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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Ryan T. McDougle; Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2020 through May 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:22 June 3, 2020 June 22, 2020 

36:23 June 17, 2020 July 6, 2020 

36:24 July 1, 2020 July 20, 2020 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Misty Meismer for Virginia Dental 

Hygiene Program Directors' Consortium. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner is requesting an 

amendment to require dental assistants to be certified in 

infection control procedures and radiation health and safety 

recognized by the Dental Assisting National Board or the 

National Entry Level Dental Assistant. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At the board meeting on 

March 13, 2020, the board determined that it will publish a 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to initiate rulemaking 

relating to a requirement for dental assistants to have training 

in infection control. The regulatory action may include 

certification in infection control procedures recognized by the 

Dental Assisting National Board or the National Entry Level 

Dental Assistant or other training and education. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, or email 

sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-15; Filed April 23, 2020, 9:06 a.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: David Haine. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC105-20-45 

to include the number of contact lenses that can be dispensed 

from a prescription for contact lenses. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on May 25, 

2020, with public comment requested until June 24, 2020. 

The board will consider all comments and the petition and 

decide whether to initiate rulemaking at its next meeting 

scheduled for July 17, 2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-39; Filed April 22, 2020, 14:04 p.m. 

 

mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 4VAC25-101, Regulations 

Governing Vertical Ventilation Holes and Mining Near 

Gas and Oil Wells; 4VAC25-110, Regulations Governing 

Blasting in Surface Mining Operations; 4VAC25-120, 

Requirements for Installation and Use of Cabs and 

Canopies; and 4VAC25-145, Regulations on the Eligibility 

of Certain Mining Operators to Perform Reclamation 

Projects. The review of these regulations will be guided by 

the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 

2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment begins May 25, 2020, and ends June 15, 

2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of each review will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 

telephone (804) 692-3212, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC5-80, Permits for 

Stationary Sources and 9VAC5-230, Variance for 

International Paper Franklin Paper Mill. The review of 

these regulations will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 25, 2020, and ends June 

15, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of each review will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-32, Virginia 

Pollution Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation, and 

9VAC25-194, Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) General Permit for Vehicle Wash 

Facilities and Laundry Facilities. The review of these 

regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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The purpose of this review is to determine whether these 

regulations should be repealed, amended, or retained in their 

current forms. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 25, 2020, and ends June 

15, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

findings of each review will be posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Historic Resources conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

17VAC10-30, Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated May 5, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 

14 (as amended, July 16, 2018) as it is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare and is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 

binding state requirements and is effective in meeting its 

goals. The regulation is, therefore, being retained without 

amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed to meet the 

requirements of state law and regulations concerning historic 

rehabilitation tax credits. No complaints or comments have 

been received concerning the content of the regulation or its 

complexity. The regulation sets out the state requirements for 

historic rehabilitation tax credits and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with other state laws or regulations. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6082, or email 

stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC40-675, Personnel 

Policies for Local Departments of Social Services. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 25, 2020, and ends June 

15, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Lori Schamerhorn,, Senior Human 

Resource Policy Consultant, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7264, FAX (804) 819-7019, or email 

lori.schamerhorn@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:stephanie.williams@dhr.virginia.gov
mailto:lori.schamerhorn@dss.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees. 

Contact Information: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4209, email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-90) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program - 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 

Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 11/2014) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 

Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 12/2018) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 6/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6311; Filed April 28, 2020, 8:27 a.m.  

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-150. Waste Tire End User 

Reimbursement Regulation. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-150)  

Waste Tire Pile Certification, DEQ-CERT, No. 154 (rev. 

3/2010) 

End User Reimbursement Application, DEQ-EURR (rev. 

5/2016) 

Waste Tire Certification, DEQ-WTC (rev. 4/2016) 

Waste Tire Certification, DEQ-WTC (rev. 4/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6358; Filed April 30, 2020, 2:10 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-740. Water Reclamation and 

Reuse Regulation. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-740) 

Application for an Emergency Authorization to Produce, 

Distribute or Reuse Reclaimed Water (12/2015) 

Application for Reclaimed Water Hauling Operations, DEQ 

Form WR&R-2 (eff. 10/2018) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 

for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 

or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit, DEQ Form 

WR&R-1 (rev. 1/2019) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Variance Application 

(12/2015) 

Application for an Emergency Authorization to Produce, 

Distribute or Reuse Reclaimed Water, DEQ Form WR&R-4 

(rev. 4/2020) 

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be422006059~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006059&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=be422006059~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006059&mime=application/pdf
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c9b9004637~3&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4c9b9004637~3&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c177a004637~2&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c177a004637~2&typ=40&actno=004637&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06ca7006358~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006358&mime=application/pdf
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d9e006366~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d9e006366~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d9e006366~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
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Application for Reclaimed Water Hauling Operations, DEQ 

Form WR&R-2 (rev. 4/2020) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Addendum to an Application 

for a Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit 

or a Virginia Pollution Abatement Permit, DEQ Form 

WR&R-1 (rev. 4/2020) 

Water Reclamation and Reuse Variance Application, DEQ 

Form WR&R-3 (rev. 4/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6366; Filed May 1, 2020, 4:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of State Police will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-40, 19VAC30-20-70, 

19VAC30-20-80, 19VAC30-20-130, 19VAC30-20-150, 

19VAC30-20-220 through 19VAC30-20-250, 19VAC30-

20-300; repealing 19VAC30-20-20, 19VAC30-20-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Lieutenant Sean Stewart, Assistant Safety 

Officer, Motor Carrier Safety Unit, Department of State 

Police, P.O. Box 27472, Richmond, VA 23261, telephone 

(804) 278-5303, or email sean.stewart@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments align Virginia's Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations, 19VAC30-20, with the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations and include (i) clarifying an 

incorporation by reference and a valid (V) restriction on a 

commercial driving license, (ii) conforming acceptable 

notice delivery methods (electronic) to those accepted in 

federal regulation and in statute, (iii) adding intermodal 

equipment to vehicle requirements, and (iv) making minor 

changes to correct spelling and grammatical errors. 

Part II  

General Information and Legislative Authority  

19VAC30-20-20. Authority for regulation. (Repealed.) 

A. These regulations are issued under authority of § 52-8.4 

of the Code of Virginia, Powers and duties to promulgate 

regulations; inspection of certain records.  

B. Section 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia mandates that the 

Superintendent of State Police, with the cooperation of such 

other agencies of the Commonwealth as may be necessary, 

shall promulgate regulations pertaining to commercial motor 

vehicle safety pursuant to the United States Motor Carrier Act 

of 1984.  

C. These regulations, as promulgated, shall be no more 

restrictive than the applicable provisions of the Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Regulations of the United States Department of 

Transportation.  

19VAC30-20-30. Purpose of regulations. (Repealed.) 

These regulations shall set forth criteria relating to driver, 

vehicle, and cargo safety inspections with which motor 

carriers and transport vehicles shall comply.  

19VAC30-20-40. Application of regulations.  

A. These regulations This chapter and those the regulations 

contained in 49 CFR Parts 366, 370 through 376, 379, 380 

Subpart Subparts E and F, 382, 385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 

through 397, and 399, unless excepted, shall be applicable to 

all employers, employees, and commercial motor vehicles 

that transport property or passengers in interstate and 

intrastate commerce.  

B. These regulations This chapter shall not apply to hours 

worked by any carrier when transporting passengers or 

property to or from any portion of the Commonwealth for the 

purpose of (i) providing relief or assistance in case of 

earthquake, flood, fire, famine, drought, epidemic, pestilence, 

major loss of utility services, or other calamity or disaster or 

(ii) engaging in the provision or restoration of utility services 

when the loss of such service is unexpected, unplanned, or 

unscheduled. The suspension of the regulation this chapter 

provided for in § 52-8.4 A of the Code of Virginia shall 

expire if the Secretary of the United States U.S. Department 

of Transportation determines that it is in conflict with the 

intent of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.  

19VAC30-20-70. Penalties.  

Except for those offenses listed in § 52-8.4:2 of the Code of 

Virginia, any violation of the provisions of the regulations 

this chapter adopted pursuant to § 52-8.4 of the Code of 

Virginia shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a 

fine of not more than $1,000 for the first offense or by a fine 

of not more than $5,000 for a subsequent offense. Each day of 

violation shall constitute a separate offense; however, any 

violation of any out-of-service order issued under authority of 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=670b5006366~20.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=670b5006366~20.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7ed44006366~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7ed44006366~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7ed44006366~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7ed44006366~30.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1cd1006366~40.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1cd1006366~40.pdf&typ=40&actno=006366&mime=application/pdf
mailto:sean.stewart@vsp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 25, 2020 

2266 

such regulations this chapter or under authority of the federal 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations shall be punished 

as provided in § 46.2-341.21 of the Code of Virginia and the 

disqualification provisions of § 46.2-341.21 of the Code of 

Virginia also shall apply to any driver as convicted. 

Notwithstanding subsection C of § 52-8.4 of the Code of 

Virginia, any violation of certain provisions of the regulations 

this chapter adopted pursuant to § 52-8.4, and listed in § 52-

8.4:2, shall constitute traffic infractions as defined in § 46.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia and shall be eligible for 

designation as traffic infractions for which a pretrial waiver of 

appearance, plea of guilty, and fine payment may be accepted 

pursuant to § 16.1-69.40:1 of the Code of Virginia.  

Part III  

Incorporation by Reference  

Article 1  

Compliance with Federal Regulations  

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to the 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations this chapter operating in 

interstate or intrastate commerce within or through the 

Commonwealth of Virginia shall comply with the Federal 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the United 

States U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Administration, with amendments promulgated 

and in effect as of July 1, 2019 January 1, 2020, pursuant to 

the United States Motor Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR 

Parts 366, 370 through 376, 379, 380 Subpart Subparts E and 

F, 382, 385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 through 397, and 399, 

which are incorporated in these regulations this chapter by 

reference, with certain exceptions.  

19VAC30-20-130. Investigations and inquiries - § 391.23.  

Except as provided in subpart Subpart G of this part 49 CFR 

391, each intrastate motor carrier shall make investigations 

and inquiries required by paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) of this 

section 49 CFR § 391.23 with respect to each driver it 

employs, other than a person who has been a regularly 

employed driver of the intrastate motor carrier for a 

continuous period which began before July 9, 1986.  

19VAC30-20-150. Waiver of certain physical defects - 

§ 391.49. 

A person who is not physically qualified to drive under 

49 CFR 391.41(b)(1), (b)(2), (b)(3), or (b)(10), and is not 

subject to Article 7 (§ 10.1-1450 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia and Regulations Governing 

the Transportation of Hazardous Materials (9VAC20-110), 

and is otherwise qualified to drive a commercial motor 

vehicle may drive a commercial motor vehicle in intrastate 

commerce if granted a waiver by the commissioner. Intrastate 

drivers with a valid (L)(9) endorsement (V) restriction on 

their commercial driver's license will be deemed to be in 

compliance with this section and 49 CFR 391.49,even when 

the waiver is not in their possession. 

19VAC30-20-220. Responsibilities of motor carriers - 

§ 395.13(c)(2).  

A motor carrier shall complete the "Motor Carrier's Report 

of Compliance with this Notice Certification of Action 

Taken" portion of the Driver Vehicle Inspection 

Driver/Vehicle Examination Report and deliver the copy of 

the form either personally or by mail, email, or facsimile to 

the Department of State Police, Motor Carrier Safety, at the 

address specified upon the form within 15 days following the 

date of the examination. If the motor carrier mails the form, 

delivery is made on the date it is postmarked.  

Article 8  

Part 396 - Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance  

19VAC30-20-230. Inspection of motor vehicles and 

intermodal equipment in operation - § 396.9(a).  

Law-enforcement officers specifically designated by the 

superintendent are authorized to enter upon and perform 

inspections of motor carrier vehicles and intermodal 

equipment in operation.  

19VAC30-20-240. Motor vehicles and intermodal 

equipment declared "out of service" - § 396.9(c).  

Authorized personnel defined in 19VAC30-20-230 shall 

declare and mark "out of service" any motor vehicle which or 

intermodal equipment that by reason of its mechanical 

condition or loading would likely cause an accident or a 

breakdown. An "Out of Service Vehicle" sticker shall be used 

to mark vehicles and intermodal equipment "out of service."  

19VAC30-20-250. Motor carrier's carrier or intermodal 

equipment provider's disposition - § 396.9(d)(3)(ii).  

Motor carriers and intermodal equipment providers shall 

return the completed Driver Vehicle Inspection 

Driver/Vehicle Examination Report to the Department of 

State Police at the address indicated on the report.  

Article 13  

Part 382 - Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and 

Testing  

19VAC30-20-300. Retention of records - § 382.401(d).  

Location of records. All records required by this part shall 

be maintained as required by 49 CFR 390.31 390.29 and shall 

be made available for inspection at the employer's principal 

place of business within two business days after a request has 

been made by an authorized specially trained member of the 

Department of State Police designated for that purpose by the 

superintendent.  
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NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (19VAC30-20)  

Virginia State Police Driver/Vehicle Inspection Report, 

SP-233 (rev. 7/2004) 

Virginia State Police Driver/Vehicle Inspection Report, 

SP-233 (rev. 1/2016) 

Virginia State Police Driver/Vehicle Inspection Report 

Continuation Sheet SP233-A (rev. 7/2004) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6263; Filed May 4, 2020, 10:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-200. Public Utility 

Accounting (amending 20VAC5-200-21).  

Statutory Authority: § 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 7, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Justin Morgan, Manager, Division of Utility 

Accounting and Finance, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9981, FAX (804) 225-1071, or email 

justin.morgan@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the circumstances 

under which a cooperative may use the streamlined 

ratemaking procedures, (ii) clarify how customers are to 

be notified of the proposed rates, and (iii) specify when the 

commission will hold a hearing to consider proposed rates 

under the streamlined procedures. Outdated references to 

a division of the commission are corrected.  

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 28, 2020 

PETITION OF THE VIRGINIA, MARYLAND & 

DELAWARE ASSOCIATION OF 

ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00023 

For Rulemaking to Amend the Commission's 

Streamlined Rate Case Rules for Electric Cooperatives 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

On February 10, 2020, the Virginia, Maryland and Delaware 

Association of Electric Cooperatives (the "Association") filed 

a Petition for Rulemaking ("Petition") requesting that the 

State Corporation Commission ("Commission") initiate a 

rulemaking to revise the Commission's Streamlined Rate 

Case Rules (the "Streamlined Rules"), at 20 VAC 5-200-

21(C). 

The Streamlined Rules allow electric cooperatives, under 

specific delineated circumstances, to make rate adjustments 

outside of general rate proceedings (which are otherwise 

governed by the remainder of 20 VAC 5-200-21). According 

to the Petition, the Association wishes to work constructively 

with this Commission and its Staff to create a process, as 

other states have done, to streamline Cooperative ratemaking 

in those cases when a general rate proceeding is not 

necessary. This streamlined process will allow the 

Cooperatives to make adjustments larger in scope than the 

adjustments pursuant to their statutory authority, but not as 

large or complex as those that might be contemplated by a 

general rate proceeding.  

The Association states that it has worked with the Office of 

Attorney General's Division of Consumer Counsel and the 

Staff of the Commission to craft proposed changes to the 

Streamlined Rules.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should be 

established to consider the Association's proposed changes to 

the Streamlined Rules. The rules proposed by the Association 

("Proposed Rules") are appended to this Order. We direct that 

notice of the Proposed Rules be given to the public and that 

interested persons be provided an opportunity to file written 

comments on or propose modifications or supplements to the 

Proposed Rules. We further direct that each of the 

Association's Virginia members serve a copy of this Order 

upon each of their member-customers and file a certificate of 

service.  

The Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public 

health emergency related to the spread of the coronavirus, or 

COVID-19, and the declarations of emergency issued at both 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36e49006263~13.pdf&typ=40&actno=006263&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=36e49006263~13.pdf&typ=40&actno=006263&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d5c004234~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004234&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27d5c004234~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=004234&mime=application/pdf
mailto:justin.morgan@scc.virginia.gov
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the state and federal levels. The Commission has taken 

certain actions, and may take additional actions going 

forward, that could impact the procedures in this proceeding. 

Consistent with these actions, in regard to the terms of the 

procedural framework established below, the Commission 

will, among other things, direct the electronic filing of 

comments and pleadings unless such filings contain 

confidential information, and require electronic service on 

parties to this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-2020-

00023. 

(2) All documents required to be served in this matter should 

be submitted electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 

5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, of the Commission's 

Rules of Practice and Procedure ("Rules of Practice"). 

 Confidential and Extraordinarily Sensitive information shall 

not be submitted electronically and should comply with 

5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential information. For the duration 

of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking to hand 

deliver and physically file or submit any pleading or other 

document shall contact the Clerk's Office Document Control 

Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery.  

(3) Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and service, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, the Commission directs that 

service on parties and the Staff in this matter shall be 

accomplished by electronic means. Concerning Confidential 

Information, parties and the Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one 

another, to the extent practicable, in an electronically 

protected manner, even if such information is unable to be 

filed in the Office of the Clerk, so that no person or the Staff 

is impeded from participating in this case. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order Establishing Proceeding to 

the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(5) On or before June 1, 2020, each of the Association's 

Virginia members shall serve a copy of this Order upon each 

of their customers and file a certificate of service no later than 

June 15, 2020, consistent with the directive above. 

(6) On or before July 7, 2020, any interested person may 

comment on or propose modifications or supplements to the 

Proposed Rules by following the instructions available at the 

Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Interested parties shall refer in their comments or 

requests to Case No. PUR-2020-00023. 

(7) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_______________________________________ 

1The Virginia members of the Association include A&N Electric 

Cooperative, BARC Electric Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric 

Cooperative, Community Electric Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric 
Cooperative, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric 

Cooperative, Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric 

Cooperative, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley 

Electric Cooperative, and Southside Electric Cooperative. 

2Petition at 4. 

3Id. at 5. 

4See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 

to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Governor 

Ralph S. Northam.  See also Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions 
on Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential 

Retail Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 
Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay at Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam. 

5See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte:  Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 
CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte:  Revised 
Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, Order Regarding the State 

Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 
Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised Operating Procedures Order"); 

Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte:  

Electronic service among parties during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. 
CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring 

Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020). 

65 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

7As noted in the Commission's Revised Operating Procedures Order, 

submissions to the Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial 

mail equivalents may not be processed for an indefinite period of time due to 

the COVID-19 emergency.  

AT RICHMOND, MAY 6, 2020 

APPLICATION OF 

THE VIRGINIA, MARYLAND & 

DELAWARE ASSOCIATION OF 

ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES  

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00023 

For Rulemaking to Amend the Commission's 

Streamlined Rate Case Rules for Electric 

Cooperatives 

ORDER 

On February 10, 2020, the Virginia, Maryland and Delaware 

Association of Electric Cooperatives (the "Association")1 

filed an Application for Rulemaking ("Application") 

requesting that the State Corporation Commission 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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("Commission") initiate a rulemaking to revise the 

Commission's Streamlined Rate Case Rules, at 20 VAC 5-

200-21(C). 

On April 28, 2020, the Commission issued an Order 

Establishing Proceeding, which, among other things, directed 

that the revisions proposed by the Association (hereafter, 

"Proposed Rules") be forwarded to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations, and invited comments from the public on the 

Proposed Rules. Ordering Paragraph (5) of the Order 

Establishing Proceeding required that "[o]n or before June 1, 

2020, each of the Association's Virginia members shall serve 

a copy of this Order upon each of their customers and file a 

certificate of service no later than June 15, 2020...." 

On April 30, 2020, the Association filed a Motion to Amend 

Notice Requirements and Procedural Schedule ("Motion"), in 

which the Association requested that the Commission modify 

the public notice required in the Order Establishing 

Proceeding and permit the Association's members to provide 

notice by publication. According to the Motion, " [n] otice by 

individual (first class) mail to each Cooperative member-

consumer in Virginia would be extremely costly and 

approach—and possibly exceed—$1 million."2 The 

Association states that notice by publication is consistent with 

the Commission's practice in cooperative rate cases. The 

Association indicates that the Commission Staff and the 

Office of the Attorney General, Division of Consumer 

Counsel are not opposed to the relief requested in the Motion. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the Association's 

Motion should be granted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's April 28, 2020 Order Establishing 

Proceeding shall be modified as discussed herein. 

(2) On or before July 1, 2020, each of the Association's 

Virginia members shall cause the following notice to be 

published in the Current Communicator (for Central Virginia 

Electric Cooperative) or Cooperative Living (for the 

remaining Virginia members of the Association): 

VIRGINIA'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00023 

On February 10, 2020, the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware 

Association of Electric Cooperatives ("VMDAEC" or 

"Association") filed with the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") an Application to Initiate a Rulemaking 

("Application") pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-110 of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure ("Rules of 

Practice"). Specifically, VMDAEC seeks a rulemaking to 

revise the Cooperative Streamlined Rate Case Rules 

contained in 20 VAC 5-200-21(C) (the "Streamlined Rate 

Case Rules" or "Streamlined Rules"). According to 

VMDAEC, these revisions would assist electric cooperatives 

subject to regulation by this Commission by making 

ratemaking proceedings more efficient through the increased 

use of the Streamlined Rate Case Rules outside of a general 

rate proceeding. 

VMDAEC states that the Association has worked through a 

collaborative process with various stakeholders to propose the 

revisions, which would: 

• Limit streamlined cooperative rate increases to 4% of 

total operating revenues; 

• Remove references to the Consumer Price Index (CPI-

U) for purposes of calculating rate change minimums or 

maximums; 

• Add a new and additional Times Interest Earned Ratio 

(TIER) limit of 2.5 (or other appropriate metrics), 

consistent with the Commission's history of rate 

regulation for electric cooperatives; 

• Allow for participation from member-consumers 

affected by rate changes;  

• Remove references in the current rules that would limit 

use of the rules by the cooperatives in a period of years 

from their last general rate case; 

• Limit use of the Streamlined Rules to no more than 

three (3) times in any ten (10) year period; 

• Limit use of Streamlined Rules such that any such rate 

change approved by the Commission would also limit 

use of a cooperative's statutory authority, limiting rate 

changes to once every three years (absent other order of 

the Commission); and 

• Make other miscellaneous updates to the Streamlined 

Rules, including adding references to websites and the 

use of electronic mail in addition to traditional 

notification methods. 

Interested persons are encouraged to review the Application 

for further details of the Association's proposals. 

Copies of the Application and the Order Establishing 

Proceeding that the Commission entered in this case may be 

obtained by submitting a written request to counsel for the 

Association, Samuel R. Brumberg, Esquire, VMDAEC, 4201 

Dominion Boulevard, Suite 101; Glen Allen, Virginia 23060, 

or via email to sbrumberg@vmdaec.com. 

Copies of the Application and the proposed Streamlined 

Rules also are available for interested persons to review at the 

website of each Virginia Electric Cooperative. Interested 

persons also may download unofficial copies from the 

Commission's website and the Association's website: 

mailto:sbrumberg@vmdaec.com
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http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information and 

http://www.vmdaec.com/streamlined-rules/. 

On or before September 7, any interested person wishing to 

comment on the Association's Application may comment on 

or propose modifications or supplements to the Streamlined 

Rules by following the instructions available at the 

Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00023. Any person 

needing to hand deliver or physically file or submit any 

pleading or other document may need to contact the Clerk's 

Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery, pursuant to the Commission's Rules of 

Practice, as amended by the Commission's COVID-related 

Revised Operating Procedures Order, available at the 

Commission's website at: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information and 

https://scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch/DOCS/41yc01!.pdf. 

VIRGINIA'S ELECTRIC COOPERATIVES 

(3) On or before July 15, 2020, the Association's Virginia 

members shall file a certificate of service, consistent with the 

directive above. 

(4) On or before September 7, 2020, any interested person 

may comment on or propose modifications or supplements to 

the Proposed Rules by following the instructions available at 

the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Interested parties shall refer in their comments or 

requests to Case No. PUR-2020-00023. 

(5) Unless modified herein, the remaining provisions of the 

Commission's Order Establishing Proceeding shall remain in 

full force and effect. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(7) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

____________________________ 

1The Virginia members of the Association include A&N Electric 
Cooperative, BARC Electric Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric 

Cooperative, Community Electric Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric 

Cooperative, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric 
Cooperative, Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric 

Cooperative, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley 

Electric Cooperative, and Southside Electric Cooperative. 

2Motion at 2. 

20VAC5-200-21. Streamlined rate proceedings and 

general rate proceedings for electric cooperatives subject 

to the State Corporation Commission's rate jurisdiction.  

A. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to apply to 

applications for temporary reductions of rates pursuant to 

§ 56-242 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. All streamlined or general rate applications for 

jurisdictional electric distribution cooperatives 

("cooperatives" or "applicants") shall be subject to the 

following requirements:  

1. Pursuant to § 56-235.4 of the Code of Virginia and the 

exceptions stated therein, the regulated operating revenues 

of a cooperative shall not be increased more than once 

within any 12-month period. However, streamlined rate 

relief may become effective in less than 12 months after a 

preceding increase provided that regulated base operating 

revenues are not increased more than once in any calendar 

year.  

2. An applicant may select any test period it wishes to use 

to support its application.  

3. Any increase in revenues under this section shall be 

allocated in accordance with a properly designed cost of 

service study.  

4. A cooperative which has outstanding wholesale power 

cost riders which reflect permanent changes in power costs 

approved by a regulatory agency shall adjust its base rates 

to reflect such changes at the same time it increases its 

rates in a rate application.  

5. a. Except as otherwise provided herein, all applications 

for rate relief shall be filed in the original and 15 copies 

with the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218.  

b. Where a filing contains information that the applicant 

claims to be confidential, the filing may be made under 

seal provided it is accompanied by both a motion for 

protective order or other confidential treatment and an 

additional five copies of a redacted version of the filing 

to be available for public disclosure. Unredacted filings 

containing the confidential information shall, however, 

be immediately available to the commission staff for 

internal use at the commission.  

Filings containing confidential (or redacted) information 

shall be so stated on the cover of the filing, and the 

precise portions of the filing containing such confidential 

(or redacted) information, including supporting material, 

shall be clearly marked within the filing.  

6. An electric cooperative intending to file a rate 

application shall notify the State Corporation Commission 

("commission") and all parties of record appearing in the 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
http://www.vmdaec.com/streamlined-rules/
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/docketsearch/DOCS/41yc01!.pdf
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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cooperative's last rate case at least 60 days in advance of 

the filing of the application. Also, public notice of the 

intent to file a rate application shall be provided 60 days in 

advance of the filing of said application to all of the 

cooperative's customers, using any of the methods of 

publication set out in subdivision C 12 of this section.  

7. The commission retains the right to waive any or all 

parts of this section for good cause shown.  

8. An application shall not be deemed filed under § 56-238 

of the Code of Virginia unless it is in full compliance with 

this section.  

C. An applicant may file a complete application for 

streamlined rate relief provided the following limitations in 

subdivisions 1 through 17 of this subsection are met:. Should 

any provision of this subsection conflict with other portions 

of this section, this subsection shall prevail with respect to 

filings pursuant to this section. 

1. The increase in total operating revenues as calculated in 

column (5) of Schedule 3 of Appendix A, included herein, 

is not more than the test period increase in the Consumer 

Price Index ("CPI"), or 5.0%, whichever is less. The CPI 

shall be defined as the Consumer Price Index for all Urban 

Consumers (CPI-U) for all items, as estimated by the U.S. 

Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and 

published in its Summary Data from the Consumer Price 

Index News Release, or its successor. As calculated in this 

publication, the percentage change in the CPI-U for a test 

year will be the index for the last month of the test year 

divided by the index for the same month one year prior, 

minus one, multiplied by 100; 4.0%; and  

2. Earnings after the proposed increase must not produce 

financial ratios which exceed the level approved by the 

commission in the applicant's most recent general rate case 

beyond a times interest earned ration (TIER) of 2.5, a rate 

of return of 4.2%, or such other relevant ratios that the 

cooperative proposes that satisfy the burden of proof as 

just and reasonable. Subject to the provisions set forth 

below in this subsection, a cooperative which that files an 

application for streamlined rate relief may petition the 

commission requesting that its rates be made permanent no 

less than 30 days from the date the application is deemed 

complete and filed with the commission if there are 

insufficient customer objections to the application or if the 

commission does not suspend the proposed increase and 

convene a hearing.  

3. A cooperative filing a rate application under the 

streamlined rate procedure shall not:  

a. Increase rates by more than the increase in the test 

period CPI or 5.0% (whichever is less) 4.0% of adjusted 

Virginia jurisdictional operating revenues; 

b. Request earnings, after the proposed increase, which 

produce inappropriate financial ratios that exceed those 

approved by the commission in the applicant's most 

recent general rate case stated within subdivision C 2 of 

this section; or 

c. Propose revisions to its terms and conditions of 

service; or  

d. Propose revisions to its rate structure as part of its 

application.  

4. The commission may, on its own motion, suspend a 

cooperative's proposed rate increase and tariff revisions 

pursuant to § 56-238 of the Code of Virginia and may 

convene a hearing on the cooperative's streamlined 

application.  

5. The commission may suspend a cooperative's proposed 

tariff revisions and increase in rates and shall schedule a 

hearing thereon if the lesser of 150 or 5.0% of the 

customers or other persons within a class and subject to a 

change in a rate, toll, or charge object to the proposed 

revision or increase in a rate or if the lesser of 150 or 5.0% 

of the customers or consumers or other persons subject to 

such rate, toll or charge of a cooperative object to the 

proposed rate or tariff revision. any of the following object 

to a proposed tariff revision or increase in rates: (i) the 

lesser of 150 or 5.0% of any of the cooperative's members; 

(ii) one-quarter of the customers with a rate class that is the 

subject of a revision or increase; or (iii) all of the 

customers within a rate class that is the subject of a 

revision or increase if the rate class contains 20 or fewer 

customers. Customers on a contract rate are excluded from 

those customers who may count toward objections for 

purposes of this subsection. 

6. The commission may, in its discretion, suspend an 

electric cooperative's rate increase and proposed tariff 

revisions in a streamlined rate proceeding on the motion of 

its own staff, on the motion of the Virginia Attorney 

General's Division of Consumer Counsel, or on the motion 

of any person subject to such change who requests a 

hearing and states a substantive reason why a hearing is 

necessary.  

7. The requested rate increase for streamlined rate relief 

shall be supported by a fully adjusted financial status 

statement (Schedule 3 of Appendix A included herein).  

8. Adjustments to test year cost of service shall be limited 

to the amount of increase or decrease that will be in effect 

during the rate year.  

9. A cooperative shall not file more than three consecutive 

applications for streamlined rate relief; nor shall there lapse 

more than five years since the later of the date of the final 

order or the effective date of rates specified in the final 

order in the applicant's last general rate case when filing an 
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application for streamlined rate relief in any 10-year period 

and any application for streamlined rate relief that is 

granted by the commission will begin a new three-year 

period for purposes of any use of statutory authority by the 

cooperative pursuant to § 56-585.3 A 2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

10. An application filed under the streamlined rate 

procedure shall include:  

a. The name and, post office address, and website of the 

applicant and the name and post office address of counsel 

of record, if any.  

b. A brief narrative statement describing the change in 

rates and tariff revisions and explaining the need for a 

change in rates and tariff revisions. This statement shall 

include a description of the actions taken by the 

cooperative to advise its membership of the change in 

rates and contents of its application.  

c. A copy of the resolution calling for a change in rates 

adopted by the Board of Directors of the cooperative.  

d. A copy of the completed notice given to the public by 

the cooperative, including a description of the method of 

publication used.  

e. Schedules 1 through 9 of Appendix A included herein.  

11. Public notice of the increase and tariff revisions shall 

be completed 30 days in advance of the date the 

cooperative files its application for revised rates with the 

commission. Actual proof of public notice shall be 

furnished to the commission as part of the rate application.  

12. The public notice of the increase and tariff revisions in 

an application for streamlined rate relief may be given by:  

a. Direct mailing to each customer (bill inserts or bill 

messages are acceptable);  

b. Publication in Cooperative Living magazine, or the 

cooperative's regular member publication;  

c. Newspapers of general circulation in the area served;  

d. Electronic notice to customers via email addresses 

(provided that notice pursuant to subdivision C 12 a, b, or 

c of this section is also given); 

e. Publication of the notice on the cooperative's website 

(provided that notice pursuant to subdivision C 12 a, b, or 

c of this subsection is also given); 

d. f. Any combination of these methods; or  

e. g. Any other method of publication authorized by the 

commission.  

13. A copy of the notice shall be served on the 

Commonwealth's Attorney and Chairman Chair of the 

Board of Supervisors of each county (or equivalent 

officials in the counties having alternative forms of 

government) in the state in which the cooperative offers 

service in the Commonwealth, and on the mayor or 

manager and the attorney of every city and town (or 

equivalent officials in towns and cities having alternative 

forms of government) in the state in which the cooperative 

offers service and upon the Division of Consumer Counsel, 

Office of the Attorney General. Service shall be made by 

either personal delivery or first class mail, postage prepaid, 

to the customary place of business of the person served or 

to his the person's residence.  

14. The public notice shall, at a minimum, include the 

following information:  

a. The amount of the total increase in revenues, both in 

percentages and dollar amounts;  

b. The percentage increase being applied to each of the 

cooperative's rate schedules;  

c. The identity of all wholesale power cost riders to be 

rolled-in to base rates;  

d. The locations where copies of the information required 

to be filed with the commission can be reviewed;  

e. The date the application will be delivered to the 

commission;  

f. A notice that any person subject to the change or 

changes proposed by the cooperative has the right to 

request a hearing within 30 days of the application's 

delivery to the commission;  

g. A notification that requests for hearing should be 

directed to the Clerk of the Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218;  

h. A statement advising that the commission may 

convene a hearing, and if a hearing is held, the 

commission may order rate relief, redesign rates or adopt 

tariff revisions which differ from those appearing in the 

cooperative's application;  

i. A statement advising the public that if the lesser of 150 

or 5.0% of the customers or other persons within a class 

and subject to a change in a rate, toll, or charge do not 

request a hearing, and if the lesser of 150 or 5.0% of the 

customers or consumers or other persons subject to such 

rate, toll or charge of the cooperative do not object to a 

rate change or tariff revision the commission receives 

fewer objections than set forth in subdivision C 5 of this 

section, the cooperative may petition the commission to 

make rates permanent without hearing within 30 days 

after the application is filed with the commission; and  

j. A statement advising the public of the cooperative's 

proposed effective date for its new rates.  
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15. If the commission determines that a hearing on the 

application for streamlined rate relief is required, then the 

commission shall issue a procedural order which, among 

other things, shall specify the date by which the 

cooperative shall file with the Clerk of the Commission an 

original and 15 copies of any direct testimony the 

cooperative intends to rely on in support of its application, 

together with the remaining schedules set forth in 

Appendix A. That order shall specify such additional 

notice of the hearing to the electric cooperative's members 

that the commission deems appropriate.  

16. Subdivision B 6 of this section shall not apply to 

streamlined applications under subsection C of this section, 

except that the cooperative shall notify the staff of the 

commission no less than 60 days in advance of the 

cooperative's filing. 

17. The commission may waive any provision of these 

streamlined rules upon its own motion or for good cause 

shown. 

D. 1. A cooperative seeking (i) an increase that produces 

financial ratios in excess of those allowed in the applicant's 

most recent general rate case; (ii) an increase in jurisdictional 

adjusted operating revenues of more than the test period 

increase in the CPI (as defined in subdivision 1 of subsection 

C of this section); (iii) revision of its terms and conditions of 

service; or (iv) to redesign or restructure its rates shall file an 

original and 15 copies of a general rate application with the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218.  

2. An application seeking a general rate increase shall 

include:  

a. The name and post office address of the applicant and 

the name and post office address of counsel of record, if 

any.  

b. A brief narrative statement describing the change in 

rates and tariff revisions and explaining the need for a 

change in rates and tariff revisions. This statement shall 

include a description of the actions taken by the 

cooperative to advise its membership of the change in 

rates and contents of the rate application.  

c. A copy of the resolution calling for a change in rates 

adopted by the cooperative's Board of Directors.  

d. All direct testimony which the cooperative intends to 

rely on in support of its rate application.  

e. Exhibits consisting of the Schedules 1 through 14, 

found in Appendix A included herein. Such schedules 

shall be identified with the appropriate schedule number 

and shall be prepared in accordance with the instructions 

contained in Appendix A included herein and the 

following general instructions:  

(1) Attach a table of contents to the cooperative's 

application, including exhibits.  

(2) The applicant shall be expected to verify the accuracy 

of all data and calculations contained in and pertaining to 

every exhibit submitted, as well as support any 

adjustments, allocations or rate design upon which it 

relies.  

(3) Each exhibit shall be labeled with the name of the 

applicant and the initials of the sponsoring witness in the 

upper right hand corner as shown below:  

Exhibit No. (Leave Blank)  

Witness: (Initials)  

Statement or Schedule Number  

The first page of all exhibits shall contain a caption 

which describes the subject matter of the exhibit.  

(4) The required accounting and statistical data shall 

include three copies of all work papers and other 

information necessary to ensure that the items, statements 

and schedules found in the application are not 

misleading.  

f. Exhibits consisting of additional schedules may be 

submitted with the cooperative's direct testimony. Such 

schedules shall be identified as Schedule 15 (this exhibit 

may include numerous subschedules labeled 15A et seq.) 

and shall conform to the general instructions contained in 

subdivision 2e of subsection D of this section.  

g. The commission shall prescribe the general notice to 

be given to the public and the date by which such notice 

shall be completed in its procedural order.  

h. The applicant shall serve a copy of the information 

required in subdivisions 2a through 2c of subsection D D 

2 a, b, and c of this section upon the Commonwealth's 

Attorney and Chairman Chair of the Board of 

Supervisors of each county or (equivalent officials in 

counties having alternative forms of government) in the 

state affected by the proposed increase and upon the 

mayor or manager and the attorney of every city and 

town (or equivalent officials in towns and cities having 

alternative forms of government) in the state affected by 

the proposed increase. The applicant shall also serve each 

such official with a statement that a copy of the complete 

application may be obtained by such official at no cost by 

making a request thereof orally or in writing to a 

specified company official or location. In addition, the 

applicant shall serve a copy of its complete application 

upon the Division of Consumer Counsel of the Office of 

the Attorney General in Virginia. All such service 

specified by this section shall be made either by (i) 

personal delivery or (ii) first class mail, to the customary 

place of business or to the residence of the person served.  
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E. Rate reductions and tariff revisions filed pursuant to § 56-

40 of the Code of Virginia shall be filed with the 

commission's Division of Energy Regulation Public Utility 

Regulation and shall include the following:  

1. A descriptive statement of and justification for the tariff 

revision;  

2. Load data if applicable;  

3. A certified excerpt from the minutes of the cooperative's 

Board of Directors, wherein the Board board approved the 

tariff revision;  

4. Identification of all customers that may be eligible for 

the tariff revision;  

5. A revenue impact study; and  

6. An affidavit by the cooperative's manager that the 

proposed tariff revision affects no increase in rates.  

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections F, G, and H and Appendix A 

of 20VAC5-200-21 are not amended; therefore, the text of 

those subsections and Appendix A is not set out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6353; Filed April 28, 2020, 1:22 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-40. Exempt Securities and 

Transactions (amending 21VAC5-40-190; adding 

21VAC5-40-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-514 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 8, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jude Richnafsky, Principal Examiner, 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, State 

Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 9th Floor, P.O. 

Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9883, 

FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 

jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) allowing entities that 

are based in Virginia but organized outside of Virginia to 

claim the intrastate crowdfunding exemption in 

accordance with Chapters 279 and 331 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly by adding federal Securities and Exchange 

Commission Rule 147A issuers, (ii) eliminating the 

prohibition on debt securities for intrastate crowdfunding 

offerings, (iii) adding an exemption for nonissuer 

distribution securities transactions in accordance with 

Chapter 256 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, and (iv) 

restricting such nonissuer distribution transactions to the 

OTCQX Tier of the OTC Market.  

AT RICHMOND, APRIL 29, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2020-00022 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 

Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction. Section 13.1-523 of the Virginia Securities Act 

("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of the Act. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to the Act are set forth in Title 21 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at the 

Commission's website: https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 

("Division") proposes revisions to Chapter 40 (Exempt 

Securities and Transactions), 21 VAC 5-40-10 et seq., 

following recent legislative changes to the Act. Specifically, 

the Division seeks to: (a) amend 21 VAC 5-40-190 

concerning the Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemption; and (b) 

create a new rule (21 VAC 5-40-200) allowing an exemption 

for non-issuer distribution.  

I. Amendment to the Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemption in 

21 VAC 5-40-190. 

The 2015 General Assembly passed legislation to adopt an 

exemption from registration under certain conditions for 

intrastate offerings pursuant to crowdfunding in § 13.1-514 B 

mailto:jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CAlicia.Higgs%40scc.virginia.gov%7Ce00f7d54e1d246e554ac08d7ebafc8cb%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637237012545048250&sdata=FqScSaq1NXjagKu%2Fxz1DQemEij3Ww3dbJ6FAEIgctEA%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CAlicia.Higgs%40scc.virginia.gov%7Ce00f7d54e1d246e554ac08d7ebafc8cb%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637237012545048250&sdata=FqScSaq1NXjagKu%2Fxz1DQemEij3Ww3dbJ6FAEIgctEA%3D&reserved=0
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21 (g) of the Virginia Securities Act ("Act"), § 13.1-501 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia. The legislation was set to sunset 

on July 1, 2020. The exemption only applied to issuers that 

were corporations and entities formed under the laws of 

Virginia, authorized to do business in Virginia, and that had 

their principal place of business in Virginia. On July 31, 

2015, the Commission adopted 21 VAC 5-40-190 concerning 

the requirements for the exemption.  

During the 2020 legislative session, the General Assembly 

passed House Bill 1339 (Chapter 331 of the 2020 Acts of the 

Assembly) and Senate Bill 542 (Chapter 279 of the 2020 Acts 

of the Assembly). First, this legislation removed the sunset 

provision of the exemption. Second, the legislation broadened 

the exemption to allow corporations and entities that are 

Virginia-based but organized outside of Virginia to also claim 

the exemption. 

The Division of Securities and Retail Franchising 

("Division") proposes to amend 21 VAC 5-40-190 to conform 

the regulation to this recent legislative change by adding Rule 

147 A (17 C.F.R. §230.147A) issuers to the exemption. In 

addition, to further implement the intent of the legislation and 

promote small businesses, the Division will remove the 

prohibition on debt offerings for crowdfunding issuers. 

II. Adding an Exemption for Non-Issuer Distribution 

(21 VAC 5-40-200). 

The 2020 General Assembly passed House Bill 1457 

(Chapter 256 of the Acts of the Assembly) that amended 

§ 13.1-514 B of the Act by adding a new subsection 23 that 

provides for a self-executing exemption for non-issuer 

distribution by securities issuers whose securities are listed on 

an electronic exchange, marketplace system, or disclosure 

repository which that makes information freely available to 

the public and is registered with the SEC under the Securities 

and Exchange Act of 1934, or is an alternative trading system 

regulated by the SEC. 

A non-issuer distribution occurs in the secondary market and 

allows purchasers to freely purchase and sell securities that 

were originally purchased from the original issuer. A 

self-executing exemption allows the purchaser or seller to use 

the exemption without registration under the Act. 

To implement the new legislation, the Division proposes 

adding a new section 21 VAC 5-40-200 for this exemption. 

As noted above, the exemption may apply to issuers whose 

securities are listed on an electronic exchange, marketplace 

exchange or disclosure repository, or alternative trading 

system that meet certain requirements. Here, the Division 

proposes that the new exemption apply only to those issuers 

who securities are listed on the OTC Markets Group ("OTG") 

OTCQX, as this tier applies the strictest listing standards of 

the electronic markets. 

As of this date of this Order, roughly thirty-two states have a 

similar exemption that recognizes transactions placed on the 

OTCQX Tier. 

The Division recommended to the Commission that the 

proposed revisions should be considered for adoption. The 

Division also has recommended to the Commission that a 

hearing should be held only if requested by those interested 

parties who specifically indicate that a hearing is necessary 

and the reasons therefore. 

A copy of the proposed revisions may be requested by 

interested parties from the Division by e-mail request and also 

can be found at the Division's website: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/srf. Any comments to 

the proposed rules must be received by June 8, 2020. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that: 

(1) The proposed revisions are appended hereto and made a 

part of the record herein. 

(2) Comments or request for hearing on the proposed 

revisions must be submitted in writing to Joel H. Peck, Clerk 

of the Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P. O. Box 

2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on or before June 8, 2020. 

Requests for hearing shall state why a hearing is necessary 

and why the issues cannot be adequately addressed in written 

comments. All correspondence shall reference Case No. SEC-

2020-00022. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

electronically may do so by following the instructions 

available at the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. 

(3) The proposed revisions shall be posted on the 

Commission's website at https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information and on the Division's website at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf. Interested persons may also 

request a copy of the proposed revisions from the Division by 

e-mail. 

A COPY HEREOF, together with a copy of the proposed 

revisions, shall be provided to the Registrar of Regulations 

for appropriate publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

A COPY HEREOF shall be sent to the Director of the 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising, who shall 

forthwith provide notice of this Order via U.S. mail or e-mail 

a copy of this Order to any interested persons as he may 

designate. 

21VAC5-40-190. Intrastate crowdfunding exemption. 

A. In accordance with § 13.1-514 B 21 of the Act, an offer 

or sale of a security by an issuer is exempt from the securities, 

broker-dealer and agent registration requirements of the Act if 

the offer or sale meets all of the following requirements: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/division/srf
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CAlicia.Higgs%40scc.virginia.gov%7Ce00f7d54e1d246e554ac08d7ebafc8cb%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637237012545058243&sdata=NUta0BAK6BES5uqUs0h2DmlprpEqGXEx6pM9iUTg6wQ%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CAlicia.Higgs%40scc.virginia.gov%7Ce00f7d54e1d246e554ac08d7ebafc8cb%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637237012545058243&sdata=NUta0BAK6BES5uqUs0h2DmlprpEqGXEx6pM9iUTg6wQ%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CDebra.Bollinger%40scc.virginia.gov%7Cfc81af14b0144986521e08d7eba143bd%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637236950174723845&sdata=B9vDzVrpH30hYMN86Gw6KES2e3ZPjVlpIXxvi%2BTZp7c%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CDebra.Bollinger%40scc.virginia.gov%7Cfc81af14b0144986521e08d7eba143bd%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637236950174723845&sdata=B9vDzVrpH30hYMN86Gw6KES2e3ZPjVlpIXxvi%2BTZp7c%3D&reserved=0
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/srf
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1. The issuer of the security is a business entity: 

a. Formed under the laws of the Commonwealth; 

however, if conducting an offering in accordance with 

SEC Rule 147A, the issuer may be formed and organized 

outside the Commonwealth provided the issuer meets 

one of the requirements as stated in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection; 

b. Authorized to do business in the Commonwealth; and 

c. That has its principal place of business in the 

Commonwealth. 

2. The offering is sold only to residents of the 

Commonwealth in compliance with the requirements for 

the federal exemption for intrastate offerings under 

§ 3(a)(11) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 USC 

77c(a)(11), and SEC Rule 147, 17 CFR 230.147 or SEC 

Rule 147A. If an offering is conducted by an issuer using 

SEC Rule 147A the offering may be made available to 

residents outside the Commonwealth as long as the sale of 

the security is made to residents of the Commonwealth. 

3. The securities offered and sold pursuant to this 

exemption are equity securities of the issuer. This 

exemption is not available to debt offerings. Issuers 

utilizing SEC Rule 147A that are not formed under the 

laws of the Commonwealth must meet one of the following 

requirements of conducting business in the 

Commonwealth: 

a. The issuer derived at least 80% of its consolidated 

gross revenues from the operation of a business or of real 

property located in the Commonwealth or from the 

rendering of services in the Commonwealth. 

b. The issuer had at least 80% of its consolidated assets 

located in the Commonwealth. 

c. The issuer intends to use and uses at least 80% of the 

net proceeds from the offering toward the operation of a 

business or of real property in the Commonwealth, the 

purchase of real property located in the Commonwealth, 

or the rendering of services in the Commonwealth. 

d. A majority of the issuer's employees are based in the 

Commonwealth. 

4. The sum of all cash and other consideration to be 

received for all sales of the securities in reliance on this 

exemption does not exceed $2 million, less the aggregate 

amount received for all sales of securities by the issuer 

within 12 months before the first offer or sale made in 

reliance upon this exemption, and if the offering is: 

a. $500,000 or less, if the issuer has financial statements 

prepared the previous year that have been certified by the 

principal executive officer of the issuer to be true and 

complete in all material respects; 

b. More than $500,000 but less than $1 million, if the 

issuer has undergone a financial review of the financial 

statements of its most recently completed fiscal year, 

conducted by an independent certified public accountant 

in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

principles; or 

c. $1 million or more, if the issuer has undergone an 

audit of the financial statements of its most recently 

completed fiscal year, conducted by an independent 

certified public accountant in accordance with generally 

accepted accounting principles. 

5. The issuer has not accepted more than $10,000 from any 

single purchaser unless the purchaser is an accredited 

investor as defined by Rule 501 of SEC Regulation D, 17 

CFR 230.501.  

6. At least 20 days before an offer of securities is made in 

reliance on this exemption or the use of any publicly 

available Internet website in connection with an offering of 

securities in reliance on this exemption, the issuer files 

with the commission in writing or in electronic form, all of 

the following: 

a. A notice of claim of exemption from registration on 

Form ICE specifying that the issuer intends to conduct an 

offering in reliance on this exemption, accompanied by a 

nonrefundable filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia. 

b. A copy of the disclosure statement or Form ICE to be 

provided to prospective investors in connection with the 

offering. The disclosure statement or Form ICE shall 

contain all of the following: 

(1) A description of the issuer, including type of entity, 

the address and telephone number of its principal office, 

its formation history, and its business plan; 

(2) A description of the intended use of the offering 

proceeds, including any amounts to be paid, as 

compensation or otherwise, to any owner, executive 

officer, director, managing member, or other person 

occupying a similar status or performing similar 

functions on behalf of the issuer; 

(3) The identity of each person that owns more than 10% 

of the ownership interests of any class of securities of the 

issuer and the amount of said securities held by such 

person; 

(4) The identity of the executive officers, directors, or 

managing members of the issuer and any other 

individuals who occupy similar status or perform similar 

functions in the name of and on behalf of the issuer, 

including their titles and their prior business experience; 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 20 Virginia Register of Regulations May 25, 2020 

2277 

(5) The terms and conditions of the securities being 

offered including: 

(a) The type and amounts of any outstanding securities of 

the issuer; 

(b) The minimum and maximum amount of securities 

being offered, if any; 

(c) Either the percentage ownership of the issuer 

represented by the offered securities or the valuation of 

the issuer implied by the price of the offered securities; 

(d) The price per share, unit, or interest of the securities 

being offered; 

(e) Any restrictions on transfer of the securities being 

offered; and 

(f) A disclosure of any anticipated future issuance of 

securities that might dilute the value of the securities 

being offered; 

(6) The identity of any person that the issuer has or 

intends to retain to assist the issuer in conducting the 

offer and sale of the securities, including the owner of 

any websites, if known, but excluding any person acting 

solely as an accountant or attorney and any employees 

whose primary job responsibilities involve the operating 

business of the issuer rather than assisting the issuer in 

raising capital; 

(7) For each person identified as required in subdivision 

6 b (6) of this subsection, a description of the consideration 

being paid to the person for such assistance; 

(8) A description of any litigation or legal proceedings 

involving the issuer or any executive officer, director, or 

managing member or other person occupying a similar 

status or performing similar functions on behalf of the 

issuer;  

(9) The issuer's financial statements for the three most 

recent fiscal years or for as much time as the issuer has 

been in existence, if less than three years; 

(10) The name and address, including the uniform 

resource locator, of each Internet website that will be 

used by the issuer to offer or sell securities under an 

exemption under this section; and 

(11) Any additional information material to the offering, 

including, if appropriate, a discussion of significant risk 

factors that make the offering speculative or risky. This 

discussion shall be concise and organized logically and 

may not be limited to risks that could apply to any issuer 

or any offering. 

c. An escrow agreement with a bank or other depository 

institution located in this Commonwealth, in which the 

purchaser funds will be deposited. At a minimum the 

escrow agreement shall provide that all offering proceeds 

will be released to the issuer only when the aggregate 

capital raised from all purchasers is equal to or greater 

than the minimum target offering amount specified in the 

disclosure statement as necessary to implement the 

business plan and all purchasers will receive a return of 

their subscription funds if that target offering amount is 

not raised by the time stated in the disclosure statement. 

The depository institution may contract with the issuer to 

collect reasonable fees for its escrow services regardless 

of whether the target offering amount is reached; 

however such fees shall not be deducted from purchaser 

funds if the target offering amount is not raised by the 

time stated in the disclosure statement. The issuer shall 

disclose in its disclosure statement or Form ICE whether 

any interest earned on escrowed purchaser funds will be 

paid to purchasers on a pro rata basis if the minimum 

target amount, as described above, is not raised.  

7. The issuer is not, either before or as a result of the 

offering: 

a. A company that is engaged or proposes to engage in 

the business of investing, reinvesting, owning, holding or 

trading in securities, including an investment company as 

defined by 15 USC § 80a-3, or a hedge fund, commodity 

pool, or similar investment vehicle; 

b. Subject to the reporting requirements of § 13 or 15(d) 

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC 78m 

and 78o(d);  

c. A company that has not yet defined its business 

operations, has no business plan, has no stated 

investment goal for the funds being raised, or that plans 

to engage in a merger with or acquisition of an 

unspecified business entity or entities, or without an 

allocation of proceeds to sufficiently identifiable 

properties or objectives; or 

d. A company that is engaged in or proposes to engage in 

petroleum exploration or production, mining, or other 

extractive industries. 

8. The issuer informs each prospective purchaser that the 

securities are not registered under federal or state securities 

laws and that the securities are subject to limitations on 

transfer or resale and displays the following legend 

conspicuously on the cover page of the disclosure 

statement: 

THESE SECURITIES ARE BEING SOLD IN RELIANCE 

ON AN EXEMPTION TO THE FEDERAL SECURITIES 

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS UNDER SECTION 

3(a)(11) OF THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933 AND 

UNDER SECTION 13.1-514 OF THE VIRGINIA 

SECURITIES ACT. THESE SECURITIES CAN ONLY 

BE SOLD TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA AND ARE 

SUBJECT TO RESTRICTIONS ON TRANSFERABILITY 

AND RESALE AS CONTAINED IN SUBSECTIONS (e) 
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AND (f) OF SEC RULE 147, 17 CFR 230.147. 

INVESTORS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY WILL 

BE REQUIRED TO BEAR THE FINANCIAL RISKS OF 

THIS INVESTMENT FOR AN INDEFINITE PERIOD OF 

TIME AND THAT THEY MAY LOSE ALL OF THE 

INVESTMENT AND CAN AFFORD THE LOSS OF THE 

INVESTMENT. 

IN MAKING AN INVESTMENT DECISION, 

INVESTORS SHOULD RELY ON THEIR OWN 

EXAMINATION OF THE ISSUER AND THE TERMS 

REVEALED IN THESE OFFERING DOCUMENTS, 

INCLUDING THE MERITS AND RISKS INVOLVED. 

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN 

RECOMMENDED BY ANY FEDERAL OR STATE 

AUTHORITY OR REGULATORY COMMISSION NOR 

HAVE THESE ENTITIES CONFIRMED THE 

ACCURACY OR DETERMINED THE ADEQUACY OF 

THIS DOCUMENT. ANY REPRESENTATION TO THE 

CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE. 

9. If the offer and sale of securities under this section is 

made through the Internet, all of the following 

requirements are met: 

a. Any person acting as the Internet website operator 

shall be an issuer, a registered broker-dealer, or a funding 

portal that is in compliance with all commission, SEC, 

and FINRA requirements, including, if it is a funding 

portal, making any required notice filings with the 

commission; 

b. Internet website operators shall comply with all 

commission, SEC, and FINRA requirements applicable 

to intrastate offerings through the Internet; 

c. Internet website operators shall maintain records of all 

offers and sales of securities effected through its Internet 

website for five years from the close of the offering; and 

d. The issuer and the Internet website operator shall keep 

and maintain records of the offers and sales of securities 

made through the Internet website for five years from the 

close of the offering. The issuer and the Internet website 

operator shall promptly provide ready access to the 

records to the commission on request. The commission 

may access, inspect, and review any Internet website 

described in this subdivision 9 and its records. 

10. All payments for the purchase of securities are directed 

to and held by the depository institution subject to the 

provisions of subdivision 6 c of this subsection. 

11. The issuer does not pay, directly or indirectly, any 

commission or remuneration to an executive officer, 

director, managing member, or other individual who has a 

similar status or performs similar functions in the name of 

and on behalf of the issuer for offering or selling the 

securities unless he is registered as a broker-dealer agent 

under the Act. An executive officer, director, managing 

member, or other individual who has a similar status or 

performs similar functions in the name of and on behalf of 

the issuer is exempt from the agent registration 

requirements of the Act if he does not receive, directly or 

indirectly, any commission or remuneration for offering or 

selling securities of the issuer that are exempt from 

registration under this section. 

12. The issuer provides a copy of Form ICE or the 

disclosure statement provided to the commission under 

subdivision 6 b of this subsection to each prospective 

purchaser at the time the offer of securities is made to the 

prospective purchaser. 

13.The term of the offering does not exceed 12 months 

after the date of the first offer. 

B. The issuer shall provide an annual report to the issuer's 

purchasers for each of the issuer's next three fiscal years, the 

first of which being that fiscal year that ends following the 

commencement of the offering. All of the following apply to 

the annual report described in this subsection: 

1. The issuer shall provide the report free of charge to the 

purchasers; 

2. An issuer may satisfy the report requirement under this 

subsection by making the information available on an 

Internet website if the information is made available within 

45 days after the end of each fiscal year and remains 

available until the next annual report is issued; 

3. The issuer shall file each report with the commission 

and shall provide a written copy of the report to any 

purchaser on request; and 

4. The report shall include all of the following: 

a. The compensation received by each director and 

executive officer of the issuer, including cash 

compensation earned since the previous report and on an 

annual basis and any bonuses, stock options, other rights 

to receive securities of the issuer or any affiliate of the 

issuer, or other compensation received; and 

b. An analysis by management of the issuer's business 

operations and financial condition. 

C. The exemption provided in this section shall not be used in 

conjunction with any other exemption under the Act, except 

offers and sales to control persons shall not count toward the 

limitation in subdivision A 4 of this section.  

D. The exemption described in this section shall not be 

available to the issuer if the issuer, any of the issuer's 

predecessors, any affiliate of the issuer, or any control person of 

the issuer: 

1. Within the past 10 years, has filed a registration 

statement that is the subject of a currently effective 

registration stop order entered by any state securities 

administrator or the SEC; 
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2. Within the past 10 years, has been convicted of any 

criminal offense in connection with the offer, purchase, or 

sale of any security, or involving fraud or deceit; 

3. Is currently subject to any state or federal administrative 

enforcement order or judgment, entered within the past 10 

years, finding fraud or deceit in connection with the 

purchase or sale of any security; or 

4. Is currently subject to any order, judgment, or decree of 

any court of competent jurisdiction, entered within the past 

10 years, that temporarily, preliminarily, or permanently 

restrains or enjoins the party from engaging in or 

continuing to engage in any conduct or practice involving 

fraud or deceit in connection with the purchase or sale of 

any security. 

E. Subsection D of this section shall not apply if:  

1. The party subject to the disqualification is licensed or 

registered to conduct securities-related business in the state 

in which the order, judgment, or decree creating the 

disqualification was entered against such party;  

2. Before the first offer under this exemption, the state 

securities administrator, or the court or regulatory authority 

that entered the order, judgment, or decree, waives the 

disqualification; or  

3. The issuer establishes it did not know and exercising 

reasonable care, based on a factual inquiry, could not have 

known that a disqualification existed under this subsection. 

F. An Internet website through which an offer or sale of 

securities under this section is made is not subject to the 

broker-dealer or agent registration requirements of the Act if 

the Internet website meets all of the following conditions: 

1. It does not offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. It does not solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the 

securities offered or displayed on the Internet website; 

3. It does not compensate employees, agents, or other persons 

for the solicitation or based on the sale of securities displayed 

or referenced on the Internet website; and 

4. It does not hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle 

purchaser funds or securities. 

G. As used in this section, "financial review" means a 

limited inquiry and analytical procedure of much narrower 

scope than an audit, undertaken by a certified public 

accountant for the purpose of expressing limited assurance 

that financial statements are presented in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles. 

H. As used in this section, "control person" means (i) an 

officer, director, partner, managing member, trustee, or other 

person having the power, directly or indirectly, to direct the 

management or policies of the issuer, whether by contract or 

otherwise; or (ii) a person that owns 10% or more of any class 

of the outstanding securities of the issuer. 

I. As used in this section, "funding portal" means any person 

acting as an intermediary in a transaction involving the offer 

or sale of securities for the account of others, solely pursuant 

to § 4(6) of the Securities Act of 1933 that does not: 

1. Offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. Solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the securities 

offered or displayed on its Internet website or portal; 

3. Compensate employees, agents, or other persons for 

such solicitation or based on the sales of securities 

displayed or referenced on its Internet website or portal; 

4. Hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle investor 

funds or securities; or 

5. Engage in such other activities as the SEC, by rule, 

determines inappropriate. 

J. The issuer or other designated person shall be notified by 

letter or electronic communication when the exemption filing 

is effective. If, however, on or before the initial 

commencement date of the offering, and after timely filing 

the materials required by subdivision A 6 of this section with 

the commission, the issuer has not been notified that any one 

or more of the filed materials fails to conform to the 

requirements of this section, the proposed offering shall be 

deemed effective. 

K. Upon completion of an offering made in reliance on this 

exemption, the issuer shall file a final sales report with the 

commission, by letter or electronic communication, no later 

than 30 days after the last sale in the offering that includes the 

following information: 

1. The time period in which the offering was open; 

2. The number of investors that purchased shares or units 

in the offering; 

3. The dollar amount sold in the offering; and 

4. The dollar amount, if any, returned to investors, 

purchasers, or subscribers. 

21VAC5-40-200. Nonissuer distribution. 

In accordance with § 13.1-514 B 23 of the Act, an offer or 

sale of a security by an issuer is exempt from the securities, 

broker-dealer, and agent registration requirements of the Act 

if the offer or sale meets all of the following requirements: 

1. Securities involved in these transactions are for 

nonissuer distribution only; and 

2. Securities in these transactions are to be limited to the 

OTCQX Market Tier of the OTC Market. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6357; Filed April 30, 2020, 10:31 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTY-EIGHT (2020) 

Access to Medicaid-Covered Health Care Services 
in Response to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

The COVID-19 disease, caused by a virus that spreads easily 

from person to person that may result in serious illness or 

death and has been classified by the World Health 

Organization as a worldwide pandemic. This virus has spread 

throughout the Commonwealth. Based on information from 

the Virginia Department of Health and the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention, the number of cases of 

COVID-19 continues to increase within the Commonwealth 

and in neighboring states. It is anticipated that COVID-19 

will result in increased demand for certain health care 

services, that, coupled with significant burden on the health 

care system, will require additional flexibilities for healthcare 

providers to ensure access to care for Medicaid and Family 

Access to Medical Insurance Security (FAMIS) members. 

Waiving copays for Medicaid and FAMIS members, 

suspending certain requirements for replacement durable 

medical equipment (DME), and ensuring new and updated 

information is immediately received by providers will assist 

in meeting beneficiary access to care needs. Extending 

allowable timeframes for certain background checks for 

personal care, respite services, and companion services will 

expand the availability of critical long term care providers. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the 

Constitution of Virginia and § 44-146.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, and in furtherance of the state of emergency 

declared in Executive Order 51, I hereby order the following: 

1. The Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) will suspend preadmission screening pursuant to 

§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. All new nursing facility 

admissions will be treated like exempted hospital 

discharges. 

2. Copays required under § 32.1-351(C) of the Code of 

Virginia for Virginians receiving health insurance through 

the Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan are 

waived. 

3. Requirements pursuant to § 32.1-325(A)(14) of the Code 

of Virginia concerning certificates of medical necessity and 

any supporting verifiable documentation are waived with 

respect to replacement of durable medical equipment 

(DME). DMAS will also suspend enforcement of 

additional replacement requirements for DME, prosthetics, 

orthotics, and supplies that are lost, destroyed, irreparably 

damaged, or otherwise rendered unusable, such that the 

face-to-face requirement, a new physician's order, and new 

medical necessity documentation are not required for 

replacement equipment. 

4. Personal care, respite, and companion providers in the 

agency- or consumer-directed program, who are providing 

services to individuals over the age of 18, may work for up 

to 60 days, as opposed to the current 30-day limit in § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code Virginia, while criminal background 

registries are checked. Consumer-directed Employers of 

Record must ensure that the attendant is adequately 

supervised while the criminal background registry check is 

processed. Agency providers must adhere to current 

reference check requirements and ensure that adequate 

training has occurred prior to the aide providing the 

services in the home. Agency providers shall conduct 

weekly supervisory visits through telehealth methods when 

the aide works prior to receiving criminal background 

registry results. This section does not apply to services 

provided to individuals under the age of 18, with the 

exception of parents of minor children in the consumer-

directed program. 

5. Requirements under § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code Virginia 

related to the 30-day advance public notice and comment 

period are waived as to DMAS only, so that the DMAS can 

issue Medicaid Memos to ensure that healthcare providers 

receive immediate information on flexibilities to ensure 

access to care for Medicaid members. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective April 23, 2020, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect until June 10, 2020, 

unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 23rd day of April, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTY-NINE (2020) 

Postponing May 5, 2020 General and Special 
Elections to May 19, 2020 Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth continues to respond to the threat posed 

by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The actions we take 

now will help protect the health and safety of our citizens for 

months to come. These actions include when to hold our 

elections. Voting is a fundamental right and no one should 

have to choose between their health and safety and their right 

to vote. 

Directive 

To continue with the Commonwealth's response to COVID-

19 and in furtherance of Executive Order 51 (March 12, 

2020), Amended Executive Order 53 (April 15, 2020), and 
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Executive Order 55 (March 30, 2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in me by § 24.2-603.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, I order the following: 

1. The provisions of this Order shall apply to the general 

and special elections scheduled to be held on May 5, 2020. 

2. That the general and special elections scheduled for May 

5, 2020, shall be held on May 19, 2020. 

3. Only those candidates who qualified to have their names 

printed on the official ballot for the May 5, 2020, general 

and special elections shall be listed for those offices on the 

ballot at the May 19, 2020, general and special elections. 

No other person shall be entitled to qualify to have their 

name printed on the official ballot for any office that was 

scheduled to be elected at the general and special elections 

held on May 5, 2020. 

4. Pursuant to § 24.2-603.1 of the Code of Virginia, only 

those voters duly registered to vote on the date of the 

original election shall be able to participate in the 

postponed election. 

5. Pursuant to § 24.2-701(B)(1) of the Code of Virginia, the 

last day to vote absentee in person shall be May 16, 2020. 

a. Pursuant to § 24.2-701(B)(2) of the Code of Virginia, 

qualified voters shall have until May 12, 2020, to request 

an absentee ballot using the "my disability or illness 

reason" by mail, e-mail, or fax. 

b. Pursuant to § 24.2-709(A) of the Code of Virginia, the 

deadline for returning an absentee ballot shall be 7 p.m. on 

May 19, 2020, except as provided under § 24.2-709(B) of 

the Code of Virginia. 

6. Pursuant to § 24.2-603.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Department of Elections shall prescribe appropriate 

procedures to implement the provisions of this section. The 

Department of Elections shall also prescribe procedures in 

accordance with the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention and Virginia Department of Health to assist in 

ensuring the safety and well-being of election officials, 

officers of election, and voters. The Department of Elections 

shall partner with the Virginia Department of Health and the 

Virginia Medical Reserve Corps to train election officials on 

preventive actions to reduce the risk of exposure to COVID-19 

and to provide support at polling locations. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective on April 24, 2020 and 

shall remain in full force and effect unless amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 24th day of April, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY (2020) 

Clarification of Certain Immunity from Liability for 
Healthcare Providers in Response to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia continues to respond to the 

COVID-19 pandemic. The number of confirmed cases, 

hospitalizations, and persons under investigation in Virginia 

has increased substantially. As testing increases, it is highly 

likely that these numbers will continue to rise. Hospitals and 

nursing homes across the Commonwealth are reporting large 

numbers of patients presenting with COVID-19 symptoms, 

which is putting significant stress on these facilities, as they 

were already dealing with a more severe seasonal influenza 

than usual. Healthcare providers are experiencing critical 

shortages of personal protective equipment (PPE) and other 

supplies. In some cases, they are being required to reuse PPE 

where possible and appropriate. Healthcare providers are not 

able to quickly resupply these critical resources due to severe 

supply chain disruptions as a result of increased equipment 

use in the worldwide COVID-19 response. In addition, 

staffing levels at hospitals are often strained by the inability 

to transfer patients with COVID-19 to other sites of care such 

as assisted living facilities, hospice facilities, and nursing 

homes because of the need to contain the spread of the virus. 

All of these difficulties are created by the effects of COVID-

19 and present less than optimal conditions to deliver the 

healthcare indicated by conventional standards of care. 

Response to the COVID-19 disaster will require both public 

and private healthcare providers and other persons to deliver 

care using personnel, supplies, and equipment in ways that 

would not be undertaken in conventional practices. Examples 

could include the need to use a single ventilator for multiple 

patients at the same time, reuse of PPE, and withholding 

healthcare services in certain situations. It is in the public 

interest to afford healthcare providers involved in the delivery 

of healthcare impacted by COVID-19 with adequate 

protection against liability for good faith actions or omissions 

taken in their efforts to combat this health emergency. 

Sections 8.01-225.01 and 8.01-225.02 of the Code of Virginia 

provide certain liability protection to healthcare providers 

during a state of emergency. 

Section 8.01-225.01 provides in relevant part: 

A. In the absence of gross negligence or willful 

misconduct, any health care provider who responds to a 

disaster by delivering health care to persons injured in such 

disaster shall be immune from civil liability for any injury 

or wrongful death arising from abandonment by such 

health care provider of any person to whom such health 

care provider owes a duty to provide health care when (i) a 

state or local emergency has been or is subsequently 

declared; and (ii) the provider was unable to provide the 
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requisite health care to the person to whom he owed such 

duty of care as a result of the provider's voluntary or 

mandatory response to the relevant disaster. 

Section 8.01-225.02 in relevant part provides: 

In the absence of gross negligence or willful misconduct, 

any health care provider who responds to a disaster shall 

not be liable for any injury or wrongful death of any person 

arising from the delivery or withholding of health care 

when (i) a state or local emergency has been or is 

subsequently declared in response to such disaster, and (ii) 

the emergency and subsequent conditions caused a lack of 

resources, attributable to the disaster, rendering the health 

care provider unable to provide the level or manner of care 

that otherwise would have been required in the absence of 

the emergency and which resulted in the injury or wrongful 

death at issue. 

It is apparent that in enacting these provisions, the General 

Assembly intended to afford healthcare providers immunity 

from certain liability in exactly the circumstances presented 

by the COVID-19 health crisis. And so, is it imperative that it 

is clear that the liability protections in these provisions are 

meant to protect healthcare providers providing healthcare in 

response to the COVID-19 health emergency. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 

of the Code of Virginia and in furtherance of Executive Order 

No. 51, I clarify the following with respect to my executive 

actions and §§ 8.01-225.01 and 8.01-225.02 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

1. COVID-19 is a "communicable disease of public health 

threat" as defined in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia 

that constitutes a "disaster" as defined in § 44-146.16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Executive Order No. 51 declares a state emergency in 

response to the COVID-19 disaster. 

3. "Responds to a disaster" includes but is not limited to, 

pursuant to Order of Public Health Emergency Two as 

amended, temporary withholding of the provision of 

procedures, consultations or surgeries performed in an 

inpatient or outpatient surgical hospital licensed under 

12VAC5-410, free-standing emergency department or 

endoscopy center, physicians' office, or dental, orthodontic, 

oral surgeon, or endodontic offices that require PPE, the 

delay of which was not anticipated to cause harm to the 

patient by negatively affecting the patient's health 

outcomes, or leading to disability or death. 

4. "Emergency and subsequent conditions caused a lack of 

resources, attributable to the disaster, rendering the health 

care provider unable to provide the level or manner of care 

that otherwise would have been required in the absence of 

the emergency" shall be deemed to include but is not 

limited to: (i) insufficient availability of PPE, ventilators, 

or other drugs, blood products, supplies or equipment; (ii) 

insufficient availability of trained staff; (iii) having licensed 

healthcare professionals deliver care that, while included in 

the scope of their licensure, exceeds the scope of their 

credentials at the hospital or other health care facility at 

which they deliver services or exceeds the scope of the 

services that they normally provide; (iv) implementation or 

execution of triage protocols or scarce resource allocation 

policies necessitated by healthcare provider declaration of 

crisis standards of care; and (v) using supplies or 

equipment in innovative ways that are different from the 

way that these supplies and equipment are normally used. 

5. Nothing in this Executive Order shall affect the right or 

ability to claim immunity from liability for any cause of 

action under any other federal or state law, regulation, rule, 

or order or any theory of common law immunity nor the 

right of any person to receive benefits to which he would 

otherwise be entitled under law nor the right of any such 

person to receive any benefits or compensation under any 

act of the General Assembly or United States Congress. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective until the expiration of 

Executive Order 51 unless sooner amended or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 28th day of April, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Emergency Career and Technical 

Education Work-Based Learning Guidelines for Internship 

and Cooperative Education Experiences. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 8, 2020. 

Effective Date: May 7, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Michael Bolling, Assistant Superintendent 

for Learning and Innovation, Department of Education, 101 

North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 225-2034, email michael.bolling@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Title of Document: Virginia BUILT Policies and Procedures 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Department of Labor and 

Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 

holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia's Nonpoint Source 

Implementation Best Management Practice Guidelines - 

Fiscal Year 2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2020. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Lauren Linville, Nonpoint Source Program 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4096, or 

email lauren.linville@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Obtaining a Virginia Driver's License or 

Card.  

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines and Rules for the Tobacco 

Products Tax. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 24, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Tax Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, or email 

joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83b6f006372~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006372&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83b6f006372~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006372&mime=application/pdf
../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DOE-36-20%20Emergency%20Career%20and%20Technical%20Education%20Work-Based%20Learning%20Guidelines%20for%20Internship%20and%20Cooperative%20Education%20Experiences.pdf
mailto:michael.bolling@doe.virginia.gov
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/LAI-36-20%20Virginia%20BUILT%20Policies%20and%20Procedures%20Manual.pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/LAI-36-20%20Virginia%20BUILT%20Policies%20and%20Procedures%20Manual.pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/SWCB-36-20%20Virginia’s%20Nonpoint%20Source%20Implementation%20Best%20Management%20Practice%20Guidelines%20–%20FY%202021.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7993f006372~4s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006372&mime=application/pdf
mailto:lauren.linville@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=172da006372~1d.pdf&typ=40&actno=006372&mime=application/pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/DMV-36-20%20Obtaining%20a%20Virginia%20Driver's%20License%20or%20Identification%20(ID)%20Card.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d4f26006372~3x.pdf&typ=40&actno=006372&mime=application/pdf
../../../Guidance%20Documents%20for%20Public%20Comment/2019%20Guid%20Docs%20-%20Destroy%20July%201,%202020/TAX-36-20%20Guidelines%20and%20Rules%20for%20the%20Tobacco%20Products%20Tax.pdf
mailto:joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

April 22, 2020 

Administrative Letter-2020-03 

TO: All Carriers Licensed to Write Accident and Sickness 

Insurance in Virginia, All Health Services Plans and Health 

Maintenance Organizations Licensed in Virginia, and 

Interested Parties 

RE: Implementation and Enforcement of House Bill 

1503/Senate Bill 1031 § 38.2-3418.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, as Amended 

The purpose of this Administrative Letter is to provide 

guidance to health carriers regarding the implementation and 

enforcement of the above-referenced statute that was 

amended and reenacted by the 2020 Virginia General 

Assembly and that will take effect on January 1, 2021. The 

Bureau of Insurance (Bureau) is tasked with applying state 

law and will enforce all provisions of § 38.2-3418.17 of the 

Code of Virginia (Code). The explanation below provides 

guidance regarding such enforcement. 

Section 38.2-3418.17 of the Code requires coverage for 

treatment of autism spectrum disorder (ASD), to include 

applied behavior analysis (ABA) services, in the large group 

market in Virginia. Identical bills HB 1503/SB 1031 will 

require such coverage to be extended to policies, contracts or 

plans issued, reissued or extended in the individual and small 

group markets on or after January 1, 2021, except as limited 

by certain subsections. 

Virginia's essential health benefits (EHB) benchmark plan 

currently excludes ABA services.1 Other treatment for ASD, 

to include medically necessary behavioral health treatment, 

pharmacy care, psychiatric care, psychological care, and 

therapeutic care, is covered under the EHB benchmark plan 

currently. 

Subsection 38.2-3418.17 D of the Code requires that benefits 

provided pursuant to this section are not subject to any visit 

limits or separate cost sharing. Since this subsection may 

require an extension of existing benefits and not additional 

EHB, the Bureau has determined that ABA services are the 

only services required under § 38.2-3418.17 of the Code that 

exceed EHB. 

Pursuant to subsection 38.2-3418.17 L, qualified health plans 

(QHPs) offered through an exchange in the individual or 

small group markets are not required to provide the benefits 

stated in this section to the extent they exceed EHB. All on-

exchange plans (QHPs) generally are required to be offered 

and made available off-exchange pursuant to § 38.2-3448 of 

the Code. Therefore, QHPs (with the same plan ID number) 

issued off-exchange also are not required to provide benefits 

that exceed EHB, i.e., ABA services. 

The state, therefore, is not required to defray costs pursuant to 

45 CFR 155.170 since no state mandate applies to QHPs for 

ABA services that would be in addition to EHB. 

Additionally, the state is not required to defray costs for any 

QHPs that provide benefits in accordance with § 38.2-

3418.17 of the Code voluntarily, since no state mandate 

applies to QHPs (on or off the exchange) for this benefit. 

Should a QHP be required to provide ABA services under the 

Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008 

(MHPAEA), the state is not required to defray those benefits 

pursuant to 45 CFR 155.170. 

All non-QHPs providing individual or group health insurance 

coverage must provide benefits for treatment of ASD 

(including ABA) as stated in § 38.2-3418.17 of the Code. The 

state is not responsible to defray any costs related to these 

requirements for non-QHPs pursuant to 45 CFR 155.170. 

The Bureau offers the following questions and answers to 

provide further clarification of its enforcement: 

Treatment of Autism Spectrum Disorder FAQs 

1. Q: What are the effects of amendments to § 38.2-3418.17 

(HB 1503/SB 1031) in the 2020 General Assembly session? 

A: For Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) services: 

HB 1503/SB 1031 require coverage of ABA services for the 

treatment of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) for plans in the 

individual and small group markets. The essential health 

benefits (EHB) checklist indicates that ABA is excluded in 

Virginia's EHB benchmark plan. Therefore, the Bureau has 

determined that the new application of this section to 

individual and small employer group health insurance 

coverage would require benefits that exceed EHB. 

For other services: HB 1503/SB 1031 require plans in the 

individual and small group markets to cover treatment of 

ASD, to include medically necessary behavioral health 

treatment, pharmacy care, psychiatric care, psychological 

care, and therapeutic care, with no visit limits. The EHB 

benchmark plan currently provides these benefits but allows 

certain services to be limited. For example, the benchmark 

plan provides a minimum for habilitative services of 30 visits 

per year. 

Subsection 38.2-3418.17 L provides exemption to the 

benefits required in this section to the extent this section 

requires benefits that exceed essential health benefits (EHB) 

for plans offered by a carrier through an exchange (qualified 

health plans or QHPs). Additionally, Subsection L requires 

that plans offered outside an exchange (non-QHPs) comply 

with the provisions of § 38.2-3418.17. 

A QHP is a plan offered through an exchange but under 

guaranteed availability provisions that same plan also is 

required to be provided off-exchange. A QHP is the same 

plan whether offered on or off the exchange, therefore, the 

off-exchange version also is not required to provide ABA 
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benefits required by this section. A non-QHP is a plan that is 

offered solely off the exchange. 

Historically, the Bureau and Virginia have determined that 

benefits required that expand an existing EHB are not 

considered an "additional required benefit" but rather an 

extension of an existing required benefit. Therefore, the 

requirement in subsection 38.2-3418.17 D to remove visit 

limits from coverage provided under this section can be 

applied to all individual health insurance coverage and small 

employer group health insurance coverage since that does not 

require an additional EHB. 

In Summary: Non-QHPs must cover all benefits required by 

this section. The requirements of this section to cover ABA 

services do not apply to QHPs (on and off the exchange) for 

individual and small employer group health insurance 

coverage. The requirement to cover other treatments listed in 

this section with no visit limits are required of all QHPs and 

non-QHPs. No mandate under this section applicable to 

QHPs is determined to be in addition to EHBs, therefore, the 

state is not required to defray costs. 

2. Q: How is ASD defined? 

A: According to MHPAEA and per 45 CFR § 146.136 (a), all 

conditions, including ASD, covered under a plan or coverage 

must be defined as either a mental health (MH) or 

medical/surgical (M/S) condition. Virginia Code defines 

ASD, but this definition does not clearly define ASD as either 

a MH or M/S condition. Therefore, plans or coverage must 

define ASD as either a MH or M/S condition. 

3. Q: For large group plans, how are the requirements of 

§ 38.2-3418.17 applied? 

A: If the plan or coverage defines autism as a M/S condition, 

then all the requirements in § 38.2-3418.17 apply, including 

no visit limits, and minimum dollar caps may be applied to 

ABA services. 

If the plan or coverage defines autism as a MH condition, the 

carrier shall not impose visit limits and may be able to apply 

the $35,000 minimum dollar cap for ABA benefits per plan 

year if compliant with MHPAEA requirements. 

4. Q: For individual and small group plans, what are the 

requirements for the treatment of ASD? 

A: The treatment of ASD is required under EHBs. The plan 

must first define ASD as either a M/S condition or a MH 

condition and apply all covered treatment as either M/S 

benefits or MH benefits (but not both) in accordance with the 

applicable rules. The plan must provide benefits in 

accordance with § 38.2-3418.17 of the Code, except a QHP is 

not required to provide benefits for ABA services under this 

section, unless required pursuant to MHPAEA. 

5. Q: Are there circumstances under which QHPs in the 

individual and small group markets are required to cover ABA? 

A: Yes. Coverage for ABA may be specifically excluded per the 

EHB benchmark plan, and as explained above, QHPs are not 

subject to the requirements of § 38.2-3418.17 to cover ABA. 

However, if the carrier defines ASD as a MH condition, then the 

methodology for treatment limitations on ABA must be no more 

restrictive than treatment limitations on any M/S condition in any 

given classification under MHPAEA. 

6. Q: Can QHPs voluntarily cover ABA? 

A: Yes. ABA treatment consists of a number of therapy 

sessions. ABA therapy sessions may be considered 

habilitative services, mental health services, or ambulatory 

patient services, and may be covered under any of those. 

Costs associated with the voluntary coverage of ABA will not 

be defrayed by the State given that it is determined this 

mandate does not apply to QHPs. 

7. Q: Can QHPs that voluntarily cover ABA therapy visits 

under habilitative services still impose the $35,000 or 30-visit 

limit? 

A: Possibly, since ABA benefits are not EHB and are not 

required to be offered by QHPs pursuant to § 38.2-3418.17 of 

the Code, a carrier may place a dollar or visit limit on ABA 

services. However, if the carrier defines the condition for 

which the ABA therapy is being used to treat as a MH 

condition, then MHPAEA calculation requirements apply and 

it is possible this would require no dollar limit, a revised 

dollar limit, or visits limits to be increased or unlimited. 

8. Q: If compliance with MHPAEA requires a carrier to exceed 

EHB benchmark limits, must the state defray the cost? 

A: No. Compliance with MHPAEA does not require defrayal of 

cost. 

This letter describes and summarizes the requirements of 

§ 38.2-3418.17 of the Code. The provisions of which should 

be reviewed carefully for compliance. 

Any questions concerning this Administrative Letter may be 

addressed to: Brant Lyons, Senior Insurance Market 

Examiner, Life & Health Division, Bureau of Insurance, 

telephone (804) 371-9490, or email 

brant.lyons@scc.virginia.gov. 

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

_______________________________ 

1See https://scc.virginia.gov/getattachment/0c71fa06-32c4-47cf-a4f9-

313bf059230c/ehbfillin.pdf  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Pharmacy Appendix D for Stakeholder Input 

Comment period: May 1, 2020, to May 31, 2020. 

The draft Appendix D of the Pharmacy provider manual is 

now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

mailto:Brant.Lyons@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/getattachment/0c71fa06-32c4-47cf-a4f9-313bf059230c/ehbfillin.pdf
https://scc.virginia.gov/getattachment/0c71fa06-32c4-47cf-a4f9-313bf059230c/ehbfillin.pdf
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Services (DMAS) website at 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until May 31, 2020. 

The Pharmacy provider manual update reflects updates to the 

Virginia Medicaid's fee-for-service Preferred Drug List 

program and drug service authorization requirements for 

drugs reviewed by the DMAS Pharmacy and Therapeutics 

Committee and the Drug Utilization Review Board. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the  
City of Covington 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 

Covington for violations in Covington, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a special order by 

consent to the City of Covington to address noncompliance 

with the State Water Control Law and regulations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Nelson Dail will accept comments 

by email at nelson.dail@deq.virginia.gov or by postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Office, 

901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, from May 25, 2020, to 

June 25, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for  
Virginia Black Granite Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Virginia Black 

Granite Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Virginia Black Granite facility located in 

Rapidan, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the Virginia Black Granite facility. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov, or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from May 26, 2020, through June 25, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 

/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-300. Rules Governing Credit 

for Reinsurance. 

Publication: 36:19 VA.R. 2172-2186 May 11, 2020. 

Correction to Agency Contact: 

Page 2172, column 1, after "telephone" change "(804) 371-

9152" to "(804) 371-9499" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6333; Filed May 12, 2020, 12:18 p.m. 
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