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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 

Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 

Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2020 through December 2020 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:13 January 29, 2020 February 17, 2020 

36:14 February 12. 2020 March 2, 2020 

36:15 February 26, 2020 March 16, 2020 

36:16 March 11, 2020 March 30, 2020 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 6, 2020 May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted a small 

business impact review of 2VAC5-20, Standards for 

Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to Agricultural 

Use and to Horticultural Use under the Virginia Land Use 

Assessment Law, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 2VAC5-20, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as 

the report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Kevin Schmidt, Director, Office of Policy, 

Planning and Research, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1346, FAX (804) 371-7679, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF CONSERVATION AND RECREATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review: 

4VAC3-11, Public Participation Guidelines. The review of 

this regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 20, 2020, and ends 

February 10, 2020. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm or sent to the 

agency contact.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review: 

4VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines. The review of 

this regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins January 20, 2020, and ends 

February 10, 2020. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall at http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm or 

sent to the agency contact.  

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 

posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 

impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

mailto:kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
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telephone (804) 786-4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

conducted a small business impact review of 12VAC35-180, 

Regulations to Assure the Protection of Subjects in 

Human Research, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended. 

The fast-track regulatory action to amend 12VAC35-180, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

786-8623, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services conducted 

a small business impact review of 22VAC30-100, Adult 

Protective Services, and determined that this regulation 

should be amended. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 22VAC30-100, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEATH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted a small 

business impact review of 24VAC30-530, Roadway and 

Structure Lighting, and determined that this regulation 

should be repealed. 

The final regulatory action to amend 24VAC30-530, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted a small 

business impact review of 24VAC30-580, Guidelines for 

Considering Requests for Restricting Through Trucks on 

Primary and Secondary Highways, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. 

The final regulatory action to amend 24VAC30-580, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted a small 

business impact review of 24VAC30-590, Policies and 

Procedures for Control of Residential and Non-

Residential Cut-Through Traffic, and determined that this 

regulation should be repealed. 

The final regulatory action to amend 24VAC30-590, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of General Services 

intends to consider amending 1VAC30-45, Certification of 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories and 

1VAC30-46, Accreditation for Commercial 

Environmental Laboratories. 1VAC30-46 sets out the 

requirements to accredit commercial laboratories that analyze 

environmental samples used to determine compliance with 

State Water Control Law, Virginia Waste Management Act, 

and Virginia Pollution Control Law. 1VAC30-46 uses the 

National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference 

(NELAC) Institute (TNI) standards for this accreditation. The 

TNI standards are revised every few years, and the proposed 

action replaces the 2009 TNI standards in the regulation with 

the 2016 TNI standards. Commercial environmental 

laboratories must meet these standards to remain accredited 

under the nationally-accepted TNI program. 1VAC30-45 sets 

out the requirements to certify noncommercial laboratories 

that analyze environmental samples used to determine 

compliance with the State Water Control Law, Virginia 

Waste Management Act, and the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law. The proposed action revises 1VAC30-45 to 

include proposed changes in the 2016 TNI Standards that 

provide more flexibility so that the standards for 

noncommercial environmental laboratories are no more 

stringent than the standards for commercial environmental 

laboratories. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6196; Filed December 19, 2019, 9:02 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education 

intends to consider amending 8VAC20-543, Regulations 

Governing the Review and Approval of Education 

Programs in Virginia. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to establish dual language endorsements for preK through 

grade 6 and an economics and personal finance add-on 

endorsement. Amendments to 8VAC20-23, Licensure 

Regulations for School Personnel, regarding these 

endorsements are proposed in a separate regulatory action; 

however, the endorsements also should be included in the 

Regulations Governing the Review and Approval of 

Education Programs in Virginia. The endorsement in dual 

language is required by Chapter 391 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, and the endorsement in economics and personal 

finance will expand the number of teachers who may teach 

economics and personal finance.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-298.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6234; Filed December 23, 2019, 3:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Extension of Public Comment Deadline 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board has 

extended the public comment deadline until February 19, 

2020, for the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

previously published in 36:7 VA.R. 986 November 25, 2019. 

The notice is republished here.  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-720, Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation and 9VAC25-820, 

General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Watershed Permit Regulation for Total 

Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient 

mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
mailto:patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov
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Trading in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia. 

The Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 

(9VAC25-720) includes wasteload allocations for dischargers 

of pollutants to various river basins throughout the 

Commonwealth of Virginia including total nitrogen (TN) and 

total phosphorus (TP) wasteload allocations necessary for the 

restoration of water quality in the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tidal tributaries. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

amend 9VAC25-720-50 C (Potomac-Shenandoah River 

Basin), 9VAC25-720-60 C (James River Basin), 9VAC25-

720-70 C (Rappahannock River Basin), 9VAC25-720-110 C 

(Chesapeake Bay – Small Coastal – Eastern Shore River 

Basin), and 9VAC25-720-120 C (York River Basin) to (i) 

establish TN and TP wasteload allocations to meet revised 

water quality criteria for Chlorophyll-a in the tidal James 

River Basin; (ii) reallocate any unneeded significant industrial 

discharger allocations to other facilities registered under the 

General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

Watershed Permit Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total 

Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (9VAC25-820) or 

reserve any unneeded allocations for future use; and (iii) 

establish floating wasteload allocations for significant 

municipal dischargers based on the average daily flow treated 

by the facility in a given year and nutrient concentrations of 

4.0 mg/l TN and 0.30 mg/l TP. Existing "primary" wasteload 

allocations will remain, and in any given year the facility will 

be required to meet the lesser of the primary or floating 

allocations. Facilities with special circumstances could be 

assigned alternative floating wasteload allocations or possibly 

no floating wasteload allocation. The board may consider 

exempting a subset of the smallest significant dischargers that 

in aggregate represent a minor percentage of the expected 

load reductions from this regulatory action. Special 

consideration may also be appropriate for treatment plants 

that reclaim and reuse a significant portion of their 

wastewater flow. The board may, if necessary to implement 

amendments to 9VAC25-720, also propose amendments to 

9VAC25-820.  

In addition, pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 

16, 2018) and § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

agency is conducting a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 9VAC25-720 to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on 

small businesses consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 

689-4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6191; Filed January 2, 2020, 9:53 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists and Opticians intends to consider amending 

18VAC80-20, Hearing Aid Specialists Regulations. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to adjust hearing aid 

specialist licensing fees based on projected revenues and 

expenses to meet the requirements of § 54.1-113 of the Code 

of Virginia while being the least burdensome to the licensee 

population. The board must establish fees adequate to support 

the costs of board operations and a proportionate share of the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

operations. By the close of the next biennium, current fees 

will not provide adequate revenue for those costs, and the 

board has no other source of revenue from which to fund its 

operations. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590 or email hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5959; Filed December 24, 2019, 9:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-201, Permanency 

Services - Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption, and 

Independent Living. The purpose of the proposed action is 

to (i) align the regulation with Chapters 282, 301, 437, 446, 

and 677 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly; (ii) align the 

regulation with changes in federal law resulting from the 

2018 Family First Prevention Services Act; and (iii) make 

other changes the agency deems necessary after comments 

and review. The proposed action will include changes to 

regulations on credit freezes, notification of a child with a 

developmental disability, qualified residential treatment 

programs, relative search and notification, placement 

authority of the Commissioner of the Department of Social 

Services, a foster care complaint system, birth parent 

engagement, and caseload standard.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6266; Filed December 18, 2019, 10:09 a.m.  

mailto:em.parente@dss.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-90. Campaign Finance and 

Political Advertisements (repealing 1VAC20-90-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 20, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Arielle Schneider, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Floor 1, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 864-8933, or email 

arielle.schneider@elections.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Virginia Department of Elections is promulgating 

this regulation on behalf of the State Board of Elections, 

which is authorized under the § 24.2-103 of the Code of 

Virginia, to make rules and regulations and issue instructions 

and provide information to promote the proper administration 

of election laws. 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Campaign Finance Disclosure Act 

(§ 24.2-945 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the 

General Assembly has determined that the means by which 

campaign finance reports submitted to the State Board of 

Elections is electronic. The department's goal of protecting 

the health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

regulatory instructions to candidates and committees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

State Board of Elections is the policy-making board 

responsible for election law regulations. This repeal is 

expected to be noncontroversial because the regulation under 

consideration applies to law that no longer exists. 

Substance: The amendments repeal the obsolete filing 

provision and associated fee.  

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

conformity with the Code of Virginia so that agency 

guidelines and regulations support existing law. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Elections (Board) seeks to eliminate section 

1VAC20-90-20 (Filing Fee) for campaign finance reports that 

are not filed electronically. This section was promulgated 

when campaign committees had the option to file 

nonelectronic campaign finance reports, upon payment of a 

$25 administrative fee to the Department of Elections to have 

the report transcribed. However, the Board has since 

transitioned to using electronic submissions exclusively, 

making the fee redundant.  

Background. Section 24.2-947.5 of the Code of Virginia 

contains the campaign finance reporting requirements, 

including electronic submissions. The language in 1VAC20-

90-20 directs campaign committees that file a nonelectronic 

campaign finance report with the Board under § 24.2-947.5 to 

pay a $25 administrative fee per report to the Board. It further 

says that the fee shall be paid by the filing deadline or upon 

filing the report, whichever is later, and that committees that 

are indigent may request a waiver from the Board.  

The 2018 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 538) revised the Code 

of Virginia such that all regulants who would be required to 

file the report with the Board would have to do so 

electronically. Specifically, § 24.2-947.5 now says that 

candidates for statewide office and the General Assembly, as 

well as candidates for a local or constitutional office in any 

locality whose population exceeds 70,000, shall file campaign 

finance reports with the Board electronically. Candidates for 

local or constitutional offices in localities with fewer than 

70,000 people may file electronically with the Board or file 

paper reports with the general registrar of the locality in 

which the candidate resides. Since candidates no longer have 

the option to file paper copies of the required reports with the 

Board, any associated administrative fees no longer apply. 

Hence the Board seeks to repeal the fee. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendment 

appears to benefit the public by aligning the Virginia 

Administrative Code with the Code of Virginia, and 

potentially reducing confusion for readers of the regulation. 

The proposed amendment does not create any new initial or 

ongoing cost to the public. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment does not appear to particularly affect any 

business or other entities. 

mailto:arielle.schneider@elections.virginia.gov
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Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendment does not 

appear to affect particular localities or introduce new costs for 

local governments. Accordingly, no additional funds would 

be required.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not appear to affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment has no effect on the use and value of 

private property, nor does it affect real estate development 

costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:4 The proposed 

amendment does not adversely affect small businesses.  

_______________________________ 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Elections concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The action repeals a fee associated with staff transcribing 

any nonelectronic campaign finance report submitted to 

the State Board of Elections by a candidate who opted to 

use the paper filing provision during the years that 

submitting campaign finance reports electronically was 

optional. Chapter 538 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly made 

electronic filing with the board mandatory, making the fee 

unnecessary. 

1VAC20-90-20. Filing fee. (Repealed.) 

Any campaign committee that files a nonelectronic, 

campaign finance report with the State Board of Elections 

under § 24.2-947.5 of the Code of Virginia shall pay a $25 

administrative fee per report to the State Board of Elections. 

Such payment shall be due by the filing deadline for the 

report or upon filing the report, whichever is later. Any 

committee that is indigent may request a waiver from the 

State Board of Elections. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6151; Filed December 31, 2019, 2:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-20. Standards for 

Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to Agricultural 

Use and to Horticultural Use under the Virginia Land Use 

Assessment Law (amending 2VAC5-20-10 through 

2VAC5-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3230 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kevin Schmidt, Director, Office of Policy, 

Planning and Research, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1346, FAX (804) 371-7679, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-102 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

the Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (VDACS) shall be vested with the powers 

and duties set out in §§ 2.2-601 and 3.2-102 of the Code of 

Virginia and such other powers and duties as may be 

prescribed by law. 

Section 58.1-3230 of the Code of Virginia requires that the 

commissioner prescribe uniform standards in accordance with 

the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) for "real estate devoted to agricultural 

use" and "real estate devoted to horticultural use," and 

Chapter 504 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly expands the scope 

of the standards in § 58.1-3230 requiring the commissioner 

revise 2VAC5-20. 

Purpose: The proposed change will bring the regulation into 

compliance with the changes made to Article 4 (§ 58.1-3229 

et seq.) of Chapter 32 of the Code of Virginia by Chapter 504 

of the 2018 Acts of Assembly. Additionally, VDACS staff 

has identified parts of the regulation that needs clarifying so 

that the commissioner is better able to provide opinions upon 

request by commissioners of the revenue or local assessing 

officers. This regulatory action does not impact public health 

or safety; however, general public welfare is protected when 

regulations are in compliance with statutory requirements. 

Additionally, commissioners of the revenue, local assessing 

officers, and individual landowners will all benefit from 

standards that are clear and consistent. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to the regulation 

include standards for determining whether real estate meets 

the expanded definition of real estate devoted to agricultural 

use or real estate devoted to horticultural use. Specifically, the 

mailto:kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov
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amendments include standards for determining whether real 

estate is (i) devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

plants and animals, or products made from such plants and 

animals on the real estate, that are useful to man; (ii) devoted 

to the bona fide production for sale of fruits of all kinds, 

including grapes, nuts, and berries; vegetables; nursery and 

floral products; and plants or products directly produced from 

fruits, vegetables, nursery and floral products, or plants on 

such real estate; or (iii) devoted to and meeting the 

requirements and qualifications for payments or other 

compensation pursuant to soil and water conservation 

programs under an agreement with an agency of the state or 

federal government under uniform standards prescribed by 

the commissioner in accordance with the Administrative 

Process Act. The proposed amendments also remove the 

existing requirement that real estate be used for a particular 

purpose for a minimum length of time before qualifying as 

real estate devoted to agricultural use or horticultural use. 

Issues: As a result of recent requests from commissioners of 

the revenue and local assessing officers for the commissioner 

to issue opinions pursuant to 2VAC5-20-40, agency staff and 

legal counsel have identified language in the existing 

regulation that needs clarifying. The proposed amendments to 

this regulation provide that clarity. Landowners and other 

members of the public will also benefit from clarification as 

to what is required for a parcel of land to be considered real 

estate devoted to agricultural use or to horticultural use. The 

removal of the five-year previous use requirement may also 

encourage additional agricultural land that is not currently 

being farmed to be made available for agricultural use. There 

are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth.  

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 

of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

(Commissioner) proposes amendments to this regulation for 

consistency with changes to the Virginia Land Use 

Assessment Law (Law), § 58.1-3229 et seq., that occurred 

through Chapter 504 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 

504). 

Background. The regulation includes a preamble that states 

that the purpose of the regulation is to: 1) Encourage the 

proper use of real estate in order to assure a readily available 

source of agricultural, horticultural, and forest products, and 

of open space within reach of concentrations of population; 2) 

Conserve natural resources in forms that will prevent erosion; 

3) Protect adequate and safe water supplies; 4) Preserve 

scenic natural beauties and open spaces; 5) Promote proper 

land-use planning and the orderly development of real estate 

for the accommodation of an expanding population; and 6) 

Promote a balanced economy and ease pressures that force 

the conversion of real estate to more intensive uses. 

The Law authorizes localities that have adopted a land-use 

plan to adopt an ordinance to provide for the use value 

assessment and taxation of real estate classified in § 58.1-

3230. Use value assessment is in contrast to fair market value 

assessment. Fair market value is essentially the amount one 

could expect to sell a parcel for if no further restrictions were 

placed on its use other than those placed on the parcel through 

the local political process. Use value is the amount that one 

would expect to sell the land for if it were restricted to a pre-

defined use. For instance, agricultural use value is the amount 

one would expect to receive if the land were to be maintained 

solely in agricultural use. As the options for land use are 

restricted, one would typically find that use value is less than 

fair market value.2  

In practice, localities often choose to have use value 

ordinances to discourage the conversion of land from a 

preferred purpose such as agriculture, to a less preferred 

purpose, such as an additional housing development. Since 

keeping real estate in agriculture may result in lower property 

value assessments with the use value, it may lower the real 

estate tax bill for the owner. 

Section 58.1-3230 establishes four special classifications of 

real estate for the purposes of the Law, including "real estate 

devoted to agricultural use" and "real estate devoted to 

horticultural use." The definitions of both real estate devoted 

to agricultural use and real estate devoted to horticultural use 

in the Law require the Commissioner to prescribe uniform 

standards in accordance with the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). As 

directed by this requirement, the Commissioner promulgated 

thisregulation, which first became effective in 1988. 

The regulation includes specified activities associated with 

agriculture or horticulture that must occur on the property for 

it to qualify as "real estate devoted to agricultural use" or 

"real estate devoted to horticultural use." In order for the 

property to qualify, the owner must certify that the real estate 

is being used in a planned program of practices that: 1) With 

respect to real estate devoted to a use that disturbs the soil or 

that affects water quality, is intended to (in the case of soil) 

reduce or prevent soil erosion and (in the case of water) 

improve water quality by best management practices, such as 

terracing, cover cropping, strip cropping, no-till planting, 

sodding waterways, diversions, water impoundments, and 

other best management practices, to the extent that best 

management practices exist for that use of the real estate; 2) 

With respect to real estate devoted to crops grown in the soil, 

is intended to maintain soil nutrients by the application of soil 

nutrients (organic and inorganic) needed to produce average 

yields of such crops or as recommended by soil tests; and 3) 

Is intended to control brush, woody growth, and noxious 
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weeds on row crops, hay, and pasture by the use of 

herbicides, biological controls, cultivation, mowing, or other 

normal cultural practices. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The Commissioner proposes 

several amendments to the regulation that mirror changes to 

the Law from Chapter 504. The changes generally expand the 

situations where real estate qualifies as "real estate devoted to 

agricultural use" or "real estate devoted to horticultural use." 

To the extent that local commissioners of revenue and 

landowners are already aware of the changes to the Law, 

these proposed changes to the regulation should not have a 

large impact. The changes would be beneficial in that they 

would reduce the likelihood of confusion as toward the law in 

effect for readers of the regulation. 

The current regulation includes a requirement that for real 

estate to qualify for designation as "real estate devoted to 

agricultural use" or "real estate devoted to horticultural use," 

it must have been devoted, for at least five consecutive years 

previously, to specified activities associated with agriculture 

or horticulture. The current regulation also specifies 

minimum field crop production and minimum sales over the 

previous three years. Chapter 504 inserted the following 

statement into the Law: 

If the uniform standards prescribed by the Commissioner 

of Agriculture and Consumer Services pursuant to 

§ 58.1-3230 require real estate to have been used for a 

particular purpose for a minimum length of time before 

qualifying as real estate devoted to agricultural use or 

horticultural use, then (i) use of other similar property by 

a lessee of the owner shall be included in calculating 

such time and (ii) the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services shall include in the uniform standards 

a shorter minimum length of time for real estate with no 

prior qualifying use, provided that the owner submits a 

written document of the owner's intent regarding use of 

the real estate containing elements set out in the uniform 

standards. Localities are not required to maintain such 

written document. 

The Commissioner proposes to eliminate the requirement that 

the land have been devoted, for at least five consecutive years 

previously, to specified activities associated with agriculture 

or horticulture and instead have the applicant certify that the 

real estate currently is devoted to the specified activities. 

Mirroring the Law, those activities are: 1) Be devoted to the 

bona fide production for sale of plants or animals that are 

useful to man; 2) Be devoted to the bona fide production for 

sale of products that are useful to man and that are made on 

the real estate from plants or animals produced on the real 

estate; 3) Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

fruit of all kinds, including grapes, nuts, and berries; 4) Be 

devoted to the bona fide production for sale of vegetables; 5) 

Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of nursery or 

floral products; 6) Be devoted to the bona fide production for 

sale of plants or products directly produced on such real 

estate from fruits, vegetables, nursery or floral products, or 

plants produced on such real estate; or 7) Be devoted to and 

meet the requirements and qualifications for payments or 

other compensation pursuant to a soil and water conservation 

program under an agreement with an agency of the state or 

federal government.  

This proposed change would very likely increase the number 

of properties that qualify as "real estate devoted to 

agricultural use" or "real estate devoted to horticultural use," 

since meeting at least one of those activities in the present is 

substantially easier to achieve than to do so for five 

consecutive years. The Commissioner also proposes to 

remove the three-year requirements for minimum field crop 

production and minimum sales. These proposed amendments 

also make it easier for properties to qualify, and would likely 

increase the number of properties that are designated as "real 

estate devoted to agricultural use" or "real estate devoted to 

horticultural use." To the extent that the specified activities 

are preferable to alternative uses of the land such as building 

new houses or office buildings, and to the extent that the 

property owner maintains the best management practices 

required for qualification, the proposed amendments would 

be beneficial.  

Since more properties would qualify, more real estate would 

be assessed at the typically lower use value rather than the 

fair market value. Owners of the qualified properties would 

often pay lower real estate taxes. Thus, localities that have 

ordinances for use value assessments for agricultural and/or 

horticultural real estate may receive lower revenue. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. All owners of real 

estate in the Commonwealth that is not exempt from taxation 

are potentially affected. Owners of real estate located in a 

participating locality who would consider devoting the land to 

agriculture or horticulture use are particularly affected.  

Localities3 Affected.4 Since all local governments may 

choose to have use value assessments for agricultural or 

horticultural real estate, all are potentially affected by the 

proposed amendments. As of 2017, the following local 

governments did have use value assessments for agricultural 

and/or horticultural real estate:5 

Cities: Buena Vista, Chesapeake, Danville, Franklin, 

Fredericksburg, Hampton, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, 

Petersburg, Radford, Roanoke, Staunton, Suffolk, Virginia 

Beach, Waynesboro, and Winchester. 

Counties: Accomack, Albemarle, Alleghany, Amelia, 

Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, 

Botetourt, Campbell, Caroline, Carroll, Chesterfield, Clarke, 

Culpeper, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, 

Floyd, Fluvanna, Franklin, Frederick, Giles, Gloucester, 

Goochland, Greene, Greensville, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, 

Isle of Wight, James City, King George, King William, 
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Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Middlesex, 

Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, Northampton, 

Northumberland, Nottoway, Orange, Page, Pittsylvania, 

Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, Prince William, 

Pulaski, Rappahannock, Richmond, Roanoke, Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Russel, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, 

Spotsylvania, Stafford, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, 

Westmoreland, Wise, Wythe, and York. 

Towns: Altavista, Amherst, Blacksburg, Bridgewater, 

Chilhowie, Christiansburg, Dayton, Front Royal, Hillsville, 

Lebanon, Leesburg, Louisa, Lovettsville, Montross, New 

Market, Pulaski, Remington, Windsor, and Wytheville. 

Eliminating the five-year consecutive use requirement and the 

three-year requirements for minimum field crop production 

and minimum sales would likely increase the number of 

properties that qualify for use value assessments. Since use 

value assessments are typically lower than fair market value 

assessments, there would likely be reduced revenue for 

participating localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposals to eliminate 

the five-year consecutive use requirement and the three-year 

requirements would likely increase the use of land for 

agricultural or horticultural purposes versus for other 

purposes. Consequently, employment in agricultural and 

horticultural activities may increase, and employment 

associated with alternative uses of the land may decrease. It is 

not clear whether there would be a net increase or decrease in 

total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposals to eliminate the five-year consecutive use 

requirement and the three-year requirements would likely 

increase the use of land for agricultural or horticultural 

purposes. Since the real estate taxes would likely be lower for 

the affected properties, the cost of developing the land for 

agricultural or horticultural purposes would likely be lower. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:6 The proposed 

amendments do not directly adversely affect small businesses.  

_____________________________ 

2Source for "use value" and "fair market value" definitions: Lamie, Dave and 
Gordon Groover, "A Citizens' Guide to The Use Value Taxation Program in 

Virginia," 2009, Virginia Cooperative Extension Publication 448-037. 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Source: Kulp, Stephen C. "Virginia Local Tax Rates, 2017: Information for 
All Cities and Counties and Selected Incorporated Towns," Weldon Cooper 

Center for Public Service. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

In response to Chapter 504 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

the proposed amendments (i) clarify requirements by 

listing the specified activities associated with agriculture 

or horticulture that must occur on a property for it to 

qualify as "real estate devoted to agricultural use" or "real 

estate devoted to horticultural use"; (ii) require that the 

owner must certify to such; and (iii) eliminate the 

requirement that the land must have been devoted for at 

least five consecutive years previously to specified 

activities associated with agriculture or horticulture. 

2VAC5-20-10. Preamble Purpose.  

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

adopts these Standards for Classification of Real Estate As 

Devoted to Agricultural Use and to Horticultural Use Under 

the Virginia Land Use Assessment Law to:  

1. Encourage the proper use of real estate in order to assure 

a readily available source of agricultural, horticultural, and 

forest products, and of open space within reach of 

concentrations of population.  

2. Conserve natural resources in forms that will prevent 

erosion.  

3. Protect adequate and safe water supplies.  

4. Preserve scenic natural beauties and open spaces.  

5. Promote proper land-use planning and the orderly 

development of real estate for the accommodation of an 

expanding population.  

6. Promote a balanced economy and ease pressures which 

that force the conversion of real estate to more intensive 

uses.  

The real estate must meet all of the following standards in 

this chapter to qualify for agricultural or for horticultural use.  

2VAC5-20-20. Previous and current use, and exceptions 

Current use.  

A. Previous use. The real estate sought to be qualified must 

have been devoted, for at least five consecutive years 

previous, to the production for sale of plants or animals, or to 

the production for sale of plant or animal products useful to 

man, or devoted to another qualifying use including, but not 

limited to:  

1. Aquaculture  

2. Forage crops  

3. Commercial sod and seed  

4. Grains and feed crops  
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5. Tobacco, cotton, and peanuts  

6. Dairy animals and dairy products  

7. Poultry and poultry products  

8. Livestock, including beef cattle, sheep, swine, horses, 

ponies, mules, or goats, including the breeding and grazing 

of any or all such animals  

9. Bees and apiary products  

10. Commercial game animals or birds  

11. Trees or timber products of such quantity and so 

spaced as to constitute a forest area meeting standards 

prescribed by the State Forester, if less than 20 acres, and 

produced incidental to other farm operations  

12. Fruits and nuts  

13. Vegetables  

14. Nursery products and floral products.  

If a tract of real estate is converted from nonproduction to 

agricultural or horticultural production, the tract may qualify 

without a five-year history of agricultural or horticultural use 

only if the change expands or replaces production enterprises 

existing on other tracts of real estate owned by the applicant.  

B. Current use. The real estate sought to be qualified must 

currently be devoted to the production for sale of plants or 

animals, or to the production for sale of plant or animal 

products useful to man, or devoted to another qualifying use 

including, but not limited to, the items in subsection A of this 

section; except that no A. The applicant shall certify that the 

real estate sought to be qualified currently meets one or more 

of the following requirements: 

1. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of plants 

or animals that are useful to man; 

2. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

products that are useful to man and that are made on the 

real estate from plants or animals produced on the real 

estate; 

3. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of fruit 

of all kinds, including grapes, nuts, and berries; 

4. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

vegetables; 

5. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

nursery or floral products; 

6. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of plants 

or products directly produced on such real estate from 

fruits, vegetables, nursery or floral products, or plants 

produced on such real estate; or 

7. Be devoted to and meet the requirements and 

qualifications for payments or other compensation pursuant 

to a soil and water conservation program under an 

agreement with an agency of the state or federal 

government.  

B. No real estate devoted to the production of trees or timber 

products may qualify unless:  

1. The real estate is less than 20 acres.; 

2. The real estate meets the technical standards prescribed 

by the State Forester,; and  

3. The real estate is producing tree or timber products 

incidental to other farm operations.  

C. Exceptions.  

1. Conversions by farm operator -- nonqualifying real 

estate. If a tract of real estate is converted from other uses 

or nonproduction to agricultural or horticultural 

production, the tract may qualify without the five-year 

history of agricultural or horticultural use when the change 

expands or replaces production enterprises existing on 

other tracts of real estate owned by the applicant, 

regardless of location. 

2. Conversions by farm operator -- qualifying real estate. If 

a tract of real estate is converted from a qualifying use 

(forestry or open space) to agricultural or horticultural 

production, the tract may qualify without the five year 

history of agricultural or horticultural use.  

3. Government action. If a tract of real estate which has 

previously qualified for agricultural use taxation is not 

devoted to agricultural or horticultural production because 

of governmental actions, the tract or portions shall be 

considered productive for that period of time.  

4. Crops that require more than two years. The tract of real 

estate may qualify without the five-year history of 

agricultural or horticultural use if the tract of real estate is 

devoted to the production of any agricultural or 

horticultural crop that requires more than two years from 

initial planting until commercially feasible harvesting, and 

the locality in which the tract of real estate is located has 

waived with respect to such real estate the five-year-

history-of-agricultural-or-horticultural-use requirement.  

2VAC5-20-30. Conservation of land resources; 

management and production.  

A. Conservation of land resources. The applicant shall 

certify that the real estate is being used in a planned program 

of practices that:  

1. With respect to real estate devoted to a use that disturbs 

the soil or that affects water quality, is intended to (in the 

case of soil) reduce or prevent soil erosion and (in the case 

of water) improve water quality by best management 

practices such as terracing, cover cropping, strip cropping, 

no-till planting, sodding waterways, diversions, water 
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impoundments, and other best management practices, to 

the extent that best management practices exist for that use 

of the real estate.  

2. With respect to real estate devoted to crops grown in the 

soil, is intended to maintain soil nutrients by the 

application of soil nutrients (organic and inorganic) needed 

to produce average yields of such crops or as 

recommended by soil tests.  

3. Is intended to control brush, woody growth, and noxious 

weeds on row crops, hay, and pasture by the use of 

herbicides, biological controls, cultivation, mowing, or 

other normal cultural practices.  

B. Management and production. The applicant shall certify 

that the real estate is being used in a planned program of 

management and production for sale of plants or animals (or 

plant or animal products useful to man), which include, but 

are not limited to, field crops, livestock, livestock products, 

poultry, poultry products, dairy, dairy products, aquaculture 

products, and horticultural products; or that the real estate is 

being used for any other thing that is a qualifying use 

pursuant to 2VAC5-20-20 that corresponds with the 

demonstration of at least one of the requirements in 2VAC5-

20-20 A 1 through A 6.  

C. Field crop production shall be primarily for commercial 

uses and the average crop yield per acre on each crop grown 

on the real estate during the immediate three years previous, 

shall be equal to at least one-half of the county (city) average 

for the past three years; except that the local government may 

prescribe lesser requirements when unusual circumstances 

prevail and such requirements are not realistic.  

Livestock, dairy, poultry, or aquaculture production shall be 

primarily for commercial sale of livestock, dairy, poultry, and 

aquaculture products. Livestock, dairy, and poultry shall have 

a minimum of 12 animal unit-months of commercial livestock 

or poultry per five acres of open land in the previous year. 

One animal unit to be one cow, one horse, five sheep, five 

swine, 100 chickens, 66 turkeys, or 100 other fowl. (An 

animal unit-month means one mature cow or the equivalent 

on five acres of land for one month; therefore, 12 animal unit-

months means the maintenance of one mature cow or the 

equivalent on each five acres for 12 months, or any 

combination of mature cows or the equivalent and months 

that would equal 12 animal unit-months, such as three mature 

cows or the equivalent for four months, four mature cows or 

the equivalent for three months, two mature cows or the 

equivalent for six months, etc.).  

Horticultural production includes nursery, greenhouse, cut 

flowers, plant materials, orchards, vineyards, and small fruit 

products.  

Timber production, in addition to crop, livestock, dairy, 

poultry, aquaculture, and horticultural production on the real 

estate must meet the standards prescribed by the Department 

of Forestry for forest areas and will be assessed at use value 

for forestry purposes.  

2VAC5-20-40. Certification procedures.  

A. Documentation. The commissioner of the revenue or the 

local assessing officer may require the applicant to document 

what the applicant must certify pursuant to 2VAC5-20-20 and 

2VAC5-20-30. The commissioner of the revenue or local 

assessing officer may find one of the following documents 

useful in making his determination:  

1. The assigned USDA/Farm Service Agency farm number 

and evidence of participating in a federal farm program;  

2. Federal tax forms (1040F) Farm Expenses and Income, 

(4835) Farm Rental Income and Expenses, or (1040E) 

Cash Rent for Agricultural Land;  

3. A Conservation Farm Management Plan conservation 

farm management plan prepared by a professional; or  

4. Gross sales averaging more than $1,000 annually over 

the previous three years Documentation demonstrating that 

the real estate sought to be qualified currently is devoted to 

the bona fide production for sale of one of the requirements 

in 2VAC5-20-20 A 1 through A 6; or 

5. Documentation demonstrating that the real estate sought 

to be qualified currently is devoted to and meeting the 

requirements and qualifications for payments or other 

compensation pursuant to a soil and water conservation 

program under an agreement with a federal government or 

state government agency. 

B. Interpretation of standards. In cases of uncertainty on the 

part of the commissioner of the revenue or the local assessing 

officer, the law authorizes him to request an opinion from the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services as to 

whether a particular property meets the criteria for 

agricultural or horticultural classification. The procedure for 

obtaining such an opinion is as follows:  

1. The commissioner of the revenue or the local assessing 

officer shall address a letter to the Commissioner, Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. 

Box 1163, Richmond, Virginia 23218, describing the use 

and situation, and requesting an opinion of whether the real 

estate qualifies as agricultural or horticultural real estate 

for the purpose of use-value taxation. The letter should 

include the following:  

a. Owner's name and address.  

b. Operator's name and address.  

c. Total number of acres, acres in crops, acres in pastures, 

acres in a federal or state soil and water conservation 

programs (Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources 

Conservation Service, Virginia Department of 
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Conservation and Recreation programs), program, and 

acres in forest.  

d. If more than one tract of real estate, the number of 

acres in each tract and whether the tracts are contiguous.  

e. A copy of the application for land use assessment 

taxation.  

f. In any case involving a question about the applicability 

of the exception to the five-year-history-of-agricultural-

or-horticultural-use requirement contained in 2VAC5-20-

20 C 4 (relating to real estate devoted to the production 

of an agricultural or horticultural crop that requires more 

than two years from initial planting until commercially 

feasible harvesting), a statement as to whether the 

locality has waived with respect to such real estate, the 

five-year-history-of-agricultural-or-horticultural-use 

requirement.  

2. The commissioner may request additional information, 

if needed, directly from the applicant; or he may hold a 

hearing at which the applicant and others may present 

additional information.  

3. The commissioner will issue an opinion as soon as 

possible after all necessary information has been received.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5646; Filed December 17, 2019, 4:43 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations (adding 

3VAC5-50-250).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 

213-4698, or email latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, and § 4.1-

101.01 of the Code of Virginia establishes the Board of 

Directors of the Authority. Section 4.1-103 of the Code of 

Virginia enumerates the powers of the board, which include 

the authority to adopt regulations and to do all acts necessary 

or advisable to carry out the purposes of The Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Subdivision 7 of § 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia 

states that the board may delegate or assign any duty or task 

to be performed by the authority to any officer or employee of 

the authority. Subdivision 24 of § 4.1-103 permits the board 

to promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and § 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the board with the authority to adopt regulations that 

it deems reasonable to carry out the provisions of the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Act and to amend or repeal such 

regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to provide a 

definition of "confectionery" and to provide clarification as to 

the restrictions regarding the alcohol content, prohibition of 

sales to those younger than 21 years of age, and labeling 

requirements for confections containing alcohol. 

Substance: The emergency regulation currently effective until 

June 29, 2020, reads: 

3VAC5-50-250. Confectionery; definition; restrictions; 

labeling. 

A. "Confectionery" means a general class of sweet foods 

and edibles, including baked goods and candies, having an 

alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume. 

B. Any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be 

in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. Such 

alcohol shall be fully integrated or blended into the 

confectionery product. 

C. Any such confectionery shall only be sold to those 

individuals who can lawfully consume alcohol. 

D. Any establishment licensed to sell confectioneries for 

off-premises consumption shall properly label the product 

with such label including: 

1. Notice that the product contains alcohol; 

2. Notice that the product can only be consumed off 

premises; and 

3. Warning that the product should not be consumed by 

anyone under the age of 21. 

The only difference between the emergency regulation and 

the proposed regulation is removal of the phrase "a general 

class of sweet foods and edibles including" in the definition 

of "confectionery." In the proposed regulation, 

"confectionery" is defined as "baked goods and candies 

having an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume."  

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the agency, and 

the Commonwealth is that the emergency regulation will be 

replaced with a permanent regulation. The permanent 

regulation is not confusing; the provisions are 

straightforward. The agency does not see any disadvantages 

to the public or the agency based on the proposed change. 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to 2018 legislation, the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Board of Directors (Board) proposes to establish a 

definition for "confectionery" and labeling requirements for 

such confectionery. This proposed permanent regulation 

replaces an emergency regulation that became effective on 

July 1, 2018 and expires on December 30, 2019.  

Background. Chapters 1732 and 3343 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly created a confectionery license, which authorizes 

the licensee to prepare and sell on the licensed premises (for 

off-premises consumption) confectionery that contains five 

percent or less alcohol by volume. The Acts also stated that 

any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be in 

liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold.  

An enactment clause in the legislation specified that the 

Board promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of 

the act, to include a definition of the term "confectionery" and 

labeling requirements for such confectionery. The Board 

proposes to define "confectionery" as "baked goods and 

candies, having an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by 

volume." Further, the Board proposes to require that the 

confectionaries be labeled with: 1) notice that the product 

contains alcohol, 2) notice that the product can only be 

consumed off premises, and 3) a warning that the product 

should not be consumed by anyone under the age of 21. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Prior to the legislation and 

emergency regulation, it was illegal to sell confectioneries in 

the Commonwealth. Pursuant to Code of Virginia § 4.1-3024 

and § 4.1-100,5 it would have been a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

Allowing the sale of confectionaries through licensure is 

beneficial in that consumers gain access to products that they 

may enjoy, and businesses gain the opportunity to sell 

potentially profitable additional products. The proposal to 

require that the labeling specify that the products contain 

alcohol is beneficial in that it greatly reduces the likelihood 

that people who would prefer to not consume alcohol-

containing foods, or should not consume, would consume 

these products by mistake. 

The legislation specified that the Board include labeling 

requirements. Given that labeling is required, the Board's 

proposed labeling requirements do not substantively add 

costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal affects 

firms who may wish to produce and/or sell confectionaries, as 

well as consumers. Since the emergency regulation has been 

in effect (July 1, 2018), five firms have obtained 

confectionery licensure.  

Localities6 Affected.7 The legislation and proposed regulation 

allow confectioneries to be prepared and sold with a license 

throughout the Commonwealth. Thus far, through the 

emergency regulation, there are five licensees. They are 

located in the Cities of Martinsville and Richmond (2), and 

the Counties of Henrico and York. The proposal does not 

produce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Allowing the sale of 

confectioneries through licensure may have a small positive 

impact on employment because more workers may be needed 

for the production and sale of the newly legal products. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Allowing 

the sale of confectioneries through licensure enables firms to 

gain the opportunity to sell potentially profitable additional 

products. This would likely increase the value of some such 

firms. The proposal does not appear to directly affect real 

estate development costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:8 The proposed 

regulation does not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses.  

________________________________ 

2See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0173 

3See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0334 

4See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter3/section4.1-302/ 

5Definition of "Alcoholic beverages" includes solids containing one-half of 

one percent or more of alcohol by volume. See 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-100/ 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed action implements the confectionery license 

created by Chapters 173 and 334 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, which authorizes the licensee to prepare and 

sell confectionery on the licensed premises for off-premises 

consumption. The proposed provisions require that the 

confectionery contain 5.0% or less alcohol by volume and 

that any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not 

be in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. The 

regulation defines the term "confectionery" and includes 

labeling requirements for such confectionery. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0173
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?181+ful+CHAP0334
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter3/section4.1-302/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/chapter1/section4.1-100/
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3VAC5-50-250. Confectionery; definition; restrictions; 

labeling. 

A. "Confectionery" means baked goods and candies having 

an alcohol content not more than 5.0% by volume. 

B. Any alcohol contained in such confectionery shall not be 

in liquid form at the time such confectionery is sold. Such 

alcohol shall be fully integrated or blended into the 

confectionery product. 

C. Any such confectionery shall only be sold to those 

individuals who can lawfully consume alcohol. 

D. Any establishment licensed to sell confectioneries for 

off-premises consumption shall properly label the product 

with such label including: 

1. Notice that the product contains alcohol; 

2. Notice that the product can only be consumed off 

premises; and 

3. Warning that the product should not be consumed by 

anyone younger than 21 years of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5486; Filed December 17, 2019, 4:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality 

Standards (amending 9VAC25-260-310).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1251 et seq.; 40 CFR 131. 

Effective Date: January 9, 2020.  

On June 27, 2019, the State Water Control Board adopted 

revisions to the Water Quality Standards in 9VAC25-260-

310. These revisions relate to numeric chlorophyll criteria for 

the tidal James River. The amendments were published as 

final regulations in 36:2 VA.R. 101-105 September 16, 2019, 

to be effective upon the board filing notice of U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approval with the 

Registrar of Regulations. The State Water Control Board 

received a letter from Catherine Libertz, EPA Region III 

Regional Acting Director, Water Protection Division, dated 

January 6, 2020, that approved all of the amendments. 

Therefore, the amendments to 9VAC25-260-310 in this 

regulatory action are effective as regulation.  

Agency Contact: Tish Robertson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 

698-4309, FAX (804) 698-4116, or email 

tish.robertson@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-2932; Filed January 9, 2020, 2:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Objection to Fast-Track  
Rulemaking Action  

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to § 2.2-4012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, the State Board of Health has filed a notice 

of objection to the fast-track rulemaking action published in 

36:6 VA.R. 453-474 November 11, 2019. The board intends 

to proceed with the standard promulgation process set out in 

Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, with the initial publication of the fast-track 

regulation serving as the Notice of Intended Regulatory 

Action. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-90. Regulations for Disease 

Reporting and Control (amending 12VAC5-90-10, 

12VAC5-90-80, 12VAC5-90-90, 12VAC5-90-103, 

12VAC5-90-107, 12VAC5-90-140, 12VAC5-90-215, 

12VAC5-90-225, 12VAC5-90-280, 12VAC5-90-370).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-35, and 32.1-42 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

The State Board of Health has filed a notice of objection to 

the fast-track rulemaking action for 12VAC5-90, Regulations 

for Disease Reporting and Control. The fast-track regulation 

was published in Volume 36, Issue 6, pages 453 through 474 

of the Virginia Register of Regulations, on November 11, 

2019. A 30-day public comment period was provided, and 

public comment was received through December 11, 2019.  

The board received more than the requisite 10 objections to 

the amendments. Due to the objections, the board has 

discontinued using the fast-track rulemaking process. The 

board will proceed with adoption of the amendments using 

the standard process under Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act, and the publication on 

November 11, 2019, will serve as the Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or 

email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5357; Filed December 20, 2019, 10:37 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7701
mailto:tish.robertson@deq.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss06/v36i06.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss06/v36i06.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss06/v36i06.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss06/v36i06.pdf
mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (adding 12VAC30-60-65). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-766, 12VAC30-120-924, 12VAC30-120-930). 

12VAC30-122. Community Waiver Services for 

Individuals with Developmental Disabilities (adding 

12VAC30-122-125).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq.  

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 21, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 12006 of the 21st Century Cures Act (Public 

Law 114-255) mandates the adoption of electronic visit 

verification (EVV) technology applicable to personal care 

services (effective January 1, 2019) and home health care 

services (effective January 1, 2023) as provided by Medicaid 

without regard to whether the services are covered via a 

waiver or the State Plan for Medical Assistance. Section 1 of 

Public Law 115-222 delayed the onset of fiscal penalties and 

the adoption of EVV technologies for one year past the 

original statute (i.e., until January 1, 2020). 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

covers personal care, respite care, and companion services 

under the authority of Social Security Act § 1915(b) and (c) 

managed care and home and community based care waivers. 

Due to the highly similar nature of waiver companion 

services and waiver respite services to personal care services, 

DMAS is also requiring the use of EVV for these services 

under the authority of Item 303 LLL of Chapter 2 of the 2018 

Acts of Assembly, Special Session I. Personal care, respite 

care, and companion services are designed to provide services 

in support of activities of daily living (e.g., bathing, dressing, 

toileting, transferring, and feeding) in slightly different 

circumstances. The Commonwealth also covers instrumental 

activities of daily living (e.g., meal preparation, money 

management, shopping, and community activities) under 

personal care, respite care, and companion services for those 

individuals who require this type of assistance.  

Home health care services are federally mandated services for 

Title XIX programs under the authority of § 1905(a)(7) of the 

Social Security Act. This service provides skilled nursing 

services, aide services, and medical supplies and equipment 

for individuals in their residences, without requiring that they 

be homebound, upon the order of the physicians for such 

individuals. The application of EVV to home health services 

takes effect January 1, 2023, and is not reflected in this 

regulatory action. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to implement the 

mandates of § 1903(l) of the Social Security Act regarding 

EVV as applicable to personal care services across all the 

waivers and State Plan covered services. Absent the 

Commonwealth's adoption of this requirement, § 1903(l) also 

mandates the reduction of federal matching funds for 

expenditures for personal care services ($869 million). 

Reductions in Medicaid federal funds, in the absence of EVV, 

would be expected to exceed several millions of dollars 

thereby substantially affecting the health, safety, and welfare 

of Medicaid individuals by service reductions and loss. 

Action by the General Assembly in Item 303 LLL of Chapter 

2 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, applies 

this EVV requirement also to companion services and respite. 

The action that will apply EVV requirements to home health 

services is to be addressed in the near future in a separate 

regulatory action because of the January 1, 2023, effective 

date set out in federal law. 

Substance: The sections of the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance affected by this action are (i) Standards 

Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality of 

Care (12VAC30-60) and Amount, Duration, and Scope of 

Medical and Remedial Care Services (12VAC30-50). The 

state-only regulations affected by this action are the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus and Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care Plus Programs in Waivered Services 

(12VAC30-120) and Community Waiver Services for 

Individuals with Developmental Disabilities (12VAC30-122).  

Currently, there are no such requirements in either the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance or any related waiver programs 

because electronic visit verification has not applied to Title 

XIX prior to the passage of the Cures Act. 

The 21st Century Cures Act (Cures Act) was designed to 

improve the quality of services and supports provided to 

individuals through research, enhancing quality control, and 

strengthening mental health parity. This regulatory action 

addresses enhancing quality control of services provided to 

individuals. 

One of the federal purposes of electronic visit verification is 

the reduction of potential fraud, waste, and abuse through 

validating that billed services to make sure they comport with 

an individual's plan of care using EVV data. Such validation 

ensures appropriate payment based on actual service delivery. 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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These systems will enable greater opportunities for enhanced 

care coordination, data sharing, and improved payment 

accuracy with the concomitant reduction of billing errors. The 

Department of Health and Human Services Office of the 

Inspector General has recognized EVV as a positive step 

toward safeguarding individuals.  

Another federal purpose is the improvement of program 

efficiencies by reducing the need for paper documentation to 

verify services, speeding up provider electronic billing, and 

supporting individuals using self-direction services by 

permitting greater flexibility for appointments and services. 

Analysis conducted by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) determined that the following 

system models exist: 

• Provider choice model: major providers currently use 

different EVV systems that are Cures Act compliant.  

• Managed care organization choice model: managed 

care organizations currently use different EVV systems 

that are Cures Act compliant. 

• State mandated in-house model and state mandated 

external vendor model: providers not widely using EVV, 

or the EVV systems in use do not meet the state's needs, 

so the state intends to develop its own EVV system. 

• Open vendor model: smaller providers are not widely 

using EVV but may have one or more larger providers 

using Cures Act compliant EVV system. 

The Cures Act design of EVV requirements allows the states 

to select their design and implement quality control measures 

of their choosing. The states are required to consult with other 

affected entities, including (i) other state agencies providing 

personal care or home health care services and (ii) other 

stakeholders, such as family caregivers, individuals receiving 

and furnishing personal care and home health services, and 

providers of these services. EVV systems must be minimally 

burdensome and compliant with Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act (HIPAA) privacy mandates. EVV 

systems are not intended to limit the services provided or 

provider selection, constrain individual caregiver choices, or 

impede the way care is rendered. EVV systems should 

accommodate personal care and home health care service 

delivery locations with limited or no internet access. EVV 

systems should allow individuals to schedule their services 

directly with their providers, allowing for last-minute changes 

based on individual needs. EVV systems should 

accommodate services at multiple approved locations, not just 

the individual's home, and allow for multiple service delivery 

locations in a single visit. 

DMAS conducted a comprehensive review of the CMS 

alternatives permitted to meet the federal requirements and 

concluded that the open vendor model afforded the most 

provider flexibility for Virginia. The open vendor model 

allows providers that currently use EVV systems to maintain 

a working relationship with their claims processing vendors 

as well as permitting all providers to select a system that 

meets their business needs while being cost effective. In 

October 2017, DMAS issued a request for information (RFI) 

to learn more about EVV systems available in the 

marketplace. Several EVV vendors responded, providing 

information on their system capabilities. This was useful in 

identifying some of the system requirements included in this 

action.  

DMAS recommends adoption of the open vendor model 

because it will enable providers, either large or small, to 

select the EVV system that best suits their business models 

and operational practices. Affected providers are expected to 

opt for EVV systems that will smoothly and efficiently link 

with the electronic billing systems they currently use in order 

to facilitate a quick, effective electronic billing process. 

DMAS is currently designing a computerized aggregator 

system to accept incoming data from multiple EVV systems 

and compile it into service utilization data in support of 

claims adjudication and payments processing. The DMAS 

EVV system regulatory requirements comport with 

§ 12006(a)(5) of the Cures Act and do not exceed the 

minimum requirements contained in federal law. 

Implementing this system now for personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services, as required by 

federal law, will facilitate the implementation of EVV 

applicable to home health services by 2023. 

Issues: Providers are expected to experience faster claims 

processing with fewer denied claims and reduced numbers of 

post-payment review audit recoveries. The primary advantage 

to the agency and the Commonwealth is avoiding the 

reduction of federal matching funds for failure to comply. 

The advantage to Medicaid individuals is that the personal 

care services, respite care services, and companion care 

services that they receive will comport with their identified 

needs in their plans of care with few, if any, disruptions. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth in this action. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages of this action to individual private citizens.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board) proposes to 

amend 12VAC30-60 Standards Established and Methods 

Used to Assure High Quality Care in order to implement 

electronic visit verification (EVV) for personal care services, 

companion services, and respite services that are provided to 

qualifying Medicaid beneficiaries. EVV is a telephone and 

computer-based system by which providers of these services 

create an electronic record of their arrival and departure 

times, location, and the services provided at each visit. The 

electronic record is transmitted to the provider organizations, 
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who are required to submit the electronic records as part of 

the claim-filing process and then retain the records for a 

minimum of six years. EVV data can potentially be used to 

ascertain that every visit billed to Medicaid actually occurred 

and also validate that each visit conformed to the recipient's 

Plan of Care. The Board seeks to add a new section (65), 

which contains the specific requirements for the 

implementation of EVV, to 12VAC30-60. The bulk of the 

analysis presented here focuses on the proposed regulations 

put forth in this section.  

In addition, the Board proposes multiple identical 

amendments to 12VAC30-50 Amount, Duration, and Scope 

of Medical and Remedial Care Services, 12VAC30-120 

Waivered Services, and 12VAC30-122 Community Waiver 

Services for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities, 

each one being directed at a specific category of service 

providers. Each amendment instructs the relevant service 

providers to implement EVV and directs them to 12VAC30-

60-65 for additional detail on the requirements. Specifically, 

these amendments apply to the following services: 

• personal care for children receiving early preventative 

screening, diagnosis, and treatment (12VAC30-50-130);  

• consumer-directed or agency-directed personal care or 

respite care specifically for activities of daily living 

(12VAC30-120-766); 

• personal care or respite care for individuals under the 

Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver, 

agency or consumer-directed companion services in the 

workplace or postsecondary school, and agency or 

consumer-directed respite services (12VAC30-120-924); 

and 

• services for individuals with developmental disabilities 

receiving community waiver services (12VAC30-122-

125).  

Lastly, the Board seeks to include the amendment requiring 

EVV in 12VAC30-120-930, which provides general 

requirements for home and community-based providers, to 

clarify that all types of personal care providers are covered by 

the EVV requirements, without exception.  

Background. The proposed action conforms the requirements 

of the Medicaid program with the federal 21st Century Cures 

Act as applicable to Title XIX concerning electronic visit 

verification. The 21st Century Cures Act was signed into law 

in December 2016 and added § 1903(1) to the Social Security 

Act (SSA). The Cures Act includes fiscal penalties for states 

that failed to implement the EVV requirement for personal 

care services by January 1, 2019. The 2018 Appropriation Act 

(2018 Special Session 1, Acts of Assembly Chapter 2, Item 

303, LLL) gave the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) the authority to implement the EVV 

requirement prior to the completion of any regulatory process. 

In July 2018, Congress enacted H.R. 6042 to delay the onset 

of the penalties until January 1, 2020; subsequently in 

January 2019, the Budget Bill was amended (2019 Acts of 

Assembly Chapter 854) to allow DMAS until October 1, 

2019, to implement EVV for personal care services. DMAS 

expects to meet this deadline and has been working with 

various stakeholders, including service providers and 

vendors, to ensure that they implement EVV well in advance 

of the federal deadline, so as to not risk facing any fiscal 

penalties. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Failure to comply with the 

requirements of the Cures Act would have resulted in a small 

reduction in the Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 

(FMAP) rate for personal care expenditures in the first year 

and larger reductions in subsequent years. Given DMAS 

expended a total of $868 million in 2017 for personal care 

services (both agency-directed and consumer-directed) even a 

small decrease in the FMAP would have cost several million 

dollars. By implementing EVV before the deadline, in 

compliance with all the requirements of the federal Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services, DMAS benefits from 

avoiding any such penalty. Avoiding the penalty is possibly 

the most readily quantifiable benefit of implementing this 

regulation. 

Other benefits may accrue to providers, beneficiaries, and 

DMAS. Provider organizations may use EVV to manage and 

monitor the delivery of care and services, reduce paper-based 

recordkeeping, and streamline their own documentation 

process for submitting insurance claims, which could also 

lead to faster claim payments as payers use the EVV data to 

more efficiently detect fraud or waste. Medicaid beneficiaries 

who utilize personal care services and may have been 

harmed, either directly or indirectly, by improper payments 

(fraud or abuse) in personal care provision are now benefited 

by the increased transparency and accountability provided by 

EVV. To the extent that improper payments in personal care 

provision increased DMAS expenditures, the implementation 

of EVV could reduce those losses.  

However, greater transparency and fraud reduction also 

incurs certain costs. Providers have to contract with vendors 

to adopt appropriate EVV tools that support their operations. 

In areas with limited wireless internet connectivity, this could 

mean using landline telephones or installing devices at the 

consumer's home that can be used by the care providers. In 

areas where wireless connectivity is stronger, EVV vendors 

may provide mobile applications deployed on the provider's 

smartphone or on a tablet or similar device given to the 

provider. These mobile applications may combine web-based 

timesheets with GPS-based location services to collect and 

transmit very precise data. Depending on the size of the 

provider organization and the locations in which they operate, 

these costs could vary widely but would include both the one-

time cost of deploying the technology and training users and 

any recurring costs such as technology refresh, network or 
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connectivity charges, and charges for using a data 

clearinghouse to submit claims and receive remittances from 

the insurance companies.  

Some small providers responded to queries by DPB staff 

saying that although EVV was not required for their 

customers with other insurance, they chose to implement it 

for all their clients so that each caregiver could use the same 

process for scheduling and entering visit data with all the 

individuals who they directly serve. These providers reported 

lower costs (less than $10 per member per month) and were 

located in areas with widespread wireless internet coverage 

and high rates of smartphone adoption. However, providers in 

areas without widespread internet coverage reported higher 

up-front costs of training staff in using multiple EVV tools 

(using landlines and Wi-Fi) as well as higher ongoing costs 

(approximately $20 per member per month) and said they 

could not afford to implement EVV for their non-Medicaid 

clients. None of the small providers who responded had 

adopted EVV as a business practice prior to the passage of the 

Cures Act. Furthermore, those who implemented it in time for 

the initial January 1, 2019, deadline expressed some 

frustration about the vendor fees that could have been avoided 

had they known that the deadline would be postponed to 

October 1, 2019. 

In an effort to minimize costs to providers, DMAS convened 

an EVV Regulation Development Workgroup (Workgroup) 

and also issued a Request for Information (RFI) from service 

providers and EVV vendors seeking information on their 

capacity to implement EVV in the least disruptive manner. 

Based on the information received, DMAS chose to adopt an 

"open" model, in which they could parlay the requirements of 

the Cures Act to providers as a broad range of technical 

specifications, rather than a "closed" model in which 

providers would have to implement a specific system chosen 

by DMAS. Hence, providers were given the freedom to work 

with vendors of their choice, including vendors they were 

already using for scheduling or payroll.  

Based on minutes from the Workgroup's deliberations, it 

appears that the fiscal/employers' agents (F/EA) for 

consumer-directed services have been able to transition their 

existing timesheets and payroll systems to one that meets 

EVV requirements. Given that DMAS contracted with an 

F/EA that for individuals covered by Medicaid fee-for-service 

receiving consumer-directed personal assistance, this might 

have set a precedent for other F/EAs acting on behalf of 

managed care organizations (MCOs). Finally, providers are 

incentivized to implement EVV simply because it is a 

required component of filing claims and receiving payments 

from DMAS. Providers who have been slow to implement 

EVV will not be paid until and unless they do so.  

In the medium run to long run, regulatory requirements such 

as EVV could have consequences that may not be apparent in 

the short run. These requirements impose the greatest burden 

for the smallest provider groups who may have very minimal 

capacity for moving beyond the most basic payroll systems. 

Over time, regulatory requirements that involve significant 

technology upgrades can encourage market concentration in 

the industry because small providers eventually find it more 

cost effective to merge into larger organizations that can 

afford to have an in-house software development team or can 

contract with external vendors more competitively.  

This process may be underway, as evidenced by the presence 

of groups such as the Partnership for Medicaid Home-Based 

Care, a consortium representing the largest home and 

personal care service providers, MCOs, and EVV vendors. 

The participating organizations are all corporations, some 

publicly-traded, that operate across multiple states. These 

groups, or their member organizations, are well-situated to 

participate in RFIs, such as the one conducted by DMAS, and 

submit compelling arguments in favor of the "open" model 

that promotes flexibility and efficiency for the providers.  

Regulations targeting providers that require technology 

upgrades also create incentives for Managed Care 

Organizations (MCOs) to offer technology solutions to the 

providers in their network and absorb the up-front costs of 

developing and deploying the technology. Otherwise, they 

might face providers who want to be reimbursed for the 

additional costs accrued from complying with such 

regulations. This in turn will likely prompt MCOs to 

negotiate higher capitation rates or special payments that 

cover the cost of regulatory compliance. It would be 

impossible to isolate the effect of just the EVV requirement 

on any marginal increase to capitation rates in the future or 

determine whether any rate increases are offset by decreases 

in improper payments, but it offers an illustration of the 

process by which one technological upgrade, in this case 

through regulatory action, could lead to increases in health 

care costs.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect numerous organizations providing 

personal care or assistance as well as the individuals receiving 

these services and possibly their families. In state fiscal year 

2017, DMAS estimates that about 68,000 people who used 

these services would be affected per year. This includes 

roughly 34,000 individuals in managed care who were 

eligible for personal care, respite care, and companion care 

services. (According to DMAS, managed care information is 

reported as encounter data, without user counts.) In the fee-

for-service system, roughly 27,780 individuals used personal 

care services. 

Based on the fee-for-service claims, DMAS estimates that 

about 600 provider organizations of agency-directed personal 

care would be affected. DMAS estimates that 90% of these 

are likely to be small businesses. Other private entities 

affected include Adult Rehabilitation Centers, Area Agencies 

on Aging, disability support organizations, and organizations 
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with religious affiliations that provide support services, to the 

extent that the population they serve receives Medicaid 

coverage. The proposed amendments would also affect 

vendors that develop and provide software services.  

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments do not 

immediately introduce new costs for local governments. 

However, these requirements would affect Community 

Services Boards and Area Agencies on Aging, which are 

administered by local governments in conjunction with the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services and the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services respectively, to the extent that the population they 

serve receives Medicaid coverage. Localities with greater 

proportions of Medicaid recipients who utilize personal care 

services would be disproportionately affected by the proposed 

regulations.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment. In the short run, more 

jobs may have been created by the demand for new software 

solutions to meet the EVV requirements. This regulation is 

unlikely to affect the ongoing shortage of home health care 

and personal care workers. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 

of managed care organizations and information technology 

vendors that provide EVV solutions may increase. Real estate 

development costs are not affected. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:4  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

Based on the fee-for-service claims, DMAS estimates that about 

600 provider organizations of agency-directed personal care will 

be affected. DMAS estimates that 90% of these are likely to be 

small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The EVV requirements impose the 

greatest burden for the smallest provider groups who may have 

very minimal capacity for engaging with more sophisticated 

software requirements moving beyond the most basic payroll 

systems. Over time, regulatory requirements that involve 

significant technology upgrades can encourage market 

concentration in the industry because small providers eventually 

find it more cost effective to merge into larger organizations that 

can afford to have an in-house software development team or can 

contract with external vendors more competitively.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Given the 

potential for millions of dollars in reduced federal funding for 

failing to require EVV, there are no clear alternative methods 

that would meet the requirements of the Cures Act. In the 

absence of the Cures Act, alternative systems to reduce fraud or 

waste such as random site audits, or automated random remote 

audits could have been considered.  

_______________________________ 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

For personal care, companion care, and respite care 

services, the proposed amendments establish the 

requirements for electronic visit verification (EVV), which 

is a telephone and computer-based system by which 

providers of services to qualifying Medicaid individuals 

create an electronic record of their arrival and departure 

times, locations, and services provided at each visit. 

Additional proposed amendments require the 

implementation of EVV for specific categories of service 

providers, including those providing (i) personal care 

services for children receiving early preventative 

screening, diagnosis, and treatment; (ii) consumer-

directed or agency-directed personal care or respite care 

services specifically for activities of daily living; (iii) 

personal care or respite care services for individuals under 

the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer-Direction Waiver, 

agency-directed or consumer-directed companion services 

in the workplace or postsecondary school, and agency-

directed or consumer-directed respite care services; and 

(iv) services for individuals with developmental disabilities 

receiving community waiver services. The proposed 

amendments are in conformance with the 21st Century 

Cures Act (Public Law 114-255), Public Law 115-222, and 

Item 303 LLL of Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I.  

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services, and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. General provisions for early and periodic screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) of individuals younger 

than 21 years of age and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age who are 

Medicaid eligible for medically necessary stays in acute 

care facilities and the accompanying attendant physician 

care in excess of 21 days per admission when such services 
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are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of 

health conditions identified through a physical 

examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 

provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 

well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 

covered for foster children of the local departments of 

social services on specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 

medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 

an EPSDT examination or evaluation. DMAS shall place 

appropriate utilization controls upon this service. 

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1989, early and periodic screening, 

diagnostic, and treatment services means the following 

services: screening services, vision services, dental 

services, hearing services, and such other necessary health 

care, diagnostic services, treatment, and other measures 

described in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or 

ameliorate defects and physical and mental illnesses and 

conditions discovered by the screening services and that 

are medically necessary, whether or not such services are 

covered under the State Plan and notwithstanding the 

limitations, applicable to recipients 21 years of age and 

older, provided for by § 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. 

C. Community mental health services provided through 

early and periodic screening diagnosis and treatment 

(EPSDT) for individuals younger than 21 years of age. These 

services in order to be covered (i) shall meet medical 

necessity criteria based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who 

are practicing within the scope of their licenses and (ii) shall 

be reflected in provider records and on provider claims for 

services by recognized diagnosis codes that support and are 

consistent with the requested professional services.  

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Adolescent" means the individual receiving the services 

described in this section. For the purpose of the use of this 

term, adolescent means an individual 12 through 20 years 

of age.  

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Care coordination" means the collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers involved with an 

individual's health care to improve the care.  

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Child" means an individual ages birth through 11 years. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification 

training as a PRS under a certifying body approved by 

DBHDS, and have documented completion of the DBHDS 

PRS supervisor training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental 

health professional (QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as 

defined in 12VAC35-105-20 with at least two consecutive 

years of documented experience as a QMHP, and who has 

documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP who has documented 

completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training who is 

acting within his scope of practice under state law. An 

LMHP providing services before April 1, 2018, shall have 

until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS PRS 

supervisor training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by the Department of Health Professions in the 

document entitled Approved Degrees in Human Services 

and Related Fields for QMHP Registration, adopted 

November 3, 2017, revised February 9, 2018. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 

for licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An 

LMHP-resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board 

of Counseling.  

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 

in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. 

An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 
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compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and 

shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be 

considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 

clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 

writing by the Virginia Board of Psychology.  

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 

or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 

in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 

An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for 

supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall 

not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered 

a "supervisee" until the supervision for specific clinical 

duties at a specific site is preapproved in writing by the 

Virginia Board of Social Work.  

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 

and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 

and strategies.  

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-

105-20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-

105-590 including a "QMHP-trainee" as defined by the 

Department of Health Professions. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same 

as defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member 

as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental 

health status. It includes documented history of the 

severity, intensity, and duration of mental health care 

problems and issues and shall contain all of the following 

elements: (i) the presenting issue or reason for referral, (ii) 

mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) previous 

interventions by providers and timeframes and response to 

treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) developmental history 

including history of abuse, if appropriate, (vi) educational 

or vocational status, (vii) current living situation and 

family history and relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) 

drug and alcohol profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) 

mental status exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) 

professional summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) 

recommended care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated 

signature of the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-

resident, or LMHP-RP.  

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall be time-

limited interventions provided in the individual's residence 

and when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 

shall be designed to specifically improve family dynamics 

and provide modeling and the clinically necessary 

interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 

interpersonal relations between family members in the 

home. IIH services are designed to promote benefits of 

psychoeducation in the home setting of an individual who 

is at risk of being moved into an out-of-home placement or 

who is being transitioned to home from an out-of-home 

placement due to a documented medical need of the 

individual. These services provide crisis treatment; 

individual and family counseling; communication skills 

(e.g., counseling to assist the individual and the 

individual's parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 

understand and practice appropriate problem solving, anger 

management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); care 

coordination with other required services; and 24-hour 

emergency response.  

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 

prior to the start of services at the onset of services and 

ISPs shall be required during the entire duration of 

services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 
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outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 

be denied reimbursement. Requirements for service-

specific provider intakes and ISPs are set out in this 

section. 

c. These services shall only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided two 

or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions (a unit is defined in 12VAC30-60-61 D 11). 

Day treatment programs provide evaluation; medication 

education and management; opportunities to learn and use 

daily living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills (e.g., problem solving, anger management, 

community responsibility, increased impulse control, and 

appropriate peer relations, etc.); and individual, group, and 

family counseling.  

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required 

prior to the start of services, and ISPs shall be required 

during the entire duration of services. Services based 

upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 

provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

c. These services shall be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 

QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric 

residential treatment facility (PRTF) services for early and 

periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) of 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this subsection shall have the following meanings: 

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan 

of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care 

(CIPOC). 

"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to obtain 

information from the child or adolescent and parent, 

guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing 

a tool or series of tools to provide a comprehensive 

evaluation and review of the child's or adolescent's mental 

health status. The assessment shall include a documented 

history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 

health problems and behavioral and emotional issues. 

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement 

by an independent certification team that services in a 

therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were needed.  

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, 

therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote 

(i) the development or restoration of adaptive functioning, 

self-care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated 

activities and community living skills that each individual 

requires to live in less restrictive environments; (iii) 

behavioral consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; 

(v) skills restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family 

living and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 

communication skills, and stress management skills; (vi) 

family education and family therapy; and (vii) 

individualized treatment planning. 

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" 

means a person centered plan of care that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that 

produces an acute, heightened emotional, mental, physical, 

medical, or behavioral event. 

"Crisis management" means immediately provided 

activities and interventions designed to rapidly manage a 

crisis. The activities and interventions include behavioral 

health care to provide immediate assistance to individuals 

experiencing acute behavioral health problems that require 

immediate intervention to stabilize and prevent harm and 

higher level of acuity. Activities shall include assessment 

and short-term counseling designed to stabilize the 

individual. Individuals are referred to long-term services 

once the crisis has been stabilized. 

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a 

PRTF through a resident-to-staff ratio approved by the 

Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services with documented 

supervision checks every 15 minutes throughout a 24-hour 

period. 

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care 

coordination that begins upon admission to a PRTF or 

therapeutic group home with the goal of transitioning the 

individual out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home to a 

less restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-

appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as 

possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be 

recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or 

treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of 

the plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS 

contractor. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 
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"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are 

made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it 

appears that the individual is in need of an immediate 

admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely 

does not meet the medical necessity criteria to receive 

crisis intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute psychiatric 

inpatient services.  

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute 

psychiatric inpatient services, and referral assistance 

provided over the telephone or face-to-face if indicated, 

and available 24 hours a day, seven days per week. 

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and 

strengths-based approach to partnering with families in 

making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired 

outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-

being for children, adolescents, and families. Family 

engagement requires ongoing opportunities for an 

individual to build and maintain meaningful relationships 

with family members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, 

and noncontingent telephone calls and visits between an 

individual and family members. Family engagement may 

also include enhancing or facilitating the development of 

the individual's relationship with other family members 

and supportive adults responsible for the individual's care 

and well-being upon discharge. 

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention 

consisting of family psychoeducational training or 

coaching, transition planning with the family, family and 

independent living skills, and training on accessing 

community supports as identified in the plan of care. 

Family engagement activity does not include and is not the 

same as family therapy. 

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the 

individual's family and significant others to advance the 

treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the family 

member and significant others is for the direct benefit of 

the individual, (ii) the counseling is not aimed at 

addressing treatment needs of the individual's family or 

significant others, and (iii) the individual is present except 

when it is clinically appropriate for the individual to be 

absent in order to advance the individual's treatment goals. 

Family therapy shall be aligned with the goals of the 

individual's plan of care. All family therapy services 

furnished are for the direct benefit of the individual, in 

accordance with the individual's needs and treatment goals 

identified in the individual's plan of care, and for the 

purpose of assisting in the individual's recovery. 

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team. 

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of 

Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision, 

published by the World Health Organization.  

"Independent certification team" means a team that has 

competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, 

preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of the 

individual's situation; and is composed of at least one 

physician and one LMHP. The independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

contractual or employment relationships with the required 

team members.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or 

PRTF services. 

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of 

principles, standards, and methods of the counseling 

profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis for 

the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives 

and (ii) planning, implementing, and evaluating plans of 

care using treatment interventions to facilitate human 

development and to identify and remediate mental, 

emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated 

distresses that interfere with mental health.  

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered 

plan of care established at admission that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such 

as individual or group psychoeducation; skills restoration; 

structured behavior support and training activities; 

recreation, art, and music therapies; community integration 

activities that promote or assist in the child's or 

adolescent's ability to acquire coping and functional or 

self-regulating behavior skills; day and overnight passes; 

and family engagement activities. Interventions shall not 

include individual, group, and familytherapy; medical or 

dental appointments; or physician services, medication 

evaluation, or management provided by a licensed clinician 

or physician and shall not include school attendance. 

Interventions shall be provided in the therapeutic group 

home or PRTF and, when clinically necessary, in a 

community setting or as part of a therapeutic pass. All 

interventions and settings of the intervention shall be 

established in the plan of care. 

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the 

comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC). 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" 

means the same as defined in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-

hour, supervised, clinically and medically necessary, out-

of-home active treatment program designed to provide 
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necessary support and address mental health, behavioral, 

substance abuse, cognitive, and training needs of an 

individual younger than 21 years of age in order to prevent 

or minimize the need for more intensive treatment. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant 

or recipient for whom therapeutic group home or PRTF 

services are needed.  

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily 

cost for placement in a licensed PRTF. Residential room 

and board costs are maintenance costs associated with 

placement in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private 

room, three meals and two snacks per day, and personal 

care items. Room and board costs are reimbursed only for 

PRTF settings.  

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 

including physician and other health care services that are 

furnished to children while they are in a freestanding 

psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged 

practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric 

hospital's or PRTF's per diem. 

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist 

individuals in the restoration of lost skills that are 

necessary to achieve the goals established in the 

beneficiary's plan of care. Services include assisting the 

individual in restoring self-management, interpersonal, 

communication, and problem solving skills through 

modeling, coaching, and cueing. 

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential 

service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-

based home having eight or fewer residents.  

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with 

family consisting of partial or entire days of time away 

from the therapeutic group home or psychiatric residential 

treatment facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care 

and as paired with facility-based and community-based 

interventions to promote discharge planning, community 

integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic 

passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component 

of the plan of care and are designed for the direct benefit of 

the individual. 

"Treatment planning" means development of a person 

centered plan of care that is specific to the individual's 

unique treatment needs and acuity levels. 

2. Therapeutic group home services pursuant to 42 CFR 

440.130(d). 

a. Therapeutic group home services for children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall provide 

therapeutic services to restore or maintain appropriate 

skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior and 

healthy living, including skills restoration, family living 

and health awareness, interpersonal skills, 

communication skills, and stress management skills. 

Therapeutic services shall also engage families and 

reflect family-driven practices that correlate to sustained 

positive outcomes post-discharge for youth and their 

family members. Each component of therapeutic group 

home services is provided for the direct benefit of the 

individual, in accordance with the individual's needs and 

treatment goals identified in the individual's plan of care, 

and for the purpose of assisting in the individual's 

recovery. These services are provided under 42 CFR 

440.130(d) in accordance with the rehabilitative services 

benefit. 

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 

including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 

period in addition to individual, group, and family 

therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 

is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 

the individual's deviations from the plan of care. 

Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and 

shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals 

and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation 

from the plan of care shall be documented along with a 

clinical or medical justification for the deviation. 

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a 

therapeutic group home. The following requirements for 

severity of need and intensity and quality of service shall 

be met to satisfy the medical necessity criteria for 

admission. 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only 

be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour therapeutic 

milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to 

significant impairments in home, school, and community 

functioning caused by current mental health symptoms 

consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis.  

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the 

following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available 

modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 

treatment) available in the community do not meet the 

treatment needs of the individual; (ii) proper treatment of 

the individual's psychiatric condition requires services on 

an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and 

(iii) the services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. 

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. 

The assessment shall demonstrate at least two areas of 

moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate 

impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption 

in major life activities. A moderate impairment is 
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evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in 

the family setting such as credible threats of physical 

harm, where "frequent" means more than expected for 

the individual's age and developmental level; (ii) frequent 

inability to accept age-appropriate direction and 

supervision from caretakers, from family members, at 

school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely 

limited involvement in social support, which means 

significant avoidance of appropriate social interaction, 

deterioration of existing relationships, or refusal to 

participate in therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired 

ability to form a trusting relationship with at least one 

caretaker in the home, school, or community; (v) limited 

ability to consider the effect of one's inappropriate 

conduct on others; and (vi) interactions consistently 

involving conflict, which may include impulsive or 

abusive behaviors. 

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been 

given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if 

not attempted, have been considered, but in either 

situation were determined to be unable to meet the 

individual's treatment needs and the reasons for that are 

discussed in the certificate of need. 

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment 

in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of care 

(LOC), are not primarily due to any of the following: (i) 

intellectual disability, developmental disability, or 

autistic spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, 

traumatic brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii) 

the individual does not require a more intensive level of 

care. 

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or 

surgical treatment. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. All of the following criteria shall be met to 

satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been 

prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other 

LMHP who has documented that a residential setting is 

the least restrictive clinically appropriate service that can 

meet the specifically identified treatment needs of the 

individual. 

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for 

clinically inappropriate reasons, including (i) an 

alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii) 

an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's 

capacity to provide a place of residence for the 

individual; or (iii) a treatment intervention when other 

less restrictive alternatives are available. 

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the 

service specific provider intake and include behaviorally 

defined objectives that require and can reasonably be 

achieved within a therapeutic group home setting. 

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate 

with the individual's community resources, including 

schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal of 

transitioning the individual out of the program to a less 

restrictive care setting for continued, sometimes 

intensive, services as soon as possible and appropriate. 

(e) The therapeutic group home program must 

incorporate nationally established, evidence-based, 

trauma-informed services and supports that promote 

recovery and resiliency.  

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with 

concrete plans for the individual to transition back into 

the community beginning within the first week of 

admission, with clear action steps and target dates 

outlined in the plan of care. 

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall 

be met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met 

and continue to be supported by the written clinical 

documentation.  

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the desired outcome or level of functioning 

has not been restored or improved in the timeframe 

outlined in the individual's plan of care or the individual 

continues to be at risk for relapse based on history or (ii) 

the nature of the functional gains is tenuous and use of 

less intensive services will not achieve stabilization. 

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following 

criteria: (i) the individual has achieved initial CIPOC 

goals, but additional goals are indicated that cannot be 

met at a lower level of care; (ii) the individual is making 

satisfactory progress toward meeting goals but has not 

attained plan of care goals, and the goals cannot be 

addressed at a lower level of care; (iii) the individual is 

not making progress, and the plan of care has been 

modified to identify more effective interventions; or (iv) 

there are current indications that the individual requires 

this level of treatment to maintain level of functioning as 

evidenced by failure to achieve goals identified for 

therapeutic visits or stays in a nontreatment residential 

setting or in a lower level of residential treatment.  

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) 

identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at 

discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual will 

attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes 

individualized education program (IEP) and FAPT 

recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the aftercare 

treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of 

care is not an acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists 
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barriers to community reintegration and progress made 

on resolving these barriers since last review. 

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for 

combined treatment services and activities to ensure the 

attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 

identified in the plan of care. Combined treatment 

services reinforce and practice skills learned in 

individual, group, and family therapy such as community 

integration skills, coping skills, family living and health 

awareness skills, interpersonal skills, and stress 

management skills. Combined treatment services may 

occur in group settings, in one-on-one interactions, or in 

the home setting during a therapeutic pass. In addition to 

the combined treatment services, the child or adolescent 

must also receive psychotherapy services, care 

coordination, family-based discharge planning, and 

locality-based transition activities. The child or 

adolescent shall receive intensive family interventions at 

least twice per month, although it is recommended that 

the intensive family interventions be provided at a 

frequency of one family therapy session per week. 

Family involvement begins immediately upon admission 

to therapeutic group home. If the minimum requirement 

cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, and 

continued efforts to involve family members must also be 

documented. Other family members or supportive adults 

may be included as indicated in the plan of care. 

(f) Less restrictive treatment options have been 

considered but cannot yet meet the individual's treatment 

needs. There is sufficient current clinical documentation 

or evidence to show that therapeutic group home level of 

care continues to be the least restrictive level of care that 

can meet the individual's mental health treatment needs. 

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: 

(i) the level of functioning has improved with respect to 

the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the individual 

can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a 

lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual no longer 

benefits from service as evidenced by absence of 

progress toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 

days; or (iii) other less intensive services may achieve 

stabilization. 

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each therapeutic group home resident: 

(1) An assessment be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission with a documented 

DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. 

Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar days 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting 

within his scope of practice. 

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's unique 

treatment needs and acuity levels. The IPOC shall be 

completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual and a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The IPOC shall include all of the 

following:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 

that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 

develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual;  

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, 

and any special health care needs whether or not 

provided in the facilities, treatments, restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, therapeutic 

passes, social services, community integration, diet, and 

special procedures recommended for the health and 

safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; and  

(g) Plans for discharge.  

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 

calendar days after admission. The CIPOC shall meet all 

of the following criteria:  

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group 

home care;  

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health 

care providers, FAPT if necessary, the individual, and the 

family or legal guardian;  

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include 

measurable short-term and long-term goals and 

objectives, with target dates for achievement;  

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

activities, and experiences designed to meet the treatment 

objectives related to the diagnosis; and  
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(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with 

necessary, clinically appropriate community services to 

ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the 

individual's family, school, and community.  

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated 

every 30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S and the individual or a family member 

or primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated 

by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual or a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The review shall include all of the 

following:  

(a) The individual's response to the services provided;  

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's overall response to the CIPOC interventions; 

and  

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being 

provided continue to be required.  

(7) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and 

individualized therapy shall be provided to address both 

behavioral health and substance use disorder needs as 

indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent crises 

and challenges within the therapeutic group home setting 

or community settings as defined in the plan of care and 

to avoid a higher level of care. 

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, 

educational, and other behavioral health providers and 

other entities involved in the care and discharge planning 

for the individual as included in the plan of care. 

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the 

therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate 

for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61.  

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) 

group therapy shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and documented in the 

plan of care. 

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically 

indicated, provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S, and documented in progress notes in 

accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61 

and as planned and documented in the plan of care. 

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in 

addition to family therapy or counseling. Family 

engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as 

outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication 

with the family or legally authorized representative shall 

be part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 

care. For each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall identify and document the specific barriers to the 

individual's engagement with the individual's family or 

legally authorized representatives. The therapeutic group 

home shall document on a weekly basis the reasons why 

family engagement is not occurring as required. The 

therapeutic group home shall document alternative 

family engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly basis to 

develop individualized family engagement strategies and 

document the revised strategies in the plan of care. 

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with facility-

based and community-based interventions to promote 

discharge planning, community integration, and family 

engagement activities.  

(a) The provider shall document how the family was 

prepared for the therapeutic pass to include a review of 

the plan of care goals and objectives being addressed by 

the planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in 

effect during the therapeutic pass. 

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the 

individual on the therapeutic pass and the therapeutic 

pass exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make daily 

contacts with the family and be available 24 hours per 

day to address concerns, incidents, or crises that may 

arise during the pass. 

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven 

calendar days of the therapeutic pass to discuss the 

accomplishments and challenges of the therapeutic pass 

along with an update on progress toward plan of care 

goals and any necessary changes to the plan of care. 

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per 

individual, per admission, without authorization as 

approved by the treating LMHP and documented in the 

plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require 

service authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic 

passes shall result in retraction for those days of service. 

(14) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's stay at the 

therapeutic group home. The family or guardian, the 

community services board (CSB), the family assessment 

and planning team (FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS 

contracted care manager shall be involved in treatment 

planning and shall identify the anticipated needs of the 

individual and family upon discharge and available 
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services in the community. Prior to discharge, the 

therapeutic group home shall submit an active and viable 

discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. Once 

the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, the 

provider shall begin actively collaborating with the 

family or legally authorized representative and the 

treatment team to identify behavioral health and medical 

providers and schedule appointments for service-specific 

provider intakes as needed. The therapeutic group home 

shall request permission from the parent or legally 

authorized representative to share treatment information 

with these providers and shall share information pursuant 

to a valid release. The therapeutic group home shall 

request information from post-discharge providers to 

establish that the planning of pending services and 

transition planning activities has begun, shall establish 

that the individual has been enrolled in school, and shall 

provide individualized education program 

recommendations to the school if necessary. The 

therapeutic group home shall inform the DMAS 

contractor of all scheduled appointments within 30 

calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 

contractor within one business day of the individual's 

discharge date from the therapeutic group home. 

(15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services or 

nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of 

this subsection are not eligible for reimbursement.  

(16) Therapeutic group home services providers shall be 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations 

for Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when treatment goals are met or other less intensive 

services may achieve stabilization. 

(18) Services that are based upon incomplete, missing, or 

outdated service-specific provider intakes or plans of 

care shall be denied reimbursement.  

(19) Therapeutic group home services may only be 

rendered by and within the scope of practice of an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 

a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20. 

(20) The psychiatric residential treatment facility or 

therapeutic group home shall coordinate necessary 

services and discharge planning with other providers as 

medically and clinically necessary. Documentation of 

this care coordination shall be maintained by the facility 

or group home in the individual's record. The 

documentation shall include who was contacted, when 

the contact occurred, what information was transmitted, 

and recommended next steps. 

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this 

subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for 

each day of noncompliance.  

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and 

medically necessary out-of-home program designed to 

provide necessary support and address mental health, 

behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment 

needs of an individual younger than 21 years of age in 

order to prevent or minimize the need for more inpatient 

treatment. Active treatment and comprehensive discharge 

planning shall begin prior to admission. In order to be 

covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age, these 

services shall (i) meet DMAS-approved psychiatric 

medical necessity criteria or be approved as an EPSDT 

service based upon a diagnosis made by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who is practicing within the 

scope of his license and (ii) be reflected in provider records 

and on the provider's claims for services by recognized 

diagnosis codes that support and are consistent with the 

requested professional services.  

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders when such services are rendered by a 

psychiatric facility that is not a hospital and is accredited 

by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children, or by any other 

accrediting organization with comparable standards that 

is recognized by the state. 

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by 

DBHDS.  

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a) and 

(b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and 

(ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be service authorized, 

and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 

clinical necessity. 

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 

years of age shall include services defined at 42 CFR 

440.160 that are provided under the direction of a 

physician pursuant to a certification of medical necessity 

and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team 

of professionals and shall involve active treatment 

designed to achieve the child's discharge from PRTF 

services at the earliest possible time. The PRTF services 

benefit shall include services provided under 

arrangement furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers 

other than the PRTF, as long as the PRTF (i) arranges for 

and oversees the provision of all services, (ii) maintains 

all medical records of care furnished to the individual, 
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and (iii) ensures that the services are furnished under the 

direction of a physician. Services provided under 

arrangement shall be documented by a written referral 

from the PRTF. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 

prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 

facility who is licensed to prescribe drugs shall be 

considered the referral.  

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

these services: (i) medical and psychological services, 

including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 

health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iv) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) 

durable medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) 

dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) 

nonemergency transportation services; and (x) 

emergency services.  

f. PRTF services shall include assessment and 

reassessment; room and board; daily supervision; 

combined treatment services; individual, family, and 

group therapy; care coordination; interventions; general 

or special education; medical treatment (including 

medication, coordination of necessary medical services, 

and 24-hour onsite nursing); specialty services; and 

discharge planning that meets the medical and clinical 

needs of the individual. 

g. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. 

The following requirements for severity of need and 

intensity and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the 

medical necessity criteria for admission: 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 

(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual has a 

DSM-5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric 

treatment. 

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition 

leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence 

of residential treatment. 

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual 

would be a risk to self or others if the individual were not 

in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the individual's mental 

disorder, there is an inability for the individual to 

adequately care for his own physical needs, and 

caretakers, guardians, or family members are unable to 

safely fulfill these needs, representing potential serious 

harm to self. 

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for 

daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access 

to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare 

services; and to develop the adaptive and functional 

behavior that will allow the individual to live outside of a 

PRTF setting. 

(e) The individual's current living environment does not 

provide the support and access to therapeutic services 

needed. 

(f) The individual is medically stable and does not 

require the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or 

procedures provided in a hospital level of care. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy 

the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis 

must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation. 

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of 

skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning 

and arranging access to a range of educational, 

therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the 

development of the adaptive and functional behavior that 

will allow the individual to live outside of a PRTF 

setting. 

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment 

and residential living support is provided in a timely 

manner. This treatment must be medically monitored, 

with 24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing 

services availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-

a-week psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family or 

support system involvement occurring at least once per 

week or valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is 

not clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii) psychotropic 

medications, when used, are to be used with specific 

target symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current 

medical problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant 

substance use issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination 

with the individual's community resources, including the 

local school division and FAPT case manager, as 

appropriate, with the goal of returning the individual to 

his regular social environment as soon as possible, unless 

contraindicated. School contact should address an 

individualized educational plan as appropriate. 

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 

admission, when progress is not occurring, when 

substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use 

and medications may have a potential adverse 

interaction. After a positive screen, additional random 

screens are considered and referral to a substance use 

disorder provider is considered. 
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(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria 

shall be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical 

evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the 

persistence of problems that caused the admission to a 

degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both 

severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the 

emergence of additional problems that meet the 

admission criteria (both severity of need and intensity of 

service needs); or (iii) that disposition planning or 

attempts at therapeutic reentry into the community have 

resulted in or would result in exacerbation of the 

psychiatric illness to the degree that would necessitate 

continued PRTF treatment. Subjective opinions without 

objective clinical information or evidence are not 

sufficient to meet severity of need based on justifying the 

expectation that there would be a decompensation. 

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-

limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before 

the individual can return to a new or previous living 

situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made 

to secure timely access to treatment resources and 

housing in anticipation of discharge, with alternative 

housing contingency plans also being addressed. 

(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on 

the alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and precipitating 

psychosocial stressors that are interfering with the 

individual's ability to return to a less-intensive level of 

care. 

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably 

expected to bring about significant improvement in the 

problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 c (3) (a) of 

this subsection, and this is documented in weekly 

progress notes written and signed by the provider. 

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support 

system involvement occurring at least once per week, 

unless there is an identified valid reason why it is not 

clinically appropriate or feasible. 

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked 

to the behaviors or symptoms that resulted in admission 

and begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF resources 

including the local school division and FAPT case 

manager as appropriate. 

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and 

quality of service criteria are applied as related to 

assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and 

appropriate. 

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the 

following applies: (i) the level of functioning has 

improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of 

care, and the individual can reasonably be expected to 

maintain these gains at a lower level of treatment; (ii) the 

individual no longer benefits from service as evidenced 

by absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a 

period of 30 days; or (iii) other less intensive services 

may achieve stabilization. 

h. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each PRTF resident: 

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter 

and shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis.  

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification 

shall occur at least every 30 calendar days by a physician 

acting within his scope of practice. 

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed 

within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The 

IPOC shall include:  

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits 

that would facilitate recovery and opportunities to 

develop motivational strategies and treatment alliance;  

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission;  

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals;  

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, 

dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not 

provided in the facility; education or special education; 

treatments; interventions; and restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social 

services, diet, and special procedures recommended for 

the health and safety of the individual;  

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care;  

(g) Plans for discharge; and  

(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or 

legally authorized representative, a physician, and 

treatment team members. 

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later 

than 14 calendar days after admission by the treatment 

team. The PRTF shall request authorizations from 

families to release confidential information to collect 

information from medical and behavioral health 

treatment providers, schools, FAPT, social services, court 

services, and other relevant parties. This information 

shall be used when considering changes and updating the 
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CIPOC. The CIPOC shall meet all of the following 

criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care; 

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

physicians and other personnel specified in subdivision 3 

d 4 of this subsection who are employed by or provide 

services to the individual in the facility in consultation 

with the individual, family member, or legally authorized 

representative, or appropriate others into whose care the 

individual will be released after discharge; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include 

measurable, evidence-based, and short-term and long-

term goals and objectives; family engagement activities; 

and the design of community-based aftercare with target 

dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

interventions, activities, and experiences designed to 

meet the treatment objectives related to the individual 

and family treatment needs; and  

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and 

coordination of current care and post-discharge plans 

with related community services to ensure continuity of 

care upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, 

and community. 

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days 

by the team specified in subdivision 3 d 4 of this 

subsection to determine that services being provided are 

or were required from a PRTF and to recommend 

changes in the plan as indicated by the individual's 

overall adjustment during the time away from home. The 

CIPOC shall include the signature and date from the 

individual, parent, or legally authorized representative, a 

physician, and treatment team members. 

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per 

week (or more frequently based upon the individual's 

needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

this subsection and 12VAC30-60-61. 

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically 

indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

this subsection. 

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically 

indicated by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-

S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the individual and 

family or legally authorized representative's goals and the 

requirements in this subsection. 

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to 

family therapy or counseling. Family engagement shall 

be provided at least weekly as outlined in the plan of care 

and daily communication with the treatment team 

representative and the treatment team representative and 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be 

part of the family engagement strategies in the plan of 

care. For each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall identify and 

document the specific barriers to the individual's 

engagement with his family or legally authorized 

representatives. The PRTF shall document on a weekly 

basis the reasons that family engagement is not occurring 

as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family 

engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall collaborate 

with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop individualized 

family engagement strategies and document the revised 

strategies in the plan of care. 

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour 

period including nights and weekends. Family 

engagement activities are considered to be an 

intervention and shall occur based on the treatment and 

visitation goals and scheduling needs of the family or 

legally authorized representative. Interventions shall be 

documented on a progress note and shall be outlined in 

and aligned with the treatment goals and objectives in the 

plan of care. Any deviation from the plan of care shall be 

documented along with a clinical or medical justification 

for the deviation based on the needs of the individual.  

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with 

community-based and facility-based interventions to 

promote discharge planning, community integration, and 

family engagement. Therapeutic passes include activities 

as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this section 

subsection. Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be 

permitted per individual, per admission, without 

authorization as approved by the treating physician and 

documented in the plan of care. Additional therapeutic 

passes shall require service authorization from DMAS. 

Any unauthorized therapeutic passes not approved by the 

provider or DMAS shall result in retraction for those 

days of service. 

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's placement at the 

PRTF. The parent or legally authorized representative, 

the community services board (CSB), the family 

assessment planning team (FAPT) case manager, if 
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appropriate, and the DMAS contracted care manager 

shall be involved in treatment planning and shall identify 

the anticipated needs of the individual and family upon 

discharge and identify the available services in the 

community. Prior to discharge, the PRTF shall submit an 

active discharge plan to the DMAS contractor for review. 

Once the DMAS contractor approves the discharge plan, 

the provider shall begin collaborating with the parent or 

legally authorized representative and the treatment team 

to identify behavioral health and medical providers and 

schedule appointments for service-specific provider 

intakes as needed. The PRTF shall request written 

permission from the parent or legally authorized 

representative to share treatment information with these 

providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid 

release. The PRTF shall request information from post-

discharge providers to establish that the planning of 

services and activities has begun, shall establish that the 

individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide 

individualized education program recommendations to 

the school if necessary. The PRTF shall inform the 

DMAS contractor of all scheduled appointments within 

30 calendar days of discharge and shall notify the DMAS 

contractor within one business day of the individual's 

discharge date from the PRTF. 

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in 

subdivisions 3 h (1) through 3 h (12) of this subsection 

up until the discharge of the individual shall result in a 

retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and 

coordinated service payments for each day of 

noncompliance.  

i. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise 

in pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and 

experience, preferably including competence in child or 

adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of 

the following: assessing the individual's immediate and 

long-range therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, 

and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing the 

potential resources of the individual's family or legally 

authorized representative; setting treatment objectives; 

and prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the 

CIPOC's objectives. 

(2) The team shall include one of the following:  

(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist;  

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician 

licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or  

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathy with specialized training and experience in 

the diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a 

licensed clinical psychologist. 

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP. 

4. Requirements for independent certification teams 

applicable to both therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. The independent certification team shall certify the 

need for PRTF or therapeutic group home services and 

issue a certificate of need document within the process 

and timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under 

contractual agreement with the DMAS contractor. 

b. The independent certification team shall be approved 

by DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with 

a locality or be approved under contractual agreement 

with the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and 

coordinate referral to the family assessment and planning 

team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of 

the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and 

for consideration of educational coverage and other 

supports not covered by DMAS. 

c. The independent certification team shall assess the 

individual's and family's strengths and needs in addition 

to diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that indicate the 

need for behavioral health treatment and also consider 

whether local resources and community-based care are 

sufficient to meet the individual's treatment needs, as 

presented within the previous 30 calendar days, within 

the least restrictive environment. 

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team, 

shall meet with an individual and the individual's parent 

or legally authorized representative within two business 

days from a request to assess the individual's needs and 

begin the process to certify the need for an out-of-home 

placement.  

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an 

individual and the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative within 10 business days from a 

request to certify the need for an out-of-home placement. 

f. The independent certification team shall assess the 

treatment needs of the individual to issue a certificate of 

need (CON) for the most appropriate medically 

necessary services. The certification shall include the 

dated signature and credentials for each of the team 

members who rendered the certification. Referring or 

treatment providers shall not actively participate during 

the certification process but may provide supporting 

clinical documentation to the certification team. 

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior 

to admission. 
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h. The independent certification team shall provide the 

completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of 

completing the CON. 

i. The individual and the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative shall have the right to freedom 

of choice of service providers. 

j. If the individual or the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative disagrees with the independent 

certification team's recommendation, the parent or legally 

authorized representative may appeal the 

recommendation in accordance with 12VAC30-110.  

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification 

team, determines that the individual is in immediate need 

of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to an 

appropriate Medicaid-enrolled crisis intervention 

provider, crisis stabilization provider, or inpatient 

psychiatric provider in accordance with 12VAC30-50-

226 or shall refer the individual for emergency admission 

to a PRTF or therapeutic group home under subdivision 4 

m of this subsection and shall also alert the individual's 

managed care organization.  

l. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid 

at the time of admission, the independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

competence in the diagnosis and treatment of mental 

illness, preferably in child psychiatry, and have 

knowledge of the individual's situation and service 

availability in the individual's local service area. The 

team shall be composed of at least one physician and one 

LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP. 

An individual's parent or legally authorized 

representative shall be included in the certification 

process. 

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be 

made by the team responsible for the comprehensive 

individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall 

only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the 

team responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days 

after admission. The certification shall cover any period 

of time after admission and before claims are made for 

reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an 

emergency admission, the therapeutic group home, 

PRTF, or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall 

notify the DMAS contractor within five calendar days of 

the individual's status as being under the care of the 

facility.  

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the 

certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS 

contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care 

coordination and consideration of educational coverage 

and other supports not covered by DMAS. 

o. For individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program, 

the certification shall be made by the team responsible 

for the CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before 

the application for Medicaid eligibility for which claims 

are made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the 

individual's enrollment into the Medicaid program, the 

therapeutic group home, PRTF, or IMD shall notify the 

DMAS contractor of the individual's status as being 

under the care of the facility within five calendar days of 

the individual becoming eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs:  

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted 

by DMAS using medical necessity criteria specified in 

this subsection.  

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis 

and meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission. The 

diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past 

12 months. If a current diagnosis is not available, the 

individual will require a mental health evaluation prior to 

admission by an LMHP affiliated with the independent 

certification team to establish a diagnosis and 

recommend and coordinate referral to the available 

treatment options. 

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be 

agreed upon by the individual and parent or legally 

authorized representative with the treating provider, and 

the treating provider shall be responsible for evaluating 

and documenting evidence of treatment progress, 

assessing the need for ongoing out-of-home placement, 

and obtaining authorization for continued stay. 

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for 

these services shall include:  

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment 

instrument approved by DMAS;  

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent 

certification team specifying all of the following:  

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded 

services available in the community do not meet the 

specific treatment needs of the individual;  

(b) Alternative community-based care was not 

successful;  

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric 

condition requires services in a 24-hour supervised 

setting under the direction of a physician; and  

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that a more intensive level of care will not be needed; 
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(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) 

an evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP that has been 

completed within 30 calendar days of admission or (ii) a 

diagnosis confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review 

of a previous evaluation completed within one year of 

admission; 

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the 

seven calendar days immediately prior to admission; 

(5) A description of alternate placements and community 

mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional 

behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the 

outcomes of each service; 

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical 

stability; 

(7) The level of family involvement and supports 

available; and 

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC). 

6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay 

authorization or a reauthorization to occur, the individual 

shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The 

length of the authorized stay shall be determined by 

DMAS. A current plan of care and a current (within 30 

calendar days) summary of progress related to the goals 

and objectives of the plan of care shall be submitted to 

DMAS for continuation of the service. The service 

provider shall also submit: 

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 

more than 30 business days prior to the date of 

submission;  

b. Documentation that the required services have been 

provided as defined in the plan of care;  

c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information 

on progress related to the achievement of all treatment 

and discharge-related goals; and  

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment 

and treatment needs, problem behaviors, family 

engagement activities, community-based discharge 

planning and care coordination, and need for a residential 

level of care.  

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic 

group homes and PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded 

based on medical necessity for individuals eligible for 

EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities 

not available to other individuals, such as applied 

behavioral analysis and neuro-rehabilitative services. 

Individualized services to address specific clinical needs 

identified in an EPSDT screening shall require 

authorization by a DMAS contractor. In unique EPSDT 

cases, DMAS may authorize specialized services beyond 

the standard therapeutic group home or PRTF medical 

necessity criteria and program requirements, as medically 

and clinically indicated to ensure the most appropriate 

treatment is available to each individual. Treating service 

providers authorized to deliver medically necessary 

EPSDT services in therapeutic group homes and PRTFs on 

behalf of a Medicaid-enrolled individual shall adhere to the 

individualized interventions and evidence-based progress 

measurement criteria described in the plan of care and 

approved for reimbursement by DMAS. All 

documentation, independent certification team, family 

engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and discharge 

planning requirements shall apply to cases approved as 

EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service. 

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age for medically 

necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described 

in 42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders identified under EPSDT when such services meet 

the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this 

subsection. 

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under 

the direction of a physician.  

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a 

psychiatric hospital that undergoes a state survey to 

determine whether the hospital meets the requirements 

for participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as 

specified in 42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national 

organization whose psychiatric hospital accrediting 

program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an 

inpatient psychiatric program that undergoes a state 

survey to determine whether the hospital meets the 

requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, 

as specified in 42 CFR part 482 or is accredited by a 

national accrediting organization whose hospital 

accrediting program has been approved by CMS. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care 

hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also 

be subject to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 

12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25. 

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a) and 

42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 

42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of Participation 

in 42 CFR Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be 

service authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 

requirements for clinical necessity. 
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e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age shall include services that 

are provided pursuant to a certification of medical 

necessity and plan of care developed by an 

interdisciplinary team of professionals and shall involve 

active treatment designed to achieve the individual's 

discharge from inpatient status at the earliest possible 

time. The inpatient psychiatric benefit shall include 

services provided under arrangement furnished by 

Medicaid enrolled providers other than the inpatient 

psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient psychiatric 

facility (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of all 

services, (ii) maintains all medical records of care 

furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that the 

services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 

Services provided under arrangement shall be 

documented by a written referral from the inpatient 

psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 

prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 

inpatient psychiatric facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral.  

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange 

for, maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

pharmacy services and emergency services. Private 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order the 

following services: (i) medical and psychological 

services including those furnished by physicians, 

licensed mental health professionals, and other licensed 

or certified health professionals (i.e., nutritionists, 

podiatrists, respiratory therapists, and substance abuse 

treatment practitioners); (ii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iii) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (iv) laboratory and radiology services; (v) 

vision services; (vi) dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic 

services; (vii) nonemergency transportation services; and 

(viii) emergency services. (Emergency services means 

the same as is set forth in 12VAC30-50-310 B.) 

E. Mental health family support partners. 

1. Mental health family support partners are peer recovery 

support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer activities 

that engage, educate, and support the caregiver and an 

individual's self-help efforts to improve health recovery 

resiliency and wellness. Mental health family support 

partners is a peer support service and is a strength-based, 

individualized service provided to the caregiver of a 

Medicaid-eligible individual younger than 21 years of age 

with a mental health disorder that is the focus of support. 

The services provided to the caregiver and individual must 

be directed exclusively toward the benefit of the Medicaid-

eligible individual. Services are expected to improve 

outcomes for individuals younger than 21 years of age with 

complex needs who are involved with multiple systems 

and increase the individual's and family's confidence and 

capacity to manage their own services and supports while 

promoting recovery and healthy relationships. These 

services are rendered by a PRS who is (i) a parent of a 

minor or adult child with a similar mental health disorder 

or (ii) an adult with personal experience with a family 

member with a similar mental health disorder with 

experience navigating behavioral health care services. The 

PRS shall perform the service within the scope of his 

knowledge, lived experience, and education. 

2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP making the 

recommendation for mental health family support partners, 

the peer recovery specialist in consultation with his direct 

supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan based on the LMHP's recommendation for 

service, the individual's and the caregiver's perceived 

recovery needs, and any clinical assessments or service 

specific provider intakes as defined in this section within 

30 calendar days of the initiation of service. Development 

of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan shall include 

collaboration with the individual and the individual's 

caregiver. Individualized goals and strategies shall be 

focused on the individual's identified needs for self-

advocacy and recovery. The recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan shall also include documentation of how 

many days per week and how many hours per week are 

required to carry out the services in order to meet the goals 

of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan 

shall be completed, signed, and dated by the LMHP, the 

PRS, the direct supervisor, the individual, and the 

individual's caregiver within 30 calendar days of the 

initiation of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for 

the individual, encouraging the individual and the 

caregiver to take a proactive role in developing and 

updating goals and objectives in the individualized 

recovery planning. 

3. Documentation of required activities shall be required as 

set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 A, C, and E through J. 

4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be 

the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210.  

5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of age 

who qualify to receive mental health family support 

partners shall (i) care for an individual with a mental health 

disorder who requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet two 

or more of the following: 

a. Individual and his caregiver need peer-based recovery-

oriented services for the maintenance of wellness and the 

acquisition of skills needed to support the individual.  

b. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to develop 

self-advocacy skills to assist the individual in achieving 

self-management of the individual's health status.  
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c. Individual and his caregiver need assistance and 

support to prepare the individual for a successful work or 

school experience.  

d. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help the 

individual and caregiver assume responsibility for 

recovery. 

6. Individuals 18, 19, and 20 years of age who meet the 

medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 e, who 

would benefit from receiving peer supports directly and 

who choose to receive mental health peer support services 

directly instead of through their caregiver, shall be 

permitted to receive mental health peer support services by 

an appropriate PRS. 

7. To qualify for continued mental health family support 

partners, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be 

met, and progress notes shall document the status of 

progress relative to the goals identified in the recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan. 

8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support 

partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-

5180 E. 

9. Mental health family support partners services shall be 

rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

10. Prior to service initiation, a documented 

recommendation for mental health family support partners 

services shall be made by a licensed mental health 

professional (LMHP) who is acting within his scope of 

practice under state law. The recommendation shall verify 

that the individual meets the medical necessity criteria set 

forth in subdivision 5 of this subsection. The 

recommendation shall be valid for no longer than 30 

calendar days. 

11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 

have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification required by DBHDS in order to be eligible to 

register with the Virginia Board of Counseling on or after 

July 1, 2018. Upon the promulgation of regulations by the 

Board of Counseling, registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. 

The PRS shall perform mental health family support 

partners services under the oversight of the LMHP making 

the recommendation for services and providing the clinical 

oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan. 

12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 

relationship with the enrolled provider licensed for one of 

the following:  

a. Acute care general and emergency department hospital 

services licensed by the Department of Health.  

b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

g. A community mental health and rehabilitative services 

provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services as a provider of one 

of the following community mental health and 

rehabilitative services as defined in this section, 

12VAC30-50-226, 12VAC30-50-420, or 12VAC30-50-

430 for which the individual younger than 21 years meets 

medical necessity criteria: (i) intensive in home; (ii) 

therapeutic day treatment; (iii) day treatment or partial 

hospitalization; (iv) crisis intervention; (v) crisis 

stabilization; (vi) mental health skill building; or (vii) 

mental health case management. 

13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as referenced 

in subdivision 12 of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 

and receive reimbursement from DMAS for mental health 

family support partner services. Payments shall not be 

permitted to providers that fail to enter into an enrollment 

agreement with DMAS. Reimbursement shall be subject to 

retraction for any billed service that is determined not to be 

in compliance with DMAS requirements. 

14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the requirements set 

forth in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 l. 

F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice of 

fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of Virginia. 

G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et 

seq. 

H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935.  

I. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this subsection shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
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"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 

provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope 

of practice defined under a Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care 

under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 

years of age. Behavioral therapy includes applied 

behavioral analysis. Family training related to the 

implementation of the behavioral therapy shall be included 

as part of the behavioral therapy service. Behavioral 

therapy services shall be subject to clinical reviews and 

determined as medically necessary. Behavioral therapy 

may be provided in the individual's home and community 

settings as deemed by DMAS as medically necessary 

treatment. 

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service 

that can only be provided by a person holding a license 

issued by a health regulatory board at the Department of 

Health Professions, which includes conducting 

assessments, making diagnoses of mental disorders and 

conditions, establishing treatment plans, and determining 

treatment interventions.  

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 

practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 

care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 

screening and referral and coordination of other medical 

services needed by the individual. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to enhance 

communication skills and decrease maladaptive patterns of 

behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to more 

complex problems and the need for a greater or a more 

intensive level of care. The service goal shall be to ensure 

the individual's family or caregiver is trained to effectively 

manage the individual's behavior in the home using 

modification strategies. All services shall be provided in 

accordance with the ISP and clinical assessment summary. 

3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider or 

other licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or 

licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS to be 

medically necessary to correct or ameliorate significant 

impairments in major life activities that have resulted from 

either developmental, behavioral, or mental disabilities. 

Criteria for medical necessity are set out in 12VAC30-60-

61 F. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 

the onset of these services in order to receive authorization 

for reimbursement. Individual service plans (ISPs) shall be 

required throughout the entire duration of services. The 

services shall be provided in accordance with the 

individual service plan and clinical assessment summary. 

These services shall be provided in settings that are natural 

or normal for a child or adolescent without a disability, 

such as the individual's home, unless there is justification 

in the ISP, which has been authorized for reimbursement, 

to include service settings that promote a generalization of 

behaviors across different settings to maintain the targeted 

functioning outside of the treatment setting in the 

individual's home and the larger community within which 

the individual resides. Covered behavioral therapy services 

shall include: 

a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-61 F;  

b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as established 

in 12VAC30-60-61 F;  

c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 

clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's 

adaptive functioning and communication skills;  

e. Training a family member in behavioral modification 

methods as established in 12VAC30-60-61 F;  

f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable behavioral 

data related to the treatment objectives; and 

g. Care coordination. 

4. All personal care services rendered to children under the 

authority of 42 CFR 440.40(b) shall comply with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 with regard to electronic 

visit verification. 

J. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 

July 1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 

screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 

treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 

shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 

to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 

enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in 

§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state 

practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia 

Department of Education, and shall meet applicable 
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qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of 

defects, illnesses or conditions, and services necessary to 

correct or ameliorate them shall be performed by 

practitioners qualified to make those determinations within 

their licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the 

IEP team or by a qualified practitioner outside the IEP 

team. 

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or 

under contract to the school division.  

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 

law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 

may also be available in the community from other 

providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 

medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 

in accordance with standards of medical practice. 

Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 

providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 

providers to make the medical necessity determination in 

accordance with their scope of practice. The services 

must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy and occupational therapy and services 

for individuals with speech, hearing, and language 

disorders, performed by, or under the direction of, 

providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 

440.110. This coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 

to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 

Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 

under the supervision of a registered nurse.  

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 

performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, 

medication administration or monitoring, and urinary 

catheterizations.  

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis.  

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or 

developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing 

facility, or any placement issue. These services are 

covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers 

who may render these services when licensed by the state 

include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, 

school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This professional 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

individual, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 

for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 

assistant performs services such as assisting with 

toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 

as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 

a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Individuals 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of an individual's medical or 

other health related condition.  
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f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for an individual who requires 

transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the individual is 

receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 

Transportation shall be listed in the individual's IEP. 

Individuals requiring an aide during transportation on a 

specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in an individual's 

IEP and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the 

individual shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if an 

individual is receiving additional therapy outside of the 

school, that there will be coordination of services to avoid 

duplication of service.  

K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 

of the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 

12VAC30-60-65. Electronic visit verification. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Aide" means the person who is employed by an agency to 

provide hands-on care. 

"Agency-directed services" means a model of service 

delivery where an agency is responsible for providing direct 

support staff, for maintaining an individual's records, and for 

scheduling the dates and times of the direct support staff's 

presence in the individual's home for personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services.  

"Attendant" means the person who is hired by the individual 

consumer to provide hands-on care. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, supervision, 

and socialization provided to an adult individual (ages 18 

years and older). The provision of companion services shall 

not entail hands-on care but shall be provided in accordance 

with a therapeutic goal in the individual support plan and is 

not purely diversional in nature. 

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who 

provides consumer-directed personal care services, respite 

care services, companion services, or any combination of 

these three services, who is also exempt from workers' 

compensation. 

"Consumer-directed services" or "CD services" means the 

model of service delivery for which the individual enrolled in 

the waiver or the individual's employer of record, as 

appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, 

and firing of an attendant who renders the services that are 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Electronic visit verification" or "EVV" means a system by 

which personal care services, companion services, or respite 

care services home visits are electronically verified with 

respect to (i) the type of service performed, (ii) the individual 

receiving the service, (iii) the date of the service, (iv) the 

location of service delivery, (v) the individual providing the 

service, and (vi) the time the service begins and ends. 

"Individual" means the person who has applied for and been 

approved to receive services for which EVV is required. 

"Personal care services" means a range of support services 

that includes assistance with activities of daily living and 

instrumental activities of daily living, access to the 

community, and self-administration of medication or other 

medical needs and the monitoring of health status and 

physical condition provided through the agency-directed or 

consumer-directed model of service. Personal care services 

shall be provided by a personal care attendant or aide within 

the scope of the attendant's or aide's license or certification, as 

appropriate. 

"Respite care services" means services provided to waiver 

individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are 
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furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence of or 

need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who 

normally provides the care. 

B. Applicable services. All of the requirements for an 

electronic visit verification system shall apply to all 

providers, both agency-directed and consumer-directed, of 

personal care services, respite care services, and companion 

services.  

1. Agency providers shall choose the EVV system that best 

suits the provider business model, meets regulatory 

requirements established in this section, and provides 

reliable functionality for the geographic area in which it is 

to be used. 

2. For consumer-directed services, the DMAS designee 

(the fiscal employer agent) shall select and operate an EVV 

system to support an individual, or the employer of record, 

in managing the individual's care, meeting regulatory 

requirements established in this section, and providing 

reliable functionality for the geographic area in which it is 

to be used.  

3. Providers of consumer-directed personal care services, 

respite care services, and companionservices shall comply 

with all EVV requirements.  

4. Providers of agency-directed personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services shall comply 

with all EVV requirements. 

5. Individuals shall not be restricted from receiving a 

combination of agency-directed and consumer-directed 

services. Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit 

personal care, respite care, or companion services; an 

individual's selection of a provider attendant or aide; or 

impede the manner or location in which services are 

delivered subject to subsection C of this section. 

C. The following entities shall be exempt from EVV 

requirements: 

1. A DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-licensed 

program site, such as a group home or sponsored 

residential home or a supervised living, supported living, 

or similar facility or location licensed to provide respite 

care services; 

2. The Regional Educational Assessment Crisis Response 

and Habilitation (REACH) Program; and 

3. Schools where personal care services are rendered under 

the authority of an individual education program. 

D. System requirements. 

1. The EVV system shall be capable of capturing required 

data in real time and producing such data as requested by 

DMAS in electronic format. The following information 

shall be retained: 

a. The type of the service being performed; 

b. The individual who receives the service; 

c. The date of the service, including month, day, and 

year; 

d. The time the service begins and ends; 

e. The location of the service delivery at the beginning 

and the end of the service. EVV systems shall not restrict 

locations where individuals may receive services; and 

f. The attendant or aide who provides the service. 

2. In the event the time of service delivery needs to be 

adjusted, the start or end time may be modified by 

someone who has the provider's authority to adjust the 

aide's or attendant's hours. 

a. For agency-directed providers, this may be a 

supervisor or the agency owner or a designee who has 

authority to make independent verifications. In no case 

shall workers be allowed to adjust a peer worker's 

reported time.  

b. For consumer-directed attendants, the fiscal employer 

agent shall have this authority.  

3. All EVV systems shall be compliant with the 

requirements of the American with Disabilities Act 

(42 USC § 12101 et seq.) and Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act of 1996 (P.L. 104-191).  

4. All EVV systems shall employ electronic devices that 

are capable of recording the required data described in 

subdivision D 1 of this section, producing it upon demand, 

and safeguarding the data both physically and 

electronically.  

5. All EVV systems shall be accessible for input or service 

delivery 24 hours per day, seven days per week.  

6. All EVV systems shall provide for data backups in the 

event of emergencies; disasters, natural or otherwise; and 

system malfunctions, both in the location services are 

being delivered and the backup server location. 

7. All EVV systems shall be capable of handling: 

a. Multiple work shifts per day per individual or aide or 

attendant combination; 

b. Aides or attendants who work for multiple individuals;  

c. Individuals who use multiple aides or attendants; 

d. Multiple individuals and multiple aides or attendants 

or both in the same location at the same time and date. In 

such situations, the EVV shall be capable of separately 

documenting the services, as well as the other elements 

set out in subdivision D 1 of this section, that are 

provided to each individual; and  
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e. At minimum, daily backups of the most recent data 

that has been entered. 

8. All EVV systems shall be capable of electronically 

transmitting information to DMAS in the required format 

or electronically transferring it to the provider's billing 

system. 

E. EVV data shall be submitted to DMAS with the 

provider's billing claim. 

F. Agency-directed provider records, audits, and reports. 

1. Providers shall select and obtain an EVV system that 

meets the functional requirements of DMAS or its 

designee. 

2. All providers shall retain EVV data for at least six years 

from the last date of service or as provided by applicable 

federal and state laws, whichever period is longer. 

However, if an audit is initiated within the required 

retention period, the records shall be retained until the 

audit is completed and every exception is resolved. 

Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even if 

the provider discontinues operation. 

a. In the event a provider discontinues services, DMAS 

shall be notified in writing of the storage location and 

procedures for obtaining records for review should the 

need arise.  

b. The location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 

Commonwealth.  

3. All providers shall retain records of minor individuals 

for at least six years after such minor individual has 

reached 18 years of age. 

4. All providers shall produce their archived EVV data in a 

timely manner and in an electronic format when requested 

by DMAS or its designee. 

5. In the event that a telephone or other verification option 

that the provider uses is not available or accessible in the 

individual's home or location, and delayed data input is 

utilized, the provider shall have information on file 

documenting the reason that the aide or attendant did not 

use EVV for the service delivered. 

12VAC30-120-766. Personal care and respite care 

services. 

A. Service description. Services may be provided either 

through an agency-directed or consumer-directed model. 

1. Personal care services means services offered to 

individuals in their homes and communities to enable an 

individual to maintain the health status and functional 

skills necessary to live in the community or participate in 

community activities. Personal care services substitute for 

the absence, loss, diminution, or impairment of a physical, 

behavioral, or cognitive function. This service shall 

provide care to individuals with activities of daily living 

(eating, drinking, personal hygiene, toileting, transferring, 

and bowel/bladder bowel or bladder control), instrumental 

activities of daily living (IADL), access to the community, 

monitoring of self-medication or other medical needs, and 

the monitoring of health status or physical condition. In 

order to receive personal care services, the individual must 

require assistance with their ADLs. When specified in the 

plan of care, personal care services may include assistance 

with IADL. Assistance with IADL must be essential to the 

health and welfare of the individual, rather than the 

individual's family/caregiver family or caregiver. An 

additional component to personal care is work or school-

related personal care. This allows the personal care 

provider to provide assistance and supports for individuals 

in the workplace and for those individuals attending 

postsecondary educational institutions. Workplace or 

school supports through the IFDDS Waiver are not 

provided if they are services that should be provided by 

DARS, under IDEA, or if they are an employer's 

responsibility under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 

the Virginians with Disabilities Act, or § 504 of the 

Rehabilitation Act. Work-related personal care services 

cannot duplicate services provided under supported 

employment. 

2. Respite care means services provided for unpaid 

caregivers of eligible individuals who are unable to care 

for themselves that are provided on an episodic or routine 

basis because of the absence of or need for relief of those 

unpaid persons who routinely provide the care. 

3. Both agency-directed and consumer-directed personal 

care services and respite care services shall be subject to 

the requirements of electronic visit verification set out in 

12VAC30-60-65.  

B. Criteria.  

1. In order to qualify for personal care services, the 

individual must demonstrate a need in activities of daily 

living, reminders to take medication, or other medical 

needs, or monitoring health status or physical condition. 

2. In order to qualify for respite care, individuals must have 

an unpaid primary caregiver who requires temporary relief 

to avoid institutionalization of the individual. 

3. Individuals choosing the consumer-directed option must 

receive support from a CD services facilitator and meet 

requirements for consumer direction as described in 

12VAC30-120-770. 

C. Service units and service limitations. 

1. The unit of service is one hour. 

2. Effective July 1, 2011, respite care services are limited 

to a maximum of 480 hours per year. Individuals who are 

receiving services through both the agency-directed and 
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consumer-directed models cannot exceed 480 hours per 

year combined. 

3. Individuals may have personal care, respite care, and in-

home residential support services in their plan of care but 

cannot receive in-home residential supports and personal 

care or respite care services at the same time. 

4. Each individual receiving personal care services must 

have a back-up plan in case the personal care aide or 

consumer-directed (CD) employee does not show up for 

work as expected or terminates employment without prior 

notice. 

5. Individuals must need assistance with ADLs in order to 

receive IADL care through personal care services. 

6. Individuals shall be permitted to share personal care 

service hours with one other individual (receiving waiver 

services) who lives in the same home. 

7. This service does not include skilled nursing services 

with the exception of skilled nursing tasks that may be 

delegated in accordance with 18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460. 

D. Provider requirements. In addition to meeting the general 

conditions and requirements for home and community-based 

care participating providers as specified in 12VAC30-120-

730 and 12VAC30-120-740, personal and respite care 

providers must meet the following provider requirements: 

1. Services shall be provided by: 

a. For the agency-directed model, a DMAS enrolled 

personal care/respite care provider or by a DBHDS-

licensed residential supportive in-home provider. All 

personal care aides must pass an objective standardized 

test of knowledge, skills, and abilities approved by 

DBHDS and administered according to DBHDS' defined 

procedures.  

Providers must demonstrate a prior successful health care 

delivery business and operate from a business office. 

b. For the consumer-directed model, a service facilitation 

provider meeting the requirements found in 12VAC30-

120-770. 

2. For DBHDS-licensed providers, a residential supervisor 

shall provide ongoing supervision for all personal care 

aides. For DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite care 

providers, the provider must employ or subcontract with 

and directly supervise an RN who will provide ongoing 

supervision of all aides. The supervising RN must be 

currently licensed to practice in the Commonwealth and 

have at least two years of related clinical nursing 

experience that may include work in an acute care hospital, 

public health clinic, home health agency, ICF/IID, or 

nursing facility. 

3. The RN supervisor or case manager/services facilitator 

must make a home visit to conduct an initial assessment 

prior to the start of care for all individuals requesting 

services. The RN supervisor or case manager/service 

facilitator must also perform any subsequent reassessments 

or changes to the supporting documentation. Under the 

consumer-directed model, the initial comprehensive visit is 

done only once upon the individual's entry into the service. 

If an individual served under the waiver changes CD 

services facilitation agencies, the new CD services 

facilitation provider must bill for a reassessment in lieu of 

a comprehensive visit. 

4. The RN supervisor or case manager/services facilitator 

must make supervisory visits as often as needed to ensure 

both quality and appropriateness of services. 

a. For personal care the minimum frequency of these 

visits is every 30 to 90 calendar days depending on 

individual needs. For respite care offered on a routine 

basis, the minimum frequency of these visits is every 30 

to 90 calendar days under the agency-directed model and 

every six months or upon the use of 240 respite care 

hours (whichever comes first) under the consumer-

directed model. 

b. Under the agency-directed model, when respite care 

services are not received on a routine basis, but are 

episodic in nature, the RN is not required to conduct a 

supervisory visit every 30 to 90 calendar days. Instead, 

the RN supervisor must conduct the initial home visit 

with the respite care aide immediately preceding the start 

of care and make a second home visit within the respite 

care period. 

c. When respite care services are routine in nature and 

offered in conjunction with personal care, the 30-day to 

90-day supervisory visit conducted for personal care may 

serve as the RN supervisor or case manager/service 

facilitator visit for respite care. However, the RN 

supervisor or case manager/services facilitator must 

document supervision of respite care separately. For this 

purpose, the same record can be used with a separate 

section for respite care documentation. 

5. Under the agency-directed model, the supervisor shall 

identify any gaps in the aide's ability to provide services as 

identified in the individual's plan of care and provide 

training as indicated based on continuing evaluations of the 

aide's performance and the individual's needs. 

6. The supervising RN or case manager/services facilitator 

must maintain current documentation. This may be done as 

a summary and must note: 

a. Whether personal and respite care services continue to 

be appropriate; 
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b. Whether the supporting documentation is adequate to 

meet the individual's needs or if changes are indicated in 

the supporting documentation; 

c. Any special tasks performed by the aide/CD employee 

and the aide's/CD employee's qualifications to perform 

these tasks; 

d. Individual's satisfaction with the service; 

e. Any hospitalization or change in the individual's 

medical condition or functioning status; 

f. Other services received and their amount; and 

g. The presence or absence of the aide in the home during 

the RN's visit. 

7. Qualification of aides/CD employees. Each aide/CD 

employee must: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid social 

security number; 

b. For the agency-directed model, be able to read and 

write English to the degree necessary to perform the 

tasks required. For the consumer-directed model, possess 

basic math, reading and writing skills; 

c. Have the required skills to perform services as 

specified in the individual's plan of care; 

d. Not be the parents of individuals who are minors, or 

the individual's spouse. Payment will not be made for 

services furnished by other family members living under 

the same roof as the individual receiving services unless 

there is objective written documentation as to why there 

are no other providers available to provide the care. 

Family members who are approved to be reimbursed for 

providing this service must meet the qualifications. In 

addition, under the consumer-directed model, 

family/caregivers family or caregivers acting as the 

employer on behalf of the individual may not also be the 

CD employee; 

e. Additional aide requirements under the agency-

directed model: 

(1) Complete an appropriate aide training curriculum 

consistent with DMAS standards. Prior to assigning an 

aide to an individual, the provider must ensure that the 

aide has satisfactorily completed a training program 

consistent with DMAS standards. DMAS requirements 

may be met in any of the following ways: 

(a) Registration as a certified nurse aide (DMAS-enrolled 

personal care/respite care providers); 

(b) Graduation from an approved educational curriculum 

that offers certificates qualifying the student as a nursing 

assistant, geriatric assistant or home health aide (DMAS-

enrolled personal care/respite care providers); 

(c) Completion of provider-offered training that is 

consistent with the basic course outline approved by 

DMAS (DMAS-enrolled personal care/respite care 

providers); 

(d) Completion and passing of the DBHDS standardized 

test (DBHDS-licensed providers); 

(2) Have a satisfactory work record as evidenced by two 

references from prior job experiences, including no 

evidence of possible abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 

aged or incapacitated adults or children; and 

(3) Be evaluated in his job performance by the 

supervisor. 

f. Additional CD employee requirements under the 

consumer-directed model: 

(1) Submit to a criminal records check and, if the 

individual is a minor, the child protective services 

registry. The employee will not be compensated for 

services provided to the individual if the records check 

verifies the employee has been convicted of crimes 

described in § 37.2-314 of the Code of Virginia or if the 

employee has a complaint confirmed by the DSS child 

protective services registry; 

(2) Be willing to attend training at the request of the 

individual or his family/caregivers family or caregiver, as 

appropriate; 

(3) Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS 

consumer-directed services requirements; and 

(4) Receive an annual TB screening. 

8. Provider inability to render services and substitution of 

aides (agency-directed model). When an aide is absent, the 

provider may either obtain another aide, obtain a substitute 

aide from another provider if the lapse in coverage is to be 

less than two weeks in duration, or transfer the individual's 

services to another provider. 

9. Retention, hiring, and substitution of employees 

(consumer-directed model). Upon the individual's request, 

the CD services facilitator shall provide the individual or 

his family/caregiver family or caregiver, as appropriate, 

with a list of consumer-directed employees on the 

consumer-directed employee registry that may provide 

temporary assistance until the employee returns or the 

individual or his family/caregiver family or caregiver, as 

appropriate, is able to select and hire a new employee. If an 

individual or his family/caregiver family or caregiver, as 

appropriate, is consistently unable to hire and retain an 

employee to provide consumer-directed services, the 

services facilitator must contact the case manager and 

DBHDS to transfer the individual, at the choice of the 

individual or his family/caregiver family or caregiver, as 

appropriate, to a provider that provides Medicaid-funded 
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agency-directed personal care or respite care services. The 

CD services facilitator will make arrangements with the 

case manager to have the individual transferred. 

10. Required documentation in individuals' records. The 

provider must maintain all records of each individual 

receiving services. Under the agency-directed model, these 

records must be separated from those of other nonwaiver 

services, such as home health services. At a minimum 

these records must contain: 

a. The most recently updated plan of care and supporting 

documentation, all provider documentation, and all 

DMAS-225 forms; 

b. Initial assessment by the RN supervisory nurse or case 

manager/services facilitator completed prior to or on the 

date services are initiated, subsequent reassessments, and 

changes to the supporting documentation by the RN 

supervisory nurse or case manager/services facilitator; 

c. Nurses' or case manager/services facilitator 

summarizing notes recorded and dated during any 

contacts with the aide or CD employee and during 

supervisory visits to the individual's home; 

d. All correspondence to the individual, to DBHDS, and 

to DMAS; 

e. Contacts made with family, physicians, DBHDS, 

DMAS, formal and informal service providers, and all 

professionals concerning the individual; 

f. Under the agency-directed model, all aide records. The 

aide record must contain: 

(1) The specific services delivered to the individual by 

the aide and the individual's responses; 

(2) The aide's arrival and departure times; 

(3) The aide's weekly comments or observations about 

the individual to include observations of the individual's 

physical and emotional condition, daily activities, and 

responses to services rendered;  

(4) The aide's and individual's weekly signatures to 

verify that services during that week have been rendered; 

(5) Signatures, times, and dates; these signatures, times, 

and dates shall not be placed on the aide record prior to 

the last date of the week that the services are delivered; 

and 

(6) Copies of all aide records; these records shall be subject 

to review by state and federal Medicaid representatives. 

g. Additional documentation requirements under the 

consumer-directed model: 

(1) All management training provided to the individuals 

or their family caregivers, as appropriate, including 

responsibility for the accuracy of the timesheets. 

(2) All documents signed by the individual or his 

family/caregivers family or caregiver, as appropriate, that 

acknowledge the responsibilities of the services. 

12VAC30-120-924. Covered services; limits on covered 

services. 

A. Covered services in the EDCD Waiver shall include: 

adult day health care, personal care (both consumer-directed 

and agency-directed), respite services (both consumer-

directed and agency-directed), PERS, PERS medication 

monitoring, limited assistive technology, limited 

environmental modifications, transition coordination, and 

transition services. 

1. The services covered in this waiver shall be appropriate 

and medically necessary to maintain the individual in the 

community in order to prevent institutionalization and shall 

be cost effective in the aggregate as compared to the 

alternative NF placement.  

2. EDCD services shall not be authorized if another entity 

is required to provide the services (e.g., schools, 

insurance). Waiver services shall not duplicate services 

available through other programs or funding streams. 

3. Assistive technology and environmental modification 

services shall be available only to those EDCD Waiver 

individuals who are also participants in the Money Follows 

the Person (MFP) demonstration program pursuant to Part 

XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.).  

4. An individual receiving EDCD Waiver services who is 

also getting hospice care may receive Medicaid-covered 

personal care (agency-directed and consumer-directed), 

respite care (agency-directed and consumer-directed), adult 

day health care, transition services, transition coordination, 

and PERS services, regardless of whether the hospice 

provider receives reimbursement from Medicare or 

Medicaid for the services covered under the hospice 

benefit. Such dual waiver/hospice individuals shall only be 

able to receive assistive technology and environmental 

modifications if they are also participants in the MFP 

demonstration program. 

5. Agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care 

services and respite care services shall be subject to the 

electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65. 

B. Voluntary/involuntary Voluntary or involuntary 

disenrollment from consumer-directed services. In either 

voluntary or involuntary disenrollment situations, the waiver 

individual shall be permitted to select an agency from which 

to receive his agency-directed personal care and respite 

services.  

1. A waiver individual may be found to be ineligible for 

CD services by either the Preadmission Screening Team, 

DMAS-enrolled hospital provider, DMAS, its designated 
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agent, or the CD services facilitator. An individual may not 

begin or continue to receive CD services if there are 

circumstances where the waiver individual's health, safety, 

or welfare cannot be assured, including but not limited to:  

a. It is determined that the waiver individual cannot be 

the EOR and no one else is able to assume this role; 

b. The waiver individual cannot ensure his own health, 

safety, or welfare or develop an emergency backup plan 

that will ensure his health, safety, or welfare; or 

c. The waiver individual has medication or skilled 

nursing needs or medical or behavioral conditions that 

cannot be met through CD services or other services.  

2. The waiver individual may be involuntarily disenrolled 

from consumer direction if he or the EOR, as appropriate, 

is consistently unable to retain or manage the attendant as 

may be demonstrated by, but not necessarily limited to, a 

pattern of serious discrepancies with the attendant's 

timesheets.  

3. In situations where either (i) the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare cannot be assured or (ii) attendant 

timesheet discrepancies are known, the services facilitator 

shall assist as requested with the waiver individual's 

transfer to agency-directed services as follows:  

a. Verify that essential training has been provided to the 

waiver individual or EOR;  

b. Document, in the waiver individual's case record, the 

conditions creating the necessity for the involuntary 

disenrollment and actions taken by the services 

facilitator;  

c. Discuss with the waiver individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, the agency-directed option that is available 

and the actions needed to arrange for such services and 

offer choice of potential providers, and 

d. Provide written notice to the waiver individual of the 

right to appeal such involuntary termination of consumer 

direction. Such notice shall be given at least 10 calendar 

days prior to the effective date of this change. In cases 

when the individual's or the provider personnel's safety 

may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar days notice shall not 

apply.  

C. Adult day health care (ADHC) services. ADHC services 

shall only be offered to waiver individuals who meet 

preadmission screening criteria as established in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom ADHC services 

shall be an appropriate and medically necessary alternative to 

institutional care. ADHC services may be offered to 

individuals in a VDSS-licensed adult day care center (ADCC) 

congregate setting. ADHC may be offered either as the sole 

home and community-based care service or in conjunction 

with personal care (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), respite care (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), or PERS. A multi-disciplinary approach to 

developing, implementing, and evaluating each waiver 

individual's POC shall be essential to quality ADHC services. 

1. ADHC services shall be designed to prevent 

institutionalization by providing waiver individuals with 

health care services, maintenance of their physical and 

mental conditions, and coordination of rehabilitation 

services in a congregate daytime setting and shall be 

tailored to their unique needs. The minimum range of 

services that shall be made available to every waiver 

individual shall be: assistance with ADLs, nursing 

services, coordination of rehabilitation services, nutrition, 

social services, recreation, and socialization services. 

a. Assistance with ADLs shall include supervision of the 

waiver individual and assistance with management of the 

individual's POC. 

b. Nursing services shall include the periodic evaluation, 

at least every 90 days, of the waiver individual's nursing 

needs; provision of indicated nursing care and treatment; 

responsibility for monitoring, recording, and 

administering prescribed medications; supervision of the 

waiver individual in self-administered medication; 

support of families in their home care efforts for the 

waiver individuals through education and counseling; 

and helping families identify and appropriately utilize 

health care resources. Periodic evaluations may occur 

more frequently than every 90 days if indicated by the 

individual's changing condition. Nursing services shall 

also include the general supervision of provider staff, 

who are certified through the Board of Nursing, in 

medication management and administering medications. 

c. Coordination and implementation of rehabilitation 

services to ensure the waiver individual receives all 

rehabilitative services deemed necessary to improve or 

maintain independent functioning, to include physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy. 

d. Nutrition services shall be provided to include, but not 

necessarily be limited to, one meal per day that meets the 

daily nutritional requirements pursuant to 22VAC40-60-

800. Special diets and nutrition counseling shall be 

provided as required by the waiver individuals.  

e. Recreation and social activities shall be provided that 

are suited to the needs of the waiver individuals and shall 

be designed to encourage physical exercise, prevent 

physical and mental deterioration, and stimulate social 

interaction.  

f. ADHC coordination shall involve implementing the 

waiver individuals' POCs, updating such plans, recording 

30-day progress notes, and reviewing the waiver 

individuals' daily logs each week.  
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2. Limits on covered ADHC services. 

a. A day of ADHC services shall be defined as a 

minimum of six hours. 

b. ADCCs that do not employ professional nursing staff 

on site shall not be permitted to admit waiver individuals 

who require skilled nursing care to their centers. 

Examples of skilled nursing care may include: (i) tube 

feedings; (ii) Foley catheter irrigations; (iii) sterile 

dressing changing; or (iv) any other procedures that 

require sterile technique. The ADCC shall not permit its 

aide employees to perform skilled nursing procedures.  

c. At any time that the center is no longer able to provide 

reliable, continuous care to any of the center's waiver 

individuals for the number of hours per day or days per 

week as contained in the individuals' POCs, then the 

center shall contact the waiver individuals or 

family/caregivers their family or caregivers, as 

appropriate, to initiate other care arrangements for these 

individuals. The center may either subcontract with 

another ADCC or may transfer the waiver individual to 

another ADCC. The center may discharge waiver 

individuals from the center's services but not from the 

waiver. Written notice of discharge shall be provided, 

with the specific reason or reasons for discharge, at least 

10 calendar days prior to the effective date of the 

discharge. In cases when the individual's or the center 

personnel's safety may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar days 

notice shall not apply. 

d. ADHC services shall not be provided, for the purpose 

of Medicaid reimbursement, to individuals who reside in 

NFs, ICFs/IID, hospitals, assisted living facilities that are 

licensed by VDSS, or group homes that are licensed by 

DBHDS. 

D. Agency-directed personal care services. Agency-directed 

personal care services shall only be offered to persons who 

meet the preadmission screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 

and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. Agency-directed 

personal care services shall be comprised of hands-on care of 

either a supportive or health-related nature and shall include, 

but shall not necessarily be limited to, assistance with ADLs, 

access to the community, assistance with medications in 

accordance with VDH licensing requirements or other 

medical needs, supervision, and the monitoring of health 

status and physical condition. Where the individual requires 

assistance with ADLs, and when specified in the POC, such 

supportive services may include assistance with IADLs. This 

service shall not include skilled nursing services with the 

exception of skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that 

may be delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 

through 18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC90-20. Agency-

directed personal care services may be provided in a home or 

community setting to enable an individual to maintain the 

health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 

community or participate in community activities. Personal 

care may be offered either as the sole home and community-

based care service or in conjunction with adult day health 

care, respite care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), or 

PERS. The provider shall document, in the individual's 

medical record, the waiver individual's choice of the agency-

directed model.  

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver 

individual shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented 

on the UAI assessment form, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the individual who is 

receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not 

exceed the total number of hours that would be needed if 

the waiver individual were receiving personal care 

services through a single delivery model.  

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided 

sequentially or alternately from each other. 

c. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in 

the event the agency is unable to provide an aide. 

2. Limits on covered agency-directed personal care 

services.  

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794).  

b. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, 

consistent with the approved POC, for personal care that 

the personal care aide provides to the waiver individual 

to assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school.  

(1) DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall 

review the waiver individual's needs and the complexity 

of the disability, as applicable, when determining the 

services that are provided to him in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

(2) DMAS shall not pay for the personal care aide to 

assist the enrolled waiver individual with any functions 

or tasks related to the individual completing his job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during either work or postsecondary school or both.  

c. Supervision services shall only be authorized to ensure 

the health, safety, or welfare of the waiver individual 

who cannot be left alone at any time or is unable to call 

for help in case of an emergency, and when there is no 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1288 

one else in the home competent and able to call for help 

in case of an emergency. 

d. There shall be a maximum limit of eight hours per 24-

hour day for supervision services. Supervision services 

shall be documented in the POC as needed by the 

individual. 

e. Agency-directed personal care services shall be limited 

to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per year. 

Individual exceptions may be granted based on criteria 

established by DMAS.  

f. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

E. Agency-directed respite care services. Agency-directed 

respite care services shall only be offered to waiver 

individuals who meet the preadmission screening criteria at 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it 

shall be an appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

Agency-directed respite care services may be either skilled 

nursing or unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-on 

care of either a supportive or health-related nature and may 

include, but shall not be limited to, assistance with ADLs, 

access to the community, assistance with medications in 

accordance with VDH licensing requirements or other 

medical needs, supervision, and monitoring health status and 

physical condition. 

1. Respite care shall only be offered to individuals who 

have an unpaid primary caregiver who requires temporary 

relief to avoid institutionalization of the waiver individual. 

Respite care services may be provided in the individual's 

home or other community settings. 

2. When the individual requires assistance with ADLs, and 

where such assistance is specified in the waiver 

individual's POC, such supportive services may also 

include assistance with IADLs.  

3. The unskilled care portion of this service shall not 

include skilled nursing services with the exception of 

skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be 

delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC90-20. 

4. Limits on service. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per individual per 

state fiscal year, to be service authorized. If an individual 

changes waiver programs, this same maximum number 

of respite hours shall apply. No additional respite hours 

beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved for 

payment for individuals who change waiver programs. 

Additionally, individuals who are receiving respite 

services in this waiver through both the agency-directed 

and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state 

fiscal year combined.  

b. If agency-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it must be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then 

the provider agency shall notify the local department of 

social services for its redetermination of eligibility for the 

waiver individual. 

c. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in 

the event the agency is unable to provide an aide. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

F. Services facilitation for consumer-directed services. 

Consumer-directed personal care and respite care services 

shall only be offered to persons who meet the preadmission 

screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 

and for whom there shall be appropriate alternatives to 

institutional care. 

1. Individuals who choose CD services shall receive 

support from a DMAS-enrolled CD services facilitator as 

required in conjunction with CD services. The services 

facilitator shall document the waiver individual's choice of 

the CD model and whether there is a need for another 

person to serve as the EOR on behalf of the individual. The 

CD services facilitator shall be responsible for assessing 

the waiver individual's particular needs for a requested CD 

service, assisting in the development of the POC, providing 

training to the EOR on his responsibilities as an employer, 

and for providing ongoing support of the CD services. 

2. Individuals who are eligible for CD services shall have, 

or have an EOR who has, the capability to hire and train 

the personal care attendant or attendants and supervise the 

attendant's performance, including approving the 

attendant's timesheets. 

a. If a waiver individual is unwilling or unable to direct 

his own care or is younger than 18 years of age, a 

family/caregiver/designated family, a caregiver, or a 

designated person shall serve as the EOR on behalf of the 

waiver individual in order to perform these supervisory 

and approval functions. 

b. Specific employer duties shall include checking 

references of personal care attendants and determining 

that personal care attendants meet qualifications. 

3. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in 

case the attendant does not show up for work as scheduled 

or terminates employment without prior notice. 
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4. The CD services facilitator shall not be the waiver 

individual, a CD attendant, a provider of other Medicaid-

covered services, spouse of the individual, parent of the 

individual who is a minor child, or the EOR who is 

employing the CD attendant.  

5. DMAS shall either provide for fiscal employer/agent 

services or contract for the services of a fiscal 

employer/agent for CD services. The fiscal employer/agent 

shall be reimbursed by DMAS or DMAS contractor (if the 

fiscal/employer agent service is contracted) to perform 

certain tasks as an agent for the EOR. The fiscal 

employer/agent shall handle responsibilities for the waiver 

individual including, but not limited to, employment taxes 

and background checks for attendants. The fiscal 

employer/agent shall seek and obtain all necessary 

authorizations and approvals of the Internal Revenue 

Service in order to fulfill all of these duties. 

G. Consumer-directed personal care services. CD personal 

care services shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and shall include 

assistance with ADLs and may include, but shall not be 

limited to, access to the community, monitoring of self-

administered medications or other medical needs, 

supervision, and monitoring health status and physical 

condition. Where the waiver individual requires assistance 

with ADLs and when specified in the POC, such supportive 

services may include assistance with IADLs. This service 

shall not include skilled nursing services with the exception 

of skilled nursing tasks (e.g. catheterization) that may be 

delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC 90-20 and as permitted by 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. CD personal care services may be provided in a 

home or community setting to enable an individual to 

maintain the health status and functional skills necessary to 

live in the community or participate in community activities. 

Personal care may be offered either as the sole home and 

community-based service or in conjunction with adult day 

health care, respite care (agency-directed or consumer-

directed), or PERS. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented on the UAI 

assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the waiver individual who is 

receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not 

exceed the total number of hours that would be otherwise 

authorized had the individual chosen to receive personal 

care services through a single delivery model.  

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided 

sequentially or alternately from each other. 

2. Limits on covered CD personal care services. 

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

b. There shall be a limit of eight hours per 24-hour day 

for supervision services included in the POC. 

Supervision services shall be authorized to ensure the 

health, safety, or welfare of the waiver individual who 

cannot be left alone at any time or is unable to call for 

help in case of an emergency, and when there is no one 

else in the home who is competent and able to call for 

help in case of an emergency. 

c. Consumer-directed personal care services shall be 

limited to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per 

year. Individual exceptions may be granted based on 

criteria established by DMAS. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD personal care 

services.  

3. CD personal care services at work or school shall be 

limited as follows: 

a. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, 

consistent with the approved POC, for CD personal care 

that the attendant provides to the waiver individual to 

assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school or 

both.  

b. DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall 

review the waiver individual's needs and the complexity 

of the disability, as applicable, when determining the 

services that will be provided to him in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

c. DMAS shall not pay for the personal care attendant to 

assist the waiver individual with any functions or tasks 

related to the individual completing his job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during work or postsecondary school or both. 

H. Consumer-directed respite care services. CD respite care 

services are unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-

on care of either a supportive or health-related nature and 

may include, but shall not be limited to, assistance with 

ADLs, access to the community, monitoring of self-

administration of medications or other medical needs, 

supervision, monitoring health status and physical condition, 

and personal care services in a work environment. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-
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60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented on the UAI 

assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

2. CD respite care services shall only be offered to 

individuals who have an unpaid primary caregiver who 

requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the 

waiver individual. This service shall be provided in the 

waiver individual's home or other community settings. 

3. When the waiver individual requires assistance with 

ADLs, and where such assistance is specified in the 

individual's POC, such supportive services may also 

include assistance with IADLs. 

4. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD respite care 

services. 

5. Limits on covered CD respite care services. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per waiver 

individual per state fiscal year. If a waiver individual 

changes waiver programs, this same maximum number 

of respite hours shall apply. No additional respite hours 

beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved for 

payment. Individuals who are receiving respite services 

in this waiver through both the agency-directed and CD 

models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal year 

combined. 

b. CD respite care services shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing 

tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be delegated 

pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC90-20 and as permitted by 

Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia). 

c. If consumer-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it shall be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then 

the services facilitator shall refer the waiver individual to 

the local department of social services for its 

redetermination of eligibility for the waiver individual.  

I. Personal emergency response system (PERS). 

1. Service description. PERS is a service that monitors 

waiver individual safety in the home and provides access 

to emergency assistance for medical or environmental 

emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 

communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 

monitoring center upon activation and via the individual's 

home telephone line or system. PERS may also include 

medication monitoring devices.  

a. PERS may be authorized only when there is no one 

else in the home with the waiver individual who is 

competent or continuously available to call for help in an 

emergency or when the individual is in imminent danger. 

b. The use of PERS equipment shall not relieve the 

backup caregiver of his responsibilities.  

c. Service units and service limitations.  

(1) PERS shall be limited to waiver individuals who are 

ages 14 years and older who also either live alone or are 

alone for significant parts of the day and who have no 

regular caregiver for extended periods of time. PERS 

shall only be provided in conjunction with receipt of 

personal care services (either agency-directed or 

consumer-directed), respite services (either agency-

directed or consumer-directed), or adult day health care. 

A waiver individual shall not receive PERS if he has a 

cognitive impairment as defined in 12VAC30-120-900.  

(2) A unit of service shall include administrative costs, 

time, labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 

maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. 

A unit of service shall be the one-month rental price set 

by DMAS in its fee schedule. The one-time installation 

of the unit shall include installation, account activation, 

individual and family/caregiver family or caregiver 

instruction, and subsequent removal of PERS equipment 

when it is no longer needed.  

(3) PERS services shall be capable of being activated by 

a remote wireless device and shall be connected to the 

waiver individual's telephone line or system. The PERS 

console unit must provide hands-free voice-to-voice 

communication with the response center. The activating 

device must be (i) waterproof, (ii) able to automatically 

transmit to the response center an activator low battery 

alert signal prior to the battery losing power, (iii) able to 

be worn by the waiver individual, and (iv) automatically 

reset by the response center after each activation, thereby 

ensuring that subsequent signals can be transmitted 

without requiring manual resetting by the waiver 

individual. 

(4) All PERS equipment shall be approved by the Federal 

Communications Commission and meet the 

Underwriters' Laboratories, Inc. (UL) safety standard. 

(5) Medication monitoring units shall be physician 

ordered. In order to be approved to receive the 

medication monitoring service, a waiver individual shall 

also receive PERS services. Physician orders shall be 

maintained in the waiver individual's record. In cases 

where the medical monitoring unit must be filled by the 

provider, the person who is filling the unit shall be either 

an RN or an LPN. The units may be filled as frequently 

as a minimum of every 14 days. There must be 
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documentation of this action in the waiver individual's 

record. 

J. Transition coordination and transition services. Transition 

coordination and transition services, as defined at 12VAC30-

120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010, provide for applicants to 

move from institutional placements or licensed or certified 

provider-operated living arrangements to private homes or 

other qualified settings. The applicant's transition from an 

institution to the community shall be coordinated by the 

facility's discharge planning team. The discharge planner 

shall coordinate with the transition coordinator to ensure that 

EDCD Waiver eligibility criteria shall be met. 

1. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

authorized by DMAS or its designated agent in order for 

reimbursement to occur. 

2. For the purposes of transition services, an institution 

must meet the requirements as specified by CMS in the 

Money Follows the Person demonstration program at 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-171.html#ft 262. 

3. Transition coordination shall be authorized for a 

maximum of 12 consecutive months upon discharge from 

an institutional placement and shall be initiated within 30 

days of discharge from the institution. 

4. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

provided in conjunction with personal care (agency-

directed or consumer-directed), respite care (agency-

directed or consumer-directed), or adult day health care 

services. 

K. Assistive technology (AT). 

1. Service description. Assistive technology (AT), as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-900, shall only be available to 

waiver individuals who are participating in the MFP 

program pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et 

seq.). 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for equipment for remedial or 

direct medical benefit primarily in an individual's primary 

home, primary vehicle used by the individual, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically serve to 

improve the individual's personal functioning. This shall 

encompass those items not otherwise covered under the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance. AT shall be covered in 

the least expensive, most cost-effective manner. 

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. All requests for AT shall be made by the transition 

coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor.  

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all AT covered procedure codes (combined total of AT 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

year for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of 

whether the individual changes waiver programs, for 

which AT is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all AT being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

c. AT may be provided in the individual's home or 

community setting.  

d. AT shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver/provider caregiver or provider or 

restraint of the individual.  

e. An independent, professional consultation shall be 

obtained from a qualified professional who is 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by the Srv Auth contractor and may include 

training on such AT by the qualified professional. The 

consultation shall not be performed by the provider of 

AT to the individual.  

f. All AT shall be prior authorized by the Srv Auth 

contractor prior to billing.  

g. Excluded shall be items that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements, for example, of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or the Rehabilitation Act (20 USC § 794) or 

that are required to be provided through other funding 

sources.  

h. AT services or equipment shall not be rented but shall 

be purchased. 

L. Environmental modifications (EM). 

1. Service description. Environmental modifications (EM), 

as defined herein, shall only be available to waiver 

individuals who are participating in the MFP program 

pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

Adaptations shall be documented in the waiver individual's 

POC and may include, but shall not necessarily be limited 

to, the installation of ramps and grab-bars, widening of 

doorways, modification of bathroom facilities, or 

installation of specialized electrical and plumbing systems 

that are necessary to accommodate the medical equipment 

and supplies that are necessary for the welfare of the 

waiver individual. Excluded are those adaptations or 

improvements to the home that are of general utility and 

are not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the 

individual, such as carpeting, flooring, roof repairs, central 

air conditioning, or decks. Adaptations that add to the total 

square footage of the home shall be excluded from this 

benefit, except when necessary to complete an authorized 

adaptation, as determined by DMAS or its designated 

agent. All services shall be provided in the individual's 

primary home in accordance with applicable state or local 

building codes. All modifications must be prior authorized 

by the Srv Auth contractor. Modifications may only be 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-171.html#ft262
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made to a vehicle if it is the primary vehicle being used by 

the waiver individual. This service does not include the 

purchase or lease of vehicles. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the waiver 

individual shall have a demonstrated need for 

modifications of a remedial or medical benefit offered in 

his primary home or primary vehicle used by the waiver 

individual to ensure his health, welfare, or safety or 

specifically to improve the individual's personal 

functioning. This service shall encompass those items not 

otherwise covered in the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

or through another program. EM shall be covered in the 

least expensive, most cost-effective manner. 

3. Service units and service limitations.  

a. All requests for EM shall be made by the MFP 

transition coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth 

contractor. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for 

all EM covered procedure codes (combined total of EM 

items and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per 

year for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of 

whether the individual changes waiver programs, for 

which EM is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all EM being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

c. All EM shall be authorized by the Srv Auth contractor 

prior to billing.  

d. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. Also 

excluded shall be modifications that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act 

(§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the 

Rehabilitation Act (20 USC§ § 794). 

e. Transition coordinators shall, upon completion of each 

modification, meet face-to-face with the waiver 

individual and his family/caregiver family or caregiver, 

as appropriate, to ensure that the modification is 

completed satisfactorily and is able to be used by the 

individual. 

f. EM shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver/provider caregiver or provider or 

restraint of the waiver individual.  

12VAC30-120-930. General requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers.  

A. Requests for participation shall be screened by DMAS or 

the designated DMAS contractor to determine whether the 

provider applicant meets the requirements for participation, as 

set out in the provider agreement, and demonstrates the 

abilities to perform, at a minimum, the following activities:  

1. Screen all new and existing employees and contractors 

to determine whether any are excluded from eligibility for 

payment from federal health care programs, including 

Medicaid (i.e., via the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services Office of Inspector General List of 

Excluded Individuals or Entities (LEIE) website). 

Immediately report in writing to DMAS any exclusion 

information discovered to: DMAS, ATTN: Program 

Integrity/Exclusions, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email to 

providerexclusions@dmas.virginia.gov;  

2. Immediately notify DMAS in writing of any change in 

the information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS;  

3. Except for waiver individuals who are subject to the 

DMAS Client Medical Management program Part VIII 

(12VAC30-130-800 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130 or are 

enrolled in a Medicaid managed care program, ensure 

freedom of choice to individuals in seeking services from 

any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or other provider 

qualified to perform the service or services required and 

participating in the Medicaid Program at the time the 

service or services are performed; 

4. Ensure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services;  

5. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 

to initiate and perform such services on an ongoing basis;  

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI (42 USC § 2000d et seq.) of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964 which prohibits discrimination on 

the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin; the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 

(29 USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the 

basis of a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities 

Act of 1990 (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which provides 

comprehensive civil rights protections to individuals with 

disabilities in the areas of employment, public 

accommodations, state and local government services, and 

telecommunications;  

7. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as are provided to 

the general public;  

8. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services 

and supplies to individuals in amounts not to exceed the 

provider's usual and customary charges to the general 

public and accept as payment in full the amount 

established by DMAS payment methodology beginning 

with the individual's authorization date for the waiver 

services;  
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9. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider shall not alter the DMAS 

forms in any manner without prior written approval from 

DMAS;  

10. Use DMAS-designated billing forms for submission of 

charges;  

11. Perform no type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals;  

12. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided.  

a. In general, such records shall be retained for a period 

of at least six years from the last date of service or as 

provided by applicable federal and state laws, whichever 

period is longer. However, if an audit is initiated within 

the required retention period, the records shall be 

retained until the audit is completed and every exception 

resolved. Records of minors shall be kept for a period of 

at least six years after such minor has reached 18 years of 

age.  

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 

for obtaining records for review should the need arise. 

The location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 

Commonwealth;  

13. Furnish information on the request of and in the form 

requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 

their authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 

state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 

right of access to provider agencies and records shall 

survive any termination of the provider agreement;  

14. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 

or other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to recipients of Medicaid;  

15. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., § 32.1-325.3 of 

the Code of Virginia, and the Health Insurance Portability 

and Accountability Act (HIPAA), safeguard and hold 

confidential all information associated with an applicant or 

enrollee or individual that could disclose the 

applicant's/enrollee's/individual's applicant's, enrollee's, or 

individiual's identity. Access to information concerning the 

applicant/enrollee/individual applicant, enrollee, or 

individual shall be restricted to persons or agency 

representatives who are subject to the standards of 

confidentiality that are consistent with that of the agency 

and any such access must be in accordance with the 

provisions found in 12VAC30-20-90; 

16. When ownership of the provider changes, notify 

DMAS in writing at least 15 calendar days before the date 

of change;  

17. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-100, 63.2-1509, and 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia, if a participating provider or the 

provider's staff knows or suspects that a home and 

community-based waiver services individual is being 

abused, neglected, or exploited, the party having 

knowledge or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation shall report this immediately from first 

knowledge or suspicion of such knowledge to the local 

department of social services adult or child protective 

services worker as applicable or to the toll-free, 24-hour 

hotline as described on the local department of social 

services' website. Employers shall ensure and document 

that their staff is aware of this requirement;  

18. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, adhere to the conditions of participation 

outlined in the individual provider's participation 

agreements, in the applicable DMAS provider manual, and 

in other DMAS laws, regulations, and policies. DMAS 

shall conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with 

provider participation standards and DMAS policies. A 

provider's noncompliance with DMAS policies and 

procedures may result in a retraction of Medicaid payment 

or termination of the provider agreement, or both;  

19. Meet minimum qualifications of staff.  

a. For reasons of Medicaid individuals' safety and 

welfare, all employees shall have a satisfactory work 

record, as evidenced by at least two references from prior 

job experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, 

or exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or 

children. In instances of employees who have worked for 

only one employer, such employees shall be permitted to 

provide one appropriate employment reference and one 

appropriate personal reference including no evidence of 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older 

adults or children. 

b. Criminal record checks for both employees and 

volunteers conducted by the Virginia State Police. Proof 

that these checks were performed with satisfactory 

results shall be available for review by DMAS staff or its 

designated agent who are authorized by the agency to 

review these files. DMAS shall not reimburse the 

provider for any services provided by an employee or 

volunteer who has been convicted of committing a 

barrier crime as defined in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Providers shall be responsible for complying 

with § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia regarding 

criminal record checks. Provider staff shall not be 

reimbursed for services provided to the waiver individual 

effective on the date and thereafter that the criminal 
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record check confirms the provider's staff person or 

volunteer was convicted of a barrier crime.  

c. Provider staff and volunteers who serve waiver 

individuals who are minor children shall also be screened 

through the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS) 

Central Registry. Provider staff and volunteers shall not 

be reimbursed for services provided to the waiver 

individual effective on the date and thereafter that the 

VDSS CPS Central Registry check confirms the 

provider's staff person or volunteer has a finding. 

20. Comply with the electronic visit verification 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-60-65. 

B. DMAS shall terminate the provider's Medicaid provider 

agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia and 

as may be required for federal financial participation. A 

provider who has been convicted of a felony, or who has 

otherwise pled guilty to a felony, in Virginia or in any other 

of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. 

territories shall within 30 days of such conviction notify 

DMAS of this conviction and relinquish its provider 

agreement. Such provider agreement terminations, subject to 

applicable appeal rights, shall conform to § 32.1-325 D and E 

of the Code of Virginia and Part XII (12VAC30-20-500 et 

seq.) of 12VAC30-20. 

C. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home 

and community-based waiver providers, the following 

standards shall be met: 

1. Staffing, financial solvency, disclosure of ownership, 

and ensuring comparability of services requirements as 

specified in the applicable provider manual; 

2. The ability to document and maintain waiver 

individuals' case records in accordance with state and 

federal requirements; 

3. Compliance with all applicable laws, regulations, and 

policies pertaining to EDCD Waiver services. 

D. The waiver individual shall have the option of selecting 

the provider of his choice from among those providers who 

are approved and who can appropriately meet his needs.  

E. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his 

participation in Medicaid by providing 30 days' written 

notification to DMAS.  

F. DMAS may terminate at will a provider's participation 

agreement on 30 days' written notice as specified in the 

DMAS participation agreement. DMAS may immediately 

terminate a provider's participation agreement if the provider 

is no longer eligible to participate in the Medicaid program. 

Such action precludes further payment by DMAS for services 

provided to individuals on or after the date specified in the 

termination notice.  

G. The provider shall be responsible for completing the 

DMAS-225 form. The provider shall notify the designated 

Srv Auth contractor, as appropriate, and the local department 

of social services, in writing, when any of the following 

events occur. Furthermore, it shall be the responsibility of the 

designated Srv Auth contractor to also update DMAS, as 

requested, when any of the following events occur:  

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 

implemented;  

2. A waiver individual dies;  

3. A waiver individual is discharged from the provider's 

EDCD Waiver services;  

4. Any other events (including hospitalization) that cause 

home and community-based waiver services to cease or be 

interrupted for more than 30 consecutive calendar days; or  

5. The initial selection by the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver family or caregiver of a provider to 

provide services, or a change by the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver family or caregiver of a provider, if it 

affects the individual's patient pay amount.  

H. Changes or termination of services.  

1. The provider may decrease the amount of authorized 

care if the revised POC is appropriate and based on the 

medical needs of the waiver individual. The participating 

provider shall collaborate with the waiver individual or the 

family/caregiver/EOR family, caregiver, or EOR, or both 

as appropriate, to develop the new POC and calculate the 

new hours of service delivery. The provider shall discuss 

the decrease in care with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR family, caregiver, or EOR, 

document the conversation in the waiver individual's 

record, and notify the designated Srv Auth contractor. The 

Srv Auth contractor shall process the decrease request and 

the waiver individual shall be notified of the change by 

letter. This letter shall clearly state the waiver individual's 

right to appeal this change.  

2. If a change in the waiver individual's condition 

necessitates an increase in care, the participating provider 

shall assess the need for the increase and, collaborate with 

the waiver individual and family/caregiver/EOR family, 

caregiver, or EOR, as appropriate, to develop a POC for 

services to meet the changed needs. The provider may 

implement the increase in personal/respite personal care or 

respite care hours without approval from DMAS, or the 

designated Srv Auth contractor, if the amount of services 

does not exceed the total amount established by DMAS as 

the maximum for the level of care designated for that 

individual on the plan of care.  

3. Any increase to a waiver individual's POC that exceeds 

the number of hours allowed for that individual's level of 

care or any change in the waiver individual's level of care 
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shall be authorized by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor prior to the increase and be accompanied by 

adequate documentation justifying the increase.  

4. In an emergency situation when either the health, safety, 

or welfare of the waiver individual or provider personnel is 

endangered, or both, DMAS, or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor, shall be notified prior to discontinuing services. 

The written notification period set out below shall not be 

required. If appropriate, local department of social services 

adult or child protective services, as may be appropriate, 

shall be notified immediately. Appeal rights shall be 

afforded to the waiver individual. 

5. In a nonemergency situation, when neither the health, 

safety, nor welfare of the waiver individual or provider 

personnel is endangered, the participating provider shall 

give the waiver individual at least 10 calendar days' written 

notification (plus three days for mail transit for a total of 

13 calendar days from the letter's date) of the intent to 

discontinue services. The notification letter shall provide 

the reasons for and the effective date the provider will be 

discontinuing services. Appeal rights shall be afforded to 

the waiver individual. 

I. Staff education and training requirements. 

1. RNs shall (i) be currently licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth as an RN, or shall hold multi-state 

licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) have at least 

one year of related clinical nursing experience, which may 

include work in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, 

home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or NF, or as an 

LPN who worked for at least one year in one of these 

settings; and (iii) submit to a criminal records check and 

consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. 

The RN shall not be compensated for services provided to 

the waiver individual if this record check verifies that the 

RN has been convicted of a barrier crime described in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if the RN has a 

founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS Child 

Protective Services Central Registry.  

2. LPNs shall work under supervision as set out in 

18VAC90-20-37. LPNs shall (i) be currently licensed to 

practice in the Commonwealth as an LPN, or shall hold 

multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

(ii) shall have at least one year of related clinical nursing 

experience, which may include work in an acute care 

hospital, public health clinic, home health agency, 

rehabilitation hospital, or NF. The LPN shall meet the 

qualifications and skills, prior to being assigned to care for 

the waiver individual, that are required by the individual's 

POC; and (iii) submit to a criminal records check and 

consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. 

The LPN shall not be compensated for services provided to 

the waiver individual if this record check verifies that the 

LPN has been convicted of a barrier crime described in 

§ 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if the LPN has a 

founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS Child 

Protective Services Central Registry. 

3. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are licensed by VDH shall meet the 

requirements of 12VAC5-381. In addition, personal care 

aides shall also receive annually a minimum of 12 

documented hours of agency-provided training in the 

performance of these services.  

4. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are not licensed by the VDH shall have 

completed an educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of 

study related to the needs of individuals who are either 

elderly or who have disabilities, as ensured by the provider 

prior to being assigned to the care of an individual, and 

shall have the required skills and training to perform the 

services as specified in the waiver individual's POC and 

related supporting documentation.  

a. Personal care aides' required initial (that is, at the onset 

of employment) training, as further detailed in the 

applicable provider manual, shall be met in one of the 

following ways: (i) registration with the Board of 

Nursing as a certified nurse aide; (ii) graduation from an 

approved educational curriculum as listed by the Board 

of Nursing; or (iii) completion of the provider's 

educational curriculum, which must be a minimum of 40 

hours in duration, as taught by an RN who meets the 

same requirements as the RN listed in subdivision 1 of 

this subsection.  

b. In addition, personal care aides shall also be required 

to receive annually a minimum of 12 documented hours 

of agency-provided training in the performance of these 

services.  

5. Personal care aides shall: 

a. Be at least 18 years of age or older; 

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

necessary to perform the expected tasks and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform services as specified 

in the waiver individual's supporting documentation; 

d. Have a valid social security number that has been 

issued to the personal care aide by the Social Security 

Administration;  

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver 

individual is a minor, consent to a search of the VDSS 
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Child Protective Services Central Registry. The aide shall 

not be compensated for services provided to the waiver 

individual effective the date in which the record check 

verifies that the aide has been convicted of barrier crimes 

described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if 

the aide has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry;  

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS 

EDCD Waiver requirements; and  

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH.  

6. Consumer-directed personal care attendants shall:  

a. Be 18 years of age or older;  

b. Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform consumer-directed 

services as specified in the waiver individual's supporting 

documentation;  

d. Have a valid social security number that has been 

issued to the personal care attendant by the Social 

Security Administration;  

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver 

individual is a minor, consent to a search of the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry. The attendant 

shall not be compensated for services provided to the 

waiver individual effective the date in which the record 

check verifies that the attendant has been convicted of 

barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia or if the attendant has a founded complaint 

confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry;  

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS 

EDCD Waiver requirements;  

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH; and 

h. Be willing to attend training at the individual's or 

family/caregiver's family or caregiver's request.  

12VAC30-122-125. Electronic visit verification. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 shall apply for personal care 

services, respite care services, and companion services. 

B. EVV requirements shall not apply to respite care services 

provided by a DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-

licensed program site, such as a group home or sponsored 

residential home or a supervised living, supported living, or 

similar facility or location licensed to provide respite care 

services as permitted by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5467; Filed December 18, 2019, 10:31 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care 

(amending 12VAC30-60-181, 12VAC30-60-185). 

12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital Services (adding 

12VAC30-70-418). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-32). 

12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected 

Services (amending 12VAC30-130-5010 through 

12VAC30-130-5150).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and 

amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia grants the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) the authority of the board when 

it is not in session. The Medicaid authority established by 

§ 1902(a) of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) 

provides governing authority for payments for services. 

Purpose: These changes are essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens because they clarify existing 

rules for the addiction and recovery treatment services 

(ARTS) program to make it easier for providers to understand 

program rules and to make these services more accessible to 

Medicaid members. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

regulations are expected to be noncontroversial. The initial 

ARTS regulations were noncontroversial, and they 

implemented new substance use programs. These updates do 

not restrict services or negatively impact providers or 

Medicaid members. Instead, these updates provide 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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clarification to answer questions raised by providers since the 

initial ARTS implementation. 

Substance: The changes in this regulatory package streamline, 

simplify, and clarify existing requirements for ARTS services 

and ARTS providers. The changes include: 

1. Changing references from "the BHSA," which means the 

behavioral health services administrator, to "DMAS or its 

contractor" because the BHSA contract will be ending. 

2. Correcting outdated citations. 

3. Clarifying the roles and responsibilities of credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals (CATPs), certified 

substance abuse counselors (CSACs), certified substance 

abuse counselor-assistants (CSAC-As), and certified 

substance abuse counselor-supervisees (CSAC-supervisees). 

CATPs are licensed or registered with various boards through 

the Department of Health Professions, while CSACs, CSAC-

As, and CSAC-supervisees are lower-level staff who are 

certified through the Board of Counseling. Defining these 

roles allows lower-level staff to perform tasks appropriate to 

their skill level, which frees up CATPs to perform higher-

level skills. The Board of Counseling recently posted a 

guidance document that reflects this change, and DMAS 

seeks to match its requirements to the requirements of the 

Board of Counseling.  

4. Providing additional clarity on substance use disorder 

counseling, psychotherapy, and counseling. Substance use 

disorder counseling can be provided by a CSAC as part of a 

CSAC's scope of practice as defined by the Board of 

Counseling, while psychotherapy and counseling may only be 

provided by licensed staff. 

5. Providing additional clarity about medication assisted 

treatment (MAT). The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) requires Medicaid agencies to assess 

members to determine if they need MAT, and requires MAT 

to be provided onsite or through referral in intensive 

outpatient, partial hospitalization, and residential levels of 

care. "States Shall Demonstrate Sufficient Provider Capacity 

at Critical Levels of Care including for Medication Assisted 

Treatment for OUD," a CMS guidance document explaining 

this requirement, can be accessed at 

https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance 

/downloads/smd17003.pdf. 

6. Clarifying the telemedicine definition to include the 

requirements of a 2014 Medicaid memo to providers. The 

definition of "face-to-face" was broadened to include the use 

of telemedicine so that telemedicine can be used to provide 

ARTS services. The 2014 memo can be accessed at 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/

MedicaidMemostoProviders and searching for the memo 

dated May 13, 2014. 

7. Removing the hard limits on intensive outpatient treatment 

in compliance with the Mental Health Parity and Addiction 

Equity Act (Public Law 110-343). 

8. In response to a public comment received during the 

original implementation of the ARTS program, clarifying that 

drug screening may be conducted using urine or blood 

serums. 

Issues: The primary advantage of these regulatory changes to 

the public and the agency is that they streamline and simplify 

existing requirements for ARTS services and provide 

additional clarity to ARTS providers. There are no 

disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth as a result of these changes. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes to update this regulation to reflect the 

changes that have already occurred in the provision of 

Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services (ARTS). 

Background. The ARTS program provides a comprehensive 

continuum of addiction and recovery treatment services, 

including inpatient withdrawal management services, 

residential treatment services, partial hospitalization, 

intensive outpatient treatment, outpatient treatment, and peer 

recovery supports. 

According to DMAS, in the last several years there have been 

changes in a number of laws, regulations, and guidance from 

other entities that have affected how the ARTS program 

operates. For example, the Board of Counseling and the 

Board of Medicine have amended the scope of practice for 

the professions they regulate who provide services to ARTS 

recipients. Similarly, the federal Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services has issued a Parity Rule that affected the 

service limits in this program and guidance on certain terms 

used in this regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

update the regulation to reflect the changes that have occurred 

in this program due to external laws, regulations, and 

guidance.2 The proposed amendments also make clarifying 

changes to language that has prompted questions from 

providers of addiction and recovery treatment services. 

Since the proposed amendments simply reflect the changes on 

how the ARTS program currently operates, no significant 

economic effect is expected other than improving the clarity 

of the rules this program currently operates under. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation 

primarily applies to 3,465 ARTS providers and the Medicaid 

clients they serve. 

https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/smd17003.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/smd17003.pdf
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/MedicaidMemostoProviders
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/MedicaidMemostoProviders
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Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposed 

amendments do not adversely affect small businesses. 

______________________________ 

2The references to external laws, regulations, and guidance can be found at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64\5229\8540\AgencyState

ment_DMAS_8540_vA.pdf 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget and raises no 

issues with this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify and update the requirements for 

providers of Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services 

(ARTS) Program services to Medicaid members, including 

(i) updating citations and terminology; (ii) clarifying roles 

for professionals who provide various addiction 

treatments; (iii) specifying that medical assisted treatment 

must be provided onsite or through referral in intensive 

outpatient, partial hospitalization, and residential levels of 

care pursuant to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services requirements; (iv) including telemedicine in the 

definition of "face-to-face" for purposes of providing ARTS 

services; (v) removing hard limits on intensive outpatient 

treatment; and (vi) clarifying that drug screening can be 

done by testing urine or blood serums.  

12VAC30-60-181. Utilization review of addiction, and 

recovery, and treatment services. 

A. Providers shall be required to maintain documentation 

detailing all relevant information about the Medicaid 

individuals who are in the provider's care. Such 

documentation shall fully disclose the extent of services 

provided in order to support provider's claims for 

reimbursement for services rendered. This documentation 

shall be written and dated at the time the services are 

rendered. Claims that are not adequately supported by 

appropriate up-to-date documentation may be subject to 

recovery of expenditures.  

B. Utilization reviews shall be conducted by the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services or its designated contractor. 

C. Service authorizations shall be required for American 

Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Levels 2.1, 2.5, 3.1, 

3.3, 3.5, 3.7, and 4.0. 

D. A multidimensional assessment by a credentialed 

addiction treatment professional (CATP), as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5020, shall be required for ASAM Levels 1.0 

through 4.0. Certified substance abuse counselors (CSACs) 

are able to complete a multidimensional assessment to make 

recommendations for an ASAM level of care, which shall be 

signed and dated by a CATP within one business day. The 

multidimensional assessment shall be maintained in the 

individual's record by the provider. Medical necessity for all 

ASAM levels of care shall be based on the outcome of the 

individual's multidimensional assessment.  

E. Individual service plans (ISPs) and treatment plans shall 

be developed upon admission to medically managed intensive 

inpatient services (ASAM Level 4.0), substance use 

residential and inpatient services (ASAM Levels 3.1, 3.3, 3.5, 

and 3,7) 3.7), and substance use intensive outpatient and 

partial hospitalization programs (ASAM Levels 2.1 and 2.5). 

ISPs or treatment plans shall be developed upon initiation of 

opioid treatment services (OTP) and, office-based opioid 

treatment (OBOT);, and substance use outpatient services 

(ASAM Level 1.0). 

1. The provider shall include the individual and the family 

or caregiver, as may be appropriate, in the development of 

the ISP or treatment plan. To the extent that the 

individual's condition requires assistance for participation, 

assistance shall be provided. The ISP shall be updated at 

least annually and as the individual's needs and progress 

change. An ISP that is not updated either annually or as the 

individual's needs and progress change shall be considered 

outdated.  

2. All ISPs shall be completed and contemporaneously 

signed and dated by the credentialed addiction treatment 

professional CATP preparing the ISP. For ASAM Levels 

3.1, 3.3, and 3.5, the ISP may be completed by a CSAC if 

the CATP signs and dates the ISP within one business day. 

3. The child's or adolescent's ISP shall also be signed by 

the parent or legal guardian, and the adult individual shall 

sign his own ISP. If the individual, whether a child, 

adolescent, or adult, is unwilling or unable to sign the ISP, 

then the service provider shall document the reasons why 

the individual was not able or willing to sign the ISP.  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64/5229/8540/AgencyStatement_DMAS_8540_vA.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=64/5229/8540/AgencyStatement_DMAS_8540_vA.pdf
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F. A comprehensive ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226 

12VAC30-130-5020, shall be fully developed within 30 

calendar days of the initiation of services. The comprehensive 

ISP shall be developed with the individual, in consultation 

with the individual's family, as appropriate, and shall address 

(i) a summary or reference to the individual's identified 

needs; (ii) short-term and long-term goals and measurable 

objectives for addressing each identified individually specific 

need; (iii) services and supports and frequency of services to 

accomplish the goals and objectives; (iv) target dates for 

accomplishment of goals and objectives; (v) estimated 

duration of service; (vi) medication assisted treatment 

assessment, which shall be provided onsite or through 

referral; and (vi) (vii) the role or roles of other agencies if the 

plan is a shared responsibility and the staff designated as 

responsible for the coordination and integration of services. 

The ISP shall be reviewed at least every 90 calendar days and 

shall be modified as the needs and progress of the individual 

changes change. Documentation of the ISP review shall 

include the dated signatures of the credentialed addiction 

treatment professional CATP and the individual. CSACs may 

perform the ISP reviews in ASAM Levels 3.1, 3.3, and 3.5 if 

a CATP signs and dates the ISP review within one business 

day. 

G. Progress notes, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130 

12VAC30-60-185, shall disclose the extent of services 

provided and corroborate the units billed. Claims not 

supported by corroborating progress notes may be subject to 

recovery of expenditures. Each progress note shall be 

individualized to the member to demonstrate the individual 

member's particular circumstances, treatment, and progress. 

Claim payments shall be retracted for services that are not 

supported by documentation that is individualized to the 

member. 

H. Documentation shall include assessment and referral for 

medication assisted treatment as medically indicated. 

12VAC30-60-185. Utilization review of substance use case 

management. 

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Face-to-face" means the same as that term is defined in 

12VAC30-130-5020. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226 12VAC30-130-5020. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes and are part of 

the minimum documentation requirements that convey the 

individual's status, staff intervention, and as appropriate, the 

individual's progress or lack of progress toward goals and 

objectives in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at 

a minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of the 

service rendered, the signature and credentials of the person 

who rendered the service, the setting in which the service was 

rendered, and the amount of time or units/hours units or hours 

required to deliver the service. The content of each progress 

note shall corroborate the time/units time or units billed for 

each rendered service. Progress notes shall be documented for 

each service that is billed.  

"Register" or "registration" means notifying the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services or its contractor that an 

individual will be receiving services that do not require 

service authorization, such as outpatient services for 

substance use disorders or substance use case management.  

B. Utilization review: substance use case management 

services. 

1. The Medicaid enrolled individual shall meet the 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5) criteria for a substance use disorder. Tobacco-

related disorders or caffeine-related disorders and 

nonsubstance-related non-substance-related disorders shall 

not be covered.  

2. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 

management. An active client for substance use case 

management shall mean an individual for whom there is a 

current substance use individual service plan (ISP) in effect 

that requires a minimum of two distinct substance use case 

management activities being performed each calendar 

month and at a minimum one face-to-face client contact at 

least every 90-calendar-day period.  

3. Billing can be submitted for an active recipient only for 

months in which a minimum of two distinct substance use 

case management activities are performed.  

4. An ISP shall be completed within 30 calendar days of 

initiation of this service with the individual in a person-

centered manner and shall document the need for active 

substance use case management before such case 

management services can be billed. The ISP shall require a 

minimum of two distinct substance use case management 

activities being performed each calendar month and a 

minimum of one face-to-face client contact at least every 

90 calendar days. The substance use case manager shall 

review the ISP with the individual at least every 90 

calendar days for the purpose of evaluating and updating 

the individual's progress toward meeting the individualized 

service plan objectives.  

5. The ISP shall be reviewed with the individual present, 

and the outcome of the review shall be documented in the 

individual's medical record. 
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C. Utilization review: substance use case management 

services.  

1. Utilization review general requirements. Utilization 

reviews shall be conducted by DMAS or its designated 

contractor. Reimbursement shall be provided only when 

there is an active ISP and, a minimum of two distinct 

substance use case management activities are performed 

each calendar month, and there is a minimum of one face-

to-face client contact at least every 90-calendar-day period. 

Billing can be submitted only for months in which a 

minimum of two distinct substance use case management 

activities are performed within the calendar month.  

2. In order to receive reimbursement, providers shall 

register this service with the managed care organization or 

the behavioral health services administration DMAS 

contractor, as required, within one business day of service 

initiation to avoid duplication of services and to ensure 

informed and seamless care coordination between 

substance use treatment and substance use case 

management providers.  

3. The Medicaid eligible individual shall meet the 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM-5) criteria for a substance use disorder with the 

exception of tobacco-related disorders or caffeine-related 

disorders and nonsubstance-related non-substance-related 

disorders. 

4. Substance use case management shall not be billed for 

individuals in institutions for mental disease, except during 

the month prior to discharge to allow for discharge 

planning, limited to two months within a 12-month period. 

Substance use case management shall not be billed 

concurrently with any other type of Medicaid reimbursed 

case management and care coordination. 

5. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226 12VAC30-

130-5020, shall document the need for substance use case 

management and be fully completed within 30 calendar 

days of initiation of the service, and the substance use case 

manager shall review the ISP at least every 90 calendar 

days. Such reviews shall be documented in the individual's 

medical record. If needed, a grace period will be granted 

following the date of the last review. When the review is 

completed in a grace period, the next subsequent review 

shall be scheduled 90 calendar days from the date the 

review was initially due and not the date of actual review.  

6. The ISP shall be updated and documented in the 

individual's medical record at least annually and as an 

individual's needs change.  

7. The provider of substance use case management services 

shall be licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as a provider of substance use 

case management and credentialed by the behavioral health 

services administration DMAS contractor or the managed 

care organization as a provider of substance use case 

management services. 

8. Progress notes, as defined in subsection A of this 

section, shall be required to disclose the extent of services 

provided and corroborate the units billed. 

12VAC30-70-418. Reimbursement for residential and 

inpatient substance use treatment services. 

A. The following substance use disorder treatment services 

for adults and adolescents are provided in a residential or 

inpatient setting: (i) clinically managed population-specific 

high intensity residential service (ASAM Level 3.3); (ii) 

clinically managed high intensity residential services (adult) 

and clinically managed medium intensity residential services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5); (iii) medically monitored 

intensive inpatient services (adult) and medically monitored 

high intensity inpatient services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 

3.7); and (iv) medically managed intensive inpatient services 

(ASAM Level 4.0). 

B. If one of the services in subsection A of this section is 

furnished to an individual in a freestanding psychiatric 

hospital or inpatient psychiatric unit of an acute care hospital, 

reimbursement shall be based on the hospital reimbursement 

described in 12VAC30-70-241 and the reimbursement of 

services provided under the arrangement described in 

12VAC30-80.  

C. If one of the services in subsection A of this section is 

furnished to an individual in an appropriately licensed 

residential setting, reimbursement shall be based on the 

psychiatric residential treatment facility (Level C) 

reimbursement described in 12VAC30-70-417. 

12VAC30-80-32. Reimbursement for substance use 

disorder services. 

A. Physician services described in 12VAC30-50-140, other 

licensed practitioner services described in 12VAC30-50-150, 

and clinic services described in 12VAC30-50-180 for 

assessment and evaluation or treatment of substance use 

disorders shall be reimbursed using the methodology in 

12VAC30-80-30 and 12VAC30-80-190 subject to the 

following reductions for psychotherapy services for other 

licensed practitioners. 

1. Psychotherapy and substance use disorder counseling 

services of licensed clinical psychologists shall be 

reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 

psychiatrists. 

2. Psychotherapy and substance use disorder counseling 

services provided by independently enrolled licensed 

clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors, 

licensed marriage and family therapists, licensed 

psychiatric nurse practitioners, licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioners, or licensed registered clinical nurse 
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specialists-psychiatric shall be reimbursed at 75% of the 

reimbursement rate for licensed clinical psychologists. 

3. The same rates shall be paid to governmental and private 

providers. These services are reimbursed based on the 

Common Procedural Terminology codes and Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System codes. The agency's 

rates were set as of July 1, 2007, and are updated as 

described in 12VAC30-80-190. All rates are published on 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

website at www.dmas.virginia.gov 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov.  

B. Rates for the following addiction and recovery treatment 

services (ARTS) physician and clinic services preferred 

office-based opioid treatment (OBOT) services and opioid 

treatment programs shall be based on the agency fee 

schedule: (i) initiation of medication assisted treatment 

induction with a visit unit of service; (ii) individual and group 

opioid treatment service substance use disorder counseling 

and psychotherapy with a 15-minute unit of service; and (iii) 

substance use care coordination with a monthly unit of 

service. The agency's rates shall be set as of April 1, 2017. 

The Medicaid and commercial rates for similar services as 

well as the cost for providing services shall be considered 

when establishing the fee schedules so that payments shall be 

consistent with economy, efficiency, and quality of care. The 

same rates shall be paid to public and private providers. All 

rates are published on the DMAS website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

C. Community ARTS rehabilitation services. Per diem rates 

for clinically managed low intensity residential services 

(ASAM Level 3.1), partial hospitalization (ASAM Level 2.5), 

and intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) for 

ARTS shall be based on the agency fee schedule. The 

Medicaid and commercial rates for similar services as well as 

the cost for providing services shall be considered when 

establishing the fee schedules so that payments shall be 

consistent with economy, efficiency, and quality of care. The 

same rates shall be paid to governmental and private 

providers. The agency's rates shall be set as of April 1, 2017, 

and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates 

are published on the DMAS website at: 

www.dmas.virginia.gov http://www.dmas.virginia.gov.  

D. Reimbursement for all clinically managed low intensity 

residential (ASAM Level 3.1) services shall be based on the 

therapeutic group home (Level B) reimbursement described 

in 12VAC30-80-30. 

E. ARTS federally qualified health center or rural health 

clinic services (ASAM Level 1.0) for assessment and 

evaluation or treatment of substance use disorder, as 

described in 12VAC30-130-5000 et seq., shall be reimbursed 

using the methodology described in 12VAC30-80-25. 

E. F. Substance use case management services. Substance 

use case management services, as described in 12VAC30-50-

491, shall be reimbursed a monthly rate based on the agency 

fee schedule. The Medicaid and commercial rates for similar 

services as well as the cost for providing services shall be 

considered when establishing the fee schedules so that 

payment shall be consistent with economy, efficiency, and 

quality of care. The same rates shall be paid to governmental 

and private providers. The agency's rates shall be set as of 

April 1, 2017, and are effective for services on or after that 

date. All rates are published on the DMAS website at 

www.dmas.virginia.gov http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

F. G. Peer support services. Peer support services as 

described in 12VAC30-130-5160 through 12VAC30-130-

5210 furnished by enrolled providers or provider agencies as 

described in 12VAC30-130-5190 shall be reimbursed based 

on the agency fee schedule for 15-minute units of service. 

The agency's rates set as of July 1, 2017, are effective for 

services on or after that date. All rates are published on the 

DMAS website at: www.dmas.virginia.gov 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. 

12VAC30-130-5010. Addiction and recovery treatment 

services; purpose. 

The purpose of this part shall be to establish coverage of 

treatment for substance use disorders as defined in the 

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Criteria: 

Treatment Criteria for Addictive, Substance-Related and Co-

Occurring Conditions, Third Edition, as published by the 

American Society of Addiction Medicine including outpatient 

physician, nurse practitioner, and clinic services, that include 

evidence-based medication assisted treatment, intensive 

outpatient services, partial hospitalization services, residential 

treatment services, and inpatient withdrawal management 

services as defined in 12VAC30-130-5040 through 

12VAC30-130-5150.  

12VAC30-130-5020. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abstinence" means the intentional and consistent restraint 

from the pathological pursuit of reward or relief, or both, that 

involves the use of substances. 

"Addiction" means a primary, chronic disease of brain 

reward, motivation, memory, and related circuitry. Addiction 

is defined as the inability to consistently abstain, impairment 

in behavioral control, persistence of cravings, diminished 

recognition of significant problems with one's behaviors and 

interpersonal relationships, and a dysfunctional emotional 

response. Like other chronic diseases, addiction often 

involves cycles of relapse and remission. Without treatment 

or engagement in recovery activities, addiction is progressive 

and can result in disability or premature death.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
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"Addiction-credentialed physician" means a physician who 

holds a board certification in addiction medicine from the 

American Board of Addiction Medicine, a subspecialty board 

certification in addition to certification in psychiatry from the 

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, or 

subspecialty board certification in addiction medicine from 

the American Osteopathic Association. DMAS also 

recognizes physicians with the DATA 2000 buprenorphine 

waiver and physicians treating addiction who have specialty 

training or experience in addiction medicine or addiction 

psychiatry. If treating adolescents, "addiction-credentialed 

physician" means an addiction-credentialed physician who 

also has experience and specialty training with adolescent 

medicine. 

"Adherence" means the individual receiving treatment has 

demonstrated his ability to cooperate with, follow, and take 

personal responsibility for the implementation of his 

treatment plans.  

"Adolescent" means an individual from 12 years of age to 

20 years of age.  

"Allied health professional" means counselor aides or group 

living workers who meet the DBHDS licensing requirements 

for unlicensed staff in residential settings. 

"ARTS" means addiction and recovery treatment services. 

"ARTS care coordinator" means an employee of DMAS, its 

contractor, or an MCO who is a licensed practitioner of the 

healing arts, including a physician or medical director, 

licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, 

licensed professional counselor, licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioner, licensed marriage and family therapist, 

nurse practitioner, or registered nurse with two years of 

clinical experience in the treatment of substance use 

disorders. The ARTS care coordinator performs independent 

assessments of requests for all ARTS intensive outpatient 

programs (ASAM Level 2.1); partial hospitalization programs 

(ASAM Level 2.5); residential treatment services (ASAM 

Levels 3.1, 3.3, 3.5, and 3.7); and inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 3.7 and 4.0). 

"ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. 

"ASAM criteria" means the six different life areas used by 

the ASAM Patient Placement Criteria to develop a holistic 

biopsychosocial assessment of an individual that is used for 

service planning, level of care, and length of stay treatment 

decisions. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 

means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 

benefits program under contract with DMAS. The DMAS 

designated BHSA shall be authorized to constitute, oversee, 

enroll, and train a provider network; perform service 

authorization; adjudicate claims; process claims; gather and 

maintain data; reimburse providers; perform quality 

assessment and improvement; conduct member outreach and 

education; resolve member and provider issues; and perform 

utilization management including care coordination for the 

provision of Medicaid-covered behavioral health services. 

DMAS shall retain authority for and oversight of the BHSA 

entity or entities. 

"BHA" means behavioral health authority. 

"Biomedical" means biological or physical aspects of a 

member's condition that require assessment and services that 

are delivered by appropriately credentialed medical staff, who 

are available to assess and treat co-occurring biomedical 

disorders that may be the result of, or independent of, a 

substance use disorder. 

"Buprenorphine-waivered practitioners" practitioner" means 

a health care providers provider licensed under Virginia law 

and registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration 

(DEA) to prescribe Schedule III, IV, or V medications for 

treatment of pain. Physicians shall have completed the 

buprenorphine waiver training course and obtained the waiver 

to prescribe or dispense buprenorphine for opioid use disorder 

required under More specifically, a buprenorphine-waivered 

physician has obtained the buprenorphine waiver through the 

Drug Addiction Treatment Act of 2000 (DATA 2000). They 

shall have been issued a DEA-X number by the DEA to 

prescribe buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use 

disorder. Practitioners who are not physicians must meet, 

while a buprenorphine-waivered nurse practitioner or 

physician assistant has obtained the buprenorphine waiver 

through DATA 2000. A buprenorphine-waivered practitioner 

meets all federal and state requirements and be is supervised 

by or work works in collaboration with a qualifying physician 

who is buprenorphine waivered. in accordance with the 

applicable regulatory board. In accordance with § 54.1-2957 

of the Code of Virginia, a nurse practitioner may practice 

without a written or electronic practice agreement with a 

qualifying physician. All buprenorphine-waivered 

practitioners have a DEA-X number to prescribe 

buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use disorder. 

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to improve assist in 

improving the care of the individual. This includes e-

consultations from primary care providers to specialists.  

"Certified substance abuse counselor" or "CSAC" means the 

same as that term is defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Certified substance abuse counseling assistant" or "CSAC-

A" means the same as that term is defined in § 54.1-3507.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified substance abuse counselor-supervisee" means an 

individual who has completed the educational requirements 
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described in clause (i) of § 54.1-3507.1 C of the Code of 

Virginia, but who has not completed the practice hours 

described in clause (ii) of § 54.1-3507.1 C of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Child" means an individual from birth up to 12 years of 

age.  

"Clinical experience" means, for the purpose of these ARTS 

requirements, practical experience in providing direct services 

to individuals with diagnoses of substance use disorder. 

Clinical experience shall include supervised internships, 

supervised practicums, or supervised field experience. 

Clinical experience shall not include unsupervised 

internships, unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field 

experience.  

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of concurrent 

substance use disorder and mental illness without implication 

as to which disorder is primary and which secondary, which 

disorder occurred first, or whether one disorder caused the 

other. Other terms used to describe co-occurring disorders 

include "dual diagnosis,'' "dual disorders,'' "mentally ill 

chemically addicted (MICA)," "chemically addicted mentally 

ill (CAMI),'' "mentally ill substance abusers (MISA),'' 

"mentally ill chemically dependent (MICD),'' "concurrent 

disorders,'' "coexisting disorders,'' "comorbid disorders,'' and 

"individuals with co-occurring psychiatric and substance 

symptomatology (ICOPSS)."  

"Counseling" means the same as that term is defined in 

§ 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Credentialed addiction treatment professionals" 

professional" or "CATP" means an individual licensed or 

registered with the appropriate board in the following roles: 

(i) an addiction-credentialed physician or physician with 

experience or training in addiction medicine; (ii) physician 

extenders with experience or training in addiction medicine; 

(iii) a licensed psychiatrist; (iii) (iv) a licensed clinical 

psychologist; (iv) (v) a licensed clinical social worker; (v) (vi) 

a licensed professional counselor; (vi) (vii) a licensed 

certified psychiatric clinical nurse specialist; (vii) (viii) a 

licensed psychiatric nurse practitioner; (viii) (ix) a licensed 

marriage and family therapist; (ix) (x) a licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioner; (x) residents (xi) a resident who 

is under the supervision of a licensed professional counselor 

(18VAC115-20-10), licensed marriage and family therapist 

(18VAC115-50-10), or licensed substance abuse treatment 

practitioner (18VAC115-60-10) and in a residency approved 

by is registered with the Virginia Board of Counseling; (xi) 

residents (xii) a resident in psychology who is under 

supervision of a licensed clinical psychologist and in a 

residency approved by is registered with the Virginia Board 

of Psychology (18VAC125-20-10); (xii) supervisees or (xiii) 

a supervisee in social work who is under the supervision of a 

licensed clinical social worker approved by and is registered 

with the Virginia Board of Social Work (18VAC140-20-10); 

or (xiii) an individual with certification as a substance abuse 

counselor (CSAC) (18VAC115-30-10) or certification as a 

substance abuse counseling-assistant (CSAC-A) (18VAC115-

30-10) under supervision of licensed provider and within his 

scope of practice, as described in §§ 54.1-3507.1 and 54.1-

3507.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"CSB" means community services board. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-

300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DHP" means the Department of Health Professions.  

"DMAS" or "the department" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services and its contractor or contractors 

consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 

of the Code of Virginia.  

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Evidence-based" means an empirically-supported clinical 

practice or intervention with a proven ability to produce 

positive outcomes. 

"Face-to-face" means encounters that occur in person or 

through telemedicine. 

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan as set out in 12VAC30-141. 

"FQHC" means federally qualified health center. 

"Individual" means the patient, client, beneficiary, or 

member who receives services set out in 12VAC30-130-5000 

et seq. These terms are used interchangeably. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226. an initial and 

comprehensive treatment plan that is regularly updated and 

specific to an individual's unique treatment needs as identified 

in the assessment. An ISP contains an individual's treatment 

or training needs, the individual's goals and measureable 

objectives to meet the identified needs, services to be 

provided with the recommended frequency to accomplish the 

measurable goals and objectives, and an individualized 

discharge plan that describes transition to other appropriate 

services. An individual is included in the development of the 

ISP, and the ISP is signed by the individual. If the individual 

is a minor, the ISP is also signed by the individual's parent or 

legal guardian. An ISP includes documentation if the 

individual is a minor child or an adult who lacks legal 

capacity and is unable or unwilling to sign the ISP. 

"Induction phase" means the medically monitored initiation 

of buprenorphine, buprenorphine and naloxone, naltrexone, or 

methadone treatment performed in a qualified practitioner's 

office or licensed OTP. The goal of the induction phase is to 
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find the individual's ideal dose of buprenorphine, 

buprenorphine and naloxone, naltrexone, or methadone. The 

ideal dose minimizes both side effects and drug craving. 

"Licensed practical nurse" means a professional who is 

licensed by the Commonwealth as a practical nurse or holds a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice practical nursing 

according to 18VAC90-19-80. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" meansan 

organization that offers managed care health insurance plans 

(MCHIP), as defined by § 38.2-5800 of the Code of Virginia, 

which means an arrangement for the delivery of health care in 

which a health carrier undertakes to provide, arrange for, pay 

for, or reimburse any of the costs of health care services for a 

covered person on a prepaid or insured basis that (i) contains 

one or more incentive arrangements, including any 

credentialing requirements intended to influence the cost or 

level of health care services between the health carrier and 

one or more providers with respect to the delivery of health 

care services and (ii) requires or creates benefit payment 

differential incentives for covered persons to use providers 

that are directly or indirectly managed, owned, under contract 

with, or employed by the health carrier. 

"Medication assisted treatment" or "MAT" means the same 

as that term is defined in 42 CFR 8.2. 

"Multidimensional assessment" or "assessment" means the 

individualized, person-centered biopsychosocial assessment 

performed face-to-face, in which the provider obtains 

comprehensive information from the individual (including, 

and family members and significant others as needed) needed, 

including history of the present illness; family history; 

developmental history; alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use 

or addictive behavior history; personal/social personal or 

social history; legal history; psychiatric history; medical 

history; spiritual history as appropriate; review of systems; 

mental status exam; physical examination; formulation and 

diagnoses; survey of assets, vulnerabilities and supports; and 

treatment recommendations. The ASAM multidimensional 

assessment is a theoretical framework for this individualized, 

person-centered assessment that includes the following six 

dimensions: (i) acute intoxication or likelihood of withdrawal 

potential, or both; (ii) biomedical medical conditions and 

complications, both historical and current; (iii) emotional, 

behavioral, or cognitive conditions status and complications 

any identified issues; (iv) an individual's readiness to change; 

(v) risks for relapse, or continued use, or continued problem 

potential; and (vi) recovery or living home environment. The 

level of care determination, ISP, and recovery strategies 

development may be based upon this multidimensional 

assessment.  

"Office-based opioid treatment" or "OBOT" means 

addiction treatment services for individuals with moderate to 

severe opioid use disorder provided by buprenorphine-

waivered practitioners working in collaboration with 

credentialed addiction treatment practitioners providing 

psychosocial counseling in public and private practice 

settings. 

"Opiate" means one of a group of alkaloids derived from the 

opium poppy (Papaver somniferum) that has the ability to 

induce analgesia, euphoria, and, in higher doses, stupor, 

coma, and respiratory depression but excludes synthetic 

opioids.  

"Opioid" means any psychoactive chemical that resembles 

morphine in pharmacological effects, including opiates and 

synthetic/semisynthetic synthetic or semisynthetic agents that 

exert their effects by binding to highly selective receptors in 

the brain where morphine and endogenous opioids affect their 

actions. 

"Opioid treatment program" or "OTP" means a program 

certified by the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

Services Administration (SAMHSA) that engages in 

supervised assessment and treatment, using methadone, 

buprenorphine, L-alpha acetyl methadol, or naltrexone, of 

individuals who are addicted to opioids the same as that term 

is defined in 42 CFR 8.2. 

"Opioid treatment services" or "OTS" means preferred 

office-based opioid treatment (OBOT) and opioid treatment 

programs OTPs that encompass a variety of pharmacological 

and nonpharmacological treatment modalities, including 

substance use disorder counseling and psychotherapy. 

"Overdose" means the inadvertent or deliberate consumption 

of a dose of a chemical substance much larger than either 

habitually used by the individual or ordinarily used for 

treatment of an illness that is likely to result in a serious toxic 

reaction or death. 

"Physician extenders" means licensed nurse practitioners as 

defined in 18VAC90-30-10 § 54.1-3000 of the Code of 

Virginia and licensed physician assistants as defined in 

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Practitioner" means a provider who is permitted to 

prescribe buprenorphine by the scope of his licenses under 

federal and state law. 

"Preferred office-based opioid treatment" or "preferred 

OBOT" means addiction treatment services for individuals 

with a primary opioid use disorder provided by 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioners working in 

collaboration with CATPs providing psychotherapy and 

substance use disorder counseling in public and private 

practice settings. 

"Program of assertive community treatment" or "PACT" 

means the same as that term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have a substance use 

disorder or mental illness and their family members or 
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caregivers to access clear and concise information about 

substance use disorders or mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with substance use 

disorders or mental illness and its effects in order to design 

effective treatment plans and strategies.  

"Psychotherapy" or "therapy" means the use of 

psychological methods in a professional relationship to assist 

a person to acquire great human effectiveness or to modify 

feelings, conditions, attitudes, and behaviors that are 

emotionally, intellectually, or socially ineffectual or 

maladaptive. 

"Recovery" means a process of sustained effort that 

addresses the biological, psychological, social, and spiritual 

disturbances inherent in addiction and consistently pursues 

abstinence, behavior control, dealing with cravings, 

recognizing problems in one's behaviors and interpersonal 

relationships, and more effective coping with emotional 

responses leading to reversal of negative, self-defeating 

internal processes and behaviors and allowing healing of 

relationships with self and others. The concepts of humility, 

acceptance, and surrender are useful in this process.  

"Registered nurse" or "RN" means a professional who is 

either licensed by the Commonwealth or who holds a multi-

state licensure privilege to practice nursing the same as 

"professional nurse" is defined in § 54.1-3000 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Relapse" means a process in which an individual who has 

established abstinence or sobriety experiences recurrence of 

signs and symptoms of active addiction, often including 

resumption of the pathological pursuit of reward or relief 

through the use of substances and other behaviors often 

leading to disengagement from recovery activities. Relapse 

can be triggered by exposure to (i) rewarding substances and 

behaviors, (ii) environmental cues to use, and (iii) emotional 

stressors that trigger heightened activity in brain stress 

circuits. The event of using or acting out is the latter part of 

the process, which can be prevented by early intervention. 

"RHC" means rural health clinic.  

"SBIRT" means screening, brief intervention, and referral to 

treatment. SBIRT services are an evidence-based and 

community-based practice designed to identify, reduce, and 

prevent problematic substance use disorders. 

"Service authorization" means the process to approve 

specific services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or 

FAMIS individual by a DMAS service authorization or its 

contractor, BHSA, or an MCO prior to service delivery and 

reimbursement in order to validate that the service requested 

is medically necessary and meets DMAS and DMAS 

contractor criteria for reimbursement. Service authorization 

does not guarantee payment for the service.  

"Substance use care coordinator" means staff in an OTP or 

preferred OBOT setting who have:  

1. At least a bachelor's degree in one of the following 

fields: social work, psychology, psychiatric rehabilitation, 

sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, or human 

services counseling, and at least either (i) one year of 

substance use disorder related direct experience or training 

or a combination of experience or training in providing 

services to individuals with a diagnosis of substance use 

disorder or (ii) a minimum of one year of clinical 

experience or training in working with individuals with co-

occurring diagnoses of substance use disorder and mental 

illness; or  

2. Licensure by the Commonwealth as a registered nurse 

with at least either (i) one year of direct experience or 

training or a combination of experience and training in 

providing services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

substance use disorder or (ii) a minimum of one year of 

clinical experience or training or a combination of 

experience and training in working with individuals with 

co-occurring diagnoses of substance use disorder and 

mental illness; or  

3. Certification as a CSAC or a CSAC-A.  

"Substance use case management" means the same as set out 

in 12VAC30-50-491. 

"Substance use disorder" or "SUD" means a substance-

related addictive disorder, as defined in the DSM-5 with the 

exception of tobacco-related disorders and non-substance-

related disorders, marked by a cluster of cognitive, 

behavioral, and physiological symptoms indicating that the 

individual continues to use, is seeking treatment for the use 

of, or is in active recovery from the use of alcohol, tobacco, 

or other drugs despite significant related problems. 

"Substance use disorder counseling" means the same as 

"substance abuse counseling" is defined in 18VAC115-30-10. 

"Telemedicine" means the practice of the medical arts via 

electronic means rather than face-to-face the real-time, two-

way transfer of medical data and information using an 

interactive audio-video connection for the purposes of 

medical diagnosis and treatment. The member is located at 

the originating site, while the provider renders services from a 

remote location via the audio-video connection. Equipment 

utilized for telemedicine shall be of sufficient audio quality 

and visual clarity as to be functionally equivalent to a face-to-

face encounter for professional medical services. 

"Tolerance" or "tolerate" means a state of adaptation in 

which exposure to a drug induces changes that result in 

diminution of one or more of the drug's effects over time. 

"Withdrawal management" means services to assist an 

individual's withdrawal from the use of substances. 
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12VAC30-130-5030. Eligible individuals. 

Children and adults who participate in Medicaid managed 

care plans and Medicaid fee for service and meet ASAM 

medical necessity criteria shall be eligible for ARTS. 

Notwithstanding the coverage limitations set forth in the 

Governor's Access Plan for the Seriously Mental Ill (GAP 

SMI), GAP-SMI enrollees who meet ASAM medical 

necessity criteria shall be eligible for ARTS with the 

exception of inpatient detoxification services (ASAM Level 

4.0) and substance use case management. 

12VAC30-130-5040. Covered services: requirements; 

limits; standards. 

A. Addiction and recovery and treatment services.  

1. In order to be covered, ARTS shall (i) meet medical 

necessity criteria based upon the multidimensional 

assessment completed by a credentialed addiction 

treatment professional within the scope of their practice 

CATP or a CSAC under the supervision of a CATP and (ii) 

be accurately reflected in provider medical record 

documentation and on providers' provider claims for 

services by recognized diagnosis codes that support and are 

consistent with the requested professional services. ARTS 

services require a primary substance use diagnosis, and the 

purpose for treatment shall be related to the substance use 

disorder. Individuals may have a secondary, co-occurring 

diagnosis. A CATP or a CSAC under the supervision of a 

CATP shall complete the multidimensional assessments. A 

CATP must sign and date assessments performed by a 

CSAC within one business day. 

2. These ARTS services, with their service definitions, 

shall be covered in all levels of care: (i) medically 

managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM Level 4); (ii) 

substance use residential/inpatient residential or inpatient 

services (ASAM Levels 3.1, 3.3, 3.5, and 3.7); (iii) 

substance use intensive outpatient and partial 

hospitalization programs (ASAM Levels 2.1 and 2.5); (iv) 

opioid treatment services, (opioid treatment programs and 

preferred office-based opioid treatment); (v) substance use 

outpatient services (ASAM Level 1.0); (vi) early 

intervention services (ASAM Level 0.5); (vii) substance 

use care coordination, (viii) substance use case 

management services; and (ix) withdrawal management 

services, which shall be provided when medically 

necessary, as a component of the medically managed 

inpatient services (ASAM Level 4.0), substance use 

residential/inpatient services (ASAM Levels 3.3, 3.5, and 

3.7), substance use intensive outpatient and partial 

hospitalization programs (ASAM Levels 2.1 and 2.5), 

opioid treatment services, opioid treatment programs and 

office-based opioid treatment, and substance use outpatient 

services (ASAM Level 1.0).  

B. ARTS services shall be fully integrated with all physical 

health and behavioral health services for a complete 

continuum of care for all Medicaid individuals meeting the 

medical necessity criteria. In order to receive reimbursement 

for ARTS services, the individual shall be enrolled in 

Virginia Medicaid and shall meet the following medical 

necessity criteria: 

1. The individual shall demonstrate at least one diagnosis 

from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders (DSM-5) for Substance-Related substance-

related and Addictive Disorders addictive disorders, with 

the exception of tobacco-related disorders or caffeine-

related disorders or dependence and nonsubstance-related 

and non-substance-related addictive disorders or be, 

marked by a cluster of cognitive, behavioral, and 

physiological symptoms indicating that the individual 

continues to use, is seeking treatment for the use of, or is in 

active recovery from the use of alcohol or other drugs 

despite significant related problems. Individuals younger 

than 21 years of age may also qualify if they are assessed 

to be at risk for developing a substance use disorder, for 

youth younger than 21 years of age using the ASAM 

multidimensional assessment. 

2. The individual shall be assessed by a certified addiction 

treatment professional CATP or a CSAC under the 

supervision of a CATP who will determine if he the 

individual meets the severity and intensity of treatment 

requirements for each service level defined by the most 

current version of the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine (ASAM) Treatment Criteria for Addictive, 

Substance-Related and Co-Occurring Conditions (Third 

Edition, 2013). Medical necessity for ASAM levels of care 

shall be based on the outcome of the individual's 

documented multidimensional assessment. The following 

outpatient ASAM levels of care do not require a complete 

multidimensional assessment using the ASAM theoretical 

framework to determine medical necessity but do require 

an assessment by a certified addiction treatment 

professional: opioid treatment programs, office-based 

opioid treatment, and substance use outpatient services 

(ASAM Level 1.0). 

3. For individuals younger than 21 years of age who do not 

meet the ASAM medical necessity criteria upon initial 

review, a second individualized review shall be conducted 

to determine if the individual needs medically necessary 

treatment under the early periodic screening diagnosis and 

treatment (EPSDT) benefit described in § 1905(a) of the 

Social Security Act to correct or ameliorate defects and 

physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 

the screening.  
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C. Determination of medical necessity based on ASAM 

criteria for addiction and recovery treatment services.  

1. DMAS contracted managed care organizations and the 

BHSA or its contractor shall employ or contract with 

licensed treatment professionals to apply the ASAM 

criteria to review and coordinate service needs when 

administering ARTS benefits. 

2. The ARTS care coordinator or a licensed physician or 

medical director employed by the DMAS or its contractor 

or an MCO or BHSA shall perform an independent 

assessment of requests for all ARTS intensive outpatient 

services (ASAM Level 2.1), partial hospitalization services 

(ASAM Level 2.5), residential treatment services (ASAM 

Levels 3.1, 3.3, 3.5, and 3.7), and ARTS inpatient 

treatment services (ASAM Level Levels 3.7 and 4.0). 

3. Length of treatment and service limits shall be 

determined by the ARTS care coordinator or a licensed 

physician or medical director employed by the BHSA 

DMAS or its contractor or an MCO who is applying the 

ASAM criteria.  

4. "ARTS care coordinator" means a licensed practitioner 

of the healing arts, including a physician or medical 

director, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical 

social worker, licensed professional counselor, or nurse 

practitioner or registered nurse with clinical experience in 

substance use disorders, who is employed by the BHSA or 

MCO to perform an independent assessment of requests for 

all ARTS residential treatment services and inpatient 

services (ASAM Levels 3.1, 3.3, 3.5, 3.7, and 4.0). 

12VAC30-130-5050. Covered services: clinic services - 

opioid treatment program services. 

A. Settings for opioid treatment program (OTP) services. 

The agency-based OTP provider shall be licensed by DBHDS 

and contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an 

MCO. Opioid treatment services The staffing requirements 

for OTP providers shall follow the DBHDS licensing 

requirements set forth in 12VAC35-105-925 and in the 

DBHDS guidance document entitled "Opioid Medication 

Assisted Treatment License and Oversight" (March, 2017). 

The interdisciplinary team shall include CATPs acting within 

the scope of practice in accordance to their professional 

regulatory board and state and federal requirements, including 

an addiction-credentialed physician as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5020. OTP services are allowable in allowed 

simultaneously for members in other ASAM Levels, 

including 1.0 through 3.7 (excluding inpatient services). 

OTP's OTPs shall meet the service components, staff 

requirements, and risk management requirements. 

B. OTP service components. 

1. Linking the individual to psychological, medical, and 

psychiatric consultation as necessary to meet the 

individual's needs.  

2. Access to emergency medical and psychiatric care 

through connections with more intensive levels of care. 

3. Access to evaluation and ongoing primary care. 

4. Ability to conduct or arrange for appropriate laboratory 

and toxicology tests including urine drug screenings, using 

either urine or blood serums. 

5. Licensed physicians Physicians who are available to 

evaluate and monitor (i) use of methadone, buprenorphine 

products, or naltrexone products and (ii) pharmacists and 

nurses to dispense and administer these medications and 

who follow the Board of Medicine guidance for treatment 

of individuals with buprenorphine for addiction. 

6. Individualized, patient-centered assessment and 

treatment. 

7. Ability to assess, order, administer, reassess, and 

regulate medication and dose levels appropriate to the 

individual; supervise withdrawal management from opioid 

analgesics, including methadone, buprenorphine products, 

or naltrexone products; and oversee and facilitate access to 

appropriate treatment for opioid use disorder. 

8. Medication for other physical and mental health illness 

is provided as needed either on site onsite or through 

collaboration with other providers. 

9. Cognitive, behavioral, and other substance use disorder-

focused therapies, psychotherapies and substance use 

disorder counseling by a CATP reflecting a variety of 

treatment approaches, provided to the individual on an 

individual, group, or family basis. CSACs and CSAC-

supervisees are recognized to provide substance use 

disorder counseling in these settings as allowed within 

scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

10. Optional substance use care coordination that includes 

integrating behavioral health into primary care and 

specialty medical settings through interdisciplinary care 

planning and monitoring individual progress and tracking 

individual outcomes; supporting conversations between 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioners and behavioral 

health professionals to develop and monitor individualized 

treatment plans; linking individuals with community 

resources to facilitate referrals and respond to social 

service needs; and tracking and supporting individuals 

when they obtain medical, behavioral health, or social 

services outside the practice. 

11. Ability Provision of onsite screening or the ability to 

refer for screening for infectious diseases such as human 

immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B and C, and 
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tuberculosis at treatment initiation and then at least 

annually or more often based on risk factors and the ability 

to provide or refer for treatment of infectious diseases as 

necessary. 

12. Onsite medication administration treatment during the 

induction phase, which must be provided by a physician, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or registered nurse. 

Medication administration during the maintenance phase 

may be provided either by a registered nurse or licensed 

practical nurse.  

13. Prescription of naloxone for each member receiving 

methadone, buprenorphine products, or naltrexone 

products. 

14. Ability to provide pregnancy testing for women of 

childbearing age. 

15. For individuals of childbearing age, the ability to 

provide family planning services or to refer the individual 

for family planning services. 

C. OTP staff requirements. 

1. Staff requirements shall meet the licensing requirements 

of 12VAC35-105-925. The interdisciplinary team shall 

include credentialed addiction professionals CATPs trained 

in the treatment of opioid use disorder, including an 

addiction credentialed physician or physician extender and 

credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5020. "Addiction-credentialed 

physician" means a physician who holds a board 

certification in addiction medicine from the American 

Board of Addiction Medicine, a subspecialty board 

certification in addiction psychiatry from the American 

Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, or subspecialty board 

certification in addiction medicine from the American 

Osteopathic Association. In situations where a certified 

addiction physician is not available, physicians treating 

addiction should have some specialty training or 

experience in addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry. 

If treating adolescents, they should have experience with 

adolescent medicine. OTPs may utilize CSACs and CSAC-

supervisees to provide substance use disorder counseling 

and psychoeducational services within their scopes of 

practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. OTPs may also utilize CSAC-As pursuant to 

§ 54.1-3507.2 of the Code of Virginia as well as registered 

peer recovery specialists within their scopes of practice. A 

registered peer recovery specialist shall meet the definition 

in § 54.1-3500 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall be knowledgeable in the assessment, 

interpretation, and treatment of the biopsychosocial 

dimensions of alcohol or other substance use disorders.  

3. A physician or physician extender as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5020, shall be available during medication 

dispensing and clinical operating hours, in person or by 

telephone.  

D. OTP risk management shall be clearly and adequately 

documented in each individual's record and shall include: 

1. Random urine drug screening, using either urine or 

blood serums, for all individuals, conducted at least eight 

times during a 12-month period as described in 12VAC35-

105-980. Definitive screenings shall only be utilized when 

clinically indicated. Outcomes of the drug screening shall 

be used to support positive patient outcomes and recovery. 

2. A check of the Virginia Prescription Monitoring 

Program prior to initiation of buprenorphine products or 

naltrexone products and at least quarterly for all 

individuals. 

3. Prescription of naloxone. 

4. Opioid overdose prevention education, including the 

prescribing purpose of and the administration of naloxone 

and the impact of polysubstance use. Education shall 

include discussion of the role of medication assisted 

treatment and the opportunity to reduce harm associated 

with polysubstance use. The goal is to help individuals 

remain in treatment to reduce the risk for harm. 

5. Clinically indicated infectious disease testing for 

diseases such as HIV; hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and 

tuberculosis at treatment initiation and then annually or 

more frequently, depending on the clinical scenario and the 

patient's risk. Those who test positive shall be treated 

either onsite or through referral.  

6. For individuals without immunity to the hepatitis B 

virus, vaccination, either onsite or through referral, shall be 

offered. 

7. For individuals without HIV infection, pre-exposure 

prophylaxis to prevent HIV infection, either onsite or 

through referral, shall be offered. 

8. Pregnancy testing for women of childbearing age, and 

contraceptive services, either onsite or through referral, 

shall be offered. 

12VAC30-130-5060. Covered services: clinic services - 

preferred office-based opioid treatment. 

A. Office-based Preferred office-based opioid treatment 

(OBOT) shall be provided by a buprenorphine-waivered 

practitioner and may be provided in a variety of practice 

settings, including primary care clinics, outpatient health 

system clinics, psychiatry clinics, federally qualified health 

centers FQHCs, CSBs/BHAs CSBs, BHAs, local health 

department clinics, and physician offices. The practitioner 

shall be contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or 

an MCO to perform OBOT services. OBOT services shall 

meet the following criteria: established in this section. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1309 

1. B. OBOT service components. 

a. 1. Access to emergency medical and psychiatric care. 

b. 2. Affiliations with more intensive levels of care such as 

intensive outpatient programs and partial hospitalization 

programs that unstable to which individuals can be referred 

to when clinically indicated. 

c. 3. Individualized, patient-centered multidimensional 

assessment and treatment. 

d. 4. Assessing, ordering, administering, reassessing, and 

regulating medication and dose levels appropriate to the 

individual; supervising withdrawal management from 

opioid analgesics; and overseeing and facilitating access to 

appropriate treatment for opioid use disorder and alcohol 

use disorder. 

e. 5. Medication for other physical and mental illnesses 

health disorders shall be provided as needed either on site 

onsite or through collaboration with other providers. 

f. 6. Assurance that buprenorphine products are only 

dispensed onsite during the induction phase. After the 

induction phase, buprenorphine products shall be 

prescribed to the member.  

7. Assurance that buprenorphine monoproduct is only 

prescribed in accordance with Board of Medicine rules 

related to the prescribing of buprenorphine for addiction.  

8. Cognitive, behavioral, and other substance use disorder-

focused therapies counseling and psychotherapies, 

reflecting a variety of treatment approaches, shall be 

provided to the individual on an individual, group, or 

family basis and shall be provided by credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals CATPs working in 

collaboration with the buprenorphine-waivered practitioner 

who is prescribing buprenorphine products or naltrexone 

products to individuals with moderate to severe a primary 

opioid use disorder. These therapies can be provided via 

telemedicine as long as they meet the department's DMAS 

requirements for an OBOT and for the use of telemedicine. 

(See the Medicaid Memo entitled "Updates to 

Telemedicine Coverage" dated May 13, 2014.) Preferred 

OBOTs may utilize CSACs and CSAC-supervisees to 

provide substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducational services within their scope of practice 

as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

g. 9. Substance use care coordination provided, including 

interdisciplinary care planning between the buprenorphine-

waivered physician practitioner and the licensed behavioral 

health provider treatment team to develop and monitor 

individualized and personalized treatment plans focused on 

the best outcomes for the individual. This care 

coordination includes monitoring individual progress, 

tracking individual outcomes, linking the individual with 

community resources to facilitate referrals and respond to 

social service needs, and tracking and supporting the 

individual's medical, behavioral health, or social services 

received outside the practice. 

h. Referral 10. Provision of onsite screening or referral for 

screening for clinically indicated infectious diseases such 

as human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B and C, and 

tuberculosis disease testing for diseases such as HIV; 

hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and tuberculosis at 

treatment initiation and then at least annually or more often 

based on risk factors and the ability to provide or refer for 

treatment of infectious diseases as necessary. 

11. Onsite medication administration treatment during the 

induction phase, which shall be provided by a physician, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or registered nurse. 

12. Ability to provide pregnancy testing for women of 

childbearing age. 

13. For individuals of childbearing age, the ability to 

provide family planning services or to refer the individual 

for family planning services. 

B. C. OBOT staff requirements.  

1. Buprenorphine-waivered practitioner licensed under 

Virginia law who has completed one of the continuing 

medical education courses approved by the federal Center 

for Substance Abuse Treatment and obtained the waiver to 

prescribe or dispense buprenorphine for opioid use 

disorder required under the Drug Addiction Treatment Act 

of 2000 (21 USC § 800 et seq.). The practitioner must have 

a DEA-X number issued by the U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Agency that is included on all buprenorphine prescriptions 

for treatment of opioid use disorder practitioners are 

required. 

2. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs 

are required and shall work in collaboration with the 

buprenorphine-waivered practitioner who is prescribing 

buprenorphine products or naltrexone products to 

individuals with moderate to severe a primary opioid use 

disorder. This collaboration can be in person or via 

telemedicine as long as it meets the department's 

requirements for the OBOT setting and for telemedicine. 

CSACs, CSAC-supervisees, and CSAC-As are also 

recognized in the preferred OBOT setting as well as 

registered peer recovery specialists. A registered peer 

recovery specialist shall meet the definition in § 54.1-3500 

of the Code of Virginia. 

C. D. OBOT risk management shall be documented in each 

individual's record and shall include:  

1. Random urine drug screening, using either urine or 

blood serums, for all individuals, conducted at a minimum 

of eight times per year. Drug screenings include 

presumptive and definitive screenings and shall be 

accurately interpreted. Definitive screenings shall only be 
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utilized when clinically indicated. Outcomes of the drug 

screening shall be used to support positive patient 

outcomes and recovery. 

2. A check of the Virginia Prescription Monitoring 

Program prior to initiation of buprenorphine products or 

naltrexone products and at least quarterly for all 

individuals thereafter. 

3. Prescription of naloxone. 

4. Opioid overdose prevention education, including the 

prescribing purpose of and the administration of naloxone 

and the impact of polysubstance use. Education shall 

include discussion of the role of medication assisted 

treatment and the opportunity to reduce harm associated 

with polysubstance use. The goal is to help individuals 

remain in treatment to reduce the risk for harm. 

5. Periodic monitoring of unused medication and opened 

medication wrapper counts when clinically indicated. 

6. Clinically indicated infectious disease testing for 

diseases such as HIV; hepatitis A, B, and C; syphilis; and 

tuberculosis at treatment initiation and then annually or 

more frequently, depending on the clinical scenario and the 

patient's risk. Those individuals who test positive shall be 

treated either onsite or through referral. 

7. For individuals without immunity to the hepatitis B 

virus, vaccination either onsite or through referral.  

8. For patients without HIV infection, pre-exposure 

prophylaxis to prevent HIV infection shall be offered either 

onsite or through referral. 

9. Women of child-bearing age shall be tested for 

pregnancy and shall be offered contraceptive services 

either onsite or through referral. 

12VAC30-130-5070. Covered services: practitioner 

services - early intervention/screening brief intervention 

and referral to treatment (ASAM Level 0.5). 

A. Early intervention (ASAM Level 0.5) settings for 

screening, brief intervention, and referral to treatment 

(SBIRT) services shall include health care settings, including 

local health departments, federally qualified health centers 

FQHCs, rural health clinics RHCs, CSBs/BHAs CSBs, 

BHAs, health systems, emergency departments, pharmacies, 

physician offices, and outpatient clinics. These providers 

Providers shall be licensed by DHP the Department of Health 

Professions and either directly contracted by the BHSA 

DMAS or its contractor or an MCO to perform the 

interpretation and intervention for this level of care, or shall 

be employed by organizations that are contracted by the 

BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an MCO.  

B. Early intervention/SBIRT intervention or SBIRT (ASAM 

Level 0.5) service components shall include:  

1. Identifying individuals who may have alcohol or other 

substance use problems using an evidence-based screening 

tool.  

2. Following administration of the evidence-based 

screening tool, a brief intervention by a licensed clinician 

CATP acting within the scope of the CATP's practice shall 

be provided to educate individuals about substance use, 

alert these individuals to possible consequences, and, if 

needed, begin to motivate individuals to take steps to 

change their behaviors. Billing shall occur through the 

licensed provider or agency. 

C. Early intervention/SBIRT intervention or SBIRT (ASAM 

Level 0.5) staff requirements. Physicians, pharmacists, and 

other credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs 

shall administer the evidence-based screening tool with the 

individual and provide the counseling and intervention. 

Licensed providers may delegate administration of the 

evidence-based screening tool to other clinical staff as 

allowed by their scope of practice, such as physicians 

delegating administration of the tool to a CSAC, a CSAC-

supervisee, a licensed registered nurse, or a licensed practical 

nurse, but the licensed provider shall review the tool with the 

individual and provide the counseling and intervention. The 

physician may delegate the counseling and intervention but 

shall be available for review as needed. Billing for SBIRT 

shall occur through the licensed provider or agency. 

12VAC30-130-5080. Covered services: outpatient services 

- physician services (ASAM Level 1.0). 

A. Outpatient services (ASAM Level 1.0) shall be provided 

by a credentialed addiction treatment professional, 

psychiatrist, or physician CATP contracted by the BHSA 

DMAS or its contractor or an MCO to perform the services in 

the following community based settings: primary care clinics, 

outpatient health system clinics, psychiatry clinics, federally 

qualified health centers (FQHCs) FQHCs, community service 

boards/BHAs RHCs, CSBs, BHAs, local health departments, 

and physician and provider offices. Reimbursement for 

substance use outpatient services shall be made for medically 

necessary services provided in accordance with an ISP or the 

treatment plan and include withdrawal management as 

necessary. Services can be provided face-to-face in person or 

by telemedicine. Outpatient services shall meet the ASAM 

Level 1.0 service components and staff requirements as 

follows: 

1. Outpatient services (ASAM Level 1.0) service 

components. 

a. Substance use outpatient services shall be provided 

fewer than nine hours per week and may be delivered in 

the following health care settings: local health 

departments, FQHCs, rural health clinics, CSBs/BHAs 
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CSBs, BHAs, health systems, emergency departments, 

physician and provider offices, and outpatient clinics. 

Provision of services in a setting other than the office or 

a clinic, as defined in this subsection shall be 

documented. Services shall include professionally 

directed screening, evaluation, treatment, and ongoing 

recovery and disease management services.  

b. A multidimensional assessment shall (i) be used, (ii) 

be documented to determine that an individual meets the 

medical necessity criteria, and (iii) include the evaluation 

or analysis of substance use disorders, the diagnosis of 

substance use disorder, and the assessment of treatment 

needs to provide medically necessary services. The 

multidimensional assessment shall include a physical 

examination and laboratory testing necessary for 

substance use disorder treatment as necessary.  

c. Individual psychotherapy or substance use disorder 

counseling between the individual and shall be provided 

by a credentialed addiction treatment professional shall 

be provided CATP. Services shall be provided face to 

face in person or by telemedicine shall qualify as 

reimbursable.  

d. Group psychotherapy or substance use disorder 

counseling shall be provided by a credentialed addiction 

treatment professional, CATP with a maximum of 10 

individuals in the group shall be provided. Such 

counseling and shall focus on the needs of the individuals 

served.  

e. Family therapy psychotherapy or substance use 

disorder counseling shall be provided by a CATP to 

facilitate the individual's recovery and support for the 

family's recovery.  

f. Evidenced-based patient education on addiction, 

treatment, recovery, and associated health risks shall be 

provided.  

g. Medication services shall be provided, including the 

prescription of or administration of medication related to 

substance use treatment, or the assessment of the side 

effects or results of that medication. Medication services 

shall be provided by staff lawfully authorized to provide 

such services who shall order laboratory testing within 

their scope of practice or licensure.  

h. Collateral services shall be provided. "Collateral 

services" means services provided by therapists or 

counselors for the purpose of engaging persons who are 

significant to the individual receiving SUD services. The 

services are focused on the individual's treatment needs 

and support achievement of his recovery goals. 

2. Outpatient services (ASAM Level 1.0) staff 

requirements shall include: 

a. Credentialed addiction treatment professional A 

CATP; or 

b. A registered nurse or a practical nurse who is licensed 

by the Commonwealth with at least one year of clinical 

experience involving medication management. 

B. Outpatient services (ASAM Level 1.0) co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall include: 

1. Ongoing substance use case management for highly 

crisis prone individuals with co-occurring disorders. 

2. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs 

who are trained in severe and chronic mental health and 

psychiatric disorders and are able to assess, monitor, and 

manage individuals who have a co-occurring mental health 

disorder. "Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of 

concurrent substance use disorder and mental illness 

without implication as to which disorder is primary and 

which is secondary, which disorder occurred first, or 

whether one disorder caused the other. 

12VAC30-130-5090. Covered services: community based 

services - intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1). 

A. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) shall be 

a structured program of skilled treatment services for adults, 

children, and adolescents delivering a minimum of three 

service hours per service day for adults to achieve an average 

of nine to 19 hours of services per week for adults and a 

minimum of two service hours per service day for children 

and adolescents to achieve an average of six to 19 hours of 

services per week for children and adolescents. Withdrawal 

management services may be provided as necessary. The 

following service components shall be provided weekly as 

directed by the ISP for reimbursement:  

1. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services, which are available through 

consultation or referral.  

2. Psychiatric and other individualized treatment planning. 

3. Individual, family, and group psychotherapy, substance 

use disorder counseling, medication management, family 

therapy, and psychoeducation. "Psychoeducation" means 

(i) a specific form of education aimed at helping 

individuals who have a substance use disorder or mental 

illness and their family members or caregivers to access 

clear and concise information about substance use 

disorders or mental illness and (ii) a way of accessing and 

learning strategies to deal with substance use disorders or 

mental illness and its effects in order to design effective 

treatment plans and strategies.  

4. Medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite or 

through referral. 
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5. Occupational and recreational therapies, motivational 

interviewing, enhancement, and engagement strategies to 

inspire an individual's motivation to change behaviors. 

5. 6. Psychiatric and medical consultation, which shall be 

available within 24 hours of the requested consult by 

telephone and preferably within 72 hours of the requested 

consult in person or via telemedicine.  

6. 7. Psychopharmacological consultation. 

7. 8. Addiction medication management and 24-hour crisis 

services. 

8. 9. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services.  

B. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) shall be 

provided by agency-based providers that shall be licensed by 

DBHDS as a substance abuse intensive outpatient service for 

adults, children, and adolescents and contracted with the 

BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an MCO to provide this 

service. Intensive outpatient service providers shall meet the 

ASAM Level 2.1 service components and staff requirements 

as follows: 

1. Interdisciplinary team of credentialed addiction 

treatment professionals CATPs shall be required. ASAM 

Level 2.1 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to 

provide substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducational services within their scopes of practice 

as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Generalist physicians or physicians with experience in 

addiction medicine are permitted to provide general 

medical evaluations and concurrent/integrated concurrent 

or integrated general medical care. 

3. Physicians and physician extenders who are either 

employed by or contracted with the agency or through 

referral arrangements with the agency and who shall have a 

DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. 

4. Staff who shall be cross-trained to understand signs and 

symptoms of psychiatric disorders and be able to 

understand and explain the uses of psychotropic 

medications and understand interactions with substance use 

and other addictive disorders. 

4. 5. Emergency services, which shall be available, when 

necessary, by telephone 24 hours per day and seven days 

per week when the treatment program is not in session. 

5. 6. Direct affiliation with, or close coordination through 

referrals to, higher and lower levels of care and supportive 

housing services. 

C. Intensive outpatient services (ASAM Level 2.1) co-

occurring enhanced programs.  

1. Co-occurring capable programs offer these therapies and 

support systems in intensive outpatient services described 

in this section to individuals with co-occurring addictive 

and psychiatric disorders who are able to tolerate and 

benefit from a planned program of therapies.  

2. Individuals who are not able to benefit from a full 

program of therapies will be offered enhanced program 

services to match the intensity of hours in ASAM Level 

2.1, including substance use case management, program of 

assertive community treatment (PACT), medication 

management, and psychotherapy. "Program of assertive 

community treatment" or "PACT" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-105-20. 

12VAC30-130-5100. Covered services: community based 

care - partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5). 

A. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5) 

components. Partial hospitalization services components shall 

include the following, as defined in the ISP and provided on a 

weekly basis: 

1. Individualized treatment planning. 

2. A minimum of 20 hours per week and at least five 

service hours per service day of skilled treatment services 

with a planned format, including individual and group 

psychotherapy, substance use disorder counseling, 

medication management, family therapy, education groups, 

occupational and recreational therapy, and other therapies. 

Withdrawal management services may be provided as 

necessary. Time not spent in skilled, clinically intensive 

treatment is not billable. 

3. Family therapies psychotherapy and substance use 

disorder counseling involving family members, guardians, 

or significant other others in the assessment, treatment, and 

continuing care of the individual. 

4. A planned format of therapies, delivered in individual or 

group settings. 

5. 4. Motivational interviewing, enhancement, and 

engagement strategies. 

5. Medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite or 

through referral. 

B. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5). The 

substance use partial hospitalization service provider shall be 

licensed by DBHDS as a substance abuse partial 

hospitalization program or substance abuse/mental abuse or 

mental health partial hospitalization program and contracted 

with the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an MCO. Partial 

hospitalization service providers shall meet the ASAM Level 

2.5 support systems and staff requirements as follows: 

1. Interdisciplinary team comprised of credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals and CATPs, which shall 

include an addiction-credentialed physician, or physician 

with experience in addiction medicine, or physician 

extenders as defined in 12VAC30-130-5020, shall be 
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required. ASAM Level 2.5 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-

supervisees to provide substance use disorder counseling 

and psychoeducational services within their scopes of 

practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. Physicians shall have specialty training or experience, or 

both, in addiction medicine or addiction psychiatry. 

Physicians who treat adolescents shall have experience 

with adolescent medicine. 

3. Physicians and physician extenders who are either 

employed by or contracted with the agency and who shall 

have a DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. 

4. Program staff shall be cross-trained to understand signs 

and symptoms of mental illness and be able to understand 

and explain the uses of psychotropic medications and 

understand interactions with substance use and other 

addictive disorders. 

4. 5. Medical, psychological, psychiatric, laboratory, and 

toxicology services that are available by consult or referral.  

5. 6. Psychiatric and medical formal agreements to provide 

medical consult within eight hours of the requested consult 

by telephone or within 48 hours in person or via 

telemedicine.  

6. 7. Emergency services are available 24-hours a day and 

seven days a week.  

7. 8. Direct affiliation with or close coordination through 

referrals to higher and lower levels of care and supportive 

housing services. 

C. Partial hospitalization services (ASAM Level 2.5) co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer: 

1. Therapies and support systems as described in this 

section to individuals with co-occurring addictive and 

psychiatric disorders who are able to tolerate and benefit 

from a full program of therapies. Other individuals who are 

not able to benefit from a full program of therapies (who 

are severely or chronically mentally ill) will be offered 

enhanced program services to constitute intensity of hours 

in ASAM Level 2.5, including substance use case 

management, assertive community treatment PACT, 

medication management, and psychotherapy.  

2. Psychiatric services as appropriate to meet the 

individual's mental health condition. Services may be 

available by telephone and on site onsite, or closely 

coordinated off site offsite, or via telemedicine within a 

shorter time than in a co-occurring capable program. 

3. Clinical leadership and oversight and, at a minimum, 

capacity to consult with an addiction psychiatrist via 

telephone, via telemedicine, or in person. 

4. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs 

with experience assessing and treating co-occurring mental 

illness. 

12VAC30-130-5110. Covered services: clinically managed 

low intensity residential services (ASAM Level 3.1). 

A. Clinically managed low intensity residential services 

(ASAM Level 3.1). The agency-based residential group home 

services (ASAM Level 3.1) shall be licensed by DBHDS as a 

mental health and substance abuse group home service for 

adults or children or licensed by DBHDS as a substance 

abuse halfway house supervised living residence for adults 

and contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an 

MCO. Clinically directed program activities constituting at 

least five hours per week of professionally directed treatment 

shall be designed to stabilize and maintain substance use 

disorder symptoms and to develop and apply recovery skills. 

Activities shall include relapse prevention, interpersonal 

choice exploration, and development of social networks in 

support of recovery. This service shall not include settings 

where clinical treatment services are not provided. ASAM 

Level 3.1 clinically managed low intensity residential service 

providers shall meet the service components and staff 

requirements of this section.  

B. Clinically managed low intensity residential services 

(ASAM Level 3.1) service components. 

1. Physician consultation and emergency services, which 

shall be available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

2. Arrangements for medically necessary procedures 

including laboratory and toxicology tests that are 

appropriate to the severity and urgency of an individual's 

condition. 

3. Arrangements for pharmacotherapy for psychiatric or 

anti-addiction medications needs. 

4. Medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite or 

through referral. 

5. Arrangements for higher and lower levels of care and 

other services. 

C. The following services shall be provided as directed by 

the ISP: 

1. Clinically-directed treatment to facilitate recovery skills, 

relapse prevention, and emotional coping strategies. 

Services shall promote personal responsibility and 

reintegration of the individual into the network systems of 

work, education, and family life; 

2. Addiction pharmacotherapy and drug screening; 

3. Motivational enhancement and engagement strategies; 

4. Counseling Substance use disorder counseling and 

clinical monitoring; 
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5. Regular monitoring of the individual's medication 

adherence; 

6. Recovery support services; 

7. Services for the individual's family and significant 

others, as appropriate to advance the individual's treatment 

goals and objectives identified in the ISP; and 

8. Education on benefits of medication assisted treatment 

and referral to treatment as necessary. 

D. Clinically managed low intensity residential services 

(ASAM Level 3.1) staff requirements. 

1. Staff shall provide awake 24-hour onsite supervision. 

The provider's staffing plan must be in compliance with 

DBHDS licensing regulations for staffing plans set forth in 

12VAC35-46-870 and 12VAC35-105-590. 

2. Clinical staff who are experienced and knowledgeable 

about the biopsychosocial and psychosocial dimensions 

and treatment of substance use disorders. Clinical staff 

shall be able to identify the signs and symptoms of acute 

psychiatric conditions and decompensation. 

3. An addiction-credentialed physician or physician with 

experience in addiction medicine or a physician extender 

acting within his scope of practice shall review the 

residential group home admission if the multidimensional 

assessment indicates medical concerns or systems in 

ASAM Dimensions 1 or 2, to confirm medical necessity 

for services, and a team of credentialed addiction treatment 

professionals CATPs who shall develop and shall ensure 

delivery of the ISP. For ASAM Level 3.1, the ISP may be 

completed by a CSAC or CSAC-supervisee if the CATP 

signs and dates the ISP within one business day. 

4. Coordination with community physicians to review 

treatment as needed.  

5. Appropriately credentialed medical staff shall be 

available to assess and treat co-occurring biomedical 

disorders and to monitor the individual's administration of 

prescribed medications. 

E. Clinically managed low intensity residential services 

(ASAM Level 3.1) co-occurring enhanced programs as 

required by ASAM. 

1. In addition to the ASAM Level 3.1 service components 

listed in this section, programs for individuals with both 

unstable substance use and psychiatric disorders shall offer 

appropriate psychiatric services, including medication 

evaluation and laboratory services. Such services are 

provided either on site onsite, via telemedicine, or closely 

coordinated with an off-site offsite provider, as appropriate 

to the severity and urgency of the individual's mental 

health condition.  

2. Certified addiction treatment professionals shall be 

cross-trained in addiction and mental health to (i) 

understand the signs and symptoms of mental illness and 

(ii) understand and be able to explain to the individual the 

purpose of psychotropic medications and interactions with 

substance use. 

3. The therapies described in this section shall be offered 

as well as planned clinical activities (either on site onsite or 

with an off-site offsite provider) that are designed to 

stabilize and maintain the individual's mental health 

program and psychiatric symptoms.  

4. Goals of therapy shall apply to both the substance use 

disorder and any co-occurring mental illness. 

5. Medication education and management shall be 

provided.  

12VAC30-130-5120. Covered services: clinically managed 

population - specific high intensity residential service 

(ASAM Level 3.3). 

A. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3). The facility-based 

provider shall be licensed by DBHDS to provide as (i) a 

supervised residential treatment services service for adults or 

licensed by DBHDS to provide; (ii) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for adults, supervised residential 

treatment services for adults, or; (iii) a substance abuse 

residential treatment service for women with children; (iv) a 

substance abuse and mental health residential treatment 

services service for adults, and that has substance abuse listed 

on its license or within the "licensed as" statement or be a 

Level C (psychiatric residential treatment facility) service 

provider; or (v) a "mental health residential-children" 

provider that has substance abuse listed on its license or 

within the "licensed as" statements. All providers shall be 

contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or an MCO. 

ASAM Level 3.3 settings do not include sober houses, 

boarding houses, or group homes where treatment services 

are not provided. Residential treatment service providers for 

clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) shall meet the service 

components and staff requirements in this section. 

B. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) service components.  

1. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service components shall include: 

a. Access to a consulting physician or physician extender 

who is either employed by or contracted with the agency 

or through referral arrangements with the agency and 

who has a DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine 

and emergency services 24 hours a day and seven days a 

week;  

b. Arrangements for higher and lower levels of care; 
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c. Arrangements for laboratory and toxicology services 

appropriate to the severity of need; and 

d. Arrangements for addiction pharmacotherapy, 

including medication assisted treatment that is provided 

onsite or through referral. 

2. The following therapies shall be provided as directed by 

the ISP for reimbursement: 

a. Clinically-directed treatment to facilitate recovery 

skills, relapse prevention, and emotional coping 

strategies. Services shall promote personal responsibility 

and reintegration of the individual into the network 

systems of work, education, and family life; 

b. Addiction pharmacotherapy and drug screening, 

including medication assisted treatment that is provided 

onsite or through referral; 

c. Range Drug screening, using either urine or blood 

serums; 

d. A range of cognitive and behavioral therapies 

psychotherapies administered individually and in family 

and group settings as appropriate to the individual's 

needs to assist the individual in initial involvement or re-

engagement in regular productive daily activity; 

e. Substance use disorder counseling and 

psychoeducation activities provided individually or in 

family and group settings to promote recovery; 

d. f. Recreational therapy, art, music, physical therapy, 

and vocational rehabilitation; 

e. g. Motivational enhancement and engagement 

strategies; 

f. h. Regular monitoring of the individual's medication 

adherence; 

g. i. Recovery support services; 

h. j. Services for the individual's family and significant 

others, as appropriate to advance the individual's 

treatment goals and objectives identified in the ISP; 

i. k. Education on benefits of medication assisted 

treatment and referral to treatment as necessary; and 

j. l. Withdrawal management services may be provided 

as necessary. 

C. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service (ASAM Level 3.3) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals, physicians, or physician 

extenders CATPs and allied health professionals in an 

interdisciplinary team. ASAM Level 3.3 may utilize 

CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide substance use 

disorder counseling and psychoeducational services within 

their scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall provide awake 24-hour onsite supervision. 

The provider's staffing plan must be in compliance with 

DBHDS licensing regulations for staffing plans set forth in 

12VAC35-46-870 and 12VAC35-105-590. 

3. Clinical or credentialed staff who are shall be 

experienced and knowledgeable about the biopsychosocial 

dimensions and treatment of substance use disorders and 

who are available on site onsite or by telephone 24 hours 

per day. Clinical Licensed clinical staff shall be able to 

identify acute psychiatric conditions and decompensation. 

4. Substance use case management is included in this level 

of care.  

5. Appropriately credentialed medical staff shall be 

available to assess and treat co-occurring biomedical 

disorders and to monitor the individual's administration of 

prescribed medications. 

D. Clinically managed population-specific high intensity 

residential service co-occurring enhanced programs, as 

required by ASAM. 

1. Appropriate psychiatric services, including medication 

evaluation and laboratory services, shall be provided on 

site onsite or through a closely coordinated off-site offsite 

provider, as appropriate to the severity and urgency of the 

individual's mental condition. 

2. Psychiatrists and credentialed addiction treatment 

professionals CATPs shall be available to assess and treat 

co-occurring substance use and mental illness using 

specialized training in behavior management techniques. 

3. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals shall be 

cross-trained in addiction and mental health to understand 

the signs and symptoms of mental illness and be able to 

provide education to the individual on the interactions with 

substance use and psychotropic medications. 

12VAC30-130-5130. Covered services: clinically managed 

high intensity residential services (adult) and clinically 

managed medium intensity residential services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5). 

A. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) settings for services. 

The facility based residential treatment service provider 

(ASAM Level 3.5) shall be licensed by DBHDS as (i) a 

substance abuse residential treatment services service for 

adults or children, (ii) a psychiatric unit that has substance 

abuse listed on its license or within the "licensed as" 

statements, (iii) a substance abuse residential treatment 

service for women with children, or (iv) a substance abuse 

and mental health residential treatment services service for 
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adults and children that has substance abuse listed on its 

license or within the "licensed as" statements, (v) a Level C 

(psychiatric residential treatment facility) provider, or (vi) a 

"mental health residential-children" provider that has 

substance abuse on its license or within the "licensed as" 

statements and shall be contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its 

contractor or an MCO. Residential treatment providers 

(ASAM Level 3.5) shall meet the service components and 

staff requirements in this section. 

B. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) service components.  

1. These residential treatment services, as required by 

ASAM, include: 

a. Telephone or in-person consultation with a physician 

or physician extender who shall be available to perform 

required physician services. Emergency services shall be 

available 24 hours per day and seven days per week;  

b. Arrangements for more and less intensive levels of 

care and other services such as sheltered workshops, 

literacy training, and adult education; 

c. Arrangements for needed procedures, including 

medical, psychiatric, psychological, laboratory, and 

toxicology services appropriate to the severity of need; 

and 

d. Arrangements for addiction pharmacotherapy, 

including medication assisted treatment that is provided 

onsite or through referral. 

2. The following therapies shall be provided as directed by 

the ISP for reimbursement: 

a. Clinically directed treatment to facilitate recovery 

skills, relapse prevention, and emotional coping 

strategies. Services shall promote personal responsibility 

and reintegration of the individual into the network 

systems of work, education, and family life. Activities 

shall be designed to stabilize and maintain substance use 

disorder symptoms and apply recovery skills and may 

include relapse prevention, interpersonal choice 

exploration, and development of social networks in 

support of recovery.  

b. Range of cognitive and, behavioral therapies 

psychotherapies, and substance use disorder counseling 

administered individually and in family and group 

settings to assist the individual in initial involvement or 

re-engagement in regular productive daily activities, 

including education on medication management, 

addiction pharmacotherapy, and education skill building 

groups to enhance the individual's understanding of 

substance use and mental illness.  

c. Psychoeducational activities. 

d. Addiction pharmacotherapy and drug screening. 

d. e. Recreational therapy, art, music, physical therapy, 

and vocational rehabilitation. 

e. f. Motivational enhancements and engagement 

strategies. 

f. g. Monitoring of the adherence to prescribed 

medications and over-the-counter medications and 

supplements. 

g. h. Daily scheduled professional services and 

interdisciplinary assessments and treatment designed to 

develop and apply recovery skills. 

h. i. Services for family and significant others, as 

appropriate, to advance the individual's treatment goals 

and objectives identified in the ISP. 

i. Education on benefits of medication assisted treatment 

and referral to treatment as necessary.  

j. Withdrawal management services may be provided as 

necessary. 

C. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals CATPs, physicians, or 

physician extenders and allied health professionals. 

Physicians and physician extenders who are either 

employed by or contracted with the agency or through 

referral arrangements with the agency and who shall have a 

DEA-X number to prescribe buprenorphine. ASAM Level 

3.5 may utilize CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide 

substance use disorder counseling and psychoeducational 

services within their scopes of practice as defined in 

§ 54.1-3507.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Staff shall provide awake 24-hour onsite supervision. 

The provider's staffing plan must be in compliance with 

DBHDS licensing regulations for staffing plans set forth in 

12VAC35-46-870 and 12VAC35-105-590. 

3. Clinical staff who are experienced in and knowledgeable 

about the biopsychosocial dimensions and treatment of 

substance use disorders. Clinical staff shall be able to 

identify acute psychiatric conditions and decompensations.  

4. Substance use case management shall be provided in this 

level of care. 

5. Appropriately credentialed medical staff shall be 

available   on site onsite or by telephone 24 hours per day, 

seven days per week to assess and treat co-occurring 

biological and physiological disorders and to monitor the 

individual's administration of medications in accordance 

with a physician's prescription. 
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D. Clinically managed high intensity residential services 

(adult) and clinically managed medium intensity residential 

services (adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.5) co-occurring 

enhanced programs as required by ASAM.  

1. Psychiatric services, medication evaluation, and 

laboratory services shall be provided. Such services shall 

be available by telephone within eight hours of requested 

service and on site onsite or via telemedicine, or closely 

coordinated with an off-site offsite provider within 24 

hours of requested service, as appropriate to the severity 

and urgency of the individual's mental and physical 

condition. 

2. Staff shall be credentialed addiction treatment 

professionals CATPs who are able to assess and treat co-

occurring substance use and psychiatric disorders. 

3. Planned clinical activities shall be required and shall be 

designed to stabilize and maintain the individual's mental 

health problems and psychiatric symptoms. 

4. Medication education and management shall be 

provided.  

12VAC30-130-5140. Covered services: medically 

monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) and 

medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7).  

A. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) settings for services. The 

facility-based providers provider of ASAM Level 3.7 services 

shall be licensed by DBHDS as an inpatient psychiatric unit 

with a DBHDS medical detoxification license, (i) a 

freestanding psychiatric hospital or inpatient psychiatric unit 

with a DBHDS medical detoxification license or managed 

withdrawal license; (ii) a residential crisis stabilization unit 

with a DBHDS medical detoxification license or managed 

withdrawal license; (iii) a substance abuse residential 

treatment services (RTS) for adults/children service for 

women with children with a DBHDS medical detoxification 

managed withdrawal license or a residential crisis 

stabilization unit with DBHDS medical detoxification license; 

(iv) a Level C (psychiatric residential treatment facility) 

provider; (v) a "mental health residential-children" provider 

with a substance abuse residential license and a DBHDS 

managed withdrawal license; (vi) a "managed withdrawal-

medical detox adult residential treatment" provider; or (vii) a 

"medical detox-chemical dependency unit" for adults and 

shall be contracted by the BHSA DMAS or its contractor or 

the MCO. ASAM Level 3.7 providers shall meet the service 

components and staff requirements in this section. 

B. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) service components. The 

following therapies shall be provided as directed by the ISP 

for reimbursement: 

1. Daily clinical services provided by an interdisciplinary 

team to involve appropriate medical and nursing services, 

as well as individual, group, and family activity services. 

Activities may include pharmacological, including 

medication assisted treatment that is provided onsite or 

through referral; withdrawal management,; cognitive-

behavioral,; and other therapies psychotherapies and 

substance use disorder counseling administered on an 

individual or group basis and modified to meet the 

individual's level of understanding and assist in the 

individual's recovery. 

2. Counseling and clinical monitoring to facilitate re-

involvement in regular productive daily activities and 

successful re-integration into family living if applicable. 

3. Psychoeducational activities. 

4. Random drug screens to monitor use and strengthen 

recovery and treatment gains. 

4. 5. Regular medication monitoring. 

5. 6. Planned clinical activities to enhance understanding of 

substance use disorders. 

6. 7. Health education associated with the course of 

addiction and other potential health related risk factors, 

including tuberculosis, human immunodeficiency virus, 

hepatitis B and C, and other sexually transmitted 

infections. 

7. 8. Evidence based practices, such as motivational 

interviewing to address the individuals an individual's 

readiness to change, designed to facilitate understanding of 

the relationship of the substance use disorder and life 

impacts. 

8. 9. Daily treatments to manage acute symptoms of 

biomedical substance use or mental illness. 

9. 10. Services to family and significant others as 

appropriate to advance the individual's treatment goals and 

objectives identified in the ISP. 

10. 11. Physician monitoring, nursing care, and 

observation shall be available. A physician shall be 

available to assess the individual in person or via 

telemedicine within 24 hours of admission and thereafter 

as medically necessary. 

11. 12. A licensed and registered nurse who shall conduct 

an alcohol or other drug-focused nursing assessment upon 

admission. A licensed registered nurse or licensed practical 

nurse shall be responsible for monitoring the individual's 

progress and for medication administration duties. 

12. 13. Additional medical specialty consultation,; 

psychological, laboratory, and toxicology services shall be 
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available on site onsite, either through consultation or 

referral. 

13. 14. Coordination of necessary services shall be 

available on site onsite or through referral to a closely 

coordinated off-site offsite provider to transition the 

individual to lower levels of care. 

14. 15. Psychiatric services shall be available on site onsite 

or through consultation or referral to a closely coordinated 

off-site offsite provider when a presenting problem could 

be attended to at a later time. Such services shall be 

available within eight hours of requested service by 

telephone or within 24 hours of requested service in person 

or via telemedicine. 

C. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) staff requirements. 

1. The interdisciplinary team shall include credentialed 

addiction treatment professionals CATPs and addiction-

credentialed physicians or physicians with experience in 

addiction medicine to assess, treat, and obtain and interpret 

information regarding the individual's psychiatric and 

substance use disorders. Physicians and physician 

extenders who are either employed by or contracted with 

the agency or through referral arrangements with the 

agency and who shall have a DEA-X number for 

prescribing buprenorphine. ASAM Level 3.7 may utilize 

CSACs or CSAC-supervisees to provide substance use 

disorder counseling and psychoeducational services within 

their scopes of practice as defined in § 54.1-3507.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Clinical staff shall be knowledgeable about the 

biological and psychosocial dimensions of substance use 

disorders and mental illnesses and their treatment. Clinical 

staff shall be able to identify acute psychiatric conditions, 

symptom increase or escalation, and decompensation. 

3. Clinical staff shall be able to provide a planned regimen 

of 24-hour professionally directed evaluation, care, and 

treatment, including the administration of prescribed 

medications. 

4. Addiction-credentialed An addiction-credentialed 

physician or physician with experience in addiction 

medicine shall oversee the treatment process and assure 

quality of care. Licensed physicians shall perform physical 

examinations for all individuals who are admitted. Staff 

shall supervise addiction pharmacotherapy integrated with 

psychosocial therapies. The professional may be a 

physician or a psychiatrist, or a physician extender as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5020 if knowledgeable about 

addiction treatment. 

D. Medically monitored intensive inpatient services (adult) 

and medically monitored high intensity inpatient services 

(adolescent) (ASAM Level 3.7) co-occurring enhanced 

programs as required by ASAM. 

1. Appropriate psychiatric services, medication evaluation, 

and laboratory services shall be available. 

2. A psychiatrist assessment of the individual shall occur 

within four hours of admission by telephone and within 24 

hours following admission in person or via telemedicine, 

or sooner, as appropriate to the individual's behavioral 

health condition, and thereafter as medically necessary. 

3. A behavioral health-focused assessment at the time of 

admission shall be performed by a registered nurse or 

licensed mental health clinician. A licensed registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse supervised by a registered 

nurse shall be responsible for monitoring the individual's 

progress and administering or monitoring the individual's 

self-administration of medications. 

4. Psychiatrists and credentialed addiction treatment 

professionals CATPs who are able to assess and treat co-

occurring psychiatric disorders and who have specialized 

training in the behavior management techniques and 

evidenced-based practices shall be available. 

5. Access to an addiction-credentialed physician shall be 

available along with access to either a psychiatrist, a 

certified addiction psychiatrist, or a psychiatrist with 

experience in addiction medicine. 

6. Credentialed addiction treatment professionals CATPs 

shall have experience and training in addiction and mental 

health to understand the signs and symptoms of mental 

illness and be able to provide education to the individual 

on the interaction of substance use and psychotropic 

medications. 

7. Planned clinical activities shall be offered and designed 

to promote stabilization and maintenance of the 

individual's behavioral health needs, recovery, and 

psychiatric symptoms. 

8. Medication education and management shall be offered.  

12VAC30-130-5150. Covered services: medically managed 

intensive inpatient services (ASAM Level 4.0). 

A. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) settings for services. Acute care hospitals licensed 

by the Virginia Department of Health shall be the designated 

setting for medically managed intensive inpatient treatment 

and shall offer medically directed acute withdrawal 

management and related treatment designed to alleviate acute 

emotional, behavioral, cognitive, or biomedical distress 

resulting from, or occurring with, an individual's use of 

alcohol and other drugs. Such service settings shall offer 

medically directed acute withdrawal management and related 

treatment designed to alleviate acute emotional, behavioral, 

cognitive, or biomedical distress, or all of these, resulting 
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from, or co-occurring with, an individual's use of alcohol or 

other drugs, with the exception of tobacco-related disorders, 

caffeine-related disorders or dependence or nonsubstance-

related non-substance-related disorders.  

B. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) service components.  

1. The service components of medically managed intensive 

inpatient services shall be:  

a. An evaluation or analysis of substance use disorders 

shall be provided, including the diagnosis of substance 

use disorders and the assessment of treatment needs for 

medically necessary services.  

b. Observation and monitoring the individual's course of 

withdrawal shall be provided. This shall be conducted as 

frequently as deemed appropriate for the individual and 

the level of care the individual is receiving. This may 

include, for example, observation of the individual's 

health status.  

c. Medication services, including the prescription or 

administration related to substance use disorder treatment 

services or the assessment of the side effects or results of 

that medication, conducted by appropriate licensed staff 

who provide such services within their scope of practice 

or license.  

2. The following therapies shall be provided for 

reimbursement:  

a. Daily clinical services provided by an interdisciplinary 

team to stabilize acute addictive or psychiatric 

symptoms. Activities shall include pharmacological, 

cognitive-behavioral, and other therapies psychotherapies 

or substance use disorder counseling administered on an 

individual or group basis and modified to meet the 

individual's level of understanding. For individuals with 

a severe biomedical disorder, physical health 

interventions are available to supplement addiction 

treatment. For the individual who has less stable 

psychiatric symptoms, ASAM Level 4.0 co-occurring 

capable programs offer individualized treatment 

activities designed to monitor the individual's mental 

health and to address the interaction of the mental health 

programs and substance use disorders.  

b. Health education services.  

c. Planned clinical interventions that are designed to 

enhance the individual's understanding and acceptance of 

illness of addiction and the recovery process.  

d. Services for the individual's family, guardian, or 

significant other, as appropriate, to advance the 

individual's treatment and recovery goals and objectives 

identified in the ISP.  

e. This level of care offers 24-hour nursing care and daily 

physician care for severe, unstable problems in any of the 

following ASAM dimensions: (i) acute intoxication or 

withdrawal potential; (ii) biomedical conditions and 

complications; and (iii) emotional, behavioral, or 

cognitive conditions and complications.  

f. Discharge services shall be the process to prepare the 

individual for referral into another level of care, post 

treatment return or reentry into the community, or the 

linkage of the individual to essential community 

treatment, housing, recovery, and human services.  

C. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) staff requirements.  

1. An interdisciplinary staff of appropriately credentialed 

clinical staff including, for example, addiction-credentialed 

physicians or physicians with experience in addiction 

medicine, licensed nurse practitioners, licensed physician 

assistants, registered nurses, licensed professional 

counselors, licensed clinical psychologists, or licensed 

clinical social workers who assess and treat individuals 

with severe substance use disorders or addicted individuals 

with concomitant acute biomedical, emotional, or 

behavioral disorders. Physicians and physician extenders 

who are either employed by or contracted through the 

agency or through referral arrangements with the agency 

and who shall have a DEA-X number to prescribe 

buprenorphine. 

2. Medical management by physicians and primary nursing 

care shall be available 24 hours per day and counseling 

services shall be available 16 hours per day.  

D. Medically managed intensive inpatient services (ASAM 

Level 4.0) co-occurring enhanced programs. These programs 

shall be provided by appropriately licensed or registered 

credentialed mental health professionals who assess and treat 

the individual's co-occurring mental illness and are 

knowledgeable about the biological and psychosocial 

dimensions of psychiatric disorders and his treatment.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (12VAC30-130)  

Forms accompanying Part II of this chapter:  

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (eff. 1994) 

Forms accompanying Part III of this chapter:  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=92a66005749~2T.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
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MI/IDD Supplement, DMAS-95, Level I PASRR Form and 

Instructions (rev 4/2019) 

MI/IDD/Related Conditions Supplement Level II, DMAS-

95 MI/IDD/RC Supplement (rev. 12/2015) 

Forms accompanying Part VII of this chapter:  

Request for Hospice Benefits DMAS-420, Revised 5/91  

Request for Hospice Benefits, DMAS-420 (rev. 9/2019) 

Forms accompanying Part VIII of this chapter:  

Inventory for Client and Agency Planning (ICAP) 

Response Booklet, D9200/D9210, 1986  

Forms accompanying Part IX of this chapter:  

Patient Information Form Medicaid LTC Communication 

Form, DMAS-122, 225 (eff. 10/2011) 

Instructions for Completion DMAS-122 form  

Forms accompanying Part XII of this chapter:  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Insurance Information Request Form  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Medical History Form (HIPP Form-7, Rev. 11/92).  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Employers Insurance Verification Form (HIPP Form-2, 

Rev. 11/92)  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Employer Agreement (HIPP Form-3, Rev. 11/92)  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Notice of HIPP Determination (HIPP Form-4, Rev. 11/92)  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Notice of HIPP Approval  

Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program 

Notice of HIPP Status (HIPP Form-6, Rev. 11/92)  

Inventory for Client and Agency Planning (ICAP) 

Response Booklet, D9200/D9210, 1986  

Forms accompanying Part XIV of this chapter:  

Residential Psychiatric Treatment for Children and 

Adolescents, FH/REV (eff. 10/99)  

Forms accompanying Part XV of this chapter:  

Treatment Foster Care Case Management Agreement, TFC 

CM Provider Agreement DMAS-345, FH/REV (eff. 10/99)  

Forms accompanying Part XVIII of this chapter: 

Virginia Independent Clinical Assessment Program 

(VICAP) (eff. 6/11) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC30-130)  

Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual, Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

Virginia Medicaid Rehabilitation Manual, Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

Virginia Medicaid Hospice Manual, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services.  

Virginia Medicaid School Division Manual, Department of 

Medical Assistance Services.  

Policy Manual: Definitions of Priority Mental Health 

Populations, POLICY 1029(SYS)90 - 2  

The ASAM Criteria: Treatment Criteria for Addictive, 

Substance-Related, and Co-Occurring Conditions, Third 

Edition, American Society of Addiction Medicine, Inc., 4601 

North Park Avenue, Upper Arcade, Suite 101 Chevy Chase, 

Maryland 20815, www.asam.org 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: 

DSM-5, Fifth Edition, 2013, American Psychiatric 

Association, 1000 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 

22209, www.psych.org 

Medicaid Memo: Updates to Telemedicine Coverage, May 

13, 2014, Department of Medical Assistance Services 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services Opioid Medication Assisted Treatment License and 

Oversight (eff. 3/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5749; Filed December 18, 2019, 12:24 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and 

Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient 

Hospital Services (amending 12VAC30-70-291, 12VAC30-

70-301, 12VAC30-70-425). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 

12VAC30-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=362af005749~3G.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=362af005749~3G.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a2bd005749~4I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3a2bd005749~4I.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55935005749~5s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41ce9005749~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41ce9005749~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1394004887~4&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1394004887~4&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1394004887~4&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1394004887~4&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e1394004887~4&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95064004887~5&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95064004887~5&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95064004887~5&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95064004887~5&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ce3e004887~3&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5ce3e004887~3&typ=40&actno=004887&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3f6e005749~1g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3f6e005749~1g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3f6e005749~1g.pdf&typ=40&actno=005749&mime=application/pdf
mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and 

amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: The amendments are required to conform regulation 

to items of the 2018 state budget. This action is necessary for 

the public health, safety, and welfare in that it ensures 

appropriate funding for Medicaid services provided by 

hospitals and thereby ensures that hospitals can continue to 

provide services to Medicaid members. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments at 12VAC30-70-291 and 12VAC30-

70-301 are required by Item 303 SSS of Chapter 2 of the 

2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I. The proposed 

amendment at 12VAC30-70-425 and 12VAC30-80-20 are 

required by Item 303 XX 7 of Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I. DMAS attained the approval 

from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that 

was required prior to implementation of the new 

reimbursement rates as of October 25, 2018. 

Substance: The proposed amendment to 12VAC30-70-291 

updates the section to indicate an additional indirect medical 

education (IME) payment for freestanding children's hospitals 

in the District of Columbia. The proposed amendment to 

12VAC30-70-301 eliminates disproportionate share hospital 

(DSH) payments to out-of-state children's hospitals, to 

include freestanding children's hospitals in the District of 

Columbia. The proposed amendments to 12VAC30-70-425 

and 12VAC30-80-20 update existing regulations to allow 

additional supplemental payments to be issued to each non-

state-government-owned acute care hospital for inpatient 

services provided to Medicaid patients. 

Currently, DSH payments are being made to out-of-state 

children's hospitals to include freestanding children's 

hospitals located in the District of Columbia. The proposed 

regulations eliminate these DSH payments in 12VAC30-70-

301 and increase the IME payments to freestanding children's 

hospitals in the District of Columbia by the amount of DSH 

payments that the hospital was eligible for in state fiscal year 

(SFY) 2018 in 12VAC30-70-291. The total Type Two 

hospital DSH allocation is reduced by the total amount paid 

to freestanding children's hospitals in the District of Columbia 

in SFY 2018. All changes to these two sections are effective 

as of July 1, 2018.  

Unreimbursed Medicaid cost payments are currently made to 

non-state-government-owned hospitals as certified through 

provider cost reports and meeting other criteria as outlined in 

regulation. Beginning July 1, 2018, additional supplemental 

payments shall be made to non-state-government-owned 

acute care hospitals for inpatient and outpatient services. The 

supplemental payments will be made quarterly for inpatient 

and outpatient services that were provided in the prior 

quarter. The quarterly payments shall begin with the first 

quarter in SFY 2019 and will be calculated by multiplying the 

Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital payments paid in 

that quarter by the inpatient and outpatient upper payment 

level (UPL) gap percentages for each hospital. UPL gap 

percentages are calculated annually for hospitals using the 

most recent year in which the data is available and inflated to 

the SFY in which the payments are being made. These 

updates are being made in 12VAC30-70-425 and 12VAC30-

80-20. 

Issues: The primary advantages to the Commonwealth and 

the public from these regulatory changes are the provision of 

additional reimbursement for certain hospitals. There are no 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth or the public as a result 

of this regulatory action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medical Assistance Services (Board) proposes to 

revise the current regulations to (1) reclassify certain 

payments made to a freestanding children's hospital in the 

District of Columbia and (2) allow additional supplemental 

payments to be issued to non-state-government-owned2 acute 

care hospitals in order to increase the reimbursement for 

inpatient services provided to Medicaid patients; the 

supplemental payments are related to another regulatory 

action currently underway.  

The 2018 Appropriation Act contained budget language in 

two items that directed DMAS to amend the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance (state plan). The first Item, 303 SSS, 

authorized the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) to amend the state plan such that Disproportionate 

Share Hospital (DSH) payments for the Children's National 

Medical Center (CNMC) are discontinued and replaced with 

an indirect medical education (IME) payment. DSH payments 

take into account the financial situation of hospitals that serve 

a disproportionate number of low income patients with 

special needs. IME payments recognize the higher operating 

costs at hospitals with teaching programs (the increased 

diagnostic and treatment costs related to their educational 

mission).3  

Specifically, the proposed amendment would: (i) make 

CNMC no longer eligible to receive DSH payments, (ii) 

increase the annual IME payments made to CNMC by the 

amount of DSH the hospital was eligible for in state fiscal 

year 2018 (12VAC30-70-291), and (iii) reduce the Type 2 

DSH allocation by the same amount (12VAC30-70-301). The 
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Act authorized DMAS to implement these changes effective 

July 1, 2018, prior to the completion of any regulatory action 

to effect this change. The rationale provided for this budget 

amendment states that the hospital was at their federal cap, 

thereby preventing the hospital from being able to accept 

DSH funding from the Commonwealth. Because the hospital 

recently met the state threshold to receive IME payments 

from the Commonwealth, the budget was amended to allow 

the continuation of such payments in lieu of any future DSH 

payments.4 

The second Item, 303.XX.7, directs DMAS to make 

supplemental payments to Chesapeake Regional Hospital, 

which is operated by the Chesapeake Hospital Authority.5 

DMAS is implementing this by amending 12VAC30-70-425, 

which involves non-state-government-owned hospitals such 

as Chesapeake Regional. This item is related to two separate 

items in the same Act (3-5.15 and 3-5.16) that affect private 

acute care hospitals and instruct DMAS to levy a provider 

coverage assessment and a provider payment rate assessment, 

in addition to implementing a statewide supplemental 

payment. These items are being addressed through a different 

regulatory action that is currently in place as an emergency 

regulation (Action number 5100).6 The proposed amendment 

in this Action regarding the calculation of this supplemental 

payment is identical to the language pertaining to 

supplemental payments in the emergency regulation. Item 

303.XX.7 required that DMAS secure approval from the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services prior to 

implementation; this approval was obtained as of October 25, 

2018. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. CNMC would benefit by 

qualifying to receive IME payments from the state, thereby 

allowing them to continue receiving funds amount despite 

having met the federal cap for DSH payments. Because the 

amount being paid to CNMC would be staying the same, it is 

unlikely that any other benefits or costs would accrue.  

Chesapeake Regional would benefit from receiving any 

supplemental payments, which should be substantially less 

than the cost incurred by the hospital to receive them. As 

described by the budget amendment for this Item, the hospital 

will make an intergovernmental transfer to DMAS to be used 

as the state share for the supplemental Medicaid payments to 

the hospital. In exchange, the hospital will receive a 

substantially larger amount of federal funds, and the general 

fund will not be impacted.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. No other entities are 

likely to be affected, besides CNMC and Chesapeake 

Regional as described above.  

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendment does not 

introduce new costs for local governments. Chesapeake 

Regional is located in Chesapeake; hence the locality may be 

affected depending on the overall impact of the supplemental 

payments on the hospital and the number of Medicaid-insured 

individuals it serves. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment has no effect on the use and value of 

private property, nor does it affect real estate development 

costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.9 The proposed 

amendment does not adversely affect small businesses.  

______________________ 

2A non-state-government-owned hospital is owned or operated by a unit of 

government other than a state. 

3http://sfc.virginia.gov/pdf/health/2010%20Session/062110%20DMAS%20-

%20Crawford.pdf 

4https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/amendment/2018/2/HB5002/Introduced/SE/30

3/3s/ 

5https://law.lis.virginia.gov/authorities/chesapeake-hospital-authority/ 

6http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5100 The proposed 

stage of this action is currently at the Office of the Attorney General. 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

9Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million. " 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and raises no issues with this 

analysis.  

Summary:  

The amendments contain three provider reimbursement 

updates as required by Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I. The amendments (i) add an 

indirect medical education payment for freestanding 

children's hospitals in the District of Columbia; (ii) 

eliminate disproportionate share hospital payments to out-

of-state children's hospitals, to include freestanding 

children's hospitals in the District of Columbia; and (iii) 

allow additional supplemental payments to be issued to 

each non-state-government-owned acute care hospital for 

inpatient services provided to Medicaid patients.  

12VAC30-70-291. Payment for indirect medical education 

costs.  

A. Hospitals shall be eligible to receive payments for 

indirect medical education (IME). Out-of-state cost reporting 

hospitals are eligible for this payment only if they have 

http://sfc.virginia.gov/pdf/health/2010%20Session/062110%20DMAS%20-%20Crawford.pdf
http://sfc.virginia.gov/pdf/health/2010%20Session/062110%20DMAS%20-%20Crawford.pdf
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/amendment/2018/2/HB5002/Introduced/SE/303/3s/
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/amendment/2018/2/HB5002/Introduced/SE/303/3s/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/authorities/chesapeake-hospital-authority/
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5100
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Virginia Medicaid utilization in the base year of at least 12% 

of total Medicaid days. These payments recognize the 

increased use of ancillary services associated with the 

educational process and the higher case-mix intensity of 

teaching hospitals. The payments for indirect medical 

education shall be made in estimated quarterly lump sum 

amounts and settled at the hospital's fiscal year end.  

B. Final payment for IME shall be determined as follows:  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 

to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 

an IME percentage determined as follows (this formula 

also applies to Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters 

effective July 1, 2013):  

IME Percentage for Type One Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 

r)0.405-1)] X (IME Factor)  

An IME factor shall be calculated for each Type One 

hospital and shall equal a factor that, when used in the 

calculation of the IME percentage, shall cause the 

resulting IME payments to equal what the IME payments 

would be with an IME factor of one, plus an amount 

equal to the difference between operating payments using 

the adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 

12VAC30-70-331 and operating payments using an 

adjustment factor of one in place of the adjustment factor 

specified in subdivision B 1 of 12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive an IME payment equal 

to the hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement times 

an IME percentage determined as follows (excluding 

Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters):  

IME Percentage for Type Two Hospitals = [1.89 X ((1 + 

r)0.405-1)] X 0.5695  

In both equations, r is the ratio of full-time equivalent 

residents to staffed beds, excluding nursery beds. The 

IME payment shall be calculated each year using the 

most recent reliable data regarding the number of full-

time equivalent residents and the number of staffed beds, 

excluding nursery beds.  

C. An additional IME payment shall be made for inpatient 

hospital services provided to Medicaid patients but 

reimbursed by capitated managed care providers.  

1. For Type Two hospitals, this payment shall be equal to 

the hospital's hospital specific operating rate per case, as 

determined in 12VAC30-70-311, times the hospital's HMO 

paid discharges times the hospital's IME percentage, as 

determined in subsection B of this section.  

2. For Type One hospitals, this payment shall be equal to 

the hospital's hospital-specific operating rate per case, as 

determined in 12VAC30-70-311, times the hospital's HMO 

paid discharges times the hospital's IME percentage, as 

determined in subsection B of this section. Effective April 

1, 2012, the operating rate per case used in the formula 

shall be revised to reflect an adjustment factor of one and 

case-mix adjusted by multiplying the operating rate per 

case in this subsection by the weight per case for FFS 

discharges that is determined during rebasing. This formula 

applies to Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters 

effective July 1, 2017. 

D. An additional IME payment not to exceed $200,000 in 

total shall be apportioned among Type Two hospitals, 

excluding freestanding children's hospitals, with Medicaid 

NICU utilization in excess of 50% as reported to the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services as of March 1, 

2004. These payments shall be apportioned based on each 

eligible hospital's percentage of Medicaid NICU patient days 

relative to the total of these days among eligible hospitals as 

reported by March 1, 2004.  

E. An additional IME payment not to exceed $500,000 in 

total shall be apportioned among Type Two hospitals, 

excluding freestanding children's hospitals, with Medicaid 

NICU days in excess of 4,500 as reported to the Department 

of Medical Assistance Services as of March 1, 2005, that do 

not otherwise receive an additional IME payment under 

subsection D of this section. These payments shall be 

apportioned based on each eligible hospital's percentage of 

Medicaid NICU patient days relative to the total of these days 

among eligible hospitals as reported by March 1, 2003.  

F. Effective July 1, 2013, total payments for IME in 

combination with other payments for freestanding children's 

hospitals with greater than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009 

shall not exceed the federal uncompensated care cost limit to 

which disproportionate share hospital payments are subject. 

Effective July 1, 2017, IME payments cannot exceed the 

federal uncompensated care cost limit to which 

disproportionate share hospital payments are subject, 

excluding third-party reimbursement for Medicaid eligible 

patients. 

G. Effective July 1, 2018, an additional $362,360 IME 

payment shall be added to the IME payment calculated in 

subdivision B 2 of this section for freestanding children's 

hospitals located in the District of Columbia. 

12VAC30-70-301. Payment to disproportionate share 

hospitals. 

A. Payments to disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) shall 

be prospectively determined in advance of the state fiscal year 

to which they apply. The payments shall be made on a 

quarterly basis and shall be final subject to subsections E and 

K of this section. 

B. Effective July 1, 2014, in order to qualify for DSH 

payments, DSH eligible hospitals shall have a total Medicaid 

inpatient utilization rate equal to 14% or higher in the base 

year using Medicaid days eligible for Medicare DSH defined 

in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(2) or a low income utilization rate 
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defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3) in excess of 25%. 

Eligibility for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals shall be 

based on total Medicaid utilization or on total Medicaid 

neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) utilization equal to 14% 

or higher. Effective July 1, 2018, freestanding children's 

hospitals located in the District of Columbia shall not be 

eligible for DSH payments. 

C. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 

methodology for all hospitals except Type One hospitals is 

the following: 

1. Each hospital's DSH payment shall be equal to the DSH 

per diem multiplied by each hospital's eligible DSH days in 

a base year. Days reported in provider fiscal years in state 

fiscal year (FY) 2011 (available from the Medicaid cost 

report through the Hospital Cost Report Information 

System (HCRIS) as of July 30, 2013) will be the base year 

for FY 2015 prospective DSH payments. DSH shall be 

recalculated annually with an updated base year. Future 

base year data shall be extracted from Medicare cost report 

summary statistics available through HCRIS as of October 

1 prior to next year's effective date. 

2. Eligible DSH days are the sum of all Medicaid inpatient 

acute, psychiatric, and rehabilitation days above 14% for 

each DSH hospital subject to special rules for out-of-state 

cost reporting hospitals. Eligible DSH days for out-of-state 

cost reporting hospitals shall be the higher of the number 

of eligible days based on the calculation in the first 

sentence of this subdivision times Virginia Medicaid 

utilization (Virginia Medicaid days as a percent of total 

Medicaid days) or the Medicaid NICU days above 14% 

times Virginia NICU Medicaid utilization (Virginia NICU 

Medicaid days as a percent of total NICU Medicaid days). 

Eligible DSH days for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals 

that qualify for DSH but that have less than 12% Virginia 

Medicaid utilization shall be 50% of the days that would 

have otherwise been eligible DSH days. 

3. Additional eligible DSH days are days that exceed 28% 

Medicaid utilization for Virginia Type Two hospitals, 

excluding Children's Hospital of the Kings Daughters 

(CHKD). 

4. The DSH per diem shall be calculated in the following 

manner: 

a. The DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals is 

calculated by dividing the total Type Two DSH 

allocation by the sum of eligible DSH days for all Type 

Two DSH hospitals. For purposes of DSH, Type Two 

hospitals do not include CHKD or any hospital whose 

reimbursement exceeds its federal uncompensated care 

cost limit. The Type Two hospital DSH allocation shall 

equal the amount of DSH paid to Type Two hospitals in 

state FY 2014 increased annually by the percent change 

in the federal allotment, including any reductions as a 

result of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 

(Affordable Care Act), P.L. Public Law 111-148, 

adjusted for the state fiscal year. Effective July 1, 2018, 

the Type Two hospital DSH allocation shall be reduced 

by the amount of DSH allocated to freestanding 

children's hospitals located in the District of Columbia. 

b. The DSH per diem for state inpatient psychiatric 

hospitals is calculated by dividing the total state inpatient 

psychiatric hospital DSH allocation by the sum of 

eligible DSH days. The state inpatient psychiatric 

hospital DSH allocation shall equal the amount of DSH 

paid in state FY 2013 increased annually by the percent 

change in the federal allotment, including any reductions 

as a result of the Affordable Care Act, adjusted for the 

state fiscal year. 

c. Effective July 1, 2017, the annual DSH payment shall 

be calculated separately for each eligible hospital by 

multiplying each year's state inpatient psychiatric 

hospital DSH allocation described in subdivision C 4 b of 

this section by the ratio of each hospital's uncompensated 

care cost for the most recent DSH audited year 

completed prior to the DSH payment year to the 

uncompensated care cost of all state inpatient psychiatric 

hospitals for the same audited year. 

d. The DSH per diem for CHKD shall be three times the 

DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals. 

5. Each year, the department shall determine how much 

Type Two DSH has been reduced as a result of the 

Affordable Care Act and adjust the percent of cost 

reimbursed for outpatient hospital reimbursement. 

D. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 

methodology for Type One hospitals shall be to pay its 

uncompensated care costs up to the available allotment. 

Interim payments shall be made based on estimates of the 

uncompensated care costs and allotment. Payments shall be 

settled at cost report settlement and at the conclusion of the 

DSH audit.  

E. Prior to July 1, 2014, hospitals qualifying under the 14% 

inpatient Medicaid utilization percentage shall receive a DSH 

payment based on the hospital's type and the hospital's 

Medicaid utilization percentage.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to:  

a. The sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 10.5%, times 17, times the 

hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 

1.4433 and (ii) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 21%, times 17, times the 

hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 

1.4433.  
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b. Multiplied by the Type One hospital DSH Factor 

factor. The Type One hospital DSH factor shall equal a 

percentage that when applied to the DSH payment 

calculation yields a DSH payment equal to the total 

calculated using the methodology outlined in subdivision 

1 a of this subsection using an adjustment factor of one in 

the calculation of operating payments rather than the 

adjustment factor specified in subdivision B 1 of 

12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 

percentage in excess of 10.5%, times the hospital's 

Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.2074 and (ii) 

the hospital's Medicaid utilization percentage in excess of 

21%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 

reimbursement, times 1.2074. Out-of-state cost reporting 

hospitals with Virginia utilization in the base year of less 

than 12% of total Medicaid days shall receive 50% of the 

payment described in this subsection. 

F. Hospitals qualifying under the 25% low-income patient 

utilization rate shall receive a DSH payment based on the 

hospital's type and the hospital's low-income utilization rate.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 

excess of 25%, times 17, times the hospital's Medicaid 

operating reimbursement.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal 

to the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in 

excess of 25%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 

reimbursement.  

3. Calculation of a hospital's low-income patient utilization 

percentage is defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3).  

G. Each hospital's eligibility for DSH payment and the 

amount of the DSH payment shall be calculated at the time of 

each rebasing using the most recent reliable utilization data 

and projected operating reimbursement data available. The 

utilization data used to determine eligibility for DSH payment 

and the amount of the DSH payment shall include days for 

Medicaid recipients enrolled in capitated managed care 

programs. In years when DSH payments are not rebased in 

the way described in this section, the previous year's amounts 

shall be adjusted for inflation.  

For freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, 

DSH payment shall be based on the most recently settled 

Medicare cost report available before the beginning of the 

state fiscal year for which a payment is being calculated.  

H. Effective July 1, 2010, DSH payments shall be rebased 

for all hospitals with the final calculation reduced by a 

uniform percentage such that the expenditures in FY 2011 do 

not exceed expenditures in FY 2010 separately for Type One 

and Type Two hospitals. The reduction shall be calculated 

after determination of eligibility. Payments determined in FY 

2011 shall not be adjusted for inflation in FY 2012. 

I. Effective July 1, 2013, DSH payments shall not be 

rebased for all hospitals in FY 2014 and shall be frozen at the 

payment levels for FY 2013 eligible providers.  

J. To be eligible for DSH, a hospital shall also meet the 

requirements in 42 USC § 1396r-4(d). No DSH payment shall 

exceed any applicable limitations upon such payment 

established by 42 USC § 1396r-4(g). 

K. If making the DSH payments prescribed in this chapter 

would exceed the DSH allotment, DMAS shall adjust DSH 

payments to Type One hospitals. Any DSH payment not 

made as prescribed in the State Plan as a result of the DSH 

allotment shall be made upon a determination that an 

available allotment exists. 

12VAC30-70-425. Certified public expenditures 

Supplemental payments for nonstate non-state-

government-owned hospitals for inpatient services.  

A. In addition to payments made elsewhere, effective July 1, 

2005, DMAS shall draw down federal funds to cover 

unreimbursed Medicaid costs for inpatient services provided 

by nonstate non-state-government-owned hospitals as 

certified by the provider through cost reports.  

B. A nonstate non-state-government-owned hospital is 

owned or operated by a unit of government other than a state.  

C. Effective July 1, 2018, additional supplemental payments 

will be issued to each non-state-government-owned acute care 

hospital for inpatient services provided to Medicaid patients. 

1. The supplemental payment shall equal inpatient hospital 

clam payments times the upper payment limit (UPL) gap 

percentage. 

a. The annual UPL gap percentage is the percentage 

calculated where the numerator is the difference for each 

non-state-government-owned acute care hospital between 

a reasonable estimate of the amount that would be paid 

under Medicare payment principles for inpatient hospital 

services provided to Medicaid patients, as calculated in 

accordance with 42 CFR 447.272, and what Medicaid 

paid for such services, and the denominator is Medicaid 

claim payments to each hospital for inpatient hospital 

services provided to Medicaid patients in the same years 

used in the numerator. 

b. The UPL gap percentage will be calculated annually 

for each hospital using data for the most recent year for 

which comprehensive annual data are available and 

inflated to the state fiscal year for which payments are to 

be made. 

c. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying 

hospitals shall not exceed the available upper payment 

limit. If inpatient payments for non-state-government-
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owned hospitals would exceed the upper payment limit, 

the numerator in the calculation of the UPL gap 

percentage shall be reduced proportionately. 

2. After the close of each quarter, beginning with the July 

1, 2018, to September 30, 2018, quarter, each qualifying 

hospital shall receive supplemental payments for the 

inpatient services paid during the prior quarter. The 

supplemental payments for each qualifying hospital for 

each quarter shall be calculated by multiplying the 

Medicaid inpatient hospital payments paid in that quarter 

by the annual UPL gap percentage for each hospital.  

12VAC30-80-20. Services that are reimbursed on a cost 

basis.  

A. Payments for services listed in this section shall be on the 

basis of reasonable cost following the standards and 

principles applicable to the Title XVIII Program with the 

exception provided for in subdivision D 1 e of this section. 

The upper limit for reimbursement shall be no higher than 

payments for Medicare patients in accordance with 42 CFR 

447.321. In no instance, however, shall charges for 

beneficiaries of the program be in excess of charges for 

private patients receiving services from the provider. The 

professional component for emergency room physicians shall 

continue to be uncovered as a component of the payment to 

the facility.  

B. Reasonable costs will be determined from the filing of a 

uniform Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services-

approved cost report by participating providers. The cost 

reports are due not later than 150 days after the provider's 

fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received 

within 150 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, 

DMAS or its designee shall take action in accordance with its 

policies to assure that an overpayment is not being made. All 

cost reports shall be reviewed and reconciled to final costs 

within 180 days of the receipt of a completed cost report. The 

cost report will be judged complete when DMAS has all of 

the following:  

1. Completed cost reporting form provided by DMAS, 

with signed certification;  

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusted journal 

entries;  

3. The provider's financial statements including a balance 

sheet, a statement of income and expenses, a statement of 

retained earnings (or fund balance), and a statement of 

changes in financial position;  

4. Schedules that reconcile financial statements and trial 

balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;  

5. Depreciation schedule or summary;  

6. Home office cost report, if applicable; and  

7. Such other analytical information or supporting 

documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting 

forms are sent to the provider.  

C. Item 398 D of the 1987 Appropriation Act (as amended), 

effective April 8, 1987, eliminated reimbursement of return 

on equity capital to proprietary providers.  

D. The services that are cost reimbursed are:  

1. For dates of service prior to January 1, 2014, outpatient 

hospital services, including rehabilitation hospital 

outpatient services and excluding laboratory services.  

a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 

in this section shall have the following meanings when 

applied to emergency services unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"All-inclusive" means all emergency department and 

ancillary service charges claimed in association with the 

emergency room visit, with the exception of laboratory 

services.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services consistent with Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) 

of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Emergency hospital services" means services that are 

necessary to prevent the death or serious impairment of 

the health of the recipient. The threat to the life or health 

of the recipient necessitates the use of the most 

accessible hospital available that is equipped to furnish 

the services.  

"Recent injury" means an injury that has occurred less 

than 72 hours prior to the emergency department visit.  

b. Scope. DMAS shall differentiate, as determined by the 

attending physician's diagnosis, the kinds of care 

routinely rendered in emergency departments and 

reimburse for nonemergency care rendered in emergency 

departments at a reduced rate.  

(1) With the exception of laboratory services, DMAS 

shall reimburse at a reduced and all-inclusive 

reimbursement rate for all services rendered in 

emergency departments that DMAS determines were 

nonemergency care.  

(2) Services determined by the attending physician to be 

emergencies shall be reimbursed under the existing 

methodologies and at the existing rates.  

(3) Services performed by the attending physician that 

may be emergencies shall be manually reviewed. If such 

services meet certain criteria, they shall be paid under the 

methodology for subdivision 1 b (2) of this subsection. 

Services not meeting certain criteria shall be paid under 

the methodology of subdivision 1 b (1) of this subsection. 

Such criteria shall include:  
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(a) The initial treatment following a recent obvious 

injury.  

(b) Treatment related to an injury sustained more than 72 

hours prior to the visit with the deterioration of the 

symptoms to the point of requiring medical treatment for 

stabilization.  

(c) The initial treatment for medical emergencies 

including indications of severe chest pain, dyspnea, 

gastrointestinal hemorrhage, spontaneous abortion, loss 

of consciousness, status epilepticus, or other conditions 

considered life threatening.  

(d) A visit in which the recipient's condition requires 

immediate hospital admission or the transfer to another 

facility for further treatment or a visit in which the 

recipient dies.  

(e) Services provided for acute vital sign changes as 

specified in the provider manual.  

(f) Services provided for severe pain when combined 

with one or more of the other guidelines.  

(4) Payment shall be determined based on ICD diagnosis 

codes and necessary supporting documentation. As used 

here, the term "ICD" is defined in 12VAC30-95-5. 

(5) DMAS shall review on an ongoing basis the 

effectiveness of this program in achieving its objectives 

and for its effect on recipients, physicians, and hospitals. 

Program components may be revised subject to achieving 

program intent, the accuracy and effectiveness of the 

ICD code designations, and the impact on recipients and 

providers. As used here, the term "ICD" is defined in 

12VAC30-95-5. 

c. Limitation of allowable cost. Effective for services on 

and after July 1, 2003, reimbursement of Type Two 

hospitals for outpatient services shall be at various 

percentages as noted in subdivisions 1 c (1) and 1 c (2) of 

this subsection of allowable cost, with cost to be 

determined as provided in subsections A, B, and C of this 

section. For hospitals with fiscal years that do not begin 

on July 1, outpatient costs, both operating and capital, for 

the fiscal year in progress on that date shall be 

apportioned between the time period before and the time 

period after that date, based on the number of calendar 

months in the cost reporting period, falling before and 

after that date.  

(1) Type One hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

91.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 87% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating reimbursement shall be at 

94.2% of allowable cost and capital reimbursement shall 

be at 90% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

reimbursement shall be at 90.2% of allowable cost and 

capital reimbursement shall be at 86% of allowable cost. 

(2) Type Two hospitals. 

(a) Effective July 1, 2003, through June 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(b) Effective July 1, 2010, through September 30, 2010, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 77% of allowable cost. 

(c) Effective October 1, 2010, through June 30, 2011, 

hospital outpatient operating and capital reimbursement 

shall be 80% of allowable cost. 

(d) Effective July 1, 2011, hospital outpatient operating 

and capital reimbursement shall be 76% of allowable 

cost. 

d. The last cost report with a fiscal year end on or after 

December 31, 2013, shall be used for reimbursement for 

dates of service through December 31, 2013, based on 

this section. Reimbursement shall be based on charges 

reported for dates of service prior to January 1, 2014. 

Settlement will be based on four months of runout from 

the end of the provider's fiscal year. Claims for services 

paid after the cost report runout period will not be settled. 

e. Payment for direct medical education costs of nursing 

schools, paramedical programs, and graduate medical 

education for interns and residents.  

(1) Direct medical education costs of nursing schools and 

paramedical programs shall continue to be paid on an 

allowable cost basis.  

(2) Effective with cost reporting periods beginning on or 

after July 1, 2002, direct graduate medical education 

(GME) costs for interns and residents shall be reimbursed 

on a per-resident prospective basis. See 12VAC30-70-

281 for prospective payment methodology for graduate 

medical education for interns and residents.  

2. Rehabilitation agencies or comprehensive outpatient 

rehabilitation. 

a. Effective July 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are 

operated by community services boards or state agencies 

shall be reimbursed their costs. For reimbursement 
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methodology applicable to all other rehabilitation 

agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200.  

b. Effective October 1, 2009, rehabilitation agencies or 

comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities 

operated by state agencies shall be reimbursed their 

costs. For reimbursement methodology applicable to all 

other rehabilitation agencies, see 12VAC30-80-200. 

3. Supplement payments to Type One hospitals for 

outpatient services.  

a. In addition to payments for services set forth elsewhere 

in the State Plan, DMAS makes supplemental payments 

to qualifying state government owned or operated 

hospitals for outpatient services furnished to Medicare 

members on or after July 1, 2010. To qualify for a 

supplement payment, the hospital must be part of the 

state academic health system or part of an academic 

health system that operates under a state authority. 

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to 

each qualifying hospital shall be equal to the difference 

between the total allowable cost and the amount 

otherwise actually paid for the services by the Medicaid 

program based on cost settlement. 

c. Payment for furnished services under this section shall 

be paid at settlement of the cost report. 

4. Supplemental payments for private hospital partners of 

Type One hospitals. Effective for dates of service on or 

after October 25, 2011, quarterly supplemental payments 

shall be issued to qualifying private hospitals for outpatient 

services rendered during the quarter. These quarterly 

supplemental payments will cease for dates of service on 

or after the effective date of State Plan amendments 

authorizing increased payments to qualifying hospitals 

from the Health Care Provider Rate Assessment Fund 

established pursuant to § 32.1-331.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and approved by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

a. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, the 

hospital shall be enrolled currently as a Virginia 

Medicaid provider and shall be owned or operated by a 

private entity in which a Type One hospital has a 

nonmajority interest.  

b. Reimbursement methodology. 

(1) Hospitals notparticipating in the Medicaid 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) program shall 

receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 

outpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each 

quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than 

two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's 

entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in 

a fiscal year shall be the lesser of: 

(a) The difference between each qualifying hospital's 

outpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid 

payments the hospital receives for services processed for 

fee-for-service Medicaid individuals during the fiscal 

year; or  

(b) $1,894 per Medicaid outpatient visit for state plan 

rate year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this 

number shall be adjusted by inflation based on the 

Virginia moving average values as compiled and 

published by Global Insight (or its successor) under 

contract with the department.  

(2) Hospitals participating in the DSH program shall 

receive quarterly supplemental payments for the 

outpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each 

quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than 

two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's 

entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in 

a fiscal year shall be the lesser of: 

(a) The difference between each qualifying hospital's 

outpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid 

payments the hospital receives for services processed for 

fee-for-service Medicaid individuals during the fiscal 

year;  

(b) $1,894 per Medicaid outpatient visit for state plan 

rate year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this 

number shall be adjusted by inflation based on the 

Virginia moving average values as compiled and 

published by Global Insight (or its successor) under 

contract with the department; or 

(c) The difference between the limit calculated under 

§ 1923(g) of the Social Security Act and the hospital's 

DSH payments for the applicable payment period. 

c. Limit. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying 

hospitals in this group shall not exceed the available 

upper payment limit per state fiscal year. 

5. Supplemental outpatient payments for non-state-

government-owned hospitals. Effective July 1, 2018, 

supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying non-

state-government-owned hospitals for outpatient services 

provided to Medicaid patients. 

a. Qualifying hospitals are all non-state-government-

owned acute care hospitals. 

b. The supplemental payment shall equal outpatient 

hospital claim payments times the upper payment limit 

(UPL) gap percentage. 

(1) The annual UPL gap percentage is the percentage 

calculated where the numerator is the difference for each 

qualifying hospital between a reasonable estimate of the 

amount that would be paid under Medicare payment 

principles for outpatient hospital services provided to 
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Medicaid patients, as calculated in accordance with 

42 CFR 447.321, and what Medicaid paid for such 

services, and the denominator is Medicaid claim 

payments to all qualifying hospitals for outpatient 

hospital services provided to Medicaid patients in the 

same year used in the numerator. 

(2) The annual UPL gap percentage will be calculated 

annually for each hospital using the most recent year for 

which comprehensive annual data are available and 

inflated to the state fiscal year for which payments are to 

be made. 

6. Quarterly payments. After the close of each quarter, 

beginning with the July 1, 2018, to September 30, 2018, 

quarter, each qualifying hospital shall receive supplemental 

payments for the outpatient services paid during the prior 

quarter. The supplemental payments for each qualifying 

hospital for each quarter shall be calculated by multiplying 

the Medicaid outpatient hospital payments paid in that 

quarter by the annual UPL gap percentage for each 

hospital. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6018; Filed December 18, 2019, 8:33 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-675).  

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily Bowles, Legal Coordinator, Office of 

Licensing, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3281, FAX (804) 

692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services to adopt regulations that may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia and 

other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner and the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS).  

Purpose: DBHDS and the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) regulations concerning reviews of 

individual service plans are not aligned, which creates an 

unnecessary situation in which service providers must adhere 

to two separate requirements for the same practice. The 

proposed changes align DBHDS and DMAS regulations as to 

when a quarterly review or a revised assessment of an 

individualized services plan (ISP) must be documented. The 

amendments allow practitioners to follow the same process 

rather than two different processes, which decreases 

administrative burdens and allows more time to provide 

services. By decreasing administrative burden through the 

adjusted timeframe, providers are allowed more time to 

thoroughly prepare and document the ISP review and changes 

to the ISP, which potentially benefit the health and safety of 

an individual receiving services by ensuring all information is 

in place to inform a treatment team of an individual's specific 

needs.  

Substance: Providers licensed by DBHDS are currently 

required to review the ISP at least every three months from 

the date of the implementation of the ISP or whenever there is 

a revised assessment based upon the individual's changing 

needs or goals. No allowance exists for additional 

administrative time to document the review, as is allowed in 

DMAS regulations. Such administrative "grace periods" are 

not uncommon. 

The proposed amendments allow providers to document each 

quarterly review or a revised assessment in the individual's 

record "no later than 15 calendar days from the date the 

review was due to be completed." The proposed amendments 

do not change the current quarterly deadline for the review. 

Also, clarification is made to exclude case management from 

this 15-day change, and specific language is added regarding 

30 days related to case management in response to comments 

received during the public comment period. 

Issues: The advantage for the public and the agency will be 

that providers have more efficient use of time because the 

regulation will no longer be duplicative in conflicting ways. 

There are no identified disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth in making these amendments.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (Board) proposes to allow case management 

providers a 30-day grace period and other mental health 

providers a 15-day grace period for documentation of 

Individualized Services Plans (ISPs). 

Background. This action was originally started as a fast-track 

action.2 After receiving public comments, the Board now 

proposes additional language through the standard regulatory 

process. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, mental health 

providers serving Medicaid patients are allowed under 

Medicaid regulations3 a 15-day grace period to document 

ISPs. In addition, as indicated by the public comments and 

mailto:emily.bowles@dbhds.virginia.gov
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agreed by the Board, Medicaid case managers are allowed a 

30-day grace period,4 allowing them an additional 15-day 

period to document ISPs. Case management providers need 

additional time to document ISPs because they evaluate input 

from other mental health providers. Having the same grace 

period as other providers would not allow them time to 

incorporate input from other mental health providers. The 

Board now proposes to align its regulations with Medicaid 

regulations by providing identical grace periods: a 30-day 

grace period for case managers and a 15-day grace period for 

other mental health providers. 

The proposed change is expected to allow more flexibility to the 

mental health providers who are licensed through the Board and 

serve the Medicaid population because they will have more time 

to document their reviews. The flexibility provided by this 

regulation could reduce compliance costs (e.g., possibly reducing 

the need for overtime pay for staff reviewing ISPs). Also, 

according to the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS), noncompliance with this 

documentation requirement has resulted in citations during 

regular inspections. Therefore, a reduction in citations regarding 

timeliness of documentation of ISPs is expected. 

The proposed amendment would not affect services received 

by those individuals with an ISP. Given the increased 

flexibility and reduction in citations for providers, and no 

adverse elements associated with the proposed grace periods, 

this action would likely produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to 

DBHDS, there are more than 100,000 individuals whose ISPs 

are reviewed on a regular basis by 1,100 licensed service 

providers most of which are likely small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

should not have any effect on total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value 

of private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:7 The proposed 

amendments do not adversely affect small businesses.  

_______________________________ 

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8341 

312VAC30-50-226 

412VAC30-60-143 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments allow case management 

providers a 30-day grace period and other mental health 

providers a 15-day grace period for documentation of an 

individualized services plan, aligning the regulation with 

Medicaid timeframe requirements. 

12VAC35-105-675. Reassessments and ISP reviews. 

A. Reassessments shall be completed at least annually and 

when there is a need based on the medical, psychiatric, or 

behavioral status of the individual. 

B. The provider shall (i) update the ISP at least annually. The 

provider shall review and (ii) complete quarterly reviews of the 

ISP. The provider shall review the ISP at least every three 

months from the date of the implementation of the 

comprehensive ISP or whenever there is a revised assessment 

based upon the individual's changing needs or goals. These 

reviews shall evaluate the individual's progress toward meeting 

the plan's ISP's goals and objectives and the continued relevance 

of the ISP's objectives and strategies. The provider shall update 

the goals, objectives, and strategies contained in the ISP, if 

indicated, and implement any updates made. Documentation of 

the quarterly review shall be added to the individual's record no 

later than 15 calendar days from the date the review was due to 

be completed, with the exception of case management services. 

Case management quarterly reviews shall be added to the 

individual's record no later than 30 calendar days from the date 

the review was due. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5541; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:25 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-180. Regulations to Assure 

the Protection of Subjects in Human Research (amending 

12VAC35-180-10, 12VAC35-180-30, 12VAC35-180-60 

through 12VAC35-180-150).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-402 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

786-8623, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8341
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
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Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the state board to adopt regulations that may be necessary to 

carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia 

and other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner and the department. 

Purpose: This action is the result of a periodic review initiated 

on October 5, 2017. No comments were received during the 

public comment period held from October 30, 2017, through 

November 21, 2017. The periodic review found the 

regulations reasonable and consistent with the statutory 

requirements but in need of some minor revisions to align 

them with state and federal requirements. 

This regulation ensures the health, safety, and welfare of the 

individuals involved in human research. 12VAC35-180 

applies to the department and any person, entity, or 

organization offering services that are licensed, funded, or 

operated by the department; some of those service providers 

are small businesses. It also applies to any research review 

committee, as defined in 12VAC35-180, at one of these 

entities or organizations. Updates and clarifications in the 

regulation will help those using system services, providing 

services, and conducting human research. 

Rationale for Using the Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial and 

appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process because no 

comments were received during the review. None of these 

changes are controversial or establish any additional 

regulatory burdens. The action updates the regulations, which 

will be helpful to those in the system using services, those 

providing services, and entities conducting human research. 

Substance: Clarifications, corrections of typos, and 

nonsubstantive edits are made throughout the regulation. 

Specifically, some of the amendments are as follows: 

1. Updates to definitions include: 

• "Board" to conform to the definition of that word in 

§ 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

• "Community services board" to conform to the 

definition of that term in § 37.2-100 and includes 

deleting "mental retardation."  

• "Individual" to conform to the federal research 

regulations at 45 CFR 46.102(e)(1) and 45 CFR 

46.102(e)(5). 

• "Informed consent" to remove substantive language and 

place it properly in 12VAC35-180-100. 

• "Research review committee" to add "human research 

review committee and institutional review board." 

2. Amendments in 12VAC35-180-70 include:  

• In subdivision A 6, deleting an unnecessary list of types 

of vulnerable people. 

• Deleting subsection B. 

• Conforming subsection F to 45 CFR 46.113. 

• Adding a new subsection I to comply with requirements 

of the Human Rights Regulations (12VAC35-115) 

regarding notification to the local human rights 

committee.  

3. Amendments in 12VAC35-180-80 move text from 

subdivision 2 into subdivision 1 c to make clear that such 

research must occur in an educational setting. 

4. Amendments in 12VAC35-180-100 include: 

• Adding language from the definition of "Informed 

consent" to create a new subsection B that complies with 

45 CFR 46.116. 

• Adding cross-references to the Human Rights 

Regulations in subsection D. 

5. Amendments in 12VAC35-180-120 add a cross 

reference to § 37.2-402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The amendments are the result of a periodic review, 

which included a public comment period. The advantage of 

the proposed amendments to the public and the agency is 

better protection of individuals involved in research, 

interested stakeholders, and the system overall because of 

clarification and updated language so that the regulation 

mirrors federal regulations. There are no disadvantages to the 

public or the agency or Commonwealth to the regulatory 

action. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This fast-

track regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of 

the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a periodic review,1 the State Board of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (Board) proposes to 

allow a research subject to withdraw his participation without 

a loss of benefits to him and to require the research review 

committee to report termination or suspension of research to 

the principal investigator, appropriate institutional officers, 

head of the department or agency, and the commissioner. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to allow a 

research subject to withdraw his participation without a loss 

of benefits to him. According to the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS), 

this is a federal rule, and researchers are subject to this 

requirement if they are receiving federal funding.2 The intent 

of this requirement is to make sure the participant is not 
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coerced into being a part of research in which he no longer 

wishes to participate. This change may elevate the chances of 

a researcher losing a subject in a study, but would ensure that 

participation is voluntary. 

The Board also proposes to require the research review 

committee to report termination or suspension of research to the 

principal investigator, appropriate institutional officers, the 

department or agency head, and the commissioner with a 

statement of the reasons of the committee's action. According to 

DBHDS, the report would be rather short without creating any 

significant cost. The report would ensure transparency and help 

eliminate asymmetric information among the relevant parties. 

The remaining proposed amendments are wording changes to 

improve the clarity of the regulation and are not expected to 

create any significant economic impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed change 

pertains to 13 DBHDS operated facilities and 1,300 licensed 

service providers. However, according to DBHDS, research 

involving human subjects is rare. There have been few 

applications in the recent past to conduct any such research. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

would not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 

would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment would not 

have costs or other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendment would not impose adverse impacts on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendment would not impose adverse 

impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendment would not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. One of the proposed amendments may elevate the 

chances of a researcher losing a subject in a study to ensure that 

participation is voluntary. 

_________________________ 

1http://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1612 

2See 45 CFR 46.103(a). 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with Department of Planning and Budget's 

economic impact analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) better align the regulation with state 

and federal requirements, (ii) modify definitions, (iii) add 

appropriate cross references, (iv) update and clarify the 

regulation, and (v) reorganize some requirements. The 

amendments are the result of a periodic review initiated on 

October 5, 2017. 

CHAPTER 180  

REGULATIONS TO ASSURE ENSURE THE 

PROTECTION OF SUBJECTS IN HUMAN RESEARCH  

12VAC35-180-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Affiliated with the institution" means employed by the 

institution or a member of a household containing an 

employee of the institution.  

"Board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services.  

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a the public 

body established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 

Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation 

developmental, and substance abuse services to individuals 

within each city or county that established it. For the purpose 

of these regulations, community services board also includes 

a behavioral health authority established pursuant to § 37.2-

602 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services.  

"Health information" means "health information" pursuant 

to 45 CFR 160.103 or any information, whether oral or 

recorded in any form or medium, that:  

1. Is created or received by a health care provider, health 

plan, public health authority, employer, life insurer, school 

or university, or health care clearinghouse; and  

2. Relates to the past, present, or future physical or mental 

health or condition of an individual; the provision of health 

care to an individual; or the past, present, or future 

payment for the provision of health care to an individual.  
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"Human research" means any systematic investigation, 

including research development, testing, and evaluation, 

utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 

contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall 

not be deemed to include research exempt from federal 

research regulation pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b).  

"Individual" means a human subject pursuant to 45 CFR 

46.102 (f) 45 CFR 46.102(e)(1) about whom an investigator 

(whether professional or student) conducting research obtains 

(i) data through interaction with the individual; or (ii) 

protected health identifiable private information pursuant to 

45 CFR 46.102(e)(5).  

"Individually identifiable health information" means 

information that is a subset of health information, including 

demographic information collected from an individual, and:  

1. Is created or received by a health care provider, health 

plan, employer, or health care clearinghouse; and  

2. Relates to the past, present, or future physical or mental 

health or condition of an individual; the provision of health 

care to an individual; or the past, present, or future 

payment for the provision of health care to an individual; 

and  

a. That identifies the individual; or  

b. With respect to which there is a reasonable basis to 

believe the information can be used to identify the 

individual.  

"Informed consent" means the knowing and voluntary 

agreement, without undue inducement or any element of 

force, fraud, deceit, duress, or other form of constraint or 

coercion, of an individual who is capable of exercising free 

power of choice. For the purposes of human research, the 

basic elements of information necessary for such consent 

shall include:  

1. A reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 

individual of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 

followed, and their purposes, including descriptions of any 

attendant discomforts, risks and benefits reasonably to be 

expected, how the results of the human research will be 

disseminated, and how the identity of the individual will be 

protected;  

2. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 

therapies that might be advantageous for the individual 

together with their side effects, risks, and benefits;  

3. A description of any adverse consequences and risks to 

be expected and an indication whether there may be other 

significant risks not yet identified;  

4. An instruction that the individual may withdraw his 

consent and discontinue participation in the human 

research at any time without prejudice to him or fear of 

reprisal;  

5. An explanation of any costs or compensation that may 

accrue to the individual and, if applicable, the availability 

of third party reimbursement for the proposed procedures 

or protocols or any medical care that may be available if an 

injury occurs; and;  

6. An offer to answer and answers to any inquiries by the 

individual or, if applicable, his legally authorized 

representative concerning the procedures and protocols and 

a description of the ways in which concerns may be raised 

or questions asked; 

"Institution" or "agency" means the department, any 

community services board, or any facility or program 

operated, funded, or licensed by the department.  

"Interaction" includes communication or interpersonal 

contact between the investigator and the individual who is the 

subject of the human research.  

"Intervention" includes both physical procedures by which 

data are gathered (for example, venipuncture) and 

manipulations of the individual or individual's environment 

that are performed for human research purposes.  

"Legally authorized representative" means in the following 

specified order of priority, (i) the parent or parents having 

custody of an individual who is a prospective subject of 

human research who is a minor, (ii) the agent appointed under 

an advance directive as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of 

Virginia, executed by the individual who is the prospective 

subject of human research, provided the advance directive 

authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the 

individual's participation in human research, (iii) the legal 

guardian of an individual who is a prospective subject of 

human research, (iv) the spouse of an individual who is a 

prospective subject of human research, except where a suit 

for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree is not yet 

final, (v) an adult child of the an individual who is a 

prospective subject of human research, (vi) a parent of the 

individual who is a prospective subject of human research 

when the individual is an adult, (vii) an adult brother or sister 

of the individual who is a prospective subject of human 

research, or (viii) any person or judicial or other body 

authorized by law or regulation to consent on behalf of an 

individual who is a prospective subject of human research to 

such individual's participation in the particular human 

research. For the purposes of this definition, any person 

authorized by law or regulation to consent on behalf of an 

individual who is a prospective subject of human research to 

his participation in the particular human research shall 

include an attorney-in-fact appointed under a durable power 

of attorney, to the extent the power grants the authority to 

make such a decision. The attorney-in-fact shall not be 

employed by the person, institution, or agency conducting the 

human research. No official or employee of the institution or 

agency conducting or authorizing the human research shall be 

qualified to act as a legally authorized representative.  
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"Minimal risk" means that the risks of harm anticipated in 

the proposed human research are not greater, considering 

probability and magnitude, than those ordinarily encountered 

in daily life or during the performance of routine physical or 

psychological examinations, tests, or treatments.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human research in which 

there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to the 

physical or mental condition of the individual.  

"Protected health information (PHI)" means individually 

identifiable health information that is created or received by 

or on behalf of the institution or agency that is maintained or 

transmitted in any medium, including electronic media. PHI 

excludes individually identifiable health information in:  

1. Education records covered by the Family Educational 

Rights and Privacy Act, as amended, 20 USC § 1232g;  

2. Records described at 20 USC § 1232g(a)(4)(B)(iv) 

(educational records not otherwise covered under the 

Family Educational Rights Privacy Act in subdivision 1 of 

this definition); or  

3. Employment records held by a covered entity in its role 

as an employer.  

"Research review committee," or "committee," "human 

research review committee," or "institutional review board" 

means a committee of professionals to who provide complete 

and adequate review of human research activities pursuant to 

§ 32.1-162.19 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC35-180-30. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services, any community services 

board, and any facility operated, funded, or licensed by the 

department which that conducts or which that proposes to 

conduct or authorize human research in which individuals 

participate as human subjects.  

12VAC35-180-60. Composition of research review 

committees. 

A. Each research review committee shall have at least five 

members, appointed by the head of the institution or agency, 

with varying backgrounds to ensure the competent, complete, 

and professional review of human research activities 

commonly conducted by the institution or agency. The 

committee shall be sufficiently qualified through the maturity, 

experience, and diversity of its members, including 

consideration of race, gender, and cultural background, to 

promote respect for its advice and counsel in safeguarding the 

rights and welfare of individuals who are the subjects of 

human research. In addition to possessing the professional 

competence necessary to review specific human research 

activities, the committee must be able to ascertain the 

acceptability of applications and proposals in terms of 

institutional commitments and regulations, applicable law, 

standards of professional conduct and practice, and 

community attitudes. If a committee regularly reviews human 

research that has an impact on individuals who are 

institutionalized or are otherwise vulnerable, including 

individuals who reside in mental health state facilities or state 

training centers, the committee shall have in its membership 

one or more persons who are primarily concerned with the 

welfare of these individuals and who have appropriate 

experience to serve in that capacity. 

B. No committee shall consist entirely of members of one 

profession, and at least one member shall be a person whose 

primary concerns are in nonscientific areas (e.g., lawyers, 

ethicists, members of the clergy).  

C. Each committee shall include at least one member who is 

not otherwise affiliated with the institution or agency and 

who is not part of the immediate family of a person who is 

affiliated with the institution or agency.  

D. No member of a committee shall participate in the 

committee's initial or continuing review of any project in 

which the member is directly involved or for which he has 

administrative approval authority, except to provide 

information requested by the committee. The committee shall 

be responsible for determining whether a member has a 

conflicting interest. The committee member shall be replaced 

in if the case of conflicting interests resulting interest results 

in a decrease of the committee below five persons.  

E. A committee may, at its discretion, invite individuals with 

competence in special areas to assist in the review of complex 

issues which require expertise beyond or in addition to that 

available on the committee. These individuals may not vote 

with the committee.  

F. A quorum of the committee shall consist of a majority of 

its members including at least one member whose primary 

concerns are in nonscientific areas.  

G. The committee and the institution or agency shall 

establish procedures and rules of operation necessary to fulfill 

the requirements of this chapter.  

12VAC35-180-70. Elements of each committee's review 

process. 

A. No human research shall be conducted or authorized by 

an institution or agency unless a research review committee 

has reviewed and approved the proposed human research 

project giving consideration to:  

1. The adequacy of the description of the potential benefits 

and risks involved and the adequacy of the methodology of 

the human research;  

2. The degree of the risk, and, if the human research is 

nontherapeutic, whether it presents greater than minimal 

risk;  
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3. Whether the rights and welfare of the individuals who 

are the subjects of the human research are adequately 

protected;  

4. Whether the risks to the individuals who are the subjects 

of human research are outweighed by the potential benefits 

to them;  

5. Whether the risks to individuals are minimized by using 

procedures that are consistent with sound human research 

design and that do not unnecessarily expose individuals to 

risk and, whenever appropriate, by using procedures 

already being performed on individuals for diagnostic or 

treatment purposes;  

6. When some or all of the individuals are likely to be 

incapable of providing informed consent or are otherwise 

vulnerable to coercion or undue influence, such as 

children, prisoners, pregnant women, mentally disabled 

persons, or economically or educationally disadvantaged 

persons, whether additional safeguards have been included 

in the study to protect the rights and welfare of these 

individuals;  

7. Whether the informed consent is to be obtained by 

methods that are adequate and appropriate and whether the 

written consent form is adequate and appropriate in both 

content and language for the particular human research and 

for the individuals who are the particular subjects of the 

human research;  

8. Whether the persons proposing to supervise or conduct 

the particular human research are appropriately competent 

and qualified; 

9. Whether criteria for selection of individuals to 

participate as human research subjects are equitable; and 

10. Whether the human research conforms with such other 

requirements of the department, where applicable.  

B. Each committee shall review approved projects to ensure 

conformity with the approved proposal at least annually.  

C. B. When cooperating institutions conduct some or all of 

the human research involving some or all of the individuals, 

each cooperating institution is responsible for safeguarding 

the rights and welfare of the individuals and for complying 

with this chapter, except that in complying with this chapter 

institutions may enter into joint review, rely upon the review 

of another qualified committee, or come to similar 

agreements aimed at avoiding duplication of effort. These 

agreements must be in writing and designate a lead 

institution, which shall be the institution responsible for 

reporting and dealing with possible misconduct in human 

research. Such agreements may be made by the committee 

chair with the approval of a majority of the members present 

at a meeting of the committee. If a given institution or agency 

does not have a research review committee, this arrangement 

shall be approved by the chief executive officer of the 

institution, or his designee.  

D. C. The committee shall consider human research 

proposals within 45 days after submission to the committee's 

chair. In order for the human research to be approved, it shall 

receive the approval of a majority of those members present, 

including one nonscientific person, at a meeting in which a 

quorum exists. A committee shall notify investigators and the 

institution in writing of its decision to approve or disapprove 

the proposed human research activity project, or of 

modifications required to secure committee approval.  

E. D. The committee shall develop a written description of 

the procedure to be followed by an individual who has a 

complaint about a human research project in which he is 

participating or has participated.  

F. E. Any individual who has a complaint about a human 

research project in which he is participating or has 

participated shall be referred to the chairperson of the 

committee who shall refer it to the committee to determine if 

there has been a violation of the protocol.  

F. The committee shall have the authority to suspend or 

terminate approval of research that is not being conducted in 

accordance with the committee requirements or that has been 

associated with unexpected serious harm to any individuals. 

Any suspension or termination of approval shall include a 

statement of the reasons for the committee's action and shall 

be reported promptly to the investigator, appropriate 

institutional officials, the department or agency head, and the 

commissioner. 

G. The chair of the committee shall provide a written report 

as soon as possible to the head of the institution of any 

violation of the human research protocol that led the 

committee to either suspend or terminate the human research. 

H. The committee shall require periodic written reports to 

ensure that the project is being carried out in conformity with 

the proposal. The frequency of such reports should reflect the 

nature and degree of risk of each human research project, but 

shall be at least annually.  

I. Prior to participation by individuals in any human research 

project, the institution or agency shall inform and provide a 

copy of the research review committee approval to the local 

human rights committee established pursuant to 12VAC35-

115. Once the research has been initiated, the institution or 

agency shall update the local human rights committee 

periodically on the status of an individual's participation. 

J. The committee shall ensure compliance with the Health 

Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (Public 

Law 104-191) and federal and state regulations regarding the 

use and disclosure of PHI created for human research. In 

particular, authorization shall be obtained for the use and 
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disclosure of PHI created for the purpose of human research, 

except as otherwise permitted by 45 CFR 164.512(i).  

12VAC35-180-80. Kinds of human research exempt from 

committee review. 

Human research activities in which the involvement of 

individuals as subjects is limited to one or more of the 

following categories are exempt from this chapter unless the 

human research is covered by other sections of this chapter:  

1. Human research conducted in established or commonly 

accepted educational settings, involving commonly used 

educational practices, such as:  

a. Research on regular and special education instructional 

strategies; or  

b. Research on the effectiveness of or the comparison 

among instructional techniques, curriculum or classroom 

management methods.; or  

2. Human research c. Research involving solely the use 

and analysis of the results of educational tests, whether 

cognitive, diagnostic, aptitude, or achievement, if the 

data from such tests are recorded in such a manner so 

that individuals cannot be identified, directly or through 

identifiers linked to the individuals. 

3. 2. Human research involving survey or interview 

procedures, unless responses are recorded in such a manner 

that the individuals can be identified, directly or through 

identifiers linked to the individuals;, and either:  

a. The individual's responses, if they became known 

outside the human research, could reasonably place the 

subject at risk of criminal or civil liability or be 

damaging to the individual's financial standing, 

employability, or reputation; or  

b. The human research deals with sensitive aspects of the 

individual's own behavior, such as sexual behavior, drug 

or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

4. 3. Human research involving solely the observation 

(including observation by individuals who are the subjects 

of human research) of public behavior, unless observations 

are recorded in such a manner that individuals can be 

identified, directly or through identifiers linked to the 

individuals, and either:  

a. The observations recorded about the individual, if they 

became known outside the human research, could 

reasonably place the individual at risk of criminal or civil 

liability or be damaging to the individual's financial 

standing, employability, or reputation; or  

b. The human research deals with sensitive aspects of the 

individual's own behavior such as sexual behavior, drug 

or alcohol use, or illegal conduct.  

5. 4. Human research involving solely the collection or 

study of existing data, documents, records, or pathological 

or diagnostic specimens, if these sources are publicly 

available or if the information taken from these sources is 

recorded in such a manner that individuals cannot be 

identified, directly or through identifiers linked to the 

individuals.  

6. 5. Human research involving solely a combination of 

any of the activities described in this section.  

12VAC35-180-90. Expedited review procedures for 

certain kinds of human research involving no more than 

minimal risk. 

A. A research review committee may conduct an expedited 

review of a human research project that involves no more 

than minimal risk to the individuals who are the subjects of 

the human research if (i) another institution's or agency's 

human research review committee has reviewed and approved 

the project, or (ii) the review involves only minor changes in 

previously approved human research and the changes occur 

during the approved project period. Under an expedited 

review procedure, the review may be carried out by the 

committee chair and two or more experienced reviewers 

designated by the chair from among members of the 

committee. In reviewing the human research, the reviewers 

may exercise all of the authority of the committee except that 

the reviewers may not disapprove the human research. A 

human research activity project may be disapproved only 

after review in accordance with the nonexpedited procedure 

review elements set forth in 12VAC35-180-70.  

B. Each committee which that uses an expedited review 

procedure shall adopt a method for keeping all members 

advised of human research proposals which that have been 

approved under the procedure.  

12VAC35-180-100. Informed consent. 

A. No human research shall be conducted in the absence of 

informed consent subscribed to in writing by the individual or 

by the individual's legally authorized representative except as 

provided for in subsection F of this section. If the individual 

is capable of providing informed consent, written consent 

must be provided by the individual and witnessed. If the 

individual is incapable of making an informed decision, as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia, at the time 

consent is required, written consent must be provided by the 

individual's legally authorized representative and witnessed. 

If the individual is a minor otherwise capable of rendering 

informed consent, the consent shall be provided by both the 

minor and his legally authorized representative. An 

investigator shall seek such consent only under circumstances 

that provide the individual who is the prospective subject or 

the representative sufficient opportunity to consider whether 

to participate and that minimize the possibility of coercion or 

undue influence. The information that is given to the 
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individual or, if applicable, the individual's legally authorized 

representative shall be in language understandable to the 

individual or the representative.  

If two or more persons who qualify as legally authorized 

representatives have equal decision-making priority under 

this chapter inform the principal investigator or attending 

physician that they disagree as to participation of the 

individual in human research, the individual shall not be 

enrolled in the human research that is the subject of the 

consent.  

B. For the purposes of human research, the basic elements of 

information necessary for such consent shall include: 

1. A statement that the study involves research and a 

reasonable and comprehensible explanation to the 

individual of the proposed procedures or protocols to be 

followed and the purposes, including descriptions of any 

reasonably foreseeable discomforts, risks, and benefits and 

how the results of the human research will be 

disseminated; 

2. A statement describing the extent, if any, to which 

confidentiality of records identifying the individual will be 

maintained; 

3. A disclosure of any appropriate alternative procedures or 

treatments that might be advantageous for the individual 

together with side effects, risks, and benefits of those 

alternative procedures or treatments; 

4. A description of any adverse consequence and risk to be 

expected and an indication whether there may be other 

significant risks not yet identified;  

5. A statement that participation is voluntary and 

instruction that the individual may refuse to participate or 

withdraw his consent and discontinue participation in the 

human research at any time without prejudice to him, fear 

of reprisal, penalty, or loss of any benefit to which he is 

otherwise entitled; 

6. An explanation of costs or compensation that may 

accrue to the individual and, if applicable, the availability 

of third-party reimbursement for the proposed procedures 

or protocols or any medical care that may be available if an 

injury occurs; and 

7. A statement of whom to contact for answers to inquiries 

by the individual or, if applicable, the individual's legally 

authorized representative concerning the research and a 

description of the ways in which concerns may be raised or 

questions asked and notification of whom to contact in the 

event of any research-related injury to the individual. 

C. No individual shall participate in human research unless 

this requirement is met. No informed consent shall include 

any language through which the individual waives or appears 

to waive any of his legal rights, including any release of any 

person, institution, or agency or any agents thereof from 

liability for negligence. Notwithstanding the informed 

consent by alegally a legally authorized representative, no 

individual shall be forced to participate in any human 

research if the investigator conducting the human research 

knows that participation in the human research is protested by 

the individual. In the case of individuals suffering from 

organic brain disease causing progressive deterioration of 

cognition for which there is no known cure or medically 

accepted treatment, the implementation of experimental 

courses of therapeutic treatment to which the legally 

authorized representative has given informed consent shall 

not constitute the use of force. Each individual shall be given 

a copy of the signed consent form required by 12VAC35-

180-40 A except as provided for in subsection F H of this 

section.  

C. D. Prior to participation by an individual in any human 

research project, the institution or agency shall meet the 

requirements of 12VAC35-115-130.  

E. No legally authorized representative may consent to 

nontherapeutic human research unless it is determined by the 

research review committee that such nontherapeutic human 

research will present no more than a minor increase over 

minimal risk to the individual. A legally authorized 

representative may not consent to participation in human 

research on behalf of an individual if the legally authorized 

representative knows, or upon reasonable inquiry ought to 

know, that any aspect of the human research protocol is 

contrary to the religious beliefs or basic values of the 

individual, whether expressed orally or in writing. A legally 

authorized representative may not consent to participation in 

human research involving nontherapeutic sterilization, 

abortion, psychosurgery, or admission for human research 

purposes to a facility or hospital as defined in § 37.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia. No nontherapeutic human research shall 

be performed without the consent of the individual or, if 

applicable, his the individual's legally authorized 

representative.  

D. F. The research review committee may approve a consent 

procedure that does not include or that alters some or all of 

the elements of informed consent set forth in 12VAC35-180-

10, or that waives the requirements to obtain informed 

consent provided the committee finds and documents that:  

1. The human research involves no more than minimal risk 

to the individuals;  

2. The omission, waiver, or alteration will not adversely 

affect the rights and welfare of the individuals;  

3. The human research could not practicably be carried out 

without the omission, waiver, or alteration; and  

4. Whenever appropriate, the individuals shall be provided 

with additional pertinent information after participation.  
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E. G. A written consent document that embodies the 

elements of informed consent required by as defined in 

12VAC35-180-10 may be read to the individual or, if 

applicable, the individual's legally authorized representative, 

but in any event, the investigator shall give either the 

individual or the legally authorized representative adequate 

opportunity to read it before it is signed. 

F. H. The committee may waive the requirement in 

subsection E A of this section for the investigator to obtain a 

written informed consent form for some or all individuals if it 

finds that the only record linking the individual and the 

human research would be the consent document and the 

principal risk would be potential harm resulting from a breach 

of confidentiality. Each individual shall be asked whether the 

individual wants documentation linking the individual with 

the human research, and the individual's wishes shall govern. 

In cases where the documentation requirement is waived, the 

committee may require the investigator to provide individuals 

with a written statement explaining the human research.  

12VAC35-180-110. Committee records.  

A. An institution or agency, or when appropriate a 

committee, shall prepare and maintain adequate 

documentation of committee activities, including the 

following:  

1. Copies of all human research proposals reviewed, 

scientific evaluations, if any, that accompany the 

proposals, approved sample consent documents, progress 

reports submitted by investigators, and reports of injuries 

to individuals who are subjects of the human research.  

2. Minutes of committee meetings which shall be in 

sufficient detail to show attendance at the meetings; actions 

taken by the committee; the vote on these actions including 

the number of members voting for, against, and abstaining; 

the basis for requiring changes in or disapproving human 

research; and a written summary of the discussion of issues 

about which opposition has been voiced and their 

resolution.  

3. Records of continuing review activities.  

4. Copies of all correspondence between the committee 

and the investigators.  

5. A list of committee members.  

6. Written procedures for the committee.  

7. Statements of significant new findings provided to 

individuals.  

B. The records required by this chapter shall be retained for 

at least three years, and records relating to human research 

which that is conducted shall be retained for six years after 

completion of the human research. All records shall be 

accessible for inspection and copying by authorized 

employees or agents of the department at reasonable times 

and in a reasonable manner. An overview of approved human 

research projects and the results of such projects shall be 

made public on the website of the institution or agency 

conducting the human research unless otherwise exempt from 

disclosure under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act, 

(§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

12VAC35-180-120. Mandatory reporting.  

Each research review committee shall submit to the 

governor, the General Assembly, and the commissioner or his 

designee at least annually a report on the human research 

projects reviewed and approved by the committee, including 

any significant deviations from the proposals as approved, in 

accordance with § 37.2-402 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter.  

12VAC35-180-130. Role of the department and 

commissioner.  

The commissioner shall assure ensure that the department's 

human rights program, through procedures described in 

12VAC35-115 12VAC35-115-130, protects the rights of 

individuals who are admitted to a state hospital, training 

center facility, or other facility operated, funded, or licensed 

by the department to refuse to participate as a subject of 

human research and assure ensure that written and informed 

consent is received from individuals or their legally 

authorized representative prior to their participation as a 

subject of human research.  

12VAC35-180-140. Applicability of state policies. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as limiting in any 

way the rights under regulations promulgated by the State 

Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

pursuant to § 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia of individuals 

participating in human research under regulations 

promulgated by the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services pursuant to § 37.2-400 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

12VAC35-180-150. Applicability of federal policies. 

Human research at institutions or agencies which that are 

subject to policies and regulations for the protection of 

individuals promulgated by any agency of the federal 

government shall be exempt from this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5244; Filed December 18, 2019, 10:51 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-270. Certified Recovery 

Residences (adding 12VAC35-270-10 through 12VAC35-

270-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-431.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  
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Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 7, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

786-8623, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Chapter 220 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly added 

§ 37.2-431.1 of the Code of Virginia, creating an avenue for 

the certification of recovery residences through regulations 

adopted by the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. Section 37.2-203 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the state board to adopt regulations that 

may be necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and other laws of the Commonwealth 

administered by the commissioner and the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS). 

Purpose: As reported in a May 2017 brief of The National 

Council for Behavioral Health titled Recovery Housing Issue 

Brief: Information for State Policymakers:  

"Recovery housing" refers to safe, healthy, and 

substance-free living environments that support 

individuals in recovery from addiction. While recovery 

residences vary widely in structure, all are centered on 

peer support and a connection to services that promote 

long-term recovery. Recovery housing benefits 

individuals in recovery by reinforcing a substance-free 

lifestyle and providing direct connections to other peers 

in recovery and recovery services and supports. 

The brief also reports, as excerpted from the U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services, Office of the Surgeon General 

(2016) report "Facing Addiction in America: The Surgeon 

General's Report on Alcohol, Drugs, and Health:"  

Many residents live in recovery housing during or after 

outpatient addiction treatment. Length of stay is self-

determined and can last for several months to years. 

Residents often share resources, give experiential advice 

about how to access health care and social services, find 

employment, budget and manage finances, handle legal 

problems, and build life skills. Many recovery homes are 

organized under the leadership of a house manager and 

require residents to participate in a recovery program, 

such as 12-step and other mutual aid groups. 

While many recovery residences are well-run, a national 

effort has been growing to bring standards to how recovery 

residences are operated due to "unscrupulous actors running 

sober living homes who profit off the misery of their 

occupants." Governing Magazine, May 14, 2018. Sober 

Living Homes and the Regulation They Need.  

A stakeholder workgroup was convened over the last year in 

Virginia to receive input from subject matter experts across 

the state. The legislation was developed through the 

workgroup with broad community feedback that called for 

greater accountability for recovery housing to ensure the 

health, safety, and welfare of individuals staying in recovery 

residences. A compromise was developed with stakeholders 

to provide departmental oversight to recovery housing 

without being overly burdensome to these "organic" 

community-based organizations. Certified recovery 

residences will be held to nationally recognized standards to 

ensure safety and recovery through effective peer support, 

mutual accountability, and clear social structures. Voluntary 

certification of recovery housing is intended to make it easier 

to locate recovery housing for individuals needing such 

housing and thus create a list of available houses to be 

utilized by courts, community services boards, individuals, 

and families.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

amendments are noncontroversial as the certification is 

voluntary. A stakeholder workgroup was convened over the 

last year in Virginia to receive input from subject matter 

experts across the state regarding recovery residences. The 

legislation mandating the voluntary certification was 

developed through the workgroup with broad community 

feedback that called for greater accountability for recovery 

housing to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of 

individuals staying in recovery residences. The draft 

regulation text closely tracks the legislative language. 

Substance: The new regulation establishes a process for the 

maintenance of a list by DBHDS of certified recovery houses. 

As allowed in the legislation, DBHDS identifies through the 

regulation specific credentialing entities and requires the 

submission of an application with proof of good standing 

from one of the specific credentialing entities in order to have 

a recovery residence added to the list on the DBHDS website. 

Issues: Certified recovery residences will be held to 

nationally recognized standards to ensure safety and recovery 

through effective peer support, mutual accountability, and 

clear social structures. Voluntary certification of recovery 

housing is intended to make it easier to locate recovery 

housing for individuals needing such housing and thus create 

a list of available houses to be utilized by courts, community 

services boards, individuals, and families. 

The advantage of this regulation to the public is that it allows 

for individuals and families to find safe recovery housing 

easier and faster within their affordability and that clearly 

serves their population. There are no identified disadvantages 

to the public or the Commonwealth in making this change.  

mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (Board) seeks to add a new chapter (12VAC35-270) 

titled Certified Recovery Residences. The Board proposes in 

this regulation to certify recovery residences (or sober 

houses) in order to provide accurate and useful information 

for individuals in recovery from substance use disorders 

(SUDs).2 Certification would be optional. 

The Board reports that individuals in recovery from SUDs 

benefit from mutual peer support and accountability in a 

recovery oriented environment. With recent increases in the 

demand for sober housing, the Board finds it necessary to 

increase effective recovery supports and reduce instances of 

unscrupulous management of recovery homes. Voluntary 

certification would provide a low-cost mechanism for bona 

fide recovery residences to signal their compliance with best 

practice standards. Houses that are certified would be added 

to a list of certified recovery residences that would be 

maintained by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Development Services (DBHDS) on its website. This list 

would be used as a resource by social workers, parole 

officers, and others working with individuals who are most 

likely to look for sober housing. 

Background. The 2019 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 220) adds 

a section to the Code of Virginia (§ 37.2-431.1 Certified 

recovery residences), which (i) prohibits anyone from 

representing that a recovery residence has been certified, 

unless it has actually been certified by DBHDS in accordance 

with regulations adopted by the Board, (ii) directs DBHDS to 

maintain a list of certified recovery residences on its website, 

and (iii) allows DBHDS to institute civil proceedings against 

anyone violating the provisions of this section. The law 

specifically allows the Board to promulgate regulations that 

may require accreditation or membership in a credentialing 

agency as a condition of certification.3 

The proposed regulation mirrors the law almost verbatim, 

except to specify that any person, nonprofit organization, or 

business entity seeking to operate a certified recovery 

residence must be credentialed by the Virginia Association of 

Recovery Residences (VARR) or Oxford House.4 DBHDS 

chose these two accrediting bodies because they were 

recognized by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services' Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 

Administration (SAMHSA) and explained other credentialing 

entities seeking to become active in Virginia could be eligible 

if they were to be recognized by SAMHSA as an effective 

recovery housing model. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DBHDS' cost of maintaining a 

list of certified recovery residences on its website is likely to 

be nominal. Individuals, nonprofits or businesses that operate 

recovery residences and seek credentialing with VARR must 

pay a $500 annual membership fee for the first house and an 

additional $50 per year for each additional house. Oxford 

House does not appear to charge a membership fee. 

The benefits of access to sober housing for individuals in 

recovery have been studied extensively and are well 

documented.5 The Oxford House model in particular has been 

evaluated rigorously and found to be cost-effective because 

they lower the likelihood of relapse and incarceration.6 Due to 

the opioid crisis, recovery housing has received renewed 

attention in a Surgeon General's report,7 and SAMHSA has 

developed a set of best practices for individuals or 

organizations wishing to start a recovery residence.8 

However, increased mainstream interest in recovery housing 

has also allowed unethical practices to proliferate, such as 

coercive treatment of residents and Medicaid fraud, 

increasing calls for oversight by state and local governments9 

and prompting the U.S. Government Accountability Office 

(GAO) to examine recovery housing.10 Because sober houses 

are financially self-sustaining by design, they generally fall 

outside the regulatory purview of state and local authorities. 

Individuals who end up in an abusive shared-housing 

situation face the same costs as any tenant faced with an 

abusive landlord or roommates but with the additional risk of 

jeopardizing their sobriety and losing their job or parole or 

other resources that were conditioned on their sobriety. 

Further, the central problem is lack of information: 

individuals looking for sober housing (and the caseworkers 

who might be helping them) need a reliable source of 

information indicating which houses are likely to be safe and 

legitimate recovery residences. This proposed regulation 

provides a solution to the lack of information by creating a 

voluntary certification that is sufficiently accessible to 

recovery residences and creates a network of houses meeting 

nationally recognized standards. Further, this certification and 

the information maintained by DBHDS would provide 

caseworkers and caregivers in outpatient settings who are 

working with individuals in recovery with an additional 

resource to offer their clients. To the extent that these efforts 

increase the availability of reliable information works as 

intended, these professionals, the clients they serve, and 

legitimate sober homes all stand to benefit. Houses that 

choose not to be certified can continue to provide sober 

housing, but their pool of clients and referrals may decrease 

as people seek to choose houses that are less likely to be run 

in an unscrupulous manner. 

Lastly, the proposed regulation does not explicitly state that 

certification would be voluntary and leaves a number of 

operational details to these credentialing entities. Once the 

regulation takes effect, any lack of clarity about the voluntary 

nature of the certification, the choice of credentialing entities, 

or actions taken by those credentialing entities could diminish 

the informational value of the certification, which would in 

turn limit the benefits described above. 
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation potentially affects recovery housing owners and 

operators, their residents, recovery organizations, law-

enforcement officials, parole or probation officers, courts, and 

community services boards. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed regulation does not 

appear to introduce new costs for local governments. 

Localities that currently have higher rates of SUD prevalence 

may be more likely to have recovery residences, but the 

proposed introduction of voluntary certification is likely to 

benefit them. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation is 

unlikely to affect total employment, except to the extent that 

individuals in recovery are able to maintain their sobriety and 

find employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation does not appear to directly affect real 

estate development costs. It is unclear what effect 

certification may have on the value of private property in 

neighborhoods that contain recovery houses. Some 

homeowners may not want homes in their neighborhood to be 

used as recovery residences because it may be perceived as 

"undesirable" and could drive down the value of their home. 

However, obtaining certification could allay such concerns 

and reduce the risk of the neighborhood actually experiencing 

any decline in house prices. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:13 The proposed 

regulation is unlikely to adversely impact small businesses, 

other than perhaps recovery residences that either chose to not 

obtain a certification or are unable to do so. 

____________________________________ 
2"Recovery residence" is defined in the proposed regulation as "a housing 

facility that provides alcohol-free and illicit-drug-free housing to individuals 
with substance abuse disorders and individuals with co-occurring mental 

illnesses and substance abuse disorders that does not include clinical 

treatment services." Since they are private, self-sustaining and do not provide 
any SUD treatment, they are ineligible for public funding, and hence 

generally operate without any public oversight. 

3"Credentialing entity" is defined as "a nonprofit organization that develops 
and administers professional certification programs according to nationally 

recognized recovery housing standards." 

4See https://www.oxfordhouse.org/userfiles/file/, 
https://narronline.org/about-us/, and http://www.varronline.org/ for 

information on Oxford Houses, the National Alliance of Recovery 

Residences, and the Virginia Association of Recovery Residences 

respectively. 

5For examples, see Polcin and Henderson, 2008 

(https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2556949/); Groh, Jason, 
Ferrari and Davis, 2009 

(https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2916198/); and Polcin et al, 

2010 (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3008818/). 

6See Lo Sasso et al, 2012 

(https://doi.org/10.1016/j.evalprogplan.2011.06.006). 

7See The Surgeon General's Report on Alcohol, Drugs, and Health, 2016 

(https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/surgeon-generals-
report.pdfpage 5-11) and Facing Addiction in America – The Surgeon 

General's Spotlight on Opioids, 2018 

(https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/OC_SpotlightOnOpio

ids.pdfpages 25-26). 

8See https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/housing-best-practices-

100819.pdf. 

9See https://www.governing.com/gov-institute/voices/col-regulation-sober-

living-homes-recovery-residences-need.html- need.html.  

10See https://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-18-315. 

11"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

12§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

13Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with Department of Planning and Budget's 

economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 220 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, this 

action establishes a new regulation for the certification of 

recovery residences and includes (i) the acceptable 

credentialing entities, (ii) a process for the maintenance of 

a list by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services of certified recovery houses, (iii) a 

requirement that an application contain proof of good 

standing from one of the specific credentialing entities in 

order for a recovery residence to be added to the list, and 

(iv) restrictions and the penalty for violations. 

CHAPTER 270 

CERTIFIED RECOVERY RESIDENCES 

12VAC35-270-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, except when the context 

clearly indicated otherwise:  

"Certification list" means the list of certified recovery 

residences maintained by DBHDS.  

"Certified recovery residence" means a recovery residence 

that has been certified by a credentialing entity and is on the 

certification list maintained by DBHDS. 

"Credentialing entity" means a nonprofit organization that 

develops and administers professional certification programs 

according to nationally recognized recovery housing 

standards. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

https://www.oxfordhouse.org/userfiles/file/
https://narronline.org/about-us/
http://www.varronline.org/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2556949/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2916198/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3008818/
https://doi.org/10.1016/j.evalprogplan.2011.06.006
https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/surgeon-generals-report.pdf
https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/surgeon-generals-report.pdf
https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/OC_SpotlightOnOpioids.pdf
https://addiction.surgeongeneral.gov/sites/default/files/OC_SpotlightOnOpioids.pdf
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/housing-best-practices-100819.pdf
https://www.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/housing-best-practices-100819.pdf
https://www.governing.com/gov-institute/voices/col-regulation-sober-living-homes-recovery-residences-need.html
https://www.governing.com/gov-institute/voices/col-regulation-sober-living-homes-recovery-residences-need.html
https://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-18-315
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"Recovery residence" means a housing facility that (i) 

provides alcohol-free and illicit-drug-free housing to 

individuals with substance abuse disorders and individuals 

with co-occurring mental illnesses and substance abuse 

disorders and (ii) does not include clinical treatment services.  

12VAC35-270-20. Recovery residence. 

Any person, nonprofit organization, or business entity 

seeking to operate a certified recovery residence under this 

chapter shall for each location (i) meet the qualifications, 

policies, and practices established by a credentialing entity 

and (ii) be certified or accredited by or hold a charter from 

one of the following credentialing entities: 

1. The Virginia Association of Recovery Residences; or 

2. Oxford House.  

12VAC35-270-30. List of certified recovery residences. 

A. DBHDS shall maintain a list of certified recovery 

residences on its website. 

B. A certified recovery residence seeking to be included on 

the certification list shall submit a completed application on a 

form provided by DBHDS. 

C. A certified recovery residence seeking to be included on 

the certification list shall provide evidence of accreditation or 

certification by, a charter from, or membership in a 

credentialing entity listed in 12VAC35-270-20.  

12VAC35-270-40. Restrictions and violations. 

A. No person shall advertise, represent, or otherwise imply 

to the public that a recovery residence or other housing 

facility is a certified recovery residence unless such recovery 

residence or other housing facility has been placed on the 

certification list by DBHDS in accordance with this chapter.  

B. Any recovery residence that fails to maintain 

accreditation or certification by, a charter from, or 

membership in a credentialing entity as required by this 

chapter shall be removed from the certification list. 

C. DBHDS may institute civil proceedings in the name of 

the Commonwealth to enjoin any person from violating the 

provisions of this chapter and to recover a civil penalty of at 

least $200 but no more than $1,000 for each violation. Such 

proceedings shall be brought in the general district or circuit 

court for the county or city in which the violation occurred or 

where the defendant resides. Civil penalties assessed under 

this section shall be paid into the Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services Trust Fund established in § 37.2-318 

of the Code of Virginia.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (12VAC35-270) 

Application for Inclusion on the DBHDS Recovery 

Residences Certification List, Office of Recovery Service 

Form (eff. 8/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6077; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (amending 

18VAC30-21-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 597-4130, or email audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology (18VAC30-20) are promulgated under 

the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to ease the path to 

licensure by endorsement for certain applicants who have met 

the current and restricted certification requirement but have 

less than 12 months of practice prior to application. These 

applicants are recent graduates in audiology or speech-

language pathology who became licensed in another state but 

are now relocating to Virginia. Since the applicants have 

completed their education and examination within the past 12 

months, it is not necessary to have active practice to ensure 

current competency for the health and safety of patients or 

clients in Virginia, and the board should be able to grant them 

a full license without requiring six months of provisional 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ef08006077~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ef08006077~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006077&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2ef08006077~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006077&mime=application/pdf
mailto:audbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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licensure. The amendments will have no negative impact on 

the public's health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board is amending the regulation to eliminate an unnecessary 

barrier to licensure by some recent graduates, so it is expected 

to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: 18VAC30-21-80 is amended to allow the board to 

grant licensure by endorsement for an applicant who 

graduated from an accredited program in audiology or 

speech-language pathology within 12 months immediately 

preceding application. Such applicant may be issued a license 

without evidence of active practice if the applicant holds a 

current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in 

the area in which the applicant seeks licensure issued by the 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology or 

any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this change is a less 

burdensome pathway to licensure for recent graduates who 

may want to locate their practice in Virginia. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages and 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (Board) 

proposes to permit the granting of licensure by endorsement 

for an applicant who graduated from an accredited program in 

audiology or speech-language pathology within 12 months 

immediately preceding application without evidence of active 

practice if the applicant holds either (1) a current and 

unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area in 

which he seeks licensure issued by the American Speech-

Language-Hearing Association or (2) a certification issued by 

the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting 

body recognized by the Board.  

Background. The Regulations Governing Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology require applicants for Virginia 

licensure in audiology or speech-language pathology who 

have been licensed in another United States jurisdiction to 

apply via the licensure by endorsement route. Under the 

current regulation, applicants for licensure by endorsement 

must, among other requirements, submit documentation of 

evidence of either a) active practice in another United States 

jurisdiction for at least one of the past three years, or b) 

practice for six months with a provisional license and provide 

evidence of a recommendation for licensure by the applicant's 

supervisor. This active practice requirement is designed to 

ensure current competency for the health and safety of 

patients or clients.2 Since the applicants affected by the 

proposed amendment would have completed their education 

and examination within the past 12 months, the Board does 

not believe the active practice requirement is necessary to 

ensure that these individuals have current competency. 

Additionally, the standard route to initial Virginia licensure 

contains no active practice requirement. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Under the current regulation, 

applicants for Virginia licensure as audiologists or speech-

language pathologists who are licensed in another United 

States jurisdiction and have graduated from an accredited 

program in audiology or speech-language pathology within 

12 months immediately preceding application would be 

required to spend six months in a provisional status under the 

supervision of a Virginia licensee prior to gaining Virginia 

licensure. The proposed amendment would affectively negate 

this requirement and permit such individuals to become fully 

licensed right away. This is clearly beneficial for the affected 

individuals in that their initial job opportunities and earnings 

are likely to be higher. Additionally, employers of 

audiologists and speech-language pathologists may gain a 

slightly larger pool of fully licensed applicants to choose 

from. There does not appear to be any cost associated with 

the proposed amendment. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects applicants for Virginia licensure as 

audiologists or speech-language pathologists who are licensed 

in another United States jurisdiction and have graduated from 

an accredited program in audiology or speech-language 

pathology within 12 months immediately preceding 

application, as well as their potential employers.3 The 

Department of Health Professions reports that it knows of 

fewer than 10 past applicants who would have been affected 

by the amendment. Thus the likely number of affected entities 

is small. The proposed amendment does not appear to impose 

costs. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendment applies 

statewide and does not disproportionately affect any 

particular locality. The proposed amendment does not appear 

to introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is not likely to substantially affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal may allow a few firms to employ audiologists or 

speech-language pathologists who are licensed in another 

United States jurisdiction and have graduated from an 

accredited program in audiology or speech-language 

pathology within 12 months without supervision. This may 

moderately reduce their costs, moderately increasing their net 

value. 

The proposed amendment does not affect real estate 

development costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:6 The proposed 

amendment does not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 
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2Source: Department of Health Professions 

3The Department of Health Professions licenses individual audiologists and 
speech-language pathologists, but not their employers. Consequently, the 

number of licensed individuals is available, but the number of employers is 

not. 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs with 

the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendment allows the Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology to grant licensure by 

endorsement to an applicant who graduated from an 

accredited program in audiology or speech-language 

pathology within the 12 months immediately preceding 

application. The applicant may be issued a license without 

evidence of active practice if the applicant holds a current 

and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the 

area in which the applicant seeks licensure issued by 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology or 

any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 

18VAC30-21-80. Qualifications for licensure by 

endorsement. 

An applicant for licensure in audiology or speech-language 

pathology who has been licensed in another United States 

jurisdiction shall apply for licensure in Virginia in accordance 

with application requirements in 18VAC30-21-50 and 

submission of documentation of: 

1. Ten continuing education hours for each year in which 

he the applicant has been licensed in the other jurisdiction, 

not to exceed 30 hours, or a current and unrestricted 

Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area in which he 

the applicant seeks licensure issued by ASHA or 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology 

or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 

Verification of currency shall be in the form of a certified 

letter from a recognized accrediting body issued within six 

months prior to filing an application for licensure;  

2. Passage of the qualifying examination from an 

accrediting body recognized by the board; 

3. Current status of licensure in any other United States 

jurisdiction showing that the license is current and 

unrestricted or, if lapsed, is eligible for reinstatement and 

that no disciplinary action is pending or unresolved. The 

board may deny a request for licensure to any applicant 

who has been determined to have committed an act in 

violation of 18VAC30-21-160; and 

4. Evidence of active practice in another United States 

jurisdiction for at least one of the past three years or 

practice for six months with a provisional license in 

accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 and by providing 

evidence of a recommendation for licensure by his the 

applicant's supervisor. An applicant who graduated from 

an accredited program in audiology or speech-language 

pathology within 12 months immediately preceding 

application may be issued a license without evidence of 

active practice if the applicant holds a current and 

unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence in the area 

in which the applicant seeks licensure issued by ASHA or 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology 

or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6086; Filed December 17, 2019, 6:03 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (amending 

18VAC30-21-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 597-4130, or email audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations Governing Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology (18VAC30-21) is promulgated under the 

general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of Audiology 

and Speech-Language Pathology the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. General 

authority for a continuing competency requirement for 

renewal of licensure is found in § 54.1-103 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the amendment is to increase access 

to continuing education (CE). To the extent audiologists or 

speech-language pathologists can more readily obtain CE at 

less cost to licensees, the public health and safety is better 

protected. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Adding 

another approved provider of continuing education benefits 

some licensees who receive in-service training from a health 

mailto:audbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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care organization accredited by DNV GL Healthcare, 

therefore such amendment is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: 18VAC30-21-100 is amended to add DNV GL 

Healthcare as a recognized accrediting body for health care 

organizations that are approved to provide CE for licensees. 

In addition, the name of the Joint Commission on 

Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations is amended to 

reflect a change in the name of that entity to "The Joint 

Commission." 

Issues: The primary advantage of this change is additional 

opportunities to obtain CE through employers of some 

licensees. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are 

no advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 

response to a petition for rulemaking, the Board of Audiology 

and Speech-Language Pathology (Board) proposes to 

establish that health care organizations accredited by DNV 

GL Healthcare are approved sources of continuing education. 

Background. Regulations Governing Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology (Regulation) require that in order to 

renew an active license, a licensee shall complete at least 10 

contact hours of continuing education prior to the renewal 

date each year. The current regulation specifies that the 

continuing education must be activities, programs, or courses 

related to audiology or speech-language pathology, depending 

on the license held, and offered or approved by one of the 

following accredited sponsors or organizations sanctioned by 

the profession: 

1. The Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 

or a similar state speech-language-hearing association of 

another state; 

2. The American Academy of Audiology; 

3. The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; 

4. The Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association offering 

Category I continuing medical education; 

5. Local, state, or federal government agencies; 

6. Colleges and universities; 

7. International Association of Continuing Education and 

Training; or 

8. Health care organizations accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations. 

The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations has changed its name to The Joint 

Commission. The Board proposes to amend that entity's name 

in the regulation to reflect that change. Also, the Board 

proposes to state in the regulation that health care 

organizations accredited by DNV GL Healthcare are also 

approved sources of continuing education. 

Starting in 2008, the federal Department of Health and 

Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS) has granted accreditation deeming authority 

to DNV GL Healthcare as an option to accreditation by The 

Joint Commission for participation in Medicare. On February 

26, 2019, a petition for rulemaking2 was submitted to the 

Board to "recognize health care organizations accredited by 

DNV-GL Healthcare for approval of continuing education." 

Twenty-two hospital systems nationally, including the 

Riverside and Sentara health systems in Virginia, are now 

accredited by DNV GL rather than The Joint Commission.3 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. To the extent that accreditation 

from DNV GL signifies as much competence to provide 

quality continuing education pertaining to audiologists and 

speech-language pathologists as does accreditation from The 

Joint Commission, the proposed amendment appears to be 

beneficial. Audiologists and speech language pathologists 

would have additional sources of quality continuing 

education available. This would be particularly convenient, 

and perhaps lower cost, for licensees who are employees of a 

health care organization accredited by DNV GL. Such 

individuals could potentially newly have training provided by 

their employer qualify for continuing education. If these 

licensees would otherwise have obtained these hours of 

continuing education from other sources, these other sources 

may encounter reduced demand for their services, potentially 

resulting in reduced revenue. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect the 542 licensed audiologists 

and 4,351 licensed speech-language pathologists in the 

Commonwealth, and their employers.4 Licensees who are 

employees of a health care organization accredited by DNV 

GL would be particularly affected. There are two health care 

organizations accredited by DNV GL in Virginia. Providers 

of continuing education to audiologists and speech-language 

pathologists would also potentially be affected. Data for the 

number of providers of continuing education to audiologists 

and speech-language pathologists is not available.5 The 

proposal would not increase implementation or compliance 

costs. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments apply 

statewide. Employees of health care organizations accredited 

by DNV GL would be particularly affected. The two Virginia 

health care organizations currently accredited by DNV GL 

have locations in the Cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, 

Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, 

Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg and the Counties of 

Accomack, Essex, Gloucester, Hanover, Isle of Wight, King 

William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, 
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Northampton, Northumberland, Richmond, Sussex, and York. 

The proposed amendments do not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are not likely to substantially affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to establish that health care organizations accredited 

by DNV GL Healthcare are approved sources of continuing 

education would likely increase the number of sources of 

qualifying continuing education for audiologists and speech-

language pathologists, potentially reducing the cost of 

obtaining such continuing education. To the extent that these 

costs are incurred or partially incurred by firms that employ 

audiologists and speech-language pathologists, this may 

moderately increase the net value of such firms. 

The proposal may also result in some private providers of 

continuing education facing additional competition for their 

services, potentially moderately reducing revenue. This may 

moderately reduce the net value of such continuing education 

providers.  

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:8 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposal to establish that health care organizations 

accredited by DNV GL Healthcare are approved sources of 

continuing education potentially may moderately reduce 

demand for services from some small providers of continuing 

education to audiologists and speech-language pathologists. 

Data is not available to estimate the number of such small 

businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 

increase costs. Some small providers of continuing education 

may encounter reduced demand for their services and 

consequently reduced revenue. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposal to establish that health care organizations accredited 

by DNV GL Healthcare are approved sources of continuing 

education creates benefit for licensed audiologists and 

licensed speech-language pathologists. The benefit cannot be 

achieved without the resulting potential loss of business for 

some small continuing education providers. 

________________________ 

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=293 

3Source: Department of Health Professions 

4The Department of Health Professions licenses individual audiologists and 

speech-language pathologists, but not their employers. Consequently, the 
number of licensed individuals is available, but the number of employers is 

not. 

5The Department of Health Professions does not license providers of 

continuing education and thus does not collect associated data. 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

7 § 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: While the 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology concurs 

with the analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget 

on amendment to 18VAC30-21, Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, the board 

strongly disagrees with the determination that the action 

needs to be referred to the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules (JCAR). The economic impact analysis 

acknowledges that the proposed action provides additional, 

less costly opportunities for licensees of the board to obtain 

continuing education. The board has adopted a less 

restrictive, less burdensome regulation, so the referral to 

JCAR is unwarranted. 

Summary:  

The amendment adds DNV GL Healthcare as a recognized 

accrediting body for health care organizations that are 

approved to provide continuing education for licensees. 

The amendment is in response to a petition for rulemaking. 

18VAC30-21-100. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. In order to renew an active license, a licensee shall 

complete at least 10 contact hours of continuing education 

prior to the renewal date each year. Up to 10 contact hours of 

continuing education in excess of the number required for 

renewal may be transferred or credited to the next renewal 

year. One hour of the 10 hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic.  

B. Continuing education shall be activities, programs, or 

courses related to audiology or speech-language pathology, 

depending on the license held, and offered or approved by 

one of the following accredited sponsors or organizations 

sanctioned by the profession:  

1. The Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 

or a similar state speech-language-hearing association of 

another state;  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=293
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2. The American Academy of Audiology;  

3. The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;  

4. The Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education of the American Medical Association offering 

Category I continuing medical education;  

5. Local, state, or federal government agencies;  

6. Colleges and universities;  

7. International Association of Continuing Education and 

Training; or  

8. Health care organizations accredited by the The Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 

or DNV GL Healthcare.  

C. If the licensee is dually licensed by this board as an 

audiologist and speech-language pathologist, a total of no 

more than 15 hours of continuing education are required for 

renewal of both licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact hours 

in each profession.  

D. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure in Virginia under 18VAC30-21-60.  

E. The licensee shall retain all continuing education 

documentation for a period of three years following the 

renewal of an active license. Documentation from the sponsor 

or organization shall include the title of the course, the name 

of the sponsoring organization, the date of the course, and the 

number of hours credited.  

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for 

continuing education requirements, for up to one year, for 

good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee 

prior to the renewal date of each year. 

G. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the 

licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

H. The board shall periodically conduct an audit for 

compliance with continuing education requirements. 

Licensees selected for an audit conducted by the board shall 

complete the Continuing Education Form and provide all 

supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving 

notification of the audit.  

I. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the 

licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6107; Filed December 17, 2019, 6:02 p.m.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants (amending 18VAC60-30-

60, 18VAC60-30-120; adding 18VAC60-30-116).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 28, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, or email 

sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of Dentistry the 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system. Specific authority for regulation of the 

profession of dental assisting is found in § 54.1-2729.01 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action amends the 

educational requirements to become a dental assistant II 

(DAII) from a program based on completion of required 

hours to a competency-based program based on satisfactory 

completion of didactic coursework and clinical experiences. 

The expanded duties permitted for practice by a DAII in 

Virginia are outside the scope of practice for dental assistants 

in most other states. However, the current qualifications for a 

DAII appear to be more burdensome and costly than most 

dental assistants can afford. Therefore, the board is proposing 

to modify the qualifications to a competency-based model 

that would allow a well-trained assistant to complete the 

coursework and clinical training in fewer hours. To ensure 

some standardization in the determination of competency by 

supervising dentists, the dentists will be required to undergo a 

calibration of the procedures in which they are training. The 

combination of didactic hours, competency determination in 

specific procedures, and both written and clinical examination 

should provide evidence of competency to protect the public 

health and safety. 

Substance: Following recommendations from the Regulatory 

Advisory Panel, the board amended the educational 

requirements to become a dental assistant II from a program 

based on completion of required hours to a competency-based 

program based on satisfactory completion of didactic 

coursework and clinical experiences. 

A new section (18VAC60-30-116) specifies the requirements 

for educational programs training people for registration as 

mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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dental assistants II to include requirements for the programs 

(i) to be accredited by the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation of the American Dental Association; (ii) to 

have a program coordinator who is registered in Virginia as a 

dental assistant II or licensed in Virginia as a dental hygienist 

or dentist; (iii) to have a clinical practice advisor who is a 

licensed dentist in Virginia; (iv) to have a registered dental 

assistant II who assists in teaching the laboratory training 

component of the program with a minimum of two years of 

experience in performing clinical dental assisting; and (v) to 

have a participation agreement with any dentist who has 

successfully completed a calibration exercise on evaluating 

the clinical skills of a student and who agrees to supervise 

clinical experience.  

The clinical experience component with live patients must be 

under the direct and immediate supervision of a licensed 

dentist who is responsible for the performance of duties by 

the student. The dentist has to attest to successful completion 

of the clinical competencies and restorative experiences. 

18VAC60-30-120 is amended to delete a certain number of 

hours in the didactic portion to a competency-based program 

that includes basic histology, understanding of the 

periodontium and temporal mandibular joint, pulp tissue and 

nerve innervation, occlusion and function, muscles of 

mastication, and any other item related to the restorative 

dental process. A written examination is required at the 

conclusion of didactic coursework. 

The laboratory training hours are also reduced but specified to 

be completed on a manikin simulator to competency. Clinical 

experience applying the techniques learned in the preclinical 

coursework and laboratory training may be completed in a 

dental office on a live patient in the three modules with 

specified components. A clinical competency exam is also 

required. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the possibility 

of more access to affordable dental care through greater 

utilization of expanded duty dental assistant. If dental 

assistants are appropriately trained in the laboratory on a 

manikin simulator and then have clinical experience with a 

calibrated dentist, there should be no disadvantages to the 

changes. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry proposes to amend the educational 

requirements to become a dental assistant II from a program 

based on completion of required hours to a competency-based 

program. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. "Dental assistant I" is defined in 

the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Assistants 

as any unlicensed person under the direction of a dentist or a 

dental hygienist who renders assistance for services provided 

to the patient as authorized under this regulation but shall not 

include an individual serving in purely an administrative, 

secretarial, or clerical capacity. Individuals who become 

qualified and are registered as a dental assistant II may, under 

the direction and direct supervision of a dentist, perform 

intraoral procedures that are not permitted for a dental 

assistant I. Those intraoral procedures are: 1) performing pulp 

capping procedures, 2) packing and carving of amalgam 

restorations, 3) placing and shaping composite resin 

restorations with a slow speed handpiece, 4) taking final 

impressions, 5) use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord, and 

6) final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment 

and fitting by the dentist.  

Registration of dental assistants II became effective in 2011, 

yet only 26 persons are currently registered as a dental 

assistant II.2 For several years, the Board has discussed the 

need to re-examine the requirements to determine whether 

they could be made less burdensome. In this action, the Board 

proposes amendments in order to reduce the burden of 

becoming a dental assistant II in order to encourage more 

participation, while ensuring that registrants are qualified to 

provide the associated services. 

Under both the current and proposed regulations, there are 

three types of required training: 1) didactic course work, 2) 

laboratory training, and 3) clinical experience. The current 

regulation requires at least 50 hours of didactic course work 

on dental anatomy and operative dentistry. The proposed 

regulation does not specify number of hours; instead, topics 

to be covered within dental anatomy and operative dentistry 

are listed. Education programs may cover these topics in 

significantly fewer than 50 hours. 

There are three separate modules within laboratory training 

for both the current and proposed regulations. The Board 

proposes greatly reduced minimum number of hours for all 

three modules, while adding specific demonstrations of 

competency on a manikin in each module.3 Clinical 

experience has the same three modules. The Board again 

proposes greatly reduced minimum number of hours for all 

three modules. Here the Board proposes to add specific 

demonstrations of competency on a live patient for each 

module.4 In this way, students who are quick learners or who 

come into the program with some relevant skills may 

complete laboratory training and clinical experience much 

more quickly and potentially at lower cost. 

There is currently only one active dental assistant II program 

in the Commonwealth, which is at Germanna Community 
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College. Under the requirements of the current regulation, 

there are four courses with the following costs: 

Oral Anatomy and Operative Dentistry $750.00 

Module 1: Amalgam Restorations: Placing, 

Packing, Carving, & Polishing (includes lab 

& clinical) 

$491.25 

Module 2: Composite Resin Restorations: 

Placing & Shaping  

(includes lab & clinical) 

$491.25 

Module 3: Indirect Restoration Techniques 

(includes lab & clinical) 

$491.25 

Oral Anatomy and Operative Dentistry is mandatory for all 

students. Students can choose between taking one or two of 

the modules, or all three. Once registered, they would only be 

permitted to perform procedures in the modules that they 

have successfully completed and demonstrated competency.  

According to DHP, Germanna and other educational 

institutions that have indicated interest in starting a dental 

assistant II program have indicated that they could offer the 

program at lower cost than under the proposed regulation. 

Demonstrations of competency would likely produce at least 

as much assurance of patient safety as greater required hours 

of training without such specific demonstrations of 

competency. Thus, the proposed amendments would likely 

produce net benefits for the Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the one community college that currently 

has a dental assistant II program (Germanna Community 

College), and other educational institutions that may wish to 

establish dental assistant II programs. According to DHP, 

Fortis College, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, 

and ECPI University have all expressed interest. The 

proposed amendments also potentially affect the 3,260 dental 

offices5 in the Commonwealth, as well as dental assistants 

and other staff in those offices.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

may encourage more individuals to seek to become trained 

and employed as a dental assistant II. This potential increase 

in demand may lead to the establishment of dental assistant II 

education programs, with commensurate increase in 

employed staff. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

___________________________ 

2Source: Department of Health Professions 

3See 18VAC60-30-120 B 3 in the proposed regulation for the specific 

changes: https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewXML.cfm?textid=13137 

4See 18VAC60-30-120 B 4 in the proposed regulation for the specific 

changes: https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewXML.cfm?textid=13137 

5Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The proposed action changes the qualifications for 

registration as a dental assistant II from a program of 

completion of required hours to a competency-based 

program of didactic coursework and clinical experience. 

18VAC60-30-60. Delegation to dental assistants II. 

The following duties Duties may only be delegated under 

the direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II who has completed the coursework, corresponding 

module of laboratory training, corresponding module of 

clinical experience, and examinations specified in 18VAC60-

30-120:. 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewXML.cfm?textid=13137
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewXML.cfm?textid=13137
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5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment 

and fitting by the dentist. 

18VAC60-30-116. Requirements for educational 

programs. 

In order to train persons for registration as a dental assistant 

II, an educational program shall meet the following 

requirements: 

1. The program shall be provided by an educational 

institution that maintains a program accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 

Dental Association. 

2. The program shall have a program coordinator who is 

registered in Virginia as a dental assistant II or is licensed 

in Virginia as a dental hygienist or dentist. The program 

coordinator shall have administrative responsibility and 

accountability for operation of the program. 

3. The program shall have a clinical practice advisor who 

is a licensed dentist in Virginia and who may also serve as 

the program coordinator. The clinical practice advisor shall 

assist in the laboratory training component of the program 

and conduct the program's calibration exercise for dentists 

who supervise the student's clinical experience.  

4. A dental assistant II, registered in Virginia, who assists 

in teaching the laboratory training component of the 

program shall have a minimum of two years of clinical 

experience in performing duties delegable to a dental 

assistant II. 

5. The program shall enter into a participation agreement 

with any dentist who agrees to supervise clinical 

experience. The dentist shall successfully complete the 

program's calibration exercise on evaluating the clinical 

skills of a student. The dentist supervisor may be the 

employer of the student.  

6. Each program shall enroll practice sites for clinical 

experience, which may be a dental office, a nonprofit 

dental clinic, or an educational institution clinic. 

7. All treatment of patients shall be under the immediate 

supervision of a licensed dentist who is responsible for the 

performance of duties by the student. The dentist shall 

attest to the successful completion of the clinical 

competencies and restorative experiences. 

18VAC60-30-120. Educational requirements for dental 

assistants II. 

A. A prerequisite for entry into an educational program 

preparing a person for registration as a dental assistant II shall 

be current certification as a Certified Dental Assistant (CDA) 

conferred by the Dental Assisting National Board. 

B. To be registered as a dental assistant II, a person shall 

complete the following requirements a competency-based 

program from an educational institution that maintains 

a program in dental assisting, dental hygiene or 

dentistry accredited by CODA meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-30-116 and includes all of the following: 

1. At least 50 hours of didactic course work Didactic 

coursework in dental anatomy and operative dentistry that 

may be completed online that includes basic histology, 

understanding of the periodontium and temporal 

mandibular joint, pulp tissue and nerve innervation, 

occlusion and function, muscles of mastication, and any 

other item related to the restorative dental process. 

2. Didactic coursework in operative dentistry to include 

materials used in direct and indirect restorative techniques, 

economy of motion, fulcrum techniques, tooth 

preparations, etch and bonding techniques and systems, 

and luting agents. 

3. Laboratory training that may to be completed in the 

following modules with no more than 20% of the specified 

instruction to be completed as homework in a dental office: 

a. At least 40 No less than 15 hours of placing, packing, 

carving, and polishing of amalgam restorations, 

placement of a non-epinephrine retraction cord, and pulp 

capping procedures and no less than six class I and six 

class II restorations completed on a manikin simulator to 

competency; 

b. At least 60 No less than 40 hours of placing and 

shaping composite resin restorations, placement of a non-

epinephrine retraction cord, and pulp capping 

procedures,and no less than 12 class I, 12 class II, five 

class III, five class IV, and five class V restorations 

completed on a manikin simulator to competency; and 

c. At least 20 10 hours of taking making final 

impressions and use, placement of a non-epinephrine 

retraction cord; and, final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after preparation, and adjustment and fitting by 

the dentist, and no less than four crown impressions, two 

placements of retraction cord, five crown cementations, 

and two bridge cementations on a manikin simulator to 

competency. 

d. At least 30 hours of final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

3. 4. Clinical experience applying the techniques learned in 

the preclinical coursework and laboratory training that may 

be completed in a dental office, in the following modules: 

a. At least 80 30 hours of placing, packing, carving, and 

polishing of amalgam restorations, placement of a non-

epinephrine retraction cord, and no less than six class I 

and six class II restorations completed on a live patient to 

competency; 
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b. At least 120 60 hours of placing and shaping 

composite resin restorations, placement of a non-

epinephrine retraction cord, and no less than six class I, 

six class II, five class III, three class IV, and five class V 

restorations completed on a live patient to competency; 

and 

c. At least 40 30 hours of taking making final 

impressions and use; placement of a non-epinephrine 

retraction cord; and final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after preparation, adjustment, and fitting by the 

dentist; and no less than four crown impressions, two 

placements of retraction cord, five crown cementations, 

and two bridge cementations on a live patient to 

competency. 

d. At least 60 hours of final cementation of crowns and 

bridges after adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

4. 5. Successful completion of the following competency 

examinations given by the accredited educational programs: 

a. A written examination at the conclusion of the 50 

hours of didactic coursework; and 

b. A practical examination at the conclusion of each 

module of laboratory training; and 

c. A comprehensive written examination at the 

conclusion of all required coursework, training, and 

experience for each of the corresponding modules 

clinical competency exam. 

C. All treatment of patients shall be under the direct and 

immediate supervision of a licensed dentist who is 

responsible for the performance of duties by the student. The 

dentist shall attest to successful completion of the clinical 

competencies and restorative experiences. An applicant may 

be registered as a dental assistant II with specified 

competencies set forth in subdivision a, b, or c of 

subdivisions B 3 and B 4 of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5287; Filed December 17, 2019, 4:35 p.m.  

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-10, 18VAC65-20-50, 18VAC65-20-60, 

18VAC65-20-70, 18VAC65-20-130, 18VAC65-20-151, 

18VAC65-20-152, 18VAC65-20-153, 18VAC65-20-154, 

18VAC65-20-170, 18VAC65-20-171, 18VAC65-20-240, 

18VAC65-20-400, 18VAC65-20-435, 18VAC65-20-436, 

18VAC65-20-440, 18VAC65-20-500, 18VAC65-20-510, 

18VAC65-20-580, 18VAC65-20-700).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

January 14, 2020 - 10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Board Room 4, Henrico, Virginia.  

March 10, 2020 - 9:45 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Suite 201, Training Room 2, Henrico, Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmersare promulgated under the general authority of 

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

board with authority to promulgate regulations to administer 

the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2803 of the Code of 

Virginia provides the specific powers and duties of board.  

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to provide 

clear, enforceable provisions. Both the licensees and the 

public need clarity on these matters so that public health and 

safety is not jeopardized. 

Substance: The board is amending its regulations governing 

the practice of funeral services by clarifying certain 

provisions, updating provisions, and strengthening rules for 

surface transportation and removal and courtesy cards. 

Changes include a new definition for "affiliation" of a branch 

to the main establishment, an allowance for newly licensed 

persons to be exempt from continuing education for the first 

renewal, an allowance for a funeral establishment 

experiencing an emergency to utilize the building in another 

establishment until restoration, a requirement for a registered 

surface transportation and removal service to hold liability 

insurance, an allowance for a crematory to test operation of a 

retort before it is registered, and establishment of grounds for 

disciplinary action in the case of an inappropriate sexual 

relationship between a supervisor and funeral intern. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments to the 

public is assurance of proper care of the human remains of 

loved ones and retention of important documents in event of a 

change of ownership. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. The only advantage to the Commonwealth is more 

clarity in regulation, which will assist the board in 

interpretation of the law. There are no disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 

mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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to amend 18VAC65-20 Regulations of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers in order to implement the results of 

a periodic review. Accordingly, the Board proposes to make a 

number of changes to the regulation, the majority of which 

serve to clarify or update existing requirements. Examples of 

such changes include: allowing the board to send renewal 

notices electronically, defining "affiliation" as it applies to 

branches or chapels that may be affiliated with a funeral 

home, moving information on renewal fees and late fees from 

the text to the table that contains the overall fee structure that 

is in the current regulation, and adding "inappropriate sexual 

contact" between a supervisor and an intern to the list of 

practices that are considered unprofessional conduct. The 

following section summarizes the more substantive changes. 

Background. The proposed amendments were developed as 

part of a periodic review completed in 2018, and thus affect 

almost all aspects of service provision. The most substantive 

changes are briefly summarized below: 

1. Providers of Surface Transport and Removal (ST&R) 

services would be required to inform the Board within 14 

days (rather than 30) if the manager of record has 

changed. This would make the requirements consistent 

with the requirements for managers of record at funeral 

establishments and crematories (18VAC65-20-60 

Accuracy of information). 

2. Providers of ST&R services would be required to 

provide proof of bonding or liability insurance coverage 

related to the operation of the service (18VAC65-20-400 

Registration of surface transportation and removal 

services). 

3. Courtesy card holders would be explicitly prohibited 

from "establishing or engaging generally in the business 

of funeral directing and embalming in Virginia" 

(18VAC65-20-440 Courtesy Cards). The courtesy card is 

intended to allow limited practice (removal, arranging, 

embalming) in occasional circumstances, but not general 

practice in Virginia. Such circumstances typically arise 

when a death occurs in Virginia but the family of the 

deceased is in another state and wishes to hire funeral 

director who is familiar to them from that state. 

4. In order to renew a courtesy card, the courtesy card 

holder would be required to provide evidence of an 

active and unrestricted license for funeral service, funeral 

directing, or embalming from the licensing authorities in 

the state in which they practice (18VAC65-20-130 

Renewal of license; registration). While these 

requirements are already in place for first-time courtesy 

card applicants, renewal applicants are currently only 

required to submit a form and a fee.  

5. Licensees applying for their first renewal would now 

be exempt from the continuing education requirements 

(18VAC65-20-151 Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license). 

6. In the event of an emergency that prevents the use of a 

funeral establishment the impacted service providers may 

receive approval from the Board to continue to operate 

out of another licensed funeral establishment for up to 60 

days, with a 30-day extension if they show good cause 

(18VAC65-20-170 Requirements for an establishment 

license). Although the Board previously allowed this as a 

hardship waiver, the proposed addition of this provision 

to the regulations would allow small or independent 

funeral homes that don't have branches or affiliates to 

plan for contingencies that might require evacuating the 

establishment for an extended period of time.  

7. Applicants for funeral service licensure by 

examination were previously required to submit an 

application package at least 30 days prior to the date of a 

state examination, and could have provided unofficial 

mortuary school transcripts in their applications. 

However, the state examination is now computerized, so 

the proposed amendment would remove the 30-day 

requirement and specifically require official transcripts 

(18VAC65-20-240 Requirements for funeral service 

licensure by examination). 

8. In instances where the funeral establishment is sold, 

and when transferred documents include preneed 

contracts, the new owner would be required to retain and 

maintain those documents in accordance with the 

existing regulations that currently apply to price lists, 

itemized statements, and embalming reports (18VAC65-

20-700 Retention of Documents). 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. In general, the proposed 

amendments add clarity to a number of current requirements, 

which is likely to benefit regulants and consumers. According 

to the Department of Health Professions, items 1 and 2 

relating to ST&R services have been promulgated in response 

to specific incidents that had been reported to the Board 

where customers have been "left high and dry" without a 

registered ST&R provider and/or suffered delays. Requiring 

ST&R businesses to report updated information regarding the 

manager of record may help the Board respond to such 

situations in a timely manner.  

However, greater consumer protection also incurs certain 

costs. For any ST&R service providers that may have found it 

profitable to operate without liability insurance, the proposed 

requirement is clearly costly. Such firms may be able to 

absorb the costs, pass them on to customers, or may have to 

exit the industry depending on their size, the competition they 

face, and whether or not they already have liability insurance. 

Smaller providers that find it prohibitively expensive to 

acquire liability insurance may also have been less likely to 

implement all of the necessary safety precautions for 

transporting human remains. On the other hand, providers 
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who newly acquire liability insurance as a result of this 

proposal and remain in business may pass along their 

additional costs to their customers. Hence, consumers may 

face a mix of costs and benefits depending on the providers in 

their local market.  

Although obtaining liability insurance could impose a cost to 

ST&R services as discussed, it appears that most funeral 

establishments already require evidence of liability insurance 

when contracting with ST&R service providers. The 

Department of Planning and Budget contacted two small, 

family-owned Virginia licensed ST&R companies during its 

review. Both companies stated that they currently maintain 

liability insurance, and that it is required by the funeral homes 

that they work with. To the extent that surviving individuals 

or families directly contract with ST&R companies, it is 

possible that they did not inquire about or require liability 

insurance. The proposal to require liability insurance may 

thus be beneficial for such individuals or families.  

Items 3 and 4 relating to courtesy card holders could 

potentially limit operations in the state by those without a 

Virginia license, to the extent that courtesy card holders were 

previously operating with a lapsed or restricted license, or 

exceeding the privileges afforded to them by the card. At the 

same time, items 5 and 7, related to first-time license 

applicants and first-time renewals respectively, make the 

requirements more flexible, thereby marginally benefiting 

individuals wishing to obtain a Virginia license. This is likely 

to benefit current (1,463) and future funeral service licensees 

and the customers they serve. 

Items 6 and 8 potentially benefit small and independent 

funeral establishments, including crematoriums. Larger 

funeral service providers with multiple branches and facilities 

may have been able to respond to a flood or fire by relocating 

any remains and scheduled funerals within their service 

network at fairly short notice. However, smaller 

establishments with a single location would normally stand to 

lose business to a competitor. The ability to plan for such 

emergencies and contract with other establishments to use 

their facility enables the independent facilities to keep their 

customers and honor their contracts. Similarly, the provision 

that the new owners of a funeral services business maintain 

preneed contracts could be used to encourage individuals and 

families to enter into preneed contracts with small 

independent funeral homes without worrying about whether 

those establishments will still be in business when their 

services become necessary. This in turn could benefit the 

smaller providers by allowing them to "lock in" some future 

demand for their services.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect 420 licensed funeral establishments and 

79 licensed branch establishments, 110 courtesy card holders 

who are licensed in another jurisdiction, 44 registered ST&R 

services, 115 registered crematories, and 1,463 funeral 

service licensees with current active licenses. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular, assuming all localities have at 

least one funeral services establishment. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry. Even 

if some businesses may face new costs, the demand for 

funeral services as a whole is unlikely to respond to a 

marginal change in prices, which insulates workers in the 

funeral services industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The value 

of small, independent funeral establishments could potentially 

increase if the proposed changes have the effect of 

encouraging planning for emergencies and preneed contracts. 

The proposal to require liability insurance for ST&R 

companies may reduce the value of any such firms that did 

not already have liability insurance. Real estate development 

costs are not affected. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:4  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments affect 420 licensed funeral 

establishments and 79 licensed branch establishments, 44 

registered ST&R services and 115 registered crematories. 

However, the Board has no estimate of the number of small 

businesses affected. It is likely that most individual 

establishments and branch establishments would meet the 

criteria to be a small business. However, some of these 

establishments may be owned by large national companies.  

Costs and Other Effects. ST&R companies that are small 

businesses and did not previously have liability insurance 

could be adversely affected by the new requirement but only 

to the extent that they are unable to pass on these costs to 

their customers.  

Small independent funeral establishments stand to potentially 

benefit from proposed provisions that encourage emergency 

planning and signing preneed contracts. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There is 

no alternative that would meet policy goals and have lower 

adverse impact.  

______________________________ 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

Analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify and update provisions 

and include (i) a new definition for "affiliation" of a 

branch to the main establishment, (ii) an allowance for 

newly licensed persons to be exempt from continuing 

education for the first renewal, (iii) an allowance for a 

funeral establishment experiencing an emergency to utilize 

the building in another establishment until restoration, (iv) 

a requirement for a registered surface transportation and 

removal service to hold liability insurance, (v) an 

allowance for a crematory to test operation of a retort 

before it is registered, and (vi) establishment of grounds 

for disciplinary action in the case of an inappropriate 

sexual relationship between a supervisor and funeral 

intern. 

CHAPTER 20  

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PRACTICE OF THE 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS 

SERVICES  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC65-20-10. Definitions. 

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

definitions ascribed in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 

in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 

Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 

chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliation" or "affiliated" means a relationship involving a 

degree of common or subsidiary ownership between two 

establishments or entities.  

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 

that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 

conforms with the requirements of § 54.1-2811 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 

that grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in 

the Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 

funeral directors, and embalmers. 

"Cremation container" means a container in which human 

remains are transported to the crematory and placed in the 

retort for cremation. 

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 

composition container or a container of other material, which 

is designed for encasing cremated ashes. 

"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 

means any container that is designed for encasement of an 

inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 

as a cremation box. 

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission. 

"Manager of record" means a funeral service licensee or 

licensed funeral director who is responsible for the direct 

supervision and management of a funeral service 

establishment or branch facility. 

18VAC65-20-50. Posting of license.  

A. Each licensee shall post an original or photocopy of his 

license in a place conspicuous to consumers of funeral 

services in each establishment or branch where he is 

employed practices.  

B. The establishment license shall be posted in a place 

conspicuous to consumers of funeral services.  

18VAC65-20-60. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes in the address of record or the public 

address, if different from the address of record, or in the name 

of a licensee or registrant shall be furnished to the board 

within 30 days after the change occurs.  

B. Any change in ownership or manager of record for an 

establishment or crematory shall be reported to the board 

within 14 days of the change. 

C. A surface transportation and removal service shall notify 

the board within 30 14 days of any change in the name of the 

manager on of record with the board.  

D. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be 

mailed provided by the board to any registrant or licensee 

shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address of 

record on file with the board and shall not relieve the 

licensee, funeral service intern, establishment, crematory, or 

firm of obligation to comply. Renewal notices may be mailed 

or sent electronically by the board. 

18VAC65-20-70. Required fees.  

A. The following fees shall apply for initial licensure or 

registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or 

as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$325 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $600 

  3. Surface transportation and removal 

service registration 

$325 

  4. Courtesy card $325 

  5. Crematory $250 

  6. Waiver of full-time manager 

requirement 

$150 
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 B. The following fees shall apply for renewal of licensure 

or registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or 

as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$225 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $400 

  3. Surface transportation and removal 

service registration 

$300 

  4. Courtesy card $300 

  5. Crematory $200 

  6. Waiver of full-time manager 

requirement 

$100 

  7. Inactive funeral service, funeral 

director, or embalmer license 

$115 

C. The following fees shall apply for late renewal of 

licensure or registration up to one year following expiration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or 

as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$75 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $135 

  3. Surface transportation and removal 

service registration 

$100 

  4. Courtesy card $100 

  5. Crematory $75 

  6. Waiver of full-time manager 

requirement 

$35 

  7. Inactive funeral service, funeral 

director, or embalmer license 

$40 

D. The following fees shall apply for reinstatement of 

licensure or registration:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or 

as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$400 

  2. Establishment license $635 

  3. Surface transportation and removal 

service registration 

$425 

  4. Courtesy card $425 

  5. Crematory $275 

  6. Reinstatement following suspension $1,000 

  7. Reinstatement following revocation $2,000 

E. Other fees.  

  1. Change of manager or establishment 

name 

$100 

  2. Verification of license or registration 

to another state 

$50  

  3. Duplicate license, registration, or 

courtesy card 

$25 

  4. Duplicate wall certificates $60 

  5. Change of ownership $100 

  6. Nonroutine reinspection (i.e., 

structural change to preparation room, 

change of location or ownership) 

$400 

F. Fees for approval of continuing education providers.  

  1. Application or renewal for continuing 

education provider 

$400 

  2. Late renewal of continuing education 

provider approval 

$100 

  3. Review of additional courses not 

included on initial or renewal 

application (per application for review 

of additional courses not per individual 

course) 

$300 

G. For each renewal in the two years after January 14, 2015, 

the following shortfall reduction fee shall be assessed:  

  1. License to practice funeral service or 

as a funeral director or an embalmer 

$40 

  2. Funeral service establishment license $75 

  3. Surface transportation and removal 

service registration 

$60 

  4. Courtesy card $60 

  5. Crematory 

6. Continuing education provider 

$40 

$75  

18VAC65-20-130. Renewal of license; registration.  

A. A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card holder, 

or surface transportation and removal service that desires to 

renew its license or registration for the next year shall, not 

later than the expiration date as provided in 18VAC65-20-

120, submit the renewal form and applicable fee.  

1. In order to renew an active funeral service, funeral 

director, or embalmer license, a licensee shall be required 

to comply with continuing competency requirements set 

forth in 18VAC65-20-151.  

2. The board shall not renew a license for any licensee who 

fails to attest to compliance with continuing competency 

requirements on the renewal form. 

3. In order to renew a courtesy card, the courtesy card 

holder shall provide documentation of current, unrestricted 

licensure for funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming from the licensing authority in the states in 

which the courtesy card holder is licensed to practice. 
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B. A person who or entity that desires to renew an expired 

license for up to one year following expiration shall comply 

with requirements of subsection A of this section and also 

submit the applicable fee for late renewal.  

C. A person who or entity which that fails to renew a 

license, registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates 

prescribed in 18VAC65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an 

invalid license, registration, or courtesy card and continued 

practice may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the 

board.  

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements 

for renewal of an active license.  

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors, or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a 

board-approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts, 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations 

governing the profession of funeral service.  

1. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour 

per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. The 

one-hour requirement on compliance with laws and 

regulations may be met once every two years by 

attendance at a meeting of the board or at a committee of 

the board or an informal conference or formal hearing.  

2. One hour of the five hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. For 

the purposes of continuing education credit for volunteer 

service, an approved sponsor shall be a local health 

department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice 

of funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is 

to promote, sell, or offer goods, products, or services to 

funeral homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit 

toward renewal.  

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement.  

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee.  

E. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure by examination in Virginia. 

18VAC65-20-152. Continuing education providers.  

A. Unless disqualified by action of the board, courses 

offered by the following providers are approved for 

continuing education credit:  

1. Local, state, or federal government agencies;  

2. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; or  

3. Board-recognized national, regional, state, and local 

associations or organizations as follows:  

a. National Funeral Directors Association and state 

chapters;  

b. National Funeral Directors and Morticians Association 

and state chapters;  

c. Association of Independent Funeral Homes of 

Virginia;  

d. Cremation Association of North America;  

e. American Board of Funeral Service Education;  

f. International Conference of Funeral Service Examining 

Boards;  

g. Virginia Morticians Association; and  

h. Other similar associations or organizations as 

approved by action of the board.  

B. Course providers not listed in subsection A of this section 

may apply for approval by the board as continuing education 

providers.  

1. To be considered for board approval, a continuing 

education provider shall submit 60 days prior to offering a 

continuing education course:  

a. Documentation of an instructional plan and course 

objectives for the continuing education courses course 

that meet meets the criteria set forth in 18VAC65-20-151 

B;  

b. A syllabus of the course or courses to be offered with 

the credentials of the course instructors, a description of 

each session, including number of continuing education 

hours; and  

c. The continuing education provider fee set forth under 

18VAC65-20-70.  

2. Board approval of continuing education providers under 

this subsection shall expire on July 1 of each year and may 

be renewed upon resubmission of documentation on 

courses and instructors and the provider fee as required by 

the board.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1357 

3. Continued Renewed approval of a continuing education 

provider may be granted without submission of the 

provider an additional course review fee if the provider 

submits a statement that courses and instructors offered for 

the coming year will not change from the previous year. If 

there will be additions or alterations to the continuing 

education offerings of a provider, resubmission of course 

documentation and a provider an additional course review 

fee is required.  

4. If additional courses are submitted for board approval 

beyond those courses submitted with an initial or renewal 

application, the continuing education provider shall remit 

the fee for review under 18VAC65-20-70. 

C. Continuing education providers approved under 

subsection A or B of this section shall:  

1. Maintain and provide to the board upon request 

documentation of the course titles and objectives and of 

licensee attendance and completion of courses for a period 

of two years;  

2. Monitor attendance at classroom or similar educational 

experiences for compliance with law and regulations; and  

3. Provide a certificate of completion for licensees who 

successfully complete a course.  

18VAC65-20-153. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees with active status are required to maintain 

original documentation of continuing education for a period 

of two years after the corresponding annual renewal period.  

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period.  

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation 

within 14 days as follows:  

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned from an 

accredited institution; or  

2. Certificates of completion from approved providers.  

D. Compliance with continuing education requirements, 

including the subject and purpose of the courses as prescribed 

in 18VAC65-20-151 B, the maintenance of records and the 

relevance of the courses to the category of licensure is the 

responsibility of the licensee. The board may request 

additional information if such compliance is not clear from 

the transcripts or certificates.  

E. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 

shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements.  

18VAC65-20-154. Inactive license.  

A. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds a current, unrestricted license in 

Virginia shall, upon a request for inactive status on the 

renewal application and submission of the required renewal 

fee of $115, be issued an inactive license. The fee for late 

renewal up to one year following expiration of an inactive 

license shall be $40.  

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice funeral service in 

Virginia.  

2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section.  

B. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds an inactive license may reactivate his 

license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and  

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years.  

Part III  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC65-20-170. Requirements for an establishment 

license.  

A. No person shall maintain, manage, or operate a funeral 

service establishment in the Commonwealth, unless such 

establishment holds a license issued by the board. The name 

of the funeral service licensee or licensed funeral director 

designated by the ownership to be manager of record for the 

establishment shall be included on the license.  

B. Except as provided in § 54.1-2810 of the Code of 

Virginia, every funeral service establishment and every 

branch or chapel of such establishment, regardless of how 

owned, shall have a separate manager of record who has 

responsibility for the establishment as prescribed in 

18VAC65-20-171. The owner of the establishment shall not 

abridge the authority of the manager of record relating to 

compliance with the laws governing the practice of funeral 

services and regulations of the board.  

C. At least 30 days prior to opening an establishment, an 

owner or licensed manager seeking an establishment license 

shall submit simultaneously a completed application, any 

additional documentation as may be required by the board to 

determine eligibility, and the applicable fee. An incomplete 

package will be returned to the licensee. A license shall not 

be issued until an inspection of the establishment has been 

completed and approved.  

D. Within 30 days following a change of ownership, the 

owner or licensed manager shall request a reinspection of the 
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establishment, submit an application for a new establishment 

license with documentation that identifies the new owner, and 

pay the licensure and reinspection fees as required by 

18VAC65-20-70. Reinspection of the establishment may 

occur on a schedule determined by the board, but shall occur 

no later than one year from the date of the change.  

E. The application for licensure of a branch or chapel shall 

specify the name of the main establishment and contain an 

attestation of the affiliation of the branch or chapel and the 

main establishment. 

F. In the event of an emergency requiring the evacuation or 

discontinued use of a funeral establishment, the impacted 

establishment may be approved by the board to continue 

operations out of another licensed funeral establishment for a 

period of no more than 60 days. The impacted establishment 

may request an extension of emergency operations for an 

additional 30 days upon good cause shown. In requesting 

approval for conducting emergency operations under this 

section, the impacted funeral establishment shall submit 

documentation that identifies the manager of record for both 

the impacted establishment and establishment for emergency 

operations and any agreement for emergency usage.  

18VAC65-20-171. Responsibilities of the manager of 

record. 

A. Every funeral establishment shall have a manager of 

record who is employed full time by and in charge of the 

establishment. 

B. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 

of the establishment as it pertains to the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 

be limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 

in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 

board in 18VAC65-20-700 during the period in which he 

serves as manager of record; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 

required by 18VAC65-20-60; and 

4. Correcting or seeking corrections of any deficiencies 

identified during the course of an inspection of the 

establishment. 

18VAC65-20-240. Requirements for funeral service 

licensure by examination.  

A. Application requirements. 1. Applicants shall submit 

official mortuary school transcripts and national examination 

board scores as part of an application package, including the 

required fee and any additional documentation as may be 

required to determine eligibility.  

2. An individual applying for the state examination shall 

submit the application package not less than 30 days prior 

to an examination date. The board may, for good cause 

shown by the applicant, waive the time for the filing of any 

application.  

B. National examination requirements. Prior to applying for 

licensure by examination, every applicant shall pass the 

National Board Examination of the International Conference 

of Funeral Service Examining Boards.  

C. State examination requirements. All applicants shall pass 

the Virginia State Board Examination.  

Part IV  

Registration  

18VAC65-20-400. Registration of surface transportation 

and removal services.  

All persons applying to own or operate a surface 

transportation and removal service, according to requirements 

of § 54.1-2819 of the Code of Virginia, shall submit an 

application package for registration which shall include:  

1. A completed and signed application;  

2. The fee prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70 A 3;  

3. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant, including, 

but not limited to, evidence of training of the service 

manager and staff in compliance with standards of the 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 

for universal precautions and blood-borne bloodborne 

pathogens, and proof of bonding or liability insurance 

coverage related to the operation of the service; and 

4. The name of the manager for the service. 

18VAC65-20-435. Registration of crematories. 

A. At least 30 days prior to opening a crematory, any person 

intending to own or operate a crematory shall apply for 

registration with the board by submitting a completed 

application and fee as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. The 

name of the individual designated by the ownership to be the 

crematory manager shall be included on the application. The 

owner of the crematory shall not abridge the authority of the 

crematory manager relating to compliance with the laws 

governing the practice of funeral services and regulations of 

the board. The designated crematory manager may be the 

manager of record of a funeral establishment colocated on the 

same premises. 

B. Every crematory, regardless of how owned, shall have a 

manager who has (i) achieved certification by the Cremation 

Association of North America (CANA); the International 

Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association (ICCFA); or 

other certification recognized by the board and (ii) received 

training in compliance with standards of the Occupational 
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Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) for universal 

precautions and blood-borne bloodborne pathogens.  

C. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 

of the crematory as it pertains to the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not 

be limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 

in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 

board in 18VAC65-20-436 during the period in which he 

serves as crematory manager; and  

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 

required by 18VAC65-20-60. 

D. All persons who operate the retort in a crematory shall 

have certification by the Cremation Association of North 

America (CANA); the International Cemetery, Cremation and 

Funeral Association (ICCFA); or other certification 

recognized by the board. Persons receiving training toward 

certification to operate a retort shall be allowed to work under 

the supervision of an operator who holds certification for a 

period not to exceed six months. 

E. A crematory providing cremation services directly to the 

public shall also be licensed as a funeral service establishment 

or shall be a branch of a licensed establishment. 

F. When a crematory application is pending and the conduct 

of a cremation is necessary to ensure the proper function of 

retort equipment, the board may authorize the crematory to 

conduct a test cremation prior to registration. Once the 

crematory equipment is deemed functional and an initial 

crematory inspection is completed, the board may issue the 

crematory a registration to operate. 

G. The board may take disciplinary action against a 

crematory registration for a violation of § 54.1-2818.1 of the 

Code of Virginia or for the inappropriate handling of dead 

human bodies or cremains. 

18VAC65-20-436. Standards for registered crematories or 

funeral establishments relating to cremation. 

A. Authorization to cremate.  

1. A crematory shall require a cremation authorization 

form executed in person or electronically in a manner that 

provides a copy of an original signature in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The cremation authorization form shall include an 

attestation of visual identification of the deceased from a 

viewing of the remains or a photograph of the remains 

signed by the person making the identification. Visual 

identification may be made by viewing unique identifiers 

or markings on the remains. The identification attestation 

shall either be given on the cremation authorization form 

or on an identification form attached to the cremation 

authorization form.  

3. In the event visual identification is not feasible, a 

crematory may use other positive identification of the 

deceased in consultation with law enforcement, a medical 

examiner, or medical personnel as a prerequisite for 

cremation pursuant to § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Standards for cremation. The following standards shall be 

required for every crematory: 

1. Every crematory shall provide evidence at the time of an 

inspection of a permit to operate issued by the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

2. A crematory shall not knowingly cremate a body with a 

pacemaker, defibrillator, or other potentially hazardous 

implant in place. 

3. A crematory shall not cremate the human remains of 

more than one person simultaneously in the same chamber 

of the retort or cremation unit, unless the crematory has 

received specific written authorization to do so from the 

person signing the cremation authorization form.  

4. A crematory shall not cremate nonhuman remains in a 

retort permitted by DEQ for cremation of human remains.  

5. Whenever a crematory is unable to cremate the remains 

within 24 hours upon taking custody thereof, the crematory 

shall maintain the remains in refrigeration at approximately 

40° Fahrenheit or less, unless the remains have been 

embalmed. 

C. Handling of human remains. 

1. Human remains shall be transported to a crematory in a 

cremation container and shall not be removed from the 

container unless the crematory has been provided with 

written instructions to the contrary by the person who 

signed the authorization form. A cremation container shall 

substantially meet all the following standards: 

a. Be composed of readily combustible materials suitable 

for cremation; 

b. Be able to be closed in order to provide complete 

covering for the human remains; 

c. Be resistant to leakage or spillage; and 

d. Be rigid enough for handling with ease. 

2. No crematory shall require that human remains be 

placed in a casket before cremation nor shall it require that 

the cremains be placed in a cremation urn, cremation vault, 

or receptacle designed to permanently encase the cremains 

after cremation. Cremated remains shall be placed in a 

plastic bag inside a rigid container provided by the 

crematory or by the next-of-kin next of kin for return to the 
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funeral establishment or to the next-of-kin next of kin. If 

cremated remains are placed in a biodegradable container, 

a biodegradable bag shall be used. If placed in a container 

designed for scattering, the cremated remains may be 

placed directly into the container if the next-of-kin next of 

kin so authorized in writing.  

3. The identification of the decedent shall be physically 

attached to the remains, and appropriate identification 

placed on the exterior of the cremation container. The 

crematory operator shall verify the identification on the 

remains with the identification attached to the cremation 

container and with the identification attached to the 

cremation authorization. The crematory operator shall also 

verify the identification of the cremains and place evidence 

of such verification in the cremation record. 

D. Recordkeeping. A crematory shall maintain the records 

of cremation for a period of three years from the date of the 

cremation that indicate the name of the decedent, the date and 

time of the receipt of the body, and the date and time of the 

cremation and shall include: 

1. The cremation authorization form signed by the person 

authorized by law to dispose of the remains and the form 

on which the next-of-kin next of kin or the person 

authorized by § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia to 

make the identification has made a visual identification of 

the deceased or evidence of positive identification if visual 

identification is not feasible; 

2. The permission form from the medical examiner; 

3. The DEQ permit number of the retort used for the 

cremation and the name of the retort operator; and 

4. The form verifying the release of the cremains, 

including date and time of release, the name of the person 

and the entity to whom the cremains were released, and the 

name of the decedent.  

Part V  

Issuance of Courtesy Cards  

18VAC65-20-440. Courtesy cards.  

A. An out-of-state person applying for a courtesy card 

pursuant to § 54.1-2801 B of the Code of Virginia shall hold 

a valid license for funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming in another state, territory, or the District of 

Columbia.  

B. An applicant for a courtesy card shall submit:  

1. A completed application and prescribed fee; and  

2. Verification of a current, unrestricted licensure for 

funeral service license in good standing from the 

applicant's licensing authority, funeral directing, or 

embalming from the licensing authorities in the states in 

which the courtesy card holder is licensed to practice. 

C. The holder of a Virginia courtesy card shall only engage 

in the practice for which he is currently licensed in another 

jurisdiction. The privilege to practice shall not include the 

right to establish or engage generally in the business of 

funeral directing and embalming in Virginia. 

Part VI  

Refusal, Suspension, Revocation, and Disciplinary Action  

18VAC65-20-500. Disciplinary action.  

In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following practices are considered 

unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board:  

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 

disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee.  

2. Unfair competition.  

a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 

director, or registered surface transportation and removal 

service when another has been called to take charge of a 

dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 

the legal right to the body's disposition.  

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral 

director to take charge of a body unless authorized by the 

person or his agent having the legal right to disposition.  

3. False advertising.  

a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 

disseminate, circulate, or place before the public, or 

cause directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement 

of any sort regarding services or anything so offered to 

the public which that contains any promise, assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact which is untrue, 

deceptive, or misleading.  

b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 

constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 

within the meaning of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-2806 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and  

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 

ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 

creates an impression of things not likely to be true.  

c. The following practices are among those which that 

shall constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 

representation or statement of fact:  

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will delay 

the natural decomposition of human remains for a long 

term or indefinite time; and  

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 

features or will protect the body from gravesite 
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substances over or beyond that offered by the written 

warranty of the manufacturer.  

4. Inappropriate handling and storage of dead human 

bodies, consistent with § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and regulations of the board. Transportation and 

removal vehicles shall be of such nature as to eliminate 

exposure of the deceased to the public during 

transportation. During the transporting of a human body, 

consideration shall be taken to avoid unnecessary delays or 

stops during travel.  

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 

the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 

funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 

deceased human bodies.  

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 

manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 

well-being of the staff or the public.  

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 

physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse.  

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service 

intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 

by the Code of Virginia and 18VAC65-40-320.  

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations, including requirements for continuing 

education.  

10. Inappropriate sexual contact between a supervisor and 

a funeral service intern if the sexual contact is a result of 

the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence derived 

from the professional relationship or if the contact has had 

or is likely to have an adverse effect on the practice of 

funeral services or on intern training.  

Part VII  

Standards for Embalming and Refrigeration  

18VAC65-20-510. Embalming.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of subdivision 26 of 

§ 54.1-2806 and subsection B of § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, express permission by a next of kin for embalming 

means written authorization to embalm as a specific and 

separate statement on a document or contract provided by the 

funeral establishment. Express permission may include direct, 

verbal authorization to embalm, provided it is followed as 

soon as possible by a written document or statement signed 

by the next of kin confirming the verbal authorization to 

embalm and including the time, date, and name of the person 

who gave verbal authorization. 

B. Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 

separate, identifiable report for each embalming procedure 

conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 

information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the 

Virginia license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 

intern, the name and signature of the supervisor; and 

5. The name of each student and the signature of the 

supervisor of any mortuary science student who assisted in 

the embalming.  

18VAC65-20-580. Preparation room equipment.  

The preparation room or rooms shall be equipped with:  

1. A ventilation system which operates and is appropriate 

to the size and function of the room;  

2. Running hot and cold water;  

3. Flush or slop sink connected with public sewer or with 

septic tank where no public sewer is available;  

4. Metal, fiberglass, or porcelain morgue table;  

5. Covered waste container;  

6. Instruments and apparatus for the embalming process;  

7. A means or method for the sterilization or disinfection 

of reusable instruments by chemical bath or soak; 

autoclave (steam); or ultraviolet light;  

8. Disinfectants and antiseptic solutions;  

9. Clean gowns or aprons, preferably impervious to water;  

10. Rubber gloves for each embalmer or, intern, or student 

using the room;  

11. An electric aspirator or hydroaspirator equipped with a 

vacuum breaker;  

12. An eye wash station that is readily accessible; and  

13. A standard first aid kit, which that is immediately 

accessible, either in the preparation room or outside the 

door to the preparation room.  

18VAC65-20-700. Retention of documents.  

A. The following retention schedule shall apply:  

1. Price lists shall be retained for three years after the 

date on which they are no longer effective;  

2. Itemized statements shall be retained for three years 

from the date on which the arrangements were made; and 

3. Embalming reports shall be retained at the location of 

the embalming for three years after the date of the 

embalming. 
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B. The manager of record shall be responsible for retention 

and maintenance of all required documents. 

C. Documents shall be maintained on the premises of the 

funeral establishment and made available for inspection.  

D. In instances where the funeral establishment is sold, 

documents shall be transferred to the new owner, unless the 

existing firm is relocating to a new facility. The new owner 

shall retain transferred documents in accordance with the 

provisions of this section. When transferred documents 

include preneed contracts, the documents shall be retained 

and maintained in accordance with the provisions of the Code 

of Virginia and regulations of the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5988; Filed December 19, 2019, 4:47 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-110). 

18VAC65-40. Regulations for the Funeral Service 

Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-40-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email 

fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalers the 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system. The specific mandate for collection of a 

handling fee is found in § 2.2-4805 of the Virginia Debt 

Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (Board) proposes 

to amend 18VAC65-20 Regulations of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers and 18VAC65-40 Regulations for 

the Funeral Service Internship Program to state that the 

handling fee for a returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card is $50, replacing a current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulations include 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia 

specifies that "Returned checks or dishonored credit card or 

debit card payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a 

higher amount is authorized by statute to be added to the 

principal account balance." According to the Department of 

Health Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General 

has advised that the handling fee of $50 in § 2.2-4805 of the 

Code of Virginia governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that § 2.2-4805 of the Code of 

Virginia prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's 

proposal therefore conforms the regulation to current law. 

DHP has indicated that in practice they will continue to 

charge the $35 fee until this proposed regulatory action 

becomes effective. The services provided by DHP are funded 

by the fees paid by the regulated individuals and entities. To 

the extent that the $50 fee more accurately represents the cost 

mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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incurred by DHP, the proposed change may be beneficial in 

that the cost would need not be subsidized by other regulants 

who did not cause the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals and entities regulated by the Board. 

As of June 30, 2019, there were 14 continuing education 

providers, 109 courtesy card holders,2 115 crematories, 

2 embalmers, 36 funeral directors, 419 funeral 

establishments, 186 funeral service interns, 1,516 funeral 

service licensees, 567 funeral supervisors, and 44 surface 

transport and removal service providers regulated by the 

Board. If any of these individuals or entities have a check 

returned or a credit card or debit card dishonored, the 

proposal would increase their cost by $15. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses5:  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposal would potentially affect the 14 continuing 

education providers, 115 crematories, 419 funeral 

establishments, and 44 surface transport and removal service 

providers if they were to have a check returned or a credit 

card or debit card dishonored. Most of these entities would 

likely qualify as a small business. 

Costs and Other Effects. If any of these entities were to have 

a check returned or a credit card or debit card dishonored, the 

proposal would increase their cost by $15. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse 

impact and meet the intended policy goals.  

___________________________ 

2"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the Board which grants limited 
and restricted funeral service privileges in the Commonwealth to out-of-state 

funeral service licensees, funeral directors, and embalmers. 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC65-20-110. Additional fee information.  

A. There shall be a handling fee of $35 $50 for returned 

checks or dishonored credit cards or debit cards.  

B. Fees shall not be refunded once submitted.  

C. The fee for the Virginia State Board Examination shall be 

paid directly to the examination service contracted by the 

board for its administration.  

18VAC65-40-40. Fees.  

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

registration:  

  1. Funeral service intern registration $150 

  2. Funeral service intern renewal $125 

  3. Late fee for renewal up to one year 

after expiration 

$45 

  4. Duplicate copy of intern registration $25 

  5. Returned check Handling fee for 

returned check or dishonored credit card 

or debit card 

$35 $50 

  6. Registration of supervisor $35 

  7. Change of supervisor $35 

  8. Reinstatement fee $195 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refundable once submitted.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6174; Filed December 18, 2019, 7:36 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-22). 

18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Respiratory Therapists (amending 18VAC85-40-35).  

18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-50-35).  

18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Occupational Therapy (amending 18VAC85-80-26). 
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18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Radiologic Technology (amending 18VAC85-101-25).  

18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Acupuncturists (amending 18VAC85-110-35).  

18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Athletic Trainers (amending 18VAC85-120-35).  

18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Midwives (amending 18VAC85-130-30). 

18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Polysomnographic Technologists (amending 18VAC85-

140-40).  

18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Behavior Analysis (amending 18VAC85-150-40).  

18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing the Registration of 

Surgical Assistants and Surgical Technologists (amending 

18VAC85-160-40).  

18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Genetic Counselors (amending 18VAC85-170-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

mandate for collection of a handling fee is found in § 2.2-

4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to amend 12 regulations 

(see above) to state that the handling fee for a returned check 

or dishonored credit card or debit card is $50, replacing a 

current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulations include 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code § 2.2-

4805 governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code § 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's proposal 

therefore conforms the regulation to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals and entities regulated by the Board. 

As of June 30, 2019, there were 169 assistant behavior 

analysts, 1,692 athletic trainers, 1,220 behavior analysts, 

1,763 chiropractors, 258 genetic counselors, 4,277 interns and 

residents, 548 licensed acupuncturists, 87 licensed midwives, 

562 limited radiologic technologists, 38,227 medicine and 

surgery licensees, 4,422 occupational therapists, 1,633 

occupational therapy assistants, 3,681 osteopathy and surgery 

licensees, 4,202 physician assistants, 545 podiatrists, 486 

polysomnographic technologists, 4,413 radiologic 

technologists, 12 radiologist assistants, 3,961 respiratory 

therapists, 91 restricted volunteer-doctors, 256 surgical 

assistants, 289 surgical technologists, and 21 university 

limited licensees regulated by the Board.2 If any of these 

individuals have a check returned or a credit card or debit 

card dishonored, the proposal would increase their cost by 

$15. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposal does not 

substantively adversely affect small businesses. 

_______________________ 

2Data source: DHP  

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable.  

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 

payable as designated by the board.  

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic 

medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for 

licensure in chiropractic shall be $277.  

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice 

medicine pursuant to clauses (i) and (ii) of § 54.1-2927 B of 

the Code of Virginia shall be $25.  

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow 

license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. 

The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

professorial or fellow license in 2020, the fee shall be $30. An 

additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and 

residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The 

annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited 

license to interns and residents in 2020, the fee shall be $30. 

An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. The 

fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00.  

H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure 

in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $312 for 

licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in 

the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a 

late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be 

$115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic. For renewal 

of licensure in 2020, the fee shall be $270 for licensure in 

medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $250 for 

licensure in chiropractic. 

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or 

certification pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of 

Virginia or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to 

reinstate the certificate or license of any person has been 

denied shall be $2,000.  

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board 

of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia 

that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be 

$497 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and 

podiatry ($382 for reinstatement application in addition to the 

late fee of $115) and $472 for licensure in chiropractic ($367 

for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of 

$105). The fee shall be submitted with an application for 

licensure reinstatement.  

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure shall be 

$10, and the fee for certification of grades to another 

jurisdiction by the board shall be $25.  

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall 

be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee 

for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal 
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cycle. For renewal of an inactive license in 2020, the fee shall 

be $135. 

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's 

birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure 

shall be $25 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of a 

restricted volunteer license in 2020, the fee shall be $60. 

N. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

18VAC85-40-35. Fees.  

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active 

license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 

license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the 

Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of 

Virginia, which has lapsed for a period of two years or 

more, shall be $180 and must be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. The fee for certification 

of grades to another jurisdiction shall be $25.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-50-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the 

time application is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of 

the licensee. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active 

license shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive 

license shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months 

from the date of issuance and may be renewed without 

charge by receipt of a renewal application that verifies that 

the physician assistant continues to comply with provisions 

of § 54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 

submitted following initial licensure shall be $15.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

9. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-80-26. Fees.  

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the occupational therapist license shall 

be $130; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be 

$70.  

2. The fee for reinstatement of the occupational therapist 

license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be 

$180; for the occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for an occupational 

therapist shall be $135; for an occupational therapy 

assistant, it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70 for an occupational therapist and $35 

for an occupational therapy assistant. Renewals shall be 

due in the birth month of the licensee in each even-

numbered year. For 2020, the fee for renewal of an active 

license as an occupational therapist shall be $108; for an 

occupational therapy assistant, it shall be $54. For renewal 

of an inactive license in 2020, the fees shall be $54 for an 

occupational therapist and $28 for an occupational therapy 

assistant. 

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for an 

occupational therapist and $30 for an occupational therapy 

assistant.  
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5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable.  

18VAC85-101-25. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial licensure fees. 

1. The application fee for radiologic technologist or 

radiologist assistant licensure shall be $130. 

2. The application fee for the radiologic technologist-

limited licensure shall be $90. 

3. All examination fees shall be determined by and made 

payable as designated by the board. 

C. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologist assistant. 

1. The fee for active license renewal for a radiologic 

technologist shall be $135, and the fee for inactive license 

renewal shall be $70. For 2021, the fees for renewal shall 

be $108 for an active license as a radiologic technologist 

and $54 for an inactive license. If a radiologist assistant 

holds a current license as a radiologic technologist, the 

renewal fee shall be $50. If a radiologist assistant does not 

hold a current license as a radiologic technologist, the 

renewal fee shall be $150. For renewal of a radiologist 

assistant license in 2021, the fee shall be $40 for a 

radiologist assistant with a current license as a radiologic 

technologist and $120 for a radiologist assistant without a 

current license as a radiologic technologist. 

2. An additional fee of $50 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a radiologic technologist or 

a radiologist assistant license that has lapsed for a period of 

two years or more shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement for a radiologic 

technologist-limited. 

1. The fee for active license renewal shall be $70, and the 

fee for inactive license renewal shall be $35. For 2021, the 

fees for renewal shall be $54 for an active license as a 

radiologic technologist and $28 for an inactive license. 

2. An additional fee of $25 to cover administrative costs 

for processing a late renewal application within one 

renewal cycle shall be imposed by the board. 

3. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $120 and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

E. Other fees. 

1. The application fee for a traineeship as a radiologic 

technologist or a radiologic technologist-limited shall be 

$25. 

2. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another state for licensure shall be $10; the fee for 

certification of scores to another jurisdiction shall be $25. 

3. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

4. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

18VAC85-110-35. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The application fee for a license to practice as an 

acupuncturist shall be $130.  

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be $135. 

The fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be $70. 

For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be 

$54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license which has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  
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8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00.  

9. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of 

a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle.  

18VAC85-120-35. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. The following fees have been adopted by the board:  

1. The application fee shall be $130.  

2. The fee for renewal of licensure shall be $135 and shall 

be due in the licensee's birth month, in each odd-numbered 

year.  

3. A fee of $50 for processing a late renewal within one 

renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180 and shall be submitted 

with an application for reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00, 

and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

8. The fee for a letter of verification to another jurisdiction 

shall be $10.  

9. The fee for an inactive license shall be $70, and the fee 

for a late renewal shall be $25.  

10. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active license shall 

be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license shall 

be $54. 

18VAC85-130-30. Fees.  

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable:  

1. The application fee for a license to practice as a midwife 

shall be $277.  

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be 

$312; the additional fee for late renewal of an active 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $105.  

3. The fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be 

$168; the additional fee for late renewal of an inactive 

license within one renewal cycle shall be $55.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for a period of two years or more shall be $367 in addition 

to the late fee. The fee shall be submitted with an 

application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification of a 

license to another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

6. The fee for an application for reinstatement if a license 

has been revoked or if an application for reinstatement has 

been previously denied shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5.00.  

9. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

10. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active license shall 

be $250, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license shall 

be $125. 

18VAC85-140-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee, payable at the time the application 

is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2021, the renewal fee for an active license 

shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $180 and must be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

18VAC85-150-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The initial fee for the behavior analyst license shall be 

$130; for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be 

$70.  
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2. The fee for reinstatement of the behavior analyst license 

that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; 

for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be $90.  

3. The fee for active license renewal for a behavior analyst 

shall be $135; for an assistant behavior analyst, it shall be 

$70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 for 

a behavior analyst and $35 for an assistant behavior 

analyst. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the 

licensee in each odd-numbered year. For 2021, the renewal 

of an active license as a behavior analyst shall be $108, and 

the renewal fee for an inactive license shall be $54; the 

renewal fee for an active license as an assistant behavior 

analyst shall be $54, and the renewal fee for an inactive 

license shall be $28.  

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for a 

behavior analyst and $30 for an assistant behavior analyst.  

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The fee for registration as a surgical assistant or surgical 

technologist shall be $75.  

2. The fee for renewal of registration shall be $70. 

Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the registrant 

in each even-numbered year. For 2020, the renewal fee 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25. 

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

18VAC85-170-40. Fees. 

The following fees are required:  

1. The application fee for licensure, payable at the time the 

application is filed, shall be $130.  

2. The application fee for a temporary license, payable at 

the time the application is filed, shall be $50. 

3. The biennial fee for renewal of active licensure shall be 

$135 and for renewal of inactive licensure shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the license holder's 

birth month. For 2021, the renewal fee for an active license 

shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

4. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within 

one renewal cycle shall be $50.  

5. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has lapsed for 

a period of two years or more shall be $180 and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to § 54.1-

2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.  

7. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  

8. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

9. The fee for a letter of good standing or letter of 

verification to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6175; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:17 p.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-30, 

18VAC90-19-210).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

January 28, 2020 - 10 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Board Room 2, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 201, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, or email 

jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 54.1-2400 provides the Board of Nursing the 

authority to promulgate regulations to administer the 

regulatory system. The specific authority for the Board of 

Nursing to register clinical nurse specialist is found in 

§§ 54.1-3005 and 54.1-3018.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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Purpose: Regulations were recently amended to align 

regulatory provisions on national certification with the 

language in § 54.1-3018.1 of the Code of Virginia, and the 

amendments became effective March 22, 2019. The proposed 

amendments clarify that the board will accept a specialty 

examination that has now been retired but the certification has 

been maintained or will accept the core examination for 

national certification as a clinical nurse specialist. 

Amendments are also necessary to assure that a registered 

nurse who has allowed his certified nurse specialist (CNS) 

registration to lapse for more than one renewal cycle is safe 

and competent to resume advanced practice by providing 

evidence of current certification. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to 18VAC90-19-210 

clarify that the board will accept for registration evidence of a 

clinical nurse specialist certification that has been retired or is 

the core certification, provided the certification has been 

maintained and is current. Likewise, a retired or core 

certification that remains current qualifies a clinical nurse 

specialist to renew registration.  

In subsection B of 18VAC90-19-210, the proposed 

amendment addresses renewal of a lapsed registration and 

reinstatement of a registration that has been suspended or 

revoked. Regulations are aligned with those in 18VAC90-19-

190 relating to the reinstatement of a nursing license. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendment is clearer 

language to avoid confusion and to facilitate registration as a 

CNS. There are no disadvantages. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.In 

response to a petition for rulemaking2 and a recent case 

decision,3 the Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to revise 

the regulation to accept a retired certification, either a clinical 

nurse specialist (CNS) certification or a core certification, as 

the required certification for initial registration or renewal 

provided it has been maintained and is current. The Board 

also proposes to amend the rules for reinstatement of an 

expired CNS registration to be similar to the rules for 

reinstatement of a registered nurse (RN) license. 

Background. The CNS registration may be issued to RNs who 

are able to provide advanced services according to the 

specialized training received from a program satisfactory to 

the Board. In February 2019, the Virginia Association of 

Clinical Nurse Specialists filed the petition for rulemaking 

and among other things requested that a retired certification 

be accepted. According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), sometimes the issuing entity retires (or 

discontinues) a particular certification but allows the existing 

certificate holders to maintain it. The Board notes it was 

allowed by the Office of the Attorney General to interpret the 

current regulation to accept an applicant who had a retired 

certification but was advised that the regulation needed to be 

revised to specify such acceptance. The Board now proposes 

to reflect this new policy in the regulation and also proposes 

to amend the reinstatement of a registration to be similar to 

that of the reinstatement of an RN license. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, there are 418 

certified nurse specialists registered in Virginia. According to 

DHP, the proposed amendments could qualify a few 

applicants who would otherwise not be registered to practice 

in the role of a CNS. An RN with the specialist certification 

would be expected to receive slightly higher compensation 

than one without it. Thus, the proposed amendments could 

improve earning potential of RNs with a retired (but current) 

qualifying certification. The condition that the retired 

certification has been maintained and is current should 

minimize the potential health and safety risks to patients 

receiving advanced nursing services. 

Additionally, the Board proposes to revise the requirements 

for reinstatement of an expired CNS registration to mimic the 

rules for reinstatement of an expired RN license. Under the 

current language, reinstatement of a CNS registration requires 

evidence of continued competency and payment of both the 

reinstatement fee ($125) and the renewal fee ($80). The 

proposed changes effectively separate the reinstatement 

procedure into three separate categories: reinstatement within 

one renewal cycle, reinstatement after one renewal cycle, and 

reinstatement of a suspended or revoked license. 

The reinstatement within one renewal cycle would require the 

same continued competency requirements and renewal fee, 

but would require a late fee ($35) instead of the reinstatement 

fee ($125). Thus, the applicants for reinstatement within one 

renewal cycle would pay $90 less in fees. The fees for 

reinstatement after one renewal cycle would remain the same 

(a renewal fee and a reinstatement fee). The reinstatement of 

a suspended or revoked license would require a renewal fee 

plus a higher reinstatement fee ($300). Thus, the applicants in 

the third category would face an additional $175 fee burden. 

Applicants in both the second and third categories may also 

face additional burdens regarding submission of additional 

evidence of competency, depending on how the Board 

chooses to implement this requirement.  

These potential effects would materialize only when an 

application is filed for reinstatement. However, DHP staff do 

not have any data on the number of reinstatements of a 

suspended or revoked registration cases. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments to the regulation are expected to affect only a 

few of the 418 CNSs, as well as perhaps a few RNs who may 

newly qualify as CNSs. 
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Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs for localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

should not significantly affect total employment but may 

allow a few CNS with retired certifications to earn slightly 

more. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:6 The proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

_____________________________ 

2https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=294 

3The Agency Background Document, page 8. 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify that the Board of 

Nursing will accept for registration evidence of a clinical 

nurse specialist (CNS) certification that has been retired 

or is the core certification, provided the certification has 

been maintained and is current. Similarly, a retired or core 

certification that remains current qualifies a clinical nurse 

specialist to renew registration. The proposed amendments 

also amend the requirements for renewal of a lapsed 

registration or reinstatement of a registration to be similar 

to the requirements for reinstatement of a registered nurse 

license. The action is in response to a petition for 

rulemaking. 

18VAC90-19-30. Fees. 

A. Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for licensure by examination - 

RN 

$190  

2. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

RN 

$190 

3. Application for licensure by examination - 

LPN 

$170 

4. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

LPN 

$170 

5. Reapplication for licensure by 

examination 

$50 

6. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $140 

7. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $70 

8. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $120 

9. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $60 

10. Late renewal - RN $50 

11. Late renewal - RN inactive $25 

12. Late renewal - LPN $40 

13. Late renewal - LPN inactive $20 

14. Reinstatement of lapsed license - RN $225 

15. Reinstatement of lapsed license - LPN $200 

16. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

license or registration 

$300 

17. Duplicate license $15 

18. Replacement wall certificate $25 

19. Verification of license $35 

20. Transcript of all or part of applicant or 

licensee records 

$35 

21. Returned check charge $35 

22. Application for CNS registration $130 

23. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $80 

24. Reinstatement of lapsed CNS registration $125 

25. Verification of CNS registration to 

another jurisdiction 

$35 

26. Late renewal of CNS registration $35 

B. For renewal of licensure or registration from July 1, 

2017, through June 30, 2019, the following fees shall be in 

effect: 

1. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $105 

2. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $52 

3. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $90 

4. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $45 

5. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $60 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewpetition.cfm?petitionid=294
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Part IV 

Clinical Nurse Specialists 

18VAC90-19-210. Clinical nurse specialist registration. 

A. Initial registration. An applicant for initial registration as 

a clinical nurse specialist shall: 

1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 

hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 

nurse; 

2. Submit evidence of current national clinical nurse 

specialist certification, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, as required by § 54.1-

3018.1 of the Code of Virginia or have an exception 

available from March 1, 1990, to July 1, 1990; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee. 

B. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall be 

renewed biennially at the same time the registered nurse 

license is renewed. If registered as a clinical nurse 

specialist with a multistate licensure privilege to practice in 

Virginia as a registered nurse, a licensee born in an even-

numbered year shall renew his license by the last day of 

the birth month in even-numbered years and a licensee 

born in an odd-numbered year shall renew his license by 

the last day of the birth month in odd-numbered years. 

2. The clinical nurse specialist shall complete the renewal 

form and submit it with the required fee. An attestation of 

current national certification as a clinical nurse specialist, 

including core certification or a certification that has been 

retired, is required unless registered in accordance with an 

exception.  

3. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall lapse if 

the registered nurse license is not renewed or the multistate 

licensure privilege is lapsed or registration as a clinical 

nurse specialist is not renewed and may be reinstated 

within one renewal period upon: 

a. Reinstatement of RN license or multistate licensure 

privilege, if lapsed; 

b. Payment of reinstatement and current renewal fees and 

late renewal fees; and 

c. Submission of evidence of continued national 

certification as a clinical nurse specialist, including core 

certification or a certification that has been retired, unless 

registered in accordance with an exception.  

C. Reinstatement of registration. 

1. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has lapsed 

for more than one renewal period may be reinstated by 

submission of: 

a. A reinstatement application and reinstatement fee; 

b. Evidence of a current RN license or multistate 

privilege; and 

c. Evidence of current national certification as a clinical 

nurse specialist, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, unless registered in 

accordance with an exception. 

2. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has been 

suspended or revoked by the board may apply for 

reinstatement by: 

a. Filing a reinstatement application;  

b. Fulfilling requirements specified in subdivision 1 c of 

this subsection; and  

c. Paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension or 

revocation.  

The board may request additional evidence that the clinical 

nurse specialist is prepared to resume practice in a 

competent manner. A clinical nurse specialist whose 

registration has been revoked may not apply for 

reinstatement sooner than three years from entry of the 

order of revocation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-28; Filed December 18, 2019, 8:03 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 

18VAC90-30-50). 

18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 

Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX 

(804) 527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Boards of Medicine and Nursing the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific mandate for collection of a handling fee is found 

in § 2.2-4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Boards of Medicine and Nursing (Boards) propose to amend 

18VAC90-30 Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse 

Practitioners and 18VAC90-40 Regulations for Prescriptive 

Authority for Nurse Practitioners to state that the handling fee 

for a returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card is 

$50. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulations include 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code § 2.2-

4805 governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code § 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Boards' proposal 

therefore conforms the regulations to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal 

potentially affects the 11,569 nurse practitioners licensed in 

the Commonwealth.2 If any of these individuals have a check 

returned or a credit card or debit card dishonored, the 

proposal would increase their cost by $15.  

Localities3 Affected.4The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposal does not 

substantively adversely affect small businesses.  

______________________ 

2Source: DHP 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Boards of Medicine and Nursing concur with the analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC90-30-50. Fees.  

A. Fees required in connection with the licensure of nurse 

practitioners are:  
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  1. Application $125 

  2. Biennial licensure renewal $80 

  3. Late renewal $25 

  4. Reinstatement of licensure $150 

  5. Verification of licensure to another 

jurisdiction 

$35 

  6. Duplicate license $15 

  7. Duplicate wall certificate $25 

  8. Return check charge Handling fee for 

returned check or dishonored credit card 

or debit card 

$35 $50 

  9. Reinstatement of suspended or 

revoked license 

$200 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

  Biennial renewal $60 

18VAC90-40-70. Fees for prescriptive authority.  

A. The following fees have been established by the boards:  

  1. Initial issuance of prescriptive authority $75 

  2. Biennial renewal $35 

  3. Late renewal $15 

  4. Reinstatement of lapsed authorization $90 

  5. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

authorization 

$85  

  6. Duplicate of authorization $15 

  7. Return check charge Handling fee for 

returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card 

$35 

$50 

B. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 

30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect: 

  Biennial renewal $26 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6167; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:18 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Optometry the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

mandate for collection of a handling fee is found in § 2.2-

4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC105-

20 Regulations of the Virginia Board of Optometry to state 

that the handling fee for a returned check or dishonored credit 

card or debit card is $50, replacing a current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulation includes 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code 2.2-

4805 governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's proposal 

therefore conforms the regulation to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals regulated by the Board. As of 

September 30, 2019, there were 1,732 optometrists licensed 

by the Board.2 If any of these individuals have a check 

returned or a credit card or debit card dishonored, the 

proposal would increase their cost by $15. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposal does not 

substantively adversely affect small businesses.  

________________________ 
2Data source: DHP 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Optometry concurs with the Analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC105-20-20. Fees.  

A. Required fees.  

Initial application and licensure (including 

TPA certification)  

$250 

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$150 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$200 

Late renewal without TPA certification  $50 

Late renewal with TPA certification  $65 

Returned Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card  

$35 $50 

Professional designation application  $100 

Annual professional designation renewal (per 

location) 

$50 

Late renewal of professional designation  $20 

Reinstatement application fee (including 

renewal and late fees)  

$400 

Reinstatement application after disciplinary 

action  

$500 

Duplicate wall certificate  $25 

Duplicate license  $10 

Licensure verification  $10 

B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.  

C. From October 31, 2018, to December 31, 2018, the 

following fees shall be in effect:  

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$75 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$100 

Annual professional designation renewal (per 

location) 

$25 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6197; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:25 p.m.  
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Contact Information: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form 

available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 

online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 

certifications, online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (eff. 

6/2019) 

Patient Parent or Legal Guardian Reporting Requirements 

(eff. 6/2019) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019)  

Pharmaceutical Processor Inspection Form (eff. 10/2019) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6274; Filed December 30, 2019, 8:28 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (amending 18VAC112-

20-27).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Physical Therapy the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific mandate for collection of a handling fee is found 

in § 2.2-4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Physical Therapy (Board) proposes to amend 

18VAC112-20 Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Physical Therapy to state that the handling fee for a returned 

check or dishonored credit card or debit card is $50, replacing 

a current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=48323004878~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=db532004878~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b212c006224~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006224&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
mailto:ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov
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sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulation includes 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code 2.2-

4805 governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's proposal 

therefore conforms the regulation to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals regulated by the Board. As of June 

30, 2019, there were 8,240 physical therapists and 3,525 

physical therapist assistants regulated by the Board.2 If any of 

these individuals have a check returned or a credit card or 

debit card dishonored, the proposal would increase their cost 

by $15. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposal does not 

substantively adversely affect small businesses.  

________________________________ 

2Data source: DHP 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Physical Therapy concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC112-20-27. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist 

and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be 

paid directly to the examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by 

endorsement shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 

for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical 

therapist shall be $135 and for a physical therapist assistant 

shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in each 

even-numbered year. 

2. The fee for an inactive license renewal for a physical 

therapist shall be $70 and for a physical therapist assistant 

shall be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in each 

even-numbered year. 

3. A fee of $50 for a physical therapist and $25 for a 

physical therapist assistant for processing a late renewal 

within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to the 

renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired 

for two or more years shall be $180 for a physical therapist 

and $120 for a physical therapist assistant and shall be 

submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license 

that has been revoked shall be $1,000; the fee for an 

application for reinstatement of a license that has been 

suspended shall be $500.  

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee 

for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1378 

3. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50.  

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10.  

5. The application fee for direct access certification shall 

be $75 for a physical therapist to obtain certification to 

provide services without a referral. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6211; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:22 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and 

Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants (amending 

18VAC115-30-10 through 18VAC115-30-62, 18VAC115-

30-110 through 18VAC115-30-150; adding 18VAC115-30-

15, 18VAC115-30-63, 18VAC115-30-111; repealing 

18VAC115-30-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 19, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) clarifying and specifying 

requirements for supervised practice, (ii) adding time 

limits for completion of experience, (iii) adding 

requirements for continuing education for renewal, and 

(iv) adding standards of practice. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-30-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Certified substance abuse counselor"  

"Certified substance abuse counseling assistant"  

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" 

"Practice of substance abuse treatment"  

"Substance abuse" and "substance dependence"  

"Substance abuse treatment"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted a 

completed application with documentation and the 

appropriate fees to be examined for certification as a 

substance abuse counselor or substance abuse counseling 

assistant.  

"Candidate" means a person who has been approved to take 

the examinations for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor or substance abuse counseling assistant.  

"Clinical supervision" means the ongoing process performed 

by a clinical supervisor who monitors the performance of the 

person supervised and provides regular, documented face-to-

face consultation, guidance and education with respect to the 

clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised.  

"Clinical supervisor" means one who provides case-related 

supervision, consultation, education and guidance for the 

applicant. The supervisor must be credentialed as defined in 

18VAC115-30-60 C.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program. 

"Didactic" means teaching-learning methods that impart 

facts and information, usually in the form of one-way 

communication (includes directed readings and lectures).  

"Endorsement" means the waiver of the examination 

requirement for certification as a substance abuse counselor 

for persons currently certified or licensed in another 

jurisdiction.  

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no less than two nor more than six persons in a 

group setting provided by a qualified clinical supervisor.  

"NAADAC" means the National Association of Alcoholism 

and Drug Abuse Counselors  

Association of Addiction Professionals.  

"NCC AP" means the National Certification Commission for 

Addiction Professionals, an affiliate of NAADAC. 

"Regionally accredited" means accredited by one of the 

regional accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education as responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions. 
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"Substance abuse counseling" means applying a counseling 

process, treatment strategies and rehabilitative services to 

help an individual to:  

1. Understand his substance use, abuse or dependency; and  

2. Change his drug-taking behavior so that it does not 

interfere with effective physical, psychological, social or 

vocational functioning. 

18VAC115-30-15. Maintenance of current name and 

address. 

A. Certified substance abuse counselors or counseling 

assistants shall notify the board of any change of name, email 

address, or address of record within 60 days.  

B. Failure to receive a renewal notice and application forms 

shall not excuse the certified substance abuse counselor or 

counseling assistant from the renewal requirement. 

18VAC115-30-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of substance abuse counselors and 

substance abuse counseling assistants:  

Substance abuse counselor annual 

certification renewal 

$65 

Substance abuse counseling assistant 

annual certification renewal 

$50 

Substance abuse counselor initial 

certification by examination:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$115 

Substance abuse counseling assistant 

initial certification by examination:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$115 

Initial certification by endorsement of 

substance abuse counselors:  

Application processing and initial 

certification 

  

$115 

Registration of supervision $65 

Add or change supervisor to supervision $30 

Duplicate certificate 

Certificate verification 

$10 

$25 

Late renewal $25 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be paid directly to the 

examination services according to its requirements. 

Part II  

Requirements for Certification  

18VAC115-30-40. Prerequisites for certification by 

examination for substance abuse counselors.  

A. A candidate Every applicant for certification as a 

substance abuse counselor shall meet all the requirements of 

this section and by examination shall pass the a written 

examination prescribed in 18VAC115-30-90 approved by the 

board. The board shall determine the passing score on the 

examination. 

1. If an applicant fails to achieve a passing score within 

two years of board approval to sit for the examination, the 

applicant shall reapply according to regulations in effect at 

that time. 

2. An applicant who has applied twice and has not passed 

the examination shall not be approved to retake the 

examination, unless the applicant can provide evidence of 

extenuating circumstances for failure to pass the 

examination within the four-year period. 

B. Every applicant for examination for certification by the 

board shall:  

1. Meet the educational and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-30-50 and 18VAC115-30-60; 

and 

2. Submit the following to the board:  

a. A completed application form;  

b. Official transcript documenting coursework and 

attainment of a bachelor's or post-baccalaureate degree;  

c. Official transcripts or certificates verifying completion 

of the didactic training requirement set forth in 

subsection B of 18VAC115-30-50;  

d. Verification Attestation of supervisor's education and 

experience as required under 18VAC115-30-60 if 

supervised experience was not previously approved by 

the board;  

e. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the experience requirements of 

18VAC115-30-60;  

f. Documentation Verification of any other health or 

mental health license or certificate ever held in Virginia 
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or in another jurisdiction. In order to qualify for 

certification by examination, the applicant shall have no 

unresolved action against a license or certificate. The 

board will consider history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis;  

g. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

h. The application processing and initial certification fee; 

and 

i. Attestation of having read and understood the laws and 

regulations governing the practice of substance abuse 

counseling in Virginia.  

18VAC115-30-45. Prerequisites for certification by 

endorsement for substance abuse counselors.  

Every applicant for certification by endorsement shall 

submit:  

1. A completed application;  

2. The application processing and initial certification fee;  

3. Verification of all health or mental health licenses or 

certificates ever held in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. In order to qualify for endorsement, the 

applicant shall have no unresolved action against a license 

or certificate. The board will consider history of 

disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis. The board will 

also determine whether any or all other professional 

licenses or certificates held in another jurisdiction are 

substantially equivalent to those sought in Virginia;  

4. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB);  

5. Affidavit Attestation of having read and understood the 

regulations and laws governing the practice of substance 

abuse counseling in Virginia; and  

6. Further documentation of one of the following:  

a. Licensure Active, unrestricted licensure or certification 

as a substance abuse counselor in another jurisdiction in 

good standing obtained by standards substantially 

equivalent to the education and experience requirements 

set forth in this chapter as verified by a certified copy of 

the original application submitted directly from the out-

of-state licensing agency, or a copy of the regulations in 

effect at the time of initial licensure or certification and 

verification of a passing score on a licensure examination 

in the jurisdiction in which licensure or certification was 

obtained, and that is deemed substantially equivalent by 

the board; or  

b. Verification of a current certification in good standing 

issued by NAADAC NCC AP or other board-recognized 

national certification in substance abuse counseling 

obtained by educational and experience standards 

substantially equivalent to those set forth in this chapter; 

and 

7. Verification of a passing score on an examination in the 

jurisdiction in which licensure or certification was obtained 

or on a board-approved national examination at the level 

for which the applicant is seeking certification in Virginia. 

18VAC115-30-50. Educational requirements for 

substance abuse counselors.  

A. An applicant for examination for certification as a 

substance abuse counselor shall:  

1. Have a bachelor's or post-baccalaureate degree; and  

2. Have completed 400 240 clock hours of didactic training 

in substance abuse education from one of the following 

programs:  

a. An A regionally accredited university or college; or  

b. Seminars and workshops that meet the requirements of 

subsection B of this section and are offered or approved 

by one of the following: 

(1) The American Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates Federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies; public school systems; or 

licensed health facilities. 

(2) The American Association of Marriage and Family 

Therapists and its state affiliates. 

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards. 

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates. 

(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification. 

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals and its state and local affiliates. 

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body recognized by the board. 

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state. 
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B. Substance abuse education.  

1. The education will include 220 Of the 240 hours spent in 

receiving of didactic training in substance abuse 

counseling, a minimum of 120 hours shall be completed 

prior to registration of supervision.  

2. Each applicant shall have received a minimum of 10 16 

clock hours in each of the following eight 13 areas:  

a. Understanding the dynamics Dynamics of human 

behavior;  

b. Signs and symptoms of substance abuse;  

c. Treatment approaches Counseling theories and 

techniques;  

d. Continuum of care and case management skills;  

e. Recovery process and relapse prevention methods;  

f. Ethics Professional orientation and ethics;  

g. Professional identity in the provision of substance 

abuse services Pharmacology of abused substances; and  

h. Crisis Trauma and crisis intervention.; 

i. Co-occurring disorders;   

j. Cultural competency; 

In addition, each applicant shall have at least 20 hours in 

each of the following two areas:  

(i) k. Substance abuse counseling approaches and 

treatment planning and substance abuse research; and  

(ii) l. Group counseling; and 

m. Prevention, screening, and assessment of substance 

use and abuse. 

2. The education shall also consist of 180 hours of 

experience performing the following tasks with substance 

abuse clients:  

a. Screening clients to determine eligibility and 

appropriateness for admission to a particular program;  

b. Intake of clients by performing the administrative and 

initial assessment tasks necessary for admission to a 

program;  

c. Orientation of new clients to program's rules, goals, 

procedures, services, costs and the rights of the client;  

d. Assessment of client's strengths, weaknesses, 

problems, and needs for the development of a treatment 

plan;  

e. Treatment planning with the client to identify and rank 

problems to be addressed, establish goals, and agree on 

treatment processes;  

f. Counseling the client utilizing specialized skills in both 

individual and group approaches to achieve treatment 

goals and objectives;  

g. Case management activities that bring services, 

agencies, people and resources together in a planned 

framework of action to achieve established goals;  

h. Crisis intervention responses to clients' needs during 

acute mental, emotional or physical distress;  

i. Education of clients by providing information about 

drug abuse and available services and resources;  

j. Referral of clients in order to meet identified needs 

unable to be met by the counselor and assisting the client 

in effectively utilizing those resources;  

k. Reporting and charting information about client's 

assessment, treatment plan, progress, discharge 

summaries and other client-related data; and  

l. Consultation with other professionals to assure 

comprehensive quality care for the client.  

Each of these tasks shall be performed for at least eight 

hours under supervision and shall be verified as a part of 

the application by the supervisor.  

C. Groups and classes attended as a part of a therapy or 

treatment program will not be accepted as any part of the 

educational experience. 

18VAC115-30-60. Experience requirements for substance 

abuse counselors.  

A. Registration. Supervision in Virginia shall be registered 

and approved by the board prior to the beginning of 

supervised experience in order to be counted toward 

certification. Supervision obtained without prior board 

approval will not be accepted if it does not meet the 

requirements set forth in subsections B and C of this section. 

To register supervision for board approval prior to obtaining 

the supervised experience, an applicant shall submit in one 

package:  

1. A supervisory contract;  

2. Verification Attestation of the supervisor's education 

and experience as required under subsection subsections C 

and D of this section; and 

3. The registration fee; 

4. An official transcript documenting attainment of a 

bachelor's or post-baccalaureate degree; and 

5. Evidence of completion of at least 120 hours of didactic 

education as required by 18VAC115-30-50 B.  

B. Experience requirements.  

1. An applicant for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor shall have had 2,000 hours of supervised 
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experience in the delivery of clinical practice of substance 

abuse counseling services.  

2. The supervised experience shall include a minimum of 

one hour and a maximum of four hours per week of 

supervision 40 hours of work experience between the 

supervisor and the applicant to total 100 hours within the 

required experience. No more than half of these hours may 

be satisfied with group supervision. One hour of group 

supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour of 

individual supervision.  

3. Applicants must document successful completion of 

their The supervised experience on the Verification of 

Supervision Form at the time of application shall be 

completed in not less than 12 months and not more than 60 

months. 

a. Supervisees who began a supervised experience before  

[ (insert effective date of this regulation) February 19, 

2020, ] shall complete the supervised experience by 

[ (insert 60 months after the effective date) February 19, 

2025 ].  

b. An individual who does not complete the supervised 

experience within 60 months may request an extension 

and shall submit evidence to the board demonstrating the 

extenuating circumstances that prevented completion of 

the supervised experience within the required timeframe. 

4. Supervised experience obtained more than 10 years from 

[ (insert effective date of this regulation) February 19, 

2020, ] shall not be accepted for certification by 

examination. The board may make an exception for an 

applicant who has been providing substance abuse 

counseling for a minimum of 2,000 hours within the past 

60 months and who can submit evidence of such 

experience. 

5. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 

their names and the title "supervisee" in all written 

communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of 

the supervisee's status and the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number. 

6. The supervised experience shall consist of 160 hours of 

experience performing the following tasks with substance 

abuse clients. Each of the following tasks shall be 

performed for at least eight hours under supervision as 

verified by the supervisor on an application for 

certification: 

a. Screening clients to determine eligibility and 

appropriateness for admission to a particular program;  

b. Intake of clients by performing the administrative and 

initial assessment tasks necessary for admission to a 

program;  

c. Orientation of new clients to program's rules, goals, 

procedures, services, costs, and the rights of the client;  

d. Assessment of client's strengths, weaknesses, 

problems, and needs for the development of a treatment 

plan;  

e. Treatment planning with the client to identify and rank 

problems to be addressed, establish goals, and agree on 

treatment processes;  

f. Counseling the client utilizing specialized skills in both 

individual and group approaches to achieve treatment 

goals and objectives;  

g. Case management activities that bring services, 

agencies, people, and resources together in a planned 

framework of action to achieve established goals;  

h. Crisis intervention responses to a client's needs during 

acute mental, emotional, or physical distress;  

i. Education of clients by providing information about 

drug abuse and available services and resources;  

j. Referral of clients in order to meet identified needs 

unable to be met by the counselor and assisting the client 

in effectively utilizing those resources;  

k. Reporting and charting information about a client's 

assessment, treatment plan, progress, discharge 

summaries, and other client-related data; and  

l. Consultation with other professionals to assure 

comprehensive quality care for the client.  

C. Supervisor qualifications. A board-approved clinical 

supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license or 

certification and shall be: 

1. A licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner;  

2. A licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical 

psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed 

marriage and family therapist, medical doctor, or registered 

nurse, and possess either who has either: 

a a. A board-recognized national certification in 

substance abuse counseling obtained by standards 

substantially equivalent to those set forth in this chapter,; 

b. A certification as a substance abuse counselor issued 

by this board; or  

a c. A minimum of one year [ of ] experience in 

substance abuse counseling and at least 100 hours of 

didactic training covering the areas outlined in 

18VAC115-30-50 B 1 2 a through h 2 m; or  

3. A substance abuse counselor certified by the Virginia 

Board of Counseling who has: a. Board-recognized 

national certification in substance abuse counseling 

obtained by standards substantially equivalent to those set 
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forth in this chapter; or b. Two two years of experience as 

a Virginia board-certified substance abuse counselor.  

D. Supervisor training. In order to be approved by the board 

after [ (insert 12 months after the effective date of this 

regulation) February 19, 2021 ], a clinical supervisor shall 

obtain professional training in supervision consisting of three 

credit hours or four quarter hours in graduate-level 

coursework in supervision or at least 20 hours of continuing 

education in supervision offered by a provider approved 

under 18VAC115-30-50. 

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervisors shall assume responsibility for the 

professional activities of the prospective applicants 

supervisee under their supervision.  

2. Supervisors shall not provide supervision for activities 

for which prospective applicants supervisees have not had 

appropriate education.  

3. Supervisors shall provide supervision only for those 

substance abuse counseling services that they are qualified 

to render.  

4. At the time of formal the application for certification by 

examination, the board-approved supervisor shall 

document minimal competencies in the areas in 

18VAC115-30-60 B 6, the applicant's total hours of 

supervision, length of work experience, competence in 

substance abuse counseling and any needs for additional 

supervision or training. The supervisor shall document 

successful completion of the applicant's supervised 

experience on the Verification of Supervision Form and 

shall maintain documentation for five years post 

supervision. 

5. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

supervisee compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.   

18VAC115-30-61. Prerequisites for certification by 

examination for substance abuse counseling assistant.  

A. A candidate Every applicant for certification as a 

substance abuse counseling assistant shall meet all the 

requirements of this section, including passing pass a written 

examination approved by the board. The board shall 

determine the passing score on the examination prescribed in 

18VAC115-30-90.  

1. If an applicant fails to achieve a passing score within 

two years of board approval to sit for the examination, the 

applicant shall reapply according to regulations in effect at 

that time. 

2. An applicant who has applied twice and has not passed 

the examination shall not be approved to retake the 

examination, unless the applicant can provide evidence of 

extenuating circumstances for failure to pass the 

examination within the four-year period. 

B. Every applicant for examination for certification by the 

board shall:  

1. Meet the educational and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-30-62 and 18VAC115-30-63; 

and 

2. Submit the following to the board within the time frame 

timeframe established by the board:  

a. A completed application form;  

b. Official transcript documenting attainment of a high 

school diploma or, a general education development 

(GED) certificate, or a post-secondary degree; and  

c. The application processing and initial certification fee; 

d. Verification of all health or mental health licenses or 

certificates ever held in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. In order to qualify for certification, the 

applicant shall have no unresolved action against a 

license or certificate. The board will consider the history 

of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis; and  

e. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB). 

18VAC115-30-62. Educational requirements for 

substance abuse counseling assistants.  

A. An applicant for certification as a substance abuse 

counseling assistant shall:  

1. Have an official obtained a high school diploma or, a 

general educational development (GED) certificate, or a 

post-secondary degree; and  

2. Have completed 300 clock hours of substance abuse 

education from one of the following programs:  

a. An A regionally accredited university or college; or 

b. Seminars and workshops that meet the educational 

requirements specified in subsection B of this section and 

are offered or approved by one of the following: 

(1) The American Association of Marriage and Family 

Counselors and its state affiliates Federal, state, or local 

governmental agencies; public school systems; or 

licensed health facilities. 

(2) The American Association of Marriage and Family 

Therapists and its state affiliates. 

(3) The American Association of State Counseling 

Boards. 

(4) The American Counseling Association and its state 

and local affiliates. 
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(5) The American Psychological Association and its state 

affiliates. 

(6) The Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification. 

(7) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction 

Professionals and its state and local affiliates. 

(8) National Association of Social Workers.  

(9) National Board for Certified Counselors. 

(10) A national behavioral health organization or 

certification body recognized by the board. 

(11) Individuals or organizations that have been 

approved as continuing competency sponsors by the 

American Association of State Counseling Boards or a 

counseling board in another state. 

B. Substance abuse education. 1. The education will include 

120 hours spent in receiving didactic training in substance 

abuse counseling. Each applicant shall have received a 

minimum of 10 eight clock hours in each of the following 

eight 13 areas:  

a. Understanding the dynamics of human behavior;  

b. Signs and symptoms of substance abuse;  

c. Treatment approaches Counseling theories and 

techniques;  

d. Case management skills and continuum of care;  

e. Recovery process and relapse prevention methods;  

f. Ethics Professional orientation and ethics;  

g. Professional identity in the provision of substance 

abuse services Cultural competency; and  

h. Crisis Trauma and crisis intervention; 

i. Pharmacology of abused substances; 

j. Co-occurring disorders; 

k. Substance abuse counseling approaches and treatment 

planning; 

l. Group counseling; and 

m. Prevention, screening, and assessment of substance 

use and abuse.  

2. The education shall include 180 hours of experience 

performing the following tasks with substance abuse 

clients while under supervision:  

a. Screening clients and gathering information used in 

making the determination for the need for additional 

professional assistance;  

b. Intake of clients by performing the administrative 

tasks necessary for admission to a program;  

c. Orientation of new clients to program's rules, goals, 

procedures, services, costs and the rights of the client;  

d. Assisting the client in identifying and ranking 

problems to be addressed, establish goals, and agree on 

treatment processes;  

e. Implementation of a substance abuse treatment plan as 

directed by the supervisor;  

f. Implementation of case management activities that 

bring services, agencies, people and resources together in 

a planned framework of action to achieve established 

goals;  

g. Assistance in identifying appropriate crisis 

intervention responses to clients' needs during acute 

mental, emotional or physical distress;  

h. Education of clients by providing information about 

drug abuse and available services and resources;  

i. Facilitating the client's utilization of available support 

systems and community resources to meet needs 

identified in clinical valuation or treatment planning;  

j. Reporting and charting information about client's 

treatment, progress, and other client-related data; and  

k. Consultation with other professionals to assure 

comprehensive quality care for the client.  

Each of these tasks shall be performed for at least eight 

hours under supervision and shall be verified as a part of 

the application by the supervisor.  

C. Groups and classes attended as a part of a therapy or 

treatment program shall not be accepted as any part of the 

educational experience.  

18VAC115-30-63. Experience requirements for substance 

abuse counseling assistants. 

A. In addition to the didactic training required in 

18VAC115-30-62, the education shall include 180 hours of 

experience in a practicum or internship consistent with 

§ 54.1-3507.2 C of the Code of Virginia performing the 

following tasks with substance abuse clients while under 

supervision:  

1. Screening clients and gathering information used in 

making the determination for the need for additional 

professional assistance;  

2. Intake of clients by performing the administrative tasks 

necessary for admission to a program;  

3. Orientation of new clients to program's rules, goals, 

procedures, services, costs, and the rights of the client;  

4. Assisting the client in identifying and ranking problems 

to be addressed, establishing goals, and agreeing on 

treatment processes;  
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5. Implementation of a substance abuse treatment plan as 

directed by the supervisor;  

6. Implementation of case management activities that bring 

services, agencies, people, and resources together in a 

planned framework of action to achieve established goals;  

7. Assistance in identifying appropriate crisis intervention 

responses to a client's needs during acute mental, 

emotional, or physical distress;  

8. Education of clients by providing information about 

drug abuse and available services and resources;  

9. Facilitating the client's utilization of available support 

systems and community resources to meet needs identified 

in clinical valuation or treatment planning;  

10. Reporting and charting information about the client's 

treatment, progress, and other client-related data; and  

11. Consultation with other professionals to assure 

comprehensive quality care for the client.  

B. Each of these tasks shall be performed for at least eight 

hours under supervision and shall be verified as a part of the 

application by the supervisor.  

C. Groups and classes attended as a part of a therapy or 

treatment program shall not be accepted as any part of the 

educational experience. 

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-30-90. General examination requirements for 

substance abuse counselors and substance abuse 

counseling assistants. (Repealed.) 

A. Every applicant for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor or substance abuse counseling assistant by 

examination shall pass a written examination approved by the 

board. The board shall determine the passing score on the 

examination.  

B. Every applicant for certification by endorsement shall 

have passed an examination deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

Part IV III 

Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC115-30-110. Annual renewal of certificate.  

A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on June 

30 of each year.  

B. Along with the renewal form, the certified substance 

abuse counselor or certified substance abuse counseling 

assistant shall submit the renewal fee prescribed in 

18VAC115-30-30 and shall attest to completion of continuing 

education as required by 18VAC115-30-111.  

C. Certified individuals shall notify the board of a change in 

the address of record or the public address, if different from 

the address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a 

renewal notice and application forms shall not excuse the 

certified substance abuse counselor from the renewal 

requirement.  

18VAC115-30-111. Continuing education requirements. 

A. Certified substance abuse counselors shall be required to 

have completed a minimum of 10 contact hours of continuing 

education in substance abuse and certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of five contact hours of continuing education in 

substance abuse prior to renewal each year. 

1. Continuing education hours shall be offered by an 

approved provider listed in 18VAC115-30-50 A or 

18VAC115-30-62 A, and the course content shall be 

consistent with 18VAC115-30-50 B or 18VAC115-30-62 

B. 

2. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 

required for the first renewal following initial certification 

in Virginia. 

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the certificate holder 

prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

certificate holder of the continuing education requirement.  

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of the certificate holder such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters upon written request from the certificate holder prior 

to the renewal date.  

D. All certificate holders are required to maintain original 

documentation, including official transcripts showing credit 

hours earned or certificates of participation, for a period of 

three years following renewal.  

E. The board may conduct an audit of certificate holders to 

verify compliance with the requirement for a renewal period. 

Upon request, a certificate holder shall provide 

documentation of credit hours or participation. 

F. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 

shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC115-30-120. Reinstatement. 

A. A person whose certificate has expired may renew it 

within one year after its expiration date by paying the late 

renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-30-30 and the 

certification fee prescribed for the year the certificate was not 

renewed.  
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B. A person who fails to renew a certificate after one year or 

more shall apply: 

1. Apply for reinstatement, pay;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed certificate and 

submit; 

3. Submit verification of any other health or mental health 

license or certificate ever held in another jurisdiction;  

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank; and 

5. Submit evidence of a minimum of 20 hours of substance 

abuse education that is consistent with course content 

specified in subsection B of 18VAC115-30-50 B for 

substance abuse counselors and in 18VAC115-30-62 for 

substance abuse counseling assistants to demonstrate the 

continued ability to perform the functions within the scope 

of practice of the certificate. Courses shall be offered or 

approved by a provider listed in 18VAC115-30-50 A or 

18VAC115-30-62 A. 

Part V  

Standards of Practice; Disciplinary Actions; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-30-140. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 

in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

persons whose activities are regulated by the board.  

B. Persons certified by the board shall:  

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the 

public and does not endanger the public health, safety, or 

welfare.  

2. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes.  

3. Practice only within the competency area for which they 

are qualified by training or experience.  

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of certified 

substance abuse counselors or certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants.  

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 

professional services. Make appropriate consultations and 

referrals based on the best interest of clients. 

6. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 

practices that are necessary to providing appropriate 

services. 

7. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the 

client is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making arrangements for the 

continuation of treatment for clients when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship. 

8. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

C. In regard to client records, persons certified by the board 

shall: 

6. 1. Disclose counseling records to others only in 

accordance with the requirements of state and federal 

statutes and regulations, including, but not limited to 

§§ 32.1-127.1:03 (Patient Health Records Privacy Act), 

2.2-3704 (Virginia Freedom of Information Act), and 54.1-

2400.1 (Mental Health Service Providers; Duty to Protect 

Third Parties; Immunity) of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC 

§ 290dd-2 (Confidentiality of Drug and Alcohol Treatment 

Records); and 42 CFR Part 2 (Alcohol and Drug Abuse 

Patient Records and Regulations) applicable law.  

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 

of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative 

before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting 

third-party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client 

records and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or 

public presentations. 

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client, to include counseling 

dates and identifying information to substantiate the 

substance abuse counseling plan, client progress, and 

termination. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or 

as otherwise required by law from the date of termination 

of the counseling relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years); 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or the 

client's legally authorized representative. 
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D. In regard to dual relationships, persons certified by the 

board shall: 

7. 1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former 

clients, supervisees, and supervisors that are harmful to the 

client's or supervisee's well being, well-being or which that 

would impair the substance abuse counselor's, substance 

abuse counseling assistant's, or supervisor's objectivity and 

professional judgment, or increase the risk of client or 

supervisee exploitation. This prohibition includes, but is 

not limited to, such activities as counseling close friends, 

former sexual partners, employees, or relatives; or 

engaging in business relationships with clients.  

Engaging 2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 

relationships with current clients or supervisees is strictly 

prohibited. For at least five years after cessation or 

termination of professional services, certified substance 

abuse counselors and certified substance abuse counseling 

assistants shall not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic 

relationships with a client or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services. Since Because sexual or romantic 

relationships are potentially exploitative, certified 

substance abuse counselors and certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants shall bear the burden of 

demonstrating that there has been no exploitation. A 

client's consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a certified substance abuse 

counselor or certified substance abuse counseling assistants 

does not change the nature of the conduct nor lift the 

regulatory prohibition.  

8. 3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties 

of obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third 

parties.  

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons certified by the board shall 

advise their clients of their right to report such misconduct to 

the Department of Health Professions in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC115-30-150. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

restriction or denial of certificate; petition for rehearing 

disciplinary action, denial of initial certification, or denial 

of renewal of certification. 

In accordance with subdivision 7 of § 54.1-2400(7) 54.1-

2400 and § 54.1-2401 of the Code of Virginia, the board may 

revoke, suspend, restrict, impose a monetary penalty, or 

decline to issue or renew a certificate based upon the 

following conduct: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 

moral turpitude, or violation of or aid to another in 

violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute 

applicable to the practice of substance abuse counseling, or 

any provision of this chapter;  

2. Procuring a certificate, including submission of an 

application or supervisory forms, by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 

make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 

or to the public; or if one is unable to practice substance 

abuse counseling with reasonable skill and safety to clients 

by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 

narcotics, chemicals, or any other type of material or as a 

result of any mental or physical condition; 

4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance 

with the standards of practice outlined in 18VAC115-30-

140 or Violating or abetting another person in the violation 

of any provision of any statute applicable to the practice of 

substance abuse counseling or any regulation in this 

chapter; 

5. Performance of functions outside the board-certified 

area of competency in accordance with regulations set 

forth in this chapter and §§ 54.1-3507.1 and 54.1-3507.2 of 

the Code of Virginia; 

6. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

7. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client; 

8. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation;  

9. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

10. Action taken against a health or mental health license, 

certification, registration, or application in Virginia or 

another jurisdiction. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-4945; Filed December 23, 2019, 3:43 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Counseling is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Health Professions pursuant to 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that are limited to reducing 

fees charged to regulants and applicants. The Board of 

Counseling will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1388 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals 

(amending 18VAC115-80-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 19, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments reduce the application fee for registration 

as a qualified mental health professional-trainee to $25. 

18VAC115-80-20. Fees required by the board. 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the registration of qualified mental health professionals:  

Registration as a QMHP-A $50 

Registration as a QMHP-C $50 

Registration as a QMHP-trainee $25 

Renewal of registration $30 

Late renewal $20 

Reinstatement of a lapsed registration $75 

Duplicate certificate of registration $10 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$50

0 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

shall not be refundable. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6239; Filed December 31, 2019, 10:13 a.m.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC125-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Psychology (amending 

18VAC125-20-30). 

18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Sex Offender Treatment Providers (amending 

18VAC125-30-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Psychology the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

mandate for collection of a handling fee is found in § 2.2-

4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Psychology (Board) proposes to amend 18 VAC 

125-20 Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology 

and 18 VAC 125-30 Regulations Governing the Certification 

of Sex Offender Treatment Providers to state that the 

handling fee for a returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card is $50, replacing a current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulations include 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code § 2.2-4805 

governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code § 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's proposal 

therefore conforms the regulations to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals regulated by the Board. As of June 

30, 2019, there were 29 applied psychologists, 3,739 clinical 

psychologists, 8 residents in school psychology, 865 residents 

in training, 100 school psychologists, 603 school 

psychologists-limited, 438 sex offender treatment providers, 

and 157 sex offender treatment provider trainees regulated by 

the Board. If any of these individuals have a check returned 

or a credit card or debit card dishonored, the proposal would 

increase their cost by $15. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.4 The proposal does not 

substantively adversely affect small businesses.  

_________________________ 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-30. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

  Applied 

psychologists, 

Clinical 

psychologists, 

School 

psychologists 

School 

psychologists-

limited 

1. Registration of 

residency (per 

residency request) 

$50 - - 

2. Add or change 

supervisor 

$25 - - 

3. Application 

processing and 

initial licensure 

$200 $85 

4. Annual renewal 

of active license 

$140 $70 

5. Annual renewal 

of inactive license 

$70 $35 

6. Late renewal $50 $25 

7. Verification of 

license to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 $25 

8. Duplicate 

license 

$5 $5 

9. Additional or 

replacement wall 

certificate 

$15 $15 

10. Returned 

check Handling 

$35 $50 $35 $50 
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fee for returned 

check or 

dishonored credit 

card or debit card 

11. Reinstatement 

of a lapsed license 

$270 $125 

12. Reinstatement 

following 

revocation or 

suspension 

$500 $500 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable. 

C. Between May 1, 2020, and June 30, 2020, the following 

renewal fees shall be in effect: 

1. For annual renewal of an active license as a clinical, 

applied, or school psychologist, it shall be $100. For an 

inactive license as a clinical, applied, or school 

psychologist, it shall be $50. 

2. For annual renewal of an active license as a school 

psychologist-limited, it shall be $50. For an inactive 

license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be $25.  

18VAC125-30-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of sex offender treatment providers:  

Registration of supervision  $50 

Add or change supervisor $25 

Application processing and initial 

certification fee 

$90 

Certification renewal $75 

Duplicate certificate $5 

Late renewal $25 

Reinstatement of an expired certificate $125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$15 

Returned check Handling fee for 

returned check or dishonored credit 

card or debit card 

$35 $50 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$500 

One-time reduction in fee for renewal 

on June 30, 2020 

$55 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

All fees are nonrefundable.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6172; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:21 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-30, 

18VAC140-20-45, 18VAC140-20-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-

4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Social Work the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The less burdensome and costly pathway to 

licensure for a person with a bachelor's degree in social work 

resulting from the amendments may encourage individuals to 

seek licensure. And, more people working in the social work 

field, providing support services and casework, may increase 

access to mental health services to help protect the public 

health, safety, and welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

regulatory action will make licensure as a licensed 

baccalaureate social worker (LBSW) considerably less 

burdensome, and since the change is consistent with 35 other 

states, it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments will reduce the fee for initial 

licensure and for annual renewal of licensure for an LBSW. 

The application fee is reduced from $115 to $100, and the 

renewal fee is reduced from $65 to $55. The most significant 

reduction in regulatory burden is the elimination of the 

current requirement for an applicant with a baccalaureate 

degree to have 3,000 hours of supervised experience in order 

to qualify for licensure as an LBSW. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. There may be more persons working as LBSWs, 

providing casework and related services, if the cost reduction 

and elimination of supervised experience leads to an increase 

in the number of licensed providers. There are no advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency. Only 13 people are currently 

licensed as LBSWs, so the $10 reduction in renewal fees will 

not affect the board's budget.  

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to amend 

18VAC140-20 Regulations Governing the Practice of Social 

Work (regulation) in order to reduce the fees and remove the 

supervised experience requirements for "licensed 

baccalaureate social workers" (LBSW). The application fee 

would be reduced from $115 to $100, and the renewal fee 

would be reduced from $65 to $55. LBSW candidates are 

currently required to undergo 3,000 hours of supervised 

experience in order to qualify for licensure; this requirement 

would be entirely eliminated. 

Background. Chapter 451 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 

divided the category of "licensed social worker" into two 

categories of "baccalaureate social workers" (BSW) and 

"master's social worker" (MSW) based on the education level 

of the applicants. In response to Chapter 451, the Board 

amended the regulation to create two categories of licensure 

by incorporating the definitions of BSW and MSW, and 

replacing "licensed social worker" with "LBSW and LMSW" 

in all of the existing fees and requirements for licensure. 

Apart from these changes, the Board did not revise the 

content of the requirements.2  

Prior to the creation of two separate licenses, the regulatory 

requirements for licensed social workers were identical for 

applicants with bachelor's or master's degrees, except with 

respect to work experience. While applicants with a master's 

degree were not required to acquire any supervised work 

experience, those with a bachelor's degree were required to 

register for 3,000 hours of supervised experience with a 

licensed social worker. This difference in requirements was 

maintained when the Board amended the regulation in 

response to Chapter 451 to create two categories of licensure: 

LBSW applicants are required to provide documentation of 

having completed 3,000 hours of supervised experience 

whereas LMSW applicants face no such requirement.  

The board now proposes to revise the content of the 

requirements. Per the Agency Background Document,3 the 

Board is interested in increasing the workforce that is able to 

provide social work services by increasing the number of 

LBSWs. A survey of requirements in other states found that 

32 states do not require supervised experience following the 

bachelor's degree and 12 states have no equivalent category 

of licensure. Virginia has required supervised experience for 

30 years and is one of only 4 states that requires supervised 

experience. The Board estimates that it typically takes 18 

months to 2 years for a candidate to complete 3,000 hours of 

supervised experience. Further, the category of BSW is 

defined as providing basic generalist services under the 

supervision of an MSW, including casework management, 

supportive services, consultation and education.4 Hence, 

removing the supervised experience requirement does not 

change the capacity in which LBSWs perform their 

professional duties but allows them to become fully licensed 

more expeditiously upon completing a bachelor's degree in 

social work.  

Finally, the Board also proposes a reduction in the first-time 

application fee and annual renewal fees for LBSWs; the 

application fee would be reduced from $115 to $100, and the 

renewal fee would be reduced from $65 to $55. This is a 

reduction of the current fees by $15 and $10 respectively and 

is intended to more clearly distinguish between the two levels 

of licensure.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Institutions that hire social 

workers, such as hospitals, schools, and community services 

boards may find it easier to fill vacancies for social workers if 

the number of LBSWs increases. Further, to the extent that 

employers are able to substitute services provided by LMSWs 

with services provided by LBSWs, they may be able to lower 

their operating costs, assuming LBSWs are paid less than 

LMSWs. However, the ability of employers to substitute 

LMSWs with LBSWs is limited since LMSWs are required to 

supervise LBSWs.  

Potential LBSWs may benefit from the removal of the 3,000-

hour supervised experience requirement by being able to 

obtain a license and begin employment upon obtaining their 

degree to the extent that having the license in hand gives them 

greater flexibility and bargaining power in the labor market 

for social workers. However, unless there already is a 

shortage of social workers, such that employers cannot fill 

positions, an increase in the supply of social workers 

competing for positions would likely lead to a decline in 

average wages paid to them.  

Potential LMSWs may be affected even though the proposed 

changes are not directly targeted at them. If the supervised 

experience requirement was burdensome (difficult to arrange, 

low-paying, and requiring nearly two years to complete), and 

ultimately provided the same benefits as obtaining a master's 

degree, it could have incentivized social work students to 

obtain a master's degree before applying for licensure 

altogether. This is indicated by the fact that the Board 

currently has only 13 LBSWs but 771 LMSWs.5 This 

incentive was likely heightened to the extent that the burden 

of obtaining a master's degree decreased over the last thirty 

years as a result of increased access to student loans and the 

proliferation of online master's programs. Although these 

incentives will likely interact, the removal of the supervised 

experience requirement could diminish the perceived 

additional benefit of obtaining a master's degree in social 

work. As a result, some of the growth in the number of 

LBSWs could arise from slower growth, or even a reduction, 

in the number of LMSWs. 

Finally, an overall increase in the supply of qualified and 

licensed social workers would support the expansion of 

mental health resources in a variety of institutional settings 
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from schools and hospitals to prisons and rehabilitation 

facilities. This could lead to increased public safety and well-

being in general, although these benefits may be difficult to 

quantify in precise terms. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned, some 

social workers with bachelor's degrees may be encouraged to 

seek licensure. Mental health providers and entities that 

employ social workers, such as hospitals and nursing 

facilities, correctional facilities, and child placing agencies, 

may find it easier to fill vacancies for licensed social workers.  

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are likely to increase the overall number of social workers 

that are licensed and employed in a variety of institutional 

settings, from schools and hospitals to prisons and 

rehabilitation facilities.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are not 

affected. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.8 The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to have an adverse impact on any 

small business.  

___________________________ 

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8344, effective 

August 8, 2019. 

3See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=32\5389\8766\Agency 

Statement_DHP_8766_v1.pdf 

4Code of Virginia (§ 54.1-3700) 

5The Department of Health Professions provided this information via email. 

Unfortunately, they could not provide information on the highest education 

level of licensed social workers prior to the separation of licensure levels. 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Social Work concurs with the analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce the fee for initial licensure to 

$100 and the fee for annual renewal of licensure to $55 for 

licensed baccalaureate social workers (LBSW) and (ii) 

eliminate the requirement for an applicant with a 

bachelor's degree to have 3,000 hours of supervised 

experience to qualify for licensure as an LBSW.  

18VAC140-20-30. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

1. Registration of supervision $50 

2. Addition to or change in registration 

of supervision 

$25 

3. Application processing   

a. Licensed clinical social worker $165 

b. LBSW 

c. LMSW 

$115 $100 

$115 

4. Annual license renewal    

a. Registered social worker $25 

b. Associate social worker  $25 

c. LBSW 

d. LMSW 

$65 $55 

$65 

e. Licensed clinical social worker  $90 

5. Penalty for late renewal   

a. Registered social worker $10 

b. Associate social worker  $10 

c. LBSW 

d. LMSW 

$20 

$20 

e. Licensed clinical social worker  $30 

6. Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$25 

7. Additional or replacement licenses $15 

8. Additional or replacement wall 

certificates  

$25 

9. Returned check $35 

10. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action  

$500 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable 

to the Treasurer of Virginia and forwarded to the board. All 

fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be paid directly to the 

examination service according to its requirements.  

18VAC140-20-45. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 

submit in one package:  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8344
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=32/5389/8766/AgencyStatement_DHP_8766_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=32/5389/8766/AgencyStatement_DHP_8766_v1.pdf
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1. A completed application and the application fee 

prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good 

standing obtained by standards required for licensure in 

another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing 

agency. Licensure in the other jurisdiction shall be of a 

comparable type as the licensure that the applicant is 

seeking in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score on a board-approved 

national exam at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in Virginia.  

4. Documentation of any other health or mental health 

licensure or certification, if applicable. 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  

6. Verification of: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is 

seeking licensure in another United States jurisdiction for 

24 out of the past 60 months;  

b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure for 24 out of the 

past 60 months; or  

c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements 

substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-

20-50 A 2 and A 3 and 18VAC140-20-60 C 2 and C 3. 

7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in 

any pending or unresolved board action in another 

jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.  

B. If an applicant for licensure by endorsement has not 

passed a board-approved national examination at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia, the board 

may approve the applicant to sit for such examination. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements 

for an LBSW or LMSW. 

A. Education. The applicant for licensure as an LBSW shall 

hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited school of social 

work. The applicant for licensure as an LMSW shall hold a 

master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 

Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 

equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 

Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on 

Social Work Education. 

B. Master's degree applicant. An applicant who holds a 

master's degree may apply for licensure as an LMSW without 

documentation of supervised experience. 

C. Supervised experience requirement for bachelor's degree 

applicants. Supervised experience without prior written board 

approval will not be accepted toward licensure, except 

supervision obtained in another United States jurisdiction 

may be accepted if it met the requirements of that jurisdiction.  

1. Registration. Prior to the onset of supervision, an 

individual who proposes to obtain supervised experience in 

Virginia shall: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 

completed by the supervisor and the supervised 

individual; and  

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have 

completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised post-

bachelor's degree experience in casework management and 

supportive services under supervision satisfactory to the 

board. A minimum of one hour and a maximum of four 

hours of face-to-face supervision shall be provided per 40 

hours of work experience for a total of at least 100 hours. 

3. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than 

two nor more than four consecutive years from the 

beginning of the supervised experience. An individual who 

does not complete the supervision requirement after four 

consecutive years of supervised experience may request an 

extension of up to 12 months. The request for an extension 

shall include evidence that demonstrates extenuating 

circumstances that prevented completion of the supervised 

experience within four consecutive years. 

D. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor providing supervision shall hold an 

active, unrestricted license as a licensed social worker with 

a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a 

bachelor's degree and at least three years of post-licensure 

social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 

in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are 

being rendered. If this requirement places an undue burden 

on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board 

may consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 

2. The supervisor shall: 

a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the 

prospective applicant once the supervisory arrangement 

is accepted by the board; 

b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan 

of a representative sample of cases assigned to the 

applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 

should be representative of the variables of gender, age, 

assessment, length of service and casework method 

within the client population seen by the applicant. It is 

the applicant's responsibility to assure the 

representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 

supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 

applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
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The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five 

years post supervision, of which clients were the subject 

of supervision;  

c. Provide supervision only for those casework 

management and support services activities for which the 

supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to 

provide to clients;  

d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 

the supervisor is qualified;  

e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional 

ethics and professional competency; and 

f. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 

supervision or if the supervision has ended or has been 

terminated by the supervisor. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family 

member or provide supervision for anyone with whom the 

supervisor has a dual relationship. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6177; Filed December 17, 2019, 6:06 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-100).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: March 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX 

(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Veterinary Medicine the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

The specific mandate for collection of a handling fee is found 

in § 2.2-4805 of the Virginia Debt Collection Act 

Purpose: The rationale for the regulatory change is 

compliance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-

4800 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, in which the General 

Assembly has determined that the cost for handling returned 

checks or dishonored credit or debit cards is $50. The 

department and its regulatory boards license and discipline 

health care practitioners, and its mission of protecting the 

health and safety of the public must be supported by its 

licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with financial policy of the 

Commonwealth and is expected to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling 

fee of $50 for a returned check, dishonored credit card, or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

There are no disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend 

18VAC150-20 Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Veterinary Medicine to state that the handling fee for a 

returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card is $50, 

replacing a current $35 charge. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a 

public body in the course of its duties is not paid by the 

financial institution on which it is drawn, because of 

insufficient funds in the account of the drawer, no 

account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of 

the drawer is closed, and the check or other means of 

payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the 

amount thereof shall be charged to the person on whose 

account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such 

payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, 

whichever is greater, shall be added to such amount. 

Based on this Code provision, the current regulation includes 

a $35 returned check charge.  

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code § 2.2-

4805 governs.   

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the 

Office of the Attorney General that Virginia Code § 2.2-4805 

prevails, the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored 

credit card or debit card is $50. The Board's proposal 

therefore conforms the regulation to current law. DHP has 

indicated that in practice they will continue to charge the $35 

fee until this proposed regulatory action becomes effective. 

The services provided by DHP are funded by the fees paid by 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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the regulated individuals and entities. To the extent that the 

$50 fee more accurately represents the cost incurred by DHP, 

the proposed change may be beneficial in that the cost would 

need not be subsidized by other regulants who did not cause 

the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals and entities regulated by the Board. 

As of June 30, 2019, there were 24 equine dental technicians, 

4,430 veterinarians, 1,151 veterinary establishments, 77 

veterinary faculty, 58 veterinary intern/residents, and 2,327 

veterinary technicians regulated by the Board.2 If any of these 

individuals or entities have a check returned or a credit card 

or debit card dishonored, the proposal would increase their 

cost by $15. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities or introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal does not substantially affect the use and value of 

private property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses5:  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendment potentially affects the 1,151 

veterinary establishments licensed in the Commonwealth, 

most or all of which likely qualify as small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. If any of the veterinary establishments 

have a check returned or a credit card or debit card dishonored, 

the proposal would increase their cost by $15. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse 

impact and meet the intended policy goals.  

________________________________ 

2Data source: DHP  

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the Analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments replace the returned check fee of $35 

with a fee of $50 for handling a returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card payment in 

compliance with § 2.2-4805 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC150-20-100. Fees. 

The following fees shall be in effect: 

Veterinary application for licensure 

Veterinary application for faculty licensure 

$200 

$100 

Veterinary license renewal (active) $175 

Veterinary license renewal (inactive) 

Veterinary faculty license renewal 

$85 

$75 

Veterinary reinstatement of expired license $255 

Veterinary license late renewal 

Veterinary faculty license late renewal 

$60 

$25 

Veterinarian reinstatement after disciplinary 

action 

Veterinary intern/resident license -- initial or 

renewal 

$450 

$25 

Veterinary technician application for 

licensure 

$65 

Veterinary technician license renewal $50 

Veterinary technician license renewal 

(inactive) 

$25 

Veterinary technician license late renewal $20 

Veterinary technician reinstatement of 

expired license 

$95 

Veterinary technician reinstatement after 

disciplinary action 

$125 

Equine dental technician initial registration $100 

Equine dental technician registration 

renewal 

$70 

Equine dental technician late renewal $25 

Equine dental technician reinstatement $120 

Initial veterinary establishment registration $300 

Veterinary establishment renewal $200 

Veterinary establishment late renewal $75 

Veterinary establishment reinstatement $75 

Veterinary establishment reinspection $300 

Veterinary establishment -- change of 

location 

$300 
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Veterinary establishment -- change of 

veterinarian-in-charge 

$40 

Duplicate license $15 

Duplicate wall certificate $25 

Returned check Handling fee for returned 

check or dishonored credit card or debit 

card 

$35 $50 

Licensure verification to another 

jurisdiction 

$25 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6170; Filed December 20, 2019, 1:20 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-100. Adult Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC30-100-10, 22VAC30-100-20, 

22VAC30-100-40 through 22VAC30-100-80; adding 

22VAC30-100-45; repealing 22VAC30-100-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-148 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 1397(3). 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-148 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

the responsibility for the planning, administration, and 

implementation of adult protective services (APS) in the 

Commonwealth. In addition, § 51.5-148 establishes the 

provision of these services by local departments of social 

services (LDSSs) and subject to the regulations promulgated 

by the Commissioner of the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. Finally, § 51.5-131 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the commissioner to promulgate 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of the laws 

of the Commonwealth administered by the department. 

Purpose: This regulatory action amends and clarifies language 

describing LDSS actions during the provision of APS to 

vulnerable adults in the Commonwealth. The standards 

ensure that an adult's health and safety remain a primary 

focus when services are provided to victims of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation. 

The right to review process establishes requirements ensuring 

that alleged perpetrators are afforded the opportunity to 

dispute the investigative findings of the LDSS while also 

balancing the safety and welfare of adult victims.  

This regulatory action ensures the regulation content is clear, 

which is essential to ensuring that the adult's health and safety 

needs are most appropriately met. 

Substance: Proposed changes include clarifying definitions 

and other regulation text as well as amending content that is 

obsolete or inconsistent. The intention is also to review 

regulatory language to ensure requirements adequately 

address the safety of the adult who is receiving services, 

while also balancing the adult's right to self-determination.  

The regulatory language explains the requirements regarding 

workers' case documentation, including entering the case 

record into the state database of record. DARS guidance has 

included this information for several years, but it is necessary 

to include it in regulation. This action also eliminates 

regulatory language that may be redundant or confusing to 

workers.  

The section that addresses civil penalties provides a more 

detailed process for each step in imposing a civil penalty. The 

Office of the Attorney General (OAG) determined that the 

current language needs to be more precise.  

A new section establishes a right to review process for 

alleged perpetrators of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

Guidance provided by the OAG stated that this process 

needed to be established.  

Other revisions to the regulation content may also be 

proposed based on public comment. 

Issues: The advantages to the public and the agency or 

Commonwealth include that: 

1. The amendments to the regulations ensure that the needs of 

older adults and individuals with disabilities are met during 

APS investigations and service provision. With the exception 

of the addition of the right to review process, the amendments 

to the regulation clarify but do not increase LDSS staff 

responsibilities.  

2. The majority of the regulatory content comports with 

current manual guidance and current LDSS practice. The 

increase in responsibilities regarding right to review are 

balanced by the need to ensure that an individual who the 

LDSS identifies as the alleged perpetrator of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation is afforded the opportunity to address 

this issue with the LDSS. The right to review process does 

not undermine or conflict with any due process protections 

afforded the alleged perpetrator by other licensing, regulatory, 

or legal authorities.  

mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
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3. Amendments to the section addressing civil penalties 

clarify the process and more thoroughly explain that the 

responsibilities of individuals involved in the imposition of a 

civil penalty when a mandated reporter fails to report. Most 

mandated reporters are regulated by other state agencies. 

While the proposed regulation has the beneficial impact of 

providing a consistent framework during the provision of 

APS in Virginia, it does have the disadvantage of a fiscal 

impact (as it relates to the right to review process) on the 

Commonwealth and LDSS. There are no disadvantages to the 

public. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 

proposed regulatory action serves as the report of the findings 

of the regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

proposes to incorporate the current policy on an alleged adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation perpetrator's right to review the 

actions taken by the local department of social services 

(LDSS) as well as to make clarifying changes to content that 

may be unclear, inconsistent, or obsolete. 

Background. This regulation establishes standards for LDSS 

for the provision of Adult Protective Services (APS) 

investigations and post-investigation services. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, an alleged adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation perpetrator's right to review 

actions taken against him/her by LDSS are addressed in 

DARS policy manuals. However, the Attorney General has 

advised DARS to incorporate the current policy into 

regulation. The right to review is a process by which the 

alleged perpetrator can contest an adverse disposition. 

Although, the right to review has existed in DARS policy 

manuals, DARS expects that inclusion of the process in the 

regulation would significantly improve compliance because 

the standards would be in a regulation, which has the force of 

law, rather than policy documents, which do not. 

Consequently, promulgation of the right to review in 

regulation is anticipated to result in additional reviews and 

hence increased administrative costs for LDSS. 

DARS estimates 427 right to reviews may be held annually 

pursuant to this regulation. It is estimated that a local APS 

worker would spend seven hours of staff time per review at 

$36/hour to prepare for and conduct a right to review. It is 

also estimated that a local director would spend three 

additional hours per review at $63/hour to conduct a right to 

review. If 427 reviews occur annually, statewide staff 

expenses would be $188,368. Postage costs are estimated at 

$5 per review for a total of $2,135 bringing the total costs to 

$190,503. Localities would fund $29,528 (15.5%) of this 

amount and the rest, $160,975 (84.5%), would be funded by 

the Department of Social Services.  

On the other hand, this action confers a benefit by 

strengthening an individual's right to contest an adverse 

disposition and avoid the consequences that may follow such 

a finding, especially if the finding would be communicated to 

a licensing, regulatory, or legal authority. However, DARS 

cannot estimate the number of cases where an original 

disposition may be amended after the right to review process 

is invoked. Additionally, local departments of social services 

as well as the public would have ease of access to and clarity 

about the right to review, likely producing a more consistent 

application of this process throughout the state and conferring 

the other procedural benefits that result from promulgation of 

a regulation under the Administrative Process Act. 

According to DARS, the remaining changes largely reflect 

and clarify practices already followed by LDSS, and they are 

therefore not expected to create any significant economic 

impact other than improving the clarity of the existing rules. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments to the regulation estimated to primarily affect 

427 individuals who may invoke their right to review their 

dispositions. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments are estimated to introduce $29,528 in 

administrative costs for local departments to conduct 427 

right to reviews annually. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would require 4,270 hours of staff time statewide annually to 

implement the right to review process. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.4 The proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

__________________________ 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments update standards for local 

departments of social services (LDSSs) for the provision of 

adult protective services (APS) investigations and post-

investigation services and provisions for the imposition of 

civil penalties on mandated reporters who fail to report 

suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation, including 

(i) updating definitions used during the course of reporting 

adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation; APS investigations; 

and the provision of services to adults who may be victims; 

(ii) clarifying the specific actions an APS worker must 

take; and (iii) establishing a process to afford certain 

alleged perpetrators of adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation the opportunity to review the actions taken by 

an LDSS.  

22VAC30-100-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury, 

or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an adult as 

defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Adult" means any person in the Commonwealth who is 

abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of being abused, 

neglected, or exploited; and is 18 years of age or older and 

incapacitated, or is 60 years of age and older, or any person 

18 years of age or older who is incapacitated and who resides 

in the Commonwealth; provided, however, "adult" may 

include qualifying nonresidents who are temporarily in the 

Commonwealth and who are in need of temporary or 

emergency protective services.  

"Adult protective services" or "APS" means services 

provided by the local department that are necessary to protect 

an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia 

from abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

"APS case management information system" means the 

computer system that collects and maintains information on 

APS reports, investigations, and service provision. The 

system is the official state automated system for APS.  

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 

knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation or whose involvement may 

help ensure the safety of the adult. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person, and where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator."  

"Department" or "DARS" means the Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Director" means the director or his delegated designated 

representative of the local department of social services of the 

any city or county in which the adult resides or is found the 

Commonwealth.  

"Disposition" means the determination by the local 

department of whether or not adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation has occurred.  

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 

or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts, and evidence.  

"Exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, improper, or 

fraudulent use of an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the 

Code of Virginia or his the adult's funds, property, benefits, 

resources, or other assets for another's profit, benefit, or 

advantage, including a caregiver or person serving in a 

fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful 

use of or access to such funds, property, benefits, resources, 

or other assets. "Adult exploitation" includes (i) an intentional 

breach of a fiduciary obligation to an adult to his detriment or 

an intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult 

in a manner that results in neglect of such adult; (ii) the 

acquisition, possession, or control of an adult's financial 

resources or property through the use of undue influence, 

coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to 

pay for goods or services or perform services against his will 

for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the adult did not 

agree, or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to 

pay for such goods or services or perform such services.  

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 

with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 

the person and managing his property and protecting the 

rights of the person who has been declared by the circuit court 

to be incapacitated and incapable of administering his own 

affairs appointed by the court who is responsible for the 

personal affairs of an incapacitated person, including 

responsibility for making decisions regarding the person's 

support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The powers and duties of the guardian 

are defined by the court and are limited to matters within the 

areas where in which the person in need of a guardian has 

been determined to be incapacitated.  

"Guardian ad litem" means an attorney appointed by the 

court to represent the interest of the adult for whom a 

guardian or conservator is requested. On the hearing of the 

petition for appointment of a guardian or conservator, the 

guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is the subject of 

the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded when the 

case is decided.  
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"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by 

reason of mental illness, intellectual disability, physical 

illness or disability, advanced age, or other causes to the 

extent that the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity 

to make, communicate, or carry out reasonable responsible 

decisions concerning his well-being. This definition is As 

used in this chapter for the purpose of establishing an adult's 

eligibility for adult protective services and APS, such adult 

may or may not have been found adjudicated incapacitated 

through by a court procedures.  

"Involuntary protective services" means those services 

authorized by the court for an adult who has been determined 

to need protective services and who has been adjudicated 

incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to receive 

the needed protective services.  

"Lacks capacity to consent" means a preliminary judgment 

of a local department of social services social worker that an 

adult is unable to consent to receive needed services for 

reasons that relate to an emotional or psychiatric problems 

condition, intellectual disability, developmental delay 

disability, or other reasons which that impair the adult's 

ability to recognize a substantial risk of death or immediate 

and serious harm to himself. The lack of capacity to consent 

may be either permanent or temporary. The worker must local 

department shall make a preliminary judgment that the adult 

lacks capacity to consent before petitioning the court for 

authorization to provide protective services on an emergency 

basis pursuant to § 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Legally incapacitated" means that the person has been 

adjudicated incapacitated by a circuit court because of a 

mental or physical condition which that renders him, either 

wholly or partially, incapable of taking care of himself or his 

estate.  

"Legally incompetent" means a person who has been 

adjudicated incompetent by a circuit court because of a 

mental condition which renders him incapable of taking care 

of his person or managing his estate.  

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 

right to access the requested information as defined in § 63.2-

104 pursuant to § 51.5-122 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Mandated reporters" means those persons identified in 

§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia who are required to 

report pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia to APS 

when such persons have reason to suspect that an adult is 

abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation.  

"Mental anguish" means a state of emotional pain or distress 

resulting from activity (verbal or behavioral) verbal or 

behavioral actions of a an alleged perpetrator. The intent of 

the activity action is to threaten or intimidate, cause sorrow or 

fear, humiliate, change behavior, or ridicule the adult. There 

must be observable or documented evidence that it is the 

alleged perpetrator's activity action that has caused the adult's 

feelings of emotional pain or distress.  

"Neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of 

the Code of Virginia is living under such circumstances that 

he is not able to provide for himself or is not being provided 

such services as are necessary to maintain his physical and 

mental health and that the failure to receive such necessary 

services impairs or threatens to impair his well-being. 

However, no adult shall be considered neglected solely on the 

basis that such adult is receiving religious nonmedical 

treatment or religious nonmedical nursing care in lieu of 

medical care, provided that such treatment or care is 

performed in good faith and in accordance with the religious 

practices of the adult and there is written or oral expression of 

consent by that adult. Neglect includes the failure of a 

caregiver or another responsible person to provide for basic 

needs to maintain the adult's physical and mental health and 

well-being, and it includes the adult's neglect of self. Neglect 

includes:  

1. The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 

person's an adult's health;  

2. The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or 

to maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate 

food for adults with conditions requiring special diets;  

3. Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 

infestations which that may result in serious health 

problems; or does not have a safe and accessible water 

supply, safe heat source, or sewage disposal. Adequate 

shelter for an adult will depend depends on the 

impairments of an the adult; however, the adult must be 

protected from the elements that would seriously endanger 

his health (e.g., rain, cold, or heat) and could result in 

serious illness or debilitating conditions;  

4. Inadequate supervision by a paid or unpaid caregiver 

(paid or unpaid) who has been designated to provide 

provides the supervision necessary to protect the safety and 

well-being of an adult in his care;  

5. The failure of persons who are responsible for 

caregiving to seek needed medical care or to follow 

medically prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult 

has failed to obtain such care for himself. The needed 

medical care is believed to be of such a nature as to result 

in physical or mental injury or illness if it is not provided;  

6. Medical neglect includes the withholding of medication 

or aids needed by the adult such as including dentures, eye 

glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc or walkers. It also 

includes the unauthorized administration of prescription 

drugs, over-medicating or under-medicating, and the 

administration of drugs for other than bona fide medical 
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reasons, as determined by a licensed health care 

professional; and or 

7. Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own 

basic needs due to mental or physical impairments. Basic 

needs refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, health, 

or medical care.  

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 

individuals or agencies of the local department's action and 

the individual's rights.  

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 

shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. 

It is evidence that is of greater weight or more convincing 

than the evidence offered in opposition.  

"Report" means an allegation made in writing or orally by 

any person that an adult is in need of protective services 

suspected of being abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk 

of being abused, neglected, or exploited. The term "report" 

shall refer to both reports and complaints of abuse, neglect, 

and exploitation of adults. The report may shall be made 

orally or in writing to the local department or by calling the 

Adult Protective Services APS Hotline.  

"Responsible person" means an individual who is authorized 

by state law to make decisions concerning the adult and to 

receive information about the adult.  

"Service plan" means a written plan of action to address the 

service needs of an adult in order to protect the adult, to 

prevent future abuse, neglect, or exploitation, and to preserve 

the autonomy of the adult whenever possible.  

"Unreasonable confinement" means the use of physical or 

chemical restraints (physical or chemical), isolation, or any 

other means of confinement without medical orders, when 

there is no emergency and for reasons other than the adult's 

safety or well-being or the safety of others.  

"Valid report" means the local department of social services 

has evaluated the information and allegations of the report 

and determined that the local department shall conduct an 

investigation because all of the following elements of 

22VAC30-100-20 C for a valid report are present:.  

1. The alleged victim adult is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated;  

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect or exploitation or 

risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation; and  

4. The local department receiving the report is a local 

department of jurisdiction as described in 22VAC30-100-

20. 

"Voluntary protective services" means those services 

provided to an adult who, after investigation by a local 

department, is determined to be in need of protective services 

and consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation.  

22VAC30-100-20. Adult protective services intake and 

investigation. 

A. This section establishes the process for the adult 

protective services APS intake and investigation and provides 

priority to situations that are most critical.  

B. The validity of the report shall be determined. 

Investigations shall be initiated by the local department not 

later than 24 hours from the time a valid report was received 

in the local department. All reports shall be entered into the 

APS case management information system within 48 hours of 

its receipt by the local department.  

C. The local department shall determine if the report is valid 

by evaluating the information and allegations in the report. A 

report is valid if all of the following elements are present: 

1. The alleged adult victim is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated; 

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect, or exploitation or 

risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; and 

4. The local department receiving the report is the local 

department of jurisdiction as described in this section.  

D. Within 24 hours after receiving a valid report, the local 

department shall initiate an investigation.  

1. To initiate the investigation, the social worker must local 

department shall gather enough information concerning the 

report to determine (i) if the report is valid and (ii) if an 

immediate response is needed to ensure the safety of the 

alleged victim. Pertinent information may be obtained from 

the report, case record reviews, contact with the alleged 

victim, the reporter, friends and, neighbors and, service 

providers, or other sources of information.  

2. When determining the need for an immediate response, 

the social worker local department shall consider the 

following factors:  

a. The imminent danger to the adult or to others;  

b. The severity of the alleged abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation;  

c. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation; and  

d. The physical and mental condition of the adult.  

3. A face-to-face contact with the alleged victim shall be 

made as soon as possible but not later than five calendar 
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days after the date of the initiation of the investigation 

unless there are valid reasons that the contact could not be 

made. Those reasons shall be documented in the Adult 

Protective Services Assessment Narrative as described in 

22VAC30-100-40 APS case management information 

system. The timing of the interview with the alleged victim 

should occur in a reasonable amount of time pursuant to 

consistent with the local department's consideration of the 

circumstances in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

C. The report shall be reduced to writing within 72 hours of 

receiving the report on a form prescribed by the department.  

D. E. The purpose of the investigation is to determine 

whether the adult alleged to be abused, neglected, or 

exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is in 

need of protective services and, if so, to identify those 

services needed to provide the protection.  

E. F. The local department shall conduct a thorough 

investigation of the report.  

F. G. The investigation shall include a visit and private 

interview with the adult alleged to be abused, neglected, or 

exploited.  

G. H. The investigation shall include consultation with 

others having who may have knowledge of the facts of or 

information about the particular case report.  

I. An APS assessment shall be required for all APS 

investigations and shall be entered into the APS case 

management information system. The APS assessment shall 

address the following: 

1. Allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 

during the investigation that meet the definitions of adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally, 

and mentally capable of making and carrying out decisions 

concerning his health and well-being.  

3. How the adult's environment, functional ability, physical 

and mental health, support system, and income and 

resources may be contributing factors in the abuse, neglect, 

or exploitation.  

4. The risk of serious harm to the adult. 

5. The need for an immediate response by the local 

department to a valid report. 

6. The circumstances and information concerning an 

interview with the alleged victim, the alleged perpetrator 

(if known), and any collateral contacts having knowledge 

of the case. 

H. J. Primary responsibility for the investigation when more 

than one local department may have jurisdiction under § 63.2-

1605 of the Code of Virginia shall be assumed by the local 

department:  

1. Where the subject of the investigation resides when the 

place of residence is known and when the alleged abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation occurred in the city or county of 

residence;  

2. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is believed to 

have occurred when the report alleges that the incident 

occurred outside the city or county of residence;  

3. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered 

if the incident did not occur in the city or county of 

residence or if the city or county of residence is unknown 

and the place where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

occurred is unknown; or  

4. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered 

if the subject of the report is a nonresident who is 

temporarily in the Commonwealth. 

K. An adult's residence is determined by the physical 

location of the residence. An adult's residence is not 

determined by the locality to which the adult may pay or 

previously paid taxes or by whether the adult currently or 

previously received services or public assistance from another 

local department.  

L. A local department that may have previously provided a 

service to or conducted an APS investigation on an adult shall 

assist with the investigation at the request of the local 

department with primary responsibility for investigation. 

I. M. When an investigation extends across city or county 

lines into the jurisdiction of another local department, the 

local departments department in those cities or counties the 

other jurisdiction shall assist with the investigation at the 

request of the local department with primary responsibility 

for the investigation.  

J. N. When the local department receives information on 

suspicious deaths of adults, the local department staff shall 

immediately notify the appropriate medical examiner and law 

enforcement.  

22VAC30-100-30. Application for the provision of 

services. (Repealed.) 

A. Local departments are authorized to receive and 

investigate reports of suspected adult abuse, neglect and 

exploitation pursuant to Article 2 (§ 63.2-1603 et seq.) of 

Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Upon completion of the investigation and the 

determination that the adult is in need of protective services, 

the adult protective services worker must obtain an 

application signed by the adult in need of services or his 

representative prior to service provision.  

C. The application process is designed to assure the prompt 

provision of needed adult protective services including 

services to adults who are not able to complete and sign a 

service application.  
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D. Persons who may complete and sign an application for 

adult protective services on behalf of an adult who needs the 

service include:  

1. The adult who will receive the services or the adult's 

legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

2. Someone authorized by the adult; or  

3. The local department.  

22VAC30-100-40. Assessment narrative and Adult 

protective services disposition. 

A. An assessment narrative shall be required for all adult 

protective services investigations and shall be titled "Adult 

Protective Services Assessment Narrative." The narrative 

must address, but is not limited to, the following:  

1. Allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 

during the investigation that meet the definitions of abuse, 

neglect or exploitation.  

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally 

and mentally capable of making and carrying out decisions 

concerning his health and well-being. 

3. The risk of serious harm to the adult.  

4. The need for an immediate response by the adult 

protective services worker upon receipt of a valid report.  

5. The ability to conduct a private interview with the 

alleged victim, the alleged perpetrator (if known) and any 

collateral contacts having knowledge of the case.  

B. A. After investigating the report, the adult protective 

services worker must local department shall review and 

evaluate the facts collected and make a disposition as to 

whether the adult is in need of protective services and, if so, 

what services are needed.  

C. B. The disposition that the adult needs protective services 

shall be based on the preponderance of evidence that abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation has occurred or that the adult is at risk 

of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. The local department may 

be unable to determine the identity of the alleged perpetrator 

but the inability to determine the identity of the alleged 

perpetrator shall not prohibit the local department from 

issuing a disposition reflecting the need for protective 

services.  

D. C. Possible dispositions.  

1. Needs protective services and accepts. This disposition 

shall be used when:  

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring; and 

(1) The adult consents to receive services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia; or 

(2) Involuntary protective services are ordered by a court 

pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) 

of Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

b. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation and needs protective services in order to 

reduce that risk; and  

c. (1) The adult consents to receive services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia; or  

d. (2) Involuntary protective services are ordered by the a 

court pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et 

seq.) of Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Needs protective services and refuses. This disposition 

shall be used when:  

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring or the adult is at risk of abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation; and  

b. The adult refuses or withdraws consent to accept 

protective services pursuant to § 63.2-1610 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

3. Need for protective services no longer exists. This 

disposition shall be used when the subject of the report no 

longer needs protective services. A review of the facts 

shows a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation has occurred. However, at the time 

the investigation is initiated or during the course of the 

investigation, the adult who is the subject of the report 

ceases to be at risk of further abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

due to the circumstances or actions that have occurred or 

have been initiated by the adult or an entity or person other 

than the local department.  

4. Unfounded. This disposition shall be used when review 

of the facts does not show a preponderance of evidence 

that abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred or that the 

adult is at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

5. Invalid. This disposition shall be used when, after 

initiating the investigation, it is determined that the report 

does not meet the criteria for a valid report.  

E. D. The investigation shall be completed and a disposition 

assigned by the local department within 45 calendar days of 

the date the report was received. If the investigation is not 

completed within 45 calendar days, the record local 

department shall document reasons for the delay. The 

disposition shall be entered into the APS case management 

information system no later than five working days of the 

conclusion of the investigation. 

F. A notice E. Notification of the completion of the 

investigation must shall be made in writing and shall be 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 11 Virginia Register of Regulations January 20, 2020 

1403 

mailed to the reporter within 10 working days of the 

completion of the investigation.  

F. Written notification. 

1. The local department shall provide written notification 

to the alleged perpetrator within 30 calendar days of the 

conclusion of the investigation when: 

a. The disposition (i) is needs protective services and 

accepts, (ii) needs protective services and refuses, or (iii) 

need for protective services no longer exists; and  

b. The local department notified a licensing, regulatory, 

or legal authority of the disposition pursuant to § 63.3-

1605 D of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The notification shall include a summary of the evidence 

and information used by the local department to support 

the findings of the investigation; inform the alleged 

perpetrator about his right to review; and if applicable, 

identify all licensing, regulatory, or legal authorities and 

the date these authorities were notified.  

3. The local department may delay notification to the 

alleged perpetrator by an additional 30 calendar days at the 

request of a law-enforcement agency.  

4. It is optional for the local department to provide such 

notification to an adult whom the local department 

determines to be self-neglecting and is therefore 

considered to be the alleged perpetrator.  

G. The Adult Protective Services Program local department 

shall respect the rights of adults with capacity to consider 

options offered by the program local department and refuse 

services, even if those decisions do not appear to reasonably 

be in the best interests of the adult.  

22VAC30-100-45. Right to review. 

A. Right to review is the process by which the alleged 

perpetrator may request a hearing to amend the record when 

the investigation has resulted in a disposition that the local 

department has communicated to a licensing, regulatory, or 

legal authority.  

B. A written request for an informal hearing with the local 

department must be received by the local department within 

30 calendar days of the date of the local department's written 

notification that meets the requirements of 22VAC30-100-

40 F to be deemed timely. 

C. The local department shall conduct an informal hearing 

within 30 calendar days of receiving the written request for an 

informal hearing.  

D. The director shall preside over the informal hearing. 

Except for the director, no person whose regular duties 

include substantial involvement with the local department's 

adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigations shall 

preside over the hearing.  

E. The alleged perpetrator may be represented by counsel. 

The alleged perpetrator shall be entitled to present the 

testimony of witnesses, documents, factual data, arguments, 

or other submissions of proof. 

F. The director shall have the authority to sustain, amend, or 

reverse the findings of the investigation or the disposition. 

G. The director shall notify the alleged perpetrator, in 

writing, of the results of the informal hearing within 30 

calendar days of the date of the hearing. The decision of the 

director shall be final. The results of the informal hearing 

shall be mailed, certified with return receipt, to the alleged 

perpetrator. A copy of the final decision shall be mailed to the 

appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal authority. 

H. If the director reverses the identification of the alleged 

perpetrator, the local department shall continue to offer 

services to the adult if the disposition remains needs 

protective services and accepts. 

I. All written findings and actions of the local department or 

its director, including the decision of the director at the 

conclusion of the review, are final and shall not be (i) 

appealable to the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services or (ii) considered a final agency action for purposes 

of judicial review pursuant to the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

22VAC30-100-50. Disclosure of adult protective services 

information. 

A. This chapter describes the protection of confidential 

information including a description of when such information 

must shall be disclosed, when such disclosure of the 

information is at the discretion of the local department, what 

information may be disclosed, and the procedure for 

disclosing the information.  

B. Department staff having legitimate interest shall have 

regular access to adult protective services APS records 

maintained by the local department.  

C. The following agencies have licensing, regulatory, and 

legal authority for administrative action or criminal 

investigations, and they have a legitimate interest in 

confidential information when such information is relevant 

and reasonably necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, 

regulatory, and legal responsibilities:  

1. Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services;  

2. disAbility Law Center of Virginia; 

3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid 

Fraud Control Program;  
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4. Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services;  

5. Department of Health, including the Office of Licensure 

and Certification and the Office of the Chief Medical 

Examiner;  

6. Department of Medical Assistance Services;  

7. Department of Health Professions;  

8. Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired;  

9. Department of Social Services, including the Division of 

Licensing Programs;  

10. The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

and local ombudsman;  

11. Law-enforcement agencies;  

12. Medical examiners;  

13. Adult fatality review teams; 

14. Prosecutors Commonwealth's attorneys; and  

15. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the 

commissioner or local department director that 

demonstrates a legitimate interest.  

D. The local department shall disclose all relevant 

information to representatives of the agencies identified in 

subsection C of this section except the identity of the person 

who reported the abuse, neglect, or exploitation unless the 

reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

E. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter 

and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, 

regulatory, or legal authority for administrative action or 

criminal investigation.  

F. Local departments may release information to the 

following persons when the local department has determined 

the person making the request has legitimate interest in 

accordance with § 63.2-104 § 51.5-122 of the Code of 

Virginia and the release of information is in the best interest 

of the adult:  

1. Representatives of public and private agencies including 

community services boards, area agencies on aging, and 

local health departments requesting disclosure when the 

agency has legitimate interest;  

2. A physician or other licensed health care professional 

who is treating an adult whom he reasonably suspects is 

abused, neglected, or exploited;  

3. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult 

who is the subject of an adult protective services APS 

report;  

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of 

an adult who is the subject of an adult protective services 

APS report;  

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult 

protective services case APS matter;  

7. The Social Security Administration; or  

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner 

or local department director that legitimate interest is 

evident.  

G. Local departments are required to disclose certain 

requested information under the following circumstances:  

1. When disclosure is ordered by a court;  

2. When a person has made an adult protective services 

APS report and an investigation has been completed; or  

3. When a request for access to information is made 

pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 

Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

H. Any or all of the following specific information may be 

disclosed at the discretion of the local department to agencies 

or persons specified in subsection F of this section:  

1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is 

the subject of the request for information;  

2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who 

is alleged to have perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation;  

3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation;  

4. Description of the adult's medical problems conditions 

to the extent known;  

5. Disposition of the adult protective services APS report; 

and  

6. The protective service needs of the adult.  

I. The identity of the person who reported the suspected 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall be held confidential 

unless the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or 

disclosure is ordered by the court.  

J. Agencies or persons who receive confidential information 

pursuant to subsection G of this section shall provide the 

following assurances to the local department:  

1. The purpose for which information is requested is 

related to the protective services goal in the service plan 

for the adult;  

2. The information will be used only for the purpose for 

which it is made available; and  
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3. The information will be held confidential by the 

department or individual receiving the information except 

to the extent that disclosure is required by law.  

K. Methods of obtaining assurances. Any one of the 

following methods may be used to obtain assurances required 

in subsection J of this section:  

1. Agreements between local departments and other 

community service agencies that provide blanket 

assurances required in subsection J of this section for all 

adult protective services APS cases; or  

2. State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances 

required in subsection C of this section for all adult 

protective services APS cases.  

L. Notification that information has been disclosed. When 

information has been disclosed pursuant to this chapter 

section, notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult 

who is the subject of the information or to his legally 

appointed guardian. If the adult has given permission to 

release the information, further notification shall not be 

required.  

22VAC30-100-60. Opening a case for service provision. 

A A. The local department shall offer a range of services 

must be made available to any abused, neglected and 

exploited adult or to adults at risk of abuse, neglect or 

exploitation to protect the adult and to prevent any future 

abuse, neglect or exploitation to the adult when the 

disposition is needs protective services and accepts as defined 

in 22VAC30-100-40. 

1. Opening a case to adult protective services. Once a 

disposition of the report and an assessment of the adult's 

needs and strengths have been made, the department shall 

assess the adult's service needs.  

B. Application for services. 

1. The local department shall obtain an application when 

the disposition is needs protective services and accepts.  

2. Representatives who may complete and sign an 

application on behalf of an adult who needs protective 

services include: 

a. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator; 

b. The adult's responsible person; or 

c. The local department. 

C. A case shall be opened for adult protective services 

when:  

a. 1. The service needs are identified;  

b. 2. The disposition is that the adult needs protective 

services and accepts; and  

c. 3. The adult or the adult's representative as identified in 

subdivision B 2 of this section agrees to accept protective 

services or protective services are ordered by the court.  

2. Service planning. D. A service plan which that is based on 

the investigative findings and the assessment of the adult's 

need for protective services shall be developed. The service 

plan is the basis for the activities that the worker local 

department, the adult, and other persons individuals will 

undertake to provide the services necessary to protect the 

adult. The service plan shall be documented in the APS case 

management information system.  

3. E. Implementation of the service plan. Implementation of 

the service plan is the delivery of the services necessary to 

provide adequate protection to the adult. The services may be 

delivered directly, through purchase of service, through 

informal support, or through referral. The continuous 

monitoring of the adult's progress and the system's response is 

a part of the implementation.  

4. F. Local departments are required to provide services 

beyond the investigation to the extent that federal or state 

matching funds are made available.  

22VAC30-100-70. Civil penalty for nonreporting. 

A. The department commissioner may impose civil penalties 

when it is determined that a mandated reporter failed to report 

suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Civil penalties for all mandated reporters except law-

enforcement officers shall be imposed as described in 

22VAC30-100-80 determined by a court of competent 

jurisdiction, at its discretion. 

22VAC30-100-80. Imposition of civil penalty. 

A. Local department review and recommendation.  

1. Based on a decision by the local department When a 

director or his designee determines that a mandated 

reporter failed to report as required by § 63.2-1606 of the 

Code of Virginia, the local director shall prepare a written 

statement of fact on a form provided by the department 

concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report and 

submit the statement of fact to the commissioner. The 

director also shall prepare a letter notifying the mandated 

reporter of the intent to request imposition of a civil 

penalty. The letter shall state the mandated reporter's right 

to submit a written statement to the commissioner 

concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report. The 

date of the director's notification shall be the date of the 

letter to the mandated reporter. Any supporting 

documentation that the director considered in requesting 

the imposition of a civil penalty shall be provided to the 

mandated reporter. The letter, statement of facts, and any 

supporting documentation that the director considered in 

requesting the imposition of a civil penalty shall be sent to 
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the mandated reporter by registered or certified mail, return 

receipt requested.  

2. The local director or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter in writing within 15 calendar days from 

the date of the determination of the intent to recommend 

that a civil penalty be imposed. The notification will 

include a copy of the local director's statement of fact 

concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report. The 

notification shall state the mandated reporter's right to 

submit a written statement to the commissioner concerning 

the mandated reporter's failure to report. The date of the 

notification is the postage date At such time as the letter 

required under subdivision 1 of this subsection is sent, the 

director shall send a letter to the commissioner requesting 

the imposition of a civil penalty on the mandated reporter 

for failure to report. The statement of fact and the letter to 

the mandated reporter shall accompany the letter to the 

commissioner.  Any supporting documentation that the 

director considered in requesting the imposition of a civil 

penalty shall be provided to the commissioner. 

3. The mandated reporter's statement concerning his failure 

to report must be received by the commissioner within 45 

days from the date of the local director's notification of 

intent to recommend the imposition of a civil penalty. A 

mandated reporter's statement received after the 45 days 

shall not be considered by the commissioner.  

B. Review by the commissioner or his designee  

1. The commissioner or his designee shall review the local 

director's written statement of fact concerning the 

mandated reporter's failure to report and the mandated 

reporter's written statement in determining whether to 

impose a civil penalty.  

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged 

to have not reported as required, the commissioner or his 

designee shall forward the recommendation to a court of 

competent jurisdiction.  

3. The commissioner or his designee shall impose a civil 

penalty upon a mandated reporter who is determined to 

have not reported as required pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia. Penalties shall be imposed as 

follows:  

a. For first offenses of nonreporting pursuant to § 63.2-

1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not 

more than $500.  

b. For second and subsequent offenses pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall 

be not less than $100 and not more than $1,000.  

4. The commissioner or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter whether a civil penalty will be imposed 

and, if so, the amount of the penalty. This written notice 

shall describe the reasons for the imposition of the civil 

penalty. The date of notification shall be deemed to be the 

date the mandated reporter received written notice of the 

alleged violation. This notice shall include specifics of the 

violation charged and shall be sent by overnight express 

mail or by registered or certified mail, return receipt 

requested.  

5. If a civil penalty is imposed, a copy of the notice to the 

mandated reporter shall be sent to the appropriate 

licensing, regulatory, or administrative agency and to the 

local director who recommended the imposition of the 

penalty. 

B. Statement from mandated reporter. Within 45 calendar 

days from the date of the director's notification to the 

mandated reporter of intent to request the imposition of a civil 

penalty, the mandated reporter may submit a written 

statement concerning his failure to report to the 

commissioner. Statements received by the commissioner after 

45 calendar days will be deemed untimely and will not be 

considered.  

C. Review by the commissioner's designee. 

1. The commissioner's designee shall review the director's 

statement of facts, the mandated reporter's written 

statement, and any supporting documentation provided by 

the director in determining whether to impose a civil 

penalty. 

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged 

not to have reported as required, the commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee shall forward a recommendation 

to the court of competent jurisdiction. 

3. Within 30 calendar days after the deadline for the 

commissioner's receipt of the mandated reporter's written 

statement, the commissioner's designee shall issue a final 

decision to the mandated reporter in writing, addressing 

whether a civil penalty will be imposed. The final decision 

shall include specifics of the violation charged, the reasons 

for the imposition of the civil penalty, and the amount of 

the penalty. The date of the final decision is the date the 

final decision is sent to the mandated reporter. The 

commissioner's designee shall also send a copy of the final 

decision to the director who recommended the imposition 

of the civil penalty. 

D. Reconsideration of a final decision imposing a civil 

penalty shall be conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4023.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. The commissioner's review on 

reconsideration shall not include testimony, statements, or 

documentary submissions that were not included in the 

director's intent to request imposition of a civil penalty or 

presented to the commissioner or the commissioner's 

designee prior to issuance of the final decision. 

6. E. Any mandated reporter has the right to appeal the 

decision to impose a civil penalty in accordance with § 2.2-
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4026 of the Code of Virginia and pursuant to Part 2 A of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5270; Filed December 19, 2019, 9:02 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-130. Adult Services 

Standards (adding 22VAC30-130-10 through 22VAC30-

130-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-145 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Protective Services 

Division Director, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, FAX (804) 662-9531, TTY (800) 

464-9950, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 51.5-145 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

the responsibility for the planning and oversight of adult 

services (AS). These services are to be delivered by the local 

departments of social services (LDSSs) as set out in Article 1 

(§ 63.2-1600 et seq.) of Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia and pursuant to regulations and subject to the 

oversight of the Commissioner of the Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services. Section 63.2-1600 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the provision of home-based services, 

including the eligibility for such services pursuant to 

regulations promulgated by the commissioner. In addition, 

§ 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

commissioner to promulgate regulations necessary to carry 

out the provisions of the laws of the Commonwealth 

administered by the department. 

Purpose: This regulation describes the provision of services to 

adults with impairment. Currently, no regulation specifically 

addresses this issue. Many services provided by LDSS AS 

workers ensure the safety of older adults and individuals with 

disabilities by helping prevent adult abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation from occurring or recurring. 

These services also promote the well-being of adults by 

strengthening natural support systems, including family 

supports, that enable adults to live in community-based 

settings for as long as possible. The regulation provisions 

outline the principles and philosophy of AS and underscore 

the importance of an adult's right to self-determination and 

independence. 

This regulation is clearly written. Clarity in regulation content 

is essential to ensuring that an individual's health and safety 

needs are most appropriately met. 

Substance: This new regulation includes definitions of terms 

used in the regulation, the principles inherent in the provision 

of AS, intake services, individuals to be served, service 

eligibility determination, and types of services that may be 

provided. 

In addition, the regulation clarifies the need for the 

development of service plans when services are provided to 

adults and the other responsibilities of LDSSs. Other 

revisions to regulation content may be made based on public 

comments received. 

Issues: The advantages of the regulation to the public and the 

agency or Commonwealth include that the regulation 

describes service provision and ensures that LDSSs address 

the needs of older individuals and adults with an impairment. 

Additionally, the regulation content clarifies but does not 

increase LDSSs staff responsibilities. Much of the regulatory 

language in this regulation previously existed in a regulation 

that was repealed. Several sections directly refer to Code of 

Virginia requirements to which LDSSs currently adhere. 

Additionally, the standards addressed in this regulatory action 

have been part of DARS guidance for several years. Finally, 

the regulation describes assistance available to older adults 

and adults with an impairment, their families, and other 

support systems for adults. 

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

proposes to establish a regulation for adult services standards 

reflecting the same policy and practices currently followed 

under guidance manuals. 

Background. In 2012, the General Assembly transferred the 

oversight responsibility and the enforcement division for 

adult services from the Department of Social Services to 

DARS effective July 2013.2 Since then, DARS guidance 

manuals have been the basis of the standards that local 

departments of social services follow in providing adult 

services. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to DARS, the 

proposed regulation does not introduce any change in policy 

or practice that have been followed since 2013 under agency 

manuals. Therefore, the primary impact of this action is a 

stronger enforcement capability for DARS because the 

standards would be in a regulation, which has the force of 

law, rather than guidance manuals, which do not. In addition, 

local departments of social services as well as the public 

would have ease of access to and clarity about the standards, 

as well as the procedural benefits resulting from the 

promulgation of a regulation under the Administrative 

Process Act. 

mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
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Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation applies to 120 local departments of social services. 

In fiscal year 2017, local departments handled 3,800 home-

based services cases, 15,000 preadmission screenings, 12,000 

annual guardian report reviews, and 2,500 assisted living 

facility assessments. The proposed regulation does not appear 

to impose costs. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed regulation should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed regulation 

does not appear to introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed regulation would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposed 

regulation does not adversely affect small businesses.  

________________________ 

2http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?121+ful+CHAP0803 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Virginia Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This proposed action establishes a new regulation, Adult 

Services Standards (22VAC30-130). Provisions proposed 

include definitions, principles inherent in the provision of 

adult services, the process for client intake and service 

delivery, descriptions of the types of services that may be 

provided, eligibility for services, and local department of 

social services responsibilities. 

CHAPTER 130 

ADULT SERVICES STANDARDS 

22VAC30-130-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, eating/feeding, and bowel and 

bladder continence.  

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older, or 

younger than 18 years of age if legally emancipated. 

"Adult services" means services that are provided by local 

departments of social services to adults with an impairment. 

"Adult with an impairment" means an adult whose physical 

or mental capacity is diminished to the extent that the adult 

needs counseling or supervisory assistance with ADLs or 

instrumental activities of daily living. 

"Auxiliary Grants" or "AG" means cash payments made to 

certain aged, blind, or disabled individuals who receive 

benefits under Title XVI of the Social Security Act, as 

amended, or would be eligible to receive these benefits except 

for excess income. 

"Chore services" means nonroutine, heavy home 

maintenance services provided to adults, including minor 

repair work on furniture and appliances in the adult's home; 

carrying coal, wood, or water; chopping wood; removing 

snow; yard maintenance; and painting. 

"Companion services" means services to an adult, including 

light housekeeping, companionship, shopping, meal 

preparation, transportation, laundry, money management, and 

assistance with ADLs.  

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Department-designated case management system" means 

the official state automated computer system for adult 

services that collects and maintains information on adult 

services provided by the local department.  

"Eligibility based on income" means an eligibility category 

under which the adult's eligibility for services is based upon 

an income scale issued annually by the department. 

"Home-based services" means companion, chore, and 

homemaker services that allow adults to attain or maintain 

self-care and are likely to prevent or reduce dependency.  

"Homemaker services" means services that provide the adult 

instruction in or the performance of activities to maintain a 

household. Homemaker services may include personal care, 

home management, household maintenance, nutrition, and 

consumer or hygiene education. 

"Income maintenance" means an eligibility category under 

which the adult is eligible for a service because the adult 

receives Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or AG. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 

money management, transportation, using the telephone, 

home maintenance, and laundry.  

"Local board" means the local board of social services 

representing one or more counties or cities. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?121+ful+CHAP0803
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"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Public assistance" means TANF, AG, medical assistance, 

energy assistance, supplemental nutritional assistance 

program, employment services, child care, and general relief. 

"Responsible person" means an individual who is authorized 

under state or federal law to make decisions concerning the 

adult and to receive information about the adult. 

"Service plan" means a written plan to address the needs of 

the adult. 

"Social supports" means individuals or organizations who 

routinely provide assistance or support to the adult. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. It is used to record 

information about the adult's level of service needs. 

"Universal access" means an eligibility category under 

which the adult is eligible for services without consideration 

of the adult's income.  

22VAC30-130-20. Intake process. 

A. Intake is designed to provide a timely, coordinated 

method for the adult to request services or assistance or to 

obtain sufficient information about other resources. 

B. The local department shall be responsible for performing 

intake activities. These activities may include information and 

referral or initial assessment for assistance as indicated by the 

adult's situation. 

22VAC30-130-30. Services and activities. 

Local departments shall provide the following adult 

services: 

1. Services provided under universal access. 

a. Screening for long-term care services and supports 

pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. Public pay assisted living facility assessment pursuant 

to § 63.2-1804 of the Code of Virginia.  

c. Review of annual reports submitted by guardians 

pursuant to § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Home-based services provided under universal access, 

income maintenance, or eligibility based on income. 

a. Home-based services shall be provided, to the extent 

that federal or state funding is available, as requested by 

an adult with an impairment who meets financial and 

functional eligibility criteria.  

b. Local boards shall establish a local home-based 

services policy that includes the types of home-based 

services that are offered in the locality, the functional 

eligibility criteria, and the financial eligibility criteria as 

decided by the local board.  

c. The local department, upon the decision of the local 

board, may choose to offer home-based services under 

universal access. If the local department does not offer 

home-based services under universal access, the adult 

shall be evaluated by the local department under the 

eligibility categories of income maintenance or eligibility 

based on income. Adults who are not eligible under 

universal access or income maintenance shall be 

evaluated by the local department under the eligibility 

based on income category. 

22VAC30-130-40. Eligibility determination. 

A. To request home-based services, the adult or the adult's 

responsible person shall submit a service application 

(Application for Adult Services Form) to the local 

department. The service application shall be on a form 

provided by the department. The local department shall 

document receipt of the application in the department-

designated case management system. A service application 

shall not be required to request a screening for long-term care 

services and supports, for an assisted living facility 

assessment, or for review of an annual guardian report. 

B. Determinations for functional eligibility and financial 

eligibility are separate processes but shall be pursued 

simultaneously. Functional and financial eligibility shall be 

determined as promptly as possible. The local department 

shall notify the adult of its eligibility determination decision 

no later than 45 days from the date the application is received 

by the local department.  

C. The local department shall determine the adult's 

functional eligibility for home-based services. Home-based 

services shall not be available to adults who reside in an 

institutional setting including a nursing facility, assisted 

living facility, or hospital. The local department shall assess 

the adult using the UAI, the department-designated form, 

including evaluating the adult's degree of independence or 

need for assistance with performing ADLs and IADLs.  

D. The local department shall determine the adult's financial 

eligibility for home-based services.  

1. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under universal access, the adult is financially 

eligible for home-based services without consideration of 

the adult's income. 

2. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under income maintenance, the local department 

shall verify and document the adult's source of income in 

the department-designated case management system, and 

document whether the adult is eligible for an Auxiliary 

Grant, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, or 

Supplemental Security Income. Adults who receive an 
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Auxiliary Grant, Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families, or Supplemental Security Income meet the 

financial eligibility requirement for home-based services 

offered under the income maintenance category. 

3. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under eligibility based on income, each local board 

shall select a threshold percentage of the median income to 

evaluate financial eligibility for adults. The department shall 

provide a scale of the median income for a family of four in 

Virginia as updated periodically in the Federal Register by the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services annually to 

local departments to use to determine financial eligibility. The 

adult's income, not resources, shall be counted when 

determining the adult's financial eligibility. The local 

department shall verify and document the adult's income in 

the department-designated case management system. Income 

from the following resources shall be disregarded when 

determining financial eligibility for home-based services in 

eligibility based on income category: 

a. Home produce utilized by the adult for his own 

consumption; 

b. The value of food benefits under the Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program; 

c. The value of supplemental food assistance received 

under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC §§ 1771 

through 1789). This includes all school meals programs; 

the Women, Infants and Children program; and the Child 

Care Food program; 

d. The value of foods donated under the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture Commodity Distribution Program, 

including those foods furnished through the school meal 

programs; 

e. Benefits received under Nutrition Program for the 

Elderly, Title VII of the Older Americans Act of 1965, as 

amended (42 USC §§ 3001 et seq.); 

f. Grants or loans to any undergraduate students for 

educational purposes made or insured under any program 

administered by the U.S. Secretary of Education; 

g. A scholarship or grant obtained and used under 

conditions that preclude its use for current living costs; 

h. Training allowance provided by the department for 

persons participating in rehabilitative services programs; 

i. Payments to VISTA volunteers; 

j. The Veterans Administration educational amount for 

the caretaker 18 years of age or older when used 

specifically for educational purposes. Any additional 

money included in the benefit amount for dependents is 

to be counted as income;  

k. Income tax refunds including earned income tax credit 

advance payments and refunds; 

l. Payments made under the Energy Assistance Program; 

m. All federal, state, and local government rent and 

housing subsidies and utility payments; 

n. Funds distributed to or held in trust for members of 

any Indian tribe under Public Laws 92-254, 93-134, 94-

540, 97-458, 98-64, 98-123, or 98-124. Additionally, 

interest and investment income accrued on such funds 

while held in trust, and purchases made with such interest 

and investment income; 

o. All bona fide loans. The loan may be for any purpose 

and may be from a private individual as well as from a 

commercial institution. The amount disregarded is 

limited to the principal of the loan;  

p. Monetary gifts for special occasions such as the adult's 

birthday, holidays, or graduations; 

q. Withdrawals of bank deposits; 

r. Payments to vendors for services provided to the adult; 

and 

s. Lump sum insurance payments. 

22VAC30-130-50. Service planning. 

A. A variety of interventions including referral to public 

assistance and other resources, case management, and other 

programs may be provided depending on the adult's needs. 

B. The services or activities may be provided directly by 

local department staff or volunteers, purchased from local 

department approved providers or contracted vendors, or 

provided through referral to other community resources. 

C. If an adult is determined eligible for home-based 

services, the local department shall develop a service plan, 

enter the plan into the department-designated case 

management system, and review the plan at least annually. A 

service plan shall not be required when the only intervention 

or activity provided by the local department is screening for 

long-term services and supports, public pay assisted living 

facility annual assessment, or review of an annual guardian 

report. The local department, the adult and the adult's family, 

the responsible person, or other social supports, if applicable, 

shall collaborate to evaluate progress toward meeting the 

goals and objectives of the service plan. The local department 

shall document progress toward meeting service plan goals 

and objectives at least quarterly in the department-designated 

case management system. 

D. For any services for which a payment is made on behalf 

of an adult, the service, service provider, and payment 

authorization shall be documented in the service plan. Any 

local department hard copy records documenting the 

provision of adult services shall be made available to the 

department upon request.  
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22VAC30-130-60. Responsibilities of local department. 

A. The local department shall comply with all laws, 

regulations, and department guidance regarding the provision 

of adult services. 

B. The local department shall notify the adult on a form 

approved by the department when the local department takes 

an action regarding home-based services pursuant to § 51.5-

147 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The local department shall close the adult's case in the 

department-designated case management system in the 

following circumstances, including: 

1. When the adult dies; 

2. When the adult with capacity or the adult's responsible 

person requests closure; 

3. When the local department is unable to locate the adult 

and attempts to contact the adult are unsuccessful; 

4. When the adult is no longer functionally or financially 

eligible for the service; 

5. When the local department has no funding to provide 

home-based services; 

6. When the service or activity identified on the service 

plan is complete; or 

7. With exception of annual guardian report reviews, when 

the adult relocates to another state. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC30-130) 

Application for Adult Services Form, 032-26-0001-01-eng, 

(rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, (eff. 1994) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5230; Filed December 19, 2019, 9:02 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND  
MOTOR VEHICLES  

COMMONWEATH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 

11 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 

relating to traffic signs, markers, or control devices. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-530. Roadway and Structure 

Lighting (repealing 24VAC30-530-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.1-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Summary: 

The chapter references by description a Commonwealth 

Transportation Board Policy from 1995, contains no 

additional substantive obligations, and was recommended 

for repeal by the Attorney General's Regulatory Reduction 

Task Force in 2009. Therefore, the chapter is repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6259; Filed December 20, 2019, 11:26 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations relating 

to the award or denial of state contracts, as well as decisions 

regarding compliance therewith. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-580. Guidelines for 

Considering Requests for Restricting Through Trucks on 

Primary and Secondary Highways (amending 24VAC30-

580-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-809 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b40005230~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b40005230~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8ba7005230~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Summary: 

The amendment permits a Department of Transportation 

district administrator or district engineer for the 

applicable construction district to deny a request for a 

restriction on through truck traffic on a secondary 

highway when the request clearly and objectively does not 

meet the required regulatory criteria.  

24VAC30-580-20. Authority to restrict truck traffic on 

primary and secondary highways.  

The Commonwealth Transportation Board delegates the 

authority to restrict through truck traffic on secondary 

highways to the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 

Transportation. Such restrictions can apply to any truck, truck 

and trailer or semitrailer combination, or any combination of 

those classifications. Consideration of all such restrictions by 

the commissioner is subject to this chapter as adopted by the 

board. Any request for such restrictions that fails to 

objectively satisfy the required criteria found in 24VAC30-

580-40 may be rejected by the Virginia Department of 

Transportation District Administrator or District Engineer for 

the Construction District in which the restriction is requested 

prior to presentation to the commissioner. The board shall 

retain authority to restrict through truck traffic on primary 

highways.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6262; Filed December 20, 2019, 12:00 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 

11 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 

relating to traffic signs, markers, or control devices. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-590. Policies and Procedures 

for Control of Residential and Non-Residential Cut-

Through Traffic (repealing 24VAC30-590-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This final 

regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 

regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Summary: 

The chapter references by description a Commonwealth 

Transportation Board policy and contains no additional 

substantive obligations. Therefore, the chapter is repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6260; Filed December 20, 2019, 11:32 a.m.  

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Comprehensive Animal Care Law and Related Regulations 

Civil Penalty Matrix Guidelines for Enforcement. 

Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law and Related Regulations 

Civil Penalty Matrix Guidelines for Enforcement. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Working with Students 

Who Are Deaf and Hard of Hearing in Virginia Public 

Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Wanda Council, Education Specialist, 

Office of Special Education Instructional Services, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 271-4059, or email 

wanda.council@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * *  

Title of Document: VAAP Participation Criteria and the 

Determination of Significant Cognitive Disabilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Deborah Johnson, Education Specialist, 

Office of Special Education Instructional Services, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2725, or email 

deborah.johnson@doe.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Document: Adverse Events - Guidelines for Non-

Long Term Care Healthcare Facilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: February 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Mylam Ly, Policy Analyst and Project 

Coordinator, Virginia Department of Health, James Madison 

Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7263, or email 

mylam.ly@vdh.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4443b006280~1t.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4443b006280~1t.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7af6a006280~2x.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7af6a006280~2x.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
mailto:carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30bd3006280~3s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30bd3006280~3s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30bd3006280~3s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
mailto:wanda.council@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70aeb006280~4s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70aeb006280~4s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
mailto:deborah.johnson@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8426b006280~5s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8426b006280~5s.pdf&typ=0%20&actno=006280&mime=application/pdf&file=xxx.pdf
mailto:mylam.ly@vdh.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Temporary Detention Order Supplement for 
Stakeholder Input 

The draft Temporary Detention Order (TDO) Supplement is 

available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft. 

Updates include (i) claims processing requirements for crisis 

stabilization units that admit individuals ages 21 through 64 

under TDOs; (ii) coverage information for individuals 

enrolled in Medicaid's managed care programs; and (iii) 

clarifying the Federal Managed Care Rule for individuals 

ages 21 through 64 enrolled in Medicaid managed care 

receiving services in an institution for mental disease. 

The updated information can be found on pages 1 through 4 

of the draft supplement. Once finalized, the supplement will 

be housed in the hospital, physician-practitioner, and 

psychiatric services provider manuals. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Amendment of Water Quality Management 
 Planning Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board is 

considering the amendment of the regulation on water quality 

management planning in accordance with the public 

participation procedures for water quality management 

planning. A regulation is a general rule governing people's 

rights or conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through 

the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the 

proposed amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the 

state's Water Quality Management Planning Regulation 

(9VAC25-720) is to adopt 11 new total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) wasteload allocations.  

Public comment period: January 20, 2020, through February 

19, 2020. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 

amendments of the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation for the Potomac-Shenandoah River 

Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A) and James River Basin (9VAC25-

720-60 A). Statutory authority for promulgating these 

amendments can be found in § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend (i) that the board approve the two 

TMDL reports as the plan for the pollutant reductions 

necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the 

impaired segments, (ii) that the board authorize inclusion of 

the two TMDL reports in the appropriate water quality 

management plan, and (iii) that the board adopt 11 new 

TMDL wasteload allocations (WLAs) as part of the state's 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 and B of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with 

federal regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the 

provisions of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act. The reports were subject to the 

TMDL public participation process contained in DEQ's 

public participation procedures for water quality management 

planning. The public comment process provides the affected 

stakeholders an opportunity for public appeal of the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL WLAs can receive State Water 

Control Board approval prior to Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) approval due to amendments outlined in § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia. The two TMDL reports in 

this public notice have been reviewed by the EPA for 

required TMDL elements, but remain in draft form awaiting 

State Water Control Board approval. The draft reports can be 

found at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx. 

Affected waterbodies and localities for the 11 new TMDL 

wasteload allocations: 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A): "A 

TMDL and Watershed Management Plan to address Sediment 

in North Fork Catoctin Creek Located in Loudoun County, 

Virginia" 

• The North Fork Catoctin Creek TMDL, located in 

Loudoun County, proposes sediment reductions for the 

North Fork Catoctin Creek watershed and provides a new 

sediment wasteload allocation of 99.1 tons/year. 

James River Basin (9VAC25-720-60 A): "Benthic TMDL 

Development for the North Fork Rivanna River Watershed 

and Tributaries Located in Albemarle, Greene, and Orange 

Counties" 

• The North Fork Rivanna River and tributaries TMDL, 

located in Albemarle, Greene, and Orange Counties, 

proposes sediment reductions for the Blue Run, Marsh 

Run, Preddy Creek, Preedy Creek North Branch, Quarter 

Creek, Standardsville Run, Swift Run, and an unnamed 

Tributary to Flat Branch watersheds and provides new 

sediment wasteload allocations of 20,750 lbs/year, 5,210 

lbs/year, 105,600 lbs/year, 47,940 lbs/year, 11,020 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
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lbs/year, 6,105 lbs/year, 89,130 lbs/year, and 27,890 

lbs/year. 

• The North Fork Rivanna River and tributaries TMDL, 

located in Albemarle, Greene, and Orange Counties, 

proposes total phosphorus reductions for the Blue Run and 

Standardsville Run watersheds and provides new total 

phosphorus wasteload allocations of 21.8 lbs/year and 4.6 

lbs/year. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 

full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last 

day of the comment period.  

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 

who submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the proposal.  

To review documents: The TMDL reports are available on the 

DEQ website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR

eports.aspx and by contacting the DEQ representative listed 

for any report. The electronic copies are in PDF or Word 

format and may be read online or downloaded. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 

additional information: Kelly Meadows, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4291, FAX: 

(804) 698-4032, or email kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Lakeside Real 
Estate LLC 

An enforcement action is being proposed for Lakeside Real 

Estate LLC for alleged violations regarding financial 

assurance mechanisms used to demonstrate financial 

responsibility, corrective action requirements that occurred at 

5301 Lakeside Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23228. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order 

to Lakeside Real Estate LLC to address the noncompliance. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Natalie Womack will accept 

comments by email at natalie.womack@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23219, from January 20, 2020, to 

February 20, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Reston RELAC LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Reston RELAC 

LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at Reston Lake Anne Air Conditioning located in 

Reston, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

Reston Lake Anne Air Conditioning. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from January 21, 2020, through February 20, 

2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 

Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 

the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 36:9 VA.R. 1073-1075 December 23, 2019. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1074, FORMS, replace "Asbestos - Experience 

Verification Application, A506-33AEXP-v4 (rev. 8/2015)" 

with "Asbestos - Experience Verification Application, A506-

33AEXP-v5 (rev. 3/2019)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6213; Filed December 26 2019, 3:40 p.m. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLReports.aspx
mailto:Mark.Richards@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:email:%20natalie.womack@DEQ.Virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations. 

Publication: 36:9 VA.R. 1075-1076 December 23, 2019. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1076, FORMS, column 2, replace "Contractor - 

Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, A506-

33CONREN-v4 (rev. 2/2018)" with "Contractor - Asbestos & 

Lead License Renewal Form, A506-33CONREN-v5 (rev. 

9/2019)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6214; Filed December 26, 2019, 4:17 p.m. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 

Licensing Regulations. 

Publication: 36:9 VA.R. 1076-1077, December 23, 2019. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1077, FORMS, replace "Home Inspector - Course 

Approval Application, Prelicense Education Course/NRS 

Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-3331HICRS-v1 (eff. 

4/2017)" with "Home Inspector - Course Approval 

Application, Prelicense Education Course/NRS Training 

Module/NRS CPE, A506-3331HICRS-v2 (eff. 8/2019)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6215; Filed December 26, 2019, 4:17 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




