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REGISTER INFORMATION  PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLIC ATION SCH EDU LE AND D EADLINES  

August 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:25 July 15, 2020 August 3, 2020 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2415 

PET ITION S FOR RU LEM AKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Sherlock. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Change Virginia Nursing 

Facility Licensure Regulations to Align with Federal 
Medicare/Medicaid Certification Regulations. The 

weaknesses of Virginia's nursing facility (NF) and skilled 

nursing facility (SNF) system have been exposed by COVID-

19 with deadly consequences. Virginia's regulations 

applicable to these facilities may be part of the problem. 

12VAC5-371 Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing 

Facilities published by the Board of Health conflict with and 

are more permissive than the regulatory requirements for 

Medicare/Medicaid certification in 42 CFR Part 483 - 

Requirements for States and Long Term Care Facilities. The 

Virginia Department of Health, the state agency contracted 
with the Centers for Medicare/Medicaid Services to conduct 

certification inspections, must at least in theory enforce both 

sets of regulations. However, the Virginia regulations have 

little practical effect in that 95% of Virginia NFs and SNF's 

seek certification for Medicare and/or Medicaid and thus 

must comply with the more stringent federal regulations. 

Indeed many facilities contain both SNF and NF facilities and 

swing beds in a single complex. Under Medicaid regulations, 

NFs are required to meet virtually the same requirements that 

SNFs participating in Medicare must meet. There is no reason 

that Virginia regulations for licensing the other 5.0% should 

be different. I thus recommend Virginia nursing facility 
licensing regulations either mirror or incorporate by reference 

42 CFR Part 483. I also recommend that the Board of Nursing 

review 18VAC90-19-250 (Criteria ford delegation) and other 

nursing practice regulations to ensure they align with the 

federal rules for nursing homes. I find important reasons why 

Virginia regulations should be aligned with federal 

regulations for the same facilities, and no provision in the 

Constitution of Virginia or existing Virginia law that 

prohibits such action. I also see no requirement for additional 

funding to do so. A few of the federal statutes or regulations 

allow for waivers in the presence of verified temporary 
shortages of health personnel or in the presence of equivalent 

alternative patient safeguards. CMS Medicare SNF waiver 

authority is re-delegated to the CMS Regional Offices (ROs). 

Waivers for NFs to provide licensed personnel on a 24-hour 

basis repose with the states. Life safety code waivers for NFs 

and Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with 

Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs) are the responsibility of 

the states (See 42 CFR 483.470(j)(2)(A)). I suggest that on 

the heels of the COVID-19 deaths, Virginia not waive or 

request a waiver for any federal nursing home regulation. But 

if such waivers exist, they should appear in the VAC in 

sequence with the federal regulation they waive. It will also 

prove useful to create a single Nursing and Skilled Nursing 

Facilities section of the VAC to offer a complete reference for 

operators and inspectors. Those actions will resolve current 
regulatory chaos and clarify the state's waivers of federal 

regulations. They will also save whatever time and cost has 

historically been expended in drafting, seeking public 

comments, resolving disagreements, and approving Virginia 

nursing facility licensure regulations that are, in the main, 

irrelevant. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on July 6, 2020, and posted 

to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment on the petition will be 
accepted until July 27, 2020. Following receipt of all 

comment on the petition, and within 90 days of July 27, 2020, 

the matter will be considered by the State Health 

Commissioner, acting on behalf of the board, in order to 

decide whether to grant or deny the petition or by the State 

Board of Health. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 26, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX (804) 
527-4502, or email regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-54 Filed June 11, 2020, 11:24 a.m. 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Vic Nicholls. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Virginia regulations must be 

changed to conform to federal Medicare and Medicaid 

regulations for long-term care facilities to comply with the 

clear direction of § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia. That 

law requires that Virginia regulations for hospitals and 

nursing homes "conform" to "health and safety standards 

established under provisions of Title XVIII (Medicare) and 

Title XIX (Medicaid) of the Social Security Act." 42 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 483 ‐ Requirements for States 

and Long Term Care Facilities regulates Medicare and 
Medicaid certification pursuant to Title XVIII and Title XIX 

requirements. 12VAC5-371, Regulations for the Licensure of 

Nursing Facilities contains Virginia licensure regulations for 

the same facilities. The Virginia licensure regulations not 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/%22http:/www.townhall.virginia.gov/%22
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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only do not conform to their federal certification counterparts 

but are weaker across the board. Ninety-Five percent of 

Virginia NFs and SNF's seek certification for Medicare 

and/or Medicaid and thus must comply with the more 

stringent federal regulations. There is no reason that Virginia 

regulations for licensing the other 5.0% should be different, 

and by Virginia law they may not be. A few of the federal 

regulations allow for waivers in the presence of verified 
temporary shortages of health personnel or in the presence of 

equivalent alternative patient safeguards. CMS Medicare SNF 

waiver authority is re-delegated to the CMS Regional Offices 

(ROs). Waivers for NFs to provide licensed personnel on a 

24-hour basis repose with the states. Life safety code waivers 

for NFs and Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with 

Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs) are the responsibility of 

the states (See 42 CFR 483.470(j)(2)(A)).I recommend that 

the Board of Health delete the current contents of 12VAC5-

371 and incorporate by reference 42 CFR Part 483 to comply 

with Virginia law. Incorporation by reference rather that 
mirroring the language will ensure that they are always in 

compliance with Virginia law and always up to date. I also 

recommend that the Board of Nursing review 18VAC90-19-

250 (Criteria for delegation) and other nursing practice 

regulations to ensure they conform to the federal rules for 

nursing homes and hospitals. Similarly, the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) should review its 

regulations for conformity. A list of waived and emergency 

regulations, whether for a single home or for the industry, can 

be maintained on a web page of the Department of Health. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 
Regulations and will be published on July 6, 2020, and posted 

to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment on the petition will be 

accepted until July 27, 2020. Following receipt of all 

comment on the petition, and within 90 days of July 27, 2020, 

the matter will be considered by the State Health 

Commissioner, acting on behalf of the board, in order to 

decide whether to grant or deny the petition or by the State 

Board of Health. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 26, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-53 Filed June 11, 2020, 11:28 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Program Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Hites, a citizen of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition for the 

following amendment to Virginia Administrative Code 

24VAC35-60-70 F 3 (Ignition Interlock Regulations). This 

petition does not seek to address ethanol specificity, as it is 

already established by law. 24VAC35-60-70 states Virginia 

ignition interlock machines "shall be alcohol specific," and 

24VAC35-60-20 defines that alcohol as ethyl alcohol 

(C2H5OH). The machines shall be ethanol specific, and that is 

not in question. This petition directly addresses the state's 

usage of the electrochemical fuel cell for ignition interlock, 
and because it cannot meet the standards set forth by law, 

avenues must be opened to improve the science behind breath 

testing. The electrochemical fuel cell is a simple and 

unsophisticated tool used to detect alcohol, which, in 

chemistry, as in this context, does not mean drinking liquor, 

but simply means any organic compound that contains one or 

more hydroxl groups attached to a carbon atom. These 

alcohols include, but are not limited to: Sorbitol (C6H14O6), 

Isopropanol (C3H8O), Cholesterol (C27H46O), Xylitol 

(C5H7(OH)5), Erythritol (C4H10O4), Methanol (CH4O), 

Menthol (C10H20O), and Cortisol (C21H30O5). For this reason, 

Virginia law 24VAC35-60-20 explicitly defines alcohol as 
the compound C2H5OH, which is ethanol. Being non-ethanol 

specific, the electrochemical fuel cell measures and records 

citizen's private biological medical information and 

misconstrues it falsely as ethanol. I believe this is an invasion 

of the medical privacy afforded by the Health Insurance 

Portability and Affordability Act. Measuring a litany of 

bodily organic compounds and claiming them to be ethanol is 

unethical, invasive, and totally misleading to the general 

public. It goes against the intent of the statute. To have any 

lesser standard than ethanol specificity is a disservice to 

society, and because the electrochemical fuel cell measures an 
unknown and inexhaustive set of compounds, its usage must 

be suspended until such time a device can be proven to meet 

the standards set forth by 24VAC35-60-20 and 24VAC35-60-

70. Currently, 24VAC35-60-70 F 3 states: '3. The ignition 

interlock device shall be alcohol specific, using an 

electrochemical fuel cell that reacts to and measures ethanol, 

minimizing positive results from other substances.' This 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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petition seeks to change the wording from 'an electrochemical 

fuel cell' to 'technology' and to change the word 'minimizing' 

to 'eliminating,' thus reading: '3. The ignition interlock device 

shall be alcohol specific, using technology that reacts to and 

measures ethanol, eliminating positive results from other 

substances.' A device that detects and measures only drinking 

alcohol is a product of science fiction. Electrochemical fuel 

cells measure and collect private health data and bodily 
emissions, aside from drinking alcohol, then uses that private 

health data to falsely accuse citizens of ethanol ingestion. 

Continued usage of electrochemical fuel cells for this purpose 

constitutes nothing less than governmental gaslighting." 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The term "alcohol-specific" 
began to be used in industry terminology years ago in order to 

differentiate early ignition interlocks from second generation 
interlocks. The early interlocks employed semiconductor 

(nonspecific) alcohol sensors. These semiconductor-type 
(Taguchi) interlocks did not hold calibration very well, were 

sensitive to altitude variation, and reacted positively to non-
alcohol sources. By the early 1990s, the industry began to 

produce "second generation" interlocks with reliable and 
accurate fuel cell sensors, that were referred to as being "alcohol 

specific." "Alcohol-specific," as the language has come to be 
understood, does not mean the devices are totally ethanol 

specific, it just means they have high specificity to drinking 
alcohol or ethanol. It is extremely unlikely that the breath of a 

living human would contain any other substance to which fuel 
cell sensors will respond. Other types of alcohols (non-drinking) 

such as methanol or isopropanol to which the ignition interlock 
would yield a positive result are toxic and potentially lethal when 

consumed. As a safeguard though, VASAP has procedures in 
place to enable offenders to retest whenever they suspect a 

positive test is due to residual mouth alcohol (from something 
such as mouthwash) or a non-breath source such as hand 

sanitizer. Positive results, other than from consumed ethanol, can 

be minimized or eliminated by following the proper breath 
testing procedures and agreed terms of the ignition interlock 

contract. All current ignition interlocks in Virginia are required 
to meet National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 

standards as found in NHTSA's Model Specifications for 
Ignition Interlock Devices. The definition of "alcohol" found in 

the ignition interlock regulations is consistent with the definition 
for "alcohol" found in the Code of Virginia and NHTSA's model 

specifications. The subject matter of this petition has already 
been addressed in whole or in part by the commission in 

previous petitions. Therefore, no action was taken by the 
commission on this petition. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Service Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-37 Filed June 6, 2020, 12:01 a.m. 

mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC  REVIEWS AND SMALL BU SIN ESS IMPACT R EVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 1VAC30-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 6, 2020, and ends July 27, 
2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC20-190, Litter 

Receptacle Regulations. The review of this regulation will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 6, 2020, and ends July 27, 

2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 12VAC5-410, Regulations for 

the Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia. The review of this 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 6, 2020, and ends July 27, 

2020. 

mailto:rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy 

Analyst, Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

2102, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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REGU LAT ION S 

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-80. Games of Skill (adding 

3VAC5-80-10 through 3VAC5-80-170).  

Statutory Authority: Chapters 1217 and 1277 of the 2020 
Acts of Assembly. 

Effective Dates: July 1, 2020, through July 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Legal Liaison, 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-
watkins@abc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia authorizes an 

agency to adopt emergency regulations upon consultation 

with the Attorney General, and the necessity for the action 

is at the sole discretion of the Governor. Chapters 1217 

and 1277 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly amended § 18.2-

325 of the Code of Virginia relating to the definition of 

illegal gambling and skill games and added §§ 2.2-115.1 

(COVID-19 Relief Fund) and 18.2-334.5 (Exemptions for 

family entertainment centers). The emergency regulatory 

action creates a new chapter, 3VAC5-80, that establishes 

the requirements, restrictions, and penalties associated 

with the operation of skill games at Virginia Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Authority licensed retail establishments 

and truck stops, including those for (i) registration, 

monthly reporting, and required bonds; (ii) the labeling for 

skill game machines; (iii) limits on the number of skill 

games allowed in a qualified location; and (iv) penalties 
for noncompliance.  

CHAPTER 80 
GAMES OF SKILL 

3VAC5-80-10. Scope. 

In conformance with Chapters 1217 and 1277 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly, this chapter adopts regulations relating to 
"games of skill." This chapter expires on July 1, 2021, subject 
to the provisions of 3VAC5-80-170. 

3VAC5-80-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Authority" means the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority as established in § 4.1-101 of the Code of Virginia.  

"ABC retail licensee" means a person licensed by the 

authority pursuant to Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia to sell 
alcoholic beverages. 

"Board" means the Board of Directors of the Virginia 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority. 

"Coin operated amusement games" means games that do not 

deliver or entitle the person playing or operating the game to 

receive cash; cash equivalents, gift cards, vouchers, billets, 

tickets, tokens, or electronic credits to be exchanged for cash; 
or merchandise or anything of value. 

"COVID-19 relief fund" means the fund established in 

§ 2.2-115.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Distributor" shall mean any person that (i) manufactures 

and sells skill games, including software and hardware, and 

distributes such devices to an ABC retail licensee or truck 

stop or (ii) purchases or leases skill games from a 

manufacturer and provides such devices to an ABC retail 

licensee or a truck stop, or that otherwise maintains such 

games and is otherwise responsible for onsite data collection 
and accounting. 

"Family entertainment center" means an establishment that 

(i) is located in a building that is owned, leased, or occupied 

by the establishment for the primary purpose of providing 

amusement and entertainment to the public; (ii) offers coin 
operated amusement games and skill games pursuant to the 

exclusion created by this regulation; and (iii) markets its 
business to families with children. 

"Gambling device" means: 

a. Any device, machine, paraphernalia, equipment, or other 

thing, including books, records, and other papers, that are 

actually used in an illegal gambling operation or activity; 
and 

b. Any machine, apparatus, implement, instrument, 

contrivance, board or other thing, or electronic or video 

versions thereof, including those dependent upon the 
insertion of a coin or other object for their operation, that 

operates, either completely automatically or with the aid of 

some physical act by the player or operator, in such a 

mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov
mailto:latonya.hucks-watkins@abc.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2421 

manner that, depending upon the elements of chance, it 

may eject something of value or determine the prize or 

thing of value to which the player is entitled; provided, 

however, that the return to the user of nothing more than 

additional chances or the right to use such machine is not 

deemed something of value within the meaning of this 

chapter and provided further that machines that only sell or 

entitle the user to items of merchandise of equivalent value 
that may differ from each other in composition, size, shape, 

or color shall not be deemed gambling devices within the 
meaning of this section.  

"Skill" means the knowledge, dexterity, or any other ability 
or expertise of a natural person. 

"Skill games" means an electronic, computerized, or 

mechanical contrivance, terminal, machine, or other device 

that requires the insertion of a coin, currency, ticket, token, or 

similar object to operate, activate, or play a game, the 

outcome of which is determined by any element of skill of the 

player and that may deliver or entitle the person playing or 
operating the device to receive cash, cash equivalents, gift 

cards, vouchers, billets, tickets, tokens, or electronic credits to 

be exchanged for cash, merchandise, or anything of value 

whether the payoff is made automatically from the device or 
manually.  

Each terminal of a skill game machine where a player may 

play a game shall constitute a game made available for play, 

regardless of whether it is a standalone terminal or a terminal 

that is part of a skill game machine that has multiple 
terminals. 

"Truck stop" means an establishment (i) that is equipped 

with diesel islands used for fueling commercial motor 
vehicles; (ii) has sold, on average, at least 50,000 gallons of 

diesel or biodiesel fuel each month for the previous 12 

months, or is projected to sell an average of at least 50,000 

gallons of diesel or biodiesel fuel each month for the next 12 

months; (iii) has parking spaces dedicated to commercial 

motor vehicles; (iv) has a convenience store; and (v) is 

situated on not less than three acres of land that the 
establishment owns or leases.  

3VAC5-80-30. Exclusions from chapter, certain skill 

games offered at family entertainment centers. 

The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to coin 

operated amusement games located on family entertainment 

centers operated in accordance with § 18.2-334.5 of the Code 

of Virginia, nor shall such coin operated amusement games 

be considered a gambling device or otherwise unlawful 
pursuant to § 18.2-325 of the Code of Virginia. 

3VAC5-80-40. Applicability of chapter. 

The provisions of this chapter shall only apply to ABC retail 

licensees in good standing that possess a valid authority retail 

license issued by the board pursuant to Title 4.1 of the Code 

of Virginia and the regulations applicable to any such retail 

license or truck stops meeting the definition in 3VAC5-80-20. 

For purposes of this section, a retail licensee is not in good 

standing if the license has been suspended or is inactive for 
any reason. 

3VAC5-80-50. Initial registration and monthly reporting. 

A. No later than July 7, 2020, each distributor shall file a 

registration statement with the Authority Bureau of Law 
Enforcement on such form that may be prescribed by the 

authority. The registration statement shall include all skill 

games that are available for play by the distributor filing the 

registration statement as of June 30, 2020. The registration 

statement shall include such information as may be prescribed 

by the authority. The registration statement shall include (i) 

the total number of skill games provided for play in Virginia 

by the distributor; (ii) the address of each location where skill 

games are provided for play in Virginia by the distributor; 

(iii) the total number of skill games provided for play by the 

distributor at each respective location; (iv) the total amount 
wagered during the previous month on each skill game 

provided for play in Virginia by the distributor at each 

respective location where the skill game was provided; (v) the 

total amount of prizes or winnings awarded during the 

previous month on each skill game provided for play in 

Virginia by the distributor at each respective location where 

the skill game was provided; and (vi) the name, address, and 

contact information of the individual person responsible for 

full and total compliance with this chapter and law and a 

statement that such individual shall be responsible for any 

penalty assessed for violations of this chapter or law 

applicable to the distributor of any skill game. Such 
individual shall certify that the initial registration is a true and 

accurate accounting of the information provided in the initial 
registration statement. 

Failure to file the registration statement by July 7, 2020, 

shall result in the barring of any such games not registered. 

Any such game not included in the registration statement 
shall be considered an illegal gambling device. 

B. Each distributor shall, no later than the 20th of the 

succeeding month, file with the Authority Bureau of Law 

Enforcement on such form prescribed by the authority the 
following requisite information. 

The monthly report shall include (i) the total number of skill 

games provided for play in Virginia by the distributor; (ii) the 

address of each location where skill games are provided for 

play in Virginia by the distributor; (iii) the total number of 

skill games provided for play by the distributor at each 

respective location; (iv) the total amount wagered during the 

previous month on each skill game provided for play in 

Virginia by the distributor at each respective location where 

the skill game was provided; (v) the total amount of prizes or 

winnings awarded during the previous month on each skill 

game provided for play in Virginia by the distributor at each 
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respective location where the skill game was provided; and 

(vi) the name, address, and contact information of the 

individual person responsible for full and total compliance 

with this chapter and law and a statement that such individual 

shall be responsible for any penalty assessed for violations of 

this chapter or law applicable to the distributor of any skill 

game. Such individual shall certify that the monthly report is 

a true and accurate accounting of the information provided in 
the monthly report. 

C. No distributor or combination of distributors shall locate 

more than eight skill game machines at any ABC retail 

licensed establishment or more than 24 skill game machines 

at any truck stop. No ABC retail licensee or truck stop shall 
exceed this maximum number of games. 

D. Failure to file such form by the 20th of the month shall 

result in a civil penalty of at least $25,000 per incident. Each 
incident of noncompliance shall constitute a separate offense. 

3VAC5-80-60. Labeling of skill game machines. 

No later than July 20, 2020, the distributor of each skill 

game placed in an ABC retail licensed establishment or truck 

stop that the distributor has registered pursuant to 3VAC5-80-

50 shall cause to be adhered to each skill game a label as 

prescribed by the Authority Bureau of Law Enforcement. The 

authority shall provide the required labels. All labels shall be 

adhered on the side of all skill games in a conspicuous and 

visible location to the authority, its law-enforcement agents, 

and players of the game. Any skill game without the requisite 

label adhered to the skill game machine by July 20, 2020, 
shall be in violation of this chapter.  

3VAC5-80-70. Total number of skill games by any single 

distributor. 

A. The total number of skill games provided for play in 

ABC retail establishments and truck stops shall not exceed 

the total number of such machines reported by a distributor to 

the authority as games provided for play as of June 30, 2020. 

Only those skill games that were provided by a distributor 

and available for play in ABC retail licensed establishments 

or truck stops as of June 30, 2020, and registered by the 

distributor by July 7, 2020, may continue to operate on or 
after July 1, 2020.  

B. Any exceedance of the number of skill games machine 

determined by the authority shall result in a civil penalty of at 
least $25,000 per machine exceeding the total number of 

registered machines. Each day the violation continues shall 

constitute a separate offense. In addition, any such skill game 

machine exceeding the registered number or not baring the 

required label shall be deemed an illegal gambling device and 

may result in the loss of the authority issued retail license to 
sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages.  

3VAC5-80-80. Relocation of skill game machine from one 

establishment to another. 

A. Skill game machines may be relocated from one qualified 

location to another qualified location or warehoused and 

subsequently placed in any qualified location, provided 

however, from July 1, 2020, through September 1, 2020, a 

distributor may not relocate skill game machines in excess of 

20% of the total number of skill games initially registered and 
available for play on June 30, 2020. Additionally, from 

September 2, 2020, through July 1, 2021, a distributor may 

not relocate skill game machines in excess of 20% of the total 

number of skill games initially registered and available for 
play on June 30, 2020, by any distributor. 

B. Prior to being relocated pursuant to subsection A of this 

section, the distributor shall provide notice, including an 

image (photograph with a clearly visible numeric identifier) 

of the obliterated label of the malfunctioning machine to the 

Authority Bureau of Law Enforcement. Such notice shall be 

provided at least 10 days prior to the relocation date. No skill 
game shall be relocated prior to approval by the Authority 

Bureau of Law Enforcement. Upon receipt of such notice and 

evidence and approval, the Authority Bureau of Law 

Enforcement may issue a new label to the distributor for the 

replacement machine. The new label shall be adhered to the 

replacement machine in accordance with 3VAC5-80-60 prior 
to the replacement game being enabled for play.  

C. Notwithstanding subsections A and B of this section, a 

distributor may provide routine maintenance on any skill 
game machine located in a qualified location. 

3VAC5-80-90. Taxation generally. 

A. All skill games initially registered by a distributor 

pursuant to 3VAC5-80-50 shall be subject to the taxation 

requirements of the second enactment of Chapters 1217 and 

1277 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, that is, $1,200 for each 

skill game located and initially registered in the 

Commonwealth during the previous month by a distributor. 

Returns and payment vouchers shall be remitted to the 
Department of Taxation no later than August 20, 2020. 

B. Returns and payment vouchers shall be due on September 

20, 2020, and each month following through July 20, 2021, 

and shall be remitted to the Department of Taxation based on 

the number of skill game machines provided for play at ABC 
retail licensees or truck stops determined by the calculation 

determined in 3VAC5-80-80. Skill games placed in a 

warehouse for subsequent placement at a qualified location 

shall not be subject to such tax until such time as the skill 

game is relocated to a qualified location. Skill games placed 

in a warehouse for subsequent placement at qualified location 

shall be subject to taxation for all calendar months during 

which such games were in play for any portion of any day 
during the month.  
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C. Any single day of any calendar month during which a 

skill game machine is provided for play by a distributor at a 

qualified location shall remit the total $1,200 tax on such 
machine. No proration of the monthly tax shall be allowed.  

3VAC5-80-100. Bond required. 

Each distributor of a skilled game machine shall post a 

surety bond naming the authority as beneficiary. The 

authority may call the bond for any violation of this chapter 
or law regulating skill game machines. The bond shall be in 

the following amounts and shall remain in effect for 14 
months following issuance: 

Number of Skill Game Machines Amount of Bond 

1 – 50 $50,000 

51 – 500 $250,000 

501 – 1,000 $500,000 

1,001 and above $1 million 

3VAC5-80-110. Records to be kept by distributors 

generally. 

A. All distributors shall keep complete, accurate, and 

separate records for a period of one year. The records shall be 

available for inspection and copying by any member of the 

board or its special agents during reasonable hours. The board 

and its special agents shall be allowed free access during 

reasonable hours to every place in the Commonwealth where 

skill games are manufactured, sold, stored, offered for play, 
or played for the purpose of examining and inspecting all 
records, invoices, and accounts therein.  

B. At a minimum, each distributor shall retain and maintain 

the following records: (i) the manufacturer, game name, 

model, and serial number of each skill game sold or otherwise 

provided for use and (ii) the name, address, and phone 

number of each entity to which the skill game was sold or 
otherwise provided. 

C. Records may be retained at a skill game distributor's 

principal place of business, provided that records maintained 

at a location outside this Commonwealth are preserved in 
such a manner as to allow for the electronic transmission of 

records to the board or its special agents within a reasonable 
time. 

D. "Reasonable hours" shall be deemed to include all 

business hours of operation and any other time at which there 
exists any indication of activity upon the premises.  

E. All such records shall be maintained for a period of at 
least the 12 months next following July 1, 2021.  

3VAC5-80-120. Minimum age of skill game player; 

consumer protection. 

No person younger than 18 years of age shall be eligible to 

play any skill game. Any person playing a skill game may 

have consumer protection rights. It shall be the responsibility 

of the distributor to provide notice of such age eligibility to 

the proprietor of the establishment prior to the placement of 

any skill game machine in any ABC retail licensed 
establishment or truck stop. The distributor shall adhere to the 

front of any skill game machine a notice in font – Times New 

Roman Bold – 16 point as follows: "It is unlawful for any 

person under the age of eighteen (18) to play this game. The 
outcome of this game is not regulated by the state."  

3VAC5-80-130. Referral to commonwealth attorney. 

In the event that the authority determines that an illegal 

gambling device is located in a retail licensed establishment 

or truck stop, such skill game may constitute illegal gambling 

activity pursuant to § 18.2-331 of the Code of Virginia, and 

the authority may refer such allegation to the 
Commonwealth's Attorney for the jurisdiction in which the 
skill game is located.  

3VAC5-80-140. Penalty. 

Any distributor found by the authority to be in violation of 

this chapter shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than 

$25,000 and not more than $50,000 per incident. All civil 

penalties shall be paid to the authority and remitted by the 
authority to the COVID-19 Relief Fund.  

3VAC5-80-150. Compliance with COVID-19 related 

executive orders. 

Distributors and qualified locations shall comply with 

provisions of any effective Executive Order related to social 
distancing and other applicable provisions in the placement of 
any skill game machines within a qualified location.  

3VAC5-80-160. Public records. 

Any information received as the result of required monthly 

reports shall be determined public information and subject to 

the provisions Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-
3700 of the Code of Virginia) without exclusions.  

3VAC5-80-170. Effect of expiration. 

A. The expiration of this chapter on July 1, 2021, does not 

relieve a distributor from filing the required month report for 

June 2021. The required report shall be filed not later than 
July 20, 2021. Distributors shall maintain such records in 
accordance with 3VAC5-80-110 B. 

B. Any alleged violation of this chapter, ongoing on July 1, 

2021, or commenced prior to July 1, 2022, shall continue 

until such time as an agreed resolution is achieved or a final 

non-appealable order has been issued by a court of competent 
jurisdiction.  
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NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (3VAC5-80) 

Final Skill Game Registration Statement Form (undated, 

filed 6/2020) 

Final Skill Game Monthly Report (undated, filed 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6392; Filed June 25, 2020, 7:57 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-15, 4VAC20-270-30, 

4VAC20-270-40, 4VAC20-270-51).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish management provisions for the 
July 5, 2020, through July 4, 2021, blue crab fisheries. 

4VAC20-270-15. Definitions. 

The following word or term when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meaning unless the context indicates 
otherwise: 

"Crab" or "crabs" as described in this chapter refers solely to 
the crustacean Callinectes sapidus.  

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by crab pot or peeler pot to take and harvest 

crabs from any crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, bait, or 

set any crab pot or peeler pot, except during the lawful daily 

time periods described in subsections A, B, C, and D of this 

section. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial 

harvesting of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 6 
a.m. to 2 p.m. during the lawful seasons, as described in 

4VAC20-270-40 A, except as described in subsections B, C, 

and D of this section. The lawful daily time periods for the 

commercial harvesting of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall 

be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. during the months of May, June, 

July, and August, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except 

as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this section. Crab 

pots or peeler pots already on board a boat at the end of the 

lawful daily time period, as defined in subsections A, B, and 

C of this section, may be set immediately following the end 

of lawful daily time period to one hour after the lawful daily 
time period ends.  

B. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 

attending physician to the commissioner of an existing 

medical condition that prevents him from adhering to the 

daily time limit established in subsection A of this section 

may be permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take 

and harvest crabs from his crab pot or peeler pot, or to 

retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or peeler pot during an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit. That alternative eight-

hour daily time limit will be prescribed by the commissioner 

or his designee in accordance with the medical condition that 
forms a basis for the exception to the daily time limit as 
described in subsection A of this section.  

Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed crab 

pot or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an 

exception to the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical 

basis, from using another licensed crab pot or peeler pot 

fisherman as a mate; provided, however, during the 

designated alternate work hours, only the crab pots or peeler 

pots of the fisherman receiving the exception shall be fished. 

Further, it shall be unlawful for the licensed crab fisherman, 

who has been granted an exception, or his mate, who is a 
licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, to fish, set, retrieve, 

or bait, during the alternate work hours, any crab pot or peeler 

pot that is not owned and licensed by the fisherman granted 
the exception.  

C. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

requests and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit 

permit shall be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his 

crab pot or peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or 

peeler pot one hour earlier than described in subsection A of 

this section, only for the months of June, July, August, and 

September. During the months of March, April, May, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0cca006392~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006392&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0cca006392~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006392&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4e8a4006392~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006392&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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October, and November, the lawful daily time period 

described in subsection A of this section applies to any crab 

pot or peeler pot licensee. The alternate lawful daily time 

periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by crab pot or 

peeler pot shall be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from June 1 

through August 31 and from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from September 

1 through September 30. Individuals Licensed crab pot or 

peeler pot fishermen must apply for this permit on an annual 
basis and shall adhere to the alternate daily time limit from 

the day the permit is issued through September 30, as well as 
subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed crab pot or 

peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the 

same vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits 
are not identical. 

2. After January 1, 2012, requests Requests for an alternate 

eight-hour time limit permit shall be submitted to the 

Marine Resources Commission annually and prior to May 

15. Requests submitted on or after May 15 will not be 
considered. 

3. Once any legal crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains an 

alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 

shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily 
time limit as described in this subsection. 

D. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded by the 

Commissioner of Marine Resources when he the 

commissioner determines that a pending weather event is 

sufficient cause for the removal of crab pots from the tidal 
waters of the Commonwealth.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  

A. In 2019 2020, the lawful season for the commercial 

harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 through 

November 30. In 2020 2021, the lawful season for the 

commercial harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 

through November 30. For all other lawful commercial gear 

used to harvest crabs, as described in 4VAC20-1040, the 

lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs shall be April 1 
through October 31. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 
season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of 

Virginia from December 1, 2019 2020, through March 16, 

2020 2021. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly 

place, set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial gear used to 

harvest crabs, except any hard crab pot or any gear as 

described in 4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia 
from November 1, 2019 2020, through March 31, 2020 2021. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, 

set, fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 

12 through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 
and 2 of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 
following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 
mouth of College Creek.  

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the 
Route 33 bridges at West Point.  

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 
the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 
to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 

any number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount 

allowed by the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish 

pots per vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any 
crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the 
areas described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel 

pots as described in 4VAC20-500.  

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed 

of a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 
three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2019 2020, through November 30, 2019 

2020, and April 1, 2020 2021, through July 4, 2020 2021, any 

commercial fisherman registration licensee legally licensed 

for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, 

shall be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 

possession limits for any of the following crab pot license 
categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 
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3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 
170 crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From March 17, 2020 2021, through March 31, 2020 

2021, any commercial fisherman registration licensee legally 
licensed for any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-

270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum daily 

harvest and possession limits for any of the following crab 
pot license categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or four barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or seven barrels, of crabs if licensed for up 

to 255 crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or nine barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 
425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 
possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab 
pot licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot 

licensee's name, address, commercial fisherman registration 

license number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of 
crabs to be sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this 

section, that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned 

immediately to the water by the licensee or licensees who 

possess that excess over lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit. The refusal to return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily 

harvest or possession limit, to the water shall constitute a 
separate violation of this chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any 

other person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood 
buyers boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6424; Filed June 23, 2020, 3:42 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-450. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Bluefish (amending 4VAC20-450-15, 4VAC20-450-20, 

4VAC20-450-30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the commercial bluefish quota 

for 2020, using Virginia's percent allocation (11.8795%) 
of the coastwide commercial bluefish quota. 

4VAC20-450-15. Definitions. 

The following words or terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Annual quota" means Virginia's 11.8795% share of the 

annual coastwide commercial bluefish quota managed by the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

"Bluefish" means any fish of the species Pomatomus 

saltatrix. 

"Captain" means the person licensed by the U.S. Coast 

Guard to carry passengers for hire who operates the charter 
boat or head boat. 

"Charter vessel" or "for-hire vessel" means a vessel 

operating with a captain who possesses either a Class A 

Fishing Guide License, Class B Fishing Guide License, or 
Fishing Guide Reciprocity Permit. 

4VAC20-450-20. Bluefish Recreational bluefish possession 

limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to harvest or possess more than three bluefish, except as 

described in subsection B of this section. Any bluefish taken 

after the possession limit has been reached shall be returned 
to the water immediately.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing from a charter 

or for-hire vessel to harvest or possess more than five 

bluefish. Any bluefish taken after the possession limit has 
been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 
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C. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit 

shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board who are legally eligible to fish 

multiplied by the personal possession limits as described in 

subsections A and B of this section. The captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or 
vessel possession limit.  

4VAC20-450-30. Commercial landings quota.  

A. The commercial landings of bluefish shall be limited to 

915,857 pounds during the current calendar year the annual 
quota, except as specified in subsection B of this section.  

B. If a quota transfer occurs between Virginia and another 

state participating in the Interstate Fishery Management Plan 

for bluefish, Virginia's annual quota for the current calendar 

year shall be limited to the annual quota amount as adjusted 
for transfers. 

C. When it is projected that 95% of the commercial landings 

quota has been realized, a notice will be posted to close 
commercial harvest and landings from the bluefish fishery 
within five days of posting.  

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or land 

bluefish for commercial purposes after the closure date set 
forth in the notice described in subsection B C of this section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6427; Filed June 23, 2020, 12:45 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-490. Pertaining to Sharks 

(amending 4VAC20-490-20, 4VAC20-490-30, 4VAC20-

490-40, 4VAC20-490-42).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments establish the commercial spiny dogfish 

annual quota for the 2020 fishing year using Virginia's 

percent allocation (10.795%) of the coastwide commercial 
spiny dogfish quota and to require the use of nonoffset, 

nonstainless steel circle hooks when fishing for sharks 

recreationally, except when fishing with flies or artificial 
lures. 

4VAC20-490-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order 

to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 
commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Annual quota" means Virginia's 10.795% share of the 

annual coastwide commercial spiny dogfish quota managed 
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

"Carcass length" means that length measured in a straight 

line from the anterior edge of the first dorsal fin to the 
posterior end of the shark carcass. 

"Circle Hook" means a non‐offset, non‐stainless steel hook 

with the point turned sharply and straight back toward the 
shank.  

"COLREGS Line" means the COLREGS Demarcation Line, 

as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations (33 CFR 
80.510 Chesapeake Bay Entrance, VA). 

"Commercial shark fisherman" means any commercial 

fisherman permitted to land or possess sharks (excluding 

spiny dogfish) that has landed and sold one pound of shark or 

more (excludes spiny dogfish) in that calendar year (January 
1 through December 31). 

"Commercially permitted aggregated large coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier 

"Commercially permitted hammerhead shark" means any of 
the following species: 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

"Commercially permitted nonblacknose small coastal shark" 

means any of the following species: 

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 
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Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

"Commercially permitted pelagic shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

"Commercially prohibited shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Control rule" means a time-certain date, past, present, or 

future, used to establish participation in a limited entry 

fishery and may or may not include specific past harvest 
amounts. 

"Dressed weight" means the result from processing a fish by 

removal of head, viscera, and fins, but does not include 

removal of the backbone, halving, quartering, or otherwise 
further reducing the carcass. 

"Finning" means removing the fins and returning the 

remainder of the shark to the sea. 

"Fork length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the fork of the tail along the midline, using a straight-line 
measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Large mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched 

mesh of greater than five inches. 

"Longline" means any fishing gear that is set horizontally, 

either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, and that 
consists of a mainline or groundline, greater than 1,000 feet in 

length, with multiple leaders (gangions) and hooks, whether 
retrieved by hand or mechanical means. 

"Movable gill net"means any gill net other than a staked gill 
net. 

"Permitted commercial gear" means rod and reel, handlines, 

shark shortlines, small mesh gill nets, large mesh gill nets, 
pound nets, and weirs. 

"Recreational shore angler" means a person neither fishing 

from a vessel nor transported to or from a fishing location by 
a vessel. 

"Recreational vessel angler" means a person fishing from a 
vessel or transported to or from a fishing location by a vessel. 

"Recreationally permitted shark" means any of the following 
species:  

Atlantic sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon terraenovae 

Blacknose, Carcharhinus acronotus 

Blacktip, Carcharhinus limbatus 

Blue, Prionace glauca 

Bonnethead, Sphyrna tiburo 

Bull, Carcharhinus leucas 

Finetooth, Carcharhinus isodon 

Great hammerhead, Sphyrna mokarran 

Lemon, Negaprion brevirostris 

Nurse, Ginglymostoma cirratum 

Oceanic whitetip, Carcharhinus longimanus 

Porbeagle, Lamna nasus 

Scalloped hammerhead, Sphyrna lewini 

Shortfin mako, Isurus oxyrinchus 

Smooth dogfish, Mustelus canis 

Smooth hammerhead, Sphyrna zygaena 

Spinner, Carcharhinus brevipinna  

Thresher, Alopias vulpinus 

Tiger, Galeocerdo cuvier  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2429 

"Recreationally prohibited shark" means any of the 
following species: 

Atlantic angel, Squatina dumeril 

Basking, Cetorhinus maximus 

Bigeye sand tiger, Odontaspis noronhai 

Bigeye sixgill, Hexanchus nakamurai 

Bigeye thresher, Alopias superciliosus 

Bignose, Carcharhinus altimus 

Caribbean reef, Carcharhinus perezii 

Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus 

Dusky, Carcharhinus obscurus 

Galapagos, Carcharhinus galapagensis 

Longfin mako, Isurus paucus 

Narrowtooth, Carcharhinus brachyurus 

Night, Carcharhinus signatus 

Sand tiger, Carcharias taurus 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

Sevengill, Heptranchias perlo 

Silky, Carcharhinus falciformis 

Sixgill, Hexanchus griseus 

Smalltail, Carcharhinus porosus 

Whale, Rhincodon typus 

White, Carcharodon carcharias 

"Research only shark" means any of the following species: 

Sandbar, Carcharhinus plumbeus 

"Shark shortline" means a fish trotline that is set 

horizontally, either anchored, floating or attached to a vessel, 

and that consists of a mainline or groundline, 1,000 feet in 

length or less, with multiple leaders (gangions) and no more 

than 50 corrodible circle hooks, whether retrieved by hand or 
mechanical means. 

"Small mesh gill net" means any gill net with a stretched 
mesh of equal to or less than five inches. 

"Smooth dogfish" means any shark of the species Mustelus 

canis. Smooth dogfish are also known as "smoothhound 
shark." 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 
head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spiny dogfish" means any shark of the species Squalus 

acanthias. 

4VAC20-490-30. Gear Commercial gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 
any longline in Virginia's tidal waters. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish 

any shark shortline in Virginia's tidal waters with more than 

50 hooks. All hooks must be corrodible circle hooks. In 

addition, any person aboard a vessel fishing shortlines must 

practice the protocols and possess the federally required 
release equipment, for pelagic and bottom longlines, for the 

safe handling, release and disentanglement of sea turtles and 

other nontarget species; all captain and vessel owners must be 
certified in using handling and release equipment.  

C. It shall be unlawful for a person to possess more than two 
shark shortlines on board a vessel. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take any shark using any gear other than handline or rod 
and reel. 

E. D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing for 

commercial purposes to possess any shark caught by means 
other than permitted commercial gear. 

F. E. Any commercial shark fisherman person fishing 

commercially for sharks shall check all of his large mesh gill 
nets at least once every two hours.  

4VAC20-490-40. Recreational harvest limitations and 

gear restrictions.  

A. Recreational fishing vessels are allowed a maximum 

possession limit of one recreationally permitted shark, 

excluding smooth dogfish, per trip, regardless of the number 

of people on board the vessel. In addition, each recreational 

vessel angler may possess one bonnethead and one Atlantic 

sharpnose per trip. The possession aboard a vessel of more 
than one recreationally permitted shark, excluding smooth 

dogfish, or the possession of more than one Atlantic 

sharpnose shark or one bonnethead shark, per person, shall 

constitute a violation of this regulation. When fishing from 

any boat or vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limits for Atlantic sharpnose 

shark or bonnethead shark shall be for the boat or vessel and 

shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish, plus one additional recreationally permitted 

shark. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 
responsible for any boat or vessel possession limits. 

B. A recreational shore angler is allowed a maximum 

possession limit of one recreationally permitted shark, 

excluding smooth dogfish, per calendar day. In addition, a 

recreational shore angler may harvest one additional 

bonnethead and one additional Atlantic sharpnose per 

calendar day. The possession of more than one recreationally 

permitted shark, excluding smooth dogfish, or the possession 

of more than one bonnethead and one Atlantic sharpnose, by 
any person, shall constitute a violation of this regulation. 
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C. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 
recreationally prohibited shark. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally permitted shark landed under the recreational 

harvest limitations described in this section that is less than 

54 inches in fork length except as described in subdivisions 1, 
2, and 3 of this subsection: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally caught female shortfin mako shark that is 

less than 83 inches in fork length or any male shortfin 
mako shark that is less than 71 inches in fork length. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any 

recreationally caught great hammerhead, scalloped 

hammerhead, or smooth hammerhead shark that is less 
than 78 inches in fork length. 

3. Atlantic sharpnose, bonnethead, finetooth, blacknose, 

and smooth dogfish sharks are exempt from the 
recreational size limit described in this subsection. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, land, 

or possess any blacktip, bull, great hammerhead, lemon, 

nurse, scalloped hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, spinner 

or tiger shark from May 15 through July 15 of any calendar 
year.  

F. All sharks must have heads, tails and fins attached 

naturally to the carcass. Anglers may gut and bleed the 

carcass as long as the head and tail are not removed. Filleting 

any shark is prohibited until that shark is offloaded at the 
dock or on shore. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take any shark using any gear other than handline or rod 
and reel. 

H. Any person fishing recreationally for sharks shall use 

non-offset, corrodible, non-stainless steel circle hooks except 
when fishing with flies or artificial lures. 

4VAC20-490-42. Spiny dogfish commercial quota and 

harvest limitations.  

A. From The fishing year for spiny dogfish shall be from 

May 1 of the current calendar year through April 30 of the 

following calendar year. For the fishing year, the commercial 

spiny dogfish landings quota shall be limited to 2,215,484 

pounds annual quota except as specified in subsection B of 
this section. 

B. If a quota transfer occurs between Virginia and another 

state or region participating in the Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for spiny dogfish, Virginia's annual quota 

for the fishing year shall be limited to the annual quota 
amount as adjusted for transfers. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia any spiny 

dogfish harvested from federal waters for commercial 

purposes after it has been announced that the federal quota for 
spiny dogfish has been taken. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest, or 

possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more than 

6,000 pounds of spiny dogfish per day for commercial 
purposes.  

D. E. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, harvest or 

to land in, or possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia 

any spiny dogfish for commercial purposes after the annual 

quota specified in subsection subsections A and B of this 
section has been landed and announced as such. 

E. F. Any spiny dogfish harvested from state waters or 

federal waters, for commercial purposes, shall only be sold to 
a federally permitted dealer. 

F. G. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any spiny dogfish after any commercial harvest or landing 

annual quota described in this section has been attained 
landed and announced as such. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6425; Filed June 23, 2020, 3:13 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-910. Pertaining to Scup 

(Porgy) (amending 4VAC20-910-20, 4VAC20-910-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish the commercial scup Summer 

period fishery quota for 2020, using Virginia's allocation 

(0.165%) of the coastwide commercial scup Summer 
period quota. 

4VAC20-910-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  

"Scup" means any fish of the species Stenotomus chrysops, 

commonly referred to as porgy.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 
head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 
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"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-
line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

"Virginia Summer period quota" means Virginia's 0.165% 

share of the annual coastwide commercial scup Summer 

period quota managed by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 
Commission. 

4VAC20-910-45. Possession limits and harvest quotas. 

A. During the commercial Winter I period January 1 through 

April 30 of each year, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia more than 50,000 
pounds of scup; 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 50,000 pounds of 

scup during each consecutive seven-day landing period, 
with the first seven-day period beginning on January 1; or 

3. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 

coastwide quota for the Winter I period has been attained, 

possess aboard any vessel or land in Virginia more than a 
total of 1,000 pounds of scup. 

B. During the commercial Winter II period October 1 

through December 31 of each year, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to possess aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia 

more than 27,000 pounds of scup any amount of scup totaling 

more than the federal per trip possession limit that has been 

announced by National Marine Fisheries Service. This federal 

per trip possession limit will be posted on the commission 
website. 

C. During the Summer period May 1 through September 30 

of each year, the commercial harvest and landing of scup in 

Virginia shall be limited to 14,296 pounds, and it The 

commercial scup Summer period May 1 through September 

30 shall be allocated 100% of the Virginia Summer period 

quota. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess aboard 

any vessel in Virginia more than 5,000 pounds of scup during 
the Summer period. 

D. For each of the time periods set forth in this section, the 

Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice to the 

industry of calculated poundage possession limits and quotas 

and any adjustments thereto. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to possess or to land any scup for commercial 

purposes after any winter period coastwide quota or summer 

period Virginia quota has been attained and announced as 
such. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any scup after any commercial harvest or landing quota has 
been attained and announced as such. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 30 scup. When fishing is from a boat or 

vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or 

container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel 

and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

eligible to fish multiplied by 30. The captain or operator of 

the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 
possession limit. Any scup taken after the possession limit 
has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6426; Filed June 23, 2020, 2:35 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-

20).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments close crab dredging in Virginia waters 
from December 1, 2020, through March 31, 2021. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code 

of Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2019 
2020, through March 31, 2020 2021, is closed, and it shall be 

unlawful to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of 
the Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6428; Filed June 23, 2020, 12:32 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-70. Regulations Governing 

Pupil Transportation. 

Contact Information: Kerry Miller, Associate Director, Pupil 

Transportation, Department of Education, 101 North 14th 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, email 
kerry.miller@doe.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (8VAC20-70) 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate, 
Form EB.001, (rev. 5/2017) 

School Bus Driver's Application for Physician's Certificate, 
Form EB.001, (rev. 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6390; Filed June 3, 2020, 4:26 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also 

available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-90. Solid Waste Management 

Permit Action Fees and Annual Fees. 

Contact Information: Gary Graham, Regulatory Analyst, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
698-4103, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC20-90) 

Solid Waste Information and Assessment Program 

Reporting Table, Form DEQ 50-25 with Statement of 
Economic Benefits Form and Instructions (rev. 12/2018) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment Form 

PF001 (rev. 6/2019) 

Solid Waste Annual Permit Fee Quarter Payment, Form 

PF001 (rev. 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6403; Filed June 9, 2020, 12:50 p.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-900. Certification of 

Nonpoint Source Nutrient Credits (adding 9VAC25-900-

10 through 9VAC25-900-350).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 
698-4346, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 748 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly, the 

new regulation establishes the process for the certification 
of nonpoint source nitrogen and phosphorus nutrient 

credits. The regulation includes application procedures, 

baseline requirements, credit calculation procedures, 

release and registration of credits, compliance and 

reporting requirements for nutrient credit-generating 

entities, enforcement requirements, application fees, and 

financial assurance requirements. Nonpoint source 

nutrient credits must be certified by the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) prior to release, placement 
on the registry, and exchange.  

Changes since the revised proposed regulation include: (i) 

addition of a requirement to include the name and contact 

information of a DEQ staff person for all public 

notifications; (ii) addition of a requirement that DEQ 

shall, if warranted, perform a site visit of the proposed 

nutrient credit-generating project for applications 

received; and (iii) addition of a provision establishing 

survival for mixed-use plantings of evergreens and 

hardwoods, which include a minimum of 200 evergreens, 
after the first complete growing season. 

As part of this action, the State Water Control Board voted 

unanimously to move the provisions regarding the 

exchange of credits in 9VAC25-900-90 C of the revised 
proposed regulation, which are amended to add 

Chlorophyll-a to the list of impairment types for the local 

water quality requirements, to a new section, 9VAC25-

900-91, and defer submittal of 9VAC25-900-91 for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Therefore, the effective date of 9VAC25-900-91 is delayed 

and the section will not become effective with the 
remainder of the chapter.  

The board directed DEQ, prior to publication of 9VAC25-

900-91 in the Register, to seek input on the development of 

guidance regarding implementation of 9VAC25-900-91 
from a representative of private nutrient bank developers, 

conservation organizations, local governments, and 

nonpoint nutrient credit users. In accordance with the 

mailto:Kerry.miller@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a38f006390~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006390&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7a38f006390~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006390&mime=application/pdf
mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84307006311~2m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006311&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2920006403~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006403&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e2920006403~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006403&mime=application/pdf
mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
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board's action, the final provisions of 9VAC25-900-91 may 

be submitted for publication in the Register at such time as 

(i) DEQ receives approval of 9VAC25-900-91 pursuant to 

Executive Order No. 14 (2018) and (ii) the earlier of either 

the date the guidance is published in the Register or 

September 1, 2020. DEQ received approval on May 26, 

2020, for the provisions of 9VAC25-900-91 pursuant to 

Executive Order No. 14 (2018) and will be submitting 
9VAC25-900-91 for publication by September 1, 2020. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 900 

CERTIFICATION OF NONPOINT SOURCE NUTRIENT 
CREDITS 

Part I 

Definitions 

9VAC25-900-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"300 animal units" means the term as defined in 9VAC25-
192-10. 

"Act" means the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Nutrient Credit 

Exchange Program, Article 4.02 (§ 62.1-44.19:12 et seq.) of 
Chapter 3.1 of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Agricultural lands" means cropland, hayland, or pastures. 

"Animal feeding operation" means the term as defined by 

9VAC25-31-10. 

"Applicant" means the person who submits an application to 

the department for nutrient credit certification pursuant to this 
chapter. 

"Bankfull event" means the storm event that corresponds 

with the stream stage at its incipient point of flooding. The 

bankfull discharge associated with the bankfull event is the 

flow that transports the majority of a stream's sediment load 

over time and thereby forms and maintains the channel 
dimension, pattern, and profile.  

"Baseline" means the practices, actions, or levels of 

reductions that must be in place before credits can be 

generated. The best management practices to be implemented 
for achieving baseline are provided in 9VAC25-900-100.  

"Best management practice," "practice," or "BMP" means a 

structural practice, nonstructural practice, or other 

management practice used to prevent or reduce nutrient loads 
reaching surface waters or the adverse effects thereof.  

"Board" means the State Water Control Board.  

"CDA" means contributing drainage area. 

"Certification of nutrient credits" or "nutrient credit 

certification" means the approval of nutrient credits issued by 

the department as specified in 9VAC25-900-80. Nutrient 

credit certification does not include the certification of point 

source credits generated by point sources regulated under the 

Watershed General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System Permit issued pursuant to § 62.1-44.19:14 of the State 
Water Control Law.  

"Chesapeake Bay Watershed" means the land areas draining 

to the following Virginia river basins: the Potomac River 

Basin, the James River Basin, the Rappahannock River Basin, 

the Chesapeake Bay and small coastal basins, or the York 
River Basin. 

"Concentrated animal feeding operation" means the term as 
defined by 9VAC25-31-10. 

"Cropland" means land that is used for the production of 

grain, oilseeds, silage or industrial crops not defined as hay or 
pasture. 

"DCR" means the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. 

"Delivery factor" means the estimated percentage of a total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus load delivered to tidal waters as 

determined by the specific geographic location of the nutrient 

source. For point source discharges the delivery factor 

accounts for attenuation that occurs during riverine transport 

between the point of discharge and tidal waters. For nonpoint 

source loads the delivery factor accounts for attenuation that 

occurs during riverine transport as well as attenuation 

between the nutrient source and the edge of the nearest 

stream. Delivery factors values shall be as specified by the 
department. In the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, the 

Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership's approved delivery 
factors shall be used.  

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 
Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality or his designee. 

"Exchange" means the transaction in which a person buys 

acquires released nutrient credits produced by a nutrient 
credit generating entity credit-generating project. 

"Field office technical guide" or "FOTG" means technical 

guides about conservation of soil, water, air, and related plant 

and animal resources and are the primary scientific reference 

for the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural Resource 

Conservation Service. These guides are used in each field 

office and are localized so that they apply specifically to the 
geographic area for which they are prepared. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2434 

"Hayland" means land that is used to grow a grass, legume, 

or other plants such as clover or alfalfa, which is cut and dried 
for feed. 

"Highly erodible soils" means land that is defined as highly 

erodible by the Sodbuster, Conservation Reserve, and 

Conservation Compliance parts of the Food Security Act of 

1985 (P.L. 99-198) and the Food, Agriculture, Conservation, 

and Trade Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-624). Lists of highly 
erodible and potential highly erodible map units are 
maintained in NRCS field office technical guide. 

"HUC" means the hydrologic unit code. 

"Impaired waters" means those waters identified as impaired 

in the 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report (see 9VAC25-900-70) prepared pursuant to § 62.1-
44.19:5 of the State Water Control Law.  

"Implementation plan" means a plan that has been 

developed to meet the requirements of 9VAC25-900-120 and 
is submitted as part of the application. 

"Invasive plant species" means non-native plant species that 

are contained on DCR's List of Invasive Alien Plant Species 

of Virginia (see 9VAC25-900-70). Virginia Invasive Plant 
Species List. 

"Innovative practice" means practices or BMPs not 

approved by the Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership or the 

Virginia Stormwater BMP Clearinghouse. Nutrient credits 

generated by innovative practices may only be certified as 
term credits. 

"Landowner" means any person or group of persons acting 

individually or as a group that owns the parcel on which a 

nutrient credit-generating project is sited including: (i) the 

Commonwealth or any of its political subdivisions, including 
localities, commissions, and authorities; (ii) any public or 

private institution, corporation, association, firm, or company 

organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 
or country; or (iii) any officer or agency of the United States.  

"Land use controls" means legal measures or instruments 
that restrict the activity, use, and access to property. 

"Land use conversion" means a change from a more 

intensive to less intensive land use resulting in nutrient 
reductions. 

"Management area" means all contiguous parcels deeded to 

the same landowner that includes the site of the nutrient 
credit-generating site project within its boundaries. The term 

contiguous means the same or adjacent parcels that may be 

divided by public or private right-of-way. [ The For a public 

entity that owns or operates an MS4 and generates credits 

within the MS4 service area, the ] management area does not 

include publicly owned roads or rights-of-way. [ for an MS4 
generating nutrient credits ] is the MS4 service area. 

"Mitigation" means sequentially avoiding and minimizing 

impacts to the maximum extent practicable and then 

compensating for remaining unavoidable impacts of a 
proposed action. 

"Mitigation bank" means a site providing off-site, 

consolidated compensatory mitigation that is developed and 

approved in accordance with all applicable federal and state 

laws or regulations for the establishment, use and operation of 
mitigation banks and is operating under a signed mitigation 
banking instrument.  

"Mitigation banking instrument" means the legal document 

for the establishment, operation, and use of a stream or 
wetland mitigation bank. 

"MS4" means a municipal separate storm sewer system as 
defined in 9VAC25-870-10. 

"MS4 service area" means [ (i) for Phase I MS4 permittees, 

the service area delineated in accordance with the permit 

issued pursuant to 9VAC25-870-380 A 3; and, (ii) for Phase 
II MS4 permittees, ] the term as described in 9VAC25-890. 

"Non-land use conversion" means practices, except for land 

use conversion, that are used by a nutrient credit-generating 
entity project to produce nutrient reductions. 

"Nonpoint source pollution" or "nonpoint source" means 

pollution such as sediment, nitrogen, phosphorus, 

hydrocarbons, heavy metals, and toxics whose sources cannot 

be pinpointed but rather are washed from the land surface in a 
diffuse manner by stormwater runoff.  

"NRCS" mean the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural 

Resource Conservation Service. 

"Nutrient credit" or "credit" means a nonpoint source 

nutrient reduction that is certified pursuant to this chapter and 
expressed in pounds of phosphorus and nitrogen either (i) 

delivered to tidal waters when the credit is generated within 

the Chesapeake Bay Watershed or (ii) as otherwise specified 

when generated in the Southern Rivers watersheds. Nutrient 

credit does not include point source nitrogen credits or point 

source phosphorus credits as defined in § 62.1-44.19:13 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

[ "Nutrient credit-generating entity" means an entity that 

implements practices for the generation of nonpoint source 
nutrient credits. ] 

"Nutrient credit-generating project" or "project" means a 

project developed to reduce the load of nitrogen and 

phosphorous nonpoint source pollution in order to generate 
nutrient credits for certification pursuant to this chapter.  

"Nutrient reductions" means the reduction in the load of 
nitrogen and phosphorous nonpoint source pollution.  

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions, including but not limited to sanitation district 
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commissions and authorities and any public or private 

institution, corporation, association, firm, or company 

organized or existing under the laws of this or any other state 

or country, or any officer or agency of the United States, or 

any person or group of persons acting individually or as a 

group that owns, operates, charters, rents, or otherwise 

exercises control over or is responsible for any nutrient credit-
generating entity project. 

"Pasture" means land that supports the grazing of 
domesticated animals for forages. 

"Performance standards" means the minimum objectives or 

specifications required of a particular management practice 

by the department in order to assure predicted nutrient 
reductions will be achieved. 

"Perpetual nutrient credits" or "perpetual credits" mean 

credits that are generated by practices that result in permanent 

nutrient reductions from baseline and certified as permanent 
in accordance with this chapter. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, state, municipality, commission, or political 

subdivision of a state, governmental body, including a 

federal, state, or local entity as applicable, any interstate body 
or any other legal entity. 

"Potential nutrient credits" means the possible credits 

generated by a nutrient credit-generating entity project as 

calculated pursuant to 9VAC25-900-110. These potential 

nutrient credits shall be expressed in terms of the estimated 
number of phosphorus and nitrogen credits generated. 

"Redevelopment" means a project that includes new 

development on previously developed land. 

"Registry" means the online Virginia Nutrient Credit 

Registry established and maintained by the department in 
accordance with § 62.1-44.1.19:20 D of the Code of Virginia. 

"Released nutrient credit" means credits that the department 

has determined to be eligible for exchange placement on the 
Virginia Nutrient Credit Registry. 

"Restoration" means the reestablishment of a wetland, 

stream, or other aquatic resource in an area where it 

previously existed. Wetland restoration means the 

reestablishment of wetland hydrology, soils, and vegetation in 

an area where a wetland previously existed. Stream 

restoration means the process of converting an unstable, 
altered, or degraded stream corridor, including adjacent areas 
and floodplains, to its natural conditions.  

"Retrofit" means a project that provides improved nutrient 

reductions to previously developed land through the 
implementation of new BMPs or upgrades to existing BMPs.  

"Site" means the physical location within the management 

area where the nutrient credit-generating entity project and its 

associated practices, both baseline and credit-generating, are 
located.  

"Site protection instrument" means a deed restriction, 

conservation easement, or other legal mechanism approved 

by the department that provides assurance that the credits will 

be maintained for the term of the credit. in accordance with 
this chapter and the certification requirements.  

"Southern Rivers watersheds" means the land areas draining 

to the following river basins: the Albemarle Sound, Coastal; 

the Atlantic Ocean, Coastal; the Big Sandy River Basin; the 

Chowan River Basin; the Clinch-Powell River Basin; the 

New Holston River Basin (Upper Tennessee); the New River 

Basin; the Roanoke River Basin; or the Yadkin River Basin, 
or those water bodies draining directly to the Atlantic Ocean. 

"State waters" means all water, on the surface and under the 

ground, wholly or partially within or bordering the 
Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Steward" or "long-term steward" means any person who is 

responsible for implementation of the long-term management 
plan of a perpetual nutrient credit-generating project.  

"Structural BMPs" means any manmade man-made 

stormwater control measure or feature that requires routine 

maintenance in order to function or provide the hydrologic, 

hydraulic, or water quality benefit as designed. Structural 

practices include, but are not limited to bioretention, 

infiltration facilities, wet ponds, extended detention, wet and 

dry swales, permeable pavement, rainwater harvesting, 

vegetated roofs, underground or surface chambers or filters, 
and other manufactured treatment devices (MTDs). 

"T" means the soil loss tolerance rate as defined by the 

NRCS. 

"Term nutrient credit" or "term credit" means nutrient 

reduction activities that generate credits for a determined and 
finite period of at least one year but no greater than five years. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means the sum of 

the individual wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

sources, load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, natural 

background loading, and a margin of safety. TMDLs can be 

expressed in terms of either mass per time, toxicity, or other 

appropriate measure. The TMDL process provides for point 

versus nonpoint source trade-offs. TMDL is not necessarily a 

daily load but may be expressed in other units of time. 
TMDLs in Virginia are expressed as both a daily load and an 

annual load. For nutrient trading, yearly annual loads are most 
often utilized. 

"Tributary" means those river basins for which separate 

tributary strategies were prepared pursuant to § 2.2-218 of the 

Code of Virginia and includes the Potomac, Rappahannock, 

York, and James River basins, and the Eastern Coastal Basin, 

which encompasses the creeks and rivers of the Eastern Shore 

of Virginia that are west of Route 13 and drain into the 
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Chesapeake Bay. For areas outside of the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed, "tributary" includes the following watersheds: 

Albemarle Sound, Coastal; Atlantic Ocean, Coastal; Big 

Sandy; Chowan; Clinch-Powell; New Holston (Upper 
Tennessee); New River; Roanoke; and Yadkin.  

"Urban lands" means lands characterized by developed areas 

with buildings, asphalt, concrete, suburban gardens, and a 

systematic street pattern. Classes of urban development 
include residential, commercial, industrial, institutional, 

transportation, communications, utilities, and mixed urban. 

Undeveloped land surrounded by developed areas, such as 

cemeteries, golf courses, and urban parks is recognized as 
urban lands. 

"VACS BMP Manual" means the Virginia Agricultural Cost 
Share BMP Manual [ (see 9VAC25-900-70) ]. 

"Virginia Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed 

Implementation Plan," "Watershed Implementation Plan," or 

"WIP" means the Phase I watershed implementation plan 

strategy submitted by Virginia and approved by the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in December 2010 

to meet the nutrient and sediment allocations prescribed in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed TMDL or any subsequent 
revision approved of EPA [ (see 9VAC25-900-70) ]. 

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit" 

or "VPDES permit" means a document issued by the State 

Water Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the potential or 

actual discharge of pollutants from a point source to surface 
waters and the use or disposal of sewage sludge.  

"Virginia Stormwater Management Program" or "VSMP" 

means a program to manage the quality and quantity of runoff 
resulting from land-disturbing activities and includes such 

items as local ordinances, rules, permit requirements, annual 

standards and specifications, policies and guidelines, 

technical materials, and requirements for plan review, 

inspection, and enforcement, where authorized in the 

Stormwater Management Act and pursuant to 9VAC25-870, 
9VAC25-880, or 9VAC25-890. 

"Virginia Water Protection permit" or "VWP permit" means 

an individual or general permit issued by the board under 

§ 62.1-44.15:20 of the Code of Virginia that authorizes 

activities otherwise unlawful under § 62.1-44.5 of the Code 
of Virginia or otherwise serves as Virginia's Section 401 
certification.  

"VPA" means Virginia Pollution Abatement. 

"VPDES" means Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System. 

"VSMP authority" means a Virginia stormwater 

management program authority as defined in 9VAC25-870-
10.  

"VWP" means Virginia Water Protection. 

"Water body with perennial flow" means a body of water 

that flows in a natural or man-made channel year-round 

during a year of normal precipitation as a result of 

groundwater discharge or surface runoff. Such water bodies 

exhibit the typical biological, hydrological, and physical 

characteristics commonly associated with the continuous 
conveyance of water.  

"Water Quality Guide" means Virginia's Forestry Best 

Management Practices for Water Quality (see 9VAC25-900-
70). 

"Wetlands" means those areas that are inundated or 

saturated by surface or groundwater at a frequency and 

duration sufficient to support, and that under normal 

circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation 

typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions. 

Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, and 
similar areas.  

Part II 

General Information 

9VAC25-900-20. Authority and delegation of authority. 

A. This chapter is issued under authority of § 62.1-44.19:20 
of the Act.  

B. The director may perform any act of the board provided 

under this regulation chapter except as limited by § 62.1-
44.14 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-900-30. Purpose and applicability. 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards and 

procedures pertaining to the certification of nutrient credits 
that will be placed on the registry for exchange. 

B. This chapter applies to all persons who submit an 

application for and to all persons that receive a certification of 

nutrient credits from the department in accordance with the 
Act and this chapter. 

C. Nutrient credits from stormwater nonpoint nutrient credit-

generating entities projects in receipt of a Nonpoint Nutrient 

Offset Authorization for Transfer letter from the department 

prior to the effective date of this chapter (insert the effective 

date of this chapter) shall be considered certified nutrient 

credits and shall not be subject to further nutrient credit 

certification requirements or to the credit retirement 

requirements of this chapter. However, such entities projects 
shall be subject to all other provisions of this chapter, 

including registration [ of nutrient credits ] under 9VAC25-

900-90 and the requirements of Part IV (9VAC25-900-140 et 

seq.) of this chapter including inspection, reporting, and 
enforcement.  

D. This chapter does not apply to the certification of point 

source nutrient credits that may be generated from effective 
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nutrient controls or removal practices associated with the 

types of facilities or practices historically regulated by the 

board, such as water withdrawal and treatment and 
wastewater collection, treatment, and beneficial reuse. 

E. This chapter does not apply to stream or wetland 

restoration projects constructed prior to July 1, 2005, as no 

usable nutrient reductions are deemed to be generated from 

these projects and, therefore, no nutrient credits can be 
certified.  

9VAC25-900-40. Relationship to other laws and 

regulations. 

A. Specific requirements regarding the use of nutrient 
credits are found in the following regulations and statutes: 

1. Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) 
Regulation (9VAC25-870).  

a. VSMP Individual Permits for Discharges from 

Construction Activities. As specified in § 62.1-44.19:21 

B of the Act, those applicants required to comply with 

water quality requirements for land-disturbing activities 
operating under a construction individual permit issued 

pursuant to 9VAC25-870 may acquire and use perpetual 
nutrient credits placed on the registry for exchange. 

b. VSMP Individual Permits for Municipal Separate 

Storm Sewer Systems. As specified in § 62.1-44.19:21 A 

of the Act, an MS4 permittee may acquire, use, and 

transfer nutrient credits for purposes of compliance with 

any wasteload allocations established as effluent 

limitations in an MS4 individual permit issued pursuant 

to 9VAC25-870. Such method of compliance may be 

approved by the department following review of a 

compliance plan submitted by the permittee that includes 
the use of nutrient credits and is in accordance with the 
provisions of § 62.1-44.19:21 A. 

2. General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 

from Construction Activities (9VAC25-880). As specified 

in § 62.1-44.19:21 B of the Act, those applicants required 

to comply with water quality requirements for land-

disturbing activities operating under a general VSMP 

permit for discharges of stormwater from construction 

activities issued pursuant to 9VAC50-880 may acquire and 

use perpetual nutrient credits placed on the registry for 
exchange. 

3. General VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater 

from Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems 

(9VAC25-890). As specified in § 62.1-44.19:21 A of the 

Act, an MS4 permittee may acquire, use, and transfer 

nutrient credits for purposes of compliance with any 

wasteload allocations established as effluent limitations in 

an MS4 general permit issued pursuant to 9VAC25-890. 

Such method of compliance may be approved by the 

department following review of a compliance plan 

submitted by the permittee that includes the use of nutrient 

credits and is in accordance with the provisions of § 62.1-
44.19:21 A. 

4. Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). As specified in 

§ 62.1-44.19:21 C of the Act, owners of confined or 

concentrated animal feeding operations issued individual 

permits pursuant to 9VAC25-31 may acquire, use, and 
transfer credits for compliance with any wasteload 

allocations contained in the provisions of a VPDES permit. 

Such method of compliance may be approved by the 

department following review of a compliance plan 

submitted by the permittee that includes the use of nutrient 
credits. 

5. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Permit for Discharges of Storm Water 

Associated with Industrial Activity (9VAC25-151). As 

specified in § 62.1-44.19:21 D of the Act, owners of 

facilities registered for coverage under 9VAC25-151 for 
the general VPDES permit may acquire, use, and transfer 

credits for compliance with any wasteload allocations 

established as effluent limitations in a VPDES permit. 

Such method of compliance may be approved by the 

department following review of a compliance plan 

submitted by the permittee that includes the use of nutrient 
credits. 

6. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (VPDES) Watershed Permit Regulation for Total 

Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient 

Trading in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia 

(9VAC25-820). Nutrient credits certified pursuant to this 
chapter may be acquired to offset mass loads of total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus discharged by new or 
expanded facilities regulated by 9VAC25-820. 

B. This chapter shall not be construed to limit or otherwise 

affect the authority of the board to establish and enforce more 

stringent water quality-based effluent limitations for total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus in permits where those 

limitations are necessary to protect local water quality. The 

exchange or acquisition of credits pursuant to this chapter 

shall not affect any requirement to comply with such local 
water quality-based limitations. 

9VAC25-900-50. Appeal process. 

Any person applying to establish a nutrient credit-generating 

[ entity project ] or an owner of a nutrient credit-generating 

[ entity project ] aggrieved by any action of the department 

taken in accordance with this chapter, or by inaction of the 

department, shall have the right to review in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
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9VAC25-900-60. Limitations, liability, and prohibitions. 

A. The department Except to the extent it may be an owner 

as defined by this chapter, none of the following shall not 

have responsibility or liability for the performance of 

practices at a nutrient credit-generating entity project 

evaluated using the procedures established in this chapter: (i) 

the department, (ii) a VSMP authority, or (iii) any political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth. 

B. Those persons with whom the department contracts, 

including those serving as technical evaluators on an advisory 

committee, are advisors to the department, and the 

department remains solely responsible for decisions made 
regarding implementation of this chapter. 

C. For the purposes of this chapter, the certification of 

nutrient credits that are generated from practices funded in 

part or in whole by federal or state water quality grant funds 

is prohibited other than controls and practices under § 62.1-

44.19:20 B 1 a of the Act; however, establishing baseline as 

specified in 9VAC25-900-100 may be achieved through the 
use of such grants. 

D. The option to acquire nutrient credits for compliance 

purposes shall not eliminate any requirement to comply with 

local water quality requirements, including such requirements 
lawfully imposed by a locality or local MS4. 

E. The issuance of a nutrient credit certification under this 

chapter does not convey any property rights of any sort or any 
exclusive privilege.  

F. The issuance of a nutrient credit certification under this 

chapter does not authorize any injury to persons or property 

or invasion of other private rights, or any infringement of 
state or local law or regulations. 

G. Nutrient credit certifications are not transferable except 

after notice to the department in accordance with 9VAC25-

900-180. The department may require modification or 

revocation and reissuance of nutrient credit certifications to 

change the name of the owner of the nutrient credit-

generating entity project and incorporate such other 

requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law or the Clean Water Act. 

H. No person shall offer for exchange nutrient credits except 

in compliance with the provisions of this chapter. 

I. No nutrient credit shall be generated by practices 

previously implemented to comply with: (i) the requirements 

for a VPDES (9VAC25-31), VPA (9VAC25-32), VWP 

(9VAC25-210), or VSMP (9VAC25-870) permit; (ii) erosion 

and sedimentation control requirements pursuant to 9VAC25-

840; or (iii) the requirements of the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:67-79 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

J. Nutrient credit generation and use shall be 

contemporaneous with the applicable permit's compliance 
period. 

9VAC25-900-70. [ Documents and Internet accessible 

resources (Reserved.) ] 

This chapter refers to documents and Internet accessible 

resources to be used by applicants in gathering information to 

be submitted to the department. Therefore, in [ In order to 
assist the applicants, the citations for the documents and the 

uniform resource locator (URL) for the Internet resources 
referenced in this chapter ] are as follows: [ are:  

1. ] Virginia Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed 

Implementation Plan, November 29, 2010, Department of 

Environmental Quality. Available at the following Internet 

address: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/
Baywip/vatmdlwipphase1.pdf. 

2. [ Virginia Agricultural BMP Cost Share BMP Manual, 

Program Year ] 2014, July 2013, [ 2018, Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, Division of Soil and Water 

Conservation, Richmond, Virginia. Available at the 

following Internet address: ] 

http://dswcapps.dcr.virginia.gov/htdocs/agbmpman/csman

ual.pdf. 

[ http://dswcapps.dcr.virginia.gov/htdocs/agbmpman/agbm
ptoc.htm. ] 

3. List of Invasive Alien Plant Species of Virginia, [ 2. 

Virginia Invasive Plant Species List, Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage, 

Richmond, Virginia. Available at the following Internet 

address: 
http://www.dcr.virginia.gov/natural_heritage/invsppdflist.s
html. ] 

4. [ 3. Field Office Technical Guide, Natural Resources 

Conservation Service, United States Department of 

Agriculture, Washington, D.C. Available at the following 

Internet address: 
http://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/efotg_locator.aspx. ] 

5. 305(b)/303(d) Water Quality Assessment Integrated 

Report, 2012 , Department of Environmental Quality. 
Available at the following Internet address: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualit

yInformationTMDLs/WaterQualityAssessments/2012305(
b)303(d)IntegratedReport.aspx. 

6. Virginia's Forestry Best Management Practices for 

Water Quality,Fifth Edition 2011, Department of Forestry. 
Available at the following Internet address: 

http://www.dof.virginia.gov/print/water/BMP/Manual/201
1_Manual_BMP.pdf 
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Part III 
Administrative and Technical Criteria 

9VAC25-900-80. Procedure for application for 

certification of nutrient credits. 

A. Application submittal. An applicant requesting 

certification of nutrient credits shall submit an application to 

the department in accordance with this part. Applicants 

requesting a renewal of a certification of term nutrient credits 
shall submit an application to the department at least 60 days 

prior to the expiration of the nutrient credit term. If the 

renewal application is not received by the department at least 

60 days prior to the expiration of the nutrient credit term, the 

application will be deemed a new application. The application 

or renewal application shall be in the form required by the 

department including signature in accordance with 9VAC25-
900-130 and shall include the following elements: 

1. A brief narrative description of the nutrient credit-

generating entity project. 

2. Contact information for the applicant including name, 

address, and telephone number. 

3. Contact information for the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project, including the entity's project's mailing 

address, street address, telephone number, and the contact 
person's name and email address. 

4. Status of the applicant as owner, co-owner, operator, or 

lessee of the nutrient credit-generating entity project or the 

site on which the entity project is located. The applicant 

shall provide documentation of the applicant's right to 

exercise control of the nutrient credit-generating entity or 

project and the site on which it is located for the purposes 

of generating and maintaining the proposed nutrient credit-
generating entity. project via a title, deed, grant, lease, or 

easement agreement. Evidence of such documentation 

must be recorded in the property chain of title and must 

identify contact information for the applicant or long-term 

steward for perpetual credits. If the applicant cannot 

demonstrate control, those parties who singularly or in 

conjunction with the applicant exercise control over the 

nutrient credit-generating entity project or the site on 

which it is located shall be required to jointly apply for 
nutrient credit certification with the applicant. 

5. The name, mailing address, telephone number, and 

responsibilities of all known contractors responsible for 

any operational or maintenance aspects of the nutrient 
credit-generating entity project. 

6. The number and type of potential nutrient credits to be 

generated and supporting information including (i) a 

description of the baseline practices in place within the 

management area and the nutrient credit-generating entity's 

project's practices that may result in generation of nutrient 

credits beyond baseline requirements; (ii) the potential 

nutrient credit calculation including the efficiencies and 

factors used; and (iii) the associated documentation 

supporting the potential nutrient credits calculation. 

Baseline shall be determined in accordance with the 

requirements of 9VAC25-900-100. The number of 

potential nutrient credits shall be as calculated in 
accordance with 9VAC25-900-110. 

7. A topographic map, survey, or another type of map 

deemed acceptable by the department that delineates the 

property boundary of the management area and clearly 

shows the location of the all practices, including nutrient 
credit-generating entity projects and any baseline practices. 

8. A description of current site conditions with photos 
photographs. 

9. The 8-digit, 10-digit, and 12-digit HUC in which the 
nutrient credit-generating entity project is located. 

10. For land use conversion projects, [ provide ] 

documentation of the condition of the land and land use 

controls in place as of the date specified in 9VAC25-900-
100 E noting any changes in the condition of the land or 
land use controls since that date. 

11. An implementation plan that meets the requirements of 
9VAC25-900-120. 

12. For structural BMPs, the or restoration projects 

required to submit and maintain financial assurance in 

accordance with 9VAC25-900-230, the draft financial 

assurance documents and financial assurance cost estimate 

calculated pursuant to Part VI (9VAC25-900-230 et seq.) 

of this chapter. As required by the schedule of release 

provisions of subsection B of 9VAC25-900-90, prior to the 

release of nutrient credits all required financial assurance 
mechanisms shall be established per Part VI (9VAC25-

900-230 et seq.) of this chapter and approved by the 
department. 

13. The appropriate fee required pursuant to Part V 
(9VAC25-900-190 et seq.) of this chapter. 

14. The For perpetual credits, a draft of the proposed site 

protection instrument or instruments for perpetual credits 

the site on which the nutrient credit-generating project is 

located. If the landowner is not an individual, 

documentation will be required establishing that the person 

executing the protection instrument has the authority to do 
so. 

15. A description of other permits and approvals that may 

be necessary to operate the nutrient credit-generating entity 
project. 

16. A description of any state or federal water quality 

grants received for water quality actions in the 
management area. 
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17. For perpetual credits, notarized proof that all 

management area property used to generate credits is held 

with clear title by the owner and free of any 

unsubordinated liens [ demonstration by ] the applicant 

[ shall demonstrate ] that the site on which the nutrient 

credit-generating project is located is held with title free 

from all defects, liens, and encumbrances that would 

interfere with or be in conflict with the establishment and 
operation of the nutrient credit-generating project. The 

demonstration may include documentation of the 

subordination of property interests (e.g., mineral rights, 

mortgages, easement) if the department determines that the 

property interest would interfere with or be in conflict with 

the establishment and operation of the nutrient credit-
generating project. 

18. For term credits, the desired term of the credit shall be 

submitted; however, the term shall not exceed five-years. 

18. 19. A tax map showing the management area and 

adjacent parcels. 

20. For nutrient credit-generating projects using innovative 

practices, the department may request submittal of 

additional information in order to review the innovative 

practice. This additional information may include 

application provisions that are deemed relevant to the 
innovative practice.  

19. 21. Any other information deemed necessary by the 
department. 

B. Applications for certification of nutrient credits based on 

nutrient reductions from practices other than land conversion 
shall be processed in accordance with this subsection. 

1. Administrative completeness review. Upon receiving an 

application pursuant to subsection A of this section, the 

department shall conduct an administrative completeness 

review prior to the technical review and respond perform a 

cursory review of the application within 30 calendar days 

of application receipt. If the application is not 

administratively complete does not contain all the 

necessary elements in accordance with subsection A of this 

section, the department shall notify the applicant of the 

administrative deficiencies. If the application is 

administratively complete, missing elements. Otherwise, 

the department shall notify the applicant that the 
application will be technically reviewed evaluated for 
nutrient credit certification. 

C. 2. Public notification. The After receipt of an 

application, the department shall post a public notification 

of the proposed nutrient credit-generating entity project on 

its website. The public notification shall include the name 

of the [ applicant nutrient credit generating entity that 

proposes to generate nonpoint source nutrient credits ], the 

location of the nutrient credit-generating project, and a 

description of the practices utilized. [ The public 

notification shall also include the name and contact 
information for a department staff person. ] 

D. 3. Technical review evaluation. Once the application is 

deemed administratively complete contains all the required 

elements, the department shall perform a technical review 

evaluation of the application. As part of the technical 

review evaluation, additional information may be required 

and the [ nutrient credit-generating entity project and 
management area may be visited department shall, if 

warranted, perform a site visit of the proposed nutrient 

credit-generating project ]. Additionally, if the department 

chooses, may convene a certification advisory committee 

may be convened to provide input regarding the review of 

an application such as those which incorporate the use of 

innovative practices by the nutrient credit-generating 

project. Within 90 120 days of the receipt of an 

administratively complete application department's 

notification that the application will be evaluated, the 

department shall notify the applicant of the status of the 
technical review evaluation of the application and, for 

innovative practices, provide a projected processing 
timeline for the application. 

E. Technical completeness 4. Completeness. The nutrient 

credits shall not be certified until the application is 

administratively and technically complete; however, a 

determination that an application is complete shall not 

require the department to issue the nutrient credit 
certification. 

a. An application for nutrient credit certification is 

technically complete when the department receives an 

application in accordance with subsection A of this 
section, and the application, and any supplemental 

information fulfills the application requirements to the 
department's satisfaction. 

F. b. For applications for certification of nutrient credits 

generated from innovative practices, a second public 

notification shall be provided after the application is 

complete and prior to the issuance of the nutrient credit 

certification. The department shall post on its website a 

public notification of its intent to issue a nutrient credit 

certification, and the notification shall include the name 

of the applicant, the location of the nutrient credit-
generating project, a description of the innovative 

practice, and the proposed quantity of term nutrient 

credits to be certified. [ The public notification shall also 

include the name and contact information for a 
department staff person. ]  

5. Nutrient credit certification. The department shall notify 

the applicant of approval of the nutrient credit certification 

and provide any applicable conditions required for credit 

certification including retirement and release of credits in 

accordance with 9VAC25-900-90, or the department shall 

notify the applicant that the nutrient credit-generating 
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entity does not qualify for any certified credits pursuant to 

the requirements of this part. Once the application is 

deemed complete, the department shall either (i) deny the 

application and notify the applicant that the nutrient credit-

generating project does not qualify for any certified credits 

pursuant to the requirements of this chapter or (ii) approve 

the application by issuance of a nutrient credit certification 

and provide any applicable conditions including the 
schedule of release and retirement of nutrient credits in 
accordance with 9VAC25-900-90. 

C. Applications for nutrient credit certification based on 

nutrient reductions solely from land conversion practices shall 
be processed in accordance with this subsection. 

1. Application review. Within 30 days of receipt of an 

application, the department shall, if warranted, conduct a 

site visit. Within 45 days of receipt of an application, the 

department shall either determine that the application is 

complete or request additional specific information from 

the applicant. A determination that an application for a 
land conversion project is complete shall not require the 
department to issue a nutrient credit certification. 

2. Public notification. After receipt of the application, the 

department shall post a public notification of the proposed 

nutrient credit-generating project on its website. The public 

notification shall include the name of the [ applicant 

nutrient credit generating entity that proposes to generate 

nonpoint source nutrient credits ], the location of the 

nutrient credit-generating project, and a description of the 

land conversion practice. [ The notification shall also 

include the name and contact information for the 
department staff person. ] 

3. Nutrient credit certification. Within 15 days of the 

department's determination that the application is complete 

pursuant to subdivision 1 of this subsection, the department 

shall either (i) deny the application and notify the applicant 

that the nutrient credit-generating project does not qualify 

for any certified credits pursuant to the requirements of this 

chapter or (ii) approve the application by issuance of a 

nutrient credit certification and provide any applicable 

conditions including the schedule of release and retirement 
of nutrient credits in accordance with 9VAC25-900-90. 

9VAC25-900-90. Nutrient credit release and registration. 

A. Retirement of credits. 

1. Pursuant to the requirements of § 62.1-44.19:20 of the 

Act, 5.0% of the total credits certified will be retired by the 

department at the time of nutrient credit certification and 
will not be placed on the registry for exchange. 

2. When phosphorus credits are acquired for compliance 

with 9VAC25-870, in accordance with 9VAC25-870-69, 

the associated nitrogen credits generated by the nutrient 

credit-generating entity project will be retired and removed 
from the registry by the department. 

3. When nitrogen credits are exchanged acquired for 

purposes other than compliance with 9VAC25-870 

9VAC25-870-69, the associated phosphorus credits 

generated by the nutrient-credit entity nutrient credit-

generating project shall not be available for compliance 
under 9VAC25-870 9VAC25-870-69. 

4. Except as limited by this subsection, associated nitrogen 

and phosphorus credits generated by a nutrient credit-
generating project may be exchanged independently. 

B. Schedule of release of nutrient credits. The department 
shall establish a schedule for release of credits as follows: 

1. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects using land 

use conversion, 25% of the credits will be released by the 

department after the department has verified completion of 

the conditions of the nutrient credit certification. [ For 

afforestation projects, an additional 25% of credits will be 

released by the department after the site has been planted 
with a minimum of 400 woody stems per acre. ] The 

remaining [ 75% balance ] of credits will be released by 

the department after it is satisfied that the implementation 

plan's performance criteria required pursuant to 9VAC25-

900-120 has been achieved. When a request for credit 

release is made concurrently with the application for 

nutrient credit certification from land conversion practices, 

the concurrent 25% initial release [ , and additional 25% 

release if planting has occurred, ] shall be processed on the 

same timeline as the application as provided in 9VAC25-

900-80 C. When the request for credit release is from a 

previously approved land conversion project, the 
department shall schedule a site visit, if warranted, within 

30 days of the request and shall deny, approve, or approve 

with conditions the release of the remaining 75% of the 

nutrient credits within 15 days of the site visit or 
determination that a site visit is not warranted.  

2. For nutrient credit-generating projects using wetland or 

stream restoration, after construction 25% of the credits 

may be released by the department after the department has 

verified completion of the conditions of the nutrient credit 

certification. Every monitoring year thereafter, 25% of the 

credits may be released if all performance standards are 
met, the area or channel is stable, and, for streams, 

evidence is presented that a bankfull event occurred within 

the monitoring year. For streams, if a bankfull event did 

not occur, but performance standards are met and the 

channel is stable, 10% of the credits may be released. No 

additional credits will be released after the fourth 

monitoring year until a bankfull event has occurred. After 

the fourth monitoring year, if a bankfull event occurs, the 

channel is stable, and all performance standards are met, 

25% of the credits may be released that monitoring year, 

not to exceed the remaining credits available. The schedule 
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for release of credits shall also require, prior to the release 

of credits, the approval of any required financial assurance 

mechanism established pursuant to Part VI (9VAC25-900-
230 et seq.) of this chapter. 

3. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects using 

practices other than land use conversion or wetland or 

stream restoration, the schedule for release of credits will 

be determined by the department on a case-by-case basis 
and provided to the applicant with the nutrient credit 

certification. For entities projects using structural BMPs, 

the schedule shall also require, prior to release of credits, 

the approval of the any required financial assurance 

mechanism established pursuant to Part VI (9VAC25-900-
230 et seq.) of this chapter. 

C. Registration of nutrient credits. Credits will be placed on 

the registry and classified as term or perpetual credits by the 

department. The registry will also indicate the number of 

credits that have been released for exchange. Only credits 

released by the department are available for exchange. 
[ Exchange of a credit released by the department is:  

1. Subject to the provisions of § 62.1-44.15:35, 62.1-
44.19:15, or 62.1-44.19:21 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Where necessary to ensure compliance with local water 
quality requirements, conditioned as follows: 

a. Within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, the exchange 

of credits within an area subject to an approved local 

TMDL for total phosphorus or total nitrogen with 

allocations more stringent than the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed TMDL shall be limited to those credits 

generated upstream of where the discharge reaches 

impaired waters ] and within the approved local TMDL 
watershed [ . 

b. Within the Southern Rivers watersheds, the exchange 

of credits within an area subject to an approved local 

TMDL for total phosphorus or total nitrogen shall be 

limited to those credits generated upstream of where the 

discharge reaches impaired waters ] and within the 
approved local TMDL watershed [ . 

c. Within an area with waters impaired for dissolved 

oxygen, benthic community, or nutrients but with no 

approved local TMDL, the exchange of credits shall be 

limited to those credits generated in accordance with the 
following hierarchy: 

(1) Upstream of where the discharge reaches impaired 
waters, if credits are available; 

(2) Within the same 12-digit HUC, if credits are 
available;  

(3) Within the same 10-digit HUC, if credits are 
available; 

(4) Within the same 8-digit HUC, if credits are available; 

(5) Within an adjacent 8-digit HUC within the same 
tributary, if credits are available; or 

(6) Within the same tributary. 

The hierarchy of this subdivision shall not apply should it 

be demonstrated to the department's satisfaction that (i) 

the water quality impairment is not likely caused by 

nutrients; (ii) the use of credits would not reasonably be 

considered to cause or contribute to the impairment; or 
(iii) the department determines through issuance of a 

VPDES permit that local water quality cannot be 

protected unless exchange of credits are restricted to 

upstream of where the discharge reaches impaired 
waters. 

9VAC25-900-91. (Reserved.) ]  

EDITOR'S NOTE: This section is reserved because the State 

Water Control Board deferred submittal of the provisions of 

9VAC25-900-91 for final publication until such time as (i) 

the Department of Environmental Quality receives approval 

of the provisions of 9VAC25-900-91 pursuant to Executive 

Order No. 14 (2018) and (ii) the date the board-required 

guidance is submitted for publication, pursuant to § 2.2-

4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, or September 1, 2020, 
whichever is earlier. DEQ received approval on May 26, 

2020, for the provisions of 9VAC25-900-91 pursuant to 

Executive Order No. 14 (2018) and will be submitting 
9VAC25-900-91 for publication by September 1, 2020. 

The revised proposed regulatory text showing as bracketed 

and stricken in subsection C of 9VAC25-900-90 was moved 

to 9VAC25-900-91 and amended to include Chlorophyll-a in 

the list of impairment types for the local water quality 

requirements.  

9VAC25-900-100. Establishing baseline. 

A. Practices for establishing baseline must be in place prior 

to the generation of any credits by a nutrient credit-generating 

entity project except in the case of land use conversion as 

described in subsection E of this section. The practices for 

establishing baselines, as provided in this section, shall be 
implemented and properly maintained for each type of 

operation within the management area. Baselines are 

applicable statewide for nutrient credit-generating entities 

projects including those located in either the Chesapeake Bay 

Watershed or the Southern Rivers watersheds. [ Baselines 

Baseline ] practices are, at a minimum, in accordance with the 

requirements of the WIP or an approved TMDL, whichever is 
more stringent.  

B. Agricultural cropland Cropland, hayland, and pastures. 

The baseline for agricultural management areas are those 

practices implemented to achieve a level of reduction 
assigned in the WIP or an approved TMDL. Baselines for 

cropland, hayland, or pastures within the management area 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2443 

shall be established in accordance with either subdivision 1, 
2, or 3 of this subsection. 

1. The owner holds a valid Certificate of Resource 

Management Plan Implementation for the management 

area that has been issued pursuant to the Resource 
Management Plans regulation (4VAC50-70). 

2. If the owner does not hold a valid Certificate of 

Resource Management Plan Implementation for the 
management area, he the owner shall implement the 
following practices for establishing baseline: 

a. Soil conservation. Soil conservation practices for the 

management area shall be implemented and maintained 

to achieve a maximum soil loss rate not to exceed "T" 

and to address gross erosion when it is present as gullies 
or other severely eroding conditions. 

b. Nutrient management. Implementation and 

maintenance of the nutrient management practices 

required by the nutrient management plan written by a 

certified nutrient management planner pursuant to the 
Nutrient Management Training and Certification 
Regulations (4VAC50-85). 

c. Riparian buffer. A woodland or grass riparian buffer 

shall be installed and maintained around all water bodies 

with perennial flow within the management area and 

shall be installed and maintained along all water bodies 

with perennial flow bordering the management area. The 

riparian buffer shall be a minimum width of 35 feet as 

measured from the top of the channel bank to the edge of 

the cropland, hayland, or pasture and in accordance with 

DCR Specifications for NO. FR-3 or DCR Specifications 
for NO. WQ-1 contained in the VACS BMP Manual.  

d. Cover crop. For croplands, cover crops shall be 

planted to meet the standard planting date and other 

specifications in accordance with DCR Specifications for 

NO. SL-8B contained in the VACS BMP Manual. This 

requirement applies to all croplands where summer 

annual crops are grown and the summer annual crop 

receives greater than a total of 50 pounds per acre of 

nitrogen application from any nutrient source; however, 

if the cropland is planted to winter cereal crops for 

harvest in the spring, then cover crops do not need to be 
planted on these croplands during that production year. 

e. Livestock water body exclusion. For pastures or when 

livestock are present within the management area, 

livestock exclusion fencing shall be placed around 

perennial streams, rivers, lakes, ponds, or other water 

bodies having perennial flow. This exclusionary fencing 

shall be constructed in accordance with DCR 

Specification NO. [ WP-2 WP-2W ] contained in the 

VACS BMP Manual in order to restrict livestock access 

to the water body. Livestock shall be provided with an 

alternative watering source. The livestock exclusion 

fencing shall be placed at least 35 feet from the top of the 

channel bank and this exclusion zone shall contain the 

riparian buffer required by subdivision 2 c of this 

subsection. Access points for livestock watering or 

crossing over a water body shall be a hardened surface 

constructed to DCR Specifications for NO. [ WP-2 WP-

2W ] contained in the VACS BMP Manual and shall be 

fenced to limit livestock access to the water body at the 
crossing point. Ponds that have been specifically built for 

the purpose of livestock watering and that do not have 

perennial flow through an overflow pipe or spillway are 

not required to meet the provisions of this subdivision 2 
e. 

3. The department may approve a load-based baseline 

determination equivalent to full implementation of the 
practices identified in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

C. Agricultural animal feeding operations. Baselines for 

agricultural animal feeding operations within the management 

area shall be established in accordance with either subdivision 
1 or 2 of this subsection: 

1. The animal feeding operation within the management 

area has is in compliance with a valid VPDES or VPA 
permit in compliance with the board's regulations. 

2. For animal feeding operations excluded from or not 

required to hold a VPDES or VPA permit under the board's 

regulations, the practices for establishing baseline shall be 

implemented and properly maintained as required in this 
subdivision 2. 

a. Implementation and maintenance of the nutrient 

management practices required by the nutrient 

management plan written by a certified nutrient 
management planner pursuant to the Nutrient 

Management Training and Certification Regulations 
(4VAC50-85). 

b. For animal feeding operations, except confined poultry 

operations, a storage facility designed and operated to 

prevent point source discharges of pollutants to state 

waters except in the case of a storm event greater than a 

25-year/24-hour storm and to provide adequate waste 

storage capacity to accommodate periods when the 

ground is frozen or saturated, periods when land 

application of nutrients should not occur due to limited or 
nonexistent crop nutrient uptake, and periods when 

physical limitations prohibit the land application of waste 
shall be implemented and maintained. 

c. For confined poultry operations, storage of poultry 

waste according to the nutrient management plan and in a 

manner that prevents contact with surface water and 

groundwater. Poultry waste that is stockpiled outside of 

the growing house for more than 14 days shall be kept in 

a facility or at a location that provides adequate storage. 
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Adequate storage management practices shall meet the 
following minimum requirements: 

(1) The poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 
precipitation and wind. 

(2) Stormwater shall not run onto or under the area where 

the poultry waste is stored. 

(3) The ground surface of the poultry waste storage area 

shall have a minimum of two feet separation distance to 
the seasonal high water table. If poultry waste is stored in 

an area where the seasonal high groundwater table lies 

within two feet of the ground surface, the storage area 

shall be underlain by a low-permeability, hard-surfaced 
barrier such as concrete or asphalt. 

(4) For poultry waste that is not stored inside or under a 

roofed structure, the storage area must be at least 100 feet 

from any surface water, intermittent drainage, wells, 
sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs. 

D. Urban practices. Baselines for urban development are 

applicable to the entire management area. Achievement of 
baseline for new development, redevelopment, or retrofits to 

existing development shall be required prior to generation of 
credits. These baselines are: 

1. For new development and redevelopment, baseline shall 

be achieved through compliance with the post-construction 

water quality design criteria requirements of the Virginia 

Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulation 

under 9VAC25-870-63. Additionally, for development in a 

locality with a local stormwater management design 

criteria more stringent than 9VAC25-870-63, baselines 

shall be achieved through compliance with the local 
stormwater management ordinance. 

2. For retrofits within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, 

baseline shall be at a level necessary to achieve the nutrient 

reduction assigned in the urban sector of the WIP or the 
approved local TMDL, whichever is more stringent.  

3. For retrofits within the Southern Rivers watersheds and 

within a watershed with an approved TMDL with total 

phosphorus or total nitrogen allocations, baselines shall be 

at a level necessary to achieve reductions of the approved 

TMDL. For all other retrofits within the Southern Rivers 

watersheds, baseline shall be achieved through compliance 

with the post-construction water quality design criteria 
requirements for development on prior developed lands 
pursuant to 9VAC25-870-63 A 2.  

4. [ For No credits may be certified for ] a nutrient credit-

generating project owned by an MS4 permittee [ , baseline 

shall only be achieved when and located within the 

permittee's MS4 service area until ] the level of nutrient 

reduction required by the WIP or approved TMDL, 

whichever is more stringent, is achieved for the entire MS4 

service area. MS4 permittees generating credits for 

exchange [ outside the MS4 service area ] shall have an 

accounting system demonstrating that the exchanged 

credits are not used to satisfy the MS4 permit 
requirements.  

E. Land use conversions. Baselines for land use conversion 

shall be established using the preconversion land use. The 

preconversion land use shall be based on the land use as of (i) 

July 1, 2005, for a nutrient credit-generating entity project 
located within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed; (ii) the date of 

the approved TMDL for a nutrient credit-generating entity 

project located within a TMDL watershed but not within the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed; or (iii) July, 1, 2009, for a 

nutrient credit-generating entity project not within an 

approved TMDL watershed or the Chesapeake Bay 
Watershed. 

F. Stream or wetland restoration. Baseline for stream 

restoration shall be established using the pre-restoration 

condition of the stream. Baseline for wetland restoration shall 

be established on a case-by-case basis, depending on the 
current land use of the proposed wetland restoration area. 

G. Other nutrient credit-generating entities projects. The 

department shall establish baselines for other nutrient credit-

generating entities projects not otherwise regulated by 

subsections B through E F of this section. The practices 

necessary for establishing baseline at these other nutrient 

credit-generating entities projects shall be in accordance with 

the requirements of the WIP or the approved TMDL and shall 

utilize the best available scientific and technical information 
regarding the practices. 

9VAC25-900-110. Credit calculation procedures. 

A. Pursuant to this section, the applicant shall calculate the 

potential nutrient credits generated by the practices 

implemented at the nutrient credit-generating entity [ project 

projects ]. The applicable delivery factors, dependent upon 

the tributary in which the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project is located, shall be applied when calculating the 
potential credits generated. 

B. For agricultural practices, except land use conversion, the 

potential nutrient credits shall be calculated using removal 

efficiencies for practices approved by the department. In the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed, these practices shall be approved 

by the department based on the efficiencies assigned by the 
Chesapeake Bay Program. In the Southern Rivers watersheds, 

these practices shall be approved by the department based on 

submitted calculations and demonstrations. The standards and 

specifications for implementation of the practices will be 

established by the department and shall be in accordance with 
the VACS BMP Manual or the FOTG, as applicable. 

C. For urban practices, the potential nutrient credits shall be 

calculated using the applicable removal efficiencies pursuant 

to 9VAC25-870-65 or using the best available scientific and 

technical information available at the time of nutrient credit 
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certification as approved by the department. Limitations on 
potential nutrient credits from certain BMPs are: 

1. In the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, nutrient load 

reductions from practices in place prior to July 1, 2005, 

may not be used to generate credits. Removal efficiencies 

shall be based upon those efficiencies approved by the 

Chesapeake Bay Program partnership where applicable. 

These efficiencies shall be reviewed at the time of 
certification renewal and adjusted as necessary based upon 

changes made by the Chesapeake Bay Program 
Partnership.  

2. In the Southern Rivers watersheds, nutrient load 

reductions from practices in place prior to July 1, 2009, 
may not be used to generate credits.  

D. For land use conversions, conversion of land to a more 

intensive land use activity will not generate nutrient credits. 

The number of potential nutrient credits shall be determined 

by calculating the nutrient credits per acre and multiplying 

that number by the total acreage that will undergo land use 
conversion. The nutrient credits per acre is equal to the 

amount calculated by subtracting the load per acre of nutrient 

nonpoint source pollution for the proposed land use after 

conversion from the load per acre for the preconversion land 

use. The values used for the loadings per acre in this 

calculation shall be based on the applicable loading levels 

provided in the WIP or the approved TMDL, where 

applicable. The preconversion land use shall be based on the 

land use as of the date specified in 9VAC25-900-100 E. The 

load per acre for the preconversion land use shall reflect the 

implementation of any applicable baseline practices necessary 

to comply with 9VAC25-900-100 B, C, and D. No credits 
shall be generated from the conversion of land within 35 feet 

of a water body with perennial water flow as measured from 
the top of the channel bank. 

E. For wetland or stream restoration, an existing conditions 

assessment survey will be completed prior to restoration 

activities to use as a pre-restoration condition (baseline 

pursuant to of 9VAC25-900-100 F) and will be used for 

comparison to post-restoration conditions. The potential 

number of credits shall be determined by applying protocols 

or guidance on a case-by-case basis using the best available 

scientific and technical information, as approved by the 
department.  

F. For a practice not previously approved by the department, 

the department will perform a case-by-case review in order to 

calculate the number of potential nutrient credits generated. 

The owner shall submit the removal efficiency calculation 

information for the practice and the calculation of the 

potential number of credits generated using that efficiency. 

The department may also request that the submittal include 

requirements for demonstration projects, the collection of 

sufficient data to evaluate the results, and any other 

information the department deems necessary to determine the 

validity of the credits. In the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, for 

a practice not approved by the Chesapeake Bay Program 

Partnership, the department will perform a case-by-case 

review in order to calculate the number of potential nutrient 
credits generated on a term basis. 

9VAC25-900-120. Implementation plan. 

A. The implementation plan submitted pursuant to 9VAC25-

900-80 shall provide information detailing how the nutrient 
credit-generating entity project will generate credits for the 

term of the credits. The implementation plan will include the 

applicable information as required in subsections B through I 
J of this section. 

B. For all nutrient credit-generating entities projects, the 
implementation plan shall include: 

1. An operation and maintenance plan that provides a 

description and schedule of operation and maintenance 

requirements and detailed written specifications and 

process diagrams for the practices used at the nutrient 

credit-generating entity project. The plan must be adhered 
to for the term of the credits and shall include a description 

of site management activities to be performed after 

meeting all performance standards to ensure long-term 
sustainability of the site.  

2. The performance standards that shall be used to evaluate 

whether the nutrient credit-generating entity project is 
generating credits as calculated in 9VAC25-900-110. 

3. Applicable requirements for the project required 

pursuant to Part IV (9VAC25-900-140 et seq.) of this 
chapter. 

C. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

managed afforestation land use conversion, the 
implementation plan shall also include: 

1. A project plan submitted in the form required by the 

department and prepared by a person trained in (i) forestry 

management, (ii) nutrient management, or (iii) other 

applicable land management training that includes an 

understanding of whole land management planning. The 

project plan shall include, but is not limited to (i) methods 

for invasive plant species control and eradication if woody 

invasive plant species impacts 5.0% or more of the nutrient 

credit-generating entity's project's acreage; (ii) a 

requirement that any harvesting of timber shall adhere to 
best management practices as set forth by DOF's 

Department of Forestry's Water Quality Guide and any 

other applicable local, state, or federal laws or 

requirements; (iii) the land management goals; (iv) a 

statement that no fertilizer is to be used on the nutrient 

credit-generating entity's project's land conversion acreage 

for the term of the credit generated; (v) a planting plan to 

include size, species, and spacing of trees; and (vi) any 

planting phases planned for the project if the area will not 
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be planted all at one time, but will be planted in different 

phases. Additionally, if timbering is planned within the 

land conversion area, a copy of the timbering plan shall be 

submitted to the department at least 90 days prior to the 
occurrence of any land disturbance or timbering. 

2. Provisions for planting forests to achieve an initial 

survival density of a minimum of 400 deciduous tree or 

evergreen tree woody stems per acre including any 
noninvasive volunteers. Survival of planted deciduous 

trees shall not be established until the start of the second 

complete growing season following planting. Survival of 

planted evergreen trees may be established after 

completion of the first complete growing season following 

planting. [ Survival of mixed specie plantings with a 

minimum of 200 evergreen trees per acre may be 

established after completion of the first complete growing 
season following planting. ]  

3. A description of agricultural baseline requirements 

implemented in accordance with 9VAC50-900-100 B and 
C that apply to any remaining portions of the management 
area that are not undergoing land use conversion. 

4. Performance standards and reporting procedures 

demonstrating ongoing compliance with the baseline 
requirements of 9VAC25-900-100 B and C. 

D. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

natural succession land use conversion, the implementation 
plan shall also include provisions for: 

1. Forests to achieve an initial density of a minimum of 

400 noninvasive woody stems per acre. 

2. Invasive plant species control and eradication if woody 

invasive plant species impacts 5.0% or more of the nutrient 
credit-generating entity's project's acreage. 

3. A description of agricultural baseline requirements 

implemented in accordance with 9VAC25-900-100 B and 

C that apply to any remaining portions of the management 
area not undergoing land use conversion. 

4. Performance standards for demonstrating ongoing 

compliance with the agricultural baseline requirements of 
9VAC25-900-100 B and C. 

E. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

other land use conversion not subject to either subsection C, 

D, or G of this section, the implementation plan shall also 
include: 

1. Description of the land use conversion project and its 
implementation and maintenance criteria. 

2. Description of the applicable baseline practices 

implemented in accordance with 9VAC25-900-100 for the 

management area including the nutrient credit-generating 
entity project. 

3. Performance standards and reporting procedures 

demonstrating ongoing compliance with the baseline 
practices requirements of 9VAC25-900-100. 

F. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

non-land use conversion agricultural practices, the 
implementation plan shall also include: 

1. A description of the entire management area. This 

description shall include (i) the acreage and use including 
descriptions for the proposed practices of the nutrient 

credit-generating entity project and baseline area or areas; 

(ii) water features including all streams, ponds, lakes, and 

wetlands; (iii) environmentally sensitive sites as defined in 

4VAC50-85-10; (iv) areas with highly erodible soils; and 

(v) the current agricultural operations, crops, or animal 
facilities. 

2. Copies of the current nutrient management plans 

developed by a certified nutrient management planner and 

approved by the department and any soil conservation 
plans completed by a certified conservation planner. 

3. Information on the location and status of all existing and 

proposed BMPs including implementation schedules, 

lifespan, and maintenance procedures for each BMP that 
constitutes the baseline requirements. 

G. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

existing approved wetland and stream mitigation projects 

pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, the 
implementation plan shall also include:  

1. A copy of the approved mitigation banking instrument. 

2. A plan view map clearly delineating and labeling areas 

to be considered for credit conversion. 

3. A spreadsheet or table listing each labeled area. For each 

labeled area, the table shall include: 

a. The type of eligible land use conversion or restoration 
practice; 

b. The acreage or linear feet of the area; 

c. The available mitigation credits; 

d. The potential nutrient credits; and 

e. The ratio of mitigation credits to nutrient credits. 

4. Documentation that complies with the department-

approved procedure to ensure credits are not used for both 

wetland or stream credit and nutrient credit purposes. This 

documentation shall include the approval by the mitigation 
banking Interagency Review Team. 

5. Documentation shall include written approval from the 

Interagency Review Team, which oversees stream and 

wetland mitigation projects pursuant to 33 CFR 332.8 and 

§ 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, to establish a 
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nutrient credit generating site within an approved 
mitigation bank. 

H. For nutrient credit-generating projects utilizing proposed 

new wetland or stream restoration projects not subject to 

33 CFR 332.8 and § 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 

the implementation plan shall also include, where appropriate 
to the type of restoration and project: 

1. Certification that the owner will obtain all appropriate 

permits or other authorizations needed to construct and 

maintain the restoration activities, prior to initiating work 
in state waters. 

2. An initial wetland restoration plan, which shall include 
the following: 

a. The goals and objectives in terms of proposed nutrient 
reductions and restoration activities;  

b. A detailed location map (e.g., a U.S. Geologic Survey 

topographic quadrangle map) including latitude and 

longitude to the nearest second and the hydrologic unit 
code (HUC) at the center of the site; 

c. A description of the surrounding land use; 

d. A hydrologic analysis, including a draft water budget 

based on expected monthly inputs and outputs that will 

project water level elevations for a typical year, a dry 
year, and a wet year; 

e. The groundwater elevation data or, if not available, the 

proposed location of groundwater monitoring wells to 
collect this data; 

f. Wetland delineation confirmation and data sheets and 

maps for existing surface water areas on the proposed 
site; 

g. A preliminary grading plan; 

h. A preliminary wetland planting scheme, including 

suggested plant species and zonation of each vegetation 
type proposed; 

i. Descriptions of existing soils, including general 

information on topsoil and subsoil conditions, 
permeability, and the need for soil amendments; 

j. A preliminary design of any water control systems or 
structures for wetland restoration or establishment; 

k. Depiction of any land conversion or other buffer areas 

associated with the nutrient credit-generating entity; 

l. A description of any structures or features necessary 

for the success of the site; and 

m. A preliminary schedule for site construction. 

3. An initial stream restoration plan, which shall include 
the following: 

a. The goals and objectives in terms of proposed nutrient 
reductions and restoration activities; 

b. A detailed location map (e.g., a U.S. Geologic Survey 

topographic quadrangle map), including the latitude and 

longitude (to the nearest second) and the hydrologic unit 
code (HUC) at the center of the site; 

c. A description of the surrounding land use; 

d. The preliminary proposed stream segment restoration 

locations, including plan view, profile, and cross-section 
sketches; 

e. The existing stream deficiencies that need to be 
addressed; 

f. The proposed restoration measures to be employed, 

including channel measurements, proposed design flows, 

types of instream structures, and conceptual planting 
scheme for streambank plantings; 

g. Reference stream data, if available; 

h. Depiction of any land conversion or other buffer areas 

associated with the nutrient credit-generating project; 
and, 

i. A preliminary schedule for site construction. 

4. Prior to construction of the restoration site, the following 

final plans shall be submitted where appropriate to the type 
of restoration: 

a. The final wetland restoration plan, which shall include 

all of the items listed in subdivision H 2 of this section 
and the following: 

(1) A summary of the type and acreage of existing stream 

and wetland impacts anticipated during the construction 

of the restoration site and the proposed compensation for 
these impacts; 

(2) A site access plan; 

(3) An erosion and sediment control plan meeting the 
requirements of 9VAC25-840; 

(4) The final construction schedule; and 

(5) A monitoring plan as detailed in subdivision H 4 c of 
this section. 

b. A final stream restoration plan, which shall include the 

items listed in subdivision H 3 of this section of this 
section and the following: 

(1) A summary of the type and acreage or linear feet of 

impacts to state waters anticipated during the 
construction of the restoration site and the proposed 
compensation for these impacts; 
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(2) [ Detailed A detailed ] plan view, profile, and cross-

section sketches with the location of proposed restoration 
measures; 

(3) A site access plan; 

(4) An erosion and sediment control plan meeting the 

requirements of 9VAC25-840; 

(5) [ Final The final ] construction schedule; and 

(6) A monitoring plan as detailed in subdivision H 4 c of 

this section. 

c. A monitoring plan, which shall include: (i) monitoring 

goals; (ii)_proposed performance standards; (iii) 

parameters to be monitored; (iv) methods of monitoring; 

(v) length of monitoring period; (vi) monitoring and 

reporting schedule; (vii) reporting requirements; and, 
(viii) projects responsible for monitoring and reporting. 

(1) Performance standards for wetland or stream 

restoration shall include specific, measureable parameters 

for determination of performance in comparison to as-

built conditions. For wetland restoration, performance 
standards may include applicable parameters to 

demonstrate characteristics of wetland formation and 

stability for the type of wetland restored, including 

hydrology, soils, vegetation, and stability of any water 

control structures or berms. For stream restoration, 

performance standards may include applicable 

parameters to demonstrate characteristics of channel 

stability, including dimension, pattern, profile, materials, 
and stability of the channel and any structures. 

(2) Monitoring methods and parameters shall be selected 

based on type of wetland or stream restoration, the 

implementation plan, and performance standards of the 
nutrient credit-generating project, and will be outlined in 

the monitoring plan. For wetland restoration, the 

monitoring plan shall include the location and number of 

photo stations, monitoring wells, vegetation sampling 

points, other monitoring equipment, and reference 

wetlands, if available. For stream restoration, the plan 

shall include the location and number of stations utilized 

for photo-monitoring, cross-sections, profiles, pattern 

measurements, streambank stability measurements, 

streambank vegetation surveys, bank pins, scour chains, 

stream gages, rain gages, other monitoring equipment, 
and reference streams, if available. 

(3) The monitoring and reporting schedule shall include 

an as-built survey conducted directly following 

construction and at least six monitoring and reporting 

events over a 10-year monitoring period following 

construction. All monitoring activities shall occur during 

the growing season, with the exception that after year 

three, physical monitoring of stream condition (cross-

section, profiles, pattern) may be conducted outside the 

growing season. For any year in which planting was 

conducted, monitoring of woody vegetation shall take 

place no earlier than October and at least six months 

following planting. If all performance standards have not 

been met in the 10th year, then a monitoring report shall 

be required for each consecutive year until two sequential 

annual reports indicate that all performance standards 

have been successfully satisfied. The extent of 
monitoring may be reduced, upon approval by the 

department, on a case-by-case basis, in response to 

exceptional attainment of performance standards. 

Submittal of a final monitoring report, typically prepared 

the 10th growing season following construction 

completion, shall be required as a baseline for long-term 
management. 

5. A long-term management plan, which shall include: 

a. Restoration projects shall include minimization of 

active engineering features (e.g., pumps) that require 

long-term management and appropriate site selection to 
ensure that natural hydrology and landscape context will 
support long-term sustainability; 

b. Long-term management and maintenance shall include 

basic management as necessary to ensure long-term 

sustainability of the nutrient credit-generating project 

such as long-term repair or replacement, maintenance of 

water control or other structures, or easement 
enforcement; 

c. The owner shall designate a responsible long-term 

steward in the plan. The owner of the nutrient credit-

generating project is the default long-term steward and is 

responsible for implementing the long term management 
plan and management of the financial assurance. 

However, the owner may transfer the long-term 

management responsibilities and management of the 

long-term financial assurance to a long-term steward or 

land stewardship project, such as a public agency, 

nongovernmental organization, or private land manager, 
upon review and approval by the department [ .; ]  

d. Long-term management needs, annual cost estimates 

for these needs, and identifying the funding mechanism 
that will be used to meet these needs shall be included. 

H. I. For nutrient credit-generating entities projects utilizing 

urban practices, the implementation plan shall also include: 

1. A description of the contributing drainage area (CDA) 

for the proposed nutrient credit-generating entity's project's 

BMP. This description shall include (i) the acreage and 

land covers (e.g., impervious, forest or open space, 

managed turf); (ii) water features including all streams, 

ponds, lakes, and wetlands; (iii) identification of all 

impaired waters and approved TMDLs; and (iv) 

identification/mapping identification or mapping of the soil 
types within the CDA, by USDA hydrological soil group. 
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2. A list of all of the current urban nutrient management 

plans developed by a certified nutrient management 
planner and being implemented within the CDA. 

3. Information on the location and description of existing 

BMPs within the CDA. For BMPs that constitute the 

baseline requirements include implementation schedules, 
lifespan, and maintenance procedures. 

4. For development and redevelopment projects, the 

implementation plan shall include the erosion and sediment 

control plan and the stormwater management plan 
developed in accordance 9VAC25-870. 

5. For retrofits, the implementation plan shall include 

relevant credit calculations and documentation as deemed 
appropriate by the department.  

I. J. For other types of activities or projects not presented in 

subsections C through H I of this section, the implementation 

plan shall include information as deemed appropriate by the 

department in order to evaluate the credits for nutrient credit 
certification. 

9VAC25-900-130. Signature requirements. 

A. All applications for certification of nutrient credits shall 
be signed as follows:  

1. For a corporation, the application shall be signed by a 

responsible corporate officer. For the purpose of this 

section, a responsible corporate officer means a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in 

charge of a principal business function or any other person 

who performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or the manager of the nutrient 

credit-generating entity project provided the manager is 

authorized to make management decisions that govern the 
operation of the entity project; 

2. For a partnership or sole proprietorship, the application 

shall be signed by a general partner or the proprietor, 
respectively; or 

3. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency, 

the application shall be signed by either a principal 

executive officer or ranking elected official. For purposes 

of this section, a principal executive officer of a federal 

agency includes the chief executive officer of the agency 

or a senior executive officer having responsibility for the 

overall operations of a principal geographic unit of the 
agency. 

B. All reports required by this chapter and other information 

requested by the department shall be signed by a person 

described in subsection A of this section or by a duly 

authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 
authorized representative only if: 

1. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in subsection A of this section; 

2. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the entity project; and 

3. The written authorization is submitted to the department. 

C. If an authorization under subsection B of this section is 

no longer accurate because a different individual or position 

has responsibility for the overall operation of the entity 

project, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 
subsection B of this section shall be submitted to the 

department prior to or together with any reports or 
information to be signed by an authorized representative. 

D. Any person signing a document under subdivision A or B 

of this section shall certify that all submittals are true, 

accurate, and complete to the best of his knowledge and 

belief. make the following certification: "I certify under 

penalty of law that this document and all attachments were 

prepared under my direction or supervision in accordance 

with a system designed to assure that qualified personnel 

properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. 
Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage 

the system or those persons directly responsible for gathering 

the information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am 

aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment for knowing violations." 

Part IV 

Compliance and Enforcement 

9VAC25-900-140. Inspections and information to be 

furnished. 

A. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity project 

shall allow the director or an authorized representative, 

including an authorized contractor acting as a representative 
of the department, upon presentation of credentials, to:  

1. Enter the management area including the premises 

where the nutrient credit-generating entity project is 

located and where records are kept in accordance with this 

chapter or the nutrient credit certification. Records to be 

retained include the approved implementation plan, 

operations and maintenance plan, and, if required, 
confirmation of financial assurance documents. 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

chapter, the approved plans listed in subdivision A 1 of this 

section, or as otherwise required by the nutrient credit 

certification. The owner will make available any records 

requested by the department that detail nutrient credit-

generating entity project operations, status, records of 

transactions, or other actions that demonstrate the status of 

credits and operations of the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project including records required to be kept under 
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any implementation plan, operations and maintenance plan, 
or financial assurance documents; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any entities projects, 

equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required 

under the provisions of this chapter, the approved plans 

listed in subdivision A 1 of this section, or as otherwise 
required by the nutrient credit certification; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring compliance with the provisions of this chapter, 

the nutrient credit certification, or as otherwise authorized 
by state law or regulation. 

B. For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall 

be deemed reasonable during regular business hours. Nothing 

in this section shall make an inspection unreasonable during 
an emergency when applicable.  

C. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity project 

shall furnish to the department, within a reasonable time, any 

information that the department may request to determine (i) 

whether cause exists for suspension of nutrient credit 
exchange, modifying, revoking and recertifying, or 

terminating nutrient credit certification or (ii) compliance 

with the provisions of this chapter or the implementation 

plan, operations and maintenance plan, or financial assurance 

approved under this chapter. The department may require the 

owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity project to 

furnish, upon request, such plans, specifications, and other 

pertinent information as may be necessary to determine the 

effect of the operation of the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project on the quality of state waters, or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 

of the law. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity 
project shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept under the provisions of 

this chapter or the nutrient credit certification including the 

approved implementation plan, operations and maintenance 
plan, or proof of financial assurance records. 

9VAC25-900-150. Recordkeeping and reporting. 

A. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity project 

shall maintain all records relevant to the management, 

operations, and maintenance of the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project, including copies of all reports required by this 

chapter, the nutrient credit certification or the implementation 
plan, operations and maintenance plan, or financial assurance 

approved under this chapter. Records of all data used to 

complete the application for certification of nutrient credits 

shall be kept. All records shall be maintained for at least five 

years following the final exchange of any credits. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity or 

regarding control standards applicable to the owner of the 

nutrient credit-generating entity project, or as requested by 
the board. 

B. All applications, reports, or information submitted to the 

department shall be signed and certified as required by 
9VAC25-900-130. 

C. Reporting requirements. 

1. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project shall give advance notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the entity project when the alteration or addition could 
change the amount of nutrient reductions generated. 

2. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project shall give advance notice to the department of any 

planned changes in the entity project that may result in 

noncompliance with the Act, this chapter, or the nutrient 
credit certification. 

3. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any 

progress reports on achieving conditions specified in the 

nutrient credit certification shall be submitted no later than 
14 days following each schedule date. 

4. Where the owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project becomes aware that incorrect information has been 

submitted in an application for nutrient credit certification 

or in any report to the department, the owner shall 
promptly submit the corrected information.  

5. Each owner shall submit an annual report on the status 

of the nutrient credit-generating entity project operations 

including credit-generating practices, confirmation of the 

continued implementation and maintenance of practices 

required to establish baseline in accordance with 9VAC25-

900-100, statement of financial assurances, and an up-to-

date credit ledger detailing credits available for exchange, 

credits exchanged, and associated purchaser information. 
This report shall contain recent photographs of any 

structural BMPs implemented to achieve baseline or for 

nutrient credit generation and it shall cover the period from 

July 1 through June 30 of each year. The report shall cover 

the period from July 1 through June 30 of each year and be 

submitted annually by August 15 unless an alternative 

reporting period and submittal date are provided for in the 
nutrient credit certification. 

6. In addition to the annual report detailed in subdivision 5 

of this subsection, nutrient credit-generating projects 

utilizing wetland or stream restoration shall conduct post-
construction monitoring and submit monitoring reports, 

according to the monitoring plan approved as part of the 
implementation plan pursuant to 9VAC25-900-120. 

7. Exchange of credits shall be recorded on the registry. 

The exchange of credits by the owner of the nutrient credit-

generating entity project shall be reported to the 

department within 14 calendar days of the date of the 
exchange. This report shall include: 

a. The identification for the credits exchanged; 
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b. The name of and contact information for the buyer; 

c. The name of the seller;  

d. The amount of credits exchanged; and 

e. If applicable, the name of the facility and the 

associated permit number that shall use the purchased 
credits. 

9VAC25-900-160. Enforcement and penalties. 

The board may enforce the provisions of this chapter 

utilizing all applicable procedures under the State Water 
Control Law. 

9VAC25-900-170. Suspension of credit exchange. 

A. If the department tentatively decides to suspend the 

ability of an owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity 

project to exchange credits, the department shall issue a 

notice of its tentative decision to the owner. If the department 

determines that suspension is appropriate, it will also remove 

the ability for the owner to show credits for exchange on the 

registry. The ability to exchange credits shall remain 

suspended until such time as the owner brings the nutrient 
credit-generating entity project into compliance with this 

chapter and the nutrient credit certification to the department's 
satisfaction. 

B. The following are causes for the department to suspend 
the exchange of credits: 

1. Noncompliance by the owner of the nutrient credit-

generating entity project with any condition of the nutrient 

credit certification or any plans approved under or required 
by the nutrient credit certification or this chapter; 

2. Failure of the owner of the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project to disclose fully all relevant material facts or, 

the misrepresentation of any relevant material facts in 
applying for certification of nutrient credits or in any other 

report or document required under the law, this chapter, the 

nutrient credit certification, or any plans approved or 
required under the nutrient credit certification; 

3. A change in any condition that results in a temporary or 

permanent elimination of the best management practices 
approved as part of the nutrient credit certification; or 

4. There exists a material change in the basis on which the 

nutrient credit certification was issued that requires either a 

temporary or permanent elimination of activities controlled 

by the nutrient credit certification necessary to protect 
human health or the environment; however, credit 

quantities established using the best available scientific and 

technical information at the time of certification may not 
be reduced. 

9VAC25-900-180. Nutrient credit certification transfer, 

modification, revocation and recertification reissuance, or 

termination. 

A. Nutrient credit certifications may be modified, revoked 

and reissued, or terminated either at the request of the party 

holding the certification or upon the department's initiative 

for cause. The filing of a request by the holder of the nutrient 

credit certification for a modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination of a certification, or a notification 

of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance with 

regulatory requirements does not stay any condition of a 
nutrient credit certification. 

B. If the department decides that a request for modification, 

revocation and reissuance, or termination is not justified, it 

shall send the requester a brief response giving a reason for 
the decision. 

C. If the department tentatively decides to modify or revoke 

and reissue a nutrient credit certification, it may request the 
submission of a new application. 

D. If the department tentatively decides to terminate a 

nutrient credit certification and the owner of the nutrient 

credit-generating entity project objects, the department shall 

issue a notice of intent to terminate and shall 

contemporaneously notify any known buyers of the entity's 
project's nutrient credits of its intent to terminate. 

E. A certification of nutrient credits may be modified, 
revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause. 

1. Causes for modification. The following are causes for 

modification, revocation, and reissuance of a certification 
of nutrient credits: 

a. There are material and substantial alterations or 

additions to the nutrient credit-generating entity project 

that occurred after certification of nutrient credits and 

that justify the application of conditions that are different 
or absent in the existing nutrient credit certification. 

b. The department has received new technical 

information that would have justified the application of 

different conditions at the time of issuance; however, 

credit quantities established using the best available 

scientific and technical information at the time of 
certification may not be reduced. 

c. The department determines good cause exists for 

modification of milestones within the nutrient credit 
certification. 

d. To correct technical mistakes, such as errors in 

calculation, or mistaken interpretations of law made in 
determining nutrient credit certification conditions. 

e. The department has received notification of a proposed 

transfer of ownership of the nutrient credit-generating 
entity project. 
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2. Causes for termination. The following are causes for 

terminating a nutrient credit certification during its term or 

for denying an application for certification of nutrient 

credits after notice and opportunity for a hearing an 

informal fact finding proceeding in accordance with § 2.2-
4019 of the Administrative Process Act: 

a. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project has violated any regulation or order of the board 
or department, any provision of the law, or any order of a 

court, where such violation results in a release of harmful 

substances into the environment or poses a substantial 

threat of release of harmful substances into the 

environment or presents a hazard to human health or the 

violation is representative of a pattern of serious or 

repeated violations that, in the opinion of the department, 

demonstrates the owner's disregard for or inability to 

comply with applicable laws, regulations, or 
requirements; 

b. Noncompliance by the owner of the nutrient credit-

generating entity project with any condition of the 

nutrient credit certification or any plans approved under 

or required by the nutrient credit certification or this 
chapter; 

c. Failure of the owner of the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project to disclose fully all relevant material facts 

or the misrepresentation of any relevant material facts in 

applying for a certification of nutrient credits or in any 

other report or document required under the law, this 

chapter, the nutrient credit certification, or any plans 

approved or required under the nutrient credit 
certification; 

d. A determination that the credit-generating activity 

endangers human health or the environment and can only 

be regulated to acceptable levels by modification or 
termination of the nutrient credit certification; 

e. A change in any condition that results in a permanent 

elimination of any of the best management practices 
approved as part of the nutrient credit certification; or 

f. There exists a material change in the basis on which 

the nutrient credit certification was issued that requires 

either a temporary or a permanent elimination of 

activities controlled by the nutrient credit certification 
necessary to protect human health or the environment; 

however, credit quantities established using the best 

available scientific and technical information at the time 
of certification may not be reduced. 

g. Failure of the owner of the nutrient credit-generating 

entity project to operate and maintain the required 
baseline practices throughout the management area. 

F. Except as provided in subsection G of this section, a 

nutrient credit certification may be transferred to a new owner 

or operator only if the certification has been modified or 

revoked and reissued to identify the new owner or operator 

and incorporate such other requirements as may be necessary 
under the Act and this chapter. 

G. As an alternative to transfers under subsection F of this 

section, any certification of nutrient credits may be 
automatically transferred if: 

1. The current holder of the certification of nutrient credits 

notifies the department at least 30 days in advance of the 
proposed transfer date in subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new owners containing a specific date for 

transfer of responsibility, coverage, and liability for the 
nutrient credit-generating entity project between them; and 

3. If the department does not notify the existing holder of 

the certification of nutrient credits and the proposed holder 

of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue the nutrient 

credit certification within the 30 days of receipt of the 

holder's notification of transfer, the transfer is effective on 
the date specified in the agreement mentioned in 
subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

H. The department shall follow the applicable procedures in 

this chapter when terminating any nutrient credit certification, 

except when the baseline or nutrient reduction practices used 

at a nutrient credit-generating entity are permanently 

terminated or eliminated the department may then terminate 

the nutrient credit certification by notice to the owner of the 

nutrient credit-generating entity. Termination by notice shall 

be effective 30 days after notice is sent, unless the owner 

objects within that time. If the owner objects during that 

period, the department shall follow the applicable procedures 
for termination under this section. 

Part V 
Fees 

9VAC25-900-190. Purpose and applicability of fees. 

A. The purpose of this part is to establish a schedule of fees 

collected by the department in the support of its programs 
under this chapter and as permitted under the Act.  

B. This part applies to all persons who submit an application 

for a certification of nutrient credits in accordance with 

9VAC25-900-80. The fees shall be assessed in accordance 
with this part.  

9VAC25-900-200. Determination of application fee 

amount. 

A. Each nutrient credit-generating entity project application 

and each nutrient credit-generating entity project modification 

application is a separate action and shall be assessed a 

separate fee. The amount of such fees is determined on the 
basis of this section. 
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B. Perpetual nutrient credit certifications. 

1. An applicant for certification of perpetual nutrient 

credits is assessed a base fee as shown in Table 1 of 
9VAC25-900-220 A.  

2. An applicant is assessed a supplementary fee based on 

the number of potential nutrient credits of phosphorus 

generated in addition to the base fee specified in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. The supplementary fees 
are shown in Table 1 of 9VAC25-900-220 A. 

3. Modifications of approved perpetual nutrient credit 

certifications will be assessed the base fee only unless the 

modifications generate additional perpetual credits then a 

supplementary fee based on the number of additional 

potential nutrient credits of phosphorus will be assessed in 

addition to the base fee as specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. 

4. The total fee (base fee plus supplementary fee) shall not 

exceed $10,000. If the calculated fee is greater than 
$10,000 then the applicant shall only pay $10,000. 

C. Term nutrient credit certifications. 

1. An applicant for certification of term nutrient credits is 

assessed a base fee plus a supplementary fee based on the 

number of potential term credits and the requested term of 
those credits as shown in Table 2 of 9VAC25-900-220 A. 

2. A modification of an approved term nutrient credit 

certification is assessed a base fee plus a supplementary fee 

based on the number of term credits and the requested term 

of those credits as shown in Table 2 of 9VAC25-900-220 
A. 

3. A renewal will be assessed a base fee plus a 

supplementary fee based on the number of renewing term 
credits as shown in Table 3 of 9VAC25-900-220 A if there 

are (i) no changes to the site or practices that were 

submitted with the previously approved nutrient credit 

certification application; (ii) the renewal application 

submitted is an exact duplicate of the application for does 

not contain any new practices and is substantial the same 

as the previously approved nutrient credit certification; and 

(iii) the application is submitted at least 60 days prior to 

the end date of the term credits for which renewal is 

sought. If the renewal application includes changes to the 

site, changes to practices, or new practices or is submitted 
less than 60 days prior to the end date of the term credits, 

the application shall be deemed a new application and shall 

be assessed a fee as provided in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. 

4. The total fee (base fee plus supplementary fee) shall not 

exceed $10,000. If the calculated fee is greater than 
$10,000 then the applicant shall only pay $10,000. 

9VAC25-900-210. Payment of application fees. 

A. Due date. All application fees are due on the day of 
application and must accompany the application. 

B. Method of payment. Fees shall be paid by check, draft, or 

postal money order made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia" 

and shall be sent to the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Receipts Control, P.O. Box 1104, Richmond, VA 23218. 

When the department is able to accept electronic payments, 
payments may be submitted electronically.  

C. Incomplete payments. All incomplete payments will be 
deemed nonpayments. 

D. Late payment. Pursuant to 9VAC25-900-80, no 

applications will be deemed to be complete until the 
department receives proper payment the fee paid in full.  

9VAC25-900-220. Application fee schedule. 

A. Fees. 

Table 1. Perpetual Nutrient Credits Certification Application 
Fees 

Base Fee $3,000 

Supplementary Fees – Total Number 
of Perpetual Phosphorus Credits (X)  

  

X ≤ 30 $1,000 

30 < X ≤ 60 $3,000 

60 < X ≤ 90 $5,000 

X > 90 $7,000 

Table 2. Term Nutrient Credits Certification Application Fees 

Base Fee $3,000 

Supplementary Fees $/(Credit*Term 
Years) 

1st 100 term nutrient credits (1 
to 100) $4.00 

2nd 100 term nutrient credits 
(101 to 200) $3.00 

3rd 100 term nutrient credits 
(201 to 300) $2.00 

4th 100 term nutrient credits (> 
300) $1.00 

Table 3. Renewal Term Nutrient Credits Certification 
Application Fees 

Base Fee $1,000 

Supplementary Fees $/(Credit*Term Years) 

1st 100 term nutrient credits (1 
to 100) $4.00 
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2nd 100 term nutrient credits 
(101 to 200) $3.00 

3rd 100 term nutrient credits 
(201 to 300) $2.00 

4th 100 term nutrient credits (> 
300) $1.00 

B. Illustrative examples. 

1. Example 1. The applicant is submitting an application 

for nutrient credit certification of a nutrient credit-

generating entity project that will generate perpetual 

credits. The number of potential perpetual credits 
calculated is 150. The required fee is calculated as follows: 

Base fee $3,000 

Supplementary fee for 150 
perpetual P credits 

+$7,000 

Total fee = $10,000 

2. Example 2. The applicant is submitting an application 

for nutrient credit certification of a nutrient credit-

generating entity project that generated credits with a five-

year term. The number of potential nutrient credits 
calculated is 275. The required fee is calculated as follows: 

Base fee $3,000 

Supplementary fee for 1 to 

100 credits 

+(100*5*$4)=$2,000 

Supplementary fee for 101 to 

200 credits 

+(100*5*$3)=$1,500 

Supplementary fee for 201 to 
275 credits 

+ (75*5*$2)= $750 

Total fee = $7,250 

3. Example 3. The applicant is submitting a renewal 

application for annual credits generated at a nutrient credit-

generating entity project for a five-year term. The number 

of annual credits being renewed for another term is 165. 
The required fee is calculated as follows: 

Base fee $1,000 

Supplementary fee for 1 to 

100 credits 

+(100*5*$4)=$2,000 

Supplementary fee for 101 to 
200 credits 

+(65*5*$3)=$975 

Total fee = $3,975 

4. Example 4. The applicant is submitting an application 

for nutrient credit certification of a nutrient credit-

generating project that generates credits with a five-year 

term. The number of potential nutrient credits calculated is 
1000. The required fee is calculated as follows: 

Base fee $3,000 

Supplementary fee for 1 to 

100 credits 

+(100*5*$4)=$2,000 

Supplementary fee for 101 to 
200 credits 

+(100*5*$3)=$1,500 

Supplementary fee for 201 to 
300 credits 

+(100*5*$2)=$1,000 

Supplementary fee for 301 to 
1000 credits 

+(700*5*$1)=$3,500 

Total 

Total fee  

= $11,000 

= $10,000 (fee cannot 

exceed $10,000)  

Part VI 

Financial Assurance 

9VAC25-900-230. Financial assurance applicability. 

A. An owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity project 

that utilizes structural BMPs for the generation of perpetual 

credits shall submit and maintain financial assurance in 

accordance with this part. The financial assurance mechanism 

shall be submitted to and approved by the department prior to 
the release of credits. 

B. An owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity project 

that utilizes structural BMPs for the generation of term credits 

with terms that exceed one year shall submit and maintain 

financial assurance in accordance with this part. The 
However, an owner of a nutrient credit-generating project that 

utilizes structural BMPs for the generation of term credits 

with terms that exceed one year shall not be required to 

submit and maintain financial assurance in accordance with 

this part, provided that the department annually approves the 

generation of the term nutrient credits prior to release of the 

credits. In accordance with 9VAC25-900-90 B, the financial 

assurance mechanism shall be submitted to and approved by 

the department prior to the release of credits. For the purposes 

of this part, term credit shall refer to credit with a term greater 
than one year but not perpetual. 

C. An owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity that 

utilizes structural BMPs for the generation of credits with a 

term of one year shall not be required to provide financial 

assurance. D. project using proposed new wetland or stream 

restoration practices not subject to 33 CFR 332.8 and § 62.1-

44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia for the generation of 

perpetual credits shall be required to submit and maintain 

financial assurance in accordance with this chapter. In 

accordance with 9VAC25-900-90 B, the financial assurance 

mechanism shall be submitted to and approved by the 

department prior to the release of credits. The following 

financial assurances shall be provided for these new wetland 
or stream restoration projects: 
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1. A monitoring plan financial assurance mechanism shall 

be established to ensure implementation of the monitoring 

plan pursuant to 9VAC25-900-120 for any nutrient credits 

generated from wetland or stream restoration. When the 

owner conducts the required monitoring and submits a 

complete monitoring report as specified in the monitoring 

plan and report requirements, then the owner may request a 

reduction of the required financial assurance amount 
equivalent to the cost of one year of monitoring, subject to 

department approval. If any funds remain in the financial 

assurance mechanism after the monitoring period, the 

mechanism shall be maintained until the final monitoring 

report is submitted and approved, at which point the 
mechanism shall be released by the department; and 

2. A long-term management fund financial assurance 

mechanism shall be established in support of required 

long-term management plan tasks pursuant to 9VAC25-

900-120 for any nutrient credits generated from wetland or 

stream restoration. Long-term management funds shall be 
placed in a separate interest bearing trust account in an 

appropriate financial institution and may be funded from a 

sufficient percentage of all credit sale proceeds, a single 

lump sum payment, or an approved schedule of payments, 

subject to department approval. No long-term management 

funds shall be used to finance any expense or activity other 

than those specified in the long-term management plan 

unless approved by the department. Responsibility for and 

access to the long-term management fund is given to the 

owner or long-term steward and may be transferred to any 

new long-term steward that is designated by the owner and 
approved by the department. 

E. D. When the nutrient credits are generated or used by a 

locality, authority, utility, sanitation district, or owner 

operating an MS4 or a point source permitted under 

9VAC25-870, the existing existence of tax or rate authority 

may be used to provide evidence by such entity at its option 

in satisfaction of the financial assurance required pursuant to 

this part. The locality, authority, utility, sanitation district, or 

owner shall certify as a condition of their application that 

such tax or rate authority will be used to ensure an adequate 

supply of credits to meet the entity's obligation, whether by 

continued operation and maintenance of the structural BMPs 
at the nutrient credit-generating entity or by other means. 

9VAC25-900-240. Suspension of nutrient credit exchange. 

Failure to provide or maintain adequate evidence of 

financial assurance in accordance with this part shall be cause 

for the department to suspend the exchange of credits in 

accordance with 9VAC25-900-170 or terminate the nutrient 
credit certification in accordance with 9VAC25-900-180. 

9VAC25-900-250. Cost estimates for perpetual and term 

credit nutrient credit-generating entities projects. 

A. The owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity project 

shall prepare for approval by the department a detailed 

written cost estimate providing the cost of either repairing or 

restoring, as appropriate, and operating and maintaining any 

structural BMPs generating perpetual nutrient credits or term 

nutrient credits with a term of greater than one year required 
to submit and maintain financial assurance pursuant to 

9VAC25-900-230. This written cost estimate shall be 

submitted as part of the application in accordance with 
9VAC25-900-80 and shall include: 

1. For structural BMPs generating perpetual nutrient 

credits, the cost estimate shall equal the estimated full cost 

for either repairing or restoring, as appropriate, the 

structural BMPs plus the cost for five fifty years of 

operation and maintenance of the structural BMPs in 
accordance with the implementation plan. 

2. For structural BMPs generating term nutrient credits, the 

cost estimate shall equal the full cost for either repairing or 

restoring, as appropriate, the structural BMPs plus the cost 

for the operation and maintenance of the structural BMPs 

in accordance with the implementation plan for the term of 
the credits or for five years, whichever is less. 

3. The cost estimate shall be based on and include the costs 

of hiring a third party to either repair or restore and operate 

and maintain the structural BMPs generating nutrient 

credits. The third party may not be either a parent 
corporation or subsidiary of the owner. 

B. The owner of the nutrient credit-generating project 

utilizing proposed new wetland or stream restoration practices 
not subject to 33 CFR 332.8 and § 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code 

of Virginia will develop a separate written cost estimate for 

each of the applicable financial assurance requirements 

provided in 9VAC25-900-230 D. All cost estimates shall be 

submitted as part of the application in accordance with 
9VAC25-900-80. 

1. Monitoring plan financial assurance cost estimates shall 

be sufficient to hire another qualified entity to monitor and 

report on performance standards for the nutrient credit-

generating project in the event of noncompliance with this 
chapter. 

2. Long-term management fund financial assurance cost 

estimates shall be based on the size and complexity of the 

implementation plan, long-term management plan tasks, 

and any other factors that the department deems 

appropriate and will state the total dollar amount required 
to fund this financial assurance. 

C. For a nutrient credit-generating entity project generating 

perpetual credit from structural BMPs, the cost estimate shall 

be reviewed updated by the owner and submitted to the 
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department for its review for sufficiency by the department at 
least once every five years. 

9VAC25-900-260. Financial assurance requirements for 

term credits. 

A. For a nutrient credit-generating entity project generating 

term credits with a term of greater than one year and required 

to submit and maintain financial assurance pursuant to 

9VAC25-900-230, the owner shall demonstrate financial 
assurance using any one or a combination of the mechanisms 
specified in 9VAC25-900-290 through 9VAC25-900-330. 

B. The financial assurance mechanism or mechanisms shall 

provide funding for the full amount of the cost estimate at all 
times. 

C. The financial assurance mechanism or mechanisms used 

to provide evidence of the financial assurance shall ensure 

that the funds necessary will be available whenever they are 
needed. 

D. The owner shall provide continuous financial assurance 

coverage for the term credit nutrient credit-generating entity 
project in accordance with this part until released by the 
department. 

E. After submittal of a complete financial assurance 

mechanism, the department shall notify the owner of the 

tentative decision to approve or reject the financial assurance 
mechanism. 

F. A financial assurance mechanism must be in a form that 

ensures that the department will receive proper notification in 

advance of any termination or revocation. The owner may, at 

their discretion and with prior approval of the department, 

replace the financial assurance or financial institution that 

issued the financial assurance. The owner shall provide the 
department with prior notice of its desire to replace the 

issuing institution and a draft of the new mechanism for 

review. The provisions of the new mechanism shall conform 
to the provisions of the former mechanism and this part. 

9VAC25-900-270. Financial assurance requirements for 

perpetual credits. 

A. Subject to the requirements and limitations outlined in 

this section, the owner shall demonstrate financial assurance 

for the perpetual credit nutrient credit-generating entity 

project generating perpetual nutrient credits using any one or 

combination of the mechanisms specified in 9VAC25-900-
290 through 9VAC25-900-330. However, for restoration 

projects, the owner may only use a trust fund as provided in 

9VAC25-900-290 to demonstrate financial assurance for the 

long-term management fund as described in 9VAC25-900-
230 C 2.  

B. The financial assurance mechanism or mechanisms used 

shall provide funding for the full amount of the cost estimate 
or of the sum of all cost estimates at all times.  

C. The owner may only establish or continue to use 

insurance, as outlined in 9VAC25-900-330, to demonstrate 

financial assurance for that portion of the total cost estimate 

that does not include credits that have been exchanged. On an 

annual basis, the owner shall either establish or increase the 

noninsurance mechanism or mechanisms outlined in 

9VAC25-900-290 through 9VAC25-900-320 in an amount to 

be determined in accordance with the following formula 
below: 

CE/TCIAS * CEDAAP 

where: 

CE = Cost Estimate 

TCIAS = Total Number of Credits Initially 
Available for Exchange 

CEDAAP = Number of Credits Exchanged During 
the Applicable Annual Period 

D. The owner shall establish or increase the mechanism or 

mechanisms as required by subsection C of this section no 

later than 30 days after the current anniversary date of the 
nutrient credit certification. The applicable annual period for 

credits exchanged is the one culminating on the anniversary 
date of the nutrient credit certification. 

E. The financial assurance mechanisms used to provide 

evidence of the financial assurance shall ensure that the funds 
necessary will be available whenever they are needed. 

F. After submittal of a complete financial assurance 

mechanism, the department shall notify the owner of the 

tentative decision to approve or reject the financial assurance 
mechanism. 

G. A financial assurance mechanism must be in a form that 

ensures that the department will receive proper notification in 
advance of any termination or revocation. The owner may, at 

its discretion and with prior approval of the department, 

replace the financial assurance or financial institution that 

issued the financial assurance. The owner shall provide the 

department with prior notice of its desire to replace the 

issuing institution and a draft of the new mechanism for 

review. The provisions of the new mechanism shall conform 
to the provisions of the former mechanism and this part. 

9VAC25-900-280. Allowable financial mechanisms. 

A. Subject to the limitations and requirements outlined in 

9VAC25-900-260 and 9VAC25-900-270, an owner of 
nutrient credit-generating entity project using structural 

BMPs to generate term or perpetual nutrient credits and 

required to submit financial assurance pursuant to 9VAC25-

900-230 may use any one or combination of mechanisms 

listed in 9VAC25-900-290 through 9VAC25-900-330 to meet 
the financial assurance requirements of this part chapter. 
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B. Subject to the limitation and requirements outlined in 

9VAC25-900-270, an owner of a nutrient credit-generating 

project utilizing wetland or stream restoration practices to 

generate perpetual credits and required to submit financial 

assurance pursuant to 9VAC25-900-230, may use any one or 

combination of mechanisms listed in 9VAC25-900-290 

through 9VAC25-900-330 to meet the financial assurance 

requirements for the monitoring plan; however, only a trust 
fund may be used to meet the financial assurance 
requirements for the long-term management fund. 

9VAC25-900-290. Trust. 

A. An owner may satisfy the requirements of this part by 

establishing a trust fund that conforms to the requirements of 

this section and by submitting an originally signed triplicate 

of the trust agreement to the director. The owner shall also 

place a copy of the trust agreement into the nutrient credit-

generating entity's project's operating record. The trustee for 

the trust fund shall be a bank or financial institution that has 

the authority to act as a trustee and whose trust operations are 
regulated and examined by a state or federal agency.  

B. Payments into the trust fund shall be made by the owner 

whenever necessary under the requirements of 9VAC25-900-
260 or 9VAC25-900-270. 

C. During any annual period when a payment into the fund 

is necessary under the applicable requirements outlined in 

9VAC25-900-260 and 9VAC25-900-270, the owner must 

submit the following information to the director no later than 

the anniversary date of the initial approval by the department 
of the release of credits for exchange: 

1. The calculation for determining the appropriate payment 

amount into the trust; and 

2. A statement from the trustee indicating the amount of 

the currently required deposit into the trust fund and the 
subsequent balance of the fund.  

D. The owner shall compare the cost estimate with the 
trustee's most recent annual valuation of the trust fund: 

1. Annually, at least 60 days prior to the anniversary date 

of the initial approval by the department of the release of 

credits for exchange. If the value of the fund is less than 

the amount of the cost estimate, the owner shall, by the 

anniversary date of the initial approval by the department 

of the release of credits for exchange, deposit a sufficient 
amount into the fund so that its value after payment at least 

equals the amount of the cost estimate, or obtain other 

financial assurance as specified in this part to cover the 

difference. If the value of the trust fund is greater than the 

total amount of the cost estimate, the owner may submit a 

written request to the director for release of the amount that 
is in excess of the cost estimate; and 

2. Whenever the cost estimate changes. If the value of the 

fund is less than the amount of the new cost estimate, the 

owner shall, within 60 days of the change in the cost 

estimate, deposit a sufficient amount into the fund so that 

its value after payment at least equals the amount of the 

new estimate, or obtain other financial assurance as 

specified in this part to cover the difference. If the value of 

the trust fund is greater than the total amount of the cost 

estimate, the owner may submit a written request to the 

director for release of the amount that is in excess of the 
cost estimate. 

E. The department shall withdraw funds from the trust when 

the owner has failed to monitor, operate and maintain, 

perform long-term maintenance for, or repair or replace, as 

applicable, the practices utilized by the nutrient credit-

generating project in accordance with this chapter and the 

nutrient credit certification. The department shall use the 

funds to pay for the performance of monitoring, operation, 

and maintenance, or the performance of long-term 

maintenance, or repair and replacement, as applicable, of the 
practices utilized by the nutrient credit-generating project. 

F. Subject to the limitations and requirements outlined in 

9VAC25-900-260 and 9VAC25-900-270, if the owner 

substitutes other financial assurance as specified in this part 

for all or part of the trust fund, the owner may submit a 

written request to the director for release of the amount in 
excess of the current cost estimate covered by the trust fund. 

F. G. Within 60 days after receiving a request from the 

owner for release of funds as described in subsections E F and 

G H of this section, the director shall instruct the trustee to 

release to the owner such funds as the director deems 
appropriate, if any, in writing.  

G. H. The director shall agree to terminate the trust when:  

1. The owner substitutes alternate financial assurance as 
specified in this part; or  

2. The director notifies the owner that the owner is no 

longer required by this part to maintain financial assurance 

for the operation and maintenance or replacement of the 
nutrient credit-generating entity's structural BMPs project. 

H. I. The trust agreement shall be worded as described in 

9VAC25-900-350, except that instructions in parentheses are 

to be replaced with the appropriate information and the 

parantheses parentheses deleted, and the trust agreement shall 

be accompanied by a formal certification of acknowledgment 
and Schedules A and B. 

9VAC25-900-300. Surety bond. 

A. An owner may satisfy the requirements of this part by 

obtaining a surety bond that conforms to the requirements of 

this section and by submitting an originally signed duplicate 

of the bond to the department. The surety company issuing 

the bond shall be licensed to operate as a surety in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and be among those listed as 
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acceptable sureties on federal bonds in the latest Circular 570 
of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. 

B. Under the terms of the bond, the surety shall become 

liable on the bond obligation when the owner fails to perform 
as guaranteed by the bond. 

C. The bond shall guarantee that the owner or any other 

authorized person will shall perform all or any of the 

following activities for which the bond is used to satisfy the 
requirements of this part: 

1. Operate and maintain, monitor, repair, or replace any 

structural BMPs practices for achieving nutrient reductions 

at the nutrient credit-generating entity project in question 
and in accordance with the nutrient credit certification; or, 

2. Operate and maintain, monitor, repair, or replace any 

structural BMPs practices following an order to do so that 
has been issued by the department or by a court. 

D. The owner shall compare the cost estimate with the penal 

sum of the bond: 

1. Annually, at least 60 days prior to the anniversary date 

of the initial approval by the department of the release of 

credits for exchange. If the penal sum of the bond is less 

than the amount of the cost estimate, the owner shall, by 

the anniversary date of the initial approval by the 

department of the release of credits for exchange, increase 

the penal sum of the bond so that its value at least equals 

the amount of the cost estimate, or obtain other financial 

assurance as specified in this part to cover the difference. If 

the penal sum of the bond is greater than the total amount 

of the cost estimate, the owner may submit a written 

request to the director for permission to reduce the penal 
sum of the bond to the amount of the cost estimate; and  

2. Whenever the cost estimate changes. If the penal sum of 

the bond is less than the amount of the new cost estimate, 

the owner shall, within 60 days of the change in the cost 

estimate, increase the penal sum of the bond so that its 

value at least equals the amount of the new estimate, or 

obtain other financial assurance as specified in this part to 

cover the difference. If the penal sum of the bond is greater 

than the total amount of the cost estimate, the owner may 

submit a written request to the director for permission to 

reduce the penal sum of the bond to the amount of the cost 
estimate.  

E. The surety bond shall guarantee that the owner shall 

provide alternate evidence of financial assurance as specified 

in this part within 60 days after receipt by the department of a 
notice of cancellation of the bond from the surety.  

F. The bond shall remain in force for its term unless the 

surety sends written notice of cancellation by certified mail to 

the owner and to the department. Cancellation cannot occur, 

however, during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt 

of the notice of cancellation by the department as shown on 

the signed return receipt. The surety shall provide written 

notification to the department by certified mail no less than 

120 days prior to the expiration date of the bond that the bond 
will expire and the date the bond will expire.  

G. The department shall cash the surety bond if it: 

1. When it is not replaced 60 days prior to expiration with 

alternate evidence of financial assurance acceptable to the 
department; or if  

2. If the owner fails to fulfill the conditions of the bond. 

has failed to monitor, operate and maintain, or repair or 

replace, as applicable, the practices utilized by the nutrient 

credit-generating project in accordance with this chapter 

and the nutrient credit certification. The department shall 

use the funds from the surety bond to pay for the 

performance of monitoring, operation, and maintenance or 

repair and replacement, as applicable, of the practices 
utilized by the nutrient credit-generating project. 

H. The department shall return the original surety bond to 

the surety for termination when: 

1. The owner substitutes acceptable alternate evidence of 
financial assurance; or 

2. The department director notifies the owner that the 

owner is no longer required by this part to maintain 

evidence of financial assurance for operation and 

maintenance or replacement of the nutrient credit-
generating entity’s structural BMPs project. 

I. The surety bond shall be worded as described in 9VAC25-

900-350, except that instructions in parentheses are to be 

replaced with the relevant information and the parentheses 
deleted. 

9VAC25-900-310. Letter of credit. 

A. An owner may satisfy the requirements of this part by 

obtaining an irrevocable standby letter of credit that conforms 

to the requirements of this section and by submitting an 

originally signed duplicate of the letter of credit to the 

department. The issuing institution shall be an entity that has 

the authority to issue letters of credit in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and whose letter-of-credit operations are regulated 

and examined by a federal agency or the Virginia State 
Corporation Commission.  

B. The letter of credit shall be irrevocable and issued for a 

period of at least one year. The letter of credit shall provide 
that the expiration date will be automatically extended for a 

period of at least one year. If the issuing institution decides 

not to extend the letter of credit beyond the current expiration 

date, it shall, at least 120 days before the expiration date, 

notify both the owner and the department by certified mail of 

that decision. The 120-day period will begin on the date of 

receipt of letter of credit's notice of cancellation by the 

department as shown on the signed return receipt. If the letter 
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of credit is canceled by the issuing institution, the owner shall 

obtain alternate evidence of financial assurance to be in effect 
prior to the expiration date of the letter of credit.  

C. The owner shall compare the cost estimate with the face 

amount of the letter of credit: 

1. Annually, at least 60 days prior to the anniversary date 

of the initial approval by the department of the release of 

credits for exchange. If the face amount of the letter of 
credit is less than the amount of the cost estimate, the 

owner shall, by the anniversary date of the initial approval 

by the department of the release of credits for exchange, 

increase the face amount of the letter of credit so that its 

value at least equals the amount of the cost estimate, or 

obtain other financial assurance as specified in this part to 

cover the difference. If the face amount of the letter of 

credit is greater than the total amount of the cost estimate, 

the owner may submit a written request to the director for 

permission to reduce the face amount of the letter of credit 
to the amount of the cost estimate; and  

2. Whenever the cost estimate changes. If the face amount 

of the letter of credit is less than the amount of the new 

cost estimate, the owner shall, within 60 days of the change 

in the cost estimate, increase the face amount of the letter 

of credit so that its value at least equals the amount of the 

new estimate or obtain other financial assurance as 

specified in this part to cover the difference. If the face 

amount of the letter of credit is greater than the total 

amount of the cost estimate, the owner may submit a 

written request to the director for permission to reduce the 

face amount of the letter of credit to the amount of the cost 
estimate.  

D. The issuing institution may cancel the letter of credit only 

if alternate evidence of financial assurance acceptable to the 

department is substituted as specified in this part or if the 

owner is released by the department from the requirements of 
financial assurance.  

E. The department shall cash the letter of credit when: 

1. The issuing institution has provided proper notification, 

as outlined in subsection B of this section, of its intent not 

to renew the letter of credit, and the owner has not, within 

30 days prior to expiration, replaced the letter of credit 

with alternate evidence of financial assurance acceptable to 
the department; or 

2. The owner has failed to monitor, operate, and maintain 

or repair or replace, as applicable, the practices utilized by 

the nutrient credit-generating entity's structural BMPs 

project in accordance with this chapter and the nutrient 

credit certification. The department shall use the funds 

from the letter of credit to pay for the performance of 

monitoring, operation, and maintenance or repair and 

replacement, as applicable, of the practices utilized by the 
nutrient credit-generating project. 

F. The department shall return the original letter of credit to 
the issuing institution for termination when: 

1. The owner substitutes acceptable alternate evidence of 
financial assurance; or 

2. The department notifies the owner that the owner is no 

longer required by this part to maintain evidence of 

financial assurance for the structural BMPs at his the 
nutrient credit-generating entity project. 

G. The letter of credit shall be worded as described in 

9VAC25-900-350, except that instructions in parentheses are 

to be replaced with the relevant information and the 
parentheses deleted. 

9VAC25-900-320. Certificate of deposit. 

A. An owner may satisfy the requirements of this chapter, 

wholly or in part, by obtaining a certificate of deposit and 

assigning all rights, title, and interest in the certificate of 

deposit to the department, conditioned so that the owner shall 

operate and maintain or replace the structural BMPs at 

perform the applicable monitoring, operation, and 
maintenance or repair or replacement for the practices utilized 

by the nutrient credit-generating entity project. The issuing 

institution shall be an entity that has the authority to issue 

certificates of deposit in the Commonwealth of Virginia and 

whose operations are regulated and examined by a federal 

agency or the Virginia State Corporation Commission. The 

owner must submit the originally signed assignment and the 

originally signed certificate of deposit, if applicable, to the 
department.  

B. The amount of the certificate of deposit shall be at least 

equal to the approved cost estimate. The owner shall maintain 

the certificate of deposit and assignment until such time as the 
owner is released by the department from financial assurance. 

compare the cost estimate with the amount of the certificate 
of deposit: 

1. Annually, at least 60 days prior to the anniversary date 

of the initial approval by the department of the release of 

credits for exchange. If the amount of the certificate of 

deposit is less than the amount of the cost estimate, the 

owner shall, by the anniversary date of the initial approval 

by the department of the release of credits for exchange, 

increase the amount of the certificate of deposit so that its 

value at least equals the amount of the cost estimate, or 
obtain other financial assurance as specified in this part to 

cover the difference. If the amount of the certificate of 

deposit is greater than the total amount of the cost estimate, 

the owner may submit a written request to the director for 

permission to withdraw funds from the certificate of 
deposit to the amount of the cost estimate; and  

2. Whenever the cost estimate changes. If the amount of 

the certificate of deposit is less than the amount of the new 

cost estimate, the owner shall, within 60 days of the change 
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in the cost estimate, increase the amount of certificate of 

deposit so that its value at least equals the amount of the 

new estimate or obtain other financial assurance as 

specified in this part to cover the difference. If the amount 

of the certificate of deposit is greater than the total amount 

of the cost estimate, the owner may submit a written 

request to the director for permission to withdraw funds 

from the certificate of deposit to the amount of the cost 
estimate. 

C. The owner shall be entitled to demand, receive, and 

recover the interest and income from the certificate of deposit 

as it becomes due and payable as long as the market value of 

the certificate of deposit used continues to at least equal the 
amount of the current approved cost estimate. 

D. The department shall cash the certificate of deposit if the 

owner has failed to monitor, operate, and maintain or repair 

or replace his, as applicable, the practices utilized by the 

nutrient credit-generating entity’s structural BMPs project in 

accordance with this chapter and the nutrient credit 
certification. The department shall use the funds from the 

certificate of deposit to pay for the performance of 

monitoring, operation, and maintenance or repair and 

replacement, as applicable, of the practices utilized by the 
nutrient credit-generating project. 

E. Whenever the approved cost estimate increases to an 

amount greater than the amount of the certificate of deposit, 

the owner shall, within 60 days of the increase, cause the 

amount of the certificate of deposit to be increased to an 

amount at least equal to the new estimate or obtain another 

certificate of deposit to cover the increase. F. The department 

shall return the original assignment and certificate of deposit, 
if applicable, to the issuing institution for termination when: 

1. The owner substitutes acceptable alternate evidence of 
financial assurance as specified in this part; or  

2. The department notifies the owner that the owner is no 

longer required by this part to maintain evidence of 
financial assurance for the structural BMPs. 

G. F. The assignment shall be worded as described in 

9VAC25-900-350, except that instructions in parentheses 

shall be replaced with the relevant information and the 
parentheses deleted. 

9VAC25-900-330. Insurance. 

A. An owner may demonstrate financial assurance for 

replacement applicable costs and for monitoring, repair, or 

replacement or operation and maintenance by obtaining 

insurance that conforms to the requirements of this section. 

The insurance shall be effective before the credits are released 

by the department for exchange. The insurer must be licensed 

pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. The owner shall provide the department 

with an original a signed copy of the insurance policy. The 

department shall be listed as an additional insured on the 

policy, but the department shall not be obligated for payment 
of the premium in any manner. 

B. The insurance policy shall guarantee that funds will be 

available to fund the replacement of the structural BMPs and 

reasonable and necessary costs for the operation and 

maintenance of the structural BMPs (i) for projects using 

wetland or stream restoration, the cost for fulfilling the 
requirements of the monitoring plan or (ii) for projects using 

structural BMPs, the reasonable and necessary cost of repair, 

replacement, or operation and maintenance or any 
combination of these activities. 

C. The owner shall compare the cost estimate with the 
liability limit of the insurance policy:  

1. Annually, at least 60 days prior to the anniversary date 

of the initial approval by the department of the release of 

credits for exchange. If the liability limit of the insurance 

policy is less than the amount of the cost estimate, the 

owner shall, by the anniversary date of the initial approval 
by the department of the release of credits for exchange, 

increase the liability limit of the insurance policy so that it 

at least equals the amount of the cost estimate, or obtain 

other financial assurance as specified in this part to cover 

the difference. If the liability limit of the insurance policy 

is greater than the total amount of the cost estimate, the 

owner may submit a written request to the director for 

permission to lower the liability limit of the insurance 
policy to the amount of the cost estimate; and  

2. Whenever the cost estimate changes. If the liability limit 

of the insurance policy is less than the amount of the new 

cost estimate, the owner shall, within 60 days of the change 
in the cost estimate, increase the liability limit of the 

insurance policy so that it at least equals the amount of the 

new estimate or obtain other financial assurance as 

specified in this part to cover the difference. If the liability 

limit of the insurance policy is greater than the total 

amount of the cost estimate, the owner may submit a 

written request to the director for permission to lower the 

liability limit of the insurance policy to the amount of the 
cost estimate. 

C. D. The insurance policy shall be issued and maintained 

for a face amount an overall liability limit at least equal to the 
current cost estimate for applicable costs for replacement and 

operation and maintenance. activities covered under the 

policy (i.e., monitoring, repair, and replacement or operation 

and maintenance). The term face amount "overall liability 

limit" means the total amount the insurer is obligated to pay 

under the policy. Actual payments by the insurer will not 

change the face amount overall liability limit although the 

insurer's future liability will be lowered by the amount of the 
payments. 
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D. E. The insurance policy shall provide that the insurer 

shall pay, as applicable, for the monitoring, repair, or 

replacement and or operation and maintenance of the 

structural BMPs nutrient credit-generating project's practices. 

Justification and documentation of the expenditures must be 

submitted to and approved by the director. Requests for 

payment will be granted by the insurer only if the remaining 

value of the policy is sufficient to cover the remaining costs 
of monitoring, repair, or replacement and or operation and 

maintenance of the structural BMP nutrient credit-generating 

project's practices, or if the director approves the payment. 

The insurer shall notify the director when a payment has been 
made. 

E. F. Each policy shall contain a provision allowing 

assignment of the policy to a successor owner. Such 

assignment may be conditional upon consent of the insurer, 
provided that such consent is not unreasonably refused.  

F. G. The insurance policy shall provide that the insurer may 

not cancel, or terminate, or fail to renew the policy except for 
failure to pay the premium. In addition, the policy shall 

provide that, subject to payment of premium, it will 

automatically renew on an annual basis for a period of up to 

10 years. The automatic renewal of the policy shall, at a 

minimum, provide the insured with the option of renewal at 

the face amount of the expiring policy. If there is a failure to 

pay the premium, the insurer may cancel or terminate the 

policy by sending notice of cancellation or termination by 

certified mail to the owner and to the department 120 days in 

advance of cancellation or termination. Within 60 days of 

receipt of notice from the insurer that it does not intend 

intends either to renew cancel or terminate the policy, the 
owner shall obtain alternate financial assurance and submit it 
to the department. 

G. H. The owner may cancel the insurance policy only if 

alternate financial assurance is substituted as specified in this 

part, or if the owner is no longer required to demonstrate 
financial responsibility. 

H. I. Within 10 days after commencement of a voluntary or 

involuntary proceeding under Title 11 (Bankruptcy) of the 

United States Code, naming an owner as debtor, the owner 

shall notify the director by certified mail of such 
commencement. 

I. J. The wording of the insurance endorsement shall be 

identical to the wording specified in 9VAC25-900-350. 

ACORD Certificates of Insurance are not valid proof of 
insurance. 

9VAC25-900-340. Incapacity of financial providers or 

owner. 

A. An owner that fulfills the requirements of this part by 

obtaining a trust fund, a letter of credit, a surety bond, or an 

insurance policy shall be deemed to be without the required 

financial assurance in the event of bankruptcy of the trustee 

or issuing institution, or a suspension or revocation of the 

authority of the trustee institution to act as trustee or of the 

institution issuing a surety bond, letter of credit, or insurance 

policy to issue such mechanisms. The owner or operator shall 

establish other financial assurance within 60 days of such 
event.  

B. An owner shall notify the director by certified mail of the 

commencement of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding 
under Title 11 (Bankruptcy) of the United States Code, 

naming the owner or operator as debtor, within 10 days after 

commencement of the proceeding. A guarantor of a corporate 

guarantee as specified in 9VAC20-70-220 shall make such a 

notification if he is named as debtor, as required under the 
terms of the corporate guarantee. 

9VAC25-900-350. Wording of the financial assurance 

mechanism. 

A. The wording of the financial assurance mechanisms shall 

be as provided in this section. 

B. Wording of trust agreements. 

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant applicable information for the nutrient credit-

generating project's practices (i.e., structural BMPs or 

wetland/stream restoration) and the non-relevant information 
and parentheses deleted.) 

TRUST AGREEMENT 

Trust agreement, the "Agreement," entered into as of (date) 

by and between (name of the owner), a (State) (corporation, 

partnership, association, proprietorship), the "Grantor," and 

(name of corporate trustee), a (State corporation) (national 
bank), the "Trustee."  

Whereas, the State Water Control Board has established 

certain regulations applicable to the Grantor, requiring that 

the owner of a nutrient credit-generating entity project must 

provide assurance that funds will be available when needed 

for ( operation and maintenance and/or repair or replacement 

of the entity, project's structural BMPs) (monitoring and/or 

long-term maintenance of the project's wetland/stream 
restoration),  

Whereas, the Grantor has elected to establish a trust to 

provide (all or part of) such financial assurance for the entity 
project identified herein, 

Whereas, the Grantor, acting through its duly authorized 

officers, has selected the Trustee to be the trustee under this 
agreement, and the Trustee is willing to act as trustee,  

Now, therefore, the Grantor and the Trustee agree as follows: 

Section 1. Definitions. As used in this Agreement: 

A. The term "fiduciary" means any person who exercises 

any power of control, management, or disposition or renders 

investment advice for a fee or other compensation, direct or 
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indirect, with respect to any moneys or other property of this 

trust fund, or has any authority or responsibility to do so, or 

who has any authority or responsibility in the administration 
of this trust fund. 

B. The term "Grantor" means the owner who enters into this 

Agreement and any successors or assigns of the Grantor.  

C. The term "Trustee" means the Trustee who enters into 

this Agreement and any successor Trustee.  

Section 2. Identification of Entity Project and Cost Estimates. 

This Agreement pertains to entity(ies) project(s) and cost 
estimates identified on attached Schedule A. 

(NOTE: On Schedule A, for each entity project, list, as 

applicable, name, address, and the current cost estimates for 

operation and maintenance and/or repair or replacement , for 

the project's structural BMPs; or the current cost estimates for 

the monitoring and/or long-term maintenance of the project's 

wetland/stream restoration, or portions thereof, for which 
financial assurance is demonstrated by this Agreement.)  

Section 3. Establishment of Fund. The Grantor and the 

Trustee hereby establish a trust fund, the "Fund," for the 

benefit of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The Grantor and the Trustee 

intend that no third party have access to the Fund except as 

herein provided. The Fund is established initially as property 

consisting of cash or securities, which are acceptable to the 

Trustee, described in Schedule B attached hereto. Such 

property and any other property subsequently transferred to 

the Trustee is referred to as the fund, together with all 

earnings and profits thereon, less any payments or 

distributions made by the Trustee pursuant to this Agreement. 

The Fund will be held by the Trustee, IN TRUST, as 
hereinafter provided. The Trustee undertakes no 

responsibility for the amount or adequacy of, nor any duty to 

collect from the Grantor, any payments to discharge any 

liabilities of the Grantor established by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality.  

Section 4. Payment for (operation and maintenance and/or 

repair or replacement for the project's structural BMPs) 

(monitoring and/or long-term maintenance for the project's 

wetland/stream restoration). The Trustee will make such 

payments from the Fund as the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia will direct, in writing, to 
provide for the payment of the costs of (operation and 

maintenance and/or repair or replacement ) for the project's 

structural BMPs) (monitoring and/or long-term maintenance 

for the project's wetland/stream restoration) of the entity 

project covered by this Agreement. The Trustee will 

reimburse the Grantor or other persons as specified by the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, from the Fund for (operation and maintenance 

and/or repair or replacement for the project's structural 

BMPs) (monitoring and/or long-term maintenance for the 

project's wetland/stream restoration) expenditures in such 

amounts as the Department of Environmental Quality will 

direct, in writing. In addition, the Trustee will refund to the 

Grantor such amounts as the Department of Environmental 

Quality specifies in writing. Upon refund, such funds will no 
longer constitute part of the Fund as defined herein. 

Section 5. Payments Comprising the Fund. Payments made to 

the Trustee for the fund will consist of cash or securities 
acceptable to the Trustee. 

Section 6. Trustee Management. The Trustee will invest and 

reinvest the principal and income of the Fund and keep the 

Fund invested as a single fund, without distinction between 

principal and income, in accordance with investment 

guidelines and objectives communicated in writing to the 

Trustee from time to time by the Grantor, subject, however, to 

the provisions of this Section. In investing, reinvesting, 

exchanging, selling and managing the Fund, the Trustee or 

any other fiduciary will discharge his duties with respect to 

the trust fund solely in the interest of the beneficiary and with 
the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under the 

circumstances then prevailing which persons of prudence, 

acting in a like capacity and familiar with such matters, would 

use in the conduct of any enterprise of a like character and 
with like aims; except that: 

A. Securities or other obligations of the Grantor, or any 

other owner of the entity, project, or any of their affiliates as 

defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended, 

15 USC § 80a-2(a), will not be acquired or held, unless they 

are securities or other obligations of the federal or a state 
government; 

B. The Trustee is authorized to invest the Fund in time or 

demand deposits of the Trustee, to the extent insured by an 
agency of the federal or state government; and 

C. The Trustee is authorized to hold cash awaiting 

investment or distribution uninvested for a reasonable time 
and without liability for the payment of interest thereon. 

Section 7. Commingling and Investment. The Trustee is 
expressly authorized in its discretion: 

A. To transfer from time to time any or all of the assets of 

the Fund to any common, commingled or collective trust fund 

created by the Trustee in which the Fund is eligible to 

participate subject to all of the provisions thereof, to be 
commingled with the assets of other trusts participating 

herein. To the extent of the equitable share of the Fund in any 

such commingled trust, such commingled trust will be part of 
the Fund; and 

B. To purchase shares in any investment company registered 

under the Investment Company Act of 1940, 15 USC § 80a-1 

et seq., or one which may be created, managed, underwritten, 

or to which investment advice is rendered or the shares of 
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which are sold by the Trustee. The Trustees may vote such 
shares in its discretion. 

Section 8. Express Powers of Trustee. Without in any way 

limiting the powers and discretions conferred upon the 

Trustee by the other provisions of this Agreement or by law, 
the Trustee is expressly authorized and empowered: 

A. To sell, exchange, convey, transfer or otherwise dispose 

of any property held by it, by private contract or at public 
auction. No person dealing with the Trustee will be bound to 

see to the application of the purchase money or to inquire into 

the validity or expediency of any such sale or other 
dispositions; 

B. To make, execute, acknowledge and deliver any and all 

documents of transfer and conveyance and any and all other 

instruments that may be necessary or appropriate to carry out 
the powers herein granted; 

C. To register any securities held in the fund in its own 

name or in the name of a nominee and to hold any security in 

bearer form or in book entry, or to combine certificates 
representing such securities with certificates of the same issue 

held by the Trustee in other fiduciary capacities, or to deposit 

or arrange for the deposit of such securities in a qualified 

central depository even though, when so deposited, such 

securities may be merged and held in bulk in the name of the 

nominee of such depository with other securities deposited 

therein by another person, or to deposit or arrange for the 

deposit of any securities issued by the United States 

government, or any agency or instrumentality thereof with a 

Federal Reserve Bank, but the books and records of the 

Trustee will at all times show that all such securities are part 
of the Fund; 

D. To deposit any cash in the fund in interest-bearing 

accounts maintained or savings certificates issued by the 

Trustee, in its separate corporate capacity, or in any other 

banking institution affiliated with the Trustee, to the extent 
insured by an agency of the Federal or State government; and 

E. To compromise or otherwise adjust all claims in favor of 
or against the Fund. 

Section 9. Taxes and Expenses. All taxes of any kind that 

may be assessed or levied against or in respect of the Fund 

and all brokerage commissions incurred by the Fund will be 

paid from the Fund. All other expenses incurred by the 
Trustee in connection with the administration of this Trust, 

including fees for legal services rendered to the Trustee, the 

compensation of the Trustee to the extent not paid directly by 

the Grantor, and all other proper charges and disbursements 
of the Trustee will be paid from the Fund. 

Section 10. Annual Valuation. The Trustee will annually, at 

the end of the month coincident with or preceding the 

anniversary date of establishment of the Fund, furnish the 

Grantor and to the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, a 

statement confirming the value of the Trust. Any securities in 

the Fund will be valued at market value as of no more than 30 

days prior to the date of the statement. The failure of the 

Grantor to object in writing to the Trustee within 90 days 

after the statement has been furnished to the Grantor and the 

director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia will constitute a conclusively 
binding assent by the Grantor, barring the Grantor from 

asserting any claim or liability against the Trustee with 
respect to matters disclosed in the statement. 

Section 11. Advice of Counsel. The Trustee may from time to 

time consult with counsel, who may be counsel to the 

Grantor, with respect to any question arising as to the 

construction of this Agreement or any action to be taken 

hereunder. The Trustee will be fully protected, to the extent 
permitted by law, in acting upon the advice of counsel. 

Section 12. Trustee Compensation. The Trustee will be 

entitled to reasonable compensation for its services as agreed 
upon in writing from time to time with the Grantor. 

Section 13. Successor Trustee. The Trustee may resign or the 

Grantor may replace the Trustee, but such resignation or 

replacement shall not be effective until the Grantor has 

appointed a successor trustee and this successor accepts the 

appointment. The successor trustee shall have the same 

powers and duties as those conferred upon the Trustee 

hereunder. Upon acceptance of the appointment by the 

successor trustee, the Trustee will assign, transfer and pay 

over to the successor trustee the funds and properties then 

constituting the Fund. If for any reason the grantor cannot or 

does not act in the event of the resignation of the Trustee, the 
Trustee may apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for the 

appointment of a successor trustee or for instructions. The 

successor trustee and the date on which he assumes 

administration of the trust will be specified in writing and 

sent to the Grantor, the director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, and the 

present trustees by certified mail 10 days before such change 

becomes effective. Any expenses incurred by the Trustee as a 

result of any of the acts contemplated by this section will be 
paid as provided in Section 9. 

Section 14. Instructions to the Trustee. All orders, requests 

and instructions by the Grantor to the Trustee will be in 

writing, signed by such persons as are designated in the 

attached Exhibit A or such other designees as the Grantor 

may designate by amendment to Exhibit A. The Trustee will 

be fully protected in acting without inquiry in accordance 

with the Grantor's orders, requests and instructions. All 

orders, requests, and instructions by the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, to the Trustee will be in writing, signed by the 

Director and the Trustee will act and will be fully protected in 

acting in accordance with such orders, requests and 
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instructions. The Trustee will have the right to assume, in the 

absence of written notice to the contrary, that no event 

constituting a change or a termination of the authority of any 

person to act on behalf of the Grantor or the Commonwealth 

of Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality hereunder 

has occurred. The Trustee will have no duty to act in the 

absence of such orders, requests and instructions from the 

Grantor and/or the Commonwealth of Virginia's Department 
of Environmental Quality, except as provided for herein. 

Section 15. Notice of Nonpayment. The Trustee will notify 

the Grantor and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, by 

certified mail within 10 days following the expiration of the 

30-day period after the anniversary of the establishment of the 

Trust, if no payment is received from the Grantor during that 

period. After the pay-in period is completed, the Trustee is 
not required to send a notice of nonpayment. 

Section 16. Amendment of Agreement. This Agreement may be 

amended by an instrument in writing executed by the Grantor, 
the Trustee, and the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the 
Trustee and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, if the Grantor ceases to 
exist. 

Section 17. Irrevocability and Termination. Subject to the 

right of the parties to amend this Agreement as provided in 

Section 16, this Trust will be irrevocable and will continue 

until terminated at the written agreement of the Grantor, the 

Trustee, and the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, or by the Trustee and 

the Director if the Grantor ceases to exist. Upon termination 

of the Trust, all remaining trust property, less final trust 
administration expenses, will be delivered to the Grantor. 

Section 18. Immunity and Indemnification. The Trustee will 

not incur personal liability of any nature in connection with 

any act or omission, made in good faith, in the administration 

of this Trust, or in carrying out any directions by the Grantor 

or the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, issued in accordance with this 

Agreement. The Trustee will be indemnified and saved 

harmless by the Grantor or from the Trust Fund, or both, from 

and against any personal liability to which the Trustee may be 

subjected by reason of any act or conduct in its official 

capacity, including all expenses reasonably incurred in its 
defense in the event the Grantor fails to provide such defense. 

Section 19. Choice of Law. This Agreement will be 

administered, construed and enforced according to the laws of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Section 20. Interpretation. As used in the Agreement, words 

in the singular include the plural and words in the plural 

include the singular. The descriptive headings for each 

section of this Agreement will not affect the interpretation of 
the legal efficacy of this Agreement. 

In witness whereof the parties have caused this Agreement to 

be executed by their respective officers duly authorized and 

their corporate seals to be hereunto affixed and attested as of 

the date first above written. The parties below certify that the 

wording of this Agreement is substantively identical to the 

wording specified in 9VAC25-900-350 B, as such regulations 
were constituted on the date shown immediately below.  

(Signature of Grantor)  

By: (Title) (Date) 

Attest:  

(Title) (Date) 

(Seal)  

(Signature of Trustee)  

By  

Attest:  

(Title)  

(Seal) (Date) 

Certification of Acknowledgment:  

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  

STATE OF __________  

CITY/COUNTY OF __________  

On this date, before me personally came (owner) to me known, who 
being by me duly sworn, did depose and say that she/he resides at 
(address), that she/he is (title) of (corporation), the corporation 
described in and which executed the above instrument; that she/he 
knows the seal of said corporation; that the seal affixed to such 
instrument is such corporate seal; that it was so affixed by order of 

the Board of Directors of said corporation, and that she/he signed 
her/his name thereto by like order. 

(Signature of Notary Public)  

C. Wording of surety bond guaranteeing performance or 
payment.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with the 
relevant applicable information for the nutrient credit-generating 

project's practices (i.e., structural BMPs or wetland/stream 
restoration) and the non-relevant information and parentheses 
deleted.) 

PERFORMANCE OR PAYMENT BOND  

Date bond executed: __________  

Effective date: __________  

Principal: (legal name and business address) _____________  

Type of organization: (insert "individual," "joint venture," 
"partnership," or "corporation") _____________  

State of incorporation: __________  

Surety: (name and business address) _____________  
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Name, address, and (operation and maintenance and/or 
replacement) cost estimate or estimates for the entity project: 
_____________  

Penal sum of bond: $________  

Surety's bond number: __________  

Know all men by these present, That we, the Principal and 

Surety hereto are firmly bound to the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, 
(hereinafter called the Department) in the above penal sum 

for the payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, 

executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and 

severally; provided that, where the Surety(ies) are 

corporations acting as co-sureties, we, the Sureties, bind 

ourselves in such sum "jointly and severally" only for the 

purpose of allowing a joint action or actions against any or all 

of us, and for all other purposes each Surety binds itself, 

jointly and severally with the Principal, for the payment of 

each sum only as is set forth opposite the name of such 

Surety, but if no limit of liability is indicated, the limit of 
liability shall be the full amount of the penal sum.  

Whereas, said Principal is required to have from the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, in order to own or operate the, nutrient credit-
generating entity project identified above, and  

Whereas, said Principal is required to provide financial 

assurance for (operation and maintenance and/or repair or 

replacement for the project's structural BMPs) (monitoring 

and/or long-term maintenance for the project's wetland/stream 

restoration) of the entity project as a condition of an order 
issued by the department, 

Now, therefore the conditions of this obligation are such that 

if the Principal shall faithfully perform (operation and 

maintenance and/or repair or replacement of structural BMPs) 

(monitoring wetland/stream restoration), whenever required 

to do so, of the entity project identified above in accordance 

with the order or the (operation and maintenance and/or repair 

or replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring 

wetland/stream restoration) submitted to receive and other 

requirements of as such plan and may be amended or renewed 

pursuant to all applicable laws, statutes, rules, and 

regulations, as such laws, statutes, rules, and regulations may 
be amended,  

Or, if the Principal shall faithfully perform (operation and 

maintenance and/or repair or replacement of structural BMPs) 

(monitoring wetland/stream restoration) following an order to 

begin (operation and maintenance and/or repair or 

replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring wetland/stream 

restoration) issued by the Commonwealth of Virginia's 

Department of Environmental Quality or by a court, or 
following a notice of termination of the permit,  

Or, if the Principal shall provide alternate financial assurance 

as specified in the Department's regulations and obtain the 

director's written approval of such assurance, within 90 days 

of the date notice of cancellation is received by the Director 

of the Department of Environmental Quality from the Surety, 

then this obligation will be null and void, otherwise it is to 

remain in full force and effect for the life of the nutrient 
credit-generating entity project identified above. 

The Surety shall become liable on this bond obligation only 

when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions 
described above. Upon notification by the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 

Virginia, that the Principal has been found in violation of the 

requirements of the Department's regulations, the Surety must 

either perform (operation and maintenance and/or repair or 

replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring wetland/stream 

restoration) in accordance with the approved plan and other 

requirements or forfeit the (operation and maintenance and/or 

repair or replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring 

wetland/stream restoration) amount guaranteed for the 

nutrient credit-generating entity project to the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. 

Upon notification by the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, that the 

Principal has been found in violation of an order to begin 

operation and maintenance and/or replacement) the Surety 

must either perform (operation and maintenance and/or repair 

or replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring 

wetland/stream restoration) in accordance with the order or 

forfeit the amount of the (operation and maintenance and/or 

repair or replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring 

wetland/stream restoration) guaranteed for the nutrient credit-
generating entity project to the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The Surety hereby waives notification of amendments to the 

operation and maintenance and/or replacement, orders, 

applicable laws, statutes, rules, and regulations and agrees 

that such amendments shall in no way alleviate its obligation 
on this bond.  

For purposes of this bond, (operation and maintenance and/or 

repair or replacement of structural BMPs) (monitoring 

wetland/stream restoration) shall be deemed to have been 

completed when the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, 

determines that the conditions of the approved plan have been 
met.  

The liability of the Surety shall not be discharged by any 

payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and 

until such payment or payments shall amount in the aggregate 

to the penal sum of the bond, but the obligation of the Surety 

hereunder shall not exceed the amount of said penal sum 

unless the Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, should prevail in an 

action to enforce the terms of this bond. In this event, the 

Surety shall pay, in addition to the penal sum due under the 

terms of the bond, all interest accrued from the date the 
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Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

Commonwealth of Virginia, first ordered the Surety to 

perform. The accrued interest shall be calculated at the 

judgment rate of interest pursuant to § 6.2-302 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

The Surety may cancel the bond by sending written notice of 

cancellation to the owner and to the Director of the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 
Virginia, provided, however, that cancellation cannot occur 

(1) during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the 

notice of cancellation by the director as shown on the signed 
return receipt; or (2) while an enforcement action is pending. 

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written 

notice to the Surety, provided, however, that no such notice 

shall become effective until the Surety receives written 

authorization for termination of the bond by the Director of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, Commonwealth of 
Virginia.  

In witness whereof, the Principal and Surety have executed 

this Performance Bond and have affixed their seals on the 
date set forth above. 

The persons whose signatures appear below hereby certify 

that they are authorized to execute this surety bond on behalf 

of the Principal and Surety and I hereby certify that the 

wording of this surety bond is substantively identical to the 

wording specified in 9VAC25-900-350 C as such regulations 
were constituted on the date shown immediately below.  

Principal  

Signature(s): __________  

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________  

Corporate Surety  

Name and Address: __________  

State of Incorporation: __________  

Liability Limit: $___  

Signature(s): __________  

Name(s) and Title(s): (typed)__________  

Corporate Seal:  

D. Wording of irrevocable standby letter of credit.  

(NOTE: Instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with 

the relevant applicable information for the nutrient credit-

generating project's practices (i.e., structural BMPs or 

wetland/stream restoration) and the non-relevant information 
and parentheses deleted.) 

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT  

Director  

Department of Environmental Quality  

P.O. Box 1105 

Richmond, Virginia 23218 

Dear (Sir or Madam):  

We hereby establish our Irrevocable Letter of Credit No...... 

in your favor at the request and for the account of (owner's 

name and address) up to the aggregate amount of (in words) 
U.S. dollars $____, available upon presentation of  

1. Your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of credit 

No ____ together with  

2. Your signed statement declaring that the amount of the 

draft is payable pursuant to regulations issued under the 

authority of the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

The following amounts are included in the amount of this 

letter of credit: (Insert the nutrient credit-generating entity 

project name and address, and the operation and maintenance 

and/or replacement appropriate cost estimate or estimates, or 

portions thereof, for which financial assurance is 
demonstrated by this letter of credit.) 

This letter of credit is effective as of (date) and will expire on 

(date at least one year later), but such expiration date will be 
automatically extended for a period of (at least one year) on 

(date) and on each successive expiration date, unless, at least 120 
days before the current expiration date, we notify you and 

(owner or operator's name) by certified mail that we decide not 
to extend the Letter of Credit beyond the current expiration date. 

In the event you are so notified, unused portion of the credit will 
be available upon presentation of your sight draft for 120 days 

after the date of receipt by you as shown on the signed return 
receipt or while a compliance procedure is pending, whichever is 
later. 

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in 

compliance with the terms of this credit, we will duly honor such 
draft upon presentation to us, and we will pay to you the amount 
of the draft promptly and directly. 

I hereby certify that I am authorized to execute this letter of 

credit on behalf of (issuing institution) and I hereby certify 

that the wording of this letter of credit is substantively 

identical to the wording specified in 9VAC25-900-350 D as 
such regulations were constituted on the date shown 
immediately below.  

Attest:  

(Print name and title of official of issuing institution) (Date)  

(Signature) (Date) 

This credit is subject to the most recent edition of the 

Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, 

International Chamber of Commerce Publication No. 600, 

and any subsequent revisions thereof approved by a congress 

of the International Chamber of Commerce and adhered to by 
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us. If this credit expires during an interruption of business as 

described in Article 36 of said Publication 600, the bank 

hereby specifically agrees to effect payment if this credit is 

drawn against within thirty (30) days after resumption of our 
business. 

E. Assignment of certificate of deposit account.  

City _______________________ ____________, 20___  

FOR VALUE RECEIVED, the undersigned assigns all right, 

title and interest to the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, Commonwealth of Virginia, and its successors and 

assigns the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 

the principal amount of the instrument, including all moneys 

deposited now or in the future to that instrument, indicated 
below:  

This assignment includes all interest now and hereafter 
accrued.  

Certificate of Deposit Account No. _____________________  

This assignment is given as security to the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality in the amount of 
_______________________ Dollars ($_____________).  

Continuing Assignment. This assignment shall continue to 

remain in effect for all subsequent terms of the automatically 
renewable certificate of deposit.  

Assignment of Document. The undersigned also assigns any 

certificate or other document evidencing ownership to the 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.  

Additional Security. This assignment shall secure the 

payment of any financial obligation of the (name of owner) to 

the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality for 

(operation and maintenance and/or repair or replacement of 

structural BMPs) (monitoring wetland/stream restoration) at 
the (entity (project name) located (physical address). 

Application of Funds. The undersigned agrees that all or any 

part of the funds of the indicated account or instrument may 

be applied to the payment of any and all financial assurance 

obligations of (name of owner) to the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality for (operation and maintenance and/or 

repair or replacement) (monitoring) at the (entity (project 

name and address). The undersigned authorizes the Virginia 

Department of Environmental Quality to withdraw any 

principal amount on deposit in the indicated account or 

instrument including any interest, if indicated, and to apply it 
in the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality's 

discretion to fund (operation and maintenance and/or repair or 

replacement) (monitoring) at the (entity (project name) or in 

the event of (owner) failure to comply with the 9VAC25-900. 

The undersigned agrees that the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality may withdraw any principal and/or 

interest from the indicated account or instrument without 

demand or notice. (The undersigned) agrees to assume any 

and all loss of penalty due to federal regulations concerning 

the early withdrawal of funds. Any partial withdrawal of 
principal or interest shall not release this assignment.  

The party or parties to this Assignment set their hand or seals, 

or if corporate, has caused this assignment to be signed in its 

corporate name by its duly authorized officers and its seal to 

be affixed by authority of its Board of Directors the day and 
year above written.  

 SEAL  

(Owner)   

(print owner's name)   

 SEAL 

(Owner)   

(print owner's name)   

THE FOLLOWING SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY 

THE BRANCH OR LENDING OFFICE:  

The signature(s) as shown above compare correctly with the 

name(s) as shown on record as owner(s) of the Certificate of 

Deposit indicated above. The above assignment has been 

properly recorded by placing a hold in the amount of $ 

_______________________ for the benefit of the 
Department of Environmental Quality.  

The accrued interest on the Certificate of Deposit indicated 

above shall be maintained to capitalize versus being mailed 
by check or transferred to a deposit account.  

(Signature) (Date) 

(print name)  

(Title)  

F. Wording of insurance endorsement.  

ENDORSEMENT.  

[ (NOTE: The instructions Instructions in brackets 

parentheses are to be replaced by with the relevant applicable 

information and for the brackets nutrient credit-generating 

project's practices (i.e., structural BMPs or restoration) and 
the non-relevant information and parentheses deleted.)  

Name: [ (name of each covered location ] ) 

Address: [ (address of each covered location ] ) 

Policy number:  

Period of coverage: [ (current policy period ] ) 

Name of Insurer:  

Address of Insurer:  

Name of insured:  
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Address of insured:  

Endorsement: 

1. This endorsement certifies that the policy to which the 

endorsement is attached provides insurance covering the 

(operation and maintenance and/or repair or replacement of 

the nutrient credit-generating project's structural BMPs) 

(monitoring of the nutrient credit-generating project's 

wetland/stream restoration) in connection with the 
insured's obligation to demonstrate financial responsibility 
under the 9VAC25-900). 

[ (List the name(s) and address(es) of the nutrient credit-

generating entity(s) project(s)) for [insert: "operation (the 

operation and maintenance and/or repair or replacement of 

the nutrient credit-generating entity project's structural 

BMPs) (monitoring of the nutrient credit-generating 

project's wetland/stream restoration) in accordance with 

and subject to the limits of liability, exclusions, conditions, 
and other terms of the policy; 

The limits of liability are [insert the (provide the dollar 

amount of the operation and maintenance, monitoring, 

and/or repair or replacement), exclusive of legal defense 

costs, which, if applicable, are subject to a separate limit 

under the policy. This coverage is provided under (provide 

the policy number). The effective date of said policy is 
date (insert the effective date). 

2. The insurance afforded with respect to such occurrences 

is subject to all of the terms and conditions of the policy; 

provided, however, that any provisions inconsistent with 

subsections (a) through (d) for occurrence policies and (a) 

through (e) for claims-made policies of this paragraph 2 

are hereby amended to conform with subsections (a) 
through (e):  

a. Bankruptcy or insolvency of the insured shall not 

relieve the insurer of its obligations under the policy to 
which this endorsement is attached.  

b. The insurer is liable for the payment of amounts within 

any deductible applicable to the policy to the provider of 

monitoring, operation and maintenance and/or repair or 

replacement, with a right of reimbursement by the 

insured for any such payment made by the insurer. This 

provision does not apply with respect to that amount of 

any deductible for which coverage is demonstrated under 
another mechanism or combination of mechanisms as 
specified in 9VAC25-900. 

c. Whenever requested by the State Water Control Board, 

the insurer agrees to furnish to State Water Control 

Board a signed duplicate original of the policy and all 
endorsements. 

d. The insurer may not fail to renew cancel or terminate 

the policy during the policy period except for failure to 

pay the premium. The policy shall automatically renew at 

the department's discretion on an annual basis for a 

period of up to ten years. The automatic renewal of the 

policy shall, at a minimum, provide the insured with the 

option of renewal at the face amount of the expiring 
policy. 

e. The insured may cancel the insurance policy only if 

alternate financial assurance is substituted as specified in 

9VAC25-900, or if the owner is no longer required to 
demonstrate financial responsibility in accordance with 
9VAC25-900. 

f. Cancellation for nonpayment of premium or 

misrepresentation by the insured will be effective only 

upon written notice and only after expiration of a 

minimum of 120 days after a copy of such written notice 

is received by the insured and the State Water Control 
Board.  

[(Insert for claims made policies: ] ) 

g. The insurance covers claims otherwise covered by the 

policy that are reported to the insurer within six months 
of the effective date of cancellation or nonrenewal of the 

policy except where the new or renewed policy has the 

same retroactive date or a retroactive date earlier than 

that of the prior policy, and which arise out of any 

covered occurrence that commenced after the policy 

retroactive date, if applicable, and prior to such policy 

renewal or termination date. Claims reported during such 

extended reporting period are subject to the terms, 

conditions, limits, including limits of liability, and 
exclusions of the policy.  

I hereby certify that the wording of this endorsement is in no 

respect less favorable than the coverage specified in 
9VAC25-900. I further certify that the insurer is licensed to 

transact the business of insurance or eligible to provide 

insurance as an excess or surplus lines insurer in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

[( Signature of authorized representative of insurer ] )  

[( Name of the person signing ] ) 

[( Title of the person signing ), authorized representative of 
[( name of the insurer ] ) 

[( Address of the representative ] ) 

(Title of person signing) 

Signature of witness or notary: 

(Date) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-900) 

[ DCR Specifications for No. FR-3, Woodland Buffer Filter 
Area, Virginia Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program 
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Year ] 2014, July 2013, [ 2018 (rev. March 2016), Department of 
Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. SL-8B, Small Grain Cover Crop 
for Nutrient Management and Residue Management, Virginia 

Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year ] 2014, 
July 2013, [ 2018 (rev. March 2017), Department of 
Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. WP-2, Stream Protection, Virginia 

Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year ] 2014, 
July 2013, [ 2018 (rev. March 2016), Department of 
Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. WQ-1, Grass Filter Strips, Virginia 

Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year ] 2014, 
July 2013, [ 2018 (rev. March 2016), Department of 
Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. FR-3, Woodland Buffer Filter 

Area, Virginia Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, 

Program Year 2020 (rev. April 2019), Department of 
Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. SL-8B, Small Grain Cover Crop 

for Nutrient Management and Residue Management, Virginia 
Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year 2020 (rev. 
April 2019), Department of Conservation and Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. WP-2W, Stream Protection, 

Virginia Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year 
2020 (rev. April 2019), Department of Conservation and 
Recreation 

DCR Specifications for No. WQ-1, Grass Filter Strips, Virginia 

Agricultural Cost Share BMP Manual, Program Year 2020 (rev. 
April 2019), Department of Conservation and Recreation ]  

Virginia's Forestry Best Management Practices for Water 

Quality Technical Manual, Fifth Edition 2011, Department of 

Forestry. Available at http://www.dof.virginia.gov/ 
infopubs/BMP-Technical-Guide_pub.pdf. 

Virginia Chesapeake Bay TMDL Phase I Watershed 

Implementation Plan, November 29, 2010, Department of 
Environmental Quality 

Virginia Chesapeake Bay TMDL Phase II Watershed 

Implementation Plan, March 30, 2012, Department of 
Environmental Quality 

[ Virginia Agricultural BMP Cost Share Manual, Program 

Year 2020, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
Division of Soil and Water Conservation, Richmond, Virginia 

Virginia Invasive Plant Species List, 2014, Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage, 
Richmond, Virginia 

Field Office Technical Guide, Natural Resources 

Conservation Service, United States Department of 

Agriculture, Washington, D.C. (Web-based document 

available at the following internet address: 
https://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/%23/details) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3379; Filed June 9, 2020, 4:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-

10, 12VAC5-371-300).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 846 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow nursing facility employees who are 

authorized to possess, distribute, or administer 

medications to patients to store, dispense, or administer 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to a patient who has been 

issued a valid written certification for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and has registered with the 
Board of Pharmacy. 

Part I  

Definitions and General Information  

12VAC5-371-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable 

confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting 

physical harm, pain or mental anguish, or deprivation by an 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60fa2003379~7R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60fa2003379~7R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60fa2003379~7R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60fa2003379~7R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9babd003379~8R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9babd003379~8R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9babd003379~8R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9babd003379~8R.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fcd36003379~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fcd36003379~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fcd36003379~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fcd36003379~80.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b5f1003379~90.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b5f1003379~90.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4b5f1003379~90.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://www.dof.virginia.gov/infopubs/BMP-Technical-Guide_pub.pdf
http://www.dof.virginia.gov/infopubs/BMP-Technical-Guide_pub.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dac9003379~7c.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dac9003379~7c.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dac9003379~7c.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=776e6003379~6&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=776e6003379~6&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=776e6003379~6&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9eb7c003379~8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9eb7c003379~8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9eb7c003379~8l.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8ee1003379~104.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8ee1003379~104.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8ee1003379~104.pdf&typ=40&actno=003379&mime=application/pdf
https://efotg.sc.egov.usda.gov/%23/details
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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individual, including caretaker, of goods or services that are 

necessary to attain or maintain physical, mental, and 

psychosocial well-being. This includes verbal, sexual, 
physical or mental abuse.  

"Administrator" means the individual licensed by the 

Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and who 

has the necessary authority and responsibility for 
management of the nursing facility.  

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a nursing 

facility, including orientation, rules and requirements, and 

assignment to appropriate staff. Admission does not include 
readmission to the facility after a temporary absence.  

"Advance directive" means (i) a witnessed written 

document, voluntarily executed by the declarant in 

accordance with the requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code 

of Virginia, or (ii) a witnessed oral statement, made by the 

declarant subsequent to the time he is diagnosed as suffering 

from a terminal condition and in accordance with the 
provision of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Assessment" means the process of evaluating a resident for 

the purpose of developing a profile on which to base services. 

Assessment includes information gathering, both initially and 

on an ongoing basis, designed to assist the multi-disciplinary 

staff in determining the resident's need for care, and the 
collection and review of resident-specific data.  

"Attending physician" means a physician currently licensed 

by the Virginia Board of Medicine and identified by the 

resident, or legal representative, as having the primary 

responsibility in determining the delivery of the resident's 
medical care.  

"Board" means the Board of Health.  

"Cannabidiol oil" means the same as the term is defined in 
subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified nurse aide" means the title that can only be used 

by individuals who have met the requirements to be certified, 

as defined by the Virginia Board of Nursing, and who are 
listed in the nurse aide registry.  

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug (a 

drug prescribed to control mood, mental status, or behavior) 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat medical symptoms or symptoms from mental illness or 

mental retardation that prohibit an individual from reaching 
his highest level of functioning.  

"Clinical record" means the documentation of health care 

services, whether physical or mental, rendered by direct or 

indirect resident-provider interactions. An account compiled 

by physicians and other health care professionals of a variety 

of resident health information, such as assessments and care 

details, including testing results, medicines, and progress 
notes.  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Complaint" means any allegation received by the 

Department of Health other than an incident reported by the 

facility staff. Such allegations include abuse, neglect, 

exploitation, or violation of state or federal laws or 
regulations.  

"Comprehensive plan of care" means a written action plan, 

based on assessment data, that identifies a resident's clinical 
and psychosocial needs, the interventions to meet those 

needs, treatment goals that are measurable and that 

documents the resident's progress toward meeting the stated 
goals.  

"Construction" means the building of a new nursing facility 

or the expansion, remodeling, or alteration of an existing 

nursing facility and includes the initial and subsequent 
equipping of the facility.  

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Dignity" means staff, in their interactions with residents, 

carry out activities which assist a resident in maintaining and 
enhancing the resident's self-esteem and self-worth.  

"Discharge" means the process by which the resident's 
services, delivered by the nursing facility, are terminated.  

"Discharge summary" means the final written summary of 

the services delivered, goals achieved and post-discharge plan 

or final disposition at the time of discharge from the nursing 

facility. The discharge summary becomes a part of the 
clinical record.  

"Drug" means (i) articles or substances recognized in the 

official United States "Drug" Pharmacopoeia National 

Formulary or official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the 

United States, or any supplement to any of them; (ii) articles 
or substances intended for the use in the diagnosis, cure, 

mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in man or other 

animal; (iii) articles or substances, other than food, intended 

to affect the structure or any function of the body of man or 

other animal; and (iv) articles or substances intended for use 

as a component of any article specified in clause (i), (ii), or 

(iii). This does not include devices or their components, parts 
or accessories.  

"Electronic monitoring" means an unmanned video 

recording system with or without audio capability installed in 
the room of a resident.  

"Emergency preparedness plan" means a component of a 

nursing facility's safety management program designed to 

manage the consequences of natural disasters or other 

emergencies that disrupt the nursing facility's ability to 
provide care.  

"Employee" means a person who performs a specific job 

function for financial remuneration on a full-time or part-time 
basis.  
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"Facility-managed" means an electronic monitoring system 

that is installed, controlled, and maintained by the nursing 

facility with the knowledge of the resident or resident's 
responsible party in accordance with the facility's policies.  

"Full-time" means a minimum of 35 hours or more worked 

per week in the nursing facility.  

"Guardian" means a person legally invested with the 

authority and charged with the duty of taking care of the 
resident, managing his property, and protecting the rights of 

the resident who has been declared by the circuit court to be 

incapacitated and incapable of administering his own affairs. 

The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by the 

court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 

resident in need of a guardian has been determined to be 
incapacitated.  

"Medication" means any substance, whether prescription or 

over-the-counter drug, that is taken orally or injected, 
inserted, topically applied, or otherwise administered.  

"Neglect" means a failure to provide timely and consistent 

services, treatment, or care to a resident necessary to obtain or 

maintain the resident's health, safety, or comfort or a failure 

to provide timely and consistent goods and services necessary 
to avoid physical harm, mental anguish, or mental illness.  

"Nursing facility" means any nursing home as defined in 
§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia.  

"OLC" means the Office of Licensure and Certification of 
the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, trust, or other legal entity, whether governmental 
or private, owning, managing, or operating a nursing facility.  

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical 

or mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 

adjacent to the resident's body that the individual cannot 

remove easily which restricts freedom of movement or 
normal access to one's own body.  

"Policy" means a written statement that describes the 

principles and guides and governs the activities, procedures 
and operations of the nursing facility.  

"Procedures" means a series of activities designed to 

implement program goals or policy, which may or may not be 

written, depending upon the specific requirements within this 

chapter. For inspection purposes, there must be evidence that 
procedures are actually implemented.  

"Progress note" means a written statement, signed and dated 

by the person delivering the care, consisting of a pertinent, 

chronological report of the resident's care. A progress note is 
a component of the clinical record.  

"Qualified" means meeting current legal requirements of 

licensure, registration or certification in Virginia; having 

appropriate training and experience commensurate with 

assigned responsibilities; or, if referring to a professional, 

possessing an appropriate degree or having documented 
equivalent education, training or experience.  

"Quality assurance" means systematic activities performed 

to determine the extent to which clinical practice meets 

specified standards and values with regard to such things as 

appropriateness of service assignment and duration, 
appropriateness of facilities and resources utilized, adequacy 

and clinical soundness of care given. Such activities should 

also assure changes in practice that do not meet accepted 

standards. Examples of quality assurance activities include 

the establishment of facility-wide goals for resident care, the 

assessment of the procedures used to achieve the goals, and 
the proposal of solutions to problems in attaining those goals.  

"Readmission" means a planned return to the nursing facility 

following a temporary absence for hospitalization, off-site 

visit or therapeutic leave, or a return stay or confinement 

following a formal discharge terminating a previous 
admission.  

"Resident" means the primary service recipient, admitted to 

the nursing facility, whether that person is referred to as a 
client, consumer, patient, or other term.  

"Resident-managed" means an electronic monitoring system 

that is installed, controlled, and maintained by the resident 
with the knowledge of the nursing facility.  

"Responsible person or party" means an individual 

authorized by the resident to act for him as an official 

delegate or agent. The responsible person may be a guardian, 

payee, family member or any other individual who has 

arranged for the care of the resident and assumed this 
responsibility. The responsible person or party may or may 

not be related to the resident. A responsible person or party is 
not a guardian unless so appointed by the court.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process of monitoring the 

skills, competencies and performance of the individual 

supervised and providing regular, face-to-face guidance and 
instruction.  

"THC-A oil" means the same as the term is defined in 

subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to the nursing facility.  

12VAC5-371-300. Pharmaceutical services.  

A. Provision shall be made for the procurement, storage, 

dispensing, and accounting of drugs and other pharmacy 

products in compliance with 18VAC110-20. This may be by 

arrangement with an off-site pharmacy, but must include 
provisions for 24-hour emergency service.  

B. Each nursing facility shall develop and implement 

policies and procedures for the handling of drugs and 
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biologicals, including procurement, storage, administration, 
self-administration and disposal of drugs.  

C. Each nursing facility shall have a written agreement with 

a qualified pharmacist to provide consultation on all aspects 
of the provision of pharmacy services in the facility.  

D. The consultant pharmacist shall make regularly 

scheduled visits, at least monthly, to the nursing facility for a 

sufficient number of hours to carry out the function of the 
agreement.  

E. No Excluding cannabidiol oil and THC-A oil,no drug or 

medication shall be administered to any resident without a 

valid verbal order or a written, dated and signed order from a 

physician, dentist or, podiatrist, nurse practitioner, or 
physician assistant, licensed in Virginia. 

F. Nursing facility employees who are authorized to possess, 

distribute, or administer medications to residents may store, 

dispense, or administer cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to a 
resident who has: 

1. Been issued a valid written certification for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in accordance with 
subsection B of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Registered with the Board of Pharmacy. 

F. G. Verbal orders for drugs or medications shall only be 
given to a licensed nurse, pharmacist or physician.  

G. H. Drugs and medications not limited as to time or 

number of doses when ordered shall be automatically 

stopped, according to the written policies of the nursing 
facility, and the attending physician shall be notified.  

H. I. Each resident's medication regimen shall be reviewed 

by a pharmacist licensed by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

Any irregularities identified by the pharmacist shall be 
reported to the physician and the director of nursing, and their 
response documented.  

I. J. Medication orders shall be reviewed at least every 60 

days by the attending physician, nurse practitioner, or 
physician's assistant.  

J. K. Prescription and nonprescription drugs and 

medications may be brought into the nursing facility by a 
resident's family, friend or other person provided:  

1. The individual delivering the drugs and medications 

assures timely delivery, in accordance with the nursing 

facility's written policies, so that the resident's prescribed 
treatment plan is not disrupted;  

2. Each drug or medication is in an individual container; 
and  

3. Delivery is not allowed directly to an individual 
resident.  

In addition, prescription medications shall be obtained and 
labeled as required by law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6336; Filed June 15, 2020, 10:39 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-391. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospice (amending 12VAC5-391-10, 

12VAC5-391-430).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-162.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 846 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments allow hospice and hospice facility employees 

who are authorized to possess, distribute, or administer 

medications to patients to store, dispense, or administer 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil to a patient who has been 

issued a valid written certification for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil and has registered with the 
Board of Pharmacy. 

Part I  
Definitions and General Information  

12VAC5-391-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in these 

regulations shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  

"Activities of daily living" means bathing, dressing, 

toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control and 
eating/feeding.  

"Administer" means the direct application of a controlled 

substance, whether by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any 
other means, to the body of a patient by (i) a practitioner or 

by his authorized agent and under his supervision or (ii) the 

patient at the direction and in the presence of the practitioner 
as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.  

mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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"Administrator" means a person designated, in writing, by 

the governing body as having the necessary authority for the 

day-to-day management of the hospice program. The 

administrator must be a member of the hospice staff. The 

administrator, director of nursing, or another clinical director 

may be the same individual if that individual is dually 
qualified.  

"Adverse outcome" means the result of drug or health care 

therapy that is neither intended nor expected in normal 

therapeutic use and that causes significant, sometimes life-

threatening conditions or consequences at some future time. 

Such potential future adverse outcome may require the 

arrangement of appropriate follow-up surveillance and 
perhaps other departures from the usual plan of care.  

"Attending physician" means a physician licensed in 

Virginia, according to Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or licensed in an adjacent 

state and identified by the patient as having the primary 

responsibility in determining the delivery of the patient's 
medical care. The responsibilities of physicians contained in 

this chapter may be implemented by nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants as assigned by the supervising physician 
and within the parameters of professional licensing.  

"Available at all times during operating hours" means an 

individual is available on the premises or by 
telecommunications.  

"Barrier crimes" means certain offenses specified in § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia that automatically bar an 

individual convicted of those offenses from employment with 
a hospice program.  

"Bereavement service" means bereavement counseling as 

defined in 42 CFR 418.3.  

"Cannabidiol oil" means the same as that term is defined in 
subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner.  

"Coordinated program" means a continuum of palliative and 

supportive care provided to a terminally ill patient and his the 
patient's family, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  

"Core services" means those services that must be provided 

by a hospice program. Such services are: (i) nursing services, 

(ii) physician services, (iii) counseling services, and (iv) 
medical social services.  

"Counseling services" means the provision of bereavement 

services, dietary services, spiritual and any other counseling 

services for the patient and family while the person is 
enrolled in the program.  

"Criminal record report" means the statement issued by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange, Virginia Department of 
State Police.  

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to the ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 

prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 
delivery as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Employee" means an individual who is appropriately 

trained and performs a specific job function for the hospice 

program on a full full-time or part-time basis with or without 
financial compensation.  

"Governing body" means the individual, group, or 

governmental agency that has legal responsibility and 
authority over the operation of the hospice program.  

"Home attendant" means a nonlicensed individual 

performing personal care and environmental services, under 

the supervision of the appropriate health professional, to a 

patient in the patient's residence. Home attendants are also 

known as certified nursing assistants or CNAs, home care 
aides, home health aides, and personal care aides.  

"Hospice" means a hospice as defined in § 32.1-162.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Hospice facility" means an institution, place, or building as 
defined in § 32.1-162.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Inpatient" means the provision of services, such as food, 

laundry, housekeeping, and staff to provide health or health-

related services, including respite and symptom management, 

to hospice patients, whether in a hospital, nursing facility, or 
hospice facility.  

"Interdisciplinary group" means the group responsible for 

assessing the health care and special needs of the patient and 

the patient's family. Providers of special services, such as 

mental health, pharmacy, and any other appropriate 
associated health services may also be included on the team 

as the needs of the patient dictate. The interdisciplinary group 
is often referred to as the IDG.  

"Licensee" means a licensed hospice program provider.  

"Medical director" means a physician currently licensed in 

Virginia, according to Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and responsible for the 
medical direction of the hospice program.  

"Medical record" means a continuous and accurate 

documented account of services provided to a patient, 

including the prescription and delivery of the treatment or 
care.  

"Medication error" means one or more violations of the five 

principles of medication administration: the correct drug to 

the right patient at the prescribed time in the prescribed dose 
via the prescribed route. 

"Nursing services" means the patient care performed or 
supervised by a registered nurse according to a plan of care.  
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"OLC" means the Office of Licensure and Certification of 
the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Operator" means any individual, partnership, association, 

trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 

agency, or any other legal or commercial entity responsible 

for the day-to-day administrative management and operation 
of the hospice.  

"Palliative care" means treatment directed at controlling 

pain, relieving other symptoms, and focusing on the special 

needs of the patient and family as they experience the stress 

of the dying process. Palliative care means treatment to 

enhance comfort and improve the quality of a patient's life 
during the last phase of his life.  

"Patient" means a hospice patient as defined in § 32.1-162.1 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Patient's family" means a hospice patient's family as 

defined in § 32.1-162.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Patient's residence" means the place where the individual or 

patient makes his home.  

"Person" means any individual, partnership, association, 

trust, corporation, municipality, county, local government 

agency, or any other legal or commercial entity that operates 
a hospice.  

"Plan of care" means a written plan of services developed by 

the interdisciplinary group to maximize patient comfort by 

symptom control to meet the physical, psychosocial, spiritual, 

and other special needs that are experienced during the final 
stages of illness, during dying, and bereavement.  

"Primary caregiver" means an individual that, through 

mutual agreement with the patient and the hospice program, 
assumes responsibility for the patient's care.  

"Progress note" means a documented statement contained in 

a patient's medical record, dated and signed by the person 

delivering the care, treatment, or service, describing the 

treatment or services delivered and the effect of the care, 
treatment, or services on the patient.  

"Quality improvement" means ongoing activities designed 

to objectively and systematically evaluate the quality of care 

and services, pursue opportunities to improve care and 

services, and resolve identified problems. Quality 

improvement is an approach to the ongoing study and 

improvement of the processes of providing services to meet 
the needs of patients and their families.  

"Separate and distinct entrance" means an entrance to the 

hospice facility other than the formal public entrance used by 
patients and family members. 

"Staff" means an employee who receives financial 
compensation.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process of monitoring the 

skills, competencies, and performance of the individual 

supervised and providing regular face-to-face guidance and 
instruction.  

"Terminally ill" means a medical prognosis that life 

expectancy is six months or less if the illness runs its usual 
course.  

"THC-A oil" means the same as that term is defined in 

subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Volunteer" means an employee who receives no financial 
compensation.  

12VAC5-391-430. Pharmacy services.  

A. All prescription drugs shall be prescribed and properly 

dispensed to the patient according to the provisions of 

Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of 

the Virginia Board of Pharmacy, except for prescription drugs 

authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Drug Control Act, such as 

epinephrine for emergency administration, normal saline and 
heparin flushes for the maintenance of IV lines, and adult 

immunizations, which may be given by a nurse pursuant to 
established protocol.  

B. Home attendants may administer normally self-

administered drugs in the patient's private residence as 

allowed by § 54.1-3408 of the Virginia Drug Control Act 

(Chapter 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia). Any other drug shall be administered only by a 
licensed nurse or physician assistant.  

C. The hospice program shall develop written policies and 

procedures for the administration of infusion therapy 
medications that include, but are not limited to:  

1. Developing a plan of care;  

2. Initiation of medication administration based on a 

prescriber's order and monitoring of the patient for 

response to the treatment and any adverse reactions or side 
effects;  

3. Assessment of any factors related to the home 

environment that may affect the prescriber's decisions for 
initiating, modifying, or discontinuing medications;  

4. Communication with the prescriber concerning 

assessment of the patient's response to therapy, any other 

patient specific needs, any significant change in the 
patient's condition;  

5. Communication with the patient's provider pharmacy 

concerning problems or needed changes in a patient's 
medication;  

6. Maintaining a complete and accurate record of 

medications prescribed, medication administration data, 

patient assessments, any laboratory tests ordered to 
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monitor response to drug therapy and results, and 

communications with the prescriber and pharmacy 
provider;  

7. Educating or instructing the patient, family members, or 

other caregivers involved in the administration of infusion 

therapy in the proper storage of medication, in the proper 

handling of supplies and equipment, in any applicable 

safety precautions, in recognizing potential problems with 
the patient, and actions to take in an emergency; and  

8. Initial training and retraining of all hospice program 
staff providing infusion therapy.  

D. The hospice program shall employ a registered nurse who 

holds a current active license with the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, has completed training in infusion therapy and has 

the knowledge, skills, and competencies to safely administer 

infusion therapy to supervise medication administration by 

staff. This person shall be responsible for ensuring 

compliance with applicable laws and regulations, adherence 

to the policies and procedures related to administration of 
medications, and conducting periodic assessments of staff 
competency in performing infusion therapy. 

E. Hospice and hospice facility employees who are 

authorized to possess, distribute, or administer medications to 

patients may store, dispense, or administer cannabidiol oil or 
THC-A oil to a patient who has: 

1. Been issued a valid written certification for the use of 

cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil in accordance with 
subsection B of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Registered with the Board of Pharmacy. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6335; Filed June 3, 2020, 4:29 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Health will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-230, 12VAC5-410-280, 12VAC5-410-1170).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 
regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform regulation to statutes adopted 

during the 2020 Session of the General Assembly. 

Pursuant to Chapter 714, amendments establish protocols 

to ensure that any patient scheduled to receive an elective 

surgical procedure for which the patient can reasonably be 
expected to require outpatient physical therapy as a 

follow-up treatment after discharge is informed that the 

patient (i) is expected to require outpatient physical 

therapy as a follow-up treatment and (ii) will be required 

to select a physical therapy provider prior to being 

discharged from the hospital. Pursuant to Chapter 942, 

amendments require each hospital with an emergency 

department to establish a protocol for treatment of 

individuals experiencing a substance use-related 

emergency to include the completion of appropriate 

assessments or screenings to identify medical interventions 
necessary for the treatment of the individual in the 
emergency department.  

Article 2  
Patient Care Services  

12VAC5-410-230. Patient care management. 

A. All patients shall be under the care of a member of the 
medical staff. 

B. Each hospital shall have a plan that includes effective 

mechanisms for the periodic review and revision of patient 
care policies and procedures. 

C. Each hospital shall establish a protocol relating to the 

rights and responsibilities of patients based on Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations' 

2000 Hospital Accreditation Standards, January 2000. The 

protocol shall include a process reasonably designed to 

inform patients of their rights and responsibilities. Patients 

shall be given a copy of their rights and responsibilities upon 
admission. 

D. No medication or treatment shall be given except on the 
signed order of a person lawfully authorized by state statutes. 

1. Hospital personnel, as designated in medical staff 

bylaws, rules and regulations, or hospital policies and 

procedures, may accept emergency telephone and other 
verbal orders for medication or treatment for hospital 

patients from physicians and other persons lawfully 
authorized by state statute to give patient orders. 

2. As specified in the hospital's medical staff bylaws, rules 

and regulations, or hospital policies and procedures, 

emergency telephone and other verbal orders shall be 

signed within a reasonable period of time not to exceed 72 

hours, by the person giving the order, or, when such person 

mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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is not available, cosigned by another physician or other 
person authorized to give the order. 

E. Each hospital shall have a reliable method for 
identification of each patient, including newborn infants. 

F. Each hospital shall include in its visitation policy a 

provision allowing each adult patient to receive visits from 

any individual from whom the patient desires to receive 

visits, subject to other restrictions contained in the visitation 
policy including the patient's medical condition and the 

number of visitors permitted in the patient's room 
simultaneously. 

G. Each hospital that is equipped to provide life-sustaining 

treatment shall develop a policy to determine the medical or 

ethical appropriateness of proposed medical care, which shall 
include: 

1. A process for obtaining a second opinion regarding the 

medical and ethical appropriateness of proposed medical 

care in cases in which a physician has determined proposed 
care to be medically or ethically inappropriate;  

2. Provisions for review of the determination that proposed 

medical care is medically or ethically inappropriate by an 

interdisciplinary medical review committee and a 

determination by the interdisciplinary medical review 

committee regarding the medical and ethical 
appropriateness of the proposed health care of the patient;  

3. Requirements for a written explanation of the decision 

of the interdisciplinary medical review committee, which 
shall be included in the patient's medical record; and 

4. Provisions to ensure the patient, the patient's agent, or 

the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions in accordance with § 54.1-2986 of the Code of 
Virginia is informed of the patient's right to obtain the 

patient's medical record and the right to obtain an 

independent medical opinion and afforded reasonable 

opportunity to participate in the medical review committee 
meeting.  

The policy shall not prevent the patient, the patient's agent, 

or the person authorized to make the patient's medical 

decisions from obtaining legal counsel to represent the patient 

or from seeking other legal remedies, including court review, 

provided that the patient, the patient's agent, person 

authorized to make the patient's medical decisions, or legal 
counsel provide written notice to the chief executive officer 

of the hospital within 14 days of the date of the physician's 

determination that proposed medical treatment is medically or 

ethically inappropriate as documented in the patient's medical 
record. 

H. Each hospital shall establish a protocol requiring that, 

before a health care provider arranges for air medical 

transportation services for a patient who does not have an 

emergency medical condition as defined in 42 USC 

§ 1395dd(e)(1), the hospital shall provide the patient or the 

patient's authorized representative with written or electronic 

notice that the patient (i) may have a choice of transportation 

by an air medical transportation provider or medically 

appropriate ground transportation by an emergency medical 

services provider and (ii) will be responsible for charges 

incurred for such transportation in the event that the provider 

is not a contracted network provider of the patient's health 
insurance carrier or such charges are not otherwise covered in 
full or in part by the patient's health insurance plan. 

I. Each hospital shall provide written information about the 

patient's ability to request an estimate of the payment amount 

for which the participant will be responsible pursuant to 

§ 32.1-137.05 of the Code of Virginia. The written 

information shall be posted conspicuously in public areas of 

the hospital, including admissions or registration areas, and 
included on any website maintained by the hospital. 

J. Each hospital shall establish protocols to ensure that any 

patient scheduled to receive an elective surgical procedure for 
which the patient can reasonably be expected to require 

outpatient physical therapy as a follow-up treatment after 
discharge is informed that the patient: 

1. Is expected to require outpatient physical therapy as a 
follow-up treatment; and  

2. Will be required to select a physical therapy provider 
prior to being discharged from the hospital. 

12VAC5-410-280. Emergency service.  

A. Hospitals with an emergency department/service shall 

have 24-hour staff coverage and shall have at least one 

physician on call at all times. Hospitals without emergency 

service shall have written policies governing the handling of 
emergencies.  

B. No less than one registered nurse shall be assigned to the 

emergency service on each shift. Such assignment need not 

be exclusive of other duties, but must have priority over all 
other assignments.  

C. Those hospitals that provide ambulance services shall 

comply with Article 2.1 (§ 32.1-111.1 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-31.  

D. The hospital shall provide equipment, drugs, supplies, 

and ancillary services commensurate with the scope of 

anticipated needs, including radiology and laboratory services 
and facilities for handling and administering of blood and 

blood products. Emergency drugs and equipment shall remain 
accessible in the emergency department at all times.  

E. Current roster of medical staff members on emergency 

call, including alternates and medical specialists or 
consultants shall be posted in the emergency department.  

F. Hospitals shall make special training available, as 
required, for emergency department personnel.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 23 Virginia Register of Regulations July 6, 2020 

2477 

G. Toxicology reference material and poison antidote 

information shall be available along with telephone numbers 
of the nearest poison control centers.  

H. Each emergency department shall post notice of the 

existence of a human trafficking hotline to alert possible 

witnesses or victims of human trafficking to the availability 

of a means to gain assistance or report crimes. This notice 

shall be in a place readily visible and accessible to the public, 
such as the patient admitting area or public or patient 

restrooms. The notice shall meet the requirements of § 40.1-
11.3 C of the Code of Virginia.  

I. Every hospital with an emergency department shall 

establish protocols to ensure that security personnel of the 

emergency department receive training appropriate to the 

populations served by the emergency department. This 

training may include training based on a trauma-informed 

approach in identifying and safely addressing situations 

involving patients or other persons who pose a risk of harm to 

themselves or others due to mental illness or substance abuse 
or who are experiencing a mental health crisis. 

J. Each hospital with an emergency department shall 

establish a protocol for treatment of individuals experiencing 

a substance use-related emergency to include the completion 

of appropriate assessments or screenings to identify medical 

interventions necessary for the treatment of the individual in 

the emergency department. The protocol may also include a 

process for patients who are discharged directly from the 

emergency department for the recommendation of follow-up 

care following discharge for any identified substance use 

disorder, depression, or mental health disorder, as 
appropriate, that may include: 

1. Instructions for distribution of naloxone; 

2. Referrals to peer recovery specialists and community-
based providers of behavioral health services; or 

3. Referrals for pharmacotherapy for treatment of drug or 
alcohol dependence or mental health diagnoses. 

12VAC5-410-1170. Policy and procedures manual.  

A. Each outpatient surgical hospital shall develop a policy 

and procedures manual that shall include provisions covering 
the following items:  

1. The types of emergency and elective procedures that 

may be performed in the facility.  

2. Types of anesthesia that may be used.  

3. Admissions and discharges, including criteria: 

a. Criteria for evaluating the patient before admission and 
before discharge; and 

b. Protocols to ensure that any patient scheduled to 

receive an elective surgical procedure for which the 

patient can reasonably be expected to require outpatient 

physical therapy as a follow-up treatment after discharge 
is informed that the patient: 

(1) Is expected to require outpatient physical therapy as a 
follow-up treatment; and 

(2) Will be required to select a physical therapy provider 

prior to being discharged from the hospital.  

4. Written informed consent of patient prior to the 

initiation of any procedures.  

5. Procedures for housekeeping and infection control and 
prevention.  

6. Disaster preparedness. 

7. Facility security. 

B. A copy of approved policies and procedures and revisions 
thereto shall be made available to the OLC upon request.  

C. Each outpatient surgical hospital shall establish a 

protocol relating to the rights and responsibilities of patients 

based on Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations' Standards for Ambulatory Care (2000 Hospital 

Accreditation Standards, January 2000). The protocol shall 
include a process reasonably designed to inform patients of 

their rights and responsibilities. Patients shall be given a copy 
of their rights and responsibilities upon admission.  

D. Each outpatient surgical hospital shall obtain a criminal 

history record check pursuant to § 32.1-126.02 of the Code of 

Virginia on any compensated employee not licensed by the 

Board of Pharmacy whose job duties provide access to 

controlled substances within the outpatient surgical hospital 
pharmacy.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6334; Filed June 15, 2020, 10:36 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-300. Rules Governing Credit 

for Reinsurance (amending 14VAC5-300-40, 14VAC5-

300-90, 14VAC5-300-95, 14VAC5-300-150; adding 

14VAC5-300-97).  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-1316.2 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, 
FAX (804) 371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to the provisions 

of § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia to reflect changes 

made pursuant to Chapter 208 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly eliminating the reinsurance collateral 

requirements for assuming insurers (reciprocal reinsurers) 

that have their head office or are domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction and that meet certain solvency requirements. 

Reciprocal jurisdictions include non-United States 

jurisdictions subject to an in-force covered agreement, 

United States jurisdictions accredited under the National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners Financial 
Standards and Accreditation Program, or qualified 

jurisdictions determined by the State Corporation 

Commission. The solvency requirements for reciprocal 

reinsurers include (i) maintaining a minimum capital and 

surplus; (ii) maintaining a minimum solvency or capital 

ratio; (iii) providing notice to the commission in the event 

of noncompliance with the minimum capital and surplus 

and minimum solvency requirements, serious 

noncompliance with applicable law, consent to service of 

process, consent to payment of final judgments, and 

nonparticipation in solvent schemes; (iv) providing certain 

documentation specified by the commission; and (v) 
maintaining a practice of prompt payment of claims.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 12, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00074 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Revisions to the Rules Governing 
Credit for Reinsurance 

ORDER ADOPTING REVISIONS TO RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered April 14, 2020, 

insurers and all other interested persons were ordered to take 
notice that subsequent to June 1, 2020, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 

order adopting proposed revisions to the rules set forth in 

Chapter 300 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

entitled Rules Governing Credit for Reinsurance, 14 VAC 5-

300-10 et seq. ("Rules"), as well as the addition of a new Rule 

at 14 VAC 5-300-97, unless on or before June 1, 2020 any 

interested person filed written comments or a request for 

hearing to consider the amendments to the Rules with the 
Clerk of the Commission ("Clerk"). 

One comment was filed with the Clerk in support of the 

revisions to the Rules.  No other comments and no requests 
for a hearing were filed with the Clerk. 

The revisions to Chapter 300 are necessary to implement the 

provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia, which 

were amended during the 2020 General Assembly (Chapter 
208 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly). The amendments 

eliminate reinsurance collateral requirements for Assuming 

Insurers (Reciprocal Reinsurers) that have their head office or 

are domiciled in a Reciprocal Jurisdiction and that meet 
certain solvency requirements. 

Following the Order to Take Notice, several editorial and 

conforming changes were made to the proposed rules, which 
are neither substantive nor material in nature. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 

proposed revisions to the Rules, is of the opinion that the 

attached revisions to the Rules should be adopted, effective 
July 1, 2020.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The revisions to the Rules Governing Credit for 

Reinsurance at Chapter 300 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, which revise the Rules at 14 VAC 5-

300-40, 14 VAC 5-300-90, 14 VAC 5-300-95, and 

14 VAC 5-300-150; and add a new Rule at 14 VAC 5-300-

97, which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, are 
hereby ADOPTED effective July 1, 2020. 

(2) The Bureau of Insurance forthwith shall give notice of 

the adoption of the revisions to the Rules to all insurers, 

burial societies, fraternal benefit societies, health services 
plans, risk retention groups, joint underwriting associations, 

group self-insurance pools, and group self-insurance 

associations licensed by the Commission, to qualified 

reinsurers in Virginia, and to all interested persons designated 
by the Bureau of Insurance. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

revisions to the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 

to the Rules on the Commission's website: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 

certificate of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 
placed in the file for ended 

mailto:raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov
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causes. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, at mbrowder@oag.state.va.us, 202 N. 9th 

Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a 

copy hereof shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of 

General Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in care of 
Deputy Commissioner Donald C. Beatty. 

14VAC5-300-40. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"The Act" means the provisions concerning reinsurance set 

forth in Article 3.1 (§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of 
Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Beneficiary" means the entity for whose sole benefit the 

trust described in 14VAC5-300-120, or the letter of credit 

described in 14VAC5-300-130, has been established and any 
successor of the beneficiary by operation of law, including, 

without limitation, any receiver, conservator, rehabilitator or 
liquidator.  

"Certified reinsurer" has the meaning set forth in § 38.2-
1316.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Grantor" means the entity that has established a trust for the 

sole benefit of the beneficiary. However, when such a trust is 

established in conjunction with a reinsurance agreement that 

qualifies for credit under 14VAC5-300-120, the grantor shall 

not be an assuming insurer for which credit can be taken 
under § 38.2-1316.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Mortgage-related security" means an obligation that is rated 

AA or higher (or the equivalent) by a securities rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC 
and that either:  

1. Represents ownership of one or more promissory notes 

or certificates of interest or participation in the notes 

(including any rights designed to assure servicing of, or the 

receipt or timeliness of receipt by the holders of the notes, 

certificates, or participation of amounts payable under, the 
notes, certificates or participation), that:  

a. Are directly secured by a first lien on a single parcel of 

real estate, including stock allocated to a dwelling unit in 
a residential cooperative housing corporation, upon 

which is located a dwelling or mixed residential and 

commercial structure, or on a residential manufactured 

home as defined in 42 USCA § 5402(6), whether the 

manufactured home is considered real or personal 

property under the laws of the state in which it is located; 
and  

b. Were originated by a savings and loan association, 

savings bank, commercial bank, credit union, insurance 

company, or similar institution that is supervised and 

examined by a federal or state housing authority, or by a 

mortgagee approved by the Secretary of Housing and 

Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA §§ 1709 and 

1715-b, or, where the notes involve a lien on the 

manufactured home, by an institution or by a financial 
institution approved for insurance by the Secretary of 

Housing and Urban Development pursuant to 12 USCA 
§ 1703; or  

2. Is secured by one or more promissory notes or 

certificates of deposit or participations in the notes (with or 

without recourse to the insurer of the notes) and, by its 

terms, provides for payments of principal in relation to 

payments, or reasonable projections of payments, or notes 

meeting the requirements of items 1 a and b of this 
definition.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"Obligations", as used in 14VAC5-300-120 A 11, means:  

1. Reinsured losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the 

ceding company, but not recovered from the assuming 
insurer;  

2. Reserves for reinsured losses reported and outstanding;  

3. Reserves for reinsured losses incurred but not reported; 
and  

4. Reserves for allocated reinsured loss expenses and 

unearned premiums.  

"Promissory note" means, when used in connection with a 

manufactured home, a loan, advance or credit sale as 
evidenced by a retail installment sales contract or other 
instrument.  

"Qualified United States financial institutions" has the 
meanings set forth in § 38.2-1316.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Solvent scheme of arrangement" means a foreign or alien 

statutory or regulatory compromise procedure subject to 

requisite majority creditor approval and judicial sanction in 

the assuming insurer's home jurisdiction either to finally 

commute liabilities of duly noticed classed members or 

creditors of a solvent debtor or to reorganize or restructure the 

debts and obligations of a solvent debtor on a final basis and 
that may be subject to judicial recognition and enforcement of 

the arrangement by a governing authority outside the ceding 
insurer's home jurisdiction.  

14VAC5-300-90. Credit for reinsurance; reinsurers 

maintaining trust funds.  

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 C 4 of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded to a trusteed assuming 

mailto:mbrowder@oag.state.va.us
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insurer which, as of the date of the ceding insurer's statutory 
financial statement:  

1. Maintains a trust fund and trusteed surplus that complies 
with the provisions of § 38.2-1316.2 C 4;  

2. Complies with the requirements set forth in subsections 

B, C, and D of this section; and  

3. Reports annually to the commission on or before June 1 

of each year in which a ceding insurer seeks reserve credit 
under the Act substantially the same information as that 

required to be reported on the NAIC annual statement form 

by licensed insurers, to enable the commission to 

determine the sufficiency of the trust fund. The accounting 

shall, among other things, set forth the balance to the trust 

and list the trust's investments as of the preceding year end 

and shall certify the date of termination of the trust, if so 

planned, or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the 
next following December 31.  

B. The following requirements apply to the following 

categories of assuming insurer:  

1. The trust fund for a single assuming insurer shall consist 

of funds in trust in an amount not less than the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 

United States domiciled insurers, and in addition, the 

assuming insurer shall maintain a trusteed surplus of not 

less than $20 million, except as provided in subdivision 2 
of this subsection.  

2. At any time after the assuming insurer has permanently 

discontinued underwriting new business secured by the 

trust for at least three full years, the commissioner with 

principal regulatory oversight of the trust may authorize a 

reduction in the required trusteed surplus, but only after a 
finding, based on an assessment of the risk, that the new 

required surplus level is adequate for the protection of 

United States ceding insurers, policyholders, and claimants 

in light of reasonably foreseeable adverse loss 

development. The risk assessment may involve an actuarial 

review, including an independent analysis of reserves and 

cash flows, and shall consider all material risk factors, 

including when applicable the lines of business involved, 

the stability of the incurred loss estimates, and the effect of 

the surplus requirements on the assuming insurer's liquidity 

or solvency. The minimum required trusteed surplus may 
not be reduced to an amount less than 30% of the assuming 

insurer's liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded by 
United States ceding insurers covered by the trust.  

3. a. The trust fund for a group including incorporated and 
individual unincorporated underwriters shall consist of:  

(1) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception, amendment, or renewal date on or 

after January 1, 1993, funds in trust in an amount not less 

than the respective underwriters' several liabilities 

attributable to business ceded by United States domiciled 
ceding insurers to any underwriter of the group;  

(2) For reinsurance ceded under reinsurance agreements 

with an inception date on or before December 31, 1992, 

and not amended or renewed after that date, 

notwithstanding the other provisions of this chapter, 

funds in trust in an amount not less than the respective 

underwriters' several insurance and reinsurance liabilities 
attributable to business written in the United States; and  

(3) In addition to these trusts, the group shall maintain a 

trusteed surplus of which $100 million shall be held 

jointly for the benefit of the United States domiciled 

ceding insurers of any member of the group for all the 
years of account.  

b. The incorporated members of the group shall not be 

engaged in any business other than underwriting as a 

member of the group and shall be subject to the same 

level of regulation and solvency control by the group's 

domiciliary regulator as are the unincorporated members. 
The group shall, within 90 days after its financial 

statements are due to be filed with the group's 
domiciliary regulator, provide to the commission:  

(1) An annual certification by the group's domiciliary 

regulator of the solvency of each underwriter member of 
the group; or  

(2) If a certification is unavailable, a financial statement 

prepared by independent public accountants of each 
underwriter member of the group.  

4. a. The trust fund for a group of incorporated insurers 

under common administration, whose members possess 

aggregate policyholders surplus of $10 billion (calculated 
and reported in substantially the same manner as 

prescribed by the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions and 

the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures Manual) 

and which has continuously transacted an insurance 

business outside the United States for at least three years 

immediately prior to making application for accreditation, 
shall:  

(1) Consist of funds in trust in an amount not less than 

the assuming insurers' several liabilities attributable to 

business ceded by United States domiciled ceding 

insurers to any members of the group pursuant to 
reinsurance contracts issued in the name of such group; 

(2) Maintain a joint trusteed surplus of which $100 

million shall be held jointly for the benefit of United 

States domiciled ceding insurers of any member of the 
group; and  

(3) File a properly executed Certificate of Assuming 

Insurer as evidence of the submission to this 

Commonwealth's authority to examine the books and 

records of any of its members and shall certify that any 
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member examined will bear the expense of any such 
examination.  

b. Within 90 days after the statements are due to be filed 

with the group's domiciliary regulator, the group shall 

file with the commission an annual certification of each 

underwriter member's solvency by the member's 

domiciliary regulators, and financial statements, prepared 

by independent public accountants, of each underwriter 
member of the group.  

C. 1. Credit for reinsurance shall not be granted unless the 

form of the trust and any amendments to the trust have been 

approved by either the commissioner of the state where the 

trust is domiciled or the commissioner of another state who, 

pursuant to the terms of the trust instrument, has accepted 

responsibility for regulatory oversight of the trust. The form 

of the trust and any trust amendments also shall be filed with 

the commissioner of every state in which the ceding insurer 

beneficiaries of the trust are domiciled. The trust instrument 
shall provide that: 

a. Contested claims shall be valid and enforceable out of 

funds in trust to the extent remaining unsatisfied 30 days 

after entry of the final order of any court of competent 
jurisdiction in the United States;  

b. Legal title to the assets of the trust shall be vested in 

the trustee for the benefit of the grantor's United States 

policyholders and ceding insurers, their assigns and 
successors in interest;  

c. The trust and the assuming insurer shall be subject to 

examination as determined by the commission; 

d. The trust shall remain in effect for as long as the 

assuming insurer, or any member or former member of a 
group of insurers, shall have outstanding obligations 
under reinsurance agreements subject to the trust; and  

e. No later than February 28 of each year the trustees of 

the trust (i) shall report to the commission in writing 

setting forth the balance in the trust and listing the trust's 

investments at the preceding year end and (ii) shall 

certify the date of termination of the trust, if so planned, 

or certify that the trust shall not expire prior to the next 
December 31.  

2. a. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 
contains an amount less than the amount required by this 

subsection or if the grantor of the trust has been declared 

insolvent or placed into receivership, rehabilitation, 

liquidation, or similar proceedings under the laws of its 

state or country of domicile, the trustee shall comply with 

an order of the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

over the trust or with an order of a court of competent 

jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to the 

commissioner with regulatory oversight over the trust or 
other designated receiver all of the assets of the trust fund.  

b. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight over the trust in accordance with the 

laws of the state in which the trust is domiciled 

applicable to the liquidation of domestic insurance 
companies.  

c. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight over the 

trust determines that the assets of the trust fund or any 

part thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the 

United States beneficiaries of the trust, the commissioner 

with regulatory oversight over the trust shall return the 

assets, or any part thereof, to the trustee for distribution 
in accordance with the trust agreement.  

d. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available 

to it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 
provision.  

D. For purposes of this section, the term "liabilities" shall 

mean the assuming insurer's gross liabilities attributable to 

reinsurance ceded by United States domiciled insurers, 

excluding liabilities that are otherwise secured by acceptable 
means, and shall include:  

1. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 

write accident and health, and property and casualty 
insurance:  

a. Losses and allocated loss expenses paid by the ceding 

insurer, recoverable from the assuming insurer;  

b. Reserves for losses reported and outstanding;  

c. Reserves for losses incurred but not reported;  

d. Reserves for allocated loss expenses; and  

e. Unearned premiums.  

2. For business ceded by domestic insurers authorized to 
write life, health, and annuity insurance:  

a. Aggregate reserves for life policies and contracts net of 
policy loans and net due and deferred premiums;  

b. Aggregate reserves for accident and health policies;  

c. Deposit funds and other liabilities without life or 
disability contingencies; and  

d. Liabilities for policy and contract claims.  

E. Assets deposited in trusts established pursuant to § 38.2-

1316.2 of the Act and this section shall be valued according 
to their current fair market value and shall consist only of 

cash in United States dollars, certificates of deposit issued by 

a United States financial institution as defined in § 38.2-

1316.1 of the Act, clean, irrevocable, unconditional, and 

"evergreen" letters of credit issued or confirmed by a 
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qualified United States financial institution, as defined in 

§ 38.2-1316.1, and investments of the type specified in this 

subsection, but investments in or issued by an entity 

controlling, controlled by or under common control with 

either the grantor or beneficiary of the trust shall not exceed 

5.0% of total investments. No more than 20% of the total of 

the investments in the trust may be foreign investments 

authorized under subdivisions subdivision 1 e, 3, 5 b, or 6 of 
this subsection, and no more than 10% of the total of the 

investments in the trust may be securities denominated in 

foreign currencies. For purposes of applying the preceding 

sentence, a depository receipt denominated in United States 

dollars and representing rights conferred by a foreign security 

shall be classified as a foreign investment denominated in a 

foreign currency. The assets of a trust established to satisfy 

the requirements of § 38.2-1316.2 shall be invested only as 
follows:  

1. Government obligations that are not in default as to 

principal or interest, that are valid and legally authorized 
and that are issued, assumed, or guaranteed by:  

a. The United States or by any agency or instrumentality 
of the United States;  

b. A state of the United States;  

c. A territory, possession, or other governmental unit of 
the United States;  

d. An agency or instrumentality of a governmental unit 

referred to in subdivisions 1 b and c of this subsection if 

the obligations shall be by law (statutory or otherwise) 

payable, as to both principal and interest, from taxes 

levied or by law required to be levied or from adequate 

special revenues pledged or otherwise appropriated or by 
law required to be provided for making these payments, 

but shall not be obligations eligible for investment under 

this subsection if payable solely out of special 

assessments on properties benefited by local 
improvements; or  

e. The government of any other country that is a member 

of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 

Development and whose government obligations are 

rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 

recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the 
NAIC;  

2. Obligations that are issued in the United States, or that 

are dollar denominated and issued in a non-United States 

market, by a solvent United States institution (other than an 

insurance company) or that are assumed or guaranteed by a 

solvent United States institution (other than an insurance 

company) and that are not in default as to principal or 
interest if the obligations:  

a. Are rated A or higher (or the equivalent) by a 

securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 

Valuation Office of the NAIC, or if not so rated, are 

similar in structure and other material respects to other 
obligations of the same institution that are so rated;  

b. Are insured by at least one authorized insurer (other 

than the investing insurer or a parent, subsidiary or 

affiliate of the investing insurer) licensed to insure 

obligations in this Commonwealth and, after considering 

the insurance, are rated AAA (or the equivalent) by a 
securities rating agency recognized by the Securities 
Valuation Office of the NAIC; or  

c. Have been designated as Class One or Class Two by 
the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC;  

3. Obligations issued, assumed or guaranteed by a solvent 

non-United States institution chartered in a country that is 

a member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation 

and Development or obligations of United States 

corporations issued in a non-United States currency, 

provided that in either case the obligations are rated A or 

higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by 
the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC;  

4. An investment made pursuant to the provisions of 

subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this subsection shall be subject to 
the following additional limitations:  

a. An investment in or loan upon the obligations of an 

institution other than an institution that issues mortgage-

related securities shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of 
the trust;  

b. An investment in any one mortgage-related security 

shall not exceed 5.0% of the assets of the trust;  

c. The aggregate total investment in mortgage-related 

securities shall not exceed 25% of the assets of the trust; 
and  

d. Preferred or guaranteed shares issued or guaranteed by 

a solvent United States institution are permissible 

investments if all of the institution's obligations are 

eligible as investments under subdivisions 2 a and 2 c of 

this subsection, but shall not exceed 2.0% of the assets of 
the trust;  

5. Equity interests. 

a. Investments in common shares or partnership interests 

of a solvent United States institution are permissible if:  

(1) Its obligations and preferred shares, if any, are 

eligible as investments under this subsection; and  

(2) The equity interests of the institution (except an 

insurance company) are registered on a national 

securities exchange as provided in the Securities 

Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC §§ 78 a to 78 kk or 

otherwise registered pursuant to that Act, and if 

otherwise registered, price quotations for them are 
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furnished through a nationwide automated quotations 

system approved by the Financial Industry Regulatory 

Authority, or successor organization. A trust shall not 

invest in equity interests under this subdivision an 

amount exceeding 1.0% of the assets of the trust even 

though the equity interests are not so registered and are 
not issued by an insurance company;  

b. Investments in common shares of a solvent institution 

organized under the laws of a country that is a member of 

the Organization for Economic Cooperation and 
Development if:  

(1) All its obligations are rated A or higher, or the 

equivalent, by a rating agency recognized by the 
Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC; and  

(2) The equity interests of the institution are registered on 

a securities exchange regulated by the government of a 

country that is a member of the Organization for 
Economic Cooperation and Development;  

c. An investment in or loan upon any one institution's 

outstanding equity interests shall not exceed 1.0% of the 

assets of the trust. The cost of an investment in equity 

interests made pursuant to this subdivision, when added 

to the aggregate cost of other investments in equity 

interests then held pursuant to this subdivision, shall not 
exceed 10% of the assets in the trust;  

6. Obligations issued, assumed, or guaranteed by a 

multinational development bank, provided the obligations 

are rated A or higher, or the equivalent, by a rating agency 
recognized by the Securities Valuation Office of the NAIC.  

7. Investment companies.  

a. Securities of an investment company registered 

pursuant to the Investment Company Act of 1940, 

15 USC § 80 a, are permissible investments if the 
investment company:  

(1) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of 

securities that qualify as an investment under subdivision 

1, 2, or 3 of this subsection or invests in securities that 

are determined by the commission to be substantively 

similar to the types of securities set forth in subdivision 
1, 2, or 3 of this subsection; or  

(2) Invests at least 90% of its assets in the types of equity 

interests that qualify as an investment under subdivision 
5 a of this subsection;  

b. Investments made by a trust in investment companies 

under this subdivision shall not exceed the following 
limitations:  

(1) An investment in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (1) of this subsection shall not 

exceed 10% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall not exceed 25% of the assets in the trust; 
and  

(2) Investments in an investment company qualifying 

under subdivision 7 a (2) of this subsection shall not 

exceed 5.0% of the assets in the trust and the aggregate 

amount of investment in qualifying investment 

companies shall be included when calculating the 

permissible aggregate value of equity interests pursuant 
to subdivision 5 a of this subsection.  

8. Letters of credit.  

a. In order for a letter of credit to qualify as an asset of 

the trust, the trustee shall have the right and the 

obligation pursuant to the deed of trust or some other 

binding agreement (as duly approved by the commission) 

to immediately draw down the full amount of the letter of 

credit and hold the proceeds in trust for the beneficiaries 

of the trust if the letter of credit will otherwise expire 
without being renewed or replaced.  

b. The trust agreement shall provide that the trustee shall 

be liable for its negligence, willful misconduct, or lack of 

good faith. The failure of the trustee to draw against the 

letter of credit in circumstances where such draw would 

be required shall be deemed to be negligence and/or 
willful misconduct.  

F. A specific security provided to a ceding insurer by an 

assuming insurer pursuant to 14VAC5-300-100 14VAC5-

300-110 shall be applied, until exhausted, to the payment of 

liabilities of the assuming insurer to the ceding insurer 

holding the specific security prior to, and as a condition 

precedent for, presentation of a claim by the ceding insurer 

for payment by a trustee of a trust established by the 
assuming insurer pursuant to this section.  

14VAC5-300-95. Credit for reinsurance; certified 

reinsurers. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 D of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer 

to an assuming insurer that has been certified as a reinsurer in 

this Commonwealth at all times for which statutory financial 

statement credit for reinsurance is claimed under this section. 

The credit allowed shall be based upon the security held by or 

on behalf of the ceding insurer in accordance with a rating 

assigned to the certified reinsurer by the commission. The 
security shall be in a form consistent with the provisions of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 D and 14VAC5-300-110, 14VAC5-300-120, 

14VAC5-300-130, or 14VAC5-300-140. The amount of 

security required in order for full credit to be allowed shall 
correspond with the following requirements:  

1. Ratings Security Required 

  Secure – 1 0.0%  

  Secure – 2  10%  
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  Secure – 3  20%  

  Secure – 4  50%  

  Secure – 5  75%  

  Vulnerable – 6  100%  

2. Affiliated reinsurance transactions shall receive the same 

opportunity for reduced security requirements as all other 
reinsurance transactions.  

3. The commission shall require the certified reinsurer to 

post 100%, for the benefit of the ceding insurer or its 

estate, security upon the entry of an order of rehabilitation, 
liquidation, or conservation against the ceding insurer. 

4. In order to facilitate the prompt payment of claims, a 

certified reinsurer shall not be required to post security for 

catastrophe recoverables for a period of one year from the 
date of the first instance of a liability reserve entry by the 

ceding company as a result of a loss from a catastrophic 

occurrence that is likely to result in significant insured 

losses, as recognized by the commission. The one year 

deferral period is contingent upon the certified reinsurer 

continuing to pay claims in a timely manner. Reinsurance 

recoverables for only the following lines of business as 

reported on the NAIC annual financial statement related 

specifically to the catastrophic occurrence will be included 
in the deferral:  

a. Line 1: Fire  

b. Line 2: Allied Lines  

c. Line 3: Farmowners multiple peril  

d. Line 4: Homeowners multiple peril  

e. Line 5: Commercial multiple peril  

f. Line 9: Inland marine  

g. Line 12: Earthquake  

h. Line 21: Auto physical damage  

5. Credit for reinsurance under this section shall apply only 

to reinsurance contracts entered into or renewed on or after 

the effective date of the certification of the assuming 

insurer. Any reinsurance contract entered into prior to the 

effective date of the certification of the assuming insurer 
that is subsequently amended by mutual agreement of the 

parties to the reinsurance contract after the effective date of 

the certification of the assuming insurer, or a new 

reinsurance contract, covering any risk for which collateral 

was provided previously, shall only be subject to this 

section with respect to losses incurred and reserves 

reported from and after the effective date of the 
amendment or new contract.  

6. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the parties to a 

reinsurance agreement from agreeing to provisions 

establishing security requirements that exceed the 

minimum security requirements established for certified 
reinsurers under this section.  

B. Certification procedure. 

1. The commission shall post notice on the Bureau of 

Insurance's website promptly upon receipt of any 

application for certification, including instructions on how 

members of the public may respond to the application. The 
commission may not take final action on the application 

until at least 30 days after posting the notice required by 
this subdivision.  

2. The commission shall issue written notice to an 

assuming insurer that has made application and been 

approved as a certified reinsurer. Included in such notice 

shall be the rating assigned the certified reinsurer in 

accordance with subsection A of this section. The 

commission shall publish a list of all certified reinsurers 
and their ratings. 

3. In order to be eligible for certification, the assuming 

insurer shall meet the following requirements: 

a. The assuming insurer shall be domiciled and licensed 

to transact insurance or reinsurance in a qualified 

jurisdiction, as determined by the commission pursuant 
to subsection C of this section.  

b. The assuming insurer shall maintain capital and 

surplus, or its equivalent, of no less than $250 million 

calculated in accordance with subdivision 4 h of this 

subsection. This requirement may also be satisfied by an 

association including incorporated and individual 

unincorporated underwriters having minimum capital and 

surplus equivalents (net of liabilities) of at least $250 
million and a central fund containing a balance of at least 
$250 million.  

c. The assuming insurer shall maintain financial strength 

ratings from two or more rating agencies deemed 

acceptable by the commission. These ratings shall be 

based on interactive communication between the rating 

agency and the assuming insurer and shall not be based 

solely on publicly available information. These financial 

strength ratings will be one factor used by the 

commission in determining the rating that is assigned to 

the assuming insurer. Acceptable rating agencies include 
the following:  

(1) Standard & Poor's;  

(2) Moody's Investors Service;  

(3) Fitch Ratings;  

(4) A.M. Best Company; or  

(5) Any other nationally recognized statistical rating 
organization.  
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d. The certified reinsurer shall comply with any other 
requirements reasonably imposed by the commission.  

4. Each certified reinsurer shall be rated on a legal entity 

basis, with due consideration being given to the group 

rating where appropriate, except that an association 

including incorporated and individual unincorporated 

underwriters that has been approved to do business as a 

single certified reinsurer may be evaluated on the basis of 
its group rating. Factors that may be considered as part of 

the evaluation process include, but are not limited to, the 
following:  

a. The certified reinsurer's financial strength rating from 

an acceptable rating agency. The maximum rating that a 

certified reinsurer may be assigned will correspond to its 

financial strength rating as outlined in the table below. 

The commission shall use the lowest financial strength 

rating received from an approved rating agency in 

establishing the maximum rating of a certified reinsurer. 

A failure to obtain or maintain at least two financial 
strength ratings from acceptable rating agencies will 
result in loss of eligibility for certification:  

Ratings Best S&P Moody's Fitch 

Secure – 
1 

A++ AAA Aaa AAA 

Secure – 
2 

A+ 
AA+, 
AA, AA- 

Aa1, Aa2, 
Aa3 

AA+, 
AA, AA- 

Secure – 
3 

A A+, A A1, A2 A+, A 

Secure – 
4 

A- A- A3 A- 

Secure – 
5 

B++, 
B+ 

BBB+, 
BBB, 
BBB- 

Baa1, 
Baa2, 
Baa3 

BBB+, 
BBB, 
BBB- 

Vulnerable 

– 6 

B, B-, 
C++, 
C+, 
C, C-, 
D, E, 
F 

BB+, 
BB, BB-, 

B+, B, B-

, CCC, 
CC, C, 
D, R 

Ba1, Ba2, 
Ba3, B1, 
B2, B3, 
Caa, Ca, C 

BB+, 
BB, BB-, 
B+, B, 
B-, 
CCC+, 
CC, 
CCC-, 
DD 

b. The business practices of the certified reinsurer in 

dealing with its ceding insurers, including its record of 

compliance with reinsurance contractual terms and 
obligations;  

c. For certified reinsurers domiciled in the United States, 

a review of the most recent applicable NAIC annual 

statement blank, either Schedule F (for property/casualty 
reinsurers) or Schedule S (for life and health reinsurers);  

d. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, a review annually of the Assumed Reinsurance 

Form CR-F (for property/casualty reinsurers) or the 

Reinsurance Assumed Life Insurance, Annuities, Deposit 

Funds and Other Liabilities Form CR-S (for life and 
health reinsurers) of this chapter; 

e. The reputation of the certified reinsurer for prompt 

payment of claims under reinsurance agreements, based 

on an analysis of ceding insurers' Schedule F reporting of 

overdue reinsurance recoverables, including the 
proportion of obligations that are more than 90 days past 

due or are in dispute, with specific attention given to 

obligations payable to companies that are in 
administrative supervision or receivership;  

f. Regulatory actions against the certified reinsurer;  

g. The report of the independent auditor on the financial 

statements of the insurance enterprise, on the basis 
described in subdivision 4 h of this subsection;  

h. For certified reinsurers not domiciled in the United 

States, audited financial statements (audited United 

States GAAP basis if available, audited IFRS basis 
statements are allowed but shall include an audited 

footnote reconciling equity and net income to a United 

States GAAP basis), regulatory filings, and actuarial 

opinion (as filed with the non-United States jurisdiction 

supervisor) supervisor with a translation into English). 

Upon the initial application for certification, the 

commission will consider audited financial statements for 

the last three two years filed with its non-United States 
jurisdiction supervisor; 

i. The liquidation priority of obligations to a ceding 

insurer in the certified reinsurer's domiciliary jurisdiction 
in the context of an insolvency proceeding;  

j. A certified reinsurer's participation in any solvent 

scheme of arrangement, or similar procedure, which 

involves United States ceding insurers. The commission 

shall receive prior notice from a certified reinsurer that 

proposes participation by the certified reinsurer in a 
solvent scheme of arrangement; and 

k. Any other information deemed relevant by the 
commission.  

5. Based on the analysis conducted under subdivision 4 e 

of this subsection of a certified reinsurer's reputation for 

prompt payment of claims, the commission may make 
appropriate adjustments in the security the certified 

reinsurer is required to post to protect its liabilities to 

United States ceding insurers, provided that the 

commission shall, at a minimum, increase the security the 

certified reinsurer is required to post by one rating level 

under subdivision 4 a of this subsection if the commission 
finds that:  

a. More than 15% of the certified reinsurer's ceding 

insurance clients have overdue reinsurance recoverables 
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on paid losses of 90 days or more that are not in dispute 
and that exceed $100,000 for each cedent; or  

b. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverables on 

paid losses that are not in dispute that are overdue by 90 
days or more exceeds $50 million.  

6. The assuming insurer shall submit a properly executed 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer as evidence of its 

submission to the jurisdiction of this Commonwealth, 
appointment of the commission as an agent for service of 

process in this Commonwealth, and agreement to provide 

security for 100% of the assuming insurer's liabilities 

attributable to reinsurance ceded by United States ceding 

insurers if it resists enforcement of a final United States 

judgment. The commission shall not certify any assuming 

insurer that is domiciled in a jurisdiction that the 

commission has determined does not adequately and 

promptly enforce final United States judgments or 
arbitration awards.  

7. The certified reinsurer shall agree to meet applicable 

information filing requirements as determined by the 

commission, both with respect to an initial application for 

certification and on an ongoing basis. All information 

submitted by certified reinsurers that are not otherwise 

public information subject to disclosure shall be exempted 

from disclosure under §§ 38.2-221.3 and 38.2-1306.1 of 

the Act Code of Virginia and shall be withheld from public 

disclosure. The applicable information filing requirements 
are as follows:  

a. Notification within 10 days of any regulatory actions 

taken against the certified reinsurer, any change in the 

provisions of its domiciliary license, or any change in 
rating by an approved rating agency, including a 

statement describing such changes and the reasons 
therefore;  

b. Annually, Form CR-F or CR-S, as applicable;  

c. Annually, the report of the independent auditor on the 

financial statements of the insurance enterprise, on the 
basis described in subdivision 7 d of this subsection; 

d. Annually, the most recent audited financial statements 

(audited United States GAAP basis if available, audited 

IFRS basis statements are allowed but shall include an 

audited footnote reconciling equity and net income to a 
United States GAAP basis), regulatory filings, and 

actuarial opinion (as filed with the certified reinsurer's 

supervisor) supervisor with a translation into English). 

Upon the initial certification, audited financial statements 

for the last three two years filed with the certified 
reinsurer's supervisor;  

e. At least annually, an updated list of all disputed and 

overdue reinsurance claims regarding reinsurance 
assumed from United States domestic ceding insurers;  

f. A certification from the certified reinsurer's domestic 

regulator that the certified reinsurer is in good standing 

and maintains capital in excess of the jurisdiction's 
highest regulatory action level; and  

g. Any other information that the commission may 

reasonably require.  

8. Change in rating or revocation of certification. 

a. In the case of a downgrade by a rating agency or other 

disqualifying circumstance, the commission shall upon 

written notice assign a new rating to the certified 

reinsurer in accordance with the requirements of 
subdivision 4 a of this subsection.  

b. The commission shall have the authority to suspend, 

revoke, or otherwise modify a certified reinsurer's 

certification at any time if the certified reinsurer fails to 

meet its obligations or security requirements under this 

section, or if other financial or operating results of the 

certified reinsurer, or documented significant delays in 

payment by the certified reinsurer, lead the commission 
to reconsider the certified reinsurer's ability or 
willingness to meet its contractual obligations.  

c. If the rating of a certified reinsurer is upgraded by the 

commission, the certified reinsurer may meet the security 

requirements applicable to its new rating on a prospective 

basis, but the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to post security under the previously applicable 

security requirements as to all contracts in force on or 

before the effective date of the upgraded rating. If the 

rating of a certified reinsurer is downgraded by the 

commission, the commission shall require the certified 

reinsurer to meet the security requirements applicable to 
its new rating for all business it has assumed as a 
certified reinsurer.  

d. Upon revocation of the certification of a certified 

reinsurer by the commission, the assuming insurer shall 

be required to post security in accordance with 14VAC5-

300-110 in order for the ceding insurer to continue to 

take credit for reinsurance ceded to the assuming insurer. 

If funds continue to be held in trust in accordance with 

14VAC5-300-90, the commission may allow additional 

credit equal to the ceding insurer's pro rata share of such 

funds, discounted to reflect the risk of uncollectibility 
and anticipated expenses of trust administration. 

Notwithstanding the change of a certified reinsurer's 

rating or revocation of its certification, a domestic insurer 

that has ceded reinsurance to that certified reinsurer may 

not be denied credit for reinsurance for a period of three 

months for all reinsurance ceded to that certified 

reinsurer, unless the reinsurance is found by the 
commission to be at high risk of uncollectibility.  
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C. Qualified jurisdictions. 

1. If, upon conducting an evaluation under this section with 

respect to the reinsurance supervisory system of any non-

United States assuming insurer, the commission 

determines that the jurisdiction qualifies to be recognized 

as a qualified jurisdiction, the commission shall publish 

notice and evidence of such recognition in an appropriate 

manner. The commission may establish a procedure to 
withdraw recognition of those jurisdictions that are no 
longer qualified.  

2. In order to determine whether the domiciliary 

jurisdiction of a non-United States assuming insurer is 

eligible to be recognized as a qualified jurisdiction, the 

commission shall evaluate the reinsurance supervisory 

system of the non-United States jurisdiction, both initially 

and on an ongoing basis, and consider the rights, benefits, 

and the extent of reciprocal recognition afforded by the 

non-United States jurisdiction to reinsurers licensed and 

domiciled in the United States. The commission shall 
determine the appropriate approach for evaluating the 

qualifications of such jurisdictions, and create and publish 

a list of jurisdictions whose reinsurers may be approved by 

the commission as eligible for certification. A qualified 

jurisdiction shall agree to share information and cooperate 

with the commission with respect to all certified reinsurers 

domiciled within that jurisdiction. Additional factors to be 

considered in determining whether to recognize a qualified 

jurisdiction, in the discretion of the commission, include 
but are not limited to the following: 

a. The framework under which the assuming insurer is 

regulated.  

b. The structure and authority of the domiciliary 

regulator with regard to solvency regulation requirements 
and financial surveillance.  

c. The substance of financial and operating standards for 
assuming insurers in the domiciliary jurisdiction.  

d. The form and substance of financial reports required to 

be filed or made publicly available by reinsurers in the 

domiciliary jurisdiction and the accounting principles 
used.  

e. The domiciliary regulator's willingness to cooperate 

with United States regulators in general and the 
commission in particular.  

f. The history of performance by assuming insurers in the 
domiciliary jurisdiction.  

g. Any documented evidence of substantial problems 

with the enforcement of final United States judgments in 

the domiciliary jurisdiction. A jurisdiction will not be 

considered to be a qualified jurisdiction if the 

commission has determined that it does not adequately 

and promptly enforce final United States judgments or 
arbitration awards.  

h. Any relevant international standards or guidance with 

respect to mutual recognition of reinsurance supervision 

adopted by the International Association of Insurance 
Supervisors or successor organization.  

i. Any other matters deemed relevant by the commission. 

3. A list of qualified jurisdictions shall be published 

through the NAIC committee process. The commission 

shall consider this list in determining qualified 

jurisdictions. If the commission approves a jurisdiction as 

qualified that does not appear on the list of qualified 

jurisdictions, the commission shall provide thoroughly 

documented justification with respect to the criteria 

provided under subdivisions 2 a through i of this 
subsection.  

4. United States jurisdictions that meet the requirements 

for accreditation under the NAIC financial standards and 

accreditation program shall be recognized as qualified 
jurisdictions.  

D. Recognition of certification issued by an NAIC 
accredited jurisdiction.  

1. If an applicant for certification has been certified as a 

reinsurer in an NAIC accredited jurisdiction, the 

commission has the discretion to defer to that jurisdiction's 

certification, and to defer to the rating assigned by that 

jurisdiction, if the assuming insurer submits a properly 

executed Certificate of Certified Reinsurer and such 

additional information as the commission requires. The 

assuming insurer shall be considered to be a certified 
reinsurer in this Commonwealth.  

2. Any change in the certified reinsurer's status or rating in 

the other jurisdiction shall apply automatically in this 

Commonwealth as of the date it takes effect in the other 

jurisdiction. The certified reinsurer shall notify the 

commission of any change in its status or rating within 10 
days after receiving notice of the change.  

3. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's rating at any time and assign a new rating in 
accordance with subdivision B 8 a of this section.  

4. The commission may withdraw recognition of the other 

jurisdiction's certification at any time, with written notice 
to the certified reinsurer. Unless the commission suspends 

or revokes the certified reinsurer's certification in 

accordance with subdivision B 8 b of this section, the 

certified reinsurer's certification shall remain in good 

standing in this Commonwealth for a period of three 

months, which shall be extended if additional time is 

necessary to consider the assuming insurer's application for 
certification in this Commonwealth.  
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E. Mandatory funding clause. In addition to the clauses 

required under 14VAC5-300-150, reinsurance contracts 

entered into or renewed under this section shall include a 

proper funding clause, which requires the certified reinsurer 

to provide and maintain security in an amount sufficient to 

avoid the imposition of any financial statement penalty on the 

ceding insurer under this section for reinsurance ceded to the 
certified reinsurer.  

F. The commission shall comply with all reporting and 

notification requirements that may be established by the 

NAIC with respect to certified reinsurers and qualified 
jurisdictions. 

14VAC5-300-97. Credit for reinsurance; reciprocal 

jurisdictions. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 E of the Act, the commission 

shall allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer 

to an assuming insurer that is licensed to write reinsurance 

by, and has its head office or is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction and that meets the other requirements of this 
chapter. 

B. A "reciprocal jurisdiction" is a jurisdiction, as designated 

by the commission pursuant to subsection D of this section, 
that meets one of the following: 

1. A non-United States jurisdiction that is subject to an in-

force covered agreement with the United States, each 

within its legal authority or, in the case of a covered 

agreement between the United States and the European 

Union, is a member state of the European Union. For 

purposes of this subsection, a "covered agreement" is an 

agreement entered into pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall 

Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (31 USC 
§§ 313 and 314) that is currently in effect or in a period of 

provisional application and addresses the elimination, 

under specified conditions, of collateral requirements as a 

condition for entering into any reinsurance agreement with 

a ceding insurer domiciled in this Commonwealth or for 

allowing the ceding insurer to recognize credit for 
reinsurance; 

2. A United States jurisdiction that meets the requirements 

for accreditation under the NAIC financial standards and 
accreditation program; or 

3. A qualified jurisdiction, as determined by the 

commission pursuant to § 38.2-1316.2 D of the Code of 

Virginia and 14VAC5-300-95 C, that is not otherwise 

described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection and that 

the commission determines meets all of the following 
additional requirements: 

a. Provides that an insurer that has its head office or is 

domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction shall receive 

credit for reinsurance ceded to a United States-domiciled 

assuming insurer in the same manner as credit for 

reinsurance is received for reinsurance assumed by 
insurers domiciled in such qualified jurisdiction; 

b. Does not require a United States-domiciled assuming 

insurer to establish or maintain a local presence as a 

condition for entering into a reinsurance agreement with 

any ceding insurer subject to regulation by the non-

United States jurisdiction or as a condition to allow the 
ceding insurer to recognize credit for such reinsurance; 

c. Recognizes the United States state regulatory approach 

to group supervision and group capital by providing 

written confirmation by a competent regulatory authority 

in such qualified jurisdiction that insurers and insurance 

groups that are domiciled or maintain their headquarters 

in this Commonwealth or another jurisdiction accredited 

by the NAIC shall be subject only to worldwide 

prudential insurance group supervision, including 

worldwide group governance, solvency and capital, and 

reporting, as applicable, by the commission or the 

commissioner of the domiciliary state and will not be 
subject to group supervision at the level of the worldwide 

parent undertaking of the insurance or reinsurance group 
by the qualified jurisdiction; and 

d. Provides written confirmation by a competent 

regulatory authority in such qualified jurisdiction that 

information regarding insurers and the insurers' parent, 

subsidiary, or affiliated entities, if applicable, shall be 

provided to the commission in accordance with a 

memorandum of understanding or similar document 

between the commission and such qualified jurisdiction, 

including to the International Association of Insurance 

Supervisors Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding 
or other multilateral memoranda of understanding 
coordinated by the NAIC. 

C. Credit shall be allowed when the reinsurance is ceded 

from an insurer domiciled in this Commonwealth to an 

assuming insurer meeting each of the conditions set forth in 
this subsection. 

1. The assuming insurer must be licensed to transact 

reinsurance by and have its head office or be domiciled in 
a reciprocal jurisdiction. 

2. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis minimum capital and surplus, or its 
equivalent, calculated on at least an annual basis as of the 

preceding December 31 or at the annual date otherwise 

statutorily reported to the reciprocal jurisdiction and 

confirmed as set forth in subdivision C 7 of this subsection 

according to the methodology of its domiciliary 
jurisdiction, in the following amounts: 

a. No less than $250 million; or 

b. If the assuming insurer is an association, including 

incorporated and individual unincorporated underwriters: 
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(1) Minimum capital and surplus equivalents (net of 

liabilities) or own funds of the equivalent of at least $250 
million; and 

(2) A central fund containing a balance of the equivalent 

of at least $250 million. 

3. The assuming insurer must have and maintain on an 

ongoing basis a minimum solvency or capital ratio, as 
applicable, as follows: 

a. If the assuming insurer has its head office or is 

domiciled in a reciprocal jurisdiction as defined in 

subdivision B 1 of this section, the ratio specified in the 
applicable covered agreement; 

b. If the assuming insurer is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction as defined in subdivision B 2 of this section, 

a risk-based capital (RBC) ratio of 300% of the 

authorized control level, calculated in accordance with 
the formula developed by the NAIC; or 

c. If the assuming insurer is domiciled in a reciprocal 

jurisdiction as defined in subdivision B 3 of this section, 
after consultation with the reciprocal jurisdiction and 

considering any recommendations published through the 

NAIC Committee Process, such solvency or capital ratio 

as the commission determines to be an effective measure 
of solvency. 

4. The assuming insurer must agree to and provide 

adequate assurance, in the form of a properly executed 

Certificate of Reinsurer Domiciled in Reciprocal 

Jurisdiction Form RJ-1 of this chapter, of its agreement to 
the following: 

a. The assuming insurer must agree to provide prompt 

written notice and explanation to the commission if it 
falls below the minimum requirements set forth in 

subdivision 2 or 3 of this subsection or if any regulatory 

action is taken against it for serious noncompliance with 
applicable law. 

b. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to the 

jurisdiction of the courts of this Commonwealth and to 

the appointment of the commission as agent for service 
of process. 

(1) The commission may also require that such consent 

be provided and included in each reinsurance agreement 
under the commission's jurisdiction. 

(2) Nothing in this provision shall limit or in any way 

alter the capacity of parties to a reinsurance agreement to 

agree to alternative dispute resolution mechanisms, 

except to the extent such agreements are unenforceable 
under applicable insolvency or delinquency laws. 

c. The assuming insurer must consent in writing to pay 

all final judgments, wherever enforcement is sought, 

obtained by a ceding insurer that have been declared 

enforceable in the territory where the judgment was 
obtained. 

d. Each reinsurance agreement must include a provision 

requiring the assuming insurer to provide security in an 

amount equal to 100% of the assuming insurer's 

liabilities attributable to reinsurance ceded pursuant to 

that agreement if the assuming insurer resists 

enforcement of a final judgment that is enforceable under 
the law of the jurisdiction in which it was obtained or a 

properly enforceable arbitration award, whether obtained 

by the ceding insurer or by its legal successor on behalf 
of its estate, if applicable. 

e. The assuming insurer must confirm that it is not 

presently participating in any solvent scheme of 

arrangement, which involves this Commonwealth's 

ceding insurers, and agrees to notify the ceding insurer 

and the commission and to provide 100% security to the 

ceding insurer consistent with the terms of the scheme, 

should the assuming insurer enter into such a solvent 
scheme of arrangement. Such security shall be in a form 

consistent with the provisions of subsection D of § 38.2-

1316.2 and subdivision 2 of § 38.2-1316.4 of the Code of 

Virginia and 14VAC5-300-120, 14VAC5-300-130, or 
14VAC5-300-140.  

f. The assuming insurer must agree in writing to meet the 

applicable information filing requirements as set forth in 
subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

5. The assuming insurer or its legal successor must 

provide, if requested by the commission, on behalf of itself 

and any legal predecessors, the following documentation to 
the commission: 

a. For the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance 

agreement and on an annual basis thereafter, the 

assuming insurer's annual audited financial statements in 

accordance with the applicable law of the jurisdiction of 

its head office or domiciliary jurisdiction, as applicable, 
including the external audit report; 

b. For the two years preceding entry into the reinsurance 

agreement, the solvency and financial condition report or 

actuarial opinion if filed with the assuming insurer's 
supervisor; 

c. Prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not 

more than semi-annually thereafter, an updated list of all 

disputed and overdue reinsurance claims outstanding for 

90 days or more, regarding reinsurance assumed from 
ceding insurers domiciled in the United States; and 

d. Prior to entry into the reinsurance agreement and not 

more than semi-annually thereafter, information 

regarding the assuming insurer's assumed reinsurance by 

ceding insurer, ceded reinsurance by the assuming 

insurer, and reinsurance recoverable on paid and unpaid 
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losses by the assuming insurer to allow for the evaluation 
of the criteria set forth in subdivision 6 of this subsection. 

6. The assuming insurer must maintain a practice of 

prompt payment of claims under reinsurance agreements. 

The lack of prompt payment will be evidenced if any of the 
following criteria is met: 

a. More than 15% of the reinsurance recoverables from 

the assuming insurer are overdue and in dispute as 
reported to the commission; 

b. More than 15% of the assuming insurer's ceding 

insurers or reinsurers have overdue reinsurance 

recoverable on paid losses of 90 days or more that are not 

in dispute and that exceed for each ceding insurer 

$100,000, or as otherwise specified in a covered 
agreement; or 

c. The aggregate amount of reinsurance recoverable on 

paid losses that are not in dispute, but are overdue by 90 

days or more, exceeds $50 million, or as otherwise 
specified in a covered agreement. 

7. The assuming insurer's supervisory authority must 

confirm to the commission on an annual basis that the 

assuming insurer complies with the requirements set forth 
in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this subsection. 

8. Nothing in this provision precludes an assuming insurer 

from providing the commissioner with information on a 
voluntary basis. 

D. The commissioner shall timely create and publish a list of 

reciprocal jurisdictions. 

1. A list of reciprocal jurisdictions is published through the 

NAIC Committee Process. The commission's list shall 

include any reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under 
subdivisions B 1 and B 2 of this section and shall consider 

any other reciprocal jurisdiction included on the NAIC list. 

The commission may approve a jurisdiction that does not 

appear on the NAIC list of reciprocal jurisdictions as 

provided by applicable law or regulation or in accordance 

with criteria published through the NAIC Committee 
Process. 

2. The commission may remove a jurisdiction from the list 

of reciprocal jurisdictions upon a determination that the 

jurisdiction no longer meets one or more of the 

requirements of a reciprocal jurisdiction, as provided by 
applicable law or regulation or in accordance with a 

process published through the NAIC Committee Process, 

except that the commission shall not remove from the list a 

reciprocal jurisdiction as defined under subdivisions B 1 

and B 2 of this section. Upon removal of a reciprocal 

jurisdiction from this list credit for reinsurance ceded to an 

assuming insurer domiciled in that jurisdiction shall be 

allowed if otherwise allowed pursuant to Article 3.1 

(§ 38.2-1316.1 et seq.) of Chapter 13 of Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

E. The commission shall timely create and publish a list of 

assuming insurers that have satisfied the conditions set forth 

in this section and to which cessions shall be granted credit in 
accordance with this section. 

1. If an NAIC accredited jurisdiction has determined that 

the conditions set forth in subsection C of this section have 
been met, the commission has the discretion to defer to that 

jurisdiction's determination and add such assuming insurer 

to the list of assuming insurers to which cessions shall be 

granted credit in accordance with this subsection. The 

commission may accept financial documentation filed with 

another NAIC accredited jurisdiction or with the NAIC in 

satisfaction of the requirements of subsection C of this 
section. 

2. When requesting that the commission defer to another 

NAIC accredited jurisdiction's determination, an assuming 

insurer must submit a properly executed Form RJ-1 and 
additional information as the commission may require. A 

state that has received such a request will notify other 

states through the NAIC Committee Process and provide 

relevant information with respect to the determination of 
eligibility. 

F. If the commission determines that an assuming insurer no 

longer meets one or more of the requirements under this 

section, the commission may revoke or suspend the eligibility 
of the assuming insurer for recognition under this section. 

1. While an assuming insurer's eligibility is suspended, no 

reinsurance agreement issued, amended, or renewed after 

the effective date of the suspension qualifies for credit 
except to the extent that the assuming insurer's obligations 

under the contract are secured in accordance with 
14VAC5-300-110. 

2. If an assuming insurer's eligibility is revoked, no credit 

for reinsurance may be granted after the effective date of 

the revocation with respect to any reinsurance agreements 

entered into by the assuming insurer, including reinsurance 

agreements entered into prior to the date of revocation, 

except to the extent that the assuming insurer's obligations 

under the contract are secured in a form acceptable to the 

commission and consistent with the provisions of 
14VAC5-300-110. 

G. Before denying statement credit or imposing a 

requirement to post security with respect to subsection F of 

this section or adopting any similar requirement that will have 

substantially the same regulatory impact as security, the 
commission shall: 

1. Communicate with the ceding insurer, the assuming 

insurer, and the assuming insurer's supervisory authority 
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that the assuming insurer no longer satisfies one of the 
conditions listed in subsection C of this section; 

2. Provide the assuming insurer with 30 days from the 

initial communication to submit a plan to remedy the 

defect and 90 days from the initial communication to 

remedy the defect, except in exceptional circumstances in 

which a shorter period is necessary for policyholder and 
other consumer protection; 

3. After the expiration of the 90-day or shorter period to 

remedy the defect, as set out in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection, if the commission determines that no or 

insufficient action was taken by the assuming insurer, the 

commission may impose any of the requirements as set out 
in this subsection; and 

4. Provide a written explanation to the assuming insurer of 
any of the requirements set out in this subsection. 

H. If subject to a legal process of rehabilitation, liquidation, 

or conservation, as applicable, the ceding insurer or its 

representative may seek and, if determined appropriate by the 
court in which the proceedings are pending, may obtain an 

order requiring that the assuming insurer post security for all 
outstanding liabilities. 

14VAC5-300-150. Reinsurance contract.  

A. Credit will not be granted, nor an asset or reduction from 

liability allowed, to a ceding insurer for reinsurance effected 

with assuming insurers meeting the requirements of 

14VAC5-300-60, 14VAC5-300-70, 14VAC5-300-80, 

14VAC5-300-90, 14VAC5-300-95, 14VAC5-300-97, or 

14VAC5-300-100 14VAC5-300-110 or otherwise in 

compliance with § 38.2-1316.2 of the Act unless the 
reinsurance agreement:  

1. Includes a proper insolvency clause that stipulates that 

reinsurance is payable directly to the liquidator or 

successor without diminution regardless of the status of the 
ceding company; 

2. Includes a provision whereby the assuming insurer, if an 

unauthorized assuming insurer, has submitted to the 

jurisdiction of an alternative dispute resolution panel or 

court of competent jurisdiction within the United States, 

has agreed to comply with all requirements necessary to 

give such court or panel jurisdiction, has designated an 

agent upon whom service of process may be effected, and 
has agreed to abide by the final decisions of such court or 
panel; and  

3. Includes a proper reinsurance intermediary clause, if 

applicable, that stipulates that the credit risk for the 
intermediary is carried by the assuming insurer. 

B. If the assuming insurer is not licensed, accredited, or 

certified to transact insurance or reinsurance in this 

Commonwealth, the credit permitted pursuant to  

§ 38.2-1316.2 C 3, C 4, and G H shall not be allowed unless 
the assuming insurer agrees in the reinsurance agreements: 

1. a. That in the event of the failure of the assuming insurer 

to perform its obligations under the terms of the 

reinsurance agreement, the assuming insurer, at the request 

of the ceding insurer, shall submit to the jurisdiction of any 

court of competent jurisdiction in any state of the United 

States, will comply with all requirements necessary to give 
the court jurisdiction, and will abide by the final decision 

of the court or of any appellate court in the event of an 
appeal; and 

b. To designate the commission or a designated attorney 

as its true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served 

any lawful process in any action, suit, or proceeding 
instituted by or on behalf of the ceding insurer. 

2. This subsection is not intended to conflict with or 

override the obligation of the parties to a reinsurance 

agreement to arbitrate their disputes, if this obligation is 
created in the agreement. 

C. If the assuming insurer does not meet the requirements of 

§ 38.2-1316.2 C 1, 2, or 3, the credit permitted by § 38.2-

1316.2 C 4 or D shall not be allowed unless the assuming 

insurer agrees in the trust agreements to the following 
conditions: 

1. Notwithstanding any other provisions in the trust 

instrument, if the trust fund is inadequate because it 

contains an amount less than the amount required by 

§ 38.2-1316.2 C 4, or if the grantor of the trust has been 

declared insolvent or placed into receivership, 

rehabilitation, liquidation, or similar proceedings under the 

laws of its state or country of domicile, the trustee shall 
comply with an order of the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight over the trust or with an order of a court of 

competent jurisdiction directing the trustee to transfer to 

the commissioner with regulatory oversight all of the assets 
of the trust fund. 

2. The assets shall be distributed by and claims shall be 

filed with and valued by the commissioner with regulatory 

oversight in accordance with the laws of the state in which 

the trust is domiciled that are applicable to the liquidation 
of domestic insurance companies. 

3. If the commissioner with regulatory oversight 

determines that the assets of the trust fund or any part 

thereof are not necessary to satisfy the claims of the United 

States ceding insurers of the grantor of the trust, the assets 

or part thereof shall be returned by the commissioner with 

regulatory oversight to the trustee for distribution in 
accordance with the trust agreement. 

4. The grantor shall waive any right otherwise available to 

it under United States law that is inconsistent with this 
provision.  
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NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (14VAC5-300) 

Certificate of Assuming Insurer - Year Ended December 31, 

2017, R05 (05/18) (eff. 5/2018) 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 

31, ____, R15 (02/14) (eff. 2/2014) 

Certificate of Certified Reinsurer - Year Ended December 

31, ____, R15 (11/19) (eff. 11/2019) 

Schedule S, Part 1 - Part 7, 1994-2017 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, Life, 
Accident & Health (eff. 1/2018) 

Schedule F, Part 1 - Part 9, 1994-2017 National Association 

of Insurance Commissioners, Annual Statement Blank, 
Property/Casualty (eff. 1/2018) 

Form CR-F - Part 1 - Part 2, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013) 

Form CR-S - Part 1 - Part 3, 2011 National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners (eff. 1/2013)  

Certificate of Reinsurer Domiciled in Reciprocal 

Jurisdiction - Year Ended December 31, ____, RJ-1 (07/20) 
(eff. 7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6333; Filed June 14, 2020, 3:25 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts amendments to regulations of the board to schedule a 
substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-

3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will receive, consider, 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3433 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove from regulatory text, 

compounds placed in Schedule I by Chapters 101 and 229 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, effective July 1, 2020; and 

(ii) add 11 compounds into Schedule I of the Drug Control 

Act as recommended by the Department of Forensic 

Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. 

These compounds added by regulatory action will remain 

in effect for 18 months or until the compounds are placed 
in Schedule I by legislative action of the General Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid: N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-benzamide (other names: Phenyl fentanyl, 

Benzoyl fentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

2. Research chemicals: 

a. 4-acetyloxy-N,N-diallyltryptamine (other name: 4-

AcO-DALT), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 4-chloro-N,N-dimethylcathinone, its optical, position, 

and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

c. 4-hydroxy-N,N-methylisopropyltryptamine (other 

name: 4-hydroxy-MiPT), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. 3,4-Methylenedioxy-alpha-pyrrolidinohexanophenone 

(other name: MDPHP), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a484005569~67.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c836006333~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2c836006333~29.pdf&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f2569005569~87.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3be31005569~77.pdf&typ=40&actno=005569&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1f81a003115~12&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=569cb003115~13&typ=40&actno=003115&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3fc3d006333~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006333&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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3. Cannabimimetic agent: Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-

1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other 

name: 5-Fluoro-MDMB-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 2, 2020, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. 3,4-dichloro-N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

isopropyl-benzamide (other name: Isopropyl U-47700), its 

isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, 

and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation.  

2. Alpha-pyrrolidinoisohexiophenone (other name: alpha-

PiHP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

3. 1-[1-(3-hydroxyphenyl)cyclohexyl]piperidine (other 

name: 3-hydroxy PCP), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 
within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 25, 2020, unless enacted into law in 
the Drug Control Act. 

C. A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-phenylfuran-2-

carboxamide (other name: Furanyl UF-17), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 

ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-phenylpropionamide 

(other name: UF-17), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, 

esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

2. Research chemicals. 

a. 5-methoxy-N,N-dibutyltryptamine (other name: 5-

methoxy-DBT), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-butanone 

(other name: Eutylone, bk-EBDB), its optical, position, 
and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

c. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(butylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-butylpentylone), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. N-benzyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other name: N-

benzyl-3,4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

e. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-benzylcathinone (other name: 

BMDP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation.  

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Ethyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other name: EMB-

FUBINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

b. Methyl 2-[1-4-fluorobutyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 4-

fluoro-MDMB-BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 10, 2021, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 
Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylmethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: N-benzyl Furanyl 
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norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

b. 1-[2-methyl-4-(3-phenyl-2-propen-1-yl)-1-piperazinyl]-1-

butanone (other name: 2-methyl AP-237), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and 
ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever the 

existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Research chemicals. 

a. N-hexyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other names: N-

hexyl-3.4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-heptyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other names: 

N-heptyl-3.4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 
isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(isobutylamino)-1-phenylhexan-1-one (other names: 

N-Isobutyl Hexedrone, α-isobutylaminohexanphenone), 

its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 
specific chemical designation. 

d. 1-(benzo[d][1,3]dioxol-5-yl)-2-(sec-butylamino)pentan-1-

one (other name: N-sec-butyl Pentylone), its optical, 

position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 
isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

e. 2-fluoro-Deschloroketamine (other name: 2-(2-

fluorophenyl)-2-(methylamino)-cyclohexanone), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation.  

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-methylbutanoate (other name: MMB 

2201), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. Methyl 2-[1-(4-penten-1-yl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

MMB022, MMB-4en-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 
chemical designation. 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-phenylpropanoate (other name: 5-fluoro-

MPP-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 
designation. 

d. 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-phenylethyl)-1H-

indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-fluoro CUMYL-

PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
is possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 4, 2022, unless enacted into law in the 
Drug Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6321; Filed June 8, 2020, 3:49 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts amendments to regulations of the 

board to schedule a substance pursuant to subsection E of 

§ 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-323).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) add four compounds and add an 

"other name" for FUB-AKB48 in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act; (ii) add one compound to, delete two 

compounds from, and change the name of one compound 

in Schedule II; (iii) add two compounds in Schedule IV; 

and (iv) add one compound in Schedule V to mirror a final 

federal action regarding scheduling of controlled 
substances. 

18VAC110-20-323. Scheduling for conformity with 

federal law or rule. 

Pursuant to subsection E of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia and in order to conform the Drug Control Act to 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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recent scheduling changes enacted in federal law or rule, the 
board:  

1. Adds MT-45 (1-cyclohexyl-4-(1,2-
diphenylethyl)piperazine) to Schedule I; 

2. Adds Dronabinol ((-)-delta-9-trans 

tetrahydrocannabinol) in an oral solution in a drug product 

approved for marketing by the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration to Schedule II;  

3. Deletes naldemedine from Schedule II; and 

4. Adds a drug product in finished dosage formulation that 

has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration that contains cannabidiol (2-[1R-3-methyl-

6R-(1-methylethenyl)-2-cyclohexen-1-yl]-5-pentyl-1,3-

benzenediol) derived from cannabis and no more than 
0.1% (w/w) residual tetrahydrocannabinols to Schedule V; 

5. Adds methyl 2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-CHMICA, MMB-CHMINACA), including its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 
of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible, in 
Schedule I; 

6. Adds solriamfetol (2-amino-3-phenylpropyl carbamate), 

including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible, to Schedule IV; 

7. Adds noroxymorphone, including its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 
isomers, and salts of isomers is possible, to Schedule II; 

8. Adds lasmiditan [2,4,6-trifluoro-N-(6-(1-

methylpiperidine-4-carbonyl)pyridine-2-yl-benzamide], 

including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 
the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible, to Schedule V; 

9. Adds brexanolone (3α-hydroxy-5α-pregnan-20-one), 

including its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 
possible, in Schedule IV; 

10. Deletes naloxegol and 6β-naltrexol from Schedule II; 

11. Replaces 4-anilino-N-phenethyl-4-piperidine (CASRN 

21409-26-7) in Schedule II with 4-anilino-N-
phenethylpiperidine (ANPP); 

12. Adds ethyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 5F-

EDMB-PINACA), methyl 2-(1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-

indole-3-carboxamido)-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other 

name: 5F-MDMB-PICA), and 1-5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-

phenylpropan-2-yl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other 

name: 5F-CUMYL-PINACA), and their optical, positional, 

and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers to 
Schedule I; and 

13. Adds other name 5F-APINACA to N-(adamantan-1-yl)-1-
(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 
FUB-AKB48) which is currently placed in Schedule I. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6327; Filed June 8, 2020, 3:50 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-50. Regulations Governing 

Natural Gas Automobile Mechanics and Technicians 

(repealing 18VAC120-50-10 through 18VAC120-50-230).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2356 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX 
(866) 430-1033, or email cngmech@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 1168 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly repealed 

Chapter 23.4 (§ 54.1-2355 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, removing the authority for the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation to regulate 

natural gas automobile mechanics and technicians. 
Therefore, the regulations are repealed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6375; Filed June 10, 2020, 12:34 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-210. Water or Wastewater 

Utility Applications Seeking Fair Valuation of 

Acquisitions of Municipal Water (adding 20VAC5-210-10, 

20VAC5-210-20, 20VAC5-210-30, 20VAC5-210-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-90.2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Scott Armstrong, CPA, CDP, Deputy 

Director, Division of Utility Accounting and Finance, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 371-9535, FAX (804) 371-9549, or 
email scott.armstrong@scc.virginia.com. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation adds a new chapter, Water or 

Wastewater Utility Applications Seeking Fair Valuation of 

Acquisitions of Municipal Water or Wastewater Systems 

(20VAC5-210), pursuant to Chapters 518 and 519 of the 

2020 Acts of Assembly to establish minimum filing 

requirements related to such utility applications under 

Chapter 5 (§ 56-88 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 16, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00116 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting new 

rules of the State Corporation Commission 

governing utility applications 

seeking fair valuation of acquisitions of municipal 
water or wastewater systems 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

The Virginia General Assembly enacted legislation during 

its 2020 Session1 requiring the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") to establish rules governing utility 

applications seeking fair valuation of acquisitions of 

municipal water or wastewater systems related to applications 

filed pursuant to Chapter 5 of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia.2 The new rules are to be effective by January 1, 
2021. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding 
should be established to promulgate rules governing water or 

wastewater utility applications seeking fair valuation of 

acquisitions of municipal water or wastewater systems. To 

initiate this proceeding, the Commission's Staff ("Staff") has 

prepared proposed rules which are appended to this Order 

("Proposed Rules"). We will direct that notice of the 

Proposed Rules be given to the public and that interested 

persons be provided an opportunity to file written comments 

on, propose modifications or supplements to, or request a 

hearing on the Proposed Rules. We further find that a copy of 

the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of 
Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

The Commission further takes judicial notice of the ongoing 

public health emergency related to the spread of the 

coronavirus, or COVID-19, and the declarations of 

emergency issued at both the state and federal levels.3 The 

Commission has taken certain actions, and may take 

additional actions going forward, which could impact the 

procedures in this proceeding.4 Consistent with these actions, 

in regard to the terms of the procedural framework 

established below, the Commission will, among other things, 
direct the electronic filing of comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed as Case No. PUR-2020-00116. 

(2) All filings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-

150, Copies and Format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure ("Rules of Practice").5 For the 

duration of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking to 

hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading or 

other document shall contact the Clerk's Office Document 
Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery.6 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(4) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

obtained by submitting a request to Scott Armstrong in the 

Commission's Division of Utility Accounting and Finance at 

the following email address: 

scott.armstrong@scc.virginia.gov. An electronic copy of the 

Proposed Rules can be found at the Division of Public Utility 

mailto:scott.armstrong@scc.virginia.com
mailto:Scott.Armstrong@scc.virginia.gov
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Regulation's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons 

may also download unofficial copies of the Order and the 

Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(5) On or before July 27, 2020, any interested person may 

file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Such comments may also include proposed 

modifications and hearing requests. All comments shall refer 

to Case No. PUR-2020-00116. Any request for hearing shall 

state with specificity why the issues raised in the request for 

hearing cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. 

If a sufficient request for hearing is not received, the 

Commission may consider the matter and enter an order 
based upon the papers filed herein. 

(6) On or before August 17, 2020, the Staff may file with the 

Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 
comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 
Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(7) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to utilities providing water or sewer service 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia that are subject to 

regulation by the Commission as identified in the attached 

list; and C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney 

General, Division of Consumer Counsel, Office of the 

Attorney General, 202 North 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219-3424. 

_________________________________ 

1Chapter 519 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly (SB 831); Chapter 518 of the 

2020 Acts of Assembly (HB 835).  

2Section 56-88 et seq. 

3See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 

to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 

Northam. See also Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 

Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 

Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 

Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay at Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam. These and subsequent Executive Orders related to COVID-19 may 

be found at: https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/. 

4See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 

CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. 

Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation 

Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency 

(May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised 

Operating Procedures Order"), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission’s Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic 

service among parties during COVID-19emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service 

(Apr. 1, 2020). 

55 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

6As noted in the Revised Operating Procedures Order, submissions to the 

Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial mail equivalents 

may not be processed for an indefinite period of time due to the COVID-19 

emergency. 

20VAC5-210-10. Purpose and applicability. 

This chapter sets forth minimum filing requirements for 

Virginia's investor-owned water and wastewater utilities 

related to applications pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 56-88 et seq.) 
of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia when electing to seek use 

of fair market value (i) in the acquisition of a municipal or 

other governmental selling entity's water or wastewater 

system, and (ii) for purposes of determining initial rate base 

in conjunction with such acquisition. The commission may 
waive any or all parts of this chapter for good cause shown. 

20VAC5-210-20. General filing instructions. 

A. An applicant shall provide a notice of intent to file an 

application pursuant to this chapter to the commission at least 

30 days prior to the application filing date. Such notice of 

intent shall identify the parties involved in the proposed 
transaction and the specific section and subsection of the 

Code of Virginia pursuant to which the application will be 
filed. 

B. Applications filed pursuant to this chapter shall include, 

in addition to all other filing requirements in Chapter 5 (§ 56-
88 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia applications: 

1. Testimony in support of the proposed acquisition and 

purchase price. Such testimony shall include a statement 

from each of the acquiring and selling entities concerning 

each entity's agreement and intent to consummate the 

transaction according to the terms and conditions 
represented in the application. 

2. Complete and unredacted copies, including all 

supporting documentation and workpapers, of two 

qualified, independent, and impartial utility valuation 

experts' appraisals of the system assets to be acquired in 

compliance with the uniform standards of professional 

appraisal practices. The appraisals shall be submitted and 

treated confidentially under 5VAC5-20-170. Such 

appraisals shall be completed and submitted in accordance 
with the following requirements: 

a. One appraisal shall be sponsored by the water or 

wastewater public utility acquiring the utility system 
assets, and one appraisal shall be sponsored by the 
government entity selling its utility system assets. 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/
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b. The qualifications of each utility valuation expert, 

specifically as they relate to water or wastewater utility 
systems, shall be clearly identified in the application. 

c. The appraisals shall clearly identify whether they are 

based on a cost, market, income, other methodology, or a 

combination of such methodologies, and shall state the 
historical period on which they are based. 

d. To the extent any assets are proposed to be acquired 

apart from those to be currently used and useful in utility 

service, the appraisals shall (i) separately identify such 

assets and (ii) describe the acquiring utility's intended use 
of such assets.  

3. A complete and unredacted copy, including all supporting 
documentation and workpapers, of the assessment performed 

by an independent professional engineer licensed in Virginia, 
jointly retained by the acquiring and selling entities, regarding 

the tangible assets of the utility system to be acquired. For 
purposes of this section, "jointly retained" means retained 

collectively by the acquiring and selling entities, retained by 
the selling entity and adopted by the acquiring entity, or 

retained by the acquiring entity and adopted by the selling 
entity. Such assessment shall be (i) used by the utility 

valuation experts as a basis for their valuations in determining 
fair market value and (ii) submitted and treated confidentially 

under 5VAC5-20-170. Such assessments shall be completed 
and submitted in accordance with the following: 

a. The qualifications of such licensed engineer, 

specifically as the qualifications relate to water or 

wastewater utility systems, shall be clearly identified in 
the application. 

b. To the extent assets are to be acquired apart from those 

to be currently used and useful in utility service, such 

assessment shall separately quantify the assets that are to 
be currently used and useful in utility service. 

c. An analysis of the condition of the system shall be 

provided, including the in-service date, if available, and 
an assessment of the useful life of each asset and its 
operating condition. 

4. The following market data regarding water or 

wastewater utility transfers, if available, should be 

provided as part of the appraisals. To the extent such data 

is not available from the selling entity, an explanation 
should be provided. 

a. Identification of the acquiring and selling entities. 

b. A description of the assets. 

c. The geographic footprint of the acquired system. 

d. The number of customers. 

e. The transaction amount, identification of the recorded 

cost of the assets, and identification of whether such 

transaction was based on original cost, fair value, or 
other basis. 

f. Quantification of purchase of equity or debt, if 
applicable. 

g. Date of the transaction. 

5. The following cost data for the assets to be acquired, if 

available, should be included as part of the appraisals. To 

the extent such data is not available from the selling entity, 
an explanation should be provided. 

a. A detail of historical cost of assets by plant account, or 

categories of assets if not available by account, including 
plant additions and retirements by vintage year. 

b. A detail of the recorded reserve for depreciation by 

plant account or categories of assets if not available by 
account. 

c. Existing depreciation rates by account, or categories of 

assets, for the system to be acquired. 

6. The following income data, if available, should be 

included as part of the appraisals. To the extent such data is 
not available from the selling entity, an explanation should 
be provided. 

a. Any impairment tests performed for the system to be 

acquired as performed internally by the selling entity or 
its external auditors for the five prior years. 

b. Annual financial forecasts prepared by management of 
the selling entity for the three prior years. 

c. An analysis of the following for the acquired system 

by rate class and meter or service line size for the three 
most recent years: 

(1) Number of customers. 

(2) Usage data. 

(3) Billed revenues. 

(4) Net charge-offs. 

7. Other required information pertaining to the acquired 

system to include: 

a. An unredacted copy of the purchase agreement. 

b. A map of the service area of the acquired system. 

c. A detailed description of all assets of the acquired 

system, with identification of any assets that were not 
used and useful at the time of the appraisals. 

d. A statement of any obsolescence considered (e.g., 
physical, functional, and economic) and supporting 

documentation and calculations for any obsolescence 
quantified. 
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e. The comprehensive annual financial report for the 
municipality or other selling governmental entity for the 
three prior years. 

f. Any presentations made by investment advisors or senior 

management of either the acquiring or selling entity 
regarding the potential sale. 

g. A detailed analysis of any rehabilitations or 
improvements the acquiring utility plans to make to the 

acquired system to address any known deficiencies of the 
acquired system. 

8. To the extent the proposed purchase price is different 

than that provided in the filed appraisals, the application 
shall identify the proposed purchase price. 

9. The acquiring utility's proposed journal entries 

anticipated to result from the proposed acquisition, 

including tax entries and account numbers recognized by 

the National Association of Regulatory Utility 
Commissioners. 

10. An analysis identifying the qualitative and quantitative 

benefits and estimated customer rate impacts for the next 
five years as a result of the proposed acquisition for each 

of (i) the customers of the acquired system and (ii) the 

legacy customers of the acquiring utility. Such analysis 
shall clearly identify all assumptions relied upon. 

11. Documentation of (i) incurred and additional estimated 

costs and fees of the utility valuation experts in the fair 

market value determination and (ii) incurred and additional 
estimated transaction and closing costs. 

C. An application filed pursuant to this chapter shall not be 

deemed filed pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 56-88 et seq.) of Title 56 
of the Code of Virginia unless it is in full compliance with this 
chapter. 

20VAC5-210-30. Commission determination of rate base. 

A. An average of the three appraisals, which includes one 

sponsored by commission staff, shall be deemed the fair 
market value for purposes of the proceeding. 

B. The rate base value of the acquired system for purposes of 

subsequent rate filings made pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et 
seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall be the following: 

the fees and costs of the utility valuation experts authorized by 
the acquiring and selling entities, transaction costs, and other 

closing costs found by the commission to be reasonable and 
prudently incurred, plus the lesser of (i) the purchase price 

negotiated between the acquiring utility and selling entity as the 
result of a voluntary arm's-length transaction and (ii) the fair 

market value. The rate base value shall incorporate the 
provisions for depreciation as identified in this chapter. 

20VAC5-210-40. Miscellaneous general provisions. 

A. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to relieve the 

applicant from its duty to demonstrate that "…adequate 

service to the public at just and reasonable rates will not be 

impaired or jeopardized by granting the prayer of the 
petition…" as provided in § 56-90 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Any information deemed confidential by the applicant 

may be submitted and treated confidentially under 5VAC5-
20-170. 

C. This chapter does not limit the commission staff or 

parties from raising issues related to the proposed acquisition 

for commission consideration that have not been addressed in 
the applicant's filing before the commission. 

D. Commission staff and parties may seek discovery to 

confirm the reasonableness of, and provide testimony and 

recommendations regarding, the appraisals and engineering 

assessment sponsored by the acquiring and selling entities. 

The applicant may seek discovery as permitted of 

commission staff pursuant to 5VAC5-20-260 to confirm the 

reasonableness of the appraisal sponsored by commission 

staff and may provide rebuttal testimony or response and 
recommendations regarding such. 

E. If the depreciation rates for the acquired system are not 

based on a depreciation study: 

1. The acquiring utility may apply a 3.0% composite 

depreciation rate to the fair market value of the utility 
system assets acquired; and 

2. A depreciation study on the acquired system shall be 

performed within five years of acquisition and provided for 

review by the commission staff. Upon acceptance of the 

depreciation rates by commission staff for booking 

purposes, such rates shall be utilized for the system 

effective as of the date of the study. However, if the 

acquired system is of a size that would qualify under the 

Small Water or Sewer Public Utility Act (Chapter 10.2:1 
(§ 56-265.13:1 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia), 

such assets may be exempted from the requirement of 
performing a depreciation study. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6354; Filed June 17, 2020, 10:52 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-677. State Oversight of a 

Local Social Services Department that Fails to Provide 

Services (adding 22VAC40-677-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-408 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date Extended Through: December 15, 2020. 
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The Governor approved the request of the State Board of 

Social Services to extend the June 16, 2020, expiration date 

of the emergency regulation for six months as provided by 

§ 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 

emergency regulation will continue in effect through 

December 15, 2020. The emergency regulation authorizes the 

Commissioner of the Department of Social Services to 

provide immediate direction and oversight to a local 
department of social services in the event the locality fails, 

refuses, or is unable to provide core services and with 

appropriate State Board of Social Services proceedings. The 

emergency regulation was published in 35:10 VA.R. 1328-

1329 January 7, 2019. The permanent replacement regulation 

will not become effective before the emergency regulation 
expires.  

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, FAX (804) 
726-7015, or email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5464; Filed June 15, 2020, 10:47 a.m.  

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7305
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7305
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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GOVERN OR  

AMENDED EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-FIVE 

(2020) AND AMENDED ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

EMERGENCY SIX  

Phase Two Easing of Certain Temporary 
Restrictions Due to Novel Coronavirus  

(COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

On May 8, 2020, Executive Order 61 and Order of Public 

Health Emergency Three began easing business, gathering, 

and traveling restrictions originally imposed by Executive 

Order 53 and Executive Order 55 issued in March of 2020. 

We did this because our health data metrics showed that we 

were increasing testing availability, we have adequate supply 

of personal protective equipment and hospital bed supply, the 

percentage of positive tests, hospitalizations, and positive 
tests were trending downward. The health data metrics for 

some jurisdictions, however, still presented sharper 

challenges. Therefore, pursuant to Executive Order 62 and 

Order of Public Health Emergency Four (2020), later 

amended, the Northern Virginia Region (as defined by that 

Order), the County of Accomack, and the City of Richmond 

remained in Phase Zero. On May 29, 2020, those jurisdictions 

moved into Phase One.  

During the weeks that the majority of Virginia has been in 

Phase One, the public health metrics have continued to show 

the same trends. Our testing is increasing, our supply of 
personal protective equipment is steady, our hospital bed 

capacity remains steady, our hospitalizations statewide have a 

slight downward trend, and the percentage of positive tests 

continue to trend downward.  

Now under this Order, the majority of the Commonwealth 

will move into Phase Two. The Northern Virginia Region and 

the City of Richmond will remain in Phase One under Third 

Amended Executive Order 61 and Third Amended Order of 

Public Health Emergency Three (2020). We have made 

remarkable progress over the past several weeks. As we move 

forward, we will remain vigilant, cautious, and measured. We 

will continue teleworking, whenever possible, to wash our 
hands frequently, to not touch our faces, and to wear face 

coverings. Through these efforts, we will continue to protect 

ourselves, our families, and our fellow Virginians as we 

respond to this emergency.  

Effective Friday, 12:00 a.m., June 12, 2020, the Northern 

Virginia Region and the City of Richmond shall enter into 

Phase Two.  

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 
Amended Executive Order 51 (2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered:  

A. EASING OF BUSINESS RESTRICTIONS  

1. All Businesses  

Any businesses, not listed in this section, should adhere to the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly incorporated by 

reference herein as best practices. This guidance is located 

here.  

2. Restaurants, Dining Establishments, Food Courts, 

Breweries, Microbreweries, Distilleries, Wineries, and 

Tasting Rooms  

Restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms may 

operate delivery, take-out, and indoor and outdoor dining and 

beverage services, provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors, and sector-specific 

guidance for restaurant and beverage services incorporated by 

reference herein. Such guidance includes, but is not limited 

to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed the 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy, if applicable.  

b. All parties, whether seated together or across multiple 

tables, must be limited to 50 patrons or less.  

c. Tables at which dining parties are seated must be 

positioned six feet apart from other tables. If tables are not 

movable, parties must be seated at least six feet apart.  

d. No self-service of food (except beverages), including 

condiments. Condiments should be removed from tables and 

dispensed by employees upon the request of a customer. 

Buffets must be staffed by servers. For self-service beverage 

areas, use beverage equipment designed to dispense by a 
contamination-free method.  

e. Bar seats and congregating areas of restaurants must be 

closed to patrons except for through-traffic. Non-bar seating 

in a bar area may be used for customer seating as long as a 

minimum of six feet is provided between parties at tables.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes 

during operation. Tabletops, chairs, and credit card/bill 

folders must be cleaned in between patrons.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

3. Farmers Markets  

Farmers markets may continue to operate, provided such 

businesses comply with the Guidelines for All Business 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
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Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for farmers markets 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. On-site shopping is allowed, as long as physical distancing 

guidelines are followed. Configure operations to avoid 

congestion or congregation points.  

b. Employees and vendors in customer-facing areas must 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. Vendors must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons and employees.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

4. Brick and Mortar Retail Businesses Not Listed In Section 

C, Paragraph 1 (Non- Essential Retail)  

Any brick and mortar retail business not listed in section C, 

paragraph 1 may continue to operate, provided such business 

complies with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the 
sector-specific guidance for brick and mortar retail expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to no more than 50% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

5. Fitness and Exercise Facilities  

Fitness centers, gymnasiums, recreation centers, sports 

facilities, and exercise facilities may reopen for indoor and 
outdoor activities, provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines for fitness and exercise facilities expressly 

incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but 

is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. Patrons, members, and guests must remain at least ten feet 

apart during all activities.  

b. Instructors and all participants of group exercise and fitness 

classes must maintain at least ten feet of physical distancing 

between each other at all times.  

c. The total number of attendees (including both participants 
and instructors) in all group exercise and fitness classes 

cannot exceed the lesser of 30% of the minimum occupancy 

load on the certificate of occupancy or 50 patrons, members, 

and guests.  

d. Hot tubs, spas, splash pads, spray pools, and interactive 

play features must be closed.  

e. Outdoor and indoor swimming pools may be open for lap 

swimming, diving, exercise, and instruction only and must be 

limited to no more than three persons per lane with ten feet of 

physical distance per swimmer.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

g. Employers must ensure cleaning and disinfection of shared 

equipment after each use.  

h. Facilities shall prohibit the use of any equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected between uses (e.g., climbing 

rope, exercise bands, etc.).  

i. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests.  

j. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

6. Personal Care and Personal Grooming Services  

Beauty salons, barbershops, spas, massage centers, tanning 
salons, tattoo shops, and any other location where personal 

care or personal grooming services are performed may 

continue to operate, provided such businesses comply with 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidelines for personal care and personal grooming 

services expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements:  

a. Occupancy may not exceed 50% of the lowest occupancy 

load on the certificate of occupancy with at least six feet of 

physical distancing between work stations and no more than 

two appointments per service provider at a time.  

b. Service providers and employees working in customer-

facing areas must wear face coverings over their nose and 

mouth at all times.  

c. Provide face coverings for clients or ask that clients bring a 

face covering with them, which they must wear during the 

service. Limit services to only those that can be completed 

without clients removing their face covering.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes in 

operations, while cleaning and disinfecting all personal care 

and personal grooming tools after each use. If that is not 
possible, such items must be discarded.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

7. Campgrounds  

Privately-owned campgrounds as defined in § 35.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia may continue to operate, provided they 
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comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the 

sector-specific guidelines for campgrounds, which are 

expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirements:  

a. A minimum of 20 feet must be maintained between units 

for all lots rented for short-term stays of less than 14 nights 

(and not owned by individuals).  

b. Employees working in public-facing areas are required to 
wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. It is recommended that campgrounds must strongly 

encourage customers to wear face coverings over their nose 

and mouth.  

d. The provision of hand washing in bath houses and 

sanitizing stations for guests and employees.  

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

8. Indoor Shooting Ranges  

Indoor shooting ranges may operate, provided they comply 

with the following requirements:  

a. Occupancy must be limited to 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy with at least 

six feet of physical distancing between individuals at all 

times. Use every other lane to achieve six feet of physical 

distancing.  

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times.  

c. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces every 60 minutes in operation, while 

disinfecting all equipment between each customer use and 

prohibiting the use of equipment that cannot be thoroughly 

disinfected.  

d. Either thoroughly clean shared or borrowed equipment in 

between uses, or only allow the use of personal equipment at 

the range.  

e. If any such indoor shooting range cannot adhere to these 

requirements, it must close.  

9. Public Beaches  

All public beaches as defined in § 10.1-705 of the Code of 

Virginia may remain open to individual and family 

recreational activity, in addition to exercise and fishing. All 

such public beaches, with the exception of the beaches in the 

City of Virginia Beach, must comply with the requirements 
below.  

a. Require beachgoers to practice physical distancing of at 

least six feet between each person unless they are with 

members of the same household.  

b. Prohibit gatherings of more than 50 people.  

c. Prohibit group sports, alcohol, tents, groupings of 

umbrellas, and other activities and items that attract 

gatherings.  

d. Prohibit entertainment and programming that generate 

gatherings.  

e. All common areas that encourage gatherings, such as 

pavilions, gazebos, playsets, and picnic areas must remain 

closed. This does not apply to fishing piers.  

f. Implement a cleaning schedule for all high-touch surfaces 

made of plastic or metal such as benches and railings that 

includes cleaning at least every two hours between the hours 

of 9 a.m. and 6 p.m.  

g. Establish, train, and deploy a team to educate and promote 

compliance with beach rules and refer cases of 

noncompliance to public safety personnel, if appropriate.  

h. Establish procedures for temporary beach closure or access 

limitations in the event of overcrowding.  

i. Ensure adequate personal protective equipment for all 

lifeguards.  

j. Perform a disinfectant-level cleaning of all public restrooms 

every two hours with an EPA-approved disinfectant by staff 

or volunteers trained to follow Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention (CDC) guidance on cleaning and disinfecting.  

k. For chair and umbrella rental companies, require vendors 

to set up chairs and umbrellas for customers, maintaining at 

least six feet of distance between groups, and to clean 

equipment between rentals following Environmental 

Protection Agency and CDC guidelines on cleaning and 

disinfecting.  

l. Post signage at all public access points to the beaches and 

other "cluster prone" areas providing health reminders 
regarding physical distancing, gathering prohibitions, options 

for high risk individuals, and staying home if sick. Messaging 

must be specific to location.  

m. Locality shall provide daily metrics to its local health 

department to include beach closures, complaint incidents, 

police reports of violence related to enforcement, and number 

of reports of noncompliance to be submitted each Monday.  

n. All employees and contract workers must wear a cloth face 

covering when not able to practice physical distancing 

following CDC Use of Face Cloth Coverings guidance.  

o. Employees and contract workers must have access to soap 
and water or hand sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol, 

and locality should provide best hygiene practices to 

employees on a regular basis, including washing hands often 

with soap and water for at least 20 seconds and practicing 

respiratory etiquette protocols.  

p. Locality shall require all employees and contract workers 

to take their temperature before reporting to work and direct 
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such employees not to report to work if they have a fever of 

over 100.4 degrees, have experienced chills, or have been 

feverish in the last 72 hours.  

q. Follow enhanced workplace safety best practices outlined 

in the Guidelines for All Business Sectors.  

Public beaches in the City of Virginia Beach may continue to 

operate provided activities on the public beaches are 

conducted in compliance with the requirements linked here 
and here.  

10. Racetracks  

Outdoor racetracks may remain open for racing events, 

provided such businesses comply with the Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

racetracks expressly incorporated by reference herein and 

linked here and here. Such guidance includes, but is not 

limited to, the following requirements:  

a. The event must be held at locations with the ability to 

restrict access (i.e. barriers and gating that would preclude the 

general public from accessing the event).  

b. No tailgating and camping is allowed during these events, 

including staff or race participants.  

c. Entrances and exits must be staffed.  

d. No spectators or members of the public are permitted to 

attend the event. This includes owners, family (unless the 

guardian of a minor child), as well as outside vendors. Only 

individuals essential to the operation of the event are 

permitted to attend.  

e. All individuals must maintain at least six feet of physical 

distancing between themselves and other participants.  

f. Prior to each race event, participants must self-monitor their 

symptoms by taking their temperature to check for fever.  

g. No public-facing amenities will be provided, including 

concessions, food sales, merchandise sales, hospitality, or 

loitering on the property, or fan experiences.  

11. Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

Outdoor performing arts venues, outdoor concert venues, 

outdoor sports venues, outdoor movie theaters, museums, 

aquariums, zoos, and botanical gardens may reopen, provided 

such businesses comply with the Guidelines for All Business 

Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines, which are 

expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirement: 

a. The total number of attendees (including both participants 

and spectators) cannot exceed the lesser of 50% of the 

occupancy load of the venue, if applicable, or 50 persons.  

b. Install visible markers for queue lines that separate people 

by six feet of physical distance.  

c. Create a guest flow plan of modified queue lines into and 

within the facility. Determine areas likely to become 

bottlenecks or pinch points and adjust guest flow accordingly.  

d. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces including digital ordering devices, check 

presenters, self-service areas, tabletops, bathroom surfaces, 

and other common touch areas every 60 minutes during 

operation.  

e. Where possible, install sneeze guards in front of commonly 

used point-of-sale or guest service stations.  

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas are required 

to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth.  

g. Provide hand washing or sanitizing stations for guests and 

employees.  

h. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, it 

must close.  

12. Public and private social clubs  

Public and private social clubs may reopen, provided such 

establishments abide by the gathering ban in section B, 
paragraph 2 of this Order and comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

public and private social clubs expressly incorporated by 

reference herein.  

13. Recreational Sports  

Indoor and outdoor recreational sports activities are 

permitted, provided participants and organizers of 

recreational sports activities comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

recreational sports expressly incorporated by reference herein. 

Such guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements:  

a. Ten feet of physical distance must be maintained by all 

instructors, participants, and spectators, with the exception of 

incidental contact or contact between members of the same 

household. This applies during instruction and practice and 

during competitive events. Competition that involves close 

contact with other athletes must be avoided.  

The total number of attendees (including both participants 

and spectators) of outdoor recreational sports cannot exceed 

the lesser of 50% of the occupancy load of the venue, if 

applicable, or 50 persons. For sports played on a field, 

attendees are limited to 50 persons per field. For outdoor 
youth recreational sports, spectators may not be present with 

the following exceptions: parents, guardians, and caretakers 

who are supervising children playing in the sports event, and 

other children in the parent's, guardian's or caretaker's care. 

Participants in outdoor youth recreational sports are not 

limited to 50% of the occupancy load of the venue or the 50 

persons limit.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/6-15-20-Virginia-Beach-COVID-19-Phase-2-Beach-Operations.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/City-of-Virginia-Beach-COVID-19-Phase-One-Beach-Opening-Operating-Procedures---ADDITIONAL-GUIDELINES.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Horse-Racing-Racetracks.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Outdoor-Speedways-and-Racetracks.pdf
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b. The total number of attendees for indoor recreational sports 

cannot exceed the lesser of 30% of the lowest occupancy load 

on the certificate of occupancy or 50 persons. For sports 

played on a field, attendees are limited to 50 persons per field.  

c. For indoor recreational sports, spectators may not be 

present except parents, guardians, or caretakers who are 

supervising children.  

14. Enforcement  

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines appear here. The Virginia Department of Health 

shall have authority to enforce section A of this Order. Any 

willful violation or refusal, failure, or neglect to comply with 

this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia, is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to 

§ 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. The State Health 

Commissioner may also seek injunctive relief in circuit court 

for violation of this Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code 

of Virginia. In addition, any agency with regulatory authority 

over a business listed in section A may enforce this Order as 
to that business to the extent permitted by law.  

B. CONTINUED RESTRICTIONS  

1. Certain Recreational and Entertainment Businesses  

All public access to recreational and entertainment businesses 

set forth below shall remain closed:  

a. Indoor theaters, indoor performing arts centers, indoor 

concert venues, and other indoor entertainment centers;  

b. Historic horse racing facilities; and  

c. Bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, amusement parks, 

trampoline parks, fairs, carnivals, arts and craft facilities, 

escape rooms, and other places of indoor public amusement.  

2. All Public and Private In-Person Gatherings  

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 50 

individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 50 

individuals performing functions of their employment is not a 

"gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not limited to, 

parties, celebrations, or other social events, whether they 

occur indoors or outdoors.  

This restriction does not apply to the gathering of family 

members living in the same residence. "Family members" 

include blood relations, adopted, step, and foster relations, as 

well as all individuals residing in the same household. Family 

members are not required to maintain physical distancing 
while in their homes.  

a. Individuals may attend religious services subject to the 

following requirements:  

i. Religious services must be limited to no more than 50% of 

the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy of 

the room or facility in which the religious services are 

conducted.  

ii. Individuals attending religious services must be at least six 

feet apart when seated and must practice proper physical 

distancing at all times. Family members, as defined above, 

may be seated together.  

iii. Mark seating in six-foot increments and in common areas 

where attendees may congregate.  

iv. Attendees shall not pass items to other attendees, who are 

not family members, as defined above.  

v. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 

disposable, used only once, and discarded.  

vi. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and following 

any religious service.  

vii. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with a 

fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted in the 

establishment.  

viii. Post signage to provide public health reminders 
regarding social distancing, gatherings, options for high risk 

individuals, and staying home if sick.  

ix. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-person.  

Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-person 

gatherings restriction in section B, paragraph 2. Additional 

suggested guidance can be found here.  

3. Institutions of Higher Education  

Institutions of higher education are encouraged to continue 

remote learning where practical. However, such institutions 

may offer in-person classes and instruction, including labs 
and related practical training, provided they comply with all 

applicable requirements under the "Guidelines for All 

Business Sectors." No institutions of higher education shall 

hold or host gatherings of more than 50 individuals. Any 

postsecondary provider offering vocational training in a 

profession regulated by a Virginia state agency/board must 

also comply with any sector-specific guidelines relevant to 

that profession to the extent possible under the regulatory 

training requirements. Such professions may include, but are 

not necessarily limited to: aesthetician, barber, cosmetologist, 

massage therapist, nail technician, and practical nurse  

4. Overnight Summer Camps  

Overnight services of summer camps, as defined in § 35.1-1 

of the Code of Virginia, must remain closed.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-Two-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Religious-Services-Guidelines.pdf
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5. Enforcement  

Violations of section B paragraphs 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this Order 

shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

C. CONTINUED GUIDANCE AND DIRECTION  

1. Essential Retail Businesses  

Essential retail businesses as set out below may remain open 

during their normal business hours. They should comply with 
the Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly 

incorporated by reference and linked here, as best practices. 

Employers are required to provide face coverings to 

employees.  

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, including 

dollar stores, and department stores with grocery or pharmacy 

operations;  

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers;  

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology;  

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well as 

automotive repair facilities;  

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers;  

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers;  

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores;  

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores;  

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities;  

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail functions;  

k. Pet and feed stores;  

l. Printing and office supply stores; and  

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners.  

2. State Agencies  

All relevant state agencies shall continue to work with all 

housing partners to execute strategies to protect the health, 

safety, and well-being of Virginians experiencing 

homelessness during this pandemic and to assist Virginians in 

avoiding evictions or foreclosures.  

3. Face Coverings  

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 

continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one's personal health 
in response to the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declared by the State Health Commissioner on February 7, 

2020, and reflected in Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) 

declaring a state of emergency in the Commonwealth. 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) remains so amended. 

This waiver is effective as of March 12, 2020, and will 

remain in effect until 11:59 p.m. on September 8, 2020, 

unless amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Further, where a mandatory business sector requirement in 

this Order conflicts with a requirement to wear a face 

covering in Executive Order 63 and Order of Public Health 
Emergency Five (2020), the business sector-specific 

requirement governs. 

4. State Travel  

Continued cessation of all official travel outside of Virginia 

by state employees, with increased flexibility for inter-state 

commuters and essential personnel.  

5. Exceptions  

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (a) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (b) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) the operations 

of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; or (e) the 
operation of government.  

6. Expiration of Order  

Executive Order 55 (2020) shall expire at 11:59 p.m., June 4, 

2020.  

Second Amended 53, Third Amended Number 61 and Third 

Amended Order of Public Health Emergency Three (2020) 

shall expire Friday, 12:00 a.m., June 12, 2020. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Friday, June 5, 2020. 

This Executive Order shall remain in full force and effect 

until amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 9th day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-SIX (2020) 

Establishment of Juneteenth as a State Holiday 

Importance of the Issue  

Since 1619, when both representative democracy and 

enslaved Africans arrived in Virginia, we have struggled to 

live up to our proclaimed ideals of freedom and justice for all. 
We have failed time and again to guarantee to all Americans 

the unalienable rights of life, liberty, and the pursuit of 

happiness. We have said one thing but consistently done 

another.  

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Virginia-Forward-Phase-One-Business-Sector-Guidelines.pdf
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The year 2020 has cast fear, violence, and tragedy upon our 

nation and our Commonwealth. We have persevered through 

a world-wide pandemic, wept over the senseless loss of lives, 

and lifted voices in protest while confronting the elusiveness 

of justice.  

This Friday, June 19, 2020, "Juneteenth" as it is also known, 

marks the anniversary of the day in 1865 when news of the 

Emancipation Proclamation reached Texas, the last of the 
former Confederate states to abolish slavery. This was a 

pivotal moment in American history when all enslaved black 

people finally learned they were free people. It was a moment 

of celebration and joy. It was a moment when America finally 

took a step closer to its promise of freedom, equality, and 

justice for all.  

But we know that there is much more to be done, and many, 

many more steps to be taken.  

On Juneteenths past, we have acknowledged the date with 

written proclamations, most often shared with smaller 

community groups. These proclamations, while important, do 
not do enough. We must amplify the message. It must be 

heard by all who call Virginia home. The commemoration of 

Juneteenth is a reminder that liberty and justice must never 

again be reserved for the few.  

It will be on this day going forward that we mark a holiday of 

education, reflection, and celebration. On this day, we will 

educate ourselves on our history—all of our history. We will 

reflect on how our nation and our Commonwealth failed to 

recognize the humanity of all people, and we will celebrate 

the end of enslavement and redouble our efforts to rid our 

society of its shameful legacy of racism, discrimination, and 

inequity.  

I encourage all Virginians to think about the significance of 

this day. It was significant in 1865 because it marked the end 

of human bondage for African Americans in the United 

States. But our recognition of Juneteenth now signifies that 

we understand its importance to all Americans. Juneteenth is 

not African American history. It is American history. It is as 

woven into the fabric of our great country as is the celebration 

of independence on July 4th. And it should be so celebrated.  

Directive 

Therefore, by the authority vested in me as Governor under 

Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and under the laws 
of the Commonwealth, including but not limited to §§ 2.2-

103, 2.2-3300, and 2.2-3322 of the Code of Virginia, I hereby 

declare June 19 (Juneteenth) a permanent state holiday for all 

executive branch agencies and institutions of higher 

education. I further direct the Secretary of Administration in 

conjunction with the Department of Human Resource 

Management to oversee the administration of this policy.  

It is my hope that Juneteenth will subsequently be celebrated 

by the public and private sectors as well as localities all 

across the Commonwealth. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall remain in full force and effect 

until amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia on this 17th day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANC E D OCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 
guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Eating Disorders Awareness in the Public 

School Setting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Tracy White, School Health Nurse 

Specialist, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8671, or email 
tracy.white@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Title of Document: Prescriptive Authority in Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: 2021 Virginia Telecommunication 

Initiative (VATI) Program Guidelines and Criteria. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents: 

Infracciones de la Circulación y Cálculo de Puntos, Programa 

de mejoramiento para conductores de Virginia. 

Obtención de una licencia de conducción de Virginia o una 

tarjeta de identificación (ID). 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Titles of Documents:  

Guide to Continuing Pharmacy Education Requirements. 

Credentials for Nonresident Pharmacy Dispensing only for 

Animals. 

Use of Dispensing Records to Identify Pharmacist 

Responsible for Dispensing Error. 

Performing Inventories. 

Pharmacist-in-Charge Responsibilities. 

Pharmacy Inspection Deficiency Monetary Penalty Guide. 

Practice by a Pharmacy Technician Trainee. 

Guidance on Virginia Prescription Requirements. 

Use of Telemedicine by Registered Practitioners of Cannabis 

Oil. 

Verification Sources for a Pharmaceutical Processor. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/c672d006429~1g.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/c672d006429~1g.pdf
mailto:tracy.white@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/dc831006429~2a.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/a6b8e006429~3a.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/a6b8e006429~3a.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/4d2c2006429~165.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/4d2c2006429~165.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/f18b9006429~171.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/f18b9006429~171.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/04b98006429~4s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/8c885006429~5s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/8c885006429~5s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/aa533006429~6r.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/aa533006429~6r.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/857eb006429~7s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/8a7e1006429~8s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/a30e9006429~9e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/eae88006429~10e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/375d9006429~11s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/7d18d006429~12l.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/7d18d006429~12l.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/a9692006429~13r.pdf
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Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, TANF Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

* * *  

Title of Document: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Manual - Volume V. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 5, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Room 

1507, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017, or 

email karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/53453006429~14l.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/53453006429~14l.pdf
mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/588a8006429~15V.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6429/588a8006429~15V.pdf
mailto:karin.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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GEN ERAL N OTIC ES/ERR ATA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 11, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00109 

Ex Parte: Establishing the rates, terms and conditions of 

a universal fee to be paid by the retail customers of 

the Virginia Electric and Power Company. 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1193 (HB 1526) and 1194 (SB 851) of the 

2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly. These duplicate Acts of 

Assembly, known as the Virginia Clean Economy Act 

(VCEA or Act), will become effective on July 1, 2020. The 

VCEA, inter alia, establishes the Percentage of Income 
Payment Program (Program or PIPP), which is designed to 

limit the electric utility payments of persons or households 

participating in certain, specified public assistance programs, 

based upon a percentage of their income, for customers of the 

Virginia Electric and Power Company (Dominion Energy 

Virginia or Dominion) and Appalachian Power Company 

(APCo). 

The Act directs the State Corporation Commission 

(Commission), after notice and opportunity for hearing, to 

initiate a proceeding to establish the rates, terms and 

conditions of a "non-bypassable universal service fee" to fund 
the Program. This service fee will be paid by the customers of 

Dominion Energy Virginia and APCo. 

The VCEA directs that the fee 

shall be allocated to retail electric customers of a Phase I 

and Phase II Utility on the basis of the amount of kilowatt-

hours used and be established at such level to adequately 

address the PIPP's objectives to (i) reduce the energy 

burden of eligible participants by limiting electric bill 

payments directly to no more than six percent of the 

eligible participant's annual household income if the 

household's heating source is anything other than 

electricity, and to no more than 10 percent of an eligible 
participant's annual household income on electricity costs if 

the household's heating source is electricity, and (ii) reduce 

the amount of electricity used by the eligible participant's 

household through participation in weatherization or 

energy efficiency programs and energy conservation 

education programs.1  

The Act also requires the Commission to determine 

reasonable administrative costs investor-owned utilities may 

recover associated with the PIPP, and the mechanism by 

which utilities may recover those costs. The Act requires the 

Commission to issue a Final Order concerning this 

proceeding by December 31, 2020.2 

The Act also directs two executive branch agencies-the 

Department of Housing and Community Development and 

the Department of Social Services (Agencies)-to convene a 

stakeholder working group and develop recommendations 

regarding the implementation of the PIPP.3 The Agencies' 

recommendations are required to be submitted to certain 
legislative committees by December 1, 2020. The 

Commission encourages these Agencies to also participate in 

the Commission proceeding established herein.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing and pursuant to the Act's requirements, hereby 

initiates this docket to establish the rates, terms and 

conditions of a non-bypassable universal service fee to fund 

the PIPP, to be paid by the retail customers of Dominion 

Energy Virginia. Dominion is directed herein to propose such 

rates, terms and conditions, and in so doing shall, at a 

minimum, address the following issues: 

• The number of eligible customers assumed and the basis 

for that assumption, including data sources used to develop 

customer eligibility levels; 

• How heating sources were determined for eligible 

customers; 

• A calculation of the dollars assumed not to be recovered 

as a result of the program being implemented for eligible 

customers heating with electricity; 

• A calculation of the dollars assumed not to be recovered 

as a result of the program being implemented for customers 

heating with other sources; 

• Costs proposed to be recovered related to arrearages and 
administrative costs incurred by Dominion and by state 

agencies involved in the program; 

• How the objective of reducing usage through participation 

in weatherization, energy efficiency, and conservation will 

be accomplished; identify any costs associated with these 

programs that are proposed to be collected by the fee. 

• Total costs proposed to be recovered by the universal 

service fee detailing the components previously identified 

and other costs proposed to be recovered;  

• The billing determinants used and a calculation of the 

proposed fee; 

• How customer eligibility will be monitored and the 

frequency of monitoring; 

• Whether program participants are statutorily exempted 

from being assessed the fee and, if they are, how such will 

be accomplished; and 
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• The amount of uncollectible expense in base rates 

associated with eligible customers. Include a credit in the 

calculation of the proposed fee to avoid double-recovery of 

this expense. 

All information necessary to support the proposed fee should 

be provided. 

The Commission will, by separate Order, establish a docket 

in which APCo will propose its own rates, terms and 
conditions of its universal service fee to fund the PIPP. 

The Commission further takes judicial notice of the ongoing 

public health emergency related to the spread of the 

coronavirus, or COVID-19, and the declarations of 

emergency issued at both the state and federal levels.4 The 

Commission has taken certain actions, and may take 

additional actions going forward, which could impact the 

procedures in this proceeding.5 Consistent with these actions, 

in regard to the terms of the procedural framework 

established below, the Commission will, among other things, 

direct the electronic filing of testimony and pleadings unless 
it contains confidential information, and require electronic 

service of pleadings on parties to this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission initiates this Case No. PUR-2020-

00109 for purposes of establishing the rates, terms and 

conditions of a non-bypassable universal service fee to be 

paid by Dominion's retail customers to fund the PIPP. 

(2) All pleadings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-

20-150, Copies and Format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure (Rules of Practice).6 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 
submitted electronically and should comply with Rule 

5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential information. For the 

duration of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking 

to hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading 

or other document shall contact the Clerk's Office 

Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the 

delivery.7 

(3) Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and Service, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, the Commission directs 

that service on parties and the Commission Staff (Staff) in 

this matter shall be accomplished by electronic means. 
Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information, parties and the Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one 

another, to the extent practicable, in an electronically 

protected manner, even if such information is unable to be 

filed in the Office of the Clerk, so that no party or the Staff 

is impeded from preparing its case. 

(4) As provided by § 12.1-31 of the Code and 5 VAC 5-20-

120, Procedure before Hearing Examiners, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, a Hearing Examiner is 

appointed to rule on any discovery matters that may arise 

during the course of this proceeding, including any motion 

for protective order. 

(5) On or before July 21, 2020, Dominion shall file an 

original and fifteen (15) copies of its PIPP filing together 
with any testimony and exhibits in support thereof; each 

witness's testimony shall include a summary not to exceed 

one page and shall specify those portions of the PIPP filing 

that the witness will sponsor at the hearing. Alternatively, 

in lieu of prefiled testimony and exhibits, Dominion may 

file, on or before July 21, 2020, a document in which 

Dominion: (a) identifies witnesses who will appear and 

offer testimony in support of Dominion's PIPP filing at the 

hearing; (b) specifies those portions of the filing that such 

witnesses will adopt and support as their testimony at the 

hearing; and (c) includes a summary not to exceed one 
page of each such witness's testimony. Dominion shall 

serve copies thereof on counsel for all respondents and the 

Staff. 

(6) An electronic copy of the public version of Dominion's 

PIPP filing once filed, may be obtained by downloading 

unofficial copies of the public version of the PIPP filing 

and other documents filed in this case from the 

Commission's website: https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

(7) A hearing shall be convened at 9:30 a.m. on October 

14, 2020, in the Commission's second floor courtroom 

located in the Tyler Building, 1300 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, to receive opening statements, 

testimony, and evidence offered by Dominion, respondents, 

and the Staff on Dominion's PIPP filing. 

(8) A hearing for the receipt of testimony from public 

witnesses on Dominion's PIPP filing shall be convened 

telephonically at 9:30 a.m. on October 13, 2020, with no 

witness present in the Commission's courtroom.8 The 

hearing will be conducted according to the following 

procedures: 

a) To promote fairness for all public witnesses, each 

witness will be allotted five minutes to provide testimony. 

b) On or before October 8, 2020, any person desiring to 

offer testimony as a public witness shall provide to the 

Commission (a) your name, and (b) the telephone number 

that you wish the Commission to call during the hearing to 

receive your testimony. This information may be provided 

to the Commission in three ways: (i) by filling out a form 

on the Commission's website at 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/webcasting; (ii) by 

completing and emailing the PDF version of this form to 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting
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sccinfo@scc.virginia.gov; or (iii) by calling (804) 371-

9141. 

c) Beginning at 9:30 a.m. on October 13, 2020, the 

Commission will telephone sequentially each person who 

has signed up to testify as provided above. This hearing 

will not be convened, and the parties will be notified of 

such, if no person signs up to testify as a public witness. 

d) This public witness hearing will be webcast at: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/webcasting. 

(9) On or before October 7, 2020, any interested person 

may file comments on the PIPP filing by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/case-information. All 

comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00109. 

(10) On or before August 18, 2020, any person or entity 

wishing to participate as a respondent in this proceeding 

may do so by filing a notice of participation. Such notice of 

participation shall include the email addresses of such 

parties or their counsel. The respondent simultaneously 
shall serve a copy of the notice of participation on counsel 

to Dominion. Pursuant to Rule 5 VAC 5-20-80 B, 

Participation as a respondent, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice, any notice of participation shall set forth: (i) a 

precise statement of the interest of the respondent; (ii) a 

statement of the specific action sought to the extent then 

known; and (iii) the factual and legal basis for the action. 

Any organization, corporation, or government body 

participating as a respondent must be represented by 

counsel as required by 5 VAC 5-20-30, Counsel, of the 

Rules of Practice. All filings shall refer to Case No. 

PUR-2020-00109. 

(11) Within five (5) business days of receipt of a notice of 

participation as a respondent, Dominion shall serve a copy 

of the public version of PIPP filing on the respondent. 

(12) On or before September 3, 2020, each respondent may 

file with the Clerk of the Commission and serve on the 

Staff, Dominion, and all other respondents, any testimony 

and exhibits by which the respondent expects to establish 

its case, and each witness's testimony shall include a 

summary not to exceed one page. In all filings, respondents 

shall comply with the Commission's Rules of Practice, 

including, but not limited to: 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and 
service, and 5 VAC 5-20-240, Prepared testimony and 

exhibits. All filings shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-

00109. 

(13) On or before September 17, 2020, the Staff shall 

investigate the PIPP filing and shall file with the Clerk of 

the Commission an original and fifteen (15) copies of its 

testimony and exhibits concerning the PIPP filing, and each 

Staff witness's testimony shall include a summary not to 

exceed one page. The Staff shall serve a copy thereof on 

counsel to Dominion and all respondents. 

(14) On or before October 1, 2020, Dominion shall file 

with the Clerk of the Commission any rebuttal testimony 

and exhibits that it expects to offer, and each rebuttal 

witness's testimony shall include a summary not to exceed 

one page. Dominion shall serve a copy of its rebuttal 

testimony and exhibits on the Staff and all respondents. 

(15) Any documents filed in paper form with the Office of 

the Clerk of the Commission in this docket may use both 
sides of the paper. In all other respects, all filings shall 

comply fully with the requirements of 5 VAC 5-20-150, 

Copies and format, of the Commission's Rules of Practice. 

(16) The Commission's Rule of Practice 5 VAC 5-20-260, 

Interrogatories to parties or requests for production of 

documents and things, shall be modified for this proceeding 

as follows: responses and objections to written 

interrogatories and requests for production of documents 

shall be served within seven (7) calendar days after receipt 

of the same. In addition to the service requirements of 

5 VAC 5-20-260 of the Rules of Practice, on the day that 
copies are filed with the Clerk of the Commission, a copy 

of the interrogatory or request for production shall be 

served electronically on the party to whom the 

interrogatory or request for production is directed or the 

assigned Staff attorney, if the interrogatory or request for 

production is directed to the Staff.9 Except as modified 

above, discovery shall be in accordance with Part IV of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, 5 VAC 5-20-240 et seq. 

(17) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 
Commission. 

_________________________________________ 

1§ 56-585.6 [effective July 1, 2020]. Universal service fee; Percentage of 

Income Payment Program. APCo is a Phase I Utility, and Dominion Energy 

Virginia is a Phase II Utility. See § 56-585.1 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2Act's 12th Enactment: "12. That the State Corporation Commission shall 

issue its final order in the Percentage of Income Payment Program (PIPP) 

proceeding established pursuant to § 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia, as 

created by this act, by December 31, 2020, provided that the non-bypassable 

universal service fee shall not be collected from customers of a Phase I or a 

Phase II Utility, as those terms are defined in subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 

of the Code of Virginia, as amended by this act, until such time as the PIPP is 

established. The Department of Housing and Community Development and 

the Department of Social Services shall convene a stakeholder working group 

and develop recommendations regarding the implementation of PIPP. Such 

recommendations shall allow for a utility to reimburse the administrative 

costs of the PIPP, not to exceed $3 million, and shall be submitted to the 

Chairs of the House Committee on Labor and Commerce and the Senate 

Committee on Commerce and Labor by December 1, 2020." 

3Id. 

4See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 

to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 

Northam. See also, Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 

Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 

mailto:SCCInfo@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 

Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay At Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam.  These and subsequent Executive Orders related to COVID-19 may 

be found at: https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/. 

5See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 

CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. 

Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation 

Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency 

(May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) (Revised 

Operating Procedures Order), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic 

service among parties during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service 

(Apr. 1, 2020). 

65 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

7As noted in the Commission's Revised Operating Procedures Order, 

submissions to the Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial 

mail equivalents may not be processed for an indefinite period of time due to 

the COVID-19 emergency. 

8The Commission will convene counsel of record in this proceeding to attend 

the public witness hearing via Skype for Business. 

9The assigned Staff attorney is identified on the Commission's website, 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information, by clicking "Docket 

Search," then clicking "Search by Case Information," and entering the case 

number, PUR-2020-00109 in the appropriate box. 

* * *  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 12, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00117 

Ex Parte: Establishing the rates, terms and conditions of 

a universal fee to be paid by the retail customers of 

Appalachian Power Company. 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING  

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1193 (HB 1526) and 1194 (SB 851) of the 

2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly. These duplicate Acts of 

Assembly, known as the Virginia Clean Economy Act 

(VCEA or Act), will become effective on July 1, 2020. The 
VCEA, inter alia, establishes the Percentage of Income 

Payment Program (Program or PIPP), which is designed to 

limit the electric utility payments of persons or households 

participating in certain, specified public assistance programs, 

based upon a percentage of their income, for customers of 

Appalachian Power Company (APCo) and Virginia Electric 

and Power Company (Dominion). 

The Act directs the State Corporation Commission 

(Commission), after notice and opportunity for hearing, to 

initiate a proceeding to establish the rates, terms and 

conditions of a "non-bypassable universal service fee" to fund 

the Program. This service fee will be paid by the customers of 

APCo and Dominion. 

The VCEA directs that the feeshall be allocated to retail 

electric customers of a Phase I and Phase II Utility on the 
basis of the amount of kilowatt-hours used and be 

established at such level to adequately address the PIPP's 

objectives to (i) reduce the energy burden of eligible 

participants by limiting electric bill payments directly to no 

more than six percent of the eligible participant's annual 

household income if the household's heating source is 

anything other than electricity, and to no more than 10 

percent of an eligible participant's annual household 

income on electricity costs if the household's heating 

source is electricity, and (ii) reduce the amount of 

electricity used by the eligible participant's household 
through participation in weatherization or energy efficiency 

programs and energy conservation education programs.1  

The Act also requires the Commission to determine 

reasonable administrative costs investor-owned utilities may 

recover associated with the PIPP, and the mechanism by 

which utilities may recover those costs. The Act requires the 

Commission to issue a Final Order concerning this 

proceeding by December 31, 2020.2 

The Act also directs two executive branch agencies-the 

Department of Housing and Community Development and 

the Department of Social Services (Agencies)-to convene a 

stakeholder working group and develop recommendations 
regarding the implementation of the PIPP.3 The Agencies' 

recommendations are required to be submitted to certain 

legislative committees by December 1, 2020. The 

Commission encourages these Agencies to also participate in 

the Commission proceeding established herein.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing and pursuant to the Act's requirements, hereby 

initiates this docket to establish the rates, terms and 

conditions of a non-bypassable universal service fee to fund 

the PIPP, to be paid by the retail customers of APCo. APCo is 

directed herein to propose such rates, terms and conditions, 
and in so doing shall, at a minimum, address the following 

issues: 

• The number of eligible customers assumed and the basis 

for that assumption, including data sources used to develop 

customer eligibility levels; 

• How heating sources were determined for eligible 

customers; 

• A calculation of the dollars assumed not to be recovered 

as a result of the program being implemented for eligible 

customers heating with electricity; 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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• A calculation of the dollars assumed not to be recovered 

as a result of the program being implemented for customers 

heating with other sources; 

• Costs proposed to be recovered related to arrearages and 

administrative costs incurred by APCo and by state 

agencies involved in the program; 

• How the objective of reducing usage through participation 

in weatherization, energy efficiency, and conservation will 
be accomplished; identify any costs associated with these 

programs that are proposed to be collected by the fee; 

• Total costs proposed to be recovered by the universal 

service fee detailing the components previously identified 

and other costs proposed to be recovered;  

• The billing determinants used and a calculation of the 

proposed fee; 

• How customer eligibility will be monitored and the 

frequency of monitoring; 

• Whether program participants are statutorily exempted 

from being assessed the fee and, if they are, how such will 
be accomplished; and 

• The amount of uncollectible expense in base rates 

associated with eligible customers.  Include a credit in the 

calculation of the proposed fee to avoid double-recovery of 

this expense. 

All information necessary to support the proposed fee should 

be provided. 

The Commission will, by separate Order, establish a docket 

in which Dominion will propose its own rates, terms and 

conditions of its universal service fee to fund the PIPP. 

The Commission further takes judicial notice of the ongoing 

public health emergency related to the spread of the 
coronavirus, or COVID-19, and the declarations of 

emergency issued at both the state and federal levels.4 The 

Commission has taken certain actions, and may take 

additional actions going forward, which could impact the 

procedures in this proceeding.5 Consistent with these actions, 

in regard to the terms of the procedural framework 

established below, the Commission will, among other things, 

direct the electronic filing of testimony and pleadings unless 

it contains confidential information, and require electronic 

service of pleadings on parties to this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission initiates this Case No. PUR-2020-

00117 for purposes of establishing the rates, terms and 

conditions of a non-bypassable universal service fee to be 

paid by APCo's retail customers to fund the PIPP. 

(2) All pleadings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-

20-150, Copies and Format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure (Rules of Practice).6 Confidential 

and Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be 

submitted electronically and should comply with Rule 

5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential information. For the 

duration of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking 

to hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading 

or other document shall contact the Clerk's Office 

Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the 
delivery.7 

(3) Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and Service, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, the Commission directs 

that service on parties and the Commission Staff (Staff) in 

this matter shall be accomplished by electronic means. 

Concerning Confidential or Extraordinarily Sensitive 

Information, parties and the Staff are instructed to work 

together to agree upon the manner in which documents 

containing such information shall be served upon one 

another, to the extent practicable, in an electronically 

protected manner, even if such information is unable to be 
filed in the Office of the Clerk, so that no party or the Staff 

is impeded from preparing its case. 

(4) As provided by § 12.1-31 of the Code and 5 VAC 5-20-

120, Procedure before Hearing Examiners, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, a Hearing Examiner is 

appointed to rule on any discovery matters that may arise 

during the course of this proceeding, including any motion 

for protective order. 

(5) On or before July 21, 2020, APCo shall file an original 

and fifteen (15) copies of its PIPP filing together with any 

testimony and exhibits in support thereof; each witness's 

testimony shall include a summary not to exceed one page 
and shall specify those portions of the PIPP filing that the 

witness will sponsor at the hearing. Alternatively, in lieu of 

prefiled testimony and exhibits, APCo may file, on or 

before July 21, 2020, a document in which APCo: (a) 

identifies witnesses who will appear and offer testimony in 

support of APCo's PIPP filing at the hearing; (b) specifies 

those portions of the filing that such witnesses will adopt 

and support as their testimony at the hearing; and (c) 

includes a summary not to exceed one page of each such 

witness's testimony. APCo shall serve copies thereof on 

counsel for all respondents and the Staff. 

(6) An electronic copy of the public version of APCo's 

PIPP filing, once filed, may be obtained by downloading 

unofficial copies of the public version of the PIPP filing 

and other documents filed in this case from the 

Commission's website: https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

(7) A public hearing shall be convened at 9:30 a.m. on 

October 15, 2020, in the Commission's second floor 

courtroom located in the Tyler Building, 1300 East Main 

Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, to receive opening 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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statements, testimony, and evidence offered by APCo, 

respondents, and the Staff on APCo's PIPP filing. 

(8) A hearing for the receipt of testimony from public 

witnesses on APCo's PIPP filing shall be convened 

telephonically at 9:30 a.m. on October 13, 2020, with no 

witness present in the Commission's courtroom.8 The 

hearing will be conducted according to the following 

procedures: 

a) To promote fairness for all public witnesses, each 

witness will be allotted five minutes to provide testimony. 

b) On or before October 8, 2020, any person desiring to 

offer testimony as a public witness shall provide to the 

Commission (a) your name, and (b) the telephone number 

that you wish the Commission to call during the hearing to 

receive your testimony. This information may be provided 

to the Commission in three ways: (i) by filling out a form 

on the Commission's website at 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/webcasting; (ii) by 

completing and emailing the PDF version of this form to 
sccinfo@scc.virginia.gov; or (iii) by calling (804) 371-

9141. 

c) Beginning at 9:30 a.m. on October 13, 2020, the 

Commission will telephone sequentially each person who 

has signed up to testify as provided above. This hearing 

will not be convened, and the parties will be notified of 

such, if no person signs up to testify as a public witness. 

d) This public witness hearing will be webcast at: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/webcasting. 

(9) On or before October 7, 2020, any interested person 

may file comments on the PIPP filing by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/case-information. All 

comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00117. 

(10) On or before August 18, 2020, any person or entity 

wishing to participate as a respondent in this proceeding 

may do so by filing a notice of participation. Such notice of 

participation shall include the email addresses of such 

parties or their counsel. The respondent simultaneously 

shall serve a copy of the notice of participation on counsel 

to APCo. Pursuant to Rule 5 VAC 5-20-80 B, Participation 

as a respondent, of the Commission's Rules of Practice, any 

notice of participation shall set forth: (i) a precise statement 
of the interest of the respondent; (ii) a statement of the 

specific action sought to the extent then known; and 

(iii) the factual and legal basis for the action. Any 

organization, corporation, or government body 

participating as a respondent must be represented by 

counsel as required by 5 VAC 5-20-30, Counsel, of the 

Rules of Practice. All filings shall refer to Case No. PUR-

2020-00117. 

(11) Within five (5) business days of receipt of a notice of 

participation as a respondent, APCo shall serve a copy of 

the public version of PIPP filing on the respondent. 

(12) On or before September 3, 2020, each respondent may 

file with the Clerk of the Commission and serve on the 

Staff, APCo, and all other respondents, any testimony and 

exhibits by which the respondent expects to establish its 

case, and each witness's testimony shall include a summary 
not to exceed one page. In all filings, respondents shall 

comply with the Commission's Rules of Practice, 

including, but not limited to: 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and 

service, and 5 VAC 5-20-240, Prepared testimony and 

exhibits. All filings shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-

00117. 

(13) On or before September 17, 2020, the Staff shall 

investigate the PIPP filing and shall file with the Clerk of 

the Commission an original and fifteen (15) copies of its 

testimony and exhibits concerning the PIPP filing, and each 

Staff witness's testimony shall include a summary not to 
exceed one page. The Staff shall serve a copy thereof on 

counsel to APCo and all respondents. 

(14) On or before October 1, 2020, APCo shall file with the 

Clerk of the Commission any rebuttal testimony and 

exhibits that it expects to offer, and each rebuttal witness's 

testimony shall include a summary not to exceed one page. 

APCo shall serve a copy of its rebuttal testimony and 

exhibits on the Staff and all respondents. 

(15) Any documents filed in paper form with the Office of 

the Clerk of the Commission in this docket may use both 

sides of the paper. In all other respects, all filings shall 

comply fully with the requirements of 5 VAC 5-20-150, 
Copies and format, of the Commission's Rules of Practice. 

(16) The Commission's Rule of Practice 5 VAC 5-20-260, 

Interrogatories to parties or requests for production of 

documents and things, shall be modified for this proceeding 

as follows: responses and objections to written 

interrogatories and requests for production of documents 

shall be served within seven (7) calendar days after receipt 

of the same. In addition to the service requirements of 

5 VAC 5-20-260 of the Rules of Practice, on the day that 

copies are filed with the Clerk of the Commission, a copy 

of the interrogatory or request for production shall be 
served electronically on the party to whom the 

interrogatory or request for production is directed or the 

assigned Staff attorney, if the interrogatory or request for 

production is directed to the Staff.9 Except as modified 

above, discovery shall be in accordance with Part IV of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, 5 VAC 5-20-240 et seq. 

(17) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting
mailto:SCCInfo@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting
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this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

________________________________________ 

1§ 56-585.6 [effective July 1, 2020]. Universal service fee; Percentage of 

Income Payment Program. APCo is a Phase I Utility, and Dominion is a 

Phase II Utility. See § 56-585.1 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2Act's 12th Enactment: "12. That the State Corporation Commission shall 

issue its final order in the Percentage of Income Payment Program (PIPP) 

proceeding established pursuant to § 56-585.6 of the Code of Virginia, as 

created by this act, by December 31, 2020, provided that the non-bypassable 

universal service fee shall not be collected from customers of a Phase I or a 

Phase II Utility, as those terms are defined in subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 

of the Code of Virginia, as amended by this act, until such time as the PIPP is 

established. The Department of Housing and Community Development and 

the Department of Social Services shall convene a stakeholder working group 

and develop recommendations regarding the implementation of PIPP. Such 

recommendations shall allow for a utility to reimburse the administrative 

costs of the PIPP, not to exceed $3 million, and shall be submitted to the 

Chairs of the House Committee on Labor and Commerce and the Senate 

Committee on Commerce and Labor by December 1, 2020." 

3Id. 

4See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 

to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 

Northam. See also, Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 

Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 

Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 

Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay At Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam. These and subsequent Executive Orders related to COVID-19 may 

be found at: https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/. 

5See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 

CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. 

Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation 

Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency 

(May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) (Revised 

Operating Procedures Order), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic 

service among parties during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service 

(Apr. 1, 2020). 

65 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

7As noted in the Commission's Revised Operating Procedures Order, 

submissions to the Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial 

mail equivalents may not be processed for an indefinite period of time due to 

the COVID-19 emergency. 

8The Commission will convene counsel of record in this proceeding to attend 

the public witness hearing via Skype for Business. 

9The assigned Staff attorney is identified on the Commission's website, 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information, by clicking "Docket 

Search," then clicking "Search by Case Information," and entering the case 

number, PUR-2020-00117, in the appropriate box. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for the  
Children's Home of the Virginia Baptists 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to the Children's Home of the Virginia Baptists 

for alleged violation of the State Water Control Law at the 

facility located at 6900 Hickory Road, Petersburg, Virginia. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeff Reynolds will accept 

comments by email at jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 527-5106, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

until August 6, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Le Suraj Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Le Suraj Inc. 

for violations of the State Water Control Law in Belle Haven, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 
the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept 

comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 6, 

2020, to August 6, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Riggins Company L.C. Hampton 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Riggins 

Company L.C. Hampton, for violations of State Water 

Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will 

accept comments by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 6, 

2020, to August 5, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
San-J International Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to San-J International Inc. for alleged violation 
of the State Water Control Law at 2880 Sprouse Drive, 

Henrico, Virginia 23231. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Aree 

Reinhardt will accept comments by email at 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office (Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, from July 6, 2020, to August 7, 2020. 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
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mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
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Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Titan Virginia Ready-Mix LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Titan Virginia 

Ready-Mix LLC for violations of the State Water Control 

Law at the Titan Sterling Ready-Mix Concrete Plant facility 

located in Loudoun County, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement/PublicN

otices. Jim Datko will accept comments by email at 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department 

of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from July 7, 2020, 

through August 6, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents 
/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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