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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. "Jay" Leftwich, Vice Chair; Ryan T. McDougle; 

Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Thomas M. Moncure, 

Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2020 through May 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:21 May 20, 2020 June 8, 2020 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioners. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Christmas. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC115-60-50 

to allow persons who are licensed as clinical social workers to 

be licensed as substance abuse treatment practitioners without 

examination. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations with a 

comment period from May 11, 2020, to June 10, 2020. All 

comments will be considered by the board at its next meeting 

scheduled for August 21, 2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 10, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-36 Filed April 20, 2020, 12:10 p.m. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 4VAC25-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines; 4VAC25-60, Rules and 

Regulations Governing the Installation and Use of 

Automated Temporary Roof Support Systems; 4VAC25-

70, Regulations Governing Disruption of Communications 

in Mines; and 4VAC25-90, Regulations Governing the Use 

of Diesel-Powered Equipment in Underground Coal 

Mines. The review of these regulations will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment begins May 11, 2020, and ends June 1, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of both reviews will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

9VAC5-170, Regulation for General Administration, is 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review. The review of this regulation will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment begins May 11, 2020, and ends June 1, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of both reviews will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Labor and Industry conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

16VAC15-40, Virginia Hours of Work for Minors, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated April 17, 2020, to support this decision. 

The commissioner retained this regulation as is. The 

regulation is necessary to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of minors in Virginia by establishing maximum limits 

on the number of hours that minors younger than sixteen 

years of age may work. The regulation also protects minors 

by prohibiting inappropriate child labor conditions and by 

assuring the minor's work does not interfere with school 

attendance. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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This regulation should have minimal economic impact on 

small businesses. The regulation also offers clarity and 

guidance for small businesses that employ minors younger 

than sixteen years of age. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

This regulation was last reviewed four years ago. There have 

not been significant changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors in the area affected by the 

regulation since it became effective. The department has 

determined that retaining the regulation without amendment 

is consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law and 

is the most effective way to minimize the economic impact of 

regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of 

Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, 

FAX (804) 786-8418, or email holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The agency is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 3.2-6542 of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes actions of the Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services relating to the establishment, operation, 

and maintenance of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

Dangerous Dog Registry under § 3.2-6542. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-620. Regulations Pertaining to 

the Establishment of the Dangerous Dog Registry 

(amending 2VAC5-620-20, 2VAC5-620-30, 2VAC5-620-

50, 2VAC5-620-70 through 2VAC5-620-110; repealing 

2VAC5-620-10, 2VAC5-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-6540 and 3.2-6542 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 11, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4560, FAX (804) 371-2380, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) reduce to 30 days the amount of time 

an owner of an animal found to be a dangerous dog has to 

obtain a dangerous dog registration certificate pursuant to 

Chapter 396 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly and (ii) simplify 

the regulation and eliminate redundancies. 

CHAPTER 620 

REGULATIONS REQUIREMENTS PERTAINING TO 

THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE DANGEROUS DOG 

REGISTRY 

Part I 

Purpose and Applicability; Definition 

2VAC5-620-10. Purpose and applicability. (Repealed.) 

The purpose of this regulation is to establish the procedures 

and requirements for registration of dangerous dogs with 

local jurisdictions and the Virginia Dangerous Dog Registry. 

This regulation describes the responsibilities of owners of 

dangerous dogs; local animal control and law-enforcement 

officers; and the State Veterinarian. 

2VAC5-620-20. Definition. 

The following word and term when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Dangerous dog" means a canine or canine crossbreed that 

has been found to be a dangerous dog by a court of law 

pursuant to § 3.2-6540 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part II 

Registration, Renewal, and Notifications 

2VAC5-620-30. Initial registration requirements for 

owners of dangerous dogs. 

A. The owner of a dog adjudicated to be dangerous shall 

within 45 calendar days of the finding by a court of 

competent jurisdiction, unless the Unless a dangerous dog has 

been euthanized or moved out of state, within 30 days of a 

finding by a court of competent jurisdiction that an animal is 

a dangerous dog, the animal control officer shall: 

1. Provide the local animal control officer the following 

information required to obtain a Dangerous Dog 

Registration Certificate Provide the owner of the 

dangerous dog with a copy of §§ 3.2-6540 and 3.2-6542 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

2. Collect from the owner of the dangerous dog and verify 

the accuracy of all of the information required by §§ 3.2-

6540 and 3.2-6542 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter, including the following: 

a. The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all 

owners; 

b. All information necessary to locate the owners and the 

dog at all times; 

c. Identification verifying that all owners of the 

dangerous dog are 18 years of age or older or the 

identification of the custodial parent or legal guardian of 

any owner under the age of younger than 18 years of age; 

d. The acts that resulted in the dog being designated as 

dangerous; 

e. The parties to the proceeding wherein the dog was 

found to be dangerous, the docket number and the court 

where the case was tried, and the requirements imposed 

by the judge on the owners of the dog; 

mailto:carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
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f. The address where the dangerous dog is maintained 

and the name of the owner residing at that address; 

g. The dangerous dog's name, sex, age, weight, primary 

breed, secondary breed, color, and markings; 

h. Two photographs of the dangerous dog head to paw, 

one front view and one side view head to paw; 

i. The number of the dog license issued by the locality; 

j. Verification that the dangerous dog has a current rabies 

vaccination, including expiration date, name, address, 

and telephone number of the veterinary practice that 

administered the vaccine and issued the rabies tag 

number; 

k. Documentation from a licensed veterinarian that the 

dangerous dog has been surgically neutered or spayed to 

include date of surgery,; name of the veterinarian 

performing the surgery,; and the practice name, address, 

and telephone number; 

l. Evidence that the dangerous dog is or will be confined 

in a proper enclosure or is or will be confined inside the 

owner's residence or is and or will be muzzled and 

confined in the owner's fenced-in yard until a proper 

enclosure is constructed; 

m. Evidence that the residence is and will continue to be 

posted with clearly visible signs warning both minors and 

adults of the presence of a dangerous dog on the 

property; 

n. Documentation that the dangerous dog has been 

identified permanently by means of a tattoo or electronic 

implantation or both, including the name, practice name, 

address, and telephone number of the veterinary practice 

that performed the procedure, the identification 

number(s) number, and the microchip company; 

o. A copy of the liability insurance coverage from a 

company licensed to do business in Virginia in the 

amount of at least $100,000 that covers the owners for 

damages caused by dog bites. In lieu of liability 

insurance, the owner may obtain and maintain a bond in 

surety in the amount of $100,000. The bond shall be 

made to the chief administrative officer of the locality 

where one of the owners resides or where the dangerous 

dog is maintained for the benefit of those damaged by the 

bite of a the dangerous dog. The form of the bond should 

be approved by the local jurisdiction's attorney; and 

p. A signed statement of compliance with the provisions 

of the order finding the dog dangerous. 

2. Obtain 3. Complete the Dangerous Dog Registration 

Form and Registration Certificate with the owner. The 

Dangerous Dog Registration Form and Registration 

Certificate shall include all information necessary to ensure 

continued compliance with §§ 3.2-6540 and 3.2-6542 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

4. Provide the owner with a Dangerous Dog Registration 

Certificate from the local animal control officer or 

treasurer for. The owner shall pay a fee of $150 in addition 

to other fees that may be authorized by law to obtain this 

certificate. 

3. Obtain 5. Provide the owner a uniformly designed 

Virginia Dangerous Dog tag from the local animal control 

officer or treasurer that has a unique identification number 

and identifies the animal as a Virginia dangerous dog. 

4. 6. Affix the tag to the animal's collar and ensure 

that advise the owner that the animal wears must wear the 

collar and tag at all times. 

7. Enter all required information to the Virginia Dangerous 

Dog Registry within five business days of the completion 

of the registration certificate and collection of the 

associated fee. 

B. The owner of the dangerous dog shall retain the original 

Dangerous Dog Registration Certificate so long as the 

dangerous dog remains in his possession. 

2VAC5-620-40. Initial registration requirements for local 

animal control officers. (Repealed.) 

The local animal control officer, upon receipt of all 

information from the owner as required under 2VAC5-620-30 

A, shall then certify a dog found dangerous by a court of 

competent jurisdiction within 45 calendar days of such 

finding. The local animal control officer shall: 

1. Provide the owner with a copy of the law and this 

regulation. 

2. Verify the owner has submitted all information required 

by law and this regulation. 

3. Fill out the Dangerous Dog Registration Certificate with 

the owner. 

4. Transmit electronically the Dangerous Dog Registration 

Certificate information to the State Veterinarian within five 

business days of certification. 

5. Provide the owner with a Dangerous Dog Registration 

Certificate. The fee for the certificate shall be $150 payable 

to the treasurer of the locality, in addition to other fees that 

may be authorized by law. 

6. Provide the owner with a Dangerous Dog Renewal 

Registration Form from the Dangerous Dog Registry 

website. 

7. Provide the owner or cause the treasurer of the locality 

to provide the owner with a uniformly designed Virginia 

Dangerous Dog tag with a unique identification number. 
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2VAC5-620-50. Renewal registration procedures and 

requirements. 

The following shall be the procedures and requirements for 

the annual renewal of registration in the dangerous dog 

registry: 

1. The State Veterinarian shall mail each owner of a 

dangerous dog a reminder at least 60 calendar days prior to 

January 31 of each year that the Dangerous Dog 

Registration Certificate needs to be renewed. A copy shall 

be sent to the animal control officer of the political 

subdivision jurisdiction where the dangerous dog is 

maintained. 

2. By January 31 of each year, until the dangerous dog is 

deceased, each the owner of a dangerous dog shall renew 

the Dangerous Dog Registration Certificate for a fee of $85 

by submission of a Dangerous Dog Renewal Form to the 

local animal control officer. 

3. The Dangerous Dog Renewal Form shall include all 

information necessary to ensure continued compliance with 

§§ 3.2-6540 and 3.2-6542 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter. 

4. The local animal control officer shall verify all 

information submitted by the owner on the Dangerous Dog 

Renewal Form and transmit electronically enter the 

information to the Dangerous Dog Registry maintained by 

the State Veterinarian within five business days of such 

verification. 

5. The owner of any dog found to be dangerous by a court 

of competent jurisdiction within 60 90 calendar days prior 

to January 31 1 shall be exempt from the first annual 

renewal registration and the associated fee. 

2VAC5-620-70. Dangerous dog tag. 

The following shall be the procedures and requirements 

pertaining to the dangerous dog tag: 

1. The State Veterinarian shall provide each jurisdiction a 

sequential batch of uniformly designed Virginia Dangerous 

Dog tags. Localities shall request additional tags from the 

State Veterinarian, as necessary. 

2. The following information shall be inscribed on the front 

of the Virginia Dangerous Dog tag: "Virginia Dangerous 

Dog," and a unique dangerous dog identifying number. 

The back of the tag shall have inscribed return information: 

"If found contact the State Veterinarian's Office at (804) 

692-0601." 

3. The unique Virginia Dangerous Dog tag identification 

number shall remain active in the Dangerous Dog Registry 

until proof of death of the animal or until a new Virginia 

Dangerous Dog tag is issued. 

4. The owner of a dangerous dog shall notify the local 

animal control officer within 10 calendar days of a lost 

Virginia Dangerous Dog tag. 

5. The local animal control officer shall issue a new 

Virginia Dangerous Dog tag and identification number to 

the owner and electronically transmit this information to 

the State Veterinarian update the tag information in the 

Dangerous Dog Registry. 

2VAC5-620-80. Notification requirements for dangerous 

dog incidents. 

A. At any time during the adjudication process or after a dog 

has been found to be a dangerous dog by a court of competent 

jurisdiction, the dog's owner shall notify the local animal 

control officer within 24 hours if any of the following occur: 

1. The dog is loose or unconfined. 

2. The dog bites or attacks a person or another animal. 

3. There is a complaint that the dog bit or attacked a person 

or another animal. 

4. Any claims are made or lawsuits are brought as a result 

of any attack by the dog. 

5. The dog is sold, given away, or dies. 

B. The local animal control officer who receives notification 

in accordance with subsection A of this section shall 

promptly notify update the State Veterinarian of Dangerous 

Dog Registry with these facts by electronic mail within five 

business days of receipt of such notification. 

2VAC5-620-90. Notification requirements for change of 

address or contact information; updated information. 

If, at any time during the adjudication process or after an 

animal has been found to be a dangerous dog by a court of 

competent jurisdiction, there is a change in the address of the 

owner or a change in the address where the dangerous dog is 

maintained (within or outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia), the following notification shall occur within 10 

days: 

1. If the owner moves the dangerous dog to a new address 

within the same jurisdiction, the owner shall submit a 

Dangerous Dog Renewal Form to the local animal control 

officer indicating the new address. The animal control 

officer will enter the new address into the Dangerous Dog 

Registry within five business days of notification. 

2. If the owner moves the dangerous dog to a different 

local Virginia jurisdiction, the owner shall submit a 

Dangerous Dog Renewal Form to both the local animal 

control officer in the new jurisdiction to which the animal 

has moved and to the animal control officer in the former 

jurisdiction from which the animal has moved. 
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3. a. The local animal control officer of the jurisdiction of 

the old address from which the animal has moved 

shall initiate a jurisdiction transfer in the Dangerous Dog 

Registry within five business days of notification and 

shall verify that the local animal control officer of the 

new jurisdiction to which the dog has received moved is 

in receipt of the Dangerous Dog Renewal Form. If the 

form has not been received, he the local animal control 

officer of the jurisdiction from which the animal has 

moved shall provide any information necessary to 

contact the owner of the dangerous dog. 

4. b. The local animal control officer of 

the new jurisdiction to which the animal has been moved 

shall electronically submitnotice of the change and 

verification of verify compliance with §§ 3.2-6540 and 

3.2-6542 of the Code of Virginia to the State 

Veterinarian and this chapter and make any necessary 

changes to information in the Dangerous Dog Registry. 

5. The 3. If the owner moves the dangerous dog to a 

locality outside of Virginia, the owner shall notify submit a 

Dangerous Dog Renewal Form to the local animal control 

officer for the jurisdiction where the dangerous dog is 

maintained of any change in or updating of information 

required by the law or regulation in the jurisdiction from 

which the animal has moved. The local animal control 

officer shall note the changed information or updates on 

the Dangerous Dog Renewal Form and electronically 

submit such information to the State Veterinarian mark the 

dog as inactive in the Dangerous Dog Registry and inform 

the locality to which the animal has moved within five 

business days of notification. 

6. 4. There shall be no charge for submitting updated 

information between registration renewals. 

Part III 

Virginia Dangerous Dog Registry 

2VAC5-620-100. Operation and maintenance of the 

Dangerous Dog Registry. 

The following shall be the procedures and requirements for 

the operation and maintenance of the Dangerous Dog 

Registry: 

1. The State Veterinarian shall operate and maintain a 

website to be named the Virginia Dangerous Dog Registry. 

2. A personal identification number (PIN) shall be assigned 

by the State Veterinarian to each local jurisdiction for 

administrative access to the Dangerous Dog Registry. 

3. All information in the Dangerous Dog Registry shall be 

available to the State Veterinarian and local jurisdictions 

via the website. 

4. The address of the owner, name and breed of the 

dangerous dog, acts which resulted in the animal dog being 

found dangerous, and information necessary to access 

court records of the adjudication for each dangerous dog 

shall be available to the public via the website. 

5. Any funds collected for the Dangerous Dog Registry 

shall be used by the State Veterinarian to maintain the 

Dangerous Dog Registry and website. 

All fees collected pursuant to this section, less the costs 

incurred by the animal control authority in producing and 

distributing the certificates and tags required by this section, 

shall be paid into a special dedicated fund in the treasury of the 

locality for the purpose of paying the expenses of any training 

course required under § 3.2-6556 of the Code of Virginia. 

The governing body of any locality may enact an ordinance 

parallel to this statute regulating dangerous and vicious dogs 

provided, however, that no locality may impose a felony 

penalty for violation of such local ordinances. 

2VAC5-620-110. Local treasurers to remit a portion of 

fees collected to the State Veterinarian. 

The State Veterinarian will send each locality an 

invoice within five business days of July by January 1 for 

fees due for each dog currently listed registered or renewed in 

the Dangerous Dog Registry within the locality during the 

previous calendar year. Local treasurers Each local treasurer 

shall remit to the State Veterinarian by July January 31 of 

each year $90 for each dangerous dog for which an initial 

Dangerous Dog Registration Certificate was issued and $25 

for each dangerous dog for which a Dangerous Dog Renewal 

Registration Form was issued within their the local treasurer's 

locality during the previous fiscal year. Localities A locality 

will not be liable for the portion of the fee due to the State 

Veterinarian if they have it has not collected the fee from the 

dangerous dog owner, provided a good faith effort was made 

to collect such fee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6272; Filed April 14, 2020, 8:14 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1270. Pertaining to Atlantic 

Menhaden (amending 4VAC20-1270-10 through 4VAC20-

1270-60; adding 4VAC20-1270-35). 
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Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish management measures for the 

Atlantic menhaden fishery, including (i) allocation, 

accountability, overages, restrictions, closures, and state-

to-state transfers for landing quotas and (ii) entry criteria, 

individual transferable quota systems, seasons, and 

reporting requirements for different sectors of the fishery. 

Chapter 201 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, effective March 

8, 2020, transferred the management authority for Atlantic 

menhaden from the Virginia General Assembly to the 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission. 

4VAC20-1270-10. Purpose. 

The purpose of this chapter is to comply with the Interstate 

Fishery Management Plan for Atlantic menhaden establish 

management measures for a sustainable Atlantic menhaden 

fishery and to provide fair and equitable allocation to the 

sectors. 

4VAC20-1270-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context 

indicates otherwise: 

"Atlantic menhaden" or "menhaden" means any fish of the 

species Brevoortia tyrannus. 

"Bay Cap" means the annual total allowable commercial 

landings by volume (pounds or metric tons) from the 

Chesapeake Bay by the purse seine menhaden reduction 

sector. 

"Chesapeake Bay" means the territorial waters of Virginia 

lying west of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel. 

"Nonpurse Non-purse seine menhaden bait sector" means 

those vessels that do not utilize a purse seine net to harvest 

menhaden and land menhaden only for use as bait in other 

fisheries. 

"Purse seine menhaden bait sector" means those vessels that 

utilize a purse seine net to land menhaden only for use as bait 

in other fisheries. 

"Purse seine menhaden reduction sector" means those 

vessels that utilize a purse seine net to land menhaden only at 

a qualified menhaden processing factory as described by 

§ 28.2-400.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Qualified menhaden processing factory" means a facility 

located in Virginia that has processed at least 100,000 metric 

tons of menhaden in each of the years 2009, 2010, and 2011. 

"Stationary multi-species gear" means pound nets, anchored 

or staked gill nets, fishing weirs, floating fish traps, and fyke 

nets. 

4VAC20-1270-30. Total allowable landings for menhaden; 

allocation, accountability, and overages, restrictions, 

closures, and state-to-state transfers. 

A. In accordance with § 28.2-400.2 of the Code of Virginia 

the total Total allowable commercial landings for menhaden 

in 2017 and 2018 in metric tons 2020 shall be equivalent to 

372,443,990 pounds, and that total amount of allowable 

landings shall be allocated as quotas among three sectors of 

the menhaden fishery, as described below, pursuant to § 28.2-

400.3 of the Code of Virginia. The purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector is allocated a quota of 335,359,214 pounds 

of allowable menhaden landings; the purse seine menhaden 

bait sector a 31,204,766 pound quota of allowable menhaden 

landings; and the nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector a 

5,880,010 pound quota of allowable menhaden landings 

(168,937.75 metric tons) or 78.66% of the annual total 

allowable catch (TAC) set by the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission. 

B. Total amount of allowable commercial landings in 

subsection A of this section shall be allocated as quotas 

among three sectors of the menhaden fishery in proportion to 

each sector's share of average landings from 2002 through 

2011, as described in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection. 

1. The purse seine menhaden reduction sector shall be 

allocated a quota of 335,348,569 pounds or 90.04% of 

allowable commercial menhaden landings. 

2. The purse seine menhaden bait sector shall be allocated 

a quota of 31,210,806 pounds or 8.38% of allowable 

commercial menhaden landings. 

3. The non-purse seine menhaden bait sector shall be 

allocated a quota of 5,884,615 pounds or 1.58% of 

allowable commercial menhaden landings. 

C. If the total allowable commercial landings specified in 

subsection A of this section are exceeded in any calendar 

year, the total allowable commercial landings for the 

subsequent calendar year will shall be reduced by the amount 

of the overage. Such overage shall be deducted from the 

sector of the menhaden fishery that exceeded the allocation 

specified in subsection A B of this section, with the exception 

of the non-purse seine menhaden bait sector, which shall 

move into the incidental catch provision outlined in 

subdivision F 3 of this section. 

D. Any portion of the 1.0% of the coastwide total allowable 

catch set aside by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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Commission for episodic events that is unused as of 

September 1 of any calendar year shall be returned to 

Virginia and other states according to allocation guidelines 

established by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission. Any such return of this portion of the coastwide 

total allowable catch to Virginia shall increase the total 

allowable commercial landings for that year. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to take or catch 

menhaden using a purse seine net except in accordance with 

the seasons, areas, and gear restrictions as set forth in 

§§ 28.2-409 and 28.2-410 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest or land in Virginia any 

menhaden after the commissioner projects and announces that 

100% of the total allowable landings for any sector has been 

taken. The commissioner may reopen a fishery sector if, after 

all reports as described in 4VAC20-1270-60 have been 

received, the portion of the total allowable catch has not been 

harvested by that sector. 

1. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable landings for the purse seine 

menhaden reduction sector is projected to be taken. 

2. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable landings for the purse seine 

menhaden bait sector is projected to be taken. 

3. The commissioner shall announce the date of closure 

when the total allowable commercial landings for the non-

purse seine menhaden bait sector is projected to be taken. 

Once this closure is announced, any person licensed in the 

non-purse seine menhaden bait sector may possess and 

land up to 6,000 pounds of menhaden per calendar day as 

bycatch. Any two persons licensed in the non-purse seine 

menhaden bait sector may possess and land up to 12,000 

pounds of menhaden bycatch when working together from 

the same vessel using stationary multi-species gear per the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission incidental 

catch provision. 

G. The commissioner may request a transfer of menhaden 

quota from any other state that is a member of the Atlantic 

States Marine Fisheries Commission. If Virginia receives a 

transfer of menhaden quota in any calendar year from another 

state, the total allowable catch for that calendar year shall 

increase by the amount of transferred quota. It shall be 

unlawful for this quota transfer to be applied to the Bay Cap 

quota as described in 4VAC20-1270-35. The commissioner 

may transfer menhaden quota to another state only if there is 

unused menhaden quota. 

4VAC20-1270-35. Chesapeake Bay purse seine menhaden 

reduction fishery. 

A. The annual total allowable Bay Cap landings from the 

Chesapeake Bay by the purse seine menhaden reduction 

sector in 2020 shall not exceed 36,196 metric tons 

(79,798,520 pounds) and shall be subject to annual 

adjustment for any overages as specified in subdivision 3 of 

this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for any transfers of quota from other 

states to be applied to the Bay Cap to reduce any overages. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any amount of unlanded 

menhaden quota under the Bay Cap each calendar year to 

be rolled over or applied as credit for any subsequent 

calendar years. 

3. Any annual menhaden landings in excess of the current 

calendar year Bay Cap shall be deducted from only the 

subsequent calendar year Bay Cap. 

B. When it is projected that the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector has met the annual menhaden Bay Cap in the 

Chesapeake Bay, based on mandatory daily landings reports, 

the commissioner shall promptly notify the industry 

announcing the date of closure. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest menhaden 

by purse seine for reduction purposes from the Chesapeake 

Bay for the remainder of that calendar year after the 

commissioner has announced the date of closure. 

4VAC20-1270-40. Purse seine menhaden bait sector; 

limited entry criteria; individual transferable quota 

system; and season. 

A. To qualify for limited entry to the purse seine menhaden 

bait sector, the applicant must person shall: 

1. Have held a purse seine license in 2011 and landed 

menhaden in Virginia in 2009, 2010, and 2011, while 

using purse seine gear to harvest menhaden in one of those 

three years; and 

2. Provide the commission receipts and landings reports or 

other requested reports as proof of landings and gear usage 

to demonstrate that the criteria described in subdivision 1 

of this subsection have been met. 

B. The commission shall establish an individual transferable 

quota (ITQ) system for each purse seine menhaden bait 

licensee that who meets the limited entry requirements in 

subsection A of this section. The quota for this sector will be 

allocated according to each qualified licensee's rounded 

percentage share of the average of the 2007 through 2011 

menhaden landings. 

C. Each licensee qualified under the ITQ system may 

transfer quota to another licensee's ITQ upon approval of the 

commissioner. 

D. The season for vessels with a gross weight of less than 70 

tons that use purse seine nets to take or catch menhaden for 

purposes other than use as fish meal or oil shall be from the 

first Monday in March up to, but not including, the first 

Monday in May. 
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4VAC20-1270-50. Nonpurse Non-purse seine menhaden 

bait sector quota; allocation and bycatch provisions. 

A. The commercial nonpurse non-purse seine menhaden bait 

sector's quota allocation shall be by gear type in proportion to 

share for each gear type of average landings from 2002 

through 2011 and are as follows: 

1. Cast net: 2,261 0.04% or 2,354 pounds. 

2. Dredge: 3,595 0.06% or 3,531 pounds. 

3. Fyke net: 2,477 0.04% or 2,354 pounds. 

4. Gill net: 1,781,986 30.31% or 1,783,627 

pounds. 

5. Pound net: 3,997,201 67.98% or 4,000,361 

pounds. 

6. Seine Haul 

seine: 

23,550 0.4% or 23,538 pounds. 

7. Trawl: 68,940 1.17% or 68,850 pounds. 

B. Pursuant to § 28.2-400.4 of the Code of Virginia, once 

the commissioner announces the date of closure for the 

nonpurse seine bait fishery, any person licensed in the 

nonpurse seine menhaden bait sector may possess and land up 

to 6,000 pounds of menhaden per day. 

4VAC20-1270-60. Reporting requirements by menhaden 

fishery sector. 

A. Each licensee of any purse seine vessel that who harvests 

menhaden must submit shall complete a Captain's Daily 

Fishing Report to the commission on each nonweekend non-

weekend or nonholiday non-holiday day that either purse 

seine sector is open for harvest. The Captain's Daily Fishing 

Report is produced by the National Marine Fisheries Service 

and provides preliminary estimates of harvest. Pursuant to 

§ 28.2-204 of the Code of Virginia, those same licensees must 

shall submit to the commission actual the Captain's Daily 

Fishing Reports in addition to summarized weekly harvest 

reports that include vessel name and exact weight of 

menhaden landed, in pounds, by Wednesday of the following 

week. Once 97% of either purse seine sector's quota is 

projected and announced to have been met, each licensee of 

that purse seine sector must provide daily harvest totals to the 

commission's Interactive Voice Recording System. 

1. Any menhaden landed by a limited entry purse seine 

menhaden bait licensee at a qualified menhaden processing 

factory, as indicated on the mandatory daily landings 

reports, shall be attributed to the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector quota. 

2. Once 97% of either purse seine sector's quota is 

projected and announced to have been taken, each licensee 

of that purse seine sector shall provide daily harvest totals 

to the commission's Interactive Voice Recording System. 

B. The nonpurse non-purse seine menhaden commercial bait 

sector shall submit daily reports according to the schedule and 

reporting requirements established by 4VAC20-610-10, 

Pertaining to Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest 

Reporting 4VAC20-610. 

C. When the commissioner announces that 90% of the 

nonpurse seine menhaden bait quota has been reached, each 

harvester of this sector is required to report his previous 10 

days of landings to the commission's Interactive Voice 

Recording System and must continue to report his additional 

landings every 10 days until it is announced that the nonpurse 

seine bait quota has been attained. More frequent reporting is 

permissible. The commission may also implement other 

harvest conservation measures such as trip limits. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6362; Filed April 28, 2020, 11:20 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-131. Regulations Establishing 

Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia 

(amending 8VAC20-131-110, 8VAC20-131-430). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 10, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Zachary Robbins, Director of Policy, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2092, or email 

zachary.robbins@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Education's authority to establish 

graduation requirements through its Standards of 

Accreditation is established in §§ 22.1-253.13:3 and 22.1-

253.13:4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Comprehensive revisions to the Regulations 

Establishing Standards for the Accreditation of Public 

Schools in Virginia, more commonly referred to as the 

Standards of Accreditation (SOA), became effective for the 

2018-2019 academic year. One component of these revisions 

changed the availability of locally-awarded verified credits, 

which provide students the opportunity to receive a verified 

credit in a course that they have passed but failed the related 

end-of-course Standards of Learning test twice within a 

narrow margin. To receive a locally awarded verified credit, 

the student must take the test twice, score between 375 and 

mailto:zachary.robbins@doe.virginia.gov
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399 on one of the attempts, and demonstrate achievement and 

mastery in the academic content through a local appeal 

process. 

Comprehensive revisions to the SOA were approved through 

the Administrative Process Act and established inequitable 

opportunities to earn locally-awarded verified credits for 

students who would be attending high school at the same 

time; that is students who entered the ninth grade prior to the 

2018-2019 school year who struggled to pass either the 

English or mathematics end-of-course test could not earn 

locally awarded verified credits in English or mathematics, 

while students entering the ninth grade beginning in the 

2018-2019 school year would have access to locally awarded 

verified credits in those subjects. 

To provide parity among these high school student cohorts, 

and to help current students earn their diplomas for 

graduation in the spring of 2018, the board adopted 

emergency regulations to extend the availability of a locally 

awarded verified credit to English and mathematics for 

students who entered the ninth grade prior to the 2018-2019 

school year. In addition, the board's guidance document 

governing the award of locally awarded verified credit was 

updated to extend the use of locally awarded verified credits 

in English and mathematics for these students. 

The emergency regulations that were adopted by the board 

became effective May 9, 2019, and expire on November 8, 

2019. These fast-track rulemaking provisions make the 

emergency provisions permanent. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial because 

the emergency regulation that became effective May 9, 2018, 

is currently being implemented and has not generated any 

public comment since being adopted. The changes proposed 

by this fast-track rulemaking are substantially the same as 

those of the emergency regulations. 

Substance: The proposed changes allow all students to access 

locally awarded verified credits in English, mathematics, 

science, and history and social science in accordance with 

State Board of Education regulations and guidance. 

For students who entered the ninth grade for the first time 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year, the existing regulations 

make locally awarded verified credits available only for 

science and history and social science. Under the existing 

emergency regulations, those students may now be awarded 

locally awarded verified credits in English, mathematics, 

science, and history and social science like their peers who 

entered the ninth grade in 2018-2019 and thereafter. 

Issues: The advantages to the public and the Commonwealth 

of these revisions include providing parity among high school 

student cohorts and helping students earn their high school 

diplomas. There are no disadvantages to the public, the 

agency, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to allow students who 

entered the ninth grade prior to the 2018-2019 school year to 

be awarded locally awarded verified credits in English and 

mathematics when certain Board-established criteria are met. 

Background. Locally-awarded verified credits provide 

students the opportunity to receive verified credits required 

for graduation in a course that they have passed but failed the 

related end-of-course Standards of Learning test. To receive a 

locally awarded verified credit, a student must fail the end-of-

course test twice, scoring between 375 and 399 on one of the 

attempts, and demonstrate achievement and mastery in the 

academic content area through an appeal that is reviewed by a 

local school division-established committee. 

An earlier regulatory action, which became effective on 

January 11, 2018,2 enabled students who entered ninth grade 

at the beginning of the 2018-2019 school year or later to be 

awarded locally awarded verified credits in English and 

mathematics when certain Board-established criteria are met. 

Students could already receive locally awarded verified 

credits in science and history and social science. 

Subsequently, the Board promulgated an emergency 

regulation to enable students who entered the ninth grade 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year to also be able to earn 

locally-awarded verified credits in English and mathematics 

in addition to science and history and social science when the 

same Board-established criteria are met. The emergency 

regulation became effective on May 9, 2018, and expires on 

November 8, 2019. The Board now proposes to make the 

emergency regulation permanent. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendment does 

not appear to introduce any costs, and confers benefits on an 

additional group of students. The earlier regulatory action 

already allowed students who entered ninth grade at the 

beginning of the 2018-2019 school year or later to earn 

locally awarded verified credits; the current regulation 

expands this benefit to students who entered the ninth grade 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year. This expansion is 

equitable and benefits the additional group of students by 

reducing a barrier to graduation. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects the 132 local school divisions. No school 

division is disproportionately affected. The proposed 

amendment does not appear to impose costs. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendment affects all 

Virginia localities. No locality is particularly affected. The 

proposed amendment does not appear to introduce costs for 

local governments. Accordingly, no additional funds would 

be required. 
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Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

does not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment does not affect the use and value of 

private property. The proposed amendment does not affect 

real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses:5 The proposed 

amendment does not adversely affect small businesses. 

_______________________________________ 

2See http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4019 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow students who entered the ninth 

grade prior to the 2018-2019 school year to be eligible for 

locally awarded verified credits in English and 

mathematics. 

8VAC20-131-110. Standard and verified units of credit. 

A. A "standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which the student successfully 

completes 140 clock hours of instruction and the 

requirements of the course. A school division may waive the 

requirement that a student receive 140 clock hours of 

instruction to earn a standard credit, effective with students 

enrolled in the 2015-2016 school year, as prescribed in the 

Standards of Quality and board guidelines. When credit is 

awarded in less than whole units, the increment awarded must 

be no greater than the fractional part of the 140 hours of 

instruction provided. If a school division elects to award 

credit on a basis other than the 140 clock hours of instruction 

required for a standard unit of credit defined in this 

subsection, the local school division shall provide the board 

with satisfactory proof, based on board guidelines, that the 

students for whom the 140-clock-hour requirement is waived 

have learned the content and skills included in the relevant 

Standards of Learning. In addition, the local school division 

shall develop a written policy approved by the superintendent 

and school board that ensures: 

1. That the content of the course for which credit is 

awarded is comparable to 140 clock hours of instruction; 

and 

2. That upon completion, the aims and objectives of the 

course have been met. 

B. A "verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" is a credit 

awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit 

of credit and completes one of the following: 

1. Achieves a passing score on a corresponding end-of-

course SOL test. In accordance with the provisions of the 

Standards of Quality, students may earn a standard and 

verified unit of credit for any elective course in which the 

core academic Standards of Learning course content has 

been integrated and the student passes the related end-of-

course SOL test. Such course and test combinations must 

be approved by the board. 

Upon waiver of the 140-clock-hour requirement according 

to board guidelines, qualified students who have received a 

standard unit of credit shall be permitted to sit for the 

relevant SOL test to earn a verified credit without having 

to meet the 140-clock-hour requirement. 

2. Achieves a passing score on an additional test, as 

defined in 8VAC20-131-5, as a part of the Virginia 

Assessment Program. 

3. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a locally awarded 

verified credit when the student has not passed a 

corresponding SOL test. 

a. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time 

prior to the 2018-2019 school year and do not pass SOL 

tests in English, mathematics, science, or history and 

social science may receive locally awarded verified 

credits from the local school board in accordance with 

criteria established in guidelines adopted by the board. 

Credit accommodations for students with disabilities may 

be used to confer locally awarded verified credits as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-50 B 3. 

b. Students who enter the ninth grade for the first time in 

the 2018-2019 school year or thereafter and do not pass 

SOL tests in English, mathematics, laboratory science, or 

history and social science may receive locally awarded 

verified credits from the local school board in accordance 

with criteria established in guidelines adopted by the 

board. No more than one locally awarded verified credit 

may be used to satisfy graduation requirements, except as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-51 B 3 for students with 

disabilities seeking a standard diploma. 

4. Meets the criteria for the receipt of a verified credit in 

English (writing) by demonstrating mastery of the content 

of the associated course on an authentic performance 

assessment, that complies with guidelines adopted by the 

board. Such students shall not also be required to take the 

corresponding SOL test in English (writing). 

C. The board may from time to time approve additional tests 

for the purpose of awarding verified credit. Such additional 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=4019
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tests, which enable students to earn verified units of credit, 

must, at a minimum, meet the following criteria: 

1. The test must be standardized and graded independently 

of the school or school division in which the test is given; 

2. The test must be knowledge based; 

3. The test must be administered on a statewide, multistate, 

or international basis, or administered as part of another 

state's accountability assessment program; and 

4. To be counted in a specific academic area, the test must 

measure content that incorporates or exceeds the Standards 

of Learning content in the course for which verified credit 

is given. 

The board shall set the score that must be achieved to earn a 

verified unit of credit on the additional test options. 

D. With such funds as are appropriated by the General 

Assembly, the board shall provide opportunities for students 

who meet criteria adopted by the board to have an expedited 

retake of a SOL test to earn verified credit. 

E. The provisions of this section are effective on and after 

the beginning of the 2018-2019 academic year. 

8VAC20-131-430. Effective dates. 

A. Graduation requirements. 

1. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2013–2014 school year 

and prior to the 2018–2019 school year shall be those 

provided in 8VAC20-131-50. 

2. The graduation requirements for students entering the 

ninth grade for the first time in the 2018-2019 school year 

and beyond shall be those provided in 8VAC20-131-51. 

3. The graduation requirements applicable to students 

transferring into a Virginia high school for the first time 

shall be as determined by 8VAC20-131-60 G. 

B. Locally awarded verified credits. 

1. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for English, 

mathematics, laboratory science, and history and social 

science for students entering the ninth grade for the first 

time prior to the 2018–2019 school year shall be as 

provided in 8VAC20-131-110 B 3 a. 

2. Locally awarded verified credits conferred for English, 

mathematics, laboratory science, and history and social 

science for students entering the ninth grade for the first 

time in 2018–2019 or thereafter shall be as provided in 

8VAC20-131-110 B 3 b. 

C. Academic and career planning. 

1. The requirements for academic and career planning 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 B shall be effective 

beginning with the 2013–2014 academic year and through 

the 2017–2018 academic year. 

2. The requirements for Academic and Career Plans 

prescribed in 8VAC20-131-140 C shall be effective 

beginning with the 2018–2019 academic year. 

D. The application of the college, career, and civic readiness 

index as a school quality indicator used for accreditation shall 

be made no later than the 2021–2022 school year. 

E. Unless otherwise specified, the remainder of this chapter 

shall become effective beginning with the 2018–2019 

academic year. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5440; Filed April 22, 2020, 10:22 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 

Reuse Regulation. 

Contact Information: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-740) 

Application for an Emergency Authorization to Produce, 

Distribute or Reuse Reclaimed Water (12/2015) 

Application for an Emergency Authorization to Produce, 

Distribute or Reuse Reclaimed Water, DEQ Form WR&R-4 

(rev. 4/2020) 

Application for Reclaimed Water Hauling Operations, DEQ 

Form WR&R-2 (eff. 10/2018) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 

for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 

or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit, DEQ Form 

WR&R-1 (rev. 1/2019) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Variance Application 

(12/2015) 

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40d1f006186~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006186&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40d1f006186~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006186&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40d1f006186~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006186&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4c17005676~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005676&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4c17005676~18.pdf&typ=40&actno=005676&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44099005804~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005804&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44099005804~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005804&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44099005804~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005804&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=44099005804~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=005804&mime=application/pdf
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Water Reclamation and Reuse Variance Application, DEQ 

Form WR&R-3 (rev. 4/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6186; Filed April 21, 2020, 11:05 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-300. Rules Governing Credit 

for Reinsurance (amending 14VAC5-300-40, 14VAC5-

300-90, 14VAC5-300-95, 14VAC5-300-150; adding 

14VAC5-300-97). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-1316.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Raquel Pino, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9152, 

FAX (804) 371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform the regulation to the 

provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia to 

reflect changes made pursuant to Chapter 208 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly eliminating the reinsurance collateral 

requirements for assuming insurers (reciprocal reinsurers) 

that have their head office or are domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction and that meet certain solvency requirements. 

Reciprocal jurisdictions include non-United States 

jurisdictions subject to an in-force covered agreement, 

United States jurisdictions accredited under the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners Financial 

Standards and Accreditation Program, or qualified 

jurisdictions determined by the State Corporation 

Commission. The solvency requirements for reciprocal 

reinsurers include (i) maintaining a minimum capital and 

surplus; (ii) maintaining a minimum solvency or capital 

ratio; (iii) providing notice to the commission in the event 

of noncompliance with the minimum capital and surplus 

and minimum solvency requirements, serious 

noncompliance with applicable law, consent to service of 

process, consent to payment of final judgments, and 

nonparticipation in solvent schemes; (iv) providing certain 

documentation specified by the commission; and (v) 

maintaining a practice of prompt payment of claims. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 14, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00074 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Revisions to the Rules Governing 

Credit for Reinsurance 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy of this order may 

also be found at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed revisions to the rules set forth in 

Chapter 300 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

entitled Rules Governing Credit for Reinsurance, 14 VAC 5-

300-10 et seq. ("Rules"), which revise the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

300-40, 14 VAC 5-300-90, 14 VAC 5-300-95, and 14 VAC 

5-300-150; and adds a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-300-97. 

The proposed revisions to Chapter 300 are necessary to 

implement the provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code which 

was amended during the 2020 General Assembly (Chapter 

208 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly) eliminating the 

reinsurance collateral requirements for Assuming Insurers 

(Reciprocal Reinsurers) that have their head office or are 

domiciled in a Reciprocal Jurisdiction and that meet certain 

solvency requirements. The proposed revisions include the 

following: 

Conforming changes to citations in 14 VAC 5-300-40, 

14 VAC 5-300-90 and 14 VAC 5-300-150; 

Addition of the definition of "solvent scheme of 

arrangement" to 14 VAC 5-300-40; 

Revision of the requirements in 14 VAC 5-300-95 

concerning audited financial statements of certified 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bcf0006186~20.pdf&typ=40&actno=006186&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1bcf0006186~20.pdf&typ=40&actno=006186&mime=application/pdf
mailto:raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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reinsurers, and the addition of a requirement to provide an 

English translation of certain information; and 

The addition of 14 VAC 5-300-97, which implements the 

provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 E concerning credit for 

reinsurance ceded to assuming insurers. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed revisions submitted by the Bureau to revise the 

Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-40, 14 VAC 5-300-90, 14 VAC 5-

300-95, and 14 VAC 5-300-150; and to add a new Rule at 

14 VAC 5-300-97, should be considered for adoption with a 

proposed effective date of July 1, 2020. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to revise the Rules at 14 VAC 5-300-40, 

14 VAC 5-300-90, 14 VAC 5-300-95, and 14 VAC 5-300-

150; and to add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-300-97 is attached 

hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 

revisions to the Rules, shall file such comments or hearing 

request on or before June 1, 2020, with Joel H. Peck, Clerk, 

State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 and shall 

refer to Case No. INS-2020-00074. Interested persons 

desiring to submit comments electronically may do so by 

following the instructions at the Commission's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments shall 

reference Case No. INS-2020-00074. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

revise the Rules, as outlined in this Order, is received on or 

before June 1, 2020, the Commission, upon consideration of 

any comments submitted in support of or in opposition to the 

proposal, may adopt the Rules as submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to revise 

the Rules to all insurers, burial societies, fraternal benefit 

societies, health services plans, risk retention groups, joint 

underwriting associations, group self-insurance pools, and 

group self-insurance associations licensed by the 

Commission, to qualified reinsurers in Virginia, and to all 

interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 

revise the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

revisions to the Rules on the Commission's website:  

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued. 

A COPY of this order shall be sent electronically by the 

Clerk of the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior 

Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel at 
MBrowder@oag.state.va.us, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Donald C. Beatty. 

14VAC5-300-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"The Act" means the provisions concerning reinsurance set 

forth in Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Beneficiary" means the entity for whose sole benefit the 

trust described in 14VAC5-300-120, or the letter of credit 

described in 14VAC5-300-130, has been established and any 

successor of the beneficiary by operation of law, including, 

without limitation, any receiver, conservator, rehabilitator or 

liquidator. 

"Certified reinsurer" has the meaning set forth in § 38.2-

1316.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Grantor" means the entity that has established a trust for the 

sole benefit of the beneficiary. However, when such a trust is 

established in conjunction with a reinsurance agreement that 

qualifies for credit under 14VAC5-300-120, the grantor shall 

not be an assuming insurer for which credit can be taken 

under § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Mortgage-related security" means an obligation that is rated 

AA or higher (or the equivalent) by a securities rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC 

and that either: 

1. Represents ownership of one or more promissory notes 

or certificates of interest or participation in the notes 

(including any rights designed to assure servicing of, or the 

receipt or timeliness of receipt by the holders of the notes, 

certificates, or participation of amounts payable under, the 

notes, certificates or participation), that: 

a. Are directly secured by a first lien on a single parcel of 

real estate, including stock allocated to a dwelling unit in 

a residential cooperative housing corporation, upon 

which is located a dwelling or mixed residential and 

commercial structure, or on a residential manufactured 

home as defined in 42 USCA § 5402(6), whether the 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case
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manufactured home is considered real or personal 

property under the laws of the state in which it is located; 

and 

b. Were originated by a savings and loan association, 

savings bank, commercial bank, credit union, insurance 

company, or similar institution that is supervised and 

examined by a federal or state housing authority, or by a 

mortgagee approved by the Secretary of Housing and 

Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA §§ 1709 and 

1715-b, or, where the notes involve a lien on the 

manufactured home, by an institution or by a financial 

institution approved for insurance by the Secretary of 

Housing and Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA 

§ 1703; or 

2. Is secured by one or more promissory notes or 

certificates of deposit or participations in the notes (with or 

without recourse to the insurer of the notes) and, by its 

terms, provides for payments of principal in relation to 

payments, or reasonable projections of payments, or notes 

meeting the requirements of items 1 a and b of this 

definition. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"Obligations", as used in 14VAC5-300-120 A 11, means: 

1. Reinsured losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the 

ceding company, but not recovered from the assuming 

insurer; 

2. Reserves for reinsured losses reported and outstanding; 

3. Reserves for reinsured losses incurred but not reported; 

and 

4. Reserves for allocated reinsured loss expenses and 

unearned premiums. 

"Promissory note" means, when used in connection with a 

manufactured home, a loan, advance or credit sale as 

evidenced by a retail installment sales contract or other 

instrument. 

"Qualified United States financial institutions" has the 

meanings set forth in § 38.2-1316.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Solvent scheme of arrangement" means a foreign or alien 

statutory or regulatory compromise procedure subject to 

requisite majority creditor approval and judicial sanction in 

the assuming insurer's home jurisdiction either to finally 

commute liabilities of duly noticed classed members or 

creditors of a solvent debtor or to reorganize or restructure the 

debts and obligations of a solvent debtor on a final basis and 

that may be subject to judicial recognition and enforcement of 

the arrangement by a governing authority outside the ceding 

insurer's home jurisdiction. 

14VAC5-300-90. Credit for reinsurance; reinsurers 

maintaining trust funds. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 C 4 of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded to a trusteed assuming 

insurer which, as of the date of the ceding insurer's statutory 

financial statement: 

1. Maintains a trust fund and trusteed surplus that complies 

with the provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 C 4; 

2. Complies with the requirements set forth in subsections 

B, C, and D of this section; and 

3. Reports annually to the commission on or before June 1 

of each year in which a ceding insurer seeks reserve credit 

under the Act substantially the same information as that 

required to be reported on the NAIC annual statement form 

by licensed insurers, to enable the commission to 

determine the sufficiency of the trust fund. The accounting 

shall, among other things, set forth the balance to the trust 

and list the trust's investments as of the preceding year end 

and shall certify the date of termination of the trust, if so 

planned, or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the 

next following December 31. 

B. The following requirements apply to the following 

categories of assuming insurer: 

1. The trust fund for a single assuming insurer shall consist 

of funds in trust in an amount not less than the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 

United States domiciled insurers, and in addition, the 

assuming insurer shall maintain a trusteed surplus of not 

less than $20 million, except as provided in subdivision 2 

of this subsection. 

2. At any time after the assuming insurer has permanently 

discontinued underwriting new business secured by the 

trust for at least three full years, the commissioner with 

principal regulatory oversight of the trust may authorize a 

reduction in the required trusteed surplus, but only after a 

finding, based on an assessment of the risk, that the new 

required surplus level is adequate for the protection of 

United States ceding insurers, policyholders, and claimants 

in light of reasonably foreseeable adverse loss 

development. The risk assessment may involve an actuarial 

review, including an independent analysis of reserves and 

cash flows, and shall consider all material risk factors, 

including when applicable the lines of business involved, 

the stability of the incurred loss estimates, and the effect of 

the surplus requirements on the assuming insurer's liquidity 

or solvency. The minimum required trusteed surplus may 

not be reduced to an amount less than 30% of the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 

United States ceding insurers covered by the trust. 

3. a. The trust fund for a group including incorporated and 

individual unincorporated underwriters shall consist of: 
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(1) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception, amendment, or renewal date on or 

after January 1, 1993, funds in trust in an amount not less 

than the respective underwriters' several liabilities 

attributable to business ceded by United States domiciled 

ceding insurers to any underwriter of the group; 

(2) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception date on or before December 31, 1992, 

and not amended or renewed after that date, 

notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, 

funds in trust in an amount not less than the respective 

underwriters' several insurance and reinsurance liabilities 

attributable to business written in the United States; and 

(3) In addition to these trusts, the group shall maintain a 

trusteed surplus of which $100 million shall be held 

jointly for the benefit of the United States domiciled 

ceding insurers of any member of the group for all the 

years of account. 

b. The incorporated members of the group shall not be 

engaged in any business other than underwriting as a 

member of the group and shall be subject to the same 

level of regulation and solvency control by the group's 

domiciliary regulator as are the unincorporated members. 

The group shall, within 90 days after its financial 

statements are due to be filed with the group's 

domiciliary regulator, provide to the commission: 

(1) An annual certification by the group's domiciliary 

regulator of the solvency of each underwriter member of 

the group; or 

(2) If a certification is unavailable, a financial statement 

prepared by independent public accountants of each 

underwriter member of the group. 

4. a. The trust fund for a group of incorporated insurers 

under common administration, whose members possess 

aggregate policyholders surplus of $10 billion (calculated 

and reported in substantially the same manner as 

prescribed by the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions and 

the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual) 

and which has continuously transacted an insurance 

business outside the United States for at least three years 

immediately prior to making application for accreditation, 

shall: 

(1) Consist of funds in trust in an amount not less than 

the assuming insurers' several liabilities attributable to 

business ceded by United States domiciled ceding 

insurers to any members of the group pursuant to 

reinsurance contracts issued in the name of such group; 

(2) Maintain a joint trusteed surplus of which $100 

million shall be held jointly for the benefit of United 

States domiciled ceding insurers of any member of the 

group; and 

(3) File a properly executed Certificate of Assuming 

Insurer as evidence of the submission to this 

Commonwealth's authority to examine the books and 

records of any of its members and shall certify that any 

member examined will bear the expense of any such 

examination. 

b. Within 90 days after the statements are due to be filed 

with the group's domiciliary regulator, the group shall 

file with the commission an annual certification of each 

underwriter member's solvency by the member's 

domiciliary regulators, and financial statements, prepared 

by independent public accountants, of each underwriter 

member of the group. 

C. 1. Credit for reinsurance shall not be granted unless the 

form of the trust and any amendments to the trust have been 

approved by either the commissioner of the state where the 

trust is domiciled or the commissioner of another state who, 

pursuant to the terms of the trust instrument, has accepted 

responsibility for regulatory oversight of the trust. The form 

of the trust and any trust amendments also shall be filed with 

the commissioner of every state in which the ceding insurer 

beneficiaries of the trust are domiciled. The trust instrument 

shall provide that: 

a. Contested claims shall be valid and enforceable out of 

funds in trust to the extent remaining unsatisfied 30 days 

after entry of the final order of any court of competent 

jurisdiction in the United States; 

b. Legal title to the assets of the trust shall be vested in 

the trustee for the benefit of the grantor's United States 

policyholders and ceding insurers, their assigns and 

successors in interest; 

c. The trust and the assuming insurer shall be subject to 

examination as determined by the commission; 

d. The trust shall remain in effect for as long as the 

assuming insurer, or any member or former member of a 

group of insurers, shall have outstanding obligations 

under reinsurance agreements subject to the trust; and 

e. No later than February 28 of each year the trustees of 

the trust (i) shall report to the commission in writing 

setting forth the balance in the trust and listing the trust's 

investments at the preceding year end and (ii) shall 

certify the date of termination of the trust, if so planned, 

or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the next 

December 31. 

2. a. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 

contains an amount less than the amount required by this 

subsection or if the grantor of the trust has been declared 

insolvent or placed into receivership, rehabilitation, 

liquidation, or similar proceedings under the laws of its 

state or country of domicile, the trustee shall comply with 
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an order of the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

over the trust or with an order of a court of competent 

jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to the 

commissioner with regulatory oversight over the trust or 

other designated receiver all of the assets of the trust fund. 

b. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight over the trust in accordance with the 

laws of the state in which the trust is domiciled 

applicable to the liquidation of domestic insurance 

companies. 

c. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight over the 

trust determines that the assets of the trust fund or any 

part thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the 

United States beneficiaries of the trust, the commissioner 

with regulatory oversight over the trust shall return the 

assets, or any part thereof, to the trustee for distribution 

in accordance with the trust agreement. 

d. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available 

to it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 

provision. 

D. For purposes of this section, the term "liabilities" shall 

mean the assuming insurer's gross liabilities attributable to 

reinsurance ceded by United States domiciled insurers, 

excluding liabilities that are otherwise secured by acceptable 

means, and shall include: 

1. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 

write accident and health, and property and casualty 

insurance: 

a. Losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the ceding 

insurer, recoverable from the assuming insurer; 

b. Reserves for losses reported and outstanding; 

c. Reserves for losses incurred but not reported; 

d. Reserves for allocated loss expenses; and 

e. Unearned premiums. 

2. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 

write life, health, and annuity insurance: 

a. Aggregate reserves for life policies and contracts net of 

policy loans and net due and deferred premiums; 

b. Aggregate reserves for accident and health policies; 

c. Deposit funds and other liabilities without life or 

disability contingencies; and 

d. Liabilities for policy and contract claims. 

E. Assets deposited in trusts established pursuant to § 38.2-

1316.2 of the Act and this section shall be valued according 

to their current fair market value and shall consist only of 

cash in United States dollars, certificates of deposit issued by 

a United States financial institution as defined in § 38.2-

1316.1 of the Act, clean, irrevocable, unconditional, and 

"evergreen" letters of credit issued or confirmed by a 

qualified United States financial institution, as defined in 

§ 38.2-1316.1, and investments of the type specified in this 

subsection, but investments in or issued by an entity 

controlling, controlled by or under common control with 

either the grantor or beneficiary of the trust shall not exceed 

5.0% of total investments. No more than 20% of the total of 

the investments in the trust may be foreign investments 

authorized under subdivisions subdivision 1 e, 3, 5 b, or 6 of 

this subsection, and no more than 10% of the total of the 

investments in the trust may be securities denominated in 

foreign currencies. For purposes of applying the preceding 

sentence, a depository receipt denominated in United States 

dollars and representing rights conferred by a foreign security 

shall be classified as a foreign investment denominated in a 

foreign currency. The assets of a trust established to satisfy 

the requirements of § 38.2-1316.2 shall be invested only as 

follows: 

1. Government obligations that are not in default as to 

principal or interest, that are valid and legally authorized 

and that are issued, assumed, or guaranteed by: 

a. The United States or by any agency or instrumentality 

of the United States; 

b. A state of the United States; 

c. A territory, possession, or other governmental unit of 

the United States; 

d. An agency or instrumentality of a governmental unit 

referred to in subdivisions 1 b and c of this subsection if 

the obligations shall be by law (statutory or otherwise) 

payable, as to both principal and interest, from taxes 

levied or by law required to be levied or from adequate 

special revenues pledged or otherwise appropriated or by 

law required to be provided for making these payments, 

but shall not be obligations eligible for investment under 

this subsection if payable solely out of special 

assessments on properties benefited by local 

improvements; or 

e. The government of any other country that is a member 

of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development and whose government obligations are 

rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the 

NAIC; 

2. Obligations that are issued in the United States, or that 

are dollar denominated and issued in a non-United States 

market, by a solvent United States institution (other than an 

insurance company) or that are assumed or guaranteed by a 

solvent United States institution (other than an insurance 

company) and that are not in default as to principal or 

interest if the obligations: 
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a. Are rated A or higher (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC, or if not so rated, are 

similar in structure and other material respects to other 

obligations of the same institution that are so rated; 

b. Are insured by at least one authorized insurer (other 

than the investing insurer or a parent, subsidiary or 

affiliate of the investing insurer) licensed to insure 

obligations in this Commonwealth and, after considering 

the insurance, are rated AAA (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC; or 

c. Have been designated as Class One or Class Two by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC; 

3. Obligations issued, assumed or guaranteed by a solvent 

non-United States institution chartered in a country that is 

a member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation 

and Development or obligations of United States 

corporations issued in a non-United States currency, 

provided that in either case the obligations are rated A or 

higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by 

the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC; 

4. An investment made pursuant to the provisions of 

subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection shall be subject to 

the following additional limitations: 

a. An investment in or loan upon the obligations of an 

institution other than an institution that issues mortgage-

related securities shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of 

the trust; 

b. An investment in any one mortgage-related security 

shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of the trust; 

c. The aggregate total investment in mortgage-related 

securities shall not exceed 25% of the assets of the trust; 

and 

d. Preferred or guaranteed shares issued or guaranteed by 

a solvent United States institution are permissible 

investments if all of the institution's obligations are 

eligible as investments under subdivisions 2 a and 2 c of 

this subsection, but shall not exceed 2.0% of the assets of 

the trust; 

5. Equity interests. 

a. Investments in common shares or partnership interests 

of a solvent United States institution are permissible if: 

(1) Its obligations and preferred shares, if any, are 

eligible as investments under this subsection; and 

(2) The equity interests of the institution (except an 

insurance company) are registered on a national 

securities exchange as provided in the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC §§ 78 a to 78 kk or 

otherwise registered pursuant to that Act, and if 

otherwise registered, price quotations for them are 

furnished through a nationwide automated quotations 

system approved by the Financial Industry Regulatory 

Authority, or successor organization. A trust shall not 

invest in equity interests under this subdivision an 

amount exceeding 1.0% of the assets of the trust even 

though the equity interests are not so registered and are 

not issued by an insurance company; 

b. Investments in common shares of a solvent institution 

organized under the laws of a country that is a member of 

the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development if: 

(1) All its obligations are rated A or higher, or the 

equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by the 

Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC; and 

(2) The equity interests of the institution are registered on 

a securities exchange regulated by the government of a 

country that is a member of the Organization for 

Economic Cooperation and Development; 

c. An investment in or loan upon any one institution's 

outstanding equity interests shall not exceed 1.0% of the 

assets of the trust. The cost of an investment in equity 

interests made pursuant to this subdivision, when added 

to the aggregate cost of other investments in equity 

interests then held pursuant to this subdivision, shall not 

exceed 10% of the assets in the trust; 

6. Obligations issued, assumed, or guaranteed by a 

multinational development bank, provided the obligations 

are rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC. 

7. Investment companies. 

a. Securities of an investment company registered 

pursuant to the Investment Company Act of 1940, 

15 USC § 80 a, are permissible investments if the 

investment company: 

(1) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of 

securities that qualify as an investment under subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this subsection or invests in securities that 

are determined by the commission to be substantively 

similar to the types of securities set forth in subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this subsection; or 

(2) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of equity 

interests that qualify as an investment under subdivision 

5 a of this subsection; 

b. Investments made by a trust in investment companies 

under this subdivision shall not exceed the following 

limitations: 

(1) An investment in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (1) of this subsection shall not 
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exceed 10% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall not exceed 25% of the assets in the trust; 

and 

(2) Investments in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (2) of this subsection shall not 

exceed 5.0% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall be included when calculating the 

permissible aggregate value of equity interests pursuant 

to subdivision 5 a of this subsection. 

8. Letters of credit. 

a. In order for a letter of credit to qualify as an asset of 

the trust, the trustee shall have the right and the 

obligation pursuant to the deed of trust or some other 

binding agreement (as duly approved by the commission) 

to immediately draw down the full amount of the letter of 

credit and hold the proceeds in trust for the beneficiaries 

of the trust if the letter of credit will otherwise expire 

without being renewed or replaced. 

b. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee shall 

be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct, or lack of 

good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would 

be required shall be deemed to be negligence and/or 

willful misconduct. 

F. A specific security provided to a ceding insurer by an 

assuming insurer pursuant to 14VAC5-300-100 14VAC5-

300-110 shall be applied, until exhausted, to the payment of 

liabilities of the assuming insurer to the ceding insurer 

holding the specific security prior to, and as a condition 

precedent for, presentation of a claim by the ceding insurer 

for payment by a trustee of a trust established by the 

assuming insurer pursuant to this section. 

14VAC5-300-95. Credit for reinsurance; certified 

reinsurers. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 D of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer 

to an assuming insurer that has been certified as a reinsurer in 

this Commonwealth at all times for which statutory financial 

statement credit for reinsurance is claimed under this section. 

The credit allowed shall be based upon the security held by or 

on behalf of the ceding insurer in accordance with a rating 

assigned to the certified reinsurer by the commission. The 

security shall be in a form consistent with the provisions of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 D and 14VAC5-300-110, 14VAC5-300-120, 

14VAC5-300-130, or 14VAC5-300-140. The amount of 

security required in order for full credit to be allowed shall 

correspond with the following requirements: 

1. Ratings Security Required 

  Secure – 1 0.0% 

  Secure – 2 10% 

  Secure – 3 20% 

  Secure – 4 50% 

  Secure – 5 75% 

  Vulnerable – 6 100% 

2. Affiliated reinsurance transactions shall receive the same 

opportunity for reduced security requirements as all other 

reinsurance transactions. 

3. The commission shall require the certified reinsurer to 

post 100%, for the benefit of the ceding insurer or its 

estate, security upon the entry of an order of rehabilitation, 

liquidation, or conservation against the ceding insurer. 

4. In order to facilitate the prompt payment of claims, a 

certified reinsurer shall not be required to post security for 

catastrophe recoverables for a period of one year from the 

date of the first instance of a liability reserve entry by the 

ceding company as a result of a loss from a catastrophic 

occurrence that is likely to result in significant insured 

losses, as recognized by the commission. The one year 

deferral period is contingent upon the certified reinsurer 

continuing to pay claims in a timely manner. Reinsurance 

recoverables for only the following lines of business as 

reported on the NAIC annual financial statement related 

specifically to the catastrophic occurrence will be included 

in the deferral: 

a. Line 1: Fire 

b. Line 2: Allied Lines 

c. Line 3: Farmowners multiple peril 

d. Line 4: Homeowners multiple peril 

e. Line 5: Commercial multiple peril 

f. Line 9: Inland marine 

g. Line 12: Earthquake 

h. Line 21: Auto physical damage 

5. Credit for reinsurance under this section shall apply only 

to reinsurance contracts entered into or renewed on or after 

the effective date of the certification of the assuming 

insurer. Any reinsurance contract entered into prior to the 

effective date of the certification of the assuming insurer 

that is subsequently amended by mutual agreement of the 

parties to the reinsurance contract after the effective date of 

the certification of the assuming insurer, or a new 

reinsurance contract, covering any risk for which collateral 

was provided previously, shall only be subject to this 

section with respect to losses incurred and reserves 
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reported from and after the effective date of the 

amendment or new contract. 

6. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the parties to a 

reinsurance agreement from agreeing to provisions 

establishing security requirements that exceed the 

minimum security requirements established for certified 

reinsurers under this section. 

B. Certification procedure. 

1. The commission shall post notice on the Bureau of 

Insurance's website promptly upon receipt of any 

application for certification, including instructions on how 

members of the public may respond to the application. The 

commission may not take final action on the application 

until at least 30 days after posting the notice required by 

this subdivision. 

2. The commission shall issue written notice to an 

assuming insurer that has made application and been 

approved as a certified reinsurer. Included in such notice 

shall be the rating assigned the certified reinsurer in 

accordance with subsection A of this section. The 

commission shall publish a list of all certified reinsurers 

and their ratings. 

3. In order to be eligible for certification, the assuming 

insurer shall meet the following requirements: 

a. The assuming insurer shall be domiciled and licensed 

to transact insurance or reinsurance in a qualified 

jurisdiction, as determined by the commission pursuant 

to subsection C of this section. 

b. The assuming insurer shall maintain capital and 

surplus, or its equivalent, of no less than $250 million 

calculated in accordance with subdivision 4 h of this 

subsection. This requirement may also be satisfied by an 

association including incorporated and individual 

unincorporated underwriters having minimum capital and 

surplus equivalents (net of liabilities) of at least $250 

million and a central fund containing a balance of at least 

$250 million. 

c. The assuming insurer shall maintain financial strength 

ratings from two or more rating agencies deemed 

acceptable by the commission. These ratings shall be 

based on interactive communication between the rating 

agency and the assuming insurer and shall not be based 

solely on publicly available information. These financial 

strength ratings will be one factor used by the 

commission in determining the rating that is assigned to 

the assuming insurer. Acceptable rating agencies include 

the following: 

(1) Standard & Poor's; 

(2) Moody's Investors Service; 

(3) Fitch Ratings; 

(4) A.M. Best Company; or 

(5) Any other nationally recognized statistical rating 

organization. 

d. The certified reinsurer shall comply with any other 

requirements reasonably imposed by the commission. 

4. Each certified reinsurer shall be rated on a legal entity 

basis, with due consideration being given to the group 

rating where appropriate, except that an association 

including incorporated and individual unincorporated 

underwriters that has been approved to do business as a 

single certified reinsurer may be evaluated on the basis of 

its group rating. Factors that may be considered as part of 

the evaluation process include, but are not limited to, the 

following: 

a. The certified reinsurer's financial strength rating from 

an acceptable rating agency. The maximum rating that a 

certified reinsurer may be assigned will correspond to its 

financial strength rating as outlined in the table below. 

The commission shall use the lowest financial strength 

rating received from an approved rating agency in 

establishing the maximum rating of a certified reinsurer. 

A failure to obtain or maintain at least two financial 

strength ratings from acceptable rating agencies will 

result in loss of eligibility for certification: 

Ratings Best S&P Moody's Fitch 

Secure – 1 A++ AAA Aaa AAA 

Secure – 2 A+ 

AA+, 

AA, 

AA- 

Aa1, 

Aa2, 

Aa3 

AA+, AA, 

AA- 

Secure – 3 A A+, A A1, A2 A+, A 

Secure – 4 A- A- A3 A- 

Secure – 5 
B++, 

B+ 

BBB+, 

BBB, 

BBB- 

Baa1, 

Baa2, 

Baa3 

BBB+, 

BBB, 

BBB- 

Vulnerable – 6 

B, B-, 

C++, 

C+, C, 

C-, D, 

E, F 

BB+, 

BB, BB-, 

B+, B, 

B-, CCC, 

CC, C, 

D, R 

Ba1, 

Ba2, 

Ba3, B1, 

B2, B3, 

Caa, Ca, 

C 

BB+, BB, 

BB-, B+, 

B, B-, 

CCC+, CC, 

CCC-, DD 

b. The business practices of the certified reinsurer in 

dealing with its ceding insurers, including its record of 

compliance with reinsurance contractual terms and 

obligations; 

c. For certified reinsurers domiciled in the United States, 

a review of the most recent applicable NAIC annual 

statement blank, either Schedule F (for property/casualty 

reinsurers) or Schedule S (for life and health reinsurers); 
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d. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, a review annually of the Assumed Reinsurance 

Form CR-F (for property/casualty reinsurers) or the 

Reinsurance Assumed Life Insurance, Annuities, Deposit 

Funds and Other Liabilities Form CR-S (for life and 

health reinsurers) of this chapter; 

e. The reputation of the certified reinsurer for prompt 

payment of claims under reinsurance agreements, based 

on an analysis of ceding insurers' Schedule F reporting of 

overdue reinsurance recoverables, including the 

proportion of obligations that are more than 90 days past 

due or are in dispute, with specific attention given to 

obligations payable to companies that are in 

administrative supervision or receivership; 

f. Regulatory actions against the certified reinsurer; 

g. The report of the independent auditor on the financial 

statements of the insurance enterprise, on the basis 

described in subdivision 4 h of this subsection; 

h. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, audited financial statements (audited United 

States GAAP basis if available, audited IFRS basis 

statements are allowed but shall include an audited 

footnote reconciling equity and net income to a United 

States GAAP basis), regulatory filings, and actuarial 

opinion (as filed with the non-United States 

jurisdiction supervisor) supervisor with a translation into 

English). Upon the initial application for certification, the 

commission will consider audited financial statements for 

the last three two years filed with its non-United States 

jurisdiction supervisor; 

i. The liquidation priority of obligations to a ceding 

insurer in the certified reinsurer's domiciliary jurisdiction 

in the context of an insolvency proceeding; 

j. A certified reinsurer's participation in any solvent 

scheme of arrangement, or similar procedure, which 

involves United States ceding insurers. The commission 

shall receive prior notice from a certified reinsurer that 

proposes participation by the certified reinsurer in a 

solvent scheme of arrangement; and 

k. Any other information deemed relevant by the 

commission. 

5. Based on the analysis conducted under subdivision 4 e 

of this subsection of a certified reinsurer's reputation for 

prompt payment of claims, the commission may make 

appropriate adjustments in the security the certified 

reinsurer is required to post to protect its liabilities to 

United States ceding insurers, provided that the 

commission shall, at a minimum, increase the security the 

certified reinsurer is required to post by one rating level 

under subdivision 4 a of this subsection if the commission 

finds that: 

a. More than 15% of the certified reinsurer's ceding 

insurance clients have overdue reinsurance recoverables 

on paid losses of 90 days or more that are not in dispute 

and that exceed $100,000 for each cedent; or 

b. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverables on 

paid losses that are not in dispute that are overdue by 90 

days or more exceeds $50 million. 

6. The assuming insurer shall submit a properly executed 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer as evidence of its 

submission to the jurisdiction of this Commonwealth, 

appointment of the commission as an agent for service of 

process in this Commonwealth, and agreement to provide 

security for 100% of the assuming insurer's liabilities 

attributable to reinsurance ceded by United States ceding 

insurers if it resists enforcement of a final United States 

judgment. The commission shall not certify any assuming 

insurer that is domiciled in a jurisdiction that the 

commission has determined does not adequately and 

promptly enforce final United States judgments or 

arbitration awards. 

7. The certified reinsurer shall agree to meet applicable 

information filing requirements as determined by the 

commission, both with respect to an initial application for 

certification and on an ongoing basis. All information 

submitted by certified reinsurers that are not otherwise 

public information subject to disclosure shall be exempted 

from disclosure under §§ 38.2-221.3 and 38.2-1306.1 of 

the Act Code of Virginia and shall be withheld from public 

disclosure. The applicable information filing requirements 

are as follows: 

a. Notification within 10 days of any regulatory actions 

taken against the certified reinsurer, any change in the 

provisions of its domiciliary license, or any change in 

rating by an approved rating agency, including a 

statement describing such changes and the reasons 

therefore; 

b. Annually, Form CR-F or CR-S, as applicable; 

c. Annually, the report of the independent auditor on the 

financial statements of the insurance enterprise, on the 

basis described in subdivision 7 d of this subsection; 

d. Annually, the most recent audited financial 

statements (audited United States GAAP basis if 

available, audited IFRS basis statements are allowed but 

shall include an audited footnote reconciling equity and 

net income to a United States GAAP basis), regulatory 

filings, and actuarial opinion (as filed with the certified 

reinsurer's supervisor) supervisor with a translation into 

English). Upon the initial certification, audited financial 

statements for the last three two years filed with the 

certified reinsurer's supervisor; 
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e. At least annually, an updated list of all disputed and 

overdue reinsurance claims regarding reinsurance 

assumed from United States domestic ceding insurers; 

f. A certification from the certified reinsurer's domestic 

regulator that the certified reinsurer is in good standing 

and maintains capital in excess of the jurisdiction's 

highest regulatory action level; and 

g. Any other information that the commission may 

reasonably require. 

8. Change in rating or revocation of certification. 

a. In the case of a downgrade by a rating agency or other 

disqualifying circumstance, the commission shall upon 

written notice assign a new rating to the certified 

reinsurer in accordance with the requirements of 

subdivision 4 a of this subsection. 

b. The commission shall have the authority to suspend, 

revoke, or otherwise modify a certified reinsurer's 

certification at any time if the certified reinsurer fails to 

meet its obligations or security requirements under this 

section, or if other financial or operating results of the 

certified reinsurer, or documented significant delays in 

payment by the certified reinsurer, lead the commission 

to reconsider the certified reinsurer's ability or 

willingness to meet its contractual obligations. 

c. If the rating of a certified reinsurer is upgraded by the 

commission, the certified reinsurer may meet the security 

requirements applicable to its new rating on a prospective 

basis, but the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to post security under the previously applicable 

security requirements as to all contracts in force on or 

before the effective date of the upgraded rating. If the 

rating of a certified reinsurer is downgraded by the 

commission, the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to meet the security requirements applicable to 

its new rating for all business it has assumed as a 

certified reinsurer. 

d. Upon revocation of the certification of a certified 

reinsurer by the commission, the assuming insurer shall 

be required to post security in accordance with 14VAC5-

300-110 in order for the ceding insurer to continue to 

take credit for reinsurance ceded to the assuming insurer. 

If funds continue to be held in trust in accordance with 

14VAC5-300-90, the commission may allow additional 

credit equal to the ceding insurer's pro rata share of such 

funds, discounted to reflect the risk of uncollectibility 

and anticipated expenses of trust administration. 

Notwithstanding the change of a certified reinsurer's 

rating or revocation of its certification, a domestic insurer 

that has ceded reinsurance to that certified reinsurer may 

not be denied credit for reinsurance for a period of three 

months for all reinsurance ceded to that certified 

reinsurer, unless the reinsurance is found by the 

commission to be at high risk of uncollectibility. 

C. Qualified jurisdictions. 

1. If, upon conducting an evaluation under this section with 

respect to the reinsurance supervisory system of any non-

United States assuming insurer, the commission 

determines that the jurisdiction qualifies to be recognized 

as a qualified jurisdiction, the commission shall publish 

notice and evidence of such recognition in an appropriate 

manner. The commission may establish a procedure to 

withdraw recognition of those jurisdictions that are no 

longer qualified. 

2. In order to determine whether the domiciliary 

jurisdiction of a non-United States assuming insurer is 

eligible to be recognized as a qualified jurisdiction, the 

commission shall evaluate the reinsurance supervisory 

system of the non-United States jurisdiction, both initially 

and on an ongoing basis, and consider the rights, benefits, 

and the extent of reciprocal recognition afforded by the 

non-United States jurisdiction to reinsurers licensed and 

domiciled in the United States. The commission shall 

determine the appropriate approach for evaluating the 

qualifications of such jurisdictions, and create and publish 

a list of jurisdictions whose reinsurers may be approved by 

the commission as eligible for certification. A qualified 

jurisdiction shall agree to share information and cooperate 

with the commission with respect to all certified reinsurers 

domiciled within that jurisdiction. Additional factors to be 

considered in determining whether to recognize a qualified 

jurisdiction, in the discretion of the commission, include 

but are not limited to the following: 

a. The framework under which the assuming insurer is 

regulated. 

b. The structure and authority of the domiciliary 

regulator with regard to solvency regulation requirements 

and financial surveillance. 

c. The substance of financial and operating standards for 

assuming insurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction. 

d. The form and substance of financial reports required to 

be filed or made publicly available by reinsurers in the 

domiciliary jurisdiction and the accounting principles 

used. 

e. The domiciliary regulator's willingness to cooperate 

with United States regulators in general and the 

commission in particular. 

f. The history of performance by assuming insurers in the 

domiciliary jurisdiction. 

g. Any documented evidence of substantial problems 

with the enforcement of final United States judgments in 

the domiciliary jurisdiction. A jurisdiction will not be 
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considered to be a qualified jurisdiction if the 

commission has determined that it does not adequately 

and promptly enforce final United States judgments or 

arbitration awards. 

h. Any relevant international standards or guidance with 

respect to mutual recognition of reinsurance supervision 

adopted by the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors or successor organization. 

i. Any other matters deemed relevant by the commission. 

3. A list of qualified jurisdictions shall be published 

through the NAIC committee process. The commission 

shall consider this list in determining qualified 

jurisdictions. If the commission approves a jurisdiction as 

qualified that does not appear on the list of qualified 

jurisdictions, the commission shall provide thoroughly 

documented justification with respect to the criteria 

provided under subdivisions 2 a through i of this 

subsection. 

4. United States jurisdictions that meet the requirements 

for accreditation under the NAIC financial standards and 

accreditation program shall be recognized as qualified 

jurisdictions. 

D. Recognition of certification issued by an NAIC 

accredited jurisdiction. 

1. If an applicant for certification has been certified as a 

reinsurer in an NAIC accredited jurisdiction, the 

commission has the discretion to defer to that jurisdiction's 

certification, and to defer to the rating assigned by that 

jurisdiction, if the assuming insurer submits a properly 

executed Certificate of Certified Reinsurer and such 

additional information as the commission requires. The 

assuming insurer shall be considered to be a certified 

reinsurer in this Commonwealth. 

2. Any change in the certified reinsurer's status or rating in 

the other jurisdiction shall apply automatically in this 

Commonwealth as of the date it takes effect in the other 

jurisdiction. The certified reinsurer shall notify the 

commission of any change in its status or rating within 10 

days after receiving notice of the change. 

3. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's rating at any time and assign a new rating in 

accordance with subdivision B 8 a of this section. 

4. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's certification at any time, with written notice 

to the certified reinsurer. Unless the commission suspends 

or revokes the certified reinsurer's certification in 

accordance with subdivision B 8 b of this section, the 

certified reinsurer's certification shall remain in good 

standing in this Commonwealth for a period of three 

months, which shall be extended if additional time is 

necessary to consider the assuming insurer's application for 

certification in this Commonwealth. 

E. Mandatory funding clause. In addition to the clauses 

required under 14VAC5-300-150, reinsurance contracts 

entered into or renewed under this section shall include a 

proper funding clause, which requires the certified reinsurer 

to provide and maintain security in an amount sufficient to 

avoid the imposition of any financial statement penalty on the 

ceding insurer under this section for reinsurance ceded to the 

certified reinsurer. 

F. The commission shall comply with all reporting and 

notification requirements that may be established by the 

NAIC with respect to certified reinsurers and qualified 

jurisdictions. 

14VAC5-300-97. Credit for reinsurance; reciprocal 

jurisdictions. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 E of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer 

to an assuming insurer that is licensed to write reinsurance 

by, and has its head office or is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction and that meets the other requirements of this 

chapter. 

B. A "reciprocal jurisdiction" is a jurisdiction, as designated 

by the commission pursuant to subsection D of this section, 

that meets one of the following: 

1. A non-United States jurisdiction that is subject to an in-

force covered agreement with the United States, each 

within its legal authority or, in the case of a covered 

agreement between the United States and the European 

Union, is a member state of the European Union. For 

purposes of this subsection, a "covered agreement" is an 

agreement entered into pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall 

Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (31 USC 

§§ 313 and 314) that is currently in effect or in a period of 

provisional application and addresses the elimination, 

under specified conditions, of collateral requirements as a 

condition for entering into any reinsurance agreement with 

a ceding insurer domiciled in this Commonwealth or for 

allowing the ceding insurer to recognize credit for 

reinsurance; 

2. A United States jurisdiction that meets the requirements 

for accreditation under the NAIC financial standards and 

accreditation program; or 

3. A qualified jurisdiction, as determined by the 

commission pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 D of the Code of 

Virginia and 14VAC5-300-95 C, that is not otherwise 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection and that 

the commission determines meets all of the following 

additional requirements: 

a. Provides that an insurer that has its head office or is 

domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction shall receive 
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credit for reinsurance ceded to a United States-domiciled 

assuming insurer in the same manner as credit for 

reinsurance is received for reinsurance assumed by 

insurers domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction; 

b. Does not require a United States-domiciled assuming 

insurer to establish or maintain a local presence as a 

condition for entering into a reinsurance agreement with 

any ceding insurer subject to regulation by the non-

United States jurisdiction or as a condition to allow the 

ceding insurer to recognize credit for such reinsurance; 

c. Recognizes the United States state regulatory approach 

to group supervision and group capital by providing 

written confirmation by a competent regulatory authority 

in such qualified jurisdiction that insurers and insurance 

groups that are domiciled or maintain their headquarters 

in this Commonwealth or another jurisdiction accredited 

by the NAIC shall be subject only to worldwide 

prudential insurance group supervision, including 

worldwide group governance, solvency and capital, and 

reporting, as applicable, by the commission or the 

commissioner of the domiciliary state and will not be 

subject to group supervision at the level of the worldwide 

parent undertaking of the insurance or reinsurance group 

by the qualified jurisdiction; and 

d. Provides written confirmation by a competent 

regulatory authority in such qualified jurisdiction that 

information regarding insurers and the insurers' parent, 

subsidiary, or affiliated entities, if applicable, shall be 

provided to the commission in accordance with a 

memorandum of understanding or similar document 

between the commission and such qualified jurisdiction, 

including to the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding 

or other multilateral memoranda of understanding 

coordinated by the NAIC. 

C. Credit shall be allowed when the reinsurance is ceded 

from an insurer domiciled in this Commonwealth to an 

assuming insurer meeting each of the conditions set forth in 

this subsection. 

1. The assuming insurer must be licensed to transact 

reinsurance by and have its head office or be domiciled in 

a reciprocal jurisdiction. 

2. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis minimum capital and surplus, or its 

equivalent, calculated on at least an annual basis as of the 

preceding December 31 or at the annual date otherwise 

statutorily reported to the reciprocal jurisdiction and 

confirmed as set forth in subdivision C 7 of this subsection 

according to the methodology of its domiciliary 

jurisdiction, in the following amounts: 

a. No less than $250 million; or 

b. If the assuming insurer is an association, including 

incorporated and individual unincorporated underwriters: 

(1) Minimum capital and surplus equivalents (net of 

liabilities) or own funds of the equivalent of at least $250 

million; and 

(2) A central fund containing a balance of the equivalent 

of at least $250 million. 

3. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis a minimum solvency or capital ratio, as 

applicable, as follows: 

a. If the assuming insurer has its head office or is 

domiciled in a reciprocal jurisdiction as defined in 

subdivision B 1 of this section, the ratio specified in the 

applicable covered agreement; 

b. If the assuming insurer is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction as defined in subdivision B 2 of this section, 

a risk-based capital (RBC) ratio of 300% of the 

authorized control level, calculated in accordance with 

the formula developed by the NAIC; or 

c. If the assuming insurer is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction as defined in subdivision B 3 of this section, 

after consultation with the reciprocal jurisdiction and 

considering any recommendations published through the 

NAIC Committee Process, such solvency or capital ratio 

as the commission determines to be an effective measure 

of solvency. 

4. The assuming insurer must agree to and provide 

adequate assurance, in the form of a properly executed 

Certificate of Reinsurer Domiciled in Reciprocal 

Jurisdiction Form RJ-1 of this chapter, of its agreement to 

the following: 

a. The assuming insurer must agree to provide prompt 

written notice and explanation to the commission if it 

falls below the minimum requirements set forth in 

subdivision 2 or 3 of this subsection or if any regulatory 

action is taken against it for serious noncompliance with 

applicable law. 

b. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to the 

jurisdiction of the courts of this Commonwealth and to 

the appointment of the commission as agent for service 

of process. 

(1) The commission may also require that such consent 

be provided and included in each reinsurance agreement 

under the commission's jurisdiction. 

(2) Nothing in this provision shall limit or in any way 

alter the capacity of parties to a reinsurance agreement to 

agree to alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, 

except to the extent such agreements are unenforceable 

under applicable insolvency or delinquency laws. 
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c. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to pay 

all final judgments, wherever enforcement is sought, 

obtained by a ceding insurer that have been declared 

enforceable in the territory where the judgment was 

obtained. 

d. Each reinsurance agreement must include a provision 

requiring the assuming insurer to provide security in an 

amount equal to 100% of the assuming insurer's 

liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded pursuant to 

that agreement if the assuming insurer resists 

enforcement of a final judgment that is enforceable under 

the law of the jurisdiction in which it was obtained or a 

properly enforceable arbitration award, whether obtained 

by the ceding insurer or by its legal successor on behalf 

of its estate, if applicable. 

e. The assuming insurer must confirm that it is not 

presently participating in any solvent scheme of 

arrangement, which involves this Commonwealth's 

ceding insurers, and agrees to notify the ceding insurer 

and the commission and to provide 100% security to the 

ceding insurer consistent with the terms of the scheme, 

should the assuming insurer enter into such a solvent 

scheme of arrangement. Such security shall be in a form 

consistent with the provisions of subsection D of § 38.2-

1316.2 and subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Code of 

Virginia and 14VAC5-300-120, 14VAC5-300-130 or 

14VAC5-300-140. 

f. The assuming insurer must agree in writing to meet the 

applicable information filing requirements as set forth in 

subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

5. The assuming insurer or its legal successor must 

provide, if requested by the commission, on behalf of itself 

and any legal predecessors, the following documentation to 

the commission: 

a. For the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance 

agreement and on an annual basis thereafter, the 

assuming insurer's annual audited financial statements in 

accordance with the applicable law of the jurisdiction of 

its head office or domiciliary jurisdiction, as applicable, 

including the external audit report; 

b. For the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance 

agreement, the solvency and financial condition report or 

actuarial opinion if filed with the assuming insurer's 

supervisor; 

c. Prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not 

more than semi-annually thereafter, an updated list of all 

disputed and overdue reinsurance claims outstanding for 

90 days or more, regarding reinsurance assumed from 

ceding insurers domiciled in the United States; and 

d. Prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not 

more than semi-annually thereafter, information 

regarding the assuming insurer's assumed reinsurance by 

ceding insurer, ceded reinsurance by the assuming 

insurer, and reinsurance recoverable on paid and unpaid 

losses by the assuming insurer to allow for the evaluation 

of the criteria set forth in subdivision 6 of this subsection. 

6. The assuming insurer must maintain a practice of 

prompt payment of claims under reinsurance agreements. 

The lack of prompt payment will be evidenced if any of the 

following criteria is met: 

a. More than 15% of the reinsurance recoverables from 

the assuming insurer are overdue and in dispute as 

reported to the commission; 

b. More than 15% of the assuming insurer's ceding 

insurers or reinsurers have overdue reinsurance 

recoverable on paid losses of 90 days or more that are not 

in dispute and that exceed for each ceding insurer 

$100,000, or as otherwise specified in a covered 

agreement; or 

c. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverable on 

paid losses that are not in dispute, but are overdue by 90 

days or more, exceeds $50 million, or as otherwise 

specified in a covered agreement. 

7. The assuming insurer's supervisory authority must 

confirm to the commission on an annual basis that the 

assuming insurer complies with the requirements set forth 

in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 

8. Nothing in this provision precludes an assuming insurer 

from providing the commissioner with information on a 

voluntary basis. 

D. The commissioner shall timely create and publish a list of 

reciprocal jurisdictions. 

1. A list of reciprocal jurisdictions is published through the 

NAIC Committee Process. The commission's list shall 

include any reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under 

subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this section and shall consider 

any other reciprocal jurisdiction included on the NAIC list. 

The commission may approve a jurisdiction that does not 

appear on the NAIC list of reciprocal jurisdictions as 

provided by applicable law or regulation or in accordance 

with criteria published through the NAIC Committee 

Process. 

2. The commission may remove a jurisdiction from the list 

of reciprocal jurisdictions upon a determination that the 

jurisdiction no longer meets one or more of the 

requirements of a reciprocal jurisdiction, as provided by 

applicable law or regulation or in accordance with a 

process published through the NAIC Committee Process, 

except that the commission shall not remove from the list a 

reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under subdivisions B 1 

and B 2 of this section. Upon removal of a reciprocal 

jurisdiction from this list credit for reinsurance ceded to an 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2185 

assuming insurer domiciled in that jurisdiction shall be 

allowed if otherwise allowed pursuant to Article 3.1 

(§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the 

Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

E. The commission shall timely create and publish a list of 

assuming insurers that have satisfied the conditions set forth 

in this section and to which cessions shall be granted credit in 

accordance with this section. 

1. If an NAIC accredited jurisdiction has determined that 

the conditions set forth in subsection C of this section have 

been met, the commission has the discretion to defer to that 

jurisdiction's determination and add such assuming insurer 

to the list of assuming insurers to which cessions shall be 

granted credit in accordance with this subsection. The 

commission may accept financial documentation filed with 

another NAIC accredited jurisdiction or with the NAIC in 

satisfaction of the requirements of subsection C of this 

section. 

2. When requesting that the commission defer to another 

NAIC accredited jurisdiction's determination, an assuming 

insurer must submit a properly executed Form RJ-1 and 

additional information as the commission may require. A 

state that has received such a request will notify other 

states through the NAIC Committee Process and provide 

relevant information with respect to the determination of 

eligibility. 

F. If the commission determines that an assuming insurer no 

longer meets one or more of the requirements under this 

section, the commission may revoke or suspend the eligibility 

of the assuming insurer for recognition under this section. 

1. While an assuming insurer's eligibility is suspended, no 

reinsurance agreement issued, amended, or renewed after 

the effective date of the suspension qualifies for credit 

except to the extent that the assuming insurer's obligations 

under the contract are secured in accordance with 

14VAC5-300-110. 

2. If an assuming insurer's eligibility is revoked, no credit 

for reinsurance may be granted after the effective date of 

the revocation with respect to any reinsurance agreements 

entered into by the assuming insurer, including reinsurance 

agreements entered into prior to the date of revocation, 

except to the extent that the assuming insurer's obligations 

under the contract are secured in a form acceptable to the 

commission and consistent with the provisions of 

14VAC5-300-110. 

G. Before denying statement credit or imposing a 

requirement to post security with respect to subsection F of 

this section or adopting any similar requirement that will have 

substantially the same regulatory impact as security, the 

commission shall: 

1. Communicate with the ceding insurer, the assuming 

insurer, and the assuming insurer's supervisory authority 

that the assuming insurer no longer satisfies one of the 

conditions listed in subsection C of this section; 

2. Provide the assuming insurer with 30 days from the 

initial communication to submit a plan to remedy the 

defect and 90 days from the initial communication to 

remedy the defect, except in exceptional circumstances in 

which a shorter period is necessary for policyholder and 

other consumer protection; 

3. After the expiration of the 90-day or shorter period to 

remedy the defect, as set out in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection, if the commission determines that no or 

insufficient action was taken by the assuming insurer, the 

commission may impose any of the requirements as set out 

in this subsection; and 

4. Provide a written explanation to the assuming insurer of 

any of the requirements set out in this subsection. 

H. If subject to a legal process of rehabilitation, liquidation, 

or conservation, as applicable, the ceding insurer or its 

representative may seek and, if determined appropriate by the 

court in which the proceedings are pending, may obtain an 

order requiring that the assuming insurer post security for all 

outstanding liabilities. 

14VAC5-300-150. Reinsurance contract. 

A. Credit will not be granted, nor an asset or reduction from 

liability allowed, to a ceding insurer for reinsurance effected 

with assuming insurers meeting the requirements of 

14VAC5-300-60, 14VAC5-300-70, 14VAC5-300-80, 

14VAC5-300-90, 14VAC5-300-95, 14VAC5-300-97, or 

14VAC5-300-100 14VAC5-300-110 or otherwise in 

compliance with § 38.2-1316.2 of the Act unless the 

reinsurance agreement: 

1. Includes a proper insolvency clause that stipulates that 

reinsurance is payable directly to the liquidator or 

successor without diminution regardless of the status of the 

ceding company; 

2. Includes a provision whereby the assuming insurer, if an 

unauthorized assuming insurer, has submitted to the 

jurisdiction of an alternative dispute resolution panel or 

court of competent jurisdiction within the United States, 

has agreed to comply with all requirements necessary to 

give such court or panel jurisdiction, has designated an 

agent upon whom service of process may be effected, and 

has agreed to abide by the final decisions of such court or 

panel; and 

3. Includes a proper reinsurance intermediary clause, if 

applicable, that stipulates that the credit risk for the 

intermediary is carried by the assuming insurer. 
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B. If the assuming insurer is not licensed, accredited, or 

certified to transact insurance or reinsurance in this 

Commonwealth, the credit permitted pursuant to § 38.2-

1316.2 C 3, C 4, and G H shall not be allowed unless the 

assuming insurer agrees in the reinsurance agreements: 

1. a. That in the event of the failure of the assuming insurer 

to perform its obligations under the terms of the 

reinsurance agreement, the assuming insurer, at the request 

of the ceding insurer, shall submit to the jurisdiction of any 

court of competent jurisdiction in any state of the United 

States, will comply with all requirements necessary to give 

the court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision 

of the court or of any appellate court in the event of an 

appeal; and 

b. To designate the commission or a designated attorney 

as its true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served 

any lawful process in any action, suit, or proceeding 

instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer. 

2. This subsection is not intended to conflict with or 

override the obligation of the parties to a reinsurance 

agreement to arbitrate their disputes, if this obligation is 

created in the agreement. 

C. If the assuming insurer does not meet the requirements of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 C 1, 2, or 3, the credit permitted by § 38.2-

1316.2 C 4 or D shall not be allowed unless the assuming 

insurer agrees in the trust agreements to the following 

conditions: 

1. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 

contains an amount less than the amount required by 

§ 38.2-1316.2 C 4, or if the grantor of the trust has been 

declared insolvent or placed into receivership, 

rehabilitation, liquidation, or similar proceedings under the 

laws of its state or country of domicile, the trustee shall 

comply with an order of the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight over the trust or with an order of a court of 

competent jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to 

the commissioner with regulatory oversight all of the assets 

of the trust fund. 

2. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight in accordance with the laws of the state in which 

the trust is domiciled that are applicable to the liquidation 

of domestic insurance companies. 

3. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

determines that the assets of the trust fund or any part 

thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the United 

States ceding insurers of the grantor of the trust, the assets 

or part thereof shall be returned by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight to the trustee for distribution in 

accordance with the trust agreement. 

4. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available to 

it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 

provision. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-300) 

Certificate of Assuming Insurer - Year Ended December 31, 

2017, R05 (05/18) (eff. 5/2018) 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 

31, ____, R15 (02/14) (eff. 2/2014) 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 

31, ____, R15 (eff. 11/2019) 

Schedule S, Part 1 - Part 7, 1994-2017 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, Life, 

Accident & Health (eff. 1/2018) 

Schedule F, Part 1 - Part 9, 1994-2017 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, 

Property/Casualty (eff. 1/2018) 

Form CR-F - Part 1 - Part 2, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013) 

Form CR-S - Part 1 - Part 3, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013)  

Certificate of Reinsurer Domiciled in Reciprocal 

Jurisdiction - Year Ended December 31, ____, RJ-1 (eff. 

7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6333; Filed April 14, 2020, 3:21 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Safety and Health Codes 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes 

in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The Safety 

and Health Codes Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c836006333~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c836006333~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
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Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-60. Administrative 

Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health Program (amending 16VAC25-60-260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-2, 40.1-6, and 40.1-22 of the 

Code of Virginia; Occupational Safety and Health Act of 

1970 (P.L. 91-596). 

Effective Date: May 11, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director, Legal Support, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-9873, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to § 40.1-51.1 D 

of the Code of Virginia, which was amended pursuant to 

Chapter 336 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly to align with 

29 CFR 1904.39(a)(2). 

Part VI 

Citation and Penalty 

16VAC25-60-260. Issuance of citation and proposed 

penalty. 

A. Each citation shall be in writing and describe with 

particularity the nature of the violation or violations, 

including a reference to the appropriate safety or health 

provision of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

appropriate rule, regulation, or standard. In addition, the 

citation must fix a reasonable time for abatement of the 

violation. The commissioner shall have authority to propose 

penalties for cited violations in accordance with § 40.1-49.4 

of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. The citation will 

contain substantially the following: "NOTICE: This citation 

will become a final order of the commissioner unless 

contested within fifteen working days from the date of receipt 

by the employer." The citation may be delivered to the 

employer or his the employer's agent by the commissioner or 

may be sent by certified mail or by personal service to an 

officer or agent of the employer or to the registered agent if 

the employer is a corporation. 

No citation may be issued after the expiration of six months 

following the occurrence of any alleged violation. The six-

month timeframe is deemed to be tolled on the date the 

citation is issued by the commissioner, without regard for 

when the citation is received by the employer. For purposes 

of calculating the six-month timeframe for citation issuance, 

the following requirements shall apply: 

1. The six-month timeframe begins to run on the day after 

the incident or event occurred or notice was received by 

the commissioner (as specified in subdivisions 1 through 5 

of this subsection), in accordance with § 1-210 A of the 

Code of Virginia. The word "month" shall be construed to 

mean one calendar month in accordance with § 1-223 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

2. An alleged violation is deemed to have "occurred" on 

the day it was initially created by commission or omission 

on the part of the creating employer, and every day 

thereafter that it remains in existence uncorrected. 

3. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if an 

employer fails to notify the commissioner within eight 

hours of any work-related incident resulting in a fatality or 

within 24 hours of any work-related incident resulting in 

(i) the in-patient hospitalization of three one or more 

persons, within eight hours of such occurrence (ii) an 

amputation, or (iii) the loss of any eye, as required by 

§ 40.1-51.1 D of the Code of Virginia, the six-month 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the 

commissioner receives actual notice of the incident. 

4. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if the 

commissioner is first notified of a work-related incident 

resulting in an injury or illness to an employee or 

employees through receipt of an Employer's Accident 

Report (EAR) form from the Virginia Workers' 

Compensation Commission as provided in § 65.2-900 of 

the Code of Virginia, the six-month timeframe shall not be 

deemed to commence until the commissioner actually 

receives the EAR form. 

5. Notwithstanding subdivision 1 of this subsection, if the 

commissioner is first notified of a work-related hazard, or 

incident resulting in an injury or illness to an employee or 

employees, through receipt of a complaint in accordance 

with 16VAC25-60-100 or referral, the six-month 

timeframe shall not be deemed to commence until the 

commissioner actually receives the complaint or referral. 

B. A citation issued under subsection A of this section to an 

employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, rule, or 

regulation shall be vacated if such employer demonstrates 

that: 

1. Employees of such employer have been provided with 

the proper training and equipment to prevent such a 

violation; 

2. Work rules designed to prevent such a violation have 

been established and adequately communicated to 

employees by such employer and have been effectively 

enforced when such a violation has been discovered; 

3. The failure of employees to observe work rules led to 

the violation; and 

4. Reasonable steps have been taken by such employer to 

discover any such violation. 

C. For the purposes of subsection B of this section only, the 

term "employee" shall not include any officer, management 

official, or supervisor having direction, management control, 

mailto:jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov
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or custody of any place of employment which that was the 

subject of the violative condition cited. 

D. The penalties as set forth in § 40.1-49.4 of the Code of 

Virginia shall also apply to violations relating to the 

requirements for recordkeeping, reports, or other documents 

filed or required to be maintained and to posting 

requirements. 

E. In determining the amount of the proposed penalty for a 

violation, the commissioner will ordinarily be guided by the 

system of penalty adjustment set forth in the VOSH Field 

Operations Manual. In any event the commissioner shall 

consider the gravity of the violation, the size of the business, 

the good faith of the employer, and the employer's history of 

previous violations. 

The commissioner shall have authority to propose civil 

penalties to public employers for willful, repeat, and failure-

to-abate violations in accordance with subsections I and J of 

§ 40.1-49.4 of the Code of Virginia, and for serious violations 

that cause death to an employee or are classified as high 

gravity in accordance with subsection H of § 40.1-49.4. 

F. On multi-employer worksites for all covered industries, 

citations shall normally be issued to an employer whose 

employee is exposed to an occupational hazard (the exposing 

employer). Additionally, the following employers shall 

normally be cited, whether or not their own employees are 

exposed: 

1. The employer who actually creates the hazard (the 

creating employer); 

2. The employer who is either: 

a. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions on the entire worksite, and 

has the authority for ensuring that the hazardous 

condition is corrected (the controlling employer); or 

b. Responsible, by contract or through actual practice, for 

safety and health conditions for a specific area of the 

worksite, or specific work practice, or specific phase of a 

construction project, and has the authority for ensuring 

that the hazardous condition is corrected (the controlling 

employer); or 

3. The employer who has the responsibility for actually 

correcting the hazard (the correcting employer). 

G. A citation issued under subsection F of this section to an 

exposing employer who violates any VOSH law, standard, 

rule, or regulation shall be vacated if such employer 

demonstrates that: 

1. The employer did not create the hazard; 

2. The employer did not have the responsibility or the 

authority to have the hazard corrected; 

3. The employer did not have the ability to correct or 

remove the hazard; 

4. The employer can demonstrate that the creating, the 

controlling, or the correcting employers, as appropriate, 

have been specifically notified of the hazards to which his 

the employer's employees were exposed; 

5. The employer has instructed his employees to recognize 

the hazard and, where necessary, informed them how to 

avoid the dangers associated with it; 

6. Where feasible, an exposing employer must have taken 

appropriate alternative means of protecting employees 

from the hazard; and 

7. When extreme circumstances justify it, the exposing 

employer shall have removed his the employer's employees 

from the job. 

H. The commissioner's burden of proving the basis for a 

VOSH citation, penalty, or order of abatement is by a 

preponderance of the evidence. 

I. The burden of proof in establishing an affirmative defense 

to a VOSH citation resides with the employer. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6350; Filed April 13, 2020, 10:35 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 20VAC5-201. Rules Governing 

Utility Rate Applications and Annual Informational 

Filings (amending 20VAC5-201-10 through 20VAC5-201-

40, 20VAC5-201-70, 20VAC5-201-90 through 20VAC5-

201-110; adding 20VAC5-201-15; repealing 20VAC5-201-

50, 20VAC5-201-60, 20VAC5-201-80). 

20VAC5-204. Rules Governing Utility Rate Applications 

and Annual Informational Filings of Investor-Owned 

Electric Utilities (adding 20VAC5-204-5 through 

20VAC5-204-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2189 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Allison Samuel, Principal Utilities Analyst, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3177, or email 

allison.samuel@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) remove investor-owned 

electric utilities from Chapter 201, which now only applies 

to investor-owned gas and water utilities, and (ii) add 

20VAC5-204, Rules Governing Utility Rate Applications 

and Annual Informational Filings of Investor-Owned 

Electric Utilities, applicable to investor-owned electric 

utilities. The new chapter establishes minimum filing 

requirements related to annual informational filings, rate 

case filings, and prudency determinations under Chapters 

10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) and 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 

of the Code of Virginia, including requiring triennial 

reviews rather than biennial reviews of base rate earnings, 

expanding the number and types of rate adjustment clauses 

that may be sought by electric utilities, and permitting the 

filing of limited prudency reviews under § 56 585.1:4 F of 

the Code of Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 17, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00022 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting new 

rules of the State Corporation Commission 

governing utility rate application by 

investor-owned electric utilities 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

In 2007, the Virginia General Assembly amended Chapter 

23 of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia ("Regulation Act"), 

which significantly changed the manner in which certain 

investor-owned electric utility rates are regulated. On 

December 16, 2008, in response thereto, the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") adopted revisions 

to its Rules Governing Utility Rate Application and Annual 

Informational Filings, 20 VAC 5-201-10 et seq. ("Existing 

Rate Case Rules").1 

Since the most recent revisions to the Existing Rate Case 

Rules, the electric utilities, interested parties and the 

Commission have obtained significant actual experience in 

implementing the Regulation Act. In addition, subsequent 

legislative amendments have, among other things, modified 

the Regulation Act to require triennial reviews rather than 

biennial reviews of base rate earnings; expanded the number 

and types of rate adjustment clauses that may be sought by 

utilities; and permitted the filing of limited prudency reviews 

under Code § 56-585.1:4 F. The Regulation Act also 

establishes various statutory deadlines for the Commission to 

issue a final order in various types of cases, ranging from 90 

days to nine months after filing. These time periods limit the 

time available for discovery and analysis of requested rate 

changes. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding 

should be established to promulgate new rules governing 

utility rate applications and annual informational filings of 

investor-owned electric utilities ("Investor-owned Electric 

Utility Rate Case Rules"). In connection therewith, the 

Commission will also consider limited revisions to the 

Existing Rate Case Rules to remove their applicability to 

investor-owned electric utilities (together with Investor-

owned Electric Utility Rate Case Rules, "Proposed Rules"). 

The Commission does not intend to consider any additional 

changes to the Existing Rate Case Rules beyond removing 

their applicability to investor-owned electric utilities in this 

proceeding. To initiate this proceeding, the Commission's 

Staff ("Staff") has prepared Proposed Rules which are 

appended to this Order. We will direct that notice of the 

Proposed Rules be given to the public and that interested 

persons be provided an opportunity to file written comments 

on, propose modifications or supplements to, or request a 

hearing on the Proposed Rules. We further find that a copy of 

the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

The Commission further takes judicial notice of the ongoing 

public health emergency related to the spread of the 

coronavirus, or COVID-19, and the declarations of 

emergency issued at both the state and federal levels.2 The 

Commission has taken certain actions, and may take 

additional actions going forward, which could impact the 

procedures in this proceeding.3 Consistent with these actions, 

in regard to the terms of the procedural framework 

established below, the Commission will, among other things, 

direct the electronic filing of comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed as Case No. PUR-2020-00022. 

(2) All filings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-

150, Copies and Format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure ("Rules of Practice").4 For the 

duration of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking to 

hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading or 

other document shall contact the Clerk's Office Document 

Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery. 

mailto:allison.samuel@scc.virginia.gov
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(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(4) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

obtained by submitting a request to Allison F. Samuel in the 

Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 

following email address: Allison.Samuel@scc.virginia.gov. 

An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons 

may also download unofficial copies of the Order and the 

Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(5) On or before June 9, 2020, any interested person may 

file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Such comments may also include proposals and 

hearing requests. All comments shall refer to Case No. 

PUR-2020-00022. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

papers filed herein. 

(6) On or before June 30, 2020, the Staff may file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 

Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(7) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_________________________________ 

1Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter of revising the rules of the State Corporation Commission 

governing utility rate increase applications pursuant to Chapter 933 of the 

2007 Acts of Assembly, Case No. PUE-2008-00001, 2008 S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 
462, Order Adopting Regulations (Dec. 16, 2008). In 2012, the Commission 

initiated a proceeding to consider whether the Existing Rate Case Rules 

should be revised, ultimately determining that the "proceeding should be 
closed and a new proceeding should be initiated in the future if necessary to 

consider revisions to the Rate Case Rules that are applicable to all utilities 

subject to the Rules." Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 
Commission, Ex. Parte: In the matter of revising the Rules of the State 

Corporation Commission governing utility rate applications by electric 

utilities subject to the Virginia Electric Utility Regulation Act, Case No. 
PUE-2012-00043, 2014 S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 257, Order Closing Proceeding 

(Nov. 10, 2014). 

2See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 
to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 

Northam. See also Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 

Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 

Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 
(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 

Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay At Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam. 

3See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 
CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Revised 
Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, Order Regarding the State 

Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 
Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State 

Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic service among parties during 

COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020). 

45 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

CHAPTER 201 

RULES GOVERNING UTILITY RATE APPLICATIONS 

AND ANNUAL INFORMATIONAL FILINGS OF 

INVESTOR-OWNED GAS AND WATER UTILITIES 

20VAC5-201-10. General filing instructions. 

A. An applicant shall provide a notice of intent to file an 

application pursuant to 20VAC5-201-20, 20VAC5-201-40, 

20VAC5-201-60 and 20VAC5-201-85 to the commission 60 

days prior to the application filing date. 

B. Applications pursuant to 20VAC5-201-20 through, 

20VAC5-201-30, 20VAC5-201-40, and 20VAC5-201-70 

shall include: 

1. The name and post office address of the applicant and 

the name and post office address of its the applicant's 

counsel. 

2. A full clear statement of the facts that the applicant is 

prepared to prove by competent evidence. 

3. A statement of details of the objective or objectives 

sought and the legal basis therefore. 

4. All direct testimony by which the applicant expects to 

support the objective or objectives sought. 

5. Information or documentation conforming to the 

following general instructions: 

a. Attach a table of contents of the company's 

application, including exhibits. 

b. Each exhibit shall be labeled with the name of the 

applicant and the initials of the sponsoring witness in the 

upper right hand corner as shown below follows: 

Exhibit No. (Leave Blank) 

Witness: (Initials) 

Statement or 

Schedule Number 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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c. The first page of all exhibits shall contain a caption 

that describes the subject matter of the exhibit. 

d. If the accounting and statistical data submitted differ 

from the books of the applicant, then the applicant shall 

include in its filing a reconciliation schedule for each 

account or subaccount that differs, together with an 

explanation describing the nature of the difference. 

e. The required accounting and statistical data shall 

include all work papers and other information necessary 

to ensure that the items, statements, and schedules are not 

misleading. 

C. This chapter does not limit the commission staff or 

parties from raising issues for commission consideration that 

have not been addressed in the applicant's filing before the 

commission. Except for good cause shown, issues specifically 

decided by commission order entered in the applicant's most 

recent rate case may not be raised by staff or interested parties 

in Earnings Test Filings made pursuant to 20VAC5-201-10, 

or 20VAC5-201-30 or 20VAC5-201-50. 

D. An application filed pursuant to 20VAC5-201-20, 

20VAC5-201-30, 20VAC5-201-40, 20VAC5-201-60, 

20VAC5-201-70, 20VAC5-201-80 or 20VAC5-201-85 shall 

not be deemed filed per Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) or 

Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia unless it is in full compliance with this chapter. 

E. The commission may waive any part or all parts of this 

chapter for good cause shown. 

F. Where a filing contains information that the applicant 

claims to be confidential, the filing may be made under seal 

provided it is simultaneously accompanied by both a motion 

for protective order or other confidential treatment and an 

additional five copies of a redacted version of the filing to be 

available for public disclosure. Unredacted filings containing 

the confidential information shall, however, be immediately 

available to the commission staff for internal use at the 

commission. 

G. Filings containing confidential (or redacted) information 

shall so state on the cover of the filing, and the precise 

portions of the filing containing such confidential (or 

redacted) information, including supporting material, shall be 

clearly marked within the filing. 

H. Applicants shall file electronic media containing an 

electronic spreadsheet version of Schedules 1 - through 5, 8 -

 through 28, 36, 40, and 50, as applicable, with the 

commission's Division of Utility Accounting and Finance and 

the Division of Energy Regulation or the Division of 

Communications, as appropriate. Such electronic media 

containing calculations derived from formulas shall be 

provided in an electronic spreadsheet including all underlying 

formulas and assumptions. Such electronic spreadsheet shall 

be commercially available and have common use in the utility 

industry. Additional versions of such schedules shall be made 

available to parties upon request. 

I. All applications, including direct testimony and Schedules 

1 - through 28, 30 - through 39, and 41 - through 50, as 

applicable, shall be filed in an original and 12 copies with the 

Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 

Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. One copy of 

Schedules 29 and 40 shall be filed with the Clerk of the 

Commission. Applicants may omit filing Schedule 29 with 

the Clerk of the Commission in Annual Informational Filings. 

Additional copies of such schedules shall be made available 

to parties upon request. 

Two copies of Schedules 29 and 40 shall be submitted to the 

Division of Utility Accounting and Finance or the Division of 

Communications, as appropriate. Two copies of Schedule 40 

shall be submitted to the Division of Energy Regulation. 

J. For any application made pursuant to 20VAC5-201-20 

and, 20VAC5-201-40 through, 20VAC5-201-70, and 

20VAC5-201-85, the applicant shall serve a copy of the 

information required in subsection A and subdivisions B 1 

through, B 2, and B 3 of this section, upon the attorney and 

chairman of the board of supervisors of each county (or 

equivalent officials in the counties having alternate forms of 

government) in this Commonwealth affected by the proposed 

increase and upon the mayor or manager and the attorney of 

every city and town (or equivalent officials in towns and 

cities having alternate forms of government) in this 

Commonwealth affected by the proposed increase. The 

applicant shall also serve each such official with a statement 

that a copy of the complete application may be obtained at no 

cost by making a request therefor orally or in writing to a 

specified company official or location. In addition, the 

applicant shall serve a copy of its complete application upon 

the Division of Consumer Counsel of the Office of the 

Attorney General of Virginia. All such service specified by 

this section shall be made either by (i) personal delivery or 

(ii) first class mail, to the customary place of business or to 

the residence of the person served. 

K. Nothing in these this chapter shall be interpreted to apply 

to applications for temporary reductions of rates pursuant to 

§ 56-242 of the Code of Virginia. 

20VAC5-201-15. Applicability to applications of investor-

owned electric utilities. 

This chapter shall not apply to applications filed by investor-

owned electric utilities on or after October 1, 2020. 

20VAC5-201-20. General and expedited rate increase 

applications. 

A. An application for a general or expedited rate increase 

pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the 

Code of Virginia for a public utility having annual revenues 
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exceeding $1 million, shall conform to the following 

requirements: 

1. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 1-43 1 through 43 and 

the utility's direct testimony shall be submitted. Such 

schedules shall be identified with the appropriate schedule 

number and shall be prepared in accordance with the 

instructions contained in 20VAC5-201-90. 

2. An applicant subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall file Schedules 45 and 47 in addition to the 

schedules required in subdivision A 1 of this section in 

accordance with the instructions accompanying such 

schedules in 20VAC5-201-90. 

3. An exhibit consisting of additional schedules may be 

submitted with the utility's direct testimony. Such exhibit 

shall be identified as Schedule 50 (this exhibit may include 

numerous subschedules labeled 50A et seq.). 

B. The selection of a historic test period is up to the 

applicant. However, the use of overlapping test periods will 

not be allowed. 

C. Applicants meeting each of the four following criteria 

may omit Schedules 9-18 9 through 18 in rate applications: 

(i) the applicant is not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) the applicant is not currently bound by a 

performance-based regulation plan authorized by the 

commission pursuant to § 56-235.6 of the Code of Virginia 

that includes an earnings sharing mechanism or other attribute 

for which the commission has directed the performance of an 

Earnings Test, (iii) (ii) the applicant has no Virginia 

jurisdictional regulatory assets on its books, and (iv) (iii) the 

applicant is not seeking to establish a regulatory asset. 

D. If not otherwise constrained by law or regulatory 

requirements, an applicant who has not experienced a 

substantial change in circumstances may file an expedited 

rate application as an alternative to a general rate application. 

Such application need not propose an increase in regulated 

operating revenues. If, upon timely consideration of the 

expedited application and supporting evidence, it appears that 

a substantial change in circumstances has taken place since 

the applicant's last rate case, then the commission may take 

appropriate action, such as directing that the expedited 

application be dismissed or treated as a general rate 

application. Prior to public hearing, and subject to applicable 

provisions of law, an application for expedited rate increase 

may take effect within 30 days after the date the application is 

filed. Expedited rate increases may also take effect in less 

than 12 months after the applicant's preceding rate increase so 

long as rates are not increased as a result thereof more than 

once in any calendar year. An applicant making an expedited 

application shall also comply with the following rules: 

1. In computing its cost of capital, as prescribed in 

Schedule 3 in 20VAC5-201-90, the applicant, other than 

those utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall use the equity return rate approved by the 

commission and used to determine the revenue 

requirement in the utility's most recent rate proceeding. 

2. An applicant, in developing its rate of return statement, 

shall make adjustments to its test period jurisdictional 

results only in accordance with the instructions for 

Schedule 25 in 20VAC5-201-90. 

3. The applicant may propose new allocation 

methodologies, rate designs, and new or revised terms and 

conditions provided such proposals are supported by 

appropriate cost studies. Such support shall be included in 

Schedule 40. 

E. Rates authorized to take effect 30 days following the 

filing of any application for an expedited rate increase shall 

be subject to refund in a manner prescribed by the 

commission. Whenever rates are subject to refund, the 

commission may also direct that such refund bear interest at a 

rate set by the commission. 

20VAC5-201-30. Annual informational filings. 

Unless modified per a commission-approved alternative 

regulatory plan, each utility not subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, and which is not requesting a base rate 

increase shall make an annual informational filing consisting 

of Schedules 1-7 1 through 7, 9, 11-12 11, 12, 14-19 14 

through 19, 21-22, 24-25 21, 22, 24, 25, 27, 28, and 40 a and 

b as identified in 20VAC5-201-90. The test period shall be 

the current 12 months ending in the same month used in the 

utility's most recent rate application. This information shall be 

filed with the commission within 120 days after the end of the 

test period. Accounting adjustments reflected in Column (2) 

of Schedule 21 shall incorporate the ratemaking treatment 

approved by the commission in the utility's last rate case and 

shall be calculated in accordance with the Expedited Rules of 

Schedule 25. Requirements found in 20VAC5-201-10 B 2 

through, B 3, and B 4 may be omitted in Annual 

Informational Filings. 

Applicants meeting each of the four following criteria may 

omit Schedules 9-18 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 through 18 in 

Annual Informational Filings: (i) the applicant is not subject 

to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) the applicant is not 

currently bound by a performance-based regulation plan 

authorized by the commission pursuant to § 56-235.6 of the 

Code of Virginia that includes an earnings sharing 

mechanism or other attribute for which the commission has 

directed the performance of an Earnings Test, (iii) (ii) the 

applicant has no Virginia jurisdictional regulatory assets on 

its books, and (iv) (iii) the applicant is not seeking to establish 

a regulatory asset. 
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20VAC5-201-40. Optional performance-based regulation 

applications. 

A. An applicant, other than those subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, that files an application for 

performance-based regulation pursuant to § 56-235.6 of the 

Code of Virginia shall file Schedules 1-32 1 through 32 and 

34-43 34 through 43 as identified in 20VAC5-201-90. 

B. An applicant subject to § 56-585.1 that files a 

performance-based regulation filing pursuant to § 56-235.6 

shall file Schedules 1-45 and 47 as identified in 20VAC5-

201-90. 

20VAC5-201-50. Biennial review applications. (Repealed.) 

A. A biennial review application filed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall include the following: 

1. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 3, 6-7, 9-18, 40a and 

44 as identified in 20VAC5-201-90 shall be submitted with 

the utility's direct testimony for each of the two successive 

12-month test periods. 

2. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 1-2, 4-5, 8, 19-34, 36-

39, 40b-d, 41-43, 45, and 47 as identified in 20VAC5-201-

90, shall be submitted with the utility's direct testimony for 

the second of the two successive 12-month test periods. 

3. An exhibit consisting of Schedule 35 shall be filed with 

the commission no later than April 30 each year. 

4. An exhibit consisting of Schedule 49 shall be submitted 

with the utility's direct testimony, if required. 

5. An exhibit consisting of additional schedules may be 

submitted with the utility's direct testimony. Such exhibit 

shall be identified as Schedule 50 (this exhibit may include 

subschedules as needed labeled 50A et seq.). 

6. A reconciliation of Schedules 19 and 22 to the statement 

of income and comparative balance sheet contained in 

FERC Form No. 1. 

B. The assumed rate year for purposes of determining 

ratemaking adjustment in Schedules 21 and 24, as identified 

in 20VAC5-201-90, shall begin on December 1 of the year 

following the two successive 12-month test periods. 

20VAC5-201-60. Rate adjustment clause filings. 

(Repealed.) 

An application filed pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 4, 5 or 6 of 

the Code of Virginia shall include Schedules 45 and 46 as 

identified and described in 20VAC5-201-90, and which shall 

be submitted with the utility's direct testimony. 

20VAC5-201-70. Temporary increases of rates. 

A. Applicants that file a request for a temporary increase in 

rates pursuant to § 56-245 of the Code of Virginia shall 

include Schedules 1-7 1 through, 9, 11-12 11, 12, 14 and 16-

18, 16, 17, and 18 as identified and described in 20VAC5-

201-90. 

B. Applicants subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

that file a request for a temporary increase in rates pursuant to 

§ 56-245 shall file Schedules 44, 45 and 47 as identified and 

described in 20VAC5-201-90 in addition to the schedules 

required in subsection A of this section. 

20VAC5-201-80. Fuel factor filings. (Repealed.) 

A. In the event that an electric utility files an application to 

change the fuel factor, fuel factor projections shall be filed at 

least six weeks prior to the proposed effective date. The filing 

shall include projections required by the commission's Fuel 

Monitoring System as well as the testimony and exhibits 

supporting the fuel factor projections. At a minimum, the 

filing shall include the following for each month of the 

forecast period in which the proposed fuel factor is expected 

to be in effect: 

1. Projections of system sales and energy supply 

requirements (MWh); 

2. Projections of generation and purchased power levels 

(MWh) by source; 

3. Projections of fuel requirements by generating unit 

(MMBtu); 

4. Projections of fuel and purchased power costs by source; 

5. Projections of off-system sales volumes and margins; 

6. Projections of generating unit outage rates and heat 

rates; and 

7. Total fuel factor costs by source by month. 

The filing shall further include the following information for 

each month for the most recent historical 12-month period: 

1. Actual system sales and energy supply (MWh); 

2. Actual generation and purchased power levels (MWh) 

by source; 

3. Actual fuel burns by generating units (MMBtu); 

4. Actual fuel and purchased power costs by source; 

5. Actual off-system sales volumes and margins along with 

support for calculation of margins; 

6. Actual generating unit planned and forced outage rates 

and heat rates along with brief descriptions and durations 

of outages; and 

7. Discussion of any abnormal operating events and actions 

taken to minimize fuel and purchased energy costs. 

B. Electric utilities not seeking a change in the fuel factor 

shall file fuel factor projections at least six weeks prior to the 

expiration of the last projection or as required by the 
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commission. The filing shall include the same information 

required in subsection A of this section. 

20VAC5-201-90. Instructions for schedules and exhibits 

for Chapter 201. 

The following instructions for schedules and exhibits 

including those specifically set forth in 20VAC5-201-95 

(Schedules 1-14) 1 through 14), 20VAC5-201-100 

(Schedules 15-22) 15 through 22), and 20VAC5-201-110 

(Schedules 23-28, 40 and 44) 24 through 28 and 40) are to be 

used in conjunction with this chapter: 

Schedule 1 - Historic Profitability and Market Data 

Instructions: Using the format of the attached schedule and 

the following definitions provided below, provide the data for 

the test year and four prior fiscal years. The information shall 

be compatible with the latest stockholder's annual report 

(including any restatements). Information in Sections A and 

B shall be compiled for the corporate entity that raises equity 

capital in the marketplace. Information in Section C shall be 

compiled for the subsidiary company that provides regulated 

utility service in Virginia. 

Definitions for Schedule 1 

Return on Year End 

Equity* = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

Year End Common Equity 

  

Return on Average 

Equity* = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

The Average of Year End Equity 

for the Current & Previous Year 

  

Earnings Per Share = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

Average No. Common Shares 

Outstanding 

Dividends Per Share = Common Dividends Paid per Share 

During the Year 

Payout Ratio = DPS/EPS 

Average Market Price** = (Yearly High + Yearly Low 

Price)/2 

Dividend Yield = DPS/ Average Market Price** 

Price Earnings Ratio = Average Market Price**/EPS 

*Job Development Credits shall not be included as part of 

equity capital nor shall a deduction be made from earnings for 

a capital charge on these Job Development Credits in 

Schedule 1. 

**An average based on monthly highs and lows is also 

acceptable. If this alternative is chosen, provide monthly 

market prices and sufficient data to show how the calculation 

was made. 

Schedule 2 - Interest and Cash Flow Coverage Data 

Instructions: This schedule shall be prepared using the 

following definitions and instructions given below and 

presented in the format of the attached schedule. The 

information shall be provided for the test year and the four 

prior fiscal years based on information for the Applicant 

applicant and for the consolidated company if Applicant the 

applicant is a subsidiary. 

- Interest (Lines 3, 4, & and 5) shall include amortization 

of expenses, discounts, and premiums on debt without 

deducting an allowance for borrowed funds used during 

construction. 

- Income taxes (Line 2) shall include federal and state 

income taxes. 

- Allowance for Funds Used During Construction 

("AFUDC") (Line 8), where applicable, is total AFUDC -- 

for borrowed and other funds. 

- Preferred dividends (Line 13) for a subsidiary may need 

to be allocated from the parent's total preferred dividends. 

Specify the allocation factor and the methodology used in a 

footnote. 

- Construction expenditures (Line 15) are net of AFUDC. 

- Common dividends (Line 16) for a subsidiary shall be 

stated per books. If the subsidiary's dividend payout ratio 

differs from the consolidated company's payout ratio, show 

in a footnote the subsidiary's common dividends based on 

the consolidated company's payout ratio. 

Schedule 3 - Capital Structure and Cost of Capital 

Statement – Per Books and Average 

Instructions: This schedule shall show the amount of each 

capital component per balance sheet, the amount for 

ratemaking purposes, the percentage weight in the capital 

structure, and the component cost and weighted cost, using 

the format in the attached schedule. The information shall be 

provided for the test period, the four prior fiscal years, and on 

a 13-month average or five-quarter average basis for the test 

period. The data shall be provided for the entity whose capital 

structure was approved for use in the applicant's last rate case. 

In Part A, the information shall be compatible with the latest 

Stockholders' Annual Report (including any restatements). In 

Parts B, C, and D, the methodology shall be consistent with 

that approved in the applicant's last rate case. Reconcile 
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differences between Parts A and B for both end-of-test-period 

and average capital structures. 

The amounts for short-term debt and revolving credit 

agreements (and similar arrangements) in Part B shall be 

based where possible on a daily average over the test year, or 

alternatively on a 13-month average over the test year. Except 

for the Part B amount for short-term debt and average 

amounts in Column (6), all other accounts are end-of-year 

and end-of-test period. 

The component weighted cost rates equal the product of 

each component's capital structure weight for ratemaking 

purposes times its cost rate. The weighted cost of capital is 

equal to the sum of the component weighted cost rates. The 

Job Development Credits cost is equal to the weighted cost of 

permanent capital (long-term debt, preferred stock, and 

common equity). 

For investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, Parts A, B, C, and D shall be based on 

the utility's actual, end-of-period capital structure. 

Schedule 4 - Schedules of Long-Term Debt, Preferred 

and Preference Stock, Job Development Credits, and Any 

Other Component of Ratemaking Capital 

Instructions: For each applicable capital component, provide 

a schedule that shows, for each issue, the amount outstanding, 

its percentage of the total capital component, and effective 

cost based on the embedded cost rate. This data shall support 

the amount and cost rate of the respective capital components 

contained in Schedule 3, consistent with the methodology 

approved in the applicant's last rate case. In addition, a 

detailed breakdown of all job development credits should be 

provided that reconciles to the per books balance of 

investment tax credits. These schedules should reflect 

disclosure of any associated hedging/derivative instruments, 

their respective terms and conditions (instrument type, 

notional amount and associated series of debt or preferred 

stock hedged, period in effect, etc.), and the impact of such 

instruments on the cost of debt or preferred stock. 

Schedule 5 - Schedule of Short-Term Debt, Revolving 

Credit Agreements, and similar Short-Term Financing 

Arrangements 

Instructions: Utilities that are not subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia shall provide data and explain the 

methodology, which should be consistent with the 

methodology approved in the applicant's last rate case, used 

to calculate the cost and balance contained in Schedule 3 for 

short-term debt, revolving credit agreements, and similar 

arrangements. 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 shall 

file data consistent with the utility's end of test period capital 

structure and cost of short-term debt. 

This schedule should also provide detailed disclosure of any 

hedging/derivative instruments related to short-term debt, 

their respective terms and conditions (instrument type, 

notional amount and associated series of debt hedged, period 

in effect, etc.), and the impact of such instruments on the cost 

of short-term debt. 

Schedule 6 - Public Financial Reports 

Instructions: Provide copies of the most recent Stockholder's 

Annual Report, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 

10-K, and Form 10-Q for the applicant and the consolidated 

parent company if the applicant is a subsidiary. If published, 

provide a copy of the most recent statistical or financial 

supplement for the consolidated parent company. 

Schedule 7 - Comparative Financial Statements 

Instructions: If not provided in the public financial reports 

for Schedule 6, provide comparative balance sheets, income 

statements, and cash flow statements for the test year and the 

12-month period preceding the test year for the applicant and 

its consolidated parent company if applicant is a subsidiary. 

Schedule 8 - Proposed Cost of Capital Statement 

Instructions: Provide the applicant's proposed capital 

structure/cost of capital schedule. In conjunction, provide 

schedules that support the amount and cost of each 

component of the proposed capital structure, and explain all 

assumptions used. 

Schedule 9 - Rate of Return Statement – Earnings Test – 

Per Books 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

Schedule 9 shall reflect average rate base, capital, and 

common equity capital. Interest expense, preferred 

dividends, and common equity capital shall be calculated by 

using the average capital structure included in Schedule 3 B 

and average rate base. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1)-(3) on Schedule 9. 

Schedule 10 - Rate of Return Statement – Earnings Test 

– Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 10. 

Use format of attached schedule. 

Schedule 10 shall reflect average rate base, capital and 

common equity capital. Interest expense, preferred dividends 

and common equity capital shall be calculated by using the 

average capital structure included in Schedule 3 B and 

average rate base. 
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Schedule 10 Columns (2) - (3) shall reflect revenues, 

expenses and rate base for each commission-approved rate 

adjustment clause pursuant to §§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, c and d or A 

6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Schedule 11 - Rate of Return Statement – Earnings Test 

– Adjusted to A Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Instructions: For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, Schedule 11 shall reflect combined generation 

and distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall 

file Schedule 11A, reflecting generation only operation, and 

Schedule 11B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 11. Use format of attached 

schedule. 

Schedule 11 adjustments in Column (2) shall reflect any 

financial differences between Generally Accepted Accounting 

Principles ("GAAP") and regulatory accounting as prescribed 

by the commission. Each Column (2) adjustment shall be 

separately identified and reflected in Schedule 16. 

A per books regulatory accounting adjustment to reflect Job 

Development Credit (JDC) Capital Expense shall be reflected 

in Schedule 11 Column (2), if applicable. Column (3) JDC 

Capital Expense shall be calculated as follows: 

JDC Capital Expense = Rate Base (line 25) * weighted cost 

of JDC Capital in Schedule 3 

The associated income tax savings shall be reflected in lines 

5 and 6, Column (2) as follows: 

Associated income tax savings = total average rate base 

(line 25) * weight of JDC capital (Sch. 3) * weighted cost 

of debt component of the JDC cost component (Sch. 3) * 

(Federal and State Income Tax rate * -1) 

Schedule 11 Line 15 other income/(expense) shown in 

Column (3) shall be the current amount of other 

income/(expense) categorized as jurisdictional in the 

applicant's last rate case. 

Schedule 12 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – Per 

Books 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1)-(3) on Schedule 12. 

Applicants with jurisdictional per books operating revenues 

of more than $150 million shall calculate cash working 

capital allowance using a lead/lag study. Schedules 17 and 18 

shall be provided detailing the cash working capital 

computation for Schedule 12 Columns (1) and (3). Applicants 

with jurisdictional per books operating revenues between $20 

and $150 million may include a zero cash working capital 

requirement rather than perform a lead/lag study. Applicants 

with jurisdictional per books operating revenues less than $20 

million may use a formula method to calculate cash working 

capital. 

Schedule 13 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code 

of Virginia may omit Schedule 13. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1, Schedule 13 shall reflect 

combined generation and distribution operations. 

Additionally, such utilities shall file Schedule 13A, reflecting 

generation only operations, and Schedule 13B, reflecting 

distribution only operations, using the same format as 

Schedule 13. 

Use format of attached schedule. 

Schedule 13 Columns (2)-(3) shall reflect rate base 

information for each commission-approved rate adjustment 

clause pursuant to §§ 56-585.1 A5 b, c and d or A6 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using the 

instructions in Schedule 12. 

Schedule 14 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – 

Adjusted to Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Instructions: For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, Schedule 14 shall reflect combined generation 

and distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall 

file Schedule 14A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 14B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 14. Use format of attached 

schedule. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using the 

instructions in Schedule 12. Schedule 14 Column (2) shall 

reflect adjustments necessary to identify any financial 

differences between Generally Accepted Accounting 

Principles and regulatory accounting as prescribed by the 

commission. 

Schedule 15 - Schedule of Regulatory Assets and Per 

Books Deferral Pursuant to Enactment Clause 5 of 

Chapter 3 of the 2004 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I 

Instructions: If applicable per Schedules 9 and 12 

instructions. Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 15 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All regulatory assets shall be individually listed with 

associated deferred income tax. Indicate whether the 

regulatory asset is included in financial reporting or is 

currently recognized for ratemaking purposes only. 
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Schedule 16 - Detail of Regulatory Accounting 

Adjustments 

Instructions: If applicable per Schedules 9 and 12 

instructions. 

Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 16 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

Each regulatory accounting adjustment shall be numbered 

sequentially beginning with ET-1 and listed under the 

appropriate description category (Operating Revenues, 

Interest Expense, Common Equity Capital, etc.). 

Each regulatory accounting adjustment shall be fully 

explained in the description column of this schedule. 

Regulatory accounting adjustments shall adjust from a 

financial accounting basis to a regulatory accounting basis. 

Adjustments to reflect going-forward operations shall not be 

included on this schedule. 

Detailed workpapers substantiating each adjustment shall be 

provided in Schedule 29. 

Schedule 17 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation – Earnings Test 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 17 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 17A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 17B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 17. 

Total Balance Sheet Net Source/Use of Average Cash 

Working Capital determined in Schedule 18 shall be included 

in the Total Cash Working Capital amount in this schedule. 

The Total Cash Working Capital amount determined in this 

schedule shall be included in Schedules 12-14 12 and 14. 

Utilities required to use a lead/lag study should perform a 

complete lead/lag analysis every five years. Major items, such 

as the revenue lag and balance sheet accounts, should be 

reviewed every year. 

Schedule 18 - Balance Sheet Analysis – Earnings Test 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 18 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All sources/uses uses and sources of cash working capital 

shall be detailed in this schedule. The associated accumulated 

deferred income tax shall also be included as a source/use use 

or source. 

The Net Source/Use of Average Cash Working Capital 

determined in this schedule shall be included in Schedule 17. 

Support for the above schedule Schedule 18 shall include a 

list of all balance sheet subaccounts and titles. Indicate 

whether the account's impact is included in (1) (i) the balance 

sheet analysis, (2) (ii) the capital structure, (3) (iii) the income 

statement portion of the lead/lag study, or (4) (iv) excluded 

from cost of service. 

Schedule 19 - Rate of Return Statement – Per Books 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 19 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 19A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 19B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 19. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 shall file only Columns 

(1)-(3) on Schedule 19. 

Column (1) interest expense, preferred dividends, and 

common equity capital shall be calculated by using the capital 

structure included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and end of test 

year level rate base. 

Schedule 20 - Rate of Return Statement – Generation 

and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 20. 

Schedule 20 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 20A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 20B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 20. 

Use format of attached schedule. 

Schedule 20 Columns (2)-(4) shall reflect revenues, 

expenses and rate base for each commission-approved rate 

adjustment clause pursuant to §§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, c and d or A 

6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Interest expense, preferred dividends and common equity 

capital shall be calculated by using the capital structure 

included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and end of test year 

level rate base. 

Schedule 21 - Rate of Return Statement – Reflecting 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 
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For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 21 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 21A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 21B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 21. 

Schedule 21 Column (2) adjustments shall be separately 

identified and reflected in Schedule 25. 

Interest expense, preferred dividends, and common equity 

capital shall be calculated by using the capital structure 

included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and an adjusted level of 

rate base. 

After ratemaking adjustments, JDC capital expense shall be 

calculated as follows: 

Total rate base (line 29) * weighted cost of JDC capital in 

Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 

Applicants filing pursuant to 20VAC5-201-30 may 

omit columns Columns (4) and (5). 

Schedule 22 - Rate Base Statement – Per Books 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1)-(3) on Schedule 22. 

Applicants with jurisdictional per books operating revenues 

more than $150 million shall calculate cash working capital 

allowance using a lead/lag study. Schedules 27 and 28 shall 

be provided detailing the cash working capital computation 

for Columns (1), (3), and (7). Applicants with jurisdictional 

per books operating revenues between $20 million and $150 

million may include a zero cash working capital requirement 

rather than perform a lead/lag study. Applicants with 

jurisdictional per books operating revenues less than $20 

million may use a formula method to calculate cash working 

capital. 

Schedule 23 - Rate Base Statement – Generation and 

Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 23 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 23A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 23B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 23. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 may omit Schedule 23. 

Schedule 23 Columns (2) - (4) shall reflect rate base 

information for each commission-approved rate adjustment 

clause pursuant to §§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, c and d or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using 

instructions in Schedule 22. 

Schedule 24 - Rate Base Statement – Adjusted – 

Reflecting Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 24 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 24A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 24B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 24. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using 

instructions in Schedule 22. 

Schedule 25 - Detail of Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 25 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

Each adjustment shall be numbered sequentially and listed 

under the appropriate description category (Operating 

Revenues, Interest Expense, Common Equity Capital, etc.). 

Ratemaking adjustments shall reflect a rate year level of 

revenues and expenses. Rate base adjustments may reflect no 

more than a rate year average. In Expedited Filings, Column 

(4) Ratemaking Adjustments shall reflect a rate year level of 

only those types of adjustments previously approved for the 

applicant. 

Detailed workpapers substantiating each adjustment shall be 

provided in Schedule 29. 

Schedule 26 - Revenue Requirement Reconciliation 

Instructions: Use format of attached lead schedule. An 

example of a supporting schedule is provided. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 26 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 26A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 26B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 26. 

Provide a revenue reconciliation of each topic or subject that 

affects the revenue requirement. All components of each topic 

or subject shall be detailed (i.e., payroll and related = payroll, 

benefits, payroll taxes, and related tax effect) on a supporting 

schedule. Cash working capital shall be considered a separate 

topic or subject rather than as a component of each topic or 

subject. 
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Schedule 27 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation – Adjusted 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 27 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 27A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 27B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 27. 

Total Balance Sheet Net Source/Use of Average Cash 

Working Capital determined in Schedule 28 shall be included 

in the Total Cash Working Capital amount in this schedule. 

The Total Cash Working Capital amount determined in this 

schedule shall be included in Schedules 22-24 22 and 24. 

Utilities required to use a lead/lag study should perform a 

complete lead/lag analysis every five years. Major items such 

as the revenue lag and balance sheet accounts should be 

reviewed every year. 

Schedule 28 - Balance Sheet Analysis – Adjusted 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 28 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All sources/uses uses and sources of cash working capital 

shall be detailed in this schedule. The associated accumulated 

deferred income tax shall also be included as a source/use use 

or source. 

The Net Source/Use of Average Cash Working Capital 

determined in this schedule shall be included in Schedule 27. 

Support for the above schedule should include a list of all 

balance sheet subaccounts and titles. Indicate whether the 

account's impact is included in (1) (i) the balance sheet 

analysis, (2) (ii) the capital structure, (3) (iii) the income 

statement portion of the lead/lag study, or (4) (iv) excluded 

from cost of service. Include a brief description of the costs 

included in each account. 

Schedule 29 - Workpapers for Earnings Test and 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Include a table of contents listing the work 

papers included in this schedule. 

(a) a. Provide a narrative explaining the purpose and 

methodology used for each adjustment identified in 

subsections (b) b and (d) below, which d of these 

instructions that have not been addressed in the applicant's 

prefiled testimony. Such explanation shall reference any 

relevant Financial Accounting Standards Board ("FASB") 

statement or commission precedent if known or available. 

(b) b. Provide a summary calculation of each earnings test 

adjustment included in Schedule 16. Each summary 

calculation shall identify the source documents used to 

prepare such calculation. 

(c) c. Provide all relevant documents, references, and 

information necessary to support the summary calculation 

required in subsection (b) b of these instructions for each 

proposed earnings test adjustment. Amounts identified as 

per books costs shall include any documentation or 

references necessary to verify such amount to Schedule 

40A. Working papers shall be indexed and tabbed for each 

adjustment and include the name of the primary employee 

or employees responsible for the adjustment. All 

documents and information as referenced above should 

include, but not be limited to, general ledgers, payroll 

distributions, billing determinants, invoices, and actuarial 

reports. Supporting documentation that is voluminous may 

be made available at the applicant's office. 

(d) d. Provide a summary calculation of each rate year 

adjustment included in Schedule 25. Each summary 

calculation shall identify the source documents used to 

prepare such calculation. 

(e) e. Provide all relevant documents and information 

necessary to support the summary calculation required in 

subsection (d) d of these instructions for each proposed 

rate year adjustment. Amounts identified as per books 

costs shall include any documentation necessary to verify 

such amount to Schedule 40b. Working papers shall be 

indexed and tabbed for each adjustment and include the 

name of the primary employee or employees responsible 

for the adjustment. All documents and information as 

referenced above in subsections a through e of these 

instructions should include, but not be limited to, general 

ledgers, payroll distributions, billing determinants, 

invoices, and actuarial reports. 

(f) Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia shall separately identify functional 

information for each earnings test and proposed rate year 

adjustment required in subsections (b) and (d). 

Schedule 30 - Revenue and Expense Variance Analysis 

Instructions: Applicant shall quantify jurisdictional 

operating revenues and system operating and maintenance 

("O&M") expenses by primary account as specified by the 

appropriate federal or state Uniform System of Accounts 

(Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Federal 

Communications Commission, National Association of 

Regulatory Commissioners) (hereinafter referred to as 

"USOA account") during the test period and the preceding 12 

months. Also, provide jurisdictional sales volumes by 

customer class for the test period. 

Applicants shall file a schedule detailing all revenue and 

expense accounts by month for the test period. For applicants 
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subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, the test period 

shall be the second year of the two successive year test 

periods. Applicants shall provide a detailed explanation of all 

jurisdictional revenue and system expense increases or 

decreases of more than 10% during the test period compared 

to the previous 12-month period. The expense variance 

analysis applies to test period expense items greater than one-

tenth of one percent (.001) of Operating & Maintenance 

expenses, excluding fuel factor and purchased gas adjustment 

costs. Additionally, the applicant shall have an accounts 

payable ledger or schedule of all accounts payable for review 

at the applicant's office as of the date of the applicant's filing. 

Schedule 31 - Advertising Expense 

Instructions: A schedule detailing advertising expense by 

USOA account and grouped according to the categories 

identified in § 56-235.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

provided. Advertising costs that are not identifiable to any of 

those categories shall be included in a separate category titled 

"other." If applicant seeks rate relief, demonstrate that the 

applicant's advertising meets the criteria established in § 56-

235.2. 

Schedule 32 - Storm Damage 

Instructions: This schedule applies to electric utilities only. 

Provide a schedule identifying major storm damage expense 

by month, FERC account and internal or third-party cost for 

the test year and the previous three years. Include a detailed 

description of the damage sustained, the length of outages 

associated with the storm damage and work necessary to 

restore service. 

Schedule 33 - Generating Unit Performance 

Instructions: This schedule applies to those applicants 

subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. Provide a 

detailed schedule of each generating unit outage or derate 

identifying whether the outage or derate was planned, 

maintenance or forced, and start and end dates, cause and 

cost. Additionally, provide the heat rate, equivalent 

availability factor, equivalent forced outage rate and net 

capacity factor for each unit. 

Schedule 34 - Miscellaneous Expenses 

Instructions: Provide a description of amounts paid and 

USOA accounts charged for each charitable and educational 

donation, each payment to associated industry organizations, 

and all other miscellaneous general expenses. Individual 

items aggregating to less than 5.0% of the total miscellaneous 

expense may be reflected in an "Other" line item. Advertising 

expenses included in Schedule 31 should be excluded from 

this schedule. 

Schedule 35 - Affiliate Services 

Instructions: For purposes of this schedule affiliate services 

shall be defined to include those services between regulated 

and nonregulated divisions of an incumbent utility. If any 

portion of the required information has been filed with the 

commission as part of an applicant's Annual Report of 

Affiliate Transactions, the applicant may reference such 

report clearly identifying what portions of the required 

information are included in the Annual Report of Affiliate 

Transactions. 

Provide a narrative description of each affiliated service 

received or provided during the test period. 

Provide a summary of affiliate transactions detailing costs 

by type of service provided (e.g., accounting, auditing, legal 

and regulatory, human resources, etc.) for each month of the 

test period. Show the final USOA account distribution of all 

costs billed to or by the regulated entity by month for the test 

period. 

Identify all amounts billed to an affiliate and then billed 

back to the regulated entity. 

Cost records and market analyses supporting all affiliated 

charges billed to or by the regulated entity/division shall be 

maintained and made readily available for commission staff 

review. This shall include supporting detail of costs 

(including the return component) incurred by the affiliated 

interest rendering the service and the allocation methodology. 

In situations when the pricing is required to be the higher 

(lower) of cost or market and market is unavailable, note each 

such transaction and have data supporting such a finding 

available for commission staff review. 

If affiliate charges are booked per a pricing mechanism 

other than that approved by the commission, the regulated 

entity shall provide a reconciliation of books to commission-

approved pricing, including an explanation of why the 

commission-approved pricing is not used for booking 

purposes. 

Schedule 36 - Income Taxes 

Instructions: Provide a schedule detailing the computation of 

test period current state and federal income taxes on a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Such schedule 

should provide a complete reconciliation between book and 

taxable income showing all individual differences. 

Additionally, provide a schedule detailing the computation of 

fully adjusted, current state and federal income taxes 

applicable to the Virginia jurisdiction. 

Provide a schedule detailing the individual items of deferred 

state and federal income tax expense for the test period on a 

total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Additionally, 

provide a schedule detailing the computation of fully 

adjusted, deferred state and federal income tax applicable to 

the Virginia jurisdiction. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between the statutory and 

effective income tax rates for the test period. Schedule should 

quantify individual reconciling items by dollar amount and 
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percentage. Individual items should include but not be limited 

to permanent differences (itemize), flow-through 

depreciation, excess deferred FIT amortization, and deferred 

Investment Tax Credit ("ITC") amortization. 

Provide a detailed listing of individual accumulated deferred 

income tax and accumulated deferred ITC amounts as of the 

end of test period. Separately identify those items affecting 

the computation of rate base on both a total company and 

Virginia jurisdictional basis. Additionally, provide a detailed 

listing of individual accumulated deferred income tax and 

accumulated deferred ITC amounts for the earnings test rate 

base (if applicable), the end of test period rate base, and the 

fully-adjusted rate base, on a Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between the federal and 

state current tax expense on a stand-alone basis and the actual 

per book federal and state current tax expense for the test 

period on a total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a schedule depicting, by month, all federal and state 

income tax payments made during the test year. For each 

payment, identify the recipient. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between deferred federal 

and state income expense computed on a stand-alone basis 

and the actual per book deferred federal and state income tax 

expense, on a total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between individual 

accumulated deferred federal and state income tax assets and 

liabilities computed on a stand-alone basis and the actual per 

book accumulated deferred income tax amounts as of the end 

of the test period, on a total company and Virginia 

jurisdictional basis. Additionally, provide a detailed listing of 

individual accumulated deferred income tax assets and 

liabilities computed on a stand-alone basis for the earnings 

test rate base (if applicable), the end of test period rate base, 

and the fully-adjusted rate base, on a Virginia jurisdictional 

basis. 

Schedule 37 - Organization 

Instructions: Provide an organizational chart of the applicant 

and its parent company detailing subsidiaries and divisions. 

Provide details of any material corporate reorganizations 

since the applicant's last rate case. Explain the reasons and 

any ratemaking impact of each such reorganization. 

Schedule 38 - Changes in Accounting Procedures 

Instructions: Detail any material changes in accounting 

procedures adopted by either the parent/service company or 

the utility since the applicant's last rate case. Explain any 

ratemaking impact of such changes. 

Identify any write-offs or write-downs associated with assets 

(i.e., plant, tax accounts, etc.) that have been retained, 

transferred, or sold. 

Schedule 39 - Out-of-Period Book Entries 

Instructions: Provide a summary schedule prepared from an 

analysis of journal entries showing "out-of-period" items 

booked during the test period. Show journal entry number, 

amount, USOA account, and explanation of charge. 

Schedule 40 - Jurisdictional and Class Cost of Service 

Study 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall provide functionally separate 

schedules for generation, transmission and distribution 

information for subsections (a), (b) and (c) as well as bundled 

information. Each functional schedule shall provide separate 

columns, as applicable, for each rate adjustment clause 

approved by the commission under § 56-585.1 A 4, 5 or 6. 

(a) a. Provide detailed calculations for all jurisdictional 

allocations for each revenue, expense and rate base USOA 

account used to create Schedules 9 and 10 Schedule 9. 

Allocations should be based on test year average data. 

Show the allocation basis for each primary USOA account 

and for any amount included therein with a unique 

allocation basis. Explain the methodology used and why 

such method is proposed. Discuss all changes in the 

applicant's operations that have materially changed any 

allocation factor since the last rate case. 

(b) b. Provide detailed calculations for all jurisdictional 

allocations for each revenue, expense, and rate base USOA 

account used to create Schedules 19 and 22. Show the 

allocation basis for each primary USOA account and for 

any amount included therein with a unique allocation basis. 

Explain the methodology used and why such method is 

proposed. Discuss all changes in the applicant's operations 

that have materially changed any allocation factor since the 

last rate case. For electric utilities, provide the calculations 

supporting the applicant's line loss percentages. 

Additionally, clearly show the derivation of the 

transmission cost components allocated to Virginia. 

(c) c. Provide a class cost of service study showing the 

allocation basis for each primary USOA account and for 

any amount included therein with a unique allocation basis. 

Explain the methodology used and why such method is 

proposed. Class transmission allocations shall reflect the 

Virginia retail information that has been converted from 

the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) 

approved wholesale information. Provide a detailed 

calculation and explanation showing how the FERC 

wholesale transmission information is converted to 

Virginia retail information. Discuss all changes in the 

applicant's operations that have materially changed any 

allocation factor since the last rate case. 
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(d) d. Applicant shall provide appropriate supporting cost 

data for new allocation methodologies or rate design 

proposals in expedited rate applications. 

Schedule 41 - Proposed Rates and Tariffs 

Instructions: Provide a summary of the rates designed to 

effect the proposed revenue increase. Provide a copy of all 

tariff pages that the applicant proposes to revise in this 

proceeding, with revisions indicated by a dashed line (--) 

through proposed deletions and by underlining proposed 

additions. 

Schedule 42 - Present and Proposed Revenues 

Instructions: 

(a) a. Provide the detailed calculations supporting total per 

books revenues in Column (3) of Schedule 21. The present 

revenues from each of the applicant's services shall be 

determined by multiplying the current rates times the test 

period billing units (by rate block, if applicable). 

(b) b. Provide a detailed calculation supporting total 

adjusted revenues in Column (5) of Schedule 21. The 

proposed revenues from each of applicant's services shall 

be determined by multiplying the proposed rates by the 

adjusted billing units (by rate block, if applicable). Detail 

by rate schedule all miscellaneous charges and other 

revenues, if applicable. Reconcile per books billing units to 

adjusted billing units itemizing changes such as customer 

growth, weather, btu Btu content and miscellaneous 

revenues. The revenue changes for applicant's services 

should be subtotaled into the applicant's traditional 

categories. 

Schedule 43 - Sample Billing 

Instructions: Electric, natural Natural gas and water or sewer 

utilities shall provide a sample billing analysis detailing the 

effect on each rate schedule at representative levels of 

consumption. 

Schedule 44 - Rate Adjustment Clauses Pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 4, 5 or 6 of the Code of Virginia 

Instructions: Use format of attached schedule. 

Applicant shall file a Schedule 44 for each rate clause 

approved by the commission by month for both the first and 

second year of the two successive 12-month test periods in a 

biennial review. 

Provide a calculation of the Allowance for Funds Used 

During Construction rate that was recorded during the test 

year. 

Provide support for the monthly Allowance for Funds Used 

During Construction accruals recorded on the applicant's 

books. 

Provide a schedule of costs for each rate adjustment clause, 

by month and FERC account, for the test year. Indicate which 

clauses the applicant will propose to include in future base 

rates rather than through a separate rate adjustment clause. 

Schedule 45 - Return on Equity Peer Group Benchmark 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall provide all documentation supporting 

the return on equity benchmark proposed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 2 a and b of the Code of Virginia. Such 

documentation shall include a complete list of all potential 

peer group utilities with corresponding returns calculated for 

each of the three years within the requisite three-year period, 

Securities and Exchange Commission documents in which 

such peer group returns are reported for the three-year period, 

a detailed explanation of why utilities were excluded from the 

proxy group, and a spreadsheet showing how such returns 

were calculated. 

Schedule 46 - Projected Rate Adjustment Clause 

Pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 4, A 5 b, c and d or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia 

Instructions: Applicant shall provide a schedule of all 

projected costs by type of cost and year associated with each 

rate adjustment clause pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 4, A 5 b, c 

and d or A 6 of the Code of Virginia that has been approved 

by the commission or for which the applicant is seeking 

initial approval. 

Provide all documents, contracts, studies, investigations or 

correspondence that support projected costs proposed to be 

recovered via a rate adjustment clause. 

Provide the annual revenue requirement over the duration of 

the proposed rate adjustment clause by year and by class. 

Provide a detailed description of all significant accounting 

procedures and internal controls that the company will 

institute to identify all costs associated with each rate 

adjustment clause. 

(a) For a rate adjustment clause filed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 4 of the Code of Virginia provide the docket/case 

number and FERC ruling approving the wholesale 

transmission rate/cost for which the applicant is seeking 

recovery approval. 

(b) For a rate adjustment clause filed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 6 of the Code of Virginia provide information 

relative to the need and prudence of proposed generating 

unit addition(s). 

Applications for rate adjustment clauses for the recovery of 

costs of proposed new generating facilities should also 

provide the following information to demonstrate the 

reasonableness and prudence of the selection of such 

facilities: 
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(a) Feasibility and engineering design studies that support 

the specific plant type and site selected; 

(b) Fuel supply studies that demonstrate the availability 

and adequacy of selected fuels; 

(c) Detailed support for planning assumptions regarding 

plant performance and operating costs, including historical 

information for similar units; 

(d) Economic studies that compare the selected alternative 

with other options considered, including sensitivity 

analyses and production costing simulations of the 

applicant's overall generating resources that demonstrate 

that the selected option is the best alternative; 

(e) Load and generating capacity reserve forecast 

information that demonstrates the need for the plant in the 

in-service year proposed; and 

(f) Detailed cost estimate for the facility, included 

projected costs of construction, transmission 

interconnections, fuel supply related infrastructure 

improvements and project financing. 

Provide detailed information relative to the applicant's 

methodology for allocating the revenue requirement among 

rate classes and the design of the class rates. 

Schedule 47 - Total Aggregated Revenues and Consumer 

Price Index ("CPI") 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall file the following: 

(a) A detailed schedule showing the calculation of total 

aggregate regulated rates as defined in § 56-585.1 A 9 of 

the Code of Virginia for each year beginning with calendar 

year 2010. 

(b) A schedule of annual increases in the United States 

Average Consumer Price Index as described in § 56-585.1 

A 9 beginning with calendar year 2010. Additionally, 

include the annual compounded amount. 

Schedule 48 - Conservation and Ratemaking Efficiency 

Plans 

Instructions: Applications made pursuant to § 56-602 A and 

B or § 56-602 A and C of the Code of Virginia shall file the 

following: 

(1) a. Provide the revenue study or class cost of service 

study relied upon to establish annual per-customer fixed 

costs on an intraclass basis. 

(2) b. Provide detailed calculations supporting 

determinations of current class, normalized or proposed 

class revenues. Such calculations should clearly show 

current, normalized or proposed annual billing 

determinants (by rate block and class). Reconcile per 

books billing units to adjusted billing units itemizing 

changes such as customer growth, weather, and btu Btu 

content and miscellaneous revenues. 

(3) c. Provide detailed calculations supporting the revenues 

produced by the rates, tariff design or mechanism designed 

to effect the proposed conservation and ratemaking 

efficiency plan. Provide illustrative examples if necessary. 

Detail by rate schedule all miscellaneous charges and other 

revenues, if applicable. To the extent any of the 

information requested in this paragraph has been provided 

in (2) above subsection b of these instructions, it does not 

need to be restated. 

(4) d. Provide a sample billing analysis detailing the effect 

of the proposed rates, tariff design or mechanism designed 

to effect the proposed conservation or ratemaking 

efficiency plan on each rate schedule at representative 

levels of consumption. 

(5) e. Provide the detailed calculations showing that the 

rates, tariff design or mechanism designed to effect the 

proposed conservation and ratemaking plan is revenue 

neutral as defined in Chapter 25 (§ 56-600 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia. 

(6) f. Provide a copy of all tariff pages that the applicant 

proposes to revise in this proceeding, with deletions 

indicated by a dashed line (--) and additions indicated by 

an underscore. 

(7) g. Provide a detailed description and analysis of the 

proposed conservation program or programs and a cost 

benefit assessment of the program or programs using the 

Total Resource Cost Test, the Societal Test, the Program 

Administrator Test, the Participant Test, and the Rate 

Impact Measure Test. Detail and support all assumptions 

utilized in the cost benefit assessments. 

(8) h. Provide a detailed narrative describing the proposed 

normalization component that removes the effect of 

weather from the determination of conservation and energy 

efficiency results. Additionally, provide any supporting 

calculation of such component. 

(9) i. Provide a detailed narrative describing the proposed 

decoupling mechanism. 

(10) j. Provide a detailed narrative describing all proposed 

cost-effective conservation and energy efficiency plans. 

(11) k. Provide a detailed narrative describing the 

provisions addressing the needs of low-income or low-

usage residential customers. 

(12) l. Provide a detailed narrative describing provisions 

ensuring that rates and services to nonparticipating classes 

of customers are not adversely impacted. Additionally, 

provide all studies or calculations supporting such 

conclusions. 
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Schedule 49 - Data Pertaining to Nationally Recognized 

Standards for Generating Plant Performance, Customer 

Service, and Operating Efficiency 

Instructions: Investor-owned incumbent electric utilities 

subject to § 56-585.1 A 2 c of the Code of Virginia shall, 

unless otherwise exempted from these instructions, file the 

information listed in paragraph (a), and paragraph (b) if 

applicable, of this schedule, using the definitions provided 

below. Unless otherwise specified, the minimum filing 

requirements shall include annual weighted averages, 

separately, for each of the most recent consecutive six years 

of data including the biennial period under review. Where 

weighted averages are not available, simple averages are 

acceptable. Averages shall be identified as weighted or 

simple. Where six years of data is not available when filed, 

the reason shall be stated and the data shall be provided as 

soon as it becomes available, if at all. In the IOU's initial 

filing under these rules, the IOU may propose and support a 

different benchmark group for each operating efficiency 

performance measure. Once the commission establishes a 

benchmark group for an operating efficiency performance 

measure, the benchmark group shall apply to the operating 

efficiency performance measure in all of the IOU's future 

filings under these rules unless otherwise ordered by the 

commission. To the extent practical, data should be obtained 

from publically available sources such as SEC, FERC, EIA, 

and RTO. In the event the required filing information is not 

available, the IOU shall note the omission and state the 

reason. Investor-owned incumbent electric utilities receiving 

an RPS Performance Incentive pursuant to § 56-585.2 C of 

the Code of Virginia and not seeking a Performance Incentive 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 2 c of the Code of Virginia of more 

than 50 basis points need not submit Schedule 49. 

Definitions for Schedule 49: 

The following words and terms when used in this schedule 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Average retail price" or "total average retail rate" means 

total annual revenues per annual kWh of sales as reported to 

EEI. 

"Average speed of answer" or "ASA" means the average 

time in seconds that callers experience in a queue to reach an 

agent or to initiate a transaction through an interactive voice 

response system. 

"Benchmark group" means one of the following groups of 

investor-owned electric utilities proposed by the IOU for an 

operating efficiency performance measure: MACRUC, ROE 

Peer Group, RTO, SEARUC, and SEE. The IOU may 

propose and support the use of an alternative group of 

investor-owned electric utilities determined by an 

independent expert to be a valid comparable group. 

"Btu" means British thermal unit. 

"EEI" means the Edison Electric Institute. 

"EIA" means the United States Energy Information 

Administration. 

"Equivalent availability factor" or "EAF" means the fraction 

of a given operating period in which a generating unit is 

available without any outages and equipment or seasonal 

deratings. 

"Equivalent forced outage rate on demand" or "EFORd" 

means a measure of the probability that a generating unit will 

not be available due to forced outages or forced deratings 

when there is demand on the unit to generate. When used as a 

measure of historical performance, EFORd is calculated as 

the percentage of total demand time that a unit was 

unavailable due to forced outages or deratings. 

"FERC" means the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 

or its successor agency. 

"FERC Form 1" means 18 CFR 141.1, FERC Form No. 1, 

Annual Report of Major Electric Utilities, Licensees, and 

Others. 

"Fleet maintenance cost" means the sum of all plants' 

maintenance costs from FERC Form 1, pages 402 and 403, 

lines 29-33. 

"Heat rate" or "HR" means how efficiently a generator 

converts heat energy from fuel into electrical energy. Heat 

rate is calculated by dividing the thermal energy consumption 

by the electric energy generated (Btu/kWh). 

"IOU" means investor-owned incumbent electric utility. 

"Interactive voice response" or "IVR" means a technology 

that automates the interaction between the utility and its 

customer. 

"ITP" means the NRC's industry trends program. 

"kWh" means kilowatt-hour. 

"Large coal plant or plants" means a location having coal-

fired generation capacity of greater than 400 MW, excluding 

coal units with capacities of less than 200 MW. 

"MACRUC utility" means a regulated investor-owned 

electric utility having generation, transmission, and 

distribution business within the member states of the Mid-

Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners or 

its successor organization. 

"MW" means megawatt. 

"MWh" means megawatt-hour. 

"NERC" means the North American Electric Reliability 

Corporation or its successor organization. 

"Net capacity factor (nuclear)" or "NCF (nuclear)" means 

the fraction of net energy generated by a nuclear unit 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2205 

compared to the energy it could have generated if operated at 

the net maximum dependable capacity for a year. 

"NRC" means the United States Nuclear Regulatory 

Commission or its successor agency. 

"O&M" means operations and maintenance. 

"O&M efficiency" means total electric O&M expense (from 

FERC Form 1, page 323, line 198) as a percent of total assets 

(from FERC Form 1, page 111, line 85) (or $ per MWh or $ 

per customer). 

"Plant production cost" means total production expense per 

MWh of net output. 

"PWR" means pressurized water reactor. 

"ROE peer group" means the investor-owned electric 

utilities defined under § 56-585.1 A 2 b of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"RTO" means the regional transmission organization of 

which the IOU is a member. 

"SEARUC utility" means a regulated investor-owned 

electric utility having generation, transmission, and 

distribution business within the member states of the 

Southeastern Association of Regulatory Utility 

Commissioners or its successor organization. 

"SEC" means the United States Securities and Exchange 

Commission. 

"SEE utility" means a regulated investor-owned electric 

utility member of the Southeastern Electric Exchange or its 

successor organization having generation, transmission, and 

distribution business. 

"Service level" means the percentage of calls that are 

answered by a call center agent or an IVR within 30 seconds. 

"System average interruption duration index" or "SAIDI" 

means the total duration of interruption for the average 

customer on an annual basis. SAIDI equals the sum of 

customer interruption durations divided by the average total 

number of customers served. 

"System average interruption frequency index" or "SAIFI" 

means the average number of interruptions that a customer 

would experience on an annual basis, expressed as a number. 

SAIFI equals the sum of customer interruptions divided by an 

average total number of customers served. 

"XEFORd" means a measure of the probability that a 

generating unit will not be available due to forced outages or 

forced deratings when there is demand on the unit to generate 

which is the same as EFORd, but excludes events that are 

designated as outside management's control. 

Filing Requirements: 

(a) IOUs subject to § 56-585.1 A 2 c of the Code of 

Virginia shall file the following data for the IOU and, 

separately, for each of the additional listed entities: 

Generating plant performance 

1. EFORd for the system fleet and nonnuclear fleet for 

NERC and the RTO, weighted by the IOU's generation 

capacity per class; 

2. EFORd for each of the following generation class 

categories for NERC and the RTO: fossil all fuel types, 

fossil coal primary, fossil coal primary 200-599 MW, 

fossil coal primary 600 MW plus, fluidized bed, 

combined cycle, gas turbine, and pumped storage; 

3. XEFORd for the RTO; 

4. EAF for each of the following generation class 

categories for NERC and the RTO: fossil all fuel types, 

fossil coal primary, fossil coal primary 200-599 MW, 

fossil coal primary 600 MW plus, fluidized bed, 

combined cycle, gas turbine, and pumped storage; and 

5. Average heat rates for United States coal (steam 

turbine) fleet and natural gas (combined cycle) fleet as 

reported by EIA. 

Customer service 

1. SAIDI both including and excluding major storms (or 

major events) for each RTO utility and each MACRUC 

or SEARUC utility with more than 500,000 customers; 

2. SAIFI both including and excluding major storms (or 

major events) for each RTO utility and each MACRUC 

or SEARUC utility with more than 500,000 customers; 

and 

3. ASA or service level both including and excluding 

calls handled by an IVR for each RTO utility and each 

MACRUC or SEARUC utility with greater than 500,000 

customers. 

Operating efficiency 

1. Total average retail rates for the South Atlantic (as 

defined by EEI), the United States, and each utility in the 

proposed benchmark group; 

2. O&M efficiency for each utility in the proposed 

benchmark group; 

3. Large coal plant production costs for each utility in the 

proposed benchmark group; and 

4. Combined cycle plant production costs for each utility 

in the proposed benchmark group. 

Additional data 
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1. Identify the proposed return on equity basis point 

increase and the revenue requirement impact associated 

with the proposed performance incentive award; 

2. For the biennial period under review, identify , to the 

extent chosen by the IOU, the specific actions taken by 

the IOU to improve generating plant performance, 

customer service, and operating efficiency and the 

incremental costs associated with such specific actions; 

3. Identify, explain, and quantify to the extent possible 

chosen by the IOU the specific benefits (financial and 

otherwise) that customers received during the previous 

biennial review period as a result of the specific actions 

taken by the IOU to improve generating plant 

performance, customer service, and operating efficiency; 

4. Fleet maintenance costs and total electricity generated; 

5. Total distribution reliability improvement expense and 

distribution circuit miles; and 

6. Total routine, tree removal, and hot spot trimming 

expense and miles of right-of-way managed. 

(b) In addition to the information required in paragraph (a) 

of this schedule, IOUs subject to § 56-585.1 A 2 c of the 

Code of Virginia that own and operate nuclear power 

plants shall file the following data for the IOU and, 

separately, for each of the additional listed entities: 

1. NCF (nuclear) for the United States nuclear industry 

and 800-999 MW PWRs; 

2. NCF (nuclear) top quartile, median, and bottom 

quartile over the most recent three-year period (including 

the two years of the biennial period under review, if 

available) for the United States nuclear industry and 800-

999 MW PWRs; 

3. Most recent three-year average (including the two 

years of the biennial period under review, if available) 

and ranking by NCF (nuclear) of the top ranked PWR 

and each of the IOU's nuclear power plant units; 

4. Nuclear plant production cost for 800-999 MW PWRs 

and each of the IOU's nuclear power stations; and 

5. NRC ITP indicators for the IOU and nuclear industry 

(automatic reactor scrams while critical and significant 

events). 

Schedule 50 - Additional Schedules 

Reserved for additional exhibits presented by the applicant 

to be labeled Schedule 50 et seq. 

20VAC5-201-95. Schedules 1 through 14 and exhibits for Chapter 201. 

The following schedules and exhibits are to be used in conjunction with this chapter. 

COMPANY NAME 

HISTORIC PROFITABILITY AND MARKET DATA 

CASE NO. PUE------ 

Exhibit No.: ___________ 

Witness: _____________ 

Schedule 1 

Consolidated Company Profitability and Capital Market Data 4th Year Prior 3rd Year Prior 2nd Year Prior 1st Year Prior Test Period 

A. Ratios           

  

Return on Year End Equity 

Return on Average Equity           

  

Earnings Per Share 

Dividends Per Share 

Payout Ratio           

  

Market Price of Common Stock: 

Year's High 

Year's Low 

Average Price           

  

Dividend Yield on Common Stock: 

Price Earnings Ratio           
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B. External Funds Raised           

  

External Funds Raised - Debt: 

Dollar Amount Raised 

Coupon Rate 

Bond Rating(s)           

    (Rating Service)           

  

External Funds Raised - Preferred Stock: 

Dollar Amount Raised 

Dividend Rate 

Preferred Stock Rating(s)           

    (Rating Service)           

  

External Funds Raised - Common Equity 

Dollar Amount from Public Offering 

Number Shares Issued 

Average Offering Price           

C. Subsidiary Data           

  

Return on Year End Equity 

Return on Average Equity           

  

External Funds Raised - Bonds: 

Dollar Amount Raised 

Coupon Rate 

Bond Rating(s)           

    (Rating Service)           

  

External Funds Raised - Preferred Stock 

Dollar Amount Raised 

Dividend Rate 

Preferred Stock Rating(s)           

    (Rating Service)           

  Equity Capital Transfer           

    

From Parent 

(Dollar Amount-Net)           
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COMPANY NAME 

INTEREST AND CASH FLOW COVERAGE DATA 

CASE NO. PUE------ 

Exhibit No.: ___________ 

Witness: _____________ 

Schedule 2 

Coverage Ratios and Cash Flow Profile Data 4th Year Prior 3rd Year Prior 2nd Year Prior 1st Year Prior Test Period 

A. Consolidated Company Data           

  Interest Coverage Ratio           

    Pre-Tax           

  Cash Flow Coverage Ratios           

    a. Common Dividend Coverage           

    

b. Cash Flow Coverage of Construction 

Expenditures           

    

c. Cash After Dividends Coverage of 

Construction Expenditures           

  Data for Interest Coverage           

    1 Net Income           

    2 Income Taxes           

    3 Interest on Mortgages           

    4 Other Interest           

    5 Total Interest           

    

6 Earnings Before Interest and Taxes (Lines 

1+2+5)           

  Data for Cash Flow Coverage           

    7 Net Income           

    8 AFUDC           

    9 Amortization           

    10 Depreciation           

    11 Change in Deferred Taxes           

    12 Change in Investment Tax Credits           

    13 Preferred Dividends Paid           

    

14 Cash Flow Generated (Lines 1-

8+9+10+11+12-13)           

    15 Construction Expenditures           

    16 Common Dividends Paid           

B. Subsidiary Data           

  Interest Coverage Ratio           

    Pre-Tax (Line 6 / Line 5)           

  Cash Flow Coverage Ratios           

    a. Common Dividend Coverage (Line 14 / 16)           

    

b. Cash Flow Coverage of Construction 

Expenditures (Line 14 / 15)           
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c. Cash After Dividends Coverage of Construction 

Expenditures ((Lines 14-16) / 15)           

  Data for Interest Coverage           

    1 Net Income           

    2 Income Taxes           

    3 Interest on Mortgages           

    4 Other Interest           

    5 Total Interest           

    6 Earnings Before Interest and Taxes           

  Data for Cash Flow Coverage           

    7 Net Income           

    8 AFUDC           

    9 Amortization           

    10 Depreciation           

    11 Change in Deferred Taxes           

    12 Change in Investment Tax Credits           

    13 Preferred Dividends Paid           

    14 Cash Flow Generated           

    15 Construction Expenditures           

    16 Common Dividends Paid           

  

COMPANY NAME 

CAPITAL STRUCTURE AND COST OF CAPITAL STATEMENT - PER BOOKS AND AVERAGE 

CASE NO. PUE------  

Exhibit No.:__ 

Witness: ____ 

Schedule 3 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) 

  

4th Year 

Prior 

3rd Year 

Prior 

2nd Year 

Prior 

1st Year 

Prior Test Period 

Five-Quarter or 13-

Month Average 

A. Capital Structure Per Balance Sheet ($)             

  

Short-Term Debt 
Customer Deposits 

Other Current Liabilities 

Long-Term Debt 
Preferred & Preference Stock 

Common Equity 

Investment Tax Credits 
Other Tax Deferrals 

Other Liabilities 

Total Capitalization 

            

B. Capital Structure Approved for Ratemaking 

Purposes ($) 

            

  

Short-Term Debt 

Long-Term Debt 

Preferred & Preference Stock 
Job Development Credits 

Common Equity 

Other (specify) 

Total Capitalization 
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C. Capital Structure Weights for Ratemaking Purposes             

  

Short-Term Debt 
Long-Term Debt 

Preferred & Preference Stock 

Job Development Credits 
Common Equity 

Other (specify) 

Total Capitalization (100%) 

            

D. Component Capital Cost Rates (%)             

  

Short-Term Debt 

Long-Term Debt 
Preferred & Preference Stock 

Job Development Credits 

Common Equity (Authorized) 

Other (specify) 

            

E. Component Weighted Cost Rates (%)             

  

Short-Term Debt 
Long-Term Debt 

Preferred & Preference Stock 

Job Development Credits 
Common Equity (Authorized) 

Other (specify) 

Weighted Cost of Capital 

            

  

COMPANY NAME 
RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST - PER BOOKS FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

USING THIRTEEN MONTH AVERAGE RATE BASE AND COMMON EQUITY 

Exhibit No.: ___________ 

Witness: _____________ 

Schedule 9 

    (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

LINE 

NO.   

Total 

Company 

Non-

Jurisdictional 

Virginia 

Cost of 
Service 

Amount 

(1)-(2) 

Retail 

Transmission 

Per Books 

Generation 

Per Books 

Distribution 

Per Books 

Virginia 

Jurisdictional 
Gen. and Distr. 

Cost of Service 

(5)+(6) 

1 OPERATING REVENUE             

2 OPERATING REVENUE 

DEDUCTIONS 

            

3   OPERATION & 

MAINTENANCE EXPENSE 
            

4   DEPRECIATION & 

AMORTIZATION 

            

5   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES             

6   STATE INCOME TAXES             

7   TAXES OTHER THAN 

INCOME TAXES 
            

8   (GAIN)/LOSS ON 

DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY 

            

9 TOTAL OPERATING 

REVENUE DEDUCTIONS 

            

10 OPERATING INCOME             

11   PLUS: AFUDC             

12   LESS: CHARITABLE 

DONATIONS 
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13     INTEREST 

EXPENSE ON 
CUSTOMER 

DEPOSITS 

            

14     INTEREST ON 
SUPPLIER 

REFUNDS 

            

15     OTHER INTEREST 

EXPENSE/(INCOME) 

            

16 ADJUSTED OPERATING 

INCOME 

            

17   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/ 

(EXPENSE) 
            

18   LESS: INTEREST 

EXPENSE-BOOKED 

            

19     PREFERRED 

DIVIDENDS 

            

20     JDC CAPITAL 

EXPENSE 
n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a n/a 

21 INCOME AVAILABLE FOR 

COMMON EQUITY 

            

22 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 

            

23   PLUS: NET UTILITY 

PLANT 
            

24   LESS: OTHER RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS 

            

25 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE 

BASE 

            

26 TOTAL AVERAGE CAPITAL             

27 AVERAGE COMMON EQUITY 

CAPITAL 

            

28 % RATE OF RETURN 

EARNED ON AVG. RATE 

BASE 

            

29 % RATE OF RETURN 

EARNED ON AVG. COMMON 

EQ. 

            

Notes: 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, Column (2) nonjurisdictional shall include generation, transmission and distribution amounts 

attributable to nonjurisdictional customers. 

Retail transmission shall not be excluded in this column. 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST  
GENERATION AND DISTRIBUTION - PER BOOKS FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

USING THIRTEEN MONTH AVERAGE RATE BASE AND COMMON EQUITY 

Exhibit No.: ________ 
Witness: __________ 

Schedule 10 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) 

    

Virginia Juris. 

Cost of Service 

Including Rate 

Adjusting Clauses 

Rate Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, 

c or d 

Rate Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 6 

Virginia Juris. 

Cost of Service 

Excluding Rate 
Adjustment 

Clauses 

(1)-(2)-(3) 

LINE NO.       

1 OPERATING REVENUE     

2 OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS     

3   OPERATION & MAINTENANCE EXPENSE     

4   DEPRECIATION & AMORTIZATION     

5   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES     

6   STATE INCOME TAXES     

7   TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME TAXES     

8   (GAIN)/LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF 

PROPERTY 

    

9 TOTAL OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS     

10 OPERATING INCOME     

11   PLUS: AFUDC     

12   LESS: CHARITABLE DONATIONS     

13     INTEREST EXPENSE ON 

CUSTOMER DEPOSITS 

    

14     INTEREST ON SUPPLIER 

REFUNDS 

    

15     OTHER INTEREST 

EXPENSE/(INCOME) 

    

16 ADJUSTED OPERATING INCOME     

17   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSE)     

18   LESS: INTEREST EXPENSE-BOOKED     

19     PREFERRED DIVIDENDS     

20     JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE n/a n/a n/a n/a 

21 INCOME AVAILABLE FOR COMMON EQUITY     

22   ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL     

23   PLUS: NET UTILITY PLANT     

24   LESS: OTHER RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS 

    

25 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE BASE     

26 TOTAL AVERAGE CAPITAL     

27 AVERAGE COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL     

28 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON AVG. RATE BASE     

29 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON AVG. COMMON EQ.     

Note:  

Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 9 Column (7). 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST  
ADJUSTED TO A REGULATORY ACCOUNTING BASIS FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

USING THIRTEEN MONTH AVERAGE RATE BASE AND COMMON EQUITY 

Exhibit No.: ____ 

Witness: ______ 

Schedule 11 

    (1) (2) (3) 

LINE NO.   

Per Books Virginia 

Juris. Cost of Service 

Regulatory Accounting 

Adjustments 

Virginia Jurisdictional 

Cost of Service after 

Adjustments 

(1)+(2) 

1 OPERATING REVENUE      

2 OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS      

3   OPERATION & MAINTENANCE EXPENSE      

4   DEPRECIATION & AMORTIZATION      

5   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES      

6   STATE INCOME TAXES      

7   TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME TAXES      

8   (GAIN)/LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY      

9 TOTAL OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS      

10 OPERATING INCOME      

11   PLUS: AFUDC      

12   LESS: CHARITABLE DONATIONS      

13     INTEREST EXPENSE ON CUSTOMER 

DEPOSITS 

     

14     INTEREST ON SUPPLIER REFUNDS      

15     OTHER INTEREST EXPENSE/(INCOME)      

16 ADJUSTED OPERATING INCOME      

17   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSE)      

18   LESS: INTEREST EXPENSE-BOOKED      

19     PREFERRED DIVIDENDS      

20     JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE      

21 INCOME AVAILABLE FOR COMMON EQUITY      

22   ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL      

23   PLUS: NET UTILITY PLANT      

24   LESS: OTHER RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS      

25 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE BASE      

26 TOTAL AVERAGE CAPITAL      

27 AVERAGE COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL      

28 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON AVG. RATE BASE      

29 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON AVG. COMMON EQ.      

Note:  
Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 10 Column (4) and shall exclude Rate Adjustment 

Clauses. 

Column (1) amounts for utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 shall come from Schedule 9 Column (3). 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST - PER BOOKS 

THIRTEEN-MONTH AVERAGE PER BOOKS RATE BASE 

Exhibit No.: ___________ 

Witness: _____________ 

Schedule 12 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

LINE 

NO.   

Total 

Company 

Non-

Jurisdictional 

Virginia Cost of 

Service Amount 

(1)-(2) 

Retail 

Transmission 

Per Books 

Generation 

Per Books 

 
 

 

Distribution 

Per Books 

Virginia 
Jurisdictional 

Gen. and Distr. 

Cost of Service 

(5)+(6) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR 

WORKING CAPITAL 

            

2 MATERIAL AND 

SUPPLIES 
            

3 CASH WORKING 
CAPITAL (LEAD LAG 

STUDY) 

            

4 DEFERRED 
FUEL/DEFERRED GAS 

NET OF FIT 

            

5 OTHER WORKING 

CAPITAL 

            

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE 

FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 

            

7 NET UTILITY PLANT             

8 UTILITY PLANT IN 

SERVICE 

            

9 ACQUISITION 

ADJUSTMENTS 

            

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK 

IN PROGRESS 

            

11 PLANT HELD FOR 

FUTURE USE 

            

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED 

PROVISION FOR 

DEPRECIATION 

            

13   AND 

AMORTIZATION 

            

14   CUSTOMER 

ADVANCES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION 

            

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY 

PLANT 
            

16 RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS 

            

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS             

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS             

19 ACCUMULATED 

DEFERRED INCOME 

TAXES 

            

20 OTHER COST FREE 

CAPITAL 

            

21 TOTAL RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS 
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22 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE 

BASE 

            

Note: 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, Column (2) nonjurisdictional shall include generation, transmission and distribution amounts 

attributable to nonjurisdictional customers. 

Retail transmission shall not be excluded in this column. 

 

COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST 
GENERATION AND DISTRIBUTION PER BOOKS 

THIRTEEN-MONTH AVERAGE PER BOOKS RATE BASE 

Exhibit No.: ________ 

Witness: __________ 

Schedule 13 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) 

LINE NO.   

Virginia Juris. Cost of 
Service Including Rate 

Adjustment Clauses 

Rate Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant to  
§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, c or 

d 

 

 

 

Rate 

Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant 
to § 56-585.1 A 

6 

Virginia Juris. 

Cost of Service 

Excluding Rate 

Adjustment 

Clauses 

(1)-(2)-(3) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL       

2 MATERIAL AND SUPPLIES       

3 CASH WORKING CAPITAL (LEAD LAG 

STUDY) 

      

4 DEFERRED FUEL/DEFERRED GAS NET OF 

FIT 

      

5 OTHER WORKING CAPITAL       

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 

      

7 NET UTILITY PLANT       

8 UTILITY PLANT IN SERVICE       

9 ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENTS       

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS       

11 PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE       

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED PROVISION 

FOR DEPRECIATION 

      

13   AND AMORTIZATION       

14   CUSTOMER ADVANCES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION 

      

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY PLANT       

16 RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS       

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS       

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS       

19 ACCUMULATED DEFERRED INCOME 

TAXES 

      

20 OTHER COST FREE CAPITAL       

21 TOTAL RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS       

22 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE BASE       

Note: 

Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 12 Column (7). 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT - EARNINGS TEST 
ADJUSTED TO A REGULATORY ACCOUNTING BASIS 

THIRTEEN-MONTH AVERAGE PER BOOKS RATE BASE  

Exhibit No.: _______ 

Witness: _________ 

Schedule 14 

  (1) (2) (3) 

LINE NO.   

Per Books Virginia 

Juris. Cost of Service 

Regulatory Accounting 

Adjustments 

Virginia Jurisdictional Cost of 

Service after Adjustments 

(1)+(2) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL      

2 MATERIAL AND SUPPLIES      

3 CASH WORKING CAPITAL (LEAD LAG 

STUDY) 

     

4 DEFERRED FUEL/DEFERRED GAS NET OF 

FIT 

     

5 OTHER WORKING CAPITAL      

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 

     

7 NET UTILITY PLANT      

8 UTILITY PLANT IN SERVICE      

9 ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENTS      

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS      

11 PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE      

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED PROVISION 

FOR DEPRECIATION 
     

13   AND AMORTIZATION      

14   CUSTOMER ADVANCES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION 

     

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY PLANT      

16 RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS      

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS      

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS      

19 ACCUMULATED DEFERRED INCOME 

TAXES 
     

20 OTHER COST FREE CAPITAL      

21 TOTAL RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS      

22 TOTAL AVERAGE RATE BASE      

Notes: 
Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 13 Column (4) and shall exclude Rate 

Adjustment Clauses. 

Column (1) amounts for utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 12 Column (3). 
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20VAC5-201-100. Schedules 15 through 22 and exhibits for Chapter 201. 

The following schedules and exhibits are to be used in conjunction with this chapter. 

COMPANY NAME 
SCHEDULE OF REGULATORY ASSETS 

AS OF --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: ___ 
Witness: _____ 

Schedule 15 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) 

Account 

Number Description 

Start of Year 

Date System 

Amount 

Year Juris. 

Factor 

Start of Year 

Date Juris. 

Amount 

Test Year 

Amortization 

Expense 

Test Year Accruals End of Year Date 

Adjusted Amount 

_____ 

Individual Regulatory 

Asset 
        

_____ 

Related Deferred Income 

Tax 

        

_____           

_____ 

Individual Regulatory 

Asset 

        

_____ 

Related Deferred Income 

Tax 

        

_____           

_____ 

Individual Regulatory 

Asset 

        

_____ 

Related Deferred Income 

Tax 
        

            

  Totals         

 

COMPANY NAME 

DETAIL OF REGULATORY ACCOUNTING ADJUSTMENTS 

REFLECTED IN COL. (--) OF SCHEDULES -- AND -- 

Exhibit No.: _________ 

Witness: ___________ 

Schedule 16 

ADJ. 

NO. ADJUSTMENT AMOUNT 

  INCOME ADJUSTMENTS   

  OPERATING REVENUE ADJUSTMENTS   

  OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  DEPRECIATION EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  INCOME TAXES ADJUSTMENTS   

  TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME ADJUSTMENTS   

  GAIN ON PROPERTY DISPOSITION ADJUSTMENTS   

  CHARITABLE DONATIONS ADJUSTMENTS   

  OTHER INTEREST EXPENSE/(INCOME) ADJUSTMENTS   

  INTEREST EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  PREFERRED DIVIDENDS ADJUSTMENTS   

  JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL ADJUSTMENTS   

  ELECTRIC PLANT IN SERVICE ADJUSTMENTS   
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  PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE ADJUSTMENTS   

  CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS ADJUSTMENTS   

  ACCUMULATED DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION ADJUSTMENTS   

  OTHER RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS ADJUSTMENTS   

  COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL ADJUSTMENTS   

  

COMPANY NAME 

LEAD/LAG CASH WORKING CAPITAL CALCULATION - EARNINGS TEST 

FOR THE YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

SUPPORTING COLUMN -- OF SCHEDULE -- 

Exhibit No.:____ 

Witness:_______ 

Schedule 17 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) 

  

Virginia 

Juris. Per 

Books 

Amounts 

Per Books 

Regulatory 

Accounting 

Adjustments 

Amounts 

After Adj. 

Average 

Daily 

Amount 

Expense 

(Lead)/Lag 

Days 

Revenue 

Lag 

Net 

(Lead)/Lag 

Days 

Working 

Capital 

(Provided)/ 

Required 

OPERATING 

EXPENSES 

  

O&M Expenses:   

  Account # - 

Fuel Clause 

  

  Account # - 

Fuel Clause 
  

  Account # - 

Fuel Clause 

  

  Account # - 

Deferred Fuel 

  

  Payroll 

Expense 

  

  Benefits and 
Pension 

Expense 

  

  OPEB Expense   

  Regulatory 

Asset 

Amortization 

Expense 

  

  Uncollectible 

Expense 

  

  Stores Issues   

  Stored 

Undistributed 

  

  Accrued 

Vacation 

Expense 

  

  Prepaid 

Insurance 

Amortization 

Expense 

  

  Worker's 

Compensation 

Expense 
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  Directors' 

Deferred 
Compensation 

Exp. 

  

  Storm Damage 

Expense 

  

  Transition Cost 

Expense 

  

  Restructuring 

Expense 
  

  Contingent 

Liabilities 

  

  Other O&M 

Expenses 

  

Depreciation 

Expense: 

  

  Depreciation 

Expense 

  

  Amortization 

Expense 

  

  Amortization 

Expense 
  

  Amortization of 
Regulatory 

Assets 

  

Federal Income 

Taxes:   

  Current   

  Deferred   

  DFIT on items 

excluded from 

Rate Base 

  

  Deferred ITC   

State Income Tax 

Expense   

Taxes Other Than 

Income:   

  Property Tax 

Expense 

  

  Valuation Tax 

Expense 

  

  Business and 

Occupation Tax 

Expense 

  

  Payroll Tax 

Expense 
  

  Other Taxes   

AFUDC   

Gain/Loss of 
Disposition of 

Property 

  

Charitable Donations   
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Interest on Customer 

Deposits 

  

Other 

Expense/Income  

(A-t-l) 

  

Other 

Income/Expense  

(B-t-l) 

  

Interest Expense   

Preferred Dividends   

JDC Expense   

Income Available for 

Common Equity 
  

Totals   

    

Plus: Customer 

Utility Taxes 

  

    

BALANCE SHEET 

ITEMS 

  

    

TOTAL CASH 

WORKING 

CAPITAL 

  

  

COMPANY NAME 
BALANCE SHEET ANALYSIS - EARNINGS TEST 

FOR THE THIRTEEN MONTHS ENDED --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 
Witness:___ 

Schedule 18 

Additional Uses of Average Cash Working Capital 

    

Month 

Prior 

to 
Test 

Yr. 

First 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Second 

Month 
of Test 

Yr. 

Third 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Fourth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Fifth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Sixth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Seventh 

Month 

of  
Test 

Yr. 

Eighth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Ninth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Tenth 

Month 

of 
Test 

Yr. 

Eleventh 

Month 

of  
Test 

 Yr. 

Twelfth 

Month 

of 
 Test 

Yr. 

Thirteen 
Month 

Average 

Account 

Number 

Account 

Title   

  

Individual 

Uses of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Uses of 

Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 
Uses of 

Cash 

Working 

Capital   
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Individual 

Uses of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital   

Total Additional Uses 

of Average Cash 

Working Capital   

    

Additional Sources of 

Average Cash Working 

Capital   

    

Account 

Number 

Account 

Title   

Thirteen 
Month 

Average 

  

Individual 
Sources 

of Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Sources 
of Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Sources 

of Cash 
Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Sources 

of Cash 

Working 

Capital   

    

Total Additional 
Sources of Average 

Cash Working Capital   

    

Net (Source)/Use of 

Average Cash Working 

Capital   
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT - PER BOOKS 

FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: _______ 

Witness:__________ 

Schedule 19 

    (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

Line 

No.   

Total 

Company 

Non-

Jurisdictional 

Virginia 
Cost of 

Service 

Amount 

(1)-(2) 

Retail 

Transmission Generation Distribution 

Virginia 
Jurisdictional 

Gen. and Distr. 

Cost of Service 

(5)+(6) 

1 OPERATING REVENUES   

2   BASE RATE REVENUES 

3   FUEL REVENUES 

4   LATE PAYMENT FEES 

5   OTHER OPERATING REVENUES 

      

6 TOTAL OPERATING 

REVENUES 

  

      

7 OPERATING REVENUE 

DEDUCTIONS 

  

8   OPERATION & MAINTENANCE EXPENSE 

9   DEPRECIATION & AMORTIZATION 

10   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES 

11   STATE INCOME TAXES 

12   TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME TAXES 

13   GAIN)/LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY 

      

14 TOTAL OPERATING 

REVENUE 

DEDUCTIONS 

  

      

15 OPERATING INCOME   

      

16   PLUS: AFUDC 

17   LESS: CHARITABLE DONATIONS 

18     INTEREST EXPENSE ON CUSTOMER DEPOSITS 

19     OTHER INTEREST EXPENSE/(INCOME) 

      

20 ADJUSTED 

OPERATING INCOME 

  

      

21   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSE) 

22   LESS: INTEREST EXPENSE 

23     PREFERRED DIVIDENDS 

24     JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE 
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25 INCOME AVAILABLE 

FOR COMMON 

EQUITY 

  

      

26   ALLOWANCE 
FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 

  

27   PLUS: NET UTILITY PLANT 

28   LESS: OTHER RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS 

      

29 TOTAL RATE BASE   

      

30 TOTAL CAPITAL   

      

31 COMMON EQUITY 

CAPITAL 
  

      

32 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON RATE BASE 

33 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON COMMON EQUITY 

34 % EQUITY RETURN AUTHORIZED 

Notes: 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, Column (2) nonjurisdictional shall include generation, transmission and distribution amounts 

attributable to nonjurisdictional customers. 

Retail transmission shall not be excluded in this column. 

  

COMPANY NAME 

RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT 
GENERATION AND DISTRIBUTION PER BOOKS 

FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 
Witness:___ 

Schedule 20 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) 

Line 

No.   

Virginia Juris. Cost 

of Service Including 
Rate Adjustment 

Clauses 

Rate Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant to 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, c 

or d 

Rate Adjustment 
Clause Pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 6 

Virginia Juris. Cost 

of Service 

Excluding Rate 
Adjustment Clauses 

(1)-(2)-(3) 

1 OPERATING REVENUES   

2   BASE RATE REVENUES   

3   FUEL REVENUES   

4   LATE PAYMENT FEES   

5   OTHER OPERATING REVENUES   

6 TOTAL OPERATING REVENUES   

7 OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS   

8 
  

OPERATION & MAINTENANCE 

EXPENSE   

9   DEPRECIATION & AMORTIZATION   

10   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES   

11   STATE INCOME TAXES   
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12 

  

TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME 

TAXES   

13 
  

(GAIN)/LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF 

PROPERTY   

14 TOTAL OPERATING REVENUE 

DEDUCTIONS   

15 OPERATING INCOME   

16   PLUS: AFUDC 

17   LESS: CHARITABLE DONATIONS 

18     INTEREST EXPENSE ON CUSTOMER DEPOSITS 

19     OTHER INTEREST EXPENSE/(INCOME) 

20 ADJUSTED OPERATING INCOME   

21   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSE) 

22   LESS: INTEREST EXPENSE 

23     PREFERRED DIVIDENDS 

24     JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE 

25 INCOME AVAILABLE FOR COMMON 

EQUITY   

26 

  

ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL   

27   PLUS: NET UTILITY PLANT   

28 

  

LESS: OTHER RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS   

29 TOTAL RATE BASE   

30 TOTAL CAPITAL   

31 COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL   

32 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON RATE 

BASE   

33 % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON 

COMMON EQUITY   

34 % EQUITY RETURN AUTHORIZED   

Note: 

Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 19 Column (7), 

  

COMPANY NAME 
RATE OF RETURN STATEMENT 

REFLECTING RATEMAKING ADJUSTMENTS 

FOR THE TEST YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness:___ 

Schedule 21 

    (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) 

LINE 

NO.   

Virginia 

Juris. Cost 

of Service 

Ratemaking 

Adjustments 

Virginia 

Jurisdictional 
Cost of Service 

after 

Adjustments 

(1)+(2) 

Revenue 

Requirement 

for a --% ROE 

Amounts after 

Revenue 

Requirement 

(3)+(4) 

1 OPERATING REVENUES   

2   BASE RATE REVENUES   

3   FUEL REVENUES   
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4   LATE PAYMENT FEES   

5   OTHER OPERATING REVENUES   

6   TOTAL OPERATING REVENUES   

7   OPERATING REVENUE DEDUCTIONS   

8 

  

OPERATION & MAINTENANCE 

EXPENSE   

9   DEPRECIATION & AMORTIZATION   

10   FEDERAL INCOME TAXES   

11   STATE INCOME TAXES   

12   TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME TAXES   

13 

  

(GAIN)/LOSS ON DISPOSITION OF 

PROPERTY   

14 

  

TOTAL OPERATING REVENUE 

DEDUCTIONS   

15   OPERATING INCOME   

16   PLUS: AFUDC   

17   LESS: CHARITABLE DONATIONS   

18 
    

INTEREST EXPENSE ON 

CUSTOMER DEPOSITS   

19 

    

OTHER INTEREST 

EXPENSE/(INCOME)   

20   ADJUSTED OPERATING INCOME   

21   PLUS: OTHER INCOME/(EXPENSE)   

22   LESS: INTEREST EXPENSE   

23     PREFERRED DIVIDENDS   

24     JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE   

25 
  

INCOME AVAILABLE FOR COMMON 

EQUITY   

26   ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL   

27   PLUS: NET UTILITY PLANT   

28   LESS: OTHER RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS   

29   TOTAL RATE BASE   

30   TOTAL CAPITAL   

31   COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL   

32   % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON RATE 

BASE   

33   % RATE OF RETURN EARNED ON 

COMMON EQUITY   

34   % EQUITY RETURN AUTHORIZED   

Note: 

Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 20 Column (4) and shall exclude Rate Adjustment 

Clauses. 

Column (1) amounts for utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 19 Column (3). 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT - PER BOOKS 

AS OF --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness:___ 

Schedule 22 

    (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

LINE 

NO.   

Total 

Company 

Non-

Jurisdictional 

Virginia 

Cost of 

Service 
Amount 

(1)-(2) 

Retail 
Transmission 

Per Books 

Generation 

Per Books 

Distribution 

Per Books 

Virginia 
Jurisdictional 

Gen. and 

Distr. Cost of 
Service 

(5)+(6) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL   

2 MATERIAL AND SUPPLIES   

3 CASH WORKING CAPITAL 

(LEAD LAG STUDY)   

4 DEFERRED FUEL/DEFERRED 

GAS NET OF FIT   

5 OTHER WORKING CAPITAL   

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE FOR 

WORKING CAPITAL   

7 NET UTILITY PLANT   

8 UTILITY PLANT IN SERVICE   

9 ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENT   

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK IN 

PROGRESS   

11 PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE 

USE   

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED 

PROVISION FOR 

DEPRECIATION   

13 

  

AND 

AMORTIZATION   

14 

  

CUSTOMER 

ADVANCES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION   

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY PLANT   

16 RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS   

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS   

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS   

19 ACCUMULATED DEFERRED 

INCOME TAXES   

20 OTHER COST FREE CAPITAL   

21 TOTAL RATE BASE 

DEDUCTIONS   

22 TOTAL RATE BASE   

Notes: 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, Column (2) nonjurisdictional shall include generation, transmission and distribution amounts 

attributable to nonjurisdictional customers. 

Retail transmission shall not be excluded in this column. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2227 

20VAC5-201-110. Schedules 23 24 through 28, and 40 and 44 and exhibits for Chapter 201. 

The following schedules and exhibits are to be used in conjunction with this chapter. 

COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT - GENERATION AND DISTRIBUTION PER BOOKS AS OF --/--/--  

Exhibit No.: 
Witness:___ 

Schedule 23 

    (1) (2) (3) (4) 

LINE 

NO.   

Virginia Juris. Cost 

of Service 

Including Rate 
Adjustment 

Clauses 

Rate Adjustment 

Clause Pursuant to 
§ 56-585.1 A 5 b, 

c or d 

Rate Adjustment 
Clause Pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 6 

Virginia Juris. Cost 

of Service 

Excluding Rate 
Adjustment 

Clauses (1)-(2)-(3) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL   

2 MATERIAL AND SUPPLIES   

3 CASH WORKING CAPITAL (LEAD LAG 

STUDY) 

  

4 DEFERRED FUEL/DEFERRED GAS NET 

OF FIT 
  

5 OTHER WORKING CAPITAL   

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING 

CAPITAL 
  

7 NET UTILITY PLANT   

8 UTILITY PLANT IN SERVICE   

9 ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENT   

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS   

11 PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE   

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED 

PROVISION FOR 

DEPRECIATION 

  

13   AND AMORTIZATION   

14   CUSTOMER ADVANCES 

FOR CONSTRUCTION 

  

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY PLANT   

16 RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS   

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS   

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS   

19 ACCUMULATED DEFERRED INCOME 

TAXES 

  

20 OTHER COST FREE CAPITAL   

21 TOTAL RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS   

22 TOTAL RATE BASE   

Note: 

Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 22 Column (7). 
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COMPANY NAME 

RATE BASE STATEMENT REFLECTING RATEMAKING ADJUSTMENTS AS OF --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness: 

Schedule 24 

    (1) (2) (3) 

LINE 

NO.   

Per Books Virginia 
Juris. Cost of 

Service 

Ratemaking 

Adjustments 

Virginia Jurisdictional 

Cost of Service after 

Adjustments 

(1)+(2) 

1 ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL         

2 MATERIAL AND SUPPLIES    

3 CASH WORKING CAPITAL (LEAD LAG STUDY)    

4 DEFERRED FUEL/DEFERRED GAS NET OF FIT    

5 OTHER WORKING CAPITAL    

6 TOTAL ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL    

7 NET UTILITY PLANT    

8 UTILITY PLANT IN SERVICE    

9 ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENT    

10 CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS    

11 PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE    

12 LESS: ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR 

DEPRECIATION 
   

13   AND AMORTIZATION    

14   CUSTOMER ADVANCES FOR 

CONSTRUCTION 
   

15 TOTAL NET UTILITY PLANT    

16 RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS    

17 CUSTOMER DEPOSITS    

18 SUPPLIER REFUNDS    

19 ACCUMULATED DEFERRED INCOME TAXES    

20 OTHER COST FREE CAPITAL    

21 TOTAL RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS    

22 TOTAL RATE BASE    

Notes: 
Column (1) amounts for utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 23 Column (4) and shall exclude Rate Adjustment 

Clauses. 

Column (1) amounts for utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall come from Schedule 22 Column (3). 
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COMPANY NAME 
DETAIL OF RATEMAKING ADJUSTMENTS 

REFLECTED IN COL. (--) OF SCHEDULES -- AND -- 

Exhibit No.: __ 
Witness:___ 

Schedule 25 

ADJ. 

NO. ADJUSTMENT AMOUNT 

  INCOME ADJUSTMENTS   

  OPERATING REVENUE ADJUSTMENTS   

  OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  DEPRECIATION EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  INCOME TAX ADJUSTMENTS   

  TAXES OTHER THAN INCOME ADJUSTMENTS   

  GAIN ON PROPERTY DISPOSITION ADJUSTMENTS   

  CHARITABLE DONATION ADJUSTMENTS   

  OTHER INTEREST EXPENSE/(INCOME) ADJUSTMENTS   

  INTEREST EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  PREFERRED DIVIDENDS ADJUSTMENTS   

  JDC CAPITAL EXPENSE ADJUSTMENTS   

  ALLOWANCE FOR WORKING CAPITAL ADJUSTMENTS   

  ELECTRIC PLANT IN SERVICE ADJUSTMENTS   

  PLANT HELD FOR FUTURE USE ADJUSTMENTS   

  CONSTRUCTION WORK IN PROGRESS ADJUSTMENTS   

  ACCUMULATED DEPRECIATION AND AMORTIZATION ADJUSTMENTS   

  OTHER RATE BASE DEDUCTIONS ADJUSTMENTS   

  COMMON EQUITY CAPITAL   

  

COMPANY NAME 

REVENUE REQUIREMENT RECONCILIATION Schedule 26 

  Revenue Requirement 

Per Books Revenue Deficiency   

Capital Structure Changes   

Rate Base Update   

Other Rate Base Adjustments   

Payroll, Benefits and Payroll Taxes   

Other Business and Affiliate Charges   

Storm Damage   

Decommissioning   

Other Revenue Adjustments   

Other Miscellaneous Adjustments   

Company Proposed Revenue Requirement   

Note: The topics or subjects listed above are included for illustrative purposes. Applicant's schedule should include company specific 

topics/subjects. 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

COMPANY NAME 
REVENUE REQUIREMENT RECONCILIATION 

Supporting Schedule 

Supporting Schedule 26 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

  Amounts 

Net of Tax 

Overall 

Cost of 

Capital 

Required 

AOI 

(1)*(2) 

1-Fit 

Rate 

Subtotal 

(3)*(4) 

Gross-up 

Factor 

Revenue 

Requirement 

(5)/(6) 

Per Books Revenue Deficiency 

Capital Structure Items: 
ROE from 11.5% to 10.5% (midpoint of 

range) 

Capital Structure Changes 

Total Capital Structure Charges 

  

Rate Base Update: 

Rate Base Update 
Customer Growth 

Late Payment Revenues 

Depreciation Expense 
Property Tax Expense 

Liberalized Depreciation 
Liberalized Depreciation - New Rates 

Clover Allocation Factor 

Accumulated Depreciation - Current 

Rates 

Total Rate Base Update 

  

Other Rate Base Adjustments: 

Deferred Fuel at 100% 

Contra-AFC Connection 

Cash Working Capital on Sch. D and E 

Total other Rate Base Adjustments 

  

Payroll, Benefits and Payroll Taxes: 

Employee Payroll 
Fringe Benefits 

Incentive Pay 

OPEB Expense 

Payroll Taxes 

Total Payroll, Benefits and Payroll 

Taxes 

  

Storm Damage: 

Storm Damage Expense & Related OT 

Storm Damage Payroll Taxes 

Total Storm Damage 

  

Other Revenue Adjustments: 

Transmission Service Revenues 

Wholesale Contract Renegotiations 

Total Other Revenue Adjustments 
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Other Miscellaneous Adjustments 

FIT on per books JDC 
FIT on other Interest and Preferred 

Dividends 

Computer Leases 
Obsolete Inventory Amortization 

Nonoperating Expenses 

Fuel Handling Expense 
West Virginia State Income Taxes 

Interest on Customer Deposits 

Advertising Expense 
Miscellaneous 

Charitable Donations 

Total Other Miscellaneous 

Adjustments 

  

Company Proposed Revenue 

Requirement 

  

  

COMPANY NAME 

LEAD/LAG CASH WORKING CAPITAL CALCULATION - ADJUSTED 

FOR THE YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

SUPPORTING COLUMN -- OF SCHEDULE -- 

Exhibit No.:____ 

Witness:_______ 

Schedule 27 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) 

  

Virginia 

Juris. Per 

Books 

Amounts 

Rulemaking 

Adjustments 

Amounts 

After Adj. 

Average 

Daily 

Amount 

Expense 

(Lead)/Lag 

Days 

Revenue 

Lag 

Net 

(Lead)/Lag 

Days 

Working 

Capital 

(Provided)/ 

Required 

OPERATING EXPENSES   

O&M Expenses:   

  Account # - Fuel 

Clause 

Account # - Fuel 
Clause 

Account # - Fuel 

Clause 
Account # - Deferred 

Fuel 

Payroll Expense 
Benefits and Pension 

Expense 

OPEB Expense 
Regulatory Asset 

Amortization 

Expense 
Uncollectible 

Expense 

Stores Issues 
Stored Undistributed 

Accrued Vacation 

Expense 

Prepaid Insurance 

Amortization 

Expense 
Worker's 

Compensation 

Expense 
Directors' Deferred 

Compensation Exp. 

Storm Damage 
Expense 

Transition Cost 

Expense 
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Restructuring 

Expense 
Contingent Liabilities 

Other O&M 

Expenses 

Depreciation Expense:   

  Depreciation 

Expense 
Amortization 

Expense 

Amortization 
Expense 

Amortization of 

Regulatory Assets 

  

Federal Income Taxes:   

  Current 

Deferred 

DFIT on items 

excluded from Rate 

Base 

Deferred ITC 

  

State Income Tax Expense   

Taxes Other Than Income:   

  Property Tax 

Expense 

Valuation Tax 
Expense 

Business and 

Occupation Tax 
Expense 

Payroll Tax Expense 

Other Taxes 

  

AFUDC   

Gain/Loss of Disposition of 

Property 

  

Charitable Donations   

Interest on Customer 

Deposits 

  

Other Expense/ 

Income (A-t-l) 
  

Other Income/Expense  

(B-t-l) 

  

Interest Expense   

Preferred Dividends   

JDC Expense   

Income Available for 

Common Equity 

  

Totals   

Plus: Customer Utility 

Taxes 

  

BALANCE SHEET 

ITEMS 

  

TOTAL CASH 

WORKING CAPITAL 
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COMPANY NAME 

BALANCE SHEET ANALYSIS – ADJUSTED 

AS OF --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness:___ 

Schedule 28 

  

First 

Month 

Second 

Month 

Third 

Month 

Fourth 

Month 

Fifth 

Month 

Sixth 

Month 

Seventh 

Month 

Eighth 

Month 

Ninth 

Month 

Tenth 

Month 

Eleventh 

Month 

Twelfth 

Month 

Thirteen 

Month 

Average 

Additional Uses of 

Cash Working Capital   

Account 

Number 

Account 

Title   

  

Individual 
Uses of 

Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Uses of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 

Uses of 

Cash 
Working 

Capital   

  

Individual 
Uses of 

Cash 

Working 

Capital   

Total Additional Uses 

of Average Cash 

Working Capital   

    

Additional Sources of 
Average Cash 

Working Capital   

Account 

Number 

Account 

Title   

Thirteen 
Month 

Average 

  

Individual 
Sources of 

Cash 

Working 

Capital     

  

Individual 

Sources of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital     

  

Individual 

Sources of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital     
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Individual 

Sources of 
Cash 

Working 

Capital     

      

Total Additional 

Sources of Cash 

Working Capital     

      

Net (Source)/Use of 

Cash Working Capital     

  

COMPANY NAME 

JURISDICTIONAL COST OF SERVICE STUDY 

(METHODOLOGY) COST ALLOCATION STUDY 

CASE NO. PUE------ 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness:___ 

Schedule 40 A and B 

  (1) (2) (3) 

Line No. Description Total System Virginia Non-Juris. 

Virginia Per Books 

Amount (1)-(2) 

10 Operating Revenues   

20     

30 Operating and Maintenance Expense   

40 Depreciation Expense   

50 Amortization   

60 Federal Income Taxes   

70 State Income Taxes   

80 Taxes Other than Income   

90     

100 Total Operating and Maintenance Expense   

110     

120 Net Operating Income   

130     

140 Adjustments to Operating Income   

150       

160 Add: AFUDC   

170 Less: Charitable Donations   

180   Interest Exp. - Customer Dep.   

190       

200 Adjusted Net Operating Income   

210     

220 Rate Base   

230     

240 ROR Earned on Rate Base   
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COMPANY NAME 

CLASS COST OF SERVICE STUDY (METHODOLOGY) COST ALLOCATION STUDY 

CASE NO. PUE------ 

Exhibit No.: 

Witness: 

Schedule 40C 

  (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) 

Line No. Description 

Virginia 

Juris. Class Class Class Class Class 

Allocation 

Basis 

10 Operating Revenues   

20     

30 Operating Expense   

40 Depreciation Expense   

50 Amortization   

60 Federal Income Taxes   

70 State Income Taxes   

80 Taxes Other than Income   

90     

100 Total Operating and Maintenance Expense   

110     

120 Net Operating Income   

130     

140 Adjustments to Operating Income   

150       

160 Add: AFUDC   

170 Less: Charitable Donations   

180   Interest Exp. - Customer Dep.   

190       

200 Adjusted Net Operating Income   

210     

220 Rate Base   

230     

240 ROR Earned on Rate Base   

  

COMPANY NAME 
RATE ADJUSTMENT CLAUSES PURSUANT TO 

§ 56-585.1 A4, A5 AND/OR A6 OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA FOR THE YEAR ENDED --/--/-- 

Exhibit No.: 
Witness: 

Schedule 44 

LINE NO.   MONTH A/C NO. DEBITS A/C NO. CREDITS A/C NO. BALANCE 

1 BEGINNING BALANCE         

2           

3           

4           

5           

6           

7           

8           

9           



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2236 

10           

11           

12           

13           

14 ENDING BALANCE     

CHAPTER 204 

RULES GOVERNING UTILITY RATE APPLICATIONS 

AND ANNUAL INFORMATIONAL FILINGS OF 

INVESTOR-OWNED ELECTRIC UTILITIES 

20VAC5-204-5. Purpose and applicability. 

This chapter sets forth minimum filing requirements for 

Virginia's investor-owned electric utilities related to annual 

informational filings, rate case filings, and prudency 

determinations under Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) and 

Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia. Forms are prescribed or adopted for purposes of 

implementing Chapter 10 (§ 56-576 et seq.) and Chapter 23 

(§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia. When 

so prescribed or adopted, use of the forms is mandatory. This 

chapter should not be construed as limiting the ability of the 

commission or its staff to evaluate information in addition to 

or beyond that identified in this chapter. 

20VAC5-204-10. General filing instructions. 

A. An applicant shall provide a notice of intent to file an 

application pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20, 20VAC5-204-40, 

and 20VAC5-204-60 to the commission 60 days prior to the 

application filing date. A notice of intent to file an application 

shall be provided for each 20VAC5-204-40 and 20VAC5-

204-60 application, and such notice shall identify the specific 

section and subsection of the Code of Virginia pursuant to 

which the application will be filed. If the filing is for the 

continuation of a previously-approved rate adjustment clause, 

the notice shall identify the specific rate adjustment clause. If 

the application is for approval of a new rate adjustment clause 

or for a prudency determination, the notice shall include a 

narrative description of the associated project or program. 

B. Applications pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20 through 

20VAC5-204-80 shall include: 

1. The name and post office address of the applicant and 

the name and post office address of the applicant's counsel. 

2. A full clear statement of the facts that the applicant is 

prepared to prove by competent evidence. 

3. A statement of details of the objectives sought and the 

legal basis therefore. 

4. All direct testimony by which the applicant expects to 

support the objectives sought. Each testimony shall include 

a summary not to exceed one page. 

5. Information or documentation conforming to the 

following general instructions: 

a. Attach a table of contents of the company's 

application, including exhibits. 

b. Each exhibit shall be labeled with the name of the 

applicant and the initials of the sponsoring witness in the 

upper right-hand corner as follows: 

Exhibit No. (Leave Blank) 

Witness: (Initials) 

Statement or 

Schedule Number 

c. The first page of all exhibits shall contain a caption 

that describes the subject matter of the exhibit. 

d. If the accounting and statistical data submitted differ 

from the books of the applicant, then the applicant shall 

include in its filing a reconciliation schedule for each 

account or subaccount that differs, together with an 

explanation describing the nature of the difference. 

e. The required accounting and statistical data shall 

include all work papers and other information necessary 

to ensure that the items, statements, and schedules are not 

misleading. 

C. This chapter does not limit the commission staff or 

parties from raising issues for commission consideration that 

have not been addressed in the applicant's filing before the 

commission. Except for good cause shown, issues specifically 

decided by commission order entered in the applicant's most 

recent rate case may not be raised by staff or interested parties 

in earnings tests made pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20, 

20VAC5-204-30, or 20VAC5-204-50. 

D. An application filed pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20, 

20VAC5-204-30, 20VAC5-204-40, 20VAC5-204-50, 

20VAC5-204-60, 20VAC5-204-70, or 20VAC5-204-80 shall 

not be deemed filed pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) 

or Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia unless it is in full compliance with this chapter. 

E. The commission may waive any part or all of this chapter 

for good cause shown. 

F. Where a filing contains information that the applicant 

claims to be confidential, the filing may be made under seal 

provided it is simultaneously accompanied by both a motion 

for protective order or other confidential treatment and an 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2237 

original and one copy of a redacted version of the filing to be 

available for public disclosure. Unredacted filings containing 

the confidential information shall, however, be immediately 

available to the commission staff for internal use at the 

commission. 

G. Filings containing confidential (or redacted) information 

shall so state on the cover of the filing, and the precise 

portions of the filing containing such confidential (or 

redacted) information, including supporting material, shall be 

clearly marked within the filing. 

H. Applicants shall provide a searchable PDF version of the 

application and direct testimony electronically to the 

Divisions of Utility Accounting and Finance and Public 

Utility Regulation and the Division of Consumer Counsel of 

the Office of the Attorney General of Virginia. 

Additionally, all schedules containing calculations derived 

from formulas shall be provided electronically to the 

Divisions of Utility Accounting and Finance and Public 

Utility Regulation and the Division of Consumer Counsel of 

the Office of the Attorney General of Virginia in an electronic 

spreadsheet including all underlying formulas and 

assumptions. Such electronic spreadsheet shall be 

commercially available and have common use in the utility 

industry. 

All schedules that do not contain calculations derived from 

formulas shall be provided electronically to the Divisions of 

Utility Accounting and Finance and Public Utility Regulation 

and the Division of Consumer Counsel of the Office of the 

Attorney General of Virginia in a searchable PDF version 

within five business days of the application filing date. 

Additional versions of such schedules shall be made available 

to parties upon request. 

I. All applications, including direct testimony and Schedules 

1 through 28, 30 through 39, and 41 through 49, as 

applicable, shall be filed in an original and 12 copies with the 

Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 

Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218. One copy of 

Schedules 29 and 40 shall be filed with the Clerk of the 

Commission. Applicants may omit filing Schedule 29 with 

the Clerk of the Commission in Annual Informational Filings. 

Additional copies of such schedules shall be made available 

to parties upon request. 

One copy of Schedules 29 and 40 shall be submitted to the 

Division of Utility Accounting and Finance. Four copies of 

Schedule 40 shall be submitted to the Division of Public 

Utility Regulation. 

J. For any application made pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20 

and 20VAC5-204-40 through 20VAC5-204-80, the applicant 

shall serve a copy of the information required in subsection A 

of this section at the same time that it is filed with the 

commission upon: (i) the chairman of the board of 

supervisors of each county (or equivalent officials in the 

counties having alternate forms of government) in this 

Commonwealth affected by the proposed increase; (ii) the 

mayor or manager of every city and town (or equivalent 

officials in towns and cities having alternate forms of 

government) in this Commonwealth affected by the proposed 

increase; and (iii) the Division of Consumer Counsel of the 

Office of the Attorney General of Virginia. 

For applications pursuant to 20VAC5-204-20 and 20VAC5-

204-40 through 20VAC5-204-80, the applicant shall also 

serve each such official with the following within five 

business days of the issuance of the commission's procedural 

order regarding the application: (i) the information required in 

subdivisions B 1, B 2, and B 3 of this section; (ii) a statement 

that a copy of the complete application may be obtained at no 

cost by making a request therefor orally or in writing to a 

specified company official or location; and (iii) the 

commission's procedural order regarding the application. In 

addition, the applicant shall serve a copy of its complete 

application upon the Division of Consumer Counsel of the 

Office of the Attorney General of Virginia at the same time it 

is filed with the commission. All such service specified by 

this section shall be made either by personal delivery or first 

class mail to the customary place of business or to the 

residence of the person served. 

K. Nothing in this chapter shall be interpreted to apply to 

applications for temporary reductions of rates pursuant to 

§ 56-242 of the Code of Virginia. 

20VAC5-204-20. Base rate increase applications pursuant 

to Chapter 10 of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia. 

A. An application for a base rate increase pursuant to 

Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia shall conform to the following requirements: 

1. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 1 through 43 and the 

utility's direct testimony shall be submitted. Such 

schedules shall be identified with the appropriate schedule 

number and shall be prepared in accordance with the 

instructions contained in 20VAC5-204-90. 

2. An applicant subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall file Schedules 44, 45, 47, and 48A in 

addition to the schedules required in 20VAC5-204-20 A 1 

in accordance with the instructions accompanying such 

schedules in 20VAC5-204-90. 

3. An exhibit consisting of additional schedules may be 

submitted with the utility's direct testimony. Such exhibit 

shall be identified as Schedule 49 (this exhibit may include 

numerous subschedules labeled 49A et seq.). 

B. The selection of a historic test period is up to the 

applicant. However, the use of overlapping test periods will 

not be allowed. 

C. Applicants meeting each of the three following criteria 

may omit Schedules 9through 18 in rate applications: (i) the 
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applicant is not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

(ii) the applicant has no Virginia jurisdictional regulatory 

assets on the applicant's books that are subject to an earnings 

test; and (iii) the applicant is not seeking to establish a 

regulatory asset. 

20VAC5-204-30. Annual informational filings. 

Each utility not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and which is not requesting a base rate increase, 

shall make an annual informational filing consisting of 

Schedules 1 through 7, 9, 11, 12, 14 through 19, 21, 22, 24, 

25, 27, 28, 29, 36, and 40 a and b as identified in 20VAC5-

204-90. The test period shall be the current 12 months ending 

in the same month used in the utility's most recent rate 

application. This information shall be filed with the 

commission within 120 days after the end of the test period. 

Accounting adjustments reflected in Column (2) of Schedule 

21 shall incorporate the ratemaking treatment approved by the 

commission in the utility's last rate case and shall be 

calculated in accordance with the rules of Schedule 25. 

Requirements found in 20VAC5-204-10 B 2, B3, and B 4 

may be omitted in Annual Informational Filings. 

Applicants meeting each of the following criteria may omit 

Schedules 9 through 18 in Annual Informational Filings: (i) 

the applicant has no Virginia jurisdictional regulatory assets 

on the applicant's books subject to an earnings test; and (ii) 

the applicant is not seeking to establish a regulatory asset. 

20VAC5-204-40. Prudency determination filings. 

An application pursuant to Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of 

Title 56 of the Code of Virginia for a prudency determination 

that does not request approval of an associated rate 

adjustment clause shall include Schedule 46 as identified and 

described in 20VAC5-204-90, which shall be submitted with 

the utility's direct testimony. 

20VAC5-204-50. Base rate review applications pursuant 

to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

A. A base rate review application filed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 of the Code of Virginia shall include the following: 

1. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 3; 6; 7; 9 through 18; 

29 a, b, c, and f; 30, 31, 32, 34, 35, 36, 40a, 44, 48a, and 

48b as identified in 20VAC5-204-90 shall be submitted 

with the utility's direct testimony for each of the successive 

12-month test periods. Schedule 35 for the final 12-month 

test period shall be filed no later than April 30 of each 

application filing year. 

2. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 19 through 

28, 29 d, 29 e, 33, 37, 38, 39, 40b, 40c, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47, 

and 48c as identified in 20VAC5-204-90 shall be 

submitted with the utility's direct testimony for the final 

12-month test period. 

3. An exhibit consisting of additional schedules may be 

submitted with the utility's direct testimony. Such exhibit 

shall be identified as Schedule 49 (this exhibit may include 

subschedules as needed labeled 49A et seq.). 

4. A reconciliation of the total company amounts in 

Schedules 19 and 22 to the statement of income and 

comparative balance sheet contained in Federal Energy 

Regulatory Commission Form No. 1 shall be filed with the 

commission no later than April 30 of each application 

filing year. 

B. The assumed rate year for purposes of determining 

ratemaking adjustments in Schedules 21 and 24, as identified 

in 20VAC5-204-90, shall begin on January 1 following the 

application filing date. 

20VAC5-204-60. Rate adjustment clause filings. 

An application for a rate adjustment clause filed pursuant to 

Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia shall include Schedule 46 as identified and described 

in 20VAC5-204-90, which shall be submitted with the 

utility's direct testimony. Additionally, applications requiring 

an overall cost of capital shall include Schedules 3, 4, 5, and 

8. 

20VAC5-204-70. Temporary increases of rates. 

A. Applicants that file a request for a temporary increase in 

rates pursuant to § 56-245 of the Code of Virginia shall 

include Schedules 1 through 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 18 as 

identified and described in 20VAC5-204-90. 

B. Applicants subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

that file a request for a temporary increase in rates pursuant to 

§ 56-245 shall file Schedules 10, 13, 44, 45, 47, and 48A as 

identified and described in 20VAC5-204-90 in addition to the 

schedules required in subsection A of this section. 

20VAC5-204-80. Fuel factor filings. 

A. In the event that an electric utility files an application to 

change the fuel factor, fuel factor projections shall be filed at 

least six weeks prior to the proposed effective date. The filing 

shall include projections required by the commission's fuel 

monitoring system as well as the testimony and exhibits 

supporting the fuel factor projections. At a minimum, the 

filing shall include the following for each month of the 

forecast period in which the proposed fuel factor is expected 

to be in effect: (i) Projections of system sales and energy 

supply requirements (MWh); (ii) Projections of generation 

and purchased power levels (MWh) by source; (iii) 

Projections of fuel requirements by generating unit (MMBtu); 

(iv) Projections of fuel and purchased power costs by source; 

(v) Projections of off-system sales volumes and margins; (vi) 

Projections of generating unit outage rates and heat rates; and 

(vii) Total fuel factor costs by source by month. 
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The filing shall further include the following information for 

each month for the most recent historical 12-month period: 

1. Actual system sales and energy supply (MWh). 

2. Actual generation and purchased power levels (MWh) 

by source. 

3. Actual fuel burns by generating units (MMBtu). 

4. Actual fuel and purchased power costs by source. 

5. Actual off-system sales volumes and margins along with 

support for calculation of margins. 

6. Actual generating unit planned and forced outage rates 

and heat rates along with brief descriptions and durations 

of outages. 

7. Discussion of any abnormal operating events and actions 

taken to minimize fuel and purchased energy costs. 

B. Electric utilities not seeking a change in the fuel factor 

shall file fuel factor projections at least six weeks prior to the 

expiration of the last projection or as required by the 

commission. The filing shall include the same information 

required in subsection A of this section. 

20VAC5-204-90. Instructions for Schedules and exhibits 

for this chapter. 

The following instructions for schedules and exhibits are to 

be used in conjunction with this chapter: 

Schedule 1 - Historical Profitability and Market Data 

Instructions: Using the format of Form Schedule 1 and the 

following definitions, provide the data for the test period and 

four prior fiscal years. The information shall be compatible 

with the latest SEC Form 10-K consolidated financial 

statements (including any restatements). Information in 

Sections A and B of Schedule 1 shall be compiled for the 

corporate entity that raises equity capital in the marketplace. 

Information in Section C of Schedule 1 shall be compiled for 

the subsidiary company that provides regulated utility service 

in Virginia. 

Definitions for Schedule 1 

Return on Year End 

Equity = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

Year End Common Equity 

  

Return on Average 

Equity = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

The Average of Year End Equity 

for the Current & Previous Year 

  

Earnings Per Share = 

Earnings Available for Common 

Shareholders 

Average No. Common Shares 

Outstanding 

Dividends Per Share = Common Dividends Paid per Share 

During the Year 

Payout Ratio = DPS/EPS 

Dividend Yield = DPS/Year End Price 

Price Earnings Ratio = Average Market Price/EPS 

Schedule 2 - Interest and Cash Flow Coverage Data 

Instructions: This schedule shall be prepared using the 

following definitions and instructions and presented in the 

format of Form Schedule 2. The information shall be 

provided for the test period and the four prior fiscal years 

based on information for the applicant and for the 

consolidated company if the applicant is a subsidiary. 

- Interest (Lines 3, 4, and 5) shall include amortization of 

expenses, hedging gains and losses, discounts, and 

premiums on debt without deducting an allowance for 

borrowed funds used during construction. 

- Income taxes (Line 2) shall include federal and state 

income taxes. 

- Allowance for Funds Used During Construction 

("AFUDC") (Line 8), where applicable, is total AFUDC -- 

for borrowed and other funds. 

- Preferred dividends (Line 13) for a subsidiary shall be 

stated per books. 

- Construction expenditures (Line 15) are net of AFUDC. 

- Common dividends (Line 16) for a subsidiary shall be 

stated per books. 

Schedule 3 - Capital Structure and Cost of Capital 

Statement – Per Books and Average 

Instructions: This schedule shall show the amount of each 

capital component per balance sheet, the amount for 

ratemaking purposes, the percentage weight in the capital 

structure, and the component cost and weighted cost, using 

the format in Form Schedule 3. The information shall be 

provided for the test period, the four prior fiscal years, and on 

a 13-month average or five-quarter average basis for the test 

period. The data shall be provided for the entity whose capital 

structure was approved for use in the applicant's last rate case. 

In Part A, the information shall be compatible with the latest 

SEC Form 10-K consolidated financial statements (including 

any restatements). In Parts B, C, and D, the methodology 

shall be consistent with that approved in the applicant's last 

rate case. Reconcile differences between Parts A and B for 

both end-of-test-period and average capital structures. 
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The amounts for all short-term debt, revolving credit 

agreements, and similar short-term financing arrangements in 

Part B shall be based on a daily average over the test year, or 

alternatively, on a 13-month average over the test year. 

Except for the Part B amount for short-term debt and average 

amounts in Column (6), all other accounts are end-of-year 

and end-of-test period. 

The component weighted cost rates equal the product of 

each component's capital structure weight for ratemaking 

purposes times its cost rate. The weighted cost of capital is 

equal to the sum of the component weighted cost rates. The 

Investment Tax Credits cost is equal to the weighted cost of 

permanent capital (long-term debt, preferred stock, and 

common equity). 

Adjustments made to per books amounts shall be fully 

documented and explained. 

For investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, Parts A, B, C, and D shall be based on 

the utility's actual, end-of-period capital structure. 

In an application for a rate adjustment clause pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 5 or A 6 of the Code of Virginia, Schedule 3 

information shall be provided to support each actual, end-of-

period capital structure for each year necessary to calculate 

the revenue requirement. Information for prior time periods 

not necessary to calculate the revenue requirement need not 

be provided. 

Schedule 4 - Schedules of Long-Term Debt, Preferred 

Stock, Investment Tax Credits, and Any Other 

Component of Ratemaking Capital 

Instructions: For each applicable capital component, provide 

a schedule that shows, for each issue, the amount outstanding, 

its percentage of the total capital component, and the effective 

cost rate. This data shall support the amount and cost rate of 

the respective capital components contained in Schedule 3, 

consistent with the methodology approved in applicant's last 

rate case. In addition, a detailed breakdown of all investment 

tax credits should be provided that reconciles to the per books 

balance of investment tax credits. These schedules should 

reflect disclosure of any associated hedging/derivative 

instruments, their respective terms and conditions (instrument 

type, notional amount and associated series of debt or 

preferred stock hedged, period in effect, etc.), and the impact 

of such instruments on the cost of debt or preferred stock. 

Schedule 5 - Schedule of Short-Term Debt, Revolving 

Credit Agreements, and similar Short-Term Financing 

Arrangements 

Instructions: Utilities that are not subject to § 56-585.1 of 

the Code of Virginia shall provide data and explain the 

methodology, which should be consistent with the 

methodology approved in the applicant's last rate case, used 

to calculate the cost and balance contained in Schedule 3 for 

short-term debt, revolving credit agreements, and similar 

arrangements. 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall file data consistent with the utility's 

end of test period capital structure and cost of short-term debt. 

This schedule should also provide detailed disclosure of any 

hedging/derivative instruments related to short-term debt, 

their respective terms and conditions (instrument type, 

notional amount and associated series of debt hedged, period 

in effect, etc.), and the impact of such instruments on the cost 

of short-term debt. 

Schedule 6 - Public Financial Reports 

Instructions: Provide copies, or a link to where such copies 

can be found on the Internet, of the most recent Stockholder's 

Annual Report, Securities and Exchange Commission Form 

10-K, and Form 10-Q for the applicant and the consolidated 

parent company if the applicant is a subsidiary. If published, 

provide a copy, or a link to where such copy can be found on 

the Internet, of the most recent statistical or financial 

supplement for the consolidated parent company. 

Schedule 7 - Comparative Financial Statements 

Instructions: If not provided in the public financial reports 

for Schedule 6, provide comparative balance sheets, income 

statements, and cash flow statements for the test year and the 

12-month period preceding the test year for the applicant and 

its consolidated parent company if applicant is a subsidiary. 

In lieu of providing a copy, the applicant may provide a link 

to where such information can be found on the Internet. 

Schedule 8 - Proposed Cost of Capital Statement 

Instructions: Provide the applicant's proposed capital 

structure/cost of capital schedule. In conjunction, provide 

schedules that support the amount and cost rate of each 

component of the proposed capital structure, and explain all 

assumptions used. 

Schedule 9 - Rate of Return Statement – Earnings Test – 

Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 9. 

For cases filed pursuant to § 56-585.1 A of the Code of 

Virginia, Schedule 9 shall reflect average rate base. Interest 

expense, preferred dividends, and common equity capital 

shall be calculated using the actual end-of-test period capital 

structure included in Schedule 3 B and average rate base. In 

all other cases, Schedule 9 shall reflect average rate base, 

capital, and common equity capital. Interest expense, 

preferred dividends, and common equity capital shall be 

calculated by using the average capital structure included in 

Schedule 3 B and average rate base. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1), (2), and (3) on Schedule 9. 
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Revenues presented in Schedule 10 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and 

§ 56-585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 rate adjustment clauses, fuel 

factor, late payment fees, and miscellaneous revenue). 

Schedule 10 - Rate of Return Statement - Earnings Test - 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 10. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 10. 

Schedule 10 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, utilities shall file 

Schedule 10A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 10B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 10. 

For cases filed pursuant to § 56-585.1 A of the Code of 

Virginia, Schedule 10 shall reflect the average rate base. 

Interest expense, preferred dividends, and common equity 

capital shall be calculated by using the actual end-of-test 

period capital structure included in Schedule 3 B and average 

rate base. In all other proceedings, Schedule 10 shall reflect 

average rate base, capital, and common equity capital. Interest 

expense, preferred dividends, and common equity capital 

shall be calculated by using the average capital structure 

included in Schedule 3 B and average rate base. 

Revenues presented in Schedule 10 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and § 56 

585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 rate adjustment clauses, fuel factor, 

late payment fees, and miscellaneous revenue). 

Schedule 10 Columns (2) and (3) shall reflect revenues, 

expenses, and rate base for commission-approved rate 

adjustment clauses pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia, respectively. Schedule 10 Column (4) shall 

include revenues, expenses, and rate base intended to be 

recovered through future deferral mechanisms. 

Schedule 11 - Rate of Return Statement - Earnings Test - 

Adjusted to a Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 11. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 11 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 11A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 11B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 11. 

Revenues presented in Schedule 11 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and 

§ 56-585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 rate adjustment clauses, fuel 

factor, late payment fees, and miscellaneous revenue). 

Schedule 11 adjustments in Column (2) shall reflect any 

financial differences between per books and regulatory 

accounting as prescribed by the commission. Each Column 

(2) adjustment shall be separately identified and reflected in 

Schedule 16. 

A per books regulatory accounting adjustment to reflect 

Investment Tax Credit (ITC) Capital Expense shall be 

reflected in Schedule 11 Column (2), if applicable. 

Column (3) ITC Capital Expense shall be calculated as 

follows: 

ITC Capital Expense = Rate Base (line 25) * weighted cost 

of ITC Capital in Schedule 3 

The associated income tax savings shall be reflected in lines 

5 and 6, Column (2) as follows: 

Associated income tax savings = total average rate base (line 

25) * weight of ITC capital (Sch. 3) * weighted cost of debt 

component of the ITC cost component (Sch. 3) * (Federal and 

State Income Tax rate * -1) 

Schedule 11 Line 15 other income/(expense) shown in 

Column (3) shall be the current amount of other 

income/(expense) categorized as jurisdictional in the 

applicant's last rate case. 

Schedule 12 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – Per 

Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 12. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1), (2), and (3) on Schedule 12. 

Applicants with jurisdictional per books operating revenues 

of more than $150 million shall calculate cash working 

capital allowance using a lead/lag study. Applicants with 

jurisdictional per books operating revenues between $20 and 

$150 million may include a zero cash working capital 

requirement rather than perform a lead/lag study. 

Schedule 13 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 13. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 13. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1, Schedule 13 shall reflect 

combined generation and distribution operations. 

Additionally, such utilities shall file Schedule 13A, reflecting 

generation only operations, and Schedule 13B, reflecting 

distribution only operations, using the same format as 

Schedule 13. 

Schedule 13 Columns (2) and (3) shall reflect rate base 

information for commission-approved rate adjustment clauses 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 or A 6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Column (4) shall reflect rate base information for amounts 

intended to be recovered through future deferral mechanisms. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2242 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using a 

lead/lag study. 

Schedule 14 - Rate Base Statement – Earnings Test – 

Adjusted to Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 14. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 14 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 14A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 14B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 14. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using a 

lead/lag study. Schedule 14 Column (2) shall reflect 

adjustments necessary to identify any financial differences 

between per books and regulatory accounting as prescribed 

by the commission. Each Column (2) adjustment shall be 

separately identified and reflected in Schedule 16. 

Schedule 15 - Schedule of Regulatory Assets 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 15. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 15 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All regulatory assets shall be individually listed with 

associated deferred income tax. Indicate whether the 

regulatory asset (i) is included in financial reporting or is 

currently recognized for ratemaking purposes only; and (ii) is 

subject to an earnings test. 

Schedule 16 - Detail of Regulatory Accounting 

Adjustments 

Instructions: If applicable per Schedules 9 and 12 

instructions. 

Use the format of Form Schedule 16. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 16 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

Each regulatory accounting adjustment shall be numbered 

sequentially beginning with ET-1 and listed under the 

appropriate description category (Operating Revenues, 

Interest Expense, Common Equity Capital, etc.). 

Each regulatory accounting adjustment shall be fully 

explained in the description column of this schedule. 

Regulatory accounting adjustments shall adjust from a 

financial accounting basis to a regulatory accounting basis. 

Adjustments to reflect going-forward operations shall not be 

included on this schedule. 

Detailed workpapers substantiating each adjustment shall be 

provided in Schedule 29. 

Schedule 17 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation – Earnings Test 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 17. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 17 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 17A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 17B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 17. 

Total Balance Sheet Net Source/Use of Average Cash 

Working Capital determined in Schedule 18 shall be included 

in the Total Cash Working Capital amount in this schedule. 

The Total Cash Working Capital amount determined in this 

schedule shall be included in Schedules 12, 13, and 14. 

Utilities should perform a complete lead/lag analysis every 

five years. Major items, such as the revenue lag and balance 

sheet accounts, should be reviewed every year. 

Schedule 18 - Balance Sheet Analysis – Earnings Test 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 18. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 18 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All uses and sources of cash working capital shall be 

detailed in this schedule. The associated accumulated 

deferred income tax shall also be included as a use or source. 

The Net Source/Use of Average Cash Working Capital 

determined in this schedule shall be included in Schedule 17. 

Support for Schedule 18 shall include a list of all balance 

sheet subaccounts and titles. Indicate whether the account's 

impact is included in (i) the balance sheet analysis; (ii) the 

capital structure; (iii) the income statement portion of the 

lead/lag study; (iv) elsewhere in rate base; or (v) excluded 

from cost of service. Applicants shall also include a brief 

description of the costs in each account. 

Schedule 19 - Rate of Return Statement – Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 19. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 19 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 shall file only Columns 

(1), (2), and (3) on Schedule 19. 

Revenues presented in Schedule 19 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and 
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§ 56-585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 rate adjustment clauses, fuel 

factor, late payment fees, and miscellaneous revenue). 

Column (1) interest expense, preferred dividends, and 

common equity capital shall be calculated by using the capital 

structure included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and end of test 

year level rate base. 

Schedule 20 - Rate of Return Statement – Generation 

and Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 20. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 20. 

Schedule 20 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 20A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 20B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 20. 

Revenues presented in Schedule 20 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and 

§ 56-585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 rate adjustment clauses, fuel 

factor, late payment fees, and miscellaneous revenue). 

Schedule 20 Columns (2) and (3) shall reflect revenues, 

expenses, and rate base for commission-approved rate 

adjustment clauses pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 or A 6 of the 

Code of Virginia, respectively. Schedule 20 Column (4) shall 

reflect revenues, expenses, and rate base intended to be 

recovered through future deferral mechanisms. 

Interest expense, preferred dividends, and common equity 

capital shall be calculated by using the capital structure 

included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and end of test year 

level rate base. 

Schedule 21 - Rate of Return Statement - Reflecting 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 21. 

Revenues presented in Schedule 21 shall include separate 

line items for each type of revenue (e.g., base rates and 

§ 56-585.1 A 4, A 5, and A 6 of the Code of Virginia rate 

adjustment clauses, fuel factor, late payment fees, and 

miscellaneous revenue). 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 21 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 21A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 21B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 21. 

Schedule 21 Column (2) adjustments shall be separately 

identified and reflected in Schedule 25. 

Interest expense, preferred dividends, and common equity 

capital shall be calculated by using the capital structure 

included in Schedule 3 or Schedule 8 and an adjusted level of 

rate base. 

After ratemaking adjustments, ITC capital expense shall be 

calculated as follows: 

Total rate base (Line 29) * weighted cost of ITC capital in 

Schedule 3 or 8 

Applicants filing pursuant to 20VAC5-204-30 may omit 

Columns (4) and (5). 

Schedule 22 - Rate Base Statement – Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 22. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall file only Columns (1), (2), and (3) on Schedule 22. 

Applicants with jurisdictional per books operating revenues 

more than $150 million shall calculate cash working capital 

allowance using a lead/lag study. Applicants with 

jurisdictional per books operating revenues between $20 

million and $150 million may include a zero cash working 

capital requirement rather than perform a lead/lag study. 

Schedule 23 - Rate Base Statement – Generation and 

Distribution Per Books 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 23. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 23 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 23A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 23B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 23. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 may omit Schedule 23. 

Schedule 23 Columns (2) and (3) shall reflect rate base 

information for commission-approved rate adjustment clauses 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 or A 6 of the Code of Virginia, 

respectively. Schedule 23 Column (4) shall reflect rate base 

information for amounts intended to be recovered through 

future deferral mechanisms. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using a 

lead/lag study. 

Schedule 24 - Rate Base Statement - Adjusted - 

Reflecting Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 24. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 24 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 24A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 24B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 24. 

Cash working capital allowance shall be calculated using a 

lead/lag study. 
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Schedule 25 - Detail of Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 25. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 25 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

Each adjustment shall be numbered sequentially and listed 

under the appropriate description category (Operating 

Revenues, Interest Expense, Common Equity Capital, etc.). 

Ratemaking adjustments shall reflect an annual level of 

revenues and expenses in accordance with applicable rules 

and laws governing utility rate changes. Rate base 

adjustments may reflect no more than a rate year average. 

Detailed workpapers substantiating each adjustment shall be 

provided in Schedule 29. 

Schedule 26 - Revenue Requirement Reconciliation 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 26 for lead 

schedule. An example of a supporting schedule is provided. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 26 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 26A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 26B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 26. 

Provide a revenue reconciliation of each topic or subject that 

affects the revenue requirement. All components of each topic 

or subject shall be detailed (i.e., payroll and related = payroll, 

benefits, payroll taxes, and related tax effect) on a supporting 

schedule. Cash working capital shall be considered a separate 

topic or subject rather than as a component of each topic or 

subject. 

Schedule 27 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation – Adjusted 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 27. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 27 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations. Additionally, such utilities shall file 

Schedule 27A, reflecting generation only operations, and 

Schedule 27B, reflecting distribution only operations, using 

the same format as Schedule 27. 

Total Balance Sheet Net Source/Use of Average Cash 

Working Capital determined in Schedule 28 shall be included 

in the Total Cash Working Capital amount in this schedule. 

The Total Cash Working Capital amount determined in this 

schedule shall be included in Schedules 22, 23, and 24. 

Utilities required to use a lead/lag study should perform a 

complete lead/lag analysis every five years. Major items such 

as the revenue lag and balance sheet accounts should be 

reviewed every year. 

Schedule 28 - Balance Sheet Analysis – Adjusted 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 28. 

For utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

Schedule 28 shall reflect combined generation and 

distribution operations as well as generation only operations 

and distribution only operations. 

All uses and sources of cash working capital shall be 

detailed in this schedule. The associated accumulated 

deferred income tax shall also be included as a use or source. 

The Net Source/Use of Average Cash Working Capital 

determined in this schedule shall be included in Schedule 27. 

Support for the above schedule should include a list of all 

balance sheet subaccounts and titles. Indicate whether the 

account's impact is included in (i) the balance sheet analysis; 

(ii) the capital structure; (iii) the income statement portion of 

the lead/lag study; (iv) elsewhere in rate base; or (v) excluded 

from cost of service. Include a brief description of the costs 

included in each account. 

Schedule 29 - Workpapers for Earnings Test and 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Instructions: Include a table of contents listing the work 

papers included in this schedule. 

a. Provide a narrative explaining the purpose and 

methodology used for each adjustment identified in 

subsections b and d of these instructions that have not 

been addressed in the applicant's prefiled testimony. 

Such explanation shall reference any relevant Financial 

Accounting Standards Board ("FASB") statement or 

commission precedent if known or available. 

b. Provide a summary calculation of each earnings test 

adjustment included in Schedule 16. Each summary 

calculation shall identify the source documents used to 

prepare such calculation. 

c. Provide all relevant documents references and 

information necessary to support the summary 

calculation required in subsection b of these instructions 

for each proposed earnings test adjustment. Amounts 

identified as per books costs shall include any 

documentation or references necessary to verify such 

amount to Schedule 40a. Working papers shall be 

indexed and tabbed for each adjustment and include the 

name of the primary employee or employees responsible 

for the adjustment. All documents and information as 

referenced above should include general ledgers, payroll 

distributions, billing determinants, invoices, and actuarial 

reports. Supporting documentation that is voluminous 

may be made available at the applicant's office. 
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d. Provide a summary calculation of each rate year 

adjustment included in Schedule 25. Each summary 

calculation shall identify the source documents used to 

prepare such calculation. 

e. Provide all relevant documents and information 

necessary to support the summary calculation required in 

subsection d of these instructions for each proposed rate 

year adjustment. Amounts identified as per books costs 

shall include any documentation necessary to verify such 

amount to Schedule 40b. Working papers shall be 

indexed and tabbed for each adjustment and include the 

name of the primary employees responsible for the 

adjustment. All documents and information as referenced 

in subsections a through f of these instructions should 

include general ledgers, payroll distributions, billing 

determinants, invoices, and actuarial reports. 

f. Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 

of the Code of Virginia shall separately identify 

functional information for each earnings test and 

proposed rate year adjustment required in subsections b 

and d of these instructions. 

Schedule 30 - Revenue and Expense Variance Analysis 

Instructions: Applicant shall quantify jurisdictional 

operating revenues and system operating and maintenance 

expenses by primary account as specified by the Federal 

Energy Regulatory Commission Uniform System of Accounts 

(hereinafter referred to as "USOA account") during the test 

period and the preceding 12 months. Also, provide 

jurisdictional sales volumes by customer class for the test 

period. 

Applicants shall file a schedule detailing all revenue and 

expense accounts by month for the test period. Applicants 

shall provide a detailed explanation of all jurisdictional 

revenue and system expense increases or decreases of more 

than 10% during the test period compared to the previous 12-

month period. The expense variance analysis applies to test 

period expense items greater than one-tenth of one percent 

(.001) of Operating & Maintenance expenses excluding fuel 

factor costs. Additionally, the applicant shall provide an 

electronic spreadsheet version of the accounts payable ledger 

or schedule of all accounts payable, including all underlying 

formulas and assumptions, electronically to the Division of 

Utility Accounting and Finance within five business days of 

the application filing date. 

Schedule 31 - Advertising Expense 

Instructions: A schedule detailing advertising expense by 

USOA account and grouped according to the categories 

identified in § 56-235.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be 

provided. Advertising costs that are not identifiable to any of 

those categories shall be included in a separate category titled 

"other." If applicant seeks rate relief, demonstrate that the 

applicant's advertising meets the criteria established in § 56-

235.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Schedule 32 - Storm Damage 

Instructions: Provide a schedule identifying major storm 

damage expense by month, Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission account, and internal or third-party cost for the 

test year and the previous three years. Include a detailed 

description of the damage sustained, the length of outages 

associated with the storm damage, and work necessary to 

restore service. Applicant shall indicate whether each major 

storm is considered a severe weather event pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1 A 8 of the Code of Virginia. 

Schedule 33 - Generating Unit Performance 

Instructions: This schedule applies to applicants subject to 

§ 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. Provide a detailed 

schedule of each generating unit outage or derate identifying 

whether the outage or derate was planned, due to 

maintenance, or forced; start and end dates; cause; and cost. 

Additionally, provide the heat rate, equivalent availability 

factor, equivalent forced outage rate, and net capacity factor 

for each unit. 

Schedule 34 - Miscellaneous Expenses 

Instructions: Provide a description of amounts paid and 

USOA accounts charged for each charitable and educational 

donation, each payment to associated industry organizations, 

and all other miscellaneous general expenses. Individual 

items aggregating to less than 5.0% of the total miscellaneous 

expense may be reflected in an "Other" line item. Advertising 

expenses included in Schedule 31 should be excluded from 

this schedule. 

Schedule 35 - Affiliate Services 

Instructions: For purposes of this schedule affiliate services 

shall be defined to include those services between regulated 

and nonregulated divisions of an incumbent utility. If any 

portion of the required information has been filed with the 

commission as part of an applicant's Annual Report of 

Affiliate Transactions, the applicant may reference such 

report clearly identifying what portions of the required 

information are included in the Annual Report of Affiliate 

Transactions. 

Provide a narrative description of each affiliated service 

received or provided during the test period. 

Provide a summary of affiliate transactions detailing costs 

by type of service provided (e.g., accounting, auditing, legal 

and regulatory, human resources, etc.) for each month of the 

test period. Show the final USOA account distribution of all 

costs billed to or by the regulated entity by month for the test 

period, as it is recorded on the regulated entity's books. 

Identify all amounts billed to an affiliate and then billed 

back to the regulated entity. 
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Cost records and market analyses supporting all affiliated 

charges billed to or by the regulated entity/division shall be 

maintained and made readily available for commission staff 

review. This shall include supporting detail of costs 

(including the return component) incurred by the affiliated 

interest rendering the service and the allocation methodology. 

In situations when the pricing is required to be the higher 

(lower) of cost or market and market is unavailable, note each 

such transaction and have data supporting such a finding 

available for commission staff review. 

If affiliate charges are booked per a pricing mechanism 

other than that approved by the commission, the regulated 

entity shall provide a reconciliation of books to commission-

approved pricing, including an explanation of why the 

commission-approved pricing is not used for booking 

purposes. 

Schedule 36 - Income Taxes 

Instructions: Provide a schedule detailing the computation of 

test period current state and federal income taxes on a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Such schedule 

should provide a complete reconciliation between book and 

taxable income showing all individual differences. 

Additionally, provide a schedule detailing the computation of 

fully adjusted, current state and federal income taxes 

applicable to the Virginia jurisdiction. 

Provide a schedule detailing the individual items of deferred 

state and federal income tax expense for the test period on a 

total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Separately 

quantify excess deferred income taxes amortization on both a 

total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Also, 

differentiate between protected (subject to Internal Revenue 

Service normalization rules) and unprotected amortization 

and state the amortization method and period applicable to 

each. Additionally, provide a schedule detailing the 

computation of fully adjusted, deferred state and federal 

income tax applicable to the Virginia jurisdiction. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between the statutory and 

effective income tax rates for the test period on both a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Schedule should 

quantify individual reconciling items by dollar amount and 

percentage. Individual items should include permanent 

differences (itemize), flow-through depreciation, excess 

deferred FIT amortization, and deferred Investment Tax 

Credit amortization. 

Provide a detailed listing of individual accumulated deferred 

income tax and accumulated deferred Investment Tax Credit 

amounts as of the end of test period. Separately identify those 

items affecting the computation of rate base on both a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. Additionally, 

provide a detailed listing of individual accumulated deferred 

income tax and accumulated deferred Investment Tax Credit 

amounts for the earnings test rate base (if applicable), the end 

of test period rate base, and the fully-adjusted rate base on a 

Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between the federal and 

state current tax expense on a stand-alone basis and the actual 

per book federal and state current tax expense for the test 

period on a total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a schedule depicting by month all federal and state 

income tax payments made during the test year. For each 

payment identify the recipient. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between deferred federal 

and state income expense computed on a stand-alone basis 

and the actual per book deferred federal and state income tax 

expense on a total company and Virginia jurisdictional basis. 

Provide a detailed reconciliation between individual 

accumulated deferred federal and state income tax assets and 

liabilities computed on a stand-alone basis and the actual per 

book accumulated deferred income tax amounts as of the end 

of the test period on a total company and Virginia 

jurisdictional basis. Additionally, provide a detailed listing of 

individual accumulated deferred income tax assets and 

liabilities computed on a stand-alone basis for the earnings 

test rate base (if applicable), the end of test period rate base, 

and the fully-adjusted rate base on a Virginia jurisdictional 

basis. 

Schedule 37 - Organization 

Instructions: Provide an organizational chart of the applicant 

and its parent company detailing subsidiaries and divisions. 

Provide details of any material corporate reorganizations 

since the applicant's last rate case. Explain the reasons for and 

any ratemaking impact of each such reorganization. 

Schedule 38 - Changes in Accounting Procedures 

Instructions: Detail any material changes in accounting 

procedures adopted by either the parent/service company or 

the utility since the applicant's last rate case. Explain any 

ratemaking impact of such changes. 

Identify any write-offs or write-downs associated with assets 

(i.e., plant, tax accounts, etc.) that have been retained, 

transferred, or sold. 

Schedule 39 - Out-of-Period Book Entries 

Instructions: Provide a summary schedule prepared from an 

analysis of journal entries showing "out-of-period" items 

booked during the test period. Show the amount, USOA 

account, and explanation of each charge. 

Schedule 40 - Jurisdictional and Class Cost of Service 

Study 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 40. 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall provide functionally separate 
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schedules for generation, transmission, and distribution 

information for subsections a, b, and c of these instructions as 

well as bundled information. Each functional schedule shall 

provide separate columns, as applicable, for each rate 

adjustment clause approved by the commission under § 56-

585.1 A 4, A 5, or A 6 of the Code of Virginia. 

a. Provide detailed calculations for all jurisdictional 

allocations for each revenue, expense and rate base 

USOA account used to create Schedules 9 and 10. 

Allocations should be based on test period average data. 

Show the allocation basis for each primary USOA 

account and for any amount included therein with a 

unique allocation basis. Explain the methodology used 

and why such method is proposed. Discuss all changes in 

the applicant's operations that have materially changed 

any allocation factor as well as any significant changes in 

allocation methodology since the last rate case. For any 

change in allocation methodology used in the current rate 

case that has a material effect on the current test period 

cost of service study, provide Schedule 40a using both 

the new methodology used in the current rate case and 

the old methodology used in the last rate case. 

b. Provide detailed calculations for all jurisdictional 

allocations for each revenue, expense and rate base 

USOA account used to create Schedules 19 and 22. Show 

the allocation basis for each primary USOA account and 

for any amount included therein with a unique allocation 

basis. Explain the methodology used and why such 

method is proposed. Discuss all changes in the 

applicant's operations that have materially changed any 

allocation factor as well as any significant changes in 

allocation methodology since the last rate case. Provide 

the calculations supporting the applicant's line loss 

percentages. Additionally, clearly show the derivation of 

the transmission cost components allocated to Virginia. 

For any change in allocation methodology used in the 

current rate case that has a material effect on the current 

test period cost of service study, provide Schedule 40b 

using both the new methodology used in the current rate 

case and the old methodology used in the last rate case. 

c. Provide a class cost of service study showing the 

allocation basis for each primary USOA account and for 

any amount included therein with a unique allocation 

basis. Explain the methodology used and why such 

method is proposed. Class transmission allocations shall 

reflect the Virginia retail information that has been 

converted from the Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission approved wholesale information. Provide a 

detailed calculation and explanation showing how the 

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission wholesale 

transmission information is converted to Virginia retail 

information. Discuss all changes in the applicant's 

operations that have materially changed any allocation 

factor as well as any significant changes in allocation 

methodology since the last rate case. For any change in 

allocation methodology used in the current rate case that 

has a material effect on the current test period cost of 

service study, provide Schedule 40c using both the new 

methodology used in the current rate case and the old 

methodology used in the last rate case. 

Schedule 41 - Proposed Rates and Tariffs 

Instructions: Provide a summary of the rates designed to 

effect the proposed revenue increase. Provide a redline copy 

of all tariff pages that the applicant proposes to revise in this 

proceeding. 

Schedule 42 - Present and Proposed Revenues 

Instructions: 

a. Provide the detailed calculations supporting total per 

books revenues in Column (3) of Schedule 21. The 

present revenues from each of the applicant's services 

shall be determined by multiplying the current rates times 

the test period billing units (by rate block, if applicable). 

b. Provide a detailed calculation supporting total adjusted 

revenues in Column (5) of Schedule 21. The proposed 

revenues from each of applicant's services shall be 

determined by multiplying the proposed rates by the 

adjusted billing units (by rate block, if applicable). Detail 

by rate schedule all miscellaneous charges and other 

revenues, if applicable. Reconcile per books billing units 

to adjusted billing units itemizing changes such as 

customer growth, weather, and miscellaneous revenues. 

The revenue changes for applicant's services should be 

subtotaled into the applicant's traditional categories. 

Schedule 43 - Sample Billing 

Instructions: Investor-owned electric utilities shall provide a 

sample billing analysis detailing the effect on each rate 

schedule at representative levels of consumption. 

Schedule 44 - Rate Adjustment Clauses Pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 4, A 5, or A 6 of the Code of Virginia 

Instructions: Use the format of Form Schedule 44. 

Utilities not subject to § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia 

may omit Schedule 44. 

Provide a schedule that identifies each commission-

approved rate adjustment clause and each individual future 

deferral mechanism for which amounts have been removed 

from generation and distribution base rate cost of service in 

Columns (2), (3), and (4) of Schedules 10, 13, 20, and 23 in 

separate columns. Schedule 44 shall reflect combined 

generation and distribution operations. Additionally, such 

utilities shall file Schedule 44A, reflecting rate adjustment 

clauses and future deferral mechanisms for generation only 

operations, and Schedule 44B reflecting rate adjustment 
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clauses and future deferral mechanisms for distribution only 

operations, using the same format as Schedule 44. 

Provide a narrative description for each individual future 

deferral mechanism for which amounts have been removed 

from base rate cost of service in Column (4) of Schedules 10, 

13, 20, and 23. 

Provide support by general ledger account for each amount 

shown in Schedule 44 electronically to the Division of Utility 

Accounting and Finance within five business days of the 

application filing date in an electronic spreadsheet with all 

underlying formulas and assumptions. 

Schedule 45 - Return on Equity Peer Group Benchmark 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall provide all documentation supporting 

the return on equity benchmark proposed pursuant to § 56-

585.1 A 2 a and A 2 b of the Code of Virginia. Such 

documentation shall include a complete list of all potential 

peer group utilities with corresponding returns calculated for 

each of the three years within the requisite three-year period, 

Securities and Exchange Commission documents in which 

such peer group returns are reported for the three-year period, 

a detailed explanation of why utilities were excluded from the 

peer group, and a spreadsheet showing how such returns were 

calculated. 

Schedule 46 - Rate Adjustment Clauses and Prudency 

Determinations Pursuant to Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) 

of the Code of Virginia 

a. Instructions for initial applications: For an initial 

proposed rate adjustment clause or a prudency 

determination without an associated rate adjustment 

clause, the applicant shall provide the following for each 

associated project: 

(1) A schedule of all projected and actual costs, by 

project, type of cost and year and by month. 

(2) A schedule of all actual costs (including both capital 

costs and operations and maintenance expenses) incurred 

to-date. Within five business days of the application 

filing date, the applicant shall provide transaction-level 

details to facilitate the sampling and audit of such actual 

costs electronically to the Division to Utility Accounting 

and Finance in an electronic spreadsheet with all 

underlying formulas and assumptions. 

(3) The annual revenue requirement on both a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis for the 

duration of each proposed project by year and by class, 

including all supporting calculations and assumptions. 

(4) Information relative to the applicant's methodology 

for allocating the revenue requirement among rate classes 

and the design of class rates. 

(5) A detailed explanation of the need for the proposed 

project. 

(6) Economic analyses, with supporting workpapers and 

calculations, supporting the proposed project. 

(7) Materials used by senior management in approving or 

recommending each proposed project. 

(8) Key supporting documents relied upon by the 

applicant such as: contracts, studies, investigations, 

results from requests for proposals, cost-benefit analyses, 

and other items supporting the costs associated with each 

proposed project. 

b. Additional instructions for initial applications for 

generating unit additions: For an initial proposed rate 

adjustment clause or for a prudency determination 

without an associated rate adjustment clause associated 

with a generating unit, the applicant shall provide the 

following to support the reasonableness and prudence of 

each associated project: 

(1) Information relative to the need of the proposed 

generating unit, such as load and generating capacity 

reserve forecast information. 

(2) Feasibility and engineering studies that support the 

specific plant type and site selected. 

(3) Fuel supply studies that demonstrate the availability 

and adequacy of selected fuels. 

(4) Support for planning assumptions regarding plant 

performance and operating costs, including historical 

information for similar units. 

(5) Economic studies that compare the selected 

alternative with other options considered, including 

sensitivity analyses and production costing simulations of 

the applicant's overall generating resources that 

demonstrate that the selected option is the best 

alternative. 

(6) Detailed cost estimate for the facility, including 

projected costs of construction, transmission 

interconnections, fuel supply related infrastructure 

improvements, and project financing. 

c. Instructions for rate adjustment clause updates: For an 

update to a commission-approved rate adjustment clause, 

the applicant shall provide the following for each 

associated project: 

(1) An updated schedule of all projected and actual costs, 

by project, type of cost and year and by month. 

(2) An update to the schedule of all actual costs provided 

in the previous rate adjustment clause application 

(including both capital costs and operations and 

maintenance expenses). If the rate adjustment clause 

update includes a true-up, provide such schedule for 
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costs incurred through the true-up period. If the rate 

adjustment clause does not include a true-up, provide the 

schedule based on most current actual costs available to-

date. Within five business days of the application filing 

date, the applicant shall provide transaction-level details 

to facilitate the sampling and audit of such actual costs 

electronically to the Division to Utility Accounting and 

Finance in an electronic spreadsheet with all underlying 

formulas and assumptions. 

(3) The annual revenue requirement on both a total 

company and Virginia jurisdictional basis for the 

duration of each proposed project by year and by class, 

including all supporting calculations and assumptions. 

(4) Detailed information relative to the applicant's 

methodology for allocating the revenue requirement 

among rate classes and the design of class rates. 

(5) Key updated supporting documents, such as 

economic analyses, support used by senior management 

for major cost decisions, supporting documents, 

contracts, studies, investigations, results from requests 

for proposals, cost-benefit analyses, and other items 

supporting the costs for each project that have not been 

provided in previous applications. 

d. Additional instructions for transmission rate 

adjustment clauses: Applicant shall provide the 

docket/case number and Federal Energy Regulatory 

Commission ruling approving the transmission rate/cost 

for which the applicant is seeking recovery approval. In 

lieu of providing a copy, the applicant may provide a link 

to where such information can be found on the Internet. 

e. Additional instructions for energy efficiency rate 

adjustment clauses: In a rate adjustment clause filing 

where the applicant is seeking to update commission-

approved energy efficiency programs, the applicant shall 

file evidence of the actual energy and demand savings 

achieved as a result of each specific program for which 

cost recovery is sought, along with revised cost-benefit 

tests that incorporate actual utility-specific energy and 

demand savings and cost data. 

Applicant shall provide a description of the significant 

accounting procedures and internal controls in place for 

each energy efficiency program that is administered by 

either a third-party or by the applicant, including (i) a 

description of the internal controls and procedures for 

rebate, incentive, and vendor payments for each newly 

approved energy efficiency program; (ii) a discussion of 

any changes in internal controls and procedures since the 

previous filing for existing energy efficiency programs; 

and (iii) support for how the applicant is ensuring that 

internal controls and procedures for all energy efficiency 

programs are functioning correctly. 

Schedule 47 - Total Aggregated Revenues and Consumer 

Price Index 

Investor-owned electric utilities subject to § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia shall file the following: 

a. A detailed schedule showing the calculation of total 

aggregate regulated rates as defined in § 56-585.1 A 9 of 

the Code of Virginia for each year beginning with 

calendar year 2010. 

b. A schedule of annual increases in the United States 

Average Consumer Price Index as described in § 56-

585.1 A 9 of the Code of Virginia beginning with 

calendar year 2010. Additionally, include the annual 

compounded amount. 

Schedule 48 - § 56-585.1 A 8 of the Code of Virginia costs 

and credits 

a. Instructions for per books costs pursuant to § 56-585.1 

A 8 of the Code of Virginia: Applicant shall provide a 

supporting schedule quantifying each cost that is 

reflected in Schedule 11, Column (1) as it was recorded 

per books by the utility for financial reporting purposes 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 8 of the Code of Virginia. 

Such schedule should provide cost details by month for 

each individual cost item. 

Applicant shall provide a narrative description of, and 

any internal accounting memoranda and guidance from 

external auditors to support, the accounting for each cost 

item reflected in Schedule 11, Column (1) as it was 

recorded per books by the utility for financial reporting 

purposes pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia electronically to the Division of Utility 

Accounting and Finance within five business days of the 

application filing date. 

b. Instructions for costs eligible for customer credit 

reinvestment offset: Applicant shall provide a schedule 

quantifying all capital expenditures eligible for use as a 

customer credit reinvestment offset as of the end of the 

test period. Such schedule should provide cost details by 

capital project and should include the plant-in-service 

and accumulated depreciation balances associated with 

each project. 

Applicant shall identify where each capital project 

eligible for customer credit reinvestment offset is 

reflected in cost of service as of the end of the test 

period. 

c. Instructions for customer credits and customer credit 

reinvestment offsets: Applicant shall provide a schedule 

calculating any credits due to customers using the 

calculation prescribed by § 56-585.1 A 8 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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If the applicant proposes to use the customer credit 

reinvestment offset to offset any portion of credits due to 

customers, applicant shall provide a schedule quantifying 

the capital investments it proposes to use as a customer 

credit reinvestment offset. 

Schedule 49 - Additional Schedules 

Reserved for additional exhibits presented by the applicant 

to be labeled Schedule 49 et seq. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (20VAC5-204) 

Forms - Schedule 1 - Historical Profitability and Market 

Data 

Forms - Schedule 2 - Interest and Cash Flow Coverage Data 

Forms - Schedule 3 - Capital Structure & Cost of Capital 

Statement - Per Books and Average 

Forms - Schedule 9 - Rate of Return Earnings Statement 

Test - Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 10 - Rate of Return - Earnings Test - 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 11 - Rate of Return Statement - Earnings 

Test - Adjusted to a Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Forms - Schedule 12 - Rate of Return Earnings Statement 

Test - Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 13 - Rate Base Statement - Earnings Test - 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 14 - Rate Base Statement - Earnings Test - 

Adjusted to a Regulatory Accounting Basis 

Forms - Schedule 15 - Schedule of Regulatory Assets 

Forms - Schedule 16 - Detail of Regulatory Accounting 

Adjustments 

Forms - Schedule 17 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation - Earnings Test 

Forms - Schedule 18 - Balance Sheet Analysis - Earnings 

Test 

Forms - Schedule 19 - Rate of Return Earnings Statement 

Test - Per Books - For the Test Year 

Forms - Schedule 20 - Rate of Return Statement - 

Generation and Distribution Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 21 - Rate of Return Statement - Reflecting 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Forms - Schedule 22 - Rate Base Statement - Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 23 - Rate Base Statement - Generation and 

Distribution Per Books 

Forms - Schedule 24 - Rate Base Statement - Reflecting 

Ratemaking Adjustments 

Forms - Schedule 25 - Detail of Ratemaking Adjustments 

Forms - Schedule 26 - Revenue Requirement Reconciliation 

- FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

Forms - Schedule 27 - Lead/Lag Cash Working Capital 

Calculation - Adjusted 

Forms - Schedule 28 - Balance Sheet Analysis - Adjusted 

Forms - Schedule - 40a and b - Jurisdictional Cost of 

Service Study 

Forms - Schedule 40C - Class Cost of Service Study 

Forms - Schedule 44 - Detail of Rate Adjustment Clauses 

included in Columns (2) - (4) of Schedules 10 and 13 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6240; Filed April 20, 2020, 9:51 a.m. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42d26006240~11.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42d26006240~11.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5070a006240~22.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a85a006240~34.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a85a006240~34.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14393006240~24s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14393006240~24s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cbd006240~276.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97cbd006240~276.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbcd4006240~57.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dbcd4006240~57.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f9c3006240~23s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f9c3006240~23s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61446006240~79.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=61446006240~79.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=711aa006240~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=711aa006240~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=16a02006240~91.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a993a006240~102.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a993a006240~102.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3aaf006240~113.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d3aaf006240~113.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43f29006240~124.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=43f29006240~124.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ec4a006240~24r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6ec4a006240~24r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97eab006240~146.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=97eab006240~146.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90875006240~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90875006240~157.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=952a4006240~25s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f1ea006240~26s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3f1ea006240~26s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26794006240~180.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=26794006240~180.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d1675006240~191.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28884006240~256.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28884006240~256.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=238b6006240~267.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=238b6006240~267.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ec02f006240~258.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=708fc006240~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=708fc006240~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a57c006240~247.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28474006240~264.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28474006240~264.pdf&typ=40&actno=006240&mime=application/pdf
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTY-SEVEN (2020) 

Licensing of Health Care Professionals in Response 
to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

The COVID-19 disease, caused by a virus that spreads easily 

from person to person that may result in serious illness or 

death and has been classified by the World Health 

Organization as a worldwide pandemic, has spread 

throughout the Commonwealth. The number of cases of 

COVID-19 continues to increase within the Commonwealth 

and in neighboring states. It is anticipated that COVID-19 

will result in increased demands on the Commonwealth's 

health professional workforce that will require additional 

personnel. Authorizing out-of-state licensed professionals, as 

well as residents, interns, and certain senior students to 

practice in the Commonwealth will assist in meeting that 

demand. In addition, permitting experienced nurse 

practitioners to practice without a practice agreement will 

increase the availability of primary care and hospital 

providers. Finally, expanding the use of telehealth will assist 

in the provision of needed health care services to the citizens 

of the Commonwealth.  

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the 

Constitution of Virginia and § 44-146.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, during the state of emergency declared in Executive 

Order 51, I hereby order the following:  

1. During the state of emergency declared by Executive 

Order 51, a license in good standing issued to a health care 

practitioner by another state shall be deemed to be an active 

license issued by the Commonwealth to provide health care 

or professional services as a health care practitioner of the 

same type for which such license is issued in another state, 

provided such health care practitioner is engaged by a 

hospital or an affiliate of such hospital where both share the 

same corporate parent, licensed nursing facility, dialysis 

facility, physicians' office, or other health care facility in 

the Commonwealth for the purpose of assisting that office 

or facility with public health and medical disaster response 

operations. Hospitals, licensed nursing facilities, dialysis 

facilities, physicians' offices, and other health care facilities 

must submit to the applicable licensing board each out-of-

state health care practitioner's name, license type, state of 

license, and license identification number within a 

reasonable time of such healthcare practitioner providing 

services for the health care facility or office in the 

Commonwealth. A health care facility includes assisted 

living facilities, congregate care settings, and any alternate 

care facility established in response to the COVID-19 

emergency.  

2. A clinical psychologist, professional counselor, marriage 

and family therapist, and clinical social worker with an 

active license issued by another state may be issued a 

temporary license by endorsement as a health care 

practitioner of the same type for which such license is 

issued in another state upon submission of an application 

and information requested by the applicable licensing board 

and the board's verification that the applicant's license 

issued by another state is active in good standing and there 

are no current reports in the United States Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank. Such temporary license shall expire ninety (90) days 

after the state of emergency ends. During such time the 

practitioner may seek a full Virginia license or transition 

patients to Virginia-licensed practitioners.  

3. Health care practitioners with an active license issued by 

another state may provide continuity of care to their current 

patients who are Virginia residents through telehealth 

services. Establishment of a relationship with a new patient 

requires a Virginia license unless pursuant to paragraphs 1 

or 2 above.  

4. A healthcare practitioner may use any non-public facing 

audio or remote communication product that is available to 

communicate with patients. This exercise of discretion 

applies to telehealth provided for any reason regardless of 

whether the telehealth service is related to the diagnosis 

and treatment of COVID-19.  

5. Nurse practitioners licensed in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, except those licensed in the category of certified 

registered nurse anesthetists, with two or more years of 

clinical experience may practice in the practice category in 

which they are certified and licensed and prescribe without 

a written or electronic practice agreement.  

6. Interns, residents, and fellows with active temporary 

training licenses to practice medicine issued by the Virginia 

Board of Medicine may practice in a hospital, including a 

clinic or alternate care facility operated by a hospital. 

without the supervision of a licensed physician or fully 

licensed member of the applicable faculty program at all 

times. The level of supervision required for each intern, 

resident, and fellow shall be established by the training 

program in coordination with the hospital where practice is 

occurring.  

7. Senior fourth year medical students may practice in a 

hospital, including a clinic or alternate care facility 

operated by a hospital. without the direct tutorial 

supervision by a licensed physician member of the hospital 

staff. The level of supervision required for each student 

shall be established by the institution in coordination with 

the hospital where practice is occurring.  

8. Individuals who have completed an accredited 

respiratory care program may practice respiratory therapy 
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and for ninety (90) days thereafter or until the individual 

has passed the National Board on Respiratory Care 

licensure examination and been issued a license or has 

failed the examination, whichever occurs first.  

Nothing in this order designates the healthcare practitioners 

above as agents of the Commonwealth.  

These actions are in concert with, and further the provisions 

of Executive Order 51 in marshalling all resources and 

appropriate preparedness, response, and recovery measures to 

respond to the emergency.  

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall be effective April 17, 2020, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect until June 10, 2020, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 17th day of April, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Beehive Distribution 

Program. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 10, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Title of Document: Virginia BUILT- Building Safety and 

Health Excellence in Construction Through Mentorship and 

Training. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 10, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 11, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 

holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents:  

DMV Information - Use Criteria. 

Frequently Asked Questions about Farm Vehicles. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 10, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 11, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/VDACS-36-19%20Guidelines%20for%20Beehive%20Distribution%20Program.pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/VDACS-36-19%20Guidelines%20for%20Beehive%20Distribution%20Program.pdf
mailto:David.Gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DOLI-36-19%20Virginia%20BUILT-%20Building%20Safety%20and%20Health%20Excellence%20in%20Construction%20Through%20Mentorship%20and%20Training.pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DOLI-36-19%20Virginia%20BUILT-%20Building%20Safety%20and%20Health%20Excellence%20in%20Construction%20Through%20Mentorship%20and%20Training.pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DOLI-36-19%20Virginia%20BUILT-%20Building%20Safety%20and%20Health%20Excellence%20in%20Construction%20Through%20Mentorship%20and%20Training.pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DMV-36-19%20DMV%20Information-Use%20Criteria.pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DMV-36-19%20Frequently%20Asked%20Questions%20about%20Farm%20Vehicles.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov


GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

Volume 36, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations May 11, 2020 

2254 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

April 14, 2020 

Administrative Letter 2020-02 

To: All Virginia Domiciled Insurers Licensed in Virginia 

Re: Filing Requirements during the COVID-19 Public Health 

Emergency 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is for the Virginia 

Bureau of Insurance (Bureau) to advise insurance companies 

regarding financial filing requirements during the COVID-19 

public health emergency. The filing flexibility included 

within this Administrative Letter, which is effective 

immediately, will allow insurance companies to devote 

resources to respond to additional information requests 

designed to gather specific COVID-19 related information.  

Regulatory Filing Deadlines 

Insurance companies are subject to filing deadlines when 

submitting electronic documents to the NAIC (e.g., quarterly 

financial statements, audited financial statements), or when 

submitting electronic or hard copy documents to the Bureau. 

Because of the COVID-19 public health emergency, the 

Bureau will grant most insurance companies an additional 30 

or 60 days to complete the filings listed on the attached chart. 

However, insurance companies must request this extension in 

writing prior to the filing deadline and the Bureau reserves 

the right to reject a company's extension request based upon 

the financial condition and unique circumstances of a specific 

company. Any insurance company requesting a financial 

filing extension should submit such request to the Bureau at 

boifinfiling@scc.virginia.gov. The granting of an extension 

does not prevent insurance companies from filing any 

documents in advance of the revised due dates and insurance 

companies are encouraged to do so. 

Electronic Filings and Signatures  

In certain instances, the Bureau requires insurance companies 

to file documents in hard copy form with notarized 

signatures. The hard copy and notary requirements are 

temporarily waived. The Bureau will accept electronic filings 

and signatures. 

However, insurance companies are expected to keep a list of 

all filings that were made electronically in lieu of hard copy 

filings so that they can file all the hard copies within 60 days 

after the Commonwealth of Virginia has allowed a return to 

work. The Bureau expects electronic communication will be 

used by insurance companies on all other financial related 

communication, with hard copies provided within 60 days if 

required by law.  

On-site Examinations 

The Bureau will not conduct any on-site examination work 

during the COVID-19 public health emergency. Instead, the 

Bureau will conduct all scheduled examinations remotely 

until further notice. The examiner-in-charge of the 

examination will work with the insurance company being 

examined to determine the most efficient manner to conduct 

the examination. The Bureau in most instances will need to 

request more information in electronic format to complete 

these examinations. The Bureau acknowledges that response 

times from insurance companies may be slower as many of 

their employees are currently working from home. The 

Bureau expects independent auditors will operate similarly, 

therefore an extended due date for the Audited Financial 

Report is granted as noted above. 

Questions regarding this letter are encouraged to be emailed 

to Connie T. Duong, Manager, Domestic Financial Analysis 

Section, Financial Regulation Division, Bureau of Insurance, 

State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond 

VA 23218, email connie.duong@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

mailto:BOIFINFILING@SCC.VIRGINIA.GOV
mailto:connie.duong@scc.virginia.gov
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FILINGS AND EXTENSIONS 

Annual Filings with Potential 30-day delay Due Date Extended Due Date 

Combined Annual Statement 5/1/20 6/1/20 

Accountant's Letter of Qualifications 6/1/20 7/1/20 

PBR Exemption  To State 7/1/20 

To NAIC 8/15/20 

8/1/20 

9/15/20 

 

Annual Filings with Potential 60-day delay Due Date Extended Due Date 

Form B Registration Statement & Related Form C 4/30/20 6/30/20 

Enterprise Risk Report (Form F) 4/30/20 6/30/20 

Actuarial Memorandum Required by Actuarial 

Guideline XXXVIII 8D 

4/30/20 6/30/20 

Audited Financial Report 6/1/20 8/1/20 

Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure 6/1/20 8/1/20 

Communication of Internal Control Related 

Matters Noted in Audit 

8/1/20 10/1/20 

Management's Report of Internal Control Over 

Financial Reporting  

8/1/20 10/1/20 

Own Risk and Solvency Assessment (ORSA) 12/1/20 2/1/21 

 

Quarterly Filings with Potential 30-day delay Due Date Extended Due Date 

Quarterly Financial Statement 5/15/20 6/15/20 

Trusteed Surplus Statement 5/15/20 6/15/20 

Supplement A to Schedule T 5/15/20 6/15/20 

Medicare Part D Coverage Supplement 5/15/20 6/15/20 

Reasonableness of Assumptions Certification 

Required by Actuarial Guideline XXXV 

5/15/20 6/15/20 

Reasonableness and Consistency of Assumptions 

Certification Required by Actuarial Guideline 

XXXV 

5/15/20 6/15/20 

Reasonableness of Assumptions Certification for 

Implied Guaranteed Rate Method Required by 

Actuarial Guideline XXXVI 

5/15/20 6/15/20 

Reasonableness and Consistency of Assumptions 

Certification Required by Actuarial Guideline 

XXXVI (Updated Average Market Value) 

5/15/20 6/15/20 
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DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Revision to Fees for Drinking Water Laboratory 
Certification - Final General Notice 

The Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS), 

Department of General Services, published a general notice in 

36:15 VA.R. 2062-2063 March 16, 2020, seeking comment 

on the revision to fees charged for certifying drinking water 

laboratories under 1VAC30-41-270 as required by 

subdivision I 2 of 1VAC30-41-270. 

No comments were received. The revision to the fees will 

stand as published. The following fees are effective for May 

1, 2020, through April 30, 2021, for drinking water laboratory 

certification under 1VAC30-41-270. 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE ($) 

Microbiological testing  

 1 - 2 methods 659 

 3 - 5 methods 768 

 6+ methods 878 

Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals testing  

 1 - 2 methods 713 

 3 - 5 methods 931 

 6 - 8 methods 1152 

 9+ methods 1371 

Inorganic chemistry, metals testing  

 1 - 2 methods 1096 

 3 - 5 methods 1315 

 6+ methods 1533 

Organic chemistry  

 1 - 2 methods 1152 

 3 - 5 methods 1371 

 6 - 8 methods 1589 

 9+ methods 1810 

Radiochemistry  

 1 - 2 methods 1207 

 3 - 5 methods 1425 

 6+ methods 1645 

Asbestos  

 1 - 2 methods 986 

 3 - 5 methods 1207 

 6+ methods 1425 

How fees are calculated: DCLS calculates a laboratory's total 

fee by adding the fees for the number of test methods in each 

category in the fee table for which the laboratory is certified 

or applies to be certified. Contact lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov 

for more information about the fee category for a specific 

method. 

Additional fees: 

Additional fees apply when a laboratory: 

• Applies for modification of certification under 1VAC30-41-

110 

• Is moving its location when the move requires DCLS to 

perform an onsite assessment 

• Requests reinstatement of certification when DCLS requires 

an onsite assessment 

Hourly review fee and calculation of total fee: The fee to be 

charged is the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any onsite assessment costs incurred. The 

hourly charge per reviewer is $67. The charge per reviewer is 

determined by multiplying the number of hours expended in 

the review by $67.  

Onsite review and travel expenses: If an onsite review is 

required, travel time and onsite review time will be charged at 

the same hourly rate of $67 and any travel expenses will be 

added.  

When to pay: Payment is due at the time the application is 

made or annually thereafter upon receipt of the invoice from 

DCLS. Annual billing precedes the expiration of the current 

certificate. 

How to pay: Fees may be paid by check, draft, or postal 

money order payable to the Treasurer, Commonwealth of 

Virginia or submitted electronically, if available. Payment 

must be in U.S. currency, except that agencies and institutions 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia may submit interagency 

transfers for the amount of the fee. Laboratories may also pay 

fees using credit cards. All fees must be sent to the following 

address or submitted electronically, if available: DCLS, Attn: 

Lab Certification, 600 North 5th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219. A fee payment form is available on the Drinking 

Water page of the DCLS website at 

www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov, telephone (804) 786-3311, 

or FAX (804) 371-8305. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss15/v36i15.pdf
mailto:lab_cert@dgs.virginia.gov
http://www.dgs.virginia.gov/dcls
mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - ARTS Updates 

Comment period: April 21, 2020, to May 20, 2020. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Emily McClellan, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan and such comments 

are available for review at the same address. Comments may 

also be submitted in writing on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall public comment forum attached to this notice at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Types of Care 

(12VAC 30-80): The changes made to 12VAC30-80-32 on 

March 6, 2020, will be replicated in the state plan. These 

changes relate to the rates paid to psychiatrists and other 

licensed or registered individuals for substance use disorder 

counseling services, as well as the rates paid for office-based 

opioid treatment services and opioid treatment programs. The 

full text of the changes may be viewed at 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=14082, 

then scrolling down to 12VAC30-80-32. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual 

expenditures as a result of these changes. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Order for  
American Hardwood Industries LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for American 

Hardwood Industries LLC (AHI) for violations at the Warm 

Springs Mill and at the Lexington Mill. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order with penalty 

and injunctive relief to AHI to address noncompliance with 

State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental 

Quality office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Eric 

Millard will accept comments by email at 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from May 11, 2020, to June 10, 

2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Bristow Shopping 
Center Limited Partnership LLP 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bristow 

Shopping Center Limited Partnership LLP for violations of 

the State Water Control Law and regulations at the Heritage 

Mall Citgo located in Annandale, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 

violations associated with the Heritage Mall Citgo. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from May 11, 2020, through June 10, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Town of Front Royal 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Front Royal for violations at the Front Royal waste water 

treatment plant. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order with penalty, injunctive relief, and a 

supplemental environmental project to the Town of Front 

Royal to address noncompliance with State Water Control 

Law. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Eric Millard will accept comments 

by email at eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-

7878, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from May 11, 2020, to June 10, 

2020. 
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Proposed Consent Special Order for  
JFS Holdings LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to JFS Holdings LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at the King William Tractor Supply 

located at the corner of State Route 30 and King William 

Road. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff Reynolds will accept 

comments by email at jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

until June 11, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Mr. Gurcharan Lail 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. Gurcharan 

Lail for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at One Stop Trailer Park located in Leesburg, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to resolve violations associated with One Stop 

Trailer Park. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will 

accept comments by email at 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

May 11, 2020, through June 10, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Rudy's Truck & Auto Parts LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Rudy's Truck & 

Auto Parts LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell 

Deppe will accept comments by email at 

russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 11, 2020, to June 10, 

2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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