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REGISTER INFORMATION  PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLIC ATION SCH EDU LE AND D EADLINES  

August 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

36:26 July 29, 2020 August 17, 2020 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PET ITION S FOR RU LEM AKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Bioscript Infusion Services. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC110-20-276 

to allow remote order processing by technicians outside the 

physical location of a licensed pharmacy. Currently, 

pharmacists are allowed to perform prescription processing 

functions from remote location. Petitioner's request is to 

allow pharmacy technicians to also process orders under the 

supervision of a pharmacist under certain conditions as 

specified in regulation. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 16, 

2020, the board considered the petition and public comment it 

received. The board concluded it will not move forward with 

initiation of rulemaking at this time. However, the matter was 

referred to the Regulation Committee for further study and 

recommendation on amendments. The committee is 

scheduled to meet on November 12, 2020. It was also noted 

at the meeting on the 16th that a waiver put in place on March 

24, 2020, as part of the board's response to the Governor's 

State of Emergency, allows a pharmacy technician or a 

pharmacist to access an employer pharmacy's database from a 
remote location for the purpose of performing certain 

prescription processing functions provided the pharmacy 

establishes controls to protect the privacy and security of 

confidential records. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-35 Filed June 17, 2020, 3:36 p.m. 
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PERIODIC  REVIEWS AND SMALL BU SIN ESS IMPACT R EVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC5-30, Ambient Air 

Quality Standards. The review of this regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 6, 2020, and ends August 
10, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Air Pollution Control Board conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC5-160, Regulation for 

General Conformity, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated July 1, 2020, to support 

this decision. 

This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 

compliance with all applicable federal requirements under the 

Clean Air Act and specific requirements under the state code 
by ensuring that nontransportation federal projects conform to 

the State Implementation Plan and state regulations. The 

regulation has been effective in achieving its specific and 

measurable goals, which are as follows:  

1. To protect public health, safety, and welfare with the least 

possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses 

of the Commonwealth.  

2. To ensure that federal actions conform with Virginia's air 

quality plans and programs.  

3. To prohibit emissions from nonconforming federal projects 

that would contribute to nonattainment of the national air 

quality standards or interference with maintenance of the 
standards.  

The regulation has been effective in protecting public health, 

safety, and welfare with the least possible cost and 

intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the 

Commonwealth.  

The department has determined that the regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable by the individuals and 

entities affected. It is written so as to permit only one 

reasonable interpretation, is written to adequately identify the 

affected entity, and, insofar as possible, is written in 

nontechnical language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 

binding state and federal requirements and is effective in 

meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being retained 

without amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides the 

necessary requirements for conformity to ensure that federal 

projects have the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 

ongoing state and federal requirements that protect air quality.  

No comments were received that indicate a need to repeal or 

revise the regulation.  

The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 

that the regulated entities are able to meet their legal 
mandates as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation. This chapter was last 

amended in 2020.  

This chapter was also amended in 2011, 2016, and 2017.  

Over time, it generally becomes less expensive to 

characterize, measure, and mitigate the regulated pollutants 

that contribute to poor air quality. This regulation continues 

to provide the most efficient and cost-effective means to 

determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to 

control those excess emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of emission control 

regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 

impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 

ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 

Commonwealth. 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
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Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 18VAC125-15, Regulations 

Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate. The 

review of this regulation will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 20, 2020, and ends 

August 10, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Social Services conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 22VAC40-41, 

Neighborhood Assistance Tax Credit Program, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 17, 2020, to support this decision. 

The purpose of Neighborhood Assistance Tax Credit Program 

(NAP) is to encourage businesses, trusts, and individuals to 

make donations to approved 501(c)(3) organizations for the 

benefit of low-income persons. In return for their 

contributions, donators may receive tax credits equal to 65% 
of the donation that may be applied against their state income 

tax liability. The benefits provided to low-income persons are 

necessary to protect health and welfare. The existing 

regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018), remains clearly and concisely 

written and easily understandable. 

The State Board of Social Services recommends that the 

regulation stay in effect without change. 

The regulation is necessary to ensure effective operation of 

NAP, as authorized by the Code of Virginia. It does not 

overlap or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The 
use of NAP is voluntary for the neighborhood organization 

and business and does not have a negative impact on small 

business. A business can receive a state tax credit for 

donating to approved NAP projects. 

Contact Information: Wanda Stevenson, Program Technician, 

Neighborhood Assistance Tax Credit Program, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7924, FAX (804) 726-7088, or email 
wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Social Services conducted a periodic review and 
small business impact review of 22VAC40-293, Locality 

Groupings, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated April 15, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

Program and regulation are essential to protecting the welfare 

of vulnerable citizens by assisting families with children in 

meeting basic needs. The regulation is necessary as it 

provides a mechanism for a locality to switch grouping when 
there is evidence to support that need. This regulation will 

mailto:gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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protect families by allowing them access to greater resources 

in certain situations. This regulation establishes criteria using 

data that is easily obtainable and readily available. This 

results in a system that is more equitable to families across 

the Commonwealth. 

The agency recommends retaining the regulation without 

change. Without it there would be no means of reviewing or 

changing the TANF payment level for a specific locality. 
Since this regulation has been in effect, 12 localities have 

switched to higher paying locality groupings, directly 

benefitting the citizens of those areas. 

The regulation needs to be retained because it provides a 

mechanism for a locality to switch grouping when there is 

evidence to support that need. No comments have been 

received in the past concerning this regulation. This 

regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. This 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

federal or state law or regulation. While economic conditions 

as well as local cost of living standards continue to change, 
this regulation provides a means for a locality to change 

locality groupings as a result of such changes. This regulation 

was last reviewed in 2016. It has no impact on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Mark Golden, Program Manager, 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Department of 

Social Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone, (804) 726-7385, FAX (804) 726-7357, or email 
mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 

Board of Social Services conducted a periodic review and 
small business impact review of 22VAC40-685, Virginia 

Energy Assistance Program - Home Energy Assistance 

Program, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated April 17, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

The existing regulation meets the criteria set forth in 

Executive Order 14. It is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare for the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP) 

provides funding to augment the Low-Income Home Energy 
Assistance Program, which provides critical heating, cooling, 

and crisis assistance that ensures the safety, health, and 

welfare of Virginia's low-income citizens. The regulation is 

clear and concise and written in a manner easily understood. 

The agency recommends that the regulation be retained 

without change to ensure the agency remains in compliance 

with § 63.2-805 of the Code of Virginia and that the public is 

aware of the procedures regarding program administration 

and fund disbursement for the HEAP. 

The regulation grants authority to DSS to receive and 

disburse HEAP funds. These funds are used to supplement 

the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program 

(LIHEAP) federal funding, which is used to offer and 

administer the Energy Assistance Program (EAP). In 

addition, HEAP funds may be used to leverage additional 

federal funds. The department did not receive any complaints 

or comments on the regulation.  

Because this regulation makes revenue available to over 500 

vendors, the impact of the regulation on small business is 

positive. The regulation provides eligible EAP vendors, 

which includes vendors from the small business community, 

access to revenue made available through the federally 

funded LIHEAP. The regulation is not complex and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with other federal or state laws 

or regulations. The last evaluation of this regulation occurred 

in 2015. Business entities that provide EAP goods and 

services are eligible to participate as vendors in the EAP. 

Payments to vendors are determined by their respective 
products, self-designated service areas and by customer 

selection. There is no need to amend or repeal the regulation 

to minimize the economic impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Denise Surber, Interim Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone, (804) 726-7386, 

FAX (804) 726-7358, or email 
denise.t.surber@dss.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND  
MOTOR VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Transportation (VDOT) conducted a periodic 

review and small business impact review of 24VAC30-73, 

Access Management Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated April 21, 

2020, to support this decision. 

Each proposed highway entrance creates a potential conflict 

point that impacts the safe and efficient flow of traffic on the 

highway; therefore, private property interests in access to the 

highway must be balanced with public interests of safety and 
mobility. Managing access to highways can reduce traffic 

congestion, help maintain the levels of service, enhance 

public safety by decreasing traffic conflict points, support 

economic development by promoting the efficient movement 

of people and goods, reduce the need for new highways and 

road widening by improving the performance of existing 

mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov
mailto:denise.t.surber@dss.virginia.gov
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highways, preserve the public investment in new highways by 

maximizing their efficient operation, and better coordinate 

transportation and land use decisions. It is essential that 

entrance and site design allow safe and efficient movements 

of traffic using the entrance while minimizing the impact of 

such movements on the operation of the systems of state 

highways. The regulation is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety and welfare and is clearly written and 
easily understandable. 

For the reasons stated, VDOT recommends retaining the 

regulation as is. 

There is a continued need for this regulation, and it is 

essential for ensuring the safety of the traveling public. The 

regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with other federal or state law or regulation. This 

regulation was first adopted in 2009, and has been amended 

several times, most recently in 2013. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, 

FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Department of Transportation (VDOT) conducted a periodic 

review and small business impact review of 24VAC30-121, 

Comprehensive Roadside Management Program, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated April 22, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to allow private businesses, civic 

organizations, communities, individuals, and local 

governments an opportunity to improve the appearance and 

safety of the state maintained right-of-way or real property, 

herein referred to as right-of-way, by participating in the 

project development, establishment, and maintenance of 

landscaping activities within the state-maintained right-of-

way. Acknowledgment signs must comply with clear zone 

safety requirements and the criteria for placement for specific 

highway systems and access type. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The decision is to retain this regulation without making 

changes. There is a continued need for this regulation. There 

have been several participants throughout the Commonwealth 

since the beginning of the Comprehensive Roadside 

Management Program (CRMP). Currently, there are 

additional projects in the early planning stages of 

development within the Commonwealth. 

There is a continued need for this regulation because it 

enables private businesses, civic organizations, communities, 

individuals, and local governments to have an opportunity to 

improve the appearance and safety of the state maintained 

right-of-way. The program allows participants the flexibility 

of providing monetary or noncash contributions in addition to 

selecting the highway system that they would like to 

participate based on their contribution. To date, comments on 

the existing projects have been positive. Guidance documents 

developed by VDOT assist participants with the 
implementation of the program, however the regulation is not 

overly complex. There is no overlap, duplication, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation. The regulation was 

adopted in 2006 and was last amended in 2011. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, 

FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) conducted a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 

24VAC30-151, Land Use Permit Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated April 21, 2020, to support this decision. 

All occupation of state highway rights-of-way, including 

occupation by utilities and other proprietary functions of 

localities, is to be under the authority granted by a land use 

permit issued in accordance with the Virginia Department of 
Transportation's Land Use Permit Manual. The Land Use 

Permit Regulations set out the requirements that must be met 

in order to occupy state highway rights-of-way. The permits 

address safety issues, such as proper procedures for 

temporarily closing travel lanes, standards for entrances and 

access points onto highways, affixing signs and other objects 

to structures in the right-of-way, and location and protection 

of utility lines. The regulation is necessary for the protection 

of the public health, safety, and welfare of the public 

traveling on or near public highways and is clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

The Commonwealth Transportation Board is recommending 

retaining the regulation as is. In the interests of ensuring the 

safety of the traveling public, the CTB concurs that there are 

no viable alternatives to this regulation and that the current 

regulation is the least burdensome approach for achieving the 

purposes set forth by the regulation. 

Retention of the Land Use Permit Regulations is necessary 

for the health, safety, and welfare of the traveling public. No 

comments were received concerning the regulation. The 
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regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with any other laws or regulations. The regulation 

was adopted in 2010 to replace the Highway Access 

Management Regulations for Principal Arterials, 24VAC30-

150. The regulation has been amended several times for 

various reasons since then, including in 2011, 2014, 2015, 

and 2018. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Commonwealth Transportation Board, 1401 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, 

FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 
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NOTICES OF INTEND ED R EGU LATOR Y AC TION  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND  
MOTOR VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Department of Transportation 

intends to consider amending 24VAC30-620, Rules, 

Regulations, and Rates Concerning Toll and Bridge 

Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend the 

chapter to include in the regulation Virginia Department of 

Transportation owned and operated toll facilities that have 

opened since the regulation became effective, or are likely to 

open in the near future. Section 33.2-613 of the Code of 

Virginia has been amended in recent years to change the 

Commissioner of Highways authority in the suspension of 
tolls on toll facilities in the Commonwealth. The proposed 

amendments will address the additional toll facilities covered 

by the chapter and add the change in procedures and criteria 

to be considered for the suspension of tolls. The proposed 

amendments are not anticipated to affect existing toll rates 
specified in the regulation.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Government and 

Legislative Affairs Division Administrator, Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23235, telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 
joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6422; Filed June 22, 2020, 3:52 p.m.  

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia 

Alcohol Safety Action Program intends to consider 

promulgating 24VAC35-70, Remote Alcohol Monitoring 

Devices. The purpose of the proposed chapter is to establish 

provisions regarding the installation, maintenance, and 

certification of remote alcohol monitoring devices required by 

court order for certain convicted offenders. The action 
complies with Chapter 1007 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Technical Instructor, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 
rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6356; Filed June 25, 2020, 12:28 p.m.  
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REGU LAT ION S 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 
exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-70. Absentee Voting (adding 

1VAC20-70-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: David Nichols, Director of Election 

Services, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8952, or email 
david.nichols@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes requirements for 

satellite offices to be "adequate facilities" as provided in 

§ 24.2-701.2 of the Code of Virginia, including which 

physical protections and cyber security protections are 

necessary to make voting systems safe and secure at 

satellite offices. The proposed regulation also requires that 

each locality (i) submit a list of all expected satellite office 

locations and a readiness checklist for each location and 

(ii) conduct an internet connectivity validation test for each 
location and submit confirmation of connectivity.  

1VAC20-70-60. Security requirements for absentee 

satellite offices. 

A. To guarantee that their facilities are adequate for the 

protection of all election materials and voting systems, each 

locality that operates a satellite office pursuant to § 24.2-

701.2 of the Code of Virginia must comply with the 
following: 

1. Each satellite office must maintain an adequate number 

of ballots of each ballot style from all precincts within its 
locality. 

2. Each satellite office must balance its voter credit records 

nightly by reconciling the public count with the electronic 
pollbook count at the end of each day. 

3. Each satellite office must have reliable internet 

connectivity for the entire in-person absentee voting 

period. Here, "reliable" means that the connection meets 

the National Institute of Standards and Technology 
standards and that the likelihood of connectivity 
interruptions is low. 

4. Computer systems at the satellite office locations will be 
directly connected to the Virginia Electronic Registration 

Information System (VERIS). Electronic pollbooks connected 
to the cloud or to a virtual private network (VPN) will be 

linked to each other across various satellite office locations as 
well as the General Registrar's office. Voter credit will be 

uploaded into VERIS at the end of each day, and updated files 
will be uploaded at the beginning of each day to the electronic 
pollbooks. 

5. Each satellite office must be equipped such that it can (i) 
confirm that any attempted voter is eligible to vote in that 

election; (ii) confirm that any attempted voter has not 
previously voted in the election; and (iii) record each voter's 
participation in the election in real time. 

B. To comply with these requirements, localities must submit a 

list of all expected satellite office locations no more than 90 days 
before and no less than 60 days before election day. 

Additionally, each locality must complete a readiness checklist 
for each satellite office location and submit the completed 

readiness checklist to the Department of Elections. The readiness 
checklist will be promulgated by the Department of Elections. 

The Department of Elections may deny a satellite office's ability 
to connect to VERIS or an electronic pollbook if a locality fails 
to timely complete the readiness checklist. 

C. No later than 60 days before election day, each locality will 

provide the final address of each of its satellite offices to the 
Department of Elections. Eight days before absentee voting 

begins at a satellite location, the locality will conduct a test to 
validate internet connectivity for that location and submit 

confirmation of connectivity to the Department of Elections. 
Continued failure means that the Department of Elections will 

not grant the satellite office access to VERIS or authorize the use 
of a connected electronic pollbook. A satellite office that cannot 

meet these internet connectivity standards before absentee voting 
begins at that office may apply for an emergency location change 
under subsection F of § 24.2-701.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6377; Filed June 29, 2020, 10:24 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND  
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-320. Regulations for the 

Enforcement of the Endangered Plant and Insect Species 

Act (amending 2VAC5-320-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-1002 and 3.2-1005 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020.  

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 
828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove one plant species from the list 

of threatened species that is no longer believed to occur in 

Virginia, (ii) add two insect and three plant species that 

are in danger of extinction to the list of endangered 
species, and (iii) add five plant species to the list of 

threatened species that are likely to become endangered 

species within the foreseeable future throughout all or a 
significant portion of their native ranges. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

2VAC5-320-10. Listing of endangered and threatened 

plant and insect species.  

A. The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services hereby 

adopts the following regulation in order to protect designated 

plant and insect species that exist in this Commonwealth. All 

designated species are subject to all sections of the Virginia 
Endangered Plant and Insect Species Act (§ 3.2-1000 et seq. 
of the Code of Virginia).  

B. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared an endangered species:  

1. Boltonia montana, valley doll's-daisy. 

2. Bombus affinis, rusty patch bumble bee. 

3. Cardamine micranthera, small-anthered bittercress.  

3. 4. Carex juniperorum, juniper sedge.  

4. 5. Clematis addisonii, Addison's leatherflower. 

6. Corallorhiza bentley, Bentley's coralroot.  

5. 7. Fimbristylis perpusilla, Harper's fimbristylis. 

6. 8. Helenium virginicum, Virginia sneezeweed. 

7. 9. Helonias bullata, swamp-pink. 

8. 10. Ilex collina, long-stalked holly. 

9. 11. Iliamna corei, Peter's Mountain mallow.  

10. 12. Isoetes virginica, Virginia quillwort. 

11. 13. Isotria medeoloides, small whorled pogonia. 

12. 14. Ludwigia ravenii, Raven's seedbox. 

15. Neonympha mitchellii, Mitchell's satyr butterfly.  

13. 16. Phemeranthus piedmontanus, Piedmont 

fameflower. 

17. Pseudanophthalmus holsingeri, Holsinger's cave beetle. 

18. Pseudanophthalmus parvicollis, Hupp's Hill cave 
beetle. 

14. 19. Pseudanophthalmus thomasi, Thomas' cave beetle. 

15. 20. Ptilimnium nodosum, harperella.  

16. 21. Puto kosztarabi, Buffalo Mountain mealybug.  

17. 22. Scirpus ancistrochaetus, Northeastern bulrush.  

18. 23. Sigara depressa, Virginia Piedmont water boatman.  

19. 24. Spiraea virginiana, Virginia spiraea.  

20. 25. Trifolium calcaricum, running glade clover.  

C. The following plant and insect species are hereby 
declared a threatened species:  

1. Aeschynomene virginica, sensitive-joint vetch.  

2. Amaranthus pumilus, seabeach amaranth.  

3. Arabis serotina, shale barren rockcress.  

4. Cicindela dorsalis dorsalis, Northeastern beach tiger 
beetle.  

5. Clematis viticaulis, Millboro leatherflower. 

6. Echinacea laevigata, smooth coneflower.  

7. Houstonia purpurea var. montana, Roan Mountain bluet. 

8. Juncus caesariensis, New Jersey rush.  

8. Lycopodiella margueritiae, Northern prostrate clubmoss.  

9. Nuphar sagittifolia, narrow-leaved spatterdock. 

10. Paxistima canbyi, Canby's mountain-lover.  

11. Phlox buckleyi, sword-leaf phlox. 

12. Platanthera leucophaea, Eastern prairie fringed orchid. 

11. 13. Pycnanthemum torreyi, Torrey's mountain-mint. 

14. Pyrgus wyandot, Appalachian grizzled skipper.  

12. 15. Rhus michauxii, Michaux's sumac. 

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2020 

2530 

13. 16. Rudbeckia heliopsidis, sun-facing coneflower. 

17. Scirpus flaccidifolius, reclining bulrush. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5606; Filed June 26, 2020, 10:07 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-501. Regulations Governing 

the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk 

(amending 2VAC5-501-10, 2VAC5-501-30 through 

2VAC5-501-80; adding 2VAC5-501-5; repealing 2VAC5-

501-20, 2VAC5-501-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 3.2-5206, 3.2-5223, and 3.2-5224 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 4, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

serves as the promulgating entity for this regulation. Section 

3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the board as a 

policy board and authorizes the board to adopt regulations in 
accordance with the provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code. 

Section 3.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the board 

to establish definitions and standards of quality and to 
identity, adopt, and enforce regulations dealing with the 

issuance of permits, production, importation, processing, 

grading, labeling, and sanitary standards for milk, milk 

products, market milk, market milk products, and those 

products manufactured or sold in semblance to or as 

substitutes for milk, milk products, market milk, or market 
milk products.  

This section also authorizes the board to adopt (i) any 

regulation or part thereof under federal law that pertains to 

milk or milk products, amending the federal regulation as 

necessary for intrastate application and (ii) any model 
ordinance or regulation issued under federal law, including 

the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO) and the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture's Milk for Manufacturing 
Purposes. 

Purpose: The proposed amendments will bring the regulation 

in line with current federal standards as established by the 

2017 revision of the PMO. In addition to providing for 

consistency with current federal standards and existing 

Virginia regulations, these amendments will also ensure that 

Virginia maintains its own authority to oversee its state-level 

regulatory program. This will allow the regulatory program to 

continue to provide sufficient flexibility for the Virginia dairy 

industry while protecting the public's health, safety, and 

welfare by ensuring the safety and wholesomeness of all milk 
shipped from Virginia dairy farms. 

Surrounding states have already updated their regulations to 

be consistent with the requirements governing the storage and 

transportation of milk established in the 2017 PMO. The 

proposed changes will facilitate interstate sales by Virginia 
milk producers by providing a level playing field with 

surrounding states with regard to the storage and 
transportation of milk. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Periodically, the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) updates the PMO to 

ensure uniformity, the continued economic viability of the 

milk industry, and efficient and effective interstate milk 

transport. Virginia's milk-related regulations must reflect the 

requirements of the most recent edition of the PMO in order 

for Virginia dairies to ship milk interstate. The FDA audits 

states on a regular basis regarding the effectiveness of their 
enforcement and established policies and procedures. The 

FDA uses the PMO as a standard during its evaluation. If a 

state has not adopted the PMO or regulations similar to the 

PMO, it will not be able to achieve conformance with the 

audit. Failure to pass the audit could have serious 

consequences for both the regulatory program and the 
Virginia dairy industry.  

The agency expects the proposed changes to be 

noncontroversial because they will bring the regulation in line 

with current federal standards, which were reviewed and 

commented on by industry at the time they were last updated, 
and with regulations adopted by surrounding states. 

The proposed changes include the formal adoption by 

reference of the 2017 PMO, the repeal of sections that are 

duplicative of the PMO, and amendments to certain 

requirements to ensure consistency with the PMO. The 

proposed changes also include the addition of a requirement 

that each bulk milk sampler contact the agency if the bulk 

milk sampler has not been evaluated within the last 18 
months. 

Substance: The substantive changes are as follows: 

1. The adoption by reference of the 2017 PMO as 

regulations applicable in the enforcement of the milk 
sanitation program of the U.S. Public Health Service, 

administered by the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services Dairy Program.  

The primary amendments made to the 2013 PMO, on 

which 2VAC5-501 is currently based, that are included in 
the 2017 PMO are as follows:  

• Extension of the time that tankers must be evaluated from 

24 months to 24 months plus the remaining days in the 
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month in which the inspection is due (revision made in 
2015 PMO and retained in 2017 PMO). 

• Clarification provided regarding electronic record 

keeping on farm bulk tanks (revision made in 2015 PMO 
and retained in 2017 PMO). 

• Establishment of a definition for "universal" sample (i.e., 

any sample taken by any permitted sampler or regulatory 

personnel) and provisions regarding the evaluation of the 
collection of a universal sample (revision made in 2017 
PMO). 

• Clarification provided regarding the term "first use" and 

how long a tanker can remain washed and empty before 
being filled with milk again (revision made in 2017 PMO). 

2. The repeal of provisions of the regulation that are 
duplicative of the requirements set forth in the 2017 PMO. 

3. All instances of the phrase "state regulatory authority" 

were changed to "state regulatory agency."  

4. The addition of a requirement that each bulk milk 

sampler contact the state regulatory agency if the bulk milk 
sampler has not been evaluated by the state regulatory 
agency within the last 18 months. 

5. Revises the wording in 2VAC5-501-40 to align the 

regulations with the PMO and reflect current industry 

standards with regard to adequate lighting fixtures and the 
maintenance of weighing and sampling records. 

6. Updates references to the "3-A Sanitary Standards for 

Farm Milk Storage Tanks, Document No. 30-01 (Sept. 

1984)" with "3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk 
Storage Tanks, Document No. 30-02 (July 2018)." 

7. The addition of the requirement that each farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank shall be capable of registering the 
temperature of the milk in the tank before it reaches 20% 

of the tank's volume. The current regulation requires that 

such tanks be capable of registering the temperature of 

milk in the tank before it reaches 10% of the tank's 

volume. This change will align the regulation with the 
current minimum requirement in the 2017 PMO. 

8. The addition of the requirement that each person who 

operates a dairy farm and installs a recording thermometer 

on the farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall maintain a 

minimum of a 30-day supply of unused recorder charts 

designed for the specific recording thermometer installed 
and shall maintain a minimum of the past six months of 

used charts for purposes of inspection. The current 

regulation requires that such charts be maintained for 60 

days. This change will align the regulation with the current 
minimum requirement in the 2017 PMO. 

9. Removes the requirement that milk must be delivered to 

a milk plant, transfer station, or receiving station within 24 
hours of last pickup. 

Issues:  

1. The primary advantage to the public is that the proposed 

regulatory change will allow for the safe storage and 

cooling of milk produced on dairy farms in Virginia and 

sold in intrastate and interstate commerce and will 

eliminate the confusion that could result from 

inconsistencies between state and federal standards. This 

ensures that the public is afforded the opportunity to 
consume a safe product and further ensures that the dairy 

industry is afforded additional flexibility regarding the 
storage of milk.  

2. The primary advantage to the agency and 

Commonwealth is that the proposed regulatory change will 

ensure that the Commonwealth can adequately protect the 

public from milk cooled, stored, or transported in an unsafe 

manner. The amendments that will bring Virginia's 

regulation in line with the PMO will support the continued 

intrastate and interstate sales of milk on a more 

competitive basis, which will ultimately benefit Virginia's 
economy. 

This proposed regulatory action poses no disadvantages to 
the public or the Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes amendments to the Regulations Governing the 

Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk to 

conform the regulation to the 2017 revision of the U.S. Food 

and Drug Administration's (FDA) Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance (PMO), which is the most recent revision, and to 
better satisfy FDA audit requirements. 

Background. The Regulations Governing the Cooling, 

Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk establish storage 

and cooling standards for Grade A dairy farms and for milk 

transported from dairy farms. The standards address 

requirements relating to: milk cooling, milk storage tanks, 

pay purpose laboratories, dairy farms and plants, permits, 

milk house and associated facilities, milk facility 

construction, and milk cooling and storage tanks; cooling and 

storage requirements for milk in transport; and the sampling 

and measuring of milk produced and sold from dairy farms 
and facilities. The current and proposed regulations state that 

it is unlawful for any person who does not possess a permit 

from VDACS to: (i) operate a bulk milk pickup tanker; (ii) 

sample, measure, and collect milk from farm bulk milk 

cooling or holding tanks; (iii) sample, measure, or receive 

milk in cans or containers into any milk plant, receiving 

station, or transfer station; (iv) possess or transport official 

milk samples; (v) collect official milk samples from bulk 

milk pickup tankers or milk transport tanks; or (vi) collect 
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official milk samples of pasteurized milk or pasteurized milk 
products from a milk plant. 

The FDA's PMO is the basic standard used in the voluntary 

Cooperative State-United States Public Health Service/FDA 

Program for the Certification of Interstate Milk Shippers, a 

program participated in by all fifty states, the District of 

Columbia and U.S. Trust Territories. In practice, dairy farms 

and milk haulers must follow the rules within the PMO in 
order for Virginia milk to be accepted in other states and 
jurisdictions.  

Periodically, the FDA updates the PMO to ensure uniformity, 

the continued economic viability of the milk industry, and 

efficient and effective interstate milk transport. Virginia's 

milk-related regulations must reflect the requirements of the 

most recent revision of the PMO in order for Virginia dairies 

to ship milk interstate. The FDA audits states on a regular 

basis regarding the effectiveness of their enforcement and 

established policies and procedures. The FDA uses the PMO 

as a standard during its evaluation. If a state has not adopted 
the PMO or regulations similar to the PMO, it will not be able 

to achieve conformance with the audit. Failure to pass the 

audit could negatively affect the Virginia dairy industry's 
ability to ship and sell milk out of state. 

In certain instances, the regulation provides additional 

guidance or establishes requirements that are not included in 

the PMO. The proposed changes include the formal adoption 

by reference of the 2017 PMO, the repeal of sections that are 

duplicative of the PMO, and amendments to certain 

requirements to ensure consistency with the PMO. The 

proposed changes also include the addition of a requirement 

that each bulk milk sampler contact the agency if he or she 
has not been evaluated within the last 18 months. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The current regulation requires 

that each bulk milk sampler be evaluated by VDACS at least 

once during the first year after his permit is issued and a 

minimum of once every two years thereafter as a condition of 

permit renewal. Bulk milk sampler is defined as any person 

who holds a permit issued by VDACS to collect, store, or 

transport official milk samples. According to VDACS, with 

the current 24 month interval for inspecting samplers, the 

agency has found it difficult to satisfy FDA audits. 

Consequently, the Board proposes to decrease the interval 
between evaluations from the current two years to 18 months. 

Additionally, the Board proposes to require that the permittee 

contact VDACS if he has not been evaluated within the 18 
months following the last evaluation. 

VDACS believes that the 18 month requirement would help 

the agency better meet FDA requirements concerning the 

effectiveness of the agency's enforcement and established 

policies and procedures. According to the agency, the 

evaluator only observes the permittee working and does not 

stop them, ask any questions, or ask them to go anywhere that 

they were not already going to. Thus the proposed more 

frequent evaluations do not appear to produce cost for the 

permittees. The proposed requirement that the permittee 

contact the agency if he has not been evaluated within the last 

18 months is a small additional burden. Overall, these 

proposed changes are slightly more stringent than is specified 

in the 2017 PMO,1 but VDACS believes it is necessary to 

practically satisfy the FDA and not put approval of the 
Commonwealth's milk program at risk. 

Proposed Amendments to Conform to 2017 PMO. As stated 

above, this regulation must reflect the most recent version of 

the PMO in order to ensure that Virginia's regulations are 

consistent with those adopted by surrounding states so that 

Virginia milk producers maintain the ability to compete with 

surrounding states with regard to interstate milk shipments. 

Thus, any small increases in costs due to proposed changes to 

conform the regulation to the PMO very likely are 

outweighed by the benefit of the continued ability to ship 

milk out of state by abiding by the most recent version of the 
PMO. 

Other than the changes to the bulk milk sampler evaluations, 

all other proposed amendments strictly conform the 

regulation to the 2017 PMO. According to VDACS, all 

regulated entities (milk haulers and dairy farmers) are already 

complying with the 2017 PMO. Although some proposed 

amendments are technical changes such as lighting and 

thermometer placement that are not likely to have substantive 

impact in practice, the following changes to the PMO and 
regulation may have had or could have some impact.  

The current regulation states that each person who holds a 

permit to produce milk shall store a minimum of the past 30 

days bulk milk pickup tickets in his milkroom for use by 
VDACS if he ships his milk by bulk shipment. The Board 

proposes to repeal this requirement. This could reduce 

recordkeeping costs for dairy farmers, but VDACS believes 
most would likely keep the tickets as a business practice. 

The current regulation requires that dairy farmers store in 

their milkhouse or milkroom the weighing and sampling 

receipt from each milk pickup for a minimum of the past 60 

days if his milk is picked up by a bulk milk hauler. The 

proposed regulation allows an option to use electronic records 

and specifies how VDACS would have access to the 

electronic records. Providing an electronic option could 
reduce costs for interested farmers and allow easier access to 
the information for VDACS staff. 

Each person who operates a dairy farm and installs a 

recording thermometer on the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank must under the current regulation maintain a minimum 

of a 30-day supply of unused recorder charts designed for the 

specific recording thermometer installed and must maintain a 

minimum of the past 60 days of used charts for purposes of 

inspection. The Board proposes to increase the timeframe for 

which a dairy farm operator with a recording thermometer 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2020 

2533 

must maintain used recorder charts from 60 days to six 
months. This increases recordkeeping costs. 

The existing regulation requires that milk be delivered to a 

milk plant, transfer station, or receiving station within 24 

hours of last pickup. The Board proposes to eliminate this 

requirement. According to VDACS, this is no longer 

necessary with modern insulating technology. Additionally, it 

has not been practical to enforce. To the extent that haulers 
have followed this requirement, this proposed change would 
increase their flexibility and reduce costs. 

The Board also proposes to adopt the 2017 PMO by 

reference. Beyond the changes addressed above, this extends 

the time that tankers must be evaluated from 24 months to 24 

months plus the remaining days in the month in which the 

inspection is due; establishes a definition for "universal" 

sample (i.e., any sample taken by any permitted sampler or 

regulatory personnel) and provisions regarding the evaluation 

of the collection of a universal sample; and provides 
clarifications. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the ten permitted contract milk haulers 

and 469 dairy farms in the Commonwealth.2 In practice, the 

proposed amendments do not appear to substantively increase 

costs for these entities because VDACS reports that all 
regulated entities are already complying with the 2017 PMO. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments would affect 

localities that have dairy farms. The proposed amendments do 
not introduce costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. By 

maintaining compliance with the latest version of the PMO 

and helping attain approval in FDA audits, the proposed 

amendments help ensure that milk produced in Virginia can 

be transported and sold beyond the Commonwealth's borders. 
This helps maintain the value of Virginia's dairy farms.  

Small Businesses5 Affected: VDACS estimates that all of the 

ten permitted contract milk haulers and all 469 dairy farms 

are small businesses. However, the proposed amendments do 

not appear in net to adversely affect small businesses because 

VDACS reports that all regulated entities are already 
complying with the 2017 PMO.  

____________________ 

1More stringent does not violate the requirements of the PMO. 

2Data source: VDACS 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) incorporate the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration 2017 Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (PMO) 

by reference into the regulation; (ii) repeal text that is 

duplicative of the language in the PMO; (iii) adjust state-

specific regulatory requirements for consistency with the 

PMO and add a requirement that each bulk milk sampler 

contact the agency if the bulk milk sampler has not been 

evaluated within the last 18 months; and (iv) update forms 
and documents incorporated by reference.  

The primary changes resulting from the revised 2017 PMO 
include: 

• Extension of the time that tankers must be evaluated 

from 24 months to 24 months plus the remaining days in 
the month in which the inspection is due. 

• Clarification of electronic recordkeeping on farm bulk 

tanks. 

• Establishment of a definition for "universal" sample 

(i.e., any sample taken by any permitted sampler or 

regulatory personnel) and provisions regarding the 
evaluation of the collection of a universal sample. 

• Clarification of the term "first use" and how long a 

tanker can remain washed and empty before being filled 
with milk again. 

• Alignment of the regulations regarding current industry 

standards for adequate lighting fixtures and the 
maintenance of weighing and sampling records. 

• Addition of the requirement that each farm bulk cooling 

or holding tank shall be capable of registering the 

temperature of the milk in the tank before it reaches 20% 
of the tank's volume.  

• Addition of the requirement that each person who 

operates a dairy farm and installs a recording 

thermometer on the farm bulk cooling or holding tank 

shall maintain a minimum of a 30-day supply of unused 

recorder charts designed for the specific recording 

thermometer installed and shall maintain a minimum of 

the past six months of used charts for purposes of 
inspection.  

• Removal of the requirement that milk must be delivered 

to a milk plant, transfer station, or receiving station 
within 24 hours of last pickup. 
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2VAC5-501-5. Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance. 

A. Any person permitted in accordance with Chapter 52 

(§ 3.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding milk, milk products, and dairies shall comply with 

the provisions of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 
2017 Revision." 

B. Section One of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance, 2017 Revision" regarding definitions shall be used 
to determine the meanings of the words or terms used this 

chapter or in the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 

2017 Revision" unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

If any definition in Section One of the "Grade "A" 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2017 Revision" conflicts with a 

definition in 2VAC5-501-10, 2VAC5-510-10 shall control to 
the extent of the conflict. 

C. If any provision of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 

Ordinance, 2017 Revision" conflicts with a provision in 

2VAC5-501-10 through 2VAC5-501-100, the provision in 

2VAC5-510-10 through 2VAC5-501-100 shall control to the 
extent of the conflict. 

2VAC5-501-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Bulk milk hauler" means any person who holds a permit 

issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to collect official milk samples and 

transport (i) raw milk from a dairy farm to a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station; or (ii) raw milk products 

from one milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station to 
another milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Bulk milk pickup tanker" means a vehicle, including the 

truck, tank, and those appurtenances necessary for its use, 

used by a bulk milk hauler or bulk milk sampler to transport 

bulk raw milk for pasteurization from a dairy farm to a milk 
plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Bulk milk pickup tanker commingled milk" means the 

commingled raw milk from two or more dairy farms that has 
not been removed from the bulk milk pickup tanker.  

"Bulk milk sampler" means any person who holds a permit 

issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services to collect, store, or transport official milk 
samples.  

"Cancel" means to permanently nullify, void, or delete a 

permit issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.  

"Contract hauler" or "subcontract hauler" means any person 

who contracts (i) to transport raw milk from a dairy farm to a 

milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station or (ii) to 

transport raw milk or milk products between a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station and another milk plant, 
receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Dairy farm" means any place or premises (i) where any 

cow, goat, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except 

humans) is kept or (ii) from which any cow, goat, sheep, 

water buffalo, or other mammal (except humans) milk, dairy 

product, or milk product is sold or offered for sale for human 
consumption.  

"Dairy plant sampler" means any employee of (i) a milk 

plant who is responsible for collecting official milk samples 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia, (ii) the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services who is 

responsible for collecting raw milk or pasteurized milk 

product samples at a milk plant, or (iii) the Virginia 

Department of Health who is responsible for collecting raw 

milk or pasteurized milk product samples at a milk plant and 

who holds a permit issued by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services for the collection of 
official milk samples for regulatory purposes.  

"Dairy product" means butter, natural or processed cheese, 

dry whole milk, nonfat dry milk, dry buttermilk, dry whey, 

evaporated whole or skim milk, condensed whole milk, and 
condensed plain or sweetened skim milk.  

"Deny" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services will not issue a permit to the applicant.  

"Farm bulk cooling or holding tank" means any tank 

installed on a dairy farm for the purpose of cooling or storing 
raw milk.  

"Milk" means the whole, fresh, clean lacteal secretion 

obtained by the complete milking of one or more healthy 

cows, goats, sheep, water buffalo, or other mammal (except 
humans) intended for human consumption excluding that 

obtained before and after birthing for such a period as may be 
necessary to render the milk practically colostrum-free.  

"Milk plant" means any place, premises, or establishment 

where milk, milk products, or dairy products are collected, 

handled, processed, stored, pasteurized, aseptically processed, 
bottled, packaged, or prepared for distribution.  

"Milk producer" means any person who operates a dairy 

farm and provides, sells, or offers any milk for human 
consumption.  

"Milk product" means (i) acidified lowfat milk, acidified 

milk, acidified milk product, acidified skim milk, acidified 

sour cream, acidified sour half-and-half, aseptically processed 

milk, aseptically processed milk product, buttermilk, coffee 

cream, concentrated milk, concentrated milk product, cottage 

cheese, cottage cheese dry curd, cream, cultured half-and-

half, cultured milk, cultured lowfat milk, cultured skim milk, 

cultured sour cream, dry curd cottage cheese, eggnog, 

eggnog-flavored milk, flavored milk, flavored milk product, 

fortified milk, fortified milk product, frozen milk concentrate, 
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goat milk, half-and-half, heavy cream, lactose-reduced lowfat 

milk, lactose-reduced milk, lactose-reduced skim milk, light 

cream, light whipping cream, lowfat cottage cheese, lowfat 

milk, lowfat yogurt, low-sodium lowfat milk, low-sodium 

milk, low-sodium skim milk, milk, nonfat milk, nonfat 

yogurt, recombined milk, recombined milk product, 

reconstituted milk, reconstituted milk product, sheep milk, 

skim milk, sour cream, sour half-and-half, table cream, 
vitamin D milk, vitamin D milk product, whipped cream, 

whipped light cream, whipping cream, or yogurt; (ii) any of 

the following foods: milk, lowfat milk, or skim milk with 

added safe and suitable microbial organisms; or (iii) any food 

made with a food specified in clause (i) of this definition by 

the addition or subtraction of milkfat or addition of safe and 

suitable optional ingredients for protein, vitamin, or mineral 

fortification. Milk products also include those dairy foods 

made by modifying the federally standardized products listed 
in this definition in accordance with 21 CFR 130.10.  

"Milk tank truck" means the term used to describe both a 

bulk milk pickup tanker and a milk transport tank.  

"Milk tank truck cleaning facility" means any place, 

premise, or establishment, separate from a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station where a bulk milk pickup 
tanker or milk transport tank is cleaned and sanitized.  

"Milk transport tank" means a vehicle, including the truck 

and tank, used by a bulk milk hauler to transport bulk 

shipments of milk, milk product, or dairy product from a milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station to another milk 
plant, receiving station, or transfer station.  

"Official laboratory" means a facility where biological, 

chemical, or physical testing is performed that is operated or 
approved by the state regulatory authority.  

"Official milk sample" means each sample of milk, milk 

product, or dairy product that is collected for compliance with 

requirements of this chapter by a person who holds a permit 

to collect milk, milk product, or dairy product samples issued 
by the state regulatory authority agency. 

"Other mammals" means any mammal except humans, 
cows, goats, sheep, or water buffalo.  

"Pay purpose laboratory" means a laboratory that conducts 

tests for the purpose of determining the composition of milk, 

milk product, cream, or dairy product as a basis for payment 
in buying or selling any milk, milk product, cream, or dairy 
product.  

"Permit" means the written document issued by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to a 

person qualified to (i) be a bulk milk hauler, bulk milk 

sampler, contract hauler, subcontract hauler, dairy plant 

sampler, or pay purpose tester or (ii) operate a pay purpose 
laboratory, bulk milk pickup tanker, or milk transport tank.  

"Person" means any individual, plant operator, partnership, 

corporation, company, firm, trustee, institution, or 
association.  

"Raw" means unpasteurized.  

"Receiving station" means any place, premises, or 

establishment where any milk, milk product, or dairy product 

is received, collected, handled, stored or cooled, and prepared 
for further transporting.  

"Revoke" means to permanently annul, repeal, rescind, 

countermand, or abrogate the opportunity for any person or 

persons to hold a permit issued by the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"State regulatory authority" agency" means the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the 

agency having jurisdiction and control over the matters 
embraced within this chapter.  

"Summarily suspend" means the immediate suspension of a 

permit issued by the state regulatory authority agency without 

the permit holder being granted the opportunity to contest the 
action prior to the effective date and time of the suspension.  

"Suspend" means to temporarily nullify, void, debar, or 

cease for a period of time a permit issued by the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  

"Transfer station" means any place, premises, or 

establishment where milk, dairy products, or milk products 

are transferred directly from one milk transport tank to 

another, or from one or more bulk milk pickup tankers to one 
or more milk transport tanks.  

"Transport-commingled milk" means any raw milk, milk 

product, or dairy product that has been removed from one or 

more bulk milk pickup tankers or any silo, vat, or container in 
a milk plant and loaded into a milk transport tank.  

"Transport tank operator" means any person who hauls 
transport-commingled milk.  

"3-A Sanitary Standards" means the standards for dairy 

equipment and accepted practices formulated by the 3-A 

Sanitary Standards Committees representing the International 

Association for Food Protection, the U.S. Public Health 

Service, and the Dairy Industry Committee and published by 
the International Association for Food Protection.  

2VAC5-501-20. Intent, scope, and interpretation. 

(Repealed.)  

A. The Virginia Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services hereby finds that a uniform regulation is needed to 

govern the cooling or storage of milk on Virginia dairy farms; 

the sampling of milk in storage and the handling of milk 

samples from the dairy farm to the laboratory; the hauling, 

transferring, storage, handling, and delivery of milk from the 

farm to the processing plant; the hauling, transferring, 
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handling, and delivery of milk, milk products, and dairy 

products between one milk plant and another; and the 

handling and testing of milk, milk product, and dairy product 

samples in laboratories if the test results will be used as a 

basis for payment. This chapter shall be applicable throughout 

the Commonwealth, shall be enforced on a statewide basis, 

and shall regulate all milk, milk products, and dairy products 

produced on Virginia dairy farms or moved between milk 
plants.  

B. Unless otherwise provided by state law or regulations of 

the Virginia Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 

this chapter shall be interpreted and enforced by the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. In the 

interest of the consumer and to facilitate the orderly 

marketing of milk, the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services may establish, publish, and enforce 
interpretations of this chapter.  

C. This chapter defines milk cooling or storage tanks, pay 

purpose laboratories, dairy farms, plants, etc.; sets forth 
permit requirements, milkhouse and associated facilities 

required; construction, location and operation of milk cooling 

or storage tanks; establishes minimum cooling and storage 

requirements for milk on the farm and in transport; sampling 

and measuring of milk produced and sold from dairy farms; 

and facilities and operations required in hauling milk from the 
farm to the processing plant.  

2VAC5-501-30. Permits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia agency to: (i) operate a bulk milk 

pickup tanker; (ii) sample, measure, and collect milk from 
farm bulk milk cooling or holding tanks; (iii) sample, 

measure, or receive milk in cans or containers into any milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station; (iv) possess or 

transport official milk samples; (v) collect official milk 

samples from bulk milk pickup tankers or milk transport 

tanks; or (vi) collect official milk samples of pasteurized milk 

or pasteurized milk products from a milk plant. Each person 

shall pass a test as prescribed by the state regulatory authority 

agency. Qualifications of such persons shall be those set forth 

by laws, regulations, and procedures prescribed by the state 

regulatory authority agency. All such permits shall expire on 
December 31 next following the date of issuance. All such 

permits shall be renewed without further examination if the 

permit holder renews his permit within one year after the 

permit's expiration date. No permit to operate a bulk milk 

pickup tanker to sample, measure, and collect milk from farm 

bulk milk cooling or holding tanks shall be renewed without 

the applicant satisfactorily passing a test as prescribed by the 

state regulatory authority agency if the applicant did not 

renew his permit within one year after it expired. Each bulk 

milk sampler shall be evaluated by the state regulatory 

authority agency at least once during the first year after his 

the bulk milk sampler's permit is issued and a minimum of 

once every two years 18 months thereafter as a condition of 

permit renewal. It shall be the responsibility of each bulk 

milk sampler to ensure he the bulk milk sampler is available 

to be evaluated by the state regulatory authority agency and to 

contact the state regulatory agency if the bulk milk sampler 

has not been evaluated within the 18 months following the 
last evaluation. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia agency to operate a milk tank 

truck cleaning facility. Each milk tank truck cleaning facility 

shall be inspected and determined to be in compliance with 

all requirements of this chapter by the state regulatory 

authority agency prior to permit issuance. All such permits 

shall expire on December 31 next following the date of 
issuance. 

C. Each contract hauler and subcontract hauler shall obtain a 

permit from the state regulatory authority agency in order to 
contract for the hauling of milk from a dairy farm to a milk 

plant or transfer station. Each contract hauler and subcontract 

hauler shall also obtain a permit from the state regulatory 

authority agency for each bulk milk pickup tanker and each 

milk transport tank they operate. Each bulk milk pickup 

tanker and each transport tank shall be identified by a five-

digit number preceded by the letters "VA". The first two 

digits of the five-digit number shall identify the contract 

hauler or subcontract hauler as assigned by the state 

regulatory authority agency and the last three digits of the 

five-digit number shall identify the specific bulk milk pickup 

tanker or transport tank as assigned by the state regulatory 
authority agency. Each contract hauler and subcontract hauler 

shall identify each bulk milk pickup tanker and transport tank 

on the left hand side of the rear bulkhead of each tank with 

permanent, water resistant letters and numbers. Each contract 

hauler and subcontract hauler shall use only letters and 

numbers to identify a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank that are at least three inches tall and one-and-

one-half inches wide. Each contract hauler and subcontract 

hauler shall provide the state regulatory authority agency with 

the name of the manufacturer, year made, model number, 

capacity, serial number, number of compartments, whether 
the tanker is a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank, 

delivery address, mailing address, telephone, and contact 

information for each bulk milk pickup tanker and milk 

transport tank for permitting purposes. Permits for contract 

haulers, subcontract haulers, bulk milk pickup tankers, and 

milk transport tanks shall expire on December 31 next 
following the date of issuance and shall be renewed annually. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a permit from the state regulatory authority of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia agency to operate a pay purpose 

laboratory or to test milk for pay purposes. Each person 

employed by a pay purpose laboratory who is involved in 
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testing milk for pay purposes shall pass a test as prescribed by 

the state regulatory authority agency. Qualifications of such 

persons shall be those set forth by laws, regulations, and 

procedures prescribed by the state regulatory authority 

agency. All such permits shall expire on December 31 next 

following the date of issuance and shall be renewed annually. 

All such permits shall be renewed without further 

examination if the permit holder renews within one year after 
the permit's expiration date. 

E. Only a person who complies with this chapter shall be 

entitled to receive and retain such a permit. Permits or 

identification numbers shall not be transferable with respect 
to persons, equipment, or locations. 

F. The state regulatory authority agency may cancel, 

suspend, or revoke the permit of any person, or may deny to 
any person a permit if: 

1. It has reason to believe that a public health hazard exists; 

2. The permit holder fails to engage daily in the business 

for which the permit was issued; 

3. The permit holder was not evaluated by the state 
regulatory authority agency if required for permit renewal; 

4. The permit holder fails to comply with any requirement 

of this chapter, or of §§ 3.2-5200 through 3.2-5210 or 3.2-
5218 through 3.2-5233 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. The permit holder has interfered with the state 

regulatory authority agency in the performance of its 
duties; 

6. The person supplies false or misleading information to 

the state regulatory authority agency: (i) in the person's 

application for a permit; (ii) concerning the identity of the 

person who will control the business or equipment that is 
the subject of the permit; (iii) concerning the amount of 

milk, milk product, or dairy product that the person 

weighs, samples, tests, or transports; (iv) concerning the 

distribution of the person's milk, milk product, or dairy 

product; (v) concerning any investigation conducted by the 

state regulatory authority agency; or (vi) concerning the 

location of any part of the person's operation or equipment 
that is subject to a permit; 

7. The permit holder engages in fraudulent activity 

regarding: (i) the amount of milk, milk product, or dairy 

product the person weighs, samples, tests, or transports; (ii) 
the collection of samples used to determine compliance 

with any provision of 2VAC5-490, 2VAC5-530, or this 

chapter; or (iii) the collection or testing of samples used for 
pay purposes; 

8. The permit holder fails to correct any deficiency that the 

state regulatory authority agency has cited in a written 

notice of intent to suspend the person's permit, as a 
violation of this chapter; or 

9. The authority agency in another state responsible for 

issuing permits to contract haulers, subcontract haulers, 

bulk milk haulers, bulk milk samplers, dairy plant 

samplers, transporters of official samples, pay purpose 

laboratories, or testers of milk samples for pay purposes 

has suspended, or revoked the permit of the person in that 

state for any act or omission that would violate this chapter 

or the statutes under which this chapter was adopted, had 
the act or omission occurred in the Commonwealth. 

G. The state regulatory authority agency may summarily 

suspend the permit of any person for violation of subdivisions 
subdivision F 1 or F 8 of this section. 

H. Each bulk milk sampler and bulk milk hauler shall ensure 

that one complete set of milk samples representing each of 

the milk pickups on each load of farm pickup milk in his 

possession shall accompany the load to its destination. No 

person may remove the last complete set of milk samples 

from a bulk milk pickup tanker prior to its delivery to a milk 
plant, receiving station, or transfer station. 

I. Each person who holds a permit to produce milk shall 

store a minimum of the past 30 days bulk milk pickup tickets 

in his milkroom for use by the state regulatory authority if he 

ships his milk by bulk shipment. J. Each person who operates 

a dairy farm shall abstain from selling any milk from his 

dairy farm after his milk tests positive for excessive drug 

residues until notified by the state regulatory authority agency 

that a followup official milk sample taken from his milk 
supply tested negative for excessive drug residues.  

K. J. To provide for permitting reciprocity between states, 

the state regulatory authority agency may issue a Virginia 

permit to any bulk milk hauler or bulk milk sampler who 
holds a valid permit issued by the regulatory authority agency 

in another state without that person having to take or pass a 

test in Virginia if the person will be picking up or sampling 
milk in Virginia.  

L. K. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall use only a 

farm bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tanker for 

direct loading and storage of milk on his dairy farm if: (i) the 

milk tank truck is equipped with a means to collect 

representative milk samples approved by the state regulatory 

authority agency at his dairy farm; (ii) the milk tank truck is 

always delivered to the same milk plant in Virginia where a 
representative milk sample may be obtained by the state 

regulatory authority agency or (iii) the operator of the dairy 

farm arranges for official milk samples to be collected and 

delivered to a laboratory operated by the state regulatory 
authority agency. 

M. L. Each bulk milk hauler, bulk milk sampler, contract 

hauler, and subcontract hauler who transports any pasteurized 

milk, pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 

pasteurized frozen dessert mix shall use only a milk tank 

truck that is dedicated solely to transport or hold pasteurized 
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milk, pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 

pasteurized frozen dessert mix if the pasteurized milk, 

pasteurized milk product, pasteurized dairy product, or 

pasteurized frozen dessert mix will not be repasteurized in the 

milk plant receiving the pasteurized milk, pasteurized milk 

product, pasteurized dairy product, or pasteurized frozen 
dessert mix prior to being packaged for sale. 

2VAC5-501-40. Milkhouse or milkroom; construction and 

facilities.  

Each person who operates a dairy farm shall:  

1. Provide a milkhouse or milkroom of sufficient size in 

which the cooling, handling, and storing of milk and the 

washing, sanitizing, and storing of milk containers and 
utensils shall be conducted;  

2. Provide (i) incandescent lighting fixtures of 100 watts or 

more capacity; or (ii) fluorescence lighting fixtures of 40 

watts or more capacity in his milkhouse or milkroom; and 

(iii) adequate lighting fixtures that produce at least 20 foot-

candles of light and are located near, but not directly 
above, any farm bulk milk tank if one is installed;  

3. Provide sufficient light in the milkhouse or milkroom to 

illuminate the interior of each farm bulk milk tank installed 

on the dairy farm for inspection purposes. The person's 

lighting fixture for illuminating the interior of each farm 

bulk milk tank shall be either permanently installed or 
portable and battery operated;  

4. Provide ventilation in his milkhouse or milkroom 

sufficient to prevent condensation from forming on the 

milkhouse ceiling or walls. No person who operates a dairy 

farm shall install vents in a milkhouse ceiling if the vents 

are located directly above any part of a farm bulk milk 
tank, wash vat, hand basin, equipment storage rack or floor 

drain. Each person who operates a dairy farm shall install 

only vents in a milkhouse ceiling that comply with the 
following:  

a. Each vent shall be constructed to form a solid chimney 

between the milkhouse ceiling and the roof of the 

building so that there are no openings for dust, insects, 

birds, or other debris to enter the chimney and fall into 
the milkhouse or milkroom;  

b. Each vent shall be screened at the top of the chimney 

after it exits the roof to prevent the entrance of insects 
and birds; and  

c. Each vent shall be capped with a rainproof covering to 

prevent water and snow from falling down into the 
milkhouse or milkroom;  

5. Not install a forced air heating or cooling vent directly 

over any farm bulk milk tank, wash vat, equipment storage 
rack, or hand basin;  

6. Provide in his milkhouse or milkroom a water hose that 
complies with the following requirements:  

a. The water hose shall be of sufficient length to reach all 
parts of the milkhouse;  

b. The water hose shall be connected to a permanently 

mounted water valve; and  

c. The water hose shall be equipped with facilities for 

storing the water hose above the floor;  

7. Provide in his milkhouse or milkroom a separate, 

permanently installed hand-washing facility with hot and 

cold running water under pressure supplied through a mix 
valve, soap, and single service paper towels;  

8. Provide only potable water under pressure in his 

milkhouse from a public or private supply properly 
developed, constructed, and maintained;  

9. Store in his milk house or milk room the weighing and 

sampling receipt from each milk pickup for a minimum of 

the past 60 days if his milk is picked up by a bulk milk 

hauler; and Maintain all records in compliance with 
Appendix H of the "Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance, 2017 Revision"; and 

10. Sell his milk production only to a person who holds a 

milk plant permit issued permitted to process or 

manufacture milk or milk products by the state regulatory 

authority of Virginia agency or a regulatory agency of 
another state.  

2VAC5-501-50. Cooling temperature and storage 

standards for milk stored on a dairy farm.  

A. Each person that operates a dairy farm shall cool raw 

milk to 40°F or cooler, but not frozen, within two hours after 

milking and the temperature at any time thereafter shall not 
be warmer than 50°F. Raw milk that is warmer than a 

temperature of 50°F two hours after the first milking or at any 

time thereafter shall be deemed a public health hazard and 

shall not be utilized in any milk, milk product, or dairy 
product, offered for sale, or sold.  

B. No person that operates a dairy farm and holds a grade 

"A" dairy farm permit shall sell or offer to sell any milk as 

grade "A" milk if the age of the milk is older than 72 hours 
after the completion of the first milking.  

C. B. No person that operates a dairy farm and holds a 

permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall sell, 
offer to sell, or process any milk for manufacturing purposes 

if the age of the milk is older than 76 hours after the 

completion of the first milking. Raw milk for manufacturing 

purposes older than 76 hours shall be deemed to be a public 
health hazard.  
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2VAC5-501-60. Construction and operation of farm bulk 

milk cooling or holding tanks, recording thermometers, 

interval timing devices, and other required milkhouse or 

milkroom facilities.  

A. Each person that operates a dairy farm and installs one or 

more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in the milkhouse 
shall provide the following facilities:  

1. A milk hose port opening no larger than eight inches in 

diameter through a wall in the milkhouse closest to the area 

the bulk milk pickup tanker will be parked to receive the 

milk from each farm bulk cooling or holding tank. The 
hose port shall be:  

a. Provided with a self-closing door that shall open to the 
outside; and 

b. Of sufficient height above the milkhouse floor and the 

outside apron to prevent flooding or draining of the 
milkhouse; 

2. An outside apron constructed of concrete or other 

equally impervious material shall be provided on the 
outside of the milkhouse directly beneath the hose port to 

protect the milk-conducting equipment from 
contamination,; and:  

a. If constructed of concrete, each outside apron shall be 

a minimum of four inches thick and measure a minimum 
of two feet by two feet horizontally; or 

b. If constructed of a material other than concrete, each 

outside apron shall measure a minimum of two feet by 
two feet horizontally; 

3. A 220-volt grounded weatherproof electrical outlet 

installed on the outside of the milkroom or milkhouse near 

the hoseport for the bulk milk hauler's use to power the 
milk pump on the bulk milk pickup tanker; and  

4. A switch to control the electrical power to the 220-volt 

grounded weatherproof electrical outlet located on the 

inside of the milkroom or milkhouse near the outlet to the 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

B. Each person that operates a dairy farm and installs one or 

more farm bulk cooling or holding tanks in the milkhouse or 
milkroom shall comply with the following requirements:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall comply 

with all the requirements contained in:  

a. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and 

Holding Tanks, Document No. 13-11 (July 2012); or  

b. 3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 
Document No. 30-01 (Sept. 1984); 30-02 (July 2018); 

2. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 

equipped with an indicating thermometer accurate to plus 

or minus 2.0°F and capable of registering the temperature 

of the milk in the tank before it reaches 10% 20% of the 
tank's volume;  

3. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be installed 

to comply with the following minimum clearance distances 

around, above, and below each farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank:  

a. Three feet measured horizontally between a wash vat 

and the outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank;  

b. Three feet measured horizontally in a 180-degree arch 

from the front of the tank where the outlet valve is 
located;  

c. Two feet measured horizontally from the sides and rear 

of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank to any wall, 
shelves, water heater, hand-basin, or other object;  

d. Eighteen inches measured horizontally from the 

outermost portion of any farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank to any floor drain and the floor drain shall not be 
located underneath the tank;  

e. Three feet measured vertically from the top of the 

manhole cover of any farm bulk cooling or holding tank 
to the ceiling;  

f. Eight inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank that measures greater than 72 inches in 
diameter;  

g. Four inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any round farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank that measures equal to or less than 72 inches 
in diameter; and  

h. Six inches measured vertically from the floor 

underneath the bottom of any flat bottom farm bulk 
cooling or holding tank;  

4. Farm bulk cooling or holding tanks installed through a 

milkroom wall shall meet the following minimum 
requirements:  

a. The area between the farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank and the wall shall be tightly sealed;  

b. All vents and openings on the farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank located outside the milkroom shall be 

protected from dust, insects, moisture, and other debris 
which might enter the tank; and 

c. All agitators located outside the milkroom shall be 

equipped with a tightly fitting seal between the bottom of 

the agitator motor and the top of the farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank;  

5. Each person that operates a dairy farm shall ensure that 

each farm bulk cooling or holding tank is installed with a 
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foundation of sufficient strength to support the tank when 
it is full;  

6. Each person that operates a dairy farm shall obtain prior 

approval from the state regulatory authority agency for 

each farm bulk cooling or holding tank and its installation 
before it is installed on the person's dairy farm; and  

7. Each person that operates a dairy farm shall ensure each 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank on the farm is installed, 
gauged, and a volume chart prepared in compliance with 

regulations adopted pursuant to § 3.2-5206 of the Code of 

Virginia. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank and any 

gauge rod, surface gauge, gauge, or gauge tube and 

calibration chart associated with it shall be identified by 
serial number in a prominent manner.  

C. Each person that holds a grade "A" dairy farm permit and 

installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall comply with 
the following:  

1. Each farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall be 

equipped with a recording thermometer;  

2. Each recording thermometer shall be installed to comply 
with the following:  

a. Each recording thermometer shall be installed in the 
milkhouse;  

b. No recording thermometer may be installed on or 
attached to a farm bulk cooling or holding tank;  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be installed (i) on an 

inside wall of the milkhouse, (ii) on an outside wall of 

the milkhouse or milkroom if installed with one inch of 

rigid insulation between the back of the recording 

thermometer and the surface of the outside wall, or (iii) 
on metal brackets from the ceiling or floor; and 

d. Each recording thermometer sensor shall be installed 

on the farm bulk cooling or holding tank to record the 

temperature of the milk in the tank before the milk 
reaches 10% 20% of the tank's volume;  

3. Each recording thermometer installed on a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank shall comply with the following 
minimum requirements:  

a. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 

moisture proof under milkhouse conditions;  

b. The case for each recording thermometer shall be UL 

rated NEMA 4X enclosure or equivalent as provided in 
ANSI/NEMA 250, Enclosures for Electrical Equipment 
(1000 Volts Maximum) dated December 29, 2014;  

c. The case for each recording thermometer shall be 

equipped with a corrosion-resistant latching mechanism 
that keeps the recording thermometer tightly closed;  

d. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 

shall not exceed a maximum chart rotation time of 168 

hours (seven days). Recorder charts for farm bulk 

cooling or holding tanks that are picked up every other 

day shall have a chart rotation time of 48 hours. Recorder 

charts for farm bulk cooling or holding tanks that are 

picked up every day may have a chart rotation time of 24 
or 48 hours;  

e. The recorder chart for each recording thermometer 
shall be marked with water resistant ink;  

f. The scale on the recording chart shall cover a 

minimum of 30°F to 180°F, with the scale reversed to 

show cold temperatures at the outside of the chart for 
best resolution;  

g. Each division on the recording chart shall represent a 

maximum of 1.0°F between 30°F and 60°F, with two 
degree divisions between 60°F and 180°F;  

h. Spacing of divisions on the recorder chart shall be a 

minimum of 0.040 inches per 2.0°F, with the ink line 
easily distinguishable from the printed line;  

i. The recording thermometer speed of response or 

sensing of temperature shall be a maximum of 20 
seconds;  

j. The recording thermometer shall be accurate to plus or 
minus 2.0°F;  

k. The sensor for each recording thermometer shall be (i) 

a resistance temperature detector (RTD) type sensor, (ii) 

constructed of stainless steel type 304 or type 316 on all 

exterior surfaces, (iii) hermetically sealed, (iv) accurate 
to 0.3°C, and (v) continuous run wire;  

l. Each recording thermometer and sensor shall be 

calibrated and supplied as a package;  

m. No capillary system containing any toxic gas or liquid 

shall be allowed to come into direct contact with any 
milk or milk product;  

n. Other recording devices may be accepted by the state 

regulatory authority agency if they comply with the 

requirements of subdivisions 3 a through m of this 
subsection;  

o. If a strip chart style recorder is used, it shall move not 

less than one inch per hour and may be continuous for a 
maximum of 30 days; and  

p. Recording thermometers may be manually wound or 
electrically operated;  

4. Each recording thermometer installed on a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank shall comply with the following 
minimum operating requirements:  
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a. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 

means to seal the calibration and zeroing mechanism to 

provide evidence of unauthorized adjustment or 
tampering;  

b. Each recording thermometer shall be provided with a 

pin in the hub to prevent the recording chart from being 
rotated; and  

c. Each recording thermometer shall be properly 

grounded and short circuit protected;  

5. Each person that operates a dairy farm and installs a 

recording thermometer on the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank shall maintain a minimum of a 30-day supply of 

unused recorder charts designed for the specific recording 

thermometer installed and shall maintain a minimum of the 

past 60 days six months of used charts for purposes of 
inspection; and 

6. Each person that operates a dairy farm and installs a 

recording thermometer on the farm bulk cooling or holding 

tank shall provide a moisture proof storage container in the 
milkhouse or milkroom for purpose of storing a supply of 

new charts and a minimum of the past 60 days of used 
charts.  

D. No person may remove from the dairy farm any recorder 

chart that has been used once and removed from the recorder 

within the past 60 days unless he has obtained permission 

from the state regulatory authority agency. All recorder charts 

removed from any dairy farm by any person other than a 

representative of the state regulatory authority agency shall be 

returned to the dairy farm within 10 days. All recorder charts 
shall be available to the state regulatory authority agency.  

E. Each bulk milk hauler shall comply with the following 

requirements when picking up milk from a dairy farm if the 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank is equipped with a 
recording thermometer:  

1. Each milk hauler, in making a milk pickup, shall 

properly agitate the milk and remove the chart from the 
recorder;  

2. Each milk hauler shall record the following information 
on each chart removed from the recorder:  

a. The date and time of pickup; and  

b. The signature of the milk hauler;  

3. Each milk hauler shall store the used chart in the storage 

container supplied by the dairy farmer;  

4. Each milk hauler shall obtain a new chart from the 

supply provided by the dairy farmer and record the 
following information in the chart:  

a. The date; and  

b. The patron number of the dairy farmer;  

5. If a recorder chart is used for more than one pickup, 

each milk hauler shall identify each lot of milk on the chart 
with the date, time of pickup, and his signature; and 

6. Before removing any milk from the farm tank, each milk 

hauler shall check the recorder chart. If the recorder chart 

indicates that the milk temperature has varied in a manner 

that would preclude acceptance, he shall immediately 

notify his superior and the dairy farmer. If the milk is 
rejected, each milk hauler shall record this information on 

the chart. If the milk is picked up, each milk hauler shall 
sign the chart and record the date and time of pickup.  

F. Each person that operates a dairy farm and holds a grade 

"A" dairy farm permit shall be responsible for maintaining 

each of the recording thermometers in good repair and 

adjustment to include calibrating the recording thermometer 

to read accurately within plus or minus 2.0°F of the actual 
milk temperature in the farm bulk cooling or holding tank.  

G. Each recording thermometer installed on a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank shall be inspected and may be sealed 
by the state regulatory authority agency after it has been 
shown to be properly installed and calibrated.  

H. Each person that holds a grade "A" dairy farm permit and 
installs a farm bulk cooling or holding tank shall:  

1. Install on each farm bulk cooling or holding tank an 

interval timing device that automatically agitates the milk 

in the farm bulk tank for not less than five minutes every 

hour during the entire time milk is being cooled or stored 
in the tank;  

2. Not install a manual switch capable of turning off the 

interval timing device on any farm bulk milk cooling or 
holding tank while any milk is being cooled or stored; and  

3. Maintain in good repair and operating condition each 

interval timing device installed on the farm bulk cooling or 
holding tank.  

2VAC5-501-70. Measuring, sampling, and testing.  

A. Each person who determines the quantity of milk in any 

lot of milk being picked up on any dairy farm in Virginia 
shall comply with one of the following:  

1. If the milk is being picked up from a farm bulk cooling 

or holding tank, the person shall use only a measuring rod, 

gauge, or gauge tube accurately calibrated to the individual 

farm bulk cooling or holding tank and the accompanying 
calibration chart with a serial number that matches the 

serial number for the specific farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank for which it was prepared;  

2. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank, the person shall determine the 

quantity of milk at the point of delivery to the milk plant 

processing the milk by commingling all of the milk in a 

vessel equipped with a gauge rod, surface gauge, gauge, or 
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gauge tube and a volume chart that has been prepared in 
compliance with § 3.2-5620 of the Code of Virginia;  

3. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 

milk will be based solely on the volume of milk in gallons, 

the person shall determine the quantity of milk by adding 

the volume in gallons of each separate full container and 

the volume in gallons of any milk in containers that are not 
full; or  

4. If the milk being picked up is not stored in a farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank and the basis for payment for the 

milk will be based solely on the pounds of milk delivered, 

the person shall determine the quantity of milk in pounds 

by weighing each of the containers of milk on a 

commercial scale before and after they have been emptied 

and subtracting the weight of the empty containers from 

the total weight of the containers and the milk, the 
difference being the weight in pounds of milk.  

B. Each person who desires to convert a volumetric 

measurement of milk to weight in pounds of milk shall 
multiply the volume of milk in gallons by 8.60.  

C. Each person that operates a dairy farm and transports any 

milk in cans or other containers from the dairy farm to a milk 

plant and intends to determine the basis for payment of the 

milk based solely on its volume in gallons or solely on its 

weight in pounds, shall ensure the cans or other containers 
comply with the following:  

1. Each container shall be provided with a visual means to 

measure the volume of milk in the container in divisions of 

one or more whole gallons up to the total capacity of the 
container;  

2. Each container shall be equipped with a tightly fitting lid 
that prevents any milk from leaking out around the closure;  

3. Each container shall be manufactured from stainless 
steel, food grade plastic, or tinned metal;  

4. No container shall be manufactured from glass or other 
easily breakable material;  

5. Each container shall be smooth and easily cleanable; and  

6. Each container shall be equipped with an opening large 

enough to allow the container to be washed by hand if it is 

intended to be washed by hand or washed by mechanical 
means if it is intended to be washed by mechanical means.  

D. Each person that operates a pay purpose laboratory shall:  

1. Provide a separate room of sufficient size in which pay 
purpose testing shall be conducted;  

2. Provide lighting of at least 20 foot-candles when 

measured at work bench levels and at all other work areas 
used to conduct testing;  

3. Provide adequate ventilation sufficient to prevent 

condensation from forming and to prevent noxious or 

hazardous chemical fumes from collecting in the 
laboratory;  

4. Provide heating and cooling equipment sufficient to 

maintain a constant room temperature of 70°F plus or 
minus 2.0°F in his laboratory at all times;  

5. Provide a separate permanently installed hand-washing 

facility with hot and cold running water under pressure 

supplied through a mix valve, soap, and single service 
paper towels;  

6. Provide only potable water under pressure in the 
laboratory;  

7. Provide walls that are constructed of impervious 

material with a light-colored material and that are easily 
cleanable;  

8. Provide floors made of concrete or other equally 

impervious material that are easily cleanable;  

9. Provide toilet facilities for employees;  

10. Use only methods and equipment approved by the state 

regulatory authority agency to test milk for protein, solids, 
solids not fat, and fat;  

11. Construct the facility to ensure that the laboratory 

environment has a stable electrical supply, stable water 

supply, stable heating and cooling, and stable ventilation to 

allow a constantly controllable environment for pay 

purpose testing procedures and pay purpose equipment; 
and  

12. Dispose of all liquid, solid, and gaseous wastes in a 

manner that complies with state and federal requirements 
for waste disposal.  

E. Each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Collect at least two representative samples from each 

bulk milk cooling or holding tank each time that milk is 

picked up from the dairy farm for use as official milk 
samples;  

2. Collect a minimum of four ounces of milk for each 
official milk sample collected;  

3. Maintain custody of all official milk samples collected 

or transfer custody of all official milk samples collected to 

another permitted bulk milk hauler, bulk milk sampler, or 

at the discretion of the state regulatory agency, lock all 
official milk samples in a suitable container in which they 
may be transported or stored;  

4. Pick up all of the milk in each farm bulk cooling or 

holding tank each time that milk is picked up from the 
farm bulk cooling or holding tank; and  

5. Pick up only milk that is 45°F or cooler, but not frozen.  
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F. Each person who desires to determine the butterfat 

content of milk as a basis for payment shall either select from 

each dairy farm supplying them with milk a minimum of four 

milk samples taken at irregular intervals each month and 

utilize only laboratory butterfat test results from milk samples 

that have been tested within 48 hours of collection for pay 
purposes or:  

1. Collect a representative sample from each shipment of 

each producer supplying them with milk for a maximum of 

16 days, if composite milk samples are used to determine 
butterfat content;  

2. Store composite milk samples only in an approved milk 
laboratory that will perform the butterfat test;  

3. Preserve all composite milk samples with an appropriate 

preservative designed to prevent the spoilage of milk and 
that will not affect the butterfat test; and  

4. Test each composite milk sample within three days 

following the end of the number of days used to create the 
composite milk sample.  

2VAC5-501-80. Farm bulk milk pickup tanker and milk 

transport tank requirements. 

A. Each contract hauler or subcontract hauler shall: 

1. Use only a farm bulk milk pickup tanker or a milk 

transport tank that complies with all the requirements 

contained in 3-A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel 

Automotive Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and 

Farm Pick-Up Service, Number 05-15 (effective 

November 24, 2002), (3-A Sanitary Standards, 
Incorporated) and that are maintained in good repair; 

2. Ensure that all appurtenances of each farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker or each milk transport tank including any 
hoses, pumps, and fittings comply with all the 

requirements contained in 3-A Sanitary Standards for 

Stainless Steel Automotive Transportation Tanks for Bulk 

Delivery and Farm Pick-Up Service, Number 05-15 

(effective as of November 24, 2002), (3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated) for construction and are 
maintained in good repair; 

3. Provide sample racks for holding all milk samples 

collected in the sample cooler; 

4. Provide a sample dipper or other sampling device of 

sanitary design that is maintained clean and in good repair; 

5. Provide milk sample storage coolers that have sufficient 

insulation to maintain proper milk temperatures under all 
conditions throughout the year; 

6. Provide only sterile sample bags, tubes, or bottles, 
properly stored to prevent contamination;  

7. Provide a calibrated pocket thermometer certified as 

accurate within plus or minus 2.0°F to each bulk milk 

hauler in his employ and ensure the pocket thermometer is 
recertified a minimum of each six months thereafter;  

8. Provide a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

approved and registered sanitizer for the sample dipper 
container;  

9. Provide a suitable sanitizer test kit to each bulk milk 

hauler in his employ for use in checking the strength of 
sanitizing solutions;  

10. Ensure that each appurtenance requiring flexibility for 

the milk transfer system to operate properly is free 

draining, supported to maintain a uniform slope and 

alignment, and easily disassembled and accessible for 
inspection without the use of tools;  

11. Ensure that each farm bulk milk pickup tanker or a 

milk transport tank and their appurtenances are cleaned and 

sanitized prior to being used the first time, after each use 

thereafter, and each time 72 hours has elapsed since the 
last cleaning and sanitizing treatment;  

12. Ensure that multiple milk pickups from dairy farms 

occur during a 24-hour period without washing and 

sanitizing the farm bulk milk pickup tanker only if a 

maximum of two hours elapses between the time of the last 
delivery and start of the next milk pickup;  

13. Pick up any milk in a farm bulk milk pickup tanker or 

milk transport tank only if there exists a wash and sanitize 

record for the farm bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank documenting that the tank has been washed 
and sanitized within the past 72 hours;  

14. Install and use clamps on each milk pickup hose that 

are easily dismantled by hand without the use of tools;  

15. Identify and maintain each farm bulk milk pickup 

tanker or milk transport tank with the identification 

numbers and letters assigned to each farm bulk milk 

pickup tanker or milk transport tank by the state regulatory 

agency. The identification shall be affixed to the left rear 
bulkhead of the tanker;  

16. Provide a suitable enclosure in the rear milk hose or 

sample compartment of each farm bulk milk pickup tanker 

for storing inspection sheets capable of protecting the 

inspection sheets from excessive moisture, dust, soil, or 

light that might damage or render the inspection sheets 

illegible and so they will be available to any state or 
federal regulatory agent wherever the farm bulk milk 
pickup tanker might deliver;  

17. Provide a suitable enclosure located within three feet of 

the tank outlet valve or located on top of one of the rear 

wheel fenders for each milk transport tank for storing 

inspection sheets capable of protecting the inspection 

sheets from excessive moisture, dust, soil, or light that 

might damage or render the inspection sheets illegible and 
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so they will be available to any state or federal regulatory 
agent wherever the milk transport tank might deliver;  

18. Completely empty the farm bulk cooling or holding 
tank each time that milk is picked up;  

19. Store the three most recent inspection reports for each 

farm bulk milk pickup tanker or transport tank in the 

protected enclosure provided on each farm bulk milk 
pickup tanker or transport tank at all times; and  

20. Provide a means to lock or seal each opening into a 

bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank for security 
purposes.  

B. A. When picking up and transporting any milk in a bulk 
milk pickup tanker, each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Practice good hygiene, maintain a neat and clean 

appearance, and abstain from using tobacco products in 
any milkhouse;  

2. Conduct all pickup and handling practices to prevent 

contamination of any milk contact surface;  

3. Pass the milk transfer hose through the hose port and 

remove the cap from the transfer milk hose and set it where 

it will not become contaminated and then attach the 
transfer milk hose to the tank outlet valve;  

4. Wash his hands thoroughly and dry his hands with a 

clean single-service towel or electric forced air hand dryer 

immediately prior to measuring or sampling the milk in the 
tank;  

5. Examine the milk in the tank by sight and smell for any 

off odor or any other abnormalities that would render the 
milk unacceptable and reject the milk if necessary;  

6. Record the milk producer's name, milk producer's 

identification number, the date and time of pickup, the 
temperature of the milk, the measuring rod reading, the 

poundage, the name of the purchasing organization, and 

the signature of the bulk milk hauler on the producer's 
weight ticket;  

7. Check the temperature of the milk in each farm bulk 

cooling or holding tank at least once a month with an 

accurately calibrated pocket thermometer after it has been 
properly sanitized;  

8. Turn off the milk tank agitator if it is running when he 

arrives at the milkhouse or milkroom and allow the surface 
of the milk to become quiescent;  

9. Carefully insert the measuring rod, after it has been 

wiped dry with a single-service towel, into the tank and 

then read the measurement. Each bulk milk hauler shall 

repeat this procedure until two identical measurements are 

obtained and then shall record the measurement on the 
weight ticket;  

10. Agitate the milk in each tank holding 2,000 gallons or 

less of milk a minimum of five minutes before collecting 
any milk sample;  

11. Agitate the milk in each tank holding more than 2,000 

gallons of milk a minimum of 10 minutes before collecting 
any milk sample;  

12. While the tank is being agitated, bring the sample 

container, dipper, dipper container, and sanitizing agent, or 
single service sampling tubes into the milkhouse 
aseptically;  

13. While the tank is being agitated, remove the cap from 

the tank outlet valve and examine for milk deposits or 
foreign matter and then sanitize if necessary;  

14. Remove the sample dipper or sampling device from the 

sanitizing solution and rinse it in the milk from the tank at 
least twice before collecting any official milk sample;  

15. Collect two representative samples from each tank after 

the milk has been properly agitated, transferring the milk 

from the sample dipper to the sample container away from 
the tank opening to avoid spilling any milk back into the 
tank, and filling the sample containers only 3/4 full;  

16. Rinse the sample dipper with water until it is free of 
visible milk and replace it in its carrying container;  

17. Close the cover or lid of the bulk tank;  

18. Identify each milk sample with the producer's patron or 
member number and the date of collection;  

19. Collect at the first pickup for each load of milk two 

temperature samples and identify the temperature samples 

with the date, time, temperature of the milk, producer 
number, and name of the bulk milk hauler;  

20. Place each milk sample collected immediately on ice in 

the sample storage cooler;  

21. After collection of milk samples, open the outlet valve 

and start the pump to transfer the milk from the farm tank 
to the bulk milk pickup tanker;  

22. Turn off the agitator once the level of milk in the tank 
has reached the level where over-agitation will occur;  

23. Disconnect and cap the transfer hose after removing it 
from the outlet valve of the tank;  

24. Observe the walls and bottom of the tank for foreign 

matter and extraneous material and record any 
objectionable observations on the weight ticket;  

25. Rinse the entire inside of the tank with warm water 
while the tank outlet valve is open;  

26. Use only sample containers and single-service 

sampling tubes that comply with all the requirements 
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contained in Standard Methods for the Examination of 
Dairy Products, 17th Edition, 2004;  

27. Cool and store all official milk samples to a 
temperature of 40°F or cooler, but not frozen;  

28. Provide sufficient ice and water or other coolant in the 

sample storage cooler to maintain all milk samples at 
proper temperature;  

29. Discard any milk that remains in the external transfer 

system that exceeds 45°F including any milk in pumps, 
hoses, and air elimination equipment or metering systems;  

30. Protect samples from contamination and not bury the 

tops of sample containers in ice or bury sample containers 
above the milk level in the sample containers; and 

31. Keep all producer milk samples that represent the 

commingled milk on the load with the load of milk until 

the load of milk has been received by a milk plant, 

receiving station, or transfer station or if rejected by a milk 

plant, receiving station, or transfer station until the milk 

samples are collected for official laboratory testing to 
determine the disposition of the load of milk; and 32. 

Deliver each bulk milk pickup tanker of commingled milk 

to a milk plant, receiving station, or transfer station within 

24 hours after the last milk pickup on the route for the bulk 
milk pickup tanker.  

C. B. When sampling any milk from a bulk milk pickup 
tanker or transport tanker, the dairy plant sampler shall:  

1. Practice good hygiene, maintain a neat and clean 

appearance, and abstain from using tobacco products in the 
receiving area;  

2. Conduct all sampling and handling practices to prevent 

contamination of any milk contact surface;  

3. Wash his hands thoroughly and dry his hands with a 

clean single-service towel or acceptable air dryer 
immediately prior to sampling the milk in the tank;  

4. Examine the milk in the tank by sight and smell for any 

off odor or any other abnormalities that would classify the 
milk as unacceptable and reject the milk if necessary;  

5. Agitate for a period of time needed to blend the milk in 

each compartment to a homogenous state using odor-free, 

pressurized, filtered air, or electrically driven stirring or 

recirculating equipment that has been properly sanitized 
before sampling or receiving;  

6. Check the temperature of the milk in each compartment 

with a properly sanitized thermometer that has been 

checked against a standardized thermometer at least once 
every six months and certified accurate;  

7. Reject any milk that has a temperature above 45°F;  

8. Bring the sample container, properly constructed sample 

dipper, and sanitizing solution to the tanker aseptically 
after the milk is properly agitated;  

9. Remove the sample dipper or sampling device from the 

sanitizing solution and rinse it in the milk from the tank at 
least twice before collecting any official milk sample;  

10. Collect at least one representative sample from each 

compartment of the tanker, transferring the milk from the 
sample dipper to the sample container away from the tank 

opening to avoid spilling any milk back into the tank, and 
filling the sample container only three quarters full;  

11. Rinse the sample dipper with water until it is free of 

visible milk and replace it in its carrying container or 
storage container;  

12. Close the cover or lid for each compartment of the bulk 
milk tanker;  

13. Identify each milk sample with the tanker number, 

compartment if the tanker is equipped with more than one 
compartment, and the date of collection;  

14. Place each milk sample collected immediately on ice in 

a sample storage cooler or deliver it to the laboratory for 
immediate analysis;  

15. Attach the milk transfer hose to the outlet valve of the 

milk tank truck and open the outlet valve of the milk tank 

truck before starting the pump to transfer the milk from the 

bulk milk pickup tanker to the milk plant storage facility or 
silo only after the collection of official milk samples;  

16. Turn off the agitator once the level of milk in the tank 

has reached the level where over-agitation will occur;  

17. Disconnect and cap the transfer hose after removing it 

from the outlet valve of the tank;  

18. Observe the walls and bottom of the tank for foreign 

matter and extraneous material and record any 
objectionable observations on the plant receiving log;  

19. Rinse the entire inside of the tanker with warm water 

after the tanker has been emptied and the external transfer 

system has been disconnected while the tanker outlet valve 
is open;  

20. Use only sample containers and single-service 

sampling tubes that comply with all the requirements 

contained in Standard Methods for the Examination of 
Dairy Products, 17th Edition, 2004;  

21. Cool and store all official milk samples to a 
temperature of 40°F or cooler, but not frozen;  

22. Provide sufficient ice and water or other coolant in the 

sample storage cooler to maintain all milk samples at 
proper temperature;  
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23. Protect samples from contamination and not bury tops 

of sample containers in ice or bury samples above the milk 
level in the sample containers;  

24. Promptly deliver samples and sample data to the 

laboratory; and  

25. Discard any milk that remains in the external transfer 

system that exceeds 45°F including any milk in pumps, 
hoses, air elimination equipment, or metering systems.  

D. C. Each bulk milk hauler shall:  

1. Ensure each bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport 
tank is properly cleaned and sanitized after unloading;  

2. Ensure a cleaning and sanitizing tag is affixed to the 

outlet valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 
transport tank after it is washed;  

3. Ensure when the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank is next washed, the previous cleaning and 

sanitizing tag is removed and stored at the location where 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank was 
washed; and  

4. Ensure the following information is recorded on the 

wash and sanitize tag before it is attached to the outlet 
valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank:  

a. Identification number of the bulk milk pickup tanker or 
milk transport tank;  

b. Date and time of day the bulk milk pickup tanker or 
milk transport tank was cleaned and sanitized;  

c. Location where the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank was cleaned and sanitized; and  

d. The signature of the person who cleaned and sanitized 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank.  

E. D. Each person that operates a milk plant, receiving 

station, or transfer station and each dairy plant sampler 

responsible for sampling and receiving milk into a milk plant, 
receiving station, or transfer station shall:  

1. Ensure each bulk milk pickup tanker and milk transport 
tank is properly cleaned and sanitized after unloading;  

2. Ensure a cleaning and sanitizing tag is affixed to the 

outlet valve of the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 
transport tank after it is washed;  

3. Ensure when washing a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank, the previous cleaning and sanitizing tag is 

removed and stored at the location where the bulk milk 
pickup tanker or milk transport tank is washed; and  

4. Record the following information on the wash and 

sanitize tag before it is attached to the outlet valve of the 
bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank:  

a. Identification number of the bulk milk pickup tanker or 
milk transport tank;  

b. Date and time of day the bulk milk pickup tanker or 
milk transport tank was cleaned and sanitized;  

c. Location where the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank was cleaned and sanitized; and  

d. The signature of the person who cleaned and sanitized 

the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank.  

F. E. Each bulk milk hauler shall ensure that each shipping 

document or load manifest contains the following information 
for each bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank:  

1. The shipper's name, address, and permit number;  

2. The Interstate Milk Shipper Bulk Tank Unit 

identification number for each Bulk Tank Unit on the load 
of milk or the Interstate Milk Shipper listed Plant Number;  

3. The milk hauler permit number if the milk hauler is not 

an employee of the shipper;  

4. The point of origin of the shipment;  

5. The bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank 

identification number;  

6. The name of the product;  

7. The weight of the product;  

8. The temperature of the product when loaded;  

9. The date of shipment;  

10. The name of the supervising regulatory agency at the 
point of origin of shipment;  

11. A statement as to whether the contents of the load are 

raw, pasteurized, or in the case of cream, lowfat, or skim 
milk whether it has been heat-treated;  

12. The seal number on inlet, outlet, wash connections and 

vents, if applicable; and  

13. The grade of the product.  

G. F. Each contract hauler, subcontract hauler, bulk milk 

hauler, and operator of a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 
transport tank shall: 

1. Ensure the proper protection of all milk and milk 

samples in his custody. Each contract hauler, subcontract 

hauler, bulk milk hauler, and operator of a bulk milk 

pickup tanker or milk transport tank shall seal or lock each 

opening into a bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport 

tank including each manhole lid, vent, wash port, and door 

to the pump housing and sample storage box prior to 
leaving the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk transport tank 
unattended;  
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2. Inspect the condition of the seals and locks placed on 

each opening into the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank upon his return after an absence to determine 
if the seals or locks have been tampered with;  

3. Report immediately to the state regulatory authority 

agency instances of tampering with the seals or locks; and  

4. Hold a valid permit issued by the state regulatory 

authority agency for the collection of milk samples prior to 
collecting or transporting any milk or milk samples. 

H. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions A 4 and 

A 8 of this section, the G. The sample dipper, sample dipper 

container, and approved sanitizer may be provided and stored 

in the milkroom accessible to the contract hauler or 

subcontract hauler by the person operating the dairy farm 

where the contract hauler or subcontract hauler is picking up 
the milk. 

2VAC5-501-90. Sanitation requirements for a milk tank 

truck cleaning facility. (Repealed.) 

Each person that operates a milk tank truck cleaning facility 

shall:  

1. Provide floors constructed of concrete or equally 

impervious material that are easily cleanable, smooth, 

properly sloped, and provided with trapped floor drains 
and kept in good repair;  

2. Provide walls and ceilings with a smooth, washable, 
light-colored surface and kept in good repair;  

3. Provide effective means to prevent the access of flies 

and rodents;  

4. Provide solid doors or glazed windows for each opening 

to the outside and keep the doors and windows closed 
during dusty weather;  

5. Provide lighting of at least 20 foot-candles measured in 
all work areas;  

6. Provide ventilation sufficient to prevent condensation 
and odors;  

7. Provide a toilet room fitted with tightly-fitting self-

closing doors, kept clean and in good repair, well-

ventilated and lighted and that does not open directly into 

any room in which milk or milk products are processed or 

milk product contact-surfaces, utensils and equipment are 
washed;  

8. Dispose of all sewage and other wastes in a sanitary 

manner;  

9. Provide hot and cold running water from a supply that is 

properly located, protected, and operated, and shall be 

easily accessible, adequate, and of a safe and sanitary 
quality;  

10. Provide hand-washing facilities with hot and cold 

running water, soap, and individual sanitary towels or other 

approved hand-drying devices and keep the hand-washing 
facilities clean and in good repair;  

11. Provide and maintain an effective insect and rodent 

control program and shall keep the milk tank truck 
cleaning facility neat and clean;  

12. Provide only sanitary piping, fittings, and connections 

that are constructed to be smooth, impervious, corrosion-

resistant, nontoxic, easily cleanable, and manufactured 
from material that is approved for food contact surfaces;  

13. Provide and use only stainless steel piping complying 

with the Iron and Steel Society's Steel Products Manual: 
Stainless Steels, dated March 1999;  

14. Provide only sanitary piping, fittings, and connections 
that are in good repair and constructed for ease of cleaning;  

15. Provide and use only plastic, rubber, or rubber-like 

materials made from approved food contact-grade 

materials that are relatively inert and resistant to 
scratching, scoring, and damage from cleaning compounds;  

16. Clean and sanitize before each use the product-contact 

surfaces of utensils and equipment used in the 
transportation of any milk or food;  

17. Attach a wash tag to the outlet valve of the tanker 

showing the date, time, place, and signature of the 

employee who washed the bulk milk pickup tanker or milk 

transport tank after the milk tank truck has been cleaned 
and sanitized;  

18. Store and transport all clean and sanitized utensils and 

equipment to assure complete draining and protection from 
contamination before use;  

19. Store all single-service containers, utensils, and 

materials in a sanitary manner in a clean dry place until 
used;  

20. Store, handle, and use poisonous or toxic materials to 

preclude the contamination of any milk product contact-
surfaces of equipment and utensils;  

21. Ensure that employees wash their hands thoroughly 

before commencing cleaning functions and as may be 
required to remove soil and contamination;  

22. Allow an employee to resume work after visiting the 

toilet room only after that employee has thoroughly 
washed his hands;  

23. Ensure that each employee engaged in the handling of 

milk product contact-surfaces, equipment, and utensils 

wears clean outer garments, adequate hair covering, and 
refrains from using any tobacco products; and  
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24. Keep the surroundings of the milk tank truck cleaning 

facility neat, clean, and free from conditions that may 
attract flies, insects, or rodents.  

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (2VAC5-501) 

Application for a Dairy Farm Permit, ODF-DS-100 (rev. 

6/2012) 

Dairy Farm Inspection Report, ODF-DS-102 (rev. 2/2006) 

Guide for the Submission of Plans for Milking Operations, 
ODF-DS-104 (rev. 2/2015) 

Application for a Dairy Farm Permit, ODF-DS-100 (rev. 
4/2018) 

Dairy Farm Inspection Report, ODF-DS-102 (rev. 2/2018) 

Guide for the Submission of Plans for Milking Operations, 

ODF-DS-104 (rev. 2/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-501) 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Stainless Steel Automotive 

Transportation Tanks for Bulk Delivery and Farm Pick-Up 

Service, Number 05-15, eff. November 24, 2002, 3-A 

Sanitary Standards, Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, 
McLean, Virginia 22101, www.3-a.org 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Cooling and Holding 

Tanks, Number 13-11, eff. July 23, 2012, 3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean, 
Virginia 22101, http://www.3-a.org/ 

3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 

Number 30-01, eff. September 9, 1984, 3-A Sanitary 

Standards, Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean, 
Virginia 22101,www.3-a.org  

3-A Sanitary Standards for Farm Milk Storage Tanks, 

Number 30-02, eff. July 2018, 3-A Sanitary Standards, 

Incorporated, 6888 Elm Street, Suite 2D, McLean, Virginia 
22101, http://www.3-a.org/  

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2017 Revision, 

published by the Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety 

Branch (HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College 
Park, Maryland 20740-3835 

UL Rated NEMA 4x Enclosure Definition as published in 

ANSI/NEMA 250, Enclosures for Electrical Equipment 

(1000 Volts Maximum), ANSI Approval Date December 29, 
2014, American Society of Mechanical Engineers 

Standard Methods for the Examination of Dairy Products, 
17th Edition, 2004, American Public Health Association 

Steel Products Manual: Stainless Steels, March 1999, Iron 

and Steel Society, 186 Thorn Hill Road, Warrendale, 
Pennsylvania 15086 www.iom3.org/iron-steel-society 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5956; Filed July 1, 2020, 9:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-750. Regulations Governing 

the Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Public Elementary 

and Secondary Schools in Virginia (adding 8VAC20-750-5 

through 8VAC20-750-110).  

Statutory Authority: § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2021.  

Agency Contact: Dr. Samantha Hollins, Assistant 

Superintendent for Special Education and Student Services, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8079, or email 
samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 142 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly enacted § 22.1-

279.1:1 of the Code of Virginia, which requires that the 

State Board of Education adopt regulations on the use of 

seclusion and restraint in Virginia primary and secondary 

schools. The resulting regulation (i) defines what 

constitutes seclusion and physical restraint, as well as 

mechanical restraints, pharmacological restraints, and 

aversive stimuli; (ii) bans the use of mechanical restraints, 
pharmacological restraints, and aversive stimuli; (iii) 

describes the conditions under which it is permissible for a 

student to be restrained or secluded; (iv) provides for 

notification and reporting to parents, for debriefing with 

staff and the student following incidents, and for follow-up 

when a student has been restrained or secluded more than 

twice during the course of a school year; (v) provides for 

reporting to the Virginia Department of Education; (vi) 

requires local school divisions to adopt policies and 

procedures regarding the use of seclusion and restraint; 

and (vii) requires that all school personnel be trained in 

techniques for avoiding the use of seclusion and restraint 
and that school personnel who work with students who are 

likely to be restrained or secluded must receive additional 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01a6d005956~3T.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01a6d005956~3T.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c329a005956~4o.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e885e005956~5e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e885e005956~5e.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ecb4004567~1&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4ecb4004567~1&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://www.3-a.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d84a4005956~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d84a4005956~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d84a4005956~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://www.3-a.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7a23005956~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7a23005956~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7a23005956~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005956&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cb7a004567~2&typ=0%20&actno=004567&mime=application/pdf
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
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training on safe methods for restraining or secluding a 
student. 

Changes to the proposed regulation (i) exclude students 

receiving instruction in secure facilities and detention 

homes and in facilities operated by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services and (ii) 
prohibit the use of prone restraints.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

CHAPTER 750 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE USE OF SECLUSION 

AND RESTRAINT IN PUBLIC ELEMENTARY AND 
SECONDARY SCHOOLS IN VIRGINIA 

8VAC20-750-5. Application. 

A. This chapter is applicable to all students and school 

personnel in the public elementary and secondary schools of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, as defined in 8VAC20-750-
20. This chapter governs the use of seclusion and restraint for 

the purpose of behavioral intervention. [ This chapter does 

not apply to any secure facility or detention home as defined 

in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia, or to any facility 

operated by the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. ]  

B. To comply with this chapter, school personnel must first 

determine whether the action constitutes restraint or 

seclusion, as defined in 8VAC20-750-10. If the action does 

not meet the definition, or if the action falls under any of the 

"does not include" portions of the definitions in 8VAC20-

750-10, then school personnel may act within their reasonable 
discretion. If the action falls within the definition of restraint 

or seclusion, it may be used, but only under the circumstances 

described in 8VAC20-750-40 and 8VAC20-750-50, and is 
subject to the other requirements of this chapter.  

C. 8VAC20-750-30 identifies certain practices that 

constitute restraint or seclusion that may be detrimental to the 

health, safety, or dignity of the student and that may never be 
used by school personnel. 

8VAC20-750-10. Definitions related to permitted and 

prohibited actions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Aversive stimuli" means interventions that are intended to 

induce pain or discomfort to a student for the purposes of 

punishing the student or eliminating or reducing maladaptive 
behaviors, such as: 

1. Noxious odors and tastes;  

2. Water and other mists or sprays;  

3. Blasts of air;  

4. Corporal punishment as defined in § 22.1-279.1 of the 
Code of Virginia;  

5. Verbal and mental abuse;  

6. Forced exercise when: 

a. The student's behavior is related to the student's 

disability; 

b. The exercise would have a harmful effect on the 
student's health; or  

c. The student's disability prevents participation in such 
activities. 

7. Deprivation of necessities, including: 

a. Food and liquid at a time it is customarily served; 

b. Medication; or 

c. Use of the restroom. 

"Corporal punishment" means the infliction of, or causing 

the infliction of, physical pain on a student as a means of 
discipline. 

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of any material, 

device, or equipment to restrict a student's freedom of 

movement. The term "mechanical restraint" does not include 

the devices implemented by trained school personnel or used 

by a student that have been prescribed by an appropriate 

medical or related service professional and are used with 

parental consent and for the specific and approved purposes 
for which such devices were designed, such as: 

1. Adaptive devices or mechanical supports used to 

achieve proper body position, balance, or alignment to 

allow greater freedom of mobility than would be possible 
without the use of such devices or mechanical supports;  

2. Vehicle restraints, including seat belts, when used as 

intended during the transport of a student in a moving 
vehicle; 

3. Restraints for medical immobilization; 

4. Orthopedically prescribed devices that permit a student 
to participate in activities without risk of harm; or 

5. High chairs and feeding stations used for age or 
developmentally appropriate students. 

"Pharmacological restraint" means a drug or medication 

used on a student to control behavior or restrict freedom of 

movement that is not (i) prescribed by a licensed physician or 
other qualified health professional under the scope of the 

professional's authority for the standard treatment of a 

student's medical or psychiatric condition and (ii) 

administered as prescribed by a licensed physician or other 
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qualified health professional acting under the scope of the 
professional's authority. 

"Physical restraint" means a personal restriction that 

immobilizes or reduces the ability of a student to move freely. 

The term "physical restraint" does not include (i) briefly 

holding a student to calm or comfort the student; (ii) holding 

a student's hand or arm to escort the student safely from one 

area to another; or (iii) the use of incidental, minor, or 
reasonable physical contact or other actions designed to 
maintain order and control. 

"Restraint" means mechanical restraint, physical restraint, or 
pharmacological restraint. 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary confinement of a student 

alone in a room or area from which the student is physically 

prevented from leaving. Provided that no such room or space 

is locked, the term "seclusion" does not include (i) time-out, 

as defined in this chapter; (ii) in-school suspension; (iii) 

detention; (iv) student-requested breaks in a different location 

in the room or in a separate room; (v) removal of a student for 
a short period of time from the room or a separate area of the 

room to provide the student with an opportunity to regain 

self-control, so long as the student is in a setting from which 

the student is not physically prevented from leaving; (vi) 

removal of a student for disruptive behavior from a classroom 

by the teacher as provided in § 22.1-276.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; or (vii) confinement of a student alone in a room or 

area from which the student is physically prevented from 

leaving during the investigation and questioning of the 

student by school personnel regarding the student's 

knowledge of or participation in events constituting a 

violation of the code of student conduct, such as a physical 
altercation, or an incident involving drugs or weapons. 

"Time-out" means a behavioral intervention in which the 

student is temporarily removed from the learning activity but 
in which the student is not confined. 

8VAC20-750-20. General definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral intervention plan" or "BIP" means a plan that 

utilizes positive behavioral interventions and supports to 

address (i) behaviors that interfere with a student's learning or 
that of others or (ii) behaviors that require disciplinary action. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Education. 

"Business day" means Monday through Friday, 12 months 

of the year, exclusive of federal and state holidays (unless 

holidays are specifically included in the designation of 
business days). 

"Chapter" means these regulations, that is, Regulations 

Governing the Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Public 

Elementary and Secondary Schools in Virginia, 8VAC20-
750.  

"Calendar days" means consecutive days, inclusive of 

Saturdays and Sundays. Whenever any period of time fixed 

by this chapter expires on a Saturday, Sunday, federal 

holiday, or state holiday, the period of time for taking such 

action shall be extended to the next day that is not a Saturday, 
Sunday, federal holiday, or state holiday. 

"Child with a disability" or "student with a disability" means 

a public elementary or secondary school student evaluated in 

accordance with the provisions of 8VAC20-81 as having an 

intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including 

deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual 

impairment (including blindness), a serious emotional 

disability (referred to in 8VAC20-81 as an emotional 

disability), an orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain 

injury, other health impairment, a specific learning disability, 

deaf-blindness, or multiple disabilities who, by reason 

thereof, requires special education and related services. This 
also includes developmental delay if the school division 

recognizes this category as a disability under 8VAC20-81-80 

M 3. If it is determined through an appropriate evaluation that 

a child has one of the disabilities identified but only needs 

related services and not special education, the child is not a 

child with a disability under 8VAC20-81. If the related 

service required by the child is considered special education 

rather than a related service under Virginia standards, the 

child would be determined to be a child with a disability. As 

used in this chapter, the disability categories set forth in this 

definition and the terms "special education" and "related 
services" shall have the meanings set forth in 8VAC20-81-10.  

"Day" means calendar day unless otherwise designated as 
business day or school day. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Evaluation" means procedures used in accordance with 

8VAC20-81 to determine whether a child has a disability and 

the nature and extent of the special education and related 
services the child needs. 

"Functional behavioral assessment" or "FBA" means a 

process to determine the underlying cause or functions of a 

student's behavior that impede the learning of the student or 

the learning of the student's peers. A functional behavioral 
assessment may include a review of existing data or new 

testing data or evaluation as determined as set forth in 
8VAC20-750-70.  

"Individualized education program" or "IEP" means a 

written statement for a child with a disability that is 

developed, reviewed, and revised at least annually in a team 

meeting in accordance with the Regulations Governing 

Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in 

Virginia (8VAC20-81). The IEP specifies the individual 

educational needs of the child and what special education and 
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related services are necessary to meet the child's educational 
needs. 

"Individualized education program team" or "IEP team" 

means a group of individuals described in 8VAC20-81-110 

that is responsible for developing, reviewing, or revising an 
IEP for a child with a disability.  

"School day" means any day, including a partial day, that 

students are in attendance at school for instructional purposes. 
The term has the same meaning for all students in school, 
including students with and without disabilities. 

"School personnel" means individuals employed by the 

school division on a full-time or part-time basis or as 

independent contractors or subcontractors as instructional, 

administrative, and support personnel and include individuals 

serving as a student teacher or intern under the supervision of 
appropriate school personnel. 

"Section 504 plan" means a written plan of modifications 

and accommodations under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

"Student" means any student, with or without a disability, 

enrolled in a public elementary or secondary school as 
defined in § 22.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  

1. For purposes of this chapter, the term "student" shall 

also include those students (i) attending a public school on 

a less-than-full-time basis, such as those students identified 

in § 22.1-253.13:2 N of the Code of Virginia; (ii) receiving 

homebound instruction pursuant to 8VAC20-131-180 and 

as defined in 8VAC20-81-10, without regard to special 

education status; (iii) receiving home-based instruction 

pursuant to 8VAC20-81-10; and (iv) who are preschool 

students enrolled in a program operated by a school 
division or receiving services from school personnel. 

2. As used in this chapter, "student" shall not include 

children meeting compulsory attendance requirements of 

§ 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia by (i) enrollment in 

private, denominational, or parochial schools; (ii) receipt 

of instruction by a tutor or teacher of qualifications 

prescribed by the Board of Education and approved by the 

relevant division superintendent; [ or ] (iii) receipt of home 

instruction pursuant to § 22.1-254 of the Code of Virginia 

[ or (iv) receipt of instruction in a secure facility or 

detention home as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of 
Virginia or in a facility operated by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services ]. With regard to restraint and seclusion, students 

placed through public or private means in a private day or 

residential school for students with -disabilities shall be 
afforded the protections set forth in 8VAC20-671. 

8VAC20-750-30. Prohibited actions. 

A. The following actions are prohibited in the public 

elementary and secondary schools in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia: 

1. Use of mechanical restraints. 

2. Use of pharmacological restraints. 

3. Use of aversive stimuli. 

4. Use of [ restraint prone restraints (i.e. lying face down) ] 

or [ seclusion in any manner any other restraints ] that 

[ restricts restrict ] a student's breathing or [ harms harm ] 
the student. 

[ 5. Use of seclusion that restricts a student's breathing or 
harms the student. ]  

[ 5. 6. ] Use of physical restraint or seclusion as (i) 

punishment or discipline; (ii) a means of coercion or 

retaliation; (iii) a convenience; (iv) to prevent property 

damage, or in any manner other than as provided in 
8VAC20-750-40 and 8VAC20-750-50. 

[ 6. 7. ] Use of corporal punishment. 

[ 7. 8. ] Use of seclusion rooms or freestanding units not 
meeting the standards set forth in this chapter. 

[ 8. 9. ] Use of restraint or seclusion when medically or 

psychologically contraindicated as stated in documentation 

by the IEP team, the student's Section 504 team, school 

professionals, or by a licensed physician, psychologist, or 

other qualified health professional under the scope of the 
professional's authority. 

B. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit 

physical restraint or seclusion under the conditions outlined in 
8VAC20-750-40 and 8VAC20-750-50. 

8VAC20-750-40. Use of physical restraint and seclusion. 

A. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require a 

school division to employ physical restraint or seclusion in its 

schools. School divisions electing to use physical restraint 

and seclusion shall comply with the requirements of this 
chapter. 

B. School personnel may implement physical restraint or 

seclusion only when other interventions are or would be, in 

the reasonable judgment of the particular school personnel 

implementing physical restraint or seclusion in an emergency 
situation, ineffective and only to: 

1. Prevent a student from inflicting serious physical harm 

or injury to self or others; 

2. Quell a disturbance or remove a student from the scene 

of a disturbance in which such student's behavior or 

damage to property threatens serious physical harm or 
injury to persons;  
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3. Defend self or others from serious physical harm or 
injury;  

4. Obtain possession of controlled substances or 

paraphernalia that are upon the person of the student or 
within the student's control; or  

5. Obtain possession of weapons or other dangerous 

objects that are upon the person of the student or within the 
student's control. 

C. Physical restraint and seclusion shall be discontinued as 

soon as the imminent risk of serious physical harm or injury 

to self or others presented by the emergency situation has 
dissipated.  

D. Nothing in this section shall be construed to require 

school personnel to attempt to implement a less restrictive 

intervention prior to using physical restraint or seclusion 

when, in the reasonable judgment of the school personnel in 

an emergency situation, a less restrictive intervention would 
be ineffective.  

E. Unless a student's damage to property creates an 

imminent risk of serious physical harm or injury to the 

student or others, the damage of property does not itself 

indicate an imminent risk of serious physical harm or injury 

and shall not be the justification for the restraint or seclusion 
of a student.  

F. Any incident involving physical restraint or seclusion in 

any of the circumstances described in this section shall be 

subject to the requirements of 8VAC20-750-50 through 
8VAC20-750-100. 

8VAC20-750-50. Seclusion; standards for use. 

A. School divisions electing to use seclusion as permitted by 

this chapter shall meet the following structural and physical 
standards for rooms designated by the school to be used for 
seclusion:  

1. Any seclusion room or area shall be free of any objects 
or physical features that may cause injury to the student. 

2. Any seclusion room or area shall be of sufficient 

dimensions and shall have sufficient lighting, heating, 

cooling, and ventilation to comport with the dignity and 
safety of the student.  

3. Windows in the seclusion room shall be constructed to 

minimize breakage and otherwise prevent the occupant 
from harming himself.  

4. All space in the seclusion room shall be visible through 
the door, either directly or by mirrors. 

B. School divisions electing to use seclusion as authorized 

by this chapter shall provide for the continuous visual 

monitoring of any seclusion, either by the presence of school 

personnel in the seclusion room or area or observation by 

school personnel through a window, viewing panel, or half-
door. 

C. School divisions electing to use seclusion as authorized 

by this chapter shall include within their local policies and 

procedures provisions that address the appropriate use and 

duration of seclusion based upon the age and development of 
the student. 

8VAC20-750-60. Notification and reporting. 

A. When any student has been physically restrained or 
secluded: 

1. The school personnel involved shall report the incident 

and the use of any related first aid to the school principal or 

the principal's designee as soon as possible by the end of 
the school day in which the incident occurred; and 

2. The school principal or the principal's designee, or other 

school personnel shall make a reasonable effort to ensure 

that direct contact is made with the student's parent, either 

in person or through telephone conversation, or other 

means of communication authorized by the parent, such as 
email, to notify the parent of the incident and any related 
first aid on the day the incident occurred. 

B. When any student has been physically restrained or 

secluded after the regular school day, the notifications 

required by subsection A of this section shall be made as soon 

as practicable in compliance with the school division's school 

crisis, emergency management, and medical emergency 

response plan required by § 22.1-279.8 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. As soon as practicable, but no later than two school days 

after an incident in which physical restraint or seclusion has 

been implemented, the school personnel involved in the 
incident or other school personnel, as may be designated by 

the principal, shall complete and provide to the principal or 

the principal's designee a written incident report. The school 

division shall provide the parent with a copy of the incident 
report within seven calendar days of the incident. 

The written incident report shall contain information 

sufficient to inform the parent about the incident. Such 
information would typically include the following:  

1. Student name, age, gender, grade, and ethnicity;  

2. Location of the incident;  

3. Date, time, and total duration of incident, including 

documentation of the beginning and ending time of each 
application of physical restraint or seclusion;  

4. Date of report;  

5. Name of person completing the report;  

6. School personnel involved in the incident, their roles in 

the use of physical restraint or seclusion, and 
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documentation of their completion of the division's training 
program;  

7. Description of the incident, including the resolution and 

process of return of the student to the student's educational 
setting, if appropriate;  

8. Detailed description of the physical restraint or seclusion 

method used; 

9. Student behavior that justified the use of physical 

restraint or seclusion;  

10. Description of prior events and circumstances 
prompting the student's behavior, to the extent known;  

11. Less restrictive interventions attempted prior to the use 

of physical restraint or seclusion, and an explanation if no 
such interventions were employed;    

12. Whether the student has an IEP, a Section 504 plan, a 
BIP, or other plan;  

13. If a student, school personnel, or any other individual 

sustained bodily injury, the date and time of nurse or 

emergency response personnel notification and the 
treatment administered, if any; 

14. Date, time, and method of parental notification of the 
incident, as required by this section; and 

15. Date, time, and method of school personnel debriefing.  

D. Following an incident of physical restraint or seclusion, 

the school division shall ensure that, within two school days, 

the principal or the principal's designee reviews the incident 

with all school personnel who implemented the use of 
physical restraint or seclusion to discuss:  

1. Whether the use of restraint or seclusion was 

implemented in compliance with this chapter and local 
policies; and  

2. How to prevent or reduce the future need for physical 
restraint or seclusion.  

E. As appropriate, depending on the student's age and 

developmental level, following each incident of physical 

restraint or seclusion the school division shall ensure that, as 

soon as practicable, but no later than two school days or upon 

the student's return to school, the principal or the principal's 

designee shall review the incident with the student involved 
to discuss:  

1. Details of the incident in an effort to assist the student 

and school personnel in identifying patterns of behaviors, 
triggers, or antecedents; and  

2. Alternative positive behaviors or coping skills the 

student may utilize to prevent or reduce behaviors that may 
result in the application of physical restraint or seclusion.  

F. The principal or the principal's designee shall regularly 

review the use of physical restraint or seclusion to ensure 

compliance with school division policy and procedures. 

When there are multiple incidents within the same classroom 

or by the same individual, the principal or the principal's 

designee shall take appropriate steps to address the frequency 
of use. 

8VAC20-750-70. School division policies and procedures. 

A. Each school division that elects to use physical restraint 

or seclusion shall develop and implement written policies and 

procedures that meet or exceed the requirements of this 
chapter and that include, at a minimum, the following: 

1. A statement of intention that the school division will 

encourage the use of positive behavioral interventions and 

supports to reduce and prevent the need for the use of 
physical restraint and seclusion.  

2. Examples of the positive behavioral interventions and 

support strategies consistent with the student's rights to be 

treated with dignity and to be free from abuse that the 
school division uses to address student behavior, including 

the appropriate use of effective alternatives to physical 
restraint and seclusion. 

3. A description of initial and advanced training for school 

personnel that addresses (i) appropriate use of effective 

alternatives to physical restraint and seclusion and (ii) the 
proper use of restraint and seclusion. 

4. A statement of the circumstances in which physical 

restraint and seclusion may be employed, which shall be no 

less restrictive than that set forth in 8VAC20-750-40 and 
8VAC20-750-50.  

5. Provisions addressing the:  

a. Notification of parents regarding incidents of physical 

restraint or seclusion, including the manner of such 
notification; 

b. Documentation of the use of physical restraint and 
seclusion;  

c. Continuous visual monitoring of the use of any 

physical restraint or seclusion to ensure the 

appropriateness of such use and the safety of the student 

being physically restrained or secluded, other students, 

school personnel, and others. These provisions shall 

include exceptions for emergency situations in which 
securing visual monitoring before implementing the 

physical restraint or seclusion would, in the reasonable 

judgment of the school personnel implementing the 

physical restraint or seclusion, result in serious physical 
harm or injury to persons; and  

d. Securing of any room in which a student is placed in 

seclusion. These provisions shall ensure that any 

seclusion room or area meet specifications for size and 
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viewing panels that ensure the student's safety at all 

times, including during a fire or other emergency, as 
required by this chapter.  

B. School divisions utilizing school resource officers shall 

enter into a memorandum of understanding with local law 

enforcement addressing the use of seclusion and restraint by 
law enforcement personnel in school settings. 

C. Each school division shall review its policies and 

procedures regarding physical restraint and seclusion at least 

annually and shall update these policies and procedures as 

appropriate. In developing, reviewing, and revising its 

policies, school divisions shall consider the distinctions in 

emotional and physical development between elementary and 

secondary students and between students with and without 
disabilities. 

D. Consistent with § 22.1-253.13:7 D of the Code of 

Virginia, a current copy of a school division's policies and 

procedures regarding restraint and seclusion shall be posted 

on the school division's website and shall be available to 
school personnel and to the public. School boards shall ensure 

that printed copies of such policies and procedures are 
available as needed to citizens who do not have online access. 

E. In developing their policies and procedures, school 

divisions shall give due consideration to practices that 

encourage parent involvement and collaboration with regard 
to these matters. 

8VAC20-750-80. Prevention; multiple uses of restraint or 

seclusion. 

A. In the initial development and subsequent review and 

revision of a student's IEP or Section 504 plan, the student's 

IEP or Section 504 team shall consider whether the student 
displays behaviors that are likely to result in the use of 

physical restraint or seclusion. If the IEP or Section 504 team 

determines that future use is likely, the team shall consider, 

among other things, the need for (i) an FBA; (ii) a new or 

revised BIP that addresses the underlying causes or purposes 

of the behaviors as well as de-escalation strategies, conflict 

prevention, and positive behavioral interventions; (iii) any 

new or revised behavioral goals; and (iv) any additional 
evaluations or reevaluations.  

Within 10 school days following the second school day in a 

single school year on which an incident of physical restraint 
or seclusion has occurred, the student's IEP or Section 504 

team shall meet to discuss the incident and to consider, 

among other things, the need for (i) an FBA; (ii) a new or 

revised BIP that addresses the underlying causes or purposes 

of the behaviors as well as de-escalation strategies, conflict 

prevention, and positive behavioral interventions; (iii) any 

new or revised behavioral goals; and (iv) any additional 
evaluations or reevaluations. 

B. For students other than those described in subsection A of 

this section, within 10 school days of the second school day 

in a single school year on which an incident of physical 

restraint or seclusion has occurred, a team consisting of the 

parent, the principal or the principal's designee, a teacher of 

the student, school personnel involved in the incident (if not 

the teacher or administrator already invited), and other 

appropriate school personnel, such as a school psychologist, 
school counselor, or school resource officer, as determined by 

the school division, shall meet to discuss the incident and to 

consider, among other things, the need for (i) an FBA; (ii) a 

new or revised BIP that addresses the underlying causes or 

purposes of the behaviors as well as de-escalation strategies, 

conflict prevention, and positive behavioral interventions; and 
(iii) a referral for evaluation. 

C. Nothing in this section shall be construed to (i) excuse the 

team convened under subsection B of this section or its 

individual members from the obligation to refer the student 

for evaluation if the team or members have reason to suspect 
that the student may be a student with a disability; or (ii) 

prohibit the completion of an FBA or BIP for any student, 

with or without a disability, who might benefit from these 

measures but whose behavior has resulted in fewer than two 

incidents of physical restraint or seclusion in a single school 
year. 

8VAC20-750-90. Annual reporting. 

The principal or the principal's designee shall submit to the 

division superintendent a report on the use of physical 

restraint and seclusion in the school based on the individual 

incident reports completed and submitted to the principal or 

the principal's designee by school personnel pursuant to 
8VAC20-750-60 C. The division superintendent shall 

annually report the frequency of such incidents to the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction on forms that shall be 

provided by the Department of Education and shall make 
such information available to the public. 

8VAC20-750-100. Training. 

School divisions that employ physical restraint or seclusion 
shall:  

1. Ensure that all school personnel receive [ initial ] 

training that focuses on skills related to positive behavior 

support, conflict prevention, de-escalation, and crisis 
response [ , including follow-up support and social-

emotional strategy support for students, staff, and 
families ];  

2. Ensure that all school personnel receive initial training 

regarding the regulations, policies, and procedures 
governing the use of physical restraint and seclusion; 

3. Provide advanced training in the use of physical restraint 

and seclusion for at least one administrator in every school 

building and for school personnel assigned to work with 
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any student whose IEP or Section 504 team determines the 

student is likely to be physically restrained or secluded; 
and 

4. Ensure that any initial or advanced training is evidence-

based.  

8VAC20-750-110. Construction and interpretation. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to modify or 

restrict: 

1. The initial authority of teachers to remove students from 

a classroom pursuant to § 22.1-276.2 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

2. The authority and duties of school resource officers and 

school security officers, as defined in § 9.1-101 of the 

Code of Virginia, except to the extent governed by a 

memorandum of understanding between the local law 
enforcement agency and the school division;  

3. The authority of the Virginia Department of Juvenile 

Justice with regard to students in its custody at any of its 
sites or in any of its programs; or 

4. The civil immunity afforded teachers employed by local 

school boards for any acts or omissions resulting from the 

supervision, care, or discipline of students when such acts 

or omissions are within such teacher's scope of 

employment and are taken in good faith in the course of 

supervision, care, or discipline of students, unless such acts 

or omissions were the result of gross negligence or willful 

misconduct, as provided in § 8.01-220.1:2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4323; Filed June 26, 2020, 10:48 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-160). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396 et seq.). 

Effective Date: August 19, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow certain practitioners other than 

physicians to order and certify home health services in 

compliance with updates to 42 CFR 440.70 in May of 
2020. 

12VAC30-50-160. Home health services.  

A. Service must be ordered or prescribed and by a physician, 

nurse practitioner (NP), clinical nurse specialist (CNS), or 

physician assistant (PA). Services shall be directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of a practitioner of 

the healing arts. Home health services shall be provided in 

accordance with guidelines found in the Virginia Medicaid 
Home Health Manual.  

B. Nursing services provided by a home health agency.  

1. Intermittent or part-time nursing service provided by a 

home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home 
health agency exists in the area.  

2. Patients may receive up to five visits by a licensed nurse 

annually. Limits are per recipient, regardless of the number 

of providers rendering services. "Annually" shall be 

defined as July 1 through June 30 for each recipient. If 
services beyond these limitations are determined by the 

physician a practitioner, as defined in subsection A of this 

section, to be required, then the provider shall request prior 

authorization from DMAS for additional services. Payment 

shall not be made for additional service unless authorized 
by DMAS.  

C. Home health aide services provided by a home health 
agency.  

1. Home health aides must function under the supervision 

of a registered nurse.  

2. Home health aides must meet the certification 

requirements specified in 42 CFR 484.80.  

3. For home health aide services, patients may receive up 

to 32 visits annually. Limits shall be per recipient, 

regardless of the number of providers rendering services. 

"Annually" shall be defined as July 1 through June 30 for 
each recipient.  

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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D. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech 

pathology services and audiology services provided by a 
home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility.  

1. Service covered only as part of a physician's plan of care 

developed by a practitioner, as defined in subsection A of 
this section.  

2. Patients may receive up to five visits for each 

rehabilitative therapy service ordered annually without 
authorization. Limits shall apply per recipient regardless of 

the number of providers rendering services. "Annually" 

shall be defined as July 1 through June 30 for each 

recipient. If services beyond these limitations are 

determined by the physician practitioner, as defined in 

subsection A of this section, to be required, then the 

provider shall request prior authorization from DMAS for 
additional services.  

E. The following services are not covered under the home 

health services program:  

1. Medical social services;  

2. Services or items which would not be paid for if 

provided to an inpatient of a hospital, such as private-duty 

nursing services, or items of comfort which have no 
medical necessity, such as television;  

3. Community food service delivery arrangements;  

4. Domestic or housekeeping services which that are 

unrelated to patient care and which that materially increase 
the time spent on a visit;  

5. Custodial care, which is patient care that primarily 

requires protective services rather than definitive medical 
and skilled nursing care; and  

6. Services related to cosmetic surgery.  

12VAC30-60-70. Utilization control: home health services.  

A. Home health services that meet the standards prescribed 
for participation under Title XVIII, will be supplied.  

B. Home health services shall be provided by a home health 

agency that is (i) licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Health, (ii) certified by the Virginia Department of Health 

under provisions of Title XVIII (Medicare) or Title XIX 

(Medicaid) of the Social Security Act, or (iii) accredited by 

any organization recognized by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) for purposes of Medicare 

certification. Services shall be provided on a part-time or 
intermittent basis to a recipient in any setting in which normal 

life activities take place. Home health services shall not be 

furnished to individuals residing in a hospital, nursing 

facility, intermediate care facility for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities, or any setting in which payment is or 

could be made under Medicaid for inpatient services that 

include room and board. Home health services must be 

ordered or prescribed by a physician, nurse practitioner (NP), 

clinical nurse specialist (CNS), or physician assistant (PA) 

and must be part of a written plan of care that the physician 
practitioner shall review at least every 60 days.  

C. Covered services. Any one of the following services may 

be offered as the sole home health service and shall not be 
contingent upon the provision of another service.  

1. Nursing services;  

2. Home health aide services;  

3. Physical therapy services;  

4. Occupational therapy services; or  

5. Speech-language pathology services.  

D. General conditions. The following general conditions 

apply to skilled nursing, home health aide, physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology 
services provided by home health agencies.  

1. The patient must be under the care of a physician, NP, 

CNS, or PA who is legally authorized to practice and who 

is acting within the scope of his the practitioner's license. 
The physician practitioner may be the patient's private 

physician or a physician serve the patient in an 

independent office, be on the staff of the home health 

agency, or be a physician practitioner working under an 

arrangement with the institution which that is the patient's 

residence or, if the agency is hospital-based, be a physician 
practitioner on the hospital or agency staff.  

2. No payment shall be made for home health services 

unless a face-to-face encounter has been performed by an 

approved practitioner, as outlined in this subsection, with 

the Medicaid individual within the 90 days before the start 

of the services or within the 30 days after the start of the 
services. The face-to-face encounter shall be related to the 

primary reason the Medicaid individual requires home 
health services. 

a. The face-to-face encounter shall be conducted by one 
of the following approved practitioners: 

(1) A physician licensed to practice medicine; 

(2) A nurse practitioner or clinical nurse specialist within 

the scope of his practice under state law and working in 

collaboration with the physician who orders the Medicaid 
individual's services; 

(3) A certified nurse midwife within the scope of his 

practice under state law; 

(4) A physician assistant within the scope of his practice 

under state law and working under the supervision of the 

physician who orders the Medicaid individual's services; 
or  
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(5) For Medicaid individuals admitted to home health 

immediately after an acute or post-acute stay, the 
attending acute or post-acute physician. 

b. The practitioner performing the face-to-face encounter 

shall document the clinical findings of the encounter in 

the Medicaid individual's record and communicate the 

clinical findings of the encounter to the ordering 
physician. 

c. Face-to-face encounters may occur through telehealth, 
which shall not include by phone or email. 

3. When a patient is admitted to home health services a 

start-of-care comprehensive assessment must be completed 
no later than five calendar days after the start of care date.  

4. Services shall be furnished under a written plan of care 

and must be established and periodically reviewed by a 

physician, NP, CNS, or PA. The requested services or 

items must be necessary to carry out the plan of care and 

must be related to the patient's condition. The initial plan 

of care (certification) must be reviewed by the attending 
physician, or physician designee a physician, NP, CNS, or 

PA. The physician practitioner must sign the initial 

certification before the home health agency may bill 
DMAS.  

5. A physician, NP, CNS, or PA shall review and recertify 

the plan of care every 60 days. A physician recertification 

shall be performed within the last five days of each current 

60-day certification period, (i.e., between and including 

days 56-60) 56 through 60). The physician recertification 

statement must indicate the continuing need for services 

and should estimate how long home health services will be 

needed. The physician, NP, CNS, or PA must sign the 
recertification before the home health agency may bill 
DMAS.  

6. The physician-orders physician, NP, CNS, or PA orders 

for therapy services shall include the specific procedures 

and modalities to be used, identify the specific discipline to 

carry out the plan of care, and indicate the frequency and 
duration for services.  

7. A written physician's statement by a physician, NP, 

CNS, or PA located in the medical record must certify that:  

a. The patient needs licensed nursing care, home health 

aide services, physical or occupational therapy, or 
speech-language pathology services;  

b. A plan for furnishing such services to the individual 

has been established and is periodically reviewed by a 
physician, NP, CNS, or PA; and  

c. These services were furnished while the individual was 
under the care of a physician, NP, CNS, or PA.  

8. The plan of care shall contain at least the following 
information:  

a. Diagnosis and prognosis;  

b. Functional limitations;  

c. Orders for nursing or other therapeutic services;  

d. Orders for home health aide services, when applicable;  

e. Orders for medications and treatments, when 

applicable;  

f. Orders for special dietary or nutritional needs, when 

applicable; and  

g. Orders for medical tests, when applicable, including 
laboratory tests and x-rays.  

E. Utilization review shall be performed by DMAS to 

determine if services are appropriately provided and to ensure 

that the services provided to Medicaid recipients are 

medically necessary and appropriate. Such post payment 

review audits may be unannounced. Services not specifically 

documented in patients' medical records as having been 

rendered shall be deemed not to have been rendered and no 
reimbursement shall be provided.  

F. All services furnished by a home health agency, whether 

provided directly by the agency or under arrangements with 

others, must be performed by appropriately qualified 

personnel. The following criteria shall apply to the provision 
of home health services:  

1. Nursing services. Nursing services must be provided by 

a registered nurse or by a licensed practical nurse under the 

supervision of a graduate of an approved school of 

professional nursing and who is licensed as a registered 
nurse.  

2. Home health aide services. Home health aides must 

meet the qualifications specified for home health aides by 

42 CFR 484.80. Home health aide services may include 
assisting with personal hygiene, meal preparation and 

feeding, walking, and taking and recording blood pressure, 

pulse, and respiration. Home health aide services must be 

provided under the general supervision of a registered 

nurse. A recipient may not receive duplicative home health 
aide and personal care aide services.  

3. Rehabilitation services. Services shall be specific and 

provide effective treatment for patients' conditions in 

accordance with accepted standards of medical practice. 

The amount, frequency, and duration of the services shall 

be reasonable. Rehabilitative services shall be provided 
with the expectation, based on the assessment made by 

physicians a physician, NP, CNS, or PA of patients' 

rehabilitation potential, that the condition of patients will 

improve significantly in a reasonable and generally 

predictable period of time or shall be necessary to the 

establishment of a safe and effective maintenance program 
required in connection with the specific diagnosis.  
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a. Physical therapy services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active written plan of care 

approved by a physician, NP, CNS, or PA after any 

needed consultation with a physical therapist licensed by 

the Board of Physical Therapy. The services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication, or the condition 

of the patient shall be of a nature that the services can 

only be performed by a physical therapist licensed by the 
Board of Physical Therapy, or a physical therapy 

assistant who is licensed by the Board of Physical 

Therapy and is under the direct supervision of a physical 

therapist licensed by the Board of Physical Therapy. 

When physical therapy services are provided by a 

qualified physical therapy assistant, such services shall 

be provided under the supervision of a qualified physical 

therapist who makes an onsite supervisory visit at least 

once every 30 days. This supervisory visit shall not be 
reimbursable.  

b. Occupational therapy services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active written plan of care 

approved by a physician, NP, CNS, or PA after any 

needed consultation with an occupational therapist 

registered and licensed by the National Board for 

Certification in Occupational Therapy and licensed by 

the Virginia Board of Medicine. The services shall be of 

a level of complexity and sophistication, or the condition 

of the patient shall be of a nature that the services can 

only be performed by an occupational therapist registered 

and licensed by the National Board for Certification in 

Occupational Therapy and licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Medicine, or an occupational therapy assistant 
who is certified by the National Board for Certification in 

Occupational Therapy under the direct supervision of an 

occupational therapist as defined in this subdivision. 

When occupational therapy services are provided by a 

qualified occupational therapy assistant, such services 

shall be provided under the supervision of a qualified 

occupational therapist, as defined in this subdivision, 

who makes an onsite supervisory visit at least once every 
30 days. This supervisory visit shall not be reimbursable.  

c. Speech-language pathology services shall be directly 

and specifically related to an active written plan of care 
approved by a physician, NP, CNS, or PA after any 

needed consultation with a speech-language pathologist 

licensed by the Virginia Department of Health 

Professions, Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology. The services shall be of a level of 

complexity and sophistication, or the condition of the 

patient shall be of a nature that the services can only be 

performed by a speech-language pathologist licensed by 

the Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology.  

4. A visit shall be defined as the duration of time that a 

nurse, home health aide, or rehabilitation therapist is with a 

client to provide services prescribed by a physician, NP, 

CNS, or PA and that are covered home health services. 

Visits shall not be defined in measurements or increments 
of time.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6289; Filed June 29, 2020, 8:30 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-170. Rules Governing 

Minimum Standards for Medicare Supplement Policies 

(amending 14VAC5-170-160; adding 14VAC5-170-95).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jackie Myers, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9630, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
jackie.myers@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1161 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the proposed amendments require insurers, health services 

plans, and health maintenance organizations issuing 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates in Virginia to 

offer to persons younger than 65 years of age who reside 

in Virginia, are eligible for Medicare by reason of 

disability, and are enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B 

an opportunity to purchase at least one of the Medicare 
Supplement policies or certificates it issues.  

mailto:jackie.myers@scc.virginia.gov
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AT RICHMOND, JUNE 22, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00128 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Amending 

Rules Governing Minimum Standards 
for Medicare Supplement Policies 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 
38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy also may be found 
at the Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information.  

As a result of action by the 2020 General Assembly, 

specifically Acts of Assembly Chapter 1161 (SB 250), the 

Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has undertaken a review of 

Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

entitled "Rules Governing Minimum Standards for Medicare 

Supplement Policies," for compliance with this new 
legislation. 

The new legislation requires insurers, health services plans 

and health maintenance organizations issuing Medicare 

supplement policies or certificates in Virginia to offer to 
persons under age 65 who reside in the Commonwealth, are 

eligible for Medicare by reason of disability and are enrolled 

in Medicare Part A and Part B, an opportunity to purchase at 

least one of the Medicare Supplement policies or certificates 

it issues. The Bureau has created a new section in Chapter 

170 at 14 VAC 5-170-95 to address this new requirement, 

and amended the application found at 14 VAC 5-170-160. 

This new section and amendment to the application are 

necessary to define these new requirements for both health 
carriers and consumers. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposal to amend the Rules at Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code as submitted by the Bureau 

should be considered for adoption with a proposed effective 
date on or before January 1, 2021.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to amend Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code, by adding a new section at 

14 VAC 5-170-95 and amending 14 VAC 5-170-160, is 
attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose 

amendments to Chapter 170 shall file such comments or 

hearing request on or before August 17, 2020, with Joel H. 

Peck, Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 
and shall refer to Case No. INS-2020-00128.  Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions at the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. All 
comments shall refer to Case No. INS-2020-00128. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend rules as outlined in this Order is received on or before 

August 17, 2020, the Commission, upon consideration of any 

comments submitted in support of or in opposition to the 

proposal, may adopt the new section and amendments in 

Chapter 170 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
as submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to all 

carriers licensed in Virginia to write accident and sickness 
insurance and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 

amend rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 

the Commission's website: 
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 

certificate of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424, mbrowder@oag.state.va.us; and a copy 

hereof shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of 
General Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in care of 
Deputy Commissioner Julie S. Blauvelt. 

14VAC5-170-95. Persons eligible by reason of disability. 

A. On or after January 1, 2021, an issuer that offers 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall offer at 

least one of its Medicare supplement plans that it actively 

markets to any individual who resides in this Commonwealth, 

is younger than 65 years of age, is eligible for Medicare by 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
mailto:MBrowder@oag.state.va.us
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reason of disability as defined by 42 USC § 426(b), and is 

enrolled in Medicare Part A and B, or will be so enrolled by 

the effective date of coverage in accordance with the 

provisions of § 38.2-3610 of the Code of Virginia. The 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate offered shall be 

guaranteed renewable. Such Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate shall be offered and issued during the following 
enrollment periods:  

1. Upon the request of the individual during the six-month 

period beginning with the first month in which the 

individual is eligible for Medicare by reason of a disability. 

For those persons who are retroactively enrolled in 

Medicare Part B due to a retroactive eligibility decision 

made by the Social Security Administration, the 

application must be submitted within a six-month period 

beginning with the month in which the person receives 
notification of the retroactive eligibility decision; or  

2. Upon the request of the individual during the 63-day 

period following voluntary or involuntary termination of 
coverage under a group health plan. 

B. An individual who met the eligibility requirements 

outlined in subsection A of this section prior to January 1, 

2021, shall begin a six-month period to enroll in a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate on January 1, 2021. 

C. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate issued to an 

individual under subsection A of this section shall not 

exclude benefits based on a preexisting condition if the 

individual has a continuous period of creditable coverage of 
at least six months as of the effective date of coverage. 

D. An issuer may develop premium rates specific to the 

class of individuals described in subsection A of this section. 

14VAC5-170-160. Requirements for application forms 

and replacement coverage.  

A. Application forms shall include the following questions 

designed to elicit information as to whether, as of the date of 

the application, the applicant currently has Medicare 

supplement, Medicare Advantage, Medicaid coverage, or 

another health insurance policy or certificate in force or 

whether a Medicare supplement policy or certificate is 

intended to replace any other accident and sickness policy or 

certificate presently in force. A supplementary application or 

other form to be signed by the applicant and agent containing 
such questions and statements may be used.  

[Statements] Statements: 

1. You do not need more than one Medicare supplement 
policy.  

2. If you purchase this policy, you may want to evaluate 

your existing health coverage and decide if you need 
multiple coverages.  

3. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid and 
may not need a Medicare supplement policy.  

4. If, after purchasing this policy, you become eligible for 

Medicaid, the benefits and premiums under your Medicare 

supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, during 

your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24 months. 

You must request this suspension within 90 days of 

becoming eligible for Medicaid. If you are no longer 
entitled to Medicaid, your suspended Medicare supplement 

policy (or, if that is no longer available, a substantially 

equivalent policy) will be reinstituted if requested within 

90 days of losing Medicaid eligibility. If the Medicare 

supplement policy provided coverage for outpatient 

prescription drugs and you enrolled in Medicare Part D 

while your policy was suspended, the reinstituted policy 

will not have outpatient prescription drug coverage, but 

will otherwise be substantially equivalent to your coverage 
before the date of the suspension.  

5. If you are eligible for, and have enrolled in a Medicare 

supplement policy by reason of disability and you later 

become covered by an employer or union-based group 

health plan, the benefits and premiums under your 

Medicare supplement policy can be suspended, if 

requested, while you are covered under the employer or 

union-based group health plan. If you suspend your 

Medicare supplement policy under these circumstances, 

and later lose your employer or union-based group health 

plan, your suspended Medicare supplement policy (or, if 

that is no longer available, a substantially equivalent 

policy) will be reinstituted if requested within 90 days of 

losing your employer or union-based group health plan. If 
the Medicare supplement policy provided coverage for 

outpatient prescription drugs and you enrolled in Medicare 

Part D while your policy was suspended, the reinstituted 

policy will not have outpatient prescription drug coverage, 

but will otherwise be substantially equivalent to your 
coverage before the date of the suspension.  

6. Counseling services may be available in your state to 

provide advice concerning your purchase of Medicare 

supplement insurance and concerning medical assistance 

through the state Medicaid program, including benefits as a 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a Specified 
Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB).  

[Questions] Questions: 

If you lost or are losing other health insurance coverage and 

received a notice from your prior insurer saying you were 

eligible for guaranteed issue of a Medicare supplement 

insurance policy, or that you had certain rights to buy such a 

policy, you may be guaranteed acceptance in one or more of 

our Medicare supplement plans. Please include a copy of the 

notice from your prior insurer with your application. 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS. (Please mark yes or 
no below with an "X".)  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2020 

2561 

To the best of your knowledge,  

1. a. Did you turn age 65 in the last 6 months?  

Yes____ No____  

b. Did you enroll in Medicare Part B in the last 6 months?  

Yes____ No____  

c. If yes, what is the effective date?__________  

2. a. Are you younger than age 65 and eligible for Medicare by reason of disability as defined by federal law? 

Yes____ No____ 

b. Are you enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B? 

Yes____ No____ 

c. If yes, what is the effective date of Part A ________; Part B________? 

2. 3. Are you covered for medical assistance through the state Medicaid program?  

(NOTE TO APPLICANT: If you are participating in a "Spend-Down Program" and have not met your "Share of Cost," 

please answer NO to this question.)  

Yes____ No____  

If yes,  

a. Will Medicaid pay your premiums for this Medicare supplement policy?  

Yes____ No____  

b. Do you receive any benefits from Medicaid OTHER THAN payments toward your Medicare Part B premium?  

Yes____ No____  

3. 4. a. If you had coverage from any Medicare plan other than original Medicare within the past 63 days (for example, a 

Medicare Advantage plan, or a Medicare HMO or PPO), fill in your start and end dates below. If you are still covered under 
this plan, leave "END" blank.  

START __/__/__ END __/__/__  

b. If you are still covered under the Medicare plan, do you intend to replace your current coverage with this new Medicare 

supplement policy?  

Yes____ No____  

c. Was this your first time in this type of Medicare plan?  

Yes____ No____  

d. Did you drop a Medicare supplement policy to enroll in the Medicare plan?  

Yes____ No____  

4. 5. a. Do you have another Medicare supplement policy in force?  

Yes____ No____  

b. If so, with what company, and what plan do you have (optional for Direct Mailers)? ______________________  

c. If so, do you intend to replace your current Medicare supplement policy with this policy?  

Yes____ No____  
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5. 6. Have you had coverage under any other health insurance within the past 63 days? (For example, an employer, union, or 
individual plan)  

Yes____ No____  

a. If so, with what company and what kind of policy?  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

b. What are your dates of coverage under the other policy?  

START __/__/__ END __/__/__  

(If you are still covered under the other policy, leave "END" blank.)  

B. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies they 
have sold to the applicant.  

1. List policies sold which are still in force.  

2. List policies sold in the past five years which are no 
longer in force.  

C. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the 

application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant, 

and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the 
applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy.  

D. Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement of 

Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a direct 

response issuer, or its agent, shall furnish the applicant, prior 

to issuance or delivery of the Medicare supplement policy or 

certificate, a notice regarding replacement of Medicare 

supplement coverage. One copy of the notice signed by the 

applicant and the agent, except where the coverage is sold 

without an agent, shall be provided to the applicant, and an 

additional signed copy shall be retained by the issuer. A direct 

response issuer shall deliver to the applicant at the time of the 

issuance of the policy the notice regarding replacement of 
Medicare supplement coverage.  

E. The notice required by subsection D above of this section 

for an issuer shall be provided in substantially the following 
form in no less than 12 point type:  

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT 

OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE OR 
MEDICARE ADVANTAGE  

[Insurance company's name and address] (Insurance 

company's name and address) 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU 

IN THE FUTURE.  

According to [your application] [information you have 

furnished] (your application) (information you have 

furnished), you intend to terminate existing Medicare 

supplement insurance or Medicare Advantage and replace it 

with a policy to be issued by [Company Name] Insurance 

Company. Your new policy will provide 30 days within 

which you may decide without cost whether you desire to 
keep the policy.  

You should review this new coverage carefully. Compare it 
with all accident and sickness coverage you now have. If, after 

due consideration, you find that purchase of this Medicare 

supplement coverage is a wise decision, you should terminate 
your present Medicare supplement or Medicare Advantage 

coverage. You should evaluate the need for other accident and 
sickness coverage you have that may duplicate this policy.  

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT [OR 
OTHER REPRESENTATIVE] (OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE):  

I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance coverage. 
To the best of my knowledge, this Medicare supplement policy will 

not duplicate your existing Medicare supplement or, if applicable, 
Medicare Advantage coverage because you intend to terminate your 
existing Medicare supplement coverage or leave your Medicare 
Advantage plan. The replacement policy is being purchased for the 
following reason (check one):  

___ Additional benefits.  

___ No change in benefits, but lower premiums.  

___ Fewer benefits and lower premiums.  

___ My plan has outpatient prescription drug coverage and I am 
enrolling in Part D.  

___ Disenrollment from a Medicare Advantage plan. Please 
explain reason for disenrollment. (optional for Direct Mailers)  

___ Other. (please specify)  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  

_____________  
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1. Note: If the issuer of the Medicare supplement policy 

being applied for does not, or is otherwise prohibited from 

imposing preexisting condition limitations, please skip to 

statement 2 below. Health conditions which you may 

presently have (preexisting conditions) may not be 

immediately or fully covered under the new policy. This 

could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits under 

the new policy, whereas a similar claim might have been 
payable under your present policy.  

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or 

certificate may not contain new preexisting conditions, 

waiting periods, elimination periods or probationary 

periods. The insurer will waive any time periods applicable 

to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination 

periods or probationary periods in the new policy (or 

coverage) for similar benefits to the extent such time was 
spent (depleted) under the original policy.  

3. If you still wish to terminate your present policy and 

replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and 
completely answer all questions on the application 

concerning your medical and health history. Failure to 

include all material medical information on an application 

may provide a basis for the company to deny any future 

claims and to refund your premium as though your policy 

had never been in force. After the application has been 

completed and before you sign it, review it carefully to be 

certain that all information has been properly recorded. [If 

the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph 

need not appear.] (If the policy or certificate is guaranteed 
issue, this paragraph need not appear.) 

Do not cancel your present policy until you have received 

your new policy and are sure that you want to keep it.  

______________________________  

(Signature of Agent, or Other Representative)*  

[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, or Agent] (Typed 
Name and Address of Issuer, or Agent) 

______________________________  

(Applicant's Signature)  

______________________________  

(Date)  

*Signature not required for direct response sales.  

F. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice (applicable 

to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an issuer if the 

replacement does not involve the application of a new 
preexisting conditions limitation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6332; Filed June 23, 2020, 11:07 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-235. Rules Governing Health 

Insurance Balance Billing (adding 14VAC5-235-10, 

14VAC5-235-20, 14VAC5-235-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the State Corporation 

Commission, Bureau of Insurance has WITHDRAWN the 

revised proposed regulatory action for 14VAC5-235, Rules 

Governing Health Insurance Balance Billing, that was 

published in 36:12 VA.R. 1750-1753 February 3, 2020. The 

original proposed regulatory action was published in 35:23 
VA.R. 2692-2694 July 8, 2019. On June 11, 2020, the 

commission dismissed the action and withdrew the revised 

proposed regulation as described in Order of Dismissal of 
Case INS-2019-00081.   

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 11, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. INS-2019-00081 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting New 

Rules Governing Health Insurance Balance Billing  

ORDER OF DISMISSAL 

On June 6, 2019, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") commenced this proceeding by issuance of 

an Order To Take Notice as to new rules proposed by the 

Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to be set out under Chapter 

235 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled 

"Rules Governing Health Insurance Balance Billing" 
("Rules"), at 14 VAC 5-235-10 through 14 VAC 5-235-30. 

On January 14, 2020, after receiving public comments, oral 

argument and legal briefs from interested persons on the 

Bureau's proposed Rules, the Commission issued an Order To 

Take Notice of Revised Proposed Rules ("January Order"). 

The January Order gave notice of the Bureau's revisions to 
the proposed Rules and directed interested persons to submit 

any comments or requests for a hearing on the revised 
proposed Rules by March 20, 2020.  

On February 26, 2020, the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare 

Association ("VHHA") and Medical Society of Virginia 

("MSV") jointly filed a Motion for Extension of Time To 

Submit Comments on Revised Proposed Rules ("Motion"), 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss12/v36i12.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss23/v35i23.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol35/iss23/v35i23.pdf
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requesting that the Commission amend the January Order "to 

give all interested parties until April 20, 2020, to file 

comments and request a hearing regarding the Revised 

Proposed Rules." The VHHA and MSV cited, as the basis for 

their Motion, "legislation now pending before the General 

Assembly" that relates to health insurance balance billing and 

the revised proposed Rules. On March 3, 2020, the 

Commission granted the Motion and extended the period for 
commenting or requesting a hearing on the revised proposed 
Rules to April 24, 2020. 

During the 2020 legislative session and in view of the 

Bureau's pending proposed Rules, the General Assembly 

enacted new legislation addressing health insurance balance 

billing: House Bill 1251 ("HB 1251"), Chapter 1080 of the 

2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly; and Senate Bill 172 ("SB 

172"), Chapter 1081 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly. 

On April 10, 2020, the Governor of Virginia signed both bills 

into law. The new legislation includes similar provisions as 

those within the Bureau's proposed rules, as well as additional 
protections for consumers along with responsibilities for 

insurance carriers, healthcare facilities, and healthcare 
providers. 

Upon the enactment of HB 1251 and SB 172, the 

Commission received public comments from the Virginia 

Association of Health Plans, the VHHA, the MSV, the Office 

of the Attorney General's Division of Consumer Counsel, and 

the Virginia Poverty Law Center, requesting that the Bureau's 

revised proposed Rules be withdrawn and that this proceeding 

be dismissed in light of the new legislation on health 

insurance balance billing. The Bureau has not objected to 
these requests. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, in its discretion and having 

considered the newly-enacted legislation on health insurance 

balance billing, which largely embodies the goals of the 

revised proposed Rules, the public comments, and the lack of 

objection from the Bureau, is of the opinion that the Bureau's 

revised proposed Rules should be withdrawn and this 
proceeding should be dismissed. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The revised proposed Rules entitled "Rules Governing 

Health Insurance Balance Billing," recommended to be set 

out at 14 VAC 5-235-10 through 14 VAC 5-235-30, are 
withdrawn. 

(2) The case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 
placed in the file for ended causes. 

A COPY of this Order shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, and Katherine C. Creef, Assistant Attorney 

General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau 

of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Julie S. 
Blauvelt.  

Agency Contact: James Young, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9612, 

FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
james.young@scc.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6030; Filed June 17, 2020, 7:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-40, 

18VAC60-21-240). 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-30, 18VAC60-25-

180). 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants (amending 18VAC60-30-30, 18VAC60-

30-150).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 
email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the license renewal schedule for a 

dentist or dental hygienist or registration renewal for a 

dental assistant II from a set date of March 31 to renewal 

in the birth month of the dentist, dental hygienist, or dental 
assistant II.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC60-21-40. Required fees. 

A. Application/registration fees. 

1. Dental license by examination $400 

2. Dental license by credentials  $500 

3. Dental restricted teaching license  $285 

mailto:james.young@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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4. Dental faculty license $400 

5. Dental temporary resident's license $60 

6. Restricted volunteer license $25 

7. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

8. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

9. Cosmetic procedures certification $225 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation $250 

11. Moderate sedation permit $100 

12. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Dental license - active $285 

2. Dental license - inactive  $145 

3. Dental temporary resident's license $35 

4. Restricted volunteer license  $15 

5. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $175 

6. Cosmetic procedures certification  $100 

7. Moderate sedation permit $100 

8. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $100 

C. Late fees. 

1. Dental license - active  $100 

2. Dental license - inactive  $50 

3. Dental temporary resident's license  $15 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration  $55 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $35 

6. Moderate sedation permit $35 

7. Deep sedation/general anesthesia permit $35 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Dental license - expired $500 

2. Dental license - suspended $750 

3. Dental license - revoked $1000 

4. Oral maxillofacial surgeon registration $350 

5. Cosmetic procedures certification  $225 

E. Document fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. License certification $35 

F. Other fees. 

1. Returned check fee $35 

2. Practice inspection fee  $350 

G. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

H. For the renewal of licenses, registrations, certifications, 

and permits an active dental license in 2018 [ 2020 2021 ], the 

following fees shall be in effect fees shall be prorated 
according to a licensee's birth month as follows: 

1. Dentist - active $142 

2. Dentist - inactive $72 

3. Dental full-time faculty $142 

4. Temporary resident $17 

5. Dental restricted volunteer $7 

6. Oral/maxillofacial surgeon registration $87 

7. Cosmetic procedure certification $50 

8. Moderate sedation certification $50 

9. Deep sedation/general anesthesia $50 

10. Mobile clinic/portable operation 

January birth month 

February birth month 

March birth month 

April birth month 

May birth month 

June birth month 

July birth month 

August birth month 

September birth month 

October birth month 

November birth month 

December birth month 

$75 

$150 

$165 

$180 

$195 

$210 

$225 

$240 

$255 

$270 

$285 

$300 

$315 

Part V 
Licensure Renewal 

18VAC60-21-240. License renewal and reinstatement. 

A. The license or permit of any person who does not return 

the completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid, and his practice of 

dentistry shall be illegal. With the exception of practice with a 

current, restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-

2712.1 of the Code practicing in Virginia with an expired 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 24 Virginia Register of Regulations July 20, 2020 

2566 

license or permit may subject the licensee to disciplinary 
action by the board. 

B. Every Prior to [ 2021 2022 ], every person holding an 

active or inactive license and those holding a permit to 

administer moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia shall annually, on or before March 31, renew his 

license or permit. Beginning in January [ 2021 2022 ], every 

person holding an active or inactive license and those holding 
a permit to administer moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia shall annually renew his license or permit 

in his birth month in accordance with fees set forth 
18VAC60-21-40. 

C. Every person holding a faculty license, temporary 

resident's license, a restricted volunteer license, or a 

temporary permit shall, on or before June 30, request renewal 
of his license. 

C. D. Any person who does not return the completed form 

and fee by the deadline required in subsection B of this 
section shall be required to pay an additional late fee.  

D. E. The board shall renew a license or permit if the 

renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee are received within 

one year of the deadline required in subsection B of this 

section provided that no grounds exist to deny said renewal 

pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-
21-50 et seq.) of this chapter. 

E. F. Reinstatement procedures.  

1. Any person whose license or permit has expired for 

more than one year or whose license or permit has been 

revoked or suspended and who wishes to reinstate such 

license or permit shall submit a reinstatement application 

and the reinstatement fee. The application must include 
evidence of continuing competence.  

2. To evaluate continuing competence, the board shall 

consider (i) hours of continuing education that meet the 

requirements of subsection H of 18VAC60-21-250; (ii) 

evidence of active practice in another state or in federal 

service; (iii) current specialty board certification; (iv) 

recent passage of a clinical competency examination 

accepted by the board; or (v) a refresher program offered 

by a program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association.  

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired 

license or permit provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, the applicant has paid 

the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments, and no 

grounds exist to deny said reinstatement pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2706 of the Code and Part II (18VAC60-21-50 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 

18VAC60-25-30. Required fees. 

A. Application fees. 

1. License by examination $175 

2. License by credentials $275 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 
§ 54.1-2725 of the Code 

$175 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 
of the Code 

$175 

5. Restricted volunteer license $25 

6. Volunteer exemption registration $10 

B. Renewal fees. 

1. Active license $75 

2. Inactive license $40 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2725 

$75 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $75 

C. Late fees. 

1. Active license $25 

2. Inactive license $15 

3. License to teach dental hygiene pursuant to 
§ 54.1-2725 

$25 

4. Temporary permit pursuant to § 54.1-2726 $25 

D. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Expired license $200 

2. Suspended license $400 

3. Revoked license $500 

E. Administrative fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $60 

2. Duplicate license $20 

3. Certification of licensure $35 

4. Returned check $35 

F. No fee shall be refunded or applied for any purpose other 
than the purpose for which the fee was submitted. 

G. For the renewal of licenses an active dental hygienist 

license in 2018 [ 2020 2021 ], the following fees shall be in 

effect fees shall be prorated according to a licensee's birth 
month as follows: 

1. Dental hygienist - active $37 

2. Dental hygienist - inactive $20 

3. Dental hygienist restricted volunteer 

 

$7 
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January birth month 

February birth month 

March birth month 

April birth month 

May birth month 

June birth month 

July birth month 

August birth month 

September birth month 

October birth month 

November birth month 

December birth month 

$40 

$44 

$48 

$52 

$56 

$60 

$64 

$68 

$72 

$76 

$80 

$84 

Part V 

Licensure Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC60-25-180. Requirements for licensure renewal. 

A. An Prior to [ 2021 2022 ], an active or inactive dental 

hygiene license shall be renewed on or before March 31 each 

year. Beginning in January [ 2021 2022 ], an active or 

inactive dental hygiene license shall be renewed in the 
licensee's birth month each year.  

B. A faculty license, a restricted volunteer license, or a 

temporary permit shall be renewed on or before June 30 each 
year.  

B. C. The license of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in 
subsection A of this section shall automatically expire and 

become invalid and his practice of dental hygiene shall be 

illegal. With the exception of practice with a current, 

restricted volunteer license as provided in § 54.1-2726.1 of 

the Code, practicing in Virginia with an expired license may 
subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

C. D. Any person who does not return the completed form 

and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this 

section shall be required to pay an additional late fee. The 

board may renew a license if the renewal form, renewal fee, 

and late fee are received within one year of the deadline 
required in subsection A of this section. 

18VAC60-30-30. Required fees. 

A. Initial registration fee.  $100 

B. Renewal fees.  

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $50 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $25 

C. Late fees.   

1. Dental assistant II registration - active  $20 

2. Dental assistant II registration - inactive  $10 

D. Reinstatement fees.   

1. Expired registration $125 

2. Suspended registration  $250 

3. Revoked registration  $300 

E. Administrative fees.   

1. Duplicate wall certificate  $60 

2. Duplicate registration  $20 

3. Registration verification  $35 

4. Returned check fee  $35 

F. No fee will be refunded or applied for any purpose other 

than the purpose for which the fee is submitted.  

G. For the renewal of an active dental assistant II 

registration in 2018 [ 2020 2021 ], the fee shall be $25. For 

the renewal of an inactive dental assistant II registration in 

2018, the fee shall be $13. fees for renewal of an active dental 

assistant II registration shall be prorated according to the 
registrant's birth month as follows: 

January birth month 

February birth month 

March birth month 

April birth month 

May birth month 

June birth month 

July birth month 

August birth month 

September birth month 

October birth month 

November birth month 

December birth month 

$30 

$33 

$36 

$39 

$42 

$45 

$48 

$51 

$54 

$57 

$60 

$63 

Part V 

Requirements for Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC60-30-150. Registration renewal requirements. 

A. Every Prior to [ 2021 2022 ], every person holding an 

active or inactive registration shall annually, on or before 
March 31, renew his registration. Beginning in January of 

[ 2021 2022 ], every person holding an active or inactive 

registration shall annually renew his registration in his birth 

month. Any person who does not return the completed form 
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and fee by the deadline shall be required to pay an additional 
late fee.  

B. The registration of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline shall 

automatically expire and become invalid and his practice as a 

dental assistant II shall be illegal. Practicing in Virginia with 

an expired registration may subject the registrant to 
disciplinary action by the board.  

C. In order to renew registration, a dental assistant II shall 

be required to maintain and attest to current certification from 

the Dental Assisting National Board or another national 

credentialing organization recognized by the American 
Dental Association. 

D. A dental assistant II shall also be required to maintain 

evidence of successful completion of training in basic 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

E. Following the renewal period, the board may conduct an 

audit of registrants to verify compliance. Registrants selected 

for audit shall provide original documents certifying current 
certification. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5382; Filed June 24, 2020, 6:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-101. Regulations Governing 

Purchases of Handguns Within a 30-Day Period (adding 

19VAC30-101-10 through 19VAC30-101-120).  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Lieutenant Becky Cranis-Curl, Assistant 

Criminal Justice Information Services Officer, Department of 

State Police, 7700 Midlothian Turnpike, North Chesterfield, 
VA 23235, telephone (804) 674-2643, FAX (804) 674-8531, 
or email becky.cranis-curl@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action creates a new chapter, 19VAC30-

101, Purchases of Handguns Within a 30-Day Period, 

governing the requirements, procedures, application 

process, and appeal process regarding purchases of 

multiple handguns within a 30-day period. This chapter 

complies with subsection R of § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code 

of Virginia, enacted by Chapter 991 of the 2020 Acts of 
Assembly.  

CHAPTER 101 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING PURCHASES OF 
HANDGUNS WITHIN A 30-DAY PERIOD 

19VAC30-101-10. Definitions. (Reserved.) 

Part I 
Reports by Dealers 

19VAC30-101-20. Notification of sale or transfer. 

A. Any dealer in firearms who completes a sale or transfer 

of a handgun without having been advised by the Department 

of State Police if the dealer's records indicate the buyer or 

transferee is prohibited from possessing or transporting a 

firearm by state or federal law, because the dealer was not so 

advised by the end of the dealer's third business day, or was 

told by the State Police that a response would not be available 

by the end of the dealer's third business day, shall notify the 
Department of State Police of the sale or transfer by 

telephone as soon as possible, but in no event later than the 
end of the dealer's next business day. 

B. Any dealer in firearms who requests and receives 

criminal history record information in connection with an 

intended sale or transfer of a handgun that indicates the 

prospective purchaser or transferee is not prohibited from 

possessing or transporting a firearm by state or federal law 

shall notify the Department of State Police by telephone as 

soon as possible, but in no event later than the end of the 

dealer's next business day, whenever the dealer determines 
that the sale or transfer will not be completed. 

Part II 
Applications 

19VAC30-101-30. Application for multiple handgun 

purchase. 

Any person desiring to purchase in excess of one handgun 

within any 30-day period shall make application under oath 

on Form SP-207, Multiple Handgun Purchase Application. 

The applicant shall deliver such application in person to (i 

State Police Administrative Headquarters, 7700 Midlothian 

Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia; (ii) a division headquarters or 

area office of the Department of State Police; or (iii) any local 
law-enforcement agency certified by the Department of State 
Police as its agent to receive such applications. 

19VAC30-101-40. Identification requirements. 

At the time of delivery of the application form required by 

19VAC30-101-30, the applicant shall present one form of 

identification. The form of identification shall consist of a 

photo-identification form issued by a governmental agency of 

mailto:becky.cranis-curl@vsp.virginia.gov
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the Commonwealth or by the U.S. Department of Defense 
that was issued at least 30 days prior to presentation. 

19VAC30-101-50. Transfer to someone other than 

applicant. 

If the application indicates that the purchase is for the 

purpose of further transfer of a handgun to someone other 

than the applicant, the applicant shall also provide the name, 

social security number, sex, height, weight, race, all residence 
addresses within the past five years, date of birth, place of 

birth, and citizenship of the person to whom the further 
transfer is to be made. 

19VAC30-101-60. Evaluation of application. 

The application must demonstrate that the purpose of the 

purchase of more than one handgun within any 30-day period 

is not prohibited or illegal under any federal, state, or local 
law.  

Part III 

Enhanced Background Check 

19VAC30-101-70. Enhanced background check. 

A. Upon receipt of a completed application form, a division 

headquarters or area office of the Department of State Police 

or a local law-enforcement agency certified by the 

Department of State Police as its agent to receive such 

application shall transmit the application, in accordance with 

policies and procedures prescribed by the Department of State 

Police, to State Police Administrative Headquarters. Upon 

receipt at administrative headquarters, the Department of 

State Police will conduct an enhanced background check of 

the applicant and any person to whom any handgun to be 

purchased is to be transferred. This check will include a 

search of all available criminal history record information, 
including national, state, and local indices. The Department of 

State Police will make inquiry of the local law-enforcement 

agency having jurisdiction in the applicant's and any 

transferee's place of residence within the past five years as to 

any factors that would make the proposed purchase illegal 

under federal, state, or local law prior to approval of any 
transaction. 

B. The enhanced background check shall be conducted 

without delay and shall be completed as soon as possible after 

receipt of the application at administrative headquarters. 

However, in case of electronic failure or other circumstances 
beyond the control of the State Police, the State Police shall 

complete the enhanced background check as soon as possible 

after the circumstances causing the delay have been corrected 
or overcome. 

C. Before granting a multiple purchase certificate, the 

Department of State Police or its agents may make such 

inquiry of the applicant and others as the Department of State 

Police may deem necessary to determine that the application 

is bona fide and that the information contained in the 

application is true and accurate. The Department of State 

Police shall not issue a multiple purchase certificate until 

satisfied that the requirements of § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code 
of Virginia and this chapter have been met. 

Part IV 

Certificate 

19VAC30-101-80. Issuance of certificate. 

Upon being satisfied that the proposed purchase meets the 

requirements of § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia and 

this chapter, the Department of State Police shall issue or 

authorize its agent to issue to the applicant a nontransferable 

certificate authorizing the purchase of a specified number and 

type of handguns. The nontransferable certificate shall be 

valid for seven days from the date of issue. The Department 

of State Police or its agent shall make one attempt to contact 

the applicant to notify the applicant of the issuance or denial 

of the certificate at a telephone number provided by the 
applicant at the time of delivery of the application. 

19VAC30-101-90. Retention of certificate. 

Upon delivery of the certificate issued pursuant to 

19VAC30-101-80, a prospective transferor may proceed to 

transfer the number and type of handguns specified in the 

certificate provided the transferor has complied with the 

provisions of § 18.2-308.2:2 B of the Code of Virginia. If the 

transferor is a dealer in firearms as defined in § 54.1-4200 of 

the Code of Virginia, the certificate shall be surrendered to 

the transferor by the applicant prior to the consummation of 

such sale and shall be kept on file at the transferor's place of 

business for a period of not less than two years. If the 

transferor is not a dealer in firearms, the transferor shall attest 

in writing on the reverse of the certificate, indicating the date 
the transfer was completed, and the transferee shall return the 

certificate to the office that issued the certificate. The 

returned certificate shall then be forwarded to State Police 
Administrative Headquarters. 

Part V 
Appeals 

19VAC30-101-100. Appealing the denial of a certificate. 

Any person denied a certificate for the purchase of more 

than one handgun within any 30-day period may appeal such 

denial to the Superintendent of State Police. Such appeal shall 

be in writing, setting forth any grounds the applicant wishes 
to be considered. The Superintendent of State Police shall 

consider each such appeal and notify the applicant in writing 

of his decision within five business days after the day on 
which the appeal is received. 
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Part VI 
Agents 

19VAC30-101-110. Agents certified to receive applications 

and issue certificates. 

A. Any local law-enforcement agency may request that it be 

certified as an agent for the Department of State Police to receive 
applications and issue certificates pursuant to this chapter. Any 

such request shall be in writing, directed to the Superintendent of 
State Police, and designate the particular individuals within the 

local agency who will perform these duties. Only such 

designated individuals shall accept applications or issue 
certificates. Prior to certification of a local law-enforcement 

agency as an agent, each of its designated individuals must 
successfully complete a four-hour training course provided by 

the Department of State Police. Upon receipt of a request from a 
local law-enforcement agency and the successful completion of 

the prescribed training course by its designated individuals, the 
Superintendent of State Police shall certify such agency as an 

agent for the Department of State Police to receive applications 
and issue certificates pursuant to these regulations. 

B. Any agent certified as provided in subsection A of this 
section shall have the authority to receive applications and issue 

certificates pursuant to this chapter in accordance with policies 
and procedures prescribed by the Department of State Police. 

Part VII 
Replacement of Lost or Stolen Handgun 

19VAC30-101-120. Replacement of handgun. 

A person whose handgun is stolen or irretrievably lost who 

deems it essential that such handgun be replaced immediately 

may purchase a single handgun without obtaining the certificate 
required by this chapter, even if the person has previously 

purchased a handgun within a 30-day period, provided the person 
provides the transferor with a copy of the official report or a 

summary of the official police report from the law-enforcement 
agency that took the report of the lost or stolen handgun. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have been 
filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 
click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms 
are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 
Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (19VAC30-101) 

Virginia Firearms Transaction Record, SP-65 (rev. 7-1-
2020) 

Multiple Handgun Purchase Application, SP-207 (rev. 7-1-
2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6385; Filed June 25, 2020, 9:45 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 21. SECURITIES AND RETAIL 
FRANCHISING 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 21VAC5-40. Exempt Securities and 

Transactions (amending 21VAC5-40-190; adding 

21VAC5-40-200).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 13.1-523 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jude Richnafsky, Principle Examiner, 

Securities and Retail Franchising, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9883, FAX (804) 371-9911, or email 
jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) allowing entities that are based in 
Virginia but organized outside of Virginia to claim the 

intrastate crowdfunding exemption in accordance with 
Chapters 279 and 331 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly by adding 

federal Securities and Exchange Commission Rule 147A 

issuers, (ii) eliminating the prohibition on debt securities for 
intrastate crowdfunding offerings, (iii) adding an exemption 

for nonissuer distribution securities transactions in 
accordance with Chapter 256 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

and (iv) restricting such nonissuer distribution transactions to 
the OTCQX Tier of the OTC Market.  

Changes to the proposed regulation (i) delete the words 
"broker-dealer" and "agent" in 21VAC5-40-200 to conform to 

subdivision B 23 of § 13.1-514 of the Code of Virginia 
enacted by Chapter 256 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly and (ii) 

add language to the legend requirement contained in 
subdivision A 8 of 21VAC5-40-190 that references federal 

Security and Exchange Commission's Rule 147A to conform 
with the amendment to subdivision B 21 of § 13.1-514 of the 

Code of Virginia in Chapters 331 and 279 of the 2020 Acts of 
Assembly. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=610f4006385~35.pdf&typ=40&actno=006385&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=610f4006385~35.pdf&typ=40&actno=006385&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9c91006385~40.pdf&typ=40&actno=006385&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d9c91006385~40.pdf&typ=40&actno=006385&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jude.richnafsky@scc.virginia.gov
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AT RICHMOND, JUNE 25, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. SEC-2020-00022 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting a Revision to the Rules 
Governing the Virginia Securities Act 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDED RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered on April 29, 

2020,1 all interested persons were ordered to take notice that 

the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") would 

consider the adoption of revisions to Chapter 40 of Title 21 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code. On May 4, 2020,2 the 

Division of Securities and Retail Franchising ("Division") 

mailed and emailed the Order of the proposed rules to all 

interested persons pursuant to the Virginia Securities Act 

("Act"), § 13.1-501 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. The Order 

described the proposed revisions and afforded interested 

persons an opportunity to file comments and request a 

hearing on or before June 8, 2020, with the Clerk of the 

Commission. The Order provided that requests for a hearing 

shall state why a hearing is necessary and why the issues 
cannot be addressed adequately in written comments.  

The Commission received one comment in support of the 

proposed revisions from OTC Markets Group, Inc. The 

Commission received no other comments to the proposed 
revisions, and no person requested a hearing. 

The Order proposed revisions to Chapter 40 (Exempt 

Securities and Transactions), 21VAC5-40-10 et seq., 

following legislative changes to the Act by the 2020 General 

Assembly. These revisions sought to: (a) amend 21VAC5-40-

190 concerning the Intrastate Crowdfunding Exemptions; and 

(b) create a new rule (designated as 21VAC5-40-200) 
allowing an exemption for non-issuer distribution. 

Following entry of the Order, the Division proposes two 

conforming changes to proposed rule 21VAC5-40-200 which 

deletes the words "broker-dealer" and "agent," as well as the 

associated punctuation and conjunction, to conform the final 

proposed rule with new subsection 23 to § 13.1-514 B of the 

Act passed by the 2020 General Assembly. Regarding the 

second conforming change, the Division has added language 

to the legend requirement contained in subsection A 8 of Rule 

21 VAC5-40-190 that reads "SEC RULE 147A" and 

"SUBSECTIONS (e) AND (f) OF SEC RULE 147A" to 
conform with the amendment to subsection 21 of § 13.1-514 

B of the Act passed by the 2020 General Assembly. The 

attached documents indicate the conformed changes in 
brackets. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

proposed rules and the conforming changes to those rules, the 

recommendations of the Division, and the record in this case, 
finds that the proposed amendments should be adopted.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The revised proposed rules are attached hereto, made a 

part of hereof, and hereby are ADOPTED effective July 1, 
2020. 

(2) A COPY hereof, together with a copy of the adopted 

rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission in care of 
Ronald W. Thomas, Director of the Division, who forthwith 

shall give further notice of the adopted rules by mailing or 
emailing a copy of this Order to all interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 

adopted rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations.  

(4) This case is dismissed from the Commission's docket, and 

the papers herein shall be placed in the filed for ended causes. 

____________________ 
1Doc. Con. Cen. No 200430130. 

2The notice was published by the Virginia Registrar of Regulations in the 

May 25, 2020 issue.  Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200630012. 

21VAC5-40-190. Intrastate crowdfunding exemption. 

A. In accordance with § 13.1-514 B 21 of the Act, an offer 

or sale of a security by an issuer is exempt from the securities, 

broker-dealer and agent registration requirements of the Act if 
the offer or sale meets all of the following requirements: 

1. The issuer of the security is a business entity: 

a. Formed under the laws of the Commonwealth; 

however, if conducting an offering in accordance with 

SEC Rule 147A, the issuer may be formed and organized 

outside the Commonwealth provided the issuer meets 

one of the requirements as stated in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection; 

b. Authorized to do business in the Commonwealth; and 

c. That has its principal place of business in the 

Commonwealth. 

2. The offering is sold only to residents of the 

Commonwealth in compliance with the requirements for 
the federal exemption for intrastate offerings under 

§ 3(a)(11) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 USC 

77c(a)(11), and SEC Rule 147, 17 CFR 230.147 or SEC 

Rule 147A. If an offering is conducted by an issuer using 

SEC Rule 147A the offering may be made available to 

residents outside the Commonwealth as long as the sale of 
the security is made to residents of the Commonwealth. 

3. The securities offered and sold pursuant to this 

exemption are equity securities of the issuer. This 

exemption is not available to debt offerings. Issuers 
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utilizing SEC Rule 147A that are not formed under the 

laws of the Commonwealth must meet one of the following 

requirements of conducting business in the 
Commonwealth: 

a. The issuer derived at least 80% of its consolidated 

gross revenues from the operation of a business or of real 

property located in the Commonwealth or from the 
rendering of services in the Commonwealth. 

b. The issuer had at least 80% of its consolidated assets 
located in the Commonwealth. 

c. The issuer intends to use and uses at least 80% of the 

net proceeds from the offering toward the operation of a 

business or of real property in the Commonwealth, the 

purchase of real property located in the Commonwealth, 
or the rendering of services in the Commonwealth. 

d. A majority of the issuer's employees are based in the 

Commonwealth. 

4. The sum of all cash and other consideration to be 

received for all sales of the securities in reliance on this 
exemption does not exceed $2 million, less the aggregate 

amount received for all sales of securities by the issuer 

within 12 months before the first offer or sale made in 
reliance upon this exemption, and if the offering is: 

a. $500,000 or less, if the issuer has financial statements 

prepared the previous year that have been certified by the 

principal executive officer of the issuer to be true and 
complete in all material respects; 

b. More than $500,000 but less than $1 million, if the 

issuer has undergone a financial review of the financial 

statements of its most recently completed fiscal year, 

conducted by an independent certified public accountant 
in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles; or 

c. $1 million or more, if the issuer has undergone an 

audit of the financial statements of its most recently 

completed fiscal year, conducted by an independent 

certified public accountant in accordance with generally 
accepted accounting principles. 

5. The issuer has not accepted more than $10,000 from any 

single purchaser unless the purchaser is an accredited 

investor as defined by Rule 501 of SEC Regulation D, 
17 CFR 230.501.  

6. At least 20 days before an offer of securities is made in 

reliance on this exemption or the use of any publicly 

available Internet website in connection with an offering of 

securities in reliance on this exemption, the issuer files 

with the commission in writing or in electronic form, all of 
the following: 

a. A notice of claim of exemption from registration on 

Form ICE specifying that the issuer intends to conduct an 

offering in reliance on this exemption, accompanied by a 

nonrefundable filing fee of $250 payable to the Treasurer 
of Virginia. 

b. A copy of the disclosure statement or Form ICE to be 

provided to prospective investors in connection with the 

offering. The disclosure statement or Form ICE shall 
contain all of the following: 

(1) A description of the issuer, including type of entity, 

the address and telephone number of its principal office, 
its formation history, and its business plan; 

(2) A description of the intended use of the offering 

proceeds, including any amounts to be paid, as 

compensation or otherwise, to any owner, executive 

officer, director, managing member, or other person 

occupying a similar status or performing similar 
functions on behalf of the issuer; 

(3) The identity of each person that owns more than 10% 

of the ownership interests of any class of securities of the 

issuer and the amount of said securities held by such 
person; 

(4) The identity of the executive officers, directors, or 

managing members of the issuer and any other 

individuals who occupy similar status or perform similar 

functions in the name of and on behalf of the issuer, 
including their titles and their prior business experience; 

(5) The terms and conditions of the securities being 
offered including: 

(a) The type and amounts of any outstanding securities of 

the issuer; 

(b) The minimum and maximum amount of securities 

being offered, if any; 

(c) Either the percentage ownership of the issuer 

represented by the offered securities or the valuation of 
the issuer implied by the price of the offered securities; 

(d) The price per share, unit, or interest of the securities 
being offered; 

(e) Any restrictions on transfer of the securities being 
offered; and 

(f) A disclosure of any anticipated future issuance of 

securities that might dilute the value of the securities 
being offered; 

(6) The identity of any person that the issuer has or 

intends to retain to assist the issuer in conducting the 

offer and sale of the securities, including the owner of 

any websites, if known, but excluding any person acting 

solely as an accountant or attorney and any employees 

whose primary job responsibilities involve the operating 

business of the issuer rather than assisting the issuer in 
raising capital; 
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(7) For each person identified as required in subdivision 

6 b (6) of this subsection, a description of the 

consideration being paid to the person for such 
assistance; 

(8) A description of any litigation or legal proceedings 

involving the issuer or any executive officer, director, or 

managing member or other person occupying a similar 

status or performing similar functions on behalf of the 
issuer;  

(9) The issuer's financial statements for the three most 

recent fiscal years or for as much time as the issuer has 
been in existence, if less than three years; 

(10) The name and address, including the uniform 

resource locator, of each Internet website that will be 

used by the issuer to offer or sell securities under an 
exemption under this section; and 

(11) Any additional information material to the offering, 

including, if appropriate, a discussion of significant risk 

factors that make the offering speculative or risky. This 
discussion shall be concise and organized logically and 

may not be limited to risks that could apply to any issuer 
or any offering. 

c. An escrow agreement with a bank or other depository 

institution located in this Commonwealth, in which the 

purchaser funds will be deposited. At a minimum the 

escrow agreement shall provide that all offering proceeds 

will be released to the issuer only when the aggregate 

capital raised from all purchasers is equal to or greater 

than the minimum target offering amount specified in the 

disclosure statement as necessary to implement the 

business plan and all purchasers will receive a return of 
their subscription funds if that target offering amount is 

not raised by the time stated in the disclosure statement. 

The depository institution may contract with the issuer to 

collect reasonable fees for its escrow services regardless 

of whether the target offering amount is reached; 

however such fees shall not be deducted from purchaser 

funds if the target offering amount is not raised by the 

time stated in the disclosure statement. The issuer shall 

disclose in its disclosure statement or Form ICE whether 

any interest earned on escrowed purchaser funds will be 

paid to purchasers on a pro rata basis if the minimum 
target amount, as described above, is not raised.  

7. The issuer is not, either before or as a result of the 
offering: 

a. A company that is engaged or proposes to engage in 

the business of investing, reinvesting, owning, holding or 

trading in securities, including an investment company as 

defined by 15 USC § 80a-3, or a hedge fund, commodity 
pool, or similar investment vehicle; 

b. Subject to the reporting requirements of § 13 or 15(d) 

of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 USC 78m 
and 78o(d);  

c. A company that has not yet defined its business 

operations, has no business plan, has no stated 

investment goal for the funds being raised, or that plans 

to engage in a merger with or acquisition of an 

unspecified business entity or entities, or without an 
allocation of proceeds to sufficiently identifiable 
properties or objectives; or 

d. A company that is engaged in or proposes to engage in 

petroleum exploration or production, mining, or other 
extractive industries. 

8. The issuer informs each prospective purchaser that the 

securities are not registered under federal or state securities 

laws and that the securities are subject to limitations on 

transfer or resale and displays the following legend 

conspicuously on the cover page of the disclosure 
statement: 

THESE SECURITIES ARE BEING SOLD IN 

RELIANCE ON AN EXEMPTION TO THE FEDERAL 

SECURITIES REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

UNDER SECTION 3(a)(11) OF THE SECURITIES 

ACT OF 1933 [ OR SEC RULE 147A ] AND UNDER 

SECTION 13.1-514 OF THE VIRGINIA SECURITIES 

ACT. THESE SECURITIES CAN ONLY BE SOLD TO 

RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA AND ARE SUBJECT TO 

RESTRICTIONS ON TRANSFERABILITY AND 

RESALE AS CONTAINED IN SUBSECTIONS (e) 

AND (f) OF SEC RULE 147, 17 CFR 230.147 [ AND 

SUBSECTIONS (e) AND (f) OF SEC RULE 147A ]. 
INVESTORS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THEY 

WILL BE REQUIRED TO BEAR THE FINANCIAL 

RISKS OF THIS INVESTMENT FOR AN 

INDEFINITE PERIOD OF TIME AND THAT THEY 

MAY LOSE ALL OF THE INVESTMENT AND CAN 
AFFORD THE LOSS OF THE INVESTMENT. 

IN MAKING AN INVESTMENT DECISION, 

INVESTORS SHOULD RELY ON THEIR OWN 

EXAMINATION OF THE ISSUER AND THE TERMS 

REVEALED IN THESE OFFERING DOCUMENTS, 
INCLUDING THE MERITS AND RISKS INVOLVED. 

THESE SECURITIES HAVE NOT BEEN 

RECOMMENDED BY ANY FEDERAL OR STATE 

AUTHORITY OR REGULATORY COMMISSION 

NOR HAVE THESE ENTITIES CONFIRMED THE 

ACCURACY OR DETERMINED THE ADEQUACY 

OF THIS DOCUMENT. ANY REPRESENTATION TO 
THE CONTRARY IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE. 

9. If the offer and sale of securities under this section is 

made through the Internet, all of the following 
requirements are met: 
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a. Any person acting as the Internet website operator 

shall be an issuer, a registered broker-dealer, or a funding 

portal that is in compliance with all commission, SEC, 

and FINRA requirements, including, if it is a funding 

portal, making any required notice filings with the 
commission; 

b. Internet website operators shall comply with all 

commission, SEC, and FINRA requirements applicable 
to intrastate offerings through the Internet; 

c. Internet website operators shall maintain records of all 

offers and sales of securities effected through its Internet 
website for five years from the close of the offering; and 

d. The issuer and the Internet website operator shall keep 

and maintain records of the offers and sales of securities 

made through the Internet website for five years from the 

close of the offering. The issuer and the Internet website 

operator shall promptly provide ready access to the 

records to the commission on request. The commission 

may access, inspect, and review any Internet website 
described in this subdivision 9 and its records. 

10. All payments for the purchase of securities are directed 

to and held by the depository institution subject to the 
provisions of subdivision 6 c of this subsection. 

11. The issuer does not pay, directly or indirectly, any 

commission or remuneration to an executive officer, 

director, managing member, or other individual who has a 

similar status or performs similar functions in the name of 

and on behalf of the issuer for offering or selling the 

securities unless he is registered as a broker-dealer agent 

under the Act. An executive officer, director, managing 

member, or other individual who has a similar status or 
performs similar functions in the name of and on behalf of 

the issuer is exempt from the agent registration 

requirements of the Act if he does not receive, directly or 

indirectly, any commission or remuneration for offering or 

selling securities of the issuer that are exempt from 
registration under this section. 

12. The issuer provides a copy of Form ICE or the 

disclosure statement provided to the commission under 

subdivision 6 b of this subsection to each prospective 

purchaser at the time the offer of securities is made to the 
prospective purchaser. 

13.The term of the offering does not exceed 12 months 
after the date of the first offer. 

B. The issuer shall provide an annual report to the issuer's 

purchasers for each of the issuer's next three fiscal years, the 

first of which being that fiscal year that ends following the 

commencement of the offering. All of the following apply to 
the annual report described in this subsection: 

1. The issuer shall provide the report free of charge to the 

purchasers; 

2. An issuer may satisfy the report requirement under this 

subsection by making the information available on an 

Internet website if the information is made available within 

45 days after the end of each fiscal year and remains 
available until the next annual report is issued; 

3. The issuer shall file each report with the commission 

and shall provide a written copy of the report to any 
purchaser on request; and 

4. The report shall include all of the following: 

a. The compensation received by each director and 

executive officer of the issuer, including cash 

compensation earned since the previous report and on an 

annual basis and any bonuses, stock options, other rights 

to receive securities of the issuer or any affiliate of the 
issuer, or other compensation received; and 

b. An analysis by management of the issuer's business 

operations and financial condition. 

C. The exemption provided in this section shall not be used 

in conjunction with any other exemption under the Act, 
except offers and sales to control persons shall not count 
toward the limitation in subdivision A 4 of this section.  

D. The exemption described in this section shall not be 

available to the issuer if the issuer, any of the issuer's 

predecessors, any affiliate of the issuer, or any control person 
of the issuer: 

1. Within the past 10 years, has filed a registration 

statement that is the subject of a currently effective 

registration stop order entered by any state securities 
administrator or the SEC; 

2. Within the past 10 years, has been convicted of any 

criminal offense in connection with the offer, purchase, or 
sale of any security, or involving fraud or deceit; 

3. Is currently subject to any state or federal administrative 

enforcement order or judgment, entered within the past 10 

years, finding fraud or deceit in connection with the 
purchase or sale of any security; or 

4. Is currently subject to any order, judgment, or decree of 

any court of competent jurisdiction, entered within the past 

10 years, that temporarily, preliminarily, or permanently 

restrains or enjoins the party from engaging in or 

continuing to engage in any conduct or practice involving 

fraud or deceit in connection with the purchase or sale of 
any security. 

E. Subsection D of this section shall not apply if:  

1. The party subject to the disqualification is licensed or 

registered to conduct securities-related business in the state 

in which the order, judgment, or decree creating the 
disqualification was entered against such party;  
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2. Before the first offer under this exemption, the state 

securities administrator, or the court or regulatory authority 

that entered the order, judgment, or decree, waives the 
disqualification; or  

3. The issuer establishes it did not know and exercising 

reasonable care, based on a factual inquiry, could not have 
known that a disqualification existed under this subsection. 

F. An Internet website through which an offer or sale of 

securities under this section is made is not subject to the 

broker-dealer or agent registration requirements of the Act if 
the Internet website meets all of the following conditions: 

1. It does not offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. It does not solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the 
securities offered or displayed on the Internet website; 

3. It does not compensate employees, agents, or other 

persons for the solicitation or based on the sale of 

securities displayed or referenced on the Internet website; 
and 

4. It does not hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle 

purchaser funds or securities. 

G. As used in this section, "financial review" means a 

limited inquiry and analytical procedure of much narrower 

scope than an audit, undertaken by a certified public 

accountant for the purpose of expressing limited assurance 

that financial statements are presented in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles. 

H. As used in this section, "control person" means (i) an 

officer, director, partner, managing member, trustee, or other 

person having the power, directly or indirectly, to direct the 

management or policies of the issuer, whether by contract or 

otherwise; or (ii) a person that owns 10% or more of any class 
of the outstanding securities of the issuer. 

I. As used in this section, "funding portal" means any person 

acting as an intermediary in a transaction involving the offer 

or sale of securities for the account of others, solely pursuant 
to § 4(6) of the Securities Act of 1933 that does not: 

1. Offer investment advice or recommendations; 

2. Solicit purchases, sales, or offers to buy the securities 
offered or displayed on its Internet website or portal; 

3. Compensate employees, agents, or other persons for 

such solicitation or based on the sales of securities 
displayed or referenced on its Internet website or portal; 

4. Hold, manage, possess, or otherwise handle investor 
funds or securities; or 

5. Engage in such other activities as the SEC, by rule, 
determines inappropriate. 

J. The issuer or other designated person shall be notified by 

letter or electronic communication when the exemption filing 

is effective. If, however, on or before the initial 

commencement date of the offering, and after timely filing 

the materials required by subdivision A 6 of this section with 

the commission, the issuer has not been notified that any one 

or more of the filed materials fails to conform to the 

requirements of this section, the proposed offering shall be 
deemed effective. 

K. Upon completion of an offering made in reliance on this 

exemption, the issuer shall file a final sales report with the 

commission, by letter or electronic communication, no later 

than 30 days after the last sale in the offering that includes the 
following information: 

1. The time period in which the offering was open; 

2. The number of investors that purchased shares or units 
in the offering; 

3. The dollar amount sold in the offering; and 

4. The dollar amount, if any, returned to investors, 

purchasers, or subscribers. 

21VAC5-40-200. Nonissuer distribution. 

In accordance with § 13.1-514 B 23 of the Act, an offer or 

sale of a security by an issuer is exempt from the securities [ , 

broker-dealer, and agent ] registration requirements of the Act 
if the offer or sale meets all of the following requirements: 

1. Securities involved in these transactions are for 
nonissuer distribution only; and 

2. Securities in these transactions are to be limited to the 
OTCQX Market Tier of the OTC Market. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6357; Filed June 26, 2020, 10:50 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Board of Social Services 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-665. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-665-230, 22VAC40-665-580).  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, and 63.2-611 of 
the Code of Virginia; 45 CFR 98.11. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Gibbons, Senior Program 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-6749, or 
email jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments bring state Child Care Subsidy Program 

requirements into compliance with 45 CFR 98.41(a)(1)(x) 

(First Aid and CPR) by requiring first aid training for 

participating child care providers be age appropriate for 
the children in care.  

22VAC40-665-230. Caregiver training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the perspective 

vendor shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child 

Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social Services, 

which shall include the following topics and training 
modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 
of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 
immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 
contaminated by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or service all 

caregivers shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social 

Services, which shall include training on the following topics 
and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 
responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 
immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 
contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

C. All caregivers hired prior to October 17, 2018, shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff 

sponsored by the Department of Social Services, to include 

all of the topics described in subsection B of this section, 

within January 16, 2019. This training may count for staff 
annual training requirements in subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for caregivers shall be completed on 

the following specific topics prior to the caregiver working 

alone with children and within seven days of the date of 
employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 
neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, medical and general 
emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

mailto:jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov
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7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-
665-400 B;  

8. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 
disasters; 

9. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 
distraught children; 

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

11. Caregivers who work with children who have food 

allergies shall receive training in preventing exposure to 

foods to which the child is allergic, preventing cross 

contamination and recognizing and responding to any 
allergic reactions; and 

12. Transportation. 

E. All caregivers shall have within 90 days of employment 

or 90 days from subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age ages of children in care. The 
training shall include an in-person competency 
demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid appropriate to the ages 

of children in care. However, a caregiver who is a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 

license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 
obtain first aid certification. 

During the 90-day period, there must always be at least one 

caregiver with current cardiopulmonary and first aid training 
present during operating hours of the family day home.  

F. Caregivers employed prior to October 17, 2018, must 

complete CPR and first aid training as required by this section 
within January 16, 2019. During this 90-day period, there 

must always be at least one caregiver with current 

cardiopulmonary and first aid training present during 
operating hours of the family day home.  

G. CPR and first aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 
22VAC40-665-180 is maintained. 

H. Caregivers who work directly with children shall, in 

addition to preservice and orientation training required in 

subsections A through D of this section, annually attend at 
least 16 hours of training, to include the department's health 

and safety update course. This training shall be related to 

child safety, child development, health and safety in the 

family day home environment, and any required department 
sponsored training.  

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

caregiver who has satisfactorily completed a training program 

for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing and 

taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a caregiver who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The vendor may determine by policy what medications, if 

any, will be administered at its family day home, including 

prescription medications or over-the-counter or 
nonprescription medications.  

J. Caregivers required to have the training required in 

subsection I of this section shall be retrained at three-year 
intervals.  

22VAC40-665-580. Staff training and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the vendor or 

designee shall complete the Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff, which shall include training on the 
following topics and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 
safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 
of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 
immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 
contaminated by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or subsidy vendor 

approval all staff who work directly with children shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff, 
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which shall include training on the following topics and 
training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 
trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 
and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 
responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including 
immunization requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items 
contaminated by body fluids;  

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

C. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed prior to October 17, 2018, shall complete Virginia 

Preservice Training for Child Care Staff sponsored by the 

Department of Social Services, to include all of the topics 

applicable to new staff, within January 16, 2019. This training 

may count for staff annual training requirements in subsection 
H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for staff shall be completed on the 

following facility specific topics prior to the staff member 

working alone with children and within seven days of the date 
of employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 
neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, and medical and general 
emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-
665-770 B;  

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 
distraught children; 

9. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices;  

10. Staff who work with children that have food allergies 

shall receive training in preventing exposure to foods to 

which the child is allergic, preventing cross contamination, 

and recognizing and responding to any allergic reactions; 
and 

11. Transportation. 

E. All staff who work directly with children shall have 

within 90 days of the date of employment or 90 days from 
subsidy vendor approval:  

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the age ages of children in care. The 
training shall include an in-person competency 
demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid appropriate to the ages 

of children in care. However, staff who is a registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current license 

from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to obtain 
first aid certification. 

During the 90-day period, there must always be at least one 

staff with current CPR and first aid training present during 
operating hours of the center.  

F. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed by an approved vendor prior to October 17, 2018, 
must complete CPR and first aid training as required by this 

section within January 16, 2019. During this 90 days, there 

must always be at least one staff with current CPR and first 
aid training present during operating hours of the center.  

G. CPR and First Aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 
22VAC40-665-530 is maintained. 

H. Staff who work directly with children shall, in addition to 

preservice and orientation training required in subsections A 

through D of this section, annually attend at least 16 hours of 
training and staff development activities, to include the 

department's health and safety update course. Training shall 

be related to child safety, child development, the function of 
the center, and any required department sponsored training. 

I. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 
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staff member who has satisfactorily completed a training 

program for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing 

and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 

nurse practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a staff member who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The administration of medicines by a vendor may be limited 

by policy to: 

1. Prescription medications; 

2. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

3. No medications.  

J. Staff required to have the training specified in subsection I 
of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

K. There shall be at least one staff on duty who has obtained 

within the last three years instruction in performing a daily 

health observation of children. Daily health observation 
training shall include: 

1. Components of daily health check for children; 

2. Inclusion and exclusion of a child when the child is 
exhibiting symptoms that indicate possible illness; 

3. Description of how diseases are spread and procedures 
and methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

4. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 

the local health department and the website of the Virginia 
Department of Health; and 

5. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation (29 CFR 
1910.1030). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6300; Filed June 18, 2020, 1:56 p.m.  
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GOVERN OR  

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-SEVEN (2020) 

AND ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

SEVEN  

Phase Three Easing of Certain Temporary 
Restrictions Due to Novel Coronavirus  

(COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue  

On June 2, 2020, Executive Order 65 and Order of Public 

Health Emergency Six implemented Phase Two, continuing 

to ease business, gathering, and traveling restrictions 

originally imposed by Executive Order 53 and Executive 

Order 55 issued in March of 2020. During the weeks 

following, the public health metrics have continued to show 

positive trends. Our testing is increasing, our supply of 

personal protective equipment is steady, our hospital bed 
capacity remains steady, our hospitalizations statewide have a 

downward trend, and the percentage of positive tests continue 

to trend downward. Virginia continues to make significant 

progress. 

As outlined below, we will move forward into Phase Three. 

In doing so, we must remember that the virus is still in our 

communities. We must remain cautious—continue 

teleworking whenever possible, wash our hands frequently, 

do not touch our faces, and wear face coverings. Through 

these efforts, we will continue to protect ourselves, our 

families, and our fellow Virginians as we respond to this 
emergency.  

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered: 

A. EASING OF BUSINESS RESTRICTIONS 

1. All Businesses 

Any businesses, not listed in this section, should adhere to 
the Guidelines for All Business Sectors expressly 

incorporated by reference herein as best practices. This 

guidance is located here. 

2. Restaurants, Dining Establishments, Food Courts, 

Breweries, Microbreweries, Distilleries, Wineries, and 

Tasting Rooms  

Restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms 

may continue to operate delivery, take-out, and indoor and 

outdoor service, provided such businesses comply with the 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors, and sector-specific 

guidance for restaurant and beverage services incorporated 

by reference herein. Such guidance includes, but is not 

limited to, the following requirements: 

a. All parties must be separated by at least six feet, 

including in the bar area. Tables at which dining parties are 

seated must be positioned six feet apart from other tables. If 

tables are not movable, parties must be seated at least six 

feet apart, including in the bar area. 

b. Customers may be provided with self-service options. 

Facilities must provide hand sanitizer at food lines and 

require the use of barriers (e.g., gloves or deli paper) when 

employees or patrons touch common utensils. Food lines 

must be monitored by trained staff at all times of operation, 

and serving utensils must be changed hourly. 

c. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes 

during operation. Tabletops, chairs, and credit card/bill 
folders must be cleaned in between patrons. 

e. Bar seats and congregating areas of restaurants must be 

closed to patrons except for through-traffic. Non-bar 

seating in the bar area (i.e., tables or counter seats that do 

not line up to a bar or food service area) may be used for 

customer seating as long as a minimum of six feet is 

provided between parties at tables. 

f. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

3. Farmers Markets 

Farmers markets may continue to operate, provided such 

businesses comply with the Guidelines for All Business 
Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for farmers 

markets incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirements: 

a. Employees and patrons must maintain at least six feet of 

physical distancing between individuals who are not 

Family members, as defined below, at all times. Configure 

operations to avoid congestion or congregation points. 

b. Employees and vendors in customer-facing areas must 

wear face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

c. Vendors must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons and employees. 

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted. 

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

4. Brick and Mortar Retail Businesses Not Listed in 

Section C, Paragraph 1 (Non-Essential Retail) 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Forward-Virginia-Phase-Three-Guidelines.pdf
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Any brick and mortar retail business not listed in section C, 

paragraph 1 below may continue to operate, provided such 

business complies with the Guidelines for All Business 

Sectors and the sector-specific guidance for brick and 

mortar retail expressly incorporated by reference herein. 

Such guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements: 

a. Employees and patrons must maintain at least six feet of 
physical distancing between individuals who are not 

Family members at all times. 

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

5. Fitness and Exercise Facilities 

Fitness centers, gymnasiums, recreation centers, sports 

facilities, and exercise facilities may continue to operate 

indoor and outdoor activities, provided such businesses 

comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and 
the sector-specific guidelines for fitness and exercise 

facilities expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements: 

a. Patrons, members, and guests who are not Family 

members must remain at least ten feet apart during all 

activities except where necessary for the physical safety of 

an individual. 

b. Instructors and all participants of group exercise and 

fitness classes who are not Family members must maintain 

at least ten feet of physical distancing between each other 

at all times, with the exception of swimming lessons, where 
parents or guardians may support a participant during class, 

and instructors may have contact with swimmers when 

necessary. 

c. Occupancy must be limited to no more than 75% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy. 

d. Hot tubs, spas, splash pads, spray pools, and interactive 

play features must be closed. 

e. Outdoor and indoor swimming pools may be open, 

provided occupancy is limited to no more than 75% of the 

lowest occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy and 

all swimmers maintain at least ten feet of physical distance 
from others who are not Family members. 

f. Employees working in customer-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

Lifeguards responding to distressed swimmers are exempt 

from this requirement. 

g. Employers must ensure cleaning and disinfection of 

shared equipment after each use. 

h. Facilities must prohibit the use of any equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected between uses (e.g., 

climbing rope, exercise bands, etc.). 

i. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests. 

j. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

6. Personal Care and Personal Grooming Services 

Beauty salons, barbershops, spas, massage centers, tanning 

salons, tattoo shops, and any other location where personal 

care or personal grooming services are performed may 

continue to operate, provided such businesses comply with 

the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-

specific guidelines for personal care and personal grooming 

services expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements: 

a. Service providers must maintain at least six feet of 

physical distancing between work stations. 

b. Service providers and employees working in customer-

facing areas must wear face coverings over their nose and 

mouth at all times. 

c. Provide face coverings for clients or ask that clients 

bring a face covering with them, which they must wear 

during the service. Limit services to only those that can be 

completed without clients removing their face covering. 

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted every 60 minutes of 

operation, while cleaning and disinfecting all personal care 

and personal grooming tools after each use. If that is not 

possible, such items must be discarded. 

e. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

7. Campgrounds 

Privately-owned campgrounds as defined in § 35.1-1 of the 

Code of Virginia may continue to operate, provided they 

comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors and 

the sector-specific guidelines for campgrounds, which are 

expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such guidance 

includes, but is not limited to, the following requirements: 

a. Employees working in public-facing areas must wear 

face coverings over their nose and mouth at all times. 

b. Businesses must supply hand sanitizer stations or hand 

washing stations for patrons, members, and guests. 

c. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

8. Indoor Shooting Ranges 
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Indoor shooting ranges may continue to operate, provided 

they comply with the following requirements: 

a. Employees and patrons must maintain at least six feet of 

physical distancing between individuals who are not 

Family members at all times. 

b. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times. 

c. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of 

frequently-contacted surfaces every 60 minutes of 

operation, while disinfecting all equipment between each 

customer use and prohibiting the use of equipment that 

cannot be thoroughly disinfected. 

d. Either thoroughly clean shared or borrowed equipment in 

between uses, or only allow the use of personal equipment 

at the range. 

e. If any such indoor shooting range cannot adhere to these 

requirements, it must close. 

9. Public Beaches 

All public beaches as defined in § 10.1-705 of the Code of 

Virginia may remain open to individual and family 

recreational activity. All such public beaches, must comply 

with the requirements below. 

a. Require beachgoers to practice physical distancing of at 

least six feet between each person unless they are with 

Family members. 

b. Prohibit gatherings of more than 250 people. 

c. Implement and adhere to a cleaning schedule for all 

high-touch surfaces made of plastic or metal such as 

benches and railings that includes cleaning at least every 

two hours between the hours of 9 a.m. and 6 p.m. 

d. Establish, train, and deploy a team to educate and 

promote compliance with beach rules and refer cases of 

noncompliance to public safety personnel, if appropriate. 

e. Establish procedures for temporary beach closure or 

access limitations in the event of overcrowding. 

f. Ensure adequate personal protective equipment for all 

lifeguards. 

g. Perform a disinfectant-level cleaning of all public 

restrooms every two hours with an EPA-approved 

disinfectant by staff or volunteers trained to follow Centers 

for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidance on 
cleaning and disinfecting. 

h. For chair and umbrella rental companies, require vendors 

to set up chairs and umbrellas for customers, maintaining at 

least six feet of distance between groups, and to clean 

equipment between rentals following Environmental 

Protection Agency and CDC guidelines on cleaning and 

disinfecting. 

i. Post signage at all public access points to the beaches and 

other "cluster prone" areas providing health reminders 

regarding physical distancing, gathering prohibitions, 

options for high risk individuals, and staying home if sick. 

Messaging must be specific to location. 

j. Locality shall provide daily metrics to its local health 
department to include beach closures, complaint incidents, 

police reports of violence related to enforcement, and 

number of reports of noncompliance to be submitted each 

Monday. 

k. All employees and contract workers must wear a cloth 

face covering when not able to practice physical distancing 

following CDC Use of Face Cloth Coverings guidance. 

l. Employees and contract workers must have access to 

soap and water or hand sanitizer containing at least 60% 

alcohol, and locality should provide best hygiene practices 

to employees on a regular basis, including washing hands 
often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds and 

practicing respiratory etiquette protocols. 

m. Locality shall require all employees and contract 

workers to take their temperature before reporting to work 

and direct such employees not to report to work if they 

have a fever of over 100.4 degrees, have experienced chills, 

or have been feverish in the last 72 hours. 

n. Follow enhanced workplace safety best practices 

outlined in the Guidelines for All Business Sectors. 

10. Racetracks and Speedways 

Outdoor racetracks may remain open for racing events, 

provided such businesses comply with the Guidelines for 
All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

racetracks expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements: 

a. The event must be held at locations with the ability to 

restrict access (i.e. barriers and gating). 

b. All individuals must maintain at least six feet of physical 

distancing between themselves and other participants who 

are not Family members. 

c. Food services must adhere to the sector-specific 

guidance for restaurant and beverage services and camping 
areas must adhere to the sector-specific guidance for 

campgrounds. 

d. The total number of attendees (including both 

participants and spectators) cannot exceed the lesser of 

50% of the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of 

occupancy, if applicable, or 1000 persons. 

11. Entertainment and Amusement Businesses 
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Performing arts venues, concert venues, sports venues, 

movie theaters, museums, aquariums, zoos, fairs, carnivals, 

amusement parks, public and private social clubs, botanical 

gardens, entertainment centers, historic horse racing 

facilities, bowling alleys, skating rinks, arcades, trampoline 

parks, arts and craft facilities, escape rooms, and other 

places of indoor public amusement may open provided 

such businesses comply with the Guidelines for All 
Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines, which 

are expressly incorporated by reference herein. Such 

guidance includes, but is not limited to, the following 

requirements: 

a. The total number of attendees (including both 

participants and spectators) cannot exceed the lesser of 

50% of the lowest occupancy load on the certificate of 

occupancy, if applicable, or 1,000 persons. 

b. All private bookings must comply with section B, 

paragraph 1. 

c. Install visible markers for queue lines that separate 
people by six feet of physical distance. 

d. Create a guest flow plan of modified queue lines into and 

within the facility. Determine areas likely to become 

bottlenecks or pinch points and adjust guest flow 

accordingly. 

e. Ten feet of physical distancing is required between 

parties at all establishments with physical activity, singing, 

or cheering; six feet of physical distancing is required in 

other venues. 

f. Perform thorough cleaning and disinfection of 

frequently-contacted surfaces including digital ordering 

devices, check presenters, self-service areas, tabletops, 
bathroom surfaces, games, shared equipment, and other 

common touch areas every 60 minutes during operation. 

g. Where possible, install plexiglass barriers in front of 

commonly used point-of-sale or guest service stations. 

h. Employees working in customer-facing areas are 

required to wear face coverings over their nose and mouth 

at all times. 

i. Provide hand washing or sanitizing stations for attendees 

and employees. 

j. If any such business cannot adhere to these requirements, 

it must close. 

12. Recreational Sports 

Indoor and outdoor recreational sports activities are 

permitted, provided participants and organizers of 

recreational sports activities comply with the Guidelines for 

All Business Sectors and the sector-specific guidelines for 

recreational sports expressly incorporated by reference 

herein. Such guidance includes, but is not limited to, the 

following requirements: 

a. Ten feet of physical distance should be maintained by all 

instructors, participants, and spectators, where practicable. 

b. The total number of attendees (including both 

participants and spectators) of recreational sports cannot 

exceed the lesser of 50% of the occupancy load of the 

certificate of occupancy for the venue, if applicable, or 250 
persons. For sports played on a field, attendees are limited 

to 250 persons per field. 

13. Enforcement 

Guidelines for All Business Sectors and the sector-specific 

guidelines appear here. The Virginia Department of Health 

shall have authority to enforce section A of this Order. Any 

willful violation or refusal, failure, or neglect to comply 

with this Order, issued pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia, is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant 

to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. The State Health 

Commissioner may also seek injunctive relief in circuit 
court for violation of this Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of 

the Code of Virginia. In addition, any agency with 

regulatory authority over a business listed in section A may 

enforce this Order as to that business to the extent 

permitted by law. 

B. CONTINUED RESTRICTIONS 

1. All Public and Private In-Person Gatherings 

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 

250 individuals are prohibited. The presence of more than 

250 individuals performing functions of their employment 

is not a "gathering." A "gathering" includes, but is not 

limited to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, 
whether they occur indoors or outdoors. 

Individuals may attend religious services subject to the 

following requirements: 

a. Individuals attending religious services must be at least 

six feet apart when seated and must practice proper 

physical distancing at all times. Family members, as 

defined below, may be seated together. 

b. Mark seating and common areas where attendees may 

congregate in six-foot increments to maintain physical 

distancing between persons who are not Family members. 

c. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 
disposable, used only once and discarded. 

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and 

following any religious service. 

e. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with a 

fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted to participate 

in the religious service. 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Forward-Virginia-Phase-Three-Guidelines.pdf
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f. Post signage to provide public health reminders regarding 

physical distancing, gatherings, options for high risk 

individuals, and staying home if sick. 

g. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-

person. 

Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-
person gatherings restriction in section B, paragraph 1. 

Additional suggested guidance can be found here. 

2. Institutions of Higher Education 

Institutions of higher education shall comply with all 

applicable requirements under the Phased Guidance of 

Virginia Forward and the "Guidelines for All Business 

Sectors." Any postsecondary provider offering vocational 

training in a profession regulated by a Virginia state 

agency/board must also comply with any sector-specific 

guidelines relevant to that profession to the extent possible 

under the regulatory training requirements. Such 
professions may include, but are not necessarily limited to: 

aesthetician, barber, cosmetologist, massage therapist, nail 

technician, and practical nurse. 

3. Overnight Summer Camps 

Overnight services of summer camps, as defined in § 35.1-

1 of the Code of Virginia, must remain closed. 

4. Enforcement 

Violations of section B paragraphs 1, 2, and 3 of this Order 

shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

C. CONTINUED GUIDANCE AND DIRECTION 

1. Essential Retail Businesses 

Essential retail businesses as set out below may continue to 

remain open during their normal business hours. They 

should comply with the Guidelines for All Business Sectors 

expressly incorporated by reference and linked here, as best 

practices. Employers are required to provide face coverings 

to employees. 

a. Grocery stores, pharmacies, and other retailers that sell 

food and beverage products or pharmacy products, 

including dollar stores, and department stores with grocery 

or pharmacy operations; 

b. Medical, laboratory, and vision supply retailers; 

c. Electronic retailers that sell or service cell phones, 

computers, tablets, and other communications technology; 

d. Automotive parts, accessories, and tire retailers as well 

as automotive repair facilities; 

e. Home improvement, hardware, building material, and 

building supply retailers; 

f. Lawn and garden equipment retailers; 

g. Beer, wine, and liquor stores; 

h. Retail functions of gas stations and convenience stores; 

i. Retail located within healthcare facilities; 

j. Banks and other financial institutions with retail 

functions; 

k. Pet and feed stores; 

l. Printing and office supply stores; and 

m. Laundromats and dry cleaners. 

2. State Agencies 

All relevant state agencies shall continue to work with all 

housing partners to execute strategies to protect the health, 

safety, and well-being of Virginians experiencing 

homelessness during this pandemic and to assist Virginians 

in avoiding evictions or foreclosures. 

3. Face Coverings 

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 
continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the 

purpose of facilitating the protection of one’s personal 

health in response to the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declared by the State Health Commissioner on 

February 7, 2020, and reflected in Amended Executive 

Order 51 (2020) declaring a state of emergency in the 

Commonwealth. Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) 

remains so amended. This waiver is effective as of March 

12, 2020 and will remain in effect until 11:59 p.m. on 

September 8, 2020 unless amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. 

Further, where a mandatory business sector requirement in 

this Order conflicts with a requirement to wear a face 

covering in Executive Order 63 and Order of Public Health 

Emergency Five (2020), the business sector-specific 

requirement governs. 

4. Family Members 

"Family members" means blood relations, adopted, step, 

and foster relations, as well as all individuals residing in the 

same household. Family members are not required to 

maintain physical distancing while in their homes. 

5. Exceptions 

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (a) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (b) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (c) the 

operations of the media; (d) law enforcement agencies; or 

(e) the operation of government. 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Forward-Virginia-Phase-Three-Guidelines.pdf
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-virginia/pdf/Forward-Virginia-Phase-Three-Guidelines.pdf
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6. Expiration of Order 

Amended Executive Order 65 and Amended Order of 

Public Health Emergency Six shall expire on Tuesday, June 

30, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order 

This Order shall be effective 12:00 a.m., Wednesday, July 1, 

2020. This Executive Order shall remain in full force and 

effect until amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 30th day of June, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANC E D OCUMENTS 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Titles of Documents:  

VBOA Policy #2: Continuing Professional Education 

Guidelines for Sponsors. 

VBOA Policy #3: Substantially Equivalent Jurisdictions. 

VBOA Policy #4: Continuing Professional Education 

Guidelines for CPAs. 

VBOA Policy #8: Ethics Committee. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Marcello, Information and Policy 

Advisor, Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
402, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2006, or 

email elizabeth.marcello@boa.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND  
REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

Title of Document: Adult Protective Services Division 

Manual Chapters 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7093, or email 

charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Emergency Guidelines for Locally-

Awarded Verified Credits. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: June 18, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Leslie Sale, Director of Policy, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2092, or email 

leslie.sale@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Health Professions Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents:  

Community Housing Guide: Housing Road Map. 

Community Housing Guide: Tenant Screening. 

Virginia Informed Choice. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy and Research Division, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad, Suite 1300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/49e45006444~1s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/49e45006444~1s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/b80a9006444~2s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/459ec006444~3s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/459ec006444~3s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/ff6cd006444~4e.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.marcello@boa.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/27816006444~57.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/27816006444~57.pdf
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/ed455006444~6s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/ed455006444~6s.pdf
mailto:leslie.sale@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/d7886006444~7s.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/51830006444~8p.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/e6c3a006444~9g.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/b4459006444~10e.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter C, Child 

Protective Services. 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E, Foster Care. 

Child and Family Services Manual Chapter F-Adoption. 

Child and Family Services Manual, Title IV-E Foster Care. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 19, 2020. 

Effective Date: August 20, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7943, or email 

nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/63e70006444~11s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/63e70006444~11s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/70e83006444~12e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/76a85006444~13n.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6444/01a15006444~14e.pdf
mailto:nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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GEN ERAL N OTIC ES/ERR ATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan Proposed Revisions - Air 
Quality Plans: Nonattainment New Source Review 
(Rev. B19) and Ozone Implementation (Rev. C19) 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 

quality standard for ozone. The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of 

Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with 

the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The 

SIP is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to 

fulfill its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to 

attain and maintain the ambient air quality standards 

promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) under the federal Clean Air Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether several regulation amendments should be submitted 

as a revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: July 20, 2020, to August 19, 2020. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 
location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendments are 

exempt from the state administrative procedures for adoption 

of regulations per § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Administrative 

Process Act because they are necessary to meet the 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and do not differ 

materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. Since the 

amendments are exempt from administrative procedures for 

the adoption of regulations, DEQ is accepting public 

comment only on the issue cited under "purpose of notice" 
and not on the content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: The proposed revision consists of 

two separate regulation revisions related to the control of 

ozone. Revision B19 enables offset requirements for 

emissions of nitrogen oxides (NOX) and volatile organic 

compounds (VOC) to be met by offsetting reductions in 

actual emissions of either of those precursors as established 

by a case-specific permit ratio for ozone. Revision C19 adds a 

new section listing the localities that comprise the Northern 

Virginia Ozone nonattainment area, which is classified as 

marginal for the 2015 ozone National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard (NAAQS). Both of these revisions are necessary in 

order to conform state regulations to federal regulations and 

thus meet the state's obligations under the Clean Air Act. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). Except as noted, the proposal will be 

submitted as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP 

under § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance 

with 40 CFR 51.104. 

Revision B19 contained, in addition to the offset provisions, a 

correction to the definition of "significant." This correction 

restores state language to correctly reflect federal 

requirements; thus, no SIP revision is needed, and this 

provision will not be submitted to EPA. 

Revision C19 contained several provisions related to previous 

ozone implementation requirements that were subsequently 

vacated in federal court. The current revisions were made to 

restore state language to correctly reflect federal 

requirements; thus, no SIP revision is needed, and those 

provisions will not be submitted to EPA. Only the revisions 
to 9VAC5-20-204 and 9VAC5-30-55 D will be submitted as 

SIP revisions. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last 

day of the comment period. All faxes must have a cover page 

that lists the intended recipient. All materials received are part 

of the public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 
Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx. The 

documents may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ 

representative listed. The public may schedule an 

appointment to review the documents between 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close of the public 

comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4249, and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx).
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx).
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 29, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00120 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing rules 

and regulations pursuant to § 56-585.5 E 5 

of the Code of Virginia related to the 
deployment of energy storage  

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted the Virginia Clean Economy Act ("VCEA").1 Among 

other things, the VCEA, in § 56-585.5 E of the Code of 

Virginia, requires Appalachian Power Company ("APCo") 

and Virginia Electric and Power Company ("Dominion") to 

petition the Commission for approval to construct or acquire 

400 megawatts ("MW") and 2,700 MW, respectively, of new 

utility-owned energy storage resources by 2035 (collectively 

"Energy Storage Targets"). Section 56-585.5 E 5 further 
provides in part that:  

By January 1, 2021, the Commission shall adopt 

regulations to achieve the deployment of energy 

storage for the Commonwealth required in 

subdivisions 1 and 2, including regulations that set 

interim targets and update existing utility planning and 

procurement rules. The regulations shall include 

programs and mechanisms to deploy energy storage, 

including competitive solicitations, behind-the-meter 

incentives, non-wires alternatives programs, and peak 

demand reduction programs. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that this matter should be 

established for the purpose of complying with this statutory 

requirement. We first seek comment on several questions 

raised by § 56-585.5 E 5 of the Code of Virginia. We will 

direct APCo and Dominion to submit comments, and permit 

any other interested person or entity to submit comments, 

regarding the issues identified below for comment. In 

addition to answering these specific questions, commenters 

also may propose specific regulations. 

Issues Identified for Comment 

1. What interim targets should be established for meeting 
the targets set forth in § 56-585.5 E 1 of the Code of 

Virginia for APCo? 

2. What interim targets should be established for meeting 

the targets set forth in § 56-585.5 E 2 of the Code of 

Virginia for Dominion? 

3. What updates to existing utility planning should be 

adopted to facilitate the achievement of the Energy Storage 

Targets? 

4. What updates to existing utility procurement rules should 

be adopted to facilitate the achievement of the Energy 

Storage Targets? 

5. What competitive solicitation-related programs and 

mechanisms to deploy energy storage should be included in 
the required regulations? 

6. What behind-the-meter incentives to deploy energy 

storage should be included in the required regulations? 

7. What non-wires alternatives programs to deploy energy 

storage should be included in the required regulations? 

8. What peak demand reductions programs to deploy 

energy storage should be included in the required 

regulations? 

9. Should the regulations mandate or limit the deployment 

of any particular type of energy storage resource or 

facility? If so, please explain.  

10. Should the required regulations apply to non-utility 

energy storage? For example, should the regulations 

include a mechanism by which the Commission can issue 

permits for non-utility-owned storage?  

11. Section 56-585.5 E of the Code of Virginia refers to 

"energy storage," "energy storage resources," "energy 

storage facilities," "energy storage project," and "energy 

storage capacity." The statute provides no definition of any 

of these terms. 

(a) Should the regulations include a definition for each 

term? If so, please provide necessary definition(s).  

(b) Does each included term require its own set of 
regulations? Why or why not? 

12. Section 56-585.5 E of the Code of Virginia requires 

Dominion and APCo to "petition the Commission for 

necessary approvals to construct or acquire new, utility-

owned energy storage resources . . . ." (emphasis added). 

Section 56-585.1 E 5 of the Code of Virginia provides in 

part that: 

After July 1, 2020, at least 35 percent of the energy storage 

facilities placed into service shall be (i) purchased by the 

public utility from a party other than the public utility or 

(ii) owned by a party other than a public utility, with the 
capacity from such facilities sold to the public utility.  

(a) Does the energy storage required by § 56-585.5 E of the 

Code of Virginia count toward the targets set forth in § 56-

585.5 E 1 and E 2 of the Code of Virginia, or is it 

incremental thereto?  
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(b) Should this requirement be incorporated in some way 

into the interim targets to be adopted for Dominion and 

APCo? 

(c) Should the regulation contain any limitation on the 

acquisition of energy storage facilities or purchases of 

capacity from utility-affiliated interests? 

13. Section 56-585.5 F of the Code of Virginia permits 

recovery of costs of, inter alia, "energy storage facilities, 
that are constructed or acquired by a Phase I or Phase II 

Utility after July 1, 2020"2 and costs of "energy storage 

facilities, purchased by the utility from persons other than 

the utility through agreements after July 1, 2020[.]" Is there 

a difference between energy storage facilities that are 

"acquired" by a utility and those that are "purchased" by a 

utility that should be addressed by the regulation? Why or 

why not?  

14. What additional provisions should be included in the 

required regulations?  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-

2020-00120 for the purposes of receiving comments 

directed herein. 

(2) APCo and Dominion shall submit comments within 

thirty (30) days of the date of this Order. 

(3) Any other interested person or entity may submit 

comments within thirty (30) days of the date of this Order. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall provide copies of this Order by electronic 

transmission, or when electronic transmission is not 

possible, by mail, to: individuals, organizations, and 

companies who have been identified by the Commission 
Staff as interested in the development of energy storage in 

the Commonwealth. 

(5) This case is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

________________________________________________________________ 

1Senate Bill 851, 2020 Va. Acts ch. 1194, and identical House Bill 1526, 

2020 Va. Acts ch. 1193 (effective July 1, 2020) 

2APCo is a Phase I Utility, and Dominion is a Phase II Utility. See § 56-

585.1 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Bookers Mill Solar LLC Center Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Richmond County 

Bookers Mill Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a small renewable energy 

project (solar) in Richmond County. The Bookers Mill Solar 
Project is located on 1,000 acres of property previously used 

as timberland with an address of Maon Road, Farnham, 

Virginia 22460. The rated capacity of the facility at the point 

of interconnection will be 127 megawatts alternating current, 

with approximately 332, 000 solar panels on single axis 

tracker technology. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Watlington Solar LLC Center Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Halifax County 

Watlington Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality with a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a small renewable energy 

project (solar) permit by rule for the Watlington Solar Center. 

The project is a 20-megawatts (maximum alternating current 

capacity) solar energy facility located in Halifax County. The 

project site is located approximately two miles south of the 

Town of South Boston and encompasses approximately 140 

of a 220-acre site. The project will be single-axis tracking, 

utilizing approximately 60,788 panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) by Updating the 

Dental Fee Schedule 

Public comment: June 24, 2020, to July 24, 2020. 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act. A 

copy of this notice is available for public review from Emily 

McClellan, Policy and Research Division, Department of 

Medical Assistance Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email at 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.  

This notice is available for public review on the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80) 

The agency's dental fee schedule is being updated on July 26, 

2020, to include updated dental procedure codes. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in aggregate annual 
expenditures.  

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Gutterman Iron 
and Metal Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Gutterman Iron 
and Metal Corporation for violations of the State Water Control 

Law in Norfolk, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will 
accept comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 20, 
2020, to August 20, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Navadurga LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Navadurga LLC 

for violations of the State Water Control Law in Norfolk, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments by 
email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-

2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, Virginia 

Beach, VA 23462, from July 20, 2020, to August 20, 2020. 

 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Richmond 
American Homes of Virginia Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Richmond 
American Homes of Virginia Inc. for violations of the State 

Water Control Law at the Highpoint of Culpeper development 
site located in Culpeper County, Virginia. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office listed or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement 
/PublicNotices. Jim Datko will accept comments by email at 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown 

Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from July 21, 2020, through 
August 20, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Sant Corporation 
and Vishwash LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Sant 
Corporation and Vishwash LLC for violations of the State Water 

Control Law in Hampton and Newport News, Virginia. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the Department 

of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept comments by 

email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462, from July 20, 2020, to August 20, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their websites 

and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code Sections 
Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing regulation 

sections that have been amended, added, or repealed in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations were 

originally published or last supplemented in the print version of 
the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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