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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:1 August 12, 2020 August 31, 2020 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1- 3442.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Virginia Medical Cannabis Coalition. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "18VAC110-60-170: Remove 

the two-year requirement for pharmacy technicians employed 

by a pharmaceutical processor. 18VAC110-60-220(F, G): 

Visitors Policy: Remove the requirement that the Board must 

approve or waive all visitors. Also, allow younger minor 

children to accompany their parent into the dispensing area 

and allow visitors to assist someone into the facility that 

might have mobility issues. 18VAC110-60-230(A)(1), (B): 

Inventory: Remove requirement that a pharmacist or 

pharmacy technician must conduct inventory. Change to 

require a pharmacist or pharmacy technician to verify the 

inventory, not conduct. 18VAC110-60-290: Product Label: 

Remove requirements for duplicative information between 

the product label and patient label. 18VAC110-60-

290(B)(2)(e): Expiration Dates: Set a specific expiration date 

range for products until stability testing is feasible. 

Specifically consider between 6 and 12 months. 18VAC110-

60-300(F): Remediation: Allow for remediation if a sample 

does not pass testing requirements. 18VAC110-60-310(A)(1): 

VCPRL: Allow non-licensed personnel to access the VCPRL 

to allow access to the processor. 18VAC110-60-310(C): 

Patient Labels: Remove requirements for duplicative 

information between the product label and patient label (same 

request as product label)." 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on August 3, 2020. Public 

comment on the petition may be sent by email or postal mail, 

or posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Comment will be accepted until 

August 25, 2020. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend the regulation, the board will decide 

whether to make any change to the regulatory language in 

Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical Processors. This 

matter will be on the board's agenda for its meeting scheduled 

for September 9, 2020, and the petitioner will be informed of 

the board's decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 25, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-59 Filed July 15, 2020, 11:29 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and 

Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Sharon Watson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 

specify that certified substance abuse counselors (CSACs) 

cannot engage in independent or autonomous practice 

regardless of supervision and that such practice may be 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and published on August 3, 2020, with public 

comment requested until September 2, 2020. It will also be 

placed on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and available 

for comments to be posted electronically. At its first meeting 

following the close of comment, which is scheduled for 

November 6, 2020, the board will consider the request to 

amend regulations and all comment received in support or 

opposition. The petitioner will be informed of the board's 

response and any action it approves. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-58 Filed July 9, 2020, 8:21 a.m. 

 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-410, 

Occoquan Policy, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended to make technical corrections. 

The final regulatory action to amend 9VAC25-410, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings.  

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (803) 698-

4238, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Transportation conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-17, Solicitation and Use of VDOT Buildings and 

Grounds for Nonwork Purposes, and determined that this 

regulation should be repealed. 

The final regulatory action to repeal 24VAC30-17, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings.  

Contact Information: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, 

Governance and Legislative Affairs, Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-570, Procedures for Inclusion of Routes into the 

Non-Interstate Qualifying Network and Virginia Access 

Systems, and determined that this regulation should be 

repealed. 

The final regulatory action to repeal 24VAC30-570, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings.  

Contact Information: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, 

Governance and Legislative Affairs, Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/698-4238
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/698-4238
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-194, Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Vehicle Wash Facilities 

and Laundry Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to amend and reissue the existing general permit that 

expires on October 15, 2022. This general permit regulation 

establishes limitations, monitoring requirements, and other 

special conditions for point source discharge of vehicle wash 

wastewater from vehicle wash operations, such as car wash 

and rental car businesses, car and truck dealerships, and local 

or government fleet vehicle and equipment washing, to 

surface waters in order to maintain surface water quality.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6442; Filed July 6, 2020, 10:22 a.m.  

mailto:elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR NOTICE: This action is exempt from the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) pursuant to subsection A of § 10.1-1330 of the 

Code of Virginia, which states that the provisions of Article 4 

(§ 10.1-1329 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia 

shall be incorporated by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, without further action by the State Water Control 

Board, into the final regulation adopted on April 19, 2019, 

and published in the Virginia Register on May 27, 2019.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC5-140. Regulation for Emissions 

Trading Programs (amending 9VAC5-140-6020, 9VAC5-

140-6040, 9VAC5-140-6050, 9VAC5-140-6150, 9VAC5-

140-6170, 9VAC5-140-6190, 9VAC5-140-6200, 9VAC5-

140-6210, 9VAC5-140-6220, 9VAC5-140-6230, 9VAC5-

140-6250, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-140-6330, 9VAC5-

140-6380, 9VAC5-140-6420; adding 9VAC5-140-6325; 

repealing 9VAC5-140-6045, 9VAC5-140-6211, 9VAC5-

140-6215, 9VAC5-140-6430, 9VAC5-140-6435).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1308 and 10.1-1322.3 of the 

Code of Virginia; Clean Air Act (§§ 108, 109, 110, and 302); 

40 CFR Part 51. 

Effective Date: July 10, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 1219 and 1280 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly 

establish the Clean Energy and Community Flood 

Preparedness Act (§ 10.1-1329 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). Subsection A of § 10.1-1330 of the Code of 

Virginia requires the Department of Environmental 

Quality, without further action by the State Air Pollution 

Control Board, amend Part VII of 9VAC5-140, Regulation 

for Emissions Trading Program, to comport with the full 

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative CO2 emissions trading 

program and associated auction. The amendments fulfill 

this requirement.  

9VAC5-140-6020. Definitions. 

A. As used in this part, all words or terms not defined here 

shall have the meanings given them in 9VAC5-10 (General 

Definitions), unless otherwise required by the context. 

B. For the purpose of this part and any related use, the words 

or terms shall have the meanings given them in this section. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Account number" means the identification number given 

by the department or its agent to each COATS account.  

"Acid rain Rain emission limitation" means, as defined in 

40 CFR 72.2, a limitation on emissions of sulfur dioxide 

(SO2) or nitrogen oxides (NOX) under the Acid Rain 

Program under Title IV of the CAA. 

"Acid Rain Program" means a multistate SO2 and NOX air 

pollution control and emission reduction program 

established by the administrator under Title IV of the CAA 

and 40 CFR Parts 72 through 78. 

"Adjustment for banked allowances" means an adjustment 

applied to the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget for allocation years 2021 through 2025 to address 

allowances held in general and compliance accounts, 

including compliance accounts established pursuant to the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program, but not including accounts 

opened by participating states, that are in addition to the 

aggregate quantity of emissions from all CO2 budget 

sources in all of the participating states at the end of the 

initial control period in 2020 and as reflected in the CO2 

Allowance Tracking System on March 15, 2021. 

"Administrator" means the administrator of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or the administrator's 

authorized representative. 

"Allocate" or "allocation" means the determination by the 

department of the number of conditional CO2 allowances 

recorded in the conditional CO2 allowance account of a 

CO2 budget unit or to the Department of Mines, Minerals 

and Energy (DMME) pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6211. 

"Allocation year" means a calendar year for which the 

department allocates conditional CO2 allowances pursuant 

to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part. The 

allocation year of each conditional CO2 allowance is 

reflected in the unique identification number given to the 

allowance pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6250 C. 

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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"Allowance auction" or "auction" means an auction in 

which the department or its agent offers conditional CO2 

allowances for sale. 

"Attribute" means a characteristic associated with 

electricity generated using a particular renewable fuel, such 

as its generation date, facility geographic location, unit 

vintage, emissions output, fuel, state program eligibility, or 

other characteristic that can be identified, accounted for, 

and tracked. 

"Attribute credit" means a credit that represents the 

attributes related to one megawatt-hour of electricity 

generation. 

"Automated Data Acquisition and Handling System" or 

"DAHS" means that component of the Continuous 

Emissions Monitoring System (CEMS), or other emissions 

monitoring system approved for use under Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, designed to 

interpret and convert individual output signals from 

pollutant concentration monitors, flow monitors, diluent 

gas monitors, and other component parts of the monitoring 

system to produce a continuous record of the measured 

parameters in the measurement units required by Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

"Billing meter" means a measurement device used to 

measure electric or thermal output for commercial billing 

under a contract. The facility selling the electric or thermal 

output shall have different owners from the owners of the 

party purchasing the electric or thermal output. 

"Boiler" means an enclosed fossil or other fuel-fired 

combustion device used to produce heat and to transfer 

heat to recirculating water, steam, or other medium. 

"CO2 allowance" means a limited authorization by the 

department or another participating state under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program to emit up to one ton of CO2, 

subject to all applicable limitations contained in this part. 

CO2 offset allowances generated by other participating 

states will be recognized by the department. 

"CO2 allowance deduction" or "deduct CO2 allowances" 

means the permanent withdrawal of CO2 allowances by the 

department or its agent from a COATS compliance account 

to account for the number of tons of CO2 emitted from a 

CO2 budget source for the initial control period, a control 

period, or an interim control period determined in 

accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part, or for the forfeit or retirement of CO2 allowances 

as provided by this part. 

"CO2 Allowance Tracking System" or "COATS" means 

the system by which the department or its agent records 

allocations, deductions, and transfers of CO2 allowances 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program. The tracking 

system may also be used to track CO2 allowance prices and 

emissions from affected sources. 

"CO2 Allowance Tracking System account" means an 

account in COATS established by the department or its 

agent for purposes of recording the allocation, holding, 

transferring, or deducting of CO2 allowances. 

"CO2 allowance transfer deadline" means midnight of 

March 1 occurring after the end of the initial relevant 

control period, the control period, and each relevant 

interim control period, or if that March 1 is not a business 

day, midnight of the first business day thereafter and is the 

deadline by which CO2 allowances shall be submitted for 

recordation in a CO2 budget source's compliance account 

for the source to meet the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-

140-6050 C for the initial control period, a control period, 

and each interim control period immediately preceding 

such deadline. 

"CO2 allowances held" or "hold CO2 allowances" means 

the CO2 allowances recorded by the department or its 

agent, or submitted to the department or its agent for 

recordation, in accordance with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-

6220 et seq.) and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of 

this part, in a COATS account. 

"CO2 authorized account representative" means, for a CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source, the 

natural person who is authorized by the owners and 

operators of the source and all CO2 budget units at the 

source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-140-6080 et 

seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind each owner 

and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program or, for a general account, the natural 

person who is authorized, under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-

6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or otherwise dispose 

of CO2 allowances held in the general account. If the CO2 

budget source is also subject to the Acid Rain Program, 

CSAPR NOX Annual Trading Program, CSAPR NOX 

Ozone Season Trading Program, CSAPR SO2 Group 1 

Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 Group 2 Trading 

Program, then for a CO2 Budget Trading Program 

compliance account, this natural person shall be the same 

person as the designated representative as defined in the 

respective program. 

"CO2 authorized alternate account representative" means, 

for a CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 

source, the alternate natural person who is authorized by 

the owners and operators of the source and all CO2 budget 

units at the source, in accordance with Article 2 (9VAC5-

140-6080 et seq.) of this part, to represent and legally bind 

each owner and operator in matters pertaining to the CO2 

Budget Trading Program or, for a general account, the 

alternate natural person who is authorized, under Article 6 

(9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part, to transfer or 

otherwise dispose of CO2 allowances held in the general 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 3, 2020 

2600 

account. If the CO2 budget source is also subject to the 

Acid Rain Program, CSAPR NOX Annual Trading 

Program, CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program, 

CSAPR SO2 Group 1 Trading Program, or CSAPR SO2 

Group 2 Trading Program then, for a CO2 Budget Trading 

Program compliance account, this alternate natural person 

shall be the same person as the alternate designated 

representative as defined in the respective program. 

"CO2 budget emissions limitation" means, for a CO2 

budget source, the tonnage equivalent, in CO2 emissions in 

the initial control period, a control period, or an interim 

control period of the CO2 allowances available for 

compliance deduction for the source for a control period or 

an interim control period. 

"CO2 budget permit" means the portion of the legally 

binding permit issued by the department pursuant to 

9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants 

Subject to Regulation) to a CO2 budget source or CO2 

budget unit that specifies the CO2 Budget Trading Program 

requirements applicable to the CO2 budget source, to each 

CO2 budget unit at the CO2 budget source, and to the 

owners and operators and the CO2 authorized account 

representative of the CO2 budget source and each CO2 

budget unit. 

"CO2 budget source" means a source that includes one or 

more CO2 budget units. 

"CO2 Budget Trading Program" means a multistate CO2 air 

pollution control and emissions reduction program 

established according to this part and corresponding 

regulations in other states as a means of reducing 

emissions of CO2 from CO2 budget sources. 

"CO2 budget unit" means a unit that is subject to the CO2 

Budget Trading Program requirements under 9VAC5-140-

6040. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve allowance" or "CO2 CCR 

allowance" means an allowance that has been sold at an 

auction for the purpose of containing the cost of CO2 

allowances. CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an 

auction are separate from and additional to CO2 allowances 

allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base and adjusted budgets. CO2 CCR allowances are 

subject to all applicable limitations contained in this part. 

"CO2 cost containment reserve trigger price" or "CCR 

trigger price" means the minimum price at which CO2 

CCR allowances are offered for sale by the department or 

its agent at an auction. The CCR trigger price in calendar 

year 2020 2021 shall be $10.77 $13. The CCR trigger price 

in calendar year 2021 2022 shall be $13 $13.91. Each 

calendar year thereafter, the CCR trigger price shall be 

1.07 multiplied by the CCR trigger price from the previous 

calendar year, rounded to the nearest whole cent, as shown 

in Table 140-1A. 

Table 140-1A 

CO2 CCR Trigger Price 

2020 $10.77 

2021 $13.00 

2022 $13.91 

2023 $14.88 

2024 $15.92 

2025 $17.03 

2026 $18.22 

2027 $19.50 

2028 $20.87 

2029 $22.33 

2030 $23.89 

"CO2 emissions containment reserve allowance" or "CO2 

ECR allowance" means a conditional CO2 allowance that is 

withheld from sale at an auction by the department for the 

purpose of additional emission reduction in the event of 

lower than anticipated emission reduction costs. 

"CO2 emissions containment reserve trigger price" or 

"ECR trigger price" means the price below which 

conditional CO2 allowances will be withheld from sale by 

the department or its agent at an auction. The ECR trigger 

price in calendar year 2021 shall be $6.00. Each calendar 

year thereafter, the ECR trigger price shall be 1.07 

multiplied by the ECR trigger price from the previous 

calendar year, rounded to the nearest whole cent, as shown 

in Table 140-1B. 

Table 140-1B 

CO2 ECR Trigger Price 

2021 $ 6.00 

2022 $ 6.42 

2023 $ 6.87 

2024 $ 7.35 

2025 $ 7.86 

2026 $ 8.41 

2027 $ 9.00 

2028 $ 9.63 

2029 $10.30 

2030 $11.02 
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"CO2 offset allowance" means a CO2 allowance that is 

awarded to the sponsor of a CO2 emissions offset project 

by a participating state and is subject to the relevant 

compliance deduction limitations of the participating 

state's corresponding offset regulations as a means of 

reducing CO2 from CO2 budget sources. 

"Combined cycle system" means a system comprised of 

one or more combustion turbines, heat recovery steam 

generators, and steam turbines configured to improve 

overall efficiency of electricity generation or steam 

production. 

"Combustion turbine" means an enclosed fossil or other 

fuel-fired device that is comprised of a compressor (if 

applicable), a combustor, and a turbine, and in which the 

flue gas resulting from the combustion of fuel in the 

combustor passes through the turbine, rotating the turbine. 

"Commence commercial operation" means, with regard to 

a unit that serves a generator, to have begun to produce 

steam, gas, or other heated medium used to generate 

electricity for sale or use, including test generation. For a 

unit that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on 

the date the unit commences commercial operation, such 

date shall remain the unit's date of commencement of 

commercial operation even if the unit is subsequently 

modified, reconstructed, or repowered. For a unit that is 

not a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the date 

the unit commences commercial operation, the date the 

unit becomes a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 

shall be the unit's date of commencement of commercial 

operation. 

"Commence operation" means to begin any mechanical, 

chemical, or electronic process, including, with regard to a 

unit, start-up of a unit's combustion chamber. For a unit 

that is a CO2 budget unit under 9VAC5-140-6040 on the 

date of commencement of operation, such date shall 

remain the unit's date of commencement of operation even 

if the unit is subsequently modified, reconstructed, or 

repowered. For a unit that is not a CO2 budget unit under 

9VAC5-140-6040 on the date of commencement of 

operation, the date the unit becomes a CO2 budget unit 

under 9VAC5-140-6040 shall be the unit's date of 

commencement of operation.  

"Compliance account" means a COATS account, 

established by the department or its agent for a CO2 budget 

source under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this 

part, in which CO2 allowances available for use by the 

source for the initial control period, a control period, and 

each interim control period are held for the purpose of 

meeting the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C. 

"Conditional allowance" means an allowance allocated by 

the department to a CO2 budget source or to DMME. Such 

conditional allowance shall be consigned by the entity to 

whom it is allocated to the consignment auction as 

specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 

part, after which the conditional allowance becomes a CO2 

allowance once it is sold to an auction participant.  

"Conditional allowance account" means a general COATS 

account established by the department for CO2 budget 

sources and DMME or its contractor where conditional 

allowances allocated to CO2 budget sources and DMME 

are held until auction. 

"Conditional cost containment reserve allowance" or 

"conditional CCR allowance" means an allowance that 

may be offered for sale when the CCR is triggered. If any 

conditional CCR allowances are unsold, they may be 

offered for sale in future auctions during the same year. 

Conditional CCR allowances offered for sale at an auction 

are separate from and additional to conditional allowances 

allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base and adjusted budgets. Conditional CCR allowances 

are subject to all applicable limitations contained in this 

part. 

"Consignment auction" or "auction" means the CO2 

auction conducted on a quarterly basis bythe CO2 Budget 

Trading Program, in which CO2 budget sources and 

DMME are allocated a share of allowances by the 

department that CO2 budget sources and the holder of a 

public contract with DMME consign into the auction, and 

auction revenue is returned to CO2 budget sources and the 

holder of a public contract with DMME in accordance with 

procedures established by the department. 

"Continuous Emissions Monitoring System" or "CEMS" 

means the equipment required under Article 8 (9VAC5-

140-6330 et seq.) of this part to sample, analyze, measure, 

and provide, by means of readings recorded at least once 

every 15 minutes (using an automated DAHS), a 

permanent record of stack gas volumetric flow rate, stack 

gas moisture content, and oxygen or carbon dioxide 

concentration (as applicable), in a manner consistent with 

40 CFR Part 75 and Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part. The following systems are types of CEMS 

required under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this 

part: 

a. A flow monitoring system, consisting of a stack flow 

rate monitor and an automated DAHS and providing a 

permanent, continuous record of stack gas volumetric 

flow rate, in standard cubic feet per hour; 

b. A NOX emissions rate (or NOX-diluent) monitoring 

system, consisting of a NOX pollutant concentration 

monitor, a diluent gas (CO2 or O2) monitor, and an 

automated DAHS and providing a permanent, continuous 

record of NOX concentration, in parts per million (ppm), 

diluent gas concentration, in percent CO2 or O2, and NOX 
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emissions rate, in pounds per million British thermal 

units (lb/MMBtu); 

c. A moisture monitoring system, as defined in 40 CFR 

75.11(b)(2) and providing a permanent, continuous 

record of the stack gas moisture content, in percent H2O; 

d. A CO2 monitoring system, consisting of a CO2 

pollutant concentration monitor (or an O2 monitor plus 

suitable mathematical equations from which the CO2 

concentration is derived) and an automated DAHS and 

providing a permanent, continuous record of CO2 

emissions, in percent CO2; and 

e. An O2 monitoring system, consisting of an O2 

concentration monitor and an automated DAHS and 

providing a permanent, continuous record of O2, in 

percent O2. 

"Control period" means a three-calendar-year time period. 

The fifth control period is from January 1, 2021, to 

December 31, 2023, inclusive, which is the first control 

period of Virginia's participation in the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program. The first two calendar years of each 

control period are each defined as an interim control 

period, beginning on January 1, 2021. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Annual 

Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart AAAAA of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.38(a), including such a program that is revised 

in a SIP revision approved by the administrator under 

40 CFR 52.38(a)(3) or (4) or that is established in a SIP 

revision approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 

52.38(a)(5), as a means of mitigating interstate transport of 

fine particulates and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) NOX Ozone 

Season Trading Program" means a multistate NOX air 

pollution control and emission reduction program 

established in accordance with Subpart BBBBB of 40 CFR 

Part 97 and 40 CFR 52.38(b), including such a program 

that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 

administrator under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(3) or (4) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.38(b)(5), as a means of mitigating 

interstate transport of ozone and NOX. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 1 

Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart CCCCC of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.39(a), (b), (d) through (f), (j), and (k), including 

such a program that is revised in a SIP revision approved 

by the administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(d) or (e) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.39(f), as a means of mitigating interstate 

transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) SO2 Group 2 

Trading Program" means a multistate SO2 air pollution 

control and emission reduction program established in 

accordance with Subpart DDDDD of 40 CFR Part 97 and 

40 CFR 52.39(a), (c), and (g) through (k), including such a 

program that is revised in a SIP revision approved by the 

administrator under 40 CFR 52.39(g) or (h) or that is 

established in a SIP revision approved by the administrator 

under 40 CFR 52.39(i), as a means of mitigating interstate 

transport of fine particulates and SO2. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"DMME" means the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy. 

"Excess emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 emitted by 

a CO2 budget source during the initial an interim control 

period or a control period that exceeds the CO2 budget 

emissions limitation for the source. 

"Excess interim emissions" means any tonnage of CO2 

emitted by a CO2 budget source during an interim control 

period multiplied by 0.50 that exceeds the CO2 budget 

emissions limitation for the source. 

"Fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal, or any 

form of solid, liquid, or gaseous fuel derived from such 

material. 

"Fossil fuel-fired" means the combustion of fossil fuel, 

alone or in combination with any other fuel, where the 

fossil fuel combusted comprises, or is projected to 

comprise, more than 5.0% of the annual heat input on a 

Btu basis during any year. 

"General account" means a COATS account established 

under Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) of this part that 

is not a compliance account. 

"Gross generation" means the electrical output in MWe at 

the terminals of the generator. 

"Initial control period" means the period beginning January 

1, 2020, and ending December 31, 2020. 

"Interim control period" means a one-calendar-year time 

period during each of the first and second calendar years of 

each three-year control period. The first interim control 

period starts January 1, 2021, and ends December 31, 

2021, inclusive. The second interim control period starts 

January 1, 2022, and ends December 31, 2022, inclusive. 

Each successive three-year control period will have two 

interim control periods, comprised of each of the first two 

calendar years of that control period. 

"Life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement" means a either: 

a. A unit participation power sales agreement under 

which a customer reserves, or is entitled to receive, a 
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specified amount or percentage of nameplate capacity or 

associated energy from any specified unit pursuant to a 

contract: 

a. (1) For the life of the unit; 

b. (2) For a cumulative term of no less than 30 years, 

including contracts that permit an election for early 

termination; or 

c. (3) For a period equal to or greater than 25 years or 

70% of the economic useful life of the unit determined as 

of the time the unit is built, with option rights to purchase 

or release some portion of the nameplate capacity and 

associated energy generated by the unit at the end of the 

period; or 

b. Any energy conversion or energy tolling agreement 

that has a primary term of 20 years or more and pursuant 

to which the purchaser is required to deliver fuel to the 

CO2 budget source or CO2 budget unit and is entitled to 

receive all of the nameplate capacity and associated 

energy generated by such source or unit for the entire 

contractual period. Such agreements shall be subject to 

9VAC5-140-6325. Such purchaser shall not be 

considered an "owner" as defined under this section. 

"Maximum potential hourly heat input" means an hourly 

heat input used for reporting purposes when a unit lacks 

certified monitors to report heat input. If the unit intends to 

use Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 to report heat input, 

this value shall be calculated, in accordance with 40 CFR 

Part 75, using the maximum fuel flow rate and the 

maximum gross calorific value. If the unit intends to use a 

flow monitor and a diluent gas monitor, this value shall be 

reported, in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, using the 

maximum potential flow rate and either the maximum CO2 

concentration in percent CO2 or the minimum O2 

concentration in percent O2. 

"Minimum reserve price" means, in calendar year 2020, 

$2.32 2021, $2.38. Each calendar year thereafter, the 

minimum reserve price shall be 1.025 multiplied by the 

minimum reserve price from the previous calendar year, 

rounded to the nearest whole cent. 

"Monitoring system" means any monitoring system that 

meets the requirements of Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part, including a CEMS, an excepted 

monitoring system, or an alternative monitoring system. 

"Nameplate capacity" means the maximum electrical 

output in MWe that a generator can sustain over a specified 

period of time when not restricted by seasonal or other 

deratings as measured in accordance with the U.S. 

Department of Energy standards.  

"Net-electric output" means the amount of gross generation 

in MWh the generators produce, including output from 

steam turbines, combustion turbines, and gas expanders, as 

measured at the generator terminals, less the electricity 

used to operate the plant (i.e., auxiliary loads); such uses 

include fuel handling equipment, pumps, fans, pollution 

control equipment, other electricity needs, and transformer 

losses as measured at the transmission side of the step up 

transformer (e.g., the point of sale).  

"Non-CO2 budget unit" means a unit that does not meet the 

applicability criteria of 9VAC5-140-6040. 

"Operator" means any person who operates, controls, or 

supervises a CO2 budget unit or a CO2 budget source and 

shall include any holding company, utility system, or plant 

manager of such a unit or source. 

"Owner" means any of the following persons: 

a. Any holder of any portion of the legal or equitable title 

in a CO2 budget unit; 

b. Any holder of a leasehold interest in a CO2 budget 

unit, other than a passive lessor, or a person who has an 

equitable interest through such lessor, whose rental 

payments are not based, either directly or indirectly, upon 

the revenues or income from the CO2 budget unit; 

c. Any purchaser of power from a CO2 budget unit under 

a life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement in which the 

purchaser controls the dispatch of the unit; or 

d. With respect to any general account, any person who 

has an ownership interest with respect to the CO2 

allowances held in the general account and who is 

subject to the binding agreement for the CO2 authorized 

account representative to represent that person's 

ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances. 

"Participating state" means a state that participates in has 

established a corresponding regulation as part of the CO2 

Budget Trading Program.  

"Receive" or "receipt of" means, when referring to the 

department or its agent, to come into possession of a 

document, information, or correspondence (whether sent in 

writing or by authorized electronic transmission) as 

indicated in an official correspondence log, or by a 

notation made on the document, information, or 

correspondence by the department or its agent in the 

regular course of business. 

"Recordation," "record," or "recorded" means, with regard 

to CO2 allowances, the movement of CO2 allowances by 

the department or its agent from one COATS account to 

another, for purposes of allocation, transfer, or deduction. 

"Reserve price" means the minimum acceptable price for 

each conditional CO2 allowance in a specific auction. The 

reserve price at an auction is either the minimum reserve 

price or the CCR trigger price, as specified in Article 9 

(9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this part. 
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"Serial number" means, when referring to CO2 allowances, 

the unique identification number assigned to each CO2 

allowance by the department or its agent under 9VAC5-

140-6250 C. 

"Source" means any governmental, institutional, 

commercial, or industrial structure, installation, plant, 

building, or facility that emits or has the potential to emit 

any air pollutant. A source, including a source with 

multiple units, shall be considered a single facility. 

"Submit" or "serve" means to send or transmit a document, 

information, or correspondence to the person specified in 

accordance with the applicable regulation: 

a. In person; 

b. By United States Postal Service; or 

c. By other means of dispatch or transmission and 

delivery. 

Compliance with any "submission," "service," or "mailing" 

deadline shall be determined by the date of dispatch, 

transmission, or mailing and not the date of receipt. 

"Ton" or "tonnage" means any short ton, or 2,000 pounds. 

For the purpose of determining compliance with the CO2 

requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, total tons for the 

initial control period, an interim control period, or a control 

period shall be calculated as the sum of all recorded hourly 

emissions, or the tonnage equivalent of the recorded hourly 

emissions rates, in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-

6330 et seq.) of this part, with any remaining fraction of a 

ton equal to or greater than 0.50 ton deemed to equal one 

ton and any fraction of a ton less than 0.50 ton deemed to 

equal zero tons. A short ton is equal to 0.9072 metric tons. 

"Total useful energy" means the sum of gross electrical 

generation and useful net thermal energy. 

"Undistributed conditional CO2 allowances" means 

conditional CO2 allowances originally allocated to a set 

aside account as pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6210 that were 

not distributed.  

"Unit" means a fossil fuel-fired stationary boiler, 

combustion turbine, or combined cycle system. 

"Unit operating day" means a calendar day in which a unit 

combusts any fuel. 

"Unsold conditional CO2 allowances" means conditional 

CO2 allowances that have been made available for sale in 

an auction conducted by the department or its agent, but 

not sold. 

"Useful net thermal energy" means energy: 

1. a. In the form of direct heat, steam, hot water, or other 

thermal form that is used in the production and beneficial 

measures for heating, cooling, humidity control, process 

use, or other thermal end use energy requirements, 

excluding thermal energy used in the power production 

process (e.g., house loads and parasitic loads); and 

2. b. For which fuel or electricity would otherwise be 

consumed. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budget" 

means an adjusted budget determined in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6210 and is the annual amount of CO2 tons 

available in Virginia for allocation in a given allocation 

year, in accordance with the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

Conditional CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an 

auction are separate from and additional to conditional CO2 

allowances allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget 

Trading Program adjusted budget. 

"Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget" 

means the budget specified in 9VAC5-140-6190. 

Conditional CO2 CCR allowances offered for sale at an 

auction are separate from and additional to conditional CO2 

allowances allocated from the Virginia CO2 Budget 

Trading Program base budget. 

9VAC5-140-6040. Applicability. 

A. Any fossil fuel-fired unit that serves an electricity 

generator with a nameplate capacity equal to or greater than 

25 MWe shall be a CO2 budget unit, and any source that 

includes one or more such units shall be a CO2 budget source, 

subject to the requirements of this part.  

B. Exempt from the requirements of this part is any fossil 

fuel CO2 budget source located at or adjacent to and 

physically interconnected with a manufacturing facility that, 

prior to January 1, 2019 2020, and in every subsequent 

calendar year, met either of the following requirements: 

1. Supplies less than or equal to 10% of its annual net 

electrical generation to the electric grid; or  

2. Supplies less than or equal to 15% of its annual total 

useful energy to any entity other than the manufacturing 

facility to which the CO2 budget source is interconnected. 

For the purpose of subdivision 1 of this subsection, annual 

net electrical generation shall be determined as follows: 

(ES – EP) / EG x 100 

Where: 

ES = electricity sales to the grid from the CO2 budget 

source 

EP = electricity purchases from the grid by the CO2 budget 

source and the manufacturing facility to which the CO2 

budget source is interconnected 

EG = electricity generation 

Such exempt CO2 budget source shall have an operating 

permit containing the applicable restrictions under this 
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subsection. An application for such operating permit shall be 

submitted to the department no later than January 1, 2022. 

9VAC5-140-6045. CO2 Budget Trading Program 

implementation. (Repealed.) 

In the event the allocation of conditional allowances by the 

department as required by 9VAC5-140-6190 B has not 

occurred by January 1, 2020, the program will be considered 

to be operating and effective as of the calendar year following 

the date on which the department allocates the conditional 

allowances as it corresponds to the schedule of 9VAC5-140-

6190 A. Permitting and compliance dates, including the due 

date for a permit as required by 9VAC5-140-6150, shall be 

adjusted to be in force six months after the date the 

department allocates the conditional allowances. Any excess 

emissions tonnage identified by the new program 

implementation date may be addressed through program 

review and regulatory action as necessary to ensure 

compliance with the final compliance date. The department 

will notify the board and each affected CO2 budget source 

accordingly. 

9VAC5-140-6050. Standard requirements. 

A. Permit requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 

budget source required to have an operating permit 

pursuant to 9VAC5-85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of 

Pollutants Subject to Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit 

required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-

85 shall: 

a. Submit to the department a complete CO2 budget 

permit application under 9VAC5-140-6160 in 

accordance with the deadlines specified in 9VAC5-140-

6150; and 

b. Submit in a timely manner any supplemental 

information that the department determines is necessary 

in order to review the CO2 budget permit application and 

issue or deny a CO2 budget permit. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

required to have an operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-

85 (Permits for Stationary Sources of Pollutants Subject to 

Regulation) and each CO2 budget unit required to have an 

operating permit pursuant to 9VAC5-85 for the source 

shall have a CO2 budget permit and operate the CO2 budget 

source and the CO2 budget unit at the source in compliance 

with such CO2 budget permit. 

B. Monitoring requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators and, to the extent applicable, 

the CO2 authorized account representative of each CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 

comply with the monitoring requirements of Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The emissions measurements recorded and reported in 

accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part shall be used to determine compliance by the unit 

with the CO2 requirements under subsection C of this 

section. 

C. CO2 requirements shall be as follows. 

1. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 

allowances available for compliance deductions under 

9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 

not less than the total CO2 emissions that have been 

generated as a result of combusting fossil fuel for the initial 

control period, an interim control period, or control period 

from all CO2 budget units at the source, less the CO2 

allowances deducted to meet the requirements of 

subdivision 2 of this subsection, with respect to the 

previous two interim control periods as determined in 

accordance with Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and 

Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

2. The owners and operators of each CO2 budget source 

and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall hold CO2 

allowances available for compliance deductions under 

9VAC5-140-6260, as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline, in the source's compliance account in an amount 

not less than the total CO2 emissions that have been 

generated as a result of combusting fossil fuel for the initial 

control period, an interim control period , or for the interim 

control period from all CO2 budget units at the source 

multiplied by 0.50, as determined in accordance with 

Article 6 (9VAC5-140-6220 et seq.) and Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. 

3. Each ton of CO2 emitted in excess of the CO2 budget 

emissions limitation for the initial control period or a 

control period shall constitute a separate violation of this 

part and applicable state law. 

4. Each ton of excess interim emissions shall constitute a 

separate violation of this part and applicable state law. 

5. A CO2 budget unit shall be subject to the requirements 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection starting on the later 

of January 1, 2020 2021, or the date on which the unit 

commences operation. 

6. CO2 allowances shall be held in, deducted from, or 

transferred among COATS accounts in accordance with 

Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.), Article 6 (9VAC5-

140-6220 et seq.), and Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) 

of this part. 

7. A CO2 allowance shall not be deducted, to comply with 

the requirements under subdivision 1 or 2 of this 

subsection, for a control period that ends prior to the year 

for which the CO2 allowance was allocated. 
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8. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program is a limited authorization by the department to 

emit one ton of CO2 in accordance with the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program, the CO2 budget permit application, or the CO2 

budget permit or any provision of law shall be construed to 

limit the authority of the department or a participating state 

to terminate or limit such authorization. 

9. A CO2 allowance under the CO2 Budget Trading 

Program does not constitute a property right. 

D. The owners and operators of a CO2 budget source that 

has excess emissions in an initial control period or a control 

period shall: 

1. Forfeit the CO2 allowances required for deduction under 

9VAC5-140-6260 D 1; and 

2. Pay any fine, penalty, or assessment or comply with any 

other remedy imposed under 9VAC5-140-6260 D 2. 

E. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements shall be as 

follows: 

1. Unless otherwise provided, the owners and operators of 

the CO2 budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the 

source shall keep on site at the source each of the 

following documents for a period of 10 years from the date 

the document is created. This period may be extended for 

cause, at any time prior to the end of 10 years, in writing 

by the department. 

a. The account certificate of representation for the CO2 

authorized account representative for the source and each 

CO2 budget unit at the source and all documents that 

demonstrate the truth of the statements in the account 

certificate of representation, in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6110, provided that the certificate and documents 

shall be retained on site at the source beyond such 10-

year period until such documents are superseded because 

of the submission of a new account certificate of 

representation changing the CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

b. All emissions monitoring information, in accordance 

with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part and 

40 CFR 75.57. 

c. Copies of all reports, compliance certifications, and 

other submissions and all records made or required under 

the CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

d. Copies of all documents used to complete a CO2 

budget permit application and any other submission 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program or to 

demonstrate compliance with the requirements of the 

CO2 Budget Trading Program. 

2. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget source and each CO2 budget unit at the source shall 

submit the reports and compliance certifications required 

under the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including those 

under Article 4 (9VAC5-140-6170 et seq.) of this part. 

F. Liability requirements shall be as follows. 

1. No permit revision shall excuse any violation of the 

requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

occurs prior to the date that the revision takes effect. 

2. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

applies to a CO2 budget source, including a provision 

applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 

a CO2 budget source, shall also apply to the owners and 

operators of such source and of the CO2 budget units at the 

source. 

3. Any provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program that 

applies to a CO2 budget unit, including a provision 

applicable to the CO2 authorized account representative of 

a CO2 budget unit, shall also apply to the owners and 

operators of such unit. 

G. No provision of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, a CO2 

budget permit application, or a CO2 budget permit shall be 

construed as exempting or excluding the owners and 

operators and, to the extent applicable, the CO2 authorized 

account representative of the CO2 budget source or CO2 

budget unit from compliance with any other provisions of 

applicable state and federal law or regulations. 

9VAC5-140-6150. Submission of CO2 budget permit 

applications. 

For any CO2 budget source, the CO2 authorized account 

representative shall submit a complete CO2 budget permit 

application under 9VAC5-140-6160 covering such CO2 

budget source to the department by the later of January 1, 

2020 2021, or 12 months before the date on which the CO2 

budget source, or a new unit at the source, commences 

operation. 

Article 4 

Compliance Certification 

9VAC5-140-6170. Compliance certification report. 

A. For the initial control period and each control period in 

which a CO2 budget source is subject to the CO2 requirements 

of 9VAC5-140-6050 C, the CO2 authorized account 

representative of the source shall submit to the department by 

March 1 following the relevant control period, a compliance 

certification report. A compliance certification report is not 

required as part of the compliance obligation during an 

interim control period. 

B. The CO2 authorized account representative shall include 

in the compliance certification report under subsection A of 

this section the following elements, in a format prescribed by 

the department: 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 3, 2020 

2607 

1. Identification of the source and each CO2 budget unit at 

the source; 

2. At the CO2 authorized account representative's option, 

the serial numbers of the CO2 allowances that are to be 

deducted from the source's compliance account under 

9VAC5-140-6260 for the control period; and 

3. The compliance certification under subsection C of this 

section. 

C. In the compliance certification report under subsection A 

of this section, the CO2 authorized account representative 

shall certify, based on reasonable inquiry of those persons 

with primary responsibility for operating the source and the 

CO2 budget units at the source in compliance with the CO2 

Budget Trading Program, whether the source and each CO2 

budget unit at the source for which the compliance 

certification is submitted was operated during the calendar 

years covered by the report in compliance with the 

requirements of the CO2 Budget Trading Program, including: 

1. Whether the source was operated in compliance with the 

CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C; 

2. Whether the monitoring plan applicable to each unit at 

the source has been maintained to reflect the actual 

operation and monitoring of the unit, and contains all 

information necessary to attribute CO2 emissions to the 

unit, in accordance with Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part; 

3. Whether all the CO2 emissions from the units at the 

source were monitored or accounted for through the 

missing data procedures and reported in the quarterly 

monitoring reports, including whether conditional data 

were reported in the quarterly reports in accordance with 

Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part. If 

conditional data were reported, the owner or operator shall 

indicate whether the status of all conditional data has been 

resolved and all necessary quarterly report resubmissions 

have been made; 

4. Whether the facts that form the basis for certification 

under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part of 

each monitor at each unit at the source, or for using an 

excepted monitoring method or alternative monitoring 

method approved under Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et 

seq.) of this part, if any, have changed; and 

5. If a change is required to be reported under subdivision 

4 of this subsection, specify the nature of the change, the 

reason for the change, when the change occurred, and how 

the unit's compliance status was determined subsequent to 

the change, including what method was used to determine 

emissions when a change mandated the need for monitor 

recertification. 

Article 5  

CO2 Allowance Allocations 

9VAC5-140-6190. Base budgets. 

A. The Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget 

shall be as follows: 

1. For 2020, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 28 million tons. 

2. For 2021, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 27.16 million tons. 

3. 2. For 2022, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 26.32 million tons. 

4. 3. For 2023, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 25.48 million tons. 

5. 4. For 2024, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 24.64 million tons. 

6. 5. For 2025, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 23.80 million tons. 

7. 6. For 2026, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 22.96 million tons. 

8. 7. For 2027, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 22.12 million tons. 

9. 8. For 2028, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 21.28 million tons. 

10. 9. For 2029, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base budget is 20.44 million tons. 

11. 10. For 2030, the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading 

Program base budget is 19.60 million tons. 

B. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 

CO2 budget units and to DMME. After a conditional 

allowance has been consigned in an auction by a CO2 budget 

unit or the holder of a public contract with DMME as 

specified under Article 9 (9VAC5-140-6410 et seq.) of this 

part, the conditional allowance becomes a CO2 allowance 

once it is sold to an auction participant. 

C. For 2031 and each succeeding calendar year, the Virginia 

CO2 Budget Trading Program base budget is 19.60 million 

tons unless modified as a result of a program review and 

future regulatory action. 

9VAC5-140-6200. Undistributed and unsold conditional 

CO2 allowances. 

A. The department will retire undistributed conditional CO2 

allowances at the end of the initial control period and each 

subsequent control period.  

B. The department will retire unsold conditional CO2 

allowances at the end of the initial control period and each 

subsequent control period. 
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9VAC5-140-6210. Conditional CO2 allowance allocations. 

A. The department will allocate the Virginia CO2 Budget 

Trading Program base budget conditional CO2 allowances to 

CO2 budget sources to be consigned to auction to the Virginia 

Consignment Auction Account. 

B. For allocation years 2020 2021 through 2031 2030, the 

Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budget shall 

be the maximum number of allowances available for 

allocation in a given allocation year, except for conditional 

CO2 CCR allowances. 

C. Conditional allowances allocated for a calendar year will 

be automatically transferred to the Virginia Consignment 

Auction Account to be consigned to auction. Following each 

auction, all conditional allowances sold at the auction will be 

transferred from the Virginia Consignment Auction Account 

to winning bidders' accounts as CO2 allowances. 

D. The cost containment reserve (CCR) allocation shall be 

managed as follows. The In the event that the CCR is 

triggered during an auction, the department will allocate 

conditional CO2 CCR allowances, separate from and 

additional to the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget set forth in 9VAC5-140-6190 to the Virginia 

Consignment Auction Account. The CCR allocation is for the 

purpose of containing the cost of CO2 allowances. The 

department will allocate conditional CO2 CCR allowances as 

follows: 

1. Beginning in calendar year 2020, the department will 

initially allocate, on a pro rata basis to CO2 budget sources, 

2.8 million conditional CO2 CCR allowances. 

2. On or before January 1, 2021, and each year thereafter, 

the department will allocate, on a pro rata basis to CO2 

budget sources, current vintage year conditional CO2 CCR 

allowances equal to the quantity in Table 140-5A. 

Table 140-5A 

Conditional CO2 CCR Allowances from 2021 

Forward 

2021 2.716 million tons 

2022 2.632 million tons 

2023 2.548 million tons 

2024 2.464 million tons 

2025 2.380 million tons 

2026 2.296 million tons 

2027 2.212 million tons 

2028 2.128 million tons 

2029 2.044 million tons 

2030 and each year 

thereafter 

1.960 million tons 

3. The pro rata calculation to be used for the distribution of 

conditional CO2 CCR allowances is as follows: 

SAA/TAA * CCR = SCCR 

Where: 

SAA = source adjusted allocation 

TAA = total adjusted allocation 

SCCR = source CCR 

4. Conditional 2. CCR allowances allocated for a calendar 

year will be automatically transferred to the Virginia 

Consignment Auction Account to be consigned to auction 

auctioned. Following each auction, all conditional CO2 

CCR allowances sold at auction will be transferred to 

winning bidders' accounts as CO2 CCR allowances. 

5. 3. Unsold conditional CO2 CCR allowances will remain 

in the Virginia Consignment Auction Account to be re-

offered for sale at auction within the same calendar year. 

Conditional CO2 CCR allowances remaining unsold at the 

end of the calendar year in which they were originated will 

be made unavailable for sale at future auctions. 

E. D. In the event that the ECR is triggered during an 

auction, the department will authorize its agent to withhold 

conditional CO2 allowances as needed. The department will 

further authorize its agent to convert and transfer any 

conditional CO2 allowances that have been withheld from any 

auction into the Virginia ECR account. The ECR withholding 

is for the purpose of additional emission reduction in the 

event of lower than anticipated emission reduction costs. The 

department's agent will withhold CO2 ECR allowances as 

follows: 

1. If the condition in 9VAC5-140-6420 D C 1 is met at an 

auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 

allowances that will be withheld from that auction will be 

equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B minus the 

total quantity of CO2 ECR allowances that have been 

withheld from any prior auction in that calendar year. Any 

CO2 ECR allowances withheld from an auction will be 

transferred into the Virginia ECR account. 

Table 140-5B 

ECR Allowances from 2021 Forward 

2021 2.716 million tons 

2022 2.632 million tons 

2023 2.548 million tons 

2024 2.464 million tons 

2025 2.380 million tons 

2026 2.296 million tons 

2027 2.212 million tons 
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2028 2.128 million tons 

2029 2.044 million tons 

2030 and each year 

thereafter 

1.960 million tons 

2. Allowances that have been transferred into the Virginia 

ECR account shall not be withdrawn. 

F. E. The adjustment for banked allowances will be as 

follows. On March 15, 2021, the department may determine 

the adjustment for banked allowances quantity for allocation 

years 2021 through 2025 through the application of the 

following formula:  

TABA = ((TA – TAE)/5) x RS% 

Where:  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons.  

TA, adjustment, is the total quantity of allowances of 

vintage years prior to 2021 held in general and compliance 

accounts, including compliance accounts established 

pursuant to the CO2 Budget Trading Program but not 

including accounts opened by participating states, as 

reflected in the CO2 Allowance Tracking System on March 

15, 2021.  

TAE, adjustment emissions, is the total quantity of 2018, 

2019, and 2020 emissions from all CO2 budget sources in 

all participating states, reported pursuant to CO2 Budget 

Trading Program as reflected in the CO2 Allowance 

Tracking System on March 15, 2021.  

RS% is Virginia budget divided by the regional budget. 

G. F. CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for 

2021 through 2025 shall be determined as follows: on April 

15, 2021, the department will determine the Virginia CO2 

Budget Trading Program adjusted budgets for the 2021 

through 2025 allocation years by the following formula: 

AB = BB – TABA 

Where: 

AB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program adjusted 

budget.  

BB is the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program base 

budget.  

TABA is the adjustment for banked allowances quantity in 

tons. 

H. G. The department or its agent will publish the CO2 

trading program adjusted budgets for the 2021 through 2025 

allocation years.  

I. Timing requirements for conditional allowance allocations 

shall be as follows: 

1. By August 25, 2019, the department will submit to its 

agent the conditional allowance allocations in accordance 

with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, for the initial control 

period, 2020. 

2. By the month and day established by subdivision 1 of 

this subsection, 2020, the department will submit to its 

agent 50% of the conditional allowance allocations in 

accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, for the 2021 

control period. By the month and day one month before the 

date established by subdivision 1 of this subsection, 2021, 

the department will submit to its agent the remainder of the 

conditional allowance allocations in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6215 A and B, for 2021. 

3. By the month and day established by subdivision 1 of 

this subsection, 2021, and the month and day established 

by subdivision 1 of this subsection of every subsequent 

year thereafter, the department will submit to its agent the 

conditional allowance allocations for the applicable control 

period in accordance with 9VAC5-140-6215 A and B. 

J. Implementation of the CCR (subsection C of this section), 

the ECR (subsection D of this section) and the banking 

adjustment (subsection E of this section) shall be determined 

based on the extent of the CO2 trading program. 

K. Conditional allowances and conditional CCR allowances 

allocated for a calendar year will be automatically transferred 

to the Virginia Consignment Auction Account to be 

consigned to auction. Following each auction, all conditional 

allowances sold at the auction will be transferred from the 

Virginia Consignment Auction Account to winning bidders' 

accounts as CO2 allowances. Conditional CCR allowances 

sold at auction will be transferred to winning bidders' 

accounts as CO2 CCR allowances. Unsold conditional CCR 

allowances will remain in the Virginia Consignment Auction 

Account to be re-offered for sale at auction within the same 

calendar year. Conditional CCR allowances remaining unsold 

at the end of the calendar year in which they were originated 

will be made unavailable for sale at future auctions. 

9VAC5-140-6211. Conditional allowance allocations, 

DMME allowances. (Repealed.) 

Notwithstanding 9VAC5-140-6210, the department will 

allocate 5.0% of the Virginia CO2 Budget Trading Program 

base or adjusted budget allowances, as applicable, to DMME 

to be consigned to auction by the holder of a public contract 

with DMME to assist the department for the abatement and 

control of air pollution, specifically CO2, by the 

implementation of programs that lower base and peak 

electricity demand and reduce the cost of the program to 

consumers and budget sources. 
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9VAC5-140-6215. Conditional allocation methodology. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The net-electric output in MWh used with respect to 

conditional allowance allocations under subsection B of this 

section for each CO2 budget unit shall be: 

1. For units operating on or before January 1, 2020, the 

average of the three amounts of the unit's net-electric 

output during 2016, 2017, and 2018 to determine 

allocations for the initial control period. 

2. For all units operating in each control period after 2020, 

the average of the three amounts of the unit's total net-

electric output during the three most recent years for which 

data are available prior to the start of the control period. 

B. 1. For each control period beginning in 2020 and 

thereafter, the department will allocate to all CO2 budget units 

that have a net-electric output, as determined under 

subsection A of this section, a total amount of conditional 

allowances equal to the CO2 base budget. 

2. The department will allocate conditional allowances to 

each conditional budget unit under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection in an amount determined by multiplying the 

total amount of CO2 allowances allocated under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection by the ratio of the baseline 

electrical output of such CO2 budget unit to the total 

amount of baseline electrical output of all such CO2 budget 

units and rounding to the nearest whole allowance as 

appropriate. 

3. New CO2 budget units will be allocated conditional 

allowances once they have established electrical output 

data to be used in the conditional allowance allocation 

process. 

C. For the purpose of the allocation process as described in 

subsections A and B of this section, CO2 budget units shall 

report the unit's net-electric output to the department on a 

yearly basis as follows: 

1. By August 25, 2019, each CO2 budget unit shall report 

yearly net-electric output data during 2016, 2017, and 

2018. 

2. By the month and day established by subdivision 1 of 

this subsection, 2020, and each year thereafter, each CO2 

budget unit shall report yearly net-electric output data for 

the previous year. 

Article 6 

CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

9VAC5-140-6220. CO2 Allowance Tracking System 

accounts. 

A. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 A, the department or 

its agent will establish one compliance account for each CO2 

budget source. Allocations of conditional CO2 allowances 

pursuant to Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part 

and deductions or transfers of conditional CO2 allowances 

pursuant to 9VAC5-140-6180, 9VAC5-140-6260, 9VAC5-

140-6280, or Article 7 (9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part 

will be recorded in the compliance accounts in accordance 

with this section. 

B. Consistent with 9VAC5-140-6230 B, the department or 

its agent will establish, upon request, a general account for 

any person. Transfers of CO2 allowances pursuant to Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part will be recorded in the 

general account in accordance with this article. 

9VAC5-140-6230. Establishment of accounts. 

A. Upon receipt of a complete account certificate of 

representation under 9VAC5-140-6110, the department or its 

agent will establish a conditional an allowance account and a 

compliance account for each CO2 budget source for which an 

account certificate of representation was submitted and a 

conditional allowance account for DMME. 

B. General accounts shall operate as follows. 

1. Any person may apply to open a general account for the 

purpose of holding and transferring CO2 allowances. An 

application for a general account may designate one and 

only one CO2 authorized account representative and one 

and only one CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative who may act on behalf of the CO2 

authorized account representative. The agreement by 

which the CO2 authorized alternate account representative 

is selected shall include a procedure for authorizing the 

CO2 authorized alternate account representative to act in 

lieu of the CO2 authorized account representative. A 

complete application for a general account shall be 

submitted to the department or its agent and shall include 

the following elements in a format prescribed by the 

department or its agent: 

a. Name, address, email address, telephone number, and 

facsimile transmission number of the CO2 authorized 

account representative and any CO2 authorized alternate 

account representative; 

b. At the option of the CO2 authorized account 

representative, organization name and type of 

organization; 

c. A list of all persons subject to a binding agreement for 

the CO2 authorized account representative or any CO2 

authorized alternate account representative to represent 

their ownership interest with respect to the CO2 

allowances held in the general account; 

d. The following certification statement by the CO2 

authorized account representative and any CO2 

authorized alternate account representative: "I certify that 

I was selected as the CO2 authorized account 

representative or the CO2 authorized alternate account 
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representative, as applicable, by an agreement that is 

binding on all persons who have an ownership interest 

with respect to CO2 allowances held in the general 

account. I certify that I have all the necessary authority to 

carry out my duties and responsibilities under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program on behalf of such persons and 

that each such person shall be fully bound by my 

representations, actions, inactions, or submissions and by 

any order or decision issued to me by the department or 

its agent or a court regarding the general account."; 

e. The signature of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative and the dates signed; and 

f. Unless otherwise required by the department or its 

agent, documents of agreement referred to in the 

application for a general account shall not be submitted 

to the department or its agent. Neither the department nor 

its agent shall be under any obligation to review or 

evaluate the sufficiency of such documents, if submitted. 

2. Authorization of the CO2 authorized account 

representative shall be as follows: 

a. Upon receipt by the department or its agent of a 

complete application for a general account under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection: 

(1) The department or its agent will establish a general 

account for the person for whom the application is 

submitted. 

(2) The CO2 authorized account representative and any 

CO2 authorized alternate account representative for the 

general account shall represent and, by his 

representations, actions, inactions, or submissions, 

legally bind each person who has an ownership interest 

with respect to CO2 allowances held in the general 

account in all matters pertaining to the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program, notwithstanding any agreement 

between the CO2 authorized account representative or 

any CO2 authorized alternate account representative and 

such person. Any such person shall be bound by any 

order or decision issued to the CO2 authorized account 

representative or any CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative by the department or its agent or a court 

regarding the general account. 

(3) Any representation, action, inaction, or submission by 

any CO2 authorized alternate account representative shall 

be deemed to be a representation, action, inaction, or 

submission by the CO2 authorized account 

representative. 

b. Each submission concerning the general account shall 

be submitted, signed, and certified by the CO2 authorized 

account representative or any CO2 authorized alternate 

account representative for the persons having an 

ownership interest with respect to CO2 allowances held 

in the general account. Each such submission shall 

include the following certification statement by the CO2 

authorized account representative or any CO2 authorized 

alternate account representative: "I am authorized to 

make this submission on behalf of the persons having an 

ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances 

held in the general account. I certify under penalty of law 

that I have personally examined, and am familiar with, 

the statements and information submitted in this 

document and all its attachments. Based on my inquiry of 

those individuals with primary responsibility for 

obtaining the information, I certify that the statements 

and information are to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false statements 

and information or omitting required statements and 

information, including the possibility of fine or 

imprisonment." 

c. The department or its agent will accept or act on a 

submission concerning the general account only if the 

submission has been made, signed, and certified in 

accordance with subdivision 2 b of this subsection. 

3. Changing CO2 authorized account representative and 

CO2 authorized alternate account representative, and 

changes in persons with ownership interest, shall be 

accomplished as follows: 

a. The CO2 authorized account representative for a 

general account may be changed at any time upon receipt 

by the department or its agent of a superseding complete 

application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. Notwithstanding any such change, all 

representations, actions, inactions, and submissions by 

the previous CO2 authorized account representative, or 

the previous CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative, prior to the time and date when the 

department or its agent receives the superseding 

application for a general account shall be binding on the 

new CO2 authorized account representative and the 

persons with an ownership interest with respect to the 

CO2 allowances in the general account. 

b. The CO2 authorized alternate account representative 

for a general account may be changed at any time upon 

receipt by the department or its agent of a superseding 

complete application for a general account under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. Notwithstanding any 

such change, all representations, actions, inactions, and 

submissions by the previous CO2 authorized account 

representative, or the previous CO2 authorized alternate 

account representative, prior to the time and date when 

the department or its agent receives the superseding 

application for a general account shall be binding on the 

new alternate CO2 authorized account representative and 
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the persons with an ownership interest with respect to the 

CO2 allowances in the general account. 

c. In the event a new person having an ownership interest 

with respect to CO2 allowances in the general account is 

not included in the list of such persons in the application 

for a general account, such new person shall be deemed 

to be subject to and bound by the application for a 

general account, the representations, actions, inactions, 

and submissions of the CO2 authorized account 

representative and any CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative, and the decisions, orders, actions, and 

inactions of the department or its agent, as if the new 

person were included in such list. 

d. Within 30 days following any change in the persons 

having an ownership interest with respect to CO2 

allowances in the general account, including the addition 

or deletion of persons, the CO2 authorized account 

representative or any CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative shall submit a revision to the application 

for a general account amending the list of persons having 

an ownership interest with respect to the CO2 allowances 

in the general account to include the change. 

4. Objections concerning CO2 authorized account 

representative shall be governed as follows: 

a. Once a complete application for a general account 

under subdivision 1 of this subsection has been submitted 

and received, the department or its agent will rely on the 

application unless and until a superseding complete 

application for a general account under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection is received by the department or its agent. 

b. Except as provided in subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of this 

subsection, no objection or other communication 

submitted to the department or its agent concerning the 

authorization, or any representation, action, inaction, or 

submission of the CO2 authorized account representative 

or any CO2 authorized alternate account representative 

for a general account shall affect any representation, 

action, inaction, or submission of the CO2 authorized 

account representative or any CO2 authorized alternate 

account representative or the finality of any decision or 

order by the department or its agent under the CO2 

Budget Trading Program. 

c. Neither the department nor its agent will adjudicate 

any private legal dispute concerning the authorization or 

any representation, action, inaction, or submission of the 

CO2 authorized account representative or any CO2 

authorized alternate account representative for a general 

account, including private legal disputes concerning the 

proceeds of CO2 allowance transfers. 

5. Delegation by CO2 authorized account representative 

and CO2 authorized alternate account representative shall 

be accomplished as follows: 

a. A CO2 authorized account representative may 

delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 

make an electronic submission to the department or its 

agent provided for under this article and Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

b. A CO2 authorized alternate account representative may 

delegate, to one or more natural persons, his authority to 

make an electronic submission to the department or its 

agent provided for under this article and Article 7 

(9VAC5-140-6300 et seq.) of this part. 

c. To delegate authority to make an electronic submission 

to the department or its agent in accordance with 

subdivisions 5 a and 5 b of this subsection, the CO2 

authorized account representative or CO2 authorized 

alternate account representative, as appropriate, shall 

submit to the department or its agent a notice of 

delegation, in a format prescribed by the department that 

includes the following elements: 

(1) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of such CO2 

authorized account representative or CO2 authorized 

alternate account representative; 

(2) The name, address, email address, telephone number, 

and facsimile transmission number of each such natural 

person, referred to as "electronic submission agent"; 

(3) For each such natural person, a list of the type of 

electronic submissions under subdivision 5 c (1) or 5 c 

(2) of this subsection for which authority is delegated to 

him; and 

(4) The following certification statement by such CO2 

authorized account representative or CO2 authorized 

alternate account representative: "I agree that any 

electronic submission to the department or its agent that 

is by a natural person identified in this notice of 

delegation and of a type listed for such electronic 

submission agent in this notice of delegation and that is 

made when I am a CO2 authorized account representative 

or CO2 authorized alternate account representative, as 

appropriate, and before this notice of delegation is 

superseded by another notice of delegation under 

9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d shall be deemed to be an 

electronic submission by me. Until this notice of 

delegation is superseded by another notice of delegation 

under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 5 d, I agree to maintain an 

email account and to notify the department or its agent 

immediately of any change in my email address unless 

all delegation authority by me under 9VAC5-140-6230 B 

5 is terminated." 

d. A notice of delegation submitted under subdivision 5 c 

of this subsection shall be effective, with regard to the 

CO2 authorized account representative or CO2 authorized 

alternate account representative identified in such notice, 
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upon receipt of such notice by the department or its agent 

and until receipt by the department or its agent of a 

superseding notice of delegation by such CO2 authorized 

account representative or CO2 authorized alternate 

account representative as appropriate. The superseding 

notice of delegation may replace any previously 

identified electronic submission agent, add a new 

electronic submission agent, or eliminate entirely any 

delegation of authority. 

e. Any electronic submission covered by the certification 

in subdivision 5 c (4) of this subsection and made in 

accordance with a notice of delegation effective under 

subdivision 5 d of this subsection shall be deemed to be 

an electronic submission by the CO2 authorized account 

representative or CO2 authorized alternate account 

representative submitting such notice of delegation. 

C. The department or its agent will assign a unique 

identifying number to each account established under 

subsection A or B of this section. 

9VAC5-140-6250. Recordation of conditional CO2 

allowance allocations. 

A. By January 1 of each calendar year, the department or its 

agent will record in the following accounts: 

1. In each CO2 budget source's and DMME's conditional 

allowance account, the conditional CO2 allowances 

allocated to those sources and DMME by the department 

prior to being consigned to auction auctioned; and  

2. In each CO2 budget source's compliance account, the 

CO2 allowances purchased at auction by CO2 budget units 

at the source under 9VAC5-140-6210 A.  

B. Each year the department or its agent will record 

conditional CO2 allowances, as allocated to the unit under 

Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part, in the 

compliance account for the year after the last year for which 

conditional CO2 allowances were previously allocated to the 

compliance account. Each year, the department or its agent 

will also record conditional CO2 allowances, as allocated 

under Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part, in an 

allocation set-aside for the year after the last year for which 

conditional CO2 allowances were previously allocated to an 

allocation set-aside.  

C. Serial numbers for allocated conditional CO2 allowances 

shall be managed as follows. When allocating conditional 

CO2 allowances to and recording them in an account, the 

department or its agent will assign each conditional CO2 

allowance a unique identification number that will include 

digits identifying the year for which the conditional CO2 

allowance is allocated. 

9VAC5-140-6260. Compliance. 

A. CO2 allowances that meet the following criteria are 

available to be deducted for a CO2 budget source to comply 

with the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-140-6050 C for the 

initial control period, a control period, or an interim control 

period. 

1. The CO2 allowances are of allocation years that fall 

within an initial control period, a prior control period, the 

same control period, or the same interim control period for 

which the allowances will be deducted. 

2. The CO2 allowances are held in the CO2 budget source's 

compliance account as of the CO2 allowance transfer 

deadline for that initial control period, control period, or 

interim control period or are transferred into the 

compliance account by a CO2 allowance transfer correctly 

submitted for recordation under 9VAC5-140-6300 by the 

CO2 allowance transfer deadline for that initial control 

period, control period, or interim control period. 

3. For CO2 offset allowances generated by other 

participating states, the number of CO2 offset allowances 

that are available to be deducted in order for a CO2 budget 

source to comply with the CO2 requirements of 9VAC5-

140-6050 C for a control period or an initial interim control 

period shall not exceed 3.3% of the CO2 budget source's 

CO2 emissions for that control period, or may not exceed 

3.3% of 0.50 times the CO2 budget source's CO2 emissions 

for an interim control period, as determined in accordance 

with this article and Article 8 (9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of 

this part. 

4. The CO2 allowances are not necessary for deductions for 

excess emissions for a prior initial control period or a 

control period under subsection D of this section. 

B. Following the recordation, in accordance with 9VAC5-

140-6310, of CO2 allowance transfers submitted for 

recordation in the CO2 budget source's compliance account by 

the CO2 allowance transfer deadline for the initial control 

period, a control period , or an interim control period, the 

department or its agent will deduct CO2 allowances available 

under subsection A of this section to cover the source's CO2 

emissions, as determined in accordance with Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, for the initial control 

period, control period, or interim control period, as follows: 

1. Until the amount of CO2 allowances deducted equals the 

number of tons of total CO2 emissions, or 0.50 times the 

number of tons of total CO2 emissions for an interim 

control period, determined in accordance with Article 8 

(9VAC5-140-6330 et seq.) of this part, from all CO2 

budget units at the CO2 budget source for the initial control 

period, control period, or interim control period; or 

2. If there are insufficient CO2 allowances to complete the 

deductions in subdivision 1 of this subsection, until no 
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more CO2 allowances available under subsection A of this 

section remain in the compliance account. 

C. Identification of available CO2 allowances by serial 

number and default compliance deductions shall be managed 

as follows: 

1. The CO2 authorized account representative for a source's 

compliance account may request that specific CO2 

allowances, identified by serial number, in the compliance 

account be deducted for emissions or excess emissions for 

the initial control period, a control period, or interim 

control period in accordance with subsection B or D of this 

section. Such identification shall be made in the 

compliance certification report submitted in accordance 

with 9VAC5-140-6170. 

2. The department or its agent will deduct CO2 allowances 

for the initial control period, an interim control period, or a 

control period from the CO2 budget source's compliance 

account, in the absence of an identification or in the case of 

a partial identification of available CO2 allowances by 

serial number under subdivision 1 of this subsection, as 

follows: Any CO2 allowances that are available for 

deduction under subdivision 1 of this subsection. CO2 

allowances shall be deducted in chronological order (i.e., 

CO2 allowances from earlier allocation years shall be 

deducted before CO2 allowances from later allocation 

years). In the event that some, but not all, CO2 allowances 

from a particular allocation year are to be deducted, CO2 

allowances shall be deducted by serial number, with lower 

serial number allowances deducted before higher serial 

number allowances. 

D. Deductions for excess emissions shall be managed as 

follows. 

1. After making the deductions for compliance under 

subsection B of this section, the department or its agent 

will deduct from the CO2 budget source's compliance 

account a number of CO2 allowances equal to three times 

the number of the source's excess emissions. In the event 

that a source has insufficient CO2 allowances to cover 

three times the number of the source's excess emissions, 

the source shall be required to immediately transfer 

sufficient allowances into its compliance account. 

2. Any CO2 allowance deduction required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not affect the liability 

of the owners and operators of the CO2 budget source or 

the CO2 budget units at the source for any fine, penalty, or 

assessment, or their obligation to comply with any other 

remedy, for the same violation, as ordered under applicable 

state law. The following guidelines will be followed in 

assessing fines, penalties, or other obligations: 

a. For purposes of determining the number of days of 

violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess emissions 

for a control period, each day in the control period 

constitutes a day in violation unless the owners and 

operators of the unit demonstrate that a lesser number of 

days should be considered. 

b. Each ton of excess emissions is a separate violation. 

c. For purposes of determining the number of days of 

violation, if a CO2 budget source has excess interim 

emissions for an interim control period, each day in the 

interim control period constitutes a day in violation 

unless the owners and operators of the unit demonstrate 

that a lesser number of days should be considered. 

d. Each ton of excess interim emissions is a separate 

violation. 

3. The propriety of the department's determination that a 

CO2 budget source had excess emissions and the 

concomitant deduction of CO2 allowances from that CO2 

budget source's account may be later challenged in the 

context of the initial administrative enforcement, or any 

civil or criminal judicial action arising from or 

encompassing that excess emissions violation. The 

commencement or pendency of any administrative 

enforcement, or civil or criminal judicial action arising 

from or encompassing that excess emissions violation will 

not act to prevent the department or its agent from initially 

deducting the CO2 allowances resulting from the 

department's original determination that the relevant CO2 

budget source has had excess emissions. Should the 

department's determination of the existence or extent of the 

CO2 budget source's excess emissions be revised either by 

a settlement or final conclusion of any administrative or 

judicial action, the department will act as follows: 

a. In any instance where the department's determination 

of the extent of excess emissions was too low, the 

department will take further action under subdivisions 1 

and 2 of this subsection to address the expanded 

violation. 

b. In any instance where the department's determination 

of the extent of excess emissions was too high, the 

department will distribute to the relevant CO2 budget 

source a number of CO2 allowances equaling the number 

of CO2 allowances deducted which are attributable to the 

difference between the original and final quantity of 

excess emissions. Should such CO2 budget source's 

compliance account no longer exist, the CO2 allowances 

will be provided to a general account selected by the 

owner or operator of the CO2 budget source from which 

they were originally deducted. 

E. The department or its agent will record in the appropriate 

compliance account all deductions from such an account 

pursuant to subsections B and D of this section. 
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F. Action by the department on submissions shall be as 

follows: 

1. The department may review and conduct independent 

audits concerning any submission under the CO2 Budget 

Trading Program and make appropriate adjustments of the 

information in the submissions. 

2. The department may deduct CO2 allowances from or 

transfer CO2 allowances to a source's compliance account 

based on information in the submissions, as adjusted under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

9VAC5-140-6325. Life-of-the-unit contractual 

arrangements. 

A. A power purchaser entered into a life-of-the-unit 

contractual arrangement as described in subdivision b of the 

definition of "life-of-the-unit contractual arrangement" with a 

CO2 budget source or unit shall be responsible for acquiring 

and transferring all allowances to the CO2 budget source or 

unit that are necessary for demonstrating compliance with the 

CO2 budget trading program. 

B. The CO2 budget source or unit shall provide a copy of the 

energy conversion or energy tolling agreement to the 

department within six months of July 10, 2020. If such 

agreement is subject to third-party disclosure restrictions, the 

CO2 budget source or unit shall provide purchaser within 10 

days prior written notice of its intention to disclose the 

agreement to the department and request confidential 

treatment from the public disclosure of such agreement. The 

department will grant a request for confidential treatment 

pursuant to applicable statutory and regulatory requirements 

addressing confidential information. 

C. The CO2 budget source or unit shall be responsible for 

compliance with and otherwise be subject to all other 

requirements of this part and the CO2 budget trading program. 

Article 8 

Monitoring, Reporting, and Recordkeeping 

9VAC5-140-6330. General requirements. 

A. The owners and operators, and to the extent applicable, 

the CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget 

unit shall comply with the monitoring, recordkeeping, and 

reporting requirements as provided in this section and all 

applicable sections of 40 CFR Part 75. Where referenced in 

this article, the monitoring requirements of 40 CFR Part 75 

shall be adhered to in a manner consistent with the purpose of 

monitoring and reporting CO2 mass emissions pursuant to this 

part. For purposes of complying with such requirements, the 

definitions in 9VAC5-140-6020 and in 40 CFR 72.2 shall 

apply, and the terms "affected unit," "designated 

representative," and "CEMS" in 40 CFR Part 75 shall be 

replaced by the terms "CO2 budget unit," "CO2 authorized 

account representative," and "CEMS," respectively, as 

defined in 9VAC5-140-6020. For units not subject to an acid 

rain Acid Rain emissions limitation, the term "administrator" 

in 40 CFR Part 75 shall be replaced with "the department or 

its agent." Owners or operators of a CO2 budget unit who 

monitor a non-CO2 budget unit pursuant to the common, 

multiple, or bypass stack procedures in 40 CFR 

75.72(b)(2)(ii), or 40 CFR 75.16 (b)(2)(ii)(B) pursuant to 

40 CFR 75.13, for purposes of complying with this part, shall 

monitor and report CO2 mass emissions from such non-CO2 

budget units according to the procedures for CO2 budget units 

established in this article. 

B. The owner or operator of each CO2 budget unit shall meet 

the following general requirements for installation, 

certification, and data accounting. 

1. Install all monitoring systems necessary to monitor CO2 

mass emissions in accordance with 40 CFR Part 75, except 

for equation G-1. Equation G-1 in Appendix G shall not be 

used to determine CO2 emissions under this part. This may 

require systems to monitor CO2 concentration, stack gas 

flow rate, O2 concentration, heat input, and fuel flow rate. 

2. Successfully complete all certification tests required 

under 9VAC5-140-6340 and meet all other requirements of 

this section and 40 CFR Part 75 applicable to the 

monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

3. Record, report, and quality-assure the data from the 

monitoring systems under subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

C. The owner or operator shall meet the monitoring system 

certification and other requirements of subsection B of this 

section on or before the following dates. The owner or 

operator shall record, report, and quality-assure the data from 

the monitoring systems under subdivision B 1 of this section 

on and after the following dates: 

1. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit, except for a 

CO2 budget unit under subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

shall comply with the requirements of this section by 

January 1, 2020 2021. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that 

commences commercial operation July 1, 2020 2021, shall 

comply with the requirements of this section by (i) January 

1, 2021 2022, or (ii) the earlier of 90 unit operating days 

after the date on which the unit commences commercial 

operation or 180 calendar days after the date on which the 

unit commences commercial operation. 

3. For the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit for 

which construction of a new stack or flue installation is 

completed after the applicable deadline under subdivision 

1 or 2 of this subsection by the earlier of (i) 90 unit 

operating days after the date on which emissions first exit 

to the atmosphere through the new stack or flue or (ii) 180 

calendar days after the date on which emissions first exit to 

the atmosphere through the new stack or flue. 
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D. Data shall be reported as follows: 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

the owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does not 

meet the applicable compliance date set forth in subsection 

C of this section for any monitoring system under 

subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 

monitoring system, determine, record, and report 

maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 

values for CO2 concentration, CO2 emissions rate, stack 

gas moisture content, fuel flow rate, heat input, and any 

other parameter required to determine CO2 mass emissions 

in accordance with 40 CFR 75.31(b)(2) or (c)(3) or Section 

2.4 of Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75 as applicable. 

2. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit that does 

not meet the applicable compliance date set forth in 

subdivision C 3 of this section for any monitoring system 

under subdivision B 1 of this section shall, for each such 

monitoring system, determine, record, and report substitute 

data using the applicable missing data procedures in 

Subpart D, or Appendix D of 40 CFR Part 75, in lieu of the 

maximum potential, or as appropriate minimum potential, 

values for a parameter if the owner or operator 

demonstrates that there is continuity between the data 

streams for that parameter before and after the construction 

or installation under subdivision C 3 of this section. 

a. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain Acid Rain 

emissions limitation or CSAPR NOX Ozone Season 

Trading Program that qualify for the optional SO2, NOX, 

and CO2 (for acid rain) Acid Rain) or NOX (for CSAPR 

NOX Ozone Season Trading Program) emissions 

calculations for low mass emissions (LME) units under 

40 CFR 75.19 and report emissions for such programs 

using the calculations under 40 CFR 75.19, shall also use 

the CO2 emissions calculations for LME units under 

40 CFR 75.19 for purposes of compliance with these 

regulations. 

b. CO2 budget units subject to an acid rain Acid Rain 

emissions limitation that do not qualify for the optional 

SO2, NOX, and CO2 (for acid rain) Acid Rain) or NOX 

(for CSAPR NOX Ozone Season Trading Program) 

emissions calculations for LME units under 40 CFR 

75.19 shall not use the CO2 emissions calculations for 

LME units under 40 CFR 75.19 for purposes of 

compliance with these regulations. 

c. CO2 budget units not subject to an acid rain Acid Rain 

emissions limitation shall qualify for the optional CO2 

emissions calculation for LME units under 40 CFR 

75.19, provided that they emit less than 100 tons of NOX 

annually and no more than 25 tons of SO2 annually. 

3. The owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall report 

net-electric output data to the department as required by 

Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of this part. 

E. Prohibitions shall be as follows. 

1. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall use any 

alternative monitoring system, alternative reference 

method, or any other alternative for the required CEMS 

without having obtained prior written approval in 

accordance with 9VAC5-140-6380. 

2. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall operate 

the unit so as to discharge, or allow to be discharged, CO2 

emissions to the atmosphere without accounting for all 

such emissions in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

3. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall disrupt 

the CEMS, any portion thereof, or any other approved 

emissions monitoring method, and thereby avoid 

monitoring and recording CO2 mass emissions discharged 

into the atmosphere, except for periods of recertification or 

periods when calibration, quality assurance testing, or 

maintenance is performed in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of this article and 40 CFR Part 75. 

4. No owner or operator of a CO2 budget unit shall retire or 

permanently discontinue use of the CEMS, any component 

thereof, or any other approved emissions monitoring 

system under this article, except under any one of the 

following circumstances: 

a. The owner or operator is monitoring emissions from 

the unit with another certified monitoring system 

approved, in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

this article and 40 CFR Part 75, by the department for use 

at that unit that provides emissions data for the same 

pollutant or parameter as the retired or discontinued 

monitoring system; or 

b. The CO2 authorized account representative submits 

notification of the date of certification testing of a 

replacement monitoring system in accordance with 

9VAC5-140-6340 D 3 a. 

9VAC5-140-6380. Petitions. 

A. Except as provided in subsection C of this section, the 

CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit 

that is subject to an acid rain Acid Rain emissions limitation 

may submit a petition to the administrator under 40 CFR 

75.66 and to the department requesting approval to apply an 

alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. Application 

of an alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75 is in 

accordance with this article only to the extent that the petition 

is approved in writing by the administrator, and subsequently 

approved in writing by the department. 

B. Petitions for a CO2 budget unit that is not subject to an 

acid rain Acid Rain emissions limitation shall meet the 

following requirements. 
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1. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget unit that is not subject to an acid rain Acid Rain 

emissions limitation may submit a petition to the 

administrator under 40 CFR 75.66 and to the department 

requesting approval to apply an alternative to any 

requirement of 40 CFR Part 75. Application of an 

alternative to any requirement of 40 CFR Part 75 is in 

accordance with this article only to the extent that the 

petition is approved in writing by the administrator and 

subsequently approved in writing by the department. 

2. In the event that the administrator declines to review a 

petition under subdivision 1 of this subsection, the CO2 

authorized account representative of a CO2 budget unit that 

is not subject to an acid rain Acid Rain emissions 

limitation may submit a petition to the department 

requesting approval to apply an alternative to any 

requirement of this article. That petition shall contain all of 

the relevant information specified in 40 CFR 75.66. 

Application of an alternative to any requirement of this 

article is in accordance with this article only to the extent 

that the petition is approved in writing by the department. 

C. The CO2 authorized account representative of a CO2 

budget unit that is subject to an acid rain Acid Rain emissions 

limitation may submit a petition to the administrator under 40 

CFR 75.66 and to the department requesting approval to 

apply an alternative to a requirement concerning any 

additional CEMS required under the common stack 

provisions of 40 CFR 75.72 or a CO2 concentration CEMS 

used under 40 CFR 75.71(a)(2). Application of an alternative 

to any such requirement is in accordance with this article only 

to the extent the petition is approved in writing by the 

administrator and subsequently approved in writing by the 

department. 

9VAC5-140-6420. General requirements. 

A. The department's agent will include the following 

information in the auction notice for each auction: 

1. The number of conditional CO2 allowances offered for 

sale at the auction, not including any conditional CO2 CCR 

allowances; 

2. The number of conditional CO2 CCR allowances that 

will be offered for sale at the auction if the condition of 

subdivision B 1 of this section is met; 

3. The minimum reserve price for the auction;  

4. The CCR trigger price for the auction; 

5. The maximum number of conditional CO2 allowances 

that may be withheld from sale at the auction if the 

condition of subdivision D 1 of this section is met; and 

6. The ECR trigger price for the auction. 

B. The department's agent will follow these rules for the sale 

of conditional CO2 CCR allowances. 

1. Conditional CO2 CCR allowances shall only be sold at 

an auction in which total demand for allowances, above the 

CCR trigger price, exceeds the number of conditional CO2 

allowances available for purchase at the auction, not 

including any conditional CO2 CCR allowances. 

2. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is met 

at an auction, then the number of conditional CO2 CCR 

allowances offered for sale by the department or its agent 

at the auction shall be equal to the number of conditional 

CO2 CCR allowances in the Virginia Consignment Auction 

Account at the time of the auction.  

3. After all of the conditional CO2 CCR allowances in the 

Virginia Consignment Auction Account have been sold in 

a given calendar year, no additional conditional CO2 CCR 

allowances will be sold at any auction for the remainder of 

that calendar year, even if the condition of subdivision 1 of 

this subsection is met at an auction. 

4. At an auction in which conditional CO2 CCR allowances 

are sold, the reserve price for the auction shall be the CCR 

trigger price. 

5. If the condition of subdivision 1 of this subsection is not 

satisfied, no conditional CO2 CCR allowances shall be 

offered for sale at the auction, and the reserve price for the 

auction shall be equal to the minimum reserve price. 

C. The department's agent shall implement the reserve price 

as follows: (i) no allowances shall be sold at any auction for a 

price below the reserve price for that auction and (ii) if the 

total demand for allowances at an auction is less than or equal 

to the total number of allowances made available for sale in 

that auction, then the auction clearing price for the auction 

shall be the reserve price. 

D. The department's agent will meet the following rules for 

the withholding of CO2 ECR allowances from an auction. 

1. CO2 ECR allowances shall only be withheld from an 

auction if the demand for allowances would result in an 

auction clearing price that is less than the ECR trigger 

price prior to the withholding from the auction of any ECR 

allowances. 

2. If the condition in subdivision 1 of this subsection is met 

at an auction, then the maximum number of CO2 ECR 

allowances that may be withheld from that auction will be 

equal to the quantity shown in Table 140-5B of 9VAC5-

140-6210 E minus the total quantity of CO2 ECR 

allowances that have been withheld from any prior auction 

in that calendar year. Any CO2 ECR allowances withheld 

from an auction will be transferred into the Virginia ECR 

Account. 
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9VAC5-140-6430. Consignment auction. (Repealed.) 

In accordance with Article 5 (9VAC5-140-6190 et seq.) of 

this part, one quarter of the annual conditional allowance 

allocation shall be consigned by the CO2 budget source to 

whom they are allocated or the holder of a public contract 

with DMME to each auction in accordance with procedures 

specified by the department. At the completion of the 

consignment auction, a conditional allowance sold at auction 

shall become a CO2 allowance. 

9VAC5-140-6435. Other auction. (Repealed.) 

Notwithstanding the requirements of 9VAC5-140-6430, the 

department may participate in a direct auction of allowances 

without consignment in accordance with requirements 

established by the Virginia General Assembly. A "direct 

auction" means a CO2 auction conducted by a CO2 Budget 

Trading Program in which Virginia is a participating state.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6340; Filed July 10, 2020, 8:05 a.m.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 

25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if 

the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

in conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from 

the publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, 

forms a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-110. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 

1,000 Gallons Per Day (amending 9VAC25-110-10 

through 9VAC25-110-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124.  

Public Hearing Information: 

September 9, 2020 - 10:00 am - GoToWebinar - Register 

at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register /74261423508106255. 

If a determination is made to provide an in person option, it 

will be announced on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

and the Department of Environmental Quality website. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 3, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments to the general permit include (i) 

clarifying the definition of "individual single family 

dwelling"; (ii) revising the term of the general permit to 

August 2, 2021, through July 1, 2026; (iii) requiring that 

the owner of an individual single family dwelling must 

submit a combined application; (iv) making certain 

language more generic so that dates do not have to be 

changed each reissuance; (v) adding language regarding 

continuation of permit coverage to address automatic 

renewal; (vi) adding latitude and longitude data 

requirement to the registration statement; (vii) adding 

State Corporation Commission entity identification data 

requirement to the registration statement for non-single-

family homes (NSFHs); (viii) clarifying the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) notification and 

documentation necessary for the registration statement 

that an onsite system is not available; (ix) revising the 

discharge limits for E. coli and enterococci to reflect 

revised water quality standards that became effective 

October 21, 2019; (x) changing the operation and 

maintenance (O&M) requirements for NSFHs to be 

consistent with VDH requirements for single family homes 

to require NSFHs to engage a licensed operator, specify 

that persons who perform maintenance on discharging 

systems must hold a Class IV or higher wastewater work 

operator license or an alternative onsite sewage system 

operator license, require the licensed operator to visit the 

system two times per year, remove the requirement for 

NSFHs to have a maintenance contract, and remove the 

alternative for NSFHs to conduct O&M under an approved 

O&M plan; (xi) adding signature requirements for the 

combined application; (xii) adding conditional 

requirements for the electronic submission of registration 

statements; and (xiii) adding conditional requirements for 

the electronic submission of discharge monitoring reports. 

The general permit is being amended in order to reissue it.  

 

 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/74261423508106255
mailto:peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov
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CHAPTER 110  

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT REGULATION 

FOR DOMESTIC SEWAGE DISCHARGES OF LESS 

THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,000 GALLONS PER DAY  

9VAC25-110-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

same meanings as given in the State Water Control Law, 

Chapter 3.1 (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and the VPDES Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for 

the purposes of this chapter: 

"7Q10" means the lowest flow averaged over a period of 

seven consecutive days that can be statistically expected to 

occur once every 10 years. 

"Board" or "State Water Control Board" means the Virginia 

State Water Control Board. 

"Combined application" means the Virginia Department of 

Health Discharging System Application for Single Family 

Dwellings Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 

Gallons per Day and State Water Control Board Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit 

Registration Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less 

Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day. This application 

combines the VDH Alternative Discharging Sewage 

Treatment Regulations for Individual Single Family 

Dwellings (12VAC5-640) requirements with the board's 

registration statement requirements. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Domestic sewage" means the water-carried human wastes 

from residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other 

places. 

"Individual single family dwelling" means a residence 

housing one family or household structure, including any 

accessory structure such as a garage or pool house, housing 

one family or household or one that is designed for one 

family only. When a treatment works serving an individual 

single family dwelling has additional unused connections, it 

remains a treatment works serving an individual single family 

dwelling until such time that an additional single family 

dwelling is connected to the treatment works. 

"Receiving water" means a creek, stream, river, lake, 

estuary, groundwater formation, or other body of water into 

which treated waste or untreated waste is discharged. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards, 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

9VAC25-110-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is referenced and 

incorporated herein, that regulation shall be as it exists and 

has been published as of July 1, 2015 2021. 

9VAC25-110-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs domestic sewage 

discharges to surface waters from treatment works with a 

design discharge flow of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day on a monthly average.  

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his designee, may perform any act of the board 

provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 

of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general VPDES permit will become effective on 

August 2, 2016 2021, and it expires on August 1, 2021 July 

31, 2026. With respect to a particular dwelling, building, or 

site served, this general permit shall become effective upon 

the dwelling, building, or site served owner's compliance with 

the provisions of 9VAC25-110-60.  

9VAC25-110-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner of a treatment works governed by this general 

permit is hereby authorized to discharge treated domestic 

sewage to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required 

to do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-110-70 and that 

registration statement is accepted by the board. For an 

individual single family dwelling, the owner may shall 

submit a combined application in place of a registration 

statement; 

2. The owner complies with the effluent limitations and 

other requirements of 9VAC25-110-80; and 

3. The board has not notified the owner, in accordance with 

subsection B of this section, that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this permit. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this permit in the event of any of 

the following: 
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1. The owner is required to obtain an individual VPDES 

permit in accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation;  

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges;  

3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters in 

an area where there are central sewage facilities reasonably 

available, as determined by the board;  

4. The owner of any proposed treatment works or any 

treatment works that has not previously been issued a 

VPDES permit has applied to the Virginia Department of 

Health for an onsite sewage disposal system permit, and 

the Virginia Department of Health has determined that an 

onsite system is available to serve that parcel of land in 

accordance with the criteria in 12VAC5-640; 

5. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 

stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards; or 

6. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with the federal 

Clean Water Act §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) 

through (b), and the State Water Control Law, with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general VPDES 

permit does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to 

comply with any other applicable federal, state or local 

statute, ordinance or regulation, including, for owners of 

sewage treatment works that serve individual single family 

dwellings, the Alternative Discharging Sewage Treatment 

Regulations for Individual Single Family Dwellings 

(12VAC5-640) of the Virginia Department of Health adopted 

pursuant to §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-163, and 32.1-164 of the Code 

of Virginia and, for owners of sewage treatment works that 

serve buildings or dwellings other than individual single 

family dwellings, the Sewage Collection and Treatment 

Regulations (9VAC25-790) adopted by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to § 62.1-44.19 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

domestic sewage discharges general permit issued in 2011 

and who is required to and submits a complete registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, on or before August 1, 2016, is 

authorized to continue to discharge treated domestic 

sewage under the terms of the 2011 general permit Permit 

coverage shall expire at the end of the applicable permit 

term. However, expiring permit coverages are continued if 

the owner has submitted a complete registration statement 

or, for an individual single family dwelling, a combined 

application, at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of 

the permit, or a later submittal date established by the 

board, which cannot extend beyond the expiration date of 

the permit. Where the expiring permit coverage was 

originally based on automatic renewal as found in 

9VAC25-110-70 A 2 b, such coverage is continued 

provided the owner continues to meet the automatic 

renewal criteria. The permittee is authorized to continue to 

discharge until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2011 

general permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the administratively continued 

coverage under the terms of the 2011 general permit or 

be subject to enforcement action for operating without a 

permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-110-70. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit, and who is 

required to submit a registration statement, shall submit a 

complete VPDES general VPDES permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the VPDES General 

VPDES Permit for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less 

Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day. For an individual 

single family dwelling, the owner may shall submit a 

combined application in place of the registration statement.  

1. New treatment works. Any owner proposing a new 

discharge shall submit a complete registration statement, or 

for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, to the department at least 60 days prior to the 

date planned for commencing operation of the treatment 

works or a later submittal date established by the board.  
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2. Existing treatment works.  

a. Any owner of an existing treatment works covered by 

an VPDES individual VPDES permit who is proposing 

to be covered by this general permit shall notify the 

department and submit a complete registration statement, 

or for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, at least 240 days prior to the expiration date 

of the individual VPDES permit or a later submittal date 

established by the board.  

b. Any owner of a treatment works that was authorized to 

discharge under the expiring general permit issued in 

2011, and who intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit, is automatically covered by this general 

permit and is not required to submit a registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, if: 

(1) The ownership of the treatment works has not 

changed since the registration statement or combined 

application for coverage under the 2011 expiring general 

permit was submitted, or, if the ownership has changed 

(i) a new registration statement or combined application 

or (ii) VPDES Change of Ownership form was submitted 

to the department by the new owner at the time of the 

title transfer; 

(2) There has been no change in the design or operation, 

or both, of the treatment works since the registration 

statement or combined application for coverage under the 

2011 expiring general permit was submitted; 

(3) For treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings, VDH has no objection to the automatic permit 

coverage renewal for this treatment works based on 

system performance issues, enforcement issues, or other 

issues sufficient to the board. If VDH objects to the 

automatic renewal for this treatment works, the owner 

will be notified by the board in writing; and 

(4) For treatment works serving buildings or dwellings 

other than individual single family dwellings, the board 

has no objection to the automatic permit coverage 

renewal for this treatment works based on system 

performance issues, enforcement issues, or other issues 

sufficient to the board. If the board objects to the 

automatic renewal for this treatment works, the owner 

will be notified by the board in writing. 

c. Any owner of a treatment works that was authorized to 

discharge under the expiring general permit issued in 

2011 that does not qualify for automatic permit coverage 

renewal shall submit a complete registration statement, or 

for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, to the department on or before June 2, 2016 

at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the existing 

general permit or a later submittal date established by the 

board. 

3. Late registration statements. Registration statements, or 

for individual single family dwellings combined 

applications, for existing treatment works covered under 

subdivision 2 b of this subsection will be accepted after 

August 1, 2016, but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. Owners described in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection that submit registration statements or combined 

applications after June 2, 2016, are authorized to discharge 

under the provisions of 9VAC25-110-60 D if a complete 

registration statement, or combined application, is 

submitted before August 2, 2016 the expiration date of this 

permit. 

B. Registration statement. The registration statement shall 

contain the following information:  

1. a. Indicate if the building served by the treatment works 

is an individual single family dwelling. (If it is an 

individual single family dwelling, see the requirement to 

submit a combined application in 9VAC25-110-60 A 1.) If 

the building is not an individual single family dwelling, 

describe the use of the building or site served. 

b. Name and street address of the building or site served 

by the treatment works.  

2. a. Name, mailing address, email address (where 

available), and telephone number of the owner of the 

treatment works. Indicate if the owner is or will be the 

occupant of the dwelling or building served by the 

treatment works. 

b. If the owner is not or will not be the occupant of the 

dwelling or building, provide an alternate contact name, 

mailing address, email address (where available), and 

telephone number of the dwelling or building, if 

available. 

3. Name of the water body receiving the discharge. Outfall 

latitude and longitude. Indicate if the discharge point is on 

a stream that usually flows during dry weather.  

4. The amount of discharge from the treatment works, in 

gallons per day, on a monthly average, and the design flow 

of the treatment works, in gallons per day.  

5. A description of any pollutants, other than domestic 

sewage, to be discharged.  

6. For a proposed treatment works, indicate if there are 

central sewage facilities available to serve the building or 

site.  

7. If the treatment works currently has a VPDES permit, 

provide the permit number. Indicate if the treatment works 

has been built and begun discharging.  
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8. For the owner of any proposed treatment works or any 

treatment works that has not previously been issued a 

VPDES permit:  

a. A 7.5 minute U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) 

topographic map or equivalent (e.g., a computer 

generated map) that indicates the discharge point, the 

location of the property to be served by the treatment 

works, and the location of any wells, springs, other water 

bodies, and any residences within 1/2 mile downstream 

from the discharge point;  

b. A site diagram of the existing or proposed treatment 

works; to include the property boundaries, the location of 

the dwelling, building, or site served, the individual 

sewage treatment units, the receiving water body, and the 

discharge line location; and  

c. A copy of the notification from the Virginia 

Department of Health that an onsite sewage disposal 

system permit has been was applied for and that the 

Virginia Department of Health has determined that there 

is no an onsite system available cannot be constructed to 

serve that parcel of land. 

9. Operation and maintenance. 

a. For the owner of a treatment works serving an 

individual single family dwelling, operation and 

maintenance requirements are specified in VDH 

regulations at 12VAC5-640-500 12VAC5-640; 

b. For the owner of a treatment works serving a building 

or dwelling other than an individual single family 

dwelling, indicate if a valid maintenance contract has 

been obtained, or if an exception to the maintenance 

contract requirement has been requested and granted in 

accordance with subdivision 10 of this subsection. 

Provide the name of the individual or company 

contracted to perform the treatment works maintenance 

and the expiration date of the current contract, if 

applicable. If the treatment works has not been 

constructed yet, provide the name after the certificate to 

construct (CTC) is issued, and prior to requesting a 

certificate to operate (CTO) operation and maintenance 

must be consistent with Part I D 2 b, which requires that 

such owners engage a licensed operator.  

10. The owner of a treatment works serving a building or 

dwelling other than an individual single family dwelling 

may request an exception to the maintenance contract 

requirement by submitting an operation and maintenance 

plan to the board for review and approval. If an operation 

and maintenance plan has been approved by the board 

previously and remains current and complete, then it does 

not need to be resubmitted. In such cases, the owner shall 

provide the date of approval of the operation and 

maintenance plan and identify any changes that have been 

made to the approved plan State Corporation Commission 

entity identification number for dwellings other than 

individual single family dwellings if the facility is required 

to obtain an entity identification number by law.  

11. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly 

authorized agents of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to 

enter the property where the treatment works is located for 

the purpose of determining compliance with or the 

suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

C. The registration statement or combined application shall 

be signed in accordance with 9VAC25-31-110 A of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation. 

D. The registration statement may be or combined 

application shall be delivered to the department department's 

regional office serving the area where the treatment facility is 

located by either postal or electronic mail and shall be 

submitted to the DEQ regional office serving the area where 

the treatment works is located. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of Notices of Intent to discharge forms (i.e., 

registration statements or combined applications), as provided 

for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after that date 

shall be electronically submitted to the department in 

compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There 

shall be at least three months' notice provided between the 

notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms must be submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-110-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board, or whose permit coverage is automatically renewed, 

shall comply with the requirements contained herein and be 

subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170.  
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General Permit No.: VAG40  

Effective Date: August 2, 2016 2021  

Expiration Date: August 1 July 31, 2021 2026  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR DOMESTIC SEWAGE 

DISCHARGES OF LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,000 

GALLONS PER DAY  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act 

(33 USC § 1251 et seq.), as amended, and pursuant to the 

State Water Control Law and regulations adopted pursuant 

thereto, owners of treatment works with domestic sewage 

discharges of a design flow of less than or equal to 1,000 

gallons per day on a monthly average are authorized to 

discharge to surface waters within the boundaries of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, except those waters specifically 

named in board regulations that prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement or 

combined application, this cover page, Part I-Effluent 

Limitations, Monitoring Requirements and Special 

Conditions, and Part II-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 

Permits, as set forth herein.  

Part I  

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements and Special Conditions  

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 0.2 MGD.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 0.2 MGD.  

The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below in the following table:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2)         

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l(6) 1/year Grab 

E. coli(3) NA 235 126 CFU/100 

ml 

1/year Grab 

enterococci(4) NA 104 35 CFU/100 

ml 

1/year Grab 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen 5.0 mg/l(6) NA 1/year Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 

 

(1)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for 

the classes of waters and boundary designations).  
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(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit. 

(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided 

in order to maintain this effluent limit. 

(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are 

shellfish waters). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 

maintain this effluent limit. 

(6)Does not apply when the receiving stream is an ephemeral stream. "Ephemeral streams" are drainage ways, ditches, 

hollows, or swales that contain only (i) flowing water during or immediately following periods of rainfall or (ii) water 

supplied by the discharger. These waterways would normally have no active aquatic community. 

2. All monitoring data required by Part I A 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Monitoring results for 

treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other than individual single family dwellings shall be submitted to the 

department on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of September following the monitoring period. 

The monitoring period is September 1 through August 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) 

shall also be submitted with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings are 

submitted to the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640.  

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%.  

B. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 

MGD.  

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 

MGD.  

The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below in the following table:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2)         

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 

Final effluent NA 2.0 mg/l 1/year Grab 

E. coli(3) NA 235 126 CFU/100 

ml 

1/year Grab 

enterococci(4) NA 104 35 CFU/100 

ml 

1/year Grab 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 
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(1)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day.  

(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for 

the classes of waters and boundary designations).  

(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit.  

(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided 

in order to maintain this effluent limit.  

(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are 

shellfish waters). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 

maintain this effluent limit.  

2. All monitoring data required by Part I B 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Monitoring results for 

treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other than individual single family dwellings shall be submitted to the 

department on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of September following the monitoring period. 

The monitoring period is September 1 through August 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) 

shall also be submitted with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings are 

submitted to the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640.  

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%.  

C. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - discharges to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac 

River Embayments (9VAC25-415). 

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac River 

Embayments (9VAC25-415). 

The discharge Discharges subject to the requirements in 9VAC25-415-40(1) shall be limited and monitored by the permittee 

as specified below in the following table: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD)(1) (2) NA NL 1/3 months Estimate 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/3 months Grab 

cBOD5 NA 5 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Total Suspended Solids NA 6.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Ammonia as N 

(Apr 1 – Oct 31) 

NA 1.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Ammonia as N 

(Nov 1 – Mar 31) 

NA 3.1 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen 6.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 

E. coli(3) (4) NA 235 126 

CFU/100 ml 

1/3 months Grab 

enterococci(4) (5) NA 104 35 CFU/100 

ml 

1/3 months Grab 
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Total Phosphorus NA 0.18 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) (3)  
   

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 

 

(1)Note conditional exemptions in 9VAC25-415-30. 

(1) (2)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day.  

(2) (3)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C 

for the classes of waters and boundary designations).  

(3) (4)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit.  

(4) (5)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided 

in order to maintain this effluent limit.  

2. All monitoring data required by Part I C 1 shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department on 

a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 

10th day of the month following the monitoring period. 

The quarterly monitoring periods shall be January through 

March, April through June, July through September, and 

October through December. A copy of the maintenance log 

required by Part I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) shall also be submitted 

with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works 

serving individual single family dwellings shall also be 

submitted to the Virginia Department of Health in 

accordance with 12VAC5-640. 

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total 

suspended solids shall not be less than 85%. 

D. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts.  

2. Operation and maintenance.  

a. Treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings. Operation and maintenance requirements for 

treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings are specified in the Virginia Department of 

Health regulations at 12VAC5-640-500 12VAC5-640.  

b. Treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other 

than individual single family dwellings. 

(1) For existing treatment works, the permittee shall keep 

a maintenance contract in force during the permit term, 

unless an exception to the maintenance contract 

requirement has been requested and granted in 

accordance with Part I D 3. A copy of the maintenance 

contract, if applicable, shall be kept at the site of the 

treatment works and made available to DEQ for 

examination upon request To ensure the treatment works 

is operated, maintained, monitored, and reported 

properly, the permittee shall engage a licensed operator 

as defined in subdivision D 3 of this section. 

(2) For proposed treatment works, the permittee shall 

submit a certification that the permittee has a valid 

maintenance contract to DEQ prior to operation of the 

treatment works, unless an exception to the maintenance 

contract requirement has been requested and granted in 

accordance with Part I D 3. A maintenance contract shall 

be kept in force during the permit term. A copy of the 

maintenance contract shall be kept at the site of the 

treatment works, and shall be made available to DEQ for 

examination upon request. The permittee shall:  

(a) Have the system operated and maintained by a 

licensed operator, including the responsibilities specified 

in Part I D 2 b (3); 

(b) Have a licensed operator visit the system at least 

semiannually; 

(c) Have a licensed operator collect, analyze, and submit 

to the department any samples required under Part I A, 

Part I B, or Part I C, as appropriate, of this general 

permit; 

(d) Provide prompt maintenance and repair of the 

treatment works once notified by the operator that repair 

or maintenance is necessary. The owner is responsible 

for all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. 

Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or 
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maintenance is required, the owner shall begin 

emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated from 

the building or dwelling or otherwise ensure that no 

discharge occurs if full and complete repairs cannot be 

accomplished within 48 hours; 

(e) Maintain a copy of the log provided by the operator 

on the property where the system is located in electronic 

or hard copy form, make the log available to the 

department upon request, and make a reasonable effort to 

transfer the log to any future owner; 

(f) Follow the treatment works operation and 

maintenance (O&M) manual (where available) and keep 

a copy of the O&M manual in electronic or hard copy 

form on the property where the system is located, make 

the O&M manual available to the department upon 

request, and make a reasonable effort to transfer the 

O&M manual to any future owner; 

(3) At a minimum, the maintenance contract shall 

provide for the following The licensed operator has the 

following responsibilities:  

(a) Performance of Perform all testing monitoring 

required in accordance with either Part I A, Part I B, or 

Part I C, as appropriate, and periodic (at least annual) 

semiannually) inspections of the treatment works. Note: 

Discharges from the treatment works should to the 

maximum extent feasible be sampled during normal 

discharging operations or normal discharging conditions 

(i.e., operations that are normal for that treatment works). 

The owner or maintenance provider should not force a 

discharge in order to collect a sample;  

(b) During visits required by this subsection, fulfill the 

operator responsibilities specified in this subsection 

through observing the system and through laboratory or 

field tests required by this permit or that the operator 

deems appropriate. In performing a required visit, the 

operator is responsible for the entire system and, where 

applicable, shall follow the O&M manual; 

(b) A (c) Provide a written or electronic notification to 

the owner within 24 hours whenever the contract 

provider operator becomes aware that maintenance or 

repair of the owner's treatment works is necessary. The 

owner is responsible for prompt maintenance and repair 

of the treatment works including all costs associated with 

the maintenance or repair. Immediately upon receipt of 

notice that repair or maintenance is required, the owner 

shall begin emergency pump and haul of all sewage 

generated from the building or dwelling or otherwise 

ensure that no discharge occurs if full and complete 

repairs cannot be accomplished within 48 hours;  

(c) A log of the following items shall be maintained at 

the treatment works by the contract provider: (d) Report 

monitoring results to DEQ as required in Part I A 2, Part 

I B 2, and Part I C 2, as applicable, as well as Part II C, 

and maintain at the treatment works and provide to the 

permittee a log of the following items:  

(i) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 

attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 

shall show all sampling attempts and document and 

explain why no sample was taken or possible;  

(ii) Alarm activation incidents, including the date and 

time of equipment failure and return to service;  

(iii) Maintenance, corrective, including the date and 

amount of disinfection chemicals added to the 

chlorinator, the date and amount of dechlorination 

chemicals added if applicable, the date and approximate 

volume of sludge removed, and date receipts for 

chemicals and equipment purchased and maintenance 

performed; 

(iv) Corrective or repair activities performed;  

(iv) (v) Recommended repair or replacement items; and  

(v) (vi) Copies of all reports prepared by the contract 

provider operator; and 

(d) An (vii) Sludge or solids removal; and 

(e) Conduct an inspection shall be conducted by the 

contract provider within 48 hours after notification by the 

owner that a problem may be occurring.  

(4) The permittee shall keep a log of all maintenance 

performed on the treatment works including, but not 

limited to, the following:  

(a) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 

to the chlorinator. 

(b) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 

dechlorination chemicals that are added. 

(c) The date and time of equipment failure and the date 

and time the equipment was restored to service.  

(d) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 

(e) Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 

purchased, and maintenance performed. 

3. Operation and maintenance plan. The owner of any 

treatment works serving a building or dwelling other than 

an individual single family dwelling may request an 

exception to the maintenance contract requirement by 

submitting an operation and maintenance plan to the board 

for review and approval. At a minimum, the operation and 

maintenance plan shall contain the following information:  

a. An up-to-date operation and maintenance manual for 

the treatment works;  

b. A log of all maintenance performed on the treatment 

works including, but not limited to, the following:  
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(1) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 

to the chlorinator (if applicable). 

(2) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 

dechlorination chemicals that are added. 

(3) The date and time of equipment failure and the date 

and time the equipment was restored to service.  

(4) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 

(5) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 

attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 

shall show all sampling attempts and document and 

explain why no sample was taken or possible;  

c. Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 

purchased, and maintenance performed; and  

d. An effluent monitoring plan to conform with the 

requirements of Part I A, Part I B, or Part I C, as 

appropriate, including all sample collection, preservation, 

and analysis procedures. Note: Discharges from the 

treatment works should be sampled during normal 

discharging operations or normal discharging conditions 

(i.e., operations that are normal for that treatment works). 

The owner or maintenance provider should not force a 

discharge in order to collect a sample. 

Should the permittee fail to implement the approved 

operation and maintenance plan, or if there are violations 

of effluent limitations, the board reserves the right to 

require the permittee to obtain a maintenance contract.  

3. All individuals who perform maintenance on 

discharging systems pursuant to this general permit are 

required to hold a valid Class IV or higher wastewater 

works operator license or an alternative onsite sewage 

system operator license issued by the Board for 

Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals. For purposes of this general 

permit, this requirement is satisfied where an individual is 

directly supervised by and under the direction of a licensed 

operator who remains responsible for such maintenance. 

4. Compliance recordkeeping under Part I A, Part I B, and 

Part I C. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or 

equal to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Parameter Quantification Level 

BOD5 2 mg/l 

cBOD5 2 mg/l 

Ammonia as N 0.20 mg/l 

Total Phosphorus 0.10 mg/l 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Recording results. Any concentration data below the 

QL used in the analysis shall be recorded as "<QL" if it is 

less than the QL in subdivision 4 a of this subsection. 

Otherwise the numerical value shall be recorded. 

c. Monitoring results shall be recorded using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., 5 always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

5. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet water quality standards.  

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed;  

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  
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2. Except for records of monitoring information required 

by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 

and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 

of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 

all monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. Monitoring results under 

this permit are not required to be submitted to the department 

must be submitted consistent with the requirements in Part I 

A 2, Part I B 2, and Part I C 2, as applicable. However, 

should the board request that the permittee submit monitoring 

results, the following subsections would apply. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. 1. Monitoring results submitted to the department shall 

be reported on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) or 

on forms provided, approved or specified by the 

department. Following notification from the department of 

the start date for the required electronic submission of 

monitoring reports, as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, 

such forms and reports submitted after that date shall be 

electronically submitted to the department in compliance 

with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at 

least three months' notice provided between the 

notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms and reports must be submitted electronically. 

3. 2. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. 3. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging 

of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from the discharge on the quality of state waters, 

or such other information as may be necessary to accomplish 

the purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee 

shall also furnish to the department, upon request, copies of 

records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

that discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

who that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 

the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 

The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  
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8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 

known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 

report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 

five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 

Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include, but 

are not limited to, any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance.  

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public 

health.  

1. a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours 

from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this paragraph:  

a. (1) Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. (2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface 

waters.  

2. b. A written report shall be submitted within five days 

and shall contain:  

a. (1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. (2) The period of noncompliance, including exact 

dates and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. (3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-

case basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if 

the oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. 2. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I 2.  

3. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 

Parts II G, H, and I may be made to the department's regional 

office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePre

paredness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside normal 

working hours, a message may be left and this shall fulfill the 

immediate reporting requirement. For emergencies, the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management maintains a 

24-hour telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq.) that are applicable to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
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additional use or of disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation,; or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions which govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit registration requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 

State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; or for 

permit coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or for denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 

Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 

to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply.  

1. If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated 

by this permit after the expiration date of this permit, and 

the permittee does not qualify for automatic permit 
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coverage renewal, the permittee shall submit a new 

registration statement, or for an individual single family 

dwelling a combined application, at least 60 days before 

the expiration date of the existing permit, unless 

permission for a later date has been granted by the board. 

The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements or combined applications to be submitted later 

than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

2. A permittee qualifies for automatic permit coverage 

renewal and is not required to submit a registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, if: 

a. The ownership of the treatment works has not changed 

since this general permit went into effect on August 2, 

2016, or, if the ownership has changed, (i) a new 

registration statement or for an individual single family 

dwelling a combined application or (ii) a VPDES Change 

of Ownership form was submitted to the department by 

the new owner at the time of the title transfer; 

b. There has been no change in the design or operation, 

or both, of the treatment works since this general permit 

went into effect on August 2, 2016; 

c. For treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings, the Virginia Department of Health does not 

object to the automatic permit coverage renewal for this 

treatment works based on system performance issues, 

enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to the 

board. If the Virginia Department of Health objects to the 

automatic renewal for this treatment works, the permittee 

will be notified by the board in writing; and 

d. For treatment works serving buildings or dwellings 

other than single family dwellings, the board has no 

objection to the automatic permit coverage renewal for 

this treatment works based on system performance 

issues, enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to 

the board. If the board objects to the automatic renewal 

for this treatment works, the permittee will be notified by 

the board in writing. 

3. Any permittee that does not qualify for automatic permit 

coverage renewal shall submit a new registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, in accordance with Part II M 1. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also include effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 

the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 

is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 

These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Parts 

Part II U 2 and 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 

if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  
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b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part II U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 

considering its adverse effects if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 

a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part II V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) cause of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 

records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 

the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 

reissuance, termination, or notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit 

condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage. Permits are Permit 

coverage is not transferable to any person except after notice 

to the department. Coverage under this permit may be 

automatically transferred to a new permittee if:  

1. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board; 

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
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the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5864; Filed July 14, 2020, 3:29 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 

25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if 

the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

in conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from 

the publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, 

forms a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-115. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Seafood Processing Facilities (amending 9VAC25-115-

10 through 9VAC25-115-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124.  

Public Hearing Information: 

September 9, 2020 - 2:00 pm - GoToWebinar - Register at: 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7580128128055

952399. If a determination is made to provide an in-person 

option, it will be announced through the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall and the Department of 

Environmental Quality website. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the industrial 

stormwater requirements to be consistent with other 

industries subject to stormwater permitting and to be 

consistent with other VPDES general permits, including 

adding quarterly visual monitoring and annual 

inspections for nonstormwater discharges; (ii) exclude 

aquaculture from the requirements of the permit; and 

(iii) update definitions, including the definition of 

"seafood processing" to exclude shellfish aquaculture 

and to include NAICS (North American Industry 

Classification System) codes. The general permit is being 

amended in order to reissue it.  

GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) GENERAL PERMIT 

REGULATION FOR SEAFOOD PROCESSING 

FACILITIES 

9VAC25-115-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law, Chapter 

3.1 (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia 

and the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31) unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise. Additionally, for the purposes of 

this chapter:  

"Best management practices" or "BMPs" means schedules 

of activities, practices, prohibitions of practices, structures, 

vegetation, maintenance procedures, and other management 

practices, including both structural and nonstructural 

practices, to prevent or reduce the discharge of pollutants to 

surface waters. 

"Control measure" means any best management practice or 

other method, including effluent limitations, used to prevent 

or reduce the discharge of pollutants to surface waters. 

"Corrective action" means any action to (i) repair, modify, 

or replace any stormwater control used at the facility; (ii) 

clean up and properly dispose of spills, releases, or other 

deposits at the facility; or (iii) return to compliance with 

permit requirements. 

"Industrial activity" means the facilities classified under 

NAICS 311710 and SIC Code 2091 or 2092.  

"Minimize" means reduce or eliminate to the extent 

achievable using control measures, including best 

management practices, that are technologically available and 

economically practicable and achievable in light of best 

industry practice. 

"NAICS" means North American Industry Classification 

System from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 

2017 edition. 

"No exposure" means all industrial materials or activities are 

protected by a storm-resistant shelter to prevent exposure to 

rain, snow, snowmelt, or runoff. 

"Seafood" includes crabs, oysters, hand-shucked clams, 

scallops, squid, eels, turtles, fish, conchs, and crayfish. 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7580128128055952399
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7580128128055952399
mailto:elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov
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"Seafood processing facility" means any facility classified 

under SIC Code 2091, 2092, 5142, or 5146, which that 

processes or handles seafood intended for human 

consumption or as bait, except a mechanized clam facility. 

Seafood includes but is not limited to crabs, oysters, hand-

shucked clams, scallops, squid, eels, turtles, fish, conchs and 

crayfish., where the primary purpose is classified under the 

following NAICS and SIC codes:  

1. NAICS Code 311710 – Seafood Product Preparation and 

Packaging and SIC Code 2091 – Canned and Cured Fish 

and Seafoods, 2092 – Prepared Fresh or Frozen Fish and 

Seafoods; 

2. NAICS Code 424420 – Packaged Frozen Food 

Merchant Wholesalers and SIC Code 5142 – Packaged 

Frozen Foods; and 

3. NAICS Code 424460 – Fish and Seafood Merchant 

Wholesalers and SIC Code 5146 – Fish and Seafoods.  

This definition does not include aquaculture facilities 

(including hatcheries) classified under SIC Code 0272 or 

0921 and NAICS Code 112512. 

"SIC" means the Standard Industrial Classification Code or 

Industrial Grouping from the U.S. Office of Management and 

Budget Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 

edition.  

"Significant materials" includes, but is not limited to, raw 

materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and 

plastic pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; 

raw materials used in food processing or production (except 

oyster, clam or scallop shells); hazardous substances 

designated under § 101(14) of the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act 

(CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601); any chemical the facility is 

required to report pursuant to § 313 of the Emergency 

Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) (42 

USC § 11023); fertilizers; pesticides; and waste products such 

as ashes, slag, and sludge that have the potential to be 

released with stormwater discharges.  

"Stormwater discharge associated with industrial activity" 

means the discharge from any conveyance that is used for 

collecting and conveying stormwater and that is directly 

related to manufacturing, processing, or raw materials storage 

areas at an industrial plant. The term does not include 

discharges from facilities or activities excluded from the 

VPDES program under 9VAC25-31. For the categories of 

industries identified in the "industrial activity" definition, the 

term includes, but is not limited to, stormwater discharges 

from industrial plant yards; immediate access roads and rail 

lines used or traveled by carriers of raw materials, 

manufactured products, waste material, or byproducts (except 

for oyster, clam or scallop shells) used or created by the 

facility; material handling sites; refuse sites; sites used for the 

application or disposal of process wastewaters; sites used for 

the storage and maintenance of material handling equipment; 

sites used for residual treatment, storage, or disposal; 

shipping and receiving areas; manufacturing buildings; 

storage area (including tank farms) for raw materials and 

intermediate and finished final products; and areas where 

industrial activity has taken place in the past and significant 

materials remain and are exposed to stormwater. For the 

purposes of this paragraph definition, material handling 

activities include the storage, loading and unloading, 

transportation, or conveyance of any raw material, 

intermediate product, finished final product, byproduct, or 

waste product (except for oyster, clam or scallop shells). The 

term excludes areas located on plant lands separate from the 

plant's industrial activities, such as office buildings and 

accompanying parking lots, as long as the drainage from the 

excluded areas is not mixed with stormwater drained from the 

above described areas. Industrial facilities, including 

industrial facilities that are federally, state, or municipally 

owned or operated that meet the description of the facilities 

listed in the "industrial activity" definition, include those 

facilities designated under the provisions of 9VAC25-31-120 

A 1 c or A 7 a (1) or (2) of the VPDES Permit Regulation.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 

calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 

waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards, 

and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 

TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 

source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 

sources or natural background, or both, and must include a 

margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Virginia Environmental Excellence Program" or "VEEP" 

means a voluntary program established by the department to 

provide public recognition and regulatory incentives to 

encourage higher levels of environmental performance for 

program participants that develop and implement 

environmental management systems (EMSs). The program is 

based on the use of EMSs that improve compliance, prevent 

pollution, and utilize other measures to improve 

environmental performance. 

9VAC25-115-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this 

chapter and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 

as it exists and has been published as of July 1, 2015 2020. 

9VAC25-115-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

wastewater from seafood processing facilities and stormwater 

associated with industrial activity from seafood processing 
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facilities classified NAICS Code 311710 and as SIC Code 

Codes 2091 and 2092.  

B. The director, or an authorized representative, may 

perform any act of the board provided under this regulation, 

except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general permit will become effective on July 24, 

2016 2021, and will expire on July 23, 2021 June 30, 2026. 

For any covered owner, this general permit is effective upon 

compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-115-30.  

9VAC25-115-30. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge process wastewater and stormwater as 

described in 9VAC25-115-20 A to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner files a registration statement, in accordance 

with 9VAC25-115-40, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-115-50; and 

4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 

accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this permit in the event of any of 

the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES 

Permit Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges;  

3. The owner is proposing to discharge annual mass 

loadings of total nitrogen in excess of 2,300 pounds per 

year or of total phosphorus in excess of 300 pounds per 

year; 

4. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 

stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards; or 

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Conditional exclusion for no exposure to stormwater. 

Any owner covered by this permit that becomes eligible for a 

no exposure exclusion from stormwater permitting under 

9VAC25-31-120 E may file a no exposure certification. Upon 

submission and acceptance by the board of a complete and 

accurate no exposure certification, the permit requirements 

for stormwater no longer apply. A no exposure certification 

must be submitted to the board once every five years. 

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with the federal 

Clean Water Act §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) 

through (b) and the State Water Control Law, with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply 

with any other applicable federal, state or local statute, 

ordinance or regulation. 

D. E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

seafood processing facilities general permit issued in 2011, 

and who submits a complete registration statement on or 

before July 23, 2016, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2011 general permit Permit 

coverage shall expire at the end of the applicable permit 

term. However, expiring permit coverages are 

automatically continued if the owner has submitted a 

complete registration statement at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the permit or a later submittal date 

established by the board, which cannot extend beyond the 

expiration date of the permit. The permittee is authorized 

to continue to discharge until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2011 

general permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued amended general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 

2011 the continued general permit coverage or be subject 

to enforcement action for discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-115-40. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall 

submit a complete general VPDES permit registration 
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statement in accordance with this chapter, which shall serve 

as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 

general permit regulation for seafood processing facilities.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement to the board 

at least 30 60 days prior to the date planned for 

commencement of the discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner of an existing seafood processing facility 

covered by an individual VPDES permit that is proposing 

to be covered by this general permit shall submit a 

complete registration statement at least 240 days prior to 

the expiration date of the individual VPDES permit or a 

later submittal established by the board. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

general an expiring or expired VPDES general permit for 

seafood processing facilities that became effective on 

July 24, 2011, and that intends to continue coverage 

under this general permit shall submit a complete 

registration statement to the board on or before June 24, 

2016 at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

existing permit or a later submittal established by the 

board.  

c. Any owner of an existing seafood processing facility 

adding a new process after coverage under the general 

permit is obtained shall submit an amended registration 

statement to the board at least 30 60 days prior to 

commencing operation of the new process or a later 

submittal established by the board.  

3. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection will be accepted after July 23, 2016 the 

expiration date of the permit, but authorization to discharge 

will not be retroactive. Owners described in subdivision 2 

b of this subsection that submit registration statements after 

June 24, 2016, are authorized to discharge under the 

provisions of 9VAC25-115-30 D if a complete registration 

statement is submitted before July 24, 2016.  

B. The registration statement shall contain the following 

information: 

1. Facility name, owner name, mailing address, email 

address (where available), and telephone number; 

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing 

address);  

3. Facility operator name, mailing address, email address, 

and telephone number if different than owner;  

4. Does the facility discharge to surface waters? Name of 

receiving stream or streams if yes and, if no, describe the 

discharge or discharges;  

5. Does the facility have a current VPDES Permit? Include 

the permit number if yes;  

6. The original date of construction of the seafood 

processing facility building and dates and description of all 

subsequent facility construction;  

7. A U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) 7.5 minute 

topographic map or other equivalent computer generated 

map with sufficient resolution to clearly show the facility 

location, the discharge location or locations, and the 

receiving water body;  

8. Facility SIC code or codes;  

9. Nature of business at the facility;  

10. Discharge outfall information including latitude and 

longitude, seafood process, receiving stream, discharge 

flow, and days per year of discharge for each outfall;  

11. Facility maximum production information;  

12. Facility line (water balance) drawing;  

13. Discharge and outfall descriptions for different seafood 

processes that operate simultaneously;  

14. Treatment and solid waste disposal information;  

15. Information on use of chemicals at the facility; and 

16. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; and 

17. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that this document and all attachments were prepared 

under my direction or supervision in accordance with a 

system designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 

gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on 

my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 

system or those persons directly responsible for gathering 

the information, the information submitted is to the best of 

my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 

false information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations."  

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation.  

C. The registration statement may shall be delivered to the 

department department's regional office where the seafood 

processing facility is located by either postal or electronic 

mail and shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office 

serving the area where the seafood processing facility is 

located. Following notification from the department of the 

start date for the required electronic submission of Notices of 

Intent to discharge forms (i.e., registration statements) as 

provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department in 
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compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There 

shall be at least three months' notice provided between the 

notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms must be submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-115-50. General permit.  

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board shall comply with the requirements of the general 

permit and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 

of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

General Permit No.: VAG52  

Effective Date: July 24, 2016 2021 

Expiration Date: July 23, 2021 June 30, 2026 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR SEAFOOD PROCESSING 

FACILITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 

as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it, owners of seafood 

processing facilities, other than mechanized clam processing 

facilities, are authorized to discharge to surface waters within 

the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except 

those specifically named in board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations and, Monitoring 

Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II-

Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans, and Part III-

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth in 

this general permit.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

1. SEAFOOD PROCESSING NOT LIMITED ELSEWHERE IN PART I. A.— SIC 2091, 2092, 5142 AND 5146 

SOURCES EXCEPT MECHANIZED CLAM FACILITIES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from seafood processing not otherwise classified from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/YEAR Grab 

TSS NL NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by the end of the calendar year and reported by the 10th of January of the following calendar year 

on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  
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Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

2. CONVENTIONAL (HANDPICKED) BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE 

THAN 3,000 POUNDS OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional blue crab processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 0.74 2.2 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.20 0.60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

3. CONVENTIONAL (HANDPICKED) BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional blue crab processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 0.15 0.30 NA 1/3 Months Composite 
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TSS NL NL 0.45 0.90 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.065 0.13 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

4. MECHANIZED BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized blue crab processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 4.2 13 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  
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Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

5. MECHANIZED BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized blue crab processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 2.5 5.0 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 6.3 13 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.3 2.6 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

6. NON-BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 2,000 POUNDS OF 

RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from non-breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 
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TSS NL NL 38 110 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

7. NON-BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from non-breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 25 63 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 10 25 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.6 4.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

8. BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 2,000 POUNDS OF RAW 

MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 93 280 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

9. BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 40 100 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 22 55 NA 1/3 Months Composite 
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Oil and Grease NL NL 1.5 3.8 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

10. TUNA PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from tuna processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 3.3 8.3 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.84 2.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

11. TUNA PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the 

permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from tuna processing, from outfall(s) __________.  
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS kg/kkg 
Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 8.1 20 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 3.0 7.5 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.76 1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

12. CONVENTIONAL BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 4,000 

POUNDS OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 2.0 3.6 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.55 1.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  
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Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

13. CONVENTIONAL BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 0.71 1.2 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 0.73 1.5 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.042 0.077 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

14. MECHANIZED BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 12 22 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 3.9 9.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

15. MECHANIZED BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 7.5 13 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 2.9 5.3 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.47 1.2 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  
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Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

16. HAND-SHUCKED CLAM PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 4,000 POUNDS OF 

RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked clam processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS kg/kkg 
Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 18 59 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 0.60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

17. HAND-SHUCKED CLAM PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked clam processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS kg/kkg 
Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 
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pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 17 55 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.21 0.56 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

18. HAND-SHUCKED OYSTER PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 1,000 POUNDS 

OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 16 23 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.77 1.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Raw material = The weight of oyster meat after shucking. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 3, 2020 

2650 

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

19. HAND-SHUCKED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 16 23 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.77 1.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

20. STEAMED AND CANNED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 190 270 NA 1/3 Months Composite 
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Oil and Grease NL NL 1.7 2.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

21. STEAMED AND CANNED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 17 67 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 39 56 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.42 0.84 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 3, 2020 

2652 

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

22. SCALLOP PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from scallop processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 1.4 5.7 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 7.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

23. SCALLOP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from scallop processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS kg/kkg 
Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 1.4 5.7 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 7.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 
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NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

24. FARM-RAISED CATFISH PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 3,000 POUNDS 

OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from farm-raised catfish processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 9.2 28 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 3.4 10 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

25. FARM-RAISED CATFISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from farm-raised catfish processing, from outfall(s) __________.  
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 2.3 4.6 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 5.7 11 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.45 0.90 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

26. HERRING PROCESSING—ALL  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from herring processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 24 32 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 10 27 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  
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Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

27. HERRING PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from herring processing, from outfall(s) __________.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 15 16 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 5.2 7.0 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.1 2.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required.  

NA = Not applicable.  

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period.  

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples.  

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5).  

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR.  

B. SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLYING TO PART I A 1 

THROUGH PART I A 27.  

1. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 

surface waters at this facility except under the provisions 

of another VPDES permit specifically issued for that 

purpose.  

2. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 

to be discharged, other than those listed on the owner's 

accepted registration statement.  

3. Wastewater should be reused or recycled to the 

maximum extent practicable.  

4. The permittee shall comply with the following solids 

management plan:  

a. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts.  

b. All floors, machinery, conveyor belts, dock areas, etc. 

shall be dry swept or dry brushed prior to washdown.  

c. All settling basins shall be cleaned frequently in order 

to achieve effective settling.  

d. All solids resulting from the seafood processes 

covered under this general permit, other than oyster, 

clam, or scallop shells, shall be handled, stored, and 

disposed of so as to prevent a discharge to state waters of 
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such solids or industrial wastes or other wastes from 

those solids.  

e. The permittee shall install and properly maintain 

wastewater treatment necessary in order to remove 

organic solids present in the wastewater that may settle 

and accumulate on the substrate of the receiving waters 

in other than trace amounts.  

f. All employees shall receive training relative to 

preventive measures to be taken to control the release of 

solids from the facility into surface waters.  

5. Production to be reported and used in calculating 

effluent discharge levels in terms of kg/kkg shall be the 

weight in kilograms of raw material processed, in the form 

in which it is received at the processing plant, on the day of 

effluent sampling, except for the hand-shucked oyster, 

steamed and canned oyster, and scallop processing 

subcategories, for which production shall mean the weight 

of oyster or scallop meat after processing. The effluent 

levels in terms of kg/kkg shall be calculated by dividing 

the measured pollutant load in kg/day by the production 

level in kkg (thousands of kilograms).  

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 

they know or have reason to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge on a routine or frequent basis of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels:  

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant;  

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 

liter (500 μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-

4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) 

for antimony;  

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

(4) The level established by the board.  

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels:  

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant;  

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony;  

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

(4) The level established by the board. 

7. Compliance reporting and recordkeeping under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or 

equal to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Parameter Quantification Level 

BOD 2 mg/l 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

Oil and Grease 5.0 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Recording results. Any concentration below the QL 

used in the analysis shall be recorded as "<QL" if it is 

less than the QL used in the analysis (the QL must be less 

than or equal to the QL in subdivision 7 a of this 

subsection. Otherwise the numerical value shall be 

recorded. 

c. Monitoring results shall be recorded using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding conventions used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet water quality standards in 

9VAC25-260. 

9. If a new process is added after coverage under the 

general permit is obtained, an amended registration 

statement must be submitted at least 30 60 days prior to 

commencing operation of the new process or a later 

submittal approved by the board. 

10. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination. The 

notice of termination may be filed after one or more of 

the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer discharges of process wastewater or stormwater 

associated with the industrial activity; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

Form has been submitted;  

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or  
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(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 

another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 

under this general permit is no longer needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including:  

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility;  

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility, and there are no longer discharges from the 

facility;  

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or  

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason).  

(5) The following certification: "I certify under penalty 

of law that all wastewater and stormwater discharges 

from the identified facility that are authorized by this 

VPDES general permit have been eliminated, or covered 

under a VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I 

am no longer the owner of the facility, or permit 

coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 

above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 

seafood processing wastewater or, for facilities classified 

as SIC Code 2091 or 2092, stormwater associated with 

industrial activity in accordance with the general permit, 

and that discharging pollutants to surface waters is 

unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 

VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 

this notice of termination does not release an owner from 

liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 

Water Act."  

C. c. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

department and signed in accordance with Part III K.  

Part II 

Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans Stormwater 

Management 

A stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) shall be 

developed for each facility covered by this permit, The 

following stormwater management requirements apply only 

to seafood processors classified as Standard Industrial 

Classifications (SIC) Codes 2091 and 2092. 

A. Monitoring and inspections. 

1. Quarterly visual monitoring of stormwater quality. The 

permittee shall perform and document visual monitoring of 

stormwater discharges associated with industrial activity 

from each outfall, except discharges waived in subdivision 

d of this subsection. The visual monitoring must be made 

during normal working hours, at least once in each of the 

following three-month periods: January through March, 

April through June, July through September, and October 

through December. 

a. Samples will be in clean, colorless glass or plastic 

containers and examined in a well-lit area; 

b. Samples will be collected within the first 30 minutes 

(or as soon thereafter as practical, but not to exceed three 

hours, provided that the permittee explains in the 

stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) why an 

examination during the first 30 minutes was impractical) 

of when the runoff or snowmelt begins discharging. All 

such samples shall be collected from the discharge 

resulting from a storm event that results in an actual 

discharge from the site (defined as a "measurable storm 

event") providing the interval from the preceding 

measurable storm event is at least 72 hours. The required 

72-hour storm event interval is waived where the 

preceding measurable storm event did not result in a 

measurable discharge from the facility. The 72-hour 

storm event interval may also be waived where the 

permittee documents that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the season 

when sampling is being conducted. 

c. The examination shall observe color, odor, clarity, 

floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 

sheen, and other obvious indicators of stormwater 

pollution.  

d. If no qualifying storm event resulted in discharge from 

the facility during a monitoring period, or adverse 

weather conditions create dangerous conditions for 

personnel during each measurable storm event during a 

monitoring period, visual monitoring is exempted 

provided this is documented in the SWPPP. Acceptable 

documentation includes dates and times the outfalls were 

viewed or sampling was attempted, national Climatic 

Data Center weather station data, local weather station 

data, facility rainfall logs, and other appropriate 

supporting data. 

e. Representative outfalls – substantially identical 

stormwater discharges. If the facility has two or more 

outfalls that discharge substantially identical stormwater 

effluents, based on similarities of the industrial activities, 

significant materials, size of drainage areas, frequency of 
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discharges, and stormwater management practices 

occurring within the drainage areas of the outfalls, the 

permittee may conduct quarterly visual monitoring on the 

stormwater discharges of just one representative outfall.  

f. Visual monitoring reports shall be maintained on-site 

with the SWPPP. The report shall include: 

(1) Outfall location;  

(2) Monitoring date and time;  

(3) Duration of storm event;  

(4) Rainfall measurement or estimate (in inches) of the 

storm event that generated the discharge;  

(5) Duration between the storm event sampled and the 

end of the previous measurable storm event;  

(6) Monitoring personnel;  

(7) Nature of the discharge (i.e., runoff or snow melt);  

(8) Visual quality of the stormwater discharge, including 

observations of color, odor, clarity, floating solids, 

settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and 

other obvious indicators of stormwater pollution;  

(9) Probable sources of any observed stormwater 

contamination;  

(10) Why it was not possible to take the sample within 

the first 30 minutes (if applicable); and 

(11) Documentation to support substantially identical 

outfalls (if applicable) required by Part II A 1 e. 

g. Corrective action. Whenever the visual monitoring 

shows evidence of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and 

stormwater control measures shall be updated per Part II 

B. 

2. Routine facility inspections. Personnel who possess the 

knowledge and skills to assess conditions and activities 

that could impact stormwater quality at the facility and 

who can also evaluate the effectiveness of control 

measures shall regularly inspect all areas of the facility 

where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater.  

a. Inspections include loading and unloading areas, 

storage areas, including associated containment areas, 

waste management units, vents and stacks emanating 

from industrial activities, spoiled product and broken 

product container hold areas, animal holding pens, 

staging areas, air pollution control equipment, areas 

where spills or leaks have occurred in the past three 

years, discharge points, and control measures.  

b. At least one member of the pollution prevention team 

shall participate in the routine facility inspections. 

c. The inspection frequency shall be specified in the 

SWPPP based upon a consideration of the level of 

industrial activity at the facility but shall be at a 

minimum of once per calendar quarter unless written 

approval is received from the department for less 

frequent intervals. Inspections shall be performed during 

operating hours. At least once each calendar year, the 

routine facility inspection shall be conducted during a 

period when a stormwater discharge is occurring.  

d. Any deficiencies in the implementation of the SWPPP 

that are found shall be corrected as soon as practicable, 

but not later than within 60 days of the inspection, unless 

permission for a later date is granted in writing by the 

director. The results of the inspections shall be 

documented in the SWPPP and shall include at a 

minimum: 

(1) The inspection date; 

(2) The names of the inspectors; 

(3) Weather information and a description of any 

discharges occurring at the time of the inspection; 

(4) Any previously unidentified discharges of pollutants 

from the site; 

(5) Any control measures needing maintenance or 

repairs; 

(6) Any failed control measures that need replacement; 

(7) Any incidents of noncompliance observed; and 

(8) Any additional control measures needed to comply 

with the permit requirements. 

e. Corrective action. Whenever the routine inspection 

shows evidence of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and 

stormwater control measures shall be updated per Part II 

B. 

f. The requirement for routine facility inspections is 

waived for facilities that have maintained an active 

VEEP E3/E4 status.  

3. Nonstormwater discharges.  

a. Allowable nonstormwater discharges. Discharges of 

certain sources of nonstormwater listed in Part II A 3 c 

are allowable discharges under this permit. All other 

nonstormwater discharges are not authorized and shall be 

either eliminated, covered under this permit, or covered 

under a separate VPDES permit.  

b. Annual outfall inspection for unauthorized discharges. 

The SWPPP shall include documentation that all 

stormwater outfalls associated with industrial activity 

have been evaluated annually for the presence of 

unauthorized discharges. The documentation shall 

include: 
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(1) The date of the evaluation; 

(2) A description of the evaluation criteria used; 

(3) A list of the outfalls or on-site drainage points that 

were directly observed during the evaluation; 

(4) A description of the results of the evaluation for the 

presence of unauthorized discharges; and 

(5) The actions taken to eliminate unauthorized 

discharges if any were identified. 

c. The following nonstormwater discharges are 

authorized by this permit:  

(1) Discharges from emergency firefighting activities;  

(2) Fire hydrant flushing, managed in a manner to avoid 

an instream impact;  

(3) Potable water, including water line flushing, managed 

in a manner to avoid an instream impact;  

(4) Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside 

storage of refrigerated gases or liquids;  

(5) Irrigation drainage;  

(6) Landscape watering provided all pesticides, 

herbicides, and fertilizers have been applied in 

accordance with the approved labeling;  

(7) Pavement wash waters where no detergents or 

hazardous cleaning products are used and no spills or 

leaks of toxic or hazardous materials have occurred, 

unless all spilled material has been removed. Pavement 

wash waters shall be managed in a manner to avoid an 

instream impact;  

(8) Routine external building washdown that does not use 

detergents or hazardous cleaning products; 

(9) Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water;  

(10) Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and  

(11) Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, 

but not intentional discharges from the cooling tower 

(e.g., "piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains).  

B. Corrective actions. The permittee shall take corrective 

action whenever: 

1. Routine facility inspections, visual monitoring, 

inspections by local, state, or federal officials, or any other 

process, observation, or event result in a determination that 

modifications to the stormwater control measures are 

necessary to meet the permit requirements;  

2. The department determines, or the permittee becomes 

aware, that the stormwater control measures are not 

stringent enough for the discharge to meet applicable water 

quality standards. 

3. The permittee shall review the SWPPP and modify it as 

necessary to address any deficiencies. Revisions to the 

SWPPP shall be completed within 60 days following the 

discovery of the deficiency. When control measures need 

to be modified or added, implementation shall be 

completed before the next anticipated storm event if 

possible, but no later than 60 days after the deficiency is 

discovered, or as otherwise provided or approved by the 

department. In cases where construction is necessary to 

implement control measures, the permittee shall include a 

schedule in the SWPPP that provides for the completion of 

the control measures as expeditiously as practicable, but no 

later than three years after the deficiency is discovered. 

Where a construction compliance schedule is included in 

the SWPPP, the SWPPP shall include appropriate 

nonstructural and temporary controls to be implemented in 

the affected portion of the facility prior to completion of 

the permanent control measure. The amount of time taken 

to modify a control measure or implement additional 

control measures shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

4. Any corrective actions taken shall be documented and 

retained with the SWPPP. Reports of corrective actions 

shall be signed in accordance with Part III K.  

C. Stormwater pollution prevention plans (SWPPPs). An 

SWPPP shall be developed and implemented for the facility 

covered by this permit, which has stormwater discharges 

associated with industrial activity and is classified under SIC 

Code 2091 or 2092. The SWPPP is intended to document the 

selection, design, and installation of control measures, 

including BMPs, to minimize the pollutants in all stormwater 

discharges from the facility and to meet applicable effluent 

limitations and water quality standards. 

The SWPPP shall be prepared in accordance with good 

engineering practices and shall identify potential sources of 

pollution that may reasonably be expected to affect the 

quality of stormwater discharges from the facility. In 

addition, the plan shall describe and ensure the 

implementation of practices that will be used to reduce the 

pollutants in stormwater discharges from the facility and shall 

assure compliance with the terms and conditions of this 

permit. Permittees must implement the provisions of the 

SWPPP as a condition of this permit.  

The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 

fulfilled, in part, by incorporating by reference other plans or 

documents such as an erosion and sediment control (ESC) 

plan, a spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) 

plan developed for the facility under § 311 of the Clean Water 

Act or best management practices (BMP) programs otherwise 

required for the facility provided that the incorporated plan 

meets or exceeds the plan requirements of this section. Part II 

C 2 (Contents of the SWPPP). If an ESC plan is being 
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incorporated by reference, it shall have been approved by the 

locality in which the activity is to occur or by another 

appropriate plan approving authority authorized under the 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations, 9VAC25-840. All 

plans incorporated by reference into the SWPPP become 

enforceable under this permit. If a plan incorporated by 

reference does not contain all of the required elements of the 

SWPPP of Part III C 2, the permittee shall develop the 

missing SWPPP elements and include them in the required 

plan. 

A. 1. Deadlines for plan SWPPP preparation and 

compliance.  

1. Facilities that were covered under the 2011 Seafood 

Processing Facilities General Permit. a. Owners of 

facilities that were covered under the 2011 2016 Seafood 

Processing Facilities General Permit who are continuing 

coverage under this general permit shall update and 

implement any revisions to the SWPPP required by this 

part within 60 days of the board granting coverage under 

this permit.  

2. New facilities, facilities previously covered by an 

expiring individual permit, and existing facilities not 

currently covered by a VPDES permit. b. Owners of new 

facilities, facilities previously covered by an expiring 

individual permit, and existing facilities not currently 

covered by a VPDES permit that elect to be covered 

under this general permit must shall prepare and 

implement the SWPPP within 60 days of the board 

granting coverage under this permit.  

3. New owners of existing facilities. c. Where the owner 

of an existing facility that is covered by this permit 

changes, the new owner of the facility must update and 

implement any revisions to the SWPPP within 60 days of 

the transfer of title of the facility ownership change.  

4. Extensions. d. Upon a showing of good cause, the 

director may establish a later date in writing for 

preparation of and compliance with the SWPPP.  

B. 2. Contents of the SWPPP. The contents of the SWPPP 

shall include, at a minimum, the following items:  

1. a. Pollution prevention team. The SWPPP shall 

identify the staff individuals by name or title who 

comprise the facility's stormwater pollution prevention 

team. The pollution prevention team is responsible for 

assisting the facility or plant manager in developing, 

implementing, maintaining, revising, and maintaining 

ensuring compliance with the facility's SWPPP. Specific 

responsibilities of each staff individual on the team shall 

be identified and listed.  

2. b. Site description. The SWPPP shall include the 

following:  

a. Activities at the facility. (1) A description of the nature 

of the industrial activities at the facility.  

b. General location map. A general location map (e.g., 

USGS quadrangle or other map) with enough detail to 

identify the location of the facility and the receiving 

waters within one mile of the facility.  

c. (2) Site map. A site map identifying the following:  

(1) The size of the property (in acres) (a) The boundaries 

of the property and the size of the property in acres; 

(2) (b) The location and extent of significant structures 

and impervious surfaces (roofs, paved areas, and any 

other impervious areas); 

(3) (c) Locations of all stormwater conveyances, 

including ditches, pipes, swales, and inlets, and the 

directions of stormwater flow (e.g., use arrows to show 

which ways stormwater will flow), using arrows to 

indicate which direction stormwater will flow;  

(4) (d) Locations of all existing structural and source 

control BMPs stormwater control measures, including 

BMPs;  

(5) (e) Locations of all surface water bodies receiving 

discharges from the site, including wetlands;  

(6) (f) Locations of identified potential pollutant sources 

identified in Part II C 2 c; 

(7) (g) Locations where significant spills or leaks 

identified under Part II C 2 c (3) have occurred;  

(8) Locations of the following activities where such 

activities are exposed to precipitation: fueling stations; 

vehicle and equipment maintenance or cleaning areas; 

loading or unloading areas; locations used for the 

treatment, storage or disposal of wastes; liquid storage 

tanks; processing and storage areas; access roads, rail 

cars and tracks; transfer areas for substances in bulk; and 

machinery; (9) (h) Locations of stormwater outfalls and, 

monitoring locations, an approximate outline of the area 

draining to each outfall, and the drainage area of each 

outfall in acres, the longitude and latitude of each outfall, 

the location of any municipal separate storm sewer 

systems (MS4s), if the stormwater from the facility 

discharges to them; system (MS4) conveyance receiving 

discharge from the facility, and each outfall identified 

with a unique numerical identification codes. For 

example: Outfall Number 001, Outfall Number 002, etc.; 

(10) (i) Location and description of all nonstormwater 

discharges;  

(11) (j) Location of any storage piles containing salt used 

for deicing or other commercial or industrial purposes; 

and; 
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(12) (k) Location and source of runon suspected run-on 

to the site from an adjacent property, where the runon 

contains property if the run-on is suspected of containing 

significant quantities of pollutants; and 

(l) Locations of vents and stacks from cooking, drying, 

and similar operations; dry product vacuum transfer 

lines; animal holding pens; spoiled product; and broken 

product container storage area if exposed to precipitation 

or runoff. 

d. Receiving waters and wetlands. The name of all 

surface waters receiving discharges from the site, 

including intermittent streams. A description of wetland 

sites that may receive discharges from the facility shall 

also be provided. If the facility discharges through an 

MS4, the MS4 operator and the receiving water to which 

the MS4 discharges shall also be identified. 

3. c. Summary of potential pollutant sources. The 

SWPPP shall identify each separate area at the facility 

where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. Industrial materials or activities include, but 

are not limited to, material handling equipment or 

activities, industrial machinery, raw materials, industrial 

production and processes, intermediate products, 

byproducts, final products, and waste products, and 

application and storage of pest control chemicals used on 

facility grounds. Material handling activities include, but 

are not limited to, the storage, loading and unloading, 

transportation, disposal, or conveyance of any raw 

material, intermediate product, final product or waste 

product. For each separate area identified, the description 

shall include:  

a. (1) Activities in area. A list of the industrial activities 

(e.g., material storage, equipment fueling and cleaning, 

cutting steel beams); exposed to stormwater;  

b. (2) Pollutants. A list of the associated pollutant(s) or 

pollutant parameter(s) (e.g., crankcase oil, zinc, sulfuric 

acid, cleaning solvents, etc.) for each activity pollutants, 

pollutant constituents, or industrial chemicals associated 

with each industrial activity that could potentially be 

exposed to stormwater. The pollutant list shall include all 

significant materials handled, treated, stored, or disposed 

that have been exposed to stormwater in the three years 

prior to the date the SWPPP was prepared or amended. 

The list shall include any hazardous substance substances 

or oil at the facility. 

4. (3) Spills and leaks. The SWPPP shall clearly identify 

areas where potential spills and leaks that can contribute 

pollutants to stormwater discharges can occur and their 

corresponding outfalls. The SWPPP shall include a list of 

significant spills and leaks of toxic or hazardous 

pollutants that actually occurred at exposed areas, or that 

drained to a stormwater conveyance during the three-year 

period prior to the date this SWPPP was prepared or 

amended. The list shall be updated within 60 days of the 

incident if significant spills or leaks occur in exposed 

areas of the facility during the term of the permit. 

Significant spills and leaks include, but are not limited to, 

releases of oil or hazardous substances in excess of 

reportable quantities.  

5. Stormwater controls.  

a. BMPs d. Control measure considerations. Control 

measures shall be implemented for all the areas identified 

in Part II B 3 C 2 c (Summary of potential pollutant 

sources) to prevent or control pollutants in stormwater 

discharges from the facility. If applicable, steps shall be 

taken to control or address the quality of discharges from 

the site that do not originate at the facility. regulated 

stormwater discharges from the facility include 

stormwater run-on that commingles with stormwater 

discharges associated with industrial activity at the 

facility. The SWPPP shall describe the type, location, 

and implementation of all BMPs control measures for 

each area where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater. Selection of BMPs control 

measures shall take into consideration:  

(1) That preventing stormwater from coming into contact 

with polluting materials is generally more effective, and 

less costly, than trying to remove pollutants from 

stormwater; 

(2) BMPs Control measures generally must be used in 

combination with each other for most effective water 

quality protection; 

(3) Assessing the type and quantity of pollutants, 

including their potential to impact receiving water 

quality, is critical to designing effective control 

measures; 

(4) That minimizing impervious areas at the facility can 

reduce runoff and improve groundwater recharge and 

stream base flows in local streams (however, care must 

be taken to avoid groundwater contamination); 

(5) Flow attenuation by use of open vegetated swales and 

natural depressions can reduce in-stream instream 

impacts of erosive flows; 

(6) Conservation or restoration of riparian buffers will 

help protect streams from stormwater runoff and improve 

water quality; and  

(7) Treatment interceptors (e.g., swirl separators and sand 

filters) may be appropriate in some instances to minimize 

the discharge of pollutants. 

b. e. Control measures. The permittee shall implement 

the following types of BMPs control measures to prevent 

and control pollutants in the stormwater discharges from 
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the facility, unless it can be demonstrated and 

documented that such controls are not relevant to the 

discharges (e.g., there are no storage piles containing 

salt).  

(1) Good housekeeping. The permittee shall keep clean 

all exposed areas of the facility that are potential sources 

of pollutants to stormwater discharges. Typical problem 

areas include areas around trash containers, storage areas, 

loading docks, and vehicle fueling and maintenance 

areas. The SWPPP shall include a schedule for regular 

pickup and disposal of waste materials, along with 

routine inspections for leaks and of the conditions of 

drums, tanks, and containers. The introduction of raw, 

final or waste materials to exposed areas of the facility 

shall be minimized. The generation of dust, along with 

off-site vehicle tracking of raw, final or waste materials, 

or sediments, shall be minimized. The permittee shall 

perform the following good housekeeping measures to 

minimize pollutant discharges: 

(a) The SWPPP shall include a schedule for regular 

pickup and disposal of waste materials along with routine 

inspections for leaks and conditions of drums, tanks, and 

containers; 

(b) Sweep or vacuum as feasible; 

(c) Store materials in containers constructed of 

appropriate materials; 

(d) Manage all waste containers to prevent a discharge of 

pollutants; 

(e) Minimize the potential for waste, garbage, and 

floatable debris to be discharged by keeping areas 

exposed to stormwater free of such materials or by 

intercepting such materials prior to discharge; and 

(f) Implement BMPs to eliminate stormwater discharges 

of plastics. 

(2) Eliminating and minimizing exposure. To the 

maximum extent practicable, industrial materials and 

activities manufacturing, processing, and material storage 

areas, including loading and unloading, storage, disposal, 

cleaning, maintenance, and fueling operations, shall be 

located inside, or protected by a storm-resistant covering 

to prevent exposure to rain, snow, snowmelt, and runoff. 

Unless infeasible, facilities shall implement the 

following: 

(a) Use grading, berming, or curbing to prevent runoff of 

contaminated flows and divert run-on away from 

potential sources of pollutants; 

(b) Locate materials, equipment, and activities so that 

potential leaks and spills are contained, or able to be 

contained, or diverted before discharge; 

(c) Clean up spills and leaks immediately, upon 

discovery of the spills or leaks, using dry methods (e.g., 

absorbents) to prevent the discharge of pollutants; 

(d) Store leaking vehicles and equipment indoors, or if 

stored outdoors, use drip pans and adsorbents; 

(e) Utilize appropriate spill or overflow protections 

equipment;  

(f) Perform all vehicle maintenance or equipment 

cleaning operations indoors, under cover, or in bermed 

areas that prevent runoff and run-on and also capture any 

overspray; and 

(g) Drain fluids from equipment and vehicles that will be 

decommissioned, and for any equipment and vehicles 

that remain unused for extended periods of time, inspect 

at least monthly for leaks.  

(3) Preventive maintenance. The permittee shall have a 

preventive maintenance program that includes regular 

inspection, testing, SWPPP shall include preventive 

maintenance that includes a description of procedures 

and a regular schedule for inspection of the following: 

(a) All control measures that includes a description of the 

back-up practices that are in place should a runoff event 

occur while a control measure is off line; and 

(b) Testing, maintenance, and repairing of all industrial 

equipment and systems to avoid breakdowns or failures 

situations that could result in leaks, spills, and other 

releases. This program is in addition to the specific BMP 

maintenance required under Part II C (Maintenance of 

BMPs) of the permit of pollutants in stormwater 

discharged from the facility. 

(4) Spill prevention and response procedures. The 

SWPPP shall describe the procedures that will be 

followed for preventing and responding to spills and 

leaks., including: 

(a) Preventive measures include, such as barriers between 

material storage and traffic areas, secondary containment 

provisions, and procedures for material storage and 

handling.; 

(b) Response procedures shall include (i), including 

notification of appropriate facility personnel, emergency 

agencies, and regulatory agencies; and (ii) procedures for 

stopping, containing, and cleaning up spills. Measures for 

cleaning up hazardous material spills or leaks shall be 

consistent with applicable RCRA the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act regulations at 40 CFR 

Part 264 and 40 CFR Part 265. Employees who may 

cause, detect, or respond to a spill or leak shall be trained 

in these procedures and have necessary spill response 

equipment available. One If possible, one of these 
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individuals shall be a member of the pollution prevention 

team.; 

(c) Procedures for plainly labeling containers (e.g., "used 

oil," "spent solvents," and "fertilizers and pesticides") 

that could be susceptible to spillage or leakage to 

encourage proper handling and facilitate rapid response if 

spills or leaks occur; and 

(c) (d) Contact information for individuals and agencies 

that must be notified in the event of a spill shall be 

included in the SWPPP and maintained in other locations 

where it will be readily available. 

(5) Routine facility inspections. Facility personnel who 

possess the knowledge and skills to assess conditions and 

activities that could impact stormwater quality at the 

facility, and who can also evaluate the effectiveness of 

BMPs shall regularly inspect all areas of the facility 

where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. These inspections are in addition to, or as 

part of, the comprehensive site evaluation required under 

Part II D. At least one member of the pollution 

prevention team shall participate in the routine facility 

inspections. The inspection frequency shall be specified 

in the SWPPP and be based upon a consideration of the 

level of industrial activity at the facility, but shall be a 

minimum of quarterly unless more frequent intervals are 

specified elsewhere in the permit or written approval is 

received from the department for less frequent intervals. 

Any deficiencies in the implementation of the SWPPP 

that are found shall be corrected as soon as practicable, 

but not later than within 30 days of the inspection, unless 

permission for a later date is granted in writing by the 

director. The results of the inspections shall be 

documented in the SWPPP, along with the date(s) and 

description(s) of any corrective actions that were taken in 

response to any deficiencies or opportunities for 

improvement that were identified. 

(6) (5) Employee training. The permittee shall implement 

a stormwater employee training program for the facility. 

The SWPPP shall include a schedule for all training and 

shall document all training sessions and the employees 

who received the training. Training shall be provided at 

least annually for all employees who work in areas where 

industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater, and for employees who are responsible for 

implementing activities identified in the SWPPP (e.g., 

inspectors and maintenance personnel). The training shall 

cover the components and goals of the SWPPP and 

include such topics as spill response, good housekeeping, 

material management practices, BMP operation and 

maintenance, etc. and pest control. The SWPPP shall 

include a summary of any training performed. 

(7) (6) Sediment and erosion control. The SWPPP shall 

identify areas at the facility that, due to topography, land 

disturbance (e.g., construction, landscaping, site 

grading), or other factors, have a potential for soil 

erosion. The permittee shall identify and implement 

structural, vegetative, or stabilization BMPs control 

measures to prevent or control on-site and off-site 

erosion and sedimentation. Flow velocity dissipation 

devices shall be placed at discharge locations and along 

the length of any outfall channel if the flows would 

otherwise create erosive conditions. 

(8) (7) Management of runoff. The plan shall describe the 

stormwater runoff management practices (i.e., permanent 

structural BMPs) control measures) for the facility. These 

types of BMPs are typically control measures shall be 

used to divert, infiltrate, reuse, or otherwise reduce 

pollutants in stormwater discharges from the site.  

Structural BMPs control measures may require a separate 

permit under § 404 of the federal Clean Water Act and 

the Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 

(9VAC25-210) before installation begins. 

C. Maintenance. All BMPs identified in the SWPPP shall be 

maintained in effective operating condition. Stormwater 

BMPs identified in the SWPPP shall be observed during 

active operation (i.e., during a stormwater runoff event) to 

ensure that they are functioning correctly. The observations 

shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

The SWPPP shall include a description of procedures and a 

regular schedule for preventive maintenance of all BMPs and 

shall include a description of the back-up practices that are in 

place should a runoff event occur while a BMP is off line. 

The effectiveness of nonstructural BMPs shall also be 

maintained (e.g., spill response supplies available and 

personnel trained). 

If site inspections required by Part II B 5 b (5) (Routine 

facility inspections) or Part II D (Comprehensive site 

compliance evaluation) identify BMPs that are not operating 

effectively, repairs or maintenance shall be performed before 

the next anticipated storm event. In the interim, back-up 

measures shall be employed and documented in the SWPPP 

until repairs or maintenance is complete. Documentation shall 

be kept with the SWPPP of maintenance and repairs of 

BMPs, including the date or dates of regular maintenance, 

date or dates of discovery of areas in need of repair or 

replacement, and for repairs, date or dates that the BMPs 

returned to full function, and the justification for any 

extended maintenance or repair schedules. 

D. Comprehensive site compliance evaluation. The 

permittee shall conduct comprehensive site compliance 

evaluations at least once a year. The evaluations shall be done 

by qualified personnel who possess the knowledge and skills 

to assess conditions and activities that could impact 

stormwater quality at the facility, and who can also evaluate 

the effectiveness of BMPs. The personnel conducting the 
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evaluations may be either facility employees or outside 

constituents hired by the facility.  

1. Scope of the compliance evaluation. Evaluations shall 

include all areas where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater, as identified in Part II B 3. The 

personnel shall evaluate: 

a. Industrial materials, residue or trash that may have or 

could come into contact with stormwater;  

b. Leaks or spills from industrial equipment, drums, 

barrels, tanks or other containers that have occurred 

within the past three years; 

c. Off-site tracking of industrial or waste materials or 

sediment where vehicles enter or exit the site;  

d. Tracking or blowing of raw, final, or waste materials 

from areas of no exposure to exposed areas;  

e. Evidence of, or the potential for, pollutants entering 

the drainage system; 

f. Evidence of pollutants discharging to surface waters at 

all facility outfalls, and the condition of and around the 

outfall, including flow dissipation measures to prevent 

scouring; 

g. Review of training performed, inspections completed, 

maintenance performed, quarterly visual examinations, 

and effective operation of BMPs; and 

h. Review of the results of both visual and any analytical 

monitoring done during the past year.  

2. Based on the results of the evaluation, the SWPPP shall 

be modified as necessary (e.g., show additional controls on 

the map required by Part II B 2 c; revise the description of 

controls required by Part II B 5 to include additional or 

modified BMPs designed to correct problems identified). 

Revisions to the SWPPP shall be completed within 30 days 

following the evaluation, unless permission for a later date 

is granted in writing by the director. If existing BMPs need 

to be modified or if additional BMPs are necessary, 

implementation shall be completed before the next 

anticipated storm event, if practicable, but not more than 

60 days after completion of the comprehensive site 

evaluation, unless permission for a later date is granted in 

writing by the department.  

3. Compliance evaluation report. A report shall be written 

summarizing the scope of the evaluation, the name or 

names of personnel making the evaluation, the date or 

dates of the evaluation, and all observations relating to the 

implementation of the SWPPP, including elements 

stipulated in Part II D 1 (a) through (f) of this general 

permit. Observations shall include such things as: the 

location or locations of discharges of pollutants from the 

site; the location or locations of previously unidentified 

sources of pollutants; the location or locations of BMPs 

that need to be maintained or repaired; the location or 

locations of failed BMPs that need replacement; and 

location or locations where additional BMPs are needed. 

The report shall identify any incidents of noncompliance 

that were observed. Where a report does not identify any 

incidents of noncompliance, the report shall contain a 

certification that the facility is in compliance with the 

SWPPP and this permit. The report shall be signed in 

accordance with Part III K and maintained with the 

SWPPP. 

4. Where compliance evaluation schedules overlap with 

routine inspections required under Part II B 5 b (5), the 

annual compliance evaluation may be used as one of the 

routine inspections.  

E. 3. Signature and plan SWPPP review.  

1. Signature/location. a. Signature and location. The 

SWPPP, including revisions to the SWPPP to document 

any corrective actions taken as required by Part II B, 

shall be signed in accordance with Part III K, dated, and 

retained on-site at the facility covered by this permit. All 

other changes to the SWPPP, and other permit 

compliance documentation, must be signed and dated by 

the person preparing the change or documentation.  

2. b. Availability. The permittee shall make the SWPPP, 

annual site compliance evaluation report, and other 

information available to the department retain a copy of 

the current SWPPP required by this permit at the facility, 

and it shall be immediately available to the department, 

EPA, or the operator of an MS4 receiving discharges 

from the site at the time of an on-site inspection or upon 

request.  

3. c. Required modifications. The permittee shall modify 

the SWPPP whenever necessary to address all corrective 

actions required by Part II B. Changes to the SWPPP 

shall be made in accordance with the corrective action 

deadlines in Part II B and shall be signed and dated in 

accordance with Part III K. The director may notify the 

permittee at any time that the SWPPP, BMPs control 

measures, or other components of the facility's 

stormwater program do not meet one or more of the 

requirements of this permit. The notification shall 

identify specific provisions of the permit that are not 

being met and may include required modifications to the 

stormwater program, additional monitoring requirements, 

and special reporting requirements. The permittee shall 

make any required changes to the SWPPP within 60 days 

of receipt of such notification, unless permission for a 

later date is granted in writing by the director, and shall 

submit a written certification to the director that the 

requested changes have been made.  
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F. 4. Maintaining an updated SWPPP. 1. The permittee 

shall review and amend the SWPPP as appropriate 

whenever:  

a. There is construction or a change in design, operation, 

or maintenance at the facility that has an effect on the 

discharge, or the potential for the discharge, of pollutants 

from the facility sufficient to impact water quality;  

b. Routine inspections or compliance evaluations visual 

monitoring determine that there are deficiencies in the 

control measures, including BMPs;  

c. Inspections by local, state, or federal officials 

determine that modifications to the SWPPP are 

necessary; 

d. There is a significant spill, leak or other release at the 

facility; or 

e. There is an unauthorized discharge from the facility. 

2. f. SWPPP modifications shall be made within 30 60 

calendar days after the discovery, observation, or event 

requiring a SWPPP modification. Implementation of new 

or modified BMPs (distinct from regular preventive 

maintenance of existing BMPs described in Part II C) 

control measures shall be initiated before the next storm 

event if possible, but no later than 60 days after 

discovery, or as otherwise provided or approved by the 

director. The amount of time taken to modify a BMP 

control measure or implement additional BMPs control 

measures shall be documented in the SWPPP. 

3. g. If the SWPPP modification is based on a significant 

spill, leak, release, or unauthorized discharge, include a 

description and date of the release incident, the 

circumstances leading to the release incident, actions 

taken in response to the release incident, and measures to 

prevent the recurrence of such releases. Unauthorized 

releases and discharges are subject to the reporting 

requirements of Part III G of this permit. 

G. Allowable nonstormwater discharges. The following 

nonstormwater discharges are authorized by this permit: 

1. Discharges from fire-fighting activities;  

2. Fire hydrant flushings;  

3. Potable water including water line flushings;  

4. Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside 

storage of refrigerated gases or liquids; 

5. Irrigation drainage;  

6. Landscape watering provided all pesticides, herbicides, 

and fertilizer have been applied in accordance with the 

approved labeling; 

7. Pavement wash waters where no detergents are used and 

no spills or leaks of toxic or hazardous materials have 

occurred, unless all spilled material has been removed; 

8. Routine external building wash down that does not use 

detergents;  

9. Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water;  

10. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and  

11. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, but 

not intentional discharges from the cooling tower, for 

example, "piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains.  

Part III  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 

analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) and time(s) dates and times analyses were 

performed;  

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
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reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 

of retention shall be extended automatically during the 

course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 

activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 

permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the 

department in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-

31-1020. There shall be at least three months' notice 

provided between the notification from the department and 

the date after which such forms and reports must be 

submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

coverage under this permit or to determine compliance with 

this permit. The board may require the permittee to furnish, 

upon request, such plans, specifications, and other pertinent 

information as may be necessary to determine the effect of 

the wastes from his the permittee's discharge on the quality of 

state waters, or such other information as may be necessary to 

accomplish the purposes of the State Water Control Law. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F 

(Unauthorized discharges); or who discharges or causes or 

allows a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter 

state waters in violation of Part III F, shall notify (see NOTE 

in Part III I) the department of the discharge immediately 

upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 24 

hours after said discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset, should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
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department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the 

known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 

report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 

five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 

Part III I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 

are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance.  

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public 

health.  

1. a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours 

from the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this subdivision:  

a. (1) Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. (2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface 

waters.  

2. b. A written report shall be submitted within five days 

and shall contain:  

a. (1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. (2) The period of noncompliance, including exact 

dates and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. (3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. 2. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Parts III I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part III I 2.  

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports 

required in Part III G, H, and I may be made to the 

department's regional office. Reports may be made by 

telephone, FAX, or online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. 

For reports outside normal working hours, leave a message 

and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. 

For emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. 

4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 

when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 

under § 306 of the federal Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the federal Clean Water Act 

that are applicable to such source, but only if the 

standards are promulgated in accordance with § 306 

within 120 days of their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 

the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 

discharged. This notification applies to pollutants that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; under 

Part I B 6; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 

change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices 

and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application registration process or not reported 

pursuant to an approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 

department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 

or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements.  

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
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K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 

be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purposes of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility, including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application requirements; and 

where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 

delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 

procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports and other requested information. All reports 

required by permits, and other information requested by 

the board, shall be signed by a person described in Part III 

K 1 or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A 

person is a duly authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 

an individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly 

authorized representative may thus be either a named 

individual or any individual occupying a named position; 

and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is, to the best of 

my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information, including the possibility of 

fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

federal Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with 

certain provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of 

the State Water Control Law but not the federal Clean Water 

Act. Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement 

action; for permit coverage termination, revocation and 

reissuance, or modification; or denial of a permit renewal 

application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the 

regulations that establish these standards, even if this permit 

has not yet been modified to incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement at least 30 60 days before the expiration date of the 

existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 

expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights or any 

infringement of federal, state or local laws or regulations.  
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O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean Water 

Act. Except as provided in permit conditions in Part III U 

(Bypass) and Part III V (Upset) nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 

operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 

similar systems that are installed by the permittee only when 

the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 

streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 

permittee may allow any bypass to occur that does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 

is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 

These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part III 

U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 

notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I 

(Reports of noncompliance).  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 

unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 

such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 

of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 

periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 

satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 

been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 

judgment to prevent a bypass that occurred during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 

Part III U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 

that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part III U 3 

a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review.  

2. A permittee that wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 

signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 

evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 25 Virginia Register of Regulations August 3, 2020 

2670 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part III S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 

proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director or an authorized representative, (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 

records that must be kept under the conditions of this 

permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 

by the federal Clean Water Act and the State Water 

Control Law, any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 

emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 

the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 

reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 

changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits. Permits are permit coverage.  

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department.  

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if:  

1. a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property unless permission for a later date has been 

granted by the board;  

2. b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

3. c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances and 

the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC25-115)  

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 2091, 2092, 5142 or 

5046 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC 

Manual, 1987). U.S. Office of Management and Budget 

(OMB) SIC Manual, 1987  

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) 

U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 2017 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5819; Filed July 14, 2020, 3:34 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes regulations 

that consist only of changes in style or form or corrections of 

technical errors. The State Water Control Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at any 

time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-410. Occoquan Policy 

(amending 9VAC25-410-10, 9VAC25-410-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (803) 698-

4238, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments, which are a result of a periodic review, 

make technical corrections to update the regulation. 

9VAC25-410-10. Introduction.  

A. Purpose and authority. To provide a policy that protects 

the Occoquan watershed from point source pollution. The 

Occoquan Policy specifically regulates jurisdictional 

domestic sewage and sets forth requirements for high 

performance regional treatment plants. The policy was 

adopted pursuant to authority vested in the State Water 

Control Board (board) by § 62.1-44.15 of the State Water 

Control Law.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e5d005819~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005819&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e5d005819~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005819&mime=application/pdf
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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B. Water quality standard. This "Occoquan Policy" also 

constitutes special standard "g" in the board's water quality 

standards for sections 7a, through 7h of the Potomac River 

Basin's Potomac River Subbasin (9VAC25-260-390), which 

sections are delineated geographically in the "Basin and 

Section Description" portion of the water quality standards 

publication (9VAC25-260-10 et seq.). In addition, the text of 

this policy is referred to under special standards and 

requirements (9VAC25-300-10) (9VAC25-260-310), entitled 

"Occoquan Watershed Policy," of the water quality standards 

(9VAC25-260-10 et seq.).  

C. Background. During the 1960s there was a great deal of 

concern generated about the large amount of treated sewage 

effluent being discharged in the Occoquan watershed, since 

the receiving streams feed the Occoquan reservoir, a drinking 

water supply for over 600,000 people in Northern Virginia.  

In response to this, the board commissioned the firm of 

Metcalf & Eddy to study the problems of the Occoquan 

reservoir and to recommend a course of action to preserve the 

Occoquan as a valuable water resource for future generations.  

The results of the Metcalf & Eddy study stated that point 

source pollution was the primary cause of water quality 

degradation in the Occoquan watershed and that a high degree 

of waste treatment would be necessary to prolong the life of 

the drinking water supply.  

In 1971 the board adopted a policy for waste treatment and 

water quality management in the Occoquan watershed (the 

Occoquan Policy) which that outlined a course of action to 

control point source pollution in the watershed.  

The Occoquan Policy provided for the construction of 

regional high-performance treatment facilities in the 

watershed and a monitoring program to obtain water quality 

data both before and after construction of any of the high-

performance plants.  

The Occoquan Watershed Monitoring Program (OWMP or 

monitoring program) was established in 1972 which gathered 

an extensive amount of information and found that water 

quality problems in the Occoquan watershed were related 

directly to point source pollution and to non-point source 

pollution.  

In 1978, a regional high-performance treatment facility (the 

Upper Occoquan Sewage Authority-UOSA) Service 

Authority, UOSA, formerly known as the Upper Occoquan 

Sewage Authority) was placed in operation. This facility 

eliminated 11 major point sources of pollution in the 

watershed.  

Shortly after UOSA began operations, costs and charges for 

sewage treatment in systems tributary to UOSA increased 

rather sharply. To date a significant part of those high costs 

have been associated with large amounts of infiltration and 

inflow being sent by the user jurisdictions to the regional 

facility for treatment.  

In an attempt to control non-point source pollution the 

Commonwealth of Virginia adopted an erosion and sediment 

control law in 1973. In accordance with this law, all of the 

watershed jurisdictions have adopted erosion and sediment 

control ordinances. In addition, a number of best management 

practices (BMP) handbooks were written and published in 

1979 by the board. In mid-1980 Fairfax County adopted a 

BMP ordinance.  

In 1978, the board contracted the firm of Camp Dresser & 

McKee (CDM) to reevaluate certain aspects of the Occoquan 

Policy. Their report was presented to the board and to the 

local communities in 1980 and recommended that few 

changes be made to the policy.  

As a result of the CDM report, input from the local 

communities and the board's staff, an updated version of the 

Occoquan Policy was drafted.  

D. References.  

1. A Comprehensive Pollution Abatement Program for the 

Occoquan Watershed, Metcalf & Eddy Engineers, March 

18, 1970.  

2. Record of public hearing on March 31, 1971, concerning 

State Water Control Board's Occoquan Policy.  

3. Occoquan Policy Reevaluation, Phase III Report, Camp 

Dresser& McKee, June 1980.  

4. Record of public hearing on November 20, 1980, 

concerning amendments to the Occoquan Policy.  

9VAC25-410-20. Long-range policy.  

A. Number and general location of regional treatment plants.  

1. The number of high-performance regional plants which 

shall be permitted in this watershed is not more than three, 

but preferably two, generally located as follows:  

a. One plant in the Fauquier County/Warrenton area.  

b. One plant in the Manassas area to serve the 

surrounding area in Prince William, Fairfax, and 

Loudoun counties.  

2. All point source discharges of treated sewage effluent 

will preferably be located at least 20 stream miles above 

the Fairfax County Water Authority's raw water intake. In 

no case shall a plant be located less than 15 miles above 

the raw water intake.  

3. The provisions of 9VAC25-410-20 A 1 and A 2 shall 

not limit the consideration of land disposal systems for 

waste treatment in the watershed, provided such systems 

shall have no point source discharge to state waters and 

shall have the approval of the State Water Control Board.  
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B. Regional plant capacity allocations for the Occoquan 

basin.  

1. The initial allotment of plant capacity for the Upper 

Occoquan Sewage Service Authority treatment facility was 

approximately 10 MGD, based on all effluent being from 

high-performance plants meeting the requirements of 

subsections D, E, and F below of this section and all those 

treatment facilities belonging to the City of Manassas, the 

City of Manassas Park, the Greater Manassas Sanitary 

District, and Sanitary District 12 of Fairfax County being 

abandoned.  

2. Incremental increases in the regional plant capacity may 

be approved by the board based on the results of a 

monitoring program which that shows that current and 

projected discharges from the high-performance plants do 

not create a water quality or public health problem in the 

reservoir. The board advises that since severe 

infiltration/inflow stresses the performance reliability of 

the regional treatment plants, jurisdictions must pursue I/I 

correction within their individual systems.  

C. Prerequisites for preliminary plant approval. Prerequisites 

before the board gives approval to preliminary plans for a 

regional high-performance plant are:  

1. A monitoring program for the receiving waters shall be 

in effect; and  

2. The authority who is to operate the proposed plant shall 

enter into a written and signed agreement with the board 

that the authority shall meet the administrative 

requirements of subsection F of this section.  

D. Design concept for high-performance plants on the 

Occoquan.  

1. Plant design requirements are:  

a. The design of the high-performance sewage treatment 

plants discharging to the Occoquan Watershed shall meet 

all the requirements specified here as well as those 

specified in the most recent edition of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia Sewerage Sewage Collection 

and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790-10 et seq.); 

and  

b. The basic sewage plant design concept for the regional 

plants discharging to the Occoquan watershed shall be 

based on the Upper Occoquan Sewage Service Authority 

Wastewater Reclamation Facility.  

2. Changes in plant design requirements will be made 

according to these criteria:  

a. Changes to the plant design described here shall only 

be acceptable if the change does all of the following:  

(1) Improves or equals the plant performance and final 

effluent quality;  

(2) Increases or equals plant reliability and 

maintainability; and  

(3) Has a demonstrated performance in a plant of at least 

5 to 10 MGD size for an operating period of not less than 

one, but preferably two years.  

b. Before such changes are incorporated in the plant, 

specific written approval shall be obtained from the 

board; and  

c. Changes to the plant design solely to reduce cost and 

which jeopardize plant performance and reliability will 

not be approved.  

E. Plant performance requirements.  

1. The plant performance requirements for high 

performance plants discharging to the Occoquan watershed 

are given in Table I.  

2. Operation of the nitrogen removal facilities is required 

when the ambient nitrate concentration (as N) is 5.0 mg/l 

or higher in the Occoquan reservoir in the vicinity of the 

Fairfax County Water Authority intake point. The owner of 

the regional sewage authority is responsible for knowing 

ambient results of nitrate and when operation of nitrogen 

removal facilities is necessary.  

TABLE I.  

MINIMUM EFFLUENT QUALITY REQUIREMENTS* 

FOR ANY REGIONAL 

SEWAGE TREATMENT PLANT IN THE OCCOQUAN 

WATERSHED.  

FINAL EFFLUENT REQUIREMENTS  

COD mg/1 - 10.0  

Suspended solids mg/1 - 1.0  

Nitrogen mg/1 - 1.0**  

Phosphorus mg/1 - 0.1  

MBAS mg/1 - 0.1  

Turbidity NTU - 0.5***  

Coliform per 100 ml Sample - less than 2.0  

*As measured on a monthly average unless otherwise noted. 

Since these are minimum requirements, the normal average 

would be expected to be substantially better.  

**Unoxidized nitrogen (as TKN) Refer to 9VAC25-410-20 

E 2 for further information.  

***Measured immediately prior to chlorination.  

F. Administrative and technical requirements for the control 

of the sewer system tributary to a regional, high-performance 

plant in the Occoquan watershed.  
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1. The owner to whom the permit is issued for operation of 

a regional plant shall meet the general and administrative 

requirements covered below. These requirements shall also 

be contractually passed on by the owner to any parties or 

jurisdictions with which the owner may contract for the 

processing of wastewater.  

These requirements are applicable to regional sewage 

treatment plants.  

2. The high-performance regional treatment plant shall be 

manned by an appropriate number of trained and qualified 

operating, maintenance and laboratory personnel and 

manned continuously 24 hours a day, seven days a week 

throughout the year.  

3. The owner shall include, as part of his preliminary and 

final plans and specifications submitted to the board for 

approval, a detailed statement indicating how each of the 

technical and administrative requirements in this policy has 

been met. Any proposed deviation from any of these 

requirements shall be clearly identified and technically 

justified, and shall require formal board approval. These 

submittals shall also include:  

a. Simplified fluid system diagrams which that clearly 

identify the following:  

(1) The average and peak capacity of each unit;  

(2) The number of units of each type needed to handle 

the normal average flow and the peak of flow; and  

(3) The number of spare units and their capacity for both 

average and peak flow cases shall also be identified.  

In addition, a brief narrative summary description shall 

be submitted to identify what has been done to ensure 

that each unit and major subsystem can be maintained 

and expanded without release of effluent that does not 

meet the minimum standards.  

b. A simple one-line power distribution system diagram 

showing how outside power is brought into the plant and 

how power is distributed within the plant proper shall be 

submitted. This diagram shall also show as a minimum:  

(1) Ratings and characteristics of electrical components, 

such as transformers, circuit breakers, and motor 

controllers, etc., making up the system;  

(2) Protective devices such as thermal overloads, under 

frequency, or under voltage relays;  

(3) Voltages supplied by all fuses;  

(4) Normal circuit breaker and switch conditions (Notes 

(notes shall also be provided as required to cover 

abnormal, casualty, and emergency operating modes); 

and  

(5) How electrical loads are combined into switch gear 

and load center. (The use of cubicle outlines in phantom 

or dotted line is suggested.)  

4. The final submittal of plans and specifications for the 

plant to the board shall include a systematic failure mode 

and effects analysis on the mechanical and electrical 

portions of the plant so as to demonstrate that a single 

failure of a mechanical or electrical component will not 

interrupt the plant operations which are necessary to meet 

the effluent requirements of Table I of this policy.  

5. Pumping stations on the collection systems which that 

are located in the Occoquan watershed and are tributary to 

a regional treatment works shall:  

a. Have stand-by pumping units;  

b. Have at least one "on-site" backup power supply;  

c. Have at least one "off-site" power supply;  

d. Be designed so that no single failure of a mechanical 

or electrical component could degrade pumping 

capability;  

e. Have pumps and valves arranged so that these units 

can be removed and replaced without the by-passing of 

sewage;  

f. Have flow measure devices with provisions for 

recording flow; and  

g. Have retention basins of a minimum one-day capacity.  

If these pumping stations are remote and unmanned, an 

alarm system shall be provided at manned stations to 

indicate that problems are developing and to direct 

maintenance assistance to the affected pumping station. 

The owner of each pumping station shall be required to 

obtain a State Water Control Board certificate.  

A waiver may be sought from requirement g above, 

particularly in new collection systems exhibiting no I/I 

problems. However, the jurisdiction requesting such a 

waiver must submit documentation to the board for 

review that the sewer system tributary to the pump 

station meets the criteria established by the most recent 

edition of the Virginia Sewerage Sewage Collection and 

Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790-10 et seq. ) for 

infiltration/inflow, and any other such information that 

the board may require.  

6. The major junctions in the collection system (e.g., at 

least at the 1 to 2 MGD collection points) shall have 

continuous recording flow measuring devices to help in the 

early identification of problem portions of a collection 

system in the event of unexplainable high flows (e.g., 

excessive infiltration). Also, such flow measuring devices 

and isolation valves shall be provided between 

jurisdictions as well as any others contracting for the 
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services of the regional plant. The flow measuring devices 

and isolation valves between jurisdictions shall be under 

the control and responsibility of the owner to whom a plant 

certificate is issued.  

7. Each sewage treatment plant shall have a pretreatment 

program approved by the board.  

8. Waste being processed in any existing small plants shall 

have the first priority on treatment capacity and such 

capacity shall be specifically reserved for them in the new 

high-performance regional plants. New developments are 

to have second priority.  

9. If any of the various administrative procedures of the 

owner of the regional treatment plant or of jurisdictions 

served by the plant prove ineffective under actual operating 

conditions, the board shall have the right to place new 

requirements on the owner and jurisdictions and to require 

any necessary action by these parties to physically correct 

the damage done to the reservoir due to ineffective 

implementation of the administrative requirements covered 

here.  

10. The owner's interceptor and collection systems of the 

jurisdictions in the Occoquan watershed shall be designed, 

installed, inspected, and tested by the respective owner to 

limit infiltration to 100 gal/inch-dia/mile/day as a 

maximum. The test results shall be certified and submitted 

to the board.  

11. Whenever the owner enters into an agreement with a 

jurisdiction for services of a regional plant, the owner shall 

be responsible for seeing that such jurisdictions have 

ordinances and rules to meet all the applicable 

requirements covered by this policy. These ordinances and 

rules shall meet the owner's approval and the owner shall 

monitor and spot-check to see that the jurisdictions are 

effectively implementing their ordinances and rules to 

meet the requirements covered here. The board, at its 

discretion, can request the owner to submit to the board for 

its approval the ordinances and rules that will be used to 

meet the board's requirements covered here.  

Further, any time a user violates any of the administrative or 

technical requirements of the contract between the user and 

the owner which can affect the plant operations, hydraulic 

loading, or effluent quality or which affect the reservoir's 

water quality due to urban run-off runoff (e.g., siltation), the 

owner shall not allow the user to discharge additional 

wastewater to the owner's plant until the problem has been 

resolved to the owner's satisfaction.  

12. Up-to-date "as-built" drawings and manuals shall be 

available at least once a year for board inspection and 

review. These documents shall include as a minimum:  

a. Up-to-date as-built electrical and fluid system 

diagrams;  

b. Detailed as-built and installed drawings; and  

c. Normal operating and casualty procedures manual. 

The documents shall be updated at least once a year to 

reflect all changes and modifications to the plant.  

13. The design engineer shall have the responsibility of 

meeting the proposed effluent quality as shown in Table I. 

To demonstrate that the plant as designed by the engineer 

can meet the effluent standards, the plant is to be operated 

under the supervision of the design engineer for a 

minimum of one year of continuous operation after the 

"debugging" period.  

G. Other point source discharges.  

1. Point sources other than regional plants will be 

permitted as regulated or required by the Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit regulation 

(9VAC25-30-10 et seq.) (9VAC25-31-10 et seq.). 

2. VPDES permits may be issued for single family homes 

with failing septic tanks, stormwater, pollution remediation 

projects, and minor industries. The permitting of major 

discharges (as defined in 40 CFR Part 122) other than 

regional sewage treatment plants is strictly prohibited with 

the exception of pollution remediation projects which that 

are shown to be feasible and no other alternatives are 

available.  

3. No permit as authorized in subdivisions 1 and 2 above of 

this subsection shall be issued or reissued unless the 

applicant demonstrates that it is not feasible to connect to a 

regional plant and that there is not a feasible alternative 

except to discharge.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6176; Filed July 9, 2020, 3:47 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 

25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if 

the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

in conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from 

the publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, 

forms a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-630. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement Regulation and General Permit for Poultry 

Waste Management (amending 9VAC25-630-10 through 

9VAC25-630-80; adding 9VAC25-630-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.17:1.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 14, 2020 - 7 p.m. - GoToWebinar - Register 

at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/ 

1998009848523103248. If a determination is made for an 

in person option, details will be announced on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) website. 

September 16, 2020 - 9 a.m. - GoToWebinar - Register 

at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/ 

673532644146132240. If a determination is made for an 

in person option, details will be announced on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and the DEQ website. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Betsy Bowles, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4059, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update, for the purpose of 

reissuing, the existing Virginia Pollution Abatement 

Regulation and General Permit for Poultry Waste 

Management (9VAC25-630) to continue the general permit 

coverage of nearly 1,000 confined poultry feeding 

operations. The Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) 

general permit governs the management of poultry feeding 

operations that confine 200 or more animal units (20,000 

chickens or 11,000 turkeys) and establishes the utilization, 

storage, tracking, and accounting requirements related to 

poultry waste. The VPA expires on November 30, 2020. 

9VAC25-630-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and the Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-32) unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise, except that for the purposes of this chapter:  

"Agricultural storm water discharge" means a precipitation-

related discharge of manure, litter, or process wastewater that 

has been applied on land areas under the control of an animal 

feeding operation or under the control of a poultry waste end-

user or poultry waste broker in accordance with a nutrient 

management plan approved by the Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and in accordance with site-

specific nutrient management practices that ensure 

appropriate agricultural utilization of the nutrients in the 

manure, litter, or process wastewater. 

"Animal feeding operation" means a lot or facility (other 

than an aquatic animal production facility) where both of the 

following conditions are met: 

1. Animals (other than aquatic animals) have been, are, or 

will be stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total 

of 45 days or more in any 12-month period; and 

2. Crops, vegetation, forage growth, or post-harvest 

residues are not sustained in the normal growing season 

over any portion of the operation of the lot or facility. 

Two or more animal feeding operations under common 

ownership are a single animal feeding operation for the 

purpose of determining the number of animals at an operation 

if they adjoin each other or if they use a common area or 

system for the disposal of wastes. 

"Commercial poultry processor" or "processor" means any 

animal food manufacturer, as defined in § 3.2-5400 of the 

Code of Virginia, that contracts with poultry growers for the 

raising of poultry. 

"Confined animal feeding operation," for the purposes of 

this regulation, has the same meaning as an "animal feeding 

operation." 

"Confined poultry feeding operation" means any confined 

animal feeding operation with 200 or more animal units of 

poultry. This equates to 20,000 chickens or 11,000 turkeys, 

regardless of animal age or sex. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality or his the director's designee.  

"Fact sheet" means the document prepared by the 

department that summarizes the requirements set forth in this 

chapter regarding utilization, storage, and management of 

poultry waste by poultry waste end-users and poultry waste 

brokers.  

"General permit" means 9VAC25-630-50.  

"Nutrient management plan" or "NMP" means a plan 

developed or approved by the Department of Conservation 

and Recreation that requires proper storage, treatment, and 

management of poultry waste, including dry litter, and limits 

accumulation of excess nutrients in soils and leaching or 

discharge of nutrients into state waters; except that for a 

poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who is not 

subject to the general permit, the requirements of 9VAC25-

630-80 constitute the NMP. 

"Organic source" means any nutrient source including, but 

not limited to, manures, biosolids, compost, and waste or 

sludges from animals, humans, or industrial processes, but for 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1998009848523103248
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1998009848523103248
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/673532644146132240
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/673532644146132240
mailto:betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov
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the purposes of this regulation it excludes waste from 

wildlife.  

"Permittee" means the poultry grower, poultry waste end-

user, or poultry waste broker whose poultry waste 

management activities are covered under the general permit.  

"Poultry grower" or "grower" means any person who owns 

or operates a confined poultry feeding operation.  

"Poultry waste" means dry poultry litter and composted dead 

poultry.  

"Poultry waste broker" or "broker" means a person who 

possesses or controls poultry waste that is not generated on an 

animal feeding operation under his operational control and 

who transfers or hauls poultry waste to other persons. If the 

entity is defined as a broker they cannot be defined as a 

hauler for the purposes of this regulation.  

"Poultry waste end-user" or "end-user" means any recipient 

of transferred poultry waste who stores or who utilizes the 

waste as fertilizer, fuel, feedstock, livestock feed, or other 

beneficial end use for an operation under his control. 

"Poultry waste hauler" or "hauler" means a person who 

provides transportation of transferred poultry waste from one 

entity to another, and is not otherwise involved in the transfer 

or transaction of the waste, nor responsible for determining 

the recipient of the waste. The responsibility of the 

recordkeeping and reporting remains with the entities to 

which the service was provided: grower, broker, and end-

user. 

"Seasonal high water table" means that portion of the soil 

profile where a color change has occurred in the soil as a 

result of saturated soil conditions or where soil concretions 

have formed. Typical colors are gray mottlings, solid gray, or 

black. The depth in the soil at which these conditions first 

occur is termed the seasonal high water table. 

"Standard rate" means a land application rate for poultry 

waste approved by the board as specified in this regulation.  

"Vegetated buffer" means a permanent strip of dense 

perennial vegetation established parallel to the contours of 

and perpendicular to the dominant slope of the field for the 

purposes of slowing water runoff, enhancing water 

infiltration, and minimizing the risk of any potential nutrients 

or pollutants from leaving the field and reaching surface 

waters. 

9VAC25-630-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit.  

A. This regulation governs the management of poultry waste 

at confined poultry feeding operations not covered by a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit and poultry waste utilized or stored by poultry waste 

end-users or poultry waste brokers. It establishes 

requirements for proper nutrient management, waste storage, 

and waste tracking and accounting of poultry waste.  

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, or his the director's designee, may perform any act of 

the board provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 

62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. This general permit will become effective on December 

1, 2010 2020. This general permit will expire 10 years from 

the effective date. 

9VAC25-630-25. Duty to comply. 

A. Any person who manages or proposes to manage 

pollutants regulated by 9VAC25-630 shall comply with the 

applicable requirements of this chapter.  

B. In order to manage pollutants from a confined poultry 

feeding operation, the poultry grower shall be required to 

obtain coverage under the Virginia Pollution Abatement 

(VPA) general permit or an individual VPA permit provided 

that the poultry grower has not been required to obtain a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit. The poultry grower shall comply with the 

requirements of this chapter and the permit.  

C. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker shall 

comply with the technical requirements outlined in 9VAC25-

630-60, 9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80. Any poultry 

waste end-user or poultry waste broker who does not comply 

with the technical requirements outlined in 9VAC25-630-60, 

9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80 may be required to 

obtain coverage under the general permit.  

D. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who 

is required by the board to obtain coverage under the Virginia 

Pollution Abatement general permit shall obtain coverage and 

comply with the requirements of this chapter. 

E. Any commercial poultry processor shall comply with the 

requirements outlined in 9VAC25-630-90. 

9VAC25-630-30. Authorization to manage pollutants. 

A. Poultry grower. Any poultry grower governed by this 

general permit is hereby authorized to manage pollutants at 

confined poultry feeding operations provided that the poultry 

grower files the registration statement of 9VAC25-630-40, 

complies with the requirements of 9VAC25-630-50, and:  

1. The poultry grower has not been required to obtain a 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit or an individual permit according to 9VAC25-32-

260 B;  

2. The activities of the confined poultry feeding operation 

shall not contravene the Water Quality Standards 

(9VAC25-260), as amended and adopted and amended by 

the board, or any provision of the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). There shall be 
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no point source discharge of wastewater to surface waters 

of the state except in the case of a storm event greater than 

the 25-year, 24-hour storm. Agricultural storm water 

discharges are permitted. Domestic sewage or industrial 

waste shall not be managed under this general permit;  

3. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal 

pits for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be 

covered under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit 

by a permittee for routine disposal of daily poultry 

mortalities shall be a violation of this permit. This 

prohibition shall not apply to the emergency disposal of 

dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 

pursuant to § 3.2-6002 or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) 

of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. The poultry grower shall obtain Department of 

Conservation and Recreation approval of a nutrient 

management plan for the confined poultry feeding 

operation prior to the submittal of the registration 

statement. The poultry grower shall attach to the 

registration statement a copy of the approved nutrient 

management plan and a copy of the letter from the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation certifying 

approval of the nutrient management plan that was 

developed by a certified nutrient management planner in 

accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The 

poultry grower shall implement the approved nutrient 

management plan;  

5. Adjoining property notification.  

a. Prior to filing a general permit registration statement 

for a confined poultry feeding operation that proposes 

construction of poultry growing houses after December 

1, 2000, the poultry grower shall give notice to all 

owners or residents of property that adjoins the property 

on which the proposed confined poultry feeding 

operation will be located. Such notice shall include (i) the 

types and maximum number of poultry which that will be 

maintained at the facility and (ii) the address and phone 

number of the appropriate department regional office to 

which comments relevant to the permit may be 

submitted.  

b. Any person may submit written comments on the 

proposed operation to the department within 30 days of 

the date of the filing of the registration statement. If, on 

the basis of such written comments or his review, the 

director determines that the proposed operation will not 

be capable of complying with the provisions of the 

general permit, the director shall require the owner to 

obtain an individual permit for the operation. Any such 

determination by the director shall be made in writing 

and received by the poultry grower not more than 45 

days after the filing of the registration statement or, if in 

the director's sole discretion additional time is necessary 

to evaluate comments received from the public, not more 

than 60 days after the filing of the registration statement; 

and  

6. Each poultry grower covered by this general permit shall 

complete a training program offered or approved by the 

department within one year of filing the registration 

statement for general permit coverage. All permitted 

poultry growers shall complete a training program at least 

once every five years.  

B. Poultry waste end-user, poultry waste broker. Any 

poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker shall comply 

with the requirements outlined in 9VAC25-630-60, 9VAC25-

630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80 or the general permit as 

applicable.  

1. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who 

does not comply with the requirements of 9VAC25-630-

60, 9VAC25-630-70, and 9VAC25-630-80 may be 

required to obtain coverage under the general permit.  

2. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

governed by this general permit is hereby authorized to 

manage pollutants relating to the utilization and storage of 

poultry waste provided that the poultry waste end-user or 

poultry waste broker files the registration statement of 

9VAC25-630-40, complies with the requirements of 

9VAC25-630-50, and:  

a. The poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker has 

not been required to obtain a Virginia Pollution 

Abatement individual permit according to subdivision 2 

b of 9VAC25-32-260;  

b. The activities of the poultry waste end-user or poultry 

waste broker shall not contravene the Water Quality 

Standards (9VAC25-260), as amended and adopted and 

amended by the board, or any provision of the State 

Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). There shall be no point source discharge of 

wastewater to surface waters of the state except in the 

case of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour 

storm. Agricultural storm water discharges are permitted. 

Domestic sewage or industrial waste shall not be 

managed under this general permit;  

c. The poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

shall obtain Department of Conservation and Recreation 

approval of a nutrient management plan for land 

application sites where poultry waste will be utilized or 

stored and managed prior to the submittal of the 

registration statement. The poultry waste end-user or the 

poultry waste broker shall attach to the registration 

statement a copy of the approved nutrient management 

plan and a copy of the letter from the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation certifying approval of the 

nutrient management plan that was developed by a 

certified nutrient management planner in accordance with 

§ 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia. The poultry waste 
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end-user or the poultry waste broker shall implement the 

approved nutrient management plan; and  

d. Each poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

covered by this general permit shall complete a training 

program offered or approved by the department within 

one year of filing the registration statement for general 

permit coverage. All permitted poultry waste end-users 

or permitted poultry waste brokers shall complete a 

training program at least once every five years.  

C. Receipt of this general permit does not relieve any 

poultry grower, poultry waste end-user, or poultry waste 

broker of the responsibility to comply with any other 

applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation.  

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. Any owner that was authorized to manage pollutants 

under the general permit issued in 2000, and that submits a 

complete registration statement on or before November 30, 

2010 the expiration date, is authorized to continue to 

manage pollutants under the terms of the 2000 general 

permit until such time as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or  

b. Notifies the owner that coverage under this permit is 

denied.  

2. When the permittee that was covered under the expiring 

or expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the existing or 

expired general permit;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

amended reissued general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the activities authorized by the continued existing 

or expired general permit or be subject to enforcement 

action for operating without a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or  

d. Take other actions set forth in the VPA Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-32).  

9VAC25-630-40. Registration statement. 

A. Poultry growers. In order to be covered under the general 

permit, the poultry grower shall file a complete VPA General 

Permit Registration Statement. The registration statement 

shall contain the following information:  

1. The poultry grower's name, mailing address, email 

address (if available), and telephone number;  

2. The farm name (if applicable) and location of the 

confined poultry feeding operation;  

3. The name, email address (if available), and telephone 

number of a contact person or operator other than the 

poultry grower, if necessary;  

4 The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 

poultry grower or contact person;  

5. If the facility has an existing VPA permit, the permit 

number;  

6. Indicate whether the poultry are grown under contract 

with a commercial poultry processor or poultry integrator 

and give the name of the processor or integrator (if 

applicable);  

7. The types of poultry and the maximum numbers of each 

type to be grown at the facility at any one time;  

8. Identification of the method of dead bird disposal;  

9. An indication of whether new poultry growing houses 

are under construction or planned for construction;  

10. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation; 

11. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter that 

also certifies that the plan was developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and  

12. The following certification: "I certify that for any 

confined poultry feeding operation that proposes 

construction of new poultry growing houses, notice of the 

registration statement has been given to all owners or 

residents of property that adjoins the property on which the 

confined poultry feeding operation will be located. This 

notice included the types and numbers of poultry which 

will be grown at the facility and the address and phone 

number of the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office to which comments relevant to the 

permit may be submitted. I certify under penalty of law 

that all the requirements of the board for the general permit 

are being met and that this document and all attachments 

were prepared under my direction or supervision in 

accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons 

who manage the system or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are 

significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  
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B. Poultry waste end-users or poultry waste brokers. In 

order to be covered under the general permit, the poultry 

waste end-user or poultry waste broker shall file a complete 

VPA General Permit Registration Statement. The registration 

statement shall contain the following information:  

1. The poultry waste end-user's or poultry waste broker's 

name, mailing address, email address (if available), and 

telephone number;  

2. The location of the operation where the poultry waste 

will be utilized, stored, or managed;  

3. The best time of day and day of the week to contact the 

poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker;  

4. If the facility has an existing VPA permit, the permit 

number; 

5. If confined poultry are located at the facility, indicate the 

number of confined poultry and give the name of the 

processor or integrator (if applicable); 

6. A copy of the nutrient management plan approved by 

the Department of Conservation and Recreation; 

7. A copy of the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation nutrient management plan approval letter that 

also certifies that the plan was developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia; and 

8. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all the requirements of the board for the general 

permit are being met and that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and 

belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations." 

C. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 

with 9VAC25-32-50. 

9VAC25-630-50. Contents of the general permit. 

Any poultry grower, poultry waste end-user, or poultry 

waste broker whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive the following general permit and shall 

comply with the requirements therein and be subject to the 

VPA Permit Regulation, 9VAC25-32.  

General Permit No. VPG2  

Effective Date: December 1, 2010 2020 

Expiration Date: November 30, 2020 2030 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR POULTRY WASTE 

MANAGEMENT  

AUTHORIZATION TO MANAGE POLLUTANTS UNDER 

THE VIRGINIA POLLUTION ABATEMENT PROGRAM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the State Water 

Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and 

State Water Control Board regulations adopted pursuant 

thereto, owners of confined poultry feeding operations having 

200 or more animal units, poultry waste end-users, and 

poultry waste brokers are authorized to manage pollutants 

within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

except where board regulations prohibit such activities.  

The authorized pollutant management activities shall be in 

accordance with the registration statement and supporting 

documents submitted to the Department of Environmental 

Quality, this cover page, and Part I—Pollutant Management 

and Monitoring Requirements for Confined Poultry Feeding 

Operations and Part II—Conditions Applicable to All VPA 

Permits and Part III—Pollutant Management and Monitoring 

Requirements for Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry 

Waste Brokers, as set forth herein.  

Part I  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for Confined Poultry Feeding Operations 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to manage pollutants at the location or locations identified in the registration 

statement and the facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

2. If poultry waste is land applied, it shall be applied at the rates specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan. 

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as specified below in the following table. Additional soils monitoring 

may be required in the facility's approved nutrient management plan.  
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SOILS MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite * 

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units 

*Specific sampling requirements are found in the facility's approved nutrient management plan.  

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified below. Additional waste monitoring may be required in the facility's 

approved nutrient management plan.  

WASTE MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

6. All monitoring data required by Part I A shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 

of results to the department is not required; however, the 

monitoring results shall be made available to department 

personnel upon request.  

B. Other Site design, storage, and operation requirements or 

special conditions.  

1. The confined poultry feeding operation shall be 

designed and operated to (i) prevent point source 

discharges of pollutants to state waters except in the case 

of a storm event greater than the 25-year, 24-hour storm 

and (ii) provide adequate waste storage capacity to 

accommodate periods when the ground is ice covered, 

snow covered or saturated, periods when land application 

of nutrients should not occur due to limited or nonexistent 

crop nutrient uptake, and periods when physical limitations 

prohibit the land application of waste.  

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the nutrient 

management plan and in a manner that prevents contact 

with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste that is 

stockpiled outside of the growing house for more than 14 

days shall be kept in a facility or at a site that provides 

adequate storage. Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, 

include the following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

poultry waste;  

c. A minimum of two feet of separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 

storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 

maintain a minimum of one foot of separation between 
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the seasonal high water table and the impermeable 

barrier. "Seasonal high water table" means that portion of 

the soil profile where a color change has occurred in the 

soil as a result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 

concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 

mottlings, solid gray or black. The depth in the soil at 

which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 

high water table. Impermeable barriers must be 

constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 

least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 

material of similar structural integrity that has a 

minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 

(1X10-6 centimeters per second); and  

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least: 

(1) 100 feet from any surface water, intermittent 

drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs; 

and  

(2) 200 feet from any occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property, unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the storage site.  

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 

floodplain unless the poultry grower has no land outside 

the floodplain on which to construct the facility and the 

facility is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored 

above the 100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected 

from floodwaters through the construction of berms or 

similar best management flood control structures. New, 

expanded, or replacement poultry growing houses that are 

constructed after December 1, 2000, shall not be located 

within a 100-year floodplain unless they are part of an 

existing, ongoing confined poultry feeding operation and 

are constructed so that the poultry and poultry litter are 

housed above the 100-year flood elevation or otherwise 

protected from floodwaters through construction of berms 

or similar best management flood control structures. For 

the purposes of determining the 100-year floodplain, a 

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Flood 

Insurance Rate Map (FIRM), a FEMA Letter of Map 

Amendment (LOMA), or a FEMA Letter of Map Revision 

(LOMR) shall be used. 

4. Poultry waste may be transferred from a permitted 

poultry grower to another person without identifying the 

fields where such waste will be utilized in the permitted 

poultry grower's approved nutrient management plan if the 

following conditions are met:  

a. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, the poultry grower shall provide that person with:  

(1) Grower name, address, and permit number;  

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis of the 

poultry waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet. 

b. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, the poultry grower shall keep a record of the 

following:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(5) The signed waste transfer records form 

acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(c) A fact sheet.  

c. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, and the recipient of the waste is someone other 

than a broker, the poultry grower shall keep a record of 

the following:  

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the waste (i.e., nearest town or city and zip code); and  

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site.  

d. Poultry growers shall maintain the records required by 

Part I B 4 a, b, and c for at least three years after the 

transaction and shall make them available to department 

personnel upon request.  

e. Poultry waste generated by this facility shall not be 

applied to fields owned by or under the operational 

control of either the poultry grower or a legal entity in 

which the poultry grower has an ownership interest 

unless the fields are included in the facility's approved 

nutrient management plan.  

The permittee shall operate and manage the facility so that 

impervious surfaces such as concrete end pads or load-out 

pads and surrounding areas and ventilation outlets are kept 

clean of poultry waste.  

5. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal 

pits for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be 

covered under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit 

for routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a 

permittee shall be a violation of this permit. This 

prohibition does not apply to the emergency disposal of 

dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 
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pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia or Chapter 

14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. When the poultry waste storage facility is no 

longer needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that 

(i) minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 

surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 

storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 

permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 

residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 

below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 

storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 

according to the NMP. 

C. Poultry waste transfer and utilization requirements. 

1. Poultry waste may be transferred from a permitted 

poultry grower to another person without identifying the 

fields where such waste will be utilized in the permitted 

poultry grower's approved nutrient management plan if the 

following conditions are met: 

a. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, the poultry grower shall provide that person with:  

(1) Grower name, address, and permit number;  

(2) A copy of the most recent nutrient analysis of the 

poultry waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet. 

b. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, the poultry grower shall keep a record of the 

following:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(5) The signed waste transfer records form 

acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(c) A fact sheet.  

c. When a poultry grower transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day 

period, and the recipient of the waste is someone other 

than a broker, the poultry grower shall keep a record of 

the following:  

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip 

code); and  

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site.  

2. Poultry growers shall maintain the records required by 

Part I C 1 for at least three years after the transaction and 

shall make them available to department personnel upon 

request.  

3. Transfer records reporting requirements. The grower 

shall submit the records required by Part I C 1 in 

accordance with the timing outlined in Part I C 3 a and b. 

a. Beginning (insert the date one year after the effective 

date of this permit), upon request by the department, the 

grower shall submit the records in a format and method 

determined by the department. 

b. Beginning (insert the date two years after the effective 

date of this permit), the grower shall submit to the 

department, annually, the records for the preceding state 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) no later than 

September 15. 

4. Poultry waste generated by this facility shall not be 

applied to fields owned by or under the operational control 

of either the poultry grower or a legal entity in which the 

poultry grower has an ownership interest unless the fields 

are included in the facility's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

6. 5. The poultry grower shall implement a nutrient 

management plan (NMP) developed by a certified nutrient 

management planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. 

The terms of the NMP shall be enforceable through this 

permit. The NMP shall contain at a minimum the following 

information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste generated by this 

facility will be applied by the poultry grower. The 

location of fields as identified in Part I B 4 e Part I C 4 

shall also be included;  

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 

waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements for the grower's 

poultry waste management activities;  
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e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules.  

7. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 

needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that: (i) 

minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 

surface water or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 

storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 

permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 

residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 

below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 

storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 

according to the NMP.  

8. 6. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP shall 

be established in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 

4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The application of poultry waste 

shall be managed to minimize runoff, leachate, and 

volatilization losses, and reduce adverse water quality 

impacts from nitrogen.  

9. 7. Phosphorus application rates contained in the NMP 

shall be established in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 

4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The application of poultry waste 

shall be managed to minimize runoff and leaching and 

reduce adverse water quality impacts from phosphorous.  

10. 8. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall 

be according to the schedule contained in the NMP, except 

that no waste may be applied to ice covered or snow 

covered ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste 

may be applied to frozen ground within the NMP 

scheduled times only under the following conditions:  

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 

residue buffer is maintained between the application area 

and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 

drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 

residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 

the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

9. In cases where poultry waste storage is threatened by 

emergencies such as fire or flood or where these conditions 

are imminent, poultry waste can be land applied outside of 

the spreading schedule outlined in the grower's NMP. If 

this occurs, the poultry grower shall document the land 

application information in accordance with Part I C 11 and 

notify the department in accordance with Part II H. 

11. 10. Poultry waste shall not be land applied within 

buffer zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, 

at a minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the 

dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet;  

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists).  

Other site-specific conservation practices may be 

approved by the department that will provide pollutant 

reductions equivalent or better than the reductions that 

would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer;  

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

12. 11. The following records shall be maintained:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

three years after recorded application is made and shall be 

made available to department personnel upon request.  

D. Other special conditions. 

13. 1. Each poultry grower covered by this general permit 

shall complete a training program offered or approved by 

the department within one year of filing the registration 

statement for general permit coverage. All permitted 

poultry growers shall complete a training program at least 

once every five years.  

2. Confined poultry feeding operations that use disposal 

pits for routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be 

covered under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit 

for routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a 

permittee shall be a violation of this permit. This 

prohibition does not apply to the emergency disposal of 

dead poultry done according to regulations adopted 

pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia or Chapter 

14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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Part II  

Conditions Applicable to all VPA Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

listed under 40 CFR Part 136 unless other procedures have 

been otherwise specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements;  

b. The name of the individual(s) individuals who 

performed the sampling or measurements;  

c. The date(s) dates analyses were performed;  

d. The name of the individual(s) individuals who 

performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used, with 

supporting information such as observations, readings, 

calculations and bench data; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for 

continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the application for this permit for a period of at 

least three years from the date of the sample, measurement, 

report or application. This period of retention may be 

extended by request of the board at any time.  

C. Reporting monitoring results. If reporting is required by 

Part I or Part III of this general permit, the permittee shall 

follow the requirements of this subsection.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after the monitoring takes place, unless another 

reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 

regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on forms provided 

or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 

any pollutant more frequently than required by the permit 

using approved analytical methods, the permittee shall 

report the results of this monitoring on the monitoring 

report.  

4. If the permittee monitors the pollutant management 

activity, at a sampling location specified in this permit, for 

any pollutant that is not required to be monitored by the 

permit, and uses approved analytical methods, the 

permittee shall report the results with the monitoring 

report.  

5. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which the director may request to determine whether cause 

exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

this permit, or to determine compliance with this permit. The 

permittee shall also furnish to the department, upon request, 

copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. Plans, 

specifications, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as requested by the director 

prior to commencing construction.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 

to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 

use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 

or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows (i) a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

(ii) a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter state 

waters in violation of Part II F shall notify the department of 

the discharge immediately upon discovery of the discharge, 

but in no case later than 24 hours after said discovery. A 

written report of the unauthorized discharge shall be 

submitted to the department within five days of discovery of 

the discharge. The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  
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2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 

immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 

exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 

upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 

department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 

This notification shall provide all available details of the 

incident, including any adverse affects effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

reduce the report to writing and shall submit it to the 

department within five days of discovery of the discharge in 

accordance with Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary 

discharges include but are not limited to any discharge 

resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 

treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 

may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this paragraph:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and, if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2 in 

writing at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 

in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 

Parts Part II F, G, and H may be made to the department's 

regional office. For reports outside normal working hours, 

leave a message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 

requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Services Management maintains a 24-hour 

telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 

soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 

additions to the design or operation of the pollutant 

management activity.  

2. The permittee shall give at least 10 days advance notice 

to the department of any planned changes in the permitted 

facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with 

permit requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Applications. All permit applications shall be signed as 

follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 

vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy- policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or 

more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance 

with corporate procedures;  
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b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 

chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 

executive officer having responsibility for the overall 

operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, or a position of equivalent responsibility. 

A duly authorized representative may thus be either a 

named individual or any individual occupying a named 

position; and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 

the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 

of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 

or together with any reports, or information to be signed by 

an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: "I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person 

or persons who manage the system, or those persons 

directly responsible for gathering the information, the 

information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and 

belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there 

are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for 

knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this general permit and 9VAC25-630. Any 

noncompliance with the general permit or 9VAC25-630 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 

denial of a permit renewal application. Compliance with a 

permit during its term constitutes compliance, for purposes of 

enforcement, with the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new 

permit. All permittees with a currently effective permit shall 

submit a new application at least 30 days before the 

expiration date of the existing permit unless permission for a 

later date has been granted by the board. The board shall not 

grant permission for applications to be submitted later than 

the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 

private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 

infringement of federal, state, or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 

the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean Water 

Act. Except as provided in permit conditions on bypassing 

(Part II U), and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall 

be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia).  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall be 

responsible for the proper operation and maintenance of all 

treatment works, systems and controls which are installed or 

used to achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

Proper operation and maintenance includes effective plant 

performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 

adequate laboratory and process controls, including 

appropriate quality assurance procedures.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any pollutant management 

activity in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
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likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 

be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 

would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 

of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. Prohibition. "Bypass" means intentional diversion of 

waste streams from any portion of a treatment works. A 

bypass of the treatment works is prohibited except as 

provided herein.  

2. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance of 

the need for a bypass, he shall notify the department 

promptly at least 10 days prior to the bypass. After 

considering its adverse effects, the board may approve an 

anticipated bypass if:  

a. The bypass will be unavoidable to prevent loss of 

human life, personal injury, or severe property damage. 

"Severe property damage" means substantial physical 

damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities 

which that causes them to become inoperable, or 

substantial and permanent loss of natural resources which 

can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 

bypass. "Severe property damage" does not mean 

economic loss caused by delays in production; and  

b. There are no feasible alternatives to bypass such as the 

use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated 

waste, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. However, if bypass occurs during 

normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance and in the exercise of reasonable 

engineering judgment the permittee could have installed 

adequate backup equipment to prevent such bypass, this 

exclusion shall not apply as a defense.  

3. Unplanned bypass. If an unplanned bypass occurs, the 

permittee shall notify the department as soon as possible, 

but in no case later than 24 hours, and shall take steps to 

halt the bypass as early as possible. This notification will 

be a condition for defense to an enforcement action that an 

unplanned bypass met the conditions in paragraphs Part II 

U 2 a and b and in light of the information reasonably 

available to the permittee at the time of the bypass.  

V. Upset. A permittee may claim an upset as an affirmative 

defense to an action brought for noncompliance. In any 

enforcement proceedings a permittee shall have the burden of 

proof to establish the occurrence of any upset. In order to 

establish an affirmative defense of upset, the permittee shall 

present properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or 

other relevant evidence that shows:  

1. That an upset occurred and that the cause can be 

identified;  

2. That the permitted facility was at the time being 

operated efficiently and in compliance with proper 

operation and maintenance procedures;  

3. That the 24-hour reporting requirements to the 

department were met; and  

4. That the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize 

or correct any adverse impact on state waters resulting 

from noncompliance with the permit.  

W. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credentials, 

any duly authorized agent of the board may, at reasonable 

times and under reasonable circumstances:  

1. Enter upon any permittee's public or private property, 

public or private on which the pollutant management 

activities that are governed by this permit are located and 

have access to records required by this permit;  

2. Have access to, inspect and copy any records that must 

be kept as part of permit conditions;  

3. Inspect any facility's equipment (including monitoring 

and control equipment) practices or operations regulated or 

required under the permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any 

locations for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or 

as otherwise authorized by the State Water Control Law 

(§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is involved in managing pollutants. 

Nothing contained herein shall make an inspection 

unreasonable during an emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause upon the request of the 

permittee or interested persons, or upon the board's initiative. 

If a permittee files a request for a permit modification, 

revocation, or termination, or files a notification of planned 

changes, or anticipated noncompliance, the permit terms and 

conditions shall remain effective until the request is acted 

upon by the board. This provision shall not be used to extend 

the expiration date of the effective VPA permit.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 

notice to the department. The board may require 

modification or revocation and reissuance of the permit to 

change the name of the permittee and to incorporate such 

other requirements as may be necessary. Except as 

provided in Part II Y 2, a permit may be transferred by the 

permittee to a new owner or operator only if the permit has 
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been modified to reflect the transfer or has been revoked 

and reissued to the new owner or operator.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 

permit shall be automatically transferred to a new 

permittee if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property; 

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and  

c. The board does not, within the 30-day time period, 

notify the existing permittee and the proposed new 

permittee of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue the 

permit. If the board notice is not received, the transfer is 

effective on the date specified in the agreement 

mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable 

and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances and 

the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

Part III  

Pollutant Management and Monitoring Requirements for Poultry Waste End-Users and Poultry Brokers 

A. Pollutant management authorization and monitoring requirements.  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 

expiration date, the permittee is authorized to manage pollutants at the location or locations identified in the registration 

statement and the permittee's approved nutrient management plan.  

2. If poultry waste is land applied on land under the permittee's operational control, it shall be applied at the rates specified in 

the permittee's approved nutrient management plan.  

3. Soil at the land application sites shall be monitored as specified below in the following table. Additional soils monitoring 

may be required in the permittee's approved nutrient management plan.  

SOILS MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

pH NL SU 1/3 years Composite *  

Phosphorus NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Potash NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Calcium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

Magnesium NL ppm or lbs/ac 1/3 years Composite * 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

SU = Standard Units  

*Specific sampling requirements are outlined in the permittee's approved nutrient management plan.  

4. Poultry waste shall be monitored as specified below in the following table. Additional waste monitoring may be required 

in the permittee's approved nutrient management plan. 

WASTE MONITORING  

PARAMETERS LIMITATIONS UNITS 
MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Frequency Sample Type 

Total Kjeldahl Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Ammonia Nitrogen NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Phosphorus NL * 1/3 years Composite 

Total Potassium NL * 1/3 years Composite 
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Moisture Content NL % 1/3 years Composite 

NL = No limit, this is a monitoring requirement only. 

*Parameters for waste may be reported as a percent, as lbs/ton or lbs/1000 gallons, or as ppm where appropriate. 

5. If waste from two or more poultry waste sources is 

commingled or stored then a sample that best represents 

the waste shall be used to calculate the nutrients available 

in the poultry waste for land application and shall be 

provided to the end-user of the waste.  

6. Analysis of soil and waste shall be according to methods 

specified in the permittee's approved nutrient management 

plan.  

7. All monitoring data required by Part III A shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Reporting 

of results to the department is not required; however, the 

monitoring results shall be made available to department 

personnel upon request.  

B. Other Site design, storage, and operation requirements or 

special conditions.  

1. Poultry waste storage facilities shall be designed and 

operated to (i) prevent point source discharges of pollutants 

to state waters except in the case of a storm event greater 

than the 25-year, 24-hour storm and (ii) provide adequate 

waste storage capacity to accommodate periods when the 

ground is ice covered, snow covered or saturated, periods 

when land application of nutrients should not occur due to 

limited or nonexistent crop nutrient uptake, and periods 

when physical limitations prohibit the land application of 

waste.  

2. Poultry waste shall be stored according to the approved 

nutrient management plan and in a manner that prevents 

contact with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste 

that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be 

kept in a facility or at a site that provides adequate storage. 

Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 

following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

poultry waste;  

c. A minimum of two feet of separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 

storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 

maintain a minimum of one foot of separation between 

the seasonal high water table and the impermeable 

barrier. "Seasonal high water table" means that portion of 

the soil profile where a color change has occurred in the 

soil as a result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 

concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 

mottlings, solid gray, or black. The depth in the soil at 

which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 

high water table. Impermeable barriers must be 

constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 

least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 

material of similar structural integrity that has a 

minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 

(1X10-6 centimeters per second); and  

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least:  

(1) 100 feet from any surface water, intermittent 

drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs; 

and 

(2) 200 feet from any occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property (unless the occupant of the dwelling 

signs a waiver of the storage site).  

3. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 

floodplain unless there is no land available outside the 

floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 

is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 

100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 

floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 

best management flood control structures. For the purposes 

of determining the 100-year floodplain, a Federal 

Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Flood Insurance 

Rate Map (FIRM), a FEMA Letter of Map Amendment 

(LOMA), or a FEMA Letter of Map Revision (LOMR) 

shall be used. 

4. The permittee shall operate and manage the facility so 

that impervious surfaces such as concrete end pads or load-

out pads and surrounding areas and ventilation outlets are 

kept clean of poultry waste.  

5. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 

needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that (i) 

minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 

surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 

storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 

permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 

residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 

below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 

storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 

according to the NMP.  
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C. Poultry waste transfer and utilization requirements.  

4. 1. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste 

broker receives, possesses, or has control over more than 

10 tons of transferred poultry waste in any 365-day period, 

he shall provide the person from whom he received the 

poultry waste with:  

a. The end-user or broker name, address, and permit 

number;  

b. If the recipient of the poultry waste is an end-user, 

then he shall also provide the person from whom he 

received the poultry waste the following information:  

(1) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county and zip code);  

(2) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and  

c. Written acknowledgement of receipt of:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) The fact sheet.  

If the person receiving the waste is a poultry waste broker, 

then he shall also certify in writing that he will provide a 

copy of the nutrient analysis and fact sheet to each end user 

to whom he transfers poultry waste.  

5. 2. When a poultry waste broker transfers or hauls 

poultry waste to other persons, he shall provide the person 

who received the poultry waste with:  

a. Broker name, address, and permit number;  

b. The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

c. A fact sheet.  

6. 3. When a poultry waste end-user or poultry waste 

broker is a recipient of more than 10 tons of transferred 

poultry waste in any 365-day period, the poultry waste 

end-user or poultry waste broker shall keep a record 

regarding the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

source of the transferred poultry waste:  

(1) The source name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received from the 

source; and  

(3) The date the poultry waste was acquired.  

b. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

recipient of the transferred poultry waste:  

(1) The recipient name and address;  

(2) The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

(3) The date of the transaction;  

(4) The nutrient content of the waste;  

(5) The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize 

the waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip 

code);  

(6) The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and  

(7) The signed waste transfer records form 

acknowledging the receipt of the following:  

(a) The waste;  

(b) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(c) A fact sheet.  

7. 4. End-users or brokers shall maintain the records 

required by Part III B 6 Part III C 3 for at least three years 

after the transaction and make them available to 

department personnel upon request.  

5. Transfer records reporting requirements. The end-users 

and brokers shall submit the records required by Part III C 

3 in accordance with the timing outlined in Part III C 5 a 

and 5 b. 

a. Beginning (insert the date one year after the effective 

date of this permit), upon request by the department, the 

end-users and brokers shall submit the records in a 

format and method determined by the department. 

b. Beginning (insert the date two years after the effective 

date of this permit), the end-users and brokers shall 

submit to the department, annually, the records for the 

preceding state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) no 

later than September 15. 

8. 6. If poultry waste is also generated by this facility it 

shall not be applied to fields owned by or under the 

operational control of either the permittee or a legal entity 

in which the permittee has an ownership interest unless the 

fields are included in the permittee's approved nutrient 

management plan.  

9. Poultry feeding operations that use disposal pits for 

routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be covered 

under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit for 

routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a permittee 

shall be a violation of this permit. This prohibition does not 

apply to the emergency disposal of dead poultry done 

according to regulations adopted pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

10. 7. The permittee shall implement a nutrient 

management plan (NMP) developed by a certified nutrient 
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management planner in accordance with § 10.1-104.2 of 

the Code of Virginia and approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation and maintain the plan on site. 

The terms of the NMP shall be enforceable through this 

permit. The NMP shall contain at a minimum the following 

information:  

a. Site map indicating the location of the waste storage 

facilities and the fields where waste will be applied by 

the permittee. The location of fields as identified in Part 

III B 8 Part III C 6 shall also be included;  

b. Site evaluation and assessment of soil types and 

potential productivities;  

c. Nutrient management sampling including soil and 

waste monitoring;  

d. Storage and land area requirements for the permittee's 

poultry waste management activities;  

e. Calculation of waste application rates; and  

f. Waste application schedules.  

11. When the poultry waste storage facility is no longer 

needed, the permittee shall close it in a manner that: (i) 

minimizes the need for further maintenance and (ii) 

controls, minimizes, or eliminates, to the extent necessary 

to protect human health and the environment, the 

postclosure escape of uncontrolled leachate, surface runoff, 

or waste decomposition products to the ground water, 

surface water, or the atmosphere. At closure, the permittee 

shall remove all poultry waste residue from the waste 

storage facility. At waste storage facilities without 

permanent covers and impermeable ground barriers, all 

residual poultry waste shall be removed from the surface 

below the stockpile when the poultry waste is taken out of 

storage. Removed waste materials shall be utilized 

according to the NMP.  

12. 8. Nitrogen application rates contained in the NMP 

shall be established in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 

4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The application of poultry waste 

shall be managed to minimize runoff, leachate, and 

volatilization losses, and reduce adverse water quality 

impacts from nitrogen.  

13. 9. Phosphorus application rates contained in the NMP 

shall be established in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 A 2 

4VAC50-85-140 A 2. The application of poultry waste 

shall be managed to minimize runoff and leaching and 

reduce adverse water quality impacts from phosphorous.  

14. 10. The timing of land application of poultry waste 

shall be according to the schedule contained in the NMP, 

except that no waste may be applied to ice covered or snow 

covered ground or to soils that are saturated. Poultry waste 

may be applied to frozen ground within the NMP 

scheduled times only under the following conditions:  

a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 

residue buffer is maintained between the application area 

and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 

drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 

residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 

the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

11. In cases where poultry waste storage is threatened by 

emergencies such as fire or flood or where these conditions 

are imminent, poultry waste can be land applied outside of 

the spreading schedule outlined in the permittee's NMP. If 

this occurs, the permittee shall document the land 

application information in accordance with Part III C 13 

and notify the department in accordance with Part II H. 

15. 12. Poultry waste shall not be land applied within 

buffer zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, 

at a minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings not on the 

permittee's property: 200 feet (unless the occupant of the 

dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet;  

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 

practices may be approved by the department that will 

provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 

reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer; 

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

16. 13. The following records shall be maintained:  

a. The identification of the land application field sites 

where the waste is utilized or stored;  

b. The application rate;  

c. The application dates; and  

d. What crops have been planted.  

These records shall be maintained on site for a period of 

three years after recorded application is made and shall be 

made available to department personnel upon request.  

D. Other special conditions. 

17. 1. Each poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker 

covered by this general permit shall complete a training 
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program offered or approved by the department within one 

year of filing the registration statement for general permit 

coverage. All permitted poultry waste end-users or 

permitted poultry waste brokers shall complete a training 

program at least once every five years. 

2. Poultry feeding operations that use disposal pits for 

routine disposal of daily mortalities shall not be covered 

under this general permit. The use of a disposal pit for 

routine disposal of daily poultry mortalities by a permittee 

shall be a violation of this permit. This prohibition does not 

apply to the emergency disposal of dead poultry done 

according to regulations adopted pursuant to § 3.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia or Chapter 14 (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.) of 

Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-630-60. Tracking and accounting requirements 

for poultry waste brokers. 

A. Poultry waste brokers shall register with the department 

by providing their name and address on a form approved 

provided by the department prior to transferring poultry 

waste.  

B. When a poultry waste broker transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, the 

poultry waste broker shall provide information regarding the 

transfer of poultry waste to both the source and recipient of 

the waste.  

1. The broker name and address shall be provided to the 

source of the transferred poultry waste:  

2. The following items shall be provided to the recipient of 

the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The broker name and address;  

b. The most recent nutrient analysis of the poultry waste; 

and  

c. A fact sheet.  

C. When a poultry waste broker transfers to another person 

more than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, the 

poultry waste broker shall keep records regarding the 

transferred poultry waste.  

1. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

source of the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The source name and address;  

b. The amount of the poultry waste received from the 

source; and  

c. The date the poultry waste was acquired.  

2. The following items shall be recorded regarding the 

recipient of the transferred poultry waste:  

a. The recipient name and address;  

b. The amount of poultry waste received by the person;  

c. The date of the transaction;  

d. The nutrient content of the waste; 

e. The locality in which the recipient intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip code);  

f. The name of the stream of or waterbody if known to 

the recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or 

storage site; and  

g. The signed waste transfer records form acknowledging 

the receipt of the following:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet.  

D. Poultry waste brokers shall submit copies of the records 

required by subsection C of this section, to the department 

annually using a form approved in a format and method 

determined by the department. Records for the preceding 

calendar state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) shall be 

submitted to the department not no later than February 15 

September 15. Poultry waste brokers shall maintain the 

records required by subsection subsections C and E of this 

section for at least three years and make them available to 

department personnel upon request. 

E. If waste from two or more poultry waste sources is 

commingled or stored then a sample that best represents the 

waste shall be used to calculate the nutrients available in the 

poultry waste for land application and shall be provided to the 

end-user of the waste. The original sources of the waste shall 

also be recorded and provided to the department with the 

annual transfer records submittal. 

F. If the poultry waste broker land applies the poultry waste 

for the end-user then the broker shall provide the end-user 

with the records regarding land application as required by 

9VAC25-630-70.  

G. Poultry waste brokers shall complete a training program 

offered or approved by the department within one year of 

registering with the department. Poultry waste brokers shall 

complete a training program at least once every five years.  

H. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation. 

9VAC25-630-70. Tracking and accounting requirements 

for poultry waste end-users.  

A. When a poultry waste end-user is the recipient of more 

than 10 tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period, the end-
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user shall maintain records regarding the transfer and land 

application of poultry waste.  

1. The poultry waste end-user shall provide the permitted 

poultry grower or poultry waste broker with the following 

items:  

a. End-user name and address;  

b. The locality in which the end-user intends to utilize the 

waste (i.e., nearest town or city, county, and zip code);  

c. The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

end-user that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site; and  

d. Written acknowledgement of receipt of:  

(1) The waste;  

(2) The nutrient analysis of the waste; and  

(3) A fact sheet.  

2. The poultry waste end-user shall record the following 

items regarding the waste transfer:  

a. The source name, address, and permit number (if 

applicable);  

b. The amount of poultry waste that was received;  

c. The date of the transaction;  

d. The final use of the poultry waste;  

e. The locality in which the waste was utilized (i.e., 

nearest town or city, county, and zip code); and 

f. The name of the stream or waterbody if known to the 

recipient that is nearest to the waste utilization or storage 

site. 

Records regarding poultry waste transfers End-users shall 

be maintained maintain the records required by 

subdivisions A 1 and A 2 of this section on site for a period 

of three years after the transaction. All records shall be 

made available to department personnel upon request.  

3. If waste is land applied, the poultry waste end-user shall 

keep a record of the following items regarding the land 

application of the waste:  

a. The nutrient analysis of the waste;  

b. Maps indicating the poultry waste land application 

fields and storage sites;  

c. The land application rate;  

d. The land application dates;  

e. What crops were planted;  

f. Soil test results, if obtained;  

g. NMP, if applicable; and  

h. The method used to determine the land application 

rates (i.e., phosphorus crop removal, standard rate, soil 

test recommendations, or a nutrient management plan). 

Records regarding land application of poultry waste End-

users shall be maintained maintain the records required by 

this subdivision 3 on site for a period of three years after 

the recorded application is made. All records shall be made 

available to department personnel upon request.  

4. Reporting requirements. End-users shall submit the 

records required by subdivisions A 1, A 2, and A 3 of this 

section in accordance with the timing outlined in 

subdivisions 4 a and 4 b of this subsection. 

a. Beginning (insert the date one year after the effective 

date of this regulation) and continuing through (insert the 

date two years after the effective date of this regulation), 

upon request by the department, the end-user shall 

submit the records in a format and method determined by 

the department; and 

b. Beginning (insert the date three years after the 

effective date of this regulation), the end-user shall 

submit to the department, annually, the records for the 

preceding state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) no 

later than September 15. 

B. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation. 

9VAC25-630-80. Utilization and storage requirements for 

transferred poultry waste. 

A. Any poultry waste end-user or poultry waste broker who 

receives poultry waste shall comply with the requirements 

outlined in the following sections.  

B. Storage requirements. Any poultry waste end-user or 

poultry waste broker who receives poultry waste shall comply 

with the requirements outlined in this section regarding 

storage of poultry waste in their possession or under their 

control.  

1. Poultry waste shall be stored in a manner that prevents 

contact with surface water and ground water. Poultry waste 

that is stockpiled outside for more than 14 days shall be 

kept in a facility or at a site that provides adequate storage. 

Adequate storage shall, at a minimum, include the 

following:  

a. Poultry waste shall be covered to protect it from 

precipitation and wind;  

b. Storm water shall not run onto or under the stored 

poultry waste;  
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c. A minimum of two feet of separation distance to the 

seasonal high water table or an impermeable barrier shall 

be used under the stored poultry waste. All poultry waste 

storage facilities that use an impermeable barrier shall 

maintain a minimum of one foot of separation between 

the seasonal high water table and the impermeable 

barrier. "Seasonal high water table" means that portion of 

the soil profile where a color change has occurred in the 

soil as a result of saturated soil conditions or where soil 

concretions have formed. Typical colors are gray 

mottlings, solid gray, or black. The depth in the soil at 

which these conditions first occur is termed the seasonal 

high water table. Impermeable barriers shall be 

constructed of at least 12 inches of compacted clay, at 

least four inches of reinforced concrete, or another 

material of similar structural integrity that has a 

minimum permeability rating of 0.0014 inches per hour 

(1X10-6 centimeters per second); and 

d. For poultry waste that is not stored under roof, the 

storage site must be at least:  

(1) 100 feet from any surface water, intermittent 

drainage, wells, sinkholes, rock outcrops, and springs; 

and 

(2) 200 feet from any occupied dwellings not on the end-

user's or broker's property, unless the occupant of the 

dwelling signs a waiver of the storage site.  

2. Poultry waste storage facilities constructed after 

December 1, 2000, shall not be located within a 100-year 

floodplain unless there is no land available outside the 

floodplain on which to construct the facility and the facility 

is constructed so that the poultry waste is stored above the 

100-year flood elevation or otherwise protected from 

floodwaters through the construction of berms or similar 

best management flood control structures. For the purposes 

of determining the 100-year floodplain, a Federal 

Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Flood Insurance 

Rate Map (FIRM), a FEMA Letter of Map Amendment 

(LOMA), or a FEMA Letter of Map Revision (LOMR) 

shall be used.  

C. Land application requirements. Any poultry waste end-

user or poultry waste broker who (i) receives five 10 or more 

tons of poultry waste in any 365-day period and (ii) land 

applies poultry waste shall follow appropriate land 

application requirements as outlined in this section. The 

application of poultry waste shall be managed to minimize 

adverse water quality impacts.  

1. The maximum application rates can be established by 

the following methods:  

a. Phosphorus crop removal application rates can be used 

when:  

(1) Soil test phosphorus levels do not exceed the values 

listed in the following table below:  

Region Soil test P (ppm) 

VPI & SU Soil test 

(Mehlich I) * 

Eastern Shore and Lower 

Coastal Plain 

135 

Middle and Upper Coastal 

Plain and Piedmont 

136 

Ridge and Valley 162 

* If results are from another laboratory the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation approved conversion factors 

must be used.  

(2) The phosphorus crop removal application rates are set 

forth by regulations promulgated by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Poultry waste may be applied to any crop at the 

standard rate of 1.5 tons per acre once every three years 

when:  

(1) In the absence of current soil sample analyses and 

recommendations; and  

(2) Nutrients have not been supplied by an organic 

source, other than pastured animals, to the proposed land 

application sites within the previous three years of the 

proposed land application date of poultry waste.  

c. Soil test recommendations can be used when:  

(1) Accompanied by analysis results for soil tests that 

have been obtained from the proposed field or fields in 

the last three years;  

(2) The analytical results are from procedures in 

accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 4VAC50-85-140 A 2 f; 

and  

(3) Nutrients from the waste application do not exceed 

the nitrogen or phosphorus recommendations for the 

proposed crop or double crops. The recommendations 

shall be in accordance with 4VAC5-15-150 4VAC50-85-

140 A 2 a.  

d. A nutrient management plan developed by a certified 

nutrient management planner in accordance with § 10.1-

104.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The timing of land application of poultry waste shall be 

appropriate for the crop, and in accordance with 4VAC5-

15-150 4VAC50-85-140 A 4, except that no waste may be 

applied to ice covered or snow covered ground or to soils 

that are saturated. Poultry waste may be applied to frozen 

ground under the following conditions:  
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a. Slopes are not greater than 6.0%;  

b. A minimum of a 200-foot vegetative or adequate crop 

residue buffer is maintained between the application area 

and all surface water courses;  

c. Only those soils characterized by USDA as "well 

drained" with good infiltration are used; and  

d. At least 60% uniform cover by vegetation or crop 

residue is present in order to reduce surface runoff and 

the potential for leaching of nutrients to ground water.  

3. Poultry waste shall not be land applied within buffer 

zones. Buffer zones at waste application sites shall, at a 

minimum, be maintained as follows:  

a. Distance from occupied dwellings: 200 feet (unless the 

occupant of the dwelling signs a waiver of the buffer 

zone);  

b. Distance from water supply wells or springs: 100 feet; 

c. Distance from surface water courses: 100 feet (without 

a permanent vegetated buffer) or 35 feet (if a permanent 

vegetated buffer exists). Other site-specific conservation 

practices may be approved by the department that will 

provide pollutant reductions equivalent or better than the 

reductions that would be achieved by the 100-foot buffer;  

d. Distance from rock outcropping (except limestone): 25 

feet;  

e. Distance from limestone outcroppings: 50 feet; and  

f. Waste shall not be applied in such a manner that it 

would discharge to sinkholes that may exist in the area.  

4. In cases where poultry waste storage is threatened by 

emergencies such as fire or flood or where these conditions 

are imminent, poultry waste can be land applied outside of 

the spreading schedule outlined in the Fact Sheet. If this 

occurs, the end-user or broker shall document the land 

application information in accordance with 9VAC25-630-

70 A 3. 

D. Poultry waste end-users and poultry waste brokers shall 

maintain the records demonstrating compliance with the 

requirements of subsections B and C for at least three years 

and make them available to department personnel upon 

request. 

E. The activities of the poultry waste end-user or poultry 

waste broker shall not contravene the Water Quality 

Standards (9VAC25-260), as amended and adopted and 

amended by the board, or any provision of the State Water 

Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

F. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation. 

9VAC25-630-90. Commercial poultry processor activities. 

A. Any commercial poultry processor who contracts with a 

poultry grower shall comply with the requirements outlined in 

this section. 

B. For the purpose of this section, the commercial poultry 

processor's hired staff, contract or company employed 

haulers, poultry catching crews, and feed truck operators are 

also considered the commercial poultry processor. 

C. A commercial poultry processor that conducts typical 

farming activities on the contract poultry grower's farm shall 

be responsible for cleaning up after such farming activities. 

1. Typical farming activities include the following: 

a. Releasing poultry into the poultry growing houses; 

b. Catching poultry for transport; and 

c. Filling feed bins. 

2. Typical farming activities do not include the routine 

washing of trucks owned, operated, or contracted by the 

commercial poultry processor. 

3. The introduction of water into the process of the typical 

farming activities is prohibited, except in the following 

cases: 

a. When used for cooling the birds during the releasing 

and catching process; and 

b. When there is a disease outbreak or poultry health risk 

that requires clean up and disinfection of the vehicles and 

catching equipment prior to entering and leaving the 

farm. 

When water is introduced into the process, it should be 

done in a manner that does not produce process 

wastewater. 

D. The commercial poultry processor shall clean up and 

properly dispose of, in a prompt and efficient manner, any of 

the following materials that have been deposited or released 

by the commercial poultry processor: 

1. Poultry waste; 

2. Feed; and 

3. Hydraulic fluids, fuels, and oils used in machinery. 

E. Farming activities such as those listed in subsection C of 

this section shall be conducted on impervious surfaces, where 

available, to facilitate the cleanup efforts. 

F. The commercial poultry processor shall submit an 

operation and maintenance manual that outlines proper 

procedures to be used by the commercial poultry processor 
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while commencing with typical farming activities, as listed in 

subsection C of this section, on the contract grower's farm.  

1. The manual shall at a minimum cover the following 

items: 

a. The processor's procedures to carry out the typical 

farming activities; 

b. Proper clean up and disposal of materials deposited or 

released during such activities; and 

c. Any additional information to ensure compliance with 

this section or determined to be relevant by the 

department. 

2. The manual shall be submitted to the department for 

approval by (insert date 60 days after the effective date of 

this section). 

3. Subsequent revisions to the manual shall be submitted to 

the department for approval 30 days prior to making 

changes to the procedures outlined in the manual. 

4. An individual commercial poultry processor may submit 

one manual to cover multiple processing plants or 

complexes, where all procedures used are identical. 

G. The activities of the commercial poultry processor shall 

not contravene the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260), 

as adopted and amended by the board, or any provision of the 

State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Any duly authorized agent of the board may, at 

reasonable times and under reasonable circumstances, enter 

any establishment or upon any property, public or private, for 

the purpose of obtaining information or conducting surveys or 

investigations necessary in the enforcement of the provisions 

of this regulation. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (9VAC25-630)  

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Poultry Waste Management for Poultry Growers, 

RS VPG2 (rev. 07/10) 

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Poultry Waste Management for Poultry Waste 

End-Users and Poultry Waste Brokers, RS End Users/Brokers 

VPG2 (rev. 07/10) 

Fact Sheet, Requirements for Poultry Litter Use and Storage 

(rev. 12/10) 

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Poultry Waste Management for Poultry Growers, 

RS VPG2 (eff. 12/2020) 

Virginia DEQ Registration Statement for VPA General 

Permit for Poultry Waste Management for Poultry Waste 

End-Users and Poultry Waste Brokers, RS End Users/Brokers 

VPG2 (eff. 12/2020) 

Fact Sheet, Requirements for Poultry Litter Use and Storage 

(eff. 12/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5666; Filed July 15, 2020, 8:51 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code 

of Virginia, which exempts adoption, amendment, or repeal 

of wasteload allocations by the State Water Control Board 

pursuant to State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq. of 

the Code of Virginia) if the board (i) provides public notice in 

the Virginia Register; (ii) if requested by the public during the 

initial public notice 30-day comment period, forms an 

advisory group composed of relevant stakeholders; (iii) 

receives and provides summary response to written 

comments; and (iv) conducts at least one public meeting.  

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-50, 9VAC25-720-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act.  

Effective Date: September 2, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kelly Meadows, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4291, or email kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments add (i) one new total maximum daily load 

(TMDL) wasteload allocation in the Potomac-Shenandoah 

River Basin and (ii) 10 new TMDL wasteload allocations 

in the James River Basin. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95e19005666~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95e19005666~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95e19005666~2t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ea005666~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ea005666~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ea005666~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=726ea005666~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ecc005666~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=14ecc005666~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005666&mime=application/pdf
mailto:kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov
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9VAC25-720-50. Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin. 

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs). 

TMDL 

# 
Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 218 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

219. 
North Fork 

Catoctin Creek 

A TMDL and 

Watershed 

Management Plan 

to Address 

Sediment in North 

Fork Catoctin 

Creek Located in 

Loudoun County, 

Virginia 

Loudoun A02R Sediment 99.1 tons/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that DEQ tracks these changes for bacteria TMDLs where 

the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2There were no point source dischargers in the modeled TMDL area. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-50 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin.  

A. Total maximum daily loads (TMDLs).  

TMDL 

# 
Stream Name TMDL Title City/County WBID Pollutant WLA1 Units 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Rows numbered 1 through 172 in this TMDL table in subsection A of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; 

therefore, the text of those rows is not set out. 

173. Blue Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 20,750 lbs/year 

174. Marsh Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 5,210 lbs/year 
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175. Preddy Creek 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 105,600 lbs/year 

176. 
Preddy Creek 

North Branch 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 47,940 lbs/year 

177. Quarter Creek 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

North Fork Rivanna 

River Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 11,020 lbs/year 

178. Standardsville Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

North Fork Rivanna 

River Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 6,105 lbs/year 

179. Swift Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

North Fork Rivanna 

River Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 89,130 lbs/year 

180. 
Unnamed tributary to 

Flat Branch 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for the 

North Fork Rivanna 

River Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R Sediment 27,890 lbs/year 

181. Blue Run 
Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R 
Total 

Phosphorus 
21.8 lbs/year 
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Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

182. Standardsville Run 

Benthic TMDL 

Development for 

the North Fork 

Rivanna River 

Watershed and 

Tributaries Located 

in Albemarle, 

Greene, and Orange 

Counties 

Albemarle, 

Greene, 

Orange 

H27R 
Total 

Phosphorus 
4.6 lbs/year 

Notes: 
1The total WLA can be increased prior to modification provided that the Department of Environmental Quality tracks these 

changes for bacteria TMDLs where the permit is consistent with water quality standards for bacteria. 

2GS means growing season. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections B and C of 9VAC25-720-60 are not amended; therefore, the text of those subsections is not set 

out. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6437; Filed July 9, 2020, 3:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 17 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding the promulgation of technical regulations governing 

actual live horse racing at race meetings licensed by the 

commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-110. Entries (amending 

11VAC10-110-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 27, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow horses trained and owned by the 

same person to run as two separate betting interests. 

11VAC10-110-90. Coupling. 

All horses entered in the same race and owned wholly or 

partially by the same owner or spouse shall be joined as a 

mutuel entry and shall constitute a single wagering interest, 

except as provided for in subdivision 7 of this section. No 

trainer shall enter more than two horses in an overnight race. 

The following provisions shall apply to mutuel entries: 

1. The racing secretary shall be responsible for coupling 

entries for wagering purposes; 

2. No more than two horses having common ties through 

ownership, which would result in a mutuel entry and a 

single wagering interest, may be entered in an overnight 

race; 

3. When two horses having common ties through 

ownership are entered in an overnight race, preference 

shall be given to the horse with the earliest preference date 

or the most stars; 

4. 1. Two horses having common ties through ownership 

shall not start as a mutuel entry in an overnight race to the 

exclusion of another horse; and 

5. 2. The racing secretary shall be responsible for assigning 

horses to the mutuel field when the number of wagering 

interests exceeds the numbering capacity of the infield tote 

board;.  

6. In an overnight race, the racing secretary may uncouple 

entries having common ties through training; and 

mailto:kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov
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7. In any thoroughbred stakes race with added or 

guaranteed money of $50,000 or more, the racing secretary 

may uncouple mutuel entries of horses sharing common 

ties through training or ownership or both. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6344; Filed July 6, 2020, 3:36 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 17 of the Code of Virginia 

regarding the promulgation of technical regulations governing 

actual live horse racing at race meetings licensed by the 

commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-120. Claiming Races 

(amending 11VAC10-120-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 27, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow for the voiding of a claim if a 

horse suffers an injury that requires euthanasia on the 

racetrack during a claiming race; (ii) require a claimed 

horse's complete injection records for the last 60 days; and 

(iii) order the owner of a horse that is sold, claimed, or 

transferred to transfer all of the health and medical 

records of that horse to the new owner within seven days. 

11VAC10-120-50. Claiming procedure.  

A claim may be filed on a horse programmed to race by 

properly completing a claim slip, including the correct 

spelling of the horse's name, the date and the race number, 

sealing the claim slip in an envelope, and depositing the 

envelope in a locked claims box. The following provisions 

shall apply to the claiming of a horse:  

1. The licensee shall provide claim slips, claim envelopes, 

and a locked claim box to secure filed claims;  

2. The claim slip, enclosed in a sealed envelope, must be 

deposited in a locked claim box at least 15 minutes before 

post time of the race for which the claim is filed;  

3. The licensee shall provide a clock, and before the sealed 

envelope is deposited in the locked claim box, the time of 

day shall be stamped upon the envelope;  

4. No money or its equivalent shall be put in the claim box;  

5. The person filing the claim must have sufficient funds 

on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper or licensee in 

not less than the amount of the designated price and 

applicable sales taxes;  

6. The claims clerk shall inform the stewards of a claim 

filed for a horse and of multiple claims on a horse;  

7. The claims clerk shall ascertain that the claim slip and 

envelope are properly complete;  

8. The claims clerk shall ascertain that the person is 

eligible to claim a horse and inform the stewards 

immediately of any doubts of the person's eligibility;  

9. The claims clerk shall ascertain that there are sufficient 

funds on deposit with the horsemen's bookkeeper or 

licensee of not less than the amount of the claim and 

applicable sales taxes;  

10. If more than one valid claim is filed for a horse, then 

title to the horse shall be determined by lot under the 

supervision of the stewards or their representative;  

11. A claimed horse shall race in the interest of and for the 

account of the owner from whom the horse was claimed;  

12. Title to a claimed horse shall vest in the successful 

claimant at the time the horse is deemed a starter whether 

the horse is dead or alive, sound or unsound, or injured in 

the race or after the race In the event a horse dies during a 

claiming race, is euthanized on the racetrack during a 

claiming race, or suffers an injury that requires euthanasia 

of the horse performed on the racetrack or in an adjacent 

area as determined by the commission veterinarian, any 

claim on that horse will be declared void;  

13. A claim is voidable at the sole discretion of the new 

owner or trainer for a period of one hour after the race is 

made official for any horse that is vanned off the racetrack 

after the race at the direction of the commission 

veterinarian;  

14. Upon a successful claim the stewards shall issue a 

transfer authorization of the horse from the original owner 

to the claimant. Copies of the transfer authorization shall 

be maintained by the stewards and the racing secretary. 

Upon notification by the stewards the horsemen's 

bookkeeper shall immediately debit the claimant's account 

for the claiming price, along with applicable taxes and 

transfer fees, and shall immediately credit the original 

owner's account with the claiming price; 

14. 15. In harness racing, the successful claimant of a horse 

programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership 

of a claimed horse even though such claimed horse was 

scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which 

it was scratched. The successful claimant must exercise his 

option by 9 a.m. of the day following the claiming race to 

which the horse programmed and scratched. No horse may 

be claimed from a claiming race unless the race is 

contested;  
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15. 16. A horse that has been claimed shall be delivered to 

the new owner at the conclusion of the race either at the 

paddock or at the detention barn, after the completion of 

any post-race testing;  

16. 17. The claimant shall present the former owner with 

written authorization of the claim from the racing 

secretary;  

17. 18. A positive test result for any prohibited drug is 

grounds for voiding the claim;  

18. 19. The new owner may request that the horse be tested 

for equine infectious anemia, by taking the horse 

immediately following the race to the detention barn where 

a blood sample will be drawn;  

19. 20. A positive test result for equine infectious anemia is 

grounds for voiding a claim;  

20. 21. The new owner shall be responsible for filing the 

change of ownership with the appropriate breed registry;  

21. 22. Despite any designation of sex or age of a horse 

appearing in the daily program or other publication, the 

person making the claim shall be solely responsible for 

determining the sex or age of the horse before filing a 

claim for the horse;  

22. 23. Officials and employees of the licensee shall not 

provide any information as to the filing of the claim until 

after the race has been run, except as necessary for 

processing of the claim; and  

23. 24. If a horse is successfully claimed by a new owner, 

the trainer of record at the time of that claiming race must 

provide that horse's complete corticosteroid and intra-

articular injection records for the last 30 60 days, which 

shall include the date of the injection, name of the 

veterinarian performing the injection, articular spaces or 

structures injected, medication or biologicals used to inject 

each articular space, and dose in milligrams of each 

corticosteroid used. Such records shall be completed by the 

treating veterinarian and be provided to the new trainer 

within 48 hours of the transfer of the horse. In addition, the 

owner of a horse shall order production and transfer of all 

health and medical records held by the individual or 

veterinarian providing services to the horse owned by them 

within seven days if the horse is sold, claimed, or 

transferred to a new owner, or if requested by the 

commission veterinarian. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6346; Filed July 6, 2020, 6:58 p.m.  

Final Regulation  

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 23 of the Code of Virginia 

when promulgating regulations pertaining to the 

administration of medication or other substances foreign to 

the natural horse. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-180. Medication (amending 

11VAC10-180-35; adding 11VAC10-180-72; repealing 

11VAC10-180-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 27, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require the veterinarian treating a 

horse with shockwave therapy to report the procedure 

within 24 hours of the procedure to the commission 

veterinarian; (ii) prohibit intra-articular injections within 

14 days of a horse's race and require reporting of the 

injections to the commission veterinarian within 24 hours 

of treatment; (iii) prohibit the use of two or more 

corticosteroids on a horse; and (iv) reduce the use of 

nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS) from 

within 24 hours of a horse's race to within 48 hours of a 

horse's race and prohibit the use of two or more NSAIDS 

that require that, when an extracorporeal shockwave 

therapy device or radial pulse wave therapy device is used 

on a horse, the horse be placed on the veterinarian's list 

for 10 days from the date of treatment.  

11VAC10-180-35. Prohibited practices. 

A. No trainer shall allow a horse to appear in a race, 

qualifying race, or official timed workout when the horse 

contains in its system any prohibited substance, as determined 

by testing of blood, saliva, or urine, or any other reasonable 

means. 

B. No person shall administer any prohibited substance to a 

horse on race day. Furosemide is the only substance 

specifically permitted for use in approved horses on race day. 

C. No veterinarian or permit holder shall, without good 

cause, possess or administer any substance to a horse stabled 

within the enclosure or at any facility under the jurisdiction of 

the commission if the substance: 

1. Has not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) for any use (human or animal) or by 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Center for Veterinary 

Biologics; 

2. Is on the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency's Schedule I or 

Schedule II of controlled substances as prepared by the 

Attorney General of the United States pursuant to 21 USC 

§§ 811 and 812; 
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3. May endanger the health and welfare of the horse or 

endanger the safety of the rider or driver, or may adversely 

affect the integrity of racing; or 

4. Does not have a recognized laboratory analytical method 

to detect and confirm its administration.  

D. No person, except a veterinarian holding a valid 

veterinarian's permit or an assistant under the veterinarian's 

immediate supervision, shall have in his possession within the 

enclosure of a horse racing facility any prescription substance 

for animal use unless: 

1. The person actually possesses within the enclosure of 

the horse racing facility documentary evidence that a 

prescription has been issued to him for the substance by a 

licensed veterinarian; 

2. The prescription substance is labeled with a dosage for 

the horse to be treated with the prescription substance; and 

3. The horse or horses named in the prescription are then 

under the care and supervision of the permit holder and are 

then stabled within the enclosure of the horse racing 

facility. 

E. The possession or administration of equine growth 

hormone, venoms, erythropoietin (Epogen), darbepoietin, 

oxyglobin, Hemopure, or any analogous substance that 

increases oxygen-carrying capacity of the blood is prohibited. 

Furthermore, should the analysis of a test sample detect the 

presence of antibodies of erythropoietin or darbepoietin or 

any analogous substance in the horse's blood that indicates a 

history of use of these substances, the horse shall be 

prohibited from racing and placed on the veterinarian's list 

until the horse tests negative for the presence of such 

antibodies. 

F. The use of androgenic and anabolic steroids is prohibited 

in racing horses as stipulated in 11VAC10-180-75. 

G. The use of an extracorporeal shockwave therapy device 

or radial pulse wave therapy device is prohibited on the 

racetrack premises and at any site that falls under the 

jurisdiction of the Virginia Racing Commission unless: 

1. The therapy device is registered with the commission 

veterinarian; 

2. The therapy device is used by a veterinarian who is a 

permit holder; and 

3. Each use of the therapy device is reported to the 

commission veterinarian on the treatment report by the 

treating veterinarian within 24 hours of treatment. 

Notwithstanding the provisions in this subsection, whether 

on or off the premises, a shockwave therapy device or radial 

pulse wave therapy device shall not be used on a racehorse 

fewer than 10 days before the horse is to race or train at 

racing speed. For the purposes of this calculation, the day of 

treatment shall be considered day one. Furthermore, the horse 

that was treated shall be placed on the veterinarian's list for 

10 days from the date of treatment. 

H. Tubing of horses prohibited. The tubing or dosing of any 

horse for any reason on race day is prohibited unless 

administered for medical emergency purposes by a licensed 

veterinarian in which case the horse shall be scratched. The 

practice of administration of any substance via a tube or other 

method into a horse's stomach on race day is considered a 

violation of this chapter. 

1. Using or possessing the ingredients or the paraphernalia 

associated with forced feeding to a horse of any 

alkalinizing agent with or without a concentrated form of 

carbohydrate, or administering any substance by tubing or 

other method on race day shall be considered a violation of 

this chapter. 

2. Under the provisions of this subsection, endoscopic 

examination by a licensed veterinarian shall not be 

considered a violation of this chapter. 

I. Notwithstanding any other provision in this chapter, no 

substance of any kind may be administered to a horse within 

four hours, or three hours for a ship-in meet, of the scheduled 

post time for the race in which the horse is entered. To ensure 

uniform supervision and conformity to this this chapter, the 

trainer shall have each horse programmed to race stabled in 

its assigned stall within the enclosure of the horse race facility 

no fewer than five hours, or four hours for a ship-in meet, 

prior to post time for the respective race. 

J. Intra-articular injections prohibited. Injecting any 

substance or inserting a needle into a joint space is prohibited 

within seven 14 days prior to the horse's race for flat and 

steeplechase racing and within seven days for harness racing. 

All intra-articular injections shall be reported by the treating 

veterinarian to the commission veterinarian within 24 hours 

of treatment. Horses treated shall be ineligible to race for a 

period of 14 days for flat and steeplechase racing and for 

seven days for harness racing. For the purposes of this 

calculation, the day of treatment shall be considered day one.  

K. Peri-neural injections prohibited. Injecting a local 

anesthetic or other chemical agent adjacent to a nerve is 

prohibited within three days prior to the horse's race.  

L. Hyperbaric oxygen chamber prohibited. Subjecting a 

horse to therapy utilizing a hyperbaric oxygen chamber is 

prohibited within four days prior to the horse's race.  

M. Stacking corticosteroids prohibited. The detection of two 

or more corticosteroids in a horse's post-race biological 

samples shall constitute a stacking violation and is prohibited. 
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11VAC10-180-70. Phenylbutazone, flunixin, and other 

nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. The use of multiple nonsteroidal anti-

inflammatory drugs in a horse within 96 hours prior to the 

horse's race is prohibited. Despite this prohibition, this 

chapter specifically permits the use of one of the following: 

(i) phenylbutazone, (ii) flunixin, (iii) ketoprofen, (iv) 

firocoxib, or (v) diclofenac in racehorses in the quantities 

provided for in this chapter. 

B. Quantitative testing. Any horse to which phenylbutazone, 

flunixin, or ketoprofen has been administered shall be subject 

to testing at the direction of the commission veterinarian to 

determine the quantitative levels of phenylbutazone, flunixin, 

ketoprofen, firocoxib, or diclofenac, or the presence of other 

substances that may be present. 

C. Disciplinary actions. The stewards may take disciplinary 

actions for reports of quantitative testing by the primary 

testing laboratory for levels of (i) phenylbutazone quantified 

at levels above 2.0 micrograms per milliliter of serum or 

plasma, (ii) flunixin quantified at levels above 20 ng per 

milliliter of serum or plasma, (iii) ketoprofen quantified at 

levels above 2.0 ng per milliliter of serum or plasma, (iv) 

firocoxib quantified at levels above 20 ng per milliliter in 

serum or plasma, and (v) diclofenac quantified at levels above 

5.0 ng per milliliter in serum or plasma in horses following 

races, qualifying races, and official timed workouts for the 

stewards or commission veterinarian. The stewards may use 

the most recent revision of the Association of Racing 

Commissioners International (RCI) Uniform Classification 

Guidelines for Foreign Substances and the Multiple 

Violations Penalty System as a guide. The stewards, in their 

discretion, may impose other more stringent disciplinary 

actions against trainers or other permit holders who violate 

the provisions under which (i) phenylbutazone, (ii) flunixin, 

(iii) ketoprofen, (iv) firocoxib, or (v) diclofenac is permitted 

by the commission. 

11VAC10-180-72. Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.  

The use of nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS) 

shall be governed by the following conditions:  

1. The administration of NSAIDS at less than 48 hours to 

the scheduled post of a horse's race, qualifying race, or 

official timed workout is prohibited. 

2. The presence of one of the following does not constitute 

a violation: 

a. Phenylbutazone at a concentration of less than 0.3 

micrograms per milliliter of plasma or serum; 

b. Flunixin at a concentration less than 5.0 nanograms 

per milliliter of plasma or serum; or 

c. Ketoprofen at a concentration less than 2.0 nanograms 

per milliliter of plasma or serum. 

3. The detection of two or more NSAIDS in blood or urine 

constitutes NSAIDS stacking violation and is prohibited. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6348; Filed July 6, 2020, 7:09 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-405. Rules Governing 

Balance Billing for Out-Of-Network Health Care Services 

(adding 14VAC5-405-10 through 14VAC5-405-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jackie Myers, Chief Insurance Market 

Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9630, fax (804) 371-9944, or email 

jackie.myers@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 1080 and 1081 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments add Rules Governing 

Balance Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services 

(14VAC5-405). The proposed regulation establishes 

requirements and processes to protect consumers from 

surprise balance billing from out-of-network providers for 

emergency health care services or nonemergency ancillary 

and surgical services received at an in-network facility, 

including procedures for the use of arbitration between 

health carriers and out-of-network providers to address 

reimbursement disputes concerning balance billing.  

mailto:jackie.myers@scc.virginia.gov
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AT RICHMOND, JULY 10, 2020  

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. INS-2020-00136 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

New Rules Governing Balance Billing 

for Out-of-Network Health Care Services 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-2231 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 

to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code. A copy also may be found at 

the Commission's website: http://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission a proposal to promulgate new rules in Chapter 

405 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled 

"Rules Governing Balance Billing for Out-of-Network Health 

Care Services," which are recommended to be set out at 

14 VAC 5-405-10 through 14 VAC 5-405-90. 

The proposed new rules are necessary as a result of action by the 

2020 General Assembly, specifically Acts of Assembly Chapter 

1080 (HB 1251) and Chapter 1081 (SB 172). This legislation, in 

part, adds §§ 38.2-3445.01 through 38.2-3445.07 to Chapter 34 

of Title 38.2 of the Code. These sections, which become 

effective January 1, 2021, address balance billing by out-of-

network providers. The provisions of the Bureau's proposed rules 

are intended to establish requirements and processes to carry out 

the provisions of these new Code sections that protect consumers 

from surprise balance billing from out-of-network providers for 

emergency health care services or nonemergency ancillary and 

surgical services received at an in-network facility. The proposed 

rules also set forth procedures for the use of arbitration between 

health carriers and out-of-network providers to address 

reimbursement disputes concerning balance billing. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposal to adopt new rules recommended to be set out at 

Chapter 405 of Title 14 in the Virginia Administrative Code 

as submitted by the Bureau should be considered for adoption 

with a proposed effective date on or before January 1, 2021.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed new rules entitled "Rules Governing 

Balance Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services," 

recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 5-405-10 through 

14 VAC 5-405-90, are attached hereto and made a part 

hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 

adoption of proposed Chapter 405 shall file such comments 

or hearing request on or before September 1, 2020, with the 

Clerk of the Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218 and shall refer to Case No. INS-2020-00136. 

Interested persons desiring to submit comments electronically 

may do so by following the instructions at the Commission's 

website: https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-

Public-Comments. All comments shall refer to Case No. INS-

2020-00136. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the adoption of the 

proposed rules as outlined in this Order is received on or 

before September 1, 2020, the Commission, upon 

consideration of any comments submitted in support of or in 

opposition to the proposal, may adopt the proposed rules as 

submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to all 

carriers licensed in Virginia to write accident and sickness 

insurance and to all interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposed 

new rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 

the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 

certificate of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to: C. Meade Browder, Senior Assistant Attorney General, at 

MBrowder@oag.state.va.us, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Julie S. Blauvelt. 

______________________________ 

1Specific authority to adopt rules to implement the provisions of §§ 38.2-

3445 through 38.2-3445.06 is also granted to the Commission in § 38.2-

3445.07. This Code section becomes effective January 1, 2021. 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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CHAPTER 405 

RULES GOVERNING BALANCE BILLING FOR OUT-

OF-NETWORK HEALTH CARE SERVICES 

14VAC5-405-10. Purpose and scope. 

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and 

procedures that address balance billing and the use of 

arbitration between health carriers and out-of-network 

providers pursuant to the provisions of §§ 38.2-3445 through 

38.2-3445.07 of Chapter 34 (§ 38.2-3400 et seq.) of Title 38.2 

of the Code of Virginia. This chapter shall apply to all health 

benefit plans that use a provider network offered in this 

Commonwealth except as provided for in § 38.2-3445.06 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-405-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Allowed amount" means the maximum portion of a billed 

charge a health carrier will pay, including any applicable 

cost-sharing requirements, for a covered service or item 

rendered by a participating provider or by a nonparticipating 

provider. 

"Arbitrator" means an individual or entity included on a list 

of arbitrators approved by the commission pursuant to 

14VAC5-405-40. 

"Balance bill" means a bill sent to an enrollee by an out-of-

network provider for health care services provided to the 

enrollee after the provider's billed amount is not fully 

reimbursed by the carrier, exclusive of applicable cost-

sharing requirements. 

"Child" means a son, daughter, stepchild, adopted child, 

including a child placed for adoption, foster child, or any 

other child eligible for coverage under the health benefit plan. 

"Clean claim" means a claim (i) that is received by the 

carrier within 90 days of the service being provided to the 

enrollee unless submission of the claim within 90 days is not 

possible due to the provider receiving inaccurate information 

about the enrollee or the enrollee's coverage; (ii) that has no 

material defect or impropriety, including any lack of any 

reasonably required substantiation documentation, that 

substantially prevents timely payment from being made on 

the claim; and (iii) that includes appropriate Internal Revenue 

Service documentation necessary for the carrier to process 

payment. A failure by the provider to submit a clean claim 

will not remove the claim from being subject to this chapter. 

"Commercially reasonable payment" or "commercially 

reasonable amount" means payments or amounts a carrier is 

required to reimburse a health care provider for out-of-

network services pursuant to § 38.2-3445.01 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Cost-sharing requirement" means an enrollee's deductible, 

copayment amount, or coinsurance rate. 

"Covered benefits" or "benefits" means those health care 

services to which an individual is entitled under the terms of a 

health benefit plan. 

"Dependent" means the spouse or child of an eligible 

employee, subject to the applicable terms of the policy, 

contract, or plan covering the eligible employee. 

"Emergency medical condition" means, regardless of the 

final diagnosis rendered to an enrollee, a medical condition 

manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, 

including severe pain, so that a prudent layperson, who 

possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 

could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 

attention to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or 

physical health of the individual, (ii) danger of serious 

impairment to bodily functions, (iii) serious dysfunction of 

any bodily organ or part, or (iv) in the case of a pregnant 

woman, serious jeopardy to the health of the fetus. 

"Emergency services" means with respect to an emergency 

medical condition (i) a medical screening examination as 

required under § 1867 of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 

1395dd) that is within the capability of the emergency 

department of a hospital, including ancillary services 

routinely available to the emergency department to evaluate 

such emergency medical condition and (ii) such further 

medical examination and treatment, to the extent they are 

within the capabilities of the staff and facilities available at 

the hospital, as are required under § 1867 of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1395dd (e)(3)) to stabilize the 

patient. 

"Enrollee" means a policyholder, subscriber, covered 

person, participant, or other individual covered by a health 

benefit plan. 

"ERISA" means the Employee Retirement Income Security 

Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1001 et seq.). 

"Facility" means an institution providing health care related 

services or a health care setting, including hospitals and other 

licensed inpatient centers; ambulatory surgical or treatment 

centers; skilled nursing centers; residential treatment centers; 

diagnostic, laboratory, and imaging centers; and rehabilitation 

and other therapeutic health settings. 

"Geographic area" means any of the following: (i) for the 

purpose of determining a cost-sharing requirement under a 

health benefit plan, a geographic rating area established by 

the commission; or (ii) for the purpose of providing data to 

assist in determining a commercially reasonable amount and 

resolving payment disputes, the health planning region as 

defined at § 32.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

geographic rating area established by the commission, or 
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other geographic region representative of a market for health 

care services as determined by a working group established 

pursuant to § 38.2-3445.03 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit 

plan as defined in § 3(1) of ERISA to the extent that the plan 

provides medical care within the meaning of § 733(a) of 

ERISA to employees, including both current and former 

employees, or their dependents as defined under the terms of 

the plan directly or through insurance, reimbursement, or 

otherwise. 

"Health benefit plan" means a policy, contract, certificate, or 

agreement offered by a health carrier to provide, deliver, 

arrange for, pay for, or reimburse any of the costs of health 

care services. "Health benefit plan" includes short-term and 

catastrophic health insurance policies, and a policy that pays 

on a cost-incurred basis, except as otherwise specifically 

exempted in this definition. "Health benefit plan" does not 

include the "excepted benefits" as defined in § 38.2-3431 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 

care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 

specified health care services consistent with state law. 

"Health care provider" or "provider" means a health care 

professional or facility. 

"Health care services" means services for the diagnosis, 

prevention, treatment, cure, or relief of a health condition, 

illness, injury, or disease. 

"Health carrier" means an entity subject to the insurance 

laws and regulations of the Commonwealth and subject to the 

jurisdiction of the commission that contracts or offers to 

contract to provide, deliver, arrange for, pay for, or reimburse 

any of the costs of health care services, including an insurer 

licensed to sell accident and sickness insurance, a health 

maintenance organization, a health services plan, or any other 

entity providing a plan of health insurance, health benefits, or 

health care services. 

"Initiating party" means the health carrier or out-of-network 

provider that requests arbitration pursuant to § 38.2-3445.02 

of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-405-40. 

"In-network" or "participating" means a provider that has 

contracted with a carrier or a carrier's contractor or 

subcontractor to provide health care services to enrollees and 

be reimbursed by the carrier at a contracted rate as payment in 

full for the health care services, including applicable cost-

sharing requirements. 

"Managed care plan" means a health benefit plan that either 

requires an enrollee to use, or creates incentives, including 

financial incentives, for an enrollee to use health care 

providers managed, owned, under contract with, or employed 

by the health carrier. 

"Network" means the group of participating providers 

providing services to a managed care plan. 

"Offer to pay" or "payment notification" means a claim that 

has been adjudicated and paid by a carrier or determined by a 

carrier to be payable by an enrollee to an out-of-network 

provider for services described in subsection A of § 38.2-

3445.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Out-of-network" or "nonparticipating" means a provider 

that has not contracted with a carrier or a carrier's contractor 

or subcontractor to provide health care services to enrollees. 

"Out-of-pocket maximum" or "maximum out-of-pocket" 

means the maximum amount an enrollee is required to pay in 

the form of cost-sharing requirements for covered benefits in 

a plan year, after which the carrier covers the entirety of the 

allowed amount of covered benefits under the contract of 

coverage. 

"Provider group" means a group of multispecialty or single 

specialty health care providers who contract with a facility to 

exclusively provide multispecialty or single specialty health 

care services at the facility. 

"Self-funded group health plan" means an entity providing 

or administering an employee welfare benefit plan, as defined 

in ERISA, 29 USC § 1002(1), that is self-insured or self-

funded with respect to such plan and that establishes for its 

enrollees a network of participating providers. A self-funded 

group health plan also includes the state employee health plan 

and group health plans for local governments, local officers, 

teachers, and retirees, and the dependents of such employees, 

officers, teachers, and retirees. 

"Surgical or ancillary services" means any professional 

services, including surgery, anesthesiology, pathology, 

radiology, or hospitalist services and laboratory services. 

"Written" or "in writing" means a written communication 

that is only electronically transmitted. 

14VAC5-405-30. Balance billing for out-of-network 

services. 

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-3445.01 of the Code of Virginia, no 

out-of-network provider shall balance bill or attempt to 

collect payment amounts from an enrollee other than those 

described in subsection B of this section for: 

1. Emergency services provided to an enrollee by an out-

of-network provider located in Virginia; or 

2. Nonemergency services provided to an enrollee at an in-

network facility located in Virginia if the nonemergency 

services involve covered surgical or ancillary services 

provided by an out-of-network provider. 

B. An enrollee who receives services described in 

subsection A of this section is obligated to pay the in-network 

cost-sharing requirement specified in the enrollee's or 
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applicable group health plan contract, which shall be 

determined using the carrier's median in-network contracted 

rate for the same or similar service in the same or similar 

geographic area. When there is no median in-network 

contracted rate for the specific services provided, the 

enrollee's cost-sharing requirement shall be determined as 

provided in § 38.2-3407.3 of the Code of Virginia. An 

enrollee who is enrolled in a high deductible health plan 

associated with a Health Savings Account or other health plan 

for which the carrier is prohibited from providing first-dollar 

coverage prior to the enrollee meeting the deductible 

requirement under 26 USC § 223(c)(2) or any other 

applicable federal or state law may be responsible for any 

additional amounts necessary to meet deductible requirements 

beyond those described in this subsection, including 

additional amounts pursuant to subsection E of this section 

and owed to the out-of-network provider in 14VAC5-405-40, 

but only to the extent that the deductible has not yet been met 

and not to exceed the deductible amount.  

C. When a clean claim is received pursuant to the provisions 

of subsection A of this section, the health carrier shall be 

responsible for: 

1. Providing an explanation of benefits to the enrollee and 

the out-of-network provider that reflects the cost-sharing 

requirement determined under this subsection;  

2. Applying the in-network cost-sharing requirement under 

subsection B of this section and any cost-sharing 

requirement paid by the enrollee for such services toward 

the in-network maximum out-of-pocket payment 

obligation; 

3. Making commercially reasonable payments for services 

other than cost-sharing requirements directly to the out-of-

network provider without requiring the completion of any 

assignment of benefits or other documentation by the 

provider or enrollee; 

4. Paying any additional amounts owed to the out-of-

network provider through good faith negotiation or 

arbitration directly to the out-of-network provider; and  

5. Making available to a provider through electronic or 

other method of communication generally used by a 

provider to verify enrollee eligibility and benefits 

information regarding whether an enrollee's health benefit 

plan is subject to the requirements of this section. 

D. If the enrollee pays the out-of-network provider an 

amount that exceeds the amount determined under subsection 

B of this section, the out-of-network provider shall be 

responsible for: 

1. Refunding to the enrollee the excess amount that the 

enrollee paid to the provider within 30 business days of 

receipt; and 

2. Paying the enrollee interest computed daily at the legal 

rate of interest stated in § 6.2-301 of the Code of Virginia 

beginning on the first calendar day after the 30 business 

days for any unrefunded payments. 

E. The amount paid to an out-of-network provider for health 

care services described in subsection A of this section shall be 

a commercially reasonable amount. Within 30 calendar days 

of receipt of a clean claim from an out-of-network provider, 

the carrier shall offer to pay the provider a commercially 

reasonable amount. Disputes between the out-of-network 

provider and the carrier regarding the commercially 

reasonable amount shall be handled as follows: 

1. If the out-of-network provider disputes the carrier's 

payment, the provider shall notify the carrier in writing no 

later than 30 calendar days after receipt of payment or 

payment notification from the carrier; 

2. The carrier and provider shall have 30 calendar days 

from the date of the notice described in subdivision E 1 of 

this subsection to negotiate in good faith; and 

3. If the carrier and provider do not agree to a 

commercially reasonable payment amount within the good 

faith negotiation period and either party chooses to pursue 

further action to resolve the dispute, the dispute shall be 

resolved through arbitration as provided in § 38.2-3445.02 

of the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-405-40. A carrier 

may not require a provider to reject or return claim 

payment as a condition of pursuing further arbitration. 

F. A health carrier shall not be prohibited from informing 

enrollees in a nonemergency situation of the availability of in-

network facilities that employ or contract with only in-

network providers that render surgical and ancillary services.  

G. The requirements of this chapter only apply to out-of-

network services rendered in Virginia. A carrier's payment for 

covered services received outside Virginia by an out-of-

network provider shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 

§147.138. An enrollee's payment responsibility for services 

received by an out-of-network provider outside Virginia may 

be based on such federal rules that allow balance billing. 

14VAC5-405-40. Arbitration process. 

A. If a good faith negotiation does not result in resolution of 

the dispute, the health carrier or provider may initiate 

arbitration by providing written notice of intent to arbitrate to 

the commission and the non-initiating party within 10 

calendar days following completion of the good faith 

negotiation period. The notice shall state the initiating party's 

final payment offer. 

B. Within 30 calendar days following receipt of the notice of 

intent to arbitrate, the non-initiating party shall provide its 

final payment offer to the initiating party. Agreement between 

the parties may be reached at any time in the process. The 
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claim shall be paid within 10 calendar days and the matter 

closed upon agreement or after the arbitration decision. 

C. The commission shall maintain a list of qualified 

arbitrators and each arbitrator's fixed fee on its website. 

1. Within five calendar days of the notice of intent to 

arbitrate, the initiating party shall notify the commission of 

either agreement on an arbitrator from the list or that the 

parties cannot agree on an arbitrator. 

2. If the parties cannot agree on an arbitrator, within three 

business days the commission shall provide the parties 

with the names of five arbitrators from the list. Within five 

calendar days, each party is responsible for reviewing the 

list of five arbitrators and notifying the commission if there 

is an apparent conflict of interest with any of the arbitrators 

on the list. Each party may veto up to two of the named 

arbitrators. If one name remains, that arbitrator shall be 

chosen. If more than one name remains, the commission 

shall choose the arbitrator from the remaining names. 

3. Once the arbitrator is chosen, the commission shall 

notify the parties and the arbitrator within three business 

days. 

4. The arbitrator's fee is payable within 10 calendar days of 

the assignment of the arbitrator with the health carrier and 

the provider to divide the fee equally.  

D. Both parties shall agree to a nondisclosure agreement 

provided by the commission and executed within 10 business 

days following receipt of the notice of intent to arbitrate. 

E. Within five calendar days after receiving notification of 

the final selection of an arbitrator, each party shall provide 

written submissions in support of its position directly to the 

arbitrator. Each party shall include in its written submission 

the evidence and methodology for asserting that the amount 

proposed to be paid is or is not commercially reasonable. Any 

party that fails to make a written submission required by this 

subsection without good cause shown will be in default. The 

arbitrator shall require the defaulting party to pay or accept 

the final payment offer of the non-defaulting party and may 

require the defaulting party to pay the entirety of the 

arbitrator's fee. 

F. The arbitrator shall consider the following factors in 

reviewing the submissions of the parties and making a 

decision requiring payment of the final offer amount of either 

the initiating or non-initiating party: 

1. The evidence and methodology submitted by the parties 

to assert that their final offer amount is reasonable; 

2. Patient characteristics and the circumstances and 

complexity of the case, including time and place of service 

and type of facility, that are not already reflected in the 

provider's billing code for the service;  

3. The arbitrator may also consider other information that a 

party believes is relevant as part of their original written 

submission, including data sets developed pursuant to 

§ 38.2-3445.03 of the Code of Virginia. The arbitrator shall 

not require extrinsic evidence of authenticity for admitting 

such data sets. 

G. Within 15 calendar days after receipt of the parties' 

written submissions, the arbitrator shall issue a written 

decision requiring payment of the final offer amount of either 

of the parties. The arbitrator shall notify the parties and the 

commission of this decision. The decision shall include an 

explanation by the arbitrator of the basis for the decision and 

factors relied upon in making the decision and copies of all 

written submissions by each party. The decision shall also 

include information required to be reported to the 

commission, including the name of the health carrier, the 

name of the provider, the provider's employer or business 

entity in which the provider has an ownership interest, the 

name of the facility where services were provided, and the 

type of health care service at issue. 

H. Within 30 calendar days of receipt of the arbitrator's 

decision, either party may appeal to the commission in 

accordance with the provisions of 5VAC5-20-100 B based 

only on one of the following grounds: (i) the decision was 

substantially influenced by corruption, fraud, or other undue 

means; (ii) there was evident partiality, corruption, or 

misconduct prejudicing the rights of any party; (iii) the 

arbitrator exceeded his powers; or (iv) the arbitrator 

conducted the proceeding contrary to the provisions of 

§ 38.2-3445.02 of the Code of Virginia, and commission rules 

in such a way as to materially prejudice the rights of the 

party. 

I. A single provider is permitted to bundle claims for 

arbitration. Multiple claims may be addressed in a single 

arbitration proceeding if the claims at issue (i) involve 

identical health carrier or administrator and provider parties; 

(ii) involve claims with the same or related Current 

Procedural Technology (CPT) codes, Healthcare Common 

Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes, or in the case of 

facility services, Diagnosis Related Group (DRG) codes, 

Revenue Codes, or other procedural codes relevant to a 

particular procedure, and (iii) occur within a period of two 

months of one another. Provider groups are not permitted to 

bundle claims for arbitration if the professional providing the 

service is not the same. 

J. All written submissions and notifications required under 

this section shall be submitted electronically. Individual 

information related to any arbitration is confidential and not 

subject to disclosure. 
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14VAC5-405-50. Arbitrator qualifications and 

application. 

A. Any person meeting the minimum qualifications of an 

arbitrator may submit an application on a form prescribed by 

the commission. An application fee of up to $500 may be 

required. The commission shall review the application within 

30 days of receipt and notify the arbitrator of its decision. 

B. An arbitrator approved by the commission shall meet the 

following minimum qualifications: 

1. Any professional license the arbitrator has is in good 

standing; 

2. Training in the principles of arbitration or dispute 

resolution by an organization recognized by the 

commission;  

3. Experience in matters related to medical or health care 

services; 

4. Completion of any training made available to the 

applicants by the commission;  

5. Experience in arbitration or dispute resolution; and 

6. Any other information deemed relevant by the 

commission.   

C. The applicant shall supply the following information to 

the commission as part of the application process: 

1. Number of years of experience in arbitrations or dispute 

resolutions; 

2. Number of years of experience engaging in the practice 

of medicine, law, or administration responsible for one or 

more of the following issues: health care billing disputes, 

carrier and provider or facility contract negotiations, health 

services coverage disputes, or other applicable experience; 

3. The names of the health carriers for which the arbitrator 

has conducted arbitrations or dispute resolutions; 

4. Membership in an association related to health care, 

arbitration or dispute resolutions and any association 

training related to health care or arbitration or dispute 

resolution; 

5. A list of specific areas of expertise in which the 

applicant conducts arbitrations;  

6. Fee to be charged for arbitration that shall reflect the 

total amount that will be charged by the proposed 

arbitrator, inclusive of indirect costs, administrative fees, 

and incidental expenses; and 

7. Any other information deemed relevant by the 

commission. 

D. Before accepting any appointment, an arbitrator shall 

ensure that there is no conflict of interest that would 

adversely impact the arbitrator's independence and 

impartiality in rendering a decision in the arbitration. A 

conflict of interest includes (i) current or recent ownership or 

employment of the arbitrator or a close family member by 

any health carrier; (ii) serving as or having been employed by 

a physician, health care provider, or a health care facility; or 

(iii) having a material professional, familial, or financial 

conflict of interest with a party to the arbitration to which the 

arbitrator is assigned. A close family member is generally a 

spouse, child, or other person living in your home for whom 

you provide more than half of their financial support. 

E. An arbitrator shall ensure that arbitrations are conducted 

within the specified timeframes and that required notices are 

provided in a timely manner. 

F. The arbitrator shall maintain records and provide reports 

to the commission as requested in accordance with the 

requirements set out in § 38.2-3445.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and 14VAC5-405-40. 

G. The commission shall immediately terminate the 

approval of an arbitrator who no longer meets the 

qualifications or requirements to serve as an arbitrator. 

Failure to disclose any known facts that a reasonable person 

would consider likely to affect the impartiality of the 

arbitrator in the arbitration proceeding shall serve as potential 

grounds for termination. 

14VAC5-405-60. Data sets. 

A. The commission shall contract with Virginia Health 

Information or its successor to establish a data set and 

business process to provide health carriers, health care 

providers, and arbitrators with data to assist in determining 

commercially reasonable payments and resolving payment 

disputes for out-of-network medical services rendered by 

health care providers. This contractor will develop the data 

sets and business process in collaboration with health carriers 

and health care providers. The data set shall be reviewed by 

the advisory committee established pursuant to § 32.1-

276.7:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The 2020 data set shall be based upon the most recently 

available full calendar year of claims data drawn from 

commercial health plan claims and shall not include claims 

paid under Medicare or Medicaid or other claims paid on 

other than a fee-for-service basis. The 2020 data set shall be 

adjusted annually for inflation by applying the Consumer 

Price Index-Medical Component as published by the Bureau 

of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor to the 

previous year's data set.  

C. The commission may request other adjustments to the 

data sets as it deems necessary. 

14VAC5-405-70. Notification to consumers. 

A. The notice of consumer rights shall be in a standard 

format provided by the commission and available on the 

commission's website. 
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B. A health carrier shall provide an enrollee with: 

1. A clear description of the health plan's out-of-network 

health benefits outlined in the plan documents that also 

explains the circumstances under which the enrollee may 

have payment responsibility in excess of cost-sharing 

amounts for services provided out-of-network; 

2. The notice of consumer rights delivered with the plan 

documents; and 

3. An explanation of benefits containing claims from out-

of-network providers that clearly indicates whether the 

enrollee may or may not be subject to balance billing. 

C. A health carrier shall update its website and provider 

directory no later than 30 days after the addition or 

termination of a participating provider.  

D. A health care facility shall provide the notice of 

consumer rights to an enrollee at the time any nonemergency 

service is scheduled and also along with the bill. A health 

care facility shall provide the notice of consumer rights to an 

enrollee with any bill for an emergency service. The notice 

may be provided electronically. However, a posted notice on 

a website will not satisfy this requirement. 

E. A health care provider shall provide a notice of consumer 

rights upon request and post the notice on its website, along 

with a list of carrier provider networks with which it 

contracts. If no website is available, a health care provider 

shall provide to each consumer a list of carrier provider 

networks with which it contracts and the notice of consumer 

rights.  

14VAC5-405-80. Self-funded group health plans may opt-

in. 

A. A self-funded group health plan that elects to participate 

in §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the Code of 

Virginia, shall provide notice to the commission and to the 

third-party administrator of the self-funded group health plan 

of their election decision on a form prescribed by the 

commission. The completed form must include an attestation 

that the self-funded group health plan has elected to 

participate in and be bound by §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-

3445.07 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter, except as 

described in subsection E of this section. The form will be 

posted on the commission's public website for use by self-

funded group health plans. 

B. A self-funded group health plan that elects to opt in shall 

reflect in its coverage documents its participation pursuant to 

subsection A of this section. The self-funded group health 

plan or plan administrator shall submit the required form 

electronically to the commission at least 30 days prior to the 

effective date. No other documents are required to be filed 

with the commission. 

C. A self-funded group health plan may elect to initiate its 

participation on January 1st of any year or in any year on the 

first day of the self-funded group health plan's plan year. 

D. A self-funded group health plan's election occurs on an 

annual basis. A group may choose to automatically renew its 

election to opt in to §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the 

Code of Virginia on an annual basis or it may choose to 

renew on an annual basis until the commission receives 

advance notice from the plan that it is terminating its election 

as of either December 31 of a calendar year or the last day of 

its plan year. Notices under this subsection must be submitted 

to the commission at least 30 days in advance of the effective 

date of the election to initiate participation and the effective 

date of the termination of participation. 

E. Self-funded group health plan sponsors and their third-

party administrators may develop their own internal processes 

related to member notification, member appeals, and other 

functions associated with any fiduciary duty to enrollees 

under ERISA. 

F. A list of all participating entities shall be posted on the 

commission's public website, to be updated at least each 

quarter. Posted information shall include relevant plan 

information. 

G. A carrier that administers a self-funded group health plan 

shall, at the time of coverage verification, make information 

available to a provider of the group's participation in the 

provisions of this chapter.  

14VAC5-405-90. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 

person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by 

a court, the remainder of this chapter and the application of 

the provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 

affected. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have been 

filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may 

click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms 

are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed at the 

Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-405) 

Notice of Consumer Rights (URL to be provided) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6423; Filed July 13, 2020, 3:41 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-80).  

Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: September 29, 2020.  

Agency Contact: First Sergeant Shawn Gobble, Assistant 

Safety Officer, Motor Carrier Division, Department of State 

Police, 3719 Saunders Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, 

telephone (804) 278-5331, or email 

shawn.gobble@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment brings the Virginia Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (19VAC30-20) into compliance with the 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by 

the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Administration, with amendments 

promulgated and in effect as of June 10, 2020, pursuant to 

the United States Motor Carrier Safety Act (49 CFR Parts 

385 and 395) as amended by 85 FR 33396-33452, 

published June 1, 2020. 

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance.  

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to this 

chapter operating in interstate or intrastate commerce within 

or through the Commonwealth of Virginia shall comply with 

the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by 

the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration, with amendments promulgated and in 

effect as of January 1 September 29, 2020, pursuant to the 

United States Motor Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR 

Parts 366, 370 through 376, 379, 380 Subparts E and F, 382, 

385, 386 Subpart G, 387, 390 through 397, and 399, which 

are incorporated in this chapter by reference, with certain 

exceptions.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6413; Filed July 10, 2020, 6:28 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, 

or police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-70. Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Regulations (amending 19VAC30-70-1, 

19VAC30-70-9, 19VAC30-70-9.1, 19VAC30-70-9.2, 

19VAC30-70-9.3, 19VAC30-70-10.1, 19VAC30-70-25, 

19VAC30-70-40, 19VAC30-70-80, 19VAC30-70-140, 

19VAC30-70-160, 19VAC30-70-190, 19VAC30-70-580).  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: September 4, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Captain Ronald Maxey, Safety Officer, 

Department of State Police, 3719 Saunders Ave, Richmond, 

VA 23227, telephone (804) 278-5305, or email 

ron.maxey@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Rules and Regulations as follows: 

1. Waive the requirement for superintendent approval of 

certain equipment under specified conditions. 

2. Distinguish between the voluntary withdrawal of an 

application and the rejection of an application and update 

forms generally. 

3. Update the procedures for applying for an inspector's 

license. 

4. Update the reinstatement process. 

5. Eliminate the requirement that requests for application 

materials must be in writing. 

6. Update inspection requirements related to vehicles 

obtained at auctions and military surplus vehicles. 

7. Change the portion of the inspection fee forwarded to 

the department to $.70. 

8. Update requirements for checking wear, damage, and 

foreign materials on brakes. 

9. Update requirements for headlamps. 

10. Conform to a 2019 statutory change regarding the 

color and placement of various lights on specified 

emergency vehicles. 

11. Require vehicles not originally equipped with a stop 

lamp to have two brake lights. 

12. Clarify the permissible position of certain devices on 

windshields of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 10, 

001 pounds or greater. 

mailto:shawn.gobble@vsp.virginia.gov
mailto:ron.maxey@vsp.virginia.gov
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Part I  

Administration of Virginia's Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Program  

19VAC30-70-1. Purpose and authority.  

Virginia's Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program was 

developed and adopted to promote highway safety. The 

program model is based on the National Highway Traffic 

Safety Administration Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 

Standards. Vehicles submitted for inspection must be 

compliant with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 

applicable on the date of manufacture. The goal of the 

Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program is to assure all 

Virginia registered vehicles are mechanically safe to operate 

over the highways of the Commonwealth.  

The rules and regulations governing the Official Motor 

Vehicle Inspection Program are contained in the Official 

Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. These rules and 

regulations are promulgated under the authority of Chapter 10 

(§ 46.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia. All 

official inspection stations shall comply with these rules and 

regulations, issuing approval certificates only to those 

vehicles which the inspections shall determine to be in 

compliance with those rules and regulations.  

For devices or equipment required to be approved pursuant 

to § 46.2-1005 of Title 46.2 of the Code of Virginia, the 

superintendent may waive such approval and the issuance of a 

certificate of approval when the device or equipment is 

identified as complying with the standards and specifications 

of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), the American 

National Standards Institute (ANSI), or the regulations of the 

federal Department of Transportation (DOT). 

These rules and regulations are intended to ensure a uniform 

system of corrective action for those who violate the rules and 

regulations of the Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program.  

The Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual 

covers administrative procedure as well as numerous 

vehicular safety items of varying importance. It is, therefore, 

necessary that the various sections of the manual be divided 

into categories of seriousness. This will provide a uniform 

system of corrective action for the certified inspector 

mechanics inspectors and the inspection stations.  

19VAC30-70-9. Inspector requirements. 

A. The inspection of motor vehicles required by this chapter 

shall be made only by those individuals who are certified and 

licensed as safety inspectors by the Department of State 

Police. The procedures outlined in this section are applicable 

to the processing of applications for initial certification, 

reclassification of safety inspector's licenses, and 

reinstatement of suspended or revoked safety inspector's 

licenses. 

B. All certified inspectors shall be at least 18 years of age 

and meet the following qualifications:  

1. A minimum of one year of practical experience as an 

automotive mechanic or six months of practical experience 

as an automotive mechanic combined with an additional 

and separate six months of mirroring a certified state 

inspector, or 

2. Satisfactorily completed a training program in the field 

of automotive mechanics approved by the Superintendent 

of State Police. 

A person who has met either of the practical experience 

requirements in repairing motorcycles may be certified to 

inspect motorcycles only. A person who meets practical 

experience requirements in repairing trailers may be certified 

to inspect trailers only. 

C. Each mechanic entering the inspection program is 

required to satisfactorily pass a written and practical 

examination exhibiting knowledge of the inspection 

procedures. 

D. Each certified inspector shall possess a valid Virginia 

driver's license with the following exceptions: 

1. An inspector who is a resident of an adjoining state 

holding a valid driver's license in that state and who 

commutes regularly to work in Virginia; or 

2. A member of the armed forces of the United States on 

active duty, or a dependent thereof, who holds a driver's 

license from his home state. 

E. An inspector whose driver's license is suspended or 

revoked, including the seven-day administrative suspension 

for an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), must 

immediately notify the station's supervising trooper or the 

local Safety Division Area Office of the suspension or 

revocation. The suspension or revocation of an inspector's 

driver's license shall automatically act as a suspension of his 

privilege to inspect motor vehicles until such suspension or 

revocation is terminated, and the reinstatement has been made 

by the Superintendent of State Police. 

F. Each licensed safety inspector must have a valid safety 

inspector's license in his possession at all times while 

conducting inspections. 

G. Each safety inspector with a valid safety inspector's 

license need only present such valid license to his new 

employer to commence participation in the program at a new 

place of employment. Management of the inspection station 

is required to notify the Safety Division when a safety 

inspector begins or ends employment. This notification may 

be handled by contacting the inspection station's supervising 

trooper by telephone. 

H. In the event the safety inspector's license becomes 

mutilated, lost, or stolen, the inspector must notify the 
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Department of State Police immediately to request a duplicate 

using the Safety Inspector Notification Form. All required 

information shall be printed legibly and completely. An 

inspector who is not employed, writes "Inactive" in the 

station name block.  

In those cases where notification is being made due to an 

address change, it is necessary to complete the Safety 

Inspector Notification Form and submit it to the Safety 

Division Headquarters. The inspector's information will be 

updated within the MVIP database by the Inspector Files 

Clerk.  

NOTE: The Safety Inspector Notification Form can be 

downloaded from the Virginia State Police website under the 

Vehicle Safety Inspection link. 

NOTE: Safety inspector licenses are only generated and 

distributed for initial certifications, renewals, name changes, 

and mutilated, lost, or stolen licenses. Inspectors submitting a 

change of address notification are not issued a new license. 

I. An inspector must immediately notify the station's 

supervising trooper or local Safety Division Area Office 

within 72 hours of an arrest for a criminal offense or the 

institution of a civil action. 

J. Requirements for safety inspector applicants with a 

specific learning disability. 

1. Applicants must furnish documentation from the 

particular school division where the applicant was 

classified as having a learning disability. The specific 

learning disability must be clearly identified. 

2. Once the learning disability has been documented, and if 

applicable, the applicant will be allowed to test with the 

written exam being orally presented. 

3. The station management, where the applicant is 

employed or to be employed, must agree to have someone 

present during the hours the employee is conducting 

inspections to assist with the reading of the Official Motor 

Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual when necessary during 

the initial three-year certification period. If the inspector 

changes stations within the first three-year period, it is the 

inspector's responsibility to notify station management of 

his disability and this requirement. 

19VAC30-70-9.1. Inspector certification. 

A. Upon request, the Inspector Certification Safety Inspector 

Application (Form SP-170B) and Criminal History Record 

Request (Form SP-167) are provided online via the Virginia 

State Police website to individuals desiring appointment as 

certified safety inspectors. 

1. The application package includes instructions to help 

guide the applicant through the process. 

2. Applicants may be certified in any of the following 

classes after completing the necessary requirements and 

the appropriate examinations: 

a. Class A: May inspect any motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer. 

b. Class B: May inspect trailers only. 

c. Class C: May inspect motorcycles only. 

B. Applicants should immediately prepare for the written 

examination by studying the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual in its entirety. 

1. When sufficiently prepared for the examination, the 

applicant should visit a testing site in his area to complete 

the appropriate examination. 

2. The applicant must present his completed application in 

accordance with the provisions established in 19VAC30-

70-9.2. 

3. If the applicant's driver's license is expired, suspended, 

or revoked, the applicant will be advised, and the 

application destroyed. The applicant may reapply after his 

driver's license is reinstated. 

C. The Class A inspector examination consists of five 

sections containing 20 questions each. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section. The Classes B and C 

inspector examinations will consist of 50 questions each. A 

minimum score of 74% must be attained. If the applicant fails 

the test, failure is noted at the end of Section I on the Form 

SP-170B with the word "failed" and the date. The application 

is returned to the applicant. Applicants failing to attain the 

minimum score are not allowed to test again for 30 days. 

Applicants failing a second or subsequent examination are not 

allowed to test again for six months. 

D. The Inspectors Certification Safety Inspector Application 

(Form SP-170B) and Criminal History Record Request (Form 

SP-167) for applicants who achieve a minimum score or 

greater is forwarded to Safety Division Headquarters. 

1. The applicant's record is checked against safety 

inspector and Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) 

files. 

2. Inspection and criminal record information along with 

the applicant's driver transcript is forwarded with the 

application to the appropriate Safety Division Area Office 

for investigation. 

3. A credit check is performed to determine that the 

applicant associated with the inspection program is in 

compliance with any judgment order or is meeting all 

financial obligations, or both. 

E. A background investigation is conducted consisting of the 

following: 
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1. Verification that the applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. Verification that the applicant has not less than one 

year's practical experience employed as an automotive 

technician repairing vehicles for the public, or six months 

of practical experience as an automotive mechanic 

combined with an additional and separate six months of 

mirroring a certified state inspector, or has satisfactorily 

completed a training program in the field of automotive 

mechanics approved by the Department of State Police. 

The following training programs in the field of automotive 

mechanics have been approved as a substitute for the one 

year's practical experience requirement: 

a. The two-year associate degree or diploma programs in 

automotive technology offered by the Virginia 

Community College System consisting of the following 

minimum curriculum: 

(1) Automotive Electrical Systems - three semester 

hours. 

(2) Braking Systems - three semester hours. 

(3) Emissions Control Systems - three semester hours. 

(4) Suspension and Steering Systems - three semester 

hours. 

(5) Vehicle Safety Inspection - two semester hours. 

b. The 1,080-hour Career Technical Automotive Services 

Technology Program, offered by the Office of Career 

Technical Education, State Department of Education, in 

the various technical schools located throughout Virginia 

or be certified by the National Institute for Automotive 

Service Excellence (ASE), or both. 

(1) Upon the successful completion of this course, 

including a practical test as defined in this section, the 

student must complete a Mechanics Certification Safety 

Inspector Application (Form SP-170B) and a Criminal 

History Record Request (Form SP-167), pass a written 

test as defined in subsection C of this section, and submit 

to a background investigation as defined in this 

subsection. Upon successful completion of these 

requirements, the student, if 18 years of age, is certified 

as a safety inspector and issued a safety inspector license. 

(2) If the student scores less than 75% on any part of the 

examination, the application will be returned to the 

certifying trooper. Students scoring less than 75% on any 

part of the examination may retest at the certifying 

trooper's next recertification testing date, but not sooner 

than 30 days from the date of the last examination. If the 

student passes the test at this time and is at least 18 years 

of age, he is issued a safety inspector license. Upon the 

student's 18th birthday, providing he still meets all of the 

requirements, the student will be issued a safety inspector 

license. 

(3) Students failing the second written examination are 

not allowed to test again for six months. In order to retest 

the student must be at least 18 years of age and must 

complete the application process set forth for original 

certification. 

c. The 1,500-hour Course #1 entitled "Auto-Diesel 

Technician Course" offered by the Nashville Auto Diesel 

College, Inc., 1524 Gallatin Road, Nashville, Tennessee 

37206. 

3. A determination of the applicant's mechanical ability 

through interviews with employers and customers. 

4. A review of the applicant's current driving record on file 

with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is utilized 

in determining applicant's suitability for certification. 

5. Determination of the character and reputation of the 

applicant through previous associates, employers, and 

records. 

6. Determination of the applicant's attitude toward the 

inspection program and receptiveness to State Police 

supervision through personal interview. 

7. The investigating trooper shall administer a practical 

examination to determine the applicant's ability to conduct 

a safety inspection. The applicant will conduct a complete 

inspection, including the use of the optical headlight aimer. 

This shall be conducted at the applicant's station of 

employment. If the applicant is not employed at a certified 

inspection station, the applicant may make arrangement 

with one to conduct practical testing. 

F. Any applicant whose application is voluntarily withdrawn 

or rejected due to incomplete documentation may not reapply 

sooner than six months from the date of the withdrawal or the 

date the applicant are notified of the rejection of his 

application. Any applicant whose application is denied may 

not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 

notifying the denial. 

G. When a safety inspector is certified, the bottom of the 

Form SP-170B is completed by the certifying trooper. The 

classification for which the safety inspector is being certified 

and the date of certification must be entered by the trooper on 

the bottom of the Form SP-170B. The Form SP-170B shall 

then be forwarded to the Safety Division Area Office. 

H. Upon certification, the supervising trooper fills out the 

temporary inspector's license in triplicate, forwarding 

providing the original (white copy) to Safety Division 

Headquarters the inspector, issuing forwarding the canary 

copy to the inspector Safety Division Headquarters, and 

retaining the pink copy at the Safety Division Area Office for 

six months. Once the safety inspector has been issued a 

temporary the license, he is eligible to begin inspecting. 
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I. All safety inspector licenses shall be valid for a period of 

three years. 

19VAC30-70-9.2. Examinations for inspector's license. 

A. The Department of State Police administers the written 

examination for original certification for all inspectors. With 

few exceptions, recertifications are done at the normal testing 

sites along with original certification tests. 

B. In order for an individual to become a certified safety 

inspector, the following actions shall be followed: 

1. The person shall download the following forms from the 

Virginia State Police website: 

a. Inspector Certification Safety Inspector Application, 

Form SP-170B; 

b. Criminal History Record Request, Form SP-167; and 

c. Inspector Application Worksheet;  

d. Authorization for Release of Information (SP-170D). 

2. The applicant shall (i) complete Form SP-170B in its 

entirety and have it notarized; (ii) complete and have 

notarized Form SP-167 with appropriate credit card 

information or an attached $15 cashier's check, business 

check or money order payable to "Virginia State Police"; 

and (iii) complete the Inspector Applicant Worksheet with 

two character references, two mechanical references, 

places of employment, and qualified automotive training, 

or schools completed or mechanical experience. 

3. The applicant shall then take the completed application 

forms to any State Police testing site and present it to the 

trooper conducting the written examination. Applicants 

arriving after the designated testing time are not eligible to 

participate in the written examination. 

4. The trooper verifies the notarizations and checks the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 

expired, suspended, or revoked, the applicant is advised, 

and the application is destroyed. The applicant may 

reapply once the driver's license has been reissued or 

reinstated. 

5. If the applicant successfully passes the test, the trooper 

notes at the end of Section I on the Form SP-170B the 

word "passed" and the date. The trooper signs the test and 

sends it to Safety Division Headquarters, Inspectors File 

Section for further processing and investigation. 

6. The Class A examination consists of five sections: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section contains 20 questions. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section and for the practical 

examination. The Classes B and C examinations consist of 

50 questions each. A minimum score of 74 must be 

attained on the written and practical examination. 

7. If the applicant fails the test, failure is noted at the end 

of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "failed" 

and the date. 

8. If the applicant desires to test again for the written or 

practical test, he may do so after 30 days. If the applicant is 

again unsuccessful in passing either examination, the 

trooper shall take the application forms and forward them 

to Safety Division Headquarters, Inspector Files Section. 

The applicant may contact his assigned Safety Division 

trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office after six 

months to reapply. 

C. Recertification. 

1. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification written 

examination. Inspectors arriving after the designated 

testing time are not eligible to participate in the written 

examination. 

2. All safety inspectors are required to satisfactorily pass 

the appropriate examination for the license the inspector 

holds. 

3. A safety inspector is not permitted to perform 

inspections after the expiration date of his inspector's 

license. 

4. A safety inspector's license shall be valid for a period of 

three years. 

5. All safety inspectors' licenses display an inspector's VSP 

number and do not display the social security number. The 

inspector's VSP number is written on the inspection sticker 

receipt or displayed on the automated MVIP receipt. 

6. Safety inspector testing sites are not included on an 

inspection bulletin. Testing site information is updated in 

the computer system so that the usual letters going to 

inspectors to remind them of their upcoming recertification 

contain the updated information. All Safety Division Area 

Offices also have the updated information. 

7. If the safety inspector has any questions about the 

testing sites, the safety inspector should contact the Safety 

Division Area Office closest to him. The office numbers 

are: 

Area 61 (Richmond) 804-743-2217 

Area 62 (Culpeper) 540-829-7414 

Area 63 (Amherst) 434-946-7676 

Area 64 (Wytheville) 276-228-6220 

Area 65 (Suffolk) 757-925-2432 
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Area 66 (Salem) 540-387-5437 

Area 67 (Fairfax) 703-803-2622 

D. Vo-tech students who successfully complete the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course and who are 

expected to graduate from the program with the required 

1,080 hours and meet the requirements of the Department of 

State Police are certified as safety inspectors. 

1. The vo-tech instructor contacts his assigned Safety 

Division trooper or the local Safety Division Area Office 

by March 15 of each year. The written examination is 

scheduled for students who are at least 18 years of age or 

who will be at least 18 years of age by March 31 of that 

year. 

2. The Safety Division troopers responsible for 

administering the written examinations at the vo-tech 

centers forward sufficient applications, Form SP-170B, for 

each student to complete prior to the testing date. A 

Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-167) if the 

student is at least 18 years of age must also be completed. 

The Safety Division trooper indicates at the top of the 

Form SP-170B the name of the vo-tech school where the 

examination is given. 

3. The trooper verifies the notarizations and checks the 

driver's license for validity and identification of the 

applicant. If the applicant's driver's license is found to be 

expired, suspended, or revoked, the applicant is advised, 

and the application is destroyed. The applicant may 

reapply once the driver's license has been reissued or 

reinstated. 

4. If the applicant successfully completes the written 

examination, the trooper notes at the end of Section I on 

the Form SP-170B the word "passed" and the date. The 

trooper signs the test and forwards it to Safety Division 

Headquarters, Mechanics File Inspector Files Section for 

further processing and investigation. Due to the age of 

these students, this should be done in a minimal amount of 

time. 

5. If the applicant fails the test, failure is noted at the end 

of Section I on the Form SP-170B with the word "failed" 

and the date. 

a. The Safety Division trooper only administers one 

written examination at the vo-tech center. Those students 

who fail the first written examination may retest, but not 

sooner than 30 days from the date of the last written 

examination. Those students who fail the first written 

examination keep the Form SP-170B in their possessions 

possession and present it to the Safety Division trooper at 

the test site prior to taking the second written 

examination. 

b. The second written examination is not administered to 

the students prior to the end of the school year. Prior to 

taking the second written examination, the student shall 

have completed the Vocational Automotive Mechanics 

Course and must be employed at an official inspection 

station. These students are not required to have 

completed the one year of practical experience as an 

automotive mechanic. 

c. For those students who pass the second written 

examination, the Safety Division trooper will forward the 

student's Form SP-170B to the Safety Division for 

further processing and investigation. Those students who 

successfully pass all phases for original certification are 

then issued a temporary an inspector license by the 

Safety Division trooper. 

d. Students failing the second written examination are not 

allowed to test again for six months and must complete 

the application process as set forth for original 

certification. 

6. The written examination consists of five sections: 

general information, brakes, suspension, lights, and glass. 

Each section contains 20 questions. A minimum score of 

75% must be attained for each section. 

7. Those students who successfully complete all phases of 

the written examination and background checks are then 

administered a practical examination. The vo-tech 

instructor, who holds a valid Class A Safety Inspector's 

License, administers the practical "Class A" examination to 

each student who is expected to graduate from the 

program. The Safety Division trooper should be on hand to 

observe at least some of the practical examinations 

administered by the vo-tech instructor to ensure that testing 

is administered according to Safety Division regulations. 

8.Those students Each student who successfully complete 

completes all phases for original certification by March 31 

will be issued a temporary an inspector license by the 

Safety Division trooper, provided the student is at least 18 

years of age. The Safety Division trooper then forwards the 

completed temporary inspector license to the Safety 

Division Headquarters, Inspector Files Section will issue 

the original (white copy) to the inspector, forward the 

canary copy to Safety Division Headquarters, and retain 

the pink copy at the Safety Division Area Office for six 

months. 

a. The Safety Division mails a permanent inspector's 

license to the student, provided he is at least 18 years of 

age by March 31 of that year. b. The vo-tech instructor is 

required to contact the Safety Division trooper prior to 

the end of the school year if any student fails to complete 

the Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course. 

c. b. Any student who fails to complete the Vocational 

Automotive Mechanics Course is not licensed as a 
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certified safety inspector and is required to complete the 

application process as set forth for original certification. 

9. Those students who will be at least 18 years of age after 

March 31 of that year and have successfully completed the 

Vocational Automotive Mechanics Course must contact 

the Safety Division trooper assigned to the inspection 

stations where they are employed and complete the 

application process as set forth for original certification. 

These students are not required to have completed the one 

year of practical experience as an automotive mechanic. 

19VAC30-70-9.3. Reinstatement of safety inspector 

license; classification change; recertification. 

A. Reinstatement of safety inspector licenses following a 

period of suspension or revocation. 

1. The inspector shall contact his supervising trooper or 

nearest Safety Division Area Office to initiate the 

reinstatement process. 

2. If the inspector is suspended for less than six months, 

the safety inspector's license will be held at the local Safety 

Division Area Office and returned upon the expiration of 

the suspension period. A check will be made by the 

supervising trooper with Department of Motor Vehicles 

(DMV) prior to reinstatement. 

3. Once a safety inspector's license has been suspended for 

a period of six months or more, regardless of the cause for 

suspension, no application Form SP-170B is required for 

reinstatement; however, Form SP-170D and Form SP-167 

must be completed. The supervising trooper will conduct 

checks with DMV, all court jurisdictions, and the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange. The supervising trooper shall 

also review a credit report prior to reinstatement of the 

inspector the inspector's history while in the inspection 

program to include the inspector's disciplinary record and a 

current credit report, which will be considered contingent 

upon reinstatement. 

4. If the suspended inspector's license expires during the 

suspension period, the inspector may complete the process 

for inspector recertification as set forth in this section. The 

trooper administering the test will retain all documentation. 

The inspector's license will be returned at the end of the 

suspension period, if the suspended inspector's records 

indicate he is suitable for reinstatement, and the 

appropriate documents forwarded to the Safety Division. 

5. Inspectors whose safety inspector's licenses have been 

revoked must complete the application process for initial 

certification as set forth in this section. 

B. Safety inspectors who desire to change their license 

classification must complete the written and practical 

examinations as outlined in 19VAC30-70-9.2. 

C. Safety inspectors desiring to renew their inspector's 

license must participate in the recertification process. The 

process requires the following: 

1. Review of training materials as may be presented at the 

certification testing site by State Police personnel. 

2. Completion of the appropriate examination for the class 

license the inspector holds. A minimum score must be 

attained as previously outlined in 19VAC30-70-9.2. 

3. An inspector holding an expired license may be tested as 

long as his license has not been expired more than one 

month. During the period of expiration, he will not be 

permitted to perform inspections. 

An inspector holding an expired inspector license that has 

not been expired more than one month and who fails the 

recertification examination the first time during this one-

month grace period may be retested one additional time not 

sooner than 30 days from the date of the last recertification 

examination. Inspectors failing this subsequent 

examination are not retested for six months and must 

complete the application process as set forth for initial 

certification. 

D. When a request for reinstatement is denied, inspectors 

who are suspended for a period of six months or more may 

not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 

notifying the denial. Following an initial certification 

investigation for a revoked inspector, if the revoked inspector 

is denied, he may not reapply sooner than 12 months from the 

date of the letter notifying the denial. 

19VAC30-70-10.1. Official inspection station 

appointment. 

A. These procedures are applicable to the application 

process for initial appointment, reclassification of 

appointment, change in ownership, change in name, and 

reinstatement of the appointment for an official inspection 

station following a period of suspension or revocation. 

For investigations involving changes to the original report, 

only those areas of inquiry that have changed need to be 

reported. 

For changes in station name, location, and classification 

only, a narrative report is not required. These requests may be 

reported on the Form SP-164. This report should include 

information pertinent to the change. A statement should be 

included to report verification of information contained in the 

station's new application for appointment. 

1. Any garage or other facility that routinely performs 

motor vehicle, motorcycle, or trailer repairs may apply to 

the Department of State Police in writing by contacting 

their Safety Division office for an application packet for 

appointment as an Official Safety Inspection Station. 
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a. The Department of State Police will forward an 

application package to the applicant. 

b. The application forms are to be completed and 

returned to the supervising trooper processing the 

application within 45 days. 

c. The application shall include the names, addresses, 

email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and 

social security numbers for the applicant and each person 

who will supervise or otherwise participate in the 

program. Each person is also required to execute an 

Authorization for Release of Information Form (SP-170-

D) and a Criminal History Record Request (Form SP-

167). When a corporation with other established 

inspection stations is applying for an additional location, 

it shall not be necessary for the corporate officers to 

complete the Form SP-167 or undergo the usual 

background investigation. In these situations, the 

Department of State Police is only concerned with the 

personnel who will be responsible for handling and 

securing the safety inspection supplies. 

2. Each inspection station application is reviewed, and the 

applicant must meet the following criteria: 

a. The facility must have been in business at its present 

location for a minimum of 90 days. 

(1) This requirement does not apply to a change in 

location for a previously appointed station. 

(2) This requirement does not apply to a repair garage 

that is an established business and is expanding its 

mechanical convenience to the general public by the 

addition of other repair locations. 

(3) This requirement does not apply to a business license 

as a franchised dealer of new vehicles. 

b. The facility must perform motor vehicle, motorcycle, 

or trailer repairs routinely. 

c. The station must have on hand or be willing to 

purchase the necessary equipment as identified by the 

Department of State Police for performing safety 

inspections. 

d. The station must employ or be willing to employ at 

least one safety inspector with the appropriate license for 

the desired station's classification. 

e. The facility's physical plant must meet the specific 

standards for the station classification for which the 

appointment is required. 

3. Each applicant station must undergo a background 

investigation to determine if the business and associated 

personnel meet the following minimum criteria: 

a. A review of the history of management and all persons 

employed who will participate in the inspection program 

must reflect general compliance with all federal, state, 

and local laws. 

b. The character, attitude, knowledge of safety inspection 

requirements, mechanical ability, and experience of each 

individual who will perform or supervise safety 

inspections must be satisfactory. 

c. The applicant and all participants must be familiar with 

and agree to comply with the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual. Each vehicle presented for safety 

inspection must be inspected in strict compliance with 

the Code of Virginia and the Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Manual. 

d. The business establishment must be financially stable. 

Its future existence should not be dependent upon 

appointment as an inspection station. The applicant and 

all persons to be associated with the inspection program 

must be in compliance with any judgment order or 

meeting all financial obligations, or both. The applicant 

and all persons to be associated with the inspection 

program must be in good financial standing for a period 

of at least one year. 

Following any change in ownership, new ownership must 

show financial stability for a minimum of 90 days prior 

to their official inspection station appointment. 

4. Each business must agree to provide the necessary 

space, equipment, and personnel to conduct inspections as 

required by the Department of State Police. Facilities and 

equipment must be maintained in a manner satisfactory to 

the superintendent. All safety inspectors must read and be 

thoroughly familiar with the instructions furnished for 

Official Inspection Stations and agree to abide by these 

instructions and to carefully inspect every motor vehicle, 

trailer, and semi-trailer presented for inspection as required 

by the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual. 

Businesses must operate inspection stations in strict 

accordance with the Code of Virginia and the Official 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual. The appointment of an 

inspection station may be canceled at any time by the 

superintendent and are automatically canceled if any 

change in address, name, or ownership is made without 

proper notification. 

5. Any applicant whose application is voluntarily 

withdrawn, or rejected due to incomplete documentation, 

may not reapply sooner than six months from the date of 

the withdrawal or the date the applicant is notified of the 

rejection of his application. Any applicant whose 

application is denied may not reapply sooner than 12 

months from the date of the letter notifying the denial. 

6. Each business to be appointed will be assigned one of 11 

classifications based upon the physical plant specifications 

or other criteria as follows: 
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a. Unlimited: The inspection lane shall be level or on the 

same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The front 

portion of the lane shall be level or on the same plane for 

a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at least 13-

1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in width. 

Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck towing 

a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane. 

b. Small exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane for 40 feet. The entrance opening shall 

be at least 10 feet in height, eight feet in width, and 

adequate to accommodate vehicles 40 feet in length. Any 

vehicle exceeding 10 feet in height may be inspected if 

the building entrance will allow such vehicle to 

completely enter the designated inspection lane. 

c. Large exemption: The inspection lane shall be level or 

on the same plane and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

front portion of the lane shall be level or on the same 

plane for a minimum of 40 feet. The entrance shall be at 

least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less than nine feet in 

width. Space should be adequate to allow a tractor truck 

towing a 53-foot trailer access to the inspection lane. 

This classification is required to inspect only vehicles 

with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) exceeding 

10,000 pounds. 

d. Motorcycle: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance shall be adequate to 

accommodate the motorcycle and the operator. 

e. Unlimited trailer: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and no less 

than nine feet in width. This classification is required to 

inspect all trailers. 

f. Small trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 40 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 10 feet in height and adequate to 

accommodate trailers 40 feet in length. This 

classification is required to inspect only those trailers not 

exceeding 40 feet in length or 10 feet in height measured 

to the highest part of the trailer but not including racks, 

air conditioners, antennas, etc. 

g. Large trailer exemption: The inspection lane shall be 

reasonably level and in good condition for 60 feet. The 

entrance shall be at least 13-1/2 feet in height and 

adequate to accommodate all legal size trailers. This 

classification is required to inspect only property-

carrying trailers exceeding 10 feet in height or 40 feet in 

length. 

h. Safety and emissions: The inspection lane shall be 

level or on the same plane. The lane must accommodate 

most passenger cars and light trucks. The emissions 

equipment must be placed in the lane at a location to 

allow the inspected vehicle to be positioned with all four 

wheels on the floor or on an above-ground ramp on a 

plane to the floor to accommodate headlight aiming and 

other required inspection procedures. Any above-ground 

structure must be constructed so as to permit proper 

steering, suspension, brake, and undercarriage inspection 

as outlined in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety 

Inspection Manual. A list of local inspection stations that 

can accommodate vehicles that cannot be safety 

inspected due to the pretenses of emissions equipment 

must be maintained and available for customers. A 

"bottle" jack or other appropriate lifting equipment may 

be used for safety inspection on above-ground structures. 

i. Private station: The inspection lane shall be level or on 

the same plane. The entrance and size must be adequate 

to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet. An applicant 

who owns and operates fewer than 20 vehicles will not 

be considered. 

j. Private station (fleet service contractor): The inspection 

lane shall be level or on the same plane. The entrance and 

size must be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the 

fleet to be inspected. This classification will permit the 

inspection of all vehicles that the applicant has a written 

agreement to service and repair. An applicant who does 

not have at least six written agreements to service private 

fleets with at least five vehicles in each fleet or at least 

one written agreement to service a private fleet with at 

least 30 vehicles in the fleet will not be considered for 

this type of appointment. Vehicles not covered by a 

written agreement for service and repair, other than the 

vehicles owned by the applicant's company or 

corporation, shall not be inspected by a garage having 

this type of classification. 

k. Private station (government): The inspection lane shall 

be level or on the same plane. The entrance and size must 

be adequate to accommodate any vehicle in the fleet to 

be inspected. This classification permits the inspection of 

all vehicles in the government entity's fleet, the fleet of 

any volunteer or paid fire department, or any other unit 

or agency of the government structure having a written 

agreement with such governmental entity for repair, 

inspection service, or both. An applicant for this 

classification must own or have a written agreement to 

inspect 30 or more vehicles. Vehicles not owned by or 

covered by a written agreement shall not be inspected by 

a garage having this type of classification. 

7. Classifications listed in subdivisions 6 a through 6 h of 

this subsection must be open to the public and have at least 

one safety inspector available to perform inspections 

during normal business hours as set forth in 19VAC30-70-

10. 

8. Private inspection station classifications may be 

assigned to businesses or governmental entities with fixed 
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garage or repair facilities operating or contracting with 

vehicle fleets. 

B. A representative of any official inspection station may 

apply to the Department of State Police in writing to request a 

change of the station's status. 

1. An application form is forwarded to the applicant. 

2. The applicant completes the application form and 

contacts the Department of State Police in keeping with the 

application instructions. Applications must include all data 

as set forth in this section. 

3. A Safety Division trooper is assigned to complete the 

appropriate investigation to affect the change. A change in 

status investigation includes the following: 

a. A review of the existing station file. 

b. An update of the file to include personnel, facility, or 

other significant changes. Criteria for appointment and 

background investigation procedures for a change in 

status will be in keeping with this section. 

c. Official inspection stations are permitted to continue to 

perform safety inspections during a change of ownership 

investigation provided at least one safety inspector is 

retained from the prior owner. 

d. If disqualifying criteria is revealed, the station's 

appointment shall be canceled until final disposition of 

the application is made or until issues of disqualifying 

criteria are resolved. 

C. Once an official inspection station has been suspended, 

regardless of the cause for the suspension, management may 

request reinstatement up to 60 days prior to the expiration of 

the suspension period. Stations whose appointments are 

revoked may complete the application process as set forth for 

original appointments after the expiration of the period of 

revocation. 

1. The applicant station must submit a letter to Safety 

Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files) requesting 

reinstatement. 

2. An application package is forwarded to the applicant. 

3. The completed application forms must be returned to 

Safety Division Headquarters (Attention: Station Files). 

4. After review, the application package is forwarded to the 

appropriate Safety Division Area Office for investigation. 

a. The trooper assigned to the investigation compares the 

information in the new application package to the 

information in the existing files. 

b. The investigation focuses on any changes or, 

inconsistencies, and the inspection station's history while 

in the inspection program, to include the station's 

disciplinary record. 

c. The applicant station must meet all criteria for 

appointment as set forth in this section. 

d. Any applicant whose application for reinstatement is 

rejected or voluntarily withdrawn may not reapply sooner 

than six months from the date he is notified of the 

rejection or of the withdrawal of the application. 

D. When a request for reinstatement is denied, a station 

suspended a period of six months or more may not reapply 

sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter notifying 

the denial. Following an original appointment investigation 

for a revoked station, if the revoked station is denied, it may 

not reapply sooner than 12 months from the date of the letter 

notifying the denial.  

19VAC30-70-25. Exceptions to motor vehicle inspection 

requirements. 

A. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 

required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia:  

1. Four-wheel vehicles weighing less than 500 pounds and 

having less than six horsepower;  

2. Boat, utility, or travel trailers that are not equipped with 

brakes;  

3. Antique motor vehicles or antique trailers as defined in § 

46.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant to 

§ 46.2-730 of the Code of Virginia;  

4. Any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer that is outside 

the Commonwealth at the time its inspection expires when 

operated by the most direct route to the owner's or 

operator's place of residence or the owner's legal place of 

business in the Commonwealth;  

5. A truck, tractor truck, trailer, or semitrailer for which the 

period fixed for inspection has expired while the vehicle 

was outside the Commonwealth (i) from a point outside the 

Commonwealth to the place where such vehicle is kept or 

garaged within the Commonwealth or (ii) to a destination 

within the Commonwealth where such vehicle will be (a) 

unloaded within 24 hours of entering the Commonwealth, 

(b) inspected within such 24-hour period, and (c) operated, 

after being unloaded, only to an inspection station or to the 

place where it is kept or garaged within the 

Commonwealth;  

6. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia for the 

purpose of delivery from the place of manufacture to the 

dealer's or distributor's designated place of business or 

between places of business if such manufacturer, dealer, or 

distributor has more than one place of business, without 

being inspected; dealers or distributors may take delivery 

and operate upon the highways of Virginia new motor 

vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers from another 

dealer or distributor provided a motor vehicle, trailer, or 
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semitrailer shall not be considered new if driven upon the 

highways for any purpose other than the delivery of the 

vehicle;  

7. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

bearing a manufacturer's license may be operated for test 

purposes by the manufacturer without an inspection;  

8. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers may be operated 

for test purposes by a certified inspector without an 

inspection sticker during the performance of an official 

inspection;  

9. New motor vehicles, new trailers, or new semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways of Virginia over the 

most direct route to a location for installation of a 

permanent body without being inspected;  

10. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers purchased 

outside the Commonwealth may be driven to the 

purchaser's place of residence or the dealer's or distributor's 

designated place of business without being inspected;  

11. Prior to purchase from auto auctions within the 

Commonwealth, motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers 

may be operated upon the highways not to exceed a five-

mile 10-mile radius of such auction by prospective 

purchasers only for the purpose of road testing without 

being inspected; motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers 

purchased from auto auctions within the Commonwealth 

also may be operated upon the highways from such auction 

to the purchaser's place of residence or business without 

being inspected and motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers 

purchased from auto auctions operated upon the highways 

from such auction to (i) an official safety inspection station 

provided that (a) the inspection station is located between 

the auto auction and the purchaser's residence or place of 

business or within a 10-mile radius of such residence or 

business and (b) the vehicle is taken to the inspection 

station on the same day the purchaser removes the vehicle 

from the auto auction or (ii) the purchaser's place of 

residence or business;  

12. Motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers, after the 

expiration of a period fixed for the inspection thereof, may 

be operated over the most direct route between the place 

where such vehicle is kept or garaged and an official 

inspection station for the purpose of having the same 

inspected pursuant to a prior appointment with such 

station;  

13. Any vehicle for transporting well-drilling machinery 

and mobile equipment as defined in § 46.2-700 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

14. Motor vehicles being towed in a legal manner as 

exempted under § 46.2-1150 of the Code of Virginia;  

15. Logtrailers as exempted under § 46.2-1159 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

16. Motor vehicles designed or altered and used 

exclusively for racing or other exhibition purposes as 

exempted under § 46.2-1160 of the Code of Virginia;  

17. Any tow dolly or converter gear as defined in § 46.2-

1119 of the Code of Virginia;  

18. A new motor vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-1500 of the 

Code of Virginia, that has been inspected in accordance 

with an inspection requirement of the manufacturer or 

distributor of the new motor vehicle (i.e., predelivery 

inspection (PDI)) by an employee who customarily 

performs such inspection on behalf of a motor vehicle 

dealer licensed pursuant to § 46.2-1508 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be deemed to have met the safety inspection 

requirements of this section without a separate safety 

inspection by an official inspection station. Such inspection 

shall be deemed to be the first inspection for the purpose of 

§ 46.2-1158 of the Code of Virginia, and an inspection 

approval sticker furnished by the Department of State 

Police at the uniform price paid by all official inspection 

stations to the Department of State Police for an inspection 

approval sticker may be affixed to the vehicle as required 

by § 46.2-1163 of the Code of Virginia.  

NOTE: Only an active certified safety inspector may enter 

the vehicle's information into the Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Program (MVIP) database and affix the inspection sticker 

to the vehicle; 

19. Mopeds;  

20. Low-speed vehicles; and  

21. Vehicles exempt from registration pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 46.2-662 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 46.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; and  

22. Military surplus motor vehicles as defined in § 46.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia and licensed pursuant to 

§ 46.2-730.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The following shall be exempt from inspection as 

required by § 46.2-1157 of the Code of Virginia provided (i) 

the commercial motor vehicle operates in interstate 

commerce; (ii) the commercial motor vehicle is found to meet 

the federal requirements for annual inspection through a self-

inspection, a third-party inspection, a Commercial Vehicle 

Safety Alliance inspection, or a periodic inspection performed 

by any state with a program; (iii) the inspection has been 

determined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Administration to be comparable to or as effective as the 

requirements of 49 CFR 396.3(a); and (iv) documentation of 

such determination as provided for in 49 CFR 396.3(b) is 

available for review by law-enforcement officials to verify 

that the inspection is current:  

1. Any commercial motor vehicle operating in interstate 

commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations. 
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2. Any trailer or semitrailer being operated in interstate 

commerce that is subject to the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Regulations.  

19VAC30-70-40. Fees. 

A. Before the inspection of a vehicle begins, the vehicle 

owner or operator must be informed there is a regulated fee 

pursuant to § 46.2-1167 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The maximum inspection fees effective July 1, 2019, are 

as follows: 

$51 for each inspection of any (i) tractor truck, (ii) truck 

that has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds 

or more, or (iii) motor vehicle that is used to transport 

passengers and has a seating capacity of more than 15 

passengers, including the driver. 

$12 for each inspection of any motorcycle and autocycle. 

$16 for each inspection of any other vehicle, including 

trailers and motor homes. 

1. Inspection fees will result in inspection stations retaining 

and forwarding $.50 $.70 to the Department of State Police 

to support the department's costs in administering the 

Motor Vehicle Inspection Program (MVIP). Collection of 

these fees will be billed quarterly to each station on April 

15, July 15, October 15, and January 15 of each year. 

Tractor Trucks 

Trucks that have a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 

26,000 pounds or more 

Buses that seat more than 

15 passengers (including 

the driver) 

$.50 per inspection 

Cars 

Pickup Trucks/Trucks 

Recreational Motor 

Homes 

Trailers 

$.70 per inspection 

Motorcycles 

Autocycles 

$2.00 per inspection 

2. After the appropriate fee has been determined for each 

station, an invoice is uploaded to each station's MVIP 

account. The procedures for mailing payments are outlined 

in this subdivision as follows: 

a. Print the invoice from the MVIP station account. 

b. Prepare a check, cashier's check, or money order made 

payable to the Department of State Police for the amount 

indicated on the invoice and include the station number 

within the memo section of the check. 

c. Prepare an envelope with the following information: 

Department of State Police - Safety Division, P.O. Box 

27472, Richmond, Virginia 23261. 

d. Mail the check and invoice to the address listed in 

subdivision 2 c of this subsection. 

3. The station has 30 days in which to mail in the 

processing fee. In the event a check does not clear the bank 

for any reason, a $50 fee will be assessed the station. Also, 

under 19VAC30-70-5, a returned check will be a Class III 

offense and administrative actions may be held against the 

station's record. Once the station has been contacted by the 

Department of State Police regarding a returned check, it 

will have 15 days to respond. If the returned check dispute 

is not settled in this period of time, administrative or legal 

sanctions, or both, may be taken against the station and, in 

addition, any requests for supplies will not be honored until 

the dispute has been settled. 

C. If a rejected vehicle is not submitted to the same station 

within the validity period of the rejection sticker or is 

submitted to another official inspection station, a complete 

inspection must be performed and a charge of $51 may be 

made for inspection of tractor trucks, trucks that have a gross 

vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more, and buses 

that seat more than 15 passengers, including the driver. A 

charge of $20 may be made for each inspection performed on 

any other vehicle to include recreational motor homes and 

trailers. A charge of $12 may be made for each motorcycle 

and autocycle inspection. 

NOTE: The truck inspection fee does not pertain to any 

trailer.  

D. A charge of $1.00 may be made for reinspection of a 

vehicle rejected by the same station during the 15-day validity 

of the rejection sticker. 

E. Inspection stations shall not charge an additional fee to 

those customers who drop off their vehicles for a state 

inspection. This is a violation of § 46.2-1167 of the Code of 

Virginia unless the station charges a "storage fee" for all 

services and repairs and not just for inspections. 

Part III  

Inspection Requirements for Passenger Vehicles and Vehicles 

Up to 10,000 Pounds (GVWR) 

19VAC30-70-80. Service brakes. 

A. The inspector, as a minimum, must drive all vehicles into 

the inspection lane and test both service and parking brakes. 

B. A minimum of two wheels, one front and one rear, must 

be inspected on each passenger and multipurpose vehicle with 

a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds gross vehicle 

weight rating (GVWR) or less at the time of inspection, 
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except those listed in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this 

subsection.  

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with wheels that do not 

allow visual access to the braking system, the inspected 

wheels shall be removed.  

NOTE: If the vehicle is equipped with drum brakes, the 

wheel and drum shall be removed for inspection. 

1. Motorcycles. 

2. A new model vehicle is defined as a vehicle that has not 

been titled or leased and is less than one year old, 

measured from October 1 as of each year; if such motor 

vehicle does not have a model year, such measurement 

shall be made from the date of manufacture. 

3. Trucks with floating axles that require seal replacement 

upon removal of rear wheels. The inspection receipt 

(approval and rejection) shall be marked to reflect which 

wheels were pulled. 

Warning: If wheels are removed to inspect brakes, lug nuts 

must be torqued to the manufacturer's specifications to 

prevent damage to disc rotors. The use of an impact 

wrench may exceed the manufacturer's specifications and 

damage disc rotors. 

C. If any braking problem is detected, the inspector may test 

drive or require a test drive of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Vehicle is not equipped with brakes or any brake has 

been disconnected, rendered inoperative, or improperly 

installed. Trailers having an actual gross weight of less 

than 3,000 pounds are not required to be equipped with 

brakes; however, if brakes are installed, these vehicles 

must be inspected. 

Brake System Failure Indicator Lamp 

2. Passenger vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1968, 

are not equipped with a red brake failure warning lamp or 

warning lamp does not light with parking brake applied 

when ignition key is turned to the start position, except for 

anti-lock system. The red brake failure warning lamp 

should light when the ignition key is turned to the start 

position; on some imports it may be checked when the 

emergency brake is applied or other factory installed test 

button. (DO NOT reject if only the amber ABS/anti-lock 

brake lamp is on.) With the engine running and parking 

brake released, the red brake failure warning lamp should 

go off, except for vehicles equipped with anti-lock system. 

If so, apply service brake for 10 seconds and if the red 

brake failure warning lamp lights again the system is 

defective. Also, if the warning lamp light does not come on 

when there is a leak or the warning lamp light is not 

functioning properly, the system is defective and shall be 

rejected. NOTE: This subdivision does not apply to 

vehicles registered as street rods nor does it imply that the 

red brake failure warning lamp needs to light when the 

emergency brake is set. There are many vehicles that are 

not factory equipped with an emergency brake indicator 

light. 

Note: Vehicles equipped with a brake pad wear indicator 

warning light shall not constitute an automatic rejection for 

the vehicle submitted for a safety inspection. Each vehicle 

manufacturer has determined an appropriate level to 

activate the brake pad wear indicator warning light; 

therefore, it shall be the responsibility of the inspector to 

confirm whether or not the brake pads have exceeded the 

established tolerance of 2/32 of an inch. 

Brake Linings and Disc Pads  

3. Riveted linings or disc pads are worn to less than 2/32 of 

an inch over the rivet heads. 

4. Bonded or molded linings or disc pads are worn to less 

than 2/32 of an inch in thickness at any point, not to 

include manufactured slots. 

5. Wire in wire-backed lining is visible in friction surface. 

6. Snap-on brake linings are loose. 

7. Any lining is broken or cracked so that the lining or 

parts of the lining are not firmly attached to the shoe or has 

cracks on the friction surface extending to the open edge. 

8. Grease or other contamination is present on the linings, 

drums, or rotors. 

9. Rivets in riveted linings are loose or missing. 

10. Any lining or pad is misaligned or does not make full 

contact with the drum or rotor, with the exception of minor 

scoring caused by debris, provided it does not affect 

braking efficiency. 

11. Any foreign material or debris caught between a drum 

or rotor and the brake pad. 

Brake Drums and Discs 

NOTE: The inspector shall ensure that the minimum 

measurements in subdivisions D 3 and D 4 of this section 

are obtained. 

11. 12. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are worn or 

scored to the extent that their machining would result in a 

failure to meet manufacturer's specifications. Use the 

specification stamped on the rotor or drum if available. 

13. Brake drums or brake discs (rotors) are scored to the 

extent that the braking surface is reduced to the point that 

the braking efficiency is adversely affected. This does not 

apply to minor scoring caused by debris. 

NOTE: A number of vehicles on the market are equipped 

with a lock nut to hold the rear brake drum in place. 
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Manufacturers recommend replacement of these lock nuts 

after each removal to prevent failure of the component. If 

the customer is advised up front, then the wholesale cost of 

the replacement nut may be charged to the customer. 

NOTE: The proper method to remove the rear brake 

assembly on the 2000 Ford Focus is to remove the four 

bolts from the opposite side of the assembly. Removal 

otherwise may damage the outside grease cap and incur a 

cost to replace. 

12. 14. Brake drums or discs have any external crack or 

cracks more than one half the width of the friction surface 

of the drum or disc. NOTE: Do not confuse short hairline 

heat cracks with flexural cracks. 

Mechanical Linkage 

13. 15. Cables are frayed or frozen. 

14. 16. Mechanical parts missing, broken, badly worn, or 

misaligned. 

E. Hydraulic. 

NOTE: Some motor vehicles, beginning with 1976 models, 

have a hydraulic power system that serves both the power-

assisted brakes and power-assisted steering system. Some 

vehicles, beginning with 1985 models, have an integrated 

hydraulic actuation and anti-lock brake unit using only brake 

fluid. 

1. Brake hydraulic system. Inspector should check the 

brake hydraulic system in the following manner: test 

vehicle in a standing position; apply moderate pressure to 

the brake pedal for 10 seconds. Brake pedal height must be 

maintained. On vehicles equipped with power-assisted 

systems, the engine should be running. 

2. Hydraulic system operation. Stop engine, then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all pressure. Depress 

pedal with a light foot-force (30 pounds). While 

maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves slightly when engine starts. 

Reject vehicle if pedal does not move slightly as engine 

is started while force is on brake pedal. 

 

3. Condition of hydraulic booster power brake system. 

Inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump, steering gear or brake booster, or any of the lines 

or hoses in the system; or if belts are frayed, cracked or 

excessively worn. 

4. Integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock system operation. 

With the ignition key in the off position, depress brake 

pedal a minimum of 25 times to deplete all residual stored 

pressure in the accumulator. Depress pedal with a light 

foot-force (25 pounds). Place ignition key in the on 

position and allow 60 seconds for the brake warning light 

to go out and the electric pump to shut off. 

Reject vehicle if the brake pedal does not move down 

slightly as the pump builds pressure or if the brake and 

anti-lock warning lights remain on longer than 60 

seconds. 

NOTE: The inspection of the ABS light is only for an 

integrated system that is an earlier system. The newer 

system that has the nonintegrated systems does not need 

to be checked. If the ABS system malfunctions on the 

newer system, the brake systems are still functional. 

 

5. Condition of integrated hydraulic booster/anti-lock 

system with electronic pump. With the system fully 

charged, inspect system for fluid level and leaks. 

Reject vehicle if there is insufficient fluid in the 

reservoir; if there are broken, kinked or restricted fluid 

lines or hoses; or if there is any leakage of fluid at the 

pump or brake booster, or any of the lines or hoses in the 

system. 

6. Vacuum system operation. Stop engine then depress 

brake pedal several times to eliminate all vacuum in the 

system. Depress pedal with a light foot-force (25 pounds). 

While maintaining this force on the pedal, start engine and 

observe if pedal moves down slightly when engine starts. 
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Reject vehicle if pedal does not move down slightly as 

engine is started while force is on the brake pedal. In full 

vacuum-equipped vehicles, there is insufficient vacuum 

reserve for one full service brake application after engine 

is stopped. 

 

7. Condition of vacuum booster power brake system. 

Reject vehicle if there are collapsed, cracked, broken, 

badly chafed or improperly supported hoses and tubes, 

loose or broken hose clamps. 

F. Inspect for and reject if: 

General Specifications - Hydraulic Brakes 

1. There is any leakage in the master cylinder, wheel 

cylinders, or brake calipers. When checking for leakage in 

rear wheel cylinders, do not disturb the dust boot. 

NOTE: Do not reject for the common dust ball formed on 

wheel cylinders or for wetness that may have spread to the 

backing plate unless it has contaminated the linings or 

drums as specified in subdivision D 8 of this section. 

Consumers should be advised of this wear so that they will 

be aware that repair may be needed before their next 

inspection. This may not warrant an immediate repair 

considering the dual valve master cylinder. 

2. Fluid level in master cylinder is below the proper level 

for the particular vehicle. 

3. There is any evidence of a caliper sticking or binding. 

Electric Brake System 

4. Trailers show an amperage value more than 20% above 

or 30% below the brake manufacturer's maximum current 

rating for each brake. 

5. Amp meter shows no reading or indicator is not steady 

on application and release of brake controller. 

6. Any terminal connections are loose or dirty; wires are 

broken, frayed, or unsupported; any single conductor 

nonstranded wires below the size recommended by the 

brake manufacturers are installed. 

7. Electrical trailer brakes do not apply automatically when 

the breakaway safety switch is operated. 

8. Breakaway braking devices are missing or inoperative; 

cable is frayed or broken.  

General Specifications 

9. Absence of braking action on any wheel required to 

have brakes. 

10. There is any leakage in any hydraulic, air, or vacuum 

lines; hoses have any cracks, crimps, or restrictions or are 

abraded, exposing inner fabric; tubing or connections leak 

or are crimped, restricted, cracked, or broken; or any 

valves leak or are inoperative. 

a. Reject the vehicle if the brake hoses or tubing are 

stretched or extended and do not allow for suspension 

movement. 

b. Brake tubing and hoses must be: 

(1) Long and flexible enough to accommodate without 

damage all normal motions of the parts to which they are 

attached; 

(2) Secured against chaffing, kinking, or other 

mechanical damage; and 

(3) Installed in a manner that prevents them from 

contacting the vehicle's exhaust system or any other 

source of high temperatures. 

11. Any hydraulic brake tubing has been repaired using a 

compression fitting. 

12. Brakes are not equalized so as to stop the vehicle on a 

straight line. 

13. There is less than 1/5 reserve in actuator travel of the 

service brake when fully applied on all hydraulic, 

mechanical, or power-assisted hydraulic braking systems. 

14. When tested on dry, hard, approximately level road 

free from loose material, at a speed of 20 miles per hour 

without leaving a 12-foot wide lane, results in excess of the 

following distances are obtained:  

(When in doubt about a vehicle's stopping ability, the 

inspector shall conduct a road test.) 

a. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) four wheel 

brakes - 25 feet. 

b. Any motor vehicle (except motorcycles, trucks, and 

tractor-trucks with semitrailers attached) two wheel 

brakes - 45 feet. 

c. All combinations of vehicles - 40 feet. 

19VAC30-70-140. Headlamps; except motorcycles. 

A. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle is not equipped with at least two 

headlamps of an approved type. An approved headlamp 
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assembly that contains bulbs for both the high and low 

beams within the same housing shall be considered one 

headlamp. The headlamps must be marked with the 

headlamp manufacturer's name or trademark, and DOT. If 

the headlamp bulbs are replaceable, the headlamp lens 

must be marked with the headlamp light source type (bulb) 

for which it was designed and the bulb must match the lens 

code. 

NOTE: If the headlamp system is stamped to accept 

halogen bulbs, then the replacement bulbs must be halogen 

as well. Retrofitting an HID or LED bulb to a halogen 

headlamp system does not conform to the standards set 

forth by the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards 

(FMVSS) and shall be rejected. 

If the entire headlamp assembly is changed from a halogen 

system to an LED system and does not require the 

manufacture's original wiring to be cut or compromised, 

then it shall be considered for inspection if it meets the 

requirements of subdivision A 2 of this section. 

2. Headlights are not of the same approved type (Halogen, 

HID, LED, etc.) except for sealed beam headlamps, or the 

replacement headlamp system does not contain all properly 

marked DOT and SAE stamps certifying that it has met 

and complied with the standards set forth by the Federal 

Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 108. 

NOTE: Replacement headlamps stamped with a DOT or 

SAE approval and marked with the headlamp 

manufacturer's name or trademark shall be considered 

approved by the Superintendent of State Police and will 

not be required to be listed on the Virginia Motor Vehicle 

Approved Equipment List. 

3. In any headlamp the lens is cracked, broken, discolored, 

or rotated away from the proper position, or the reflector is 

not clean and bright. 

4. Moisture or water buildup in headlamp is such that it 

affects the aiming pattern. 

5. Headlamps omit light other than white. Light tints of 

color may be acceptable if the headlamp and headlamp 

bulbs are marked as required.  

6. Bulbs are not of an approved type and marked with all 

of the following: light source type, the manufacturer's 

name or trade mark, and DOT.  

NOTE:  

Approved headlamp bulbs: HB1, HB2, HB3, HB3A, HB4, 

HB4A, HB5, H1, H3, H7, H8, H8B, H9, H9B, H9C, H11, 

H11B, H11C, H13, H13C, H15, HIR1, HIR2, H18, H19. 

Approved headlamp bulbs that require ballast: 9500, D1R, 

D1S, D2R, D2S, D3R, D3S, D4R, D4S, D5S, D7S, D8S, 

D9S.  

Approved headlamp ballasts must be marked with the light 

source type (bulb) and DOT. The bulb type marked on the 

ballast must match the marking on the headlamp lens. 

7. Any filament or bulb in headlamps fails to burn properly 

or headlamps are not at the same location or configuration 

as designed by manufacturer. (Location and type of 

headlamps can be found in subsection E of this section.) 

8. Wiring is dangling or connections are loose, or if proper 

filaments do not burn at different switch positions; or if 

switches, including foot or hand dimmer, do not function 

properly and are not convenient to the driver. 

9. Foreign material is placed on or in front of the headlamp 

lens or interferes with the beam from the lamp. No glazing 

may be placed over or in front of the headlamps unless it is 

a part of an approved headlamp assembly. 

a. Reject if vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original 

equipment or any colored material placed on or in front 

of the headlamps. 

b. Vehicles registered as street rods may have clear, rigid 

plastic or glass headlamp lens covers in front of sealed 

beam units to replace original manufacturer's equipment. 

EXCEPTION: A clean impact film known as Headlight 

Savers produced by Grand Prix Motoring Accessories may 

be applied to the headlight lens to absorb impact of rocks, 

etc. 

10. Lamps can be moved easily by hand due to a broken 

fender or loose support, or if a good ground is not made by 

the mounting. 

11. Headlamps, auxiliary driving lamps and front fog 

lamps are not mounted so that the beams are aimable and 

the mounting does not prevent the aim of the lighting 

device from being disturbed while the vehicle is operating 

on public roads. All lamps shall be securely mounted on a 

rigid part of the vehicle. 

12. A headlamp visor is over two inches long unless part of 

the original body design. 

13. The high beam indicator in the driver's compartment 

does not burn when the high beam is on or does not go off 

when the low beam is on. (Vehicles not originally 

equipped with an indicator are not required to comply 

unless sealed beam headlamps have been installed.) 

B. Aiming the headlamps. 

1. Inspectors shall rely on their education, training, and 

experience to determine if the headlamps are properly 

aimed. If improper alignment is observed, headlamps shall 

be checked for proper aim by using an optical headlamp 

aimer, except on vehicles equipped with on-board aimers. 
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Headlamp aim on vehicles with on-board aimers shall be 

checked by visually examining the leveling device 

mounted either on or adjacent to the headlamp. Reject the 

vehicle if the leveling device shows the headlamp 

adjustment to exceed indicated specifications. 

NOTE: Driving lamp and fog lamps must be visually 

inspected to ensure proper aiming. If improper alignment is 

observed, the optical aimer shall be used to correct any 

misalignment. 

2. Headlamps are not aimed within the following 

tolerances using the optical aimer. 

a. The center of the hot spot of all single element high 

beam lamps is set more than four inches up or down from 

the horizontal centerline or more than four inches to the 

left or right from the vertical centerline. 

b. The left edge of the lamp pattern of any low beam 

lamp or any combination or multi-element lamp is more 

than four inches to the left or right of the vertical 

centerline or the top edge of the lamp pattern is more 

than four inches above or below the horizontal centerline 

when checked on low beam.  

C. Optical aimer. 

1. Optical aimers must be properly calibrated and used in 

the manner recommended by the manufacturer. 

The optical headlamp machine must be aligned to the 

vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer's 

specifications. 

2. When aiming headlamps, first look for the type of lamp, 

which will be found embossed on the lens. The type 

determines which aiming requirements must be followed 

for the optical aimer. 

3. All low beam or combination/multi-element headlamps 

must be set by aiming the lamp pattern with the lamps set 

on low beam. 

NOTE: If attempting to align a composite or sealed beam 

lamp with a high and low beam within the same housing, 

align only the low beam. If aligning a four-lamp system 

with high and low beams in separate housings, it may be 

necessary to cover the low beam while aligning the high 

beam, if all four lamps are on at the same time. 

4. Pattern should be aimed so that the left edge does not 

extend to the left or right of straight ahead, and the top of 

the pattern should be even with the horizontal. 

Pattern "A" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimer when checking 

the low-beam pattern on a single element headlamp or a 

combination multi-element headlamp. 

 

5. All VOL and VOR headlamps will be aimed as follows: 

To properly aim a combination multi-element or low-

beam VOL or VOR headlamp assembly, the headlamp 

pattern should be aimed on low beam only. 

Letters marked on the headlamp cover should properly 

identify VOL and VOR headlamps. 

NOTE: VOL and VOR headlamps will normally have 

only one adjustment, which will be for the vertical aim 

only. The horizontal aim should be disregarded, as the 

horizontal aim is preset at the factory. 

6. All single element high beam headlamps shall be set by 

aiming the center of the hot spot with the lamps set on high 

beam. 

7. Aim straight ahead-center of the hot spot should be 

centered with the vertical and horizontal centerlines. 

Pattern "B" represents the light pattern as it should appear 

on the view screen of the approved aimers. 

8. When lamp pairs are mounted horizontally, the low 

beam lamp must be on the outer side and when mounted 

vertically, the low beam lamp must be at the higher 

position in the pair. 

9. The four headlamp system must be wired so that only 

the lower beam lamp will burn when the light beams are 
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depressed. When switched to high beams, both high beam 

and low beam may burn. 

The "F" type halogen headlamp 1986 (LF-UF) of the four 

headlamp system will function in the following manner: 

system must be used so the low beam does not burn with 

the high beam. 

D. Headlamps on vehicles used for snow removal. Approved 

auxiliary headlamps may be mounted above the conventional 

headlamps. (These lamps must be in compliance with this 

section in its entirety, subdivision 7 of 19VAC30-70-150, and 

19VAC30-70-170.) 

E. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Lamps are not an approved type as previously indicated 

in subdivision A 6 of this section. 

2. Lamps are not mounted in a manner that will permit 

proper aiming. 

3. Lamps are mounted so as to obstruct the driver's vision. 

4. The auxiliary headlamp circuit does not contain a switch 

that will deactivate the primary headlamp system when the 

auxiliary headlamps are in use. 

5. Auxiliary headlamps are not aimed in accordance with 

the provisions of subdivision B 2 of this section. 

6. Headlamps are not wired in accordance with the 

provisions of subdivision C 8 of this section. 

NOTE: Light patterns shown in the following diagram will 

be displayed on the most recently approved light machines 

produced by Hopkins and Symtech Corporations. 

HEADLAMP PATTERNS 
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NOTE: Always inspect the following sealed beam and 

replaceable bulb and integral beam headlamps on LOW 

BEAM only: 

- 5-3/4 inch, marked 2, 2C, or 2C1 

- 7 inch, marked 2, 2D, or 2D1 

- 100 X 165mm rectangular, marked 2A, 2A1, or 2E1, 

2G1 or 2H1  

- 200 X 142mm rectangular, marked 2B or 2B1  

- Replaceable bulb headlamp, marked LF with 9004 

(HB1)  

- 92 X 160mm rectangular, marked LF  

- Replaceable bulb headlamps with 9006 (HB4) alone or 

in combination with 9005 (HB3)  

- 55 X 135mm rectangular, marked L  

- Integral beam headlamp when high and low beam 

reflectors move together.  

19VAC30-70-160. Auxiliary lamps: backup; cornering; 

driving; fog; spot and warning. 

A. Auxiliary lamps on a vehicle consist of seven general 

types: backup lamps (SAE-R), cornering lamps (SAE-K), 

driving lamps (SAE-Y), front fog lamps with an amber or 

clear lens (SAE-F) and rear fog lamps with red lens (SAE-

F2), spot lamps (SAE-O), warning lamps (SAE-W, W2, W3), 

and daytime running lamps (DRLs) (SAE-Y2). 

B. School buses may be equipped with an eight-lamp 

warning system of two red and two amber warning lamps of 

an approved type (SAE-W2) on the front and rear of such 

vehicle. 

1. School buses may also be equipped with roof-mounted 

flashing white or amber warning lamps of an approved 

type (SAE-W2). 

2. In addition to required warning lamps, school buses may 

be equipped with a stop signal arm consisting of an 

octagonal sign which meets FMVSS specifications 

(Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, 49 CFR Part 

571). The stop signal arm shall be reflectorized or be 

equipped with two red warning lamps of an approved type. 

C. There is no limit on the number of backup lamps that a 

vehicle may have so long as they are of an approved type 

(SAE-R). 

D. No more than four lamps, including two headlamps, may 

be lighted at any time to provide general illumination ahead 

of the vehicle. An approved headlamp assembly that contains 

bulbs for both high and low beams within the same housing 

shall be considered one headlamp. 

E. Approved type (SAE-W) (i) blue or; (ii) blue and red 

lights; (iii) blue and white; or (iv) red, white, and blue lights 

are permitted on Department of Corrections vehicles 

designated by the Director of the Department of Corrections 

and any law-enforcement vehicle. Law-enforcement vehicles 

may also be equipped with steady-burning blue or red 

warning lights of types approved by the superintendent. 

1. Approved type secondary warning lights installed only 

on the four corners, on law-enforcement vehicles, 

Department of Corrections, fire apparatus, government-

owned vehicle operated on official business by a local fire 

chief or other local fire official, rescue squad vehicle, 
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ambulance, or any other emergency medical vehicles. 

These lights shall also have primary warning lights 

installed. 

2. The hide-away or undercover strobe lights shall be 

installed in the headlamp assemblies, side marker lights, 

tail lights or parking lights. The strobe itself must be clear 

and the lens color must continue to be the same type and 

color as originally approved. It will not be permissible to 

install the hide-away lights in the headlights. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) red warning lights or red and 

white lights showing to the front are permitted on fire 

department vehicles, including publicly-owned state forest 

warden vehicles, ambulances, any rescue vehicle used for 

emergency calls, local department of emergency 

management, animal warden vehicles, school buses and 

vehicles used by security personnel at the Newport News 

Shipbuilding and Drydock Company, Bassett-Walker, 

Incorporated, the Tultex Corporation, the Winchester 

Medical Center, or the National Aeronautics and Space 

Administration's Wallops Flight Facility. 

4. No more than two flashing or steady-burning red lights 

or red and white combination lights of an approved type 

(SAE-W) may be installed on one vehicle owned by any 

member of a fire department, volunteer fire company or 

volunteer rescue squad, any ambulance driver employed by 

a privately-owned ambulance service, and any police 

chaplain. 

F. Vehicles mentioned in subsection E of this section 

permitted to be equipped with flashing, blinking or 

alternating red, red and white, blue, or blue and red (i) blue; 

(ii) blue and red; (iii) blue and white; or (iv) red, white, and 

blue emergency lights (except vehicles owned by any 

member of a fire department, volunteer fire company, 

volunteer rescue squad or any ambulance driver employed by 

a privately-owned ambulance service) may be equipped with 

the means to flash their headlamps when their emergency 

warning lamps are activated provided: 

1. The headlamps are wired to allow either the upper beam 

or lower beam to flash but not both. 

2. The headlamp system includes a switch or device which 

prevents flashing of headlamps when headlamps are 

required to be lighted pursuant to current statute. 

3. Emergency vehicles in Chesapeake, Poquoson, and York 

County may be equipped with flashing headlights that will 

function whenever their warning lights are activated. 

G. Any firefighting vehicle, ambulance, rescue or life-saving 

vehicle, Virginia Department of Transportation vehicle, or 

tow truck may be equipped with clear auxiliary lamps which 

shall be used exclusively for lighting emergency scenes. Such 

lamps shall be of a type permitted by the superintendent. Any 

government-owned police vehicle may be equipped with clear 

auxiliary lamps of a type approved by the superintendent. 

H. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of towing or servicing disabled vehicles or 

in constructing, maintaining and repairing highways or 

utilities on or along public highways and vehicles used for the 

principal purpose of removing hazardous or polluting 

substances from the state waters or drainage areas on or along 

public highways. Such lamps are permitted on vehicles used 

for servicing automatic teller machines, refuse collection 

vehicles, hi-rail vehicles and on vehicles used for towing or 

escorting over-dimensional materials, equipment, boats, or 

manufactured housing units by authority of highway hauling 

permit. 

1. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on fire apparatus, 

government-owned vehicles operated on official business 

by a local fire chief or other local fire official, rescue squad 

vehicles, ambulances, and any other emergency medical 

vehicles to be equipped with alternating blinking or 

flashing red, or red and white secondary lights mounted 

inside the vehicle's tail lights or marker lights. 

2. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles owned and used 

by municipal safety officers in the performance of their 

official duties, businesses providing security services and 

vehicles used to collect and deliver the United States mail, 

vehicles used by law-enforcement personnel in the 

enforcement of laws governing motor vehicle parking, 

government-owned law-enforcement vehicles provided the 

lights are used for giving directional warning, and vehicles 

used to provide escort for funeral processions. Directional 

warning lights shall not be utilized while in motion. 

3. Approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating lights are permitted on vehicles used as pace 

cars, security vehicles, or firefighting vehicles by any 

speedway or motor vehicle race track. 

4. An approved type (SAE-W) amber flashing, blinking or 

alternating light may be mounted on the rear of any vehicle 

used to transport petroleum products. The light must be 

wired through the reverse gear circuit and activate in 

conjunction with the back-up lights and audible alarm. 

5. An approved type (SAE-W) green warning light is 

permitted on vehicles used by police, firefighting, or rescue 

personnel as command centers at the scene of incidents. 

Such lights shall not be activated while the vehicle is 

operating upon the highway. 

6. Approved type (SAE-W) colored warning lights may be 

used by dealers or businesses engaged in the sale of fire, 

emergency medical services, or law-enforcement vehicles. 
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They may, for demonstration purposes, equip such vehicles 

with colored warning lights. 

I. Inspect for and reject if:  

1. Auxiliary lamp is being used for a purpose other than for 

which it is manufactured or previously approved by the 

superintendent. 

2. Auxiliary lamp does not have a clear lens. 

3. Any reflector in such auxiliary lamp device is not clear. 

EXCEPTIONS: An auxiliary lighting device that is both 

covered and unlit shall not be considered for inspection. 

An auxiliary lighting device that has a clear lens, has clear 

reflectors, and is unlit shall not be considered for 

inspection. Fog and driving lamps mounted below the level 

of the regular headlamps must be checked for aim as 

outlined in subdivisions I 12 h and 13 f of this section if 

not covered. 

NOTE: The covers shall be a type that would be installed 

as original equipment and not tape, paper bags, aluminum 

foil or similar materials. 

4. A vehicle has installed on it a warning lamp (SAE-W) 

that is not of an approved type or has been altered. 

Reject if the vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of any 

auxiliary lamps: backup, cornering, driving, fog, spot, or 

warning lamps. 

5. Motor vehicles may be equipped with more than two fog 

or auxiliary lights; however, only two of these types of 

lights can be illuminated at any time. Reject a vehicle 

equipped with a headlamp mounted or used as an auxiliary 

lamp. 

6. Vehicle is equipped with an auxiliary lamp that does not 

function properly. (If an auxiliary lamp has been modified 

by removing the wiring, bulb and socket, the unit will be 

considered an ornament and not a lamp and will not be 

considered in inspection.) 

7. Vehicle is equipped with a lighted advertising sign, 

except commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as 

public carriers, taxicabs, and privately-owned passenger 

cars used for home delivery of commercially prepared 

food. Commercial motor vehicles, buses operated as public 

carriers, and taxicabs may be equipped with vacant and 

destination signs and one steady burning white light for the 

nighttime illumination of external advertising. Privately-

owned passenger cars used for home delivery of 

commercially prepared food may be equipped with one 

steady burning white light for the nighttime illumination of 

a sign identifying the business delivering the food. Do not 

reject approved identification lights. 

8. Any lamp is not of an approved type or if lamps to be 

burned together as a pair do not emit the same color light. 

9. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted. 

10. Backup lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-R) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

d. Lens is other than clear. LED (light-emitting diode) 

lights with a clear lens are acceptable if of an approved 

type. For those vehicles that are equipped with a multiple 

LED light (not filament-burning bulbs), they will pass 

inspection if more than 50% of the diode lights are 

burning; 

e. Lamps are not wired into the reverse gear. Vehicles 

manufactured without backup lamps may be wired into 

an independent circuit.  

11. Cornering lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Required lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-K) 

or a lamp has been altered; 

b. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have 

one or more cracks provided an off-color light does not 

project through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or 

pieces is not permitted; 

d. The color of the light is other than clear or amber; 

e. The lamps do not burn in conjunction with the turn 

signals. 

12. Driving lamps are not required. However, if installed 

they must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Driving lamps are installed on vehicles equipped with 

the four-headlamp system, except the "F" type headlamp 

system; 
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b. Driving lamps are not of an approved type or have 

been altered; 

c. The color of the lamp is other than white; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 

not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective; 

f. Any driving lamp is mounted above the level of the 

regular headlamps, or is not mounted firmly to prevent 

excessive vibration; 

g. Driving lamps are not wired so that they will burn only 

when the high beams of the regular headlamps are 

activated; 

h. Driving lamps are not aimed so that the center of the 

hot spot drops three inches in 25 feet so that the hot spot 

is directly ahead of the lamp. 

NOTE: Driving lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

13. Fog lamps are not required. However, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. A vehicle may be equipped with more than two fog 

lamps; however, not more than two fog lamps can be 

illuminated at any time; 

b. The lens is other than clear or amber. Fog lamps may 

have black-end bulbs or small metal caps over the end of 

the bulb; 

c. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 

not permitted; 

d. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn; 

e. Any fog lamp is mounted above the level of the regular 

headlamps, or is not mounted firmly; 

f. Lamps are not wired and aimed according to the 

following instructions: 

(1) Fog lamps are general illumination lamps as covered 

in subsection A of this section. They must burn through 

the tail light circuit even if on a separate switch. If 

installed on a vehicle with a four-headlamp system, or a 

vehicle equipped with driving lamps, they must be wired 

into the low beam circuit. 

(2) Fog lamps must be aimed so that the top edge of the 

high intensity zone is set at the horizontal centerline and 

the left edge of the high intensity zone is set at the 

vertical centerline. (Same as low beam headlights.) 

NOTE: Fog lamps must be aimed using the optical 

headlight aimer. A tolerance of four inches in 25 feet is 

allowed in both the horizontal and the vertical 

adjustment. 

14. Spot lamps are not required; however, if installed they 

must operate and be inspected. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Vehicle is equipped with more than two spot lamps; 

b. Lamps are not of an approved type (SAE-O) or a lamp 

has been altered; 

c. The lens in any spot lamp is other than clear; 

d. The lens has a piece broken from it or is rotated away 

from its proper position. The lens may have one or more 

cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the crack. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is 

not permitted; 

e. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

15. Daytime running lamps (DRLs) are not required. 

However, if installed they must operate and be inspected. 

DRLs must be installed in pairs. 

NOTE: DRLs may or may not be wired into the tail light 

circuit. 

Inspect for and reject if: 

a. Any lamp, except headlamps, used as DRLs if not an 

approved type (SAE-Y2) and is not marked "DRL"; 

b. Fog lamps or parking lamps are used as DRLs; 

c. More than one pair of lamps is used and designated as 

DRLs; 

d. A DRL is mounted higher than 34 inches measured to 

the center of the lamp; 

e. The color is other than white to amber; 

f. DRLs do not deactivate when the headlamps are in any 

"on" position. 

Any DRL optically combined with a turn signal or hazard 

lamp must deactivate when the turn signal or hazard lamp 

is activated and then reactivate when the turn signal or 

hazard lamp deactivates. 
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19VAC30-70-190. Signal device (intention to stop or turn), 

hazard lights, stop lamp. 

A. Any motor vehicle may be equipped with a switch that 

will permit all turn signal lamps to flash simultaneously. 

B. Supplemental turn signals, properly wired into the turn 

signal circuit, may be installed. These may be either approved 

type turn signals or clearance lamps. 

C. Single face lamps are permissible on the front, except 

tractor units shall be equipped with two-faced lamps mounted 

on the front fenders or on or near the front of the vehicle. 

D. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Motor vehicle, or trailer, except an antique vehicle not 

originally equipped with a stop lamp, is not equipped with 

at least one stop lamp two brake lights of an approved type 

(DOT or SAE-S) that automatically exhibits a red or amber 

light to the rear when the brake pedal is actuated. 

2. Every passenger car manufactured for the 1986 or 

subsequent model year and multipurpose passenger 

vehicle, truck, or bus whose overall width is less than 80 

inches, manufactured September 1, 1993, and subsequent 

model year is not equipped with a supplemental center 

high mount stop lamp of an approved type (DOT or SAE-

U, U1 or U2) mounted at the vertical centerline of the 

vehicle which functions only in cooperation with the 

vehicle's stop lamps, brake lights and hazard lights. Any 

other vehicle on which a supplemental center high mount 

stop lamp is mounted shall have the lamp mounted at the 

vertical center line of the vehicle. The lamps shall be of an 

approved type and shall function only in conjunction with 

the stop lamps. The high mount stop lamp must be steady 

burning and not wired to flash with turn signals or other 

wig-wag device. 

"Multipurpose passenger vehicle" means any motor vehicle 

that is (i) designed to carry no more than 10 persons and 

(ii) constructed either on a truck chassis or with special 

features for occasional off-road use. 

NOTE: Camper shells or rear spoilers that obscure the 

original manufacturer's high mount stop lamp must be 

equipped with a center high mount stop lamp in good 

working order. 

NOTE: The original manufacturer's center high mount stop 

lamp will not be considered for inspection if it is obscured 

by a camper shell or rear spoiler that is equipped with a 

center high mount stop lamp of an approved type. 

NOTE: Multipurpose passenger vehicles with an overall 

width of 80 or more inches or GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 

more are not required to be equipped with a center high 

mount stop light. 

NOTE: No sticker or other foreign material shall be affixed 

to the vehicle in such a manner so as to obscure the center 

high mount stop lamp. 

3. Proper signals do not go on with each throw of the 

switch or if stop signals do not go on with slightest 

pressure on the brake pedal. Turn signals may flash, 

however stop signals may not flash except when the 

vehicle is equipped with a brake warning system or device 

which will cause the brake lights to flash when the vehicle 

is in motion but committed to an emergency or panic stop. 

4. Motor vehicle was manufactured after January 1, 1955, 

and is not equipped with approved signaling devices (SAE-

I). 

5. Vehicle is not equipped with a turn signal if such signal 

is not working properly or does not continue to function in 

the same manner as when it was originally manufactured. 

(The turn signal switch shall lock in place when positioned 

for a left turn or a right turn, and the turn signal indicators 

must function. Do not reject a vehicle if the self-canceling 

mechanism in the switch does not function when the 

steering wheel is rotated.). 

6. Switch is not convenient to the driver and not of an 

approved type. 

7. Any vehicle so constructed so as to prevent the operator 

from making a hand and arm signal, if such vehicle is not 

equipped with an approved type signaling device. 

8. Turn signal lens is not clear or amber to the front, or red 

or amber to the rear. Lens or bulb color has been altered or 

modified. If the turn signal lens is clear, then the bulb shall 

be amber. 

NOTE: The pink color lens found on 1998 and 1999 

Honda Accords emit the proper color light (amber) when 

the lamp is activated. There may be other manufacturers 

using the same configuration and are not in violation of the 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. 

9. Wiring or electrical connections are defective or 

filaments do not burn. 

NOTE: LED (light-emitting diode) lights with a clear lens 

are acceptable if of an approved type. For those vehicles 

that are equipped with a multiple LED light (not filament-

burning bulbs), they will pass inspection if more than 50% 

of the diode lights are burning. 

10. Lens has a piece broken from it. The lens may have one 

or more cracks provided an off-color light does not project 

through the cracks. Taping or gluing cracks or pieces is not 

permitted. 

11. The hazard warning signal operating unit does not 

operate independently of the ignition or equivalent switch 

and when activated cause all turn signals to flash 

simultaneously. 
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NOTE: They are deemed not to be installed if none of the 

lights burn or flash when the switch is activated and the 

hazard warning signal flasher unit has been removed. 

12. Device is not mounted near the rear for rear signals or 

near the front for front signals (except supplemental turn 

signals) or if the signal is hidden by a bolster or other part 

of body chassis. 

13. All "Class A" signals are not mounted at least three feet 

apart. (This does not apply to the combination rear signal 

device.) However, signal lamps that are mounted as far 

apart as practical inside and at the rear of the frame so as to 

be properly visible will meet inspection requirements. 

14. Any vehicle has wire, unapproved lens or plastic 

covers, any other materials that are not original equipment 

or any colored material placed on or in front of the signal 

device (intention to stop or turn), hazard lights or stop 

lamp. 

19VAC30-70-580. Glass and glazing.  

A. Motor vehicles may be inspected without windshields, 

side glasses, or any kind of glazing except that any motor 

vehicle other than a motorcycle that was manufactured, 

assembled, or reconstructed after July 1, 1970, must be 

equipped with a windshield. If glass or other glazing is 

installed, it must be inspected. If no windshield is installed, 

see 19VAC30-70-50 C for location of the sticker. 

B. Inspect for and reject if: 

1. Any motor vehicle manufactured or assembled after 

January 1, 1936, or any bus or school bus manufactured or 

assembled after January 1, 1935, is not equipped 

throughout with safety glass, or other safety glazing 

material. (This requirement includes slide-in campers used 

on pickups or trucks, caps, or covers used on pickup 

trucks, motor homes, and vans.) 

2. Any safety glass or glazing used in a motor vehicle is 

not of an approved type and properly identified (refer to 

approved equipment section). (Replacement safety glass 

installed in any part of a vehicle other than the windshield 

need not bear a trademark or name, provided the glass 

consists of two or more sheets of glass separated by a 

glazing material, and provided the glass is cut from a piece 

of approved safety glass, and provided the edge of the 

glass can be observed.) 

3. Any glass at any location where glass is used is cracked 

or broken so that it is likely to cut or injure a person in the 

vehicle. 

4. Windshield has any cloudiness more than three inches 

above the bottom, one inch inward from the outer borders, 

one inch down from the top, or one inch inward from the 

center strip. The bottom of the windshield shall be defined 

as the point where the top of the dash contacts the 

windshield. 

5. Any distortion or obstruction that interferes with a 

driver's vision; any alteration has been made to a vehicle 

that obstructs the driver's clear view through the 

windshield. This may include large objects hanging from 

the inside mirror or mounted to the windshield, cell phone 

mounts, GPS devices, CB radios or tachometers mounted 

on the dash or windshield, hood scoops, and other 

ornamentation on or in front of the hood that is not 

transparent. 

a. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1990 or earlier model year 

cannot exceed 2-1/4 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

b. Any hood scoop installed on any motor vehicle 

manufactured for the year 1991 or subsequent model year 

cannot exceed 1-1/8 inches high at its highest point 

measured from the junction of the dashboard and the 

windshield. 

NOTE: Antennas, transponders, and similar devices must 

not be mounted more than 152 mm (six inches) below the 

upper edge of the windshield. These devices must be 

located outside the area swept by the windshield wipers, 

and outside the driver's sight lines to the road and 

highway signs and signals.  

NOTE: Vehicles 10,001 pounds (GVWR) or more, 

submitted for inspection, with a navigational device, 

video event recording device, or a crash avoidance 

camera mounted on the interior of the windshield, when 

the entire device is mounted not more than four inches 

below the upper edge of the area swept by the windshield 

wipers or any other location outside the not more than 

seven inches above the lower edge of the area swept by 

the windshield wipers, shall be issued an approval sticker 

if no other violations are detected.  

6. Windshield glass, on the driver's side, has any scratch 

more than 1/4 inch in width and six inches long within the 

area covered by the windshield wiper blade, excluding the 

three inches above the bottom of the windshield. A 

windshield wiper that remains parked within the driver's 

side windshield wiper area shall be rejected.  

EXCEPTION: Do not reject safety grooves designed to 

clean wiper blades if the grooves do not extend upward 

from the bottom of the windshield more than six inches at 

the highest point. 

7. There is a pit, chip, or star crack larger than 3/4 inch in 

diameter at any location in the windshield above the 

topmost portion of the steering wheel except the two-inch 

border at each side. 
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8. At any location above the topmost portion of the 

steering wheel excluding a two-inch border at the top and 

one-inch border at the sides there is: 

a. Any crack over 1/4 inch in width. 

b. Any crack 1/4 inch or less in width intersected by 

another crack. 

c. Any damage area 3/4 inch or less in diameter if within 

three inches of any other damage area.  

9. Any sticker is on the windshield other than an official 

one required by law, or permitted by the superintendent. 

Authorization is hereby granted for stickers or decals, to 

include those required by any county, town, or city, 

measuring not more than 2-1/2 inches in width and four 

inches in length to be placed in the blind spot behind the 

rear view mirror. The normal location for any required 

county, town, or city sticker or decal is adjacent to the right 

side of official inspection sticker when viewed from inside 

the vehicle. The top edge of the sticker is to be 

approximately four inches from the bottom of the 

windshield. The left side edge adjacent to the official 

inspection sticker shall not be more than 1/4-inch from the 

right edge of the official inspection sticker when viewed 

from inside the vehicle. Valid Commercial Vehicle Safety 

Alliance (CVSA) inspection decals, or similar commercial 

vehicle inspection decal issued by local law enforcement, 

may be placed at the bottom right corner of the windshield 

when viewed from inside the vehicle. The top edge of such 

decals are to be approximately four inches from the bottom 

of the windshield when viewed from inside the vehicle and 

are to be located outside the area swept by the windshield 

wipers.  

Any sticker or decal required by the laws of any other state 

or the District of Columbia and displayed upon the 

windshield of a vehicle submitted for inspection in this 

state is permitted by the superintendent, provided the 

vehicle is currently registered in that jurisdiction and the 

sticker is displayed in a manner designated by the issuing 

authority and has not expired. This includes vehicles with 

dual registration, i.e., Virginia and the District of 

Columbia. 

NOTE: Toll transponder devices may be affixed to the 

inside center of the windshield at the roof line just above 

the rear view mirror. If space does not allow, then it may 

be affixed to the immediate right of the mirror at the roof 

line.  

NOTE: A licensed motor vehicle dealer may apply one 

transponder sticker no larger than one inch by four inches 

and one barcode sticker no larger than three inches by four 

inches to the driver's side edge of a vehicle's windshield to 

be removed upon the sale or lease of the vehicle provided 

that it does not extend below the AS-1 line. In the absence 

of an AS-1 line, the sticker cannot extend more than three 

inches downward from the top of the windshield.  

NOTE: Any vehicle displaying an expired sticker or decal 

on its windshield at the time of inspection, excluding a 

rejection sticker, shall not be issued an approval sticker 

unless the owner or operator authorizes its removal. A 

rejection sticker will be issued versus an involuntary 

removal. 

10. Sunshading material attached to the windshield extends 

more than three inches downward from the top of the 

windshield, unless authorized by the Virginia Department 

of Motor Vehicles and indicated on the vehicle 

registration. 

NOTE: Sunshading material on the windshield displaying 

words, lettering, numbers or pictures that do not extend 

below the AS-1 line are permitted. 

NOTE: Vehicles with logos made into the glass at the 

factory that meet federal standards will pass state 

inspection. 

11. Any sunscreening material is scratched, distorted, 

wrinkled or obscures or distorts clear vision through the 

glazing. 

12. Front side windows have cloudiness above three inches 

from the bottom of the glass, or other defects that affect the 

driver's vision or one or more cracks which permit one part 

of the glass to be moved in relation to another part. Wind 

silencers, breezes or other ventilator adaptors are not made 

of clear transparent material. 

13. Glass in the left front door cannot be lowered so a hand 

signal can be given. (This does not apply to vehicle 

equipped with approved turn signals which were not 

designed or manufactured for left front glass to be 

lowered.) If either front door has the glass removed and 

material inserted in place of the glass which could obstruct 

the driver's vision. 

Exception: Sunscreening material is permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side. 

14. Any sticker or other obstruction is on either front side 

window, rear side windows, or rear windows. (The price 

label, fuel economy label and the buyer's guide required by 

federal statute and regulations to be affixed to new or used 

vehicles by the manufacturer shall normally be affixed to 

one of the rear side windows.) If a vehicle only has two 

door windows, the labels may be affixed to one of these 

windows. If a vehicle does not have any door or side 

windows, the labels may be temporarily affixed to the right 

side of the windshield until the vehicle is sold to the first 

purchaser. 

NOTE: A single sticker no larger than 20 square inches in 

area, if such sticker is totally contained within the lower 
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five inches of the glass in the rear window or a single 

sticker or decal no larger than 10 square inches located in 

an area not more than three inches above the bottom and 

not more than eight inches from the rearmost edge of either 

front side window, is permissible and should not be 

rejected. 

Do not reject a tractor truck having a gross vehicle weight 

rating of 26,001 pounds or more equipped with one 

optically grooved clear plastic wide angle lens affixed to 

the right front side window. Such wide angle lens shall not 

extend upward from the bottom of the window opening 

more than six inches or backward from the front of the 

window opening more than eight inches. 

15. Rear window is clouded or distorted so that the driver 

does not have a view 200 feet to the rear. 

EXCEPTIONS: The following are permissible if the 

vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side: 

a. There is attached to one rear window of such motor 

vehicle one optically grooved clear plastic right angle 

rear view lens, not exceeding 18 inches in diameter in the 

case of a circular lens or not exceeding 11 inches by 14 

inches in the case of a rectangular lens, which enables the 

operator of the motor vehicle to view below the line of 

sight as viewed through the rear window. 

b. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle any sticker or stickers, 

regardless of size. 

c. There is affixed to the rear side windows, rear window 

or windows of such motor vehicle a single layer of 

sunshading material. 

d. Rear side windows, rear window or windows is 

clouded or distorted. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (19VAC30-70)  

Safety Inspector Notification Form (rev. 6/2012) 

Mechanics Certification Application, SP-170-B (rev. 

6/2012) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police area 

office 

Criminal History Record Name Search Request, SP-167 

(rev. 12/2012) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police 

area office 

Authorization for Release of Information, SP-170-D (rev. 

10/2013) - must be obtained from Virginia State Police area 

office  

Safety Inspector Application, SP-170-B (rev. 8/2017)  

Virginia Criminal History Records Name Search Request, 

SP-167 (rev. 10/2018) 

Authorization for Release of Information, SP-170-D (rev. 

8/2017) 

Inspection Station Complaint/Report, SP-164 (rev. 10/2001) 

Safety Inspector Applicant Worksheet (undated, filed 

7/2020) 

Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Name Search 

Request Form, SP-266 (rev. 4/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6406; Filed July 10, 2020, 6:30 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Transportation 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 2, which 

excludes regulations that establish or prescribe agency 

organization, internal practice or procedures, including 

delegations of authority. The Department of Transportation 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-17. Solicitation and Use of 

VDOT Buildings and Grounds for Nonwork Purposes 

(repealing 24VAC30-17-10 through 24VAC30-17-90).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance 

and Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Based on a periodic review of 24VAC30-17, this action 

repeals Solicitation and Use of VDOT Buildings and 

Grounds for Nonwork Purposes (24VAC30-17), regarding 

criteria and procedures the Virginia Department of 

Transportation (VDOT) follows in granting access to and 

use of VDOT facilities for purposes other than transacting 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cd6b004533~1&typ=40&actno=004533&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d727006406~2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dbbd006406~4t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=6dbbd006406~4t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55eb0006406~5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55eb0006406~5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=749a2002928~2&typ=40&actno=002928&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=731af006406~1t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=731af006406~1t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=770f3006406~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=770f3006406~3t.pdf&typ=40&actno=006406&mime=application/pdf
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official state business. This policy generally applies to the 

central office, district offices, and residencies that have 

dedicated space for meetings. VDOT is repealing the 

regulation and retaining two sections as written internal 

agency policy. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6436; Filed July 13, 2020, 12:04 p.m.  

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 

Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 

11 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 

relating to traffic signs, markers, or control devices. 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-570. Procedures for 

Inclusion of Routes into the Non-Interstate Qualifying 

Network and Virginia Access Systems (repealing 

24VAC30-570-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance 

and Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action repeals 24VAC30-570 based on a periodic 

review. The existing regulation merely incorporates by 

reference the procedures for requesting the inclusion of 

routes in the network of highways for use by over-

dimensional vehicles as designated by either the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board or the 

Commissioner of Highways. The procedures impose no 

legal burden on the public and can be maintained as a 

guidance document or internal policy after the regulation 

is repealed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6417; Filed July 13, 2020, 12:05 p.m.  

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov


GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 
 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Suicide Prevention Guidelines for 

Virginia Public Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Maribel Saimre, Director of Student 

Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2818, or email 

maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Retroactive Billing for Addiction and 

Recovery Treatment Services (ARTS) Effective July 1, 2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-6043, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

 

 
VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 

BOARD 

Title of Document: Draft 2021 Grant Manual for the Virginia 

Dam Safety, Flood Prevention and Protection Assistance 

Fund. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 2, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 3, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Christine Watlington, Policy and Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Conservation and Recreation 600 

East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-3319, or email christine.watlington@dcr.virginia.gov.  

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/15ea0006453~1s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/15ea0006453~1s.pdf
mailto:maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/8ef86006453~2s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/8ef86006453~2s.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/bfed0006453~3s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/bfed0006453~3s.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/8410d006453~4d.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/8410d006453~4d.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6453/8410d006453~4d.pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Winterpock Solar I LLC, Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Chesterfield County 

Winterpock Solar I LLC, Cypress Creek Renewables has 

provided the Department of Environmental Quality a notice 

of intent to submit the necessary documentation for a permit 

by rule for a small renewable energy project (photovoltaic 

solar) in Chesterfield County. The proposed Winterpock 

Solar I project will be a 20-megawatt alternating current 

photovoltaic solar facility on portions of four parcels, totaling 

approximately 250 acres. The project is proposed to be 

located south of River Road and east of Eppes Falls Road in 

Chesterfield County. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Home Health Provider Manual 

Comment period: July 7, 2020, to August 6, 2020. 

The draft Home Health manual (Chapters IV and VI) is now 

available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at http://dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until August 6, 2020. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Scott County 
Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Scott 

County Public Service Authority for violations of the State 

Water Control Law at the Nickelsville wastewater treatment 

plant in Scott County. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jonathan Chapman 

will accept comments by email at 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-

4899, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from August 4, 2020, through 

September 2, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Woodlawn 
Construction Company Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Woodlawn 

Construction Company Inc. for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and regulations at the construction project along 

Loudoun County Parkway located in Ashburn, Virginia. The 

State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order 

to resolve violations associated with the construction project 

along Loudoun County Parkway. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov, or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from July 31, 2020, through September 2, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-900. Certification of 

Nonpoint Source Nutrient Credits. 

Publication: 36:23 VA.R. 2432-2469 July 6, 2020. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2436, 9VAC25-900-30, subsection C, line 5, after 

"chapter" replace "(insert the effective date of this chapter)" 

with "September 1, 2020," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3379; Filed July 22, 2020, 9:23 a.m. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-210. Water or Wastewater 

Utility Applications Seeking Fair Valuation of 

Acquisitions of Municipal Water or Wastewater Systems. 

Publication: 36:23 VA.R. 2496-2499 July 6, 2020. 

Correction to Title of Regulation: 

Page 2496, after "Municipal Water" add "or Wastewater 

Systems" 

Correction to Agency Contact: 

Page 2496, after "@scc.virginia" replace ".com" with ".gov" 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 2497, column 2, before "20VAC5-210-10. Purpose and 

applicability." insert  

CHAPTER 210 

WATER OR WASTEWATER UTILITY APPLICATIONS 

SEEKING FAIR VALUATION OF ACQUISITIONS OF 

MUNICIPAL WATER OR WASTEWATER SYSTEMS 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6333; Filed July 16, 2020, 2:56 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




