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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 
pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 
Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 
Malfourd W. Trumbo; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2019 through December 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:6 October 23, 2019 November 11, 2019 

36:7 November 6, 2019 November 25, 2019 

36:8 November 18, 2019 (Monday) December 9, 2019 

36:9 December 4, 2019 December 23, 2019 

36:10 December 18, 2019 January 6, 2020 

36:11 January 1, 2020 January 20, 2020 

36:12 January 15, 2020 February 3, 2020 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: David and Suzanne Mikkelson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC115-50-55 
to reduce the required internship number of hours of 
experience with couples and families from 200 to 120 of the 
required 240 hours. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Registrar of 
Regulations and published on October 14, 2019, with 
comment requested until November 13, 2019. It will also be 
placed on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and available 
for comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 
following the close of comment, which is scheduled for 
February 7, 2020, the board will consider the request to 
amend regulations and all comment received in support or 
opposition. The petitioner will be informed of the board's 
response and any action it approves. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-11 Filed September 16, 2019, 12:24 p.m. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 
STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Board of Health is conducting a periodic review and small 
business impact review of 12VAC5-381, Regulations for the 
Licensure of Home Care Organizations. The review of this 
regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 
14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC5-381, 
which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 
serves as the announcement of the periodic review. 

Contact Information: Robert Payne, Director, Office of 
Licensure and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23230-4920, 
telephone (804) 367-2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 
robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-11, Public Participation 
Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology is publishing its report of findings dated 
September 24, 2019, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology solicit the input of 
interested parties in the formation and development of its 
regulations. Therefore the continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. The regulation is necessary to protect 
public health, safety, and welfare by establishing public 
participation guidelines that promote public involvement in 
the development, amendment, or repeal of an agency's 
regulation. By soliciting the input of interested parties, the 
board is better equipped to effectively regulate the occupation 
or profession. Since no complaints or comments were 
received during the public comment period, there does not 
appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the regulation. The 
regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. The 
regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 
or state law or regulation.  

The last periodic review of this regulation occurred in 2015. 
On September 9, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and 
for the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-20, Barbering and 
Cosmetology Regulations, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 24, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a barber, cosmetology, nail or wax technician, 
instructor, salon, or school license or temporary permit. The 
board is also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet 
standards of practice that are set forth in the regulation.  

There were no comments or complaints received during the 
public comment period. The regulation is clearly written, 
easily understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The most 
recent comprehensive regulatory review of the regulation 
took effect in February of 2017.  

On September 9, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and 
for the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

 

mailto:robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov
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Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-50, Tattooing Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated September 24, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing, 
instructor, salon, parlor, or school license or temporary 
license. The board is also tasked with ensuring that its 
regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 
regulation.  

The sole comment received during the public comment period 
requested the elimination of regulation of the profession, an 
act that can only be undertaken by the General Assembly. 
There is an ongoing general review of this regulation, started 
in 2017, currently in the proposed stage. The regulation is 
clearly written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation.  

On September 9, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and 
for the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-60, Body Piercing Regulations, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated September 24, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 

established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive a body piercing or salon license. The board is also 
tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of 
practice that are set forth in the regulation.  

The sole comment received during the public comment period 
supported the continued regulation of the industry. There is 
an ongoing general review of this regulation, started in 2017, 
currently in the proposed stage. The regulation is clearly 
written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation.  

On September 9, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and 
for the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology conducted a small business 
impact review of 18VAC41-70, Esthetics Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology is 
publishing its report of findings dated September 24, 2019, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation. The 
Board for Barbers and Cosmetology provides protection to 
the safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth 
by ensuring that only those individuals who meet specific 
criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations are eligible to 
receive an esthetician, master esthetician, instructor, spa, or 
school license or temporary permit. The board is also tasked 
with ensuring that its regulants meet standards of practice that 
are set forth in the regulation.  

The board received one public comment requesting a new 
type of license, which requires a statutory change. The 
regulation is clearly written, easily understandable, and does 
not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 
regulation. The most recent comprehensive regulatory review 
of the regulation took effect in February of 2017.  

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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On September 9, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and 
for the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CEMETERY BOARD 
Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Cemetery Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC47-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Cemetery Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 18, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Cemetery Board to solicit the input of interested parties in the 
formation and development of its regulations. Therefore, the 
continued need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing public participation guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to effectively 
regulate the occupation or profession.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 
2015. On September 18, 2019, the board discussed the 
regulation and for the reasons stated in this section 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed but retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, 
or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Cemetery Board conducted a small business impact review of 
18VAC47-20, Cemetery Board Rules and Regulations, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Cemetery Board is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 18, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Cemetery Board to promulgate regulations. The continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 
regulation would remove the current public protections 
provided by the regulation. The Cemetery Board provides 
protection to the safety and welfare of the citizens of the 
Commonwealth by ensuring that only those individuals who 
meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes and regulations 
are eligible to receive a cemetery company license and sales 
personnel registration. The board is also tasked with ensuring 
that its regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth 
in the regulations.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation.  

The most recent periodic review of the regulation occurred in 
2015. On September 18, 2019, the board discussed the 
regulation and for the reasons stated in this section 
determined that the regulation should not be amended or 
repealed but retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 826-8863, 
or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 
Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Common Interest Community Board conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC48-30, Condominium 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Common Interest 
Community Board is publishing its report of findings dated 
September 17, 2019, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Sections 54.1-2349 and 55-79.98 of the Code of Virginia 
mandate the Common Interest Community Board promulgate 
regulations. The continued need for the regulation is 
established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would remove 
the current public protections provided by the regulation.  

The Common Interest Community Board provides protection 
to the public welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by 
assuring full and fair disclosure in the offering and 
disposition of condominium interests and by establishing 
standards of conduct for condominium declarants.  

No comments or complaints were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation is clearly written, easily 
understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 
with federal or state law or regulation. This regulation 
became effective on August 1, 2015, and this is the first 

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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periodic review of the regulation. On September 5, 2019, the 
board discussed the regulation and for the reasons stated in 
this section determined through proper unanimous vote that 
the regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained 
in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 
Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 
FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC80-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines, and determined that this regulation 
should be retained in its current form. The Board for Hearing 
Aid Specialists and Opticians is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 24, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
board solicit the input of interested parties in the formation 
and development of its regulations. Therefore the continued 
need for the regulation is established in statute. The 
regulation is necessary to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare by establishing public participation guidelines that 
promote public involvement in the development, amendment, 
or repeal of an agency's regulation. By soliciting the input of 
interested parties, the board is better equipped to effectively 
regulate the occupation or profession. Since no complaints or 
comments were received during the public comment period, 
there does not appear to be a reason to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 
contravene federal or state law or regulation. The last periodic 
review of this regulation occurred in 2015.  

On August 7, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and, 
for the reasons stated in this section, determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed, but should be 
retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Hearing Aid Specialists 
and Opticians, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC80-20, Hearing Aid 
Specialists Regulations, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The Board for Hearing 
Aid Specialists and Opticians is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 24, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians to 
promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 
is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would 
remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 
Opticians provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 
individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 
and regulations are eligible to receive a hearing aid specialist 
license. The board is also tasked with ensuring that its 
regulants meet standards of practice that are set forth in the 
regulations.  

Since no complaints or comments were received during the 
public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 
to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent comprehensive regulatory review of the 
regulation took effect in February of 2017.  

On August 8, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and for 
the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Hearing Aid Specialists 
and Opticians, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians conducted a small 
business impact review of 18VAC80-30, Opticians 
Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Board for Hearing Aid 
Specialists and Opticians is publishing its report of findings 
dated September 24, 2019, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia mandates the 
Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians to 
promulgate regulations. The continued need for the regulation 
is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation would 
remove the current public protections provided by the 
regulation. The Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and 
Opticians provides protection to the safety and welfare of the 
citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that only those 
individuals who meet specific criteria set forth in the statutes 
and regulations are eligible to receive an optician license. The 
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board is also tasked with ensuring that its regulants meet 
standards of practice that are set forth in the regulation.  

Since no complaints or comments were received during the 
public comment period, there does not appear to be a reason 
to amend or repeal the regulation. The regulation is clearly 
written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The most recent comprehensive regulatory review of the 
regulation occurred in 2012.  

On August 8, 2019, the board reviewed the regulation and for 
the reasons stated in this section determined that the 
regulation should not be amended or repealed but retained in 
its current form. 

Contact Information: Stephen Kirschner, Regulatory 
Operations Administrator, Board for Hearing Aid Specialists 
and Opticians, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 
VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, 
or email hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 
Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Real Estate Board is conducting a periodic review and small 
business impact review of each listed regulation. The review 
of each regulation will be guided by the principles in 
Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

18VAC135-11, Public Participation Guidelines 

18VAC135-20, Virginia Real Estate Board Licensing 
Regulations 

18VAC135-50, Fair Housing Regulations 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 14, 2019, and ends 
November 4, 2019. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Christine Martine, Executive Director, 
Real Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (866) 
826-8863, or email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of the review will be posted 
on the Town Hall and a report of the small business impact 
review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending 12VAC5-381, Regulation for the 
Licensure of Home Care Organizations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to assess all current regulation content, 
including the informed consent contract, the qualifications 
and supervision of licensed and nonlicensed personnel, the 
complaint procedure for consumers, the provision and 
coordination of treatment and services provided by the 
organization, the clinical records kept by the organization, the 
utilization and quality control review procedures, and the 
arrangements for the continuing evaluation of the quality of 
care provided. This action may address comments received 
during the public comment period for this notice and 
subsequent stages of this action. 

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 
16, 2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 
impact review of this regulation to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 
small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 
applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 
understandable. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-162.12 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Robert Payne, Director, Office of Licensure 
and Certification, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23230-4920, 
telephone (804) 367-2109, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 
robert.payne@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6178; Filed September 23, 2019, 3:45 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medical Assistance 
Services intends to consider amending 12VAC30-20, 
Administration of Medical Assistance Services. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to establish a more 
formalized process by which to address administrative 
settlement agreements in a timely fashion. The proposed 
action will include (i) in 12VAC30-20-550, establishing the 
process for settlement agreement resolution between a 
Medicaid provider and the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services and (ii) amendments to the existing timelines, 
consistent with the new settlement agreement procedures, for 
issuing the informal decision in an informal administrative 
appeal or the recommended decision of the hearing officer in 
a formal administrative appeal. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5615; Filed September 18, 2019, 12:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Dentistry intends to 
consider amending 18VAC60-25, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dental Hygiene. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to adopt the protocol for dental hygienists 
employed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services practicing under remote supervision 
of a dentist in accordance with Chapter 86 of the 2019 Acts of 
Assembly. The proposed action would also correct citations 
and update the protocol for the remote supervision of dental 
hygienists employed by the Virginia Department of Health.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
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23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6044; Filed September 30, 2019, 10:32 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Medicine intends to 
consider amending 18VAC85-50, Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to comply with amendments to the Code of 
Virginia, pursuant to Chapters 92 and 137 of the 2019 Acts of 
Assembly, that replace practice by a physician assistant under 
the supervision of a physician or a podiatrist with practice in 
collaboration and consultation with a patient care team 
physician or patient care team podiatrist.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2951.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6083; Filed September 30, 2019, 10:33 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy 
intends to consider amending 18VAC112-20, Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy. The purpose 
of the proposed action is to adopt amendments necessary for 
participation by Virginia in the Physical Therapy Compact, 
which allows a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant who has obtained a compact privilege to practice in 
the Commonwealth without a Virginia license. To comply 
with compact rules, the proposed amendments require all 
applicants for licensure to have criminal background checks 
and all holders of a compact privilege to adhere to the laws 
and regulations governing practice in Virginia. As permitted 
by compact rules, the proposed amendments set the fee to 
obtain and renew a compact privilege in Virginia at $50, 
which is similar to the fee charged by other states. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6119; Filed September 18, 2019, 1:42 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 
exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 
eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-50. Candidate Qualification 
(adding 1VAC20-50-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 24.2-103 and 24.2-506 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: David Nichols, Director of Election 
Services, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8952, or email 
david.nichols@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As required by Chapter 682 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, 
the amendment establishes (i) the requirement that entities 
that review petition signatures capture the names of 
canceled voters from the petition on a list and retain this 
list with the candidate's petition page and (ii) that the 
reviewing entity may provide this information to 
appropriate authorities.  

1VAC20-50-40. Review of canceled voter petition. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of § 24.2-506 B of the Code 
of Virginia, in the event a petition signer's voter registration 
status is canceled at the time of processing petition 
signatures: 

1. The petition signer's name and reason for cancelation 
must be recorded on a list. 

2. A list of canceled voter petition signatures must be 
retained by the reviewing entity with the candidate's 
petition page. 

B. The candidate's petition page and the list of canceled 
voter petition signatures may be provided to the appropriate 
authorities pursuant to § 24.2-1016 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6182; Filed September 24, 2019, 4:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 
Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 
(amending 3VAC5-50-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 
Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-
4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) permit advertising of happy hour 
provided the advertisement does not tend to induce minors 
or other individuals who cannot legally drink to drink or to 
encourage persons to drink in excess, (ii) remove 
superfluous provisions that appear in other authority 
regulations, and (iii) add a reminder that the regulation is 
subject to and shall be adhered to in a manner consistent 
with all other authority regulations. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

3VAC5-50-160. Happy hour and related promotions; 
definitions; exceptions.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

1. "Happy hour" means a specified period of time during 
which alcoholic beverages are sold at prices reduced from 
the customary price established by a retail licensee.  

2. "Drink" means any beverage containing the amount of 
alcoholic beverages customarily served to a patron as a 
single serving by a retail licensee.  

B. A licensee may advertise its happy hour so long as the 
advertising does not tend to induce minors or other 
interdicted individuals to drink or encourage persons to 
consume to excess. 

C. No retail licensee shall engage in any of the following 
practices:  
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1. Conducting a happy hour between 9 p.m. of each day 
and 2 a.m. of the following day;  

2. Allowing a person to possess more than two drinks at 
any one time during a happy hour, with the exception of 
flights of wine and beer consisting of samples of not more 
than five different wines or beers or samples of five 
different distilled spirits products provided each distilled 
spirits sample contains no more than one-half ounce of 
distilled spirits;  

3. 2. Increasing the volume of alcoholic beverages 
contained in a drink without increasing proportionately the 
customary or established retail price charged for such 
drink;  

4. 3. Selling two or more drinks for one price, such as "two 
for one" or "three for one";  

5. Selling pitchers of mixed beverages except in 
accordance with 3VAC5-50-60;  

6. Giving away drinks;  

7. 4. Selling an unlimited number of drinks for one price, 
such as "all you can drink for $5.00"; 8. Advertising happy 
hour anywhere other than within the interior of the licensed 
premises, except that a licensee may use the term "Happy 
Hour" or "Drink Specials," a list of the alcoholic beverage 
products featured during a happy hour as well as the time 
period within which alcoholic beverages are being sold at 
reduced prices in any otherwise lawful advertisement; or  

9. 5. Establishing a customary retail price for any drink at a 
markup over cost significantly less than that applied to 
other beverages of similar type, quality, or volume.  

C. D. This regulation section shall not apply to prearranged 
private parties, functions, or events, not open to the public, 
where the guests thereof are served in a room [ or rooms ] 
designated and used exclusively for private parties, functions, 
or events.  

E. This section is subject to and shall be adhered to in a 
manner consistent with all other regulations of the authority. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5585; Filed September 18, 2019, 11:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 

RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 
of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-80 through 
4VAC20-252-110, 4VAC20-252-135).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) lower the recreational striped bass 
possession limits and change the recreational striped bass 
size limits in the Chesapeake Bay area and (ii) establish 
maximum gill net mesh size requirements for commercial 
striped bass in the Chesapeake Bay and coastal areas. 

4VAC20-252-80. Bay spring/summer striped bass 
recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Bay spring/summer striped bass 
recreational fishery shall be May 16 through June 15 
inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 
Bay and its tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 
total length, and the maximum size limit for this fishery shall 
be 28 inches total length.  

D. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two one fish 
per person.  

4VAC20-252-90. Bay fall striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the bay fall striped bass recreational 
fishery shall be October 4 through December 31, inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 
Bay and its tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 
total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 36 
inches total length; however, the maximum size limit shall 
only apply to one fish of the possession limit.  

E. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two one fish 
per person.  

4VAC20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries summer/fall 
striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries 
summer/fall striped bass fishery shall correspond to the open 
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summer/fall season as established by the Potomac River 
Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River, 
except as provided in subsection D of this section.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Potomac River 
tributaries.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 inches 
total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 
inches total length from From May 16 through June 15 the 
maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 inches total 
length.  

E. From June 16 through December 31 the maximum size 
limit for this fishery shall be 36 inches total length. 

F. The possession limit for this fishery shall be two one fish 
per person.  

4VAC20-252-110. Coastal striped bass recreational 
fishery.  

A. The open seasons for the coastal striped bass recreational 
fishery shall be January 1 through March 31 and May 16 
through December 31, inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the coastal area as 
defined in this chapter.  

C. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 inches 
total length.  

D. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 36 
inches total length.  

E. The possession limit for this fishery shall be one fish per 
person per day.  

4VAC20-252-135. Gill net mesh size and tending 
restrictions: exemptions.  

A. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 
harvest striped bass from the coastal area in accordance with 
4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes any gill net in 
the coastal area shall be prohibited from using a gill net mesh 
size greater than nine inches in stretched mesh. 

B. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 
harvest striped bass from the coastal area in accordance with 
4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes any gill net in 
the coastal area shall be exempt from the maximum gill net 
mesh size requirements during November and December as 
described in 4VAC20-430-65 A and B.  

B. C. Any registered commercial fisherman who is 
permitted to harvest striped bass from the coastal area in 
accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes 
any gill net seven inches or greater in stretched mesh in the 
coastal area shall be exempt from the tending requirements 
described in 4VAC20-430-65 E and F during the months of 
November and December.  

C. D. Any registered commercial fisherman who is 
permitted to harvest striped bass from the coastal area in 
accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C shall display an 
optic yellow flag issued by the commission while fishing for 
striped bass in the coastal area and while transiting the coastal 
area before and after a striped bass fishing trip. This flag shall 
be prominently displayed on the starboard side of the vessel.  

E. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 
harvest striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay area in 
accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes 
any gill net in the Chesapeake Bay area shall be prohibited 
from using a gill net greater than seven inches in stretched 
mesh with the exception of restricted areas as defined in 
4VAC20-751-20.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6144; Filed September 25, 2019, 10:23 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-510. Pertaining to Amberjack 
and Cobia (amending 4VAC20-510-25).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 25, 2019, through October 24, 
2019. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248 or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The amendment establishes a closure date for the 
commercial cobia fishery on October 1, 2019.  

4VAC20-510-25. Commercial fishery possession limits 
and season. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 
to possess more than two amberjack or more than two cobia 
at any time, except as described in 4VAC20-510-33. Any 
amberjack or cobia caught after the possession limit has been 
reached shall be returned to the water immediately. When 
fishing from any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held 
in a common hold or container, the possession limit shall be 
for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number of 
valid commercial fisherman registration licensees on board 
multiplied by two, except there is a maximum vessel limit of 
six cobia per vessel per day. The captain or operator of the 
boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 
possession limit. 

B. In 2018 2019 it shall be unlawful for any person fishing 
commercially to harvest or possess any cobia after September 
30. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6183; Filed September 25, 2019, 8:11 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 
Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 25, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

For summer flounder commercially harvested offshore 
(federal waters) and landed in Virginia, the amendments 
set for fall 2019 (i) the landing dates as October 1 through 
November 15 and November 16 through December 31 and 
(ii) the possession and landing limits as 10,000 pounds. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 
landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 
flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 
following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, and E, 
and F of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 
croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 
black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 
combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 
point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 
possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 
possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 
vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 
possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 
of that possession limit, except as described in subsection J K 
of this section. 

C. From March 1 through April 19, it shall be unlawful for 
any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 
waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 
Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 
New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 
summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 
than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From October 16 1 through December 31 November 15, 
it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 
flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 
following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 
Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 
New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 7,000 10,000 
pounds of summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 
than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From November 16 through December 31, it shall be 
unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 
of Virginia waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 
of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 
landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 
and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 
landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 
summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 
than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. F. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or 
vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium 
permit and owned and operated by a legal Virginia 
Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a 
Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted 
to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of summer 
flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

F. G. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 
buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 
total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 
summer flounder in Virginia. 

G. H. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 
determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 
customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood 
buyer or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in 
pounds found in excess of any possession limit described in 
this section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 
chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 
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any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 
violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 
been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 
or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 
in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 
chapter, except as described by subsection J K of this section. 
A buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder 
from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that 
vessel has satisfied the requirements described in subsection J 
K of this section.  

H. I. If a person violates the possession limits described in 
this section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that 
person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 
summer flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 
appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 
confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 
confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 
bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 
approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 
will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived from 
such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 
court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 
limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 
will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 
forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

I. J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 
federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 
Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 
offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 
The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 
the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 
in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 
anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 
of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 
summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 
the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 
report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 
flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 
from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 
flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

J. K. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 
safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 
that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 
in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 
limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 
quota.  

K. L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 
described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 
announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 
flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 
but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 
Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 
waters.  

L. M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 
flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 
vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 
has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 
described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6184; Filed September 25, 2019, 8:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 
B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 
relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-180. Virginia Foster Care 
Tuition Grant Regulations (adding 8VAC40-180-10 
through 8VAC40-180-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-601 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 
Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 
Education for Virginia, 101 North 14th Street, 9th Floor, 
Monroe Building, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-0571, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 23.1-601 of the Code of Virginia, the 
regulatory action establishes provisions for 
implementation and administration of a financial aid 
program to assist foster care students to attend college, 
including definitions, application procedures, eligibility 
criteria for initial and renewal awards, and information 
about award amounts and restrictions.  

CHAPTER 180 
VIRGINIA FOSTER CARE TUITION GRANT 

REGULATIONS 

8VAC40-180-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Award" means a grant from state or institutional funds 
authorized for the Virginia Foster Care Tuition Grant.  

"Baccalaureate public institution of higher education" means 
Christopher Newport University, George Mason University, 
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James Madison University, Longwood University, the 
University of Mary Washington, Norfolk State University, 
Old Dominion University, Radford University, the University 
of Virginia, the University of Virginia's College at Wise as a 
division of the University of Virginia, Virginia 
Commonwealth University, Virginia Military Institute, 
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Virginia 
State University, and The College of William and Mary in 
Virginia. 

"Comprehensive community college" or "community 
college" means an associate-degree-granting public institution 
of higher education in Virginia governed by the State Board 
of Community Colleges.  

"Cost of attendance" means the sum of tuition, required fees, 
room, board, books and supplies, and other education-related 
expenses as determined by a participating institution for 
purposes of awarding federal Title IV student financial 
assistance. 

"Eligible program" means a degree or certificate program of 
at least one academic year in length or a noncredit workforce 
credential program in a comprehensive community college. 
As used in this section, "academic year" means the 
enrollment period which normally extends from late August 
to May or early June that is normally comprised of two 
semesters (fall and spring) or three quarters (fall, winter, and 
spring). 

"Expected family contribution" or "EFC" means a measure 
of a student's family's financial strength and is calculated 
according to federal aid methodology and used to determine 
eligibility for need-based federal Title IV aid. The institution 
may exercise professional judgment to adjust the student's 
EFC, as permitted under federal law, based on factors that 
affect the family's ability to pay. For students eligible for a 
state award but the federal processor has not calculated the 
student's EFC, the institution shall calculate the student's EFC 
using the appropriate federal EFC worksheet. 

"Financial need" means any positive difference between a 
student's cost of attendance and the student's expected family 
contribution. 

"Free Application for Federal Student Aid" or "FAFSA" 
means the needs analysis form submitted to the United States 
Department of Education, which is completed annually by 
students applying for federal Title IV student financial 
assistance and need-based financial aid programs sponsored 
by the Commonwealth of Virginia and that result in the 
calculation of the expected family contribution.  

"Full-time student for more than five years" means that the 
recipient must not have completed in excess of 120 semester 
hours or its equivalent.  

"Gift aid" means grants, scholarships, tuition waivers, or 
other forms of aid that do not need to be repaid and excludes 
loans or work-study. 

"Half-time enrollment" means enrolling into a minimum of 
six credit hours for semester-based terms or its equivalent.  

"Participating institution" means any comprehensive 
community college, any other associate-degree-granting 
public institution of higher education, or baccalaureate public 
institution of higher education.   

"Program" means the Virginia Foster Care Tuition Grant 
program.  

"Satisfactory academic progress" means acceptable progress 
towards completion of an approved course of study, as 
defined by the institution for the purposes of eligibility under 
§ 668 of the Federal Compilation of Student Financial Aid 
Regulations. For purposes of this definition, "approved course 
of study" means a curriculum of courses at the undergraduate 
level leading to a first bachelor's degree. "Approved course of 
study" does not include religious training or theological 
education in programs in the 39.xxxx series, as classified in 
the National Center for Education Statistics' Classification of 
Instructional Programs (CIP).  

"Semester" means a division of an academic year 
approximately 15 to 16 weeks in length from the first day of 
classes through the last day of exams for the fall and spring 
enrollment periods.  

"Term" means the fall semester or quarter, winter quarter, 
spring semester or quarter, or summer session. 

"Tuition and mandatory fees" means the tuition and 
mandatory education and general (E&G) fees and mandatory 
non-E&G fees charged by the institution. 

8VAC40-180-20. Application procedures and eligibility 
criteria for an initial award. 

A. In order to apply for the program, the student must: 

1. Submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid by 
the participating institution's priority filing date or deadline 
and complete the verification process, if applicable; 

2. Be accepted into an associate-degree-granting public 
institution of higher education or baccalaureate public 
institution of higher education; and 

3. Ensure that a document on official Department of Social 
Services letterhead providing dates in foster care, and if 
applicable, an adoption assistance agreement verifying 
special needs adoption, is sent to the institution's financial 
aid office.  

B. To be eligible for an award, the student must: 

1. Be a foster child as supported by documentation from 
the Department of Social Services that includes either (i) 
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dates in foster care or (ii) assistance received for a special 
needs adoption. For the purposes of this chapter, "foster 
child" means one who was in foster care at the time they 
received their high school diploma or general education 
diploma (GED); in the custody of a social service agency 
or a special needs adoption at the time they received their 
high school diploma or GED; or was formerly in foster 
care when turning age 18 years and subsequently received 
a high school diploma or GED; 

2. Have at least half-time enrollment in an eligible 
program; 

3. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia. For the purposes 
of this chapter, "domiciliary resident of Virginia" means a 
student who is determined by a participating institution to 
meet the eligibility requirements specified by § 23.1-502 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia;  

4. Maintain satisfactory academic progress;  

5. Have not been previously enrolled as a full-time student 
for more than five years; 

6. Not hold a bachelor's degree; and 

7. Demonstrate financial need. 

8VAC40-180-30. Amount of awards and award 
restrictions. 

A. Community colleges must provide awards, when 
combined with other gift aid, sufficient to cover, at a 
minimum, tuition and mandatory fees. 

B. Richard Bland College and baccalaureate public 
institutions of higher education may provide awards, when 
combined with other gift aid, sufficient to cover at a 
minimum tuition and mandatory fees.  

C. Awards are subject to the following restrictions:  

1. The award when combined with other gift aid may not 
exceed the student's cost of attendance.  

2. The award when combined with other tuition-only 
awards may not exceed the student's tuition and mandatory 
fees. For the purposes of this chapter, "tuition-only 
awards" means any grants, scholarships, tuition waivers, or 
any other form of aid that does not need to be repaid that 
are designated by the source of the aid to be applied only to 
tuition and mandatory fees. 

3. If an award recipient's enrollment is below half time as 
of the institution's census date, eligibility for the grant is 
lost and must be refunded to the institution. 

D. A student who receives an award and who during a term 
withdraws from the institution that made the award must 
surrender the balance of the award. In determining the earned 
portion of the award that the student may retain, the 
institution shall apply the percentage of earned aid resulting 

from the federal return to Title IV formula to the student's 
award amount.  

E. A student who has a change in enrollment, such as adding 
or dropping one or more courses, must have his award 
reevaluated by the institution to ensure that the award 
conforms with the restrictions under subsection C of this 
section.  

8VAC40-180-40. Use of funds. 

Funding for this program may be designated from either 
institutional appropriations of the Virginia Student Financial 
Assistance Program or institutional funds.  

8VAC40-180-50. Renewability of awards. 

Community colleges must provide for renewal awards. 
Richard Bland College and baccalaureate public institutions 
of higher education may provide for renewal awards. To be 
eligible for a renewal award, the student must:  

1. Meet satisfactory academic progress standards;  

2. Complete the FAFSA or FAFSA renewal form as 
appropriate;  

3. Have at least half-time enrollment in an eligible 
program; 

4. Have not been previously enrolled as a full-time student 
for more than five years;  

5. Not have a prior bachelor's degree;  

6. Demonstrate financial need; and  

7. Meet additional criteria as determined by the 
participating institution. Such requirements may include a 
minimum grade point average, continuous enrollment, or 
full-time enrollment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6124; Filed September 19, 2019, 3:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 
Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-540, 
12VAC30-20-550, 12VAC30-20-560).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Dates: November 14, 2019, through May 13, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
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600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 
from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 
the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  

Chapter 2, Item 303 V 2 and clause (vii) of Item 303 JJ 1 
of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, and 
Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly (appropriation 
acts) direct the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
implement amendments related to appeals administered by 
and for DMAS in order to establish a more formalized 
process by which to address administrative settlement 
agreements in a timely fashion. Item 303 JJ 2 authorizes 
DMAS to promulgate emergency regulations to implement 
these changes.  

In 12VAC30-20-550, the amendments (i) establish the 
process for a settlement agreement resolution between a 
Medicaid provider and DMAS and (ii) adjust the time 
periods set forth in the existing informal and formal appeal 
provisions for consistentcy with the procedures. The 
amendments affect the timelines for issuing the informal 
decision in an informal administrative appeal or a 
recommended decision of the hearing officer in a formal 
administrative appeal. 

12VAC30-20-540. Informal appeals.  

A. Notice of informal appeal. 

1. Providers appealing the termination or denial of their 
Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 E of the Code 
of Virginia shall file a written notice of informal appeal 
with the DMAS Appeals Division within 15 days of the 
provider's receipt of the notice of termination or denial.  

2. Providers appealing adjustments to a cost report shall 
file a written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS 
Appeals Division within 90 days of the provider's receipt 
of the notice of program reimbursement. The written notice 
of informal appeal shall identify the issues, adjustments, or 
items that the provider is appealing. 

3. Providers appealing all other DMAS decisions shall file 
a written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS 
Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's receipt 
of the decision. The written notice of informal appeal shall 
identify each adjustment, patient, service date, or other 
disputed matter that the provider is appealing.  

B. Administrative dismissals. 

1. Failure to timely file a written notice of informal appeal 
with the information required by subdivision A 2 or A 3 of 
this section shall result in an administrative dismissal.  

2. A representative, billing company, or other third-party 
entity filing a written notice of appeal on behalf of a 
provider shall submit to DMAS, at the time of filing or 
upon request, a written authorization to act on the 
provider's behalf, signed by the provider. The authorization 
shall reference the specific adverse action or actions being 
appealed including, if applicable, each patient's name and 
date of service. Failure to submit a written authorization as 
specified in this subdivision shall result in an 
administrative dismissal. This requirement shall not apply 
to an appeal filed by a Virginia licensed attorney. 

3. If a provider has not exhausted any applicable DMAS or 
contractor reconsideration or review process or contractor's 
internal appeals process that the provider is required to 
exhaust before filing a DMAS informal appeal, the 
provider's written notice of informal appeal shall be 
administratively dismissed. 

4. If DMAS has not issued a decision with appeal rights, 
the provider's attempt to file a written notice of informal 
appeal, prior to the issuance of a decision by DMAS that 
has appeal rights, shall be administratively dismissed. 

C. Written case summary. 

1. DMAS shall file a written case summary with the 
DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the 
provider's notice of informal appeal and shall transmit a 
complete copy of the case summary to the provider on the 
same day.  

2. For each adjustment, patient, and service date or other 
disputed matter identified by the provider in its notice of 
informal appeal, the case summary shall explain the factual 
basis upon which DMAS relied in taking its action or 
making its decision and identify any authority or 
documentation upon which DMAS relied in taking its 
action or making its decision. 

3. Failure to file a written case summary with the DMAS 
Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the written 
notice of informal appeal shall result in dismissal in favor 
of the provider.  

4. The provider shall have 12 days following the due date 
of the case summary to file with the DMAS Appeals 
Division and transmit to the author of the case summary a 
written notice of all alleged deficiencies in the case 
summary that the provider knows, or reasonably should 
know, exist. Failure of the provider to timely file a written 
notice of deficiency with the DMAS Appeals Division 
shall be deemed a waiver of all deficiencies, alleged or 
otherwise, with the case summary. 
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5. Upon timely receipt of the provider's notice of 
deficiency, DMAS shall have 12 days to address the 
alleged deficiency or deficiencies. If DMAS does not 
address the alleged deficiency or does not address the 
alleged deficiency to the provider's satisfaction, the alleged 
deficiency or deficiencies shall become an issue to be 
addressed by the informal appeals agent as part of the 
informal appeal decision. 

6. The informal appeals agent shall make a determination 
as to each deficiency that is alleged by the provider as set 
forth in this subsection. In making that determination, the 
informal appeals agent shall determine whether the alleged 
deficiency is such that it could not reasonably be 
determined from the case summary the factual basis and 
authority for the DMAS action, relating to the alleged 
deficiency, so as to require a dismissal in favor of the 
provider on the issue or issues to which the alleged 
deficiency pertains.  

D. Conference. 

1. The informal appeals agent shall conduct the conference 
within 90 days from the filing of the notice of informal 
appeal. If DMAS, the provider, and the informal appeals 
agent agree, the conference may be conducted by way of 
written submissions. If the conference is conducted by way 
of written submissions, the informal appeals agent shall 
specify the time within which the provider may file written 
submissions, not to exceed 90 days from the filing of the 
notice of informal appeal. Only written submissions filed 
within the time specified by the informal appeals agent 
shall be considered.  

2. The conference may be recorded at the discretion of the 
informal appeals agent and solely for the convenience of 
the informal appeals agent. Because the conference is not 
an adversarial or evidentiary proceeding, no other 
recordings or transcriptions shall be permitted. Any 
recordings made for the convenience of the informal 
appeals agent shall not be released to DMAS or to the 
provider. 

3. Upon completion of the conference, the informal appeals 
agent shall specify the time within which the provider may 
file additional documentation or information, if any, not to 
exceed 30 days. Only documentation or information filed 
within the time specified by the informal appeals agent 
shall be considered.  

E. Informal appeals decision. The informal appeal decision 
shall be issued within 180 days of receipt of the notice of 
informal appeal unless the provider and DMAS have 
mutually agreed in writing to stay the timeframe for issuing 
the informal decision pursuant to 12VAC30-20-550.  

F. Remand. Whenever an informal appeal is required 
pursuant to a remand by court order, final agency decision, 
agreement of the parties, or otherwise, all time periods set 

forth in this section shall begin to run effective with the date 
that the document containing the remand is date-stamped by 
the DMAS Appeals Division in Richmond, Virginia. 

12VAC30-20-550. (Reserved.) Settlement agreements. 

A. Providers who have filed an administrative appeal under 
12VAC30-20-540 or 12VAC30-20-560 may submit a 
proposal to DMAS to settle the appeal. 

B. A proposal for a settlement shall be submitted in writing 
by the provider or the provider's counsel to the DMAS 
Appeals Division Director. The proposal shall include the 
justification for the settlement and the terms proposed to 
settle the case. The Appeals Division Director shall refer the 
proposal to a DMAS appeal representative authorized by the 
Office of the Attorney General under § 2.2-509 of the Code 
of Virginia to represent DMAS in administrative proceedings. 

C. Stay of decision deadlines. 

1. Receipt of a settlement proposal from a provider in 
accordance with subsection B of this section shall not 
require the DMAS appeal representative to engage in 
settlement negotiations or agree to stay the deadline for the 
informal appeal decision or for the formal appeal 
recommended decision of the hearing officer (collectively, 
the decision deadline). The DMAS appeal representative 
and the provider may jointly agree in writing to stay the 
decision deadline for a period of up to 60 days to facilitate 
settlement discussions. The date of the written agreement 
of the parties to stay the decision deadline shall be the start 
date for calculating the length of the stay. Written notice of 
the agreement to stay the decision deadline and the length 
of stay shall be provided to the Appeals Division Director 
on the start date. During the stay, the time period to issue 
the informal appeal decision or the formal appeal 
recommended decision shall not run; however, all other 
interim deadlines remain applicable.  

2. If the parties mutually agree in writing to a proposed 
resolution within the agreed upon stay period described in 
subdivision C 1 of this section, then the stay shall be 
extended for such additional time as may be necessary for 
review and approval of the settlement in accordance with 
§ 2.2-514 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. A stay may be removed by a party to the appeal for any 
reason, including the following:  

a. The parties do not agree to a full settlement within the 
agreed upon stay period described in subdivision C 1 of 
this section;  

b. One party advises the other and the Appeals Division 
Director in writing that it no longer agrees for the stay to 
continue; or  
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c. The parties reach a proposed settlement, but the 
proposed settlement is not approved in accordance with 
§ 2.2-514 of the Code of Virginia.  

If the stay is removed, the stay shall be communicated in 
writing between the parties and written notice provided to 
the Appeals Division Director. The time period to issue the 
informal appeal decision or the formal appeal 
recommended decision shall resume on the day the notice 
is provided to the Appeals Division Director.  

12VAC30-20-560. Formal appeals.  

A. A provider appealing a DMAS informal appeal decision 
shall file a written notice of formal appeal with the DMAS 
Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's receipt of 
the informal appeal decision. The notice of formal appeal 
shall identify each adjustment, patient, service date, or other 
disputed matter that the provider is appealing. Failure to file a 
written notice of formal appeal in the detail specified within 
30 days of receipt of the informal appeal decision shall result 
in dismissal of the appeal. Pursuant to § 2.2-4019 A of the 
Code of Virginia, DMAS shall ascertain the fact basis for 
decisions through informal proceedings unless the parties 
consent in writing to waive such a conference or proceeding 
to go directly to a formal hearing, and therefore only issues 
that were addressed pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be addressed in the formal appeal, unless 
DMAS and the provider consent to waive the informal fact-
finding process under § 2.2-4019 A of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Documentary evidence, objections to documentary 
evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs. 

1. Documentary evidence, objections to documentary 
evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs shall be filed 
with the DMAS Appeals Division on the date specified in 
this subsection. The hearing officer shall only consider 
those documents or pleadings that are filed within the 
required timeline. Simultaneous with filing, the filing party 
shall transmit a copy to the other party and to the hearing 
officer. 

a. All documentary evidence upon which DMAS or the 
provider relies shall be filed within 21 days of the filing 
of the notice of formal appeal. 

b. Any objections to the admissibility of documentary 
evidence shall be filed within seven days of the filing of 
the documentary evidence. The hearing officer shall rule 
on any such objections within seven days of the filing of 
the objections. 

c. The opening brief shall be filed by DMAS and the 
provider within 30 days of the completion of the hearing. 

d. Any reply brief from DMAS or the provider shall be 
filed within 10 days of the filing of the opening brief to 
which the reply brief responds. 

2. If there has been an extension to the time for conducting 
the hearing pursuant to subsection C of this section, the 
hearing officer is authorized to alter the due dates for filing 
opening and reply briefs to permit the hearing officer to be 
in compliance with the due date for the submission of the 
recommended decision as required by § 32.1-325.1 B of 
the Code of Virginia and subsection E of this section.  

C. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 45 
days from the filing of the notice of formal appeal, unless the 
hearing officer, DMAS, and the provider all mutually agree to 
extend the time for conducting the hearing. Notwithstanding 
the foregoing, the due date for the hearing officer to submit 
the recommended decision to the DMAS director, as required 
by § 32.1-325.1 B of the Code of Virginia and subsection E 
of this section, shall not be extended or otherwise changed. 

D. Hearings shall be transcribed by a court reporter retained 
by DMAS.  

E. The hearing officer shall submit a recommended decision 
to the DMAS director with a copy to the provider within 120 
days of the filing of the formal appeal notice, unless the 
provider and DMAS have mutually agreed in writing to stay 
the timeframe for issuing the recommended decision pursuant 
to 12VAC30-20-550. If the hearing officer does not submit a 
recommended decision within 120 days of the filing of the 
notice of formal appeal or the period specified under 
12VAC30-20-550, then DMAS shall give written notice to 
the hearing officer and the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court that a recommended decision is due.  

F. Upon receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 
decision, the DMAS director shall notify DMAS and the 
provider in writing that any written exceptions to the hearing 
officer's recommended decision shall be filed with the DMAS 
Appeals Division within 14 days of receipt of the DMAS 
director's letter. Only exceptions filed within 14 days of 
receipt of the DMAS director's letter shall be considered.  

G. The DMAS director shall issue the final agency decision 
within 60 days of receipt of the hearing officer's 
recommended decision in accordance with § 32.1-325.1 B of 
the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5615; Filed September 18, 2019, 12:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 
Community Development is claiming an exemption from 
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
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with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 
in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 
agency discretion is involved. The Board of Housing and 
Community Development will receive, consider, and respond 
to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 
to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 
Program Regulation (amending 13VAC5-112-460).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-541 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 
TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 119 and 496 of the 2019 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendment increases to three the number of 
times the Governor may renew an enterprise zone 
designation.  

Part VIII  
Procedures and Requirements for Zone Designations  

13VAC5-112-460. Procedures for zone application and 
designation.  

A. Upon recommendation of the Director of the Department 
of Housing and Community Development, the Governor may 
designate up to 30 enterprise zones in accordance with the 
provisions of this section. Such designations are to be done in 
coordination with the expiration of existing zones designated 
under earlier Enterprise Zone Program provisions or the 
termination of designations pursuant to 13VAC5-112-510, 
13VAC5-112-520, and 13VAC5-112-530 D.  

B. Applications for zone designation will be solicited by the 
department on a competitive basis in accordance with the 
following procedures and requirements:  

1. An application for zone designation must be submitted 
on Form EZ-1 to the Director, Virginia Department of 
Housing and Community Development, 600 East Main 
Street, Suite 300, Richmond, Virginia 23219, on or before 
the submission deadline established by the department.  

2. Each applicant jurisdiction must hold at least one public 
hearing on the application for zone designation prior to 
submission of the application to the department. 
Notification of the public hearing is to be in accordance 
with § 15.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia, relating to 
advertising of public hearings. An actual copy of the 
advertisement must be included in the application.  

3. In order to be considered in the competitive zone 
designation process, an application from a jurisdiction 
must include all the requested information, be 
accompanied by a resolution of the local governing body, 
and be signed by the chief administrator or the clerk to 
county board of supervisors where there is no chief 
administrator. The chief administrator or clerk, in signing 
the application, must certify that the applicant jurisdiction 
held the public hearing required in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection.  

C. Within 60 days following the application submission 
deadline, the department shall review and the director shall 
recommend to the Governor those applications that meet a 
minimum threshold standard as set by the department and are 
competitively determined to have the greatest potential for 
accomplishing the purposes of the program.  

D. Enterprise zones designated pursuant to § 59.1-542 of the 
Code of Virginia will be designated for an initial 10-year 
period except as provided for in 13VAC5-112-510 and 
13VAC5-112-520. Upon recommendation of the director of 
the department, the Governor may renew zones for up to two 
three five-year renewal periods.  

E. A local governing body whose application for zone 
designation is denied shall be notified and provided with the 
reasons for denial.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6166; Filed September 25, 2019, 8:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following amendments are 
exempt from the Virginia Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 C of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides that minor changes to regulations published in the 
Virginia Administrative Code under the Virginia Register 
Act, Chapter 41 (§ 2.2-4100 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code 
of Virginia, made by the Virginia Code Commission pursuant 
to § 30-150 of the Code of Virginia, shall be exempt from the 
provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act.  

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-395. Rules Governing 
Settlement Agents (amending 14VAC5-395-10, 14VAC5-
395-20, 14VAC5-395-30, 14VAC5-395-70, 14VAC5-395-
75, 14VAC5-395-80).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 55.1-1012 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2019.  
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Agency Contact: Raquel Pino, Insurance Policy Advisor, 
Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 
Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, 
FAX (804) 371-9944, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update citations to the Code of Virginia 
due to the recodification of Title 55 to the Title 55.1 in the 
2019 Session of the General Assembly.  

14VAC5-395-10. Applicability.  

This chapter implements Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 10 
(§ 55.1-1000 et seq.) of Title 55 55.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and applies to all title insurance agents, title insurance 
agencies, and title insurance companies providing escrow, 
closing, or settlement services involving the purchase of or 
lending on the security of any real property in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. 

14VAC5-395-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" or "insurance agent" means an individual or 
business entity that sells, solicits, or negotiates contracts of 
title insurance in the Commonwealth.  

"Bureau" means the State Corporation Commission Bureau 
of Insurance.  

"Business entity" means a partnership, limited partnership, 
limited liability company, corporation, or other legal entity 
other than a sole proprietorship, professional corporation, or 
professional limited liability company. 

"Chapter 27.3 10" means Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 10 
(§ 55.1-1000 et seq.) of Title 55 55.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Designated licensed producer" means an individual who (i) 
possesses a valid license to sell, solicit, or negotiate contracts 
of title insurance in the Commonwealth; (ii) is appointed; (iii) 
is an officer, director, or employee of the business entity; and 
(iv) is responsible for the business entity's compliance with 
the insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this 
Commonwealth. 

"Employee" means an individual (i) whose manner and 
means of performance of work are subject to the right of 
control of, or are controlled by, a person and (ii) whose 
compensation for federal income tax purposes is reported, or 
required to be reported, on a W-2 form issued by the 
controlling person. 

"Escrow, closing, or settlement services" means the 
administrative and clerical services required to carry out the 
terms of contracts affecting real estate. These services include 
(i) placing orders for title insurance; (ii) receiving and issuing 
receipts for money received from the parties; (iii) ordering 

loan checks and payoffs; (iv) ordering surveys and 
inspections; (v) preparing settlement statements or Closing 
Disclosure forms; (vi) determining that all closing documents 
conform to the parties' contract requirements; (vii) setting the 
closing appointment; (viii) following up with the parties to 
ensure that the transaction progresses to closing; (ix) 
ascertaining that the lenders' instructions have been satisfied; 
(x) conducting a closing conference at which the documents 
are executed; (xi) receiving and disbursing funds; (xii) 
completing form documents and instruments selected by and 
in accordance with instructions of the parties to the 
transaction; (xiii) handling or arranging for the recording of 
documents; (xiv) sending recorded documents to the lender; 
(xv) sending the recorded deed and the title policy to the 
buyer; and (xvi) reporting federal income tax information for 
the real estate sale to the Internal Revenue Service. 

"Lay real estate settlement agent" means a person who (i) is 
not licensed as an attorney under Chapter 39 (§ 54.1-3900 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) is not a party 
to the real estate transaction, (iii) provides escrow, closing or 
settlement services in connection with a transaction related to 
any real estate in this Commonwealth, and (iv) is listed as the 
settlement agent on the settlement statement or Closing 
Disclosure for the transaction.  

"Settlement agent" means a person, other than a party to the 
real estate transaction, who provides escrow, closing, or 
settlement services in connection with a transaction related to 
real estate in the Commonwealth and who is listed as the 
settlement agent on the settlement statement or Closing 
Disclosure for the transaction. Any person, other than a party 
to the transaction, who conducts the settlement conference 
and receives or handles money shall be deemed a "settlement 
agent" subject to the applicable requirements of Chapter 27.3 
10 and this chapter.  

"Title insurance agency" or "title insurance agent" means 
any individual or business entity licensed in the 
Commonwealth, pursuant to Chapter 18 (§ 38.2-1800 et seq.) 
of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, as a title insurance agent 
and appointed by a title insurance company licensed in the 
Commonwealth who shall perform all of the following 
services (for which liability arises) relevant to the issuance of 
title insurance policies, subject to the underwriting directives 
and guidelines of the agent's title insurance company. These 
services shall include (i) the evaluation of the title search to 
determine the insurability of the title;, (ii) a determination of 
whether or not underwriting objections have been cleared;, 
(iii) the actual issuance of a title commitment or binder and 
endorsements;, and (iv) the actual issuance of the policy or 
policies and endorsements on behalf of the title insurance 
company. A title insurance agent holding funds in escrow 
shall promptly deposit the funds in a trust account in a 
financial institution authorized to do business in this 
Commonwealth. This trust account shall be separate from all 
other accounts held by the agent. 
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"Title insurance company" means any company licensed to 
transact, or transacting, title insurance in this Commonwealth.  

14VAC5-395-30. Registration.  

A. Every settlement agent shall register with the bureau in 
accordance with the provisions of § 55-525.30 § 55.1-1014 of 
the Code of Virginia.  

B. At the time of application for registration, a settlement 
agent other than a title insurance company shall provide to the 
bureau (i) its certificate of authorization or charter of a 
domestic limited liability company or corporation, or 
certificate of registration or certificate of authority of a 
foreign limited liability company or corporation, as 
applicable; (ii) an original surety bond; and (iii) the name of 
the designated licensed producer.  

C. Within 30 days of registration a settlement agent shall 
furnish to the bureau: 

1. Legal name; 

2. Any fictitious or assumed names; 

3. Principal place of business address; 

4. Addresses of all other business locations; 

5. Telephone numbers; 

6. Escrow account numbers and financial institution 
addresses; 

7. Employee and independent contractor list; 

8. Website or websites;  

9. Affiliated entities; and 

10. Such other information as the bureau may require.  

14VAC5-395-70. Reporting requirements.  

A. Every settlement agent shall make all escrow, closing, or 
settlement records available promptly upon request for 
examination by the bureau without notice during normal 
business hours.  

B. A settlement agent shall maintain documentation that 
supports all entries on the settlement statement or Closing 
Disclosure.  

C. A settlement agent shall promptly respond to a bureau 
request for books, records, documentation, or other 
information in connection with the bureau's investigation, 
enforcement, or examination of the settlement agent's 
compliance with applicable laws and regulations. If no time 
period is specified by the bureau, a written response as well 
as any requested books, records, documentation, or 
information shall be delivered by the settlement agent to the 
bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request.  

D. Within 30 days following the occurrence of any of the 
following events, a settlement agent other than a title 
insurance company shall report to the bureau if:  

1. Any bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership 
proceedings are filed by or against the settlement agent.  

2. Any governmental authority enters a final disposition in 
a regulatory, administrative, or enforcement action against 
the settlement agent. 

3. Any governmental authority revokes or suspends the 
settlement agent's registration, license, or other license for 
a similar business.  

4. Based on allegations by any governmental authority that 
the settlement agent violated any law or regulation 
applicable to the conduct of its licensed business, the 
settlement agent enters into, or otherwise agrees to the 
entry of, a settlement or consent order, decree, or 
agreement with or by such governmental authority. 

5. The settlement agent surrenders its license in another 
state. 

6. The settlement agent is denied a license in another state. 

7. The settlement agent or any of its members, partners, 
directors, officers, principals, employees, or independent 
contractors is convicted of a felony. 

8. Any funds held by the settlement agent are (i) seized by 
or on behalf of any court or governmental instrumentality 
or (ii) forfeited to or on behalf of any court or 
governmental instrumentality. The term "forfeited" shall 
not include the escheatment of funds in accordance with 
The Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act 
(§ 55-210.1 (§ 55.1-2500 et seq. of Title 55 55.1 of the 
Code of Virginia) or the interpleading of funds to a court 
of competent jurisdiction.  

E. A settlement agent shall immediately notify the bureau 
following the loss of (i) a designated licensed producer, (ii) 
required insurance coverage, or (iii) required bond coverage. 

F. A settlement agent or former settlement agent other than a 
title insurance company shall provide the following 
information to the bureau within 10 days after such person's 
title insurance license is surrendered, terminated, suspended, 
or revoked or has lapsed by operation of law, or the licensed 
and registered business is otherwise closed: (i) the names, 
addresses, telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email 
addresses of a designated contact person; (ii) the location of 
the settlement agent's or former settlement agent's records; 
and (iii) any additional information that the bureau may 
reasonably require. A settlement agent or former settlement 
agent other than a title insurance company shall maintain 
current information with the bureau until all escrow funds are 
disbursed and all title policies are issued. 
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G. Sixty days prior to ceasing business, a settlement agent 
shall provide notice to the bureau of its intent to cease 
conducting settlements and the anticipated date of business 
termination.  

H. The reports required by this section shall be in the format 
and contain such additional information as the bureau may 
reasonably require. The bureau may also require additional 
reports that it deems necessary. 

14VAC5-395-75. Operating requirements. 

A settlement agent shall comply with the following 
requirements:  

1. A settlement agent shall continuously maintain the 
requirements and standards for licensure and registration. 

2. A settlement agent shall reconcile its escrow accounts 
monthly. 

3. A settlement agent shall not provide any information to 
the bureau or a consumer that is false, misleading, or 
deceptive. 

4. A settlement agent shall not charge duplicative or 
padded fees for escrow, closing, or settlement services.  

5. A settlement agent shall not engage in any activity that 
directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions 
of Chapter 27.3 10 or this chapter. 

6. Any person, other than a party to the transaction, who 
conducts the settlement conference and receives or handles 
money, including possessing wire transfer authority, shall 
be deemed a "settlement agent" subject to the applicable 
requirements of Chapter 27.3 10 and this chapter.  

7. A designated licensed producer shall be appointed by the 
same title insurance company as its employer settlement 
agent. 

8. A settlement agent shall not use or accept the services of 
a title insurance agent who is an independent contractor 
unless the title insurance agent is licensed and appointed. A 
settlement agent that permits an independent contractor to 
conduct one or more settlement conferences on behalf of 
the settlement agent shall ensure that the independent 
contractor is properly insured and bonded as required by 
Chapter 27.3 10 and this chapter.  

9. A settlement agent that uses the services of a title 
insurance agent who is an independent contractor shall be 
considered the legal principal of the independent contractor 
and shall be liable for any violations of Chapter 27.3 10 or 
this chapter committed by the independent contractor, 
including unintentional conduct, within the scope of 
engagement.  

10. A former settlement agent shall remain subject to the 
provisions of Chapter 27.3 10 and this chapter in 
connection with all settlements that the settlement agent 

performed while licensed and registered, notwithstanding 
the occurrence of any of the following events: 

a. The settlement agent's license is surrendered, 
terminated, suspended, or revoked or has lapsed by 
operation of law; or 

b. The settlement agent ceases conducting settlements. 

11. If a settlement agent or former settlement agent 
disposes of records containing a consumer's personal 
financial information or copies of a consumer's 
identification documents, such records and copies shall be 
disposed of in a secure manner.  

14VAC5-395-80. Enforcement.  

Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 27.3 10 or 
this chapter may result in penalties, license revocation or 
suspension, the entry of a cease and desist order, restitution, 
or other enforcement action.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6168; Filed September 20, 2019, 11:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Safety and Health Codes Board 
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 
Titles of Regulations: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 
Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 
Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-130). 

16VAC25-85. Recording and Reporting Occupational 
Injuries and Illnesses (amending 16VAC25-85-1904.10). 

16VAC25-90. Federal Identical General Industry 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-90-1910.6, 16VAC25-90-
1910.120, 16VAC25-90-1910.1001, Appendices D, E, H to 
16VAC25-90-1910.1001, 16VAC25-90-1910.1017, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1018, Appendices A, C to 16VAC25-90-
1910.1018, 16VAC25-90-1910.1025, 16VAC25-90-
1910.1026, 16VAC25-90-1910.1027, Appendix D to 
16VAC25-90-1910.1027, 16VAC25-90-1910.1028, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1029, Appendices A, B to 16VAC25-90-
1910.1029, 16VAC25-90-1910.1030, 16VAC25-90-
1910.1043, Appendices B-1, B-11, B-111, C, D to 
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16VAC25-90-1910.1043, 16VAC25-90-1910.1044, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1045, 16VAC25-90-1910.1047, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1048, Appendix D to 16VAC25-90-
1910.1048, 16VAC25-90-1910.1050, 16VAC25-90-
1910.1051, Appendix F to 16VAC25-90-1910.1051, 
16VAC25-90-1910.1052, Appendix B to 16VAC25-90-
1910.1052, 16VAC25-90-1910.1053). 

16VAC25-100. Federal Identical Shipyard Employment 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-100-1915.5, 16VAC25-
100-1915.80, 16VAC25-100-1915.1001, Appendices D, E, I 
to 16VAC25-100-1915.1001, 16VAC25-100-1915.1026). 

16VAC25-175. Federal Identical Construction Industry 
Standards (amending 16VAC25-175-1926.6, 16VAC25-
175-1926.50, 16VAC25-175-1926.55, 16VAC25-175-
1926.60, 16VAC25-175-1926.62, 16VAC25-175-1926.64, 
16VAC25-175-1926.104, 16VAC25-175-1926.200, 
16VAC25-175-1926.201, 16VAC25-175-1926.250, 
16VAC25-175-1926.800, 16VAC25-175-1926.1000, 
16VAC25-175-1926.1001, 16VAC25-175-1926.1002, 
16VAC25-175-1926.1003, 16VAC25-175-1926.1101, 
Appendices D, E, I to 16VAC25-175-1926.1101, 16VAC25-
175-1926.1126, 16VAC25-175-1926.1127, 16VAC25-175-
1926.1129, 16VAC25-175-1926.1153; repeal 16VAC25-
175-1926.202, 16VAC25-175-1926.203, Appendix A to 
Subpart W). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia; 
Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: November 15, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Senior Staff Attorney, 
Department of Labor and Industry, 600 East Main Street, 
Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, 
FAX (804) 371-6524, or email holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In a final rule, Standards Improvement Project - IV (SIP-
IV), federal Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) makes 14 revisions to existing 
standards in the recordkeeping, general industry, 
maritime, and construction standards. SIP-IV removes or 
revises outdated, duplicative, unnecessary, and 
inconsistent requirements in OSHA's safety and health 
standards in 29 CFR.  

More specifically, SIP-IV:  

1. Revises § 1904.10(b)(6) of 29 CFR Part 104 
(Occupational Injuries and Illness Recordkeeping and 
Reporting Standards) to assist employers in complying 
with requirements for recording hearing loss by adding a 
cross reference to § 1904.5.  

2. Makes three revisions to Subpart Z (Toxic and 
Hazardous Substances) of Parts 1910, 1915, and 1926 as 
follows: 

a. Remove the requirement that employers provide 
periodic chest X-rays (CXR) to screen for lung cancer 
from Inorganic Arsenic (§ 1910.1018), Coke Oven 
Emissions (§ 1910.1029), and Acrylonitrile 
(§ 1910.1045). OSHA is not removing (i) the requirement 
for a baseline CXR in these or any other standards or (ii) 
the CXR requirements in standards where CXR is used 
for purposes other than screening for lung cancer.  

b. Allow but not require use of digital "CXRs" in the 
medical surveillance provisions of Inorganic Arsenic 
(§ 1910.1018), Coke Oven Emissions (§ 1910.1029), 
Acrylonitrile (§ 1910.1045), Asbestos (§§ 1910.1001, 
1915.1001, 1926.1101), and Cadmium (§§ 1910.1027 
and 1926.1127) and allows other reasonably-sized 
standard X-ray films, such as the 16-inch by 17-inch size, 
to be used in addition to the 14-inch by 17-inch film 
specified in some standards.  

c. Update terminology and references to (i) replace 
''roentgenogram'' with ''X-ray"; (ii) eliminate references 
to semiannual exams for certain employees in the Coke 
Oven Emissions appendices (§ 1910.1029, Appendix 
A(VI) and Appendix B(II)(A)) as these exams were 
eliminated in the second SIP rulemaking (70 FR 1112); 
(iii) in Appendix E of each of its three asbestos standards 
(§§ 1910.1001, 1915.1001, and 1926.1101), update 
terminology and clarify that classification must be in 
accordance with the International Labour Organization 
(ILO) classification system according to the Guidelines 
for the use of the ILO International Classification of 
Radiographs of Pneumoconioses (revised edition 2011); 
and (iv) specify that only ILO standard digital chest 
radiographic images are to be used to classify digital 
CXRs and that digital CXRs are not to be printed out as 
hard copies and then classified.  

3. Makes four revisions to update lung function testing 
requirements found in Subpart Z (Toxic and Hazardous 
Substances) of Part 1910, Cotton Dust Standard 
(§ 1910.1043) including the following:  

a. In § 1910(h)(2)(iii), require an evaluation of forced 
expiratory volume (FEV1), forced vital capacity (FVC), 
and FEV1/FVC against the lower limit of normal and 
percent predicted values to fully characterize possible 
pulmonary impairment in exposed workers, which is 
consistent with generally accepted current practices and 
supported by the National Institute of Occupational 
Safety and Health (NIOSH).  

b. Remove the old Knudson values from Appendix C, 
reserve Appendix C for future use, and modify 
§ 1910.1043(n)(1) to specify that only Appendices B and 
D are mandatory.  

c. Change two subheaders in The Respiratory 
Questionnaire for Non-Textile Workers for the Cotton 
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Industry (Appendix B-II to § 1910.1043), section "B. 
Occupational History Table," column titled ''Tenure of 
Employment'' to read as follows: ''FROM (year)'' and 
''TO (year)''; the "Tenure of Employment" column 
contains boxes in which dates of employment are 
entered. 

d. Make changes to reflect the most recent spirometry 
recommendations from American Thoracic 
Society/European Respiratory Society (ATS/ERS) (Miller 
et al., 2005) in Appendix D to § 1910.1043, which sets 
standards for spirometric measurements of pulmonary 
function.  

4. Removes the term "feral cat" from the definitions in 
§ 1915.80.  

5. Revises § 1926.50 to update the 911 service posting 
requirements consistent with the current status of land-line 
and wireless telephone technologies.  

6. Makes several minor clarifications to § 1926.55, 
including changing the phrase "threshold limit values" 
(TLV) to "permissible exposure limits" (PELs), removing 
confusing phrases, and fixing grammatical errors.  

7. Replaces the entire regulatory text for the Process Safety 
Management of Highly Hazardous Chemicals (PSM) 
Standard for Construction at § 1926.64 with a cross 
reference to the identical general industry standard at 
§ 1910.119.  

8. Revises the minimum breaking strength in the safety 
belts, lifelines, and lanyards standard at § 1926.104(c) 
from 5,400 to 5,000 pounds to conform with the breaking 
strength requirements in the Fall Protection Standard at 
§ 1926.502(d)(9).  

9. Revises Subpart G of Part 1926:  

a. Update the version of Part 6 of the Manual on 
Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) that is 
incorporated by reference to the November 4, 2009, 
MUTCD (2009 Edition), including Revision 1 and 
Revision 2, both dated May 2012 (74 FR 66730, 77 FR 
28455, and 77 FR 28460).  

b. Revise §§ 1926.200 through 1926.203 to (i) delete 
references in §§ 1926.200(g)(2) and 1926.201(a) to the 
1988 Edition and Millennium Edition of the MUTCD and 
insert references to the 2009 Edition, (ii) revise the 
regulatory text of § 1926.200 (g)(1) and (2) to eliminate 
confusion regarding OSHA's interpretation of the 
existing text; (iii) delete § 1926.202 because it duplicates 
the requirements in the revisions to § 1926.200(g); and 
(iv) delete § 1926.203 because the revisions to 
§ 1926.202 make § 1926.203 unnecessary.  

10. Revises § 1926.250(a)(2) to exclude all single-family 
residential structures and woodframed multifamily 

residential structures from the requirement of posting 
maximum safe load limits of floors in storage areas.  

11. Revises Subpart S (Underground Construction, 
Caissons, Cofferdams, and Compressed Air) of Part 1926 
to update § 1926.800(k)(10)(ii) for mobile diesel powered 
equipment used in ''other than gassy operations'' 
underground by requiring compliance only with § 57.5067, 
pertaining to underground metal and nonmetal mines, 
instead of §§ 75.1909, 75.1910, and 75.1911(a) through 
(i), pertaining to underground coal mines. 

12. Revises Subpart W (Rollover Protective Structures; 
Overhead Protection) of Part 1926 by removing the 
provisions that specify the test procedures and 
performance requirements found in §§ 1926.1000, 
1926.1001, 1926.1002, and 1926.1003 and replacing those 
provisions with references to the underlying consensus 
standards from which they were derived. (ISO 3471:2008, 
ISO 5700:2013, ISO 27850:2013.)  

13. Revises Subpart Z of Part 1926 by removing and 
reserving § 1926.1129, which regulated exposure to Coke 
Oven Emissions in Construction; coke oven work is only 
found in general industry.  

14. Makes multiple revisions to paragraphs and 
appendices in Parts 1910, 1915, and 1926 to remove 
Social Security number collection requirements.  

In this regulatory action, the board is adopting this final 
rule and revising 16VAC25-60-130 D to update the 
reference to Part 6 of the MUTCD to the November 4, 
2009 MUTCD, including Revision 1 and Revision 2, both 
dated May 2012.   

Note on Incorporation by Reference: Pursuant to § 2.2-4103 
of the Code of Virginia, 29 CFR Part 1904 (Recording and 
Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses), 29 CFR Part 
1910 (Occupational Safety and Health Standards), 29 CFR 
1915 (Shipyard Employment Standards), and 29 CFR Part 
1926 (Construction Industry Standards) are declared 
documents generally available to the public and appropriate 
for incorporation by reference. For this reason, these 
documents will not be printed in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. A copy of each document is available for 
inspection at the Department of Labor and Industry, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 
23219, and in the office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 
East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Statement of Final Agency Action: On September 17, 2019, 
the Safety and Health Codes Board adopted Phase IV of 
federal OSHA's final rule for the Standards Improvement 
Project, as published in 84 FR 21416 through 84 FR 21598 on 
May 14, 2019, with an effective date of November 15, 2019.  

Federal Terms and State Equivalents: When the regulations as 
set forth in the Standards Improvement Project-Phase IV are 
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applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and 
Industry or to Virginia employers, the following federal terms 
shall be considered to read as follows: 

Federal Terms VOSH Equivalent 

29 CFR VOSH Standard 

Assistant Secretary Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry 

Agency Department 

May 14, 2019 November 15, 2019 

16VAC25-60-130. Construction industry standards.  

A. The occupational safety or health standards adopted as 
rules or regulations by the Virginia Safety and Health Codes 
Board either directly, or by reference, from 29 CFR Part 1926 
shall apply by their own terms to all employers and 
employees engaged in either construction work or 
construction related activities covered by the Virginia State 
Plan for Occupational Safety and Health.  

B. The employer shall comply with the manufacturer's 
specifications and limitations applicable to the operation, 
training, use, installation, inspection, testing, repair and 
maintenance of all machinery, vehicles, tools, materials and 
equipment, unless specifically superseded by a more stringent 
corresponding requirement in 29 CFR Part 1926. The use of 
any machinery, vehicle, tool, material or equipment that is not 
in compliance with any applicable requirement of the 
manufacturer is prohibited, and shall either be identified by 
the employer as unsafe by tagging or locking the controls to 
render them inoperable or be physically removed from its 
place of use or operation.  

C. For the purposes of the applicability of such Part 1926 
standards, the key criteria utilized to make such a decision 
shall be the activities taking place at the worksite, not the 
primary business of the employer. Construction work shall 
generally include any building, altering, repairing, improving, 
demolishing, painting or decorating any structure, building, 
highway, or roadway and any draining, dredging, excavation, 
grading or similar work upon real property. Construction also 
generally includes work performed in traditional construction 
trades such as carpentry, roofing, masonry work, plumbing, 
trenching and excavating, tunneling, and electrical work. 
Construction does not include maintenance, alteration or 
repair of mechanical devices, machinery, or equipment, even 
when the mechanical device, machinery or equipment is part 
of a pre-existing structure.  

D. The employer shall comply with the Virginia Department 
of Transportation (VDOT) Work Area Protection Manual in 
lieu of the federal Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 
Devices (Part VI of the MUTCD, 1988 2009 Edition, 
Revision 3 1 dated May 2012 and Revision 2 dated May 
2012, or Part VI of the MUTCD, Millennium Edition - 

referenced in 16VAC25-175-1926.200 through 16VAC25-
175-1926.202) and 16VAC25-175-1926.201) when working 
under a contract for construction, repair, or maintenance 
between the employer and the Commonwealth; agencies, 
authorities, or instrumentalities of the Commonwealth; or any 
political subdivision or public body of the Commonwealth 
when such contract stipulates employer compliance with the 
VDOT Work Area Protection Manual in effect at the time of 
contractual agreement. 

E. Certain standards of 29 CFR Part 1910 have been 
determined by federal OSHA to be applicable to construction 
and have been adopted for this application by the board.  

F. The standards adopted from 29 CFR Part 1910.19 and 
29 CFR Part 1910.20 containing respectively, special 
provisions regarding air contaminants and requirements 
concerning access to employee exposure and medical records 
shall apply to construction work as well as general industry.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6163; Filed September 23, 2019, 10:21 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-
40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 1, 2019, through March 31, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 86 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments (i) adopt a protocol for dental hygienists 
employed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services practicing under remote 
supervision of a dentist, (ii) update the protocol for remote 
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supervision of dental hygienists employed by the Virginia 
Department of Health, and (iii) correct a citation. 

Part II 
Practice of Dental Hygiene 

18VAC60-25-40. Scope of practice. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code, a licensed dental 
hygienist may perform services that are educational, 
diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive under the direction and 
indirect, or general, or remote supervision of a licensed 
dentist. 

B. The following duties of a dentist shall not be delegated: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 
tissue, except as may be permitted by subdivisions C 1 and 
D 1 of this section; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 
medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 
requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 C may parenterally 
administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 
years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 
prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 
patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia 
and moderate sedation; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 
removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 
mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 
and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 
assistants II with advanced training as specified in 
18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 
and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 
preparation for final cementation. 

C. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 
hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 
indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 
and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 
rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 
lasers with any sedation or anesthesia administered.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 
surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 
lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 
for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 
dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 
requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

D. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 
hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 
or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 
§ 54.1-2722 D of the Code to be performed under general 
supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planning, or gingival curettage of natural 
and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 
rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 
lasers with or without topical oral anesthetics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 
polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 
surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 
lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 
for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival and gingival 
application of topical Schedule VI medicinal agents 
pursuant to § 54.1-3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 
the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 
dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 
in subsection B of this section and those restricted to 
indirect supervision in subsection C of this section.  

E. The following duties may only be delegated under the 
direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 
assistant II: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 
slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after 
adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

F. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 
of Health may provide educational and preventative dental 
care under remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 D 
§ 54.1-2722 E of the Code, of a dentist employed by the 
Virginia Department of Health and in accordance with the 
protocol adopted by the Commissioner of Health Protocol 
adopted by Virginia Department of Health (VDH) for Dental 
Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 
Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, September 
2012 May 2019, which is hereby incorporated by reference.  
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G. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 
may provide educational and preventative dental care under 
remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 E of the Code, 
of a dentist employed by DBHDS and in accordance with the 
Protocol for Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) Dental Hygienists to 
Practice in an Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision 
by DBHDS Dentists, May 2019, which is hereby incorporated 
by reference.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(18VAC60-25) 

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health for 
Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 
Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, September 
2012  

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 
for Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity 
under Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, May 
2019 

Protocol for Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS) Dental Hygienists to 
Practice in an Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision 
by DBHDS Dentists, May 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6044; Filed September 30, 2019, 10:32 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-
50-10, 18VAC85-50-35, 18VAC85-50-40, 18VAC85-50-57, 
18VAC85-50-101, 18VAC85-50-110, 18VAC85-50-115, 
18VAC85-50-117, 18VAC85-50-140, 18VAC85-50-160, 
18VAC85-50-181).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2951.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: October 1, 2019, through March 31, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 
527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 
federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 
be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 
regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia.  

Chapters 92 and 137 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly 
establish the role of "patient care team podiatrist" as a 
provider of management and leadership to physician 
assistants in the care of patients as part of a patient care 
team and modify the supervision requirements for 
physician assistants by establishing a patient care team 
model.  

This emergency action replaces practice by a physician 
assistant under the supervision of a physician or a 
podiatrist with practice in collaboration and consultation 
with a patient care team physician or patient care team 
podiatrist. 

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC85-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:  

"Board."  

"Collaboration." 

"Consultation." 

"Patient care team physician." 

"Patient care team podiatrist." 

"Physician assistant."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Group practice" means the practice of a group of two or 
more doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by 
the board who practice as a partnership or professional 
corporation.  

"Institution" means a hospital, nursing home or other health 
care facility, community health center, public health center, 
industrial medicine or corporation clinic, a medical service 
facility, student health center, or other setting approved by the 
board.  

"NCCPA" means the National Commission on Certification 
of Physician Assistants.  

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic 
agreement developed by the supervising patient care team 
physician or podiatrist and the physician assistant that defines 
the supervisory relationship between the physician assistant 
and the physician or podiatrist, the prescriptive authority of 
the physician assistant, and the circumstances under which 
the physician or podiatrist will see and evaluate the patient.  

"Supervision" means the supervising physician has on-
going, regular communication with the physician assistant on 
the care and treatment of patients, is easily available, and can 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98bf8006044%7E1.docx&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98bf8006044%7E1.docx&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98bf8006044%7E1.docx&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=98bf8006044%7E1.docx&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab20006044%7E2).doc&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab20006044%7E2).doc&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab20006044%7E2).doc&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3ab20006044%7E2).doc&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/msword
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be physically present or accessible for consultation with the 
physician assistant within one hour. 

18VAC85-50-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 
refundable:  

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the 
time application is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 
$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 
payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of 
the licensee. For 2019, the fee for renewal of an active 
license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 
license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 
one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months 
from the date of issuance and may be renewed without 
charge by receipt of a renewal application that verifies that 
the physician assistant continues to comply with provisions 
of § 54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 
submitted following initial licensure shall be $15.  

6. 5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to 
§ 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. 6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the 
fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. 7. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

9. 8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 
another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

10. 9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal 
of a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 
licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 
licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

Part II  
Requirements for Practice as a Physician's Assistant  

18VAC85-50-40. General requirements.  

A. No person shall practice as a physician assistant in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia except as provided in this 
chapter.  

B. All services rendered by a physician assistant shall be 
performed only under the continuous supervision of in 
accordance with a practice agreement with a doctor of 
medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by this board to 
practice in the Commonwealth.  

18VAC85-50-57. Discontinuation of employment.  

If for any reason the physician assistant discontinues 
working in the employment and under the supervision of a 
licensed practitioner with a patient care team physician or 
podiatrist, a new practice agreement shall be entered into in 
order for the physician assistant either to be reemployed by 
the same practitioner or to accept new employment with 
another supervising physician patient care team physician or 
podiatrist.  

Part IV  
Practice Requirements  

18VAC85-50-101. Requirements for a practice agreement.  

A. Prior to initiation of practice, a physician assistant and his 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist shall 
enter into a written or electronic practice agreement that 
spells out the roles and functions of the assistant and is 
consistent with provisions of § 54.1-2952 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

1. The supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist 
shall be a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry 
licensed in the Commonwealth who has accepted 
responsibility for the supervision of the service that a 
physician assistant renders. 

2. Any such practice agreement shall take into account 
such factors as the physician assistant's level of 
competence, the number of patients, the types of illness 
treated by the physician or podiatrist, the nature of the 
treatment, special procedures, and the nature of the 
physician or podiatrist availability in ensuring direct 
physician or podiatrist involvement at an early stage and 
regularly thereafter.  

3. The practice agreement shall also provide an evaluation 
process for the physician assistant's performance, including 
a requirement specifying the time period, proportionate to 
the acuity of care and practice setting, within which the 
supervising physician or podiatrist shall review the record 
of services rendered by the physician assistant.  

4. The practice agreement may include requirements for 
periodic site visits by supervising licensees who supervise 
and direct the patient care team physician or podiatrist to 
collaborate and consult with physician assistants who 
provide services at a location other than where the licensee 
physician or podiatrist regularly practices. 

B. The board may require information regarding the level 
degree of supervision with which the supervising 
collaboration and consultation by the patient care team 
physician plans to supervise the physician assistant for 
selected tasks or podiatrist. The board may also require the 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist to 
document the physician assistant's competence in performing 
such tasks.  
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C. If the role of the physician assistant includes prescribing 
drugs and devices, the written practice agreement shall 
include those schedules and categories of drugs and devices 
that are within the scope of practice and proficiency of the 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist. 

D. If the initial practice agreement did not include 
prescriptive authority, there shall be an addendum to the 
practice agreement for prescriptive authority. 

E. If there are any changes in supervision consultation and 
collaboration, authorization, or scope of practice, a revised 
practice agreement shall be entered into at the time of the 
change.  

18VAC85-50-110. Responsibilities of the supervisor 
patient care team physician or podiatrist.  

The supervising physician patient care team physician or 
podiatrist shall:  

1. Review the clinical course and treatment plan for any 
patient who presents for the same acute complaint twice in 
a single episode of care and has failed to improve as 
expected. The supervising physician or podiatrist shall be 
involved with any patient with a continuing illness as noted 
in the written or electronic practice agreement for the 
evaluation process.  

2. Be responsible for all invasive procedures.  

a. Under supervision, a physician assistant may insert a 
nasogastric tube, bladder catheter, needle, or peripheral 
intravenous catheter, but not a flow-directed catheter, and 
may perform minor suturing, venipuncture, and 
subcutaneous intramuscular or intravenous injection.  

b. All other invasive procedures not listed in subdivision 
2 a of this section must be performed under supervision 
with the physician in the room unless, after directly 
observing the performance of a specific invasive 
procedure three times or more, the supervising patient 
care team physician or podiatrist attests on the practice 
agreement to the competence of the physician assistant to 
perform the specific procedure without direct observation 
and supervision. 

3. Be responsible for all prescriptions issued by the 
physician assistant and attest to the competence of the 
assistant to prescribe drugs and devices.  

4. Be available at all times to collaborate and consult with 
the physician assistant. 

18VAC85-50-115. Responsibilities of the physician 
assistant.  

A. The physician assistant shall not render independent 
health care and shall:  

1. Perform only those medical care services that are within 
the scope of the practice and proficiency of the supervising 

patient care team physician or podiatrist as prescribed in 
the physician assistant's practice agreement. When a 
physician assistant is to be supervised by an alternate 
supervising physician working outside the scope of 
specialty of the supervising patient care team physician or 
podiatrist, then the physician assistant's functions shall be 
limited to those areas not requiring specialized clinical 
judgment, unless a separate practice agreement has been 
executed for that alternate supervising patient care team 
physician or podiatrist.  

2. Prescribe only those drugs and devices as allowed in 
Part V (18VAC85-50-130 et seq.) of this chapter.  

3. Wear during the course of performing his duties 
identification showing clearly that he is a physician 
assistant.  

B. An alternate supervising patient care team physician or 
podiatrist shall be a member of the same group, professional 
corporation, or partnership of any licensee who supervises is 
the patient care team physician or podiatrist for a physician 
assistant or shall be a member of the same hospital or 
commercial enterprise with the supervising patient care team 
physician or podiatrist. Such alternating supervising 
physician or podiatrist shall be a physician or podiatrist 
licensed in the Commonwealth who has accepted 
responsibility for the supervision of the service that a 
physician assistant renders. 

C. If, due to illness, vacation, or unexpected absence, the 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist or 
alternate supervising physician or podiatrist is unable to 
supervise the activities of his physician assistant, such 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist may 
temporarily delegate the responsibility to another doctor of 
medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry.  

Temporary coverage may not exceed four weeks unless 
special permission is granted by the board.  

D. With respect to physician assistants employed by 
institutions, the following additional regulations shall apply:  

1. No physician assistant may render care to a patient 
unless the physician or podiatrist responsible for that 
patient has signed the practice agreement to act as 
supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist for 
that physician assistant.  

2. Any such practice agreement as described in subdivision 
1 of this subsection shall delineate the duties which said 
patient care team physician or podiatrist authorizes the 
physician assistant to perform.  

3. The physician assistant shall, as soon as circumstances 
may dictate, report an acute or significant finding or 
change in clinical status to the supervising physician 
concerning the examination of the patient. The physician 
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assistant shall also record his findings in appropriate 
institutional records.  

E. Practice by a physician assistant in a hospital, including 
an emergency department, shall be in accordance with § 54.1-
2952 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC85-50-117. Authorization to use fluoroscopy. 

A physician assistant working under the supervision of a 
practice agreement with a licensed doctor of medicine or 
osteopathy specializing in the field of radiology is authorized 
to use fluoroscopy for guidance of diagnostic and therapeutic 
procedures provided such activity is specified in his protocol 
and he has met the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of at least 40 hours of structured didactic 
educational instruction and at least 40 hours of supervised 
clinical experience as set forth in the Fluoroscopy 
Educational Framework for the Physician Assistant created 
by the American Academy of Physician Assistants 
(AAPA) and the American Society of Radiologic 
Technologists (ASRT); and 

2. Successful passage of the American Registry of 
Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Fluoroscopy 
Examination.  

18VAC85-50-140. Approved drugs and devices.  

A. The approved drugs and devices which the physician 
assistant with prescriptive authority may prescribe, 
administer, or dispense manufacturer's professional samples 
shall be in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2952.1 of the 
Code of Virginia:  

B. The physician assistant may prescribe only those 
categories of drugs and devices included in the practice 
agreement. The supervising patient care team physician or 
podiatrist retains the authority to restrict certain drugs within 
these approved categories.  

C. The physician assistant, pursuant to § 54.1-2952.1 of the 
Code of Virginia, shall only dispense manufacturer's 
professional samples or administer controlled substances in 
good faith for medical or therapeutic purposes within the 
course of his professional practice.  

18VAC85-50-160. Disclosure.  

A. Each prescription for a Schedule II through V drug shall 
bear the name of the supervising patient care team physician 
or podiatrist and of the physician assistant.  

B. The physician assistant shall disclose to the patient that 
he is a licensed physician assistant, and also the name, 
address and telephone number of the supervising patient care 
team physician or podiatrist. Such disclosure shall either be 
included on the prescription or be given in writing to the 
patient.  

18VAC85-50-181. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss.  

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 
II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control.  

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 
Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 
or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 
conditions are met:  

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are 
performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 
pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 
and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 
indicated, including testing for thyroid function;  

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect 
cardiac function, the physician shall review the results of 
an electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 
days of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity;  

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is 
prescribed and recorded;  

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 
initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss, by the 
prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 
prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 
prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 
made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may 
be necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of 
drug therapy; and  

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 
including the intervals for patient visits and the 
continuation of or any subsequent changes in 
pharmacotherapy. Continuation of prescribing for 
treatment of obesity shall occur only if the patient has 
continued progress toward achieving or maintaining a 
target weight and has no significant adverse effects from 
the prescribed program.  

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 
supervising patient care team physician, a physician assistant 
may perform the physical examination, review tests, and 
prescribe Schedules III through VI controlled substances for 
treatment of obesity as specified in subsection B of this 
section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6083; Filed September 30, 2019, 10:33 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-5, 
18VAC105-20-70; adding 18VAC105-20-48, 18VAC105-
20-49).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
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Effective Date: November 13, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 
527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to regulations for optometrists 
prescribing controlled substances include (i) provisions for 
the management of acute pain that require prescribing a 
dosage not to exceed seven days and include requirements 
for the evaluation of the patient and limitations on 
quantity; (ii) requirements for prescribing an opioid 
beyond seven days to include a reevaluation of the patient, 
check of the Prescription Monitoring Program, and 
specific information in the patient record; and (iii) if a 
TPA-certified optometrist finds an opioid prescription for 
chronic pain is necessary, a requirement to refer the 
patient to a physician or comply with Board of Medicine 
regulations for managing chronic pain. The amendments 
replace emergency regulations currently in effect.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC105-20-5. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal 
course of a disease or condition for which controlled 
substances may be prescribed for no more than three months. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Optometry.  

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 
the normal course of a disease or condition for which 
controlled substances may be prescribed for a period greater 
than three months. 

"Controlled substance" means drugs listed in the Drug 
Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) in 
Schedules II through V. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"NBEO" means the National Board of Examiners in 
Optometry.  

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 
system within the Department of Health Professions that 
monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"TPA" means therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.  

"TPA certification" means authorization by the Virginia 
Board of Optometry for an optometrist to treat diseases and 

abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa and to 
prescribe and administer certain therapeutic pharmaceutical 
agents.  

18VAC105-20-48. Prescribing an opioid for acute pain. 

A. Nonpharmacologic and non-opioid treatment for pain 
shall be given consideration prior to treatment with opioids. If 
an opioid is considered necessary for the treatment of acute 
pain, a TPA-certified optometrist shall follow the regulations 
for prescribing and treating with opioids.  

B. Prior to initiating treatment with a controlled substance 
containing an opioid for a complaint of acute pain, a TPA-
certified optometrist shall perform a health history and 
physical examination appropriate to the complaint, query the 
Prescription Monitoring Program as set forth in § 54.1-2522.1 
of the Code of Virginia, and conduct an assessment of the 
patient's history and risk of substance abuse. 

C. Initiation of opioid treatment for all patients with acute 
pain shall include the following:  

1. A prescription for an opioid shall be a short-acting 
opioid in the lowest effective dose for the fewest number 
of days, not to exceed seven days as determined by the 
manufacturer's directions for use, unless extenuating 
circumstances are clearly documented in the patient record. 

2. A TPA-certified optometrist shall carefully consider and 
document in the patient record the reasons to exceed 50 
MME per day.  

3. A prescription for naloxone should be considered for 
any patient when any risk factor of prior overdose, 
substance misuse, or concomitant use of benzodiazepine is 
present. 

D. If another prescription for an opioid is to be written 
beyond seven days, a TPA-certified optometrist shall: 

1. Reevaluate the patient and document in the patient 
record the continued need for an opioid prescription; and 

2. Check the patient's prescription history in the 
Prescription Monitoring Program. 

E. The patient record shall include a description of the pain, 
a presumptive diagnosis for the origin of the pain, an 
examination appropriate to the complaint, a treatment plan, 
and the medication prescribed (including date, type, dosage, 
strength, and quantity prescribed). 

F. Due to a higher risk of fatal overdose when opioids are 
prescribed for a patient also taking benzodiazepines, sedative 
hypnotics, tramadol, or carisoprodol, a TPA-certified 
optometrist shall only co-prescribe these substances when 
there are extenuating circumstances and shall document in the 
patient recorda tapering plan to achieve the lowest possible 
effective doses if these medications are prescribed. 
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18VAC105-20-49. Prescribing an opioid for chronic pain. 

If a TPA-certified optometrist treats a patient for whom an 
opioid prescription is necessary for chronic pain, he shall 
either: 

1. Refer the patient to a doctor of medicine or osteopathic 
medicine who is a pain management specialist; or  

2. Comply with regulations of the Board of Medicine, 
18VAC85-21-60 through 18VAC85-21-120, if he chooses 
to manage the chronic pain with an opioid prescription. 

18VAC105-20-70. Requirements for continuing education. 

A. Each license renewal shall be conditioned upon 
submission of evidence to the board of 20 hours of continuing 
education taken by the applicant during the previous license 
period. A licensee who completes more than 20 hours of 
continuing education in a year shall be allowed to carry 
forward up to 10 hours of continuing education for the next 
annual renewal cycle. 

1. The 20 hours may include up to two hours of 
recordkeeping for patient care, including coding for 
diagnostic and treatment devices and procedures or the 
management of an optometry practice, provided that such 
courses are not primarily for the purpose of augmenting the 
licensee's income or promoting the sale of specific 
instruments or products.  

2. For optometrists who are certified in the use of 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, at least 10 of the 
required continuing education hours shall be in the areas of 
ocular and general pharmacology,; diagnosis and treatment 
of the human eye and its adnexa, including treatment with 
new pharmaceutical agents, or; new or advanced clinical 
devices, techniques, modalities, or procedures; or pain 
management. 

3. At least 10 hours shall be obtained through real-time, 
interactive activities, including in-person or electronic 
presentations, provided that during the course of the 
presentation, the licensee and the lecturer may 
communicate with one another.  

4. A licensee may also include up to two hours of training 
in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  

5. Two hours of the 20 hours required for annual renewal 
may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 
without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 
health services through a local health department or a free 
clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 
those services. One hour of continuing education may be 
credited for three hours of providing such volunteer 
services, as documented by the health department or free 
clinic. 

B. Each licensee shall attest to fulfillment of continuing 
education hours on the required annual renewal form. All 

continuing education shall be completed prior to the renewal 
deadline unless an extension or waiver has been granted by 
the Continuing Education Committee. A request for an 
extension or waiver shall be received prior to the renewal 
deadline of each year. 

C. All continuing education courses shall be offered by an 
approved sponsor or accrediting body listed in subsection G 
of this section. Courses that are not approved by a board-
recognized sponsor in advance shall not be accepted for 
continuing education credit. For those courses that have a 
post-test requirement, credit will only be given if the 
optometrist receives a passing grade as indicated on the 
certificate.  

D. Licensees shall maintain continuing education 
documentation for a period of not less than three years. A 
random audit of licensees may be conducted by the board 
which will require that the licensee provide evidence 
substantiating participation in required continuing education 
courses within 14 days of the renewal date.  

E. Documentation of hours shall clearly indicate the name of 
the continuing education provider and its affiliation with an 
approved sponsor or accrediting body as listed in subsection 
G of this section. Documents that do not have the required 
information shall not be accepted by the board for 
determining compliance. Correspondence courses shall be 
credited according to the date on which the post-test was 
graded as indicated on the continuing education certificate.  

F. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing 
competency requirements for the first renewal following the 
date of initial licensure by examination in Virginia.  

G. An approved continuing education course or program, 
whether offered by correspondence, electronically, or in 
person, shall be sponsored, accredited, or approved by one of 
the following:  

1. The American Optometric Association and its 
constituent organizations.  

2. Regional optometric organizations.  

3. State optometric associations and their affiliate local 
societies.  

4. Accredited colleges and universities providing 
optometric or medical courses.  

5. The American Academy of Optometry and its affiliate 
organizations.  

6. The American Academy of Ophthalmology and its 
affiliate organizations.  

7. The Virginia Academy of Optometry.  

8. Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE).  

9. State or federal governmental agencies. 
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10. College of Optometrists in Vision Development.  

11. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical 
Education of the American Medical Association for 
Category 1 credit.  

12. Providers of training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR).  

13. Optometric Extension Program.  

H. In order to maintain approval for continuing education 
courses, providers or sponsors shall:  

1. Provide a certificate of attendance that shows the date, 
location, presenter or lecturer, content hours of the course, 
and contact information of the provider or sponsor for 
verification. The certificate of attendance shall be based on 
verification by the sponsor of the attendee's presence 
throughout the course, either provided by a post-test or by 
a designated monitor.  

2. Maintain documentation about the course and attendance 
for at least three years following its completion. 

I. Falsifying the attestation of compliance with continuing 
education on a renewal form or failure to comply with 
continuing education requirements may subject a licensee to 
disciplinary action by the board, consistent with § 54.1-3215 
of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5205; Filed September 18, 2019, 11:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 
Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 
Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, and Warehousers 
(adding 18VAC110-50-55).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 9, 2019 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 
Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
201, Board Room 2, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: December 13, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. The specific 
authority to promulgate regulations for delivery of medical 
devices is in Chapters 241 and 242 of the 2018 Acts of 
Assembly, which added § 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Purpose: The primary purpose of the proposed action is to 
implement legislative action that allows a permitted 
manufacturer, wholesale distributor, warehouser, nonresident 
warehouser, third-party logistics provider, or nonresident 
third-party logistics provider, or registered nonresident 
manufacturer or nonresident wholesale distributor to deliver 
Schedule VI prescription devices directly to an ultimate user's 
or consumer's residence in accordance with an agreement 
signed with a medical equipment supplier or a medical 
director. 

The goal is to facilitate provision of Schedule VI devices 
more economically and efficiently by allowing delivery to the 
ultimate user or consumer without a party in the middle of the 
transaction having to physically possess and store the devices 
and ensuring existence of an order or request from a 
prescriber for the safety and integrity of prescription devices 
and the protection of the patient or ultimate user. The medical 
equipment supplier may have a valid order from a prescriber 
that is conveyed to a wholesale distributor or other entity with 
whom there is an agreement. Before passage of Chapters 241 
and 242 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, the distributor or 
other entity did not have legal authority to deliver directly to 
the consumer. Likewise, the director of a home health agency 
may now request that oxygen be delivered directly to a 
consumer's residence, rather than the agency possessing and 
storing the oxygen with a subsequent delivery to the 
consumer or patient. 

Substance: Board requirements for delivery of Schedule VI 
devices are intended to implement the provisions of § 54.1-
3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, which requires an agreement 
between the delivering party and a medical equipment 
supplier or a medical director. The agreement can cover 
multiple entities under shared ownership so it does not 
become burdensome but does ensure existence of an order or 
request from a prescriber. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is direct delivery of 
Schedule VI devices from an entity without delays and costs 
associated with interim deliveries. There are no disadvantages 
to the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 
agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 
Pursuant to Chapter 241 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly,1 the 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to permanently allow 
certain regulated entities to deliver Schedule VI medical 
devices directly to a consumer on behalf of an equipment 
supplier. These changes have already been implemented 
under an emergency regulation.2 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact. Pursuant to the 2018 General 
Assembly mandate, the Board proposes to permanently set 
out the requirements for delivery of Schedule VI devices 
directly to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a 
medical equipment supplier upon a valid order from a 
prescriber or upon request from the medical director of home 
health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or 
hospice. 

Schedule VI devices are complex or invasive devices that 
have the potential for harm if incorrectly used (e.g., nebulizer, 
ostomy bags, catheters, etc.). Prior to the emergency 
regulation, direct delivery of these devices to the ultimate 
user was not permitted. A medical supplier would have to 
first obtain the possession of the device then deliver it to the 
ultimate user. Under the new language, a medical supplier can 
enter into agreements with its sources and have the device 
directly delivered to the patient. This change eliminates the 
need to store the equipment at the medical equipment supplier 
and an extra step in the purchase process. Thus, the change 
has the potential to reduce storage/delivery costs and speed up 
the delivery. However, according to the Department of Health 
Professions (DHP), some suppliers had already been 
facilitating direct delivery and are unlikely to be affected 
other than coming into compliance under the new language. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. Currently, there are 28 
manufacturers, 81 wholesale distributors, 98 warehousers, 5 
third-party logistics providers, 134 nonresident 
manufacturers, 673 nonresident wholesale distributors, and 
237 medical suppliers regulated by the Board. DHP has no 
estimate on the number of entities that may take advantage of 
the new delivery model permitted by the proposed changes. 

Localities Particularly Affected. No locality is expected to be 
particularly affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
eliminate the need to store Schedule VI devices at the medical 
suppliers' location and may reduce the demand for labor 
associated with that type of storage. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed changes may benefit some medical equipment 
suppliers in terms of reduced storage/delivery costs which 
would positively affect their asset values. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. How many of the medical equipment 
suppliers are small business is not known. However, the 

proposed amendments may reduce the storage/delivery costs 
for some medical equipment suppliers as discussed above. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 
businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 
localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 
affect other entities. 

_______________________ 
1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0241 
2https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8333 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Chapters 241 and 242 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 
enacted § 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, establish 
the requirements for delivery of Schedule VI devices 
directly to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a 
medical equipment supplier upon a valid order from a 
prescriber or upon request from the medical director of a 
home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 
or hospice. The proposed action adds 18VAC110-50-55 to 
implement Chapters 241 and 242. 

18VAC110-50-55. Delivery of Schedule VI devices. 

A. In accordance with the provisions of subsection A of 
§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 
nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 
wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 
nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 
nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 
Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices 
directly to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a 
medical equipment supplier. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 
agreement between a delivering entity named in this 
subsection and a medical equipment supplier in 
compliance with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 
entity or multiple delivering entities under shared 
ownership and an individual medical equipment supplier or 
multiple medical equipment suppliers under shared 
ownership. The agreement shall be applicable to all 
ultimate users or consumers receiving services from the 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0241
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8333
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medical equipment supplier who require delivery of 
Schedule VI prescription devices. 

3. The medical equipment supplier shall represent to the 
delivering entity that it has complied with the provisions of 
§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding the 
existence of a valid order from a prescriber for the delivery 
of a Schedule VI prescription device to an ultimate user or 
consumer. Validation of orders of prescribers shall be the 
responsibility of the medical equipment supplier upon 
request of the board or delivering entity. 

B. In accordance with the provisions of subsection B of 
§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 
nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 
wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 
nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 
nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 
Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices 
directly to an ultimate user's or consumer's residence to be 
administered by persons authorized to administer such 
devices, provided that (i) such delivery is made on behalf of a 
medical director of a home health agency, nursing home, 
assisted living facility, or hospice who has requested the 
distribution of the Schedule VI prescription device and directs 
the delivery of such device to the ultimate user's or 
consumer's residence and (ii) the medical director on whose 
behalf such Schedule VI prescription device is being 
delivered has entered into an agreement with the 
manufacturer, nonresident manufacturer, wholesale 
distributor, nonresident wholesale distributor, warehouser, 
nonresident warehouser, third-party logistics provider, or 
nonresident third-party logistics provider for such delivery. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 
agreement between a delivering entity authorized in this 
subsection and a medical director of a home health agency, 
nursing home, assisted living facility, or hospice and in 
compliance with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 
entity or multiple delivering entities under shared 
ownership and the medical director of an individual home 
health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or 
hospice, or multiple such entities under shared ownership. 
The agreement shall be applicable to all ultimate users or 
consumers of the home health agency, nursing home, 
assisted living facility, or hospice who require delivery of 
Schedule VI prescription devices.  

3. The home health agency, nursing home, assisted living 
facility, or hospice shall represent to the delivering entity 
that it has complied with provisions of § 54.1-3415.1 of the 
Code of Virginia regarding the existence of a request from 
a prescriber for the delivery of a Schedule VI prescription 
device to an ultimate user or consumer. Validation of the 
request from a prescriber shall be the responsibility of the 

home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 
or hospice upon request of the board or delivering entity. 

C. The agreement, as required by subdivisions A 1 and B 1 
of this section, shall be in written or electronic format and 
shall be retained in a format available upon request to the 
board at all times the agreement is in effect and for two years 
after the date the agreement is terminated or concluded. 

D. An agreement shall not contain any patient specific or 
patient health information that would be subject to the 
provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996, P.L. No. 104-191. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5526; Filed September 18, 2019, 11:59 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-
20-10, 18VAC112-20-27, 18VAC112-20-60, 18VAC112-20-
65, 18VAC112-20-90, 18VAC112-20-130, 18VAC112-20-
140, 18VAC112-20-200; adding 18VAC112-20-82).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 
Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 
527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 
agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 
which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 
requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 
from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 
the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The amendments are necessary for Virginia to participate 
in the Physical Therapy Compact, which allows a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant who has obtained 
a compact privilege to practice in the Commonwealth 
without a Virginia license. To comply with compact rules, 
the amendments require all applicants for licensure to 
have criminal background checks and all holders of a 
compact privilege to adhere to the laws and regulations 
governing practice in Virginia. As permitted by the 
compact rules, the amendments set the fee in Virginia at 
$50, which is similar to the fee charged by other states. 
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Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions.  

In addition to the words and terms defined in § §§ 54.1-3473 
and 54.1-3486 of the Code of Virginia, the following words 
and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Active practice" means a minimum of 160 hours of 
professional practice as a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the 24-month period immediately 
preceding renewal. Active practice may include supervisory, 
administrative, educational, or consultative activities or 
responsibilities for the delivery of such services.  

"Approved program" means an educational program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical 
Therapy Education of the American Physical Therapy 
Association.  

"Assessment tool" means oPTion or any other self-directed 
assessment tool approved by FSBPT. 

"CLEP" means the College Level Examination Program.  

"Compact" means the Physical Therapy Licensure Compact 
(§ 54.1-3485 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 
continuing learning activity exclusive of breaks, meals, or 
vendor exhibits.  

"Direct supervision" means a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant is physically present and immediately 
available and is fully responsible for the physical therapy 
tasks or activities being performed.  

"Discharge" means the discontinuation of interventions in an 
episode of care that have been provided in an unbroken 
sequence in a single practice setting and related to the 
physical therapy interventions for a given condition or 
problem. 

"Evaluation" means a process in which the physical therapist 
makes clinical judgments based on data gathered during an 
examination or screening in order to plan and implement a 
treatment intervention, provide preventive care, reduce risks 
of injury and impairment, or provide for consultation. 

"FCCPT" means the Foreign Credentialing Commission on 
Physical Therapy.  

"FSBPT" means the Federation of State Boards of Physical 
Therapy.  

"General supervision" means a physical therapist shall be 
available for consultation.  

"National examination" means the examinations developed 
and administered by the Federation of State Boards of 

Physical Therapy and approved by the board for licensure as 
a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.  

"Physical Therapy Compact Commission" or "commission" 
means the national administrative body whose membership 
consists of all states that have enacted the compact. 

"Reevaluation" means a process in which the physical 
therapist makes clinical judgments based on data gathered 
during an examination or screening in order to determine a 
patient's response to the treatment plan and care provided. 

"Support personnel" means a person who is performing 
designated routine tasks related to physical therapy under the 
direction and supervision of a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant within the scope of this chapter.  

"TOEFL" means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.  

"Trainee" means a person seeking licensure as a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant who is undergoing a 
traineeship.  

"Traineeship" means a period of active clinical practice 
during which an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist 
or physical therapist assistant works under the direct 
supervision of a physical therapist approved by the board.  

"TSE" means the Test of Spoken English.  

"Type 1" means continuing learning activities offered by an 
approved organization as specified in 18VAC112-20-131.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities which may or 
may not be offered by an approved organization but shall be 
activities considered by the learner to be beneficial to practice 
or to continuing learning.  

18VAC112-20-27. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 
not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 
and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 
paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 
endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 
for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 
shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. 

2. The fee for an inactive license renewal for a physical 
therapist shall be $70 and for a physical therapist assistant 
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shall be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each 
even-numbered year. 

3. A fee of $50 for a physical therapist and $25 for a 
physical therapist assistant for processing a late renewal 
within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the 
renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 
for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 
and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 
submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 
that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 
application for reinstatement of a license that has been 
suspended shall be $500.  

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 
for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification 
standing or verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

5. The application fee for direct access certification shall 
be $75 for a physical therapist to obtain certification to 
provide services without a referral. 

6. The state fee for obtaining or renewing a compact 
privilege to practice in Virginia shall be $50.  

18VAC112-20-60. Requirements for licensure by 
examination.  

Every applicant for initial licensure by examination shall 
submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements specified in 18VAC112-20-40 or 
18VAC112-20-50;  

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 
board, including a criminal history background check as 
required by § 54.1-3484 of the Code of Virginia; and  

3. Documentation of passage of the national examination 
as prescribed by the board.  

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who 
holds a current, unrestricted license in the United States, its 
territories, the District of Columbia, or Canada may be 
licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit:  

1. Documentation of having met the educational 
requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-40 or 

18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, 
an applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice 
consisting of at least 2,500 hours of patient care during the 
five years immediately preceding application for licensure 
in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license issued by 
another U.S. United States jurisdiction;  

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the 
board, including a criminal history background check as 
required by § 54.1-3484 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB); 

4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing 
education for each year in which the applicant held a 
license in another U.S. United States jurisdiction, or 60 
hours obtained within the past four years;  

5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent 
to the Virginia examination at the time of initial licensure 
or documentation of passage of an examination required by 
another state at the time of initial licensure in that state; 
and  

6. Documentation of active practice in physical therapy in 
another U.S. United States jurisdiction for at least 320 
hours within the four years immediately preceding his 
application for licensure. A physical therapist who does not 
meet the active practice requirement shall: 

a. Successfully complete 320 hours in a traineeship in 
accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140; or 

b. Document that he attained at least Level 2 on the 
FSBPT assessment tool within the two years preceding 
application for licensure in Virginia and successfully 
complete 160 hours in a traineeship in accordance with 
the requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

C. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 
endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy 
for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately 
preceding his application for licensure shall successfully 
complete 320 hours in a traineeship in accordance with the 
requirements in 18VAC112-20-140. 

18VAC112-20-82. Requirements for a compact privilege. 

To obtain a compact privilege to practice physical therapy in 
Virginia, a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
licensed in a remote state shall comply with the rules adopted 
by the Physical Therapy Compact Commission in effect at the 
time of application to the commission. 

18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities.  

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing 
all aspects of the physical therapy care of each patient and 
shall provide:  
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1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its 
documentation in the patient record;  

2. Periodic reevaluation, including documentation of the 
patient's response to therapeutic intervention; and  

3. The documented status of the patient at the time of 
discharge, including the response to therapeutic 
intervention. If a patient is discharged from a health care 
facility without the opportunity for the physical therapist to 
reevaluate the patient, the final note in the patient record 
may document patient status. 

B. The physical therapist shall communicate the overall plan 
of care to the patient or his the patient's legally authorized 
representative and shall also communicate with a referring 
doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, podiatry, or 
dental surgery,; nurse practitioner; or physician assistant to 
the extent required by § 54.1-3482 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. A physical therapist assistant may assist the physical 
therapist in performing selected components of physical 
therapy intervention to include treatment, measurement, and 
data collection, but not to include the performance of an 
evaluation as defined in 18VAC112-20-10.  

D. A physical therapist assistant's visits to a patient may be 
made under general supervision.  

E. A physical therapist providing services with a direct 
access certification as specified in § 54.1-3482 of the Code of 
Virginia shall utilize the Direct Access Patient Attestation and 
Medical Release Form prescribed by the board or otherwise 
include in the patient record the information, attestation and 
written consent required by subsection B of § 54.1-3482 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

F. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
practicing in Virginia on a compact privilege shall comply 
with all applicable laws and regulations pertaining to physical 
therapy practice in Virginia. 

18VAC112-20-130. Biennial renewal of license. 

A. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant who 
intends to continue practice shall renew his license biennially 
by December 31 in each even-numbered year and pay to the 
board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC112-20-27. 

B. A licensee whose licensure has not been renewed by the 
first day of the month following the month in which renewal 
is required shall pay a late fee as prescribed in 18VAC112-
20-27. 

C. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall be 
required to: 

1. Complete a minimum of 160 hours of active practice in 
the preceding two years; and 

2. Comply with continuing competency requirements set 
forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

D. In order to renew a compact privilege to practice in 
Virginia, the holder shall comply with the rules adopted by 
the Physical Therapy Compact Commission in effect at the 
time of the renewal. 

18VAC112-20-140. Traineeship requirements.  

A. The traineeship shall be approved by the board and under 
the direction and supervision of a licensed physical therapist.  

B. Supervision and identification of trainees: 

1. There shall be a limit of two physical therapists assigned 
to provide supervision for each trainee.  

2. The supervising physical therapist shall countersign 
patient documentation (i.e., notes, records, charts) for 
services provided by a trainee. 

3. The trainee shall wear identification designating them as 
a "physical therapist trainee" or a "physical therapist 
assistant trainee." 

C. Completion of traineeship. 

1. The physical therapist supervising the trainee shall 
submit a report to the board at the end of the required 
number of hours on forms supplied by the board.  

2. If the traineeship is not successfully completed at the 
end of the required hours, as determined by the supervising 
physical therapist, the president of the board or his 
designee shall determine if a new traineeship shall 
commence. If the president of the board determines that a 
new traineeship shall not commence, then the application 
for licensure shall be denied.  

3. The second traineeship may be served under a different 
supervising physical therapist and may be served in a 
different organization than the initial traineeship. If the 
second traineeship is not successfully completed, as 
determined by the supervising physical therapist, then the 
application for licensure shall be denied.  

D.  A traineeship shall not be approved for an applicant who 
has not completed a criminal background check for initial 
licensure pursuant to § 54.1-3484 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC112-20-200. Advertising ethics. 

A. Any statement specifying a fee, whether standard, 
discounted, or free, for professional services that does not 
include the cost of all related procedures, services, and 
products which that, to a substantial likelihood, will be 
necessary for the completion of the advertised service as it 
would be understood by an ordinarily prudent person shall be 
deemed to be deceptive or misleading, or both. Where 
reasonable disclosure of all relevant variables and 
considerations is made, a statement of a range of prices for 
specifically described services shall not be deemed to be 
deceptive or misleading.  
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B. Advertising a discounted or free service, examination, or 
treatment and charging for any additional service, 
examination, or treatment that is performed as a result of and 
within 72 hours of the initial office visit in response to such 
advertisement is unprofessional conduct unless such 
professional services rendered are as a result of a bona fide 
emergency. This provision may not be waived by agreement 
of the patient and the practitioner.  

C. Advertisements of discounts shall disclose the full fee 
that has been discounted. The practitioner shall maintain 
documented evidence to substantiate the discounted fees and 
shall make such information available to a consumer upon 
request.  

D. A licensee or holder of a compact privilege shall not use 
the term "board certified" or any similar words or phrase 
calculated to convey the same meaning in any advertising for 
his practice unless he holds certification in a clinical specialty 
issued by the American Board of Physical Therapy 
Specialties. 

E. A licensee or holder of a compact privilege of the board 
shall not advertise information that is false, misleading, or 
deceptive. For an advertisement for a single practitioner, it 
shall be presumed that the practitioner is responsible and 
accountable for the validity and truthfulness of its content. 
For an advertisement for a practice in which there is more 
than one practitioner, the name of the practitioner or 
practitioners responsible and accountable for the content of 
the advertisement shall be documented and maintained by the 
practice for at least two years. 

F. Documentation, scientific and otherwise, supporting 
claims made in an advertisement shall be maintained and 
available for the board's review for at least two years. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6119; Filed September 18, 2019, 1:42 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-70. Regulations Governing 
the Registration of Peer Recovery Specialists (adding 
18VAC115-70-10 through 18VAC115-70-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 418 and 426 of the 2017 Acts of 
Assembly, the new regulation (i) establishes the fees 
required for registration and renewal of registration; (ii) 

specifies the qualification for registration, which is 
evidence of meeting the requirements set out in regulations 
of the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services; (iii) requires that to maintain 
registration, a registrant complete eight hours of 
continuing education with a minimum of two hours devoted 
to ethics; (iv) sets standards of practice to include 
practicing within the specialist's competency area, 
practicing in a manner that does not endanger public 
health and safety, maintaining confidentiality, and 
avoiding dual relationships that would impair objectivity 
and increase risk of client exploitation; and (v) makes 
violations of standards of practice or of applicable law or 
regulation grounds for disciplinary action by the board. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 70 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION OF 

PEER RECOVERY SPECIALISTS 

Part I 
General Provisions 

18VAC115-70-10. Definitions. 

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration as a 
peer recovery specialist. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services. 

"Mental health professional" means a person who by 
education and experience is professionally qualified and 
licensed in Virginia to provide counseling interventions 
designed to facilitate an individual's achievement of human 
development goals and remediate mental, emotional, or 
behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere 
with mental health and development. 

"Peer recovery specialist" means a person who by education 
and experience is professionally qualified in accordance with 
12VAC35-250 to provide collaborative services to assist 
individuals in achieving sustained recovery from the effects 
of mental illness or addiction, or both.  

"Registered peer recovery specialist" or "registrant" means a 
person who by education and experience is professionally 
qualified in accordance with 12VAC35-250 and registered by 
the board to provide collaborative services to assist 
individuals in achieving sustained recovery from the effects 
of mental illness or addiction, or both. A registered peer 
recovery specialist shall provide such services as an employee 
or independent contractor of DBHDS, a provider licensed by 
the DBHDS, a practitioner licensed by or holding a permit 
issued from the Department of Health Professions, or a 
facility licensed by the Department of Health. 
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18VAC115-70-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 
to the registration of peer recovery specialists:  

Registration $30 

Renewal of registration $30 

Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed registration $60 

Duplicate certificate of registration $10 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 
suspension 

$500 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable. 

18VAC115-70-30. Current name and address. 

Each registrant shall furnish the board the registrant's current 
name and address of record. Any change of name or address 
of record or public address if different from the address of 
record, shall be furnished to the board within 60 days of such 
change. It shall be the duty and responsibility of each 
registrant to inform the board of the registrant's current 
address.  

Part II 
Requirements for Registration and Renewal 

18VAC115-70-40. Requirements for registration as a peer 
recovery specialist. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit: 

1. A completed application on forms provided by the board 
and any applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-20; 
and 

2. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 
Bank (NPDB).  

B. An applicant for registration as a peer recovery specialist 
shall provide evidence of meeting all requirements for peer 
recovery specialists set by DBHDS in 12VAC35-250-30. 

18VAC115-70-50. Annual renewal of registration. 

All registrants shall renew their registration on or before 
June 30 of each year. Along with the renewal form, the 
registrant shall submit the renewal fee as prescribed in 
18VAC115-70-20. 

18VAC115-70-60. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of peer recovery specialist registration. 

A. Registered peer recovery specialists shall be required to 
have completed a minimum of eight contact hours of 
continuing education for each annual registration renewal. A 

minimum of [ one two ] of these hours shall be in courses that 
emphasize ethics.  

Registered peer recovery specialists shall complete 
continuing competency activities that focus on increasing 
knowledge or skills in one or more of the following areas: 

1. Current body of mental health or substance abuse 
knowledge; 

2. Promoting services, supports, and strategies for the 
recovery process; 

3. Crisis intervention; 

4. Values for role of peer recovery specialist; 

5. Basic principles related to health and wellness; 

6. Stage appropriate pathways in recovery support; 

7. Ethics and boundaries; 

8. Cultural sensitivity and practice; 

9. Trauma and impact on recovery; 

10. Community resources; or 

11. Delivering peer services within agencies and 
organizations. 

B. The following organizations, associations, or institutions 
are approved by the board to provide continuing education: 

1. Federal, state, or local governmental agencies, public 
school systems, or licensed health [ or mental health ] 
facilities. 

2. [ A national or state recovery-oriented association or 
organization recognized by the profession. 

3. A national behavioral health organization or certification 
body recognized by the board. 

4. An agency or organization holding approval by DBHDS 
as a certifying body for peer recovery specialists.   

5. ] The American Association for Marriage and Family 
Therapy and its state affiliates. 

[ 3. 6. ] The American Association of State Counseling 
Boards. 

[ 4. 7. ] The American Counseling Association and its state 
and local affiliates. 

[ 5. 8. ] The American Psychological Association and its 
state affiliates. 

[ 6. 9. ] The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 
Certification.  

[ 7. 10. ] NAADAC, the Association for Addiction 
Professionals and its state and local affiliates. 

[ 8. 11. ] National Association of Social Workers. 
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[ 9. 12. ] National Board for Certified Counselors. 

[ 10. A national behavioral health organization or 
certification body recognized by the board. 

11. 13. ] Individuals or organizations that have been 
approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 
American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 
counseling board in another state.  

[ 12. An agency or organization approved by DBHDS.  

14. Regionally accredited colleges or universities. ]  

C. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 
required for the first renewal following initial registration in 
Virginia.  

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 
one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the registrant prior to 
the renewal date. Such an extension shall not relieve the 
registrant of the continuing education requirement.  

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the registrant such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
disasters upon written request from the registrant prior to the 
renewal date.  

F. All registrants shall maintain original documentation of 
official transcripts showing credit hours earned or certificates 
of participation for a period of three years following renewal.  

G. The board may conduct an audit of registrants to verify 
compliance with the requirement for a renewal period. Upon 
request, a registrant shall provide documentation as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation.  

H. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

Part III 
Standards of Practice; Disciplinary Actions; Reinstatement 

18VAC115-70-70. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  

B. Persons registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare.  

2. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 
necessary. 

3. Practice only within the competency area for which they 
are qualified by training or experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of registered 
peer recovery specialists.  

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services and make appropriate consultations 
and referrals based on the best interest of clients.  

6. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 
practices that are necessary to providing appropriate 
services.  

7. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate 
services when it becomes clear that the client is not 
benefiting from the relationship [ or the client has decided 
to discontinue the relationship ]. 

C. In regard to confidentiality and client records, persons 
registered by the board shall: 

1. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 
between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 
confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 
law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 
considered negligent or willful.  

2. Disclose client records to others only in accordance with 
applicable law.  

3. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality.  

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 
or electronic records for each client, to include dates of 
service and identifying information to substantiate 
[ treatment the recovery, resiliency, and wellness ] plan, 
client progress, and termination.  

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons registered by the 
board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients or former 
clients that are harmful to the client's well-being, that 
would impair the practitioner's objectivity and professional 
judgment, or that would increase the risk of client 
exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 
providing services to close friends, former sexual partners, 
employees, or relatives or engaging in business 
relationships with clients.  

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 
relationships with current clients. For at least five years 
after cessation or termination of professional services, 
practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies or 
romantic relationships with a client or those included in 
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collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or romantic 
relationships are potentially exploitative, the practitioner 
shall bear the burden of demonstrating that there has been 
no exploitation. A client's consent to, initiation of, or 
participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 
practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 
lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties.  

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 
probability that another mental health service provider, as 
defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, is or may be 
guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 
statute or regulation, persons registered by the board shall 
advise their clients of the client's right to report such 
misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in 
accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC115-70-80. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 
restriction, or denial of registration. 

In accordance with subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, restrict, or 
decline to issue or renew a registration based upon the 
following conduct: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude or violation of or aid to another in violating 
any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to 
the practice of registered peer recovery specialists, or any 
provision of this chapter; 

2. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a 
registration by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 
make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 
or to the public, or if one is unable to practice with 
reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 
abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any 
other type of material or as a result of any mental or 
physical condition; 

4. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 
any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 
peer recovery specialists or [ qualified ] mental health 
professionals or any provision of this chapter; 

5. Performance of functions outside the board-registered 
area of competency;  

6. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 
harm the public; 

7. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 
to cause injury to a client; 

8. Action taken against a health or mental health license, 
certification, registration, or application in Virginia or 
other jurisdiction;  

9. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 
Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 
investigation; or 

10. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 
required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 
abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

18VAC115-70-90. Late renewal and reinstatement. 

A. A person whose registration has expired may renew it 
within one year after its expiration date by paying the late 
renewal fee and the registration fee as prescribed in 
18VAC115-70-20 for the year in which the registration was 
not renewed and by providing documentation of completion 
of continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-60.  

B. A person who fails to renew registration after one year or 
more shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed registration; and 

3. Submit evidence of current certification as a peer 
recovery specialist as prescribed by DBHDS in 12VAC35-
250-30. 

C. A person whose registration has been suspended or who 
has been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the 
terms of the order, may submit a new application and fee for 
reinstatement of registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-
20. Any person whose registration has been revoked by the 
board may, three years subsequent to such board action, 
submit a new application and fee for reinstatement of 
registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-70-20. The board in 
its discretion may, after an administrative proceeding, grant 
the reinstatement sought in this subsection.   

NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 
regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form 
with a hyperlink to access it. The form is also available from 
the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-70) 

The following form is available online only at 
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/: 

Registered Peer Recovery Specialists Application and 
Instructions 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5240; Filed September 18, 2019, 11:12 a.m.  

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
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Final Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 
the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals 
(adding 18VAC115-80-10 through 18VAC115-80-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 
email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 418 and 426 of the 2017 Acts of 
Assembly, the new regulation (i) establishes the fees required 
for registration and renewal of registration; (ii) specifies the 
education and experience necessary to qualify for 
registration, which includes a requirement of eight hours of 
continuing education with a minimum of one hour in ethics; 
(iii) sets standards of practice for qualified mental health 
professionals to include practicing within their competency 
area, practicing in a manner that does not endanger public 
health and safety, maintaining confidentiality, and avoiding 
dual relationships that would impair objectivity and increase 
risk of client exploitation; and (iv) makes violation of 
standards of practice or of applicable law or regulation 
grounds for disciplinary action by the board. 

The proposed section "grandfathering" individuals who had 
been practicing before December 31, 2018, was not adopted 
for the final regulation.   

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 80 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION OF 

QUALIFIED MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS 

Part I 
General Provisions 

18VAC115-80-10. Definitions. 

"Accredited" means a school that is listed as accredited on 
the U.S. Department of Education College Accreditation 
database found on the U.S. Department of Education website. 
If education was obtained outside the United States, the board 
may accept a report from a credentialing service that deems 
the degree and coursework is equivalent to a course of study 
at an accredited school.  

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration as a 
qualified mental health professional. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

"Collaborative mental health services" means those 
rehabilitative supportive services that are provided by a 
qualified mental health professional, as set forth in a service 
plan under the direction of and in collaboration with either a 
mental health professional licensed in Virginia or a person 
under supervision that has been approved by the Board of 
Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social Work 
as a prerequisite for licensure. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 
Health and Developmental Services. 

"Face-to-face" means the physical presence of the 
individuals involved in the supervisory relationship or the use 
of technology that provides real-time, visual, and audio 
contact among the individuals involved.  

"Mental health professional" means a person who by 
education and experience is professionally qualified and 
licensed in Virginia to provide counseling interventions 
designed to facilitate an individual's achievement of human 
development goals and remediate mental, emotional, or 
behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere 
with mental health and development. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 
person who by education and experience is professionally 
qualified and registered by the board to provide collaborative 
mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 
not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 
shall provide such services as an employee or independent 
contractor of DBHDS, the Department of Corrections, or a 
provider licensed by DBHDS.  

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 
means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 
providing mental health services to adults who have a mental 
illness. A QMHP-A shall provide such services as an 
employee or independent contractor of DBHDS, the 
Department of Corrections, or a provider licensed by 
DBHDS. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 
means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 
providing mental health services to children or adolescents up 
to the age of 22 who have a mental illness. A QMHP-C shall 
provide such services as an employee or independent 
contractor of DBHDS, the Department of Corrections, or a 
provider licensed by DBHDS. 

"Registrant" means a QMHP registered with the board. 

18VAC115-80-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 
to the registration of qualified mental health professionals:  

Registration $50 

Renewal of registration $30 
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Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed registration $75 

Duplicate certificate of registration $10 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 
suspension $500 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 
shall not be refundable. 

18VAC115-80-30. Current name and address. 

Each registrant shall furnish the board his current name and 
address of record. Any change of name or address of record 
or public address if different from the address of record shall 
be furnished to the board within 60 days of such change. It 
shall be the duty and responsibility of each registrant to 
inform the board of his current address. 

Part II 
Requirements for Registration 

18VAC115-80-40. Requirements for registration as a 
qualified mental health professional-adult. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit: 

1. A completed application on forms provided by the board 
and any applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-
20; [ and ]  

2. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 
Bank (NPDB) [ ; and 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 
professional license, certification, or registration ever held 
in another jurisdiction ].  

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-A shall provide 
evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 
counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 
therapy [ , as verified by an official transcript, ] from an 
accredited college or university with an internship or 
practicum of at least 500 hours of experience with persons 
who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in human services or a 
related field [ , as verified by an official transcript, ] from 
an accredited college with no less than 1,500 hours of 
supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 
period immediately preceding application for registration 
and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

3. A bachelor's degree [ , as verified by an official 
transcript, ] from an accredited college in an unrelated field 
that includes at least 15 semester credits or 22 quarter 
hours in a human services field and with no less than 3,000 

hours of supervised experience to be obtained within a 
five-year period immediately preceding application for 
registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

4. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 
1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 
a five-year period immediately preceding application for 
registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 
or 

5. A licensed occupational therapist with [ an internship or 
practicum of at least 500 hours with persons with mental 
illness or ] no less than 1,500 hours of 
supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 
period immediately preceding application for registration 
and as specified in subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration.  

1. To be registered as a QMHP-A, an applicant who does 
not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 
this section shall provide documentation of experience in 
providing direct services to individuals as part of a 
population of adults with mental illness in a setting where 
mental health treatment, practice, observation, or diagnosis 
occurs. The services provided shall be appropriate to the 
practice of a QMHP-A and under the supervision of a 
licensed mental health professional or a person under 
supervision that has been approved by the Board of 
Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social 
Work as a prerequisite for licensure. Supervision obtained 
in another United States jurisdiction shall be provided by a 
mental health professional licensed in Virginia or licensed 
in that jurisdiction. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 
services of a QMHP-A until the supervisor determines 
competency in the provision of such services, after which 
supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 
either on-site or immediately available for consultation 
with the person being trained.  

3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 
internship or practicum in a human services field may be 
counted toward completion of the required hours of 
experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 
QMHP-A may register with the board. A trainee 
registration shall expire five years from its date of 
issuance.  

18VAC115-80-50. Requirements for registration as a 
qualified mental health professional-child. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit: 

1. A completed application on forms provided by the board and 
any applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20; [ and ]  
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2. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 
Bank (NPDB) [ ; and 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 
professional license, certification, or registration ever held 
in another jurisdiction ].  

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-C shall provide 
evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 
counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 
therapy [ , as verified by an official transcript, ] from an 
accredited college or university with an internship or 
practicum of at least 500 hours of experience with persons 
who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in a human services field 
or in special education [ , as verified by an official 
transcript, ] from an accredited college with no less than 
1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 
a five-year period immediately preceding application for 
registration and as specified in subsection C of this section;  

3. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 
1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 
a five-year period immediately preceding application for 
registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 
or 

4. A licensed occupational therapist with [ an internship or 
practicum of at least 500 hours with persons with mental 
illness or ] no less than 1,500 hours of 
supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 
period immediately preceding application for registration 
and as specified in subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration. 

1. To be registered as a QMHP-C, an applicant who does 
not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 
this section shall provide documentation of 1,500 hours of 
experience in providing direct services to individuals as 
part of a population of children or adolescents with mental 
illness in a setting where mental health treatment, practice, 
observation, or diagnosis occurs. The services provided 
shall be appropriate to the practice of a QMHP-C and 
under the supervision of a licensed mental health 
professional or a person under supervision that has been 
approved by the Board of Counseling, Board of 
Psychology, or Board of Social Work as a prerequisite for 
licensure. Supervision obtained in another United States 
jurisdiction shall be provided by a mental health 
professional licensed in Virginia or licensed in that 
jurisdiction. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 
services of a QMHP-C until the supervisor determines 
competency in the provision of such services, after which 
supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 

either on-site or immediately available for consultation 
with the person being trained.  

3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 
internship or practicum in a human services field may be 
counted toward completion of the required hours of 
experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 
QMHP-C may register with the board. A trainee 
registration shall expire five years from its date of 
issuance. 

18VAC115-80-60. [ Registration of qualified mental 
health professionals with prior experience Reserved ]. 

[ Until December 31, 2018, persons who have been 
employed as QMHPs prior to December 31, 2017, may be 
registered with the board by submission of a completed 
application, payment of the application fee, and submission of 
an attestation from an employer that they met the 
qualifications for a QMHP-A or a QMHP-C during the time 
of employment. Such persons may continue to renew their 
registrations without meeting current requirements for 
registration provided they do not allow their registrations to 
lapse or have board action to revoke or suspend, in which 
case they shall meet the requirements for reinstatement. ]  

Part III 
Renewal of Registration 

18VAC115-80-70. Annual renewal of registration. 

All registrants shall renew their registrations on or before 
June 30 of each year. Along with the renewal form, the 
registrant shall submit the renewal fee as prescribed in 
18VAC115-80-20. 

18VAC115-80-80. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of registration. 

A. Qualified mental health professionals shall be required to 
have completed a minimum of eight contact hours of 
continuing education for each annual registration renewal. 
Persons who hold registration both as a QMHP-A and 
QMHP-C shall only be required to complete eight contact 
hours. A minimum of one of these hours shall be in a course 
that emphasizes ethics.  

B. Qualified mental health professionals shall complete 
continuing competency activities that focus on increasing 
knowledge or skills in areas directly related to the services 
provided by a QMHP.  

C. The following organizations, associations, or institutions 
are approved by the board to provide continuing education, 
provided the hours are directly related to the provision of 
mental health services: 

1. Federal, state, or local governmental agencies, public school 
systems, licensed health facilities, or an agency licensed by 
DBDHS; and 
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2. Entities approved for continuing education by a health 
regulatory board within the Department of Health 
Professions. 

D. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 
required for the first renewal following initial registration in 
Virginia.  

E. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 
one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the registrant prior to 
the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 
registrant of the continuing education requirement.  

F. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the registrant, such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 
disasters, upon written request from the registrant prior to the 
renewal date.  

G. All registrants shall maintain original documentation of 
official transcripts showing credit hours earned or certificates 
of participation for a period of three years following renewal.  

H. The board may conduct an audit of registrants to verify 
compliance with the requirement for a renewal period. Upon 
request, a registrant shall provide documentation as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 

2. Certificates of participation.  

I. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 
order shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

Part IV 
Standards of Practice, Disciplinary Action, and Reinstatement 

18VAC115-80-90. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 
and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  

B. Persons registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 
public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 
welfare.  

2. Practice only within the competency area for which they 
are qualified by training or experience and shall not 
provide clinical mental health services for which a license 
is required pursuant to Chapters 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.), 
36 (§ 54.1-3600 et seq.), and 37 (§ 54.1-3700 et seq.) of 
the Code of Virginia. 

3. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of qualified 
mental health professionals.  

4. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for the referral of clients for 
professional services and make appropriate consultations 
and referrals based on the interest of patients or clients.  

5. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 
practices that are necessary to providing appropriate 
services.  

C. In regard to confidentiality and client records, persons 
registered by the board shall: 

1. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 
between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 
confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 
law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 
considered negligent or willful.  

2. Disclose client records to others only in accordance with 
applicable law.  

3. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality.  

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 
or electronic records for each client, to include dates of 
service and identifying information to substantiate 
treatment plan, client progress, and termination.  

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons registered by the 
board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients or former 
clients that are harmful to the client's well-being, that 
would impair the practitioner's objectivity and professional 
judgment, or that would increase the risk of client 
exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 
providing services to close friends, former sexual partners, 
employees, or relatives or engaging in business 
relationships with clients.  

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 
relationships with current clients. For at least five years 
after cessation or termination of professional services, 
practitioners shall not engage in sexual intimacies or 
romantic relationships with a client or those included in 
collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or romantic 
relationships are potentially exploitative, the practitioner 
shall bear the burden of demonstrating that there has been 
no exploitation. A client's consent to, initiation of, or 
participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 
practitioner does not change the nature of the conduct nor 
lift the regulatory prohibition.  

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties.  

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 
probability that another mental health service provider, as 
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defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of Virginia, is or may be 
guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 
statute or regulation, persons registered by the board shall 
advise their clients of the client's right to report such 
misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in 
accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC115-80-100. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 
restriction, or denial of registration. 

In accordance with subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, restrict, or 
decline to issue or renew a registration based upon the 
following conduct: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 
violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 
applicable to the practice of qualified mental health 
professionals, or any provision of this chapter; 

2. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a 
registration by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 
make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 
or to the public, or if one is unable to practice with 
reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness or 
abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any 
other type of material or as a result of any mental or 
physical condition; 

4. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of 
any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 
qualified mental health professionals or any regulation in 
this chapter; 

5. Performance of functions outside the board-registered 
area of competency;  

6. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 
harm the public; 

7. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 
to cause injury to a client; 

8. Action taken against a health or mental health license, 
certification, registration, or application in Virginia or 
other jurisdiction;  

9. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 
Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 
investigation; or 

10. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 
required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 
abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

18VAC115-80-110. Late renewal and reinstatement. 

A. A person whose registration has expired may renew it 
within one year after its expiration date by paying the late 
renewal fee and the registration fee as prescribed in 
18VAC115-80-20 for the year in which the registration was 
not renewed and by providing documentation of completion 
of continuing education as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-80.  

B. A person who fails to renew registration after one year or 
more shall: 

1. Apply for reinstatement;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed registration; and 

3. Submit evidence of completion of 20 hours of 
continuing education consistent with requirements of 
18VAC115-80-80. 

C. A person whose registration has been suspended or who 
has been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the 
terms of the order, may submit a new application and fee for 
reinstatement of registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-
20. Any person whose registration has been revoked by the 
board may, three years subsequent to such board action, 
submit a new application and fee for reinstatement of 
registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20. The board in 
its discretion may, after an administrative proceeding, grant 
the reinstatement sought in this subsection. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation are not being published. The forms are available in 
electronic online form only at the listed website. Questions 
regarding agency forms should be directed to the agency 
contact.  

FORMS (18VAC115-80) 

The following forms are available online only at 
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/: 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Adult, Application and 
Instructions 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Child, Application and 
Instructions 

[ Qualified Mental Health Profession-Adult, 
Grandfathering Application and Instructions 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Child, Grandfathering 
Application and Instructions ]  

Supervised Trainee, Application and Instructions 

[ Verification of Supervised Experience for a Qualified 
Mental Health Profession-Adult (eff. 10/2018) 

Verification of supervised experience for a Qualified Mental 
Health Profession-Child (eff. 10/2018) 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db47a005242%7E6A.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db47a005242%7E6A.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1095c005242%7E7C.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1095c005242%7E7C.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
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Verification of Internship/Practicum for a Qualified Mental 
Health Profession (eff. 7/2018) ]  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5242; Filed September 18, 2019, 11:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 
Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-
105).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3708 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 13, 2019.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-
4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments increase the continuing education hours 
required for license renewal pertaining to ethics or the 
standards of practice to a minimum of six hours every two 
years for licensed clinical social workers and a minimum 
of three hours every two years for licensed social workers. 
The only change to the proposed regulation is the update 
of required forms. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements 
for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing 
education. LBSWs and LMSWs shall be required to have 
completed a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 
education prior to licensure renewal in even years. Courses or 
activities shall be directly related to the practice of social 
work or another behavioral health field. A minimum of two 
six of those hours for licensed clinical social workers and a 
minimum of three of those hours for licensed social workers 
must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the 
behavioral health professions or to laws governing the 
practice of social work in Virginia. Up to two continuing 
education hours required for renewal may be satisfied through 
delivery of social work services, without compensation, to 
low-income individuals receiving health services through a 
local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 
primarily for the delivery of those services, as verified by the 
department or clinic. Three hours of volunteer service is 
required for one hour of continuing education credit. 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up 
to one year for the completion of continuing education 
requirements upon written request from the licensee prior 

to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 
licensee of the continuing education requirement. 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 
continuing education requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially 
declared disasters upon written request from the licensee 
prior to the renewal date. 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-
approved activities in the following two categories:  

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A 
minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical social workers 
or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be 
documented in this category, which shall include one or 
more of the following: 

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic 
courses in a behavioral health discipline. A maximum of 
15 hours will be accepted for each academic course. 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities 
or colleges accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education. 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by federal, state or local 
social service agencies, public school systems, or 
licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 

d. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the 
behavioral health field offered by an individual or 
organization that has been certified or approved by one 
of the following: 

(1) The Child Welfare League of America and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(3) The National Association of Black Social Workers 
and its state and local affiliates. 

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its 
state and local affiliates. 

(5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state 
and local affiliates. 

(6) The Association of Social Work Boards. 

(7) Any state social work board. 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A 
maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for licensed 
clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the 
required 15 hours for licensed social workers may be 
earned in this category, which shall include one or more of 
the following: 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90297005242%7E8n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90297005242%7E8n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005242&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards 
item writing workshop. (Activity will count for a 
maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book 
or initial preparation or presentation of a social work-
related course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 
hours.) 

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article 
or chapter of a book, or initial preparation or presentation 
of a social work-related in-service training, seminar, or 
workshop. (Activity will count for a maximum of five 
hours.) 

d. Provision of a continuing education program 
sponsored or approved by an organization listed under 
Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two 
hours and will only be accepted one time for any specific 
program.) 

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on 
Social Work Education-accredited school. (Activity will 
count for a maximum of two hours.) 

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of 
the national professional social work associations listed 
under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of 
a state social work licensing board. (Activity will count 
for a maximum of two hours.) 

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state, or local 
social service agencies, public school systems, or 
licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity 
will count for a maximum of five hours.) 

h. Individual or group study including listening to audio 
tapes, viewing video tapes, or reading, professional 
books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of 
five hours.) 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC140-20)  

[ Instructions and Application for Registration of 
Supervision Post-Graduate Degree Supervised Experience for 
LCSW (rev. 6/11). 

Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. 8/07). 

Clinical Social Worker Licensure Application (rev. 8/08). 

Verification of Clinical Supervision (rev. 1/11). 

Verification of Supervised Field Placement/Practicum (rev. 
6/11). 

Out of State Licensure Verification (rev. 8/07). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev. 
8/07). 

Form for Reporting Social Work Attendance at Formal 
Staffing (rev. 8/07). 

Form for Reporting Social Work Independent Study (rev. 
8/07). 

General Information Electronic application instructions for 
Licensure by Examination as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social 
Worker (LBSW), with Application Instructions (rev. 8/07). 

General Information Electronic application instructions for 
Licensure by Endorsement as a Licensed Baccalaureate 
Social Worker (LBSW), with Application Instructions (rev. 
8/07). 

General Information Electronic application instructions for 
Licensure by Examination as a Licensed Clinical Social 
Worker (LCSW) and Application Instructions (rev. 4/11). 

General Information Electronic application instructions for 
Licensure by Endorsement as a Licensed Clinical Social 
Worker (LCSW) and Application Instructions (rev. 4/11). 

Instructions and Application for Registration of Supervision 
for LSW (rev. 9/09). 

Application for Registration of Supervision - Post-
Bachelor's Degree Supervised Experience for LSW (rev. 
9/09). 

Clinical Social Worker Reinstatement Application for 
LCSW, LMSW, LBSW (rev. 4/08). 

Social Work Reinstatement Application (rev. 4/08). 

Clinical Social Worker Licensure Application - 
Reinstatement Following Disciplinary Action for LCSW, 
LMSW, LBSW (rev. 4/08). 

Continuing Education Summary Form (rev. 8/07). 

Verification of Clinical Supervision (rev. 8/2016) 

Request for Termination of Supervision (rev. 11/2015) 

Application for Initial and Add or Change Registration of 
Supervision toward LCSW licensure, online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm 

Application for Licensure by Examination and Endorsement 
as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 
Examination as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker 
(LBSW) (rev. 8/2019) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0aee9005436%7E1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d4b2005436%7E14n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d4e005436%7E29.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d4e005436%7E29.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d4e005436%7E29.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
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Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 
Endorsement as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker 
(LBSW) (rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 
Examination as a Licensed Master's Social Worker (LMSW) 
(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic application instructions for Licensure by 
Endorsement as a Licensed Master's Social Worker (LMSW) 
(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 
Examination as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 
(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic application instructions for Licensure by 
Endorsement as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 
(rev. 8/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration of Supervision 
for LSW (rev. 9/2015) 

Reinstatement Application for LCSW, LMSW, LBSW (rev. 
12/2013) 

Reinstatement Following Disciplinary Action for LCSW, 
LMSW, LBSW (rev. 12/2013) 

Social Work Name-Address Change Form (rev. 5/2018) 

Request for Inactive Status of Current Social Work License 
(rev. 7/2017) 

Request for Change of Status - Inactive to Active (rev. 
7/2017) 

Request for Verification of Virginia License (rev. 7/2017) 

Request for Late Renewal (rev. 6/2017) ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5436; Filed September 24, 2019, 9:36 a.m.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9dae005436%7E39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9dae005436%7E39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9dae005436%7E39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=256ce002944%7E10&typ=40&actno=002944&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94828005436%7E49.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94828005436%7E49.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=94828005436%7E49.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46e6c005436%7E59.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46e6c005436%7E59.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46e6c005436%7E59.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f5b2005436%7E6y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6f5b2005436%7E6y.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f862d005436%7E7W.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f862d005436%7E7W.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d5b6005436%7E8e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6d5b6005436%7E8e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=05821005436%7E9m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85c62005436%7E10t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85c62005436%7E10t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6bb97005436%7E11e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6bb97005436%7E11e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1543005436%7E12e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c720d005436%7E13l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-THREE (2019) 

Expanding Access to Clean Energy and Growing 
the Clean Energy Jobs of the Future 

Importance of the Issue 

The energy industry serves as the backbone of the 
Commonwealth's economy. Individuals, communities, and 
businesses need energy systems that are both reliable and 
affordable. At the same time, Virginia is beginning the 
transition to a more modern electric grid that will incorporate 
technological advances and meet the changing needs of 
customers. 

Yet Virginia's policy structures have historically focused on 
the traditional power sector model of large, centralized power 
stations and conventional transmission and distribution 
infrastructure. In the coming years, renewable energy 
technologies and distributed energy resources such as rooftop 
solar, smart meters, and battery storage are likely to make up 
an ever-increasing share of our energy system. Similarly, it is 
anticipated that larger portions of the economy, such as 
transportation, building heating, and some industrial 
processes will rely increasingly on electricity. 

As Virginia begins to shift to a more modern electric grid that 
is reliable, affordable, resilient, and environmentally 
responsible, the Commonwealth must continue to prioritize 
the transition to cleaner sources of energy, like wind, solar, 
and energy efficiency through an equitable approach to 
benefit all Virginians. The policies that we implement must 
be both forward-looking and adaptive to enable the energy 
transformations that are beginning. We must also ensure that 
the modernization of our electric grid is done in a way that 
prioritizes carbon free sources of electricity to reduce our 
environmental impact and mitigate the impacts of climate 
change. 

Climate change is an urgent and pressing challenge for Virginia. 
As recent storms, heat waves, and flooding events have reminded 
us, climate disruption poses potentially devastating risk to 
Virginia. The electric power sector represents approximately 
30% of the carbon dioxide emissions in Virginia and is central to 
our efforts to address the problem. The reports from the United 
Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and Fourth 
National Climate Assessment make clear that swift 
decarbonization and a transition to clean energy is required to 
meet the urgency of the challenge.1 

Clean energy advancements offer an opportunity to address and 
prevent energy inequities facing Virginia's most vulnerable 
populations, including low-income communities and 
communities of color. Low-income households pay 
proportionately more than the average household for energy 
costs and often experience negative long-term effects on their 
health and welfare.2 Research from the American Council for an 
Energy-Efficient Economy states that "the overwhelming 
majority of single family and multifamily low-income 

households (those with income at or below 80% of area median 
income), minority households, low-income households residing 
in multifamily buildings, and renting households experienced 
higher energy burdens than the average household in the same 
city."3 Clean energy innovation and energy efficiency strategies 
can alleviate this burden, lower energy bills, and provide access 
to clean energy for all Virginians. No segment of the population 
should bear disproportionately high or adverse effects from 
pollution and climate disturbance, and as we increase 
investments in clean energy, equity must be part of the 
framework. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
describes equitable development as "an approach for meeting the 
needs of underserved communities through policies and 
programs that reduce disparities while fostering places that are 
healthy and vibrant."4 

Virginia is well positioned to be a center of economic activity 
for this clean energy transition, and having this economic 
activity will help us capture the economic and health benefits 
from the clean economy for all Virginians. The clean energy 
sector has the power to create new business opportunities, 
expand customer access to renewable energy, and spark the 
high-demand jobs of the 21st century. Today, Virginia has 
more than 3,000 megawatts (MW) of solar currently in 
service or under development.5 In the last year, the number of 
solar jobs in Virginia has increased by nearly ten percent to 
3,890 jobs.6 Additionally, the Commonwealth is home to 
78,670 individuals who work in the energy efficiency sector, 
with 2,049 jobs added in the last year.7 The continued growth 
of clean energy investment in the Commonwealth has the 
potential to bring about long-term sustainable economic 
development while also mitigating the impacts of climate 
change through reduced carbon dioxide emissions. 

With these two principles in mind – the need to support 
policies that enable the modernization of our electric grid and 
the potential for significant new job growth in the clean 
energy sector – the Commonwealth must establish ambitious 
goals and work with stakeholders across the industry to 
identify areas of growth. 

Executive Action 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Chief 
Executive by Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under 
the laws of the Commonwealth, I hereby direct all executive 
branch agencies, authorities, departments, and all institutions of 
higher education, to every extent practicable, to operate in 
accordance with the following guidelines: 

A. The Director of Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy 
(DMME), in consultation with the Secretary of Commerce and 
Trade, the Secretary of Natural Resources, and the Director of 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), shall develop a 
plan of action to produce thirty percent of Virginia's electricity 
from renewable energy sources by 2030 and one hundred percent 
of Virginia's electricity from carbon-free sources by 2050. The 
plan shall include the following resource considerations: 
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1. Solar and Onshore Wind Energy: Solar and onshore 
wind energy are competitively priced energy resources that 
have the potential to provide significant economic 
development and job creation opportunities across the 
Commonwealth. Pursuant to energy legislation I signed last 
year (Senate Bill 966), Virginia has a statewide goal of 
achieving 5,500 MW of wind and solar energy by 2028. At 
least 3,000 MW of this target should be under development 
by 2022. In furtherance of this goal, Dominion Energy has 
committed to annually procure up to 500 MW of utility-
scale solar and onshore wind projects through a 
competitive procurement process. Dominion has also 
committed to annual procurements of smaller-scale solar 
energy, including rooftop solar, through a competitive 
procurement process that will be issued annually beginning 
in 2019. These procurements will start at 50 MW and will 
scale up to 150 MW by January of 2022. Appalachian 
Power also initiated a competitive procurement process for 
200 MW of utility-scale solar projects in Virginia, with 
projects to be operational by the end of 2021. In order to 
make certain these utility-scale and smaller-scale projects 
move forward, DMME's plan must provide 
recommendations on actions to ensure the utilities meet 
these procurement targets and meet the requirement that all 
such projects are procured competitively, with at least 
twenty-five percent of such projects procured through 
power-purchase agreement (PPA). Furthermore, the plan 
shall include any legislative or executive recommendations 
to reduce barriers to achieving these solar and onshore 
wind goals. 

2. Energy Efficiency: Energy efficiency programs are the 
lowest cost energy option, producing electricity cost 
savings, creating jobs and revenue from the energy 
efficiency service sector, and helping to reduce greenhouse 
gases and other air pollutants. Virginia has a statewide goal 
of reducing retail electricity consumption by ten percent by 
2022 using 2006 as a baseline. These reductions will come 
from a combination of sources, including building codes, 
energy performance contracting, private financing 
programs, and investments from the Commonwealth's 
utilities. As part of Senate Bill 966, Dominion Energy will 
invest $870 million and Appalachian Power will invest 
$140 million in energy efficiency programs over the next 
decade. The legislation further states that at least 5 percent 
of these ratepayer-funded programs should be directed 
toward low-income, elderly, and disabled persons. To meet 
these spending goals, Dominion Energy should increase 
spending to $100 million per year by 2019 and 
Appalachian Power should increase spending to $15 
million per year by 2019, excluding lost revenue recovery. 
DMME's plan shall provide recommendations to support 
implementation of this increased utility investment in 
energy efficiency programs. DMME shall work with the 
Virginia Resources Authority, Virginia Small Business 
Financing Authority, Virginia Housing Development 

Authority, and the Virginia Department of Housing and 
Community Development to include complementary policy 
options in the plan, such as developing and administering 
energy financing programs and enhancing building codes. 

3. Offshore Wind: The offshore wind industry in the United 
States is on the cusp of a major boom that could see 
America become one of the largest offshore wind markets 
in the world. Virginia currently has a 12 MW 
demonstration project under construction, which will serve 
as a research and development project as Virginia moves 
forward with the development of our larger offshore wind 
energy area. The larger offshore wind energy area could 
supply as much as 2,500 MW of offshore wind, and it 
should be fully developed by 2026. The plan shall include 
recommendations on the timeline and steps needed to 
achieve this offshore wind target, including working with 
Dominion Energy and the U.S. Bureau of Ocean Energy 
Management to submit the Construction and Operation 
Plan (COP) by 2021 with construction beginning by 2024. 

4. Energy Storage: As the Commonwealth integrates more 
renewable energy resources, balancing the intermittency of 
the grid through energy storage will become increasingly 
important. Senate Bill 966 requires Dominion Energy to 
develop a 30 MW battery storage pilot program and 
Appalachian Power to develop a 10 MW battery storage 
pilot program. Further, pumped hydroelectric storage 
facilities are now deemed in the public interest, and other 
sources of utility-scale storage are starting to become 
commercialized. The Plan shall include integration of 
storage technologies into the grid and pairing of such 
storage technologies with renewable generation, including 
distributed energy resources like rooftop solar. 

5. Energy Equity: The plan shall also address issues related to 
equity and environmental justice so that the clean energy and 
climate goals outlined in this Order are achieved in a just 
manner that advances social, energy, and environmental 
equity. These clean energy resources shall be deployed to 
maximize the economic and environmental benefit to 
underserved communities while mitigating any impacts to 
those communities. The Plan shall include measures that 
provide communities of color and low- and moderate-income 
communities access to clean energy and a reduction in their 
energy burdens. 

The Director of DMME shall report monthly to the Secretary 
of Commerce and Trade on the progress of these efforts, and 
shall submit the final plan to the Governor by July 1, 2020. 

B. The Commonwealth shall procure at least 30 percent of the 
electricity under the statewide electric contract with Dominion 
Energy from renewable energy resources by 2022. The 
Commonwealth has the potential to add significant low-cost 
solar and wind energy projects that will serve as a hedge against 
uncertain energy prices while helping to spur job creation 
opportunities in both the solar and onshore wind market. Virginia 
currently has an eight percent renewable energy procurement 
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target that equates to approximately 110 MW of renewable 
generation. This target is currently accomplished through 
investment in both utility-scale solar energy facilities and smaller 
solar energy facilities contracted with third-party renewable 
energy developers. Since the original eight percent target was 
established, the price of solar and wind resources in Virginia 
continues to drop and serves as an important hedge against 
fluctuating energy and fuel costs. Virginia now has the potential 
to achieve at least 30 percent of generation from renewable 
resources through both utility-scale onshore wind and solar 
investments as well as smaller solar installations accomplished 
through PPA. To achieve this 30 percent target, the Secretary of 
Commerce and Trade, DMME, and the Department of General 
Services (DGS) shall negotiate amendments to the statewide 
Dominion energy contract to include the additional purchase of 
energy from utility-scale onshore wind and solar facilities. 
Additionally, to accommodate the procurement of smaller-scale 
PPAs, DMME shall annually initiate a competitive procurement 
process for smaller-scale PPAs at the Commonwealth's existing 
facilities, with the first competitive procurement issued in the fall 
of 2019 for at least 10 MW of cumulative distributed solar at 
state facilities annually. DMME shall work with DGS and all 
interested facilities in the development of the competitive 
process. Additionally, for newly-constructed buildings, all 
executive branch agencies and institutions shall evaluate the use 
of distributed solar resources during the design and engineering 
process. 

C. The Commonwealth shall reduce electricity consumption 
across all of the Commonwealth's agencies and institutions 
through development and execution of a comprehensive 
Resource Conservation Management Plan (RCMP). DMME 
shall, in coordination with DGS and DEQ, develop a RCMP as 
the framework to achieve the state's portion of the goal of 
reducing retail electricity consumption by ten percent by 2022 
using 2006 as a baseline. The RCMP should include 
recommendations on reducing energy usage through 
measurement and tracking, operations and maintenance, and 
capital investment. It should cover both the existing building 
stock as well as new construction. As part of the RCMP 
framework, all state agencies and institutions should utilize 
energy performance contracting (EPC) to reduce energy 
consumption. EPC is a budget neutral, cost-effective tool that 
allows state agencies and publicly-owned facilities to reduce 
their deferred maintenance backlogs without adding any 
financial burden to the taxpayer. To date, more than 240 EPC 
projects have been completed by state and local agencies in 
Virginia, valuing nearly $900 million in savings for the 
Commonwealth. DMME has managed the program since 2002, 
providing robust technical assistance to localities and state 
agencies considering EPCs. To facilitate additional deployment 
of EPC, DMME shall produce a ranking of the top facilities that 
have achieved energy reductions and a list of facilities that most 
need improvement. DMME shall work with DGS and other 
agencies and executive branch institutions to double the 2018 
total annual level of EPC contracting investment. All executive 
branch agencies and institutions shall work with DMME to 
conduct a general energy audit with the goal of implementing an 
EPC by 2022. For executive branch agencies that have already 

employed EPC, overall energy consumption should be re-
evaluated to identify areas for further energy efficiency 
improvements. 

D. To ensure that the Commonwealth has the workforce in place 
to meet the growing needs and technological advancements of 
the clean energy sector, the Chief Workforce Advisor and the 
Secretary of Commerce and Trade shall work with stakeholders 
to develop an energy workforce plan. Such plan shall include an 
evaluation of current curriculum and training programs, 
including K-12 curriculum and the potential for pre-employment 
programs. The plan shall address both awareness of energy 
sector career opportunities and access to career pathways and 
programs. The plan shall include specific recommendations for 
creating pathways out of poverty through careers in renewable 
energy and energy efficiency. The plan should also leverage 
existing efforts, including the Virginia Energy Workforce 
Consortium and Build Virginia. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 
shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 
rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 16th day of September, 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 
Governor 

_______________________________________ 
1See Report of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate 
Change, October 2018, available at https://www.ipcc.ch/sr15/; Fourth 
National Climate Assessment, November 2018, available at 
https://nca2018.globalchange.gov/downloads/. 
2Lifting the High Energy Burden in America's Largest Cities: How Energy 
Efficiency Can Improve Low Income and Underserved Communities, April 
2016, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy, available at: 
https://assets.ctfassets.net/ntcn17ss1ow9/1UEmqh5l59cFaHMqVwHqMy/1e
e1833cbf370839dbbdf6989ef8b8b4/Lifting_the_High_Energy_Burden_0.pdf. 
3See id. 
4U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Equitable Development and 
Environmental Justice, available at: 
https://www.epa.gov/environmentaljustice/equitable-development-and-
environmental-justice. 
5Solar Tracking Data, Department of Mines Minerals and Energy. 
6National Solar Jobs Census 2018, The Solar Foundation, available at 
http://www.thesolarfoundation.org/national/. 
7U.S. Energy and Employment Report 2019 - Virginia, National Association 
of State Energy Officials and Energy Futures Initiative, available at 
https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5a98cf80ec4eb7c5cd928c61/t/5c7f425b
4785d349f2f021b7/1551843931999/Virginia.pdf. 

https://www.ipcc.ch/sr15/
https://nca2018.globalchange.gov/downloads/
https://assets.ctfassets.net/ntcn17ss1ow9/1UEmqh5l59cFaHMqVwHqMy/1ee1833cbf370839dbbdf6989ef8b8b4/Lifting_the_High_Energy_Burden_0.pdf.
https://assets.ctfassets.net/ntcn17ss1ow9/1UEmqh5l59cFaHMqVwHqMy/1ee1833cbf370839dbbdf6989ef8b8b4/Lifting_the_High_Energy_Burden_0.pdf.
https://www.epa.gov/environmentaljustice/equitable-development-and-environmental-justice.
https://www.epa.gov/environmentaljustice/equitable-development-and-environmental-justice.
http://www.thesolarfoundation.org/national/
https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5a98cf80ec4eb7c5cd928c61/t/5c7f425b4785d349f2f021b7/1551843931999/Virginia.pdf
https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5a98cf80ec4eb7c5cd928c61/t/5c7f425b4785d349f2f021b7/1551843931999/Virginia.pdf
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EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FORTY-FOUR (2019) 

Continuation of the Governor's Advisory 
Commission on Opioids and Addiction 

Importance of the Initiative 

The disease of addiction is devastating our communities and 
taking the lives of too many Virginians. Since 2013, drug 
overdoses have been the leading cause of unnatural death in 
the Commonwealth. Nearly 1,500 individuals in Virginia died 
as a result of drug overdoses just last year. Of those nearly 
1,500 fatalities, over 80 percent involved prescription opioid 
painkillers, heroin, or synthetic opioids like fentanyl. Opioid 
and heroin abuse continues to pose an immense public health 
and safety threat to Virginians and remains a public health 
emergency for the Commonwealth. 

In addition to opioids and heroin, data shows that abuse of 
other potentially deadly drugs, particularly stimulants, is on 
the rise. In addition to maintaining a focus on opioids, 
Virginia's leaders must also focus on the biological, 
psychological, and social factors that foster addiction in an 
individual so that those factors can be addressed and 
mitigated. The disease of addiction is not exclusive to any 
substance and addiction will always find another drug. 

Virginia cannot solve these problems through state 
intervention alone. The knowledge and experiences of 
providers, peers, local leadership, and other community 
partners is imperative as we work to reduce the impact of 
addiction and reduce the number of those who die from it. 
Under the authority established by Executive Directive Nine 
(2016), the Governor's Executive Leadership Team on 
Opioids and Addiction implements strategies, programs, and 
policies aimed at reducing overdose deaths. It is necessary to 
look to our partners to strengthen our understanding of the 
issue and share learned successes. Therefore, I direct relevant 
secretariats, agencies, health and behavioral health providers 
and organizations, education professionals, law enforcement, 
and other stakeholders to continue working together to 
identify and execute strategies to increase harm reduction 
opportunities, intensify prevention activities, enhance access 
to evidence-based treatment, and support individuals in 
recovery in Virginia. 

Key Objectives 

This advisory commission shall provide comments to the co-
chairs of the Governor's Executive Leadership Team on 
Opioids and Addiction regarding the development of policies, 
programs, and other initiatives designed to impact the 
ongoing drug overdose epidemic in Virginia. 

The advisory commission shall meet upon the call of the co-
chairs. The co-chairs shall call the advisory commission to 
meet no less than twice per year. At such meeting, the 
Executive Leadership Team on Opioids and Addiction shall 
provide updates and metrics regarding opioid and addiction 

initiatives. Therefore, supplemental meetings may be held to 
review specific topics, initiatives, and programs. 

The advisory commission shall provide a final report to the 
Governor including recommendations to address the opioid 
and addiction crisis in the Commonwealth. 

Continuation of the Opioid and Addiction Commission 

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as 
Governor under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia 
under the laws of the Commonwealth, including, but not 
limited to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
and subject to my continuing and ultimate authority and 
responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby extend the 
Governor's Advisory Commission on Opioids and Addiction 
(Opioid and Addiction Commission). 

The Opioid and Addiction Commission will serve in a 
consultative role, in accordance with § 2.2-2100 of the Code 
of Virginia, and will be responsible for advising the 
Governor's Executive Leadership Team on Opioids and 
Addiction and providing guidance on the following initiatives 
related to addressing the opioid and addiction public health 
emergency in the Commonwealth: 

a. Building the capacity of Virginia's communities to 
address the addiction epidemic through community 
mobilization and coalition development; 

b. Limiting availability of prescription opioids for misuse; 

c. Establishing pathways to treatment and recovery 
supports in Virginia; 

d. Establishing operational comprehensive harm reduction 
programs in Virginia; and 

e. Developing model protocols for Medication Assisted 
Treatment (MAT) for individuals being released from 
correctional settings that local/regional jails and 
community services boards can use. 

Composition of the Opioid and Addiction Commission 

The Opioid and Addiction Commission's membership shall 
be appointed by the Governor. The Secretaries of Health and 
Human Resources and Public Safety and Homeland Security 
will co-chair the Opioid and Addiction Commission. 
Membership for the Opioid and Addiction Commission will 
be composed of representatives from the Office of the 
Attorney General, the General Assembly, and the judiciary, as 
well as community leaders in prevention, harm reduction, 
treatment, and recovery, including individuals with lived 
experiences. The Governor may appoint any other person(s) 
deemed necessary and proper to carry out the assigned 
functions. 

The Secretariat of Health and Human Resources shall provide 
a Staff Director to support the Opioid and Addiction 
Commission. The Secretariats of Public Safety and Homeland 
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Security and Health and Human Resources shall provide 
other staff support as necessary. An estimated 100 hours of 
staff time will be required to support the work of the Opioid 
and Addiction Commission. 

Effective Date 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and, 
pursuant to §§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, 
shall remain in full force and effect for a year from its 
signing, unless amended or rescinded by further executive 
order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia this 25th day of September, 2019. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 
Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

 
PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 
(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 
23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Public Pay ALF Assessment Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Senior Policy Advisor, 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 
Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7093, or email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Direct Support Professional (DSP) and DSP Supervisor DD 
Waiver Orientation and Competencies Protocol (August 30, 
2019). 

2019 Developmental Disabilities (DD) DSP and Supervisor 
Competencies Checklist for DBHDS Licensed Providers. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Eric Williams, Director, Provider 
Development, DD Service Division, Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-7428, 
or email eric.williams@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 
Title of Document: Sanctioning Reference Points Instruction 
Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
Title of Document: Guidelines for Providing Loan Interest 
Rate Subsidy Grant Payments for the Virginia Public School 
Authority Pooled Bond Program (Revised - September 2019).  

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kent Dickey, Deputy Superintendent for 
Budget, Finance and Operations, Department of Education, 
101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-2025, or email kent.dickey@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Title of Document: Manual for Processing Requests Pursuant 
to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (July 2019). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Natalie Driver Womack, Freedom of 
Information Officer, Department of Environmental Quality, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4085, or email natalie.womack@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 
Titles of Documents:  

Bylaws of the Advisory Board on Massage Therapy Virginia 
Board of Nursing. 

Guidance on Massage Therapy Practice. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d232006123%7E4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24535006123%7E8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24535006123%7E8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24535006123%7E8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b5c8006123%7E9).pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2b5c8006123%7E9).pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:eric.williams@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5989e006123%7E1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5989e006123%7E1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04edb006123%7E7s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04edb006123%7E7s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04edb006123%7E7s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:kent.dickey@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4968b006123%7E5e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4968b006123%7E5e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:natalie.womack@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1281e006123%7E3y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1281e006123%7E3y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36072006123%7E2e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 
Title of Document: Odor Guidance for Solid Waste 
Management Facilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2019. 

Effective Date: November 14, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Kathryn Perszyk, Solid Waste Permitting 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (703) 583-3856, or 
email kathryn.perszyk@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ba32006123%7E6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ba32006123%7E6s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006123&mime=application/pdf
mailto:kathryn.perszyk@deq.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Release of the Final 2018 §§ 305(b)/303(d) Water 

Quality Assessment Integrated Report 
The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will release the Final 2018 §§ 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality 
Assessment Integrated Report on October 15, 2019. 

The Integrated Report combines the § 305(b) Water Quality 
Assessment and the § 303(d) Report on Impaired Waters. The 
draft report was available for public comment January 22, 
2019, through February 21, 2019. Comments were received 
from the public and the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA). EPA approved the final report on September 
16, 2019. 

The final report, public comment-response document, and 
map images are available for download at 
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInfo
rmationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments/2018305(b)303(d)Int
egratedReport.aspx. Copies are available at no charge on CD-
ROM (limit one per person) by contacting Cleo Baker by 
telephone at (804) 698-4191 or via email at 
cleo.baker@deq.virginia.gov. These CD-ROMs include the 
entire final report, all appendices, and summary maps 
developed from the 2018 assessment. 

Questions regarding the report can be directed to Sandra 
Mueller, Office of Water Monitoring and Assessment, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4324, or email 
sandra.mueller@deq.virginia.gov. 

Belcher Solar LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Permit by 

Rule - Louisa County 
Belcher Solar LLC has notified the Department of 
Environmental Quality of the withdrawal of the notice of 
intent for the 17 megawatts expansion to the project located 
in Louisa County previously awarded a permit by rule under 
registration number 2017-S03. The notice of intent for the 
expansion was posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 
on April 23, 2019, and appeared in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on May 13, 2019. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Rochambeau Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Permit by Rule - 

James City County 
Rochambeau Solar LLC has provided the Department of 
Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 
necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in James City County. The 
Rochambeau solar project is located on approximately 192 
acres of property currently used for agriculture and timber 
with an approximate address of 4978 Rochambeau Drive, 
Williamsburg, VA 23188 (37°21'25.75"N, 76°45'33.41"W). 
The rated capacity of the facility at the point of 
interconnection will be 19.9 megawatts alternating current. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 
mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Proposed Consent Order for Mondelez Global LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mondelez 
Global LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 
and regulations at the Mondelez Global LLC facility located 
in Manassas, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 
associated with the Mondelez Global LLC facility. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 
at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 
comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 
by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 
VA 22193, from October 15, 2019, until November 14, 2019. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments/2018305(b)303(d)IntegratedReport.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments/2018305(b)303(d)IntegratedReport.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments/2018305(b)303(d)IntegratedReport.aspx
mailto:cleo.baker@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:sandra.mueller@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 
Net Energy Metering. 

Publication: 36:2 VA.R. 120-129, September 16, 2019. 

Corrections to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 125, 20VAC5-315-40 A 3, line 4, after "or switches" 
strike "are" and add "is" and line 5, after "or generators" 
strike "have" and add "has" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6101; Filed September 19, 2019, 11:12 a.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-151. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Discharges of Storm Water Associated with Industrial 
Activity. 

Publication: 35:19 VA.R. 2158-2240, May 13, 2019. 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 2185, 9VAC25-151-70 Part I B 8 f (1), line 5, replace 
"average" with "acreage" 

Page 2186, 9VAC25-151-70  

Part I B 10, strike "10." and add "11." 

Part I B 11, strike "11." and add "12." 

Part I B 12, strike "12." and add "13." 

Part I B 14, unstrike "14." and delete "13." 
VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5397; Filed September 30, 2019, 1:14 p.m. 
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