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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 

Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 

Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

April 2020 through May 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:17 March 25, 2020 April 13, 2020 

36:18 April 8, 2020 April 27, 2020 

36:19 April 22. 2020 May 11, 2020 

36:20 May 4, 2020 (Monday) May 25, 2020 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-21. Regulations Governing 

Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2928.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Dr. Lee Tannenbaum. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC85-21-150 I 

to allow prescribing of up to the federal Food and Drug 

Administration approved limit of 32 mg QD (one a day). 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: Opposition to the change 

noted that the federal Food and Drug Administration and the 

American Society for Addiction Medicine support a 

maximum of 24 mg per day and that there is little evidence of 

further benefit from increasing the dosage. It was also noted 

that if a patient is unable to reach full recovery on 24 mg 

daily, it signals drug failure and other options must be 

considered. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email 

william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-19 Filed February 21, 2020, 9:09 a.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Virginia Academy of Physician 

Assistants. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To eliminate the requirement 

for the name of a patient care team physician to appear on a 

prescription written by a physician assistant for a controlled 

substance in Schedules II through V. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on February 

20, 2020, the board considered the petition and the comments 

in support and opposition. The board decided to take no 

action and confirmed that it was appropriate for the 

physician's name to be included on a prescription for 

Schedules II through V drugs. Board members noted that the 

electronic medical record should be configured to comply 

with the law and that there are options available to allow for 

compliance. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, or email 

william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-14 Filed February 21, 2020, 9:16 a.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffree Hudson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 

require sedation of an animal to be euthanized. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on March 16, 2020, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment 

ending April 15, 2020. Following receipt of all comments on 

the petition to amend regulations, the board will decide 

whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. This 

matter will be on the board's agenda for its first meeting after 

the comment period, which is scheduled for July 28, 2020. 

The petitioner will be informed of its decision after that 

meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-25 Filed February 21, 2020, 9:23 a.m. 

 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review: 

18VAC125-30, Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Sex Offender Treatment Providers. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins March 16, 2020, and ends 

April 6, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-110. Pertaining to Lobsters 

(amending 4VAC20-110-15 through 4VAC20-110-65).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the minimum size of escape 

vents in lobster traps and clarify regulatory language. 

4VAC20-110-15. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise: 

"Berried female" means a female lobster bearing eggs 

attached to the abdominal appendages. 

"Carapace" means the unsegmented body shell of the 

American lobster.  

"Carapace length" means the straight line measurement from 

the rear of the eye socket parallel to the center line of the 

carapace to the posterior edge of the carapace.  

"Escape vent" means an opening in a lobster pot designed to 

allow for the escapement of undersized lobster. 

"Ghost panel" means a panel, or other mechanism, in a 

lobster trap designed to allow for the escapement of lobster 

after a period of time if the trap has been abandoned or lost.  

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 

crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Lobster" means any crustacean of the species Homarus 

americanus.  

"V-notched female lobster" means any female lobster 

bearing a V-shaped notch (i.e., a straight-sided triangular cut 

without setal hairs, at least 1/4 inch in depth and not greater 

than 1/2 inch in depth and tapering to a sharp point) in the 

flipper next to the right of the center flipper as viewed from 

the rear of the female lobster. V-notched female lobster also 

means any female that is mutilated in a manner that could 

hide, obscure, or obliterate such a mark.  

4VAC20-110-20. Minimum and maximum size limit.  

It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate measurement any 

lobster less than 3-17/32 inches in carapace length or any 

lobster greater than 5-1/4 inches in carapace length, except 

for scientific purposes and with the express written consent of 

the Commissioner of Marine Resources.  

4VAC20-110-30. Possession prohibitions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate determination of the 

presence of eggs, any berried female lobster, except for 

scientific purposes and with the express written consent of the 

Commissioner of Marine Resources.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess for a period 

longer than is necessary for immediate determination of 

unnatural removal of eggs, a lobster that has been scrubbed or 

has in any manner other than natural hatching had the eggs 

removed therefrom a lobster that has had eggs removed 

unnaturally.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person, including fishermen, 

dealers, shippers, and restaurants, to possess a V-notched 

female lobster. The prohibition on possession of a V-notched 

female lobster applies to all persons, including but not limited 

to fishermen, dealers, shippers, and restaurants.  

D. It shall be unlawful to possess a lobster that has an outer 

shell that has been speared.  

E. It shall be unlawful to land lobster from February 1 

through March 31. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess aboard any 

vessel or to land lobster meat, detached tails or claws, or any 

other part of a lobster that has been separated. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-110-40. Marking of lobsters.  

Any All berried female harvested in or females from 

Virginia waters shall be V-notched before being returned to 

the sea water immediately. 

4VAC20-110-50. Lobster parts. (Repealed.) 

It shall be unlawful for any person to possess aboard any 

vessel or to land picked or cooked meat of the lobster, lobster 

meats, detached tails or claws, or any other part of a lobster 

that has been separated from the lobster.  

4VAC20-110-55. Gear requirements.  

A. All lobster traps not constructed entirely of wood 

(excluding heading or parlor twine and the escape vent) shall 

contain a ghost panel that complies with subdivisions 1 

through 4 of this subsection. The opening in a trap to be 

covered by the ghost panel shall be rectangular and shall not 

be less than 3-3/4 inches (9.53) by 3-3/4 inches (9.53 cm). 

The panel shall be constructed of, or fastened to the trap with, 

one of the following untreated materials: wood lath; cotton; 

hemp; sisal or jute twine not greater than 3/16 inch (0.48 cm) 

in diameter; or nonstainless, uncoated ferrous metal not 

greater than 3/32 inch (0.24 cm) in diameter. The door of the 

trap may serve as the ghost panel if fastened with a material 

specified in this section. The ghost panel shall be located in 

the outer parlor(s) of the trap and not the bottom of the trap.  

1. The rectangular ghost panel shall not be less than 3-3/4 

inches (9.53 cm) by 3-3/4 inches (9.53 cm).  

2. The ghost panel shall be constructed of or fastened to the 

trap with one of the following untreated materials: wood 

lath; cotton; hemp; sisal or jute twine not greater than 3/16 

inch (0.48 cm) in diameter; or nonstainless, uncoated 

ferrous metal not greater than 3/32 inch (0.24 cm) in 

diameter.  

3. The door of the trap may serve as the ghost panel if 

fastened with a material specified in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. 

4. The ghost panel shall be located in the outer parlor of 

the trap and not the bottom of the trap. 

B. All lobster traps shall have one rectangular escape vent 

with minimum measurements of two inches (5.08 cm) by 5-

3/4 inches (14.61 cm) or two circular escape vents at 2-5/8 

inches (7.20 cm). 

4VAC20-110-60. License and Commercial fishery permit 

requirements.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-201 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Marine Resources Commission does 

hereby establish a Lobster Boat License to be valid for one 

calendar year and does hereby require that each such vessel 

engaged in the fishing for or landing of lobster within or upon 

the waters within the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth 

procure and display such license provided that such vessel be 

not otherwise licensed for fishing by the Marine Resources 

Commission or engaged in the use of fishing gear that is not 

otherwise licensed by the Marine Resources Commission. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, possess, or 

land lobster by lobster trap in Virginia unless that person 

possesses a Lobster Under 200 Permit or a Lobster Over 200 

Permit. 

B. In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-201 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Marine Resources Commission 

establishes a no cost commercial lobster permit for any 

American lobster harvester using any gear or methods other 

than lobster traps in Virginia waters. It shall be unlawful for 

any person to take, catch, possess, or land lobster from gear 

other than lobster traps in Virginia unless that person 

possesses a Lobster Incidental Harvest Permit. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any boat or vessel to possess or 

land American lobster in Virginia for commercial purposes 

without first obtaining a Virginia lobster permit, as described 

in subsection B of this section, or a Federal Lobster Permit.  

4VAC20-110-65. Landing limit.  

Landings by fishermen using gear or methods other than 

lobster traps (nontrap fishermen) shall be limited to no more 

than 100 lobsters per day (based on a 24-hour period), up to a 

maximum of 500 lobsters per trip, for trips five days or 

longer. Possession by any nontrap fishermen aboard any 

vessel on Virginia waters or the landing by any nontrap 

fishermen of quantities greater than those specified shall 

constitute a violation of this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6323; Filed February 25, 2020, 3:14 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-450. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Bluefish (amending 4VAC20-450-15, 4VAC20-450-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248 or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments set the harvest and possession limits at 

three fish for recreational fishing and five fish for fishing 

from a charter or for-hire vessel. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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4VAC20-450-15. Definitions. 

The following word words or term terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meaning meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Bluefish" means any fish of the species Pomatomus 

saltatrix. 

"Captain" means the person licensed by the U.S. Coast 

Guard to carry passengers for hire who operates the charter 

boat or head boat. 

"Charter vessel" or "for-hire vessel" means a vessel 

operating with a captain who possesses either a Class A 

Fishing Guide License, Class B Fishing Guide License, or 

Fishing Guide Reciprocity Permit. 

4VAC20-450-20. Bluefish possession limit limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with 

recreational hook and line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other 

recreational gear recreationally to harvest and or possess 

more than 10 three bluefish, except as described in subsection 

B of this section. Any bluefish taken after the possession limit 

of 10 fish has been reached shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing from a charter 

or for-hire vessel to harvest or possess more than five 

bluefish. Any bluefish taken after the possession limit has 

been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

B. C. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire 

catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession 

limit shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board who are legally licensed eligible 

to fish multiplied by 10 the personal possession limits as 

described in subsections A and B of this section. The captain 

or operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any 

boat or vessel possession limit.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6325; Filed February 25, 2020, 2:16 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 27, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) change the dates of the off-shore 

commercial summer flounder spring season to February 

24, 2020, through March 31, 2020, and (ii) raise the 

landing limit for the season to 12,500 pounds. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, E, and 

F of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic 

mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection K 

of this section. 

C. From March 1 February 24 through April 19 March 31, it 

shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder 

outside of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 12,500 

pounds of summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From October 1 through November 15, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 

summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From November 16 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 

landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 pounds of 

summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

F. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or vessel 

issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit 

and owned and operated by a legal Virginia Commercial 

Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a Restricted Summer 

Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted to a possession and 

landing limit of 200 pounds of summer flounder, except as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

G. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

H. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood 

buyer or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in 

pounds found in excess of any possession limit described in 

this section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection K of this section. 

A buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder 

from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that 

vessel has satisfied the requirements described in subsection 

K of this section.  

I. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

K. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6298; Filed February 25, 2020, 1:55 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-995. Pertaining to 

Commercial Hook-And-Line Fishing (amending 4VAC20-

995-30).  
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Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment prohibits the use of commercial hook-and-

line gear within 300 feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, 

or pier on weekends (Friday through Sunday) during any 

open recreational striped bass season. 

4VAC20-995-30. Prohibitions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed under the 

provisions of 4VAC20-995-20 A 1 or A 2 as a commercial 

hook-and-line fisherman to do any of the following unless 

otherwise specified:  

1. Fail to be on board the vessel when that vessel is 

operating in a commercial hook-and-line fishing capacity.  

2. Have more than three crew members on board the vessel 

at any given time provided that:  

a. Crew members do not need to be licensed commercial 

fishermen but shall be registered on a crew member list 

with the commission on an annual basis and in advance 

of any fishing in any year;  

b. One crew member per vessel needs not be registered 

on a crew member list;  

c. The maximum number of crew members registered to 

any commercial hook-and-line licensee at any one time 

shall be 15;  

d. Any crew registration list submitted by any 

commercial hook-and-line fisherman may be revised 

once per calendar year; and 

e. A legible and approved crew member list must be 

maintained on board the vessel during all commercial 

hook-and-line activities. 

3. Fail to display prominently the commercial hook-and-

line decals, as provided by the commission, on the 

starboard and port sides of the vessel.  

4. Fish within 300 yards of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, 

or pier from 6 p.m. Friday through 6 p.m. Sunday.  

5. Fish within 300 yards of any fixed fishing device.  

6. Harvest black drum within 300 yards of the Chesapeake 

Bay-Bridge-Tunnel at any time.  

7. Fish recreationally on any commercial hook and line 

vessel during a commercial fishing trip.  

8. Use any hydraulic fishing gear or deck-mounted fishing 

equipment.  

9. Use any fishing rod and reel or hand line equipped with 

more than six hooks.  

10. Fish commercially with hook and line aboard any 

vessel licensed as a charter boat or head boat while 

carrying customers for recreational fishing.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a commercial 

hook and line within 300 feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, 

jetty, or pier during Thanksgiving Day through the following 

day. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a commercial 

hook and line or during any open recreational striped bass 

season in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except 

during the period midnight Sunday through 6 a.m. Friday.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6326; Filed February 25, 2020, 2:02 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1310. Pertaining to Jonah 

Crab (amending 4VAC20-1310-20 through 4VAC20-1310-

50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a 2.75-inch minimum claw size 

for claw-specific harvest greater than five gallons, define 

Jonah crab bycatch, modify non-lobster trap possession 

limits, and clarify language. 

4VAC20-1310-20. Definition. 

The following word words or term terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meaning meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Carapace" means the unsegmented body shell of a Jonah 

crab. 

"Carapace length" means the straight line measurement 

across the widest part of the shell including the tips of the 

posterior-most, longest spines along the lateral margins of the 

carapace. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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"Claw length" means the straight line measurement along 

the bottom of the claw from the joint to the lower tip of the 

claw. 

"Jonah crab," as described in this chapter, means solely any 

crustacean of the crustacean species Cancer borealis. 

"Target species" means those species primarily sought by 

the fishermen in the fishery and that are the subject of 

directed fishing effort. 

4VAC20-1310-30. Possession prohibitions and commercial 

fishery minimum size limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to possess 

any egg-bearing female Jonah crab, except for scientific 

purposes and with the express written consent of the 

Commissioner of Marine Resources. Any harvested egg-

bearing female Jonah crab shall be returned to the water 

immediately. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to land any 

Jonah crab unless the whole crab is in that person's 

individual's possession, except as provided in 4VAC20-1310-

40 D C.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to possess 

or land any Jonah crab for commercial purposes that 

measures less than 4.75 inches across the widest point of the 

in carapace length. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any individual to possess or land 

for commercial purposes any Jonah crab claws that measure 

less than 2.75 inches in claw length in any amount greater 

than five gallons.  

4VAC20-1310-40. Commercial fishery harvest, permits, 

possession limits, and reporting. 

A. In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2 201 of the 

Code of Virginia, the Marine Resources Commission 

establishes a no-cost Jonah crab incidental commercial permit 

for any harvester using any gear or methods other than lobster 

traps in Virginia waters. It shall be unlawful for any 

individual to take, catch, possess, or land any Jonah crab from 

gear other than lobster traps unless that individual possesses a 

Jonah Crab Incidental Commercial Permit. 

1. Such permits shall only be issued to an individual who 

possesses (i) a valid federal lobster permit and (ii) either a 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License or a Seafood 

Landing License. 

B. 2. It shall be unlawful for any person individual using 

gear or harvesting methods other than lobster traps 

(nontrap fishermen) to land or possess more than 200 

Jonah crabs in a 24-hour period or more than 500 Jonah 

crabs when a fishing trip exceeds 24 hours the incidental 

bycatch limit of 1,000 Jonah crabs.  

3. It shall be unlawful for any individual to possess any 

Jonah crab caught under the Jonah Crab Incidental 

Commercial Permit unless the weight of the target species 

on board the vessel is greater than the weight of the Jonah 

Crab in that individual's possession. 

C. B. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to take, 

catch, possess, or land any Jonah crab in excess of the 

amounts listed in subsection B subdivision A 2 of this 

section, unless that person has obtained individual possesses a 

Limited Entry Jonah Crab Fishery Permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. Permits shall only be issued to a 

Virginia registered commercial fisherman or a Virginia 

seafood landing licensee who is a legal federal lobster 

permittee and has at least one pound of documented landings 

of Jonah crab prior to June 2, 2015, in the Marine Resources 

Commission's mandatory harvest reporting system. Federal 

dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information 

System can satisfy the one pound harvest requirement. There 

is no landing limit for any person that possesses a Jonah Crab 

Limited Entry Fishery Permit. 

1. Such permits shall only be issued to an individual who 

possesses (i) a valid a federal lobster permit and (ii) either 

a Commercial Fisherman Registration License or a 

Seafood Landing License.  

2. Individuals shall have at least one pound of landings of 

Jonah crab prior to June 2, 2015, recorded in the Marine 

Resources Commission's mandatory harvest reporting 

system or in federal dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic 

Fisheries Information System. 

3. There shall be no landing limit of Jonah crabs for any 

individual who possesses a Jonah Crab Limited Entry 

Fishery Permit. 

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person individual to take, 

catch, possess, or land any Jonah crab claws without first 

having obtained unless that individual possesses a Limited 

Entry Jonah Crab Claw Fishery Permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. Permits shall only be issued to a 

Virginia registered commercial fisherman who is a legal 

federal lobster permittee and who has at least one pound of 

documented claw landings, prior to June 2, 2015, in the 

Marine Resources Commission's mandatory harvest reporting 

system. Federal dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic 

Fisheries Information System can satisfy the one-pound 

harvest requirement. 

1. Such permits shall only be issued to an individual who 

possesses (i) a valid a federal lobster permit and (ii) either 

a Commercial Fisherman Registration License or a 

Seafood Landing License. 

2. Individuals shall have at least one pound of claw 

landings prior to June 2, 2015, recorded in the Marine 

Resources Commission's mandatory harvest reporting 
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system or in federal dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic 

Fisheries Information System. 

3. There shall be no landing limit of Jonah crab claws for 

any individual who possesses a Limited Entry Jonah Crab 

Claw Fishery Permit. 

E. D. Any Virginia licensed seafood buyer who purchases 

any whole Jonah crab or its claws shall provide reports to the 

commission of daily purchases and harvest information, 

organized by month. Such information shall include: (i) the 

date of the purchase, (ii) the harvester's commercial 

fisherman registration license number or Virginia seafood 

landing license number, (iii) the gear type, (iv) water area 

fished, (v) city or county of landing, (vi) total amount of 

pounds landed, and (vii) the price per pound. These reports 

shall be completed in full and submitted to the commission no 

later than the 15th day of January for the prior year's 

purchases. Federal dealer reports to the Standard Atlantic 

Fisheries Information System can shall satisfy the reporting 

requirements. 

4VAC20-1310-50. Daily recreational harvest and 

possession limits. 

It shall be unlawful for any person individual fishing 

recreationally to possess more than 50 Jonah crabs per person 

individual per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6324; Filed February 25, 2020, 2:54 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kristin Marie Clay, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Office of Environmental Health Services, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7474, or email 

kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-421)  

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Cover Page 

(rev. 1/2019) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

(rev. 9/2017) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

(rev. 2/2020) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 

with Temperatures (rev. 9/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6316; Filed February 21, 2020, 4:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-20. Virginia Asbestos 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC15-20-33).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement regarding 

registering a trade or fictitious name with the clerk of 

court in the locality where the business is conducted to 

conform the regulation to Chapter 594 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, which became effective January 1, 2020. 

18VAC15-20-33. General qualifications for licensure: 

firms.  

A. Each firm applying for a license shall meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. The applicant shall disclose the name under which the 

business entity conducts business and holds itself out to the 

mailto:kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ba60005813~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005813&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ba60005813~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005813&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d353006316~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006316&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d353006316~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006316&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fdfd6005280~3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fdfd6005280~3s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005280&mime=application/pdf
mailto:alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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public. The firm shall register trade or fictitious names, when 

applicable, with the State Corporation Commission or the 

clerk of the circuit court in the locality where the business is 

to be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et 

seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia before submitting 

an application to the board.  

C. The applicant shall disclose the firm's mailing address 

and the firm's physical address. A post office box is only 

acceptable as a mailing address when a physical address is 

also provided.  

D. Applicants shall meet the additional requirements listed 

in this subsection for the firm's form of organization:  

1. Corporations. Applicants shall have been incorporated in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign corporation, 

shall have obtained a certificate of authority to conduct 

business in Virginia from the State Corporation 

Commission in accordance with requirements governing 

corporations pursuant to Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Corporations shall be in good standing with the State 

Corporation Commission at the time of application to the 

board and at all times when the license is in effect.  

2. Limited liability companies. Applicants shall have 

obtained a certificate of organization in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign limited liability 

company, shall have obtained a certificate of registration to 

do business in Virginia from the State Corporation 

Commission in accordance with requirements governing 

limited liability companies pursuant to Title 13.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. Companies shall be in good standing 

with the State Corporation Commission at the time of 

application to the board and at all times when the license is 

in effect.  

3. Partnerships. Applicants shall have a written partnership 

agreement. The partnership agreement shall state that 

asbestos abatement services of the partnership shall be 

under the direction and control of the appropriate asbestos 

abatement licensee.  

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

the applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and its owners, officers, managers, members, and 

directors, as applicable:  

1. All felony convictions; 

2. All misdemeanor convictions involving lying, cheating, 

or stealing; and 

3. Any conviction resulting from engaging in 

environmental remediation activity that resulted in the 

significant harm or the imminent and substantial threat of 

significant harm to human health or the environment. 

Any plea of nolo contendre or finding of guilt, regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication, shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. The applicant has 

the right to request further review of any such action by the 

board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

F. The applicant shall report (i) the suspension, revocation, 

or surrender of a license, certification, or registration in 

connection with a disciplinary action by any jurisdiction and 

(ii) whether the firm, owners, officers, managers, members, or 

directors have been the subject of discipline in any 

jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure and while the 

application is under review by the board. The board, at its 

discretion, may deny licensure to an applicant based on 

disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 

G. The board may deny the application of an applicant who 

is shown to have a substantial identity of interest with a 

person whose license or certificate has been revoked or not 

renewed by the board. A substantial identity of interest 

includes (i) a controlling financial interest by the individual or 

corporate principals of the person whose license or certificate 

has been revoked or has not been renewed or (ii) substantially 

identical owners, officers, managers, members, or directors, 

as applicable. 

H. An applicant shall not knowingly make a materially false 

statement, submit falsified documents, or fail to disclose a 

material fact requested in connection with an application 

submitted to the board.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC15-20)  

Asbestos Worker License Application, A506-3301LIC-v4 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Supervisor License Application, A506-3302LIC-

v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Inspector License Application, A506-3303LIC-v5 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Management Planner License Application, A506-

3304LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Designer License Application, A506-

3305LIC-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Project Monitor License Application, A506-

3309LIC-v5 (rev. 8/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539~5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38871004539~5&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539~6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96ad6004539~6&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539~7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96d6a004539~7&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539~8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f908a004539~8&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539~9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0c13b004539~9&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539~10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d5c05004539~10&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
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Individual - Asbestos License Renewal Form, A506-

33AREN-v5 (rev. 2/2020) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Renewal/Branch 

Office Renewal Form, A506-3333_34REN-v5 (rev. 2/2020) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v6 (rev. 2/2020) 

Asbestos - Experience Verification Application, A506-

33AEXP-v5 (rev. 3/2019) 

Asbestos - Education Verification Application, A506-

33AED-v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Virginia Asbestos Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33ACIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Inspector/Project Designer/Contractor Disclosure Form, 

A506-33DIS-v2 (rev. 8/2013) 

Asbestos Contractor License Application, A506-3306LIC-

v5 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Application, A506-

3333LIC-v7 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Contractor License Application, A506-3306LIC-

v6 (rev. 3/2020) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory License Application, A506-

3333LIC-v8 (rev. 3/2020) 

Asbestos Analytical Laboratory - Branch Office 

Application, A506-3333BR-v1 (rev. 9/2019) 

Change of Laboratory Analysis Type Form, A506-

3333COA-v1 (rev. 9/2019) 

Asbestos Training Program Review and Audit Application, 

A506-3331ACRS-v4 (rev. 8/2015) 

Asbestos Training Program Review and Audit Application, 

A506-3331ACRS-v5 (rev. 3/2020) 

Asbestos Project Monitor - Work Experience Log, A506-

3309EXP-v3 (rev. 8/2015)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6284; Filed February 25, 2020, 2:48 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Board for Asbestos, 

Lead, and Home Inspectors is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home 

Inspectors will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-30. Virginia Lead-Based 

Paint Activities Regulations (amending 18VAC15-30-53).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement regarding 

registering a trade or fictitious name with the clerk of 

court in the locality where the business is conducted to 

conform the regulation to Chapter 594 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, which became effective January 1, 2020. 

18VAC15-30-53. Qualifications for licensure - business 

entities.  

A. General. Every business entity shall secure a license 

before transacting business.  

B. Name. The business name shall be disclosed on the 

application. The name under which the entity conducts 

business and holds itself out to the public (i.e., the trade or 

fictitious name) shall also be disclosed on the application. 

Business entities shall register their trade or fictitious names 

with the State Corporation Commission or the clerk of court 

in the county or jurisdiction where the business is to be 

conducted in accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 

Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of 

Virginia before submitting their application applications to 

the board.  

C. Address. The applicant shall disclose the firm's mailing 

address and the firm's physical address. A post office box is 

only acceptable as a mailing address when a physical address 

is also provided.  

D. Form of organization. Applicants shall meet the 

additional requirements listed below for their business type:  

1. Corporations. All applicants shall have been 

incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a 

foreign corporation, shall have obtained a certificate of 

authority to conduct business in Virginia from the State 

Corporation Commission in accordance with § 13.1-544.2 

of the Code of Virginia. The corporation shall be in good 

standing with the State Corporation Commission at the 

time of application to the board and at all times when the 

license is in effect.  

2. Limited liability companies. All applicants shall have 

obtained a certificate of organization in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign limited liability 

company, shall have obtained a certificate of registration to 

do business in Virginia from the State Corporation 

Commission in accordance with § 13.1-1105 of the Code 

of Virginia. The company shall be in good standing with 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0018c006213~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0018c006213~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a8ef006213~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a8ef006213~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3ef0006213~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3ef0006213~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30e35006213~49.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=30e35006213~49.pdf&typ=40&actno=006213&mime=application/pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/ALHI/A506-33AED.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539~20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=334be004539~20&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539~21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec4e3004539~21&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90b07006284~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90b07006284~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90f31006284~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90f31006284~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5adef004855~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5adef004855~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7345004855~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7345004855~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=004855&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1a57b006284~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1a57b006284~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006284&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539~18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=279ce004539~18&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
mailto:alhi@dpor.virginia.gov
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the State Corporation Commission at the time of 

application to the board and at all times when the license is 

in effect.  

3. Partnerships. All applicants shall have a written 

partnership agreement. The partnership agreement shall 

state that all professional services of the partnership shall 

be under the direction and control of a licensed or certified 

professional.  

4. Sole proprietorships. Sole proprietorships desiring to use 

an assumed or fictitious name, that is a name other than the 

individual's full name, shall have their assumed or 

fictitious name recorded by the clerk of the court of the 

county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to be 

conducted.  

E. Qualifications.  

1. Lead contractor. Each applicant for lead contractor 

licensure shall:  

a. Hold a valid Virginia contractor license with a lead 

specialty issued by the Virginia Board for Contractors 

and comply with the provisions of Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-

1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia 

governing the regulation of contractors.  

b. Certify that:  

(1) Only properly licensed lead abatement supervisors 

and workers will be employed to conduct lead-based 

paint activities;  

(2) A licensed lead abatement supervisor is present at 

each job site during all work site preparation and during 

post-abatement cleanup, and shall be on site or available 

by telephone, pager, or answering service and able to be 

present at the work site in no more than two hours when 

abatement activities are being conducted;  

(3) The standards for conducting lead-based paint 

activities established in this chapter and standards 

established by the EPA and OSHA shall be followed at 

all times during the conduct of lead-based paint 

activities; and  

(4) The company is in compliance with all other 

occupational and professional licenses and standards as 

required by Virginia statute and local ordinance to 

transact the business of a lead abatement contractor.  

F. Conviction or guilt. Neither the firm nor the owners, 

officers, or directors shall have been convicted or found 

guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, or 

stealing or of any violation while engaged in environmental 

remediation activity that resulted in the significant harm or 

the imminent and substantial threat of significant harm to 

human health or the environment, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having lapsed. Any 

plea of nolo contendre shall be considered a conviction for 

the purposes of this section. A certified copy of the final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 

with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 

decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline. The board, at its discretion, may 

deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 

of the Code of Virginia.  

G. Standards of conduct and practice. Applicants shall be in 

compliance with the standards of conduct and practice set 

forth in Part VIII (18VAC15-30-510 et seq.) and Part IX 

(18VAC15-30-760 et seq.) of this chapter at the time of 

application to the board, while the application is under review 

by the board, and at all times when the license is in effect.  

H. Standing. Both the firm and the owners, officers, and 

directors shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, and the applicant shall not have had a license that 

was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with 

any disciplinary action in any jurisdiction prior to applying 

for licensure in Virginia. The board, at its discretion, may 

deny licensure to any applicant based on disciplinary action 

by any jurisdiction.  

I. Denial of license. The board may refuse to issue a license 

to any lead contractor applicant if the applicant or its owners, 

officers, or directors have a financial interest in a lead 

contractor whose lead license has been revoked, suspended or 

denied renewal in any jurisdiction.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC15-30)  

Lead Abatement Worker License Application, A506-

3351LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Supervisor License Application, A506-

3353LIC-v4 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Inspector License Application, A506-

3355LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Risk Assessor License Application, A506-

3356LIC-v5 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Project Designer License Application, 

A506-3357LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

Lead Abatement Contractor License Application, A506-

3358LIC-v3 (eff. 8/2015) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f1e18003181~1&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1fdfb003181~3&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=49272003181~4&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b6cd8003181~6&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5257c003181~5&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
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Lead Abatement Contractor License Application, A506-

3358LIC-v4 (eff. 3/2020) 

Contractor - Asbestos & Lead License Renewal Form, 

A506-33CONREN-v6 (rev. 2/2020) 

Individual - Lead License Renewal Form, A506-33LREN-

v4 (rev. 2/2020) 

Lead - Education Verification Application, A506-33LED-v3 

(rev. 8/2015) 

Lead - Experience Verification Application, A506-33LEXP-

v3 (rev. 8/2015) 

Lead Training Course Application, 3331LCRS-v4 (eff. 

8/2015) 

Lead Training Course Application, 3331LCRS-v5 (eff. 

3/2020) 

Inspector/Risk Assessor/Project Designer/Contractor 

Disclosure Form, A506-33LDIS-v2 (eff. 8/2013) 

Virginia Lead Licensing Consumer Information Sheet, 

A506-33LCIS-v2 (eff. 8/2013)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6287; Filed February 25, 2020, 2:55 p.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC15-40. Home Inspector 

Licensing Regulations. 

Contact Information: Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Regulatory 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2684, or 

email joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC15-40)  

Home Inspector License Application, A506-3380LIC-v3 

(eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspector NRS Specialty Designation Application, 

A506-3380NRS-v1 (eff. 7/2017) 

Home Inspector Experience Verification Form, A506-

3380EXP-v7 (eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspectors – Inspection Log, A506-3380ILOG-v1 

(eff. 9/2017) 

Home Inspector Reinstatement Application, A506-3380REI-

v3 (eff. 2/2020) 

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 

Education Course/NRS Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-

3331HICRS-v2 (eff. 8/2019) 

Home Inspector - Course Approval Application, Prelicense 

Education Course/NRS Training Module/NRS CPE, A506-

3331HICRS-v3 (eff. 3/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6313; Filed February 21, 2020, 8:51 a.m.  

CEMETERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Cemetery Board is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The Cemetery Board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-140).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary 

The amendments reduce renewal fees for cemetery 

company licenses and sales personnel registrations that 

expire after May 1, 2020, and before May 1, 2022, to 

conform with § 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC47-20-140. Renewal and reinstatement fees.  

A. All fees required by the board are nonrefundable. The date 

on which the fee is received by the department or its agent shall 

determine whether the licensee or registrant is eligible for 

renewal or reinstatement or must reapply as a new applicant.  

Renewal of cemetery company 

license 

$580 per cemetery 

Renewal of sales personnel 

registration 

$60 per cemetery 

Reinstatement of cemetery 

company license 

$580 per cemetery 

Reinstatement of sales personnel 

registration 

$60 per cemetery 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e864f006287~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006287&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e864f006287~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006287&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26969006214~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006214&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26969006214~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006214&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b29e9006214~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006214&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b29e9006214~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006214&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f85d004539~3&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2f85d004539~3&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cec004539~4&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cec004539~4&typ=40&actno=004539&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cdd21006287~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006287&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cdd21006287~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006287&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2e27c003181~12&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e05e3003181~13&typ=40&actno=003181&mime=application/pdf
mailto:Joseph.Haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0dda005264~51.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c0dda005264~51.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f02005264~22.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=79f02005264~22.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19f80005264~33.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19f80005264~33.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41c4b005264~44.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=41c4b005264~44.pdf&typ=40&actno=005264&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5d55006215~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5d55006215~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba3ec006313~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006313&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ba3ec006313~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=006313&mime=application/pdf
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B. For licenses and registrations expiring on May 31, 2018 

2020, and before May 1, 2020 2022, the renewal fees are as 

follows: 

Renewal of cemetery company 

license 

$250 $300 per cemetery 

Renewal of sales personnel 

registration 

$40 per cemetery 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6318; Filed February 24, 2020, 4:23 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

10).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Background: Section 1110 of Title XI of the Financial 

Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 

(12 USC § 3339) requires that real estate appraisals be 

performed in accordance with and reviewed for compliance 

with generally accepted standards as evidenced by the 

appraisal standards promulgated by the Appraisal Standards 

Board (ASB) of the Appraisal Foundation, which are known 

as the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP). The ASB updates USPAP every two years and has 

issued the 2020-2021 edition, which is effective from January 

1, 2020, through December 31, 2021. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the edition of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the 

definition of "USPAP" and as incorporated by reference. 

Part I  

General  

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 

by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 

colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher 

learning approved by the State Council of Higher Education 

for Virginia or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of 

Designated Educational Institutions, published by the 

American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 

Admissions Officers or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 

those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 

government agency, board or commission to teach adult 

education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 

than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated 

as an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 

1987, to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards 

by defining, issuing, and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 

of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 

established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 

Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means an individual who is expected to perform 

valuation services competently and in a manner that is 

independent, impartial, and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser, 

which the board creates by designating criteria for 

qualification for such category and by designating the scope 

of practice permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created 

by the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria 

for the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers 

by defining, issuing, and promoting such qualification 

criteria; to disseminate such qualification criteria to states, 

governmental entities, and others; and to develop or assist in 

the development of appropriate examinations for qualified 

appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as 

an appraiser trainee to appraise those properties that the 

supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 

association, or other business entity under which appraisal 

services are performed.  

mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 

who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 

appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 

licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 

instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 

estate or real property of one to four residential units 

regardless of transaction value or complexity. Certified 

residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 

a review appraisal of nonresidential properties with a 

transaction value or market value as defined by the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, 

whichever is the lesser.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 

segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 

time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 

course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 

the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-

ROM, online learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes experience 

gained in the performance of traditional appraisal 

assignments, or in the performance of the following: fee and 

staff appraisals, ad valorem tax appraisal, review appraisal, 

appraisal analysis, real estate consulting, highest and best use 

analysis, and feasibility analysis or study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 

into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 

valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real 

estate consulting.  

1. "Fee and staff appraiser experience" means experience 

acquired as a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or through 

disclosure of assistance in the certification in accordance 

with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 

assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use 

of reason and the exercise of judgment forms objective 

opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or 

other properly defined value of identified interests in said 

real estate.  

Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 

individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 

another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the 

content and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee and staff appraiser experience, an 

individual must have prepared written appraisal reports 

after January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition 

in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, including 

Standards 1 and 2.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means 

experience obtained by an individual who assembles and 

analyzes the relevant facts and who correctly employs 

those recognized methods and techniques that are 

necessary to produce and communicate credible appraisals 

within the context of the real property tax laws. Ad 

valorem tax appraisal experience may be obtained either 

through individual property appraisals or through mass 

appraisals as long as applicants under this category of 

experience can demonstrate that they are using techniques 

to value real property similar to those being used by fee 

and staff appraisers and that they are effectively utilizing 

the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

individual property appraisals, an individual must have 

prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 

that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 

mass appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass 

appraisals or have documented mass appraisal reports after 

January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 

of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 

appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must 

be attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 

individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 

determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 

data reported and other generally known information. An 

individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 

necessarily make personal inspection of real estate but does 

review and analyze relevant facts assembled by fee and 

staff appraisers and by the use of reason and exercise of 

judgment forms objective conclusions as to the validity of 

fee and staff appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience 

shall not constitute more than 1,000 hours of total 

experience claimed, and at least 50% of the review 

experience claimed must be in field review wherein the 

individual has personally inspected the real property which 

is the subject of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must 

have prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 

recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 
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fee and staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in 

the edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, 

including Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 

prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 

experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 

this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 

subcategory of fee and staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 

obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 

relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 

judgment forms objective opinions concerning matters 

other than value estimates relating to real property. Real 

estate consulting experience includes the following:  

Absorption Study  

Ad Valorem Tax Study  

Annexation Study  

Assemblage Study  

Assessment Study  

Condominium Conversion Study  

Cost-Benefit Study  

Cross Impact Study  

Depreciation/Cost Study  

Distressed Property Study  

Economic Base Analysis  

Economic Impact Study  

Economic Structure Analysis  

Eminent Domain Study  

Feasibility Study  

Highest and Best Use Study  

Impact Zone Study  

Investment Analysis Study  

Investment Strategy Study  

Land Development Study  

Land Suitability Study  

Land Use Study  

Location Analysis Study  

Market Analysis Study  

Market Strategy Study  

Market Turning Point Analysis  

Marketability Study  

Portfolio Study  

Rehabilitation Study  

Remodeling Study  

Rental Market Study  

Right of Way Study  

Site Analysis Study  

Utilization Study  

Urban Renewal Study  

Zoning Study  

To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 

individual must have prepared written reports after January 

30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 

the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 

and 5. Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 

500 hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 

without meeting the continuing education requirements 

specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 

requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 

individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 

appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 

residential real estate or real property of one to four 

residential units, including federally related transactions, 

where the transaction value or market value as defined by the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less 

than $1 million. Licensed residential real estate appraisers 

may also appraise or provide a review appraisal of 

noncomplex, nonresidential properties with a transaction 

value or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 

the lesser.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 

issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 

general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 

appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or 

appraiser trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of 

the Code of Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 

commission" means an entity established by any local, 

federal, or state government to protect or promote the health, 

safety, and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school 

offering appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by 

the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior 

and community colleges; adult distributive or marketing 

education programs; local, state or federal government 

agencies, boards or commissions; proprietary schools; or real 

estate appraisal or real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 

valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 

means any appraisal or real estate related organization 

formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 

to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 

between two or more states that will recognize one another's 

regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  
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"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, 

association, or other business entity that provides appraisal 

services and that is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board in accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 

restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 

or registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a 

corporation, partnership, or association, who is trading under 

his own name, or under an assumed or fictitious name 

pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" means any educational course or 

seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 

jurisdiction which that is equivalent in classroom hours, 

course content and subject, and degree of difficulty, 

respectively, to those requirements outlined in this chapter 

and Chapter 20.1 (§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia for licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 

license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 

certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 

real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed individual 

acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as 

specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 

transaction which that may require the services of a certified 

or licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is 

not always equal to the market value of the real property 

interest involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 

transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 

extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases, and 

investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 

value is the market value of the real property interest 

involved. For the pooling of loans or interests in real property 

for resale or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of 

the loan or the market value of real property calculated with 

respect to each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 

means the 2018-2019 2020-2021 edition of those standards 

promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the 

Appraisal Foundation for use by all appraisers in the 

preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of 

real property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 

appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion, 

or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the 

value of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified 

date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 

a known right.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC130-20)  

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 

2018-2019 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, The 

Appraisal Foundation 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice, 

2020-2021 Edition, Appraisal Standards Board, The 

Appraisal Foundation 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6319; Filed February 24, 2020, 5:19 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Real Estate Appraiser Board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

20, 18VAC130-20-180).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement regarding 

registering a trade or fictitious name with the clerk of 

court in the locality where the business is conducted to 

conform the regulation to Chapter 594 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, which became effective January 1, 2020. 

18VAC130-20-20. Requirement for registration.  

All business entities, both domestic (in-state) and foreign 

(out-of-state), providing appraisal services shall register with 

the board by completing an application furnished by the board 

describing the location, nature, and operation of their 

practices, and the name and address of the registered agent, 

an associate, or a partner of the business entity. Along with a 

completed application form, domestic corporations and 

limited liability companies shall provide a copy of the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15cb5006319~1,.pdf&typ=40&actno=006319&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15cb5006319~1,.pdf&typ=40&actno=006319&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15cb5006319~1,.pdf&typ=40&actno=006319&mime=application/pdf
mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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certificate as issued by the State Corporation Commission; 

foreign (out-of-state) corporations and limited liability 

companies shall provide a copy of the certificate from the 

State Corporation Commission; partnerships shall provide a 

copy of the certified Partnership Certificate; and other 

business entities trading under a fictitious name shall provide 

a copy of the certificate filed with the clerk of the court where 

business is to be conducted be authorized to conduct business 

in accordance with Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 

of the Code of Virginia. Every business entity providing 

appraisal services shall provide the name and license number 

of a board licensee who shall serve as the contact person for 

the board. 

18VAC130-20-180. Standards of professional practice. 

A. The provisions of subsections C through L of this section 

shall not apply to local, state, and federal employees 

performing in their official capacity.  

B. Maintenance of licenses. The board shall not be 

responsible for the failure of a licensee, registrant, or 

certificate holder to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence.  

1. Change of address.  

a. All licensed real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, 

and certified instructors shall at all times keep the board 

informed in writing of their current home address and 

shall report any change of address to the board within 30 

days of such change.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 

at all times keep the board informed in writing of their 

current business address and shall report any change of 

address to the board within 30 days of such change.  

2. Change of name.  

a. All real estate appraisers, appraiser trainees, and 

certified instructors shall promptly notify the board in 

writing and provide appropriate written legal verification 

of any change of name.  

b. Registered real estate appraisal business entities shall 

promptly notify the board of any change of name or 

change of business structure in writing. In addition to 

written notification, corporations shall provide a copy of 

the Certificate of Amendment from the State Corporation 

Commission, partnerships shall provide a copy of a 

certified Partnership Certificate, and other business 

entities trading under a fictitious name shall provide a 

copy of the certificate filed with the clerk of the court 

where business is to be conducted be authorized to 

conduct business in accordance with Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-

69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. Upon the change of name or address of the registered 

agent, associate, or partner, or sole proprietor designated 

by a real estate appraisal business entity, the business 

entity shall notify the board in writing of the change within 

30 days of such event.  

4. No license, certification, or registration issued by the 

board shall be assigned or otherwise transferred.  

5. All licensees, certificate holders, and registrants shall 

operate under the name in which the license or registration 

is issued.  

6. All certificates of licensure, registration, or certification 

in any form are the property of the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board. Upon death of a licensee, dissolution or restructure 

of a registered business entity, or change of a licensee's, 

registrant's, or certificate holder's name or address, such 

licenses, registrations, or certificates must be returned with 

proper instructions and supplemental material to the board 

within 30 days of such event.  

7. All appraiser licenses issued by the board shall be 

visibly displayed.  

C. Use of signature and electronic transmission of report.  

1. The signing of an appraisal report or the transmittal of a 

report electronically shall indicate that the licensee has 

exercised complete direction and control over the 

appraisal. Therefore, no licensee shall sign or 

electronically transmit an appraisal which that has been 

prepared by an unlicensed person unless such work was 

performed under the direction and supervision of the 

licensee in accordance with § 54.1-2011 C of the Code of 

Virginia.  

2. All original appraisal reports shall be signed by the 

licensed appraiser. For narrative and letter appraisals, the 

signature and final value conclusion shall appear on the 

letter of transmittal and certification page. For form 

appraisals, the signature shall appear on the page 

designated for the appraiser's signature and final estimate 

of value. All temporary licensed real estate appraisers shall 

sign and affix their temporary license to the appraisal 

report or letter for which they obtained the license to 

authenticate such report or letter. Appraisal reports may be 

transmitted electronically. Reports prepared without the 

use of a seal shall contain the license number of the 

appraiser.  

a. An appraiser may provide market analysis studies or 

consulting reports, which do not constitute appraisals of 

market value, provided such reports, studies, or 

evaluations shall contain a conspicuous statement that 

such reports, studies, or evaluations are not an appraisal 

as defined in § 54.1-2009 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Application of the seal and signature or electronic 

transmission of the report indicates acceptance of 

responsibility for work shown thereon.  
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c. The seal shall conform in detail and size to the design 

illustrated below in this subdivision:  

 

*The number on the seal shall be the 10-digit number or 

the last six digits, or the last significant digits on the 

license issued by the board.  

D. Development of appraisal. In developing a real property 

appraisal, all licensees shall comply with the provisions of the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice 

(USPAP) as defined in this chapter or in the prior edition in 

effect at the time of the reports' preparation. If the required 

definition of value uses the word "market," licensees must use 

the definition of market value set forth in USPAP 

"DEFINITIONS."  

E. Appraisal report requirements. In reporting a real 

property appraisal, a licensee shall meet the requirements of 

the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice as 

defined in this chapter or in the prior edition in effect at the 

time of the reports' preparation.  

F. Reviewing an appraisal. In performing a review appraisal, 

a licensee shall comply with the requirements of the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice as defined in this 

chapter or in the prior edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation. The reviewer's signature and seal shall 

appear on the certification page of the report.  

G. Mass appraisals. In developing and reporting a mass 

appraisal for ad valorem tax purposes, a licensee shall comply 

with the requirements of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice as defined in this chapter or in 

the prior edition in effect at the time of the reports' 

preparation.  

H. Recordkeeping requirements.  

1. A licensee shall abide by the Record Keeping Rule as 

stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice as defined in this chapter or in the prior edition in 

effect at the time of the reports' preparation. 

2. A licensee or registrant of the Real Estate Appraiser 

Board shall, upon request or demand, promptly produce to 

the board or any of its agents within 10 working days of 

the request, any document, book, record, work file, or 

electronic record in a licensee's possession concerning any 

appraisal which that the licensee performed, or for which 

the licensee is required to maintain records for inspection 

by the board or its agents. The board or any of its agents 

may extend such time frame timeframe upon a showing of 

extenuating circumstances prohibiting delivery within such 

10-day period.  

3. Upon the completion of an assignment, a licensee or 

registrant shall return to the rightful owner, upon demand, 

any document or instrument which that the licensee 

possesses.  

4. The appraiser trainee shall be entitled to obtain copies of 

appraisal reports he prepared. The supervising appraiser 

shall keep copies of appraisal reports for a period of at 

least five years or at least two years after final disposition 

of any judicial proceedings in which testimony was given, 

whichever period expires last.  

I. Disclosure requirements. A licensee appraising property in 

which he, any member of his family, his firm, any member of 

his firm, or any entity in which he has an ownership interest, 

has any interest shall disclose, in writing, to any client such 

interest in the property and his status as a real estate appraiser 

licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia. As used in the 

context of this chapter, "any interest" includes but is not 

limited to an ownership interest in the property to be 

appraised or in an adjacent property or involvement in the 

transaction, such as deciding whether to extend credit to be 

secured by such property.  

J. Competency. A licensee shall abide by the Competency 

Rule as stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice as defined in this chapter or in the prior 

edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation.  

K. Scope of work. A licensee shall abide by the Scope of 

Work Rule as stated in the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice as defined in this chapter or in the prior 

edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation. 

L. Jurisdictional exception. A licensee shall abide by the 

Jurisdictional Exception Rule as stated in the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice as defined in this 

chapter or in the prior edition in effect at the time of the 

reports' preparation. 

M. Prohibited acts. 

1. A licensee shall act as a certified general real estate 

appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser, or 

licensed residential real estate appraiser in such a manner 

as to safeguard the interests of the public, and shall not 

engage in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct.  

2. A licensee may not have been convicted, found guilty, 

or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor 
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involving moral turpitude or of any felony there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. A certified 

copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court 

with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or 

case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such guilt.  

3. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 

days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of 

any felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.  

4. A licensee may not have had a license or certification as 

a real estate appraiser which that was suspended, revoked, 

or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or 

which that has been the subject of discipline in any 

jurisdiction.  

5. A licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 

days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender of an 

appraiser license or certification in connection with a 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction, and a licensee 

shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of any 

appraiser license or certification which has been the subject 

of discipline in any jurisdiction.  

6. A licensee shall perform all appraisals in accordance 

with Virginia Fair Housing Law, (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia).  

7. A licensee shall respond to an inquiry by the board or its 

agents, other than requested under subdivision H 2 of this 

section, within 21 days.  

8. A licensee shall not provide false, misleading or 

incomplete information in the investigation of a complaint 

filed with the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6320; Filed February 24, 2020, 4:24 p.m.  

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Board is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Real Estate Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 

Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-

20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment removes the requirement regarding 

registering a trade or fictitious name with the clerk of 

court in the locality where the business is conducted to 

conform the regulation to Chapter 594 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly, which became effective January 1, 2020. 

18VAC135-20-20. Necessity for license. (Refer to § 54.1-

2106.1 of the Code of Virginia.)  

A. Sole proprietor (principal broker owner). A real estate 

broker's license shall be issued to an individual trading under 

an assumed or fictitious name, that is, a name other than the 

individual's full name, only after the individual signs and 

acknowledges a certificate provided by the board, setting that 

sets forth the name under which the business is to be 

organized and conducted, the address of the individual's 

residence, and the address of the individual's place of 

business. Each certificate must be attested by the clerk of 

court of the county or jurisdiction wherein the business is to 

be conducted. The attention of all applicants and licensees is 

directed to §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 The board will 

consider the application of an individual only after the 

individual is authorized to conduct business in accordance 

with Chapter 5 (§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

B. Sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, 

association, limited liability company, or corporation. Every 

sole proprietor (nonbroker owner), partnership, association, 

limited liability company, or corporation must secure a real 

estate license for its firm before transacting real estate 

business. This license is separate and distinct from the 

individual broker license required of each partner, associate, 

manager of a limited liability company, and officer of a 

corporation who is active in the firm's brokerage business. 

Each applicant for such license shall disclose, and the license 

shall be issued to, the name under which the applicant intends 

to do or does business and holds itself out to the public. Each 

applicant shall also disclose the business address of the firm. 

The board will consider the application of any partnership, 

association, corporation, or limited liability company only 

after the entity is authorized to conduct business in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 Chapter 5 

(§ 59.1-69 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Each real estate firm is required to have a principal 

broker whose license is in good standing with the board in 

order to transact real estate business. 

mailto:reboard@dpor.virginia.gov
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D. Branch office license. If a real estate broker maintains 

more than one place of business within the state, a branch 

office license shall be issued for each place of business 

maintained. Application for the license shall be made on 

forms provided by the board and shall reveal the name of the 

firm, the location of the branch office, and the name of the 

supervising broker for that branch office. The branch office 

license shall be maintained at the branch office location.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6317; Filed February 24, 2020, 4:24 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC160-30. Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators Licensing Regulations. 

18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations. 

Contact Information: Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Regulatory 

Administrator, Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2684, or 

email joseph.haughwout@dpor.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC160-30) 

Waterworks Operator License Application, A436-

1955EXLIC-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

Provisional Waterworks Operator License Application, 

A436-1955PLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017)  

Wastewater Works Operator License Application, A436-

1965EXLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Provisional Wastewater Works Operator License 

Application, A436-1965PLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator - Provisional 

License Change in Classification Application, A436-

1955_65CHG-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

Out-of-State Facility Description and Experience 

Verification Application, A436-19STATE_EXP-v3 (eff. 

4/2015) 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operator Virginia 

Experience Verification Application, A436-19WWEXP-v4 

(eff. 4/2017) 

Provisional Description and Experience Verification 

Application, A436-1955_65PEXP-v3 (eff. 12/2014) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 

Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v4 

(eff. 2/2019) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v5 

(eff. 3/2020) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-

19EDTRv4, (eff. 4/2017)  

Wastewater Works Operator Class 4 Application - 

Department of Corrections Apprenticeship Program, A436-

1965APLIC-v3 (eff. 6/2019) 

FORMS (18VAC160-40) 

Conventional Onsite Sewage System Installer License 

Application, A465-1944CONLIC-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

Alternative Onsite Sewage System Installer License 

Application, A465-1944ALTLIC-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

Conventional Onsite Sewage System Operator License 

Application, A465-1942CONLIC-v1 (eff. 4/2017) 

Alternative Onsite Sewage System Operator License 

Application, A465-1942ALTLIC-v2 (eff. 4/2018) 

Waiver of Examination - Master Conventional Onsite 

Sewage System Operator License Application, A436-

1942WAIV-v2 (eff. 4/2017) 

Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Application - 

Certificate of Completion, A436-19CPE-v3 (eff. 10/2015) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v4 

(eff. 2/2019) 

Training Course Approval Application, A465-19CRS-v5 

(eff. 3/2020) 

Education and Training Substitution Form, A436-

19EDTRv4 (eff. 4/2017)  

Onsite Sewage System Applicant Experience Verification 

Application, A436-19OSSPEXP-v4 (eff. 4/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6314; Filed February 21, 2020, 9:12 a.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents:  

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual. 

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual, Chapter 2 - Permit 

Applications -Timely and Complete Review. 

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual, Chapter 9 - 

Compliance Assurance Monitoring. 

Title V Air Permits Guidance Manual, Chapter 11 - Changing 

Status from Title V to Minor. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Patrick Corbett, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4016, or email 

patrick.corbett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Titles of Documents:  

Clarification Regarding Abatement Projects that Require a 

Project Monitor. 

Meaning of "Direct Supervision" as used in 18VAC15-40-32. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8595, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Social Media Rules of Engagement. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or 

email melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov.  

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Psychology Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Announcing the Availability of the 2020 Annual 
Monitoring Plan 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is 

announcing the availability of the 2020 Water Quality 

Monitoring Plan (MonPlan). The 2020 MonPlan is now 

available on the agency's website at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/AnnualWaterQua

lityMonitoringPlan.aspx. 

A map view of the 2020 MonPlan is available through DEQ's 

VEGIS viewer at https://apps.deq.virginia.gov/mapper_ 

ext/default.aspx.  

Background: Every year, DEQ staff from the six agency 

regional offices collect water samples for testing from more 

than 1,000 locations across the Commonwealth. The agency's 

various monitoring activities for each calendar year are 

outlined in the annual statewide MonPlan. 

2020 MonPlan: The 2020 MonPlan summarizes DEQ's water 

quality monitoring activities to be conducted from January 1, 

2020, through December 31, 2020, and is developed for the 

purpose of implementing the goals and objectives of DEQ's 

2013 Water Quality Monitoring Strategy1. This water quality 

information is presented in compliance with the Virginia 

Water Quality Monitoring, Information and Restoration Act 

(§ 62.1-44.19:4 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to help ensure 

public awareness of water quality issues and conditions. The 

MonPlan contains detailed information on DEQ's monitoring 

activities, including the station locations, specific conditions, 

frequency of monitoring, and costs. 

Contacts for more information: Requests for more 

information on the 2020 MonPlan can be directed to Roger 

Stewart at telephone (804) 698-4449 or at email 

roger.stewart@deq.virginia.gov. Additional information is 

also available on DEQ's Water Quality Monitoring website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityI

nformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring.aspx. 

Citizen nominations for the 2021 MonPlan: Citizens can 

nominate portions of lakes, streams, and rivers of Virginia for 

water quality monitoring by DEQ. Nominations received on 

or before April 30, 2020, will be considered for inclusion in 

DEQ's 2020 MonPlan. Contact Stuart Torbeck at telephone 

(804) 698-4461 or at email charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov 

for more information. More information on the citizen 

nomination process is also available on DEQ's Citizen 

Monitoring website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityI

nformationTMDLs/WaterQualityMonitoring/CitizenMonitori

ng/FollowupMonitoring.aspx. 

Contact Information: Roger Stewart, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4449, or email 

roger.stewart@deq.virginia.gov.  

_________________________ 

1The 2013 Water Quality Monitoring Strategy is available on DEQ's website 
at http://www.DEQ.Virginia.gov/programs/water/waterqualityinformation 

tmdls/waterqualitymonitoring/deqswaterqualitymonitoringstrategy.aspx. 

Cabin Point Solar Center LLC Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Sussex County 

Cabin Point Solar Center LLC has provided the Department 

of Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a renewable 

energy project (solar) in Sussex County. The project is to be 

sited on approximately 700 acres adjacent to Cabin Point 

Road. The project will have a maximum capacity of 75 

megawatts alternating current and, depending on final design, 

consist of approximately 260,000 solar photovoltaic modules 

installed on single-axis tracking racking structures and 

inverters installed on approximately 27 separate concrete 

pads. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Stratford Solar Center LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

City of Suffolk 

Stratford Solar Center LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a renewable 

energy project (solar) in the City of Suffolk. The project is to 

be located on approximately 150 acres adjacent to White 

Marsh Road. The project will have a maximum capacity of 15 

megawatts alternating current and, depending on final design, 

consist of approximately 50,000 solar photovoltaic modules 

installed on single-axis tracking racking structures and 

inverters installed on approximately five separate concrete 

pads. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Request for Comments on Revision to Fees for 
Drinking Water Laboratory Certification  

Effective May 1, 2020 - April 30, 2021 

Purpose of notice and background information: The Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) is seeking 
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public comment on the revision to fees charged for certifying 

drinking water laboratories under 1VAC30-41-270. 

1VAC30-41-270 I 2 requires DCLS to increase or decrease 

annually the fees charged for certifying drinking water 

laboratories using the Consumer Price Index-Urban 

percentage change, average-average for the previous calendar 

year published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in 

January. The percentage change, average-average for 2019 is 

an additional 1.8%. See the table labeled "Historical 

Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U): 

U.S. city average, all items, index averages" (page 4) at 

https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-

cpi-u-201912.pdf.  

The revised fees are exempt from the requirements of the 

Administrative Process Act. The Budget of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia (Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly) in Part I, Item 74 C 3a requires DCLS to provide 

notice and an opportunity to submit written comments on the 

revised fees. 

The notice of fees for May 1, 2020, through April 30, 2021, 

will be published on the DCLS drinking water laboratory 

certification webpage after consideration of submitted 

comments. 

Public comment period: March 16, 2020, through April 15, 

2020. 

How to comment: DCLS accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DCLS by the last 

day of the comment period. All materials received are part of 

the public record. Written comments should be sent to 

Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, Department of 

General Services, Attn: DCLS DW Fee Comments, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov, FAX (804) 371-8305, or 

telephone (804) 786-3311. 

NOTICE OF FEES FOR MAY 1, 2020 –  

APRIL 30, 2021 

DCLS requests comments on the listed revised fees. 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE 

Microbiological testing  

  1 - 2 methods $659 

  3 - 5 methods $768 

  6+ methods $878 

Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals testing  

  1 - 2 methods $713 

  3 - 5 methods $931 

  6 - 8 methods $1152 

  9+ methods $1371 

Inorganic chemistry, metals testing  

  1 - 2 methods $1096 

  3 - 5 methods $1315 

  6+ methods $1533 

Organic chemistry  

  1 - 2 methods $1152 

  3 - 5 methods $1371 

  6 - 8 methods $1589 

  9+ methods $1810 

Radiochemistry  

  1 - 2 methods $1207 

  3 - 5 methods $1425 

  6+ methods $1645 

Asbestos  

  1 - 2 methods $986 

  3 - 5 methods $1207 

  6+ methods $1425 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Public Meeting and Public Comment for Drinking 
Water State Revolving Fund Program Intended Use 

Plan for Fiscal Year 2020 

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 

capitalization grants to the states through the Drinking Water 

State Revolving Loan Fund Program (DWSRF). As part of 

the annual DWSRF grant application process, Virginia seeks 

meaningful public involvement through input, review, and 

comments. The Virginia Department of Health's Office of 

Drinking Water (ODW) prepared a draft intended use plan 

(IUP) that explains the goals of the program, funding 

priorities, how VDH intends to use the grant funds, and other 

important information submitted from the funding requests 

and set-aside suggestions. 

The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) received several 

funding requests and set-aside suggestions following the 

January 2019 DWSRF funding solicitation announcement. 

https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-cpi-u-201912.pdf
https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-cpi-u-201912.pdf
mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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The draft IUP and draft project lists are open for review and 

comment by the public for a period of 30 days. The document 

entitled "Virginia Drinking Water State Revolving Fund 

Program Design Manual" dated January 2020 is part of the 

IUP and is available on the ODW website. 

The VDH will hold a public meeting to solicit comments and 

recommendations regarding the IUP on Thursday, March 19, 

2020, from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m. at the VDH's Office of Drinking 

Water, 6th floor library, 109 Governor Street, VA 23219. 

Those individuals planning to attend the public meeting 

should contact Theresa Hewlett at telephone (804) 864-7501 

by the close of business on Thursday, March 12, 2020. 

The public comment period closes on Thursday, March 19, 

2020. Any written comments from the public must be 

submitted by Thursday, March 19, 2020, immediately after 

the conclusion of the public meeting. VDH considers all 

meaningful public input and comments and will make 

revisions to the IUP and project priority list if necessary. 

Please direct requests for information and forward written 

comments to: Kelly Ward, DWSRF Director, Office of 

Drinking Water, Virginia Department of Health, James 

Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7500, FAX (804) 864-7521. 

The following information is provided under Financial and 

Construction Assistance Programs at 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-

construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-

revolving-fund-program/. 

Alternatively, it may be found at these links:  

• VDH's FY2020 Draft IUP 

• VDH's FY2020 Preliminary Project Priority 

List/Comprehensive Project List 

The IUP is subject to change depending on Environmental 

Protection Agency award allocations. 

Contact Information: Kelly Ward, DWSRF Director, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7500, FAX (804) 864-7521, or email 

kelly.ward@vdh.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for East West-
Hallsley LLC 

An enforcement action is proposed for East West-Hallsley 

LLC for alleged violations that occurred in Chesterfield, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent special order to East West-Hallsley LLC to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will accept comments 

by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 

Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from 

March 16, 2020, to April 16, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Hartland Institute of 
Health and Education 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hartland 

Institute of Health and Education for violations of the State 

Water Control Law and regulations at the Hartland Institute 

facility located in Rapidan, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 

associated with the Hartland Institute facility. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from March 17, 2020, through April 16, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Hessian Co. Ltd. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hessian Co. 

Ltd. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at Faddis Concrete Products located in King 

George, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

Faddis Concrete Products. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Benjamin Holland will accept comments by email at 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

March 17, 2020, through April 16, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for TA Operating 
LLC and HPT TA Properties Trust d/b/a Travel 

Centers of America 

An enforcement action is proposed for the TA Operating LLC 

and HPT TA Properties Trust d/b/a Travel Centers of 

America for alleged violations that occurred at Richmond 

Travel Center, Hanover County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 

Travel Centers of America to address noncompliance with 

State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank 

Lupini will accept comments by email at 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department 

of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, from March 2, 2020, to 

April 2, 2020. 

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/financial-construction-assistance-programs/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program/
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2020/02/FY2020-IUP-3-2020-draft-FINAL-with-links-and-page-numbers.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2020/02/FY2020-Preliminary-PPL.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/14/2020/02/FY2020-Preliminary-PPL.pdf
mailto:kelly.ward@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Frank.Lupini@DEQ.Virginia.gov
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mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:Frank.Lupini@DEQ.Virginia.gov
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Proposed Consent Special Order for Twittys Creek 
Solar LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed with Twittys Creek 

Solar LLC for violations in Charlotte County, Virginia. The 

special order by consent will address and resolve violations of 

environmental law and regulations. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Jerry Ford, Jr. will accept comments 

by email at jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional 

Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, from March 16, 

2020, to April 17, 2020. 

Public Meeting and Public Comment for a TMDL 
Implementation Plan for the McClure River 

Watershed in Dickenson County 

Public meeting: The final public meeting to review the draft 

total maximum daily load (TMDL) implementation plan (IP) 

for the McClure River watershed will be held on Thursday, 

March 26, 2020, from 5 p.m. until 7 p.m. in the McClure 

River Kiwanis building, State Route 63 (Dante Mountain 

Road) and State Route 773 (Herndon Road) in the McClure 

Community, Dickenson County, Virginia. An alternative date 

in case of inclement weather is April 2, 2020, at the same 

time and location. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking input from watershed stakeholders to 

address the best way to restore water quality in the McClure 

River watershed. A draft implementation plan has been 

developed to explain the pollutant reductions needed to meet 

the targets contained in the 2018 TMDL report prepared for 

the watershed. A 30-day public comment period starts March 

27, 2020, for interested persons to submit written comments.  

Description of study: There are six different impaired stream 

segments in the McClure River watershed, including three 

segments of the McClure River mainstem, Big Spraddle 

Branch, Buffalo Creek, and Roaring Fork. All segments are 

listed as impaired on Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report due to violations of Virginia's recreational use 

water quality standard from excess levels of E. coli bacteria.  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. DEQ 

completed the bacteria TMDL for the McClure River in 2018. 

To obtain a copy of the TMDL report, use the contact 

information listed. In addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code 

of Virginia requires expeditious implementation of total 

maximum daily loads when appropriate. The implementation 

plan (IP) provides measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP also 

recommends a specific set of voluntary best management 

practices for agricultural lands, residential septic systems, and 

pet waste disposal to reduce bacteria entering area streams 

and their associated costs, benefits, and environmental 

impacts. Obtain a copy of the draft IP at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityI

nformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLIm

plementationPlans.aspx. 

How to comment and participate: This meeting is open to the 

public and all interested parties are welcome. A public 

comment period on the development of the TMDL IP will 

begin on March 27, 2020, and end April 27, 2020. All 

comments must be written and submitted via postal mail or 

email by 11:59 p.m. on April 27, 2020. Comments must 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments. Please submit comments to 

Stephanie Kreps, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4803, or email 

stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationPlans.aspx
mailto:stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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ERRATA 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-260. Certified Recovery 

Residences. 

Publication: 36:11 VA.R. 1338-1342, January 20, 2020. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1342, FORMS list, in the hyperlinked form name, after 

"(eff." change "8/2019)" to "3/2020)" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6077; Filed February 24, 2020, 1:20 p.m. 
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