

institutions of higher education with procurement autonomy, 

shall develop equity in procurement trainings for agency 

heads, presidents of institutions of higher education, and 

senior managers with procurement oversight. Such training 

shall be completed annually. 

10. DSBSD and DGS may coordinate with the Virginia 

Association of Counties, the Virginia Municipal League, and 

the Virginia Association of Governmental Purchasing to 

identify opportunities for state and local government entities 

to collaborate in order to maximize procurement equity for 

small businesses. 

Reporting Requirements 

1. Cabinet Secretaries shall monitor their agencies' and higher 

education institution's spending with all certified small 

businesses and meet with the Governor, or his designee, 

quarterly to discuss the agencies' performance. DSBSD shall 

develop a standard reporting format for such purposes. The 

report shall include information on purchases made from all 

certified small businesses. In addition, the Secretary of 

Commerce and Trade will assess overall state performance 

and report quarterly to the Governor. 

Each Cabinet Secretary shall evaluate the performance of 

their agencies and institutions of higher education in 

implementing these directives. DSBSD, in cooperation with 

each Cabinet Secretary, shall provide quarterly reports to the 

Secretary of Commerce and Trade regarding the 

Commonwealth's progress in enhancing opportunities for 

SWaM businesses. The reports shall delineate the 

Commonwealth's spending in detail by SWaM category and 

agency. 

2. Executive Branch Agencies with procurement 

responsibilities shall review practices, procedures, and 

proposal evaluation criteria to identify and remove barriers or 

limitations to SWaM participation. A section on "barriers or 

limitations" shall be included in annual Executive Branch 

Agency SWaM plans. SWaM plans shall be developed and 

submitted to DSBSD by September 1. DSBSD shall submit 

the annual SWaM Plan Compliance Report to the Secretary of 

Commerce and Trade on October 1 of each fiscal year. 

Effective Date of this Order 

This Executive Order rescinds and replaces Executive Order 

20 (2014), issued by Governor Terence R. McAuliffe and 

shall be effective upon its signing and shall remain in full 

force and effect unless amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 3rd day of July 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the ini tial or 
additional public comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies to initiate or extend a public 
comment period. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance 
document to access it. Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Title of Document: Administrative Policy and Procedure. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Marcello, Information and Policy 

Advisor, Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

402, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2006, or 

email elizabeth.marcello@boa.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Adult Protective Services Division Manual, August 2019. 

Auxiliary Grant Policy Manual Chapters B, C, I and K (June 

2019). 

Auxiliary Grant in Supportive Housing: Provider Operating 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents:  

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual. 

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual, Chapter 1 - Title V 

Applicability & Voluntary Limits. 

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual, Chapter 5 - Statement 

of Basis. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Amber Foster, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4319, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Document: Review Process for UECA Environmental 

Covenants. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Michelle Payne, Office of Remediation 

Programs, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4014, or email michelle.payne@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual 

Chapter C - Child Protective Services. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Nicole Shipp, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 726-7574, or email 

nicole.shipp@dss.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual 

Chapter F - Adoption. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Traci B. Jones, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7499, or email 

traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76184005953~1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elizabeth.marcello@boa.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d7c05005953~2l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86fd0005953~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=86fd0005953~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f036d005953~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f036d005953~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4581a005953~5l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37027005953~6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37027005953~6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d01f005953~7s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d01f005953~7s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5826b005953~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5826b005953~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:michelle.payne@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06d57005953~9s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06d57005953~9s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:nicole.shipp@dss.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f881a005953~10n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f881a005953~10n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov.
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia EBT Policy and Procedures 

2019. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Celestine Jackson, Human Services 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 7 North Eighth 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7376, or 

email celestine.jackson@dss.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Social Work Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 21, 2019. 

Effective Date: August 22, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9d97005953~119.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f9d97005953~119.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:celestine.jackson@dss.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=07af6005953~12s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005953&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Dogwood Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar)  

Permit by Rule - Page County 

Dogwood Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Page County. The 

proposed project will be located along Dam Acres Road in 

Stanley. The project will have a maximum generating 

capacity of 20 megawatts alternating current. The solar panels 

will be sited across multiple parcels of land totaling 

approximately 340 acres. Proposed improvements include 

solar arrays and related infrastructure, access roads, fencing, 

possible storm water management best management practices, 

and temporary erosion controls. The site is currently 

agricultural land and is zoned Agricultural (A-1 and AC). 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Rivanna Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar)  
Permit by Rule - Albemarle County 

Rivanna Solar LLC (Rivanna Solar), an affiliate of Apex 

Clean Energy Holdings LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Albemarle County. 

Rivanna Solar is proposed as an approximately 12.5-

megawatt alternating current solar photovoltaic generating 

facility consisting of approximately 38,000 solar panels. The 

proposed project will be located on approximately 150 acres 

of privately owned land in southeastern Albemarle County, 

east of Buck Island Road and south of Thomas Jefferson 

Parkway. Approximate coordinates are 37°58'2.50"N, 

78°24'1.56"W. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

SolUnesco LLC Notice of Withdrawal for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar)  
Permit by Rule - Albemarle County 

SolUnesco LLC has retracted its notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Albemarle County. The 

notice of intent was posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall on October 20, 2016, and published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations on November 14, 2016. For further 

reference, this is a 14-megawatt direct current, 11-megawatt 

alternating current solar farm located at GPS coordinates 

37.9678N, -78.4046E on Thomas Jefferson Parkway and 

Buck Island Road. The new owner for this project, Apex 

Clean Energy, has submitted a new notice of intent for this 

project to reflect an updated ownership LLC and project name 

(Rivanna Solar LLC). 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft EPSDT Supplement B and CCC Plus Waiver 
Chapter V Provider Manuals Available for 

Stakeholder Input 

Public comment period: June 28, 2019, to July 28, 2019. 

Changes to both the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment Supplement B and the CCC Plus Waiver Chapter 

V provider manuals are now posted on the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services website for public comment 

through July 28, 2019. 

This update instructs providers how to bill for electronic visit 

verification services under fee-for-service billing. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Environmental Quality is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

9VAC20-85, Coal Combustion Byproduct Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The public comment period begins July 22, 2019, and ends 

August 12, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Environmental Quality is conducting a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

9VAC25-220, Surface Water Management Area 

Regulation. The review of this regulation will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The public comment period begins July 22, 2019, and ends 

August 12, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 

may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Proposed Consent Order for Merck Sharp & 
Dohme Corp. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Merck Sharp & 

Dohme Corp. for violations at the Merck Sharp & Dohme 

Corp. Elkton Plant. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order with penalty to Merck Sharp & 

Dohme Corp. to address noncompliance with State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Tiffany Severs will 

accept comments by email at 

tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from July 22, 2019, to August 21, 

2019. 

Proposed Consent Order for  
Shore Health Services Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Shore Health 

Services Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law at the 

Riverside Shore Memorial Hospital facility in Nassawadox, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept 

comments by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 

22, 2019, to August 21, 2019. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:tiffany.severs@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
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regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-190. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral Mining. 

Publication: 35:19 VA.R. 2240-2260, May 13, 2019 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2249, second column, 9VAC25-190-70 Part I B 14 a, 

seventh line, after "H" strike "4" and replace "d 3" with "3 d" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5446; Filed July 11, 2019, 11:19 a.m. 
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