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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 
Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 
Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2019 through August 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

35:25 July 17, 2019 August 5, 2019 

35:26 July 31, 2019 August 19, 2019 

36:1 August 14, 2019 September 2, 2019 

36:2 August 28, 2019 September 16, 2019 

36:3 September 11, 2019 September 30, 2019 

36:4 September 25, 2019 October 14, 2019 

36:5 October 9, 2019 October 28, 2019 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-10, State 
Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical 
Assistance Program - General Provisions; 12VAC30-20, 
Administration of Medical Assistance Services; 12VAC30-
30, Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible for 
Eligibility Determination; and 12VAC30-40, Eligibility 
Conditions and Requirements. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to incorporate changes made to the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance to implement Medicaid expansion, 
including (i) establishing the adult eligibility group as a group 
eligible for Medicaid coverage, (ii) updating the Health 
Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program and HIPP for 
Kids program, (iii) making expansion-related changes to the 
federal medical assistance percentage, (iv) updating the 
federal medical assistance percentage for expenditures 
associated with new enrollees, and (v) allowing individuals 
who receive Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
benefits to be moved into Medicaid coverage on an expedited 
basis.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5692; Filed July 3, 2019, 1:36 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-50, 
Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial 
Care Services. The purpose of the proposed action is to add 
the alternative benefit plan available to individuals to the 
State Plan for Medical Assistance to implement Medicaid 
expansion.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5693; Filed July 3, 2019, 1:38 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 
(amending 8VAC20-131-5, 8VAC20-131-51, 8VAC20-131-
80, 8VAC20-131-110, 8VAC20-131-140, 8VAC20-131-
150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 19, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Zachary Robbins, Director of Policy, 
Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2092, or email 
zachary.robbins@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia gives 
the board authority to establish in regulation standards for 
accrediting public schools.  

Purpose: These regulatory changes are proposed in order to 
amend the Board of Education's Regulations Establishing 
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia so that 
the regulations comport with legislation passed by the 2018 
General Assembly. These regulatory changes benefit the 
public welfare by acknowledging and rewarding the 
accomplishments of high school students; encouraging high 
school students to pursue higher education opportunities 
leading to a degree, certificate, or credential; encouraging 
recreation and exercise for students in elementary school; and 
ensuring that high school students earn verified credit in 
history and social studies through a standardized test, thereby 
demonstrating knowledge in the subject matter.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 
amendments to the Standards of Accreditation are mandated 
by legislation enacted by the General Assembly during the 
2018 Session and 2018 Special Session I. This regulatory 
action is noncontroversial because its only purpose is to 
comport the regulations to align with legislation. 

Substance: This regulatory action is necessary to amend the 
Standards of Accreditation to comport with legislation that 

was enacted during the 2018 Session of the General 
Assembly and 2018 Special Session I of the General 
Assembly, including:  

• Chapter 482 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which requires 
the Board of Education to establish criteria for awarding a 
diploma seal for science, technology, engineering, and 
mathematics; 

• Chapter 512 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which permits 
students to exceed a full course load in order to participate in 
courses offered by an institution of higher education that lead 
to a degree, certificate, or credential at the institution; 

• Chapters 784 and 785 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 
permit unstructured recreational time to be included in the 
calculation of required instructional time for elementary 
schools, provided that the unstructured recreational time does 
not exceed 15% of total instructional time. The bill also 
reduces the minimum required instructional time in 
elementary schools for English, mathematics, science, and 
history and social science; and 

• Item 130 D of the 2018 Appropriation Act, which prohibits 
verified credit in history and social science from being 
awarded using a performance-based assessment and provides 
that the only way to earn a verified credit in history and social 
science is through successfully completing (i) a Standards of 
Learning assessment, (ii) a substitute test that incorporates or 
exceeds the course content, or (iii) a locally awarded verified 
credit. 

Issues: These revisions are required by changes in the Code 
of Virginia adopted by the Virginia General Assembly. The 
advantage of the regulatory changes is that they help prepare 
public school students to become successful after graduation 
and will therefore strengthen the Virginia workforce and 
Virginia economy. There are no disadvantages to the public, 
the agency, or the Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapters 482, 512, 784, and 785 of the 2018 Acts 
of Assembly, and Item 130.D of the 2018 Appropriation Act, 
the Board of Education (Board) proposes several amendments 
to the Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting 
Public Schools in Virginia. The Board also proposes to 
remove the criteria for the Board of Education's Science, 
Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Seal 
(currently called Board of Education's Seal of Advanced 
Mathematics and Technology) from the regulation. 
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Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
most of the proposed changes. For one proposed change, 
whether the benefits exceed the costs depend on the policy 
views of the observer. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  

Chapter 482: Prior to the enactment of Chapter 482,1 Code of 
Virginia (COV) § 22.1-253.13:4.E.2 stated that "The Board 
shall establish criteria for awarding a diploma seal for 
advanced mathematics and technology for the Board of 
Education-approved diplomas." The legislation amended that 
to "The Board shall establish criteria for awarding a diploma 
seal for advanced science, technology, engineering, and 
mathematics and technology (STEM) for the Board of 
Education-approved diplomas." Consequently, the Board 
proposes to change in the regulation the name of the seal 
currently called "Board of Education's Seal of Advanced 
Mathematics and Technology" to "Board of Education's 
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) 
Seal." 

The current regulation lists criteria that needs to be met to 
earn the Board of Education's Seal of Advanced Mathematics 
and Technology. In addition to changing the name, the Board 
proposes to remove the criteria from the regulation. 
According to the Department of Education, the criteria will be 
listed on their website. By taking the criteria out of the 
regulation, the Board could make future changes to the 
criteria without going through the time-consuming process 
statutorily required to amend regulatory language. Sensible 
changes could be made more quickly. From a different 
perspective, however, there would be less time and 
opportunity for public participation than is required by the 
Administrative Process Act.2 

Chapter 512: Chapter 5123 states that in establishing 
graduation requirements, the Board shall "Permit students to 
exceed a full course load in order to participate in courses 
offered by an institution of higher education that lead to a 
degree, certificate, or credential at such institution." The 
Board proposes to explicitly state this in the regulation. This 
proposed amendment would have no impact beyond the 
benefit of improving clarity for individuals who read the 
regulation, but not the COV. 

Chapters 784 and 785: The identical Chapters 7844 and 7855 
put forth that unstructured recreational time is to be included 
in any calculation of total instructional time. Specifically, 

§ 1. Local school boards shall provide (i) a minimum of 
680 hours of instructional time to students in elementary 
school, except for students in half-day kindergarten, in 
the four academic disciplines of English, mathematics, 
science, and history and social science and (ii) a 
minimum of 375 hours of instructional time to students 
in half-day kindergarten in the four academic disciplines 

of English, mathematics, science, and history and social 
science. 

§ 2. Local school boards may include and the Board of 
Education shall accept, for elementary school, 
unstructured recreational time that is intended to develop 
teamwork, social skills, and overall physical fitness in 
any calculation of total instructional time or teaching 
hours, provided that such unstructured recreational time 
does not exceed 15 percent of total instructional time or 
teaching hours. 

The Board proposes to amend the regulation to reflect these 
requirements. These proposed amendments would be 
beneficial in that they improve the clarity of requirements in 
effect. 

Appropriation Act: Item 130.D of the 2018 Appropriation 
Act6 provides that the only way to earn a verified credit in 
history and social science is through successfully completing: 
(i) a Standards of Learning assessment; (ii) a substitute test 
that incorporates or exceeds the course content; or (iii) a 
locally awarded verified credit. It specifically prohibits 
verified credit in history and social studies from being 
awarded using a performance-based assessment. The Board 
proposes to amend the regulation to reflect this change. These 
proposed amendments would also be beneficial in that they 
improve the clarity of requirements in effect. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
affect the 132 local school boards and school divisions, the 
schools within those divisions, and staff and students. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
would not likely affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments would not likely affect the use and 
value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 
not likely affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments would not likely adversely affect small 
businesses. 
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Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not likely 
adversely affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would not likely 
adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would not likely 
adversely affect other entities. 

______________________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0482+hil 
2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodepopularnames/administrative-process-
act/ 
3See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0512+hil 
4 See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0784 
5See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0785 
6See https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2018/2/HB5002/Chapter/1/130/ 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the economic impact analysis (EIA) 
completed by the Department of Planning and Budget. While 
the EIA indicates that establishing the STEM diploma seal 
criteria through adopted guidance rather than through 
regulation would limit the opportunity for public comment, 
any guidance adopted by the board is posted as an agenda 
item and can be commented on at the beginning of the board 
meeting. In addition, the new requirements to post guidance 
on Virginia Regulatory Town Hall provide an opportunity for 
public comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform regulations to the following 
legislation adopted during the 2018 Session of the General 
Assembly: 

Chapter 482, which requires the Board of Education to 
establish criteria for awarding a diploma seal for science, 
technology, engineering, and mathematics; 

Chapter 512, which permits students to exceed a full 
course load in order to participate in courses offered by an 
institution of higher education that lead to a degree, 
certificate, or credential at the institution; 

Chapters 784 and 785, which (i) permit unstructured 
recreational time to be included in the calculation of 
required instructional time for elementary schools, 
provided that the unstructured recreational time does not 
exceed 15% of total instructional time and (ii) reduce the 
minimum required instructional time in elementary schools 
for English, mathematics, science, and history and social 
science; and 

Item 130 D of the 2018 Appropriation Act, which prohibits 
verified credit in history and social science from being 
awarded using a performance-based assessment and 

provides that the only way to earn a verified credit in 
history and social science is through successfully 
completing (i) a Standards of Learning assessment, (ii) a 
substitute test that incorporates or exceeds the course 
content, or (iii) a locally awarded verified credit. 

Part I  
Definitions and Purpose  

8VAC20-131-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms apply only to this chapter 
and do not supersede those definitions used for federal 
reporting purposes or for the calculation of costs related to the 
Standards of Quality (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia). When used in this chapter, these words shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise:  

"Accreditation" means a process used by the Virginia 
Department of Education to evaluate the performance of 
public schools in accordance with this chapter.  

"Additional test" means a test, including substitute tests 
approved by the board, that students may use in lieu of a 
Standards of Learning test to obtain verified credit.  

"Authentic performance assessment" means a test that 
complies with guidelines adopted by the board that requires 
students to perform a task or create a product that is typically 
scored using a rubric. An authentic performance assessment 
may be used to confer verified credit in accordance with the 
provisions of 8VAC20-131-110 B 4 and B 5.  

"Board of Education" or "board" means the board 
responsible for the general supervision of the public schools 
system in Virginia as prescribed in Section 4 of Article VIII 
of the Constitution of Virginia and § 22.1-8 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Class period" means a segment of time during the 
instructional day that is allocated to lessons, courses, testing 
and assessments, or other instructional activities and excludes 
homeroom.  

"Credit accommodations" means adjustments to meet the 
standard and verified credit requirements for earning a 
Standard Diploma for students with disabilities.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education.  

"Elementary school" means a public school with any grades 
kindergarten through 5.  

"English learner" or "EL" means, as prescribed in the 
Elementary and Secondary Education Act (P.L. 89-10, as 
amended), an individual: 

1. Who is aged three through 21 years;  

2. Who is enrolled or preparing to enroll in an elementary 
school or secondary school;  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0482+hil
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodepopularnames/administrative-process-act/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodepopularnames/administrative-process-act/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0512+hil
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0784
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3. a. Who was not born in the United States or whose 
native language is a language other than English;  

b. (1) Who is a Native American or Alaska native, or a 
native resident of the outlying areas; and 

(2) Who comes from an environment where a language 
other than English has had a significant impact on the 
individual's level of English language proficiency; or  

c. Who is migratory, whose native language is a language 
other than English, and who comes from an environment 
where a language other than English is dominant; and  

4. Whose difficulties in speaking, reading, writing, or 
understanding the English language may be sufficient to 
deny the individual the:  

a. Ability to meet the challenging state academic 
standards;  

b. Ability to successfully achieve in classrooms where 
the language of instruction is English; or  

c. Opportunity to participate fully in society. 

"Enrollment" means the act of complying with state and 
local requirements relative to the registration or admission of 
a child for attendance in a school within a local school 
division. This term also means registration for courses within 
the student's home school or within related schools or 
programs.  

"First time" means the student has not been enrolled in the 
school at any time during the current school year (for 
purposes of 8VAC20-131-60 with reference to students who 
transfer in during the school year).  

"Four core academic areas" means English, mathematics, 
science, and history and social science for purposes of testing 
for the Standards of Learning.  

"Graduate" means a student who has earned a board 
recognized diploma, which includes the Advanced Studies 
Diploma, the Standard Diploma, and the Applied Studies 
Diploma.  

"Growth" or "student growth" means student progress 
toward achievement as demonstrated through a valid and 
reliable measure.  

"Homebound instruction" means academic instruction 
provided to students who are confined at home or in a health 
care facility for periods of time that prevent normal school 
attendance, based upon certification of need by a licensed 
physician or a licensed clinical psychologist.  

"Instructional day" means all the time in a standard school 
day, from the beginning of the first scheduled class period to 
the end of the last scheduled class period, including passing 
time for class changes and excluding breaks for meals and 
recess. 

"Instructional hours" means the hours in a standard school 
day, from the beginning of the first scheduled class period to 
the end of the last scheduled class period, including passing 
time for class changes and excluding breaks for meals and 
recess. 

"Locally awarded verified credit" means a verified unit of 
credit awarded by a local school board in accordance with 
8VAC20-131-110 B 3.  

"Middle school" means a public school with any grades 6 
through 8.  

"Planning period" means a segment of time in middle and 
secondary schools during the instructional day that is 
unencumbered of any teaching or supervisory duties, is not 
less than 45 minutes or the equivalent of a class period, 
whichever is greater, and that includes passing time for class 
changes.  

"Planning time" means a segment of time for elementary 
teachers that provides at least an average of 30 minutes per 
day for planning during the student's school week as provided 
in § 22.1-291.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Recess" means a segment of free time unstructured 
recreational time exclusive of time provided for meals during 
the standard school day in which students are given a break 
from structured classroom instruction.  

"Reporting group" means a subgroup of students who are 
identified as having common characteristics such as students 
identified as belonging to major racial and ethnic groups, 
economically disadvantaged students, students with 
disabilities, and English learners.  

"School" means a publicly funded institution where students 
are enrolled for all or a majority of the instructional day and:  

1. Those students are reported in fall membership at the 
institution; and  

2. At a minimum, the institution meets the preaccreditation 
eligibility requirements of this chapter as adopted by the 
board.  

"Secondary school" means a public school with any grades 9 
through 12.  

"Standard school day" means a calendar day, including 
passing time for class changes and excluding breaks for 
meals, that averages at least a minimum of five and one-half 
instructional hours for students in grades 1 through 12, 
excluding breaks for meals and recess, and a minimum of 
three instructional hours for students in kindergarten. Recess 
may be included in the calculation of required instructional 
hours for elementary school, provided that recess does not 
exceed 15% of the required instructional hours. 
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"Standard school year" means a school year of at least 180 
teaching days or a total of at least 990 instructional hours per 
year, as specified in § 22.1-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" means credit 
awarded for a course in which the student successfully 
completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 
requirements of the course. Local school boards may develop 
alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours of 
instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 
accordance with board guidelines.  

"Standards of Learning tests" or "SOL tests" means those 
criterion referenced assessments approved by the board for 
use in the Virginia Assessment Program that measure 
attainment of knowledge and skills required by the Standards 
of Learning.  

"Standards of Quality" means the Standards of Quality 
prescribed in Chapter 13.2 (§ 22.1-253.13:1 et seq.) of Title 
22.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Student" means a person of school age as defined by 
§ 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, a child with disabilities as 
defined in § 22.1-213 of the Code of Virginia, and a person 
for whom English is a second language in accordance with 
§ 22.1-5 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" means credit 
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 
of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a corresponding 
end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a passing score on an 
additional test as defined in this section as part of the Virginia 
Assessment Program; (iii) meets the criteria for the receipt of 
a locally awarded verified credit conferred in accordance with 
board criteria and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 
B 3 when the student has not passed a corresponding SOL 
test in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history 
and social science; or (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of 
a verified credit for history and social science by 
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated course 
on an authentic performance assessment as provided in 
8VAC20-131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria for the receipt 
of a verified credit for English (writing) by demonstrating 
mastery of the content of the associated course on an 
authentic performance assessment, as provided in 8VAC20-
131-110 B 5 4.  

"Virginia Assessment Program" means a system used to 
evaluate student achievement that includes SOL tests and 
additional tests that may be approved from time to time by 
the board.  

8VAC20-131-51. Requirements for graduation (effective 
with the students who enter the ninth grade in the 2018–
2019 school year).  

A. The requirements for a student to earn a diploma and 
graduate from a Virginia high school shall be those in effect 

when that student enters the ninth grade for the first time. 
Students shall be awarded a diploma upon graduation from a 
Virginia high school.  

Both the Standard Diploma and the Advanced Studies 
Diploma shall provide multiple paths toward college, career, 
and citizenship readiness for students to follow in the later 
years of high school. Each such pathway shall provide 
meaningful and rigorous opportunities tied to instruction to 
achieve workplace and citizenship skills through experiences 
such as internships, externships, credentialing, and blended 
learning, which may be offered for credit toward high school 
graduation. 

In accordance with the Profile of a Virginia Graduate 
approved by the board, the instructional program leading to a 
Standard Diploma or Advanced Studies Diploma shall ensure 
that students (i) attain the knowledge, skills, competencies, 
and experiences necessary to be successful in the evolving 
global economy whether immediately entering the world of 
work or pursuing a postsecondary education and (ii) acquire 
and be able to demonstrate foundational skills in critical 
thinking, creative thinking, collaboration, communication, 
and citizenship. 

When students below the ninth grade successfully complete 
courses offered for credit in grades 9 through 12, credit shall 
be counted toward meeting the standard units required for 
graduation provided the courses are equivalent in content and 
academic rigor as those courses offered at the secondary 
level. To earn a verified unit of credit for these courses, 
students must meet the requirements of 8VAC20-131-110.  

The requirements in this section shall be the only 
requirements for a diploma, unless a local school board has 
prescribed additional requirements that have been approved 
by the board. All additional requirements prescribed by local 
school boards that have been approved by the board remain in 
effect until such time as the local school board submits a 
request to the board to amend or discontinue them.  

B. Requirements for a Standard Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2018–2019 and 
beyond, students shall earn the required standard and 
verified units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection.  

2. Credits required for graduation with a Standard 
Diploma.  

A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which the student successfully 
completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 
requirements of the course. Local school boards may 
develop alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours 
of instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 
accordance with board guidelines.  
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A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard 
unit of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a 
corresponding end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a 
passing score on an additional test, as defined in 8VAC20-
131-5 as part of the Virginia Assessment Program; (iii) 
meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 
verified credit conferred in accordance with board criteria 
and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 when 
the student has not passed a corresponding SOL test in 
English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history and 
social science; or (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 

verified credit for history and social science by 
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 
course on an authentic performance assessment, as 
provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria 
for the receipt of a verified credit for English (writing) by 
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 
course on authentic performance assessments as provided 
in 8VAC20-131-110 B 5 4.  

No more than one locally awarded verified credit may be 
used to satisfy these requirements, except as provided in 
subdivision 3 of this subsection for credit accommodations 
for students with disabilities. 

Discipline Area Standard Units of Credit Required Verified Credits Required 

English (reading and writing) 4 2 

Mathematics 3 1 

Laboratory Science 3 1 

History and Social Science 3 1 

Health and Physical Education 2  

World Language, Fine Arts, or Career 
and Technical Education 

2  

Economics and Personal Finance 1  

Electives 4  

Total 22 5 

   

Discipline Area Specifications 

Mathematics Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two different 
course selections from among: algebra I, geometry, algebra functions, and data 
analysis, algebra II, or other mathematics courses approved by the board to 
satisfy this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science course 
credit earned by students may be considered a mathematics course credit. 

Laboratory Science Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course selection from at 
least two different science disciplines: earth sciences, biology, chemistry, or physics, 
or completion of the sequence of science courses required for the International 
Baccalaureate Diploma and shall include interdisciplinary courses that incorporate 
Standards of Learning content from multiple academic areas. The board shall approve 
courses to satisfy this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science 
course credit earned by students may be considered a science course credit. 

A laboratory science verified credit may be awarded to students who complete a 
career and technical education program sequence and (i) pass two examinations or 
occupational competency assessments in a career and technical education field that 
confers certification or an occupational competency credential from a recognized 
industry, trade, or professional association; (ii) acquire two professional licenses in a 
career and technical education field from the Commonwealth of Virginia; or (iii) pass 
one examination or competency assessment from clause (i) and acquire one license 
from clause (ii). The examination or occupational competency assessment must be 
approved by the board as an additional test to verify student achievement. 
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History and Social Science Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include Virginia and U.S. 
history, Virginia and U.S. government, and one course in either world history or 
geography or both. The board shall approve courses to satisfy this requirement. 

Laboratory Science, and History and 
Social Science 

Students who complete a career and technical education program sequence and 
pass an examination or occupational competency assessment in a career and 
technical education field that confers certification or an occupational competency 
credential from a recognized industry, or trade or professional association, or 
acquires a professional license in a career and technical education field from the 
Commonwealth of Virginia may substitute the certification, competency 
credential, or license for either a laboratory science or history and social science 
verified credit when the certification, license, or credential confers more than one 
verified credit. The examination or occupational competency assessment must be 
approved by the board as an additional test to verify student achievement.  

World Language, Fine Arts, or Career 
and Technical Education 

Per the Standards of Quality, credits earned for this requirement shall include one 
credit in fine or performing arts or career and technical education. Per the 
Standards of Quality, a computer science course credit earned by students may be 
considered a career and technical course credit.  

Electives Courses to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two sequential electives 
as required by the Standards of Quality. 

 

Additional Requirements for Graduation 

Advanced Placement, Honors, or 
International Baccalaureate Course or 
Career and Technical Education 
Credential 

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, students shall either (i) complete an 
Advanced Placement, honors, or International Baccalaureate course, or (ii) earn a 
career and technical education credential approved by the board, except when a 
career and technical education credential in a particular subject area is not readily 
available or appropriate or does not adequately measure student competency, in 
which case the student shall receive satisfactory competency-based instruction in 
the subject area to satisfy the standard diploma requirements. The career and 
technical education credential, when required, could include the successful 
completion of an industry certification, a state licensure examination, a national 
occupational competency assessment, or the Virginia workplace readiness 
assessment. 

Virtual Course Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may be a non-
credit-bearing course or a required or elective credit-bearing course that is offered 
online. 

Training in emergency first aid, 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), 
and the use of automated external 
defibrillators (AED) 

Students shall be trained in emergency first aid, CPR, and the use of AED, 
including hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation. Students with an IEP individualized education plan (IEP) or 504 
Plan that documents that they cannot successfully complete this training shall be 
granted a waiver from this graduation requirement, as provided in 8VAC20-131-
420 B. 

Demonstration of the five Cs Students shall acquire and demonstrate foundational skills in critical thinking, 
creative thinking, collaboration, communication, and citizenship in accordance 
with the Profile of a Virginia Graduate approved by the board. 

3. The board shall establish through guidelines credit 
accommodations to the standard and verified credit 
requirements for a Standard Diploma. Such credit 
accommodations for students with disabilities may include:  

a. Approval of alternative courses to meet the standard 
credit requirements; 

b. Modifications to the requirements for local school 
divisions to award locally awarded verified credits; 
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c. Approval of additional tests to earn a verified credit; 

d. Adjusted cut scores required to earn verified credit; 
and 

e. Allowance of work-based learning experiences. 

The student's IEP or 504 Plan shall specify any credit 
accommodations applicable for the student. 

Students completing the requirements for the Standard 
Diploma may be eligible to receive an honor deemed 
appropriate by the local school board as described in 
subsection H of this section.  

C. Requirements for an Advanced Studies Diploma.  

1. Beginning with the ninth-grade class of 2018–2019 and 
beyond, students shall earn the required standard and verified 
units of credit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

2. Credits required for graduation with an Advanced Studies 
Diploma.  

A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which the student successfully 
completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 
requirements of the course. Local school boards may 
develop alternatives to the requirement for 140 clock hours 
of instruction as provided for in 8VAC20-131-110 and in 
accordance with board guidelines.  

A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard 
unit of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a 
corresponding end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a 
passing score on an additional test, as defined in 8VAC20-
131-5, as part of the Virginia Assessment Program; (iii) 
meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 
verified credit conferred in accordance with board criteria 
and guidelines as provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 when 
the student has not passed a corresponding SOL test in 
English, mathematics, laboratory science, or history and 
social science; or (iv) meets the criteria for the receipt of a 
verified credit for history and social science by 
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 
course on an authentic performance assessment, as 
provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 4; or (v) meets the criteria 
for the receipt of a verified credit for English (writing) by 
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated 
course on an authentic performance assessment, as 
provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 5 4.  

No more than one locally awarded verified credit may be 
used to satisfy these requirements. 

 

 

 

Discipline Area Standard Units of Credit Required Verified Credits Required 

English (reading and writing) 4 2 

Mathematics 4 1 

Laboratory Science 4 1 

History and Social Science 4 1 

World Language 3  

Health and Physical Education 2  

Fine Arts or Career and Technical 
Education 

1  

Economics and Personal Finance 1  

Electives 3  

Total 26 5 

  

Discipline Area Specifications 

Mathematics Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include at least three different 
course selections from among: algebra I, geometry, algebra II, or other 
mathematics courses above the level of algebra II. The board shall approve 
courses to satisfy this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer 
science course credit earned by students may be considered a mathematics course 
credit. 
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Laboratory Science Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include course selections 
from at least three different science disciplines from among: earth sciences, 
biology, chemistry, or physics or completion of the sequence of science courses 
required for the International Baccalaureate Diploma and shall include 
interdisciplinary courses that incorporate Standards of Learning content from 
multiple academic areas. The board shall approve additional courses to satisfy 
this requirement. Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science course credit 
earned by students may be considered a science course credit. 

History and Social Science Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include Virginia and U.S. 
history, Virginia and U.S. government, and two courses in either world history or 
geography or both. The board shall approve additional courses to satisfy this 
requirement.  

World Language Courses completed to satisfy this requirement shall include three years of one 
language or two years of two languages. 

Fine Arts or Career and Technical 
Education  

Per the Standards of Quality, a computer science course credit earned by students 
may be considered a career and technical credit. 

Electives  Courses to satisfy this requirement shall include at least two sequential electives 
as required by the Standards of Quality. 

 

Additional Requirements for Graduation 

Advanced Placement, Honors, or 
International Baccalaureate Course or 
Career and Technical Education 
Credential 

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, students shall either (i) complete an 
Advanced Placement, honors, or International Baccalaureate course or (ii) earn a 
career and technical education credential approved by the board, except when a 
career and technical education credential in a particular subject area is not readily 
available or appropriate or does not adequately measure student competency, in 
which case the student shall receive satisfactory competency-based instruction in 
the subject area to satisfy the advanced studies diploma requirements. The career 
and technical education credential, when required, could include the successful 
completion of an industry certification, a state licensure examination, a national 
occupational competency assessment, or the Virginia workplace readiness 
assessment. 

Virtual Course Students shall successfully complete one virtual course, which may be a non-
credit-bearing course or a required or elective credit-bearing course that is offered 
online. 

Training in emergency first aid, 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), 
and the use of automated external 
defibrillators (AED). 

Students shall be trained in emergency first aid, CPR, and the use of AED, 
including hands-on practice of the skills necessary to perform cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation. Students with an IEP or 504 Plan that documents that they cannot 
successfully complete this training shall be granted a waiver from this graduation 
requirement, as provided in 8VAC20-131-420 B. 

Demonstration of the five Cs Students shall acquire and demonstrate foundational skills in critical thinking, 
creative thinking, collaboration, communication, and citizenship in accordance 
with the Profile of a Virginia Graduate approved by the board. 

D. Requirements for an Applied Studies Diploma. In 
accordance with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, 
a student with disabilities who completes the requirements of 
the student's IEP and does not meet the requirements for other 
diplomas shall be awarded Applied Studies Diplomas in 

accordance with state and federal laws and regulations 
regarding special education.  

Students who pursue an Applied Studies Diploma shall be 
allowed to pursue a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 
Studies Diploma at any time during high school. Such 
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students shall not be excluded from courses or tests required 
to earn these diplomas.  

E. Requirements for Certificates of Program Completion. In 
accordance with the requirements of the Standards of Quality, 
students who complete prescribed programs of studies 
defined by the local school board but do not qualify for a 
Standard Diploma, an Advanced Studies Diploma, or an 
Applied Studies Diploma shall be awarded Certificates of 
Program Completion. The requirements for Certificates of 
Program Completion are developed by local school boards in 
accordance with the Standards of Quality.  

F. In accordance with the provisions of the compulsory 
attendance law and 8VAC20-30, Regulations Governing 
Adult High School Programs, students who do not qualify for 
diplomas may earn a high school equivalency credential. The 
requirements for the General Achievement Adult High School 
Diploma are provided in 8VAC20-30-20. 

G. At a student's request, the local school board shall 
communicate or otherwise make known to institutions of 
higher education, potential employers, or other applicable 
third parties, in a manner that the local school board deems 
appropriate, that a student has attained the state's academic 
expectations by earning a Virginia diploma and that the value 
of such a diploma is not affected in any way by the 
accreditation status of the student's school.  

H. Awards for exemplary student performance. Students 
who demonstrate academic excellence and outstanding 
achievement may be eligible for one or more of the following 
awards:  

1. The Governor's Seal shall be awarded to students who 
complete the requirements for an Advanced Studies 
Diploma with an average grade of "B" or better and 
successfully complete college-level coursework that shall 
earn the student at least nine transferable college credits in 
Advanced Placement (AP), International Baccalaureate 
(IB), Cambridge, or dual enrollment courses.  

2. The Board of Education Seal shall be awarded to 
students who complete the requirements for a Standard 
Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma with an average 
grade of "A." 

3. The Board of Education's Career and Technical 
Education Seal shall be awarded to students who earn a 
Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma and 
complete a prescribed sequence of courses in a career and 
technical education concentration or specialization that 
they choose and maintain a "B" or better average in those 
courses or (i) pass an examination or an occupational 
competency assessment in a career and technical education 
concentration or specialization that confers certification or 
occupational competency credential from a recognized 
industry, trade, or professional association or (ii) acquire a 
professional license in that career and technical education 

field from the Commonwealth of Virginia. The board shall 
approve all professional licenses and examinations used to 
satisfy these requirements.  

4. The Board of Education's Science, Technology, 
Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Seal of Advanced 
Mathematics and Technology shall be awarded to students 
who earn either a Standard Diploma or an Advanced 
Studies Diploma and (i) satisfy all of the mathematics 
requirements for the Advanced Studies Diploma with a "B" 
average or better and (ii) pass an examination in a career 
and technical education field that confers certification from 
a recognized industry, or trade or professional association; 
acquire a professional license in a career and technical 
education field from the Commonwealth of Virginia; or 
pass an examination approved by the board that confers 
college-level credit in a technology or computer science 
area. The board shall approve all professional licenses and 
examinations used to satisfy these requirements meet 
criteria established by the board.  

5. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Civics 
Education shall be awarded to students who earn either a 
Standard Diploma or an Advanced Studies Diploma and (i) 
complete Virginia and United States history and Virginia 
and United States government courses with a grade of "B" 
or higher; (ii) have good attendance and no disciplinary 
infractions as determined by local school board policies; 
and (iii) complete 50 hours of voluntary participation in 
community service or extracurricular activities. Activities 
that satisfy the requirements of clause (iii) of this 
subdivision include (a) volunteering for a charitable or 
religious organization that provides services to the poor, 
sick, or less fortunate; (b) participating in Boy Scouts, Girl 
Scouts, or similar youth organizations; (c) participating in 
JROTC; (d) participating in political campaigns or 
government internships, or Boys State, Girls State, or 
Model General Assembly; or (e) participating in school-
sponsored extracurricular activities that have a civics 
focus. Any student who enlists in the United States 
military prior to graduation shall be deemed to have met 
this community service requirement.  

6. The Board of Education's Seal of Biliteracy shall be 
awarded to students who demonstrate proficiency in 
English and at least one other language and meet additional 
criteria established by the board.  

7. The Board of Education's Seal for Excellence in Science 
and the Environment shall be awarded to students who 
earn either a Standard Diploma or Advanced Studies 
Diploma and (i) complete at least three different first-level 
board-approved laboratory science courses and at least one 
rigorous advanced-level or postsecondary-level laboratory 
science course, each with a grade of "B" or higher; (ii) 
complete laboratory or field-science research and present 
that research in a formal, juried setting; and (iii) complete 
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at least 50 hours of voluntary participation in community 
service or extracurricular activities that involve the 
application of science such as environmental monitoring, 
protection, management, or restoration. 

8. Students may receive other seals or awards for 
exceptional academic, career and technical, citizenship, or 
other exemplary performance in accordance with criteria 
defined by the local school board.  

I. Students completing graduation requirements in a summer 
school program shall be eligible for a diploma. The last 
school attended by the student during the regular session shall 
award the diploma unless otherwise agreed upon by the 
principals of the two schools.  

J. Students who complete Advanced Placement courses, 
college-level courses, or courses required for an International 
Baccalaureate Diploma shall be deemed to have completed 
the course requirements for graduation under these standards 
provided they have earned the total number of standard units 
of credit and verified units of credit in each discipline area in 
accordance with the requirements for the Standard Diploma 
and the Advanced Studies Diploma, as specified in 
subsections B and C of this section.  

K. Students shall be counseled annually regarding the 
opportunities for using additional tests for earning verified 
credits, as provided in accordance with the provisions of 
8VAC20-131-110, and the consequences of failing to fulfill 
the obligations to complete the requirements for verified units 
of credit.  

8VAC20-131-80. Instructional program in elementary 
schools.  

A. The elementary school shall provide each student a 
program of instruction that corresponds to the Standards of 
Learning for English, mathematics, science, and history and 
social science. In addition, each school shall provide 
instruction in art, music, and physical education and health 
and shall require students to participate in a program of 
physical fitness during the regular school year in accordance 
with guidelines established by the board. In addition, each 
school shall provide instruction in career exploration in 
accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-131-140. 

B. In kindergarten through grade 3, reading, writing, 
spelling, and mathematics shall be the focus of the 
instructional program. Schools shall maintain an early skills 
and knowledge achievement record in reading and 
mathematics for each student in grades kindergarten through 
3 to monitor student progress and to promote successful 
achievement on the third grade SOL tests. This record shall 
be included with the student's records if the student transfers 
to a new school.  

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, local school 
boards shall implement early identification, diagnosis, and 

assistance for students with reading and mathematics 
problems and provide instructional strategies and reading and 
mathematics practices that benefit the development of reading 
and mathematics skills for all students. 

C. To provide students with sufficient opportunity to learn, a 
minimum of 75% of the annual instructional time of 990 
hours shall be given to instruction in the disciplines of 
English, mathematics, science, and history and social science 
local school divisions shall provide a minimum of 680 hours 
of the required 990 hours of instructional time to students in 
elementary school in the four academic disciplines of English, 
mathematics, science, and history and social science. Local 
school divisions shall provide a minimum of 375 hours of the 
required 540 hours of instructional time to students in half-
day kindergarten in the four academic disciplines of English, 
mathematics, science, and history and social science.  

Students who are not successfully progressing in early 
reading proficiency or who are unable to read with 
comprehension the materials used for instruction shall receive 
additional instructional time in reading, which may include 
summer school.  

In accordance with the Standards of Quality, local school 
divisions shall provide reading intervention services to 
students in grades kindergarten through 3 who demonstrate 
deficiencies based on their individual performance on the 
SOL reading test or any reading diagnostic test that meets 
criteria established by the Department of Education. The local 
school division, in its discretion, shall provide such reading 
intervention services prior to promoting a student from grade 
3 to grade 4. 

D. Elementary schools are encouraged to provide instruction 
in world languages.  

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit.  

A. A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which the student successfully 
completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 
requirements of the course. A school division may waive the 
requirement that a student receive 140 clock hours of 
instruction to earn a standard credit, effective with students 
enrolled in the 2015-2016 school year, as prescribed in the 
Standards of Quality and board guidelines. When credit is 
awarded in less than whole units, the increment awarded must 
be no greater than the fractional part of the 140 hours of 
instruction provided. If a school division elects to award 
credit on a basis other than the 140 clock hours of instruction 
required for a standard unit of credit defined in this 
subsection, the local school division shall provide the board 
with satisfactory proof, based on board guidelines, that the 
students for whom the 140-clock-hour requirement is waived 
have learned the content and skills included in the relevant 
Standards of Learning. In addition, the local school division 
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shall develop a written policy approved by the superintendent 
and school board that ensures:  

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 
awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 
and  

2. That upon completion, the aims and objectives of the 
course have been met.  

B. A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 
of credit and completes one of the following:  

1. Achieves a passing score on a corresponding end-of-
course SOL test. In accordance with the provisions of the 
Standards of Quality, students may earn a standard and 
verified unit of credit for any elective course in which the 
core academic Standards of Learning course content has 
been integrated and the student passes the related end-of-
course SOL test. Such course and test combinations must 
be approved by the board.  

Upon waiver of the 140-clock-hour requirement according 
to board guidelines, qualified students who have received a 
standard unit of credit shall be permitted to sit for the 
relevant SOL test to earn a verified credit without having 
to meet the 140-clock-hour requirement.  

2. Achieves a passing score on an additional test, as 
defined in 8VAC20-131-5, as a part of the Virginia 
Assessment Program. 

3. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 
verified credit when the student has not passed a 
corresponding SOL test.  

a. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time 
prior to the 2018-2019 school year and do not pass SOL 
tests in science or history and social science may receive 
locally awarded verified credits from the local school 
board in accordance with criteria established in 
guidelines adopted by the board. Credit accommodations 
for students with disabilities may be used to confer 
locally awarded verified credits as provided in 8VAC20-
131-50 B 3. 

b. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time in 
the 2018-2019 school year or thereafter and do not pass 
SOL tests in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or 
history and social science may receive locally awarded 
verified credits from the local school board in accordance 
with criteria established in guidelines adopted by the 
board. No more than one locally awarded verified credit 
may be used to satisfy graduation requirements, except as 
provided in 8VAC20-131-51 B 3 for students with 
disabilities seeking a standard diploma. 

4. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 
history and social science by demonstrating mastery of the 

content of the associated course on an authentic 
performance assessment that complies with guidelines 
adopted by the board. Such students shall not also be 
required to take the corresponding SOL test in history and 
social science. 5. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a 
verified credit in English (writing) by demonstrating 
mastery of the content of the associated course on an 
authentic performance assessment, that complies with 
guidelines adopted by the board. Such students shall not 
also be required to take the corresponding SOL test in 
English (writing). 

C. The board may from time to time approve additional tests 
for the purpose of awarding verified credit. Such additional 
tests, which enable students to earn verified units of credit, 
must, at a minimum, meet the following criteria:  

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 
of the school or school division in which the test is given;  

2. The test must be knowledge based;  

3. The test must be administered on a statewide, multistate, 
or international basis, or administered as part of another 
state's accountability assessment program; and  

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 
measure content that incorporates or exceeds the Standards 
of Learning content in the course for which verified credit 
is given.  

The board shall set the score that must be achieved to earn a 
verified unit of credit on the additional test options.  

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 
Assembly, the board shall provide opportunities for students 
who meet criteria adopted by the board to have an expedited 
retake of a SOL test to earn verified credit.  

8VAC20-131-140. College and career readiness; career 
exposure, exploration, and planning; and opportunities 
for postsecondary credit.  

A. Each middle and secondary school shall provide for the 
early identification and enrollment of students in a program 
with a range of educational and academic experiences related 
to college and career readiness in and outside the classroom, 
including an emphasis on experiences that will motivate 
disadvantaged and minority students to prepare for a career or 
postsecondary education.  

B. Beginning with the 2013–2014 academic year and 
through the 2017–2018 academic year:  

1. All schools shall begin development of a personal 
Academic and Career Plan (ACP) for each seventh-grade 
student with completion by the fall of the student's eighth-
grade year. Students who transfer from other than a 
Virginia public school into the eighth grade shall have the 
plan developed as soon as practicable following 
enrollment. Beginning with the 2014–2015 academic year, 
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students who transfer into a Virginia public school after 
their eighth-grade year shall have an ACP developed upon 
enrollment. The components of the ACP shall include the 
student's program of study for high school graduation and a 
postsecondary career pathway based on the student's 
academic and career interests. The ACP shall be developed 
in accordance with guidelines established by the board and 
signed by the student, student's parent or guardian, and 
school official or officials designated by the principal. The 
ACP shall be included in the student's record and shall be 
reviewed and updated, if necessary, before the student 
enters the ninth and eleventh grades. The school shall have 
met its obligation for parental involvement if it makes a 
good faith effort to notify the parent or guardian of the 
responsibility for the development and approval of the 
ACP. Any personal ACPs prescribed by local school 
boards for students in grades 7 through 12 and in effect as 
of June 30, 2009, are approved to continue without further 
action by the board.  

2. Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 
counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 
education and opportunities for obtaining industry 
certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 
professional licenses in a career and technical education 
field prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities 
shall include access to at least three Advanced Placement 
(AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), or Cambridge 
courses or three college-level courses for degree credit 
pursuant to 8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage 
of such opportunities shall not be denied participation in 
school activities for which they are otherwise eligible. 
Wherever possible, students shall be encouraged and 
afforded opportunities to take college courses 
simultaneously for high school graduation and college 
degree credit (dual enrollment), under the following 
conditions:  

a. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 
participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

b. The college must accept the student for admission to 
the course or courses; and  

c. The course or courses must be given by the college for 
degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted).  

Schools that comply with this standard shall not be 
penalized in receiving state appropriations.  

C. Beginning with the 2018–2019 academic year: 

1. Each elementary, middle, and secondary school shall 
provide for the identification by all students of personal 
interests and abilities to support planning for 
postsecondary opportunities and career preparation. Such 
support shall include provision of information concerning 
exploration of career cluster areas in elementary schools, 
and course information and planning for college 

preparation programs, opportunities for educational and 
academic experiences in and outside the classroom, 
including internships and work-based learning, and the 
multiple pathways to college and career readiness in 
middle and high school.  

2. Beginning in the elementary school years, students are 
to explore the different occupations associated with career 
clusters and select an area or areas of interest. Students 
shall begin the development of an academic and career 
plan portfolio (ACPP) in elementary grades to include 
information about interests, values such as dependability 
and responsibility, and skills supporting decisions about 
their future interests and goals. The ACPP is a repository 
for planning notes, class projects, interest inventory results, 
awards and recognitions, and other information related to 
academic and career plans and preparation. The ACPP is 
student led and updated and revised as the student 
continues to plan for the student's future throughout school 
years. The information contained in the ACPP shall serve 
as the foundation for creating the ACP in grade 7. 

In middle school, students are to complete a locally 
selected career interest inventory and select a career 
pathway. To support development of the ACP, students 
shall complete a career investigations course selected from 
the career and technical education state-approved list, or a 
school division-provided alternative means of delivering 
the career investigations course content, provided that the 
alternative is equivalent in content and academic rigor. The 
course, or its alternative, shall address, at a minimum, 
planning for academic courses, work-based learning 
opportunities, completion of industry certifications, 
possible independent projects, and postsecondary 
education. The course, or its alternative, shall include 
demonstration of personal, professional, and technical 
workplace readiness skills.  

All schools shall continue development of a personal ACP 
with each seventh-grade student with completion by the 
end of the fall semester of the student's eighth-grade year. 
Students who transfer from other than a Virginia public 
school into the eighth grade shall have the ACP developed 
as soon as practicable following enrollment. Students who 
transfer into a Virginia public school after their eighth-
grade year shall have an ACP developed upon enrollment. 
The components of the ACP shall include the student's 
program of study for high school graduation and a 
postsecondary career pathway based on the student's 
academic and career interests. In high school, a career-
related learning experience shall be chosen by the student 
and documented in the ACP.  

3. The ACP shall be developed in accordance with 
guidelines established by the board and signed by the 
student, student's parent or guardian, and school official or 
officials designated by the principal. The ACP shall be 
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included in the student's record and shall be reviewed and 
updated annually.  

4. Beginning in the middle school years, students shall be 
counseled on opportunities for beginning postsecondary 
education and opportunities for obtaining industry 
certifications, occupational competency credentials, or 
professional licenses in a career and technical education 
field prior to high school graduation. Such opportunities 
shall include access to at least three Advanced Placement 
(AP), International Baccalaureate (IB), or Cambridge 
courses or three college-level courses for degree credit 
pursuant to 8VAC20-131-100. Students taking advantage 
of such opportunities shall not be denied participation in 
school activities for which they are otherwise eligible.  

5. Wherever possible, students shall be encouraged and 
afforded opportunities to take college courses simultaneously 
for high school graduation and college degree credit (dual 
enrollment), under the following conditions:  

a. Written approval of the high school principal prior to 
participation in dual enrollment must be obtained;  

b. The college must accept the student for admission to the 
course or courses; and  

c. The course or courses must be given by the college for 
degree credits (no remedial courses will be accepted); and 

d. Students participating in courses offered by an institution 
of higher education shall be permitted to exceed a full 
course load in order to participate in courses that lead to a 
degree, certificate, or credential at such institution.  

8VAC20-131-150. Standard school year and school day.  

A. The standard school year shall be 180 instructional days 
or 990 instructional hours. The standard school day, including 
passing time for class changes and excluding breaks for 
meals, shall average a minimum of five and one-half 
instructional hours for students in grades 1 through 12 shall 
average at least 5-1/2 instructional hours, including passing 
time for class changes and excluding breaks for meals and 
recess, and a minimum of three hours for kindergarten. 
Recess may be included in the calculation of required 
instructional hours for elementary school, provided that 
recess does not exceed 15% of the required instructional 
hours. 

B. All students in grades 1 through 12 shall maintain a full 
day schedule of classes (5-1/2 hours), unless a waiver is 
granted in accordance with policies defined by the local 
school board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5771; Filed June 7, 2019, 1:46 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 
to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation (amending 9VAC25-31-250).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, 124, 
403, and 503. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Andrew Hammond, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4101, or email andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 366 K of Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendment modifies the maximum time for a 
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permitted 
discharger to attain compliance with water quality-based 
limitations for consistency with the time for compliance 
established by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
in 40 CFR 122.47(a)(1).  

9VAC25-31-250. Schedules of compliance.  

A. The permit may, when appropriate, specify a schedule of 
compliance leading to compliance with the law, the CWA and 
regulations.  

1. Any schedules of compliance under this section shall 
require compliance as soon as possible, but not later than 
the applicable statutory deadline under the CWA.  

2. The first VPDES permit issued to a new source or a new 
discharger shall contain a schedule of compliance only 
when necessary to allow a reasonable opportunity to attain 
compliance with requirements issued or revised after 
commencement of construction but less than three years 
before commencement of the relevant discharge. For 
recommencing dischargers, a schedule of compliance shall 
be available only when necessary to allow a reasonable 
opportunity to attain compliance with requirements issued 
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or revised less than three years before recommencement of 
discharge.  

3. Schedules of compliance may be established in permits 
for existing sources which are reissued or modified to 
contain new or more restrictive water quality-based 
effluent limitations. The schedule may allow a reasonable 
period of time, not to exceed the term of the permit, for the 
discharger to attain compliance with the water quality-
based limitations.  

4. Except as provided in subdivision B 1 b of this section, 
if a permit establishes a schedule of compliance which 
exceeds one year from the date of permit issuance, the 
schedule shall set forth interim requirements and the dates 
for their achievement.  

a. The time between interim dates shall not exceed one 
year, except that in the case of a schedule for compliance 
with standards for sewage sludge use and disposal, the 
time between interim dates shall not exceed six months.  

b. If the time necessary for completion of any interim 
requirement is more than one year and is not readily 
divisible into stages for completion, the permit shall 
specify interim dates for the submission of reports of 
progress toward completion of the interim requirements 
and indicate a projected completion date.  

5. The permit shall be written to require that no later than 
14 days following each interim date and the final date of 
compliance, the permittee shall notify the department in 
writing of its compliance or noncompliance with the 
interim or final requirements, or submit progress reports if 
subdivision 4 b of this subsection is applicable.  

B. A VPDES permit applicant or permittee may cease 
conducting regulated activities (by terminating of direct 
discharge for VPDES sources) rather than continuing to 
operate and meet permit requirements as follows:  

1. If the permittee decides to cease conducting regulated 
activities at a given time within the term of a permit which 
has already been issued:  

a. The permit may be modified to contain a new or 
additional schedule leading to timely cessation of 
activities; or  

b. The permittee shall cease conducting permitted 
activities before noncompliance with any interim or final 
compliance schedule requirement already specified in the 
permit;  

2. If the decision to cease conducting regulated activities is 
made before issuance of a permit whose term will include 
the termination date, the permit shall contain a schedule 
leading to termination which will ensure timely 
compliance with applicable requirements no later than the 
statutory deadline;  

3. If the permittee is undecided whether to cease 
conducting regulated activities, the board may issue or 
modify a permit to contain two schedules as follows:  

a. Both schedules shall contain an identical interim 
deadline requiring a final decision on whether to cease 
conducting regulated activities no later than a date which 
ensures sufficient time to comply with applicable 
requirements in a timely manner if the decision is to 
continue conducting regulated activities;  

b. One schedule shall lead to timely compliance with 
applicable requirements, no later than the statutory 
deadline;  

c. The second schedule shall lead to cessation of 
regulated activities by a date which will ensure timely 
compliance with applicable requirements no later than 
the statutory deadline; and  

d. Each permit containing two schedules shall include a 
requirement that after the permittee has made a final 
decision under subdivision 3 a of this subsection it shall 
follow the schedule leading to compliance if the decision 
is to continue conducting regulated activities, and follow 
the schedule leading to termination if the decision is to 
cease conducting regulated activities; and  

4. The applicant's or permittee's decision to cease 
conducting regulated activities shall be evidenced by a firm 
public commitment satisfactory to the board, such as a 
resolution of the board of directors of a corporation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5939; Filed July 3, 2019, 12:27 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 
to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-210. Virginia Water 
Protection Permit Program Regulation (amending 
9VAC25-210-10, 9VAC25-210-116).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Effective Date: September 4, 2010.  

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 
698-4019, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

To conform the regulation to Chapter 545 of the 2019 Acts 
of Assembly, the amendments incorporate changes to 
§ 62.1-44.15:21 B of the Code of Virginia to (i) clarify the 
State Water Control Board's evaluation of compensatory 
mitigation proposals, (ii) modify the term "ecologically 
preferable" but not that term's definition, and (iii) add a 
definition for the term "temporal loss." 

Part I  
VWP Permit Program Definitions, Exclusions, Prohibitions 

and Requirements  

9VAC25-210-10. Definitions. 

A. Definitions specific to surface water withdrawals are in 
9VAC25-210-300. 

B. Unless a different meaning is required by the context, the 
following terms as used in this chapter shall have the 
following meanings: 

"Adjacent" means bordering, contiguous, or neighboring 
wetlands separated from other surface water by man-made 
dikes or barriers, natural river berms, sand dunes, and the 
like. 

"Administratively withdrawn" means a decision by the 
board that permanently discontinues the review or processing 
of a VWP permit application or request to modify a VWP 
permit. 

"Applicant" means a person applying for a VWP individual 
permit or for coverage under a VWP general permit. 

"Aquatic environment" means surface waters and the habitat 
they provide, including both plant and animal communities. 

"Avoidance" means not taking or modifying a proposed 
action or parts of an action so that there is no adverse impact 
to the aquatic environment. 

"Beneficial use" means both instream and offstream uses. 
Instream beneficial uses include the protection of fish and 
wildlife resources and habitat, maintenance of waste 
assimilation, recreation, navigation, and cultural and aesthetic 
values. The preservation of instream flows for purposes of the 
protection of navigation, maintenance of waste assimilation 
capacity, the protection of fish and wildlife resources and 
habitat, recreation, and cultural and aesthetic values is an 
instream beneficial use of Virginia's waters. Offstream 
beneficial uses include domestic uses (including public water 
supply), agricultural uses, electric power generation, 
commercial uses, and industrial uses. 

"Best management practices" or "BMPs" means a schedule 
of activities, prohibition of practices, maintenance 
procedures, and other management practices that prevent or 
reduce the pollution of surface waters. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board. 

"Channelization" means the alteration of a stream channel 
by widening, deepening, straightening, cleaning, or paving 
certain areas. 

"Compensation" or "compensatory mitigation" means (i) the 
restoration (reestablishment or rehabilitation), establishment 
(creation), enhancement, or in certain circumstances 
preservation of aquatic resources or (ii) in certain 
circumstances an out-of-kind measure having a water quality, 
habitat, or other desirable benefit for the purposes of 
offsetting unavoidable adverse impacts to aquatic resources 
that remain after all appropriate and practicable avoidance 
and minimization has been achieved.  

"Construction site" means any site where land-disturbing 
activity is conducted or physically located for the purpose of 
erecting buildings, roads, or other discrete structures, 
including on-site or off-site areas used for dependent, support 
facilities, such as quarries, mines, or temporary stormwater 
management or erosion control structures. 

"Conversion" means those impacts to surface waters that 
permanently change an existing wetland or aquatic resource 
type to a different wetland or aquatic resource type. 

"Coverage" means authorization to conduct a project in 
accordance with a VWP general permit.  

"Cowardin classification" or "Cowardin classification 
method," unless otherwise specified in this chapter, means the 
waters classification system in Classification of Wetlands and 
Deepwater Habitats of the United States (Cowardin, Lewis 
M. II, et al., U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, December 1979, 
Reprinted 1992). 

"Creation" means the establishment of a wetland or other 
aquatic resource where one did not formerly exist. 

"Cross-sectional drawing" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the plane made by cutting across an object at right 
angles to its length. Objects may include a surface water body 
or a portion of it, a man-made channel, an above-ground 
structure, a below-ground structure, a geographical feature, or 
the ground surface itself. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) or an authorized 
representative. 

"Discharge" means, when used without qualification, a 
discharge of a pollutant, or any addition of any pollutant or 
combination of pollutants, to state waters. 

"Draft VWP permit" means a document indicating the 
board's tentative decision relative to a VWP permit action. 

"Draining" means human-induced activities such as 
ditching, excavation, installation of tile drains, hydrologic 
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modification by surface water runoff diversion, pumping 
water from wells, or similar activities such that the activities 
have the effect of artificially dewatering the wetland or 
altering its hydroperiod. 

"Dredged material" means material that is excavated or 
dredged from surface waters. 

"Dredging" means a form of excavation in which material is 
removed or relocated from beneath surface waters. 

"Ecologically and environmentally preferable" means 
capable of providing a higher likelihood than alternative 
proposals of replacing existing wetland acreage and 
functions, stream functions, water quality, and fish and 
wildlife resources. 

"Emergent wetland" means a class of wetlands dominated 
by erect, rooted, herbaceous plants growing in water or on a 
substrate, excluding mosses and lichens. This vegetation is 
present for most of the growing season in most years and is 
usually dominated by perennial plants. 

"Enhancement" means activities conducted in existing 
wetlands or other portions of the aquatic environment that 
increase one or more aquatic functions. 

"Excavate" or "excavation" means ditching, dredging, or 
mechanized removal of earth, soil, or rock. 

"Fill" means replacing portions of surface water with 
upland, or raising the bottom elevation of a surface water for 
any purpose, by placement of any pollutant or material 
including rock, sand, earth, and man-made materials and 
debris. 

"Fill material" means any pollutant that replaces portions of 
surface water with dry land or that raises the bottom elevation 
of a surface water for any purpose. 

"Forested wetland" means a class of wetlands dominated by 
woody vegetation that is approximately 20 feet (six meters) 
tall or taller and three inches (7.6 centimeters) or larger in 
diameter at breast height (DBH). These areas typically 
possess an overstory of trees, an understory of trees or shrubs, 
and an herbaceous layer. 

"Hydrologic regime" means the entire state of water 
movement in a given area. It is a function of the climate and 
includes the phenomena by which water first occurs as 
atmospheric water vapor, passes into a liquid or solid form, 
falls as precipitation, moves along or into the ground surface, 
and returns to the atmosphere as vapor by means of 
evaporation and transpiration. 

"Impacts" means results caused by those activities specified 
in § 62.1-44.15:20 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Impairment" means the damage, loss, or degradation of the 
acreage or functions of wetlands or the functions of state 
waters. 

"Independent utility" means a test to determine what 
constitutes a single and complete project. A project is 
considered to have independent utility if it would be 
constructed absent the construction of other projects in the 
project area. Portions of a phased development project that 
depend upon other phases of the project do not have 
independent utility. Portions of a phased development project 
that would be constructed even if the other phases are not 
built can be considered as separate single complete projects 
with independent public and economic utility. 

"In-lieu fee program" means a program operated by a 
nonprofit organization or governmental agency that receives 
moneys from persons impacting wetlands or streams pursuant 
to an authorized, permitted activity and that expends the 
moneys received to provide consolidated compensatory 
mitigation for permitted wetland or stream impacts. 

"Isolated wetlands of minimal ecological value" means those 
wetlands that (i) do not have a surface water connection to 
other state waters, (ii) are less than one-tenth of an acre (0.10 
acre or 4,356 square feet) in size, (iii) are not located in a 
Federal Emergency Management Agency designated 100-
year floodplain, (iv) are not identified by the Virginia Natural 
Heritage Program as a rare or state significant natural 
community, (v) are not forested, and (vi) do not contain listed 
federal or state threatened or endangered species. 

"Joint Permit Application" or "JPA" means an application 
form that is used to apply for permits from the Norfolk 
District Army Corps of Engineers, the Virginia Marine 
Resources Commission, the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, and local wetland boards for work in 
waters of the United States and in surface waters of Virginia. 

"Law" means the State Water Control Law of Virginia. 

"Legal name" means the full legal name of an individual, 
business, or other organization. For an individual, legal name 
means the first name, middle initial, last name, and suffix. For 
an entity authorized to do business in Virginia, the legal name 
means the exact name set forth in the entity's articles of 
incorporation, organization or trust, or formation agreement, 
as applicable. 

"Minimization" means lessening impacts by reducing the 
degree or magnitude of the proposed action and its 
implementation. 

"Mitigation" means sequentially avoiding and minimizing 
impacts to the maximum extent practicable, and then 
compensating for remaining unavoidable impacts of a 
proposed action. 

"Mitigation bank" means a site providing off-site, 
consolidated compensatory mitigation that is developed and 
approved in accordance with all applicable federal and state 
laws or regulations for the establishment, use, and operation 
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of mitigation banks and is operating under a signed banking 
agreement. 

"Mitigation banking" means compensating for unavoidable 
wetland or stream losses in advance of development actions 
through the sale or purchase of credits from a mitigation 
bank. 

"Nationwide permit" means a general permit issued by the 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) under 33 CFR Part 
330 and, except where suspended by individual USACE 
Corps Districts, applicable nationwide. 

"Nontidal wetland" means those wetlands other than tidal 
wetlands that are inundated or saturated by surface water or 
groundwater at a frequency and duration sufficient to support, 
and that under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence 
of vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 
conditions, as defined by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency pursuant to § 404 of the federal Clean Water Act in 
40 CFR 230.3(t). Wetlands generally include swamps, 
marshes, bogs, and similar areas. 

"Normal agricultural activities" means those activities 
defined as an agricultural operation in § 3.2-300 of the Code 
of Virginia and any activity that is conducted as part of or in 
furtherance of such agricultural operation but shall not 
include any activity for which a permit would have been 
required as of January 1, 1997, under 33 USC § 1344 or any 
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

"Normal residential gardening and lawn and landscape 
maintenance" means ongoing noncommercial residential 
activities conducted by or on behalf of an individual 
occupant, including mowing; planting; fertilizing; mulching; 
tilling; vegetation removal by hand or by hand tools; and 
placement of decorative stone, fencing, and play equipment. 
Other appurtenant noncommercial activities, provided that 
they do not result in the conversion of a wetland to upland or 
to a different wetland type, may also be included. 

"Normal silvicultural activities" means any silvicultural 
activity as defined in § 10.1-1181.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
and any activity that is conducted as part of or in furtherance 
of such silvicultural activity but shall not include any activity 
for which a permit would have been required as of January 1, 
1997, under 33 USC § 1344 or any regulations promulgated 
pursuant thereto. 

"Notice of project completion" means a statement submitted 
by the permittee or authorized agent that the authorized 
activities and any required compensatory mitigation have 
been completed. 

"Open water" means an area that, during a year with normal 
patterns of precipitation, has standing water for sufficient 
duration to establish an ordinary high water mark. The term 
"open water" includes lakes and ponds but does not include 
ephemeral waters, stream beds, or wetlands. 

"Ordinary high water" or "ordinary high water mark" means 
that line on the shore established by the fluctuations of water 
and indicated by physical characteristics such as a clear, 
natural line impressed on the bank; shelving; changes in the 
character of soil; destruction of terrestrial vegetation; the 
presence of litter and debris; or other appropriate means that 
consider the characteristics of the surrounding areas. 

"Out-of-kind compensatory mitigation" or "out-of-kind 
mitigation" means a measure that does not replace the same 
type of wetland or surface water as was impacted but does 
replace lost wetland or surface water functions or provide a 
water quality, habitat, or other desirable benefit. 

"Perennial stream" means a well-defined channel that 
contains water year round during a year of normal rainfall. 
Generally, the water table is located above the stream bed for 
most of the year and groundwater is the primary source for 
stream flow. A perennial stream exhibits the typical 
biological, hydrological, and physical characteristics 
commonly associated with the continuous conveyance of 
water. 

"Permanent flooding or impounding" means a permanent 
increase in the duration or depth of standing water on a land 
surface, such as from a dam. Permanent increases in duration 
or depth of standing water that result from extended-detention 
basins and enhanced extended-detention basins, when 
designed, constructed, and maintained to function in 
accordance with Virginia Department of Conservation and 
Recreation (DCR) standards for such facilities (Virginia 
Stormwater Management Handbook, First Edition, 1999, 
Volume 1, Chapter 3), or when designed in accordance with 
local standards that, at a minimum, meet the DCR standards, 
are not considered to be permanent flooding and impounding. 

"Permanent impacts" means those impacts to surface waters, 
including wetlands, that cause a permanent alteration of the 
physical, chemical, or biological properties of the surface 
waters or of the acreage or functions of a wetland. 

"Permittee" means the person who holds a VWP individual 
or general permit. 

"Permittee-responsible compensatory mitigation" or 
"permittee-responsible mitigation" means compensation or 
compensatory mitigation, as defined in this section, that is 
undertaken by the permittee, or an authorized agent or 
contractor, for which the permittee retains full responsibility. 

"Person" means individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, governmental body, municipal corporation, or 
any other legal entity. 

"Phased development" means more than one project 
proposed for a single piece of property or an assemblage of 
contiguous properties under consideration for development by 
the same person, or by related persons, that will begin and be 
completed at different times. Depending on the relationship 
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between the projects, a phased development may be 
considered a single and complete project or each project may 
be considered a single and complete project if each project 
has independent utility, as defined in this section. 

"Plan view drawing" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the view of an object as projected onto orthogonal 
planes. Objects may include structures, contours, or 
boundaries. 

"Pollutant" means any substance, radioactive material, or 
heat that causes or contributes to or may cause or contribute 
to pollution. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical, 
or biological properties of any state waters as will or is likely 
to create a nuisance or render such waters (i) harmful or 
detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety, or welfare 
or to the health of animals, fish, or aquatic life; (ii) unsuitable 
with reasonable treatment for use as present or possible future 
sources of public water supply; or (iii) unsuitable for 
recreational, commercial, industrial, agricultural, or other 
reasonable uses; provided that (a) an alteration of the 
physical, chemical, or biological property of state waters, or a 
discharge or deposit of sewage, industrial wastes or other 
wastes to state waters by any owner which by itself is not 
sufficient to cause pollution, but which, in combination with 
such alteration of or discharge or deposit to state waters by 
other owners is sufficient to cause pollution; (b) the discharge 
of untreated sewage by any owner into state waters; and (c) 
contributing to the contravention of standards of water quality 
duly established by the board, are "pollution" for the terms 
and purposes of this chapter. 

"Practicable" means available and capable of being done 
after taking into consideration cost, existing technology, and 
logistics in light of overall project purposes. 

"Preservation" means the protection of resources in 
perpetuity through the implementation of appropriate legal 
and physical mechanisms. 

"Profile drawing" means a scaled graph or plot that 
represents the side view of an object. Objects may include a 
surface water body or a portion of it, a man-made channel, an 
above-ground structure, a below-ground structure, a 
geographical feature, or the ground surface itself. 

"Public hearing" means a fact finding proceeding held to 
afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual 
data, views, and comments to the board pursuant to § 62.1-
44.15:02 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regional permit" means a general permit issued by the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers under 33 CFR Part 330 and 
applicable within a specified geographic area. 

"Restoration" means the reestablishment of a wetland or 
other aquatic resource in an area where it previously existed. 
Wetland restoration means the reestablishment of wetland 

hydrology and vegetation in an area where a wetland 
previously existed. Stream restoration means the process of 
converting an unstable, altered, or degraded stream corridor, 
including adjacent areas and floodplains, to its natural 
conditions. 

"Riprap" means a layer of nonerodible material such as 
stone or chunks of concrete. 

"Section 401" means § 401 of the Clean Water Act, or 
33 USC § 1341, as amended in 1987. 

"Scrub-shrub wetland" means a class of wetlands dominated 
by woody vegetation, excluding woody vines, approximately 
three to 20 feet (one to six meters) tall. The species include 
true shrubs, young trees, and trees or shrubs that are small or 
stunted because of environmental conditions. 

"Significant alteration or degradation of existing wetland 
acreage or function" means human-induced activities that 
cause either a diminution of the areal extent of the existing 
wetland or cause a change in wetland community type 
resulting in the loss or more than minimal degradation of its 
existing ecological functions. 

"Single and complete project" means the total project 
proposed or accomplished by a person, which also has 
independent utility as defined in this section. For linear 
projects, the single and complete project (e.g., a single and 
complete crossing) will apply to each crossing of a separate 
surface water (e.g., a single water body) and to multiple 
crossings of the same water body at separate and distinct 
locations. Phases of a project that have independent utility 
may each be considered single and complete. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 
ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Stream bed" or "stream channel" means the substrate of a 
stream, as measured between the ordinary high water mark 
along each side of a stream. The substrate may consist of 
organic matter, bedrock, or inorganic particles that range in 
size from clay to boulders, or a combination of both. Areas 
contiguous to the stream bed, but outside of the ordinary high 
water mark along each side of a stream, are not considered 
part of the stream bed. 

"Surface water" means all state waters that are not 
groundwater as groundwater is defined in § 62.1-255 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Suspend" or "suspension" means a decision by the board 
that stops the review or processing of a permit application or 
request to modify a permit or permit coverage until such time 
that information requested by the board is provided, 
reviewed, and deemed adequate. 

"Temporal loss" means the time lag between the loss of 
aquatic resource functions caused by the impacts and the 
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replacement of aquatic resource functions by compensatory 
mitigation. 

"Temporary impacts" means impacts to wetlands or other 
surface waters that do not cause a permanent alteration of the 
physical, chemical, or biological properties of surface waters 
or the permanent alteration or degradation of existing wetland 
acreage or functions. Temporary impacts include activities in 
which the impact area is restored to its preconstruction 
elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 
where practicable, such that previous wetland acreage and 
functions or surface water functions are restored. 

"Tidal wetland" means vegetated and nonvegetated wetlands 
as defined in § 28.2-1300 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any agent or material including 
those listed under § 307(a) of the Water Pollution Prevention 
and Control Act (33 USC § 1317(a)), which after discharge 
will, on the basis of available information, cause toxicity. 
Toxicity means the inherent potential or capacity of a material 
to cause adverse effects in a living organism, including acute 
or chronic effects to aquatic life, detrimental effects on 
human health, or other adverse environmental effects. 

"Undesirable plant species" means any species that invades, 
naturally colonizes, or otherwise dominates a compensatory 
mitigation site or mitigation bank, such that it causes or 
contributes to the failure of the vegetative success criteria for 
a particular compensatory mitigation site, mitigation bank, or 
in-lieu fee program project, or it otherwise prohibits the 
restoration of the same vegetation cover type that was 
originally present. 

"VWP general permit" means the general permit text, terms, 
requirements, and conditions set forth in a regulation that 
constitutes a VWP permit authorizing a specified category of 
activities. 

"VWP permit" means an individual or general permit issued 
by the board under § 62.1-44.15:20 of the Code of Virginia 
that authorizes activities otherwise unlawful under § 62.1-
44.5 of the Code of Virginia or otherwise serves as the 
Commonwealth of Virginia's § 401 certification. For any 
applicant to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission for a 
certificate of public convenience and necessity pursuant to 
§ 7c of the federal Natural Gas Act (15 USC § 717f(c)) to 
construct any natural gas transmission pipeline greater than 
36 inches inside diameter, issuance of an individual VWP 
permit pursuant to this chapter and a certification issued 
pursuant to Article 2.6 (§ 62.1-44.15:80 et seq.) of the State 
Water Control Law shall together constitute the certification 
required under § 401 of the federal Clean Water Act. 

"Water quality standards" means water quality standards 
adopted by the board and approved by the administrator of 
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency under § 303 of the 
Clean Water Act as defined in 9VAC25-260-10 9VAC25-
260-5. 

"Watershed approach" means an analytical process for 
making compensatory mitigation decisions that support the 
sustainability or improvement of aquatic resources in a 
watershed and that ensures authorized impacts and mitigation 
have been considered on a watershed scale. 

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 
saturated by surface water or groundwater at a frequency and 
duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 
circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 
typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 
Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas. 

9VAC25-210-116. Compensation. 

A. No net loss. Compensatory mitigation for project impacts 
shall be sufficient to achieve no net loss of existing wetland 
acreage and no net loss of functions in all surface waters. 
Compensatory mitigation ratios appropriate for the type of 
aquatic resource impacted and the type of compensation 
provided shall be applied to permitted impacts to help meet 
this requirement. Credit may be given for preservation of 
upland buffers already protected under other ordinances to the 
extent that additional protection and water quality and fish 
and wildlife resource benefits are provided. 

B. Practicable and ecologically and environmentally 
preferable compensation alternatives. 

1. An analysis shall be required to justify that permittee-
responsible compensatory mitigation is ecologically and 
environmentally preferable to the purchase of mitigation 
bank credits or in-lieu fee program credits, if such credits 
are available in sufficient quantity for the project at the 
projected time of need. The analysis shall address the 
ability of the permittee-responsible compensatory 
mitigation site or sites to replace lost wetland acreage and 
functions or lost stream functions and water quality 
benefits. The analysis comparing the impacted and 
compensation site or sites may use a method that assesses 
water quality or habitat metrics, such as that required by 
9VAC25-210-80 C, or a method that assesses such criteria 
as water quality benefits, distance from impacts, 
hydrologic source and regime, watershed, vegetation type, 
soils, constructability, timing of compensation versus 
impact, property acquisition, and cost. 

2. The applicant shall demonstrate that permittee-
responsible compensatory mitigation can be protected in 
perpetuity through a protective mechanism approved by 
the Department of Environmental Quality, such as, but not 
limited to, a conservation easement held by a third party in 
accordance with the Virginia Conservation Easement Act 
(§ 10.1-1009 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or the 
Virginia Open-Space Act (§ 10.1-1700 et seq. of the Code 
of Virginia), a duly recorded declaration of restrictive 
covenants, or other protective instrument. 
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C. Compensatory mitigation proposals shall be evaluated as 
follows: 

1. The purchase of mitigation bank credits and in-lieu fee 
program credits when available shall in most cases be 
deemed the ecologically and environmentally preferable 
form of compensation for project impacts. However, 
permittee-responsible compensatory mitigation may be 
considered when the applicant satisfactorily demonstrates 
that permittee-responsible compensatory mitigation is 
ecologically and environmentally preferable in accordance 
with subdivision B 1 of this section. 

2. Compensatory mitigation for unavoidable wetland 
impacts may be met through the following options, which 
are preferred in the following sequence: mitigation 
banking, in-lieu fee program, and permittee-responsible 
compensatory mitigation. However, the appropriate 
compensatory mitigation option for project impacts shall 
be evaluated on a case-by-case basis, in terms of 
replacement of wetland acreage and functions and the 
greatest likelihood of success the board shall evaluate the 
appropriate compensatory mitigation option on a case-by-
case basis with consideration for which option is 
practicable and ecologically and environmentally 
preferable, including, in terms of replacement of acreage 
and functions, which option offers the greatest likelihood 
of success and avoidance of temporal loss of acreage and 
function. This evaluation shall be consistent with the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers Compensatory Mitigation for 
Losses of Aquatic Resources as provided in 33 CFR Part 
332. When considering options for providing the required 
compensatory mitigation, DEQ shall consider the type and 
location options in the following order: 

a. Mitigation bank credits; 

b. In-lieu fee program credits; 

c. Permittee-responsible mitigation under a watershed 
approach; 

d. Permittee-responsible mitigation through on-site and 
in-kind mitigation; 

e. Permittee-responsible mitigation through off-site or 
out-of-kind mitigation; 

f. Restoration, enhancement, or preservation of upland 
buffers adjacent to wetlands when utilized in conjunction 
with subdivision 2 a, 2 b, 2 c, 2 d, or 2 e of this 
subsection and when consistent with subsection A of this 
section; and 

g. Preservation of wetlands when utilized in conjunction 
with subdivision 2 a, 2 b, 2 c, 2 d, or 2 e of this 
subsection and when consistent with subsection A of this 
section. 

3. Compensatory mitigation for unavoidable stream 
impacts may be met through the following options, which 
are preferred in the following sequence: mitigation 
banking, in-lieu fee program, and permittee-responsible 
mitigation. However, the appropriate compensatory 
mitigation option for project impacts shall be evaluated on 
a case-by-case basis, in terms of replacement of stream 
functions and water quality benefits and the greatest 
likelihood of success the board shall evaluate the 
appropriate compensatory mitigation option on a case-by-
case basis with consideration for which option is 
practicable and ecologically and environmentally 
preferable, including, in terms of replacement of acreage 
and functions, which option offers the greatest likelihood 
of success and avoidance of temporal loss of acreage and 
function. This evaluation shall be consistent with the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers Compensatory Mitigation for 
Losses of Aquatic Resources as provided in 33 CFR Part 
332. One factor in determining the required compensation 
shall be an analysis of stream impacts utilizing a stream 
impact assessment methodology approved by the board. 
When considering options for providing the required 
compensatory mitigation, DEQ shall consider the type and 
location options in the following order:  

a. Mitigation bank stream credits; 

b. In-lieu fee program credits; 

c. Permittee-responsible mitigation under a watershed 
approach; 

d. Permittee-responsible mitigation through on-site and 
in-kind mitigation; 

e. Permittee-responsible mitigation through off-site or 
out-of-kind mitigation; 

f. Restoration, enhancement, or preservation of upland 
buffers adjacent to streams when utilized in conjunction 
with subdivision 3 a, 3 b, 3 c, 3 d, or 3 e of this 
subsection and when consistent with subsection A of this 
section; and 

g. Preservation of stream channels and adjacent riparian 
buffers when utilized in conjunction with subdivision 3 a, 
3 b, 3 c, 3 d, or 3 e of this subsection and when consistent 
with subsection A of this section. 

4. Compensatory mitigation for open water impacts may be 
required to protect state waters and fish and wildlife 
resources from significant impairment, as appropriate. 
Compensation shall not be required for permanent or 
temporary impacts to open waters that are identified as 
palustrine by the Cowardin classification method, but 
compensation may be required when such open waters are 
located in areas of karst topography in Virginia and are 
formed by the natural solution of limestone. 
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D. In-lieu fee program approval. 

1. The board may approve the use of a program by issuing 
a VWP permit for a specific project or by taking an 
enforcement action and following applicable public notice 
and comment requirements, or by granting approval of a 
program after publishing a notice of its intent in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations and accepting public 
comments on its approval for a minimum of 30 days. 

2. Where a program is mandated by the Code of Virginia to 
be implemented and such program is approved by the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers, the program may be used as 
deemed appropriate for any VWP permit or enforcement 
action. 

3. An approved program must meet the following criteria: 

a. Demonstration of a no net loss policy in terms of 
wetland acreage and functions or stream functions and 
water quality benefits by adoption of operational goals or 
objectives for restoration, creation, enhancement, or 
preservation; 

b. DEQ approval of each site for inclusion in the 
program; 

c. A commitment to provide annual reports to the board 
detailing contributions received and acreage and type of 
wetlands or streams preserved, created or restored in 
each watershed with those contributions, as well as the 
compensatory mitigation credits contributed for each 
watershed of project impact; 

d. A mechanism to establish fee amounts that will ensure 
each contribution will be adequate to compensate for the 
wetland acreage and functions or stream functions and 
water quality benefits lost in the impacted watershed; and 

e. Such terms and conditions as the board deems 
necessary to ensure a no net loss of wetland acreage and 
functions or stream functions and water quality benefits 
from permitted projects providing compensatory 
mitigation. 

4. Approval may be granted for up to 10 years and may be 
renewed by the board upon a demonstration that the 
program has met the criteria in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection. 

E. Use of mitigation banks. The use of mitigation banks for 
compensating project impacts shall be deemed appropriate if 
the following criteria are met: 

1. The bank meets the criteria and conditions found in 
§ 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. The bank is ecologically and environmentally preferable 
to practicable on-site and off-site individual compensatory 
mitigation options; 

3. The banking instrument, if approved after July 1, 1996, 
has been approved by a process that involved public 
review and comment in accordance with federal 
guidelines; and 

4. The applicant provides verification to DEQ of purchase 
of the required amount of credits. 

F. For permittee-responsible mitigation, the final 
compensatory mitigation plan shall include complete 
information on all components of the conceptual 
compensatory mitigation plan detailed in 9VAC25-210-80 B 
1 m and: 

1. For wetlands, the final compensation plan for review 
and approval by DEQ shall also include a summary of the 
type and acreage of existing wetland impacts anticipated 
during the construction of the compensation site and the 
proposed compensation for these impacts; a site access 
plan; a monitoring plan, including proposed success 
criteria, monitoring goals, and the location of photo-
monitoring stations, monitoring wells, vegetation sampling 
points, and reference wetlands or streams if available; an 
abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; 
an erosion and sedimentation control plan; a construction 
schedule; and the final protective mechanism for the 
compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 
buffer areas within its boundaries. The approved protective 
mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 
property, or an equivalent instrument for government-
owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted to 
DEQ prior to commencing impacts in surface waters. 

2. For streams, the final compensation plan for review and 
approval by DEQ shall also include a site access plan; an 
erosion and sedimentation control plan, if appropriate; an 
abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; a 
monitoring plan, including a monitoring and reporting 
schedule, monitoring design, and methodologies for success; 
proposed success criteria; location of photo-monitoring 
stations, vegetation sampling points, survey points, bank pins, 
scour chains, and reference streams; a plan view drawing 
depicting the pattern and all compensation measures being 
employed; a profile drawing; cross-sectional drawing or 
drawings of the proposed compensation stream; and the final 
protective mechanism for the compensation site or sites, 
including all surface waters and buffer areas within its 
boundaries. The approved protective mechanism shall be 
recorded in the chain of title to the property, or an equivalent 
instrument for government-owned lands, and proof of 
recordation shall be submitted to DEQ prior to commencing 
impacts in surface waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6014; Filed July 3, 2019, 12:25 p.m.  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes 
regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or 
corrections of technical errors. The State Water Control Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-610. Groundwater 
Withdrawal Regulations (amending 9VAC25-610-360).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-256 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 
(804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment corrects a citation to the Code of Virginia. 

Part VIII  
Miscellaneous  

9VAC25-610-360. Delegation of authority.  

The director, or his designee, may perform any act of the 
board provided under this chapter, except as limited by 
§ 62.1-256.9 subdivision 9 of § 62.1-256 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5751; Filed July 3, 2019, 12:22 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 
of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 
of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 
pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 
the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 
initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 
advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 
receives and provides summary response to written 
comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-
720-50, 9VAC25-720-60, 9VAC25-720-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Mark Richards, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4392, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 
mark.richards@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the state's Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) include (i) revising 
three total maximum daily load (TMDL) wasteload 
allocations in the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin, (ii) 
adding 10 new TMDL wasteload allocations in the James 
River Basin, and (iii) adding 10 new TMDL wasteload 
allocations in the Rappahannock River Basin. 

 

9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

1. 

Muddy Creek, 
Dry River, and 
tributaries to 
North River 

Nitrate TMDL 
Development for 
Muddy Creek/Dry 
River, Virginia 

Rockingham B21R, 
B22R Nitrate 49,389.00 LB/YR 

2. Blacks Run 

TMDL 
Development for 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Revision of the 
Benthic Total 
Maximum Daily 

Rockingham, 
City of 
Harrisonburg 

B25R 
B26R Sediment 32,844.00 

1,310,000 LB/YR  
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Load (TMDL) 
Developed for the 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Watershed Located 
in the City of 
Harrisonburg and 
Rockingham County 

3. Cooks Creek 

TMDL 
Development for 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Revision of the 
Benthic Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Developed for the 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Watershed Located 
in the City of 
Harrisonburg and 
Rockingham County 

Rockingham B25R Sediment 69,301.00 
1,543,000 LB/YR  

4. Cooks Creek 

TMDL 
Development for 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Revision of the 
Benthic Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Developed for the 
Blacks Run and 
Cooks Creek 
Watershed Located 
in the City of 
Harrisonburg and 
Rockingham County 

Rockingham B25R Phosphorus 0 2,060 LB/YR  

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 5 through 218 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; 
therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 
the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 
out. 
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9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  
 

TMDL 
# 

Stream 
Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 161 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; 
therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

162. Sinking 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I18R E. coli 1.17E+9 counts/year 

163. Barbours 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Craig I22R E. coli 2.36E+9 counts/year 

164. Lapsley 
Run 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I24R E. coli 2.45E+8 counts/year 

165. 
Little 
Patterson 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I22R E. coli 5.38E+8 counts/year 

166. 
Upper 
Craig 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Craig I19R E. coli 3.93E+9 counts/year 

167. 
Middle 
Craig 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Craig I22R E. coli 1.54E+10 counts/year 
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168. 
Lower 
Craig 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I22R E. coli 2.07E+10 counts/year 

169. Catawba 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I25R E. coli 3.00E+9 counts/year 

170. James 
River 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I18R E. coli 4.19E+10 counts/year 

171. Catawba 
Creek 

Bacteria and Sediment 
Total Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for the James 
River and Tributaries 
Located in Botetourt and 
Craig Counties Virginia 

Botetourt I25R Sediment 29.44 tons/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ the Department of Environmental Quality tracks 
these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2GS means growing season. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 
out. 

9VAC25-720-70. Rappahannock River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  
 

TMDL 
# Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 72 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-70 are not amended; 
therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

73. Mill Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 

Caroline E21R E. coli 1.19E+12 cfu/year 
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Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

74. Jetts Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

King George E21R E. coli 6.41E+10 cfu/year 

75. Portobago 
Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Caroline E21R E. coli 1.06E+11 cfu/year 

76. Stillwater 
Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Essex E22R E. coli 3.50E+10 cfu/year 
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77. Baylors Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Essex E22R E. coli 4.72E+10 cfu/year 

78. Elmwood 
Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Essex E22R E. coli 5.14E+10 cfu/year 

79. Peedee Creek, 
non-tidal 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Westmoreland E22R E. coli 2.62E+10 cfu/year 

80. 
Unnamed 
tributary of 
Peedee Creek 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Westmoreland E22R E. coli 1.30E+9 cfu/year 
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81. Peedee Creek, 
tidal 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Westmoreland E22E Enterococci 2.07E+10 cfu/day 

82. Rappahannock 
River, tidal 

Bacteria Total 
Maximum Daily 
Load (TMDL) 
Development for 
the 
Rappahannock 
River and 
Tributaries 
Located in 
Caroline, Essex, 
King George, 
Richmond, and 
Westmoreland 
Counties Virginia 

Richmond 
County, Essex E22E Enterococci 3.11E+12 cfu/day 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ the Department of Environmental Quality tracks 
these changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 
2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-70 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not 
set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6035; Filed July 3, 2019, 12:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-47. Historical Horse Racing 
(adding 11VAC10-47-10 through 11VAC10-47-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 
201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 
email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 811 of the 2018 Virginia Acts of Assembly 
requires the Virginia Racing Commission to promulgate 
regulations to implement the provisions of the act to be 
effective within 180 days of its enactment.  

Purpose: The Virginia Racing Commission must promulgate 
these regulations in order to ensure the integrity and proper 
oversight of historical horse racing in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. Ensuring the integrity of historical horse racing is 
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very important because it protects the welfare of the citizens 
of Virginia wagering on the races. These regulations give the 
Virginia Racing Commission the authority to regulate and 
audit the results of the races to guarantee that no one has an 
advantage over anyone else and that the results of the 
historical races are accurate. 

Substance: The proposed regulations address the 
requirements for an entity licensed to conduct pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing, including (i) the location 
and hours of operation, (ii) types and specifications of the 
terminals to be utilized, (iii) accounting and auditing, (iv) 
permits required for licensee employees, (v) simulcast 
operations, (vi) annual reporting, and (vii) implementation by 
a licensee of a program to promote responsible gaming and 
the program's minimum requirements. 

Issues: The advantages to the public are that these regulations 
will provide for the integrity and fairness of the Historical 
Horse Racing and give the public a state agency to contact if 
they believe the races to be unfair or have an issue with 
something done improperly by the operator. The advantage to 
the Commonwealth is that the Virginia Racing Commission 
will have the authority to ensure that the Commonwealth and 
localities receive their mandated percentages of the wagering 
that takes place. The Virginia Racing Commission does not 
believe these regulations are disadvantageous to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 811 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly2 and 
Governor Northam's Executive Directive One,3 the Virginia 
Racing Commission (VRC) proposes to promulgate a 
permanent regulation to administer historical horse racing 
(HHR) in the Commonwealth. An emergency regulation is 
currently in effect that expires on April 4, 2020.4 The 
proposed regulation is identical to the emergency regulation. 

Background. 

Statutory Requirements for Historical Horse Racing. Virginia 
Code § 59.1-365, as amended by Chapter 811, defines several 
key aspects of HHR. In particular, the statute defines HHR as: 

a form of horse racing that creates pari-mutuel pools 
from wagers placed on previously conducted horse races 
and is hosted at (i) a racetrack owned or operated by a 
significant infrastructure limited licensee or (ii) a satellite 
facility that is owned or operated by (a) a significant 
infrastructure limited licensee or (b) the nonprofit 
industry stakeholder organization recognized by the 
Commission and licensed to own or operate such satellite 
facility. 

In practice, HHR is conducted on terminals that are similar to 
slot machines. Virginia Code § 59.1-365 also defines a 

"significant infrastructure limited licensee" as "a person who 
owns or operates a significant infrastructure facility and holds 
a limited license …" That same Code section defines a 
"significant infrastructure facility" as: 

a horse racing facility that has been approved by a local 
referendum pursuant to § 59.1-391 and has a minimum 
racing infrastructure consisting of (i) a one-mile dirt track 
for flat racing, (ii) a seven-eighths-mile turf course for 
flat or jump racing, (iii) covered seating for no fewer 
than 500 persons, and (iv) barns with no fewer than 400 
permanent stalls. 

Colonial Downs in New Kent County is the only current 
significant infrastructure facility in the Commonwealth. 

Chapter 811 further amends Virginia Code § 59.1-365 by 
specifying certain percentage distributions of the dollars 
wagered on HHR: a) 0.75 percent to the Commonwealth as a 
license tax; b) if generated at a racetrack owned or operated 
by a significant infrastructure limited licensee, 0.5 percent go 
to the locality where the racetrack is located; and c) if 
generated at a satellite facility, 0.25 percent go to the locality 
in which the satellite facility is located and 0.25 percent go to 
the Virginia locality in which the racetrack is located. 

Proposed Regulatory Requirements for HHR. The proposed 
regulation includes various requirements for providers of 
HHR. Some of these requirements are referenced later in this 
analysis: 

• For any significant infrastructure limited licensee that offers 
pari-mutuel wagering on HHR, a minimum number of days of 
live horseracing (based on number of HHR terminals 
installed) must be requested. 

• Licensee must implement a program to promote responsible 
gaming by its patrons, which includes: 

○ Posting in a conspicuous place in every place where 
pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing is 
conducted a sign that bears a toll-free number approved 
by the Virginia Council on Problem Gambling or other 
organizations that provide assistance to problem 
gamblers,  

○ Routine auditing of patron activity to identify patrons 
who have suffered significant financial losses in repeated 
visits to the licensee's facilities and providing such 
patrons with information on organizations that provide 
assistance to problem gamblers 

○ Partnership with the Virginia Council on Problem 
Gambling, the National Council on Problem Gambling, 
or other similar organization to identify and promote best 
practices for preventing problem gambling 

○ Training for all employees who have contact with 
patrons as well as administrative and corporate staff 
members that shall include skills and procedures to 
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respond to situations where a patron exhibits warning 
signs of a gambling problem or where a patron discloses 
they may have a gambling problem. Such employees and 
staff should be trained immediately upon their hiring and 
retrained and tested regularly 

○ And other requirements. 

Other requirements of interest are: 

• Wagering on a historical horse race shall only be conducted 
by: 

○ A significant infrastructure limited licensee; or 

○ A satellite facility licensee. 

• Wagering on historical horse racing may only take place at a 
licensed significant infrastructure facility or a licensed 
satellite facility. 

• Licensee shall provide guaranteed funding for all historical 
horse race pools offered by the licensee. This guarantee shall 
be in the form of a letter of credit, bond with surety, or other 
instrument of financial security in an amount and form 
approved by the commission sufficient to cover outstanding 
vouchers together with any indebtedness incurred by the 
licensee to the Commonwealth. 

• Specifications for permitted terminal machines. 

• Independent integrity check of all software that may affect 
the integrity of the game. 

• Financial reports. 

• Application fee of $1,000 paid for each location where the 
applicant seeks to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical 
horse racing. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

The proposed regulation with its associated creation of HHR 
gaming and enabling of live racing, affects employment, 
business revenues, and tax revenues. Virginians who at least 
part of the time prefer HHR and/or live horse racing with 
pari-mutuel betting to other forms of entertainment benefit 
from the introduction of the new options. Increased access to 
gambling does have the potential to put some individuals at 
risk of negative behavior. 

Potential Employment and Business Revenue Impact. A firm 
now called Colonial Downs Group, LLC (CDG) purchased 
Colonial Downs and thus owns the only significant 
infrastructure facility in Virginia. Through the emergency 
regulation in effect, it has become a significant infrastructure 
limited licensee. It has recently begun to offer HHR at 
Colonial Downs (April 23, 2019), and at its Town of Vinton 
satellite location (May 9, 2019). CDG plans to open satellite 
locations in the City of Richmond, City of Hampton, and City 
of Chesapeake as well. CDG calls its HHR business Rosie's 
Gaming Emporium. CDG has purchased (or in the case of 

Chesapeake, plans to purchase) land and in some cases 
existing buildings for all four satellite locations. Local 
contractors and architectural firms have been hired for 
building and remodeling structures for the four sites.5 These 
firms gain in revenue and work hours for their employees. 

According to VRC, there are 330 permanent employees at the 
Colonial Downs location of Rosie's Gaming Emporium and 
another 150 permanent employees at the Vinton location. In 
addition, approximately 200 employees each are expected for 
the Richmond, Hampton, and Chesapeake locations. To the 
extent that some or many of these employees earn more in 
these positions than they had previously, they would be able 
to spend more than before. This would increase revenue for 
other firms, particularly in or near the above-mentioned 
localities. 

VRC reports that the HHR terminals and associated 
equipment are all provided by one out-of-state vendor. Other 
supplies and services, such as food, advertising, and perhaps 
janitorial services would likely be supplied by Virginia 
vendors, further benefiting the Virginia economy.  

As mentioned above, the significant infrastructure limited 
licensee must offer live racing. Specifically, any significant 
infrastructure limited licensee that offers pari-mutuel 
wagering on HHR must request the following number of days 
of live horseracing, whichever is greater: a) 15 days of live 
racing, consisting of not less than six races per day; or b) one 
day of live racing, consisting of not less than six races per 
day, for every 100 historical racing terminals installed at such 
facility together with any satellite facility owned, operated, 
controlled, managed, or otherwise affiliated directly or 
indirectly with such licensee.  

VRC projects that there will be 3,000 HHR terminals 
installed by the second year that HHR is in effect in the 
Commonwealth. Based on VRC's projection, for the third 
year of HHR CDG would have to provide 30 days6 of live 
racing at Colonial Downs.7 This would induce additional 
temporary employment for 30 plus days of the year, as work 
would need to be done to prepare the track and facilities 
ahead of time, as well as for providing race day services and 
products (selling tickets, collecting and paying out bets, 
providing and selling food, etc.). Increase in employment 
hours and increase in spending at local businesses would be 
particularly beneficial for New Kent County. 

It should be noted that direct expenditures on HHR and live 
horse racing are dollars not being spent on other goods and 
services. The providers of these other goods and services are 
thus negatively affected with reduced revenue; employment 
for these entities may decline or have reduced growth as well.  

Projected Amount Wagered on HHR and Resulting 
Distribution of Funds. As shown in the table, VRC projects 
that in the second year of HHR wagering in Virginia, 
approximately $2.4 billion will be wagered on HHR at 
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Colonial Downs and at the satellite sites. Since VRC projects 
that 92% of that amount will be returned to some customers 
as winnings, the projection indicates that in net about $192 
million (the remaining 8%)8 will actually be spent on HHR 
wagering for the year. In other words, the "cost" of HHR 
wagering for all customers in aggregate is about $192 million 
for the year. In assessing the economic impact, it should be 
remembered that this $192 million would have been spent on 
other goods or services, or saved (i.e., deferred spending), if 
not spent on HHR. 

The table also displays VRC's projections for how the $192 
million will be distributed in the second year that HHR is in 
effect. The largest amount, about $147 million, will be 
retained by CDG. About $18 million will be distributed to the 
state as a license tax, per Chapter 811; these dollars initially 
are nongeneral funds to pay for VRC's expenses. The 
remainder in excess of VRC's expenses, which is expected to 
be a large majority of the amount collected, will revert to the 
general fund. Approximately $15 million will go to the 
Virginia Equine Alliance9 as a result of a revenue sharing 
agreement between the Alliance and CDG. Localities will 
receive about $12 million, as required by Chapter 811. 
Chapter 811 directs how payments to localities are 
distributed. Accordingly, New Kent County (as the locality 
where the racetrack is located) would get well over half of the 
projected $11,976.563 distribution to the localities. The Town 
of Vinton, and the Cities of Richmond, Hampton, and 
Chesapeake (as the localities in which the satellite facilities 
are located) would split the remainder. 

Type of 
Distribution 

Amount of 
Distribution 

Percentage of 
Total Amount 

Wagered 

Amount 
returned to 
customers as 
winnings 

$2,203,687,500 92.00% 10 

  

Amount kept by 
CDG 

$146,832,656 6.13%   

State $17,964,844 0.75% 11 

Virginia Equine 
Alliance 

$14,850,938 0.62% 12 

Localities $11,976,563 0.50% 13 

Subtotal: 
amount spent 
on HHR 
wagering 

$191,625,000 8.00% 

  

Total Amount 
Wagered 

$2,395,312,500 100.00% 

Potential Impact on State Revenues. Governor Northam's 
Executive Directive One directs the Department of Planning 
and Budget, in conducting its economic impact analysis, to 
consider the impact these regulations will have on potential 
future revenues to the Commonwealth from other sources. As 
discussed above, VRC projects that 92% of the amount 
wagered (about $2.2 billion) will be returned to customers as 
winnings. As a result, the remaining 8% (about $192 million) 
will be "spent" by customers because it is not returned to 
them. This $192 million includes the state license tax. 14 This 
license tax revenue of $17,964,844 is collected as state 
nongeneral fund revenue and equates to 9.4% of the $192 
million spent by customers on HHR. 15  

Expenditures on HHR wagering increase state revenues 
compared to revenues from state sales taxes (all funds). Had 
customers not engaged in HHR wagering, the $192 million 
would have been spent on other goods or services, or saved 
(i.e., deferred spending). It is not known how customers may 
have spent this amount, but state revenues are increased to the 
extent that customers spend this amount on HHR instead of 
goods and services subject to the state sales tax. The general 
state sales tax rate is 5.3%. To compare revenues from the 
sales tax with revenues from HHR, where the $192 million 
spent by customers includes the state license tax, the $192 
million spent on other goods and services also includes 
revenues from the sales tax.16 This sales tax revenue of 
$9,644,943 is collected as state general fund revenue and 
equates to 5.0% of the $192 million spent by consumers on 
other goods and services. Accordingly, for each $1 million 
spent on HHR rather than on goods and services subject to 
the 5.3% state sales tax, state revenues would be about 
$44,000 higher. 17 In addition, some goods and many 
services18 are exempt from the state sales tax, or subject to 
lower rates. As a result, expenditures on HHR rather than 
these goods and services would result in a greater increase in 
state revenue collected.  

Expenditures on HHR wagering decrease state revenues 
compared to revenues from the Virginia Lottery. For Virginia 
Lottery sales, 61% goes back to customers as winnings. Of 
the 39% that is "spent" by customers, 33% is collected by the 
state (28% is passed through to local school divisions for 
public education, and 5% is retained by the Virginia Lottery 
for expenses). 19 In other words, the amount collected by the 
state equates to 84.6% of the amount "spent" by customers. 20 
Accordingly, for each $1 million spent on HHR rather than 
on lottery tickets, state revenues would be about $750,000 
lower. 21  

Other Factors. Increased access to gambling, such as HHR, 
may negatively affect the lives of people who have 
compulsive gambling disorder. The Mayo Clinic defines 
compulsive gambling as "the uncontrollable urge to keep 
gambling despite the toll it takes on your life," and further 
states that "Gambling can stimulate the brain's reward system 
much like drugs or alcohol can, leading to addiction. If you 
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have a problem with compulsive gambling, you may 
continually chase bets that lead to losses, hide your behavior, 
deplete savings, accumulate debt, or even resort to theft or 
fraud to support your addiction." 22  

The proposal in the regulation to require that the licensee 
implement a program to promote responsible gaming by its 
patrons may help alleviate this problem. VRC reports that 
CDG has implemented such a program that meets all of the 
attributes designated in the proposed regulation, including 
forming a partnership with the Virginia Council on Problem 
Gambling, training all employees who have contact with 
patrons that include skills and procedures to respond to 
situations where a patron exhibits warning signs of a 
gambling problem, etc. 

Conclusion. The proposed regulation with its associated 
creation of HHR gaming and re-introduction of live racing at 
Colonial Downs may be beneficial in that it may lead to some 
Virginians who are currently going out of state to gamble, to 
instead gamble and spend within the Commonwealth. Also, it 
may lead to visitors from out-of-state who otherwise would 
not have spent on goods and services in the Commonwealth 
to come and do so. Some localities, particularly New Kent 
County, will clearly benefit. Some businesses will benefit, 
while others will have reduced revenue. Commensurately, 
employment will increase for some firms and may decline for 
some others. For some Virginians, getting additional 
entertainment options that are not currently available, HHR 
and live racing with pari-mutuel betting, would be beneficial 
in that it would increase their personal enjoyment. Increased 
access to gambling could be problematic for some 
individuals, but requirements in the regulation for a program 
to promote responsible gaming may significantly ameliorate 
that risk. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed regulation 
particularly affects firms associated with the horseracing and 
gaming industries and suppliers to these industries.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation 
particularly affects New Kent County, Town of Vinton, City 
of Richmond, City of Hampton, and City of Chesapeake.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The net impact on 
employment statewide is unclear. The proposed regulation with 
its associated creation of HHR gaming and re-introduction of 
live racing at Colonial Downs would increase employment at 
Colonial Downs and at the satellite facilities. Some or many of 
these newly hired individuals would likely be earning more in 
these positions than they had previously. This would enable them 
to spend more elsewhere, helping other businesses, particularly 
in or near Colonial Downs and the satellite locations. These other 
businesses may hire additional employees to meet the increased 
demand for their goods and services, and so on. Suppliers of 
goods and services to CDG may also hire additional employees. 

On the other hand, the projected $192 million in expenditures 
on HHR (and additional spending on live racing at Colonial 

Downs) is $192 million that would otherwise have been spent 
on other goods and services. In not receiving the $192 million 
dollars, these other entities would likely not employ as many 
people as they otherwise would. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed regulation with its associated creation of HHR 
gaming helps enable Colonial Downs to be once again used 
for live horse racing, increasing its value. The value of CDG 
and its suppliers of goods and services would increase. The 
value of firms that lose business due to the estimated $192 
million being spent on HHR (and additional expenditures on 
live racing at Colonial Downs) would decrease. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed regulation 
does not appear to affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed regulation with its 
associated creation of HHR gaming and re-introduction of 
live racing at Colonial Downs would increase the demand for 
the goods and services provided by some small businesses as 
described, and would likely decrease the demand for the 
goods and services provided by some other small businesses, 
as consumer dollars are spent on HHR rather than their goods 
or services.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 
no apparent alternative method that would reduce the adverse 
impact while still meeting the intended policy goal.  

Adverse Impacts:   

Businesses. The proposed regulation with its associated 
creation of HHR gaming and re-introduction of live racing at 
Colonial Downs would likely decrease the demand for the 
goods and services provided by some other businesses to the 
extent that consumer dollars are spent on HHR rather than 
their goods or services. 

Localities. The proposed regulation does not directly 
adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed regulation with its associated 
creation of HHR gaming and re-introduction of live racing at 
Colonial Downs may decrease the demand for the goods and 
services provided by some nonbusiness entities, such as the 
Virginia Lottery, as consumer dollars are spent on HHR 
rather than their goods or services.  

_________________________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 
in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 
entities combined. 
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2See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0811 
3See https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov 
/executive-actions/ed-1-directing-the-virginia-racing-commission-regarding-
regulations-related-to-historic-horse-racing-pursuant-to-house-bill-1609.pdf 
4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8420 
5Source: VRC 
6VRC may approve fewer than the requested number of live racing days if it 
believes it is in the best interest of the public. 
73,000 / 100 = 30 
8$2,395,312,500 x 0.08 = $191,625,000 
9The Virginia Equine Alliance consists of the Virginia Harness Horse 
Association, the Virginia Horsemen's Benevolent & Protective Association, 
the Virginia Gold Cup Association, and the Virginia Thoroughbred 
Association. 
10According to VRC, CDG is currently paying back 93.5%, which is typical 
for a casino to do when it first opens up. VRC projects that the payout will be 
92.00% in the second year. 
11Chapter 811 specifies that 0.75% go to the Commonwealth as a license tax. 
12The 0.62% is the result of a revenue sharing agreement between the 
Virginia Equine Alliance and CDG. 
13Chapter 811 specifies that 0.5% go to localities. 
14 As required by Chapter 811, the 0.75% state license tax rate is applied to 
the total amount wagered, not the amount spent by customers. 
15As shown in the table above, the projected state tax revenue with the 
projected wagering is $17,964,844.  $17,964,844 / $191,625,000 = 0.094 
16$191,625,000 / 1.053 = $181,980,057; Sales tax paid = $191,625,000 - 
$181,980,057 = $9,644,943. 
17$1,000,000 x 0.094  -  $1,000,000 x 0.050 = $94,000 - $50,000 = $44,000. 
18See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.5/ 
19Source: Virginia Lottery. The remaining 6% is retained by retailers. 
2033 / 39 = 0.846 
21$1,000,000 x 0.094  -  $1,000,000 x 0.846 = $94,000 - $846,000 = -
$752,000 
22See https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/compulsive-
gambling/symptoms-causes/syc-20355178 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes regulations to implement 
Chapter 811 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 
authorizes historical horse racing at facilities licensed by 
the Virginia Racing Commission throughout the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. The proposed requirements for 
an entity licensed to conduct pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing include (i) the location and hours 
of operation, (ii) types and specifications of the terminals 
to be utilized, (iii) accounting and auditing, (iv) permits 
required for licensee employees, (v) simulcast operations, 
(vi) annual reporting, and (vii) implementation by a 

licensee of a program to promote responsible gaming and 
the minimum requirements for such a program.  

CHAPTER 47 
HISTORICAL HORSE RACING 

11VAC10-47-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meanings when used in this chapter, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 
application to obtain a license to offer pari-mutuel wagering 
on historical horse racing from the commission. 

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission. 

"Historical horse racing" means a form of horse racing that 
creates pari-mutuel pools from wagers placed on previously 
conducted horse races and is hosted at (i) a racetrack owned 
or operated by a significant infrastructure limited licensee or 
(ii) a satellite facility that is owned or operated by (a) a 
significant infrastructure limited licensee or (b) the nonprofit 
industry stakeholder organization recognized by the 
commission and licensed to own or operate such satellite 
facility. 

"Independent testing laboratory" means a laboratory with a 
national reputation for honesty, independence, and timeliness 
that is demonstrably competent and qualified to scientifically 
test and evaluate devices for compliance with this chapter and 
to otherwise perform the functions assigned to it by this 
chapter. An independent testing laboratory shall not be owned 
or controlled by a licensee, the state, or any manufacturer, 
supplier, or operator of historical horse racing terminals. 

"Integrity auditor" means a company that conducts periodic 
and regular tests on the validity of pari-mutuel wagering, 
deductions, and payouts for the applicable historical horse 
racing event, including the legitimacy of the event itself, and 
tests that the order of finish of the race selected in the game is 
valid, match to the order of finish that occurred empirically, 
and that all runners that were listed as entered into the race 
for the purposes of the game, legitimately ran in the race.  

"Licensee" means any person holding an owner's or 
operator's license under Article 2 (§ 59.1-375 et seq.) of 
Chapter 29 of the Code of Virginia who is granted a license 
by the commission under this chapter to conduct pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing. 

"Satellite facility" means all areas of the property at which 
simulcast horse racing is received for the purposes of pari-
mutuel wagering and any additional areas designated by the 
commission for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0811
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/executive-actions/ed-1-directing-the-virginia-racing-commission-regarding-regulations-related-to-historic-horse-racing-pursuant-to-house-bill-1609.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/executive-actions/ed-1-directing-the-virginia-racing-commission-regarding-regulations-related-to-historic-horse-racing-pursuant-to-house-bill-1609.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/executive-actions/ed-1-directing-the-virginia-racing-commission-regarding-regulations-related-to-historic-horse-racing-pursuant-to-house-bill-1609.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8420
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.5/
https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/compulsive-gambling/symptoms-causes/syc-20355178
https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/compulsive-gambling/symptoms-causes/syc-20355178
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11VAC10-47-20. Pari-mutuel wagering; generally. 

The commission is authorized to issue licenses to (i) holders 
of a significant infrastructure limited license or (ii) holders of 
a satellite facility license to conduct pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing for the promotion, sustenance, and 
growth of a native industry, in a manner consistent with the 
health, safety, and welfare of the people. Pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing shall be conducted so as 
to maintain horse racing in the Commonwealth of Virginia of 
the highest quality and free of any corrupt, incompetent, 
dishonest, or unprincipled practices and to maintain in horse 
racing complete honesty and integrity. This chapter shall 
exclusively govern all matters related to pari-mutuel wagering 
on historical horse racing. 

11VAC10-47-30. Observance of regulations. 

A licensee shall be charged with the observance and 
compliance with the act and the regulations of the 
commission. 

11VAC10-47-40. Requirements for wagering on historical 
horse racing. 

A. In accordance with the act, wagering on a historical horse 
race shall only be conducted by: 

1. A significant infrastructure limited licensee; or 

2. A satellite facility licensee. 

B. Wagering on historical horse racing may only take place 
at a licensed significant infrastructure facility or a licensed 
satellite facility. 

C. A licensee may conduct wagering on historical horse 
races of any horse breed regardless of the type of breed that 
primarily races in live meets conducted by the licensee. 

D. The minimum wager to be accepted by any licensee on 
the outcome of a historical horse race shall be $ .10. The 
minimum payout on any wager shall not be less than the 
amount wagered. 

E. Any wager placed on a historical horse race is a multiple 
wager. 

F. The terminal may display the wager and its outcome as 
part of an entertaining display or game, provided the wager 
functions according to the pari-mutuel wagering pool 
specifications provided by the licensee to and approved by the 
commission. A licensee may not offer a new display or game 
without prior approval of the commission as set forth in this 
chapter. 

G. All wagering on a historical horse race shall incorporate 
the following elements: 

1. A patron may only wager on a historical horse race on a 
terminal approved by the commission; 

2. A licensee shall at all times maintain at least two 
terminals offering wagering on historical horse races for 
each pool and minimum wager denomination; 

3. Prior to the patron making wager selections, the terminal 
shall not display any information that would allow the 
patron to identify the historical race on which the patron is 
wagering, including the location of the race, the date on 
which the race was run, the names of the horses in the race, 
or the names of the jockeys who rode the horses in the 
race; 

4. The terminal shall make available true and accurate past 
performance information on the historical horse race to the 
patron prior to the patron making wager selections. The 
information shall be current as of the day the historical 
horse race was actually run. The information provided to 
the patron shall be displayed on the terminal in data or 
graphical form; and 

5. After a patron finalizes wager selections, the terminal 
shall display the official results of the race and a replay of 
the race, or a portion thereof, whether by digital, animated, 
or graphical depiction or by way of a video recording. The 
identity of the race shall be revealed to the patron after the 
patron has placed a wager. 

11VAC10-47-50. Location and hours of operation of 
terminals used for wagering on historical horse racing. 

A. Pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse races shall only 
be permitted in designated areas that have the prior written 
approval of the commission and are on the premises of a 
significant infrastructure limited licensee or satellite facility 
licensee.  

B. A licensee shall request permission from the commission 
to alter the physical layout of the area permitted for historical 
horse racing. 

C. Designated areas shall be established in such a way as to 
control access by the general public and prevent entry by any 
patron who is younger than 18 years of age or is otherwise 
not permitted to place wagers. 

D. The designated area shall provide terminals that are 
accessible to handicapped persons. 

E. A licensee may conduct pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse races on days and hours approved by the 
commission. 

11VAC10-47-60. Payouts from pari-mutuel pools 
generated by wagering on historical horse racing. 

A. A wager on a historical horse race, less deductions 
permitted by the act, shall be placed in pari-mutuel pools 
approved by the commission. 

B. A licensee shall provide guaranteed funding for all 
historical horse race pools offered by the licensee. This 
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guarantee shall be in the form of a letter of credit, bond with 
surety, or other instrument of financial security in an amount 
and form approved by the commission sufficient to cover 
outstanding vouchers together with any indebtedness incurred 
by the licensee to the Commonwealth. 

C. A licensee offering wagering on a historical horse race 
shall maintain pari-mutuel pools for each wager in a manner 
and method approved by the commission. The pari-mutuel 
pools shall be maintained and funded in a method approved 
by the commission to ensure that the amount available in the 
pari-mutuel pools at any given time is sufficient to ensure that 
a patron will be paid the minimum amount required on a 
winning wager. 

D. All prizes awarded from a historical horse race wager 
shall be awarded from an existing pari-mutuel pool. The 
money in the pool shall only consist of money wagered by 
patrons or allocated to the pari-mutuel pool. Wagers made on 
a historical horse race shall not constitute a wager against the 
licensee. Wagers shall not be conducted in a manner in which 
the amount retained by the licensee is dependent upon the 
outcome of any particular race or the success of any particular 
wager.  

E. The rules for the mathematical model, configuration of 
pools, and pool payout methodology shall be described in 
game specification documentation, which shall be provided 
by the licensee to the commission.  

F. Controls shall be in place to ensure that depletion of a 
pari-mutuel pool below an amount required to pay all 
winning tickets shall be detected at the time of depletion, and 
depletion shall result in the automatic suspension of any 
wagering activity related to that pool. The commission shall 
be notified immediately in the event of the suspension of 
wagering activity of any historical horse racing pool.  

11VAC10-47-70. Commission approval of historical horse 
racing games and displays. 

A. A licensee shall submit a written request to the 
commission for permission to offer a multiple wager on a 
historical horse race. The written request shall include a 
detailed description of the rules that apply to the pari-mutuel 
wager, the method of calculating payouts, and the method by 
which money will be allocated to the pari-mutuel pool, if 
applicable. This documentation shall fully and accurately 
describe: 

1. The method of determining a game outcome; 

2. Available wagering denominations; 

3. Minimum wager amount; 

4. Maximum wager amount; 

5. The allocation of wagers into the pari-mutuel pool; 

6. The amount of takeout for each wager; 

7. The method of calculating winning payouts and 
breakage, where applicable; 

8. Payout calculations set forth in sufficient detail to audit 
a payout through manual calculation; 

9. The minimum payouts and the method of guaranteeing 
minimum payouts;  

10. The method of mapping payouts to an entertaining 
display on the wagering terminal; and 

11. Any other information provided to an independent 
testing laboratory for use in the testing of the pari-mutuel 
wagers. 

B. For wagering on historical horse racing, approximate 
odds or payouts for each pool shall be available on each 
respective terminal for viewing by patrons.  

C. In conspicuous places in the designated area, each 
licensee shall post (i) a general explanation of pari-mutuel 
wagering offered on historical horse races and (ii) an 
explanation of each betting pool offered in the terminal 
menus. The explanation shall be submitted to the commission 
for approval prior to its posting. 

11VAC10-47-80. Equipment required for pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse races. 

A. Wagering on historical horse races shall be offered on 
terminals that include a cabinet in which the electronics and 
other operating components are located. All terminals and 
other equipment shall be subject to inspection by the 
commission. 

B. The terminal shall: 

1. Protect against electrostatic interference by being 
grounded so that static discharge energy shall not 
permanently damage or inhibit the normal operation of the 
electronics or other components within the wagering 
terminal. In the event that a temporary disruption of the 
normal operation of a wagering terminal occurs as a result 
of an electrostatic discharge, the wagering terminal shall 
have the capacity to recover and complete any interrupted 
wager without loss or corruption of any control or critical 
data information. Each terminal shall be tested to a 
maximum discharge severity level of 27 kV air discharge; 

2. Not be adversely affected, other than during resets, by 
surges or dips of up to 20% of the supply voltage. If a 
wagering terminal is designed such that a surge or dip of 
up to 20% of the supply voltage causes a reset, the terminal 
shall also be designed so that a surge or dip shall not result 
in damage to the equipment or loss or corruption of data. 
Upon reset, the game shall return to its previous state or 
return to a game completion state, provided the game 
history and all credit and accounting meters comprehend a 
completed game; 
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3. Have an on/off switch that controls the electrical current 
installed in a readily accessible location within the interior 
of the terminal so that power cannot be disconnected from 
outside of the terminal using the on/off switch. The on/off 
positions of the switch shall be labeled; 

4. Be designed so that power and data cables into and out 
of the terminal can be routed so that they are not accessible 
to the general public. Security-related wires and cables that 
are routed into a logic area shall be securely fastened 
within the interior of the terminal; 

5. Have an identification badge affixed to the exterior of 
the terminal by the manufacturer that is not removable 
without leaving evidence of tampering. This badge shall 
include the following information: 

a. The name of the manufacturer; 

b. A unique serial number; 

c. The terminal model number; and 

d. The date of manufacture; 

6. Have an external tower light located conspicuously on 
the top of the terminal that automatically illuminates when 
a patron has won an amount that the terminal cannot 
automatically pay or when an error condition has occurred; 

7. Be constructed of materials that are designed to allow 
only authorized access to the inside of the terminal. The 
terminal and its locks, doors, and associated hinges shall be 
capable of withstanding determined and unauthorized 
efforts to gain access to the inside of the terminal and shall 
be designed to leave evidence of tampering if such an entry 
is made; 

8. Have seals between the terminal and the doors of a 
locked area that are designed to resist the use of tools or 
other objects used to breach the locked area by physical 
force; 

9. Have external doors that shall be locked and monitored 
by door access sensors. When the external doors are 
opened, the door access sensors shall (i) cause game 
wagering activity to cease, (ii) disable all currency 
acceptance, (iii) enter an error condition, (iv) illuminate the 
tower light at a minimum, and (v) record the error 
condition. The requirements of this subsection do not apply 
to the drop box door; 

10. Have external doors designed so that it shall not be 
possible to insert a device into the terminal that will disable 
a "door open" sensor without leaving evidence of 
tampering when the door of the terminal is shut;  

11. Have a sensor system that shall provide notification 
that an external door is open when the door is moved from 
its fully closed and locked position, provided power is 
supplied to the device; 

12. Have a logic area, which is a separately locked cabinet 
area with its own monitored, locked door or other 
monitored, locked covering that houses electronic 
components that have the potential to significantly 
influence the operation of the terminal. There may be more 
than one such logic area in a terminal. The electronic 
components housed in the logic area shall include: 

a. A central processing unit and any program storage 
device that contains software that may affect the integrity 
of wagering, including the game accounting, system 
communication, and peripheral firmware devices 
involved in or that significantly influence the operation 
and calculation of game play, game display, game result 
determination, or game accounting, revenue, or security; 

b. Communication controller electronics and components 
housing the communication program storage device; and 

c. The nonvolatile memory backup device, which if 
located in the logic area, shall be kept within a locked 
logic area; and 

13. Have a currency storage area that is separately keyed 
and fitted with sensors that indicate "door open/close" or 
"stacker receptacle removed," provided power is supplied 
to the device. Access to the currency storage area shall be 
secured by two locks before the currency can be removed. 
The locks shall be located on the relevant outer door and 
on at least one other door. 

C. Critical memory storage shall be maintained by a 
methodology that enables errors to be identified. This 
methodology shall include signatures, checksums, partial 
checksums, multiple copies, timestamps, effective use of 
validity codes, or any combination of these methods. 

D. Comprehensive checks of critical memory shall be made 
following game initiation but prior to display of game 
outcome to the patron. 

E. An unrecoverable corruption of critical memory shall 
result in an error state. The memory error shall not be cleared 
automatically and shall cause the terminal to cease further 
functioning. The critical memory error shall also cause any 
communication external to the terminal to immediately cease. 
An unrecoverable critical memory error shall require 
restoration or clearing of software state by an authorized 
person. 

F. If critical memory is maintained in nonvolatile memory 
on the terminal and not by the server based system, then: 

1. The terminal shall have the ability to retain data for all 
critical memory as defined in this section and shall be 
capable of maintaining the accuracy of the data for 30 days 
after power is discontinued from the terminal; 

2. For rechargeable battery types only, if the battery 
backup is used as an off-chip battery source, it shall 
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recharge itself to its full potential in a maximum of 24 
hours. The shelf life of the battery shall be at least five 
years; 

3. Nonvolatile memory that uses an off-chip backup power 
source to retain its contents when the main power is 
switched off shall have a detection system that will provide 
a method for software to interpret and act upon a low 
battery condition before the battery reaches a level where it 
is no longer capable of maintaining the memory in 
question. Clearing nonvolatile memory shall require access 
to the locked logic area or other secure method, provided 
that the method is approved by the commission; and 

4. Following the initiation of a nonvolatile memory reset 
procedure, the game program shall execute a routine that 
initializes all bits in critical nonvolatile memory to the 
default state. All memory locations intended to be cleared 
as per the nonvolatile memory clear process shall be fully 
reset in all cases. 

G. Critical memory of a server-based game may be 
maintained by the server, terminal, or some combination 
thereof. The critical memory related to each terminal shall: 

1. Be kept independent to all other wagering terminals. If 
corruption occurs in any single terminal's critical memory 
no other terminal shall be effected by the terminal's corrupt 
memory state; and 

2. Be clearly identified as to which physical terminal the 
critical memory represents, through unique identification, 
such as serial number or other unique terminal hardware 
identifier. 

H. All terminals shall be equipped with a device, 
mechanism, or method for retaining the value of the meter 
information specified in 11VAC10-47-10 in the event of a 
loss of power to the terminal. Storage and retrieval of the 
accounting meters from a server is an acceptable method of 
retrieval. 

I. Configuration setting changes shall not cause an 
obstruction to the meters. 

J. If the terminal is in a test, diagnostic, or demonstration 
mode, any test that incorporates credits entering or leaving 
the terminal shall be completed prior to resumption of normal 
operation. In addition, there shall not be any mode other than 
normal wagering operation that debits or credits any of the 
electronic meters. Any wagering credits on the terminal that 
were accrued during the test, diagnostic, or demonstration 
mode shall be cleared before the mode is exited. Specific 
meters are permissible for these types of modes, provided the 
meters are clearly identified. 

K. Terminals shall not allow any information contained in a 
communication to or from the online monitoring system that 
is intended to be protected, including validation information, 
secure PINs, credentials, or secure seeds and keys, to be 

viewable through any display mechanism supported by the 
terminal. 

L. All program storage devices shall: 

1. Be housed within a fully enclosed and locked logic 
compartment; 

2. Validate themselves during each processor reset; and 

3. Validate themselves the first time they are used. 

M. Program storage devices that do not have the ability to be 
modified while installed in the terminal during normal 
operation shall be clearly marked with information to identify 
the software and revision level of the information stored in 
the devices. 

N. Terminals shall have the ability to allow for an 
independent integrity check of all software that may affect the 
integrity of the game. The integrity check shall be by an 
independent testing laboratory approved by the commission.  

1. The independent testing laboratory's software may be 
embedded within the game software, utilize an interface 
port to communicate with the terminal, or require the 
removal of terminal media for external verification.  

2. Each terminal used for wagering on historical horse 
races shall be tested by the independent testing laboratory 
to ensure its integrity and proper working order. This 
evaluation shall include a review of installed software prior 
to implementation and periodically within a timeframe 
established by the commission.  

3. The licensee shall pay the cost of the independent testing 
laboratory's review and testing, and the reports of the same 
shall be delivered to the licensee and the commission. 

4. To ensure the integrity of pari-mutuel wagering and 
validity of the race results, the licensee shall permit an 
integrity auditor, selected and paid for by the commission, 
complete access to review and monitor the integrity, 
security, and operation, including all race and 
handicapping data used in order to detect any compromise 
of or anomalies that would allow a player to have an unfair 
advantage.  

5. The integrity auditor shall be in a position to extract 
actual data and use a statistically significant portion of this 
data applied to quality assurance testing and assess the 
validity of the vendor's management reporting by cross-
referencing to a body of raw source information to 
determine correctness. The integrity auditor shall have 
experience and expertise involving all components of pari-
mutuel wagering and totalizator systems. 

6. The integrity auditor will collect and provide wagering 
data and reports from the licensee's vendor. This shall 
include pari-mutuel commission and liability reports for 
analysis and verification of the amounts wagered, payouts, 
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takeout, and taxes in addition to all transactional data logs 
and reports daily as specified by the integrity auditor. 

7. The licensee shall provide access to the integrity auditor 
to conduct periodic onsite inspections and terminal audits 
at licensed racetracks and satellite wagering facilities with 
assistance from the vendor. The licensee shall supply 
advanced notification, when possible, of at least 30 
calendar days of all new game products, changes in the 
composition of the historic horse races in the library, any 
changes to reporting or the method of provision of those 
reports, and any adverse or unusual occurrences relating to 
the operation of play or payouts to the integrity auditor. 

O. Winning pari-mutuel wagers shall be processed 
according to U.S. Internal Revenue Service reporting 
requirements for the taxation of pari-mutuel horse racing. If a 
winning amount is in excess of the thresholds established in 
the Internal Revenue Service reporting requirements, the 
terminal shall cease operation and require attendant 
interaction to proceed. 

P. Terminals shall be capable of detecting and displaying the 
following errors: 

1. Open door conditions; 

2. Nonvolatile memory errors; 

3. Low nonvolatile memory battery for batteries external to 
the nonvolatile memory itself for low power source; 

4. Program error or authentication mismatch; 

5. Display device errors; and 

6. The identification of an invalid bill or voucher. 

Q. Detection of terminal error conditions must result in 
actions to protect the integrity of the game. Following 
detection of an error condition: 

1. The terminal shall secure itself and it shall: 

a. Cause the terminal to cease play and require attendant 
intervention prior to returning to normal play; 

b. Cause the terminal to display an appropriate error 
message; 

c. Disable bill and voucher acceptance; 

d. Sound an alarm, illuminate the tower light, display the 
error on screen, or any combination of the three; 

e. Be communicated to an online monitoring and control 
system;  

f. Be displayed on a terminal; and 

g. Cause the terminal to remain in error mode if the 
terminal is powered down with an unresolved error 
condition, unless power down is used as a part of the 
error reset procedure.  

2. Upon resolution of an error condition, a terminal may 
return to a wager completion state, provided the game 
history, wagering credits, and other meters display the 
completed wager properly.  

R. Terminals shall not be adversely affected by the 
simultaneous or sequential activation of various terminal 
inputs and outputs. 

S. Test, diagnostic, or demonstration modes on a terminal 
shall: 

1. Be entered only from an attendant following appropriate 
instructions; 

2. Not be accessible to a patron; and 

3. Be indicated on the terminal via an appropriate message. 

T. Upon exiting from test, diagnostic, or demonstration 
mode, a terminal shall return to its previous state.  

U. Video monitor touch screens on terminals shall: 

1. Be accurate within one millimeter of the center of a 
physical input;  

2. Be able to be calibrated without access to the terminal 
cabinet other than opening the main door, and once 
calibrated shall maintain accuracy for at least the video 
touch screen manufacturer's recommended maintenance 
period; and  

3. Have no hidden or undocumented buttons or touch 
points anywhere on the screen that affect wagering or that 
impact the outcome of the game, except as provided by the 
game rules. 

V. Paper currency acceptors used in a terminal shall: 

1. Be electronically based;  

2. Detect the entry of bills or vouchers inserted into the 
paper currency acceptor and provide a method to enable 
the terminal software to interpret and act appropriately 
upon a valid or invalid input; 

3. Be configured to ensure the acceptance of only valid 
bills or vouchers and reject all other items; 

4. Return to the patron all rejected bills or vouchers, and 
any other item inserted into the acceptor; 

5. Be constructed in a manner that protects against 
vandalism, abuse, or fraudulent activity; 

6. Register the actual monetary value or appropriate 
number of wagering credits received for the denomination 
used on the patron's credit meter for each valid bill or 
voucher; 

7. Register wagering credits only when the bill or other 
note has passed the point where it is accepted or stacked 
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and the acceptor has sent an "irrevocably stacked" message 
to the terminal; 

8. Be designed to prevent the use of fraudulent crediting, 
the insertion of foreign objects, and any other fraudulent 
technique; 

9. Implement a method of detecting counterfeit bills; 

10. Only accept bills or vouchers when the terminal is 
enabled for play; 

11. Have the capability of detecting and displaying any 
supported error conditions; 

12. Shall communicate with the terminal using a bi-
directional protocol; 

13. Be located in a locked area of the terminal that requires 
the opening of the main door for access. The paper 
currency acceptor shall not be located in the logic area. 
Only the bill or voucher insertion area shall be accessible 
by the patron; 

14. Have a secure stacker that shall: 

a. Deposit into the stacker all accepted items;  

b. Be attached to the terminal in such a manner that it 
cannot be easily removed by physical force; and 

c. Have a separate keyed lock to access the stacker area. 
The keyed lock shall be separate from the main door, and 
a separate keyed lock shall be required to remove the 
bills from the stacker; and 

15. Have a bill validator that shall: 

a. Retain in its memory and have the ability to display the 
information required of the last 25 items accepted by the 
bill validator; 

b. Have a recall log that may be combined or maintained 
separately by item type. If combined, the type of item 
accepted shall be recorded with the respective timestamp; 
and 

c. Give proper credit or return the bill or note if power 
failure occurs during acceptance of a bill or note. 

W. Available wagering credit may be collected from the 
terminal by the patron at any time other than during: 

1. A game being wagered; 

2. Audit mode; 

3. Test mode; 

4. A credit meter or win meter increment; or 

5. An error condition. 

X. Each terminal shall be equipped with a printer that: 

1. Is used to make payments to the patron by issuing a 
printed voucher. The terminal shall transmit the following 
data to an online system that records the following 
information regarding each payout ticket or voucher 
printed: 

a. The value of credits in local monetary units in 
numerical form; 

b. The time of day the ticket or voucher was printed in 
24-hour format, showing hours and minutes; 

c. The date, in format approved by the commission, 
indicating the day, month, and year that the ticket or 
voucher was issued; 

d. The terminal number; and 

e. A unique ticket or voucher validation number. 

2. Prints only one copy to the patron and retains 
information on the last 25 printed vouchers; 

3. Is housed in a locked area of the terminal but shall not 
be located within the logic area or the drop box; and 

4. Allows control program software to interpret and act 
upon all error conditions. 

Y. Terminals shall be capable of displaying wager recall, 
which shall: 

1. Include the last 50 wagers on the terminal; 

2. Be retrievable on the terminal via an external key-switch 
or other secure method not available to the patron; and 

3. Provide all information required to fully reconstruct the 
wagers, including: 

a. Initial credits or ending credits associated with the 
wager; 

b. Credits wagered; 

c. Credits won; 

d. Entertaining game display symbol combinations and 
credits paid whether the outcome resulted in a win or a 
loss; 

e. Representation in a graphical or text format; 

f. Final wager outcome, including all patron choices and 
all bonus features; and 

g. As an optional feature, display of values as currency in 
place of wagering credits. 

Z. Server-stored information shall be backed up no less 
often than once per day to an offsite storage facility 
controlled by the licensee. Offsite storage may include 
storage through a cloud service provider if approved by the 
commission. The server and offsite backup storage shall be 
accessible to the commission and subject to third-party 
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checks and validation as provided in subsection N of this 
section.  

11VAC10-47-90. Requirements for tickets or vouchers 
used in historical horse racing. 

A. Terminals shall not dispense currency. Payment to 
patrons shall only be accomplished by means of a printed 
voucher. 

B. All vouchers shall contain the following printed 
information at a minimum: 

1. Licensee name and site identifier, which may be 
contained on the ticket stock itself; 

2. Terminal number or cashier booth location; 

3. Date and time stated in a 24-hour format according to 
the local time zone; 

4. Alpha and numeric dollar amount; 

5. Ticket or voucher sequence number; 

6. Validation number; 

7. Bar code or any machine-readable code representing the 
validation number; 

8. Type of transaction or other method of differentiating 
voucher types. If the voucher is a noncashable item, the 
ticket shall explicitly express that it has "no cash value"; 
and 

9. The expiration period from date of issue, or date and 
time the ticket or voucher will expire in a 24-hour format 
according to the local time zone. This information may be 
contained on the ticket stock itself. Payment on valid pari-
mutuel tickets, including tickets where refunds are ordered, 
shall be made only upon presentation and surrender of 
valid pari-mutuel tickets to the licensee within 180 days 
after the purchase of the ticket. Failure to present any valid 
pari-mutuel ticket to the licensee within 180 days after the 
purchase of the ticket shall constitute a waiver of the right 
to payment. 

C. A system approved by the commission shall be used to 
validate the payout ticket or voucher. The ticket or voucher 
information on the central system shall be retained for two 
calendar years after a voucher is valid at that location. 

D. Payment by voucher as a method of credit redemption 
shall only be permissible when the terminal is linked to a 
computerized voucher validation system that is approved by 
the commission. 

E. The validation system must be able to identify a duplicate 
ticket or voucher to prevent fraud. 

F. Terminals must meet the following minimum 
requirements to incorporate the ability to issue offline 

vouchers after a loss of communication has been identified by 
a wagering terminal: 

1. The wagering terminal shall not issue more offline 
vouchers than it has the ability to retain and display in the 
wagering terminal maintained voucher-out log; 

2. The wagering terminal shall not request validation 
numbers used in the issuance of vouchers until all 
outstanding offline voucher information has been fully 
communicated to the voucher validation system; 

3. The wagering terminal shall request a new set of 
validation numbers used in the issuance of online or offline 
vouchers if the current list of validation numbers has the 
possibility of being compromised, which shall include: 

a. After power has been recycled, or 

b. Upon exit of a main door condition; and 

4. Validation numbers must always be masked when 
viewable through any display supported by the wagering 
terminal such that only the last four digits of the validation 
number are visible. 

G. Vouchers may be inserted in any terminal participating in 
the validation system providing that no credits are issued to 
the terminal prior to confirmation of voucher validity. 

H. The offline voucher redemption may be validated as an 
internal control process at the specific terminal that issued the 
voucher. A manual handpay may be conducted for the offline 
voucher value.  

11VAC10-47-100. Accounting and occurrence meter 
requirements. 

A. The required accounting meters are as follows: 

1. Coin in, which accumulates the total value of all wagers, 
whether the wagered amount results from the insertion of 
bills or vouchers or deduction from a credit meter;  

2. Coin out, which accumulates the total value of all 
amounts directly paid by the terminal as a result of winning 
wagers, whether the payback is made to a credit meter or 
any other means; 

3. Attendant paid jackpot, which accumulates the total 
value of credits paid by an attendant resulting from a single 
wager, the amount of which is not capable of being paid by 
the wagering terminal itself; 

4. Attendant paid canceled credit, which accumulates the 
total value paid by an attendant resulting from a patron-
initiated cashout that exceeds the physical or configured 
capability of the terminal to make the proper payout 
amount; 

5. Bill in, which accumulates the total value of currency 
accepted. Each wagering terminal shall have a specific 
occurrence meter for each denomination of currency 
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accepted that records the number of bills accepted of each 
denomination; 

6. Voucher in, which accumulates the total value of all 
wagering terminal vouchers accepted by the device; 

7. Voucher out, which accumulates the total value of all 
wagering terminal vouchers issued by the device; 

8. Noncashable electronic promotion in, which 
accumulates the total value of noncashable credits from 
vouchers accepted by the terminal; 

9. Cashable electronic promotion in, which accumulates 
the total value of cashable credits from vouchers accepted 
by the terminal; 

10. Noncashable electronic promotion out, which 
accumulates the total value of noncashable credits issued to 
vouchers by the device; and 

11. Cashable electronic promotion out, which accumulates 
the total value of cashable credits issued to vouchers by the 
device. 

B. Additional required occurrence meters are as follows: 

1. Cashable promotional credit wagered, which 
accumulates the total value of promotional cashable credits 
that are wagered;  

2. Games wagered, which accumulates the number of 
wagers placed; and 

3. Games won, which accumulates the number of wagers 
resulting in a win to the patron. 

C. Electronic accounting meters shall maintain and calculate 
data to at least 10 digits in length. 

D. Electronic accounting meters shall be maintained in 
credit units equal to the denomination or in dollars and cents. 

E. If the electronic accounting meter is maintained in dollars 
and cents, eight digits must be used for the dollar amount and 
two digits must be used for the cents amount. 

F. Devices configured for multi-denomination wagering 
shall display the units in dollars and cents at all times. 

G. Any time the meter exceeds 10 digits or after 
9,999,999,999 has been exceeded, the meter must roll over to 
zero. 

H. Occurrence meters shall be at least eight digits in length 
but are not required to automatically roll over. 

I. Meters shall be identified so that they can be clearly 
understood in accordance with their function. 

J. A wagering terminal shall maintain sufficient electronic 
metering to be able to display the following: 

1. The total monetary value of all items accepted on the 
terminal; 

2. The total number of all items accepted on the terminal; 

3. For bills accepted, the number of bills for each bill 
denomination; and 

4. For all other notes accepted, the number of notes 
accepted by note amount. 

K. Meters can be on the server instead of the terminal.  

11VAC10-47-110. Historical horse race specifications and 
selection requirements. 

A. The outcome of any historical horse race wager shall be 
derived from the result of one or more historical horse races. 

B. All historical horse races must be chosen at random from 
a database of actual historical horse races. All races in the 
database shall have a valid historical horse race result with 
details recorded at the same level as other races in the 
database, and shall include: 

1. Horse names; 

2. Race location; 

3. Race date; and 

4. Jockey name. 

C. In the case where a random number generator is used to 
select the historical horse races for a wager, all possible races 
in the database shall be available for selection.  

11VAC10-47-120. Wagering terminal historical race 
display. 

A. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 
clearly identify the entertaining game theme, if any, being 
used to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing. 
The video display shall make available the rules of the 
historical horse racing wager and the award that will be paid 
to the patron when the patron obtains a specific win.  

B. All paytable information, rules of play, and help screen 
information shall be available to a patron prior to placing a 
wager.  

C. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 
make available to the patron the rules of any features or 
interactive functions that may occur on the patron interface as 
part of the entertaining display of the wager and its outcome. 

D. The video display shall clearly indicate whether awards 
are designated in credits or currency. 

E. All wagering terminals shall display the following 
information to the patron at all times the wagering terminal is 
available for patron wager input: 

1. The patron's current credit balance in currency or 
credits; 

2. The current bet amount; 
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3. The amount won for the last completed game until the 
next game starts or betting options are modified; 

4. The patron options selected for the last completed game 
until the next game starts or a new selection is made; and 

5. A disclaimer stating "Malfunction Voids All Pays" or 
some equivalent wording approved by the commission. 
This may be presented as a permanent sign on the terminal. 

F. The default game display upon terminal reset shall not be 
a false winning outcome.  

G. Entertaining game features that simulate bonus or free 
games shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The initiation of a bonus or free game shall only be 
based on the result of the wager placed by the patron on the 
result of the historical horse race selected for the wager; 

2. The bonus or free game shall not require additional 
money to be wagered by the patron;  

3. The entertaining display shall make it clear to the patron 
that the patron is in bonus mode to avoid the possibility of 
the patron unknowingly leaving the wagering terminal 
while in a bonus mode; and 

4. If the bonus or free game requires an input from the 
patron, the terminal shall provide a means to complete the 
bonus or free game from a touch screen or hard button. 

H. Electronic metering displays shall:  

1. At all times include all credits or cash available for the 
patron to wager or cash out unless the terminal is in an 
error or malfunction state. This information is not required 
when the patron is viewing a menu or help screen item; 

2. Reflect the value of every prize at the end of a wager 
and add it to the patron's credit meter, except for handpays; 
and 

3. Show the cash value collected by the patron upon a 
cashout unless the terminal is in an error or malfunction 
state. 

I. A wager is complete when the final transfer to the patron's 
credit meter takes place or when all credits wagered are lost. 

11VAC10-47-130. Required reports for wagering on 
historical horse races; audit and inspection by the 
commission. 

A. All systems used for pari-mutuel wagering on historical 
horse races shall provide financial reports for individual 
approved wager model configurations and total pool amounts 
for each pool. Reports shall be available at the end of the 
wagering day or upon request by the commission with 
information current since the end of the last wagering day. 
The reports shall include: 

1. Current values of each pari-mutuel wagering pool;  

2. Total amounts wagered for all pools; 

3. Total amounts won by patrons for all pools; 

4. Total commission withheld for all pools;  

5. Total breakage for all pools, where applicable; 

6. Total amount wagered at each terminal; 

7. Total amount won by patrons at a terminal; 

8. The amount wagered on each mathematical model 
configuration and the amount won from each mathematical 
model configuration offered at a terminal; 

9. Total amount of each type of financial instrument 
inserted into a terminal; 

10. Total amount cashed out in voucher or handpays at a 
terminal; and 

11. Taxable win events including: 

a. Time and date of win; 

b. Wagering terminal identification number; 

c. Amount wagered resulting in taxable win; 

d. Taxable amount won; and 

e. Withholding amount. 

B. As provided in subdivision 2 of § 59.1-369 of the Code of 
Virginia, the commission or its authorized representatives 
may, at any time, conduct an audit or inspection of the 
financial reports, software, terminals, or other equipment used 
by a licensee in conducting operations under this chapter. 

11VAC10-47-140. Permits required. 

All racing officials employed in a satellite facility or at a 
significant infrastructure facility that offers pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing shall apply for permits 
under the provisions of 11VAC10-50. All participants 
employed in such facilities shall apply for permits under the 
provisions of 11VAC10-60.  

11VAC10-47-150. Filing of application; fee. 

An applicant for a license to offer pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing shall apply for a license to conduct the 
same with the commission at its offices, with the application 
tendered by hand delivery, certified mail, or recognized 
overnight courier service with delivery confirmation to the 
attention of the executive secretary of the commission. An 
application fee of $1,000 shall be paid for each location 
where the applicant seeks to offer pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing.  

11VAC10-47-160. Required information. 

An application for a license to conduct pari-mutuel wagering 
on historical horse racing shall contain the materials and 
information specified in 11VAC10-40-130 through 
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11VAC10-40-280. The applicant may reference its materials 
provided for a satellite facility license or significant 
infrastructure limited license as part of its application for a 
license to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse 
racing. The application shall also contain detailed information 
on the games to be offered by the applicant, including 
information demonstrating compliance with the requirements 
of this chapter. After review of the application, the executive 
secretary may request the applicant provide additional 
information, which the applicant shall promptly tender to the 
commission. Failure to provide information contained in this 
chapter, or as requested by the commission, shall be grounds 
for the commission to deny the request for a license to 
conduct pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing.  

11VAC10-47-170. Duration of license; transfer. 

A license for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on historical 
horse racing shall be effective for one calendar year or so 
long as the licensee shall hold a significant infrastructure 
limited license or satellite facility license for the particular 
location, whichever is shorter. A licensee may not transfer its 
license, or assign responsibility for compliance with the 
conditions of its license, to any party, including, without 
limitation, a transfer of effective control of the licensee, 
without commission approval.  

11VAC10-47-180. Simulcast operations. 

For any satellite facility that offers pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing, the following conditions shall apply: 

1. A licensee may not reduce, limit, or otherwise alter the 
nature or extent of its simulcast operations if it offers pari-
mutuel wagering on historical horse racing without 
commission approval. 

2. Any licensee must provide the following minimum 
simulcast offerings: 

a. An average daily simulcast schedule of not less than 
14 racetracks, unless otherwise approved by the 
commission for a specific facility; 

b. At least two tellers dedicated to simulcast wagering, or 
one teller for every 200 historical horse racing terminals 
at the satellite facility, whichever number is greater; and 

c. At least 20 self-service tote machines dedicated to 
simulcast wagering at each satellite facility, unless 
otherwise approved by the commission for a specific 
facility. 

3. The licensee must promote simulcast wagering inside its 
satellite facility and make available televisions 
broadcasting simulcast signal, tote machines, and tellers in 
a prominent location for use by patrons. 

4. The commission may authorize a licensee to provide 
historical racing terminals at a satellite facility located in a 
jurisdiction with valid and unexpired referenda on pari-

mutuel wagering in accordance with the following limits 
on the total number of historical racing terminals located in 
such jurisdiction:  

a. Up to 700 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 
of 120,000 or greater; 

b. Up to 300 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 
between 60,000 and 120,000; and 

c. Up to 150 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 
of 60,000 or less. 

The population of a jurisdiction shall be determined based 
upon the most recent University of Virginia Weldon 
Cooper Center population estimates. 

5. Any such satellite facility must receive all appropriate 
local government authorizations.  

6. In no circumstance shall the total number of historical 
racing terminals located in a jurisdiction set forth in 
subdivision 4 of this section exceed 25% of the total limit 
for such jurisdiction absent formal approval by the relevant 
city or town council or county board of supervisors of the 
jurisdiction. 

7. In no circumstance shall the combined statewide total 
number of historical racing terminals located at satellite 
facilities and significant infrastructure facilities exceed 
3,000.  

11VAC10-47-190. Significant infrastructure limited 
licensee operations. 

For any significant infrastructure limited licensee that offers 
pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing, the following 
conditions shall apply: 

1. For each calendar year, a licensee in accordance with 
11VAC10-20-200 shall submit to the commission a request 
for live racing days at its significant infrastructure facility 
that includes at least: 

a. Fifteen days of live racing, consisting of not less than 
six races per day; or  

b. One day of live racing, consisting of not less than six 
races per day, for every 100 historical racing terminals 
installed at such facility together with any satellite 
facility owned, operated, controlled, managed, or 
otherwise affiliated directly or indirectly with such 
licensee, whichever number shall be greater. 

2. In no circumstance shall the total number of historical 
racing terminals at any significant infrastructure facility 
exceed 700 terminals. 

3. Live racing dates shall be assigned by the commission 
and conducted in accordance with the procedure in 
11VAC10-20-220.  
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11VAC10-47-200. Responsible gaming. 

A. A licensee shall implement a program to promote 
responsible gaming by its patrons and provide details of the 
same to the commission. At a minimum, such program shall 
require: 

1. Posting in a conspicuous place in every place where 
pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing is 
conducted a sign that bears a toll-free number approved by 
the Virginia Council on Problem Gambling or other 
organizations that provide assistance to problem gamblers; 

2. Providing informational leaflets or other similar 
materials at the licensee's facilities on the dangers 
associated with problem gambling; 

3. Including in the licensee's promotional and marketing 
materials information on problem gambling and 
organizations that provide assistance to problem gamblers; 

4. Routine auditing of patron activity to identify patrons 
who have suffered significant financial losses in repeated 
visits to the licensee's facilities and providing such patrons 
with information on organizations that provide assistance 
to problem gamblers;  

5. If the licensee holds a license from the Virginia Alcohol 
Beverage Control Authority to serve alcoholic beverages, 
training for employees to identify patrons who have 
consumed excessive amounts of alcohol to prevent such 
patrons from continuing to engage in wagering activity 
while impaired;  

6. Partnership with the Virginia Council on Problem 
Gambling, the National Council on Problem Gambling, or 
other similar organization to identify and promote best 
practices for preventing problem gambling;  

7. Training for all employees who have contact with 
patrons as well as administrative and corporate staff 
members that shall include skills and procedures to 
respond to situations where a patron exhibits warning signs 
of a gambling problem or where a patron discloses they 
may have a gambling problem. Such employees and staff 
should be trained immediately upon their hiring and 
retrained and tested regularly; and 

8. Ensuring that any request by a patron who wishes to 
self-exclude from the licensee's facilities is honored by the 
licensee. 

B. A licensee shall report annually to the commission and 
make a copy available to the public on its efforts to meet 
subsection A of this section, its efforts to identify problem 
gamblers, and steps taken to: 

1. Prevent such individuals from continuing to engage in 
pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing; and 

2. Provide assistance to these individuals to address 
problem gambling activity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5684; Filed July 11, 2019, 3:51 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 17 of the Code of Virginia 
regarding the promulgation of technical regulations governing 
actual live horse racing at race meetings licensed by the 
commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-120. Claiming Races 
(amending 11VAC10-120-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 
201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 
email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment requires the trainer of a claimed horse to 
provide the new trainer of the claimed horse with injection 
records for the previous 30 days. This requirement is in the 
Association of Racing Commissioners International Model 
Rules.  

11VAC10-120-50. Claiming procedure.  

A claim may be filed on a horse programmed to race by 
properly completing a claim slip, including but not limited to 
the correct spelling of the horse's name, the date and the race 
number, sealing the claim slip in an envelope, and depositing 
the envelope in a locked claims box. The following 
provisions shall apply to the claiming of a horse:  

1. The licensee shall provide claim slips, claim envelopes, 
and a locked claim box to secure filed claims;  

2. The claim slip, enclosed in a sealed envelope, must be 
deposited in a locked claim box at least 15 minutes before 
post time of the race for which the claim is filed;  

3. The licensee shall provide a clock, and before the sealed 
envelope is deposited in the locked claim box, the time of 
day shall be stamped upon the envelope;  

4. No money or its equivalent shall be put in the claim box;  

5. The person filing the claim must have sufficient funds 
on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper or licensee in 
not less than the amount of the designated price and 
applicable sales taxes;  
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6. The claims clerk shall inform the stewards of a claim 
filed for a horse and of multiple claims on a horse;  

7. The claims clerk shall ascertain that the claim slip and 
envelope are properly complete;  

8. The claims clerk shall ascertain that the person is 
eligible to claim a horse and inform the stewards 
immediately of any doubts of the person's eligibility;  

9. The claims clerk shall ascertain that there are sufficient 
funds on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper or 
licensee of not less than the amount of the claim and 
applicable sales taxes;  

10. If more than one valid claim is filed for a horse, then 
title to the horse shall be determined by lot under the 
supervision of the stewards or their representative;  

11. A claimed horse shall race in the interest of and for the 
account of the owner from whom the horse was claimed;  

12. Title to a claimed horse shall vest in the successful 
claimant at the time the horse is deemed a starter whether 
the horse is dead or alive, sound or unsound, or injured in 
the race or after the race;  

13. Upon a successful claim the stewards shall issue a 
transfer authorization of the horse from the original owner 
to the claimant. Copies of the transfer authorization shall 
be maintained by the stewards and the racing secretary. 
Upon notification by the stewards the horsemen's 
bookkeeper shall immediately debit the claimant's account 
for the claiming price, along with applicable taxes and 
transfer fees, and shall immediately credit the original 
owner's account with the claiming price; 

14. In harness racing, the successful claimant of a horse 
programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership 
of a claimed horse even though such claimed horse was 
scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which 
it was scratched. The successful claimant must exercise his 
option by 9 a.m. of the day following the claiming race to 
which the horse programmed and scratched. No horse may 
be claimed from a claiming race unless the race is 
contested;  

15. A horse that has been claimed shall be delivered to the 
new owner at the conclusion of the race either at the 
paddock or at the detention barn, after the completion of 
any post-race testing;  

16. The claimant shall present the former owner with 
written authorization of the claim from the racing 
secretary;  

17. A positive test result for any prohibited drug is grounds 
for voiding the claim;  

18. The new owner may request that the horse be tested for 
equine infectious anemia, by taking the horse immediately 

following the race to the detention barn where a blood 
sample will be drawn;  

19. A positive test result for equine infectious anemia is 
grounds for voiding a claim;  

20. The new owner shall be responsible for filing the 
change of ownership with the appropriate breed registry;  

21. Despite any designation of sex or age of a horse 
appearing in the daily program or other publication, the 
person making the claim shall be solely responsible for 
determining the sex or age of the horse before filing a 
claim for the horse; and  

22. Officials and employees of the licensee shall not 
provide any information as to the filing of the claim until 
after the race has been run, except as necessary for 
processing of the claim; and  

23. If a horse is successfully claimed by a new owner, the 
trainer of record at the time of that claiming race must 
provide that horse's complete corticosteroid and intra-
articular injection records for the last 30 days, which shall 
include the date of the injection, name of the veterinarian 
performing the injection, articular spaces or structures 
injected, medication or biologicals used to inject each 
articular space, and dose in milligrams of each 
corticosteroid used. Such records shall be completed by the 
treating veterinarian and be provided to the new trainer 
within 48 hours of the transfer of the horse. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6068; Filed July 15, 2019, 11:54 a.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 
Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 23 of the Code of Virginia 
when promulgating regulations pertaining to the 
administration of medication or other substances foreign to 
the natural horse. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-180. Medication (amending 
11VAC10-180-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 
201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 
email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment lowers the allowable dosage of furosemide 
on race day to 6.0 ml or 300 mg. 
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11VAC10-180-80. Permitted race day substances. 

A. Generally. Furosemide shall be the only medication 
permitted to be administered on race day and only to those 
horses eligible for furosemide treatment as designated by the 
bleeder list and furosemide list described in subsection B of 
this section. 

B. Bleeder medications. By this regulation, the Virginia 
Racing Commission specifically permits the use of bleeder 
medications in only those horses that: 

1. Have been placed on the bleeders list by the stewards; 

2. Have raced on furosemide in another jurisdiction on the 
last previous start in a pari-mutuel race, as indicated by the 
past performance chart or by verification by the 
commission veterinarian from that racing jurisdiction, or 
both; or 

3. Have been placed on the furosemide list by the stewards. 
A horse is eligible for inclusion on the furosemide list if 
the licensed trainer and a licensed veterinarian determine it 
is in the horse's best interest to race with furosemide, and 
the prescribed commission form is presented to the 
commission veterinarian prior to the close of entries for the 
horse's race. A horse placed on the furosemide list without 
demonstrating an episode of exercise-induced pulmonary 
hemorrhage is not restricted from racing for the usual 
recovery period described in 11VAC10-180-85 D. 
However, any future episode of exercise-induced 
pulmonary hemorrhage shall be considered a reoccurrence 
of bleeding for the purpose of determining restrictions 
from racing, as provided in this chapter. 

a. A trainer or owner may discontinue the administration 
of furosemide to his racehorse only with the permission 
of the stewards. The request must be submitted in writing 
on forms prescribed by the commission and prior to 
entering the horse in a race. 

b. A horse removed from the furosemide list may not be 
placed back on the furosemide list for a period of 60 
calendar days unless the horse suffers an external 
bleeding incident witnessed by the commission 
veterinarian or his designee. In such case, the horse shall 
be placed on the bleeders list as though that bleeding 
incident was a reoccurrence of bleeding and subjected to 
a minimum 30-day or 90-day restriction for recovery as 
provided in this chapter. 

C. Furosemide. 

1. Procedures for usage. The use of furosemide on race day 
is permitted by the commission only in horses eligible to 
receive bleeder medications and under the following 
circumstances: 

a. Furosemide shall be administered by a single dose 
intravenously no less than four hours, or three hours for a 

ship-in meet, prior to post time within the enclosure of 
the horse race facility by a veterinarian who shall be 
specifically designated by the commission to administer 
furosemide. 

b. The furosemide dosage administered shall not exceed 
10 6.0 ml (500 (300 mg) and shall not be less than 3.0 ml 
(150 mg). At a ship-in meet, the minimum dosage shall 
be not less than 2.0 ml (100 mg). 

c. The veterinarian administering the furosemide shall be 
an employee of the commission or otherwise observed by 
an employee of the commission who shall deliver a 
furosemide treatment report to the commission no later 
than two hours prior to post time. The furosemide 
treatment report shall contain the following: 

(1) The trainer's name, date, horse's name, and horse's 
identification number; 

(2) The time furosemide was administered to the horse; 

(3) The dosage level administered for this race; 

(4) The barn and stall number; and 

(5) The signature of the veterinarian, who is a permit 
holder and is specifically designated by the commission 
to administer furosemide. 

2. Furosemide quantification. Furosemide levels must not 
exceed 100 nanograms per milliliter (ng/ml) of serum or 
plasma and urine specific gravity measuring 1.010 or 
lower. If a urine sample is unavailable for specific gravity 
measurement, serum or plasma concentration may not 
exceed 100 nanograms per milliliter. Furosemide must be 
present in the serum or plasma or urine of any horse that 
has been designated in the program as being treated with 
furosemide. 

D. Disciplinary actions. 

1. For the first violation of the regulation pertaining to 
furosemide quantification (subdivision C 2 of this section), 
the stewards shall issue a written reprimand to the trainer 
and to the practicing veterinarian, if applicable. 

2. For the second violation of the regulation pertaining to 
furosemide quantification (subdivision C 2 of this section), 
the stewards shall fine the trainer, practicing veterinarian, 
or both an amount not to exceed $500. 

3. For the third violation of the regulation pertaining to 
furosemide quantification (subdivision C 2 of this section) 
within a 365-day period, the stewards shall suspend or fine 
the trainer, practicing veterinarian, or both not to exceed 
$1,000 and 15 days. 

4. The stewards, in their discretion, may impose other more 
stringent disciplinary actions against trainers or other 
permit holders who violate the provisions under which 
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furosemide is permitted by the commission, regardless of 
whether or not the same horse is involved. 

E. Adjunct bleeder medications. The Virginia Racing 
Commission prohibits the use of bleeder adjunct medication 
on race day. 

F. Program designation. The licensee shall be responsible 
for designating in the program those horses racing on 
furosemide. The designation shall also include those horses 
making their first start while racing on furosemide. In the 
event there is an error, the licensee shall be responsible for 
making an announcement to be made over the public address 
system and taking other means to correct the information 
published in the program. 

G. Discontinue use of furosemide. A trainer or owner may 
discontinue the administration of furosemide to his horse only 
with the permission of the stewards and prior to entering the 
horse in a race. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6066; Filed July 15, 2019, 11:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-550. Board of Health 
Regulations Governing Vital Records (amending 
12VAC5-550-320).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-250 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 4, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Janet Rainey, State Registrar, Virginia 
Department of Health, 2001 Maywill Street, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-6200, FAX (804) 662-6256, or 
email janet.rainey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The regulation is promulgated under the authority of 
§§ 32.1-12 and 32.17-250 of the Code of Virginia. Section 
32.1-12 grants the State Board of Health the legal authority to 
make, adopt, promulgate, and enforce such regulations 
necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 32.1 of the Code 
of Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth 
administered by it. Section 32.1-250 of the Code of Virginia 
requires the State Board of Health to install, maintain, and 
operate the only system of vital records throughout the 
Commonwealth. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is essential to ensure the 
accuracy of the Board of Health Regulations Governing Vital 

Records (12VAC5-550). Ensuring the integrity of the 
Commonwealth's system of vital records is essential to the 
welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth. The purpose of 
the proposed amendments is to conform the requirements of 
this section to the provisions of the Code of Virginia. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to 12VAC5-550-320 
revise the requirements to amend the birth certificate of a 
person who has had a medical procedure to change sex. The 
proposed amendments allow that a new certificate of birth 
may be prepared by the State Registrar for a person born in 
the Commonwealth upon (i) receipt of a certified copy of an 
order of a court of competent jurisdiction indicating that the 
sex of an individual has been changed by medical procedure, 
and (ii) request of such person. The amendments conform the 
regulation to the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the agency, and 
the Commonwealth is to enhance the integrity of the 
regulations governing vital records and in turn the system of 
vital records within the Commonwealth. There are no known 
disadvantages to the public, the regulated entities, business 
entities, or the Commonwealth. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 
of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Health (Board) proposes to amend language 
concerning how to have a new certificate of birth issued to 
reflect a change in gender. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The current language in the 
regulation concerning the required process to have a new 
certificate of birth issued to reflect a change in gender 
conflicts with the Code of Virginia (Code). The Board 
proposes to amend the language to match the requirements in 
the Code. Since when the Code and regulatory language 
conflict, the Code presides, the proposed amendments to the 
regulation would have no impact in practice beyond reducing 
the likelihood that readers of the regulation would be misled 
concerning the presiding requirements. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Beyond potentially 
reducing confusion among readers of the regulation, the 
proposed language amendments do not affect any businesses 
or entities.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Virginia Department of Health concurs with the economic 
impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments provide that upon receipt of a 
certified copy of an order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction indicating that the sex of an individual has 
been changed by medical procedure and request of that 
individual, the individual may be issued a new birth 
certificate by the State Registrar. The amendments conform 
the regulation to the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-550-320. Change of sex.  

Except as provided in subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-550-450, 
upon presentation receipt of acceptable evidence 
(preoperative diagnosis, postoperative diagnosis and 
description of procedure) and a notarized affidavit from the 
physician performing the surgery, a certified copy of an order 
of a court of competent jurisdiction indicating that the sex of 
an individual has been changed by medical procedure and 
upon request of such person, a new certificate of birth may be 
prepared by the State Registrar for a person born in this 
Commonwealth whose sex has been changed by surgical 
gender reassignment procedure. A certified copy of the court 

order changing the name of the registrant as well as 
designating the sex of the registrant must be in the possession 
of the State Registrar together with a request that a new 
certificate be prepared.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3634; Filed July 10, 2019, 9:45 a.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 
Program - General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-
10, 12VAC30-10-60, 12VAC30-10-410; repealing 
12VAC30-10-20). 

12VAC30-20. Administration of Medical Assistance 
Services (amending 12VAC30-20-205, 12VAC30-20-210). 

12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and Agencies Responsible 
for Eligibility Determination (amending 12VAC30-30-10). 

12VAC30-40. Eligibility Conditions and Requirements 
(adding 12VAC30-40-348).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: September 19, 2019, through March 18, 
2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapter 2, Item 303 SS 4 a of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 
directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to "...amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
… to implement coverage for newly eligible individuals…" 
Item 303 SS 4 f states that DMAS "...shall have the 
authority to promulgate emergency regulations to 
implement these changes within 280 days or less …" 

The amendments incorporate changes made to the State 
Plan for Medical Assistance to implement Medicaid 
expansion, including (i) establishing the adult eligibility 
group as a group eligible for Medicaid coverage, (ii) 
updating the Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3029 

program and HIPP for Kids program, (iii) making 
expansion-related changes to the federal medical 
assistance percentage, (iv) updating the federal medical 
assistance percentage for expenditures associated with 
new enrollees, and (v) allowing individuals who receive 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits to be 
moved into Medicaid coverage on an expedited basis. 

Part I  
Single State Agency Organization  

12VAC30-10-10. Designation and authority.  

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 
is the single state agency designated to administer or 
supervise the administration of the Medicaid program under 
Title XIX of the Social Security Act. (All references in this 
plan to "the Medicaid agency" mean the agency named in this 
subsection.)  

12VAC30-20-10 is a certification signed by the State 
Attorney General identifying the single state agency and 
citing the legal authority under which it administers or 
supervises administration of the program.  

B. The entire plan under Title XIX is administered or 
supervised by the state agency named in subsection A of this 
section.  

C. No waivers of the single state agency requirements have 
ever been granted.  

D. Determinations of eligibility for Medicaid under this plan 
are made by the agency or agencies specified in 12VAC30-
30-10. There is a written agreement between the agency 
named in subsection A of this section and other agencies 
making such determinations for specific groups covered 
under this plan. The agreement defines the relationships and 
respective responsibilities of the agencies. Eligibility 
determinations (including any delegations). 

1. The entities that conduct determinations of eligibility for 
families, adults, and individuals younger than 21 years of 
age are DMAS, the single state agency under Title IV-A 
(TANF), and the Exchange, which is a government agency 
established under § 1311(b)(1) or 1321(c)(1) of the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (42 USC § 18001). 

2. The entities that conduct determinations of eligibility 
based on age, blindness, and disability are DMAS and the 
single state agency under Title IV-A (TANF). 

3. DMAS makes the following assurances with regard to 
eligibility determinations: 

a. DMAS is responsible for all Medicaid eligibility 
determinations. 

b. There is a written agreement between DMAS, the 
Exchange, and the single state agency under Title IV-A. 
The Exchange and the single state agency under Title IV-

A have been delegated authority to determine eligibility 
for Medicaid eligibility in compliance with 42 CFR 
431.10(d). 

c. DMAS does not delegate authority to make eligibility 
determinations to entities other than government entities 
that maintain personnel standards on a merit basis. 

d. The delegated entity is capable of performing the 
delegated functions. 

E. All other provisions of this plan are administered by the 
Medicaid agency except for those functions for which final 
authority has been granted to a Professional Standards 
Review Organization under Title XI of the Act.  

F. All other requirements of 42 CFR 431.10 are met.  

12VAC30-10-20. Organization for administration. 
(Repealed.) 

A. 12VAC30-20-20 contains a description of the 
organization and functions of the Medicaid agency and an 
organization chart of the agency.  

B. Within the state agency, the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services has been designated as the medical 
assistance unit. 12VAC30-20-30 contains a description of the 
organization and functions of the medical assistance unit and 
an organization chart of the unit.  

C. 12VAC30-20-40 contains a description of the kinds and 
numbers of professional medical personnel and supporting 
staff used in the administration of the plan and their 
responsibilities.  

D. Eligibility determinations are made by state or local staff 
of an agency other than the agency named in 12VAC30-10-10 
A.  

Part II  
Coverage and Eligibility  

12VAC30-10-60. Application; determination of eligibility 
and furnishing Medicaid.  

A. The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 
Part 435, Subpart J for processing applications, determining 
eligibility and furnishing Medicaid.  

B. 1. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this 
subsection, individuals are entitled to Medicaid services 
under the plan during the three months preceding the month 
of application, if they were, or on application would have 
been, eligible. The effective date of prospective and 
retroactive eligibility is specified in 12VAC30-40-10.  

2. For individuals who are eligible for Medicaid cost 
sharing expenses as qualified Medicare beneficiaries under 
§ 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) of the Social Security Act (the Act), 
coverage is available for services furnished after the end of 
the month in which the individual is first determined to be 
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a qualified Medicare beneficiary. 12VAC30-40-10 
specifies the requirements for determination of eligibility 
for this group.  

3. Pregnant women are not entitled to ambulatory prenatal 
care under the plan during a presumptive eligibility in 
accordance with § 1920 of the Act. 12VAC30-40-10 
specifies the requirements for determination of eligibility 
of this group.  

C. The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract 
with an HMO a health maintenance organization (HMO) that 
is qualified under Title XIII of the Public Health Service Act 
(42 USC § 201 et seq.) or is provisionally qualified as an 
HMO pursuant to § 1903(m)(3) of the Social Security Act (42 
USC § 1396(m)).  

The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract with 
an HMO that is not federally qualified, but meets the 
requirements of 42 CFR 434.20(c) and is defined in 
12VAC30-20-60.  

D. The Medicaid agency has procedures to take applications, 
assist applicants, and perform initial processing of 
applications from those low income pregnant women, infants, 
and children under age younger than 19 years of age, 
described in § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), (a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), 
(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), and (a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) at locations other 
than those used by the Title IV-A program including FQHCs 
federally qualified health centers and disproportionate share 
hospitals. Such application forms do not include the ADFC 
Aid for Dependent Families and Children form except as 
permitted by HCFA the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services instructions.  

E. The Commonwealth elects the option to use income 
determined by the following means-tested public benefits 
program to support Medicaid eligibility determinations: 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). 

1. In electing this option, the Commonwealth assures that 
it: 

a. Verifies citizenship and noncitizen status consistent 
with Medicaid statutory and regulatory requirements in 
§ 1137 of the Social Security Act, 42 CFR 435.406, and 
42 CFR 435.407. 

b. Complies with Medicaid reporting requirements with 
respect to participants enrolled through this strategy. 

c. Provides applicants with program information required 
under 42 CFR 435.905, such as information about 
available services and the rights and responsibilities of 
applicants and beneficiaries. 

d. Has procedures to ensure that eligible individuals are 
enrolled in the appropriate Medicaid eligibility group.  

e. Has procedures to ensure that eligible American 
Indians or Alaska Natives enrolled through this strategy 

are exempt from cost sharing or premiums, consistent 
with § 1916A(b)(3) of the Social Security Act. 

f. Has post-enrollment procedures to ensure assignment 
of rights to third-party benefits and to secure cooperation 
in establishing medical support as appropriate per 42 
CFR 435.610. 

2. The Commonwealth will use gross income determined 
by SNAP to support Medicaid eligibility determinations 
for all modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) based 
Medicaid eligibility groups at initial application. In 
applying this option, all of the following conditions must 
be met: 

a. All members of the SNAP household are eligible for 
SNAP, other than for SNAP transitional benefits. 

b. No one in the SNAP household has any type of income 
that is excluded in determining gross income for 
purposes of eligibility for SNAP, but would be included 
in MAGI-based income. 

c. No one in the SNAP household is part of a tax 
household that includes an individual who lives outside 
the home. 

d. The SNAP household consists of individuals who live 
alone, parents living with their children, or married 
couples (with or without children), with the result that 
they will also be considered a household under Medicaid 
rules and either: 

(1) There are no other members present who would not 
be considered to be part of the household used for 
purposes of determining MAGI-based Medicaid 
eligibility; or 

(2) Other members are present in the household, but the 
total household income is below the applicable Medicaid 
standard for a household of one. 

e. Households with self-employment income are 
excluded from this option. The Commonwealth uses a 
methodology for treating self-employment income that 
differs from the standard SNAP methodology. The 
treatment of income from self-employment is found at 
M0440 100 B 3 of the Virginia Medical Assistance 
Eligibility Manual located at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/assistance. 

f. None of the household's income is excluded from gross 
income as payment of child support for children living 
outside of the household. The Commonwealth does not 
exclude payment of child support for children from gross 
income when determining eligibility for SNAP. 

g. The Commonwealth obtains all information necessary 
for a Medicaid eligibility determination that is not 
contained in the case record for SNAP. If available, 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/assistance
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electronic data sources are consulted before paper 
documentation is requested. 

3. Collection of information to determine eligibility. 

a. The Commonwealth collects information to ensure that 
no one in the SNAP household is part of a tax household 
that includes an individual who lives outside the home: 

(1) Information is available through electronic data 
sources. Information is collected on the application or 
renewal form for the means-tested program. 

(2) The Commonwealth agency provides a form to the 
individual to complete and return. 

b. The Commonwealth identifies individuals who have 
income that is counted in determining household income 
using MAGI-based methodologies but is not included in 
SNAP gross income by providing a form for the 
individual to complete and return. This includes income 
above the applicable tax filing threshold received through 
an AmeriCorps Education Award income from a minor 
dependent child.  

c. The Commonwealth obtains a signature whether 
physical, electronic, or telephonic authorizing a 
determination of Medicaid eligibility as required under 
42 CFR 435.907(f). The Commonwealth allows the 
authorization form to be completed on paper, by 
telephone, and electronically. 

12VAC30-10-410. Hearings for applicants and recipients.  

A. The Medicaid agency has a system of hearings that meets 
all the requirements of 42 CFR 431, Subpart E.  

No termination of coverage under § 1925 shall be effective 
earlier than 10 days after the date of mailing of the notice 
required by § 1925(b)(3)(B). The Medicaid agency is 
responsible for all Medicaid fair hearings. 

B. The entities that conduct fair hearings with respect to 
eligibility based on applicable modified adjusted gross 
income (MAGI) are the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) and the Health and Human 
Services appeals entity within the Exchange.  

C. The Commonwealth assures the following with respect to 
delegations of authority to conduct fair hearings regarding 
eligibility based on MAGI: 

1. There is a written agreement between DMAS and the 
Exchange appeals entity that has been delegated authority 
to conduct Medicaid fair hearings in compliance with 
42 CFR 431.10(d). 

2. When authority is delegated to the Exchange appeals 
entity, individuals who have requested a fair hearing are 
given the option to have their hearing conducted instead by 
DMAS. 

3. DMAS does not delegate authority to conduct fair 
hearings to entities other than government agencies that 
maintain personnel standards on a merit basis. 

4. The delegated entity is capable of performing the 
delegated function.  

D. All fair hearings not related to an eligibility 
determination based on MAGI are conducted at DMAS. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (12VAC30-10) 

SNAP Information Collection Form (undated, filed July 23, 
2019) 

12VAC30-20-205. Health Insurance Premium Payment 
(HIPP) for Kids.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 
coverage under the group health plan qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan and who are eligible for Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 
with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Family member" means individuals an individual in the 
household, who is not a parent and who are is related by 
blood, marriage, or adoption, or legal custody. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which meets § 5000(b)(1) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and includes 
continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the Public 
Health Service Act (42 USC § 201 et seq.), § 4980B of the 
Internal Revenue Code of 1986, or Title VI of the Employee 
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (42 USC § 200I et 
seq.). Section 5000(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code 
provides that a group health plan is a plan, including a self-
insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an employer (including 
a self-insured person) or employee association to provide 
health care (directly or otherwise) to the employees, former 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35e6c005692%7E1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005692&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=35e6c005692%7E1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005692&mime=application/pdf
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employees, or the families of such employees or former 
employees, or the employer. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 
§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without 
regard to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a 
health savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the 
Internal Revenue Code of 1986). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of 
the Act Social Security Act (42 USC § 301 et seq.) (the Act).  

"HIPP for Kids" means the Health Insurance Premium 
Payment Program administered by DMAS consistent with 
§ 1906A of the Act.  

"Member" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 
determined by DMAS, or a DMAS designated agent, or 
including the Department of Social Services.  

"Network provider" means a provider who is enrolled with a 
DMAS contracted managed care organization (MCO) as a 
provider and meets the requirement for an expedited 
enrollment as a fee-for-service (FFS) Medicaid provider for 
payment and billing purposes. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or parents, 
or the biological or adoptive parent and the stepparent, living 
in the home with the Medicaid-eligible child. The health 
insurance policyholder shall be a parent as defined herein in 
this section. 

"Payee" means the insured employee who is the policy 
holder of the qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan 
who is paid the HIPP or HIPP for Kids premium and cost-
sharing reimbursement. 

"Premium" means the fixed cost of participation in the group 
health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, 
which cost may be shared by the employer and employee or 
paid in full by either party.  

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the amount that 
DMAS will pay of the employee's cost of participating in the 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan to 
cover the Medicaid eligible member or members under age 
younger than 19 years of age if DMAS determines it is cost 
effective to do so.  

"Qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance" as 
defined in § 2105(c)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act means 
a group health plan or health insurance coverage offered 
through an employer: 

1. That qualifies as creditable coverage as a group health 
plan under § 2701(c)(1) of the Public Health Service Act; 

2. For which the employer contribution toward any 
premium for such coverage is at least 40%; and 

3. That is offered to all individuals in a manner that would 
be considered a nondiscriminatory eligibility classification 
for purposes of paragraph (3)(A)(ii) of § 105(h) 
§ 105(h)(3)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 
(but determined without regard to clause (i) of 
subparagraph (B) of such paragraph) § 105(h)(3)(B)(i).  

"State Plan" means the State Plan for Medical Assistance for 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP for Kids 
program shall be to:  

1. Enroll members who are eligible for coverage under a 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan. 

2. Provide premium assistance subsidy for payment of the 
employee share of the premiums and other cost-sharing 
obligations for the Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible 
child under age younger than 19 years of age. In addition, 
to provide cost sharing for the child's noneligible parent 
who is not Medicaid eligible for items and services 
covered under the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 
insurance that are also covered services under the State 
Plan. There is no cost sharing for parents for services not 
covered by the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 
insurance.  

3. Treat coverage under such employer group health plan 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan as a third 
party third-party liability consistent with § 1902(a)(25) 
1906 of the Social Security Act. 

C. Cost effectiveness methodology.  

1. DMAS shall evaluate the member to determine the 
appropriate managed care organization (MCO) capitation 
rate to be used. The capitation rate will be determined 
based on aid category, nursing facility or waiver eligibility, 
age, gender, and region. 

2. DMAS shall adjust the capitation rate to exclude 
Medicaid services that are not available through 
commercial group health insurance policies. This requires 
that the capitation rate be adjusted to exclude services, 
including nursing facility and long-term services and 
supports provided in the Commonwealth Coordinated Care 
(CCC) Plus program as well as community mental health 
services and nonemergency transportation services 
available in CCC Plus and Medallion. 

3. DMAS shall adjust the reduced capitation rate from 
subdivision 2 of this subsection to reflect the higher prices 
employer plans pay. The Virginia price factor shall be 
based on the national factor of 1.3 that is published by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

4. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost 
for the member shall be increased to reflect the amount of 
coinsurance and other member cost sharing typically 
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imposed on HIPP members and paid by DMAS. Such 
amount shall be determined by averaging the aggregate 
amount of such expenditures by DMAS in the most 
recently completed fiscal year by the number of HIPP 
members covered during the fiscal year. 

5. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost 
determined in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 
increased to reflect the DMAS administrative expenses 
directly related to the HIPP program. This additional cost 
is determined based on the average total monthly 
compensation paid to each HIPP analyst employed by 
DMAS and divided by the anticipated caseload. 

6. The cost effectiveness shall be affirmed if the adjusted 
capitation rate from subdivision 3 of this subsection equals 
or exceeds the adjusted qualified employer-sponsored 
insurance plan cost from subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

C. D. Member eligibility.  

1. DMAS shall obtain specific information on qualified 
employer-sponsored coverage insurance available to the 
members in the case including, but not limited to, the 
effective date of coverage, the services covered by the 
plan, the deductibles and copayments required by the plan, 
and the amount of the premium paid by the employer and 
employee. Coverage that is not comprehensive shall be 
denied premium assistance. A qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan must provide the following 
services in order to be considered comprehensive: 

a. Physician services; 

b. Inpatient and outpatient hospitalization; 

c. Outpatient labs, shots, and x-rays; and 

d. Prescription drugs. 

2. All Medicaid eligible Medicaid-eligible family members 
under the age of younger than 19 years of age who are 
eligible for coverage under the qualified employer-
sponsored coverage insurance shall be eligible for 
consideration for HIPP for Kids except the following:  

1. a. The member who is Medicaid eligible due to 
"spenddown"; or 

2. b. The member who is currently enrolled in the 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance and is 
only retroactively eligible for Medicaid. 

D. E. Application required. A completed HIPP for Kids 
application must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for 
program eligibility. The HIPP for Kids application consists of 
the forms prescribed by DMAS and any necessary 
information as required by the program to evaluate eligibility 
and determine if the plan meets the criteria for qualified 
employer-sponsored coverage insurance. 

E. F. Exceptions. The term "qualified employer-sponsored 
coverage" insurance" does not include coverage consisting of: 

1. Benefits provided under a health flexible spending 
arrangement (as defined in § 106(c)(2) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986) or; 

2. A high deductible health plan (as defined in § 223(c)(2) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986), without regard to 
whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 
savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986).; or 

3. For self-employed individuals, qualified employer-
sponsored coverage insurance obtained through self-
employment activities shall not meet the program 
requirements unless the self-employment activities are the 
family's primary source of income and the insurance meets 
the requirements of the definition of qualified employer-
sponsored coverage insurance in subsection A of this 
section. Family for this purpose includes family by blood, 
marriage, or adoption. 

F. G. Payments. When DMAS determines that a qualified 
employer-sponsored coverage insurance plan is eligible and 
other eligibility requirements have been met, DMAS shall 
provide for the payment of premium assistance subsidy and 
other cost-sharing obligations for items and services 
otherwise covered under the State Plan, except for the 
nominal cost-sharing amounts permitted under § 1916 of the 
Social Security Act.  

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment 
of premium assistance subsidies and other cost-sharing 
obligations shall become effective on the first day of the 
month in which DMAS receives a complete HIPP 
application or the first day of the month in following an 
approved application for which qualified employer-
sponsored coverage insurance becomes effective, 
whichever is later. Payments shall be made to either the 
employer, the insurance company, or the individual who is 
carrying the group health plan qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan coverage. 

2. Payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other cost-
sharing obligations. 

a. Medicaid eligible children under age younger than 19 
years of age pursuant to § 1906A of the Act. The 
Medicaid agency pays all premiums, deductibles, 
coinsurance, and other cost-sharing obligations for items 
and services covered under the State Plan, as specified in 
the qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance, 
without regard to limitations specified in § 1916 or § 
1916A of the Act, for eligible individuals under age 
younger than 19 years of age who have access to and 
elect to enroll in such coverage. The eligible individual is 
entitled to services covered by the State Plan that are not 
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included in the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 
insurance. 

b. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 
submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 
documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 
office showing the date of service (DOS), that the 
expense is the responsibility of the member or parent, 
that the expense was paid prior to the submission of the 
request, and sufficient identification codes for the DOS 
to enable DMAS to determine if the service is 
reimbursable before applying the remaining cost sharing 
criteria. 

c. Reimbursement for cost sharing shall be processed on 
a quarterly basis. 

b. d. Ineligible family members. When coverage for 
Medicaid-eligible family members under age younger 
than 19 years of age is not possible unless an ineligible a 
parent who is not Medicaid eligible enrolls in qualified 
employer-sponsored health insurance, the Medicaid 
agency pays premiums only for enrollment of the 
ineligible parent who is not Medicaid eligible and, at the 
parent's option, other family members who are eligible 
for coverage under the qualified employer-sponsored 
coverage insurance. In addition, the agency provides cost 
sharing for the child's ineligible parent who is not 
Medicaid eligible for items and services covered under 
the qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance 
that are also covered services under the State Plan. There 
is no cost-sharing cost sharing for ineligible parents who 
are not Medicaid eligible for items and services not 
covered by the qualified employer-sponsored coverage 
insurance.  

3. Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 
reimbursement. A person payee to whom DMAS is paying 
a qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance 
premium assistance subsidy shall, as a condition of 
receiving such payment, provide documentation as 
prescribed by DMAS of the payment of the employer 
group health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance 
plan premium, as well as payment of coinsurances, 
copayments, and deductibles for services received. 

H. Cost-sharing wrap. 

1. Premium assistance enrollment will be voluntary. 
Individuals enrolled in the Commonwealth's Health 
Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program are afforded 
the same member protections provided to all other 
Medicaid enrollees. Cost sharing shall only be charged to 
Medicaid members as permitted under §§ 1916 and 1916A 
of the Social Security Act. Cost sharing shall not exceed 
5.0% of household income. 

2. The Commonwealth will provide a cost-sharing wrap to 
any cost-sharing amounts of a Medicaid covered service 

that exceeds the cost-sharing limits described in the State 
Plan, regardless of whether individuals enrolled in a HIPP 
program receive care from a Medicaid participating 
provider or a nonparticipating provider. 

3. To effectuate the cost-sharing wrap, the Commonwealth 
will encourage nonparticipating providers to enroll by 
conducting targeted outreach to inform nonparticipating 
Medicaid providers on how to enroll in Medicaid for the 
purposes of receiving payment from the Commonwealth 
for cost-sharing amounts that exceed the Medicaid 
permissible limits. 

4. The Commonwealth will inform members regarding 
options available when the member obtains care from a 
nonparticipating provider, including, as applicable, 
reimbursement for out-of-pocket, cost-sharing costs from 
this provider. 

5. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 
submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 
documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 
office showing DOS, that the expense is the responsibility 
of the member or parent, that the expense was paid prior to 
the submission of the request, and sufficient identification 
codes for the DOS to enable DMAS to determine if the 
service is reimbursable before applying the remaining cost-
sharing criteria. 

6. Reimbursement for cost-sharing shall be processed on a 
quarterly basis. 

G. I. Program participation requirements. Participants must 
comply with program requirements as prescribed by DMAS 
for continued enrollment in HIPP for Kids. Failure to comply 
with the following may result in termination from the 
program:  

1. Submission of documentation of any changes to the 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, to include 
any changes to the employee share of the premium 
expense, within specified time frame in accordance with 
DMAS established policy 10 days of receipt of notice of 
the change. 

2. Report Any household changes in the qualified 
employer-sponsored coverage, including income and 
individuals in the household, must be reported within 10 
days of the family's receipt of notice of the change. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 
required to complete a consent form to release information 
necessary for HIPP for Kids participation and program 
requirements as required by DMAS. 

H. J. HIPP for Kids redetermination. DMAS shall 
redetermine the eligibility of the qualified employer-
sponsored coverage insurance periodically, at least every 12 
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months. DMAS shall also redetermine eligibility when 
changes occur with the group health plan qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan information that was used in 
determining HIPP for Kids eligibility. 

I. K. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP for 
Kids program may be terminated for failure to comply or 
meet program requirements. Termination will be effective the 
last day of the month in which advance notice has been given 
(consistent with federal regulations) requirements at 42 CFR 
431.211). 

1. Participation may be terminated for failure to meet 
program requirements including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

a. Failure to submit documentation of payment of 
premiums;  

b. Failure to provide information required for 
reevaluation of the qualified employer-sponsored 
coverage insurance; (noncompliance); 

c. Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household 
members; 

d. Medicaid household member no longer covered by the 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance; 

e. Medicaid-eligible child turns age 19 years of age; or 

f. Employer-sponsored health plan no longer meets 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage insurance 
requirements. 

2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 
assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 
occurs the earliest:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 
Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the member loses 
eligibility for coverage in the group health plan qualified 
employer-sponsored insurance plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which the child turns age 
19 years of age; 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 
been given (consistent with federal requirements) 
requirements at 42 CFR 431.211) that DMAS has 
determined that the group health plan qualified 
employer-sponsored insurance plan no longer meets 
program eligibility criteria; or 

d. e. The last day of the month in which adequate notice 
has been given (consistent with federal requirements) 
requirements at 42 CFR 431.211) that HIPP for Kids 
participation requirements have not been met. 

J. L. Third-party liability. When members are enrolled in 
qualified employer-sponsored coverage health insurance 

plans, these plans shall become the first sources of health care 
benefits, up to the limits of such plans, prior to the 
availability of payment under Title XIX.  

K. M. Appeal rights. Members Applicants and members 
shall be given the opportunity to appeal adverse agency 
decisions consistent with agency regulations for client appeals 
(12VAC30-110) (12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-
370). 

L. N. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 
accept the greater of the group health plan's qualified 
employer-sponsored insurance plan's reimbursement rate or 
the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be prohibited 
from charging the member or the Medicaid program amounts 
that would result in aggregate payments greater than the 
Medicaid rate as required by 42 CFR 447.20.  

O. Provider participation or enrollment. The Commonwealth 
will enroll network providers as full Medicaid providers or 
enroll as fee-for-service Medicaid providers solely for the 
purpose of receiving cost sharing, similar to processes related 
to enrolling Medicare-participating providers that serve 
dually eligible members. If the Commonwealth enrolls 
providers for the sole purpose of being reimbursed for cost 
sharing, the provider would make the decision to enroll 
knowing that the provider network would be the same as for 
other enrollees of the qualified employer-sponsored insurance 
plan. In either scenario, the member would never pay more 
than the permissible Medicaid copayment.  

12VAC30-20-210. State method on cost effectiveness of 
employer-based group health qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plans.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
these regulations this section shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Average monthly Medicaid cost" means average monthly 
medical expenditures based upon age, gender, Medicaid 
enrollment covered group, and geographic region of the state. 

"Average monthly wraparound cost" means the average 
monthly aggregate costs for services not covered by private 
health insurance but covered under the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance, also includes copayments, coinsurance, and 
deductibles. 

"Case" means all family members who are eligible for 
coverage under the group health plan qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan and who are eligible for Medicaid. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Cost effective" and "cost effectiveness" mean the reduction 
in Title XIX expenditures, which are likely to be greater than 
the additional expenditures for premiums and cost-sharing 
items required under § 1906 of the Social Security Act (the 
Act), with respect to such enrollment. 
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"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services consistent 
with Chapter 1 (§ 63.2-100 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

"Family member" means individuals an individual in the 
household, who is not a parent and who are is related by 
blood, marriage, adoption, or legal custody. 

"Family health plan" and "family care coverage" means a 
group health plan that covers three or more individuals. 
Family health plans that cover three or more non-Medicaid 
eligible individuals are not eligible for the HIPP premium 
assistance subsidy. 

"Group health plan" means a plan which that meets 
§ 5000(b)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and 
includes continuation coverage pursuant to Title XXII of the 
Public Health Service Act, § 4980B of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, or Title VI of the Employee Retirement 
Income Security Act of 1974. Section 5000(b)(1) of the 
Internal Revenue Code provides that a group health plan is a 
plan, including a self-insured plan, of, or contributed to by, an 
employer (including a self-insured person) or employee 
association to provide health care (directly or otherwise) to 
the employees, former employees, or the families of such 
employees or former employees, or the employer. 

"High deductible health plan" means a plan as defined in 
§ 223(c)(2) of Internal Revenue Code of 1986, without regard 
to whether the plan is purchased in conjunction with a health 
savings account (as defined under § 223(d) of such Code) the 
Internal Revenue Code of 1986). 

"HIPP" means the Health Insurance Premium Payment 
Program administered by DMAS consistent with § 1906 of 
the Act.  

"Member" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 
determined by DMAS or a DMAS-designated agent, 
including the Department of Social Services.  

"Network provider" means a provider who is enrolled with a 
DMAS contracted managed care organization (MCO) as a 
provider and meets the requirement for an expedited 
enrollment as a fee-for-service (FFS) Medicaid provider for 
payment and billing purposes. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent, or the 
biological or adoptive parent and the stepparent, living in the 
home with the Medicaid-eligible child. The health insurance 
policyholder shall be a parent as defined in this section. 

"Payee" means the insured employee who is the policy 
holder of the qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan 
who is paid the HIPP or HIPP for Kids premium and cost-
sharing reimbursement. 

"Premium" means the fixed cost of participation in the group 
health plan; such cost may be shared by the employer and 
employee or paid in full by either party.  

"Premium assistance subsidy" means the portion that DMAS 
will pay of the employee's cost of participating in an 
employer's health a qualified employer-sponsored insurance 
plan to cover the Medicaid eligible members under the 
employer-sponsored plan if DMAS determines it is cost 
effective to do so. 

"Recipient" means a person who is eligible for Medicaid as 
determined by the Department of Social Services.  

"Qualified employer-sponsored insurance" as defined under 
§ 2105(c)(10)(B) of the Social Security Act means a group 
health plan or health insurance coverage offered through an 
employer: 

1. That qualifies as creditable coverage as a group health 
plan under § 2701(c)(1) of the Public Health Service Act; 

2. For which the employer contribution toward any 
premium for such coverage is at least 40%; and 

3. That is offered to all individuals in a manner that would 
be considered a nondiscriminatory eligibility classification 
for purposes of § 105(h)(3)(A)(ii) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986 without regard to § 105(h)(3)(B)(i). 

"State Plan" means the State Plan for Medical Assistance for 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Program purpose. The purpose of the HIPP Program shall 
be to:  

1. Enroll recipients members who have an available group 
health plan qualified employer-sponsored insurance plans 
that is are likely to be cost effective;  

2. Provide premium assistance subsidy for payment of the 
employee share of the premiums and other cost-sharing 
obligations for items and services otherwise covered under 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance (the Plan); and  

3. Treat coverage under such employer group health 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan as a third 
party third-party liability consistent with § 1906 of the 
Social Security Act.  

C. Application required. A completed HIPP application 
must be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for HIPP 
program eligibility; if HIPP program eligibility is established, 
DMAS shall then evaluate the group health plan for cost 
effectiveness. The HIPP application consists of the forms 
prescribed by DMAS and any necessary information as 
required by the program to evaluate eligibility and perform a 
cost-effectiveness evaluation. Cost effectiveness 
methodology. 

1. DMAS shall evaluate the individual to determine the 
appropriate managed care organization (MCO) capitation 
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rate to be used. The capitation rate will be determined 
based on aid category, nursing facility or waiver eligibility, 
age, gender, and region. 

2. DMAS shall adjust the capitation rate to exclude 
Medicaid services that are not available through 
commercial group health insurance policies. This requires 
that the capitation rate be adjusted to exclude services, 
including nursing facility and long-term services and 
supports provided in the Commonwealth Coordinated Care 
(CCC) Plus program as well as community mental health 
services and nonemergency transportation services 
available in CCC Plus and Medallion. 

3. DMAS shall adjust the reduced capitation rate from 
subdivision 2 of this subsection to reflect the higher prices 
employer plans pay. The Virginia price factor shall be 
based on the national factor of 1.3 that is published by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

4. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance cost for the 
individual shall be increased to reflect the amount of 
coinsurance and other member cost sharing typically 
imposed on HIPP members and paid by DMAS. Such 
amount shall be determined by averaging the aggregate 
amount of such expenditures by DMAS in the most 
recently completed fiscal year by the number of HIPP 
members covered during the fiscal year. 

5. The qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan cost 
determined in subdivision 4 of this subsection shall be 
increased to reflect the DMAS administrative expenses 
directly related to the HIPP program. This additional cost 
is determined based on the average total monthly 
compensation paid to each HIPP analyst employed by 
DMAS divided by the anticipated caseload. 

6. The cost effectiveness shall be affirmed if the adjusted 
capitation rate from subdivision 3 of this subsection equals 
or exceeds the adjusted qualified employer-sponsored 
insurance plan cost from subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

D. Recipient Member eligibility.  

1. DMAS shall obtain specific information on all group 
health plans available to the recipients in the case 
including, but not limited to, the effective date of coverage, 
the services covered by the plan, the deductibles and 
copayments required by the plan, the exclusions to the 
plan, and the amount of the premium. Coverage that is not 
comprehensive shall be denied premium assistance. A 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan must provide 
the following services in order to be considered 
comprehensive: 

a. Physician services; 

b. Inpatient and outpatient hospitalization; 

c. Outpatient labs, shots, and x-rays; and 

d. Prescription drugs. 

Cases that result in a determination that the applicant is not 
eligible for the HIPP program shall be denied premium 
assistance and shall not undergo further review as 
described in subsection E of this section. 2. All family 
members persons who are eligible for coverage under the 
group health qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan 
and who are eligible for Medicaid shall be eligible for 
consideration for HIPP, except those who meet any one or 
more of the factors identified in subdivisions 1 2 a through 
7 2 e of this subsection.  

1. a. The recipient is Medicaid eligible due to "spend-
down." "spenddown." 

2. b. The recipient is currently enrolled in the employer 
sponsored health qualified employee-sponsored 
insurance plan and is only retroactively eligible for 
Medicaid. 

3. c. The recipient is in a nursing home or has a 
deduction from patient pay responsibility to cover the 
insurance premium. 

4. d. Currently, Medicare beneficiaries who are enrolled 
in a MCO do not qualify for participation in the HIPP 
Program. If a Medicaid beneficiary is enrolled in an 
MCO, the beneficiary must wait until he is disenrolled 
from the MCO to become eligible for HIPP. HIPP 
applications are not approved until the managed care 
eligibility has ended at the end of the month.  

e. The recipient is eligible for Medicare Part B but is not 
enrolled in Part B. 

5. The recipient's family has, or would have, family 
healthcare coverage for three or more members who are 
not Medicaid eligible. Exceptions to the family health care 
coverage exclusion are as follows: 

a. The family meets Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security (FAMIS) eligibility criteria but due to existing 
group health insurance cannot enroll in FAMIS for the 
non-Medicaid family members enrolled in the health care 
plan; or 

b. Medicaid eligibility is based upon family income 
(Medicaid family unit) and the family members enrolled 
in the health care plan are not Medicaid eligible due to 
Medicaid age restrictions (aged 19 or older).  

6. Medicare eligibility. Medicaid recipients eligible for, or 
enrolled in, Medicare Part A and/or Part B who are also 
covered by an employer group health plan are not eligible 
for HIPP. 

7. High Deductible Health Plans (HDHPs) are defined in 
§ 223(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. HDHPs 
are not cost effective for the HIPP program and shall be 
denied premium assistance and shall not undergo further 
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review as described in subsection E of this section. The 
annual deductible amount for a HDHP is defined by the 
Department of Treasury and is updated annually. 

E. Cost-effectiveness evaluation. If the Medicaid eligible(s) 
is enrolled in the health plan and is not excluded from HIPP 
program participation under the criteria described in 
subsection D of this section, DMAS shall conduct the 
premium cost-effectiveness evaluation based upon the 
following methodology: 

1. Recipient information. DMAS shall obtain demographic 
information on each recipient in each case including, but 
not limited to, Medicaid enrollment covered group, age, 
gender, and geographic region of residence in the state. 

2. DMAS shall compute the average monthly Medicaid 
cost for each Medicaid enrollee on the group health 
insurance plan and compare the total cost to the employee's 
responsibility for the health insurance cost. 

3. Wraparound cost. DMAS shall total the average monthly 
wraparound cost for each Medicaid enrollee on the HIPP 
case and subtract the amount from the average monthly 
Medicaid cost for the cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

4. Administrative cost. DMAS shall total the 
administrative costs of the HIPP program and estimate an 
average administrative cost. DMAS shall subtract the 
administrative cost from the average monthly Medicaid 
cost for the cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

5. Determination of premium cost effectiveness. DMAS 
shall determine that a group health plan is likely to be cost 
effective if subdivision a is less than subdivision b below:  

a. The employee's responsibility for the group health plan 
premium.  

b. The total of the average monthly Medicaid costs less 
the wraparound costs for each Medicaid enrollee covered 
by the group health plan and the administrative cost.  

6. For individuals who otherwise meet all HIPP eligibility 
criteria in subdivision 5 of this subsection, such individuals 
may elect to have DMAS reimburse them up to the amount 
determined in subdivision 5 b of this subsection, if 
subdivision 5 a of this subsection is not less than 
subdivision 5 b of this subsection. 

F. Payments. When DMAS determines that a group health 
plan is likely to be cost effective based on the DMAS 
established methodology, DMAS shall provide for the 
payment of premium assistance subsidy and other cost-
sharing obligations for items and services otherwise covered 
under the Plan, except for the nominal cost sharing amounts 
permitted under § 1916.  

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment 
of premium assistance subsidy shall become effective on 
the first day of the month following the month in which 

DMAS receives a complete HIPP application or the first 
day of the month in which the group health plan coverage 
becomes effective, whichever is later. Payments shall be 
made to either the employer, the insurance company or to 
the individual who is carrying the group health plan 
coverage.  

2. No payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and other 
cost-sharing obligations for non-Medicaid eligible family 
members shall be made by DMAS.  

3. Documentation required for premium assistance subsidy 
reimbursement. A person to whom DMAS is paying an 
employer group health plan premium assistance subsidy 
shall, as a condition of receiving such payment, provide 
documentation as prescribed by DMAS of the payment of 
the employer group health plan premium for the group 
health plan that DMAS determined to be cost effective.  

E. Application required. A completed HIPP application must 
be submitted to DMAS to be evaluated for HIPP program 
eligibility; if HIPP program eligibility is established, DMAS 
shall then evaluate the group health plan for cost 
effectiveness. The HIPP application consists of the forms 
prescribed by DMAS and any necessary information as 
required by the program to evaluate eligibility and perform a 
cost-effectiveness evaluation. 

1. Effective date of premium assistance subsidy. Payment 
of premium assistance subsidy shall become effective on 
the first day of the month following the month in which 
DMAS approves the application and makes the cost 
effectiveness determination. Payment shall be made to 
either the employer, the insurance company, or to the 
individual who is carrying the group health plan coverage. 

2. Termination date of premium assistance subsidy. 
Payment of premium assistance subsidy shall end on 
whichever of the following occurs the earliest: 

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 
Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 
eligibility for coverage in the qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan; or 

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 
been given (consistent with federal requirements at 
42 CFR 431.211) that DMAS has redetermined that the 
group health plan is no longer cost effective. 

3. Non-Medicaid-eligible family members. Payment of 
premium assistance subsidy for non-Medicaid-eligible 
family members may be made when their enrollment in the 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan is required in 
order for the recipient to obtain the qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan coverage. Such payments shall 
be treated as payments for Medicaid benefits for the 
recipient. No payments for deductibles, coinsurances, and 
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other cost-sharing obligations for non-Medicaid-eligible 
family members shall be made by DMAS. 

4. Evidence of enrollment required. The payee to whom 
DMAS is paying the qualified employer-sponsored 
insurance plan premium assistance subsidy shall, as a 
condition of receiving such payment, provide to DSS or 
DMAS, upon request, written evidence of the payment of 
the employee's share of the plan premium for the qualified 
employer-sponsored insurance plan that DMAS 
determined to be cost effective. 

F. Cost-sharing wrap. 

1. Premium assistance enrollment is voluntary. Individuals 
enrolled in the HIPP program are afforded the same 
member protections provided to all other Medicaid 
enrollees. Cost sharing shall only be charged to Medicaid 
members as permitted under §§ 1916 and 1916A of the 
Social Security Act. Cost sharing shall not exceed 5.0% of 
household income. 

2. The Commonwealth will provide a cost-sharing wrap to 
any cost-sharing amounts of a Medicaid covered service 
that exceeds the cost-sharing limits described in the State 
Plan, regardless of whether individuals enrolled in a HIPP 
program receive care from a Medicaid participating 
provider or a nonparticipating provider. 

3. To effectuate the cost-sharing wrap, the Commonwealth 
will encourage nonparticipating providers to enroll by 
conducting targeted outreach to inform nonparticipating 
Medicaid providers on how to enroll in Medicaid for the 
purposes of receiving payment from the state for cost-
sharing amounts that exceed the Medicaid permissible 
limits. 

4. The Commonwealth will inform members regarding 
options available when the member obtains care from a 
nonparticipating provider, including, as applicable, 
reimbursement for out-of-pocket, cost-sharing costs from 
this provider. 

5. In order to receive reimbursement, the individual shall 
submit to DMAS an explanation of benefits or similar 
documentation from the insurance company or doctor's 
office showing DOS, that the expense is the responsibility 
of the member or parent, that the expense was paid prior to 
the submission of the request, and sufficient identification 
codes for the DOS to enable DMAS to determine if the 
service is reimbursable before applying the remaining cost-
sharing criteria. 

6. Reimbursement for cost sharing shall be processed on a 
quarterly basis. 

G. Program HIPP program participation requirements. 
Participants must comply with the following program 
requirements as prescribed by DMAS for continued 

enrollment in HIPP. Failure to comply shall result in 
termination from the program.  

1. Submission of documentation of any change to the 
qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan, to include 
any changes to the employee share of the premium 
expense, within specified time frame in accordance with 
DMAS established policy 10 days of receipt of notice of 
the change.  

2. Changes that impact the cost-effectiveness evaluation 
Any household change, including income and individuals 
in household, must be reported within 10 days of the 
change. 

3. Completion of annual redetermination. 

4. Completion of consent forms. Participants may be 
required to complete a consent form to release information 
necessary for HIPP participation and program requirements 
as required by DMAS. 

5. Participants terminated for noncompliance under 
subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection shall be barred from 
reapplying to the HIPP program for three months from the 
date of cancellation.  

H. HIPP redetermination. DMAS shall redetermine the cost 
effectiveness of the group health qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan periodically, and at least every 12 
months. DMAS shall also redetermine cost effectiveness 
when changes occur with the recipient's average Medicaid 
cost and/or or with the group health qualified employer-
sponsored insurance plan information that was used in 
determining the cost effectiveness. When only part of the 
household loses Medicaid eligibility, DMAS shall 
redetermine the cost effectiveness to ascertain whether 
payment of the premium assistance subsidy of the group 
health qualified employer-sponsored insurance plan continues 
to be cost effective.  

I. Program termination. Participation in the HIPP program 
shall be terminated for failure to comply with or meet 
program requirements. Termination will be effective the last 
day of the month in which advance notice has been given 
(consistent with 42 CFR 431.211)]. 

1. In addition to the reasons listed in subsection G of this 
section, participation shall be terminated for: 

a. Loss of Medicaid eligibility for all household 
members; 

b. Medicaid household member no longer covered by 
employer health plan; or 

c. Employer group health plan is determined to be not 
cost effective. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3040 

2. Termination date of premiums. Payment of premium 
assistance subsidy shall end on whichever of the following 
occurs the earliest:  

a. On the last day of the month in which eligibility for 
Medicaid ends; 

b. The last day of the month in which the recipient loses 
eligibility for coverage in the group health plan; 

c. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 
been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 
DMAS has determined that the group health plan is no 
longer cost effective; or 

d. The last day of the month in which adequate notice has 
been given (consistent with federal requirements) that 
HIPP participation requirements have not been met. 

I. Multiple group health plans. When a member is eligible 
for more than one group health plan, DMAS shall perform the 
cost effectiveness determination on the group health plan in 
which the member is enrolled. If the member is not enrolled 
in a group health plan, DMAS shall perform the cost 
effectiveness determination on each group health plan 
available to the member. 

J. Third party Third-party liability. When recipients are 
enrolled in group health plans, these plans shall become the 
first sources of health care benefits, up to the limits of such 
plans, prior to the availability of Title XIX benefits.  

K. Appeal rights. Recipients Applicants and members shall 
be given the opportunity to appeal adverse agency decisions 
consistent with agency regulations for client appeals 
(12VAC30-110) (12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-
370). 

L. Provider requirements. Providers shall be required to 
accept the greater of the group health plan's reimbursement 
rate or the Medicaid rate as payment in full and shall be 
prohibited from charging the recipient or Medicaid amounts 
that would result in aggregate payments greater than the 
Medicaid rate as required by 42 CFR 447.20.  

M. Provider participation or enrollment. The 
Commonwealth will enroll network providers as full 
Medicaid providers or as fee-for-service Medicaid providers 
solely for the purpose of receiving cost sharing, similar to 
processes related to enrolling Medicare-participating 
providers that serve dually eligible members. If the state 
enrolls providers for the sole purpose of being reimbursed for 
cost sharing, the payee would make the decision to enroll 
knowing that the provider network would be the same as for 
other enrollees of the qualified employer-sponsored 
insurance. In either scenario, the member would never pay 
more than the permissible Medicaid copayment.  

12VAC30-30-10. Mandatory coverage: categorically 
needy and other required special groups.  

The Title IV-A agency or the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services Central Processing Unit determines 
eligibility for Title XIX services. The following groups shall 
be eligible for medical assistance as specified:  

1. Parents and other caretaker relatives of dependent 
children with household income at or below a standard 
established by the state Commonwealth in 12VAC30-40-
100 consistent with 42 CFR 435.110 and 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(l) and 1931(b) of the Social Security 
Act. Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group 
shall meet the following criteria: 

a. Parents, other caretaker relatives (defined at 42 CFR 
435.4) including pregnant women, or dependent children 
(defined at 42 CFR 435.4) younger than the age of 18 
years of age. This group includes individuals who are 
parents or other caretaker relatives of children who are 
18 years of age provided the children are full-time 
students in a secondary school or the equivalent level of 
vocational or technical training and are expected to 
complete such school or training before their 19th 
birthday. 

b. Spouses of parents and other caretaker relatives shall 
include other relatives of the child based on blood 
(including those of half-blood), adoption, or marriage. 
Other relatives of a specified degree of the dependent 
child shall include any blood relative (including those of 
half-blood) and including (i) first cousins; (ii) nephews or 
nieces; (iii) persons of preceding generations as denoted 
by prefixes of grand, great, or great-great; (iv) 
stepbrother; (v) stepsister; (vi) a relative by adoption 
following entry of the interlocutory or final order, 
whichever is first; (vii) the same relatives by adoption as 
listed in this subdivision 1 b; and (viii) spouses of any 
persons named in this subdivision 1 b even after the 
marriage is terminated by death or divorce. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 
shall be used in calculating household income.  

2. Women who are pregnant or postpartum with household 
income at or below a standard established by the 
Commonwealth in 12VAC30-40-100, consistent with 
42 CFR 435.116 and §§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III) and (IV), 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(I) and (IX), and 1931(b) of the Act. 
Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group shall be 
pregnant or postpartum as defined in 42 CFR 435.4. 

a. A woman who, while pregnant, was eligible for, 
applied for, and received Medicaid under the approved 
state plan on the day her pregnancy ends. The woman 
continues to be eligible, as though she were pregnant, for 
all pregnancy-related and postpartum medical assistance 
under the plan for a 60-day period, beginning on the last 
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day of her pregnancy, and for any remaining days in the 
month in which the 60th day falls. 

b. A pregnant woman who would otherwise lose 
eligibility because of an increase in income of the family 
in which she is a member during the pregnancy or the 
postpartum period that extends through the end of the 
month in which the 60-day period, beginning on the last 
day of pregnancy, ends. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 
shall be used in calculating household income. 

3. Infants and children younger than the age of 19 years of 
age with household income at or below standards based on 
this age group, consistent with 42 CFR 435.118 and 
§§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(III), (IV) and (VIII); 
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IV) and (IX); and 1931(b) of the Act. 
Children qualifying under this eligibility group shall meet 
the following criteria: 

a. They are younger than the age of 19 years of age; and 

b. They have a household income at or below the 
standard established by the Commonwealth. 

MAGI-based income methodologies in 12VAC30-40-100 
shall be used in calculating household income. 

4. The adult group as described at 42 CFR 435.119. 

4. 5. Former foster care children younger than the age of 
26 years of age who are not otherwise mandatorily eligible 
in another Medicaid classification, who were on Medicaid 
and in foster care when they turned age 18 years of age, or 
who aged out of foster care. Individuals qualifying under 
this eligibility group shall meet the following criteria: 

a. They shall be younger than the age of 26 years of age; 

b. They shall not be otherwise eligible for and enrolled 
for mandatory coverage under the state plan; and 

c. They were in foster care under the responsibility of the 
state of Virginia Commonwealth or a federally 
recognized tribe and were enrolled in Virginia Medicaid 
under the state plan when they turned age 18 years of age 
or at the time of aging out of the foster care program. 

5. 6. Families terminated from coverage under § 1931 of 
the Act solely because of earnings or hours of employment 
shall be entitled to up to 12 months of extended benefits in 
accordance with § 1925 of the Act. 

6. 7. A child born to a woman who is eligible for and 
receiving Medicaid on the date of the child's birth. The 
child is deemed to have applied and been found eligible for 
Medicaid on the date of birth and remains eligible for one 
year from birth, as long as he remains a resident of the 
Commonwealth. A redetermination of eligibility must be 
completed on behalf of the deemed child at age one year 
and annually thereafter so long as he remains eligible. 

7. 8. Aged, blind, and disabled individuals receiving cash 
assistance.  

a. Individuals who meet more restrictive requirements for 
Medicaid than the SSI requirements. (This includes 
persons who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 
Act or who meet the eligibility requirements for SSI 
status under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the 
state's Commonwealth's more restrictive requirements for 
Medicaid in the month before the month they qualified 
for SSI under § 1619(a) or met the requirements under 
§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act. Medicaid eligibility for these 
individuals continues as long as they continue to meet the 
§ 1619(a) eligibility standard or the requirements of 
§ 1619(b) of the Act.)  

b. These persons include the aged, the blind, and the 
disabled.  

c. Protected SSI children (pursuant to 
§ 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) of the Act) (P.L. 105-33 § 4913). 
Children who meet the pre-welfare reform definition of 
childhood disability who lost their SSI coverage solely as 
a result of the change in the definition of childhood 
disability, and who also meet the more restrictive 
requirements for Medicaid than the SSI requirements.  

d. The more restrictive categorical eligibility criteria are 
described in 12VAC30-30-40.  

Financial criteria are described in 12VAC30-40-10.  

8. 9. Qualified severely impaired blind and disabled 
individuals under age younger than 65 years of age who:  

a. For the month preceding the first month of eligibility 
under the requirements of § 1905(q)(2) of the Act, 
received SSI, a state supplementary payment (SSP) under 
§ 1616 of the Act or under § 212 of P.L. 93-66 or 
benefits under § 1619(a) of the Act and were eligible for 
Medicaid; or  

b. For the month of June 1987, were considered to be 
receiving SSI under § 1619(b) of the Act and were 
eligible for Medicaid. These individuals must:  

(1) Continue to meet the criteria for blindness or have the 
disabling physical or mental impairment under which the 
individual was found to be disabled;  

(2) Except for earnings, continue to meet all 
nondisability-related requirements for eligibility for SSI 
benefits;  

(3) Have unearned income in amounts that would not 
cause them to be ineligible for a payment under 
§ 1611(b) of the Act;  

(4) Be seriously inhibited by the lack of Medicaid 
coverage in their ability to continue to work or obtain 
employment; and  



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3042 

(5) Have earnings that are not sufficient to provide for 
himself themselves a reasonable equivalent of the 
Medicaid, SSI (including any federally administered 
SSP), or public funded attendant care services that would 
be available if he they did have such earnings.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
for Medicaid than under SSI and under 42 CFR 435.121. 
Individuals who qualify for benefits under § 1619(a) of the 
Act or individuals described above in this section who 
meet the eligibility requirements for SSI benefits under 
§ 1619(b)(1) of the Act and who met the state's more 
restrictive requirements in the month before the month they 
qualified for SSI under § 1619(a) or met the requirements 
of § 1619(b)(1) of the Act are covered. Eligibility for these 
individuals continues as long as they continue to qualify 
for benefits under § 1619(a) of the Act or meet the SSI 
requirements under § 1619(b)(1) of the Act.  

9. 10. Except in states that apply more restrictive 
requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, blind or 
disabled individuals who:  

a. Are at least 18 years of age; and 

b. Lose SSI eligibility because they become entitled to 
Old Age, Survivor, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) 
child's benefits under § 202(d) of the Act or an increase 
in these benefits based on their disability. Medicaid 
eligibility for these individuals continues for as long as 
they would be eligible for SSI, absence their OASDI 
eligibility.  

The state Commonwealth does not apply more restrictive 
income eligibility requirements than those under SSI.  

10. 11. Except in states that apply more restrictive 
eligibility requirements for Medicaid than under SSI, 
individuals who are ineligible for SSI or optional state 
supplements (if the agency provides Medicaid under 
§ 435.230 of the Act), because of requirements that do not 
apply under Title XIX of the Act.  

11. 12. Individuals receiving mandatory state supplements.  

12. 13. Individuals who in December 1973 were eligible 
for Medicaid as an essential spouse and who have 
continued, as a spouse, to live with and be essential to the 
well-being of a recipient of cash assistance. The recipient 
with whom the essential spouse is living continues to meet 
the December 1973 eligibility requirements of the state's 
Commonwealth's approved plan for Old Age Assistance, 
Aid to the Blind, Aid to the Permanently and Totally 
Disabled, or Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled and the 
spouse continues to meet the December 1973 requirements 
for have his needs to be included in computing the cash 
payment. In December 1973, Medicaid coverage of the 
essential spouse was limited to the aged, the blind, and the 
disabled.  

13. 14. Institutionalized individuals who were eligible for 
Medicaid in December 1973 as inpatients of Title XIX 
medical institutions or residents of Title XIX intermediate 
care facilities, if, for each consecutive month after 
December 1973, they:  

a. Continue to meet the December 1973 Medicaid State 
Plan eligibility requirements;  

b. Remain institutionalized; and  

c. Continue to need institutional care.  

14. 15. Blind and disabled individuals who:  

a. Meet all current requirements for Medicaid eligibility 
except the blindness or disability criteria;  

b. Were eligible for Medicaid in December 1973 as blind 
or disabled; and  

c. For each consecutive month after December 1973 
continue to meet December 1973 eligibility criteria.  

15. 16. Individuals who would be SSI/SSP SSI or SSP 
eligible except for the increase in OASDI benefits under 
P.L. 92-336 (July 1, 1972), who were entitled to OASDI in 
August 1972, and who were receiving cash assistance in 
August 1972. This includes persons who would have been 
eligible for cash assistance but had not applied in August 
1972 (this group was included in this state's August 1972 
plan), and persons who would have been eligible for cash 
assistance in August 1972 if not in a medical institution or 
intermediate care facility (this group was included in this 
state's August 1972 plan).  

16. 17. Individuals who:  

a. Are receiving OASDI and were receiving SSI/SSP SSI 
or SSP but became ineligible for SSI/SSP SSI or SSP 
after April 1977; and  

b. Would still be eligible for SSI or SSP if cost-of-living 
increases in OASDI paid under § 215(i) of the Act 
received after the last month for which the individual was 
eligible for and received SSI/SSP SSI or SSP and 
OASDI, concurrently, were deducted from income.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
than those under SSI and the amount of increase that 
caused SSI/SSP SSI or SSP ineligibility and subsequent 
increases are deducted when determining the amount of 
countable income for categorically needy eligibility.  

17. 18. Disabled widows and widowers who would be 
eligible for SSI or SSP except for the increase in their 
OASDI benefits as a result of the elimination of the 
reduction factor required by § 134 of P.L. 98-21 and who 
are deemed, for purposes of Title XIX, to be SSI 
beneficiaries or SSP beneficiaries for individuals who 
would be eligible for SSP only, under § 1634(b) of the Act.  
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The state does not apply more restrictive income eligibility 
standards than those under SSI.  

18. 19. Disabled widows, disabled widowers, and disabled 
unmarried divorced spouses who had been married to the 
insured individual for a period of at least 10 years before 
the divorce became effective, who have attained the age of 
50, who are receiving Title II payments, and who because 
of the receipt of Title II income lost eligibility for SSI or 
SSP which they received in the month prior to the month in 
which they began to receive Title II payments, who would 
be eligible for SSI or SSP if the amount of the Title II 
benefit were not counted as income, and who are not 
entitled to Medicare Part A.  

The state applies more restrictive eligibility requirements 
for its blind or disabled than those of the SSI program.  

19. 20. Qualified Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 
§ 1818 of the Act);  

b. Whose income does not exceed 100% of the federal 
level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 
resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 
Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
cost sharing as defined in item 3.2 of this plan. 

20. 21. Qualified disabled and working individuals:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A under § 1818A of the Act;  

b. Whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal 
poverty level; 

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI; and 

d. Who are not otherwise eligible for medical assistance 
under Title XIX of the Act.  

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
Part A premiums under §§ 1818 and 1818A of the Act. 

21. 22. Specified low-income Medicare beneficiaries:  

a. Who are entitled to hospital insurance benefits under 
Medicare Part A (but not pursuant to an enrollment under 
§ 1818A of the Act);  

b. Whose income for calendar years 1993 and 1994 
exceeds the income level in subdivision 25 b of this 
section, but is less than 110% of the federal poverty 
level, and whose income for calendar years beginning 
1995 is less than 120% of the federal poverty level; and  

c. Whose resources do not exceed twice the maximum 
standard under SSI or, effective January 1, 2010, the 
resource limit set for the Medicare Part D Low Income 
Subsidy Program. 

Medical assistance for this group is limited to Medicare 
Part B premiums under § 1839 of the Act. 

22. 23. a. Each person to whom SSI benefits by reason of 
disability are not payable for any month solely by reason of 
clause (i) or (v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) § 1611(e)(3)(A)(i) or 
(v) shall be treated, for purposes of Title XIX, as receiving 
SSI benefits for the month.  

b. The state applies more restrictive eligibility standards 
than those under SSI. Individuals whose eligibility for 
SSI benefits are based solely on disability who are not 
payable for any months solely by reason of clause (i) or 
(v) of § 1611(e)(3)(A) § 1611(e)(3)(A)(i) or (v) and who 
continue to meet the more restrictive requirements for 
Medicaid eligibility under the state plan, are eligible for 
Medicaid as categorically needy.  

12VAC30-40-348. Adult group individual income-based 
determinations. 

A. Methodology for identification of applicable federal 
medical assistance percentages (FMAP) rates. DMAS will 
determine the appropriate FMAP rate for expenditures for 
individuals enrolled in the adult group described in 42 CFR 
435.119 and receiving benefits in accordance with 42 CFR 
Part 440 Subpart C. The adult group FMAP methodology 
consists of two parts: an individual-based determination 
related to enrolled individuals and, as applicable, appropriate 
population-based adjustments. 

B. Adult group individual income-based determinations. For 
individuals eligible in the adult group, the Commonwealth 
will make an individual income-based determination for 
purposes of the adult group FMAP methodology by 
comparing individual income to the relevant converted 
income eligibility standards in effect on December 1, 2009, 
and included in the Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) 
Conversion Plan (Part 2) approved by Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) on February 11, 2014. In 
general, and subject to any adjustments described in this 
section, under the adult group FMAP methodology, the 
expenditures of individuals with incomes below the relevant 
converted income standards for the applicable subgroup are 
considered as those for which the newly eligible FMAP is not 
available.  

C. Population-based adjustments to the newly eligible 
population based on resource test, enrollment cap, or special 
circumstances. 

1. The Commonwealth does not apply a resource proxy 
adjustment.  

2. The Commonwealth does not apply an enrollment cap. 
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3. The Commonwealth does not apply a special 
circumstance adjustment. 

4. The Commonwealth does not apply any additional 
adjustment to the adult group FMAP methodology. 

D. Individuals previously eligible for Medicaid coverage 
through a § 1115 demonstration program or a mandatory or 
optional State Plan eligibility category will be transitioned to 
the new adult group described in 42 CFR 435.119 in 
accordance with a CMS-approved transition plan or a 
§ 1902(e)(14)(A) waiver. 

E. Applicability of special FMAP rates. 

1. The Commonwealth does not meet the definition of an 
expansion state in 42 CFR 433.204(b). 

2. The Commonwealth does not qualify for a temporary 
2.2% increase in FMAP under 42 CFR 433.10(c)(7).  

F. The Commonwealth attests to the following: 

1. The application of the adult group FMAP methodology 
will not affect the timing or approval of any individual's 
eligibility for Medicaid. 

2. The application of the adult group FMAP methodology 
will not be biased in such a manner as to inappropriately 
establish the numbers of, or medical assistance 
expenditures for, individuals determined to be newly or not 
newly eligible. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5692; Filed July 3, 2019, 1:36 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 
Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (adding 
12VAC30-50-610).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: September 19, 2019, through March 18, 
2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapter 2, Item 303 SS 4 a of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 
directs the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to "...amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 
… to implement coverage for newly eligible individuals…" 
Item 303 SS 4 f states that DMAS "...shall have the 
authority to promulgate emergency regulations to 
implement these changes within 280 days or less …" 

This regulatory action adds the alternative benefit plan 
(ABP), which is available to individuals who are covered 
by Medicaid expansion, to the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance in order to implement Medicaid 
expansion. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) requires state Medicaid agencies to create 
an ABP for expansion populations. The changes included 
in this regulatory action have already been reviewed and 
approved by CMS. 

Part X 
Alternative Benefit Plan 

12VAC30-50-610. Alternative benefit plan: Medicaid 
expansion. 

A. The Commonwealth provides alternative benefits to the 
adult group under the coverage option under § 1937 of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 301 et seq.) approved by the 
Secretary of Health and Human Services. Enrollment is 
mandatory for individuals in the adult group, and the 
alternative benefit package shall be available statewide.  

B. In developing the benefit package for the alternative 
benefit plan, the Commonwealth reviewed:  

1. Benefits in its approved State Plan as a "benchmark 
benefit package";  

2. The largest plan by enrollment of the three largest small-
group insurance products in the small-group market as the 
"base benchmark plan"; and  

3. Essential health benefits.  

C. Alternative benefit plan services. 

1. The alternative benefit plan includes Medicaid State 
Plan services, including essential health benefits.  

2. The essential health benefits included in the alternative 
benefit plan are ambulatory patient services; emergency 
services; hospitalization; maternity and newborn care; 
mental health and substance use disorder services, 
including behavioral health treatment; prescription drugs; 
rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices; 
laboratory services; preventive and wellness services and 
chronic disease management; and pediatric services, 
including oral and vision care. 
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D. The Commonwealth makes the following benefits 
assurances: 

1. The Commonwealth assures that (i) the notice to an 
individual includes a description of the method for 
ensuring access to early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 
and treatment (EPSDT) services and (ii) EPSDT services 
will be provided to individuals younger than 21 years of 
age who are covered under the State Plan under 
§ 1902(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act. 

2. The Commonwealth assures that it meets the minimum 
requirements for prescription drug coverage in § 1937 of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 
42 CFR 440.347. Coverage is at least the greater of one 
drug in each United States Pharmacopeia (USP) category 
and class or the same number of prescription drugs in each 
category and class as the base benchmark plan. 

3. The Commonwealth assures that beneficiaries may 
request and gain access to clinically appropriate 
prescription drugs when not covered. 

4. The Commonwealth assures that when it pays for 
outpatient prescription drugs covered under an alternative 
benefit plan, the drug meets the requirements of § 1927 of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 
42 CFR 440.345, except for those requirements that are 
directly contrary to amount, duration, and scope of 
coverage permitted under § 1937 of the Social Security 
Act. 

5. The Commonwealth assures that when conducting prior 
authorization of prescription drugs under an alternative 
benefit plan, the prescription complies with prior 
authorization program requirements in § 1927(d)(5) of the 
Social Security Act. 

6. The Commonwealth assures that (i) substituted benefits 
are actuarially equivalent to the benefits they replaced from 
the base benchmark plan, and (ii) the Commonwealth has 
an actuarial certification for substituted benefits available 
for Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
inspection if requested by CMS. 

7. The Commonwealth assures that individuals will have 
access to services in rural health clinics (RHC) and 
federally qualified health centers (FQHC) as defined in 
§ 1905(a)(2)(B) and (C) of the Social Security Act. 

8. The Commonwealth assures that payment for RHC and 
FQHC services is made in accordance with the 
requirements of § 1902(bb) of the Social Security Act. 

9. The Commonwealth assures that it will comply with the 
requirement of § 1937(b)(5) of the Social Security Act by 
providing at least essential health benefits as described in 
§ 1302(b) of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act (42 USC § 18001) to all alternative benefit plan 
participants. 

10. The Commonwealth assures that it will comply with 
the mental health and substance use disorder parity 
requirements of § 1937(b)(6) of the Social Security Act by 
ensuring that the financial requirements and treatment 
limitations applicable to mental health or substance use 
disorder benefits comply with the requirements of 
§ 2705(a) of the Public Health Service Act (42 USC § 201 
et seq.) in the same manner as such requirements apply to a 
group health plan. 

11. The Commonwealth assures that it will comply with 
§ 1937(b)(7) of the Social Security Act by ensuring that 
benefits provided to alternative benefit plan participants 
include, for any individual described in § 1905(a)(4)(C) of 
the Social Security Act, medical assistance for family 
planning services and supplies in accordance with such 
section. 

12. The Commonwealth assures emergency and 
nonemergency transportation for individuals enrolled in an 
alternative benefit plan in accordance with 42 CFR 431.53. 

13. The Commonwealth assures, in accordance with 
45 CFR 156.115(a)(4) and 45 CFR 147.130, that it will 
provide as essential health benefits a broad range of 
preventive services including "A" and "B" services 
recommended by the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force; 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 
recommended vaccines; preventive care and screening for 
infants, children, and adults recommended by the Health 
Resources and Services Administration Bright Futures 
Program; and additional preventive services for women 
recommended by the Institute of Medicine. 

E. The Commonwealth will use both managed care and fee-
for-service delivery systems for the alternative benefit plan. 

1. The Commonwealth certifies that it will comply with all 
applicable Medicaid laws and regulations, including 
§§ 1903(m), 1905(t), and 1932 of the Social Security Act 
and 42 CFR Part 438, in providing managed care services 
through the alternative benefit plan. This certification 
includes the requirement for CMS approval of contracts 
and rates pursuant to 42 CFR 438.6. 

2. The managed care delivery system is the same as the 
CMS-approved § 1915(b) managed care waivers. The fee-
for-service delivery system is the traditional, state-
managed system. 

3. The Commonwealth assures that, for each benefit 
provided under an alternative benefit plan that is not 
provided through managed care, the Commonwealth will 
use the payment methodology in its approved state plan.  

F. Individuals who have cost-effective group health plans 
described in § 1906 of the Social Security Act or qualified 
employer-sponsored plans described in § 1906A of the Social 
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Security Act may request to receive coverage through the 
Health Insurance Premium Payment program.  

G. Any cost sharing described in Attachment 4.18-A of the 
State Plan (12VAC30-20-150) applies to the alternative 
benefit plan. 

H. The Commonwealth makes the following general 
assurances: 

1. The Commonwealth assures that the alternative benefit 
plan coverage is provided in accordance with federal upper 
payment limit requirements and other economy and 
efficiency principles that would otherwise be applicable to 
the services or delivery system through which the coverage 
and benefits are obtained. 

2. The Commonwealth will continue to comply with all 
other provisions of the Social Security Act in the 
administration of the State Plan. 

3. The Commonwealth assures that alternative benefit plan 
benefit designs shall conform to the nondiscrimination 
requirements at 42 CFR 430.2 and 42 CFR 440.347(e). 

4. The Commonwealth assures that all providers of 
alternative benefit plan benefits shall meet the provider 
qualification requirements of the base benchmark plan or 
the Medicaid state plan. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5693; Filed July 3, 2019, 1:38 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care 
(amending 12VAC30-80-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 19, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments revise the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services's pharmacy reimbursement 
methodology for the Medicaid fee-for-service program to 
one that meets the drug pricing definition described in a 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services final rule that 
was published in the Federal Register on February 1, 
2016. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

12VAC30-80-40. Fee-for-service providers: pharmacy. 

Payment for pharmacy services (excluding outpatient 
hospital) shall be the lowest of subdivisions 1 through 5 of 
this section (except that subdivisions 1 and 2 of this section 
will not apply when prescriptions are certified as brand 
necessary by the prescribing physician in accordance with the 
procedures set forth in 42 CFR 447.512(c) if the brand cost is 
greater than the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) upper limit of VMAC cost) subject to the conditions, 
where applicable, set forth in subdivisions 6 and 7 of this 
section:  

1. The upper limit established by the CMS for multiple 
source drugs pursuant to 42 CFR 447.512 and 447.514, as 
determined by the CMS Upper Limit List plus a dispensing 
fee. If the agency provides payment for any drugs on the 
HCFA Upper Limit List, the payment shall be subject to 
the aggregate upper limit payment test.  

2. The methodology used to reimburse for generic drug 
products shall be the higher of either (i) the lowest 
Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) plus 10% or (ii) the 
second lowest WAC plus 6.0%. This methodology shall 
reimburse for products' costs based on a Maximum 
Allowable Cost (VMAC) list to be established by the 
single state agency.  

a. In developing the maximum allowable reimbursement 
rate for generic pharmaceuticals, the department or its 
designated contractor shall: 

(1) Identify three different suppliers, including 
manufacturers that are able to supply pharmaceutical 
products in sufficient quantities. The drugs considered 
must be listed as therapeutically and pharmaceutically 
equivalent in the Food and Drug Administration's most 
recent version of the Approved Drug Products with 
Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (Orange Book). 
Pharmaceutical products that are not available from three 
different suppliers, including manufacturers, shall not be 
subject to the VMAC list. 

(2) Identify that the use of a VMAC rate is lower than the 
Federal Upper Limit (FUL) for the drug. The FUL is a 
known, widely published price provided by CMS; and 

(3) Distribute the list of state VMAC rates to pharmacy 
providers in a timely manner prior to the implementation 
of VMAC rates and subsequent modifications. DMAS 
shall publish on its website, each month, the information 
used to set the Commonwealth's prospective VMAC 
rates, including, but not necessarily limited to: 

(a) The identity of applicable reference products used to 
set the VMAC rates; 

(b) The Generic Code Number (GCN) or National Drug 
Code (NDC), as may be appropriate, of reference 
products; 
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(c) The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds the 
appropriate WAC price; and 

(d) The identity and date of the published compendia 
used to determine reference products and set the VMAC 
rate. The difference by which the VMAC rate exceeds 
the appropriate WAC price shall be at least or equal to 
10% above the lowest-published wholesale acquisition 
cost for products widely available for purchase in the 
Commonwealth and shall be included in national pricing 
compendia. 

b. Development of a VMAC rate that does not have a 
FUL rate shall not result in the use of higher-cost 
innovator brand name or single source drugs in the 
Medicaid program. 

c. DMAS or its designated contractor shall: 

(1) Implement and maintain a procedure to add or 
eliminate products from the list, or modify VMAC rates, 
consistent with changes in the fluctuating marketplace. 
DMAS or its designated contractor will regularly review 
manufacturers' pricing and monitor drug availability in 
the marketplace to determine the inclusion or exclusion 
of drugs on the VMAC list; and 

(2) Provide a pricing dispute resolution procedure to 
allow a dispensing provider to contest a listed VMAC 
rate. DMAS or its designated contractor shall confirm 
receipt of pricing disputes within 24 hours, via telephone 
or facsimile, with the appropriate documentation of 
relevant information, for example, invoices. Disputes 
shall be resolved within three business days of 
confirmation. The pricing dispute resolution process will 
include DMAS' or the contractor's verification of 
accurate pricing to ensure consistency with marketplace 
pricing and drug availability. Providers will be 
reimbursed, as appropriate, based on findings. Providers 
shall be required to use this dispute resolution process 
prior to exercising any applicable appeal rights. 

3. The provider's usual and customary charge to the public, 
as identified by the claim charge. 

4. The Estimated Acquisition Cost (EAC), which shall be 
based on the published Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 
minus a percentage discount established by the General 
Assembly (as set forth in subdivision 7 of this section) or, 
in the absence thereof, by the following methodology set 
out in subdivisions a, b, and c of this subdivision. 

a. Percentage discount shall be determined by a statewide 
survey of providers' acquisition cost. 

b. The survey shall reflect statistical analysis of actual 
provider purchase invoices. 

c. The agency will conduct surveys at intervals deemed 
necessary by DMAS. 

5. Maximum allowable cost (MAC) methodology for 
specialty drugs. Payment for drug products designated by 
DMAS as specialty drugs shall be the lesser of 
subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section or the following 
method, whichever is least: 

a. The methodology used to reimburse for designated 
specialty drug products shall be the WAC price plus the 
WAC percentage. The WAC percentage is a constant 
percentage identified each year for all GCNs. 

b. Designated specialty drug products are certain 
products used to treat chronic, high-cost, or rare diseases; 
the drugs subject to this pricing methodology and their 
current reimbursement rates are listed on the DMAS 
website at the following internet address: 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/pharm-
home.aspx. 

c. The MAC reimbursement methodology for specialty 
drugs shall be subject to the pricing review and dispute 
resolution procedures described in subdivisions 2 c (1) 
and 2 c (2) of this section. 

6. Payment for pharmacy services will be as described in 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section; however, payment 
for legend drugs will include the allowed cost of the drug 
plus only one dispensing fee per month for each specific 
drug. Exceptions to the monthly dispensing fees shall be 
allowed for drugs determined by the department to have 
unique dispensing requirements. The dispensing fee for 
brand name and generic drugs is $3.75. 

7. An EAC of AWP minus 13.1% shall become effective 
July 1, 2011. The dispensing fee for brand name and 
generic drugs of $3.75 shall remain in effect, creating a 
payment methodology based on the previous algorithm 
(least of subdivisions of this section) plus a dispensing fee 
where applicable. 

A. Payment for covered outpatient legend and nonlegend 
drugs dispensed by a retail community pharmacy will include 
the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 professional dispensing 
fee. The drug ingredient cost reimbursement shall be the 
lowest of: 

1. The national average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) of 
the drug, the federal upper limit (FUL), or the provider's 
usual and customary (U&C) charge to the public as 
identified by the claim charge; or 

2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%, the 
FUL, or the provider's U&C charge to the public as 
identified by the claim charge. 

B. Payment for specialty drugs not dispensed by a retail 
community pharmacy but dispensed primarily through the 
mail will include the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 
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professional dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost 
reimbursement shall be the lowest of: 

1. The NADAC of the drug, the federal upper limit (FUL), 
or the provider's U&C charge to the public as identified by 
the claim charge; or 

2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%, the 
FUL, or the provider's U&C charge to the public as 
identified by the claim charge. 

C. Payment for drugs not dispensed by a retail community 
pharmacy (i.e., institutional or long-term care facility 
pharmacies) will include the drug ingredient cost plus a 
$10.65 professional dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost 
reimbursement shall be the lowest of: 

1. The NADAC of the drug, the FUL, or the provider's 
U&C charge to the public as identified by the claim 
charge; or 

2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0%, the 
FUL, or the provider's U&C charge to the public as 
identified by the claim charge. 

D. Payment for clotting factor from specialty pharmacies, 
hemophilia treatment centers, and centers of excellence will 
include the drug ingredient cost plus a $10.65 professional 
dispensing fee. The drug ingredient cost reimbursement shall 
be the lowest of: 

1. The NADAC of the drug or the provider's U&C charge 
to the public as identified by the claim charge; or 

2. When no NADAC is available, DMAS shall reimburse 
at the lowest of the wholesale acquisition cost plus 0% or 
the provider's U&C charge to the public as identified by 
the claim charge. 

E. Section 340B covered entities and federally qualified 
health centers that fill Medicaid member prescriptions with 
drugs purchased at the prices authorized under § 340B of the 
Public Health [ Services Service ] Act (Chapter 6A of 
42 USC (42 USC § 201 et seq.)) are reimbursed no more than 
the actual acquisition cost for the drug plus a $10.65 
professional dispensing fee. Section 340B covered entities 
that fill Medicaid member prescriptions with drugs not 
purchased under § 340B of the Public Health Services Act are 
reimbursed in accordance with subsection A of this section 
plus the $10.65 professional dispensing fee as described in 
subsection I of this section. 

F. Drugs acquired through the federal § 340B drug price 
program and dispensed by § 340B contract pharmacies are 
not covered. 

G. Facilities purchasing drugs through the federal supply 
schedule (FSS) or drug pricing program under 38 USC 
§ [ 1826 8126 ], 42 USC § 256b, or 42 USC § [ 1396-8 

1396r-8 ], other than the § 340B drug pricing program are 
reimbursed no more than the actual acquisition cost for the 
drug plus a $10.65 professional dispensing fee. 

H. Facilities purchasing drugs at nominal price (i.e., outside 
of § 340B or FSS) are reimbursed no more than the actual 
acquisition cost for the drug plus a $10.65 professional 
dispensing fee. Nominal price as defined in 42 CFR 447.502 
means that a price is less than 10% of the average 
manufacturer price (AMP) in the same quarter for which the 
AMP is computed. 

I. Payment for pharmacy services are as described in 
subsections A through H of this section; however, they shall 
include the allowed cost of the drug plus only one 
professional dispensing fee, as defined at 42 CFR 447.502, 
per member per month for each specific drug. Exceptions to 
the monthly dispensing fees shall be allowed for drugs 
determined by the department to have unique dispensing 
requirements. The professional dispensing fee for all covered 
outpatient drugs shall be $10.65. The professional dispensing 
fee shall be determined by a cost of dispensing survey 
conducted at least every five years. 

J. Physician administered drugs (PADs) submitted under the 
medical benefit are reimbursed at 106% of the average sales 
price (ASP) as published by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS). PADs without an ASP on the 
CMS reference file are reimbursed at the provider's actual 
acquisition cost. Covered entities using drugs purchased at 
the prices authorized under § 340B of the Public Health 
[ Services Service ] Act for Medicaid members shall bill 
Medicaid their actual acquisition cost. 

K. Payment to Indian Health Service, tribal, and urban 
Indian pharmacies. DMAS does not have any Indian Health 
Service, tribal, or urban Indian pharmacies enrolled at this 
time. Payment for pharmacy services will be defined in a state 
plan amendment if such entity enrolls with DMAS. 

L. Investigational drugs are not a covered service under the 
DMAS pharmacy program. 

8. M. Home infusion therapy.  

a. 1. The following therapy categories shall have a 
pharmacy service day rate payment allowable: hydration 
therapy, chemotherapy, pain management therapy, drug 
therapy, and total parenteral nutrition (TPN). The service 
day rate payment for the pharmacy component shall apply 
to the basic components and services intrinsic to the 
therapy category. Submission of claims for the per diem 
rate shall be accomplished by use of the CMS 1500 claim 
form.  

b. 2. The cost of the active [ ingredient or ] ingredients for 
chemotherapy, pain management and drug therapies shall 
be submitted as a separate claim through the pharmacy 
program, using standard pharmacy format. Payment for 
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this component shall be consistent with the current 
reimbursement for pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of the same therapy shall be reimbursed one 
service day rate for the pharmacy services. Multiple 
applications of different therapies shall be reimbursed at 
100% of standard pharmacy reimbursement for each active 
ingredient.  

9. N. Supplemental rebate agreement. The Commonwealth 
complies with the requirements of § 1927 of the Social 
Security Act and Subpart I (42 CFR 447.500 et seq.) of 
42 CFR Part 447 with regard to supplemental drug rebates. In 
addition, the following requirements are also met: 

a. 1. Supplemental drug rebates received by the state in 
excess of those required under the national drug rebate 
agreement will be shared with the federal government on 
the same percentage basis as applied under the national 
drug rebate agreement.  

b. 2. Prior authorization requirements found in 
§ 1927(d)(5) of the Social Security Act have been met.  

c. 3. Nonpreferred drugs are those that were reviewed by 
the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee and not 
included on the preferred drug list (PDL). Nonpreferred 
drugs will be made available to Medicaid beneficiaries 
through prior authorization.  

d. 4. Payment of supplemental rebates may result in a 
product's inclusion on the PDL.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4546; Filed July 3, 2019, 1:40 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-130. Rules Governing the 
Filing of Rates for Individual and Certain Group 
Accident and Sickness Insurance Policy Forms (amending 
14VAC5-130-10 through 14VAC5-130-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 9, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Bob Grissom, Chief Insurance Market 
Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9152, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
bob.grissom@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments address the statutory revision 
to the definition of "small employer," clarify rating 
requirements related to short-term limited duration 
insurance, clarify premium rates and rating factor 
requirements, and remove the Uniform Age Rating Curve 
table and replace it with a reference to the table.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 16, 2019 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2019-00089 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending Rules 
Governing the Filing of Rates for Accident 
and Sickness Insurance  

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 
that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 
have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 
Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 
appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 
38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 
pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 
the Virginia Administrative Code.  A copy also may be found 
at the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed amendments to Rules at Chapter 130 
of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled 
"Rules Governing the Filing of Rates for Accident and 
Sickness Insurance," which amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-
130-10 through 14 VAC 5-130-100 and repeal forms. 

The amendments to the Rules are necessary to address the 
statutory revision to the definition of "small employer," to 
clarify rating requirements related to short-term limited 
duration insurance, and other clarifications and amendments 
to premium rates and rating factor requirements. In addition, 
the proposed amendments remove the inclusion of the 
Uniform Age Rating Curve table and instead provide 
reference to the table as this information may change at the 
federal level from time to time. Finally, repeal of the forms as 
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attachments is being recommended because the data 
requirements on the forms also change from time to time and 
for some filings the forms are part of a larger template. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 
proposal to amend the Rules at Chapter 130 of Title 14 of the 
Virginia Administrative Code as submitted by the Bureau 
should be considered for adoption with a proposed effective 
date of January 1, 2020.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to amend Chapter 130 of Title 14 of the 
Virginia Administrative Code and repeal forms, as set out at 
14 VAC 5-130-10 through 14 VAC 5-130-100, is attached 
hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 
of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose 
amendments to Chapter 130 or the repeal of forms shall file 
such comments or hearing request on or before September 9, 
2019, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, State Corporation 
Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 
Richmond, Virginia 23218 and shall refer to Case No. INS-
2019-00089. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 
electronically may do so by following the instructions at the 
Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All 
comments shall refer to Case No. INS-2019-00089. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 
amend rules as outlined in this Order is received on or before 
September 9, 2019, the Commission, upon consideration of 
any comments submitted in support of or in opposition to the 
proposal, may adopt amendments and repeal forms in Chapter 
130 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code as 
submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to all 
carriers licensed in Virginia to write accident and sickness 
insurance and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 
amend rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 
the Commission's website: http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 
Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to 
the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau 
of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Julie S. 
Blauvelt. 

CHAPTER 130  
RULES GOVERNING THE FILING OF RATES FOR 

INDIVIDUAL AND CERTAIN GROUP ACCIDENT AND 
SICKNESS INSURANCE POLICY FORMS  

14VAC5-130-10. Purpose.  

The purposes of this chapter (14VAC5-130-10 et seq.) are 
to: (i) implement procedures for the filing or filing and 
approval of rates for individual and certain group accident 
and sickness insurance policy forms and (ii) establish 
minimum loss ratios to assure that the benefits provided by 
such policy forms are or are likely anticipated to be 
reasonable in relation to the premiums charged.  

14VAC5-130-30. Scope.  

A. This chapter (14VAC5-130-10 et seq.) applies to all: 

1. All individual and group accident and sickness insurance 
policy forms policies, subscriber contracts of hospital, 
medical or surgical health maintenance organizations or 
health services plans, dental plans, and optometric plans 
delivered or issued for delivery in this Commonwealth.  

B. This chapter also applies to all 2. All health insurance 
coverage issued in the individual and small group markets. 

C. This chapter also applies to 3. Individual and group 
Medicare supplement insurance policy forms policies and 
group Medicare supplement subscriber contracts of 
hospital, medical or surgical health maintenance 
organizations or health services plans providing Medicare 
supplement coverage delivered or issued for delivery in 
this Commonwealth.  

D. For purposes of this chapter, a policy form shall include 
any rider or endorsement form affecting benefits which is 
attached to the base policy 4. Individual and group long-
term care policies issued before October 1, 2003.  

E. B. Except as otherwise provided, nothing contained in 
this chapter shall be construed to relieve a health insurance 
issuer an insurer of complying with the statutory requirements 
set forth in Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-130-40. Definitions.  

As used The following words and terms when used in this 
chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Actuarial value" or "AV" means the anticipated covered 
medical spending for essential health benefits (EHB) coverage 
paid by a health plan for a standard population, computed in 
accordance with the plan's cost-sharing, divided by the total 
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anticipated allowed charges for EHB coverage provided to a 
standard population, and expressed as a percentage. 

"Anticipated loss ratio" means the ratio of the present value of 
the future benefits to the present value of the future premiums of 
a policy form over the entire period for which rates are computed 
to provide coverage.  

"Grandfathered plan" means coverage provided by a health 
carrier in which an individual was enrolled on March 23, 2010, 
for as long as such plan maintains that status in accordance with 
federal law. 

"Group health insurance coverage" means in connection with a 
group health plan, health insurance coverage offered in 
connection with such plan. 

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit 
plan (as defined in § 3(1) of the Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1002(1)), to the extent that 
the plan provides medical care and including items and 
services paid for as medical care to employees or their 
dependents (as defined under the terms of the plan) directly or 
through insurance, reimbursement, or otherwise. 

"Group Medicare supplement policy" means a group policy of 
accident and sickness insurance, or a group subscriber contract of 
hospital, medical or surgical plans, covering individuals who are 
entitled to have payment made under Medicare, which is 
designed primarily to supplement Medicare by providing 
benefits for payment of hospital, medical or surgical expenses, or 
is advertised, marketed or otherwise purported to be a 
supplement to Medicare. Such term does not include:  

1. A policy or contract of one or more employers or labor 
organizations, or of the trustees of a fund established by one 
or more employers or labor organizations, or combination 
thereof, for employees or former employees, or combination 
thereof, or for members or former members, or combination 
thereof, of the labor organizations; or  

2. A policy or contract of any professional, trade or 
occupational association for its members or former retired 
members, or combination thereof, if such association:  

a. Is composed of individuals all of whom are actively 
engaged in the same profession, trade, or occupation;  

b. Has been maintained in good faith for purposes other than 
obtaining insurance; and  

c. Has been in existence for at least two years prior to the 
date of its initial offering of such policy or plan to its 
members. 

"Health benefit plan" means any accident and health insurance 
policy or certificate, health services plan contract, health 
maintenance organization subscriber contract, plan provided by a 
MEWA multiple employer welfare arrangement, or plan 
provided by another benefit arrangement. "Health benefit plan" 
does not mean accident only, credit, or disability insurance; 
coverage of Medicare services or federal employee health plans, 
pursuant to contracts with the United States government; 

Medicare supplement or long-term care insurance; Medicaid 
coverage; dental only or vision only insurance; specified disease 
insurance; hospital confinement indemnity coverage; limited 
benefit health coverage; coverage issued as a supplement to 
liability insurance; insurance arising out of a workers' 
compensation or similar law; automobile medical payment 
insurance; medical expense and loss of income benefits; or 
insurance under which benefits are payable with or without 
regard to fault and that is statutorily required to be contained in 
any liability insurance policy or equivalent self-insurance. 

"Health insurance coverage" means benefits consisting of 
medical care (provided directly, through insurance or 
reimbursement, or otherwise and including items and services 
paid for as medical care) under any hospital or medical service 
policy or certificate, hospital or medical service plan contract, or 
health maintenance organization contract offered by a health 
insurance issuer an insurer. 

"Health insurance issuer" means an insurance company, or 
insurance organization (including a health maintenance 
organization) that is licensed to engage in the business of 
insurance in this Commonwealth and that is subject to the laws 
of this Commonwealth that regulate insurance within the 
meaning of § 514(b)(2) of the Employee Retirement Income 
Security Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1144(b)(2)). Such term does not 
include a group health plan. 

"Health maintenance organization" means: 1. A federally 
qualified health maintenance organization; 2. An organization 
recognized under the laws of this Commonwealth as a health 
maintenance organization; or 3. A similar organization 
regulated under the laws of this Commonwealth for solvency 
in the same manner and to the same extent as such a health 
maintenance organization any person who undertakes to 
provide or arrange for one or more health care plans as 
defined in § 38.2-4300 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Health system" means an organization that consists of either 
(i) at least one hospital plus at least one group of physicians or 
(ii) more than one group of physicians. 

"Individual accident and sickness insurance" means insurance 
against loss resulting from sickness or from bodily injury or 
death by accident or accidental means or both when sold on an 
individual rather than group basis. 

"Individual health insurance coverage" means health insurance 
coverage offered to individuals in the individual market, that 
includes a health benefit plan provided to individuals through a 
trust arrangement, association, or other discretionary group that 
is not an employer plan, but does not include coverage defined as 
"excepted benefits" in § 38.2-3431 of the Code of Virginia or 
short-term limited duration insurance. Student health insurance 
coverage shall be considered a type of individual health 
insurance coverage. 

"Individual market" means the market for health insurance 
coverage offered to individuals other than in connection with a 
group health plan. Coverage that would be regulated as 
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individual market coverage if it were not sold through an 
association is individual market coverage.  

"Individual Medicare supplement policy" means an individual 
policy of accident and health insurance or a subscriber contract 
of hospital, medical or surgical plans, offered to individuals who 
are entitled to have payment made under Medicare, which is 
designed primarily to supplement Medicare by providing 
benefits for hospital, medical or surgical expenses, or is 
advertised, marketed or otherwise purported to be a supplement 
to Medicare. 

"Insurer" means a person licensed to issue or that issues any 
insurance policy in this Commonwealth. 

"Medicare supplement policy" means an individual or group 
accident and sickness insurance policy or certificate, or a health 
maintenance organization subscription contract or evidence of 
coverage, designed primarily to supplement Medicare by 
providing benefits for payment of hospital, medical, or surgical 
expenses, or is advertised, marketed or otherwise purported to be 
a supplement to Medicare. For group policies, the term does not 
include a policy or contract of one or more employers or labor 
organizations, or of the trustees of a fund established by one or 
more employers or labor organizations, or a combination of 
employees and labor organizations, for employees, former 
employees, or combination of employees and labor organizations 
or for members or former members, or combination thereof, of 
the labor organizations. 

"Member" means an enrollee, insured, member, subscriber, 
policyholder, certificate holder, or other individual who is 
participating in a health benefit plan or covered under health 
accident and sickness insurance. 

"Policy" means an insurance policy, form, contract, certificate 
of insurance, evidence of coverage, subscriber contract or other 
similar document. A policy shall include any rider or 
endorsement affecting benefits attached to the base policy. 

"Premium" means all moneys paid by an employer, eligible 
employee, or member as a condition of coverage from a 
health insurance issuer an insurer, including fees and other 
contributions associated with a health benefit plan.  

"Qualified actuary" means a member of the American 
Academy of Actuaries, or other individual qualified as 
described in the American Academy of Actuaries' U.S. 
Qualification Standards and the Code of Professional 
Conduct to render statements of actuarial opinion in the 
applicable area of practice. 

"Rate" or "premium rate" means any rate of premium, policy 
fee, membership fee, or any other charge made by an insurer 
for or in connection with a contract or policy of insurance. 
"Rate" shall not include a membership fee paid to become a 
member of an organization or association, one of the benefits 
of which is the purchase of insurance coverage. 

"SERFF" means the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioner's (NAIC) System for Electronic Rate and 
Form Filing, or its successor. 

"Small employer" means in connection with a group health plan 
or health insurance coverage with respect to a calendar year and 
a plan year, an employer who employed an average of at least 
one but not more than 50 employees on business days during the 
preceding calendar year and who employs at least one employee 
on the first day of the plan year. Effective January 1, 2016, 
"small employer" means in connection with a group health plan 
or health insurance coverage with respect to a calendar year and 
a plan year, an employer who employed an average of at least 
one but not more than 100 employees on business days during 
the preceding calendar year and who employs at least one 
employee on the first day of the plan year has the same meaning 
as in § 38.2-3431 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Small group market" means the health insurance market under 
which individuals obtain health insurance coverage (directly or 
through any arrangement) on behalf of themselves (and their 
dependents) through a group health plan maintained by a small 
employer. Coverage that would be regulated as small group 
market coverage if it were not sold through an association is 
small group market coverage.  

"Student health insurance coverage" means a type of individual 
health insurance coverage offered in the individual market that is 
provided pursuant to a written agreement between an institution 
of higher education, as defined by the Higher Education Act of 
1965 (Public Law No. 89-329), and a health carrier and provided 
to students enrolled in that institution of higher education and 
their dependents, and that does not make health insurance 
coverage available other than in connection with enrollment as a 
student or as a dependent of a student in the institution of higher 
education, and does not condition eligibility for health insurance 
coverage on any health status-related factor related to a student 
or a dependent of the student. 

14VAC5-130-50. General rules on rate filing; experience 
records and data.  

A. Every policy, rider, or endorsement form affecting benefits 
which is submitted for approval shall be accompanied by a rate 
filing unless such rider or endorsement form does not require a 
change in the rate. Any subsequent addition to or change in rates 
applicable to such policy, rider, or endorsement form shall also 
be filed.  

B. Each rate submission shall include an actuarial memorandum 
describing the basis on which rates and rating factors were 
determined and shall indicate and describe and provide the 
calculation of the anticipated loss ratio. Except for coverage 
issued in the individual and small employer group market health 
insurance coverage, interest at a rate consistent with that 
assumed in the original determination of premiums, shall be used 
in the calculation of this loss ratio. Each rate submission must 
also include a certification by a qualified actuary that to the best 
of the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate filing is in 
compliance with the applicable laws and regulations of this 
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Commonwealth, and that the benefits are reasonable in relation 
to the premiums.  

C. Health insurance issuers Insurers shall maintain records of 
earned premiums and incurred benefits for each calendar year for 
each policy form, including data for rider and endorsement forms 
which are used with the policy form, on the same basis, 
including all reserves, as required for the Accident and Health 
Policy Experience Exhibit. Separate data may be maintained for 
each rider or endorsement form to the extent appropriate. 
Experience under forms which provide substantially similar 
coverage may be combined. The data shall be for each calendar 
year of experience since the year the form was first issued.  

D. In determining the credibility and appropriateness of 
experience data, due consideration must be given to all relevant 
factors, such as:  

1. Statistical credibility of premiums and benefits, e.g., low 
exposure, low loss frequency.  

2. Experienced and projected trends relative to the kind of 
coverage, e.g., for example, inflation in medical expenses, 
economic cycles affecting disability income experience.  

3. The concentration of experience at early policy durations 
where select morbidity and preliminary term reserves are 
applicable and where loss ratios are expected to be 
substantially lower than at later policy durations.  

4. The mix of business by risk classification. 

E. Rates for coverage issued in the individual or small employer 
group markets health insurance coverage are required to meet the 
following: 

1. Premium rates with respect to a particular plan or coverage 
may only vary by: 

a. Whether the plan or coverage covers an individual or 
family; 

b. Rating area, as may be established by the commission; 

c. Age, consistent with the default Uniform Age Rating 
Curve table below as specified in guidance by the federal 
Secretary of Health and Human Services in accordance with 
45 CFR 147.102 (a)(1)(iii); and 

d. Tobacco use, except that the rate shall not vary by more 
than 1.5 to 1. Employees of a small employer may avoid this 
surcharge by participating in a wellness program that 
complies with § 2705(j) of the Public Health Service Act 
(42 USC § 300gg-4). 

Uniform Age Rating Curve 
AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 
AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 
AGE PREMIUM 

RATIO 

0-20 0.635 35 1.222 50 1.786 

21 1.000 36 1.230 51 1.865 

22 1.000 37 1.238 52 1.952 

23 1.000 38 1.246 53 2.040 

24 1.000 39 1.262 54 2.135 

25 1.004 40 1.278 55 2.230 

26 1.024 41 1.302 56 2.333 

27 1.048 42 1.325 57 2.437 

28 1.087 43 1.357 58 2.548 

29 1.119 44 1.397 59 2.603 

30 1.135 45 1.444 60 2.714 

31 1.159 46 1.500 61 2.810 

32 1.183 47 1.563 62 2.873 

33 1.198 48 1.635 63 2.952 

34 1.214 49 1.706 64 
and 
older 

3.000 

2. A premium rate shall not vary by any other factor not 
described in this subsection. 

3. With respect to family coverage, the rating variations 
permitted in this subsection shall be applied based on the 
portion of the premium that is attributable to each family 
member covered under the plan. With respect to family 
members under age younger than 21 years of age, the 
premiums for no more than the three oldest covered children 
shall be taken into account in determining the total family 
premium. 

4. The premium charged shall not be adjusted more frequently 
than annually, except that the premium rate may be changed 
to reflect changes to (i) the family composition of the 
member, (ii) the coverage requested by the member, or (iii) 
the geographic location of the member.  

5. Premium rates for student health insurance coverage may 
be based on school-specific community rating and are exempt 
from subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection. 

F. If the proposed area rate factors set forth in a rate filing for 
individual or small employer group health insurance coverage by 
an insurer for a rating area exceed by more than 15% the 
weighted average of the proposed area rate factors among all 
rating areas in which the insurer offers health benefit plans in 
that market, then: 

1. The insurer's rate filing shall include in a publicly 
available and unredacted form: 

a. A comparison of the area rate factor for individual and 
small employer group health benefit plans that utilize the 
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same provider network and provider reimbursement 
levels of the health benefit plans that are subject to the 
filing; 

b. A detailed disclosure of the area rate factor 
methodology, which shall include any third-party 
resources or representations from a person other than the 
signing actuary, on which the signing actuary relied, 
provided that disclosure of third-party resources shall 
address that the source data only reflects differences in 
unit cost and provider practice patterns; and 

c. To the extent that the insurer is deriving any area rate 
factor from experience data, by rating area for the 
experience period used: 

(1) The (i) total enrollment; (ii) total premiums; (iii) 
allowed claims; (iv) incurred claims excluding 
anticipated or, if available, actual risk adjustment 
payments or receipts; (v) incurred claims including 
anticipated or, if available, actual risk adjustment 
payments or receipts; and (vi) loss ratio for each of their 
rating areas in that market; and 

(2) Aggregated incurred claims for any health system 
exceeding 30% of total incurred claims for that rating 
area in that market. 

2. The commission shall hold a public hearing on the 
proposed premium rates prior to the approval of the rate 
filing. 

3. The commission shall not approve the proposed rate 
filing if (i) a variance in area rate factors, indexed to the 
same rating region for both the individual and small group 
markets, of 15% or more exists between health benefit 
plans an insurer intends to offer in the individual market 
and health benefit plans intended to be offered in the small 
group market, when those plans utilize the same provider 
network and provider reimbursement levels and (ii) the 
methodologies used to calculate the area rate factors are 
different between the two markets. 

G. Beginning for plan year 2020, an insurer with an 
approved rate filing that contains at least one area rate factor 
that exceeds by more than 25% the weighted average of the 
area rate factors among all rating areas in a market in which 
the insurer offers individual or small employer group health 
insurance coverage shall file with the commission for each 
calendar quarter during that plan year a report that provides, 
for each rating area within the market in which the insurer 
operates, the plan's (i) enrollment; (ii) total premiums; (iii) 
allowed claims; (iv) incurred claims excluding anticipated or, 
if available, actual risk adjustment payments or receipts; (v) 
incurred claims including anticipated or, if available, actual 
risk adjustment payments or receipts; (vi) loss ratio; and (vii) 
aggregate incurred claims, for each health system exceeding 
25% of total incurred claims for that rating area. The insurer 
shall make each such quarterly report publicly available, 

without redaction, not later than 45 days after the end of the 
calendar quarter. 

H. The commission may investigate and determine whether 
a rate is excessive, unfairly discriminatory, or unreasonable in 
relation to the benefits provided. In the event of disapproval 
or withdrawal of approval by the commission of a rate 
submission, a health insurance issuer an insurer may proceed 
as indicated using the process described in § 38.2-1926 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

14VAC5-130-60. Filing of rates for a new policy form.  

A. Each rate submission shall include: (i) the applicable 
policy or certificate form, application, and endorsements 
required by § 38.2-316 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) a rate 
sheet, (iii) an actuarial memorandum, and (iv) all information 
required in SERFF. The Unified Rate Review Template shall 
also be filed for coverage issued in the individual or small 
group markets, except for student health insurance coverage. 

B. The actuarial memorandum shall contain the following 
information:  

1. A description of the type of policy or coverage, 
including benefits, renewability, general marketing 
method, and issue age limits.  

2. A description of how rates and rating factors were 
determined, including the general description and source of 
each assumption used.  

3. The estimated expected average annual premium per 
policy and per anticipated member.  

4. The anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it was 
calculated.  

5. The minimum anticipated loss ratio presumed 
reasonable in this chapter, as specified in 14VAC5-130-65.  

6. If the anticipated loss ratio in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection is less than the minimum loss ratio in 
subdivision 5 of this subsection, supporting documentation 
for the use of such premiums shall also be included.  

7. For coverage issued in the individual or small group 
market, a certification by a qualified actuary of the 
actuarial value of each plan of benefits included and the 
AV calculation summary. 

8. 7. A certification by a qualified actuary that, to the best 
of the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate filing is 
in compliance with the applicable laws and regulations of 
this Commonwealth and the premiums are reasonable in 
relation to the benefits provided. 

8. For individual or small employer group health insurance 
coverage, a certification by a qualified actuary to include 
(i) the methodology used to calculate the AV metal value 
for each plan; (ii) the appropriateness of the essential 
health benefit portion of premium upon which advanced 
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payment of premium tax credits are based; (iii) the 
development of the index rate in accordance with federal 
regulations and the development of plan specific premium 
rates using allowable modifiers to the index rate; and (iv) 
the geographic rating factors, which should reflect 
differences only in the costs of delivery (which can include 
unit cost and provider practice pattern differences) and not 
differences in population morbidity by geographic area.  

9. For student health insurance coverage, a certification by 
a qualified actuary to include the methodology used to 
calculate an AV level of coverage that meets a minimum 
60%. 

14VAC5-130-65. Reasonableness of benefits in relation to 
initial premiums. 

A. Benefits shall be deemed reasonable in relation to 
premiums provided the anticipated loss ratio of the policy 
form, including riders and endorsements, is at least as great as 
specified below in this subsection:  

1. If the expected average annual premium is at least $200 
but less than $1,000:  

Type of 
Coverage 

Renewal Clause 

OR CR GR NC Other 

Hospital 
Confinement 
Indemnity 

60% 
n/a 

55% 
n/a 

55% 50% 60% 
n/a 

Disability 
Income 
Protection, 
Accident 
Only, 
Specified 
Disease and 
Other, whether 
paid on an 
expense 
incurred or 
indemnity 
basis 

60% 55% 50% 45% 60% 

Short-term 
Limited 
Duration 

n/a n/a n/a n/a 60% 

Definitions of renewal clause:  

OR - Optionally renewable: individual policy renewal is 
at the option of the insurance company.  

CR - Conditionally renewable: renewal can be declined 
by the insurance company only for stated reasons other 
than deterioration of health or renewal can be declined on 
a geographic territory basis.  

GR - Guaranteed renewable: renewal cannot be declined 
by the insurance company for any reason, but the 
insurance company can revise rates on a class basis.  

NC - Noncancellable: renewal cannot be declined nor can 
rates be revised by the insurance company.  

Other - Any other renewal or nonrenewal clauses (e.g., 
short term nonrenewable policies).  

2. If the expected average annual premium is $100 or more 
but less than $200, subtract five percentage points from the 
numbers in the table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

3. If the expected average annual premium is less than 
$100, subtract 10 percentage points from the numbers in 
the table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

4. If the expected average annual premium is $1,000 or 
more, add five percentage points to the numbers in the 
table in subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

5. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, For 
individual or group Medicare supplement policies, shall be 
expected to return to policyholders in the form of 
aggregate benefits under the policy at least 75% of the 
aggregate amount of premiums collected the loss ratios are 
identified in 14VAC5-170-120 A.  

6. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 and 5 of this subsection, 
for Medicare supplement policies issued prior to July 30, 
1992, as a result of solicitation of individuals through the 
mails or by mass media advertising, which shall include 
both print and broadcast advertising, shall be expected to 
return to policyholders in the form of aggregate benefits 
under the policy at least 60% of the aggregate amount of 
premiums collected.  

7. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, for 
Medicare supplement policies issued prior to July 30, 
1992, sold on an individual rather than group basis shall be 
expected to return to policyholders in the form of 
aggregate benefits under the policy at least 60% of the 
aggregate amount of premiums collected.  

8. 6. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
subsection, all individual health insurance coverage issued 
in the individual market shall be originally priced to meet a 
minimum 75% loss ratio and, except for student health 
insurance coverage, such coverage shall be guaranteed 
renewable or noncancellable. 

9. 7. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 
subsection, all small employer group health insurance 
coverage issued in the small group market shall be 
originally priced to meet a minimum 75% loss ratio and 
shall be guaranteed renewable or noncancellable.  

The above anticipated loss ratio standards do not apply to a 
type of coverage where such standards are in conflict with 
specific statutes or regulations.  

B. The expected average annual premium per policy and per 
member shall be computed by the health insurance issuer 
insurer based on an anticipated distribution of business by all 
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applicable criteria having a price difference, such as age, sex, 
amount, dependent status, rider frequency, etc., except 
assuming an annual mode for all policies (i.e., the fractional 
premium loading shall not affect the average annual premium 
or anticipated loss ratio calculation).  

14VAC5-130-70. Filing a rate revision.  

A. Each rate revision submission shall include: (i) a new rate 
sheet;, (ii) an actuarial memorandum;, and (iii) all 
information required in SERFF. The Unified Rate Review 
Template shall be filed for coverage issued in the individual 
or small group markets, except for student health insurance 
coverage. 

B. The actuarial memorandum shall contain the following 
information:  

1. A description of the type of policy, including benefits, 
renewability, issue age limits, and if applicable, whether 
the policy includes grandfathered or nongrandfathered 
plans or both.  

2. The scope and reason for the premium or rate revision.  

3. A comparison of the revised premiums with the current 
premium scale premiums, including all percentage rate 
changes and any rating factor changes.  

4. A statement of whether the revision applies only to new 
business, only to in-force business, or to both.  

5. The estimated expected average annual premium per 
policy and per member, before and after the proposed rate 
revision. Where different changes by rating classification 
are being requested, the rate filing shall also include (i) the 
range of changes and (ii) the average overall change with a 
detailed explanation of how the change was determined. 

6. Except for coverage issued in the small group market, 
historical Historical and projected experience, submitted 
on Form 130 A, including: 

a. Virginia and, if applicable, national or manual 
historical experience as specified in 14VAC5-130-50 C 
and projections for future experience; 

b. A statement indicating the basis for determining the 
rate revision (Virginia, national or manual, or blended); 

c. If the basis is blended, the credibility factor assigned to 
the national Virginia experience;  

d. Earned Premiums (EP), Incurred Benefits (IB), 
Increase in Reserves (IR), and Incurred Loss Ratio = (IB 
+ IR) ÷ (EP); and 

e. Any other available data the health insurance issuer 
insurer may wish to provide. The additional data may 
include, if available and appropriate, the ratios of actual 
claims to the claims expected according to the 
assumptions underlying the existing rates; substitution of 

actual claim run-offs for claim reserves and liabilities; 
accumulations of experience funds; substitution of net 
level policy reserves for preliminary term policy 
reserves; adjustments of premiums to an annual mode 
basis; or other adjustments or schedules suited to the 
form and to the records of the company. All additional 
data must be reconciled, as appropriate, to the required 
data.  

7. Details and dates of all past rate revisions, including the 
annual rate revisions members will experience as a result 
of this filing. For companies insurers revising rates only 
annually, the rate revision should be identical to the current 
submission. For companies insurers that have had more 
frequent rate revisions, the annual revision should reflect 
the compounding impact of all such revisions for the 
previous 12 months.  

8. A description of how revised rates were determined, 
including the general description and source of each 
assumption on Form 130A. For claims, provide historical 
and projected claims by major service category for both 
cost and utilization on Form 130B.  

9. If the rate revision applies to new business, provide the 
anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it was 
calculated.  

10. If the rate revision applies to in-force business:  

a. The anticipated loss ratio and a description of how it 
was calculated; and 

b. The estimated cumulative loss ratio, historical and 
anticipated, and a description of how it was calculated.  

11. The loss ratio that was originally anticipated for the 
policy.  

12. If 9, 10a, or 10b is less than 11, supporting 
documentation for the use of such premiums or rates.  

13. The current number of Virginia, and national if 
applicable, members to which the revision applies for the 
most recent month for which such data is available, and 
either premiums in force, premiums earned, or premiums 
collected for such members in the year immediately prior 
to the filing of the rate revision.  

14. Certification by a qualified actuary that, to the best of 
the actuary's knowledge and judgment, the rate filing is in 
compliance with applicable laws and regulations of this 
Commonwealth and the premiums are reasonable in 
relation to the benefits provided. 

15. For coverage issued in the individual or small employer 
group markets health insurance coverage, a certification by 
a qualified actuary of the actuarial value of each plan of 
benefits included and the AV calculation summary to 
include (i) the methodology used to calculate the AV metal 
value for each plan; (ii) the appropriateness of the essential 
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health benefit portion of premium upon which advanced 
payment of premium tax credits are based; (iii) the 
development of the index rate in accordance with federal 
regulations and the development of plan specific premium 
rates using allowable modifiers to the index rate; and (iv) 
the geographic rating factors, which should reflect 
differences only in the costs of delivery (which can include 
unit cost and provider practice pattern differences) and not 
differences in population morbidity by geographic area. 

16. For student health insurance coverage, a certification 
by a qualified actuary to include the methodology used to 
calculate an AV level of coverage that meets a minimum 
60%. 

14VAC5-130-75. Reasonableness of benefits in relation to 
revised premiums. 

A. For individual accident and sickness insurance, group 
that is "excepted benefits" as defined in § 38.2-3431 of the 
Code of Virginia and Medicare supplement insurance, and 
coverage issued in the individual market, with respect to 
filings of rate revisions for a previously approved form, 
benefits shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 
provided that both subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection 
shall be at least as great as the standards in 14VAC5-130-70 
B 11.  

1. The anticipated loss ratio over the entire period for 
which the revised rates are computed to provide coverage; 
and 

2. The ratio of (a) to (b) where (a) is the sum of the 
accumulated benefits, from the original effective date of 
the form to the effective date of the revision, and the 
present value of future benefits, and (b) is the sum of the 
accumulated premiums from the original effective date of 
the form to the effective date of the revision and the 
present value of future premiums.  

Present values shall be taken over the entire period for 
which the revised rates are computed to provide coverage. 
Accumulated benefits and premiums shall include an explicit 
estimate of benefits and premiums from the last accounting 
date to the effective date of the revision. Interest, at a rate 
consistent with that assumed in the original determination of 
premiums shall be used in the calculation of this loss ratio. 

B. For coverage issued in the individual and small employer 
group market health insurance coverage or short-term limited 
duration insurance, the anticipated loss ratio over the entire 
period for which the revised rates are computed to provide 
coverage shall be at least as great as the standards in 
14VAC5-130-70 B 11.  

C. If a health insurance issuer wishes to charge a premium 
for policies issued on or after the effective date of the rate 
revision that is different from the premium charged for such 
policies issued prior to the revision date, then with respect to 

policies issued prior to the effective date of the revision the 
requirements of subsection A of this section must be satisfied, 
and with respect to policies issued on and after the effective 
date of the revision, the standards are the same as in 
14VAC5-130-65, except that the average annual premium 
shall be determined based on an actual rather than an 
anticipated distribution of business. 

14VAC5-130-81. Risk pools and index rate. 

A. This section shall only apply to individual or small 
employer group health insurance coverage, except for 
grandfathered plans and student health insurance coverage. 

A health insurance issuer B. An insurer shall consider the 
claims experience of all enrollees in all health benefit plans 
individual health insurance coverage members, other than 
those in grandfathered plans and student health insurance 
coverage, in the individual market to be members of a single 
risk pool. 

B. A health insurance issuer C. An insurer shall consider the 
claims experience of all enrollees in all health plans small 
employer group health insurance coverage members, other 
than those in grandfathered plans, in the small group market 
to be members of a single risk pool. 

C. D. Each plan year or policy year, as applicable, a health 
insurance issuer an insurer shall establish an index rate based 
on the total combined claims costs for providing essential 
health benefits within the single risk pool of the individual or 
small group market. The index rate may be adjusted on a 
market-wide basis based on the total expected market-wide 
payments and charges under the risk adjustment and 
reinsurance programs in this Commonwealth and the health 
benefit exchange user fees. The premium rate for all of the 
health insurance issuer's insurer's plans shall use the 
applicable index rate, as adjusted in accordance with 
subsection D E of this section. 

D. A health insurance issuer E. An insurer may vary 
premium rates for a particular plan from its index rate for a 
relevant state market based only on the following actuarially 
justified plan-specific factors in accordance with 45 CFR 
156.80 (d)(2): 

1. Cost-sharing Actuarial value and cost-sharing design of 
the plan. 

2. The plan's provider network, delivery system 
characteristics, and utilization management practices. 

3. The benefits Benefits provided under the plan that are in 
addition to the essential health benefits. These additional 
benefits shall be pooled with similar benefits within a single 
risk pool and the claims experience from those benefits shall 
be utilized to determine rate variations for plans that offer 
those benefits in addition to essential health benefits. 

4. Administrative costs, excluding health benefit exchange 
user fees. 
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5. With respect to Only catastrophic plans, may be adjusted 
for the expected impact of the specific eligibility categories 
for those plans. 

14VAC5-130-90. Monitoring of experience.  

A. The commission may prescribe procedures for the effective 
monitoring of actual experience under any form subject to this 
chapter.  

B. The commission may request information subsequent to 
approval of a policy form, rate, or rate revision so that it may 
determine whether premium rates are reasonable in relation to 
the benefits provided as specified herein in 14VAC5-130-65 and 
14VAC5-130-75. 

C. If the commission finds that the premium rate filed in 
accordance with this chapter is or will not meet the originally 
filed and approved loss ratio, the commission may require 
appropriate rate adjustments, premium refunds or premium 
credits as deemed necessary for the coverage to conform with the 
minimum loss ratio standards set forth in 14VAC5-130-65, and 
which are expected to result in a loss ratio at least as great as that 
originally anticipated in the rates used to produce current rates by 
the health insurance issuer insurer for the coverage. The 
commission may take into consideration any previous or 
expected premium refunds or credits. Detailed supporting 
documents will be required as necessary to justify the 
adjustment.  

14VAC5-130-100. Severability.  

If any provision of this chapter (14VAC5-130-10 et seq.) or 
the application thereof to any person or circumstance is for 
any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of this chapter 
and the application of such provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.  

FORMS (14VAC5-130) 

Form 130A, Template for data supporting individual rate 
revision filings (eff. 7/13). 

Form 130B, Trend analysis details (eff. 7/13). 

Unified rate review template 
(http://www.serff.com/plan_management_data_templates.htm).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5487; Filed July 16, 2019, 12:06 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
Board of Dentistry will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-230).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 290 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments conform the regulation to § 54.1-2701 of the 
Code of Virginia relating to registration for volunteer 
practice by dentists licensed in another state. The 
amendments (i) eliminate the requirement the nonprofit at 
which the volunteer work will take place be "all 
volunteer," (ii) reduce to five the number of days within 
which application for registration must be made, and (iii) 
remove a requirement for a notarized statement from the 
nonprofit.  

18VAC60-21-230. Qualifications for a restricted license; 
temporary permit or license. 

A. Temporary permit for public health settings. A temporary 
permit shall be issued only for the purpose of allowing dental 
practice in a dental clinic operated by a state agency or a 
Virginia charitable organization as limited by § 54.1-2715 of 
the Code.  

1. Passage of a clinical competency examination is not 
required, but the applicant cannot have failed a clinical 
competency examination accepted by the board. 

2. A temporary permit will not be renewed unless the 
holder shows that extraordinary circumstances prevented 
the holder from taking the licensure examination during the 
term of the temporary permit. 

B. Faculty license. A faculty license shall be issued for the 
purpose of allowing dental practice as a faculty member of an 
accredited dental program when the applicant meets the entry 
requirements of § 54.1-2713 of the Code. 

1. A faculty license shall remain valid only while the 
holder is serving on the faculty of an accredited dental 
program in the Commonwealth. When any such license 
holder ceases to continue serving on the faculty of the 
dental school for which the license was issued, the licensee 
shall surrender the license, which shall be null and void 
upon termination of employment. 
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2. The dean of the dental school shall notify the board 
within five working days of such termination of 
employment. 

C. Restricted license to teach for foreign dentists. The board 
may issue a restricted license to a foreign dentist to teach in 
an accredited dental program in the Commonwealth in 
accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2714 of the Code. 

D. Temporary licenses to persons enrolled in advanced 
dental education programs. A dental intern, resident, or post-
doctoral certificate or degree candidate shall obtain a 
temporary license to practice in Virginia in accordance with 
provisions of § 54.1-2711.1 of the Code.  

1. The applicant shall submit a recommendation from the 
dean of the dental school or the director of the accredited 
advanced dental education program specifying the 
applicant's acceptance as an intern, resident, or post-
doctoral certificate or degree candidate. The beginning and 
ending dates of the internship, residency, or post-doctoral 
program shall be specified.  

2. The temporary license permits the holder to practice 
only in the hospital or outpatient clinics that are recognized 
parts of an advanced dental education program.  

3. The temporary license may be renewed annually by June 
30, for up to five times, upon the recommendation of the 
dean of the dental school or director of the accredited 
advanced dental education program. 

4. The temporary license holder shall be responsible and 
accountable at all times to a licensed dentist, who is a 
member of the staff where the internship, residency, or 
post-doctoral program is taken. The holder is prohibited 
from practicing outside of the advanced dental education 
program.  

5. The temporary license holder shall abide by the 
accrediting requirements for an advanced dental education 
program as approved by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

E. Restricted volunteer license.  

1. In accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 of the Code, the board 
may issue a restricted volunteer license to a dentist who:  

a. Held an unrestricted license in Virginia or another U.S. 
United States jurisdiction as a licensee in good standing 
at the time the license expired or became inactive;  

b. Is volunteering for a public health or community free 
clinic that provides dental services to populations of 
underserved people;  

c. Has fulfilled the board's requirement related to 
knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the 
practice of dentistry in Virginia;  

d. Has not failed a clinical examination within the past 
five years; and  

e. Has had at least five years of clinical practice.  

2. A person holding a restricted volunteer license under 
this section shall:  

a. Only practice in public health or community free 
clinics that provide dental services to underserved 
populations;  

b. Only treat patients who have been screened by the 
approved clinic and are eligible for treatment; 

c. Attest on a form provided by the board that he will not 
receive remuneration directly or indirectly for providing 
dental services; and  

d. Not be required to complete continuing education in 
order to renew such a license.  

3. The restricted volunteer license shall specify whether 
supervision is required, and if not, the date by which it will 
be required. If a dentist with a restricted volunteer license 
issued under this section has not held an active, 
unrestricted license and been engaged in active practice 
within the past five years, he shall only practice dentistry 
and perform dental procedures if a dentist with an 
unrestricted Virginia license, volunteering at the clinic, 
reviews the quality of care rendered by the dentist with the 
restricted volunteer license at least every 30 days. If 
supervision is required, the supervising dentist shall 
directly observe patient care being provided by the 
restricted volunteer dentist and review all patient charts at 
least quarterly. Such supervision shall be noted in patient 
charts and maintained in accordance with 18VAC60-21-
90.  

4. A restricted volunteer license granted pursuant to this 
section shall expire on June 30 of the second year after its 
issuance or shall terminate when the supervising dentist 
withdraws his sponsorship. 

5. A dentist holding a restricted volunteer license issued 
pursuant to this section is subject to the provisions of this 
chapter and the disciplinary regulations that apply to all 
licensees practicing in Virginia.  

F. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state 
licensees. Any dentist who does not hold a license to practice 
in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice on a 
voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all 
volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision 
of health care to populations of underserved people shall:  

1. File a complete application for registration on a form 
provided by the board at least 15 five days prior to 
engaging in such practice;  
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2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in 
each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any 
current license; and 

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, and the 
dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; 
and 4. Provide a notarized statement from a representative 
of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance 
with provisions of subdivision 5 of § 54.1-2701 of the 
Code. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6034; Filed July 15, 2019, 2:34 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Dentistry is claiming 
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 
Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
Board of Dentistry will receive, consider, and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-
100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 431 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendment removes an age restriction for patients to 
whom hygienists may administer oral fluoride varnish. 

18VAC60-25-100. Administration of controlled 
substances. 

A. A licensed dental hygienist may: 

1. Administer topical oral fluoride varnish to children aged 
six months to three years under an oral or written order or a 
standing protocol issued by a dentist or a doctor of 
medicine or osteopathic medicine pursuant to subsection V 
of § 54.1-3408 of the Code;  

2. Administer topical Schedule VI drugs, including topical 
oral fluorides, topical oral anesthetics, and topical and 
directly applied antimicrobial agents for treatment of 
periodontal pocket lesions pursuant to subsection J of 
§ 54.1-3408 of the Code; and 

3. If qualified in accordance with subsection B or C of this 
section, administer Schedule VI nitrous oxide/inhalation 

analgesia and, to persons 18 years of age or older, 
Schedule VI local anesthesia parenterally under the 
indirect supervision of a dentist.  

B. To administer only nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia, a 
dental hygienist shall: 

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 
leading to certification in administration of nitrous oxide 
offered by a CODA accredited dental or dental hygiene 
program, which includes a minimum of eight hours in 
didactic and clinical instruction in the following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation; 

c. Equipment and techniques used for administration of 
nitrous oxide; 

d. Neurophysiology of nitrous oxide administration; 

e. Pharmacology of nitrous oxide; 

f. Recordkeeping, medical, and legal aspects of nitrous 
oxide; 

g. Adjunctive uses of nitrous oxide for dental patients; 
and 

h. Clinical experiences in administering nitrous oxide, 
including training with live patients. 

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 
score of 75% in the administration of nitrous 
oxide/inhalation analgesia given by the accredited 
program.  

C. To administer local anesthesia parenterally to patients 18 
years of age or older, a dental hygienist shall:  

1. Successfully complete a didactic and clinical course 
leading to certification in administration of local anesthesia 
that is offered by a CODA accredited dental or dental 
hygiene program, which includes a minimum of 28 
didactic and clinical hours in the following topics: 

a. Patient physical and psychological assessment; 

b. Medical history evaluation and recordkeeping; 

c. Neurophysiology of local anesthesia; 

d. Pharmacology of local anesthetics and 
vasoconstrictors; 

e. Anatomical considerations for local anesthesia; 

f. Techniques for maxillary infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

g. Techniques for mandibular infiltration and block 
anesthesia; 

h. Local and systemic anesthetic complications; 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3061 

i. Management of medical emergencies; and  

j. Clinical experiences in administering local anesthesia 

injections on patients.  

2. Successfully complete an examination with a minimum 

score of 75% in the parenteral administration of local 

anesthesia given by the accredited program.  

D. A dental hygienist who holds a certificate or credential 

issued by the licensing board of another jurisdiction of the 

United States that authorizes the administration of nitrous 

oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia may be 

authorized for such administration in Virginia if: 

1. The qualifications on which the credential or certificate 

was issued were substantially equivalent in hours of 

instruction and course content to those set forth in 

subsections B and C of this section; or  

2. If the certificate or credential issued by another 

jurisdiction was not substantially equivalent, the hygienist 

can document experience in such administration for at least 

24 of the past 48 months preceding application for 

licensure in Virginia. 

E. A dentist who provides direction for the administration of 

nitrous oxide/inhalation analgesia or local anesthesia shall 

ensure that the dental hygienist has met the qualifications for 

such administration as set forth in this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6024; Filed July 15, 2019, 2:35 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
Notice of Objection to Fast-Track  

Rulemaking Action 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Board of Social Work has filed a notice 

of objection to the fast-track rulemaking action published in 

35:22 VA.R. 2623-2627 June 24, 2019. If the board proceeds 

with the normal promulgation process set out in Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, the initial publication of the fast-track regulation 

will serve as the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

The Board of Social Work has filed a notice of objection to 

the fast-track rulemaking action for 18VAC140-20. 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work. The fast-

track regulation was published in Volume 35, Issue 22, pages 

2623-2627 of the Virginia Register of Regulations, on June 

24, 2019. A 30-day public comment period was provided, and 

public comment was received through July 24, 2019. 

The fast-track regulation was intended to (i) clarify that the 

definition of "face-to-face" includes the contact a supervisee 

and a client must have, (ii) reduce the number of hours of 

continuing education required to become an approved 

supervisor, and (iii) eliminate the requirement that those 

hours must be repeated every five years to remain an 

approved supervisor. 

The board received more than the requisite 10 objections to 

the amendments. Due to the objections, the board has 

discontinued using the fast-track rulemaking process. The 

board will decide whether to proceed with adoption of the 

amendments using the standard process under Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the Administrative Process Act (APA) 

or withdraw the action.  

If the board decides to move forward with the standard APA 

process, in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, the publication on June 24, 2019, will serve as a 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5777; Filed July 22, 2019, 9:14 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Regulations (amending 19VAC30-70-6, 

19VAC30-70-7, 19VAC30-70-9, 19VAC30-70-9.1, 

19VAC30-70-10, 19VAC30-70-20, 19VAC30-70-25, 

19VAC30-70-40, 19VAC30-70-50, 19VAC30-70-80, 

19VAC30-70-90, 19VAC30-70-110 through 19VAC30-70-

160, 19VAC30-70-180, 19VAC30-70-210, 19VAC30-70-

260, 19VAC30-70-300, 19VAC30-70-360, 19VAC30-70-

450, 19VAC30-70-490, 19VAC30-70-500, 19VAC30-70-

510, 19VAC30-70-520, 19VAC30-70-530, 19VAC30-70-

550, 19VAC30-70-580, 19VAC30-70-630, 19VAC30-70-

670; adding 19VAC30-70-9.2, 19VAC30-70-9.3, 

19VAC30-70-10.1; repealing 19VAC30-70-30, 19VAC30-

70-31, 19VAC30-70-32).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2019.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss22/v35i22.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss22/v35i22.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss22/v35i22.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss22/v35i22.pdf
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Agency Contact: Lieutenant Matthew T. Patterson, Assistant 
Safety Officer Motor Vehicle Inspection, Department of State 
Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 
(804) 278-5305, or email 
matthew.patterson@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) enact changes to the Motor Vehicle 
Safety Inspection Regulations that were mandated by 
legislation enacted during the 2019 Session of the General 
Assembly, including adding 19VAC30-70-9.2, 19VAC30-
70-9.3, and 19VAC30-70-10.1 and repealing sections 
19VAC30-70-30, 19VAC30-70-31, and 19VAC30-70-32, 
and (ii) make technical corrections. 

19VAC30-70-6. Class IV offenses. 

A. Class IV offenses are those violations considered so 
critically important to the integrity and credibility of the 
Official Annual Motor Vehicle Inspection Program as to 
require immediate and severe disciplinary action. Any Class 
IV offense is grounds for suspension or revocation. The 
following violations and actions shall be considered a Class 
IV offense: 

1. Loss of driver's license, with the exception of an 
administrative court-ordered suspension that does not 
exceed seven days. 

2. Obvious usage of either alcohol or drugs by an 
employee associated with the Annual Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program. 

3. Loss of inspection stickers through neglect, or 
subsequent violations of subsection K of 19VAC30-70-10.  

4. Improper use of inspection supplies, such as placement 
on a vehicle that has not been inspected or failure to affix 
the inspection sticker to the vehicle in its proper location, 
after inspection. 

5. Falsifying inspection receipts or inspection records. 

6. Giving false information during an inspection complaint 
investigation. 

7. Performing either an inspection or inspections at a 
station without authority from the safety officer. 

8. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense or the institution of civil 
action of a nature that would tend to immediately reflect 
upon the integrity and reputation of the Department of 
State Police may be grounds for an immediate suspension 
inactive inspector or station status until final court 
disposition. A finding other than acquittal for any criminal 
offense or a, civil judgment, or bankruptcy may result in a 
suspension or revocation of the inspector or station 
appointment, or both. 

9. The use of profanity or verbal abuse by station owners, 
managers, or safety inspectors toward each other or 
directed at customers presenting their vehicles for 
inspection. 

10. Illegal use of inspection supplies such as stealing, 
selling, mailing or giving away, or the attempt thereof. 

11. Nonpayment of inspection fees. 

12. Conduct displayed by station owners, managers, or 
safety inspectors that may be rude or discourteous, or the 
use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at or toward 
Safety Division Personnel. 

13. Failure of any person connected with the inspection 
program to notify their supervising trooper or Safety 
Division Area Office within 72 hours of an arrest for a 
criminal offense or the institution of civil action. 

14. Any misuse or falsification of the automated Motor 
Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP) system through 
neglect, or intentionally allowing an assigned password or 
personal identification number (PIN) to be used by other 
persons. 

15. Willfully obtaining computer services without proper 
authority from the safety officer.  

16. Failure to adequately explain and differentiate, both 
orally and in writing, to customers what repairs are 
necessary to pass the safety inspection and those repairs 
that are only recommended. Each station shall explicitly 
(not fine print) convey to each customer when his vehicle 
will be examined beyond the parameters of the state 
inspection and empower the customer with the ability to 
decline this service. 

17. Allowing a suspended or revoked safety inspector to 
perform predelivery inspections (PDIs) or have access to 
inspection supplies, which may be grounds for suspension 
or revocation of the station appointment and an additional 
suspension or revocation for the inspector. 

B. Disciplinary action for a Class IV offense shall be 
immediate suspension or revocation. A revocation shall not 
be less than one year or more than three years. A suspension 
shall constitute any period of time less than a year and shall 
not be less than 90 days, unless mitigating circumstances 
exist. Offenses are cumulative in nature and will remain 
active for a period of 24 months from the date of the offense. 
For a subsequent violation within 24 months, the suspension 
or revocation shall be no less duration than the prior 
discipline received. 

C. In the case of the loss of the driver's license, the 
suspension shall remain in effect until the driver's license is 
reinstated and consideration for reinstatement of inspection 
privileges will be made at that time. 
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D. In cases concerning nonpayment of fees when the 
inspection station has been given 15 days to reply to a final 
notice, the suspension of the affected inspection station shall 
remain in effect until all inspection fees are paid. 
Consideration for reinstatement of inspection privileges will 
be made when all fees are paid. Furthermore, stations that 
have not paid their processing fee after the 15-day period will 
not be issued any additional inspection supplies. Supply 
orders may resume when the inspection fee is paid and the 
station has been reinstated to an active status. 

19VAC30-70-7. General information.  

All suspension or revocation decisions may be appealed. 
The request must be made in writing to the safety officer 
within 15 calendar days of receiving the official notice of 
suspension or revocation.  

Any violation under any class of offenses requiring a third 
suspension within a 24-month period shall be grounds for a 
revocation. The suspension or revocation period for a 
subsequent violation requiring suspension or revocation under 
any class of offenses within a 24-month period shall be twice 
that of a previous suspension or revocation, unless mitigating 
circumstances exist. Any violation under any class of offenses 
requiring a third suspension within a 14-month period shall 
be grounds for revocation. 

For suspension periods of less than six months, inspection 
stations and safety inspectors will not be required to file an 
application for reinstatement. 

For suspension periods of six months or more, or revocation 
periods of one to three years, inspection stations must 
complete the process as set forth for original appointment. 
Reapplications may be made 60 days prior to the suspension 
expiration of suspension periods only, not revocations. An 
inspection station that has its privilege to perform inspections 
revoked must complete the application process as set forth for 
original appointments after the expiration of the period of 
revocation. 

Suspended safety Safety inspectors who are suspended for 
suspension periods of six months or more shall contact the 
nearest appropriate Safety Division Area Office or 
supervising trooper to request reinstatement. Safety 
inspectors who have their privilege to perform inspections 
revoked must complete the application process for initial 
certification after the expiration of the period of revocation.  

Inspection stations that have their privilege to perform 
inspections revoked must complete the application process as 
set forth for original appointments after the expiration of the 
period of revocation. Safety inspectors who have their 
privilege to perform inspections revoked must complete the 
application process for initial certification, after the expiration 
of the period of revocation. 

If during the course of an official investigation, station 
management voluntarily surrenders the station's inspection 
supplies, particularly after being cautioned not to do so, the 
station shall not be eligible for reinstatement for a period of 
90 days. This voluntary action shall not be the subject of an 
appeal. 

If during the course of an official investigation, an inspector 
voluntarily surrenders his inspector inspector's license, 
particularly after being cautioned not to do so, the inspector 
shall not be eligible for reinstatement for a period of 90 days. 
This voluntary action shall not be the subject of an appeal. 

19VAC30-70-9. Examinations for inspector's license 
Inspector requirements. 

A. The Department of State Police administers the written 
examination for original certification for all inspectors. With 
few exceptions, recertifications are done at the normal testing 
sites along with original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 
inspector, the following actions shall be followed: 

1. The person shall contact his assigned Safety Division 
trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office to obtain 
the following: 

a. Mechanics Certification Application, Form SP-170B; 

b. Criminal History Record Request, Form SP-167; and 

c. Mechanics Application Worksheet. 

2. The supervising trooper or Safety Division office 
personnel should ask some preliminary questions to ensure 
the applicant is qualified to apply. 

3. The applicant shall complete (i) Form SP-170B in its 
entirety and have it notarized on the back; (ii) Form SP-
167, to only include sections "Name Information To Be 
Searched" and "Affidavit For Release of Information," and 
have it notarized; and complete (iii) the worksheet with 
two character references, two mechanical references, 
places of employment, and qualified automotive training or 
schools completed.  

4. The applicant shall then take the completed application 
forms to the State Police testing site and present it to the 
trooper conducting the written examination. Applicants 
arriving after the designated testing time will not be 
eligible to participate in the written examination. 

5. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 
driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 
expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 
advised and the application will be destroyed. The 
applicant may reapply once the driver's license has been 
reissued or reinstated. 
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6. If the applicant successfully completes the test, the 
trooper will note at the end of Section I on the Form SP-
170B the word "Passed" and the date. The trooper will sign 
the test and send it to Safety Division Headquarters, 
Mechanics File Section, for further processing and 
investigation. 

7. The Class A examination will consist of five sections: 
general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 
Each section will contain 20 questions. A minimum score 
of 75% must be attained for each section and for the 
practical examination. The Class B and C examinations 
will consist of 50 questions each. A minimum score of 74 
must be attained on the written and practical examination. 

8. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 
of Section Ion the Form SP-170B with the word "Failed" 
and the date. 

9. If the applicant desires to test again for the written or 
practical test, he may do so after 30 days. If the applicant is 
again unsuccessful in passing the examination or 
examinations, the trooper shall take the application forms 
and forward them to Safety Division Headquarters, 
Mechanics File Section. The applicant may contact his 
assigned Safety Division trooper or the local Safety 
Division Area Office after six months to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 
license must participate in the recertification written 
examination. Inspectors arriving after the designated 
testing time will not be eligible to participate in the written 
examination. 

2. All safety inspectors will be required to satisfactorily 
pass the appropriate examination for the license the 
inspector holds. 

3. A safety inspector will not be permitted to perform 
inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 
license. 

4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 
three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses will display an inspector's 
VSP number and will no longer display the social security 
number. The inspector's VSP number will be written on the 
inspection sticker receipt or displayed on the automated 
MVIP receipt. 

6. Safety inspector testing sites will no longer be included 
on an inspection bulletin. Testing site information will be 
updated in the computer system, so that the usual letters 
going to inspectors to remind them of their upcoming 
recertification will contain the updated information. All 
Safety Division Area Offices will also have the updated 
information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 
testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the Safety 
Division Area Office closest to him. The office numbers 
are: 

Richmond 804-743-2217 

Culpeper 540-829-7414 

Amherst 434-946-7676 

Wytheville 276-228-6220 

Suffolk 757-925-2432 

Salem 540-387-5437 

Fairfax 703-803-2622  

D. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 
period of suspension or revocation. 

1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for suspension, no application Form 
SP-170B is required for reinstatement; however, Form SP-
170D and Form SP-167 must be completed. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 
the safety inspector's license will be held at the local Safety 
Division Area Office and returned upon the expiration of 
the suspension period. A check will be made with DMV 
prior to reinstatement. 

3. If the inspector's license has been suspended for six 
months or more, he may request reinstatement 60 days 
prior to the suspension expiration by contacting the 
supervising trooper. A check will be made by the 
supervising trooper with DMV and the Central Criminal 
Records Exchange. A credit report shall also be reviewed 
by the supervising trooper prior to reinstatement of the 
inspector. The inspector's license will be returned after the 
suspension expiration if still valid. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 
suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 
for inspector recertification as set forth in this section. The 
trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 
The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 
suspension period and the appropriate documents 
forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 
revoked must complete the application process for initial 
certification as set forth in this section. 

E. Vo-Tech students who successfully complete the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 
expected to graduate from the program with the required 
1,080 hours, and meet the requirements of the Department of 
State Police, will be certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The Vo-Tech instructor will contact his assigned Safety 
Division trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 
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by March 15 of each year. The written examination will be 
scheduled for students who are at least 18 years of age or 
who will be at least 18 years of age by May 31 of that year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 
administering the written examinations at the Vo-Tech 
Centers will forward sufficient application Form SP-170B 
for each student to complete prior to the testing date. A 
Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) if the 
student is at least 18 years of age, must also be completed. 
The Safety Division trooper will indicate at the top of the 
Form SP-170B the name of the Vo-Tech school where the 
examination was given. 

3. The trooper will verify the notarizations and check the 
driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 
expired, suspended or revoked, the applicant will be 
advised and the application will be destroyed. The 
applicant may re-apply once the driver's license has been 
reissued or reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 
examination, the trooper will note at the end of Section I 
on the Form SP-170B the word "Passed" and the date. The 
trooper will sign the test and forward it to Safety Division 
Headquarters, Mechanics File Section, for further 
processing and investigation. Due to the age of these 
students, this should be done in a minimal amount of time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, it will be noted at the end 
of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "Failed" 
and the date. 

a. The Safety Division trooper will only administer one 
written examination at the Vo-Tech Center. Those 
students who fail the first written examination may retest, 
but not sooner than 30 days from the date of the last 
written examination. Those students who fail the first 
written examination will keep the Form SP-170B in their 
possession and present it to the Safety Division trooper at 
the test site prior to taking the second written 
examination. 

b. The second written examination will not be 
administered to the students prior to the end of the school 
year. Prior to taking the second written examination, the 
student shall have completed the Vocational Automotive 
Mechanics Course and must be employed at an official 
inspection station. These students will not be required to 
have completed the one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic. 

c. For those students who pass the second written 
examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 
student's Form SP-170B to the Safety Division for 
further processing and investigation. Those students who 
successfully pass all phases for original certification will 

then be issued a temporary inspector license by the 
Safety Division trooper. 

d. Students failing the second written examination will 
not be allowed to test again for six months and must 
complete the application process as set forth for original 
certification. 

6. The written examination will consist of five sections: 
general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 
Each section will contain 20 questions. A minimum score 
of 75% must be attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 
the written examination and background checks will then 
be administered a practical examination. The Vo-Tech 
instructor who holds a valid Class A Safety Inspector's 
License will administer the practical "Class A" 
examination to each student who is expected to graduate 
from the program. The Safety Division trooper should be 
on hand to observe at least some of the practical 
examinations administered by the Vo-Tech instructor to 
ensure that testing is administered according to Safety 
Division regulations. 

8. Those students who successfully complete all phases for 
original certification by May 31 will be issued a temporary 
inspector license by the Safety Division trooper. The 
Safety Division trooper will then forward the completed 
temporary inspector license to the Safety Division 
Headquarters, Mechanics File Section.  

a. The Safety Division will mail a permanent inspector's 
license to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 
age by May 31 of that year. 

b. The Vo-Tech instructor will be required to contact the 
Safety Division trooper prior to the end of the school 
year if any student fails to complete the Vocational 
Automotive Mechanics Course. 

c. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 
Automotive Mechanics Course will not be licensed as a 
certified safety inspector and will be required to complete 
the application process as set forth for original 
certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 
May 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 
the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 
station where they are employed and complete the 
application process as set forth for original certification. 
These students will not be required to have completed the 
one year of practical experience as an automotive 
mechanic. 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by this chapter 
shall be made only by those individuals who are certified and 
licensed as safety inspectors by the Department of State 
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Police. The procedures outlined in this section are applicable 
to the processing of applications for initial certification, 
reclassification of safety inspector's licenses, and 
reinstatement of suspended or revoked safety inspector's 
licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall be at least 18 years of age 
and meet the following qualifications:  

1. A minimum of one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic or six months of practical experience 
as an automotive mechanic combined with an additional 
and separate six months of mirroring a certified state 
inspector, or 

2. Satisfactorily completed a training program in the field 
of automotive mechanics approved by the Superintendent 
of State Police. 

A person who has met either of the practical experience 
requirements in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 
inspect motorcycles only. A person who meets practical 
experience requirements in repairing trailers may be certified 
to inspect trailers only. 

C. Each mechanic entering the inspection program is 
required to satisfactorily pass a written and practical 
examination exhibiting knowledge of the inspection 
procedures. 

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 
driver's license with the following exceptions: 

1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 
holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 
commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or 

2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 
active duty, or a dependent thereof, who holds a driver's 
license from his home state. 

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 
revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 
for an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), must 
immediately notify the station's supervising trooper or the 
local Safety Division Area Office of the suspension or 
revocation. The suspension or revocation of an inspector's 
driver's license shall automatically act as a suspension of his 
privilege to inspect motor vehicles until such suspension or 
revocation is terminated, and the reinstatement has been made 
by the Superintendent of State Police. 

F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 
inspector's license in his possession at all times while 
conducting inspections. 

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's 
license need only present such valid license to his new 
employer to commence participation in the program at a new 
place of employment. Management of the inspection station 
is required to notify the Safety Division when a safety 

inspector begins or ends employment. This notification may 
be handled by contacting the inspection station's supervising 
trooper by telephone. 

H. In the event the safety inspector's license becomes 
mutilated, lost, or stolen, the inspector must notify the 
Department of State Police immediately to request a duplicate 
using the Safety Inspector Notification Form. All required 
information shall be printed legibly and completely. An 
inspector who is not employed, writes "Inactive" in the 
station name block.  

In those cases where notification is being made due to an 
address change, it is necessary to complete the Safety 
Inspector Notification Form and submit it to the Safety 
Division Headquarters. The inspector's information will be 
updated within the MVIP database by the Inspector Files 
Clerk.  

NOTE: The Safety Inspector Notification Form can be 
downloaded from the Virginia State Police website under the 
Vehicle Safety Inspection link. 

NOTE: Safety inspector licenses are only generated and 
distributed for initial certifications, renewals, name changes, 
and mutilated, lost, or stolen licenses. Inspectors submitting a 
change of address notification are not issued a new license. 

I. An inspector must immediately notify the station's 
supervising trooper or local Safety Division Area Office of an 
arrest for a criminal offense or the institution of a civil action. 

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a 
specific learning disability. 

1. Applicants must furnish documentation from the 
particular school division where the applicant was 
classified as having a learning disability. The specific 
learning disability must be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 
applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 
written exam being orally presented. 

3. The station management, where the applicant is 
employed or to be employed, must agree to have someone 
present during the hours the employee is conducting 
inspections to assist with the reading of the Official Motor 
Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual when necessary during 
the initial three-year certification period. If the inspector 
changes stations within the first three-year period, it is the 
inspector's responsibility to notify station management of 
his disability and this requirement. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Official inspection station appointment 
Inspector certification. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 
process for initial appointment, reclassification of 
appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 
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reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 
station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 
only those areas of inquiry that have changed need to be 
reported.  

For changes in station name, location, and classification 
only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 
reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 
information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 
included to report verification of information contained in the 
station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 
motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 
the Department of State Police in writing for appointment 
as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 

a. The Department of State Police will forward an 
application package to the applicant. 

b. The application forms are to be completed and 
returned to the supervising trooper processing the 
application within 45 days. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 
email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 
social security numbers for the applicant and each person 
who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 
program. Each person will also be required to execute an 
Authorization for Release of Information Form and a 
Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167). When 
a corporation with other established inspection stations is 
applying for an additional location, it shall not be 
necessary for the corporate officers to complete the Form 
SP-167 or undergo the usual background investigation. In 
these situations, the Department of State Police is only 
concerned with the personnel who will be responsible for 
handling and securing the safety inspection supplies.  

2. Each inspection station application will be reviewed and 
the applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 
location for a minimum of six months. 

(1) This requirement will not apply to a change in 
location for a previously appointed station. 

(2) This requirement will not apply to a repair garage that 
is an established business and is expanding its 
mechanical convenience to the general public by the 
addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement will not apply to a business license 
as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 
purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 
Department of State Police for performing safety 
inspections.  

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 
least one full-time safety inspector with the appropriate 
license for the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 
standards for the station classification for which the 
appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 
investigation to determine if the business and associated 
personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 
employed who will participate in the inspection program 
must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 
and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 
requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 
individual who will perform or supervise safety 
inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 
and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 
inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 
the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual.  

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 
Its future existence should not be dependent upon 
appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 
all persons to be associated with the inspection program 
must be in compliance with any judgment order or 
meeting all financial obligations, or both. The applicant 
and all persons to be associated with the inspection 
program must be in good financial standing for a period 
of at least one year. 

Following any change in ownership, new ownership must 
show financial stability for a minimum of six months 
prior to their official inspection station appointment. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 
space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 
required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 
equipment will be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 
the superintendent. All safety inspectors will read and be 
thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 
Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 
instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 
trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 
by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 
Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 
accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3068 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 
inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 
superintendent and will be automatically canceled if any 
change in address, name, or ownership is made without 
proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is rejected or 
withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six months from 
the date he is notified of the rejection of his application or 
from the date the application is withdrawn. 

6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 
classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 
or other criteria as follows: 

a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 
same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 
portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 
a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-
1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 
(Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 
a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 
be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 
adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 
vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 
the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 
completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 
plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 
least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 
width. (Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 
towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane.) 
This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 
with a GVWR exceeding 10,000 pounds. 

d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 
accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 
than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 
inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 
accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 
classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 
exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 
to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 
air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 
adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 
classification is required to inspect only property-
carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 
length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 
level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 
most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 
equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 
allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 
wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 
plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 
other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 
structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 
steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 
as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 
can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 
inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 
must be maintained and available for customers. A 
"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 
be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures.  

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 
to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 
who owns and operates less than 20 vehicles will not be 
considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 
lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 
size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 
fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 
inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 
agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 
not have at least six written agreements to service private 
fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 
one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 
least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 
this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 
written agreement for service and repair, other than the 
vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 
corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 
this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 
be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 
be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 
be inspected. This classification will permit the 
inspection of all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, 
the fleet of any volunteer or paid fire department, or any 
other unit or agency of the government structure having a 
written agreement with such governmental entity for 
repair, inspection service, or both. An applicant for this 
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classification must own or have a written agreement to 
inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 
covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 
a garage having this type of classification.  

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions 6 a through 6 h of 
this subsection must be open to the public and have at least 
one safety inspector available to perform inspections 
during normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-
10. 

8. Private inspection station classifications may be 
assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 
garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 
vehicle fleets.  

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 
apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 
change of the station's status.  

1. An application form will be forwarded to the applicant. 

2. The applicant will complete the application form and 
contact the Department of State Police in keeping with the 
application instructions. Applications will include all data 
as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper will be assigned to complete 
the appropriate investigation to affect the change. A 
change in status investigation will include: 

a. A review of the existing station file. 

b. An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 
other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 
background investigation procedures for a change in 
status will be in keeping with this section. 

c. Official inspection stations will be permitted to 
continue to perform safety inspections during a change of 
ownership investigation provided at least one safety 
inspector is retained from the prior owner. 

d. If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 
appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 
the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 
criteria are resolved.  

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 
request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 
the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 
revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 
original appointments after the expiration of the period of 
revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 
Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 
reinstatement. 

2. An application package will be forwarded to the 
applicant. 

3. The completed application forms are to be returned to 
Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 
appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation will compare 
the information in the new application package to the 
information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation will focus on any changes or 
inconsistencies. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 
appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 
rejected or withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six 
months from the date he is notified of the rejection or 
withdrawal of the application. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall 
be grounds for termination of the application process or 
cancellation of the official inspection station's appointment. 
An applicant having an application terminated or an official 
inspection station having an appointment canceled for 
noncompliance may not reapply for a period of one year.  

A. Upon request, the Inspector Certification Application 
(Form SP-170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form 
SP-167) are provided online via the Virginia State Police 
website to individuals desiring appointment as certified safety 
inspectors. 

1. The application package includes instructions to help 
guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following 
classes after completing the necessary requirements and 
the appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A: May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
or trailer. 

b. Class B: May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C: May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 
examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 
applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 
the appropriate examination. 

2. The applicant must present his completed application in 
accordance with the provisions established in 19VAC30-
70-9.2. 

3. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 
or revoked, the applicant will be advised, and the 
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application destroyed. The applicant may reapply after his 
driver's license is reinstated. 

C. The Class A inspector examination consists of five 
sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 
75% must be attained for each section. The Classes B and C 
inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 
minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 
the test, failure is noted at the end of Section I on the Form 
SP-170B with the word "failed" and the date. The application 
is returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain the 
minimum score are not allowed to test again for 30 days. 
Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination are not 
allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Inspectors Certification Application (Form SP-170B) 
and Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) for 
applicants who achieve a minimum score or greater is 
forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters. 

1. The applicant's record is checked against safety 
inspector and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 
files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with 
the applicant's driver transcript is forwarded with the 
application to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office 
for investigation. 

3. A credit check is performed to determine that the 
applicant associated with the inspection program is in 
compliance with any judgment order or is meeting all 
financial obligations, or both. 

E. A background investigation is conducted consisting of the 
following: 

1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one year's 
practical experience employed as an automotive technician 
repairing vehicles for the public, or six months of practical 
experience as an automotive mechanic combined with an 
additional and separate six months of mirroring a certified 
state inspector, or has satisfactorily completed a training 
program in the field of automotive mechanics approved by the 
Department of State Police. The following training programs 
in the field of automotive mechanics have been approved as a 
substitute for the one year's practical experience requirement: 

a. The two-year associate degree or diploma programs in 
automotive technology offered by the Virginia 
Community College System consisting of the following 
minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - three semester 
hours. 

(2) Braking Systems - three semester hours. 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - three semester hours. 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - three semester 
hours. 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - two semester hours. 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 
Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 
Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 
the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 
or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 
Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 
including a practical test as defined in this section, the 
student must complete a Mechanics Certification 
Application (Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History 
Record Request (Form SP-167), pass a written test as 
defined in subsection C of this section, and submit to a 
background investigation as defined in this subsection. 
Upon successful completion of these requirements, the 
student, if 18 years of age, is certified as a safety 
inspector and issued a safety inspector license. 

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 
examination, the application will be returned to the 
certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 
part of the examination may retest at the certifying 
trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 
than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 
student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 
of age, he is issued a safety inspector license. Upon the 
student's 18th birthday, providing he still meets all of the 
requirements, the student will be issued a safety inspector 
license. 

(3) Students failing the second written examination are 
not allowed to test again for six months. In order to retest 
the student must be at least 18 years of age and must 
complete the application process set forth for original 
certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 
Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 
College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 
37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 
through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 
with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is utilized 
in determining applicant's suitability for certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 
applicant through previous associates, employers, and 
records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude toward the 
inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 
supervision through personal interview. 
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7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 
examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct 
a safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 
inspection, including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 
This shall be conducted at the applicant's station of 
employment. If the applicant is not employed at a certified 
inspection station, the applicant may make arrangement 
with one to conduct practical testing. 

F. Any applicant whose application is withdrawn or rejected 
due to incomplete documentation may not reapply sooner 
than six months from the date of the withdrawal or the date 
the applicant are notified of the rejection of his application. 
Any applicant whose application is denied may not reapply 
sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter notifying 
the denial. 

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 
Form SP-170B is completed by the certifying trooper. The 
classification for which the safety inspector is being certified 
and the date of certification must be entered by the trooper on 
the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-170B shall 
then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising trooper fills out the 
temporary inspector's license in triplicate, forwarding the 
original (white copy) to Safety Division Headquarters, issuing 
the canary copy to the inspector, and retaining the pink copy 
at the Safety Division Area Office for six months. Once the 
safety inspector has been issued a temporary license, he is 
eligible to begin inspecting. 

I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 
three years. 

19VAC30-70-9.2. Examinations for inspector's license. 

A. The Department of State Police administers the written 
examination for original certification for all inspectors. With 
few exceptions, recertifications are done at the normal testing 
sites along with original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 
inspector, the following actions shall be followed: 

1. The person shall download the following forms from the 
Virginia State Police website: 

a. Inspector Certification Application, Form SP-170B; 

b. Criminal History Record Request, Form SP-167; and 

c. Inspector Application Worksheet. 

2. The applicant shall (i) complete Form SP-170B in its 
entirety and have it notarized; (ii) complete and have 
notarized Form SP-167 with appropriate credit card 
information or an attached $15 cashier's check, business 
check or money order payable to "Virginia State Police"; 
and (iii) complete the Inspector Applicant Worksheet with 
two character references, two mechanical references, 

places of employment, and qualified automotive training, 
or schools completed or mechanical experience. 

3. The applicant shall then take the completed application 
forms to any State Police testing site and present it to the 
trooper conducting the written examination. Applicants 
arriving after the designated testing time are not eligible to 
participate in the written examination. 

4. The trooper verifies the notarizations and checks the 
driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 
expired, suspended, or revoked, the applicant is advised, 
and the application is destroyed. The applicant may 
reapply once the driver's license has been reissued or 
reinstated. 

5. If the applicant successfully passes the test, the trooper 
notes at the end of Section I on the Form SP-170B the 
word "passed" and the date. The trooper signs the test and 
sends it to Safety Division Headquarters, Inspectors File 
Section for further processing and investigation. 

6. The Class A examination consists of five sections: 
general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 
Each section contains 20 questions. A minimum score of 
75% must be attained for each section and for the practical 
examination. The Classes B and C examinations consist of 
50 questions each. A minimum score of 74 must be 
attained on the written and practical examination. 

7. If the applicant fails the test, failure is noted at the end 
of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "failed" 
and the date. 

8. If the applicant desires to test again for the written or 
practical test, he may do so after 30 days. If the applicant is 
again unsuccessful in passing either examination, the 
trooper shall take the application forms and forward them 
to Safety Division Headquarters, Inspector Files Section. 
The applicant may contact his assigned Safety Division 
trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office after six 
months to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 
license must participate in the recertification written 
examination. Inspectors arriving after the designated 
testing time are not eligible to participate in the written 
examination. 

2. All safety inspectors are required to satisfactorily pass 
the appropriate examination for the license the inspector 
holds. 

3. A safety inspector is not permitted to perform 
inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 
license. 
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4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 
three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses display an inspector's VSP 
number and do not display the social security number. The 
inspector's VSP number is written on the inspection sticker 
receipt or displayed on the automated MVIP receipt. 

6. Safety inspector testing sites are not included on an 
inspection bulletin. Testing site information is updated in 
the computer system so that the usual letters going to 
inspectors to remind them of their upcoming recertification 
contain the updated information. All Safety Division Area 
Offices also have the updated information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 
testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the Safety 
Division Area Office closest to him. The office numbers 
are: 

Area 61 (Richmond) 804-743-2217 

Area 62 (Culpeper) 540-829-7414 

Area 63 (Amherst) 434-946-7676 

Area 64 (Wytheville) 276-228-6220 

Area 65 (Suffolk) 757-925-2432 

Area 66 (Salem) 540-387-5437 

Area 67 (Fairfax) 703-803-2622 

D. Vo-tech students who successfully complete the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 
expected to graduate from the program with the required 
1,080 hours and meet the requirements of the Department of 
State Police are certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The vo-tech instructor contacts his assigned Safety 
Division trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 
by March 15 of each year. The written examination is 
scheduled for students who are at least 18 years of age or 
who will be at least 18 years of age by March 31 of that 
year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 
administering the written examinations at the vo-tech 
centers forward sufficient applications, Form SP-170B, for 
each student to complete prior to the testing date. A 
Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) if the 
student is at least 18 years of age must also be completed. 
The Safety Division trooper indicates at the top of the 
Form SP-170B the name of the vo-tech school where the 
examination is given. 

3. The trooper verifies the notarizations and checks the 
driver's license for validity and identification of the 
applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 
expired, suspended, or revoked, the applicant is advised, 
and the application is destroyed. The applicant may 
reapply once the driver's license has been reissued or 
reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 
examination, the trooper notes at the end of Section I on 
the Form SP-170B the word "passed" and the date. The 
trooper signs the test and forwards it to Safety Division 
Headquarters, Mechanics File Section for further 
processing and investigation. Due to the age of these 
students, this should be done in a minimal amount of time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, failure is noted at the end 
of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "failed" 
and the date. 

a. The Safety Division trooper only administers one 
written examination at the vo-tech center. Those students 
who fail the first written examination may retest, but not 
sooner than 30 days from the date of the last written 
examination. Those students who fail the first written 
examination keep the Form SP-170B in their possessions 
and present it to the Safety Division trooper at the test 
site prior to taking the second written examination. 

b. The second written examination is not administered to 
the students prior to the end of the school year. Prior to 
taking the second written examination, the student shall 
have completed the Vocational Automotive Mechanics 
Course and must be employed at an official inspection 
station. These students are not required to have 
completed the one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic. 

c. For those students who pass the second written 
examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 
student's Form SP-170B to the Safety Division for 
further processing and investigation. Those students who 
successfully pass all phases for original certification are 
then issued a temporary inspector license by the Safety 
Division trooper. 

d. Students failing the second written examination are not 
allowed to test again for six months and must complete 
the application process as set forth for original 
certification. 

6. The written examination consists of five sections: 
general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 
Each section contains 20 questions. A minimum score of 
75% must be attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 
the written examination and background checks are then 
administered a practical examination. The vo-tech 
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instructor, who holds a valid Class A Safety Inspector's 
License, administers the practical "Class A" examination to 
each student who is expected to graduate from the 
program. The Safety Division trooper should be on hand to 
observe at least some of the practical examinations 
administered by the vo-tech instructor to ensure that testing 
is administered according to Safety Division regulations. 

8. Those students who successfully complete all phases for 
original certification by March 31 will be issued a 
temporary inspector license by the Safety Division trooper. 
The Safety Division trooper then forwards the completed 
temporary inspector license to the Safety Division 
Headquarters, Inspector Files Section. 

a. The Safety Division mails a permanent inspector's 
license to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 
age by March 31 of that year. 

b. The vo-tech instructor is required to contact the Safety 
Division trooper prior to the end of the school year if any 
student fails to complete the Vocational Automotive 
Mechanics Course. 

c. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 
Automotive Mechanics Course is not licensed as a 
certified safety inspector and is required to complete the 
application process as set forth for original certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 
March 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 
Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 
the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 
stations where they are employed and complete the 
application process as set forth for original certification. 
These students are not required to have completed the one 
year of practical experience as an automotive mechanic. 

19VAC30-70-9.3. Reinstatement of safety inspector 
license; classification change; recertification. 

A. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 
period of suspension or revocation. 

1. The inspector shall contact his supervising trooper or 
nearest Safety Division Area Office to initiate the 
reinstatement process. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 
the safety inspector's license will be held at the local Safety 
Division Area Office and returned upon the expiration of 
the suspension period. A check will be made by the 
supervising trooper with Department of Motor Vehicles 
(DMV) prior to reinstatement. 

3. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended for 
a period of six months or more, regardless of the cause for 
suspension, no application Form SP-170B is required for 
reinstatement; however, Form SP-170D and Form SP-167 
must be completed. The supervising trooper checks with 

DMV, all court jurisdictions, and the Central Criminal 
Records Exchange. The supervising trooper shall also 
review a credit report prior to reinstatement of the 
inspector. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 
suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 
for inspector recertification as set forth in this section. The 
trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 
The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 
suspension period, if the suspended inspector's records 
indicate he is suitable for reinstatement, and the 
appropriate documents forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 
revoked must complete the application process for initial 
certification as set forth in this section. 

B. Safety inspectors who desire to change their license 
classification must complete the written and practical 
examinations as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9.2. 

C. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 
license must participate in the recertification process. The 
process requires the following: 

1. Review of training materials as may be presented at the 
certification testing site by State Police personnel. 

2. Completion of the appropriate examination for the class 
license the inspector holds. A minimum score must be 
attained as previously outlined in 19VAC30-70-9.2. 

3. An inspector holding an expired license may be tested as 
long as his license has not been expired more than one 
month. During the period of expiration, he will not be 
permitted to perform inspections. 

An inspector holding an expired inspector license that has 
not been expired more than one month and who fails the 
recertification examination the first time during this one-
month grace period may be retested one additional time not 
sooner than 30 days from the date of the last recertification 
examination. Inspectors failing this subsequent 
examination are not retested for six months and must 
complete the application process as set forth for initial 
certification. 

D. When a request for reinstatement is denied, inspectors 
who are suspended for a period of six months or more may 
not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 
notifying the denial. Following an initial certification 
investigation for a revoked inspector, if the revoked inspector 
is denied, he may not reapply sooner than 12 months from the 
date of the letter notifying the denial. 
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Part II  
Inspection Requirements  

19VAC30-70-10. Official inspection station requirements. 

A. Official inspection stations, except private appointments, 
shall be open at least eight hours of each normal business day 
and shall be able to perform inspections 12 months 
throughout the year, except during illness of limited duration 
or normal vacation. 

1. Normal business hours, Monday through Friday, are 
defined as an eight-hour period of time between 8 a.m. and 
6 p.m. 

2. Stations are not prohibited from performing inspections 
at times other than during normal business hours. 

3. A station that advertises inspections beyond normal 
business hours shall be able to perform such inspections. 

4. If a station desires to maintain business hours that are 
different from those defined in this section, written 
permission must be obtained from the safety officer and a 
sign setting forth the inspection hours must be posted 
conspicuously at the station where it can be observed by a 
person desiring to have a vehicle inspected. 

5. Stations seeking to participate on a part-time basis, due 
to not having a full-time inspector available during normal 
business hours, shall be available for inspections for a 
minimum of 20 hours per week and shall notify their 
supervising trooper of the following items to have 
documented in their files: 

a. Hours of operation the station will be conducting 
safety inspections. 

b. Intended methods of notifying the public what hours 
inspections are available. 

c. Name of the inspector who will be designated for part-
time hours of operation. 

d. Time period established for ownership to find and 
employ a full-time inspector. 

B. At least one full-time safety inspector (stations in 
compliance with subdivision A 5 of this section excluded), to 
perform inspections and one inspection lane meeting the 
minimum requirements shall be available for inspection at all 
times during the normal business day. All inspections must be 
made only at the locations and in the inspection lane 
approved by the Department of State Police. All stations shall 
have other lanes, bays, or areas in which repairs can be made 
so the inspection lane can remain available. 

The designated inspection areas, including any location 
where customers are permitted to enter when submitting 
vehicles for inspection, must be kept clean and free from 
excessive dirt, grease, and loose materials. If requested, 
customers presenting vehicles for inspection shall be allowed 

to observe the inspection process from a safe location 
designated by the station. 

C. Inspection station facilities must be properly maintained 
and must present a businesslike appearance to the general 
public. Property adjacent to the inspection station that is 
owned or controlled by the station must be free of debris, 
litter, used parts and junk vehicles. Vehicles properly 
contained within fenced storage areas shall be deemed to 
comply with this requirement. 

D. Official inspection stations may, at their discretion, 
accept vehicles on a first-come, first served first-served basis 
or by prescheduled appointments for the safety inspection of a 
motor vehicle pursuant to § 46.2-1157 of the Code of 
Virginia. Appointments shall be made for those motorists that 
are required by subdivision A 12 of § 46.2-1158.01 of the 
Code of Virginia. Stations that take in vehicles for inspection 
at the beginning of the work day shall not be required to stop 
inspecting those vehicles to provide an inspection for a drive-
in request, provided inspections are currently being 
performed at the time and will continue throughout the day.  

Stations shall make every effort to keep the designated 
inspection lanes available. Stations with more than one repair 
bay shall not perform work in the designated inspection lanes 
when customers are waiting for an inspection. This will not 
apply to minor adjustments that require minimal time to 
perform. Stations shall not let vehicles occupy the designated 
inspection lanes while awaiting parts or customer 
authorization to complete the inspection pursuant to 
19VAC30-70-60. 

E. Safety inspectors, managers who supervise inspection 
activities, and business owners, through participation in the 
Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, are 
representatives of the Department of State Police and should 
conduct themselves in a manner to avoid controversy in 
dealing with customers presenting vehicles for inspection. 
The use of profanity or verbal abuse directed at customers 
presenting their vehicles for inspection will be grounds for 
suspension from participation in the inspection program and 
will be considered a Class IV offense as set forth in 
19VAC30-70-6. Controversy that cannot be calmly resolved 
by the safety inspector, managers, and owners should be 
referred to the supervising trooper for handling. 

F. The "Certificate of Appointment" must be framed under 
glass or clear plastic and posted in the customer waiting area 
where it can be observed and read by a person submitting a 
vehicle for inspection. 

Inspection stations must have garage liability insurance in 
the amount of at least $500,000 with an approved surplus 
lines carrier or insurance company licensed to write such 
insurance in this Commonwealth. This requirement shall not 
apply to inspection stations that only inspect their company-
owned, government-owned, or leased vehicles. 
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G. The required "Official Inspection Procedure" sheet and 
the "Direct Inquiries" sheet furnished to each station must 
both be framed under glass or clear plastic and posted 
conspicuously in the customer waiting area where they can be 
observed and read by a person submitting a vehicle for 
inspection. 

H. The poster designating the station as an official 
inspection station shall be posted in a prominent location, 
outside or visible outside the station, to alert passersby that 
inspection services are available. Private inspection stations 
shall not display an outside poster. 

I. Each official inspection station shall display a list with the 
names and license expiration dates of each active inspector 
associated to the station within the MVIP Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Program (MVIP) system, adjacent to the certificate 
of appointment. All inspectors listed must be actively 
employed by the station. The Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual will be kept at or near the point of 
inspection for ready reference. The manual may be kept in 
written or electronic form. 

J. Important -- Any change in name, ownership or location 
of any official inspection station cancels the appointment of 
that station, and the Department of State Police must be 
notified immediately. The department shall be notified when 
an official inspection station discontinues operation. 

K. All inspection supplies, inspection binders and manual, 
unused stickers, duplicates of certificates issued, bulletins and 
other forms are the property of the Department of State Police 
and must be safeguarded against loss. 

L. Inspection supplies issued to an inspection station can be 
used only by that station and are not to be loaned or reissued 
to any other station. 

1. Stations must maintain a sufficient supply of approval 
stickers, trailer and motorcycle approval stickers, rejection 
stickers and inserts. When reordering supplies, station 
owners or managers shall request sufficient supplies to 
sustain their business for at least six months. However, it is 
realized that a few some stations will not be able to comply 
with the six-month requirement since there is a maximum 
of 100 books per order limit. Also, when ordering supplies, 
the following information should be considered so that the 
station does not order an excessive amount of supplies: 
each book of approval stickers contains 25 stickers, the 
rejection book contains 50 stickers, the month inserts are 
packaged in strips of 50 each, and trailer and motorcycle 
decals are five per strip. In December of each year, a 
supply of year inserts will be shipped to each station based 
on the station's previous year's usage. In November, each 
station shall check its stock of month inserts and order 
what is needed for the months of January through June. In 
May, the same should be done for the months of July 
through December. 

Stations receive biannual (November/May) supply 
shipments each year. The first supply shipment 
(November) includes car/truck approval stickers, car/truck 
month inserts, and trailer/motorcycle year inserts. The 
second supply shipment (May) contains car/truck approval 
stickers and car/truck month inserts. Supply amounts for 
each shipment are calculated upon the stations current and 
previous year inspection trends. 

Stations are responsible for maintaining an adequate 
supply of inspections supplies to operate efficiently and 
without delay; therefore, after stations receive the biannual 
shipment, additional supplies can be ordered through the 
MVIP station account. 

2. Inspection stations that exhaust any type of their 
supplies, such as approval stickers, trailer and motorcycle 
approval stickers, rejection stickers, or inserts shall 
immediately stop all inspection operations and contact 
their supervising trooper or the nearest Safety Division 
Area Office. 

M. All losses of stickers must be reported immediately to 
the supervising inspection trooper or the nearest Safety 
Division Area Office. 

N. Every precaution against the loss of stickers must be 
taken. If the loss occurs through carelessness or neglect, a 
suspension of the station may result. 

O. Manuals The Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection 
Manual must be kept at or near the point of inspection for 
ready reference. Additional manuals, bulletins, other 
regulations, and lists of approved equipment must also be 
available at all times for reference and. All reference 
materials may be kept in written or electronic form. Revisions 
to the Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual will be sent to 
each station electronically through the MVIP system. Station 
management shall be responsible to see that each safety 
inspector is familiar with all bulletins and manual revisions 
and shall be required to furnish evidence to the department 
that all bulletins and manual revisions have been reviewed by 
each licensed inspector. 

A copy of the diagram drawn by the investigating trooper, 
showing the approved inspection lane or lanes, will be 
maintained for review and kept available with the station's 
inspection supplies.  

P. Private appointment may be made of company stations or 
government stations that own and operate a minimum of 20 
vehicles and they may inspect only company-owned or 
government-owned vehicles respectively. When authorized 
by the department, they may inspect vehicles of a wholly-
owned subsidiary or leased vehicles. 

1. A private station may perform inspections during each 
month of the year or may elect to inspect only during 
certain designated months. 
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2. A private station not electing to inspect vehicles every 
month of the year that finds it necessary to inspect a 
vehicle during a month other than those selected for 
inspection may issue a sticker to the vehicle from the 
nearest past inspection month. 

Q. All official inspection station owners, managers, and 
certified safety inspectors shall comply with the Virginia 
inspection laws and the inspection rules and regulations and 
will adhere to all instructions given by the supervising trooper 
or the Safety Division. Reports of violations will be 
investigated and, if found to be valid, may result in the 
suspension of the station, suspension of the inspector, 
possible court action, or other appropriate action, or any 
combination of these actions. Repeated violations or serious 
violations may result in a revocation of the inspector or 
station appointment, or both, by the superintendent. 

R. The arrest of any person associated with the inspection 
program for a criminal offense of a nature that would tend to 
immediately reflect upon the integrity and reputation of the 
Department of State Police may be grounds for an immediate 
suspension and the conviction for such an offense inactive 
station status until final court disposition. Any finding other 
than acquittal may result in a suspension or revocation of the 
station's appointment. 

S. When a station has been suspended or revoked, it must 
release to an employee of the Department of State Police all 
inspection supplies, posters, and papers including the 
certificate of appointment. Failure to do so is a violation of 
§ 46.2-1172 of the Code of Virginia. 

T. The authority of the superintendent to suspend the 
designation or appointment of an official inspection station as 
provided in § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia, or to 
suspend the certification of an inspector designated to 
perform inspections at an official inspection station, and, in 
keeping with the provisions of § 46.2-1166 of the Code of 
Virginia, is hereby delegated to any of the following 
supervisory ranks of the Department of State Police: 
Lieutenant Colonel, Major, Captain, Lieutenant, First 
Sergeant and Sergeant. 

U. Each station must purchase and keep in proper operating 
condition the following equipment: computer, printer, internet 
connection, paper hole punch, black ball point pen or pens or 
black marker or markers, sticker scraper with replacement 
razor blades, tire tread depth gauge, amp meter, headlight and 
auxiliary lamp adjustment tools, 12-inch ruler, 25-foot 
measuring tape, torque wrench or torque sticks, brake 
pads/shoes/disc/drum measuring device, dial indicator, 
micrometer, pry bars, roller jack (at least 4-ton), and an 
approved type optical headlight aiming device. Each station 
that requests an additional inspection lane that is not in close 
proximity to the originally approved inspection lane must 
purchase an additional approved headlight machine for each 
lane that meets the minimum requirements. Stations are 

required to have one of the following headlight aiming 
devices: Hopkins Vision1, Hopkins Vision 100, American 
Aimers Vision 100, American Aimers Vision 2 Pro, or the 
Symtech (former L.E.T.), DVA-6, HBA-5, PLA-11, and 
PLA-12. This shall not apply to "trailer-only" inspection 
stations. 

19VAC30-70-10.1. Official inspection station appointment. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 
process for initial appointment, reclassification of 
appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 
reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 
station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 
only those areas of inquiry that have changed need to be 
reported. 

For changes in station name, location, and classification 
only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 
reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 
information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 
included to report verification of information contained in the 
station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 
motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 
the Department of State Police in writing for appointment 
as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 

a. The Department of State Police will forward an 
application package to the applicant. 

b. The application forms are to be completed and 
returned to the supervising trooper processing the 
application within 45 days. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 
email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 
social security numbers for the applicant and each person 
who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 
program. Each person is also required to execute an 
Authorization for Release of Information Form (SP-170-
D) and a Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-
167). When a corporation with other established 
inspection stations is applying for an additional location, 
it shall not be necessary for the corporate officers to 
complete the Form SP-167 or undergo the usual 
background investigation. In these situations, the 
Department of State Police is only concerned with the 
personnel who will be responsible for handling and 
securing the safety inspection supplies. 

2. Each inspection station application is reviewed, and the 
applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 
location for a minimum of 90 days. 
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(1) This requirement does not apply to a change in 
location for a previously appointed station. 

(2) This requirement does not apply to a repair garage 
that is an established business and is expanding its 
mechanical convenience to the general public by the 
addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement does not apply to a business license 
as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 
purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 
Department of State Police for performing safety 
inspections. 

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 
least one safety inspector with the appropriate license for 
the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 
standards for the station classification for which the 
appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 
investigation to determine if the business and associated 
personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 
employed who will participate in the inspection program 
must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 
and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 
requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 
individual who will perform or supervise safety 
inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 
and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 
inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 
the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 
Inspection Manual. 

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 
Its future existence should not be dependent upon 
appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 
all persons to be associated with the inspection program 
must be in compliance with any judgment order or 
meeting all financial obligations, or both. The applicant 
and all persons to be associated with the inspection 
program must be in good financial standing for a period 
of at least one year. 

Following any change in ownership, new ownership must 
show financial stability for a minimum of 90 days prior 
to their official inspection station appointment. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 
space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 
required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 
equipment must be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 
the superintendent. All safety inspectors must read and be 
thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 
Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 
instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 
trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 
by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 
Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 
accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 
Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 
inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 
superintendent and are automatically canceled if any 
change in address, name, or ownership is made without 
proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is withdrawn, or 
rejected due to incomplete documentation, may not reapply 
sooner than six months from the date of the withdrawal or 
the date the applicant is notified of the rejection of his 
application. Any applicant whose application is denied 
may not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of 
the letter notifying the denial. 

6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 
classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 
or other criteria as follows: 

a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 
same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 
portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 
a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-
1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 
Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 
a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane. 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 
be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 
adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 
vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 
the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 
completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 
on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 
plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 
least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 
width. Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 
towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane. 
This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 
with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) exceeding 
10,000 pounds. 
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d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 
accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 
than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 
inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 
accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 
classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 
exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 
to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 
air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 
reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 
entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 
adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 
classification is required to inspect only property-
carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 
length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 
level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 
most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 
equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 
allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 
wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 
plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 
other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 
structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 
steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 
as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 
can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 
inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 
must be maintained and available for customers. A 
"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 
be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures. 

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 
the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 
to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 
who owns and operates fewer than 20 vehicles will not 
be considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 
lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 
size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 
fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 
inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 
agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 
not have at least six written agreements to service private 

fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 
one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 
least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 
this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 
written agreement for service and repair, other than the 
vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 
corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 
this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 
be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 
be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 
be inspected. This classification permits the inspection of 
all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, the fleet of 
any volunteer or paid fire department, or any other unit 
or agency of the government structure having a written 
agreement with such governmental entity for repair, 
inspection service, or both. An applicant for this 
classification must own or have a written agreement to 
inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 
covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 
a garage having this type of classification. 

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions 6 a through 6 h of 
this subsection must be open to the public and have at least 
one safety inspector available to perform inspections 
during normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-
10. 

8. Private inspection station classifications may be 
assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 
garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 
vehicle fleets. 

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 
apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 
change of the station's status. 

1. An application form is forwarded to the applicant. 

2. The applicant completes the application form and 
contacts the Department of State Police in keeping with the 
application instructions. Applications must include all data 
as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper is assigned to complete the 
appropriate investigation to affect the change. A change in 
status investigation includes the following: 

a. A review of the existing station file. 

b. An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 
other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 
background investigation procedures for a change in 
status will be in keeping with this section. 

c. Official inspection stations are permitted to continue to 
perform safety inspections during a change of ownership 
investigation provided at least one safety inspector is 
retained from the prior owner. 
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d. If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 
appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 
the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 
criteria are resolved. 

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 
request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 
the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 
revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 
original appointments after the expiration of the period of 
revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 
Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 
reinstatement. 

2. An application package is forwarded to the applicant. 

3. The completed application forms must be returned to 
Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 
appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation compares the 
information in the new application package to the 
information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation focuses on any changes or 
inconsistencies. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 
appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 
rejected or withdrawn may not reapply sooner than six 
months from the date he is notified of the rejection or 
withdrawal of the application. 

D. When a request for reinstatement is denied, a station 
suspended a period of six months or more may not reapply 
sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter notifying 
the denial. Following an original appointment investigation 
for a revoked station, if the revoked station is denied, it may 
not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 
notifying the denial.  

19VAC30-70-20. General inspection requirements.  

A. Each official inspection station must inspect every 
vehicle presented for inspection as prescribed by this chapter, 
either approving or rejecting it. Inspections will not be 
performed unless requested.  

1. Dealers' vehicles shall be inspected according to these 
standards. The dealer's name rather than the license 
number shall be shown on the rear of the approval or 
rejection sticker. 

2. Out-of-state vehicles may be inspected, but shall not be 
approved unless they meet the requirements of the Official 
Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual.  

3. When a vehicle is presented for inspection, the previous 
approval sticker, if any, on the vehicle shall be removed 
and destroyed before any inspection is conducted (except a 
rejection sticker). For purposes of the safety inspection 
program, "destroyed" shall mean that the previous 
inspection sticker will be disposed of in a manner so it 
cannot be reused or placed on another vehicle's windshield. 
After removing the inspection sticker, the safety inspector 
who is to perform the inspection must drive the vehicle 
into an approved inspection lane unless the safety inspector 
is not qualified to operate the vehicle. During the operation 
of the vehicle, the safety inspector must make application 
of the service and parking brakes and check for conditions 
as set forth in the Service Brake Section of the Official 
Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual applicable to the 
vehicle being inspected.  

WARNING: No razor blades or similar devices should 
be used to remove stickers from "Securiflex," "Anti-
Lacerative" or "Inner Shield" type windshield. These 
windshields are identified as AS-14. Any questions 
concerning removal should be directed to the nearest 
Safety Division Area Office.  

B. Each inspection shall be a complete, uninterrupted 
inspection and shall include a check of all applicable items in 
the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. All 
repair tools and testing equipment required prior to a station's 
appointment shall be properly maintained and available for 
use during each inspection.  

C. The term "inspection" as used in this chapter shall not 
include repairs or adjustments. Repairs or adjustments 
necessary to bring the vehicle in conformity with this chapter 
may be made by agreement between the owner and such 
station or whatever repair shop the owner may select. When 
requested to do so by the person submitting a vehicle for 
inspection, any repairs or adjustments necessary to bring the 
vehicle into compliance with the inspection program rules 
and regulations shall be made by the inspection station 
performing the inspection. The inspection station 
management may utilize the option of subcontracting the 
repairs or adjustments provided the application filed for the 
station appointment reflected that such repairs or adjustments 
will be subcontracted.  

D. Each vehicle that meets the requirements as set forth in 
this chapter shall be issued an approval sticker. Those 
vehicles that do not meet the inspection requirements shall be 
issued a rejection sticker. Any trailer required to be inspected 
under the provisions of the Code of Virginia may, only if the 
size or configuration of the trailer and the size and 
configuration of the facilities of the inspection station prevent 
the trailer from being inspected inside the inspection station, 
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be inspected outside the inspection station. The location on 
the outside of an inspection station where trailers may be 
inspected shall be approved by the Department of State Police 
and shown on the station diagram.  

E. Inspections may be made when it is raining or snowing. 
Care must be exercised when making inspections in 
inclement weather. Vehicles covered with ice, snow, mud or 
other debris to the extent that required parts cannot be 
inspected, may be refused inspection until the operator 
removes such debris. 

F. A certified safety inspector shall be prohibited from 
conducting safety inspection examinations on any vehicle 
registered to himself. This restriction shall also apply to 
vehicles registered outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

19VAC30-70-25. Exceptions to motor vehicle inspection 
requirements. 

A. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 
required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Four-wheel vehicles weighing less than 500 pounds and 
having less than six horsepower;  

2. Boat, utility, or travel trailers that are not equipped with 
brakes;  

3. Antique motor vehicles or antique trailers as defined in 
§ 46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant 
to § 46.2-730 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. Any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer that is outside 
the Commonwealth at the time its inspection expires when 
operated by the most direct route to the owner's or 
operator's place of residence or the owner's legal place of 
business in the Commonwealth;  

5. A truck, tractor truck, trailer, or semitrailer for which the 
period fixed for inspection has expired while the vehicle 
was outside the Commonwealth (i) from a point outside the 
Commonwealth to the place where such vehicle is kept or 
garaged within the Commonwealth or (ii) to a destination 
within the Commonwealth where such vehicle will be (a) 
unloaded within 24 hours of entering the Commonwealth, 
(b) inspected within such 24-hour period, and (c) operated, 
after being unloaded, only to an inspection station or to the 
place where it is kept or garaged within the 
Commonwealth;  

6. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 
may be operated upon the highways of Virginia for the 
purpose of delivery from the place of manufacture to the 
dealer's or distributor's designated place of business or 
between places of business if such manufacturer, dealer, or 
distributor has more than one place of business, without 
being inspected; dealers or distributors may take delivery 
and operate upon the highways of Virginia new motor 
vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers from another 

dealer or distributor provided a motor vehicle, trailer, or 
semitrailer shall not be considered new if driven upon the 
highways for any purpose other than the delivery of the 
vehicle;  

7. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 
bearing a manufacturer's license may be operated for test 
purposes by the manufacturer without an inspection;  

8. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers may be operated 
for test purposes by a certified inspector without an 
inspection sticker during the performance of an official 
inspection;  

9. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 
may be operated upon the highways of Virginia over the 
most direct route to a location for installation of a 
permanent body without being inspected;  

10. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers purchased 
outside the Commonwealth may be driven to the 
purchaser's place of residence or the dealer's or distributor's 
designated place of business without being inspected;  

11. Prior to purchase from auto auctions within the 
Commonwealth, motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers 
may be operated upon the highways not to exceed a five-
mile radius of such auction by prospective purchasers only 
for the purpose of road testing without being inspected; 
motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers purchased from 
auto auctions within the Commonwealth also may be 
operated upon the highways from such auction to the 
purchaser's place of residence or business without being 
inspected;  

12. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers, after the 
expiration of a period fixed for the inspection thereof, may 
be operated over the most direct route between the place 
where such vehicle is kept or garaged and an official 
inspection station for the purpose of having the same 
inspected pursuant to a prior appointment with such 
station;  

13. Any vehicle for transporting well-drilling machinery 
and mobile equipment as defined in § 46.2-700 of the Code 
of Virginia;  

14. Motor vehicles being towed in a legal manner as 
exempted under § 46.2-1150 of the Code of Virginia;  

15. Logtrailers as exempted under § 46.2-1159 of the Code 
of Virginia;  

16. Motor vehicles designed or altered and used 
exclusively for racing or other exhibition purposes as 
exempted under § 46.2-1160 of the Code of Virginia;  

17. Any tow dolly or converter gear as defined in § 46.2-
1119 of the Code of Virginia;  
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18. A new motor vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-1500 of the 
Code of Virginia, that has been inspected in accordance 
with an inspection requirement of the manufacturer or 
distributor of the new motor vehicle (i.e., predelivery 
inspection (PDI)) by an employee who customarily 
performs such inspection on behalf of a motor vehicle 
dealer licensed pursuant to § 46.2-1508 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be deemed to have met the safety inspection 
requirements of the this section without a separate safety 
inspection by an official inspection station. Such inspection 
shall be deemed to be the first inspection for the purpose of 
§ 46.2-1158 of the Code of Virginia, and an inspection 
approval sticker furnished by the Department of State 
Police at the uniform price paid by all official inspection 
stations to the Department of State Police for an inspection 
approval sticker may be affixed to the vehicle as required 
by § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia.  

NOTE: Only an active certified safety inspector may enter 
the vehicle's information into the Motor Vehicle Inspection 
Program (MVIP) database and affix the inspection sticker 
to the vehicle; 

19. Mopeds;  

20. Low-speed vehicles; and  

21. Vehicles exempt from registration pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 46.2-662 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

B. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 
required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia provided (i) 
the commercial motor vehicle operates in interstate 
commerce; (ii) the commercial motor vehicle is found to meet 
the federal requirements for annual inspection through a self-
inspection, a third-party inspection, a Commercial Vehicle 
Safety Alliance inspection, or a periodic inspection performed 
by any state with a program; (iii) the inspection has been 
determined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration to be comparable to or as effective as the 
requirements of 49 CFR 396.3(a); and (iv) documentation of 
such determination as provided for in 49 CFR 396.3(b) is 
available for review by law-enforcement officials to verify 
that the inspection is current:  

1. Any commercial motor vehicle operating in interstate 
commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations. 

2. Any trailer or semitrailer being operated in interstate 
commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations.  

19VAC30-70-30. Inspector requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by these rules 
and regulations shall be made only by those individuals who 
are certified and licensed as safety inspectors by the 
Department of State Police. The procedures outlined in this 

section are applicable to the processing of applications for 
initial certification, reclassification of safety inspector's 
licenses, and reinstatement of suspended or revoked safety 
inspector's licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall be at least 18 years of age. In 
addition, all certified inspectors shall have:  

1. A minimum of one year of practical experience as an 
automotive mechanic or six months of practical experience 
as an automotive mechanic combined with an additional 
and separate six months of mirroring a certified state 
inspector, or 

2. Satisfactorily completed a training program in the field 
of automotive mechanics approved by the Superintendent 
of State Police.  

A person who has met either of the practical experience 
requirements in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 
inspect motorcycles only and a person who meets them in 
repairing trailers may be certified to inspect trailers only.  

C. Each mechanic entering the inspection program will be 
required to satisfactorily pass a written and practical 
examination exhibiting his knowledge of the inspection 
procedures.  

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 
driver's license with the following exceptions:  

1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 
holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 
commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or  

2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 
active duty, or a dependent thereof, who holds a driver's 
license from his home state.  

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 
revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 
for a DUI arrest, must immediately notify the station's 
supervising trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 
of the suspension or revocation. The suspension or revocation 
of an inspector's driver's license shall automatically act as a 
suspension of his privilege to inspect motor vehicles until 
such suspension or revocation is terminated and the 
reinstatement has been made by the Superintendent of State 
Police.  

F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 
inspector's license in his possession at all times while 
conducting inspections.  

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's 
license need only present such valid license to his new 
employer to commence participation in the program at his 
new place of employment. Management of the inspection 
station is required to notify the Safety Division when a safety 
inspector begins or ends employment. This may be handled 
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by contacting the Safety Division Headquarters in Richmond 
by telephone.  

H. An inspector must promptly notify the Safety Division in 
writing of any change in his home address as shown on the 
safety inspector's license. In the event the license becomes 
mutilated, lost or stolen, the inspector must notify the 
Department of State Police immediately in writing, requesting 
a duplicate. The Safety Inspector Notification Form shall be 
used and all requested information should be printed plainly 
and completely. For those inspectors who are not employed, 
write "Inactive" in the station name block. In those cases 
where notification is being made due to an address change, it 
will be necessary to: (i) fill out the form completely and (ii) 
retain a copy of the form and license until a permanent (new) 
license is received. In those cases where the license has been 
lost, stolen or mutilated, complete steps in clauses (i) and (ii) 
as set forth in this subsection. The notification form may be 
duplicated as necessary.  

I. An inspector must immediately notify the station's 
supervising trooper or local Safety Division Area Office of an 
arrest for a criminal offense or the institution of a civil action.  

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a 
specific learning disability: 

1. Applicants will be required to furnish documentation 
from the particular school division where the applicant was 
classified as having a learning disability. The specific 
learning disability will be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 
applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 
written exam being orally presented.  

3. The station management where the applicant is 
employed or to be employed must agree to have someone 
present during the hours the employee is conducting 
inspections to assist with the reading of the Official Motor 
Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual when necessary during 
the initial three-year certification period. If the inspector 
changes stations within the first three-year period, it is the 
inspector's responsibility to notify station management of 
his disability and this requirement.  

19VAC30-70-31. Inspector certification. (Repealed.) 

A. Upon request, a Mechanics Certification Application 
(Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History Record Request 
(Form SP-167) will be provided to individuals desiring 
appointment as certified safety inspectors. 

1. The application package will include instructions to help 
guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following 
classes after completing the necessary requirements and 
the appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A – May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, 
or trailer. 

b. Class B – May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C – May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 
examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 
Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 
applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 
the appropriate examination. 

2. The applicant will present his completed application 
Form SP-170B, a Criminal History Records Request (Form 
SP -167), and a valid driver's license at the testing site. The 
applicant's identity will be verified by comparing the 
driver's license to the application form. The application 
will be reviewed for proper notarization. The application 
shall include the applicant's name, address, date of birth, 
social security number, driver's license number, physical, 
personal, and employment data. 

3. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 
or revoked, the applicant will be advised and the 
application will be destroyed. The applicant may reapply 
after his driver's license is reinstated.  

C. The Class A inspector examination will consist of five 
sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 
75% must be attained for each section. The Class B and C 
inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 
minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 
the test, it will be noted at the end of Section I on the Form 
SP-170B with the word "Failed" and the date. The application 
will be returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain 
the minimum score will not be allowed to test again for 30 
days. Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination 
will not be allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Mechanics Certification Application (Form SP-
170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) 
for applicants who achieve a minimum score or greater will 
be forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters.  

1. The applicant's record will be checked against safety 
inspector and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 
files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with 
the applicant's driver transcript will be forwarded with the 
application to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office 
for investigation.  

3. A credit check will be performed to determine that the 
applicant associated with the inspection program is in 
compliance with any judgment order or is meeting all 
financial obligations, or both. 
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E. A background investigation will be conducted consisting 
of the following: 

1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one 
year's practical experience employed as an automotive 
technician repairing vehicles for the public or has 
satisfactorily completed a training program in the field of 
automotive mechanics approved by the Department of 
State Police. The following training programs in the field 
of automotive mechanics have been approved as a 
substitute for the one year's practical experience 
requirement: 

a. The two-year Associate Degree or diploma programs 
in automotive technology offered by the Virginia 
Community College System consisting of the following 
minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - 3 semester hours  

(2) Braking Systems - 3 semester hours 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - 3 semester hours 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - 3 semester hours 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - 2 semester hours 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 
Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 
Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 
the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 
or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 
Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 
including a practical test as defined in this section, the 
student must complete a Mechanics Certification 
Application (Form SP-170B) and a Criminal History 
Record Request (Form SP-167), pass a written test as 
defined in subsection C of this section, and submit to a 
background investigation as defined in this subsection. 
Upon successful completion of these requirements, the 
student, if 18 years of age, will be certified as a safety 
inspector and issued a safety inspector license.  

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 
examination, the application will be returned to the 
certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 
part of the examination may retest at the certifying 
trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 
than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 
student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 
of age, he will be issued a safety inspector license. Upon 
the student's 18th birthday, providing he still meets all of 
the requirements, the student will be issued a safety 
inspector license.  

(3) Students failing the second written examination will 
not be allowed to test again for six months. In order to 
retest the student must be at least 18 years of age and 
must complete the application process set forth for 
original certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 
Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 
College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 
37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 
through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 
with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be 
utilized in determining applicant's suitability for 
certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 
applicant through previous associates, employers, and 
records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude towards the 
inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 
supervision through personal interview.  

7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 
examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct 
a safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 
inspection including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 

F. Any applicant whose application is rejected or withdrawn 
may not reapply sooner than six months from the date he is 
notified of the rejection of their application or their 
application is withdrawn.  

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 
Form SP-170B will be completed by the certifying trooper. 
The classification for which the safety inspector is being 
certified, and the date of certification must be entered by the 
trooper on the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-
170B shall then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area 
Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising trooper will fill out 
the temporary inspector's license in triplicate, forwarding the 
original (white copy) to Safety Division Headquarters, issuing 
the canary copy to the inspector, and retaining the pink copy 
at the Safety Division Area Office for six months. Once the 
safety inspector has been issued his temporary license, he will 
be eligible to begin inspecting.  

I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 
three years.  

19VAC30-70-32. Reinstatement of safety inspector license 
following suspension or revocation. (Repealed.) 

A. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 
period of suspension or revocation.  
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1. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended, 
regardless of the cause for suspension, he may request 
reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of the 
suspension period. 

a. No application Form SP-170B is required for 
reinstatement; however, Form SP-170D and Form SP-167 
must be completed. The safety inspector's license will be 
held at the local Safety Division Area Office and returned 
upon the expiration of the suspension period. In all cases, 
Safety Division Headquarters must be notified forthwith by 
electronic means of the reinstatement of the license. The 
Form SP-164 will be filed to indicate the date the inspector 
was reinstated.  

b. The inspector shall contact his supervising trooper or 
nearest Safety Division Area Office to initiate the 
reinstatement process. 

c. The inspector's records on file at the Department of 
Motor Vehicles and Central Criminal Records Exchange 
will be reviewed to determine his suitability for 
reinstatement. If the suspended inspector's records 
indicate he is suitable for reinstatement, at the end of the 
suspension period or other appropriate time, the original 
inspector's license will be returned. A temporary license 
may be issued if the original is not available.  

If the suspended inspector's license should expire during the 
suspension period, the inspector may complete the process for 
inspector recertification as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. The 
trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 
The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 
suspension period and the appropriate documents forwarded 
to the Safety Division. 

2. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 
revoked must complete the application process as set forth for 
initial certification after the expiration of the period of 
revocation. 

B. Safety inspectors who desire to change their license 
classification must complete the written and practical 
examinations as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

C. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's license 
must participate in the recertification process. The process will 
require: 

1. Review of training materials as may be presented at the 
certification testing site by State Police personnel. 

2. Completion of the appropriate examination for the class 
license the inspector holds. A minimum score must be 
attained as previously outlined in 19VAC30-70-9. 

3. An inspector holding an expired license may be tested as 
long as his license has not been expired more than one month. 
During the period of expiration he will not be permitted to 
perform inspections. 

An inspector holding an expired inspector license which 
has not been expired more than one month and who fails 

the recertification examination the first time during this one-
month grace period may be retested one additional time not 
sooner than 30 days from the date of the last recertification 
examination. Inspectors failing this subsequent examination 
will not be retested for six months and must complete the 
application process as set forth for initial certification. 

D. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall be 
grounds for the termination of the application process or 
cancellation of the safety inspector's license, or both. Applicants 
having applications terminated or safety inspector's license 
canceled may not reapply for a period of one year.  

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 
owner or operator must be informed that a charge is to be 
made there is a regulated fee pursuant to § 46.2-1167 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

B. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2006 
2019, are as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 
that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 
or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 
passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 
passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle and autocycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 
trailers and motor homes. 

1. Inspection fees will result in inspection stations retaining 
and forwarding $.50 to the Department of State Police to 
support the department's costs in administering the Motor 
Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP). Collection of these 
fees will begin on March 15 of every year be billed 
quarterly to each station on April 15, July 15, October 15, 
and January 15 of each year. 

Tractor Trucks 

Trucks that have a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 
26,000 pounds or more 

Buses that seat more than 
15 passengers (including the 
driver) 

$.50 per inspection 

Cars 

Pickup Trucks/Trucks 

Recreational Motor Homes 

Trailers 

$.70 per inspection 

Motorcycles 

Autocycles 

$2.00 per inspection 
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2. $10 of the $12 inspection fee for motorcycles shall be 
retained by the inspection station and the other $2.00 shall 
be transmitted to the Department of State Police. 
Collection of these fees will begin March 15 of every year. 

3. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 
station, a letter from the Safety Division will be mailed to the 
station requiring that a check for that amount be mailed in the 
enclosed envelope to: Department of State Police, Safety 
Division, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North Chesterfield, VA 
23235. The check must be made out to the Department of 
State Police. The letter will include the following notice: "Do 
Not Send The Processing Fee To The P.O. Box. All Fees Are 
To Be Sent To The Safety Division Street Address."  

4. 2. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 
station, an invoice is uploaded to each station's MVIP 
account. The procedures for mailing payments are outlined 
in this subdivision as follows: 

a. Print the invoice from the MVIP station account. 

b. Prepare a check, cashier's check, or money order made 
payable to the Department of State Police for the amount 
indicated on the invoice and include the station number 
within the memo section of the check. 

c. Prepare an envelope with the following information: 
Department of State Police - Safety Division, P.O. Box 
27472, Richmond, Virginia 23261. 

d. Mail the check and invoice to the address listed in 
subdivision 2 c of this subsection. 

3. The station will have has 30 days in which to mail in the 
processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 
for any reason, a $15 $50 fee will be assessed the station. 
Also, under 19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a 
Class III offense and administrative actions may be held 
against the station's record. Once the station has been 
contacted by the Department of State Police regarding a 
returned check, it will have 15 days to respond. If the 
returned check dispute is not settled in this period of time, 
administrative or legal sanctions, or both, may be taken 
against the station and, in addition, any requests for 
supplies will not be honored until the dispute has been 
settled. 

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 
within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 
submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 
inspection must be performed and a charge of $51 may be 
made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross 
vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses 
that seat more than 15 passengers, including the driver. A 
charge of $16 $20 may be made for each inspection 
performed on any other vehicle to include recreational motor 
homes and trailers. A charge of $12 may be made for each 
motorcycle and autocycle inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 
trailer.  

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 
vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 
of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 
those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 
inspection. This is a violation of § 46.2-1167 of the Code of 
Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 
services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

19VAC30-70-50. Approval stickers and decals. 

A. If the vehicle meets all inspection requirements, the 
certified safety inspector performing the inspection shall 
immediately enter the receipt information via the MVIP 
Motor Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP) system.  

The inspection sticker is not valid unless the rear portion is 
completed with the vehicle make, year built, license plate 
number (dealer name if a dealer tag is displayed), body type, and 
the complete vehicle identification number (VIN). The 
inspection sticker shall be completed using black indelible ink. 

B. Approval stickers and decals shall be issued according to 
the following schedule:  

ANNUAL PROGRAM 

Vehicles inspected in January are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "1" 
Vehicles inspected in February are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "2" 
Vehicles inspected in March are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "3" 
Vehicles inspected in April are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "4" 
Vehicles inspected in May are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "5" 
Vehicles inspected in June are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "6" 
Vehicles inspected in July are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "7" 
Vehicles inspected in August are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "8" 
Vehicles inspected in September are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "9" 
Vehicles inspected in October are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "10" 
Vehicles inspected in November are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "11" 
Vehicles inspected in December are issued stickers bearing the 
Number "12" 

All issued annual inspection stickers shall expire at the end 
of the last day of the month displayed on the sticker. For 
example, a January inspection sticker expires at 12:00:00 a.m. 
on February 1. 
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All February annual inspection stickers for trailer and 
motorcycle decals (#2) (i.e., stickers numbered "2") due to 
expire at midnight, February 28 automatically will be valid 
through midnight February 29 each leap year. 

C. The numeral decal insert indicating the month of 
expiration shall be inserted in affixed to the box identified as 
month and the numeral decal indicating the year of expiration 
shall be inserted in the box identified as year of on the car or 
truck approval sticker. The numeral insert indicating the 
month and year of expiration shall be affixed to the box 
identified as month and year on the trailer or motorcycle 
sticker.  

Extreme care should be used by inspectors in when applying 
these inserts. On all windshields, the The sticker is to shall be 
placed at the bottom left corner of the windshield when 
viewed from the inside of the vehicle. The left edge of the 
sticker is to be placed as close as practical, but no closer than 
one inch to the left edge of the windshield when viewed from 
the inside of the vehicle. The top edge of the sticker is to be 
approximately four inches from the bottom of the windshield 
when viewed from the inside of the vehicle. 

NOTE: Minor adjustments to the placement of the safety 
inspection sticker may be made to avoid the decal being 
obscured by the windshield's monogram. 

NOTE: On passenger vehicles not equipped with a 
windshield, the sticker shall be placed on or under the dash 
and protected in some manner from the weather. 

EXCEPTIONS: On vehicles equipped with heating and grid 
elements on the inside of the windshield, the sticker shall be 
placed one inch above the top of the grid element and the left 
edge of the sticker shall be approximately one inch to the 
right of the left edge of the windshield when viewed from the 
inside of the vehicle. 

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in the 
Commonwealth is permitted by the superintendent, provided 
the vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. In these cases, if the sticker or 
decal is located where the inspection sticker is to be placed, it 
will not be removed unless the owner or operator authorizes 
its removal. The inspection sticker will be placed 1/4 inch to 
the right of the sticker or decal when viewed from the inside 
of the vehicle without removing or overlapping the sticker or 
decal. 

D. The Code of Virginia requires that the inspection sticker 
be displayed on the windshield or at other designated places 
at all times. The inspection sticker cannot be transferred from 
one vehicle to another. 

EXCEPTION: If the windshield in a vehicle is replaced, a 
valid sticker may be removed from the old windshield and 
placed on the new windshield. 

E. The sticker issued to a motorcycle shall be affixed to the 
left side of the cycle where it will be most visible after 
mounting. The sticker may be placed on a plate on the left 
side where it will be most visible and securely fastened to the 
motorcycle for the purpose of displaying the sticker. The 
sticker may be placed horizontally or vertically. 

F. Trailer stickers will be issued to all trailers and 
semitrailers required to be inspected. (No boat, utility, or 
travel trailer that is not equipped with brakes shall be required 
to be inspected.) 

G. All inspected trailers must display a trailer sticker on that 
particular vehicle. These stickers are to be placed on the left 
side of the trailer near the front corner. The sticker must be 
affixed to the trailer body or frame. In those instances where a 
metal back container with a removable transparent cover has 
been permanently affixed to the trailer body, the sticker may 
be glued to it. The container must be permanently mounted in 
such a manner that the sticker must be destroyed to remove it. 

H. In all other cases involving unusually designed trailers 
such as pole trailers, the safety inspector is to exercise his 
own good judgment in placing the sticker at a point where it 
will be as prominent as possible and visible for examination 
from the left side. 

I. Motorcycles have a separate sticker that is orange and 
issued with the prefix M. Trailers have a separate sticker that 
is blue and issued with the prefix T. The trailer and 
motorcycle receipts are completed in the same manner as 
other inspection receipts. 

J. Appointed stations will keep sufficient inspection supplies 
on hand to meet their needs. Requests for additional supplies 
shall be ordered via the MVIP system. Requests for supplies 
that are to be picked up at the Safety Division Headquarters 
must be made at least 24 hours prior to pick up.  

Packing slips mailed with inspection supplies will be kept 
on file at the station for at least 24 months. 

K. All unused center inserts used to indicate the month that a 
sticker expires, in possession of the inspection station at the 
end of each month, shall be retained by the inspection station, 
properly safeguarded, and used in the inspection of vehicles 
for that particular month in the following year or be disposed 
of as directed by the Department of State Police. 

All inspection supplies that are voided, damaged, disfigured 
or become unserviceable in any manner, will be returned to 
the Safety Division. New replacement supplies will be issued 
to the station. Expired stickers will be picked up by the 
station's supervising trooper. 
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L. All voided approval or rejection stickers will be picked 
up by the station's supervising trooper. 

M. The MVIP system approval or rejection printed receipt 
shall be given to the owner or operator of the vehicle. In the 
event of an MVIP or internet connection failure, manual 
receipts from the approval and rejection books shall be 
utilized.  

N. All yellow white copies of approval stickers will within 
the approval (car and truck, trailer and motorcycle) and 
rejection books shall be retained in the books and shall be 
kept on file at the station for at least six months. Stations shall 
notate necessary information on the white copy to provide a 
means of tracking for audit purposes. They may be inspected 
by any law-enforcement officer during normal business 
hours. 

O. Safety Division troopers may replace inspection stickers 
that have separated from the windshield of motor vehicles and 
become lost or damaged without conducting an inspection of 
the safety components of the vehicle. Such replacement of 
inspection stickers shall be made only in accordance with the 
following provisions: 

1. A vehicle owner or operator complaining of the loss or 
damage to the inspection sticker on the windshield of their 
vehicle due to separation of the sticker from the windshield 
shall be directed to the nearest Safety Division Area Office 
or Safety Division trooper. 

2. Safety Division troopers, upon receipt of a complaint 
from a vehicle owner or operator that their inspection 
sticker has been stolen, lost or become damaged due to 
separation from the windshield, will make arrangements to 
meet the person to effect the replacement of the sticker. A 
vehicle owner or operator alleging theft of the inspection 
sticker will furnish proof to the Safety Division trooper 
that such theft has been reported to the proper law-
enforcement authority. 

3. The vehicle owner or operator must produce the original 
safety inspection approval sticker receipt indicating a valid 
approval inspection sticker was issued to the vehicle within 
the past 11 months. (The vehicle must be reinspected if the 
expiration of the original inspection sticker is in the month 
the request is being made.) 

4. The Safety Division trooper will verify by the inspection 
receipt that the vehicle was issued an approval inspection 
sticker within the past 11 months and will then issue a 
replacement inspection sticker to the vehicle. If any 
obvious equipment defects are detected during the 
replacement process, the vehicle will not be issued a 
replacement approval sticker.  

5. The Safety Division trooper will complete the inspection 
sticker receipt for the approval sticker from information 
contained on the original receipt. The date the replacement 

sticker is issued will be used in the date space. In the space 
for Inspection Related Charges, the trooper will insert the 
word "REPLACEMENT" and the sticker number from the 
original inspection receipt. 

6. The Safety Division trooper will sign the receipt 
vertically in the O.K. column in the "Equipment Inspected" 
blocks. These blocks will not otherwise be completed. 

7. The Safety Division trooper shall place month and year 
inserts on the inspection sticker to reflect the expiration as 
shown on the original approval inspection sticker and place 
the inspection sticker on the windshield in accordance with 
the requirements of subsection C of this section. 

8. The Safety Division trooper will enter the replacement 
information into the MVIP system. 

P. New vehicle safety inspections. 

1. Section 46.2-1158.01 of the Code of Virginia allows an 
employee who customarily performs the inspection 
requirement of a manufacturer or distributor of new motor 
vehicles to place an inspection sticker furnished by the 
Department of State Police on the vehicle once it has met 
the requirements of that manufacturer or distributor. This 
employee does not have to be a certified safety inspector. 

2. With the addition of other personnel using Department 
of State Police inspection supplies, a system shall be 
developed at each inspection station to afford 
accountability of all supplies. The system shall include 
proper safeguards to prevent the loss of supplies through 
carelessness, neglect, theft, or unauthorized use. 

3. Inspection stations shall not mix annual state inspections 
with predelivery inspections (PDI) in the same book of 
inspection stickers. 

4. All employees shall be reminded that anyone who 
performs inspections, whether it be for the annual 
inspection or the PDI inspection, is subject to criminal 
prosecution if inspection supplies are used illegally or used 
in some other unauthorized way. 

5. Station management and licensed safety inspectors are 
subject to administrative sanctions for any misuse of 
inspection supplies. 

6. The inspection receipts shall be completed as usual with 
the following exceptions: On the "inspector" line, the 
initials "PDI" (for predelivery inspection) and the printed 
employee's name performing the inspection shall be 
entered. On the "inspector's license number" line, the 
letters "N/A" shall be entered. In the equipment inspected 
section, the words "New Vehicle" shall be entered in the 
"adjust" column. The PDI employee performing the 
inspection shall sign his name in the "O.K." column. 
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Part III  
Inspection Requirements for Passenger Vehicles and Vehicles 

Up to 10,000 Pounds (GVWR) 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 
the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 

B. A minimum of two wheels or two wheels and drums, one 
front and one rear, must be removed from inspected on each 
passenger and multipurpose vehicle with a gross vehicle 
weight rating of 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR) or less at the time of inspection, except those listed 
in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. Two front 
wheels or two front wheels and drums must be removed from 
vehicles listed in subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with wheels that do not 
allow visual access to the braking system, the inspected 
wheels shall be removed.  

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with drum brakes, the 
wheel and drum shall be removed for inspection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 
been titled or leased and is less than one year old, 
measured from October 1 as of each year; if such motor 
vehicle does not have a model year, such measurement 
shall be made from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 
upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 
(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 
wheels were pulled. 

Warning: Lug If wheels are removed to inspect brakes, lug 
nuts must be torqued to the manufacturer's specifications to 
prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of an impact 
wrench may exceed the manufacturer's specifications and 
damage disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 
drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has 
been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly 
installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less 
than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with 
brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles 
must be inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, 
are not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or 
warning lamp does not light with parking brake applied 
when ignition key is turned to the start position, except for 

anti-lock system. The red brake failure warning lamp 
should light when the ignition key is turned to the start 
position; on some imports it may be checked when the 
emergency brake is applied or other factory installed test 
button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber ABS/anti-lock 
brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and parking 
brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp should 
go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. 
If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 
brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is 
defective. Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on 
when there is a leak or the warning lamp light is not 
functioning properly, the system is defective and shall be 
rejected. NOTE: This paragraph subdivision does not apply 
to vehicles registered as street rods nor does it imply that 
the red brake failure warning lamp needs to light when the 
emergency brake is set. There are many vehicles that are 
not factory equipped with an emergency brake indicator 
light. 

Note: Vehicles equipped with a brake pad wear indicator 
warning light shall not constitute an automatic rejection for 
the vehicle submitted for a safety inspection. Each vehicle 
manufacturer has determined an appropriate level to 
activate the brake pad wear indicator warning light; 
therefore, it shall be the responsibility of the inspector to 
confirm whether or not the brake pads have exceeded the 
established tolerance of 2/32 of an inch. 

Brake Linings and Disc Pads  

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 
an inch over the rivet head(s) heads. 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 
than 2/32 of an inch in thickness. 

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 
parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has 
cracks on the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 
drums, or rotors. 

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 

10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 
contact with the drum or rotor. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

NOTE: The inspector shall ensure that the minimum 
measurements in subdivisions D 3 and D 4 of this section 
are obtained. 

11. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or scored 
to the extent that their machining would result in a failure 
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to meet manufacturer's specifications. Use the specification 
stamped on the rotor or drum if available. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped 
with a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. 
Manufacturers recommend replacement of these lock nuts 
after each removal to prevent failure of the component. If 
the customer is advised up front, then the wholesale cost of 
the replacement nut may be charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake 
assembly on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four 
bolts from the opposite side of the assembly. Removal 
otherwise may damage the outside grease cap and incur a 
cost to replace. 

12. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or cracks 
more than one half the width of the friction surface of the 
drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline heat 
cracks with flexural cracks. 

Mechanical Linkage 

13. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

14. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 
misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 
have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power-
assisted brakes and power-assisted steering system. Some 
vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 
hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only brake 
fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the 
brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test 
vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure to 
the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be 
maintained. On vehicles equipped with power-assisted 
systems, the engine should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress 
brake pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress 
pedal with a light foot-force (30 pounds). While 
maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 
observe if pedal moves slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine 
is started while force is on brake pedal. 

 

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 
Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 
reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 
lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the 
pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines 
or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or 
excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 
With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 
pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 
pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 
foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition key in the on 
position and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light 
to go out and the electric pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 
slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 
anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 
seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 
integrated system that is an earlier system. The newer 
system that has the nonintegrated systems does not need 
to be checked. If the ABS system malfunctions on the 
newer system, the brake systems are still functional. 

  

 

5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 
system with electronic pump. With the system fully 
charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 
reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 
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lines or hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the 
pump or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the 
system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress 
brake pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the 
system. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). 
While maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 
observe if pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 
engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 
vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 
reserve for one full service brake application after engine 
is stopped. 

 

7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 
Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, 
badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes, 
loose or broken hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 
cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 
rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 
wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 
backing plate unless it has contaminated the linings or 
drums as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. 
Consumers should be advised of this wear so that they will 
be aware that repair may be needed before their next 
inspection. This may not warrant an immediate repair 
considering the dual valve master cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 
for the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above 
or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 
rating for each brake. 

5. Amp meter shows no reading or indicator is not steady 
on application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 
broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 
nonstranded wire or wires below the size recommended by 
the brake manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 
the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

8. Breakaway braking devices are missing or inoperative; 
cable is frayed or broken.  

General Specifications 

9. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to 
have brakes. 

10. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 
lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, or restrictions or are 
abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or connections leak 
or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken; or any 
valves leak or are inoperative. 

a. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 
stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 
movement. 

b. Brake tubing and hoses must be: 

(1) Long and flexible enough to accommodate without 
damage all normal motions of the parts to which they are 
attached; 

(2) Secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 
mechanical damage; and 

(3) Installed in a manner that prevents them from 
contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 
source of high temperatures. 

11. Any hydraulic brake tubing has been repaired using a 
compression fitting. 

12. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 
straight line. 

13. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 
service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 
mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

14. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 
free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 
without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 
following distances are obtained:  

(When in doubt about a vehicle's stopping ability, the 
inspector shall conduct a road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 
brakes - 25 feet. 
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b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 
tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 
brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-90. Brakes: emergency, parking, or holding; 
batteries. 

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 
Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 
parking brakes. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 
a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 
order of the type installed as original standard factory 
equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed. 

2. The parking brake actuating mechanism does not fully 
release when the control is operated to the off position or if 
the parking brake lamp light remains on. 

NOTE: The light does not apply to vehicles that are not 
equipped with a parking (emergency) brake indicator light. 

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 
or are inoperative. 

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 
freely. 

5. Grease or similar-type contamination is present on the 
linings, drums, or rotors.  

6. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 
lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 
lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 
transmission. 

7. Holding brake will not disengage when engine is started 
and vehicle is placed in drive. Holding brake will not hold 
vehicle stationary with foot on holding brake and vehicle 
in drive. 

8. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park and (N) 
neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 
(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 
rejected. 

9. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 
or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older model vehicles, which 
were not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, 

clutch disengagement system or clutch pedal position 
sensor by the manufacturer. 

10. The accelerator does not disengage after being 
depressed, allowing the engine to return to a normal idle 
speed.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 
removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a 
location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 
securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 
present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial and 
are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 
a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 
grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, (i) the battery and fuel tank are not 
partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is not 
provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 
drainage. 

19VAC30-70-110. Steering and suspension. 

A. The steering and suspension systems installed and 
utilized on motor vehicles have evolved to where many 
different suspension systems are being designed, developed, 
and employed on vehicles. To properly inspect the steering 
and suspension on vehicles, it may be necessary for the 
inspection to be made in accordance with manufacturer's 
recommended procedures in addition to meeting any 
requirements outlined in this regulation. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any modification has been made that affects normal 
functioning of the shock absorbers. The inspector should 
operate the vehicle when in doubt. (If there is no evidence 
of the convolutions (coils) of the spring hitting one 
another, one pair (two) of nonmetallic coil spring 
stabilizers may be present in each of a vehicle's front coil 
springs, provided the installation of the stabilizers does not 
cause the springs to be higher than their original height.) 

Shock absorbers in fully extended or compressed positions 
when the vehicle is stationary will not function normally. 

2. The front end suspension has been modified by the use 
of lift blocks. (A lift block is defined as any solid piece of 
wood, metal, or other material placed between and 
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separating the vehicle's front axle and the springs.) This 
does not prohibit the use of shims that may be necessary to 
correct front end alignment. 

3. Any modification has been made to the front end 
suspension which reduces turning radius, bypasses safety 
components of original steering mechanism or if there is 
any lateral movement between the axle and frame. 

4. Any modification has been made to the suspension to 
cause the vehicle body or chassis to come in contact with 
the ground or expose the fuel tank to damage from 
collision. 

Reject the vehicle if it has been modified by any means so 
as to raise its body more than three inches above the 
manufacturer's attachment points or the frame rail (exclude 
original manufacturer's spacers, washers or bushings when 
measuring).  

5. Any modification has been made to cause the wheels to 
come in contact with the body or frame under normal 
operating conditions. 

6. A motor vehicle has a repair kit or preventive 
maintenance kit installed on a tie rod end, idler arm, ball 
joint, or any other part of the vehicle's steering gear. 

NOTE: The repair kit or preventive maintenance kit 
usually consists of a small coil spring and a plastic cap that 
is placed over the bolt stud of the component and held in 
place by a retaining nut. There is nothing in this paragraph 
that prohibits the replacement of parts or components of a 
motor vehicle's steering gear in order to correct 
deficiencies in the steering gear. 

7. When checked visually, the wheels appear to be out of 
line or an axle is bent. 

8. Any vehicle that shimmies or wanders at normal 
operating speeds. 

9. Rack and pinion steering bellows (boot) is defective or 
missing. Do not inspect CV constant-velocity (CV) boots, 
CV joints, or universal joints on rear wheel drive vehicles. 

NOTE: CV boots on the vehicle shall not be rejected if the 
CV boots are defective or missing. 

10. Power steering is defective and affects adequate 
steering of the vehicle or power steering fluid in reservoir 
is below operating level, or if there is an obvious leak of 
power steering fluid. Do not reject for dampness. 

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with power steering, the 
engine must be running during testing. 

11. Power steering hoses have any cracks, crimps, or 
restrictions or are abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or 
connections leak or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or 
broken. Power steering tubing and hoses must be secured 
against chaffing, kinking, or other mechanical damage and 

be installed in a manner that prevents contact with the 
vehicle's exhaust system or any other source of high 
temperatures. 

12. Power steering belt does not have sufficient tension, is 
frayed, or missing. The serpentine belt should only be 
rejected if a chunk of the ribbing is missing or a deep cut 
or crack exposes the inner fabric of the belt. (Do not reject 
for the many little surface cracks that appear in the ribs or 
back.) 

13. Any modification has been made to any part of the 
steering or suspension system that affects proper steering 
or suspension or any part of the original suspension system 
has been disconnected. 

NOTE: "All thread rod material" shall not be used as U-
bolts in the suspension system. 

Vehicles registered as street rods may substitute any part of 
the original suspension system provided the components 
are installed in accordance with the component 
manufacturers' specifications. 

14. Any modification or replacement has been made to the 
steering wheel that affects proper steering. The steering 
wheel shall be rejected if the outside diameter is less than 
13 inches unless original factory equipment. 

15. Steering column has any absence or looseness of bolts 
or positioning parts, resulting in motion of the steering 
column from its normal position. 

16. A spring is broken, sagging or misaligned, shackles are 
worn or loose, or if air bags are collapsed or the air 
suspension system leaks or is deflated. 

CAUTION: Underneath inspection of a vehicle equipped 
with air suspension with excessive leak down could result 
in serious personal injury. 

17. Shock absorbers or cross stabilizer links are 
disconnected, broken, bent, loose, or do not function 
properly on vehicles with this design. 

18. Any front or rear axle or suspension positioning parts 
are cracked, broken, loose, worn, bent or missing, resulting 
in shifting of an axle from the normal position. Any control 
arm or suspension positioning part using bushings for 
control, support and normal functioning is deteriorated, 
damaged or missing the bushing or the bushing is worn to 
the extent that the component can be moved by hand along 
the axis of the component. 

NOTE: All rear suspension parts including but not limited 
to control arms (upper and lower ball joints, radius or 
torque arms, stabilizer bars, and trailing arms) shall not 
have any damage or noticeable play when checked with 
hand pressure.  
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19. A MacPherson strut installed on a motor vehicle is 
broken, bent, loose or does not function properly. 

NOTE: Do not reject a shock absorber or MacPherson strut 
unless there is evidence of leakage that causes the device 
not to function properly. 

20. If vehicles measured movement at top or bottom of tire 
is greater than: 

 

Wheel Size: less than 17 inches - 1/4 inch 

  17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch 

  over 18 inches - 1/2 inch 

 

Proper lifting for wheel bearing, steering linkage looseness, and king pin play action 

FIGURE A FIGURE B  FIGURE C 

NOTE: King pin play. If vehicle is equipped with king 
pins, first eliminate all wheel bearing movement by 
applying service brake. With front end lifted as illustrated 
for inspecting wheel bearings (Figure C), grasp the tire at 
the top and bottom and attempt to move it in and out to 
detect looseness. Measure the movement at the top or 
bottom of the tire at the outer circumference. 

C. Wheel bearing/steering linkage.  

Reject vehicle if any wheel bearing is excessively worn or 
not properly adjusted; any cotter key or other locking device 
is missing or inoperative. 

NOTE: Lifting techniques vary for measuring wheel 
bearing movement. On vehicles with coil spring or torsion 
bar on lower support arm - hoist at frame (Figure A). On 
vehicles with coil spring on upper support arm - hoist at 
lower support arm (Figure B). On front wheel drive 
vehicles, the inspector must consult manufacturer's lifting 
information. 

NOTE: With vehicle lifted properly, grasp tire at top and 
bottom, rock in and out and record movement. Wheel 
bearing looseness is detected by the relative movement 
between the brake drum or disc and the braking plate or 
splash shield.  

CAUTION: If air suspension vehicles are hoisted via body 
support area, air spring damage may occur if the air 
suspension switch is not turned off. Reject vehicle if 
relative movement between drum and backing plate (disc 

and splash shield) is more than 1/8 inch measured at the 
outer circumference of the tire.  

D. Steering linkage play.  

1. Reject vehicle if measured movement at front or rear of 
tire is greater than: 

Wheel Size: 16 inches or less - 1/4 inch (6.5mm) 

  17 to 18 inches - 3/8 inch (9.5mm) 

  over 18 inches - 1/2 inch (13mm) 

 
NOTE: First eliminate all wheel-bearing movement by 
applying service brake. With vehicle lifted as shown in the 
diagram and wheels in straight-ahead position, grasp front 
and rear of tire and attempt to move assembly right and left 
without moving the steering gear. 

2. Reject vehicle if the steering mechanism is unusually 
tight or binding when turning the steering wheel 
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completely to the left or right or the steering mechanism 
will not turn in both directions stop to stop. 

3. Reject vehicle if the steering stops have been removed 
or adjusted in so that steering radius is reduced. 

E. Steering lash/travel. Reject vehicle if inspection reveals 
excessive wear and/or or looseness in any ball stud, end 
assembly, pivot point, mechanical linkage and/or or if 
steering gear box has any loose or missing bolts, or excessive 
wear, and/or or looseness is found at any other location in the 
steering that adversely affects the steering of the vehicle. 

NOTE: For vehicles equipped with power steering, the 
engine must be running and the fluid level, belt tension and 
belt condition must be adequate before testing.  

With road wheels in straight ahead position, turn steering 
wheel until motion can be detected at the front road 
wheels. Align a reference mark on the steering wheel 
with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering wheel in 
the opposite direction until motion can again be detected 
at the front road wheel (see diagram). Measure lash at 
steering wheel. Special lash-checking instruments may 
be used to measure free play in inches or degrees. Such 
instruments should always be mounted and used 
according to the manufacturer's instructions. Reject 
vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds:  

Power - 2 inches 

Manual - 3 inches 

Rack & Pinion - (Power or Manual) - 0.4 inch - see note 

NOTE: No play is permissible for Volkswagen and Audi 
vehicles - consult respective manufacturer's 
specifications. 

 
F. Steering lash/travel; trucks.  

NOTE: Before inspection, the vehicle must be placed on a 
smooth, dry, level surface. For vehicles equipped with 
power steering, the engine must be running and the fluid 
level, belt tension and belt condition must be adequate 
before testing. With road wheels in straight ahead position, 

turn steering wheel until motion can be detected at the 
front road wheels. Align a reference mark on steering 
wheel with a mark on a ruler and slowly turn steering 
wheel in the opposite direction until motion can be 
detected at the front road wheel. Measure lash at steering 
wheel. Special lash-checking instruments are also 
available, measuring free play in inches or degrees. Such 
instruments should always be mounted and used according 
to the manufacturer's instructions. With vehicle raised, 
visually inspect steering linkage, ball studs, tie rod end 
socket assemblies and all pivot points. 

NOTE: On vehicles with power steering, engine must be 
running. 

Reject vehicle if steering wheel movement exceeds: 

Steering Wheel Size and Lash 

Steering wheel 
diameter 

Power steering 
system 

Manual 
steering 
system 

16 inches or less 2 inches  
(51 mm) 

4-1/4 inches 
(108 mm) 

18 inches 2-1/4 inches 
(57 mm) 

4-3/4 inches 
(121 mm) 

19 inches 2-3/8 inches 
(60 mm) 

5 inches  
(127 mm) 

20 inches 2-1/2 inches 
(64 mm) 

5-1/4 inches 
(133 mm) 

21 inches 2-5/8 inches 
(67 mm)  

5-1/2 inches 
(140 mm) 

22 inches 2-3/4 inches 
(70 mm) 

5-3/4 inches 
(146 mm) 

G. Ball joint wear (front and rear). There is a trend among 
U.S. automobile manufacturers toward the use of "wear-
indicating" ball joints. Many vehicles on the road, however, 
do not have wear-indicating ball joints. The inspection of 
both types will be discussed. With the broadening use of rear 
suspension ball joints, their inspection shall be made in 
accordance with manufacturer's recommended procedures. 
Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 
checking most ball joints. On late model vehicles, it may be 
necessary to check for both horizontal and vertical movement. 
Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4 illustrate the proper hoisting for 
checking ball joints. 
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NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles when the 
spring is supported on the upper control arm or when the 
spring is a part of a MacPherson strut or wear in any other 
type suspension not using ball joints when the front wheels 
are suspended on a solid axle, the vehicle must be hoisted 
as shown in Figure 1 or 2. 

NOTE: Upper control arm must be stabilized in normal 
load carrying position by means of an upper control or 
other support tool to insure ball joint is in unloaded 
position. 

NOTE: To check ball joint wear on vehicles not listed in 
above referred to section and diagram or tables when the 
spring is supported on the lower control arm; and to check 
the king pin wear in any other type suspension not 
previously described when the wheels are independently 
suspended, the vehicle must be hoisted as shown in Figure 
3 or 4. 

H. Ball joints without wear indicators (front and rear). 

1. If play is detected in any ball joint without "wear-
indicating" ball joints, it will be necessary for the 
inspection to be made in accordance with the 
manufacturer's recommended procedures and 
specifications prior to rejecting the vehicle. 

2. If there are no manufacturer's recommended procedures 
and specifications, the lower ball joints will be checked 
when hoisted as in Figure 1 or 2 of subsection G of this 
section, or in the upper ball joints when hoisted as in 
Figure 3 or 4 of subsection G of this section. There should 
be no noticeable play detected in the ball joints when 
checked in this manner. 

3. Reject vehicle if play exceeds the manufacturer's 
specifications. Inspectors shall use a dial indicator or ball 
joint checking gauge when checking for play of a ball 

joint, when procedures and specifications are provided by 
the manufacturer. 

I. Ball joints with wear indicators. Support vehicle with ball 
joints loaded (in normal driving attitude). Wipe grease fitting 
and checking surface free of dirt and grease. Determine if 
checking surface extends beyond the surface of the ball joint 
cover. 

Reject vehicle if checking surface is flush with or inside 
the cover surface. 

 
J. American Motors Pacer (only). Position vehicle on level 

surface. Remove lubrication plug from lower ball joint. 
Check lower ball joint clearance by inserting stiff wire or thin 
rod into lubrication plug hole until it contacts ball stud. 
Accurately mark rod with knife or scriber where it aligned 
with outer edge of plug hole. Distance from ball stud to outer 
edge of plug hole is ball joint clearance. Measure distance 
from mark to end of rod. (Anything less than 7/16 inch is 
acceptable.) 

Reject vehicle if distance measured is 7/16 inch or more. 

 

 

K. Chrysler front-wheel drive vehicles (lower only). With 
the weight of the vehicle resting on the road wheels, grasp the 
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grease fitting as shown below and attempt to move fitting. No 
mechanical assistance or added force is necessary. 

Reject vehicle if grease fitting shows any movement. 

 
19VAC30-70-120. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 
and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame or unitized (monocoque) body of any motor 
vehicle, trailer or semitrailer is possesses one or more of 
the following defective characteristics: rust holes; any area 
of the frame or its components is broken, cracked, sagging, 
or bent; or damaged at any location, including to include 
any welded joint or is rusted or; the frame is corroded to 
the point the frame where it is weakened as to reasonably 
constitute a hazard during the operation of the vehicle; or 
any holes are drilled in the top or bottom rail flanges of the 
frame or the frame or cross-member (except as specified 
by the manufacturer). 

NOTE: Any welded repair of the frame must be in 
accordance with the vehicle manufacturer's 
recommendations. 

NOTE: All sections of a unitized frame are considered 
stress-bearing to include pinch and side rails, floors, and all 
support framework. 

2. Engine or transmission mounts and hardware is broken 
or missing. This includes all hardware bolts and bushings 
used for mounting to the vehicle's frame, engine, or 
transmission. Any engine or transmission mount shall be 
rejected if they allow the power train to come in contact 
with the firewall or other body parts. Any body, truck bed, 
or bumper mounts or mounting hardware shall be rejected 
if they do not properly secure these components to the 
frame as originally designed. 

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 
Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 
if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye. 

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 
not securely attached or are broken, worn or abraded. 

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 
mechanism in proper working order. 

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air. 

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 
or is not securely attached to the frame. 

8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken or worn so as 
to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. 

9. Any movement is detected at any location where any 
device has been placed between the body and the chassis. 

10. Trailer is not equipped with an emergency chain or 
steel cable. 

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly system does not require an 
emergency chain or cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a 
device which interfaces with and couples to the upper 
coupler assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler 
assembly is a structure consisting of an upper coupler 
plate, king pin and supporting framework which interfaces 
with and couples to a fifth wheel. Ball and socket 
connections also referred to as hitch and coupling 
connections are not fifth wheel assemblies and do require 
an emergency chain or steel cable. 

19VAC30-70-130. Tires; wheels; rims. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 
highway such as "For Farm Use Only," "For Off-Highway 
Use Only," "For Mobile Home Use Only," or "For Trailer 
Use Only." 

EXCEPTION: "For Trailer Use Only" tires are allowed 
when installed on trailers only. 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 
ply tire or a bias belted tire. 

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 
when radial ply tires are used on the front axle.  

EXCEPTION: On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck 
tires with 20-inch rim diameter and larger, bias or radial 
tires may be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear 
wheels or is equipped with wide-base single tires. 

4. A vehicle has installed on any axle a space saver 
emergency spare tire that is intended for temporary use. 

5. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 
wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 
than seven passengers (i) operated wholly within a 
municipality or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 
lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 
regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3097 

passengers use the buses for traveling a distance not 
exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 
between their place of abode and their place of work, 
shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 
a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 
measured as follows: 

NOTE: The exemptions provided in (i) and (ii) of this 
paragraph subdivision 5 do not apply to buses owned or 
operated by any public school district, private school or 
contract operator of buses. 

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 
is thinnest. Refer to Figure 1. If either of the grooves 
measure 2/32 of an inch or more, no further measurements 
are necessary and tread depth is satisfactory. Do not take 
measurements from the tread wear indicators. 

6. If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an 
inch, the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 
additional equally spaced intervals around the 
circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 
measurement. Refer to Figure 1. If the tread depth is less 
than 2/32 of an inch in two adjacent tread grooves at each 
of the equally spaced intervals, the tire must be rejected. 

MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS THINNEST IN TWO 
ADJACENT TREAD GROOVES 

  

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH 
IS LESS THAN 
2/32-INCH IN 
BOTH 
GROOVES, 
MEASURE AT 
TWO 
ADDITIONAL 
EQUALLY 
SPACED 
INTERVALS 

7. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 
have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 
two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 
around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2. 

  

 
FIGURE 2 

REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 
INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 
PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 
GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 
LOCATIONS 

8. Any tire has a cut or puncture into the fabric. This does 
not include a plug or patch that may be used as a manner of 
repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches Plugs or patches shall be in the tread 
area only. Plugs/patches Plugs or patches are not permitted 
in the sidewall of the tire. 

9. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is visible. 

10. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there 
is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread 
is separating from the fabric. Any cracks in the sidewall 
where separation in the rubber is detected or the fabric is 
exposed, not to include fine hairline cracks.  

11. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 
commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide 
for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. 
(Regrooved tires must be identified on each sidewall as a 
regrooved tire.) 

12. Any wheel studs, bolts, nuts, lugs, or other fasteners 
(both spoke and disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, 
stripped, missing, damaged, or otherwise ineffective. 

13. Wheels are installed on the vehicle in a reversed 
position, except the wheels on vehicles that are reversed to 
perform part of a dual wheel combination. 

14. Directional tires and/or or wheels designed and 
manufactured to travel in one direction of rotation are not 
properly installed. 
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15. Rims or wheels are bent, cracked, or damaged so as to 
affect safe operation of the vehicle. Reject if lug nut holes 
are elongated (out of round). 

NOTE: Refer to subdivision 1 of 19VAC30-70-180 
(Clearance lamps and reflectors) for tires that exceed more 
than four inches from the body. 

19VAC30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles. 

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least two 
headlamps of an approved type. The headlamps must be 
marked with the headlamp manufacturer's name or 
trademark, and DOT. If the headlamp bulbs are 
replaceable, the headlamp lens must be marked with the 
headlamp light source type (bulb) for which it was 
designed and the bulb must match the lens code. 

NOTE: If the headlamp system is stamped to accept 
halogen bulbs, then the replacement bulbs must be halogen 
as well. Retrofitting an HID or LED bulb to a halogen 
headlamp system does not conform to the standards set 
forth by the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
(FMVSS) and shall be rejected. 

If the entire headlamp assembly is changed from a halogen 
system to an LED system and does not require the 
manufacture's original wiring to be cut or compromised, 
then it shall be considered for inspection if it meets the 
requirements of subdivision A 2 of this section. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 
HID, LED, etc.) except for sealed beam headlamps. At 
least two headlamps are required, or the replacement 
headlamp system does not contain all properly marked 
DOT and SAE stamps certifying that it has met and 
complied with the standards set forth by the Federal Motor 
Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 108. 

NOTE: Replacement headlamps stamped with a DOT or 
SAE approval shall be considered approved by the 
Superintendent of State Police and will not be required to 
be listed on the Virginia Motor Vehicle Approved 
Equipment List. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 
or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 
not clean and bright. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 
affects the aiming pattern. 

5. Headlamps omit light other than white. Light tints of 
color may be acceptable if the headlamp and headlamp 
bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type and marked with all 
of the following: light source type, the manufacturer's 
name or trade mark, and DOT.  

NOTE:  

Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, HB4, 
HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, H9C, H11, 
H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2, H18, H19. 

Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast: 9500, D1R, 
D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, D8S, 
D9S.  

Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the light 
source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked on the 
ballast must match the marking on the headlamp lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 
or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 
as designed by manufacturer. (Location and type of 
headlamps can be found in subsection E of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose;, or if proper 
filaments do not burn at different switch positions; or if 
switches, including foot or hand dimmer, do not function 
properly and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 
lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 
may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 
a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original 
equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 
of the headlamps. 

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear, rigid 
plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of sealed 
beam units to replace original manufacturer's equipment. 

EXCEPTION: A clean impact film known as Headlight 
Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring Accessories may 
be applied to the headlight lens to absorb impact of rocks, 
etc. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 
fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 
the mounting. 

11. Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 
lamps are not mounted so that the beams are aimable and 
the mounting does not prevent the aim of the lighting 
device from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating 
on public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 
rigid part of the vehicle. 

12. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 
the original body design. 

13. The high beam indicator in the driver's compartment 
does not burn when the high beam is on or does not go off 
when the low beam is on. (Vehicles not originally 
equipped with an indicator are not required to comply 
unless sealed beam headlamps have been installed.) 
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B. Aiming the headlamps. 

1. Headlamps Inspectors shall rely on their education, 
training, and experience to determine if the headlamps are 
properly aimed. If improper alignment is observed, 
headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by using an 
optical headlamp aimer on every motor vehicle inspected, 
except on vehicles equipped with on-board aimers. 

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 
checked by visually examining the leveling device 
mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 
vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 
adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be aimed using 
the optical aimer, according to instructions in 19VAC30-
70-160 I 10 i and 11 g (2) visually inspected to ensure 
proper aiming. If improper alignment is observed, the 
optical aimer shall be used to correct any misalignment. 

2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 
tolerances using the optical aimer. 

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element high 
beam lamps is set more than four inches up or down from 
the horizontal centerline or more than four inches to the 
left or right from the vertical centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 
lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is more 
than four inches to the left or right of the vertical 
centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more 
than four inches above or below the horizontal centerline 
when checked on low beam.  

C. Optical aimer. 

1. Approved optical headlamp machines shall be used to 
properly aim all headlamps, except vehicles with on-board 
aimers. Optical aimers must be properly calibrated and 
used in the manner recommended by the manufacturer. 

The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the 
vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's 
specifications. 

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of lamp, 
which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 
determines which aiming requirements must be followed 
for the optical aimer. 

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element headlamps 
must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set 
on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 
lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 
align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 
with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 
beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does not 
extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top of the 
pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should appear on 
the view screen of the approved aimer when checking the 
low-beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 
combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

5. All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low-beam 
VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp pattern 
should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 
identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have only 
one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim only. The 
horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the horizontal aim 
is preset at the factory. 

6. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set by 
aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 
beam. 

7. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 
centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear on 
the view screen of the approved aimers. 
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8. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low 
beam lamp must be on the outer side and when mounted 
vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the higher 
position in the pair. 

9. The four headlamp system must be wired so that only 
the lower beam lamp will burn when the light beams are 
depressed. When switched to high beams, both high beam 
and low beam may burn. 

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four 
headlamp system will function in the following manner: 
system must be used so the low beam does not burn with 
the high beam. 

D. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal. Approved 
auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the conventional 
headlamps. (These lamps must be in compliance with this 
section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-70-150, and 
19VAC30-70-170.) 

E. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not an approved type as previously indicated 
in section subdivision A 6 of this section. 

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 
proper aiming. 

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision. 

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 
that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 
auxiliary headlamps are in use. 

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 
the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section. 

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the 
provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section. 

NOTE: Light patterns shown in the following diagram will 
be displayed on the most recently approved light machines 
produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and 
replaceable bulb and integral beam headlamps on LOW 
BEAM only: 

- 5-3/4 inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1 

- 7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1 

- 100 X 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1, 
2G1 or 2H1  

- 200 X 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1  

- Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004 
(HB1)  

- 92 X 160mm rectangular, marked LF  

- Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone or 
in combination with 9005 (HB3)  

- 55 X 135mm rectangular, marked L  

- Integral beam headlamp when high and low beam 
reflectors move together.  

19VAC30-70-150. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 
lamps; and rear lamp combinations. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 
lamp combination of an approved type or light assembly 
does not work as designed by the manufacturer. The 
approval designation letters that must appear are DOT or 
SAE-A-I-S-T-P for single lamps, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-
R with a backup light, DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-P2-R with 
a wrap around side-marker lamp and backup light.  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 
all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 
an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) that emits a white light. 
The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp or part of a 
combination rear lamp. 

4. License plate is not illuminated by an approved a license 
plate lamp that emits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 
lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a dot of another 
color. LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are Vehicles equipped with a multiple LED light lights 
(not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass a safety 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning. 

NOTE: Replacement tail lamps, commonly sold as "clear" 
tail lamps or "Euro-Tail" lamps will not pass inspection if 
the red lamps are replaced with clear ones. 
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6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 
The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-
color light does not project through the crack or cracks. 
Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not permitted. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 
headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 
do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 
approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 
section. If it is a rear lamp combination incorporated with a 
wrap around wraparound side-marker light, then the side-
marker lens must be red and not a clear lens with a red 
bulb. If the bulb, socket and wiring are removed from the 
side-marker lamps, then they will not be considered during 
the inspection. 

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 
vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 
vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 
the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 
from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 
approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 
cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 
the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 
frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 
make a good electrical contact. 

9. The vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, license 
plate lamps and rear lamp combinations. 

10. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: Every trailer shall carry at the rear two red tail 
lights of a type approved by the superintendent. 

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 
driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 
types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 
driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 
clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-
F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), 
and daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 
an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 
vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof-mounted 
flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 
type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 
be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 
octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 

(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 
571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 
equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 
(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 
be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 
of the vehicle. 

E. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) blue or blue 
and red lights are permitted on Department of Corrections 
vehicles designated by the Director of the Department of 
Corrections and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 
on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 
Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-
owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 
chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
These lights shall also have primary warning lights 
installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 
installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 
lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 
must continue to be the same type and color as originally 
approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 
lights in the headlights. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 
white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 
department vehicles, including publicly-owned state forest 
warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 
emergency calls, local department of emergency 
management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 
vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 
Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 
Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester 
Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 
Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 
or red and white combination lights of an approved type 
(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 
member of a fire department, volunteer fire company or 
volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by 
a privately-owned ambulance service, and any police 
chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 
permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 
alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 
emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 
fire department, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue 
squad or any ambulance driver employed by a privately-
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owned ambulance service) may be equipped with the means 
to flash their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps 
are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 
or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 
prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 
required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 
County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 
function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any firefighting vehicle, ambulance, rescue or life-saving 
vehicle, Virginia Department of Transportation vehicle, or 
tow truck may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which 
shall be used exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such 
lamps shall be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 
auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 
in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 
utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 
public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 
vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 
escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 
manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 
permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 
government-owned vehicles operated on official business 
by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 
vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 
vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 
flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 
inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 
by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 
official duties, businesses providing security services and 
vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 
vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 
enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 
government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 
lights are used for giving directional warning, and vehicles 
used to provide escort for funeral processions. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 

cars, security vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any 
speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 
used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 
wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 
conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 
permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 
personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 
Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 
operating upon the highway. 

6. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) colored 
warning lights may be used by dealers or businesses 
engaged in the sale of fire, emergency medical services, or 
law-enforcement vehicles. They may, for demonstration 
purposes, equip such vehicles with colored warning lights. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Auxiliary lamp is being used for a purpose other than for 
which it is manufactured or previously approved by the 
superintendent. 

2. Auxiliary lamp does not have a clear lens. 

3. Any reflector in such auxiliary lamp device is not clear. 

EXCEPTIONS: An auxiliary lighting device that is both 
covered and unlit shall not be considered for inspection. 
An auxiliary lighting device that has a clear lens, has clear 
reflectors, and is unlit shall not be considered for 
inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted below the level 
of the regular headlamps must be checked for aim as 
outlined in subdivisions I 12 h and 13 f of this section if 
not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 
as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 
foil or similar materials. 

4. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (DOT or 
SAE-W) (SAE-W) that is not of an approved type or has 
been altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of any 
auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 
warning lamps. 

5. Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog 
or auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of 
lights can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle 
equipped with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary 
lamp. 

6. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 
function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 
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by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 
considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 
considered in inspection.) 

7. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 
except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 
public carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger 
cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared 
food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 
carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 
destination signs and one steady burning white light for the 
nighttime illumination of external advertising. Privately-
owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 
commercially prepared food may be equipped with one 
steady burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 
a sign identifying the business delivering the food. Do not 
reject approved identification lights. 

8. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

9. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted. 

10. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 
SAE-R) (SAE-R) or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) 
lights with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved 
type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 
LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 
manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 
an independent circuit.  

11. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 
SAE-K) (SAE-K) or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 
pieces is not permitted; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 
signals. 

12. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 
the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 
system; 

b. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 
been altered; 

c. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 
not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

f. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 
excessive vibration; 

g. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 
when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 
activated; 

h.  Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 
hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 
is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

13. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 
lamps; however, not more than two fog lamps can be 
illuminated at any time; 

b. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 
have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 
the bulb; 
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c. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 
not permitted; 

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn; 

e. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 
headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

f. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 
following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 
in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 
the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 
installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 
vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 
into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 
high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 
the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 
vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

14. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 
(SAE-O) or a lamp has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 
not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

15. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 
However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 
DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 
circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 
approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and designated as 
DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 
the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 
"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 
lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 
is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 
hazard lamp deactivates. 

19VAC30-70-180. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 
and reflectors. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 
not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 
seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 
more outside the front fender line. 

NOTE: See 19VAC30-70-550 for vehicles exceeding 
10,000 GVWR. 

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 
the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 
this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 
unit must meet these requirements. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC, or PC2) or reflectors 
(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 
lamp has been altered; any wires are exposed; Reject if the 
vehicle has wire, unapproved lens lenses or plastic covers,; 
or any other materials that are not original equipment or 
any colored material placed on or in front of lamps or 
reflectors. 

3. Lenses on or lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 
on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 
broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 
provided an off-color light does not project through the 
crack or cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 
permitted. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are equipped with a multiple LED (light-emitting 
diode) light (not filament-burning bulbs),: they will pass 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective, all 
filaments do not burn. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 
red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 
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of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 
practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 
yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 
vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 
not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 
side and as near that point as possible. And with the further 
exception that 180 degree lamps with red lens may be 
mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as near the rear as 
possible or if the rear is not the widest portion of the 
vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the side as near that 
point as possible. 

6. Any vehicle equipped with three red identification lamps 
with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches or 
more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 
practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 
practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 
have the rear clearance lamps required by subdivision 5 of 
this section, mounted at any height but indicate as nearly as 
practicable the extreme width of the vehicle. 

NOTE: Other specially constructed vehicles may be equipped 
with the required clearance lamps not mounted on the extreme 
rear, provided such red lamps are clearly visible from the rear 
and provided further that two red reflectors of an approved 
type are mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual cases the 
rear lamp may be mounted on the cab and another red reflex 
reflector placed on the extreme rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps showing to 
the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be equipped with side 
marker lamps on the side of the vehicle. When such an 
installation is used, all of the clearance lamps on the side 
except the one at or near the rear must have an amber lens. 
The side marker lamps on the side at or near the rear must 
have a red lens. 

7. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 
except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors on 
the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors on 
the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and not 
more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can have a 
piece broken from its reflective surface, but may have one or 
more cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 
permitted. 

8. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length exceeds 
35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to require 
clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 
reflectors of a type approved by the superintendent and 
mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be 
visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector 
can have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 
have one or more cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 
not permitted. 

9. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 
unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 
the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 
supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

10. Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance with 
the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, 9, 11, and 12 of 
this section impractical will be equipped with clearance 
lamps and reflectors at the most practical location to 
provide maximum visibility. 

11. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side marker 
lights (amber) and two rear side marker lights (red). 

12. Any vehicle is not equipped with two front side 
reflectors (amber), two rear side reflectors (red), and two 
reflectors mounted on the rear (red). 

 
 

If equipped 
with three 
red 
identification 
lamps, the 
required 
clearance 
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so long as 
they 
indicate, as 
nearly as 
practicable, 
the extreme 
width of the 
vehicle. 

 

NOTE: Must 
be equipped 
with three 
red 
identification 
lamps 
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the ground. 
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Red Reflectors: At 
least 15 inches and 
not more than 60 
inches from the 
ground. 

 

19VAC30-70-210. Glass and glazing. 

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing, except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus, taxicab or school bus 
manufactured or assembled after January 1, 1935, is not 
equipped throughout with safety glass, or other safety 
glazing material. (This requirement includes slide-in 
campers used on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on 
pickup trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 
approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 
installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 
need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 
consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 
glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 
of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 
glass can be observed.) 

NOTE: A number of 1998 and 1999 model year Ford 
Contour/Mystique, Econoline and Ranger vehicles were 
produced without the AS-1 windshield marking as required 
by FMVSS #205. Ford has certified that these vehicles' 
windshields meet all performance standards and will not be 
rejected. 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision; any alteration that has been made to a 
vehicle that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 
windshield. This may include large objects hanging from 
the inside mirror or mounted to the windshield, cell phone 
mounts, GPS devices, CB radios or tachometers mounted 
on the dash or windshield, hood scoops, and other 
ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 
transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 
cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

NOTE: Vehicles up to 10,000 pounds (GVWR) 
submitted for inspection, with a navigational device, 
video event recording device, or a crash avoidance 
camera mounted on the interior of the windshield; when 
the entire device is outside the area swept by the 
windshield wipers or any location above the AS-1 line, 
shall be issued an approval sticker if no other violations 
are detected. 

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected. 

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 1-1/2 inches 
in diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
three-inch line at the bottom. 

8. At any location in the windshield above the three-inch 
line at the bottom (as measured from the junction of the 
dash board and the windshield) there is more than one 
crack from the same point if at least one of the cracks is 
more than 1-1/2 inches in length. There is any crack that 
weakens the windshield so that one piece may be moved in 
relation to the other. (If there is more than one crack 
running from a star crack that extends above the three-inch 
line, the windshield shall be rejected.) 
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EXCEPTION: NOTE: Windshield repair is a viable option 
to windshield replacement. However, the primary focus of 
windshield repairs is to stop or reduce further damage from 
roadway adversities, vibrations, ambient temperature 
changes, and weather. Repairs to minor damage may be 
made so long as the windshield meets all of the standards 
set forth in this section. 

A windshield that has been repaired will pass inspection 
unless: 

a. It is likely to cut or injure a person. 

b. There is any distortion that interferes with a driver's 
vision. 

c. The windshield remains weakened so that one piece 
may be moved in relation to the other. 

d. The integrity of the windshield has obviously been 
compromised by the damage or the repair.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law or permitted by the superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 
include those required by any county, town, or city, 
measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 
inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 
rear view mirror. The normal location for any required 
county, town, or city sticker is adjacent to the right side of 
the official inspection sticker when viewed from inside the 
vehicle. The top edge of the sticker is to be approximately 
four inches from the bottom of the windshield. The left 
side edge adjacent to the official inspection sticker shall 
not be more than 1/4 inch from the right edge of the 
official inspection sticker when viewed from inside the 
vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
(CVSA) inspection decals or similar commercial vehicle 
inspection decal issued by local law enforcement may be 
placed at the bottom right corner of the windshield when 
viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of such 
decals are to be approximately four inches from the bottom 
of the windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and 
are to be located outside the area swept by the windshield 
wipers.  

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 
state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 
vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction, and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 
dual registration; (i.e., Virginia and the District of 
Columbia).  

NOTE: Any Virginia registered vehicle displaying a valid 
sticker or decal required by a county, town, or city is 
permitted by the superintendent to remain in its current 

location through December 31, 2018, unless such location 
conflicts with the inspection sticker placement. This 
provision will afford localities time to enact changes to 
regulations governing required stickers or decals that may 
be impacted by the 2018 inspection sticker placement 
change. 

NOTE: Toll transponder devices may be affixed to the 
inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then the 
transponder device may be affixed to the immediate right 
of the mirror at the roof line. 

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 
transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 
and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 
inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 
be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 
that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 
of an AS-1 line the sticker cannot extend more than three 
inches downward from the top of the windshield. 

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 
on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 
rejection sticker, shall not be issued an approval sticker 
unless the owner or operator authorizes its removal. A 
rejection sticker will be issued versus an involuntary 
removal.  

10. Sunshading material words, lettering, numbers or 
pictures on the windshield that extend below the AS-1 line 
or three inches downward from the top of the windshield in 
the absence of an AS-1 line. Sunshading is permitted on 
the windshield if authorized by the Virginia Department of 
Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle registration. 

NOTE: Vehicles with permitted sunshading on the 
windshield must have a cut-out to accommodate the direct 
application of an approval or rejection sticker to the 
windshield in the location indicated in 19VAC30-70-50 C 
of or 19VAC30-70-60 E. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory meet federal standards and will pass state 
inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing.  

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 
from the bottom of the glass or other defects that affect the 
driver's vision or one or more cracks that permit one part of 
the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 
silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 
of clear transparent material.  

EXCEPTION: Colored or tinted ventvisors that do not 
exceed more than two inches from the forward door post 
into the driver's viewing area are permitted.  
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13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 
signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicles that 
were not designed or manufactured for the left front glass 
to be lowered, provided the vehicle is equipped with 
approved turn signals.) If either front door has the glass 
removed and material inserted in place of the glass that 
could obstruct the driver's vision.  

EXCEPTION: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side.  

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 
window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 
label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 
federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new or used 
vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 
one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 
door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 
windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 
windows the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 
side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 
purchaser.  

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window if a vehicle has 
only one outside mirror, a single sticker or decal no larger 
than 10 square inches located in an area not more than 
three inches above the bottom and not more than eight 
inches from the rearmost edge of either front side window, 
is permissible and should not be rejected.  

A single sticker issued by the Department of 
Transportation to identify a physically challenged driver, 
no larger than two inches by two inches, located not more 
than one inch to the rear of the front door post, or one inch 
to the rear of the front ventilator glass, if equipped with a 
ventilator glass and no higher than one inch from the 
bottom of the window opening, is permitted on the front 
driver's side window on a vehicle specially equipped for 
the physically challenged.  

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 
does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 
operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear 
window, or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or 
stickers, regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window, 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material.  

d. Rear side windows, rear window, or windows is 
clouded or distorted.  

19VAC30-70-260. Hood latch system; batteries.  

A. "Hood" means any exterior movable body panel forward 
of the windshield that is used to cover an engine, luggage, 
storage or battery compartment.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Each hood is not provided with a hood latch system that 
will securely hold the hood in its proper fully-closed position.  

2. A latch release mechanism or its parts are broken, 
missing or badly adjusted so that the hood cannot be 
opened and closed properly.  

NOTE: The hood latch release inside the passenger 
compartment is only for security and shall not be rejected 
under this section. If the hood latch cable can be accessed 
from either the inside or outside of the vehicle and opened 
by pliers or similar method, then it will pass.  

3. Latching system on a vehicle equipped with a tilt cab is 
defective, broken, missing, or not properly adjusted so that 
the tilt cab is held securely when it is in its latched 
position. 

C. Battery mounting and storage. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 
removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a 
location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 
securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 
present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial and 
are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 
a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 
grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, (i) the battery and fuel tank are not 
partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is not 
provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 
drainage. 
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19VAC30-70-300. Muffler, exhaust system and trailer 
venting.  

A. Flexible tubing may be used anywhere in the exhaust 
system.  

B. Inspection of exhaust system does not concern noise 
level.  

C. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. There is any leakage of exhaust gases at any point in the 
system. Do not reject "built-in" drain holes in muffler or 
tailpipe.  

2. A muffler or catalytic converter has been repaired in any 
manner. The exhaust pipe may be welded to the muffler or 
catalytic converter. Holes or cracks in the exhaust line have 
been repaired with a patch or caulking.  

NOTE: If a vehicle is inspected that does not have a 
muffler, the inspector should explain to the customer that 
although the vehicle will pass inspection without a muffler, 
it is a violation of state law for the vehicle to be operated 
on the highway without it.  

NOTE: Nissan has designed an exhaust repair for 
leak/noise leak or noise at the front tube for the 2002-03 
Nissan Pathfinders. The repair may require the application 
of a specially designed caulk to the front tube of the 
exhaust system. Since Nissan has designed the repair for 
their vehicles and trained Nissan technicians would 
perform the repair, this would be acceptable and should not 
be rejected. This exception would not preclude the 
rejection of exhaust systems repaired in a manner that is 
not designed or approved by the manufacturer and not 
performed by trained persons. 

3. Tailpipe opening is mashed or pinched.  

4. Any components of the exhaust system are not properly 
secured. Brackets or hangers are loose, broken, or missing.  

5. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to the 
rear or sides of the passenger and trunk compartment of 
passenger vehicles unless such design is consistent with the 
original vehicle manufacturer exhaust system. 

6. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to the 
rear or sides of the passenger compartment that is designed 
for and normally used for the driver and passengers of a 
property-carrying vehicle. 

D. Trailers and semitrailer venting. Inspection of trailers and 
semitrailers will include a visual inspection of the venting of 
cooking or heating appliances to the outside of the trailer or 
semitrailer to determine if the heating and cooking appliances are 
adequately vented to the outside to prevent the asphyxiation of 
occupants of any trailer or semitrailer by the operation of the 
heating or cooking appliances.  

1. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if not equipped with a 
vent or venting system to the outside.  

2. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if there is any complete 
or partial obstruction of the vent or venting system. 

NOTE: Exhaust pipes must direct the fumes to exit from 
underneath of the vehicle to the sides or rear most area. 

NOTE: Exhaust pipes must extend behind the cab or rear 
axle of pickup trucks or utility trucks. 

19VAC30-70-360. Motorcycle lights: auxiliary, headlamp, 
rear, signal, warning.  

A. Headlamps. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Motorcycle is not equipped with at least one motorcycle 
headlamp.  

2. Any motorcycle headlamp is not of an approved type 
(SAE-M). A motorcycle may have one or more headlamps. 
In addition to the headlamp or headlamps, a motorcycle 
may be equipped with not more than two auxiliary 
headlamps of a type approved (SAE-C) by the 
superintendent and identified as "auxiliary front lamps."  

3. Lens and reflector do not match except in sealed units, 
or if the lens is cracked, broken or rotated, or if the lens 
and reflector are not clean or bright.  

4. Any motorcycle lights-headlamp, rear lamp, signal or 
warning lamp has any wire, unapproved lens or plastic 
covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 
or any colored material placed on or in front of lamp or 
lens.  

5. Lamp is not focused or any filament or bulb fails to 
burn.  

6. Lamp is not mounted securely or if switch does not 
operate properly.  

7. The center of the hot spot is set more than four inches up 
or down from the horizontal centerline or more than four 
inches to the left or right from the vertical centerline. The 
Inspectors shall rely on their education, training, and 
experience to determine if the headlamp is properly aimed. 
If improper alignment is observed, the headlamp shall be 
checked for proper aim by using an optical headlamp 
aimer. 

8. The high beam indicator does not burn when the high 
beam is on or does not go off when the low beam is on.  

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with means of 
modulating the high beam of their headlights between high 
and low beam at a rate of 200 to 280 flashes per minute, 
provided they are equipped with a switch or device that 
prevents flashing of headlights when headlights are 
required to be lighted.  
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NOTE: Inspection is to be performed with lamp on high 
beam.  

NOTE: The use of strobe lights being placed inside the 
headlamps of police motorcycles is permitted. The strobe 
light system developed by Harley-Davidson for use in 
police motorcycle headlamps has been tested and does 
meet the current standard; therefore, strobe light systems of 
this type and similar types may be used in police 
motorcycle headlamp systems. 

B. Aiming the headlamp. All headlamps that do not comply 
with subdivision A 7 of this section shall be aimed straight 
ahead. (Zero inches up or down and zero inches to the right or 
left.)  

C. Rear lamp. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. The motorcycle is not equipped with a rear lamp of 
approved type (SAE-T-S-P-A).  

2. The lamp is not mounted near rear of vehicle, or is not 
mounted securely, or if lamp does not make a good 
electrical connection.  

3. Lenses are not red to the rear and clear or amber to the 
front or any lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may 
have one or more cracks provided an off-color light does 
not project through the cracks.  

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are motorcycles equipped with a multiple LED light 
(not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if 
more than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

4. Filaments in all lamps do not burn when headlamp 
switch is turned on to any position. 

5. The rear license plate is not illuminated by an approved 
license plate bulb.  

D. Signal device (intention to stop or turn).  

1. Signal devices are not required on motorcycles; 
however, if installed, they must operate and be inspected.  

2. Signal lamp lenses installed on the front of the 
motorcycle shall be amber and be located on each side of 
the vertical centerline of the motorcycle and as far apart as 
practicable and not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lamps, and to be located on the 
same level and not less than 20 inches above the ground 
level. The optical centerline of the lamp shall not be less 
than four inches from the retaining ring of the headlamp 
unit.  

3. Signal lamps installed on the rear of the motorcycle shall 
be red or amber and shall be located on each side of the 
vertical centerline of the motorcycle as far apart as 
practicable but not closer than nine inches, measured from 
the optical centerline of the lens, and shall be located on 

the same level and not less than 20 inches above the 
ground level.  

4. Inspect for and reject if:  

a. Motorcycle, except an antique vehicle not originally 
equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with at least 
one stop lamp of an approved type that automatically 
exhibits a red or amber light to the rear when the brake 
control foot pedal or hand grip brake control device is 
activated. (On motorcycles manufactured prior to 
January 1, 1972, the activation of the front wheel brake 
control device is not required to activate the stop lamp.) 

NOTE: Motorcycles may be equipped with a means of 
varying the brightness of the vehicle's brake light upon 
application of the vehicle's brakes.  

b. The signal lamp is not of an approved type (SAE-D) or 
does not flash.  

c. Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp has a piece broken 
from it. (Lens in brake lamp or signal lamp may have one 
or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks.)  

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or any 
filaments do not burn.  

e. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 
approved type.  

f. Signal devices are not installed as provided in 
subdivisions D 1, 2, and 3 of this section.  

E. Warning lights. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Warning lamps are not of an approved type or have been 
altered.  

2. Any lighted advertising sign is present.  

F. Auxiliary lights. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motorcycle or autocycles are equipped with any color 
other than red or amber standard bulb running lights or 
light-emitting diode (LED) pods or strips. 

2. Auxiliary lights are not directed toward the ground. 

3. Auxiliary lights are not designed for vehicular use. 

4. Auxiliary lights project a beam of light greater than 25 
candlepower per bulb. 

5. Auxiliary lights display a blinking, flashing, oscillating, 
or rotating pattern. 

6. Auxiliary lights are attached to the wheels. 

NOTE: Such lighting is not subject to approval by the 
Superintendent of the State Police. 
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19VAC30-70-450. Brakes: emergency parking or holding; 
batteries.  

A. Some vehicles are equipped with an actual emergency 
brake, while others have only a parking or holding brake. 
Some types may be actuated by a foot or hand lever, while 
others may incorporate a switch or valve to actuate the brake. 
Air and vacuum brake systems may employ spring activating 
parking brakes.  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Vehicle or combination of vehicles is not equipped with 
a parking, holding, or emergency brake in good working 
order of the type installed as original standard factory 
equipment for the vehicle on which it is installed.  

2. The brake actuating mechanism does not fully release 
when the control is operated to the off position.  

3. Any mechanical parts are missing, broken, badly worn, 
or are inoperative.  

4. Cables are stretched, worn, or frayed or not operating 
freely.  

5. Parking brake will not hold the vehicle stationary with 
the engine running at slightly accelerated speed with shift 
lever in drive position for automatic transmission or shift 
lever in low gear with clutch engaged for standard shift 
transmission.  

6. On vehicles equipped with automatic transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear other than (P) park or (N) 
neutral. If the gearshift indicator does not identify the park 
(P) and neutral (N) positions, then the vehicle shall be 
rejected.  

7. On vehicles equipped with manual transmissions, the 
vehicle will start in any gear if the clutch is not depressed 
or disengaged. 

NOTE: This will not apply to older vehicles, which were 
not originally equipped with a neutral-safety switch, clutch 
disengagement system or clutch pedal position sensor by 
the manufacturer. 

8. Any nonmanufactured hole(s) hole in the spring brake 
housing section of a parking brake. 

NOTE: All commercial motor vehicles manufactured after 
March 7, 1990, shall be equipped with a parking brake 
system adequate to hold the vehicle or combination under 
any condition of loading except agricultural commodity 
trailers, converter dollies, heavy haulers and pulpwood 
trailers.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. 

Inspect for and reject if: 
1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 

removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in 
a location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 
securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 
present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial 
and are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes 
through a metal compartment, the cable is not protected 
against grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating 
bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, (i) the batter and fuel tank are not 
partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is 
not provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 
drainage. 

19VAC30-70-490. Frame, engine mounts, coupling devices 
and emergency chains. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Frame of any bus, truck, tractor truck is cracked, loose, 
broken or sagging. Frame of any trailer or semi-trailer has 
any broken cracked, loose, or sagging top or bottom frame 
rails or frame is cracked or broken.  

2. Engine, transmission or cab mounts, to include all 
hardware, bolts, and bushings used to connect the mount to 
the vehicle, frame, engine, or transmission are broken or 
missing. Any engine or transmission mount shall be 
rejected if it allows the power train to come in contact with 
the firewall or other body parts. Cab mounts should be 
rejected if they do not properly secure the body to the 
frame.  

3. Trailer hitch or pintle hook is not securely attached. 
Reject if the pintle eye or trailer drawbar has any cracks or 
if any welding repairs have been made to the pintle eye.  

4. Chains, cables, etc., used to attach a towed vehicle are 
not securely attached, or are broken, worn or abraded.  

5. Fifth wheel does not lock in position or have a locking 
mechanism that is in proper working order.  

NOTE: Reject if horizontal movement exceeds 1/2 inch 
between upper and lower fifth wheel halves.  

6. Fifth wheel assembly system has any leak of fluid or air.  

7. Fifth wheel has any broken, missing, or damaged parts; 
or is not securely attached to the frame. This includes fore 
and aft stops.  
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8. Trailer king pin is not secure, or is broken, or worn so as 
to prevent secure fit in fifth wheel. The upper coupler 
device is not securely attached.  

9. Any cracks, breaks or damaged parts in the stress or load 
bearing areas of a coupling device.  

10. Trailer is not equipped with emergency chain(s) chains 
or steel cable(s) cables.  

NOTE: Fifth wheel assembly does not require emergency 
chain or steel cable. A fifth wheel is defined as a device 
that interfaces with and couples to the upper coupler 
assembly of a semitrailer. The upper coupler assembly is a 
structure consisting of an upper coupler plate, king pin and 
supporting framework which interfaces with and couples to 
a fifth wheel. Ball and socket connections also referred to 
as hitch and coupling connections are not fifth wheel 
assemblies and do require an emergency chain or steel 
cable.  

11. Sliding trailer tandem or multi-axle assemblies do not 
lock in place or have worn, broken or missing parts. 

12. Any play is detected in the drive shaft u-joints, CV 
joints, or center load bearing.  

19VAC30-70-500. Tires, wheels, rims.  

Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Any tire is marked specifically for use other than on the 
highway, such as "For Farm Use Only," "For Off-Highway 
Use Only," any tire marked "Not for Steering Axle," "For 
Mobile Home Use Only," or "For Trailer Use Only." 

EXCEPTION: "For Trailer Use Only" tires are allowed 
when used on trailers only. 

2. A radial tire is mismatched on the same axle with a bias 
ply tire or a bias belted tire.  

3. Bias ply or bias belted tires are used on the rear axle 
when radial ply tires are used on the front axle. Except:  

a. On a two-axle vehicle equipped with truck tires with 
20-inch rim diameter and larger. Bias or radial tires may 
be used on either axle if the vehicle has dual rear wheels 
or is equipped with wide-base single tires.  

b. Either bias or radial tires may be used on the steering 
axle of vehicles with three or more axles.  

4. Bias tires and radial tires are mixed in a tandem-drive 
axle combination on a vehicle equipped with truck tires 
with 20-inch rim diameter and larger.  

5. Any tire on the front wheel of a bus, truck or any tractor 
truck has a tread groove pattern of less than 4/32 inch 
when measured at any point on a major tread groove.  

6. Any bus has regrooved, recapped, or retreaded tires on 
the front wheels.  

7. Any motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer, except the dual 
wheels installed on motor vehicles having seats for more 
than seven passengers: (i) operated wholly within a 
municipality, or (ii) operated by urban and suburban bus 
lines, which are defined as bus lines operating over 
regularly scheduled routes and the majority of whose 
passengers use the buses for traveling a distance of not 
exceeding 40 miles, measured one way, on the same day 
between their place of abode and their place of work, 
shopping areas, or schools, is equipped with a tire that has 
a tread depth measuring less than 2/32 of an inch when 
measured as follows: NOTE: The exemptions provided in 
clauses (i) and (ii) of this paragraph subdivision do not 
apply to buses owned or operated by any public school 
district, private school, or contract operator of buses.  

NOTE: Measure in two adjacent tread grooves where tread 
is thinnest. If either of the grooves measure 2/32 of an inch 
or more, no further measurements are necessary and tread 
depth is satisfactory. Do not measure on tread wear 
indicators.  

If both adjacent grooves measure less than 2/32 of an inch, 
the tire tread depth must be measured again at two 
additional equally spaced intervals around the 
circumference of the tire in a like manner as the first 
measurement. If the tread depth is less than 2/32 of an inch 
in two adjacent tread grooves at each of the equally spaced 
intervals, the tire must be rejected.  

NOTE: Refer to Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4 in this section for 
illustrations of how to measure tire tread.  

MEASURE WHERE THE TREAD IS 
THINNEST IN TWO ADJACENT TREAD 
GROOVES 

 
FIGURE 1 

IF THE DEPTH IS LESS THAN 2/32-INCH IN 
BOTH GROOVES MEASURE AT TWO 
ADDITIONAL EQUALLY SPACED 
INTERVALS 
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8. A tire equipped with tread wear indicators if found to 
have such indicators in contact with the pavement in any 
two adjacent grooves at three equally spaced intervals 
around the circumference of the tire. Refer to Figure 2.  

REJECT IF THE TREAD WEAR 
INDICATORS ARE IN CONTACT WITH THE 
PAVEMENT IN ANY TWO ADJACENT 
GROOVES AT THREE EQUALLY SPACED 
LOCATIONS 

 
FIGURE 2 

 

9. Any tire has a cut to the extent a ply or belt material is 
exposed or puncture, not to include a plug or patch that 
may be used as a manner of repair. 

NOTE: Plugs/patches Plugs or patches shall be in the tread 
area only. Plugs/patches Plugs or patches are not permitted 
in the sidewall of the tire.  

10. Any tire is worn so that the fabric or steel cord is 
visible.  

11. Any tire has knots or bulges in its sidewalls or if there 
is evidence of a broken belt under the tread, or if the tread 
is separating from the fabric.  

12. Any tire that has been recut or regrooved except 
commercial tires so designed and constructed to provide 
for acceptable and safe recutting and regrooving. Each tire 
that has been regrooved must be labeled with the word 
"Regroovable" molded on or into the tire on both sidewalls 
in raised or recessed letters.  

13. Any tire is flat or has an audible air leak.  

14. Any tire so mounted or inflated that it comes into 
contact with its mate or any parts of the vehicle.  

15. Rims, or lock rings or wheels are bent, cracked or 
damaged so as to affect safe operation of the vehicle. 
Reject if lug nut holes are elongated (out of round).  

16. Any wheel studs, bolts, nuts, lugs, or other fasteners 
(both spoke and disc wheels) are loose, broken, cracked, 
stripped, missing, or damaged or otherwise ineffective.  

17. Any welded repair on aluminum wheel(s) wheels on a 
steering axle or any welded repair (other than disc to rim 
attachment) on steel drive wheel(s) wheels mounted on the 
steering axle.  

18. Directional tires and/or or wheels, designed and 
manufactured to go in a certain direction of rotation not 
installed in the proper direction of rotation. 
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19VAC30-70-510. Headlamps.  

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least two 
headlamps of an approved type. The headlamps must be 
marked with the headlamp manufacturer's name or 
trademark, and DOT. If the headlamp bulbs are 
replaceable, the headlamp lens must be marked with the 
headlamp light source type (bulb) for which it was 
designed and the bulb must match the lens code.  

NOTE: If the headlamp system is stamped to accept 
halogen bulbs, then the replacement bulbs must be halogen 
as well. Retrofitting an HID or LED bulb to a halogen 
headlamp system does not conform to the standards set 
forth by the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 
(FMVSS) and shall be rejected. 

If the entire headlamp assembly is changed from a halogen 
system to an LED system and does not require the 
manufacture's original wiring to be cut or compromised, 
then it shall be considered for inspection if it meets the 
requirements of subdivision A 2 of this section. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 
HID, LED, etc.) except for sealed beam headlamps. At 
least two headlamps are required., or the replacement 
headlamp system does not contain all properly marked 
DOT and SAE stamps certifying that it has met and 
complied with the standards set forth by the Federal Motor 
Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 108. 

NOTE: Replacement headlamps stamped with a DOT or 
SAE approval shall be considered approved by the 
Superintendent of State Police and will not be required to 
be listed on the Virginia Motor Vehicle Approved 
Equipment List. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 
or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 
not clean and bright.  

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 
affects the aiming pattern. 

5. Headlamps omit light other than white. Light tints of 
color may be acceptable if the headlamp and headlamp 
bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type and marked with all 
of the following: light source type, the manufacturer's 
name or trade mark, and DOT. 

a. Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, 
HB4, HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, 
H9C, H11, H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2, 
H18, H19. 

b. Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast:  9500, 
D1R, D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, 
D8S, D9S.  

c. Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the 
light source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked 
on the ballast must match the marking on the headlamp 
lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 
or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 
as designed by the manufacturer. (Location and type of 
headlamps can be found in subsection B of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if proper 
filaments do not burn at different switch positions, or if 
switches --, including foot or hand dimmer --, do not 
function properly, and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 
lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 
may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 
a part of an approved headlamp assembly. Reject if the 
vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, any other 
materials that are not original equipment or any colored 
material placed on or in front of the headlamps.  

EXCEPTION: A clear impact film known as Headlight 
Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring Accessories may 
be applied to the headlight lens to absorb impact of rocks, 
etc. 

EXCEPTION: A law-enforcement special weapons and 
tactics (SWAT) or tactical armored vehicle, designed and 
manufactured exclusively for missions, may apply 
protective bars in front of the headlamps when designed 
and installed by the manufacturer. 

NOTE: Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 
lamps shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and 
the mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device 
from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on 
public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 
rigid part of the vehicle. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 
fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 
the mounting.  

Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog lamps 
shall be mounted so that the beams are aimable and the 
mounting shall prevent the aim of the lighting device from 
being disturbed while the vehicle is operating on public 
roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a rigid part 
of the vehicle.  

11. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 
the original body design. 

12. The beam indicator in the driver's compartment does 
not burn when the high beam is on. (Vehicles not 
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originally equipped with an indicator are not required to 
comply unless sealed beam headlamps have been 
installed.) 

13. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 
tolerances using optical aimer: 

a. The center of the hot spot of all Type 1 lamps, all 
single element high beam lamps, and all lamps that do 
not have Type 2 embossed in the lens, is set more than 
four inches up or down from the horizontal centerline or 
more than four inches to the left or right from the vertical 
centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 
lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp or Type 
2 lamp is more than four inches to the left or right of the 
vertical centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is 
more than four inches above or below the horizontal 
centerline. 

Aiming the Headlamps: 

NOTE: Headlamps shall be checked for proper aim by 
using an optical headlamp aimer on every motor vehicle 
inspected. 

Inspectors shall rely on their education, training, and 
experience to determine if the headlamps are properly 
aimed. If improper alignment is observed, headlamps shall 
be checked for proper aim by using an optical headlamp 
aimer except on vehicles equipped with on-board aimers. 

Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 
checked by visually examining the leveling device 
mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 
vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 
adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamps and fog lamps must be visually 
inspected to ensure proper aiming. If improper alignment is 
observed, the optical aimer shall be used to correct any 
misalignment. 

Optical Aimer: 

NOTE: Approved optical headlamp machines may be used 
to properly aim any of the headlamps. Optical aimers must 
be properly calibrated and used in the manner 
recommended by the manufacturer. 

NOTE: When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of 
lamp, which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 
determines which aiming requirements must be followed 
for the optical aimer. 

NOTE: All Type 2 headlamps and all low beam or multi-
element headlamps must be set by aiming the lamp pattern 
with the lamps set on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 
lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 
with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 
necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 
beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

NOTE: Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does 
not extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top 
of the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

NOTE: All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as 
follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low beam 
VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp pattern 
should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 
identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have only 
one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim only. 
The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the horizontal 
aim is preset at the factory. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern, as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 
the low beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 
combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

NOTE: All Type 1 headlamps and all headlamps that do 
not have Type 2 embossed in the lens shall be set by 
aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 
beam. 

NOTE: Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 
centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 
on the view screen of the approved aimer. 
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NOTE: The four headlamp system combines four 5-3/4-
inch lamps in pairs.  

NOTE: One lamp embossed at the top as Type "1" and one 
embossed on the top as a Type "2" are arranged as a pair 
on each side.  

NOTE: When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the 
Type "2" lamp must be on the outer side.  

NOTE: The four headlamp system must be wired so that 
only the lower beam in the Type "2" lamps will burn when 
the light beams are depressed. When switched to high 
beams, both the Type "1" and Type "2" will burn.  

NOTE: Light patterns shown on the following page will be 
displayed on the most recently approved light machines 
produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

Aiming the Headlamps:  

NOTE: All headlamps that are found not to be within the 
four-inch tolerance shall be adjusted to zero inches up or 
down and zero inches to the right or left.  

Headlamps on Vehicles used for Snow Removal:  

NOTE: Approved auxiliary headlamps (SAE-Z) may be 
mounted above the conventional headlamps. (These lamps 
must be in compliance with 19VAC30-70-140, in its 
entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-70-150, and 
subsection A of 19VAC30-70-170 of this manual.)  

B. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Lamps are not an approved type as indicated in 
subdivision A 6 of this section.  

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 
proper aiming.  

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision.  

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 
that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 
auxiliary headlamps are in use.  

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 
the provisions of this section.  

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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NOTE: ALWAYS inspect the following sealed beam and 
replacement bulb headlamps on LOW BEAM only:  

5-3/4 inch, marked Type 2 or 2CI  

b. 7 inch, marked Type 2 or 2DI  

- 6-1/2 X 4-1/4 inch rectangular, marked Type 2QA or 
2A1  

- 2000 X 142mm rectangular, marked Type 2B or 2B1  

19VAC30-70-520. Rear lamps: tail lamp; license plate 
lamps; and rear lamp combinations.  

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with a rear (tail lamp) or rear 
lamp combination of an approved type and the light or 
light assembly does not work as approved. The approval 
designation letters that must appear are DOT or SAE-A-I-
S-T-P for single lamps and DOT or SAE-A-I-S-T-P-R if a 
backup light is incorporated.  

2. The vehicle is equipped with more than one rear lamp, if 
all are not in operating condition. 

3. The vehicle is not equipped with a license plate lamp of 
an approved type (DOT or SAE-L) which that emits a 
white light. The license plate lamp may be a separate lamp 
or part of a combination rear lamp. (A road tractor or 
tractor-truck that does not have a rear license plate is not 
required to have a license plate lamp.) 

4. Lens for license plate lamp is not illuminated by an 
approved a license plate lamp that emits a white light. 

5. Lens on rear lamps, or lens area in combination rear 
lamps (tail lamps) are not red or contain a DOT of another 
color. LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 
that are. Vehicles equipped with a multiple LED light (not 
filament-burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more 
than 50% of the diode lights are burning. 

6. Lens has piece broken from it or does not fit properly. 
The lens may have one or more cracks provided an off-
color light does not project through the crack(s) cracks.  

NOTE: Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not allowed. 

7. Filament in all rear (tail) lamps does not burn when 
headlamp switch is turned on to any position, or if lamps 
do not provide a red light visible to the rear through an 
approved red lens as annotated in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection.  

8. Rear (tail) lamp is not mounted near extreme rear of 
vehicle. Dump trucks and other specially constructed 
vehicles may mount the rear lamp at a point other than on 
the extreme rear, provided such rear lamp is clearly visible 
from the rear, and further provided that a red reflector of an 

approved type is mounted on the extreme rear. In unusual 
cases, the rear lamp may be mounted on the cab. Reject if 
the lamp is hidden by a bolster or other part of the body or 
frame, is not mounted securely, or if the lamp does not 
make a good electrical contact. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

10. Any vehicle has unapproved lens or plastic covers, any 
other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of rear lamps, tail 
lamps, license plate lamps or rear lamp combinations.  

B. Every trailer shall carry at the rear, two red lights of a 
type approved by the superintendent.  

19VAC30-70-530. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 
driving; fog; spot and warning.  

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 
types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 
driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 
clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-
F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W), and 
daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

1. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 
warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps 
of an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of 
such vehicle. 

a. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses 
may be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 
octagonal sign that meets FMVSS specifications (Federal 
Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 571). The 
stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be equipped with 
two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

b. School buses may also be equipped with roof mounted 
flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 
type (SAE-W2). 

2. Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved plastic covers, 
any other materials that are not original equipment or any 
colored material placed on or in front of any auxiliary 
lamps, backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot or warning 
lamps. 

EXCEPTION: Any lighting device that is both covered and 
not illuminated, other than lamps required or permitted by 
this manual, shall not be considered for inspection. Fog 
and driving lamps mounted below the level of the regular 
headlights must be checked for aim as outlined in 
subdivisions K 10 i and K 11 g of this section, if not 
covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 
as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 
foil or similar materials. 
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B. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 
vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 
(SAE-R). 

C. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps may 
be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 
of the vehicle. 

D. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) blue or blue 
and red lights are permitted on Department of Corrections 
vehicles designated by the Director of the Department of 
Corrections and any law-enforcement vehicle. 

E. Approved type blue or blue and red lights as well as 
approved type hide-away or undercover strobe warning lights 
are permissible for use on Department of Corrections and any 
law-enforcement vehicles. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 
on the four corners, on Department of Corrections and any 
law-enforcement vehicles, fire apparatus, government-
owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 
chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 
These lights shall also have primary warning lights 
installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 
installed in the side marker lights, tail lights or parking 
lights. The strobe itself must be clear and the lens color 
must continue to be the same type and color as originally 
approved. It will not be permissible to install the hide-away 
lights in the headlights or in the backup lights. 

F. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 
white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 
department vehicles, including publicly owned state forest 
warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 
emergency calls, local Departments of Emergency 
Management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 
vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 
Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 
Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester Medical 
Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 
Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

G. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red or 
combination red and white lights of an approved type may be 
installed on one vehicle owned by any member of a fire 
company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad or 
any ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 
ambulance service.  

H. Vehicles mentioned in subsections D, E and F of this 
section permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 
alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red 
emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any member of a 
fire company, volunteer fire company, volunteer rescue squad 
or an ambulance driver employed by a privately owned 

ambulance service) may be equipped with the means to flash 
their headlamps when their emergency warning lamps are 
activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 
or lower beam to flash but not both and; 

2. The headlamp system includes a sensor that prevents 
flashing of headlamps when headlamps are required to be 
lighted pursuant to current statute. 

Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 
County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 
function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

I. Any fire vehicle used exclusively for firefighting, any 
ambulance or rescue or lifesaving vehicle used for the 
principal purpose of emergency relief or any wrecker used for 
the principal purpose of towing disabled vehicles may be 
equipped with clear auxiliary lamps that shall be used 
exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such lamps shall 
be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 
government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 
auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

J. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 
alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 
in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 
utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 
principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 
substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 
public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 
for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 
vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 
escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 
manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 
permit. 

1. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) amber, red, 
and red and white flashing, blinking or alternating warning 
lights are permitted on fire apparatus, ambulances, and 
rescue and life-saving vehicles, provided the lights are 
mounted or installed as to be visible from behind the 
vehicle.  

2. Approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) amber 
flashing, blinking or alternating lights are permitted on 
vehicles owned and used by municipal safety officers in 
the performance of their official duties, by businesses 
providing security services and vehicles used to collect and 
deliver the United States mail, vehicles used by law-
enforcement personnel in the enforcement of laws 
governing motor vehicle parking, and government-owned 
law-enforcement vehicles provided the lights are used for 
giving directional warning and vehicles used to provide 
escort for funeral processions. 



Regulations 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3123 

3. An approved type amber flashing, blinking or alternating 
lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace cars, security 
vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any speedway or motor 
vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (DOT or SAE-W) (SAE-W) amber 
flashing, blinking or alternating light may be mounted on 
the rear of any vehicle used to transport petroleum 
products. The light must be wired through the reverse gear 
circuit and activate in conjunction with the backup lights 
and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 
permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 
personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 
Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 
operating upon the highway. 

K. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle has an auxiliary lamp being used for a purpose 
other than that for which it was approved. 

Do not reject tractor trucks equipped with cargo lights of 
an approved type (SAE-G) that are mounted on the rear of 
the tractor cab and wired through an independent switch 
used to illuminate brake connectors and fifth-wheels for 
nighttime hookups. 

2. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp that is not 
of an approved type or has been altered.  

3. Vehicle is equipped with a combination of auxiliary 
lamps which include more than two fog lamps, or more 
than two spot lamps, or more than two driving lamps. 
Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog or 
auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of lights 
can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle equipped 
with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary lamp. 

NOTE: Vehicles equipped from the factory, with two 
driving lamps should not be rejected. 

4. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 
function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 
by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 
considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 
considered for inspection.) 

5. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 
except commercial motor vehicles and buses operated as 
public carriers. These vehicles may be equipped with 
vacant and destination signs and one steadily burning white 
light for illumination of external advertising. Do not reject 
approved identification lights. 

6. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 
burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

7. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

8. Backup lamps are not required on motor vehicles less 
than 26,001 pounds GVWR. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-R) 
(SAE-R) or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) 
lights with a clear lens are acceptable, if of an approved 
type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 
LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 
inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 
burning. 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 
manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 
an independent circuit. 

9. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-K) 
(SAE-K) or a lamp has been altered. 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 
one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 
project through the crack or cracks. 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber.  

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 
signals. 

10. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 
they must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 
the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 
system. 

b. A vehicle is equipped with more than two driving 
lamps. 

c. Driving lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or 
SAE-Y) (SAE-Y) or have been altered. 
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d. The color of the lamp is other than white. 

e. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

f. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

g. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 
regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 
excessive vibration. 

h. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 
when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 
activated. 

i. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 
hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 
is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 
allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 
adjustment. 

11. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 
lamps; however, not more than two lamps can be 
illuminated at any time.  

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE or DOT-F or 
F2) or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens is other than clear or amber. (Fog lamps may 
have black end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 
the bulb.) 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

f. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 
headlamps, or is not mounted firmly. 

g. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 
following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 
in 19VAC30-70-160 D. They must burn through the tail 
light circuit even if on a separate switch. If installed on a 
vehicle with a four-headlamp system or a vehicle 
equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired into the 
low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 
high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 
the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 
vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 
headlight aimer. 

(3) A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is allowed in 
both the horizontal and the vertical adjustment. 

12. Spot lamps are not required. However, if installed they 
must operate and be inspected.  

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps. 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (DOT or SAE-O) 
(SAE-O) or a lamp has been altered. 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear. 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 
from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 
cracks provided an off-color light does not project 
through the crack or cracks. 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 
filaments do not burn. 

13. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 
However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 
DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 
circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs is not an 
approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL." 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs. 

c. More than one pair of lamps are used and or 
designated as DRLs. 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 
the center of the lamp. 

e. The color is other than white or amber.  

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 
"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or 
hazard lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or 
hazard lamp is activated and then reactivate when the 
turn signal or hazard lamp deactivates. 
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19VAC30-70-550. Clearance lamps, side marker lamps, 
and reflectors (under 26,000 pounds GVWR). 

Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer or other vehicle is 
not equipped with clearance lamps if the vehicle is over 
seven feet wide or if any portion extends four inches or 
more outside the front fender line.  

When a motor vehicle with a trailer attached is presented, 
the combination may be considered as one unit in meeting 
this requirement. If presented separately, the individual 
unit must meet these requirements except that any tractor-
truck need not be equipped with rear red dimension or 
marker lamps. 

2. Lamps (DOT or SAE-P2, P3, PC or PC2) or reflectors 
(DOT or SAE-A or B) are not of an approved type or a 
lamp has been altered; any wires are exposed; Reject if the 
lamps or reflectors have unapproved lenses or plastic 
covers,; or any other materials that are not original 
equipment or any colored material placed on or in front of 
lamps or reflectors. 

EXCEPTION: A law-enforcement special weapons and 
tactics (SWAT) or tactical armored vehicle, designed and 
manufactured exclusively for SWAT missions, may apply 
protective bars in front of the clearance lamps, side marker 
lamps, and reflectors when designed and installed by the 
manufacturer. 

Retro-reflective surfaces. Retro-reflective surfaces other 
than required reflectors may be used, provided (see 
diagram): 

a. Designs do not resemble traffic control signs, lights, or 
devices, except that straight edge striping resembling a 
barricade pattern may be used. 

b. Designs do not tend to distort the length and/or or 
width of the motor vehicle. 

c. Such surfaces shall be at least three inches from any 
required lamp or reflector unless of the same color as 
such lamp or reflector.  

d. No red color shall be used on the front of any motor 
vehicle, except for display of markings or placards 
required by law. 

3. Lenses on or lamps on the front are not amber and lenses 
on lamps on the rear are not red or if a lens has a piece 
broken from it. A lens may have one or more cracks 
provided an off-color light does not project through the 
crack or cracks. 

4. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or all 
filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 
are acceptable, if of an approved type. For those vehicles 

that are Vehicles equipped with a multiple LED (light-
emitting diode) light (not filament-burning bulbs), they 
will pass inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights 
are burning. 

5. Two amber lamps are not mounted on the front and two 
red lamps on the rear, so as to indicate the extreme width 
of the body, and as high on the permanent body as 
practical, except that approved 180 degree lamps with 
yellow or amber lens may be mounted on the side of the 
vehicle at or as near the front as possible, or if the front is 
not the widest portion, the lamps may be installed on the 
side and as near that point as possible. 

And with the further exception that 180 degree lamps with 
red lens may be mounted on the side of the vehicle at or as 
near the rear as possible or if the rear is not the widest 
portion of the vehicle, the lamps may be installed on the 
side as near that point as possible. 

NOTE: Any vehicle equipped with three red identification 
lamps with the lamp centers spaced not less than six inches 
or more than 12 inches apart and installed as close as 
practicable to the top of the vehicle and as close as 
practicable to the vertical centerline of the vehicle may 
have the rear dimension or marker lamps required by 
subdivision 5 of this section mounted at any height but 
indicate as nearly as practicable the extreme width of the 
vehicle. 

NOTE: Dump trucks with a high lift body, concrete mixer 
trucks and other specially constructed vehicles may be 
equipped with the required clearance lamps not mounted 
on the extreme rear, provided such red lamps are clearly 
visible from the rear and provided further that two red 
reflectors of an approved type are mounted on the extreme 
rear. In unusual cases the rear lamp may be mounted on the 
cab and another red reflex reflector placed on the extreme 
rear. 

NOTE: In addition to the required clearance lamps 
showing to the front and to the rear, a vehicle may be 
equipped with side marker lamps on the side of the vehicle. 
When such an installation is used, all of the side marker 
lamps on the side except the one at or near the rear must 
have an amber lens. The side marker lamps on the side at 
or near the rear must have a red lens. 

6. Any vehicle covered by subdivision 1 of this section, 
except school buses, is not equipped with amber reflectors 
on the sides as near the front as practical, and red reflectors 
on the rear. The reflectors must be at least 15 inches and 
not more than 60 inches from the ground. No reflector can 
have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but may 
have one or more cracks. 

7. Any combination of vehicles whose actual length 
exceeds 35 feet if the vehicles are not wide enough to have 
clearance lights, if the vehicle is not equipped with reflex 
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reflectors of a type approved by the superintendent and 
mounted on the widest part of the towed vehicle so as to be 
visible from the front and sides of the vehicle. No reflector 
can have a piece broken from its reflective surface, but 
may have one or more cracks. 

8. Any passenger vehicle is equipped with clearance lamps, 
unless such lamps are used to mark the extreme width of 
the vehicle or used as taxicab identification, or used as 
supplemental turn signals. (See 19VAC30-70-190 B.) 

NOTE: Vehicles so constructed as to make compliance 
with the requirements of subdivisions 1, 5, 7, and 9 of this 
section impractical, will be equipped with clearance lamps 
and reflectors at the most practical location to provide 
maximum visibility. 

9. Any vehicle is not equipped with: two front side marker 
lights (amber), two rear side marker lights (red), and two 
rear reflectors (red). 

 
 

 
 

 
 

If equipped with 
three red 
identification 
lamps, the 
required 
clearance lamps 
may be mounted 
at any height so 
long as they 
indicate, as 
nearly as 
practicable, the 
extreme width of 
the vehicle. 

 

 

 
Amber Reflector -- At least 15 inches but not more than 60 
inches from the ground 

 

 
Red Reflectors -- At least 15 inches and not more than 60 
inches from the ground 
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19VAC30-70-580. Glass and glazing.  

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 
side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor 
vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 
assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 
equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 
installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 
see 19VAC30-70-50, C, for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 
January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured or 
assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped 
throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing 
material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers used 
on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on pickup 
trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 
not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 
approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 
installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 
need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 
consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 
glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 
of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 
glass can be observed.) 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 
or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 
vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 
above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 
one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 
center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 
as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 
windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 
driver's vision; any alteration has been made to a vehicle 
that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 
windshield. This may include large objects hanging from 
the inside mirror or mounted to the windshield, cell phone 
mounts, GPS devices, CB radios or tachometers mounted 
on the dash or windshield, hood scoops, and other 
ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 
transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 
cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 
manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model year 
cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 
measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 
windshield. 

NOTE: Antennas, transponders, and similar devices must 
not be mounted more than 152 mm (six inches) below the 
upper edge of the windshield. These devices must be 
located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers, 
and outside the driver's sight lines to the road and 
highway signs and signals.  

NOTE: Vehicles 10,001 pounds (GVWR) or more, 
submitted for inspection, with a navigational device, 
video event recording device, or a crash avoidance 
camera mounted on the interior of the windshield, when 
the entire device is mounted not more than four inches 
below the upper edge of the area swept by the windshield 
wipers or any other location outside the area swept by the 
windshield wipers, shall be issued an approval sticker if 
no other violations are detected.  

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 
more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 
area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 
three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 
windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 
side windshield wiper area shall be rejected.  

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 
clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 
from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 
the highest point. 
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7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 3/4 inch in 
diameter at any location in the windshield above the 
topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-inch 
border at each side. 

8. At any location above the topmost portion of the 
steering wheel excluding a two-inch border at the top and 
one-inch border at the sides there is: 

a. Any crack over 1/4 inch in width. 

b. Any crack 1/4 inch or less in width intersected by 
another crack. 

c. Any damage area 3/4 inch or less in diameter if within 
three inches of any other damage area.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 
one required by law, or permitted by the superintendent. 
Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 
include those required by any county, town, or city, 
measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 
inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 
rear view mirror. The normal location for any required 
county, town, or city sticker or decal is adjacent to the right 
side of official inspection sticker when viewed from inside 
the vehicle. The top edge of the sticker is to be 
approximately four inches from the bottom of the 
windshield. The left side edge adjacent to the official 
inspection sticker shall not be more than 1/4-inch from the 
right edge of the official inspection sticker when viewed 
from inside the vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety 
Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals, or similar commercial 
vehicle inspection decal issued by local law enforcement, 
may be placed at the bottom right corner of the windshield 
when viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of such 
decals are to be approximately four inches from the bottom 
of the windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and 
are to be located outside the area swept by the windshield 
wipers.  

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 
or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 
windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 
state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 
vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction and the 
sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 
authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 
dual registration, i.e., Virginia and the District of 
Columbia. 

NOTE: Any Virginia registered vehicle displaying a valid 
sticker or decal required by a county, town, or city is 
permitted by the superintendent to remain in its current 
location through December 31, 2018, unless such location 
conflicts with the inspection sticker placement. This will 
afford localities time to enact changes to regulations 
governing required stickers or decals, which may be 
impacted by the 2018 inspection sticker placement change. 

NOTE: Toll transponder devices may be affixed to the 
inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 
the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 
be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 
line.  

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 
transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 
and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 
inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 
be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 
that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 
of an AS-1 line, the sticker cannot extend more than three 
inches downward from the top of the windshield.  

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 
on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 
rejection sticker, shall not be issued an approval sticker 
unless the owner or operator authorizes its removal. A 
rejection sticker will be issued versus an involuntary 
removal. 

10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield extends 
more than three inches downward from the top of the 
windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department 
of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 
registration. 

NOTE: Sunshading material on the windshield displaying 
words, lettering, numbers or pictures that do not extend 
below the AS-1 line are permitted. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 
factory that meet federal standards will pass state 
inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 
wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 
glazing. 

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 
from the bottom of the glass, or other defects that affect the 
driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 
of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 
silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 
of clear transparent material. 

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 
signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicle 
equipped with approved turn signals which were not 
designed or manufactured for left front glass to be 
lowered.) If either front door has the glass removed and 
material inserted in place of the glass which could obstruct 
the driver's vision. 

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side. 

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 
window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 
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label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 
federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new or used 
vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 
one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 
door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 
windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 
windows, the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 
side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 
purchaser. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 
area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 
sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 
an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 
not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 
front side window, is permissible and should not be 
rejected. 

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle weight 
rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with one 
optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens affixed to 
the right front side window. Such wide angle lens shall not 
extend upward from the bottom of the window opening 
more than six inches or backward from the front of the 
window opening more than eight inches. 

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 
does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 
vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 
vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 
rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 
case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 
inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 
operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 
sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 
regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 
or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 
sunshading material. 

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 
clouded or distorted. 

19VAC30-70-630. Hood latch system; batteries.  

A. "Hood" means any exterior movable body panel forward 
of the windshield that is used to cover an engine, luggage, 
storage or battery compartment.  

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Each hood is not provided with a hood latch system that 
will securely hold the hood in its proper fully-closed 
position.  

2. The latch release mechanism or its parts are broken, 
missing or badly adjusted so that the hood cannot be 
opened and closed properly.  

3. Latching system on a vehicle equipped with a tilt cab is 
defective, broken, missing, or not properly adjusted so that 
the tilt cab is held securely when it is in its latched 
position.  

C. Battery mounting and storage. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. A battery is not securely attached to a fixed part of the 
motor vehicle or trailer. A battery is not protected by a 
removable cover or enclosure if the battery is installed in a 
location other than the engine compartment. 

2. All brackets, hardware, bolts, and bushings used for 
securely mounting the battery to the vehicle are not 
present. 

3. Removable covers or enclosures are not substantial and 
are not securely latched or fastened. 

4. The battery compartment does not have openings to 
provide ample battery ventilation and drainage. 

5. Whenever the cable to the starting motor passes through 
a metal compartment, the cable shall be protected against 
grounding by an acid and waterproof insulating bushing. 

6. Whenever a battery and a fuel tank are both placed 
under the driver's seat, (i) the battery and fuel tank are not 
partitioned from each other or (ii) each compartment is not 
provided with an independent cover, ventilation, and 
drainage. 

19VAC30-70-670. Muffler, exhaust system, and trailer 
venting.  

A. Flexible tubing may be used anywhere in the exhaust 
system.  

B. Inspection of exhaust system does not concern noise 
level.  

C. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. There is any leakage of exhaust gases at any point in the 
system. Do not reject "built-in" drain holes in muffler or 
tailpipe.  

2. A muffler or catalytic converter has been repaired in any 
manner. The exhaust pipe may be welded to the muffler or 
catalytic converter. Holes or cracks in the exhaust line have 
been repaired with a patch or caulking.  

3. Tailpipe opening is mashed or pinched.  

4. Brackets are loose, broken, or missing.  
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5. Discharge of exhaust:  

a. The exhaust system fails to discharge the exhaust to 
the rear or sides of that part of a property-carrying 
vehicle which is designed for and normally used for the 
driver and passengers, and to the rear or sides of the 
passenger and trunk compartment of passenger vehicles, 
unless such design is consistent with the original vehicle 
manufacturer exhaust system.  

b. The exhaust system of a bus powered by a gasoline 
engine shall discharge to the atmosphere at or within six 
inches forward of the rearmost part of the bus.  

EXCEPTION: Type I small forward control buses 
(14,000 GVWR Class) and cutaway model buses (10,000 
GVWR or less) may discharge the exhaust behind the 
rear wheels.  

c. The exhaust system of a bus powered by other than a 
gasoline engine shall discharge to the atmosphere either:  

(1) At or within 15 inches forward of the rearmost part of 
the vehicle; or  

(2) To the rear of all doors or windows designed to open, 
except windows designed to be opened solely as 
emergency exits.  

6. Inspection of trailers and semitrailers will include a 
visual inspection of the venting of cooking or heating 
appliances to the outside of the trailer or semitrailer to 
determine if the heating and cooking appliances are 
adequately vented to the outside to prevent the 
asphyxiation of occupants of any trailer or semitrailer by 
the operation of the heating or cooking appliances.  

a. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if not equipped with a 
vent or venting system to the outside.  

b. Reject the trailer or semitrailer if there is any complete 
or partial obstruction of the vent or venting system.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6033; Filed July 3, 2019, 10:45 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER THIRTY-SIX (2019) 

Establishment of the Virginia Stem Education 
Commission 

Importance of STEM Education and Employment 

Virginia has a distinguished record as one of the best states for 
education, employment, and growth in the disciplines of science, 
technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). This is the 
result of our strong education pipeline and business friendly 
climate, which have fostered an economy that employs hundreds 
of thousands of Virginians in STEM fields. Additionally, 
Virginia is expected to add nearly 150,000 new STEM jobs in 
the next five years, with opportunities expected to grow for years 
to come. Employers know that they need employees with varying 
levels of STEM expertise; but the STEM education pipeline has 
not evolved as quickly as economic demand. Educational 
inequities too often limit access to advanced courses in STEM 
disciplines, credentials, and work-based learning for many of our 
most vulnerable and underrepresented students. 

In order to close those achievement opportunity gaps, meet the 
growing economic demands for STEM-prepared employees, and 
maintain its recognition as one of the best states for STEM 
education and employment, the Commonwealth must be strategic 
about how it prepares young people and adapts to the rapidly 
evolving needs of employers. To accomplish this, Virginia must 
begin by creating a unified vision and adopting a set of dynamic 
shared goals to strategically inform how we prepare students for 
STEM jobs of the future. 

Establishment of the Commission 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and 
§§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, and subject 
to my continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to 
act in such matters, I hereby establish the Virginia STEM 
Education Commission (Commission). 

Duties of the Commission 

The Commission will assist in aligning efforts around the state, 
measuring our programming and workforce landscape, 
identifying areas that can be better supported, and seeking 
methods in which we can more effectively prepare Virginians for 
employment. These goals will support the modernization of our 
education systems and local economies by preparing a capable 
and ready workforce to lead Virginia into a STEM-focused 
future. 

The Virginia STEM Education Commission shall work to 
develop a State STEM Plan to include a set of definitions, goals, 
strategies, and measurable impacts and outcomes related to the 
following key areas: 

1. Inspire and empower our students to develop the 
knowledge, skills, and mindsets necessary to thrive in a 
rapidly changing, technologically-advanced, global society. 

2. Ensure equitable opportunities and access for every 
Virginian to become a vital part of a robust STEM ecosystem. 

3. Continuously improve the awareness, effectiveness, 
support, and quality of partnerships among educational 
entities, employers, and nonprofits. 

4. Create sustainable and supportive conditions to align 
Virginia's educational, economic, and community goals. 

The Commission shall encourage state agencies to collaborate 
among government and non-governmental entities on collective 
goals and support efforts to share data to track outcome metrics, 
redesign future curriculum and course design, and inform state 
and local policy. In addition, it shall evaluate and recommend 
ways to optimize and align public-private partnerships and local, 
state, and federal resources to enhance current and prospective 
programs and services for Virginia's children and their families, 
particularly those at higher risk. It shall also identify best 
practices and areas for improvement. 

The State STEM Plan will require collaboration from a wide 
range of state and local stakeholders, with early childhood, K-12, 
post-secondary, out-of-school programs, informal education, 
workforce development, environmental education, and business 
and industry partners from every region of the state. 

Composition of and Support of the Commission 

The First Lady of Virginia will chair the Commission. The 
remaining members of the Commission will be appointed by 
the Governor and will include experts from education, 
industry, and workforce perspectives from around the 
Commonwealth. 

Staff support for the Commission will be provided by the 
Office of the Secretary of Education, the Virginia Department 
of Education, and the Science Museum of Virginia. An 
estimated 150 hours of staff time will be required to support 
the work of the Commission. The Commission will serve in 
an advisory role, in accordance with § 2.2-2100 of the Code 
of Virginia. Members will serve without compensation. The 
Commission will meet upon the call of the chair at least 
quarterly. The Commission will issue a written report no later 
than July 1, 2020, and any additional reports and 
recommendations as necessary or requested by the Governor. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect for a year from its 
signing, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, this 17th day of July 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 
Governor 

 



GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3132 

GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

 
PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Requirement for 90 Days of Operating Expenses. 

Standards for the Regulation of Children's Residential 
Facilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily Bowles, Legal and Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218-1797, telephone (804) 225-3281, or email 
emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Title of Document: Civil Enforcement Manual Chapter 4-
Civil Charges and Civil Penalties. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Lee M. Crowell, Enforcement Operations 
Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4450, or 
email lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND  
WATER CONSERVATION BOARD 

Title of Document: 2020 Grant Manual for the Virginia Dam 
Safety, Flood Prevention and Protection Assistance Fund. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 
Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-4378, or email lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
Titles of Documents:  

Controlled Substances (Schedule II-VI) in Veterinary 
Practice. 

Frequently Asked Questions - Prescription Monitoring  
Program - Mandatory PMP Reporting Requirements for 
Veterinarians. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Title of Document: 2020 Water Quality Assessment 
Guidance Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 4, 2019. 

Effective Date: September 5, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Amanda Shaver, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4181, or email 
amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9a4b4005954%7E3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fad6005954%7E4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fad6005954%7E4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
mailto:emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f8d005954%7E5s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f8d005954%7E5s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
mailto:lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f226005954%7E7d.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5f226005954%7E7d.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d222005954%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d222005954%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aa1d1005954%7E2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aa1d1005954%7E2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aa1d1005954%7E2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b47b005954%7E60.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b47b005954%7E60.pdf&typ=40&actno=005954&mime=application/pdf
mailto:amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Air Pollution Control Board is conducting a periodic 
review and small business impact review of each listed 
regulation. The review of each regulation will be guided by 
the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 
2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

9VAC5-20, General Provisions 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 
Office of Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

9VAC5-91, Regulations for the Control of Motor Vehicle 
Emissions in the Northern Virginia Area 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Office of 
Regulatory Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public comment period begins August 5, 2019, and ends 
August 26, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to the agency contacts listed in this notice. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Commonwealth Transportation Board is conducting a 
periodic review and small business impact review of each 
listed regulation. The review of each regulation will be 
guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 
July 16, 2018). 

24VAC30-41, Rules and Regulations Governing 
Relocation Assistance 

24VAC30-200, Vegetation Control Regulations on State 
Rights-of-Way 

24VAC30-240, Certification Procedures for the 
Disadvantaged and Women-Owned Business Program 

24VAC30-401, Change of Limited Access Control 

24VAC30-530, Roadway and Structure Lighting 

24VAC30-580, Guidelines for Considering Requests for 
Restricting Through Trucks on Primary and Secondary 
Highways 

24VAC30-590, Policies and Procedures for Control of 
Residential and Non-Residential Cut-Through Traffic 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 5, 2019, and ends 
August 30, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Steven Jack, Policy Regulatory Manager, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, or to 
steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:steven.jack@vdot.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Availability of the 2020 Citizen Water Quality 

Monitoring Grant Program Request for Applications 
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is pleased 
to make available the 2020 Citizen Water Quality Monitoring 
Grant Program Request for Applications (RFA). The primary 
purpose of these grants is to provide funding for water quality 
monitoring groups and individuals to monitor the quality of 
Virginia's waters. The grant can be used in a variety of ways, 
including purchasing water quality monitoring equipment, 
training citizen volunteers, paying lab analysis costs, and 
promoting stream monitoring at locations where DEQ is not 
currently collecting water quality samples. Applicants can 
choose from three grant options but may only apply for one 
grant. Multiple applications will be rejected. 

The grant options include: 

1. Mini-Grant: Maximum award up to $1,000. Open only to 
applicants who have not received a DEQ citizen monitoring 
grant in the previous three years. The grantee must use at 
least one-third of the award for equipment and begin water 
monitoring before the end of the grant period. 

2. Regular Grant: Maximum award up to $5,000. Open to 
any applicants who wish to apply but recommended for 
organizations already familiar with water quality 
monitoring. The grantee must submit a Quality Assurance 
Project Plan (QAPP), use at least one-third of the award for 
equipment, and begin water monitoring before the end of 
the grant period. 

3. Coordination Grant: Maximum award up to $11,000. 
Open only to applicants who coordinate at least three 
member monitoring organizations that total 35 or more 
volunteers. In addition, monitoring must occur at more than 
50 sample sites covering at least three Virginia localities. 
The grantee must submit a QAPP, use at least one-third of 
the award for equipment, and begin water monitoring 
before the end of the grant period. 

The grant application can be downloaded from the DEQ 
Citizen Monitoring Program Grant web page on July 9 at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInforma
tionTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring/Gra
ntOpportunities.aspx. 

In addition to offering the Citizen Water Quality Monitoring 
Grant Program, DEQ also provides technical assistance with 
developing a water quality monitoring program or a QAPP. 
Questions regarding the Citizen Water Quality Monitoring 
Grant or technical assistance should be directed to Stuart 
Torbeck, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4461, or 
email charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. Information is also 
available on the DEQ citizen monitoring website at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformatio
nTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring.aspx. 

Contact Information: Stuart Torbeck, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4461, or email 
charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov. 

Grassfield Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule - 

City of Chesapeake 
Grassfield Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 
renewable energy project (solar) in the City of Chesapeake. 
The proposed solar farm is to be located on the west side of 
West Road approximately 1,000 feet south of the intersection 
of West Road and Airport Drive. The project will reside on 
approximately 200 acres of farmland that is already cleared 
and has been in production for decades. The project will 
contain approximately 75,000 370-watt solar panels and eight 
2.5-megawatts transformers or inverters. The panels will be 
affixed to single-axis trackers. The rated capacity is 20 
megawatts alternating current and 28 megawatts direct 
current. The land surrounding the proposed facility is zoned 
agriculture or light industrial. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Ladybug Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy (Solar) Project Permit 

by Rule - Mecklenburg County 
Ladybug Solar LLC has withdrawn the notice of intent to 
pursue a permit by rule for the proposed 65-megawatts 
alternating current photovoltaic solar facility to be located on 
approximately 500 acres in Bracey in Mecklenburg County. 
The notice of intent to submit was originally published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations on November 27, 2017. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4426, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Board of Health is conducting a periodic review and 
small business impact review of each listed regulation. The 
review of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring/GrantOpportunities.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring/GrantOpportunities.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring/GrantOpportunities.aspx
mailto:charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitoring.aspx
mailto:charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov


General Notices/Errata 

Volume 35, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 5, 2019 

3135 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

12VAC5-66, Regulations Governing Durable Do Not 
Resuscitate Orders 

Contact Information: Cam Crittenden, Division Manager of 
Trauma and Critical Care, Virginia Department of Health, 
1041 Technology Park Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500, 
telephone (804) 888-9100, FAX (804) 371-3409, or email 
camela.crittenden@vdh.virginia.gov. 

12VAC5-105, Rabies Regulations 

Contact Information: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Virginia 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Office 642, 
Richmond, VA 23219-3623, telephone (804) 864-7298, or 
email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Public comment period begins August 5, 2019, and ends 
August 26, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to the agency contacts listed in this notice. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Periodic Review and Small Business Impact Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
State Water Control Board is conducting a periodic review 
and small business impact review of each listed regulation. 
The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

9VAC25-380, Wetlands Policy 

9VAC25-410, Occoquan Policy 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 5, 2019, and ends 
August 26, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Melissa Porterfield, Office of Regulatory 
Affairs, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 
(804) 698-4019, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

Public Comment Opportunity for Amendment of the 
Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board is 
considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 
management planning in accordance with the public 
participation procedures for water quality management 
planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 
rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking public comment 
through the Department of Environmental Quality on the 
proposed amendment. The purpose of the proposed 
amendment to the state's Water Quality Management 
Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) is to adopt one new total 
maximum daily load (TMDL) wasteload allocation.  

Public comment period: August 5, 2019, through September 
4, 2019. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 
amendments of the state's Water Quality Management 
Planning regulation for the James River Basin (9VAC25-720-
60 A). Statutory authority for promulgating these 
amendments can be found in subdivision 10 of § 62.1-44.15 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend (i) that the board approve one 
TMDL report as the plan for the pollutant reductions 
necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the 
impaired segments, (ii) that the board authorize inclusion of 
one TMDL report in the appropriate water quality 
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management plan, and (iii) that the board adopt one new 
TMDL wasteload allocation as part of the state's water quality 
management regulation in accordance with §§ 2.2-4006 A 14 
and 2.2-4006 B of the Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL report was developed in accordance with 40 CFR 
§ 130.7 and is exempt from the provisions of Article 2 of the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act. The report was subject 
to the TMDL public participation process contained in DEQ's 
public participation procedures for water quality management 
planning. The public comment process provides the affected 
stakeholders an opportunity for public appeal of the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL wasteload allocations can receive 
State Water Control Board approval prior to EPA approval 
due to amendments outlined in § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 
of Virginia. The one TMDL report in this public notice has 
been reviewed by EPA for required TMDL elements, 
however, remains in draft form awaiting State Water Control 
Board approval. The draft report can be found at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR
eports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities for the one new TMDL 
wasteload allocation: 

James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A): 

"Bacteria TMDL Development for the Bullpasture River in 
Highland County, Virginia" 

The Bullpasture River TMDL, located in Highland County, 
proposes E. coli reductions for the Bullpasture Watershed 
and provides a new E. coli wasteload allocation of 
2.63E+12 counts/year. 

How to comment: DEQ will accept written comments by 
email, fax, and postal mail. All written comments must 
include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 
person commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the 
last day of the public comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 
considered, the board will make the final decision.  

To review documents: The TMDL report is available on the 
DEQ website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs 
/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDeve
lopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx and by contacting the DEQ 
representative listed for any report. The electronic copies are 
in PDF or Word format and may be read online or 
downloaded. 

Contact Information: Kelly Meadows, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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