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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

September 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:2 August 26, 2020 September 14, 2020 

37:3 September 9, 2020 September 28, 2020 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jeffree Hudson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 

require sedation of an animal to be euthanized. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on July 28, 

2020, the board reviewed copies of all comments on the 

petition, as well as copies of the directive from the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

and the State Veterinarian on euthanasia and the guidelines on 

euthanasia from the American Veterinary Medical 

Association. The board acknowledged that veterinarians take 

very seriously their responsibility to animals and their owners 

to reduce suffering as humanely as possible. Veterinarians are 

expected to use their professional judgment in such situations. 

Owners who are concerned about the process may consult 

with the veterinarian about the euthanasia process and the 

possible need for sedation. The commenter noted the VDACS 

directive on euthanasia. According to that agency, shelters 

typically do sedate an animal because they use 

nonveterinarian staff for euthanasia, so there is no opportunity 

for professional judgment by a veterinarian as to whether 

sedation is advisable. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, 

or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-25; Filed July 28, 2020, 11:14 a.m. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND  
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kevin Schmidt, Board Secretary, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver 

Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, Suite 219, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-1346, FAX (804) 371-7679, or 

email kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-61, Regulations 

Governing Livestock Dealers and Marketing Facilities for 

the Purpose of Controlling and Eradicating Infectious and 

Contagious Diseases of Livestock; 2VAC5-70, Health 

Requirements Governing the Control of Equine Infectious 

Anemia in Virginia; 2VAC5-80, Requirements Governing 

the Branding of Cattle in Virginia; 2VAC5-111, Public 

and Private Animal Shelters; and 2VAC5-190, Rules and 

Regulations Establishing a Monitoring Program for Avian 

Influenza and Other Poultry Diseases. The review will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Dr. Carolynn Bissett, Program 

Manager, Office of Veterinary Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 

371-2380, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-240, Rules and 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Grain Handlers Law. 

The review will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

mailto:kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:Carolynn.Bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
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Contact Information: Olivia Wilson, Deputy Director, 

Commodity Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2112, FAX (804) 225-4434, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email olivia.wilson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-319, Best 

Management Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in 

Order to Limit Operator Liability; 2VAC5-330, Rules and 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law-

Virginia Gypsy Moth Quarantine; 2VAC5-360, 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia 

Commercial Feed Act; and 2VAC5-400, Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Fertilizer 

Law. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, 

TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-350, Rules and 

Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia 

Commission Merchant Law, and 2VAC5-480, Regulation 

Governing the Oxygenation of Gasoline. The review will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Gary Milton, Program Manager, Office 

of Weights and Measures, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1274, FAX (804) 786-1571, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email gary.milton@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 2VAC5-550, Rules and 

Regulations Pertaining to Tolerances and Prohibitions 

Applicable to Sausage; 2VAC5-560, Rules and 

Regulations Pertaining to Labeling and Sale of Infant 

Formula; 2VAC5-570, Rules and Regulations Defining 

Standards for Grades/Sizes of Shell Eggs; and 2VAC5-

585, Retail Food Establishment Regulations. The review 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

mailto:Olivia.Wilson@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:David.Gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:Gary.Milton@vdacs.virginia.gov
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Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC20-20, Schedule of 

Fees for Hazardous Waste Facility Site Certification, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 29, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is authorized by state law and is necessary to 

protect public health and welfare. Without this regulation, the 

Commonwealth would be required to pay all costs associated 

with processing applications and site certifications for 

hazardous waste management sites, which would reduce 

funding of other service areas. The regulation is technical in 

nature; however, it is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The regulation continues to be needed and is being retained 

without changes. 

The board is authorized to adopt a schedule of fees to charge 

applicants and to collect fees for the cost of processing 

applications and site certifications, and this regulation 

complies with the board's statutory authority. These fees 

defray costs associated with the review of these site 

certifications.  

No public comments were received during the periodic 

review of this regulation.  

This regulation is one regulation in a series all of which are 

related to hazardous waste facility site certifications. 

Maintaining multiple regulations each of which address 

different aspects of hazardous waste facility site certifications 

removes complexity from the regulatory process and allows 

users to focus on applicable requirements.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state or federal law. This regulation does interact with 

three other state regulations. The four separate regulations 

work together to protect public health and welfare concerning 

the siting of hazardous waste facility sites.  

This regulation last underwent a periodic review in 2016. 

This regulation was amended in August 2012 to update a 

mailing address within the regulation.  

The department, through examination of the regulation, has 

determined that the regulatory requirements currently 

minimize the economic impact of these regulations on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC20-30, Technical 

Assistance Fund Administrative Procedures, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 29, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare. This regulation sets forth the 

process for a community hosting a hazardous waste facility to 

obtain technical assistance funds for a thorough and efficient 

review by the host community's local government of the 

proposed hazardous waste facility's impact on public health, 

safety, and welfare and on the environment. Without this 

fund, it is unlikely that the host community's local 

government would be able to conduct this evaluation. 

The regulation is effective and continues to be needed and is 

being retained. 

The regulation continues to be needed to provide a governing 

body of a community hosting a hazardous waste facility with 

a process for obtaining technical assistance funds to evaluate 

the proposed hazardous waste facility's impact on public 

health, safety, and welfare and on the environment.  

No public comments were received during the public 

comment period.  

This regulation has been written to establish the process for a 

governing body of a community hosting a hazardous waste 

facility to obtain technical assistance funds. It is clearly 

written and is consistent with the requirements of statute and 

other related regulations.  

mailto:Ryan.Davis@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation. This regulation is part 

of a set of four related regulations mandated by Virginia 

statutes that establish a procedure for siting of hazardous 

waste management facilities including certification of the site, 

investigation of the site, resolution of issues between the 

applicant and the host community, and funding the process.  

A periodic review was last conducted on this regulation in 

2016, and the regulation remains current.  

This regulation allows localities a governing body of a 

community hosting a hazardous waste facility to obtain 

technical assistance funds. Small businesses are not impacted 

by this regulation. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC20-40, 

Administrative Procedures for Hazardous Waste Facility 

Site Certification, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The department is publishing 

its report of findings dated June 29, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare. This regulation establishes 

administrative procedures for the submission and evaluation 

of applications for certification of hazardous waste facility 

sites, including the processing of applications and public 

notice requirements. This regulation is technical in nature and 

is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The regulation is effective and continues to be needed and is 

being retained. 

The regulation continues to be needed to establish 

administrative procedures for the submission and evaluation 

of applications for certification of hazardous waste facility 

sites, including the processing of applications and public 

notice requirements.  

No public comments were received during the public 

comment period.  

This regulation establishes administrative procedures for the 

submission and evaluation of applications for certification of 

hazardous waste facility sites, including the processing of 

applications and public notice requirements. It is clearly 

written and is consistent with the requirements of statute and 

other related regulations.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation. This regulation is part 

of a set of four related regulations mandated by Virginia 

statutes that establish a procedure for siting of hazardous 

waste management facilities including certification of the site, 

investigation of the site, resolution of issues between the 

applicant and the host community, and funding the process.  

A periodic review was last conducted on this regulation in 

2016, and the regulation remains current.  

The department has determined that the regulatory 

requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 

these regulations on small businesses while meeting the 

requirements of state law. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a periodic review and 

small business impact review of 9VAC20-50, Hazardous 

Waste Facility Siting Criteria, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated June 29, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation establishes the siting criteria for hazardous 

waste facilities and is protective of human health and the 

environment. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The regulation is effective and continues to be needed and is 

being retained. 

The regulation continues to be needed to establish siting 

criteria for hazardous waste facilities.  

No public comments were received during the public 

comment period.  

This regulation establishes siting criteria for hazardous waste 

facility sites. It is clearly written and is consistent with the 

requirements of statute and other related regulations.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation. This regulation is part 

of a set of four related regulations mandated by Virginia 

statutes that establish a procedure for siting of hazardous 

waste management facilities including certification of the site, 

investigation of the site, resolution of issues between the 

applicant and the host community, and funding the process.  

A periodic review was last conducted on this regulation in 

2016, and the regulation remains current.  

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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The department has determined that the regulatory 

requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 

these regulations on small businesses while meeting the 

requirements of state law. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4019, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-210, Virginia Water 

Protection Permit Program Regulation; 9VAC25-660, 

Virginia Water Protection General Permit for Impacts 

Less Than One-Half Acre; 9VAC25-670, Virginia Water 

Protection General Permit for Facilities and Activities of 

Utility and Public Service Companies Regulated by the 

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or the State 

Corporation Commission and Other Utility Line 

Activities; 9VAC25-680, Virginia Water Protection 

General Permit for Linear Transportation Projects; and 

9VAC25-690, Virginia Water Protection General Permit 

for Impacts from Development and Certain Mining 

Activities. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 17, 2020, and ends 

September 7, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

30, 4VAC20-252-50, 4VAC20-252-80 through 4VAC20-

252-110, 4VAC20-252-130, 4VAC20-252-140, 4VAC20-

252-150, 4VAC20-252-155, 4VAC20-252-160, 4VAC20-

252-200, 4VAC20-252-210; repealing 4VAC20-252-115).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require the use of non-offset, non-

stainless steel circle hooks when fishing for striped bass 

recreationally with bait; (ii) clarify that the captain or 

operator of any recreational boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for any minimum or maximum size limits; and 

(iii) repeal exemptions from size limits and closed fishing 

seasons for recreational striped bass fishing tournaments. 

4VAC20-252-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Chesapeake Bay area" means the commercial fishing area 

that includes the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the 

Potomac River tributaries.  

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters 

of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries 

as defined by in this section.  

"Circle hook" means a non‐offset, non‐stainless steel hook 

with the point turned sharply and straight back toward the 

shank. 

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's 

portion of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, 

inlets, and tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, 

Northampton County (including areas east of the causeway 

from Fisherman Island to the mainland), and the City of 

Virginia Beach (including federal areas and state parks, 

fronting on the Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point 

where the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the 

mainland at Cape Henry).  

"Commercial fishing," or "fishing commercially," or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose, or 

is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial purpose.  

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission.  

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at 

Dameron Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West 

Longitude 76-17.1294; thence extending to the southernmost 

point of Tangier Island, and thence north to a point on the 

Virginia-Maryland state boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 

37-57.0407, West Longitude 75-58.5043, thence and then 

westerly along the Virginia-Maryland state boundary to 

Smith Point.  

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction 

beginning with, and including, Flag Pond thence extending 

upstream to the District of Columbia boundary.  

"Recreational fishing," or "fishing recreationally," or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not or 

is not intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 

purpose, or is not intended for sale, barter, trade, or any 

commercial purpose.  

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational striped 

bass fishery. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 
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"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows:  

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point.  

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West 

Point upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the 

opposite shore.  

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett.  

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge.  

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically 

aided device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish of the species Morone 

saxatilis, including or any hybrid of the species Morone 

saxatilis.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-252-30. General prohibitions and requirements.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, except in accord with 

the provisions of Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia and in 

accord with the provisions of this chapter.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass taken from the tidal waters of Virginia, including 

Virginia's portion of the Territorial Sea, during a time, from 

an area, and with a gear type when there is no open season set 

forth in this chapter for such time, area, and gear type.  

C. Except for those persons permitted in accordance with 

4VAC20-252-170, it shall be unlawful for any person to 

possess any striped bass less than 18 inches total length at any 

time.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any striped 

bass that measures less than the minimum size or more than 

the maximum size applicable to the open season when fishing 

occurs, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115.  

E. A. It shall be unlawful for any person while aboard any 

boat or vessel or while fishing from shore or pier to alter any 

striped bass or to possess any altered striped bass such that its 

total length cannot be determined.  

F. B. It shall be unlawful for any person to gaff or attempt to 

gaff any striped bass at any time.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person to use a commercial 

hook and line within 300 feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, 

jetty, or pier during Thanksgiving Day and the following day 

or during any open recreational striped bass season in the 

Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, except during the period 

midnight Sunday through 6 a.m. Friday.  

H. Unless specified differently in other regulations, it C. It 

shall be unlawful to place, set, or fish any gill net within 300 

feet of any bridge, bridge-tunnel, jetty, or pier during any 

open recreational striped bass season in the Chesapeake Bay 

and its tributaries, except during the period midnight Sunday 

through midnight Wednesday.  

I. D. During the period April 1 through May 31, inclusive, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to set or fish any anchored 

gill net or staked gill net, for any purpose, within the 

spawning reaches of the James, Pamunkey, Mattaponi, and 

Rappahannock Rivers. Drift or float gill nets may be set and 

fished within the spawning reaches of these rivers during this 

period, provided that the person setting and fishing the net 

remains with the net during the time it is fishing and all 

striped bass that are caught shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

J. Holding any E. Any license or permit issued by the 

commission to fish for striped bass, recreationally or 

commercially, shall authorize any commission personnel or 

their designees to inspect, measure, weigh, or take biological 

samples from any striped bass in possession of the permit 

holder licensee or permittee.  

K. F. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude any person, who 

is legally eligible to fish, from possessing any striped bass 

tagged with a Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) 

fluorescent green tag. Possession of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass shall not count towards the personal recreational 

possession limit, and permitted. Permitted commercial striped 

bass individual transferable quota (ITQ) holders shall not be 

required to apply a tamper evident, numbered tag provided by 

the commission, in order to possess any striped bass tagged 

with a VIMS-inscribed green fluorescent tag. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to retain any of these VIMS-tagged 

striped bass for a period of time that is longer than necessary 

except to provide the VIMS-tagged striped bass to a VIMS 

representative. Under no circumstance shall any VIMS-

tagged striped bass be stored for future use or sale or 

delivered to any person who is not a VIMS representative.  

4VAC20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or attempt to take or catch any striped bass by 

any gear or method other than hook and line hook-and-line, 

rod and reel, hand line, or spearing.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess any striped bass while fishing in an area where or 

at a time when there is no open recreational striped bass 
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season, except as described in 4VAC20-252-115. Striped bass 

caught contrary to this provision shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to possess, land, and retain any striped bass in excess of the 

possession limit applicable for the area and season being 

fished within the 24-hour period of 12 a.m. through 11:59 

p.m. Striped bass taken in excess of the possession limit shall 

be returned to the water immediately.  

B. Any person fishing recreationally shall use non-offset, 

corrodible, non-stainless steel circle hooks when fishing with 

bait, live or chunk. 

C. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit 

shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied 

by the applicable personal possession limit. The captain or 

operator of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat 

or vessel possession limit.  

D. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any minimum or 

maximum size limits. 

D. E. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 

there is more than one area or season open at the same time.  

E. F. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively 

fishing pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any 

striped bass that are smaller than the minimum size limit or 

larger than the maximum size limit for the area and season 

then open and being fished, except as described in 4VAC20-

252-115. Any striped bass caught that does not meet the 

applicable size limit shall be returned to the water 

immediately.  

F. It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, 

trade, or barter any striped bass taken by hook and line, rod 

and reel, hand line, or spearing provided, however, this 

provision shall not apply to persons possessing a commercial 

hook-and-line license and a striped bass permit and meeting 

the other requirements of this chapter.  

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 

water or while fishing from a pier or shore.  

4VAC20-252-80. Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries 

spring/summer striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries spring/summer striped bass recreational fishery 

shall be May 16 through June 15 inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 

Bay and its tributaries.  

C. B. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 

inches total length, and the maximum size limit for this 

fishery shall be 28 inches total length.  

C. The maximum size limit shall be 28 inches total length. 

D. The daily possession limit for this fishery shall be one 

fish per person.  

4VAC20-252-90. Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries fall 

striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the bay Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries fall striped bass recreational fishery shall be 

October 4 through December 31, inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Chesapeake 

Bay and its tributaries.  

C. B. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 

inches total length.  

D. C. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 36 

inches total length.  

E. D. The daily possession limit for this fishery shall be one 

fish per person.  

4VAC20-252-100. Potomac River tributaries summer/fall 

striped bass recreational fishery.  

A. The open season for the Potomac River tributaries 

summer/fall striped bass recreational fishery shall correspond 

to the open summer/fall season as established by the Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission for the mainstem Potomac River.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the Potomac River 

tributaries.  

C. B. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 20 

inches total length.  

D. C. From May 16 through June 15 the maximum size limit 

for this fishery shall be 28 inches total length.  

E. D. From June 16 through December 31 the maximum size 

limit for this fishery shall be 36 inches total length. 

F. E. The daily possession limit for this fishery shall be one 

fish per person.  

4VAC20-252-110. Coastal area striped bass recreational 

fishery.  

A. The open seasons for the coastal area striped bass 

recreational fishery shall be January 1 through March 31 and 

May 16 through December 31, inclusive.  

B. The area open for this fishery shall be the coastal area as 

defined in this chapter.  

C. B. The minimum size limit for this fishery shall be 28 

inches total length.  
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D. C. The maximum size limit for this fishery shall be 36 

inches total length.  

E. D. The daily possession limit for this fishery shall be one 

fish per person per day.  

4VAC20-252-115. Exemptions from size limits and closed 

fishing seasons for recreational striped bass fishing 

tournaments. (Repealed.) 

A. The commissioner or his designee may grant exemptions 

for any recreational fishing tournament from size and season 

limitations described in 4VAC20-252-80, 4VAC-20-252-90, 

4VAC20-252-100 and 4VAC20-252-110 provided that the 

tournament meets all of the following conditions:  

1. The tournament operates for a limited duration, with a 

maximum of three consecutive days.  

2. The tournament format provides for the live release of 

all fish and significant penalties for entrants bringing in or 

weighing in dead striped bass.  

3. The tournament director submits a written proposal to 

the commissioner detailing the measures the tournament 

will use to ensure the survivability of fish entered in the 

tournament, to include capture, handling and storage of 

fish by tournament entrants on the water during the 

competition, by tournament officials at the weigh-in, by 

tournament officials when transporting and returning the 

fish to the water, and any penalties that will apply to 

entrants bringing in or weighing dead fish. Such proposal 

must be submitted no later than 120 days prior to the 

tournament, and the proposal must be determined by the 

commissioner to adequately address potential mortality 

issues.  

4. Tournament officials must agree to provide any or all 

fish entered in the tournament to the Marine Resources 

Commission, or to any designee of the Marine Resources 

Commission, upon written request, and tournament 

officials agree to allow Marine Resources Commission 

staff access to all tournament areas during the event for the 

purposes of observation and assessment, upon request.  

B. Any determination by the commissioner or his designee 

that approval of any requested recreational striped bass 

tournament could jeopardize the status of the striped bass 

stock or prove to be an issue of compliance with the interstate 

fishery management plan will result in disapproval of that 

request.  

4VAC20-252-130. Entry limits, permits, and reports.  

A. There is established a special permit for engaging in 

either the Chesapeake Bay area commercial fishery for 

striped bass or the coastal area commercial fishery for striped 

bass, and it. It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in 

either commercial fishery for striped bass without first having 

obtained the permit from the commission and meeting the 

following conditions:  

1. The person shall be a licensed registered commercial 

fisherman.  

2. The person shall have reported all prior fishing activity 

in accordance with 4VAC20-610 and shall not be under 

any sanction by the Marine Resources Commission for 

noncompliance with the regulation.  

B. Permits for the commercial harvest of striped bass in the 

Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area shall be issued to any 

registered commercial fishermen holding striped bass quota 

shares issued under the provisions of 4VAC20-252-150 and 

4VAC20-252-160.  

C. Permits shall be in the possession of the permittee while 

catching, harvesting, selling, or possessing striped bass. 

Failure to have the appropriate permit in possession shall be a 

violation of this chapter.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person, business, or 

corporation, except for licensed restaurants, to purchase from 

the harvester any quantity of striped bass greater than 10 

pounds in total weight taken from Virginia's tidal waters for 

the purpose of resale without first obtaining a striped bass 

buyer's permit from the commission, except as described in 

subsection E of this section. Such permit shall be completed 

in full by the permittee and kept in possession of the 

permittee while selling or possessing striped bass. Failure to 

have the appropriate permit in possession shall be a violation 

of this chapter.  

E. Restaurants shall not be required to obtain a striped bass 

buyer's permit from the commission but shall be required to 

certify and maintain a record of any striped bass purchased 

from any harvester for a period of not less than one year.  

F. All permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall 

report to the commission in accordance with 4VAC20-610. In 

addition to the reporting requirements of 4VAC20-610, all 

permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall record 

and report daily striped bass harvest by specifying the number 

of tags used on striped bass harvested for each day in either 

the Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area and reporting the 

daily total whole weight of striped bass harvested in either the 

Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area. Daily striped bass tag 

use on harvested striped bass and daily total whole weight of 

harvested striped bass from either the Chesapeake Bay area or 

coastal area, within any month, shall be recorded on forms 

provided by the commission and shall accompany the 

monthly catch report submitted no later than the fifth day of 

the following month.  

G. Any permitted commercial harvester of striped bass who 

self markets his striped bass to a restaurant, individual person, 

or out-of-state market shall be required to prepare a receipt 

describing each sale greater than 10 pounds in total weight. 
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Each receipt shall be a record and report of the date of 

transaction, name and signature of buyer, address and phone 

number of buyer, number and total weight of striped bass 

sold, and name and signature of harvester. Copies of each 

receipt shall be forwarded to the commission in accordance 

with 4VAC20-610.  

H. Any buyer permitted to purchase striped bass harvested 

from Virginia tidal waters shall provide written reports to the 

commission of daily purchases and harvest information on 

forms provided by the Marine Resources Commission. Such 

information shall include the date of the purchase, buyer's 

name, and harvester's Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number. In addition, for each different purchase of 

striped bass harvested from Virginia waters, the buyer shall 

record the weight of whole fish and number and type of tags 

(Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area) that applies to that 

harvest. These reports shall be completed in full and 

submitted monthly to the Marine Resources Commission no 

later than the fifth day of the following month.  

I. Failure of any person permitted to harvest, buy, or sell 

striped bass, to submit the required written report for any 

fishing day shall constitute a violation of this chapter.  

4VAC20-252-140. Commercial seasons, areas, and size 

limits.  

Except as may be adjusted pursuant to 4VAC20-252-150, 

the open commercial striped bass fishing seasons, areas, and 

applicable size limits shall be as follows:  

1. In the Chesapeake Bay area, the open commercial 

season shall be from January 16 through December 31, 

inclusive. The minimum size limit shall be 18 inches total 

length during the periods of January 16 through December 

31. The maximum size limit shall be 28 inches from March 

15 through June 15.  

2. In the coastal area, the open commercial season shall be 

January 16 through December 31, inclusive, and the. The 

minimum size limit shall be 28 inches total length.  

4VAC20-252-150. Individual commercial harvest quota.  

A. The commercial harvest quota for the Chesapeake Bay 

area shall be determined annually by the Marine Resources 

Commission. The total allowable level of all commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay and its 

tributaries and the Potomac River tributaries of Virginia for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 983,393 

pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay area is 

projected to reach 983,393 pounds, and announced as such, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to land or possess striped 

bass caught for commercial purposes from the Chesapeake 

Bay area.  

B. The commercial harvest quota for the coastal area of 

Virginia shall be determined annually by the Marine 

Resources Commission. The total allowable level of all 

commercial harvest of striped bass from the coastal area for 

all open seasons and for all legal gear shall be 125,034 

pounds of whole fish. At such time as the total commercial 

harvest of striped bass from the coastal area is projected to 

reach 125,034 pounds, and announced as such, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to land or possess striped bass caught 

for commercial purposes from the coastal area.  

C. For the purposes of assigning tags to an individual a 

person for commercial harvests in the Chesapeake Bay area 

as described in 4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial 

harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to 

an estimate in numbers of fish per individual harvest quota 

based on the average weight of striped bass harvested by the 

permitted individual person during the previous fishing year. 

The number of striped bass tags issued to each individual 

person will equal the estimated number of fish to be landed 

by that individual harvest quota, plus a number of striped bass 

tags equal to 10% of the total allotment determined for each 

individual person. 

D. For the purposes of assigning tags to an individual a 

person for commercial harvests in the coastal area of Virginia 

as described in 4VAC20-252-160, the individual commercial 

harvest quota of striped bass in pounds shall be converted to a 

quota in numbers of fish per individual commercial harvest 

quota, based on the reported average coastal area harvest 

weight of striped bass harvested by the permitted individual 

person during the previous fishing year, except as described 

in subsection E of this section. The number of striped bass 

tags issued to each individual person will equal the estimated 

number of fish to be landed by that individual harvest quota, 

plus a number of striped bass tags equal to 10% of the total 

allotment determined for each individual person.  

E. For any individual person whose reported average coastal 

area harvest weight of striped bass in the previous fishing 

year was less than 12 pounds, a 12-pound minimum weight 

shall be used to convert that individual's person's harvest 

quota of striped bass, in pounds of fish, to harvest quota in 

number of fish. 

4VAC20-252-155. Individual transferable shares 

monitoring and penalties.  

A. Any initial overage by any person of an individual 

commercial harvest quota during any calendar year shall be 

considered a first offense, with penalties prescribed according 

to the severity of the overage as described in subdivisions 1 

through 5 of this subsection.  

1. Any overages that are less than 76 pounds shall result in 

a warning being issued.  

2. Any overages that range from 76 to 250 pounds shall 

result in a one year one-year deduction of that overage 

from that individual commercial harvest quota during the 

following calendar year.  
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3. Any overages that range from 251 to 475 pounds shall 

result in a one year one-year deduction of two times that 

overage from that individual commercial harvest quota 

during the following calendar year.  

4. Any overages that range from 476 to 725 pounds shall 

result in that overage being permanently deducted from 

that individual commercial harvest quota and a one year 

one-year suspension of that individual person from the 

commercial fishery for striped bass.  

5. Any overages that are greater than 725 pounds shall 

result in the revocation of that individual striped bass 

permit, and that person shall not be eligible to apply for a 

like permit for a period of two years from the date of 

revocation.  

B. Any second overage by any person of an individual 

commercial harvest quota within five years of a previous 

offense shall result in penalties prescribed according to the 

severity of the overage as described in subdivisions 1 through 

4 of this subsection.  

1. Any overages that are less than 76 pounds shall result in 

a one year one-year deduction of the overage from that 

individual commercial harvest quota during the following 

calendar year.  

2. Any overages that range from 76 to 250 pounds shall 

result in a one year one-year deduction of two times the 

overage from that individual commercial harvest quota 

during the following calendar year.  

3. Any overages that range from 251 to 475 pounds shall 

result in the overage being permanently deducted from the 

individual commercial harvest quota and a one year one-

year suspension of that individual person from the 

commercial fishery for striped bass.  

4. Any overages that are greater than 475 pounds shall 

result in the revocation of that individual striped bass 

permit, and that individual person shall not be eligible to 

apply for a like permit for a period of two years from the 

date of revocation.  

C. Any third overage by any person of an individual 

commercial harvest quota within five years of two previous 

offenses shall result in penalties prescribed according to the 

severity of the overage as described in subdivisions 1 through 

3 of this subsection.  

1. Any overages that are less than 76 pounds shall result in 

a one year one-year deduction of two times the overage 

from that individual commercial harvest quota during the 

following calendar year.  

2. Any overages that range from 76 to 250 pounds shall 

result in the overage being permanently deducted from that 

individual commercial harvest quota and a one year one-

year suspension of the individual person from the 

commercial fishery for striped bass.  

3. Any overages that are greater than 250 pounds shall 

result in the revocation of that individual striped bass 

permit, and that person shall not be eligible to apply for a 

like permit for a period of two years from the date of 

revocation.  

D. Any fourth overage by any person of an individual 

commercial harvest quota within five years of three previous 

offenses shall result in penalties prescribed according to the 

severity of the overage as described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection.  

1. Any overages that are less than 76 pounds shall result in 

the overage being permanently deducted from that 

individual commercial harvest quota and a one year one-

year suspension of the individual person from the 

commercial fishery for striped bass.  

2. Any overages that are greater than 75 pounds shall result 

in the revocation of that individual striped bass permit, and 

that individual person shall not be eligible to apply for a 

like permit for a period of two years from the date of 

revocation.  

4VAC20-252-160. Individual transferable shares; tagging. 

A. For each person permitted under the provisions of 

4VAC20-252-130 to harvest striped bass commercially, a 

weight quota shall be issued to permitted fishermen in 

amounts equal to the percentage share of the Chesapeake Bay 

area and coastal area striped bass harvest quota they hold. 

Tags issued for Chesapeake Bay area harvest quota shall only 

be used for striped bass harvests in the Chesapeake Bay area, 

and tags issued for the coastal area harvest quota shall only be 

used for striped bass harvests in the coastal area. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess any striped bass tags in Virginia waters, according to 

the following provisions: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

set, place, or fish any gear that can harvest striped bass in 

the Chesapeake Bay area when in possession of coastal 

area striped bass tags issued by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission or striped bass tagged with coastal 

area tags. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess Virginia 

coastal area striped bass tags in the Chesapeake Bay area 

or striped bass tagged with coastal area tags except when 

transiting the Chesapeake Bay area. 

3. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess striped 

bass tags issued for previous years for the Chesapeake Bay 

area, coastal area, or any other jurisdiction. 

4. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess Potomac 

River Fisheries Commission striped bass tags in Virginia 
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waters, except when transiting the Virginia tributaries of 

the Potomac River to land in Virginia and as provided by 

subsection C of this section. 

5. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess any non-

Virginia jurisdictional striped bass tags in Virginia waters 

or striped bass tagged with any non-Virginia jurisdictional 

striped bass tags, except as provided by subdivision 4 of 

this subsection and subsection C of this section. 

6. Any violation of this subsection shall result in the 

confiscation and impoundment of all striped bass tags or 

striped bass on the vessel. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess any striped bass tags in the Great Wicomico-Tangier 

Striped Bass Management Area except current year striped 

bass tags issued by the jurisdictions of the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission, State of Maryland, or Potomac River 

Fisheries Commission and according to the following 

provisions: 

1. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

possess more than one jurisdiction's tags or more than one 

jurisdiction's tagged striped bass in the Great Wicomico-

Tangier Striped Bass Management Area. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any person onboard any vessel to 

place, set, or fish any gear that can harvest striped bass in 

the Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management 

Area when in possession of any striped bass tags not issued 

by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. 

3. Any violation of this subsection shall result in the 

confiscation and impoundment of all striped bass tags or 

striped bass on the vessel.  

D. Shares of the commercial striped bass quota held by any 

permitted fisherman may be transferred to any other person 

who is a licensed registered commercial fisherman; such 

transfer shall allow the transferee to harvest striped bass in a 

quantity equal to the share transferred. Any transfer of striped 

bass commercial shares shall be limited by the following 

conditions: 

1. Shares of commercial striped bass quota shall not be 

permanently transferred in any quantity less than 500 

pounds, or 100% of unused permanent shares, in any year 

from February 1 through October 31. Permanent transfers 

of shares of commercial striped bass quota shall be 

prohibited from November 1 through January 31. 

2. Shares of commercial striped bass quota shall not be 

temporarily transferred in any quantity less than 500 

pounds from February 1 through October 31 or less than 

200 pounds from November 1 through December 15. 

Temporary transfers of shares of commercial striped bass 

quota shall be prohibited from December 16 through 

January 31. 

3. No licensed registered commercial fisherman shall hold 

more than 2.0% of the total annual Chesapeake Bay area 

commercial striped bass harvest quota or more than 11% of 

the total annual coastal area commercial striped bass 

harvest quota. 

4. No transfer of striped bass commercial harvest quota 

shall be authorized by the commission unless transferor 

and transferee provide up-to-date records of all commercial 

landings of striped bass and striped bass tag use to the 

commission prior to such transfer. 

5. No transfer of striped bass commercial harvest quota 

shall be authorized unless such transfer is documented on a 

form provided by the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission, notarized by a lawful Notary Public, and 

approved by the commissioner. 

E. Transfers of Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area striped 

bass commercial quota from one person to another may be 

permanent or temporary. Transferred quota from the 

Chesapeake Bay area striped bass commercial quota shall 

only be used by the transferee for striped bass harvested from 

the Chesapeake Bay area, and transferred quota from the 

coastal area striped bass commercial quota shall only be used 

by the transferee for striped bass harvested from the coastal 

area. Permanent transfers of commercial quota shall grant to 

the transferee that transferred percentage of the quota for 

future years, and the transferor loses that same transferred 

percentage of the quota in future years. Temporary transfers 

of individual striped bass commercial harvest quota shall 

allow the transferee to harvest only that transferred 

percentage of the quota during the year in which the transfer 

is approved. Transferors are solely responsible for any 

overage of the transferred percentage of the quota by the 

transferee. Thereafter, any percentage of the transferred 

striped bass commercial quota, less any overage incurred by 

the transferee, reverts back to the transferor. 

F. The commission will issue striped bass tags to permitted 

striped bass commercial fishermen as follows: those 

fishermen permitted only for Chesapeake Bay area or coastal 

area harvests of striped bass will receive their allotment of 

tags prior to the start of the fishing season. Any permitted 

fisherman, eligible for both Chesapeake Bay area and coastal 

area tags, shall receive only one type of area-specific tag 

allotment, of his choosing, prior to the start of the fishing 

season, and his other type of area-specific tags will be 

distributed when it has been determined from the 

commission's mandatory harvest reporting program that the 

fisherman has used all of his first allotment of tags and has 

not exceeded his individual harvest quota. The commissioner 

may authorize the distribution of the second allotment of 

area-specific tags to a fisherman eligible for both Chesapeake 

Bay area and Coastal area tags prior to that fisherman's 

complete use of his first allotment of tags, provided that 
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fisherman surrenders any remaining tags of his first allotment 

of tags.  

G. Striped bass tags are valid only for use by the permittee 

to whom the tags were allotted. The permittee shall be on 

board the boat or vessel when striped bass are harvested and 

tags are applied. Nothing in this subsection shall prevent a 

permitted commercial hook-and-line fisherman from using 

three crew members who are not registered commercial 

fishermen to assist in the harvest of his allotment of striped 

bass.  

H. At the place of capture, and before leaving that place of 

capture, tags shall be passed through the mouth of the fish 

and one gill opening, and interlocking ends of the tag shall 

then be connected such that the tag may only be removed by 

breaking. Failure to comply with these provisions shall be a 

violation of this chapter. 

I. It shall be unlawful to bring to shore any commercially 

caught striped bass that has not been tagged at the place of 

capture by the fisherman with a tamper evident, numbered tag 

provided by the commission. It shall be unlawful to possess 

striped bass in a quantity greater than the number of tags in 

possession. If a permittee violates this section, the entire 

amount of untagged striped bass, as well as the number of 

tags equal to the amount of striped bass in his possession, 

shall be confiscated. Any confiscated striped bass shall be 

considered as a removal from that permittee's harvest quota. 

Any confiscated striped bass tags shall be impounded by the 

commission. Upon confiscation, the marine police officer 

shall inventory the confiscated striped bass and may 

redistribute the catch by one or a combination of the 

following methods: 

1. The marine police officer shall secure a minimum of two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated striped bass from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived 

from such sale shall be deposited to the Commonwealth 

pending court resolution of the charge of violating the 

possession limits established in this chapter. All of the 

collected funds and confiscated tags will be returned to the 

accused upon a finding of innocence or forfeited to the 

Commonwealth upon a finding of guilt. 

2. The marine police officer shall provide the confiscated 

striped bass to commission staff for biological sampling of 

the catch. Upon receipt of confiscated striped bass, 

commission staff will secure a minimum of two estimates 

of value per pound for striped bass from approved and 

licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated tags and the 

estimated value of confiscated striped bass provided for 

biological sampling will be reimbursed to the accused upon 

a finding of innocence or retained by the commission upon 

a finding of guilt. 

J. Altering or attempting to alter any tag for the purpose of 

reuse shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

K. Prior to receiving any commercial season's allotment of 

striped bass tags, a permitted commercial harvester shall be 

required to have returned all unused tags from the previous 

commercial season to the commission within 30 days of 

harvesting their individual harvest quota, or by the second 

Thursday in January, whichever comes first. Any unused tags 

that cannot be turned in to the commission shall be accounted 

for by the harvester submitting an affidavit to the commission 

that explains the disposition of the unused tags that are not 

able to be turned into the commission. Each individual person 

shall be required to pay a processing fee of $25, plus $0.13 

per tag, for any unused tags that are not turned in to the 

commission. 

L. Any individual person with remaining unused striped 

bass commercial quota in the current year requesting 

additional commercial season striped bass tags shall provide 

up-to-date records of landings and account for all previously 

issued tags prior to receiving an additional allotment of tags. 

The harvester shall submit an affidavit to the commission that 

explains the disposition of the tags that are not accounted for 

and shall be required to pay a processing fee of $25, plus 

$0.13 per tag, for such tags to the commission. 

M. For the commercial fishing season, one type of tag shall 

be distributed to Chesapeake Bay area permittees and one 

type of tag shall be distributed to coastal area permittees. For 

the Chesapeake Bay area, the tag shall only be used on striped 

bass 18 inches or greater in total length. For the coastal area, 

the tag shall only be used on striped bass 28 inches or greater 

in total length. The possession of any improperly tagged 

striped bass by any permitted striped bass fisherman shall be 

a violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-252-200. Inspection of facilities; diseased fish.  

A. Inspections. Agents of the commission and the 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Resources 

are authorized to make periodic inspection of the facilities 

and the stock of each operation permitted under this section. 

Every person engaged in the business of striped bass 

aquaculture shall allow such inspection at any reasonable 

time.  

B. Diseased fish. No person permitted under this chapter 

shall maintain in the permitted facility any fish which shows 

evidence of any contagious disease listed in the most current 

list by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service as 

"certifiable diseases," except for the period required for 

application of standard treatment procedures or for approved 

disposition.  

C. Disposition. No person permitted under this chapter shall 

sell or otherwise transfer possession of any striped bass or 

hybrid striped bass which shows evidence of a "certifiable 
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disease" to any person, except that such transfer may be made 

to a fish pathologist for examination and diagnosis.  

4VAC20-252-210. Sale, records, importation, release.  

A. All striped bass or hybrid striped bass except fingerlings, 

fry, and eggs, which are the product of an aquaculture facility 

permitted under this section shall be packaged with a printed 

label bearing the name, address, and permit number of the 

aquaculture facility. When so packaged and labeled such fish 

may be transported and sold at retail or at wholesale for 

commercial distribution through normal channels of trade 

until reaching the ultimate consumer. Every such sale must be 

accompanied by a receipt showing the date of sale, the name, 

address and permit number of the aquaculture facility, the 

numbers and species of fish sold, and the name of the 

purchaser. Each subsequent resale must be accompanied by a 

receipt clearly identifying the seller by name and address, 

showing the number and species of the fish sold, the date 

sold, the permit number of the aquaculture facility and, if the 

sale is to other than the ultimate consumer, the name and 

address of the purchaser. The purchaser in possession of such 

fish must exhibit the receipt on demand of any law 

enforcement officer. A duplicate copy of each such receipt 

must be retained for one year by the seller as part of the 

records of each transaction.  

B. Each permitted aquaculture facility operator shall 

maintain a chronological file of the receipts or copies thereof 

showing the dates and sources of acquisitions of striped bass 

or hybrid striped bass and quantities thereof, and a 

chronological file of copies of receipts of his sales required 

under subsection A of this section. Such records shall be 

segregated as to each permit year, shall be made available for 

inspection by any authorized agent of the commission or 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife 

Resources, and shall be retained for at least one year 

following the close of the permit year to which they pertain.  

C. Striped bass or hybrid striped bass which are the product 

of an approved and state permitted aquaculture facility in 

another state may be imported into Virginia for the consumer 

market. Such fish shall be packaged and labeled in 

accordance with the provisions contained in subsection A of 

this section. Any sale of such fish also shall be accompanied 

by receipts as described in subsection A of this section.  

D. Release of live fish. Under no circumstance shall striped 

bass which are the product of an aquaculture facility located 

within or outside the Commonwealth of Virginia be placed 

into the waters of the Commonwealth without first having 

notified the commission and having received written 

permission from the Commissioner of Marine Resources.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6468; Filed July 29, 2020, 2:41 p.m.  

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-280. Pertaining to Speckled 

Trout and Red Drum (amending 4VAC20-280-20 through 

4VAC20-280-55).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require seafood buyers to report 

purchases of speckled trout on the day of purchase during 

the period of August 1 through November 30 of each year, 

(ii) remove an obsolete provision applicable only in 2014, 

and (iii) make technical changes. 

4VAC20-280-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise.  

"Red drum" means red drum or channel bass and is any fish 

of the species Sciaenops ocellatus.  

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's 

head that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Speckled trout" means speckled trout or spotted seatrout 

and is any fish of the species Cynoscion nebulosus.  

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, 

to the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured 

with the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-

line measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-280-30. Size limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or 

possess any speckled trout less than 14 inches in total length, 

provided however the catch of speckled trout by pound net or 

haul seine may consist of up to 5.0%, by weight, of speckled 

trout less than 14 inches in total length.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with commercial hook and line hook-and-line gear, or fishing 

recreationally with any gear type to possess more than one 

speckled trout 24 inches or greater in any one day from 
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January 1 through December 31, except as described in 

4VAC20-280-40 B. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

with any gear type to take, catch, or possess any red drum less 

than 18 inches in total length or greater than 26 inches in total 

length.  

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with any gear type to take, catch, or possess any red drum less 

than 18 inches in total length or greater than 25 inches in total 

length. 

4VAC20-280-40. Possession limits.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with commercial hook and line hook-and-line gear or 

recreationally with any gear type to possess more than five 

speckled trout in any one day from January 1 through 

December 31, except as described in subsection B of this 

section.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing commercially 

with commercial hook and line gear or recreationally with 

any gear type to take, harvest, or possess any speckled trout 

from March 1 through July 31, 2014. 

C. B. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing 

recreationally with any gear type to possess more than three 

red drum.  

D. C. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing 

commercially with any gear type to possess more than five 

red drum. 

4VAC20-280-50. Commercial landings quota and daily 

bycatch limit.  

A. For each 12-month period of September 1 through 

August 31, the commercial landings of speckled trout shall be 

limited to 51,104 pounds.  

B. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 

commercial landings quota has been taken, it shall be 

unlawful for any commercial fisherman registration licensee 

to take, harvest, land, or possess a daily bycatch limit of 

greater than 100 pounds of speckled trout, and that daily 

bycatch landing limit of speckled trout shall consist of at least 

an equal amount of other fish species. 

C. When it is projected that the commercial landings quota 

will be met by a certain date within the above period, the 

Marine Resources Commission will provide notice of the 

closing date for commercial harvest and landing of speckled 

trout during that period, and it shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest or land speckled trout for commercial 

purposes after such closing date for the remainder of that 

period.  

4VAC20-280-55. Seafood buyer reporting requirements. 

On each Monday, from August 1 through November 30, of 

an open commercial season for speckled trout, any Any 

licensed seafood buyer who purchased purchases speckled 

trout during the previous seven days from August 1 through 

November 30 shall contact report daily purchases in pounds 

using the commission's interactive voice recording system 

and report any purchases of speckled trout, in pounds, during 

the previous seven days on the day of purchase. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6466; Filed July 28, 2020, 5:30 p.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-540. Pertaining to Spanish 

and King Mackerel (amending 4VAC20-540-30, 4VAC20-

540-40, 4VAC20-540-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 28.2-201 and 28.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The emergency action establishes a 500-pound daily per 

vessel bycatch provision in state waters for the Spanish 

mackerel commercial fishery to coincide with any federal 

waters closure announced by the National Marine 

Fisheries Service. 

4VAC20-540-30. Possession Recreational possession limits 

established.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line hook-and-line, hand line, rod and reel, spear or, gig, or 

other recreational gear to possess more than 15 Spanish 

mackerel or more than three king mackerel.  

B. When fishing from a boat or vessel, where the entire 

catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession 

limits shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied 

by 15 for Spanish mackerel or multiplied by three for king 

mackerel. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall 

be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit.  

C. The possession limit provisions established in this section 

shall not apply to persons harvesting Spanish mackerel or 

king mackerel with licensed commercial gear.  

4VAC20-540-40. Minimum size limits established.  

A. Minimum size limit for Spanish mackerel is established 

at 14 inches in total length.  

B. Minimum size limit for king mackerel is established at 27 

inches in total length.  
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C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or 

possess any Spanish mackerel less than 14 inches in total 

length.  

D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section it shall 

be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or possess any king 

mackerel less than 27 inches in total length.  

E. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the taking, catching, 

or possession of any king mackerel, less than 27 inches in 

total length, by a licensed pound net.  

4VAC20-540-50. Trip Commercial trip limit established.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land in 

Virginia any amount of Spanish mackerel in excess of 3,500 

pounds from any vessel in any one day, except as specified in 

subsection B of this section.  

B. When a commercial closure in federal waters for the 

Northern Zone Atlantic Migratory Group Spanish Mackerel is 

announced by the National Marine Fisheries Service, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to possess or land in Virginia any 

amount of Spanish mackerel in excess of 500 pounds from 

any vessel in any one day. This federal closure and state 

water per trip possession limit will be posted on the Marine 

Resources Commission website. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6467; Filed July 29, 2020, 12:29 p.m.  

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2021.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the annual license fee for 

electrofishing of catfish. 

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person who purchases a license for the purposes purpose of harvesting for 

commercial purposes, or fishing for recreational purposes, during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a $1.00 

agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration  $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a person 70 years or older  $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more gear types to harvest oysters or for any registered 

commercial fisherman who solely harvests or possesses any bushel limit described in 

4VAC20-720-80, only one oyster resource user fee, per year, shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing no more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 1,000 but no more than 10,000 gallons 

of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 10,000 but no more than 25,000 

gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single truck or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on riparian assignment or general oyster planting 

grounds $50.00 

3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, RELAY, AND BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught from the public grounds of the Commonwealth 

or the Potomac River, for a single place of business with one boat or motor vehicle 

used for buying oysters $50.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught from the public grounds of the Commonwealth 

or the Potomac River, for a single place of business with multiple boats or motor 

vehicles used for buying oysters $100.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons or over $456.00 

One-day permit to relay condemned shellfish from a general oyster planting ground $150.00 
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4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines  $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 crab pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab pots $127.00 

6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND LOBSTER LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by hand  $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing of lobster using less than 200 pots  $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing of lobster using 200 pots or more  $166.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting clams by hand, rake, or with ordinary tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

Water Rake Permit $24.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk by conch pot $51.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or under, with a fixed location $24.00 
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All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1,200 feet  $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 yards in 

length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line for catching striped bass only $31.00 

For up to 100 fish pots  $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots  $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots  $62.00 

For up to 100 eel pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 eel pots $62.00 

For each person electrofishing catfish $100.00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES  

Any person purchasing more than one of the following licenses, as described in this subsection, for the same vessel, shall 

pay a fee equal to that for a single license for the same vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing for the purse seine menhaden 

reduction sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing for the purse seine menhaden reduction 

sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait 

sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait sector $996.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots with a terrapin excluder device $36.00 

Up to five crab pots without a terrapin excluder device $46.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 
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12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, provided a nonresident may not purchase a recreational 

boat license unless his boat is registered in Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six or less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, six or less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, 

over six persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, 

over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with maximum fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License $10.00 

Disabled Nonresident Lifetime Saltwater License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents $39.50 

Nonresidents $71.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season for five consecutive 

days. 

Residents $24.00 

Nonresidents $31.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents $126.00 

Nonresidents $201.00 

16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 45 - 50 $132.00 
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Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6465; Filed July 28, 2020, 1:19 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-335, 12VAC30-50-345).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396 et seq.). 

Effective Date: September 16, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the Programs of All-Inclusive 

Care for the Elderly (PACE) regulations to federal 

regulations, including (i) changing the description of the 

required "quality management and performance" program 

to be a "quality improvement" program; (ii) allowing 

either the Medicaid capitation rate or the Medicaid 

payment rate methodology to be included in program 

agreement between the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services (CMS); (iii) requiring PACE providers to retain 

business and professional records for at least 10 years; 

(iv) requiring PACE providers planning a change of 

ownership to notify CMS and the department in writing at 

least 60 days before the anticipated effective date of the 

change; and (v) allowing the participant to disenroll from 

the PACE program at any time and have such 

disenrollment be effective on the first day of the month 

following the date the provider organization receives the 

participant's notice of voluntary disenrollment. 

12VAC30-50-335. General PACE plan requirements. 

A. DMAS, the state agency responsible for administering 

Virginia's Medicaid program, shall only enter into PACE plan 

contracts with approved PACE plan providers. The PACE 

provider must have an agreement with CMS and DMAS for 

the operation of a PACE program. The agreement must 

include: 

1. Designation of the program's service area; 

2. The program's commitment to meet all applicable 

federal, state, and local requirements; 

3. The effective date and term of the agreement; 

4. The description of the organizational structure; 

5. Participant bill of rights; 

6. Description of grievance and appeals processes; 

7. Policies on eligibility, enrollment, and disenrollment; 

8. Description of services available; 

9. Description of the organization's quality management 

and performance improvement program; 

10. A statement of levels of performance required on 

standard quality measures; 

11. CMS and DMAS data requirements; 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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12. The Medicaid capitation rate or Medicaid payment rate 

methodology and the methodology used to calculate the 

Medicare capitation rate; 

13. Procedures for program termination; and 

14. A statement to hold harmless CMS, the state, and 

PACE participants if the PACE organization does not pay 

for services performed by the provider in accordance with 

the contract. 

B. A PACE plan feasibility study shall be performed before 

DMAS enters into any PACE plan contract. DMAS shall 

contract only with those entities it determines to have the 

ability and resources to effectively operate a PACE plan. A 

feasibility plan shall only be submitted in response to a 

Request for Applications published by DMAS. 

C. PACE plans shall offer a voluntary comprehensive 

alternative to enrollees who would otherwise be placed in a 

nursing facility. PACE plan services shall be comprehensive 

and offered as an alternative to nursing facility admission. 

D. All Medicaid-enrolled PACE participants shall continue 

to meet the nonfinancial and financial Medicaid eligibility 

criteria established by federal law and these regulations this 

chapter. This requirement shall not apply to Medicare only or 

private pay PACE participants. 

E. Each PACE provider shall operate a PACE site that is in 

continuous compliance with all state licensure requirements 

for that site. 

F. Each PACE provider shall ensure that services are 

provided by health care providers and institutions that are in 

continuous compliance with state licensure and certification 

requirements.  

G. Each PACE plan shall meet the requirements of §§ 32.1-

330.2 and 32.1-330.3 of the Code of Virginia and 42 CFR 

Part 460. 

H. All PACE providers must meet the general requirements 

and conditions for participation pursuant to the required 

contracts by DMAS and CMS. All providers must sign the 

appropriate participation agreement. All providers must 

adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in the 

participation agreement and application to provide PACE 

services, DMAS regulations, policies and procedures, and 

CMS requirements pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460. 

I. Requests for participation as a PACE provider will be 

screened by DMAS to determine whether the provider 

applicant meets these basic requirements for participation and 

demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a minimum, the 

following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS, in writing, of any change in 

the information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS. 

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 

services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 

other provider qualified to perform the service or services 

required and participating in the Medicaid Program at the 

time the service or services are performed. 

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services. 

4. Accept referrals for services only when qualified staff is 

available to initiate and perform such services on an 

ongoing basis. 

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

as amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 

discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, 

sexual orientation, or national origin; the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); 

§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended 

(29 USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the 

basis of a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities 

Act of 1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which 

provides comprehensive civil rights protections to 

individuals with disabilities in the areas of employment, 

public accommodations, state and local government 

services, and telecommunications. 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as is provided to 

the general public. 

7. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider must not alter the DMAS 

forms in any manner unless approval from DMAS is 

obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

8. Not perform any type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals. 

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, 

scope, and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 

six 10 years from the last date of service services or as 

provided by applicable federal and state laws, whichever 

period is longer. However, if an audit is initiated within 

the required retention period, the records shall be 

retained until the audit is completed and every exception 

resolved. Records of minors shall be kept for at least six 

years after such minor has reached the age of 18 years. 

However, records for Medicare Part D shall be 

maintained for 10 years in accordance with 42 CFR 

423.505(d). 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 
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for obtaining records for review. The location, agent, or 

trustee shall be within the Commonwealth. 

10. Furnish information on request and in the form 

requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 

his authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 

state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 

right of access to provider agencies and records shall 

survive any termination of the provider agreement. 

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, 

or other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to individuals of Medicaid. 

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., 12VAC30-20-90, 

and any other applicable federal or state law, all providers 

shall hold confidential and use for authorized DMAS 

purposes only all medical assistance information regarding 

individuals served. A provider shall disclose information in 

his the provider's possession only when the information is 

used in conjunction with a claim for health benefits, or the 

data are necessary for the functioning of DMAS in 

conjunction with the cited laws. 

13. CMS and DMAS shall be notified in writing of any 

change in the organizational structure of a PACE provider 

organization at least 14 calendar days before the change 

takes effect. When planning a change of ownership, CMS 

and DMAS shall be notified in writing at least 60 calendar 

days before the anticipated effective date of the change. 

14. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, all providers enrolled by DMAS shall 

adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in their 

individual provider participation agreements and in the 

applicable DMAS provider manual. DMAS shall conduct 

ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 

noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 

result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination 

of the provider agreement, or both.  

15. Minimum qualifications of staff.  

a. All employees must have a satisfactory work record as 

evidenced by references from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

of vulnerable adults and children. Prior to the beginning 

of employment, a criminal record check shall be 

conducted for the provider and each employee and made 

available for review by DMAS staff. Providers are 

responsible for complying with the Code of Virginia and 

state regulations regarding criminal record checks and 

barrier crimes as they pertain to the licensure and 

program requirements of their employees' particular 

practice areas. 

b. Staff must meet any certifications, licensure, 

registration, etc., as required by applicable federal and 

state law. Staff qualifications must be documented and 

maintained for review by DMAS or its authorized 

contractors. 

16. At the time of their admission to services, all providers 

participating in the Medicare and Medicaid programs must 

provide adult individuals with written information 

regarding each individual's right to make medical care 

decisions, including the right to accept or refuse medical 

treatment and the right to formulate advance directives. 

J. Provider's conviction of a felony. The Medicaid provider 

agreement shall terminate upon conviction of the provider of 

a felony pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. A 

provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of 

the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. territories 

must, within 30 days, notify the Virginia Medicaid Program 

of this conviction and relinquish the provider agreement. In 

addition, termination of a provider participation agreement 

will occur as may be required for federal financial 

participation. 

K. Ongoing quality management review. DMAS shall be 

responsible for assuring continued adherence to provider 

participation standards. DMAS shall conduct ongoing 

monitoring of compliance with provider participation 

standards and DMAS policies and periodically recertify each 

provider for participation agreement renewal with DMAS to 

provide PACE services. 

L. Reporting suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to 

§§ 63.2-1508 through 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia, if a participating provider entity suspects that a 

child or vulnerable adult is being abused, neglected, or 

exploited, the party having knowledge or suspicion of the 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report this immediately to 

DSS and to DMAS. In addition, as mandated reporters for 

vulnerable adults, participating providers must inform their 

staff that they are mandated reporters and provide education 

regarding how to report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation pursuant to § 63.2-1606 F of the Code of 

Virginia. 

M. Documentation requirements. The provider must 

maintain all records of each individual receiving services. All 

documentation in the individual's record must be completely 

signed and dated with name of the person providing the 

service, title, and complete date with month, day, and year. 

This documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 

date of service, all of the following: 

1. The most recently updated Virginia Uniform 

Assessment Instrument (UAI), all other assessments and 

reassessments, plans of care, supporting documentation, 

and documentation of any inpatient hospital admissions;  
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2. All correspondence and related communication with the 

individual and, as appropriate, consultants, providers, 

DMAS, DSS, or other related parties; and  

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and 

the amount and type of services rendered. 

12VAC30-50-345. PACE enrollee rights. 

A. PACE providers shall ensure that enrollees are fully 

informed of their rights and responsibilities in accordance 

with all state and federal requirements. These rights and 

responsibilities shall include, but not be limited to:  

1. The right to be fully informed at the time of enrollment 

that PACE plan enrollment can only be guaranteed for a 

30-day period pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 F of the Code of 

Virginia;  

2. The right to receive PACE plan services directly from 

the provider or under arrangements made by the provider; 

and 

3. The right to be fully informed in writing of any action to 

be taken affecting the receipt of PACE plan services. 

B. PACE providers shall notify enrollees of the full scope of 

services available under a PACE plan, as described in 

42 CFR 460.92. The services shall include, but not be limited 

to: 

1. Medical services, including the services of a PCP and 

other specialists; 

2. Transportation services; 

3. Outpatient rehabilitation services, including physical, 

occupational, and speech therapy services;  

4. Hospital (acute care) services;  

5. Nursing facility (long-term care) services;  

6. Prescription drugs;  

7. Home health services;  

8. Laboratory services;  

9. Radiology services;  

10. Ambulatory surgery services;  

11. Respite care services;  

12. Personal care services;  

13. Dental services;  

14. Adult day health care services, to include social work 

services;  

15. Interdisciplinary case management services;  

16. Outpatient mental health and mental retardation 

intellectual disability services;  

17. Outpatient psychological services;  

18. Prosthetics; and  

19. Durable medical equipment and other medical supplies. 

C. Services available under a PACE plan shall not include 

any of the following:  

1. Any service not authorized by the interdisciplinary team 

unless such service is an emergency service (i.e., a service 

provided in the event of a situation of a serious or urgent 

nature that endangers the health, safety, or welfare of an 

individual and demands immediate action); 

2. In an inpatient facility, private room and private duty 

nursing services unless medically necessary, and 

nonmedical items for personal convenience such as 

telephones charges and radio or television rental, unless 

specifically authorized by the interdisciplinary team as part 

of the participant's plan of care; 

3. Cosmetic surgery except as described in agency 

guidance documents; 

4. Any experimental medical, surgical, or other health 

procedure; and 

5. Any other service excluded under 42 CFR 460.96. 

D. PACE providers shall ensure that PACE plan services are 

at least as accessible to enrollees as they are to other 

Medicaid-eligible individuals residing in the applicable 

catchment area.  

E. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with access to 

services authorized by the interdisciplinary team 24 hours per 

day every day of the year.  

F. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with all 

information necessary to facilitate easy access to services.  

G. PACE providers shall provide enrollees with 

identification documents approved by DMAS. PACE plan 

identification documents shall give notice to others of 

enrollees' coverage under PACE plans.  

H. PACE providers shall clearly and fully inform enrollees 

each enrollee of their that enrollee's right to disenroll at will 

upon giving 30 days' notice any time and have such 

disenrollment be effective the first day of the month 

following the date the PACE organization receives the 

enrollee's notice of voluntary disenrollment.  

I. PACE providers shall make available to enrollees a 

mechanism whereby disputes relating to enrollment and 

services can be considered. This mechanism shall be one that 

is approved by DMAS.  

J. PACE providers shall fully inform enrollees of the 

individual provider's policies regarding accessing care 

generally and, in particular, accessing urgent or emergency 

care both within and without the catchment area.  
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K. PACE providers shall maintain the confidentiality of 

enrollees and the services provided to them. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6290; Filed July 16, 2020, 10:56 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 

Community Development is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations adopted by the Board of Housing and Community 

Development pursuant to the Statewide Fire Prevention Code 

(§ 27-94 et seq.), the Industrialized Building Safety Law 

(§ 36-70 et seq.), the Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(§ 36-97 et seq.), and § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia, 

provided the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of 

§ 2.2-4007.01, (ii) publishes the proposed regulation and 

provides an opportunity for oral and written comments as 

provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iii) conducts at least one 

public hearing as provided in §§ 2.2-4009 and 36-100 prior to 

the publishing of the proposed regulations. The Board of 

Housing and Community Development will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (amending 13VAC5-63-540).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment lowers the required cooling temperature 

as provided in the USBC to 77° Fahrenheit, making 

permanent an emergency regulation currently in effect.  

13VAC5-63-540. Chapter 6 Mechanical and electrical 

requirements.  

A. Delete the following sections from Chapter 6 of the 

IPMC: 

1. Section 601.2 Responsibility. 

2. Section 603.6 Energy conservation devices. 

3. Section 604.2 Service. 

4. Section 604.3.2 Abatement of electrical hazards 

associated with fire exposure. 

B. Change the following sections in Chapter 6 of the IPMC 

to read: 

1. Section 601.1 General. The provisions of this chapter 

shall govern the maintenance of mechanical and electrical 

facilities and equipment. 

2. Section 602 Heating and cooling facilities. 

3. Section 602.2 Heat supply. Every owner and operator of 

a Group R-2 apartment building or other residential 

building who rents, leases, or lets one or more dwelling 

unit, rooming unit, dormitory, or guestroom on terms, 

either expressed or implied, to furnish heat to the 

occupants thereof shall supply heat during the period from 

October 15 to May 1 to maintain a temperature of not less 

than 68°F (20°C) in all habitable rooms, bathrooms, and 

toilet rooms. The code official may also consider 

modifications as provided in Section 104.5.2 when 

requested for unusual circumstances or may issue notice 

approving building owners to convert shared heating and 

cooling piping HVAC systems 14 calendar days before or 

after the established dates when extended periods of 

unusual temperatures merit modifying these dates. 

Exception: When the outdoor temperature is below the 

winter outdoor design temperature for the locality, 

maintenance of the minimum room temperature shall not 

be required provided that the heating system is operating at 

its full design capacity. The winter outdoor design 

temperature for the locality shall be as indicated in 

Appendix D of the IPC. 

4. Section 602.3 Occupiable work spaces. Indoor 

occupiable work spaces shall be supplied with heat during 

the period from October 1 to May 15 to maintain a 

minimum temperature of 65°F (18°C) during the period the 

spaces are occupied. 

Exceptions: 

1. Processing, storage, and operation areas that require 

cooling or special temperature conditions. 

2. Areas in which persons are primarily engaged in 

vigorous physical activities. 

5. Section 602.4 Cooling supply. Every owner and operator 

of a Group R-2 apartment building who rents, leases, or 

lets one or more dwelling units, rooming units, or 

guestrooms on terms, either expressed or implied, to 

furnish cooling to the occupants thereof shall supply 

cooling during the period from May 15 to October 1 to 

maintain a temperature of not more than 80°F (27°C) 77°F 
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(25°C) in all habitable rooms. The code official may also 

consider modifications as provided in Section 104.5.2 

when requested for unusual circumstances or may issue 

notice approving building owners to convert shared heating 

and cooling piping HVAC systems 14 calendar days before 

or after the established dates when extended periods of 

unusual temperatures merit modifying these dates. 

Exception: When the outdoor temperature is higher than 

the summer design temperature for the locality, 

maintenance of the room temperature shall not be required 

provided that the cooling system is operating at its full 

design capacity. The summer outdoor design temperature 

for the locality shall be as indicated in the IECC. 

6. Section 603.1 Mechanical equipment and appliances. 

Required or provided mechanical equipment, appliances, 

fireplaces, solid fuel-burning appliances, cooking 

appliances, chimneys, vents, and water heating appliances 

shall be maintained in compliance with the code under 

which the appliances, system, or equipment was installed, 

kept in safe working condition, and capable of performing 

the intended function. 

7. Section 603.2 Removal of combustion products. Where 

required by the code under which installed, fuel-burning 

equipment and appliances shall be connected to an 

approved chimney or vent. 

8. Section 603.5 Combustion air. Where required by the 

code under which installed, a supply of air for complete 

combustion of the fuel shall be provided for the fuel-

burning equipment. 

9. Section 604.1 Electrical system. Required or provided 

electrical systems and facilities shall be maintained in 

accordance with the applicable building code. 

10. Section 604.3 Electrical system hazards. Where it is 

found that the electrical system in a structure constitutes a 

hazard to the occupants or the structure by reason of 

deterioration or damage or for similar reasons, the code 

official shall require the defects to be corrected to 

eliminate the hazard. 

11. Section 604.3.1.1 Electrical equipment. Electrical 

distribution equipment, motor circuits, power equipment, 

transformers, wire, cable, flexible cords, wiring devices, 

ground fault circuit interrupters, surge protectors, molded 

case circuit breakers, low-voltage fuses, luminaires, 

ballasts, motors, and electronic control, signaling, and 

communication equipment that have been exposed to water 

shall be replaced in accordance with the provisions of the 

VCC. 

Exception: The following equipment shall be allowed to be 

repaired or reused where an inspection report from the 

equipment manufacturer, an approved representative of the 

equipment manufacturer, a third party licensed or certified 

electrician, or an electrical engineer indicates that the 

exposed equipment has not sustained damage that requires 

replacement:  

1. Enclosed switches, rated 600 volts or less;  

2. Busway, rated 600 volts or less;  

3. Panelboards, rated 600 volts or less;  

4. Switchboards, rated 600 volts or less;  

5. Fire pump controllers, rated 600 volts or less;  

6. Manual and magnetic motor controllers;  

7. Motor control centers;  

8. Alternating current high-voltage circuit breakers;  

9. Low-voltage power circuit breakers;  

10. Protective relays, meters, and current transformers;  

11. Low-voltage and medium-voltage switchgear;  

12. Liquid-filled transformers;  

13. Cast-resin transformers;  

14. Wire or cable that is suitable for wet locations and 

whose ends have not been exposed to water;  

15. Wire or cable, not containing fillers, that is suitable 

for wet locations and whose ends have not been exposed 

to water;  

16. Luminaires that are listed as submersible;  

17. Motors; or 

18. Electronic control, signaling, and communication 

equipment. 

12. 604.3.2.1 Electrical equipment. Electrical switches, 

receptacles and fixtures, including furnace, water heating, 

security system and power distribution circuits, that have 

been exposed to fire shall be replaced in accordance with 

the provisions of the Virginia Construction Code. 

Exception: Electrical switches, receptacles and fixtures that 

shall be allowed to be repaired or reused where an 

inspection report from the equipment manufacturer or an 

approved representative of the equipment manufacturer, a 

third party licensed or certified electrician, or an electrical 

engineer indicates that the equipment has not sustained 

damage that requires replacement. 

13. Section 605.1 Electrical components. Electrical 

equipment, wiring, and appliances shall be maintained in 

accordance with the applicable building code. 

14. Section 605.2 Power distribution and receptacles. 

Required or provided power circuits and receptacles shall 

be maintained in accordance with the applicable building 

code, and ground fault and arc-fault circuit interrupter 
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protection shall be provided where required by the 

applicable building code. All receptacle outlets shall have 

the appropriate faceplate cover for the location when 

required by the applicable building code. 

15. Section 605.3 Lighting distribution and luminaires. 

Required or provided lighting circuits and luminaires shall 

be maintained in accordance with the applicable building 

code. 

16. Section 605.4 Flexible cords. Flexible cords shall not 

be run through doors, windows, or cabinets or concealed 

within walls, floors, or ceilings. 

17. Section 606.1 General. Elevators, dumbwaiters, and 

escalators shall be maintained in compliance with ASME 

A17.1. The most current certificate of inspection shall be 

on display at all times within the elevator or attached to the 

escalator or dumbwaiter, be available for public inspection 

in the office of the building operator, or be posted in a 

publicly conspicuous location approved by the code 

official. Where not displayed in the elevator or attached on 

the escalator or dumbwaiter, there shall be a notice of 

where the certificate of inspection is available for 

inspection. An annual periodic inspection and test is 

required of elevators and escalators. A locality shall be 

permitted to require a six-month periodic inspection and 

test. All periodic inspections shall be performed in 

accordance with Section 8.11 of ASME A17.1. The code 

official may also provide for such inspection by an 

approved agency or through agreement with other local 

certified elevator inspectors. An approved agency includes 

any individual, partnership, or corporation who has met the 

certification requirements established by the VCS. 

C. Add the following sections to Chapter 6 of the IPMC: 

1. Section 602.2.1 Prohibited use. In dwelling units subject 

to Section 602.2, one or more unvented room heaters shall 

not be used as the sole source of comfort heat in a dwelling 

unit. 

2. Section 607.2 Clothes dryer exhaust duct. Required or 

provided clothes dryer exhaust systems shall be maintained 

in accordance with the applicable building code. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6189; Filed July 15, 2020, 3:57 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-220. Emergency Temporary 

Standard - Infectious Disease Prevention, SARS-CoV-2 

Virus That Causes COVID-19 (adding 16VAC25-220-10 

through 16VAC25-220-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3442.6 and 54.1-3447 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 27, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Princy Doss, Director of Policy, Planning, 

and Public Information, Department of Labor and Industry, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-4300, or email princy.doss@doli.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Pursuant to subdivision (6a) of § 40.1-22 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Safety and Health Codes Board may adopt an 

emergency temporary standard to take immediate effect 

upon publication in a newspaper of general circulation, 

published in the City of Richmond, Virginia, if the board 

determines that employees are exposed to grave danger 

from exposure to substances or agents determined to be 

toxic or physically harmful or from new hazards, and that 

such emergency standard is necessary to protect 

employees from such danger.  

On July 15, 2020, the Safety and Health Codes Board 

adopted an Emergency Temporary Standard for Infectious 

Disease Prevention: SARS-CoV-2 Virus That Causes 

COVID-19 (16VAC25-220) pursuant to Executive Order 

63, Order of Public Health Emergency Five, Requirement 

to Wear Face Covering While Inside Buildings. The 

emergency temporary standard is effective July 27, 2020, 

upon publication in the Richmond Times Dispatch. The 

emergency temporary standard establishes requirements 

for employers to control, prevent, and mitigate the spread 

of SARS-CoV-2, thereby protecting employees and the 

general public. SARS-CoV-2 is the virus that causes 

coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). 

CHAPTER 220 

EMERGENCY TEMPORARY STANDARD - 

INFECTIOUS DISEASE PREVENTION, SARS-COV-2 

VIRUS THAT CAUSES COVID-19 

16VAC25-220-10. Purpose, scope, and applicability. 

A. This emergency temporary standard is designed to 

establish requirements for employers to control, prevent, and 

mitigate the spread of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes 

coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) to and among 

employees and employers. 

B. This standard shall not be extended or amended without 

public participation in accordance with the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and 16VAC25-60-170. 

C. This standard is adopted in accordance with subdivision 

6 a of § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia and shall apply to 

every employer, employee, and place of employment in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia within the jurisdiction of the 

mailto:princy.doss@doli.virginia.gov
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VOSH program as described in 16VAC25-60-20 and 

16VAC25-60-30. 

D. This standard is designed to supplement and enhance 

existing VOSH laws, rules, regulations, and standards 

applicable directly or indirectly to SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease-related hazards such as, but not limited to, 

those dealing with personal protective equipment, respiratory 

protective equipment, sanitation, access to employee 

exposure and medical records, occupational exposure to 

hazardous chemicals in laboratories, hazard communication, 

§ 40.1-51.1 A of the Code of Virginia, etc. Should this 

standard conflict with an existing VOSH rule, regulation, or 

standard, the more stringent requirement from an 

occupational safety and health hazard prevention standpoint 

shall apply. 

E. Application of this standard to a place of employment 

will be based on the exposure risk level presented by SARS-

CoV-2 virus-related and COVID-19 disease-related hazards 

present or job tasks undertaken by employees at the place of 

employment as defined in this standard (i.e., very high, high, 

medium, and lower risk levels). 

1. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

high, medium, or lower exposure risk for purposes of 

application of the requirements of this standard. It is 

further recognized that various required job tasks prohibit 

an employee from being able to observe physical 

distancing from other persons. 

2. Factors that shall be considered in determining exposure 

risk level include, but are not limited to:  

a. The job tasks being undertaken, the work environment 

(e.g. indoors or outdoors), the known or suspected 

presence of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, the presence of a 

person known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus, the number of employees and other 

persons in relation to the size of the work area, the 

working distance between employees and other 

employees or persons, and the duration and frequency of 

employee exposure through contact inside of six feet 

with other employees or persons (e.g., including shift 

work exceeding 8 hours per day); and 

b. The type of hazards encountered, including potential 

exposure to the airborne transmission of SARS-CoV-2 

virus; contact with contaminated surfaces or objects, such 

as tools, workstations, or break room tables, and shared 

spaces such as shared workstations, break rooms, locker 

rooms, and entrances and exits to the facility; shared 

work vehicles; and industries or places of employment 

where employer sponsored shared transportation is a 

common practice, such as ride-share vans or shuttle 

vehicles, car-pools, and public transportation, etc.  

F. This standard shall not conflict with requirements and 

guidelines applicable to businesses set out in any applicable 

Virginia executive order or order of public health emergency.  

G. 1. To the extent that an employer actually complies with 

a recommendation contained in CDC guidelines, whether 

mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related hazards or job tasks addressed 

by this standard, and provided that the CDC recommendation 

provides equivalent or greater protection than provided by a 

provision of this standard, the employer's actions shall be 

considered in compliance with this standard. An employer's 

actual compliance with a recommendation contained in CDC 

guidelines, whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate 

SARS-COV-2 and COVID19 related hazards or job tasks 

addressed by this standard shall be considered evidence of 

good faith in any enforcement proceeding related to this 

standard. 

2. A public or private institution of higher education that 

has received certification from the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia that the institution's re-opening 

plans are in compliance with guidance documents, whether 

mandatory or non-mandatory, developed by the Governor's 

Office in conjunction with the Virginia Department of 

Health shall be considered in compliance with this 

standard, provided the institution operates in compliance 

with its certified reopening plans and the certified 

reopening plans provide equivalent or greater levels of 

employee protection than this standard. A public school 

division or private school that submits its plans to the 

Virginia Department of Education to move to Phase II and 

Phase III that are aligned with CDC guidance for 

reopening of schools that provide equivalent or greater 

levels of employee protection than a provision of this 

standard and who operate in compliance with the public 

school division's or private school's submitted plans shall 

be considered in compliance with this standard. An 

institution's actual compliance with recommendations 

contained in CDC guidelines or the Virginia Department of 

Education guidance, whether mandatory or non-

mandatory, to mitigate SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 

related hazards or job tasks addressed by this standard shall 

be considered evidence of good faith in any enforcement 

proceeding related to this standard. 

H. Nothing in the standard shall be construed to require 

employers to conduct contact tracing of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease. 

16VAC25-220-20. Effective and expiration dates. 

This emergency temporary standard shall take immediate 

effect July 27, 2020, upon publication in a newspaper of 

general circulation, published in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia.  



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 17, 2020 

2772 

With the exception of 16VAC25-220-80 B 10 regarding 

training required on infectious disease preparedness and 

response plans, the training requirements in 16VAC25-220-

80 shall take effect on August 26, 2020. The training 

requirements under 16VAC25-220-80 B 10 shall take effect 

on September 25, 2020. 

The requirements for 16VAC25-220-70 shall take effect on 

September 25, 2020. 

This emergency temporary standard shall expire (i) within 

six months of its effective date, upon expiration of the 

Governor's State of Emergency, or when superseded by a 

permanent standard, whichever occurs first or (ii) when 

repealed by the Virginia Safety and Health Codes Board. 

16VAC25-220-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this standard 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative control" means any procedure that 

significantly limits daily exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job tasks 

by control or manipulation of the work schedule or manner in 

which work is performed. The use of personal protective 

equipment is not considered a means of administrative 

control. 

"Airborne infection isolation room" or "AIIR" formerly a 

negative pressure isolation room, means a single-occupancy 

patient-care room used to isolate persons with a suspected or 

confirmed airborne infectious disease. Environmental factors 

are controlled in AIIRs to minimize the transmission of 

infectious agents that are usually transmitted from person to 

person by droplet nuclei associated with coughing or 

aerosolization of contaminated fluids. AIIRs provide (i) 

negative pressure in the room so that air flows under the door 

gap into the room, (ii) an air flow rate of 6-12 air changes per 

hour (ACH) (6 ACH for existing structures, 12 ACH for new 

construction or renovation), and (iii) direct exhaust of air 

from the room to the outside of the building or recirculation 

of air through a High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) filter 

before returning to circulation. 

"Asymptomatic" means a person who does not have 

symptoms. 

"Building or facility owner" means the legal entity, 

including a lessee, that exercises control over management 

and record keeping functions relating to a building or facility 

in which activities covered by this standard take place.  

"CDC" means Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

"Cleaning" means the removal of dirt and impurities, 

including germs, from surfaces. Cleaning alone does not kill 

germs. But by removing the germs, cleaning decreases their 

number and therefore any risk of spreading infection. 

"Community transmission," also called "community spread," 

means people have been infected with SARS-CoV-2 in an 

area, including some who are not sure how or where they 

became infected. The level of community transmission is 

classified by the CDC as: 

1. "No to minimal" where there is evidence of isolated 

cases or limited community transmission, case 

investigations are underway, and no evidence of exposure 

in large communal settings (e.g., healthcare facilities, 

schools, mass gatherings, etc.); 

2. "Moderate" where there is sustained community 

transmission with high likelihood or confirmed exposure 

within communal settings and potential for rapid increase 

in cases;  

3. "Substantial, controlled" where there is large scale, 

controlled community transmission, including communal 

settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.); or 

4. "Substantial, uncontrolled" where there is large scale, 

uncontrolled community transmission, including 

communal settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.). 

"COVID-19"means Coronavirus Disease 2019, which is 

primarily a respiratory disease, caused by the SARS-CoV-2 

virus. 

"Disinfecting" means using chemicals approved for use 

against SARS-CoV-2, for example EPA-registered 

disinfectants, to kill germs on surfaces. The process of 

disinfecting does not necessarily clean dirty surfaces or 

remove germs, but killing germs remaining on a surface after 

cleaning further reduces any risk of spreading infection. 

"Duration and frequency of employee exposure" means how 

long ("duration") and how often ("frequency") an employee is 

potentially exposed to the SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 

disease. Generally, the greater the frequency or length of 

exposure, the greater the probability is for potential infection 

to occur. Frequency of exposure is generally more significant 

for acute acting agents or situations, while duration of 

exposure is generally more significant for chronic acting 

agents or situations. An example of an acute SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease situation would be an unprotected 

customer, patient, or other person coughing or sneezing 

directly into the face of an employee. An example of a 

chronic situation would be a job task that requires an 

employee to interact either for an extended period of time 

inside six feet with a smaller static group of other employees 

or persons or for an extended period of time inside six feet 

with a larger group of other employees or persons in 

succession but for periods of shorter duration. 

"Economic feasibility" means the employer is financially 

able to undertake the measures necessary to comply with one 

or more requirements in this standard. The cost of corrective 

measures to be taken will not usually be considered as a 
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factor in determining whether a violation of this standard has 

occurred. If an employer's level of compliance lags 

significantly behind that of its industry, an employer's claim 

of economic infeasibility will not be accepted. 

"Elimination" means a method of exposure control that 

removes the employee completely from exposure to SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related workplace 

hazards and job tasks. 

"Employee" means an employee of an employer who is 

employed in a business of his employer. Reference to the 

term "employee” in this standard also includes, but is not 

limited to, temporary employees and other joint employment 

relationships, persons in supervisory or management 

positions with the employer, etc., in accordance with Virginia 

occupational safety and health laws, standards, regulations, 

and court rulings. 

"Engineering control" means the use of substitution, 

isolation, ventilation, and equipment modification to reduce 

exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related workplace hazards and job tasks. 

"Exposure risk level"means an assessment of the possibility 

that an employee could be exposed to the hazards associated 

with SARS-CoV-2 virus and the COVID-19 disease. The 

exposure risk level assessment should address all risks and all 

modes of transmission including airborne transmission, as 

well as transmission by asymptomatic and presymptomatic 

individuals. Risk levels should be based on the risk factors 

present that increase risk exposure to COVID-19 and are 

present during the course of employment regardless of 

location. Hazards and job tasks have been divided into four 

risk exposure levels: very high, high, medium, and lower: 

"Very high" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in 

places of employment with high potential for employee 

exposure to known or suspected sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus (e.g., laboratory samples) or persons known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, 

including, but not limited to, during specific medical, 

postmortem, or laboratory procedures: 

1. Aerosol-generating procedures (e.g., intubation, cough 

induction procedures, bronchoscopies, some dental 

procedures and exams, or invasive specimen collection) on 

a patient or person known or suspected to be infected with 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

2. Collecting or handling specimens from a patient or 

person known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus (e.g., manipulating cultures from patients 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus); and 

3. Performing an autopsy that involves aerosol-generating 

procedures on the body of a person known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the time of their 

death. 

"High" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in places 

of employment with high potential for employee exposure 

inside six feet with known or suspected sources of SARS-

CoV-2, or with persons known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus that are not otherwise classified 

as very high exposure risk, including, but not limited to:  

1. Healthcare (physical and mental health) delivery and 

support services provided to a patient known or suspected 

to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, including field 

hospitals (e.g., doctors, nurses, cleaners, and other hospital 

staff who must enter patient rooms or areas);  

2. Healthcare (physical and mental) delivery, care, and 

support services, wellness services, non-medical support 

services, physical assistance, etc., provided to a patient, 

resident, or other person known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus involving skilled nursing 

services, outpatient medical services, clinical services, 

drug treatment programs, medical outreach services, 

mental health services, home health care, nursing home 

care, assisted living care, memory care support and 

services, hospice care, rehabilitation services, primary and 

specialty medical care, dental care, COVID-19 testing 

services, blood donation services, contact tracer services, 

and chiropractic services; 

3. First responder services provided to a patient, resident, 

or other person known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus;  

4. Medical transport services (loading, transporting, 

unloading, etc.) provided to patients known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (e.g., ground or air 

emergency transport, staff, operators, drivers, pilots, etc.); 

and 

5. Mortuary services involved in preparing (e.g., for burial 

or cremation) the bodies of persons who are known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the 

time of their death. 

"Medium" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high or high exposure risk in 

places of employment that require more than minimal 

occupational contact inside six feet with other employees, 

other persons, or the general public who may be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2, but who are not known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Medium exposure risk 

hazards or job tasks may include, but are not limited to, 

operations and services in: 

1. Poultry, meat, and seafood processing; agricultural and 

hand labor; commercial transportation of passengers by air, 

land, and water; on campus educational settings in schools, 

colleges, and universities; daycare and afterschool settings; 
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restaurants and bars; grocery stores, convenience stores, 

and food banks; drug stores and pharmacies; 

manufacturing settings; indoor and outdoor construction 

settings; correctional facilities, jails, detentions centers, 

and juvenile detention centers; work performed in 

customer premises, such as homes or businesses; retail 

stores; call centers; package processing settings; veterinary 

settings; personal care, personal grooming, salon, and spa 

settings; venues for sports, entertainment, movies, theaters, 

and other forms of mass gatherings; homeless shelters; 

fitness, gym, and exercise facilities; airports, and train and 

bus stations; etc.; and 

2. Situations not involving exposure to known or suspected 

sources of SARS-CoV-2: hospitals, other healthcare 

(physical and mental) delivery and support services in a 

non-hospital setting, wellness services, physical assistance, 

etc.; skilled nursing facilities; outpatient medical facilities; 

clinics, drug treatment programs, and medical outreach 

services; non-medical support services; mental health 

facilities; home health care, nursing homes, assisted living 

facilities, memory care facilities, and hospice care; 

rehabilitation centers, doctors' offices, dentists' offices, and 

chiropractors' offices; first responders services provided by 

police, fire, paramedic and emergency medical services 

providers, medical transport; contact tracers, etc. 

"Lower" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high, high, or medium exposure 

risk that do not require contact inside six feet with persons 

known to be, or suspected of being, or who may be infected 

with SARS-CoV-2. Employees in this category have minimal 

occupational contact with other employees, other persons, or 

the general public, such as in an office building setting; or are 

able to achieve minimal occupational contact through the 

implementation of engineering, administrative and work 

practice controls, such as, but not limited to  

1. Installation of floor to ceiling physical barriers 

constructed of impermeable material and not subject to 

unintentional displacement (e.g., such as clear plastic walls 

at convenience stores behind which only one employee is 

working at any one time); 

2. Telecommuting; 

3. Staggered work shifts that allow employees to maintain 

physical distancing from other employees, other persons, 

and the general public;  

4. Delivering services remotely by phone, audio, video, 

mail, package delivery, curbside pickup or delivery, etc., 

that allows employees to maintain physical distancing from 

other employees, other persons, and the general public; and 

5. Mandatory physical distancing of employees from other 

employees, other persons, and the general public. 

Employee use of face coverings for contact inside six feet of 

coworkers, customers, or other persons is not an acceptable 

administrative or work practice control to achieve minimal 

occupational contact. However, when it is necessary for an 

employee to have brief contact with others inside the six feet 

distance a face covering is required. 

"Face covering" means an item normally made of cloth or 

various other materials with elastic bands or cloth ties to 

secure over the wearer's nose and mouth in an effort to 

contain or reduce the spread of potentially infectious 

respiratory secretions at the source (i.e., the person's nose and 

mouth). A face covering is not intended to protect the wearer, 

but it may reduce the spread of virus from the wearer to 

others. A face covering is not a surgical/medical procedure 

mask. A face covering is not subject to testing and approval 

by a state or government agency, so it is not considered a 

form of personal protective equipment or respiratory 

protection equipment under VOSH laws, rules, regulations, 

and standards. 

"Face shield" means a form of personal protective 

equipment made of transparent, impermeable materials 

intended to protect the entire face or portions of the face from 

droplets or splashes.  

"Feasible" as used in this standard includes both technical 

and economic feasibility. 

"Filtering facepiece respirator" means a negative pressure air 

purifying particulate respirator with a filter as an integral part 

of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece composed of the 

filtering medium. Filtering facepiece respirators are certified 

for use by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH). 

"Hand sanitizer" means an alcohol-based hand rub 

containing at least 60% alcohol, unless otherwise provided 

for in this standard. 

"HIPAA" means Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act. 

"Known to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus" means 

a person, whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, who has 

tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, and the employer knew or 

with reasonable diligence should have known that the person 

has tested positive for SARS-CoV-2. 

"May be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus" means any 

person not currently a person known or suspected to be 

infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus and not currently 

vaccinated against the SARS-CoV-2 virus.  

"Occupational exposure" means the state of being actually 

or potentially exposed to contact with SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease related hazards at the work location or 

while engaged in work activities at another location. 
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"Personal protective equipment" means equipment worn to 

minimize exposure to hazards that cause serious workplace 

injuries and illnesses. These injuries and illnesses may result 

from contact with chemical, radiological, physical, electrical, 

mechanical, biological, or other workplace hazards. Personal 

protective equipment may include, but is not limited to, items 

such as gloves, safety glasses, shoes, earplugs or muffs, hard 

hats, respirators, surgical/medical procedure masks, gowns, 

face shields, coveralls, vests, and full body suits. 

"Physical distancing" also called "social distancing" means 

keeping space between yourself and other persons while 

conducting work-related activities inside and outside of the 

physical establishment by staying at least six feet from other 

persons. Physical separation of an employee from other 

employees or persons by a permanent, solid floor to ceiling 

wall constitutes physical distancing from an employee or 

other person stationed on the other side of the wall. 

"Respirator" means a protective device that covers the nose 

and mouth or the entire face or head to guard the wearer 

against hazardous atmospheres. Respirators are certified for 

use by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH). Respirators may be (i) tight-fitting, which 

means either a half mask that covers the mouth and nose or a 

full face piece that covers the face from the hairline to below 

the chin or (ii) loose-fitting, such as hoods or helmets that 

cover the head completely.  

There are two major classes of respirators:  

1. Air-purifying, which remove contaminants from the air; 

and 

2. Atmosphere-supplying, which provide clean, breathable 

air from an uncontaminated source. As a general rule, 

atmosphere-supplying respirators are used for more 

hazardous exposures. 

"Respirator user"means an employee who in the scope of 

their current job may be assigned to tasks that may require the 

use of a respirator in accordance with this standard or 

required by other provisions in the VOSH and OSHA 

standards. 

"SARS-CoV-2" means a betacoronavirus, like MERS-CoV 

and SARS-CoV. Coronaviruses are named for the crown-like 

spikes on their surfaces. The SARS-CoV-2 causes what has 

been designated as the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-

19). 

"Signs of COVID-19" include trouble breathing, persistent 

pain or pressure in the chest, new confusion, inability to wake 

or stay awake, bluish lips or face, etc. 

"Surgical/medical procedure mask" means a mask to be 

worn over the wearer's nose and mouth that is fluid resistant 

and provides the wearer protection against large droplets, 

splashes, or sprays of bodily or other hazardous fluids, and 

prevents the wearer from exposing others in the same fashion. 

A surgical/medical procedure mask protects others from the 

wearer's respiratory emissions. A surgical/medical procedure 

mask has a loose fitting face seal. A surgical/medical 

procedure mask does not provide the wearer with a reliable 

level of protection from inhaling smaller airborne particles. A 

surgical/medical procedure mask is considered a form of 

personal protective equipment, but is not considered 

respiratory protection equipment under VOSH laws, rules, 

regulations, and standards. Testing and approval is cleared by 

the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). 

"Suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus" means a 

person who has signs or symptoms of COVID-19 but has not 

tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, and no alternative diagnosis 

has been made (e.g., tested positive for influenza). 

"Symptomatic" means the employee is experiencing 

symptoms similar to those attributed to COVID-19 including 

fever or chills, cough, shortness of breath or difficulty 

breathing, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new loss 

of taste or smell, sore throat, congestion or runny nose, 

nausea or vomiting, or diarrhea. Symptoms may appear in 

two to 14 days after exposure to the virus. 

"Technical feasibility" means the existence of technical 

know-how as to materials and methods available or adaptable 

to specific circumstances that can be applied to one or more 

requirements in this standard with a reasonable possibility 

that employee exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease hazards will be reduced. If an employer's 

level of compliance lags significantly behind that of the 

employer's industry, allegations of technical infeasibility will 

not be accepted. 

"VOSH" means Virginia Occupational Safety and Health. 

"Work practice control" means a type of administrative 

control by which the employer modifies the manner in which 

the employee performs assigned work. Such modification 

may result in a reduction of exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job 

tasks through such methods as changing work habits, 

improving sanitation and hygiene practices, or making other 

changes in the way the employee performs the job. 

16VAC25-220-40. Mandatory requirements for all 

employers. 

A. Employers in all exposure risk levels shall ensure 

compliance with the requirements in this section to protect 

employees from workplace exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 

virus that causes the COVID-19 disease. 

B. Exposure assessment and determination, notification 

requirements, and employee access to exposure and medical 

records. 

1. Employers shall assess their workplace for hazards and 

job tasks that can potentially expose employees to the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease. Employers shall 
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classify each job task according to the hazards employees 

are potentially exposed to and ensure compliance with the 

applicable sections of this standard for very high, high, 

medium, or lower risk levels of exposure. Tasks that are 

similar in nature and expose employees to the same hazard 

may be grouped for classification purposes. 

2. Employers shall inform employees of the methods of 

and encourage employees to self-monitor for signs and 

symptoms of COVID-19 if employees suspect possible 

exposure or are experiencing signs of an oncoming illness. 

3. Serological testing, also known as antibody testing, is a 

test to determine if persons have been infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus. Serological testing has not been determined if 

persons who have the antibodies are immune from 

infection. 

a. Serologic test results shall not be used to make 

decisions about returning employees to work who were 

previously classified as known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

b. Serologic test results shall not be used to make 

decisions concerning employees who were previously 

classified as known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus about grouping, residing in or being 

admitted to congregate settings, such as schools, 

dormitories, etc. 

4. Employers shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures for employees to report when employees are 

experiencing symptoms consistent with COVID-19, and no 

alternative diagnosis has been made (e.g., tested positive 

for influenza). Such employees shall be designated by the 

employer as "suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 

virus." 

5. Employers shall not permit employees or other persons 

known or suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus 

to report to or remain at the work site or engage in work at 

a customer or client location until cleared for return to 

work (see subsection C of this section). Nothing in this 

standard shall prohibit an employer from permitting an 

employee known or suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus from engaging in teleworking or other form of 

work isolation that would not result in potentially exposing 

other employees to the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

6. To the extent feasible and permitted by law, including 

but not limited to the Families First Coronavirus Response 

Act, employers shall ensure that sick leave policies are 

flexible and consistent with public health guidance and that 

employees are aware of these policies. 

7. Employers shall discuss with subcontractors and 

companies that provide contract or temporary employees 

about the importance of employees or other persons who 

are known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus of staying home. Subcontractor, contract, or 

temporary employees known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus shall not report to or be 

allowed to remain at the work site until cleared for return 

to work. Subcontractors shall not allow their known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

employees to report to or be allowed to remain at work or 

on a job site until cleared for return to work. 

8. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employers shall establish a system to receive reports of 

positive SARS-CoV-2 tests by employees, subcontractors, 

contract employees, and temporary employees (excluding 

patients hospitalized on the basis of being known or 

suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus) present 

at the place of employment within the previous 14 days 

from the date of positive test, and the employer shall 

notify: 

a. The employer's own employees who may have been 

exposed, within 24 hours of discovery of the employees 

possible exposure, while keeping confidential the identity 

of the known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus 

person in accordance with the requirements of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other 

applicable federal and Virginia laws and regulations; and 

b. In the same manner as subdivision 8 a of this 

subsection, other employers whose employees were 

present at the work site during the same time period; and 

c. In the same manner as subdivision 8 a of this 

subsection, the building or facility owner. The building 

or facility owner will require all employer tenants to 

notify the owner of the occurrence of a SARS-CoV-2-

positive test for any employees or residents in the 

building. This notification will allow the owner to take 

the necessary steps to sanitize the common areas of the 

building. In addition, the building or facility owner will 

notify all employer tenants in the building that one or 

more cases have been discovered and the floor or work 

area where the case was located. The identity of the 

individual will be kept confidential in accordance with 

the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act 

(ADA) and other applicable federal and Virginia laws 

and regulations; and 

d. The Virginia Department of Health within 24 hours of 

the discovery of a positive case; and 

e. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 

24 hours of the discovery of three or more employees 

present at the place of employment within a 14-day 

period testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 virus during that 

14-day time period. 

9. Employers shall ensure employee access to the 

employee's own SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 

disease related exposure and medical records in accordance 
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with the standard applicable to its industry. Employers in 

the agriculture, public sector marine terminal, and public 

sector longshoring industries shall ensure employees 

access to the employees' own SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related exposure and medical records in 

accordance with 16VAC25-90-1910.1020, Access to 

Employee Exposure and Medical Records. 

C. Return to work.  

1. The employer shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures for employees known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus to return to work 

using either a symptom-based or test-based strategy, 

depending on local healthcare and testing circumstances. 

While an employer may rely on other reasonable options, a 

policy that involves consultation with appropriate 

healthcare professionals concerning when an employee has 

satisfied the symptoms based strategy requirements in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection will constitute 

compliance with the requirements of this subsection. 

a. For known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus employees the symptom-based strategy 

excludes an employee from returning to work until (i) at 

least three days (72 hours) have passed since recovery, 

defined as resolution of fever without the use of fever-

reducing medications and improvement in respiratory 

symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath) and (ii) at 

least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared. 

b. The test-based strategy excludes an employee from 

returning to work until (i) resolution of fever without the 

use of fever-reducing medications, (ii) improvement in 

respiratory symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath), 

and (iii) negative results of an FDA Emergency Use 

Authorized COVID-19 molecular assay for detection of 

SARS-CoV-2 RNA from at least two consecutive 

respiratory specimens collected 24 hours or more apart 

(total of two negative specimens). 

i. If a known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus employee refuses to be tested, the employer 

compliance with subdivision 1 a of this subsection, 

symptom-based strategy, will be considered in 

compliance with this standard. Nothing in this standard 

shall be construed to prohibit an employer from requiring 

a known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus employee to be tested in accordance with 

subdivision 1 b of this subsection. 

ii. For purposes of this section, COVID-19 testing is 

considered a "medical examination" under § 40.1-28 of 

the Code of Virginia. The employer shall not require the 

employee to pay for the cost of COVID-19 testing for 

return to work determinations. 

2. The employer shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures for known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 

asymptomatic employees to return to work using either a 

time-based or test-based strategy depending on local 

healthcare and testing circumstances. While an employer 

may rely on other reasonable options, a policy that 

involves consultation with appropriate healthcare 

professionals concerning when an employee has satisfied 

the time based strategy requirements in subdivision 2 a of 

this subsection will constitute compliance with the 

requirements of this subsection. 

a. The time-based strategy excludes an employee from 

returning to work until at least 10 days have passed since 

the date of the employee's first positive COVID-19 

diagnostic test assuming the employee has not 

subsequently developed symptoms since the employee's 

positive test. If the employee develops symptoms, then 

the symptom-based or test-based strategy shall be used.  

b. The test-based strategy excludes an employee from 

returning to work until negative results of an FDA 

Emergency Use Authorized COVID-19 molecular assay 

for detection of SARS-CoV-2 RNA from at least two 

consecutive respiratory specimens collected 24 hours or 

more apart (total of two negative specimens).  

i If a known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 

asymptomatic employee refuses to be tested, employer 

compliance with subdivision 2 a of this subsection, time-

based strategy, will be considered in compliance with 

this standard. Nothing in this standard shall be construed 

to prohibit an employer from requiring a known to be 

infected with SARS-CoV-2 asymptomatic employee to 

be tested in accordance with subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection. 

ii. For purposes of this section, COVID-19 testing is 

considered a "medical examination" under § 40.1-28 of 

the Code of Virginia. The employer shall not require the 

employee to pay for the cost of COVID-19 testing for 

return to work determinations.  

D. Unless otherwise provided in this standard, employers 

shall ensure that employees observe physical distancing while 

on the job and during paid breaks on the employer's property, 

including policies and procedures that: 

1. Use verbal announcements, signage, or visual cues to 

promote physical distancing. 

2. Decrease worksite density by limiting non-employee 

access to the place of employment or restrict access to only 

certain workplace areas to reduce the risk of exposure.  

3. An employer's compliance with occupancy limits 

contained in any applicable Virginia executive order or 

order of public health emergency will constitute 

compliance with the requirements in this subsection. 

E. Access to common areas, breakrooms, or lunchrooms 

shall be closed or controlled. 



Regulations 

Volume 36, Issue 26 Virginia Register of Regulations August 17, 2020 

2778 

1 If the nature of an employer's work or the work area does 

not allow employees to consume meals in the employee's 

workspace while observing physical distancing, an 

employer may designate, reconfigure, and alternate usage 

of spaces where employees congregate, including lunch 

and break rooms, locker rooms, time clocks, etc., with 

controlled access, provided the following conditions are 

met: 

a. At the entrance of the designated common area or 

room the employer shall clearly post the policy limiting 

the occupancy of the space, and requirements for 

physical distancing, hand washing and hand sanitizing, 

and cleaning and disinfecting of shared surfaces. 

b. The employer shall limit occupancy of the designated 

common area or room so that occupants can maintain 

physical distancing from each other. The employer shall 

enforce the occupancy limit. 

c. Employees shall be required to clean and disinfect the 

immediate area in which they were located prior to 

leaving, or the employer may provide for cleaning and 

disinfecting of the common area or room at regular 

intervals throughout the day, and between shifts of 

employees using the same common area or room (i.e., 

where an employee or groups of employees have a 

designated lunch period and the common area or room 

can be cleaned in between occupancies). 

d. Hand washing facilities, and hand sanitizer where 

feasible, are available to employees. Hand sanitizers 

required for use to protect against SARS-CoV-2 are 

flammable and use and storage in hot environments can 

result in a hazard. 

F. When multiple employees are occupying a vehicle for 

work purposes, the employer shall ensure compliance with 

respiratory protection and personal protective equipment 

standards applicable to the employer's industry. 

G. Employers shall also ensure compliance with mandatory 

requirements of any applicable Virginia executive order or 

order of public health emergency. 

H. Where the nature of an employee's work or the work area 

does not allow the employee to observe physical distancing 

requirements, employers shall ensure compliance with 

respiratory protection and personal protective equipment 

standards applicable to its industry.  

I. Nothing in this standard shall require the use of a 

respirator, surgical/medical procedure mask, or face covering 

by any employee for whom doing so would be contrary to the 

employee's health or safety because of a medical condition; 

however, nothing in this standard shall negate an employer's 

obligations to comply with personal protective equipment and 

respiratory protection standards applicable to its industry.  

J. Requests to the Department for religious waivers from the 

required use of respirators, surgical/medical procedure masks, 

or face coverings will be handled in accordance with the 

requirements of applicable federal and state law, standards, 

regulations and the U.S. and Virginia Constitutions, after 

Department consultation with the Office of the Attorney 

General. 

K. Sanitation and disinfecting. 

1. In addition to the requirements contained in this 

standard, employers shall comply with the VOSH 

sanitation standard applicable to its industry.  

2. Employees that interact with customers, the general 

public, contractors, and other persons shall be provided 

with and immediately use supplies to clean and disinfectant 

surfaces contacted during the interaction where there is the 

potential for exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus by 

themselves or other employees. 

3. In addition to the requirements contained in this 

standard, employers shall comply with the VOSH hazard 

communication standard applicable to the employers' 

industry for cleaning and disinfecting materials and hand 

sanitizers. 

4. Areas in the place of employment where known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

employees or other persons accessed or worked shall be 

cleaned and disinfected prior to allowing other employees 

access to the areas. Where feasible, a period of 24 hours 

will be observed prior to cleaning and disinfecting. This 

requirement shall not apply if the areas in question have 

been unoccupied for seven or more days. 

5. All common spaces, including bathrooms, frequently 

touched surfaces, and doors, shall at a minimum be cleaned 

and disinfected at the end of each shift. All shared tools, 

equipment, workspaces, and vehicles shall be cleaned and 

disinfected prior to transfer from one employee to another. 

6. Employers shall ensure that cleaning and disinfecting 

products are readily available to employees to accomplish 

the required cleaning and disinfecting. In addition, 

employers shall ensure use of only disinfecting chemicals 

and products indicated in the Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) List N for use against SARS-CoV-2. 

7. Employers shall ensure that the manufacturer's 

instructions for use of all disinfecting chemicals and 

products are complied with (e.g., concentration, application 

method, contact time, PPE, etc.). 

8. Employees shall have easy, frequent access and 

permission to use soap and water, and hand sanitizer where 

feasible, for the duration of work. Employees assigned to a 

work station where job tasks require frequent interaction 

inside six feet with other persons shall be provided with 

hand sanitizer where feasible at the employees work 
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station. Mobile crews shall be provided with hand sanitizer 

where feasible for the duration of work at a work site and 

shall have transportation immediately available to nearby 

toilet facilities and handwashing facilities that meet the 

requirements of VOSH laws, standards, and regulations 

dealing with sanitation. Hand sanitizers required for use to 

protect against SARS-CoV-2 are flammable, and use and 

storage in hot environments can result in a hazard. 

9. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

high, medium, or lower as presenting potential exposure 

risk for purposes of application of the requirements of this 

standard. In situations other than emergencies, the 

employer shall ensure that protective measures are put in 

place to prevent cross-contamination. 

L. Unless otherwise provided in this standard, when 

engineering, work practice, and administrative controls are 

not feasible or do not provide sufficient protection, employers 

shall provide personal protective equipment to their 

employees and ensure the equipment's proper use in 

accordance with VOSH laws, standards, and regulations 

applicable to personal protective equipment, including 

respiratory protection equipment. 

16VAC25-220-50. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified as very high or high exposure risk. 

A. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as very high or high exposure 

risk apply in addition to requirements contained in 16VAC25-

220-40, 16VAC25-220-70, and 16VAC25-220-80. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that appropriate air-handling 

systems: 

a. Are installed and maintained in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions in healthcare facilities and 

other places of employment treating, caring for, or 

housing persons with known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and  

b. Comply with minimum American National Standards 

Institute (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, 

Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers 

(ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 

2019b), which include requirements for outdoor air 

ventilation in most residential and nonresidential spaces, 

and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE Standard 170 (ASHRAE 

2017a), which covers both outdoor and total air 

ventilation in healthcare facilities. Based on risk 

assessments or owner project requirements, designers of 

new and existing facilities can go beyond the minimum 

requirements of these standards. 

2. For employers not covered by subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, ensure that air-handling systems where 

installed are appropriate to address the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related hazards and job tasks that 

occur at the workplace: 

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer’s 

instructions; and 

b. Comply with subdivision 1 b of this subsection. 

3. Hospitalized patients with known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, where feasible and 

available, shall be placed in an airborne infection isolation 

room (AIIR). 

4. Employers shall use AIIR rooms when available for 

performing aerosol-generating procedures on patients with 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus. 

5. For postmortem activities, employers shall use autopsy 

suites or other similar isolation facilities when performing 

aerosol-generating procedures on the bodies of known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

persons at the time of their death. 

6. Employers shall use special precautions associated with 

Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3), as defined by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services Publication No. 

(CDC) 21-1112 "Biosafety in Microbiological and 

Biomedical Laboratories" (Dec. 2009), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, when handling specimens from 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus patients or persons. 

7. To the extent feasible, employers shall install physical 

barriers, (e.g., clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.), where such 

barriers will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 

and COVID-19 virus transmission. 

C. Administrative and work practice controls. 

1. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

2. In healthcare facilities, an employer shall follow existing 

guidelines and facility standards of practice for identifying 

and isolating infected persons and for protecting 

employees. 

3. An employer shall limit non-employee access to the 

place of employment or restrict access to only certain 

workplace areas to reduce the risk of exposure. An 

employer's compliance with occupancy limits contained in 

any applicable Virginia executive order or order of public 

health emergency will constitute compliance with the 

requirements of this paragraph. 

4. An employer shall post signs requesting patients and 

family members to immediately report symptoms of 
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respiratory illness on arrival at the healthcare facility and 

use disposable face coverings. 

5. An employer shall offer enhanced medical monitoring of 

employees during COVID-19 outbreaks. 

6. An employer shall provide all employees with job-

specific education and training on preventing transmission 

of COVID-19, including initial and routine and refresher 

training in accordance with 16VAC25-220-80. 

7. To the extent feasible, an employer shall ensure that 

psychological and behavioral support is available to 

address employee stress at no cost to the employee. 

8. In health care settings, an employer shall provide 

alcohol-based hand sanitizers containing at least 60% 

ethanol or 70% isopropanol to employees at fixed work 

sites and to emergency responders and other personnel for 

decontamination in the field when working away from 

fixed work sites. 

9. Provide face coverings to suspected to be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2 virus non-employees to contain respiratory 

secretions until the non-employees are able to leave the site 

(i.e., for medical evaluation and care or to return home). 

10. Where feasible, employers shall: 

a. Implement flexible worksites (e.g., telework). 

b. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts). 

c. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

worksite to six feet. 

d. Increase physical distancing between employees and 

other persons to six feet. 

e. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., 

use telephone or video conferencing instead of in person 

meetings; postpone non-essential travel or events; etc.). 

f. Deliver services remotely (e.g. phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

g. Deliver products through curbside pick-up.  

D. Personal protective equipment (PPE). 

1. Employers covered by this section and not otherwise 

covered by the VOSH Standards for General Industry 

(16VAC25-90-1910), shall comply with the following 

requirements for a SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 

disease hazard assessment and personal protective 

equipment selection: 

a. The employer shall assess the workplace to determine 

if SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards or 

job tasks are present or are likely to be present that 

necessitate the use of personal protective equipment 

(PPE). The employer shall provide for employee and 

employee representative involvement in the assessment 

process. 

b. If such hazards or job tasks are present or likely to be 

present, the employer shall:  

(1) Except as otherwise required in the standard, select 

and have each affected employee use the types of PPE 

that will protect the affected employee from the SARS-

CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards identified in 

the hazard assessment; 

(2) Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

(3) Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. The employer shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-

2 virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard 

assessment has been performed through a written 

certification that identifies the workplace evaluated; the 

person certifying that the evaluation has been performed; 

the date of the hazard assessment; and the document as a 

certification of hazard assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-COV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-1926, 16VAC25-

190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 16VAC25-120-1917, or 

16VAC25-130-1918), the requirements of 16VAC25-90-

1910.132 (General requirements) and 16VAC25-90-

1910.134 (Respiratory protection) shall apply to all 

employers for that purpose. 

4. The employer shall implement a respiratory protection 

program in accordance with 16VAC25-90-1910.134 (b) 

through (d) (except (d)(1)(iii)), and (f) through (m), that 

covers each employee required to use a respirator. 

5. Unless contraindicated by a hazard assessment and 

equipment selection requirements in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, employees classified as very high or high 

exposure risk shall be provided with and wear gloves, a 

gown, a face shield or goggles, and a respirator when in 

contact with or inside six feet of patients or other persons 

known to be or suspected of being infected with SARS-

CoV-2. Where indicated by the hazard assessment and 

equipment selection requirements in subsection D of this 

section, such employees shall also be provided with and 

wear a surgical/medical procedure mask. Gowns shall be 

large enough to cover the areas requiring protection. 

E. Employee training shall be provided in accordance with 

the requirements of 16VAC25-220-80 of this standard. 

16VAC25-220-60. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified at medium exposure risk. 

A. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as medium exposure risk apply 
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in addition to requirements contained in 16VAC25-220-40, 

16VAC25-220-70, and 16VAC25-220-80. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that air-handling systems where 

installed are appropriate to address the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related hazards and job tasks that 

occur at the workplace and:  

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions; and  

b. Comply with minimum American National Standards 

Institute (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, 

Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers 

(ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 2019a, 

2019b), which include requirements for outdoor air 

ventilation in most residential and nonresidential spaces, 

and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE Standard 170 (ASHRAE 

2017a), which covers both outdoor and total air 

ventilation in healthcare facilities. Based on risk 

assessments or owner project requirements, designers of 

new and existing facilities can go beyond the minimum 

requirements of these standards. 

C. Administrative and work practice controls. 

1. To the extent feasible, employers shall implement the 

following administrative and work practice controls: 

a. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

b. Provide face coverings to suspected to be infected with 

SARS-C0V-2 non-employees to contain respiratory 

secretions until the non-employees are able to leave the 

site (i.e., for medical evaluation and care or to return 

home). 

c. Implement flexible worksites (e.g., telework). 

d. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts). 

e. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

worksite to six feet. 

f. Increase physical distancing between employees and 

other persons, including customers to six feet (e.g., drive-

through physical barriers) where such barriers will aid in 

mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 virus 

transmission, etc. 

g. To the extent feasible, install physical barriers (e.g., 

such as clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.), where such 

barriers will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 

virus transmission. 

h. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., 

using telephone or video conferencing instead of in 

person meetings; postponing non-essential travel or 

events; etc.). 

i. Deliver services remotely (e.g. phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

j. Deliver products through curbside pick-up or delivery. 

k. Require employers to provide and employees to wear 

face coverings who, because of job tasks cannot feasibly 

practice physical distancing from another employee or 

other person if the hazard assessment has determined that 

personal protective equipment, such as respirators or 

surgical/medical procedure masks, was not required for 

the job task. 

l. Require employers to provide and employees in 

customer facing jobs to wear face coverings. 

D. Personal protective equipment. 

1. Employers covered by this section and not otherwise 

covered by the VOSH Standards for General Industry 

(16VAC25-90-1910) shall comply with the following 

requirements for a SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 

disease related hazard assessment and personal protective 

equipment selection: 

a. The employer shall assess the workplace to determine 

if SARS-CoV-2 or COVID-19 hazards or job tasks are 

present or are likely to be present that necessitate the use 

of personal protective equipment (PPE). The employer 

shall provide for employee and employee representative 

involvement in the assessment process. If such hazards or 

job tasks are present or likely to be present, the employer 

shall: 

i. Except as otherwise required in the standard, select and 

have each affected employee use the types of PPE that 

will protect the affected employee from the SARS-CoV-

2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards identified in the 

hazard assessment; 

ii. Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

iii. Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. The employer shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-

2 virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard 

assessment has been performed through a written 

certification that identifies the workplace evaluated; the 

person certifying that the evaluation has been performed; 

the date of the hazard assessment; and the document as a 

certification of hazard assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-COV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-1926, 16VAC25-

190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 16VAC25-120-1917, or 
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16VAC25-130-1918), the requirements of 16VAC25-90-

1910.132 (General requirements) and 16VAC25-90-

1910.134 (Respiratory protection) shall apply to all 

employers for that purpose. 

4. PPE ensembles for employees in the medium exposure 

risk category will vary by work task, the results of the 

employer’s hazard assessment, and the types of exposures 

employees have on the job. 

16VAC25-220-70. Infectious disease preparedness and 

response plan. 

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as: 

1. Very high and high shall develop and implement a 

written Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response 

Plan; 

2. Medium with 11 or more employees shall develop and 

implement a written Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan. 

B. The plan and training requirements tied to the plan shall 

only apply to those employees classified as very high, high, 

and medium covered by this section. 

C. Employers shall designate a person to be responsible for 

implementing their plan. The plan shall: 

1. Identify the name or title of the person responsible for 

administering the plan. This person shall be knowledgeable 

in infection control principles and practices as the 

principles and practices apply to the facility, service, or 

operation. 

2. Provide for employee involvement in development and 

implementation of the plan. 

3. Consider and address the level of SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease risk associated with various places 

of employment, the hazards employees are exposed to at 

those sites, and job tasks employees perform at those sites. 

Such considerations shall include: 

a. Where, how, and to what sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease might employees be exposed 

at work, including: 

i. The general public, customers, other employees, 

patients, and other persons; 

ii. Known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus persons or those at particularly high risk of 

COVID-19 infection (e.g., local, state, national, and 

international travelers who have visited locations with 

ongoing COVID-19 community transmission and 

healthcare employees who have had unprotected 

exposures to known or suspected to be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2 virus persons); and 

iii. Situations where employees work more than one job 

with different employers and encounter hazards or 

engage in job tasks that present a very high, high, or 

medium level of exposure risk. 

b. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employees' individual risk factors. For example, people 

of any age with one or more of the following conditions 

are at increased risk of severe illness from COVID-19: 

chronic kidney disease; COPD (chronic obstructive 

pulmonary disease); immunocompromised state 

(weakened immune system) from solid organ transplant; 

obesity (body mass index or BMI of 40 or higher); 

serious heart conditions, such as heart failure, coronary 

artery disease, or cardiomyopathies; sickle cell disease; 

or type 2 diabetes mellitus. Also, for example, people 

with one or more of the following conditions might be at 

an increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19: 

asthma (moderate-to-severe); cerebrovascular disease 

(affects blood vessels and blood supply to the brain); 

cystic fibrosis; hypertension or high blood pressure; 

immunocompromised state (weakened immune system) 

from blood or bone marrow transplant, immune 

deficiencies, HIV, use of corticosteroids, or use of other 

immune weakening medicines; neurologic conditions, 

such as dementia; liver disease; pregnancy; pulmonary 

fibrosis (having damaged or scarred lung tissues); 

smoking; thalassemia (a type of blood disorder); type 1 

diabetes mellitus; etc. 

c. Engineering, administrative, work practice, and 

personal protective equipment controls necessary to 

address those risks. 

4. Consider contingency plans for situations that may arise 

as a result of outbreaks, such as: 

a. Increased rates of employee absenteeism; 

b. The need for physical distancing, staggered work 

shifts, downsizing operations, delivering services 

remotely, and other exposure-reducing workplace control 

measures such as elimination and substitution, 

engineering controls, administrative and work practice 

controls, and personal protective equipment, e.g., 

respirators, surgical/medical procedure masks, etc. 

c. Options for conducting essential operations with a 

reduced workforce, including cross-training employees 

across different jobs in order to continue operations or 

deliver surge services; and 

d. Interrupted supply chains or delayed deliveries. 

5. Identify basic infection prevention measures to be 

implemented: 

a. Promote frequent and thorough hand washing, 

including by providing employees, customers, visitors, 

the general public, and other persons to the place of 
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employment with a place to wash their hands. If soap and 

running water are not immediately available, provide 

hand sanitizers. 

b. Maintain regular housekeeping practices, including 

routine cleaning and disinfecting of surfaces, equipment, 

and other elements of the work environment. 

c. Establish policies and procedures for managing and 

educating visitors to the place of employment. 

6. Provide for the prompt identification and isolation of 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus employees away from work, including procedures for 

employees to report when they are experiencing symptoms 

of COVID-19. 

7. Address infectious disease preparedness and response 

with outside businesses, including, but not limited to, 

subcontractors who enter the place of employment, 

businesses that provide or contract or temporary employees 

to the employer, and other persons accessing the place of 

employment to comply with the requirements of this 

standard and the employer's plan. 

8. Identify the mandatory and non-mandatory 

recommendations in any CDC guidelines or 

Commonwealth of Virginia guidance documents the 

employer is complying with, if any, in lieu of a provision 

of this standard, as provided for in 16VAC25-220-10 G 1 

and G 2. 

9. Ensure compliance with mandatory requirements of any 

applicable Virginia executive order or order of public 

health emergency related to the SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease. 

16VAC25-220-80. Training. 

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as very 

high, high, or medium exposure risk at a place of employment 

shall provide training on the hazards and characteristics of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease to all employees 

working at the place of employment regardless of employee 

risk classification. The training program shall enable each 

employee to recognize the hazards of the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease and shall train 

each employee in the procedures to be followed in order to 

minimize these hazards. 

B. The training required under subsection A shall include: 

1. The requirements of this standard; 

2. The mandatory and non-mandatory recommendations in 

any CDC guidelines or State of Virginia guidance 

documents the employer is complying with, if any, in lieu 

of a provision of this standard as provided for in section 

16VAC25-220-10 G 1 and G 2; 

3. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

4. The signs and symptoms of the COVID-19 disease; 

5. Risk factors of severe COVID-19 illness with 

underlying health conditions; 

6. Awareness of the ability of pre-symptomatic and 

asymptomatic COVID-19 persons to transmit the SARS-

CoV-2 virus; 

7. Safe and healthy work practices, including but not 

limited to, physical distancing, disinfection procedures, 

disinfecting frequency, ventilation, noncontact methods of 

greeting, etc.;  

8. PPE: 

a. When PPE is required; 

b. What PPE is required; 

c. How to properly don, doff, adjust, and wear PPE; 

d. The limitations of PPE; 

e. The proper care, maintenance, useful life, and disposal 

of PPE; and 

f. Heat-related illness prevention including the signs and 

symptoms of heat-related illness; 

9. The anti-discrimination provisions in 16VAC25-220-90; 

and 

10. The employer's Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan, where applicable. 

C. Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-50 shall verify 

compliance with 16VAC25-220-80 A by preparing a written 

certification record for those employees exposed to hazards or 

job tasks classified as very high, high, or medium exposure 

risk levels. The written certification record shall contain the 

name or other unique identifier of the employee trained, the 

trained employee's physical or electronic signature, the date 

of the training, and the name of the person who conducted the 

training, or for computer-based training, the name of the 

person or entity that prepared the training materials. If the 

employer relies on training conducted by another employer or 

completed prior to the effective date of this standard, the 

certification record shall indicate the date the employer 

determined the prior training was adequate rather than the 

date of actual training 

D. The latest training certification shall be maintained. 

E. When the employer has reason to believe that any 

affected employee who has already been trained does not 

have the understanding and skill required by 16VAC25-220-

80 A, the employer shall retrain each such employee. 

Circumstances where retraining is required include, but are 

not limited to, situations where: 
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1. Changes in the workplace, SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease hazards exposed to, or job tasks 

performed render previous training obsolete;  

2. Changes are made to the employer's Infectious Disease 

Preparedness and Response Plan; or 

3.Inadequacies in an affected employee's knowledge or use 

of workplace control measures indicate that the employee 

has not retained the requisite understanding or skill. 

F. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified at lower 

risk shall provide written or oral information to employees 

exposed to such hazards or engaged in such job tasks on the 

hazards and characteristics of SARS-COV-2 and the 

symptoms of COVID-19 and measures to minimize exposure. 

The Department of Labor and Industry shall develop an 

information sheet containing information on the items listed 

in subsection G, which an employer may utilize to comply 

with this subsection. 

G. The information required under subsection F shall 

include at a minimum: 

1. The requirements of this standard; 

2. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

3. The symptoms of the COVID-19 disease; 

4. The ability of pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic 

COVID-19 persons to transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

5. Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, 

including but not limited to, physical distancing, sanitation 

and disinfection practices; and 

6. The anti-discrimination provisions of this standard in 

16VAC25-220-90. 

16VAC25-220-90. Discrimination against an employee for 

exercising rights under this standard is prohibited. 

A. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee because the employee has exercised 

rights under the safety and health provisions of this standard, 

Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia, and implementing 

regulations under 16VAC25-60-110 for themselves or others. 

B. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who voluntarily provides and wears the 

employee's own personal protective equipment, including but 

not limited to a respirator, face shield, or gloves, or face 

covering if such equipment is not provided by the employer, 

provided that the PPE does not create a greater hazard to the 

employee or create a serious hazard for other employees. 

C. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who raises a reasonable concern about 

infection control related to the SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease to the employer, the employer's agent, 

other employees, a government agency, or to the public such 

as through print, online, social, or any other media. 

D. Nothing in this standard shall limit an employee from 

refusing to do work or enter a location that the employee feels 

is unsafe. 16VAC25-60-110 contains the requirements 

concerning discharge or discipline of an employee who has 

refused to complete an assigned task because of a reasonable 

fear of injury or death.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(16VAC25-220) 

List N Products with Emerging Viral Pathogens and Human 

Coronavirus claims for use against SARS-CoV-2, U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, Date Accessed July 20, 

2020 

Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories, 

5th Edition, HHS Publication No. (CDC) 21-112, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National 

Institutes of Health Revised December 2009 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6457; Filed July 24, 2020, 2:04 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board for Contractors will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-260).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As mandated in Chapter 685 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendment requires a licensed contractor to 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a955006457~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a955006457~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90050006457~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
mailto:contractors@dpor.virginia.gov
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appropriately classify a worker as an employee or as an 

independent contractor and makes failure to do so a 

violation of the regulation. 

18VAC50-22-260. Filing of charges; prohibited acts.  

A. All complaints against contractors and residential 

building energy analyst firms may be filed with the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation at 

any time during business hours, pursuant to § 54.1-1114 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following acts are prohibited acts:  

1. Failure in any material way to comply with provisions of 

Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or the 

regulations of the board.  

2. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license.  

3. Failure of the responsible management, designated 

employee, or qualified individual to report to the board, in 

writing, the suspension or revocation of a contractor 

license by another state or conviction in a court of 

competent jurisdiction of a building code violation.  

4. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

relating to contracting that contains an assertion, 

representation, or statement of fact that is false, deceptive, 

or misleading.  

5. Negligence or incompetence in the practice of 

contracting or residential building energy analyses.  

6. Misconduct in the practice of contracting or residential 

building energy analyses.  

7. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the 

practice of contracting by a court of competent jurisdiction 

or by the board.  

8. Failure of all those who engage in residential 

contracting, excluding subcontractors to the contracting 

parties and those who engage in routine maintenance or 

service contracts, to make use of a legible written contract 

clearly specifying the terms and conditions of the work to 

be performed. For the purposes of this chapter, residential 

contracting means construction, removal, repair, or 

improvements to single-family or multiple-family 

residential buildings, including accessory-use structures as 

defined in § 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia. Prior to 

commencement of work or acceptance of payments, the 

contract shall be signed by both the consumer and the 

licensee or his agent.  

9. Failure of those engaged in residential contracting as 

defined in this chapter to comply with the terms of a 

written contract that contains the following minimum 

requirements:  

a. When work is to begin and the estimated completion 

date;  

b. A statement of the total cost of the contract and the 

amounts and schedule for progress payments including a 

specific statement on the amount of the down payment;  

c. A listing of specified materials and work to be 

performed, which is specifically requested by the 

consumer;  

d. A "plain-language" exculpatory clause concerning 

events beyond the control of the contractor and a 

statement explaining that delays caused by such events 

do not constitute abandonment and are not included in 

calculating timeframes for payment or performance;  

e. A statement of assurance that the contractor will 

comply with all local requirements for building permits, 

inspections, and zoning;  

f. Disclosure of the cancellation rights of the parties;  

g. For contracts resulting from a door-to-door 

solicitation, a signed acknowledgment by the consumer 

that he has been provided with and read the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation statement of 

protection available to him through the Board for 

Contractors;  

h. Contractor's name, address, license number, class of 

license, and classifications or specialty services;  

i. A statement providing that any modification to the 

contract, which changes the cost, materials, work to be 

performed, or estimated completion date, must be in 

writing and signed by all parties; and 

j. Effective with all new contracts entered into after July 

1, 2015, a statement notifying consumers of the existence 

of the Virginia Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund 

that includes information on how to contact the board for 

claim information.  

10. Failure to make prompt delivery to the consumer 

before commencement of work of a fully executed copy of 

the contract as described in subdivisions 8 and 9 of this 

subsection for construction or contracting work.  

11. Failure of the contractor to maintain for a period of five 

years from the date of contract a complete and legible copy 

of all documents relating to that contract, including the 

contract and any addenda or change orders.  

12. Refusing or failing, upon request, to produce to the 

board, or any of its agents, any document, book, record, or 

copy of it in the licensee's possession concerning a 

transaction covered by this chapter or for which the 

licensee is required to maintain records.  
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13. Failing to respond to an agent of the board or providing 

false, misleading or incomplete information to an 

investigator seeking information in the investigation of a 

complaint filed with the board against the contractor. 

Failing or refusing to claim certified mail sent to the 

licensee's address of record shall constitute a violation of 

this regulation. 

14. Abandonment defined as the unjustified cessation of 

work under the contract for a period of 30 days or more.  

15. The intentional and unjustified failure to complete 

work contracted for or to comply with the terms in the 

contract.  

16. The retention or misapplication of funds paid, for 

which work is either not performed or performed only in 

part.  

17. Making any misrepresentation or making a false 

promise that might influence, persuade, or induce.  

18. Assisting another to violate any provision of Chapter 1 

(§ 54.1-100 et seq.) or Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or this chapter; or 

combining or conspiring with or acting as agent, partner, or 

associate for another.  

19. Allowing a firm's license to be used by another.  

20. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for 

undisclosed persons who do or will control or direct, 

directly or indirectly, the operations of the licensee's 

business.  

21. Action by the firm, responsible management as defined 

in this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

to offer, give, or promise anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the 

performance of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, 

regulation, or ordinance governing the construction 

industry.  

22. Where the firm, responsible management as defined in 

this chapter, designated employee or qualified individual 

has been convicted or found guilty, after initial licensure, 

regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction, of any 

felony or of any misdemeanor, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time of appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The record 

of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as 

prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt.  

23. Failure to inform the board in writing, within 30 days, 

that the firm, a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter, its designated employee, or its 

qualified individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 

or was convicted and found guilty of any felony or of a 

Class 1 misdemeanor or any misdemeanor conviction for 

activities carried out while engaged in the practice of 

contracting.  

24. Having been disciplined by any county, city, town, or 

any state or federal governing body including action by the 

Virginia Department of Health, which action shall be 

reviewed by the board before it takes any disciplinary 

action of its own.  

25. Failure to abate a violation of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code, as amended.  

26. Failure of a contractor to comply with the notification 

requirements of the Virginia Underground Utility Damage 

Prevention Act, Chapter 10.3 (§ 56-265.14 et seq.) of Title 

56 of the Code of Virginia (Miss Utility).  

27. Practicing in a classification, specialty service, or class 

of license for which the contractor is not licensed.  

28. Failure to satisfy any judgments.  

29. Contracting with an unlicensed or improperly licensed 

contractor or subcontractor in the delivery of contracting 

services.  

30. Failure to honor the terms and conditions of a warranty.  

31. Failure to obtain written change orders, which are 

signed by both the consumer and the licensee or his agent, 

to an already existing contract.  

32. Failure to ensure that supervision, as defined in this 

chapter, is provided to all helpers and laborers assisting 

licensed tradesman.  

33. Failure to obtain a building permit or applicable 

inspection, where required. 

34. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

ensure that residential building energy analyses conducted 

by the firm are consistent with the requirements set forth 

by the board, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

the U.S. Department of Energy, or the Energy Star 

Program. 

35. Failure of a residential building energy analyst firm to 

maintain the general liability insurance required in 

18VAC50-22-62 C at any time while licensed by the 

board. 

36. Failure of a contractor holding the drug lab remediation 

specialty to ensure that remediation work conducted by the 

firm or properly licensed subcontractors is consistent with 

the guidelines set forth by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency, Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality, Virginia Department of Health, or Virginia 

Department of Forensic Science.  
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37. Failure of a contractor to appropriately classify all 

workers as employees or as independent contractors as 

provided by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6446; Filed July 20, 2020, 10:30 a.m.  

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Board is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Real Estate Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate 

Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-

180).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or 

email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1014 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments conform the regulation to statute by 

requiring that rent or escrow fund advances for lease 

transactions must be placed in an escrow account by the 

end of the fifth business banking day following receipt, 

regardless of when they are received. 

18VAC135-20-180. Maintenance and management of 

escrow accounts. 

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts.  

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole 

proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is 

licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow 

accounts in a federally insured depository into which all 

down payments, earnest money deposits, money received 

upon final settlement, application deposits as defined by 

§ 55.1-1200 of the Code of Virginia, rental payments, 

rental security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or 

seller for the payment of expenses in connection with the 

closing of real estate transactions, money advanced by the 

broker's client or expended on behalf of the client, or other 

escrow funds received by the broker or his associates on 

behalf of his client or any other person shall be deposited 

unless all principals to the transaction have agreed 

otherwise in writing. The balance in the escrow accounts 

shall be sufficient at all times to account for all funds that 

are designated to be held by the firm or sole proprietorship. 

The principal broker shall be held responsible for these 

accounts, including having signatory authority on these 

accounts. The supervising broker and any other licensee 

with escrow account authority may be held responsible for 

these accounts. All such accounts, checks, and bank 

statements shall be labeled "escrow" and the accounts shall 

be designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial 

institution where such accounts are established.  

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may 

include moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee, 

but such moneys shall be separately identified in the 

escrow account records and shall be paid to the firm by a 

check drawn on the escrow account when the funds 

become due to the licensee. Funds in an escrow account 

shall not be paid directly to the licensees of the firm. The 

fact that an escrow account contains money that may 

ultimately belong to the licensee does not constitute 

"commingling of funds" as set forth by subdivision C 2 of 

this section, provided that there are periodic withdrawals of 

said funds at intervals of not more than six months and that 

the licensee can at all times accurately identify the total 

funds in that account that belong to the licensee and the 

firm.  

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of 

deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such certificate, 

or the absence of the original certificate from the direct 

control of the principal or supervising broker, shall 

constitute commingling as prohibited by subdivision C 2 of 

this section.  

4. Lease transactions: application deposits. Any application 

deposit as defined by § 55.1-1200 of the Code of Virginia 

paid by a prospective tenant for the purpose of being 

considered as a tenant for a dwelling unit to a licensee 

acting on behalf of a landlord client shall be placed in 

escrow by the end of the fifth business banking day 

following approval of the rental application by the landlord 

unless all principals to the lease transaction have agreed 

otherwise in writing.  

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.  

1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon the ratification of a 

contract, an earnest money deposit received by the 

principal broker or supervising broker or his associates 

shall be placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth 

business banking day following ratification, unless 

otherwise agreed to in writing by the principals to the 

transaction, and shall remain in that account until the 

transaction has been consummated or terminated. In the 

event that the transaction is not consummated, the principal 

broker or supervising broker shall hold such funds in 

mailto:reboard@dpor.virginia.gov
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escrow until (i) all principals to the transaction have agreed 

in a written agreement as to their disposition, upon which 

the funds shall be returned to the agreed upon principal as 

provided in such written agreement; (ii) a court of 

competent jurisdiction orders such disbursement of the 

funds; (iii) the funds are successfully interpleaded into a 

court of competent jurisdiction pursuant to this section; or 

(iv) the broker releases the funds to the principal to the 

transaction who is entitled to receive them in accordance 

with the clear and explicit terms of the contract that 

established the earnest money deposit. At the option of a 

broker, written notice may be sent by the broker that 

release of such funds shall be made unless a written protest 

is received from the principal who is not receiving the 

funds by such broker within 15 calendar days of the date of 

such notice. Notice of a disbursement shall be given to the 

parties to the transaction in accordance with the contract, 

but if the contract does not specify a method of delivery, 

one of the following methods complies with this section: 

(i) hand delivery; (ii) United States mail, postage prepaid, 

provided that the sender retains sufficient proof of mailing, 

which may be either a United States postal certificate of 

mailing or a certificate of service prepared by the sender 

confirming such mailing; (iii) electronic means, provided 

that the sender retains sufficient proof of the electronic 

delivery, which may be an electronic receipt of delivery, a 

confirmation that the notice was sent by facsimile, or a 

certificate of service prepared by the sender confirming the 

electronic delivery; or (iv) overnight delivery using a 

commercial service or the United States Postal Service. 

Except as provided in the clear and explicit terms of the 

contract, no broker shall be required to make a 

determination as to the party entitled to receive the earnest 

money deposit. A broker who complies with this section 

shall be immune from liability to any of the parties to the 

contract. 

A principal broker or supervising broker holding escrow 

funds for a principal to the transaction may seek to have a 

court of competent jurisdiction take custody of disputed or 

unclaimed escrow funds via an interpleader action pursuant 

to § 16.1-77 of the Code of Virginia. 

If a principal broker or supervising broker is holding 

escrow funds for the owner of real property and such 

property is foreclosed upon by a lender, the principal 

broker or supervising broker shall have the right to file an 

interpleader action pursuant to § 16.1-77 of the Code of 

Virginia and otherwise comply with the provisions of 

§ 54.1-2108.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

If there is in effect at the date of the foreclosure sale a real 

estate purchase contract to buy the property foreclosed 

upon and the real estate purchase contract provides that the 

earnest money deposit held in escrow by a firm or sole 

proprietorship shall be paid to a principal to the contract in 

the event of a termination of the real estate purchase 

contract, the foreclosure shall be deemed a termination of 

the real estate purchase contract, and the principal broker 

or supervising broker may, absent any default on the part 

of the purchaser, disburse the earnest money deposit to the 

purchaser pursuant to such provisions of the real estate 

purchase contract without further consent from or notice to 

the principals. 

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any security 

deposit held by a firm or sole proprietorship shall be 

placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth 

business banking day following receipt, unless otherwise 

agreed to in writing by the principals to the transaction. 

Each such security deposit shall be treated in accordance 

with the security deposit provisions of the Virginia 

Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 12 

(§ 55.1-1200 et seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, unless exempted therefrom, in which case the 

terms of the lease or other applicable law shall control. 

Notwithstanding anything in this section to the contrary, 

unless the landlord has otherwise become entitled to 

receive the security deposit or a portion thereof, the 

security deposit shall not be removed from an escrow 

account required by the lease without the written consent 

of the tenant. If there is in effect at the date of the 

foreclosure sale a tenant in a residential dwelling unit 

foreclosed upon and the landlord is holding a security 

deposit of the tenant, the landlord shall handle the 

security deposit in accordance with applicable law, which 

requires the holder of the landlord's interest in the 

dwelling unit at the time of termination of tenancy to 

return any security deposit and any accrued interest that 

is duly owed to the tenant, whether or not such security 

deposit is transferred with the landlord's interest by law 

or equity, and regardless of any contractual agreements 

between the original landlord and his successors in 

interest. Nothing in this section shall be construed to 

prevent the landlord from making lawful deductions from 

the security deposit in accordance with applicable law. 

c. Lease transactions: prepaid rent or escrow fund 

advances. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all 

principals to the transaction, all prepaid rent and other 

money paid to the licensee in connection with the lease 

shall be placed in an escrow account by the end of the 

fifth business banking day following receipt, regardless 

of when received, and remain in that account until paid in 

accordance with the terms of the lease and the property 

management agreement, as applicable, except the prepaid 

rent, which shall be treated in accordance with the 

prepaid rent provision of the Virginia Residential 

Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 12 (§ 55.1-1200 et 

seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

d. Lease transactions: rent payments. If there is in effect 

at the date of the foreclosure sale a tenant in a residential 

dwelling unit foreclosed upon and the rent is paid to a 
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licensee acting on behalf of the landlord pursuant to a 

properly executed property management agreement, the 

licensee may collect the rent in accordance with § 54.1-

2108.1 A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in 

writing by all principals to the transaction, a licensee shall 

not be entitled to any part of the earnest money deposit or 

to any other money paid to the licensee in connection with 

any real estate transaction as part of the licensee's 

commission until the transaction has been consummated.  

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in writing 

by the principals to the lease or property management 

agreement, as applicable, a licensee shall not be entitled 

to any part of the security deposit or to any other money 

paid to the licensee in connection with any real estate 

lease as part of the licensee's commission except in 

accordance with the terms of the lease or the property 

management agreement, as applicable. Notwithstanding 

anything in this section to the contrary, unless the 

landlord has otherwise become entitled to receive the 

security deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit 

shall not be removed from an escrow account required by 

the lease without the written consent of the tenant. 

Except in the event of a foreclosure, if a licensee elects to 

terminate the property management agreement with the 

landlord, the licensee may transfer any funds held in 

escrow on behalf of the landlord in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2108.1 B 5 of the Code of Virginia. If there is in 

effect at the date of the foreclosure sale a written 

property management agreement between the licensee 

and the landlord, the property management agreement 

shall continue in accordance with § 54.1-2108.1 A 5 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written 

disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of 

contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to 

the transaction regarding the disbursement of interest.  

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed 

moneys from an escrow or property management escrow 

account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that 

account to the credit of the individual client or property 

involved.  

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to 

the transaction, expenses incidental to closing a transaction 

(e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit report) shall not 

be deducted from a deposit or down payment.  

C. Actions including improper maintenance of escrow funds 

include:  

1. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or 

anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on a 

contract, offer to purchase, or lease without acknowledging 

its acceptance in the agreement;  

2. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal or 

supervising broker or his employees or associates or any 

licensee with his own funds, or those of his corporation, 

firm, or association;  

3. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account designated 

to receive only such funds as required by subdivision A 1 

of this section;  

4. Failure to have sufficient balances in an escrow account 

at all times for all funds that are designated to be held by 

the firm or sole proprietorship as required by this chapter; 

and  

5. Failing as principal broker to report to the board within 

three business days instances where the principal broker 

reasonably believes the improper conduct of a licensee, 

independent contractor, or employee has caused 

noncompliance with this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6458; Filed July 22, 2020, 3:17 p.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-EIGHT (2020) 

AND ORDER OF PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

EIGHT 

Additional Restrictions on the Eastern Region Due 
to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue  

On June 30, 2020, Executive Order 67 and Order of Public 

Health Emergency Seven implemented Phase Three in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. The Order continued to ease 

business, gathering, and traveling restrictions originally 

imposed by Executive Order 53 and Executive Order 55 

issued in March of 2020. For many weeks, Virginia made 

progress in key measures of disease trends and healthcare 

capacity. In recent weeks, Virginia has experienced slight 

increases in case counts, percent test positivity, and 

hospitalizations. While, generally, our testing has increased, 

our supply of personal protective equipment is steady, and 

our hospital bed capacity remains stable, statewide 

hospitalizations and positive tests have slightly increased. 

The slight increase in the statewide trends in percent test 

positivity and other health indicators is likely heavily driven 

by the significant recent positive case count increases in the 

Eastern Region. As of data available on July 27, 2020, test 

positivity rates in the Cities of Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, 

Norfolk, Suffolk, Portsmouth, and Hampton range from 9.9% 

to 18.6%. The Cities of Williamsburg, Newport News, 

Poquoson, James City County, and York County are 

experiencing increased test positivity of 8.7% compared to 

approximately 3.4% one month ago. The test positivity rate 

for the remainder of Virginia is trending at 6%. 

Case counts in these jurisdictions are also steadily increasing. 

For example, between July 15, 2020, and July 25, 2020, the 

City of Virginia Beach reported an average of 103 new cases 

per day. On July 25, 2020, the City of Virginia Beach 

reported 329 new cases, more than triple the number reported 

the previous day. On July 25, 2020, the City of Chesapeake 

reported 126 new cases, the largest number it has ever 

reported for a single day. Since July 15, 2020, the City of 

Norfolk reported 919 new cases, averaging 90 cases per day. 

The Cities of Hampton and Portsmouth also show trends of 

increasing cases, with the City of Portsmouth reporting 60 

new cases on July 25, 2020, its largest daily total to date.  

In addition to test positivity and increasing case counts, 

hospitalizations in these jurisdictions have been steadily 

increasing for several weeks, including the number of 

confirmed intensive care unit hospitalizations. Similarly, the 

number of visits to emergency rooms for COVID-like illness 

in these jurisdictions has increased steadily for several weeks, 

a marker of increased disease activity and individuals seeking 

care. 

Moreover, reports from health directors in these jurisdictions 

show disturbing trends in connection with the increasing 

number of cases. There is a significant shift to a younger 

demographic with a marked increase in 20-29-year olds 

testing positive for COVID-19. Case investigations of 

positive individuals in those jurisdictions consistently show a 

pattern of increased socialization with extended (non-

household) family and friends, such as birthdays, backyard 

barbeques and other celebrations, and gatherings amongst 

friends. Some of these jurisdictions have also noted 

businesses hosting crowds around bar areas. All case 

investigations of positive individuals in those jurisdictions 

involved a lack of social distancing or wearing facial 

coverings.  

Considering this data and the related trends, additional 

measures are necessary in the affected jurisdictions to protect 

public health and to reduce the transmission of COVID-19. 

Directive  

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code 

of Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered in the Cities of Virginia Beach, 

Chesapeake, Norfolk, Suffolk, Portsmouth, Hampton, 

Williamsburg, Newport News, Poquoson, James City County, 

and York County (Eastern Region): 

1. Additional Restrictions on Restaurants, Dining 

Establishments, Food Courts, Breweries, Microbreweries, 

Distilleries, Wineries, and Tasting Rooms  

a. No alcoholic beverage shall be sold, consumed, or 

possessed on premises after 10 p.m. in any restaurant, 

dining establishment, food court, brewery, microbrewery, 

distillery, winery, or tasting room. Alcoholic beverages 

may be sold via delivery or take-out after 10 p.m., as 

permitted by existing regulations promulgated by the 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and 

consistent with subparagraph b below.  

b. All restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, 

breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and 

tasting rooms must close no later than 12 a.m.  

c. Indoor dining in restaurants, dining establishments, food 

courts, breweries, microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, 

and tasting rooms may not exceed 50% of the lowest 

occupancy load on the certificate of occupancy.  

d. All parties, whether seated together or across multiple 

tables, must be limited to 50 patrons or less.  

Restaurants, dining establishments, food courts, breweries, 

microbreweries, distilleries, wineries, and tasting rooms 
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must otherwise comply with the requirements in Executive 

Order 67 and Order of Public Health Emergency Seven. 

2. All Public and Private In-Person Gatherings  

All public and private in-person gatherings of more than 50 

individuals are prohibited. A "gathering" includes, but is 

not limited to, parties, celebrations, or other social events, 

whether they occur indoors or outdoors. The presence of 

more than 50 individuals performing functions of their 

employment is not a "gathering."  

This restriction does not apply to the gathering of family 

members living in the same residence. "Family members" 

include blood relations, adopted, step, and foster relations, 

as well as all individuals residing in the same household or 

visiting such household pursuant to a child custody 

arrangement or order. Family members are not required to 

maintain physical distancing while in their homes. 

Nothing in this Order is intended to place further 

restrictions on religious services. As permitted in Executive 

Order 67 and Order of Public Health Emergency Seven, 

individuals may continue to attend religious services 

subject to the following requirements: 

a. Individuals attending religious services must be at least 

six feet apart when seated and must practice proper 

physical distancing at all times. Family members may be 

seated together.  

b. Mark seating and common areas where attendees may 

congregate in six-foot increments to maintain physical 

distancing between persons who are not Family members.  

c. Any items used to distribute food or beverages must be 

disposable, used only once and discarded.  

d. A thorough cleaning and disinfection of frequently-

contacted surfaces must be conducted prior to and 

following any religious service.  

e. Post signage at the entrance that states that no one with a 

fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is permitted to participate 

in the religious service.  

f. Post signage to provide public health reminders regarding 

physical distancing, gatherings, options for high risk 

individuals, and staying home if sick.  

g. If religious services cannot be conducted in compliance 

with the above requirements, they must not be held in-

person.  

Further, any social gathering held in connection with a 

religious service is subject to the public and private in-

person gatherings restriction of 50 individuals or less.  

3. Enforcement  

a. The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority and 

Virginia Department of Health shall have authority to 

enforce paragraph 1 of this Order. Any willful violation or 

refusal, failure, or neglect to comply with this Order, issued 

pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia, is punishable 

as a Class 1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the 

Code of Virginia. The State Health Commissioner may also 

seek injunctive relief in circuit court for violation of this 

Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia.  

b. Any agency with regulatory authority over a business 

listed in paragraph 1 may enforce this Order as to that 

business to the extent permitted by law.  

c. Violations of paragraph 2 of this Order shall be a Class 1 

misdemeanor pursuant to § 44-146.17 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. Exceptions  

Nothing in the Order shall limit: (i) the provision of health 

care or medical services; (ii) access to essential services for 

low-income residents, such as food banks; (iii) the 

operations of the media; (iv) law enforcement agencies; or 

(v) the operation of government. 

5. Executive Order 67 and Order of Public Health 

Emergency Seven  

Executive Order 67 and Order of Public Health Emergency 

Seven is still effective in the Eastern Region to the extent 

its provisions do not conflict with the provisions in this 

Order. Where any such conflict exists, this Order controls. 

Effective Date of the Executive Order  

This Order shall be effective 12 a.m., July 31, 2020. This 

Executive Order shall remain in full force and effect until 

amended or rescinded by further executive order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, this 28th day of July, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SIXTY-NINE (2020) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to 
Hurricane Isaias 

Importance of the Issue  

On this date, July 31, 2020, I declare that a state of 

emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

prepare and coordinate our response to Hurricane Isaias. The 

anticipated effects of this situation constitute a disaster as 

described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 

and 44-75.1 of the Code, as Governor and Director of 

Emergency Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 
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Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim a state of 

emergency. Accordingly, I direct state and local governments 

to render appropriate assistance to prepare for this event, to 

alleviate any conditions resulting from the situation, and to 

implement recovery and mitigation operations and activities 

so as to return impacted areas to pre-event conditions as much 

as possible. Emergency services shall be conducted in 

accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of the Code. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions:  

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along with 

other appropriate state plans.  

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center and 

the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the State 

Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate the 

provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal governments and 

to facilitate emergency services assignments to other agencies.  

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, on 

behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with the 

concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without regard 

to normal procedures or formalities, and without regard to 

application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers issued by 

agencies shall be posted on their websites.  

D. Activation of § 59.1-525 et seq. of the Code related to price 

gouging.  

E. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty.  

F. Authorization of a maximum of $1,000,000.00 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 

of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$500,000.00 for the Department of Military Affairs, if it is 

called to State Active Duty. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall be effective July 31, 2020, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect for thirty days, unless 

sooner amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Termination of this Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal type benefits granted or to be granted 

due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order.  

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 31st day of July, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Titles of Documents:  

Definition of Clock Hours. 

Non-Traditional or Online Instruction. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS  
AND EMBALMERS 

Title of Document: Funeral Inspection Report. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents:  

Military Guide. 

Virginia Motor Carrier Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Title of Document: Guidance for Telepractice. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Title of Document: Virginia Occupational Safety and Health 

Field Operations Manual, Version 3.4. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 

holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Title of Document: Guidance Document on the Design and 

Use of Devices to Lower the Reservoir Water Level. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Christine Watlington, Policy and Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-3319, or email christine.watlington@dcr.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/058da006471~3s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/86f59006471~4n.pdf
mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/cf3eb006471~1s.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/4dbb4006471~5e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/90084006471~6l.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/867ff006471~2e.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/661f2006471~7l.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/661f2006471~7l.pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/957a2006471~10l.pdf
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Titles of Documents:  

Frequently Asked Questions - Prescription Monitoring 

Program. 

Guidance for Telehealth in the Practice of Veterinary 

Medicine. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Document: Managing Leachate in Compliance with 

the Virginia Solid Waste Management Regulations. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 16, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kathryn Perszyk, Solid Waste Permitting 

Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (703) 583-3856, or 

email kathryn.perszyk@deq.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/86982006471~8m.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/86982006471~8m.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/77ed6006471~9e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/77ed6006471~9e.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/fa479006471~11R.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6471/fa479006471~11R.pdf
mailto:kathryn.perszyk@deq.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Sycamore Solar I LLC Withdrawal of Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - 

Pittsylvania County 

Sycamore Solar I LLC has withdrawn the notice of intent to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a 

small renewable energy project (solar) pursuant to 9VAC15-

60. The original notice of intent was published in the Virginia 

Register on August 21, 2017. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
Aryan King Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Aryan King Inc. for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 6021 West Belmont Road, 

Richmond, VA 23234. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Aree Reinhardt will 

accept comments by email at 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov, or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 

Office (Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

23060, from August 17, 2020, to September 18, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for GET Captive LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for GET Captive 

LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the GET Captive LLC, Zion Crossroads 

Sewage Treatment Plant located in Gordonsville, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

order to resolve violations associated with the plant. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov, or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from August 18, 2020, through September 17, 

2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
John C. Holland Enterprises Inc. 

Enforcement actions have been proposed for John C. Holland 

Enterprises Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Suffolk, Virginia. Descriptions of the proposed actions are 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will 

accept comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from August 

17, 2020, to September 15, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for the  
County of Northumberland 

The State Water Control Board has proposed enforcement 

actions for the County of Northumberland for violations at 

the Reedville Sanitary District and Callao Wastewater 

Treatment Plants. The board proposes to issue consent orders 

to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed actions are 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will 

accept comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 

23060, from August 17, 2020, to September 17, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Super Concrete Co. Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Super Concrete 

Co. Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law at the 

Super Concrete facility located in the City of Manassas Park, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/ 

Enforcement/PublicNotices. Jim Datko will accept comments 

by email at james.datko@deq.virginia.gov, or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from 

August 18, 2020, through September 17, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement/PublicNotices
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Enforcement/PublicNotices
mailto:james.datko@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
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available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/ 

cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND  
CONSUMER SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-501. Regulations Governing 

the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk. 

Publication: 36:24 VA.R. 2530-2548 July 20, 2020. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2534, 2VAC5-501-5, subsection B, line 8, after 

"2VAC5-501-10," change "2VAC5-510-10" to "2VAC5-501-

10" 

Page 2534, 2VAC5-501-5, subsection C, beginning of line 4, 

change "2VAC5-510-10" to "2VAC5-501-10" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5956; Filed July 30, 2020, 3:09 p.m. 
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